Amicus Curiae Brief — Oil States Energy Servs., LLC v. Greene's Energy Grp., LLC, 138 S. Ct. 350 (2017) (No. 16-712)

Supreme Court brief2017

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Suyreanite (owt, US.

FILED

OCT 30 2017

OFFICE OF THE Cl FAK

No, 16-712

a

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OIL STATES ENERGY SERVICES, LLC,

Petitioner,

V.

GREENE'S ENERGY GROUP, LLC et al.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

BRIEF OF INTEL, APPLIED MATERIALS,

CISCO, GOOGLE, LG ELECTRONICS, ON

SEMICONDUCTOR, SAMSUNG, AND XEROX AS

AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

MATTHEW J. HULT DONALD B. VERRILLI, JR.

INTEL CORPORATION Counsel of Record

2200 Mission College Blvd. GINGER D. ANDERS

Santa Clara, California 95054 MUNGER, TOLLES & OLSON LLP

(408) 766-8080 1165 F. Street, NW, 7th Floor

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 220-1100

donald.verrilli@mto.com

JORDAN D. SEGALL

MUNGER, TOLLES & OLSON LLP

350 S. Grand Ave., 50th Floor

Los Angeles, California 90071

(213) 683-9208

(Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover)

WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WasnincTon, D.C. 20002

KEITH R. WEED

APPLIED MATERIALS, INC.

P.O. Box 58039

Santa Clara, California 95064

(408) 727-5555

DAN LANG

BRYAN SINCLAIR

Cisco SYSTEMS, INC.

170 W. Tasman Dr.

San Jose, California 95134

(408) 526- 4000

JAMES SUH*

LG ELECTRONICS INC.

Intellectual Property Center

a cen Yangjae-daero 1 gil,

Seoul, Rep. of Korea 06772

ene. 3777. 1114

ROBERT M. TUTTLE

ON SEMICONDUCTOR CORP.

5005 East McDowell Road

Phoenix, Arizona

602-244-3419

MICHELLE WAITES

XEROX CORPORATION

201 Merritt 7

XWHQ 6NW113

Norwalk, Connecticut 06851

(213) 968-3000

* Admitted to practice in New York

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Eo occ secnevecodcncccscceccsscesesocene: ii

INTipeeee | OF ABGICT CURIA ........2..00000000000000000..:- 1

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF THE

a eladinbbwiduedneveceuectes 2

cc denmtareeeunoocst reverses 6

I. INTER PARTES REVIEW IS

a cnsnncenenioneres 6

A. Historical Practice Demonstrates

That Article II] Permits the

Executive Branch to Adjudicate

Patentability, in Both Granting and

Reviewing Issued Patents........................... 7

1. The Framers viewed patent

rights as the creation of

Congress, subject to whatever

limits Congress placed on them. ........... 7

2. The Executive Branch has always

adjudicated patentability in

CE

3. Historical practice demonstrates

that adjudicating the validity of

issued patents is not the

exclusive province of the courts........... 11

B. Inter Partes Review Does Not

Aggrandize the Executive Branch at

the Expense of the Judiciary .................... 16

ss

C. These Historical Characteristics of

Patent Rights Confirm that Patent

Rights Are Quintessentially Public.......... 21

D. Inter Partes Review Does Not

Impinge on the Individual Liberty

Interests Protect-ed by Article II] ............ 25

E. Inter Partes Review Does Not

Deprive Patent-Holders of Seventh

pees 27

Il. INTER PARTES REVIEW SERVES

SOUND POLICY CONSIDERATIONS ......... 28

A. The PTO Frequently Issues Patents

That Are in Fact Invalid........................... 29

B. Inter Partes Review Provides the

PTO and the Public with an Efficient

Means of Correcting Erroneous

a 32

C. Inter Partes Review Is Effective ............... 34

ac 36

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

In re Affinity Labs of Texas, LLC,

ee ey, renner 19

Atlas Roofing Co. v. Occupational Safety

& Health Review Commission,

Sar a lS 23, 27

Ex parte Bakelite Corp.,

I a cosieledaceneensinnebetl 21

Bank Markazi v. Peterson,

a I acs ciieetienntintaanenemmnnsiniaes sai

Blanchard v. Sprague,

3 F. Cas. 648 (C.C.D. Mass. 1839).....................--.. 8

Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc.,

ts BES CII icsicecinicicrncicdeunnnntindaaiuactinaianas 7, 23

Butterworth v. United States,

en ee ats eesetnniccinbbapennns 11

Commil USA, LLC v. Cisco Systems, Inc.,

a catenins 32

Commodity Futures Trading Commission v.

Schor, 478 U.S. 833 (1986) ...................-.. 16, 20, 25

Crossroads Systems, Inc. v. Cisco Systems,

Inc., 694 F. App’x 780 (Fed. Cir. 2017)................ 35

iv

Cuozzo Speed Technologies, LLC v. Lee,

el Se i ieiomcnecnnctntscvnnatnsnsiinnesieds 15, 24

Dickinson v. Zurko,

ee sella 11,19

Freytag v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue,

Be ee I rvcivteccecteniscnpeustanentant 9, 10, 22, 24

In re Gartside,

208 F.3d 1305 (Fed. Cir. 2000) ......................202.s. 14

Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Nordberg,

Toi @ E 5, 22, 23, 24, 27

Halo Electronics, Inc. v. Pulse Electronics, Inc.,

Sa ee SE I acter cenitnenniceonssinentcananctmencinees 23

Intel Corp. v. FuzzySharp Technologies, Inc.,

No. IPR2014-00001, (PTAB Jan. 13, 2015)

ais ica lcceeanee cee patennedadurdnaticeiaaeii 35

Livingston v. Van Ingen,

IG a ceils 12

McCormick Harvesting Machine Co. v. C.

Aultman & Co., 169 U.S. 606 (1898)................... 13

McKart v. United States,

ats cicncinanaspeieseentnenscamntibie 17

Microsoft Corp. v. i4i Limited Partnership,

ok Benes 10, 19, 29

Morgan v. Daniels,

EE ER Se I scicedicsinkeesddeasennoanes 11, 12, 13, 20

Motion Picture Patents Co. v. Universal Film

Manufacturing Co.,

ES Sear 4, 5, 22

Murray’s Lessee v. Hoboken Land &

Improvement Co., 59 U.S. 272 (1855).................. 21

Northern Pipeline Construction Co. v.

Marathon Pipe Line Co.,

i ind iiteindnintiinceninmnandacianicsicniins 19, 20

In re Oetiker,

OTT F.Ba 1448 Choad. Car. TGBE) ......c.cccceccccccccccecs 30

RCA v. Radio Engineering Laboratories,

Bg BE, ie El iiniincicsicenbanccinungwacenecennes 12, 19

Schlesinger v. Councilman,

I, Tc cleeslamaacee 17

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Stiffel Co.,

no eeembiaende 22

Stern v. Marshall,

564 U.S. 462 (2011)................. 16, 19, 20, 22, 24, 25

Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. v. Sandoz,

Inc., 186 8S. Ct. 831 (2018).............2....+. 8, 22, 23, 25

Thomas v. Union Carbide Agricultural

Products Co., 473 U.S. 568 (1985)................. 16, 24

vi

United States v. American Bell Telephone

es ee Gis ED EE encecsncinnscebtubsintenéveenecessonine 13

United States v. Schurz,

Ee le Se II vascutsdiusciccmneeccbeansemendatnmussconats 13

Victor Talking Machine Co. v. Brunswick-

Balke-Collender Co., 290 F. 565 (1923)............... 13

Zivotofsky v. Kerry,

I Ge Be CR cid nssssnsicdecicsciedestacetcuscnnssnin 13

STATUTES

Administrative Procedure Act,

Ne i iiccissiunieredacsinppedacteniiciahbanneensiiedanitiinineinn 11,19

Leahy-Smith America Invents Act,

Pub. L. No. 112-29, 125 Stat. 284 (2011)........ 2, 28

Patent Act of 1790, 1 Stat. 109................. 9, 12, 27, 28

ye Gr Wi, 0 Mis, BEE vec sccce vecctecsscviscccacbesoucs 13

Patent Act of 1952, 35 U.S.C. § 6 et seq.:

