Amicus Curiae Brief — Lucia v. SEC, 138 S. Ct. 2044 (2018) (No. 17-130)

Supreme Court brief2018

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 17-130

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

RAYMOND J. LUCIA

AND RAYMOND J. LUCIA COMPANIES, INC.

Petitioners,

Vv.

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE

SCHOLARS OF CORPUS LINGUISTICS

JAMES HEILPERN GENE C. SCHAERR

Law & Corpus Linguistics Counsel of Record

Fellow MICHAEL T. WORLEY

BYU LAW SCHOOL SCHAERR | DUNCAN LLP

415 JRCB 1717 K Street NW, Ste. 900

Provo, UT 84602 Washington, DC 20006

(202) 787-1060

gschaerr@schaerr-duncan.com

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether administrative law judges of the Securi-

ties and Exchange Commission are Officers of the

United States within the meaning of the Appoint-

ments Clause.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED ....000.............c.cccceeceeeeeeeeeeees i

TABLE OF CONTENT ...............0cccccsesecesecseseeecseesenes ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....................c0ccccceeeeeeeeees ili

INTRODUCTION AND INTEKESTS OF AMICT..... 1

ESA TERE nn cian OMe e Dale heen 3

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. .....000..00. ccc ceccceeeeeeees 7

IEE sethemtinnicinealebiinnaidssenzeanneneainsienteintniedinnbanniodeis 10

|. The Court should consider empirical evidence

derived from corpus linguistics to inform its

decision on the meaning of the Appointments

EIEN ES. Ee RE ER nee: eee 10

Il. Empirical evidence from the Founding era shows

that “Officers of the United States” was not a

RSI SRBC Ee REN IL T Srer e 18

IlI1.Empirical evidence derived from corpus

linguistics demonstrates that the original public

meaning of “officer” would have encompassed an

Fe iiheitsitannatuiisindinincsinaviaiiswianiiunnicieasininisiinnnenniieden 21

IV. Empirical evidence derived from corpus

linguistics demonstrates that the ordinary

meaning of a public “officer” today includes

(yds ERODE celia SNL Pe COST a Se pp ve we ES aR 29

RACINE AY PR aan eee MN 36

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases

Bandimere v. SEC,

844 F.3d 1168 (1Uth Cir. 2016), en banc denied,

I rs vnsaenietsnncpasbtnedednnnisnadeiniaabiiecnmabees 3, 27

Buckley v. Valeo,

I aa ssaucadenemnubasebemnannndl 8

District of Columbia v. Heller,

Se ee ME i siiccinberwoneianiotabendiedioanvoiuns 10, 13

Ex parte Hennen,

BN I ioc <ccicsininmasiiassmadegadaieamadonensedeniane 27

FCC v. AT&T, Inc.,

UN a ss ctracincecnioueinasionsoqninpeanntin 14

Fire Ins. Exchange v. Oltmanns,

oe Pee yy hi, g of 1 | yy ee 15

In re Adoption of Baby E.Z.,

Se ee Se Pe ED cece tne scncdescnecséoccoviccsvestose 14

Landry v. FDIC,

ee Bree Be Cy, CE, BG cccsccsccveccssecasestceceses 2

Lucia v. SEC,

— fe bgt Kot + | nee penen 5, 6

Muscarello vy. United States,

a rises cawicendounciodeenonstdsicicvnncdinns 13

Myers v. United States,

ESE EES ene eM aN 27

People v. Harris,

885 N.W.2d 832 (Mich. 2016)....................sces0eee0e 15

iv

Samuels, Kramer & Co. v. C.LR.,

Be Be eG BI Ricccencncdvccciccesctocesctescooee 27

State v. Canton,

SU re rn i 15

State v. Rasabout,

ee Be CI SPIO be ccccbcicsccscocscecscscnscstenaes 13

Trop v. Dulles,

REE ESTEE revere eae NC 10

Tucker vy. Comm’,

Pe Be Oe is Gey PED cece ccncccctvcccdsccescscocios 5

U.S. ex. rel. Kelly v. Boeing Co.,

Oe Oe Pe, Bi ccrecictcctccteccnccccancocsccescces 27

United States v. Costello,

Ge cee Re CO Oee Geen BED vrcsciccccccvccccsccivcceseces 13

United States v. Germaine,

RE SRE AS SE eo ee ea 27

United States v. Sprague,

ST 10

Statutes

Ie a a 3

Rat ee Bae. WE, TIGG, GR. FT, F BRE. BEB reccccccccccastcveess 24

Act of Apr. 12, 1792, ch. 20, 2 Stat. 252................ 1, 23

Act of Aug. 4, 1790, ch 35, 1 Stat. 176................00000 24

Act of Dec. 23, 1791, ch. 3, 2 Stat. 226...................0. 24

Act of Feb. 12, 1793, ch. 6, 2 Stat. 332...................-. 24

Act of Feb. 25, 1791, ch. 10, 1 Stat. 192................... 24

Act of July 11, 1798, ch. 71, 5 Stat. 591................... 24

Act of July 16, 1798, ch. 81, 5 Stat. 608..................... 1

Vv

Act of July 31, 1789, ch. 5, 1 Stat. 37.........cccccccccceeee 23

Act of June 15, 1798, ch. 54, 5 Stat. 567............. 24, 25

Act of June 9, 1794, ch. 61, 3 Stat. 394.................... 24

Act of Mar. 14, 1794, ch. 6, 3 Stat. 343.................... 24

Act of Mar. 19, 1798, ch. 18, 5 Stat. 542......0..0000..... 19

Act of Mar. 2, 1799, ch. 22, 5 Stat. 696........... apa 25

Act of Mar. 2, 1799, ch. 27, 5 Stat. 721.................... 25

Act of Mar. 2, 1799, ch. 33, 5 Stat. 728................c00000 1

Act of Mar. 26, 1794, ch. 2, 3 Stat. 400.................... 24

Act of Mar. 3, 1791, ch. 15, 1 Stat. 202.................... 24

Act of Mar. 3, 1791, ch. 15, 1 Stat. 203—204............ 24

Act of Mar. 3, 1791, ch. 18, 1 Stat. 215................0+. 25

Act of Mar. 5, 1792, ch. 9, 2 Stat. 241...................... 25

Act of May 22, 1794, ch. 35, 3 Stat. 370................... 24

American Innovation and Competitiveness Act, Pub.

L. No. 114-329, § 604, 130 Stat. 2969, 3037 (2017). 33

Other Authorities

Allison Brown, Counting Farmers Markets, 91 Geog.

i is, III cinsncessnsatcsinacisdiescbermestensunnineiéate 32

An Anti-Federalist View of the Appointing Power

Under the Constitution (Federal Farmer XIII), in

The Anti-Federalist Papers ...................ccccceeeeeeeees 26

Arthur Ponsonby, The King’s English, The Baltimore

Sun, M15 (March 18, 1928). ................0cs000c0000 16, 17

vi

Barton Beebe & Jeanne C. Fromer, Are We Running

Out of Trademarks? An Empirical Study of

Trademark Depletion & Congestion, 131 Harv. L.

is I ineatcrsnachinnastnitisedvenedindictedsentibiesienncsie 15

Brief for Open Government Project as Amicus

Curiae, FCC v. AT&T, 562 U.S. 397 (2011).......... 12

Brutus, Federal Taxation and the Doctrine of Implied

Powers (Part I) (1787), in The Anti-Federalist

PIII as-is penintiinasinntinbunniieasuatininaineniodsemmanindindinassoes 26

Carlos M. Duarte, Will the Oceans Help Feed

Humanity?, 59 Bioscience 967 (2009)................... 33

Christopher N. Osher, Denver Inmate Abuse Case

Brings Up Old Questions About Depty Conduct,

Denver Post (Apr. 27, 2016, 4:53 AM).................. 32

Corpus of Contemporary American English ........ 9, 29

Corpus of Founding Era American English, BYU

SE IIE hiithudarusuntetedscesvaobesulbedientiemnntedeueiabeebeeds 18

D. Gordon Smith & Cynthia A. Williams, Business

Organizations: Cases, Problems, and Case Studies

I i detuubnabeamasenieidiosns 30

David Holmstrom, A Summer Camp Where

Community Service is Key, Christian Science

Be I, SE MII vi rdccncoddencecsncninbcunesneesooiine 31

Dep’t of Defense, 2016 Demographics Report

STII hicnichdiinasensiesesctinc bnaianibantcatetidastinemiiecmpdanpabanitedeins 33

Douglas Biber et. al., Corpus Linguistics:

Investigating Language Structure and Use

TI icesthneieisemeialtelebcediineateipiniuiintiidbasiniiedeinmsansncninuete 13

Elgin Community Service Officer Charged with Theft

of Explorer Funds, Chicago Tribune (Jan. 4,

PMI ciscas occas nccacciidss causpcesakvianadbihemseunicomioenmaipaidecduensidats 32

vii

Elizabeth MacDonald, Six Ways to Survive an IRS

Audit, Buffalo News (Sept. 11, 1994)................... 31

Hugh H. Brackenridge, Incidents of Insurrection in

the Western Parts of Pennsylvania, in the Year

ETE TIE cciticrssitinhaedinisuiaainrednadsdaibinndeminehidiippemeamnbe 21

J. Heilemann et. al., Uncle Sam Doesn’t Want You,

22 Wash. Monthly 38 (Dec. 1990).................02.006+ 32

James Cleith Phillips & Jesse Egbert, Advancing

Law & Corpus Linguistics, 2018 B.Y.U. L. Rev.

