Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Encino Motorcars, LLC v. Navarro, 138 S. Ct. 54 (2017) (No. 16-1362)

Supreme Court brief2017

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

we?

FILED

16-1362 west

OFFICE OF THE CLERK _

No.

—

In the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

—

ENCINO MOTORCARS, LLC,

Petitioner,

Vv.

HECTOR NAVARRO, MIKE SHIRINIAN, ANTHONY

PINKINS, KEVIN MALONE, REUBEN CASTRO,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

KARL R. LINDEGREN PAUL D. CLEMENT

TODD B. SCHERWIN Counsel of Record

WENDY MCGUIRE COATS JEFFREY M. HARRIS

FISHER MATTHEW D. ROWEN

& PHILLIPS LLP KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP

444 S. Flower Street 655 Fifteenth Street, NW

Suite 1500 Washington, DC 20005

Los Angeles, CA 90071 (202) 879-5000

paul.clement@kirkland.com

Counsel for Petitioner

May 10, 2017

aR er estore Aa ETT 0 I TTT ROLES EE

QUESTION PRESENTED

Respondents are “service advisors” at a car

dealership whose primary job responsibilities involve

identifying service needs and selling service solutions

to the dealership’s customers. Respondents brought

suit against the dealership under the Fair Labor

Standards Act (“FLSA”), 29 U.S.C. §§201-219, seeking

time-and-a-half overtime pay for working more than

40 hours per week.

The FLSA exempts from its overtime

requirements “any salesman, partsman, or mechanic

primarily engaged in selling or servicing automobiles.”

Id. §213(b)(10)(A). In its first decision in this case, the

Ninth Circuit found Respondents non-exempt by

deferring to a 2011 Department of Labor regulation.

This Court granted certiorari, considered merits

briefing and argument, and vacated that decision,

holding that “§213(b)(10)(A) must be construed

without placing controlling weight on _ the

Department’s 2011 regulation.” Pet.App.44.

On remand, the Ninth Circuit once again found

Respondents non-exempt. As it had in its initial

vacated decision, the Ninth Circuit acknowledged that

its holding conflicts with published decisions of the

Fourth and Fifth Circuits, several district courts, and

the Supreme Court of Montana, all of which hold that

service advisors are exempt. Pet.App.30, 65.

As it was last time around, the question presented

is: Whether service advisors at car dealerships are

exempt under 29 U.S.C. §213(b)(10)(A) from the

FLSA’s overtime-pay requirements.

li

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner Encino Motorcars, LLC, was defendant

in the district court and appellee in the Ninth Circuit.

Respondents Hector Navarro, Anthony Pinkins, Kevin

Malone, and Reuben Castro were plaintiffs in the

district court and appellants in the Ninth Circuit.

il

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Encino Motorcars, LLC is a limited liability

corporation doing business as Mercedes Benz of

Encino. It has no parent corporation and no publicly

held corporation owns 10% or more of its stock.

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED ...........0ccccccecsccececsessssscesesenee i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ........................... ii

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT........... iti

ee ee BI ientnssesevestnccessinienersnninesse vii

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORART ................ 1

I tid crnll dccaemennihinbeniisstnibbonmininionenge 5

I si sicicndiinindulanepindsiungningsinienimbinittabuoe 5

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED................. 5

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...............ccccecscseeerereees 5

A. The “Salesman, Partsman, or Mechanic”

Exemption and DOL's Shifting

FESR Tet eae erent 5

B. Respondents’ Complaint and the District

CLS SE eR a oe ne 10

C. The Ninth Circuit’s Initial Decision .......... 13

D. This Court’s Merits Decision...................... 14

E. The Ninth Circuit on Remand Again

Departs From Every Other Court To

Consider The Scope of §213(b)(10)(A)........ 15

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION....... 17

I. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Conflicts With

The Decisions Of Several Other Courts And

hl Sees 20

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Openly

Conflicts With Decisions of the Fourth

and Fifth Circuits and the Montana

Supreme Court. ........... ‘cladastichdlaiaiddakombataeaactads 20

Vv

B. The Ninth Circuit Badly Misconstrued

ties Be I occccceccccccecoccesesaseccessees 24

C. The Ninth Circuit Erred by Holding That

FLSA Exemptions Should Be “Narrowly

a ia eae adiihs 30

Il. The Ninth Circuit’s Erroneous Decision Will

Have Far-Reaching Implications’ For

Dealerships And Will Inject Uncertainty Into

A Previously Settled Area Of The Law............. 31

I a cc eleeieeioeet Sadieubiiel 34

APPENDIX

Appendix A

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit, Hector Navarro;

Anthony Pinkins; Kevin Malone; and Reuben

Castro v. Encino Motorcars, LLC, No. 13-

RG RR RRR i App-1

Appendix B

Opinion of the Supreme Court of

the United States, Hector Navarro; Anthony

Pinkins; Kevin Malone; and Reuben Castro v.

Encino Motorcars, LLC, No. 15-415

A a AR ER RSS re App-31

Appendix C

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit, Hector Navarro;

Anthony Pinkins; Kevin Malone; and Reuben

Castro v. Encino Motorcars, LLC, No. 13-

DD NS , atccresececcnssssciccncstecsnes App-55

vi

Appendix D

Order of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit Denying Rehearing En

Banc, Hector Navarro, et al. v. Encino

Motorcars, LLC, No. 13-55323

I i uieuaeiiiennaid App-74

Appendix E

(In Chambers) Order Re: Defendant’s

Motion to Dismiss of the United States

District Court for the Central District of

California, Navarro, et al. v. Mercedes Benz of

Encino, No. 2:12-cv-08051-RGK-MRW

I ee App-76

Appendix F

REESE SpE SEs App-86

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Arnold v. Ben Kanowsky, Inc.,

ee a SL csucspecnseneonsensooses 17, 30

Brennan v. Deel Motors,

475 F.2d 1095 (5th Cir. 1973)........................ passim

Brennan v. Import Volkswagen, Inc.,

No. W-4982, 1975 WL 1248

Se I III TE IT. coc snnesspensnansqneunenshoussent 23

Brennan v. N. Bros. Ford,

No. 40344, 1975 WL 1074 (E.D. Mich. 1975).... 9, 22

Christopher v. SmithKline Beecham,

gg | eee passim

FCC v. Pacifica Found.,

a dueaiabidunennlia 26

Haro v. City of Los Angeles,

745 F.3d 1249 (9th Cir. 2014)................cccccceeeeee eens 13

Integrity Staffing Sols. v. Busk,

SS Tne IE ITT ocinssneicioutsieduevenencocoevessesadees 4, 31

OWCP v. Newport News Shipbuilding,

nS cdipusiillinaenecatanensnensiee 30

Ratzlaf v. United States,

TE ee eee NEES a 29

Reiter v. Sonotone Corp.,

i aspeiaeeneeidion 26

Solis v. Washington,

656 F.3d 1079 (9th Cir. 2011)................00..c0000 13, 30

Thompson v. J.C. Billion, Inc.,

294 P.3d 397 (Mont. 2013)................20..c00eee 1, 14, 22

vill

United States v. Gonzales,

ee as ea dncencntnisneesnnnsionnisensiuasentaien 26

Walton v. Greenbrier Ford,

370 F.3d 446 (4th Cir. 2004)............0............. passim

Yenney v. Cass Cty. Motors,

No. 76-0-294, 1977 WL 1678

en ee I ss sc asetmhansdavemoadonsionhianin 22

Yi v. Sterling Collision Ctrs.,

460 F.OG GSS CTEM Car. BOOT)... .cccccccescsccsessccccesse 4, 32

Statutes

I nna sai coiniaieniiagiinahiaenenetomenenen 5

ssid ni esbahancagemdnimesimenaibile 28

I elepiiinmeiindiciienals 6, 28

I i ionic ctihcitgsicintnighlansdyhgndiiaeadhedisiaeiaséelans 6

fT EE RSERSERE Reena ay Weare aoeer un ONTOS ete? 6

4 | TERE an ree ne Emre enn ee nates © 6

ee ie PIED ss sevcacccceoncnasenénhonsssncecses passim

os onc ssnernailpenclenmainedsaniennadiionie 6

SS ERS ERE eae pi ae ae 24, 33

Pub. L. No. 89-601, 80 Stat. 830 (1966)..................... 6

Pub. L. No. 93-259, 88 Stat. 55 (1974)... 8

Rule and Regulations

ga AE AE ee a eS en gD 23

ee es ee ee IT OD Kapri scntnctnnsincdessncnicmiesendins 6

a ee ee EE Oe CR CT OD vekidvcccciceseccccicosscece G, 10

Be Gr ie ee Fe GF BD wavidvvsccccccsicccscessisnstececs 6

BD CF ee OF Ce ee CT eicvccsccvescsccncceccecconssccces 7

BS C.F. ST TO.STAE) CATE) 5... ccsecercceccsscncssccceseceses 7

ix

35 Fed. Reg. 5856 (Apr. 9, 1970) .........cccccscoccscccesceccees 6

Updating Regulations Issued Under the

FLSA, 73 Fed. Reg. 43,654 (July 28, 2008)............. G

Updating Regulations Issued Under the

FLSA, 76 Fed. Reg. 18,832 (Apr. 5, 2011)............. 10

Other Authorities

Antonin Scalia, Assorted Canards of

Contemporary Legal Analysis,

40 Case W. Res. L. Rev. 581 (1990)...........00000000.... 30

Br. in Opp., Encino Motorcars v. Navarro,

BO BE Cs Ge Bn cvcicccdncesesccsccncccesccecess 3, 23

Dep’t of Labor, Wage & Hour Div., Field

Operations Handbook, Insert No. 1757,

24L04-4 (Oct. 20, 1987), avazlable at

EEE ENE IIL 9

Reply Br. for Pet’r, Encino Motorcars v.

Navarro, No. 15-415 (Apr. 13, 2016)..................... 29

Tr. of Oral Arg., Encino Motorcars LLC v.

Navarro, 136 S. Ct. 2117 (2016)

RE MMR TEAC EE ES: Mie a Ce 10

U.S. Dep’t of Labor, Wage & Hour Div.,

Opinion Letter on Fair Labor Standards

Act, 1978 WL 51403 (July 28, 1978) .............0......... 8

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

This petition presents, for the second time, the

question whether “service advisors” at car dealerships

are exempt from the mandatory-overtime

requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act

(“FLSA”). Respondents are service advisors whose

primary job responsibilities include identifying service

needs and selling service solutions to the dealership’s

customers. Their duties include “listening to

[customers’] concerns about their cars; suggesting

repair and maintenance services; selling new

accessories or replacement parts; [and] recording

service orders.” Pet.App.32. Service advisors are an

integral part of the servicing process and are the

salesmen dedicated to the servicing business at their

dealerships.

The FLSA, 29 U.S.C. §§201-219, exempts from its

overtime-pay requirements “any salesman, partsman,

or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or servicing

automobiles.” Jd. §213(b)(10)(A). For more than 40

years, federal and state courts across the country had

uniformly held that service advisors like Respondents

were covered by §213(b)(10)(A)’s exemption because

they are “salesm[e]n ... engaged in... servicing

automobiles.” See, e.g., Walton v. Greenbrier Ford, 370

F.3d 446 (4th Cir. 2004); Brennan v. Deel Motors, 475

F.2d 1095 (5th Cir. 1973); Thompson v. J.C. Billion,

Inc., 294 P.3d 397 (Mont. 2013).

Relying on that unbroken line of precedent, the

district court dismissed Respondents’ complaint.

Pet.App.76-85. But the Ninth Circuit reversed,

deferring to the Department of Labor's (“DOL”)

narrow interpretation of §213(b)(10)(A) under which

2

service advisors were not exempt because they did not

personally sell or service automobiles. Pet.App.55-73.

This Court granted certiorari, considered merits

briefing and argument, and vacated and remanded the

Ninth Circuit’s decision. Pet.App.31-45. The Court

held that DOL’s regulation was not entitled to

deference because the agency had changed its

previous policy regarding service advisors without

“reasoned explanation.” Pet.App.43. In particular,

the Court emphasized that DOL had provided “barely

any explanation” for its change of policy and had

utterly failed to consider “decades of industry reliance

on [DOL’s] prior policy.” Pet.App.42. The Court

remanded the case to the Ninth Circuit with

instructions to construe the exemption in

§213(b)(10)(A) “without placing controlling weight on

[DOL’s] 2011 regulation.” Pet.App.44. In addition,

two Justices would have definitively construed the

statute to hold service advisors exempt. See

Pet.App.49-54 (Thomas, J., dissenting).

On remand, the same panel of the Ninth Circuit

reached the same conclusion for largely the same

reasons. Pet.App.1-30. While acknowledging that

service advisors came within the “literal” terms of the

exemption, the Ninth Circuit found them non-exempt

for “the reasons stated in [its] earlier opinion (except

those reasons concerning deference to the agency).”

Pet.App.30. Just as it had done in its previous

decision, the Ninth Circuit relied heavily on a

purported canon of construction under which

exemptions to the FLSA must be interpreted

“narrowly” rather than being interpreted in

accordance with their plain or literal text. Pet.App.20-

3

21. The court explicitly acknowledged that its decision

“conflicts with published decisions by the Fourth and

Fifth Circuits and by the Supreme Court of Montana.”

Pet.App.30.

* * _

Certiorari is plainly warranted to resolve the

ongoing circuit conflict over whether service advisors

are exempt under §213(b)(10)(A). Indeed,

Respondents’ principal (albeit unsuccessful) argument

against certiorari the last time around was that DOL’s

2011 regulation was a game-changer that was not

available to the Fourth and Fifth Circuits, and thus

the “courts are not divided on whether DOL’s 2011

legislative regulation warrants Chevron deference.”

Br. in Opp. at 10, Encino Motorcars v. Navarro, No.

15-415 (Dec. 4, 2015) (“BIO”). Now that the 2011 DOL

regulation and issues of deference are off the table, no

one can seriously dispute what the Ninth Circuit has

twice expressly acknowledged: the decision below

squarely conflicts with the decisions of several other

circuit courts, state supreme courts, and federal

district courts.

It is unsurprising that the Ninth Circuit's

interpretation of §213(b)(10)(A) is an outlier, as it

badly misconstrues the statutory text. Congress’ use

of the disjunctive “or” in the phrase “primarily

engaged in selling or servicing automobiles” makes

clear that a salesman is exempt if he is “engaged in”

either of those activities, which a service advisor

plainly is. Every other court to consider this issue has

correctly recognized that the phrase “primarily

engaged in ... servicing automobiles” encompasses

service advisors who are engaged in the selling of the

4

servicing of automobiles even though they do not go

under the hood and personally perform the service.

The Ninth Circuit's departure from nearly four

decades of precedent injects uncertainty into a

previously settled area of the law, and will have

serious consequences for the nation’s 18,000 car and

truck dealerships, which collectively employ tens of

thousands of service advisors. As this Court observed,

“(djealerships and service advisors negotiated and

structured their compensation plans against [the]

background understanding” that service advisors

were exempt from FLSA overtime rules. Pet.App.42.

If allowed to stand, the Ninth Circuit’s decision would

require a wholesale (and wholly unwarranted)

restructuring of those employees’ compensation,

forcing dealerships to divide their salesforces into

exempt and non-exempt categories in ways that are

both divisive and contrary to Congress’ plain intent.

This Court has repeatedly rejected attempts to

impose significant FLSA liability on employers who

have done nothing more than pay workers in

conformity with long-settled industry practice. See,

e.g., Integrity Staffing Sols. v. Busk, 135 S. Ct. 513

(2014) (rejecting novel FLSA claims for time spent in

security screenings); Christopher v. SmithKline

Beecham, 567 U.S. 142 (2012) (rejecting FLSA claims

by pharmaceutical sales representatives, who had

long been treated as exempt); see also Yi uv. Sterling

Collision Ctirs., 480 F.3d 505, 510 (7th Cir. 2007)

(rejecting novel FLSA challenge to a “system of

compensation [that] ... is industry-wide, and of long

standing”). The attempt here should fare no better.

This Court should grant certiorari to correct the Ninth

5

Circuit’s deeply flawed interpretation of

§213(b)(10)(A) and restore uniformity once and for all

to this important area of the law.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Ninth Circuit’s opinion on remand is reported

at 845 F.3d 925 and reproduced at Pet.App.1-30. The

Court’s previous merits opinion in this case is reported

at 136 S. Ct. 2117 and reproduced at Pet.App.31-54.

The Ninth Circuit’s initial decision is reported at 780

F.3d 1267 and reproduced at Pet.App.55-73. The

district court’s opinion is unpublished and is

reproduced at Pet.App.76-85.

JURISDICTION

The Ninth Circuit issued its opinion on remand on

January 9, 2017. On April 3, 2017, Justice Kennedy

extended the time for filing this petition to May 10,

2017. See No. 16A9. This Court has jurisdiction under

28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of the FLSA, 29 U.S.C.

§213, are reproduced at Pet.App.86-110.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The “Salesman, Partsman, or Mechanic”

Exemption and DOL’s Shifting

Interpretations

1. The FLSA generally requires employers to pay

overtime compensation at a rate of one-and-a-half

times an employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours

worked in excess of forty in a week. 29 U.S.C.

§207(a)(1). Accompanying these overtime-pay

requirements are numerous exemptions for certain

6

types of employees. See id. §213(a), (b). The

exemptions range from very broad (all employees of

certain rail carriers and air carriers, td. §213(b)(2), (3))

to very narrow (employees “engaged in the processing

of maple sap into sugar,” id. §213(b)(15)).

As relevant here, the FLSA provides that the

overtime-pay requirements do not apply to “any

salesman, partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged

in selling or servicing automobiles, trucks, or farm

implements, if he is employed by a nonmanufacturing

establishment primarily engaged in the business of

selling such vehicles or implements to ultimate

purchasers.” Jd. §213(b)(10)(A); see Pub. L. No. 89-

601, 80 Stat. 830 (1966). In other words, a dealership

employee is exempt from the overtime rules if he: (1)

is a “salesman, partsman, or mechanic,” and (2) is

“primarily engaged in_ selling or _ servicing

automobiles.”

