Amicus Curiae Brief — Marinello v. United States, 138 S. Ct. 52 (2017) (No. 16-1144)
Supreme Court brief2017
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
FILED |
SEP -8 2017
F OF 7 LEHA
No. 16-1144
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
CARLO J. MARINELLO, II,
Petitioner,
v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.
On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit
BRIEF OF
AMERICAN COLLEGE OF TAX COUNSEL
AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER
ARMANDO GOMEZ JENNY L. JOHNSON
DAVID W. FOSTER Counsel of Record
SKADDEN, ARPS, SLATE, GUINEVERE M. MOORE
MEAGHER & FLOM LLP JOHNSON MOORE LLC
1440 New York Ave., NW 150 North Wacker Drive
Washington, DC 20005 Suite 1250
202-371-7000 Chicago, 1L. 60606
312-549-9990
Jenny johnson@
jmtaxlitigation.com
Altorneys for Amicus Curiae
WiILSON-EPES PrinminG Co., Inc. — (202) 789-0096 — WasrencTon, D.C. 20002
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
pr a by, tn Ee ill
STATEMENT OF INTEREST .....................2c0ceeeescees ]
Fg a St hs Sy nr ee 3
IEE sich aicncnnivcddnsdtvatpeieiesased neddhaodinsenitonccsets 4
Zs Without a Narrowing Interpretation
from this Court, the Residual Clause of
§ 7212(a) Presents Grave
Constitutional Concerns. .............0.........06000- A
A. The Residual Clause of § 7212(a)
Fails to Give Fair Notice of the
Conmdtict 86 PuUmimios........c0..ccceccccccccsce0. 4
B, The Residual Clause of § 7212(#)
is So Standardless that it Invites
Arbitrary Enforcement. .................... 11
1. Courts have Struggled to
Craft Principled and
Intelligible Boundaries
Around the Residual
RN i246 caatebs cidineintaenmanseans 1]
2. Prosecutors have
Abandoned All Objective
Standards Limiting
Prosecutions Under the
Residual Clause. ................
ee
il
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page(s)
II. This Court Should Interpret the
Residual Clause of § 7212(a) as a
Specialized Too] Within the Tax
IS MID iis cncheskonnoecvecsinccsscsusenes 20
A. To Interpret § 7212(a), the Court
Must Consider its Role in the Tax
Enforcement System......................+-. 21
B. Tethering the Residual Clause to
an Existing Proceeding Prevents
it from Subsuming the Other Tax
Crimes and Provides the Nexus
Required for Intent to Obstruct. ...... 24
C. § 7212(a) Must Require
Knowledge of Ulegality and an
He BR Ga stttbrctdtinmeticennnsicens 27
l. Requiring Knowledge of
illegality as an Element of
a Tax Crime is Necessary
to Preserve Due Process. ....... 27
2. § 7212(a) Should Not be an
Exception to the Rule that
Tax Felonies Require an
AEP ARIEIS BGR... «.6cc0s<.000sces00s: 31
D. Any Broader Reading of
§ 7212(a) Threatens to
Undermine the Tax Enforcement
RI Ni cats tains decease nadacmnoasamsiiontan 33
EOE I csinaithc scuccccaeeiicsscica ig sands cacaioiennmnmeniens 35
iil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES:
Arthur Andersen LLP v. United States,
644 U.S. 686 (3006)....................
Badaracco v. Commissioner,
464 U.S. 386 (1984)....................
Champlin Ref. Co. v. Corp. Comm'n,
, ech Go 0) ee
Cheek v. United States,
496 U.S. 192 (1901)....................
Clark v. Martinez,
643 U.S. 371 CGOS)..........2....00022-
Johnson v. United States,
135 S. Ct. 2551 (2015)................
McDonnell v. United States,
136 S. Ct. 2355 (2016)................
McNally v. United States,
4838 U.S. 360 (1987)....................
Pettibone v. United States,
148 U.S. 197 (1893)...............se08
Skilling v. United States,
661 U.S. 358 (2010)................--+.
Page(s)
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
Spies v. United States,
Be ees ee II a iiticctniwnccceccsuissoosuns 22, 23, 31
United States v. Agutlar,
ee ee Ce ais vce ves picnnesncccensarascpenvace 12, 26
United States v. Bishop,
ON II vascccckinnecscensiccsvasinsoiemeiasscnsuns 28
United States v. Bowman,
173 F.3d 595 (6th Cir. 1999)............13, 14, 26, 27
United States v. Dean,
487 F.3d 840 (11th Cir. 2007)........................... 30
United States v. Floyd,
740 F.3d 22 (Ast Cir. 2014) .....ccccccceccccecceseeeseee. 15
United States v. Giambaivo,
810 F.3d 1086 (8th Cir. 2016).............00000 ee 17
United States v. Kassouf,
144 F.3d 952 (6th Cir. 1998)............12, 13, 14, 26
United States v. Kelly,
147 F.3a 172 (a Cir. 1908) ..............-..... 4, 29, 30
L/nited States v. Marinelio,
839 F.3d 209 (2d Cir. 2016)....................... passim
Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
United States v. Marinelilo,
I Ss GE TIPE OD onancadetecicssiccssovonnncese 33
United States v. Massey,
419 F.3d 1008 (9th Cir. 2005)........ nena a LT 15
United States v. Miner,
774 F.3d 336 (6th Cir. 2014).............. ....14, 26, 27
United States v. Popkin,
943 F.2d 1635 (11th Cir. 1991)..................... 4,16
United States v. Reeves,
752 F.2d 995 (5th Cir. 1985).................. 11, 15, 16
United States v. Saidana,
427 F.3d 296 (6th Cir. 2005).............20...-.-.. 4, 30
United States v. Sorensen,
801 F.3d 1237 (10th Cir. 2015).................. passim
United States v. Sun-Diamond Growers,
i: I cs nticsendnsceneceiassatnionenisones 20
United States v. Walasek,
527 F.2d 676 (3d Cir. 1975) ...................-.ceseesess 26
United States v. Williams,
644 F.2d 696 (8th Cir. 1981)....................... 12, 18
vl
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
United States v. Williamson,
746 F.3d 987 (10th Cir. 2014)..................... 29, 30
United States v. Wood,
384 F. App’x 698 (10th Cir. 2010) .............0...... 32
U.S. Civil Service Comm'n v. Letter Carriers,
ee es ee Ee icniccncssccecterercssrcarcuviecneeireioses 20
Yates v. United States,
Oe i ee Rose cinivrccnsocsonsecgentasocecone 11, 21
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:
LL od hae eee neu v a ene 12, 16, 25
BN Eee Se BID srecighes a cesaeinsdppcerbdierertnssissasenadiasligsiorkodnepnahen 24
et Se ee)
OE TI is stovncen cocaine YA, 25, 32
Ee C, , aa eaee 24, 27
lk a eee 24
LE Se a ES eT 12, 16, 32
Be Ee PA aicaiee i tivoncicecicieouacetoonictas passim
Vil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
|, ET 24
ee BG vices sinsansntssniesesenssunsonvscnobenacissosensanies 8
Internal Revenue Code of 1954,
Pub. L. No. 83-591, 68A Stat. 855.............. 11, 25
RULES:
oceans ssa deeiossnbactlbdeniniciiy 1
OTHER AUTHORITIES:
Camilla E. Watson, Tax Lawyers, Ethical
Obligations, and the Duty to the
System, 47 U. Kan. L. Rev. 847 (1999) .............. 7
Department of Justice Tax Division,
Directive No. 77 (1989), superseded by
ib BO: TT TI nino nc sveserciccsssecesceosas 18, 19
John S. Dzienkowski & Robert J. Peroni, The
Decline in Tax Adviser Professionalism
in American Society, 84 Fordham L.
ee iiss. nadliadindagesonstieunesatabnapennen 6
Linda Galler, The Tax Lawyer's Duty to the
System, 16 Va. Tax Rev. 681 (1997) ..............06+. 7
Vili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
Todd Haugh, SOX on Fish: A New Harm of
Overcriminalization, 109 NW. U. L. Rev.