I sicacisancsandsninenndiebiasnubadséuantniemsecsibestasénes 11

James Cleith Phillips, et. al., Investigating the

Original Meaning of ‘Officers of the United States’

with the Corpus of Founding-Era of American

James Cleith Phillips & Sara White, The Meaning of

the Three Emoluments Clauses in the U.S.

Constitution, _ 8. Tex. L. Rev. (forthcoming

a er EES RS ERE LE IN he IG Lae 12

Jennifer L. Mascott, Who Are “Officers of the United

States”?, 70 Stan. L. Rev. 443 (2018),............ passim

John W. Welch et. al., The Preamble’s Principal Place

in Constitutional Law, 91 S. Cal. L. Rev.

SIT IIIIIED sccinccusiancessnnenndedinesstedbosedentsevesiae 16

Kenneth R. Timmerman, Close-out Sale at

Commerce, 28 Am. Spectator 36 (Aug. 1995)....... 32

Lawrence Solan et. al., False Consensus Bias in

Contract Interpretation, 108 Colum. L. Rev. 1268

SEITE beachin bveesnasdisesichdaneeeiaciiecancicllinnsikemnctenbishabsdeadsiciusigiamsnidicbiine 13

Lawrence Solan & Tammy Gales, Corpus Linguistics

as a Tool in Legal Interpretation, 2018 B.Y.U. L.

ERE TEE SI 27

vill

Letter from Abishai Thomas to Alexander Hamilton

(June 14, 1792), in XI The Papers of Alexander

Hamilton (Harold C. Syrett ed., Colum. Univ.

REALS FE POP NSP ® Be ea ISIE Da ote NP 21

Letter from Alexander Hamilton to Robert Purviance

(August 22, 1794), in XVII The Papers of

Alexander Hamilton (Harold C. Syrett ed., Colum.

ER ETRUSA RC R See een 20

Lives Could Have Been Saved in Benghazi, Real

Clear Politics Video (Sept. 8, 2013) ................0006+. 31

Melissa Block, Analysis: Lester Crawford officially

named head of the FDA, NPR: All Things

CEs GFE BO, BID sevnicccccetrcesvcecsesesrvcovesces 31

Noncommissioned officer, Black’s Law Dictionary

I oS oo odnasmemmenionipcabinininan 33

Office of the Chief Technology Officer, Office of

Science and Technology Policy ....................00000000 34

Part I—Survival of the Wildest: Stopping Poachers in

the Act, CBS 48 Hours (Mar. 11, 1992)................ 31

Retired Marine Col. James C. Magee, 77, Dies,

Washington Post (Dec. 19, 1990)...............2..000..00 31

Professor X, In the Basement of the Ivory Tower,

PRES IE es cy peo mR 32

Richard Berman, A Liberal Dose of State Ballot

Measures, Wash. Times (Nov. 7, 2016)................. 32

Robert O’Harrow Jr. et. al., NSA Leaks Puts Focus on

Intelligence Apparatus’s Reliance on Outside

Contractors, Wash. Post (June 10, 2013)............. 31

Robin J. Arzt et al., Advancing the Judicial

Independence and Efficiency of the Administrative

Judiciary: A Report to the President-Elect of the

ix

United States, 29 J. Nat'l Ass'n Admin. L.

Sa GSS Gi vsvvetiscesscttdiccsindinisindaemaaiicas 3

Ross B. MacDonals et. al., The Politics of Victimhood,

GO J. OF Tnth AMIGO 17S CGO wvcsccsstercccverctesetcantes 32

Stephen Breyer, Active Liberty: Interpreting Our

Democratic Constitution (2005).................ccccceeeee 10

Stephen C. Mouritsen, The Dictionary is not a

Fortress: Definitional Fallacies and a Corpus-

Based Approach to Plain Meaning, 2010 B.Y.U L.

BOUT, PIR ccantecremscetnsvenioummmesinteniabieeatni nn 11

Steve Inskeep, The Perfection of Character, NPR

CERO: SRL TE ccscensccichstcnseesieenscuinnipaedaaaneneane 31

The Federalist No. 84 (Alexander Hamilton).......... 27

Thomas R. Lee & Stephen C. Mouritsen, Judging

Ordinary Meaning, 127 Yale L.J. 788 (2018).. 1, 10,

13, 16

Thomas R. Lee & James Cleith Phillips , Data-driven

CIID senicotcncisticivsacitistiaiunitiaiiiemieeees 17

Truant Officers Attend to Schools’ Needs, Chicago

Butea Denes Gms. 11, Te vsceccenisisincccnsasevaidusananades 32

U.S. Dep’t of Defense, Enlisted Rank Insignias...... 33

U.S. Dep’t of Defense, Officer Rank Insignias ........ 33

U.S. Security and Exchange Commission, Office of

Administrative Law Judge ...........cccccccceeeeeeseeees 4, 28

Vanessa K. Burrows, Cong. Res. Serv.,

Administrative Law Judges: An Overview (2010). 3

Regulations

© Cr ie BOE ccceccscisnnstcesnvsvicinsadisbemiaimaniaaeeae 3

Constitutional Provisions

U.S. Const., art. II, § 2

U.S. Const. art. IV, § 4

INTRODUCTION AND INTERESTS OF AMICI’

In 1798, Thomas Dunn served as Assistant Door-

keeper of the House of Representatives, charged with,

among other things, keeping the House’s fireplace

stocked with firewood and doing standard janitorial

work. For these services, Congress paid him “four

hundred and fifty dollars per annum.”? And because

of these ministerial services, Congress called him an

“officer of the House of Representatives.” Act of March

2, 1799, ch. 33, 5 Stat. 728 (emphasis added). This

historical example of the founding-era usage of “of-

ficer” is merely one of many data points for the Court

to consider in answering the important question pre-

sented in this case—the meaning of the phrase “officer

of the United States.”

Amici (listed in the Appendix) are scholars of a de-

veloping methodology for answering such questions in

a systematic, rigorous manner—a methodology known

as “corpus linguistics.” As Utah Supreme Court Jus-

tice Thomas R. Lee puts it,, “corpus linguistics is an

empirical approach to the study of language that in-

volves large, electronic databases,” which are used to

“draw inferences about language from data gleaned

! No one other than amici and their counsel authored any part of

this brief or made a monetary contribution to fund its prepara-

tion or submission. All parties have consented to its filing in com-

munications on file with the Clerk.

2 Act of April 12, 1792, ch. 20, 2 Stat. 252 . See also Act of July

16, 1798, ch. 81, 5 Stat. 608 (appointing Dunn).

2

from real-world language in its natural habitat—in

books, magazines, newspapers, and even transcripts

of spoken language.”? Because judges—like linguists

and lexicographers—are interested in the “original

public meaning” of historic texts and the “ordinary

meaning” of modern texts, amici believe these data-

bases can be invaluable in resolving difficult questions

of constitutional and statutory interpretation.

Empirical evidence derived from historical data-

bases demonstrates that Dunn’s status as a federal of-

ficer—despite having little authority over anything

but the Congressional fireplace—was not an aberra-

tion, but rather emblematic of the original under-

standing of “Officers of the United States.” Moreover,

linguistic data derived from a modern linguistic data-

base reveals that our contemporary understanding of

the word “officer” is far more expansive than some

might expect—at least in the public context—encom-

passing relatively low-level employees.

Thus far, this Court’s decisions have always re-

flected this broad understanding of “Officers of the

United States.” In Landry v. FDIC, 204 F.3d 1125, 340

(D.C. Cir. 2000), however, the D.C. Circuit fashioned

a balancing test that does not adequately account for

this Court’s precedent, much less the available lin-

guistic evidence. Because the Landry test—and simi-

lar tests from other circuits—have no grounding in

linguistic fact, amici believe they should be over-

turned in favor of a more capacious understanding of

the term “officer” and, hence, of the phrase “officer of

the United States.”

