Petition for Writ of Certiorari — James v. Boise, 136 S. Ct. 685 (2016) (No. 15-493)

Supreme Court brief2016

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Jo-4$-3—

3n The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Sf

MELENE JAMES,

Petitioner,

vV.

CITY OF BOISE, A POLITICAL SUBDIVISION

OF THE STATE OF IDAHO, STEVEN BONAS,

STEVEN BUTLER, AND TIM KUKLA,

Respondents.

S

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The Idaho Supreme Court

SJ

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

JOHN A. BUSH

Counsel of Record

199 N. Capitol Blvd., Suite 500

Boise, ID 83701

(208) 344-7700

jabush@comstockbush.com

RICHARD H. SEAMON

1297 Highland Dr.

Moscow, ID 83843

COCKLE LEGAL BRIEFS (800) 225-6964

WWW COCKLELEGALBRIEFS.COM

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Both 42 U.S.C. § 1988 and Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(k), authorize

a court, “in its discretion,” to award reasonable attor-

ney’s fees in specified proceedings. This Court inter-

preted those provisions, respectively, in Hughes uv.

Rowe, 449 U.S. 5 (1980), and Christiansburg Garment

Co. v. EEOC, 434 U.S. 413 (1978), to allow awards of

attorney's fees against a plaintiff only if the plaintiff’s

lawsuit is “frivolous, unreasonable, or without foun-

dation.”

The question presented is whether the Idaho

Supreme Court correctly concluded that Hughes and

Christiansburg do not bind state courts because this

Court “does not have authority to limit the discretion

of state courts where such limitation is not contained

in the statute.”

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioner, Melene James, was the plaintiff-appellant

below.

Respondents, City of Boise, Steven Bonas, Steven Butler,

and Tim Kukla, were the defendants-respondents be-

low.

Also named as a defendant in the complaint was

Rodney Likes; he was voluntarily dismissed at the

trial-court level, and was therefore not a party to the

proceeding before the Idaho Supreme Court.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED..................0sceccessesseeeee i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ................... ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .....................0c..0000e0e vi

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI ....... 1

TTT AT a 1

Ee en 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PRO-

ee Be ee cccccscesercesecesccvessscesessossooss 1

SATE 3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.................ccesseseeeees 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 13

I. The Idaho Supreme Court’s Decision

Conflicts with Decisions of this Court....... 13

A. The Idaho Supreme Court’s Decision

Conflicts with Hughes v. Rowe and

Christiansburg Garment Co. v. EEOC... 13

B. The Idaho Supreme Court’s Decision

Conflicts with Decisions of this Court

Establishing the Supremacy of this

Court’s Interpretation of Federal

SII scdcadladeacmtimcdanimitiiaddnimaamaiabani 18

Il. The Idaho Supreme Court’s Decision

Conflicts with Decisions of Other Lower

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

A. The Idaho Supreme Court’s Decision

Conflicts with Decisions of Other

State Supreme Courts That Follow

Hughes v. Rowe and Christiansburg

ES etre 24

B. The Idaho Supreme Court’s Decision

Conflicts with Decisions of Other

State Supreme Courts That Recog-

nize the Supremacy of this Court’s

Decisions Interpreting Federal Stat-

WD covevavccreccocsonseesticiontanmiiienianhioniidean 28

III. The Question Presented Has Surpassing

Importance for the Uniform Enforcement

of Federal Rights in State Courts ............. 30

IV. This Case Is An Appropriate Vehicle for

Review of the Question Presented ............ 32

A. The Question Presented Was Pressed

and Passed Upon Below ...................... 32

B. The Idaho Supreme Court’s Ruling on

the Question Presented Was Outcome-

ei cincccciecncdcctenenatatidennaiiadiae 34

C. The Question Presented Concerns the

Supremacy of this Court’s Decisions

in the Fundamentally Important and

Timely Context of the Enforcement of

Pearel Civil TAOS ...cccccccccosssccccccsccnes 37

Fe ccensscevescesssesesesnnsemiansensaniesanantennbinnia 39

Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

APPENDIX

Idaho Supreme Court Opinion......................00000+ App. 1

Idaho District Court Memorandum Decision

and Order on Defendants’ Motion for Sum-

SE CTT App. 64

Idaho Supreme Court Order Awarding Costs

To oniraensemennnepnnemmnenennnenenett App. 131

Idaho Supreme Court Order Denying: Rehear-

Si eioiniieiddinnnenpinepnbstnatgnbenimmmenemnsssensssnneseeseunt App. 133

Excerpt of Respondent’s Brief on Appeal........ App. 135

Excerpt of Memorandum in Support of Petition

Ee App. 138

Excerpt of Memorandum in Opposition to Costs

| Te ae App. 145

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Adoptive Couple v. Baby Girl, 133 S. Ct. 2552

Ti cinssitiahbainniasinanietinnisitipiieteiaiinnbniintanmemmetiiageeel 23

Afzali v. State, 326 P.3d 1 (Nev. 2014) ................:000e- 29

Air Wisconsin Airlines Corp. v. Hoeper, 134

By ee ST snsicinisiesccniniatnbeneddiadiidinecueiuieiiaaual 23

Alley v. Taylor, 2001 Del. Super. LEXIS 119

(Del. Super. Ct. Mar. 30, 2001) ....................00000000000 25

Alyeska Pipeline Serv. Co., Inc. v. Wilderness

Society, et al., 421 U.S. 240 (1975) ..........ccccccesecneee 30

Astrue v. Ratliff, 560 U.S. 586 (2010) ....................000. 30

Bankston v. Pass Rd. Tire Ctr., Inc., 611 So. 2d

SETI: II iciietetpenseinnntsnnnrendinesccssinnmntinmsennessentl 27

Barstow v. State, 742 S.W.2d 495 (Tex. App.

Si cetocsusinpnnninanberndapbeeemmscmaaemmnaatniaenainaninaieamneas 29

Bitgood v. Allstate Ins. Co., 481 A.2d 1001 (R.I.

Si icietesincsisndeepeenenntnnisnniniisenamndintatslaesigaividiesenpesenimsinel 28

Burt v. Titlow, 134 S. Ct. 10 (2013).................cccceceeeee 32

California Correctional Peace Officers Assn. v.

Virga, 181 Cal. App. 4th 30 (Cal. App. Ist

SITE: HITTITE iiicisiniiniiieisiaiiati tapas arinipaaeitaaeatiinneennsgel 25

Casa Marie Hogar Geriatrico, Inc., et al. v.

Esther Rivera-Santos, et al., 38 F.3d 615 (1st

SEaED Saiiaa encrenisnsinttennentienbiennstantnidunetenmassentianidiiinssemneniees 10

Chenevert v. Hilton, 978 So. 2d 1078 (La. App.

EE Mii ccitensncnccnnsnscnsecictnctntanenteinatenssendineiianentons 26

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Christiansburg Garment Co. v. EEOC, 434 U.S.

ST iscicetiencinsiipaciitinbeieeaeaedaniapecmtiaaiel passim

City of Waco v. Hester, 805 S.W.2d 807 (Tex. Ct.

SI SET dcncicntaniiccnnsniiinuninaninnietndecmnennnemmbiniapeseneenel 28

Commonwealth v. Pon, 469 Mass. 296, 14

gS Eee 29

Commonwealth v. Tedford, 598 Pa. 639, 960

a essarereeaminciatbiegsil 29

Cuzze v. Univ. & Cmty. Coll. Sys., 172 P.3d 131

i ltchacedenatemeieneiletelamaiarraeti hil 27

Davidson v. Boone Cty., 745 N.E.2d 895 (Ind.

SI TTT scscstnnieriteiisatintinicsinaiieineasipmennsaiaeentinaiiia 26

DeNardo v. Municipality of Anchorage, 775

SEIT 24, 25

Dowd v. City of New Richmond, 405 N.W.2d 66

eileen etait 28

Elmendorf v. Taylor, 23 U.S. 152 (1825).................... 20

Est. of Bohn v. Scott, 915 P.2d 1239 (Ariz. App.

BE Tec nsinthinininesiiaraiaidanmneiitiaiinemnitdimmesatiiid 25

v. Prudential-Bache Sec., Inc., 495

SL Ten nee 29

Fox v. Vice, 563 U.S. 826 (2011) .............ccccccccceeeeeeeeees 30

Gardner v. Bd. of County Comm’rs of Wasatch

County, 178 P.3d 893 (Utah 2008).....................0000. 28

Gates v. Discovery Commce’ns, Inc., 34 Cal. 4th

679, 101 P.3d 552 (Cal. 2004) ................................. 29

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Grp. Dekko Servs. LLC v. Miller, 717 N.E.2d

I i crlliearenel 29

Haywood v. Alexander, 121 So. 3d 972 (Ala.

ESS AEE AS LENE nN BeNOR S A ee 29

Hebert v. Louisiana, 272 U.S. 312 (1926).................. 21

Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983) ................ 26

Herndon v. Georgia, 295 U.S. 441 (1935) .................. 33

Howlett v. Rose, 496 U.S. 356 (1990) ................... 12, 22

Hughes v. Rowe, 449 U.S. 5 (1980) .................... passim

In re Fifth Third Bank, Nat. Ass’n, 216 N.C.

App. 482, 716 S.E.2d 850 (N.C. 2011).................... 29

James v. City of Boise 351 P.3d 1171 (2015)................ 1

Jaynes v. Commonwealth, 276 Va. 443, 666

TSE a cE 29

Johnson v. City of Mobile, ___ So. 3d ___, 2015

WL 5725089 (Ala. Sept. 30, 2015).......................ee 25

Johnson v. Fankell, 520 U.S. 911 (1997) ................... 18

Karr v. Bermeosolo, 129 P.3d 88 (Idaho 2005)........... 33

LaBarre v. Payne, 329 S.E.2d 533 (Ga. App.

EERIE” “SIDR Sees rae RTO O NOES 26

Lefemine v. Wiedman, 133 S. Ct. 9 (2012) ................. 30

Littlefield v. State, 480 A.2d 731 (Me. 1984).............. 29

Lucas v. Riverside Park Condo. Unit Owners

Ass’n, 776 N.W.2d 801 (N.D. 2009).......................-. 27

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

M.S. v. People, 2013 CO 35, 303 P.3d 102 (Colo.

RSE EERSTE DSRS Sonor nate ete 29

Martin v. Hunter’s Lessee, 14 U.S. (1 Wheat.)

ESSE er eae ONECART 22, 23

McCarthy v. Oregon Freeze Dry, Inc., 327 Ore.

185, 957 P.2d 1200 (Ore. 1998) ............0.eece cece eee 28

Miller v. Henderson, 322 S.E.2d 594 (N.C. Ct.

ST TIT iis caiicenat nbicetisnninianeinianledatapenuatetitiamasianaiel 27

Moran v. City of Lakeland, 694 So. 2d 886 (Fla.

SIN, TIT oiccricasiciniiginmniineniimiuaaniaenianial 26

Nation v. State, Dept. of Correction, 158 P.3d

SRST IEEE TASTE CE ET 33

Newman v. Piggie Park Enterprises, 390 U.S.

a a 21, 22

Nitro-Lift Technologies, L.L.C. v. Howard, 133

ii ial 18, 19, 20

Norfolk S. Ry. Co. v. Sorrell, 549 U.S. 158

EE SESE mas toresanan ven enn a en CoN eS Deva 23

Obergefell v. Hodges, 135 S. Ct. 2584 (2015)............. 38

Octane Fitness, LLC v. ICON Health & Fitness,

i: ey ts Se ccttiticrtnninnnictieneciisarensncnes 30

Oklahoma Personnel Serv. v. Alternate Staff-

ing, Inc., 817 P.2d 1265 (Okla. 1991)...................... 27

Park v. Dept. of Corrections, 307 P.3d 503 (Or.

san UII cnccsniaintinciiiisinhinecinintedaindeuanbidiiinibtainnanitenmeet 27

Patsy v. Bd. of Regents of Florida, 457 U.S. 496

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

People v. Gillam, 479 Mich. 253, 734 N.W.2d

Ey Git cnrisnedbbiicnnctiinatinsneminimieetinneinnmmnpeninent 29

Peraica v. Riverside-Brookfield High Sch. Dist.

No. 208, 999 N.E.2d 399 (Ill. App. 1st Dist.

SI iacsunncisiadietnicinnpmemeinensebebnimsiaintbintababiiiommenneneds 26

Perdue v. Kenny A. ex rel. Winn, 559 U.S. 542

SEI dcncenctiescininsiesennisinandemnsdusieneniesianiaaibigainmaeimeianent 31

Provident Inst. for Savings v. Massachusetts,

| 4 | REEL SEs keene 21

Radio Station WOW v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120

Sin iceicintncnsendetedsimainiiiiibdaninaumnmmnnmmninmene 34

Revering v. Ackerson, 1995 WL 130618 (Minn.

SEI UTED iciiiceinpninicinitnnleiniiaininiiniinninipineinitiieipiiendlipensvunpil 26

Riley v. Gibson, 338 S.W.3d 230 (Ky. 2011)................ 29

Rivers v. Roadway Express, Inc., 511 U.S. 298

STITT chiinmieeesslneeiabaiaebiahidhiaaiaitanhhanianinieeenitiiabiieiann 20

Rubio v. Carlsbad Mun. Sch. Dist., 744 P.2d

Be SU, IGE crernccscssnssssneneevmenmnenemneeee 27

Sanchez-Llamas v. Oregon, 548 U.S. 331 (2006)....... 18

Santiago v. Municipality of Adjuntas, 741

F. Supp. 2d 364 (D.P.R. 2010) .0...........ccceececeeeeeeeeeees 10

Sebelius v. Cloer, 133 S. Ct. 1886 (2013) ................... 30

Shaw v. PACC Health Plan, Inc., 908 P.2d 308

SESTEnE: FEIT shicnsecipanincsistsniseesapeiiainiteinieadihlainiiniemnbiiaaiiainenintie 29

Shepherd v. Carbon County Bd. of Comm'rs, 46

TST RETR EOC 27

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Shields v. Carbone, 952 N.Y.S.2d 649 (N.Y.

i IEE SE ciccainteieisindinceimnemninmneenenenaieinaneemnes 27

Shuba v. Austintown Bd. of Educ., 1985 WL

10371 (Ohio Ct. App. 1985)...................ccccceeeeeeeeeeees 27

Simonian v. Town of Hull, 1993 Mass. Super.

LEXIS 17 (Mass. Super. Ct. 1993).....................000+8 26

Singhaviroj v. Bd. of Educ. of Town of Fair-

field, 17 A.3d 1013 (Conn. 2011)...................ccccceeeee 25

Smith v. City of Hemet, 394 F.3d 689 (9th Cir.

2005) (en banc), cert. denied, 545 U.S. 1128

ERIS TES RES SERIE EE ec Ie ee 36

South Carolina v. Bailey, 289 U.S. 412 (1933).......... 21

Sprague v. City of Burley, 710 P.2d 566 (Idaho

RATERS SR NARS ea Na SERRE SAS eee 20

State v. Coleman, 214 A.2d 393 (N.J. 1965)............... 29

State v. Golden’s Concrete Co., 962 P.2d 919

RESET REE Naan Le aa ae ea 25

State v. Maine State Troopers Ass’n, 491 A.2d

eit 26

State v. Mechtel, 499 N.W.2d 662 (Wis. 1993) ........... 29

State v. Radcliffe, 164 Wash. 2d 900, 194 P.3d

I liiiesiniamid 29

Stop the Beach Renourishment, Inc. v. Fla.

Dept. of Env. Protection, 560 U.S. 702 (2010)........ 33

Studio 45 Discotheque, Inc. v. City of Union,

2008 WL 583795 (N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div.

asian paella ibimimiiieeaiid 27

xil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Torres-Santiago v. Municipality of Adjuntas,

GES F.G SEO (lat Cle, BOER) ..ccccccccecccescecescccescccscccces 10

United States v. Gilbert Assocs., 345 U.S. 361

SITET hicsechidihaicieni nisin ieaeiekinhipliin 21

United States v. Lanier, 520 U.S. 259 (1997) ............ 35

Varney v. Genesee County Sheriff, 393 N.W.2d 1

SEI: SUITE iieiclicstnindceisadeisninincatdbacatiagniniblalinebdiednisintdiadinabendeveis 26

Varney v. O’Brien, 383 N.W.2d 213 (Mich. App.

RAR AR ESDP ESENE Sie oe PC Ee So SP ie ns RP e re nee ES 26

Washington State Republican Party v. Wash-

ington State Pub. Disclosure Commn., 4 P.3d

ET I eer er oe 28

Watkins v. City of Oakland, 145 F.3d 1087 (9th

_ g_ SERS eae e eveeE oee ene ne ea 35

Yellow Freight System, Inc. v. Saisie 494

i es 17

Youngbluth v. Youngbluth, 2010 VT 40, 4 16,

188 Vt. 53, 6 A.3d 677 (Vt. 2010)........... eee 29

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

ees i MI, Gt EO, Ot no sncenscensetiinnsnbnnnbionies 22

ee LL IE, EU OE I dicccedenensecnsenndiommiinnubedasaumane 1,19

STATUTES

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20

i cciiedineminionbided 31

xili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

I le ae 1

Rehabilitation Act, 29 U.S.C. § 794a(b)...................4. 31

I IIIT hicntciscesennsicsvepnitiinigiateciianensndsniommies passim

FARE eae nnon arr eneaet are passim

Fair Housing Amendments Act of 1988, 4°

a I ts rnc aicinetnnantinainaiid 31

Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C.

TT isirt ict clita dcidniienlimeiennunnineaendatianiinendantd 31

ETE ye cece ean ane Oe ree 12

RESET ILESIION Na een O ee neon 12

STITUTE iiikacinsiahciiceihhiininibinicindacticaiandiiienindatdidsishtindiiboshana passim

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Ballotpedia, Local government responses to

Obergefell v. Hodges (Oct. 2, 2015)..................000000 38

Charles J. Dean, Moore: Gay marriage ‘not in

accordance with the Constitution’ (Mobile,

AL), Press-Register, July 1, 2015, at Al0.............. 38

S.Rep. No. 1011, 94th Cong., 2nd Sess. 4

(1976), reprinted in 1976 U.S. Code Cong. &

FERS aaa ren 24

Stephen M. Shapiro, et al., Supreme Court

Praction 196 (106i OG. BOTS) .....0scccccccccccccccesccccccosees 33

1

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, Melene James, respectfully petitions

for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the

Idaho Supreme Court in this case.

