Amicus Curiae Brief — Cyan, Inc. v. Beaver Cnty. Emps. Ret. Fund, 138 S. Ct. 440 (2017) (No. 15-1439)

Supreme Court brief2017

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

RECORD

AND

=e

No. 15-1439 Suprame a. US

K

Cyan, Inc., et al.,

Petitioners,

v.

BEAVER COUNTY EMPLOYEES

RETIREMENT FUND, et al.,

Respondents.

On Wait or CERTIORARI TO THE CourRT OF APPEAL OF

THE State or CALiFoRNiA, First APPELLATE DIsTRICT

BRIEF OF ALIBABA GROUP HOLDING LIMITED,

GOPRO, INC., KITOV PHARMACEUTICALS

HOLDINGS LTD., LENDINGCLUB CORPORATION,

NOVUS THERAPEUTICS, INC., PACIFIC

BIOSCIENCES OF CALIFORNIA, INC., SIERRA

ONCOLOGY, INC., SNAP INC., AND XBIOTECH INC.

AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

JONATHAN K. YoUNGWooD James G. KREISSMAN

Simpson THACHER Counsel of Record

& Barrett LLP Simona G. STRAUSS

425 Lexington Avenue STEPHEN P. BLAKE

New York, NY 10017 ELizaBeTH H. Wurre

& Bartietr LLP

2475 Hanover Street

Palo Alto, CA 94304

(650) 251-5000

jkreissman@stblaw.com

Counsel for Amici Curiae

In THE | SEP ~5 2017

Supreme Court of the United E OF THE CLER

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

pp TOR A gk a ee ree oe il

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES ............ i

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI

CURIAK

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

ARGUMENT

If.

ITT,

CONGRESS PASSED THE PSLRA

AND SLUSA AS A CHECK AGAINST

ABUSIVE SECURITIES STRIKE SUITS

AND TO PROMOTE UNIFORM AND

CONSISTENT ENFORCEMENT OF

THE FEDERAL SECURITIES LAWS ..

PLAINTIFFS HAVE FLOCKED

TO STATE COURTS TO LITIGATE

PUTATIVE SECURITIES ACT CLASS

SER sccktaaendbndes sae cenvevasys

RESPONDENTS’ INTERPRETATION

OF SLUSA HAS PRODUCED RAMPANT’

ABUSES AND INEFFICIENCIES IN

THE LITIGATION OF SECURITIES

FEE CURA Ss a paceeveenacecasdencs

oe ee Oe CO £82 es eer ae a Ce 4828 Se eS ea ae ee

Sa OS e868 e £620 6:3 2 ae. ea 2S

oe. Be Se ere OP Pee C882 22 2S 26 ee 6 C.6 ee

iV

C,

CONCLUSION

ii

Table of Contents

State Court Actions Are Not Subject

To Centralization By The Judicial

Panel On Multidistrict Litigation,

Thus Adding To Issuers’ Burdens ....

The Pleading Standards Applied By

Many State Courts Do Not Provide A

Meaningful Check Against Frivolous

Securities Act Litigation ............

Inconsistent Outcomes In Securities

Class Actions Litigated In Both State

And Federal Courts Are Not Only A

Result Of Perceived Differences In

yl

Liberal State Court Discovery

Practices Impose Significant And

Asymmetrical Costs On Issuers F'rom

‘The Outset Of State Court Securities

Class Action Litigation..............

Se. 6.82 6 @ 2 Oe 2 ese 622 2 2 2 e 6 C.2 eres ee eS

Page

21

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Page

APPENDIX A — LITIGATION AGAINST

ISSUERS IN CALIFORNIA STATE

SE sia Sc Wks hb Gees LEER RT eee Rs la

APPENDIX B — ALIBABA STATE AND

F PENNS Ran ROIEE TIES ov cca ncecsciccccsesc 7a

APPENDIX C — SUNRUN STATE AND

pi FA yy ty 1 Bee 2la

LV

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Aguilar v. Atl. Richfield Co.,

25 Cal. 4th 826 (July 11, 2001)................... 21

Align Tech., Inc. v. Bao Tran,

179 Cal. App. 4th 949 (2009) ......... 0.0... eee 14

Altayyar v. Ktsy, ine.,

No. 1:15-ev-02785-AMD-RER

(EER Gses SNE SD Bly DOD bc cv ccessvcccecneds )

Altayyur v. Etsy, Inc.,

No. 17-1180 (2d Cir. docketed Apr. 21, 2017). ....... 9

Asheroft v. Iqbal,

EE GNM, os escucesecnecessevess passim

Bell Atl. Corp. v. Twombly,

SR I wu cs aebce ceca been wes passim

Bock v. Hansen,

ma Cae. Bm. Sie BIB GD . ow ccc ccc cnccvccs 14

Bucks Cty. Emps. Ret. Fund v. Ally Fin. Inc.,

No. 16-013616-CZ (Mich. Cir. Ct.

deters GacneteL eke Vac aes 7

Buelow v. Alibaba Grp. Holding Ltd.,

No. CIV535692 (Cal. Super Ct.

San Matco Cty. filed Oct. 5, 2015) .............. 7,8

a}

Cited Authorities

Page

Buelow v. Alibaba Grp. Holding Lid.,

No. C1V535692 (Cal. Super Ct.

San Mateo Cty. Dec. 22, 2016) ............ 18, 19-20

Christine Asia Co., Lid. v.

Alibaba Grp. Holding Lid.,

192 F. Supp. 3d 456 (S.D.N-Y. 2016) ........ 17, 18-19

Christine Asia Co., Ltd. v.

Alibaba Grp. Holding Ltd.,

No. 16-2519 (2d Cir. docketed July 20, 2016)... ..... Ss

City of Birmingham Ret. & Relief Sys. v.

ZTO Express (Cayman) Inc.,

No. 01-CV-2017-902004.00

Fs he a Ss era i

Del E. Webb Corp. v. Structural Materials Co.,

133 Cal. App. BG GSS CIGS1) ww ccc ccccces 13-14

Doe v. City of L.A.,

oe ey es ee er 13

Doheny Park Terrace Homeowners Ass'n, Inc. v.

Truck Ins. Exch.,

BO Cah, A GE TOTS GOGO) oo ccc cccecececees 18

Krickson v. Snap ine.,

No. 2:17-cv-03679-SVW-AGR

See Rs I I ETD ooo bicv bc as. vere ceseces 9

v2

Cited Authorities

Fairbank v. Wunderman Cato Johnson,

212 F.3d 528 (9th Cir. 2000) ........

Franceschi v. Franchise Tax Ba.,

1 Cal. App. 5th 247 (2016) ..........

Page

reesveetwaes 21

Friends of Glendora v. City of Glendora,

182 Cal. App. 4th 573 (2010) ........

Gaynor v. Miller,

205 F. Supp. 3d 935 (B.D). Tenn. 2016)

Gonzalez v. Avinger, Inc.,

No. 17-C1V-02284 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. filed May 23, 2017). .

Greenberg v. Sunrun Inc.,

No. 3:16-ev-02480-CRB

(N.D. Cal. filed May 6, 2016)........

Greenberg v. Sunrun Inc.,

233 F. Supp. 3d 764 (N.D. Cal. 2017) .

Greyhound Corp. v. Superior Court,

56 Cal. 2d 365 (196])...............

Grotewtel v. Avinger, Inc.,

No. 17-CI V-02240 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. filed May 22, 2017) ..

Vil

Cited Authorities

Groteurel v. Avinger, Inc.,

No. 4:1 /-ev-03400-C W

(N.D. Cal. filed June 12, 2017) .............

Guo v. ZTO Express (Cayman) Inc.,

No. 17-CIV-03676 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. filed Aug. 11, 2017).........

Gupta v. Snap Inc.,

No. 2:17-cv-05054-SV W-AGR

(C.D. Cal. filed July 10, 2017) ..............

Hsieh v. Snap Inc.,

No. BC669394 (Cal. Super. Ct.

Los Angeles Cty. filed July 25, 2017). .......

Hung v. iDreamSky Tech. Lid.,

No. 15-CV-2514 (JPO), 2016 WL 299034

es a TC I Ss oc os Sees deacccrec

In re Avalanche Biotechnologies, Inc.

S’holder Litig.,

No. CIV536488 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. filed Dec. 7, 2015)..........

In re CafePress Inc. Sholder Litig.,

No. CIV522744 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. filed July 10, 2013) .........

In re Countrywide Fin. Corp. Mortg.-Backed

Sec. Litig.,

MDL No. 2265, 2011 WL 11761004

hs SP Mp OED ss vires Wstedosecanes

veda 9

nates 28

VLU

Cited Authorities

in re Ktsy, Ine. S’holder Litig.,

No. C1V534768 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. filed July 21, 2015) ........

In re Facebook, Inc., LPO Sec.

& Derivative Litig.,

899 F. Supp. 2d 1374 WUJ.P.M.L. 2012) .......

In re Fore ye, Inc. Sec. Litig.,

No. 1-14-CV-266866, 2015 WL 13546104

(Cal. Super. Ct. Santa Clara Cty. Aug. 11, 2015) .. .14

In re Mobilelron, Inc. S’holder Litig.,

No. 1-15-CV-284001 (Cal. Super. Ct.

Santa Clara Cty. Oct. 4, 2016). ............

In re Pac. Biosciences of Cal., Inc. Sec. Litig.,

No. CIVS509210 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. filed Oct. 21,2011) ........

In re Pac. Biosciences of Cal., Inc. Sec. Litig.,

No. CIV509210 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. May 25, 2012) ............

In re Sunrun Inc. S’holder Litig.,

No. CIV538215 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. filed Apr. 13, 2016) ........

In re Sunrun Inc. S’holder Litig.,

No. CIV538215 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. Jan. 17, 2017).............

ze

Ciled Authorities

In re Zynga Inc. Sec. Litig.

No. C 12-04007 JSW, 2014 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 21673 (N.D. Cal. Feb. 25, 2014). ......... .30

fuso v. Snap, Inc.,

No. 17-CIV-03710 (Cal. Super. Ct.

Sun Mateo Cty. filed Aug. 14, 2017)............. 7,9

Lee v. Wells Fargo Bank N.A..,

No. 34-2013-00153873-CU-OR-GDS,

2014 WL 3732002 (Cal. Super. Ct.

Sacramento Cty. July 25, 2014) ................. 14

Leyte-Vidal v. Semel,

zo Cal. App. 4th 1001 (2018) ... 1... cece eee 14

Luther v. Countrywide Fin. Corp.,

BO CE. Aa. GER Fee ED oo eee eee 6,7

Mattco Forge, Inc. v. Arthur Young & Co.,

223 Cal. App. 8d 1429 (1990)... 0... ccc ee ee eee 28

McKelil v. Wash. Mut., Inc.,

142 Cal. App. 4th 1467 (2006)... 0. cece eee 13

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. v.

Dabit,

DCN CO ct Ociudtanas den maneted 26, 30

Newby v. Enron Corp.,

338 F.3d 467 (Sth Cir. 2003) .................... 27

a

Cited Authorities

Nolte v. Cedars Sinai Med. Ctr,

236 Cal. App. 4th 1401 (2015) .. 2.2... 0. ..00000..

Olberding v. Avinger, Inc.,

Nos. 4:17-cv-03398-CW, 4:17-cv-03401-CW

(PEED Comk, OUR BE BET) on ccc cece stccaseccess

Olberding v. Avinger, Inc.,

No. 17-CLV-02307 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. filed May 25, 2017)..........00...

Ommnicare, Inc. v. Laborers Dist. Council Constr.

Indus. Pension Fund,

135 S. Ct. 1318 (2015)... 0. eee eee

Oshorne v. Yasmeh,

No. B262043, 2016 WL 4039863

(Cal. Ct. App. July 28, 2016)...................,

Palin v. New York Times Co.,

No. 17-CV-4853 (JSR), 2017 WL 3712177

GSTD.N.Y. Amat, 2B, BOUT)... ccc cc ccc ccccccccs

Pearson v. Vill. of Greenup, Til.,

No. 09-CV-0699-MJR, 2009 WL 4789259

i2

eee 11-12

Petrie v. Flec. Game Card, Inc.,

761 F.3d 959 (Sth Cir. 2014)... 0.

2

Cited Authortlies

Plymouth Cty. Ret. Sys. v. Model N Inc.,

No. CIV530291 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. filed Sept. 5, 2014) ..........