CPUNIIO BE Ci osveciinactcccinsnticscnasanenetincnl te 35
U.S. Dep’t of Justice, Criminal Tax Manual § 2.00
(2012), https://www justice. gov/sites/default/
files/tax/legacy/2015/03/27/
CTM%20Chapter%202.pdf.....2.0... oe. ceeececcceeeeeeee 34
BRIEF OF
AMERICAN COLLEGE OF TAX COUNSEL
AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER
American College of Tax Counsel (the “College”)
respectfully submits this brief as amicus curtae in
support of petitioner Carlo J. Marinello, II.'
STATEMENT OF INTEREST
The College is a nonprofit professional
association of tax lawyers in private practicc, in law
school teaching positions, and in government, who
are recognized for their excellence im tax practice
and for their substantial contributions and
commitment to the profession. The purposes of the
College are:
e To foster and recognize the excellence of its
members and to clevate standards in the
practice of the profession of tax law;
e To stimulate development of skills and
knowledge through participation in continuing
legal education programs and seminars;
—<
' Pursuant to Rule 37.6, counsel for amicus curiae
states that no counsel] for a party authored this brief in
whole or in part, and no party or counsel for a party made
a monetary contribution intended to fund the preparation
or submission of this brief. No person other than amicus
curiae, its members, or its counsel made a monetary
contribution to its preparation or submission. All parties
have consented to the filing of this bricf.
2
e To provide additional mechanisms for input by
tax professionals in development of tax laws
and policy; and
e To facilitate scholarly’ discussion and
examination of tax policy issues.
The College is composed of approximately 700
Fellows recognized for their outstanding reputations
and contributions to the field of tax law, and is
governed by a Board of Regents consisting of one
Regent from each federal judicial circuit, two
Regents at large, the Officers of the Colleg and the
last retiring President of the College.
This amicus brief is submitted by the College’s
Board of Regents and does not necessarily reflect the
views of all members of the College. including those
who are government employces.
Effective tax enforcement requires uniform,
predictable and comprchensible distinctions betweeu
lawful business practices and felonies. The College
submits this amicus brief because it is deeply
concerned that the lower courts’ unbounded reading
of the residual clause in 26 U.S.C. § 7212(a) erases
those distinctions and impermissibly shifts the
power to define criminal] liability to prosecutors.
Narrowed appropriately, the residual clause in
§ 7212(a) has a specialized role to play in combating
obstruction of tax enforcement. Read broadly, it
threatens principles at the foundation of our system
of justice and creates undue risk for both taxpayers
and Fellows of the College who have devoted their
careers to helping taxpayers navigate the tax laws.
3
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
The Court has “traditionally exercised restraint
in assessing the reach of a federal criminal statute,
both out of deference to the prerogatives of Congress
and out of concern that a fair warning should be
given to the world in language that the common
world will understand, of what the law intends to do
if a certain line is passed.” Arihur Andersen LLP v.
United States, 544 U.S. 696, 703 (2005) (citation
omitted). Desire to ensure fair warning and
deference to Congress coincide to point unequivocally
in the direction of a narrow reading of the residual!
clause of § 7212(a).
The unbounded reading of § 7212(a) espoused by
the Government and adopted by the court below
deprives taxpayers and their advisors of fair notice
of the conduct it punishes, and invites arbitrary
enforcement by prosecutors empowered with vast
discretion. These potential constitutional infirmities
militate in favor of a narrow reading of § 7212(a)
that recognizes its specialized role in_ the
comprehensive tax enforcement system enacted by
Congress and adopts the safeguards that Congress
and the courts have developed to ensure due process
in prosecutions for tax crimes and obstruction of
justice.
Narrowed appropriately, § 7212(a) is a tool to
combat interference with an _ identifiable tax
enforcement activity by a defendant who commits an
affirmative act to obstruct or impede with knowledge
of that activity and intent to gain an advantage he
knew to be unlawful. Any broader reading would
implicate constitutional principles and eviscerate the
4
comprehensive tax enforcement system Congress
enacted.
ARGUMENT
I. Without a Narrowing Interpretation from
this Court, the Residual Clause of § 7212(a)
Presents Grave Constitutional Concerns.
The Court recently confirmed that the
Government violates the guarantee of due process
“by taking away somcone’s life, liberty, or property
under a criminal law so vague that it fails to give
ordinary people fair notice of the conduct it
punishes, or so standardless that it invites arbitrary
enforcement.” Johnson v. United States, 135 S. Ct.
2551, 2556 (2015) (citing Kolender v. Lawson, 461
U.S. 352, 357-58 (1983)). The unbounded reading of
the residual clause espoused by the Government and
adopted by the court below has both vices of a vague
statute.
A. The Residual Clause of § 7212(a) Fails
to Give Fair Notice of the Conduct it
Punishes.
The residual clause of § 7212(a) makes it a felony
to “in any other way corruptly .. . obstruct[] or
impede[ ], or endeavor| | to obstruct or impede, the
due administration of this title.” The lower courts
have defined “corruptly” to mean “with intent to gain
an unlawful advantage or benefit either for oneself
or another.” See, e.g., United States v. Sorensen, 801
F.3d 1217, 1224 (10th Cir. 2015); United States v.
Saldana, 427 F.3d 298, 305 (5th Cir. 2005); United
States v. Kelly, 147 F.3d 172, 177 (2d Cir. 1998);
United States v. Popkin, 943 F.2d 1535, 1540 (11th
Cir. 1991). Taking false comfort from the “corruptly”
5
mens rea requirement, the Second Circuit in the
decision below refused to limit the scope of § 7212(a)
to interference with a pending Internal Revenue
Service (“IRS”) action of which the defendant was
aware, and found that no affirmative act is
necessary for this felony. United States v. Marinello,
839 F.3d 209 (2d Cir. 2016). Head that broadly,
§ 7212(a) criminalizes any act or omission that could
potentially make any aspect of the IRS’s job harder
in any way as long as the defendant committed the
act or omission with an intent to gain an unlawful
benefit—-whether or not the defendant knew the
benefit was unlawful, whether or not the act or
omission was itself a lawful act, whether or not the
defendant acted deceitfully, whether or not the
defendant could foresee any nexus between the act
or omission and the IRS, and whether or not the act
oT Omission occurred within the adversarial process.