«

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Idaho Supreme Court (App. 1-

63) is reported at 351 P3d 1171. The order of the

Idaho Supreme Court denying rehearing (App. 133,

134) is unreported. The memorandum decision and

order of the Idaho District Court for the Fourth

Judicial District on Defendants’ Motion for Summary

Judgment (App. 64-130) is also unreported.

S

JURISDICTION

The Idaho Supreme Court entered the judgment

on May 21, 2015. It denied rehearing on July 20,

2015. (App. 133). This Court’s jurisdiction rests on 28

U.S.C. § 1257(a).

°

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

A. The Supremacy Clause, U.S. Const., art. VI,

cl. 2, states:

This Constitution, and the Laws of the

United States which shall be made in

2

Pursuance thereof; and all treaties made, or

which shall be made, under the authority of

the United States, shall be the supreme Law

of the Land; and the Judges in every State

shall be bound thereby, any Thing in the

Constitution or Laws of any State to the

Contrary notwithstanding.

B. 42 U.S.C. § 1988 states in relevant part:

§ 1988. Proceedings in vindication of

civil rights

* * *

(b) Attorney’s fees

In any action or proceeding to enforce a

provision of sections 1981, 198la, 1982,

1983, 1985, and 1986 of this title, title IX of

Public Law 92-318, the Religious Land Use

and Institutionalized Persons Act of, title VI

of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, or section

13981 of this title, the court, in its discretion,

may allow the prevailing party, other than

the United States, a reasonable attorney's

fee as part of the costs, except that in any ac-

tion brought against a judicial officer for an

act or omission taken in such officer’s judi-

cial capacity such officer shall not be held li-

able for any costs, including attorney's fees,

unless such action was clearly in excess of

such officer’s jurisdiction.

* * *

Sf

3

INTRODUCTION

Petitioner was mauled by a police dog while she

was working one Sunday afternoon in the office from

which she runs a small business. The Boise (Idaho)

police loosed the dog on her because they mistook her

for a burglar. Petitioner sued the City of Boise and

the responsible police officers in Idaho state court,

asserting state-law claims as well as excessive-force

claims under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. The state trial-level

court dismissed her claims, and the Idaho Supreme

Court affirmed the dismissal. Petitioner does not con-

cede the correctness of that ruling, nor does petitioner

seek further review of it in this Court.

Petitioner does, however, seek review of the

Idaho Supreme Court’s decision awarding attorney’s

fees on appeal against petitioner under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1988. In seeking those fees, respondents recognized

that they had to show that petitioner’s appeal from

the dismissal of her § 1983 claim was “frivolous,

unreasonable, or without foundation” — as established

by this Court in Christiansburg Garment Co. v.

EEOC, 434 U.S. 412 (1978), for fee awards against

Title VII plaintiffs, and as extended by this Court in

Hughes v. Rowe, 449 U.S. 5 (1980), to fee awards

against § 1983 plaintiffs. But rather than follow

Christiansburg and Hughes, the Idaho Supreme

Court sua sponte held that neither it nor any other

state court is bound by them. In its view, “[aJlthough

the [U.S.] Supreme Court may have the authority to

limit the discretion of lower federal courts, it does not

have the authority to limit the discretion of state

4

courts where such limitation is not contained in the

statute.” (App. 55). In its written opinion, the Idaho

Supreme Court accordingly did not apply the Chris-

tiansburg/Hughes standard in awarding attorney's

fees against petitioner under § 1988.

In refusing to apply the Christiansburg/Hughes

standard, the Idaho Supreme Court not only misin-

terpreted important federal civil rights statutes but

also fundamentally misunderstood this Court’s au-

thority over state courts. The Idaho Supreme Court’s

error is neither inadvertent nor innocuous. To the

contrary, that court’s studied disregard of the control-

ling precedent of this Court significantly deters

plaintiffs from asserting federal rights in the Idaho

state courts. The Idaho Supreme Court’s decision

could also have a pernicious effect in a current na-

tional climate characterized by some deeply disturb-

ing instances of state-level resistance to the

supremacy of federal law.

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. On December 26, 2010, petitioner Melene

James was a 49-year-old resident of Boise, Idaho, and

worked as a denturist. Clerk’s Record on Appeal (“R.”)

390, 700. She had just finished cooking a holiday

meal for her family when a friend called needing

emergency work on a denture. R. 394, 700. Ms. James

walked half a block to the building where she leased

space to run her small business, Renaissance Dental

5

Lab. R. 391, 394, 701. She entered the building with

her key and started work on the denture. R. 394, 702.

When she reached the point in her work where the

repaired denture needed 15 minutes to “cure,” she left

the building to smoke a cigarette. R. 395, 701. Then

she realized that she had locked herself out, having

left her purse with her keys and phone inside the

dental lab. R. 395, 701.

Ms. James did not want to leave the immediate

area to call her landlord because her equipment was

still running inside and posed a fire hazard. R. 396,

701. She accordingly went to a window that was

usually left unlocked to ventilate the dental lab. R.

396, 397, 701, 702. While trying to open the window,

her hand slipped, causing her elbow to hit the win-

dow and break it. R. 397, 702. As she started to climb

through the window, a neighbor, who had heard the

glass breaking, came over and asked her if she needed

help. R. 397, 702. Ms. James told him that she had

locked her keys inside. R. 397, 702.

The neighbor found Ms. James’ behavior peculiar

and called 911 at around 5:20 pm. R. 410, 703. He

told the 911 operator that a woman who’d claimed to

have left her keys inside the building was climbing in

through a broken window. R. 410, 801, 802. The

* Respondent, Steven Butler, was the first police officer on

the scene. In his narrative report, Butler did not mention the

neighbor reporting that Ms. James had left her keys inside the

building. Instead, Butler’s narrative said the dental office “was

reportedly being burglarized.” R. 414.

6

neighbor also reported that the woman appeared to

be “lethargic” and “totally out of it.” R. 410, 685. In

the meantime, Ms. James finished repairing the

denture. R. 397, 398, 702, 703. She planned to call

her landlord after she used the bathroom. R. 398,

702, 703. It was while she was in the bathroom that

she was attacked by the police dog. R. 555.

While Ms. James was inside resuming work on

the denture, outside the building, police began arriv-

ing. Respondent Steven Butler was the first officer on

the scene. R. 423. According to Officer Butler’s later

account, he spoke with the neighbor and then looked

around the outside of the building. R. 425, 426,

Through one of the windows, he could see Ms. James

standing inside a lighted room, about six to eight feet

away from the window. R. 428, 431. She was standing

at a work bench, holding a can of malt liquor in one

hand and dental tools in the other. R. 414, 429. Of-

ficer Butler did not call out to her or otherwise try to

get her attention. R. 431.

Officer Butler was joined at the scene by several

other officers, including respondent Tim Kukla. R.

410. Within ten minutes after the 911 call, the police

had established a perimeter around the building and

requested a K-9 unit. R. 410, 475, 705. A civilian at

the scene — whom one of the officers later referred to

only as the “cleaning lady” — told officers that a

woman worked inside the building. R. 575. As the

“cleaning lady” began to describe the woman, she was

cut off by the owner of the building, who had shown

up then. R. 575. The owner told the police that no one

7

should be in the building, especially if they had to

break a window to get in. R. 555.

Respondent Steven Bonas arrived with his police

dog at around 6:10 pm. R. 411, 706. About seven

minutes later, Bonas made the decision to use the

dog. R. 411, 708. An initial shouted warning was

issued upon entry to the building and another was

issued on the upstairs level while the officers

searched. R. 593, 594. A few minutes after initial

entry, Officer Bonas arrived at a stairwell leading to

the basement where another shouted warning was

given. R. 593, 594, 710. Bonas then let the dog loose

to the basement where he was out of sight of the

handler and on a different level of the building. R.

593, 710.’

The dog found Ms. James in the bathroom. R.

555. As the officers descended, it was noted that the

bathroom door was initially open a few inches but

then it closed, leaving Ms. James alone inside with

the dog. R. 594, 711. When the officers finally got the

bathroom door open, they found Ms. James lying on

the ground with her pants pulled down below her

knees. R. 648, 711. She was then handcuffed,

searched, and taken to the emergency room. R. 594,

711.

* Two officers claimed in their later accounts that, in

addition to the shouted warnings that the police gave after

éntering the building, they also gave one or more warnings,

while outside the building, through the public address system

atop one of the police cars. R. 432, 708.

8

At the emergency room, Ms. James was found to

have a broken arm and multiple puncture wounds on

her cheek, arm, and hand. R. 603, 604, 596-600. Her

blood alcohol content was 0.27. Ms. James later

admitted at her deposition that she had been drink-

ing while cooking the holiday meal and had drunk a

beer while at the dental lab. R. 394, 398. A later

medical evaluation reported that, besides the injuries

noted at the emergency room, Ms. James had a

fractured spine and suspected nerve damage. R. 603,

604, 712.

2. Ms. James sued the City of Boise and four

police officers in the District Court for the Fourth

Judicial District of Idaho. R. 6.° She asserted

excessive-force claims against all the defendants

under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, relying on the Fourth, Fifth,

and Fourteenth Amendments. R. 15. She also assert-

ed state-law claims of assault, battery, false arrest,

wrongful imprisonment, negligent supervision, and

intentional infliction of emotional distress. R. 14. The

district court granted summary judgment for defen-

dants and dismissed all of Ms. James’ claims. (App.

64).

3.a. The Idaho Supreme Court affirmed the

dismissal of petitioner’s claims, including her § 1983

* Plaintiffs conceded to the dismissal of one original defen-

dant, Officer Rodney Likes, when discovery revealed that his

involvement was post event only. R. 653.

9

claims against the individual respondents and the

respondent City of Boise. (App. 1-63).

The Idaho Supreme Court held that qualified

immunity barred Ms. James’ § 1983 claims against

the individual respondents. (App. 13-34). In so hold-

ing, the court relied on three Ninth Circuit decisions

rejecting excessive-force claims based on police dog

attacks. (App. 34). The court admitted that, of those

three Ninth Circuit cases, even the one that was

“most similar to” the present case involved “some

significant factual difference.” (App. 34).

b. Justice Jim Jones issued a concurring opin-

ion. He agreed that qualified immunity barred peti-

tioner’s § 1983 claims. “Had there been no qualified

immunity issue,” however, Justice Jones “would have

voted to vacate the * * * dismissal of James’ excessive

force claim.” (App. 57). That is because, in his view,

“there were triable issues of fact that would have

precluded summary judgment.” (App. 57).

Specifically, Justice Jones cited the affidavit of

petitioner’s expert, who had an advanced degree in

criminal justice and “52 years of experience in various

law enforcement positions,” including “work as a

canine instructor and supervisor.” (App. 58). His

affidavit “raised questions about the existence of

probable cause and the need for the use of the magni-

tude of force employed by the officers.” (App. 58).

Justice Jones concluded that the district court “had

no basis for discounting” the expert’s opinions. (App.

59-63).

10

c. In the Idaho Supreme Court, respondents

requested an award of the attorney’s fees that they

spent on the appeal. For petitioner’s § 1983 claim,

respondents based their fee request on 42 U.S.C.

§ 1988. For petitioner’s state-law claims, respondents

requested fees under two Idaho statutes.

In seeking fees under § 1988, respondents recog-

nized that they had to establish not only that they

were prevailing parties but also “that the plaintiff’s

suit was ‘totally unfounded, frivolous, or otherwise

unreasonable or that the plaintiff continued to liti-

gate after it clearly became so.’” (App. 136) (quoting

Santiago v. Municipality of Adjuntas, 741 F. Supp. 2d

364 (D.P.R. 2010), vacated and remanded sub nom.

Torres-Santiago v. Municipality of Adjuntas, 693 F.3d

230 (1st Cir. 2012)). The decision in Santiago, from

which respondents drew the latter requirement,

derived it, in turn, from this Court’s decision in

Christiansburg Garment Co. v. EEOC, 434 U.S. 412

(1978), and a First Circuit decision citing Christians-

burg. See Santiago, 741 F. Supp. 2d at 370 (quoting

Christiansburg, 434 U.S. at 412, and Casa Marie

Hogar Geriatrico, Inc., et al. v. Esther Rivera-Santos,

et al., 38 F.3d 615, 619 (1st Cir. 1994)). Respondents

did not suggest in their fee request that the Idaho

Supreme Court could ignore the Christiansburg

standard in deciding whether to award fees under

§ 1988. (App. 136, 137).*

* See Plaintiff’s Memorandum in Opposition to Costs and

Attorney Fees at 2 n.3 (filed June 18, 2015) (noting that

(Continued on following page)

11

The Idaho Supreme Court awarded respondents

the attorney’s fees they incurred defending against

petitioner’s appeal of the dismissal of her § 1983

claim. (App. 55). The court acknowledged that in

Hughes v. Rowe, 449 U.S. 5 (1980), this Court relied

on Christiansburg to hold that “attorney fees could

not be awarded to a prevailing defendant in a case

brought pursuant to 42 U.S.C. section 1983 unless

the plaintiff’s action was frivolous, unreasonable, or

without foundation.” (App. 55) (quoting Hughes, 449

U.S. at 14). But the Idaho Supreme Court observed

that both Christiansburg and Hughes “were appeals

from cases in federal district courts.” (App. 55). In its

view, “[a]lthough the [U.S.] Supreme Court may have

the authority to limit the discretion of lower federal

courts, it does not have the authority to limit the

discretion of state courts where such limitation is not

contained in the statute.” (App. 55). “Therefore,” the

Idaho Supreme Court concluded, “in cases filed in the

Idaho state courts seeking to recover under 42 U.S.C.

section 1988, the [Idaho Supreme] [CJourt has discre-

tion in deciding to award attorney fees to the prevail-

ing party, whether the prevailing party is the plaintiff

or the defendant.” (App. 55).

“[rlespondents’ stated basis for attorney’s fees under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1988 was the standard imposed by the United States Supreme

Court and federal circuits which this Court has declined to

follow.”); id. at 1 n.1 (noting that, at the time plaintiff filed its

memo in opposition to costs and attorney fees, “(t]he [Idaho

Supreme] Court’s Order allowing attorney fees is subject to a

Petition for Rehearing”). (App. 142, 143).

12

Based on this conclusion, the court awarded fees

against petitioner under § 1988 on the ground that

“(i]t was clear that her [§ 1983] claim would be barred

by qualified immunity.” (App. 55, 56). In contrast, the

court denied fees under the Idaho statutes cited by

respondents. Fees were not available under Idaho

Code § 12-117, the court concluded, because it could

“not find that Plaintiff brought this appeal regarding

her state law claims without a reasonable basis in

fact or law.” (App. 56). The court further held that

fees were not available under Idaho Code § 12-121

“[blecause the appeal regarding Plaintiff’s claims

under state law was not brought or pursued frivolous-

ly, unreasonably or without foundation.” (App. 56).

Petitioner timely petitioned for rehearing on the

court’s award of fees under § 1988. (App. 138). Peti-

tioner argued that “[uJnder the Supremacy Clause of

the United States Constitution, it is a fundamental

notion that the decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court

interpreting federal statutes and determining con-

gressional intent are binding upon state courts.”

(App. 139) (citing Howlett v. Rose, 496 U.S. 356

(1990)). Petitioner explained that this fundamental

notion applies equally to the “construction and appli-

cation of § 1988 — a federal statute.” (App. 139). By

failing to follow this Court’s decisions interpreting

§ 1988, petitioner concluded, “the Idaho Supreme

Court improperly nullified federal law.” (App. 143).

The Idaho Supreme Court denied rehearing

without opinion. (App. 133).

°

13

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Idaho Supreme Court’s Decision Con-

flicts with Decisions of this Court.

A. The Idaho Supreme Court’s Decision

Conflicts with Hughes v. Rowe and

Christiansburg Garment Co. v. EEOC.

This Court held in Christiansburg Garment Co. v.

EEOC that the prevailing defendant in a Title VII

case can recover attorney’s fees only “upon a finding

that the plaintiff’s action was frivolous, unreasona-

ble, or without foundation.” 434 U.S. 412, 421 (1978).

In Hughes v. Rowe, this Court “could perceive no

reason for applying a less stringent standard” for

awarding attorney's fees to prevailing defendants in

actions under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. 449 U.S. 5, 14 (1980).

In this case, however, the Idaho Supreme Court did

not apply the “frivolous, unreasonable, or without

foundation” standard in awarding fees to the prevail-

ing defendants on petitioner’s § 1983 claim. The

Idaho Supreme Court’s failure to do so squarely

conflicts with Christiansburg and Hughes.

The Idaho Supreme Court’s failure to apply the

standard established by this Court is deliberate and

obvious on the face of its opinion. Its reasoning pro-

ceeded in three steps:

1. Hughes and Christiansburg “were ap-

peals from cases in federal district

courts.” (App. 55).

2. Although this Court “may have authori-

ty to limit the discretion of lower federal

14

courts, it does not have the authority to

limit the discretion of state courts where

such limitation is not contained in the

statute.” (App. 55).

3. The “frivolous, unreasonable, or without

foundation” standard “is not contained

in” the text of § 1988; “[t]herefore,” the

Idaho Supreme Court “has discretion” to

award attorney’ fees to a prevailing

party without regard to that standard,

“whether the party is the plaintiff or the

defendant.” (App. 55).

The Idaho Supreme Court accordingly did not con-

clude in its opinion that petitioner’s appeal of her

§ 1983 claim was frivolous, unreasonable, or without

foundation. In contrast, the court did refuse fees

under one of the Idaho fee-shifting statutes because it

could not find that petitioner’s appeal of her state-law

claims was brought “frivolously, unreasonably or

without foundation.” (App. 56). Rather than apply

that same standard to petitioner’s appeal of her

§ 1983 claim, the court awarded fees against her on

the appeal of that claim because it believed that the

§ 1983 claim was “clear{ly]” barred by qualified

immunity. (App. 55). Although the court did not

explain that determination, its reasoning — coupled

with its explicit use of the “frivolous, unreasonable, or

without foundation standard” for applying an Idaho

fee-shifting statute — leaves no doubt that the court

stopped short of finding petitioner’s appeal of her

§ 1983 claim “meritless in the Christiansburg sense,”

15

as this Court required in Hughes, 449 U.S. at 15, for a

fee award against a § 1983 plaintiff.

