Amicus Curiae Brief — Animal Sci. Prods., Inc. v. Hebei Welcome Pharm. Co., 137 S. Ct. 2320 (2017) (No. 16-1220)

Supreme Court brief2017

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 16-1220

—_—_—_—_— ee

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

ANIMAL SCIENCE PRODUCTS, INC., ET AL.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

HEBEI WELCOME PHARMACEUTICAL Co, LTD., ET AL.,

Respondents.

Brief Of Professors Of Conflict Of Laws And Civil

Procedure As Amici Curiae In Support Of

Petitioners

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Second Circuit

NBIL A.F. Popovic

COUNSEL OF RECORD

SHEPPARD, MULLIN,

RICHTER & HAMPTON LLP

Four Embarcadero Center,

17 Floor

San Francisco, CA

94111-4109

npopovic@sheppardmullin.com

415-774-3156

Counsel for Amici Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S

“BOUND-TO-DEFER” RULE IS

INCONSISTENT WITH BASIC

AMERICAN CONFLICT-OF-

LAWS PRINCIPLES. ...........00:.c00000eee00e8 4

A.

THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S

RULE IS INCONSISTENT

WITH FEDERAL RULE

OF CIVIL PROCEDURE

GG.3. conrececcsesescenevesscssncsseosenvseses

THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S

RULE IS INCONSISTENT

WITH THE PRINCIPLE

THAT U.S. COURTS

SHOULD ACCURATELY

DETERMINE FOREIGN

CORRE RRR ERR REHM H Ee

SORES SRT Eee RR eee eee

— 5

eID TD ceniniaveienneteectnintineseummnsemaes 11

THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S

RULE VIOLATES THE

PRINCIPLE OF

JUDICIAL

INDEPENDENCE IN

THE DETERMINATION

OF FOREIGN LAW. ................. 16

-li-

Il. THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S

RULE IS INCONSISTENT

WITH FOREIGN AND

INTERNATIONAL PRACTICE. ......... 19

A.

THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S

RULE IS INCONSISTENT

WITH FOREIGN

PERFORM cavevsesvecescscosseenseoes

THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S

RULE IS INCONSISTENT

WITH INTERNATIONAL

eo ee

Il. DEFERENCE PRINCIPLES

SHOULD NOT BE PART OF

THE DETERMINATION OF

PRRIDS BANU c cxsceseresctarecnnpecscecsscosnees 25

A.

SMRH :4855987 33.2

A RULE REQUIRING

DEFERENCE IS

INAPPROPRIATE

BECAUSE IT WOULD

ALLOW FOREIGN

GOVERNMENTS TO

UNDULY INFLUENCE

THE APPLICATION OF

INTERNATIONAL

COMITY DOES NOT

REQUIRE DEFERENCE

TO A FOREIGN

GOVERNMENT'S

STATEMENT ABOUT

FOREIGN LAW. .................0+.

2-2 1D

er

“tir

C. THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S

“BOUND-TO-DEFER”

APPROACH RAISES

COMPLEX QUESTIONS

OF FOREIGN LAW THAT

MIGHT THEMSELVES

RAISE INTERNATIONAL

COMITY CONCERNG. ............. 34

[V. U.S, COURTS SHOULD GIVE

RESPECTFUL

CONSIDERATION TO A

FOREIGN GOVERNMENT'S

STATEMENT ABOUT

FOREIGN LAW, BUT THEY

STILL MUST DETERMINE

FOREIGN LAW

INDEPENDENTLY . ...............cccccceeeee0s 36

SMRH 4855987 33.2

“lv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Federal Cases

Access Telecom, Inc. v. MCI Telecomms.

Corp.

197 F.3d 694, 713 (5th Cir.1999..............

Access Telecom, Inc. v. MCI Telecomms.

Corp.

197 F.3d 694, 713 (5th Cir. 1999.............

The Amistad, 40 U.S. 518, 520, 593-97

ee ees eeraen

Bank of Augusta v. Earle

38 U.S. (13 Pet.) 519 (1839).........0..0000000..

Bodum USA, Inc. v. La Cafetiére, Inc.

621 F.3d 624 (7th Cir. 2010) (Wood,

ARS BARRE Spl Aen Ts

Breard v. Greene

5623 U.S. 371, 375 (1998).............eceeseeee

Colo. River Water Conservation Dist. v.

United States

ee es ee rcricrscescipnnnntencesiennevsinn

de Fontbrune v. Wofsy

838 F.3d 992 (9th Cir. 2016)...

Garcia v. Pinelo

808 F.3d 1158 (7th Cir. 2015)..................

SMRH 4855987 33.2

Page(s)

eesevcesvecs 27

Gutierrez’ Brizuela v. Lynch

834 F.3d 1142 (10th Cir. 2016)

ES, SUS ETE aa TU 2 CO ODOR Or en 18

Intel Corp. v. Advanced Micro Devices,

Ine.

I cd ianconieuniaal 18

lracheta v. Holder

TBO F.3d 410 Gets Cle. B01 BD .cccccccccccccscccscccsccosces 15

Lehman Brothers v. Schein

ike SIE neve ey, 37

Madanes v. Madanes

186 F.R.D. 279 (S.D.N.Y. 1999) ....0..0ccccccccceseeeeenee 12

McKesson Corp. v. Islamic Republic of

Tran

FEB F268 BED GAG. Glo, BOAD vecvcceserececvesecsvcsesceses 15

Pazcoguin v. Radcliffe

292 F.3d 1209 (9th Cir. 2002)..............cccccccecceeeees 17

PNC Financial Services Group, Inc. v.

CLR.

603 F.3d 119 (D.C. Cir. 2007)........:..:cccccsseccsesseees 17

Products and Ventures International v.

2017 WL 201703 (N.D. Cal. Jan. 18,

Rationis Enterprises Inc. v. Hyundai

Mipo Dockyard Co.

426 F.3d 580 (2d Cir, 2005) .......cccccccccccecceeeeeeneeees 11

SMRH '485598733.2

RJR Nabisco, Inc. v. European

Community, 136 S.Ct. 2090, 2108

i eiilaaniaesbeeddidieiseinepiceubitiiccndatmicncnenndcenchesssesnnitis 30

Sanchez-Llamas v. Oregon

Be i anitdiinsiscdecnsinmsisnssescocsminenesesnsscnns 36

United States v. McNab

331 F.3d 1228 (11th Cir. 2003)................ 14, 15, 28

United States v. Pink

ERIE NE oe Se a Soe 7, 8,10

In re Vitamin C Antitrust Litigation

584 F. Supp. 2d 546 (E.D.N.Y. 2008).................. 18

In re Vitamin C Antitrust Litigation

810 F. Supp. 2d 522 (E.D.N.Y. 2011)... 29

In re Vitamin C Antitrust Litigation

837 F.3d 175 (2d Cir. 2016) ............cccccccceees passim

W.S. Kirkpatrick & Co. v.

Environmental Tectonics Corp.

re i Ce ieerderpariarnccttncenptnncssintenscimnnviies 33

ala a eeaiidiaall 37

ee eID ccecidistecnccintnistaccebiieienbevenecien 14

es Ge re BO BI crcccwseetsccsscnccsccnscnictessccsscesises 6

a Tay Ee: He ee ercncieperesiscnnstsscntoinnsennisiatvaoeti 28

SMRH 486598733.2

ee a ae os sc ccacenaucuneresannunachocutsaipeneantl 8,9

Fed. R. Civ. P. 44.1, Notes of Advisory

Committee on Rules—1966.................cccceceeseee 9, 16

Fed. R. Civ. P. 44.1, Notes of Advisory

Committee on Rules—1966....................cccceeeees 5, 17

Fed. R. Civ. P. 44.1, Notes of Advisory

Committee on Rules—1966.................cccccceceeeees 5,8

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 44.1’s......... 2, 6, 8, 12

Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act .......................04. 33

Uniform Foreign-Country Money

Judgments Recognition Act § 4,

available at

http://www.uniformlaws.org/shared/

docs/foreign%20country%20money%

20judgments%20recognition/ufcmjra

NE INA chic csunscohsensdclatuehins ddasaueiinnnstnnsguiadinscbindecanines 14

SMRH:485598733.2

-viii-

Provisi

Memorandum of Understanding

Between the Chief Justice of New

South Wales and the Chief Judge of

the State of New York on References

of Questions of Law (Feb. 2, 2017),

available at

http://www.supremecourt.justice.ns

w.gov.au/Pages/sco2_practiceproced

ure/sco2_internationaljudicialcooper

ation/SCO2_agreement_newyork.asp

oc scssngeaen eiacctiogndecctaninsodecumighedeeimianiatiinnnaicheniunetenedion 37

RUIN Till bacuaputissinsiccpisinniintinntbeabieesemnedceneinmiacatenagenamminnianet 9

SNNIIEY STIC Tl winsicsdnossiatedabelioiaciimniaseinenmertomseneinionsh passim

SINIIIE IID \ i ickasisicheresdactininianesetiesiegpdeetnnidieabeienmssentamanbiidid 16

Treatment of Foreign Law: Dynamics

Towards Convergence ?—General

Report, in TREATMENT OF FOREIGN

LAW: DYNAMICS TOWARDS

IIIT ik ccicacencssanedcneesnnsencnesbrsssesnseniniwens 20

Other Authoriti

Carmen Azcarraga Monzonis, Spain:

The Application of Foreign Laws in

Spain—Critical Analysis of the Lega!

Novelties of 2015, in TREATMENT OF

FOREIGN LAW: DYNAMICS TOWARDS

CONVERGENCE? 329, 333 (Yuko

OO oS - ccumusisdonndanesuinin 22

SMRH:4855987 33.2

-1x-

STEPHEN BREYER, THE COURT AND THE

WORLD: AMERICAN LAW AND THE

NEw GLOBAL REALITIES 92 (2015)...........

