Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Encino Motorcars, LLC v. Navarro, 136 S. Ct. 890 (2016) (No. 15-415)

Supreme Court brief2016

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

15-442

No

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

ENCINO MOTORCARS, LLC,

Petitioner,

Vv

HECTOR NAVARRO; ANTHONY PINKINS:

KEVIN MALONE; AND REUBEN CASTRO,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

PAUL D. CLEMENT

KARL R. LINDEGREN Counsel of Record

TopD B. SCHERWIN JEFFREY M. HARRIS

COLIN P CALVERT SUBASH S. IYER

FISHER & PHILLIPS LLP BANCROFT PLLC

444 S. Flower Street 500 New Jersey Avenue, NW

Suite 1590 Seventh Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90071 Washington, DC 2000!

213-330-4450 202-234-0090

pelement@bancroftpllc.com

(Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover)

September 30, 2015

WENDY MCGUIRE COATS

MCGUIRE COATS LLP

3527 Mt. Diablo Blvd., #281

Lafayette, CA 94549

925-297-6415

Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTION PRESENTED

Respondents are “service advisors” at a car

dealership whose primary job responsibilities involve

identifying service needs and selling service solutions

to the dealership’s customers. Respondents brought

suit against the dealership under the Fair Labor

Standards Act (FLSA), 29 U.S.C. §§201-219, secking

time-and-a-half overtime pay for working more than

40 hours per week.

The FLSA exempts from its overtime

requirements “any salesman, partsman, or mechanic

primarily engaged in selling or servicing automobiles.”

Id. §213(b)(10)(A). Relying on an unbroken line of

authority from other jurisdictions, the district court

dismissed Respondents’ claims, concluding that a

service advisor is a “salesman ... engaged in

servicing automobiles” and is thus exempt from the

FLSA’s overtime requirements. The Ninth Circuit

reversed, deferring to a Department of Labor

interpretive regulation stating that service advisors

are not exempt under §213(b)(10)(A) because they do

not personally service automobiles. The Ninth Circuit

readily acknowledged that its holding “conflicts with

decisions of the Fourth and Fifth Circuits, several

district courts, and the Supreme Court of Montana,’

all of which hold that service advisors are exempt

employees. Pet.App.11.

The question presented is whether “service

advisors” at car dealerships are exempt under 29

U.S.C. §213(b)(10)(A) from the FLSA’s overtime-pay

requirements.

1

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner Encino Motorcars, LLC, was defendant

in the district court and appellee in the Ninth Circuit.

Respondents Hector Navarro, Anthony Pinkins, Kevin

Malone, and Reuben Castro were plaintiffs in the

district court and appellants in the Ninth Circuit.

il

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Encino Motorcars, LLC is a limited liability

corporation doing business as Mercedes Benz of

Encino. It has no parent corporation and no publicly

held corporation owns 10% or more of its stock.

1V

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Ny 8h gy - | nee i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ........................4.. il

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT........... iii

pe gh, reer v1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI ................ 1

EE IIE ciscvcsenniedsianpoiionssiiedsinianbheneeeionssieine 4

TD ericcstincasetsmniininniisnindevaiuniiscmcnieunannitnensnii 4

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED................. 4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................:::cccecssssseseees 5

A. The “Salesman, Partsman, or Mechanic”

Exemption and DOL’s __ Shifting

BN oo ccaiemniaenlipbesaindatomnets 5

B. Respondents’ Complaint and the District

a csiieeaeehannebetanieons 9

C. The Ninth Circuit's Decision...................... 11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION....... 14

I. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Openly Conflicts

With The Decisions Of Several Other Courts

And Is Wrong On The Merits............................ 18

A. The Ninth Circuit's Decision Squarely

Conflicts With Decisions of the Fourth

and Fifth Circuits and the Montana

III, accacccenscncuseecicastmncioptontionnces 18

B. The Ninth Circuit Badly Misconstrued

I TI, bsicindccnnrccnnecnsseenecnsssncs 23

1. Service advisors are salesmen

primarily engaged in servicing

IS a scisamiunioie 23

Vv

2. Ata minimum, DOL’s interpretation

is unreasonable and thus not

entitled to deference. ...........................- 29

3. The Ninth Circuit erred by holding

that FLSA exemptions should be

interpreted “narrowly.” .....................-+-- 32

Il. The Ninth Circuit’s Erroneous Decision Will

Have Far-Reaching Implications’ For

Dealerships And Will Inject Uncertainty Into

A Previously Settled Area Of The Law............. 33

I ccneaeeabeivenelpiinbsaiiedaineeioel 36

APPENDIX

Appendix A

Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, Hector

Navarro, et al. v. Encino Motorcars,

LLC, No. 13-55323 (Mar. 24, 2015)...... App-1l

Appendix B

Order of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

Denying Rehearing En Banc, Hector

Navarro, et al. v. Encino Motorcars,

LLC, No. 13-55323 (June 1, 2015)...... App-20

Appendix C

Order Re: Defendant's Motion to

Dismiss of the United States District

Court for the Central District of

California, Navarro, et al. v. Mercedes

Benz of Encino, No. 2:12-cv-08051-

RGK-MRW (Jan. 25, 2013) ................ App-22

v1

Appendix D

29 U.S.C. § 213........

Appendix E

29 C.F.R. § 779.372

eee ee eee eee

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Brennan v. Deel Motors,

475 F.2d 1095 (Sth Cir. 1973)..................00000 passim

Brennan v. Import Volkswagen, Inc.,

No. W-4982, 1975 WL 1248

GD, Ss TL, ha: RNID cn cecnssenaveccesncesanieecsdnencmnsinevess 21

Brennan v. N. Bros. Ford,

No. 40344, 1975 WL 1074 (E.D. Mich. 1975)....8, 21

Chevron, U.S.A. v. Nat. Res. Def. Council,

I Os ee i iitiedarprctnteepirtininnsinssiceseciaiiin 23, 29

Christopher v. SmithKline Beecham,

f & & | eeeenenere passim

Davis v. Mich. Dep’t of Treasury,

ee I nse ecapianaensieeiennenenpeian 25

FCC v. AT&T,

en: er I chpiiauniaresabeesinberenain 27

FCC v. Fox Television Stations,

Se aes caeconncanieimeeaduniieentianinih 30

FCC v. Pacifica Found.,

Be ocak seeniinaeneiiniiinssneunabtaliial 25

Haro v. City of Los Angeles,

745 F.3d 1249 (9th Cir. 2014).......................... 12, 32

Hibbs v. Winn,

Ie EE... emtshininernsbeennenesoannpeabentia 26

Integrity Staffing Solutions v. Busk,

Oe et a vecciscrcinepinitneicteusveuiinevctin 3, 34

OWCP v. Newport News Shipbuilding,

oF CSREES ener 17, 32

vill

Reiter v. Sonotone Corp.,

i, ds sensineeepeeencbineeion 25

Smiley v. Citibank (S.D.), N.A.,

SO i I a cscs wladamdmseeuenoee 30

Solis v. Washington,

656 F.3d 1079 (Sth Cir. 203 7)...................000000 12, 32

Thompson v. J.C. Billion, Inc.,

294 P.3d 397 (Mont. 2013)..................... 1, 13, 20, 21

Walton v. Greenbrier Ford,

370 F.3d 446 (4th Cir. 2004).......................... passim

Yenney v. Cass Cty. Motors,

No. 76-0-294, 1977 WL 1678

ee a aa oc odes ninpieinain beens 21

Yi v. Sterling Collision Centers,

480 F.3d 505 (7th Cir. 2007)......................::000e 4, 34

Statutes

ST ach enepadianeieennanecibanonpiinented 5

I a aulsenmlacucunesnmabbs 16, 31

i San sacs osddeabiohicheameevententbnesasbedicniindnis 5

Be Cig I ond snscnvciadanadsaticiduedeossesite 16, 29, 31

td EER ne ee meee eH 5

Se iii sciatica ced sinuessencbotciinibntaicenens 5

a i ce cpeienlnainebinliin 5

Be ein SED vic csisicaxsccctevasscenssvinaceiese passim

ion ii cscamcanessietiieedameniannicstial 29

I ce alll ala nameaiaanbilcaiens 5

LE OE Es a ae. See ene rae 22

Pub. L. No. 89-601, 80 Stat. 830 (1966) Lg Pens See? 5

1x

Rules & Regulations

SOC.PR, STTOBIS (A971) «oni cceccsccccsacecs.-...:. 5, 6, 9, 26

35 Fed. Reg. 5856 (1970) .........cccccccececececsessecseseeeeeseeees 5

Fe es Be Ie SE beveescerecsrnesnsusiecscnensnncsanunnsase 8

76 Fed. Reg. 18,832 (2011)....................6. 9, 24, 27, 30

i rs Ne ned ccs ceases lava cameebakaoeenedeas? 15, 22

Other Authorities

Antonin Scalia, Assorted Canards of

Contemporary Legal Analysis,

40 Case W Res. L. Rev. 581 (1990).............000..000.. 33

Dep't of Labor, Wage & Hour Div., Field

Operations Handbook, Insert No. 1757,

24L04-4 (Oct. 20, 1987), available at

I a ao coarse taepinddcimindce vesupesevik 8

U.S. Dep’t of Labor, Wage & Hour Div.,

Opinion Letter on Fair Labor Standards

Act, 1978 WL 51403 (July 28, 1978) ................. 7, 30

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Respondents are “service advisors” at a car

dealership whose primary job responsibilities involve

identifying service needs and selling service solutions

to the dealership’s customers. They are an integral

part of the servicing process and are the salesmen

dedicated to the servicing business at their dealership.

And, like countless other salesmen, Respondents are

paid by commissions on their sales rather than on an

hourly basis.

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), 29 U.S.C.

§§201-219, exempts from its overtime-pay

requirements “any salesman, partsman, or mechanic

primarily engaged in selling or servicing automobiles.”

Id. §213(b)(10)(A). For more than 40 years, federal

and state courts across the country have uniformly

held that service advisors such as Respondents are

covered by the exemption because they are

“salesm[e]n ... engaged in ... servicing automobiles.”

See, e.g., Walton v. Greenbrier Ford, 370 F.3d 446 (4th

Cir. 2004); Brennan v. Deel Motors, 475 F.2d 1095 (5th

Cir. 1973); Thompson v. J.C. Billion, Inc., 294 P.3d 397

(Mont. 2013). Those courts have also uniformly

refused to defer to a Department of Labor (DOL)

interpretive regulation that adopts a narrow and

counter-textual interpretation of the exemption under

which service advisors are not exempt because they do

not personally service vehicles.

Respondents brought suit against their employer

under the FLSA, alleging that they were entitled to

time-and-a-half overtime pay for time worked each

week in excess of 40 hours. Relying on an unbroken

line of precedent holding that service advisors were

2

exempt under §213(b)(10)(A), the district court

dismissed the complaint. Pet.App.25-29. But the

Ninth Circuit reversed, holding that service advisors

were not exempt. Unlike every other court to consider

the issue, the Ninth Circuit held that DOL’s narrow

interpretation of §213(b)(10)(A) was entitled to

deference. Pet.App.11-19. The court also relied

heavily on a purported canon of construction under

which exemptions to the FLSA must be interpreted

“narrowly” rather than being interpreted in

accordance with their plain text. Pet.App.6. The

Ninth Circuit expressly acknowledged that its holding

“conflicts with decisions of the Fourth and Fifth

Circuits, several district courts, and the Supreme

Court of Montana.” Pet.App.11.

Certiorari is plainly warranted to resolve this

acknowledged split of authority over the meaning of a

federal statute. Indeed, the Ninth Circuit’s decision

not only opens up an explicit circuit split, but its

interpretation badly misconstrues the text of

§213(b)(10)(A). Congress’ use of the disjunctive “or” in

the phrase “primarily engaged in selling or servicing

automobiles” makes clear that a salesman is exempt if

he is “engaged in” either of those activities. Yet the

Ninth Circuit divided a dealership’s salesforce in half,

treating only those selling automobiles, and not those

selling services, as exempt. The court also ignored the

fact that service advisors are an integral part of the

servicing process because they are the salesforce that

identifies the service needs of, and sells services to, the

dealership’s customers.

The Ninth Circuit’s insistence that an employee

must be personally involved in servicing automobiles

3

not only adds a word to the statute, but also injects a

glaring textual anomaly over the status of “partsmen,”

who the statute treats as exempt even though they are

not personally involved in either selling or servicing

automobiles. Every other court to consider this issue

has correctly recognized that the phrase “primarily

engaged in ... servicing automobiles” encompasses

service advisors and partsmen who are engaged in the

servicing process even though they do not personally

service vehicles.

The Ninth Circuit's decision injects uncertainty

into what had been a settled area of the law, and will

have serious consequences for the nation’s 18,000 car

dealerships, which currently employ more than 45,000

service advisors. Those dealerships and their service

advisors have negotiated mutually beneficial

compensation plans in good-faith reliance on decades

of precedent holding that such employees are exempt

from the FLSA’s overtime requirements. If allowed to

stand, the Ninth Circuit’s decision would require a

wholesale (and wholly unwarranted) restructuring of

the way in which those employees are compensated,

and would force dealerships to divide their salesforces

into exempt and non-exempt categories in ways that

are both divisive and contrary to Congress’ plain

intent.

This Court has repeatedly rejected plaintiffs’

attempts to impose significant FLSA liability on

employers who have done nothing more than pay

workers in conformity with long-settled industry

practice. See, e.g., Integrity Staffing Solutions v. Busk,

135 S. Ct. 513 (2014) (rejecting novel FLSA claims for

time spent in security screenings); Christopher uv.

4

SmithKline Beecham, 132 S. Ct. 2156 (2012) (rejecting

FLSA claims by pharmaceutical sales representatives,

who had long been treated as exempt); see also Yi v.

Sterling Collision Centers, 480 F.3d 505, 510 (7th Cir.

2007) (rejecting novel FLSA challenge to a “system of

compensation [that] is industry-wide, and of long

standing’). The decision below should fare no better.

This Court should grant certiorari to correct the Ninth

Circuit’s deeply flawed interpretation of

§213(b)(10)(A) and restore uniformity to this

important area of the law.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Ninth Circuit is reported at 780

F.3d 1267 and reproduced at Pet.App.1-19. The

district court's opinion is unpublished and is

reproduced at Pet.App.22-32.

JURISDICTION

The Ninth Circuit issued its opinion on March 24,

2015, and denied a timely petition for rehearing on

June 1, 2015. On August 20, 2015, Justice Kennedy

extended the time for filing this petition to September

30, 2015. See No. 15A210. This Court has jurisdiction

under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of the FLSA, 29 U.S.C.

§213, and DOL’s regulations, 29 C.F.R. §779.372, are

reproduced at Pet.App.33-61.

5

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The “Salesman, Partsman, or Mechanic”

Exemption and DOL’s Shifting

Interpretations

1. The FLSA generally requires employers to pay

overtime compensation at a rate of one-and-a-half

times an employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours

worked in excess of forty in a week. 29 U.S.C.

§207(a)(1). Accompanying these overtime-pay

requirements are numerous exemptions for certain

types of employees. See id. §213(a), (b). The

exemptions range from very broad (all employees of

certain rail carriers and air carriers, id. §213(b)(2), (3))

to very narrow (employees “engaged in the processing

of maple sap into sugar,” id. §213(b)(15)).

As relevant here, the FLSA provides that the

overtime-pay requirements do not apply to “any

salesman, partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged

in selling or servicing automobiles, trucks, or farm

implements, if he is employed by a nonmanufacturing

establishment primarily engaged in the business of

selling such vehicles or implements to ultimate

purchasers.” Jd. §213(b)(10)(A); see Pub. L. No. 89-

601, 80 Stat. 830 (1966). In other words, an employee

of a car dealership is exempt from the overtime rules

if he: (1) is a “salesman, partsman, or mechanic,” and

(2) is “primarily engaged in selling or servicing

automobiles.”

2. In 1970, the Secretary of Labor promulgated

interpretive regulations that sought to define several

terms in §213(b)(10)(A). See 29 C.F.R. §779.372

(1971); 35 Fed. Reg. 5856, 5895-96 (1970). Those

regulations defined “salesman” as “an employee who

6

is employed for the purpose of and is primarily

engaged in making sales or obtaining orders or

contracts for sale of [vehicles].” 29 C.F.R.

§779.372(c)(1) (1971).:. DOL further asserted that

“fe]mployees variously described as service manager,

service writer, service advisor, or service salesman

who are not themselves primarily engaged in the work

of a salesman, partsman, or mechanic ... are not

exempt under [§213(b)(10)].” Jd. §779.372(c)(4). DOL

believed that service advisors should be deemed non-

exempt even though “such an employee's principal

function may be diagnosing the mechanical condition

of vehicles brought in for repair, writing up work

orders for repairs authorized by the customer,

assigning the work to various employees and directing

and checking on the work of mechanics.” Jd.

