Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. Microsoft Corp., 138 S. Ct. 1186 (2018) (No. 17-2)

Supreme Court brief2018

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 17-2

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Petitioner,

v.

MICROSOFT CORPORATION,

Respondent.

On Wait or CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

Court or APPEALS FOR THE SECOND Cixcurr

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE

DIGITAL RIGHTS IRELAND LIMITED

AND THE OPEN RIGHTS GROUP

IN SUPPORT OF

RESPONDENT MICROSOFT CORPORATION

Owen C. PELL

Counsel of Record

Susan L. Grace

Warre & Case LLP

1221 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10020

(212) 819-8200

opell@whitecase.com

Counsel for Amici Curiae

Digital Rights Ireland Limited

and the Open Rights Group

278154 9

COUNSEL P@ESs

(800) 274-332) + (800) 359-6859

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether 18 U.S.C. § 2703 authorizes a U.S. court

to issue a warrant that compels a U.S.-based provider

of email services to disclose data stored outside of the

United States, even when that data is subject to and would

be available under EU and Irish MLATs which were

expressly designated by the President and Congress as

“self-executing.”

11

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Vage

L i

Aon... ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIEGUEZgtz iv

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

gw * = fs err 1

SUMMARY OF ARGUM ELT k 2

/ 7

I. DATA PRIVACY IS A FUNDAMENTAL

HUMAN RIGHT PROTECTED IN

IRELAND, BUT THOSE PROTECTIONS

ARE DESIGNED NOT TO IMPEDE

CRIMINAL INVESTIGATIONS s 7

A. Data Privacy In Ireland Is A

Fundamental Human Right.............. x

B. EU Law Is Designed To Balance

Individual Rights And Law

Enforcement Needs, Including Through

rr 10

II. MLAT PROCEDURES WERE

NEGOTIATED TO BALANCE

TERRITORIAL INTERESTS RELATING

TO EVIDENCE GATHERING WITH

DATA PRIVACY INTERESTS.............- 13

iii

A. The MLATs Are The Culmination

Of Over Forty Years Of U.S.

Policy As To Data Protection ........... 14

B. The MLATs Recognize The

Territorial Significance Of Where

ses e se 17

C. The EU MLATs Expressly Create A

Framework For The United States To

Access The Personal Data At Issue 19

III. THE SELF-EXECUTING MLAT

TREATIES REPRESENT THE

DECISION OF THE EXECUTIVE

AND LEGISLATIVE BRANCHES

TO LIMIT U.S. ENFORCEMENT

0. eee ee 21

A. Data Stored Abroad But Entrusted To

A Service Provider Does Not Belong

To The Service Provider And Ease

Of Access Cannot Change That 22

B. The MLATs Are The Most Recent

Applicable Statement Of U.S.

Law And Policy By The Executive

And Legislative Branches 27

C. The Self-Exeeuting MLATs Expressly

Limit The Enforcement Jurisdiction

Of The SCA Warrant At Issue ......... 28

( 1 0 dee 35

w

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Alabama State Fed’n of Labor v. McAdory,

325 U.S. 450 (1945 6᷑ʒ ...... 24

Coolidge v. New Hampshire,

408 U.S. 448 (197i... 24

Digital Rights Ireland Ltd. v.

Minister for Communications,

ECLI:EU:C2014:23ꝶ8247ꝛ2ꝶ .. 10

Factor v. Laubenheimer,

290 U.S. 276 (198 0ꝶh)))))). 33

Herbs Welding v. Gray,

ATO U.S. 414 (1985 )))1 „„ 26

Medellin v. Texas,

552 U.S. 491 (2008 ꝶ· .. l 3, 28, 30, 33

Mincey v. Arizona,

437 U.S. BBB (19 œ½ cc cece ccc crccceeeeeeeen 24

Schrems v. Commr,

ECLI:EU-C2015:65ò0ũhᷣꝶ nn ..Qn 1. 11

Societe Nationale Industrielle Aerospatiale v.

United States Dist. Court for S. Dist.,

482 U.S. 522 (1987)... 2.2 . 30

Page

Whitney v. Robertson,

, ⅛ -U 28

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer,

,,, ͤ 27

TREATIES AND STATUTES

Charter on Fundamental Rights of the European

Union art. 7, Oct. 6, 2012, 2012 O.J. (C 3260) x

Consolidated Version of the Treaty on European

Union art. 6, Oct 26, 2012, 2012 O.J. (C 326) ....... x

Consolidated Version of the Treaty on

the Functioning of the European Union

art. 16, Oct 26, 2012, 2012 O.J. (C 326) ............ 8

Convention on Cybercrime, Nov. 23, 2001,

T.LA.S. No. 13174, 2296 U.N.T.S. 167ù 7. 30, 31, 32

Electronic Communications Privacy Act of 1986,

, ͤ 3

Instrument as contemplated by Article 3(2) of the

Agreement on Mutual Legal Assistance between

the United States of America and the European

Union signed 25 June 2003, as to the application

of the Treaty between the Government of the

United States of America and the Government of

Ireland on Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal

Matters signed 18 January 2001, Ir.-U.S. Jul.

14, 2005, T. I. A. S. No. 10-0201.35........... passim

Parliament and Council Directive 95/46,

, è˙ m¹R——— ˙·¹1˙²¹²u 9, 11

Parliament and Council Directive 2002/58,

, ̃ũ lil. es nadeeunete eee 9

Parliament and Council Regulation 2016/79,

Z el eea baat opaebeeeéens 90

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Brief for Gesellschaft für Freiheitsrechte e.V.

/ % ⅛—0¾q-bwXł!;ñ/¶ÿ¶INy;H/ V 9, 12

Brief for Jan Philipp Albrecht et al, Members of

the European Parliament as Amici Curiae........ 9

Brief for the European Commission on Behalf

of the European Union as Amicus Curiae...... 9, 11

Brief for MEPs Jan Philipp Albrecht and

Birgit Sippel as Amici Curiaã uA 10

Commission Decision 2000/520, 2000 O.J. (L 215) ....11

International Communication Privacy Act,

H.R. 3718, 115th Cong. (2017)............... 25, 26

Hearing on Law Enforcement Treaties: [inter

alia, / Treaty Doc. 108-11, Council of Europe

Convention on Cybercrime Before the S.

Comm. on Foreign Relations, S. Hrg. 108-

721, 108th Cong. 32 (Jun. 17, 2004) (statement

of Bruce C. Swartz, Deputy Ass’t Attorney

General, Criminal Division, DOJ) ........... 27, 32

International Communications Privacy Act,

I I ND os Kocccccescvecdec 25, 26

International Communications Privacy Act,

H.R. 3718, 115th Cong. (2017)............... 25, 26

Law Enforcement Access to Data Stored

Across Borders: Facilitating Co-operation

and Protecting Rights: Hearing Before

the Subcomm. on Crime ck Terrorism, S.

Comm. on the Judiciary, 115th Cong. 6 (May

24, 2017) (statement of Brad Wiegmann,

Deputy Assistant Att’y Gen., DOJ) ............. 26

viii

OECD, Recommendation of the Council Concerning

Guidelines Governing the Protection of

Privacy and Transborder Flows of Persona!