This Court, however, said nothing in Christians-

burg or Hughes to suggest that its interpretation of

Title VII and § 1988 applies only in lower federal

courts. To the contrary, the Court’s reasoning applies

equally to suits in federal court and state court.

In Christiansburg, the Court addressed “under

what circumstances an attorneys fee should be

allowed when the defendant is the prevailing party in

a Title VII action.” 434 U.S. at 414. The Court reject-

ed both the defendant’s and the plaintiff’s proffered

interpretations of Title VII's fee-shifting provision.

The defendant (a garment company) argued that a

prevailing defendant should be entitled to an award

of fees under the same standard as a prevailing

plaintiff. The Court rejected that argument because

of “two strong equitable considerations” that justify

treating prevailing plaintiffs more favorably than

prevailing defendants in Title VII suits. Jd. at 418.

First, the plaintiff “is the chosen instrument of Con-

gress to vindicate a policy that Congress considered of

the highest priority.” Jd. Second, an award in favor of

a prevailing plaintiff is an award against “a violator

of federal law.” Jd. Those two considerations apply

tegardless whether the plaintiff sues in state court or

federal court.

_ The plaintiff EEOC argued in Christiansburg

that fees should be awarded to a prevailing defendant

if the plaintiff’s action was brought in bad faith.

16

The Court found this argument inconsistent with

congressional intent. The Court explained that it

would not lightly assume that Congress intended to

“distort” the adversary process by “giving the private

plaintiff substantial incentives to sue, while foreclos-

ing to the defendant the possibility of recovering his

éxpenses in resisting even a groundless action unless

he can show that it was brought in bad faith.” Jd. at

419. The Court found no evidence of congressional

intent to so distort the process. See id. at 420. Thus,

the Court’s rationale for rejecting the plaintiff

EEOC’s interpretation, like its rationale for rejecting

the defendant garment company’s interpretation,

drew no distinction between suits in federal court and

those in state court.

The Court in Christiansburg ultimately adopted

a standard for awarding fees to prevailing Title VII

defendants that appropriately accommodated “the

competing considerations” and reflected Congress’s

intent as best the Court could discern it. /d. at 420,

421. The Court in Hughes adopted the same stan-

dard, on the same basis, for prevailing § 1983 defen-

dants. See Hughes, 449 U.S. at 14. None of those

considerations varies depending on whether a plain-

tiff sues in federal or state court. Nor is it tenable

that Congress intended different standards for fee

awards, depending on whether a plaintiff sues in

federal or state court.

Although the Court in Christiansburg described

the standard that it adopted as the one that “should

inform a district court’s discretion” (id. at 417

17

(emphasis added)), that description does not limit the

applicability of the standard to lower federal courts.

The Court’s description simply reflected one or more

of three circumstances:

(1) the case before it arose in a district

court, id. at 415;

(2) the case presented a question “about

which the federal courts ha[d] expressed

divergent views,” id. at 414;

(3) the Court addressed the standard that

federal district courts should use be-

cause most Title VII actions were

brought in federal courts, rather than in

state courts, at the time of the Court’s

decision in 1978.°

Under these circumstances, coupled with the Court’s

reasoning (discussed above), the Court’s holding

in Christiansburg plainly is not limited to federal

courts.

This is not a situation in which a decision of this

Court does not bind a state court. Specifically, the

* This Court did not decide until 1990 that state and federal

courts have concurrent jurisdiction over Title VII actions. Yellow

Freight System, Inc. v. Donnelly, 494 U.S. 820, 823-826 (1990).

In Donnelly, this Court noted that at the time of its decision,

four federal courts of appeals had held that federal courts have

exclusive jurisdiction over Title VII actions, and that, in 1980,

the EEOC likewise had taken the position in this Court that

federal courts have exclusive jurisdiction over Title VII actions.

Id. at 822 n.2.

18

decisions in Christiansburg and Hughes do not inter-

pret a federal statute that applies only in the federal

courts. Cf. Johnson v. Fankell, 520 U.S. 911, 916

(1997). Nor do Christiansburg and Hughes rest on

this Court’s supervisory power over the lower federal

courts. See generally Sanchez-Llamas v. Oregon, 548

U.S. 331, 345, 346 (2006).

Rather, Christiansburg Garment and Hughes rest

on this Court’s conclusion that the “frivolous, unrea-

sonable, or without foundation” standard for fee

awards to prevailing defendants reflects the “correct”

interpretation of Title VII’s fee-shifting provision and

§ 1988. Christiansburg, 434 U.S. at 421 (emphasis

added); see also Hughes, 449 U.S. at 14. The Idaho

Supreme Court was bound by that interpretation.

B. The Idaho Supreme Court’s Decision

Conflicts with Decisions of this Court Es-

tablishing the Supremacy of this Court’s

Interpretation of Federal Statutes.

The Idaho Supreme Court’s decision conflicts

with the many decisions in which this Court has

made clear that state courts must follow this Court’s

interpretation of federal statutes.

The most recent such decision is Nitro-Lift Tech-

nologies, L.L.C. v. Howard, 133 8. Ct. 500 (2012) (per

curiam). There, the Court reviewed a decision of the

Oklahoma Supreme Court declaring two noncompeti-

tion agreements invalid under Oklahoma law. Al-

though those agreements had arbitration clauses, the

19

Oklahoma Supreme Court decided the validity of the

agreements itself, rather than leaving the issue to the

arbitrator. The Oklahoma Supreme Court “chose to

discount” decisions of this Court interpreting the

Federal Arbitration Act (FAA) to require an arbitra-

tor, not a court, to decide the validity of agreements

with valid arbitration clauses. Jd. at 502. The Okla-

homa Supreme Court “acknowledged” this Court’s

decisions, but concluded that “its [own] jurisprudence

controls this issue.’” Jd. at 503 (quoting Oklahoma

Supreme Court’s opinion; bracketed text inserted by

Court in Nitro-Lift).

This Court vacated the Oklahoma Supreme

Court’s judgment. This Court observed that “the

substantive law the [FAA] created [is] applicable in

state and federal courts.” /d. (internal quotation

marks omitted; first bracketed text added; second

bracketed text inserted by Court in Nitro-Lift). The

Court explained that this Court’s decisions interpret-

ing the FAA are, like the FAA itself, equally applica-

ble in and binding on the state courts:

[T]he Ok!ahoma Supreme Court must abide

by the FAA, which is “the supreme Law of

the Land,” U.S. Const., Art. VI, cl. 2, and by

the opinions of this Court interpreting that

law. “It is this Court’s responsibility to say

what a statute means, and once the Court

has spoken, it is the duty of other courts to

respect that understanding of the governing

rule of law.”

20

Nitro-Lift, 133 S. Ct. at 503 (quoting Rivers v. Road-

way Express, Inc., 511 U.S. 298, 312 (1994)).

The reasoning of Nitro-Lift applies equally here.

Section 1988 applies in state courts, like Idaho’s, that

entertain actions under § 1983. See, e.g., Sprague v.

City of Burley, 710 P.2d 566, 577-579 (Idaho 1985)

(reversing summary judgment for police officers in

action asserting excessive-force claim under § 1983).

In state-court actions where § 1988 applies, the state

courts must abide not only by § 1988 but also by this

Court’s decisions interpreting § 1988. Just as the

Oklahoma Supreme Court could not disregard this

Court’s decisions interpreting the FAA, the Idaho

Supreme Court could not ignore this Court’s decisions

in Christiansburg and Hughes.

Nitro-Lift accords with two centuries of prece-

dent. By the same token, the Idaho Supreme Court’s

decision conflicts with that same precedent by erro-

neously treating this Court’s interpretation of a

federal statute as separate from, and of a lower

status than, the statute itself. When this Court

construes a federal statute, that construction reflects

“the true construction” that binds all courts. Elmen-

dorf v. Taylor, 23 U.S. 152, 160 (1825) (per Marshall,

C.J.). State courts have no more discretion to “depart

from that construction, than to depart from the words

of the statute.” Jd. (making this statement with

reference to a court’s departure from the interpreta-

tion of another nation’s laws by the courts of that

nation). To the contrary, this Court’s interpretation

of a federal statute — like a state supreme court's

21

interpretation of a statute of that State — is as bind-

ing “as if written into the statute[]” itself. Hebert v.

Louisiana, 272 U.S. 312, 317 (1926) (making this

statement with reference to state supreme court's

interpretation of state statutes).

A state court cannot disregard this Court’s inter-

pretation of a federal statute just because, in the

state court’s estimation, this Court’s interpretation

“limit[s] the discretion of state courts” in a way that

“is not contained in the statute.” (App. 55). Were

state courts free to do so, they could ignore many

decisions in which this Court has interpreted 42

U.S.C. § 1988 and other federal fee-shifting statutes

to constrain the “discretion” expressly granted in

those statutes. For example, this Court interpreted a

discretionary fee-shifting provision in the Civil

Rights Act of 1964 to hold that a prevailing plaintiff

“should ordinarily recover an attorney’s fee unless

special circumstances would render such an award

unjust.” Newman v. Piggie Park Enterprises, 390 U.S.

400, 402 (1968) (per curiam). State courts cannot

* See also, e.g., United States v. Gilbert Assocs., 345 U.S.

361, 363 n.23 (1953) (“The Supreme Court of New Hampshire

freely concedes * * * , as it must, that the meaning of a federal

statute is for this Court to decide.”); South Carolina v. Bailey,

289 U.S. 412, 420 (1933) (“[I}t was the duty of [the state court) to

administer the law prescribed by the Constitution and statute of

the United States, as construed by this Court.”); Provident Inst.

for Savings v. Massachusetts, 73 U.S. 611, 628, 629 (1867)

(“[Tjhe decisions of this court in cases involving Federal ques-

tions are conclusive authorities in the State courts * * * .”).

22

ignore this interpretation — which “vindicate(s) a

policy that Congress considered of the highest priori-

ty,” id. — even though it constrains their discretion

and the Court did not tie its interpretation to explicit

statutory text. State courts have no more discretion

to ignore this Court’s decisions interpreting § 1988

and other fee-shifting statutes than they do to ignore

this Court’s decisions interpreting § 1983 and other

rights-protecting statutes. Cf Howlett v. Rose, 496

U.S. 356, 376 (1990) (“[S]ince th[is) Court has held

that municipal corporations and similar governmen-

tal entities are ‘persons,’ a state court entertaining a

§ 1983 action must adhere to that interpretation.”)

(citations omitted).

Most fundamentally, the Idaho Supreme Court’s

decision conflicts with decisions of this Court estab-

lishing its power to review state court decisions that

rest on federal law. Those decisions include Martin v.

Hunter’s Lessee, 14 U.S. (1 Wheat.) 304 (1816), in

which the Court held that its appellate jurisdiction

under Article II], §2, clause 2, extends to cases

decided by state courts. 14 U.S. at 351. The Court

based this holding partly on its view of one of the

motives that induced the Constitution’s grant of

appellate jurisdiction over the state courts’ decisions:

That motive is the importance, and even ne-

cessity of uniformity of decisions throughout

the whole United States, upon all subject

within the purview of the Constitution.

Judges * * * in different states, might differ-

ently interpret a statute, or a treaty of the

23

United States, or even the constitution itself:

If there were no revising authority to control

these jarring 2nd discordant judgments, and

harmonize them into uniformity, the laws,

the treaties, and the constitution of the

United States would be different in different

states * * * . The public mischiefs that would

attend such a state of things would be truly

deplorable; and it cannot be believed that

they could have escaped the enlightened

convention which formed the constitution.

Id. at 347, 348 (emphasis in original).

This Court could not achieve the uniform inter-

pretation of federal statutes if its decisions interpret-

ing those statutes did not bind state courts. By

refusing to be bound by this Court’s decisions in

Christiansburg and Hughes, the Idaho Supreme

Court denied the premise of Martin v. Hunter’s Lessee

and this Court’s tradition of reviewing, and correct-

ing, state court decisions interpreting federal stat-

utes.’

" See, e.g., Air Wisconsin Airlines Corp. v. Hoeper, 134 S. Ct.

852 (2014) (reversing Colorado Supreme Court decision inter-

preting federal Aviation and Transportation Security Act);

Adoptive Couple v. Baby Girl, 133 S. Ct. 2552 (2013) (reversing

South Carolina Supreme Court decision interpreting federal

Indian Child Welfare Act); Norfolk S. Ry. Co. v. Sorrell, 549 U.S.

158 (2007) (vacating and remanding Missouri Court of Appeals

decision interpreting Federal Employers’ Liability Act).

24

Ii. The Idaho Supreme Court’s Decision Con-

flicts with Decisions of Other Lower

Courts.

A. The Idaho Supreme Court’s Decision

Conflicts with Decisions of Other

State Supreme Courts That Follow

Hughes v. Rowe and Christiansburg

Garment Co. v. EEOC.

In DeNardo v. Municipality of Anchorage, 775

P.2d 515 (Alaska 1989), the Alaska Supreme Court

recognized its obligation to follow Hughes v. Rowe and

Christiansburg Garment Co. v. EEOC when it denied

a defendants request for attorney fees under § 1988.

The Alaska court recognized that, while the statute

did not speak explicitly to the propriety of awarding

attorney fees to prevailing defendants, there was

little doubt as to congressional intent:

[Plaintiffs] should not be deterred from

bringing good faith actions to vindicate the

fundamental rights here involved by the pro-

spect of having to pay their opponent’s coun-

sel fees should they lose. Such a party, if

a»successful, could be assessed his oppo-

nent’s fee only when it is shown that his suit

was clearly frivolous, vexatious, or brought

for harassment purposes. S.Rep. No. 1011,

94th Cong., 2nd Sess. 4 (1976) (citations

omitted), reprinted in 1976 U.S. Code Cong.

& Admin. News at 5912.

DeNardo, 775 P.2d at 518 (internal quotation marks

omitted). The Alaska court further noted that:

25

“(t]he United States Supreme Court has en-

forced this intent, holding that a civil rights

defendant may recover attorneys fees from

the plaintiff only if the court finds ‘that the

plaintiff’s action was frivolous, unreasonable

or without foundation, even though not

brought in subjective bad faith.’” Hughes v.

Rowe, 449 U.S. 5, 15, 101 S.Ct. 173, 178, 66

L.Ed.2d 163, 172 (1980) (quoting Christians-

burg Garment Co. v. EEOC, 434 U.S. 412,

422, 98 S.Ct. 694, 700, 54 L.Ed.2d 648, 657

(1978)).

DeNardo, 775 P.2d at 518.

DeNardo is consistent with virtually every other

state appellate court where a reported decision can be

found. See, e.g., Johnson v. City of Mobile, __ So. 3d

__, 2015 WL 5725089, at *16-*17 (Ala. Sept. 30,

2015) (applying Christiansburg to fee request under

Title VII by prevailing defendant); Est. of Bohn v.

Scott, 915 P.2d 1239, 1249 (Ariz. App. 1st Div. 1996)

(applying Christiansburg to fee request by prevailing

defendant in ADA case); California Correctional Peace

Officers Assn. v. Virga, 181 Cal. App. 4th 30, 38

n.7 (Cal. App. ist Dist. 2010) (dicta stating that

Christiansburg applies to fee request by prevailing

defendants under § 1988); State v. Golden’s Concrete

Co., 962 P.2d 919, 926, 927 (Colo. 1998) (holding that

Hughes applied to fee request by prevailing defendant

under § 1988); Singhaviroj v. Bd. of Educ. of Town of

Fairfield, 17 A.3d 1013, 1022-1025 (Conn. 2011)

(applying Christiansburg and Hughes to fee request

under § 1988 by prevailing defendants); Alley v.

26

Taylor, 2001 Del. Super. LEXIS 119 (Del. Super. Ct.

Mar. 30, 2001) (same); Moran v. City of Lakeland, 694

So. 2d 886, 887 (Fla. 2d Dist. App. 1997) (in analyzing

prevailing defendant’s fee request under § 1988,

citing Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424, 429 n.2

(1983), which cited Christiansburg); LaBarre uv.

Payne, 329 S.E.2d 533, 535, 536 (Ga. App. 1985)

(applying Hughes to fee request under § 1988 by

prevailing defendant); Peraica v. Riverside-Brookfield

High Sch. Dist. No. 208, 999 N.E.2d 399, 409 (Il.

App. 1st Dist. 2013) (same); Davidson v. Boone Cty.,

745 N.E.2d 895, 898 n.4, 899 n.6 (Ind. Ct. App. 2001)

(apparently using Christiansburg standard to fee

request under § 1988 by prevailing defendant);

Chenevert v. Hilton, 978 So. 2d 1078, 1086 (La. App.

3d Cir. 2008) (applying Christiansburg to fee request

under § 1988 by prevailing defendants); State v.

Maine State Troopers Ass’n, 491 A.2d 538, 544 (Me.

1985) (in analyzing prevailing defendant’s fee request

under § 1988, citing Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 US.

424, 429 n.2 (1983), which cited Christiansburg);

Simonian v. Town of Hull, 1993 Mass. Super. LEXIS

17 (Mass. Super. Ct. 1993) (applying Hughes to fee

request under § i988 by prevailing defendant); Var-

ney uv. O’Brien, 383 N.W.2d 213, 216, 217 (Mich. App.

1985) (in analyzing prevailing defendants’ fee request

under § 1988, citing Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S.

424, 429 n.2 (1983), which cited Christiansburg),

remanded on other grounds sub nom. Varney v.

Genesee County Sheriff, 393 N.W.2d 1 (Mich. 1986);

Revering v. Ackerson, 1995 WL 130618, at *2 (Minn.

App. 1995) (applying Hughes and Christiansburg to

27

fee request under § 1988 by prevailing defendants);

Bankston v. Pass Rd. Tire Ctr., Inc., 611 So. 2d 998,

1010 (Miss. 1992) (applying Christiansburg to fee

request under §1988 by prevailing defendants);

Shepherd v. Carbon County Bd. of Comm’rs, 46 P.3d

634, 638 (Mont. 2002) (applying Hughes to fee request

by defendant who prevailed on § 1983 claim); Cuzze v.

