Respondents Brief — U.S. Army Corp of Eng'rs v. Hawkes Co., 136 S. Ct. 615 (2015) (No. 15-290)

Supreme Court brief2015

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

“Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

FEB 24 20%

No. 15-290 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

—~~——

UNITED STATES ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS,

Petitioner,

v.

HAWKES CO, INC., et al.,

Respondents.

+

On Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

+

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS

+

NANCY QUATTLEBAUM BURKE M. REED HOPPER

GREGORY R. MERTZ Counsel of Record

Of Counsel Pacific Legal Foundation

Gray Plant Mooty 930 G Street

500 IDS Center Sacramento, CA 95814

80 South Eighth Street Telephone: (916) 419-7111

Minneapolis, MN 55402 Facsimile: (916) 419-7747

Telephone: (612) 632-3029 mrh@pacificlegal.org

MARK MILLER

Pacific Legal Foundation

8645 N. Military Trail, Ste. 511

Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410

Telephone: (561) 691-5000

mm@pacificlegal.org

Counsel for Respondents

I sstthlemnttinashbatieentnertitianehiateeainetinntnnmntalneatemetnneeen orneenences semen tenenrtaimnmmenemmeinetemmnamemmmnnetnnmme aeemineameninaeniiianeennatl

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Is a Jurisdictional Determination, that is

conclusive as to federal jurisdiction under the Clean

Water Act, and binding on all parties, subject to

judicial review under the Administrative Procedure

Act?

‘i

THE PARTIES

Petitioner is the United States Army Corps of

Engineers.

Respondents are Hawkes Co., Inc.; LPF

Properties, LLC; and Pierce Investment Company.

CORPORATE

DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Respondents have no parent corporations and no

publicly held company owns 10% or more of the stock.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED

THE PARTIES

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

STATEMENT OF FACTS

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

ARGUMENT

I. THE JURISDICTIONAL

DETERMINATION IS FINAL

AGENCY ACTION

A. An Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Is the Corps’

Final Word on Jurisdiction

B. Final Agency Action Does Not Require

“Independent” Legal Consequences

C. An Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Is Designed

To Have Legal Consequences

D. An Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Has Legal

Consequences for Permitting

and Enforcement

18

18

22

26

I.

E.

IV

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

An Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Increases the

Landowner’s Potential! Liability

An Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Has Other

Legal Consequences

APA Review of an Approved

Jurisdictional Determination

Is Supported by Numerous

Supreme Court Cases

The Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Has “Independent

Legal Consequences

”

THERE IS NO ADEQUATE

REMEDY IN COURT

A.

The Cost of Seeking a Permit

Prior to Judicial Review of

an Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Is Prohibitive

Requiring a Landowner To

Seek a Permit Prior to

Judicial Review of an Approved

Jurisdictional Determination

Is Wasteful and Unnecessary

Requiring a Landowner To Seek

a Permit Prior to Judicial Review

of an Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Is Tantamount

to a Decision on the Merits

Page

28

30

31

37

39

39

4]

44

Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

D. Requiring a Landowner To Seek a

Permit Prior to Judicial Review

of an Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Circumvents

the Intent of Congress 46

E. Requiring a Landowner To Seek

a Permit Prior to Judicial Review

of an Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Undermines the

Presumption of Reviewability 50

F An Enforcement Action Is Not

An Adequate Remedy in Court 53

G. The APA Should Be Interpreted

To Avoid Constitutional Questions 56

CONCLUSION 58

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Abbott Labs. v. Gardner,

387 U.S. 136 (1967)

Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545 (1965)

Ashcroft v. Iqbal, 556 U.S. 662 (2009)

Bell v. New Jersey, 461 U.S. 773 (1983)

Belle Co. v. U.S. Army Corps of Engineers,

761 F.3d 383 (5th Cir. 2014)

Bennett v. Spear, 520 U.S. 154 (1997)

Block v. Community Nutrition Institute,

467 U.S. 340 (1984)

Bowen v. Michigan Academy of

Family Physicians, 476 U.S. 667 (1986)

Cary v. Curtis, 44 U.S. (3 How.) 236 (1845)

Chicago and Southern Air Lines, Inc. v.

Waterman Steamship Corp.,

333 U.S. 103 (1948)

Clark v. Martinez, 543 U.S. 371 (2005)

Columbia Broadcasting System v.

United States, 316 U.S. 407 (1942)

Ex parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908)

Fairbanks North Star Borough v.

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers,

543 F.3d 586 (9th Cir. 2008)

Page

passim

57

38

18

7, 20

passim

15, 53

50, 58

41

36

58

37

54-55

7, 20, 28

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Frozen Food Express v. United States,

351 U.S. 40 (1956) 33-34

FTC v. Standard Oil Co. of California,

449 U.S. 232 (1980) 31-32

Harrison v. PPG Indus., Inc.,

446 U.S. 578 (1980) 19

Lassiter v. Dep’t of Social Services,

452 U.S. 18 (1981) 56

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) 57

Moore v. United States,

943 F. Supp. 603 (E.D. Va. 1996) 47-49

Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980) 41

Pacific Gas and Electric Co. v. State Energy

Resource Conservation and Development

Commission, 461 U.S. 190 (1983) 18

People ex rel. Bailey v. Greene County

Supervisors, 12 Barb. 217 (N.Y. 1851) 41

Port of Boston Marine Terminal

Association v. Rederiaktiebolaget

Transatlantic, 400 U.S. 62 (1970) 20-22, 33

Rapanos v. United States,

547 U.S. 715 (2006) 1-4, 30, 38-39, 42

Sackett v. E.P.A., 132 S. Ct. 1367 (2012) passim

Seaconsar Far East, Ltd. v. Bank

Markazi Jomhouri Islami Iran,

[1999] 1 Lloyd’s Rep. 36

(English Court of Appeal 1998) 41

vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Stevens v. United States, 2 Ct. Cl. 95 (1866) 41

United States v. Bailey,

571 F.3d 791 (8th Cir. 2009) 2

Statutes

5 U.S.C. § 551(4) 21

§ 551(6) 21

§ 551(11) 21

§ 551(13) 21

§ 701(a)(1) 53

§ 704 4, 19, 39, 46, 59

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) l

33 U.S.C. § 1311(a) 1

§ 1319 29, 56

§ 1252(7) 1

Regulations

33 C.F.R. § 320.1 57

§ 320.1(a)(2) 4, 25, 42

§ 320.1(a)(6) 2-3, 24-25, 32, 42

§ 329.3 57

§ 331.2 3, 23

§ 331.6 12

§ 331.9 24

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

§ 331.10 13-14

§ 331.21 14

Miscellaneous

Definition of Peat, http://www.oxforddictionaries.

com/us/definition/american_english/peat 8

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers,

Regulatory Guidance Letter

No. 08-02 (June 26, 2008) 23, 27

U.S. General Accounting Office, Waters and

Wetlands: Corps of Engineers Needs to

Evaluate Its District Office Practices in

Determining Jurisdiction (Feb. 2004) 3, 42

l

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

(Pet. App. at la-21a), is reported at 782 F.3d 994. The

opinion of the district court (Pet. App. at 22a-43a), is

reported at 963 F. Supp. 2d 868.

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered its judgment on

April 10, 2015. The court of appeals denied the United

States Army Corps of Engineers’ petition for rehearing

on July 7, 2015 (Pet. App.103a-104a). The jurisdiction

of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Legal Background

The Clean Water Act authorizes the Corps of

Engineers to regulate certain discharges to “navigable

waters” or “waters of the United States.” 33 U.S.C.

§§ 1311(a) & 1362(7). The term “navigable waters” has

been variously defined by the Corps over the years, but

this Court redefined the term most recently in

Rapanos v. United States, 547 U.S. 715 (2006). In

Rapanos, the plurality defined “navigable waters” as

Traditional Navigable Waters (capable of use in

interstate commerce) and nonnavigable but relatively

permanent rivers, lakes, and streams, as well as

abutting wetlands, with a continuous surface water

connection to Traditional Navigable Waters. Id. at

739-42. In a concurring opinion, Justice Kennedy

opined that the Clean Water Act covered wetlands with

a significant physical, biological, and chemical impact

on Traditional Navigable Waters. Id. at 779. The

Eighth Circuit has held the Corps can establish federal

jurisdiction over wetlands under either the plurality’s

2

“continuous surface water” test or Justice Kennedy’s

“significant nexus” test. See United States v. Bailey,

571 F.3d 791, 799 (8th Cir. 2009). In this case, the

Corps relied on the “significant nexus” test.

The Clean Water Act is unique; it requires an

expert “to determine if [it] even appl[ies] to you and

your property.” Pet. App. at 20a (Kelly, J., concurring).

This is because the “reach of the Clean Water Act is

notoriously unclear. Any piece of land that is wet at

least part of the year is in danger of being classified by

[federal] employees as wetlands covered by the Act

” Sackett v. E.P.A., 132 S. Ct. 1367, 1375 (2012)

(Alito, J., concurring). Since the inception of the Act in

1972, “[t]he Corps has [] asserted jurisdiction over

virtually any parcel of land containing a channel or

conduit--whether man-made or natural, broad or

narrow, permanent or ephemeral—through which

rainwater or drainage may occasionally or

intermittently flow.” Rapanos, 547 U.S. at 722. This

implicates “the entire land area of the United States.”

Id. “Any plot of land containing such a channel may

potentially be regulated as a ‘water of the United

States.“ Id.

To provide some clarity to agency officials and the

regulated public for this expansive assertion of

jurisdiction, that Congress did not intend and could not

have foreseen, the “Corps has authorized its district

engineers to issue formal determinations concerning

the applicability of the Clean Water Act to

activities or tracts of land and the applicability of

general permits or statutory exemptions to proposed

activities.” 33 C.F.R. § 320.1(a)(6). A formal Approved

Jurisdictional Determination, or JD, provides a site-

specific delineation of wetlands or other waters subject

3

to regulation under the Clean Water Act, along with

detailed physical, chemical, and biological data in

support of the determination. 33 C.F.R. § 331.2. The

regulations themselves declare a “determination

pursuant to this authorization shall constitute a Corps

final agency action.” 33 C.F.R. § 320.1(a)(6). The

regulations also provide for Preliminary JD’s that are

written indications that there may be “waters of the

United States” on a parcel. 33 C.F.R. § 331.2. But the

Corps states these JD’s are only “advisory in nature

and may not be appealed.” Pet. Opening Brief at 25(a).

The Corps not only interprets jurisdictional

“waters of the United States” expansively, the Corps

interprets jurisdictional waters inconsistently. This is

confirmed by a report from the General Accounting

Office (GAO) cited by this Court in Rapanos, 547 U.S.

at 725. The report documents the Corps’ loca] districts

“differ in how they interpret and apply the federal

regulations when determining what wetlands and

other waters fall within the [Clean Water Act’s]

jurisdiction.” U.S. General Accounting Office, Waters

and Wetlands: Corps of Engineers Needs to Evaluate Its

District Office Practices in Determining Jurisdiction 3

(Feb. 2004). This is because “the definitions used to

make jurisdictional determinations’ are deliberately

left ‘vague.” Rapanos, 547 U.S. at 727 (citation

omitted).