3 Lee & Mouritsen, at 788.

3

STATEMENT

The Constitution provides that the President “by

and with the Advice and Consent of the Senate, shall

appoint Ambassadors, other public Ministers and

Consuls, Judges of the supreme Court, and all other

Officers of the United States.” U.S. Const., art. II, § 2.

Nevertheless, “Congress may by Law vest the Ap-

pointment of such inferior Officers . . . in the President

alone, in the Courts of Law, or in the Heads of Depart-

ment.” Jd. Thus, an “Officer of the United States” may

be appointed by any of three entities: the President

(with or without Senate confirmation), the courts, or a

department head.

1. However, administrative law judges are not ap-

pointed by the President, courts of law, or department

heads. Rather, they are hired following a “merit-selec-

tion process” that is “administered by the Office of

Personnel Management [OPM].” Bandimere v. SEC,

855 F.3d 1128, 1132 (10th Cir. 2017), en banc denied,

855 F.3d 1128 (Lucero, J., dissenting from denial of en

banc review) (citing 5 U.S.C. 1302; 5 C.F.R. § 930.201).

OPM requires a candidate to be a “licensed attorney|]

with at least seven years of litigation experience” and

to take a test that it administers. Bandimere v. SEC,

844 F.3d 1168, 1176-1177 & n.11 (10th Cir. 2016),4 en

banc denied, 855 F.3d 1128. Following the test’s ad-

ministration, each candidate is ranked according to

his or her performance, and the Chief ALJ can then

‘ For this proposition, the opinion cites Vanessa K. Burrows,

Cong. Res. Serv., Administrative Law Judges: An Overview, at 2

(2010), https://perma.cc/T8YY-EE7F; Robin J. Arzt et al., Ad-

vancing the Judicial Independence and Efficiency of the Admin-

istrative Judiciary: A Report to the President-Elect of the United

States, 29 J. Nat'l Ass'n Admin. L. Judiciary 93, 101 (2009).

4

hire any of the top three performers. /d. Once hired,

ALJs are subject to termination only for cause after

review by the Merit System Protection Board. /d.

Their responsibilities include “conducting public hear-

ings in a manner similar to federal bench trials,” “pre-

siding at and regulating the course of thl[ose]

hearings,” and “setting filling deadlines, issuing sub-

poenas, holding prehearing conferences, and ruling on

motions.”®

2. Petitioner Raymond J. Lucia is an investor who

has hosted several free seminars on investing. Pet.

App. 34a; 127a—129a. At these seminars, Petitioner

would use a slideshow to show the potential of follow-

ing a retirement plan that he called “Buckets of

Money.” Pet. App. 23a; 127a—129a. The slideshow pre-

sented multiple “hypothetical” examples of how suc-

cessful a portfolio following his plan could be.

Petitioner did not, however, only call his examples

“hypothetical.” Instead, he stressed both orally and in

writing that they were based on many different as-

sumptions, including assumptions that the history of

the market was indicative of its future. Pet. App. 24a—

29a; 43a n.10; 45a n.14; 76a—77a.

3. These disclosures, however, were insufficient to

protect him from the Securities and Exchange Com-

mission (SEC). In 2012, the SEC charged him with

violating the Investment Advisors Act of 1940 and its

subsequent interpretations of the Act. Pet. App. 7a—

8a. The SEC chose to avoid federal court, and an ad-

ministrative law judge presided over a trial-like pro-

ceeding that included all of the elements of a typical

5 U.S. Security and Exchange Commission, Office of Administra-

tive Law Judges, https://www.sec.gov/alj.

5

trial. Pet. App. 239a. Although the case was eventu-

ally remanded for further factual findings, the ALJ

eventually found Lucia’s presentations misleading be-

cause he used “backtest’ —a term with no statutory

or regulatory definition”—to describe his investment

plan. Pet. Br. 6. Petitioner described the “backtest” as

the combination of “historical data” and certain “as-

sumptions for other variables, such as inflation and

real-estate rates of return.” Pet. Br. 5. Because of the

supposedly misleading nature of the term, the ALJ

“barred Mr. Lucia from working as an investment ad-

visor for the rest of his life, revoked his company’s reg-

istration, and assessed civil penalties.” Pet. Br. 6.

Lucia sought review from the full Commission. He

challenged the AL.J’s decision on the merits and also

argued that the ALJ’s office violated the Appoint-

ments Clause. Pet. App. 38a—40a. The Commission

sustained the ALJ’s finding and concluded that SEC

ALJs are “not subject to the Appointments Clause.”

Pet. App. 66a-69a; 86a. It reasoned that SEC ALJs are

not inferior officers because their decisions are not “ef-

fective and final” until the SEC itself files a “finality

order.” Pet. App. 90a.

4. A panel of the D.C. Circuit, relying on Landry

v. FDIC, 204 F.3d 1125 (D.C. Cir. 2000), held that the

SEC ALJ was an employee but not an “inferior of-

ficer.” Lucia v. SEC, 832 F.3d 277, 289 (D.C. Cir.

2016), Pet. App. 21a. Landry discussed three “criteria”

for courts to consider when distinguishing between in-

ferior officers and employees: "(1) the significance of

the matters resolved by the officials, (2) the discretion

they exercise in reaching their decisions, and (3) the

finality of those decisions." Tucker v. Comm’r, 676

F.3d 1129, 1133 (D.C. Cir. 2012).

6

Petitioner showed that the SEC ALJ’s decision,

while not binding on the Commission, should not be

considered a mere recommendation because, in prac-

tice, the Commission’s eventual decision was only a

“ministerial formality.” Lucia, 832 F.3d at 286. The

court recognized that, although under the organic

statute “the Commission could have chosen to adopt

regulations whereby an AL,J’s initial decision would be

deemed a final decision of the Commission,” it had not.

Id. (italics in original). Thus, under the current regu-

latory scheme, the SEC AL.J’s decision “becomes final

when, and only when, the Commission issues the fi-

nality order, and not before then.” Jd. Thus, the court

held, the Commission’s ALJs neither have been dele-

gated sovereign authority to act independently of the

Commission nor, by other means established by Con-

gress, do they have the power to bind third parties, or

the government itself, for the public benefit.” Jd.

While recognizing that “Landry ... did not resolve

the constitutional status of ALJs for all agencies,” the

court below held that Petitioner “failed to demon-

strate” that SEC ALJs “perform ... duties” sufficient

to render them inferior officers. Jd. at 289. For this

reason, the court was unwilling to “cast aside [the]

carefully devised scheme stablished after years of leg-

islative consideration and agency implementation”

and held that SEC ALJs were mere employees. /d.

The D.C. Circuit reheard the case en banc, agree-

ing to resolve the question of whether the ALJ was an

inferior officer and therefore subject to the Appoint-

ments Clause. Pet. Br. 9. The en banc court convened

on May 24, 2017. Pet. Br. 9. Equally divided, the en

banc court issued a per curiam opinion denying the

petition for review. Pet. App. la—2a.

7

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Petitioners argue that the SEC’s administrative

law judges should be considered “Officers of the

United States” under this Court’s precedent, including

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976). Petitioners’ read-

ing of those precedents is strongly supported by a tech-

nique called corpus linguistics—the use of

electronically-searchable linguistic databases to gen-

erate empirical evidence about the meaning of words

within in a particular community at a particular time.

Application of that methodology shows that the D.C.

Circuit’s Landry test——and similar tests in other cir-

cuits——reflects neither the original nor modern

meaning of the phrase “Officer of the United States.”

The Court should reject the Landry test in favor of a

more capacious understanding of the term.

I. Empirical evidence demonstrates that “Officer of

the United States” was not a legal term of art, that its

original public meaning was much more expansive

than the D.C. Circuit’s case law affords, and that it

referred to almost any federal employee. That evi-

dence is principally derived from an analysis of the

Corpus of Founding Era American’ English

(COFEA)—a huge database containing approximately

150,000 documents from the Revolutionary War era—

and a smaller database, created specifically for this

case, consisting of all the Statutes-at-Large passed by

the first Five Congresses between 1789 and 1799.

Among others, these databases reveal references to

the following federal “officers”:

e The Assistant Doorkeeper of the House of

Representatives;

e The Melter and Refiner of the U.S. Mint;

8

e The Deputy Apothecary of the U.S. Army;

and

e The Purveyor of Public Supplies.

If this Court were to apply the original public

meaning of the phrase “Officers of the United

States,” it would almost certainly extend to admin-

istrative law judges.