In the years after DOL promulgated this

interpretive regulation, several courts rejected the

agency's narrow interpretation of the exemption.

Most significantly. the Fifth Circuit flatly rejected

DOL’s position and held that service advisors were

exempt. See Deel Motors, 475 F.2d at 1097-98. In Deel

Motors, DOL advanced the narrow interpretation of

the exemption set forth in its 1970 regulation, arguing

that service advisors should not be exempt because

they do not personally service vehicles. But the Fifth

Circuit rejected that view based on both the text and

|! The regulation defined a “partsman” as “any employee

employed for the purpose of and primarily engaged in

requisitioning, stocking, and dispensing parts.” 29 C.F.R.

§779.372(c)(2) (1971). It also defined a “mechanic” as “any

employee primarily engaged in doing mechanical work ... in the

servicing of an automobile, trailer, truck, farm implement, or

aircraft for its use and operation as such.” Id. §779.372(c)(3).

7

purpose of the exemption. As a textual matter, the

court concluded that service advisors were plainly

“salesm[e]n ... engaged in selling or servicing

automobiles.” Jd. at 1098. And, turning to the

purpose of the exemption, the Fifth Circuit noted that

“service salesmen are functionally similar to the

mechanics and partsmen who service’ the

automobiles.” Jd. at 1097 All of these employees

“work as an integrated unit, performing the services

necessary for the maintenance of the customer's

automobile.” Jd. And, like countless other salesmen

who are exempt from the FLSA’s overtime rules,

service advisors “are more concerned with their total

work product than with the hours performed.” Jd. The

Fifth Circuit thus concluded that service advisors

were exempt under §213(b)(10)(A).

3. Within a few years of the Fifth Circuit's

decision in Deel Motors, DOL backtracked from the

position advanced in its interpretive regulations. In

1978, the Secretary of Labor issued a policy letter

changing the agency’s position and providing that

service advisors should be treated as exempt as long

as a majority of their sales were for non-warranty

work. See U.S. Dep’t of Labor, Wage & Hour Div.,

Opinion Letter on Fair Labor Standards Act, 1978 WL

51403 (July 28, 1978) (“DOL 1978 Opinion Letter”)

(acknowledging that “[t]his position represents a

change from the position set forth in” the 1970

regulations).

Similarly, DOL’s 1987 Field Operations

Handbook instructed agency employees to “no longer

deny the [overtime] exemption for [service advisors].”

Dep't of Labor, Wage & Hour Div., Field Operations

8

Handbook, Insert No. 1757, 24L04-4 (Oct. 20, 1987),

available at perma.cc/5ghd-kcjj. The Handbook

explained that “two appellate courts (Fifth and Sixth

Circuits) and two district courts (in the Eighth and

Tenth Circuits)” have construed the exemption to

cover service advisors. Id.2 The Handbook

acknowledged that “this policy ... represents a change

from the position in [the 1970 regulations],” and

indicated that the agency’s regulations “will be revised

as soon as is practicable.” Jd.

Despite these clear (and clearly correct) changes

in DOL’s enforcement policy, the 1970 interpretive

regulations with the now-repudiated interpretation of

§213(b)(10)(A) remained in the Code of Federal

Regulations. In 2008, DOL initiated a formal

rulemaking process to update the text of the

regulations to confirm that service advisors were

exempt from the overtime-pay requirements. See

Updating Regulations Issued Under the FLSA, 73 Fed.

Reg. 43,654 (2008). As DOL explained, “[u]niform

appellate and district court decisions ... hold that

service advisors are exempt under [29 U.S.C.

§213(b)(10)(A)] because they are ‘salesmen’ who are

primarily engaged in ‘servicing’ automobiles.” Jd. at

43,658 (citing Walton, 370 F.3d at 452; Deel Motors,

475 F.2d at 1097; Brennan, 1975 WL 1074, at *3).

DOL’s notice of proposed rulemaking included a

2 In addition to the Fifth Circuit's decision in Deel Motors, the

Sixth Circuit had summarily affirmed a district court decision

finding service advisors to be exempt under §213(b)(10)(A). See

Brennan v. N. Bros. Ford, No. 40344, 1975 WL 1074, at *3 (E.D.

Mich. 1975), aff'd sub nom. Dunlop v. N. Bros. Ford, 529 F.2d 524

(6th Cir. 1976) (Table).

9

modified version of 29 C.F.R. §779.372(c)(4) that

would have codified this unbroken line of case law.

In 2011, however, DOL changed course yet again.

It issued a final rule that neither adopted the proposed

regulation nor brought the regulation in line with the

governing case law. See Updating Regulations Issued

Under the FLSA, 76 Fed. Reg. 18,832, 18,859 (2011).

Instead, DOL maintained the 1970 regulation’s

definition of “salesman,” see 29 C.F.R. §779.372(c)(1),

but also eliminated from its regulations any explicit

discussion of whether service advisors were covered

under the §213(b)(10)(A) exemption, see 76 Fed. Reg.

at 18,859. In its explanation accompanying the final

rule, DOL stated that service advisors should not be

treated as exempt because the regulatory definitions

“limit{] the exemption to salesmen who sell vehicles

and partsmen and mechanics who service vehicles.”

Id. at 18,838. That remains DOL’s position today’

DOL believes that service advisors are not exempt

under §213(b)(10)(A) because they do not personally

service vehicles.

B. Respondents’ Complaint and_ the

District Court’s Decision

Petitioner Encino Motorcars, LLC, sells and

services new and used Mercedes Benz automobiles.

Respondents are current and former employees of

Petitioner who worked at the dealership as “service

advisors.” On September 18, 2012, Respondents filed

a complaint alleging several violations of the FLSA

and California Labor Code.

The complaint alleges that, as service advisors,

Respondents would meet and greet car owners as they

entered the service area; evaluate customers’ service

10

and repair needs; suggest services to be performed on

the vehicle to address the customers’ complaints;

solicit supplemental services to be performed (such as

preventive maintenance); prepare price estimates for

repairs and services; and inform the owner about the

status of the vehicle. See Complaint 916 (DN 2). In

short, Respondents’ sales activities were integral to

the process of servicing vehicles at the dealership.

And, like countless other salesmen in both car

dealerships and other industries, Respondents were

paid by commission. Jd. J§18-19.; The more services

an advisor sold, the higher his or her commission

would be. Jd.

Respondents alleged that they often worked more

than 40 hours per week, and that Petitioner violated

the FLSA by failing to pay them time-and-a-half

overtime compensation for that excess time. Id. 9924-

31. Petitioner moved to dismiss the FLSA claims on

the ground that Respondents were exempt employees

under 29 U.S.C. §213(b)(10)(A).

On January 25, 2013, the district court granted

Petitioner's motion to dismiss the FLSA claims,

holding that Respondents were clearly covered by the

overtime-pay exemption in §213(b)(10)(A). See

Pet.App.25-29. The district court began by noting that

several other courts “have applied this exemption to

Service Advisors.” Pet.App.26 (citing Deel Motors, 475

F.2d at 1097; Walton, 370 F.3d at 453).

3 Some dealerships pay their service advisors a combination of

salary or hourly wages and commissions, whereas other

dealerships (like Petitioner) pay service advisors solely by

commission.

11

The district court acknowledged that DOL had

stated in 1970 and apparently again in 2011 that

§213(b)(10)(A) did not apply to service advisors.

Pet.App.27 The court nonetheless refused to defer to

those interpretations under the Chevron framework

because they were unreasonable. Pet.App.28-29. The

court agreed with the Fourth and Fifth Circuits that

DOL’s interpretations were an “impermissibly

restrictive construction of the statute.” Pet.App.29

(quoting Walton, 370 F.3d at 452). Because “Service

Advisors ... are functionally equivalent to salesmen

and mechanics and are similarly responsible for the

‘selling and servicing’ of automobiles,” the district

court concluded that it would be “unreasonable” to

carve those employees out of the exemption. Jd.

(emphasis added). The court did not believe that

“Congress intended to treat employees’ with

functionally similar positions differently.” Id.

(quoting Deel Motors, 475 F.2d at 1097-98). The

district court thus dismissed Respondents’ claim for

overtime under the FLSA on the ground that they

were exempt under §213(b)(10)(A).+

C. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision

On appeal, the Ninth Circuit reversed in relevant

part. In an opinion by Judge Graber issued on March

24, 2015, the court held that service advisors who

work at a car dealership are not exempt under

§213(b)(10)(A) from the FLSA’s overtime-pay

requirements. Pet.App.19.

4 After dismissing the FLSA claims, the district court declined

to exercise supplemental jurisdiction over Respondents’

remaining state-law claims. Pet.App.31.

12

The panel relied heavily on the purported canon

of construction that “[t]he FLSA is to be construed

liberally in favor of employees,” and “exemptions are

narrowly construed against employers.” Pet.App.6

(quoting Haro v. City of Los Angeles, 745 F.3d 1249,

1256 (9th Cir. 2014)). Because the statute does not

define “salesman, partsman, or mechanic,” and does

not explicitly mention “service advisors,” the Ninth

Circuit could not “conclude that service advisors ... are

‘persons plainly and unmistakably within [the

FLSA’s] terms and spirit.” Pet.App.7 (quoting Soltis v.

Washington, 656 F.3d 1079, 1083 (9th Cir. 2011)).

The Ninth Circuit also disagreed with the district

court’s application of Chevron, concluding that DOL

had reasonably interpreted an ambiguous FLSA

exemption. The court believed that there were two

“plausible” interpretations of the phrase “any

salesman, partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged

in selling or servicing automobiles.” Pet.App.7. Under

the first interpretation, a service advisor is a

“salesman ... primarily engaged in ... servicing

automobiles” and is thus exempt. Jd. Under the

second interpretation, which the Ninth Circuit

characterized as “at least as plausible,” the nouns in

the statute would be interpreted in a “more cabined”

way: “a salesman is an employee who sells cars; a

partsman is an employee who requisitions, stocks, and

dispenses parts; and a mechanic is an employee who

performs mechanical work on cars.” Jd. Under that

narrower interpretation, “[s]ervice advisors do none of

those things; they sell services for cars.” Id. The

Ninth Circuit thus concluded that the exemption is

ambiguous about whether it extends to service

advisors. Pet.App.8.

13

Turning to Chevron’s second step, the Ninth

Circuit upheld DOL’s current interpretation of the

exemption as reasonable. Pet.App.11-19. The court's

reasoning rested primarily on the same ambiguity

that it had identified earlier. In particular, the Ninth

Circuit concluded that it was reasonable for DOL to

read the exemption so that salesmen are exempt if

they are “engaged in selling ... automobiles,” but not if

they are “engaged in ... servicing automobiles.”

Pet.App.13-15.

The Ninth Circuit readily acknowledged that its

holding “conflicts with decisions of the Fourth and

Fifth Circuits, several district courts, and the

Supreme Court of Montana.” Pet.App.11 (citing

Walton, 370 F.3d 446; Deel Motors, 475 F.2d 1095;

Thompson, 294 P.3d 397). But the court “respectfully

disagree[d] with those decisions.” Id.

The panel rejected the other courts’ conclusion

that DOL’s 1970 interpretation of §213(b)(10)(A) was

“unduly restrictive.” Pet.App.12-13. Those courts had

held that DOL’s interpretation was unreasonable

because it unjustifiably restricted the scope of the

statutory text. In particular, DOL’s interpretation

disregarded the fact that a service advisor could be a

“salesman ... primarily engaged in ... servicing

automobiles.” See Walton, 370 F.3d at 452; Thompson,

294 P.3d at 402.

The Ninth Circuit, however, concluded that DOL’s

regulation honored the disjunctive nature of the

phrase “salesman ... primarily engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles.” First, the court concluded

that there was ambiguity as to whether the phrase

“primarily engaged in selling or servicing” refers to the

14

act of personally selling or servicing automobiles or

instead to “the general business” of selling or servicing

automobiles. Pet.App.12-14. Second, the court

identified as a potential ambiguity whether the word

“salesman” was modified only by the gerund “selling”

or was instead modified disjunctively by either

gerund, “selling” and “servicing.” Pet.App.13-15. The

court further noted that “[n]on-textual indicators of

congressional intent, such as legislative history, are

inconclusive.” Pet.App.15.

The Ninth Circuit ultimately concluded that

“there are good arguments’ supporting both

interpretations of the exemption,” but that “where

there are two reasonable ways to read the statutory

text, and the agency has chosen one interpretation, we

must defer to that choice.” Pet.App.19. The court thus

held that Respondents were not exempt under 29

U.S.C. §213(b)(10)(A) and reversed the district court’s

dismissal of Respondents’ claims.’ The Ninth Circuit

denied a timely petition for rehearing on June 1, 2015.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This case presents an excellent vehicle for this

Court to resolve an acknowledged split of authority

over whether tens of thousands of “service advisors”

who work at car and truck dealerships are exempt

from the FLSA’s overtime-pay requirements.

5 The Ninth Circuit affirmed the district court’s dismissal of

the other federal claims because Respondents failed to challenge

the alternative grounds on which those claims were dismissed.

See Pet.App.3-4 n.2. And because it reinstated Respondents’

federal overtime-pay claim, the Ninth Circuit vacated the district

court’s dismissal of Respondents state-law claims for lack of

jurisdiction. See id.

15

I.A. In a clear departure from a previously

unbroken line of authority. the Ninth Circuit held that

service advisors are not exempt from the FLSA’s

overtime-pay requirements. The court readily

acknowledged that its decision “conflicts with

decisions of the Fourth and Fifth Circuits, several

district courts, and the Supreme Court of Montana.”

Pet.App.11. Certiorari is warranted because the

decision below is plainly in conflict with both “the

decision of another United States court of appeals on

the same important matter” and “a decision by a state

court of last resort.” S. Ct. R. 10(a).

I.B. It is unsurprising that the Ninth Circuit's

decision is an outlier, as that court badly misconstrued

the §213(b)(10)(A) exemption. That exemption

unambiguously extends to “any salesman ... primarily

engaged in ... servicing automobiles. 29 U.S.C.

§213(b)(10)(A). The plain text of this exemption

applies to service advisors, who are integral to the

process of servicing vehicles at the dealership and are

clearly “salesmfe]n ... primarily engaged in

servicing automobiles.” Yet the Ninth Circuit gave

dispositive weight to DOL’s narrow and counter-

textual interpretation of the exemption, which reads

out of the statute the phrase “any salesman

primarily engaged in ... servicing automobiles” and

reads into the statute a_ restrictive modifier

demanding that an exempt employee be personally

involved in servicing.

DOL’s interpretation flies in the face of the most

basic rules of statutory construction and grammar. As

to statutory construction, there is no cause for reading

into the statute a word that Congress did not include,

16

especially when doing so creates interpretive problems

for other statutory terms (e.g., partsmen are plainly

exempt even though they do not personally sell or

service automobiles) and practical problems for

employers (e.g., dealerships must divide their

salesforces between exempt and _ non-exempt

employees in ways Congress did not intend). As for

grammar, the term “or” in the phrase “salesman ...

primarily engaged in ... selling or servicing” is

disjunctive, and either gerund—‘“selling” or

“servicing —can sensibly be applied to the noun

“salesman.” Because a service advisor is_ the

paradigmatic “salesman ... primarily engaged in ...

servicing automobiles,” that should be the end of the

inquiry under Chevron. A service advisor is clearly

covered by the plain language of the exemption, as

every court to consider this issue (other than the Ninth

Circuit) has correctly recognized.

Moreover, treating service advisors as non-

exempt makes little sense in the context of the broader

FLSA scheme. The FLSA contains many provisions

that are designed to exclude from the mandatory

overtime rules individuals who are engaged in sales or

paid by commission. See, e.g., 29 U.S.C. §§207(i),

213(a)(1). Such exemptions reflect the basic reality

that salesmen, including service advisors, “are more

concerned with their total work product than with the

hours performed.” Deel Motors, 475 F.2d at 1097.

Forcing car dealerships to pay overtime to service

advisors is little more than an attempt to fit a square

peg (salesmen) into a round hole (FLSA-mandated

hourly compensation). See Christopher, 132 S. Ct. at

2173 (rejecting FLSA claim by sales representatives

who were “hardly the kind of employees that the FLSA

17

was intended to protect”). Worse still, retroactively

treating service advisors as non-exempt under

§213(b)(10)(A) would result in perverse and disruptive

outcomes for both dealerships and service advisors

alike, as it would force them into pay plans very

different from the plans they had _ voluntarily

negotiated.