In its effect, a -urisdictional Determination

requires property owners to: (1) abandon all use of the

regulated portion of the land (often at ruinous cost);

(2) seek a potentially unnecessary permit (often at

4

ruinous cost)’; or, (3) proceed with an otherwise

lawful use of the land (risking ruinous fines’? and

imprisonment).

Corps regulations authorize an administrative

appeal of an Approved JD. The procedure for this

appeal is the same for an appeal of a permit denial or

a permit that is declined by the applicant. See 33

C.F.R. § 320.1(a)(2) (“A district engineer’s decision on

an approved jurisdictional determination, a permit

denial, or a declined individual permit is subject to an

administrative appeal by the affected party in

accordance with the procedures and authorities

contained in 33 C.F.R. part 331.”).

An action brought in the federal courts is subject

to the requirements of the Administrative Procedure

Act (APA). The APA states “[a]gency action made

reviewable by statute and final agency action for which

there is no other adequate remedy in a court are

subject to judicial review.” 5 U.S.C. § 704. The general

test for determining final agency action is often

described as a two-prong analysis: “First, the action

must mark the ‘consummation’ of the agency's

decisionmaking process.” And second, “the action must

be one by which ‘rights or obligations have been

determined,” or from which “legal consequences will

flow.” Bennett v. Spear, 520 U.S. 154, 177-78 (1997)

(citation omitted). Finally, the agency action must be

' According to this Court, the “average applicant for an individual

permit [as in this case] spends 788 days and $271,596 in

completing the process, and the average applicant for a nationwide

[more general] permit spends 313 days and $28,915—not counting

costs of mitigation or design changes.” Rapanos, 547 U.S. at 719.

2 The Clean Water Act authorizes fines up to $37,500 a day. Pet.

Opening Brief at 9 n.4.

5

one for which there is no other remedy in court other

than APA review.

This case involves a challenge to a formal

Approved Jurisdictional Determination issued by the

Corps after an administrative appeal. Respondent

Hawkes argues the JD is invalid (as determined by a

Corps Review officer) and the project site is not subject

to the Clean Water Act under any relevant standard.

The Corps defends its JD on the basis the

determination is not final agency action under Bennett

and Respondent Hawkes has an adequate remedy in

court; Hawkes can seek a permit, then decline the

permit and seek redress in court for the contested

Jurisdictional Determination. Or, if the permit is

denied, Hawkes can challenge the need for a permit in

court. In other words, Hawkes must go through the

costly and time-consuming permit process before a

court can determine whether Hawkes was required to

go through the costly and time-consuming permit

process in the first instance.

The Eighth Circuit Decision

The trial court dismissed the challenge to the

Jurisdictional Determination on a 12(b)(6) motion for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction under the APA,

However, the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals held

formal Approved Jurisdictional Determinations

represent final agency action subject to immediate

judicial review. According to the Eighth Circuit, the

Jurisdictional Determination is conclusive as to federal

jurisdiction under Sackett and Hawkes has no other

adequate remedy in court:

The Corps’s assertion that the Revised JD is

merely advisory and has no more effect than

6

an environmental consultant’s opinion

ignores reality. “[I]n reality it has a powerful

coercive effect.” Bennett, 520 U.S. at 169, 117

S. Ct. 1154. Absent immediate judicial

review, the impracticality of otherwise

obtaining review, combined with “the

uncertain reach of the Clean Water Act and

the draconian penalties imposed for the sort

of violations alleged in this case leaves

most property owners with little practical

alternative but to dance to the EPA’s [or to

the Corps’) tune.” “In a nation that values due

process, not to mention private property, such

treatment is unthinkable.” Sackett, 132 S. Ct.

at 1375 (Alito, J., concurring). We conclude

that an Approved JD is a final agency action

and the issue is ripe for judicial review under

the APA.

Pet. App. at 16a-17a.

The court determined the test for APA finality is

based on “practical considerations” and the Corps

grossly understated the impact of a JD by

“exaggerating the distinction between an agency order

that compels affirmative action,” like the compliance

order in Sackett, “and an order that prohibits a party

from taking otherwise lawful action,” like the JD in

this case. The Eighth Circuit found “[n]umerous

Supreme Court precedents confirm that this is not a

basis on which to determine whether ‘rights or

obligations have been determined’ or that ‘legal

consequences will flow’ from agency action.” Id. at 11a.

7

In her concurring opinion, Judge Kelly added:

In my view, the Court in Sackett was

concerned with just how difficult and

confusing it can be for a landowner to

predict whether or not his or her land

falls within CWA jurisdiction—a threshold

determination that puts the administrative

process in motion. This is a unique aspect of

the CWA; most laws do not require the hiring

of expert consultants to determine if they

even apply to you or your property. This

jurisdictional determination was precisely

what the Court deemed reviewable in Sackett.

See Sackett, 132 S. Ct. at 1374-75 (Ginsburg,

J., concurring). Accordingly, I concur in the

judgment of the court.

Pet. App. at 20a-21a.

The judgment of the Eighth Circuit conflicts with

Belle Co. v. U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 761 F.3d

383 (5th Cir. 2014) (aka Kent Recycling now pending on

petition in this Court, 14-493), and Fairbanks North

Star Borough v. U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 543

F.3d 586 (9th Cir. 2008). This Court granted certiorari

to resolve this conflict.

8

STATEMENT OF FACTS

The Property

The property at issue (the Property) is located in

New Maine Township, Marshal County, Minnesota,

and contains organic peat® found in wetland

environments. JA at 13. In Minnesota, peat harvesting

requires wetland replacement and restoration and is

regulated under permits issued by the Minnesota

Department of Natural Resources (MDNR). Jd. The

Property lies over 120 river miles from the nearest

Traditional Navigable Water, the Red River of the

North. Id. There is no continuous surface water

connection between wetlands on the Property and a

“water of the United States.” Jd. A farm, a separate,

shallow ditch dug for farming purposes in an area the

Corps concedes is upland at the border of the farm

most distant from the Property, and another sizable

upland area, are all located between the Property and

the area the Corps claims is a “Relatively Permanent

Water.” Id. at 13-14.

Administrative Proceedings

In October, 2006, Hawkes obtained an option to

purchase the Property, subject to receiving approval to

conduct peat harvesting operations on the Property. Id.

at 14. On March 20, 2007, Kevin Pierce, a Hawkes

officer, met with representatives of the Corps and the

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources. Jd. The

discussion at this meeting focused on potential

° Peat is a “brown, soil-like material characteristic of boggy, acid

ground, consisting of partly decomposed vegetable matter. It is

widely cut and dried for use in gardening and as fuel[.]” See

http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/us/definition/american_englis

h/peat.

9

roadblocks to the plan to harvest peat on the Property,

including discussion of the Property’s status as a rich

fen and a wetland. Jd. at 14-15.

On January 15, 2008, Mr. Pierce again met with

representatives of the Corps and the MDNR to review

plans to conduct peat harvesting on the Property. Id.

at 15. At this meeting, Mr. Pierce discussed with the

Corps and MDNR representatives the high quality of

the peat available at the Property and the importance

to Hawkes’ business of being able to harvest peat on

the Property. Jd. As Mr. Pierce explained, the peat

available to Hawkes, as of January, 2008, provided the

company approximately seven to ten years of future

operations. Jd. Mr. Pierce also explained that by

expanding peat harvesting to the Property, Hawkes

could extend the lifespan of its business by ten to

fifteen additional years. Jd.

On or about December 13, 2010, Hawkes applied

for an individual permit from the Corps under Section

404 of the Clean Water Act to expand its existing peat

harvesting operations to a portion of the

Property—approximately 150 acres. Jd. As part of its

permit application, Hawkes identified fifteen sites that

it had evaluated as potential alternatives to the

Property. None of those sites provided a viable

alternative to peat harvesting on the Property. Jd.

In January, 2011, Mr. Pierce again met with the

Corps and MDNR. 7d. At that meeting, Corps

representatives spent the majority of time attempting

to persuade Mr. Pierce to abandon his plans to use the

Property. Id. Corps representatives played up the cost

associated with the permitting process; arguing there

was no guarantee that a permit would ever be granted;

and suggesting that, even if a permit were to be

10

granted, the process would take many years before it

would be completed. Jd. at 15-16. But Mr. Pierce stated

his intent to proceed. Jd.

On or about March 15, 2011, the Corps issued a

letter to Hawkes stating the Corps had made a

“preliminary determination” that the Property is a

“water of the United States” and “is regulated by the

Corps under Section 404 of the Clean Water Act.” Id.

at 16. The Corps’ letter also stated that “at a

minimum” an environmental assessment will be

required. Jd. Mr. Pierce again met with representatives

of the Corps and the MDNR on April 23, 2011. Id. At

that meeting, one of the Corps representatives,

Tamara Cameron, stated the opinion that the Property

would be completely and permanently destroyed if peat

were to be harvested on the Property. Jd. Ms. Cameron

also stated it could take years before a permit would be

granted and the process would be very costly. Jd.

On May 31 through June 3, 2011, representatives

of the Corps conducted a site visit of the Property. Jd.

At that time, a Hawkes employee told Steve Eggers,

from the Corps, how important expanding operations

to the Property was to Hawkes’ ability to continue its

business and how much he hoped that Hawkes would

be able to begin harvesting soon. Jd. In response,

Mr. Eggers suggested the employee should start

looking for another job, or words to that effect. Jd.

On or about August 25, 2011, the Corps

sent another letter to Hawkes with a list of nine

additional information items that would be needed

for the permit application. Jd. at 17. These included

hydrological assessments of the wetland and of

groundwater flow spatially and vertically, functional

resource assessments including vegetation surveys,

11

inventorying and analyzing the quality of wetlands in

the entire watershed, evaluation of upstream potential

impacts, and more. Jd. The cost of performing all of

these requirements is estimated to exceed $100,000.

Id.

Faced with these overly burdensome demands by

the Corps, Hawkes put its permit application on hold

and asked the Corps to justify its preliminary

Jurisdictional Determination. Jd. On November 1,

2011, representatives of the Corps met with the then

owner of the Property. Jd. Although Mr. Pierce had

asked to be present in any meeting between the Corps

and the landowner, the Corps chose to exclude him

from this meeting. Jd. At the meeting, the Corps

representatives stressed to the landowner the harm

that would result if peat harvesting were to be

permitted on the Property and insisted the landowner

try to sell the Property to a wetlands bank or to

another party. Jd. The Corps made these statements

even though the Corps representatives were aware

Mr. Pierce had obtained an option to purchase the

Property. Jd. The Corps also indicated there is a very

good possibility that a full Environmental Impact

Statement would be required for the project that would

delay issuance of any permit for several years. Jd. at

17-18.

