Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Weyerhaeuser Co. v. U.S. Fish & Wildlife Serv., 139 S. Ct. 45 (2018) (No. 17-71)

Supreme Court brief2018

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

MUL 11 20i7

. . THE CLERK

WS. J

Jn the Supreme Court of the Anited States

17-21 FILED

WEYERHAEUSER COMPANY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

UNITED STATES FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE, ET AL.,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RICHARD C. STANLEY TIMOTHY S. BISHOP

Stanley, Reuter, Ross, Counsel of Record

Thornton & Alford, LLC CHAD M. CLAMAGE

909 Poydras Street, Suite Mayer Brown LLP

2500 71 South Wacker Drive

New Orleans, LA 70112 Chicago, Illinois 60606

(504) 523-1580 (312) 782-0600

tbishop@mayerbrown.com

JAMES R. JOHNSTON

ZACHARY R. HIATT

Weyerhaeuser Company

220 Occidental Ave. S.

Seattle, Washington 98104

(206) 539-4361

Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Congress enacted the Endangered Species Act to

conserve “ecosystems upon which endangered species

** * depend.” 16 U.S.C. § 1531(b). To that end, the Act

requires the Secretary of the Interior to “designate any

habitat of such species which is then considered to be

critical habitat.” Id. § 1533(a)(3)(A). “Critical habitat”

may include areas “occupied by the species,” as well as

“areas outside the geographical area occupied by the

species” that are determined to be “essential for the

conservation of the species.” Jd. § 1532(5)(A).

The Fish and Wildlife Service designated as critical

habitat of the endangered dusky gopher frog a 1500-

acre tract of private land that concededly contains no

dusky gopher frogs and cannot provide habitat for

them absent a radical change in land use because it

lacks features necessary for their survival. The Service

concluded that this designation could cost $34 million

in lost development value of the tract. But it found that

this cost is not disproportionate to “biological” benefits

of designation and so refused to exclude the tract from

designation under 16 U.S.C. § 1533(b)(2).

A divided Fifth Circuit panel upheld the designa-

tion. The questions presented, which six judges of the

court of appeals and fifteen States urged warrant

further review because of their great importance, are:

1. Whether the Endangered Species Act prohibits

designation of private land as unoccupied critical

habitat that is neither habitat nor essential to species

conservation.

2. Whether an agency decision not to exclude an

area from critical habitat because of the economic

impact of designation is subject to judicial review.

li

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

In addition to petitioner Weyerhaeuser Company,

plaintiffs-appellants below, respondents here, are

Markle Interests, LLC, P&F Lumber Company 2000,

LLC, and PF Monroe Properties, LLC, which are filing

a separate petition for certiorari.

Defendants-appellees below, the federal agency

respondents here, are the United States Fish and

Wildlife Service; and, by operation of Rule 35.3, Greg

Sheehan, in his official capacity as Acting Director of

the United States Fish and Wildlife Service, and Ryan

Zinke, in his official capacity as Secretary of the

Department of Interior.

Intervenor-defendants-appellees below, and

respondents here, are the Center for Biological

Diversity and Gulf Restoration Network.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Petitioner Weyerhaeuser Company is a publicly

held company. It has no parent corporation and no

publicly held company owns 10% or more of its stock.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented ......... iceman Paihia tacenesion lalate i

Parties to the Proceedings ae Sat Tet Rafe UE eee. il

Corporate Disclosure Statement ............................... il

a a aisinde cirn ania Gapinds salianeteens 1

lease 1

Statutes and iedattnes ME 2 Ae AEE GATOR AR 1

ace caabineiviiipannnnebsiniaious 2

A. The Statutory And Regulatory Scheme...........5

B. The ESA’s Critical Habitat Provisions ............ 6

C. FWS’s Designation Of Unoccupied

Critical Habitat For The Dusky Gopher

| BRENT ag RE a SE oN APES Be ai Cou eiraniet 9

D. The District Court Distdien AS PR ASE BSS LMR SE SE 12

E. The Fifth Circuit’s Divided Panel

Decision And En Banc Vote .................0..0...... 13

Reasons For Granting The Petition.......................... 14

I. The Fifth Circuit Misinterpreted The ESA’s

Critical Habitat Provisions. .........................0000.008 14

A. The ESA Prohibits Designation Of Unit

EEE CE 15

B. The Fifth Circuit’s Ruling Conflicts

With Decisions Of The Ninth Circuit. ........... 24

Il. The Meaning Of “Critical Habitat” Is Of

Immense And Immediate Public

EE te FS RES BES a 26

A. The Panel’s Ruling Inflicts Significant

Costs On Private Landowners, With No

Benefits To Endangered Species.................... 26

iV

B. FWS’s New Rule Formalizing Its

Authority To Designate Unoccupied

Non-Habitat Reinforces The Need For

I a ncapsomseebesunensecses 30

Ill. The Panel’s Erroneous Holding That FWS’s

Decision Not To Exclude Unit 1 From

Designation Is Judicially Unreviewable

“Play[s] Havoc With Administrative Law’ ......... 31

ERT ae oS Rl Date! PT EI RE cee peer 33

Appendix A — Opinion of the court of appeals

Cee sd ces ocaliinues la

Appendix B — Opinion of the district court

a Js inaespdiseseennie 78a

Appendix C — Order denying rehearing

ee cc nisuesescotuden 123a

Appendix D — Statutes Involved ......................... 163a

Appendix E — Regulations Involved.................... 166a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases

All. for Wild Rockies v. Lyder,

728 F.Supp.2d 1126 (D. Mont. 2010)................... 25

Am. Forest Res. Council v. Ashe,

946 F. Supp. 2d 1 (D.D.C. 2013), affd,

601 F. App’x 1 (D.C. Cir. 2015)....0..ccccccccececeeeeseee. 25

Arizona Cattle Growers’ Ass'n v. Salazar,

606 F.3d 1160 (9th Cir. 2010)........0..0000.000000c. 4, 24

Babbitt v. Sweet Home Chapter of

Communities for a Great Oregon,

a ccevisvenesersonmaaed 6, 20

Bennett v. Spear,

ES BD WII avin cn atiaionesuceosenés 5, 6, 14, 32, 33

Cape Hatteras Access Pres. All. vy. U.S. Dep't

of Interior,

344 F. Supp.2d 108 (D.D.C. 2004) 2.000... 00 cn... 25

Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. N.R.D.C.,

ee nincranasemeansiial 18

Clark v. Martinez,

i i is ceawsspeoduseny 21

Ctr. for Biological Diversity v. Kelly,

93 F.Supp.3d 1193 (D. Idaho 2015)..................... 25

vl

Esquivel-Quintana v. Sessions,

Ao Fy OMCs eA 18

Home Builders Ass'n of N. Cal. v. U.S. Fish

& Wildlife Services,

616 F.3d GBS (th Cir. BOIO).................cccccccceseesses 24

Mach Mining, LLC v. EEOC,

oe se Rare cask RE AT: 32

Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass’n v. State Farm

Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.,

Se ee i hic pnsttvtevinstcnncbancaharees EERE © 32, 33

Nat'l Ass’n of Home Builders v. Babbitt,

ft fe fg heat RR T 22

Nat'l Ass'n of Home Builders v. Defenders of

Wildlife,

Ee Wee NO Ce Piireesectevcinsessminceeraicanenee 6, 18

Nat Fed. of Indep. Business v. Sebelius,

BE CF i crticsintsiscvesicesnkiasddimauanmaaiaee 22

Rapanos v. United States,

Oe SF as Fe i ctnientersxnsessscescseiacabienmiel 4, 22, 23

Solid Waste Agency of N. Cook Cty. v. Army

Corps,

8s | Rene ner, 5, 21, 22, 23

Tenn. Valley Auth. v. Hill,

FF a, Be i iccrcivcpeevsccenestctassincdhaaeeee 6, 7

Util. Air Regulatory Grp. v. EPA,

et Bi ef np ee mes 20

Vl

Statutes, Rules, and Regulations

I I noc ccccecsccscececsescocecsensee 18

16 U.S.C.

Si SE a ae 1

§ 1531(c)(2) eens. Tae 23

a 7,17

Nee cmcmavesereeoms 17

a 3,8

§ 1532(5)(C) ............... oe 7, 19

a Es 20

ES a

a cssietepeseneocsoudad 20

once sccceeveesesersesecss aero A a See 7

ao scuseoccmmnes 3, 15

Se 11, 32

<a 20

Sa 19, 20

Rg SSE caDSR EE 20

gs aecesanendes 20

EE a 20

i caducedene 5, 19

ac stteeuneenéusonoomota 6

re . ssascuseunanmnctmens 6

na. csessacepeceamencovens 6

Ee l

Se _csturhutsecusonsones 6

50 C.F.R.

EERE RE RC 2, 30

ee x

a ON Bae $

vill

62 Fed. Reg. 39129 (July 22, 1997) .......0..0cccccceceeeeees 28

68 Fed. Reg. 46684 (Aug. 6, 2003) .......0..0...0c0c0000--0--- 28

75 Fed. Reg. 31387 (June 3, 2010) .............cccccceceeeeee: 10

76 Fed. Reg. 59774 (Sept. 27, 2011) ............0...... 10, 20

77 Fed. Reg. 35118 (June 12, 2012).........00....... passim

81 Fed. Reg. 7414 (Feb.11, 2016).................... 8, 30, 31

Miscellaneous

AMERICAN HERITAGE DICTIONARY OF THE

ENGLISH LANGUAGE (1981) ........................00.. 16, 19

Sheila Baynes, Cost Consideration and the

Endangered Species Act, N.Y.U. L. REV.

RG aa SE Ret ate ARE Ds ITE at SS EB 29

BLACK’S LAW DICTIONARY (5th ed. 1979) ......... seskines 17

Harry T. Edwards, et al., FEDERAL

STANDARDS OF REVIEW 78-81 (2d ed.

eT RI RR A cet Se ty ee Pe 33

H.R. Rep. No. 95-1625 (1978), reprinted in

1978 U.8.C.C.A.N. O4BGB................0..00c00000 4, 7, 8, 21

IEC, Economic Analysis of Critical Habitat

Designation for the Dusky Gopher Frog

Sy ME aiaciocecnkihodieteadedaieidadsusiedtaansaiseudinn 11, 23

1X

Norman D. James & Thomas J. Ward,

Critical Habitat’s Limited Role Under

the Endangered Species Act and Its

Improper Transformation into “Recovery”

Habitat, 35 J. ENVTL. L. 1 (2016).........0.000000000000.... 6

Joe Kerkvliet and Christian Langpap,

Learning from Endangered and

Threatened Species Recovery Programs:

A Case Siudy Using U.S. Endangered

Species Act Recovery Scores, 63 ECOL.

Ne ha ditniccissncdenciassedtnitinaanssedaionciioubiis 28

Dean Lueck and Jeffrey A. Michael},

Preemptive Habitat Destruction Under

the Endangered Species Act, 46 J.L. &

I i cei 28

OXFORD ENGLISH DICTIONARY (2d ed. 1989)........... 19

RANDOM HOUSE DICTIONARY OF THE

ENGLISH LANGUAGE

Rs CUI, I oo ces cuccccsonecocncceies 16, 18, 19

St. Tammany Parish Council, Res. Council

Ser. No. C-3274 (Nov. 3, 2011) .00.0..000000000000000000. 11

S. Comm. on Env’'t & Pub. Works, 97th

Cong., A LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF THE

ENDANGERED SPECIES ACT OF 1973, AS

AMENDED IN 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, AND

1980 (COMM. PRINT 1982)...........0.00....0000-0 cece eee. 8, 21

Stephen M. Shapiro, et al., SUPREME COURT

PRACTICE (BGG OG, BOUT) qn... .........ccccccccecccccscccoscess 16

x

Andrew J. Turner and Kerry L. McGrath, A

Wider View of the Impacts of Critical

Habitat Designation, 43 ENVTL. L.

I, A EE CEO 26

WEBSTER’S THIRD NEW INTERNATIONAL

I eo saninipinenmennsintl

Jeffrey E. Zabel and Robert W. Paterson,

The Effects of Critical Habitat

Designation on Housing Supply: An

Analysis of California Housing

Construction Activity, 46 J. REG’L SCI. 67

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Weyerhaeuser Company respectfully

petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment

of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-

77a) is reported at 827 F.3d 452. The court of appeals’

denial of rehearing en banc and opinion of six

dissenting judges (Pet. App. 123a-162a) is reported at

848 F.3d 635. The decision of the district court (Pet.

App. 78a-122a) is reported at 40 F.Supp.3d 744.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the district court granting in

relevant part the defendants’ motions for summary

judgment was entered on August 22, 2014. RE100,

Dkt. 130.! Weyerhaeuser Company (“Weyerhaeuser”)

timely appealed. RE49-50, Dkt. 133. The judgment of

the court of appeals was entered on June 30, 2016. The

court of appeals’ order denying the petition for

rehearing en banc was entered on February 13, 2017.

Justice Thomas extended the time to file a petition for

certiorari to July 13, 2017. No. 16A916 (Mar. 27 &

June 9, 2017). Jurisdiction rests on 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

Relevant portions of the Endangered Species Act,

16 U.S.C. §§ 1531 et seq. (“ESA”), are reproduced at

Pet. App. 163a-165a. U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

(“FWS”) regulations describing the “criteria for

! The Record Excerpts of the Appellants filed in the Court of

Appeals are cited as “RE.”

2

designating critical habitat” that applied in this case

appear at 50 C.F.R. § 424.12 (2011) and are reproduced

at Pet. App. 166a-169a. The final designation of critical

habitat for the dusky gopher frog is published at 77

Fed. Reg. 35118 (June 12, 2012).

STATEMENT

The endangered dusky gopher frog, it is

undisputed, needs three things for its habitat. 77 Fed.

Reg. at 35131.

First, for breeding, it needs small isolated,

ephemeral ponds embedded in open canopy forest.

Second, it needs upland, open canopy forest close to

its breeding ponds to serve as non-breeding habitat.

This forest needs to be “maintained by fires frequent

enough to support an open canopy and abundant

herbaceous ground cover.” [bid.

Third, the frog needs upland habitat connecting its

breeding and non-breeding grounds to allow movement

between them. This too must have “an open canopy”

and the “abundant native herbaceous species” of

groundcover produced by frequent fires. [bid.

These three “primary constituent elements”

(“PCEs”) of frog habitat are each essential to “support

the life-history processes of the species.” Ibid. If one is

missing, the frog will not survive.

Respondent FWS designated as critical habitat for

the dusky gopher frog areas of Mississippi occupied by

the frog and other areas that the frog does not occupy

but which have each of these three features. In

addition—and at issue here—FWS designated 1544

acres of private forestry land in Louisiana. I/d. at

35135.

There is no dispute that this Louisiana property

(“Unit 1”) is not occupied by the frog. Ibid. (“the last

3

observation of a dusky gopher frog in Louisiana was in

1965”). There also is no dispute that Unit 1 has at best

one of the features necessary for frog habitat—

ephemeral ponds. FWS recognized that “uplands

associated with thfose] ponds do not currently contain

the essential physical or biological features of critical

habitat.” Jbid. To the contrary, Unit 1 contains a

“closed-canopy forest” of loblolly pines that is

“unsuitable as habitat for dusky gopher frogs.” Jd. at

35129. And Unit 1’s management does not “includ[e

the] frequent fires” necessary to “support a diverse

ground cover of herbaceous plants” in “the uplands and

in the breeding ponds.” [bid. In other words, “Unit 1 is

uninhabitable” by the frog barring a radical change in

the Jand’s use by its private owners. Pet. App. 129a; see

77 Fed. Reg. at 35132.

The problem with FWS’s designation of Unit 1 as

critical habitat for the dusky gopher frog is that the

ESA does not authorize it. That is so for two indep-

endent reasons. First, the only land FWS is statutorily

authorized to designate is “any habitat of [an

endangered species] which is then considered to be

critical habitat.” 16 U.S.C. § 1533(a)(3)(A)(i) (emphasis

added). As six dissenters from denial of en banc review

explained, that plain statutory language means that

“[w]hatever is ‘critical habitat’ * * * must first be ‘any

habitat of such species” —that is, it must be “a place

where the species” could “naturally live or grow.” Pet.

App. 132a, 142a. Unit 1 does not fit that description.

Second, areas not occupied by the endangered

species, like Unit 1, may be designated as critical

habitat only if “such areas are essential for the

conservation of the species.” 16 U.S.C. § 1532(5)(A)(ii)

(emphasis added). There is no plausible reading of that

phrase that includes areas that are uninhabitable by

the species. The Fifth Circuit’s ruling offends that

A

plain statutory language and perversely makes it

easier to designate unoccupied areas than occupied

areas, in conflict with decisions of other circuits and

Congress's intent. See, e.g., Arizona Cattle Growers’

Ass'n v. Salazar, 606 F.3d 1160, 1163 (9th Cir. 2010)

(the ESA “impos[es] a more onerous procedure on the

designation of unoccupied areas”); H.R. Rep. No. 95-

1625, at 18 (1978), reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N.

9453, 9468 (FWS “should be exceedingly circumspect in

the designation of critical habitat outside of the

presently occupied area of the species’).

The cost of FWS’s vast expansion of federal power

over private land is enormous. If the ponds on Unit |

are jurisdictional under the Clean Water Act (““CWA’),

any proposed change in the use of the land that

requires a CWA permit will trigger an ESA Section 7

consultation with FWS. 77 Fed. Reg. 35140-35141.

That means that any CWA permit would be

conditioned on the landowners complying with FWS

demands to create a preserve for the frog—or would be

denied altogether if “the Service recommends that no

development occur within the unit.” /d. at 35141.

FWS’s own economic analysis estimated that the

resulting lost development opportunities could cost the

landowners $34 million. Jd. at 35141. Multiplied for

the 2000+ animals and plants listed as endangered or

threatened, FWS’s expansion of its powers imposes a

multi-billion dollar drain on our economy.

FWS’s misinterpretation of the ESA undermines

our federal system of government. It substitutes

federal agency authority over vast tracts of private

land for the “quintessential state and local power” over

“[rlegulation of land use.” Rapanos v. United States,

547 U.S. 715, 738 (2006). No “clear and manifest’

statement from Congress” authorizes that “unprec-

edented intrusion into traditional state authority.”

5

Ibid. That is why fifteen States, including Louisiana,

urged en banc review in this case to “protec[t] the

private property rights of citizens and the sovereign

interests of the States.” Br. Am. Curiae of Alabama, et

al., in Support of Rhg. En Banc, at 1 (Aug. 9, 2016).