Finally, the Ninth Circuit's heavy reliance on the

purported canon of construction that “the FLSA is to

be construed liberally in favor of employees” and that

“exemptions are narrowly construed against

employers,” Pet.App.6, is profoundly misplaced. This

“anti-employer” canon—which is just an FLSA-

specific version of the broad-construction-of-remedial-

statutes canon that this Court has characterized as

“that last redoubt of losing causes,” OWCP v. Newport

News Shipbuilding, 514 U.S. 122, 135-36 (1995)—is a

recipe for extravagant interpretations of the FLSA. In

addition to resolving the circuit split over the proper

interpretation of §213(b)(10)(A), this Court could

usefully instruct lower courts that the FLSA and its

exemptions are to be construed neither narrowly nor

broadly, but fairly and correctly.

II. The Ninth Circuit’s erroneous interpretation

of §213(b)(10)(A) will have far-reaching implications

for the nation’s 18,000 franchised car dealerships,

which employ an estimated 45,000 service advisors.

Dealerships and _ service advisors’ voluntarily

negotiated mutually beneficial compensation plans in

good-faith reliance on the unbroken line of authority

finding such employees to be exempt. Yet the Ninth

Circuit’s decision would require a wholesale reworking

of that position, to the detriment of dealerships and

18

service advisors alike. This Court has been justifiably

skeptical of attempts by plaintiffs to impose

significant retroactive liability for settled industry

practices that had long been viewed as outside the

scope of the FLSA. See, e.g., Christopher, 132 S. Ct. at

2167-68. It may be possible for unlawful employment

practices to escape detection for decades on end, but

the far more plausible view is that the employers have

been left alone because their practices simply do not

violate the FLSA.

Moreover, the lack of uniformity is especially

troubling in the FLSA context because of the

availability of nationwide FLSA collective actions.

Because plaintiffs may file collective action claims in

the most plaintiff-friendly forum, the Ninth Circuit’s

decision will lkely become the de facto nationwide

rule for any dealership that has operations within the

Ninth Circuit. Certiorari is plainly warranted to

restore national uniformity to this important area of

the law.

I. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Openly

Conflicts With The Decisions Of Several

Other Courts And Is Wrong On The Merits.

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Squarely

Conflicts With Decisions of the Fourth

and Fifth Circuits and the Montana

Supreme Court.

In a stark departure from a previously unbroken

line of authority, the Ninth Circuit held that service

advisors are not exempt from the FLSA’s overtime-pay

requirements. The court readily acknowledged that

its decision “conflicts with decisions of the Fourth and

Fifth Circuits, several district courts, and the

19

Supreme Court of Montana,” and noted that it

“respectfully disagree[s]” with the reasoning of those

cases. Pet.App.11-12. There is thus no serious

question that the lower courts are divided over the

meaning of §213(b)(10)(A).

1. In Walton v. Greenbrier Ford, 370 F.3d 446, the

Fourth Circuit held that service advisors fall within

the plain text of the FLSA’s overtime-pay exemption.

The Walton plaintiffs job duties were identical to

Respondents’ job duties here: he would “greet

customers, listen to their concerns about their cars,

write repair orders, follow-up on repairs, [] keep

customers informed about maintenance, [and] suggest

to customers additional services that needed to be

performed.” Id. at 449.

Under the plain text of §213(b)(10)(A), the Fourth

Circuit concluded that service advisors were

“salesm[e]n ... primarily engaged in _ servicing

automobiles.” Jd. at 453. Service advisors are an

“integral part of the dealership’s servicing of

automobiles” because they are the “first line ... service

sales representative[s].” Jd. at 452-53. Their role was

to figure out what services the customer needed,

prepare cost estimates, and sell both necessary repair

services and supplemental services. Jd. The court

thus concluded that those employees were salesmen

“primarily engaged in servicing automobiles.” Jd.

The Fourth Circuit also held that DOL’s

interpretation of the exemption in its 1970

interpretive regulation was “unreasonable” because it

is “an impermissibly restrictive construction of the

statute.” Jd. at 452. Under DOL’s view, a salesman

would be covered by the exemption only if he were

20

primarily engaged in selling vehicles. But, as the

Fourth Circuit explained, that interpretation

effectively ignores the second half of the disjunctive

clause “selling or servicing automobiles.” 29 U.S.C.

§213(b)(10)(A) (emphasis added). The court refused to

defer to DOL’s “restrictive regulatory definition”

because it “unreasonably implements _ the

congressional mandate.” 370 F.3d at 452.

Similarly, in Deel Motors, 475 F.2d 1095, the Fifth

Circuit flatly rejected DOL’s position and held that

service advisors were exempt from the FLSA. Under

the plain text of the exemption, the court concluded

that service advisors were “salesm[e]n ... engaged in

selling or servicing automobiles.” Jd. at 1098. And the

court further noted that “service salesmen are

functionally similar to the mechanics and partsmen

who service the automobiles.” Jd. at 1097. All of these

employees “work as an integrated unit, performing the

services necessary for the maintenance of the

customer’s automobile.” Jd. And, like countless other

salesmen who are exempt from the FLSA’s overtime

rules, service advisors “are more concerned with their

total work product than with the hours performed.”

Id. The Fifth Circuit thus had little difficulty

concluding that service advisors were exempt under

§213(b)(10)(A), notwithstanding DOL’s arguments to

the contrary.

Several other courts have reached the same

conclusion. In Thompson, 294 P.3d 397, the Montana

Supreme Court agreed with the Fourth and Fifth

Circuits that the §213(b)(10)(A) exemption covers

service advisors at car dealerships. Jd. at 402. The

court found no ambiguity in the relevant statutory

21

text because “[a] plain, grammatical reading of 29

U.S.C. §213(b)(10)(A) makes clear that the term

‘salesman’ encompasses a broader category of

employees than those only engaged in selling

vehicles.” Jd. The court added that “[t]he use of the

disjunctive ‘or’ between the words ‘selling or servicing

means that the exemption applies to any ‘salesman,

partsman, or mechanic,’ who [is] primarily engaged in

either of these duties.” /d.

The federal district courts that have addressed

this issue have also uniformly concluded that the

exemption in §213(b)(10)(A) applies to service advisors

at car dealerships. See, e.g., Yenney v. Cass Cty.

Motors, No. 76-0-294, 1977 WL 1678 (D. Neb. Feb. 8,

1977); Brennan v. N. Bros. Ford, No. 40344, 1975 WL

1074 (E.D. Mich. Apr. 17, 1975), aff'd sub nom. Dunlop

v. N. Bros. Ford, 529 F.2d 524 (6th Cir. 1976); Brennan

v. Import Volkswagen, Inc., No. W-4982, 1975 WL

1248 (D. Kan. Oct. 21, 1975). The district court here

likewise held that service advisors were exempt. See

Pet.App.29. Thus, describing this case as presenting

an acknowledged circuit’ split substantially

understates matters. The Ninth Circuit expressly

parted company with every other court to consider the

question.

2. The Ninth Circuit readily acknowledged that

its decision “conflicts with” the decisions cited above,

Id. at 11. It had no choice. Respondents perform the

exact same job functions as the service advisors in the

cases cited above, yet the Ninth Circuit found them to

be non-exempt while every other court has found them

to be exempt. Moreover, each of the decisions cited

above rejected DOL’s interpretation of the exemption

22

on the ground that it was an_ unreasonable

interpretation of the statute, whereas the Ninth

Circuit gave DOL’s position controlling weight. Jd. at

19 (“we must defer to [DOL’s] choice”). It is difficult to

imagine a clearer example of “a decision in conflict

with the decision of another United States court of

appeals on the same important matter,” and a decision

that “conflicts with a decision by a state court of last

resort.” S. Ct. R. 10(a).

A circuit split over the meaning of a federal

statute would be undesirable under any

circumstances, but the need for a uniform rule in this

context is particularly critical. The FLSA provides for

nationwide collective actions “by any one or more

employees for and in behalf of himself or themselves

and other employees similarly situated.” 29 U.S.C.

§216(b). Because of the availability of nationwide

FLSA collective actions, the most plaintiff-friendly

jurisdiction will often be able to establish the de facto

substantive law that governs many employers

throughout the entire country

Indeed, as the National Automobile Dealers

Association noted in an amicus brief below, there are

hundreds of car dealerships that operate at locations

both within and outside the Ninth Circuit. As a result,

even though the Ninth Circuit is the only court to have

ever found service advisors to be non-exempt, that

jurisdiction will likely become a forum of choice for

plaintiffs seeking to challenge the exempt status of

service advisors. One way or the other, the scope of a

critical federal labor statute should not turn on the

happenstance of the state in which a company is

23

operating. Certiorari is plainly warranted to restore a

nationally uniform interpretation of §213(b)(10)(A).

B. The Ninth Circuit Badly Misconstrued

Section 213(b)(10)({A).

It is not surprising that the Ninth Circuit is the

only court to have found service advisors to be non-

exempt, as the decision below is unmoored from both

the text and purpose of §213(b)(10)(A).

The FLSA exempts from the overtime

requirements “any salesman, partsman, or mechanic

primarily engaged in selling or servicing automobiles,

trucks, or farm implements, if he is employed by a

nonmanufacturing establishment primarily engaged

in the business of selling such vehicles or implements

to ultimate purchasers.” Jd. §213(b)(10)(A). There is

no dispute that Petitioner is “a nonmanufacturing

establishment primarily engaged in the business of

selling [automobiles] to ultimate purchasers.” Jd. The

only question is whether each Respondent is a

“salesman, partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged

in selling or servicing automobiles.” Jd. They plainly

are, and the Ninth Circuit’s reasons for holding

otherwise do not withstand scrutiny.

1. Service advisors are salesmen

primarily engaged in_ servicing

automobiles.

If a statute is neither “silent [nor] ambiguous with

respect to the specific issue,” the statute’s clear

meaning controls. Chevron, U.S.A. v. Nat. Res. Def.

Council, 467 U.S. 837, 843 (1984). The FLSA

exemption at issue here unambiguously extends to

“any salesman ... primarily engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles.” 29 U.S.C. §213(b)(10)(A).

24

That should be the end of the matter, as a service

advisor is integral to the process of servicing vehicles

at a dealership, and is the paradigmatic “salesman ...

primarily engaged in ... servicing automobiles.”

According to Respondents’ own complaint, their job

duties included evaluating customers’ service and

repair needs; suggesting services to address specific

problems with the vehicles; preparing cost estimates;

and offering supplemental services such as

preventative maintenance. See Complaint 916 (DN 2).

As the Fourth Circuit has correctly recognized, service

advisors are “primarily engaged in_ servicing

automobiles” because they are an “integral part of the

dealership’s servicing of automobiles” and are the

“first line ... service sales representatives.” Walton,

370 F.3d at 452-53. They are thus exempt under a

straightforward textual interpretation of

§213(b)(10)(A).

In holding to the contrary, the Ninth Circuit gave

dispositive weight to DOL’s interpretation of the

exemption. According to DOL, despite the statute’s

disjunctive language—“any salesman, partsman, or

mechanic primarily engaged in selling or servicing

automobiles”’—the exemption covers salesmen

“engaged in selling” cars, but not salesmen “engaged

in servicing” them. See 76 Fed. Reg. at 18,838

(asserting that exemption is limited to “salesmen who

sell vehicles and partsmen and mechanics who service

vehicles”).

That interpretation flies in the face of the most

basic rules of grammar. In interpreting a sentence

with multiple disjunctive nouns and multiple

disjunctive direct-object gerunds, each noun is linked

25

to each gerund as long as that noun-gerund

combination has a sensible meaning. See, e.g., Reiter

vu. Sonotone Corp., 442 U.S. 330, 339 (1979) (“Canons

of construction ordinarily suggest that terms

connected by a disjunctive be given separate

meanings, unless the context dictates otherwise ....”);

FCC v. Pacifica Found., 438 U.S. 726, 739-40 (1978)

(“The words ... are written in the disjunctive, implying

that each has a separate meaning.”). Here, there is no

question that the term “or” in the phrase “salesman ...

primarily engaged in selling or servicing’ is

disjunctive and that both gerunds can sensibly be

applied to the noun “salesman.” Thus, both parts of

the disjunctive phrase “engaged in selling or servicing

automobiles” can plainly be applied to the noun

“salesman.”

The Ninth Circuit offered two basic reasons for

finding ambiguity and deferring to DOL

interpretation, but neither withstands scrutiny First,

the Ninth Circuit offered an alternative interpretation

of the statute in which the words “selling” and

“servicing” refer only to the specific acts of personally

selling or servicing cars, and not to the general process

of sales or service. See Pet.App.12-13. Under that

view, because a service advisor does not personally

service vehicles, he cannot be “primarily engaged in ...

servicing automobiles.”

That argument impermissibly injects a word into

the statute and creates a significant interpretative

anomaly for one of the key words that actually appears

in the statutory text. See Davis v. Mich. Dep't of

Treasury, 489 U.S. 803, 809 (1989) (“It is a

fundamental canon of statutory construction that the

26

words of a statute must be read in their context and

with a view to their place in the overall statutory

scheme.”). The notion that an exempt employee must

be personally involved in servicing automobiles

requires adding a restrictive modifier that is absent in

the statutory text. That is problematic enough, but

the word DOL would add to the statute also creates a

significant textual anomaly. Partsmen are plainly

exempt employees under the statute, but they do not

personally engage in either selling or servicing.

Instead, those workers are “employed for the purpose

of and primarily engaged in requisitioning, stocking,

and dispensing parts.” 29 C.F.R. §779.372(c)(2).

There is no satisfactory answer to the anomaly

that arises if the statute is interpreted as requiring

direct personal involvement in servicing. It cannot

seriously be contended that the exemption covers only

partsmen who personally service automobiles, for that

is a null set. See Hibbs v. Winn, 542 U.S. 88, 101

(2004) (statute or regulation must be construed “so

that effect is given to all its provisions, so that no part

will be inoperative or superfluous, void or

insignificant”). But if, as is clearly the case, partsmen

come within the plain terms of the exemption because

they are engaged in the general process of selling or

servicing automobiles rather than personally engaged

in selling or servicing automobiles, then service

advisors must also come within the terms of the

exemption. Indeed, if anything, the service advisors,

who diagnose problems and recommend solutions are

more personally involved in servicing than the plainly

exempt partsmen. And no canon of construction

permits interpreting the concept of servicing broadly

for partsmen and narrowly for salesmen. See, e.g.,

27

FCC v. AT&T, 562 U.S. 397, 408 (2011) (“identical

words and phrases within the same statute should

normally be given the same meaning” throughout the

statute).

Second, in attempting to conjure up ambiguity in

the statutory text, the Ninth Circuit asserted that the

exemption could be construed such that the noun

“salesman” is modified only by “selling” rather than

“selling” and “servicing.” Pet.App.14-15; see also 76

Fed. Reg. at 18,838 (limiting exemption to “salesmen

who sell vehicles” and “mechanics who service

vehicles”). The court provided two stylized analogies

that, in its view, highlighted this purported

ambiguity. The Ninth Circuit first presented the

sentence, “if my dogs or cats are eating or drinking,

then I know not to pet them.” Pet.App.14. In this

sentence, it is clear from the context that both “eating”

and “drinking” can apply to both “dog” and “cat.” The

court contrasted that sentence with the sentence, “if

my dogs or cats are barking or meowing, then I know

that they need to be let out.” Jd. It is equally clear

from the context of this sentence that “barking”

applies only to dogs and “meowing” applies only to

cats. Reasoning by analogy, the Ninth Circuit

concluded that the phrase “salesman, partsman, or

mechanic primarily engaged in selling or servicing”

could be understood as akin to either the “barking or

meowing’ sentence or the “eating or drinking’

sentence, the -eby resulting in ambiguity for DOL to

fill.

There are two serious problems with those

examples. First, rather than demonstrating any

ambiguity here, those examples simply underscore

28

that context matters and can provide clear answers.

Neither dog/cat example is ambiguous. The first

illustrates the default grammatical rule that unless

the disjunctive gerund is distinct to one of the

disjunctive nouns, then the gerund modifies all the

nouns to which it could apply. An effort to limit that

phrase to eating dogs and drinking cats would be

nonsensical. Put differently, there is no ambiguity as

to whether that phrase covers drinking dogs and

eating cats. They are plainly covered. The second

example demonstrates that the default rule can be

overcome when the gerunds are by their nature

limited to a particular noun. Meowing dogs and

barking cats are not covered because there are no such

animals. Once again, the phrase is unambiguous. But

there is nothing oxymoronic or even anomalous about

a salesman primarily engaged in the servicing of

automobiles. That is exactly what service advisors do,

and they are unambiguously covered by the

exemption.

The second problem with the Ninth Circuit's

example once again stems from the exemption’s

undeniable coverage of partsmen. Congress’ inclusion

of partsmen is fatal to the Ninth Circuit’s theory that

Congress intended to limit the application of each of

the disjunctive gerunds to only one of the listed nouns.