Il. Empirical evidence also demonstrates that

modern usage of the word “officer”—at least within

the public sphere—continues to track the much more

expansive original public meaning. To conduct the

modern linguistic analysis, amici relied on the Corpus

of Contemporary American English (COCA), a 560+

million word database capturing actual usages from

1990 to 2017. This corpus search revealed a number of

low-level government employees referred to as “offic-

ers” that would nonetheless fail the Landry test:

e Archaeological preservation Officers (Na-

tional Parks);

e Foreign Service Officers (State Depart-

ment);

e Problem Resolution Officers (IRS);

e Safety Officers (FDA); and

e Wildlife Officers (National Park).

Based on this evidence, it is clear that the circuit

courts’ understanding of the “significant authority”

test is also at odds with modern usage of “officer.” If

the court applied today’s ordinary meaning of that

word, it would easily extend to administrative law

judges because, although their decisions may not be

9

final, they exercise a non-negligible degree of author-

ity.

10

ARGUMENT

I. The Court should consider empirical evi-

dence derived from corpus linguistics to in-

form its decision on the meaning of the

Appointments Clause.

This Court has stated that “[t]he Constitution was

written to be understood by the voters; its words and

phrases were used in their normal and ordinary...

meaning.” United States v. Sprague, 282 U.S. 716, 731

(1931). At times, the court has indicated that this

means constitutional provisions should be interpreted

as they were understood by “ordinary citizens of the

founding generation.” District of Columbia v. Heller,

554 U.S. 570, 577 (2008). Other times, the Court has

relied on a modern interpretation of the text, stating

that the meaning of the Constitution is not “static,”

but rather informed by “evolving standards of de-

cency.” Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86, 100-101 (1958);

see also Stephen Breyer, Active Liberty: Interpreting

Our Democratic Constitution 7—8 (2005). Regardless

of its approach, the Court would benefit from the use

of empirical data produced by corpus linguistic tools.

1. Corpus linguistics investigates real-language

use and function by analyzing huge electronic data-

bases of naturally-occurring texts. Thomas R. Lee &

Stephen C. Mouritsen, Judging Ordinary Meaning,

127 Yale LJ. 788 (hereinafter Lee & Mour-

itsen)(2018). These databases have an esoteric

name—corpora (the plural of corpus)—but are simply

digitally-searchable collections of real-world sources:

books, newspapers, speeches, scholarly articles, tele-

vision transcripts, etc. Jd. at 33. The sources are said

to occur “naturally” because they “were not elicited for

the purpose of the study. That is... no one ask[ed] the

11

speakers or writers whose words are represented in

the corpus to speak or write for the purpose of subject-

ing their words to linguistic scrutiny. Instead, the ar-

chitect of the corpus assemble[d] her collection of

speech and writing samples after the fact.” Stephen C.

Mouritsen, The Dictionary is not a Fortress: Defini-

tional Fallacies and a Corpus-Based Approach to

Plain Meaning, 2010 B.Y.U L. Rev. 1915, 1954—1955.

Although corpus linguists use many different tools,

when interpreting a historical text scholars often fol-

low the following procedure:

e Identify a corpus that corresponds with the

speech community and time period she

wishes to investigate;

¢ Search for the relevant search term using a

“Keyword in Context” (KWIC) feature,

which finds and displays in context every in-

stance of the queried term in the database;

e Generate a random (and thus likely repre-

sentative) sample of the returned KWIC

lines large enough to generate statistically

significant effects; and

e Code each KWIC line in the sample for its

relevant word sense, relying on the system’s

expanded context feature when necessary.®

® See, e.g., James Cleith Phillips & Jesse Egbert, Advancing Law

& Corpus Linguistics, 2018 B.Y.U. L. Rev. (forthcoming), availa-

ble at https://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm?ab-

stract_id=3057415.

12

This approach can produce useful quantitative and

qualitative data about the real-world usage of the

relevant term.

It bears emphasis, however, that the sources con-

tained in the corpus must be pulled from the relevant

speech community being investigated. James Cleith

Phillips & Sara White, The Meaning of the Three

Emoluments Clauses in the U.S. Constitution, _ 8.

Tex. L. Rev. (forthcoming 2018), available at

https://ssrn.com/abstract=3036938. A corpus com-

posed entirely of the transcripts from Argentinian

telenovelas cannot provide relevant data for investi-

gating the speech patterns of American diplomats.

Likewise, a 16th century Shakespearean corpus will

likely be unhelpful in clarifying the meaning of mod-

ern legal texts. But a corpus that is contextually rele-

vant “is like Lexis on steroids.” Brief for Open

Government Project as Amicus Curiae at 14, FCC v.

AT&T Inc., 562 U.S. 397 (2011). Searching it for a

particular term produces a set of real-world examples

(called “KWIC” or “concordance lines”) drawn from the

database and showing how that term has actually

been used within the community in question.

Of course, not all of the examples produced by the

corpus will be helpful. Like Google or Westlaw, a cor-

pus search will sometimes identify sources in which

the queried term was used in a very different context.

Other times the usage will be vague or ambiguous.

But analyzing a random sample of concordance lines,

as a whole, produces a broader empirical picture, de-

fining the range of potential meanings a word or

phrase may take and often revealing trends and pat-

terns that would have otherwise remained unnoticed.

13

2. This approach should feel familiar to most

judges. Courts search for real-world examples of lin-

guistic usage to help make sense of ambiguous legal

passages all the time. For example, in Heller, this

Court considered concrete examples mined from

“founding era sources” of how the phrases “keep arms”

and “bear arms” were actually used by contemporaries

of the Constitution. 554 U.S. at 581-592.

The problem is that until now “a judge has [had]

no way of determining whether she is correct in her

assessment that her own interpretation is widely

shared.” Lawrence Solan, et. al., False Consensus Bias

in Contract Interpretation, 108 Colum. L. Rev. 1268,

1273 (2001). Linguists have long noted the fallibility

of human linguistic intuition. Because “humans tend

to notice unusual occurrences [of words] more than

typical ones,” judges run the risk of over-crediting the

frequency of obscure word senses. Douglas Biber et.

al., Corpus Linguistics: Investigating Language

Structure and Use 3 (1998).

To combat this, some judges have turned to elec-

tronic databases to help generate more examples of

real-world usage than they can think of on their own,

as a way to check their linguistic intuition. This Court

did so in Muscarello v. United States, “survey|ing]

modern press usage [of the word “carry”| by searching

computerized newspaper databases.” 524 U.S. 125,

129-130 (1998). Likewise, in United States v. Costello,

Judge Posner performed a Google search “of several

terms in which the word ‘harboring’ appears” on the

“supposition that the number of hits per term is a

rough index of the frequency of its use.” 666 F.3d 1040,

1044 (7th Cir. 2012). While these approaches had

14

some methodological shortcomings,’ they are laudable

for their efforts to check the court’s linguistic assump-

tions.

Corpus linguistics simply empowers the judge to do

this in a systematic—and more scientific—fashion: sys-

tematic because it follows a set methodology and relies

on principles of statistical significance and random

samples; and scientific because it is both falsifiable

and repeatable: subsequent researchers can test the

validity of any dataset by performing the corpus

search again on their own. This approach does not

supplant the judge as the ultimate decision maker. It

simply furnishes the judge with more and better data

to help inform her ultimate decision.

3. Over the last few years, some judges have cau-

tiously begun applying corpus linguistic tools and

techniques to issues of statutory interpretation. For

example, in 2011 Justice Ginsburg cited corpus lin-

guistics data during oral arguments in FCC v. AT&T,

Inc., 562 U.S. 397 (2011). See Transcript of Oral Ar-

gument in No. 09-1279 at 37. The case boiled down to

whether the word “personal” as used in the Freedom

of Information Act was merely the ‘adjectival form’ “of

the noun person” so that the phrase “personal privacy”

encompassed corporate privacy. See 562 U.S. at 406.

While the opinion did not cite corpus linguistics di-

rectly, ‘ts reasoning largely tracked the amicus brief

by the Project on Government Oversight, which did.

’ See, e.g. Muscarello, 524 U.S. at 129 (Breyer, J.) (describing his

own empirical approach as “crude|}”); State v. Rasabout, 356 P.3d

1258, 1280 (Utah 2015) (Lee, J. concurring) (critiquing Judge

Posner's reliance on Google searches); Lee & Mouritsen, at 812-

813 (same).

15

That same year, Justice Lee of the Utah Supreme

Court became the first judge in the country to ex-

pressly use corpus linguistics in an opinion. Jn re

Adoption of Baby E.Z., 266 P.3d 702 (Utah 2011) (Lee,

J. concurring). Relying on empirical data drawn from

Brigham Young University’s Corpus of Contemporary

American English (COCA),® he concluded that the

term “custody determination” as used in the federal

Parental Kidnapping Prevention Act did not extend to

adoption proceedings because “the most common fam-

ily-law sense of the word ‘custody’ occurs in the setting

of a divorce.” Id. at 724.