Brief Amicus Curiae of the Embassy of

Honduras and the Asociacion de

Pescadores del Caribe in Support of

Defendant-Appellant David Henson

McNab, 2002 WL 32595268, at *13........

Brief for the United States as Amicus

Curiae on Petition for a Writ of

EN SESSA, Serene ee

Brief for the United States as Amicus

Curiae on Petition for a Writ of

oo) «=| Ee ae

Brief for the United States as Amicus

Curiae on Petition for a Writ of

en ON en a cnseapuneseie

Brief for the United States as Amicus

Curiae on Petition for a Writ of

ne ns ssndineinnia

Brief in Opposition at 26, Animal

Science Products, Inc. v. Hebei

Welcome Pharmaceutical Co., No.

16-1220 (U.S. June 5, 2017) ..........c0cce

Brief in Opposition at 26, Animal

Science Products, Inc. v. Hebei

Welcome Pharmaceutical Co., No.

16-1220 (U.S. June 5, 2017) .........:cccceees

SMRH ‘4855987 33.2

petenioniete 24

-——-

Hannah L. Buxbaum, Foreign

Governments as Plaintiffs in U_S.

Courts and the Case Against

“Judicial Imperialism”, 73 WASH. &

LEE L. REV. 653, 678 (2016).................0secsccceeeseees 30

Chart of Signatures and Ratifications of

Treaty,

https://www.coe.int/en/web/conventio

ns/full-list/-

/conventions/treaty/062/signatures?p

IEEE task ditsicetidacicindnetnanemboonganssennsincanis 23

Zachary D. Clopton, Judging Foreign

States, 94 WASH. U. L. REV. 1, 15-17

Communication to Courts, 1978 Digest

of United States Practice in

International Law ch. 4, § 1 at 560-

Sabine Corneloup, France—The

Evolving Balance Between the

Judge and the Parties in France, in

TREATMENT OF FOREIGN LAW:

DYNAMICS TOWARDS CONVERGENCE?

157, 171 (Yuko Nishitani ed., 2017).................... 21

Council of Europe, Explanatory Report

to the European Convention on

Information on Foreign Law, June 7,

1968, at 6, available at

https://rm.coe.int/16800c92f8 ...............ceeceeeeeeee eee 24

SMRH :485598733.2

-xi-

European Convention on Information

on Foreign Law, June 7, 1968, 720

EG Sr aciistsnistcteasneeanapidimmntoniieinicntecnsns

General Information of the Treaty,

https://www.oas.org/juridico/english/

a iktchicacceticcsncecmisentewisitndiniesaies

Inter-American Convention on Proof of

and Information on Foreign Law,

May 8, 1979, 1439 U.N.T.S. 111...............

Maarit Janteré-Jareborg, Foreign Law

in National Courts: A Comparative

Perspective, 304 RECUEIL DES COURS

ERAN eee eee

Marek Martyniszyn, Foreign States’

Amicus Curiae Participation in U.S.

Antitrust Cases, 61 ANTITRUST

BE. GR, GI re wncicaesinstccoccececoccesees

MERRIAM-WEBSTER’S COLLEGIATE

DICTIONARY (11th ed. 2003).................0000.

Arthur R. Miller, Federa/ Rule 44.1 and

the “Fact” Approach to Determining

Foreign Law: Death Knell for a Die-

Hard Doctrine, 65 MICH. L. REV.

OU I seniiiccecintsincniaiedhehedthisiasonsction

SMRH:485598733.2

-xii-

Shunichiro Nakano, Japan: Proof of and

Information About Foreign Law in

Japan, in TREATMENT OF FOREIGN

LAW: DYNAMICS TOWARDS

CONVERGENCE? 529, 533 (Yuko

os adueseuresioeenes 23

New York Civil Practice Act § 391 ....................:c0ceeee 8

Ilaria Pretelli & Shaheeza Lalani,

Switzerland: The Principle Iura

Aliena Novit Curia and the Role of

Foreign Law Advisory Services in

Swiss Judicial Practice, in

TREATMENT OF FOREIGN LAW:

DYNAMICS TOWARDS CONVERGENCE?

375, 390 (Yuko Nishitani ed., 2017)............000000.. 22

Oliver Remien, Germany: Proof of and

Information About Foreign Law—

Duty to Investigate, Expert

Opinions and a Proposal for Europe,

in TREATMENT OF FOREIGN LAW:

DYNAMICS TOWARDS CONVERGENCE?

183, 203 (Yuko Nishitani ed., 2017)................0. 21

SMRH°485598733.2

“xili-

Response of the United States of

America to Feasibility Study on the

Treatment of Foreign Law

Questionnaire, Prel. Doc. No 25

(Oct. 2007), Response to Question

29(c) (answering “YES” to the

following question: “Should the

information received be non-binding

(as opposed to binding)?”), available

at

https://assets.hcch.net/upload/wop/g

CU, IE crcctediaeisettcctrcnanenvterincnntuiitivadintl 25

Restatement (Second) of Conflict of

Laws § 90 (Am. Law Inst. 1971).............ccccc000e00e 31

See Code de procédure civile, art. 246,

https://www. legifrance.gouv.fr/affich

CodeArticle.do;jsessionid=8B6C6B1

B7107BAED721 © 52D0500A511.tp

lgfr27s_1?idArticle=LEGIARTIOOO00O

06410377&cidTexte=LEGITEXTO000

0060707 16&dateTexte=200505 14,

translation at

https://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/conte

nt/download/1962/13735/.../Code_39.

SMRH:485598733.2

See Ley 29/2015, de 30 de julio, de

cooperacion juridica internacional en

materia civil, BOE-A-2015-8564, art.

33.4,

http://www.boe.es/buscar/doc.php?id

=BOE-A-2015-8564, translation in

Carmen Azcarraga Monzonis, Spain:

The Application of Foreign Laws in

Spain—Critical Analysis of the Legal

Novelties of 2015, in TREATMENT OF

FOREIGN LAW: DYNAMICS TOWARDS

CONVERGENCE? 329, 333 (Yuko

Nishitani ed., 2017) .................. anecisertentiesi

John G. Sprankling & George R. Lanyi,

Pleading and Proof of Foreign Law

in American Courts, 19 STAN. J.

Bee hy Be Ce crccccccscerecccvsccsescecesces

JOSEPH STORY, COMMENTARIES ON THE

CONFLICT OF LAWS § 38 (2d ed. 1841)

I uipeesmnees

WEBSTER’S COLLEGIATE DICTIONARY

a

William 8S. Dodge, /nternational Comity

in American Law, 115 COLUM. L.

Ee

WRIGHT & MILLER, FEDERAL PRACTICE

AND PROCEDURE, 9A FED. PRAC. &

PROC. CIV. § 2444 (3d ed.).............0cc00000 5, 8, 12, 17

SMRH ‘4855987 33.2

-xVv"

Yuko Nishitani, 7reatment of Foreign

Law: Dynamics Towards

Convergence ?—General Report, in

TREATMENT OF FOREIGN LAW:

DYNAMICS TOWARDS CONVERGENCE?

56 (Yuko Nishitani ed., 2017)..............:c0cc0cce00

Zivilprozessordnung [ZPO] |Code of

Civil Procedure], § 293,

https://www.ilo.org/dyn/natlex/docs/

ELECTRONIC/89715/103136/F-

842321361/ZPO.pdf, translation at

https://www.gesetze-im-

internet.de/englisch_zpo/englisch_zp

SIS eeticcceisssiatnsidienaleitieichdeaapdhaninadbiintiatins

Schweizerische Zivilprozessordnung

[ZPO], [Civil Procedure Code] Dec.

19, 2008, SR 272, art. 157,

translation at

https://www.admin.ch/opc/en/classifi

ed-compilation/20061121/index.htm!]

SMRH ‘4855987 33.2

INTEREST OF AMICT CURIAE

Amici curiae are professors of conflict of laws

and civil procedure with expertise in the rules

governing the determination of foreign law. They

have a strong interest in the proper application of

these rules by U.S. courts. The amici curiae are

professors of conflict of laws and civil procedure:

George A. Bermann, Walter Gellhorn Professor of

Law and Jean Monnet Professor of EU Law at

Columbia Law School; Pamela K. Bookman,

Assistant Professor of Law at Temple University

Beasley School of Law; Andrew Bradt, Assistant

Professor of Law at the University of California,

Berkeley School of Law; Stephen B. Burbank, David

Berger Professor for the Administration of Justice at

the University of Pennsylvania Law School; Kevin

M. Clermont, Ziff Professor of Law at Cornell Law

School; Zachary D. Clopton, Assistant Professor of

Law at Cornell Law School; Laura E. Little, Charles

Klein Professor of Law and Government at Temple

University’s Beasley School of Law; Ralf Michaels,

Arthur Larson Professor of Law at Duke University

School of Law; Kermit Roosevelt, a Professor of Law

at the University of Pennsylvania Law School:

Louise Ellen Teitz, Distinguished Service Professor

of Law at Roger Williams University School of Law,

Bristol, Rhode Island: Christopher A. Whytock,

Professor of Law at the University of California,

Irvine, School of Law. A detailed list of amici and

their qualifications is provided in the appendix.

' All parties have consented to the filing of this brief. No

counsel for any party has authored this brief in whole or in

SMRH:485598733.2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Second Circuit held that “when a foreign

government, acting through counsel or otherwise,

directly participates in U.S. court proceedings by

providing a sworn evidentiary proffer regarding the

construction and effect of its laws and regulations,

which is reasonable under the circumstances

presented, a U.S. court is bound to defer to those

statements.” Jn re Vitamin C Antitrust Litigation,

837 F.3d 175, 189 (2d Cir. 2016). This “bound-to-

defer” rule is incorrect and unwise.