2. In 1970, the Secretary of Labor promulgated

interpretive regulations that sought to define several

terms in §213(b)(10)(A). See 29 C.F.R. §779.372

(1971); 35 Fed. Reg. 5856, 5895-96 (Apr. 9, 197Q).

Those regulations defined “salesman” as “an employee

who is employed for the purpose of and is primarily

engaged in making sales or obtaining orders or

contracts for sale of [vehicles].” 29 C.F.R.

§779.372(c)(1) (1971)... DOL further asserted that

' The regulation defined a “partsman” as “any employee

employed for the purpose of and primarily engaged in

requisitioning, stocking, and dispensing parts.” 29 C_F.R.

§779.372(c)(2) (1971). It also defined a “mechanic” as “any

employee primarily engaged in doing mechanical work ... in the

7

“[e]mployees variously described as service manager,

service writer, service advisor, or service salesman

who are not themselves primarily engaged in the work

of a salesman, partsman, or mechanic ... are not

exempt.” Jd. §779.372(c)(4). DOL believed that

service advisors should be deemed non-exempt even

though “such an employee's principal function may be

diagnosing the mechanical condition of vehicles

brought in for repair, writing up work orders for

repairs authorized by the customer, assigning the

work to various employees and directing and checking

on the work of mechanics.” Jd.

In the years after DOL promulgated this

interpretive regulation, numerous courts uniformly

rejected the agency’s narrow interpretation of the

exemption in the course of rejecting DOL enforcement

actions. Most significantly, the Fifth Circuit flatly

rejected DOL’s position and held that service advisors

were exempt. See Deel Motors, 475 F.2d at 1097-98.

DOL had advanced the narrow interpretation of the

exemption set forth in its 1970 regulation, arguing

that service advisors should not be exempt because

they do not personally service vehicles. The Fifth

Circuit rejected that view based on both the text and

purpose of the exemption.

As a textual matter, the court concluded that

service advisors were plainly “salesm[e]n ... engaged

in selling or servicing automobiles.” Jd. at 1098. And,

with regard to the purpose of the exemption, the Fifth

Circuit noted that “service salesmen are functionally

servicing of an automobile, trailer, truck, farm implement, or

aircraft for its use and operation as such.” Id. §779.372(c)(3).

8

similar to the mechanics and partsmen who service

the automobiles.” /d. at 1097. All of these employees

“work as an integrated unit, performing the services

necessary for the maintenance of the customer's

automobile.” Jd. And like countless other salesmen

who are exempt from FLSA’s overtime rules, service

advisors “are more concerned with their total work

product than with the hours performed.” Jd. The Fifth

Circuit thus concluded that service advisors were

exempt under §213(b)(10)(A).?

3. Within a few years of the Fifth Circuit's

decision in Deel Motors, DOL ceased bringing

enforcement actions and retreated from the position

advanced in its interpretive regulations. In 1978, the

Secretary of Labor issued a policy letter changing the

agency's position and providing that service advisors

should be treated as exempt as long as a majority of

their sales were for non-warranty work. See U.S.

Dep't of Labor, Wage & Hour Div., Opinion Letter on

Fair Labor Standards Act, 1978 WL 51403 (July 28,

1978) (acknowledging that “[t]his position represents

a change from the position set forth in” the 1970

regulations).

DOL’s 1987 Field Operations Handbook similarly

instructed agency employees to “no longer deny the

[overtime] exemption for [service advisors].” Dep’t of

2 In 1974, one year after the decision in Deel Motors, Congress

made other changes to the §213(b)(10)(A) exemption by, for

example, narrowing the exemption for trailer, boat, and aircraft

dealerships. See Pub. L. No. 93-259, §14, 88 Stat. 55, 65 (1974).

But, notably, Congress did not make any comparable changes for

other types of dealerships, nor did it purport to modify or override

the Fifth Circuit's interpretation of the statute in Deel Motors.

9

Labor, Wage & Hour Div., Field Operations

Handbook, Insert No. 1757, 24L04-4 (Oct. 20, 1987),

available at perma.cc/5ghd-kcjj. The Handbook

explained that “two appellate courts (Fifth and Sixth

Circuits) and two district courts (in the Eighth and

Tenth Circuits)” have construed the exemption to

cover service advisors. Id.3 The Handbook

acknowledged that “this policy ... represents a change

from the position in [the 1970 regulations],” and

indicated that the agency’s regulations “will be revised

as soon as is practicable.” Jd.

“[A]s soon as is practicable” turned out to be not

very soon. The 1970 interpretive regulations with

their repudiated interpretation of §213(b)(10)(A)

remained on the books until 2008, when DOL initiated

a formal rulemaking process to update the regulations

to confirm that service advisors are exempt from the

overtime-pay requirements. See Updating

Regulations Issued Under the FLSA, 73 Fed. Reg.

43,654 (July 28, 2008). As DOL explained, “[u]niform

appellate and district court decisions ... hold that

service advisors are exempt under [29 U.S.C.

§213(b)(10)(A)] because they are ‘salesmen’ who are

primarily engaged in ‘servicing’ automobiles.” Jd. at

43,658 (citing Walton, 370 F.3d at 452; Deel Motors,

475 F.2d at 1097; Brennan, 1975 WL 1074, at *3).

DOL’s notice of proposed rulemaking included a

3 In addition to the Fifth Circuit’s decision in Deel Motors, the

Sixth Circuit had summarily affirmed a district court decision

finding service advisors to be exempt under §213(b)(10)(A). See

Brennan v. N. Bros. Ford, No. 40344, 1975 WL 1074, at *3 (E.D.

Mich. 1975), aff'd sub nom. Dunlop v. N. Bros. Ford, 529 F.2d 524

(6th Cir. 1976) (Table).

10

modified version of 29 C.F.R. §779.372(c)(4) that

would have codified this unbroken line of case law.

In 2011, however, DOL changed course yet again.

It issued a final rule that neither adopted the proposed

regulation nor brought the regulation in line with the

governing case law. See Updating Regulations Issued

Under the FLSA, 76 Fed. Reg. 18,832, 18,859 (Apr. 5,

2011). DOL maintained the 1970 regulation’s

definition of “salesman,” see 29 C.F.R. §779.372(c)(1),

but simultaneously eliminated from its regulations

any explicit discussion of whether service advisors

were covered by the §213(b)(10)(A) exemption, see 76

Fed. Reg. at 18,859.‘ In its explanation accompanying

the final rule, DOL said nothing at all about the

substantial reliance interests the new rule would

upset. Instead, it merely stated that service advisors

should not be treated as exempt because the

regulatory definitions “limit{] the exemption to

salesmen who sell vehicles and partsmen and

mechanics who service vehicles.” Id. at 18,838.

B. Respondents’ Complaint and _ the

District Court’s Decision

Petitioner Encino Motorcars, LLC, sells and

services new and used Mercedes Benz automobiles.

Respondents are current and former employees of

Petitioner who worked at the dealership as “service

advisors.” On September 18, 2012, Respondents filed

4 At oral argument before this Court, counsel for the United

States represented that the elimination of any reference to

service advisors in the regulations represented “an inadvertent

mistake in drafting.” Tr. of Oral Arg. at 50, Encino Motorcars

LLC v. Navarro, 136 S. Ct. 2117 (2016) (No. 15-415).

11

a complaint alleging several violations of the FLSA

and California Labor Code.

Respondents’ sales activities were integral to the

process of servicing vehicles at the dealership. The

complaint alleges that, as service advisors,

Respondents would meet and greet car owners as they

entered the service area; evaluate the customers’

service and repair needs; suggest services to be

performed on the vehicle to address the customers’

complaints; solicit supplemental services to be

performed (such as preventive maintenance); prepare

price estimates for repairs and services; and inform

the owner about the status of the vehicle. See

Complaint 416 (DN 2). And, like countless other

salesmen in both vehicle dealerships and other

industries, Respondents were paid by commission. Jd.

9918-19.5 The more services an advisor sold, the

higher his or her commission. Jd. In _ short,

Respondents were primarily engaged in selling the

servicing of automobiles.

Respondents alleged that they often worked more

than 40 hours per week, and that Petitioner violated

the FLSA by failing to pay them time-and-one-half

overtime compensation for that excess time. Id. J924-

31. Petitioner moved to dismiss the FLSA claims on

the ground that Respondents were exempt employees

under 29 U.S.C. §213(b)(10)(A).

5 Some dealerships pay their service advisors a combination of

salary or hourly wages and commissions, whereas other

dealerships (like Petitioner) pay service advisors solely by

commission.

12

On January 25, 2013, the district court granted

Petitioner's motion to dismiss the FLSA claims,

holding that Respondents were clearly covered by the

overtime-pay exemption in §213(b)(10)(A).

Pet.App.76-85. The district court began by noting that

several other courts “have applied this exemption to

Service Advisors.” Pet.App.80 (citing Deel Motors, 475

F.2d at 1097; Walton, 370 F.3d at 453).

The district court acknowledged that DOL had

stated in 1970 and again in 2011 that §213(b)(10)(A)

did not apply to service advisors. Jd. But the court

refused to defer to those interpretations, agreeing

with the Fourth and Fifth Circuits that DOL’s

interpretations were an “impermissibly restrictive

construction of the statute.” Pet.App.83 (quoting

Walton, 370 F.3d at 452). Because “Service Advisors

are functionally equivalent to salesmen and

mechanics and are similarly responsible for the

‘selling and servicing’ of automobiles,” the district

court concluded that it would be “unreasonable” to

carve those employees out of the exemption. /d.

(emphasis added). The court did not believe that

“Congress intended to treat employees’ with

functionally similar positions differently.” Id.

(quoting Deel Motors, 475 F.2d at 1097-98). The

district court thus dismissed Respondents’ claim for

overtime under the FLSA on the ground that they

were exempt under §213(b)(10)(A).¢

6 After dismissing the FLSA claims, the district court declined

to exercise supplemental jurisdiction over Respondents’

remaining state-law claims.

13

C. The Ninth Circuit’s Initial Decision

The Ninth Circuit reversed in relevant part. In

an opinion by Judge Graber issued on March 24, 2015,

the court held that service advisors are not exempt

from the FLSA’s overtime-pay requirements under

§213(b)(10)(A). Pet.App.55-73.

The panel relied heavily on the purported canon

of construction that “{t]he FLSA is to be construed

liberally in favor of employees” and “exemptions are

narrowly construed against employers.” Pet.App.60

(quoting Haro v. City of Los Angeles, 745 F.3d 1249,

1256 (9th Cir. 2014)). Because the statute does not

define “salesman, partsman, or mechanic,” and does

not explicitly mention “service advisors,” the Ninth

Circuit could not “conclude that service advisors ... are

‘persons plainly and unmistakably within [the

FLSA’s] terms and spirit.” Pet.App.61 (quoting Solis

v. Washington, 656 F.3d 1079, 1083 (9th Cir. 2011)).

The Ninth Circuit also disagreed with the district

court’s refusal to give DOL deference. The Ninth

Circuit believed that there were two “plausible”

interpretations of the phrase “any salesman,

partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles”’—one that extends to service

advisors, and one that does not—and thus concluded

that the exemption is ambiguous under Chevron step

one. Pet.App.60-65. Turning to Chevron’s second

step, the Ninth Circuit concluded that it was

reasonable for DOL to interpret the exemption so that

salesmen are exempt if they are “engaged in selling ...

automobiles,” but not if they (like service advisors) are

“engaged in ... servicing automobiles.” Pet.App.65-73.

14

The Ninth Circuit acknowledged that its holding

“conflicts with decisions of the Fourth and Fifth

Circuits, several district courts, and the Supreme

Court of Montana.” Pet.App.65-66 (citing Walton, 370

F.3d 446; Deel Motors, 475 F.2d 1095; Thompson, 294

P.3d 397). But the court “respectfully disagree[d] with

those decisions.” Pet.App.66. The Ninth Circuit thus

held that Respondents were not exempt under 29

U.S.C. §213(b)(10)(A) and reversed the district court's

dismissal of Respondents’ claims.’

D. This Court’s Merits Decision

This Court granted certiorari in January 2016,

and—after merits briefing and oral argument—

vacated the Ninth Circuit’s decision in an opinion

issued on June 20, 2016. Pet.App.31-54. The Court

did not directly address whether service advisors were

exempt under the plain text of §213(b)(10)(A).

Instead, the Court held that the Ninth Circuit erred

by “placing controlling weight on the Department’s

2011 regulation.” Pet.App.44. As the Court explained,

even though DOL’s regulation starkly departed from

more than three decades of settled law, the agency

“said almost nothing” about why it had made that

change. Pet.App.43. In particular, the agency wholly

disregarded “decades of industry reliance on the

Department’s prior policy,” and the fact that

7 The Ninth Circuit affirmed the district court’s dismissal of

the other federal claims because Respondents failed to challenge

the alternative grounds on which those claims were dismissed.

See Pet.App.58 n.2. And because it reinstated Respondents’

federal overtime-pay claim, the Ninth Circuit vacated the district

court’s dismissal of Respondents’ state-law claims for lack of

jurisdiction. See id.

15

“[djealerships and service advisors negotiated and

structured their compensation plans against this

background understanding” of what the law means.

Pet.App.42.

The Court thus vacated the Ninth Circuit’s

decision and remanded for further consideration of the

issue “without placing controlling weight on the

Department’s 2011 regulation.” Pet.App.44. Justices

Thomas and Alito agreed that no deference was owed

to the DOL regulation but dissented from the decision

to remand. They would have held that “service

advisors are salesmen primarily engaged in the selling

of services for automobiles” and thus fall within the

plain text of the exemption in §213(b)(10)(A).

Pet.App.49.

E. The Ninth Circuit on Remand Again

Departs From Every Other Court To

Consider The Scope of §213(b)(10)(A)

On remand, the Ninth Circuit again held that

§213(b)(10)(A)’s exemption does not apply to service

advisors. Pet.App.1-30.8

The Ninth Circuit conceded that, “read literally,”

the exemption “encompasses” a category of employee

that readily describes service advisors: “Salesm[e]n

primarily engaged in servicing” cars. Pet.App.16-18.

The court nonetheless rejected that “literal” reading of

the statute. First, relying on dictionaries from the

year of the provision’s initial enactment, the court

8 The court “assume|d] without deciding that [it] must give no

weight to the agency’s interpretation and the regulation,” and

was instead required to “interpret the statute in the first

instance.” Pet.App.7 (quoting Pet.App.44-45).

16

read §213(b)(10)(A)—which exempts “any salesman,

partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles’—to exempt only those

salesmen, partsmen, and mechanics who either “are

actually and primarily occupied in selling cars” or “are

actually and primarily occupied in the repair and

maintenance of cars.” Pet.App.15. The court further

interpreted that “actually and primarily occupied in”

requirement—which does not appear in the statutory

text—to mean that a salesman, partsman, or

mechanic must personally sell cars or personally

“perform{] any repairs [Jor provide[] any maintenance”

in order to be exempt under §213(b)(10)(A).

Pet.App.12-15.

The Ninth Circuit also concluded that the “literal”

reading of the statute produced results that Congress

would not have intended. “Read literally,”

§213(b)(10)(A) encompasses six categories of

employees—({1) salesmen, (2) partsmen, and (3)

mechanics primarily engaged in selling cars; and (4)

salesmen, (5) partsmen, and (6) mechanics primarily

engaged in servicing cars—two of which (categories 2

and 3) “do not exist in the real world.” Pet.App.16-17.

The court thus concluded that Congress must have

intended for “the gerunds—selling and servicing—to

be distributed” only to those subjects the court deemed

“appropriate.” Pet.App.16-18.

The court believed that the legislative history

confirmed its reading of the exemption. According to

the Ninth Circuit, both the 1966 Congress and 1974

Congress understood the term “salesman” to refer

“only to [employees] ‘selling’ goods,” not services.

Pet.App.27 (second emphasis added); see Pet.App.23

17

n.17. The court also found no relevant “references to

service advisors” in the legislative history,

“suggest[ing] that dealerships had no concern about

overtime compensation for service advisors.”

Pet.App.25.

Finally, just as in its first opinion, the Ninth

Circuit relied on the purported “rule that the

exemptions in §213 of the FLSA ‘are to be narrowly

construed against the employers seeking to assert

them.” Pet.App.20 (quoting Arnold v. Ben Kanowsky,

Inc., 361 U.S. 388, 392 (1960)). While acknowledging

that “some members of the Supreme Court have

questioned the soundness of the rule of narrow

construction,” the court deemed itself bound to reject

Petitioner's textual interpretation in light of the

atextual narrow-interpretation canon of construction.

Pet.App.20-21.

The Ninth Circuit thus reaffirmed its initial

holding that §213(b)(10)(A) does not apply to service

advisors. The court readily admitted that its decision

“conflicts with published decisions by the Fourth and

Fifth Circuits and by the Supreme Court of Montana.”

Pet.App.30. The court brushed aside that unbroken

string of authority, however, “for the reasons stated

above and for the reasons stated in [its] earlier opinion

(except those reasons concerning deference to the

agency).” Id.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Even more obviously than the last time around

(now that any issue of deference to the 2011 regulation

is off the table), this case presents an excellent vehicle

for this Court to resolve an acknowledged split of

authority over whether the tens of thousands of

18

“service advisors” who work at vehicle dealerships

across the country are exempt from the FLSA’s

overtime-pay requirements. The Court should once

again grant certiorari to resolve the exempt status of

service advisors.

I. Despite being afforded a second chance to

harmonize its law with all other published authority,

the Ninth Circuit doubled down on its outlying

conclusion that service advisors are not exempt from

the FLSA’s overtime-pay requirements. As it did in

its previous decision, the Ninth Circuit acknowledged

that its interpretation of §213(b)(10)(A) conflicts with

every other court to consider the issue, including the

Fourth and Fifth Circuits, several district courts, and

the Supreme Court of Montana. Pet.App.30, 65.

That the Ninth Circuit’s decision is an outlier

should come as no surprise, since the court below

badly misconstrued §213(b)(10)(A). As even the Ninth

Circuit acknowledged, the literal text of the exemption

applies to service advisors, who are unquestionably

“salesm[e]n ... primarily engaged in ... servicing

automobiles.” Service advisors are salesmen

primarily engaged in selling the servicing of

automobiles, and they certainly are not primarily

engaged in anything other than selling or servicing

automobiles. Having first evaded the literal text by a

misguided invocation of deference, the Ninth Circuit’s

latest effort to escape the literal text by reliance on a

mishmash of legislative history and purported canons

of narrow construction fares no better, and certainly

cries out for this Court’s review.