Univ. & Cmty. Coll. Sys., 172 P.3d 131, 136 & n.17

(Nev. 2007) (applying Hughes in reviewing request

under § 1988 by prevailing defendants); Studio 45

Discotheque, Inc. v. City of Union, 2008 WL 583795,

at *7-*8 (N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div. Mar. 5, 2008)

(same); Shields v. Carbone, 952 N.Y.S.2d 649, 651

(N.Y. App. Div. 2012) (applying Christiansburg to fee

request under §1988 by prevailing defendants);

Rubio v. Carlsbad Mun. Sch. Dist., 744 P.2d 919, 923,

924 (N.M. App. 1987) (applying Christiansburg to fee

request under § 1988 by prevailing defendants);

Miller v. Henderson, 322 S.E.2d 594, 598 (N.C. Ct.

App. 1984) (same); Lucas v. Riverside Park Condo.

Unit Owners Ass’n, 776 N.W.2d 801, 813 (N.D. 2009)

(applying Christiansburg standard to fee request

under federal Fair Housing Act’s fee-shifting provi-

sion); Shuba v. Austintown Bd. of Educ., 1985 WL

10371, at *20 (Ohio Ct. App. 1985) (applying Chris-

tiansburg to fee request under § 1988, when both

parties agreed to its applicability); Oklahoma Person-

nel Serv. v. Alternate Staffing, Inc., 817 P.2d 1265,

1267 (Okla. 1991) (applying Christiansburg to fee

request by prevailing defendant on Title VII claim);

Park v. Dept. of Corrections, 307 P.3d 503, 508-510 &

n.3 (Or. Ct. App. 2013) (applying Christiansburg to

28

fee request by prevailing defendant on Title VII

claim, while noting, “We apply federal substantive

law to federal claims brought in state court.”); Mc-

Carthy v. Oregon Freeze Dry, Inc., 327 Ore. 185, 189,

190 n.3, 957 P.2d 1200 (Ore. 1998); Bitgood v. Allstate

Ins. Co., 481 A.2d 1001, 1008 (R.I. 1984) (dicta stating

Christiansburg governed fee request by prevailing

defendant on § 1983 claim); City of Waco v. Hester,

805 S.W.2d 807, 817 (Tex. Ct. App. 1990) (applying

Christiansburg to fee request under § 1988 by pre-

vailing defendant); Gardner v. Bd. of County Comm’rs

of Wasatch County, 178 P.3d 893, 906 (Utah 2008)

(same); Washington State Republican Party v. Wash-

ington State Pub. Disclosure Comman., 4 P.3d 808, 832

(Wash. 2000) (same); Dowd v. City of New Richmond,

405 N.W.2d 66, 78 (Wis. 1987) (same).”

B. The Idaho Supreme Court’s Decision

Conflicts with Decisions of Other State

Supreme Courts That Recognize the

Supremacy of this Court’s Decisions

Interpreting Federal Statutes.

The fundamental concept that state courts are

bound by United State Supreme Court decisions

construing federal law is plainly followed in virtually

all states. The Idaho Supreme Court’s statement that

it is not bound to follow this Court’s interpretation of

* Petitioners’ research has not identified a single state court

that refused to follow and apply the federal standard for an

award of attorney fees under § 1988.

29

a federal statute conflicts with the vast majority of

states who hold otherwise. See, e.g., Haywood uv.

Alexander, 121 So. 3d 972, 981 (Ala. 2013); Gates v.

Discovery Commce’ns, Inc., 34 Cal. 4th 679, 692, 101

P.3d 552, 560 (Cal. 2004); M.S. v. People, 2013 CO 35,

303 P.3d 102, 106 (Colo. 2013); Grp. Dekko Servs. LLC

v. Miller, 717 N.E.2d 967, 969 (Ind. Ct. App. 1999);

Littlefield v. State, 480 A.2d 731, 737 (Me. 1984);

Riley v. Gibson, 338 S.W.3d 230, 235 (Ky. 2011);

Commonwealth v. Pon, 469 Mass. 296, 308, 14 N.E.3d

182, 194 (Mass. 2014); Afzali v. State, 326 P.3d 1, 3

(Nev. 2014); State v. Coleman, 214 A.2d 393, 402 (N.J.

1965); Flanagan v. Prudential-Bache Sec., Inc., 495

N.E.2d 345, 348 (N.Y. 1986); Shaw v. PACC Health

Plan, Inc., 908 P.2d 308, 314 n.8 (Or. 1995); Barstow

v. State, 742 S.W.2d 495, 501 n.2 (Tex. App. 1987);

People v. Gillam, 479 Mich. 253, 261, 734 N.W.2d 585,

590 (Mich. 2007); In re Fifth Third Bank, Nat. Ass’n,

216 N.C. App. 482, 488, 716 S.E.2d 850, 855 (N.C.

2011); Commonwealth v. Tedford, 598 Pa. 639, 664,

960 A.2d 1, 15 (Pa. 2008); Jaynes v. Commonwealth,

276 Va. 443, 458, 666 S.E.2d 303, 311 (Va. 2008);

Youngbluth v. Youngbluth, 2010 VT 40, 4 16, 188 Vt.

53, 65, 6 A.3d 677, 684, 685 (Vt. 2010); State v. Rad-

cliffe, 164 Wash. 2d 900, 906, 194 P.3d 250, 253

(Wash. 2008); State v. Mechte!. 499 N.W.2d 662, 666

(Wis. 1993).

30

Ill. The Question Presented Has Surpassing

Importance for the Uniform Enforcement

of Federal Rights in State Courts.

In private actions to enforce federal rights, “the

circumstances under which attorneys’ fees are to be

awarded and the range of discretion of the courts in

making those awards are matters for Congress to

determine.” Alyeska Pipeline Serv. Co., Inc. v. Wilder-

ness Society, et al., 421 U.S. 240, 262 (1975). This

Court, in turn, has often granted certiorari to ensure

that the federal statutes authorizing such fees are

applied uniformly and consistently with Congress’s

intent.” The decision below threatens this Court’s

ability to fulfill that function.

The threat stems from the Idaho court’s view

that a decision of this Court interpreting a federal

statute cannot bind a state court if it imposes a

limitation on the state court’s discretion that is not in

the text of the statute. On this view, for example, a

state court could award fees against a § 1983 plaintiff

under circumstances that would not justify a fee

award in federal court. Indeed, that is what happened

here, as discussed in Part IV.B, infra. Likewise, a

state court could be less generous than federal courts

to plaintiffs seeking fees under the discretionary fee-

shifting provisions of Title VII and other statutes

* See, e.g., Octane Fitness, LLC v. ICON Health & Fitness,

Inc., 134 S. Ct. 1749 (2014); Sebelius v. Cloer, 133 S. Ct. 1886

(2013); Lefemine v. Wiedman, 133 S. Ct. 9 (2012); Fox v. Vice, 563

U.S. 826 (2011); Astrue v. Ratliff, 560 U.S. 586 (2010).

31

protecting federal rights.” State courts could thereby

effectively shut their doors to all but unwitting plain-

tiffs asserting federal rights.

The decision below poses risks to defendants, as

well as plaintiffs, in state-court actions to enforce

federal rights. That is because the decision below

allows state courts to be more, as well as less, gener-

ous to plaintiffs than the federal courts would be in

awarding fees under § 1988 and similar federal fee-

shifting statutes. For example, this Court has held

that only in “rare and exceptional circumstances” can

a court consider superior attorney performance when

awarding a plaintiff fees under § 1988. Perdue uv.

Kenny A. ex rel. Winn, 559 U.S. 542, 554 (2010). But

since that “limitation” is “not contained in” the text of

§ 1988 (App. 55), the decision below would allow a

state court to ignore it by routinely enhancing fee

awards to plaintiffs under § 1988 for their attorneys’

superior performance.

In short, the decision below has great importance

because it deters plaintiffs from enforcing federal

rights in state courts. Perhaps its chief importance

lies in its threat to this Court’s ability to ensure that

federal fee-shifting statutes are applied correctly and

* See, eg., 20 U.S.C. § 1415(iX3XB) (discretionary fee-

shifting provision in Individuals with Disabilities Education

Act); 29 U.S.C. § 794a(b) (similar provision in Rehabilitation

Act); 42 U.S.C. § 3613(cX2) (similar provision in Fair Housing

Amendments Act of 1988); 42 U.S.C. § 12205 (similar provision

in Americans with Disabilities Act).

32

uniformly in the state courts as well as the federal

courts. That ability has surpassing importance given

the essential role that state courts play in enforcing

federal rights. Burt v. Titlow, 134 S. Ct. 10, 15 (2013).

IV. This Case Is An Appropriate Vehicle for

Review of the Question Presented.

This is an appropriate case, and this is an appro-

priate time, for the Court to review the question

presented. The question presented was properly

presented and passed upon below. The Idaho Su-

preme Court’s erroneous ruling on that question was

outcome-determinative. Finally, although the Idaho

Supreme Court’s error is obvious, its very obviousness

begs correction, coming, as it does, in an action to

enforce federal rights, and at a time of some disturb-

ing instances of state-level defiance of federal-law

supremacy.

A. The Question Presented Was Pressed

and Passed Upon Below.

In seeking fees against petitioner on her § 1983

claim, respondents acknowledged that they had to

satisfy the standard this Court established in Chris-

tiansburg and Hughes. (App. 136). The Idaho Su-

preme Court sua sponte determined that it was not

bound by that standard. (App. 55). The court thereby

injected into this case the question presented in this

petition. Petitioner had no opportunity to address

that question before its petition for rehearing. Under

33

those circumstances, petitioner timely raised the

federal question in the courts below. See, e.g., Stop

the Beach Renourishment, Inc. v. Fla. Dept. of Env.

Protection, 560 U.S. 702, 712 n.4 (2010).

Petitioner could not have foreseen that the Idaho

Supreme Court would deny the binding effect of

Christiansburg and Hughes. Indeed, in two earlier

cases, the Idaho Supreme Court applied the federal

standard in denying attorney’s fees to a prevailing

defendant under 42 U.S.C. § 1988. Nation v. State,

Dept. of Correction, 158 P.3d 953, 969 (Idaho 2007);

Karr v. Bermeosolo, 129 P.3d 88, 93 (Idaho 2005)." In

no prior decision had the Idaho Supreme Court said

or implied that the Christiansburg/Hughes standard

was not binding on it. Cf. Herndon v. Georgia, 295

U.S. 441, 442-446 (1935). It is therefore no surprise

that not even respondents questioned the applicabil-

ity of the Christiansburg/Hughes standard.

Because petitioner timely sought rehearing of the

Idaho Supreme Court’s surprising decision on the

question presented, that question is properly present-

ed to this Court. See Stephen M. Shapiro, et al.,

Supreme Curt Practice 195 (10th ed. 2013).”

" Petitioner cited and discussed these two prior Idaho Su-

preme Court cases in her rehearing petition. (App. 143, 144).

* Review by this Court is not barred by lack of finality. The

Idaho Supreme Court entered a separate order setting the

amount of attorney's fees payable by petitioner under § 1988

shortly after issuing its opinion affirming the dismissal of her

(Continued on following page)

34

B. The Idaho Supreme Court’s Ruling on

the Question Presented Was Outcome-

Determinative.

The Idaho Supreme Court’s decision on the

question presented affected the outcome. The Idaho

court would not have awarded fees against petitioner

under § 1988 if it had analyzed the respondents’

request for fees under the Christiansburg/Hughes

standard. Indeed, the Idaho court’s own opinion

proves the point. The court obviously believed that

the standard mattered. Otherwise, why would it go

out of its way — without benefit of briefing or argu-

ment — expressly to deny the applicability of that

standard?

Moreover, while petitioner does not seek further

review of the Idaho court’s conclusion that her exces-

sive-force claim was barred by qualified immunity,

petitioner must highlight weaknesses in the court’s

qualified-immunity analysis, to show that no reason-

able court could have found petitioner’s excessive-

force claim “meritless in the Christiansburg sense.”

Hughes, 449 U.S. at 15.

The Idaho Supreme Court’s qualified-immunity

analysis rested on three Ninth Circuit cases involving

excessive-force claims arising from police dog attacks.

(App. 12-34). The Idaho court thought these cases

“clear[ly]” established a defense of qualified immunity

claims and finding her eligible for those fees. (App. 131, 132);

cf. Radio Station WOW v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120, 127 (1945).

35

in this case, even if “there was some significant

factual difference” between this case and Watkins v.

City of Oakland, 145 F.3d 1087 (9th Cir. 1998), the

Ninth Circuit case that was “most similar” to this

case. (App. 34). The Idaho court also believed that

at the time of the dog attack on petitioner in 2010,

“there [was] no clearly established controlling author-

ity” holding “that the use of a police dog to bite and

hold a suspect constitutes excessive force.” (App. 20).

This analysis has several defects. First, the Idaho

court assumed that the merits of an excessive-force

claim under § 1983 depends on whether the existence

of a qualified-immunity defense is clear in hindsight.

But that assumption is dubious. It implies that under

§ 1988 a court can award fees even against a § 1983

plaintiff who proves a constitutional violation, if the

violation was far from clear under established law.

Such awards, however, would punish a plaintiff for

asserting a meritorious (though novel) constitutional

claim, and would thus “distort” the litigation of

constitutional rights in a way that Congress could not

have intended. Cf. Christiansburg, 434 U.S. at 419.

Furthermore, the idaho court erred in relying on

the supposed absence of precedent holding “that the

use of a police dog to bite 1 hold a suspect consti-

tutes excessive force.” (A; 20). For one thing, it is

easy to imagine situations where the use of a police

dog to bite and hold a suspect — a suspected jaywalk-

er, for example — would violate clearly established law

even without precedent so holding. Cf. United States

v. Lanier, 520 U.S. 259, 271 (1997). In any event, the

36

Idaho court misunderstood the precedent. At the time

of the dog attack in the present case, the Ninth

Circuit had held that the use of a police dog to subdue

a suspect can constitute constitutionally excessive

force. See Smith v. City of Hemet, 394 F.3d 689, 700-

704 (9th Cir. 2005) (en banc), cert. denied, 545 U.S.

1128 (2005) (reversing summary judgment against

plaintiff on his claim that use of police dog involved

excessive force).

If the Idaho Supreme Court had properly applied

the Christiansburg/Hughes standard — and had

properly applied it to petitioner’s claim, as distin-

guished from respondents’ defense — the court could

not reasonably have awarded fees against petitioner.

That is so because of the evidence discussed in Jus-

tice Jones’ concurrence. (App. 57-63). That evidence

came from petitioner’s expert, who had extensive

education and experience in law enforcement, includ-

ing as a canine instructor and supervisor. As Justice

Jones explained, the expert’s evidence created triable

issues of whether the police had probable cause to

believe petitioner was a burglar, and, even if so,

whether their use of the police dog to bite and hold

her was excessive under the circumstances. (App. 58,

59).

In short, the question presented not only has

broad importance but also was dispositive in this

case.

37

C. The Question Presented Concerns the

Supremacy of this Court’s Decisions in

the Fundamentally Important and

Timely Context of the Enforcement of

Federal Civil Rights.

At first blush, the Idaho Supreme Court’s error

may seem so obvious as not to warrant further re-

view. But its very obviousness warrants correction

considering the context in which it occurs.

First, the state court’s refusal to be bound by

decisions of this Court occurs in the context of a

§ 1983 action to enforce federal civil rights. As this

Court said of § 1983’s precursor, “[a] major factor

motivating the expansion of federal jurisdiction

through §§ 1 and 2 of the [Civil Rights Act of 1871]

was the belief of the 1871 Congress that the state

authorities had been unable or unwilling to protect

the constitutional rights of individuals or to punish

those who violated these rights.” Patsy v. Bd. of

Regents of Florida, 457 U.S. 496, 505 (1982). The

unable or unwilling state authorities included “local

courts.” Id. (quoting legislative history). Under the

Idaho Supreme Court’s decision, however, state courts

would have discretion to treat § 1983 plaintiffs less

hospitably than their counterparts in federal court,

by awarding attorney's fees against them under

circumstances that would not trigger an award in

federal court. This inhospitable treatment of plain-

tiffs asserting federal rights presents precisely the

situation that Congress enacted § 1983’s precursor to

mitigate. See Patsy, 457 U.S. at 503, 506. Because

38

this case involves state-court adherence to this

Court’s decisions concerning the enforcement of

federal rights, it is an auspicious case for review of

the question presented.

This is also an auspicious time for review. Re-

cently there have been several disturbing instances

of state-level resistance to this Court’s decision in

Obergefell v. Hodges, 135 S.Ct. 2584 (2015). They

include a state supreme court justice’s declaration

that state court judges are not bound by decisions of

this Court that misinterpret the U.S. Constitution.”

The incidents also include the continued refusal of

many county officials to obey Obergefell.'* While

public debate is healthy, the outright refusal by state

and local officials to abide by this Court’s decisions

interpreting federal law corrodes federal-law suprem-

acy.

* Charles J. Dean, Moore: Gay marriage ‘not in accordance

with the Constitution’ (Mobile, AL), Press-Register, July 1, 2015,

at Al0.

‘ Ballotpedia, Local government responses to Obergefell v.

Hodges (Oct. 2, 2015):

As of October 2, 2015, Ballotpedia found 99.90 percent

of the U.S. population lived in a county where same-

sex marriage licenses are available; 0.10 percent lived

in counties where licenses were not being issued or

their status was unknown. Alabama had the highest

state population without access to same-sex licenses,

with 5.78 percent of its residents living in counties

known to be refusing to issue licenses at that time.

39

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted. Petitioner suggests that summary disposi-

tion may be appropriate.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN A. BUSH

Counsel of Record

199 N. Capitol Blvd., Suite 500

Boise, ID 83701

(208) 344-7700

jabush@comstockbush.com

RICHARD H. SEAMON

1297 Highland Dr.

Moscow, ID 83843

October 15, 2015

App. 1

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE STATE OF IDAHO

Docket No. 42053-2014

MELENE JAMES, ) Boise, April

Plaintiff-Appellant, =) 7015 Term

= ) 2015 Opinion No. 49

CITY OF BOISE, a ) Filed: May 21, 2015

political subdivision of ) Stephen W. Kenyon,

the State of Idaho; ) Clerk

STEVEN BONAS, )

STEVEN BUTLER, )

and TIM KUKLA, )

Defendants-Respondents. ‘

Appeal from the District Court of the Fourth Ju-

dicial District of the State of Idaho, in and for

Ada County. Hon. Steven J. Hippler, District

Judge.