First, the “bound-to-defer” rule is inconsistent

with basic American conflict-of-laws principles

governing the determination of foreign law. It is

inconsistent with Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

44.1’s broad authorization for U.S. courts to

“consider any relevant material or source” when

determining foreign law. It is inconsistent with the

principle that determinations of foreign law should

be accurate. And it is inconsistent with the principle

of judicial independence in the determination of

foreign law.

Second, the ‘“bound-to-defer” rule _ is

inconsistent with foreign and international practice.

In most other countries, information about foreign

law is not binding on courts. Moreover, the world’s

two main treaties on the interpretation of foreign

law expressly provide that information supplied by

part, and no person other than amici or their counsel has made

any monetary contribution intended to fund the preparation or

submission of this brief.

SMRH:4855987 33.2

foreign governments in accordance with those

treaties is not binding on courts. Simply put, foreign

governments do not expect each other’s courts to be

“bound to defer” to each other’s interpretations of

foreign law, much less the interpretation of one

executive agency of a foreign government.

Third, there are important reasons why

deference principles should be kept separate from

the principles governing the determination of foreign

law. The Second Circuit’s “bound-to-defer” rule

would inappropriately delegate to foreign

governments power to influence the application of

domestic law—and hence the implementation of

domestic policy—in a wide range of cases in which

the proper application of U.S. law depends on the

determination of foreign law. In _ addition,

international comity does not require U.S. courts to

defer to foreign governments in the determination of

foreign law. International comity is a traditional

rationale for choice-of-law rules that require the

application of foreign law as a rule of decision under

specified circumstances. But in this case, foreign law

is at issue because the application of U.S. law

depends on the interpretation of foreign law, not

because choice-of-law rules require the application of

foreign law. Therefore, this case does not implicate

the comity rationale for choice-of-law rules.

Moreover, the concerns that animate comity

doctrines are not the same as those that animate the

rules governing the determination of foreign law.

The former are concerned with the respect owed

between governments, whereas the latter are

concerned with ensuring that U.S. courts

independently and accurately determine the content

SMRH :485598733.2

of foreign law. In fact, the “bound-to-defer” rule

raises issues that are likely to pose significant

comity concerns that the ordinary Rule 44.1

approach avoids. U.S. courts can still address comity

concerns—separately from their independent

determination of foreign law.

To be sure, U.S. courts should give respectful

consideration to a foreign government’s statements

about its law. But as a matter of law, a foreign

government’s statements cannot be binding on U.S.

courts. Instead, U.S. courts should accurately and

independently determine the meaning of foreign law

taking into account not only the foreign

government's own statements, but also other

relevant information about that law. This

independent approach is_ especially important

when—as in this U.S. antitrust case and many other

cases—the proper application of American law

depends on a determination of foreign law.

I. THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S “BOUND-TO-

DEFER” RULE IS INCONSISTENT WITH

BASIC AMERICAN CONFLICT-OF-LAWS

PRINCIPLES.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 44.1

authorizes U.S. courts to “consider any relevant

material or source” when determining foreign law.

The Second Circuit’s “bound-to-defer” rule is

inconsistent with this broad authorization. The

Second Circuit’s rule also is inconsistent with the

basic American conflict-of-laws principles that U.S.

courts should determine foreign law accurately and

that they should do so independently.

SMRH:485598733.2

A. THE SECOND CIRCUITS RULE IS

INCONSISTENT WITH FEDERAL

RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 44.1.

Rule 44.1 authorizes courts to “consider any

relevant material or source” when determining

foreign law. Fed. R. Civ. P. 44.1. Relevant material

may include pri» ary sources (such as constitutions,

statutes, regulations, and court decisions), secondary

materials (such as treatises and other books, legal

periodicals, and other legal commentary on foreign

law), and expert advice (such as expert opinions of

lawyers, judges, and scholars). See WRIGHT &

MILLER, FEDERAL PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE, 9A FED.

PRAC. & Proc. Civ. § 2444 (3d ed.).

The text of Rule 44.1 places no limitations on

this broad authorization. Moreover, the official

advisory notes to Rule 44.1 do not indicate that any

exception was intended—even when a foreign

government is one of the sources of information

about foreign law. To the contrary, as the Rules

Advisory Committee explained, Rule 44.1 provides

that “the court is not limited by material presented

by the parties; it may engage in its own research and

consider any relevant material thus found.” Fed. R.

Civ. P. 44.1, Notes of Advisory Committee on

Rules—1966. By authorizing U.S. courts to consider

any relevant material or source, Rule 44.1 helps

ensure that U.S. courts have the flexibility to obtain

the information they need to determine foreign law

accurately. See infra Part I.B; Fed. R. Civ. P. 44.1,

Notes of Advisory Committee on Rules—1966 (noting

that “the rule provides flexible procedures for

presenting and utilizing material on issues of foreign

SMRH:4855987 33.2

law by which a sound result can be achieved with

fairness to the parties”).

The Second Circuit’s “bound-to-defer” rule

would limit the authority that Rule 44.1 grants to

the courts. By making foreign government

statements binding, the Second Circuit’s rule would

not allow U.S. courts to “consider any relevant

material or source” when determining foreign law.

Instead, whenever a foreign government makes

statements about its law that are “reasonable under

the circumstances,” U.S. courts would be required to

determine foreign law according to those

statements—regardless of the reliability of those

statements, and regardless of other reliable and

persuasive information that might compel a different

determination. For example, the “bound-to-defer”

rule would prevent a U.S. court from considering

foreign legislative records or foreign judicial

decisions that might undermine or provide

perspective for the interpretation proffered by a

foreign executive agency. Thus, the Second Circuit's

rule would effectively amend Rule 44.1 by creating

an exception to Rule 44.1’s broad authorization in

cases in which foreign governments provide

information about foreign law. Any amendment to

Rule 44.1 should be made pursuant to the federal

rulemaking process. See 28 U.S.C. §§ 2072 et seq.

The Second Circuit attempts to avoid this

conclusion by reasoning that “Rule 44.1 explicitly

focuses on what a court may consider when

determining foreign law, but is silent as to how a

court should analyze the relevant material or

sources. Thus, courts must still evaluate the relevant

SMRH ‘4855987 33.2

source material within the context of each case.” Jn

re Vitamin C, 837 F.3d at 187. But this reasoning

cannot be reconciled with the “bound-to-defer” rule.

If a foreign government’s statements were binding

on a U.S. court, consideration of other material

would be meaningless, for it would not be allowed to

influence the court’s determination, even if that

material is highly accurate and reliable. Rule 44.1,

after all, calls for courts to “consider” relevant

sources. See MERRIAM-WEBSTER’S COLLEGIATE

DICTIONARY (11th ed. 2003) (defining consider as “to

think about carefully” as in “to think of esp. with

regard to taking some action” or “to take into

account”); WEBSTER’S COLLEGIATE DICTIONARY (5th

ed. 1948) (defining consider as “to think on with

care”). At most, the Second Circuit’s rule would allow

U.S. courts to consider other material for the narrow

purpose of determining whether a foreign

government’s interpretation is “reasonable under the

circumstances presented”—but even with this

qualification, the “bound-to-defer” rule would not

allow courts to “consider any relevant material or

source” for the fundamental purpose of determining

foreign law accurately, as Rule 44.1 authorizes

(emphasis added).

To support its “bound-to-defer” rule, the

Second Circuit relies on United States v. Pink, 315

U.S. 203 (1942). This reliance is misplaced. Most

importantly, for the reasons just given, the Second

Circuit’s reading of Pink as stating a “bound-to-

defer” rule is inconsistent with Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 44.1, which entered into effect in 1966,

more than 20 years after Pink was decided.

SMRH:4855987 33.2

The Second Circuit discounts the impact of

Rule 44.1. See In re Vitamin C, 837 F.3d at 188

(“Rule 44.1 does not alter the legal standards by

which courts analyze foreign law .. . .”). But by doing

so it ignores the important consequences of Rule

44.1’s adoption. As Wright and Miller explain: “The

procedure for proving foreign law was changed

substantially by . . . Rule 44.1. . . . Thus, the trial

court’s freedom of inquiry no longer is encumbered

by any restraint on its research or by the rules of

admissibility .. . . Since the rule dissipates former

inhibitions on judicial inquiry, the district judge may

consider any material the parties wish to present.”

WRIGHT & MILLER, FEDERAL PRACTICE AND

PROCEDURE, 9A FED. PRAC. & PROC. CIV. § 2444 (3d

ed.). Rule 44.1 also abandoned the treatment of

foreign law issues as issues of fact, and established

that a determination of foreign law instead “must be

treated as a ruling on a question of law.” Fed. R. Civ.

P. 44.1, Notes of Advisory Committee on Rules—

1966 (“[T]he court’s determination of an issue of

foreign law is to be treated as a ruling on a question

of ‘law,’ not ‘fact’... .”).

Moreover, Pink was an appeal from a New

York state court, and both the state court and this

Court applied New York state law to determine the

content of foreign law in that case. See 315 U.S. at

217-22 (discussing New York Civil Practice Act § 391

and its requirement to treat certain “written

authorities” as “presumptive evidence” of foreign

law); see also Fed. R. Civ. P. 43(a) (calling for district

courts, at the time of Pink, to apply state evidence

law in some circumstances). One purpose of Federal

Rule 44.1—and of the Federal Rules’ more

SMRH ‘4855987 33.2

generally—was to provide a uniform federal

approach to questions of procedure, including the

determination of foreign law. The first sentence of

the Advisory Committee Notes accompanying the

first version of Rule 44.1 stated: “Rule 44.1 is added

by amendment to furnish Federal courts with a

uniform and effective procedure for raising and

determining an issue concerning the law of a foreign

country.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 44.1, Notes of Advisory

Committee on Rules—1966 (emphasis added). The

Notes further explained that the authorization to

“consider any relevant material or source” was

explicitly designed to end the reliance on variable

and often undesirable state laws. See id? For

reasons we explain shortly, we see no conflict

between Pink and Rule 44.1. But even if there were

a conflict, Rule 44.1 would control today.

