Amicus Curiae Brief — RJR Nabisco, Inc. v. European Cmty., 136 S. Ct. 567 (2015) (No. 15-138)

Supreme Court brief2015

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 15-138

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

RJR NABISCO, INC., et al.,

Petitioners,

V.

THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITY, acting on its own behalf

and on behalf of the Member States it has

power to represent, et al.,

Respondents.

On Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Second Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE

THE NATIONAL FOREIGN TRADE COUNCIL

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

TIMOTHY P. HARKNESS

Counsel of Record

LINDA H. MARTIN

ELLIOT FRIEDMAN

DAVID Y. LIVSHIZ

LEAH FRIEDMAN

JONATHAN ELSNER

FRESHFIELDS BRUCKHAUS

DERINGER US LLP

601 Lexington Avenue, 31st Floor

New York, New York 10022

(212) 277-4000

timothy. harkness@freshfields.com

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

The National Foreign Trade Council

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES................

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ...........

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..............

EE he ee

I.

If.

Amicus Agrees With Petitioners That

A Cognizable RICO Claim Requires

A Showing Of A Domestic Enterprise. .

Even If The Court Finds That RICO

Does Not Require A Showing Of A

Domestic Enterprise, The Second

Circuit’s Decision Should Be Reversed

Because A Civil RICO Claim Requires

The Showing Of A Domestic Injury ....

A. The Plain Language Of Section

1964(c) Requires The Showing

Of A Domestic Injury...............

B. Section 1964(c)’s Legislative History

Confirms That Section 1964(c)

Requires A Showing Of A Domestic

Injury To Make Out A Civil RICO

eee ie a

C. Nothing Rebuts The Presumption

That In Passing Section 1964(c),

Congress Was Focused Only On

Remedying Domestic Injuries ......

i

D. RICO’s Extraterritorial Predicates

Do Not Rebut The Presumption

That A Claim Under Section 1964(c)

Requires The Showing Of A Domestic

a ete teed eedbdueeneos

III. The Second Circuit’s Holding Will

Unduly Burden U.S. Businesses

And Have Other Negative

eee een eeseesee<sees

A. The Second Circuit’s Ruling Creates

An End Run Around Kiobel and

al EE IRS Fae 1 A

B. Permitting Civil RICO To Reach

Claims Based On Foreign Injuries

Poses Significant Risks To U.S.

Businesses Doing Business Abroad

And To Foreign Businesses

Investing In The United States.....

1. The Potential For Extraterritori«e!

Civil RICO Enforcement Places

Significant Burdens On NFTC’s

ee ie lceaaddeeaes

2. The Potential Of Extraterritorial

Civil RICO Enforcement

Presents Extraordinary Risks

For Foreign Corporations

Considering Investment In

The United States...............

EE 6 dnweeuvecstheceseneresosess

PAGE

16

20

20

25

29

30

33

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE(S)

Adhikari v. Daoud & Partners,

2013 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 189601

(B.D. Tom. Ame. SB, BOTS) .. oe ccccccses 26

Alexander v. Sandoval,

2 Fe fl eee 17

Argentine Republic v.

Amerada Hess Shipping Corp..,

gS 13

Bagert v. Volkswagen Grp. of Am., Inc.,

No. 2:15-cv-07174

Ges GE, Sy ED nwa wenecucaceuns 27

Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores,

GS Gee Cale GPE 00 nb sh bsceneuesaues 30

Cardona v. Chiquita Brands Int'l, Inc.,

760 F.3d 1185 (11th Cir. 2014) ........ 22

Cedeno v. Castillo,

457 F. App’x. 35 (2d Cir. 2012) ........ 10

Cedeno v. Intech Grp., Inc.,

733 F. Supp. 2d 471 (S.D.N.Y. 2010)... 6

CGC Holding Co. v. Broad & Cassel,

773 F.3d 1076 (10th Cir. 2014) ........ 15

Church of Scientology of Cal. v. IRS,

Ge Ws WE noc catiesscusactasases 19

City of Roncho Palos Verdes v. Abrams,

PO Wak. Re EG bv nducexveneussaages 19

Clark v. Martinez,

- £2 e 5 = ee re 10

iv

Cases PAGE(S)

Corrie v. Caterpillar, Inc.,

503 F.3d 974 (9th Cir. 2007)........... 21

Daimler AG v. Bauman,

PUNO og co vccccccccececcs 7

DelRio-Mocci v. Connolly Props.,

672 F.3d 241 (3d Cir. 2012)............ 27

DLJ Mortg. Capital, Inc. v. Kontogiannis,

726 F. Supp. 2d 225

a 28

Doe v. Unocal Corp.,

395 F.3d 932 (9th Cir. 2002)........... 21

EEOC v. Arabian Am. Oil Co.,

ee 20

European Cmty. v. RJR Nabisco, Inc.,

764 F.3d 129 (2d Cir. 2014)...... — 9

F. Hoffman-La Roche Ltd. v. Empagran S.A.,

542 U.S. 155 (2004).............. 3, 12, 31, 32

Fleet Credit Corp. v. Sion,

699 F. Supp. 368 (D.R.I. 1988)......... 27

Graham Cty. Soil & Water

Conservation Dist. v. United States,

i si ceceeeeeseceses 13

Hertz Corp. v. Friend,

i ccna 7

Holmes v. Sec. Inv’r Prot. Corp.,

a 12

Hourani v. Mirtchev,

943 F. Supp. 2d 159 (D.D.C. 2013)..... 26, 27

Cases PAGE(S)

Ixotic AG v. Kammer,

2014 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 180782

(E.D.N.Y. Sept. 30, 2014).............. 26

Jovic v. L-3 Servs., Inc.,

69 F. Supp. 3d 750 (N.D. Ill. 2014) .... 21, 22

Kiobel v. Royal Dutch Petroleum Co.,

Bs Gs SE cecccunccsnsace passim

Klehr v. A.O. Smith Corp..,

RE 8

In re LIBOR-Based Fin.