Il. The Ninth Circuit’s erroneous interpretation

of §213(b)(10)(A) will have far-reaching implications

19

for the nation’s 18,000 franchised car and truck

dealerships, which employ tens of thousands of service

advisors. As this Court has already recognized,

“{djealerships and service advisors negotiated and

structured their compensation plans against this

background understanding” that service advisors

were exempt from the FLSA’s overtime rules.

Pet.App.42. Yet the Ninth Circuit’s decision would

require a wholesale reworking of the service advisor

position, to the detriment of dealerships and

employees alike. Moreover, by injecting into the

statute an artificial requirement that a service advisor

personally service automobiles, the decision below

improperly calls into question the exempt status of

partsmen, many of whom do not personally service

automobiles.

Lack of uniformity is especially troubling in the

FLSA context because of the availability of nationwide

FLSA collective actions. Because plaintiffs may file

collective action claims in the most plaintiff-friendly

forum, the Ninth Circuit’s decision will likely become

the de facto nationwide rule for any dealership that

has operations within the Ninth Circuit. Certiorari is

plainly warranted to restore national uniformity to

this important area of the law.

20

I. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Conflicts With

The Decisions Of Several Other Courts And

Is Wrong On The Merits.

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Openly

Conflicts With Decisions of the Fourth

and Fifth Circuits and the Montana

Supreme Court.

Despite being granted a second chance by this

Court to eliminate an acknowledged circuit split, the

Ninth Circuit dug in and entrenched the split by again

holding that service advisors are not exempt from the

FLSA’s overtime-pay requirements. Just as in its

initial opinion, Pet.App.65, the Ninth Circuit

acknowledged in its post-remand opinion that its

interpretation of §213(b)(10)(A) “conflicts with

published decisions by the Fourth and Fifth Circuits

and by the Supreme Court of Montana.” Pet.App.30.

But unlike its first opinion, which relied on DOL’s

2011 regulation, which was not available to the Fourth

and Fifth Circuits, the Ninth Circuit’s latest decision

unambiguously parts company with the statutory

analysis of every other court to consider the issue. See

id. There is no serious dispute that the lower courts

are squarely divided over the meaning of

§213(b)(10)(A).

1. In Walton v. Greenbrier Ford, 370 F.3d 446, the

Fourth Circuit held that service advisors fall within

the plain text of the FLSA’s overtime-pay exemption.

The Walton plaintiffs job duties were identical to

Respondents’ job duties here: he would “greet

customers, listen te their concerns about their cars,

write repair orders, follow-up on repairs, ... keep

customers informed about maintenance[,] [and]

21

suggest to customers additional services that needed

to be p[er]formed.” Jd. at 449.

Under the plain text of §213(b)(10)(A), the Fourth

Circuit concluded that service advisors were

“salesmie]n ... primarily engaged in_ servicing

automobiles.” Jd. at 453. Service advisors are an

“integral part of the dealership’s servicing of

automobiles” because they are the “first line ... service

sales representative[s].” /d. at 452-53. Their role was

to figure out what services the customer needed,

prepare cost estimates, and sell both necessary repair

services and supplemental services. Id. at 452. The

court thus concluded that those employees were

salesmen “primarily engaged in __ servicing

automobiles.” Jd. at 453.

The Fourth Circuit also held that DOL’s

interpretation of the exemption in its 1970

interpretive regulation was “unreasonable” because it

is “an impermissibly restrictive construction of the

statute.” Jd. at 452. Under DOL’s view, a salesman

would be covered by the exemption only if he were

primarily engaged in selling vehicles. But, as the

Fourth Circuit explained, that interpretation

effectively ignores the second half of the disjunctive

clause “selling or servicing automobiles.” 29 U.S.C.

§213(b)(10)(A) (emphasis added). The court refused to

defer to DOL’s “restrictive regulatory definition”

because it “unreasonably implements the

congressional mandate.” 370 F.3d at 452.

Similarly, in Deel Motors, 475 F.2d 1095, in the

course of rejecting one of DOL’s early enforcement

actions, the Fifth Circuit squarely held that service

advisors were exempt from the FLSA. Under the plain

22

text of the exemption, the court concluded that service

advisors were “salesm[e]n ... engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles.” Jd. at 1098. And the court

further noted that “service salesmen are functionally

similar to the mechanics and partsmen who service

the automobiles.” /d. at 1097. All of these employees

“work as an integrated unit, performing the services

necessary for the maintenance of the customer's

automobile.” /d. And, like countless other salesmen

who are exempt from the FLSA’s overtime rules,

service advisors “are more concerned with their total

work product than with the hours performed.” Jd. The

Fifth Circuit thus had little difficulty concluding that

service advisors were exempt under §213(b)(10)(A).

Several other courts have reached the same

conclusion. In Thompson, 294 P.3d 397, the Montana

Supreme Court agreed with the Fourth and Fifth

Circuits that §213(b)(10)(A)’s exemption covers service

advisors. Jd. at 402. The court concluded that “[a]

plain, grammatical reading of 29 U.S.C. §213(b)(10)(A)

makes clear that the term ‘salesman’ encompasses a

broader category of employees than those only

engaged in selling vehicles.” Jd. The court added that

“(t]he use of the disjunctive ‘or’ between the words

‘selling or servicing’ means that the exemption applies

to any ‘salesman, partsman, or mechanic,’ who [is]

primarily engaged in either of these duties.” Id.

(emphasis added).

The federal district courts that have addressed

this issue have also uniformly concluded that the

exemption in §213(b)(10)(A) applies to service

advisors. See, e.g., Yenney v. Cass Cty. Motors, No. 76-

0-294, 1977 WL 1678 (D. Neb. Feb. 8, 1977); Brennan

23

v. N. Bros. Ford, No. 40344, 1975 WL 1074 (E.D. Mich.

Apr. 17, 1975), aff'd sub nom. Dunlop v. N. Bros. Ford,

529 F.2d 524 (6th Cir. 1976) (Table); Brennan v.

Import Volkswagen, Inc., No. W-4982, 1975 WL 1248

(D. Kan. Oct. 21, 1975). The district court here

likewise held that service advisors were exempt. See

Pet.App.76-85.

2. None of this was lost on the Ninth Circuit. It

expressly acknowledged that its decision on remand

“conflicts with” the decisions cited above. Pet.App.30.

The Ninth Circuit had no choice but to acknowledge a

split. Respondents perform the same job functions as

the service advisors in the cases cited above, yet the

Ninth Circuit (on “de novo review of congressional

intent”) found them to be non-exempt while every

other court (on the basis of actual statutory text) has

found them to be exempt. It is difficult to imagine a

clearer example of “a decision in conflict with the

decision of another United States court of appeals on

the same important matter,” and a decision that

“conflicts with a decision by a state court of last

resort.” S. Ct. R. 10(a).

Indeed, when the case was last before this Court,

Respondents’ principal argument against plenary

review was that there was no meaningful split of

authority because the Fourth and Fifth Circuit

decisions pre-dated DOL’s 2011 regulation and did not

apply the Chevron framework in analyzing the scope

of §213(b)(10)(A). See BIO.10-11. But with both the

2011 regulation and questions of deference now off the

table, there is simply no denying the existence of a

square split of authority.

24

While a circuit split over the meaning of a federal

statute would be undesirable under’ any

circumstances, the need for a uniform rule in this

context is particularly critical. The FLSA provides for

nationwide collective actions “by any one or more

employees for and in behalf of himself or themselves

and other employees similarly situated.” 29 U.S.C.

§216(b). Because of the availability of nationwide

FLSA collective actions, the most plaintiff-friendly

jurisdiction will often be able to establish the de facto

substantive law that governs many employers

throughout the entire country.

Indeed, there are hundreds of vehicle dealerships

that operate at locations both within and outside the

Ninth Circuit. As a result, even though the Ninth

Circuit is the only court to have ever found service

advisors to be non-exempt, that jurisdiction will likely

become a forum of choice for plaintiffs seeking to

challenge the exempt status of service advisors. One

way or the other, the scope of a critical federal labor

statute should not turn on the happenstance of the

state in which a company is operating. Certiorari is

warranted to restore a _ nationally uniform

interpretation of §213(b)(10)(A).

B. The Ninth Circuit Badly Misconstrued

Section 213(b)(10)(A).

That the Ninth Circuit is the only court to have

found service advisors non-exempt should be no

surprise: the decision below is unmoored from both

the text and purpose of §213(b)(10)(A).

1. The FLSA exempts from the overtime-pay

requirements “any salesman, partsman, or mechanic

primarily engaged in selling or servicing automobiles,

25

trucks, or farm implements, if he is employed by a

nonmanufacturing establishn.ent primarily engaged

in the business of selling such vehicles or implements

to ultimate purchasers.” Jd. §213(b)(10)(A). There is

no dispute that Petitioner is “a nonmanufacturing

establishment primarily engaged in the business of

selling [automobiles] ... to ultimate purchasers.” /d.

The only question is whether each Respondent is a

“salesman, partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged

in selling or servicing automobiles.” Jd. They plainly

are, and the Ninth Circuit’s reasons for holding

otherwise do not withstand scrutiny.

A service advisor is the paradigmatic “salesman ...

primarily engaged in ... servicing automobiles.”

According to Respondents’ own complaint, their job

duties included evaluating customers’ service and

repair needs; suggesting services to address specific

problems with the vehicles; preparing cost estimates;

and offering supplemental services such as

preventative maintenance. See Complaint 716 (DN 2).

In short, “service advisors are salesmen primarily

engaged in the selling of services for automobiles.”

Pet.App.49 (Thomas, J., dissenting); see also Walton,

370 F.3d at 452-53 (service advisors exempt because

they are an “integral part of the dealership’s servicing

of automobiles” and are the “first line ... service sales

representative[s]”). They are thus exempt under a

straightforward textual interpretation of

§213(b)(10)(A). Indeed, even the Ninth Circuit was

forced to concede that service advisors come within the

“literal” text of the exemption. Pet.App.16.

2. In again resisting the conclusion suggested by

the plain text, the Ninth Circuit concluded that

26

despite the statute’s disjunctive language—‘“any

salesman, partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged

in selling or servicing automobiles”’—the exemption

covers only salesmen who “are actually and primarily

occupied in selling cars,” and not salesmen “engaged

in servicing” them. Pet.App.15, 19. That

interpretation cannot be squared with the actual

language of the statute.

The Ninth Circuit’s interpretation flies in the face

of the most basic rules of grammar and statutory

construction. In interpreting a sentence with multiple

disjunctive nouns and multiple disjunctive direct-

object gerunds, each noun is linked to each gerund as

long as that noun-gerund combination has a sensible

meaning. See, e.g., Reiter v. Sonotone Corp., 442 U.S.

330, 339 (1979) (“Canons of construction ordinarily

suggest that terms connected by a disjunctive be given

separate meanings, unless the context dictates

otherwise ....”); FCC v. Pacifica Found., 438 U.S. 726,

739-40 (1978) (“The words... are written in the

disjunctive, implying that each has a separate

meaning.”). Here, there is no question that the term

“or” in the phrase “salesman ... primarily engaged in

selling or servicing” is disjunctive and that both

gerunds can sensibly be applied to the noun

“salesman.” Thus, both parts of the disjunctive phrase

“engaged in selling or servicing automobiles” can

plainly be applied to the noun “salesman.” That

interpretation is further confirmed by Congress’ use of

the word “any” before “salesman,” which suggests an

“expansive meaning.” United States v. Gonzales, 520

U.S. 1, 5 (1997).

27

The Ninth Circuit itself acknowledged that,

“[rjead literally, the exemption encompasses

[s]jalesm[e]n primarily engaged in servicing”

automobiles. Pet.App.16. Yet the court departed from

that straightforward, textual reading because, in

addition to encompassing service advisors, the

“literal” reading of §213(b)(10)(A) would also extend to

partsmen and mechanics primarily engaged in selling

cars—jobs that, according to the court, “do not exist in

the real world.” Pet.App.17.

But the theoretical possibility of such practically

non-existent combinations is no excuse for declining to

extend the exemption to all the noun-gerund

combinations that actually exist in the real world. In

implementing ar instruction to feed hungry or

barking cats or dogs, the non-existence of barking cats

is no justification for leaving a plainly famished, but

mute, dog unfed. So too in statutory construction.

Where a particular theoretical combination of

disjunctive nouns and gerunds produces a practical

null set (e.g., “partsm[e]n [or] mechanic[s] primarily

engaged in selling ... automobiles”), the null set, but

not fundamental rules of grammar and statutory

construction, can be safely ignored. Courts need not

worry about the theoretical combinations because no

case will raise the issue; partsmen and mechanics

primarily engaged in selling cars “do not exist.”

Pet.App.17. But where, as here, the combinations are

eminently sensible—e.g., where a_ statutory

combination reaches one of the tens of thousands of

“salesm[e]n ... primarily engaged in ... servicing

automobiles” currently at work in the United States—

the “literal” reading must prevail. See Pet.App.52-53

(Thomas, J., dissenting) (rejecting Respondents’

28

“distributive canon” argument that selling is done only

by salesmen and servicing is only done by mechanics).

3. Treating service advisors as non-exempt also

makes little sense in the broader scheme of the FLSA.

The FLSA contains numerous provisions (in addition

to §213(b)(10)(A)) that are designed to exclude from

the mandatory overtime rules individuals who are

engaged in sales or paid by commission. See, e.g., 29

U.S.C. §207(i) (excluding certain employees of retail or

service establishments who are paid commissions); id.

§213(a)(1) (excluding “any employee employed ... in

the capacity of outside salesman”).

Those provisions reflect the basic reality that it is

both common and reasonable for salesmen to be

compensated based on their success at selling, rather

than the sheer number of hours worked. As the Fifth

Circuit has explained, “[t]he enactment of

[§213(b)(10)(A)] was an implicit recognition by

Congress of the incentive methou of remuneration for

salesmen, partsmen, and mechanics employed by an

automobile dealership.” Deel Motors, 475 F.2d at

1098. Like countless other salesmen who are treated

as exempt under the FLSA, service advisors “are more

concerned with their total work product than with the

hours performed.” Jd. at 1097. Forcing an employer

to pay service advisors—who are quintessential

salesmen—overtime compensation on an hourly basis

would be a misguided attempt to fit a square peg into

a round hole, and would do nothing to promote the

policies underlying the FLSA. Cf. Christopher, 567

U.S. at 166 (noting that pharmaceutical sales

representatives “are hardly the kind of employees that

the FLSA was intended to protect”).

29

The Ninth Circuit’s interpretation also forces

dealerships to differentiate among their employees in

ways that are contrary to Congress’ plain intent.

Service advisors are in some sense a hybrid, since

their job is to sell, but rather than sell cars, they sell

services. If the salesforce were entirely exempt and

the service staff (such as mechanics and partsmen)

were entirely non-exempt, then the Ninth Circuit’s

rejection of the statute’s “literal” reading might be

reasonable. But here the Ninth Circuit has seized on

the fact that service advisors are a hybrid between two

fully exempt categories (“salesm[e]n” “primarily

engaged ... “servicing automobiles”) as a ground for

deeming them non-exempt. That interpretation is not

just concededly atextual; it needlessly creates fissures

among similar employees that Congress plainly did

not intend.

None of the Ninth Circuit’s various justifications

for deviating from the statute’s literal text holds

water. As already demonstrated, the Ninth Circuit's

textual analysis was flawed, and its policy concerns

misplaced. See supra at 24-28. The Ninth Circuit also

invoked legislative history to buttress its conclusion,

Pet.App.22-30, but there is ample legislative history to

the contrary, see Reply Br. for Pet’r at 16-20, Encino

Motorcars v. Navarro, No. 15-415 (Apr. 13, 2016), and

no justification for resorting to ambiguous legislative

history to evade the literal text. See Ratzlaf v. United

States, 510 U.S. 135, 147 (1994) (“[Wle do not resort to

legislative history to cloud a statutory text that is

clear.”). The Ninth Circuit’s final justification, the so-

called canon favoring narrow interpretations of FLSA

exemptions, is not only misguided, but a further

justification for plenary review, as demonstrated next.

30

C. The Ninth Circuit Erred by Holding That

FLSA Exemptions Should Be “Narrowly

Construed.”

The Ninth Circuit buttressed its untenable

textual analysis by relying heavily on the purported

canon of construction that “the exemptions in §213 of

the FLSA ‘are to be narrowly construed against the

employers seeking to assert them.” Pet.App.20

(quoting Arnold, 361 U.S. at 392). Although the court

jettisoned the bulk of its citations from its earlier

opinion, compare Pet.App.20-21, with Pet.App.60-62

& n.3, it again believed itself bound by circuit

precedent under which employees must be treated as

subject to the FLSA unless they “plainly and

unmistakably” fall within an exemption. Solis, 656

F.3d at 1083.

That purported “rule of narrow construction”

(Pet.App.20) is just an FLSA-specific variant of the

now-repudiated notion that courts should interpret

“remedial” statutes broadly. See, eg., OWCP uv.

Newport News Shipbuilding, 514 U.S. 122, 135-36

(1995) (describing broad-construction canon as “that

last redoubt of losing causes”). And applying this

misguided canon does nothing but guarantee

extravagant results in FLSA cases. The goal of a court

interpreting a statute “should be neither liberally to

expand nor strictly to constrict its meaning, but rather

to get the meaning precisely right.” Antonin Scalia,

Assorted Canards of Contemporary Legal Analysis, 40

Case W. Res. L. Rev. 581, 582 (1990). Thus, in

addition to addressing the circuit split concerning the

meaning of §213(b)(10)(A), granting plenary review

would give this Court an important opportunity to

31

clarify once and for all that the FLSA should be

construed neither narrowly nor broadly, but fairly and

correctly.

II. The Ninth Circuit’s Erroneous Decision Will

Have Far-Reaching Implications For

Dealerships And Will Inject Uncertainty

Into A Previously Settled Area Of The Law.