Furthermore, it is far from clear that Pink

stands for the general proposition that U.S. courts

are “bound to defer” to foreign government

statements. Although this Court in Pink found a

declaration of the Russian Commissariat for Justice

2 Fed. R. Civ. P. 44.1, Notes of Advisory Committee on

Rules—1966 (“Heretofore the district courts, applying Rule

43(a), have looked in certain cases to State law to find the rules

of evidence by which the content of foreign-country law is to be

established. The State laws vary: some embody procedures

which are inefficient, time consuming and expensive. In all

events the ordinary rules of evidence are often inapposite to the

problem of determining foreign law and have in the past

prevented examination of material which could have provided a

proper basis for the determination. The new rule permits

consideration by the court of any relevant material, including

testimony, without regard to its admissibility under Rule 43.”)

(citation omitted).

SMRH :485598733.2

-10-

interpreting Russian law to be conclusive in the

particular circumstances presented, this Court

announced no rule in Pink requiring that foreign

government statements be binding on U.S. courts in

general. See Brief for the United States as Amicus

Curiae on Petition for a Writ of Certiorari at 11

(‘This Court’s holding lin Pink) that the

Commissariat’s declaration was ‘conclusive’ under

those circumstances does not suggest that every

submission by a foreign government is entitled to the

same weight.”).

Even if Pink is read as stating a general rule

of deference—which it does not—it may be read as a

conditional deference rule—not a categorical rule as

suggested by the Second Circuit. See Pink, 315 U.S.

at 220 (explaining that, prior to treating the

declaration as conclusive, this Court determined that

“the evidence supported [the] finding|] that the

Commissariat for Justice has power to interpret

existing Russian law”); id. at 218 (explaining that,

although this Court “[did] not stop to review all the

evidence in the voluminous record” on the question

of Russian law, it accepted the stated interpretation

only after observing “that the expert testimony

tendered by the United States gave great credence to

its position”). Thus, Pink arguably stands only for

the proposition that courts may treat foreign

government statements about foreign law as

conclusive if evidence shows that the foreign

government agency making the statement is

authorized to interpret foreign law and there are

other persuasive sources or materials that are

consistent with that interpretation.

SMRH:485598733.2

-11-

B. THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S RULE IS

INCONSISTENT WITH THE

PRINCIPLE THAT U.S. COURTS

SHOULD ACCURATELY

DETERMINE FOREIGN LAW.

A basic principle governing the determination

of foreign law under Rule 44.1 is that courts should

determine foreign law accurately. See Rationis

Enterprises Inc. v. Hyundai Mipo Dockyard Co., 426

F.3d 580, 586 (2d Cir. 2005) (“Ultimately, the

responsibility for correctly identifying and applying

foreign law rests with the court.”); see also Arthur R.

Miller, Federal Rule 44.1 and the “Fact” Approach to

Determining Foreign Law: Death Knell for a Die-

Hard Doctrine, 65 MICH. L. REV. 613, 728 (1967)

(“Rule 44.1 expresses a philosophy that federal

courts should ascertain foreign law accurately

whenever possible.”). The accurate determination of

foreign law requires that it be considered in light of

how it is authoritatively interpreted and applied in

the foreign country. See de Fontbrune v. Wofsy, 838

F.3d 992, 994, 1003 (9th Cir. 2016) (noting that the

issue of French law governing remedy was “not a

simple matter of translation” but “requires a broader

look at French law to understand the nature of the. .

. remedy” and how it functions in France, including

an inquiry into how the remedy is actually used in

the French legal system); Bodum USA, Inc. v. La

Cafetiére, Inc., 621 F.3d 624, 639 (7th Cir. 2010)

(Wood, J., concurring) (arguing that court’s

understanding of foreign law should not be merely

“theoretical” but instead should take into account

“day-to-day realities of the practice of law” in the

foreign state). The approach of the Second Circuit

SMRH:485598733.2

-12-

effectively reverts to treating foreign law as a

question of fact in which a foreign government’s

statement is accepted as “truth,” ignoring Rule 44.1’s

directive to weigh the available information. See

Madanes v. Madanes, 186 F.R.D. 279, 283 (S.D.N.Y.

1999) (“Since foreign law is an issue of law rather

than of fact, it is not the credibility of the experts

that is at stake, but rather the persuasiveness of

their opinions.”).

The principle of accuracy implies that a court

must consider information about foreign law based

on how reliable and persuasive the information is.

See Bodum, 621 F.3d at 628 (majority opinion)

(“Judges should use the best of the available

sources.”); WRIGHT & MILLER, FEDERAL PRACTICE

AND PROCEDURE, 9A FED. PRAC. & PROC. Civ. § 2444

(3d ed.) (“[O]ne of the policies inherent in Rule 44.1

is that whenever possible issues of foreign law

should be resolved on their merits and on the basis

of a full presentation and evaluation of the available

materials. To effectuate this policy, the court is

obliged to take an active role in the process of

ascertaining foreign law.”).

Reliable and persuasive information may, of

course, come from a foreign government. But being a

foreign government agency or official is not by itself

a sufficient indicator of _ reliability and

persuasiveness, because the _ reliability and

persuasiveness of foreign government statements

depend on many other factors. These include: (1)

whether the specific agent of the foreign government

making the statement about foreign law is

authorized to officially interpret that law; (2)

SMRH:485598733.2

-13-

whether the statement is consistent with the same

agent’s earlier statements; (3) whether the

statement is consistent with those made by other

agents of the foreign government; (4) whether the

statement is consistent with how the foreign

government’s courts have interpreted that law; (5)

whether the statement is consistent with

information about that foreign law from other

reliable sources; (6) how well-supported the

statement is by primary sources of foreign law: (7)

how well-reasoned the statement is; (8) the context

and purpose of the statement; and (9) whether the

statement will be binding in any future proceedings

in the foreign state or in a U.S. court. See Brief for

the United States as Amicus Curiae on Petition for a

Writ of Certiorari at 8 (“The precise weight to be

given to a foreign government’s statement turns on

factors including the _ statement’s clarity,

thoroughness, and support; its context and purpose;

the authority of the entity making it; its consistency

with past statements; and any other corroborating or

contradictory evidence.”).

Foreign court decisions are generally likely to

be more reliable and persuasive sources of

information about foreign law than information

provided to U.S. courts by executive agencies of

foreign governments in the context of pending U.S.

litigation—but U.S. courts are not “bound to defer”

to foreign court decisions, either.®

§ Although the conflict-of-laws rules governing foreign

judgments ordinarily provide that U.S. courts should generally

recognize and enforce those judgments, there are numerous

SMRH 4855987 33.2

-14-

The pitfalls of relying on a statement about

foreign law solely because it is provided by a foreign

government agency are illustrated in United States

v. McNab, 331 F.3d 1228 (11th Cir. 2003). In that

case, defendant was convicted of violating the Lacey

Act, which is a U.S. statute that prohibits the

importation of “fish or wildlife [that has been] taken,

possessed, transported, or sold in violation of . . . any

foreign law.” Jd. at 1232 (quoting 16 U.S.C. §

3372(a)(2)(A)). Defendant’s conviction was based on

a violation of Honduran law. /d. at 1232-34. The

district court relied on statements of multiple

Honduran officials, including a legal officer of a

Honduran government ministry made during the

investigation and trial, that the relevant law was

valid. /d at 1234-35. But after defendant's

conviction, the Embassy of Honduras filed an amicus

brief in support of defendants, arguing that the law

“was of no force and effect, because it was not

adopted in accordance with Honduran law and thus

it could not legally provide the basis for any violation

of Honduran law.” Brief Amicus Curiae of the

Embassy of Honduras and the Asociacion de

Pescadores del Caribe in Support of Defendant-

Appellant David Henson McNab, 2002 WL

32595268, at *13. The Court of Appeals for the

Eleventh Circuit held that it would not defer to the

new Honduran position. McNab, 331 F.3d at 1242.

The Eleventh Circuit insisted that “[wle must have

grounds for refusing recognition and enforcement. See, e.z.,

Uniform Foreign-Country Money Judgments Recognition Act §

4, available at

http://www.uniformlaws.org/shared/docs/foreign%20country%2

Omoney%20judgments% 20recognition/ufemjra_final_05.pdf.

SMRH°485598733.2

-15-

consistency and reliability from foreign governments

with respect to the validity of their laws.” /d.

A fundamental flaw of the Second Circuit's

“bound-to-defer” rule is that it would prevent courts

from independently weighing information about

foreign law in accordance with these and other

available indicia of reliability and persuasiveness.

The Second Circuit’s rule would require courts to

determine foreign law in accordance with a foreign

government's statements even if those statements

have a lower degree of reliability or persuasiveness

than other information before the court. Indicia of

reliability and persuasiveness would only matter if

they so clearly tilted against a foreign government’s

statements as to render them not “reasonable under

the circumstances.” Jn re Vitamin C, 837 F.3d at

189. The principle behind the determination of

foreign law, however, is to arrive at an accurate

determination, not merely a reasonable one.