Instruments Antitrust Litig.,

935 F. Supp. 2d 666 (S.D.N.Y. 2013)... 27

Liu v. Siemens A.G.,

978 F. Supp. 2d 325 (S.D.N.Y. 2013),

aff'd, 763 F.3d 175 (2d Cir. 2014)...... 14

Lopez v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc.,

591 F. Supp. 581 (N.D. Cal. 1984)..... 28

Miranda v. Ponce Fed. Bank,

948 F.2d 41 (1st Cir. 1991) ............ 25

Montreal Trading Ltd. v. Amax, Inc.,

661 F.2d 864 (10th Cir. 1981),

cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1001 (1982) ..... 12

Morrison v. Nat'l Australia Bank Ltd.,

ee Sy Ss cc ccnsccocees passim

N.S. Fin. Corp. v. Al-Turki,

100 F.3d 1046 (2d Cir. 1996) .......... 5, 15

Norex Petroleum Ltd. v. Access Indus., Inc.,

540 F. Supp. 2d 438 (S.D.N.Y. 2007)... 10

vi

Cases PAGE(S)

Norex Petroleum Ltd. v. Access Indus., Inc.,

631 F.3d 29 (2d Cir. 2010)............ passim

Republic of Iraq v. ABB AG,

920 F. Supp. 2d 517

tt in ccndedeecasdewenneees 26, 27

Schwartz v. F.S.&O. Assocs., Inc.,

1991 WL 208056

(S.D.N.Y. Sept. 27, 1991).............. 17

Sec. Inv’r Prot. Corp. v.

Bernard L. Madoff Inv. Sec. Ltd.,

513 B.R. 222 (S.D.N.Y. 2014).......... 14

SEC v. Tourre,

2013 WL 2407172

Seis GU Gk, SEED covcccceecccees 24

Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co.,

Ee 12, 15, 23

Shearson/Am. Express, Inc. v. McMahon,

es cc nncunbaebaneewe i)

Sosa v. Alvarez-Machain,

jf 16, 23

Tellabs, Inc. v. Makor Issues & Rights, Ltd..,

eee eeupedeeede 31

Touche Ross & Co. v. Redington,

Se ey SI sv cewendceccsecccees 17

In re Toyota Motor Corp.,

785 F. Supp. 2d 883

fF 8 & 0 errr 27

vii

Cases PAGE(S)

Turedi v. Coca Cola Co.,

460 F. Supp. 2d 507 (S.D.N.Y. 2006),

aff'd, 343 F. App’x 623

Se EL ee a 29

Tymoshenko v. Firtash,

57 F. Supp. 3d 311

En ss dn cegbeedeéucces 22, 23, 26

Tymoshenko v. Firtash,

2013 WL 4564646

(S.D.N.Y. Aug. 28, 2013)........... 22, 23, 27

United States v. Ahmed,

94 F. Supp. 3d 394 (E.D.N.Y. 2015).... 28

United States v. Basciano,

599 F.3d 184 (2d Cir. 2010)............ 15

United States v. Chao Fan Xu,

706 F.3d 965 (9th Cir. 2013)........... 5, 15

United States v. Gonzales,

ee 11

United States v. Neapolitan,

791 F.2d 489 (7th Cir. 1986)........... 6

United States v. Sisal Sales Corp.,

ee SE cs coc ccuccoecececes 12

United States v. Turkette,

468 U.B. GIG CAGBDD. ... 2. cc ccccccccccs: 6

United States v. Wheeler,

535 F.3d 446 (6th Cir. 2008)........... 15

Wiwa v. Royal-Dutch Petroleum Co.,

226 F.3d 88 (2d. Cir. 2000) ............ 21

Vill

Statutes, Rules and Regulations PAGE(S)

, § . RS rE rrr rr 14

Se ccchictinencdbeheaeancaecent 14

i iid hee Aes ade da 14

ibe Ce cceakavavedaduiaedes 12

CR I ee ee 24

ee inn 0ks 6060 6eneeneeeees 28

CR ee 22

ies oe cateceeewesesenee 17

ee le Oe cn cncancneeccessdene 22

ee cdocceckennkweeentenh 5, 6, 8, 10

tn nvecddénaheonsdtskdoncenees 10

ey ee Oe EE os wd dv cdeteses dueesdaenss 10

3 8 ne 10

ie ede passim

Cg RE Ee re ere 18, 19

18 U.S.C. § 2332b(g)(5)(B) ................. 22

rn 15

Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and

Consumer Protection Act, Pub. L. 111-203,

124 Stat. 1376 (2010)................... 23, 24

Pub. L. No. 91-452, 84 Stat. 922 ........... 11

Securities Exchange Act of 1934

i tsb oee seedddecvesvessdas 9, 13, 14, 23

Supreme Court Rule 37.6.................. 1

USA PATRIOT Act of 2001,

Pub. L. No. 107-56, 115 Stat. 272...... 17, 18

ix

Other Authorities PAGE(S)

115 CONG. REC. 9568 (1969) ............... 11

Michael R. Bloomberg & Senator Charles

E. Schumer, Sustaining New York’s

and the US’ Global Financial

Services Leadership ii, 16 (2007)

http://www.nyc.gov/htm]/om/pdf/

ny_report_final.pdf.................... 31

Dep’t of Commerce, The U.S. Litigation

Environment and Foreign Direct

Investment: Supporting U.S.

Competitiveness by Reducing Legal

Costs and Uncertainty, International

Trade Administration, 2 (Oct. 2008),

http://trade.gov/investamerica/

Litigation_FDI.pdf .................... 31

Eric A. Engle, Extraterritorial Jurisdiction:

Can RICO Protect Human Rights?

A Computer Analysis of a Semi-

Determinate Legal Question,

3 J. High Tech. L. 1, 11 (2004)......... 21

Excessive Litigation’s Impact on America’s

Global Competitiveness: Hearing Before

the Subcomm. on the Constitution and

Civil Justice of the H. Comm. on the

Judiciary, 113th Cong. 11 (2013)

(Statement of Paul J. Hinton, NERA

Economic Consulting) ................. 31

x

Other Authorities PAGE(S)

International Chamber of Commerce,

Policy Statement: Extraterritoriality

and Business 2 (2006), http://www.

iccwbo.org/Data/Policies/2006/

Extraterritoriality-and-business/...... 20, 30

Sen. Jon Kyl, A Rare Chance to Lower

Litigation Costs: A Federal Committee

Wants to Hear Your Ideas On the

Subject. Speak Up., WALL STREET J.,

Jan. 20, 2014, http://www.wsj.com/

articles/SB100014240527023040

49704579321003417505882............ 30

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE!