Since then, a number of state supreme court jus-

tices have followed suit. For example, the majority

and dissent in People v. Harris, a Michigan Supreme

Court case in which both the majority and dissent re-

lied on the COCA to analyze whether someone had

been forced to make an involuntary statement if the

“information” he provided law enforcement officers

was actually false. 885 N.W.2d 832.'°

® Corpus of Contemporary American English, https://cor-

pus. byu.edu/coca/.

* See, e.g., Fire Ins. Exchange v. Oltmanns, —___ P.3d —___ (Utah

2017), 2017 UT 81 957 n.9 (Durham, J. concurring) (“[Corpus lin-

guistic] tools for empirical analysis are readily available for law-

yers and should be used when appropriate”); cf. State v. Canton,

308 P.3d 517 (interpreting the phrase “out of the state” based on

an analysis of the use of that phrase in newspaper articles com-

piled through a Google News search)

‘© Corpus linguistics has also been used to settle trademark dis-

putes at the trial level for many years. See Barton Beebe &

Jeanne C. Fromer, Are We Running Out of Trademarks? An Em-

pirical Study of Trademark Depletion & Congestion, 131 Harv. L.

Rev. 945 (2018).

16

4. Thus far, all these cases have involved the in-

terpretation of modern statutes and have therefore re-

lied on data derived from modern English corpora

such as the COCA. But these tools are less helpful for

cases involving constitutional interpretation, at least

to the extent the Court is interested in discovering the

meaning understood by “ordinary citizens of the

founding generation.” If one is interested in the origi-

nal public meaning, a modern corpus is just as unhelp-

ful as a corpus derived from sources from the wrong

community—it fails to account for subsequent changes

in language patterns. As Justice Lee has explained,

“This is the problem of linguistic drift—the notion that

language usage and meaning shifts over time.”

Thomas R. Lee & James Cleith Phillips, Data-Driven

Originalism, available at http://ssrn.com/ab-

stract=3036206 [hereinafter Lee & Phillips] .

Sometimes these changes can be quite dramatic,

and occur for no apparent reason. Consider the fol-

lowing (possibly apocryphal) account of the rebuilding

of St. Paul’s Cathedral in 1675, taken from a linguis-

tics column published during the early twentieth cen-

tury:

When architects’ drawings for the rebuilding of

St. Paul’s Cathedral after the fire were submit-

ted, Sir Christopher Wren was told that his de-

sign had been chosen because it was “at the

same time the most awful and the most artifi-

cial.” A modern architect would hardly think

such a verdict complimentary. Far from being

disparagement, it was the highest praise. “Aw-

ful” correctly meant inspiring awe, and “artifi-

cial” designed with art.

17

Arthur Ponsonby, The King’s English, The Baltimore

Sun, M15 (March 18, 1928); see also John W. Welch,

et. al. The Preamble’s Principal Place in Constitu-

tional Law, 91 8S. Cal. L. Rev. (forthcoming 2018),

available at http://ssrn.com/abstract=3131207. Such

shifts can—and have—occurred with words and

phrases contained in the Constitution. For example.

Article IV, Section 4 states that “[t]he United States .

.. Shall protect each of [the states] . . . against domes-

tic violence.” At the time of the founding, “domestic

violence” referred to civil unrest and public upheaval

rather than the abuse of one’s spouse or children as it

does today. Lee & Phillips at 4.

5. Until recently, no eighteenth century American

English corpus existed. But in late 2017, Brigham

Young University Law School launched a beta version

of the Corpus of Founding Era American English

(“COFEA”). COFEA currently contains approximately

150 million words. The texts were mined from Evans

Early American Imprint Series (featuring books, pam-

phlets, and broadsides covering a broad array of sub-

jects), Hein Online’s Legal Database, and the papers

and correspondence of George Washington, Benjamin

Franklin, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James

Madison, and Alexander Hamilton, as contained in

the National Archives Founders Online Project. Fu-

ture versions of COFEA will include additional

sources such as colonial newspapers, the Records of

the Federal Convention of 1787, and the Documentary

History of the Ratification of the Constitution. Lee &

Phillips at 31.

In the sections that follow, we use COFEA and

other founding era corpora to show that the original

public meaning of the phrase “Officers of the United

18

States” encompassed significantly more employees

than allowed under the D.C. Circuit’s Landry test. We

then use COCA to show that this original meaning has

remained largely unchanged in the public context

since the time of the Founding. Accordingly, the Court

should reverse the D.C. Circuit’s decision, and fashion

a test that accords with either the original or modern

meaning of the phrase, or both.

II. Empirical evidence from the Founding era

shows that “Officers of the United States”

was not a legal term of art.

The phrase “Officer(s) of the United States” ap-

pears in COFEA just 109 times between 1787 and

1799, with just over a third of those being direct quo-

tations of the Constitution.'! This is a tiny minority of

the 5,353 times the word “officer” appears in the data-

base overall during this same period—even though

59.8% of the time the word “officer” appears in COFEA

it is clearly referencing a federal employee.

1. While the relative obscurity of the longer

phrase does not prove that it was not a legal term of

art at the time of the Founding, we perceive no spe-

cialized meaning attached to its use. Instead, the ap-

pellation was often used simply to clarify that the

agent was in the employ of the federal government, as

opposed to a private actor or employee of a state or

territory.

For example, in a letter to George Washington,

General Arthur St. Clair expressed concern that the

‘! Our raw data can be accessed at goo.gl/7xt8XP under the

“COFEA ‘Officers of the US’ 1787-199” tab. To replicate our re-

19

Attorney General of the new Ohio territory “would be

an Officer of the Territory only, whereas he should be

an Officer of the United States.” Likewise, Alexander

Hamilton wrote to New York merchant William Seton,

requesting he purchase public debt on behalf of the

federal government since the government had yet to

“employ some officer of the United States” for the task.

We do not see any linguistic evidence to suggest

that the term was limited to only a small subclass of

all federal officials. To the contrary, it applied broadly

to all government employees—‘“civil and military”

—exercising any non-trivial federal authority. For in-

stance, in his Eighth Annual Address to Congress at

the end of 1797, George Washington called for “legis-

lative revision” of “[t]he compensation to the officers

of the United States,” particularly “in respect to the

most important stations.” Had “Officers of the United

States” been understood to refer only to those federal

employees with a significant degree of authority, as

Landry suggests, there would be no need to give spe-

cial emphasis to “the most important stations.” Con-

gress responded the following March, raising the

salaries of sundry government officials, high and low.

Act of March 19, 1798, ch. 18, 5 Stat. 542. Neverthe-

less, Congress did not use the phrase “Officers of the

United States” in the appropriations bill, but instead

referred generally to “officers,” “offices,” and “persons

employed.” Jd.

sults, search COFEA for “Officer of the United States” and “Of.-

ficers of the United States” for the years 1787-1798. Corpus of

Founding Era American English, BYU Law Corpora,

https://lawncl.byu.edu/cofea/.

20

2. Our findings are buttressed by those of Profes-

sor Jennifer Mascott, who used aspects of corpus lin-

guistics to demonstrate that the phrase “Officers of

the United States” was in use prior to the creation of

the Constitution. Jennifer L. Mascott, Who Are “Offic-

ers of the United States”? 70 Stan. L. Rev. 443 (2018).

Using a corpus of 340,000 issues of early American

newspapers, she found twenty uses of the phrase

“prior to the signing of the Constitution on September

17, 1787.” Id. at 478. The first reference was in 1780,

describing Benedict Arnold as a “general officer of the

United States.” Jd. It appeared again in 1783 referring

simply to continental officers. Sometimes the phrase

was used with “slight variations,” showing the phrase

was not a term of art. Other uses included “Judicial

Officers of the United States” and “commissaries and

other officers of the United States” who gave out cer-

tifications of debt under the Constitution. Jd. at 479.

Professor Mascott also performed a corpus analysis

of the Journals of the Continental Congress, “a highly

relevant source for identifying the well-understood

meaning of legally relevant terms and phrases in the

time period just prior to...the drafting and ratification

of the Constitution.” Jd. at 477. The Journals contain

forty-one references to “officer(s) of the United States.”

Often the phrase was “just another way to describe

continental military officers or to identify continental-

level, as opposed to state-level, officers.” Id. at 477-

478. For example, one letter distinguished between

the time a military officer served as an “officer of the

United States” and time served as a captain for his

State. Id. at 478 n.175.

But even if “Officers of the United States” was a

legal term of art, its original meaning was much more

21

expansive than Landry imagines, and appears to have

applied to all government employees—“civil and mili-

tary” —exercising any degree of federal authority.

COFEA similarly reveals that the term applied to not

just high ranking government officials, but also cus-

toms officials,'? loan officers,'* and law enforcement

officials carrying out warrants. '4

Ill. Empirical evidence derived from corpus lin-

guistics demonstrates that the original pub-

lic meaning of “officer” would have

encompassed an ALJ.