Data, OECD C(80)58/Final (Sept. 23, 1980). . . .

OECD, Turrry Years Arrer THE OECD Privacy

GUIDELINES 8 (2011), http://www.oecd.org/

sti/ieconomy/49710223.pdf. uu

Opinion Pursuant to Art. 218(11) TFEU,

..

President Richard Nixon, Radio Address

About the American Right to Privacy (Feb.

23, 1974) (transcript available at http://

www.presidency.ucsb.edu/ws/?pid=4364)......

Press Release, Hatch, Coons Introduce International

Communications Privacy Act (ICPA) (Aug. 1,

2017), https://www.hatch.senate.gov/public/

index.cfm/2017/8/hatch-coons-introduce-

international-communications-privacy-act-icpa. . .

Press Release, U.S. Dept. of Justice, Attorney

General Sessions Remarks at the Global

Forum on Asset Recovery Hosted by the

United States and the United Kingdom (Dec.

4, 2017), https://www.justice.gov/opa/speech/

attorney-general-sessions-delivers-remarks-

global- ſorum- asset-recovery-hosted- united

Page

„

25

Page

S. Exec. Rep. No. 110-13 (2008)........ 13, 18, 27, 28, 33

S. Treaty Doc. No. 109-13 (2006) ............ 13, 14, 19

Treaties: Hearing Before the S. Comm. on Foreign

Relations, 110th Cong. 1 (May 20, 2008)

(statement of Bruce C. Swartz, Deputy Ass’t

Attorney General, Criminal Division, DOJ)...... 27

U.S. Dep’t or Justice, FY 2015 BupGet Ax D

PERFORMANCE SUMMARY (2014) https://

www.justice.gov/sites/default/files/jmd/

legacy/2013/11/21/fy15-bud-sum.pdf ............ 25

1

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

OF THE AMICI CURIAE'

Digital Rights Ireland Limited (“DRI”) is an Irish

non-profit public interest organization committed to the

protection of civil and political rights in the digital age.

It has litigated before the European Court of Justice and

elsewhere in a number of landmark cases on the status

of digital rights. Specifically, DRI has been adverse to

service providers like Microsoft with respect to data

privacy issues, including in the seminal European Court

of Justice case Schrems v. Commissioner.’ But DRI also

favors consistent and predictable practices relating to

the release of data to law enforcement authorities and

sees the U.S.-EU Mutual Legal Assistance Treaties

as an important way of balancing fundamental privacy

rights with the public interest relating to effective law

enforcement.

DRl is concerned about the legal, moral, and technical

implications of a regime which, without regard to Irish

regulatory or judicial oversight, would deliver to a U.S.

prosecutor personal data that is located in Ireland and

subject to [rish and EU law. DRI believes that the position

of the United States ignores valid Irish jurisdictional

concerns, notwithstanding the terms of a binding and

self-executing treaty between the United States and the

1. This brief is filed with the written consent of all parties.

No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, nor

did any person or entity, other than Amici or its counsel, make

a monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this

brief.

2. Case C-362/14, Schrems v. Comm, ECLI:EU:C:2015:650.

2

European Union that provides for the balancing of the

legitimate state interests of Ireland and the United States

through mutual legal assistance applications.

The Open Rights Group (“ORG”) is a non-profit

company founded in 2005 by digital activists. ORG is

one of the United Kingdom’s most prominent voices

defending freedom of expression, privacy, innovation,

consumer rights, and creativity on the Internet. It is

currently supported by around 3,000 active supporters

and is advised by a council of leading experts drawn

from academia, media, the technology and entertainment

industries, and the legal profession.

ORG believes that people have the right to control

their technology and data, and that strong data protection

laws, including as established in the European Union, are

an important part of preserving personal privacy rights.

It believes that law enforcement agencies must be able to

cooperate for the purpose of combatting crime, and that

this cooperation is in practice efficiently accomplished by

using local law and the processes provided by treaties such

as the Mutual Legal Assistance Treaties at issue here. DRI

and ORG have a substantial interest here because of the

adverse precedent that could be set as to the protections

provided for data located in Ireland and Europe under

Irish and European law.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The United States seeks to enforce a warrant to

compel Microsoft Corporation (“Microsoft”) to produce

in the United States email data stored in Ireland with a

Microsoft subsidiary. The warrant was issued under the

3

Stored Communications Act (“SCA”), 18 U.S.C. 58 2701 et

seq., enacted as Title II of the Electronic Communications

Privacy Act (“ECPA”).

But in seeking to enforce its warrant, the United

States has wholly ignored—indeed, its brief never once

cites—the U.S.-Ireland Mutual Legal Assistance Treaty

that was ratified in connection with the U.S.-European

Union Mutual Legal Assistance Treaty.’ These treaties

expressly provide for assistance in cases just like this

one. These treaties also were expressly designated by the

President and Congress as “self-executing” in response

to the Court’s decision in Medellin v. Texas, 552 U.S. 491

(2008). The United States has made no argument that the

treaties do not apply. Rather, it simply ignores them. This

Court should not allow this, especially when the MLATs

would both allow the needs of U.S. law enforcement to be

met, while protecting fundamental rights under European

law and respecting Ireland's jurisdiction over the data

in question—jurisdiction never challenged by the United

States. As shown below, these treaties were designed

to limit the enforcement jurisdiction of U.S. and EU

3. See Instrument as contemplated by Article 3(2) of the

Agreement on Mutual Legal Assistance between the United States

of America and the European Union signed 25 June 2003, as to the

application of the Treaty between the Government of the United

States of America and the Government of Ireland on Mutua! Lega!

Assistance in Criminal Matters signed 18 January 2001, Ir.-U.S.

Jul. 14, 2005, T. I. A. S. No. 10-0201.35 [hereinafter Irish MLAT);

Agreement on Mutua! Legal Assistance, FU-U.S., Jun. 25, 2003,

T. L.A. S. No. 10-201.1 (hereinafter, the EU MLAT and with the

27 EU Member State MLATs ratified simultaneously, the EU

MLATs}. The EU and Irish MLATs are referred to collectively

as “the MLATs.”

4

authorities without hindering crime fighting or the war on

terror, and the warrant should be quashed on that basis.

1. The United States does not dispute that data

privacy is a fundamental right protected under Irish and

EU law. Under Irish and EU law, a data subject does not

lose their data privacy rights by entrusting their data to

a service provider, including a non-EU service provider

like Microsoft. It also is not challenged that data located

in Ireland is subject to Irish jurisdiction and EU law and

Irish law. Notwithstanding those principles, EU data

privacy rights do not exist in a vacuum. EU data privacy

laws were developed to recognize that individual privacy

rights must be balanced with public needs that rely on the

free flow of data, including society's right to protect itself

against crime and terrorism. Thus, EU law is designed

to balance individual rights and law enforcement needs,

including through the processes implemented by the

MLATs. Accordingly, the data content maintained by

Mierosoft- Ireland belongs to the author and owner of the

account and Microsoft may not simply take that data and

disclose it to U.S. law enforcement authorities. However,

the criminal law exceptions in EU law would permit Irish

authorities to obtain and provide that data under the Irish

MLAT.