The National Foreign Trade Council (““NFTC”) is

the premier business organization advocating for

public policies to foster open, rules-based

international trade and investment. Founded in 1914

by a group of American companies that supported an

open-world trading system, the NFTC and _ its

affiliates mow serve more than 300 member

companies. Its fifty-member board of directors

includes some of America’s largest and most iconic

businesses, spanning all sectors of the economy—

from Google to Wal-Mart, Coca Cola to Ford, Chevron

to Pfizer.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Five years ago, in Morrison v. National Australia

Bank Lid., this Court unambiguously held that

“[w]hen a statute gives no clear indication of an

extraterritorial application, it has none.” 561 U.S.

247, 255 (2010). Three years later, this Court

reaffirmed that holding in Kiobel v. Royal Dutch

Petroleum Co., 133 S. Ct. 1659, 1664 (2013). In

Morrison and Kiobel, the Court stressed that the

presumption against the extraterritorial application

of United States law (the “Extraterritoriality

1 Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, counsel for

Amicus states that no counsel for a party authored this brief in

whole or in part, and no party or counsel for a party made a

monetary contribution intended to fund the preparation or

submission of this brief. No person other than Amicus, its

members, or its counsel made a monetary contribution to this

briefs preparation or submission. Letters from the parties

consenting to the filing of all amici briefs have been filed with

the Clerk of the Court.

2

Presumption”) prevents the United States from

turning into a “Shangri-La” for plaintiffs’ lawyers’, by

closing the courts to claims that have little, if any,

connection to the United States. Without the

Presumption, plaintiffs’ lawyers from around the

world would be free to use the American judicial

system—with its class actions, broad and protracted

discovery, and no “loser-pays” rules—to bring claims

for injuries suffered abroad as a result of foreign

conduct, even when the conduct in question is not

actionable in the jurisdiction where it occurred.

The Second Circuit's decision below undoes much of

what Morrison and Kiobel accomplished in limiting

the extraterritorial reach of U.S. law. Permitted to

stand, the Second Circuit’s holding would, for the

first time, open U.S. courts to“claims by /oreign

plaintiffs suing for foreign injuries caused by foreign

conduct perpetrated by a foreign enterprise. That

result is precisely what Morrison and Kiobel sought

to avoid.

This is not a theoretical concern. On the contrary,

the present case proves the point. Here, rather than

bringing an action in their own courts, foreign

governments seek to sue in the United States under

United States law for injuries purportedly suffered in

Europe as a result of conduct committed in Europe by

various foreign actors. Left undisturbed, the Second

Circuit’s decision to allow this action to proceed will

task the U.S. court system with the function of

adjudicating worldwide claims of corporate

misconduct under U.S. law, even though the conduct

giving rise to the litigation may not be actionable in

the jurisdiction where it occurred. This Court has

previously rejected exactly such an extraterritorial

application of U.S. law: “to apply our remedies would

3

unjustifiably permit [foreign] citizens to bypass their

own [countries] less generous remedial schemes... .”

F. Hoffman-La Roche Ltd. v. Empagran S.A., 542

U.S. 155, 167 (2004).

Amicus respectfully submits that the Second

Circuit’s decision should be reversed for at least three

reasons. First, the Second Circuit improperly held

that the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt

Organizations Act (“RICO”), 18 U.S.C. § 1961 et seq.

(2012), has extraterritorial application to the extent

that one of its predicate statutes has extraterritorial

reach. That holding is at odds with both this Court’s

clear holdings in Morrison and Kiobel, as well as

decades-long precedent that RICO is silent as to any

extraterritorial application. Amicus thus endorses

Petitioner’s argument that, under Morrison, RICO

lacks extraterritorial reach and can be invoked only

where, unlike here, the claim is based on the conduct

of a domestic enterprise. See infra Part I.

Second, even if the Court rejects that contention,

the Second Circuit’s decision still should be reversed

because RICO’s private right of action, codified in

Section 1964(c), requires the showing of a domestic

injury. Section 1964(c)’s plain text and legislative

history make clear that in enacting Section 1964(c),

Congress was focused on remedying injuries caused

by violations of RICO. As Section 1964 is silent as to

its extraterritorial reach, it has none. Therefore, a

viable civil RICO claim must establish a domestic

injury for which the plaintiffs seek recovery. See

infra Part II.A-B. The Second Circuit’s reasoning

that Section 1964(c)’s reach should extend to any

injury, wherever suffered, caused by a violation of

a RICO predicate that has extraterritorial reach,

is umpersuasive because this Court’s precedent

4

(i) requires that the extraterritorial reach of each

statutory provision be considered independently,

(ii) makes clear that RICO’s predicates are separate

from RICO itself, and (iii) establishes that even

where a conduct-regulating law has extraterritorial

reach, there is no private right of action in U.S.

courts for a violation of that law unless the

procedural statute creating the private right of action

also has extraterritorial application. See infra Part

II.C. Moreover, the legislative history of RICO’s

extraterritorial predicates, relied on by the Second

Circuit, also supports the rejection of the Second

Circuit’s approach. See infra Part II.D.

Third and finally, limiting Section 1964(c)’s reach

to domestic injuries is consistent with the policy

considerations endorsed by this Court in Morrison

and Kiobel. As a threshold matter, under the Second

Circuit’s ruling, many of the claims that the Supreme

Court found to be barred by the Extraterritoriality

Presumption in Morrison and Kiobel could now be

resurrected as RICO claims. Were this to happen, it

would lead to the absurd result that the

Extraterritoriality Presumption barred certain claims

but permitted civil RICO claims based on the same

foreign conduct, with the result that NFTC’s

members’ exposure to such claims would increase

threefold. This is certainly not what RICO—a statute

designed to combat the impact of organized crime in

the United States—was meant to accomplish. See

infra Part III. Nor can it be the result contemplated

by this Court in Morrison and Kiobel.

Moreover, interpreting Section 1964(c) to permit

claims based on foreign injuries would impose

significant burdens on U.S. companies doing business

abroad, as well as foreign businesses choosing to

5

invest in the United States. This is particularly

troubling here, since RICO is, on the one hand, so

broad that almost any tort claim can be asserted as a

RICO claim and, on the other hand, provides for

damages so severe as to be considered by some courts

the equivalent of a “thermonuclear device” of civil

litigation. This Court should decline Respondent’s

invitation to convert this nation’s courts into quasi-

global courts permitted to adjudicate claims that

have little, if any, connection to the United States.