The scope of the FLSA exemption under

§213(b)(10)(A) is of tremendous practical significance

to the automobile industry nationwide. The nation’s

18,000 franchised car and truck dealerships employ

tens of thousands of service advisors. As this Court

has recognized, “[djealerships and service advisors

negotiated and structured their compensation plans

against this background understanding” that service

advisors were exempt from the FLSA’s overtime rules.

Pet.App.42. Yet the Ninth Circuit has now

concluded—again—that this entire arrangement has

been unlawful for the last four decades.

This Court has not looked favorably upon

attempts by plaintiffs to use novel theories of FLSA

hability to upset long-settled industry practices. As

the Court has explained, it may be “possible for an

entire industry to be in violation of the [FLSA] for a

long time” with no one noticing, but the “more

plausible hypothesis” is that the industry’s practices

simply were not unlawful. Christopher, 567 U.S. at

158. The Court has thus repeatedly rejected FLSA

claims that would have exposed settled industry

practices to potentially significant retroactive liability

(including back pay and double damages). See, e.g.,

Integrity Staffing, 135 S. Ct. at 518-19 (rejecting novel

attempt to impose FLSA liability for time spent in

32

security screenings); Christopher, 567 U.S. at 157,

161-169 (rejecting FLSA liability for pharmaceutical

sales representatives where “the pharmaceutical

industry had little reason to suspect that its

longstanding practice of treating [sales

representatives] as exempt ... transgressed the

FLSA”); see also Yi, 480 F.3d at 510-11 (rejecting

FLSA challenge to a “system of compensation [that] ...

is industry-wide, and of long standing’).

Those concerns are particularly acute given the

regulatory history here. In the immediate wake of its

1970 interpretative rule, DOL pursued enforcement

actions that produced an unbroken series of court

losses for the agency, including the Fifth Circuit's Deel

Motors decision and the Sixth Circuit’s summary

affirmance in North Brothers Ford. See supra at 8-10

& n.3. If those decisions had gone the other way,

employment relationships in this sector would have

developed very differently. But DOL not only lost

those cases across the country but acquiesced in those

decisions, thereby creating significant and well-

justified reliance interests that accumulated over the

ensuing decades.

The concerns with retroactively upsetting those

expectations are at their zenith in cases like this and

Christopher where the plaintiffs seek to have

employees who were actually paid on a commission-

basis retroactively reclassified as non-exempt

employees. Not only were workers focused on earning

commissions, rather than working a set number of

hours, but employers did not have an incentive to

strictly track the number of hours worked, which

creates both evidentiary difficulties and the prospect

33

of wholly unjustified windfalls. See Christopher, 567

U.S. at 166 (sales work was “difficult to standardize to

any time frame,” which “ma[de] compliance with the

overtime provisions difficult”). And, of course, the

Ninth Circuit’s holding would force both service

advisors and dealerships into compensation plans

other than the ones they had voluntarily negotiated,

to the detriment of employers and employees alike.

The problems with allowing Respondents to reap

such windfalls are exacerbated by the differential

treatment implicit in the Ninth Circuit’s decision.

Under the approach adopted by every other court to

consider the issue, all sales employees are treated the

same, viz., as exempt. The Ninth Circuit's decision,

however, would grant service advisors, but not other

salespeople (or others engaged in providing service,

such as partsmen or mechanics), a huge windfall,

which cannot help but prove to be divisive. Thus,

dealers would face the prospect of not only having to

pay out damages retrospectively, but also needing to

deal with anomalous divisions among their salesforces

going forward. To make matters worse, the Ninth

Circuit’s conclusion that service advisors are not

exempt because they °9 not personally service

automobiles throws the long-settled treatment of

partsmen—many, if not most, of whom do not

personally service automobiles—into disarray.

All of those concerns are magnified by the reality,

noted above, that the FLSA provides for nationwide

collective actions. See 29 U.S.C. §216(b). As a

consequence, the Ninth Circuit’s decision will likely

become the de facto nationwide rule for all dealerships

that have at least some operations within the Ninth

34

Circuit. Thus, this is not a case in which further

percolation of the relevant issues would be helpful or

desirable. The far better course is to grant certiorari

now to restore uniformity to this important area of the

law and reaffirm what numerous courts have held

since the 1970s—that service advisors are exempt

from the FLSA’s overtime rules under the plain text of

29 U.S.C. §213(b)(10)(A).

CONCLUSION

In sum, every consideration that led this Court to

grant certiorari in this case last January remains fully

applicable in light of the Ninth Circuit’s decision to

reaffirm its outlying treatment of service advisors as

non-exempt. Indeed, the statutory issue is now

presented more cleanly, and any possibility of the

Ninth Circuit aligning its view with its sister circuits

has been exhausted. This Court should once again

grant review of the important question presented by

this petition.

Respectfully submitted,

KARL R. LINDEGREN PAUL D. CLEMENT

TopDD B. SCHERWIN Counsel of Record

WENDY MCGUIRE COATS JEFFREY M. HARRIS

FISHER MATTHEW D. ROWEN

& PHILLIPS LLP KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP

144 S. Flower Street 655 Fifteenth Street, NW

Suite 1500 Washington, DC 20005

Los Angeles, CA 90071 (202) 879-5000

paul.clement@kirkland.com

Counsel for Petitioner

May 10, 2017

APPENDIX

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A

Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, Hector

Navarro; Anthony Pinkins; Kevin Malone;

and Reuben Castro v. Encino Motorcars,

LLC, No. 13-55323 (Jan. 19, 2017)............. App-1l

Appendix B

Opinion of the Supreme Court of

the United States, Hector Navarro;

Anthony Pinkins; Kevin Malone; and

Reuben Castro v. Encino Motorcars, LLC,

No. 15-415 (June 20, 2016)..............0..00000.. App-31

Appendix C

Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, Hector

Navarro; Anthony Pinkins; Kevin Malone;

and Reuben Castro v. Encino Motorcars,

LLC, No. 13-55323 (Mar. 24, 2015) .......... App-55

Appendix D

Order of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit Denying

Rehearing En Banc, Hector Navarro, et

al. v. Encino Motorcars, LLC,

No. 13-55323 (June 1, 2015)...................... App-74

Appendix E

(In Chambers) Order Re: Defendant's

Mction to Dismiss of the United States

District Court for the Central District of

California, Navarro, et al. v. Mercedes

Benz of Encino, No. 2:12-cv-08051-RGK-

I , eeteadenmaeinn

Appendix F

REESE Se eck ae eee eee

App-1

Appendix A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 13-55323

HECTOR NAVARRO; ANTHONY PINKINS; KEVIN MALONE;

AND REUBEN CASTRO,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

ENCINO MOTORCARS, LLC, ERRONEOUSLY SUED AS

MERCEDES BENZ OF ENCINO, A CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellee.

On Remand from the

Supreme Court of the United States

Filed: January 9, 2017

Before: Susan P. Graber and

Kim McLane Wardlaw, Circuit Judges, and

James C. Mahan,” District Judge.

OPINION

* The Honorable James C. Mahan, United States District Judge

for the District of Nevada, sitting by designation.

App-2

GRABER, Circuit Judge:

On remand from the Supreme Court, Encino

Motorcars, LLC v. Navarro, 136 S. Ct. 2117 (2016), we

must consider anew whether the Fair Labor

Standards Act (“FLSA”), 29 U.S.C. §§ 201-219,

requires automobile dealerships to pay overtime

compensation to service advisors. The district court

held that service advisors fall within the exemption

from the overtime-compensation requirement for “any

salesman, partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged

in selling or _ servicing automobiles,” id.

§ 213(b)(10)(A), on the ground that a service advisor is

a “salesman ...primarily engaged in... servicing

automobiles.” Because we conclude that Congress did

not intend for the exemption to encompass service

advisors, we reverse and remand for further

proceedings.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Defendant Encino Motorcars, LLC, sells and

services new and used Mercedes-Benz automobiles. !

Defendant employed or employs Plaintiffs Hector

Navarro, Mike Shirinian, Anthony Pinkins, Kevin

Malone, and Reuben Castro as “service advisors.”

Plaintiffs greet Mercedes-Benz owners as they arrive

in the service area of the dealership; listen to

customers’ concerns about their cars; evaluate the

repair and maintenance needs of the cars; suggest

services to be performed to remedy the customers’

' Because the district court dismissed this case under Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6), we take the facts alleged in the

complaint as true. Brown v. Elec. Arts, Inc., 724 F.3d 1235, 1247

(9th Cir. 2013).

App-3

concerns; suggest supplemental services beyond those

that will remedy the customers’ concerns; write up

estimates; and, often, follow up with the customer

while the repair work is underway to suggest further

repairs and maintenance.

Plaintiffs allege that Defendant has violated the

FLSA by failing to pay them overtime wages. The

district court dismissed the claim, and Plaintiffs

timely appealed.

We reversed. Navarro v. Encino Motorcars, LLC,

780 F.3d 1267 (9th Cir. 2015). We held that a

regulation promulgated by the Department of Labor

in 2011 reasonably interpreted the statutory

exemption not to encompass service advisors. Id. at

1271-77. Applying ti principles of agency deference

described in Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Nat. Res. Def.

Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984), we deferred to the

agency’s interpretation. Navarro, 780 F.3d at 1277.

The Supreme Court granted certiorari and held

that we erred by applying the Chevron framework.

Encino Motorcars, 136 S. Ct. at 2124-27. The Court

concluded that

§ 213(b)(10)(A) must be construed without

placing controlling weight on _ the

Department’s 2011 regulation. Because the

decision below relied on Chevron deference to

this regulation, it is appropriate to remand

for the Court of Appeals to interpret the

statute in the first instance. Cf. United States

vu. Mead Corp, 533 U.S. 218, 238-39 (2001).

Id. at 2127 (citation format altered).

App-4

DISCUSSION

Congress enacted the FLSA in 1938 to “protect all

covered workers from substandard wages and

oppressive working hours.” Barrentine v. Ark.-Best

Freight Sys., Inc., 450 U.S. 728, 739 (1981). To that

end, 29 U.S.C. §206 imposes a minimum wage

requirement, and § 207 requires the payment of

overtime compensation for hours exceeding a standard

workweek. But not all workers are covered by the Act’s

provisions. Subsection 213(a) lists categories of

employees who are exempt from both the minimum-

wage and overtime-compensation requirements.

Subsection 213(b) lists categories of employees who

are exempt from the _ overtime-compensation

requirement only.

In 1961, Congress amended § 213(a) to exempt

from both the minimum-wage and _ overtime-

compensation requirements all employees of

automobile dealerships. Fair Labor Standards

Amendments of 1961, Pub. L. No. 87-30, §9, 75

Stat. 65, 71. New paragraph (a)(19) exempted “any

employee of a retail or service establishment which is

primarily engaged in the business of selling

automobiles, trucks, or farm implements.” 29 U.S.C.

§ 213(a)(19) (1961); 75 Stat. at 71.

In 1966, Congress repealed § 213(a)(19) but added

paragraph (b)(10). Fair Labor Standards Amendments

of 1966, Pub. L. No. 89-601, § 208, 80 Stat. 830, 836.

The new provision exempted only the following

employees from the overtime-compensation

requirement:

any salesman, partsman, or mechanic

primarily engaged in selling or servicing

App-5

automobiles, trailers, trucks, farm

implements, or aircraft if employed by a

nonmanufacturing establishment primarily

engaged in the business of selling such

vehicles to ultimate purchasers.

29 U.S.C. § 213(b)(10) (1966). In effect, unless a

separate exemption applied, the 1966 amendments

narrowed the 1961 exemption and_ required

dealerships to pay a minimum wage to all employees

and to pay overtime compensation to all employees

except those listed in § 213(b)(10).

In 1970, the Department of Labor issued a

regulation defining the terms of § 213(b)(10). 29 C.F.R.

§ 779.372. The agency defined “salesman” to

encompass only those salesmen who sold vehicles. /d.

§ 779.372(c)(1). Under the agency’s interpretation, the

exemption did not encompass service advisors. /d.; see

also id. § 779.372(c)(4) (1970).

In 1974, Congress amended § 213(b)(10) to its

present-day form to exclude from the overtime-

compensation requirement the following employees:

(A) any salesman, partsman, or mechanic

primarily engaged in selling or servicing

automobiles, trucks, or farm implements, if

he is employed by a nonmanufacturing

establishment primarily engaged in the

business of selling such vehicles’ or

implements to ultimate purchasers; or

(B) any salesman primarily engaged in selling

tratlers, boats, or aircraft, if he is employed

by a nonmanufacturing’ establishment

primarily engaged in the business of selling

App-6

trailers, boats, or aircraft to ultimate

purchasers|.|

29 U.S.C. § 213(b)(10) (2016); Fair Labor Standards

Amendments of 1974, Pub. L. No. 93-259, § 14,

88 Stat. 55, 61. The 1974 amendments had no effect

on the text pertinent to car dealerships—the same

exemptions as in 1966 continued to apply.

In 1978, the Department of Labor issued an

opinion letter stating that, contrary to the agency's

regulation, service advisors were exempt under 29

U.S.C. § 213(b)(10)(A). Dep’t of Labor, Wage & Hour

Div., Opinion Letter No. 1520 (WH-467), 1978 WL

51403 (July 28, 1978). In 1987, the agency amended

its Field Operations Handbook along the same lines,

stating in an Insert that the agency would “no longer

deny the [overtime] exemption” for service advisors.

Dep’t of Labor, Wage & Hour Div., Field Operations

Handbook, Insert No. 1757, 24L04-4(k) (Oct. 20,

1987).

In 2008, the Department of Labor proposed to

amend its formal regulation—which had remained the

same since 1970 despite the agency’ shift in

position—to conform to its practice of allowing the

exemption for service advisors. Updating Regulations

Issued Under the Fair Labor Standards Act, 73 Fed.

Reg. 43,654-01 (July 28, 2008). After receiving public

comments, however, the agency issued a final rule in

2011 that reaffirmed the agency’s original position:

service advisors are not exempt under 29 U.S.C.

§ 213(b)(10)(A). 76 Fed. Reg. 18,832-01 (Apr. 5, 2011).?

2 The Secretary of Labor has informed us that, also in 2011, the

agency amended its Field Operations Handbook by removing the

App-7

The parties dispute whether we owe deference to

the Secretary of Labor’s interpretation that the

statute does not exempt service advisors. Plaintiffs

argue that deference under Skidmore v. Swift & Co.,

323 U.S. 134 (1944), is appropriate. Defendant urges

us to give no weight to the agency’s interpretation. We

decline to resolve this dispute because, as we explain

below, the answer does not affect the outcome.

Instead, we assume without deciding that we must

give no weight to the agency’s interpretation and the

regulation, and we “interpret the statute in the first

instance.” Encino Motorcars, 136 S. Ct. at 2127.

The FI.SA exempts from the _ overtime-

compensation requirement “any salesman, partsman,

or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or servicing

automobiles, trucks, or farm implements, if he is

employed by a nonmanufacturing establishment

primarily engaged in the business of selling such

vehicles or implements to ultimate purchasers.” 29

U.S.C. § 213(b)(10)(A). Defendant is an automobile

dealership within the meaning of the exemption. We

limit our discussion to the exemption’s coverage of

employees of an automobile dealership. Thus, the

1987 Insert, thus reverting to its original enforcement practice.

Brief for Sec’y of Labor as Amicus Curiae Supporting Plaintiffs-

Appellants at 5 n.1.

3 We do so out of an abundance of caution. If we have

misunderstood the Court's instructions and are permitted or

required to consider Skidmore deference, then we conclude that

such deference is appropriate. Although the agency held a

contrary position in intervening years, we find the agency's

present reasoning persuasive and thorough. Moreover, the

agency's current position is identical to the position that it took

in 1970—-shortly after enactment of the 1966 amendments.

App-8

relevant statutory passage is: “any salesman,

partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles.”

Unless defined by the FLSA, we consider the

“ordinary, contemporary, common meaning” of the

terms at the time that Congress added the relevant

clause—1966. Perrin v. United States, 444 U.S. 37, 42

(1979). To determine the common meaning, we consult

dictionaries and other sources in use in 1966.

Taniguchi v. Kan Pac. Saipan, Lid., 132 S. Ct. 1997,

2002-04 (2012). For an understanding of job

descriptions, we look to the 1966-1967 edition of the

Department of Labor, Bureau of Statistics,

Occupational Outlook Handbook (“OOH”). See, e.g.,

United States v. Charles, 722 F.3d 1319, 1324 (11th

Cir. 2013) (consulting the Occupational Outlook

Handbook).

We proceed as follows. First, we conclude that,

under the most natural reading of the statute,

Congress did not intend to exempt service advisors.

Second, even if the text were ambiguous, the

legislative history confirms that Congress intended to

exempt only salesmen selling cars, partsmen servicing

cars, and mechanics servicing cars. Congress did not

intend to exempt service advisors.

A. Statutory Text

1. “Any Salesman, Partsman, or Mechanic”

In 1966, Congress repealed the exemption for all

employees of an automobile dealership and replaced it

with a limited exemption for only three specific

vocations: salesmen, partsmen, and mechanics. Then,

as today, many different types of employees—

including service advisors—worked at automobile

App-9

dealerships. The Occupational Outlook Handbook

listed many common vocations. Among those

categories of workers that one might have expected to

find at automobile dealerships in 1966, three job

titles—emphasized below—clearly align with the

three job titles exempted by Congress:

* Automobile body repairmen

- Automobile mechanics

* Automobile painters

- Automobile parts countermen

- Automobile salesmen

- Automobile service advisors

- Automobile upholsterers

* Bookkeeping workers

* Cashiers

- Janitors

- Purchasing agents

- Shipping and receiving clerks

OOH at XIJI-XVIII (Table of Contents).

Hence, looking only at the statutory exemption’s

list of job titles, service advisors were excluded.

Congress’ choice to exempt three—not four—job titles

suggests that service advisors are not exempt. If, as

Defendant posits, Congress intended to exempt

service advisors, it could have included “service

advisors’ in the statutory list. In sum, the most

natural reading of the exemption is that Congress

exempted only three commonly understood job titles—

automobile salesmen, partsmen, and mechanics—and

Congress therefore excluded service advisors.