The Government argues that “unlike justice
administered in a court proceeding—which is a
defined, discrete event-—-tax administration is
continuous, ubiquitous, and universally known to
exist.” Resp’t’s Br. in Opp’n at 9. It is precisely this
continuous, ubiquitous, and universal nature of tax
administration that renders an unbounded
interpretation of the residual clause of § 7212(a)
unconstitutionally vague. In administering the tax
code, the IRS plays every conceivable role:
lawmaker when it promulgates regulations and
rulings; administrator when it processes returns and
payments; investigator when it conducts civil audits
or criminal investigations; settlement officer when
the Office of Appeals considers a disagreement
between the taxpayer and cxaminer; litigator when
6
attorneys in the Office of Chief Counsel represent
the IRS in adversarial court proceedings; decision-
maker when it rules on Private Letter Ruling
requests; and ethics board when it creates rules for
practice before the IRS and enforces those rules
through its Office of Professional Responsibility.
Countless otherwise lawful acts or omissions could
impede the IRS in one of its myriad roles. By giving
prosecutors the discretion to convert any one of those
countless acts or omissions into a federal felony, the
residual clause violates the Constitution’s
prohibition on vague criminal] laws.
Tax lawyers, including Fellows of the College,
face an especially heightened risk of wrongful
prosecution without fair notice under the residual
clause of §7212(a). Tax lawyers owe duties of
confidentiality and zealous advocacy to their clients
that often compete with an ill-defined duty to the tax
system that may morph depending on whcther the
lawyer is engaged in tax planning, audit defensc,
litigation or any other type of interaction with the
IRS. Defining the duties owed to the IRS in each
context, and striking the right balance between
those duties and often conflicting duties owed to
taxpayer clients, is no easy feat. Indeed, the scope of
these duties and appropriate resolution of the
inevitable conflicts between them arc the subject of
significant dispute and consternation.2 These are
2 See, e.g., John S, Dzienkowski & Robert J. Peroni,
The Decline in Tax Adviser Professionalism in American
Society, 84 Fordham L. Rev. 2721, 2725 (2016) (describing
the longstanding debate over the tax lawyer's role and
arguing that, although the lawyer has a duty to the
(cont'd)
7
muddy waters for even the most experienced tax
lawyers, and the Second Circuit’s reading of
§ 7212(a) gives prosecutors the unfettered right to
decide that a lawyer's attempt to strike the right
balance was not only crroneous, but may be charged
as felony obstruction. Tax lawyers already forced to
sail through Scylla and Charybdis to comply with
their ethical obligations should not face the
additional threat of felony prosecution on one side of
the strait.
Without a narrowing interpretation of § 7212(a),
the line between effectively representing a taxpayer
and what a prosecutor could charge as corruptly
impeding the IRS is nonexistent. For example, when
handling an audit, the taxpayer's lawyer may
discover that the taxpayer underpaid his tax. In our
adversarial system of justice, there is no duty
imposed on the lawyer to expose flaws in the
taxpayer's returns or recordkeeping during an JRS
audit. Indeed, the lawyer is obligated two preserve
the confidentiality of information shared by the
taxpayer within the attorney-client privilege and to
(cont'd from previous page)
system, “concrete guidance” on the scope of that duty is
needed); Camilla EI. Watson, Tax Lawyers, Ethical
Obligations, and the Duty to the System, 47 U. Kan. L.
Rev. 847, 851 (1999) (recognizing the contested question
of how a tax lawyer’s duties conflict and arguing that
there is no discrete duty by the lawyer to the tax system);
Linda Guller, The Tax Lawyer's Duty to the System, 16
Va. Tax Rev. 681, 687-88 (1997) (taking the position that
when u lawyer’s two duties collide, the duty to the system
takes priority).
8
help the taxpayer minimize his exposure for
additional tax and criminal or civil penalties to the
extent she can do so within her ethical obligations.
As interpreted by the Second Circuit, however,
§ 7212(a) authorizes felony prosecution for an
omission that impedes the administration of the tax
code if it is committed with intent to gain an
unlawful advantage for oneself or another. Is the
tax lawyer’s failure to notify the IRS of her client's
tax deficiency, committed with intent to gain an
unlawful advantage for her client in the form of a
lower tax liability, a felony under § 7212(a)?
Similarly, what risk might a tax lawyer (or her
client) face when the newly retained tax lawyer
discovers through a review of the client’s financial
records and previously filed tax returns that certain
items of income were not properly reported on those
returns? Treasury reguiations counsel that the tax
lawyer who knows that her client has not complied
with the tax laws, or has made an error or omission
in his return, must “advise the client promptly of
such noncompliance, error, or omission” and “the
consequences . . . of such noncompliance, error, or
omission.” 31 C.F.R. § 10.21. This Court has held
that the tax code does not require the filing of
amended returns. SBadaracco v. Commissioner, 464
U.S. 386, 397 (1984). If the tax lawyer explains the
law to her client and the chent elects not to amend
his returns in the hope that the IRS does not select
his returns for examination, can the lawyer or her
client be prosecuted under § 7212(a) for such failure
to act?
Consider also that tax lawyers handling IRS
audits routinely receive requests for an interview of
9
the taxpayer. Participating in that interview is often
not in the taxpayer’s best interests, and an effective
lawyer would advise the client of the risks of an
interview and then attempt to avoid it. Is it a
violation of § 7212(a) for the lawyer to stall the
auditor and avoid scheduling the interview? Is it a
violation of § 7212(a) to schedule the interview, but
advise the taxpayer to assert his Fifth Amendment
privilege against self-incrimination throughout the
interview? Either way, the tax lawyer is impeding
the IRS in its effort to administer the tax code, and
doing so with the intent to gain an unlawful
advantage for her client in the form of a lower tax
liability. There is nothing in § 7212(a) to distinguish
deceitful dodging from honest stalling, or to
differentiate protection of Constitutional privileges
from other kinds of stonewalling.
Similar obstruction of the IRS happens routinely
in the normal course of litigation between taxpayers
and the IRS. Indeed, the central issue in tax
litigation is typically whether the taxpayer was
entitled to the reduced tax liability he claimed, or
whether the reduction was an “unlawful benefit.” If,
at the conclusion of the litigation, the court finds
that the taxpayer's correct tax liability was higher
than he reported on his return, is everything the
taxpayer and his lawyer did to impede the IRS in its
effort to win the case—such as objecting to
interrogatories or disputing requests to admit—
suddenly a felony in hindsight? Nothing in § 7212(a)
carves out actions taken in the course of litigation
maintained in good faith.
In addition to the risks of wrongful prosecution
arising from adversarial interactions with the IRS,
10
there are also countless actions or omissions that
could trigger a prosecution under § 7212(a) even
though the eventual impact on the IRS is both
unforeseen and unforeseeable. For example, a small
restaurant may store its register tapes and other
records in the basement. If, when installing a new
freezer, the owner’s son runs the electrical wires
himself to avoid the cost of hiring a _ licensed
electrician, he will have acted with intent to secure
an unlawful benefit for the restaurant in the form of
money saved by not complying with the local
building code. If a fire caused by the faulty wiring
destroys the register tapes and other records, and
the IRS subsequently audits the restaurant, the lack
of records would impair the IRS’s ability to examine
the restaurant's income. The restaurant owner’s
son, therefore, could be prosecuted under the
residual clause of § 7212{a) because actions he took
with intent to gain an unlawful benefit for the
restaurant impeded the administration of the tax
code. Although local building codes are certainly
important, a failure to comply should not become a
federal felony simply because it kicks off a chain of
events that makes the [RS’s job harder at some point
in the future.