In the “dog-cat” analogy, the partsman is the

figurative “horse” (or any other animal) in the

sentence that confirms that the gerunds are more

similar to generic “eating or drinking” than to species-

particular “barking or meowing.” Indeed, the FLSA

exemption in §213(b)(10)(A) contains three nouns but

only two gerunds, which makes it mathematically

impossible to link the nouns to the gerunds on a one-

29

to-one basis. Context matters, and the number and

positioning of the nouns and gerunds makes clear that

a salesman—like a partsman or mechanic—can be

“primarily engaged in ... servicing automobiles.”

2. Ata minimum, DOL’s interpretation

is umreasonable and thus not

entitled to deference.

Unlike other subsections of the FLSA, Congress

did not expressly delegate to DOL authority to

interpret §213(b)(10)(A). Compare, e.g., 29 U.S.C.

§213(a)(1) (granting DOL authority to “define[] and

delimit{] from time to type by regulations” the

definition of “outside salesman”), and id. §213(b)(14)

(granting DOL authority to define the phrase “area of

production”), with id. §213(b)(10)(A) (no comparable

grant of authority). Accordingly, DOL’s regulation is

not a legislative regulation, but merely an interpretive

one. See Chevron, 467 U.S. at 843-44. Interpretive

regulations are accorded less deference than

legislative regulations, and may be upheld by a court

only if they “implement the congressional mandate in

a reasonable manner.” Walton, 370 F.3d at 452; see

also Pet.App.29 (“mere interpretation” is “accorded

lower deference”).

DOL’s interpretation of §213(b)(10)(A) plainly

fails that test. All of the arguments for why the text

of the exemption is unambiguous apply with equal, if

not greater, force in explaining why DOL’s

interpretation is unreasonable. See Walton, 370 F.3d

at 452 (finding DOL interpretation to be

“unreasonable, as it is an impermissibly restrictive

interpretation of the statute”).

30

Moreover, DOL’s flimsy justification for reversing

its interpretation of §213(b)(10)(A) in 2011 only

compounds the unreasonableness of its position and

the inappropriateness of substantial deference. For

nearly 40 years, service advisors and car dealerships

have negotiated mutually beneficial compensation

plans in good-faith reliance upon DOL's oft-repeated

assertion that service advisors were exempt

employees. See DOL 1978 Opinion Letter, 1978 WL

51403 (service advisors exempt from FLSA as long as

their sales are primarily for non-warranty service).

Yet DOL purported to change that longstanding

interpretation in 2011 based on the very same

counter-textual reading of §213(b)(10)(A) that a

number of courts had already rejected. See 76 Fed.

Reg. at 18,838 (limiting exemption to “salesmen who

sell vehicles and partsmen and mechanics who service

vehicles”). That specious justification falls far below

the type of reasoned decisionmaking expected of an

agency before it upends a policy that “has engendered

serious reliance interests.” FCC v. Fox Television

Stations, 556 U.S. 502, 515-16 (2009); see also Smiley

vu. Citibank (S.D.), N.A., 517 U.S. 735, 742 (1996)

(under Chevron, a “change that does not take account

of legitimate reliance on prior interpretation[s] ... may

be ‘arbitrary, capricious [or] an abuse of discretion”).

In all events, DOL’s position must be rejected

regardless of the level of deference it receives. In

addition to the significant textual flaws discussed

above, treating service advisors as non-exempt makes

little sense in the broader scheme of the FLSA. The

FLSA contains numerous provisions (in addition to

§213(b)(10)(A)) that are designed to exclude from the

mandatory overtime rules individuals who are

31

engaged in sales or paid by commission. See, e.g., 29

U.S.C. §207(7) (excluding certain employees of retail or

service establishments who are paid commissions); id.

§213(a)(1) (excluding “any employee employed ... in

the capacity of outside salesman’).

Those provisions reflect the basic reality that it is

both common and reasonable for salesmen to be

compensated based on their success at selling, rather

than the sheer number of hours worked. As the Fifth

Circuit has explained, “[t]he enactment of

[§213(b)(10)(A)] was an implicit recognition by

Congress of the incentive method of remuneration for

salesmen, partsmen, and mechanics employed by an

automobile dealership.” Deel Motors, 475 F.2d at

1097. Like countless other salesmen who are treated

as exempt under the FLSA, service advisors “are more

concerned with their total work product than with the

hours performed.” /d. Forcing an employer to pay

service advisors—who are quintessential salesmen—

overtime compensation on an hourly basis would be a

misguided attempt to fit a square peg into a round

hole, and would do nothing to promote the policies

underlying the FLSA. Cf. Christopher, 132 S. Ct. at

2173 (noting that pharmaceutical sales

representatives “are hardly the kind of employees that

the FLSA was intended to protect”).

Finally, DOL’s interpretation also forces

dealerships to differentiate among their employees in

ways that are contrary to Congress’ plain intent.

Service advisors are in some sense a hybrid, since

their job is to sell, but they sell services. If the

salesforce were entirely exempt and the service staff

(such as mechanics and partsmen) were entirely non-

32

exempt, there might be a boundary question on which

DOL was due some deference. But here DOL has

seized on the fact that service advisors are a hybrid

between two fully exempt categories as a ground for

deeming them non-exempt. That interpretation

makes no sense and needlessly creates fissures among

similar employees that Congress plainly did not

intend.

3. The Ninth Circuit erred by holding

that FLSA exemptions should be

interpreted “narrowly.”

Finally, the Ninth Circuit buttressed its

untenable conclusion by relying heavily on the

purported canon of construction that “the FLSA is to

be construed liberally in favor of employees,” and that

“exemptions are narrowly construed against

employers.” Pet.App.6 (quoting Haro, 745 F.3d at

1256). Indeed, the Ninth Circuit effectively applied a

clear statement rule, holding that employees must be

treated as subject to the FLSA’s overtime rules unless

they “plainly and unmistakably” fall within an

exemption. Jd. (quoting Solis, 656 F.3d at 1083).

That purported canon of construction is just an

FLSA-specific variant of the disfavored notion that

courts should interpret remedial statutes broadly.

See, e.g., OWCP, 514 U.S. at 135-36 (describing broad-

construction canon as “that last redoubt of losing

causes”). But applying this misguided canon does

nothing but guarantee extravagant results in FLSA

cases. The goal of a court interpreting a statute

“should be neither liberally to expand nor strictly to

constrict its meaning, but rather to get the meaning

precisely right.” Antonin Scalia, Assorted Canards of

33

Contemporary Legal Analysis, 40 Case W Res. L. Rev.

581, 582 (1990). Thus, in addition to addressing the

circuit split concerning the meaning of §213(b)(10)(A),

granting plenary review would give this Court an

opportunity to clarify that the FLSA should be

construed neither narrowly nor broadly, but fairly and

correctly.

Il. The Ninth Circuit’s Erroneous Decision Will

Have Far-Reaching Implications For

Dealerships And Will Inject Uncertainty

Into A Previously Settled Area Of The Law.

The scope of the FLSA exemption under

§213(b)(10)(A) is of tremendous practical significance

to the automobile industry nationwide. The nation’s

18,000 franchised car dealerships employ an

estimated 45,000 service advisors. Based on decades

of settled precedent treating those employees as

exempt, service advisors and dealerships negotiated

compensation packages based primarily on sales

commissions rather than hourly wages. Yet the Ninth

Circuit has now concluded that this entire

arrangement has been unlawful all along.

This Court has not looked favorably upon

attempts by plaintiffs to use novel theories of FLSA

liability to upset long-settled industry practices. As

the Court has explained, it may be “possible for an

entire industry to be in violation of the [FLSA] for a

long time” with no one noticing, but the “more

plausible hypothesis” is that the industry’s practices

simply were not unlawful. Christopher, 132 S. Ct. at

2168. The Court has thus repeatedly rejected FLSA

claims that would have exposed settled industry

practices to potentially significant retroactive liability

34

(including back pay and double damages). See, e.g.,

Integrity Staffing, 135 S. Ct. at 518-19 (rejecting novel

attempt to impose FLSA liability for time spent in

security screenings); Christopher, 132 S. Ct. at 2170-

74 (rejecting FLSA liability for pharmaceutical sales

representatives where “the pharmaceutical industry

had little reason to suspect that its longstanding

practice of treating [sales representatives] as exempt

-.. transgressed the FLSA”); see also Yi, 480 F.3d at

510-11 (rejecting FLSA challenge to a “system of

compensation [that] is industry-wide, and of long

standing”).

Those concerns are at their zenith in cases like

this and Christopher where the plaintiffs seek to have

employees who were actually paid on a commission-

basis retroactively reclassified as non-exempt

employees. Not only were workers focused on earning

commissions, rather than working a set number of

hours, but employers did not have an incentive to

strictly track the number of hours worked, which

creates both evidentiary difficulties and the prospect

of wholly unjustified windfalls. See Christopher, 132

S. Ct. at 2173 (sales work was “difficult to standardize

to any time frame,” which “ma[de] compliance with the

overtime provisions difficult”). And, of course, the

Ninth Circuit’s holding would force both service

advisors and dealerships into compensation plans

other than the ones they had voluntarily negotiated,

to the detriment of employers and employees alike.

The problems with allowing Respondents to reap

such windfalls are exacerbated by the differential

treatment implicit in DOL’s approach. Under the

approach adopted by every other court to consider the

35

issue, all sales employees are treated the same, viz.,

as exempt. The Ninth Circuit’s decision, however,

would grant service advisors, but not other

salespeople (or others engaged in providing service,

such as partsmen or mechanics), a huge windfall.

Those windfalls cannot help but prove to be divisive.

Thus, dealers would face the prospect of not only

having to pay out damages retrospectively, but also

having to deal with anomalous divisions among their

salesforces going forward.

Finally, as noted above, because the FLSA

provides for nationwide collective actions, the Ninth

Circuit’s decision will likely become the de facto

nationwide rule for all dealerships that have at least

some operations within the Ninth Circuit. Thus, this

is not a case in which further percolation of the

relevant issues would be helpful or desirable. The far

better course is to grant certiorari immediately to

restore uniformity to this important area of the law

and reaffirm what numerous courts have held since

the 1970s—that service advisors are exempt from the

FLSA’s overtime rules under the plain text of 29

U.S.C. §213(b)(10)(A).

36

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court should grant

the petition for certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

PAUL D. CLEMENT

KARL R. LINDEGREN Counsel of Record

TODD B. SCHERWIN JEFFREY M. HARRIS

COLIN P CALVERT SUBASH S. IYER

FISHER & PHILLIPS LLP BANCROFT PLLC

444 S. Flower Street 500 New Jersey Avenue, NW

Suite 1590 Seventh Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90071 Washington, DC 20001

213-330-4450 202-234-0090

pclement@bancroftplic.com

WENDY MCGUIRE COATS

MCGUIRE COATS LLP

3527 Mt. Diablo Blvd., #281

Lafayette, CA 94549

925-297-6415

Counsel for Petitioner

September 30, 2015

APPENDIX

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A

Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, Hector

Navarro; Anthony Pinkins; Kevin Malone;

and Reuben Castro v. Encino Motorcars,

LLC, No. 13-55323 (Mar. 24, 2015) ............ App-1l

Appendix B

Order of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit Denying

Rehearing En Banc, Hector Navarro, et

al. v. Encino Motorcars, LLC, No. 13-

9 Eee ee App-20

Appendix C

(In Chambers) Order Re: Defendant's

Motion to Dismiss of the United States

District Court for the Central District of

California, Navarro, et al. v. Mercedes

Benz of Encino, No. 2:12-cv-08051-RGK-

gE a aot ee a App-22

Appendix D

SIU TEIN sncescodoncttieneecetiepuibedaewenpccese’ App-33

Appendix E

kM Ly |, App-58

App-l

Appendix A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 13-55323

HECTOR NAVARRO; ANTHONY PINKINS; KEVIN MALONE;

AND REUBEN CASTRO,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

ENCINO MOTORCARS, LLC, ERRONEOUSLY SUED AS

MERCEDES BENZ OF ENCINO, A CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellee.

Argued: February 11, 2015

Filed: March 24, 2015

OPINION

Before: Susan P Graber and Kim McLane

Wardlaw, Circuit Judges, and James C. Mahan,*

District Judge.

GRABER, Circuit Judge:

We consider here a question of first impression for

our circuit: Are “service advisors” who work at a car

dealership exempt from the overtime pay

* The Honorable James C. Mahan, United States District Judge

for the District of Nevada, sitting by designation.

App-2

requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

of 1938, 29 U.S.C. §§ 201-219, under 29 U.S.C.

§ 213(b)(10)(A), which exempts “any salesman,

partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles”? Reviewing de novo, Fortyune

v. City of Lomita, 766 F.3d 1098, 1101 (9th Cir. 2014),

petition for cert. filed, _U.S.L.W__ (U.S. Jan. 26,

2015) (No. 14-920), we answer that question “no” and,

accordingly, reverse the district court’s holding to the

contrary

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Defendant Encino Motorcars, LLC, sells and

services new and used Mercedes-Benz automobiles.'

Defendant employed or employs Plaintiffs Hector

Navarro, Mike Shirinian, Anthony Pinkins, Kevin

Malone, and Reuben Castro as “service advisors.” The

complaint alleges:

The job duties and obligations of Service

Advisors ... are to meet and greet Mercedes

Benz owners as they enter the service area of

the dealership and then to evaluate the

service and/or repair needs of the vehicle

owner in light of complaints given them by

these vehicle owners. Upon evaluation of the

service deeds of the vehicle, the Service

Advisors ... then solicit and suggest[] that

certain service[s] be conducted on the vehicle

to remedy the complaints of the vehicle owner

! Because the district court dismissed this case under Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6), we take the facts alleged in the

complaint as true. Brown v. Elec. Arts, Inc., 724 F.3d 1235, 1247

(9th Cir. 2013).

App-3

by conducting certain repairs at [Defendant’s

dealership] and through [Defendant’s] own

mechanics. The Service Advisors ... are also

duty bound and obligated by [Defendant] to

solicit and suggest that supplemental service

be performed on the vehicle above and beyond

that which is required in response to the

initial complaints of the vehicle owner. The

Service Advisors ... then write up an estimate

for the repairs and services and provide[] that

to the vehicle owner. The vehicle is then

taken to the mechanics at [Defendant] for

repair and maintenance.

As required by [Defendant] and oftentimes

while the vehicle is with [Defendant's]

mechanics, the Service Advisors ... will then

call the vehicle owner and solicit and suggest

that additional work be performed on the

vehicle at additional cost.

Defendant pays service advisors on a commission

basis only; Plaintiffs receive neither an hourly wage

nor a salary.

In 2012, Plaintiffs filed this action alleging,

among other things, that Defendant has violated the

FLSA by failing to pay overtime wages. The district

court dismissed the overtime claim because, the court

concluded, Plaintiffs fall within the FLSA’s exemption

for “any salesman, partsman, or mechanic primarily

engaged in selling or servicing automobiles.” 29 U.S.C.

§ 213(b)(10)(A). Plaintiffs timely appeal.?

2 The court dismissed Plaintiffs’ other federal claims (claims 3,

5, and 7) on alternative grounds not challenged on appeal. For

App-4

DISCUSSION

Title 29 U.S.C. § 207(a)(1) requires that

employers pay time-and-a-half for hours worked in

excess of 40 per workweek. But § 213(b)(10)(A)

provides that “[t]he provisions of section 207 of this

title shall not apply with respect to ... any salesman,

partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles, trucks, or farm implements, if

he is employed by a nonmanufacturing establishment

primarily engaged in the business of selling such

vehicles or implements to ultimate purchasers.”

Defendant, as a car’ dealership, is a

“nonmanufacturing establishment primarily engaged

in the business of selling ... vehicles ... to ultimate

purchasers.” Jd. The question is whether each Plaintiff

is a “salesman, partsman, or mechanic primarily

engaged in selling or servicing automobiles.” Jd.

Plaintiffs argue that we must defer to the United

States Department of Labors 2011 regulatory

definitions, set out at 29 C.F.R. § 779.372(c). 76 Fed.

Reg. 18,832-01 (Apr. 5, 2011). Those regulations state,

in relevant part:

Salesman, partsman, or mechanic.

(1) As used in section 13(b)(10)(A), a salesman

is an employee who is employed for the

purpose of and is primarily engaged in

making sales or obtaining orders or contracts

that reason, we affirm the court’s dismissal of those claims. The

court also exercised its discretion under 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c) to

dismiss Plaintiffs’ state-law claims for lack of supplemental

jurisdiction. Because we reverse the dismissal of the overtime

claim (claim 1), we also reverse the dismissal of the state-law

claims.

App-5

for sale of the automobiles, trucks, or farm

implements that the establishment is

primarily engaged in selling...

(2) As used in section 13(b)(10)(A), a

partsman is any employee employed for the

purpose of and primarily engaged in

requisitioning, stocking, and _ dispensing

parts.