Se Ne BE dere ns secusicheuhtnreisediccanteanictalancamacdaeeaibeliad 15

i cn ed eae 14

aaa A ace aE ENR Sk TF 3

I am eecieienenaees 3

A Onin cnoveiacciduispibticinsasdhaemnensphpeaieennnies 30

SI it bcs ssnpcassnctenneiekccdeanaranieniisiticiagtabadade 30

Ie a dh es) 14

ON I ccesnrsnseeaninneenacesessees 11, 19

oss ccmemeuiinapoen 25, 26

i oo cas exeeiseiubiceconastel 14

I aoc cose cstswisetpnsinincavcipenaiepeetviie 16

EE I oo siccienhsocxsuninccinivonwnninrnicsonisinti 16

TET OI i scenccesecesicesnecscscesevesvene sn 14

I a ssmnisnsigurvine iceomcopsanansaae 21

I i ic cetcescensvonsnenbopinnecieien 14

I I a cessensessencspaisienosonsesenscenjeess 14

Ee I oo iccsecenecevseccceciccsovceivacives 34

Oe evvcsuasnseacsoonsico sudsodsabeensnnin 17

ee 17

iis ticccis scnccesaccocabavechoneadens 20

mn 15, 19

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

ee III STU, nacsennsnprsovesecenencbasonsensones 3, 5, 27

ne NE. i UO IE: con sn sccanu mame eneohonesestoneeninenets 8

SAL INE GINS TIE scasicneesdsnstipoennibincoitinnenensdansinenenny passim

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

2 Annals of Congress 1413 (1790)....................0000 9, 28

H.R. Rep. No. 112-98 (2011)........c.cccesesesesseseeeseeeveven 14

OTHER MATERIALS

American Intellectual Property Law

Association, Report of the Economic

NN Ti hedcaveitcnnniphesnntbelecinnasateesinoestseincss 31, 34

Claire Bushey, Why This Lawyer Is

Rethinking Patent Lawsuits, Crain’s Chi.

Bus., June 6, 2015,

http://www.chicagobusiness.com/article/

20150606/ISSUE0 1/30606999 1/why-this-

lawyer-is-rethinking-patent-lawsuits ................. 36

Julie E. Cohen & Mark A. Lemley, Patent

Scope and Innovation in the Software

Industry, 89 Cal. L. Rev. 1 (2001) ...................... 31

Federal Trade Commission, To Promote

Innovation: The Proper Balance of

Competition and Patent Law and Policy

SII 215204 cs ceaneaneniaagadaponeanibanmnendanessendaencsna 30, 32

P.J. Federico, Operation of the Patent Act of 1790,

BE he Fs es I Be CI iiscntnesncccccscccsceceseesat 9

Michael D. Frakes & Melissa F. Wasserman,

Does Agency Funding Affect

Decisionmaking?: An Empirical Assessment

of the PTO’s Granting Patterns,

So Ns Sac, MG Pe Io acc divincreadccscctececessedeis 30

ix

Michael D. Frakes & Melissa F. Wasserman,

Is the Time Allocated to Review Patent

Applications Inducing Examiners to

Grant Invalid Patents? Evidence from

Microlevel Application Data,

99 Rev. Econ. Stat. 550 (2017)....................... 28, 29

W.M. Hindmarch, A Treatise on the Law

Relative to Patent Privileges for the Sole

Ne en csuebunsbiniedin 8

Andrew J. Lagatta & George C. Lewis, How

Inter Partes Review Became a Valuable

Tool So Quickly, Law 360, Aug. 16, 2013,

https://www.law360.com/articles/46337 2/

how-inter-partes-review-became-a-

valuable-tool-so-quickly ...............0....00.ccceeeeees 34, 35

Mark A. Lemley, Rational Ignorance at the

Patent Office, 95 Nw. L. Rev. 1495 (2001)........... 33

Christopher R. Leslie, The Anticompetitive

Effects of Unenforced Invalid Patents,

ee I Bs I Be cree cncvacoesdcsccccnccccceates 31

Letter from Thomas Jefferson to Isaac

McPherson (Aug. 13, 1813), Founders

Online, National Archives,

http://founders.archives.gov/documents/Je

FRewOOeS-OG-DB-OGRB .........ccccoccccccccceccccececceccss: 7, 10

Caleb Nelson, Adjudication in the Political

Branches, 107 Colum. L. Rev. 559 (2007)........... 24

x

Note, The Patent Act of 1836,

18 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 91 (1996)...................02...

Frank D. Prager, The Steam Boat

Interference—1787—1793,

40 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 611 (1958).....................

PricewaterhouseCooper, 2017 Patent

Litigation Study (2017),

https://www.pwce.com/us/en/forensic-

services/publications/assets/2017-patent-

I icietcceicidinacinidncenibcieannianapioe

Greg Reilly, The Constitutionality of

Administrative Patent Cancellation,

23 B.U. J. Sci. & Tech. L. 377 (2017) ............

William C. Robinson, The Law of Patents for

Useful Inventions (1890).................sccsccceeeeeee-

RPX Blog, Q3 Data Update (Oct. 2, 2017),

https://www.rpxcorp.com/2017/10/02/q3-

data-update-patent-litigants-and-courts-

adjust-to-recent-rulings-with-further-

RE EID ae EE

U.S. Patent & Trademark Office, PTO

Performance & Accountability Report for

Fiscal Year 2016,

https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/d

ocuments/USPTOFY16PAR.pdf...................

xi

U.S. Patent & Trademark Office, Trial

Statistics: IPR, PGR, CBM (2017),

https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/

documents/Trial_Stats_2017-09-30.pdf .............. 34

U.S. Patent & Trademark Office, U.S. Patent

Statistics Chart, Calendar Years 1963-2015,

https://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/ac/ido/

SRST SELES EEA! eee One ODE 28

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE'

Amici are some of the country’s leading technology

companies, together representing over 1.5 trillion dol-

lars in market capitalization. Amici employ many of

the world’s most innovative inventors, software devel-

opers, and engineers. Each amicus holds a substantial

patent portfolio, and each is involved frequently in

patent litigation before the federal courts. Amici share

a common interest in high-quality patents that pro-

mote social welfare and represent genuine inven-

tions—and an equally strong interest in supporting the

processes Congress has enacted to address erroneously

granted patents that hinder innovation and encourage

abusive litigation.

While each amicus has been involved in patent liti-

gation, over the last fifteen years, amici’s experience—

like that of most successful technology companies—

overwhelmingly has been as defendants in suits

brought by increasingly sophisticated non-practicing

entities seeking return on litigation as a portfolio in-

vestment strategy. In amici’s experience, inter partes

review is an invaluable means of combating weak and

! Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, counsel for amici

curiae state that no counsel for a party authored this brief in

whole or in part, and no party or counsel for a party, or any

other person other than amici curiae or their counsel, made a

monetary contribution intended to fund the preparation or

submission of this brief. All parties have consented in writing to

the filing of this brief.

2

overbroad patents asserted by these entities. In light of

the increasing offensive assertion of invalid patents by

third parties who are strangers to their issuance, espe-

cially in areas of emerging technology, amici believe

that inter partes review performs a critical function

within the patent system.

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY

OF THE ARGUMENT

Since the Founding, the Executive Branch has pos-

sessed unquestioned authority to determine whether

an invention merits a patent. Over time, Congress has

given the Patent and Trademark Office (PTO) increas-

ing authority to conclude that existing patents are

invalid, beginning with interference proceedings in the

nineteenth century, continuing with reexamination,

and most recently with inter partes review authorized

by the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act, Pub. L. No.

112-29, 125 Stat. 284 (2011). Inter partes review’s most

immediate predecessor—reexamination—has for al-

most 40 years provided a targeted administrative er-

ror-correction mechanism permitting the PTO to re-

view its own patent issuance decisions. Over that peri-

od, it became increasingly clear that the PTO errone-

ously issues significant numbers of patents, with

harmful consequences for innovation and commerce.

In response, Congress refined and expanded post-

issuance review to make it more effective, efficient, and

readily available—culminating in inter partes review.

Inter partes review allows a three-judge panel of the

Patent Trial and Appeals Board (PTAB) to revisit the

agency's initial patentability determination, subject to

the same degree of judicial review as when a patent

3

application is denied in the first instance. That limited

expansion of the agency’s adjudicative authority does

not aggrandize the Executive Branch at the expense of

the Judiciary. Nor does it authorize the Executive to

abrogate core private rights for which there historically

would have been a right to trial by jury.

I. Inter partes review does not violate Article III or

the Seventh Amendment.

A. Since the Founding, patent rights have been cre-

ated by Congress, and the Executive Branch has adju-

dicated patentability and granted individual patents.