The judgment of the district court is affirmed.

John A. Bush, Comstock & Bush, Boise, argued

for appellant.

Kelly K. Fleming, Assistant City Attorney, Boise,

argued for respondents.

EISMANN, Justice.

This is an appeal from a judgment dismissing

the plaintiff’s claims seeking to recover damages

App. 2

resulting from being bitten by a police dog when she

was mistaken for a burglar. We affirm the judgment

of the district court.

I.

Factual Background.

On Sunday, December 26, 2010, at about 5:22

p.m., a citizen made a 911 telephone call to report a

breaking and entering at a dental office in Boise. The

citizen told the operator that he was at his family’s

house and heard glass breaking at the dental office

across the street. When he went to investigate, he

saw a woman about halfway through a window. He

stated: “I talked to the lady, and she’s trying to get

her keys out of the building. She looks like she’s, uh,

under the influence of either drugs or major alcohol

or something.” When asked how the woman broke in,

the citizen stated that he heard breaking glass, he

was across the street, and she was halfway through

the glass. He then said, “She’s really lethargic, and I

think she’s probably under the influence of some alc-

er, uh, some drugs.” Later in the conversation, he

said: “I asked her if she’s okay, and she kinda looked

at me kinda crazy, and she’s not like really anger [sic]

or anything, but she’s like totally out of it. She’s

saying she’s trying to get her keys out of there.” The

operator asked if the woman was still in the building,

and the citizen answered: “I believe so, yes. She’s

kind of in the down basement part, and if she was to

come back out, I would be able to see her.” At about

App. 3

5:25 p.m., Boise police officers were dispatched to the

location of the dental office.

The first to arrive was Officer Butler, who ar-

rived at the scene at about 5:30 p.m. The building

was a single story office building with a basement.

The basement had windows to the outside and long

window wells, each of which served multiple base-

ment windows. There were wrought iron railings to

keep people from falling into the window wells.

Officer Butler met with the citizen, who was

standing on the north side of the building. He re-

ported that he had seen a woman break the window

and enter the building and that he believed she was

still in the downstairs part of the building. The officer

walked to the northeast corner of the building to a

point where he could see that a north-facing base-

ment window had been broken out. He then relayed

that information to the other responding officers.

As Officer Butler was looking for suspects, he

saw a woman through an east-facing basement win-

dow at the northeast corner of the building. She was

standing with her right side toward the window, and

she had a large can of a malt liquor beverage in her

left hand and what appeared to be a knife with a 4-5

inch blade in her right hand. She appeared to be rum-

maging through things on a workbench or table.’ He

‘ In his report, Officer Butler wrote that the woman was

“holding a Steele Reserve Malt liquor can in her left hand and

manipulating several sharp dental instruments including a

(Continued on following page)

App. 4

observed her briefly, and she then walked out of view.

The entire building was dark except the room in

which he had seen her standing.

Officer Barber and Sergeant Kukla arrived a few

minutes after Officer Butler. Officer Butler told them

what he had seen, that the suspect was still in the

building, and that she was armed with some kind of

an edged weapon. After additional officers arrived,

they established a perimeter around the building.

Officer Barber telephoned one of the dentists who

owned the building. The dentist came to the scene,

and Officer Barber heard him state that no one

should be in the building, especially no one who

entered by breaking a window. The cleaning lady also

came to the scene, and she told Officer Barber that

a woman worked in the building. When she began

to describe the woman, the dentist reiterated that

knife in her right hand.” The Plaintiff testified that she did not

have knives that she used or sharp instruments that look like

knives. The citizen who called 911 testified in his deposition that

he walked over to the window with Officer Butler when he ar-

rived and he stood by Officer Butler at the window ten or fifteen

seconds. During that time, the citizen stated that the woman

was simply standing there drinking from a 24-ounce can of beer,

that there was other beer on the countertop, and that he did not

see anything else in her hands. The citizen said that he then

walked away from the window because other officers were ar-

riving and one had come up to Officer Butler. The citizen stated

that he stood in the parking lot for about two minutes and then

walked back to his grandfather’s house.

App. 5

anyone who had to break into the building was not

supposed to be there, so the conversation ended.

At about 5:40 p.m., Sergeant Kukla requested a

patrol canine. Officer Bonas, a police officer who was

a canine handler, was told of that request when he

came on duty at 6:00 p.m. He was informed that there

was a request for a patrol canine for a burglary in

progress at a dental office. He arrived at the dental

office at about 6:10 p.m. and spoke with Officers

Barber and Butler and Sergeant Kukla. Lieutenant

Schoenborn was also there. Officer Bonas was in-

formed that a witness had seen a woman force entry

into the dental office by shattering a downstairs

window. Officer Butler stated that he had seen the

woman through a window and that she was armed

with a knife. Sergeant Kukla and Officer Barber

stated that the owner of the business was there and

informed them that no one should be inside the

building. Officer Bonas went to the northeast corner

of the building and saw the broken window. He also

observed that the entire upstairs and the majority of

the downstairs were dark. He then decided that the

use of a police dog was reasonable and necessary and

the safest way to search for the suspect in the build-

ing.

Officer Bonas made the initial decision to use a

police dog to find the suspect or suspects in the build-

ing. The factors he considered were: that the crime

involved was burglary, a felony; burglaries at other

local dental offices had occurred that month; one

suspect had been seen armed with a knife; dental

App. 6

offices contain nontraditional weapons; the suspect(s)

would have the tactical advantage of concealment and

could be lying in wait in the dark; Officer Butler had

used the public address system in a police car to

announce to the suspect inside the building that they

were police officers, that if the suspect did not sur-

render they would use a police dog, and that they

may be bitten;’ and that using a police dog would

be safer than having officers search the building,

because the officers would have their guns drawn,

increasing the danger to all parties involved. Lieu-

tenant Schoenborn, as watch commander, discussed

* Officer Bonas testified that Officer Butler used the public

address system in a patrol car to make the announcement before

the entry team walked up to the front door of the building.

Officer Butler testified that he made the announcement from his

patrol car and that he thought he did so at least ten minutes

before the dog entered the building. Officer Barber testified that

he moved his patrol car from where he had initially parked it so

that the public address system in the car could be used to make

an announcement, but he did not specifically recall whether

the announcement was made. Officer Harr testified that she

thought Officer Butler made an announcement using the public

address system of his patrol car prior to entry into the building.

The citizen who called 911 testified that he did not hear any an-

nouncements from his grandfather’s house, which was apparently

across the street, but his grandfather had installed very expen-

sive windows to decrease the sound because he lived on a very

busy street. He testified that he could hear sirens inside his

grandfather’s house, but there was no evidence that the decibel

rating of the patrol car’s public address system was comparable

to the decibel rating of a siren, which is required to be “a decibel

rating of at least one hundred (100) at a distance of ten (10)

feet.” I.C. § 49-623(3).

App. 7

the use of the dog with Sergeant Kukla, and then

authorized Officer Bonas to deploy the dog.

Officer Bonas then took the dog out of his car and

proceeded to the front door of the building, accompa-

nied by Sergeant Kukla and Officers Barber, Rapp,

Butler, and Harr. Officer Barber unlocked the door

using a key that had been obtained from either the

dentist or the cleaning lady. Officer Bonas announced

in a loud voice through the open door: “Suspect in the

building. Boise Police canine calling out. Surrender. If

you do not surrender — [barking]. Heel. If you do not

surrender a police dog will be sent. When he finds

you, he will bite you. This is your final warning

(barking].” There was no response from inside the

building, so the officers entered and began searching

the ground floor.

After about two minutes, they stopped near the

top of the stairs going to the basement. Officer Bonas

then made a second announcement, stating in a loud

voice: “Attention in the building. Boise Police canine

calling out. Surrender. If you do not surrender, a

police dog will be sent, and when he finds you he will

bite you. This is your final warning.” There was no

response.

They then continued searching the ground floor

part of the building, which took about six minutes.

They again stopped at the top of the stairs going to

* Officer Bonas had an audio recording device on his person.

App. 8

the basement. Officer Bonas made a third announce-

ment, stating in a loud voice: “Suspect downstairs.

Boise Police canine calling out. Surrender. If you do

not surrender. a police dog will be sent. When he

finds you, he wll bite you. This is your final warn-

ing.” There was no response.

Officer Bonas then decided to send the police dog

down the stairs into the basement. He could tell that

there was a light on downstairs and that the sides of

the stairs were walled, not open, so there was a blind

corner at the bottom of the stairs. He released the

dog from his leash, and the dog went down the stairs.

The officers remained at the top of the stairs. After

a while, the dog began barking, indicating that he

smelled the odor of a human. Because the human

odor could be carried by air movement up a wall,

across the ceiling, and down on the other side of a

room, locating the odor would not mean that the

person was located. Officer Bonas then gave the dog a

command to bite, which would cause the dog to use

his eyes and ears to find a person. After a few sec-

onds, Officer Bonas heard a female screaming from

the basement.

He headed down the stairs with the other officers

following him. At the bottom of the stairs he turned to

the left and saw a bathroom door that was open about

seven or eight inches. The screams were coming from

the bathroom, and he could see a human torso and

the police dog inside the bathroom. The bathroom

door then closed. Officer Rapp, who had a shield that

he could use for protection, pushed the door open. The

App. 9

interior of the bathroom was dark without any light

on, but Officer Bonas could see that the police dog

was biting the woman’s right arm. She was lying on

the floor. He yelled at her to show her hands, but she

did not comply. He then commanded the dog to re-

lease and lie down, and he did. Once the dog released,

Officer Bonas left the bathroom and moved with the

dog to a hallway where he could cover the other

officers.

Officer Harr, a female officer, was behind Officer

Bonas when the bathroom door was opened. She saw

a female lying on the floor. Her pants were pulled

down past her knees, and she was wearing a T-shirt.

Officer Harr helped pull the woman’s pants up. She

described the woman as being “completely out of it.

Intoxicated.” She stated that the woman “was com-

pletely lethargic, just slumped over, like completely

out of it.” After the woman was removed from the

bathroom, Officer Harr, Officer Bonas, and other of-

ficers continued searching the remainder of the base-

ment, but found no other suspects. The woman was

taken first to paramedics who were posted nearby

and then to the hospital. Testing at the hospital re-

vealed that she had a blood alcohol content of 0.27.

The woman was later identified as Melene James, the

Plaintiff.

The basement of the building had been leased to

a man who operated a dental laboratory making

crown bridges. Beginning on January 1, 2010, the

Plaintiff began using a small corner of the lab pursu-

ant to an oral agreement with the man that she

App. 10

would help him as needed in exchange for him per-

mitting her to use the laboratory to make orthodontic

appliances in her own business. The Plaintiff lived in

an apartment located about one-half block from the

dental building. At about 4:00 p.m. on December 26,

2010, a neighbor had called her, told her that a tooth

had fallen out of his denture and that he had an

important meeting the next day, and asked if she

could repair the denture that day. She agreed to do

so. He gave her the denture, and she walked to the

dental building to make the repairs. There was a

cement stairway outside the building providing ac-

cess to the basement. She had a key to the door, and

she walked down those stairs, unlocked the door, and

entered the basement. It took her about 20 to 30

minutes to make the repairs, but she then had to let

the acrylic cure for about 30 minutes. While it was

curing, she walked out the basement door to have a

cigarette. Once she was ready to return to her work,

she realized that the door had locked behind her and

her keys and cell phone were inside the building.

There was a basement window that was sometimes

left unlocked, so she walked up the stairs to where

that window was and climbed over the wrought-iron

railing and down into the window well. As she was

trying to open the window, she accidently broke it.

She had equipment running that could be a fire haz-

ard, and so she decided to crawl through the broken

window. While she was doing so, the citizen ap-

proached and asked if she needed any help. Once

inside the building, she did not telephone the man

who was permitting her to use the basement because

App. 11

she was afraid he would become upset and not allow

her to use the laboratory any more. She opened the

refrigerator to get some water and saw the can of

malt liquor. She decided to drink it in order to calm

down before calling him. She also did not attempt to

contact either of the dentists who owned the build-

ing.‘ She began doing the work to finish repairing the

dentures, and then went to the bathroom. She closed

the door, but may not have latched it. That is the last

thing she remembers. She did not hear the officers,

the announcements to surrender or she would be

bitten by a dog, or the dog barking in the basement

just before it bit her.

On October 4, 2012, the Plaintiff filed this action

against Officers Bonas and Butler, and Sergeants

Kukla and Likes (herein “the Police”) and City of

Boise. Sergeant Likes had not been at the scene and

had no involvement in what occurred, but he was the

patrol supervisor for the four patrol dogs. The Plain-

tiff alleged that the Defendants violated the Idaho

Tort Claims Act by committing the torts of assault,

battery, false arrest, wrongful imprisonment, and in-

tentional infliction of emotional distress and by neg-

ligently failing to train, supervise, and control the

* The Plaintiff testified in her deposition that she did not

know the dentists’ telephone numbers, but she did not testify

that she made any attempt to locate their numbers. Officer

Barber testified in his deposition that he telephoned the dentist

who later arrived at the scene and that he obtained the dentist’s

telephone number from the side of the building.

App. 12

police dog, allowing him to repeatedly bite Plaintiff.

She also alleged a claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, as-

serting that the Defendants violated her rights under

the Fourth, Fifth, and Fourteenth Amendments to the

Constitution of the United States by entering and

searching the laboratory where she worked, by seiz-

ing her, and by using excessive force in arresting her.

The Defendants moved for summary judgment,

and, after the motion was briefed and argued, the dis-

trict court issued a memorandum decision and order

granting the motion. It held that the Defendants were

entitled to qualified immunity with respect to the

federal claims; that pursuant to Idaho Code section 6-

904 they were not liable under the Idaho Tort Claims

Act for the alleged intentional torts; and that the

Plaintiff had failed to present evidence showing a

negligent failure to train, supervise, or control the

police dog. The court entered a judgment dismissing

all of the Plaintiff’s claims with prejudice. She filed a

motion for reconsideration and later a notice of ap-

peal. After briefing and argument on the motion, the

court entered an order denying the motion for recon-

sideration.

Il.

Did the District Court Err in Holding

that the Police Were Entitled to Qualified

Immunity with respect to the Federal Claims?

The Plaintiff sued under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, which

supplies a remedy for the deprivation under color of

App. 13

state law of federally protected rights. By the time

of the hearing on the motion for summary judgment,

the Plaintiff stated that her federal claim was that

the Police unconstitutionally used excessive force by

using a police dog to seize her.

This case was decided by the district court grant-

ing the Defendants’ motion for summary judgment. In

an appeal from a summary judgment, this Court’s

standard of review is the same as the standard used

by the trial court in ruling on a motion for summary

judgment. Infanger v. City of Salmon, 137 Idaho 45,

46-47, 44 P.3d 1100, 1101-02 (2002). All disputed facts

are to be construed liberally in favor of the non-

moving party, and all reasonable inferences that can

be drawn from the record are to be drawn in favor of

the non-moving party. Jd. at 47, 44 P.3d at 1102.

Summary judgment is appropriate if the pleadings,

depositions, and admissions on file, together with the

affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue

as to any material fact and that the moving party is

entitled to a judgment as a matter of law. Id. If the

evidence reveals no disputed issues of material fact,

then only a question of law remains, over which this

Court exercises free review. Id.

The district court granted summary judgment

with respect to the claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 on

the ground that there was no constitutional violation

because, under the circumstances in this case, the use

of a police dog to find and seize the Plaintiff was

objectively reasonable. The court also held that even

if there was a constitutional violation, the Police were

App. 14

entitled to qualified immunity because using a police

dog to find and seize the Plaintiff did not violate a

constitutional right that was clearly established on

the date of this incident.

“Qualified immunity shields federal and state of-

ficials from money damages unless a plaintiff pleads

vacts showing (1) that the official violated a statutory

or constitutional right, and (2) that the right was

‘clearly established’ at the time of the challenged

conauct.” Ashcroft v. al-Kidd, __ U.S. ; , 131

S.Ct. 2074, 2080 (2011). “[Cjourts have discretion to

decide which of the two prongs of qualified-immunity

analysis to tackle first.” Id. Addressing the second

prong first is consistent with the general rule of

avoiding constitutional questions when the case can

be decided on other grounds. Pearson v. Callahan,

555 U.S. 223, 241 (2009). Therefore, we will address

the second prong.

In the district court, the Plaintiff asserted that

“(t]he clearly established right at issue here is a

citizen’s right ‘to be free from excessive use of force

under the facts and circumstances presented in this

case.’” She argued that “no force was necessary be-

cause had the officers evaluated the totality of cir-

cumstances it was highly likely that they would have

discovered who she was and why she was there.” Re-

lying upon our decision in Miller v. Idaho State Pa-

trol, 150 Idaho 856, 252 P.3d 1274 (2011), the district

court held that the Plaintiff defined the clearly estab-

lished law at issue too generally. As we stated in

Miller:

App. 15

The first component of this analysis is

defining the relevant legal rule at stake. The

Court should not define the right too gener-

ally, as doing so would essentially vitiate the

qualified-immunity doctrine. Here, for ex-

ample, it would not be helpful to simply

ask whether police must not execute unrea-

sonable searches or, as Appellants suggest,

whether the police can obtain bodily fluid

from a person reasonably suspected of driv-

ing under the influence. Warrantless blood

draws and voluntary urine samples are sig-

nificantly less intrusive than warrantless

forcible catheterizations. Instead, the ques-

tion should reflect the factual specifics in this

case.

Id. at 865, 252 P.3d at 1283 (citation omitted; empha-

sis added). The district court held that “the inquiry

should be whether a reasonable police officer would

have known as of December of 2010 that it was

unlawful to utilize a police dog to search for and bite

and seize a hidden and potentially armed suspect

during a burglary in progress.” Citing three decisions

from the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, the district

court held that there was no clearly established law

prohibiting the use of a police dog to find and seize a

burglary suspect.

The court first cited Chew v. Gates, 27 F.3d 1432

(9th Cir. 1994), in which, during the early afternoon

on September 4, 1988, a suspect stopped for a traffic

violation fled on foot into a scrapyard, where he hid.

