Amicus Curiae Brief — Czyzewski v. Jevic Holding Corp., 136 S. Ct. 2541 (2016) (No. 15-649)

Supreme Court brief2016

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

(‘ASIMIR CZYEWSKI, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

JKVIC HOLDING CORP., et al.,

Respondents.

oo

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

BitIEKF FOR AMICI CURIAE

LAW PROFESSORS IN SUPPORT

OF RESPONDENTS

DAVID R. KUNEY

Counsel of Record

WHITEFORD, TAYLOR &

PRESTON, LLP

1800 M. Street. N.W.

Suite 450 North

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 659-6807

dkuney@wtplaw.com

October 17, 2016

Wit San Fees PRINTING CO Ine (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON. D C 20002

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.........................0000084

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ..................0.0..

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ........0000000...... eee.

I.

Il.

Il.

Petitioners have overstated the scope

and historical role of the absolute priority

PI cickieecsaisistoasecsiteictiatahdestarapnsistieithadeninteeiitiguedthina

A. The absolute priority rule was limited

by Congress in 1978 to apply only to a

plan of reorganization .........................

The absolute priority rule in 11 U.S.C.

§ 1129%b) does not pertain to this case

and does not govern settlements..............

A. Both the U.S. Trustee and the

Solicitor General have acknowledged

that this case does not involve

application of the absolute priority

rule of section 1129(b), as it pertains

only to plans of reorganization, not

ERS SS TI ASE

B. The Code permits distributions and

dispositions outside of the “statutory

priority scheme” of section 507 ...........

Petitioners seek an unwarranted

expansion of the absolute priority rule

that could harm both other commercial

and individual bankruptcy cases .............

i cieetncscrpnodanisnnsemsnaiacinadjeininnccinenss

16

16

19

23

29

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page(s)

Bank of Am. v. Caulketi,

ee IE ei ccgictreinscciecrbeisnisasscceievenss 1

Bank of Am. Nat'l Trust & Sav. Ass’n. v.

203 N. LaSalle St. Pt’ship.,

PES I Cr encvcccencssossccssercsessseeses passim

Case v. Los Angeles Lumber Products Co,

Se A CP I Phcsccccccscccscosccsansssesceseses passim

In re Extended Stay Inc.,

435 B.R. 139 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 2010) ............ 23

In re General Growth Properties, Inc.,

409 B.R. 43 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 2009)............... 23

In re Genesis Health Ventures, Inc,,

266 B.R. 591 (Bankr. D. Del. 2001)................ 18

In re Innkeepers USA Trust,

448 B.R. 131 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 2011)............. 23

In re Iridium Operating LLC,

478 F.3d 452 (2d Cir. 2007)................ 20, 21, 22

In re Jevic Holding Corp.,

787 F.3d 173 (3rd Cir. 2015)..................... 20, 23

In re Jevic Holding Corp,

2014 WL 268613 (D.Del. Jan. 24, 2014) .. 16, 19

In re Martin,

01 F.3d 360 (3d Cir. 1906) .............................. 22

In re MSR Resort Golf Course LLC,

471 B.R. 783 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 2012) ............ 23

In re O’Neal,

490 B.R. 837 (Bankr. W.D. Ark., 2013).......... 28

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

In re Red Mountain Mach. Co..,

448 B.R. 1 (Bankr. D. Ariz. 2011), affd,

471 B.R. 242 (D. Ariz. 2012)...................

Northern Pacific Railway Co. v. Boyd,

228 U.S. 482 (1913)...............cccceeeeeeeeeeeees

Northwest Bank Worthington v. Ahlers,

485 U.S. 197 (1988)................ccccceeeeeeeeeees

Protective Committee for Independent

Stockholders of TMT Trailer Ferry, Inc.

v. Anderson,

390 U.S. 414 (1968)............ cc cccceccceeeee eee ees

Sec. & Exch. Comm'n v. Am. Trailer

Rentals Co.,

379 U.S. 594 (19G6B)...............::ccccesceeeeeeneee

U.S. Bancorp Mortgage Co. v.

Bonner Mall Pt’ship,

I ncinnsscsontesaensesnesevensses

Zachary v. California Bank & Trust,

811 F.3d 1191 (9th Cir. 2016).................

CONSTITUTION, STATUTES, AND RULES

Bankruptcy Code:

Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, Pub. L.

95-598, 92 Stat. 2549, 11 U.S.C. § 101

Page(s)

OF I, devrnsebsnsitunnsntnviocenseccviasssvosnsenenessenpas passim

BE CEB, F BUD cecccscccccccccccescsscveeseones

Re ty TE becointavcsccsceccnschisecosvoncctanl

11 U.S.C. § 701 ef 8€q......cccccccceseeseeeeee

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Be rs eB Oe BD oe necissscscecnesecteng passim

Be Oe Balt vettscncisatinessciecidisninves 16, 22

ee ee BT i cicieichidnnsicicssecossusoens 8,9

11 U.S.C. § 1129 bX 2 BYii) ................ passim

Bankruptcy Act:

Act of July 1, 1898, ch. 541, 30 Stat. 544

SSR TET Fe A cea 10

Act of July 7, 1952, ch. 578, § 366, 66

Stat. 429, 433 (1952) (repealed 1979) ....8, 14

Act of June 7, 1934, ch. 424, 48 Stat.

912-22, 11 U.S.C. § 207 (1934)

ER al EE a 10

I Shs siciedtszenc cerita liddesaictnsmridonei 10, 11, 13

BESET Re aha N 10

Chandler Act of June 22, 1938, Pub. L.