(3) As used in section 13(b)(10)(A), a mechanic

is any employee primarily engaged in doing

mechanical work (such as get ready

mechanics, automotive, truck, or farm

implement mechanics, used car

reconditioning mechanics, and wrecker

mechanics) in the servicing of an automobile,

truck or farm implement for its use and

operation as such....

29 C.F.R. § 779.372(c). As the agency explained in

2011, the regulatory definitions “limit[] the exemption

to salesmen who sell vehicles and partsmen and

mechanics who service vehicles.” 76 Fed. Reg. at

18,838. Because Plaintiffs do not fit within any of

those definitions, they are not exempt from the FLSA’s

overtime wage provisions. Defendant concedes that

Plaintiffs do not meet the regulatory definitions, but

counters that we should not defer to the regulation.

We conduct the familiar two-step inquiry to

determine whether to defer to the agencys

interpretation. McMaster v. United States, 731 F.3d

881, 889 (9th Cir. 2013), cert. denied, 135 S. Ct. 160

(2014). “At step one, we ask ‘whether Congress has

directly spoken to the precise question at issue.” Id.

(quoting Chevron, U.S.A, Inc. v. Natural Res. Def.

App-6

Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 842 (1984)). If so, then the

inquiry is over, and we must give effect to the

“unambiguously expressed intent of Congress.”

Chevron, 467 U.S. at 843. But if the statute is silent or

ambiguous, then we must determine, before step two,

what level of deference applies. McMaster, 731 F.3d at

889. “If we determine that Chevron deference applies,

then we move to step two, where we will defer to the

agency's interpretation if it is ‘based on permissible

construction of the statute” Jd. (quoting Chevron, 467

U.S. at 843).

A. At Chevron Step One, the Statute is

Ambiguous.

When construing a congressional enactment, “our

inquiry begins with the statutory text.” BedRoc Ltd. v.

United States, 541. U.S. 176, 183 (2004). In addition,

in the present context we must apply the background

rule that “[t]he FLSA is to be construed liberally in

favor of employees; exemptions are narrowly

construed against employers.” Haro v. City of Los

Angeles, 745 F.3d 1249, 1256 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,

135 S. Ct. 138 (2014). “FLSA exemptions ... are to be

withheld except as to persons plainly and

unmistakably within their terms and spirit.”3 Solis v.

Washington, 656 F.3d 1079, 1083 (9th Cir. 2011)

(internal quotation marks omitted). “An employer who

3 The rule that courts should construe the FLSA’s exemptions

narrowly originated in Arnold v. Ben Kanowsky, Inc., 361 U'S.

388, 392 (1960). In recent years, the Supreme Court has clarified

that the presumption applies only to the exemptions in § 213 and

not more generally. Sandifer v. U.S. Steel Corp., 134 S. Ct. 870,

879 n.7 (2014); Christopher v. SmithKline Beecham Corp., 132

S. Ct. 2156, 2172 n.21 (2012).

App-7

claims an exemption from the FLSA bears the burden

of demonstrating that such an exemption applies.” Jd.

(internal quotation marks omitted).

As noted, the statute exempts “any salesman,

partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles.” 29 U.S.C. § 213(b)(10)(A). The

statute does not define the terms “salesman,

partsman, or mechanic.” Examining the statutory text

and applying canons of statutory interpretation, we

cannot conclude that service advisors such as

Plaintiffs are “persons plainly and unmistakably

within [the FLSA’s] terms and spirit,” Solis, 656 F.3d

at 1083 (internal quotation marks omitted).

It is plausible to read the term “salesman” broadly

and to connect the term to “servicing automobiles’;

that is, one could consider a service advisor to be a

“salesman ... primarily engaged in ... servicing

automobiles.” But, as explained in more detail below,

in Part C, it is at least as plausible to read the nouns

in a more cabined way: a salesman is an employee who

sells cars; a partsman is an employee who

requisitions, stocks, and dispenses parts; and a

mechanic is an employee who performs mechanical

work on cars. Service advisors do none of those things;

they sell services for cars. They do not sell cars; they

do not stock parts; and they do not perform mechanical

work on cars.

It is not clear from the text of the statute whether

Congress intended broadly to exempt any salesman

who is involved in the servicing of cars or, more

narrowly, only those salesmen who are selling the cars

themselves. Certainly Congress did not exempt all

employees of a car dealership; for example, a

App-8

bookkeeper who tracks invoices for car sales and

servicing is plainly not exempt, nor is a secretarial

employee who routes calls to the salesmen, partsmen,

and mechanics. Nor do canons of statutory

interpretation aid Defendant. To the contrary, the

§ 213 “exemptions are narrowly construed against

employers.” Haro, 745 F.3d at 1256.

In sum, the statutory text and canons of statutory

interpretation yield no clear answer to whether

Congress intended to include service advisors within

the exemption. Because Congress has not “directly

spoken to the precise question at issue,” Chevron, 467

U.S. at 842, the statute is ambiguous.

B. Chevron Provides the Appropriate Lens.

When a statute is ambiguous, then we must

determine, “prior to step two,” the appropriate

standard: either the Chevron test of reasonableness or

a lower standard under United States v. Mead Corp.,

533 U.S. 218 (2001). McMaster, 731 F.3d at 889.

Because we consider here a_ regulation duly

promulgated after a notice-and-comment period,

Chevron’s “reasonableness” standard applies. See, e.g.,

Renee v. Duncan, 623 F.3d 787, 795 (9th Cir. 2010)

(“The challenged federal regulation interprets a

federal statute. The regulation was adopted by the

responsible federal agency through notice and

comment rulemaking. We therefore apply the

analytical framework outlined in Chevron.”).

Nothing in the history of the regulation

undermines that conclusion. Indeed, the original

version of the regulation, promulgated in 1970,

contained the same narrow definitions of “salesman,”

“partsman,” and “mechanic.” See 29 C.F.R.

App-9

§ 779.372(c)(1)-(3) (1970); see also Dep’t of. Lab., Wage

& Hour Div., Opinion Letter No. 660, 66-69 Lab. Cas.

(CCH) 30,652 (Aug. 4, 1967) (also providing the same

narrow definitions). Those regulatory definitions have

not changed in any relevant way since 1970. Because

the agency's formal, regulatory position has not

changed, the cases cited by Defendant are not on

point. In Christopher v. SmithKline Beecham Corp.,

132 S. Ct. 2156, 2165 (2012), the Supreme Court

addressed what level of deference to give to an

agencys interpretation of its own _ regulations.

Importantly, the parties agreed that “the regulations

themselves ... [were] entitled to deference under

Chevron.” Id. Similarly, U.S. Steel, 678 F.3d at 598-99,

involved only opinion letters; the agency had not

issued formal! regulations.

It is true that the Department of Labor

occasionally has adopted the broader definitions,

urged by Defendant here, in documents other than

regulations. For example, the agency issued an

opinion letter in 1978 that defined a “salesman” to

encompass service advisors. Dep’t of Lab. Opinion

Letter No. WH-467, 1978 WL 51403 (July 28, 1978).

Similarly, the agency amended its Field Operations

Handbook in 1987 along the same lines. Field

Operations Handbook, Dep’t of Lab., Wage & Hour

Div., 24L04-4, Insert No. 1757 (Oct. 20, 1987).

The agency even proposed amending the formal]

regulation to adopt the broader definitions. 73 Fed.

Reg. 43,654-01, 43,658-59, 43,671 (July 28, 2008). But

it ultimately decided against making that change after

receiving comments from the public and considering

the relevant court decisions. 76 Fed. Red. at 18,838.

App-10

The agency “acknowledge[d] that there are strongly

held views on several of the issues presented in this

rulemaking, and it has carefully considered all of the

comments, analyses, and arguments made for and

against the proposed changes in developing this final

rule.” Jd. at 18,832. The regulatory history shows that

the Department of Labor has given this particular

issue considerable thought and has concluded that the

better reading of the statute is to “limit[] the

exemption to salesmen who sell vehicles and partsmen

and mechanics who service vehicles.” Jd. at 18,838.

Moreover, even if we were to consider the agency’s

2011 final rule a change of position, we still would

conclude that Chevron supplies the appropriate

standard of deference. As the Supreme Court

explained in FCC v. Fox Television Stations, Inc., 556

U.S. 502 (2009), an agency is permitted to change its

position. Consistent with Fox, the agency here

expressly acknowledged that its position was contrary

to its earlier opinion letter, and the agency rationally

explained why, in its view, the court decisions to the

contrary were erroneous. Under Fox, 556 U.S. at 515-

18, nothing more is required. Cf. Perez v. Mortg.

Bankers Ass’n, No. 13-1041, 2015 WL 998535 (U.S.

Mar. 9, 2015) (holding that an agency may change its

position in an interpretive rule without notice and

comment).

The Department of Labor's _ regulations

consistently—for 45 years—have interpreted the

statutory exemption to apply narrowly. The agency

reaffirmed that interpretation most recently in 2011,

after thorough consideration of opposing views and

after a formal notice-and-comment process. Under

App-11l

these circumstances, Chevron provides _ the

appropriate legal standard.

C. At Chevron Step Two, the Regulation is

Reasonable.

“Under Chevron step two, if the agency's

interpretation is a reasonable one, this court may not

substitute its own construction of the statutory

provision.” CHW W. Bay v. Thompson, 246 F.3d 1218,

1223 (9th Cir. 2001) (brackets and internal quotation

marks omitted). Here, the Department of Labor has

interpreted the statutory exemption to exclude service

advisors by choosing the narrower definition of the

term “salesman.” For the reasons described below, we

conclude that the agency has made a permissible

choice. The interpretation accords with the

presumption that the § 213 exemptions should be

construed narrowly. Haro, 745 F.3d at 1256.

Moreover, we are mindful of our role as a reviewing

court: “The agency’s interpretation need not be the

best construction of the ambiguous statute.” Cervantes

v. Holder, 772 F.3d 583, 591 (9th Cir. 2014).

We recognize that our decision to uphold the

agency's interpretation conflicts with decisions of the

Fourth and Fifth Circuits, several district courts, and

the Supreme Court of Montana. Walton v. Greenbrier

Ford, Inc., 370 F.3d 446 (4th Cir. 2004); Brennan v.

Deel Motors, Inc., 475 F.2d 1095 (5th Cir. 1973);

Brennan v. N. Bros. Ford, Inc., No. 40344, 1975 WL

1074 (E.D. Mich. Apr. 17, 1975) (unpublished), affd

sub. nom Dunlop v. N. Bros. Ford, Inc., 529 F.2d 524

(6t Cir. 1976) (table); Brennan v. Import Volkswagen,

Inc., No. W-4982, 1975 WL 1248 (D. Kan. Oct. 21,

1975) (unpublished); Yenney v. Cass Cnty. Motors Co.,

App-12

No. 76-0-294, 1977 WL 1678 (D. Neb. Feb. 8, 1977)

(unpublished); Thompson v. J. C. Billion, Inc., 294

P.3d 397 (Mont. 2013). We respectfully disagree with

those decisions.

In Deel Motors and the district court opinions

following that case in the 1970s, courts held that

service advisors are exempt because their duties and

pay structure are “functionally similar” to those of the

salesmen, partsmen, and mechanics whom the statute

expressly exempts. 475 F.2d at 1097 But those cases

pre-dated Chevron and the modern framework for

deferring to an agency’s interpretation. See id. (asking

not whether the agency’s interpretation was

reasonable but, instead, determining for itself “the

best interpretation,” “the better reasoned

interpretation,” and “a common sense interpretation’);

see also id. at 1098 (concluding that “[t]he intended

scope of [the exemption] is not entirely clear” but not

considering deference to the agency’s position). In that

regard, we agree with the Fourth Circuit that “[thej

‘functionally similar’ inquiry cannot be squared with

FLSA’s plain statutory and regulatory language.”

Walton, 370 F.3d at 451. Nothing in the statutory text

suggests that Congress meant to exempt salesmen,

partsmen, mechanics, and any other employees with

functionally similar job duties and pay structure; the

text exempts only certain salesmen, partsmen, and

mechanics.

The closer question is whether the agency's

interpretation is unreasonable because it is unduly

restrictive, as the Fourth Circuit held in Walton and

App-13

the Montana Supreme Court held in Thompson.

Those courts read § 213(b)(10)(A) as follows: “any

salesman, partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged

in [the general business of] selling or service

automobiles.” Service advisors are “salesmen” because

their job is to sell services for cars. And service

advisors are involved in the general business of

“servicing automobiles,” because their role is to help

customers receive mechanical work on their cars.

Accordingly, service advisors fall within the statutory

definition. In effect, those courts held that that is the

only reasonable reading of the statute.

The agency reads the statute differently: “any

salesman, partsman, or mechanic primarily [and

personally] engaged in_ selling or _ servicing

automobiles.” Service advisors may be “salesmen” in a

generic sense, but they do not personally sell cars and

they do not personally service cars. Accordingly,

service advisors fall outside the statutory definition.

In effect, the agency reads the statute as exempting

salesmen who sell cars and partsmen and mechanics

who service cars.

The Fourth Circuit rejected that interpretation as

unreasonable because, with respect to “salesman,” it

purportedly reads out of the statute the second half of

the disjunctive clause “selling or _ servicing

automobiles.” Walton, 370 F.3d at 452 (emphasis by

Walton) (quoting § 213(b)(10)(A)); see also Thompson,

294 P.3d at 402 (“A plain, grammatical reading of [the

statute] makes clear that the term ‘salesman’

4 Walton considered the issue at Chevron step two, whereas

Thompson considered the issue at Chevron step one. Otherwise,

the reasoning of both courts is largely the same.

App-14

encompasses a broader category of employees than

those only engaged in selling vehicles” because of

“{t]he use of the disjunctive ‘or’ between the words

‘selling or servicing”). The Fourth Circuit’s point is

that, when Congress uses a list of disjunctive subjects

(here, “salesman, partsman, or mechanic”) followed by

a list of disyunctive verbs (here, “selling or servicing”),

the ordinary interpretation of that construction is that

each subject is linked with each verb. For example, if

someone says, “if my dogs or cats are eating or

drinking, then I know not to pet them,” we understand

that phrase to be all-encompassing: the speaker

refrains from petting a dog that is eating or drinking

and a cat that is eating or drinking. It would

contravene the speakers intent to include, for

example, only cats that were eating but to exclude

dogs that were eating.

Critically, however, that analysis depends on

context. Consider this slightly modified hypothetical:

“if my dogs or cats are barking or meowing, then I

know that they need to be let out.” The Fourth

Circuit's grammatical interpretation of that phrase

would include a meowing dog and a barking cat. But

most English speakers would interpret the sentence to

refer only to a barking dog and a meowing cat. At a

minimum, that implicit limitation would offer a

reasonable interpretation of the speaker’s intent.

Returning to the statute at hand, the agency's

interpretation is reasonable. A natural reading of the

text strongly suggests that Congress did not intend

that both verb clauses would apply to all three

subjects. For example, it is hard to imagine, in

ordinary speech, a “mechanic primarily engaged in

App-15

selling ... automobiles.” That is, it seems that

Congress intended the subject “mechanic” to be

connected to only one of the two verb clauses,

“servicing.” The nature of the word “mechanic”

strongly implies the actions that the person would

take—servicing. See American Heritage College

Dictionary 842 (3d ed. 2000) (defining “mechanic” as a

“worker skilled in making, using, or repairing

machines, vehicles, and tools”). The same can be said

of the subject “salesman.” It is hard to imagine, in

ordinary speech, “salesman ... primarily engaged in ...

servicing automobiles.” Congress likely intended the

subject “salesman” to be connected to only one of the

two verb clauses, “selling.” The nature of the word

“salesman” strongly implies the actions that the

person would take—selling. See id. at 1203 (defining

“salesman” as a “man who sells merchandise’).

It is important to note that the agency’s reading

does not render any term meaningless or superfluous.

All three subjects (salesman, partsman, and

mechanic) and both verbs (selling and servicing)

retain meaning; it is just that some of the verbs do not

apply to some of the subjects. If the agency read out a

word altogether, its interpretation likely would be

unreasonable. See, e.g., Chubb Custom Ins. Co. v.

Space Sys./Loral, Inc., 710 F.3d 946, 966 (9th Cir.

2013) (“It is a well-established rule of statutory

construction that courts should not interpret statutes

in a way that renders a provision superfluous.”), cert.

denied, 134 S. Ct. 906 (2014). But the regulation does

not run afoul of that doctrine.

Non-textual indicators of congressional intent,

such as legislative history, are inconclusive. See

App-16

Fournier v, Sebelius, 718 F.3d 1110, 1123 (9th Cir.

2013) (holding that, at Chevron step two, “legislative

history permissibly may be considered”), cert. denied,

134 S. Ct. 1501 (2014). We have found no mention, in

the relevant reports or hearings, of service advisors,

by name or by role. All references to “salesman”

appear to refer to an employee who sells cars only. See,

e.g., 112 Cong. Rec. S20,504 (Aug. 24, 1966)

(statement of Sen. Yarborough) (“It would not affect

the salesman. He can go out and sell an Oldsmobile, a

Pontiac, or a Buick all day long and all night.”); id.