On November 8, 2011, the Corps provided Hawkes

with a copy of a draft Jurisdictional Determination for

the Property. Jd. at 18. The draft JD claimed the

Property was connected by a Relatively Permanent

Water through a series of culverts and unnamed

streams which flowed into the Middle River and then

to a Traditional Navigable Water (the Red River of the

North) 120 miles away. Jd. The Corps, therefore,

12

deemed the Property subject to Corps’ jurisdiction

under the Clean Water Act. The draft JD did not

determine whether there was a significant nexus

between the Property and any navigable waters. Id.

On December 1, 2011, Corps representatives

conducted a site visit of the Property for the purpose

of making a formal Approved Jurisdictional

Determination. Jd. By correspondence dated

December 19, 2011, Hawkes, through their wetland

consultant, identified numerous errors in the draft JD

and provided the Corps with additional information to

be considered in connection with its formal site

investigation. Id. This information showed there was

no Relatively Permanent Water that connected the

Property to a Traditional Navigable Water. Id.

On or about February 7, 2012, the Corps issued a

formal Approved Jurisdictional Determination (the

“Initial JD”), concluding there was a “significant

nexus” between the Property and the Red River of the

North and, accordingly, the Property was a “water of

the United States” subject to Corps’ jurisdiction. Jd. On

or about April 4, 2012, Hawkes filed a timely appeal of

the JD under 33 C.F.R. § 331.6 setting forth the

reasons why the Property is not a “water of the United

States.” Id. at 18-19.

On or about April 23, 2012, the Regulatory

Appeals Review Officer sent Hawkes’ consultant a

letter stating the appeal was appropriate for

consideration. Jd. at 19. The parties presented their

oral arguments before the Review Officer on July 24,

2012, and an Administrative Appeal Decision was

issued on October 24, 2012, finding the appeal had

merit and the administrative record “[did] not contain

sufficient documentation/analysis to support a finding

13

of Clean Water Act jurisdiction.” Jd. The

Administrative Appeal Decision noted, among other

things:

* “The [Administrative Record] does not

contain data supporting flow regime, volume.

duration, or frequency from the wetlands to

the river. Additionally, the District states

that indicators of the transport of energy,

materials, and nutrients were observed

during a site visit, but there is no

quantitative date [sic] given to support the

finding.” (footnote omitted)

* “While the [Administrative Record]

provides information indicating an OHW [i.e.,

“ordinary high water” mark for the unnamed

tributary exists, it does not provide sufficient

evidence to establish a significant nexus that

the number of flow events, volume, duration,

and frequency of water flowing through the

tributary are such that it has an appreciable

effect on the TNW [Traditional Navigable

Water].” (footnote omitted)

* “The [Administrative Record] included a

description of the stream channel riparian

corridor from the unnamed tributary to the

TNW However, the water flow regime

information was not sufficient to indicate that

a significant nexus exists.” (footnote omitted)

Id. at 19-20.

Following remand, on or about December 31, 2012,

the Corps issued a revised JD (the “Revised JD”) and

advised that the Revised JD is a “final Corps permit

[sic] decision in accordance with 33 C.F.R. § 331.10.”

14

Id. at 20. According to 33 C.F.R. § 331.21, Plaintiffs are

considered to have exhausted their administrative

remedies when a final decision is made pursuant to 33

C.F.R. § 331.10. JA at 20.

The Revised JD did not contain additional data

that would support a significant nexus between the

Property and the Red River of the North. Jd. However,

the Revised JD still purportedly relies on Justice

Kennedy’s “significant nexus’ test to assert jurisdiction

over the Property, which is described by the Revised

JD as a “Non-Relatively Permanent [Water] that

flow|s] directly or indirectly into [a] Traditional

Navigable [Water].” Jd.

The Revised JD did not correct the deficiencies of

the Initial JD that would demonstrate how the

Property, either quantitatively or qualitatively,

significantly affects the physical, biological, and

chemical integrity of the Red River of the North located

120 river miles from the Property. Jd. at 20-21. Even

though the Corps had two years to establish

jurisdiction, its Revised JD, like the Initial JD, speaks

only to the overall functions provided by wetlands and

stream headwaters in general. Jd. at 21. As the Review

Officer found, it does “not speak to how the specific

onsite wetland and tributaries have a significant nexus

that is more than speculative or insubstantial on the

chemical, physical or biological integrity of the

downstream TNW.” Id.

Any further efforts to obtain a permit to conduct

peat harvesting on the Property would be futile, either

because the Corps has already decided that it will not

issue a permit or because the delay and expense of

finally obtaining a permit would substantially impede,

15

if not prevent, Hawkes from proceeding with its plans

to harvest peat on the Property. Jd.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

This case arises from a challenge to a formal

Approved Jurisdictional Determination, or wetlands

delineation, issued by the U.S. Army Corps of

Engineers concluding peat bogs found on Respondents’

property are subject to the Clean Water Act because

the Property has a purported “significant nexus” with

downstream “navigable waters.” Hawkes contests this

conclusion as contrary to the Act and Supreme Court

precedent and seeks to have the JD overturned under

the Administrative Procedure Act.

The APA “creates a presumption favoring judicial

review of administrative action.” Sackett v. Envtl. Prot.

Agency, 132 S. Ct. at 1373 (quoting Block uv.

Community Nutrition Institute, 467 U.S. 340, 349

(1984)). That presumption applies in this case. Like the

Sacketts, Hawkes is subject to agency strong-arming

under the law.

The Corps has conceded the Jurisdictional

Determination is the agency’s final word on

jurisdiction. A plain reading of the APA should satisfy

the “final agency action” requirement without further

analysis. However, under Bennett, this Court has

generally required such actions to have a

particularized legal consequence. This Court employs

a practical approach to determine if the agency action

changes the legal regime or fixes a “right” or

“obligation,” even if the agency action does not have

legal consequences independent of the underlying

statute.

16

The JD in this case changes the legal regime by

declaring through a formal site-specific adjudication

that the Hawkes property contains “waters of the

United States” subject to federal control under the

Clean Water Act. The JD is conclusive as to federal

jurisdiction and may be relied on for a period of five

years. The JD has practical and legal consequences for

the Corps and an inescapable coercive effect on

Hawkes such that Hawkes is compelled to abandon

any use of the Property (at ruinous cost), obtain an

individual federal permit (at ruinous cost), or ignore

the JD and proceed with the peat harvesting project

without a permit and risk ruinous fines and criminal

liability. The JD has other significant effects on

Hawkes as well, including increased risk of liability,

loss of an otherwise legal right to use the Property, and

substantially increased costs.

Judicial review of the Jurisdictional

Determination is consistent with this Court’s case law,

including Sackett and Bennett, and more particularly,

Abbott Labs., Port of Boston, and Frozen Food Express.

The Corps has provided no contrary authority on facts

analogous to this case. Therefore, the JD must be

deemed “final agency action” under the APA.

Also, there is no “adequate remedy in court” that

would justify any further delay in judicial review. The

requirement that Hawkes go through a separate

permit process before seeking judicial review, urged on

this Court by the Corps, is nonsensical. The permit

process is prohibitively costly in time and money, and

punitive in effect. More importantly, it contributes

nothing to the judicial resolution of the jurisdictional

issue. It serves no litigation goal other than delay. The

permit process does not, and cannot, advance the case

17

because it adds no relevant facts nor clarifies

application of the law. The permit requirement is

wasteful, unnecessary, and likely unconstitutional.

Additionally, the permit requirement undermines

the presumption of reviewability and is tantamount to

a decision on the merits in favor of the Corps. The

primary reason to challenge the JD is to avoid the

crippling cost and delay of an unnecessary permit. If

Hawkes were to seek a permit and then successfully

challenge the underlying Jurisdictional Determination

in court, as the Fifth and Ninth Circuits require,

Hawkes could never recover the needless expense of

seeking the permit. This alone is sufficient to

demonstrate the permit process is not an adequate

remedy in court to challenge an _ erropedus

jurisdictional claim.

Seeking judicial review by violating the Clean

Water Act to trigger an enforcement action is likewise

inadequate. The risk is too high. The penalties for

discharging a pollutant without a permit are

astronomical; tens of thousands of dollars a day in

fines and criminal liability. Under Ex parte Young, a

scheme requiring aggrieved parties to risk devastating

fines and imprisonment to challenge the validity of a

regulation is unconstitutional and invalid on its face.

Finally, the facts in this case give rise to

numerous due process claims. This Court should rely

on the constitutional avoidance canon and interpret

the APA to avoid a constitutional conflict and allow

immediate judicial review of the Jurisdictional

Determination.

18

ARGUMENT

I

THE JURISDICTIONAL

DETERMINATION IS

FINAL AGENCY ACTION

The test for determining final agency action under

the APA is generally described as a two-prong analysis:

“First, the action must mark the ‘consummation’ of the

agency’s decisionmaking process.” And second, “the

action must be one by which ‘rights or obligations have

been determined,” or from which “legal consequences

will flow.” Bennett, 520 U.S. at 177-78 (citations

omitted). The second prong of the Bennett test is

written in the disjunctive. Even if new “legal

consequences” do not flow, the agency action may still

be final if it determines “rights” or “obligations.”

In furtherance of the “generous review provisions”

of the APA, id. at 163, and the Act’s strong

presumption of reviewability, this Court’s decisions

take a pragmatic approach to finding agency action is

final under the APA. See Abbott Labs. v. Gardner, 387

U.S. 136, 148-50 (1967); accord Bell v. New Jersey, 461

U.S. 773, 779 (1983); and Pacific Gas and Electric

Co. v. State Energy Resource Conservation and

Development Commission, 461 U.S. 190, 200-01 (1983).

A. An Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Is the Corps’

Final Word on Jurisdiction

The Corps has abandoned its previous argument

that an Approved Jurisdictional Determination is not

the “consummation of the agency’s decisionmaking

process,” as required under the first Bennett prong.

19

The Corps now concedes “the issuance of an approved

jurisdictional determination marks the culmination of

the distinct process by which the Corps informs a

landowner whether the Corps believes that covered

waters are present on a specified tract.” Pet. Opening

Brief at 26. This is a necessary concession because the

argument is untenable under Sackett. In Sackett,

this Court held a compliance order, that may be

issued “on any information” and without any right of

administrative review, is the agency’s “last word” on

jurisdiction, whereas the Jurisdictional Determination

here is the result of a lengthy and detailed site-specific

analysis concluding with an administrative appeal and

remand.

“As a logical prerequisite to the issuance of

the challenged compliance order,” the

Sacketts contend, “EPA had to determine

that it has regulatory authority over [our]

property.” Id., at 54-55. The Court holds that

the Sacketts may immediately litigate their

jurisdictional challenge in federal court. I

agree, for the Agency has ruled definitively

on that question.

Sackett, 132 S. Ct. at 1374 (Ginsburg, J., concurring).