ARGUMENT

I. Amicus Agrees With Petitioners That

A Cognizable RICO Claim Requires A

Showing Of A Domestic Enterprise

Amicus endorses Petitioners’ contention that

Section 1962, which contains RICO’s substantive

prohibition, does not extend to foreign enterprises.

See Pet’rs’ Br. 24-38. This conclusion is dictated by

RICO’s plain language, which numerous lower courts

have found to be “silent” as to the statute’s

extraterritorial reach. See United States v. Chao Fan

Xu, 706 F.3d 965, 974 (9th Cir. 2013) (“RICO is silent

as to its extraterritorial application. . . . [Therefore,

as o]ther Courts that have addressed the issue have

uniformly held . . . RICO does not apply

extraterritorially.”); Norex Petroleum Ltd. v. Access

Indus., Inc., 631 F.3d 29, 32 (2d Cir. 2010) (“[Second

Circuit] precedent holds that RICO is silent as to any

extraterritorial application.” (internal quotation

marks omitted)); N.S. Fin. Corp. v. Al-Turki, 100 F.3d

1046, 1051 (2d Cir. 1996) (“[RICO] is silent as to any

extraterritorial application.”). Accordingly, under

this Court’s holdings in Morrison and Kiobel, RICO

6

lacks any extraterritorial application. See Morrison,

561 U.S. at 255; Kiobel, 133 S. Ct. at 1664.

Applying Morrison’s framework, determining

whether a particular application of RICO is

appropriately domestic, or impermissibly

extraterritorial, requires identifying Congress’s

“focus” in passing Section 1962. Morrison, 561 U.S.

at 266-67. Thus, when the transaction or act that is

the object of the statute’s solicitude occurs in the

United States, the application of the statute is

appropriately domestic, even if the law suit otherwise

involves extraterritorial activity. See id. at 267.

As Petitioners have demonstrated, Pet’rs’ Br. 24-

38, Section 1962’s focus is on the corruption of an

“enterprise,” not the predicate acts by which the

corruption is achieved. Indeed, this Court has

previously observed that RICO’s “primary purpose”

was to address the corruption of businesses—i.e.

enterprises—by organized crime. United States v.

Turkette, 452 U.S. 576, 591 (1981); see also United

States v. Neapolitan, 791 F.2d 489, 500 (7th Cir.

1986) (“The central role of the concept of enterprise

under RICO cannot be overstated.”); Cederio v. Intech

Grp., Inc., 733 F. Supp. 2d 471, 473-74 (S.D.NLY.

2010) (Rakoff, J.) (“[T]he focus of RICO is on the

enterprise” and “nowhere does [RICO] evidence any

concern with foreign enterprises, let alone a concern

sufficiently clear to overcome the presumption

against extraterritoriality.”). Accordingly, a viable

RICO action requires the showing of a domestic

“enterprise.” See Morrison, 561 U.S. at 266-67.

The “enterprise” test is superior to a test focusing

on RICO’s predicates or a defendant’s pattern of

conduct because it best serves the goals of

7

determinacy and predictability. See id. at 256

(criticizing the Second Circuit’s conduct-and-effects

test as “complex in formulation and unpredictable in

application”). The usability of the “enterprise” test,

established by identifying the enterprise’s nerve

center (where the decisions to engage in the offending

conduct were made, see Hertz Corp. v. Friend, 559

U.S. 77, 92-93 (2010)), would provide courts and

litigants with a clear and definitive standard for

determining which entities are subject to RICO

claims (those with a nerve center located in the

United States) and which were not (those with a

nerve center located outside of the United States).

See id. at 95; see also Daimler AG v. Bauman, 134 S.

Ct. 746, 760 (2014) (observing that a corporation’s

primary place of business (i.e., its nerve center) is

easily ascertainable).

II. Even If The Court Finds That RICO Does

Not Require A Showing Of A Domestic

Enterprise, The Second Circuit’s Decision

Should Be Reversed Because A Civil RICO

Claim Requires The Showing Of A Domestic

Injury

Even if the Court does not construe RICO as

governing only domestic enterprises, the Second

Circuit’s decision should be reversed because

whatever the extraterritorial reach of RICO’s

criminal prohibition, recovering on a civil RICO claim

requires the showing of a domestic injury.

RICO’s Section 1964(c) permits “[a]ny person

injured in his business or property by reason” of a

RICO violation to sue “in any appropriate United

States district court” and, if the claim is successful, to

recover treble damages and attorneys’ fees. 18 U.S.C.

8

§ 1964(c). Applying Morrison to determine the

appropriate territorial reach of RICO’s private right

of action requires courts to identify Section 1964(c)’s

focus. 561 U.S. at 266-67. Each of Section 1964(c)’s

plain language, applicable precedent, and legislative

history compels the conclusion that in creating a

private right of action under RICO, Congress was

focused on remedying “injuries” caused by RICO’s

violations. Thus, because Section 1964(c), like the

rest of RICO, reflects no clear congressional intent

that it apply extraterritorially, a plaintiff cannot

sustain a civil RICO action unless it has suffered an

injury in the United States.

A. The Plain Language Of Section 1964(c)

Requires The Showing Of A Domestic

Injury

Section 1964(c)’s plain text shows that its focus is

on an “injurly]” caused by a RICO violation.

Specifically, Section 1964(c) affords “[aJny person

injured in his business or property by reason of a

violation of section 1962 of this chapter” a right of

action in United States courts. 18 U.S.C. § 1964(c).

The focus, then, is not on the substance of a RICO

violation, which is addressed by Section 1962, but on

the injury suffered as a result of that violation.

Indeed, the sole purpose (i.e., focus) of Section 1964(c)

is to provide something that Section 1962 does not

provide: an opportunity for a private party to redress

injury incurred as a result of a RICO violation. See

Klehr v. A.O. Smith Corp., 521 U.S. 179, 183 (1997)

(Section 1964 is a “special . . . provision” permitting

those “injured” by a criminal violation of RICO “to

recover treble damages and attorney's fees”). Thus,

Section 1964(c)’s plain language demonstrates that

the remedial focus of Section 1964(c) is on the injury

9

caused by a RICO violation, rather than the violation

itself. See Morrison, 561 U.S. at 266-67 (Section 10(b)

is focused not on the fraud or deception in connection

with the purchase or sale of the security, but on the

purchase or sale of the security occasioned by the

fraud).