Popescu v. Apple Inc.,

t Cad. An GE SOG) on a ove cdewenrnes

Pub. Emps.’ Ret. Sys. of Miss. v. Endo Int'l ple,

No. 2017-02081-MJ (Pa. Ct. Com. PI.

ees PUN, Bees WOE os oe v0 nndare nes Oto ee

Reyes v. Zynga Inx.,

No. CGC -12-522876 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Francisco Cty. Feb. 11, 2015) ...........

Robinson v. Audience, Inc.,

No. 1-12-CV-232227 (Cal. Super. Ct.

Santa Clara Cty. Sept. 3, 2013)..............

Schwartz v. Concordia Int'l Corp.,

No. 16-CV-6576 (NGG) (CLP),

2017 W!. 2559777 (E.D.N.Y. June 12, 2017)...

Simpson v. Snap Inc.,

No. BC662444 (Cal. Super. Ct.

Los Angeles Cty. filed, May 23, 2017). ........

Small v. Fritz Cos.,

BO Cab. St BEF GRR 6 os ose caccetap eee

anal 4

eur

Cited Authorities

Page

Stoneridge Inv. Partners, LLC v.

Scientific-Atlanta, Inc.,

aac cincauunseeeccees 26

Tellabs, Inc. v. Makor Issues & Rights, Ltd.,

ES 12

Wiley v. Envivio, Inc.,

No, C1V517185 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. filed Oct. 5, 2012) ............... 28

STATUTES & RULES

EE 10

Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 425.10(a)(1).................. 13

es CAND @ GOLIO 6. cece cece esecess 14

aca ecawe caus ttedis ecccees 12

cr cnc uw 6b bees cbcocsse Is

SE Se 14

Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995,

Pub. L. No. 104-67, 109 Stat. 787. .......... passim

Securities Act of 1933, ch. 38, 48 Stat. 74....... passim

Rayo)

Cited Authorities

Page

SU REM OTONODS goss che coca ccoccaal

OP Chas PUI on cna eiva tena taceneceguapes ae

Se PR © TUNED kod nteccctaneheaenthucdenieans 5

pe ee 8 ee

ERLE h © CRIED 6.600 600s dn nwaceekeeasas 5, 26

Securities Exehange Act of 1934,

Se ete PES Kciccecnosccoeeecvosenvess x

Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act of 1998,

Pub. L. No. 105-353, 112 Stat. 3227......... passim

Se ca ee 2h adh ddd a Ok ed eankeetectewauens |

Pk, GIs ESPNU SES ha che koe ew death ab aves ae eaay ]

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-369 (1995) ....... 2, 4-5, 26-27

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 105-803 (1998) ...............5-6

COURT DOCUMENTS

Hr’g Tr., Hosey v. Costolo, No. 16-CIV-02228 (Cal.

Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. Mar. 17, 2017)... 15-16, 29

LW

Cited Authorities

Page

Hr’g Tr., Jn ve Castlight Health Inc. S’holder

Litig., No. C1V533203 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. Jan. 27, 2016). ............ 20000. 29

Pls’ Suppl. Submission in Opp. to Defs.’ Dem. re Order

lintered in the led. See. Fraud Action, Buelow

v. Alibaba Grp. Holding Ltd., No. CTV534692

(Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. July 15, 2016)... .. 19

Rep.’s Tr. of Proceedings, Buelow v. Alibaba Grp.

Holding Litd., No. C1V535692 (Cal. Super.

Ct. San Mateo Cty. Oct. 20 and 24, 2016) ...... 15, 20

Rep.’s Tr. of Proceedings, Geller v. LendingClub

Corp., No. C1V537300 (Cal. Super. Ct.

San Mateo Cty. Sept. 30, 2016).................. 29

Rep.’s Tr. of Proceedings, Giavara v. Gol’ro,

Ine., No. C1V537077 (Cal. Super. Ct.

Sem Bates Civ. NOU Bo, BOW «oc ccccccccccccce: 29

OTHER AUTHORITIES

49A Cal. Jur. 3d Pleading § 141 (2017) .............. 13

Beverly Reid O’Connell & Karen L.

Stevenson, Rutter Group Practice Guide:

Federal Civil Procedure Before Trial,

Cal. & 9th Cir. ds. 9 11:610 (2017) ..........., 27-28

eV

Cited Authorities

Page

Elizabeth M. Weldon & Sean J. O'Hara, Litigating

in California State Court but Not a Local? ....... 16

Erie E. Younger, Younger on California

Motions § 6:26 (2d ed. 2016) ...........0.0ceeeee 16

Laura A. McDonald, estoring the Balance After

the Private Securities Litigation Reform

Act of 1995, 38 Fla. St. U. L.J. 911 (2011) ......... 25

Lawyers for Civil Justice et al., Liligation

Cost Survey of Major Companies (2010).......... 25

Victor Marrero, The Cost of Rules, The Rule of

Costs, 37 Cardozo L.J. 1599 (2016). ..............

]

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE:

Amici are issuers of securities that trade on cither the

New York Stock Exchange or NASDAQ. Amici have all

been sued in putative class actions under the Securities

Act of 1933 (“Securities Act”) in state court in California.

This brief is submitted in support of Petitioners’ assertion

that the Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act

of 1998 (““SLUSA”) eliminated state court jurisdiction

over covered class actions that allege only claims under

the Securities Act and that such actions are subject to

exclusive federal court jurisdiction.

Amici are Alibaba Group Holding Limited, GoPro,

{ne., Kitov Pharmaceuticals Holdings Ltd., LendingClub

Corporation, Novus Therapeutics, Inc. (formerly okai

Pharmaceuticals, Inc.), Pacific Biosciences of California,

Inc., Sierra Oncology, Inc, (formerly ProN Ai Therapcutics,

Inc.), Snap Inc., and X Biotech LIne.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Congress passed the Private Securities Litigation

Reform Act of 1995, Pub. L. No. 104-67, 109 Stat. 737

(“PSLRA”), to impose stricter substantive and procedural

1. Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.38(a), aneici curiae

submit this brief in support of a case before the Court for oral

argument. Petitioners’ and Respondents’ consent to the filing of

amicus briefs have been filed with the Clerk. Pursuant to Supreme

Court Rule 37.6, amici curiae certify that no party or counsel!

for a party authored any portion of this brief or madc a monetary

contribution intended to fund its preparation or submission. No

person other than anzici curiae, its members, or its counsel have

made such a monetary contribution.

2

controls on securities fraud claims and curtail abusive

practices in such litigation. In reaction, many plaintiffs

flocked to state courts, where they hoped that differences

in procedural and substantive law would provide them a

friendlier forum. Congress responded by enacting the

Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act of 1998,

Pub. L. No, 105-353, 112 Stat. 3227 (““SLUSA”). SLUSA

climinated state court subject matter jurisdiction over

class actions asserting claims under the Securities Act,

ch. 38, 48 Stat. 74. SLUSA’s text and history both make

plain why Congress chose to do so: Congress wanted

class actions bringing federal securities law claims to be

litigated in federal court, under uniform national rules,

to promote uniformity and consistency in securities class

action litigation.

The interpretation of SLUSA espoused by Respondents

flies in the face of that design. And because that

interpretation has been erroneously followed by some

courts over the past decade, this Court need not wonder

what practical impact it would have. The evidence is

already there: Respondents’ interpretation has led to

an explosion of state court Securities Act class actions.

It has subjected issuers to multiple, simultaneous suits

in state and federal court. It has produced inconsistent.

outcomes on the merits. And it has vpened the door to

the very ills—“the targeting of deep pocket defendants

... Without regard to their actual culpability,” and “the

abuse of the discovery process” that imposes massive costs

and forces settlement—that Congress sought to eliminate

when it enacted its reforms. H.R. Conf, Rep. No. 104-369,

at 31-32 (1995).

3

Indeed, because of the mistaken interpretation

advanced by Respondents, the volume of state court

Securities Act class actions has increased dramatically

despite SLUSA. In just the past six years, at least

50 issuers were sued in Securities Act class actions

in California state courts alone. Such cases cannot

be centralized by the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict

Litigation and instead must be litigated separately. That

imposes significant additional costs on the newly public

companies typically named as defendants in these cases

(who also typically must indemnify the underwriters of

their offerings that are named as defendants). The multi-

pronged litigation also creates the potential for conflicts

with federal decisions involving substantially identical

allegations.

The risk of inconsistent outcomes is not just

theoretical. In two recent instances, issuer defendants

were sued in both state and federal court in class actions

alleging violations of the federal sccurities laws. Although

the complaints challenged the same allegedly false or

misleading statements, the federal courts dismissed the

claims with prejudice while the state courts allowed the

claims to proceed. These divergent results stem from

differing judicial philosophies, and sometimes different

pleading standards. State courts—and particularly

California courts, where most state court Securities

Act class actions have been brought—often permit the

pleading of conclusory “ultimate facts” and decline

to apply the plausibility standards announced by this

Court in Twombly and Iqbal. Indeed, state courts have

repeatedly refused to dismiss Securities Act complaints

no matter how improbable the allegations may be. As a

result, complaints that would be dismissed in federal court

regularly survive dismissal in state court.

4

Just as important, state courts regularly refuse to

recognize the automatic discovery stay imposed by the

PSLRA. Indeed, many California courts have explicitly

invited plaintiffs to take discovery while a demurrer (the

California state court equivalent of a motion to dismiss)

is pending. Moreover, in those rare instances where

California state courts have held that plaintiffs failed to

state a claim, they have frequently encouraged plaintiffs

to take discovery so that they can beef up their otherwise

deficient allegations before filing an amended complaint.

Thus, unlike the federal system, California state courts

have allowed plaintiffs to discover their way into an

arguably colorable claim. These practices are contrary

to the PSLRA’s goal of eliminating fishing expedition

discovery. And they impose the extraordinary expense

of discovery on issuers facing baseless claims.

These results are precisely what Congress sought

to avoid when it provided for the application of uniform,

national rules for Securities Act claims. For these reasons,

and those set forth in Petitioners’ brief, the judgment of

the California Court of Appeal should be reversed.

ARGUMENT

1, CONGRESS PASSED THE PSLRA AND SLUSA

AS A CHECK AGAINST ABUSIVE SECURITIES

STRIKE SUITS AND TO PROMOTE UNIFORM

AND CONSISTENT ENFORCEMENT OF THE

FEDERAL SECURITIES LAWS

Congress passed the PSLRA to curb perceived

“abusels}” in private securities litigation that were injuring

“the entire U.S. economy.” H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-369,

5

at 31-32 (1995). The House Conference Keport highlighted

nuisance filings, “the targeting of deep pocket defendants

_,. without regard to their actual culpability,” and “abuse

of the discovery process to impose costs so burdensome

that it is often economica! for the victimized party to

settle.” /d. at 31. The PSLRA enacted both substantive

and procedural controls on the litigation of cases brought

under the federal securities laws. These included a

mandatory stay of discovery pending a motion to dismiss,

15 U.S.C. § 77z-1(b)(1), and a requirement that plaintiffs

file certifications setting forth their transactions in the

security at issue during the class period. /d. § 77z-1(a){2).

SLUSA was passed three years after the PSLRA. As

Petitioners explain, SLUSA accomplished three things.

First, it prohibited plaintiffs from bringing class actions

under state securities laws by precluding those actions

altogether. Jd. § 77p(b); see also id. § 77p(c). Second, it

provided that “mixed” class actions alleging claims under

both the Securities Act and state law would be litigated

in federal court by allowing such actions, if brought in

state court, to be removed to federal court, where the

state claims would be dismissed and the federal claims

adjudicated. Jd. $§ 77p(c), 77v(a). And third, it ensured

that class actions alleging claims only under the Securities

Act would be litigated in federal court by eliminating

state court jurisdiction over such actions. /d. § 77v{a).

SLUSA made these changes to “enact national standards

for securities class action lawsuits involving nationally

traded securities.” Pub. L. No. 105-353, § 2(5), 112 Stat

3227, 3227; see also H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 105-803, at 13

(1998) (“[T]his legislation establishes uniform national

rules for securities class action litigation involving our

national capital markets.”). To this end, SLUSA “make/s/

6

Federal court the exclusive venue for most securities

fraud class action litigation.” H.R Conf. Rep. No. 105-

803, at 15 (1998) (emphasis added). “The purpose of this

title is tou prevent plaintiffs from seeking lo evade the

protections that Federal law provides against abusive

litigation by filing suit in Slate, rather than in Federal,

court.” Id. at 13 (emphasis added).