App-10

It is possible to read the exemption’s list of job

titles more broadly, to encompass all persons whose

functional roles meet the dictionary definitions of the

terms “salesman,” “partsman,” or “mechanic.”4 A

service advisor can be considered to sell services.

Accordingly, if we read the exemption’s list of job titles

broadly, a service advisor qualifies, in a generic sense,

as a “salesman.”5

But even assuming that Congress intended a

broad interpretation of the term “salesman,” not every

“salesman” is exempt; the statute covers only those

who are “primarily engaged in selling or servicing

automobiles.” 29 U.S.C. § 213(b)(10)(A). We therefore

4 We give the term “any” no significance. The term “any” “doles]

not broaden the ordinary meaning” of the word it modifies. BP

Am. Prod. Co. v. Burton, 549 U.S. 84, 93 (2006). That principle

applies with special force here. Both before and after the 1966

amendments to the FLSA, each of the 33 exemptions in § 213(a)

and § 213(b) began with the term “any.” See 29 U.S.C. § 213(a)(1)-

(22) (1965) (beginning with “any”); id. § 213(b)(1)-(11) (1965)

(same); id. § 213(a)(1)-(14) (1967) (same); id. § 213(b)(1)-(19)

(1967) (same). The word “any” was plainly a drafting convention,

not an expression of congressional intent that we interpret a

particular exemption expansively.

5 See Random House Dictionary of the English Language

(“Random House”) 1262 (1966) (defining “salesman” as “a man

who sells gocds, services, etc.”); Webster's Third New

International Dictionary (““Webster’s Third”) 2003 (1965) (“one

employed to sell goods or services either within a given territory

or in a store”); 9 Oxford English Dictionary (“OED”) 50 (1933) (“A

man whose business it is to sell goods or conduct sales”); see also

American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language

(“American Heritage”) 1144 (1st ed. 1969) (“A man employed to

sell merchandise in a store or in a designated territory”).

App-11

consider next whether service advisors primarily

engage in selling or servicing cars.

2. “Primarily Engaged in _ Selling or

Servicing Automobiles”

A service advisor clearly is not a

“salesman...primarily engaged in_ selling...

automobiles.” That category encompasses salesmen

selling a particular good—cars. It does not cover

salesmen selling other goods and, critically, it does not

cover salesmen selling services. Service advisors may

be salesmen of a sort, but they do not qualify as

salesmen primarily engaged in selling cars because

they do not sell cars.

We turn, then, to whether service advisors are

“primarily engaged in .. . servicing automobiles.” We

begin with the contemporary meaning, in 1966, of the

statute’s terms. “Primarily” means “essentially;

mostly; chiefly; principally.” “To be engaged in” an

activity means “to occupy oneself; become involved” in

the activity.’ In the context of an automobile

dealership, to “service” means to “supply[]

6 Random House at 1142; accord 8 OED at 1358 (“In the first

place, first of all, pre-eminently, chiefly, principally;

essentially.”); see also American Heritage at 1039 (Chiefly;

principally”).

7 Random House at 473; accord 8 OED at 174 (“to enter upon

or employ oneself in an action”); Webster's Third at 751 (‘to

employ or involve oneself’; “to take part”); see also American

Heritage at 433 (“To involve oneself or become occupied;

participate”).

App-12

maintenance and repair.”® Thus, to be “primarily

engaged in...servicing automobiles” means to

“occupy oneself principally in maintaining and

repairing cars.”

Whether we look to the contemporaneous

dictionary definitions or to the terms of the phrase

itself, the phrase most naturally encompasses only

those who are actually occupied in the repair and

maintenance of cars—the partsmen and mechanics

who, for example, repair defective brakes or flush the

transmission. A service advisor neither performs any

repairs nor provides any maintenance. Instead, a

service advisor “wait[s] on customers who bring their

automobiles in for maintenance and repairs.” OOH at

314. The service advisor “confers with the customer to

determine his service needs, and arranges for a

mechanic to do the work.” Jd. Accordingly, service

advisors are not primarily engaged in servicing

automobiles.?

Defendant suggests that we adopt a more

expansive definition, one that encompasses ll

employees who are “integral” to the customer’s overall

experience of having a car serviced. Supp. Brief for

Defendant-Appellee at 14 (filed Aug. 16, 2016). The

statutory text is arguably flexible enough to

accommodate Defendant's suggestion. Using the

8 Random House at 1304; accord Webster's Third at 2075 (“to

repair or provide maintenance for”); see also American Heritage

at 1185 (“To make fit for use; adjust; repair; maintain”).

9 Service advisors may occasionally perform simple repairs or

maintenance tasks before the mechanic takes over. But

Defendant does not contend that Plaintiffs spend a significant

amount of time on those minor tasks.

App-13

dictionary definitions most favorable to Defendant,

the exemption encompasses those principally

“involved” in “supplying maintenance and repair.” If

one interprets “supplying” to mean “the overall

process of supplying,” then service advisors can be

said, in a general sense, to be “primarily engaged

in... servicing automobiles.”

But the fact “[t]hat a definition is broad enough to

encompass one sense of a word does not establish that

the word is ordinarily understood in that sense.”

Taniguchi, 132 S. Ct. at 2003. Defendant's

interpretation represents a considerable stretch of the

ordinary meaning of the statute’s words. We usually

do not say that we primarily engage in an activity that

we do not perform personally (and that we may lack

the skills to perform). We typically say that we

primarily engage in an activity only if we actually

undertake the activity, at least in part. For example,

a receptionist-scheduler at a dental office fields calls

from patients, matching their needs (e.g., a broken

tooth or jaw pain) with the appropriate provider,

appointment time, and length of anticipated service.

That work is integral to a patient’s obtaining dental

services, but we would not say that the receptionist-

scheduler is “primarily engaged in” cleaning teeth or

installing crowns. Similarly, an automobile salesman

who sells custom-made cars is integral to a

purchaser's receiving a specialized car, but we

ordinarily would not say that the salesman is

primarily engaged in manufacturing cars.

Defendant nevertheless asserts that we must

adopt its broad definition because a narrower

interpretation would read “partsman” out of the

App-14

statute. Defendant contends that, because partsmen

do not actually perform the repairs and maintenance,

Congress must have intended to include all employees

involved in the overall process of providing repair and

maintenance services. We are unpersuaded.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook described

the position of an “automobile parts counterman” who

is employed by automobile dealers. OOH at 312-14.

Parts countermen may spend some time selling parts

to customers. Jd. at 312. But parts countermen

“employed by automobile and truck dealers... may

spend most of their time supplying parts to mechanics

employed by the dealer.” Id.; see also Brief for Int'l

Ass’n of Machinists and Aerospace Workers as Amicus

Curiae Supporting Respondents in Encino Motorcars,

2016 WL 1388060, at *28 (“A partsman generally

works at one of two counters: the back counter, which

opens to the shop where the mechanics work or the

front counter, which opens into the dealership to an

area where customers may purchase accessories or

parts that will not be installed by the dealership.”).

“By knowing how to use parts catalogs and by knowing

the layout of the stockroom, he can readily find any

one of several thousand items.” OOH at 312. A parts

counterman also uses specialized equipment to test

parts, to determine interchangeability of parts, and to

repair parts. Jd. at 312-13.

Accordingly, Defendant’s premise is wrong:

Partsmen “may repair parts, using equipment such as

brake riveting machines, brake drum lathes, valve

refacers, and engine head grinders.” OOH at 313.

Under any definition, fixing a defective part qualifies

as servicing a car. Partsmen also “may use

App-15

micrometers, calipers, fan-belt measurers, and other

devices to measure parts for interchangeability. They

may also use coil-condenser testers, spark plug

testers, and other types of testing equipment to

determine whether parts are defective.” Jd. at 312-13.

Those hands-on tasks are qualitatively

indistinguishable from—if not identical to—the work

of a mechanic. Similarly, partsmen use their expert

knowledge of parts, parts catalogs, and the stockroom

to determine an appropriate replacement part and

locate it for a mechanic—tasks that contribute directly

to the actual repair of a car. Because most of the

common tasks of a partsman easily meet the ordinary

meaning of primarily engaging in servicing, we are not

compelled to accept Defendant’s broad interpretation

of the exemption.!°

In sum, we conclude that the phrase “primarily

engaged in selling . . . automobiles” encompasses only

those who are actually and primarily occupied in

selling cars, and we conclude that the phrase

“primarily engaged in...servicing automobiles”

encompasses only those who are actually and

primarily occupied in the repair and maintenance of

cars. Because service advisors meet neither definition,

the FLSA does not exempt service advisors.

10 |t is true, of course, that partsmen may spend some time on

tasks unrelated to the servicing of an automobile: They may clean

the stockroom, or they may sell parts to the public, for example.

But that fact poses no interpretive problem because the

exemption covers only those who “primarily” service cars. If an

individual partsman spends little time servicing cars, the

exemption does not apply.

App-16

Our interpretive task could end here, with the

words of the statute as commonly understood in 1966.

But, to ensure that we have not overlooked a relevant

way of reading § 213(b)(10)(A), we will examine that

provision in light of applicable principles of statutory

construction.

3. Principles of Statutory Interpretation

Our interpretation comports with a_ holistic

reading of the statutory exemption. See, e.g., Graham

Cty. Soil & Water Conservation Dist. v. U.S. ex rel.

Wilson, 559 U.S. 280, 290 (2010) (“Courts have a duty

to construe statutes, not isolated provisions.” (internal

quotation marks omitted)); see also Sturgeon v. Frost,

136 S. Ct. 1061, 1070 (2016) (“It is a fundamental

canon of statutory construction that the words of a

statute must be read in their context...” (internal

quotation marks omitted)). Read literally, the

exemption encompasses six categories of employees:

Salesman Partsman Mechanic

primarily engaged |primarily engaged | primarily engaged

in selling in selling in selling

Salesman Partsman Mechanic

primarily engaged |primarily engaged| primarily engaged

in servicing in servicing _ in servicing

Three of the literal categories describe common

employees at a dealership: salesmen selling cars,

partsmen servicing cars, and mechanics servicing

cars. A “salesman... primarily engaged in selling .. .

automobiles” neatly describes a car salesman.!! As

'! “Automobile salesmen” were “important links between the

makers and buyers of new cars, and between used car dealers and

buyers.” OOH at 309. “The automobile salesman spends much of

his time waiting on customers,” trying to make a sale. Jd. at 310.

App-17

noted above, many parts countermen likely qualify as

“partsm[e]n... primarily engaged in... servicing

automobiles.” And it is unassailable that most (if not

all) automobile mechanics. service cars.!2 The

remaining three literal categories are: a

“salesman ...primarily engaged in... servicing

automobiles,” a “partsman... primarily engaged in

selling ... automobiles,” and a “mechanic primarily

engaged in selling...automobiles.” Reading the

exemption as a whole, we conclude that Congress did

not intend to give meaning to those categories.

A salesman is naturally understood to be someone

primarily engaged in selling. After all, he is a

salesman, defined at the relevant time as “a man who

sells.” Random House at 1262 (emphasis added). It

makes little sense, in ordinary speech, to describe a

salesman who primarily engages in work activities

other than selling.

Moreover, we know that Congress «:i not intend

for us to give effect to all six literal categories. Read

literally, the statute exempts partsmen and

mechanics primarily engaged in selling cars, but those

categories do not exist in the real world. Neither

partsmen nor mechanics occupy themselves regularly,

let alone most of the time, with selling cars. By

definition, they spend most of their time repairing

cars, maintaining cars, repairing parts, determining

interchangeability of parts, finding suitable

replacement parts in the stockroom, and so on.

12 “Automobile mechanics keep the Nation’s rising number of

automobiles . . . in good running order. They do preventative

maintenance, diagnose breakdowns, and make repairs.” OOH at

477.

App-18

Congress indisputably did not intend to connect

“partsman” and “mechanic” with “selling”

automobiles; Congress intended to connect

“partsman” and “mechanic” only with “servicing”

automobiles.

Putting it all together, the most natural reading

of the statute is that Congress intended the gerunds—

selling and servicing—to be distributed to their

appropriate subjects—salesman, partsman, and

mechanic. A salesman sells; a partsman services; and

a mechanic services.

At first blush, it may seem odd for Congress to

choose phrasing that, read literally, joins nouns with

inapplicable verbs. But Congress sometimes makes

that choice. See, e.g., 16 U.S.C. § 742c(e) (referring to

“the construction or repair of vessels lost, destroyed,

or damaged” by an earthquake); see also Brief for

Respondents in Encino Motorcars, 2016 WL 1298032,

app. D (listing scores of statutory phrases using this

distributive construction). Scholars and courts have

recognized this method of distributive phrasing:

“Where a sentence contains several antecedents and

several consequents, courts read them distributively

and apply the words to the subjects which, by context,

they seem most properly to relate.” 2A Norman Singer

et al. Sutherland Statutes and Statutory

Construction § 47:26 (7th ed. Supp. Nov. 2016); see id.

at n.1 (collecting cases); see also Antonin Scalia &

Bryan A. Garner, Reading Law: The Interpretation of

Legal Texts 214 (2012) (“Distributive phrasing applies

each expression to its appropriate referent.”); id. at

214-16 (describing cases that applied the principle).

App-19

The most natural reading of these statutes is not

that Congress wanted to give legal effect to each literal

category. Rather, Congress merely used expedient

wording to avoid tedious repetition of surrounding

text, with the expectation that courts would read the

statutes sensibly. This statute provides a good

example. Congress could have separated out the

treatment of salesmen from the treatment of

partsmen and mechanics. But that would have

required repeating the “primarily engaged in” text, the

list of vehicles— “automobiles, trailers, trucks, farm

implements, or aircraft”— and the clause concerning

employment at a dealership—‘“if employed by a

nonmanufacturing establishment primarily engaged

in the business of selling such vehicles to ultimate

purchasers.” 29 U.S.C. § 213(b)(10) (1966). Instead,

Congress trusted courts to recognize the obvious:

Congress meant to exempt salesmen selling, not

repairing, cars; and Congress meant to exempt

partsmen and mechanics repairing, not selling, cars.

Thus, the statute leaves only three categories of

exempt employees:!

Salesman Partemaen Meehanie

primarily engaged |primarily engaged |primanlyengaced

in selling treeline aH eeebbitee:

Salesman Partsman Mechanic

pomen;erneaged primarily engaged | primarily engaged

TR Serie in servicing in servicing

13 We address here only automobile dealerships. There is some

suggestion in the legislative history that partsmen employed by

farm-implement dealers were understood

to sell

farm

implements. But we have found no suggestion-~in the legislative

history or otherwise—that automobile partsmen sell cars.

App-20

4. Narrow Construction of the FLSA’s

Exemptions

We find Defendant's expansive interpretation

particularly implausible in light of the longstanding

rule that the exemptions in § 213 of the FLSA “are to

be narrowly construed against the employers seeking

to assert them.” Arnold v. Ben Kanowsky, Inc., 361

U.S. 288, 392 (1960); accord Mitchell v. Ky. Fin. Co.,

359 U.S. 290, 295 (1959) (holding that the principle of

narrow construction of the FLSA’s exemptions is “well

settled”). We must apply exemptions only to “those

[employees] plainly and unmistakably within [the

FLSA’s] terms.” A.H. Phillips, Inc. v. Walling, 324 U.S.

490, 493 (1945). In order to conclude that

§ 213(b)(10)(A) encompasses service advisors, we

would be required to do the opposite—construe the

exemption broadly. We are bound by Supreme Court

precedent to construe the exemption narrowly.

In recent years, the Supreme Court has

acknowledged the rule of narrow construction with

respect to the exemptions listed in § 213, but the Court

has held that the rule does not apply to interpretations

of other provisions of the FLSA, such as the general

definitions codified in § 203. Sandifer v. U.S. Steel

Corp., 134 S. Ct. 870, 879 n.7 (2014); Christopher v.

SmithKline Beecham Corp., 132 S. Ct. 2156, 2172 n.21

(2012). Because this case involves interpretation of

terms appearing in § 213 and not defined in § 203, the

Supreme Court's longstanding principle of narrow

construction applies here. We recognize that some

members of the Supreme Court have questioned the

soundness of the rule of narrow construction. F.g.,

Encino Motorcars, 136 S. Ct. at 2131 (Thomas, J..,

App-21

dissenting). But we may not disregard the Court’s

existing, binding precedent. See, e.g., Bosse ov.

Oklahoma, 137 S. Ct. 1, 1 (2016) (per curiam) (“It is

this Court’s prerogative alone to overrule one of its

precedents.” (internal quotation marks and brackets

omitted)); id. (“Our decisions remain binding

precedent until we see fit to reconsider them,

regardless of whether subsequent cases have raised

doubts about their continuing vitality.” (internal

quotation marks omitted)).!4

In sum, we are convinced that Congress intended

to exempt only salesmen selling cars, partsmen

servicing cars, and mechanics servicing cars. We agree

with Defendant that, under an _ expansive

interpretation of the literal category of a

“salesman ...primarily engaged in... servicing

automobiles,” the statute could be construed as

exempting service advisors. But in light of the

ordinary meaning of the exemption’s words and the

rule that we must interpret exemptions narrowly, we

find that interpretation implausible. We nevertheless

assume that Defendant’s interpretation creates an

ambiguity. Accordingly, we examine legislative

history below.

14 For the sake of judicial economy, we note that we would reach

the same ultimate holding—that the exemption does not

encompass service advisors—even if the rule of narrow

construction did not apply. Defendant's interpretation creates, at

most, an ambiguity. Because legislative history strongly suggests

that Congress did not intend to exempt service advisors, our

ultimate holding is the same, whether or not we apply the

principle of narrow construction.