FWS’s interpretation furthermore “invokes the outer

limits of Congress’ power” over interstate commerce.

Solid Waste Agency of N. Cook Cty. v. Army Corps, 531

U.S. 159, 172 (2001) (““SWANCC’”). This Court reads

“statute[s] as written to avoid [such] significant

constitutional and federalism questions’—which here

calls for rejection of FWS’s expansive interpretation of

its powers. Jd. at 174.

The en banc dissenters recognized “the importance

of further review” of the Fifth Circuit's erroneous

decision, which garnered only bare panel and full court

majorities. Pet. App. 162a. This Court should intervene

now to ensure that the majoritys “non-textual

interpretations” of the ESA do not abrogate “Congress's

efforts to prescribe limits on the designation of [critical

habitat].” Ibid.

A. The Statutory and Regulatory Scheme

ESA Section 4, 16 U.S.C. § 1533(a), “requires the

Secretary of the Interior to promulgate regulations

listing those species of animals that are ‘threatened’ or

‘endangered’ under specified criteria, and to designate

their ‘critical habitat.” Bennett v. Spear, 520 U.S. 154,

157-158 (1997). Section 7, 16 U.S.C. § 1536(a)(2),

“further requires each federal agency to ‘insure that

any action authorized, funded, or carried out by such

agency” is not likely to “result in the destruction or

adverse modification of [critical] habitat.” Id. at 158.

If an agency finds that proposed federal action may

have an adverse effect on critical habitat, “it must

engage in formal consultation with [FWS],” which then

6

“provide[s] the agency with a written statement (the

Biological Opinion) explaining how the proposed action

will affect the species or its habitat” and outlining

“reasonable and prudent alternatives” to “avoid that

consequence.” Bennett, 520 U.S. at 158; see 16 U.S.C.

§ 1536(a)(3), (b)(3)-(4). “Following the issuance of a

‘jeopardy’ opinion, the agency must either terminate

the action, implement the proposed alternative, or seek

an exemption from the Cabinet-level Endangered

Species Committee.” Natl Ass'n of Home Builders v.

Def. of Wildlife, 551 U.S. 644, 652 (2007).

The Section 7 consultation requirement means that

federal agencies must “ensure that none of their

activities, including the granting of licenses and

permits,” adversely affect critical habitat. Babbitt v.

Sweet Home Chapter of Communities for a Great

Oregon, 515 U.S. 687, 692 (1995). Accordingly, the

Act’s requirements apply to any proposed use of private

land for which a federal permit is required, such as a

permit to discharge fill material into wetlands under

Section 404 of the CWA, 33 U.S.C. § 1344.

B. The ESA’s Critical Habitat Provisions

As enacted in 1973, the ESA mentioned critical

habitat only in Section 7’s consultation provision. See

Norman D. James & Thomas J. Ward, Critical

Habitat’s Limited Role Under the Endangered Species

Act and Its Improper Transformation into “Recovery”

Habitat, 35 J. ENVTL. L. 1, 12 (2016). The 1973 Act

“d{id] not define ‘critical habitat.” Tenn. Valley Auth. v.

Hill, 437 U.S. 153, 160 n.9 (1978).

Five years later, this Court held that the

Tennessee Valley Authority must cease building a

nearly completed dam to prevent the destruction of the

snail darter’s critical habitat. Hill, 437 U.S. at 165.

Because the completion of the Tellico Dam would

7

“result in total destruction of the snail darter’s

habitat,” the statute required that the threat to the

fish be halted “whatever the cost.” Jd. at 162, 184.

The Tellico Dam litigation led Congress to believe

that more “flexibility is needed in the Act.” H.R. Rep.

No. 95-1625, at 13, 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 9463.

Congress responded by “defin[ing] for the first time”

the term “critical habitat” to “narro[w] the scope of the

term” and address the problem that too broad a

definition “could conceivably lead to the designation of

virtually all of the habitat of a listed species as its

critical habitat.” Id. at 25, 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 9475.

As amended, ESA Section 4 requires FWS “by

regulation,” “to the maximum extent prudent and

determinable,” to “designate any habitat of [the listed]

species which is then considered to be critical habitat.”

16 U.S.C. § 1533(a)(3)(A). Section 3, in turn, defines

“critical habitat” to mean:

(i) the specific areas within the geographical

area occupied by the species, at the time it is

listed * * *, on which are found those physical

or biological features (I) essential to the

conservation of the species and (II) which may

require special management considerations or

protection; and

(ii) specific areas outside the geographical area

occupied by the species at the time it is listed

*** upon a determination by the Secretary

that such areas are essential for the

conservation of the species.

16 U.S.C. § 1532(5)(A). The 1978 amendments also

provided that except in “circumstances determined by

the Secretary, critical habitat shall not include the

entire geographical area which can be occupied by the

[listed] species.” Id. § 1532(5)(C).

8

Explaining these amendments, the House

Merchant Marine and Fisheries Committee urged that

“the Secretary should be exceedingly circumspect in

the designation of critical habitat outside of the

presently occupied area of the species.” H.R. Rep. No.

95-1625, at 18, 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 9468. Represen-

tative Murphy, a sponsor, confirmed that the

amendments created an “extremely narrow definition”

of critical habitat. S. Comm. on Env’t & Pub. Works,

97th Cong., A LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF THE

ENDANGERED SPECIES ACT OF 1973, AS AMENDED IN

1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, AND 1980, at 1221 (Comm.

Print 1982) (“LEG. HIST.”).

At the time FWS designated critical habitat for the

dusky gopher frog, its regulations provided that it

“may designate as critical occupied habitat” areas “that

contain certain physical or biological features called

‘primary constituent elements, or ‘PCEs,” such as

space for normal behavior, nutritional or physiological

requirements, breeding sites, and shelter. Pet. App.

83a (quoting 50 C.F.R. § 424.12(b) (2012)).

FWS regulations provided that the agency could

“designate as critical unoccupied habitat” areas outside

the geographical areas occupied by the species if it

determined the habitat “is essential for the

conservation of the species’ and ‘only when a

designation limited to its present range would be

inadequate to ensure the conservation of the species.”

Pet. App. 83a (quoting 16 U.S.C. § 1532(5)(A)(ii) and 50

C.F.R. § 424.12(e)).?

2 Citing this case, FWS amended its regulations in 2016 to align

with the designation criteria it applied to dusky gopher frog

habitat. 81 Fed. Reg. 7439 (Feb. 11, 2016). See Part II.B, infra.

9

C. FWS’s Designation Of Unoccupied Critical

Habitat For The Dusky Gopher Frog

The dusky gopher frog “is a terrestrial amphibian

endemic to the longleaf pine ecosystem.” Pet. App. 84a-

85a. It spends most of its life “underground in forested

habitat consisting of fire-maintained, open-canopied,

pine woodlands historically dominated by longleaf

pine.” bid. (quoting 77 Fed. Reg. at 35129-35131).

Frogs travel from their underground retreats to “small,

isolated ephemeral ponds to _ breed”—-because

ephemeral ponds lack predator fish—“then return to

their subterranean forested environment.” Pet. App.

85a. “Frequent fires” are “critical to maintaining the

prey base” for the frog and the necessary “diverse

ground cover of herbaceous plants, both in the uplands

and in the breeding ponds.” Jd. at 85a n.7 (quoting 77

Fed. Reg. at 35130).

FWS designated the dusky gopher frog as

endangered in 2001, but did not at that time designate

critical habitat. It did so in 2012, after settling

litigation to compel designation. Pet. App. 85a-86a.

1. FWS’s final designation. FWS identified three

habitat elements essential to the conservation of the

frog: ephemeral wetlands for breeding; upland forest

for non-breeding habitat; and upland areas connecting

the two. 77 Fed. Reg. at 35131. Essential to all three

are an “open canopy,” “herbaceous vegetation,” and

“fires frequent enough to support” those features. Ibid.

FWS conceded that the dusky gopher frog is

currently known to occur only in Mississippi. Id. at

35120. It nevertheless designated as critical habitat

1544 acres of forested land in St. Tammany Parish,

Louisiana, known as Unit 1, where the frog “had not

been seen * * * since the 1960s” and which is 50 miles

10

from where the frog now lives. Pet. App. 86a; see 77

Fed. Reg. at 35146 (map).

FWS designated Unit 1 because it contains isolated

ponds “into which dusky gopher frogs could be

translocated” to establish a new population. 77 Fed.

Reg. at 35135. FWS acknowledged that apart from

these ponds Unit 1 does not contain the necessary

clements for frog habitat: its uplands “do not currently

contain the essential physical or biological features of

critical habitat.” [bid.; see id. at 35129 (Unit 1 is “a

closed-canopy forest unsuitable as habitat for dusky

gopher frogs”). But FWS asserted that “the presence of

the PCEs is not a necessary clement for this

[unoccupied critical habitat] determination.” Id. at

35123. Although a new frog population could not be

established on Unit 1 without dramatically changing

the use of this privately owned land to “fire-

maintained, open-canopied, pine woodlands” (id. at

35129), FWS deemed Unit 1’s designation “essential for

the conservation of the species” because with all those

changes it could provide habitat for population

expansion. Id. at 35135.3

2. FWS’s economic analysis. ESA Section 4(b)(2)

requires the Secretary to “tak[e] into consideration the

economic impact” of specifying critical habitat and

provides that he “may exclude any area” if “he

determines that the benefits of such exclusion

3 After years of study FWS initially proposed a designation that

did not include Unit 1, only Mississippi sites. 75 Fed. Reg. 31387

(June 3, 2010). In response to comments, FWS later added Unit 1

“as a future site for frog reestablishment,” though “it only contains

one primary constituent clement” of frog habitat, to address the

“risk of extirpation and extinction from stochastic events” (76 Fed.

Reg. 59774, 59780 (Sept. 27, 2011))-—-i.e., as a “backup” site to

those in Mississippi.

11

outweigh the benefits of [designation]” (unless

exclusion would result in extinction of the species). 16

U.S.C. § 1533(b)(2).

Petitioner Weyerhaeuser owns part of Unit 1 and

leases the remainder from longtime family owners to

grow and harvest timber. [ts lease expires in 2043. RE

108. After Hurricane Katrina, Unit 1's higher elevation

made it desirable for residential and commercial

development. The landowners, including Weyer-

haeuser, undertook comprehensive joint planning for

future development, obtaining zoning changes and

local approvals. RE 108-109. FWS acknowledged that

the owners “invested a significant amount of time and

dollars into their plans to develop” Unit 1, which is

“particularly attractive for development” because

“Loutsiana Highway 36 runs through [it].” IEC,

Economic Analysis of Critical Habitat Designation for

the Dusky Gopher Frog, at 4-3 4 73 (Apr. 6, 2012)

(“Final Econ. Analysis”).*

FWS recognized that designation of Unit 1 could

interfere with the planned development. If the ponds

fall within CWA jurisdiction, that would necessitate a

Section 7 consultation and result in the imposition of

CWA permit conditions. FWS calculated that permit

* St. Tammany Parish is “fast-growing,” with “[t]he area

immediately surrounding [Unit 1] experiencing particularly rapid

growth” that includes “large warehousing facilities,” a “new high

school,” and “major transportation infrastructure” to serve a

population that increased “22 per cent{] between 2000 and 2010”

and continues to grow rapidly. Final Econ. Analysis at 4-2 { 71.

The Parish Council opposed the designation of Unit 1 because it

would “adversely impact small businesses and families” and

reduce tax revenues, and frequent fires would be a safety hazard.

St. Tammany Parish Council, Res. Council Ser. No. C-3274 (Nov.

3, 2011).

12

conditions requiring 60 percent of Unit 1 to be set aside

as frog habitat would destroy $20.4 million of

development value. If development were prohibited

altogether, the loss would be $33.9 million. RE 119-

120; 77 Fed. Reg. at 35140-35141. This “reduction in

land value occurs immediately at the time of

designation.” RE 120.

FWS recognized that no monetary benefits from

the designation can be quantified, but found benefits

“expressed in biological terms.” 77 Fed. Reg. at 35141;

RE 121-123. Balancing the up-to-$34 million loss to the

landowners against unquantified biological benefits,

FWS “did not identify any disproportionate costs” of

designation and so declined to exclude Unit 1 from

designation. Jd. at 35141. Notably, however, even if

CWA permits were denied, “the Government is aware

that Unit 1 cannot be used for the conservation of the

[frog] because someone” would “have to significantly

modify Unit 1 to make it suitable for frog habitat” and

the “only evidence in the record is that the owners do

not plan to do so.” Pet. App. 76a-77a (Owen, J.,

dissenting).

D. The District Court Decision

The landowners brought Administrative Procedure

Act challenges to designation of Unit 1 as critical

habitat. The district court observed that the Service's

“remarkably intrusive” designation “has all the

hallmarks of governmental insensitivity to private

property” and raises “troubling question{s].” Pet. App.

103a. Nevertheless, on cross-motions for summary

judgment the court “[rleluctantly” upheld the

designation against challenges that it violated the ESA

because “Unit 1 does not meet the statutory definition

of ‘critical habitat”; that it was arbitrary and

capricious because “FWS unreasonably determined

13

that Unit 1 is ‘essential’ for conservation of the frog’;

and that FWS’s economic analysis was flawed. /d. at

102a-103a.

E. The Fifth Circuit’s Divided Panel Decision

And En Banc Vote

The Fifth Circuit affirmed by a divided vote. The

majority undertook an “extremely limited and highly

deferential” review. Pet. App. Ga. It rejected the

landowners “argu[ments] that the Service ‘exceeded its

statutory authority’ under the ESA and acted

arbitrarily and capriciously.” Jd. at 2la. Without

engaging in close analysis of statutory text, structure,

or history, the majority held that “[t]here is no

habitability requirement in the text of the ESA” and

that only occupied critical habitat need contain all the

elements necessary to provide habitat—unoccupied

critical habitat need not do so. Id. at 23a-24a. It

concluded that FWS acted reasonably “when it found

that the currently uninhabitable Unit 1 was essential

for the conservation of the dusky gopher frog.” Ibid.

The court also held that once FWS fulfilled its duty

to consider the economic impacts of designation, its

determination whether to exclude an area from

designation based on those impacts is discretionary,

that there are no manageable standards a reviewing

court could apply to that decision, and that the decision

therefore is not judicially reviewable. Pet. App. 33a-

35a.

Judge Owen dissented from this “unprecedented

and sweeping” holding that “re-writes the Endangered

Species Act.” Pet. App. 50a, 65a. She would have held

that “an area cannot be ‘essential for the conservation

of the species’ if it is uninhabitable by the species and

there is no reasonable probability that it will become

habitable by the species.” Jd. at 60a.

14

Six judges dissented from denial of en banc review.

Writing for the dissenters, Judge Jones would have

granted review because “the ramifications of this

decision for national land use regulation and for

judicial review of agency action cannot be

underestimated.” Jd. at 126a.

The dissenters would have held, first, that the

ESA’s plain language and history “unequivocally

establish that only ‘habitat of such species’ may be

designated as critical habitat.” Pet. App. 132a-142a.

Because the dusky gopher frog cannot “naturally live

and grow in” Unit 1, Unit 1 “cannot be designated as

the frog’s critical habitat.” Jd. at 142a. Second, the

ESA’s “text, drafting history, and precedent” require

that the test for unoccupied critical habitat must be

“more demanding” than the test for occupied critical

habitat, not less demanding as the panel majority held.

Id. at 142a-150a. Third, the panel's decision violated

the constraints Congress imposed by leaving the

Service's critical habitat designation power “virtually

limitless.” Jd. at 155a. Finally, the dissenters explained

that the panel’s ruling that FWS’s economic analysis is

not judicially reviewable contradicts the presumption

of reviewability of agency action and this Court's

decision in Bennett v. Spear, supra. Pet. App. 156a-

162a. These errors, the dissenters urged, underline

“the importance of further review.” Jd. at 162a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. The Fifth Circuit Misinterpreted The ESA’s

Critical Habitat Provisions.

As a matter of law, Unit 1 is not critical habitat of

the dusky gopher frog. The frog does not live there,

cannot live there, and will not live there in the future.

The ESA prohibits designation of uninhabitable,

unoccupied land as critical habitat.

15

A. The ESA Prohibits Designation Of Unit 1 As

Critical Habitat.

1. The panel majority’s interpretation of the critical

habitat provisions contravened the plain language of

the ESA. The panel held that “[t]here is no habitability

requirement in the text of the ESA.” Pet. App. 23a.

But, properly interpreted, “the ESA contains a clear

habitability requirement.” Jd. at 131la (Jones, J.).

ESA Section 4 requires FWS to “designate any

habitat of [a listed] species which is then considered to

be critical habitat.” 16 U.S.C. § 1533(a)(3)(A)(i)

(emphasis added). This phrasing means that “critical

habitat” “must first be ‘any habitat of such species.”

Pet. App. 132a (Jones, J.). The “irreducible minimum”

of critical habitat “is that it be habitat.” Id. at 137a.5

5 Weyerhaeuser preserved this argument. It told the district court

that “there is no conceivable logic under which Unit 1 can be

considered ‘habitat.”” Weyerhaeuser Mem. in Support of Mot. for

Summ. Judgment 14, D. Ct. Dkt 67-1 ((Dec. 9, 2013).

Weyerhaeuser explained that for unoccupied areas, “the separate

statutory * * * requirement that designated areas be ‘habitat’ in

the first instance is not obviated”: Congress “made clear in

§ 1533(a)(3)(A)(i) that the Secretary may only designate any

‘habitat’ as critical habitat.” Weyerhaeuser Reply and Memo. in

Opp. to Defs’ Mot. for Summ. Judgment 12, D. Ct. Dkt 106 (May 2,

2014). The district court rejected a “habitat” requirement without

addressing Section 1533(a). Pet. App. 106a-108a.

The Fifth Circuit likewise rejected Weyerhaeuser's argument

that the FWS “exceeded its statutory authority” when it

designated Unit 1 though it “is not currently habitable by the

frog.” Pet. App. 21a, 23a. The dissenters from the denial of en

banc review, by contrast, would have held that “a species’ critical

habitat must be a subset of the species’ habitat.” Id. at 131a.

Accordingly, the question whether the “habitat” requirement of

Section 1533(a) must be satisfied before unoccupied critical

habitat may be designated was presented and decided below and

16

That straightforward textual reading prohibits

designation of Unit 1 as critical habitat for the dusky

gopher frog. “Habitat” is “the place where a plant or

animal species naturally lives and grows” or “the kind

of site or region with respect to physical features * * *

naturally or normally preferred by a biological species.”