The Executive’s authority to adjudicate whether a

claimed invention warrants a patent has never been

questioned on Article III grounds. As far back as the

nineteenth century, moreover, Congress has given the

PTO authority to use adjudicatory proceedings to can-

cel existing patents, including through reexamination

proceedings. Invalidating inter partes review would

therefore work a sea change in patent law, depriving

the PTO of post-grant review authority that it has long

exercised, and Congress of flexibility to calibrate the

administrative process to ensure patent quality.

B. Inter partes review does not aggrandize the Ex-

ecutive Branch at the expense of the Judiciary. The

sole question in an IPR proceeding is whether the

PTO’s original decision to issue the patent was correct.

The PTO considers only whether the patent is invalid

as anticipated or obvious based on certain written prior

art. See 35 U.S.C. §§ 102, 103. The PTO may not inval-

idate a patent based on any post-grant conduct or other

issues that it could not have considered in the initial

examination proceeding. Inter partes review is there-

fore no different from any other administrative recon-

4

sideration proceeding that enables an agency to correct

its own errors and reduces the need for judicial inter-

vention.

Inter partes review also does not deprive the Judici-

ary of any core judicial authority. While courts have

long adjudicated validity challenges, that adjudication

consists of judicial review of the PTO’s issuance deci-

sion under a deferential standard. Jnter partes review

merely provides the option to obtain initial review of

the agency’s issuance decision in the agency itself. The

proceeding does not supplant or alter the Judiciary’s

ultimate review of the validity issues, as the PTO’s

conclusions remain subject to judicial review, under

the same standards that have long been viewed as

adequate to superintend the PTO’s issuance decisions.

C. The constitutionality of inter partes review is

confirmed by the fact that patentability is a matter of

public rights. Patent rights are created by statute and

conferred on inventors to further the public purposes of

the patent regulatory scheme. Absent government

action, the right to use inventions would inhere in the

public. Although petitioner emphasizes that a patent

confers on its holder property rights that may be en-

forced against third parties in infringement litigation,

that is not inconsistent with the fact that the patent-

ee’s rights as created and defined by the government

remain public rights.

D. Inter partes review does not infringe on the indi-

vidual liberty interests protected by Article II]. “The

primary purpose of our patent laws is not the creation

of private fortunes for the owners of patents, but is to

promote the progress of science and the useful arts.”

Motion Picture Patents Co. v. Universal Film Mfg. Co..,

5

243 U.S. 502, 511 (1917) (internal quotation marks

omitted). Congress therefore has broad discretion to

place conditions and limitations on the scope of patent

rights to ensure that the patent system furthers its

public objectives, including fostering innovation and

disclosure of new inventions. Given that the PTO’s

longstanding authority to decide whether an invention

merits a patent in the first place has never been

viewed as threatening to individual liberties, it is diffi-

cult to see why the PTO’s revisiting its issuance deci-

sion should be.

IPR proceedings also vindicate public interests, not

merely private ones. The PTAB has the authority to

continue an inter partes review even if the parties

settle or otherwise seek to terminate it. And in all

events, the PTO’s decision on inter partes review re-

mains subject to judicial review.

E. Because inter partes review is consistent with

Article III, it is also consistent with the Seventh

Amendment. See Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Nordberg,

492 U.S. 33 (1989). While juries traditionally decided

validity questions in infringement suits, petitioner

offers no evidence that juries were constitutionally

required. Indeed, the first Patent Act gave a judge

authority to determine whether a patent should be

invalidated in certain circumstances.

Il. Inter partes review is serving its intended pur-

poses. A broad consensus exists among regulators and

practitioners that a proliferation of invalid patents

poses serious problems, particularly in emerging tech-

nology industries. These patents, and the non-

practicing entities that exploit them, inhibit innovation

and impose significant costs on commercial actors.

6

Challenging the validity of these patents in litigation

has proven to be an incomplete and inefficient solution

that many targeted companies cannot undertake.

Beginning in 1981, Congress has addressed this

problem by giving the PTO increasing authority to

reexamine and cancel granted patents. Earlier reexam-

ination mechanisms were inefficient and underutilized.

Congress therefore enacted inter partes review to pro-

vide a more efficient, agency-level method for challeng-

ing invalid, commercially harmful patents. That sys-

tem has been a success: aided by third-party challeng-

ers, the PTO has been able to evaluate whether to

initiate proceedings and, in appropriate circumstances,

to reevaluate and cancel erroneously issued patents.

ARGUMENT

I. INTER PARTES REVIEW IS

CONSTITUTIONAL

Inter partes review does not encroach on the Judici-

ary’s Article III power because it only enables the PTO

to correct errors in its own earlier decision to grant a

patent. Article III unquestionably permits the PTO to

adjudicate whether particular inventions satisfy the

statutory criteria for patentability in the first instance.

Enabling the PTO to revisit that same question, after

the patent has been issued, does not arrogate to the

Executive Branch any adjudicative authority that it

does not already have. The validity of a patent, moreo-

ver, is a matter of public rights that Congress may

commit to the Executive consistent with Article II.

7

A. Historical Practice Demonstrates That

Article III Permits the Executive Branch

to Adjudicate Patentability, in Both

Granting and Reviewing Issued Patents

1. The Framers viewed patent rights

as the creation of Congress, subject

to whatever limits Congress placed

on them.

The Framers of the Constitution understood patent

rights to be entirely creatures of statute, created to

advance innovation by granting inventors a limited

right to exclude competition in exchange for dedicating

knowledge to the public. Thomas Jefferson, who helped

draft the first patent statutes and led the first board of

patent examiners, explained that the right to exclusive

use of an invention was a creation of the government

rather than “a natural right” enjoyed by inventors:

Inventions then cannot in nature be a subject of

property. Society may give an exclusive right to the

profits arising from them, as an encouragement to

men to pursue ideas which may produce utility, but

this may or may not be done, according to the will

and convenience of the society, without claim or

complaint from any body.

Letter from Thomas Jefferson to Isaac McPherson

(Aug. 13, 1813), Founders Online, National Archives

(“Jefferson Letter”)?; see also Bonito Boats, Inc. v.

Thunder Craft Boats, Inc., 489 U.S. 141, 146 (1989).

That conception of patent rights reflected the Ameri-

2 http://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/03-06-02-

0322.

8

can patent system’s roots in the English patent system,

where “[iJnvention patents originated not as private

property rights, but as royal prerogatives” that could

be “issued and revoked only by the Crown.” Teva

Pharm. USA, Inc. v. Sandoz, Inc., 135 S. Ct. 831, 847

(2015) (Thomas, J., dissenting) (internal citations omit-

ted); see also W.M. Hindmarch, A Treatise on the Law

Relative to Patent Privileges for the Sole Use of Inven-

tions 3 (1847) (“[I]nventors are never entitled as of right

to letters patent ... but they must obtain them from the

Crown by petition, and as a matter of grace and fa-

vour[.]”).

Because patent rights are created by statute rather

than common law, Congress has always possessed

broad latitude to define their scope. See Blanchard v.

Sprague, 3 F. Cas. 648, 650 (C.C.D. Mass. 1839) (Story,

J.). As a nineteenth-century treatise explained, “[t]he

issue of a patent is ... the creation of a new right in

favor of the inventor ... whose character and extent, as

well as duration, the government must define.” See 2

William C. Robinson, The Law of Patents for Useful

Inventions § 415 (1890). In particular, because “[t}he

authority to grant letters-patent when the required

conditions are performed implies an authority to repeal

them whenever it is ascertained that the grant had

been improperly conferred,” Congress “has always ...

exercised the power to provide methods for invalidat-

ing its own grants upon discovering that the patentee

had no right to retain them.” Jd. § 418.

9

2. The Executive Branch has always

adjudicated patentability in issuing

patents.

The Constitution vests Congress with broad discre-

tion to “secur[e] for limited Times to... Inventors the

exclusive Right to their ... Discoveries.” U.S. Const.

art. I, § 8, cl. 8. Beginning in 1790, Congress exercised

its constitutional power to delegate the authority to

issue patents to Executive Branch officials—and in so

doing, to adjudicate compliance with the statutory

requirements for a patent.

The Patent Act of 1790 provided that an inventor

could “petition ... the Secretary of State, the Secretary

for the department of war, and the Attorney General of

the United States” for a patent. Patent Act of 1790, § 1,

1 Stat. 109 (“1790 Act”). Those officials (the first Patent

Board) could grant the patent if they concluded that

the invention was “sufficiently useful and important.”

Id. A disappointed applicant had no right to judicial

review. Congress considered and rejected the possibil-

ity of permitting an appeal to a jury, reasoning that it

would be “highly improper that juries should be called

to judge” upon “matters of invention” on which “they

may not be supposed competent to form a judgment,”

and in any event, “the right of trial by juries is not

universal.” 2 Annals of Cong. 1413 (1790).