2. The MLAT procedures were negotiated to balance

territorial interests relating to evidence gathering

with data privacy interests. The EU MLATs were the

culmination of over forty years of international discussions

around how best to protect privacy and economic property

interests inherent in personal data and its movement

within and across national borders. The EU MLAT (and

the 27 EU Member State MLATs ratified with it) was

a milestone foreign policy event, and was hailed as an

important development in the war against terror.

5

3. The MLATs recognize the territorial significance

of where data is located, and also expressly create a

framework for the United States to access the personal

data at issue. In ratifying the MLATs, the President and

Senate specifically recognized that the MLATs were

designed to create access to evidence located beyond the

territorial reach of U.S. courts. Thus, the U.S. Executive

and Legislative Branches understood that EU nations

have the right to regulate information located within

their borders, and that the United States will respect that

territorial prerogative by working within the MLATs to

gain law enforcement access to data located in the EU.

4. Based on this Court’s decision in Medellin, in

presenting the EU MLATs for ratification, the President

made clear—and the Senate made clear in its report

favoring ratification—that the EU MLATs were self-

ing. The MLATs also are the most recent statement

of U.S. foreign policy regarding data stored in the EU, and

postdate the SCA warrant provision at issue. In the EU

MLATs the United States chose to limit its enforcement

jurisdiction: Rather than rely on SCA warrants that would

create conflicts with EU law, the U.S. agreed to establish

specific procedures that allow U.S. law enforcement

to gain access to data located within the territorial

jurisdiction of EU Member States. It is undisputed that

the SCA does not by its terms address the specific issue

presented, while the MLATs specifically do. As such, there

is a straightforward path to harmonizing the SCA with

the EU MLATs.

5. The United States has offered no evidence that

the EU MLATs are not working properly; indeed, recent

statements by the Attorney General actually suggest the

opposite, and a pending Congressional amendment of the

6

SCA endorses MLAT procedures. As such, contrary to

the government’s suggestion, there is no evidence that

without the Section 2703 warrant process, [it] lacks

an equally effective means of accessing electronic data

critical to law enforcement and national security.” Brief

for Petitioner 44 (hereinafter “U.S. Brief”). Accepting the

U.S. position here would mean that by entrusting their

data to any internet service provider a data subject loses

control over their data as to any jurisdiction in the world

where that service provider is subject to government

compulsion. That is noi U.S. law, and runs counter to the

MLATSs.

6. The United States also may not use expedience

to ignore treaties that the President and Congress

designated as self-executing, which treaties by their

terms direct EU and U.S. law enforcement authorities

to use MLAT procedures as opposed to jurisdictional

compulsion. By arguing that mutual assistance treaties

“are not universal” (U.S. Brief 44), the government asks

the Court (i) to ignore self-executing treaties that directly

apply here and (ii) to render an advisory opinion just to

simplify prosecutorial action in all cases. But this Court

does not render advisory opinions. As important, this

Court does not allow prosecutorial expediency to defeat

recognized rights, such as the EU data privacy rights

recognized by the United States in the EU and Irish

MLATs.

The United States and Ireland are two friendly

democracies with a long history of cooperation and mutual

understanding on sovereign matters, dating from 1924 and

the early Irish Free State. Cooperation in law enforcement

is routine. Amici have no objection to the principle that a

7

U.S. Attorney can get access to the emails of a suspected

criminal located outside the United States. But in doing

so, the United States must respect EU and Irish law by

using the MLAT procedures that were established to

balance respective sovereign interests here.

ARGUMENT

I. DATA PRIVACY IS A FUNDAMENTAL HUMAN

RIGHT PROTECTED IN IRELAND, BUT THOSE

PROTECTIONS ARE DESIGNED NOT TO

IMPEDE CRIMINAL INVESTIGATIONS.

Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (“Microsoft-

Ireland”) is a wholly owned subsidiary of Microsoft and is

a company registered in Ireland.‘ The datacenter hosting

the email account at issue is operated by Microsoft-

Ireland.“ The email data is not stored in the United States,

and nothing in the record suggests that the data subject

who owns the data is a U.S. person or is not an EU person.“

As important, there is nothing in the record showing that

the data was placed in Ireland to avoid U.S. jurisdiction

or to impede any actual or potential investigation.

Based on these undisputed facts, no matter how the

SCA is understood, it cannot be doubted that Ireland has

jurisdiction over the data located in its territory, has a

right to regulate that data under Irish and EU law, and

has a legitimate interest in how that data is handled.

4. See J. A. 30.

5. See id., at 30, 34.

6. See id., at 31, 34.

8

A. Data Privacy In Ireland Is A Fundamental

Human Right.

Irish law on data privacy is guided by EU law. The basic

principles for the protection of personal data and privacy are

enshrined as fundamental human rights in the foundational

documents of the European Union. The European Union

Charter of Fundamental Rights (the Charter“) provides

that “{e]veryone has the right to respect for his or her

private and family life, home and communications,“ that

“{elveryone has the right to the protection of personal data

concerning him or her” and that “(personal data] must be

processed fairly for specified purposes and on the basis of

the consent of the person concerned or some other legitimate

basis laid down by law.”* The Treaty on the European Union

provides that the Charter has a status in the EU legal order

equivalent to the founding treaties themselves.’ The Treaty

on the Functioning of the European Union also declares that

ſelveryone has the right to the protection of personal data

concerning them.“ Ireland is a party to the Charter and

thus is bound, with respect to Microsoft Ireland and the data

it stores for its customers (o., including the data subject

here).“

7. Charter on Fundamental Rights of the European Union

art. 7, Oct. 6, 2012, 2012 0. J. (C 326) 2, 397.

8. Id., at art. 8, 397.

9. Consolidated Version of the Treaty on European Union

art. 6, Oct 26, 2012, 2012 O.J. C 326) 1, 13, 19 [hearinafter TEU].

10. Consolidated Version of the Treaty on the Functioning

of the European Union art. 16, Oct 26, 2012, 2012 O.J. (C 326) 1,

47, 55 (hereinafter TFEU].

11. The significance of data privacy as a constitutional and

fundamental human right under EU law has deep historical roots

9

The first EU directive on data protection’ (“Data

Protection Directive”) was adopted in 1995 to reconcile

and harmonize different approaches to data protection

that had evolved among EU Member States. Its provisions

were supplemented in 2002 by the ePrivacy Directive."

This framework was then updated in the General Data

Protection Regulation (DPR), which entered into

force in 2016, and will become applicable in May 2018.

See Brief for the European Commission on Behalf of

the European Union as Amicus Curiae 2 (hereinafter

EC Amicus Brief); Brief for Jan Philipp Albrecht et. al,

Members of the European Parliament as Amici Curiae

7-8 (hereinafter MEP Amicus Brief).

EU law is clear (and the United States does not dispute)

that an EU data subject does not lose their data privacy

rights by entrusting their data to a service provider,

including a non-EU service provider like Microsoft. EU

law also is clear that data located in Ireland is subject to

EU law and Irish jurisdiction. For example, as explained

by the European Commission, various provisions of the

GDPR protect the rights of data subjects with respect to

the processing (which would include movement) of data

in European history and culture. See Brief for Gesellschaft für

Freiheitsrechte e.V. as Amicus Curiae 1-3, 6-10 [hereinafter GFF

Amicus Brief}.