No. 75-696, ch. 575, 52 Stat. 840

a casuais 8,13

Ch. X, 52 Stat. 883, § 101 et segq.,

11 U.S.C. § 501 et seg.................. 8, 13, 14, 22

Ch. XI, 52 Stat. 912 § 301 et segq.,

11 U.S.C. § 701 et seg. ................ 8, 13, 14, 22

§ 366(2), 11 U.S.C. § 766(2)...................... 14

§ 366(3), 11 U.S.C. § 766(3).......0. 14

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

OTHER AUTHORITIES Page(s)

American Bankruptcy Institute Commis-

sion to Study the Reform of Chapter 11,

Final Report and Recommendations

Ayer, John D., Rethinking Absolute Priority

After Ahlers, 87 Mich. L. Rev. 963

Ei Tucsnahiudissanndbeuniaatetasamdinddaibidennass 11, 14, 15

Baird, Douglas G., Elements of Bankruptcy

SIE SII ici dch cddrkcntbsestinancneioncempiainientenineseseces 8

Balbus, Andrew G., Continued Disagree-

ments Over the Application of the

Absolute Priority Rule to Individuals in

Chapter 11: Friedman and Maharaj, 21

NORTON BANKR. L. & PRAC. 755 (2012) .......... 28

Carlson, David Gray & Jack F. Williams,

The Truth About the New Value

Exception to Bankruptcy’s Absolute

Priority Rule, 21 CARDOZO L. REV. 1303

Kirkland & Ellis, LLP, Recent Develop-

ments in Bankruptcy Law Leave Many

Real Estate Finance Issues Unresolved

(March 2012), https:/Awww.kirkland.com/

siteFilea/Publications/Alert_031212.pdf........ 23

Klee, Kenneth N., One Size Fits Some:

Single Asset Real Estate Cases, 22

+. UT A). 24

Klee, Kenneth N. and Whitman L. Holt,

Bankruptcy and the Supreme Court:

1801-2014 (West, 2015) ...............::000008 9, 10, 14

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Kuney, David R., Chapter 11 Cases

Involving Real Estate Business, in

COLLIER GUIDE TO CHAPTER 11, KEY

TOPICS AND SELECTED INDUSTRIES

(Alan Resnick and Henry J. Sommer,

Genie er See er: _, 23

Lewis, Paul B., 203 N. Lasalle Five Years

Later: Answers to the Open Questions, 38

J. MARSHALL L. REV. 61 (2004)................. 24, 26

LoPucki, Lynn M. & William C. Whitford,

Preemptive Cram Down, 65 AM. BANKR.

4 | __. PRRIRRSSSERONS oe 25

Lubben, Stephen J., The Overstated

Absolute Priority Rule, 21 FORDHAM J.

Corp. & FIN. L. 581 (2016). ...........0cc0000. passim

Tabb, Charles Jordan, The History of the

Bankruptcy Laws in the United States,

3 AM. BANKR. INST. L. REV. 5 (1995)..... 8, 10, 14

H.R. Rep. No. 95-595 (1977)..........ccccccccccssseseeee, 15

S. Rep. No. 1995, 82d Cong., 2d Sess.

_____ERREERTIRE SER 5 Sat Alt OAT of SEES Sc tear 14

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE'

The amici curiae, whose names are set forth below

are law professors at various universities, where they

teach courses on bankruptcy law, conduct research,

and are frequent speakers and lecturers at seminars

and conferences on bankruptcy law. Professor

Carlson was recently cited by this Court in Bank of

America v. Caulkett, 135 S.Ct. 1995 (2015). They

write based solely on their concern about the effect

that this Court’s opinion may have more broadly on

bankruptcy jurisprudence and other cases.

Professor David Gray Carlson

Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law

New York, New York

Professor Jack F. Williams

Georgia State University

Atlanta, Georgia

David R. Kuney

Adjunct Professor

Georgetown University Law Center

Washington, D.C.

Petitioners ask this Court to rule that the absolute

priority rule, as now codified in 11 U.S.C. § 1129(b), is

a mandatory requirement for approval of the bank-

ruptcy settlement and dismissal which occurred

below. The Third Circuit correctly ruled that it is an

' Pursuant to this Court’s Rule 37.Xa), all parties submitted

letters to the Clerk granting blanket consent to amicus curiae

briefs. Pursuant to Rule 37.6, amici affirm that no counsel for a

party authored this brief in whole or in part, and that no person

other than amici or their counsel contributed any money to fund

its preparation or submission.

2

important consideration only, but is not mandated by

statute. We agree.

The amici, as law professors, submit this brief to

address the overbroad and misstated notion of the

role of the absolute priority rule in bankruptcy

jurisprudence, which is deeply misstated as framed

by Petitioners. In so doing, they have presented a

portrayal of the absolute priority rule as an over-

arching principle of chapter 11 that controls all

dispositions. It does not. Instead, it has historically

developed as a limited doctrine, as recently summa-

rized: “[T]here is no absolute priority rule of the kind

described in the literature under current law. It is not

clear that there ever has been such a rule. And even

if there were, adopting such a rule would be incon-

sistent with chapter 11, or any other sensible system

of reorganization.”

Indeed, the U.S. Trustee has argued that the

statutory absolute priority rule of section 1129(b) is

not the proper issue here, and that in the decisions

below there was a “conflation” of section 507 with

section 112%b).* This “conflation” in truth worked an

important distortion in the arguments of Petitioners,

as these two sections are profoundly different. Thus,

the United States Trustee’s position supports our

view here that this is not a proper case to expand

the role of absolute priority, either in the context

? Stephen J. Lubben, The Overstated Absolute Priority Rule,

21 FORDHAM J. Corp. & FIN. L. 581 (2016).

* See infra for discussion on the improper “conflation” of

absolute priority with the significantly different issue of the

application of § 507 in this case.

3

presented here, nor as an overarching principle

applicable in other business and individual cases.

We also write out of a concern that the arguments

advanced here, which seek an expansive view of

absolute priority, will have harmful consequences in

other areas of bankruptcy practice. The absolute

priority rule, and its “new value” corollary, controls

the outcome in many business cases, such as single

asset real estate cases, and is currently the subject of

divided judicial decisions in individual chapter 11

cases.‘ This case, however, is not the appropriate

vehicle for addressing broader concerns about the

scope of the absolute priority rule. The development

of the doctrine of absolute priority in those contexts

should await a more proper vehicle for addressing this

important issue.

Accordingly, the amici submit this brief in support

of affirmance of the Third Circuit decision. Chapter

11 settlements should be permitted without a manda-

tory requirement that such settlements comply with

the absolute priority rule.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The central issue in this case is whether the

distribution of settlement proceeds in bankruptcy

cases must always comply with the Code’s priority

* See e.g., Zachary v. California Bank & Trust, 811 F.3d 1191,

1196 (9th Cir. 2016) noting, “A significant split of authorities has

developed nationally among the bankruptcy courts” regarding

application of the absolute priority rule to individual chapter 11

debtors.

4

scheme.® History and precedent make clear the

answer is no.