The first Patent Board “adjudicated the patentabil-

ity of inventions, sometimes hearing argument by

petitioners” in support of their applications. Freytag v.

Comm’r of Internal Revenue, 501 U.S. 868, 910 (1991)

(Scalia, J., concurring); P.J. Federico, Operation of the

Patent Act of 1790, 18 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 237, 251 (1936).

More broadly, the Board viewed the Patent Act as

10

granting it authority to establish, through adjudica-

tion, “general rules” that would “draw[] a line between

the things which are worth to the public the embar-

rassment of an exclusive patent, and those which are

not.” Jefferson Letter. The first Congress and the

Framers of the Constitution viewed Executive adjudi-

cation of patentability as a permissible exercise of

“executive power.” Freytag, 501 U.S. at 910 (Scalia, J.,

concurring).

Congress learned from hard experience that Execu-

tive Branch adjudication of patentability was crucial to

preventing wasteful litigation. Between 1793 and

1836, patents were granted without any examination

by the Executive Branch. Note, The Patent Act of 1836,

18 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 91 (1936). That system proved

unworkable: patents issued for “common machinery

and long known improvements,” leading to “a great

number of law suits aris[ing], which are daily increas-

ing in an alarming degree, onerous to the courts, ruin-

ous to the parties, and injurious to society.” Id. at 93

(reprinting report of Senate investigative committee).

For that reason, Congress returned to an examination

system in 1836, creating the Patent Office within the

Executive Branch and delegating to it “the burden ...

to determine the ... patentability of the invention when

and where the patent is granted.” Id. at 97. The objec-

tive was to “eliminate litigation before it begins.” Jd.

(internal quotation marks omitted).

The examination process endures today. “In evalu-

ating whether” the statutory criteria of patentability

“have been met, PTO examiners must make various

factual determinations” and apply the law to the facts.

Microsoft Corp. v. i4i Ltd. P’ship, 564 U.S. 91, 96

(2011). If the PTO grants the patent, it confers exclu-

11

sive rights that the applicant did not possess before. If

the PTO declines to grant a patent, that decision is

reviewable in the Federal Circuit under the standards

set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C.

§ 706 (APA). See 35 U.S.C. § 141; Dickinson v. Zurko,

527 U.S. 150, 165 (1999).

This Court has long approved Congress’s delegation

of the power to adjudicate patentability to the Execu-

tive. In Butterworth v. United States, the Court stated

that the Patent Office’s “investigation of every claim

presented involves the adjudication of disputed ques-

tions of fact, upon scientific or legal principles, and is,

therefore, essentially judicial in its character, and

requires the intelligent judgment of a trained body of

skilled officials.” 112 U.S. 50, 59 (1884). The Court did

not question the constitutionality of conferring that

adjudicative power on the Executive Branch. To the

contrary, the Court affirmed the primacy of the Patent

Office in adjudicating patentability, holding that courts

should defer to the Patent Office’s factual determina-

tions because the office was “a special tribunal, in-

trusted with full power in the premises.” Morgan v.

Daniels, 153 U.S. 120, 124 (1894).

3. Historical practice demonstrates

that adjudicating the validity of

issued patents is not the exclusive

province of the courts.

Because patents are statutorily created nights, Con-

gress has the power to “provide methods for invalidat-

ing its own grants.” 2 Robinson, supra, § 418. Although

Congress at first conferred that authority on the

courts, no evidence suggests that Congress believed

that the Constitution required it to do so. Over time,

12

Congress granted the PTO increasing authority to

reevaluate the validity of existing patents. Inter partes

review is the latest manifestation of that authority.

a. At the time of the Constitution’s adoption, there

was no established rule that only courts could invali-

date patents. Patents were generally granted by the

legislature, and they could be repealed by the legisla-

ture. See Livingston v. Van Ingen, 9 Johns. 507, 507

(N.Y. 1812) (describing state patent that was repealed

by the legislature); Frank D. Prager, The Steam Boat

Interference—1787—1793, 40 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y 611, 630

(1958). Even after Congress delegated patent invalida-

tion to the courts by providing that an accused infring-

er could raise the patent’s invalidity as a defense, 1790

Act §§ 4, 6, this Court did not view judicial validity

determinations as traditional common-law determina-

tions of one party’s rights against another. Rather, the

Court understood the validity adjudication to be a form

of judicial review of the Patent Office’s decision to

grant the patent. See Morgan, 153 U.S. at 123~—25;

RCA v. Radio Eng’g Labs., Inc., 293 U.S. 1, 8-10

(1934). This Court accordingly held that when a third

party challenged a patent, that patent should be pre-

sumed valid to reflect the Patent Office’s primary re-

sponsibility and expertise, and overturned by a court

only upon a “thorough conviction” of error. Morgan,

153 U.S. at 123—25.

Petitioner asserts that Congress’s delegation to the

courts reflected the view that “[o]nly” courts were

“competent” to adjudicate the validity of issued pa-

tents. Pet. Br. 29. But the decisions on which petitioner

relies describe the courts’ role as a function of the Pa-

tent Act, not the Constitution. None mentioned any

constraints on Congress's authority to determine how

13

patents should be invalidated. In McCormick Harvest-

ing Machine Co. v. C. Aultman & Co., for instance, the

Court described the available methods of cancelling a

patent as a matter of congressional choice, similar to

Congress’s decision to vest authority to issue patents in

the Patent Office. 169 U.S. 606, 609 (1898); see also

United States v. Am. Bell Tel. Co., 128 U.S. 315, 364

(1888); United States v. Schurz, 102 U.S. 378, 384

(1880) (cited in American Bell) (“Congress alone can

confer” authority to repeal land patents).

b. Over time, Congress has delegated to the Patent

Office increasing authority to adjudicate the validity of

issued patents. That this historical practice has not

been questioned is strong evidence of its constitutional-

ity. See Zivotofsky v. Kerry, 135 S. Ct. 2076, 2091

(2015).

In the Patent Act of 1836, Congress gave the Patent

Office the authority to declare an interference in order

to determine priority of invention as between a patent

applicant and the holder of an existing patent. The

Office would then conduct an adversarial proceeding,

with both sides offering evidence. Morgan, 153 U.S. at

127-29. When the Office ruled that the applicant had

established priority over the patentee, it would issue

an interfering patent to the applicant, who could then

seek judicial cancellation of the existing patent in a

proceeding in which the Office’s findings were given

deference. Patent Act of 1836, ch. 357, § 8, 5 Stat. 120;

see also Victor Talking Mach. Co. v. Brunswick-Balke-

Collender Co., 290 F. 565, 575 (1923); Greg Reilly, The

Constitutionality of Administrative Patent Cancella-

tion, 23 B.U. J. Sci. & Tech. L. 377, 387 (2017). Con-

gress and the courts evidently viewed the Patent Of-

fice’s primary authority to conclude that an existing

14

patent should be canceled as consistent with Article

Ill. Indeed, for the past 65 years since the Patent Act

of 1952, Congress has provided that the PTO’s judg-

ment against a patentee in an interference proceeding

“shall constitute cancellation of the claims involved in

the patent” after the conclusion of judicial review.

35 U.S.C. § 135(a).

Congress has expanded the PTO’s ability to cancel

patents in other contexts as well. Since 1981, the PTO

has had the authority to conduct an ex parte reexami-

nation of an issued patent at the request of any inter-

ested party, and to cancel claims on certain grounds of

unpatentability. 35 U.S.C. § 307. In 1999, Congress

expanded reexamination by creating inter partes reex-

amination, which permits third-party challengers to

participate in the proceeding by filing written com-

ments and evidence rebutting the patentee’s conten-

tions. 35 U.S.C. §§ 314(b)(2), 315(b). In both proceed-

ings, the PTO’s decision is reviewable in the Federal

Circuit under APA standards. See In re Gartside, 203

F.3d 1305, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2000).

Inter partes review grows directly out of these earli-

er proceedings. Congress enacted inter partes review to

refine the reexamination system. See H.R. Rep. No.

112-98, at 46-47 (2011) (stating that the America In-

vents Act would modify inter partes reexamination

“and rename[] the proceeding ‘inter partes review”).

Inter partes review’s primary innovation is that it

offers expanded participation rights to the third-party

challenger, including the opportunity to submit deposi-

tions and expert evidence to administrative judges

“with legal knowledge and scientific ability.” 35 U.S.C.