WEBSTER’S THIRD NEW INTERNATIONAL DICTIONARY

(1961); see AMERICAN HERITAGE DICTIONARY OF THE

ENGLISH LANGUAGE (1981) (“habitat” is the “area or

type of environment in which an organism or biological

population normally lives or occurs”); RANDOM HOUSE

DICTIONARY OF THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE (2d ed. unabr.

1987) (“the kind of place that is natural for the life and

growth of an organism”).

Unit 1 is not “habitat” because it lacks at least two

of the three features necessary for the frog’s survival.

This fact is “undisputed.” Pet. App. 49a (Owen, J.); see

id. at 131a (Jones, J.). FWS admitted that “loblolly”

pine “plantations” with “a closed-canopy forest”—which

describes Unit 1—are “unsuitable as habitat for dusky

gopher frogs.” 77 Fed. Reg. at 35129. FWS found that

Unit 1's “uplands” “do not currently contain the

essential physical or biological features of critical

habitat.” Jd. at 35135. And FWS admitted that

“managf{ing]” Unit 1 to create habitat and “trans-

locat[ing]” the frog to Unit 1 “cannot be implemented

without the cooperation and permission of the

landowner,” which is “voluntary.” Jd. at 35123.

is preserved for this Court’s review. See Pet. App. 139a

(“Throughout this litigation, the habitability issue, and the

landowners’ argument that the ESA requires a species’ critical

habitat to be habitable by that species, is well documented” and

“anything but inadequate”); Stephen M. Shapiro, et al., SUPREME

COURT PRACTICE 466 (10th ed. 2013).

17

Given those undisputed facts, Unit 1 is not critical

habitat as a matter of law. The panel “sanction[ed] the

oxymoron of uninhabitable critical habitat based on an

incorrect view of the statute.” Pet. App. 138a (Jones,

J.).

2. The panel’s ruling violated the ESA’s definition

of critical habitat for other reasons too. ESA Section 3

defines critical habitat to mean “occupied” land that

contains “those physical or biological features

(1) essential to the conservation of the species and

(1) which may require” special management

considerations or protection,” and unoccupied “aress”

that are “essential to the conservation of the species.”

16 U.S.C. § 1532(5)(A).

There is no dispute that, if the frog occupied Unit

1, Unit 1 could not be designated as critical habitat

because it lacks the “physical or biological features”

that are “essential to the conservation of the species.”

16 U.S.C. § 1532(5)(A)(i). In ruling that FWS properly

designated Unit 1 as unoccupied critical habitat, the

Fifth Circuit made it easier to designate unoccupied,

uninhabitable land as critical habitat than occupied

land. A correct interpretation of the statute would have

“confirm[ed| the commonsense notion that the test for

unoccupied critical habitat is designed to be more

stringent than the test for occupied critical habitat.”

Pet. App. 142a (Jones, J.).

The statutory phrase “areas [that] are essential for

the conservation of the species” cannot reasonably be

read to extend to areas in which a species cannot

survive, either now or in the foreseeable future.

“Essential” means “[ijndispensably necessary;

important in the highest degree; requisite. That which

is required for the continued existence of a thing.”

BLACK’sS LAW DICTIONARY (5th ed. 1979); see WEBSTER’S

18

THIRD NEW _ INTERNATIONAL DICTIONARY, supra

(“necessary or indispensable”); RANDOM HOUSE DICT-

IONARY, supra (“absolutely necessary; indispensable”).

Those definitions do not cover Unit 1, which “plays

no part in the conservation” of the frog (Pet. App. 48a

(Owen, J.)), “will not support” the frog (ibid.), and is

“distant” from where the frog actually lives. 77 Fed.

Reg. at 35124. As 15 States explained in supporting

the landowners’ en banc petition, “the panel’s decision

strips the word ‘essential’ of all meaning, declaring

habitat essential to conservation even if a species

would immediately die if moved there. A desert could

be critical habitat for a fish, a barren, rocky field

critical habitat for an alligator.” Am. Br. of Ala., et al.,

in Support of Rh’g En Banc at 3. “The language of the

[ESA] does not permit such an expansive interpret-

ation and consequent overreach by the Government.”

Pet. App. 49a (Owen, J.). The Fifth Circuit erroneously

upheld a designation that is not “based on a

permissible construction of the statute.” Chevron,

U.S.A., Inc. v. N.R.D.C., 467 U.S. 837, 843 (1984).

3. “It is a ‘fundamental canon of statutory

construction that the words of a statute must be read

in their context and with a view to their place in the

overall statutory scheme.” Natl Ass'n of Home

Builders, 551 U.S. at 666. But the Fifth Circuit’s ruling

is at odds with the “[s]urrounding provisions” and

“structure” of the ESA. Esquivel-Quintana v. Sessions,

137 S. Ct. 1562, 1570 (2017).

ESA Section 7 requires federal agencies to consult

with FWS to ensure that their actions will not “result

in the destruction or adverse modification of habitat of

lany listed] species which is determined by the

Secretary” to be “critical.” 15 U.S.C. § 1536(a)(2)

(emphasis added). As with Section 4, Section 7 is

19

unambiguous that critical habitat must be habitat. The

Fifth Circuit severed the link between those concepts,

in violation of both ESA Section 4 and Section 7.

The Fifth Circuit's ruling also clashes with the

remainder of ESA Section 3’s definition of critical

habitat. Section 3 provides that, generally, “critical

habitat shall not include the entire geographical area

which can be occupied by the threatened or endangered

species.” 16 U.S.C. § 1532(5)(C). That provision shows

that Congress envisioned critical habitat to be at most

coextensive with, and almost always narrower than, the

area that “can be occupied” by the listed species. The

Fifth Circuit’s ruling allows FWS to designate critical

habitat beyond the area “which can be occupied by” the

listed species, as here, and thereby contradicts

statutory text and Congress's intent.

Other provisions of the ESA confirm that Congress

understood “critical habitat” to mean areas occupied by

a listed species plus a narrow category of unoccupied

areas that contain the habitat a species needs and that

are “essential” to the species’ survival. For example,

ESA Section 4 requires that FWS periodically publish

lists that identify “over what portion of its range” a

listed species “is endangered or threatened, and specify

any critical habitat within such range.” 16 U.S.C.

§ 1533(c)(1) (emphasis added). But Unit 1 does not lie

“within” the dusky gopher frog’s “range.” See RANDOM

HOUSE DICTIONARY, supra (“range” is “the region over

which a population or species is distributed”);

AMERICAN HERITAGE DICTIONARY, supra (“[t]he

geographical region in which a kind of plant or animal

normally lives or grows”); 13 THE OXFORD ENGLISH

DICTIONARY (2d ed. 1989) (“[t]he geographical area over

which a certain plant or animal is distributed”).

Indeed, FWS designates unoccupied land as critical

habitat only when it determines that “a designation

20

limited to [a species’] range would be inadequate.” 77

Fed. Reg. at 35128. FWS points to the “historical”

range of species (e.g., 76 Fed. Reg. at 59780), but that

term appears nowhere in the ESA, which talks only

about a species’ “range.” 16 U.S.C. §§ 1532(6),

1533(a)(1)(A), 1533(c)(1). FWS’s position contradicts

the plain language of the statute.®

Finally, ESA Section 5 authorizes the Secretary of

the Interior to conserve listed species by acquiring

“lands, waters, or interest therein.” 16 U.S.C. § 1534.

That power is not limited to “habitat” or lands

“essential” to species survival. As this Court pointed

out in Sweet Home, “the Section 5 authority” is well

suited to address land “that is not yet but may in the

future become habitat for an endangered or threatened

species.” 515 U.S. at 703. If FWS wants to turn non-

habitat into habitat and translocate the frog there,

Section 5 provides the appropriate mechanism—not a

critical habitat designation that imposes all the costs

for creating a new frog preserve on private landowners.

The Fifth Circuit failed to “account for both ‘the

specific context in which * * * language is used’ and

‘the broader context of the statute as a whole.” Util.

Air Regulatory Grp. v. EPA, 134 S. Ct. 2427, 2442

(2014). That context supports the dissent’s approach.

6 Other provisions confirm that Congress did not envisage

designation of unoccupied, uninhabitable areas. Section 4

instructs FWS to give notice of a proposed designation only to “the

State agency” and “county” “in which the species is believed to

occur.” 16 U.S.C. § 1533(b)(5)(A)(@i). Section 6 permits FWS to

form “cooperative agreements” with States that have a program

which adequately protects “resident species.” Jd. § 1535(c)(1)(A)-

(E). And Congress authorized FWS to allocate funds to States with

cooperative agreements, based on “the number of endangered

species and threatened species within a State.” Id. § 1535(d)(1)(C).

21

4. The ESA’s legislative history bolsters this

conclusion. In the 1978 amendments that defined

critical habitat for the first time, Congress sought to

“narro[w] the scope of the term” because it was

concerned that a broad definition could result in

“designation of virtually all of the habitat of a listed

species as its critical habitat.” H.R. Rep. No. 95-1625,

at 25, 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 9475. Accordingly,

Congress enacted an “extremely narrow definition” of

critical habitat. LEG. HIST., supra, at 1221.

The Fifth Circuit’s interpretation, however, is

extremely broad. It allows FWS to designate land that

lies outside “all of the habitat of a listed species.” H.R.

Rep. No. 95-1625, at 25. And it saddles landowners

with the nearly insurmountable burden of proving that

FWS’s factual findings are “implausible.” Pet. App.

24a. “{I]t is easy to predict that judges will, like the

panel majority, almost always defer to the Service's

[essentiality] decisions.” Pet. App. 155a (Jones, J.). The

Fifth Circuit’s ruling “is the opposite of what Congress

declared” when it enacted the critical habitat

provisions. Id. at 149a; see also id. at 137a n.4 (the

legislative history “indicates uniform awareness in

Congress that a species’ critical habitat was a subset of

the species habitat”).

5. “[S]tatutes should be interpreted to avoid

constitutional doubts.” Clark v. Martinez, 543 U.S. 371,

379 (2005). And courts “assum[e] that Congress does

not casually authorize administrative agencies to

interpret a statute to push the limit of congressional

authority.” SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 172-173. Yet FWS’s

designation does just that, “rais[ing] significant

constitutional questions” in two ways. Id. at 173.

First, FWS’s designation tests the boundaries of

the Commerce Clause. “The Commerce Clause

22

empowers Congress to regulate ‘commerce, not

habitat.” Nat'l Ass’n of Home Builders v. Babbitt, 130

F.3d 1041, 1066 (D.C. Cir. 1997) (Sentelle, J.,

dissenting). There is no interstate commerce in the

dusky gopher frog. These frogs live only in Mississippi

and “spend most of their lives underground” except

when traveling to and from ephemeral ponds to breed.

77 Fed. Reg. at 35129. FWS found no commercial value

in the frogs or in the designation of the frogs’ critical

habitat. It found only unquantifiable, noneconomic

“biological” benefits. 77 Fed. Reg. at 35127. “[T]his is a

far cry, indeed, from” the regulation of interstate

commerce. SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 173.

The lack of a commerce connection is exacerbated

when it comes to Unit 1. Even if the frog had

commercial value—or if the overall scheme of

protecting rare species were enough to satisfy

Commerce Clause requirements—there still would be

no commerce element to designating Unit 1. The frog

does not and cannot live there; hence the landowners’

activities have no effect on the frog. See National

Federation of Independent Business v. Sebelius, 567

U.S. 519, 550 (2012) (“The power to regulate commerce

presupposes the existence of commercial activity to be

regulated”). If the non-commercial frog’s absence from

a place it does not and cannot live is sufficient to

satisfy the Commerce Clause, nothing at all lies

beyond the power of federal regulators.

Second, FWS’s designation “result[s] in a

significant impingement of the States’ traditional and

primary power over land and water use.” SWANCC,

531 U.S. at 174. “Regulation of land use” is “a

quintessential state and local power.” Rapanos v.

United States, 547 U.S. 715, 738 (2006) (plurality). The

Fifth Circuit's decision “signals a huge potential

expansion of [FWS’s] power effectively to regulate

23

privately- or State-owned land.” Pet. App. 143a (Jones,

J.). Here, FWS acknowledged, St. Tammany Parish has

rezoned Unit 1 to accommodate residential, com-

mercial, civic, and open space uses that will serve the

needs of this fast-growing community into the future.

Final Econ. Analysis, supra, at 4-2 to 4-3. But FWS’s

designation—through the CWA permitting process—

would turn all or most of the land into a dusky gopher

frog preserve, requiring the owners to “conduc[t] forest-

ry management using prescribed burning,” “maintain

an open canopied forest with abundant herbaceous

ground cover,’ and in numerous other ways create new

habitat for imported frogs. 77 Fed. Reg. at 35132.

This Court “expect[s] a ‘clear and manifest’ state-

ment from Congress to authorize an unprecedented

intrusion into traditional state authority.” Rapanos,

547 U.S. at 738 (plurality). But “[rjather than expres-

sing a desire to readjust the federal-state balance”

(SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 174), the ESA declares that it is

“the policy of Congress that Federal agencies shall

cooperate with State and local agencies to resolve

water resource issues in concert with conservation of

endangered species” (16 U.S.C. § 1531(c)(2))—precisely

what is involved here because CWA protection of ponds

and wetlands is the sole basis for FWS to require the

landowners to manage Unit 1 to create frog habitat.

That policy is the exact opposite of a clear and manifest

statement directing FWS to usurp States’ traditional

authority to regulate land use.

The Fifth Circuit should have “read the statute as

written to avoid the[se] significant constitutional and

federalism questions,” by rejecting FWS’s extravagant

claim that it may designate unoccupied, non-essential,

non-habitat as “critical habitat.” SWANCC, 531 U.S. at

174.

24

B. The Fifth Circuit’s Ruling Conflicts With

Decisions Of The Ninth Circuit.

The Fifth Circuit held that, while occupied critical

habitat must “contai[n] ‘those physical or biological

features * * * essential to the conservation of the

species,” unoccupied critical habitat need not do so.

Pet. App. 15a, 23a. The Fifth Circuit thus “ma[d]e it

easter to designate as critical habitat the land on which

the species cannot survive than that which is occupied

by the species.” Pet. App. 1438a (Jones, J.). That

“remarkable and counterintuitive reading” conflicts

with decisions of the Ninth Circuit, which “has twice

confirmed that unoccupied critical habitat is a

narrower concept than occupied critical habitat.” Jd. at

143a, 147a.

In Arizona Cattle Growers’ Association v. Salazar,

606 F.3d 1160, 1163 (9th Cir. 2010), the Ninth Circuit

held that the ESA “impos[es] a more onerous procedure

on the designation of unoccupied areas.” The plaintiff

argued that, in designating critical habitat for the

Mexican Spotted Owl, “FWS treated unoccupied areas

as occupied to avoid this more onerous process.” [bid.

After reviewing the administrative record, the Ninth

Circuit concluded that FWS reasonably determined

that the owl in fact occupied the designated areas. Id.

at 1167-*171. That analysis would have been

unnecessary under the Fifth Circuit’s ruling, which

imposes a lower standard on the designation of

unoccupied critical habitat.

In Home Builders Association of Northern

California v. U.S. Fish & Wildlife Services, 616 F.3d

983, 990 (9th Cir. 2010), plaintiff argued that FWS

conflated occupied and unoccupied critical habitat

when it designated vernal pool complexes as critical

habitat for various species. The Ninth Circuit held that

25

the challenge failed because FWS’s designation

satisfied “the standard for unoccupied habitat,” which

is “more demanding” than the standard for “occupied

critical habitat.” Jbid. That holding leaves no doubt

that the Ninth Circuit views the standard for

unoccupied critical habitat as more stringent than the

standard for occupied critical habitat.

The Fifth Circuit’s ruling also conflicts with

numerous district court decisions holding that the

standard for unoccupied critical habitat is more

demanding than that of occupied critical habitat. See,

e.g., Am. Forest Res. Council v. Ashe, 946 F.Supp.2d 1,

44 (D.D.C. 2013) (“more demanding standard for

unoccupied habitat”), affd, 601 F. App’x 1 (D.C. Cir.

2015); Cape Hatteras Access Pres. All. v. U.S. Dep't of

Interior, 344 F.Supp.2d 108, 125 (D.D.C. 2004)

(“Designation of unoccupied land is a_ more

extraordinary event that designation of occupied

lands”); see also Ctr. for Biological Diversity v. Kelly,

93 F.Supp.3d 1193, 1202 (D. Idaho 2015) (“The

standard for designating unoccupied habitat is more

demanding tian that of occupied critical habitat”); All.

for Wild Rockies v. Lyder, 728 F.Supp.2d 1126, 1138

(D. Mont. 2010) (“the ESA imposes ‘a more onerous

procedure on the designation of unoccupied areas”).

In short, the Fifth Circuit’s ruling broke sharply

from existing judicial interpretations of the ESA’s

critical habitat provisions. This Court should grant

certiorari to restore uniformity among the lower courts.

26

ll. The Meaning Of “Critical Habitat” Is Of

Immense And Immediate Public Importance.

A. The Panels Ruling Inflicts Significant

Costs On Private Landowners, With No

Benefits To Endangered Species.

1. This case puts into sharp relief the staggering

“regulatory burdens and corresponding economic costs”

imposed on landowners when FWS designates private

land as “critical habitat.” Andrew J. Turner and Kerry

L. McGrath, A Wider View of the Impacts of Critical

Habitat Designation, 43 ENVTL. L. REPORTER 10678,

10680 (2013). As the district court observed, FWS's

designation of Unit 1 was “remarkably intrusive’ and

“insensitiv[e] to private property.” Pet. App. 103a. FWS

and the panel acknowledged that. upon designation,

Unit I's value “immediately” plummeted “given the

‘stigma’ attached to critical-habitat designations.” Jd.

at l3a.

FWS explained that in a Section 7 consultation it

might “recommen[d] that no [future] development

occur” on Unit 1, and found that doing so would cost

Unit 1's landowners $34 million in lost development

opportunities. Pet. App. 75 n.84, 117a; 77 Fed. Reg. at

35141. If it allowed development at all, FWS said it

could condition a CWA permit on the landowners

creating and maintaining frog habitat on 60 per cent of

Unit 1, at a cost of $20.4 million. 77 Fed. Reg. at 35141.