Under a literal reading of the APA, this should

end the inquiry into the finality question. The APA

states in relevant part that “final agency action(s] for

which there is no other adequate remedy in a court are

subject to judicial review.” 5 U.S.C. § 704. This

language is not ambiguous, and under the standard

norms of statutory interpretation, the term “final”

takes its ordinary meaning (i.e., conclusive or decisive).

_ See Harrison v. PPG Indus., Inc., 446 U.S. 578 (1980)

(holding the phrase “any other final action” in

20

§ 307(b)(1) of the Clean Air Act is clear and is to be

construed in accordance with its literal meaning so as

to reach any action of the Administrator that is final);

see also Sackett, 132 S. Ct. at 1373 (“[T]he APA

provides for judicial review of all final agency actions,

not just those that impose a self-executing sanction.”).

Such a straightforward reading of the APA would give

due deference to the presumption of reviewability on

which the Act rests. Jd.

Nevertheless, Hawkes addresses the second

Bennett prong below.

B. Final Agency Action Does

Not Require “Independent”

Legal Consequences

Under the second Bennett prong, “the action must

be one by which ‘rights or obligations have been

determined,” or from which “legal consequences will

flow.” Bennett, 520 U.S. at 178 (quoting Port of Boston

Marine Terminal Association v. Rederiaktiebolaget

Transatlantic, 400 U.S. 62, 71 (1970)). In evaluating

whether legal consequences flow from an Approved

Jurisdictional Determination, the Corps misconstrues

the Bennett test. The Corps asserts, in reliance on the

Fifth and Ninth Circuits, that legal consequences must

flow from the JD, independent of the Clean Water Act.

This is not the test.

In Fairbanks North Star Borough v. U.S. Army

Corps of Engineers, 543 F.3d at 594, the court held a

JD cannot satisfy the Bennett second prong because

“Fairbanks’ legal obligations arise directly and solely

from the CWA and not from the Corps’ issuance of an

approved jurisdictional determination.” Similarly, in

Belle Co., 761 F.3d at 391-92, the Fifth Circuit held the

21

JD was not reviewable under the APA because legal

consequences did not flow “independently” from that

determination but from the CWA. However, neither of

these circuits nor the Corps cites any controlling

authority for that proposition.

The language of the APA does not require “agency

action” to have “independent” legal consequences,

either expressly or impliedly. If such a requirement

were imposed on the APA, it would preclude judicial

review of most, if not all, interpretive or ceclaratory

decisions and eviscerate the Act. See 5 U.S.C. § 551(13)

(Defining “agency action” as “the whole or part of an

agency rule, order, license, sanction, relief, or the

equivalent ”); id. § 551(4) (Defining “rule” as “the

whole or a part of an agency statement of general or

particular applicability and future effect designed to

implement, interpret, or prescribe law or policy.”); id.

§ 551(6) (Defining “order” as “the whole or a part of a

final disposition, whether affirmative, negative,

injunctive, or declaratory in form, of an agency in a

matter other than rule making.”); and, id. § 551(11)

(Defining “relief? as “the whole or a part of an

agency—{A) grant of money, assistance, license,

authority, exemption, exception, privilege, or remedy;

(B) recognition of a claim, right, immunity, privilege,

exemption, or exception; or, (C) taking of other action

on the application or petition of, or beneficial to, a

person.”).

Moreover, no Supreme Court precedent is cited in

support of this interpretation. There is, however,

express contrary precedent. Bennett itself relied on

Port of Boston, 400 U.S. at 70-71, that rejected the

argument that a commission order about dockside

storage fees “lacked finality because it had no

22

independent effect on anyone.” The Court stated that

argument had the “hollow ring of another era.” Id.

More importantly, the Court acknowledged agency

actions “that have no independent coercive effect are

common” and this Court had found such actions final

and reviewable. Jd. at 71.

According to this Court, “the relevant

considerations in determining finality are whether the

process of administrative decisionmaking has reached

a stage where judicial review will not disrupt the

orderly process of adjudication and whether rights

or obligations have been determined or legal

consequences will flow from the agency action.” Jd. If

“rights,” “obligations,” or “legal consequences” do not

flow “independently” from the agency action, they must

flow from the underlying statute. Therefore, the

question before this Court is not whether a JD has

legal consequences beyond the Clean Water Act, but

whether the JD determines if the “rights” and

“obligations” imposed by the Act apply to aggrieved

parties. Through “the orderly process of adjudication,”

that’s exactly what the JD did here. Jd. In Abbott

Labs., 387 U.S. at 148-54, this Court cited a string of

cases that found agency action “final” under the APA

that involved nothing more than an interpretation of a

statute, including many of those cases relied on by the

Eighth Circuit below.

C. An Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Is Designed

To Have Legal Consequences

A recurring theme in the Corps’ argument is that,

in its effect, an Approved Jurisdictional Determination

is similar to an informal agency opinion or warning

letter, or even a consultant’s report, and is merely

23

advisory. See Pet. Opening Brief at 33. The Eighth

Circuit rejected this argument:

The Corps’s assertion that the Revised JD is

merely advisory and has no more effect than

an environmental consultant’s opinion

ignores reality. “[I]n reality it has a powerful

coercive effect.” Bennett, 520 U.S. at 169.

Pet. App. at 16a.

The “powerful coercive effect” of the Jurisdictional

Determination in this case is that Hawkes must suffer

grave consequences no matter what it does. Under the

JD, Hawkes’ only options are: (1) abandon the peat

harvesting project, at great loss; (2) complete the

permit process at exorbitant cost with no certainty of

success; or (3) proceed with the project without a

permit and incur crushing civil and criminal liability.

The Corps simply ignores that reality when it argues

a JD has no legal consequences.

The Corps appears to be confusing an informal

Preliminary JD with a formal Approved JD. Corps’

regulations provide for issuance of Preliminary

Jurisdictional Determinations, which are “written

indications that there may be waters of the United

States on a parcel or indications of the approximate

location(s) of waters of the United States on a

parcel.” 33 C.F.R. § 331.2. Preliminary Jurisdictional

Determinations do not reflect a final conclusion about

whether “waters of the United States” are present. Jd.;

see U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Regulatory

Guidance Letter No. 08-02, 74 4, 7 (June 26, 2008).

Accordingly, Preliminary JD’s “are advisory in nature

and may not be appealed.” Pet. Opening Brief at

24

25(a). This suggests that formal Approved JD’s are

something more than “advisory” in nature.”

Contrary to a Preliminary JD that is more like an

informa] opinion letter, a formal Approved JD is based

on a costly and extensive onsite investigation by the

Corps itself: “Significant agency resources are

necessary to perform the scientific and technical

analysis required to produce” Jurisdictional

Determinations. Pet. Opening Brief at 24. The

investigator must consider the actual physical,

chemical, and biological aspects of the site and draw

complex factual and legal conclusions from the data

gathered. See 33 C.F.R. § 331.9. Each investigation is

different. Only an expert in this aspect of the law and

science can make the final determination. “This is a

unique aspect of the CWA; most laws do not require

the hiring of expert consultants to determine if they

even apply to you or your property.” Pet. App. at 20a-

21a (Kelly, J., concurring).

The Clean Water Act does not cover all waters.

Therefore, jurisdictional waters must be determined on

a case-by-case basis. This is the very purpose of the

Jurisdictional Determination: “A landowner who

procures a[n] [approved] jurisdictional determination,

however, has the advantage of knowing the Corps’

current, considered view as to whether there are

waters of the United States on the landowner’s

property.” Pet. Opening Brief at 22.

An Approved JD goes even further and determines

what exemptions and permits apply: The “Corps has

authorized its district engineers to issue formal

determinations concerning the applicability of the

Clean Water Act to activities or tracts of land and

the applicability of general permits or statutory

25

exemptions to proposed activities.” See 33 C.F-.R.

§ 320.1(a)(6).

The JD regulatory process even provides for a

right of administrative appeal on exactly the same

basis as a formal permit. See 33 C.F.R. § 320.1(a)(2) (“A

district engineer’s decision on an approved

jurisdictional determination, a permit denial, or a

declined individual permit is subject to an

administrative appeal by the affected party in

accordance with the procedures and authorities

contained in 33 C.F.R. part 331.”). Upon completion of

an administrative appeal, Corps regulations declare a

“determination pursuant to this authorization shall

constitute a Corps final agency action.” 33 C.F.R.

§ 320.1(a)(6). And, “[t]he determination reflects the

agency’s official view, and it will remain in effect for

five years unless conditions change or new information

comes to light.” Pet. Opening Brief at 25.

An Approved JD has all the earmarks of final

agency action: (1) it goes beyond the informal opinion

of a Preliminary JD; (2) it is based on a costly and

detailed site-specific analysis; (3) it addresses the

“applicability of general permits or statutory

exemptions;” (4) it represents the agency’s “official

view” on jurisdiction; (5) it is subject to the same

administrative appeals process as a permit decision;

(6) after appeal, the determination is considered “final

agency action;” and (7) the JD can be relied on for five

years. It is hard to believe the government would

create such elaborate procedures and expend such

extensive resources on a determination that was not

intended to fix a legal “right” or “obligation.” “It would

be adherence to a mere technicality to give any

26

credence to [the government’s] contention.” Abbott

Labs., 387 U.S. at 152.

If the Act answered the question of whether a

particular parcel contains jurisdictional wetlands,

there would be no need for a Jurisdictional

Determination. But there is such a need, as evidenced

by the existence of the Corps regulations. It is the JD,

not the Clean Water Act “that puts the administrative

process in motion.” Pet. App at 20a-21la (Kelly, J.,

concurring).

D. An Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Has

Legal Consequences for

Permitting and Enforcement

The Corps repeatedly argues any relevant “rights”

or “obligations” are determined by the Clean Water

Act, not the Jurisdictional Determination. This is

ironic in light of the Corps’ admission that a JD is

provided precisely because “[t]he CWA itself does not

establish any mechanism whereby a property owner,

without first seeking a permit or discharging without

a permit, may obtain the government’s view as to

whether the Act applies to particular sites.” Pet.

Opening Brief at 3.

According to the Corps, a JD.adds nothing to the

Act, has no effect, and is not final agency action under

the second Bennett prong. See Pet. Opening Brief at 20-

44. But the same could be said of almost any agency

action backed by statute, including a permit grant or a

permit denial, which the Corps admits are reviewable

under the APA. Id. at 45.

27

The JD here is reminiscent of the drug labeling

requirement in Abbot Labs., which the government

argued was not reviewable because it could not be

enforced directly but only when the Attorney General

authorized “criminal and seizure actions for violations

of the statute.” Abbott Labs., 387 U.S. at 151. This

Court found “the argument unpersuasive” because “the

agency does have direct authority to enforce this

regulation in the context of passing upon applications

for clearance of new drugs.” Jd. at 151-52.