Congress's stated goal could hardly have been clearer.

Unfortunately, that goal has been thoroughly frustrated

as some courts have misinterpreted SILUSA to allow

Securities Act class actions filed in state court to remain

in state court. The result has been a significant increase in

state court Securities Act class actions and an increasing

divergence of both practices and outcomes between state

and federal Securities Aet class actions.

Il. PLAINTIFFS HAVE FLOCKED TO STATE

COURTS TO LITIGATE PUTATIVE SECURITIES

ACT CLASS ACTIONS

At a time when most complex class action litigation

is being litigated in federal courts, Plaintiffs are filing

state court class actions asserting exclusively Securities

Act claims with increasing frequency. Most of these suits

are being filed in the state courts of California. Indeed,

since the California Court of Appeal held in Luther ».

Countrywide Financial Corp., 195 Cal. App. 4th 789

(2011), that state courts have jurisdiction over Securities

Act class actions despite SLUSA, at least 50 securities

issuers have been named as defendants in Securities Act

class action suits in California state courts. See Appendix

7

A.’ By contrast, only six issuers were sued in Securities

Act elass actions in California state courts in the entire

decade preceding /.uwther. See Br. of the Securities

Industry and Financial Markets Association, ct al. as

Amici Curiae in Supp. of the Pet. for Writ of Cert. at 7.°

2. Plaintiffs have also filed Securities Act class action suits

against issuers in other state courts. See, e.g., Bucks Cty. Hniups. Ret.

Fund v. Ally Fin. Inc., No. 16-013616-CZ (Mich. Cir. Ct. filed Oct.

21, 2016); ?’uh. mips.” Ret. Sys. of Miss. v. Endo Tat’? pic, No. 2017-

U2081-MJ (Pa. Ct. Com. PI. filed Feb. 28, 2017) (removed to E.D. Pa.,

No. 17-1466, and remanded on Aug. 28, 2017); City of Birmingham

Ret. & Relref Sys. v. ZTO Express (Cayman) Inc., No. 01-CV-2017-

902004,.00 (Ala. Cir. Ct. filed May 16, 2017) (removed to N.D. Ala.,

No. 2:17-CV-1091-RKDP, and stayed pending Cyan). No doubt litigation

of Securities Act claims in state courts outside of California would

be even more prevalent had many federal district courts outside of

California not determined that Securities Act claims are removable.

See, e.g., Schwartz v. Concordia Int'l Corp., No. 16-CV-6576 (NGG)

(CLP), 2017 WL 2559777, at *8 (E.D.N.Y. June 12, 2017); Huang v.

iDreumSky Tech. Lid., No. 15-CV-2514 (JPO), 2016 WL 299034, at

*4 (S.D.NLY. Jan. 25, 2016); Gaynor v. Miller, 205 F. Supp. 3d 935,

945-46 (F..D. Tenn. 2016).

3. More than 50% of these California state court actions were

filed in the Superior Court for the County of San Mateo, which has

become a magnet jurisdiction, with non-resident plaintiffs filing

Jawsuits to take advantage of what they deem to he a favorable

venue. See, e.g., Buelow v. Ababa Grp. Holding Ltd., No. CIV535692

(Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. filed Oct. 5, 2015) (lawsuit against

ecommerce company with principal operations in China); /a re Ltsy,

Ine. S‘hoider Litig., No. CIV534768 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty.

filed July 2i, 2015) (awsuit against Brooklyn-based ecommerce

company with no San Mateo operations); Guo v. ZTO Express

(Cayman) Fac., No. 17-CTV-03676 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty.

filed Aug. 11,2017) Uawsuit against China-based logistics company);

duso v. Suap, Inc., No. 17-C]1V-03710 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo

Cty. filed Aug. 14, 2017) (lawsuit against Los Angeles-based social

networking company with no San Mateo operations).

x

This dramatic growth in state court Securities Act

litigation has left many issuers subject to competing,

multi-forum litigation arising from nearly identical

challenges to the same statements in public offering

materials. Since 2011, at least half of the 50 issuers sued

in Securities Act class actions in California state court

have also faced contemporancous securities fraud lawsuits

in federal district courts. See Appendix A. These federal

suits inelude not only parallel lawsuits under the Securities

Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78a et seq. (“xchange

Act”), which cannot be maintained in state court, but also

parallel Securities Act Jawsuits that challenge the same

alleged misrepresentations being challenged in state court

under the same federal statute. Fur example:

* Alibaba was sued in an Exchange Act class

action in the Southern District of New York and a

Securities Act class action in California Superior

Court (San Mateo County);*

* Sunrun was sued in a Securities Act class action

in the Northern District of California and a

Securities Act class action in California Superior

Court (San Mateo County);®

4, Christine Asa Co., Lid. v. Alibaba Grp. Holding Lid., No.

1:15-md-02631-CM (S.D.NLY. filed June 24, 2015), appeal docketed,

No. 16-2519 (2d Cir. July 20, 2016); Buelow v. Alibaba Grp. Holding

Lid., No. CIV535692 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. filed Oct. 5,

2015).

5. Greenberg v. Sunrun ince., No. 3:16-ev-02480-CRB (N.D. Cal.

filed May 6, 2016); /n ve Sunrun Inc. S holder Litig., No. CIV538214

(Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. filed Apr. 13, 2016).

9

* Etsy was sued in a Securities Act and Exchange

Act class action in the Eastern District of New

York and a Securities Act class action in California

Superior Court (San Mateo County);* and

* Snap was sued in two Securities Act and Exchange

Act class actions in the Central District of

California and three Securities Act class actions

in California Superior Court (San Mateo and Los

Angeles Counties).’

As discussed below, the proliferation of California state

court Securities Act litigation can be explained only by the

many differences in how state and federal courts handle

such cases. These differences place issuer defendants

in state court actions at a meaningful disadvantage and

result in marked inconsistencies in outcomes in paralle!

state and federal court securities litigation.

6. Altayyar v. Etsy, Inc., No. t:15-cv-02785-AMD-RER

(F..D.N.Y, filed May 13, 2015), appeal! docketed, No. 17-1180 (2d Cir.

Apr. 21, 2017); in re Aisy, Inc. Sholder Litig., No. CIV534768 (Cal.

Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. filed July 21, 2015).

7. Erickson v. Snap Inc., No. 2:17-ev-08679-SV W-AGR (C.D.

Cal. filed May 16, 2017); Gupta v. Snap Jnc., No. 2:17-cv-05054-SV W-

AGR (C.D. Cal. filed July 10, 2017); fuse v. Snap, imc., No. 17-C1V-

04710 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. filed Aug. 14, 2017); Hsieh »v.

Snap Inc., No. BC669394 (Cal. Super. Ct. Los Angeles Cty. filed July

25, 2017); Simpson v. Snap Inc., No. BC662444 (Cal. Super. Ct. Los

Angeles Cty. filed May 23, 2017) (voluntarily dismissed following

removal, C.D. Cal.).

10

Ill. RESPONDENTS’ INTERPRETATION OF SLUSA

HAS PRODUCED RAMPANT ABUSES AND

INEFFICIENCIES IN THE LITIGATION OF

SECURITIES ACT CLAIMS

A. State Court Actions Are Not Subject To

Centralization By The Judicial Panel On

Multidistrict Litigation, Thus Adding To

Issuers’ Burdens

Federal actions with “one or more common questions

of fact” ean be centralized in a single federal district. 28

U.S.C. § 1407(a). This procedure is aimed to advance the

“just and efficient conduct” of actions. Jd. The Judicial

Panel on Multidistrict Litigation (“JPML”) regularly holds

that having asingle judge preside over related actions has

the effect of “providing consistency, preventing conflicting

rulings, and greatly reducing the duplicative expenditure

of judicial and party resources.” Jn re Countrywide Fin.

Corp. Mortg.-Backed Sec. Litig., MDL No. 2265, 2011

WL 11761004, at *1 (J.P.M.L. Dec. 21, 2011). Indeed, the

JPML routinely consolidates federal securities litigation,

including in cases involving Securities Act and Exchange

Act claims. See, e.g., In re Facebook, Inc., LPO Sec. &

Derivative Litig., 899 F. Supp. 2d 1374, 1375 (J.P.M.L.

2012).

The JPML is powerless, however, to act with respect to

state court actions. Under Respondents’ interpretation of

SLUSA, therefore, there is no way to consolidate multiple

federal and state court securities actions into a single

court, even when they involve the exact same claims and

allegations. That frustrates SLUSA’s goal of streamlining

litigation and preventing inconsistent rulings.

ll

It alse imposes substantial additional burdens on

issuer defendants. Specifically, forcing companies to

defend parallel state and federal class actions imposes

massive litigation costs on the newly public companies that

are typically named as defendants in cases under Section

Ll of the Securities Act.* These burdens are particularly

severe because issuers are almost always contractually

bound to pay the attorneys’ fees of the initial public

offering (“IPO”) underwriters that are typically named

as co-defendants in Securities Act claims. Moreover, these

indemnified underwriters’ fees are generally not covered

by director and officer insurance policies and must be

borne by the issuers themselves.

B. The Pleading Standards Applied By Many State

Courts Do Not Provide A Meaningful Check

Against Frivolous Securities Act Litigation

Federal courts function as gatekeepers against

baseless litigation and repeatedly reference this role in

considering pleading challenges. See, e.g., Palin v. New

York Times Co., No. 17-CV-4853 (JSR), 2017 W L 3712177,

at *1 n.1 (S.D.N-Y. Aug. 29, 2017) (“By requiring district

courts to make plausibility determinations based on the

pleadings, the Supreme Court has, in effect, > de district

courts gatekeepers.”) (citing /gba/ and Twom ny); Pearson

v. Vill. of Greenup, Ill., No. 09-CV-0699-MJR, 2009 WL

8. These burdens are further compounded in the case of

foreign private issuers, who may face litigation in their home

countries, in addition to both federal and state court suits. This

exposure to parallel state and federal litigation places the U.S.

capital markets at a competitive disadvantage and is yet another

negative consequence of the frustration of SLUSA’s goal of

achieving uniform standards for securities litigation.

12

4789259, at *2 (S.D. Ill. Dec. 9, 2009) (“The Court has a

role as a gatekeeper tu prevent a plaintiff with a largely

groundless claim from being allowed to take up the

time of a number of other people, with the right to do so

representing an in terrorem increment of the settlement

value.”) (citing Twombly) (quotation marks omitted).

Such a check is particularly appropriate in securities

class action litigation, which this Court has recognized,

“if not adequately contained, can be employed abusively

tu impose substantial costs on companies and individuals

whose conduct conforms to the law.” Teliabs, inc. v. Makor

issues & Rights, Ltd., 551 U.S. 308, 313 (2007).

The federal courts’ gatekeeper role is closely related

to federal pleading standards. As this Court has held on

multiple occasions starting with Bell Atlantic Corp. v.

Twombly, 550 U.S. 544 (2007), and Ashcroft v. Iqbal, 556

U.S. 662 (2009), federal] plaintiffs must state “a plausible

claim for relief,” and judges evaluating the pleadings

must engage in “a context-specific task that requires the

reviewing court to draw on its judicial experience and

common sense.” /gbal, 556 U.S, at 679. Unless the pleading

“nudge|s plaintiff's} claims across the line from conceivable

to plausible,” the complaint is subject to dismissal under

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 8. Twombly, 550 U.S. at

570. More recently, this Court explicitly held that /gbai

applies to Securities Act claims in federal court, and

that meeting the pleading standard “is no small task for

an investor.” Omnicare, Inc. v. Laborers Dist. Council

Constr. Indus. Pension Fund, 135 S. Ct. 1318, 1332 (2015).

9. Although Twombiy and /qbal post-date the PSLRA and

SLUSA, this Court's decision in Omnicuare makes clear thal the

pleading standard set forth in those cases is consistent with SLUSA's

13

By contrast, state courts often view state pleading

rules as laxer than federal rules and decline to exercise a

gatekeeper function. In California, for example, plaintiffs

typically argue that a complaint must contain only “l[a]

statement of the facts constituting the cause of action,

in ordinary and concise language.” Cal. Civ. Proc. Code

§ 425.10(a)(1). Many California state courts have suggested

that the operative standard is “fair notice,” which permits

the pleading of “ultimate” facts, z.e., “the facts constituting

the cause of action”—rather than “evidentiary” facts, i.¢.,

details that support the general factual assertions being

made. Doheny Park Terrace Homeowners Ass'n, Inc. v.