12. Parliament and Council Directive 95/46, 1995 O.J. (L 281)

31 (EC) [hereinafter Data Protection Directive].

13. Parliament and Council Directive 2002/58, 2002 O.J. (L

201) 37 (EC).

14. Parliament and Council Regulation 2016/679, 2016 O.J.

(L 119) 1 (EU).

10

located in the EU by a third-party. See EC Amicus Brief

10. The European Court of Justice (““CJEU”) also has

confirmed that the transfer of personal data to a third

party, such as a public authority, is an interference with

a data subject’s fundamental rights, and the disclosure

of the contents of electronic communications is a

“particularly serious” interference.“ Thus, it is a serious

offence, with serious penalties, to transfer personal data to

a country outside the EU absent assurance that standards

for protecting personal data are in place.

B. EU Law Is Designed To Balance Individual

Rights And Law Enforcement Needs, Including

Through Use Of The MLATs.

EU data privacy rights do not exist in a vacuum. As

set forth above, EU data privacy laws were developed

to recognize that individual privacy rights must be

balanced with public needs that rely on the free flow of

data, including society’s right to protect itself against

crime and terrorism. Indeed, as shown by the MEP

Amicus Brief, EU data privacy law has been shaped by

parliamentarians who are deeply involved in the EU’s

fight against terrorism.”

15. Case C-1/15, Opinion Pursuant to Art. 218(11) TFEU,

1 124, ECLI:-EU:C:2017:592.

16. Case C-293/12, Digital Rights Ireland Ltd. v. Minister

for Communications, J 39, ECLI:EU:C:2014:238 (emphasis

added).

17. See MEP Amicus Brief 1, 3 (as to MEPs Jan Philipp

Albrecht and Birgit Sippel).

11

The GDPR, for example, was developed and debated

over four years. It reflects both the sensitivity of European

citizens to the privacy of their personal data, as well as

the need for personal data to be freely moved within

the EU, including for reasons of public need. Hence, the

GDPR contains exceptions to ensure that the rights of

the individual do not unjustifiably obstruct the legitimate

activities of Member States in the fields of security and

law enforcement."*

An explicit protection under EU law is that personal

data will not be transferred to a non-EU country unless

the receiving state-party has in place safeguards to ensure

that the data will receive equivalent protection to that

afforded in the EU. “Adequacy of protection” was at the

heart of the CJEU decision in Schrems.” There, the CJEU

annulled a European Commission decision? approving

the EU “Safe Harbour Principles” for data protection™

on the basis that the corresponding U.S. Department of

Commerce’s guidance for implementing those Principles

did not meet the adequacy of protection standard.” In

18. As explained by the European Commission, EU

Member States are parties to a group of treaties relating to

using cooperation among states to prevent conflicts of laws from

impeding criminal law enforcement, as well as cybercrime and

terrorism. See EC Amicus Brief 3-4, 3 n.7.

19. Data Protection Directive, supra note 12, at 45.

20. See Case C-362/14, Schrems v. Comme,

ECLI:EU:C:2015:650.

21. Commission Decision 2000/520, 2000 O.J. (L 215) 7 (EC).

22. See id. Annex I, at 10-12.

23. See id. Annex II, at 13-25.

12

the wake of this decision, the European Commission and

United States negotiated the EU-U.S. Privacy Shield,

which restores the legal basis for data transfers to U.S.

organizations certified under the Privacy Shield Program.

The Privacy Shield—which is based on the GPDR—does

not permit Microsoft simply to take data stored in the EU

and disclose it to U.S. law enforcement authorities. But,

the criminal law exceptions in EU law would permit Irish

authorities to obtain and provide that data under the Irish

MLAT.* As such, the EU MLATs are an integral part of

the EU legal structure for data privacy protection.

Thus, the GDPR, the Privacy Shield, and the EU and

Irish MLATs are important here for two reasons. First,

they show that as a matter of U.S. legal and foreign policy

the U.S. government in its dealings with the EU has

repeatedly recognized the territorial jurisdiction of EU

Member States with respect to data stored within their

borders. Second, far from viewing EU law as something

that frustrates law enforcement, both the United States

and EU have accepted EU law and established ways

to handle data transfer matters in order to avoid the

conflicts that both already know will otherwise occur

if a private entity like Microsoft-Ireland is compelled

to provide personal data stored in the EU to U.S.

authorities. This is why the United States, the EU and

27 EU Member States negotiated the U.S.-EU MLAT

and the corresponding 27 bilateral MLATs.” As stated

by the European Commission, “[t]he GDPR thus makes

{the MLATs] the preferred option for [data] transfers.”

EC Amicus Brief 14.

24. The same result would be available under German law.

See GFF Amicus Brief 12, 14-17.

25. See supra note 3. The EU MLAT entered into force on

February 1, 2010.

13

Il. MLAT PROCEDURES WERE NEGOTIATED

TO BALANCE TERRITORIAL INTERESTS

RELATING TO EVIDENCE GATHERING

WITH DATA PRIVACY INTERESTS.

Before 2003, the United States had entered into

individual MLATs with twenty EU nations, including

Ireland. But, the United States then proposed a

comprehensive MLAT overhaul so as to allow for the

simultaneous implementation of modified MLATs with all

twenty-seven EU Member States.” This was a milestone

foreign policy event, including because it encompassed

issues beyond the MLATs themselves. The U.S.-EU

MLAT marked the first law enforcement agreement

between the United States and the EU, and also allowed

the United States and the EU to complete a comprehensive

extradition agreement.

Remarkably, the United States does not even cite the

EU MLAT, yet argues that “MLATs are often not an

effective alternative to requiring disclosure of emails under

the SCA.” U.S. Brief 44. By contrast, in urging ratification

of the EU MLAT, President Bush took a different tack,

26. The U.S. had pre-existing MLATs with 20 EU Member

States which were updated by the EU MLAT (Austria, Belgium,

Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece,

Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Poland,

Romania, Spain, Sweden, the Netherlands, and the United

Kingdom). The EU MLAT also established new treaty-based

MLAT relationships with seven EU countries (Bulgaria, Denmark,

Finland, Malta, Portugal, Slovakia, and Slovenia) with which the

United States had no prior MLAT relationship. See S. Exec. Rep.

No. 110-13, at 3-4 (2008).

27. See S. Treaty Doc. No. 109-13, at 111; v-v1 (2006).

14

hailing the agreement as an important development

in the war against terror.” Thus, contrary to the U.S.

Government’s assertion that mutual assistance somehow

is “impractical” or “detrimental” to law enforcement (U.S.

Briet 41, 44), the then Republican Administration asserted

just the opposite to Congress. The Bush Administration

said that one “innovation” of the EU MLAT was that it

“establishes a comprehensive and uniform framework

for limitations on the use of personal and other data.“

By allowing “uniform improvements and expansions in

coverage across much of Europe,” the EU MLAT “will

enable the strengthening of an emerging institutional

relationship on law enforcement matters between the

United States and the European Union, during a period

when the EU is actively harmonizing national criminal law

procedures and methods of international cooperation.“

These statements by the Executive Branch in the exercise

of its foreign affairs power highlight three important

aspects of the EU MLATs that strongly favor quashing

the warrant here.