Id. at 1436. Upon discovering that there were three

App. 16

outstanding warrants for the suspect’s arrest, the

officer radioed for assistance. Jd. The police set up a

perimeter around the scrapyard, and a helicopter and

canine units were called to assist in the search. Jd.

About one and one-half hours after the suspect had

fled, a police dog was unleashed into the scrapyard to

find him. Jd. at 1442. About thirty minutes later, the

dog found and bit the suspect, but there was a factual

dispute as to whether the suspect attempted to sur-

render prior to being bitten. Jd. The court of appeals

held that the defendants were entitled to qualified

immunity with respect to the policy authorizing “the

use against all concealed suspects of dogs trained to

search for and apprehend persons by biting and

seizing them.” Jd. at 1446. The court stated:

When the incident that led to the filing

of this lawsuit occurred [September 4, 1988],

the use of police dogs to search for and ap-

prehend fleeing or concealed suspects consti-

tuted neither a new nor a unique policy. The

practice was long-standing, widespread, and

well-known. No decision of which we are

aware intimated that a policy of using dogs

to apprehend concealed suspects, even by bit-

ing and seizing them, was unlawful. At the

time of the incident in question, the only re-

ported case which had considered the con-

stitutionality of such a policy had upheld

that practice. See Robinette v. Barnes, 854

F.2d 909 (6th Cir.1988) (holding that use of

police dog trained to bite a suspect’s arm or

other available limb to apprehend a burglary

App. 17

suspect hiding in a darkened building was

constitutional).

Id. at 1447.

The court next cited Watkins v. City of Oakland,

145 F.3d 1087 (9th Cir. 1998). In Watkins, on Novem-

ber 20, 1993, officers responding to a silent alarm at a

commercial building released a police dog to find and

bite the burglary suspect after announcing twice that

the suspect should give up or the police dog would be

released and the dog would find and bite the suspect.

Id. at 1090. The suspect later sued, and the court of

appeals held that the defendants were entitled to

qualified immunity regarding the use of police dogs to

bite and hold suspects.

Following our prior decision in Chew, we

agree with appellants that Oakland’s “bite

and hold” policy did not violate clearly estab-

lished law concerning the use of excessive

force at the time of the incident. . . . Although

Chew was based on the law as it existed in

September of 1988, there had been no change

in the law that would have alerted [the ca-

nine officer] that his use of a police dog to

search and bite was unconstitutional.

Id. at 1092.

The third case cited by the court was Miller v.

Clark County, 340 F.3d 959 (9th Cir. 2003). In Miller,

during the night of January 21, 2001, an officer used

a police dog to find and bite a suspect who had fled at

night from his parents’ house across their large rural

App. 18

property into some dense, dark, wooded terrain. Jd. at

960-61. The suspect was wanted for the felony of

fleeing from police by driving a car with a wanton or

willful disregard of the lives of others. Jd. at 960. The

court of appeals held that “use of a police dog to bite

and hold Miller until deputies arrived on the scene

less than a minute later was a reasonable seizure

that did not violate Miller’s Fourth Amendment

rights.... Notwithstanding the serious injuries to

Miller, there was no use of excessive force under the

circumstances.” Jd. at 968 (citation omitted).

Based upon these opinions, the district court held

that “there was no clearly established law proscribing

the use of police dogs under circumstances presented

to the officers here.” It therefore held that the Police

were entitled to qualified immunity.

On appeal, the Plaintiff argues that “(t]he district

court was critica of [the Plaintiff] for failing to artic-

ulate a narrowly and clearly defined constitutional

right of which objectively reasonable police officers

would be aware.” According to the Plaintiff, “That, of

course, is a self-defeating proposition for any litigant,

plaintiff or defendant, because it forces the litigant

to guess what the court deems specifically narrow

enough to fit whatever undefined parameter it will

ultimately use.” Thus, she asserts that the clearly

established right at issue should be that she “had the

basic and fundamental right not to be attacked by a

police dog simply because she was mistaken for a

burglar by overzealous police officers.” This formula-

tion of the issue is clearly wrong. It assumes that the

App. 19

Police knew that the Plaintiff was “mistaken for a

burglar.” The circumstances are not to be judged

“with the 20/20 vision of hindsight.” Graham ov.

Connor, 490 U.S. 386, 396 (1989). There is no consti-

tutional right not to be mistaken for a criminal. “The

Constitution does not guarantee that only the guilty

will be arrested.” Baker v. McCollan, 443 U.S. 137,

145 (1979). “The Fourth Amendment is not violated

by an arrest based on probable cause, even though

the wrong person is arrested.” Graham, 490 U.S. at

396.

The issue in this case is the use of a police dog to

find and subdue by biting a suspected burglar in a

dark basement after the suspect failed to respond to

police announcements stating to surrender or a police

dog would be sent that would find and bite him or

her. The clearly defined law has to focus upon the use

of the police dog under the circumstances of this case.

For example, in Watkins the Ninth Circuit Court of

Appeals stated:

Although the use of excessive force in ef-

fecting an arrest is a clearly established vio-

lation of the Fourth Amendment, Watkins’

legal right cannot be so general as to allow

him to “convert the rule of qualified im-

munity ... into a rule of virtually unqual-

ified liability simply by alleging violation

of extremely abstract rights.”

145 F.3d at 1092.

App. 20

As shown above, in Chew the Ninth Circuit Court

of Appeals stated, “No decision of which we are aware

intimated that a policy of using dogs to apprehend

concealed suspects, even by biting and seizing them,

was unlawful.” 27 F.3d at 1447. In Watkins, the Ninth

Circuit held, “Although Chew was based on the law as

it existed in September of 1988, there had been no

change in the law that would have alerted [the canine

officer] that his use of a police dog to search and bite

was unconstitutional.” 145 F.3d. at 1092. Finally, in

Miller the Ninth Circuit held that “use of a police dog

to bite and hold Miller until deputies arrived on the

scene less than a minute later was a reasonable

seizure that did not violate Miller’s Fourth Amend-

ment rights.” 340 F.3d. at 968. The Plaintiff has not

cited any authority to the contrary, and the decisions

of the ninth circuit on this issue are the controlling

authority unless the Supreme Court decides other-

wise. It is not sufficient merely to say that the use of

a police dog to bite and hold a suspect constitutes

excessive force, because there is no clearly estab-

lished controlling authority so holding.

The Supreme Court has made it clear that the

clearly established law at issue must take into ac-

count the factual circumstances facing the officers. In

Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635 (1987), the de-

fendant and other state and federal law enforcement

officers conducted a warrantless search of the plain-

tiffs’ home because they thought that a man who had

committed a bank robbery earlier in the day was

there. Id. at 637 at 528-29. The plaintiffs sued, and

App. 21

the defendant moved to dismiss on the ground that

the plaintiffs’ claim was barred by qualified immu-

nity. Id. The federal district court dismissed the case

on the ground that there was probable cause to

believe the bank robber was there and that exigent

circumstances justified the warrantless search. Id.

On appeal, the court of appeals reversed, holding that

there were issues of fact as to whether the search was

supported by probable cause and exigent circum-

stances and that the defendant was not entitled to

qualified immunity because “the right of persons to

be protected from warrantless searches of their home

unless the searching officers have probable cause and

there are exigent circumstances — was clearly estab-

lished.” Id. at 637-38.

The Supreme Court vacated the opinion of the

court of appeals because it had misapplied the law

with respect to identifying the applicable clearly

established law for determining whether there was

qualified immunity. The Court explained why the

“clearly established law” could not be so general that

it would eliminate the rule of qualified immunity. It

stated:

For example, the right to due process of law

is quite clearly established by the Due Proc-

ess Clause, and thus there is a sense in

which any action that violates that Clause

(no matter how unclear it may be that the

particular action is a violation) violates a

clearly established right. Much the same

could be said of any other constitutional or

App. 22

statutory violation. But if the test of “clearly

established law” were to be applied at this

level of generality, it would bear no relation-

ship to the “objective legal reasonableness”

that is the touchstone of Harlow [v. Fitzger-

ald, 457 U.S. 800 (1982)]. Plaintiffs would be

able to convert the rule of qualified immuni-

ty that our cases plainly establish into a rule

of virtually unqualified liability simply by al-

leging violation of extremely abstract rights.

Harlow would be transformed from a guar-

antee of immunity into a rule of pleading.

Id. at 639.

The Court explained that “the right the official is

alleged to have violated must have been ‘clearly

established’ in a more particularized, and hence more

relevant, sense: The contours of the right must be

sufficiently clear that a reasonable official would

understand that what he is doing violates that right.”

Id. In deciding whether an action violated clearly

established law, the focus must be whether the offi-

cials objectively reasonably believed that their action

was lawful under the circumstances of the particular

situation. The Court stated that the error made by

the court of appeals was that it “specifically refused

to consider the argument that it was not clearly

established that the circumstances with which [the

defendant] was confronted did not constitute probable

cause and exigent circumstances.” Jd. at 640-41. The

Court stated that the relevant question in the case

was, for example, “the objective (albeit fact-specific)

question whether a reasonable officer could have

App. 23

believed [the defendant’s] warrantless search to be

lawful, in light of clearly established law and the

information the searching officers possessed.” Id. at

641 (emphasis added).

Likewise, in Pearson v. Callahan, 555 U.S. 223

(2009), officers conducted a warrantless search of the

plaintiff’s house after an undercover informant,

whom the plaintiff had voluntarily admitted into the

house, signaled them that he had just purchased

methamphetamine from the plaintiff. Jd. at 227. The

district court held that the officers were entitled to

qualified immunity because they reasonably believed

that they could lawfully enter pursuant to the “‘con-

sent-once-removed’ doctrine, which permits a war-

rantless entry by police officers into a home when

consent to enter has already been granted to an

undercover officer or informant who has observed

contraband in plain view.” Jd. at 229. On appeal, the

court of appeals reversed, holding that the clearly

established law at issue was “‘the right to be free in

one’s home from unreasonable searches and arrests’”

and that “under the clearly established precedents of

[the Supreme] Court and the Tenth Circuit, ‘warrant-

less entries into a home are per se unreasonable

unless they satisfy the established exceptions.’” Jd. at

230. The court of appeals then held that the officers

could not reasonably have believed that their conduct

was lawful because they knew they did not have a

warrant, the plaintiff had not consented to their

entry, and his consent to the informant’s entry could

App. 24

not reasonably be interpreted to include the officers.

Id.

On appeal, the Supreme Court reversed, holding

that the officers were entitled to qualified immunity

because their conduct did not violate clearly estab-

lished law. Id. at 243. The Court held that “[wJhen

the entry at issue here occurred in 2002, the ‘consent-

once-removed’ doctrine had gained acceptance in the

lower courts,” which consisted of three federal courts

of appeals and two state supreme courts. /d. at 244. It

had been accepted by each of those courts, and the

seventh circuit had approved application of the doc-

trine in cases in which private citizens were acting as

confidential informants. Jd. The Court held that the

officers were entitled to rely upon those cases even if

their own federal circuit had not yet ruled upon the

“consent-once-removed” doctrine. Id.

Whether the law is clearly established is a ques-

tion of law to be resolved de novo on appeal. Miller v.

Idaho State Patrol, 150 Idaho at 865, 252 P.3d at

1283. A plaintiff has the burden of establishing that

the law was well established at the time of the viola-

tion. Id. “(W]hether an official protected by qualified

immunity may be held personally liable for an alleg-

edly unlawful official action generally turns on the

‘objective legal reasonableness’ of the action, assessed

in light of the legal rules that were ‘clearly estab-

lished’ at the time it was taken.” Anderson, 483 U.S.

at 639 (citation omitted).

App. 25

The decision as to whether the facts, viewed from

the standpoint of an objectively reasonvble police

officer, amount to probable cause is reviewed de novo

on appeal. Ornelas v. United States, 517 U.S. 690, 696

(1996). In the instant case, the officers had probable

cause to believe that there was a burglary in progress

in the dental office.

A woman was seen crawling through a broken

basement window into the building just after sunset

on a Sunday, when the office was closed. A citizen

witness stated that the woman appeared to be under

the influence of alcohol or drugs and claimed to be

retrieving her keys. An owner of the building arrived

later and stated that no one should be in the building,

especially anybody who had to break a window to

enter. During the approximate forty minutes while

the police were at the building, there was no indica-

tion that anyone attempted to contact the owner to

report an accidental breakage of the window, and the

woman inside the building did not respond to a police

announcement using the public address system in a

patrol car. The dental building had a ground floor and

a basement. The interior of the ground level was

dark, as was most of the basement. The woman had

been seen in the lit portion of the basement very

briefly, and then walked out of sight. Before com-

mencing the search of the building, Officer Bonas

announced in a loud voice at the open front door that

they were the police, commanded the person inside to

surrender, and warned that if the person did not sur-

render they would send in a police dog that would

App. 26

find and bite the person. There was no response. Af-

ter searching the ground floor for about two minutes,

Officer Bonas made another similar announcement in

a loud voice. When doing so, he happened to be at the

top of the stairs going down to the basement. Once

the officers completed their search of the ground floor,

they again stopped at the top the stairs. Officer

Bonas made his third announcement in a loud voice,

and there was no response from the suspected bur-

glar. The stairwell down to the basement had walls

on both sides. Although the landing at the bottom of

the stairs was lit, Officer Bonas could not see whether

there was anyone standing out of sight at the bottom

of stairs. At that point, he decided to release the

police dog to find the suspected burglar. The dog went

down the stairs and soon started barking, indicating

that he smelled human odor. There was no sound

from the basement indicating that the person down

there wanted to surrender. At that point, Officer

Bonas gave the command for the dog to find and bite

the suspect.

The Plaintiff was not subjected to any force while

the officers were searching the ground floor of the

building. She was not seized until Officer Bonas gave

the command for the dog to find and bite the suspect

after the dog had smelled human odor while search-

ing the basement. Therefore, the relevant issue is

whether there was clearly established law that would

have prohibited Officer Bonas from commanding the

dog to find and bite the suspected burglar in the dark

basement who had failed to respond to the calls to

App. 27

surrender. The Plaintiff does not cite any authority so

holding. As the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals stated

in Chew, in 1988 the use of police dogs to search for

and apprehend fleeing or concealed suspects was a

long-standing, widespread, and well-known practice.

27 F.3d at 1447. The court stated, “No decision of

which we are aware intimated that a policy of using

dogs to apprehend concealed suspects, even by biting

and seizing them, was unlawful.” Jd. Thus, there was

no clearly established law holding that the Police

conduct in this case constituted the use of excessive

force.

The Plaintiff alleges that the officers violated

department policy by not ascertaining whether there

were any tenants in the building before entering it

with the police dog and by failing to give an an-

nouncement while in the basement rather than from

the top of the stairs. In making this argument, she

cites Brooks v. City of Seattle, 599 F.3d 1018 (2010).

In Brooks, the police tased a pregnant woman driver

three times (on her thigh, shoulder, and neck) within

a one-minute period of time after she refused to sign

a traffic citation for speeding in a school zone and

resisted police attempts to remove her from her car.

Id. at 1020-21. The district court denied dismissal on

the ground of qualified immunity, and the officers

appealed. Jd. at 1021. The three-judge panel of the

court of appeals held that the officers had not used

excessive force. In so holding, the panel stated as a

consideration: “Here, there has been no departmental

determination that the Officers could have used

App. 28

alternative methods. Indeed, the Officers followed the

SPD’s Use of Force Training Guideline, applying pain

compliance techniques (of which drive-stun Taser use

was one) to control an actively resisting suspect.” Jd.

at 1029-30.

The Brooks court’s consideration of whether the

police followed department policy in their use of force

is not relevant here for two reasons. First, that was a

factor considered by the court in determining that

“the Officers’ behavior did not amount to a constitu-

tional violation.” Jd. at 1031. It was not a factor in

determining whether there was clearly established

law that their conduct violated a constitutional right.

Indeed, the policies or guidelines adopted by the

Boise Police Department do not give rise to a claim

under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. “[T]he statute creates no

substantive rights; it merely provides remedies for

deprivations of rights established elsewhere.” City of

Oklahoma City v. Tuttle, 471 U.S. 808, 816 (1985).

“Section 1983 imposes liability for violations of rights

protected by the Constitution, not for violations of

duties of care arising out of tort law.” Baker v.

McCollan, 443 U.S. 137, 146 (1979).

Second, after the three-judge panel issued its

opinion, the court of appeals heard the Brooks case en

banc along with Mattos v. Agarano, another case

involving the police use of a taser. In Brooks, the en

banc panel came to a different conclusion than did

the three-judge panel and held that “[a] reasonable

fact-finder could conclude, taking the evidence in the

light most favorable to Brooks, that the officers’ use of

App. 29

force was ‘unreasonable and therefore constitutionally

excessive.” Mattos v. Agarano, 661 F.3d 433, 446 (9th

Cir. 2011). In reaching that decision, the en banc

panel stated that it “must examine the totality of the

circumstances and consider ‘“whatever specific fac-

tors may be appropriate in a particular case, whether

or not listed in Graham [v. Connor, 490 U.S. 386

(1989)].”’” Id. at 445. The appropriate factors that

the en banc panel considered did not include any pol-

icies or guidelines adopted by the police department.

That panel obviously did not consider them relevant

in determining whether or not the officers used ex-

cessive force in violation of the Constitution.

The Plaintiff also contends that the district court

failed to properly consider the affidavit of the Plain-

tiff’s law enforcement expert.’ The expert was critical

* The Plaintiff’s expert assumed that the Police “learned

that there was a tenant relationship where persons other than

the building owner had access and the right to be in the build-

ing.” Officers Butler, Barber and Bonas were asked during their

depositions whether they knew the basement was a dental lab

prior to entering the building, and they testified that they did

not. Sergeant Kukla testified in his deposition that he did not

remember being told that the person had been seen in a dental

lab prior to the police dog entering the building. Lieutenant

Schoenborn testified in his deposition that he knew there was a

dental lab in the basement before the police dog went into the

building, but he stated that he did not recal] how he received

that information and was not advised that the person in the

basement may have worked in the dental lab. There is nothing

in the record indicating that the Police knew before entering the

building that the basement had been leased to a tenant. The

Plaintiff’s expert was also critical of not having the cleaning

(Continued on following page)

App. 30

of the conduct of the police in this case, but the ex-

pert’s opinion is not clearly established law, even if

that opinion had been given prior to the incident in

this case. The clearly established law must be “con-

trolling authority” in the jurisdiction or “a robust

‘consensus of cases of persuasive authority.’” Ashcroft,

__ U.S. at __, 1381 S.Ct. at 2084.

Although the Brooks decision did not address

whether the officers violated any clearly established

right when they tased Ms. Brooks, the Mattos deci-

sion did address that issue and held that “although

Brooks has alleged an excessive force claim, the law

was not sufficiently clear at the time of the incident

to render the alleged violation clearly established.”