First, Petitioners seek to engraft the absolute prior-

ity rule onto settlements and dismissals by construct-

ing an argument that relies almost entirely on an

overstated and historically inaccurate view of the

role of absolute priority. Thus, they write, “the single

most important principle of Chapter 11 is the rule

of absolute priority. . .” (Cert. pet. 3.) Absolute

priority is, at some points, framed as the dispositive

issue: “[S]trict adherence to absolute priority when

distributing settlement proceeds is critical. . .” (Cert.

pet. 25.)

The absolute priority rule, however, is not the most

important principle of Chapter 11, nor does it have

the meaning ascribed to it by Petitioners. The devel-

opment of the doctrine of absolute priority has been

far more restrained and limited than urged by

Petitioners, and has consistently been limited by

“equitable” and “pragmatic” considerations. It was

not, as urged here, an unbending and inflexible

doctrine.

Second, the plain meaning of the Code demon-

strates that absolute priority only applies in the

context of a plan of reorganization. Both the United

States Trustee, as amicus, and the Solicitor General,

acknowledged that the absolute priority issues had

been “conflated” (in the litigation below) with the

* The question presented is, “Whether a bankruptcy court may

authorize the distribution of settlement proceeds in a manner

that violates the statutory priority scheme.” (Cert. pet. (i)).

While the Petitioners address other priority sections, its view of

the absolute priority rule dominates much of its argument.

5

priority scheme in section 507.6 This argument

acknowledges that the absolute priority under section

1129%b) only applies to a plan of reorganization, and

that therefore this case does not raise an issue as to

the meaning of the absolute priority rule.

Third, nor is section 507 necessarily implicated

here, which is the foundation for the Petitioner's

“statutory scheme” argument (as distinct from “abso-

lute priority”). However, as a leading scholar writes,

the Code contemplates numerous pre-plan disposi-

tions, such as sales and settlements, none of which

are expressly or impliedly tied to section 507.’

Fourth, a needless expansion of the absolute

priority rule would adversely affect both business

cases and individual cases by hampering the ability of

debtors to reorganize. The full import of the absolute

priority rule has been the subject of substantial

controversy, both in business cases and individual

chapter 11 cases. This case should not be a stalking

horse to address the full scope of absolute priority. Its

full meaning should await a case which squarely

addresses the doctrine.

Accordingly, we urge the Court to affirm that the

legal standard for testing settlements and dismissals

in Chapter 11 does not embrace the absolute priority

rule.

* The United States Trustee argued that, “it appears that

the bankruptcy court conflated section 507 with the absolute

priority rule codified in section 112% bX2XBXii).” Resp. Sup. Br,,

App. 8a.

’ Lubben, supra note 2.

6

ARGUMENT

I. Petitioners have overstated the scope and

historical role of the absolute priority

rule.

A. The absolute priority rule was limited

by Congress in 1978 to apply only to a

plan of reorganization.

Petitioners assert that this Court need not reach

the underlying issue of whether a structured dismis-

sal can ever be permitted.’ Instead, they initially

focused this appeal on the narrow issue of whether,

when permitted, a bankruptcy court must test the

settlement by a mandatory application of the absolute

priority rule, which they argue is found in 11 U.S.C.

§ 1129(b\X2BXii) of the Code (“112%b)”).* Their

argument, in short, is that the protections afforded

creditors in a formal plan of reorganization somehow

must apply in a vastly different disposition, namely a

settlement coupled with dismissal.

* Neither party asks this Court to address the threshold

question of whether structured dismissals are, or are not permit-

ted by the Code. (“It is not necessary to reach that broader

question. ” Cert pet. 20). Accordingly, Petitioners have con-

ceded that structured dismissals are permitted in some cases.

* In their principal brief, Petitioners shifted the weight of their

argument from “absolute priority” to the priority scheme found

in section 507. (See discussion below.) Neither pertain here. Yet,

this important shift also underscores that the issue before this

Court does not require resolution of the full meaning of the

absolute priority rule.

7

The foundation of Petitioners’ argument may be

seen in two key statements. They write, “the single

most important principle of Chapter 11 is the rule of

absolute priority. . .” (Cert. pet. 3.) Petitioners also

write, “Strict adherence to absolute priority when

distributing settlement proceeds is critical to effectu-

ate and protect the choices Congress made in

affording some claims priority over others.” (Cert. pet.

25.) A substantial portion of its certiorari petition is

devoted to this argument. See cert. pet. 23 et seq.

Thus, Petitioners seek to unmoor absolute priority

from section 112%b) and to make it a universal

concept governing all dispositions of estate property.

These foundational assertions are incorrect. They

vastly overstate the role of absolute priority in

bankruptcy jurisprudence, and therefore wrongly

attempt to engraft a limited statutory concept onto a

procedural device that does not reflect nor require

applying the absolute priority rule. “The academic

conception of the absolute priority rule in corporate

reorganization is based on a world that does not exist.

. . . Reorganization in reality is fundamentally

inconsistent with heartfelt fondness for a strict

absolute priority rule.” Lubben, supra, at 585.

The error in Petitioners’ position may be seen in the

long history of the absolute priority rule, which is a

steady march against the overly rigid and broad

application of the rule. A brief summary is as follows:

the phrase “absolute priority” was never used in

any version of the Bankruptcy Act or the Code:

instead, the concept of “fair and equitable” was a

judge made principle that had its origins in the

railroad receivership cases of the early twentieth

8

century, '° and was designed to prevent collusion

between shareholders and bondholders. The “fair and

equitable” concept initially prevented any agreement

which did not pay senior creditors before junior

creditors, even where a large majority of the class of

creditors had otherwise voted for a plan. The doctrine

developed over two distinct paths (later Chapter X

and X]J);'' initially overstrict and unbending, absolute

priority was historically an impediment to reorgan-

ization and was expressly deleted in 1952 from former

Chapter XI. After the complete overhaul of the

Bankruptcy Code in 1978 the absolute priority rule

was consciously limited by Congress to apply only in

certain contexts related to a formal plan of reorgan-

ization, but one which permitted a class of creditors

to outvote a dissident provided it received at least

what it would have received in a Chapter 7 liquida-

tion. See Bank of Am. Nat'l Trust & Sav. Ass’n. v. 203

N. LaSalle St. Pt’ship., 526 U.S. 434, 448 (1999); see

also Douglas G. Baird, Elements of Bankruptcy, 240-

43 (6th ed. 2014\describing plan confirmation

process). Thus, the “best interest” test of 11 U.S.C.