Truck Ins. Exch., 132 Cal. App. 4th 1076, 1098-99 (2005);

see also McKell v. Wash. Mut., Inc., 142 Cal. App. 4th

1457, 1469 (2006) (“The rules of pleading require . . . only

general allegations of ultimate fact. The plaintiff need

not plead evidentiary facts supporting the allegation of

ultimate fact.”) (citations omitted); Doe v. City of L.A.,

42 Cal. 4th 531, 550 (2007); 49A Cal. Jur. 3d Pleading

§ 141 (2017) (“[A] complaint is not insufficient . .. because

essential facts appear only inferentially, as conclusions of

law, by way of recital, or as informal] and argumentative

allegations.”) (footnotes omitted).

Moreover, in addition to accepting mere notice

pleading, California state courts often reject the federal]

plausibility requirement and instead hold that “facts

alleged in the pleading are deemed to be true, however

goa) of effectuating the intent of the PSLRA and making [federal

courts gatekeepers for securities suits. /d. Moreover, regardless

of when the plausibility requirement was articulated, it is now the

law in federa] courts but, as discussed below, is not applied by many

state courts, thus resulting in a lack of uniformity in the evaluation

of challenges to Securitics Act pleadings.

14

improbable they may be.” Dei 8. Webb Corp. v. Structural

Materials Co., 128 Cal. App. 3d 593, 604 (1981) (emphasis

atided).” And several have explicitly declined to “examine

the ‘plausibility’ of allegations on a demurrer pursuant

to Code of Civil Procedure § 430.10 in the same way that

federal courts may examine the ‘plausibility’ of allegations

on a motion to dismiss pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 12(b)(6) and Iqbal.” Lee v. Wells Fargo Bank

N.A., No. 34-2013-00158873-CU-OR-GDS, 2014 WL

3732002, at *3 (Cal. Super. Ct. Sacramento Cty. July 25,

2014); see also In re Frrelye, Inc. Sec. Litig., No. 1-14-

CV-266866, 2015 WL 13546104, at *12 & n.91 (Cal. Super.

Ct. Santa Clara Cty. Aug. 11, 2015) (court “not inclined to

apply the federal heightened pleading standards set forth

in [Twombly/Igqbal)” and noting that “|t}here appear to be

no published cases in California applying the Twombly/

/qbal pleading standards to a Section 11 or Section 12(a)

(2) action filed in state court”)."!

10. See also, e.g., Osborne v. Yasmeh, No. B262043, 2016 WL

4049863, at *11 (Cal. Ct. App. July 28, 2016) (“[T]Jhe facts alleged in

the pleading are deemed to be true, however improbable they may

be.”); Franceschi v. Franchise Tax Bd., 1 Ca). App. 5th 247, 256 (2016)

(same); Popescu v. Apple Inc., 1 Cal. App. Sth 39, 44 (2016) (same);

Noite ». Cedars Sinai Med. Ctr., 236 Cal. App. 4th 1401, 1406 (2015)

(same); Hock v. iansen, 225 Cal. App. 4th 215, 220 (2014) (same);

Leyte-Vidal v. Semel, 220 Cal. App. 4th 1001, 1007 (2013) (same);

Friends of Glendora v. City of Glendora, 182 Cal. App. 4th 578, 576

(2010) (same); Align Tech., Inc. v. Bao Tran, 179 Cal. App. 4th $49,

958 (2009) (same).

11. Although amici provide the Court with examples of

decisions in which stale courts reject the plausibility standard

or apply “loose” pleading standards, amici believe, and issuers

regularly and rightfully argue, that state courts should apply greater

scrutiny to Sccuritics Act complaints, similar to the scrutiny applied

15

These pleading standards can be outcome

determinative. While federal courts regularly dismiss

baseless Securities Act class actions on the pleadings with

prejudice, amici are unaware of any California court that

has sustained an initital demurrer to a Securities Act class

action without leave to amend. Indeed, multiple California

trial courts in Securities Act class actions have highlighted

what they consider to be “liberal” and “loose” pleading

standards as a principal reason for overruling demurrers

to Securities Act class action complaints:

¢ “The real primary analysis of the Court ts, yes, the

Court is interpreting Federal] law, but the Court is

bound by a much looser pleading standard under

California law than ... under the Federal! Rules of

Civil Procedure ....That’s really the analysis of

the Court. It’s a much lesser burden. That’s all.”

Rep.’s Tr. of Proceedings at 9:22-10:3, Buelow v.

Alibaba Grp. Holding Ltd., No. CTV435692 (Cal.

Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. Oct. 20 and 24, 2016)

(overruling demurrer).

* “You have to do a liberal pleading, accept it all

as true. ... And you want me to be looking at

news] articles and then seeing, you know, what

is the nature and substance of each and how they

compare [to the allegedly omitted informativn].

And that’s just not in a state court pleading

procedure ....” Hr’g Tr. at 14:8-9, 11-14, Hosey

by federal courts. Amzcz, who are at different stages in their various

state court proceedings, do not intend, through this submission, to

waive any such arguments or to make any concessions or admissions

with respect to their individual circumstances or cascs.

16

v. Costolo, No. 16-CTV-02228 (Cal. Super. Ct. San

Mateo Cty. Mar. 17, 2017) (overruling demurrer).

* Overruling demurrer based on “ultimate factual

allegation” deemed sufficient “for purposes of

California pleading standards.” Order on Dem.

at 5-6, Robinson v. Audience, Ine., No. 1-12-

CV-232227 (Cal. Super. Ct. Santa Clara Cty.

Sept. 3, 2013); see also Order re: Dem. at 8, Jn

ve Mobilelron, Inc. S’holder Litig., No. t-15-CV-

284001 (Cal. Super. Ct. Santa Clara Cty. Oct. 4,

2016) (same).'”

These differences have led to inconsistent outcomes on

dispositive motions, even in cases where plaintiffs in

federal and state court are challenging precisely the same

alleged misrepresentations in offering documents.

One example of this phenomenon involves Alibaba,

the world’s largest ecommerce company, which runs

online marketplaces similar to Amazon Marketplace and

12. As one commentator recognized, ‘a dcftedant to a weak

claim may stand a chance of disposing of the lawsuit with a motion

to dismiss under the Twombly/Iqbal standard ... . Faced with

the same circumstances in a California state court, however, a

defendant .. . would have to accept the complaint’s allegations at

face value without applying a plausibility standard.” Elizabeth

M. Weldon & Sean J. O'Hara, Litigating in Catiforniu State

Court but Not a Local?, Mar. 25, 2013, hitps://www.swlaw.com/

assets/pdf/publications/2013/03/25/ Litigating %20in%20

California%20State%20Court%20Part%201.pdf; see aiso Erie FE.

Younger, Younger on California Motions § 6:26 (2d ed. 2016) (“An

argument (even if true) that [a] plaintiff wil! never be able to prove

a claim is simply a waste of time in a demurrer.”).

17

eBay. Alibaba conducted its IPO in September 2014. In

January 2015, a document purported to memorialize a

meeting between Alibaba and Chinese regulators that

took place several months before Alibaba’s IPO, during

which the regulators allegedly spoke critically of Alibaba’s

response to the sale of counterfeit goods by third-

party merchants on its ecommerce platforms. Alibaba’s

stock price dropped following the initial posting of this

document but continued to trade al approximately 50%

above its [PO price. Seven Exchange Act securities fraud

lawsuits were filed in federal district courts around the

country and were thereafter centralized by the Judicial

Panel on Multidistrict Litigation before Chief Judge

Colleen MeMahon in the Southern District of New York.

Christine Asia Co., Ltd. v. Alibaba Grp. Holding Ltd.,

192 F. Supp. 3d 456 (S.D.N_Y. 2016) (the “Alibaba Federal

Litigation”). Seven months later, and coinciding with a

global stock market decline, Alibaba’s stock price dropped

below its IPO price for the first time. Three Securities Act

lawsuits were then filed in California Superior Court (San

Mateo County) challenging allegedly false and misleading

statements in Alibaba’s IPO registration statement (the

“Alibaba California Litigation”). Plaintiffs relied on the

same document on which plaintiffs in the Alibaba Federal

Litigation relied. These lawsuits could not be consolidated

with the pending [ederal actions because they were filed

in state court."

15. Alibaba had removed the state court action, but it was

remanded, and the California Superior Court subsequently rejected

Alibaba’s argument that it lacked subject matter jurisdiction to hear

the Securities Act claims. ‘The parties engaged in approximately six

months of discovery in California before Alibaba’s demurrer was

even considered.

18

The allegations asserted in the Alibaba Federal

Litigation and the Alibaba California Litigation had, in

the words of the state court judge, an “extraordinary

degree of factual overlap.” Tentative Order at 14, Buelow

v. Alibaba Grp. Llolding Lid., No. CIV535692 (Cal. Super.

Ct. San Mateo Cty. Oct. 17, 2016, incorporated by reference

in final order Dec. 22, 2016). Indeed, both actions asserted

the same alleged misrepresentations and omissions. See

Appendix B. The only distinctions of any significance

between the two actions were (1) the federal securities

statute under which plaintiffs claimed violations, and (2)

the court in which they were filed.

‘The outcome of Alibaba’s challenges to the pleadings

was not similar, however. In the Alibaba Federal

Litigation, Chief Judge McMahon of the Southern District

of New York granted Alibaba’s motion to dismiss with

prejudice after finding that Alibaba’s IPO registration

statement was neither false nor misleading. Christine

Asia, 192 F. Supp. 3d at 482. In reaching this decision,

the court reviewed Alibaba’s IPO disclosures and

concluded that the registration statement was “unusually

comprehensive,” “accurate and sufficiently candid” and

“fully disclose[d] all substantive investment risks.” /d.

at 459, 469, 477. The decision was not based on a Jack of

particularity or specificity in the pleadings and did not

require application of Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

9(b) or heightened PSLRA pleading standards. Instead,

the federa] court concluded that even if the allegations

were accepted as true, the challenged statements were

either not “materiaJly misleading and actionable” or

were “too general to be considered false or misleading.”

fd. at 478. Finally, Chief Judge McMahon concluded that

“Defendants were under no duty to disclose” Alibaba’s

19

meeting with Chinese regulators. /d. at 482. Significantly,

the court determined that plaintiffs’ failure to plead

actionable false statements was “‘substantive’ rather

than the result of an ‘inadequately or inartfully pleaded’

complaint.” /d. ‘Thus, the court dismissed the Alibaba

Federal Litigation with prejudice.

By contrast, the court in the Alibaba California

litigation declined to adopt the federal court’s reasoning

based on perceived differences in state and federal

pleading standards and thus overruled Alibaba’s demurrer.

Plaintiffs had opposed Alibaba’s demurrer by arguing that

the “Federal rules of pleading differ from the rules of

pleading in California state courts,” specifically including

‘goal among pleading rules that were inapplicable in state

court. Plaintiffs further contended that under “normal

California pleading requirements,” their complaint must

be “liberally construed,” and Alibaba’s demurrer must

be overruled “so long as [the complaint} apprises the

defendant of the factual basis for the claim.” Pls.’ Suppl.

Submission in Opp. to Defs.’ Dem. re Order Mntered in

the Fed. Sec. Fraud Action at 2-3, Buelow v. Alibaba

Grp. Holding Ltd., No. CIV535692 (Cal. Super. Ct. San

Mateo Cty. July 15, 2016). The San Mateo Superior Court

accepted Plaintiffs’ argument and overruled Alibaba’s

demurrer on the basis of the state court’s more liberal

pleading standard:

The Court agrees with Defendants that given

the extraordinary degree of factua) overlap

between this case and [the Alibaba Federal

Litigation] it is important to address the

reasoning for the Court’s decision. However, it

is also important to keep in mind that the Court

20

in [the Alibaba Federal] Litigation] viewed the

adequacy of the allegations pursuant to a much

stricter federal pleading standard.

Tentative Order at 14, Buelow v. Alibaba Grp. Holding

Ltd., No. CIV535692 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. Oct.