661 F.3d at 448. Its analysis in arriving at that con-

clusion is instructive. It stated, “We begin our inquiry

into whether this constitutional violation was clearly

established by looking at the most analogous case law

that existed when the officers tased Brooks in No-

vember 2004.” Id. at 446.

The first case it considered was Russo v. City of

Cincinnati, 953 F.2d 1036 (6th Cir.1992). In Russo,

the police were called to help the family of Thomas

Bubenhofer return him to a psychiatric institute.

Mattos, 661 F.3d at 446. The call over the police radio

lady give a description of the woman who worked in the build-

ing, but there is no evidence of what description she would have

given and whether her description would have indicated that the

Plaintiff may have been that woman.

App. 31

described Bubenhvfer as a walk-away from the psy-

chiatric institute “‘who was “suicidal, homicidal, and

a hazard to police.”’” Id. at 447. When the officers

tried to get Bubenhofer out of his apartment, he

threatened to kill anyone who entered his apartment

and then opened the door and threatened the officers

with two knives he was holding, one in each hand. Jd.

An officer tased him several times, to no avail, and he

charged the officers while still holding the knives. Jd.

Ultimately, he was tased a final time while he lay at

the bottom of the stairwell and posed no immediate

threat to the officers. Jd. The Sixth Circuit held that

the initial use of the taser did not violate any clearly

established law and that the subsequent tasings did

not constitute excessive force. Jd.

The second case that the Mattos court considered

was Hinton v. City of Elwood, 997 F.2d 774, 782 (10th

Cir. 1993). In that case, Hinton was initially stopped

by the police for disturbing the peace, a misdemeanor,

but he then pushed an officer after declining the

officer’s request to speak to him. Mattos, 661 F.3d at

447. When the officers informed Hinton that he was

under arrest, he struggled by kicking his feet, flailing

his arms, and biting the officers. Jd. The officers tased

him, and the Tenth Circuit held that Hinton failed to

demonstrate that the officers’ conduct amounted to a

violation of the law. Jd.

The third case that the Mattos court considered

was Draper v. Reynolds, 369 F.3d 1270 (11th Cir. 2004).

In that case, a lone officer stopped a tractor-trailer

truck at night because its tag light was not properly

App. 32

illuminated. Mattos, 661 F.3d at 447-48. During the

traffic stop, the driver acted in an agitated and con-

frontational manner, paced back and forth, and yelled

at the officer. Jd. at 448. After refusing the officer’s

fifth request to produce certain documents, the officer

tased him. Jd. The Eleventh Circuit held that the use

of the taser to effectuate the arrest did not constitute

excessive force. Jd.

The Mattos court noted that the conduct of the

persons tased in those three cases was significantly

different from the conduct of Ms. Brooks. It was

obvious that the circumstances in those cases were so

dissimilar to those in Brooks that the decisions au-

thorizing the use of a taser in those cases would not

justify the use of a taser on Ms. Brooks. Unlike

Bubenhofer in Russo, Ms. Brooks was not a paranoid

schizophrenic, did not make suicidal and homicidal

threats to the police, and did not overcome the effects

of being tased multiple times in order to approach the

officers with knives in her hands. Id. at 447. Unlike

the plaintiff in Hinton, Ms. Brooks did not shove,

kick, and bite the officers. Jd. Unlike the circum-

stances in Draper, Ms. Brooks was immobile in her

car during daylight and was outnumbered by the

officers three to one. Id. at 448.

Even though the circumstances in each of those

three cases were clearly factually distinguishable

from the circumstances in which Ms. Brooks was

tased, the court of appeals held that there was no

clearly established law showing that what the officers

did to Ms. Brooks constituted excessive force. The

App. 33

court of appeals stated, “We cannot conclude, how-

ever, in light of these existing precedents, that ‘every

“reasonable official would have understood” ... be-

yond debate’ that tasing Brooks in these circumstances

constituted excessive force.” Jd. The court added,

“Moreover, the violation was not so obvious that we

can ‘define clearly established law at a high level of

generality,’ finding that Graham [v. Connor, 490 U.S.

386 (1989)] alone renders the unconstitutionality

of Brooks’s tasing clearly established.” Id. The court

concluded “that, although Brooks has alleged an

excessive force claim, the law was not sufficiently

clear at the time of the incident to render the alleged

violation clearly established.” Jd.

The existing case that is most similar to this case

is Watkins, where officers responded to a silent alarm

at ea commercial warehouse. 145 F.3d at 1090. The

officers saw someone running within the building,

and they established a perimeter around the building.

Id. There was no evidence as to whether the person

was armed. Id. The officers decided to use a police

canine to find, bite, and hold the suspect, and before

doing so the canine officer twice announced: “This is

the Oakland Police Department canine unit. Give

yourself up or I'll release my dog who is going to find

you and he is going to bite you.” Jd. When the suspect

did not respond, the officer released the dog. The dog

ran out of sight and then found and bit the suspect.

Id. With respect to qualified immunity, the court of

appeals held that there was no clearly established

App. 34

law that the officer’s “use of a police dog to search and

bite was unconstitutional.” Jd. at 1092.

Even if there was some significant factual dif-

ference between Watkins and the present case, the

Mattos case shows that the Police in this case were

entitled to qualified immunity. In light of the Ninth

Circuit decisions of Chew, Watkins, and Miller, it

cannot be concluded that every reasonable official

would have understood beyond debate that the con-

duct of the Police in this case violated a clearly estab-

lished right of the Plaintiff. The Plaintiff has not cited

a single case holding that the use of a police dog ta

find and subdue by biting a suspected burglar in a

building constitutes excessive force. Absent a decision

on the issue from this Court ur the United States

Supreme Court, the clearly established law is that of

the Ninth Circuit, which holds that it does not. The

district court did not err in granting summary judg-

ment dismissing Plaintiff’s claim under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 on the ground that the officers were entitled to

qualified immunity.

ITI.

Did the District Court Err in Dismissing

the Federal Claims Against City of Boise?

The district court dismissed the federal claims

against City of Boise also. In Monell v. Dep’t of Soc.

Servs., 436 U.S. 658 (1978), the United States Su-

preme Court held that while a municipality could not

be held liable in an action brought pursuant to 42

App. 35

U.S.C. § 1983 for the actions of its employees under

the doctrine of respondeat superior, a municipality

could be held liable under that statute if “official

municipal policy of some nature caused a constitu-

tional tort.” Id. at 691.

During oral argument on the Defendants’ motion

for summary judgment, their counsel argued, in

response from a question by the district court, that

the Plaintiff had not alleged a claim against City of

Boise. When the district court asked the Plaintiff’s

counsel about that, he answered:

Yeah. Your Honor, I heard that, and I

don’t know what I pled. I don’t have the

complaint in front of me. Actually, I didn’t

even draft the complaint. I will tell you that I

noted that in the summary judgment that

there was not a Monell claim argued, and I

didn’t really think of that question one way

or the other.

In its decision granting summary judgment, the

district court stated that the Plaintiff “did make one

passing allegation in her Complaint that might be

read to encompass a Monell claim,” but if such a

claim was made it must be dismissed because there

was no constitutional violation by the Police. In a

footnote in its memorandum decision, the district

court stated:

In resisting the City of Boise’s motion for

summary Judgment [sic], plaintiffs [sic] of-

fered no Monell analysis or argument what-

soever. While James did make one passing

App. 36

allegation in her Complaint that might be

read to encompass a Monell claim, it was

so vague and devoid of factual support and

context specific to that claim such that it

made it virtually impossible for Boise to

meaningfully prove the absence of a question

of fact relative to such a claim. Neither in the

complaint nor at summary judgment has

James pointed to an uncorrected repeated

course of conducted [sic] depriving citizens of

their right to be free from excessive force, nor

did James identify how Boise has “imple-

menti[ed] or execute[d] a policy, statement,

ordinance, regulation, or decisions officially

adopted and promulgated by that body’s of-

ficer.” However, because the Court has found

no constitutional! violation, it need not de-

termine whether a Monell claim against the

City otherwise survives summary judgment.

In her motion for reconsideration, the Plaintiff did

not contend that she had a Monell claim that the

district court failed to recognize or consider.

In her brief on appeal, the Plaintiff asserts, “The

District Court Erred in Dismissing Plaintiff’s § 1983

Excessive Force (‘Monell Claim’) against the City of

Boise.” Her entire argument on that issue is as fol-

lows:

Even though it acknowledged that the

defer ‘ant’s [sic] had not moved for summary

judgment as to whether there was a Monell

Claim against the City of Boise, the district

court granted summary judgment anyway.

Whether or not Plaintiff’s complaint asserted

App. 37

a Monell Claim against the City of Boise

was never at issue. Parties are not required

to respond to issues which are not raised by

the opposing party.

The Plaintiff does not contend that her complaint

alleges a Monell claim against the city, nor does

she point to any such alleged claim in her complaint.

“We will not consider assignments of error not sup-

ported by argument and authority in the opening

brief.” Hogg v. Wolske, 142 Idaho 549, 559, 130 P.3d

1087, 1097 (2006). Therefore, we will not consider

this issue.

IV.

Did the District Court Err in

Dismissing the State Law Claims?

The Plaintiff alleged in her complaint that the

actions of the Police constituted assault, battery, false

arrest, wrongful imprisonment, and intentional in-

fliction of emotional distress. As a general rule, the

Idaho Tort Claims Act provides that a governmental

entity is liable for money damages arising out of the

negligent or otherwise wrongful acts of its employees

committed in the course and scope of their employ-

ment or duties if a private person would be liable for

such acts under the laws of this state. I.C. § 6-903(1).

A. Assault, battery, false arrest, and wrong-

ful imprisonment. A governmental entity and its

employees acting within the course and scope of their

employment are not liable for any claim which arises

App. 38

out of assault, battery, false arrest, or false impris-

onment if they were acting without malice or criminal

intent. I.C. § 6-904. The district court held that the

Defendants were not liable for these claims because

there was no evidence that they acted with malice or

criminal intent. On appeal, the Plaintiff contends

that there is sufficient evidence that the Police acted

with criminal intent.

The first issue to determine is the meaning of

criminal intent in the Idaho Tort Claims Act. Idaho

Code section 6-904(3) states:

A governmental entity and its employees

while acting within the course and scope of

their employment and without malice or

criminal intent shall not be liable for any

claim which:

3. Arises out of assault, battery, false

imprisonment, false arrest, malicious prose-

cution, abuse of process, libel, slander, mis-

representation, deceit, or interference with

contract rights.

The Idaho Tort Claims Act applies only to tor-

tious conduct — “negligent or otherwise wrongful acts

or omissions.” I.C. § 6-903(1). Therefore, Idaho Code

section 6-904(3) lists types of conduct giving rise to

tort liability, not criminal offenses. However, types of

conduct listed in section 6-904(3) that could consti-

tute a tort may also constitute a crime. For example,

App. 39

assault, battery, and false imprisonment are also

crimes. I.C. §§ 18-901, 18-903, 18-2901.°

The Tort Claims Act does not define the term

“criminal intent,” and that phrase is not a term of art.

It has various meanings, including the intent to do

wrong; the mens rea for a particular crime, which

may include criminal negligence; and the intent to

violate the law, which implies knowledge of the law

violated. Black’s Law Dictionary 380-81 (7th ed.

1999).

This Court first addressed the meaning of that

term in Doe v. Durtschi, 110 Idaho 466, 716 P.2d 1238

* Idaho Code section 18-901 defines the crime of assault as:

(a) An unlawful attempt, coupled with apparent

ability, to commit a violent injury on the person of an-

other; or

(b) An intentional, unlawful threat by word or act to

du violence to the person of another, coupled with an

apparent ability to do so, and doing some act which

creates e well-founded fear in such other person that

such violence is imminent.

Idaho Code section 18-903 defines the crime of battery as:

(a) Willful and unlawful use of force or violence upon

the person of another; or

(b) Actual, intentional and unlawful touching or strik-

ing of another person against the will of the other; or

(c) Unlawfully and intentionally causing bodily harm

to an individual.

Idaho Code section 18-2901 defines the crime of false imprison-

ment as “the unlawful violation of the personal liberty of an-

other.”

App. 40

(1986). Several female students had filed lawsuits seek-

ing damages from Durtschi, a fourth grade teacher,

and the school district. Jd. at 468-69, 716 P2d at

1240-41. They alleged that Durtschi had sexually

molested them during school hours and while con-

ducting or supervising school activities. Jd. at 469,

716 P.2d at 1241. Durtschi filed a cross-claim against

the school district seeking indemnification. Jd. The

school district moved for summary judgment on

Durtschi’s cross-claim, and the district court granted

the motion and entered judgment for the school

district. Jd. Durtschi then appealed. Jd.

On appeal, this Court upheld the dismissal of

Durtschi’s cross-claim on the ground that he had

acted with criminal intent. Id. 471, 716 P.2d at 1243.

In addressing the meaning of “criminal intent,” we

stated:

The “criminal intent” provision “is satis-

fied if it is shown that the defendant know-

ingly performed the proscribed acts... .”

State v. Gowin, 97 Idaho 766, 767-68, 554

P.2d 944, 945-46 (1976); see also, e.g., State v.

Sisneros, 631 P.2d 856, 858 (Utah 1981) (“A

person acts with intent when it is his con-

scious objective or desire to engage in the

conduct or to cause the result.”). Ordinarily,

criminal intent would be a question for the

trier of fact. However, in this case Durtschi

has left no doubt that he acted with criminal

intent.

Durtschi admitted to performing the lewd

and lascivious acts on the minor plaintiffs.

App. 41

He specifically named each of the minor

plaintiffs as the objects of his actions. He ex-

pressly stated that he acted intentionally. In

the face of the school district’s arguments

that he acted with criminal intent, Durtschi

made no denials. In fact, he pled guilty to re-

lated criminal charges of lewd and lascivious

conduct. Every indication points to Durtschi

knowingly and consciously performing crim-

inal acts. We find nothing from which we can

infer at all, much less reasonably infer, that

Durtschi acted in any way but with criminal

intent.

Id. at 470-71, 716 P.2d at 1242-43.

The definition of “criminal intent” stated in the

above-quoted passage from Durtschi is not clear.

First, the Court quoted the part of a sentence from

State v. Gowin, 97 Idaho 766, 554 P.2d 944 (1976),

that defines general criminal intent. The entire sen-

tence was, “A general criminal intent requirement is

satisfied if it is shown that the defendant knowingly

performed the proscribed acts, but a specific intent

requirement refers to that state of mind which in part

defines the crime and is an element thereof.” Jd. at

767-68, 554 P.2d at 945-46 (internal citation omitted).

The Gowin case involved a crime that required a spe-

cific intent, “fraudulent intent,” and the Court held

on appeal that there was insufficient evidence for the

jury to find that the defendant possessed such intent.

App. 42

Id. at 767, 716 P.2d at 945.’ However, the Durtschi

Court also quoted the Utah Supreme Court’s state-

ment from State v. Sisneros that “[a) person acts with

intent when it is his conscious objective or desire to

engage in the conduct or to cause the result.” 631 P.2d

‘t 858. The Utah court made that statement when

addressing whether there was sufficient evidence for

a jury to find that an intoxicated defendant had the

specific intent to commit a larceny when he broke

inte and entered a building at night in order for him

to have committed the crime of burglary. Immediately

following the quoted statement, the Utah court said,

“Obviously, it is difficult to prove directly what is in a

defendant’s mind,” id. at 858-59, and it concluded by

stating, “Although defendant was under the influence

of alcohol at the time of the commission of the offense,

the jury could reasonably conclude that defendant

maintained the requisite intent to burglarize the prem-

ises,” id. at 860. Thus, the Durtschi Court quoted

statements regarding both general intent and specific

intent in defining “criminal intent.” Finally, it stated:

“Every indication points to Durtschi knowingly and

consciously performing criminal acts. We find nothing

’ The criminal statute at issue stated:

Every clerk, agent or servant of any person who

fraudulently appropriates to his own use, or secretes

with a fraudulent intent to appropriate to his own

use, any property of another which has come into his

control or care by virtue of his employment as such

clerk, agent, or servant, is guilty of embezzlement.

I.C. § 18-2405 (1948).

App. 43

from which we can infer at all, much less reasonably

infer, that Durtschi acted in any way but with crimi-

nal intent.” 110 Idaho at 471, 716 P.2d at 1243. The

criminal acts committed by Durtschi required a spe-

cific criminal intent — “the intent of arousing, appeal-

ing to, or gratifying the lust or passions or sexual

desires of such person or of such minor or child.”

Thus, when stating that Durtschi’s conduct consti-

tuted “knowingly and consciously performing crimi-

nal acts,” did the Durtschi Court mean that he knew

that he was violating the law?

Most recently, in Miller v. Idaho State Patrol, 150

Idaho 856, 252 P3d 1274 (2011), we addressed

whether the Idaho Tort Claims Act afforded immunity

to an officer, who had a nurse obtain a urine sample

by the involuntary warrantless catheterization of a

person arrested for driving under the influence of

alcohol, despite the plaintiff’s claim that the invol-

untary catheterization constituted a battery under

Idaho Code section 6-904(3). In holding that it did, we

* The statute provided:

Any person who shall willfully and lewdly commit

any lewd or lascivious act or acts upon or with the

body or any part or member thereof of a minor or child

under the age of sixteen years, with the intent of

arousing, appealing to, or gratifying the lust or pas-

sious or sexual desires of such person or of such minor

or child, shall be guilty of a felony and shall be im-

prisoned in the state prison for a term of not more

than life.

Ch. 1, § 1, 1973 Idaho Sess. Laws 1, 1.

App. 44

stated: “Criminal intent ‘is satisfied if it is shown that

the defendant knowingly performed the proscribed

acts.’ ... No shred of evidence suggests that [the

officer] acted with malice or criminal intent.” Jd. at

870, 252 P.3d at 1288.