Not surprisingly, this Court and several lower

courts have reached precisely this conclusion. For

example, in Shearson/American Express, Inc. v.

McMahon, this Court examined the purpose of

Section 1964(c) at length and found that in passing

Section 1964(c), the “focus’ of Congressional concern,”

Morrison, 561 U.S. at 266, was Section 1964(c)’s

“remedial function.” Shearson, 482 U.S. 220, 241

(1987). That is, in enacting Section 1964(c), Congress

was focused on the ability of those injured by

criminal conduct to obtain a civil remedy. Id. at 240-

41.2

Several courts considering RICO’s extraterritorial

reach appear to have reached the same conclusion.

For example, in Norex, the Second Circuit held that

even though U.S.-based actors engaged in U.S.-based

conduct, the plaintiffs civil RICO claim was barred

by the Extraterritoriality Presumption because the

alleged injury occurred outside of the United States.

2 Respondent's argument below—that a civil RICO claim

need not be based on a domestic injury because Section 1964(c)'s

focus is on the policing function of turning “victims” “into

prosecutors,” Reply Brief for Plaintiff-Appellants at 23,

European Cmty. v. KJR Nabisco, Inc., 764 F.3d 129 (2d Cir.

2014) (No. 11-2475-cv)}—is also foreclosed by Shearson, in which

the Court expressly found that this policing function “was a

secondary concern” and that Congress’ primary focus was on

providing victims a remedy for their injuries. 482 U.S. at 240-

41.

10

631 F.3d at 33. Specifically, the injury occurred in

the Russian Federation, where Norex was deprived of

its ownership stake in a Russian oil company and

certain quantities of oil owed to it by various Russian

entities. See Norex Petroleum Ltd. v. Access Indus.,

Inc., 540 F. Supp. 2d 438, 440 (S.D.N.Y. 2007).

Noting that Norex involved a “private lawsuit

pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 1964(c),” the Second Circuit

dismissed the civil RICO claim as barred by the

Extraterritoriality Presumption. 631 F.3d at 33.

While the Second Circuit did not expressly ground its

dismissal of the complaint on the lack of a domestic

injury, it must have done so as the complaint alleges

both a domestic enterprise and a number of predicate

acts occurring in the United States. Jd. at 31.

Similarly, in Cedefio v. Castillo, in which the

plaintiffs alleged purely foreign injuries, the Second

Circuit affirmed dismissal of their civil RICO claims

as barred by the Extraterritoriality Presumption

despite plaintiffs’ express argument that the claims

were based on violations of predicate offenses that

had extraterritorial reach. 457 F. App’x. 35 (2d Cir.

2012). Section 1964(c)’s language and applicable

3 Furthermore, the Second Circuit expressly limited its

holding to civil RICO claims brought under Section 1964(c),

stating that it “expressi[ed] no opinion” on the extraterritorial

reach of RICO claims brought by the government under

Sections 1963, 1964(a) or 1964(b). Norex, 631 F.3d at 33. Like

Section 1964(c), these sections of RICO incorporate by reference

Section 1962, and, through it, the various predicate statutes.

Therefore, the Second Circuit’s decision in Norex must have

been based on a unique part of Section 1964(c) that is not

present in Sections 1963, 1964(a), or 1964(b)—the requirement

that a plaintiff show “an injury.” See Clark v. Martinez, 543

U.S. 371, 386 (2005) (Judges cannot “give the same statutory

text (here, section 1962] different meanings in different cases”).

11

precedent establish that its focus is on remedying an

injury suffered as a result of a RICO violation, and

therefore a viable civil RICO claim requires the

showing of a domestic injury.

B. Section 1964(c)’s Legislative History

Confirms That Section 1964(c) Requires

A Showing Of A Domestic Injury To

Make Out A Civil RICO Claim

Because Section 1964(c)’s plain language compels

the conclusion that a domestic injury is required,

there is no need to consider legislative history.

United States v. Gonzales, 520 U.S. 1, 6 (1997).

Nevertheless, Section 1964(c)’s legislative history

confirms the same result. As a threshold matter,

nothing in Section 1964(c)’s legislative history

suggests that Congress intended Section 1964(c)

to open U.S. courts to foreign plaintiffs seeking

redress for foreign injuries. The opposite is true.

Congressional records surrounding RICO’s enactment

consistently and exclusively focus on the impact that

organized crime had in the United States, not outside

of it. For example, RICO’s statement of findings and

purpose expressly states that “[ijt is the purpose of

this Act to seek the eradication of organized crime in

the United States.” Pub. L. No. 91-452, 84 Stat. 922,

923 (emphasis added); see also 115 CONG. REC. 9568

(1969) (discussing RICO’s immediate predecessor,

and noting that “the declared policy of the Congress

[is] to eradicate the baneful influence of organized

crime in the United States”) (emphasis added).

Limiting Section 1964(c)’s reach to encompass only

claims seeking damages for domestic injuries is also

consistent with the legislative mode] Congress used to

craft RICO’s civil-remedy provision. As this Court has

12

“repeatedly observed,” Congress modeled § 1964(c) on

the “civil-action provision of the federal antitrust

laws.” Holmes v. Sec. Inv’r Prot. Corp., 503 U.S. 258,

267 (1992); Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S.

479, 489 (1985) (“The clearest current in [RICO’s]

history is the reliance on the [antitrust] model.”).

Importantly, the antitrust civil-remedy provision, on

which Section 1964(c) was modeled, has “long” been

interpreted as only permitting claims that “redress

domestic antitrust injury.” Empagran, 542 U.S. at 165

(citing United States v. Aluminum Co. of Am., 148

F.2d 416, 443-44 (2d Cir. 1945) (L. Hand, J.)); United

States v. Sisal Sales Corp., 274 U.S. 268, 276 (1927)

(permitting antitrust claim based on foreign

anticompetitive conduct to go forward because

prohibited conduct resulted in antitrust injury in the

United States); Montreal Trading Ltd. v. Amax, Inc.,

661 F.2d 864, 869-70 (10th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455

U.S. 1001 (1982) (no civil antitrust remedy in United

States to redress antitrust injury suffered only in

Canada). As there is nothing in Section 1964(c)’s

legislative history to suggest that, in crafting a civil

RICO remedy, Congress intended to give Section 1964(c)

a scope far exceeding the antitrust laws on which it

was modeled, Section 1964(c) should be interpreted as

authorizing a private right of action to redress only

domestic, not foreign, injuries.