Likewise, if a landowner discharges a pollutant

into covered waters (as defined by the JD), without

federal approval, the Corps has “direct authority” to

rely on the JD in determining the nature of the

violation. Moreover, with respect to the scope of

covered waters, the Corps is legally bound by the JD

during the permit process. See Pet. App. at 9a-10a.

(“The Corps’ Regulatory Guidance Letter No. 08-02, at

2, 5, described an Approved JD as a ‘definitive, official

determination that there are, or that there are not,

jurisdictional “waters of the United States” on a site,’

and stated that an Approved JD ‘can be relied upon by

a landowner, permit applicant, or other affected party

for five years”).

Also, a third party can rely on the JD as prima

facie evidence of a violation of the Clean Water Act. See

Pet. App. at 34(a) (The Corps views the JD as final

agency action “in the sense the public may rely on the

determination.”); see also Pet. Opening Brief at 3 (“In

addition to establishing various government

enforcement mechanisms, the CWA _ authorizes

aggrieved private citizens to file suit against persons

who are alleged to have made unlawful pollutant

discharges into waters of the United States. See 33

28

U.S.C. § 1365(a)(1)[.}”). Such waters are defined by the

JD.

If, on the other hand, a landowner discharges a

pollutant into waters the Corps has determined are not

covered by the Act (i.e., through a negative JD), the

landowner can raise an estoppel defense against any

related Corps enforcement action. See Fairbanks North

Star Borough, 543 F.3d at 597 (“A negative finding

would effectively assure [the landowner] that the

Corps would not later be able to fault [the landowner’s]

failure to seek a permit.”).

An Approved JD has very real legal consequences

for the Corps, the landowner, and even the public.

Under Bennett, it is enough if the agency action

“alter[s] the legal regime to which the [agency] is

subject.” Bennett, 520 U.S. at 156. Therefore, the JD is

final agency action under the APA.

E. An Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Increases the

Landowner’s Potential Liability

In Sackett, this Court determined legal

consequences flowed from the compliance order

because, among other things, it increased the

petitioners’ potential liability “in a future enforcement

proceeding.” Sackett, 132 S. Ct. at 1372. So does the JD

here.

The Eighth Circuit stated below an Approved

Jurisdictional Determination increases “the penalties

[Hawkes] would risk if they chose to begin mining

without a permit” by exposing the landowner to

“substantial criminal monetary penalties and even

imprisonment for a knowing CWA violation.” Pet. App.

at 15a. The Corps does not dispute that such a risk

29

exists. Rather, the Corps affirms the increased risk of

liability:

The CWA does provide that a court, in

assessing an appropriate civil penalty for a

violation, should consider, inter alia, “any

good-faith efforts” to comply with the CWA’s

requirements. 33 U.S.C. 1319(d). The statute

also imposes criminal penalties for knowing

violations of the CWA, 33 U.S.C. 1319(c)(2).

A landowner’s receipt of a jurisdictional

determination—and its consequent

knowledge that the agency believes the CWA

applies—could be offered as evidence of the

owner's knowledge of the CWA’s applicability.

Pet. Opening Brief at 32.

The only argument the Corps offers in mitigation

of this risk is that the Clean Water Act does not

assign any particular weight to a Jurisdictional

Determination. Jd. Therefore, the risk is only

contingent. Jd. But the Corps cannot deny that scienter

is an element of a knowing violation and that

landowners cannot claim ignorance or mistake once

they are in receipt of an Approved JD. This necessarily

increases the landowners’ potential for increased

liability, which is substantial. For example, a negligent

violation of the Act limits civil fines to $37,500 per day,

but allows a fine of up to $50,000 per day (or more

when adjusted for inflation) for a knowing violation

and increases jail time from | to up to 3 years. 33

U.S.C. § 1319. The Eighth Circuit was correct in

holding the JD is like a compliance order in this

respect and, under Sackett, the JD is subject to

immediate review.

30

F. An Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Has Other

Legal Consequences

The effects of the Approved Jurisdictional

Determination in this case are “direct and

appreciable.” See Bennett, 520 U.S. at 178.

The Jurisdictional Determination severely limits

Hawkes’ ability to use the Property for peat harvesting

because Hawkes must now obtain an individual Clean

Water Act (section 404) permit before the project can

proceed. This is no small matter:

The burden of federal regulation on those

who would deposit fill material in locations

denominated “waters of the United States” is

not trivial. In deciding whether to grant or

deny a permit, the U.S. Army Corps of

Engineers (Corps) exercises the discretion of

an enlightened despot, relying on such factors

as “economics,” “aesthetics,” “recreation,” and

“in general, the needs and welfare of the

people,” 33 C.F.R. § 320.4(a) (2004). The

average applicant for an individual permit

spends 788 days and $271,596 in completing

the process, and the average applicant for a

nationwide permit spends 313 days and

$28,915—not counting costs of mitigation or

design changes. Sunding & Zilberman, The

Economics of Environmental Regulation by

Licensing: An Assessment of Recent Changes

to the Wetland Permitting Process, 42

Natural Resources J. 59, 74-76 (2002).

Rapanos, 547 U.S. at 721 (footnote omitted).

31

Those costs will likely be higher in this case

because of the nine hydrological studies requested by

the Corps, estimated at more than $100,000, and the

looming requirement for a lengthy and costly

Environmental Impact Statement the Corps has

threatened to impose. JA at 17-18.

The JD has other, equally severe, consequences for

Hawkes. It is axiomatic that the JD decreases the

value of the property for peat harvesting and increases

production, carrying, and loan costs. These effects are

real and, in the aggregate, can effectively rob the

landowner of all viable economic use. Simply

depositing a bucket of soil in the wetland areas is a

violation of the law. To say the JD has no consequences

is to deny the obvious.

G. APA Review of an Approved

Jurisdictional Determination

Is Supported by Numerous

Supreme Court Cases

The Corps has failed to cite a single Supreme

Court case where APA review was denied in a case

like this, where the agency action involved a case-

specific adjudication and the applicant exhausted

all administrative remedies, including appeal and

remand. FTC v. Standard Oil Co. of California, 449

U.S. 232 (1980), on which the Corps relies, is not such

a case. Pet. Opening Brief at 37.

In FTC, the Federal Trade Commission served a

number of oil companies with a complaint stating the

Commission had “reason to believe” these companies

violated the Federal Trade Commission Act. 449 U.S.

at 234. However, that complaint did not purport to be

the Commission’s final word on the violation. Instead,

32

it provided the offending oil company with an

opportunity to participate in an administrative hearing

for the purpose of determining whether the oil

company actually violated the Act. Jd. at 241-43. An

opportunity the oil company declined. Jd. This Court

held the complaint was not “final agency action”

because it was not a final adjudicative decision and for

that reason the complaint itself had no legal

consequence. Jd. at 243. But that is quite different

from the JD in this case where the recipient has

completed the administrative review process and the

JD itself purports to be a final adjudicative decision on

jurisdiction. See 33 C.F.R. § 320.1(a)(6). FTC is,

therefore, not analogous to this case.

Having found no analogous Supreme Court case,

the Corps goes to great lengths to distinguish this case

from the compliance order in Sackett and the Biological

Opinion in Bennett. But this misses the mark. Under

the APA, a final agency action need not have the

compulsory effects of a compliance order or the coercive

effects of a Biological Opinion, although the JD is

similar in effect. In her concurrence below, Judge Kelly

observed that Sackett compelled judicial review of the

JD in this case:

In my view, the Court in Sackett was

concerned with just how difficult and

confusing it can be for a landowner to

predict whether or not his or her land falls

within CWA jurisdiction—a _ threshold

determination that puts the administrative

process in motion. This is a unique aspect of

the CWA; most laws do not require the hiring

of expert consultants to determine if they

even apply to you or your property. This

33

jurisdictional determination was precisely

what the Court deemed reviewable in Sackett.

Pet. App. at 20a.

Although judicial review of a JD is consistent with

Sackett and Bennett, this Court has granted judicial

review of other agency actions more akin to the

Jurisdictional Determination in this case.

In Port of Boston Marine Terminal Ass’n v.

Rederiaktiebolaget Transatlantic, 400 U.S. 62, cited by

both Sackett and Bennett, this Court had to decide who

had primary jurisdiction to review a rate order by the

Maritime Commission and, in the process, this Court

addressed the standard for determining final agency

action. Relevant here is this Court’s holding that

agency orders need not create a new, independent legal

consequence to be final. Jd. at 70-71.

Citing Frozen Food Express v. United States, 351

U.S. 40 (1956), this Court concluded: “Agency orders

that have no independent coercive effect are common”

but that is not the “relevant consideration[] in

determining finality.” Port of Boston, 400 U.S. at 70-71.

The relevant consideration, this Court stated, was

“whether the process of administrative decisionmaking

has reached a stage where judicial review will not

disrupt the orderly process of adjudication and

whether rights or obligations have been determined.”

Id. at 71. In that case, there was “no possible

disruption of the administrative process” because there

was “nothing else for the Commission to do.” Jd. So it

is in this case. No further administrative review of the

JD is required or even allowed. Now that the Corps has

issued the JD, it will not revisit that determination

even during the permit process. See Pet. Opening Brief

34

at 28. The JD is conclusive as to jurisdiction and

legally binding on Hawkes and the Corps.

As for agency action that has “no independent

coercive effect,” an examination of Frozen Food

Express, 351 U.S. 40, is helpful because it is most

analogous to the present case. Frozen Food Express

was a motor carrier that transported certain

“agricultural commodities” that were exempt from

regulation by the Interstate Commerce Commission,

much like the remote wetlands in this case. When the

Commission issued a determination that certain

commodities were no longer subject to the agricultural

exemption, Frozen Food Express sought to challenge

the order in court. In determining the order was final

and subject to judicial review, this Court recited these

facts: (1) that “the determination by the Commission

that a commodity is not an exempt agricultural

product has an immediate and practical impact on

carriers who are transporting the commodities;”

(2) that the “order” serves as a warning that

transporting these commodities without authorization

will subject the carrier to “civil and criminal risks;”

(3) when unauthorized transportation occurs, the

Commission can issue a cease and desist order

enforceable in court; (4) that “[t]he ‘order’ of the

Commission which classifies commodities as exempt

or nonexempt is, indeed, the basis for carriers in

ordering and arranging their affairs;” and (5) the

“determination made by the Commission is not

therefore abstract, theoretical, or academic.” Jd. at 43-

44.

The facts here are remarkably similar to the facts

in Frozen Food Express: (1) the determination that the

wetlands on Hawkes’ property are not exempt but

35

subject to federal jurisdiction has an immediate and

practical effect on Hawkes’ use of the Property,

requiring federal approval to proceed; (2) the JD serves

as a warning that anyone filling the wetlands at this

site without authorization will be subject to civil and

criminal liability; (3) when unauthorized filling occurs,

the Corps can issue a cease and desist order

enforceable in court; (4) a JD which classifies specific

wetlands as subject to federal control is, indeed, the

basis for Hawkes ordering and arranging its

affairs; and (5) the JD is “not therefore abstract,

theoretical, or academic.” In its effect, the JD is

virtually indistinguishable from the Commission’s

determination in Frozen Food Express that this Court

found final and reviewable.