§ 1129%aX7) is the statutory protection for a

'° “Federal courts entered the reorganization business with

the advent of the equity receivership. Use of this device blos-

somed in the late nineteenth century as a means to keep the

railroads running. . . Court supervised receiverships remained

the predominant means of corporate reorganization for about a

half century until federal reorganizations laws were enacted

during the Great Depression.” Charles Jordan Tabb, The History

of the Bankruptcy Laws in the United States, 3 AM. BANKR. INST.

L. REV. 5 (1995) (“History”).

'' Chapter X of the prior [Chandler Act] and Chapter XI of the

prior Act, each of which were later merged into modern Chapter

XI under the Code. See Tabb, History, id.

9

dissenting creditor who was outvoted, and not the

absolute priority rule. '”

The absolute priority rule had its “genesis in the

judicial construction of the undefined phrase “fair and

equitable,” and it is commonly traced to the equity

receivership case of Northern Pacific Railway Co. v.

Boyd, 228 U.S. 482 (1913).” The fair and equitable

doctrine as initially framed in Boyd demonstrated the

persistent problem with the doctrine, and why today

it is not the overarching principle suggested by

Petitioners. Its literal application would have pre-

cluded any agreed upon restructuring, despite over-

whelming support by most creditors, where even a

single creditor objected. “If purposely or uninten-

tionally a single creditor was not paid, or provided for

in the reorganization, he could assert his superior

rights against the subordinate interests of the old

stockholders in the property transferred to the new

company.” Boyd, 228 U.S. at 502. Justice Lurton

dissented, noting that it was unfair for a “single credi-

tor who comes forward many years after a judicial

sale” and objects based on priority of distribution. Id

at 511-512. This narrow view of “fair and equitable”

(not yet so named) was soundly criticized by leading

members of the bar as impeding reorganizations. '°

'? Section 112% aX7) provides that with respect to an impaired

class, it must either have accepted the plan or “each holder of a

claim” of such class “will receive or retain under the plan.

not less than the amount that such holder would so receive or

retain if the debtor were liquidated under chapter 7 of this title

on such date. .”

'S This strict view was attacked by a leading New York reor-

ganization lawyer, Paul Cravath, who stated that it materially

reduced the opportunities for stockholders to participate in a

reorganization. Kenneth N. Klee and Whitman L. Holt,

10

The phrase “fair and equitable” first appears in a

bankruptcy statute in § 77B of the prior Bankruptcy

Act, 48 Stat. 912, 11 U.S.C. § 207 The stricter view

of “fair and equitable” in prior section 77B(f) required

both class approval of a plan and compliance with the

fair and equitable standard. Jd. at 8. This meant that

a plan could not be approved even if accepted by the

required votes of the class of creditors; a single credi-

tor had veto power over a plan of reorganization. It

was this stultifying view that was to lead to its

shrinkage and challenge, continuing through today.

In the early interpretation of “fair and equitable”

Justice Douglas used the phrase “absolute priority”

when discussing “fair and equitable,” thus creating

some needless confusion between the two. The first

major “fair and equitable” case in which the Court

interpreted Bankruptcy Act § 77B, was Case v. Los

Bankruptcy and the Supreme Court: 1801-2014, p. 294-295

(West, 2015). Cravath noted that in most large reorganizaticns

it was still the preference of bondholders’ committee’s to afford

stockholders participation in order to avoid litigation and delay

and “partly to secure new capital.” Id. at 295.

'* “The Bankruptcy Act of 1898 marked the beginning of the

era of permanent federal bankruptcy legislation. The 1898 Act

remained in effect for eighty years, until being replaced by the

Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978 (the “Code”). History, supra at

23.

Section 77B sub. f of the Bankruptcy Act provided in part,

“After hearing such objections as may be made to the plan, the

judge shall confirm the plan if satisfied that (1) it is fair and

equitable and does not discriminate unfairly in favor of any class

of creditors or stockholders, and is feasible; (2) it complies with

the provisions of subdivision (b) of this section; (3) it has been

accepted as required by the provisions of subdivision (e), clause

(1) of this section .. .” Bankruptcy Act, § 77B, Act of June 7, 1934,

ch. 424, § 77B, 48 Stat. 912-22, 11 U.S.C. § 207 (1934).

11

Angeles Lumber Products Co, 308 U.S. 106 (1939).

Section 77B “nowhere states that claims must be paid

by a principle of absolute priority.”'* However, Justice

Douglas stated that the phrase “fair and equitable”

were words of art that had acquired a meaning in the

railroad receivership cases. Thus, he held that a plan

was not fair and equitable, even though approved

by the required class votes under section 77B if it

violated the notion that “stockholders’ interest in the

property is subordinate to the rights of creditors. . .”

Id. at 116.'* Justice Douglas’ statement that fair and

equitable required absolute priority in payment based

on prior decisions has since been questioned by some

leading scholars."’

Even in Case, however, this Court did not require

absolute compliance with absolute priority, and held

that the doctrine must give way to practical con-

siderations. The decision in Case acknowledged the

power of a small group of dissenting creditors to

prevent an otherwise agreed upon restructuring."* A

© John D. Ayer, Rethinking Absolute Priority After Ahlers, 87

Mich. L. Rev. 963, 974 (1989).

'6 “Any arrangement of the parties by which the subordinate

rights and interests of stockholders are attempted to be secured

at the expense of the prior rights of either class of creditors

comes within judicial denunciation.”

'’ Professor Ayer writes that the notion that “fair and

equitable” had come to reflect the absolute priority rule was

“strictly speaking. . . poppycock, and Justice Douglas knew it.

None of the Supreme Court’s absolute priority cases used that

particular phrase in that particular way.” Ayer, supra at 975.

'® The objecting creditors held $18,500 face amount of bonds

in a class which had claims totaling $3,807,071. 80% of the

bondholders and 90% of the stockholders approved the pian. Id.

at 110-112.

12

minority group of dissenting creditors could veto a

plan that was otherwise essential based on strict

compliance with absolute priority. Thus, Justice

Douglas acknowledged that there were “circum-

stances under which stockholders may participate in

a plan of reorganization of an insolvent debtor” even

where senior creditors were not paid in full (or any-

thing). Id. at 121.