These estimates ignored additional costs associated

with controlled burns, the “negative impacts” of which

FWS said it could not quantify. Jd. at 35126. It

excluded too the toll of the Section 7 consultation

process, which “often takes months or years,

significantly delaying projects and resulting in

substantial additional project costs, if not destroying

the projects’ economic viability.” Turner & McGrath,

Zi

supra, 43 ENVT'L L. REPORTER at 10681. The costs to

the landowners of participating in the regulatory

proceedings and in this litigation have been significant

too. The economic, regulatory, and litigation burdens

on Unit 1’s landowners have been astounding.

Meanwhile, the designation provides no benefits to

the frog. As FWS explained, “designation does not

require property owners to undertake affirmative

actions to promote the recovery of the listed species.”

77 Fed. Reg. at 35123. It is “voluntary” for Unit 1's

owners whether to create habitat for the frog, as

“habitat management through prescribed burning, or

frog translocations to the site, cannot be implemented

without the cooperation and permission of the

landowner.” Ibid. Any benefit to the frog thus hinges

on FWS’s “hope to work with the landowners.” Ibid.

But “there is no evidence that the substantial

alterations and maintenance necessary to transform

the area into habitat suitable for the endangered

species will, or are likely to, occur.” Pet. App. 48a

(Owen, J.). “[T]he land is subject to a timber lease until

2043, timber operations are ongoing. and neither the

owner of the property nor the timber lessee is willing to

permit the substantial alterations that [FWS]

concluded would be necessary” to create habitat for the

frog. Id. at 52a.

The landowners thus face the Catch-22 that they

can continue forestry operations on the frogless land

largely unhindered by the designation. But if they try

to develop the land consistent with their plans and

current zoning, the designation may well stop the

development in its tracks—which again would not help

the frog. Either way, the designation destroys economic

activity, leaves the land as unoccupied non-habitat,

and does nothing to help the frog.

28

2. The disconnect between the burden on private

landowners and the lack of benefit to the species is

nothing new. FWS has long understood that critical

habitat designation “provides little additional

protection to most listed species,” is “driven by

litigation rather than biology,” and “imposes huge

social and economic costs.” 68 Fed. Reg. 46684, 46684

(Aug. 6, 2003). FWS has “seriously question[ed]” the

“utility” of designation and concluded that it “is not an

efficient or effective means of securing the conservation

of species.” 62 Fed. Reg. 39129, 39131 (July 22, 1997).

Scholars likewise have found no evidence “that

critical habitat designation promotes _ species’

recoveries or prevents species’ declines.” Joe Kerkvliet

and Christian Langpap, Learning from Endangered

and Threatened Species Recovery Programs: A Case

Study Using U.S. Endangered Species Act Recovery

Scores, 63 ECOL. ECON. 499, 508 (2007). To the

contrary, designation often perversely “induce[s]

habitat destruction” because landowners preemptively

destroy habitat to “avoid costly land-use restrictions.”

Dean Lueck and Jeffrey A. Michael, Preemptive

Habitat Destruction Under the Endangered Species Act,

46 J.L. & ECON. 27, 51 (2003).

At the same time, critical habitat designation

increases the costs and reduces the amount of

development. See Jeffrey E. Zabel and Robert W.

Paterson, The Effects of Critical Habitat Designation

on Housing Supply: An Analysis of California Housing

Construction Activity, 46 J. REG’L Sci. 67, 67 (2006)

(designations decreased housing construction by 37

percent). Here, the unwarranted designation of Unit 1

threatens a substantial commercial and residential

development for which local government rezoned the

area to serve the needs of the fast-growing St.

Tammany Parish population.

ZY

This imbalance of costs and _ benefits is

characteristic of the critical habitat program, and made

worse by FWS’s expansionary zeal to reach unoccupied

non-habitat. “The fact that the biologists themselves

have found critical habitat of such little utility

bespeaks the low tally on the benefits side, and the

costs of the provisions are evinced in the delays and

resource drain caused by both designation and the

frequent litigation that follows.” Sheila Baynes, Cost

Consideration and the Endangered Species Act, N.Y.U.

L. REV. 961, 998 (2015).

This widely acknowledged gulf between costs and

benefits counsels interpreting ESA’s unoccupied

critical habitat provisions according to their plain

language and Congress’s intent—that is, narrowly.

FWS’s expansive construction inflicts severe costs on

landowners and affected communities with no

countervailing environmental benefit.

3. FWS’s approach has no meaningful limit. As

Judge Owen explained, “the linchpin” of the panel

majority's ruling is that “uninhabitable land” may be

designated as critical habitat if the land could “be

transformed into habitat” and contains “at least one

‘physical or biological featur[e] * * * essential to the

conservation of the species.” Pet. App. 63a-64a; see id.

at 30a n.20 (majority) (“if the ponds are essential, then

Unit 1, which contains the ponds, is essential for the

conservation of the dusky gopher frog”). Under the

panel’s ruling, “vast portions of the United States could

be designated as ‘critical habitat.” Pet. App. 49a.

As Judge Jones understood, the panel’s ruling

bestows “virtually limitless” authority on FWS given

the types of “physical and biological features that

[F WS] has deemed essential to species’ conservation” —

including “{i}ndividual trees with potential nesting

30

platforms, ‘forested areas within 0.5 mile” of

“individual trees with potential nesting platforms,’

‘aquatic breeding habitat,’ ‘upland areas, and ‘[a]

natural light regime within the coastal dune

ecosystem.” Pet. App. 155a (footnotes omitted). Judge

Jones cautioned that, “[w]ith no real limiting principle

to the panel majority’s one-feature-suffices standard,

there is no obstacle to the Service's claiming critical

habitat wherever ‘forested areas’ or ‘a natural light

regime’ exist.” Jd. at 156a.

The panel's “unprecedented and sweeping”

expansion of FWS power would “encourage aggressive,

tenuously based interference with property rights” and

with State authority over land use. Jd. at 156a, 162a.

This Court should overturn it now before more damage

is done.

B. FWS’s New Rule Formalizing Its Authority

To Designate Unoccupied Non-Habitat Re-

inforces The Need For Immediate Review.

In 2016, FWS revised its regulations to conform to

the approach it took in this case. Revised 50 C.F.R.

§ 424.12 provides that FWS may designate as critical

habitat “specific areas outside the geographical area

occupied by the species that are essential for its

conservation, considering the life history, status, and

conservation needs of the species.” 81 Fed. Reg. 7414,

7439 (Feb. 11, 2016). FWS explained that unoccupied

areas “need not have the features essential to the

conservation of the species” to be designated, even

though those “physical or biological features” are

necessary to designate occupied areas. Id. at 7420-

7421, 7425, 7434. FWS acknowledged—citing the

district court’s ruling in this case—that this new rule

“is not a change from the way we have been

designating unoccupied critical habitat.” Jd. at 7427.

31

Twenty States challenged the 2016 rule,

contending that it is inconsistent with the ESA and

arbitrary and capricious. Alabama v. National Marine

Fisheries Service, No. 1:16-cv-00593 (S.D. Ala.) (First

Amended Complaint filed Feb. 2, 2017, Dkt. 30). No

responsive pleadings have been filed and the case is

stayed until September 11, 2017, at the government's

request. Dkt. 46.

The pendency of that early-stage litigation does not

reduce the need for review in this case. The new rule

formalizes the same incorrect statutory interpretation

with which FWS justified its designation of Unit 1 and

which the Fifth Circuit upheld. And while resolution of

the rule challenge would have no effect on the

erroneous judgment for which review is sought here,

this Court’s reversal in this case would foreordain the

result of the rule challenge, because FWS concedes

that the rule is “not a change” from the basis on which

it designated the landowners’ property. 81 Fed. Reg. at

7427.

This case provides the Court with the opportunity

to resolve the issues presented in a_ concrete,

particularized context. The features of the designated

tract are known and undisputed, which illuminates the

dire consequences of FWS’s mistaken reading of the

ESA. Rather than delay resolution of important

questions about a major federal environmental statute

for years while the rule challenge proceeds, this Court

should resolve them now.

III. The Panel’s Erroneous Holding That FWS’s

Decision Not To Exclude Unit 1 From Design-

ation Is Judicially Unreviewable “Play[{s]

Havoc With Administrative Law.”

FWS must “tak[e] into consideration the economic

impact” of a designation and “may exclude any area

32

from critical habitat if [it] determines that the benefits

of such exclusion outweigh the benefits” of designation.

16 U.S.C. § 1533(b)(2). FWS purported to take into

account the economic impact of designating Unit 1—

concluding that designation could cost the landowners

up to $34 million but that unquantifiable “biological”

benefits meant there were no “disproportionate costs”

to justify excluding Unit 1 from designation. 77 Fed.

Reg. at 35141. As the dissenters below observed, the

“shocking fact” that designation may cost landowners

$34 million is matched by the “shocking fact[s]” that

“there is virtually nothing on the other side of the

economic ledger” and that FWS “never performed a

comparison of the relevant costs.” Pet. App. 158a-159a.

Petitioner challenged FWS’s refusal to exclude

Unit 1 from designation on economic grounds as

arbitrary and counter to the evidence before the

agency. See Pet. App. 159a; Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass’n

v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 463 U.S. 29, 42

(1983). The panel majority refused to consider that

challenge on the ground that FWS’s determination

whether to exclude is discretionary and there are no

judicially manageable standards for a reviewing court

to apply. Pet. App. 33a.

But the dissenters pointed out that ruling “play[s]

havoc with administrative law.” Pet. App. 156a (Jones,

J.). It flies in the face of the “strong presumption

favoring judicial review of administrative action.”

Mach Mining, LLC v. EEOC, 135 S. Ct. 1645, 1653

(2015). It also flatly “contradict[s this] Court’s

statement in Bennett v. Spear, 520 U.S. 154 (1997) that

the Service’s ultimate decision is reviewable for abuse

of discretion.” Pet. App. 156a-157a; see 520 U.S. at 172.

Such review is indispensible: Bennett recognized that a

“primary” “objective” under the ESA “is to avoid

needless economic dislocation produced by agency

33

officials zealously but unintelligently pursuing their

environmental objectives.” 520 U.S. at 176-177. If

private landowners cannot challenge FWS’s cost-

benefit analysis, how would that objective ever be

achieved?

Abuse of discretion is a familiar standard of review

that is administrable by the judiciary. See Harry T.

Edwards, et al., FEDERAL STANDARDS OF REVIEW 78-81

(2d ed. 2013). Furthermore, the State Farm analysis

guides review of FWS's weighing of economic benefits.

See Motor Vehicle Mfrs., 463 U.S. at 43 (reviewing

whether an agency’s explanation for its decision is

“counter to the evidence” or thoroughly “implausible”.

The clash between the panel decision and this Court’s

precedent on the availability of judicial review suffices

to warrant certiorari on petitioner's second question

presented.

CONCLUSION

The petition for certiorari should be granted.

34

Respectfully submitted.

RICHARD C. STANLEY TIMOTHY S. BISHOP

Stanley, Reuter, Ross, Counsel of Record

Thornton & Alford, LLC CHAD M. CLAMAGE

909 Poydras Street, Suite Mayer Brown LLP

2500 71 South Wacker Drive

New Orleans, LA 70112 Chicago, Illinois 60606

(504) 523-1580 (312) 782-0600

thishop@mayerbrown.com

JAMES R. JOHNSTON

ZACHARY R. HIATT

Weyerhaeuser Company

220 Occidental Ave. S.

Seattle, Washington 98104

(206) 539-4361

Counsel for Petitioner

JULY 2017

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 14-31008

Markle Interests, L.L.C.; P&F Lumber Company

2000, L.L.C.; PF Monroe Properties, L.L.C.,

Plaintiffs—Appellants

Vv.

United States Fish and Wildlife Service; Daniel M.

Ashe, Director of United States Fish & Wildlife Ser-

vice, in his official capacity; United States Depart-

ment of Interior; Sally Jewell, in her official capacity

as Secretary of the Department of Interior,

Defendants—Appellees

Center for Biological Diversity; Gulf Restoration

Network, Intervenor Defendants—Appellees

Weyerhaeuser Company, Plaintiff—Appellant

Vv.

United States Fish and Wildlife Service; Daniel M.

Ashe, Director of United States Fish & Wildlife Ser-

vice, in his official capacity; Sally Jewell, in her offi-

cial capacity as Secretary of the Department of

Interior, Defendants—Appellees

Center for Biological Diversity; Gulf Restoration

Network, Intervenor Defendants—Appellees

Cons w/ No. 14-31021

Filed June 30, 2016

2a

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Louisiana

Before REAVLEY, OWEN, and HIGGINSON, Cir-

cuit Judges.

STEPHEN A. HIGGINSON, Circuit Judge:

Opinion

This appeal requires us to consider the United

States Fish and Wildlife Service’s inclusion of private

land in a critical-habitat designation under the En-

dangered Species Act. Misconceptions exist about

how critical-habitat designations impact private

property. Critical-habitat designations do not trans-

form private land into wildlife refuges. A designation

does not authorize the government or the public to

access private lands. Following designation, the Fish

and Wildlife Service cannot force private landowners

to introduce endangered species onto their land or to

make modifications to their land. In short, a critical-

habitat designation alone does not require private

landowners to participate in the conservation of an

endangered species. [n a thorough opinion, District

Judge Martin L.C. Feldman held that the Fish and

Wildlife Service properly applied the Endangered

Species Act to private land in St. Tammany Parish,

Louisiana. As we discuss below, we AFFIRM Judge

Feldman’s judgment upholding this critical-habitat

designation.

Ja

FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS

This case is about a frog—the Rana sevosa—

commonly known as the dusky gopher frog.! These

frogs spend most of their lives underground in open-

canopied pine forests.2 They migrate to isolated,

ephemeral ponds to breed. Final Designation, 77

Fed. Reg. at 35,129. Ephemeral ponds are only sea-

sonally flooded, leaving them to dry out cyclically

and making it impossible for predatory fish to sur-

vive. See id. at 35,129, 35,131. After the frogs are fin-

ished breeding, they return to their underground

habitats, followed by their offspring. Jd. at 35,129.

When the dusky gopher frog was listed as an endan-

gered species, there were only about 100 adult frogs

known to exist in the wild.* Although, historically,

the frog was found in parts of Louisiana, Mississippi,

and Alabama, today, the frog exists only in Missis-

sippi. Final Rule, 66 Fed. Reg. at 62,993—94; Final

! See Designation of Critical Habitat for Mississippi Gopher Frog, 76

Fed. Reg. 59,774, 59,775 (proposed Sept. 27, 2011) (to be codified at 50

C.F.R. pt. 17) [hereinafter Revised Proposal]. The frog was previously

known as the Mississippi gopher frog, but further taxonomic research in-

dicated that the dusky gopher frog is different from other gopher frogs,

warranting, acceptance as its own species: the Rana sevosa or the dusky

gopher frog. /d. We will refer to the frog as the dusky gopher frog.

2 Designation of Critical Habitat for Dusky Gopher Frog (Previously

Mississippi Gopher Frog), 77 Fed. Reg. 35,118, 35,129 (June 12, 2012)

(to be codified at 50 C.F.R. pt. 17) [hereinafter Final Designation]. It ap-

pears that the frogs are not accustomed to human interaction. If you pick

up a gopher frog and hold it, the frog will play dead and even cover its

eyes; if you hold the frog long enough, it will peak at you and then pre-

tend to be dead again.

* See Final Rule to List the Mississippi Gopher Frog Distinct Population

Segment of Dusky Gopher Frog as Endangered, 66 Fed. Reg. 62,993,

62,993, 62,995, 63,000 (Dec. 4, 2001) (to be codified at 50 C.F.R. pt. 17)

(hereinafter Final Rule}.

4a

Designation, 77 Fed. Reg. at 35,132. The primary

threat to the frog is habitat degradation. Final Rule,

66 Fed. Reg. at 62,994.

In 2010, under the Endangered Species Act

(“ESA”), 16 U.S.C. §§ 1531-1544, the United States

Fish and Wildlife Service (“the Service”)4 published a

proposed rule to designate 1,957 acres in Mississippi

as “critical habitat” for the dusky gopher frog.5 [n re-

sponse to concerns raised during the peer-review

process about the sufficiency of this original pro-

posal, the Service’s final designation of critical habi-

tat expanded the area to 6,477 acres in four counties

in Mississippi and one parish in Louisiana. See Re-

vised Proposal, 76 Fed. Reg. at 59,776; Final Desig-

nation, 77 Fed. Reg. at 35,118-19. The designated

area in Louisiana (“Unit 1”) consists of 1,544 acres in

St. Tammany Parish. Final Designation, 77 Fed.

Reg. at 35,118. Although the dusky gopher frog has

not occupied Unit 1 for decades, the land contains

historic breeding sites and five closely clustered

ephemeral ponds. See Revised Proposal, 76 Fed. Reg.

at 59,783; Final Designation, 77 Fed. Reg. at 35,123—

24, 35,133, 35,135. The final critical-habitat designa-

tion was the culmination of two proposed rules, eco-

nomic analysis, two rounds of notice and comment, a

scientific peer-review process including responses

* The Secretary of the Department of the Interior and the Secretary of the

Department of Commerce are jointly charged with administering the

ESA. See 16 U.S.C. § 1532(15). The Secretary of the Interior administers

the ESA through the Fish and Wildlife Service. We refer to both the Sec-

retary and the agency as the “Service.”

5 See Designation of Critical Habitat for Mississippi Gopher Frog, 75

Fed. Reg. 31,387, 31,387 (proposed June 3, 2010) (to be codified at 50

C.F.R. pt. 17) [hereinafter Original Proposal].

5a

from six experts, and a public hearing. See Final

Designation, 77 Fed. Reg. at 35,119.

Together, Plaintiffs-Appellants Markle Interests,

L.L.C., P&F Lumber Company 2000, L.L.C., PF

Monroe Properties, L.L.C., and Weyerhaeuser Com-

pany (collectively, “the Landowners”) own all of Unit

1. Weyerhaeuser Company holds a long-term timber

lease on all of the land that does not expire until

2043. The Landowners intend to use the land for res-

idential and commercial development and timber op-

erations. Through consolidated suits, all of the Land-

owners filed actions for declaratory judgment and in-

junctive relief against the Service, its director, the

Department of the Interior, and the Secretary of the

Interior. The Landowners challenged only the Ser-

vice’s designation of Unit 1 as critical habitat, not

the designation of land in Mississippi.