A. The MLATs Are The Culmination Of Over

Forty Years Of U.S. Policy As To Data

Protection.

The balancing of rights and interests addressed by the

MLATSs has been the subject of U.S. and EU foreign policy

discussions for over forty years. That an individual has

rights in their data—and that this data has value—was

recognized by President Nixon:

28. S. Treaty Doc. No. 109-13, at 111; v.

29. Id.

30. Id. at vi (Overview).

15

Many of the good things in life that Americans

take for granted would be impossible, or

impossibly high-priced, without data retrieval

systems and computer technology. But until

the day comes when science finds a way of

installing a conscience in every computer, we

must develop human, personal safeguards

that prevent computers from becoming huge,

mechanical, impersonal robots that deprive us

of our essential liberties.

Here is the heart of the matter: What a person

earns, what he owes, what he gives to his church

or to his charity is his own personal business

and should not be spread around without his

consent. When personal information is given

or obtained for one purpose, such as a loan or

credit at a store, it should not be secretly used

by anyone for any other purpose.

To use James Madison’s terms, in pursuing the

overall public good, we must make sure that we

also protect the individual's private rights.“

President Nixon was prescient in seeing that data

not only related to privacy interests, but to significant

economic interests as well. As the market has now strongly

confirmed, personal data has undeniable economic

substance like other forms of personal property. The

market valuations of internet service providers, as well

31. President Richard Nixon, Radio Address About the

American Right to Privacy (Feb. 23, 1974) (transcript available

at http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/ws/?pid = 4364).

16

as the flow of money toward internet start-ups that are

based on gaining access to different forms of personal data

highlight that data is very much an asset that resembles a

commodity. It can be bought and sold, it can be “mined,”

fees can be charged for access to it, and its value can be

enhanced by the speed and volume with which it can be

analyzed and moved. But complicating our understanding

of how to manage the liberty interests represented by

data is its protean nature—data can include information

created and collected without a data subject’s taking any

action, and data routinely resides in a “cloud” or moves

“in the ether” while undoubtedly being housed in physical

space within hardware maintained in fixed locations.

Thus, inherent in Nixon’s observations about data were

legal tensions that suffused how U.S. and EU executive

and legislative bodies approached data privacy and the

movement of personal data.

During the 1970s it became evident that the potential

for varying national legislation on data privacy could

hamper the free flow of data that was critical both to

individual rights and economic interests. Recognizing

the potential harm that would result from varying legal

regimes, in 1980 the Organisation for Economic Co-

Operation and Development (“OECD”) issued a set of

recommendations designed to harmonize national data

privacy legislation in order to prevent interruptions in

international data flow, while otherwise upholding human

rights.“ Consistent themes included the idea that data

32. See OECD, Recommendation of the Council Concerning

Guidelines Governing the Protection of Privacy and Transborder

F lows of Personal Data, OECD C(80)58/F inal (Sept. 23, 1980). As of

1980, the OECD was made up of United States and 24 other nations

(17 from Europe) including Ireland. The OECD recommendations

17

belongs to the data subject, and that entrusting data to a

service provider does not divest the data subject of their

rights.“ These recommendations were endorsed by al!

OECD members, including the United States, and have

been instrumental in guiding EU and U.S. data privacy

legislation even if the precise machinery for achieving

these common goals has varied.“ It was against this

backdrop that the United States (with the ECPA) and EU

(with directives culminating in the GDPR) enacted laws

and negotiated the MLATs.

B. The MLATs Recognize The Territorial

Significance Of Where Data Is Located.

Contrary to the position now taken by the United

States, in formulating and ratifying the MLATs the

United States expressly recognized that its ability to

obtain evidence located outside the United States is firmly

rooted in the territorial location of data. The U.S. Senate

were based on the express premise that “transborder flows of

personal data create new forms of relationships among countries

that require the development of compatible rules and practices.”

Id.

33. See id. at J 10 (“Use Limitation Principle”) (“[pjersona!

data should not be disclosed, made available or otherwise used for

purposes other than those [for which it was collected] except a)

with the consent of the data subject; or b) by the authority of law”).

34. See OECD, Tuirty Years Arrer Tue OECD Privacy

Guipe.ines 8 (2011), http://www.oecd.org/sti/ieconomy/497 10223.

pdf. For example, while the EU has enacted overarching data

privacy regulations for all industries and sectors, the United States

has taken an ad hoc approach, enacting legislation addressing

particular privacy protections as to particular industries (e.g.,

financial services, health care, and credit reporting).

18

specifically recognized that the EU MLATs were designed

to create access to evidence located beyond the territorial

reach of U.S. courts:

In order for the United States to successfully

prosecute criminal activity that is transnational

in scope, it is often necessary to obtain evidence

or testimony from a witness in another country.

While U.S. federal courts may issue subpoenas

to U.S. nationals overseas, they lack the

authority to .. . subpoena evidence in a foreign

country.”

Nowhere did the Senate observe that U.S. service

providers offered an easy or assured path around

territorial issues of data privacy. To the contrary, the

Senate acknowledged that, without the MLATs, the U.S.

government's ability to obtain evidence located in another

country could also be limited by “domestic information-

sharing laws [of the foreign state], such as bank and

business secrecy laws.“ Thus, the U.S. Executive and

Legislative Branches understood that EU nations have the

right to regulate information located within their borders,

and that the United States will respect that territorial!

prerogative by working within the MLATs to gain law

enforcement access to data located in the EU.

35. S. Exec. Rep. No. 110-13, at 2.

36. Id.

19

C. The EU MLATs Expressly Create A Framework

For The United States To Access The Personal

Data At Issue.

Article 9 of the EU MLAT (which repealed Article 7 of

the earlier Irish MLAT)” provides for limits on the use of

personal data and replaced a use limitation used in prior

MLATS.“ Specifically, EU MLAT Article 9 was expressly

designed to reconcile the very differences between US

and EU law at issue here.” As explained by the President:

Article 9(1) permits the requesting State to

use evidence or information it has obtained

from the requested State for its criminal

investigations and proceedings [and] for

preventing an immediate and serious threat to

public security.”

Article 9(2)(a) then specifies that Article 9(1) does not

preclude the requested State from imposing additional

conditions, but Article 9(2)(b) makes clear that “generic

restrictions with respect to the legal standard in the

requesting State for processing personal data may not

be imposed by the requested State as a condition under

paragraph 2(a) to providing evidence or inſormation.“

This provision was so important that an Explanatory Note

See S. Treaty Doc. No. 109-13, at xxvu.

See id. at xiv.

See id. at xv.

Id. at xiv-xv.

1. Vat xv (emphasis added).

8 8 & 8

—

20

was included as part of the EU MLAT to drive home the

importance of the MLAT procedures.