§§ 6(a), 316(a). As with the other PTO proceedings, a

15

disappointed party may appeal and obtain review

under the APA. Jd. § 319.

Petitioner argues that the increased third-party

participation rights render inter partes review different

in kind, and not merely in degree, from its predeces-

sors, and that IPR proceedings are adversarial and

therefore “judicial” in nature. Pet. Br. 8, 20. But this

Court has already rejected that argument, explaining

that despite the additional adversarial features of inter

partes review, the proceeding shares the same “basic

purposes” as reexamination: it “offers a second look at

an earlier administrative grant of a patent.” Cuozzo

Speed Techs., LLC v. Lee, 136 S. Ct. 2131, 2136, 2143-—

44 (2016). In any event, the distinctions that petitioner

seeks to draw make no difference under its theory of

Article III: petitioner contends that Congress may not

“transfer[] the responsibility for deciding” patent valid-

ity “to administrative agency employees.” Pet. Br. 15. If

inter partes review is unconstitutional under petition-

er’s theory, so is reexamination.

Accepting petitioner's arguments would therefore

work a sea change in patent law. Congress has always

exercised broad discretionary authority to determine

the procedures by which patents can be canceled, and

it has relied increasingly on the PTO to sift out bad

patents. 35 U.S.C. § 6. Throughout the nation’s history,

Congress has adjusted the balance between executive

and judicial scrutiny of patents in service of two over-

riding objectives: furthering “the public’s paramount

interest in seeing that patent monopolies ... are kept

within their legitimate scope,” and avoiding burden-

some litigation. Cuozzo, 136 S. Ct. at 2144 (internal

quotation marks omitted); see supra pp. 9-11. Petition-

er would deprive Congress of that historical flexibility.

16

B. Inter Partes Review Does Not Aggrandize

the Executive Branch at the Expense of

the Judiciary

The history recounted above demonstrates that Ex-

ecutive inter partes review does not encroach on the

Judiciarys Article III authority. The sole purpose of

inter partes review is to enable the agency to reconsider

its initial issuance decision—a decision that it unques-

tionably may make in the first instance without offend-

ing Article III. Petitioner barely mentions the error-

correcting function of inter partes review. But it is

critical to the Article III analysis. The overarching

question for Article III purposes is whether inter partes

review erodes the Judiciary’s ability to serve as an

independent check on the Executive. See Stern v. Mar-

shall, 564 U.S. 462, 482—84 (2011); Commodity Futures

Trading Comm’n v. Schor, 478 U.S. 833, 847 (1986);

Thomas v. Union Carbide Agric. Prods. Co., 473 U.S.

568, 586-87 (1985). Expanding the PTO’s ability to

correct errors in its own original issuance decisions,

subject to judicial review, does not erode judicial au-

thority any more than adding pre-issuance layers of

PTO administrative review would.

1. In an IPR proceeding, the PTAB adjudicates only

whether the PTO was correct to grant a patent in the

first place. See 35 U.S.C. § 311. The PTAB evaluates a

subset of the patentability criteria that the PTO con-

sidered in the initial examination process. Id. § 311(b)

(IPR proceedings consider certain arguments “under

section 102 or 103”). Although the PTAB may consider

evidence that was not before the PTO at the time the

patent was granted, the PTAB does not consider any

peripheral facts that developed after the patent’s issu-

17

ance. The ultimate question remains whether, in light

of the totality of the evidence, the PTO’s original deci-

sion was correct.?

As petitioner observes, inter partes review has ele-

ments of an adversarial proceeding because it permits

the third-party challenger to present evidence support-

ing its argument that the patent is invalid. But the

PTO may continue the adjudication, and defend it on

appeal, even if the challenger settles. Id. § 317(a). That

makes sense: the purpose of the proceeding is not to

adjudicate private rights, but to undo invalid patents

that impede the innovation-encouraging policies of the

patent system. The challenger is therefore best

thought of as an interested member of the public

whose role is to aid the PTO in evaluating the correct-

ness of its original issuance decision.

At bottom, inter partes review involves the sort of

administrative error correction that agencies perform

all the time when they reconsider their own decisions.

Administrative exhaustion, for instance, is required of

litigants because it enables the agency to correct its

errors—and perhaps obviate the need for judicial in-

tervention. See Schlesinger v. Councilman, 420 U.S.

738, 756—57 (1975); McKart v. United States, 395 U.S.

185, 195 (1969). Providing an agency with additional

8 Inter partes review also shares some characteristics of the

initial examination—which, in petitioner's view, should support

its constitutionality. Pet. Br. 8. The patentee may move to

amend or add claims if they are supported by the original

specification. 35 U.S.C. § 316(d). In deciding whether those

claims should be issued, the PTO exercises essentially the same

authority as in conducting initial examination proceedings.

18

opportunities to correct its own mistakes—thereby

reducing the courts’ agency-review docket—has never

been thought to erode the Judiciary’s authority.

Indeed, inter partes review (and other reexamina-

tion proceedings) ordinarily will present the PTO with

its first opportunity to engage in PTAB- or Director-

level review of an examiner's decision to grant a pa-

tent. (When an examiner decides to grant a patent,

there is no higher-level review of that decision; the

patent simply issues.) Congress could have provided

for additional pre-issuance PTO review of all examiner

grant decisions. Such procedures clearly would not

offend Article III. Instead, Congress has chosen to

delay higher-level agency review until after the patent

issues, when it becomes clearer which patents are of

sufficient importance to merit such review. It should

not matter, for purposes of determining whether the

Executive Branch is encroaching on the Judiciary,

whether the PTO’s error-correction review takes place

before or after patent issuance.

Petitioner argues that there is a dispositive differ-

ence between pre-issuance and post-issuance review:

once the PTO issues a patent, it becomes the province

of the Judic’»ry because courts historically have adju-

dicated patent validity. Pet. Br. 28—29.4 But judicial

validity determinations do not involve “the most proto-

typical exercise of judicial power’—i.e., adjudicating

‘It is worth noting that inter partes review does not complete-

ly transfer responsibility for adjudicating validity to the PTO,

as a party may opt to challenge a patent in court (either as a

defense to an infringement action or in a declaratory-judgment

suit), rather than before the PTO.

19

private parties’ respective rights de novo. Stern, 564

U.S. at 494. Rather, the validity adjudication that

courts perform is a form of agency review, in which

courts employ a presumption of validity that approxi-

mates the standards of review used to evaluate the

agency's refusal to grant a patent in the first instance.

See supra pp. 11—12; Microsoft, 564 U.S. at 101. While

a judicial validity determination also resolves whether

the patentee may enforce the patent against another

private party, enforceability depends entirely on the

correctness of the agency’s decision. See RCA, 293 U.S.

at 7. Congress’s creation of inter partes review thus

gives parties expanded options to challenge an agency

decision in the agency itself and reduces reliance on

courts.

2. That the PTO’s IPR determinations are subject to

judicial review further confirms that inter partes re-

view is consistent with Article III. The agency’s correc-

tion of its own errors always remains subject to judicial

control.

The PTAB’s invalidity decision in an IPR proceeding

may be appealed to the Federal Circuit by any dissatis-

fied party. 35 U.S.C. § 319. That court will review the

decision under the traditional standards for agency

review set forth in the APA. See 5 U.S.C. § 706; In re

Affinity Labs of Tex., LLC, 856 F.3d 883, 889 (Fed. Cir.

2017). Those are the same standards that the Federal

Circuit uses to review the PTO’s refusal to issue a

patent in the first place—standards that this Court

has held provide adequate judicial supervision of the

PTO’s factual determinations in that context. Dickin-

son, 527 U.S. at 161, 165; see also 35 U.S.C. § 141. Inter

partes review, moreover, possesses all the characteris-

tics that make appellate review adequate to address

20

Article LI concerns: the PTO has authority only to

make “specialized, narrowly confined factual determi-

nations regarding a particularized area of law”; the

courts retain control over issues of law through de novo

review; and the PTO may issue only one narrow type of

order—canceling patent claims—that takes effect only

after the conclusion of judicial review. 35 U.S.C. § 318;

Northern Pipeline Constr. Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line

Co., 458 U.S. 50, 85 (1982); Schor, 478 U.S. at 853.

Petitioner contends, however, that APA review is

too deferential to provide adequate judicial supervision

of the PTO’s decision in an IPR proceeding. Pet. Br.