If we are correct that “Officers of the United

States” was not a new legal term of art, then it is in-

stead simply “a descriptive phrase indicating the offic-

ers are federal, and not state or private, actors.”

Mascott, at 471. The meaning of “officer” in the Con-

stitution should thus correspond with the original

public meaning of the term “officer” in general.

1. The word “officer” appears in COFEA 5,353

times between 1787 and 1799. Analysis of a random

\2 Letter from Alexander Hamilton to Robert Purviance (August

22, 1794), in XVII The Papers of Alexander Hamilton 127 (Harold

C. Syrett, ed., Colum. Univ. Press 1972).

'8 Letter from Abishai Thomas to Alexander Hamilton (June 14,

1792), in XI The Papers of Alexander Hamilton 520 (Harold C.

Syrett, ed., Colum. Univ. Press 1966).

'4 Hugh H. Brackenridge, Incidents of Insurrection in the West-

ern Parts of Pennsylvania, in the Year 1794 57 (1795), available

at https://quod.lib.umich.edu/e/ev-

ans/N21549.0001.001?rgn=main;view=fulltext.

22

sample of 540 of these concordance lines'® reveals the

title was applied to a startling range of officials, in-

cluding the President, Vice President, Speaker of the

House, Secretary of State, Minister Resident to the

Hague, U.S. Attorney, Collector, Naval Officer, audi-

tor, excise officer, custom-house officer, and loan of-

ficer. 16

We also created a specialized corpus of all Stat-

utes-at-Large passed by the first five Congresses of

the United States between 1789 and 1799. Congres-

sional understanding of the word is particularly rele-

vant because the Constitution delegates’ to

Congress—and only Congress—the authority to devi-

ate from the standard appointment process: while

most officers were to be appointed by the President

with the advice and consent of the Senate, “the Con-

gress may by Law vest the Appointment of. . . inferior

Officers, as they think proper, in the President alone,

in the Courts of Law, or in the Heads of Departments.”

Ironically (given the year of the Constitutional

Convention), the word “officer” appears in these stat-

utes 1787 times, although that number goes down to

1411 when footnotes and sidebars—inserted by a later

editor—are excluded. Of these 1055, or 74.8%, refer to

civil officers; 311, or 22% refer to military officials; and

26, or just under 2%, refer to non-government employ-

ees. The remaining 1.3% of concordance lines were too

15 This sample gives us a 95% confidence interval! with only a 4%

margin of error.

‘6 Raw data available at goo.gl/7xt8XP under the “Officer’ in

Statutes-at-Large (1789-1799)” tab. Our results can be replicated

by searching for “officer” in the Corpus of Founding Era Congres-

sional Statutes. Corpus of Founding Era Congressional Statutes,

BYU Law Corpora, https://lawncl.byu.edu/cofecs/.

23

ambiguous to code. The word was used in a number of

contexts including the creation of new government po-

sitions, the enumeration of responsibilities, and the

appropriation of funds.

As with the full phrase “Officers of the United

States” the list of government employees referred to

as “officers” is expansive. In addition to high-ranking

officials such as the President, Vice President, and

Secretary of State, specific enumerated officers in-

cluded less glamorous positions such as the Purveyor

of Public Supplies, the accountant of the War Office,

and “the melter and refiner [of the U.S. Mint].” Each

Port in the United States had three “customs officers”

appointed by the President and confirmed by the Sen-

ate—a “Collector,” “Naval Officer,”'? and “Surveyor,”

whose duties included receiving ship manifests and

inspecting imports. Even the “doorkeeper” and “assis-

tant doorkeeper” of the House of Representa-

tives—whose responsibilities included such important

tasks as “tak[ing] care of the apartments occupied by

the” House and “providing fuel and other accommoda-

tions” for Congressional sessions—were referred to as

both “offices” and “officers”—- —three times. !®

Additionally, the corpus reveals that Congress cre-

ated a small army of low-ranking government agents

throughout the country—some appointed directly by

17 The term “naval officer” here can be deceptive to modern read-

ers. It was a civil, not military, position within the Treasury De-

partment. See Act of July 31, 1789, ch. 5, 1 Stat. 37.

'8 See Act of April 12, 1792, ch. 20, 2 Stat. 252.

24

the President! and others by heads of depart-

ments2°—including “officers of inspection,”?! “ac-

counting officers,”22 patent officers,2* “revenue

officers,”24 “custom-house officers,”25 “loan officers,” 76

“health officers,”2’ “recording officers,”2* and “auxil-

iary officers.”29 The Treasury Department even ap-

pointed individual “officers” to survey each “distillery”

and “still” of “spirits” in the Union.*° Congress some-

times, but not always, referred to clerks and attend-

ants as officers,*! going as far as to require “each and

every clerk and other officer . . . in any of the depart-

19 See, e.g. Act of Aug. 4, 1790, ch 35, 1 Stat. 175 (noting that the

president appoints “officers of the customs”)

20 See, e.g. Act of Feb. 25, 1791, ch. 10, 1 Stat. 192 (empowering

directors of the Bank of United States to appoint inferior offic-

ers).

21 See, e.g. Act of Mar. 3, 1791, ch. 15, 1 Stat. 202.

22 See, e.g. Act of Feb. 12, 1793, ch. 6, 2 Stat. 332.

23 See, e.g. Act of Apr. 10, 1790, ch. 7, 1 Stat. 112.

24 See, e.g., Act of Mar. 26, 1794, ch. 2, 3 Stat. 400.

25 See, e.g. Act of May 22, 1794, ch. 35, 3 Stat. 370.

26 See, e.g. Act of March 14, 1794, ch. 6, 3 Stat. 343.

27 See, e.g. Act of June 9, 1794, ch. 61, 3 Stat. 394 (consenting to

Maryland’s creation of s state health officer for the Port of Balti-

more and allowing it to impose additional duties on imports to

fund the position).

28 See, e.g. Act of June 15, 1798, ch. 54, 5 Stat. 567.

29 See, e.g. Act of July 11, 1798, ch. 71, 5 Stat. 591.

30 Act of March 3, 1791, ch. 15, 1 Stat. 203-204.

31 Act of Dec. 23, 1791, ch. 3, 2 Stat. 226.

25

ments of the United States .. .[to] take an oath or af-

firmation before one of the justices of the supreme

court, or one of the judges of a district court of the

United States, to support the constitution.”%? “Officers

of the court,” included clerks** and marshals.

Within the military, there were two classes of “of-

ficers” —commissioned and non-commissioned. Com-

missioned officers, from lowly cornets up to major

generals, received their commissions directly from the

President. These included some surprising military

positions, including chaplains,®* deputy apothecar-

ies*6 and “a competent number of hospital surgeons,” ®’

who each had to be appointed in the same way “as

other officers of the United States”—meaning nomi-

nated by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

Act of March 2, 1799, ch. 27, 5 Stat. 721. Non-commis-

sioned officers, however, were simply soldiers who had

moved up through the ranks. They received no presi-

dential commission or appointment, yet they were still

considered “officers.”

2. Once again, Professor Mascott’s empirical work

confirms these findings. Using a digitized version of

Nathan Bailey’s popular eighteenth-century diction-

ary as a corpus, she identified 500 sentences contain-

ing the word “office” or “officer.” These included a

82 Act of March 3, 1791, ch. 18, 1 Stat. 215.

38 Act of June 15, 1798, ch. 54, 5 Stat. 567.

84 Act of March 2, 1799, ch. 22, 5 Stat. 696.

35 Act of March 5, 1792, ch. 9, 2 Stat. 241.

36 Act of March 2, 1799, ch. 27, 5 Stat. 721.

87 Id.

26

number of record-keepers, assistants, and employees

assigned menial tasks including:

(i)The “Agistator” who took cattle into the for-

est; (ii) the “Chafe-Wax” who “fit[ted] the wax

for the sealing of writs”; (iii) the “Expenditor,”

“a steward or officer, who look[ed] after the re-

pairs of the banks of [a] [mjarsh”; (iv) the

“Gauger” who measured liquids carried on a

merchant ship; (v) the “Searcher” “whose busi-

ness [was] to examine, and by a peculiar seal to

mark the defects of woolen cloth”; and (vi) the

“Swabber,” “an inferior officer on board a ship

o[f] war, whose office it [was] to take care that

the ship be kept clean.”

Id. at 492.

Mascott also notes that the term “officer” was used

repeatedly in the Federalist and Anti-Federalist pa-

pers. Between them, the essays included over 600 uses

of the terms “office(s)” or “ officer(s).” Id. at 474. She

asserts that the Anti-Federalists used the term “of-

ficer” to reference “rank-and-file officials.” Id. at 52.