17, 2016, incorporated by reference in final order Dec. 22,

2016), ‘The Court decided that “[t]he pleading standards in

federa) and state court are different, and this distinction

affects the Court’s analysis of Defendants’ demurrer”

and that “[uJnder state pleading standards Plaintiffs’

Complaint must be liberally construed.” Jd. at 6, 16

(quotation marks omitted). Notwithstanding the fact that

Chief Judge McMahon’s ruling was premised on the legal

question of whether, even accepting plaintiff’s allegations

as true, Alibaba’s risk disclosures were misleading, the

Superior Court’s “primary analysis” was based on the

perceived difference in federal and “much looser” state

pleading standards. Rep.’s Tr. of Proceedings at 9:22-10:1,

Buelow v. Alibaba Grp. Holding Ltd., No. C1VS35692 (Cal.

Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. Oct. 20 and 24, 2016). Moreover,

with respect to Alibaba’s argument that its disclosures

were sufficient Lo warn investors of the allegedly concealed

risks, the Superior Court held that this question, which the

federal court had resolved in connection with the motion

to dismiss, “cannot be resolved by demurrer.” Tentative

Order at 16, Buelow v. Alibaba Grp. Holding Lid., No.

CIV535692 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Matco Cty. Oct. 17, 2016,

incorporated by reference in final order Dee. 22, 2016).

If a consistent pleading standard had been applied,

the Superior Court should have dismissed the Alibaba

California Litigation with prejudice just as Chief Judge

McMahon had dismissed the Alibaba Federal Litigation

2]

with prejudice. Instead, the state court’s perceived

stark difference between the state and [ederal pleading

standards led it to allow the case to continue with merits

discovery even though the relevant factual allegations

and legal standards for falsity were identical in the two

actions."

C. Inconsistent Outcomes In Securities Class

Actions Litigated In Both State And Federal

Courts Are Not Only A Result Of Perceived

Differences In Pleading Standards

}ederal and state courts considering virtually identical

challenges to registration statements have reached

conflicting decisions even in cases that have not turned

on pleading standards. Such was the case for Sunrun, a

San Francisco-based residential solar power company. [1

conducted its IPO on NASDAQ in August 2015. Before the

company’s IPO, a public utility had submitted a proposal

14. Federal and California courts have also applied different

summary judgment standards. In federal court, “a moving defendant

may shift the burden of producing evidence Lo the nonmoving plaintiff

merely by ‘showing’— that is, pointing out through argument—

the absence of evidence to support plaintiff's claim.” Fairbank v.

Wunderman Cato Johnson, 212 F.3d 528, 532 (9th Cir. 2000). By

contrast, many California courts permit burden shifting only after

the moving party presents evidence—rather than just argument—

that the nonmoving plaintiff cannot meet its burden. See Aguilar »v.

All. Richfield Co., 25 Cal. 4th 826, 854-55, as modified (July 11, 2001)

(rejecting federal] standard); Fairbank, 212 I'.3d at 532 (contrasting

federal and California standards). This high burden diminishes the

availability of summary judgment as a tool to resolve Securities Act

claims in California court on important issues, such as the existence

of a false or misleading statement, and provides yet another reason

why limiting Securities Act class actions to federal] court is the only

way to cffectuate Congressional intent.

22

to the Nevada Public Utility Commission (“Nevada PUC”)

to limit net metering policies, on which Sunrun relied to

sell solar panels in Nevada. In the Company’s registration

statement, Sunrun stated that it focuses on “favorable

policy environments” with net metering programs.

Sunrun warned investors that the “expiration, elimination

or reduction of... rebates and incentives could adversely

impact” its business and specifically disclosed that

“changes to net metering policies may significantly reduce

demand for electricity from our solar service offerings”

and that utility companies and other specia! interests were

“currently challenging solar-related policies to reduce the

competitiveness of residential solar energy.” In January

2016, Sunrun announced that it was withdrawing from the

Nevada solar power market because the Nevada PUC had

cut certain net metering policies. A Securities Act class

action was filed in California Superior Court in April 2016.

See Inre Sunrun Inc. S’holder Litig., No. CIV538215 (Cal.

Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. filed Apr. 13, 2016) (the “Sunrun

California Litigation”). In May 2016, a parallel Securities

Act lawsuit was filed in the Northern District of California.

Greenberg v. Sunrun Inc., No. 3:16-cv-02480-CRB (N.D.

Cal. filed May 6, 2016) (the “Sunrun Federal Litigation”).

The allegations in the Sunrun Federal! litigation and

the Sunrun California Litigation are virtually identical.

Both cases assert the same legal claims (violations of

Sections 11, 12(a)(2) and 15 of the Securities Act), challenge

the same registration statement and prospectus, and

premise their claims on the same factual circumstances.

See Appendix C (comparison of allegations). The only

materia] difference between the two actions is the court

in which they were filed. However, yet again, these two

nearly identical cases produced diametrically opposite

outcomes.

23

In the Sunrun Federal Litigation, Judge Charles

Breyer of the Northern District of California granted

Sunrun’s motion to dismiss with prejudice. His decision

carefully analyzed Sunrun’s IPO disclosures, including

Sunrun’s regulatory risk factors, and concluded that

plaintiffs had not sufficiently pleaded falsity. For example,

Judge Breyer explained that the company’s statement

that it entered “favorable policy environments” was not

false, “as the company’s exit from Nevada made painfully

clear.” Greenberg v. Sunrun Inc., 233 F. Supp. 3d 764, 772

(N.D. Cal. 2017). Additionally, Judge Breyer explained

that plaintiff’s allegation that Sunrun “sugarcoated”

its Nevada regulatory risks was “a mirage” because

Sunrun’s disclosures adequately warned that regulatory

developments could adversely affect its business. /d. at

773. The court dismissed the complaint with prejudice,

concluding that “leave to amend would be futile. The

Prospectus, after all, says what it says.” Jd. at 775.

By contrast, in the Sunrun California Litigation, the

San Mateo Superior Court overruled Sunrun’s demurrer

and allowed the case to proceed to discovery without

explicitly analyzing Sunrun’s IPO disclosures. Case

Mgmt. Order #2 at 3-4, Inve Sunrun Inc. S’holder Litig.,

No. CIV538215 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. Jan. 17,

2017). Instead, the Superior Court simply concluded

that plaintiffs had “adequately pleaded” the claim. /d. It

also noted that it would not engage in the legal analysis

performed by the federal court to consider whether the

registration statement was false or misleading in light of

its disclosures and publicly available information:

Although Defendants strongly argue that the

statements were not false and misleading, and

24

asked the Court to make that determination

by interpretation of the Nevada legislation

diseussed in the Complaint, such an inquiry

is more appropriate on [a summary judgment]

motion not demurrer here.

/d. at 3. Thus, the state and federal courts considering

identical claims against Sunrun engaged in a starkly

different level of analysis and reached diametrically

opposed outcomes.

Sunrun is far from the only issuer that faces the

potential] for conflicting outcomes in Securities Act

litigation. For example, earlier this year, three plaintiffs

filed nearly identical Securities Act suits in San Mateo

Superior Court related to the IPO of Avinger, Inc., a

medical device company. See Olberding v. Avinger, Inc.,

No. 17-CIV-02307 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. filed

May 25, 2017); Gonzalez v. Avinger, Inc., No. 17-CIV-

02284 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. filed May 23, 2017);

Grotewrel v. Avinger, Inc., No. 17-CIV-02240 (Cal. Super.

Ct. San Mateo Cty. filed May 22, 2017). In all three cases,

the defendants removed to the U.S. District Court for

the Northern District of California. Two of the plaintiffs

moved to remand, which motions were granted based on

the federal court’s interpretation of the Securities Act’s

anti-removal bar. Order Granting Mots. to Remand,

Olberding v. Avinger, Inc., Nos. 4:17-ev-03398-CW,

4:17-ev-03401-CW (N.D. Cal. July 21, 2017). Because the

third plaintiff did not seek remand, however, one case

continues to move forward in federal court. Grotewiel v.

Avinger, Inc., No. 4:17-ev-03400-CW (N.D. Cal. filed June

12, 2017). Thus, Avinger faces a meaningful possibility of

divergent future outcomes. As set forth in Appendix A,

25

other issuers facc a similar risk based on parallel securities

class action litigation procceding simultancously in state

and federal courts.

DD. Liberal State Court Discovery Practices

Impose Significant And Asymmetrical Costs

On Issuers From The Outset Of State Court

Securities Class Action Litigation

Past the pleading stage, state courts continue to

handle Securities Act cases differently than their federal

counterparts, allowing discovery to proceed where federal!

courts do not. These discovery costs exponentially increase

the cost of litigation. Vietor Marrero, 7’he Cost of Rules,

The Rule of Costs, 37 Cardozo L.J. 1599, 1656-57 (2016)

(“[D]iscovery is unmatched among the major sources of

litigation costs; it generates more legal fees and expenses

than any other round of court proceedings. According

to various estimates, discovery can consume from fifty

to as much as ninety percent of total legal! costs in some

cases.”); see Lawyers for Civil! Justice et al., Litigation

Cost Survey of Major Companies 5 (2010).

In securities litigation, the financial burden of

discovery is “asymmetric” because, “|wlhile plaintiffs

incur minima] costs, defendants are required to produce

numerous records and deponents, making the process

extremely ‘expensive and time-consuming.” Laura A.

MeDonald, Restoring the Balance After the Private

Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, 38 Fla. St. U.

L.J. 911, 916 (2011) (footnotes omitted). Moreover, as stated

above, the burdens on issuer defendants in Securities Act

cases are particularly acute because they must normally

pay the underwriter defendants’ defense costs, including

the cost of the underwriters’ discovery efforts.

26

in an effort to shield issuers from the high cost of

discovery in weak or frivolous securities class action

litigation, the PSLRA provides that in private securities

actions filed in federal court, “all discovery and other

proceedings shall be stayed during the pendency of any

motion to dismiss.” 15 U.S.C. § 77z-1(b)(1). By conditioning

access to discovery on a plaintiff's ability to plead past a

motion to dismiss, Congress affirmed its intent that the

motion to dismiss phase be a meaningful hurdic. The

mandatory discovery stay was motivated by concern that

plaintiffs were “targeting [|] deep-pocket defendants” and

making “vexatious discovery requests” to develop inchoate

or insufficient claims or to extract settlements from

defendants who would find it less expensive to settle than

to pay the high cost of discovery. Merrill Lynch, Pierce,

Fenner & Smith Inc. v. Dabit, 547 U.S. 71, 81 (2006); see

also Stoneridge Inv. Partners, LLC v. Scientific-Atlanta,

Inc., 552 U.S. 148, 163 (2008) (“{E]xtensive discovery

... allows plaintiffs with weak claims to extort settlements

from innocent companies.”); H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-369,

at 31 (1995) (“|A]busive practices committed in private

securities litigation include . .. the abusc of the discovery

process to impose costs so burdensome that it is often

economical for the victimized party to settle.”).

The PSLRA discovery stay reflected Congressional

intent that plaintiffs should not be allowed to use

discovery as a way to manufacture an arguably colorable

securities claim after filing a deficient complaint. Congress

recognized that plaintiffs had been filing abusive “lawsuits

against issuers of securities and others whenever there

is a significant change in an issuer’s stock price, without

regard to any underlying culpability of the issuer, and

with only faint hope that the discovery process might

27

lead eventually to some plausible cause of action.” H.R.

Conf. Rep. No. 104-369, at 31 (1995). And in enacting the

PSLRA, “Congress clearly intended that complaints in

these securities actions should stand or fall based on the

actual knowledge of the plaintiffs rather than information

produced by the defendants after the action has been

filed.” Petrie v. Elec. Game Card, Inc., 761 F.3d 959,

966 (9th Cir. 2014) (quotation marks omitted); Newby

v. Enron Corp., 338 F.3d 467, 471 (65th Cir. 2003) (“The

stay protected defendants from plaintiffs who would use

discovery to substantiate an initially frivolous complaint.”)

(citing H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-369, at 31, 32 (1995)).

Here again, the interpretation advanced by

Respondents has turned this clear Congressional

command on its head. Unfortunately tor defendants in

Securities Act class actions filed in California state court,

California courts frequently do not enforce the PSLRA

discovery stay. See, e.g., Order Denying Defs.’ Mot. to

Stay Proceedings at 9-13, Jn re Pac. Biosciences af Cal.,

Inc. Sec. Litig., No. C1V4509210 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo

Cty. May 25, 2012) (calling defendants’ argument that

PSLRA applied to action “creative” but “not persuasive”

because “it is only a discovery stay of federal securities

class actions filed in federal court”); Small v. Fritz Cos.,

30 Cal. 4th 167, 178 (2003) (holding that “the PSLRA

governs only actions in federal court” and “do(es] not

affect state court [] actions”). Instead, California has long

“liberally construed |its procedures] in favor of discovery.”