The Explanatory Note clarifies Article 9 by stressing

that (i) these MLAT procedures were specifically designed

to allow for a balancing of the competing sovereign

interests inherent in cases like this, and (ii) generally

MLAT procedures tilt in favor of data being provided

(i.e., in favor of law enforcement):

Article 9(2)(b) is meant to ensure that refusal

of assistance on data protection grounds may

be invoked only in exceptional cases. Such a

situation could arise if, upon balancing the

important interests involved in the particular

case (on the one hand, public interests, including

the sound administration of justice and, on the

other hand, privacy interests), furnishing the

specific data sought by the requesting State

would raise difficulties so fundamental as to be

considered by the requested State to fall within

the essential interests grounds for refusal. A

broad, categorical, or systematic application

of data protection principles by the requested

State to refuse cooperation is therefore

precluded. Thus, the fact the requesting and

requested States have different systems of

protecting the privacy of data (such as that the

requesting State does not have the equivalent of

a specialised data protection authority) or have

different means of protecting personal data

(such as that the requesting State uses means

other than the process of deletion to protect

the privacy or the accuracy of the personal

21

data received by law enforcement authorities),

may as such not be imposed as additional

conditions under Article 9(2a).”

Thus, the United States made clear that the

procedures in the EU MLAT not only were acceptable to

it, but that these procedures created a bright-line rule as

to how the United States and Europe would balance their

respective sovereign interests in the handling of personal

electronic data. Yet, it is precisely these procedures that

the United States now seeks to flaunt.

III. THE SELF-EXECUTING MLAT TREATIES

REPRESENT THE DECISION OF THE

EXECUTIVE AND LEGISLATIVE BRANCHES

TO LIMIT U.S. ENFORCEMENT JURISDICTION.

The EU MLATs are the most recent statement of U.S.

law regarding the data privacy issues presented here. They

recognize the territorial nature of data location and that

EU law must be balanced against U.S. law enforcement

needs (and vice versa), and provide a mechanism precisely

designed to reconcile the competing legal interests in this

specific case. Under these circumstances, allowing the

U.S. government to ignore them so as to compel a service

provider over whom it has jurisdiction to transfer data

would set a dangerous precedent on many levels.

42. EU MLAT, supra note 3, at 27 (Explanatory Note)

(emphasis added).

22

A. Data Stored Abroad But Entrusted To A

Service Provider Does Not Belong To The

Service Provider And Ease Of Access Cannot

Change That.

The government argues that the SCA should be given

extraterritorial effect because “(without the Section 2703

warrant process, [it] lacks an equally effective means

of accessing electronic data critical to law enforcement

and national security.” U.S. Brief 44. This argument is

directly contrary both to U.S. and EU law recognizing

(i) that entrusting data to a service provider does not

divest the data subject of his/her rights in the data; and

(ii) that data located in an EU nation is subject to EU

law. Indeed, accepting the government’s position would

mean that by entrusting their data to any internet service

provider a data subject loses control over that data as to

any jurisdiction in the world where that service provider

is subject to government compulsion. That is not U.S. law,

and runs counter to the MLATs and their recognition of

how issues of concurrent jurisdiction should be addressed.

As troubling, the United States has made no record

to support its assertion that MLAT procedures are so

unworkable that only by compelling service providers

can it protect U.S. interests. Indeed, the record is exactly

the opposite—and shows that the Irish MLAT works.

The former Attorney General of Ireland, Mr. Michael

McDowell, was in office when the Irish and EU MLAT's

were negotiated, and testified below that these treaties

were intended “to serve as the means for law enforcement

authorities in the respective countries to obtain evidence

located in the other treaty party.” J.A. 48. McDowell

also confirmed that “Ireland rarely refuses requests

23

for information made under the treaties” and that “the

current MLAT procedures for fulfilling these requests

are efficient and well-functioning.” Id. at 49. There is no

evidence to the contrary in the record.

McDowell’s testimony is in line with a December

2017 speech by Attorney General Sessions extolling the

MLATs and noting that the United States is working to

make them even better. The Attorney General made clear

that the MLATs were essential to U.S. law enforcement

because of overlapping territorial jurisdiction: “We fully

respect the importance of borders. Indeed, borders are

an essential component of sovereignty, but if we work

together—respectful of each other’s rights—we can far

more effectively stop transnational criminals.” Far from

arguing that MLAT’s be circumvented via SCA warrants,

the Attorney General instead declared: “Cooperation

works—and at the Department of Justice, we know that

firsthand.™* Absent cooperation, “in many cases, justice

cannot be done.“ Addressing the issue of data stored

abroad, the Attorney General said:

The Department is also working towards the

i n of a framework with some of our

closest allies that would supplement the MLAT

process and reduce potential conflicts of law

regarding the disclosure of electronic evidence.

43. Press Release, U.S. Dept. of Justice, Attorney General

Sessions Remarks at the Global Forum on Asset Recovery Hosted

by the United States and the United Kingdom (Dee. 4, 2017),

https://www.justice.gov/opa/speech/attorney-general-sessions-

delivers-remarks-global-forum-asset-recovery-hosted-united.

44. Id.

45. Id.

24

That kind of framework would enhance public

safety efforts in the U.S. and around the world.“

Having offered no principled objection to the EU

MLATs, the government next argues that the problem

is that mutual assistance treaties “are not universal.”

U.S. Brief 44. But that argument must fail on at least two

grounds. First, it is not this case, and would turn this case

into an advisory opinion on the SCA—something beyond

this Court’s constitutional competence.” Second, given

that the EU and Irish MLATs by their terms do apply,

the government is simply seeking to trump them on the

grounds of expedience—since the United States lacks

MLATs with all nations prosecutors should never have

to use them even when we have MLATs in place. But this

Court has rejected expedience as a way around recognized

legal rights. See Mincey v. Arizona, 437 U.S. 385, 393

(1978) (“[T]he privacy of a person’s home and property

may not be totally sacrificed in the name of maximum

simplicity in enforcement of the criminal law.”). In the

context of the warrant requirement, this Court has made

clear that the rights at issue are not “an inconvenience

to be somehow ‘weighed’ against the claims of police

efficiency.” Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 481

(1971) (citation omitted); see also Mincey, 437 U.S. at 393

(“The investigation of crime would always be simplified

if warrants were unnecessary.”).

46. Id.

47. See, e.g., Alabama State Fed’n of Labor v. McAdory,

325 U.S. 450, 461 (1945) (“This Court is without power to

give advisory opinions. It has long been its considered practice

not to decide abstract, hypothetical or contingent questions|.]”

(internal citations omitted)).

25

If the government believes that we need more MLATs

it can negotiate them, while also using the Irish MLAT

already in place. If the government believes MLAT

procedures could be more efficient, it can negotiate

better procedures—as the Attorney General suggested

may happen.“ The government could also ask Congress

to amend the SCA~and, indeed, identical bills to do so

are currently pending in both houses of Congress.“ But,

those bills actually undercut the government’s position

because, rather than aligning the statute with the

government’s current interpretation, the bills set forth

specific procedural safeguards to be followed before the

government may demand that a service provider produce

48. MLAT reforms are underway; however, those efforts

focus on deficiencies in U.S. processes for complying with MLAT

requests from abroad. For example, in its FY 2015 Budget

Summary, the Justice Department requested an additional $24

million to improve, and accelerate its handling of MLAT requests

from abroad for evidence located in the United States. Thus, the

government has stressed to Congress the need for the United

States to hold up its end of the MLAT bargain. See U.S. Dep’r

or Justice, FY 2015 Bupcet anp PerrorMaANnce Summary (2014),

pt. I, at 5 (2015 Budget Summary), https://www.justice.gov/sites/

default/files/jmd/legacy/2013/11/21/fy15-bud-sum.pdf.