As this Court recognized long ago, “fijt is not the
penalty itself that is invalid, but the exaction of
obedience to a rule or standard that is so vague and
indefinite as to be really no rule or standard at
all.” Champlin Ref. Co. v. Corp. Comm’n, 286 U.S.
210, 243 (1932) (citations omitted). Under the
reading espoused by the Government and adopted by
the court below, the residual clause of § 7212(a) is
really no rule or standard at all, yet it touches “every
11
aspect of economic life.” United Stutes v. Reeves, 752
F.2d 995, 999 (5th Cir. 1985). Such a pervasive yet
simultaneously indefinite criminal statute does not
pass Constitutional muster.
B. The Residual Clause of § 7212(a) is So
Standardless that it Invites Arbitrary
Enforcement.
{In addition to failing to give ordinary people—vor
even highly educated tax lawyers—fair notice of
what conduct is proscribed, the residual clause of
§ 7212(a) impermissibly shifts the balance of power
“between ‘the legislature, the prosecutor, and the
court in defining criminal liability.” Yates v. United
States, 135 S. Ct. 1074, 1088 (2015) (quoting
Liparota v. United States, 471 U.S. 419, 427 (1985)).
Like the residual clause in Johnson, the residual
clause in § 7212(a) “produces more unpredictability
and arbitrariness than the Due Process Clause
tolerates.” Johnson, 135 S. Ct. at 2258. In Johnson,
the Court found that “repeated attempts and
repeated failures to craft a principled and objective
standard out of the residual clause confirm its
hopeless indeterminacy.” fd. The lower courts have
been unable to define any consistent, intelligible
boundaries for §7212(a) and the Government has
progressively abandoned all objective standards it
previously applied in self-restraint.
1. Courts have Struggled to Craft
Principled and Intelligible
Boundaries Around the Residual
Clause.
Although § 7212(a) was enacted with the Internal
Revenue Code of 1954, Pub. L. No. 83-591, 68A Stat.
12
855, the Government refrained from using the
residual clause for over twenty-five years. In the
first reported appellate decision interpreting the
residual clause, the court noted that it could find no
other cases brought by the Government and would,
therefore, “proceed cautiously where for over twenty-
five years the Government has feared to tread.”
United States v. Williams, 644 F.2d 696, 699 (8th
Cir. 1981). In Williams, the government
acknowledged that it had previously asserted that
§ 7212 applied only to situations involving force or
threats of force, but characterized that position as
“tumid” and sought a mvure expansive interpretation
of the statute. Jd. at 699 n.12. The court in
Williams agreed, finding that “the broad language of
section 7212’s omnibus clause demands a
correspondingly broad construction.” Jd. at 700.
Since then, the Government's continuing efforts to
expand the scope of § 7212(a) have met with some
trepidation from the lower courts, but no uniform,
predictable, or comprehensible limits on
prosecutorial discretion.
The Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit has
made the most progress toward articulating an
intelligible boundary on the scope of § 7212(a).
Relying heavily on this Court's interpretation of 18
U.S.C. § 1503 in United States v. Aguilar, 515 U.S.
593 (1995), and observing that the residual! clause in
§ 7212(a) contains language virtually identical to
§ 1503, the Sixth Circuit construed the omnibus
clause as requiring proof that a defendant was aware
of “some pending IRS action” when he engaged in
the potentially impeding conduct. United States v.
Kassouf, 144 F.3d 952, 957 (6th Cir. 1998). The
13
Kassouf court correctly expressed concern that
broader application of § 7212(a) could “open[ ] the
statute to legitimate charges of overbreadth and
vagueness” and reluctance to construe the statute to
impose criminal liability on a defendant who “may
have no idea that conduct such as the failing to
maintuin records (before his tux returns were ever
filed) might obstruct IRS action because he had no
specific knowledge that the IRS would ever
investigate his activities.” /d. at 958.
The following year, a different pane] of the Sixth
Circuit held that Kassouf should be limited to its
precise holding and facts, and that § 7212(a) may
apply to defendants who anticipatorily try to impede
the administration of the internal revenue laws
before the pendency of any IRS proceeding. United
States v. Bowman, 173 F.3d 595, 600 (6th Cir. 1999).
In Bowman, the defendant was prosecuted under
§ 7212(a) after he attempted to prompt an IRS
investigation into several of his creditors by filing
forms with the IRS that falsely indicated that his
creditors had received taxable income. Id. at 599.
The court opined that “[ajll of the reasoning in
Kassouf supports the conclusion that an individual’s
deliberate filing of false forms with the IRS
specifically for the purpose of causing the IRS to
initiate action against a taxpayer is encompassed
within §7212(a)’s proscribed conduct,” and
differentiated the two cases factually on the grounds
that “[t}he filing of false tax forms is not legal when
undertaken; it is not speculative; it is specifically
designed to cause a particular action on the part of
the IRS.” Id. at 600.
14
Most recently, the Sixth Circuit found that
“although Bowman purported to limit Kassouf to its
facts, it would be more accurate to conclude that the
opposite is true.” United States v. Miner, 774 F.3d
336, 345 (6th Cir. 2014). As explained by the court
in Miner, Kassouf “applies to defendants whose
conduct in failing to disclose or in _ peculiarly
structuring their income and financial transactions
gencrally makes it more difficult for the IRS to
identify and collect taxable funds,” id. at 345 (citing
Kassouf, 144 F.3d at 953), while Bowman “is
reducible to a rule that a defendant who
intentionally attempts to instigate a frivolous IRS
proceeding cannot claim to have lacked the
necessary intent to impede the IRS’s administration
of its statutory duties with respect to that
proceeding.” é/d. (citing Bowman, 173 F.3d at 600).
The court found, therefore, that the government
erred in characterizing “Kassouf as an exception to
Bowman, rather than the other way around.” Zd. at
344. In an effort to reconcile the two earlier
decisions, the Miner court noted that “Bowman, in
rejecting Kassoufs application to a defendant who
was attempting to instigate a frivolous IRS
proceeding rather than to impede a preexisting one,
did so primarily because it believed that the indicia
of intent to impede were patently obvious.” Id.
The state of the law in the Sixth Circuit,
therefore, appears to be that the government must
prove that the defendant was aware of a specific IRS
action at the time of the potentially impeding
conduct, unless the intent to impede is “patently
obvious.” Rules with undefined and inarticulable
exceptions are no longer rules, and cannot transform
15
an unconstitutionally vague criminal law into one
that complies with the Due Process Clause.
Moreover, the Sixth Circuit’s efforts to define
some boundary around § 7212(a) have met with
disagreement from every other circuit that has
considered the issue. Marinello, 839 F.3d 209;
United States v. Sorensen, 801 F.3d 1217 (10th Cir.
2016); United States v. Floyd, 740 F.3d 22 (ist Cir.
2014); United States v. Massey, 419 F.3d 1008 (9th
Cir. 2005). Refusing to impose any similar
boundaries on prosecutions under § 7212(u), the
other courts misguidedly rely on the “corruptly”
mens rea to differentiate lawful conduct from felony
obstruction. Marinello, 839 F.3d 209, 222 (“[O]ther
courts ... have decided that section 7212(a)’s ‘mens
rea requirement’ sufficiently ‘restricts the omnibus
clause’s reach. ...” (citing Miner, 744 F.3d at 347)).
In United States v. Reeves, 752 F.2d 995 (5th Cir.