Greyhound Corp. v. Superior Court, 56 Cal. 2d 355, 383

(1961), superseded by statute on other grounds, Stats.

1963, ch. 1744, § 1, p. 3477-79, as recognized by Cotto v.

Superior Court, 64 Cal. 4th 480 (2012). Indeed, California

28

provides for far broader discovery compared to the federal

rules’ new “proportionality” standard. See Beverly Reid

O’Connell & Karen L. Stevenson, Rutter Group Practice

Guide: Federal Civil Procedure Before Trial, Cul. & 9th

Cir. Eds. 9 11:610 (2017). Although California courts have

discretion to grant stays where justice permits, stays

during the pendency of motions challenging pleadings

tend to be the exception rather than the rule. It is thus

common for discovery to commence in securities cases

before demurrers are even briefed, let alone decided.

See In re Sunrun Inc. S’holder Litig., No. CIV538215

(Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. filed Apr. 13, 2016)

(commencing discovery before demurrers resolved); /n re

Pac. Biosciences of Cal., Inc. Sec. Litig., No. CIV509210

(Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. filed Oct. 21, 2011) (same);

In re Avalanche Biotechnologies, Inc. Sholder Litig., No.

C1V536488 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. filed Dec. 7,

2015) (same); Plymouth Cly. Ret. Sys. v. Model N Inc., No.

C1V530291 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Matco Cty. filed Sept. 5,

2014) (same); Wiley v. Envrvio, Inc., No. C1V517185 (Cal.

Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. filed Oct. 5, 2012) (same); Jn re

CafePress Inc. S’*holder Litig., No. C1V522744 (Cal. Super.

Ct. San Mateo Cty. filed July 10, 2013) (same).

Moreover, California courts often hold that pleading

deficiencies do not affect the right to take discovery. See,

e.g., Mattco Forge, Inc. v. Arthur Young & Co., 223 Cal.

App. 3d 1429, 1436 n.3 (1990). Accordingly, California

courts frequently permit (and even encourage) plaintiffs to

take discovery even after a demurrer has been sustained

with leave to replead. As one Superior Court succinctly

put it:

29

California law is clear. [Plaintiffs] have the

opportunity to take discovery, to amend their

complaint. And the fact that a demurrer has

been sustained with leave to amend, if anything,

bolsters their right to discovery, not negates it.

Rep.’s T'r. of Proceedings at 58:18-22, Geller v. LendingClub

Corp., No. C1V537300 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty.

Sept. 30, 2016) (sustaining demurrer in part and ordering

further discovery); see also Hr’g Tr. at 28:1-2, /na re

Castlight Health Inc. S’holder Littg., No. C1V533203 (Cal.

Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. Jan. 27, 2016) (“There's no stay

on discovery. Do whatever you need.”); Hr’g Tr. at 49:18-19,

Hosey v. Costolo, No. 16-C1V-02228 (Cal. Super. Ct. San

Mateo Cty. Mar. 17, 2017) (setting deadline for amended

pleading after sustaining demurrer as to Section 15 claim

so that plaintiffs would have “enough time to propound”

discovery as to that claim); Rep.’s Tr. of Proecedings at

4:16-19, Giavara v. GoPro, Inc., No. CIV537077 (Cal.

Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty. Nov. 22, 2016) (defense counsel

noting that plaintiffs had “receiv[ed] tens of thonsands

of pages in extensive discovery” before making second

attempt to plead claims).

These discovery practices provide yet another stark

eontrast to the system of checks and halances that

Congress created through the PSLRA and SLUSA.

Allowing Securities Act class actions to proceed to

early merits discovery in state court further frustrates

Congress’s intent of encouraging uniform and consistent

enforcement of the federa! securities laws. This practice

also undermines Congress's goal of discouraging frivolous

securities litigation. To the contrary, by permitting,

and even encouraging, fishing expedition discovery,

30

state courts allow plaintiffs to “discover their way” into

arguably colorable claims despite lacking a valid initia!

cause of action.”

CONCLUSION

In short, the interpretation of SLUSA advanced by

Respondents imposes on issuers the very burdens and

disadvantages that Congress sought to eliminate when it

enacted the PSLRA and SLUSA. These disadvantages

lead, in turn, to the “extortionate settlements” that the

PSLRA and SLUSA sought to stem. Dabit, 547 U.S. at 81.

By properly construing SLUSA as eliminating state court

jurisdiction for Securitics Act class actions, this Court has the

ability to eliminate this jurisdiction-based outcome disparity.

Amici respectfully suggest that the Court avail itself of this

opportunity to return all Securities Act class action litigation

to the level federal playing field that Congress mandated.

The judgment below should be reversed.

15. The PSI.RA's requirement thal securities plaintiffs file

certifications setling forth their transactions in the security at issue,

15 U.S.C. 8 77z-1(a)(2), further protects federa) court defendants

but not state court defendants. In /n re Zynga Ine. Securities

Litigation, defendants in a lawsuit filed in federal court were able

to determine based on the plaintiff's PSLRA certification, which

set forth plaintiff's stock purchase dates, that the plaintiff lacked

standing to pursue Securities Act claims. The federal court granted

their motion to dismiss on this basis. No, C 12-04007 JSW, 2014 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 24673, at *9-11 (N.D. Cal. Feb. 25, 2014). By contrast,

in eyes v. Zynga Inc., which was filed in state court, because the

plaintiff was not required to file a PSLRA certification, defendants

could not determine whether the plaintiff lacked standing until

shortly before the case was dismissed, after more than two years of

litigation. See Order Granting Pl. Robert Reyes’ Unopposed Req.

fur Voluntary Dismissal of Action, Reyes v. Zynga Dic., No. CGC-12-

522876 (Cal. Super. Ct. San Francisco Cty. Feb. 11, 2015).

JONATHAN K, YOUNGWOOD

Simpson ‘THACHER

& BarTLetr LLP

425 Lexington Avenue

New York, NY 10017

(212) 455-2000

3l

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES G. KREISSMAN

Counsel of Record

Suwona G. Strauss

STEPUFN P. BLAKE

ELIZABETH H. WHITE

Simpson THACHER

& Bartlett LLP

2475 Hanover Street

Palo Alto, CA 94304

(650) 251-5000

jkreissman@stblaw.com

Counsel for Amici Curiae

September 5, 2017

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — LITIGATION AGAINST

ISSUERS IN CALIFORNIA STATE COURT

ISSUER _| CALIFORNIA an ~. piece re

NAME COUNTY C .

NUMBER CASE(S)

F 1-15-CV-

Al0 Networks Santa Clara 276207

Aerohive San Mudie CIV534070

| Networks

Exchange Act

‘TVAQ5

Alibaba San Mateo CIV535692 (S.D.N.Y)

: CIV537817

Apigee San Matco 17-CIV.02788

1. 1-15-CV-

Atmel Santa Clara OR6958

: ws. 1-12-CV-

Audience Santa Clara 939997

Securities Act

Avalanche * vWweecauy | and Exchange

Bistechnologies | ~°" *#** CIVES64B5 | A ot (ND.

Cal.)

; 17-ClV- Securities Act

Avinger San Mateo Qv2R4 (N_D. Cal.”

CafePress San Mateo CIV522'744

1. Removed to the Northern District of California and no

motion to remand was filed. Two other removed actions had been

remanded following plaintiffs’ motions.

2a

Appendix A

ISSUER | CALIFORNIA | eee A EIRAL

NAME COUNTY

NUMBER CASKE(S)

Castlight . .

Health San Mateo C1IV533203

; Exchange Act

Clovis Oneology | San Mateo CIV537068 (D. Colo.)

Code Rebel Los Angeles | BC624918 mpeg ae

ae 1-15-CV-

Coupons.com Santa Clara 278399 7

a CGC-14-

Cyan < San Francisco 538355

Securities

‘ ‘ Act and

CytRx Los Angeles BC541426 Exchange Act

art 7 (C.D. Cal.)

Envivio San Mateo CIV517185 mae gee

: Securities

Etsy San Mateo _| CIV534768 hol ae

(E.D.N-Y.)

Facebook? San Mateo CIV514065

- ae Se 1-14-CV- Exchange Act

FireEKye Santa Clara BERGE (ND. Cal.)

2. Remaved and centralized by JPML in Southern District of

New York before remand motion was decided.

3a

Appendix A

ISSUER | CALIFORNIA ry ‘saan,

NAME COUNTY

NUMBER CASE(S)

Securities Act

or eae CGC-16- and Exchange

Fitbit San Francisco 552062 Act (ND.

ae < Cal.) 14

GoPro San Mateo CIV537077 —

Kitov ee 17-C1V- Exchange Act

Pharmaceuticals | "0 """° 00620 ~— | (S.D.N.Y,)

Securitics Act

LendingClub ; and Exchange

Corporation San Mateo CIV537300 Act (N_D.

z= : SS

i 1-15-CY-

MobileLron Santa Clara 284001 =

Model! N c San Mateo C1V530291 ieee:

NantKwest Los Angeles BC621292 ; reed

Natera San Mateo CIV537409

nae BCV-16-

NRG Yield — 100867 :

| Ooma . San Mateo CIV5386959

' Securities Act

Pacific and Exchange

Biosciences of San Mateo CIV509210

California ona

ee | Cal.) nse

Pacific Coast .

Oil Trust Los Sanconel : BC550418 2 ed

4a

Appendix A

ISSUER | CALIFORNIA| MASTER | PARALLEL

NAME COUNTY CASE FEDERAL

4 NUMBER CASE(S)

ProNAi cae les. 17-C1V Exchange Act

Therapeutics ; 00595 (S.D.N.Y,)

16-CLV-

Pure Storage San cual oss |

Revance CS re eN 1-15-CV-

Therapeutics D rence 287794

Securities

: cleus Act and

Sientra San Matco C1V536013 Exchange Act

a : ms | (C.D, Cal.)

Smart i at Saenee Securities Act

Technologies |" | 614673 —__| (SDNY)

17-C1V- Securities

‘ ‘ A

om ee eae Act and

a Suny es ae Exchange Act

Beles” | BO669394 | (C.D. Cal)

8. Removed to the Northern District of California; pending

motions to remand and to transfer venue to the Central District of

California.

4. Removed to the Central District of California, related to

the existing action in that district, then remanded su sponte.

A separate action in Los Angeles County Superior Court was

removed to the Central District and voluntarily dismissed.

Ba

Appendix A

ISSUER | CALIFORNIA | ieee ee NRAL,

NAME COUNTY <

NUMBER CASE(S)

Securities

. ; 30-2011- Act and

visaee Orange 00489022 | Exchange Act

6 1S pee ee ee

| aan Securities Act

SunEdison® San Mateo ee” and Exchange

eae! Pee Act (§.D.N.Y.)

pao: ‘tTywreeoi- | vecuritses Act

Sunrun er San Mateo | esbiewpmees (NLD. Cal.)

TerraForm wereernes | securities Act

ae 2 ee. eee LOE Cl

Securities

Tokai fan Bameli CGC-16- Act and

Pharmaceuticals | °°" “T@*“S°° | 553796 Exchange Act

_ (1), Mass.) — F

TrueCar* Los Angeles | BC590999 eee,

5. Removed under 28 U.S.C. § 1452 (related to bankruptcy

proceedings).

6. Removed under 28 U.S.C. § 1452 (related to bankruptcy

proceedings).

7. Removed and voluntarily dismissed with no remand motion

filed.

6a

Appendix A

ncncthsctciamleetioets

ISSUER | CALIFORNIA a a

NAME COUNTY

NUMBER CASE(S)

37-2017-

TrueChoice i Mee 23035-

Solutions s B CU-FR-

even _|cTtL po ae

3 16-CIV-

liducanl [fame ome

2 al Exchange Act

en on BC602793 (WD. Tex.)

CGC-15-

543531

Xoom San Francisco

CGC-15-

Fate Pi ae oa 544655

ZELTIQ Alameda G12621290

a ee eee

: Securities Act

ZO Express San Mateo Hil (N.D. Ala.’

et, rca _ | and 8.D.N.Y.)