42-43. To be sure, this Court has indicated that appel-

late review may not ameliorate Article III concerns

when a non-Article III body exercises broad power to

determine general common-law claims between two

parties. That is because the non-Article III entity is the

primary adjudicator of claims that would otherwise be

the sole province of the Judiciary. See Stern, 564 U.S.

at 500-01; Northern Pipeline, 458 U.S. at 85. That

concern is not present here. The Court has historically

recognized that the PTO—not the courts—plays the

primary role in adjudicating the facts underlying pa-

tentability at the patent-issuance stage. See Morgan,

153 U.S. at 124—25. Even in the district-court invalidi-

ty adjudications that petitioner views as the Article [I]

baseline, courts employ a presumption of validity that

recognizes the PTO’s delegated authority and technical

expertise. See supra p. 12. Congress has thus provided

courts with essentially the same ability to supervise

the PTO’s reconsideration of its issuance decision that

courts have historically possessed in reviewing that

issuance decision itself. Petitioner has proffered no

reason to conclude that the judicial review that is ade-

21

quate in every other context is somehow insufficient

here.®

C. These Historical Characteristics of

Patent Rights Confirm that Patent Rights

Are Quintessentially Public

Any remaining question whether inter partes review

encroaches on the Judiciary’s prerogatives is answered

by the fact that inter partes review adjudicates a mat-

ter of public rights: the validity of a right granted by

the government for the purpose of furthering the public

interest. Congress may choose to commit adjudication

of public rights to executive agencies. See Ex parte

Bakelite Corp., 279 U.S. 438, 451 (1929); Murray’s

Lessee v. Hoboken Land & Improvement Co., 59 U.S.

272, 284 (1855).

5 Inter partes review does not raise any concern that the PTO

can effectively overturn a district-court decision concerning the

same patent. When there are parallel IPR and district-court

proceedings concerning the same patent, the district court may

stay the litigation while the inter partes review proceeds. 35

U.S.C. § 315. If the PTO cancels the patent, the district court

need not adjudicate its validity, thereby conserving judicial

resources. Conversely, if the district court proceeds to judgment

first and concludes that the patent is invalid, the IPR may still

proceed. In a judicial validity challenge, the challenger must

establish the patent’s invalidity by clear and convincing evi-

dence; a decision upholding the patent thus holds only that that

demanding standard was not met. In inter partes review, by

contrast, the challenger need only establish that the patent is

invalid under the lower preponderance-of-the-evidence stand-

ard. The PTO’s conclusion that the challenger has established

that the patent is invalid under the lower standard neither

conflicts with nor casts doubt on the district court’s conclusion

that the challenger did not satisfy the higher standard of proof.

22

“The primary purpose of our patent laws is not the

creation of private fortunes for the owners of patents,

but is to promote the progress of science and the useful

arts.” Motion Picture Patents, 243 U.S. at 511 (internal

quotation marks omitted). Accordingly, Members of

this Court have indicated that patentability should be

adjudicated as a public right. Justice Thomas has

observed that the “Anglo-American legal tradition” has

traditionally viewed patent rights as “privileges” or

“franchises” that public authorities create by “express

legislation,” “purely for reasons of public policy.” Teva

Pharm., 135 S. Ct. at 848 n.2 (Thomas, J., dissenting).

These characteristics traditionally had “significant

implications for the way in which [patent] rights are

adjudicated.” Jd. In an opinion joined by Justice Ken-

nedy, moreover, Justice Scalia cited “the patentability

of inventions” as a prototypical example of a matter

that “could ... be committed to executive adjudicators”

rather than Article III courts. Freytag, 501 U.S. at 910

(Scalia, J., concurring).

1. Although this Court has used slightly different

verbal formulations to describe public rights, its deci-

sions make clear that public rights share three essen-

tial characteristics: they (1) derive from a federal stat-

ute; (2) are “closely intertwined with a federal regula-

tory program”; and (3) are assigned to an expert ad-

ministrative agency with a “limited regulatory objec-

tive.” Granfinanciera, 492 U.S. at 54; see also Stern,

564 U.S. 490-91. Considered under this framework,

entitlement to patent is clearly a matter of public

rights.

First, patent rights “exist only by virtue of statute.”

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Stiffel Co., 376 U.S. 225, 229

n.5 (1964). Congress and the Executive determine the

23

e>istence as well as the scope and extent of those

rights. See supra pp. 7-9. Petitioner cites Atlas Roofing

Co. v. Occupational Safety & Health Review Commis-

sion, 430 U.S. 442, 455 (1977), for the proposition that

public rights must “arise from a new statutory obliga-

tion created by Congress without a historical analogue

to actions adjudicated by courts.” Pet. Br. 33 (internal

quotation marks omitted). But that formulation per-

fectly describes patent rights, which have “no counter-

part in the Lockean state of nature.” Teva Pharm., 135

S. Ct. at 848 n.2 (Thomas, J., dissenting). Contrary to

petitioner’s argument (Pet. Br. 35), recognizing patent-

ability as a matter of public rights would not suggest

that any right arising under federal law could be treat-

ed as a public right. Unlike in mine-run federal statu-

tory contexts, the government in granting a patent

takes rights that otherwise would be held by the pub-

lic—namely, the rights to develop and use the inven-

tion—and confers them on a private individual. The

question whether that initial grant was erroneous is

therefore literally a matter of the public’s rights.

Second, this Court has repeatedly recognized that

patent rights are “closely intertwined with a federal

regulatory program.” Granfinanciera, 492 U.S. at 54.

Patent rights are government grants, the substance

and scope of which Congress defines in order to serve

public purposes within a “pervasive” “scheme of federal

regulation” designed to balance competing interests

and promote “creative activity.” Bonito Boats, 489 U.S.

at 146; accord Halo Elecs., Inc. v. Pulse Elecs., Inc., 136

S. Ct. 1923, 1935 (2016). Inter partes review simply

adjudicates the validity of a patent granted by the

government to ensure that it serves the public purpos-

24

es of the patent system. That question is at the very

heart of the patent regulatory scheme.

Third, patentability is “appropriate for ... resolu-

tion” by an expert administrative agency with special-

ized jurisdiction over a particularized, complex area of

law. Granfinanciera, 492 U.S. at 54; Stern, 564 U.S. at

493-94. Patent issuance is clearly a matter of public

rights that can be entrusted to an agency. See supra

pp. 9-10, 16; see also Freytag, 501 U.S. at 910. Both the

initial validity determination by the PTO and inter

partes review address the same question and therefore

require the same degree of technical expertise. See

Cuozzo, 136 S. Ct. at 2144. If a federal agency may be

trusted to decide patentability in issuing a patent,

subject to appellate review, there is no reason why the

agency should not be able to revisit that same question

after issuance, subject to the same appellate review.

2. Petitioner's primary argument that entitlement

to a patent is a matter of private rights is that the

issuance of the patent confers on the patentee “private

property rights” that can be enforced against third

parties. Pet. Br. 28-31. As an initial matter, petitioner

is conflating private property and private rights: this

Court has made clear that property rights created by

federal statutory schemes can be public rights if they

satisfy the criteria described above. See, e.g., Thomas,

473 U.S. at 585-89.

More broadly, petitioner conflates a patentee’s

rights against other third parties with a patentee’s

rights against the government. While it is true that the

grant of a patent gives the patentee a right to enforce

“the boundaries of his property” against third-party

infringers (Pet. Br. 29), that does not create a private

25

right to enforce an invalid patent. The question of the

patentee’s rights against the world—i.e., the question

of patent validity and the service of the public inter-

est—remains a matter of public rights. Historically,

government-granted rights in the nature of “privileges”

could “form the basis for private claims against other

individuals” while “the legislature permitted them to

exist,” but that did not make the existence of the privi-

lege a private right as against the government. Caleb

Nelson, Adjudication in the Political Branches, 107

Colum. L. Rev. 559, 567 (2007); accord Teva Pharm.,

135 S. Ct. at 848 n.2 (Thomas, J., dissenting). Jnter

partes review focuses solely on whether the govern-

ment should have granted the patent in the first place,

leaving patentees’ “private claims against other indi-

viduals” to the courts.

D. Inter Partes Review Does Not Impinge on

the Individual Liberty Interests Protect-

ed by Article II

Petitioner suggests, with no concrete evidence, that

inter partes review will subject patentees to unfair

treatment. Pet. Br. 44—47. Article III, like other struc-

tural constitutional provisions, does safeguard “indi-

vidual liberty.” Stern, 564 U.S. at 495; see also Schor,

478 U.S. at 848. But post-grant review of patent validi-

ty by the same administrative agency that issued the

patent in the first place poses no threat to the liberty

interests that Article II] was intended to protect, for

two reasons.