In application of this rule of full or absolute

priority this Court recognized certain

practical considerations and made it clear

that such rule did not ‘require the

impossible, and make it necessary to pay an

unsecured creditor in cash . . . And it also

recognized the necessity at times of permit-

ting the inclusion of stockholders on payment

of contributions. . In such or similar cases

the chancellor may exercise an informed

discretion concerning the practical adjust-

ment of the several rights. Jd. at 117

(emphasis added).

This of course was the genesis of the “new value”

corollary,'* but more importantly, the recognition that

'® See Bank of Am. Nat'l Trust & Sav. Ass'n. v. 203 N. LaSalle

St. Pt’ship., 526 U.S. 434, 449 (1999):

The upshot is that this history does nothing to

disparage the possibility apparent in the statutory

text, that the absolute priority rule now on the books

as subsection (bX2XBXii) may carry a new value

corollary. Although there is no literal reference to

“new value” in the phrase “on account of such junior

claim,” the phrase could arguably carry such an

implication in modifying the prohibition against

receipt by junior claimants of any interest under a

13

still stands today: a Chapter 11 plan can be confirmed

which does not comply with the notion that senior

creditors must always be paid in full before junior

creditors. It was an essential part of the development

away from single creditor or minority creditor veto

power. “Practical considerations,” “discretion” and

“practical adjustments” may be required, and are

permitted.

Thus, long before this Court found a textual basis

in the 1978 Code for the “new value corollary,” Justice

Douglas had held that absolute priority is not always

mandated, and must, at times, give way to practical

necessity. His ruling, in this sense, is deeply con-

sistent with the Bankruptcy Court’s ruling that

absolute priority is a “consideration” but not a barrier

to effective relief in all cases.

Ultimately, the fair and equitable standard was

deleted from a major portion of the bankruptcy laws.

Section 77B of the Bankruptcy Act was amended in

1938 by Chapter X, 52 Stat. 883, 11 U.S.C. § 501 et

seq. (The Chandler Act).” Two distinct kinds of

business reorganizations now emerged, with two

profoundly different views of absolute priority. One

was Chapter X which governed corporate reorganiza-

tions, and the other Chapter XI which governed

plan while a senior class of unconsenting creditors

goes leas than fully paid.

” “The fury of bankruptcy legislation in the 1930's came to a

head in 1938 with the passage of the comprehensive Chandler

Act.” History, supra at 29. “The Chandler Act, c.10, 52 Stat. 840,

893, § 101 et seq. 11 U.S.C.A. § 501 et seg. approved June 22,

1938 now supplants § 77B.” Boyd, supra at 119, n 14.

14

arrangements.*' Chapter XI deleted the fair and

equitable test altogether “because its presence

impaired or made valueless the relief provided by

those Chapters.” Klee at 304, n. 2368, citing S. Rep.

No. 1995, 82d Cong., 2d Sess. 11 (1952).””

Absolute priority was not the most important

doctrine of bankruptcy law under prior Chapter XI.

See generally Ayer, supra at 976-77. “This absolute

priority rule had never been a principle of composition

law. Quite the contrary, the point was that a creditor

might be bound to anything he agreed to in a compo-

sition. This was part and parcel of the theory of

composition: if you had to pay the full going concern

value of the enterprise to your creditors, even though

*! History, supra at 30. For a brief discussion of “arrangement”

under former Chapter XI see Sec. & Exch. Comm'n v. Am. Trailer

Rentals Co., 379 U.S. 594, 605—06 (1965), stating as follows:

Chapter X] is a statutory variation of the common-law

composition of creditors and, unlike the broader scope

of Chapter X, is limited to an adjustment of unsecured

debts. .

(Chapter XI was] a quick and economical means of

facilitating simple compositions among general

creditors who have been deemed by Congress to need

only the minimal disinterested protection provided by

that Chapter.

* “Before the 1952 Amendment to Chapter XI, Bankruptcy

Act of 1938 § 366(3), 11 U.S.C. § 766(3) (1940) provided that the

bankruptcy court could confirm the Chapter XI plan of arrange-

ment only if, inter alia, it is “fair and equitable.” Pub. L. No. 75-

696, ch. 575 (§ 366(3) 52 Stat. 840, 912 (1938). The 1952

amendment, however, deleted the fair and equitable test and

moved the feasibility test into paragraph (2) of Bankruptcy Act

§ 366.” Klee, supra note 13, at 304, n. 2386.

15

they might agree to accept less, composition was

never possible.” Id. at 978.

In 1978 Congress adopted the current Code, merg-

ing Chapter X and Chapter XI into the modern Chap-

ter 11. The Report of the Bankruptcy Commission,

acting as the “fountainhead of learning,” “proposed to

emasculate substantially the absolute priority rule.””

While Congress did not accept this proposal, neither

did it “codify any authoritative pre-Code version of

the absolute priority rule.” Bank of Am. Nat Trust

& Sav. Ass’n v. 203 N. LaSalle St. Pt’ship., 526 U.S.

at 448 (1999). The 1978 Code adopted “a modified

absolute priority rule.” Ayer, supra at 978. The

House Report states that “[t]he elements of the [fair

and equitable] test are new(,] departing from both the

absolute priority rule and the best interests of the

creditors found under the Bankruptcy Act.” H.R. Rep.

No. 95-595 (1977).

This history is at best equivocal and uneven; it

offers no basis to conclude that Congress meant to

enlarge either the “fair and equitable” doctrine or the

statutory absolute priority rule. Absolute priority is

not an overarching application that must be applied

in every form of disposition, nor without concern for

pragmatic concerns. It does not support the founda-

tional argument advanced here that the absolute

priority rule is the “most important principle” of

Chapter 11. Absolute priority was expressly limited to

plan confirmation, and nothing else. The absolute

priority rule should not be applied to this case, nor to

any context outside of a plan of reorganization.

* Ayer, supra at 978.

16

Il. The absolute priority rule in 11 U.S.C.

§ 1129(b) does not pertain to this case and

does not govern settlements.

A. Both the U.S. Trustee and the Solicitor

General have acknowledged that this

case does not involve application of the

absolute priority rule of section

1129(b).

The plain meaning of the Code is straightforward:

absolute priority only applies to a plan of reorganiza-

tion, and nothing more. This of course was one of the

core rulings by the Bankruptcy Court and District

Court below and is unassailable. In re Jevic Holding

Corp, Pet. App. 58a. (“[T]he settlement does not follow

the absolute priority rule. However, this is not a bar

to the approval of the settlement as it is not a

reorganization plan.” (Pet. Cert. Br. 42a. (Emphasis

added.)