This flaw is especially serious at the appellate

level. As the Second Circuit correctly observed, “[(t/he

determination of foreign law is ‘a question of law,

which is subject to de novo review.” Jd. at 183. A

primary purpose of de novo review is to ensure that

an appellate court can correct a district court's

inaccurate determination of the content or meaning

of foreign law. See McKesson Corp. v. Islamic

Republic of Iran, 753 F.3d 239, 242 (D.C. Cir. 2014)

(undertaking “de novo review of the district court’s

irterpretation of foreign law”) (emphasis added);

Iracheta v. Holder, 730 F.3d 419, 423 (5th Cir. 2013)

(“Just like any question of law, ‘[t)]he content of

foreign law is a question of law and is subject to de

SMRH:485598733.2

-16-

novo review.) (quoting Access Telecom, Inc. v. MCI

Telecomms. Corp., 197 F.3d 694, 713 (5th Cir.1999))

(emphasis added); see also Fed. R. Civ. P. 44.1, Notes

of Advisory Committee on Rules—1966 (“[T]he

court’s determination of an issue of foreign law is to

be treated as a ruling on a question of ‘law,’ not ‘fact,’

so that appellate review will not be narrowly

confined by the ‘clearly erroneous’ standard of Rule

52(a).”); John G. Sprankling & George R. Lanyi,

Pleading and Proof of Foreign Law in American

Courts, 19 STAN. J. INTL L. 3, 6 n.12 (1983)

(“[A]ssurance of the correctness of the content and

application of foreign law requires the supervision of

appellate review.”). Yet the Second Circuit’s review

was based more on deference than accuracy. As the

Second Circuit itself states: “[I)/f the Chinese

Government had not appeared in this litigation, the

district court’s careful and thorough treatment of the

evidence before it in analyzing what Chinese law

required . . . would have been entirely appropriate.”

In re Vitamin C, 837 F.3d at 191 n.10.

C. |THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S RULE

VIOLATES THE PRINCIPLE OF

JUDICIAL INDEPENDENCE IN THE

DETERMINATION OF FOREIGN

LAW.

The bedrock principle of judicial independence

applies to all determinations of law by U.S. courts,

including determinations of foreign law. See Garcia

v. Pinelo, 808 F.3d 1158, 1163 (7th Cir. 2015) (“[I)n

determining these questions of [foreign] law, both

trial and appellate courts are urged to research and

analyze foreign law independently.’ This is because

SMRH :485598733.2

-17-

‘one of the policies inherent in Rule 44.1 is that

whenever possible issues of foreign law should be

resolved on their merits and on the basis of a full

evaluation of the available materials.”) (citations

omitted); de Fontbrune v. Wofsy, 838 F.3d 992, 997

(9th Cir. 2016) (stressing “the district court’s

independent obligation to adequately ascertain

relevant foreign law”); PNC Financial Services

Group, Inc. v. C.LR., 503 F.3d 119, 126 (D.C. Cir.

2007) (“[Rule 44.1] directls] courts to independently

determine issues of foreign law.”).

The principle of independence means that a

U.S. court cannot be required to defer to information

given to it by others, but may instead engage in its

own independent research on foreign law. See

in v. Radcliffe, 292 F.3d 1209, 1216 (9th Cir.

2002) (“[Flederal judges may reject even the

uncontradicted conclusions of an expert witness and

reach their own decisions on the basis of

independent examination of foreign legal

authorities.”) (quoting Access Telecom, Inc. v. MCI

Telecomms. Corp., 197 F.3d 694, 713 (5th Cir.

1999)); Fed. R. Civ. P. 44.1, Notes of Advisory

Committee on Rules—1966 (noting that under Rule

44.1 the court “may engage in its own research and

consider any relevant material thus found”); see a/so

Products and Ventures International v. Axus

Stationary (Shanghai) Ltd., 2017 WL 201703, at *3

(N.D. Cal. Jan. 18, 2017) (“LA] district court has an

‘independent obligation’ to ascertain the relevant

foreign law. . . . Thus, courts must . . . determine

whether submissions from parties are sufficiently

reliable.”); WRIGHT & MILLER, FEDERAL PRACTICE

AND PROCEDURE, 9A FED. PRAC. & Proc. Civ. § 2444

SMRH :485598733.2

-18-

(3d ed.) (“[Flederal courts have not felt bound by the

testimony of foreign law experts and upon occasion

have placed little or no credence in their opinions

when not supported adequately or when the views

were offered in too partisan a fashion.”); cf Jnte/

Corp. v. Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. , 542 U.S. 241

(2004) (characterizing European Commission as a

“tribunal” despite an amicus brief from the

European Commission arguing that under European

Union law the European Commission did not

function as a tribunal).

The Second Circuit's “bound-to-defer” rule

violates the principle of judicial independence in two

ways. First, it would impose on U.S. courts a

particular interpretation of foreign law—that of an

appearing foreign government—rather than allowing

U.S. courts to determine foreign law independently

based on indicia of reliability and persuasiveness

such as those discussed above. Second, the “bound-

to-defer” rule would render meaningless the

authority Rule 44.1 gives courts to do independent

research on foreign law. The Second Circuit’s

“bound-to-defer” rule thus would be just the sort of

“judge-made doctrine for the abdication of the

judicial duty” to interpret law that has raised

concerns in other contexts. See Gutierrez-Brizuela v.

Lynch, 834 F.3d 1142, 1152 (10th Cir. 2016)

(Gorsuch, J.). In this case, the bound-to-defer rule

would require adopting the Chinese ministry’s

statement even though the trial court found that

“the plain language of the documentary evidence

submitted by plaintiffs directly contradicts the

Ministry's position.” /n re Vitamin C Antitrust

Litigation, 584 F. Supp. 2d 546, 557 (E.D.N.Y. 2008).

SMRH :4855987 33.2

-19-

Il. THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S RULE IS

INCONSISTENT WITH FOREIGN AND

INTERNATIONAL PRACTICE.

The Second Circuit’s bound-to-defer standard

is inconsistent not only with basic American conflict-

of-laws principles, but also with foreign and

international practice. Foreign courts are not

subjected to the “bound-to-defer” rule that the

Second Circuit would impose on U.S. courts, and

treaties on the determination of fer’'«n law show

that foreign governments do not ex ~ that sort of

deference from each other. Indeed, the fundamental

principles of accuracy and independence in the

determination of foreign law that underpin Rule 44.1

are widely recognized in foreign and international

practice.

A. THE SECOND CIRCUITS RULE IS

INCONSISTENT WITH FOREIGN

PRACTICE.

The Second Circuit’s bound-to-defer rule

would impose a more rigid rule of deference on U.S.

courts than foreign countries impose on their own

courts. As the United States has stated in this

litigation, the Department of Justice “is not aware of

any foreign-court decision holding that the

Department’s representations are entitled to such

conclusive weight.” Brief for the United States as

Amicus Curiae on Petition for a Writ of Certiorari at

11-12.

The United States’ assessment is consistent

with a recent study of how 34 nations in Europe,

SMRH:485598733.2

-20-

North and South /.merica, the Asia-Pacific Area, and

Africa treat foreign law, which found that the large

majority of these nations do not require their courts

to be bound by information about foreign law. See

Yuko Nishitani, Treatment of Foreign Law:

Dynamics Towards Convergence?—General Report,

in TREATMENT OF FOREIGN LAW: DYNAMICS TOWARDS

CONVERGENCE? 26 (Yuko Nishitani ed., 2017)

(“Information obtained with respect to foreign law is

not binding in most jurisdictions. .. . The judge

needs to examine the quality of the obtained

information in court proceedings, possibly by using

additional materials. In light of this, it is sensible

policy to exclude the binding force of any information

provided in relation to foreign law.”); id. at 30 (“The

effects of the information on foreign law provided by

expert witnesses, documents submitted by the

parties or any other means is not binding on the

judge.”); see also Maarit Jantera-Jareborg, Foreign

Law in National Courts: A Comparative Perspective,

304 RECUEIL DES COURS 281, 287 (2003) (surveying

Germany, France, England, Sweden, Norway,

Finland, Denmark, Italy, Austria, Switzerland, and

a variety of Latin American countries, and

concluding that in those jurisdictions “the court is

not bound by the information or ‘evidence’ [regarding

foreign law] delivered by the parties, but remains

free to assess its reliability and sufficiency”). For

example:

> In Germany, “[t]he provided legal

information never is binding on the

court. Rather, the court retains its

res} onsibility under [the German Code

of Civil Procedure] and has to evaluate

SMRH 485598733.2

-21-

the information § rendered.” Oliver

Remien, Germany: Proof of and

Information About Foreign Law—Duty

to Investigate, Expert Opinions and a

Proposal for Europe, in TREATMENT OF

FOREIGN LAW: DYNAMICS TOWARDS

CONVERGENCE? 183, 203 #£(Yuko

Nishitani ed., 2017).*

. In France, a statement about foreign

law “is subject to adversarial debate

and it is not binding upon the judge

who has to verify, among other things,

the impartiality” of the statement.

Sabine Corneloup, France—The

Evolving Balance Between the Judge

and the Parties in France, in

TREATMENT OF FOREIGN LAW: DYNAMICS

TOWARDS CONVERGENCE? 157, 171

(Yuko Nishitani ed., 2017).5

+ See Zivilprozessordnung [ZPO] [Code of Civil Procedure],

§ 293, https://www.ilo.org/dyn/natlex/docs/ELECTRONIC/

897 15/103136/F-842321361/ZPO. pdf, translation at

https://www.gesetze-im-

interret.de/englisch_zpo/englisch_zpo.htm] (“The laws

applicable in another state, customary laws, and statutes must

be proven only insofar as the court is not aware of them. In

making inquiries as regards these rules of law, the court is not

restricted to the proof produced by the parties in the form of

supporting documents; it has the authority to us other sources

of reference as well, and to issue the required orders for such

use.”).

5 See Code de _ ~procédure civile, art. 246,

https://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/affichCodeArticle.do:jsessionid=

8B6C6B1B7107BAED721D0D2D0500A51 1.tplgfr27s_1?idArticl

SMRH:4855987 33.2

. Spanish law provides that “[n]o report

or opinion, national or international, on

foreign law, shall be binding for

Spanish courts.” Carmen Azcarraga

Monzonis, Spain’ The Application of

Foreign Laws in Spain—Critical

Analysis of the Legal Novelties of 2016,

in TREATMENT OF FOREIGN LAW:

DYNAMICS TOWARDS CONVERGENCE?