1985), the court noted that it had “upheld section
1503 as not unconstitutional un vagueness grounds
largely because the statute covers only actions
related to pending judicial proceedings, thus
providing adequate notice to potential violators.” Id.
at 999 (citing United States v. Howard, 569 F.2d
1331, 1336 n.9 (5th Cir. 1978)). The court
recognized, however, that the “narrow circumstances
in which section 1503 applies have no parallel in
cases involving section 7212(a)” because the IRS “is
permitted great power to intrude on, and investigate
virtually every aspect of economic life to effect its
purpose of administering the tax laws.” /d. at 999.
The court, therefore, sought to provide the notice
required for due process by construing the
statutorily-undefined “corruptly” mens rea. The
16
court found no cases interpreting the word
“corruptly” in §7212, so it looked to a case
construing the term in § 1503 and the legislative
history of § 7212 to craft a definition. Drawing on a
Senate report that provided one example of what the
statute meant by “corruptly endeavor,” the court
found that the example—corrupt solicitation—was a
paradigm of a corrupt endeavor. /d. at 1000-01. The
court, therefore, defined “corruptly’ endeavoring to
impede or obstruct Title 26 as forbidding those acts
done with the intent to secure an unlawful benefit
either for oneself or for another.” Jd. at 1001.
Subsequent decisions adopting this definition
shed light on the persisting lack of clarity in
§ 7212(a). For example, in United States v.
Sorensen, the defendant used trusts to reduce his
taxabic assets, and insisted at trial that he did not
know that the use of the trusts or the reduction in
his tax liability was unlawful. 801 F.3d at 1229-30.
The district court refused to give the defendant’s
requested jury instruction that to find him guilty,
the jury must find that he knew the use of the trusts
was illegal. Jd. at 1229. The Tenth Circuit affirmed,
finding that it need not decide whether the definition
of corruptly requires knowledge of illegality. Jd. at
1230.
While leaving open the question of whether
§ 7212(a) requires that the defendant knew that the
benefit he sought was unlawful, the courts have
found that the defendant need not have committed
any unlawful act because “an otherwise lawful act
could violate the statute by being carried out for a
corrupt purpose or in a corrupt manner.” United
States v. Popkin, 943 F.2d 1535, 1538 (11th Cir.
17
1991) (affirming conviction of an attorney who
formed a domestic corporation). Moreover, the
unlawful benefit necd not have any relationship to
tax administration, or cven constitute a financial
benefit. United States v. Giambalvo, 810 F.3d 1086,
1098 (8th Cir. 2016) (rejecting the argument that
“the term corruptly is limited to situations in which
the defendant wrongfully sought or gained a
financial advantage” (quoting United States ov.
Yagow, 953 F.2d 423, 427 (8th Cir. 1992))). In other
words, a lawful act committed with intent to secure
any sort of economic or non-economic benefit that
turns out to be unlawful—even if the defendant had
no knowledge of illegality—is sufficient for
prosecution under §7212(a) as it has been
interpreted by the lower courts.
Finally, in the decision below, the Second Circuit
eliminated any vestige of a limitation on the scope of
§ 7212(a) by not only disavowing the Sixth Circuit's
pending action requirement, but by announcing that
§ 7212(a)}—unlike every other tax felony—requires
no affirmative act by the defendant. The court
acknowledged that “the scope of omissions on which
an omnibus clause violation could be based is not
limitless,” but provided no other guidance about
where that line might be drawn. Marinello, 839 F.3d
at 225 n.15 (citing United States v. Wood, 384 F.
App’x 698, 708 (10th Cir. 2010)). Instead, the court
simply concluded that “{w]hatever those limits may
be, the omissions at issue here do not exceed them.”
Id. at 225 n.15.
Prosecutions under the residual clause of
§ 7212(a) are a morass of uncertainty because the
lower courts have failed to articulate any principled,
18
intelligible, and predictable boundaries on its scope.
As tn Johnson, “the experience of the federal courts
leaves no doubt about the unavoidable uncertainty
and arbitrariness of adjudication under the residual
clause.” 135 S. Ct. at 2562.
2. Prosecutors have Abandoned Ali
Objective Standards Limiting
Prosecutions Under the Residual
Clause.
After rejecting its previous “timid” interpretation
of § 7212(a) in 1981, Williams, 644 F.2d at 699, the
Government has steadily expanded its interpretation
of the residual clause, abandoning all objective
criteria it previously used to define when a
prosecutor could charge a violation of § 7212(a). In
1989, the Department of Justice Tax Division issued
Directive No. 77, which stated:
In general, the use of the “omnibus” provision
of Section 7212(a) should be reserved for
conduct occurring after a tax return has been
filed—typically conduct designed to impede or
obstruct an audit or criminal tax
mvestigation.... However, this charge might
also be appropriate when directed at parties
who engage in large-scale obstructive conduct
involving actual or potential tax returns of
third parties.
This policy provided at least some _ intelligible
boundaries: the residual clause of § 7212(a) could be
used to charge obstructive conduct after a tax return
was filed, which by nature typically involves an
audit or investigation, or large-scale obstructive
conduct involving liabilities of third parties, which
19
by nature foreseeably impacts the administration of
the tax laws. In both situations, there would be a
nexus between the conduct at issue and the duc
administration of the tax laws that was not wholly
speculative.
That directive, however, was superseded in 2004
by Directive No. 129, which instead instructs
prosecutors that:
A §7212(a) omnibus clause charge is
particularly appropriate for corrupt conduct
that is mtended to impede an IRS audit or
investigation... .
A § 7212(a) omnibus clause charge can also
be authorized in appropriate circumstances to
prosecute a person who, prior to any audit or
investigation, engaged in large-scale
obstructive conduct involving the tax liability
of third parties.
The notion that the residual clause of § 7212(a)
should be reserved for conduct occurring after a tax
return has been filed disappeared entirely from the
policy in 2004. This policy shift significantly
broadened the potential for abuse by individual
prosecutors because it opened the door to
prosecutions where there was no foresecable nexus
between the defendant's conduct and _ the
administration of the tax laws, and to prosecutions
for felony obstruction based on conduct described
elsewhere in the code as a misdemeanor.
The Government’s continuous expansion of its
own reading of § 7212(a) illustrates the difficulty of
defining intelligible boundaries around the residual
clause and underscores that the Court “cannot
20
construe a criminal statute on the assumption that
the Government will ‘use it responsibly.” McDonnell
uv. United States, 136 S. Ct. 2355, 2372-73 (2016)
(citing United States v. Stevens, 559 U.S. 460, 480
(2010)); see also United States v. Sun-Diamond
Growers, 526 U.S. 398, 408 (1999) (declining to rely
on “the Government's discretion” to protect against
overzealous prosecutions). Rather, this Court should
either give the lower courts the necessary guidance
to interpret §7212(a) uniformly by crafting
articulable, objective boundaries around the residual
clause, or let Congress fill the void with an
appropriately drafted statute.
Il. This Court Should Interpret the Residual
Clause of § 7212(a) as a Specialized Tool
Within the Tax Enforcement System.
If this Court chouses to save the residual clause
from constitutional infirmity, principles of statutory
interpretation demand a narrow reading of § 7212(a)
as a specialized tool within the tax enforcement
system. This Court has previously recognized that
when a statute’s constitutionality is in doubt, “our
task is not to destroy the Act if we can, but to
construe it, if consistent with the will of Congress, so
as to comport with constitutional limitations.” U.S.