First, the Patent Act itself makes explicit what the

history described above shows: patents have always

existed at the sufferance of the sovereign. Section 261

provides that patents shall have “the attributes of

26

personal property,” but that those rights are subject “to

the provisions of this title.” 35 U.S.C. § 261. Congress’s

power to establish administrative cancellation there-

fore inheres in the very property right that is “vested”

in the patent's owner whenever the PTO issues a pa-

tent—indeed, through ex parte and inter partes reex-

amination, the PTO has had the ability to revisit all

patents currently extant. If a patentee contends (as

petitioner does not) that Congress impermissibly al-

tered the patent bargain after the patentee had al-

ready procured a patent, those concerns would be bet-

ter addressed by constitutional doctrines other than

Article III, such as anti-retroactivity and takings prin-

ciples.6 Cf. Bank Markazi v. Peterson, 136 S. Ct. 1310,

1325 (2016).

Liberty concerns are also mitigated by the error-

correcting character of inter partes review. Unlike

ordinary adjudication, inter partes review entails an

expert agency's revisiting its own earlier determination

that the applicant satisfied the standards of patenta-

bility. The PTO does not adjudicate post-issuance

rights or strip patent holders of property rights that

6 Conversely, holding that inter partes review violates Article

Ill would raise a host of difficult questions associated with

reviving the thousands of patents that have been canceled in

inter partes review and reexamination proceedings. Thousands

of parties have relied on those cancellations. Calling into ques-

tion the procedures by which those patents were canceled would

give rise to significant uncertainty (and a flood of litigation)

concerning the parties’ respective rights going forward. Among

other difficult issues, permitting infringement liability based on

conduct taken after a patent had been canceled would raise

serious fairness concerns.

27

exist independently of that determination. Rather,

where appropriate, it may extinguish patents that

never should have been issued. If the agency can be

entrusted to make unbiased initial validity determina-

tions, there is no reason to think it cannot do the same

upon revisiting them.

Second, inter partes review proceedings are subject

to appellate review by the Federal Circuit (and this

Court on certiorari), consistent with the strictures of

ordinary administrative procedure. The Article III

judges of these courts serve as a bulwark against arbi-

trary or biased decision-making by executive-branch

officials in the inter partes review process—just as

appeal rights protect patent applicants from arbitrary

or unduly influenced agency action.

E, Inter Partes Review Does Not Deprive

Patent-Holders of Seventh Amendment

Rights

Because Article III permits questions of patent va-

lidity to be decided by the PTO in post-issuance review

proceedings, the Seventh Amendment does as well.

Granfinanciera, 492 U.S. at 53-54. Indeed, when Con-

gress creates statutory public rights, it may “assign

their adjudication to an administrative agency ... even

if the Seventh Amendment would have required a jury

where the adjudication of those rights is assigned in-

stead to a federal court of law[.]” Atlas Roofing, 430

U.S. at 455.

Petitioner emphasizes that juries historically decid-

ed validity issues when they arose in the context of

infringement litigation. The Patent Act of 1790, for

instance, entitled patentees to a jury on their in-

fringement claims. § 4. But petitioner presents no

28

evidence that the Framers believed that only a jury

possessed the constitutional authority to determine

validity. In fact, the evidence points the other way. The

1790 Act expressly provided that “the judge” could

adjudicate whether a patent should be repealed for

fraud, and “order process” accordingly. § 5. In the same

statute, moreover, the first Congress declined to pro-

vide jury review of the Patent Office’s determination

that an inventor was not entitled to a patent in the

issuance context, explaining that “the right of trial by

juries is not universal.” 2 Annals of Cong. 1413 (1790).

There is no reason that the same question requires a

jury in the post-grant context.

Il. INTER PARTES REVIEW SERVES

SOUND POLICY CONSIDERATIONS

Just six years after Congress replaced inter partes

reexamination with inter partes review by enacting the

America Invents Act, IPR proceedings have come to

play an important error-correction role in the patent

system. The immense annual volume of patent appli-

cations, combined with the PTO’s limited resources,

makes it inevitable that a significant number of issued

patents should have been rejected for failure to satisfy

the requirements for patentability set forth in the

Patent Act. See, e.g., U.S. Patent & Trademark Office,

U.S. Patent Statistics Chart, Calendar Years 1963-

2015’ (showing that patent applications more than

doubled to approximately 630,000 between 2000 and

2015); Michael D. Frakes & Melissa F. Wasserman, /s

the Time Allocated to Review Patent Applications In-

7 https://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/ac/ido/oeip/taf/us_stat.htm.

29

ducing Examiners to Grant Invalid Patents? Evidence

from Microlevel Application Data, 99 Rev. Econ. Stat.

550 (2017) (time constraints lead patent examiners to

increase grant rates for patent applications of below-

average quality).

“Bad patents” can hamper innovation and com-

merce. After hearing from stakeholders in a range of

industries, as well as regulators, former judges, and

practitioners, Congress concluded that the most effi-

cient and effective way to address those patents was to

create inter partes review. Declaring inter partes re-

view unconstitutional would have profoundly negative

consequences for the patent system, as well as for

companies that, like amici, operate at the vanguard of

technological progress and rely on inter partes review

to safeguard their ability to innovate free from the tax

imposed by the assertion of invalid patents. Before

Congress established inter partes review, patent as-

serters relied on the lengthy duration and exorbitant

expense of litigating validity challenges before a jury to

extract settlements from companies on invalid patents.

A. The PTO Frequently Issues Patents That

Are in Fact Invalid

The PTO is charged with examining patent applica-

tions and determining whether the claimed inventions

meet the criteria for patentability set forth in the Pa-

tent Act. To do so, the agency employs more than 8,000

examiners to examine patent applications, research

the prior art, engage in an iterative process of narrow-

ing and refining claims with the applicants, and apply

the standards set forth in the statute. See Microsoft,

564 U.S. at 96. Patent examination is an ex parte pro-

cess in which the burden is on the examiner to show

30

unpatentability, rather than on the applicant to show

patentability. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 1445

(Fed. Cir. 1992).

The sheer volume of patent applications—in 2016

alone, the PTO received approximately 650,000 patent

filings and issued 334,000 patents*—strains the PTO’s

resources. Research suggests that the average patent

is examined for less than 20 hours before the PTO

renders a decision. See Michael D. Frakes & Melissa F.

Wasserman, Does Agency Funding Affect Decisionmak-

ing?: An Empirical Assessment of the PTO’s Granting

Patterns, 66 Vand. L. Rev. 67, 72 n.16 (2013). Because

of this compressed examination schedule, even exam-

iners who are skilled in the relevant technological art

depend on applicants’ candor in identifying all known

prior art. When an examiner grants a patent, no fur-

ther review occurs within the agency; the patent issues

without any check to ensure patent quality and validi-

ty. 35 U.S.C. §§ 131, 134.

For all these reasons, it is unsurprising that the

PTO—according to a broad consensus among practi-

tioners and policymakers—issues many patents of

questionable validity. See, e.g., Fed. Trade Comm’n, To

Promote Innovation: The Proper Balance of Competi-

tion and Patent Law and Policy 5-7 (2003) (“FTC Re-

port”). Empirical evidence confirms that consensus

view. Studies show that courts invalidate roughly half

of litigated patents in cases that reach final judgment.

See Christopher R. Leslie, The Anticompetitive Effects

8 See U.S. Patent & Trademark Office, Performance & Ac-

countability Report for Fiscal Year 2016 15, 178, https://www.

uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/USPTOFY 16PAR. pdf.

31

of Unenforced Invalid Patents, 91 Minn. L. Rev. 101,

105—106 (2006).

The problem of invalid patents is particularly acute

in areas of emerging technology. The last three decades

have seen a radical expansion of the subject areas of

patent applications, with many post-industrial imnova-

tions—from software to medical treatments—becoming

patented for the first time. Patentability determina-

tions are particularly likely to be erroneous in novel

areas like these, both because examiners have not yet

developed the requisite technical knowledge and be-

cause the repository of issued patents in these areas

does not provide a thorough picture of prior art. See

Julie E. Cohen & Mark A. Lemley, Patent Scope and

Innovation in the Software Industry, 89 Cal. L. Rev. 1,

42-45 (2001).