App-22

B. Legislative History

As we have noted, in 1966, Congress enacted new

§ 213(b)(10), exempting from the _ overtime-

compensation requirement “any salesman, partsman,

or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or servicing

automobiles” at a dealership. During hearings before

subcommittees of the House and the Senate, the

National Automobile Dealership Association had

sought an overtime exemption for two _ specific

categories of employees: automobile salesmen and

mechanics.'5 According to the Association, automobile

salesmen and mechanics were well paid, and they

often worked unusual hours; accordingly, overtime

compensation would be both unnecessary and

challenging to calculate. 1965 House Hearings at 368-

69; 1965 Senate Hearings at 1237-38. The testimony

was not new. The Association had given similar

testimony in 1961, 1960, 1959, and 1957,!%in response

15 Minimum Wage-Hour Amendments: Hearings on H.R. 8259

Before the Gen. Subcomm. on Labor of the H. Comm. on Educ. &

Labor, 89th Cong. 366-77 (1965) (“1965 House Hearings’’) (statement

of Sam H. White, Chairman, Govt’! Relations Comm., Nat’! Auto. Dealers

Ass’n); Amendments to the Fair Labor Standards Act: Hearings

on S. 763 et al. Before the Subcomm. on Labor of the S. Comm. on

Labor & Pub. Welfare, 89th Cong. 1236-38 (1965) (“1965 Senate

Hearings”) (statement of Sam H. White, Chairman, Govt’l Relations

Comm., Nat’! Auto. Dealers Ass’n).

16 Amendments to the Fair Labor Standards Act: Hearings on S.

256 et al. Before the Subcomm. on Labor of the S. Comm. on Labor

& Pub. Welfare, 87th Cong. 175-82 (1961) (statement of S.E.

Kossman, Chairman, Nat'l Affairs Comm., Nat’] Auto. Dealers

Ass’n); Minimum Wage-Hour Legislation: Hearings Before the

Subcomm. on Labor Standards of the H. Comm. on Educ. &

Labor, 86th Cong. 1391-94 (1960) (“1960 House Hearings’)

(statement of William J. Cleveland, Director, Nat'l Auto. Dealers

App-23

to earlier proposals for the FLSA to cover dealerships’

employees. In sum, when the full Congress took up the

proposal, the automobile-dealership industry had

made clear its concerns about applying the overtime-

compensation requirement to two specific categories of

employees: automobile salesmen and mechanics.

The legislative history contains only one

probative discussion by members of Congress: a

debate in the Senate about whether to exempt

partsmen in addition to automobile salesmen and

mechanics. 112 Cong. Rec. 20,502-06 (1966). Everyone

agreed that automobile salesmen!’ and mechanics

Ass’n); To Amend the Fair Labor Standards Act: Hearings on S.

25 et al. Before the Subcomm. on Labor of the S. Comm. on Labor

& Pub. Welfare , 86th Cong. 205-14 (1959) (“1959 Senate

Hearings’) (statement of William J. Cleveland, Nat'l Auto.

Dealers Ass'n); Fair Labor Standards Act: Hearings Before a

Subcomm. of the H. Comm. on Educ. & Labor, 85th Cong. 251-77

(1957) (‘1957 House Hearings”) (statement of Frederick M.

Sutter, President, Nat'l Auto. Dealers Ass’n); Proposals to Extend

Coverage of Minimum Wage Protection: Hearings on S. 1135 et al.

Before the Subcomm. on Labor of the S. Comm. on Labor & Pub.

Welfare, 85th Cong. 113-33 (1957) (“1957 Senate Hearings”)

(statement of Frederick J. Bell, Rear Admiral USN (Ret.),

Executive Vice President, Nat'l] Auto. Dealers Ass'n); see also id.

at 1160-61 (letter dated Mar. 29, 1957, from the South Carolina

Automobile Dealers Association, expressing similar sentiments).

\7 Notably, the Senators implicitly assumed that “salesman”

referred to someone who sells cars. See 112 Cong. Rec. 20,504

(“[An amendment] would not affect the salesman. He can go out

and sell an Oldsmobile, a Pontiac, or a Buick all day long and all

night. He is not under any overtime.” (statement of Sen.

Yarborough)); id. (“The salesman tries to get people mainly after

their hours of work. In some cases a man will leave his job, get

his wife, and go to look at automobiles.” (statement of Sen.

Yarborough)); id. (“Salesmen .. . go out at unusual hours, trying

to earn commissions.” (statement of Sen. Bayh)). One

App-24

work irregular hours, sometimes away from the

dealership. See, e.g., id. at 20,504 (“Salesmen are a

little different breed of cats, because they go out at

unusual hours....” (statement of Sen. Bayh)); id.

(“My experience with automobiles has been that the

mechanic goes out and answers calls in the rural

areas.” (statement of Sen. Yarborough)). The debate

centered on whether the same was true of partsmen.

Some Senators thought that partsmen had to work

irregular hours and, accordingly, should also be

exempt. See, e.g., id. at 20,502 (“In many instances it

is essential that partsmen work longer hours or at

other than regular times, This is especially true in the

farm equipment business.... Because of these

factors, it would not be easy to place partsmen on a

time-clock basis and to compute overtime

compensation in an equitable manner.” (statement of

Sen. Bayh)); id. at 20,503 (“The partsman does occupy

a significant and unusual position in the agricultural

economy. He has to be available during the harvesting

season—and before and after, to a lesser extent—at all

hours of the day.” (statement of Sen. Mansfield)).

Other Senators thought that partsmen worked inside

commentator has interpreted a passage by Senator Javits as

implicitly mentioning service advisors as a form of salesman.

Note, Show Me the Money: On Whether Car Dealership Service

Advisors Are Entitled to or Exempt From Overtime Pay Under the

FLSA, 91 Notre Dame L. Rev. 1707, 1731 (Apr. 2016). We draw

the opposite inference from the transcript. Senator Javits noted

that “the mechanic and the salesman [are] subject to call at any

time that a fellow’s car broke down.” 112 Cong. Rec. 20,506. We

read that comment to mean simply that, when one’s car fails,

there are two options—fix it (via a mechanic) or replace it (via a

car salesman).

App-25

only and, accordingly, like all other ordinary

employees of a dealership, should not be exempt. See

id. at 20,504 (“The mechanics and the salesmen... do

not get overtime because their work is outside. . . . The

partsman works inside.” (statement of Sen.

Yarborough)); id. (“[A] partsman is an inside man. The

reason for exempting the salesmen and the mechanics

was the difficulty of their keeping regular hours.”

(statement of Sen. Yarborough)); id. at 20,505

(“[T]here is no excuse whatever for including

partsmen in the overtime exemption, because the

partsman, like the stenographer, would be working

inside.” (statement of Sen. Clark)). Nothing in the

legislative record suggests that Congress thought that

service advisors worked anything but ordinary

business hours—to the extent that Congress thought

about service advisors at all. See OOH at 314-17

(describing the work of service advisors without

anywhere suggesting that they worked unusual

hours).

The legislative history thus contains repeated,

detailed concerns about applying the overtime-

compensation requirement to automobile salesmen,

partsmen, and mechanics. By contrast, Defendant

does not direct us to any portion of the legislative

history that reveals a similar concern for applying the

overtime-compensation requirement to _ service

advisors, and we have found none. To the contrary, the

only references to service advisors that we have found

suggest that dealerships had no concern about

overtime compensation for service advisors.!®

18 See 1960 House Hearings at 1393 (testimony by a Ford dealer

from rural Louisiana, merely comparing the average pay at his

App-26

Viewed in light of the clear concerns about

overtime compensation for automobile salesmen,

partsmen, and mechanics, the legislative history’s

apparent silence on concerns about overtime pay for

service advisors strongly suggests that Congress did

not intend to exempt service advisors. If Congress

meant for the exemption to encompass service

advisors, we would expect that concern to be plain

from—or at least mentioned in—the legislative record

of the 1966 amendments.

In 1974, Congress amended paragraph (b)(10) to

its present-day form. 29 U.S.C. § 213(b)(10) (2016); 88

Stat. at 61. The law created new subparagraph

(b)(10)(A), which exempted “any salesman, partsman,

or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or servicing

automobiles, trucks, farm implements” and new

subparagraph (b)(10)(B), which exempted “any

salesman primarily engaged in selling trailers, boats,

or aircraft.”

Both the House and the Senate were provided

with written summaries of the revised exemption. In

the House, Representative Dent’s report described the

overall effect of the new § 213(b)(10)(A) & (B):

Provides an overtime exemption for any

salesmen primarily engaged in _ selling

dealership with the average pay at dealerships in New Orleans

for mechanics, painters, body repairmen, upholsterers, parts-

department men, and “service salesmen [service advisor®’”); 1959

Senate Hearings at 208 (same); 1957 House Hearings at 1188

(same); 1957 Senate Hearings at 1160-61 (letter from the South

Carolina Auto. Dealership Ass’n expressing no concern about

paying overtime to its employees other than automobile salesmen

and mechanics).

App-27

automobiles, trailers, trucks, farm

implements, boats, or aircraft if employed by

a nonmanufacturing establishment primarily

engaged in the business of selling such

vehicles to ultimate purchasers. Also provides

an overtime exemption for partsmen and

mechanics of automobile, truck, and farm

implement dealerships.

120 Cong. Rec. 8602 (1974) (emphasis added). That

summary makes clear that “salesman” applies only to

“selling” goods. There is no mention of salesmen

primarily engaged in servicing automobiles, even

though the literal terms of the exemption could

encompass that category. Instead, the summary

applied only the verb “selling” to the subject

“salesman.”

In the Senate, Senator Williams’ report described

the changes between the then-existing exemption and

the new § 213(b)(10)(A) & (B):

[A]mends_ section 13(b)(10) relating to

salesmen, partsmen, and mechanics by

repealing the overtime exemption for

partsmen and mechanics in

nonmanufacturing establishments primarily

engaged in selling trailers; by repealing the

overtime exemption for partsmen and

mechanics in nonmanufacturing

establishments engaged in selling aircraft;

and by providing an overtime exemption for

salesmen engaged in the sale of boats.

120 Cong. Rec. 8763 (1974). That summary also makes

clear that “salesman” applies only to “selling” goods.

Reviewing the words of the statute literally, as

App-28

Defendant urges us to do, the amendment also

repealed the exemption for salesmen primarily

engaged in servicing trailers and aircraft. But the

summary does not mention such an effect, strongly

suggesting that Congress did not think that

“salesman” connected to “servicing.” Thus, the

summaries of the 1974 amendments before the House

and the Senate both understood the exemption to

encompass only salesmen “selling,” not salesmen

“servicing.”

So, too, did the National Automobile Dealers

Association. During hearings before subcommittees of

the House and the Senate, the Association submitted

a prepared statement that urged Congress not to

change § 213(b)(10) as it applied to salesmen,

partsmen, and mechanics at automobile dealerships.!®

The statement explained that Congress’ 1966 creation

of the exemption in § 213(b)(1) “was a recognition of

the fact that these categories of employees work long

hours during peak periods, but receive high

commissions, and, accordingly should not be subject to

overtime requirements.” 1970 House Hearings at 109,

259. To prove the high-pay assertion, the statement

then detailed the average earnings of “all car and

truck salesmen,” “mechanics,” and “partsmen.” Id.

(emphasis added). To prove that salesmen, mechanics,

and partsmen work long hours, the statement

‘9 To Amend the Fair Labor Standards Act: Hearings on H.R.

10948 and H.R. 17596 Before the Gen. Subcomm. on Labor of the

H. Comm. on Educ. & Labor, 91st Cong. 109-11, 259-61 (1970) (“1970

House Hearings”); Fair Labor Standards Amendments of 1971:

Hearings on S. 1861 and S. 2259 Before the Subcomm. on Labor

of the Senate Comm. on Labor & Pub. Welfare, 92nd Cong. 789-

94 (1971) (“1971 Senate Hearings”).

App-29

described each position. The paragraph describing

salesmen plainly refers to persons who sell cars, not to

service advisors. Jd. The statement summarized:

The primary purpose of minimum wage and

overtime legislation is to take care of people

who receive substandard salaries. As already

noted, automobile salesmen average $10,036

per year, automobile mechanics average

$5.00 per hour and partsmen average $3.42

per hour.

Id. (emphasis added).

As with the 1966 amendments, Defendant has not

pointed us to any passage of the legislative history

suggesting that Congress intended to exempt service

advisors, and we have found none. To the contrary, the

only reference to service advisors that we have found

suggests that Congress had no concern about overtime

compensation for service advisors.”°

In sum, the legislative history of the 1966

amendments and of the 1974 amendments reveal clear

concerns with applying the overtime-compensation

requirement to exactly three categories of a

dealership’s employees: automobile salesmen,

partsmen, and mechanics. The extensive legislative

record—tens of thousands of pages spanning a decade

and a half—contains hardly a mention of service

advisors, and the few references that exist display no

20 We found only one portion of the legislative record that

mentions a “service adviser.” 1971 Senate Hearings at 780-81.

That testimony merely described what a service advisor does; it

does not suggest that the exemption applied to service advisors.

Id.

App-30

concern about overtime compensation for service

advisors. We are firmly persuaded that Congress did

not intend to exempt service advisors.

C. Conclusion

After a thorough, de novo review of congressional

intent, we hold that the exemption in § 213(b)(10)(A)

does not encompass service advisors. We acknowledge

that our holding conflicts with published decisions by

the Fourth and Fifth Circuits and by the Supreme

Court of Montana. Walton v. Greenbrier Ford, Inc., 370

F.3d 446 (4th Cir. 2004); Brennan v. Deel Motors, Inc.,

475 F.2d 1095 (5th Cir. 1973); Thompson v. J.C.

Billion, Inc., 294 P.3d 397 (Mont. 2013). We are

unpersuaded by the analysis of those decisions for the

reasons stated above and for the reasons stated in our

earlier opinion (except those reasons concerning

deference to the agency). Navarro, 780 F.3d at 1274-

77.

This opinion addresses only Plaintiffs’ federal

claim for overtime compensation. For the reasons

given in our earlier opinion, id. at 1270 n.2, we affirm

the dismissal of all other federal claims, and we

reverse the dismissal of the state-law claims.

AFFIRMED in part, REVERSED in part, and

REMANDED. Costs on appeal awarded to Plaintiffs-

Appellants.

App-31

Appendix B

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 15-415

ENCINO MOTORCARS, LLC,

Petitioner,

Vv.

HECTOR NAVARRO, et al.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

Decided: June 20, 2016

OPINION

JUSTICE KENNEDY delivered the opinion of the

Court.

This case addresses whether a federal statute

requires payment of increased compensation to

certain automobile dealership employees for overtime

work. The federal statute in question is the Fair Labor

Standards Act (FLSA), 29 U.S.C. § 201 et seq., enacted

in 1938 to “protect all covered workers from

substandard wages and oppressive working hours.”

Barrentine v. Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc., 450

U.S. 728, 739 (1981). Among its other provisions, the

App-32

FLSA _ requires employers to pay overtime

compensation to covered employees who work more

than 40 hours in a given week. The rate of overtime

pay must be “not less than one and one-half times the

regular rate” of the employee's pay. § 207(a).

Five current and former service advisors brought

this suit alleging that the automobile dealership

where they were employed was required by the FLSA

to pay them overtime wages. The dealership contends

that the position and duties of a service advisor bring

these employees within § 213(b)(10)(A), which

establishes an exemption from the FLSA overtime

provisions for certain employees engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles. The case turns on the

interpretation of this exemption.

I

A

Automobile dealerships in many communities not

only sell vehicles but also sell repair and maintenance

services. Among the employees involved in providing

repair and maintenance services are service advisors,

partsmen, and mechanics. Service advisors interact

with customers and sell them services for their

vehicles. A service advisor’s duties may include

meeting customers; listening to their concerns about

their cars; suggesting repair and maintenance

services; selling new accessories or replacement parts;

recording service orders; following up with customers

as the services are performed (for instance, if new

problems are discovered); and explaining the repair

and maintenance work when customers return for

their vehicles. See App. 40-41; see also Brennan v. Deel

Motors, Inc., 475 F.2d 1095, 1096 (CA5 1973); 29 CFR

App-33

§ 779.372(c)(4) (1971). Partsmen obtain the vehicle

parts needed to perform repair and maintenance and

provide those parts to the mechanics. See

§ 779.372(c)(2). Mechanics perform the actual repair

and maintenance work. See § 779.372(c)(3).

In 1961, Congress enacted a blanket exemption

from the FLSA’s minimum wage and overtime

provisions for all automobile dealership employees.

Fair Labor Standards Amendments of 1961, § 9, 75

Stat. 73. In 1966, Congress repealed that broad

exemption and replaced it with a narrower one. The

revised statute did not exempt dealership employees

from the minimum wage requirement. It also limited

the exemption from the overtime compensation

requirement to cover only certain employees—in

particular, “any salesman, partsman, or mechanic

primarily engaged in selling or servicing automobiles,

trailers, trucks, farm implements, or aircraft” at a

covered dealership. Fair Labor Standards

Amendments of 1966, § 209, 80 Stat. 836. Congress

authorized the Department of Labor to “promulgate

necessary rules, regulations, or orders” with respect to

this new provision. § 602, id., at 844.

The Department exercised that authority in 1970

and issued a regulation that defined the statutory

terms “salesman,” “partsman,” and “mechanic.” 35

Fed. Reg. 5896 (1970) (codified at 29 CFR

§ 779.372(c)). The Department intended its regulation

as a mere interpretive rule explaining its own views,

rather than a legislative rule with the force and effect

of law; and so the Department did not issue the

regulation through the notice-and-comment

procedures of the Administrative Procedure Act. See

App-34

35 Fed. Reg. 5856; see also 5 U.S.C. § 553(b)(A)

(exempting interpretive rules from notice and

comment).

The 1970 interpretive regulation defined

“salesman” to mean “an employee who is employed for

the purpose of and is primarily engaged in making

sales or obtaining orders or contracts for sale of the

vehicles or farm implements which the establishment

is primarily engaged in _ selling.” 29 CFR

§ 779.372(c)(1) (1971). By limiting the statutory term

to salesmen who sell vehicles or farm implements, the

regulation excluded service advisors from the

exemption, since a service advisor sells repair and

maintenance services but not the vehicle itself. The

regulation made that exclusion explicit in a later

subsection: “Employees variously described as service

manager, service writer, service advisor, or service

salesman... are not exempt under [the statute]. This

is true despite the fact that such an employee’s

principal function may be disagnosing [sic] the

mechanical condition of vehicles brought in for repair,

writing up work orders for repairs authorized by the

customer, assigning the work to various employees

and directing and checking on the work of mechanics.”

§ 779.372(c)(4).