Zynga San Francisco CGC-12- Exchange Act

ledieatiye 4 $60 | 522876 =| (ND. Call.)

8. Removed to the Northern District of Alabama from Alabama

Circuit Court and stayed pending this Court’s decision in Cyan.

7a

APPENDIX B — ALIBABA STATE

AND FEDERAL LITIGATION

Alibaba Comparison of Alleged Omissions

and Misrepresentalions

| Challenged Statement/

Omission in California’

Challenged Statement/

Omission in S.D.N.Y.’

1

“(T lhe Registration

Statement failed to

disclose that... . on

July 16, 2014, senior

executives from Alibaba

had met with senior

Chinese government

regulators and officials,

who explained that

Alibaba’s e-commerce

businesses were in

serious violation of the

laws and regulations of

the People’s Republic of

China (*PRC’).” (9 109)

ms

“The Registration

Statement . . . failed

to disclose that .. . on

July 16, 2014, senior

executives from Alibaba

had met with senior SAIC

and AIC officials and

were told that Alibaba’s

e-commerce businesses

were in serious violation

of PRC laws and

regulations ....”

(f 102)

Ll. Allegations taken from the Consolidated Complaint filed in

Buelow vu Alibaba Group Hoidiny Limited, No. CTV535692 (Cal. Super

Ct. San Mateo Cty.) on March 25, 2016.

2. Allegations taken from the Consolidated Complaint filed in Jr

ve Alibaba Group Holding Limited Securities Litigation (also referred

to us Christine Asia Co., Ltd. v. Alibaba Group Holding Liniited), No.

1:15-md-02631-CM (S8.D.N.Y.) on July 1, 201b.

Na

Appendix B

Challenged Statement/ | Challenged Statement/

Omission in California Omission in S.D.N-Y.

“The Registration “The Registration

Statement also failed to

disclose that Chinese

regulators and officials

had threatened Alibaba

with thousands of

financial penalties -

each with a target of

1.0% of daily sales on its

e-commerce platforms

pee .” (0 110)

“The Registration

Statement also failed

to disclose .. . that

the SAIC had already

commenced the ‘Red

Shield Web Sword’

special program to clean

up rampant abuses on

e-commerce platforms,

including eounte ‘eiting

and consumer ft aud, with

Alibaba as one of its main

targets.” (7 110)

Statement .. . failed

to disclose . . . that

SAIC had threatened

Alibaba with thousands

of financial penalties

— each with a target of

1.0% of daily sales on its

ecommerce platforms.”

(F 102)

— — - ee —-

“The Registration

Statement also failed to

disclose that the SATC

had commenced the ‘Red

Shield and Web Sword’

special program to clean

up rampant abuses in

Alibaba’s ecommerce

platforms, ineluding

counterfeiting and

consumer fraud, and that

the SAIC considered

Alibaba one of its main

| targets.” (f 103)

Ga

Appendiz h

Challenged Statement/ | Challenged Statement/

Omission in California Omission in S.D.N.Y.

“|'T jhe regulatory and

legal system in China is

complex and developing,

and future regulations

may impose additional

requirements on our

business.” (4 111)

“(The regulatory and

legal system in China is

complex and developing,

and future regulations

may impose additional

requirements on our

business.” (% 106)

“Maintaining the trusted

status of our ecosystem

is critical to our success,

and any failure to do so

could severely damage

our reputation and brand,

which would have a

material! adverse effect

on vur business, financial

condition and results of

operations.” (% 111)

“Maintaining the trusted

status of our ecosystem

is critical to our success,

and any failure to do so

could severely damage

our reputation and brand,

which would have a

material adverse effect

on our business, financial

condition and results of

| operations.” (fF 108) +

10a

Appendia B

Challenged Statement/ | Challenged Statement/

Omission in California Omission in S.D.N.Y.

Alibaba’s “ability to

maintain our position

as a trusted platform

for online and mobile

commerce is based in

large part upon: ... the

quality and breadth of

products and services

offered by sellers through

our marketplaces; [and]

the strength of our

consumer protection

measures.” (4 111)

“Alibaba’s ‘ability to

maintain our position

as a trusted platform

for online and mobile

commerce is based in

large part upon: ... the

quality and breadth of

products and services

offered by sellers through

our marketplaces; (and]

the strength of our

consumer protection

measures.” (1 110)

“We have received

in the past, and we

anticipate we will

reecive in the future,

communications alleging

that items offered or

sold through our online

marketplaces by third

parties ... infringe

_.., intellectual property

rights.” (4 113)

“We have received

in the past, and we

anticipate we will

receive in the future,

communications alleging

that items offered or

sold through our online

marketplaces by third

parties ... infringe

... intellectual property

es:

rights.” (1 112)

Se

|

lla

Appendix B

Challenged Statement/

Omission in California

Challenged Statement/_

Omission in S.D.N.Y.

“Morcover, iliega},

fraudulent or collusive

activities by our

employees could also

subject us to liability or

negative publicity. For

instance, we learned that

in early 2011 and 2012 in

two separate incidents,

certain of our employees

had accepted payments

frum sellers in order

to receive preferential

treatment on Alibaba.com

and Juhuasuan.” (4 113) | |

“If... information

disseminated through our

... websites were deemed

by the PRC government

to violate any content

restrictions, we would

not be able to continue to

display such content and

could become subject to |

penalties ..., which could

materially and adversely

affect our business... .”

(V7 115)

Le — —_ —— —

“Moreover, illegal,

fraudulent or collusive

activities by our

employees could also

subject us to liability or

negative publicity. For

instance, we learned that

in early 2011 and 2012 in

two separate incidents,

certain of our employees

had aecepted payments

from scllers in order

to receive preferential

treatment on Alibaba.com

and Juhuasuan.” (‘ 118)

ee eee -t—t—t—

“If... information

disseminated through our

... websites were deemed

by the PRC government

Lo violate any content

restrictions, we would

not be able to continue to

display such content and

could become subject to

penalties ..., which could

materially and adversely

affect our business... .”

(f 125)

12a

Appendix B

| Challenged Statement/

Omission in California

Challenged Statement/ |

Omission in S.D.N_Y.

“(T]f we do not take

appropriate remedial

action against sellers

or service providers

for actions they engage

in that we know, or

should have known,

would infringe upon the

rights and interests of

consumers, we may be

held jointly Jiable with the

seller or service provider

for such infringement.”

“IT ]f we do not take

appropriate remedia!

action against sellers

or service providers

for actions they engage

in that we know, or

should have known,

would infringe upon the

rights and interests of

consumers, we may be

held jointly liable with the

seller or service provider

for such infringement.”

(1 125)

115)

“To protect consumers,

brand owners and

legitimate sellers and to

maintain the integrity

of our marketplaces, we

have put in place a broad

range of measures Lo

prevent counterfeit and

pirated goods from being

offered and sold on our

marketplaces.” (f 117)

Ee

|

x

“To protect consumers,

brand owners and

legitimate sellers and to

maintain the integrity

of our marketplaces, we

have put in place a broad

range of measures to

prevent counterfeit and

pirated goods from being

offered and sold on our

—<4

marketplaces.” (1127)

l3a

Appendix B

Challenged Statement/ | Challenged Statement/_

Omission in California Omission in S.D.N.Y.

“We have implemented

measures to prevent,

detect and reduce the

occurrence of fictitious

transactions on Taobao

Marketplace and Tmall

including... .” (4 117)

“We maintain a ‘no

Lolerance’ policy with

regard to counterfeit and

fictitious activities on our

marketplaces.” (7 119)

Se ees

“We have implemented

measures to prevent,

detect and reduce the

occurrence of fictitious

transactions on Taobao

Marketplace and T'mall

including... .” (1 129)

“We maintain a ‘no

tolerance’ policy with

regard to counterfeit and

fictitious activities on our

marketplaces.” (4 131)

“Violation of these laws,

rules and regulations

may result in penalties,

including fines,

confiscation of advertising

income, orders to

cease dissemination

of the advertisements

and orders to publish

an advertisement

correcting the misleading

information.” ( 121)

rules and regulations

“Violation of these laws,

may result in penalties,

including fines,

confiscation of advertising

income, orders to

cease dissemination

of the advertisements

and orders to publish

an advertisement

correcting the misleading |

information.” (4 144) |

l4a

Appendix £8

| Challenged Statement/

Omission in California

Challenged Statement/ _

Omission in S.D.NY.

$m

“These newly issued

measures impose more

stringent requirements

and obligations on... the

marketplace platform

providers. For exampie,

the marketplace platiorm

providers are obligated

to examine the legal

status of each third-

party merchant selling

products or services on

the platform and display

on a prominent location

on the web page of such

merchant the information

stated in the merchant’s

business license or a link

to such business license

eee Ce

“These newly issued

measures impose more

stringent requirements

and obligations on... the

marketplace plutform

providers. For example,

the marketplace platform

providers are obligated

to examine the legal!

status of each third-

party merchant selling

products or services on

the platform and display

on a prominent location

on the web page of such

merchant the information

stated in the merchant’s

business license or a link

to such business license

cae <0 ee?

—

$$ S$ —___ —_

Sil

~

15a

Appendix B

Alibaba Comparison of Core Factual Allegations

[ Core Factual | Core Factual

Allegations in Allegations in S.D.N.Y.‘

California‘

The July 16, 2014 Meeting

“J Just two months prior,

on July 16, 2014, senior

executives from Alibaba

| had met with senior

Chinese .. . officials, who

explained that Alibaba’s

e-commerce businesses

were in serious violation

of [PRC] laws and

regulations ....” (4 109;

see also T 28)

earlier on July 16,

“(J just two munths

2014, senior executives

from Alibaba had met

with senior SAIC and

AIC officials and were

told that Alibuba’s

e-commerce businesses

were in serious violation

ot PRC laws and

regulations ....” (7 102;

see also 415, 7-10, 63-75,

91-92, 94-97, 107, 123,

140, 142, 146, 148, 150,

152, 159, 166-68, 173, 177)

8. Allegations taken from the Consolidated Complaint filed in

Buelow v. Alibaba Group Holding Lrmated, No. CTV535692 (Cal. Super.

Ct. San Mateo Cty.) on March 25, 2016.

4. Allegations taken from the Consolidated Complaint filed in J

re Alibaba Group Holding Liniled Securities Litigation (also referred

to as Christine Asia Ca, Lid. « Alibaba Group Holding Limited), No,

}:14-md-02631-CM (S.D.N.Y.) on July 1, 2075.

16a

Appendix 3

Core Factual

Allegations in

California

Core Factual

Allegations in S.D.N.Y.

At the July 16, 2014

meeting, the SAIC

“notified Alibaba of

a variety of illegal

business practices” on its

e-commerce platforms,

including:

* “sale of counterfeit

goods,”

* “sale of... prohibited

items,”

* “takling) bribes from

merchants,”

* “faking transactions,”

* “false and misleading

advertising,” and

* “anticompetitive

behavior.”

(11 28, 109; see also

19 112, 114, 116, 118, 120,

122)

“At the July 16, 2014

meeting, the SAIC

admonished Alibaba for

... avariety of illegal

business practices” on its |

e-commerce platforms,

including:

* “sale of counterfeit

goods,”

« “sale of... forbidden

items,”

* “ltlaking bribes from

merchants,”

* “faking transactions,”

* “false and misleading

advertising,” and

* “anticompetitive

behavior.”

(1 8; see also 1% 70, 109,

111, 113, 115, 117, 119,

126, 128, 180, 1382-33, 168,

177, 193)

17a

Appendix &

Gore Factual

Core Factual

Allegations in Allegations in S.D.N.Y.

California

“Chinese regulators “SAIC had threatened

... had threatened Alibaba with thousands

Alibaba with thousands

of financial penalties

— each with a target of

1.0% of daily sales on its

ecommerce platforms

tee’ (4110; see also

1114)

of financial penalties

- each with a target of

1.0% of daily sales on its

e-commerce platforms.”

(7 102; see also 09 11, 72,

104, 109, 113, 119, 123,

126, 140, 142, 146, 148,

150, 152, 159, 168, 172,

208)

“Alibabw’s fimancial

performance was

reasonably likely to be

materially impacted in

order to comply with

applicable regulations

....” (1 118(d); see also

4 112).

“Alibaba’s financial

performance was

reasonably likely to be

materially impacted as a

consequence of yielding

to SAIC pressure... .”