329, 333 (Yuko Nishitani ed., 2017).®

. In Switzerland, “[IJegal information on

foreign laws is not binding on Swiss

judicial authorities.” [laria Pretelli &

Shaheeza Lalani, Switzerland: The

Principle Tura Aliena Novit Curia and

the Role of Foreign Law Advisory

Services in Swiss Judicial Practice, in

TREATMENT OF FOREIGN LAW: DYNAMICS

e=LEGIART10000064 10377 &cidTexte=LEGITEXT0000060707

16&dateTexte=200505 14, translation at

https://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/content/download/

1962/13735/.../Code_39.pdf (“The judge is not bound by the

findings or conclusions of the expert.”).

6 See Ley 29/2015, de 30 de julio, de cooperacién juridica

internacional en materia civil, BOE-A-2015-8564, art. 33.4,

http://www.boe.es/buscar/doc. php?id=BOE-A-2015-8564,

translation in Carmen Azcarraga Monzonis, Spain: The

Application of Foreign Laws in Spain—Critical Analysis of the

Legal Novelties of 2015, in TREATMENT OF FOREIGN LAW:

DYNAMICS TOWARDS CONVERGENCE? 329, 333 (Yuko Nishitani

ed., 2017) (“No report or opinion, national or international, on

foreign law, shall be binding for Spanish courts.”).

SMRH:4855987 33.2

TOWARDS CONVERGENCE? 375, 390

(Yuko Nishitani ed., 2017).’

- In Japan, “[t]he legal information

provided is not binding upon the

judicial authorities. Instead, they are

obliged to investigate and assess the

reliability of the information submitted

ex officio.” Shunichiro Nakano, Japan:

Proof of and Information About Foreign

La, in Japan, in TREATMENT OF

FOREIGN LAW: DYNAMICS TOWARDS

CONVERGENCE? 529, 533 (Yuko

Nishitani ed., 2017).

B. THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S RULE IS

INCONSISTENT WITH

INTERNATIONAL PRACTICE.

The Second Circuit’s “bound-to-defer” rule is

also inconsistent with the world’s two most

important international treaties on the

interpretation of foreign law: the European

Convention on Information on Foreign Law, June 7,

1968, 720 U.N.T.S. 154, which has 46 parties,* and

the Inter-American Convention on Proof «f and

Information on Foreign Law, May 8, 1979, 1439

’ See Schweizerische Zivilprozessordnung [ZPO], [Civil

Procedure Code] Dec. 19, 2008, SR 272, art. 157, translation at

https://www.admin.ch/opc/en/classified-

compilation/20061121/index.html (“The court forms its opinion

based on its free assessment of evidence taken.”).

8 See Chart of Signatures and Ratifications of Treaty,

https://www.coe.int/en/web/conventions/full-list/-

/conventions/treaty/062/signatures?p_auth=GIHMAINF.

SMRH ‘485598733.2

-24-

U.N.T.S. 111, which has 12 parties.* Both treaties

allow the courts of a party to request information

about foreign law from a designated foreign

government official. But even when there is a formal

request and foreign government reply in accordance

with the treaty process, a court is not bound to defer

to the foreign authority's reply. European

Convention, art. 8 (“The information given in the

reply shall not bind the judicial authority from

which the request emanated.”); Inter-American

Convention, art. 6 (“[Parties] shall not be required to

apply the law, or cause it to be applied, in

accordance with the content of the reply received.”).

These treaties “confirm that the court of appeals’

rule is out of step with international practice.” Brief

for the United States as Amicus Curiae on Petition

for a Writ of Certiorari at 12 n.2.

These treaties show that foreign countries do

not expect each other’s courts to be bound to defer.

To the contrary, these foreign countries are

concerned that a binding approach would violate the

principle that courts should independently

determine foreign law. As the official Explanatory

Report on the European Convention explains, the

rule providing that foreign government statements

are not binding “was inserted in order to stress the

desire of the Convention to respect the courts’

independence.” Council of Europe, Explanatory

Report to the European Convention on Information

on Foreign Law, June 7, 1968, at 6, available at

https://rm.coe.int/16800c92f3. See also Yuko

® See General Information of the Treaty,

https://www.oas.org/juridico/english/sigs/b-43.html.

SMRH:4855987 33.2

-25-

Nishitani, Treatment of Foreign Law: Dynamics

Towards Convergence?—General Report, in

TREATMENT OF FOREIGN LAW: DYNAMICS TOWARDS

CONVERGENCE? 56 (Yuko Nishitani ed., 2017) (“[T]he

large majority of national reporters argue that the

reply should not be binding upon the judge... ,

although this is not a unanimous view... . [T]he

reply ought to remain non-binding to allow the judge

to examine the reliability and accuracy of the

provided information and, if it is imprecise or

incorrect, conduct further research into the content

of foreign law by referring to other sources.”).

The United States is not a party to either of

these treaties. However, the United States has

officially expressed its view to the Hague Conference

on Private International Law that any future

convention on foreign law should likewise provide

that the views of foreign government authorities are

not binding on receiving courts. See Response of the

United States of America to Feasibility Study on the

Treatment of Foreign Law Questionnaire, Prel. Doc.

No 25 (Oct. 2007), Response to Question 29(c)

(answering “YES” to the following question:

“Should the information received be non-binding

(as opposed to _ binding)?”), available at

https-//assets. hcch.net/upload/wop/genaff_pd09us.pdf

Il. DEFERENCE PRINCIPLES SHOULD NOT

BE PART OF THE DETERMINATION OF

FOREIGN LAW.

A rule requiring deference to foreign

government statements about foreign law would not

SMRH:485598738.2

-26-

only undermine the accuracy and independence of

U.S. legal judgments, but also have the effect of

delegating to foreign governments power to influence

the application of domestic law—and hence the

implementation of domestic policy—in a wide range

of cases in which the proper application of U.S. law

depends on the determination of foreign law.

Moreover, international comity does not require that

U.S. courts be bound to defer to foreign government

statements about foreign law. While the ordinary

Rule 44.1 approach to issues of foreign law is

unlikely to raise comity concerns, a “bound-to-defer”

approach may raise such concerns.

A. ARULE REQUIRING DEFERENCE IS

INAPPROPRIATE BECAUSE IT

WOULD ALLOW FOREIGN

GOVERNMENTS TO UNDULY

INFLUENCE THE APPLICATION OF

U.S. LAW.

The proper application of American law

frequently depends on the determination of foreign

law. For example, foreign law determines whether

foreign corporations have the capacity to sue and be

sued in U.S. courts; defendants in breach of contract

cases may plead a defense of supervening foreign

illegality; domestic statutes may create liability for

conduct in violation of foreign law; the protection

against sclf-incrimination may apply to potential

foreign prosecutions; courts manage civil discovery

in light of foreign laws that affect potential

compliance; extraterritorial service of process in

federal court is permissible as prescribed by the

foreign country’s law; foreign laws may be relevant

SMRH ‘4855987 33.2

-27-

to venue questions in U.S. courts; laws creating

exceptions for double taxation require an assessment

of whether foreign tax liability attaches; resolution

of various types of disputes requires determination

of the validity of a foreign marriage; and—as in this

case—foreign law determines whether a party can

successfully raise the defense of foreign sovereign

compulsion. See Zachary D. Clopton, Judging

Foreign States, 94 WASH. U. L. REV. 1, 15-17 (2016)

(collecting sources and other examples); see also The

Amistad, 40 U.S. 518, 520, 593-97 (1841) (Story, J.)

(applying this Court’s independent interpretation of

Spanish law to free captured slaves and to reject as

evidence of their ownership the “public documents of

the [Spanish] government” that accompanied the

vessel).

In these situations the determination of

foreign law fundamentally influences the application

of domestic law and hence the implementation of

domestic policy. It is therefore crucial that U.S.

courts retain the authority to independently

determine foreign law in these cases.

The Second Circuit’s “bound-to-defer” rule

would inappropriately delegate this authority from

U.S. courts to foreign government actors by

requiring that U.S. courts defer to the

determinations of foreign government actors

appearing in U.S. court and by barring U.S. courts

from independently determining foreign law as they

are authorized to do under Rule 44.1. This

delegation would allow foreign governments to

influence the application of American law in a wide

range of cases—even though foreign governments

SMRH 4855987 33.2

-28-

lack the same interest as U.S. courts in ensuring the

proper application of American law. The Second

Circuit’s “bound-to-defer” rule would have this effect

whenever the application of American law depends

on the determination of foreign law and a foreign

government decides to submit an official statement

interpreting that law. For example, the Second

Circuit’s rule would seem to permit a foreign

government to intervene in any case against a

foreign corporation and conclusively declare that

corporation not capable of being sued in a U.S. court.

See Fed. R. Civ. P. 17(b)(2) (“Capacity to sue or be

sued is determined .. . for a corporation, by the law

under which it was organized ... .”). See also United

States v. McNab, 331 F.3d 1228, 1242 (11th Cir.

2003) (“[I)t is not difficult to imagine a Lacey Act

defendant in the future, who has the means and

connections in a foreign country, lobbying and

prevailing upon that country’s officials to invalidate

a particular law serving as the basis for his

conviction in the United States. . . .There would

cease to be any reason to enforce the Lacey Act, at

least with respect to foreign law violations, if every

change of position by a foreign government as to the

validity of its laws could invalidate a conviction.”).