The only response the Corps offers to Frozen Food

Express is that the ICC order in that case involved a

rule of general applicability whereas this case does not.

But, as the Eighth Circuit held below, the “JD is a

determination regarding a specific property that has

an even stronger coercive effect than the order deemed

final in Frozen Food Express, which was not directed at

any particular carrier.” Pet. App. at 12a. In Abbott

Labs., this Court described the case this way:

Although the dissenting opinion noted that

this ICC order had no authority except to give

notice of how the Commission interpreted the

Act and would have effect only if and when a

particular action was brought against a

particular carrier, and argued that “judicial

intervention (should) be withheld until

administrative action has _ reached its

complete development,” 351 U.S., at 45, 76

36

S.Ct. at 572, the Court held the order

reviewable.

Abbott Labs., 387 U.S. at 150.

For the same reasons, the JD should be reviewable

here.

Chicago and Southern Air Lines, Inc. v. Waterman

Steamship Corp., 333 U.S. 103 (1948), is another case

relied on in Bennett. Chicago held that administrative

determinations are reviewable if they “impose an

obligation, deny a right or fix some legal relationship

as a consummation of the administrative process.” Id.

at 113.

In this case, by reason of the Jurisdictional

Determination, Hawkes is obliged to obtain a section

404 permit from the Corps if it wishes to proceed with

its peat harvesting project. This obligation was only

inchoate before the JD was issued. The Clean Water

Act only requires a permit for discharges to “navigable

waters” generally, which Hawkes can show do not exist

on the Property. In contrast, the JD is an actual

adjudicative decision requiring a federal permit for

discharges on this specific property. It is a

quintessential application of the law to the facts of the

case. For the first time, this obligation is now final and

conclusive; thereby denying Hawkes its legal right to

proceed with the peat harvesting project without

federal approval.

In addition to these cases, the Eighth Circuit

relied on Abbott Labs. in which this Court held

prescription drug labeling regulations were subject to

pre-enforcement review as final agency action, because

the regulations “purport to give an authoritative

interpretation of a statutory provision” that puts drug

37

companies in the quandary of either incurring massive

compliance costs or risking civil and criminal sanctions

for distributing misbranded drugs. The Eighth Circuit

found Abbott Labs. analogous to this case because the

JD puts Hawkes in a similar quandary. In light of the

JD, Hawkes must either “incur substantial compliance

costs (the permitting process), forego what they assert

is lawful use of their property, or risk substantial

penalties.” Pet. App. at 11a.

Finally, the Eighth Circuit relied on Columbia

Broadcasting System v. United States, 316 U.S. 407

(1942), for the proposition that final agency action

need not be self-executing, like the JD in this case.

Pet. App. at 12a-13a. “Though the Revised JD is

not-self-executing, ‘the APA provides for judicial review

of all final agency actions, not just those that impose a

self-executing sanction.” /d. at 13a (citing Sackett, 132

S. Ct. at 1373). Under this Court’s precedents, the

Jurisdictional Determination here has al! the

hallmarks of final agency action.

H. The Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Has “Independent”

Legal Consequences

If this Court decides, contrary to Supreme Court

precedent, to accept the Corps’ argument that the

second Bennett prong requires final agency action to

have independent legal consequences, this Court

should take into account the facts of this case. The

facts show the Corps did not carry its burden of

demonstrating a “significant nexus” between the

Hawkes property and the Red River of the North 120

miles away.

38

This is a 12(b)(6) dismissal case wherein the facts

are taken as asserted, as the Eighth Circuit did below.

See Ashcroft v. Iqbal, 556 U.S. 662, 663 (2009) (In a

motion to dismiss, “a court must accept a complaint’s

allegations as true.”).

The JD is based on the Corps’ unsupported

conclusion that the Property meets the “significant

nexus’ test proffered by Justice Kennedy in Rapanos.

JA at 18-19. That test requires the Corps to show the

Property has a significant impact on a Traditional

Navigable Water. Rapanos, 547 U.S. at 780 (Kennedy,

J., concurring). However, as alleged in the complaint,

on appeal the Review Officer found: “the District states

that indicators of the transport of energy, materials,

and nutrients were observed during a site visit, but

there is no quantitative [data] given to support the

finding.” JA at 48. The record “does not provide

sufficient evidence to establish a significant nexus that

the number of flow events, volume, duration, and

frequency of water flowing through the tributary are

such that it has an appreciable effect on the TNW

[Traditional Navigable Water].” JA at 52-53. And, “the

water flow regime information was not sufficient to

indicate that a significant nexus exists.” JA at 54.

Nevertheless, on remand, the District Engineer issued

the Approved JD without providing the missing data.

On these facts, the Corps should have issued a

negative JD, finding no jurisdictional “waters of the

United States” on Hawkes’ property. Therefore, the

permit requirement for Hawkes’ peat harvesting

project flows from the JD, not the Clean Water Act.

But for the JD, Hawkes would be free to exercise its

right to harvest the Property without federal approval.

39

The JD changed the legal regime and is final agency

action under the APA.

II

THERE IS NO

ADEQUATE REMEDY IN COURT

“Final” agency action is judicially reviewable

under the APA if there is “no other adequate remedy

in a court.” 5 U.S.C. § 704. There is no such remedy

for an Approved Jurisdictional Determination.

The alternative of seeking a permit first or

risking an enforcement action is not adequate. To

the contrary, these approaches are prohibitive,

wasteful, unnecessary, insupportable, and likely

unconstitutional.

A. The Cost of Seeking a Permit

Prior to Judicial Review of

an Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Is Prohibitive

In Rapanos, this Court relied on the Sunding

Report that estimated the average cost of seeking an

individual permit (like that required here) at more

than $270,000 and two years to process. The report

estimated that even a nationwide permit would cost

almost $29,000 and take almost a year to process. See

Rapanos, 547 U.S. at 721.

The Corps quibbles with Sunding’s data but offers

no better. The Corps admits it has no formal reporting

data on permit costs—either for nationwide or

individual permits. Pet. Opening Brief at 48. Instead,

the Corps relies on anecdotal evidence of sample

projects or ad hoc interviews. Id. 48-49. The Corps’

2001 study on the cost of individual permits

40

inexplicably “excluded projects affecting more than

three acres.” Pet. Opening Brief at 49. This would

necessarily skew the data to show a lower than

average cost for such permits. The Corps data is more

unreliable than the Sunding data, giving the Court

every reason to take the Sunding estimates at face

value.

Also, the Corps puts great weight on the fact that

most permits are of the general or nationwide variety

that cost much less than an individual permit. Id. at

48-49. But the Corps ignores the fact that an

individual permit is required in this case. This is

undisputed. Hawkes actually commenced the permit

process to harvest 150 acres of peat on the Property

but put things on hold when the Corps asked for

expensive hydrological studies (estimated at $100,000),

played up the cost and delay from a full Environmental

Impact Statement, and pointedly suggested the Corps

might never grant the individual permit after years of

study. JA at 16-19. Whatever the average cost of an

individual or nationwide permit, in this case the cost

became prohibitive, even punitive. And should Hawkes

ultimately win the case in court, after obtaining a

permit cr permit denial, Hawkes can never recover the

costs expended in the permit process. Pet. App. at 14a.

Only those who can afford to seek a permit and the

subsequent cost of litigation, which can also run into

hundreds of thousands of dollars, can ever be

vindicated. Therefore, Hawkes sought immediate

judicial review of the JD in court.

41

B. Requiring a Landowner

To Seek a Permit Prior to

Judicial Review of an Approved

Jurisdictional Determination

Is Wasteful and Unnecessary

If a landowner wishes to contest an erroneous

Jurisdictional Determination, it should be unnecessary

for the landowner to seek a permit after the

administrative appeal. The process is costly and time

consuming yet it contributes nothing to the judicial

resolution of the jurisdictional issue. The Corps admits

it will not revisit the JD during the permit process,

except in the unusual case of changed circumstances.

See Pet. Opening Brief at 28. The permit process does

not make a JD more fit for judicial review. It would

neither add any relevant facts nor clarify application of

the law. It’s a costly and pointless exercise which the

law does not abide.

Stated in various ways, the ancient maxim “lex

non cogit ad inutilia,” or “the law does not know

useless acts,” has been a fundamental tenet in Anglo-

American jurisprudence for centuries. See Seaconsar

Far Eest, Ltd. v. Bank Markazi Jomhouri Islami Iran,

[1999, i Lloyd’s Rep. 36, 39 (English Court of Appeal

1998); People ex rel. Bailey v. Greene County

Supervisors, 12 Barb. 217, 221-22 (N.Y. 1851); see also

Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 74 (1980) (“The law does

not require the doing of a futile act.”); Cary v. Curtis,

44 US. (3 How.) 236, 246 (1845) (“[T]he law never

requires a vain act.”); and Stevens v. United States,

2 Ct. Cl. 95, 100 (1866) (“[T}he law does not require the

performance of a useless act.”).

The Corps seeks to impose a useless permit

requirement on landowners to delay or avoid its

42

untested claims of jurisdiction which are often wildly

broad and unpredictable. This is because “the

definitions used to make jurisdictional determinations’

are deliberately left ‘vague.” Rapanos, 547 U.S. at 727

(citing U.S. General Accounting Office, Waters and

Wetlands: Corps of Engineers Needs to Evaluate Its

District Office Practices in Determining Jurisdiction 3

(Feb. 2004)).

There is no regulatory or statutory provision that

requires Hawkes to seek a permit that has nothing to

do with the underlying jurisdictional challenge, to

obtain APA review. To the contrary, a JD, standing

alone, is as fit for judicial review as any permit

decision. See 33 C.F.R. § 320. 1(a)(6) (“A [jurisdictional]

determination pursuant to this authorization shall

constitute a Corps final agency action.”). Corps

regulations acknowledge the JD as a_ separate,

adjudicatory action on a par with a permit decision.

They even provide for identical administrative appeal

procedures as a predicate for judicial review. See 33

C.F.R. § 320.1(a)(2) (“A district engineer’s decision on

an approved jurisdictional determination, a permit

denial, or a declined individual permit is subject to an

administrative appeal by the affected party in

accordance with the procedures and authorities

contained in 33 C.F.R. Part 331. An affected party

must exhaust any administrative appeal available

pursuant to 33 C.F.R. Part 331 and receive a final

Corps decision on the appealed action prior to filing a

lawsuit in the Federal courts (see 33 C.F.R. 331.12).”).

It would be perverse, therefore, to require a

landowner to go through the costly and time-

consuming process of obtaining a JD and

administrative appeal, then require the landowner to

43

run the gauntlet of a costly and time-consuming

process of seeking a permit and another administrative

appeal that has nothing to do with the question of

jurisdiction. This approach is unnecessary and

undermines the presumption of reviewability.