The district court allowed the Center for Biologi-

cal Diversity and the Gulf Restoration Network (col-

lectively, “the Intervenors”) to intervene as defend-

ants in support of the Service’s final designation. All

parties filed cross-motions for summary judgment.

Although Judge Feldman granted summary judg-

ment in favor of the Landowners on the issue of

standing, he granted summary judgment in favor of

the Service on the merits. See Markle Interests, LLC

v. U.S. Fish & Wildlife Serv., 46 F. Supp. 3d 744,

748, 769 (E.D. La. 2014). The Landowners timely ap-

pealed.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

We review a district court's grant of summary

judgment de novo. Nola Spice Designs, L.L.C. v.

Haydel Enters., Inc., 783 F.3d 527, 536 (5th Cir.

2015); see also Sabine River Auth. v. U.S. Dep't of In-

ba

terior, 951 F.2d 669, 679 (5th Cir. 1992) (noting that

the court of appeals reviews the administrative rec-

ord de novo when the district court reviewed an

agency's decision by way of a motion for summary

judgment). Our review of the Service's administra-

tion of the ESA is governed by the Administrative

Procedure Act (“APA”). See Bennett v. Spear, 520

U.S. 154, 171-75 (1997) (holding that a claim chal-

lenging the Service’s alleged “maladministration of

the ESA” is not reviewable under the citizen-suit

provisions of the ESA, but is reviewable under the

APA); see also 5 U.S.C. §§ 702, 704. When reviewing

agency action under the APA, this court must “set

aside agency action, findings, and conclusions found

to be—{A) arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discre-

tion, or otherwise not in accordance with law; (B)

contrary to constitutional right, power, privilege, or

immunity; [or] (C) in excess of statutory jurisdiction,

authority, or limitations.” 5 U.S.C. § 706(2).

Review under the _ arbitrary-and-capricious

standard is “extremely limited and highly deferen-

tial,” Gulf Restoration Network v. McCarthy, 783

F.3d 227, 243 (5th Cir. 2015) (internal quotation

marks omitted), and “there is a presumption that the

agency's decision is valid,” La. Pub. Serv. Comm'n v.

F_E.R.C., 761 F.3d 540, 558 (5th Cir. 2014) (internal

quotation marks omitted). The plaintiff has the bur-

den of overcoming the presumption of validity. La.

Pub. Serv. Comm'n, 761 F.3d at 558.

Under the arbitrary-and-capricious standard,

we will not vacate an agency’s decision un-

less it has relied on factors which Congress

had not intended it to consider, entirely

failed to consider an important aspect of the

problem, offered an explanation for its deci-

7a

sion that runs counter to the evidence before

the agency, or is so implausible that it could

not be ascribed to a difference in view or the

product of agency expertise.

Nat’ Ass’n of Home Builders v. Defenders of Wildlife,

551 U.S. 644, 658 (2007) (internal quotation marks

omitted). We must be mindful not to substitute our

judgment for the agency’s. FCC v. Fox Television Sta-

tions, Inc., 556 U.S. 502, 513 (2009). That said, we

must still ensure that “[the] agency examine[d] the

relevant data and articulate[d] a satisfactory expla-

nation for its action.” Id. (internal quotation marks

omitted). “We will uphold an agency’s action if its

reasons and policy choices satisfy minimum stand-

ards of rationality.” 10 Ring Precision, Inc. v. Jones,

722 F.3d 711, 723 (5th Cir. 2013) (internal quotation

marks omitted).

DISCUSSION

The Landowners raise three challenges to the

Service’s designation of Unit 1 as critical habitat for

the dusky gopher frog. They argue that the designa-

tion (1) violates the ESA and the APA, (2) exceeds

the Service’s constitutional authority under the

Commerce Clause, U.S. Const. art. I, § 8, cl. 3, and

(3) violates the National Environmental Policy Act

(“NEPA”), 42 U.S.C. § 4321 et. seq. As we discuss be-

low, each of their arguments fails.

I. Endangered Species Act

Congress enacted the ESA “to provide a means

whereby the ecosystems upon which endangered spe-

cies ... depend may be conserved” and “to provide a

program for the conservation of such endangered

species.” 16 U.S.C. § 1531(b). The ESA broadly de-

Sa

fines “conservation.” It includes “the use of all meth-

ods and procedures which are necessary to bring any

endangered species .. . to the point at which the

measures provided [by the ESA] are no longer neces-

sary.” Id. § 1532(3). In other words, “the objective of

the ESA is to enable [endangered] species not merely

to survive, but to recover from their endangered or

threatened status.” Sierra Club v. U.S. Fish & Wild-

life Serv., 245 F.3d 434, 438 (5th Cir. 2001); see also

Tenn. Valley Auth. v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153, 184 (1978)

(“The plain intent of Congress in enacting this stat-

ute was to halt and reverse the trend toward species

extinction, whatever the cost. This is reflected not

only in the stated policies of the Act, but in literally

every section of the statute.”).

To achieve this objective, the ESA requires the

Service to first identify and list endangered and

threatened species. See 16 U.S.C. § 1533(a)(1). List-

ing a species as endangered or threatened then trig-

gers the Service’s statutory duty to designate critical

habitat “to the maximum extent prudent and deter-

minable.” See id. § 1533(a)(3)(A)(i).® “Critical habitat

® The Service typically is required to designate critical habitat at the same

time that it lists a species as endangered or threatened. 16 U.S.C.

§ 1533(aX3)(A)(i). But if critical habitat is not “determinable” at the time

of listing, the Service can extend the deadline for making a critical-habitat

designation. See id. § 1533(b)(6)(AXii), (bX6C\ii). Although the Ser-

vice listed the dusky gopher frog as endangered in 2001, it declined to

designate critical habitat at that time because of budget limitations. See

Final Rule, 66 Fed. Reg. at 63,000. Six years later, in 2007, the Service

still had not designated critical habitat for the frog. The Center for Bio-

logical Diversity therefore sued the Service for failing to timely designate

critical habitat. That lawsuit resulted in a court-approved settlement

agreement that set deadlines for the Service to designate critical habitat

for the dusky gopher frog. The Service’s resulting designations under this

9a

designation primarily benefits listed species through

the ESA’s [Section 7] consultation mechanism.” Sier-

ra Club, 245 F.3d at 439; see 16 U.S.C. § 1536 (de-

scribing the Section 7 consultation process). Under

this section, once habitat is designated as critical,

federal agencies are prohibited from authorizing,

funding, or carrying out any action that is likely to

result in “the destruction or adverse modification” of

that critical habitat without receiving a special ex-

emption.’? 16 U.S.C. § 1536(a)(2). To satisfy the re-

quirements of Section 7, federal agencies must con-

sult with the Service before taking any action that

might negatively affect critical habitat.* Only federal

agencies—not private parties—must engage in this

Section 7 consultation process. See id.; 50 C.F.R.

§ 402.14(a). Thus, as Judge Feldman explained, “ab-

sent a federal nexus, [the Service] cannot compel a

private landowner to make changes to restore his

designated property into optimal habitat.” Markle In-

terests, 40 F. Supp. 3d at 750.

A. Standing

Before addressing the merits of the Service's crit-

ical-habitat designation, we first address whether

agreement, including the designation of Unit 1, prompted the lawsuit that

we are considering on appeal.

’ Section 7 consultation is also required whenever any federal action will

“jeopardize the continued existence” of an endangered species, regardless

of whether the Service has designated critical habitat. 16 U.S.C.

§ 1536(aX(2); see Sierra Club, 245 F.3d at 439.

* If the Service determines that a contemplated action the issuance of a

permit, for example is likely to adversely modify critica! habitat, the

Service must suggest “reasonable and prudent alternatives” that the con-

sulting agency could take to avoid adverse modification. See 50 C.F.R.

§ 402.14(h)(3). These alternatives must be “economically and technologi-

cally feasible.” /d. § 402.02.

10a

the Landowners have standing to challenge the des-

ignation. “The question of standing involves both

constitutional limitations on federal-court jurisdic-

tion and prudential limitations on its exercise.” Ben-

nett, 520 U.S. at 162 (internal quotation marks omit-

ted). In particular, to establish standing under the

APA, in addition to Article III standing, a plaintiff

must show that “the interest sought to be protected

by the [plaintiff] is arguably within the zone of inter-

ests to be protected or regulated by the statute or

constitutional guarantee in question.” Jd. at 175

(quoting Ass’n of Data Processing Serv. Orgs., Inc. v.

Camp, 397 U.S. 150, 153 (1970)). Although the dis-

trict court correctly held that the APA provided the

proper vehicle for the Landowners to challenge the

Service’s administration of the ESA, the district

court did not address the APA’s zone-of-interests

test; instead, it held only that the Landowners have

standing under Article III. On appeal, the Service

did not brief the zone-of-interests issue or challenge

the district court’s conclusion that the Landowners

have Article II] standing.

Even though the Service did not appeal the dis-

trict court’s standing conclusion, we must inde-

pendently assess the Landowners’ Article III stand-

ing.” See Hang On, Inc. v. City of Arlington, 65 F.3d

1248, 1251 (5th Cir. 1995) (“The federal courts are

under an independent obligation to examine their

own jurisdiction, and standing is perhaps the most

important of the jurisdictional doctrines.” (altera-

tions and internal quotation marks omitted)). “Arti-

cle III of the Constitution limits federal courts’ juris-

® This Article III standing analysis applies to all of the Landowners’

claims, not just the Landowners’ claim under the ESA.

lla

diction to certain ‘Cases’ and ‘Controversies.” Clap-

per U. Amnesty Intl USA, 133 S. Ct. 1138, 1147

(2013). “To satisfy the ‘case’ or ‘controversy’ require-

ment of Article [11, which is the ‘irreducible constitu-

tional minimum’ of standing, a plaintiff must. . .

demonstrate that he has suffered ‘injury in fact,’ that

the injury is ‘fairly traceable’ to the actions of the de-

fendant, and that the injury will likely be redressed

by a favorable decision.” Bennett, 520 U.S. at 162

(quoting Lujan vu. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555,

560-61 (1992)). The injury must be concrete and par-

ticularized, as well as actual or imminent. Lujan,

504 U.S. at 560; see also Crane v. Johnson, 783 F.3d

944, 251 (5th Cir. 2015) (“Although imminence is

concededly a somewhat elastic concept, it cannot be

stretched beyond its purpose, which is to ensure that

the alleged injury is not too speculative for Article LI]

purposes—that the injury is certainly impending.”).

“The party invoking federal jurisdiction bears the

burden of establishing these elements.” Lujan, 504

U.S. at 561.

Here, the Landowners assert two alleged inju-

ries: lost future development and lost property value.

The first-—loss of future development—is too specu-

lative to support Article III standing. Although “[a]n

increased regulatory burden typically satisfies the

injury in fact requirement,” Contender Farms, L.L.P.

v. U.S. Dep't of Agric., 779 F.3d 258, 266 (5th Cir.

2015), any regulatory burden on Unit 1 is purely

speculative at this point. As the Service exu:phasized

in the designation, if future development occurring

on Unit 1 avoids impacting jurisdictional wetlands,

no federal permit would be required and the ESA’s

Section 7 consultation process would not be trig-

gered. See Final Designation, 77 Fed. Reg. at 35,126

(noting that the range of possible economic impact to

12a

Unit 1 of $0 to $33.9 million “reflects uncertainty re-

garding future land use”); id. at 35,140 (observing

that “considerable uncertainty exists regarding the

likelihood of a Federal nexus for development activi-

ties [in Unit 1]”); see also 16 U.S.C. § 1536(a)(2); 50

C.F.R. § 402.14(a). Judge Feldman similarly stressed

this point, explaining that, “if a private party’s action

has no federal nexus (if it is not authorized, funded,

or carried out by a federal agency), no affirmative ob-

ligations are triggered by the critical habitat desig-

nation.” Markle Interests, 40 F. Supp. 3d at 750.

Because the Landowners have not provided evi-

dence that specific development projects are likely to

be impacted by Section 7 consultation,'® lost future

development is too speculative to support standing.

See Lujan, 504 U.S. at 564 (“Such ‘some day’ inten-

tions—without any description of concrete plans, or

indeed even any specification of when the some day

will be—do not support a finding of the ‘actual or

imminent’ injury that our cases require.”); see also

Clapper, 133 S. Ct. at 1147-48 (holding that plain-

tiffs did not have standing to challenge the Foreign

Intelligence Surveillance Act in part because they

provided no evidence supporting their “highly specu-

lative fear” that the government would imminently

'0 To the contrary, the record reflects that, at the time Unit | was desig-

nated, development plans had already been delayed because of the reces-

sion and the mortgage crisis. This uncertainty about development not on-

ly underscores the absence of a concrete injury, but also highlights that

any injury, however speculative, is not fairly traceable to the critical-

habitat designation. Moreover. the long-term timber lease running on the

land until 2043 also suggests that development may not occur on Unit |

in the foreseeable future. Although the Landowners suggest that they

could renegotiate the timber lease as conditions change, they have not

demonstrated that they have concrete plans to do so.

13a

target communications to which plaintiffs were par-

ties); Crane, 783 F.3d at 252 (holding that Mississip-

pi did not have sta nding to challenge the federal gov-

ernment’s deferred-action policy because its imjury

was “purely speculative” and because it failed to

“»nroduce evidence of costs it would incur” because of

the policy); cf. Cape Hatteras Access Pres. Alliance v.

U.S. Dep't of Interior, 344 F. Supp. 2d 108, 117-18

(D.D.C. 2004) (holding that the burdens of Section 7

consultation supported standing when the plaintiffs

identified specific, ongoing development projects that

would be delayed because of the consultation re-

quirement).

The Landowners’ assertion of lost property value,

by contrast, is a concrete and particularized injury

that supports standing. See Sabine River Auth., 951

F.2d at 674 (recognizing that injury in fact includes

economic injury). The Landowners assert that their

land has already lost value as a result of the critical-

habitat designation. Indeed, as the Service recog-

nized in its Final Economic Analysis, given the

“stigma” attached to critical-habitat designations,

“[pJublic attitudes about the limits or restrictions

that critical habitat may impose can cause real eco-

nomic effects to property owners, regardless of

whether such limits are actually imposed.” As a re-

sult, “a property that is designated as critical habitat

may have a lower market value than an identical

property that is not within the boundaries of critical

habitat due to perceived limitations or restrictions.”

The Service further assumed that “any reduction in

land value due to the designation of critical habitat

will happen immediately at the time of the designa-

tion.”

l4a

Causation and redressability flow naturally from

this injury. [f a plaintiff—or, here, the plaintiffs’

land—is the object of government action, “there is

ordinarily little question that the action . . . has

caused him injury, and that a judgment preventing

... the action will redress it.” Lujan, 504 U.S. at

561-62. We conclude that the Landowners’ decreased

property value is fairly traceable to the Service's crit-

ical-habitat designation and that this injury would

likely be redressed by a favorable decision. Thus, the

Landowners have established Article III standing

based on lost property value.

The question nevertheless remains whether the

Landowners satisfy the APA’s zone-of-interests re-

quirement. See Bennett, 520 U.S. at 175-77. The

Service, however, has not argued—either in the dis-

trict court or this court—that the Landowners’ inter-

ests fall outside the zone of interests that the ESA is

designed to protect. “Unlike constitutional standing,

prudential standing arguments may be waived.” Bd.

of Miss. Levee Comm'rs v. EPA, 674 F.3d 409, 417-18

(5th Cir. 2012).'' Although we have previously con-

sidered the zone-of-interests issue sua sponte, see

Natl Solid Waste Mgmt. Ass'n v. Pine Belt Reg Sol-

id Waste Mgmt. Auth., 389 F.3d 491, 498 (5th Cir.

2004), we decline to do so here. Because the Service

failed to raise this argument, we hold that the Ser-

vice has forfeited a challenge to the Landowners’

standing under the zone-of-interests test. We thus

'' We are mindful that the Supreme Court has recently clarified that

“‘prudential standing’ is a misnomer as applied to the zone-of-interests

analysis,” emphasizing instead that the analysis requires “using tradition-

al tools of statutory interpretation.” Lexmark Int'l, Inc. v. Static Control

Components, Inc., 134 S. Ct. 1377, 1387 (2014) (citation and internal

quotation marks omitted).

15a

conclude that the Landowners have standing to chal-

lenge the Service’s critical-habitat designation.

B. Critical-Habitat Designation

The ESA expressly envisions two types of critical

habitat: areas occupied by the endangered species at

the time it is listed as endangered and areas not oc-

cupied by the species at the time of listing. See 16

U.S.C. § 1532(5)(A)G@)—(ii). To designate an occupied

area as critical habitat, the Service must demon-

strate that the area contains “those physical or bio-

logical features . . . essential to the conservation of

the species.”!? Id. § 1532(5)(A)(i). To designate unoc-

cupied areas, the Service must determine that the

designated areas are “essential for the conservation

of the species.” Id. § 1532(5)(A)(ii). As Judge Feld-

man noted below, “Congress did not define ‘essential’

but, rather, delegated to the Secretary the authority

to make that determination.” Markle Interests, 40 F.

Supp. 3d at 760. Thus, when the Service promul-

gates, in a formal rule, a determination that an un-

occupied area is “essential for the conservation” of an

endangered species, Chevron deference is appropri-

ate. See id. (citing Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural

Res. Def. Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 843 n.9 (1984));

Knapp v. U.S. Dep't of Agric., 796 F.3d 445, 454 (5th

Cir. 2015) (“[A]dministrative implementation of a

'? Under the regulations in place at the time of the critical-habitat desig-

nation at issue here, the Service referred to these “physical or biological

features” as “primary constituent elements” or “PCEs.” 50 C.F.R.

§ 424.12(b) (2012). The primary constituent elements that make up the

dusky gopher frog’s habitat are (1) ephemeral ponds used for breeding,

(2) upland, open-canopy forests “adjacent to and accessible to and from

breeding ponds,” and (3) upland connectivity habitat to allow the frog to

move between breeding and nonbreeding habitats. Final Designation, 77

Fed. Reg. at 35,131.

16a

particular statutory provision qualifies for Chevron

deference when it appears [(1)] that Congress dele-

gated authority to the agency generally to make

rules carrying the force of law, and [(2)] that the

agency interpretation claiming deference was prom-

ulgated in the exercise of that authority.” (altera-

tions in original)).