Three years later, the Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit rejected the Department’s conclusion

that service advisors are not covered by the statutory

exemption. Deel Motors, supra. Certain District

Courts followed that precedent. See Yenney v. Cass

County Motors, 81 CCH LC 4 33,506 (Neb. 1977);

Brennan v. North Bros. Ford, Inc., 76 CCH LC

{33,247 (ED Mich. 1975), aff'd sub nom. Dunlop v.

App-35

North Bros. Ford, Inc., 529 F.2d 524 (CA6 1976)

(table); Brennan v. Import Volkswagen, Inc., 81 CCH

LC ¥ 33,522 (Kan. 1975).

In the meantime, Congress amended the

statutory provision by enacting its present text, which

now sets out the exemption in two subsections. Fair

Labor Standards Amendments of 1974, § 14, 88 Stat.

65. The first subsection is at issue in this case. It

exempts “any salesman, partsman, or mechanic

primarily engaged in selling or servicing automobiles,

trucks, or farm implements” at a covered dealership.

29 U.S.C. § 213(b)(10)(A). The second subsection

exempts “any salesman primarily engaged in selling

trailers, boats, or aircraft” at a covered dealership.

§ 213(b)(10)(B). The statute thus exempts certain

employees engaged in servicing automobiles, trucks,

or farm implements, but not similar employees

engaged in servicing trailers, boats, or aircraft.

In 1978, the Department issued an opinion letter

departing from its previous position. Taking a position

consistent with the cases decided by the courts, the

opinion letter stated that service advisors could be

exempt under § 213(b)(10)(A). Dept. of Labor, Wage &

Hour Div., Opinion Letter No. 1520 (WH-467) (1978),

[1978-1981 Transfer Binder] CCH Wages-Hours

Administrative Rulings 31,207. The letter

acknowledged that the Department’s new policy

“represent[ed] a change from the position set forth in

section 779.372(c)(4)” of its 1970 regulation. In 1987,

the Department confirmed its 1978 interpretation by

amending its Field Operations Handbook to clarify

that service advisors should be treated as exempt

under § 213(b)(10)(A). It observed that some courts

App-36

had interpreted the statutory exemption to cover

service advisors; and it stated that, as a result of those

decisions, it would “no longer deny the [overtime]

exemption for such employees.” Dept. of Labor, Wage

& Hour Div., Field Operations Handbook, Insert No.

1757, 24L04-4(k)(Oct. 20, 1987), online at

https://perma.cc/SbGHD-KCJJ (all Internet materials

as last visited June 16, 2016). The Department again

acknowledged that its new position represented a

change from its 1970 regulation and stated that the

regulation would “be revised as soon as is practicable.”

Ibid.

Twenty-one years later, in 2008, the Department

at last issued a notice of proposed rulemaking. 73 Fed.

Reg. 43654. The notice observed that every court that

had considered the question had held service advisors

to be exempt under § 213(b)(10)(A), and that the

Department itself had treated service advisors as

exempt since 1987. Id., at 43658-43659. The

Department proposed to revise its regulations to

accord with existing practice by interpreting the

exemption in § 213(b)(10)(A) to cover service advisors.

In 2011, however, the Department changed course

yet again. It announced that it was “not proceeding

with the proposed rule.” 76 Fed. Reg. 18833. Instead,

the Department completed its 2008 notice-and-

comment rulemaking by issuing a final rule that took

the opposite position from the proposed rule. The new

final rule followed the original 1970 regulation and

interpreted the statutory term “salesman” to mean

only an employee who sells automobiles, trucks, or

farm implements. /d., at 18859 (codified at 29 CFR

§ 779.372(c)(1)).

App-37

The Department gave little explanation for its

decision to abandon its decades-old practice of treating

service advisors as exempt under § 213(b)(10)(A). It

was also less than precise when it issued its final rule.

As described above, the 1970 regulation included a

separate subsection stating in express terms that

service advisors “are not exempt” under the relevant

provision. 29 CFR §779.372(c)(4) (1971). In

promulgating the 2011 regulation, however, the

Department eliminated that separate subsection.

According to the United States, this change appears to

have been “an inadvertent mistake in drafting.” Tr. of

Oral Arg. 50.

B

Petitioner is a Mercedes-Benz automobile

dealership in the Los Angeles area. Respondents are

or were employed by petitioner as service advisors.

They assert that petitioner required them to be at

work from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. at least five days per week,

and to be available for work matters during breaks

and while on vacation. App. 39-40. Respondents were

not paid a fixed salary or an hourly wage for their

work; instead, they were paid commissions on the

services they sold. Jd., at 40-41.

Respondents sued petitioner in the United States

District Court for the Central District of California,

alleging that petitioner violated the FLSA by failing to

pay them overtime compensation when they worked

more than 40 hours in a week. /d., at 42-44. Petitioner

moved to dismiss, arguing that the FLSA overtime

provisions do not apply to respondents because service

advisors are covered by the statutory exemption in

App-38

§ 213(b)(10)(A). The District Court agreed and granted

the motion to dismiss.

The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

reversed in relevant part. It construed the statute by

deferring under Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural

Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984),

to the interpretation set forth by the Department in

its 2011 regulation. Applying that deference, the

Court of Appeals held that service advisors are not

covered by the § 213(b)(10)(A) exemption. 780 F.3d

1267 (2015). The Court of Appeals recognized,

however, that its decision conflicted with cases from a

number of other courts. J/d., at 1274 (citing, inter alia,

Walton v. Greenbrier Ford, Inc., 370 F.3d 446 (CA4

2004); Deel Motors, 475 F.2d 1095; Thompson v. J. C.

Billion, Inc., 368 Mont. 299, 294 P. 3d 397 (2013)).

This Court granted certiorari to resolve the question.

577 U.S. __ (2016).

II

A

The full text of the statutory subsection at issue

states that the overtime provisions of the FLSA shall

not apply to:

“any salesman, partsman, or mechanic

primarily engaged in selling or servicing

automobiles, trucks, or farm implements, if

he is employed by a nonmanufacturing

establishment primarily engaged in the

business of selling such vehicles. or

implements to ultimate purchasers.”

§ 213(b)(10)¢A).

App-39

The question presented is whether this exemption

should be interpreted to include service advisors. To

resolve that question, it is necessary to determine

what deference, if any, the courts must give to the

Department's 2011 interpretation.

In the usual course, when an agency is authorized

by Congress to issue regulations and promulgates a

regulation interpreting a statute it enforces, the

interpretation receives deference if the statute is

ambiguous and if the agency's interpretation is

reasonable. This principle is implemented by the two-

step analysis set forth in Chevron. At the first step, a

court must determine whether Congress has “directly

spoken to the precise question at issue.” 467 U.S., at

842. If so, “that is the end of the matter; for the court,

as well as the agency, must give effect to the

unambiguously expressed intent of Congress.” Jd., at

842-843. If not, then at the second step the court must

defer to the agency’s interpretation if it is

“reasonable.” Jd., at 844.

A premise of Chevron is that when Congress

grants an agency the authority to administer a statute

by issuing regulations with the force of law, it

presumes the agency will use that authority to resolve

ambiguities in the statutory scheme. See id., at 843-

844; United States v. Mead Corp., 533 U.S. 218, 229-

230 (2001). When Congress authorizes an agency to

proceed through notice-and-comment rulemaking,

that “relatively formal administrative procedure” is a

“very good indicator” that Congress intended the

regulation to carry the force of law, so Chevron should

apply. Mead Corp., supra, at 229-230. But Chevron

deference is not warranted where the regulation is

App-40

“procedurally defective’—that is, where the agency

errs by failing to follow the correct procedures in

issuing the regulation. 533 U.S., at 227; cf. Long

Island Care at Home, Lid. v. Coke, 551 U.S. 158, 174-

176 (2007) (rejecting challenge to procedures by which

regulation was issued and affording Chevron

deference). Of course, a party might be foreclosed in

some instances from challenging the procedures used

to promulgate a given rule. Cf, eg. JEM

Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 22 F.3d 320, 324-326 (CADC

1994); cf. also Auer v. Robbins, 519 U.S. 452, 458-459

(1997) (party cannot challenge agency’s failure to

amend its rule in light of changed circumstances

without first seeking relief from the agency). But

where a proper challenge is raised to the agency

procedures, and those procedures are “efective, a

court should not accord Chevron deference to the

agency interpretation. Respondents do not contest the

manner in which petitioner has challenged the agency

procedures here, and so this opinion assumes without

deciding that the challenge was proper.

One of the basic procedural requirements of

administrative rulemaking is that an agency must

give adequate reasons for its decisions. The agenc

“must examine the relevant data and articulate a

satisfactory explanation for its action including a

rational connection between the facts found and the

choice made.” Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Assn. of United

States, Inc. v. State Farm Mut. Automobile Ins. Co.,

463 U.S. 29, 43 (1983) (internal quotation marks

omitted). That requirement is satisfied when the

agency's explanation is clear enough that its “path

may reasonably be discerned.” Bowman Transp., Inc.

v. Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc., 419 U.S. 281,

App-41

286 (1974). But where the agency has failed to provide

even that minimal level of analysis, its action is

arbitrary and capricious and so cannot carry the force

of law. See 5 U.S.C. § 706(2)(A); State Farm, supra, at

42-43.

Agencies are free to change their existing policies

as long as they provide a reasoned explanation for the

change. See, e.g., National Cable &

Telecommunications Assn. v. Brand X Internet

Services, 545 U.S. 967, 981-982 (2005); Chevron, 467

U.S., at 863-864. When an agency changes its existing

position, it “need not always provide a more detailed

justification than what would suffice for a new policy

created on a blank slate.” FCC v. Fox Television

Stations, Inc., 556 U.S. 502, 515 (2009). But the

agency must at least “display awareness that it is

changing position” and “show that there are good

reasons for the new policy.” Ibid. (emphasis deleted).

In explaining its changed position, an agency must

also be cognizant that long standing policies may have

“engendered serious reliance interests that must be

taken into account.” Ibid.; see also Smiley v. Citibank

(South Dakota), N. A., 517 U.S. 735, 742 (1996). “In

such cases it is not that further justification is

demanded by the mere fact of policy change; but that

a reasoned explanation is needed for disregarding

facts and circumstances that underlay or were

engendered by the prior pclicy.” Fox Television

Stations, supra, at 515-516. It follows that an

“fu]nexplained inconsistency” in agency policy is “a

reason for holding an interpretation to be an arbitrary

and capricious change from agency practice.” Brand X,

supra, at 981. An arbitrary and capricious regulation

App-42

of this sort is itself unlawful and receives no Chevron

deference. See Mead Corp., supra, at 227.

B

Applying those principles here, the unavoidable

conclusion is that the 2011 regulation was issued

without the reasoned explanation that was required in

light of the Department’s change in position and the

significant reliance interests involved. In

promulgating the 2011 regulation, the Department

offered barely any explanation. A summary discussion

may suffice in other circumstances, but here—in

particular because of decades of industry reliance on

the Department’s prior policy—the explanation fell

short of the agency’s duty to explain why it deemed it

necessary to overrule its previous position.

The retail automobile and truck dealership

industry had relied since 1978 on the Department’s

position that service advisors are exempt from the

FLSA’s overtime pay requirements. See National

Automobile Dealers Association, Comment Letter on

Proposed Rule Updating Regulations Issued Under

the Fair Labor Standards Act (Sept. 26, 2008), online

at https://www.regulations.gov/#!documentDetail;D=

WHD-2008-0003-0038. Dealerships and_ service

advisors negotiated and structured their

compensation plans against this background

understanding. Requiring dealerships to adapt to the

Department’s new position could necessitate systemic,

significant changes to the dealerships’ compensation

arrangements. See Brief for National Automobile

Dealers Association et al. as Amici Curiae 13-14.

Dealerships whose’ service advisors are not

compensated in accordance with the Department’s

App-43

new views could also face substantial FLSA liability,

see 29 U.S.C. § 216(b), even if this risk of liability may

be diminished in some cases by the existence of a

separate FLSA exemption for certain employees paid

on a commission basis, see § 207(i), and even if a

dealership could defend against retroactive liability by

showing it relied in good faith on the prior agency

position, see § 259(a). In light of this background, the

Department needed a more reasoned explanation for

its decision to depart from its existing enforcement

policy.

The Department said that, in reaching its

decision, it had “carefully considered all of the

comments, analyses, and arguments made for and

against the proposed changes.” 76 Fed. Reg. 18832.

And it noted that, since 1978, it had treated service

advisors as exempt in certain circumstances. Jd., at

18838. It also noted the comment from the National

Automobile Dealers Association stating that the

industry had relied on that interpretation. Ibid.

But when it came to explaining the “good reasons

for the new policy,” Fox Television Stations, supra, at

515, the Department said almost nothing. It stated

only that it would not treat service advisors as exempt

because “the statute does not include such positions

and the Department recognizes that there are

circumstances under which the requirements for the

exemption would not be met.” 76 Fed. Reg. 18838. It

continued that it “believes that this interpretation is

reasonable” and “sets forth the appropriate approach.”

Ibid. Although an agency may justify its policy choice

by explaining why that policy “is more consistent with

statutory language” than alternative policies, Long

App-44

Island Care at Home, 551 U.S., at 175 (internal

quotation marks omitted), the Department did not

analyze or explain why the statute should be

interpreted to exempt dealership employees who sell

vehicles but not dealership employees who sell

services (that is, service advisors). And though several

public comments supported the Department's reading

of the statute, the Department did not explain what (if

anything) it found persuasive in those comments

beyond the few statements above.

It is not the role of the courts to speculate on

reasons that might have supported an agency's

decision. “[W]e may not supply a reasoned basis for the

agency's action that the agency itself has not given.”

State Farm, 463 U.S., at 43 (citing SEC v. Chenery

Corp., 332 U.S. 194, 196 (1947)). Whatever potential

reasons the Department might have given, the agency

in fact gave almost no reasons at all. In light of the

serious reliance interests at stake, the Department's

conclusory statements do not suffice to explain its

decision. See Fox Television Stations, 556 U.S., at 515-

516. This lack of reasoned explication for a regulation

that is inconsistent with the Department's

longstanding earlier position results in a rule that

cannot carry the force of law. See 5 U.S.C. § 706(2)(A);

State Farm, supra, at 42-43. It follows that this

regulation does not receive Chevron deference in the

interpretation of the relevant statute.

zxk*x*

For the reasons above, § 213(b)(10)(A) must be

construed without placing controlling weight on the

Department’s 2011 regulation. Because the decision

below relied on Chevron deference to this regulation,

App-45

it is appropriate to remand for the Court of Appeals to

interpret the statute in the first instance. Cf. Mead,

533 U.S., at 238-239. The judgment of the Court of

Appeals is vacated, and the case is remanded for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

It is so ordered.

App-46

JUSTICE GINSBURG with whom JUSTICE

SOTOMAYOR joins, concurring.

I agree in full that, in issuing its 2011 rule, the

Department of Labor did not satisfy its basic

obligation to explain “that there are good reasons for

[a] new policy.” FCC v. Fox Television Stations, Inc.,

556 U.S. 502, 515 (2009). The Department may have

adequate reasons to construe the Fair Labor

Standards Act automobile-dealership exemption as it

did. The 2011 rulemaking tells us precious little,

however, about what those reasons are.!

I write separately to stress that nothing in today’s

opinion disturbs well-established law. In particular,

where an agency has departed from a prior position,

there is no “heightened standard” of arbitrary-and-

1 Unlike Justice Thomas, | am not persuaded that, sans

Chevron, the Ninth Circuit should conclude on remand that

service advisors are categorically exempt from hours regulations.

As that court previously explained, “[s]ervice advisors may be

‘salesmen’ in a generic sense, but they [may fall outside the

exemption because they] do not personally sell cars and they do

not personally service cars.” 780 F.3d 1267, 1274 (2015).

Moreover, in its briefing before this Court, the Department of

Labor responded to the argument that “the exemption’s

application to a ‘partsman” “confirm|s) that a service advisor is

a salesman primarily engaged in servicing automobiles.” Post, at

3-4 (Thomas, J, dissenting). See Brief for United States as Amicus

Curiae 22-23 (maintaining that partsmen, unlike service

advisors, actually engage in maintenance and repair work); Brief

for Respondents 11 (contending that partsmen “ge[t] their hands

dirty” by “work[ing] as a mechanic’s right-hand man or woman’);

id., at 32-35 (cataloguing descriptions of partsmen

responsibilities drawn from occupational handbooks and training

manuals). The Court appropriately leaves the proper ranking of

service advisors to the Court of Appeals in the first instance.

App-47

capricious review. Id., at 514. See also ante, at 9. An

agency must “display awareness that it is changing

position” and “show that there are good reasons for the

new policy.” Fox, 556 U.S., at 515 (emphasis deleted).

“But it need not demonstrate to a court’s satisfaction

that the reasons for the new policy are better than the

reasons for the old one; it suffices that the new policy

is permissible under the statute, that there are good

reasons for it, and that the agency believes it to be

better, which the conscious change of course

adequately indicates.” Ibid.

The Court’s bottom line remains unaltered:

“{U]nexplained inconsistency’ in agency policy is ‘a

reason for holding an interpretation to be an arbitrary

and capricious change from agency practice.” Ante, at

10 (quoting National Cable & Telecommunications

Assn. v. Brand X Internet Services, 545 U.S. 967, 981

(2005)). Industry reliance may spotlight the

inadequacy of an agency’s explanation. See ante, at 10

(“decades of industry reliance” make “summary

discussion” inappropriate). But reliance does not

overwhelm good reasons for a policy change. Even if

the Department’s changed position would “necessitate

systemic, significant changes to the dealerships’

compensation arrangements,” ante, at 10, the

Department would not be disarmed from determining

that the benefits of overtime coverage outweigh those

costs.2 “If the action rests upon...an exercise of

2 If the Department decides to reissue the 2011 rule, I doubt

that reliance interests would pose an insurmountable obstacle.

As the Court acknowledges, ante, at 11, an affirmative defense in

the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) protects regulated parties

against retroactive liability for actions taken in good-faith

reliance on superseded agency guidance, 29 U.S.C. § 259(a). And

App-48

judgment in an area which Congress has entrusted to

the agency|,] of course it must not be set aside because

the reviewing court might have made a different

determination were it empowered to do so.” SEC uv.

Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. 80, 94 (1943).

a separate FLSA exemption covers many service advisors: retail

or service workers who receive at least half of their pay on

commission, so long as their regular rate of pay is more than 1%

times the minimum wage. Ante, at 11 (citing § 207()); see Brief

for Petitioner 13, n. 4 (many service advisors are paid on a

commission basis). Thus, the cost of the Department’s policy shift

may be considerably less than the dealerships project. Finally, |

note, the extent to which the Department is obliged to address

reliance will be affected by the thoroughness of public comments

it receives on the issue. In response to its 2008 proposal, the

Department received only conclusory references to industry

reliance interests. See antec, at 10 (citing comment from Nationa]

Automobile Dealers Association). An agency cannot be faulted for

failing to discuss at length matters only cursorily raised before it.

App-49

JUSTICE THOMAS, with whom JUSTICE

ALITO joins, dissenting.

The Court granted this case to decide whether an

exemption under the Fair Labor Standards Act

(FLSA), 29 U.S.C. § 201 et seq., “requires payment of

increased compensation to certain automobile

dealership employees”—-known as service advisors—

"for overtime work.” Ante, at 1; see also ante, at 2, 7.

The majority declines to resolve that question.

Instead, after explaining why the Court owes no

deference to the Department of Labor’s regulation

purporting to interpret this provision, see Chevron

U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc.,

467 U.S. 837, 843 (1984), the majority leaves it “for the

Court of Appeals to interpret the statute in the first

instance.” Ante, at 12.

I agree with the majority's conclusion that we owe

no Chevron deference to the Department's position

because “deference is not warranted where [a]

regulation is ‘procedurally defective.” Ante, at 8. But I

disagree with its ultimate decision to punt on the issue

before it. We have an “obligation ...to decide the

merits of the question presented.” CBOCS West, Inc.

v. Humphries, 553 U.S. 442, 472 (2008) (Thomas, J.,

dissenting). We need not wade into the murky waters

of Chevron deference to decide whether the Ninth

Circuit's reading of the statute was correct. We must

instead examine the statutory text. That text reveals

that service advisors are salesmen primarily engaged

in the selling of services for automobiles. Accordingly,

I would reverse the Ninth Circuit’s judgment.

Federal law requires overtime pay for certain

employees who work more than 40 hours per week.

App-50

§ 207(a)(2)(C). But the FLSA exempts various

categories of employees from this’ overtime

requirement. § 213. The question before the Court is

whether the following exemption encompasses service

advisors:

“The provisions of section 207 of this title

shall not apply with respect to—

“(10)(A) any salesman, partsman, or

mechanic primarily engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles, trucks, or farm

implements, if he is employed by a

nonmanufacturing establishment primarily

engaged in the business of selling such

vehicles or implements to _ ultimate

purchasers.” § 213(b).

I start with the uncontroversial notion that a

service advisor is a “salesman.” The FLSA does not

define the term “salesman,” so “we give the term its

ordinary meaning.” Taniguchi v. Kan Pacific Saipan,

Ltd., 566 U.S. , (2012) (slip op., at 5). A

“salesman” is someone who sells goods or services. 14

Oxford English Dictionary 391(2d ed. 1989) (“[a] man

whose business it is to sell goods or conduct sales”);

Random House Dictionary of the English Language

1262 (1966) (Random House) (“a man who sells goods,

services, etc.”). Service advisors, whose role it is to

“interact with customers and sell them services for

their vehicles,” ante, at 2, are plainly “salesm[e]n.” See

tbid. (cataloguing sales-related duties of service

advisors).

A service advisor, however, is not “primarily

engaged in selling... automobiles.” § 213¢b)(10)(A).

App-51

On the contrary, a service advisor is a “salesman” who

sells servicing solutions. Ante, at 2. So the exemption

applies only if it covers not only those salesmen

primarily engaged in selling automobiles but also

those salesmen primarily engaged in servicing

automobiles.

The exemption’s structure confirms that salesmen

could do both. The exemption contains three nouns

(“salesman, partsman, or mechanic”) and two gerunds

(“selling or servicing”). The three nouns are connected

by the disjunctive “or,” as are the gerunds. So unless

context dictates otherwise, a salesman can either be

engaged in selling or servicing automobiles. Cf. Reiter

v. Sonotone Corp., 442 U.S. 330, 339 (1979).

Context does not dictate otherwise. A salesman,

namely, one who sells servicing solutions, can be

“primarily engaged in...servicing automobiles.”

§ 213(b)(10)(A). The FLSA does not define the term

“servicing,” but its ordinary meaning includes both

“It]he action of maintaining or repairing a motor

vehicle” and “the action of providing a service.” 15

Oxford English Dictionary 39; see also Random House

1304 (defining “service” to mean “the providing...

of...activities required by the _ public, § as

maintenance, repair, etc.”). A service advisor’s selling

of service solutions fits both definitions. The service

advisor is the customer’s liaison for purposes of

deciding what parts are necessary to maintain or

repair a vehicle, and therefore is primarily engaged in

“the action of maintaining or repairing a motor

vehicle” or “the action of providing a service” for an

automobile.

App-52

Other features of the exemption confirm that a

service advisor is a salesman primarily engaged in

servicing automobiles. Consider the exemption’s

application to a “partsman.” Like a service advisor, a

partsman neither sells vehicles nor repairs vehicles

himself. See 29 CFR § 779.372(c)(2) (2015) (defining

“partsman” as “any employee employed for the

purpose of and primarily engaged in requisitioning,

stocking, and dispensing parts”). For the provision to

exempt partsmen, then, the phrase “primarily

engaged in... servicing” must cover some employees

who do not themselves perform repair or maintenance.

So “servicing” refers not only to the physical act of

repairing or maintaining a vehicle but also to acts

integral to the servicing process more generally.

Respondents’ contrary contentions are

unavailing. They first invoke the distributive canon:

“Where a sentence contains several antecedents and

several consequents,” the distributive canon instructs

courts to “read [those several terms] distributively and

apply the words to the subjects which, by context, they

seem most properly to relate.” 2A N. Singer & S.

Singer, Sutherland on Statutory Construction § 47.26,

on p. 448 (rev. 7th ed. 2014). Respondents accordingly

maintain that 29 U.S.C. § 213(b)(10)(A) exempts only

salesmen primarily engaged in selling automobiles.

Brief for Respondents 20-26. But the distributive

canon is less helpful in cases such as this because the

antecedents and consequents cannot be readily

matched on a one-to-one basis. Here, there are three

nouns to be matched with only two gerunds, so the

canon does not overcome the exemption’s plain

meaning. Perhaps respondents might have a better

argument if the statute exempted “salesman or

App-53

mechanics who primarily engage in selling or

servicing automobiles.” In such a case, one might

assume that Congress meant the nouns and gerunds

to match on a one-to-one basis, and the distributive

canon could be utilized to determine how the matching

should occur. But that is not the statute before us. For

the reasons explained, supra, at 3-4, the plain

meaning of the various terms in the exemption

establish that the term “salesman” is not limited to

only those who sell automobiles. It also extends to

those “primarily engaged in... servicing

automobiles.” § 213(b)(10)(A).

Respondents also resist this natural reading of

the exemption by invoking the made-up canon that

courts must narrowly construe the FLSA exemptions.

Brief for Respondents 41-42. The Ninth Circuit agreed

with respondents on this score. 780 F.3d 1267, 1271-

1272, n. 3 (2015). The court should not do so again on

remand. We have declined to apply that canon on two

recent occasions, one of which also required the Court

to parse the meaning of an exemption in § 213.

Christopher v. SmithKline Beecham Corp., 567 U.S.

, n. 21 (2012) (slip op., at 19-20, n. 21); see

aleo Sandifer v. United States Steel Corp., 571 U.S.

, n. 7 (2014) (slip op., at 11, n. 7). There is no

basis to infer that Congress means anything beyond

what a statute plainly says simply because the

legislation in question could be classified as

“remedial.” See Scalia, Assorted Canards of

Contemporary Legal Analysis, 40 Case W. Res. L. Rev.

581, 581-586 (1990).I[Indeed, this canon appears to

“res[t] on an elemental misunderstanding of the

legislative process,” viz., “that Congress intend[s]

statutes to extend as far as possible in service of a

App-54

singular objective.” Brief for Chamber of Commerce of

the United States of America et al. as Amici Curiae 7.

x*x**

For the foregoing reasons, I would hold that the

FLSA exemption set out in § 213(b)(10)(A) covers the

service advisors in this case. Service advisors are

“primarily engaged in...servicing automobiles,”

given their integral role in selling and providing

vehicle services. Accordingly, I would reverse the

judgment of the Ninth Circuit.

App-55

Appendix C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 13-55323

HECTOR NAVARRO; ANTHONY PINKINS; KEVIN MALONE;

AND REUBEN CASTRO,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

ENCINO MOTORCARS, LLC, ERRONEOUSLY SUED AS

MERCEDES BENZ OF ENCINO, A CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellee.

Argued: February 11, 2015

Filed: March 24, 2015

Before: Susan P. Graber and

Kim McLane Wardlaw, Circuit Judges,

and James C. Mahan,” District Judge.

OPINION

GRABER, Circuit Judge:

We consider here a question of first impression for

our circuit: Are “service advisors” who work at a car

* The Honorable James C. Mahan, United States District Judge

for the District of Nevada. sitting by designation.

App-56

dealership exempt from the overtime pay

requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

of 1938, 29 U.S.C. §§ 201-219, under 29 U.S.C.

§ 213(b)(10)(A), which exempts “any salesman,

partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles”? Reviewing de novo, Fortyune

uv. City of Lomita, 766 F.3d 1098, 1101 (9th Cir. 2014),

petition for cert. filed, _U.S.L.W._ (U.S. Jan. 26,

2015) (No. 14-920), we answer that question “no” and,

accordingly, reverse the district court’s holding to the

contrary.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Defendant Encino Motorcars, LLC, sells and

services new and used Mercedes-Benz automobiles.’

Defendant employed or employs Plaintiffs Hector

Navarro, Mike Shirinian, Anthony Pinkins, Kevin

Malone, and Reuben Castro as “service advisors.” The

complaint alleges:

The job duties and obligations of Service

Advisors ... are to meet and greet Mercedes

Benz owners as they enter the service area of

the dealership and then to evaluate the

service and/or repair needs of the vehicle

owner in light of complaints given them by

these vehicle owners. Upon evaluation of the

service deeds of the vehicle, the Service

Advisors ... then solicit and suggest[] that

certain service[s] be conducted on the vehicle

! Because the district court dismissed this case under Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6), we take the facts alleged in the

complaint as true. Brown v. Elec. Arts, Inc., 724 F.3d 1235, 1247

(9th Cir. 2013).

App-57

to remedy the complaints of the vehicle owner

by conducting certain repairs at [Defendant’s

dealership] and through [Defendant’s] own

mechanics. The Service Advisors ... are also

duty bound and obligated by [Defendant] to

solicit and suggest that supplemental service

be performed on the vehicle above and beyond

that which is required in response to the

initial complaints of the vehicle owner. The

Service Advisors...then write up an

estimate for the repairs and services and

provide[}] that to the vehicle owner. The

vehicle is then taken to the mechanics at

[Defendant] for repair and maintenance.

As required by [Defendant] and oftentimes

while the vehicle is with [Defendant’s]

mechanics, the Service Advisors... will then

call the vehicle owner and solicit and suggest

that additional work be performed on the

vehicle at additional cost.

Defendant pays service advisors on a commission

basis only; Plaintiffs receive neither an hourly wage

nor a salary.

In 2012, Plaintiffs filed this action alleging,

among other things, that Defendant has violated the

FLSA by failing to pay overtime wages. The district

court dismissed the overtime claim because, the court

concluded, Plaintiffs fall within the FLSA’s exemption

for “any salesman, partsman, or mechanic primarily

App-58

engaged in selling or servicing automobiles.” 29 U.S.C.

§ 213(b)(10)(A). Plaintiffs timely appeal.”

DISCUSSION

Title 29 U.S.C. §207(a)(1) requires’ that

employers pay time-and-a-half for hours worked in

excess of 40 per workweek. But § 213(b)(10)(A)

provides that “[t]he provisions of section 207 of this

title shall not apply with respect to ... any salesman,

partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles, trucks, or farm implements, if

he is employed by a nonmanufacturing establishment

primarily engaged in the business of selling such

vehicles or implements to ultimate purchasers.”

Defendant, as a car’ dealership, is a

“nonmanufacturing establishment primarily engaged

in the business of selling... vehicles... to ultimate

purchasers.” Id. The question is whether each Plaintiff

is a “salesman, partsman, or mechanic primarily

engaged in selling or servicing automobiles.” Jd.

Plaintiffs argue that we must defer to the United

States Department of Labor’s 2011 regulatory

definitions, set out at 29 C.F.R. § 779.372(c). 76 Fed.

Reg. 18,832-01 (Apr. 5, 2011). Those regulations state,

in relevant part:

Salesman, partsman, or mechanic.

2 The court dismissed Plaintiffs’ other federal claims (claims 3,

5, and 7) on alternative grounds not challenged on appeal. For

that reason, we affirm the court’s dismissal of those claims. The

court also exercised its discretion under 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c) to

dismiss Plaintiffs’ state-law claims for lack of supplemental

jurisdiction. Because we reverse the dismissal of the overtime

claim (claim 1), we also reverse the dismissal of the state-law

claims.

App-59

(1) As used in section 13(b)(10)(A), a salesman

is an employee who is employed for the

purpose of and is primarily engaged in

making sales or obtaining orders or contracts

for sale of the automobiles, trucks, or farm

implements that the establishment is

primarily engaged in selling... .

(2) As used in section 13(b)(10)(A), a

partsman is any employee employed for the

purpose of and primarily engaged in

requisitioning, stocking, and _ dispensing

parts.

(3) As used in section 13(b)(10)(A), a mechanic

is any employee primarily engaged in doing

mechanical work (such as_ get ready

mechanics, automotive, truck, or farm

implement mechanics, used car

reconditioning mechanics, and wrecker

mechanics) in the servicing of an automobile,

truck or farm implement for its use and

operation as such....

29 C.F.R. § 779.372(c). As the agency explained in

2011, the regulatory definitions “limit[} the exemption

to salesmen who sell vehicles and partsmen and

mechanics who service vehicles.” 76 Fed. Reg. at

18,838. Because Plaintiffs do not fit within any of

those definitions, they are not exempt from the FLSA’s

overtime wage provisions. Defendant concedes that

Plaintiffs do not meet the regulatory definitions, but

counters that we should not defer to the regulation.

We conduct the familiar two-step inquiry to

determine whether to defer to the agency’s

interpretation. McMaster v. United States, 731 F.3d

App-60

881, 889 (9th Cir. 2013), cert. denied, 135 S. Ct. 160

(2014). “At step one, we ask ‘whether Congress has

directly spoken to the precise question at issue.” Id.

(quoting Chevron, U.S.A, Inc. v. Natural Res. Def.

Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 842 (1984)). If so, then the

inquiry is over, and we must give effect to the

“unambiguously expressed intent of Congress.”

Chevron, 467 U.S. at 845. But if the statute is silent or

ambiguous, then we must determine, before step two,

what level of deference applies. McMaster, 731 F.3d at

889. “If we determine that Chevron deference applies,

then we move to step two, where we will defer to the

agency’s interpretation if it is ‘based on permissible

construction of the statute”. Jd. (quoting Chevron, 467

U.S. at 848).

A. At Chevron Step One, the Statute is

Ambiguous.

When construing a congressional enactment, “our

inquiry begins with the statutory text.” BedRoc Lid. v.

United States, 541. U.S. 176, 183 (2004). In addition,

in the present context we must apply the background

rule that “[t]he FLSA is to be construed liberally in

favor of employees; exemptions are narrowly

construed against employers.” Haro v. City of Los

Angeles, 745 F.3d 1249, 1256 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,

135 S. Ct. 138 (2014). “FLSA exemptions... are to be

withheld except as to persons plainly and

unmistakably within their terms and spirit.”3 Solis v.

3 The rule that courts should construe the FLSA’s exemptions

narrowly originated in Arnold v. Ben Kanowsky, Inc., 361 U.S.

388, 392 (1960). In recent years, the Supreme Court has clarified

that the presumption applies only to the exemptions in § 213 and

not more generally. Sandifer v. U.S. Steel Corp., 134 S. Ct. 870,

App-61

Washington, 656 F.3d 1079, 1083 (9th Cir. 2011)

(internal quotation marks omitted). “An employer who

claims an exemption from the FLSA bears the burden

of demonstrating that such an exemption applies.” Jd.

(internal quotation marks omitted).

As noted, the statute exempts “any salesman,

partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles.” 29 U.S.C. § 213(b)(10)(A). The

statute does not define the terms “salesman,

partsman, or mechanic.” Examining the statutory text

and applying canons of statutory interpretation, we

cannot conclude that service advisors such as

Plaintiffs are “persons plainly and unmistakably

within [the FLSA’s] terms and spirit,” Solis, 656 F.3d

at 1083 (internal quotation marks omitted).

It is plausible to read the term “salesman” broadly

and to connect the term to “servicing automobiles”;

that is, one could consider a service advisor to be a

“salesman ... primarily engaged in ... servicing

automobiles.” But, as explained in more detail below,

in Part C, it is at least as plausible to read the nouns

in a more cabined way: a salesman is an employee who

sells cars; a partsman is an employee who

requisitions, stocks, and dispenses parts; and a

mechanic is an employee who performs mechanical

work on cars. Service advisors do none of those things;

they sell services for cars. They do not sell cars; they

do not stock parts; and they do not perform mechanical

work on cars.

879 n.7 (2014); Christopher v. SmithKline Beecham Corp., 132

S. Ct. 2156, 2172 n.21 (2012).

App-62

It is not clear from the text of the statute whether

Congress intended broadly to exempt any salesman

who is involved in the servicing of cars or, more

narrowly, only those salesmen who are selling the cars

themselves. Certainly Congress did not exempt ail

employees of a car dealership; for example, a

bookkeeper who tracks invoices for car sales and

servicing is plainly not exempt, nor is a secretarial

employee who routes calls to the salesmen, partsmen,

and mechanics. Nor do canons of _ statutory

interpretation aid Defendant. To the contrary, the

§ 213 “exemptions

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.