There is no difference between the intent neces-

sary to commit the tort of battery and the intent

necessary to commit the crime of battery. We stated

in Miller, “Civil battery consists of an intentional

contact with another person that is either unlawful,

harmful, or offensive. Lack of consent is a critical

element of battery.” Jd. at 869, 252 P.3d at 1287

(internal citation omitted). The crime of battery can

be committed by the “[a]ctual, intentional and unlaw-

ful touching ... of another person against the will of

the other.” I.C. § 18-903(b). Our statement that there

was not a shred of evidence suggesting criminal

intent must have meant that criminal intent was

more than the mens rea necessary to commit the

crime of battery.

Holding that “criminal intent” means only the

mens rea of a crime comparable to the alleged tort

would not be consistent with excluding from liability

the torts of assault, battery, and false imprisonment.

Therefore, “criminal intent” must mean something

different from the mens rea for the comparable crime.

In Anderson v. City of Pocatello, 112 Idaho 176, 731

P.2d 171 (1986), we stated that legal malice “involves

the intentional commission of a wrongful or unlawful

act without legal justification or excuse, whether ur

not the injury was intended” and that “[cjriminal

App. 45

intent closely equates to the above definition of ‘legal’

malice.” Jd. at 187, 731 P.2d at 182. We hold that

“criminal intent” as used in the Idaho Tort Claims Act

means the intentional commission of what the person

knows to be a crime.

The district court correctly held that there is no

evidence showing that the Police acted with criminal

intent in this case. Therefore, the court did not err in

dismissing the tort claims of assault, battery, false

arrest, and wrongful imprisonment.

Intentional infliction of emotional distress.

In order to establish a claim of intentional infliction

of emotional distress, the plaintiff must prove that:

(1) the defendant’s conduct was intentional or reck-

less; (2) the defendant’s conduct was extreme and out-

rageous; (3) there was a causal connection between

the defendant’s wrongful conduct and the plaintiff’s

emotional distress; and (4) the emotional distress was

severe. Edmondson v. Shearer Lumber Prods., 139

Idaho 172, 179, 75 P.3d 733, 740 (2003). The district

court granted summary judgment against the Plain-

tiff on this claim on two alternative grounds: (1) “Noth-

ing about Defendants’ conduct could be considered

extreme or outrageous in this context” and (2) “Surely

the liability that James seeks to impose for inten-

tional infliction ‘arose out of’ the conduct constituting

the alleged false imprisonment, assault and battery.

Simply ‘changing the legal theory on which the claim

for recovery’ is based does not eviscerate the immu-

nity otherwise provided.”

App. 46

On appeal, the Plaintiff challenges the first

ground, but not the second. “[I]f an appellant fails to

contest all of the grounds upon which a district court

based its grant of summary judgment, the judgment

must be affirmed.” AED, Inc. v. KDC Invs., LLC, 155

Idaho 159, 164, 307 P.3d 176, 181 (2013). However,

we note that a tort claim need only “arise out of” the

type of conduct listed in Idaho Code section 6-904,

which means it must originate or stem from such

conduct. Woodworth v. State ex rel. Idaho Transp. Bd..,

154 Idaho 362, 365, 298 P.3d 1066, 1069 (2013). Im-

munity under the statute is not abrogated by chang-

ing the legal theory upon which a claim for recovery

is sought. Intermountain Constr., Inc. v. City of Am-

mon, 122 Idaho 931, 933, 841 P.2d 1082, 1084 (1992).

Idaho Code section 25-2808. The Plaintiff also

sought to recover under Idaho Code section 25-2808,

which states:

Neither the state of Idaho, nor any city

or county, nor any peace officer employed by

any of them, shall be criminally liable under

the provisions of section 25-2805, Idaho

Code, or civilly liable in damages for injury

committed by a dog when: (1) the dog has

been trained to assist in law enforcement;

and (2) the injury occurs while the dog is

reasonably and carefully being used in the

apprehension, arrest or location of a sus-

pected offender or in maintaining or control-

ling the public order.

App. 47

The district court held that the police dog was

reasonably and carefully being used in this case when

the dog located and bit the Plaintiff. She contends

that the district court erred in so finding under the

facts in the record. Plaintiff reads this statute as

holding that the State of Idaho, a city or county, or

a peace officer employed by any of them, could be

civilly liable for damages for injury committed by a

police dog assisting law enforcement in the apprehen-

sion, arrest, or location of a suspected offender, or in

maintaining or controlling public order, if the dog is

not “reasonably and carefully being used.” She con-

tends that there is an issue of fact as to whether the

police dog in this case was being reasonably and

carefully used. We affirm the judgment of the district

court, but on a different ground.

The interpretation of a statute is a question of

law over which we exercise free review. City of Poca-

tello v. Idaho, 152 Idaho 830, 838, 275 P.3d 845, 853

(2012). It must begin with the literal words of the

statute, giving them their plain, obvious, and rational

meaning, Thomson v. City of Lewiston, 137 Idaho 473,

478, 50 P.3d 488, 493 (2002); those words must be

given their plain, usual, and ordinary meaning; and

the statute must be construed as a whole, State v.

Hart, 135 Idaho 827, 829, 25 P.3d 850, 852 (2001). If

the statute is ambiguous, then it must be construed

to mean what the legislature intended for it to mean.

Miller v. State, 110 Idaho 298, 299, 715 P.2d 968, 969

(1986). To determine that intent, we examine not

only the literal words of the statute, but also the

App. 48

reasonableness of proposed constructions. Lopez v.

State, Indus. Special Indem. Fund, 136 Idaho 174,

178, 30 P.3d 952, 956 (2001).

The Plaintiff’s interpretation of section 25-2808

would mean that an officer who uses a police dog to

subdue a suspect in order to make the arrest would

be subject to greater liability than an officer who shot

the suspect in order to subdue him. The former would

be subject to liability if the dog was not reasonably

and carefully used, while the latter would only be

subject to liability if the officer acted with malice or

criminal intent. There is no logical reason why the

legislature would intend that result. Likewise, the

Plaintiff’s interpretation would result in section 25-

2808 impliedly amending the provisions in Idaho

Code section 6-904(3) regarding assault and battery

when a police dog is being used. One standard (malice

or criminal intent) would apply to a claim based upon

an alleged assault or battery by peace officers who did

not use a police dog and another standard (reason-

ably and carefully being used) would apply if the

officers had used a police dog to subdue the suspect.

Amending a statute by implication is disfavored and

will not be inferred absent clear legislative intent.

Wilkins v. Fireman’s Fund American Life Ins. Co., 107

Idaho 1006, 1008, 695 P.2d 391, 393 (1985).

Idaho Code section 25-2808 expressly refers to

section 25-2805, and the proper interpretation of sec-

tion 25-2808 requires consideration of that section,

which states:

App. 49

(1) Any person, who, after complaint

has been made by any person to the sheriff,

who shall serve a copy of said notice upon

such person complained of, willfully or negli-

gently permits any dog owned or possessed

or harbored by him to be, or run, at large

without a competent and responsible at-

tendant or master, within the limits of any

city, town, or village or in the vicinity of any

farm, pasture, ranch, dwelling house, or cul-

tivated lands of another, or who willfully ox

negligently fails, neglects or refuses to keep

any such dog securely confined within the

limits of his own premises when not under

the immediate care and control of a compe-

tent and responsible attendant or master,

shall be guilty of an infraction punishable as

provided in section 18-113A, Idaho Code.

(2) Any dog which, when not physically

provoked, physically attacks, wounds, bites

or otherwise injures any person who is not

trespassing, is vicious. It shall be unlawful

for the owner or for the owner of premises on

which a vicious dog is present to harbor a vi-

cious dog outside a secure enclosure. A secure

enclosure is one from which the animal can-

not escape and for which exit and entry is

controlled by the owner of the premises or

owner of the animal. Any vicious dog re-

moved from the secure enclosure must be re-

strained by a chain sufficient to contro] the

vicious dog. Persons guilty of a violation of

this subsection, and in addition to any liabil-

ity as provided in section 25-2806, Idaho

Code, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. For a

App. 50

second or subsequent violation of this sub-

section, the court may, in the interest of pub-

lic safety, order the owner to have the vicious

dog destroyed or may direct the appropriate

authorities to destroy the dog.

The violation of section 25-2805 by a dog’s owner

or handler could possibly result in the owner or

handler being held to be negligent per se, which

would conclusively prove the first two elements for a

cause of action in negligence, leaving only causation

and damages to be proved by the injured person.

Obendorf v. Terra Hug Spray Co., Inc., 145 Idaho 892,

898, 188 P.3d 834, 840 (2008). A peace officer whose

use of a police dog allegedly violated the statute could

also risk being held negligent per se and also being

held criminally liable. That is the obvious reason for

the adoption of section 25-2808. It begins by stating

that “[nJeither the state of Idaho, nor any city or

county, nor any peace officer employed by any of

them, shall be criminally liable under the provisions

of section 25-2805, Idaho Code.” That provision elim-

inates the risk of criminal liability. The remainder of

section 25-2808 states that the state of Idaho, any

city or county, and any peace officer employed by any

of them are not “civilly liable in damages for injury

committed by a dog” when two conditions are met.

First, the dog must have been trained to assist in law

enforcement. Second, the injury must occur “while the

dog is reasonably and carefully being used in the

apprehension, arrest or location of a suspected of-

fender or in maintaining or controlling the public

order.” I.C. § 25-2808. This provision eliminates the

App. 51

application of negligence per se for a violation of

section 25-2505 by the state of Idaho, any city or

county, and any peace officer employed by them. “[A)

statute that creates a civil cause of action cannot be

the basis of a negligence per se claim. The statute

creating the cause of action defines the conduct

constituting the tort and the applicable standard of

care.” Steed v. Grand Teton Council of the Boy Scouts

of America, Inc., 144 Idaho 848, 853, 172 P.3d 1123,

1128 (2007).

There is no indication that the legislature in-

tended to eliminate the use of police dogs to bite and

hold suspects. Indeed, if subsection (2) of section 25-

2505 were applied to police dogs, it would permit

peace officers to use each dog only once to find, bite,

and hold a criminal suspect. Once a police dog bit a

suspect, the dog could not be released from a chain to

find or pursue another suspect. Considering that the

use of police dogs to search for and apprehend fleeing

or concealed suspects by biting them is neither a new

or unique policy and that such policy can reduce the

risk of injury to police in subduing suspects in order

to arrest them, the legislature would have been clear

had it intended to eliminate that policy. In fact, the

statute contemplates the use of police dogs. Thus, the

provisions regarding civil liability were apparently

intended by the legislature to apply to persons other

than the suspect who may be injured by a police dog.

Because the Plaintiff was the suspected offender who

the Police were using the police dog to locate and

apprehend so that they could arrest, Idaho Code

App. 52

sections 25-2805 and 25-2808 do not apply to this

case.

Negligent failure to train. In her complaint,

the Plaintiff alleged that the Defendants negligently

failed to train, supervise, and control the police dog.

In support of their motion for summary judgment, the

Defendants offered the testimony of Officer Randy

Arthur, who was certified as a canine trainer for both

detection dogs and patrol dogs in 2003 by Idaho Peace

Officer Standards and Training (POST). Officer

Arthur was POST certified as a canine trainer for

both drug detection dogs and patrol dogs in 2003, and

at the time of the motion for summary judgment he

was certified by POST through December 31, 2014, as

trainer and evaluator for both drug detection and

patrol dogs. He stated that the Boise Police Depart-

ment canine unit trains every Tuesday and exceeds

the industry standard of four hours of training per

week and that he trained Officer Bonas and his

canine in the use and application of department

policies and procedures, which are within industry

standards. Officer Bonas and his canine were certi-

fied by POST on March 4, 2010, passing all tests.

Pursuant to Idaho Code section 19-5107, POST Coun-

cil has promulgated rules for certifying patrol dogs,

which is how the dog in this case was trained. The

dog has to be trained to apprehend a suspect without

contact and with contact. IDAPA 11.11.01.223.01 & .02.

For apprehension without contact, the handler must

release the dog to pursue a fleeing suspect, who then

stops and stands still. The dog must, as predetermined

App. 53

by the handler, either return to the handler or stay

and guard the suspect. IDAPA 11.11.01.223.01. For

apprehension with contact, the handler must release

the dog to pursue a fleeing suspect, who does not

stop. The handler must send the dog to physically

apprehend the suspect, and the dog must hold the

suspect until verbally called off by the handlers.

IDAPA 11.11.01.223.02. Officer Bonas’s canine passed

both tests. The district court granted summary judg-

ment on the Plaintiff’s claim of negligent training.

On appeal, the Plaintiff contends that the district

court erred in rejecting the opinion of the Plaintiff’s

expert, who stated that in his opinion police depart-

ments should use the “bark and hold” method rather

than the “bite and hold” method. POST made a policy

decision to permit dogs to be trained and certified in

the “bite and hold” method. The City of Boise police

department made a policy decision to use only the

“bite and hold” method. In answers to interrogatories,

the City stated:

The Boise Police Department Canine

Unit trains its dogs and handlers under the

“Handler Controlled” (HC) method, as op-

posed to the “Bark and Hold” (BH) method.

Under the HC method, the police dogs are

trained to bite or bark based on the direction

of the handler. The Boise Police Department

Canine Unit believes that the HC method

is safer for the public, suspects, and our

handler/officers.

App. 54

There is a difference of opinion as to which

method is the best policy. The Boise Police Depart-

ment made a policy decision not to use the “bark and

hold” method because it determined that the “bite

and hold” method was safer for the public, suspects,

and the dog handlers. Idaho Code section 6-904(1)

exempts from liability any claim “based upon the

exercise or performance or the failure to exercise or

perform a discretionary function.” “The discretionary

function exception applies to governmental decisions

entailing planning or policy formation.” Dorea Enter-

prises, Inc. v. City of Blackfoot, 144 Idaho 422, 425,

163 P.3d 211, 214 (2007). The purpose of this exemp-

tion is “to limit judicial re-examination of basic policy

decisions properly entrusted to other branches of

government.” Id. Therefore, that the Plaintiff’s expert

believes that the police department should have

chosen the “bark and hold” method rather than the

“bite and hold” method is irrelevant to the Defen-

dants’ liability in this case.

V.

Are the Defendants Entitled to an

Award of Attorney Fees on Appeal?

The Defendants seek an award of attorney fees

on appeal pursuant to 42 U.S.C. section 1988 and

Idaho Code sections 12-117 and 12-121. We will ad-

dress each statute individually.

42 U.S.C. section 1988. 42 U.S.C. section 1988

provides that in an action brought pursuant to 42

App. 55

U.S.C. section 1983, “the court, in its discretion, may

allow the prevailing party, other than the United

States, a reasonable attorney's fee as part of the

costs.” The Plaintiff contends that attorney fees

cannot be awarded under this statute unless the

action was frivolous, unreasonable, or without foun-

dation at the time the complaint was filed. The stat-

ute does not contain any such limitation. It permits

the award of attorney fees to the prevailing party in

the discretion of the court.

In Hughes v. Rowe, 449 U.S. 5 (1980), the Su-

preme Court held that attorney fees could not be

awarded to a prevailing defendant in a case brought

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. section 1983 unless the plain-

tiff’s action was frivolous, unreasonable, or without

foundation. Jd. at 14. However, Hughes and Chris-

tiansburg Garment Co. v. EEOC, 434 U.S. 412 (1978),

upon which it was based, were appeals from cases in

federal district courts. Although the Supreme Court

may have the authority to limit the discretion of

lower federal courts, it does not have the authority to

limit the discretion of state courts where such limita-

tion is not contained in the statute. Therefore, in

cases filed in the Idaho state courts seeking to recover

under 42 U.S.C. section 1988, the court has discretion

in deciding to award attorney fees to the prevailing

party, whether the prevailing party is the plaintiff or

the defendant.

In this case, we will award attorney fees against

the Plaintiff on her claim based upon 42 U.S.C.

section 1988. It was clear that her claim would be

App. 56

barred by qualified immunity under the clearly estab-

lished law of the ninth circuit, and the Plaintiff did

not cite any law to the contrary.

Idaho Code section 12-117. The Defendants

seek an award of attorney fees under Idaho Code sec-

tion 12-117(1), which provides that “in any ... civil

judicial proceeding involving as adverse parties a state

agency or political subdivision and a person, ... the

court ... shall award the prevailing party reasonable

attorney's fees ... if it finds that the nonprevailing

party acted without a reasonable basis in fact or law.”

Because we have clarified the meaning of criminal

intent under the Tort Claims Act and Idaho Code

section 25-2508, we do not find that the Plaintiff

brought this appeal regarding her state law claims

without a reasonable basis in fact or law. Therefore,

we will not award attorney fees under this section.

Idaho Code section 12-121. The Defendants

seek an award of attorney fees under Idaho Code

section 12-121. In normal circumstances, attorney

fees will only be awarded under this statute when

this court is left with the abiding belief that the

appeal was brought, pursued or defended frivolously,

unreasonably or without foundation. Minich v. Gem

State Developers, Inc., 99 Idaho 911, 918, 591 P.2d

1078, 1085 (1979). Because the appeal regarding the

Plaintiff’s claims under state law was not brought or

pursued frivolously, unreasonably, or without founda-

tion, we will not award attorney fees under that stat-

ute.

App. 57

VI.

Conclusion.

We affirm the judgment of the district court. We

award respondents costs on appeal and attorney fees

in defending the claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

Chief Justice BURDICK, Justice HORTON and

Justice Pro Tem KIDWELL CONCUR.

J. JONES, Justice, specially concurring.

I concur in the Court’s opinion. Because we hold

that qualified immunity supported the dismissal on

summary judgment of James’ claim under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983, it was not necessary to consider the merits of

that claim. Had there been no qualified immunity

issue, I would have voted to vacate the district court’s

dismissal of James’ excessive force claim. In my view,

there were triable issues of fact that would have

precluded summary judgment.

In its 48 page memorandum decision, the district

court did a commendable job of analyzing and decid-

ing the issues presented, with the exception of the

excessive force claim. Instead of drawing inferences

in favor of James, the court essentially discounted

portions of her expert’s opinion testimony and ex-

pressed disag

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — James v. Boise, 136 S. Ct. 685 (2016) (No. 15-493) | Frix