The Service must designate critical habitat “on

the basis of the best scientific data available and af-

ter taking into consideration the economic impact,

the impact on national security, and any other rele-

vant impact, of specifying any particular area as crit-

ical habitat.” Jd. § 1533(b)(2). “When examining this

kind of scientific determination, as opposed to simple

findings of fact, a reviewing court must generally be

at its most deferential.” Balt. Gas & Elec. Co. v. Nat-

ural Res. Def. Council, Inc., 462 U.S. 87, 103 (1983);

Medina Cnty. Envtl. Action Ass’n v. Surface Transp.

Bd., 602 F.3d 687, 699 (5th Cir. 2010) (“Where an

agency's particular technical expertise is involved,

we are at our most deferential in reviewing the agen-

cy’s findings.”).

In addition, under the regulations in place at the

time of the critical-habitat designation at issue here,

before the Service could designate unoccupied land

as critical habitat, it first had to make a finding that

“a designation limited to [a species’] present range

would be inadequate to ensure the conservation of

the species.” 50 C.F.R. § 424.12(e) (2012) (emphasis

added). Unit 1 is unoccupied. Thus, under its own

regulations, the Service first had to make an inade-

quacy determination. The Service’s first proposed

designation included only land in Mississippi and did

not include Unit 1. See Original Proposal, 75 Fed.

Reg. at 31,395-99 (identifying eleven units in Mis-

l7a

sissippi). During the peer-review and comment pro-

cess on this original proposal, the expert reviewers

expressed that the designated habitat in the proposal

was inadequate to ensure the conservation of the

frog. The experts therefore urged the Service to ex-

pand the designation to Louisiana or Alabama, the

two other states in the frog’s historical range. See

Revised Proposal, 76 Fed. Reg. at 59,776; Final Des-

ignation, 77 Fed. Reg. at 35,119, 35,121, 35,123—24.

The Service adopted this consensus expert con-

clusion, finding that designating the occupied land in

Mississippi was “not sufficient to conserve the spe-

cies.” Final Designation, 77 Fed. Reg. at 35,123. The

Service explained that “[rjecovery of the dusky go-

pher frog will not be possible without the establish-

ment of additional breeding populations of the spe-

cies,” and it emphasized that it was necessary to des-

ignate critical habitat outside of Mississippi to pro-

tect against potential local events, such as drought

and other environmental disasters. Id. at 35,124—25.

The Service therefore determined that “[a]dditional

areas that were not known to be occupied at the time

of listing are essential for the conservation of the

species.” Id. at 35,123. In sum, all of the experts

agreed that designating occupied land alone would

not be sufficient to conserve the dusky gopher frog.

Thus, the Service’s prerequisite inadequacy find-

ing—a finding that the Landowners did not chal-

lenge!“—-was not arbitrary and capricious.

‘3 Amici supporting the Landowners do challenge this finding, and the

Landowners asserted at oral argument that they would contest this find-

ing. The Landowners, however, did not challenge this finding in either of

their briefs on appeal. We therefore will not consider it. See World Wide

St. Preachers Fellowship v. Town of Columbia, 591 F.3d 747, 752 n.3

(Sth Cir. 2009) (“It is well-settled in this circuit that an amicus curiae

l&Sa

Having satisfied this preliminary requirement,

the Service was next required to limit the critical-

habitat designation to unoccupied areas that are “es-

sential for the conservation of the species.” 16 U.S.C.

§ 1532(5)(A)(ii). The Service focused its resources on

locating additional ephemeral ponds. It explained

that it prioritized ephemeral ponds because of their

rarity and great importance for breeding, and be-

cause they are very difficult to replicate artificially.

See Final Designation, 77 Fed. Reg. at 35,123-—24.

The Service further explained that additional breed-

ing populations are necessary for the frog’s recovery

and to prevent excessive inbreeding. See id. at

35,121, 35,123—24. Although the Service has created

one artificial ephemeral pond in the DeSoto National

Forest in Mississippi, this artificial pond took ten

years to construct, and it is still unclear whether it

will be successful as a breeding site. See id. at

35,123. In contrast, as an expert explained at the

public hearing on the Revised Proposal, it is “much

easier to restore a terrestrial habitat for the gopher

frog than to restore or build breeding ponds.” See al-

so id. at 35123 (“Isolated, ephemeral ponds that can

be used as the focal point for establishing these

populations are rare, and this is a limiting factor in

dusky gopher frog recovery.”). As the Service ex-

plained in the Final Designation, “[ajlthough

[DeSoto] is crucial to the survival of the frog because

the majority of the remaining frogs occur there, re-

covery of the species will require populations of

dusky gopher frog distributed across a broader por-

generally cannot expand the scope of an appeal to implicate issues that

have not been presented by the parties to the appeal.” (citation and inter-

nal quotation marks omitted)); see also Crane, 783 F.3d at 252 n.34 (ex-

plaining that a party waives an argument by failing to make it in the par-

ty’s opening brief).

19a

tion of the species’ historic distribution.” /d. at 35,

125.

The Service therefore searched for isolated,

ephemeral ponds within the historical range of the

frog in Alabama and Louisiana. See Final Designa-

tion, 77 Fed. Reg. at 35, 124. The area in Alabama

where the frog once lived has since been replaced by

a residential development. See id. The Service noted

that it was unable to find any breeding sites that the

frog might use in the future in Alabama. See id. In

contrast, the Service explained that Unit 1's five

ephemeral ponds are “intact and of remarkable qual-

ity.” Id. at 35, 133. It noted that the ponds in Unit 1

“are in close proximity to each other, which would al-

low movement of adult gopher frogs between them”

and would “provide metapopulation structure that

supports long-term survival and population resilien-

cy.” Id. “Based on the best scientific information

available to the Service,” the Service concluded that

“the five ponds in Unit 1 provide breeding habitat

that in its totality is not known to be present else-

where within the historic range of the dusky gopher

frog.” Id. at 35, 124.

Finally, in addition to ephemeral ponds, dusky

gopher frogs also require upland forested habitat and

connected corridors that allow them to move between

their breeding and nonbreeding habitats. See id. at

35, 131-32. Looking to the upland terrestrial habitat

surrounding Unit 1’s ephemeral ponds, the Service

relied on scientific measurements and data to draw a

boundary around Unit 1. The Service used digital

aerial photography to map the ponds and then to de-

lineate critical-habitat units by demarcating a buffer

zone around the ponds by a radius of 621 meters (or

2,037 feet). Id. at 35, 134. This value, which was

20a

based on data collected during multiple gopher frog

studies, represented the median farthest distance

that frogs had traveled from breeding sites (571 me-

ters or 1,873 feet) plus an extra 50 meters (or 164

feet) “to minimize the edge effects of the surrounding

land use.” Id. The Service finally used aerial imagery

to connect critical-habitat areas that were within

1,000 meters (or 3,281 feet) of each other “to create

routes for gene flow between breeding sites and

metapopulation structure.” Id.

Altogether, the Service concluded:

Unit 1 is essential to the conservation of the

dusky gopher frog because it provides: (1)

Breeding habitat for the dusky gopher frog in

a landscape where the rarity of that habitat

is a primary threat to the species; (2) a

framework of breeding ponds that supports

metapopulation structure important to the

long-term survival of the dusky gopher frog;

and (3) geographic distance from extant

dusky gopher frog populations, which likely

provides protection from environmental

stochasticity.

Id. As Judge Feldman reasoned below, “[the Ser-

vice’s] finding that the unique ponds located on Unit

1 are essential for the frog’s recovery is supported by

the ESA and by the record; it therefore must be up-

held in law as a permissible interpretation of the

ESA.” Markle Interests, 40 F. Supp. 3d at 761 (apply-

ing Chevron deference).

On appeal, the Landowners do not dispute the

scientific or factual support for the Service’s deter-

2la

mination that Unit 1 is essential.'4 Instead, they ar-

gue that the Service “exceeded its statutory authori-

ty” under the ESA and acted arbitrarily and capri-

ciously when it designated Unit 1 as critical habitat

because Unit 1 is not currently habitable, nor “cur-

rently supporting the conservation of the species in

any way,” nor reasonably likely to support the con-

servation of the species in the “foreseeable future.”

They contend that such land cannot rationally be

called “essential for the conservation of the species,”

bpGause if it can be, then the Service would have

‘nearly lumitless authority to burden private lands

with a critical habitat designation.”

As Judge Feldman noted, Congress has not de-

fined the word “essential” in the ESA. Hence the

Service has the authority to interpret the term. See

Sierra Club, 245 F.3d at 438 (“Once a species has

been listed as endangered .. . the ESA states that

the Secretary ‘shall’ designate a critical habitat ‘to

the maximum extent prudent or determinable. The

ESA leaves to the Secretary the task of defining

‘prudent’ and ‘determinable.” (quoting 16 U.S.C.

§ 1533(h))). To issue a formal rule designating criti-

cal habitat for the frog, the Service necessarily had to

interpret and apply the applicable ESA provisions,

including the word “essential.” See Natl R.R. Pas-

senger Corp. v. Boston & Maine Corp., 503 U.S. 407,

420 (1992) (“[W]e defer to an interpretation which

was a necessary presupposition of the [agency]’s de-

cision.”); cf. S.D. ex rel. Dickson v. Hood, 391 F.3d

581, 596 & n.13 (5th Cir. 2004) (explaining that,

'4 Amici do challenge the scope of the Unit | designation, but we will not

consider this argument because the Landowners did not raise it on appeal.

See World Wide St. Preachers Fellowship, 59\ F.3d at 752 n.3.

22a

when the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Ser-

vices are charged with reviewing and approving state

Medicaid plans to ensure that the plans conform to

the Act, the agency implicitly interprets the Act

when granting approvals). The Service issued the

designation as a formal agency rule after two rounds

of notice and comment. Thus, the Service's interpre-

tation of the term “essential” is entitled to Chevron

deference. See Home Builders, 551 U.S. at 665 (ap-

plying Chevron deference in the context of the ESA);

Chevron, 467 U.S. at 842-44.

When, as here, “an agency’s decision qualifies for

Chevron deference, we will accept the agency’s rea-

sonable construction of an ambiguous statute that

the agency is charged with administering.” Anapp,

796 F.3d at 455. The question presented, then, is

whether the Landowners have demonstrated that

the Service interpreted the ESA unreasonably when

it deemed Unit 1 “essential” for the conservation of

the dusky gopher frog. Although the Landowners

acknowledge that “the Service undoubtedly has some

discretion in interpreting the statutory language of

the ESA,” they contend that the Service “does not

have the authority to apply the term ‘essential’ in a

way that is contrary to its plain meaning.” The

Landowners do not explain what they think the

“plain meaning” of essential is, however, save to ar-

gue, circularly, that we must “insist[{ |” that “essen-

tial’ must truly mean essential.”'®

‘5 The dissent instead introduces two alternative definitions of “essential”

from Black's Law Dictionary: “2. Of the utmost importance; basic and

necessary. 3. Having real existence, actual.” Dissent at 5. ‘The dissent then

goes on to cite MCI Telecommunications Corp. v. Am. Tel. & Tel. Co.,

512 U.S. 218, 229 (1994), for the proposition that “an agency’s interpre-

tation of a statute is not entitled to deference when it goes beyond the

23a

We consider first their argument that it is an un-

reasonable interpretation of the ESA to describe Unit

1 as essential for the conservation of the dusky go-

pher frog when Unit 1 is not currently habitable by

the frog. The statute does not support this argument.

There is no habitability requirement in the text of

the ESA or the implementing regulations. The stat-

ute requires the Service to designate “essential” are-

as, without further defining “essential” to mean

“habitable.” See Bear Valley Mut. Water Co. v. Jewell,

790 F.3d 977, 994 (9th Cir. 2015) (upholding the des-

ignation of unoccupied critical habitat, even though

the area was not habitable by the endangered spe-

cies). The Landowners’ proposed extra-textual limit

on the designation of unoccupied land—

habitability—effectively conflates the standard for

designating unoccupied land with the standard for

designating occupied land. See Dep't of Homeland

Sec. v. MacLean, 135 S. Ct. 913, 919 (2015) (“Con-

gress generally acts intentionally when it uses par-

ticular language in one section of a statute but omits

it in another.”). As Judge Feldman insightfully ob-

served, “[their position] is .. . contrary to the ESA;

{the Landowners] equate what Congress plainly dif-

ferentiates: the ESA defines two distinct types of

critical habitat, occupied and unoccupied; only occu-

pied habitat must contain all of the relevant [physi-

cal or biological features].” Markle Interests, 40 F.

meaning that the statute can bear.” Dissent at 7. The dissent’s own alter-

native definitions distinguish MC/ from this case. In MCI, the agency ad-

vanced an interpretation of the word “modify” that flatly contradicted the

definition provided by “[v]irtually every dictionary [the Court] was aware

of.” /d. at 225. Here, in contrast, one of the dissent’s own definitions of

essential—“of the utmost importance; basic and necessary” — describes

well a close system of ephemeral ponds, per the scientific consensus that

the Service relied upon. See infra note 20.

24a

Supp. 3d at 761. Thus, the plain text of the ESA does

not require Unit 1 to be habitable. “[RJather,” as

Judge Feldman elaborated, “[the Service] is tasked

with designating as critical unoccupied habitat so

long as it determines it is ‘essential for the conserva-

tion of the species’ and ‘only when a designation lim-

ited to its present range would be inadequate to en-

sure the conservation of the species.” Jd. at 762

(quoting 50 C.F.R. § 424.12(e)). Here, the Service

provided scientific data to support its finding that

Unit 1 is essential, and as Judge Feldman held, “[the

Landowners] have not demonstrated that [the Ser-

vice’s] findings are implausible.” Jd. Thus, the Land-

owners have not shown that the Service employed an

unreasonable interpretation of the ESA when it

found that the currently uninhabitable Unit 1 was

essential for the conservation of the dusky gopher

frog and designated the land as critical habitat.

We consider next the argument that it is an un-

reasonable interpretation of the ESA to describe Unit

1 as essential for the conservation of the dusky go-

pher frog when Unit 1 “is not currently supporting

the conservation of the species in any way and the

Service has no reasonable basis to believe that it will

do so at any point in the foreseeable future.” Like

their proposed habitability requirement, the Land-

owners’ proposed temporal requirement— considering

whether the frog can live on the land “currently” or

in the “foreseeable future”--also lacks legal support

and is undermined by the ESA’s text. The ESA’s crit-

ical-habitat provisions do not require the Service to

know when a protected species will be conserved as a

result of the designation. The Service is required to

designate unoccupied areas as critical habit at if

these areas are “essential for the conservation of the-

se species.” 16 U.S.C. § 1532(5)(A)(ii). The statute de-

25a

fines “conservation” as “the use of all methods and

procedures which are necessary to bring any endan-

gered species . . . to the point at which the measures

provided .. . are no longer necessary.” Id. § 1532(3);

cf. Alaska Oil & Gas Ass'n v. Jewell, 815 F.3d 544,

555 (9th Cir. 2016) (“The Act is concerned with pro-

tecting the future of the species[.]”). Neither of these

provisions sets a deadline for achieving this ultimate

conservation goal. See Home Builders Ass’n of N. Cal.

uv. U.S. Fish & Wildlife Serv., 616 F.3d 983, 989 (9th

Cir. 2010) (holding that the Service need not deter-

mine “exactly when conservation will be complete”

before making a critical-habitat designation). And

the Landowners do not explain why it is impossible

to make an essentiality determination without de-

termining when (or whether) the conservation goal

will be achieved. See id. (“A seller of sporting goods

should be able to identify which rod and reel are es-

sential to catching a largemouth bass, but is not ex-

pected to predict when the customer will catch one.”).

As Judge Feldman concluded, “[the Service's] failure

(as yet) to identify how or when a viable population

of dusky gopher frogs will be achieved, as indifferent

and overreaching by the government as it appears,

does not serve to invalidate its finding that Unit 1

was part of the minimum required habitat for the

frog’s conservation.” Markle Interests, 40 F. Supp. 3d

at 762-63. We also note that, in contrast to the habi-

tat-designation provision at issue here, the ESA’s re-

covery-plan provisions do require the Service to es-

timate when a species will be conserved. See 16

U.S.C. § 1533()(1)(B)Gii). Congress’s inclusion of a

conservation-timeline requirement for recovery

plans, but omission of it for critical-habitat designa-

26a

tions, further underscores the weakness of the Land-

owners’ argument. See MacLean, 135 S. Ct. at 919.'6

Moreover, we observe that the Landowners’ pro-

posed temporal requirement could effectively exclude

all private land not currently occupied by the species

from critical-habitat designations. By the Landown-

ers’ logic, private landowners could trump the Ser-

vice’s scientific determination that unoccupied habi-

tat is essential for the conservation of a species so

long as they declare that they are not currently will-

ing to modify habitat to make it habitable and that

they will not be willing to make modifications in the

foreseeable future. Their logic would also seem to al-

low landowners whose land is immediately habitable

to block a critical-habitat designation merely by de-

claring that they will not-—now or ever—permit the

reintroduction of the species to their land. The Land-

owners focus on private-party cooperation as part of

the definition of “essential” finds no support in the

text of the ESA. Nothing in the ESA requires that

private landowners be willing to participate in spe-

cies conservation.'?’ Summing up the Landowners’

—— - ” —_

'6 We further note that it was logical for Congress to require the Service

to estimate a timeline for achieving its conservation goals in a recovery

plan but not to impose that requirement for critical-habitat designations

because there is no deadline for creating a recovery plan, but there is a

one-year deadline for designating critical habitat. See 16 U.S.C.

§ LS33(b6OKAKMiD), (OM 6K CMI); see also Home Builders Ass'n of N.

Cal., 616 F.3d at 990.

‘7 The statute requires the Service to base its decision on “the best scien-

tific data available.” 16 U.S.C. § 1533(b)(2). Here, the Service followed

that command and made an vdjective feasibility determination that the

uplands surrounding the ephemeral ponds, although currently lacking

“the essential physical or biological features of critical habitat,” are “re-

storable with reasonable effort.” Final Designation, 77 Fed. Reg. at

35,135. We find no basis in the text of the statute for the “reasonable

27a

arguments on this point, Judge Feldman observed

that the Landowners “effectively ask the Court to

endorse—contrary to the express terms and scope of

the statute—a private landowner exemption from

unoccupied critical-habitat designations. This, the

Third Branch, is the wrong audience for addressing

this matter of policy.” Markle Interests, 40 F. Supp.

3d at 769 n.40. We agree. Thus, the Landowners

have not shown that the Service employed an unrea-

sonable interpretation of the ESA when it found that

Unit 1 was essential for the conservation of the

dusky gopher frog without first establishing that

Unit 1 currently supports, or in the “foreseeable fu-

ture” will support, the conservation of the dusky go-

pher frog.