Civil Service Comm'n v. Letter Carriers, 413 U.S.
548, 571 (1973); see also Skilling v. United States,
561 U.S. 358, 403 (2010). The canon of
constitutional avoidance “is a tool for choosing
between competing plausible interpretations of a
statutory text, resting on _ the _ reasonable
presumption that Congress did not intend the
alternative which raises serious constitutional
doubts.” Clark v. Martinez, 543 U.S. 371, 381-382
21
(2005) (citing Rust uv. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 173, 191
(1991), and Edward J. DeBartolo Corp. v. Fla. Gulf
Coast Bidg. & Constr. Trades Council, 485 U.S. 568,
575 (1988)). The canon is a “means of giving effect to
congressional intent, not of subverting it.” /d. at
382. In addition, under the rule of lenity, “when
there are two rational readings of a criminal! statute,
one harsher than the other, [the Court should]
choose the harsher only when Congress has spoken
in clear and definite language.” McNally v. United
States, 483 U.S. 350, 359-60 (1987) (citations
omitted).
The Court can honor the rule of lenity and give
effect to Congressional intent by recognizing that
§7212(a) is a specialized tool within the
comprehensive tax enforcement system designed by
Congress and that the safeguards Congress and the
courts adopted to ensure due process in prosecutions
for tax crimes and obstruction of justice apply
equally to § 7212(a).
A. To Interpret § 7212(a), the Court Must
Consider its Role in the Tax
Enforcement System.
In Yates v. United States, 135 S. Ct. 1074 (2015),
the plurality, concurrence, and dissent all agreed
that statutory terms should be interpreted “in their
context and with a view to their place in the overall
statutory scheme.” Id. at 1092 (Kagan, J.,
dissenting) (quoting Davis v. Michigan Dep't of
Treasury, 489 U.S. 803, 809 (1989)). Members of the
Court disagreed about which direction the context
pointed in that case, but uniformly embraced the
approach of looking to how the provision at issue fit
22
in the overall statutory scheme. When interpreted
in context and with a view to its place in the overall
statutory scheme, it is readily appurent that
Congress intended § 7212(4) to perform a spccific
role within the tax enforcement system rather than
to serve as a catchall felony for prosecutors to use at
their whim.
Interpreting tax crimes by looking at their role in
the structure of sanctions imposed by Congress is
nothing new. Indeed, when called upon to interpret
the felony offense of tax evasion, the Court looked to
“its context in the revenue laws.” Spies v. United
States, 317 U.S. 492 (1943). As the Court explained
in Spies:
Congress has imposed a variety of sanctions
for the protection of the system and the
revenues. The relation of the offense of which
this petitioner has been convicted to other
and lesser revenue offenses appears more
clearly from its position in this structure of
sanctions.
Id, at 495. The Court described the escalating civil
penalties corresponding to different levels of intent,
the misdemeanor for willful failure to pay tax when
due, and the tax evasion felony at the “climax” of
available sanctions. Acknowledging that the
“difference between willful failure to pay a tax when
due, which is made a misdemeanor, and willful
attempt to defeat and evade one, which is made a
felony, is not easy to detect or define,” the Court
sought to distinguish them because “it would be
unusual and we would not readily assume that
Congress by the felony ... meant no more than the
23
same decrelictions it had just defined ... as a
misdemeanor.” Jd. at 497.
The Spies Court found the distinction between
the misdemeanor and the felony in the “affirmative
action implied from the term ‘attempt’, as used in
the felony.” Jd. at 498. As explained by the Court:
We think that in employing the terminology of
attempt to embrace the gravest of offenses
against the revenues Congress intended some
willful commission in addition to the willful
omissions that make up the list of
misdemeanors. Willfu) but passive neglect of
the statutory duty may constitute the lesser
offense, but to combine with it a willful and
positive attempt to evade tax in any manner or
to defeat it by any means lhfts the offense to
the degree of felony.
Id. at 499. The distinction between the tax
misdemeanors and felony evasion crafted by the
Court in Spies remains a core principle at the heart
of the tax enforcement system.
The tax enforcement system enacted by Congress
and interpreted by the courts creates uniform,
predictable, and comprehensible distinctions
between lawful conduct, misdemeanors, and felonics.
With very few well-defined and limited exceptions
for taxpayers in special roles,* the tax felonics
‘There are two types of willful failures to act that
Congress specifically chose to treat as fclonies rather
than misdemeanors: the willful failure of a withholding
agent to collect, account for, and pay over tax, which is a
felony under § 7202, and the willful failure of a person
(cont'd)
24
require willful commission of an affirmative act. See
26 U.S.C. § 7201 (tax evasion), § 7206(1) (filing a
fraudulent return), § 7206(2) (aiding and assisting in
preparation of a false return). The common failures
tu act—failure to pay tax, failure to file a return,
failure to keep records, and failure to supply
information—are all misdemeanors under 26 U.S.C.
§ 7203. When viewed in context, it becomes
apparent that the Government's sweeping
interpretation of § 7212(a) would make it an outlier
in an otherwise cohcrent tax enforcement system
and subvert Congressional intent.
B. Tethering the Residual Clause to an
Existing Proceeding Prevents it from
Subsuming the Other Tax Crimes and
Provides the Nexus Required for Intent
to Obstruct.
Given the care that both Congress and the courts
have devoted to refining uniform, predictable, and
(contd from previous page)
engaged in a trade or business to comply with the
currency transaction reporting requirements, which is a
felony under § 7203. There is also one misdemeanor in
the tax code that does not specifically require willfulness,
but incorporates knowledge of illegality into the intent
standard in a different way. If a person required to
collect, account for, and pay over tax fails to do so, and
receives a hand-dclivered notice of such failure and the
requirement to withhold and pay over additional taxes,
continued failure to comply constitutes a misdemeanor
under § 7215. In each of these situations, the taxpayer
subject to enhanced penaltics has special duties
prescribed by Congress.
25
comprehensible distinctions between lawful conduct,
misdemeanors, and felonies in the tax enforcement
system, Congress could not have intended the
residual clause of § 7212(a) to abrogate that entire
system. On the contrary, § 7212(a) was cnacted
alongside the other specifically-defined tax crimes
and civil penalties in a comprehensive overhaul of
the Internal Revenue Code in 1954. Pub. L. No. 83-
591, 68A Stat. 855. [t is nonsensical! to imagine that
Congress decided in one breath that willful failure to
file tax returns would be a misdemeanor under
§ 7203, and in the next breath that the same conduct
could constitute a felony under § 7212(a).
For § 7212(a) to make any sense at all in the
context of the tax enforcement structure, it must be
a specialized tool to combat interference with an
identifiable enforcement activity as opposed to a
catchall felony that prosecutors could charge as an
alternative or supplement to every one of the
specifically-defined tax crimes. The statute contains
two parallel clauses: one that crimuinalizes
interference with an _ identifiable IRS agent
performing her dutics, and one that criminalizes
interference with an identifiable enforcement action
“in any other way.” There must be a nexus between
the corrupt endeavor undertaken by the defendant
and an identifiable enforcement activity of which the
defendant was aware.
Interpreting other obstruction statutes, this
Court has consistently required a nexus between the
defendant's conduct and a particular proceeding.