* While Empagran interpreted the Foreign Trade and

Antitrust Improvement Act of 1982, 15 U.S.C. § 6a (2012), a

statute that is sometimes described as limiting the reach of the

Sherman Act, it recognized that “no pre-1982 case provides

significant authority for [the] application” of the Sherman Act’s

private right of action to redress purely foreign injury. See

Empagran, 542 U.S. at 173.

13

C. Nothing Rebuts The Presumption That

In Passing Section 1964(c), Congress Was

Focused Only On Remedying Domestic

Injuries

In sum, Section 1964(c)’s plain language, legislative

history and applicable precedent all support limiting

Section 1964(c) to claims seeking redress for

domestic, but not foreign, injuries. The Second

Circuit’s holding to the contrary—based on the notion

that the existence of extraterritorial predicates

means that a showing of a domestic injury is not

required'—fails for at least three independent

reasons.

First, in determining which law suits fall within

the territorial scope of Section 1964(c), the proper

focus is on Section 1964(c), not on RICO as a whole,

and certainly not on the dozens of separate statutes

that make up RICO’s predicates. See, e.g., Graham

Cty. Soil & Water Conservation Dist. v. United States,

559 U.S. 280, 292 (2010) (when identifying the focus

of a statutory provision, courts should look to the

provision itself, not the statute as a “whole”). Indeed,

this Court has held that each statutory provision

should be considered separately when determining its

focus, as different statutory provisions may have

different scopes and different objectives. See, e.z.,

Morrison, 561 U.S. at 263-65 (focus of Exchange Act’s

Section 10(b) is different from that of Section 30);

Argentine Republic v. Amerada Hess Shipping Corp..,

488 U.S. 428, 441 (1989) (focus of Foreign Sovereign

Immunities Act’s commercial-activity exception is

broader than tortious-act exception).

5 Pet. App. 11a, 57a-58a.

14

Thus, in Morrison this Court noted that when

Congress gives one statutory provision

extraterritorial reach but fails to do so for a different

statutory provision, that omission supports the

conclusion that the latter provision was not intended

to apply extraterritorially. See 561 U.S. at 265

(“Subsection 30(a) contains what § 10(b) lacks: a clear

statement of extraterritorial effect.”); id. at 265 n.8

(“Congress knows how to give a statute explicit

extraterritorial effect—and how to limit that effect to

particular applications.”). Lower courts construing

other statutes have held similarly. See, e.g., Sec. Inv’r

Prot. Corp. v. Bernard L. Madoff Inv. Sec. Ltd., 513

B.R. 222, 228-30 (S.D.N.Y. 2014) (extraterritorial

reach of Section 541 of the Bankruptcy Code “cannot

supply any extraterritorial authority” that Sections 547

and 548 of the Bankruptcy Code “lack on their own”);

Liu v. Siemens A.G., 978 F. Supp. 2d 325, 328

(S.D.N.Y. 2013) (holding that even though “[t]he

Dodd-Frank Act does have some extraterritorial

application,” the provision at issue is “silent” as to

extraterritoriality and thus does not apply

extraterritorially), affd, 763 F.3d 175 (2d Cir. 2014).

Likewise, here, the fact that RICO’s predicates—

which are separate criminal statutes enacted at

different times and for different purposes than

RICO—may have extraterritorial reach does not

rebut the presumption that Section 1964(c) does not.

See Norex, 631 F.3d at 33 (“Morrison . . . forecloses

Norex’s argument that because a number of RICO’s

predicate acts possess an extraterritorial reach, RICO

itself possesses an extraterritorial reach.”); Pet. App.

79a, n.4 (Raggi, J., dissenting) (“The money

laundering and material support predicates alleged

here are proscribed by criminal statutes

that explicitly provide for extraterritoriality. . . . The

15

RICO statute, however, does not admit such a

conclusion.”).

Second, extending Section 1964(c)’s reach to cover

extraterritorial injury because certain RICO

predicates have extraterritorial reach ignores, and is

inconsistent with, years of instruction from this

Court and several courts of appeals to treat RICO as

an offense distinct from its predicate acts. See

Sedima, 473 U.S. at 491 (RICO predicates must be

established beyond a reasonable doubt, but a civil

RICO claim need only be proven by a preponderance

of the evidence); United States v. Basciano, 599 F.3d

184, 205 (2d Cir. 2010) (prosecutions for RICO and

the predicate acts are prosecutions for two separate

crimes); CGC Holding Co. v. Broad & Cassel, 773

F.3d 1076, 1097 (10th Cir. 2014) (same); United

States v. Wheeler, 535 F.3d 446, 454 n.3 (6th Cir.

2008) (same). Indeed, it is impossible to reconcile the

Second Circuit’s holding—that RICO’s predicates

with express extraterritorial reach are part and

parcel of RICO—with the longstanding jurisprudence

finding that RICO is silent on its extraterritorial

application. See, e.g., Chao Fan Xu, 706 F.3d at 974

(“RICO is silent as to its extraterritorial application.

.. . Other Courts that have addressed the issue have

uniformly held that RICO does not apply

extraterritorially.” (emphasis added)); see also Norex,

631 F.3d at 32; Al-Turki, 100 F.3d at 1051.

Third and finally, this Court’s decision in Kiobel

further supports rejecting the approach taken by the

Second Circuit. In Kiobel, this Court considered the

extraterritorial reach of the Alien Tort Statute (“ATS”),

28 U.S.C. § 1350 (2012), which, like Section 1964(c),

authorizes a plaintiff to bring a civil action for a

violation of a substantive legal norm that is

16

incorporated by reference. The ATS provides, in

pertinent part, that United States courts “shall have

original jurisdiction of any civil action . . . for a tort

only, committed in violation of the law of nations.”

Id. Even though the ATS unquestionably authorizes

claims substantively grounded in the law of nations

(which obviously applies outside of the United

States),® this Court nevertheless ruled that the ATS

itself lacked extraterritorial reach. Kiobel, 133 S. Ct.

at 1669. The Court concluded that the ATS could be

invoked in U.S. courts only when there was sufficient

nexus with the United States. Jd. Similarly, here,

while Section 1964(c) creates a private right of action

to assert claims based on the violation of laws that

are incorporated by reference, including those with

extraterritorial reach, it does so if, and only if, there

is a sufficient U.S. nexus—to wit, where the injury at

issue occurred in the United States. See id. at 1667-

69.