49. See International Communications Privacy Act, S. 1671,

115th Cong. (2017); H.R. 3718, 115th Cong. (2017). The Senate bil!

was introduced by Senators Hatch (R-Utah) and Coons (D-Del.).

The House bill was introduced by Rep. Collins (R-Ga.) and is co-

sponsored by Reps. Jeffries (D-N.Y.), DelBene (D-Wash.) and Issa

(R-Calif.). Stressing the need to balance individual rights with

state interest, Senators Hatch and Coons noted that federal courts

“who have examined these issues continue to encourage Congress

to fix this problem, and our legislation does just that.” Press

Release, Hatch, Coons Introduce International Communications

Privacy Act (ICPA) (Aug. 1, 2017), https://www.hatch.senate.gov/

public/index.cfm/2017/8/hatch-coons-introduce-international-

communications-privacy-act-icpa.

26

foreign-stored data, and would create U.S. procedures for

making MLAT requests move faster.“

By asking this Court to ignore EU and Irish MLATs

that would resolve this case, and instead decide a case

not before the Court—i.e., a case where no MLAT

is available—the government is asking the Court to

legislate, something this Court should not do. See Herb’s

Welding v. Gray, 470 U.S. 414, 427 (1985) (If Congress’

coverage decisions are mistaken as a matter of policy, it

is for Congress to change them. We should not legislate

for them.“).

50. See S. 1671, Sec. 4; H.R. 3718, Sec. 4.

51. Indeed, in testifying on the pending bills—testimony

cited to the Court (U.S. Brief 44-45), the government actually

advocated strenuously for a legislative solution:

Congress should consider targeted amendments to the

SCA that will provide for the legitimate needs of law

enforcement agencies in the United States to obtain,

through lawful process, electronic communications

stored abroad that are relevant to U.S. criminal

investigations, as well as address foreign countries’

legitimate public safety needs. At the same time,

it should reduce the chance that providers will be

caught in conflicting obligations between U.S. and

foreign laws.

As the Microsoft decision fundamentally rests on

statutory interpretation, Congress can correct it

through a clarifying amendment to the statute.

Law Enforcement Access to Data Stored Across Borders:

Facilitating Co- tion and Protecting Rights: Hearing Bef

the Subcomm. on Crime & Terrorism, S. Comm. on the Judiciary,

115th Cong. 6, 9 (May 24, 2017) (statement of Brad Wiegmann,

Deputy Assistant Att'y Gen., DOJ).

27

B. The MLATs Are The Most Recent Applicable

Statement Of U.S. Law And Policy By The

Executive And Legislative Branches.

Although ignored in the U.S. Brief, the EU MLATs

are entitled to great weight. They represent a strong and

consistent statement of U.S. foreign policy as to principles

of data privacy (including with regard to service providers),

data location, and how issues of concurrent jurisdiction

should be resolved. The EU MLATs were submitted to

the Senate and ratified, and, as such, represent the U.S.

government acting at its constitutional maximum. See

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579,

637 (1952) (Jackson, J., concurring). The President and

Congress also took the extra step of expressly stipulating

the EU MLATs as “self-executing.”™ That is, the political

branches that negotiated and approved the EU MLATs

determined that they should “automatically have effect

as domestic law” because the EU MLATs themselves

conveyſ] an intention that [they] be ‘self-executing’ and

52. Indeed, the Justice Department stressed to Congress

that “the decision to proceed with the negotiation of law

enforcement treaties such as these [was] made jointly by the

Departments of State and Justice, after careful consideration

of [their] international law enforcement priorities.” Treaties:

Hearing Before the S. Comm. on Foreign Relations, 110th Cong.

1 (May 20, 2008) (statement of Bruce C. Swartz, Deputy Ass't

Attorney General, Criminal Division, DOJ). Mr. Swartz also

stated that the State and Justice Departments “worked closely

with the Department of Treasury, the Securities and Exchange

Commission (SEC) and the Federal Trade Commission (FTC)

in negotiating the articles of the U.S.-EU [MLAT] that relate to

their respective functions.” Id.

53. See S. Exec. Rep. No. 110-13, at 11.

28

[were] ratified on these terms.” Medellin v. Texas, 552

U.S. 491, 504-505 (Roberts, C.J.) (internal citation and

quotation marks omitted). Thus, with regard to U.S.

enforcement procedures, the EU MLATs “have the

force and effect of a legislative enactment.” Id. at 505-06

(quoting Whitney v. Robertson, 124 U.S. 190, 194 (1888)).

C. The Self-Executing MLATs Expressly Limit

The Enforcement Jurisdiction Of The SCA

Warrant At Issue.

As noted above, the MLATs are self-executing. The

Senate stated that the EU MLATs were “generally

designed to overcome” the problems posed by “the scope

of foreign judicial assistance [being] limited by domestic

information-sharing laws, such as bank and business

secrecy laws.“ Thus, the tension potentially created

with EU data privacy laws when U.S. service providers

stored data abroad as to non-U.S. data subjects would be

the type of “problem” that now was “overcome” by the

MLAT procedures without any further act of Congress.

As self-executing treaties, the EU and Irish MLATs

have the force of binding federal law—even if the

government would rather they did not exist in this case.

In Medellin, this Court cited to Whitney, 124 U.S. at 194,

to explain that a self-executing treaty

is placed [by the Constitution] on the same

footing, and made of like obligation, with an

act of legislation. Both are declared by that

instrument to be the supreme law of the land,

54. S. Exec. Rep. No. 110-13, at 2-3.

29

and no superior efficacy is given to either over

the other. When the two relate to the same

subject, the courts will always endeavor to

construe them so as to give effect to both....

Here, the MLATs apply to this case because they are

directed at the exercise of U.S. enforcement jurisdiction as

to evidence located in Ireland and subject to Irish and EU

law—which laws govern under the MLATs.” In the EU

MLATs the United States chose to limit its enforcement

jurisdiction: Rather than rely on SCA warrants that would

create conflicts with EU law, the U.S. agreed to establish

specific procedures to allow U.S. law enforcement to gain

access to data located within the territorial jurisdiction

of EU Member States. It is undisputed that the SCA does

not by its terms address the specific issue presented,

while the MLATs specifically do.“ As such, there is a

55. For reasons that are unclear, the Irish Republic included

in its amicus submission reference to how banking data is

treated under Irish law. See Brief for Ireland as Amicus Curiae

5-7 [hereinafter Ireland Amicus Brief]. As the Second Circuit

recognized, banking data is distinct from personal data such that

precedents regarding subpoenas served on banks are not apposite

here. See Pet. Cert., App. A 35a (“the Supreme Court has held

that bank depositors have no protectable privacy interests in a

bank’s records regarding their accounts”) (citation omitted). More

importantly, the Ireland Amicus Brief ignores the fact that the

EU and Irish MLATs specifically distinguish between banking

data, as to which there is one protocol, and personal data for

which there is Article 9, a different protocol. See EU MLAT, art.