(“The salesman tries to get people mainly after their

hours of work. In some cases a man will leave his job,

get his wife, and go to look at automobiles. So the

hours of a salesman are different.”).

In 1961, Congress exempted “any employee” of a

car dealership. 29 U.S.C. § 213(a)(19) (1961); Pub. L.

No. 87-30, § 9, 7S Stat. 65 (1961). A few years later,

the Eighty-Ninth Congress considered three bills on

this topic. The first bill, introduced in 1965, would

have repealed altogether the exemption for employees

of dealerships. H.R. 8259, 89th Cong. § 305

(introduced in House on May 18, 1965). The next bill,

also introduced in 1965, would have exempted from

overtime requirements “any salesman or mechanic

employed by” a car dealership. H.R. 10,518, 89th

Cong. § 209 (introduced in House on Aug. 17, 1965);

H.R. 10,518, 89th Cong. § 209 (reported in House on

Aug. 25, 1965). Neither of those bills passed.

The final bill—H.R. 13,712—was enacted into law

on September 23, 1966.5 The first three versions,

5 Defendant cites recent actions by the House of

Representatives Committee on Appropriations in an apparent

App-17

introduced in the first half of 1966, exempted either

“any salesman or mechanic” or “any salesman,

mechanic, or partsman” employed by a car dealership.

H.R. 13,712, 89th Cong. § 209 (introduced in House on

Mar. 16, 1965); id. (reported in House on Mar. 29,

1966); id. (referred in Senate on May 27, 1966). The

final three versions all qualified the list of employees

with the phrase, “primarily engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles.” Jd. (reported in Senate on Aug.

23, 1966); id. (ordered to be printed in Senate on Aug.

25, 1966); Pub. L. No. 89-601 (Sept. 23, 1966). We

know. then, that sometime in 1966 between May 27

and August 23, the Senate added that phrase.

Unfortunately, the legislative history is silent on its

meaning. See, e.g., 112 Cong. Rec. H21,940 (Sept. 7,

1966) (House Conference Report: “The conference

substitute conforms to the House provision regarding

partsmen, except that such exemption shall be

available only to salesmen, partsmen, and mechanics

primarily engaged in selling or servicing such

vehicles.”); 112 Cong. Rec. $22,651 (Sept. 14, 1966)

(‘The resulting language follows the House

exemption— including the Senate floor amendment—

but with a somewhat narrower scope.”); Sen. Comm.

attempt to prevent enforcement by the agency of the 2011 rule.

That appropriations rider is not relevant. What one house of

Congress thinks, in the 2010s, about enforcement priorities for

the agency is entirely uninformative about the intent of Congress

when it enacted a statute in 1966. Moreover, enforcement

priorities do not change the content of the statute. If the

Appropriations Committee were to instruct, for instance, that it

did not want money spent on enforcing the statutes forbidding

cultivation of fewer than five marijuana plants on federal lands,

such cultivation would not become lawful.

App-18

on Lab. & Pub. Welf., Report: No. 1487, p. 14, 89th

Cong. (Aug. 23, 1966) (“Committee Report”) (“Section

13(b) is amended to provide an overtime exemption for

salesmen and mechanics who are primarily engaged

in selling or servicing automobiles....”).

The only possible exception, noted by Deel Motors,

475 F.2d at 1097 n.2, is found in the Committee Report

on August 23, 1966:

It is the intent of this exemption to exclude

from the coverage of section 7 all mechanics

and salesmen (other than partsmen)

employed by an automobile, trailer, truck,

farm implement or aircraft dealership even if

they work in physically separate buildings or

areas, or even if, though working in the

principal building of the dealership, their

work relates to the work of physically

separate buildings or areas, so long as they

are employed in a department which is

functionally operated as part of the

dealership.

Committee Report at 32. The Fifth Circuit quoted

selectively from that passage for the preposition that

the committee intended to exempt all mechanics and

salesmen. Deel Motors, 475 F.2d at 1097 n.2. But the

quoted passage also is found in earlier committee

reports, which were written before the limiting phrase

was added. E.g., Sen. Comm. on Educ. & Lab., Report

No. 871, p. 38, 89th Cong. (Aug. 25, 1965). Because the

passage appeared both before and after the addition of

the “primarily” proviso, the best reading of that

passage is that the committee was addressing what

App-19

provisions apply to employees who work in separate

buildings, not what types of salesmen are exempt.

In sum, there are good arguments supporting both

interpretations of the exemption. But where there are

two reasonable ways to read the statutory text, and

the agency has chosen one interpretation, we must

defer to that choice. Chevron, 467 U.S. at 844.

Accordingly, we hold that Plaintiffs are not exempt

under 29 U.S.C. § 213(b6)(10)(A).

Dismissal of claims 3, 5, and 7 AFFIRMED;

dismissal of claim 1 and the supplemental state-law

claims REVERSED; case REMANDED. Costs on

appeal awarded to Plaintiffs.

App-20

Appendix B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 13-55323

HECTOR NAVARRO; ET AL.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

ENCINO MOTORCARS, LLC, ERRONEOUSLY SUED AS

MERCEDES BENZ OF ENCINO,

Defendant-Appellee.

Filed: June 1, 2015

ORDER

Before: GRABER and WARDLAW, Circuit

Judges, and MAHAN,” District Judge.

Judges Graber and Wardlaw have voted to deny

Appellee’s petition for rehearing en banc, and Judge

Mahan has so recommended.

The full court has been advised of the petition for

rehearing en banc, and no judge of the court has

requested a vote on it.

* The Honorable James C. Mahan, United States District Judge

for the District of Nevada, sitting by designation.

App-21

Appellee’s petition for rehearing en banc is

DENIED.

App-22

Appendix C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE CENTRAL DISTRICT

OF CALIFORNIA

No. 2:12-cv-08051-RGK-MRW

NAVARRO, ET AL.,

Plaintiffs

Vv.

MERCEDES BENZ OF ENCINO,

Defendant.

Filed: January 25, 2013

(IN CHAMBERS) ORDER RE: DEFENDANT'S

MOTION TO DISMISS

R. Gary Klausner, United States District Judge.

I. Introduction

On September 18, 2012, Hector Navarro, Mike

Shirinian, Anthony Pinkins, Kevin Malone, and

Reuben Castro (collectively “Plaintiffs”) filed this

complaint alleging «ine claims against Mercedes Benz

of Encino (“Defendant”) for various violations of the

Fair Labor Standards Act (“FLSA”) and the California

Labor Code.

App-23

On November 16, 2012, Defendant filed this

Motion to Dismiss. The Court reviews Defendant's

Motion to Dismiss as to four of the nine claims: (1)

First Claim: violation of FLSA 29 U.S.C. § 207 for

failure to pay overtime wages,! (2) Third Claim:

violation of FLSA 29 U.S.C. § 206 for failure to pay

minimum wage, (3) Fifth Claim: violation of FLSA 29

U.S.C. § 207 for failure to provide extra compensation

for work completed during mandatory meal and rest

periods, and (4) Seventh Claim: violation of FLSA 29

U.S.C. § 211 for failure to provide a written, itemized

statement detailing hours worked and compensation

received.

For the reasons stated below, the Court GRANTS

Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Additionally, the

remaining claims are state claims over which the

Court will not exercise supplemental jurisdiction.

Therefore, the Court dismisses those claims for lack of

subject matter jurisdiction.

Il. Factual Background

With the exception of Plaintiff Reuben Castro,

Plaintiffs are all current employees of Defendant.

Plaintiff Reuben Castro is a former employee.

Defendant owns and operates a Mercedes Benz

automobile dealership in Encino, California. This

business sells and services both new and _ used

Mercedes Benz automobiles. Plaintiffs work (or have

worked) at the dealership as Service Advisors.

! The Court notes that Plaintiffs’ Complaint alleges a violation

of 29 U.S.C. § 201; however, the proper statutory basis for the

allegations asserted in the first claim is 29 U.S.C. § 207.

App-24

As Service Advisors, the Plaintiffs must: (1) meet

and greet Mercedes Benz owners as they enter the

service area and evaluate their service and repair

needs; (2) solicit service to be conducted on the vehicle;

(3) solicit supplemental service to be performed on the

vehicle; and (4) inform the vehicle owner about the

status of the vehicle while Defendant’s mechanics

repair and service the vehicle. For every additional

service or repair provided, the commission increases.

Defendant pays Service Advisors, such as Plaintiffs,

solely on this commission.

On September 18, 2012, Plaintiffs filed a

complaint against Defendant alleging violations of

both federal and state laws for failure to pay overtime,

failure to pay minimum wage, failure to provide extra

compensation for Plaintiffs’ work during mandatory

meal and rest periods, and failure to provide itemized

wage statements to Plaintiffs. Additionally, Plaintiffs

allege that because of these practices, Defendant has

engaged im unfair competition in violation of

California Business & Professions Code §17200.

Ill. Judicial Standard

To comply with Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

8, a complaint must allege “enough facts to state a

claim for relief that 1s plausible on its face.” Bell Atl.

Corp. v. Twombly, 550 U.S. 544, 570 (2007). Under

Rule 12(b)(6), a party may move to dismiss a claim for

failure to allege enough facts to comply with Rule 8.

In deciding a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a court must

assume allegations in the challenged complaint are

true, and must construe the complaint in the light

most favorable to the nonmoving party. Cahill v.

Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 80 F 3d 336, 337-38 (9th Cir.

App-25

1996). However, a court need not accept as true

unreasonable inferences, unwarranted deductions of

fact, or conclusory legal allegations cast in the form of

factual allegations. See W. Mining Council v. Watt, 643

F.2d 618, 624 (9th Cir. 1981). The complaint need not

contain detailed factual allegations, but must provide

more than a “formulaic recitation of the elements of a

claim.” Twombly, 550 U.S. at 555.

IV Discussion

Defendant argues Plaintiffs’ claims should be

dismissed for the following reasons: (1) Plaintiffs’

First, Third, and Fifth Claims fail because Plaintiffs

are exempt from the FLSA’s maximum hour and

minimum wage requirements; (2) alternatively,

Plaintiffs’ Third Claim fails because the Complaint

pleads insufficient facts; (3) alternatively, Plaintiffs’

Fifth Claim fails because § 207 does not require meal

and rest periods; and (4) Plaintiffs’ Seventh Claim

fails because a violation of § 211 does not create a

private right of action. The Court agrees.

A. First, Third, Fifth Claims Fail Based on

Exemptions

Section 206 states, in pertinent part, that every

employer shall pay to each of his employees not less

than $7.25 an hour. 29 U.S.C. § 206(a)(1)(C). Section

207 states no employer shall employ any employee for

a workweek longer than forty hours unless the

employee receives additional compensation specified

at a rate not less than one-half the regular rate at

which the employer generally pays the employee. 29

U.S.C. §207(a).

Section 213 creates an exemption to the above

provision for “any salesman, partsman, or mechanic

App-26

primarily engaged in selling or servicing automobiles

if he is employed by a nonmanufacturing

establishment primarily engaged in the business of

selling such vehicles or implements to ultimate

purchasers.” Courts have applied this exemption to

Service Advisors. See Brennan v. Deel Motors, 475

F.2d 1095, 1097 (5th Cir. 1973) (“... a common sense

interpretation and application of this exemption

mandates inclusion of service salesmen within its

scope.”); Walton v. Greenbrier Ford, 370 F.3d 446, 453

(4th Cir. 2004).

The Department of Labor (“DOL”), however, has

expressly rejected this interpretation. The DOL

defines a salesman as an employee “primarily engaged

in making sales or obtaining orders or contracts for

sale of automobiles.” 29 C.F.R. § 779.372(c)(1). A

mechanic is an employee “primarily engaged in doing

mechanical work in the servicing of an automoile.” 29

C.F.R. § 779.372(c)(3). In a “final rule,” the Wage and

Hour Division of the DOL explained that “[t]he

Department notes that current § 779.372(c)(1) ...

limit[s] the exemption to salesmen who sell vehicles

and partsmen and mechanics who service vehicles.”

Updating Regulations Issued Under the Fair Labor

Standards Act, 76 Fed. Reg. 18832-01 (April 5, 2011).

Thus, under the DOL’s enforcement of § 213(b)(10)(A),

Service Advisors are not exempt from the hour/wage

requirements set forth in §§ 206 and 207

Given the conflicting interpretations, the Court

must first look to the statutory language. Where the

statutory language is clear, the Court is bound by such

language as a clear expression of legislative intent.

Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense

App-27

Council, 467 U.S. 837, 842-43 (1984). Where the

statutory language is ambiguous, however, the Court

accords deference to the DOL action based on the

nature of that action. “Legislative regulations” are

given a high level of judicial deference, and will stand

unless arbitrary or capricious. Jd. at 844. Mere

“interpretations,” however, are accorded lower

deference, and will stand only so long as they are

reasonable. Jd.

1. The Statutory Language is Ambiguous as

Applied to Service Advisors

Here, the statutory language of § 213(b)(10)(A)

does not expressly exempt Service Advisors. However,

the job description of a Service Advisor encompasses

those of both a salesman and a mechanic, and falls

squarely within the category of positions exempted by

the provision. The legislative history demonstrates an

intent to “narrow significantly the reach of the

automobile dealership employee exemption.” Gieg v.

Howarth, 244 F.3d 775, 776 (9th Cir. 2001).

Nonetheless, it is not clear that Congress intended

Service Advisors to be excluded, particularly when

their job duties are simply a hybrid of two jobs

expressly listed within the exemption. For this reason,

the Court finds § 213(b)(10)(A) ambiguous as applied

to Service Advisors. See Brennan v. Deel Motors, Inc.,

475 F.2d 1095, 1098 (5th Cir. 1973) (“The intended

scope of [the exemption] is not entirely clear. Indeed,

the Secretary's own interpretation of the coverage of

that section is not altogether consistent.”).

App-28

2. The DOL’s Interpretation is_ not

Reasonable

In light of the finding above, the Court's role is to

“determine whether the agency's interpretation is

based on a permissible construction of the statute.”

Chevron, 467 U.S. at 843. As previously stated, the

permissiveness of the agency’s construction depends

upon the nature of the agency action, as allowed by

Congress. When Congress has “explicitly left a gap for

the agency to fill, there is an express delegation of

authority to the agency.” Jd. at 844. In such a case,

agency decisions are “legislative regulations” that are

given “controlling weight unless they are arbitrary.

capricious, or manifestly contrary to the statute.” Jd.

When Congress has not left such an explicit gap,

agency actions are mere interpretations that are

upheld only if reasonable. Jd.

Within the § 213 arena, the U.S. Supreme Court

has found agency action to constitute “legislative

regulation.” See Auer v. Robbins, 519 U.S. 452 (1997);

Long Island Care at Home, Ltd. v. Coke, 551 U.S. 158

(2007). However, in those cases, the specific provisions

being reviewed expressly grant the Secretary of Labor

the power to “defin[e] and delimi[t]” the terms in the

section. Jd. As such, the Court found that the statute

creates an explicit gap for the agency to fill. Jd. at 172.

This case is distinguishable. Here, the applicable

section, § 213(10)(b)(A), does not contain any such

language. It is clear that where Congress intended to

grant the agency power to create legislative

regulation, it included language to that effect. In the

absence of similar language, this Court will not read

into the statute the grant of such power. Therefore, the

App-29

Court finds that the agency action is not a legislative

regulation, but rather, a mere interpretation, which is

accorded lower deference.

Having established that the DOL’s action is an

interpretation, the Court is bound to the DOL

interpretation only if the interpretation is reasonable.

Chevron, 467 U.S. at 844. The Court agrees with both

the Fourth and Fifth Circuits, and holds that the DOL

interpretation of § 213(b)(10)(A) is unreasonable.

When faced with facts nearly identical to those of the

present case, the Fourth Circuit concluded that the

“Secretary's interpretation of ... [salesman] is

unreasonable, as it is an imp2rmissibly restrictive

construction of the statute.” Walton, 370 F.3d at 452.

Similarly, the Fifth Circuit explained that “[ijJn the

absence of clear intent to the contrary, we cannot

assume that Congress intended to treat employees

with functionally similar positions differently.”

Brennan, 475 F.2d at 1097-98. Service Advisors, such

as Plaintiffs, are functionally equivalent to salesmen

and mechanics and are similarly responsible for the

“selling and servicing” of automobiles. Accordingly.

the Court finds the DOL’ interpretation

unreasonable. As such, the Court finds that Service

Advisors fall within the exemption of § 213(b)(10)(A).