Moreover, rather than preserve private and

judicial resources, the permit requirement squanders

resources. First, it requires a costly and lengthy

process that adds nothing to the case. This drains both

private and agency resources to no beneficia! end.

Second, if a court ultimately decides a permit was not

required, neither the landowner nor the Corps can

recover the costs expended in processing an

unnecessary permit. Pet. App. at 14a. Third, the issues

surrounding a permit, such as mitigation, timing,

restoration, etc., are all issues that are irrelevant to

the jurisdictional question and are more likely to

complicate rather than expedite the case. And fourth,

the permit requirement defies commonsense. Why is it

necessary to seek a permit to determine whether a

permit was required in the first place? As Judge Kelly

noted in her concurrence below, this is an odd and

circuitous route to judicial review.

Despite the[] dissimilarities with the

circumstances in Sackett, I agree that

Hawkes is left without acceptable options to

challenge the JD, absent judicial review.

Hawkes’s choice is to either (1) follow through

on their peat-mining plans until either the

EPA issues a compliance order or the Corps

commences an enforcement action, to both of

which Hawkes could raise lack of CWA

jurisdiction as a defense; or (2) apply for a

permit (on the grounds that no permit is

44

required) and, if the application is denied,

appeal the denial in court. But what happens

if Hawkes is, after all, granted a permit yet

maintains it never needed one in the first

place? It must decline the permit and

challenge the original jurisdiction in court.

This roundabout process does not seem to be

an “adequate remedy” to the alternative of

simply allowing Hawkes to bring the

jurisdictional challenge in the first instance

and to have an opportunity to show the CWA

does not apply to its land at all.

Pet. App. at 20a.

C. Requiring a Landowner To Seek

a Permit Prior to Judicial Review

of an Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Is Tantamount

to a Decision on the Merits

The obvious purpose of seeking immediate judicial

review of an Approved Jurisdictional Determination is

to avoid the unnecessary cost and delay of seeking a

permit. Given the expense and uncertainty associated

with seeking a permit, very few would have the ability

to pile on even more expense and delay in court just to

determine whether the Corps’s claim of jurisdiction

was correct. The impact on Hawkes would be severe;

expanding to the new property is essential to the

company’s future growth. JA at 14-15. A win in court

is a hollow victory if the landowner has already

endured the arduous permit process without any hope

of recouping the attendant costs. But, this is by design:

The prohibitive costs, risk, and delay of these

alternatives to immediate judicial review

45

evidence a transparently obvious litigation

strategy: by leaving appellants with no

immediate judicial review and no adequate

alternative remedy, the Corps will achieve

the result its local officers desire,

abandonment of the peat mining project,

without having to test whether its expansive

assertion of jurisdiction—rejected by one of

their own commanding officers on

administrative appeal—is consistent with the

Supreme Court’s limiting decision in

Rapanos. The Court’s decision in Sackett

reflected concern that failing to permit

immediate judicial review of assertions of

CWA jurisdiction would leave regulated

parties unable, as a practical matter, to

challenge those assertions. The Court

concluded that was contrary to the APA’s

presumption of judicial review. “[T]here is no

reason to think that the Clean Water Act was

uniquely designed to enable the strong-

arming of regulated parties into ‘voluntary

compliance’ without the opportunity for

judicial review—even judicial review of the

question whether the regulated party is

within the EPA’s jurisdiction.” 132 S. Ct. at

1374.

Pet. App at 15a-16a.

Requiring a permit before judicial review of a JD

denies Hawkes any meaningful remedy in court.

46

D. Requiring a Landowner To Seek

a Permit Prior to Judicial Review

of an Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Circumvents

the Intent of Congress

Once it is acknowledged that an agency action is

final, the only thing remaining is to ensure the

aggrieved party has an “adequate remedy in a court.”

5 U.S.C. § 704. This is not a limitation on judicial

review. Rather, it is a mandate to ensure the intent of

Congress is carried out—“[T]he APA provides for

judicial review of all final agency actions.” Sackett, 132

S. Ct. at 1373. Therefore, any process imposed on the

aggrieved party must facilitate judicial review. But the

permit requirement is not such a process. It obstructs

judicial review.

The Jurisdictional Determination is valid for

five years and the Corps cannot revisit the

determination during the permit process, except in

changed circumstances. See Pet. Opening Brief at 28.

Therefore, the permit process cannot aid in resolving

the underlying dispute—whether the Hawkes property

contains “waters of the United States” subject to

federal regulation under the Clean Water Act. Its sole

purpose is to delay or deter judicial review.

Imposing the permit requirement on Hawkes

allows the Corps, rather than Hawkes, to set the time

for judicial review, contrary to congressional intent.

The Corps can use the permit process to delay or avoid

judicial review of a permit decision, and hence the

jurisdictional question, indefinitely. The Corps can

declare the permit application incomplete, or fail to

process the application in a timely manner, or even

refuse to issue a permit decision at all so as to avoid

47

judicial review of its jurisdictional decisions. By that

means, the Corps can wear down the applicant so the

applicant must accede to all Corps demands or walk

away from the project at great loss.

This Court found the option of waiting on an

enforcement action inadequate as a remedy in the

Sackett case in part because of the landowners’

inability to initiate judicial review. See Sackett, 132 S.

Ct. at 1372. The same reasoning applies here. The pace

of the permit process is dictated by the Corps.

To illustrate, in Moore v. United States, 943 F

Supp. 603 (E.D. Va. 1996), taxpayers sought a refund

of taxes paid to the Internal Revenue Service, arguing

they could claim as a loss the involuntary conversion of

some of their investment property (called “the Boy

Scout Tract”) as a result of the land being reclassified

as wetlands. Jd. at 607. Though the Moores had not

tried to obtain a section 404 permit, they argued the

denial of a permit should not be a prerequisite to their

claim, because seeking a permit would have been

futile. As reported by the Court, several experienced

individuals, including Bernard Goode, an

environmental consultant that had been a Corps

employee for 34 years, testified on the Moores’ behalf:

When asked for his opinion concerning the

likelihood that [an individual] § 404 permit

would be issued for the Boy Scout Tract,

Goode testified: “It is my opinion that there

was a very low likelihood that this project

would have been approved.” When asked

about the likelihood that a § 404 permit for

the Boy Scout Tract would have been

formally denied, Goode testified:

48

“It has been my experience in studying this

very issue nationwide that there was a very

low likelihood that the Corps would have

denied the application. Because the Corps

can’t reach that point until they have gone

through the full analysis, which includes the

mitigation sequencing.

“And it is a much more likely outcome that

more and more information is requested until

eventually the applicant loses staying power

and either withdraws the application himself,

or the Corps says because of the lack of

information to continue the valuation, the

Corps withdraws the application.

“And that is the outcome of well over half of

the 404 applications.

“Here in the Norfolk district I looked at some

statistics and there is [sic] over 3/4 of the

cases [that] end up being withdrawn for

section 404 permit applications. Only one

percent end up being denied.”

Goode’s testimony on this latter point was

corroborated by the Moores’ other two expert

witnesses. Robert Kerr (“Kerr”), an

environmental consultant with experience in

over sixty (60) § 404 permit applications,

testified:

“We advised the [Moores] that there was no

chance of getting a permit.

“We also told Mr. Moore [the Corps] would

never reject the permit.

49

“Because rejecting a permit could set a

precedent also. And as the government’s

attorney stated, you have to have a permit

denial to go for a taking.

“Well, the Corps knows that and will not

issue a denial, an open denial. They will just

request additional information, and more

additional information, and the more you give

them the more they ask for They

basically bleed a client to death financially

until you have spent so much money on the

alternatives analysis you've drained the

profitability out of the project.”

Doug Davis (“Davis”), an environmental

consultant who at one time worked in the

Corps’ wetlands program, testified that the

likelihood of a permit being issued for the Boy

Scout Tract was “as close to zero as it can

get,” and that a permit would not have been

finally denied because projects like that

contemplated for the Boy Scout Tract “just

sort of wither on the vine and no final agency

action is taken.” In addition, both Kerr and

Davis testified that completing the § 404

permit process in this case would have been

a very lengthy and expensive proposition,

costing hundreds of thousands of dollars.

Id. at 612 (citations omitted).

This excerpt demonstrates the remarkable

leverage the Corps has over CWA permit applicants.

With very little risk to the agency, the Corps can

scuttle a project with dilatory practices or condition

approval on extraordinary demands.

50

The inability of a landowner to seek judicial

review of an Approved Jurisdictional Determination

shields the Corps from suit and allows the agency to

exercise plenary authority over disputed waters with

impunity. The APA should not be read to allow such a

blatant subversion of the law. This is not an adequate

remedy in court.

E. Requiring a Landowner To Seek

a Permit Prior to Judicial Review

of an Approved Jurisdictional

Determination Undermines the

Presumption of Reviewability

In Bowen v. Michigan Academy of Family

Physicians, 476 U.S. 667, 670 (1986), this Court

discussed the legislative and common law history of

the APA and concluded the Act is animated by “the

strong presumption that Congress intends judicial

review of administrative action.” That presumption,

ignored by the Corps, dictates that statutory

limitations on judicial review of agency action should

be interpreted narrowly. See id. (“[J]udicial review of

a final agency action by an aggrieved person shall not

be cut off unless there is persuasive reason to believe

that such was the purpose of Congress.” (quoting

Abbott Labs., 387 U.S. at 140)). This strong

presumption requires “that ‘only upon a showing of

“clear and convincing evidence” of a _ contrary

legislative intent should the courts restrict access to

judicial review [of administrative action].” Jd. at 671

(quoting Abbott Labs., 387 U.S. at 141). But the Corps

has provided no such evidence.

The Corps’ argument that Congress intended the

permit process to provide the sole means of access to

the Courts for review of JD’s has no support in the law.

51

Neither the CWA nor its implementing regulations

show “clear and convincing evidence” that Congress

intended judicial review of administrative decisions

only after completion of the permit process. See

Sackett, 132 S. Ct. at 1372 (“Nothing in the Clean

Water Act expressly precludes judicial review under

the APA or otherwise.”).

In Sackett, this Court rejected EPA arguments

that the Clean Water Act was intended to preclude

review of nonpermit decisions. The EPA argued

judicial review of compliance orders would undermine

the Clean Water Act because such orders serve an

informational purpose and are designed to encourage

voluntary compliance and avoid judicial proceedings.

Id. at 1372. The Corps says the same for Jurisdictional

Determinations here. Pet. Opening Brief at 20. But

this Court held, “It is entirely consistent with this

function to allow judicial review when the recipient

does not choose ‘voluntary compliance.” Sackett, 1325S.

Ct. at 1373. “The Act does not guarantee the EPA that

issuing a compliance order will always be the most

effective choice.” Jd.