For example, Brutus feared Congress’s taxation power

would lead to “the appointment of a swarm of revenue

and excise officers to pray [sic] upon the honest and

industrious part of the community... .” Brutus, Fed-

eral Taxation and the Doctrine of Implied Powers (Part

TD) (1787), in The Anti-Federalist Papers. Additionally,

Richard Henry Lee wrote: “To discern the nature and

extent of this power of appointments, we need only to

consider the vast number of officers necessary to exe-

cute a national system in this extensive country.” An

Anti-Federalist View of the Appointing Power Under

the Constitution (Federal Farmer XIII), in The Anti-

27

Federalist Papers. He also expressed that in the fed-

eral capital city, the only non-officer personnel cate-

gory was that of “servant” or “attendant.” Jd.

The Federalists were not as concerned with the

number of federal officers, but this is not because they

did not believe the term “officer” accounted for almost

all federal employees, but because they disagreed with

the Anti-Federalist view that the federal government

would be expansive. Mascott, at 502-503. Still, as Al-

exander Hamilton said: “As to persons to be employed

in the collection of the revenues, it is unquestionably

true that these will form a very considerable addition

to the number of federal officers ... .” The Federalist

No. 84 (Alexander Hamilton).

3. Thus far, this Court’s case law has always re-

flected this broad understanding of “Officers of the

United States,” acknowledging that even relatively

minor government officials such as “a postmaster first

class” and a “clerk of the district court” were “inferior

officers of the United States within the meaning of the

Appointments Clause.”** Nevertheless, the circuit

courts have become distracted by Buckley’s “signifi-

cant authority” language, fashioning balancing tests

that do not take into account past case law, much less

38 Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 126 (1976); Myers v. United States,

272 U.S. 52 (1926) (holding that a “postmaster of the first class”

was an “Officer of the United States”); United States v. Germaine,

99 U.S. 508, 509-510 (1879) (“[A]ll persons who can be said to

hold as. office under the government. . . were intended to be in-

cluded within one or the other . . . modes of appointment [speci-

fied in the Constitution].”); Ex parte Hennen, 38 U.S. 225 (1839)

(holding that law clerk was an inferior officer).

28

available linguistic evidence.*® For example, in

Landry v. FDIC, 204 F.3d 1125 (D.C. Cir. 2000), the

D.C. Circuit established three “criteria” for courts to

consider when distinguishing between inferior officers

and employees: “(1) the significance of the matters re-

solved by the officials, (2) the discretion they exercise

in reaching their decisions, and (3) the finality of those

decisions.” Tucker v. Comm’r, 676 F.3d 1129, 1133

(D.C. Cir. 2012). Using this test, the court concluded

that administrative law judges—who “conduct public

hearings in a manner similar to federal bench trials,”

“preside at and regulate the course of thiose] hear-

ings,” and “set filling deadlines, issue subpoenas, hold

prehearing conferences, and rule on ~mo-

tions” ““——were not inferior officers.

But in light of this Court’s precedent and the lin-

guistic norms of the Founding era, a more accurate

reading of the Buckley test is that an “Officer of the

United States” is any federal employee that exercises

% Samuels, Kramer & Co. vy. C.1L.R., 930 F.2d 975, 986 (2d Cir.

1991) (examining the duties of the individual, whether the indi-

vidual exercises discretion, and whether they perform important

functions); U.S. ex. rel. Kelly v. Boeing Co., 9 F.3d 743, 758 (9th

Cir. 1993) (examining whether an individual has “primary re-

sponsibility” and “significant authority” to enforce the law);

Bandimere v. SEC, 844 F.3d 1168 (10th Cir. 2016) (examining

whether the position is established by law, whether the person

exercises significant discretion in performing important func-

tions, and whether the position’s salary, duties, and means of ap-

pointment are determined by statute).

U.S. Security and Exchange Commission, Office of Administra-

tive Law Judges, https://www.sec.gov/alj.

29

non-negligible government authority. *) If a judicial

law clerk—not to mention the assistant doorkeeper of

the House of Representatives—is an “Officer,” surely

an ALJ is, too

IV. Empirical evidence derived from corpus lin-

guistics demonstrates that the ordinary

meaning of a public “officer” today includes

ALJs.

Corpus linguistics analysis also demonstrates that

the Landry test is at odds with the modern under-

standing of a public officer. Our findings show that the

ordinary meaning of “officer” encompasses a host of

employees whom the D.C. Circuit, using its current

framework, would likely not classify as such. Specifi-

cally, the term “officer” includes public officials re-

sponsible for governmental duties of almost any level

of significance.

1. To conduct our modern corpus analysis, we

used the Corpus of Contemporary American English

(COCA), a 560+ million word corpus capturing actual

usages from 1990 to 2017. COCA is equally divided

4! Recent scholarship has suggested that a corpus analysis can be

strengthened by investigating the relative frequency of the que-

ried term’s synonyms. See Lawrence M Solan & Tammy Gales,

Corpus Linguistics as a Tool in Legal Interpretation, 2018 B.Y.U.

L. Rev. __ (forthcoming 2018) available at https://ssrn.com/ab-

stract=3047150. One recent study found significant overlap in

the use of the word “officer” and the phrase “public employment.

James Cleith Phillips, et. al., Investigating the Original Meaning

of ‘Officers of the United States’ with the Corpus of Founding-Era

of American English, available at https://pa-

pers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm ?abstract_id=3126975.

30

among spoken, fiction, popular, magazines, newspa-

pers, and academic texts. It strives to capture the full

spectrum of American English—containing everything

from scholarly medical journals to the transcripts of

the Jerry Springer show.

Using COCA, we searched for the term “officer.”

That initial search resulted in 48,353 hits. From these

results, we generated a statistically significant ran-

dom sample of 604 concordance lines. 4?

Our analysis revealed a stark contrast between the

use of the word “officer” in public and private contexts.

For our purposes, the public context includes any level

of government—be it federal, state, or local—while the

private context includes all private entities, including

business, non-profit, and religious organizations.

Only 18% of concordance lines referred to private

officers. And analysis revealed that, in the context of

business organizations, officers are “the most senior

employees” and “are in charge of the day-to-day oper-

ations ... mak[ing] many of the decisions that define

a corporation’s activities,” D. Gordon Smith & Cynthia

A. Williams, Business Organizations: Cases, Prob-

lems, and Case Studies 174 (3d ed. 2012). They are

what we might refer to as the “top brass” of the organ-

ization, with titles that typically include the word

“Chief’—Chief Executive Officer, Chief Financial Of-

ficer, General Counsel, etc.

But in the public context—represented by 78% of

our sample—the original public meaning described

42 Raw data may be accessed at goo.gl/7xt8XP under the “Officer’

in COCA” tab. To replicate our results, search for “officer” in the

Corpus of Contemporary American English. http://cor-

pus.byu.edu/coca).

31

above still prevails, with “officer” referring to almost

any public employee exercising a modicum of govern-

ment authority. This is exemplified best in the many

references to law enforcement—police officers, FBI

agents, highway patrolmen, etc.—which make up 59%

of our overall sample. Even the newest cop assigned to

the traffic beat of the smallest police department is

still referred to as an “officer.”

But our sample is replete with other low-level gov-

ernment employees being referred to as “officer.” On

the federal level, these include: “archaeological protec-

tion officers” (National Parks), ** “foreign service offic-

ers’ (State Department),** “problem resolution

*8 David Holmstrom, A Summer Camp Where Community Service

is Key, Christian Science Monitor (Aug. 16, 1994), available at

https://www.csmonitor.com/1994/0816/16101.html.

“4 See, e.g., Retired Marine Col. James C. Magee, 77, Dies,, Wash.

Post (Dec. 19, 1990), available at https://www.washing-

tonpost.com/archive/local/1990/12/19/retired-marine-col-james-

c-magee-77-dies/643eef00-c905-4cb4 -95d9-

af6719cc39ec/?utm_term=.156253bbba87.

32

officers” (IRS), *° “safety officers” (FDA), * “regional se-

curity officers” (State Department),*’ “intelligence of-

ficers” (CIA),** “wildlife officers” (National Parks),

and “contracting officer.” The umbrella is expanded

when state and local usage is added to the mix: “prison

“5 Elizabeth MacDonald, Six Ways to Survive an IRS Audit, Buf-

falo News (Sept. 11, 1994), available at http://buffa-

lonews.com/ 1994/09/ 1 2/six-ways-to-survive-an-irs-audit/.

46 Melissa Block, Analysis: Lester Crawford officially named head

of the FDA, NPR: All Things Considered, Feb. 14, 2005.