Invalid patents impose real costs on third parties in

the same technical domain, who must expend re-

sources to license the patent, design around it, or risk a

costly and lengthy infringement suit. See Am. Intellec-

tual Prop. Law Assoc., Report of the Economic Survey

41 (2017) (‘AIPLA Survey”) (calculating median cost of

litigating a single claim of a high-valued patent to be

$3 million); PricewaterhouseCooper, 2017 Patent Liti-

gation Study 3 (2017)° (median time to trial in in-

fringement suits is 2.5 years). The defendant in such a

suit may of course challenge the patent's validity, but

that necessity creates uncertainty and gives rise to

significant litigation costs. Litigation is an incomplete

solution because many accused infringers may choose

9 https://www.pwc.com/us/en/forensic-services/publications/

assets/2017-patent-litigation-study.pdf.

32

to settle or license the patent rather than face litiga-

tion uncertainty. The Court has recognized this prob-

lem, particularly in the context of non-practicing enti-

ties who use patents “as a sword to go after defendants

for money, even when their claims are frivolous.” See

Commil USA, LLC v. Cisco Sys., Inc., 135 S. Ct. 1920,

1930 (2015). The in terrorem effect of these patents

diverts productive resources into attorney's fees and

royalties and deters the entry of innovative or competi-

tive products into new markets. !°

B. Inter Partes Review Provides the PTO

and the Public with an Efficient Means of

Correcting Erroneous Patent Grants

The costs of invalid patents make effective post-

grant error-correction a vital component of a well-

functioning patent system. Congress recognized as

much in 1981 when, in enacting ex parte reexamina-

tion, it created a means by which the agency responsi-

ble for rendering patentability determinations in the

first place could correct its errors, focusing solely on

10 In addition, in industries in which successive product gen-

erations improve incrementally, such as the microprocessor

industry, invalid patents are particularly harmful. Competitors

generate numerous overlapping patents, with companies need-

ing to agglomerate patents from multiple holders to bring a

product to market. Peter Detkin, then Assistant General Coun-

sel at Intel, characterized this phenomenon as a “patent thick-

et” “that a company must hack its way through in order to

actually commercialize new technology.” FTC Report at 6. In

these patent thickets, where a single patent claiming a single

minor feature in a complex product can halt its launch alto-

gether, “questionable patents” are particularly costly. See id. at

7.

33

those patents that are commercially significant enough

to draw a third-party reexamination request. Inter

partes review is simply a more effective incarnation of

that process.

If administrative patent cancellation is declared un-

constitutional, its benefits cannot be fully replaced by

improvements in the current examination process.

Examination is an ex parte process initiated by an

applicant who owes no duty to search the prior art or

demonstrate patentability over that art. Giving exam-

iners additional time and resources—likely funded

through controversial fee increases—would be an in-

sufficient solution that would entail significant social

waste. For one thing, the benefits of increasing pre-

issuance scrutiny would be relatively minimal because

the large majority of patents (perhaps as many as 95

percent) are never commercialized or asserted. Mark

A. Lemley, Rational Ignorance at the Patent Office, 95

Nw. L. Rev. 1495, 1501 (2001). Most patents, therefore,

do not merit deeper attention by the PTO than they

already receive. At the same time, meaningfully in-

creasing the rigor of the examination process would

require significant additional resources, including

hiring many more patent examiners. Alternatively,

instituting pre-issuance appellate review for all pa-

tents would require numerous additional judges on the

PTAB.

As a means of weeding out bad patents, then, post-

grant review has significant efficiency advantages over

devoting more resources to examining all original ap-

plications. Unlike efforts to make global improvements

to the examination of all patent applications, inter

partes review is a form of targeted error-correction; it

affects only those patents for which there is a challeng-

34

er sufficiently interested in the patent's invalidity to

pursue review. No matter how skilled the examiner,

third parties in the same field as the patent holder are

likely to have superior knowledge of the relevant prior

art. The third-party challenger therefore can aid the

PTO in evaluating the correctness of its original deci-

sion. For similar reasons, ex parte reexamination, in

which only the interested applicant or its successor

could communicate with the PTO, relying on the same

limited agency resources available in the first instance,

did not advance the public policy interest of clearing

erroneous patents.

Cc. Inter Partes Review Is Effective

Not all IPR petitions result in IPR proceedings; the

current institution rate is approximately 63 percent.

See U.S. Patent & Trademark Office, Trial Statistics:

IPR, PGR, CBM 7 (2017).'! But when review is insti-

tuted, inter partes review is an efficient error-

correction mechanism for bad patents. Inter partes

review proceedings are much cheaper and faster than

litigation. See AIPLA Survey at 43; 35 U.S.C.

§ 316(a)(11) (once initiated, proceedings must conclude

within 18 months at most). As a result, inter partes

review has become an important mechanism for inval-

idating improperly granted patents. See Andrew J.

Lagatta & George C. Lewis, How Inter Partes Review

‘1 https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Trial_

Stats_2017-09-30.pdf.

35

Became a Valuable Tool So Quickly, Law 360, Aug. 16,

2013.'2

Amici have firsthand experience with the ad-

vantages of inter partes review. As frequent targets of

infringement lawsuits, particularly by non-practicing

entities, they have used the inter partes review process

to preserve resources and efficiently resolve patent-

validity disputes, particularly when the patents being

asserted against them appear weak or overbroad. For

instance, amicus Intel successfully used inter partes

review to invalidate patents that had been asserted

against it and many other major participants in the

computer-graphics field, on the ground that they were

anticipated by standard texts published in 1990. See

Intel Corp. v. FuzzySharp Techs., Inc., No. IPR2014-

00001 (PTAB Jan. 13, 2015) (Paper 23). Similarly,

amicus Cisco used inter partes review to invalidate

patents asserted against network- and data-storage

products on obviousness grounds. Those inter

partes review proceedings allowed Cisco and others to

avoid costly, drawn-out litigation in district court. See

Crossroads Sys., Inc. v. Cisco Sys., Inc., 694 F. App’x

780 (Fed. Cir. 2017).

Patent infringement suits brought by nonpracticing

entities grew steadily after 2005, peaking in 2011. See

RPX Blog, Q3 Data Update (Oct. 2, 2017). Since 2015,

however, the numbers have declined. Jd. That decline

12 https://www.law360.com/articles/463372/how-inter-partes-

review-became-a-valuable-tool-so-quickly.

18 https://www.rpxcorp.com/20 17/10/02/q3-data-update-patent-

litigants-and-courts-adjust-to-recent-rulings-with-further-

changes-brewing/.

36

appears related to the growing popularity of inter

partes review. See Claire Bushey, Why This Lawyer Is

Rethinking Patent Lawsuits, Crain’s Chi. Bus., June 6,

2015.'4 As Congress intended, inter partes review has

made the business model of many nonpracticing enti-

ties—asserting an erroneously granted patent to ex-

tract a settlement based on the high cost of district

court litigation—less attractive.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be af-

firmed.

‘4 http://www .chicagobusiness.com/article/20 150606/ISSUE0 1/

30606999 1/why-this-lawyer-is-rethinking-patent-lawsuits.

37

Respectfully submitted,

MATTHEW J. HULT

INTEL CORPORATION

2200 Mission College Blvd.

Santa Clara, California 95054

(408) 765-8080

KEITH R. WEED

APPLIED MATERIALS, INC.

P.O. Box 58039

Santa Clara, California 95054

(408) 727-5555

DAN LANG

BRYAN SINCLAIR

Cisco SYSTEMS, INC.

170 W. Tasman Dr.

San Jose, California 95134

(408) 526-4000

MICHELLE WAITES

XEROX CORPORATION

201 Merritt 7

XWHQ 6NW113

Norwalk, Connecticut 06851

(213) 968-3000

JAMES SUH

LG ELECTRONICS INC.

ag nee ne eauerty —

, Yangjae-daero .

Seocho-gu

Seoul, Rep. of Korea 06772

+82-(0)2-3777-1114

OCTOBER 30, 2017

DONALD B. VERRILLI, dR.

Counsel of Record

GINGER D. ANDERS

MUNGER, TOLLES & OLSON LLP

1155 F. Street, NW, 7th Floor

Washington, D.C. 20004

donald.verrilli@mto.com

(202) 220-1100

JORDAN D. SEGALL

MUNGER, TOLLES & OLSON LLP

355 S. Grand Ave., 35th Floor

Los les, California 90071

(213) 683-9208

ROBERT M. TUTTLE

ON SEMICONDUCTOR CorP.

5005 East McDowell Road

Phoenix, Arizona

602-244-3419

ADDENDUM

Amici Curiae

Intel Corporation

Applied Materials, Inc.

Cisco Systems, Inc.

Google LLC

LG Electronics Inc.

ON Semiconductor Corporation

Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.

Xerox Corporation

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.