That section 1129(b) and the statutory absolute

priority rule is not the controlling standard for this

case is consistent with arguments made below by the

U.S. Trustee and later the Solicitor General before

this Court. Thus, in its amicus brief to the Third

Circuit, the U.S. Trustee wrote: “it appears that the

bankruptcy court conflated section 507 with the

absolute priority rule codified in section 1129(bX2\BXii).

Under the absolute priority rule, general unsecured

creditors may not receive any distributions under a

plan unless objecting priority creditors have been

paid in full.” Resp. Sup. Br. App. 8a. (Emphasis

added. )

At oral argument, the U.S. Trustee made the same

argument, stating that “there was an undue focus

or—or a conflation between Section 1129, which sets

17

out a somewhat different Absolute Priority Rule as-

as it applies to plans.” (Resp. Supp. Br., App. 30a-

31a)emphasis added).

The Solicitor General likewise made the same

acknowledgment, and described this conflation as

follows:

In discussing the governing legal principles,

the court below referred repeatedly to the

“absolute priority rule.” See Pet. App. 16a-

17a. The term “absolute priority” is most

accurately used to refer to the requirements

in 11 U.S.C. § 112%b) that junior classes

of creditors may not be paid through a plan

of reorganization unless senior classes of

creditors either are paid in full or consent to

an impairment of their rights.

Brief for the United States as amicus, in support of

cert., p. 14, n.2.

And lastly, in its principal amicus brief, the United

States again acknowledged this underlying confusion

in terminology, noting that the “absolute priority

rule’ is most accurately used to refer to the

requirement in 11 U.S.C. § 1129(b)” and that for some

reason this section was used to “encompass the

additional rule” found in § 507. Brief for United

States, at 22.

The absolute priority rule however, is more than

“somewhat different” than section 507, and it is not

“encompassed” within section 507 in any fashion. Nor

was it merely the court below that conflated the

statutory terminology. This oft repeated conflation

runs throughout the Petitioners’ certiorari petition.

In their petition, Petitioners expressly argued that

18

the Second and Third Circuit’s rule (approving settle-

ments) “is also discordant with this Court’s case law

addressing absolute priority, a central structural

feature of the Bankruptcy Code.” Pet. 23. This argu-

ment concerning the dispositive role of absolute

priority forms a significant portion of the petition for

certiorari. See Pet. 25 et. seq.

This “conflation” is not inconsequential. It puts in

focus that the true issue is not the absolute priority

rule. In view of the briefing subsequent to the petition

for certiorari, it is now unlikely that any party will

contend that the statutory absolute priority rule, with

its unique history (see above) is the actual issue in

this case. At most, this is a case about the applicabii-

ity, if any, of section 507 to settlements.

A second layer of conflation throughout this case

occurs when Petitioners argue that “fair and equita-

ble” somehow always imports “absolute priority.” It

does not. As a matter of statutory interpretation, the

phrase “fair and equitable’ does not mean the same

as the “absolute priority rule.”* This Court said as

** It may be accurate that absolute priority was “incorporated”

into a statutory standard for Chapter 11 plan confirmation, but

the broader suggestion that “absolute priority” is always baked

into the judicial “fair and equitable” standard, and that any

reference, in any context to “fair and equitable” (settlement or

other) must therefore mean compliance with absolute priority is

required is simply incorrect. See In re Genesis Health Ventures,

Inc,, 266 B.R. 691, 612 (Bankr. D. Del. 2001) explaining that

the condition that “a plan be fair and equitable with respect

to a class includes the following requirements.” 11 U.S.C.

§ 112&%bX2) (emphasis added). The statute offers illustrative

ways to satisfy the fair and equitable standard for classes

of secured and unsecured creditors, as well as for a class

of interests.”

19

much: “The elements of the [fair and equitable) test

are new/|,] departing from both the absolute priority

rule and the best interests of creditors tests found

under the Bankruptcy Act”). Bank of Am. Nat'l Trust

& Sav. Ass’n v. 203 N. LaSalle St. P’ship, 526 U.S. at

449.

The U.S. Trustee and the Solicitor General were

correct that section 1129(b) is not the governing

section in this matter, and thus we urge this Court

not to frame its decision in terms of the statutory

absolute priority rule. That section 507 does not

control here is addressed below.

B. The Code permits distributions and

dispositions outside of the “statutory

priority scheme” of section 507.

Where we part ways with the U.S. Trustee and the

Solicitor General is the conclusion that since section

112%b) is not controlling in this case, that section

507 must be the governing section, which they argue

prohibits distributions that do not strictly comply.

This of course is the foundation of the argument by

Petitioners that what was violated here was, if not the

absolute priority rule, then at least the “statutory

priority scheme.” Section 507, however, is not vio-

lated by the approval of the settlement in this case.

As the Third Circuit below held, there is no indica-

tion that Congress legislated with settlements in

mind, nor that settlements must comply with section

507. Jevic, Pet. App. 16a, n. 7. (“If § 103(a) meant that

all distributions in Chapter 11 must comply with the

priorities of § 507, there would have been no

need for Congress to codify the absolute priority rule

specifically in the plan confirmation context.”)

20

Equally important, in framing its ultimate ruling,

the Third Circuit referred not to section 112%b), but

rather to section 507, holding that a bankruptcy court

may “approve settlements that deviate from the

priority scheme of § 507 of the Bankruptcy Code only

if they have ‘specific and credible grounds to justify

[the] deviation.” 787 F.3d at 184, citing Iridium, 478

F.3d at 466. A key part of this ruling is that the focus

is on section 507, and not on section 1129(b) and the

statutory “absolute priority rule.”

Pre-plan distributions, such as in a sale or settle-

ment do not necessarily implicate section 507 nor any

other “priority scheme.” As Professor Lubben points

out, the Code may allow the debtor to distribute

assets before the confirmation of a plan, and without

reference to any notion of absolute priority or the

distribution scheme in section 507. He gives numer-

ous examples of situations in which parties are

exempt from the normal rules of distributions, or

otherwise are permitted to opt out of “standard”

priority schemes, including counter-parties to execu-

tory contracts, and critical vendors. Id. at 596.

Holders of swaps and derivatives are largely exempt

from the bankruptcy process. Id. at 597. Ironically,

the very “priority” which the Petitioners seek in this

case is one example of deviation in which one group of

unsecured creditors is paid before other unsecured

creditors.