47 Lives Could Have Been Saved in Benghazi, Real Clear Politics

Video (Sept. 8, 2013), available at https://www.realclearpoli-

tics.com/video/20 13/09/08/greg-

ory_hicks_lives_could_have_been_saved_in_benghazi.html.

48 See, e.g., Robert O’Harrow Jr. et. al., NSA Leaks Puts Focus on

Intelligence Apparatus’s Reliance on Outside Contractors,. Wash.

Post (June 10, 2013), available at https://www.washing-

tonpost.com/business/nsa-leaks-put-focus-on-in. ‘ligence-appa-

ratuss-reliance-on-outside-contractors/2013/06/10/e940c4ba-

d20e-11e2-9fla-

la7cdee20287_story.htm]?utm_term=.49d9427e6585.

4* Part I—Survival of the Wildest: Stopping Poachers in the Act,

CBS 48 Hours, Mar. 11, 1992.

50 Steve Inskeep, The Perfection of Character, NPR (Oct. 23,

2006), available at https://www-sl.npr.org/templates/tran-

script/transcript.php?storyld=6352680.

33

officers,”5! “animal control officers,”52 “licensing offic-

ers,”5? “truant officers,”®4 “water authority officers,”™

“child welfare officers,”®°® “community service offic-

ers,”5’ “hearing officers,”°* “placement officers,”®°? and

5! Ross B. MacDonals et. al., The Politics of Victimhood, 60 J. of

Int'l Affairs 173 (2006), available at https://www.thefreeli-

brary.com/The+tpolitics+of+victimhood%3A thistori-

cal+memory+and+peace+in+Spain+tandt+...-a0163049402.

52 Richard Berman, A Liberal Dose of State Ballot Measures,

Wash. Times (Nov. 7, 2016), available at https://www.washing-

tontimes.com/news/201 6/nov/7/a-liberal-dose-of-state-ballot-

measures/.

58 Kenneth R. Timmerman, Close-out Sale at Commerce, 28 Am.

Spectator 36 (Aug. 1995).

54 Truant Officers Attend to Schools’ Needs, Chicago Sun-Times,

(Sept. 11, 1992).

56 Allison Brown, Counting Farmers Markets, 91 Geog. Rev. 655

(Oct. 2001), available at https://www.questia.com/library/jour-

nal/1G1-93207326/counting-farmers-markets.

56 Professor X, In the Basement of the Ivory Tower, Atlantic (June

2008), available at https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/ar-

chive/2008/06/in-the-basement-of-the-ivory-tower/3068 10/.

57 Elgin Community Service Officer Charged with Theft of Ex-

plorer Funds, Chicago Tribune (Jan. 4, 2016), available at

http://www.chicagotribune.com/suburbs/elgin-courier-

news/news/ct-ecn-elgin-police-criminal-charges-st-0105-

20160104-story.html.

58 Christopher N. Osher, Denver Inmate Abuse Case Brings Up

Old Questions about depty conduct, Denver Post (Apr. 27, 2016),

available at https://www.denverpost.com/2014/09/03/denver-in-

mate-abuse-case-brings-up-old-questions-about-deputy-con-

duct/.

5? J. Heilemann et. al., Uncle Sam Doesn't Want You, 22 Wash.

Monthly 38 (Dec. 1990).

34

“senior fisheries officer|s].”"°° Many of these govern-

ment officials exercise only de minimis authority. Yet

they are nonetheless considered “officers” in today’s

ordinary speech.

References to military officers comprise 28% of our

overall sample. As at the Founding, there remains a

distinction between “commissioned officers” and “non-

commissioned officers” (NCOs). Today, commissioned

officers—all 359,090 of them—have each received a

presidential commission and confirmed by the Sen-

ate.®! This includes even the most recent ROTC grad-

uate.

By contrast, a non-commissioned officer or NCO is

one who climbs to a particular rank among enlisted

service members and exercises even modest authority

over other enlisted service members.®2 Combined, the

two classes of “officers” comprise more than 64.5% of

the entire military.®? And all of them—NCOs as well

as commissioned officers—are considered “officers.”

6. Carlos M. Duarte, Will the Oceans Help Feed Humanity?, 59

Bioscience 967 (2009).

6! U.S. Dep’t of Defense, Officer Rank Insignias, https://www.de-

fense.gov/About/Insignias/Officers/; Dep’t of Defense, 2016 De-

mographics Report 6 (2016).

6 See U.S. Dep't of Defense, Enlisted Rank Insignics,

https://www.defense.gov/About/Insignias/Enlisted/; see also Non-

commissioned officer, Black’s Law Dictionary 1258 (10th ed.

2014) (“An enlisted person in the Army, Air Force, or Marine

Corps in certain pay grades above the lowest pay grade.”).

63 Dep’t of Defense, 2016 Demographics Report 6, 15 (2016)

(916,078 of 1,419,231; of those, 359,090 are commissioned and

546,988 are NCOs).

35

Our data also reveal that occasionally the public

and private senses of the word “officer” are inverted.

The corpus contains a handful of references to corpo-

rate employees outside the top brass being referred to

as “officers”’—i.e “security officer,” “officer in the

church,” and “loan officer.” More rare is when a gov-

ernment position is described using corporate jargon.

For example, in 2009 President Obama created a po-

sition within the White House called the “Chief Tech-

nology Officer,” tasked with “harness[ing] the power

of technology, data, and innovation to advance the fu-

ture of our Nation.”® Interestingly enough, the White

House did not consider the “Chief Technology Officer”

an officer under the Buckley test until the position was

codified in 2017 legislation.®

In light of these data, it is possible that the D.C.

Circuit’s understanding of the Buckley test has its or-

igins in an erroneous—and almost certainly subcon-

scious—importation of the business sense of the word

“officer” to the Constitution. Contextually this makes

little sense. Even today, the ordinary meaning of a

government “officer” is much broader—extending to

“archaeological preservation officers” and “animal

control officers.”

In short, our vernacular certainly considers an ad-

ministrative law judge an “Officer of the United

States.” Our legal system should, too.

64 Office of Science and Technology Policy, Office of the Chief

Technology Officer, https://obamawhitehouse.archives.gov/ad-

ministration/eop/ostp/divisions/cto/.

65 See American Innovation and Competiveness Act, Pub. L. No.

114-329, § 604, 130 Stat. 2969, 3037 (2017).

36

CONCLUSION

The D.C. Circuit’s decision does not reflect either

the original or modern sense of the phrase “Officers of

the United States” which extends to any federal em-

ployee exercising non-negligible government author-

ity. The Court should therefore reverse, and fashion

an empirically sound test grounded in the linguistic

meaning of the Constitution.

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES HEILPERN GENE C. SCHAERR

Law & Corpus Linguistics Counsel of Record

Fellow MICHAEL T. WORLEY

BYU LAW SCHOOL SCHAERR | DUNCAN LLP

415 JRCB 1717 K Street NW, Ste. 900

Provo, UT 84602 Washington, DC 20006

(202) 787-1060

gschaerr@schaerr-duncan.com

February 28, 2018

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A: List of Amici

Laurence Anthony is a Professor in the Faculty

of Science and Engineering at Waseda University, Ja-

pan.

Ronald R. Butters is a Professor Emeritus of

English and former Director of the Linguistics Pro-

gram at Duke University.

Malcom Coulthard is an Emeritus Professor of

Forensic Linguistics at Aston University.

Mark Davies is a Professor of Linguistics at

Brigham Young University.

Jesse Egbert is an Assistant Professor of Applied

Linguistics at Northern Arizona University.

William G. Eggington is the Ludwig-Weber-Sie-

bach Humanities Professor in the Linguistics and

English Department of Brigham Young University.

Edward Finegan is a Professor Emeritus of Lin-

guistics and Law at the University of Southern Cali-

fornia.

Tammy Gales is an Associate Professor of Com-

parative Literature, Languages, and Linguistics at

Hofstra University.

Tim Grant is a Professor in Forensic Linguistics,

Director of the Centre for Forensic Linguistics, and

Associate Dean of Partnerships and Community En-

gagement at Aston University.

2a

Stefan Th. Gries is a Professor of Linguistics at

the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Jack Grieve is a Professorial Fellow in Corpus

Linguistics in the Department of English Language

and Applied Linguistics at the University of Birming-

ham.

Tony McEnry is a Distinguished Professor of

English Language and Linguistics at Lancaster Uni-

versity.

Jeffrey R. Parker is an Assistant Professor of

Linguistics & English Language at Brigham Young

University.

Rui Sousa-Silva is an Assistant Professor of the

Faculty of Arts and Post-doctoral Researcher at the

Linguistics Centre of the University of Porto.

Sara White is the Corpus Linguistics Research

Fellow at the J. Reuben Clark Law School at Brigham

Young University.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.