We next consider the argument that that the

Service has interpreted the word “essential” unrea-

sonably because its interpretation fails to place

“meaningful limits” on the Service’s power under the

ESA. Thus, we consider whether, in designating Unit

1, the Service abided the meaningful limits that the

ESA and the agency’s implementing regulations set

on the Service’s authority to designate unoccupied

areas as critical habitat. Under the regulations in ef-

probability” test introduced by the dissent, which looks to “many factors”

including “whether a reasonable landowner would be likely to undertake

the necessary modifications.” Dissent at 13. Although a “reasonable

landowner” test has the sound of an objective test, the dissent does not

make clear how such a test would be applied in practice, nor how it

would avoid taking into account the subjective intentions of specific

landowners. For example, the dissent says that in a scenario in which a

“landowner . . . enter[s] into an agreement to modify land so that it might

be used as habitat, there would be nothing ‘subjective’ in concluding that

it is reasonably probable that the land will actually be used at habitat.”

Dissent at 13. A test that can come out differently depending on the actual

plans of specific landowners is, by definition, subjective.

28a

fect at the time that Unit 1 was designated, the Ser-

vice had to find that the species’s occupied habitat

was inadequate before it could even consider desig-

nating unoccupied habitat as critical. 50 C.F.R.

§ 424.12(e). In part, this preliminary determination

provided a limit to the term “essential” as it relates

to unoccupied areas. Unoccupied areas could be es-

sential only if occupied areas were found to be inade-

quate for conserving the species. See Bear Valley

Mut. Water Co., 790 F.3d at 994 (recognizing that the

inadequacy and essentiality requirements overlap).

Here, the Service made that threshold inadequacy

determination—a determination that the Landown-

ers do not challenge.

Next, under the ESA itself, the Service can des-

ignate unoccupied land only if it is “essential for the

conservation of the — species.” 16 =U.S.C.

§ 1532(5)(A)(ii). “Conservation” is defined as “the use

of all methods and procedures which are necessary to

bring any endangered species .. . to the point at

which the measures provided .. . are no longer nec-

essary.” Id. § 1532(3) (emphasis added). In light of

this definition, we find implausible the Landowners’

parade of horribles in which they suggest that, if the

Service can designate an area like Unit 1 as critical

habitat, it could designate “much of the land in the

United States” as well. They contend that “[bJecause

any land may conceivably be turned into suitable

habitat with enough time, effort, and resources, th[e]

[Service's] interpretation gives the Service nearly

limitless authority to burden private lands with a

critical habitat designation.” But we find it hard to

see how the Service would be able to satisfactorily

explain why randomly chosen land—whether an

empty field or, as the Landowners suggest, land cov-

ered in “buildings” and “pavement”’—would be any

29a

more “necessary” to a given species’ recovery than

any other arbitrarily chosen empty field or paved

lot.'8 Here, the Service confirmed through peer re-

view and two rounds of notice and comment a scien-

tific consensus as to the presence and rarity of a crit-

ical (and difficult to reproduce) feature—the ephem-

eral ponds—which justified its finding that Unit 1

was essential for the conservation of the dusky go-

pher frog.'®

——s

18 Nor do we see how the Service could justify designating land that ob-

jectively—that is, for scientific reasons—could never contribute to the

conservation of a species——say, for example, if the ephemeral ponds were

located within a toxic spill zone that scientists concluded could not be

remediated. Where we differ critically from the dissent is on the question

whether the ESA provides any basis for taking into account subjective

third-party intentions when determining whether land could contribute to

the conservation of a species. We hold that it does not. Under our ap-

proach, it would still be arbitrary and capricious for the Service to label as

essential land that is objectively impossible to use for conservation. See

Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass'n of U.S., Inc. v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.,

463 U.S. 29, 43 (1983) (finding the National Highway Traffic Safety

Administration’s rescission of a rule requiring passive restraints in auto-

mobiles arbitrary and capricious because the agency did not provide a

“rational connection between the facts found and the choice made’); see

also Arizona Cattle Growers’ Ass'n v. U.S. Fish & Wildlife, Bureau of

Land Mgmt., 273 F.3d 1229, 1243-44 (9th Cir. 2001) (finding the Fish

and Wildlife Service's issuance of an incidental-take statement arbitrary

and capricious because the evidence linking cattle grazing to an effect on

the razorback sucker was too speculative and “woefully insufficient”);

Chem. Mfrs. Ass'n v. E.P.A., 28 F.3d 1259, 1265-66 (D.C. Cir. 1994)

(finding the Environmental Protection Agency’s final rule designating a

pollutant as high risk arbitrary and capricious because “there [was] simp-

ly no rational relationship between the model [used in making the deter-

mination] and the known behavior of the hazardous air pollutant to which

it [was] applied”).

'9 We fail to see how the Service would be able to similarly justify as ra-

tional an essentiality finding as to arbitrarily chosen land. In contrast, the

dissent, similar to the Landowners, contends that “[i]t is easily conceiva-

30a

In addition, the ESA requires the Service to base

its finding of essentiality on “the best scientific data

available.” Id. § 1533(b)(2). This requirement further

cabins the Service’s power to make critical-habitat

designations. Here, the Final Designation was based

on the scientific expertise of the agency’s biologists

and outside gopher frog specialists. If this scientific

support were not in the record, the designation could

not stand.2° But that is not the situation here, and

ble that ‘the best scientific data available’ would lead scientists to con-

clude that an empty field that is not currently habitable could be altered to

become habitat for an endangered species.” Dissent at 13-14. Even as-

suming that to be true, it does not follow that scientists or the Service

would or could then reasonably call an empty field essential for the con-

servation of a species. If the field in question were no different than any

other empty field, what would make it essential? Presumably, if the field

could be modified into suitable habitat, so could any of the one hundred

or one thousand other similar fields. If the fields are fungible, it would be

arbitrary for the Service to label any single one “essential” to the conser-

vation of a species. It is only by overlooking this point that the dissent

can maintain that our approval of the Service’s reading of “essential” will

“mean| | that virtually ary part of the United States could be designated

as ‘critical habitat’ for any given endangered species so long as the prop-

erty could be modified in a way that would support introduction and sub-

sequent conservation of the species on it.” Dissent at 6 (emphasis added).

20 The dissent also takes aim at our acceptance of the Service's scientifi-

cally grounded essentiality finding in this case, contending that, under our

decision, the Service can designate any land as critical habitat whenever it

contains a single one of the “physical or biological features” essential to

the conservation of the species at issue. 16 U.S.C. § 1532(S Ai). Dis-

sent at 14-15. We create no such generalized rule. We hold only that in

this case, substantial, consensus, scientific evidence in the record sup-

ports the Service’s conclusion that the ephemeral ponds present on Unit |

are essential for the conservation of the dusky gopher frog. See, e.g., Fi-

nal Designation, 77 Fed. Reg. at 35123 (summarizing the scientific con-

sensus that the rarity of isolated, ephemeral ponds “is a limiting factor in

dusky gopher frog recovery”). The ponds cannot be separated from the

land that contains them. Thus, if the ponds are essential, then Unit 1,

which contains the ponds, is essential for the conservation of the dusky

3la

the Landowners do not challenge the consensus sci-

entific data on which the Service relied. The Land-

owners have not shown that the Service employed an

interpretation of the ESA that is inconsistent with

the meaningful limits that the ESA and the agency’s

implementing regulations set on the Service's au-

thority to designate unoccupied areas as critical hab-

itat.?!

In sum, the Landowners have not established

that the Service interpreted the ESA unreasonably—

and was thus undeserving of Chevron deference—

when it found that Unit 1 was essential for the con-

servation of the dusky gopher frog. Likewise, the

Landowners have not shown that the Service’s es-

sentiality finding failed to “satisfy minimum stand-

ards of rationality,” 10 Ring Precision, 722 F.3d at

723, which means that they have not shown that the

Service acted arbitrarily or capriciously, either.

Finally, the Landowners contend that it is im-

proper to protect Unit 1 with a critical-habitat desig-

gopher frog. In general, the dissent seeks to decouple the Service’s “es-

sentiality” finding from its scientific determination process, turning it into

a purely legal standard. We decline to do so, with the good reason that the

ESA specifically requires that critical habitat determinations be based on

“scientific data.” See 16 U.S.C. § 1533(b\{2).

21 In response to the dissent’s policy concerns about ever-expanding des-

ignations, we also note that the ESA limits critical-habitat designations on

the back end as well, because successful conservation through critical-

habitat designation ultimately works towards undesignation. See, e.g.,

Removal of the Louisiana Black Bear From the Federal List of Endan-

gered and Threatened Wildlife and Removal of Similarity of

Appearance Protections for the American Black Bear, 81 Fed. Reg.

13,124, 13,171 (March 11, 2016) (to be codified at 50 C.F.R. pt. 17) (fi-

nal rule removing Louisiana black bear from endangered species list and,

accordingly, “removing the designated critical habitat for the Louisiana

black bear”).

32a

nation when there are other ways to ensure that

Unit 1 will assist with the conservation of the gopher

frog. It is true that the Service could manage Unit 1

by purchasing the land. See 16 U.S.C. § 1534(a). But

the legal availability of other statutory conservation

mechanisms, some arguably more intrusive of pri-

vate property interests, does not undercut the Ser-

vice’s separate statutory duty to designate as critical

habitat unoccupied areas that are essential for the

conservation of the species. See id. § 1533(a)(3)(A)()

(“The Secretary .. . tu the maximum extent prudent

and determinable ... shall. . . designate any habitat

of [an endangered] species which is then considered

to be critical habitat .. ..” (emphasis added)).

In sum, the designation of Unit 1 as critical habi-

tat was not arbitrary and capricious nor based upon

an unreasonable interpretation of the ESA. The Ser-

vice reasonably determined (1) that designating oc-

cupied habitat alone would be inadequate to ensure

the conservation of the dusky gopher frog and (2)

that Unit 1 is essential for the conservation of the

frog. We thus agree with Judge Feldman: “the law

authorizes such action and .. . the government has

acted within the law.” Markle Interests, 40 F. Supp.

3d at 759-60.

C. Decision Not to Exclude Unit 1

In addition to attacking the Service's conclusion

that Unit 1 is essential for the conservation of the

dusky gopher frog, the Landowners also challenge

the Service’s conclusion that the economic impacts on

Unit 1 are not disproportionate. See Final Designa-

tion, 77 Fed. Reg. at 35,141. The Landowners argue

that because the benefits of excluding Unit 1 from

the designation clearly outweigh the benefits of in-

cluding it in the designation, the Service's decision is

33a

arbitrary and capricious. The Landowners contend

that because Unit 1 is not currently habitable by the

dusky gopher frog, the land provides no biological

benefit to the frog. They emphasize that Unit 1, by

contrast, bears a potential loss of development value

of up to $33.9 million over twenty years.

The ESA mandates that the Service “tak[e} into

consideration the economic impact . . . of specifying

any particular area as critical habitat.” 16 U.S.C.

§ 1533(b)(2). After it takes this impact into consider-

ation, the Service

may exclude any area from critical habitat if

[it] determines that the benefits of such ex-

clusion outweigh the benefits of specifying

such area as part of the critical habitat, un-

less [it] determines, based on the best scien-

tific and commercial data available, that the

failure to designate such area as critical hab-

itat will result in the extinction of the species

concerned.

Id. (emphasis added). The Service argues that once it

has fulfilled its statutory obligation to consider eco-

nomic impacts, a decision to not exclude an area is

discretionary and thus not reviewable in court. The

Service is correct. Under the APA, decisions “com-

mitted to agency discretion by law” are not review-

able in federal court. 5 U.S.C. § 701(a)(2). An action

is committed to agency discretion when there is “no

meaningful standard against which to judge the

agency's exercise of discretion.” Heckler v. Chaney,

470 U.S. 821, 830 (1985). “[I]f no judicially managea-

ble standards are available for judging how and

when an agency should exercise its discretion, then it

34a

is impossible to evaluate agency action for ‘abuse of

discretion.” Id.

The only other circuit court that has confronted

this issue has recognized that there are no manage-

able standards for reviewing the Service’s decision

not to exercise its discretionary authority to exclude

an area from a critical-habitat designation. See Bear

Valley Mut. Water Co., 790 F.3d at 989-90. It there-

fore held that the decision not to exclude is unre-

viewable. Id.; see also Bldg. Indus. Ass'n of Bay Area

v. U.S. Dep't of Commerce, No. 13-15132, 2015 WL

4080761, (9th Cir. July 7, 2015), affg No. C 11-4118,

2012 WL 6002511 (N.D. Cal. Nov. 30, 2012). Similar-

ly, every district court that has addressed this issue

has also held that the decision not to exclude is not

subject to judicial review. See Aina Nui Corp. v. Jew-

ell, 52 F. Supp. 3d 1110, 1132 n.4 (D. Haw. 2014)

(“The Court does not review the Service's ultimate

decision not to exclude .. ., which is committed to the

agency's discretion.”); Cape Hatteras Access Pres. Al-

liance v. U.S. Dep't of Interior, 731 F. Supp. 2d 15, 29

(D.D.C. 2010) (“The plain reading of the statute fails

to provide a standard by which to judge the Service's

decision not to exclude an area from critical habi-

tat.”); Home Builders Ass'n of N. Cal. v. U.S. Fish &

Wildlife Serv., No. CIV. S-05-0629, 2006 WL

3190518, at *20 (E.D. Cal. Nov. 2, 2006) (“[T]he court

has no substantive standards by which to review the

[agency's] decisions not to exclude certain tracts

based on economic or other considerations, and those

decisions are therefore committed to agency discre-

tion.”).

We see no reason to chart a new path on this is-

sue in concluding that we cannot review the Service's

decision not to exercise its discretion to exclude Unit

35a

1 from the critical-habitat designation. Section

1533(b)(2) articulates a standard for reviewing the

Service's decision to exclude an area. But the statute

is silent on a standard for reviewing the Service's de-

cision to not exclude an area. Put another way, the

section establishes a discretionary process by which

the Service may exclude areas from designation, but

it does not articulate any standard governing when

the Service must exclude an area from designation.

See Bear Valley Mut. Water Co., 790 F.3d at 989

C{W]here a statute is written in the permissive, an

agency's decision not to act is considered presump-

tively unreviewable because courts lack ‘a focus for

judicial review .. . to determine whether the agency

exceeded its statutory powers.” (quoting Heckler, 470

U.S. at 832). Thus, even were we to assume that the

Landowners are correct that the economic benefits of

exclusion outweigh the conservation benefits of des-

ignation, the Service is still not obligated to exclude

Unit 1. That decision is committed to the agency's

discretion and is not reviewable.

The Supreme Court’s recent decision in Michigan

v. EPA, 135 S. Ct. 2699 (2015), does not compel a

contrary conclusion. In Michigan, the Environmental

Protection Agency (“EPA”) had interpreted a provi-

sion of the Clean Air Act to not require the consider-

ation of costs when deciding whether to regulate

hazardous emissions from power plants. Jd. at 2706.

Although the Supreme Court held that the EPA mis-

interpreted the statute, the Court emphasized that it

was not requiring the agency “to conduct a formal

cost-benefit analysis in which each advantage and

disadvantage is assigned a monetary value.” /d. at

2711. The Court further explained that “[iJt will be

up to the Agency to decide (as always, within the lim-

36a

its of reasonable interpretation) how to account for

cost.” Id.

Unlike the provision of the Clean Air Act at issue

in Michigan, the ESA explicitly mandates “consider-

ation” of “economic unpact.” 16 U.S.C. § 1533(b)(2);

see Bennett, 520 U.S. at 172. The Service fulfilled

this requirement by commissioning an economic re-

port by Industrial Economics, Inc. That analysis es-

timated the economic impact on Unit 1, and to fur-

ther refine that analysis, it included three impact

scenarios. The report noted that Unit 1 bears a po-

tential loss of development value ranging from $0 to

$33.9 million over twenty years. See Final Designa-

tion, 77 Fed. Reg. at 35,140—41; This potential loss

depends on a number of contingencies that may or

may not arise, including future development projects,

the nature of federal agency approval that is re-

quired for those projects, and possible limits that are

imposed after any consultation that accompanies

federal agency action. As has been recently recog-

nized, the statute does not require a_ particular

methodology for considering economic impact. See

Bldg. Indus. Ass'n of Bay Area, 792 F.3d at 1032-34.

And here on appeal, the Landowners do not chal-

lenge the methodology that the Service used when

analyzing the economic impact on Unit 1; instead,

the Landowners challenge the Service’s bottom-line

conclusion not to exclude Unit 1 on the basis of that

economic impact. That conclusion is not reviewable.

Il. Commerce Clause

Having concluded that the Service’s designation

of Unit 1 as critical habitat was not arbitrary and

capricious, we must next consider the Landowners’

alternative argument that the ESA exceeds Con-

gress’s powers under the Commerce Clause. The

37a

Commerce Clause gives Congress the power “[tlo

regulate Commerce .. . among the several States.”

U.S. Const. art. 1, § 8, cl. 3. In United States v. Lopez,

the Supreme Court defined three broad categories of

federal legislation that are consistent with this pow-

er. 514 U.S. 549, 558 (1995). This case concerns the

third Lopez category—that is, whether the federal

action “substantially affect[s] interstate commerce.”

Id. at 558—59 (citations omitted).

The Landowners concede that, “properly limited

and confined to the statutory definition,” the critical-

habitat provision of the ESA is a constitutional exer-

cise of Congress’s Commerce Clause authority. They

maintain, however, that the designation of Unit 1 as

critical habitat for the dusky gopher frog exceeds the

scope of an otherwise constitutional power. Viewed

this narrowly, the designation of Unit 1 is intrastate

(not interstate) activity. The Landowners further ar-

gue that “[t]here is simply no rational basis to con-

clude that the use of Unit 1 will substantially affect

interstate commerce.” In support of this narrow

framing of the issue, the Landowners imply that it is

inappropriate to aggregate the effect of designating

Unit 1 with the effect of all other critical-habitat des-

ignations nationwide. Instead, the Landowners ar-

gue that we should analyze the commercial impact of

the Unit 1 designation independent of all other des-

ignations. But as Judge Feldman explained, “each

application of the ESA is not itself subject to the

same tests for determining whether the underlying

statute is a constitutional exercise of the Commerce

Clause.” Markle Interests, 40 F. Supp. 3d at 758. We

agree with Judge Feldman that “the [Landowners |

constitutional claim is foreclosed by binding prece-

dent.” Id.