Further, Professor Lubben correctly demonstrates

that interim distribution, as here, before plan confir-

mation, which are part of a settlement are a form of

distribution and value allocation that are done

without any determination of absolute priority. “A

debtor in litigation with a counterparty might enter

21

into a settlement, and that settlement might ulti-

mately provide a greater recovery than the creditor-

counterparty would have received if the debtor was

liquidated.” Id. at 597. “The debtor-firm’s assets at

the end-point of the case are subject to the rule, but

those assets might have been significantly reshaped

before that point. Moreover, that reshaping may have

allowed substantial deviation from the absolute

priority rule that would have governed on the day the

bankruptcy case commenced.” Id. at 598.

Thus, the notion that all distribution schemes

require adherence to the “statutory priority” scheme

is not accurate. Settlements and sales, by their very

nature, and interim timing, are the most pertinent

examples and govern here.

To a limited extent, this Court has addressed the

issues of settlements, although not in the context

presented here, and under an entirely different

code section. Thus, in Protective Committee for

Independent Stockholders of TMT Trailer Ferry, Inc.

v. Anderson, 390 U.S. 414 (1968) (“TMT”) the Court

was asked to decide whether a bankruptcy court could

approve a “proposed compromise forming part of a

reorganization plan [as being) fair and equitable.”

Id. at 425. This Court did state that the “require-

ment ... that plans be both “fair and equitable”

appllies} to compromises as to other aspects of

reorganizations.” Id. at 424.

This Court’s other rulings in TMT demonstrate that

settlements may be approved without any showing of

“absolute priority” and that the “fair and equitable”

doctrine directs a court to consider various equitable

factors. For example, in TMT this Court stated that

if the record had shown an “adequate and intelligent

22

consideration of the merits of the claims, the difficul-

ties of pursuing them .. . and the fairness of the terms

of the settlement. . .” then “it would without question

have been justifiable to approve the proposed compro-

mises.” Id. at 434.

TMT is not dispositive. First, it was decided under

a prior statutory scheme for former Chapter X, (id. at

418) and gives no recognition to the deletion of the

“fair and equitable” standard in former Chapter XI. It

was also ruling only on a settlement that “form[ed]

part of a reorganization plan.” Jd. at 425. The Second

Circuit squarely rejected the notion that TMT applies

to a settlement “presented for court approval apart

from a reorganization plan,” stating that in such cases

the priority rule of 11 U.S.C. § 1129 is not necessarily

implicated. In re Iridium Operating LLC, 478 F.3d

452, 463 (2d Cir. 2007).

What is required, therefore, in order to pass muster

with the fair and equitable test, is an adequate

and informed consideration of the fairness of the

settlement, among other factors.” We submit this

pragmatic test is the core holding, and is more

pertinent to this dispute. Because the bankruptcy

court below did in fact, conduct such an investigation,

and did make adequate and informed findings, its

ruling should not be disturbed. “Here, the Drivers

mount no real challenge to the Bankruptcy Court’s

* “We recognize four criteria that a bankruptcy court should

consider in striking this balance: (1) the probability of success

in litigation; (2) the likely difficulties in collection; (3) the com-

plexity of the litigation involved, and the expense, inconven-

ience, and delay necessarily attending it; and (4) the paramount

interest of creditors.” Jn re Martin, 91 F.3d at 393. Respondents

challenge whether Martin is correct. Even if it does apply, the

standards it announces are satisfied in this case.

23

findings that there was no prospect of a confirmable

plan and that conversion to Chapter 7 was a bridge to

nowhere.” Jn re Jevic Holding Corp., Pet. App. 14-15a.

Ill. Petitioners seek an unwarranted

expansion of the absolute priority rule

that could harm both other commercial

and individual bankruptcy cases.

The unwarranted expansion of the absolute priority

rule, sought here by Petitioners, would be harmful

to modern bankruptcy practice, and would almost

certainly injure numerous business debtors as well as

individual chapter 11 cases. In short, this case has

potent.al consequences far beyond the Drivers.

One area of potential harm from an undue expan-

sion of absolute priority would occur in the context of

commercial real estate cases. Modern bankruptcy

practice currently addresses a large number of com-

mercial real estate cases.” One report states that,

“Since [2012] the volume of real estate restructurings

has risen significantly, including the high profile

chapter 11 case In re General Growth, Inc.; In re

Extended Stay Inc.; In re Innkeepers USA Trust; and

In re MSR Resorts Golf Course LLC.” Facilitation of

restructuring of commercial real estate, (mostly

* See generally, David R. Kuney, Chapter 11 Cases Involving

Real Estate Business, in COLLIER GUIDE TO CHAPTER 11, KEY

TOPICS AND SELECTED INDUSTRIES, ¥ 21.07[8).p 21.114 (Alan

Resnick and Henry J. Sommer, ed., 2013).

*" Kirkland & Ellis, LLP, Recent Developments in Bankruptcy

Law Leave Many Real Estate Finance Issues Unresolved (March

2012), https://Awww.kirkland.com/siteFiles/Publicationa/Alert_

031212. pdf.

24

“single asset real estate cases”) has been shown to

serve valid policies and macro-economic concerns. ”

The absolute priority rule and its “new value corol-

lary” is now a dominant consideration in the financial

restructuring of commercial real estate cases, both

large and small.” Real estate restructurings typically

look to the new value corollary as the foundation for

their restructurings. This is generally true because

former owners frequently seek to retain their equity

* Professor Ken Klee writes as follows:

Contrary to the claim that the common pool problem

is the sole or primary basis to evaluate the desirability

of allowing SARE debtors access to chapter 11, three

principal arguments, developed below, powerfully

favor access to chapter 11 to allow SARE debtors an

opportunity to reorganize: First, chapter 11 smoothes

out market inefficiencies, particularly during massive

real estate downturns. Second, federal public policy

supports giving property owners a chance to save

their investments. Third, macro-economic and social

policies favor reorganization of SARE debtors.

Kenneth N. Klee, One Size Fits Some: Single Asset Real Estate

Cases, 22 CORNELL L. REV. 1 (2002).