The EPA also argued the compliance order was

not reviewable under the APA because the order was

not self-executing. However, this Court rejected the

argument outright observing “the APA provides for

judicial] review of all final agency actions, not just those

that impose [] self-executing sanction[s].” Jd. This is

consistent with this Court’s application of the APA in

other cases, such as Abbott Labs., Bennett, Port of

Boston, and Frozen Food Express discussed above.

Finally, the EPA warned in Sackett it was less

likely to use compliance orders if they are subject to

immediate judicial review. This Court did not consider

52

that rationale a reason to preclude judicial review of

compliance orders. Jd. To the contrary, the Court

explained, “That may be true—but it will be true for all

agency actions subjected to judicial review.” Jd. at

1374. And, indeed, the Corps makes this same claim

for Jurisdictional Determinations here. See Pet.

Opening Brief at 37. But this Court held the

presumption of reviewability trumps such concerns:

The APA’s presumption of judicial review is a

repudiation of the principle that efficiency of

regulation conquers all. And there is no

reason to think that the Clean Water Act was

uniquely designed to enable the strong-

arming of regulated parties into “voluntary

compliance” without the opportunity for

judicial review—even judicial review of the

question whether the regulated party is

within the EPA’s jurisdiction. Compliance

orders will remain an effective means of

securing prompt voluntary compliance in

those many cases where there is no

substantial basis to question their validity.

Sackett, 132 S. Ct. at 1374.

That conclusion applies equally to Jurisdictional

Determinations. According to the agency, the “Corps

issues tens of thousands of approved jurisdictional

determinations every year. [However] in fiscal

year 2015, interested parties filed [only] eight

administrative appeals of approved jurisdictional

determinations issued outside of the permitting

process.” Pet. Opening Brief at 5-6.

53

The dearth of appeals does not indicate a lack of

need for judicial review; rather, it demonstrates that

opening the courthouse doors to judicial review of

JDs will not undermine the Corps program in that

few landowners challenge the Corps’ decisions.

Curtailment of the JD program is unlikely and would

be counterproductive. It is the Corps that has the most

to gain by continuing the JD program, even if JD’s are

subject to immediate judicial review. Statistically, all

but a few recipients (i.e., eight in 2015) defer to the

agency's determination on jurisdiction. This allows the

Corps to implement the Clean Water Act with wide

discretion without pursuing tens of thousands of

enforcement actions that would result from curtailing

or eliminating JDs. Therefore, providing judicial

review of JDs will not deter Corps reliance on

Jurisdictional Determinations, but it would potentially

bring justice to those who have a legitimate grievance

with the Corps over the scope of federal authority

under the Clean Water Act.

The Clean Water Act does not “preclude judicial

review” under the APA, 5 U.S.C. § 701(a)(1). The APA

creates a “presumption favoring judicial review of

administrative action.” Block v. Community Nutrition

Institute, 467 U.S. at 349. While this presumption

“may be overcome by inferences of intent drawn from

the statutory scheme as a whole,” id., the Corps’

arguments do not support an inference that the Clean

Water Act’s statutory scheme precludes APA review.

F. An Enforcement Action Is Not

An Adequate Remedy in Court

The Corps argues Hawkes has an adequate

remedy in court because Hawkes can proceed with the

project without federal approval and precipitate an

54

enforcement action by the Corps, the EPA, or a third-

party citizen. In each case, the Corps maintains

Hawkes could seek review of the jurisdictional

question in any subsequent judicial proceeding. Pet.

Opening Brief at 50. But this is far from adequate.

In Sackett this Court rejected the idea that the

Sacketts could seek judicial review in an enforcement

proceeding because they “[could not] initiate that

process, and each day they wait for the agency to drop

the hammer, they accrue, by the Government’s telling,

an additional $75,000 in potential liability,” not to

mention criminal sanctions. Sackett, 132S. Ct. at 1372.

The situation in this case is no better. If Hawkes

proceeds with the peat harvesting project without a

permit, Hawkes has no control over the timing or

nature of the ensuing enforcement action. In Sackett,

EPA officials issued a verbal cease and desist order but

left the Sacketts hanging for more than six months

before issuing a compliance order. The government

could do the same here. Likewise, there is no telling if

or when a third party may bring a citizen suit against

Hawkes. But onerous penalties would accrue from

the first day of the unauthorized discharge. An

enforcement action could be delayed for years without

judicial review, wearing down the landowner to compel

compliance.

This Court rejected such an approach in Ex parte

Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908). In that case, this Court

considered the validity of a shipping rate increase

imposed on railroads by the state legislature. The

railroads took the position the rates were “unjust,

unreasonable, and confiscatory.” Jd. at 130. Anyone

who refused to adhere to the rate increases, including

the officers and employees of the railroads, would be

55

subjected to severe civil and criminal liability. Jd. at

130-31. But the only way to test the validity of the rate

orders was to disobey the order and risk such liability.

This Court held the order raised a_ serious

constitutional question:

But when the legislature, in an effort to

prevent any inquiry of the validity of a

particular statute, so burdens any challenge

thereof in the courts that the party affected is

necessarily constrained to submit rather than

take the chances of the penalties imposed,

then it becomes a serious question whether

the party is not deprived of the equal

protection of the laws.

Id. at 146.

This Court held: “when the remedy is so onerous

and impracticable as to substantially give none at all,

the law is invalid, although what is termed a remedy

is in fact given.” Id. at 147.

It may therefore be said that when the

pena'ties for disobedience are by fines so

enormous and imprisonment so severe as to

intimidate the company and its officers from

resorting to the courts to test the validity of

the legislation, the result is the same as if the

law in terms prohibited the company from

seeking judicial construction of laws which

deeply affect its rights.

Id.

The enormity of the penalties for violating the

Clean Water Act are well documented and may include

penalties of tens of thousands of dollars a day and

56

imprisonment, with heightened sanctions for knowing

violations. See 33 U.S.C. § 1319. Thus, under Ex parte

Young, triggering an enforcement action to challenge

the validity of a Jurisdictional Determination raises a

constitutional question and is not an adequate remedy

in court. Moreover, because the requirement to seek

an individual permit in this case would itself be

“unjust, unreasonable, and confiscatory,” even that

requirement would raise a constitutional question and

fail to provide an adequate remedy in court.

G. The APA Should Be Interpreted

To Avoid Constitutional Questions

In addition to the constitutional questions raised

above under Ex parte Young, it should be observed that

in Kent Recycling Services v. U.S. Army Corps of

Engineers (14-493), now pending in this Court, the

petitioner raised a due process challenge to the

Jurisdictional Determination on facts nearly identical

to the facts in this case. In that case, as in this case,

the Corps issued a final Approved Jurisdictional

Determination without correcting the deficiencies

identified by the Corps Review Officer on

administrative appeal. Kent Recycling Pet. at 9. The

Approved JD was demonstrably invalid and its

issuance deprived the landowner of the right to use its

property without a fair hearing. See Lassiter v. Dep’t of

Social Services, 452 U.S. 18, 24 (1981) (“[D]ue process

has never been, and perhaps can never be, precisely

defined. [But] the phrase expresses the

requirement of ‘fundamental fairness.”). Although

Hawkes did not raise a due process challenge to the JD

in this case, the case does give rise to such a claim. In

fact, there are a number of circumstances in this case

that raise constitutional questions:

57

First, the amended complaint alleges the final

Approved Jurisdictional Determination was issued on

remand without correcting the deficiencies the Corps

Review Officer documented on administrative appeal.

Hawkes was deprived of an impartial] hearing.

Second, as the Eighth Circuit observed: “the

Amended Complaint alleged that the Corps’ District

representative repeatedly made it clear to Kevin

Pierce, to a Hawkes employee, and to the landowner

that a permit to mine peat would ultimately be

refused.” Pet. App. at 14a. On these facts, it would be

futile to impose a permit requirement on Hawkes to

“ripen” the case for judicial review.

Third, the documented cost (in money and delay)

of an individual permit is prohibitive and punitive,

perhaps beyond the reach of Hawkes. If a permit is

required for judicial review under the APA, that cost

and delay could never be recovered. Pet. App. at 14a.

Fourth, the permit requirement does not and

cannot advance the case because the Jurisdictional

Determination is conclusive as to jurisdiction. The

permit process serves no meaningful purpose; it is

an arbitrary barrier to timely redress in court. See

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 333 (1976) (“The

fundamental requirement of due process is the

opportunity to be heard ‘at a meaningful time and ina

meaningful manner.”) (citing Armstrong v. Manzo, 380

U.S. 545, 552 (1965)).

And fifth, the permit requirement is inconsistent

with the plain language of the APA and Corps

regulations that say the JD is final agency action. See

33 C.F.R. §§ 320.1; 329.3.

58

In Clark v. Martinez, 543 U.S. 371, 380-81 (2005),

this Court cited the constitutional avoidance canon for

the proposition that “when deciding which of two

plausible statutory constructions to adopt, a court

must consider the necessary consequences of its choice.

If one of them would raise a multitude of constitutional

problems, the other should prevail.” According to this

Court, “one of the canon’s chief justifications is that it

allows courts to avoid the decision of constitutional

questions. It is a tool for chcuosing between competing

plausible interpretations of a statutory text, resting on

the reasonable presumption that Congress did not

intend the alternative which raises. serious

constitutional doubts.” Jd. at 381. And further, “[t]he

canon is thus a means of giving effect to congressional

intent, not of subverting it.” Id. at 382.

In this case, this Court must choose between the

implausible interpretation that the APA requires an

aggrieved party to obtain a costly and needless permit

as a predicate for judicial review, on the one hand, and

immediate judicial review of a binding, site-specific

adjudicative Jurisdictional Determination, on the

other. The former raises a multitude of constitutional

questions. The latter reinforces the purpose and intent

of Congress—“the strong presumption that Congress

intends judicial review of administrative action.”

Bowen, 476 U.S. at 670.

CONCLUSION

Landowners should have the right to challenge

agency overreaching in court, especially a contested

“threshold determination that puts the administrative

process in motion.” Pet. App. at 20a (Kelly, J.,

concurring). The only practical way for that to happen

is through immediate judicial review of Approved

59

Jurisdictional Determinations under the APA. A JD

has all the hallmarks of final agency action, but a

landowner has no adequate remedy in court. See 5

U.S.C. § 704.

This Court should therefore sustain the Eighth

Circuit decision below.

DATED: February, 2016.

Respectfully submitted,

NANCY QUATTLEBAUM BURKE M. REED HOPPER

GREGORY R. MERTZ Counsel of Record

Of Counsel Pacific Legal Foundation

Gray Plant Mooty 930 G Street

500 IDS Center Sacramento, CA 95814

80 South Eighth Street Telephone: (916) 419-7111

Minneapolis, MN 55402 Facsimile: (916) 419-7747

Telephone: (612) 632-3029 mrh@pacificlegal.org

MARK MILLER

Pacific Legal Foundation

8645 N. Military Trail, Ste. 511

Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410

Telephone: (561) 691-5000

mm@pacificlegal.org

Counsel for Respondents

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.