The Court dismisses Plaintiffs’ first, third, and

fifth claims, which all allege violations of §§ 206 and

207

B. Third Claim Fails to Allege Sufficient Facts

As discussed above, the minimum wage

requirements established in § 206 do not apply to

Plaintiffs because Service Advisors are exempt under

§ 213(b)(10)(A). Even if they did apply, however,

App-30

Plaintiffs Third Claim fails to plead sufficient facts to

survive a Rule 12(b)(6) Motion.

Legal conclusions alone, without some factual

allegations, do not provide fair notice of the nature of

the claim nor the grounds on which the claim rests.

Bell Atlantic Corp. v. Twombly, 550 U.S. at 556. Here,

Plaintiffs allege only that Defendant (1) failed to

provide an hourly wage, (2) paid Plaintiffs on a pure

commission basis, (3) required Plaintiffs to work for

wages less than the legal minimum, and (4) refused to

pay minimum wages. A salary based solely on

commission can still satisfy the minimum wage

requirement. See 29 C.F.R. § 778.117. No facts

demonstrate that the commissions Plaintiffs earned

do not satisfy the minimum wage requirements. Even

if a Motion to Dismiss is not designed to correct

inartistic pleading, as Plaintiff argues, these legal

conclusions alone are insufficient to survive a Rule

12(b)(6) Motion.

C. Fifth Claim Fails to State a Claim

To the extent Plaintiffs’ Fifth Claim alleges that

Defendant failed to provide Plaintiffs with overtime

compensation in violation of § 207, this Section does

not apply to Service Advisors. As discussed above,

Plaintiffs are exempt under § 213(b)(10)(A).

To the extent Plaintiffs’ Fifth Claim alleges that

Defendant failed to provide Plaintiffs with meal or rest

periods, neither § 207 nor the cited DOL regulations

mandate rest and meal periods. Section 785.18 simply

states that: “Rest periods of short duration, running

from 5 minutes to about 20 minutes... must be counted

as hours worked.” 29 C.F.R.§ 785.18. Section 785.19

states that “[b]ona fide meal periods are not worktime

App-31

... The employee must be completely relieved from

duty for the purposes of eating regular meals ... The

employee is not relieved if he is required to perform

any duties, whether active or inactive, while eating.”

29 C.F.R. § 785.19. These statutes simply determine

when employees must be compensated for working

during these periods, but do not require an employer

to provide their employees with meal or rest periods.

On this ground, the Court dismisses Plaintiffs Fifth

Claim.

D. Seventh Claim Fails Because § 211 Does Not

Create a Private Right of Action

Section 29 U.S.C. § 211 states: “Every employer

subject to any provision of this chapter ... shall make,

keep, and preserve such records of the persons

employed by him and of the wages, hours, and other

conditions and practices of employment maintained by

him, and shall preserve such records...” Section 217

authorizes only the Secretary to initiate injunction

proceedings involving an employer's failure to comply

with the record keeping requirements. 29 U.S.C.

§ 217 Put simply, § 211(c) does not create a private

action against an employer for failure to comply with

the record-keeping provisions. Elwell v. University

Hospitals Home Care Services, 276 F. 3d 832, 843 (6th

Cir. 2002). Therefore, the Court dismisses Plaintiffs

Seventh Claim.

E. The Remaining State Law Causes of Action

Having dismissed all federal claims alleged, the

Court exercises its discretion under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1367(c) to dismiss the remaining state law causes of

action for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

App-32

V Conclusion

The Court GRANTS Defendant's Motion to

Dismiss as to Plaintiffs’ First, Third, Fifth, and

Seventh claims. The Court sua sponte DISMISSES the

remaining state law causes of action. As_ such,

Plaintiffs’ Complaint is dismissed 1. its entirety.

ITIS SO ORDERED.

App-33

Appendix D

29 U.S.C. § 213

EXEMPTIONS

(a) Minimum wage and maximum hour

requirements

The provisions of sections 206 (except subsection

(d) in the case of paragraph (1) of this subsection) and

207 of this title shall not apply with respect to—

(1) any employee employed in a bona fide

executive, administrative, or professional

capacity (including any employee employed in the

capacity of academic administrative personnel or

teacher in elementary or secondary schools), or in

the capacity of outside salesman (as such terms

are defined and delimited from time to time by

regulations of the Secretary. subject to the

provisions of subchapter II of chapter 5 of title 5,

except that an employee of a retail or service

establishment shall not be excluded from the

definition of employee employed in a bona fide

executive or administrative capacity because of

the number of hours in his workweek which he

devotes to activities not directly or closely related

to the performance of executive or administrative

activities, if less than 40 per centum of his hours

worked in the workweek are devoted to such

activities); or

(2) Repealed. Pub. L. 101—157, §3(c)(1), Nov

17, 1989, 103 Stat. 939.

(3) any employee employed by = an

establishment which is an amusement or

recreational establishment, organized camp, or

App-34

religious or non-profit educational conference

center, if (A) it does not operate for more than

seven months in any calendar year, or (B) during

the preceding calendar year, its average receipts

for any six months of such year were not more

than 331/3 per centum of its average receipts for

the other six months of such year, except that the

exemption from sections 206 and 207 of this title

provided by this paragraph does not apply with

respect to any employee of a private entity

engaged in providing services or facilities (other

than, in the case of the exemption from section

206 of this title, a private entity engaged in

providing services and facilities directly related to

skiing) in a national park or a national forest, or

on land in the National Wildlife Refuge System,

under a contract with the Secretary of the Interior

or the Secretary of Agriculture; or

(4) Repealed. Pub. L. 101—157, §3(c)(1), Nov.

17, 1989, 103 Stat. 939.

(5) any employee employed in the catching,

taking, propagating, harvesting, cultivating, or

farming of any kind of fish, shellfish, crustacea,

sponges, seaweeds, or other aquatic forms of

animal and vegetable life, or in the first

processing, canning or packing such marine

products at sea as an incident to, or in conjunction

with, such fishing operations, including the going

to and returning from work and loading and

unloading when performed by any such employee;

or

(6) any employee employed in agriculture (A)

if such employee is employed by an employer who

App-35

did not, during any calendar quarter during the

preceding calendar year, use more than five

hundred man-days of agricultural labor, (B) if

such employee is the parent, spouse, child, or

other member of his employer's immediate family,

(C) if such employee (i) is employed as a hand

harvest laborer and is paid on a piece rate basis

in an operation which has been, and is

customarily and generally recognized as having

been, paid on a piece rate basis in the region of

employment, (ii) commutes daily from his

permanent residence to the farm on which he is so

employed, and (iii) has been employed in

agriculture less than thirteen weeks during the

preceding calendar year, (D) if such employee

(other than an employee described in clause (C) of

this subsection) (i) is sixteen years of age or under

and is employed as a hand harvest laborer, is paid

on a piece rate basis in an operation which has

been, and is customarily and generally recognized

as having been, paid on a piece rate basis in the

region of employment, (ii) is employed on the

same farm as his parent or person standing in the

place of his parent, and (i11) is paid at the same

piece rate as employees over age sixteen are paid

on the same farm, or (E) if such employee is

principally engaged in the range production of

livestock; or

(7) any employee to the extent that such

employee is exempted by regulations, order, or

certificate of the Secretary issued under section

214 of this title; or

App-36

(8) any employee employed in connection with

the publication of any weekly, semiweekly, or

daily newspaper with a circulation of less than

four thousand the major part of which circulation

is within the county where published or counties

contiguous thereto; or

(9) Repealed. Pub. L. 93-259, §23(a)(1), Apr.

8, 1974, 88 Stat. 69.

(10) any switchboard operator employed by

an independently owned public telephone

company which has not more than seven hundred

and fifty stations; or

(11> Repealed. Pub. L. 93—259, §10(a), Apr. 8,

1974, 88 Stat. 63.

(12) any employee employed as a seaman on

a vessel other thar in American vessel; or

(13), (14) Repealed. Pub. L. 93-259, §§9(b)(1),

23(b)(1), Apr. 8, 1974, 88 Stat. 63, 69.

(15) any employee employed on a casual basis

in domestic service employment to provide

babysitting services or any employee employed in

domestic service employment to _ provide

companionship services for individuals who

(because of age or infirmity) are unable to care for

themselves (as such terms are defined and

delimited by regulations of the Secretary); or

(16) a criminal investigator who is paid

availability pay under section 5545a of title 5; or

(17) any employee who is a computer systems

analyst, computer programmer, software

engineer, or other similarly skilled worker, whose

primary duty is—

App-37

(A) the application of systems analysis

techniques and _ procedures, including

consulting with users, to determine

hardware, software, or system functional

specifications;

(B) the design, development,

documentation, analysis, creation, testing, or

modification of computer systems. or

programs, including prototypes, based on and

related to user or system design

specifications;

(C) the design, documentation, testing,

creation, or modification of computer

programs related to machine operating

systems; or

(D) a combination of duties described in

subparagraphs (A), (B), and (C) the

performance of which requires the same level

of skills, and

who, in the case of an employee who is

compensated on an hourly basis, is compensated

at a rate of not less than $27.63 an hour.

(b) Maximum hour requirements

The provisions of section 207 of this title shall not

apply with respect to—

(1) any employee with respect to whom the

Secretary of Transportation has power to

establish qualifications and maximum hours of

service pursuant to the provisions of section

31502 of title 49; or

App-38

(2) any employee of an employer engaged in

the operation of a rail carrier subject to part A of

subtitle IV of title 49; or

(3) any employee of a carrier by air subject to

the provisions of title II of the Railway Labor Act

[45 U.S.C. 181 et seq.]; or

(4) Repealed. Pub. L. 93—259, §11(c), Apr. 8,

1974, 88 Stat. 64.

(5) any individual employed as an outside

buyer of poultry, eggs, cream, or milk, in their raw

or natural state; or

(6) any employee employed as a seaman; or

(7) Repealed. Pub. L. 93-259, §21(b)(3), Apr.

8, 1974, 88 Stat. 68.

(8) Repealed. Pub. L. 95-151, §14(b), Nov. 1,

1977, 91 Stat. 1252.

(9) any employee employed as an announcer,

news editor, or chief engineer by a radio or

television station the major studio of which is

located (A) in a city or town of one hundred

thousand population or less, according to the

latest available decennial census figures as

compiled by the Bureau of the Census, except

where such city or town is part of a standard

metropolitan statistical area, as defined and

designated by the Office of Management and

Budget, which has a total population in excess of

one hundred thousand, or (B) in a city or town of

twenty-five thousand population or less, which is

part of such an area but is at least 40 airline miles

from the principal city in such area; or

App-39

(10)(A) any salesman, partsman, or mechanic

primarily engaged in selling or servicing

automobiles, trucks, or farm implements, if he is

employed by a nonmanufacturing establishment

primarily engaged in the business of selling such

vehicles or implements to ultimate purchasers; or

(B) any salesman primarily engaged in

selling trailers, boats, or aircraft, if he is

employed by a nonmanufacturing

establishment primarily engaged in the

business of selling trailers, boats, or aircraft

to ultimate purchasers; or

(11) any employee employed as a driver or

driver's helper making local deliveries, who is

compensated for such employment on the basis of

trip rates, or other delivery payment plan, if the

Secretary shall find that such plan has the

general purpose and effect of reducing hours

worked by such employees to, or below, the

maximum workweek applicable to them under

section 207(a) of this title; or

(12) any employee employed in agriculture or

in -onnection with the operation or maintenance

of ditches, canals, reservoirs, or waterways, not

owned or operated for profit, or operated on a

sharecrop basis, and which are used exclusively

for supply and storing of water, at least 90 percent

of which was ultimately delivered for agricultural

purposes during the preceding calendar year; or

(13) any employee with respect to his

employment in agriculture by a_ farmer,

notwithstanding other employment of such

employee in connection with livestock auction

App-40

operations in which such farmer is engaged as an

adjunct to the raising of livestock, either on his

own account or in conjunction with other farmers,

if such employee (A) is primarily employed during

his workweek in agriculture by such farmer, and

(B) is paid for his employment in connection with

such livestock auction operations at a wage rate

not less than that prescribed by section 206(a)(1)

of this title; or

(14) any employee employed within the area

of production (as defined by the Secretary) by an

establishment commonly recognized as a country

elevator, including such an establishment which

sells products and services used in the operation

of a farm, if no more than five employees are

employed in the establishment in such operations;

or

(15) any employee engaged in the processing

of maple sap into sugar (other than refined sugar)

or syrup; or

(16) any employee engaged (A) in the

transportation and preparation for transportation

of fruits or vegetables, whether or not performed

by the farmer, from the farm to a place of first

processing or first marketing within the same

State, or (B) in transportation, whether or not

performed by the farmer, between the farm and

any point within the same State of persons

employed or to be employed in the harvesting of

fruits or vegetables; or

(17) any driver employed by an employer

engaged in the business of operating taxicabs; or

App-41

(18), (19) Repealed. Pub. L. 93-259, §§15(c),

16(b), Apr. 8, 1974, 88 Stat. 65.

(20) any employee of a public agency who in

any workweek is employed in fire protection

activities or any employee of a public agency who

in any workweek is employed in law enforcement

activities (including security personnel in

correctional institutions), if the public agency

employs during the workweek less than 5

employees in fire protection or law enforcement

activities, as the case may be; or

(21) any employee who is employed in

domestic service in a household and who resides

in such household; or

(22) Repealed. Pub. L. 95-151, §5, Nov 1,

1977, 91 Stat. 1249.

(23) Repealed. Pub. L. 93—259, §10(b)(3), Apr.

8, 1974, 88 Stat. 64.

(24) any employee who is employed with his

spouse by a nonprofit educational institution to

serve as the parents of children—

(A) who are orphans or one of whose

natural parents is deceased, or

(B) who are enrolled in such institution

and reside in residential facilities of the

institution,

while such children are in residence at such

institution, if such employee and his spouse reside

in such facilities, receive, without cost, board and

lodging from such institution, and are together

compensated, on a cash basis, at an annual rate of

not less than $10,000; or

App-42

(25), (26) Repealed. Pub. L. 95-151, §§6(a),

7(a), Nov. 1, 1977, 91 Stat. 1249, 1250.

(27) any employee employed by an

establishment which is a motion picture theater;

or

(28) any employee employed in planting or

tending trees, cruising, surveying, or felling

timber, or in preparing or transporting logs or

other forestry products to the mill, processing

plant, railroad, or other transportation terminal,

if the number of employees employed by his

employer in such forestry or lumbering operations

does not exceed eight;

(29) any employee of an amusement or

recreational establishment located in a national

park or national forest or on land in the National

Wildlife Refuge System if such employee (A) is an

employee of a private entity engaged in providing

services or facilities in a national park or national

forest, or on land in the National Wildlife Refuge

System, under a contract with the Secretary of the

Interior or the Secretary of Agriculture, and (B)

receives compensation for employment in excess

of fifty-six hours in any workweek at a rate not

less than one and one-half times the regular rate

at which he is employed; or

(30) a criminal investigator who ~ paid

availability pay under section 5545a of title 5.

(c) Child labor requirements

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) or (4),

the provisions of section 212 of this title relating

to child labor shall not apply to any employee

App-43

employed in agriculture outside of school hours for

the school district where such employee is living

while he is so employed, if such employee—

(A) is less than twelve years of age and (i)

is employed by his parent, or by a person

standing in the place of his parent, on a farm

owned or operated by such parent or person,

or (ii) is employed, with the consent of his

parent or person standing in the place of his

parent, on a farm, none of the employees of

which are (because of subsection (a)(6)(A) of

this section) required to be paid ai the wage

rate prescribed by section 206(a)(5) of this

title,

(B) is twelve years or thirteen years of

age and (i) such employment is with the

consent of his parent or person standing in

the place of his parent, or (ii) his parent or

such person is employed on the same farm as

such employee, or

(C) is fourteen years of age or older.

(2) The provisions of section 212 of this title

relating to child labor shall apply to an employee

below the age of sixteen employed in agriculture

in an occupation that the Secretary of Labor finds

and declares to be particularly hazardous for the

employment of children below the age of sixteen,

except where such employee is employed by his

parent or by a person standing in the place of his

parent on a farm owned or operated by such

parent or person.

(3) The provisions of section 212 of this title

relating to child labor shall not apply to any child

App-44

employed as an actor or performer in motion

pictures or theatrical productions, or in radio or

television productions.

(4)(A) An employer or group of employers may

apply to the Secretary for a waiver of the

application of section 212 of this title to the

employment for not more than eight weeks in any

calendar year of individuals who are less than

twelve years of age, but not less than ten years of

age, as hand harvest laborers in an agricultural

operation which has been, and is customarily and

generally recognized as being, paid on a piece rate

basis in the region in which such individuals

would be employed. The Secretary may not grant

such a waiver unless he finds, based on objective

data submitted by the applicant, that—

(i) the crop to be harvested is one

with a particularly short harvesting

season and the application of section 212

of this title would cause severe economic

disruption in the industry of the

employer or group of employers applying

for the waiver;

(ii) the employment of _ the

individuals to whom the waiver would

apply would not be deleterious to their

health or well-being;

(iii) the level and type of pesticides

and other chemicals used would not have

an adverse effect on the health or well-

being of the individuals to whom the

waiver would apply;

App-45

(iv) individuals age twelve and above

are not available for such employment;

and

(v) the industry of such employer or

group of employers has traditionally and

substantially employed individuals

under twelve years of age without

displacing substantial job opportunities

for individuals over sixteen years of age.