Interpreting the predecessor to § 1503, the Court
required the government to prove not just that the
defendunt’s actions hindered law enforcement
26
generally, but that the defendant intended to hinder
a pending judicial proceeding. Pettibone v. United
States, 148 U.S. 197, 206 (1893). As explained by
the Court, “a person is not sufficiently charged with
obstructing or impeding the due administration of
justice in a court unless it appears that he knew or
had notice that justice was being administered in
such court.” /d. The Court subsequently clarified
that requirement im United States v. Aguilar, 515
U.S. 595 (1995), finding that the defendant’s “act
must have a relationship in time, causation, or logic
with the judicial proceedings.” Jd. at 599 (citing
United States v. Wood, 6 F.3d 692 (10th Cir. 1993):
United States v. Walasek, 527 F.2d 676, 679 & n.12
(3d Cir. 1975)). As in Pettibone, the Aguilar court
found that “if the defendant lacks knowledge that his
actions are likely to affect the judicial proceeding, he
lacks the requisite intent to obstruct.” Jd. at 599.
See also Arthur Andensen LLP v. United States, 544
U.S. 696, 708 (2005) (requiring a nexus between
persuasion to destroy documents and a “particular
official proceeding”).
To avoid subsuming the specific tax crimes
Congress enacted simultaneously with § 7212(a),
and to acknowledge that a taxpayer cannot intend to
obstruct tax enforcement activity he knows nothing
about, it is necessary to interpret the residual clause
as applying to a particular enforcement activity of
which the defendant had knowledge at the time of
the allegedly impeding conduct.’
4In Miner, the Sixth Circuit attempted to reconcile its
prior decisions in Kassouf and Bowman, noting that the
(eont'‘d)
27
O
§ 7212(a) Must Require Knowledge of
Illegality and an Affirmative Act.
1. Requiring Knowledge of Illegality
as an Element of a Tax Crime is
Necessary to Preserve Due Process.
This Court has repeatedly recognized that the
complexity of the tax laws justifies a departure from
the mens rea standard that is sufficient for other
crimes. In the seminal case of Cheek v. United
States, 498 U.S. 192 (1991), the Court explained:
The general rule that ignorance of the law
or a mistake of law is no defense to criminal
prosecution is deeply rooted in the American
legal system. Based on the notion that the
law is definite and knowable, the common
law presumed that every person knew the
ees i
(cont'd from previous page)
defendant in Bowman was “attempting to instigate a
frivolous [RS proceeding rather than to impede a
preexisting one.” U/nifed States v. Miner, 774 F.3d 336,
344 (2014). This effort to attempt to reconcile the
decisions would not have been necessary had the
Bowman court instead considered the proper role of
§ 7212(u) in the tax enforcement system; the defendant in
Bowman was convicted of a felony under § 7206(1) for
willfully filing false documents with the IRS, so the
additional charge under § 7212(a) was not necessary to
punish the defendant for the very acts on which the Sixth
Circuit upheld that charge.
28
The proliferation of statutes and
regulations has sometimes made it difficult
for the average citizen to know and
comprehend the extent of the duties and
obligations imposed by the tax laws.
Congress has accordingly softened the
impact of the common-law presumption by
making specific intent to violate the law an
element of certain federal criminal] tax
offenses. Thus, the Court almost 60 years
ago interpreted the statutory term “willfully”
as used in the federal criminal tax statutes
as carving out an exception to the traditional
rule. This special] treatment of criminal tax
offenses is largely due to the complexity of
the tax laws.
Id. at 199-200 (citing United States v. Smith, 5
Wheat. 153, 182 (1820) (Livingston, J., dissenting));
Barlow v. United States, 7 Pet. 404, 411 (1833);
Reynolds v. United States, 98 U.S. 145, 167 (1879);
Shevlin-Carpenter Co. v. Minnesota, 218 U.S. 57, 68
(1910); Lambert v. California, 355 U.S. 225, 228
(1957); Liparota v. United States, 471 U.S. 419, 441
(1985) (White, J., dissenting); and O. Holmes, The
Common Law 47-48 (1881)); see also United States v.
Bishop, 412 U.S. 346, 360-61 (1973) (requiring
knowledge of illegality because “[i]n our complex tax
system, uncertainty often arises even among
taxpayers who earnestly wish to follow the law [and]
it is not the purpose of the law to penalize frank
difference of opinion or innocent errors.” (quoting
Spies v. United States, 317 U.S. 492, 496 (1943))).
The reasons this Court has articulated for
reading the term “willfully” to require knowledge of
29
illegality in the criminal tax context apply equally to
the term “corruptly” in § 7212(a). The lower courts
have expressed reluctance “to add the word ‘willfully’
to section 7212(a), where Congress hus seen fit to
omit it,” United States v. Kelly, 147 F.3d 172, 177 (2d
Cir. 1998), but that misses the point. There is no
statutory definition of “willfully” or “corruptly” in
Title 26. Rather, the understanding that the term
“willfully” connotes a voluntary, intentional violation
of a known legal duty arose out of this Court’s
jurisprudence “due to the complexity of the tax
laws.” Cheek, 498 U.S. at 200. There is nothing in
§ 7212(a) that lessens the complexity of the tax laws
or justifies a departure from this Court's long-
established precedent that a person can only be
guilty of a tax crime if the Government can prove
that the law imposed a duty on the defendant and
the defendant knew of that duty.
As described above, the standard definition of
“corruptly” adopted by the lower courts is to “act
with the intent to gain an unlawful advantage or
benefit cither for oneself or for another.” United
States v. Williamson, 746 F.3d 987, 990 (10th Cir.
2014). No cireuit court has decided whether proof
that the advantage or benefit was unlawful is
sufficient, or whether the Government must prove
that the defendant knew that the advantage or
benefit was unlawful. The Court of Appeals for the
Tenth Circuit has twice elected to avoid the question
of “whether a conviction under § 7212(a) requires
that the defendant knew that the advantage or
benefit sought was unlawful,” Sorensen, 801 F.3d
1217, 1229 (10th Cir. 2015) (quoting Williamson, 746
F.3d 992), finding instead in Williamson that any
30
error in the jury instruction was not “plain,” and in
Sorenson that the enhanced jury instruction given in
that case did incorporate a knowledge of illegality
requirement. Williamson, 746 F.3d at 991-93;
Sorensen, 801 F.3d at 1230 (approving instruction
that to act corruptly, the defendant must have acted
“knowingly and dishonestly, with the specific intent
to gain an unlawful advantage or benefit either for
oneself or for another by subverting or undermining
the due administration of the internal revenue
laws.”); see also United States v. Dean, 487 F.3d 840,
853 (11th Cir. 2007) (noting that the pattern jury
instruction for that circuit includes the “knowingly
and dishonestly” language in the definition of
corruptly); United States v. Saldana, 427 F.3d 298,
303 (5th Cir. 2005); Kelly, 147 F.3d at 176-77.
As it stands, there is no uniformly applied
requirement that the Government prove knowledge
of illegality to convict a defendant of a tax felony
under § 7212(a) even though knowledge of illegality
is required for every other federal tux crime. The
College is concerned that lack of uniformity among
the lower courts in defining a key element of a
federal felony opens the door to abuse of
prosecutorial discretion. The College, therefore,
implores this Court to recognize that § 7212(a)—like
every other tax crime—requires knowledge of
illegality.