D. RICO’s Extraterritorial Predicates Do

Not Rebut The Presumption That A

Claim Under Section 1964(c) Requires A

Showing Of A Domestic Injury

The Second Circuit cited money laundering and

terrorism-related RICO predicates that have

extraterritorial reach to support its conclusion that

RICO itself applies extraterritorially, such that a

private plaintiff may pursue civil RICO claims based

on injuries sustained abroad. Pet. App. 17a-18a.

6 And, indeed, piracy, which is one of the prototypical

violations of the law of nations that is actionable under the ATS,

Sosa v. Alvarez-Machain, 542 U.S. 692, 715 (2004), “typically”

occurs on the high seas and so is “beyond the territorial

jurisdiction of the United States.” Kiobel, 133 S. Ct. at 1667.

17

But Section 1956, which criminalizes money

laundering, does not—itself—afford any private right

of action at all. See 18 U.S.C. § 1956. And nothing in

Section 1956(f)’s legislative history suggests that in

passing a statute criminalizing money laundering,

Congress intended to create a private right of

action—whether under Section 1956 or as part of a

RICO claim. See Schwartz v. F.S.&O. Assocs., Inc.,

No. 90 CIV. 1606 (VLB), 1991 WL 208056, at *2

(S.D.N.Y. Sept. 27, 1991) (“[T]here is no indication in

the sparse legislative history [of Section 1956] that

Congress intended these statutes to give rise to a

private civil remedy. In light of the presumption

against implying such remedies from criminal

statutes, this is hardly surprising.”). Given this Court’s

repeated admonitions that (i) “private rights of action

to enforce federal law must be created by Congress,”

Alexander v. Sandoval, 532 U.S. 275, 286 (2001); see

also Touche Ross & Co. v. Redington, 442 U.S. 560,

578 (1979); and (ii) a statute that provides fer some

extraterritorial reach must be limited to its “terms,”

Morrison, 561 U.S. at 265, the language of Section 1956,

which criminalizes certain extraterritorial conduct

but does not provide for a private right of action with

respect to such conduct, can hardly support the

extension of RICO’s private right of action to cases

involving extraterritorial injury.

Similarly, RICO’s terrorism-related predicates do

not support interpreting Section 1964(c) to authorize

claims in U.S. courts on the basis of injuries suffered

abroad. Respondents contend that the USA

PATRIOT Act of 2001 (“Patriot Act”), Pub. L. No. 107-

56, 115 Stat. 272, which added certain antiterrorism

statutes with extraterritorial reach to the list of RICO

predicates, supports interpreting Section 1964(c) to

18

permit civil RICO claims based on injuries suffered

abroad. But the Patriot Act does nothing of the sort.

Neither the plain language nor the legislative history

of the Patriot Act supports extending RICO’s private

right of action to injuries suffered outside the United

States from a terrorist attack that takes place outside

of the United States. On the contrary, the Patriot Act

was passed in response to the September 11 attacks,

which occurred in New York and Washington D.C.,

and caused injuries within the United States.

Respondent’s’ terrorism-related argument is

particularly untenable because even before the

Patriot Act was passed, Congress expressly created a

private right of action to sue for injuries sustained as

a result of a terrorist attack occurring abroad.

Antiterrorism Act of 1990 (“ATA”), 18 U.S.C. §§ 2331-

38, 2333 (2012). Like RICO, the ATA provides for

treble damages for victims of international acts of

terrorism. Id. Unlike the Second Circuit's

interpretation of RICO, however, the ATA has a clear

link to the United States—permitting only U-‘S.

citizens to bring claims under the ATA. Id. (“Any

national of the United States injured . . . by reason of

an act of international terrorism ... may sue... .”

(emphasis added)). By contrast, under the Second

Circuit’s ruling here, for example, an Australian

citizen with no connection to the United States could

sue in the United States to recover damages for

injuries suffered in Australia in a terrorist attack

that was conceived of, planned, and took place in

Australia. This takes RICO too far. Neither the

plain language nor legislative history of RICO or the

Patriot Act suggests that in making terrorism a RICO

predicate, Congress intended for U.S. courts to

19

become responsible for adjudicating all of the world’s

civil claims arising out of terrorist acts worldwide.

Had Congress intended to deviate so radically from

its previous express decision to limit terrorism-

related claims under the ATA to those brought by

U.S. citizens, one would expect to see some evidence

of that intention in either the Patriot Act’s language

or, at a minimum, in its legislative history. See

Church of Scientology of Cal. v. IRS, 484 U.S. 9, 17-

18 (1987) (applying the “dog that didn’t bark” cannon

to conclude that a statutory amendment having a

substantial effect would have been evidenced in

congressional discussions and legislative history);

City of Roncho Palos Verdes v. Abrams, 544 U.S. 113,

132 (2005) (Breyer, J., concurring) (“In a case where

the construction of legislative language such as this

makes so sweeping and so relatively unorthodox a

change as that made here, I think judges as well as

detectives may take into consideration the fact that a

watchdog did not bark in the night.” (internal

quotation marks omitted)). No such evidence exists

here.

* 7 +

For the foregoing reasons, this Court should reject

the Second Circuit’s attempt to bootstrap the

extraterritorial reach of RICO’s predicates to justify

permitting U.S. courts to adjudicate civil RICO

claims seeking redress for foreign injuries. Moreover,

even if the Court disagrees with all of the arguments

above, the Second Circuit’s reasoning still cannot

overcome the Extraterritoriality Presumption. At the

absolute most, the Second Circuit’s reasoning

suggests a possibility—and, Amicus submits, an

unlikely one—that Congress intended to give RICO’s

private right of action extraterritorial reach by giving

20

certain RICO predicate statutes extraterritorial

reach. This Court has held repeatedly, however, that

a mere possibility that Congress intended for a

statute to apply extraterritorially cannot overcome

the Extraterritoriality Presumption. See Morrison,

561 U.S. at 264; EEOC v. Arabian Am. Oil Co., 499

U.S. 244, 253 (1991).