(B) Any waiver granted by the Secretary

under subparagraph (A) shall require that—

(i) the individuals employed under

such waiver be employed outside of

school hours for the school district where

they are living while so employed;

(ii) such individuals while _ so

employed commute daily from their

permanent residence to the farm on

which they are so employed; and

(iii) such individuals be employed

under such waiver (I) for not more than

eight weeks between June 1 and October

15 of any calendar year, and (II) in

accordance with such other terms and

conditions as the Secretary shall

prescribe for such individuals’ protection.

(5)(A) In the administration and enforcement of

the child labor provisions of this chapter, employees

who are 16 and 17 years of age shall be permitted to

load materials into, but not operate or unload

materials from, scrap paper balers and paper box

compactors—

App-46

(i) that are safe for 16- and 17-year-

old employees loading the scrap paper

balers or paper box compactors; and

(ii) that cannot be operated while

being loaded.

(B) For purposes of subparagraph (A),

scrap paper balers and paper box compactors

shall be considered safe for 16- or 17-year-old

employees to load only if- -

(i)(1) the -scrap paper balers and

paper box compactors meet the American

National Standards Institute’s Standard

ANSI Z245.5—1990 for scrap paper balers

and Standard ANSI Z245.2-1992 for

paper box compactors; or

(II) the scrap paper balers and paper

box compactors meet an _ applicable

standard that is adopted by the American

National Standards Institute after

August 6, 1996, and that is certified by

the Secretary to be at least as protective

of the safety of minors as the standard

described in subclause (1);

(11) the scrap paper balers and paper

box compactors include an on-off switch

incorporating a key-lock or other system

and the control of the system is

maintained in the custody of employees

who are 18 years of age or older;

(ii) the on-off switch of the scrap

paper balers and paper box compactors is

maintained in an off position when the

App-47

scrap paper balers and paper box

compactors are not in operation; and

(iv) the employer of 16- and 17-year-

old employees provides notice, and posts

a notice, on the scrap paper balers and

paper box compactors stating that—

(1) the scrap paper balers and paper

box compactors meet the applicable

standard described in clause (i);

(Il) 16- and 17-year-old employees

may only load the scrap paper balers and

paper box compactors; and

(III) any employee under the age of

18 may not operate or unload the scrap

paper balers and paper box compactors.

The Secretary shall publish in the

Federal Register a standard that is adopted

by the American National Standards

Institute for scrap paper balers or paper box

compactors and certified by the Secretary to

be protective of the safety of minors under

clause (i)(II).

(C)Gi) Employers shall prepare and

submit to the Secretary reports—

(I) on any injury to an employee

under the age of 18 that requires medical

treatment (other than first aid) resulting

from the employee's contact with a scrap

paper baler or paper box compactor

during the loading, operation, or

unloading of the baler or compactor; and

App-48

(II) on any fatality of an employee

under the age of 18 resulting from the

employee's contact with a scrap paper

baler or paper box compactor during the

loading, operation, or unloading of the

baler or compactor.

(1) The reports described in clause (i)

shall be used by the Secretary to

determine whether or not the

implementation of subparagraph (A) has

had any effect on the safety of children.

(i) The reports described in clause

(i) shall provide—

(1) the name, telephone number, and

address of the employer and the address

of the place of employment where the

incident occurred;

(Il) the name, telephone number,

and address of the employee who suffered

an injury or death as a result of the

incident;

(IIT) the date of the incident;

(IV) a description of the injury and a

narrative describing how the incident

occurred; and

(V) the name of the manufacturer

and the model number of the scrap paper

baler or paper box compactor involved in

the incident.

(iv) The reports described in clause

(i) shall be submitted to the Secretary

promptly, but not later than 10 days after

App-49

the date on which an incident relating to

an injury or death occurred.

(v) The Secretary may not rely solely

on the reports described in clause (i) as

the basis for making a determination

that any of the employers described in

clause (i) has violated a provision of

section 212 of this title relating to

oppressive child labor or a regulation or

order issued pursuant to section 212 of

this title. The Secretary shall, prior to

making such a determination, conduct an

investigation and inspection in

accordance with section 212(b) of this

title.

(vi) The reporting requirements of

this subparagraph shall expire 2 years

after August 6, 1996.

(6) In the administration and enforcement of

the child labor provisions of this chapter,

employees who are under 17 years of age may not

drive automobiles or trucks on public roadways.

Employees who are 17 years of age may drive

automobiles or trucks on public roadways only

if---

(A) such driving is restricted to daylight

hours;

(B) the employee holds a State license

valid for the type of driving involved in the job

performed and has no records of any moving

violation at the time of hire;

App-50

(C) the employee has _ successfully

completed a State approved driver education

course;

(D) the automobile or truck is equipped

with a seat belt for the driver and any

passengers and the employee's employer has

instructed the employee that the seat belts

must be used when driving the automobile or

truck;

(E) the automobile or truck does not

exceed 6,000 pounds of gross vehicle weight;

(F) such driving does not involve—

(i) the towing of vehicles;

(11) route deliveries or route sales;

(iii) the transportation for hire of

property, goods, or passengers;

(iv) urgent, time-sensitive deliveries;

(v) more than two trips away from

the primary place of employment in any

single day for the purpose of delivering

goods of the employee’s employer to a

customer (other than urgent, time-

sensitive deliveries);

(vi) more than two trips away from

the primary place of employment in any

single day for the purpose of transporting

passengers (other than employees of the

employer);

(vii) transporting more than three

passengers (including employees of the

employer); or

App-51

(vii) driving beyond a 30 mile radius

from the employee’s place of employment;

and

(G) such driving is only occasional and

incidental to the employee’s employment.

For purposes of subparagraph (G), the

term “occasional and incidental” is no more

than one-third of an employee’s worktime in

any workday and no more than 20 percent of

an employee's worktime in any workweek.

(7)(A)(i) Subject to subparagraph (B), in the

administration and enforcement of the child labor

provisions of this chapter, it shall not be

considered oppressive child labor for a new

entrant into the workforce to be employed inside

or outside places of business where machinery is

used to process wood products.

(ii) In this paragraph, the term “new

entrant into the workforce” means an

individual who—

(1) is under the age of 18 and at least

the age of 14, and

(II) by statute or judicial order is

exempt from compulsory _ school

attendance beyond the eighth grade.

(B) The employment of a new entrant

into the workforce under subparagraph (A)

shall be permitted—

(i) if the entrant is supervised by an

adult relative of the entrant or is

supervised by an adult member of the

App-52

same religious sect or division as the

entrant;

(ii) if the entrant does not operate or

assist in the operation of power-driven

woodworking machines;

(iii) if the entrant is protected from

wood particles or other flying debris

within the workplace by a _ barrier

appropriate to the potential hazard of

such wood particles or flying debris or by

maintaining a sufficient distance from

machinery in operation; and

(iv) if the entrant is required to use

personal protective equipment to prevent

exposure to excessive levels of noise and

saw dust.

(d) Delivery of newspapers and

wreathmaking

The provisions of sections 206, 207, and 212 of this

title shall not apply with respect to any employee

engaged in the delivery of newspapers to the consumer

or to any homeworker engaged in the making of

wreaths composed principally of natural holly, pine,

cedar, or other evergreens (including the harvesting of

the evergreens or other forest products used in making

such wreaths).

(e) Maximum hour requirements and

minimum wage employees

The provisions of section 207 of this title shall not

apply with respect to employees for whom the

Secretary of Labor is authorized to establish minimum

wage rates as provided in section 206(a)(3) of this title,

App-53

except with respect to employees for whom such rates

are in effect; and with respect to such employees the

Secretary may make rules and regulations providing

reasonable limitations and allowing reasonable

variations, tolerances, and exemptions to and from

any or all of the provisions of section 207 of this title if

he shall find, after a public hearing on the matter, and

taking into account the factors set forth in section

206(a)(3) of this title, that economic conditions

warrant such action.

(f) Employment in foreign countries and

certain United States territories

The provisions of sections 206, 207, 211, and 212

of this title shall not apply with respect to any

employee whose services during the workweek are

performed in a workplace within a foreign country or

within territory under the jurisdiction of the United

States other than the following: a State of the United

States; the District of Columbia; Puerto Rico; the

Virgin Islands; outer Continental Shelf lands defined

in the Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act (ch. 345, 67

Stat. 462) [43 U.S.C. 1331 et seq.]; American Samoa;

Guam; Wake Island; Eniwetok Atoll; Kwajalein Atoll;

and Johnston Island.

(g) Certain employment in retail or service

establishments, agriculture

The exemption from section 206 of this title

provided by paragraph (6) of subsection (a) of this

section shall not apply with respect to any employee

employed by an establishment (1) which controls, is

controlled by, or is under common control with,

another establishment the activities of which are not

related for a common business purpose to, but

App-54

materially support the activities of the establishment

employing such employee; and (2) whose annual gross

volume of sales made or business done, when

combined with the annual gross volume of sales made

or business done by each establishment which

controls, is controlled by, or is under common control

with, the establishment employing such employee,

exceeds $10,000,000 (exclusive of excise taxes at the

retail level which are separately stated).

(h) Maximum hour requirement: fourteen

workweek limitation

The provisions of section 207 of this title shall not

apply for a period or periods of not more than fourteen

workweeks in the aggregate in any calendar year to

any employee who—

(1) is employed by such employer—

(A) exclusively to provide _ services

necessary and incidental to the ginning of

cotton in an establishment primarily engaged

in the ginning of cotton;

(B) exclusively to provide _ services

necessary and incidental to the receiving,

handling, and storing of raw cotton and the

compressing of raw cotton when performed at

a cotton warehouse or compress-warehouse

facility, other than one operated in

conjunction with a cotton mill, primarily

engaged in storing and compressing;

(C) exclusively to provide services

necessary and incidental to the receiving,

handling, storing, and _ processing of

cottonseed in an establishment primarily

App-55

engaged in the receiving, handling, storing,

and processing of cottonseed; or

(D) exclusively to provide services

necessary and incidental to the processing of

sugar cane or sugar beets in an establishment

primarily engaged in the processing of sugar

cane or sugar beets; and

(2) receives for—

(A) such employment by such employer

which is in excess of ten hours in any

workday. and

(B) such employment by such employer

which is in excess of forty-eight hours in any

workweek,

compensation at a rate not less than one and

one-half times the regular rate at which he is

employed.

Any employer who receives an exemption under

this subsection shall not be eligible for any other

exemption under this section or section 207 of this

title.

(i) Cotton ginning

The provisions of section 207 of this title shall not

apply for a period or periods of not more than fourteen

workweeks in the aggregate in any period of fifty-two

consecutive weeks to any employee who—

(1) is engaged in the ginning of cotton for

market in any place of employment located in a

county where cotton is grown in commercial

quantities; and

App-56

(2) receives for any such employment during

such workweeks—

(A) in excess of ten hours in any workday,

and

(B) in excess of forty-eight hours in any

workweek,

compensation at a rate not less than one and

one-half times the regular rate at which he is

employed. No week included in any fifty-two week

period for purposes of the preceding sentence may

be included for such purposes in any other fifty-

two week period.

(j) Processing of sugar beets, sugar beet

molasses, or sugar cane

The provisions of section 207 of this title shall not

apply for a period or periods of not more than fourteen

workweeks in the aggregate in any period of fifty-two

consecutive weeks to any employee who—

(1) is engaged in the processing of sugar

beets, sugar beet molasses, or sugar cane into

sugar (other than refined sugar) or syrup; and

(2) receives for any such employment during

such workweeks—

(A) in excess of ten hours in any workday,

and

(B) in excess of forty-eight hours in any

workweek,

compensation at a rate not less than one and

one-half times the regular rate at which he is

employed. No week included in any fifty-two week

period for purposes of the preceding sentence may

App-57

be included for such purposes in any other fifty-

two week period.

App-58

Appendix E

29 C.F.R. § 779.372

NONMANUFACTURING ESTABLISHMENTS

WITH CERTAIN EXEMPT EMPLOYEES

UNDER SECTION 13(b)(10).

(a) General. A specific exemption from only the

overtime pay provisions of section 7 of the Act is

provided in section 13(b)(10) for certain employees of

nonmanufacturing establishments engaged in the

business of selling automobiles, trucks, farm

implements, trailers, boats, or aircraft. Section

13(b)(10)(A) states that the provisions of section 7

shall not apply with respect to “any salesman,

partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or

servicing automobiles, trucks, or farm implements, if

he is employed by a nonmanufacturing establishment

primarily engaged in the business of selling such

vehicles or implements to ultimate purchasers.”

Section 13(b)(10)(B) states that the provisions of

section 7 shall not apply with respect to “any salesman

primarily engaged in selling trailers, boats, or aircraft,

if he is employed by a nonmanufacturing

establishment primarily engaged in the business of

selling trailers, boats, or aircraft to ultimate

purchasers.” This exemption will apply irrespective of

the annual dollar volume of sales of the establishment

or of the enterprise of which it is a part.

(b) Character of establishment and employees

exempted. (1) An establishment will qualify for this

exemption if the following two tests are met:

(i) The establishment must not be

engaged in manufacturing; and

App-59

(ii) The establishment must be primarily

engaged in the business of selling

automobiles, trucks, or farm implements to

the ultimate purchaser (for _ section

13(b)(10)(A) to apply. If these tests are met by

an establishment the exemption will be

available for salesmen, partsmen and

mechanics, employed by the establishment,

who are primarily engaged during the work

week in the selling or servicing of the named

items. Likewise, the establishment must be

primarily engaged in the business of selling

trailers, boats, or aircraft to the ultimate

purchaser for the _ section 13(b)(10)(B)

exemption to be available for salesmen

employed by the establishment who are

primarily engaged during the work week in

selling these named items. An explanation of

the term “employed by” is contained in

§§779.307 through 779.311. The exemption is

intended to apply to employment by such an

establishment of the specified categories of

employees even if they work in physically

separate buildings or areas, or even if, though

working in the principal building of the

dealership, their work relates to the work of

physically separate buildings or areas, so long

as they are employed in a department which

is functionally operated as part of the

dealership.

(2) This exemption, unlike the former exemption

in section 13(a)(19) of the Act prior to the 1966

amendments, is not limited to dealerships that qualify

as retail or service establishments nor is it limited to

App-60

establishments selling automobiles, trucks, and farm

implements, but also includes dealers in trailers,

boats, and aircraft.

(c) Salesman, paritsman, or mechanic. (1) As used

in section 13(b)(10)(A), a salesman is an employee who

is employed for the purpose of and is primarily

engaged in making sales or obtaining orders or

contracts for sale of the automobiles, trucks, or farm

implements that the establishment is primarily

engaged in selling. As used in section 13(b)(10)(B), a

salesman is an employee who is employed for the

purpose of and is primarily engaged in making sales

or obtaining orders or contracts for sale of trailers,

boats, or aircraft that the establishment is primarily

engaged in selling. Work performed incidental to and

in conjunction with the employee’s own sales or

solicitations, including incidental deliveries and

collections, is regarded as within the exemption.

(2) As used in section 13(b)(10)(A), a

partsman is any employee employed for the

purpose of and _ primarily engaged in

requisitioning, stocking, and dispensing parts.

(3) As used in section 13(b)(10)(A), a mechanic

is any employee primarily engaged in doing

mechanical work (such as get ready mechanics,

automotive, truck, or farm implement mechanics,

used car reconditioning mechanics, and wrecke.

mechanics) in the servicing of an automobile,

truck or farm implement for its use and operation

as such. This includes mechanical work required

for safe operation, as an automobile, truck, or

farm implement. The term does not include

employees primarily performing such

App-61

nonmechanical work as washing, cleaning,

painting, polishing, tire changing, installing seat

covers, dispatching, lubricating, or other

nonmechanical work. Wrecker mechanic means a

service department mechanic who goes out on a

tow or wrecking truck to perform mechanical

servicing or repairing of a customer’s vehicle away

from the shop, or to bring the vehicle back to the

shop for repair service. A tow or wrecker truck

driver or helper who primarily performs

nonmechanical repair work is not exempt.

(d) Primarily engaged. As used in _ section

13(b)(10), primarily engaged means the major part or

over 50 percent of the salesman’s, partsman’s, or

mechanic's time must be spent in selling or servicing

the enumerated vehicles. As applied to the

establishment, primarily engaged means that over

half of the establishment’s annual dollar volume of

sales made or business done must come from sales of

the enumerated vehicles.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.