38a

The Supreme Court has outlined four considera-

tions that are relevant when analyzing whether

Congress can regulate purely intrastate activities

under the third Lopez prong. See United States v.

Morrison, 529 U.S. 598, 609-12 (2000). First, courts

should consider whether the intrastate activity “in

question has been some sort of economic endeavor.”

Id. at 611. Second, courts should consider whether

there is an “express jurisdictional element” in the

statute that might limit its application to instances

that “have an explicit connection with or effect on in-

terstate commerce.” Jd. at 611—12. The next consid-

eration that should inform the analysis is legislative

history and congressional findings on the effect that

the subject of the legislation has on interstate com-

merce. /d. at 612. Finally. courts should evaluate

whether the link between the intrastate activity and

its effect on interstate commerce is attenuated. /d.

The Landowners’ constitutional challenge can be dis-

tilled to the question of whether we can properly an-

alyze the Unit | designation aggregated with all oth-

er critical-habitat designations nationwide. This

question falls under the first consideration articulat-

ed in Morrison. Because the Landowners concede

that the critical-habitat provision of the ESA is

“within the legitimate powers of Congress,” we need

focus on only the first consideration if we find that

aggregation is appropriate.

The first consideration is whether the regulated

intrastate activity is economic or commercial in na-

ture. Jd. at 611. The question thus arises: what is the

regulated activity that we must analyze? See GDF

Realty Invs., Ltd. v. Norton, 326 F.3d 622, 633 (5th

Cir. 2003). In GDF Realty, where we examined the

39a

“take” provision? of the ESA, we emphasized that we

had to analyze the regulation of endangered species

takes, not the commercial motivations of the plain-

tiff—developers who were challenging the statute.

Id. at 636. Applying GDF Realty here, the regulated

activity in question is the designation of Unit 1 as

critical habitat, not the Landowners’ long-term de-

velopment plans.

The next issue is whether the designation of Unit

1 as critical habitat is economic or commercial in na-

ture. “[W]hether an activity is economic or commer-

cial is to be given a broad reading in this context.” Jd.

at 638. In certain cases, an intrastate activity may

have a direct relationship to commerce and therefore

the intrastate activity alone may substantially affect

interstate commerce. Alternatively, “the regulation

can reach intrastate commercial activity that by it-

self is too trivial to have a substantial effect on inter-

state commerce but which, when aggregated with

similar and related activity, can substantially affect

interstate commerce.” United States v. Ho, 311 F.3d

589, 599 (5th Cir. 2002).

The designation of Unit 1 alone may not have a

direct relationship to commerce, but under the ag-

gregation principle, the designation of Unit 1 sur-

vives constitutional muster. Under this principle, the

intrastate activity can be regulated if it is “an essen-

tial part of a larger regulation of economic activity,

in which the regulatory scheme could be undercut

unless the intrastate activity were regulated.” Gon-

22 See 16 U.S.C. § 1532(19) (“The term ‘take’ means to harass, harm,

pursuc, hunt, shoot, wound, kill, trap, capture, or collect, or to attempt to

engage in any such conduct.”); id § 1538(a)(1)(B) (making it unlawful to

“take” an endangered species).

40a

zales v. Raich, 545 U.S. 1, 36 (2005) (quoting Lopez,

514 U.S. at 561). Thus, there are two factors we must

consider: (1) whether the provision mandating the

designation of critical habitat is part of an economic

regulatory scheme, and (2) whether designation is

essential to that scheme.

We have already concluded that the ESA is an

economic regulatory scheme. See GDF Realty, 326

F.3d at 639 (“ESA’s protection of endangered species

is economic in nature.”); id. at 640 (“ESA is an eco-

nomic regulatory scheme .. ..”). Congress enacted the

ESA to curb species extinction “as a consequence of

economic growth and development untempered by

adequate concern and conservation.” 16 U.S.C.

§ 1531(a)(1). Because the ESA’s drafters sought to

protect the “incalculable” value of biodiversity, the

ESA prohibits interstate and foreign commerce in

endangered species. See id. § 1538(a)(1)(E)-+F); GDF

Realty, 326 F.3d at 639 (citation omitted). Finally,

habitat protection and management—which often in-

tersect with commercial development—underscore

the economic nature of the ESA and its critical-

habitat provision. See 16 U.S.C. § 1533(f)(1)(A) (re-

quiring that the Secretary prioritize implementing

recovery plans for “those species that are, or may be,

in conflict with construction or other development

projects or other forms of economic activity’); see also

id. § 1533(a)(1)(B) (listing the “overutilization [of a

species] for commercial . . . purposes” as one of the

factors endangering or threatening species).

But it is not sufficient that the ESA is an eco-

nomic regulatory scheme. The critical-habitat provi-

sion must also be an essential component of the ESA.

If the process of designating critical habitat is “an

essential part of a larger regulation of economic ac-

4la

tivity,” then whether that process—designation—

“ensnares some purely intrastate activity is of no

moment.” Raich, 545 U.S. at 22. “[T]he de minimis

character of individual instances arising under that

statute is of no consequence.” /d. at 17 (citations and

internal quotation marks omitted). When Congress

has regulated a class of activities, we “have no power

to excise, as trivial, individual instances of the class.”

Id. at 23 (citation and internal quotation marks

omitted). We conclude that designating critical habi-

tat is an essential part of the ESA’s economic regula-

tory scheme.

This conclusion is consistent with our analysis of

the ESA’s “take” provision in GDF Realty. There, we

held that “takes” of an endangered species that lived

only in Texas could be aggregated with takes of other

endangered species nationwide to survive a Com-

merce Clause challenge. GDF Realty, 326 F.3d at

640—41. That case concerned the Service’s regulation

of takes of six subterranean endangered species (“the

Cave Species”) located solely in two counties in Tex-

as. Id. at 625. Similar to the Landowners here, the

owners of some of the land under which these species

lived wanted to develop the land into a commercial

and residential area; they sued the government,

claiming that the take provision of the ESA, as ap-

plied to the Cave Species, exceeded the boundaries of

the Commerce Clause. Jd. at 624, 626. Addressing

this claim, we upheld the take provision. We ex-

plained that, in the aggregate, takes of all endan-

gered species have a substantial effect on interstate

commerce. See id. at 638-40. Because of the “inter-

dependence of [all] species,” we held that regulating

the takes of the Cave Species was an essential part

of the larger regulatory scheme of the ESA, in that,

without this regulation, the regulatory scheme could

A2a

be undercut by piecemeal extinctions. Jd. at 639—40.

Every other circuit court that has addressed similar

challenges has also upheld the ESA as a valid exer-

cise of Congress’s Commerce Clause power. See

Gibbs v. Babbitt, 214 F.3d 483, 497-98 (4th Cir.

2000); San Luis & Delta~Mendota Waier Auth. v.

Salazar, 638 F.3d 1163, 1177 (9th Cir. 2011); Wyo-

ming v. U.S. Dep't of Interior, 442 F.3d 1262, 1264

(10th Cir. 2006) (per curiam), affg 360 F. Supp. 2d

1214, 1240 (D. Wyo. 2005); Ala._Tombigbee Rivers

Coal. v. Kempthorne, 477 F.3d 1250, 1274 (11th Cir.

2007); Rancho Viejo, LLC v. Norton, 323 F.3d 1062,

1080 (D.C. Cir. 2003); Nat'l Ass’n of Home Builders v.

Babbitt, 130 F.3d 1041, 1049—57 (D.C. Cir. 1997).

The Landowners have not identified any federal

court of appeals that has held otherwise.

This caselaw compels the same conclusion here.

For one, we see no basis to distinguish the ESA’s

prohibition on “takes” from the ESA’s mandate to

designate critical habitat. As Congress recognized,

one of the primary factors causing a species to be-

come endangered is “the present or threatened de-

struction, modification, or curtailment of its habitat

or range.” 16 U.S.C. § 1533(a)(1)(A). Because of the

link between species survival and habitat preserva-

tion, the statute imposes a mandatory duty on the

Service to designate critical habitat for endangered

species “to the maximum extent prudent and deter-

minable.” Jd. § 1533(a)(3)(A). Indeed, the ESA in-

cludes an express purpose of conserving “the ecosys-

tems upon which endangered species . . . depend.” Jd.

§ 1531(b); see also GDF Realty, 326 F.3d at 640 (“In

fact, according to Congress, the ‘essential purpose’ of

the ESA is ‘to protect the ecosystems upon which we

and other species depend.” (quoting H.R. Rep. No.

93-412, at 10)). Allowing a particular critical habi-

43a

tat—one that the Service has already found to be es-

sential for the conservation of the species—to escape

designation would undercut the ESA’s scheme by

leading to piecemeal destruction of critical habitat.

We therefore conclude that the critical-habitat provi-

sion is an essential part of the ESA, without which

the ESA’s regulatory scheme would be undercut. Cf.

Ala.—Tombigbee Rivers Coal., 477 F.3d at 1274 (hold-

ing that “the ‘comprehensive scheme’ of species pro-

tection contained in the Endangered Species Act has

a substantial effect on interstate commerce” and that

the process of listing species as endangered or

threatened is “an essential part of that larger regula-

tion of economic activity” (citation and internal quo-

tation marks omitted)).

Given this conclusion, the designation of Unit 1

may be aggregated with all other critical-habitat des-

ignations. As Judge Feldman correctly observed,

“[w]here the class of activities is regulated and that

class is within the reach of federal power, the courts

have no power to excise, as trivial, individual in-

stances of the class.” Markle Interests, 40 F. Supp. 3d

at 759 (alteration in original) (quoting Raich, 545

U.S. at 23) (internal quotation marks omitted).

“(W]hen a general regulatory statute bears a sub-

stantial relation to commerce, the de minimis char-

acter of individual instances arising under that stat-

ute is of no consequence.” Raich, 545 U.S. at 17 (cita-

tions and internal quotation marks omitted). We

therefore will not look at the designation of Unit 1 in

isolation, but instead we consider it aggregated with

all other critical-habitat designations. Judge Feld-

man reached the same conclusion, explaining that,

“lalggregating the regulation of activities that ad-

versely modify the frog’s critical habitat’—including

the isolated designation of Unit 1—“with the regula-

44a

tion of activities that affect other listed species’ habi-

tat, the designation of critical habitat by the [Ser-

vice] is a constitutionally valid application of a con-

stitutionally valid Commerce Clause regulatory

scheme.” Markle Interests, 40 F. Supp. 3d at 759. Be-

cause the Landowners concede that the critical-

habitat provision of the ESA is a valid exercise of

Congress’s Commerce Clause authority, we can like-

wise conclude that the application of the ESA’s criti-

cal-habitat provision to Unit 1 is a constitutional ex-

ercise of the Commerce Clause power.”°

3 Although the Landowners’ concession truncates our analysis, we ob-

serve that the other three considerations articulated in Morrison also

weigh in favor of concluding that the critical-habitat provision of the ESA

is constitutional as applied to the dusky gopher frog. Although there is no

jurisdictional element in the statute limiting its application to instances af-

fecting interstate commerce, the “interdependence of species” under-

scores that critical-habitat designations affect interstate commerce. GDF

Realty, 326 F.3d at 640. In this sense, the ESA’s critical-habitat provision

“is limited to instances which ‘have an explicit connection with or effect

on interstate commerce.’” /d. (quoting Morrison, 529 U.S. at 611-12).

Next, the congressional findings, legislative history, and statutory pro-

visions indicate that the regulated activity has an effect on interstate

commerce. See 16 U.S.C. § 1531(a)(1) (“The Congress finds and declares

that . . . various species of fish, wildlife, and plants in the United States

have been rendered extinct as a consequence of economic growth and de-

velopment untempered by adequate concern and conservation . . ..”); id

§ 1533(a)(1)(A){B) (acknowledging “the present or threatened destruc-

tion, modification, or curtailment of [a species’s] habitat or its range” and

the “overutilization [of species] for commercial . . . purposes” as factors

leading to species endangerment); Tenn. Valley Auth., 437 U.S. at 177-78

(summarizing the legislative history of the ESA); Gibbs, 214 F.3d at 495

(discussing the legislative history of the ESA and the possibility of re-

newing a commercial market in a species once it is no longer endangered

or threatened (citing S. Rep. No. 91-526, at 3 (1969))); see also San Luis

& Delta—Mendota Water Auth., 638 F.3d at 1176.

Finally, the link between critical-habitat designation and its effect on

interstate commerce is not too attenuated. The ESA is economic in na-

45a

Ill. National Environmental Policy Act

Finally, the Landowners contend that the Service

violated NEPA by failing to prepare an environmen-

tal impact statement before designating Unit 1 as

critical habitat. If proposed federal action will “sig-

nificantly affect [| |] the quality of the human envi-

ronment,” NEPA requires the relevant federal agen-

cy to provide an environmental impact statement for

the proposed action. 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C). In Sab-

ine River Authority, we explained that an environ-

mental impact statement “is not required for non

major action or a major action which does not have

significant impact on the environment.” 951 F.2d at

677 (citation and internal quotation marks omitted).

This standard necessarily means that if federal ac-

tion will not result in any change to the environment,

then the action does not trigger NEPA’s impact-

statement requirement. See id. at 679 (noting that

federal action “did not effectuate any change to the

environment which would otherwise trigger the need

to prepare an [environmental impact statement]’);

see also Metro. Edison Co. v. People Against Nuclear

Energy, 460 U.S. 766, 774 (1983) (explaining that no

ture, and Congress has made critical-habitat designation a mandatory

component of the regime. See 16 U.S.C. § 1533(aX3KA)i) (stating that

the Service “shall . . . designate any habitat of [an endangered] species

which is then considered to be critical habitat” (emphasis added)). More-

over, as this case highlights, any future regulation of Unit 1 or other criti-

cal habitat would occur if the Landowners’ commercial development

plans triggered Section 7 consultation. Thus, the link to interstate com-

merce is not too attenuated for purposes of Commerce Clause analysis.

See Morrison, 529 U.S. at 611 (explaining that the statutes challenged in

Lopez and Morrison fell outside Congress’s Commerce Clause authority

because “neither the actors nor their conduct ha[d] a commercial charac-

ter, and neither the purposes nor the design of the statute ha[d] an evident

commercial nexus” (citation and internal quotation marks omitted)). For

these additional reasons, the application of the ESA’s critical-habitat pro-

vision is constitutional as applied to the dusky gopher frog.

Aba

environmental impact statement is required if health

damage stemming from federal action “would not be

proximately related to a change in the physical envi-

ronment”); City of Dallas, Tex. v. Hall, 562 F.3d 712,

723 (5th Cir. 2009) (holding that an environmental

impact statement was not required when the federal

action “[did] not effect a change in the use or charac-

ter of land or in the physical environment’).

Judge Feldman correctly held that the designa-

tion of Unit | does not trigger NEPA’s impact-

statement requirement because the designation

“does not effect changes to the physical environ-

ment.” Markle Interests, 40 F. Supp. 3d at 768. The

designation also does not require the Landowners to

take action as a result of the designation. As Judge

Feldman correctly observed, “the ESA statutory

scheme makes clear that [the Service] has no author-

ity to force private landowners to maintain or im-

prove the habitat existing on their land.” Jd. (foot-

note and citation omitted). We agree that the Service

was not required to complete an environmental im-

pact statement before designating Unit 1 as critical

habitat for the dusky gopher frog.

Alternatively, this claim is resolved on the

threshold issue of the Landowners’ standing to raise

this NEPA claim. A plaintiff bringing a claim under

NEPA must not only have Article III standing to

pursue the claim, but also fall within the zone of in-

terests sought to be protected under the statute. See

Lujan v. Nat’ Wildlife Fed’n, 497 U.S. 871, 883

(1990); Sabine River Auth., 951 F.2d at 675 (recog-

nizing that the zone-of-interests test applies to chal-

leages under NEPA). Other circuit courts have held

that “a plaintiff who asserts purely economic injuries

does not have standing to challenge an agency action

47a

under NEPA.” Nev. Land Action Ass'n v. U.S. Forest

Serv., 8 F.3d 713, 716 (9th Cir. 1993) (citing cases

from the Fourth, Eighth, Ninth, and D.C. Circuits).

Consistent with this conclusion, we have observed in

dicta that a “disappointed contractor” who was in-

jured by an easement that prevented devclopment

opportunities would not have standing under the

zone-of-interests test because “NEPA was not de-

signed to protect contractors’ rights: it was designed

to protect the environment.” Sabine River Auth., 951

F.2d at 676. The Landowners’ asserted injuries here

are similarly economic, not environmental: lost fu-

ture development and lost property value. These

economic injuries do not fall within the zone of inter-

ests protected by NEPA, and the Landowners there-

fore lack standing to sue to enforce NEPA’s impact-

statement requirement.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, we AFFIRM the

judgment of the district court.

PRISCILLA R. OWEN, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

There is a gap in the reasoning of the majority

opinion that cannot be bridged. The area at issue is

not presently “essential for the conservation of the

jendangered] species”! because it plays no part in

the conservation of that species. Its biological and

physical characteristics will not support a dusky go-

pher frog population. There is no evidence of a rea-

sonable probability (or any probability for that mat-

ter) that it will become “essential” to the conserva-

tion of the species because there is no evidence that

the substantial alterations and maintenance neces-

sary to transform the area into habitat suitable for

the endangered species will, or are likely to, occur.

Land that is not “essential” for conservation does not

meet the statutory criteria for “critical habitat.”?

The majority opinion interprets the Endangered

Species Act* to allow the Government to impose re-

strictions on private land use even though the land:

is not occupied by the endangered species and has

not been for more than fifty years; is not near areas

inhabited by the species; cannot sustain the species

without substantial alterations and future ar nual

maintenance, neither of which the Government has

the authority to effectuate, as it concedes; and does

not play any supporting role in the existence of cur-

' 16 U.S.C. § 1532(5 Ai) (“The term ‘critical habitat’ for a threatened

species means . . . specific areas outside the geographical area occupied

by the species at the time it is listed [as endangered], upon a determina-

tion by the Secretary that such areas are essential for the conservation of

the species.”’).

2 Id.

3 Jd. § 1531 et seq.

AQa

rent habitat for the species. If the Endangered Spe-

cies Act permitted the actions taken by the Govern-

ment in this case, then vast portions of the United

States could be designated as “critical habitat” be-

cause it is theoretically possible, even if not probable,

that land could be modified to sustai

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.