* Paul B. Lewis, 203 N. Lasalle Five Years Later: Answers to

the Open Questions, 38 J. MARSHALL L. REV. 61, 96 (2004), who

writes aa follows:

In practice, the new value exception is overwhelm-

ingly employed in single-asset real estate cases. See

David Gray Carlson & Jack F. Williams, The Truth

About the New Value Exception to Bankruptcy’s

Absolute Priority Rule, 21 CARDOZO L. REV. 1303,

1305 n.10 (2000) (noting that an empirical survey of

post-Ahlers cases shows ninety-two percent of new

value cases involve real estate); Lynn M. LoPucki &

William C. Whitford, Preemptive Cram Down, 65 AM.

BANKR. L.J. 625, 645 n.91 (1991).”

25

ownership through contributing the necessary capital

to the debtor entity.

Just as in the railroad cases earlier, the new value

corollary is now the key factor at work in commercial

real estate restructurings. It permits equity holders

to participate in a reorganizs.ion and to retain their

equity interests, even when unsecured creditors were

not paid in full, provided that they agree to provide

the necessary capital to restore the debtor to an

economically viable entity. On-going value is

preserved and liquidation avoided.

Despite the broad application of this corollary to the

absolute priority rule, this Court has not issued any

definitive ruling on whether the corollary survived

the enactment of the 1978 Code. In 203 North

LaSalle, this Court was confronted with a large scale

commercial real estate case in which the principal

issue was whether the absolute priority rule was

subject to the “new value” exception or corollary,

which had developed under pre-Code law. This, of

course, was the core ruling of Case v. Los Angeles

Lumber. Justice Douglas had declared that equity

holders could participate, even without compliance

with the absolute priority rule, when they made an

equity contribution that was necessary and essential

to the reorganization.

26

Most commentators agree that this Court implicitly

held that the corollary continues to be valid.* Lower

courts also continue to use it.”

Nevertheless, it would not be surprising, that

Petitioners, and some of their amici, would favor

using a decision here as a stepping stone to a hoped-

for retreat from this Court’s broader view of new value

and absolute priority as a way of closing the door to

otherwise worthy chapter 11 debtors.

Significantly, both in this case, and others, the

United States (as Solicitor General, and as the U.S.

Trustee) has challenged the existence of the new

” Paul B. Lewis, 203 N. Lasalle Five Years Later: Answers to

the Open Questions, 38 J. MARSHALL L. REV. 61, 83-84 (2004).

(“Courts and commentators have interpreted the Supreme

Court's opinion as an implicit recognition of the ongoing viability

of the new value exception.”)

" See e.g. In re Red Mountain Mach. Co., 448 B.R. 1, 14-15

(Bankr. D. Ariz. 2011), aff'd, 471 B.R. 242 (D. Ariz. 2012):

The Supreme Court has addressed the absolute

priority rule at least twice since the Ninth Circuit's

holding in Bonner Mail. First, in the Bonner Mall case

itself the Supreme Court expressly declined to vacate

the Ninth Circuit’s opinion. Second, although given

the opportunity to overrule the new value corollary as

recognized by both the Seventh and Ninth Circuits,

the Court expressly declined to do so in 203 North

LaSalle. Instead of overruling their interpretations of

the new value corollary, the Supreme Court held that

one or two of the five elements of the new value

corollary could not be satisfied when old equity retains

the exclusive right to contribute the new value

. .[Tlhe Supreme Court’s holding in 203 North

LaSalle \eaves intact the Ninth Circuit’s holding in

Bonner Mall whenever exclusivity has terminated, as

it nas here.

27

value corollary, stating its rigid view of absolute

priority. In Ahlers, similar to its view here, it urged

this Court to “hold that codification of the absolute

priority rule has eliminated any ‘exception’ to that

rule suggested by Los Angeles Lumber.” Northwest

Bank Worthington v. Ahlers, 485 U.S. 197, n.3 (1988).

A similar argument was made in 203 North LaSalle.

This Court, however, found the view of the United

States, to be “starchy” and declined to adopt it.*”

The absolute priority rule is also a matter of

national dispute among the various courts a applied

in individual chapter 11 cases. Here the issue is

whether individual debtors can retain some of their

assets [acquired after the bankruptcy case] even if

creditors are not paid in full. Thus, the American

Bankruptcy Institute recently concluded in its multi-

year study of bankruptcy as follows:

Finally, the issue of the applicability of the

absolute priority rule in individual chapter

11 cases has been a fundamental-yet-trou-

blesome issues addressed by the courts.

Currently, there is no judicial consensus on

whether (and to what extent) the BAPCPA

Amendments abrogated the absolute priority

rule by excepting postpetition property

“We understand the Government, as amicus curiae, to take

the starchy position not only that any degree of causation

between earlier interests and retained property will activate the

bar to a plan providing for later property, Brief for United States

as Amicus Curiae 11—15, but also that whenever the holders of

equity in the Debtor end up with some property there will be

some causation. . .” Bank of Am. Nat. Trust & Sav. Ass'n v. 203

N. LaSalle St. P’ship, 526 U.S. 434, 451, (1999).

28

and earnings from amended 11 U.S.C.

§ 112% b\( 2 Bii).”

Thus, the universe of debtors who have a major

stake in this case, is large, and in particular, if the

decision adopts a rigid view of absolute priority. Not

only does this case not require any application of the

absolute priority rule, but even if it did, it would not

require the rigid and overarching doctrine that

permeates the arguments of Petitioners.

This case is not the correct vehicle to address the

full scope and application of the absolute priority rule.

Nevertheless, because Petitioners have used the

absolute priority rule as a key part of their

foundational argument, they seem to have invited

this Court to adopt broad based views on absolute

priority which may well spill over, intended or not,

into another major area of bankruptcy law without a

chance to perceive its full consequences of doing so.

We urge this Court not to frame its decision on the

basis of “absolute priority.”

* American Bankruptcy Institute Commission to Study the

Reform of Chapter 11, Final Report and Recommendations 318

(2014). See also, In re O’Neal, 490 B.R. 837 (Bankr. W.D. Ark.,

2013) citing, Andrew G. Balbus, Continued Disagreements Over

the Application of the Absolute Priority Rule to Individuals in

Chapter 11: Friedman and Maharaj, 21 NORTON BANKR. L. &

Prac. 755, 761 (2012).

29

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the decision of the Third

Circuit should be affirmed.

Dated: October 17, 2016

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID R. KUNEY

Counsel of Record

WHITEFORD, TAYLOR &

PRESTON, LLP

1800 M. Street. N.W.

Suite 450 North

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 659-6807

dkuney@wtplaw.com

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.