31
2. § 7212(a) Should Not be an
Exception to the Rule that Tax
Felonies Require an Affirmative
Act.
Requiring an affirmative act for a violation of
§ 7212(a) is necessary to provide fair notice of what
conduct constitutes a felony. As described above, the
Spies Court distinguished the tax misdemeanors
from felony evasion by finding that use of the word
“attempt” in the felony required an affirmative act.
Spies, 317 U.S. at 498-99. In addition, the Court
found that “it would be unusual and we would not
readily assume that Congress by the felony ...
meant no more than the same derelictions it had just
defined .. . as a misdemeanor.” Id. at 497. This
Court should follow the lead of the Spies Court in
finding that use of the word “endeavor” in § 7212(a)
requires an affirmative act, and that conduct
specifically described as a misdemeanor elsewhere in
the Code is not a corrupt endeavor sufficient to
support a conviction under § 7212(a).
In the decision below, the Second Circuit found
that “an omission may be a means by which a
defendant corruptly obstructs or impedes the due
administration” of the code under § 7212(u). United
States v. Marinello, 839 F.2d 209, 225 (2d Cir. 2016).
To support that conclusion, it explained that “surely
a defendant could be charged under section 7212(a)
for knowingly failing to provide the IRS with
materials that it requests, or, as in Marinello’s case,
for failing to document or provide a _ proper
accounting of business income and expenses.”
Ironically, the court “recognize[d] that the scope of
omissions on which an omnibus clause violation
32
could be based is not limitless,” and then cited
United States v. Wood, 384 F. App’x 698, 708 (10th
Cir. 2010), for the suggestion that “it is a
‘questionable proposition’ that a defendant’s mere
failure to file tax returns could constitute a violation
of the omnibus clause, particularly because the
‘willful failure to file tax returns is addressed in a
different section of the Internal Revenue Code, 26
U.S.C. § 7203.” Marinello, 839 F.3d at 225 n.15.
Congress, however, designated willful failure to
“keep any records, or supply any information” to the
IRS—the exact conduct the Marinello court found
could “surely” be charged as a felony under
§ 7212(a)—a misdemeanor under § 7203.
In Wood, the court found that the defendant
“made a plausible argument” that there was plain
error in the instructions to the jury because: (1) the
willful failure to file tax returns is addressed in a
different section of the Code, (2) the government
“identified no language in the Code suggesting that
the same conduct constituting a violation of § 7203
(a misdemeanor) may also constitute a violation of
§ 7212 (a felony),” and (3) the government provided
no authority supporting the theory that “the failure
to file under § 7203 can constitute[ ] a ‘corrupt[ ]
endeavor” under § 7212. dd. (first alteration added).
The court in Wood, however, did not decide whether
an omission covered by § 7203 could constitute an
endeavor for purposes of § 7212 because it found,
instead, that the defendant was unable to show that
the potential crror was prejudicial when there was
strong evidence that the defendant engaged in the
other means of obstruction charged by the
government. /d. at 709-10.
33
Marinello’s conviction highlights the dangers of
allowing prosecutors to charge omissions as felonies
under § 7212(a). Marinello was charged and
convicted of the misdemeanors he committed. But
the jury was instructed that it could also convict him
of felony obstruction in violation of § 7212{a) “on the
grounds, variously, that Marinello did not keep
adequate records; that, having kept them, he
destroyed them; or that, having kept and preserved
them from destruction, he failed to give them to his
accountant.” United States v. Marinello, 855 F.3d
455, 456 (2d Cir. 2017) (Jacobs, J., dissenting).
Congress defined failure to keep records as a
misdemeanor, but the court below found that failure
alone was sufficicnt for the jury to convict Marinello
of a felony.
Felony obstruction under §7212(a) should
require more than one of the failures to act that
Congress categorized as misdemeanors. If
Congress’s use of the word “attempt” in describing
tax evusion is sufficient to require an affirmative act,
surely the word “endeavor” in § 7212(a) fulfills the
same purpose.
D. Any Broader Reading of § 7212(a)
Threatens to Undermine the Tax
Enforcement System.
Uniformity, predictability, and comprehensibility
are important anchors at the foundation of the tax
enforcement system. As the Department of Justice
has recognized:
The Government helps to preserve the
integrity of this Nation’s self-assessment tax
system through vigorous and uniform criminal!
34
enforcement of the internal revenue laws.
Criminal prosecutions punish tax law violators
and deter other persons who would violate
those laws. To uchieve maximum deterrence,
the Government must pursue broad, balanced,
and uniform criminal tax enforcement.
Uniformity in tax cases is necessary because
tax enforcement potentially affects more
individuals than any other area of criminal]
enforcement. Broad = and balanced
enforcement is essential to effectively deter
persons of varying economic und vocational
status, violators in different geographic areas,
and different types of tax law violations.
U.S. Dep’t of Justice, Criminal Tax Manual § 2.00
(2012), https://www.justice.gov/sites/default/files/tax/
legacy/2015/03/27/CTM%20Chapter%202. pdf
(incorporating U.S. Attorneys’ Manual 6-4.010.)
Effective tax enforcement relics on deterrence, and
deterrence relies on uniform application of
comprehensible distinctions between lawful conduct
and criminal behavior. A broad reading of the
residual clause in § 7212(a) defeats congressional
intent by impeding, rather than promoting,
deterrence.
The Government's sweeping interpretation of
§ 7212(4) criminalizes such a vast array of conduct
that it makes enforcement purely a matter of
prosecutorial whim. By reading out of the statute
any requirement that one be awure of an IRS
proceeding, or that the taxpayer (or his lawycr) have
undertaken a single affirmative act, the decision
below allows prosecutors to look back with hindsight
to identify any past omission that may have had the
35
effect of securing an advantage for the taxpayer, and
use that omission to extend the criminal net. When
prosecutors have such unrestrained authority to
make law through their enforcement choices, the
inevitable result is at least the perception—if not the
reality—of selective, arbitrary prosecution. This
arbitrariness lessens the perceived legitimacy of the
tax laws, and leads to increased violations rather
than compliance. See Todd Haugh, SOX on Fish: A
New Harm of Overcriminalization, 109 NW. U. L.
Rev. Online 152 (2015) (arguing that
overcriminalization increases the commission of
criminal acts because it facilitates the most
prevalent and powerful rationalizations used by
would-be offenders).
The purpose of criminal tax enforcement is to
preserve the integrity of the comprehensive tax
system Congress enacted. A broad reading of
§ 7212(a) thwarts that purpose by impermissibly
shifting the power to define criminal liability to
prosecutors. That shift not only violates the Due
Process clause, but undermines the integrity of the
tax enforcement system.
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, the College
respectfully encourages the Court to reverse the
judgment of the court of appeals.
36
Respectfully submitted,
ARMANDO GOMEZ JENNY L. JOHNSON
DAVID W. FOSTER Counsel of Record
SKADDEN, ARPS, SLATE, GUINEVERE M. MOORE
MEAGHER & FLOM LLP JOHNSON MoorRE LLC
1440 New York Ave., NW 150 North Wacker Drive
Washington, DC 20005 Suite 1250
202-371-7000 Chicago, 11. 60606
312-549-9990
Jenny johnson@
jmtaxlitigation.com
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Dated: September 8, 2017
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.