(7 104; see also 11 4, 117,

128, 143)

me

18a

Appendix B

mis: Core Factual §| Core Factual

Allegations in Allegations in 8.D.N.Y.

= California

66 7

”

“(T]he SAIC had already

commenced the ‘Red

Shield Web Sword’

special program to clean

up rampant abuses on

e-commerce platforms,

including counterfeiting

and consumer fraud, with

Alibaba as one of its main

targets.” (1 110; see also

1 122(a))

“(The SAIC had

commenced the ‘Red

Shield and Web Sword’

special program to clean

up rampant abuses in

Alibaba’s e-commerce

platforms, including

counterfeiting and

consumer fraud, and that

the SAIC considered

Alibaba one of its main

targets.” (1 103; see alsu

"1 58-62, 107, 122, 140,

143, 145, 159, 163-66, 177)

Leiciciccans

”

“{Oln January 28, 2015,

before the opening

of trading, ... SAIC

... released a White

Paper aceusing Alibaba

of engaging in the very

illegal conduct disclosed

to Alibaba exccutives in

duly 2014.” (f 127; see also

1136)

“On January 27, 2015

in the evening, after

market close, ... SAIC

... released a white

paper detailing Alibaba’s

illegal business practices

... previously identified

fat] the July 16, 2014

... meeting. (1 15; see

also V% 191-93)

EE ee

19a

Appendix fh

a _ $$$ $$ $$

Ss

Core Factual Core Factual

Allegations in Allegations in §.D.N.Y.

California

“(O|n January 29, 2015, “(O)]n January 29, 2015,

Alibaba issued a press

release announcing mixed

financial results for 4Q14,

and addressing the SAIC

White Paper.” (1 130; see

also §] 40)

Various media and

analysts covered the

“White Paper.” (See

1 36-38, 41-42, 44-46, 48,

51, 127-28, 131-32, 134-37,

139, 142-44)

145-46)

“('T he price of Alibaba

AI)S’s dropped” after

the release of the “White

Paper.” (9% 39, 43, 47, 590,

52-53, 129, 133, 138, 141,

=a

.,, Alibaba issued a

press release announcing

... mixed financial

results and address|[ing')

.,, the SAIC White

Paper.” (f 209; see also

141 17, 210, 220-24, 227)

Various media and

analysts covered the

“White Paper.” (See

1 16, 18, 134-135, 175,

195-98, 202-04, 208, 211-

12, 214, 216-18, 234)

ey

a Se

“(T |he price of Alibaba

ADS dropped” after the

release of the “White

Paper.” (9 16, 19-20, 201,

207, 218, 215)

Appendi« B

cme a

Core Factual

Allegations in

California

y Core Factual

Allegations in S.D.N.Y.

Counterfeit Facilitati

“Alibaba in fact did

tolerate the sale of

_inauthentie goods on its

web platforms and either

permitted or turned a

blind eye to fictitious

transactions on its

e-commerce platforms.”

(1120)

“In truth Alibaba

tolerated the sale of non

genuine merchandise

on its websites and

permitted, indeed in

some cases created,

fictitious transactions

on its e-commerce

platforms.” (4 132; see

also 49 133, 227-29)

4

“Taobao had optimized

its search engines to

specifically search and

identify counterfeit

vendors... .” (11 120)

“Alibaba... facilitatel[s]

and encourage[s] the sale

of an enormous number

of Counterfeit Products

through [its] self-

described ‘ecosystem,’

Pes.

— -——

“Taobao had optimized

iis search engines to

specifically search and

identify vendors of

counterfeit products.”

({ 133; see alsvu 99 227-29)

| 252-74)

“Alibaba is intentionally

facilitating the offer

and sale of counterfeit

products on its

ecommerce platforms.”

(| 252; see ulso 1 120,

130-32, 134-36, 151-53,

185, 187, 227-29, 238-43,

ee

meen

Zila

APPENDIX C —

SUNRUN STATE

AND FEDERAL LITIGATION

Sunrun Comparison of

Alleged Omissions and

Misrepresentations'

Challenged Statement/ | Challenged Statement/

Omission in California? | Omission in N.D. Cal.’

“(T jhe Registration

Statement claimed to

‘provide homeowners

with simple, predictable

pricing for solar energy

that is insulated from

rising retail) electricity

prices.”” (4% 39)

Sunrun “provide[d]

homeowncrs With simple,

predictable pricing for

solar energy that is

insulated from rising

retail electricity prices.”

(41 86)

Sunrun “focused its

resources on markets

with... favorable policy

environments - s (942) :

EE

Sunrun “foensled its)

resources on markets

with . . . favorable policy

environments...” (# 81)

Sell

1. Allemphasis and alterations are removed unless otherwise

noted.

2. Allegations taken from the Consolidated Complaint filed

in In ve Sunrun Shareholder Litigation, No. CIV538215 (Cal.

Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty.) on Oct. 17, 2016.

3. Allegations taken from the Consolidated Amended

Complaint filed in Greenberg v. Sunren Ine., No. 3:16-ev-02480-

CRB (N.D. Cal.) on Oct. 21, 2016.

Appendix C

Challenged Statement/

Omission in California

“{I)n addition to changes

in general rates charged

to all residential

customers, utilities are

increasingly seeking

solar-specific charges

(which may be fixed

charges, capacity-based

charges, or other rate

charges) ...

[Alny of these changes

could materially reduce

the demand for our

products and could limit

the number of markets

in which our products

are competitive with

electricity provided by

the utilities.” (% 47)

“We rely on net metering

and related policies to

offer competitive pricing

to homeowners in all! our

current markets, and

changes to net metering

policies may significantly

reduce demand for

electricity from our solar

service offerings.” (“| 82)

234

Appendix C

Challenged Statement/ | Challenged Statement/

Omission in California | Omission in N.D. Cal.

“Utilities, their trade

associates, and fossil

fuel interests in the

country are currently

challenging net metering

policies, and seeking

either to eliminate it, cap

it, or impose charges on

homeowners that have

adopted net metering. . . .

Nevada... has!

metering caps.... If

the net metering caps in

_,. other jurisdictions

are reached without an

expansion of net metering

policies, homeowners

in the future wil! be

unable to recognize the

cost savings associated

with net metering they

currently enjoy.” (7 47)

“Utilities, their trade

associates, and fossil

fucl interests in the

country are currently

challenging net metering

policies, and seeking

either to climinate it, cap

it, or impose charges on

homeowners that have

adopted net metering. ...

Nevada... hafs]

the net metering caps in

_.. other jurisdictions

arc reached without an

expansion of net metering

policies, homeowners

in the future will be

unable to recognize the

cost savings associated

with net metering they

currently enjoy.” (4 82)

24a

Appendix C

we offer our solar service

offerings, only Nevada is

expected to reach its cap

fon net metering] within

the next 12 months unless

the cap is increased. We

currently expect Nevada

to reach its cap in the

next month unless it is

increased. However,

legislation has been

adopted that requires

that an uncapped

program approved

by the Nevada Public

Utilities Commission

be implemented in

Nevada no later than

December 31, 2015. If

changes to net metering

policies oecur without

grandfathering to

existing homeowners,

those existing

homeowners could be

negatively impacted

which could create a

default risk from those

homeowners. Our ability

Challenged Statement/ | ‘Challenged Statement/ |

Omission in California Omission in N.D. Cal.

“Of the states in which “Of the states in which

we offer our solar service |

offerings, only Nevada is

expected to reach its cap

lon net metering] within

the next 12 months unless

the cap is increased. We

currently expect Nevada

to reach its cap in the

next month unless it is

increased. However,

legislation has been

adopted that requires

that an uncapped

program approved

by the Nevada Public

Utilities Commission

be implemented in

Nevada no later than

December 31, 2015. If

changes to net metering

policies oceur without

grandfathering to

existing homeowncrs,

those existing

homeowners could be

negatively impacted

which could create a

default risk frorm those

homeowners. Our ability |

25a

Appendix C

Omission in California

Challenged Statement/ | Challenged Statement/

Omission in N.D. Cal.

to sell our solar services

may be adversely

impacted by the failure to

expand existing limits to

net metering.” (% 47)

to sell our solar services

may be adversely

impacted by the failure to

expand existing limits to

net metering.” (1 82)

Sunrun “currently

provided solar energy

services in Arizona,

California, Delaware,

Colorado, Connecticut,

Hawaii, Maryland,

Massachusetts, Nevada,

New Hampshire, New

Jersey, New York,

Oregon, Pennsylvania and

South Carolina, as well as

the District of Columbia.”

i a

Sunrun “eurrently

provide|d| solar energy

services in Arizona,

California, Delaware,

Colorado, Connecticut,

Hawaii, Maryland,

Massachusetts, Nevada,

New Ilampshire, New

Jersey, New York,

Oregon, Pennsylvania

and South Carolina, as

well as the District of

Columbia.” (4 84)

26a

Appendix C

Challenged Statement/

Omission in California

§ Challenged Statement/ |

Omission in N.D. Cal.

Sunrun’s “business was

concentrated in certain

markets, putting it at

risk of region specific

disruptions...

|AJs of March 31, 2015,

approximately 58% of

Sunrun’s customers were

in California and [] the

Company then expected

much of its near-term

future growth to occur in

California.” (9 45)

———— —<— _ $$ a — —_____

Sunrun’s “business was

concentrated in certain

markets,” but Sunrun

“identified only California

as a state in which it had

concentrated business.”

( 84)

27a

Appendia C

Sunrun Comparison of Core Factual Allegations‘

‘CoreFactual | CoreFactual |

Allegations in Allegations in N.D. Cal.‘

California‘

“Sunrun’s ... business

entails net metering...”

(9 32)

“Net metering is vital to

Sunrun’s business model

a oe

“CN jJearly half the states

that permit nct metering

have reconsidered their

net metering policies over

the past year.” (4% 33)

“On July 31, 2015, NV

Energy la Nevada

public utility]... filed

an application with the

Nevada Public Utilities

Commission (‘PUC’)

seeking to curtail [net

metering programs]}.”

(T 36)

“(O)n July 31, 2015, NV

“By the time of its

August 2015 [PO, net

metering subsidies were

under heavy attack in

Sunrun’s most important

_markets.” (4 49)

4

_~

nergy [a Nevada public

utility] submitted a

tariff proposal to reduce

inequitable net metering

subsidies.” (57)

J

4. All emphasis and alterations are removed unless otherwise

noted,

5. Allegations taken from the Consolidated Complaint filed

in /n re Sunrun Shareholder Litigation, No. C1V538215 (Cal.

Super. Ct. San Mateo Cty.) on Oct. 17, 2016.

6. Allegations taken from the Consolidated Amended

Complaint filed in Greenberg v. Sumrwn Inc., No, 3:16-cy-02480-

CRB (N.D. Cal.) on Oct, 21, 2016.

28a

Appendix C

Core Factual —

Allegations in

California

Core Factual

Allegations in N.D. Cal.

“If NV Energy got the

changes it sought... it

threatened to destroy

Sunrun’s ... business in

Nevada.” ({ 36).

“The proposal ... was

extremely unfavorable

for Sunrun” and “the

net metering subsidies

... were unquestionably

threatened.” (V9 57, 58)

“(Oln January 7, 2016, the

Company admitted that it

was ceasing all operations

in Nevada.” (% 53)

|

|

“On January 7, 2016,

Sunrun issued a press

release announcing that

it would cease conducting

business in Nevada

beeause the Nevada PUC

had cut net metering

subsidies.” (9 95)

a

“When Sunrun reported

its fiscal 2015 results

and fiscal 2016 guidance

on March 10, 2016, the

Company also admitted

that residential} solar

growth would decline in

2016 due to its having

halted operations in

Nevada.” (4 53)

—EEE —

“On March 10, 2016

... Sunrun issued a press

release ... reporting

disappointing fiscal 2015

results. Specifically,

the Company admitted

that it had failed to meet

revenue guidance because

of its exit from Nevada.”

(1 97)

29a

Appendix C

Core Factual Core Factual

Allegations in Allegations in N.D. Cal.

California

“| | Jnvestors learned “(T]he Company told

for the first time the investors for the first

full extent of customer time exactly how

concentration the concentrated the

Company had in Nevada | Company had become

...at ~20%ofSunrun’s | in Nevada.... where

direct deployments.” volume grew from almost

("| 54) zero to reach about 20%.”

(4 98)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.