In the antitrust setting, there are special

reasons for U.S. courts to determine foreign law

independently—and not simply defer to foreign

government statements about foreign law. In some

cases, statements may be submitted “to shield the

foreign defendants from liability in the U.S., even if

their conduct was anticompetitive.” Marek

Martyniszyn, Foreign States’ Amicus Curiae

Participation in U.S. Antitrust Cases, 61 ANTITRUST

SMRH :485598733.2

- 29-

BULL. 611, 630 (2016). It is neither surprising, nor is

it disrespectful to foreign governments, to

acknowledge that they, like the United States, will

occasionally take litigation positions abroad to

promote the interests of their nationals. See id. at

641 (observing the possibility that “a [foreign] state

participates as amicus before a U.S. court to meet

expectations of some local constituencies or lobbying

groups”); Jn re Vitamin C Antitrust Litigation, 810

F. Supp. 2d 522, 552 (E.D.N.Y. 2011) (finding that

Chinese ministry's statement “does not read like a

frank and straightforward explanation of Chinese

law. Rather, it reads like a carefully crafted and

phrased litigation position. . . . [All] of the points

above suggest that the Ministry's assertion of

compulsion is a _ post-hoc attempt to shield

defendants’ conduct from antitrust scrutiny rather

than a complete and straightforward explanation of

Chinese law. . . .”); see also infra Part II1.B

(discussing situations in which U.S. courts assess

the motives of foreign governments).

This is not to suggest that foreign government

statements that are consistent with or motivated by

foreign governmental interests, or the interests of

foreign businesses, are submitted in bad faith. It

merely means that judicial reliance on these

statements will not necessarily further the principle

of accuracy and could, in some cases, interfere with

U.S. law and policy.

SMRH:4855987 33.2

B. INTERNATIONAL COMITY DOES

NOT REQUIRE DEFERENCE TO A

FOREIGN GOVERNMENT'S

STATEMENT ABOUT FOREIGN

LAW.

Respondent seems to suggest that the Second

Circuit’s “bound-to-defer” rule is necessary as a

matter of international comity to ensure that U.S.

courts give “proper respect” to the sovereignty of

foreign countries. See Brief in Opposition at 26,

Animal Science Products, Inc. v. Hebei Welcome

Pharmaceutical Co., No. 16-1220 (U.S. June 5, 2017).

This is incorrect. International comity does not

require deference to a foreign government's

statement about foreign law.!°

To be sure, international comity is one

traditional rationale for choice-of-/aw rules that call

for the application of foreign law as a rule of decision

under specified circumstances. See Bank of Augusta

v. Earle, 38 U.S. (13 Pet.) 519, 589 (1839) (“[T]he

laws of one [country], will, by the comity of nations,

be recognised and executed in another . . . .”); JOSEPH

'© In other contexts, comity concerns have not prevented this

Court from critically characterizing and rejecting foreign

government positions in litigation. See RJR Nabisco, Inc. v.

European Community, i36 S.Ct. 2090, 2108 (2016) (“refusling]

to adopt” the position of the European Community and its

member states, and referring to the position as a “double

standard”); see also Hannah L. Buxbaum, Foreign

Governments as Plaintiffs in U.S. Courts and the Case Against

‘Judicial Imperialism”, 73 WASH. & LEE L. REV. 653, 678 et seq.

(2016) (discussing numerous other cases in which U.S. courts

rejected claims of foreign sovereigns instead of deferring based

on comity doctrine).

SMRH -485598733.2

-31-

STORY, COMMENTARIES ON THE CONFLICT OF LAWS §

38 (2d ed. 1841) (1834) (“[The] comity of nations . . .

is the most appropriate phrase to express the true

foundation and extent of the laws of one nation

within the territories of another.”).

But this case is different. This case involves

the interpretation of foreign law, not its application

as a rule of decision. And foreign law is at issue

because the proper application of domestic law—

namely U.S. antitrust law and possible U.S.-law

defenses to its application—depends on _ the

determination of foreign law, not because choice-of-

law rules require foreign law to be applied. See

supra Part III.A.'' Therefore, this case does not

implicate the international comity rationale

underlying choice-of-law rules.

In addition, the concerns that animate the

rules governing the determination of foreign law are

fundamentally different than those that animate

comity doctrines. The former are concerned with

ensuring that U.S. courts independently and

accurately determine the content of foreign law,

whereas the latter are concerned with the respect

'! Even in the choice-of-law context, international comity

does not require deference. It is well established, for example,

that a court may decline to apply foreign law that is “contrary

to the strong public policy of the forum.” Restatement (Second)

of Conflict of Laws § 90 (Am. Law Inst. 1971); see a/so STORY,

supra, § 25, at 31 (“No nation can . . . be required to sacrifice its

own interests in favor of another: or to enforce doctrines which,

in a moral or political view, are incompatible with its own

safety or happiness, or conscientious regard for justice and

duty.”).

SMRH °4855987 33.2

-32-

owed between governments. See supra Part I.

Comity considerations should therefore be kept

separate from Rule 44.1 and other principles

governing the determination of foreign law.

To the extent that this Court is concerned

about protecting international comity, nothing in

Rule 44.1 undermines other doctrines that protect

comity interests directly. There are many

“international comity doctrines” that apply in U.S.

courts, including the act of state doctrine,

presumption against extraterritoriality, foreign state

compulsion, recognition of foreign judgments, forum

non conveniens, international comity abstention,

antisuit injunctions, foreign discovery, foreign

sovereign immunity, foreign official immunity, and

the right of foreign governments to bring suits in

U.S. courts. See generally William S. Dodge,

International Comity in American Law, 115 COLUM.

L. Rev. 2071 (2015). These doctrines are distinct

from the question before the Court in this case.'”

In any event, because the Second Circuit's

“bound-to-defer” rule is inconsistent with foreign and

international practice, see supra Part Il, it is

unlikely that a foreign government could genuinely

view a U.S. court’s respectful but independent

'2 Because the Second Circuit did not rule on Respondent's

act of state doctrine and foreign sovereign compulsion defenses,

and because this Court decided not to review the Second

Circuit’s decision to abstain on grounds of international comity,

this Court should address only how foreign law should be

determined and should not address how any of the

international comity doctrines potentially implicated in this

case should be applied.

SMRH :485598733.2

-33-

determination of foreign law as a violation of

principles of international comity.

More specifically, Respondent suggests that

the Second Circuit’s “bound-to-defer” rule is

necessary to prevent U.S. courts from causing

offense to foreign governments by speculating about

foreign government motives. See, eg., Brief in

Opposition at 26, Anima! Science Products, Inc. v.

Hebei Welcome Pharmaceutical Co., No. 16-1220

(U.S. June 5, 2017) (“The district court’s speculation

about the Chinese government’s motives illustrate

the problem.”).

But there is nothing sacrosanct about

government motives. See Clopton, supra, at 10-23

(collecting examples of U.S. courts sitting in

judgment of foreign governments, foreign laws,

foreign legal acts, foreign legal systems, and foreign

government interests). For example, in W.S.

Kirkpatrick & Co. v. Environmental Tectonics Corp.,

493 U.S. 400 (1990), this Court held that dismissal of

a suit under the act of state doctrine was improper,

thus allowing the suit to proceed despite the District

Court’s finding that the suit could “impugn or

question the nobility of a foreign nation’s

motivations.” /d. at 408-10. Moreover, in suits

against foreign governments under the Foreign

Sovereign Immunities Act, U.S. courts may assess

the legal liability of foreign governments, which,

depending on the elements of the claim, may require

courts to make findings about the purpose or intent

of foreign government actions. Similarly, the

possibility that determinations of foreign law may in

some cases touch on foreign government motives

SMRH:486598733.2

-34-

should not interfere with U.S. courts’ ability to make

those determinations accurately and independently.

Indeed, requiring courts to defer to foreign

government interpretations may put undue pressure

on courts to rely on other comity doctrines. A court

faced with a potentially unreliable foreign

government statement should be _ able to

independently evaluate the statement’s

persuasiveness and then to explain honestly the

basis of that independent evaluation. If a court were

bound to defer to an unreliable statement, as the

Second Circuit’s rule would require, then there is a

risk that the court would be tempted to invoke

abstention-like options that might not otherwise be

appropriate. Cf Colo. River Water Conservation

Dist. v. United States, 424 U.S. 800, 817 (1976)

(describing the “virtually unflagging obligation of the

federal courts to exercise the jurisdiction given

them”).

C. |THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S “BOUND-

TO-DEFER” APPROACH RAISES

COMPLEX QUESTIONS OF

FOREIGN LAW THAT MIGHT

THEMSELVES RAISE

INTERNATIONAL COMITY

CONCERNS.

Directing U.S. courts to defer to foreign

government determinations of law sounds simple,

but in fact this approach would raise challenging

questions and would risk offense to international

comity, thus undermining its chief justification.

SMRH:4855987 33.2

A rule that requires deference to certain

foreign government statements implies that courts

would have to decide which foreign statements

receive this treatment. For example, U.S. courts

would presumably have to determine which foreign

government institutions are permitted to make

authoritative statements about foreign law.’ This

determination likely would require government-by-

government assessments, and may vary depending

on the allocation of authority within each country

(e.g., parliamentary versus presidential versus

nondemocratic). The choice also could depend on

whether the foreign law in question is judge-made

law, legislation, executive order or decree, or

administrative regulation. Courts would have to

decide how to respond if the foreign government

experienced a change in position (or leadership)

between the underlying conduct and the litigation,

or if two branches of a foreign government submitted

conflicting determinations. And at least in some

circumstances, the Second Circuit suggests that the

“reasonableness” of foreign government statements

may still be scrutinized. See Jn re Vitamin C, 837

F.3d at 189.

Asking courts to make these determinations is

at least as likely to raise international comity

concerns as the existing Rule 44.1 approach. Because

the Second Circuit's “bound-to-defer” rule is

inconsistent with foreign and international practice,

‘8 In many cases, this authority might be sensibly assumed

when the foreign government entity is a foreign country’s

highest court: but the inquiry may be far more complex when

foreign government entities other than courts are involved.

SMRH:4855987 33.2

-36-

it is unlikely that a foreign government could

genuinely view a U.S. court’s respectful but

independent determination of foreign law in

accordance with Rule 44.1 as a violation of principles

of international comity. See supra Part II. But under

the Second Circuit’s approach, foreign governments

could be offended when U.S. courts categorize some

of their government actors as authoritative and

others not, and some of their statements “reasonable

under the circumstances” and others not.