4; Irish MLAT, art. 16 bis. Thus, Irish law on banking data does

not inform the MLAT analysis here.

56. Thus, by harmonizing the EU MLATs with the SCA, this

Court need not reach the issue of the extraterritorial reach of the

30

straightforward path to harmonizing the SCA with the

EU MLATs.”

Having ignored the EU MLATs, the United States

instead invokes the Council of Europe Convention on

Cybercrime, as a treaty that it cares about and that

somehow could be imperiled by the SCA warrant in this

case not being enforced. U.S. Brief 47-49. But, not only

does the government cite the wrong provision of the

Convention that applies here, it ignores the fact that the

Convention on Cybercrime both directed the creation of

precisely the types of procedures that were then created

by the EU MLATs and gave primacy to the state where

stored information is located—i.e., exactly what the EU

MLATs do here.

SCA in this case. Cf. Societe Nationale Industrielle Aerospatiale

v. United States Dist. Court for S. Dist., 482 U.S. 522, 555 (1987)

(“(T he threshold question in a comity analysis is whether there

is in fact a true conflict between domestic and foreign law. When

there is a conflict, a court should seek a reasonable accommodation

that reconciles the central concerns of both sets of laws.”).

57. Moreover, to the extent they are deemed in conflict, the

EU MLATs would take precedence, having been ratified in 2008,

versus the SCA, passed as part of ECPA in 1986. In any event,

unlike Medellin, this case does not involve an attempt to derive

private rights or private causes of action from atreaty. Rather, the

EU MLATs are being applied directly to their purpose, which is

to limit U.S. enforcement jurisdiction with respect to data located

within the territorial jurisdiction of an EU MLAT nation, Ireland.

See EU MLAT Art. 2(5) and Irish MLAT Art. 1(4) ‘the treaties

create no private rights of action).

58. Convention on Cybercrime, Nov. 23, 2001, T. IA. S. No.

13174, 2296 U.N.T.S. 167 [hereinafter Convention].

31

First, the United States relies on Article 18 of the

Convention on Cybercrime (U.S. Brief 48). But that

article only directs states to adopt “legislative measures”

which will allow persons subject to state jurisdiction,

including service providers, to provide requested

information.” Nowhere does the Convention resolve the

EU-U.S. law issues later resolved by the EU MLATs. The

Convention does specify that state parties “shall insure”

that any procedures implemented will respect EU law as

to data privacy rights—and cites the Charter.“ The self-

executing EU MLATs, ratified in 2008, then became the

legislative measures contemplated by the Convention—

and indeed, the Justice Department told Congress that

“(wlhere we have such treaties, we will proceed under

59. Article 18.1 of the Convention provides:

Each Party shall adopt such legislative and other

measures as may be necessary to empower its

competent authorities to order:

(a) a person in its territory to submit specified

computer data in that person’s possession or

control, which is stored in a computer system or a

computer-data storage medium; and

(b) a service provider offering its services in the

territory of the Party to submit subscriber

information relating to such services in that

service provider's possession or control.

60. In citing Article 18.1(a) (U.S. Br. 48), the government

also ignores that Article 18. 10%) specifically refers to service

providers—like Microsoft. This is significant because Article

18.1(b)—just like the EU MLATs—focuses on where data may be

stored, not just where the service provider itself may be located.

61. See Convention, Art. 15.

32

those treaties.” Thus, the U.S. position here is directly

contrary to what the Executive Branch told Congress.

Second, the United States ignores Article 32 of the

Convention on Cybercrime, which specifically applies to

“{t}rans-border access to stored computer data.“ With

respect to non-public data—like the data here—the

Convention gives primary jurisdiction to the state where

the data is stored. Thus, again, the EU MLATs became

the legislative acts by which the United States and EU

carried out the terms of the Convention as to trans-border

access to stored data—including by giving primacy to the

law of the state where data is stored. Here, that is Irish

and EU law as applied through the Irish MLAT to data

62. See Hearing on Law Enforcement Treaties:/inter alia.

Treaty Doe. 108-11, Council of Europe Convention on Cybercrime

Before the S. Comm. on Foreign Relations, S. Hrg. 108-721, 108th

Cong. 32 (Jun. 17, 2004) (statement of Bruce C. Swartz, Deputy

Ass’t Attorney General, Criminal Division, DOJ) (“The provision

of [Article 18] will not affect our bilateral mutual legal assistance

agreements. Where we have such treaties, we will proceed under

those treaties.”).

63. Convention Article 32 provides:

A Party may, without the authorisation of another Party:

(a) access publicly available (open source) stored

computer data, regardless of where the data is

located geographically; or

(b) access or receive, through a computer system

in its territory, stored computer data located in

another Party, if the Party obtains the lawful and

voluntary consent of the person who has the lawful!

authority to disclose the data to the Party through

that computer system.

33

stored in Ireland. Accordingly, it is only by giving effect

to the EU MLATs that the United States actually would

be complying with its treaty obligations.

In choosing to ignore the EU MLATs, either because

the United States now wishes it had more of them or

because some ML AT processes allegedly “can be slow and

uncertain” (U.S. Brief 44), the United States would have

this Court ignore two settled rules of treaty application.

First, the United States has chosen to ignore the EU

MLATs rather than apply them in a manner consistent

with other federal laws. The EU MLAT Senate Report

stated that the MLATs would “be implemented by the

United States in conjunction with applicable federal

statutes.” Nothing about the U.S. position is “in

conjunction with” existing law. The United States has

simply ignored the EU MLATs even though there is no

dispute that the warrant at issue invades the province of

Irish law and territorial jurisdiction.

Second, the U.S. position renders the MLATs either

superfluous or a nullity. Rather, than striving to read the

EU MLAxs in conjunction with the SCA—as the Senate

said would be done the United States reads the MLATs

as having no impact at all. But this effectively reads the

MLATs out of existence, something that is contrary to

Medellin and other cases. See, e.g., Medellin, 552 U.S. at

506 (self-executing treaties “have the force and effect of a

legislative enactment”); Factor v. Laubenheimer, 290 U.S.

276, 303-304 (1933) (words of a treaty should be liberally

construed so as to not render any terms meaningless or

inoperath ).

64. S. Exec. Rep. No. 110-13, at 10.

34

By using an SCA warrant to compel Microsoft to

produce data protected under Irish and EU law only

because that data was entrusted to Microsoft would be

to ignore fundamental rights under Irish and EU law

which the United States expressly agreed to respect

under the EU and Irish MLATs. The U.S. position that

the MLATs can be ignored is contrary to any concept of

the MLATs having the force of federal law, and effectively

renders the EU and Irish MLATs a nullity. Adopting the

U.S. position would allow the government to substitute

U.S. court compulsion for the process mandated by the

MLAT procedures—and would destroy any incentive for

any prosecutor ever to use the MLATs. Again, this would

destroy the self-executing nature of the MLATs, and be

contrary to their terms.

35

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Amici Curiae urge the

Court to affirm the decision of the Second Circuit or

otherwise quash the warrant sought in this case.

Dated: January 18, 2018

Respectfully submitted,

OweENn C. PELL

Counsel of Record

Susan L. GRACE

Wuire & Case LLP

1221 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10020

(212) 819-8200

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.