IV. U.S. COURTS SHOULD GIVE RESPECTFUL

CONSIDERATION TO A FOREIGN

GOVERNMENT'S STATEMENT ABOUT

FOREIGN LAW, BUT THEY STILL MUST

DETERMINE FOREIGN LAW

INDEPENDENTLY.

U.S. courts should give respectful

consideration to a foreign government's statements

about its law. See STEPHEN BREYER, THE COURT AND

THE WORLD: AMERICAN LAW AND THE NEW GLOBAL

REALITIES 92 (2015) (“[OJur Court does, and should,

listen to foreign voices, to those who understand and

can illuminate relevant foreign laws and practices.”):

cf Sanchez-Lilamas v. Oregon, 548 U.S. 331, 353

(2006) (noting that the International Court of

Justice’s interpretation of a treaty “deserves

‘respectful consideration,” but declining to be bound

by that interpretation) (quoting Breard v. Greene,

523 U.S. 371, 375 (1998) (per curiam)). This

respectful consideration is consistent with the

principles of judicial independence and accuracy that

underpin the determination of foreign law under

Rule 44.1.

SMRH:4855987 33.2

Indeed, in some cases U.S. courts may find it

helpful to actively seek information about foreign

law from a foreign government. Efforts to clarify the

process for foreign government participation in U.S.

litigation should be pursued, and such participation

should be encouraged. See, e.g, Communication to

Courts, 1978 Digest of United States Practice in

International Law ch. 4, § 1 at 560-63 (describing

this Court’s efforts to encourage foreign governments

to directly file amicus briefs rather than

communicating to U.S. courts through the State

Department). Efforts to formalize inter-court

relationships seem especially promising. See, e.g., 11

U.S.C. § 1525 (providing for court-to-court

communication in cross-border bankruptcy cases);

Memorandum of Understanding Between the Chief

Justice of New South Wales and the Chief Judge of

the State of New York on References of Questions of

Law (Feb. 2, 2017), available at

http://www.supremecourt.justice.nsw.gov.au/Pages/s

co2_practiceprocedure/sco2_internationaljudicialcoop

eration/SCO2_agreement_newyork.aspx (providing

for cooperation between New York state courts and

the courts of New South Wales in resolution of

questions of the other's law); see also Lehman

Brothers v. Schein, 416 U.S. 386, 390-91 (1974)

(praising the use of the formal certified-question

procedure in domestic interjurisdictional cases).

But a foreign government’s statements cannot

be binding on U.S. courts. Instead, U.S. courts

should accurately and independently determine the

meaning of foreign law taking into account not only

a foreign government’s own statements, but also

other relevant information about that law, as

SMRH:485598733.2

-38-

expressly authorized by Rule 44.1. This independent

approach is especially important when—as in this

case and many other cases—the proper application

of American law depends on the determination of

foreign law. Cf BREYER, supra, at 7 (“I do not ignore

the basic fact that the American people can and

must democratically determine their own laws.”).

Just as U.S. courts should respectfully consider

foreign government statements, foreign governments

should respect the independence of U.S. courts when

ruling on questions of law.

The Second Circuit’s “bound-to-defer” rule is

unnecessary to promote the respectful consideration

of foreign government statements about foreign law.

Rule 44.1—which already authorizes’ the

consideration of “any relevant material or source”—

and the principle of accuracy in the determination of

foreign law, already ensure this. This case requires

no more than reaffirming those basic principles.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals should

be reversed.

SMRH:4855987 33.2

-39-

Respectfully submitted,

NEIL A.F. POPOVIC

COUNSEL OF RECORD

SHEPPARD, MULLIN,

RICHTER & HAMPTON LLP

Four Embarcadero Center,

17% Floor

San Francisco, CA

94111-4109

npopovic@sheppardmullin.com

415-774-3156

SMRH :485598733.2

APPENDIX"*

George A. Bermann is Walter Gellhorn

Professor of Law and Jean Monnet Professor of EU

Law at Columbia Law School, where he teaches and

writes on, among other things, Transnational

Litigation and International Commercial and

Investment Arbitration, and he directs Columbia

Law School’s Center for International Commercial

and Investment Arbitration. He is an affiliated

faculty member of the School of Law of Sciences Po

(Paris) and teaches regularly at Georgetown Law

Center (Washington, D.C.) and the Masters

Programs in International Dispute Resolution

(University of Geneva). Professor Bermann is a

frequent arbitrator in both international commercial

and investment disputes, and he has _ served

frequently as a foreign law expert in proceedings in

U.S. and foreign courts, as well as_ before

international arbitral tribunals. He is the former

President of the American Society of Comparative

Law and the Académie internationale de droit

comparé (Paris). At present, he scrves as Chief

Reporter of the American Law Institute’s

Restatement of the U.S. Law of International

Commercial and Investment Arbitration.

Pamela K. Bookman is an Assistant Professor

of Law at Temple University Beasley School of Law.

'4 Several amici are reporters or advisers for restatement

and other projects of the American Law Institute, including the

Restatement (Third) of Conflict of Laws and the Restatement

(Fourth) of Foreign Relations Law. They join this brief in their

individual] capacity. This brief should not be taken to represent

the views of the American Law Institute.

SMRH:4855987 33.2

A-2

She teaches courses on Civil Procedure, Contracts,

and International Litigation and Arbitration. Her

relevant publications include Litigation Isolationism,

67 STAN. L. REV. 1081 (2015), and The Unsung

Virtues of Global Forum Shopping, 92 NOTRE DAME

L. REV. 579 (2016).

Andrew Bradt is an Assistant Professor of

Law at the University of California, Berkeley School

of Law. He writes and teaches in Civil Procedure,

Conflict of Laws, and International Civil Litigation.

Stephen B. Burbank is David Berger Professor

for the Administration of Justice at the University of

Pennsylvania Law School. He has been an Adviser to

the American Law Institute’s Project on

Transnational Rules of Civil Procedure, the

American Law Institute’s International Jurisdiction

and Judgments Project, and the Restatement (Third)

of Conflict of Laws. Relevant publications include:

The World in Our Courts, 89 MICH. L. REV. 1456

(1991); The Reluctant Partner: Making Procedural

Law for International Civil Litigation, 57 L. &

CONTEMP. PROB. 101 (1994); Jurisdictional

Equilibration, the Proposed Hague Convention and

Progress in National Law, 49 AM. J. COMP. L. 203

(2001); and Federalism and Private International

Law: Implementing the Hague Choice of Court

Convention in the United States, 2 J. Priv. INTL L.

287 (2006).

Kevin M. Clermont is the Ziff Professor of Law

at Cornell Law School. He specializes in Civil

Procedure. His relevant pyblications include Deyrees

of Deference: Apnilying vs. Adopting Another

SMRH :485598733.2

A-3

Sovereign's Law, 103 CORNELL L. REV. 243 (2018),

and Xenophilia in American Courts, 109 HARV. L.

REV. 1120 (1996) (with Theodore Eisenberg).

Zachary D. Clopton is an Assistant Professor

of Law at Cornell Law School. He teaches courses on

Civil Procedure and International Litigation. His

relevant publications include Judging Foreign

States, 94 WasH. U. L. REV. 1 (2016) and

Transnational Class Actions in the Shadow of

Preclusion, 90 IND. L. J. 1387 (2015).

Ralf Michaels is Arthur Larson Professor of

Law at Duke University School of Law. He currently

serves as an Adviser for the American Law

Institute’s Restatement (Third) of Conflict of Laws

and for its Restatement (Fourth) of Foreign

Relations Law. His pertinent publications include

Interpretation and Development of Foreign Law {in

German], 116 ZEITSCHRIFT FUR ZIVILRPOZESS 3

(2003), and The Conflicts Restatement and the

World, 110 AM. J. INTL L. UNBOUND 155 (2016).

Kermit Roosevelt is a Professor of Law at the

University of Pennsylvania Law School, and the

author of several books and articles on conflict of

laws, including CONFLICT OF LAWS: CONCEPTS AND

INSIGHTS (Foundation Press, 2nd ed. 2015) and

CONFLICT OF LAWS: CASES, COMMENTS, QUESTIONS

(West, 9th ed. 2013) (with Herma Hill Kay and Larry

Kramer). He currently serves as Reporter for the

Restatement (Third) of Conflict of Laws.

Louise Ellen Teitz is Distinguished Service

Professor of Law at Roger Williams University

SMRH :4855987 33.2

A-4

School of Law, Bristol, Rhode Island. She previously

served as First Secretary at the Hague Conference

on Private International Law and is an expert on

conflict of laws and international litigation. Her

relevant publications on foreign law include

Determining and Applying Foreign Law: The

Increasing Need for Cross-border Cooperation, 45

N.Y.U. J. INTL L. & POL. 1081 (2013), From the

Courthouse in Tobago to the Internet: The

Increasing Need to Prove Foreign Law in U.S.

Courts, 34 J. MAR. L. & Com. 97 (2003), and

TRANSNATIONAL LITIGATION (Lexis Law 1999).

Christopher A. Whytock is Professor of Law at the

University of California, Irvine, School of Law. He

currently serves as an Associate Reporter for the

American Law Institute’s Restatement (Third) of

Conflict of Laws and as an Adviser for its

Restatement (Fourth) of Foreign Relations Law. His

publications on conflict of laws include The Evolving

Forum Shopping System, 96 CORNELL L. REV. 481

(2011), Myth of Mess? International Choice of Law in

Action, 84 N.Y.U. L. REV. 719 (2009), and CONFLICT

OF Laws (6th ed.) (West Hornbook Series,

forthcoming 2018) (with Peter Hay, Patrick J.

Borchers & Symeon C. Symeonides).

SMRH:4855987 33.2

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.