III. The Second Circuit’s Holding Will Unduly

Burden U.S. Businesses And Have Other

Negative Consequences

If permitted to stand, the Second Circuit’s ruling

would not only create an end-run around this Court’s

holdings in Kiobel and Morrison, but would

substantially increase litigation exposure for U.S.

companies doing business abroad. Worse still,

expanding the civil RICO remedy to encompass

claims seeking redress for injuries sustained outside

the United States will impose new and substantial

burdens on foreign companies investing in the United

States. As the International Chamber of Commerce

has warned, the extraterritorial application of law

“discourages international businesses from engaging

in trade and investment.” International Chamber of

Commerce, Policy Statement: Extraterritoriality and

Business 2 (2006), http://www.iccwbo.org/Data/

Policies/2006/Extraterritoriality-and-business/ (“ICC

Report”).

A. The Second Circuit’s Ruling Creates An

End-Run Around Kiobel and Morrison

One perverse result of the Second Circuit’s ruling is

that it will likely resuscitate ATS claims that Kiobel

would have otherwise barred. There is often

significant factual overlap between ATS and RICO

actions, and before MKiobel, litigants and

21

commentators noted RICO’s potential use as a

supplement to certain ATS claims. See, e.g., Corrie v.

Caterpillar, Inc., 503 F.3d 974, 979 (9th Cir. 2007)

(alleging RICO and ATS claims based on a

corporation’s sales of military equipment to Israel);

Wiwa v. Royal-Dutch Petroleum Co., 226 F.3d 88, 93-

94 (2d. Cir. 2000) (alleging both ATS and RICO

claims based on companies’ alleged role in

perpetration of human rights abuses); Eric A. Engle,

Extraterritorial Jurisdiction: Can RICO Protect

Human Rights? A Computer Analysis of a Semi-

Determinate Legal Question, 3 J. High Tech. L. 1, 11

(2004) (discussing Doe v. Unocal Corp., 395 F.3d 932

(9th Cir. 2002) (action by residents of Myanmar

under ATS and RICO for human rights violations

allegedly committed by Myanmar government and

Unocal)).

In particular, given the breadth of terrorism-

support and money-laundering statutes, which are

RICO predicates with extraterritorial reach, many

ATS cases previously dismissed for lack of a sufficient

U.S. nexus could now, under the Second Circuit’s

reasoning, survive as extraterritorial RICO claims.

For example, in Jovic v. L-3 Servs., Inc., 69 F. Supp.

3d 750, 753, 756 (N.D. Dll. 2014), plaintiffs brought

suit under the ATS alleging, among other things, that

an American corporation aided and abetted murder

carried out by the Croatian military during the

Yugoslavian civil war. The complaint specifically

alleged that conduct relevant to the claims, including

certain meetings between the defendants and

members of the Croatian military, took place in

Virginia. Jd. at 754-55, 759. The District Court

dismissed the complaint because the “primary

conduct” giving rise to the plaintiffs’ claim occured in

22

Croatia, and thus their claims were barred by the

Extraterritoriality Presumption. Id. at 759.

Similarly, in Cardona v. Chiquita Brands Int1, Inc.,

760 F.3d 1185 (11th Cir. 2014), the Eleventh Circuit

applied Kiobel and dismissed, on extraterritoriality

grounds, ATS claims alleging that Chiquita Brands

acted in concert with Colombian paramilitary forces

to commit acts of violence, including murder, in

Colombia. Jd. at 1188-89, 1191. Under the Second

Circuit’s ruling, however, the same conduct could

support a viable claim under RICO if recast as

a violation of one of the anti-terrorism predicates

to RICO that have extraterritorial reach. See, e.g.,

18 U.S.C. § 1961(1)(G) (incorporating as RICO predicates

offenses indictable under 18 U.S.C. § 2332b(g)(5)(B)

(defining “Federal Crime of Terrorism” to include

offenses under 18 U.S.C. § 956(a)(1) (prohibiting any

act “outside the United States” that would constitute

the offense of murder or kidnapping in the United

States))).

Tymoshenko v. Firtash, a case brought by the

former prime minister of the Ukraine, also provides a

useful illustration. 57 F. Supp. 3d 311 (S.D.N.Y.

2014). In that case, Yulia Tymoshenko alleged that

the defendant, Dmytro Firtash, financed the election

of Ms. Tymoshenko’s political opponent, Viktor

Yanukovych, and bribed various Ukranian officials to

persecute Ms. Tymoshenko, resulting in her arrest

and detention. TJ'ymoshenko v. Firtash, No. 11-CV-

2794 (KMW), 2013 WL 4564646, at *1 (S.D.N.Y. Aug.

28, 2013). The complaint alleged a violation of the

ATS and a violation of RICO based on a pattern of,

among other things, money laundering conducted

through one of the largest banks in the Ukraine. Id.

at *5. The district court dismissed the ATS claim

23

because it constituted an “impermissible

extraterritorial application of the ATS.” Id. at *4.

Applying Norex, the District Court also dismissed the

RICO claim as impermissibly extraterritorial but

permitted the plaintiff to replead the RICO claim. Id.

at *5. The district court later dismissed the second

amended complaint but granted leave to replead,

noting that under the Second Circuit’s decision in

this case, the plaintiffs may have been able to allege a

viable RICO claim based on allegations that the

defendants engaged in money laundering, a predicate

act with extraterritorial reach. Tymoshenko, 57 F.

Supp. 3d at 324-25.

Thus, one of the unintended consequences of the

Second Circuit’s decision is that claims found to be

impermissibly extraterritorial, when brought under

the ATS, may now be brought as civil RICO claims.

And such claims may well capture extraterritorial

conduct that would not have been actionable under

the ATS. Indeed, while this Court has instructed

that the ATS be applied in limited circumstances,

Sosa, 542 U.S. at 720, courts have tended to interpret

RICO broadly, Sedima, 473 U.S. at 497. To permit

the Second Circuit’s decision to stand would invite

precisely the negative consequences that Kiobel was

designed to avoid.

Similarly, the Second Circuit’s decision creates at

least a partial exception to Morrison’s holding that

Section 10(b) claims can be brought only in

connection with domestic securities transactions. 561

U.S. at 267. After Morrison, Congress passed the

Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer

Protection Act (“Dodd-Frank”), Pub. L. 111-203, 124

Stat. 1376 (2010), which reversed Morrison’s holding,

but only with respect to claims brought by the

24

Department of Justice and the Securities and

Exchange Commission. See 15 U.S.C. § 78aa(b); SEC

v. Tourre, No. 10 Civ. 3229(KBF), 2013 WL 2407172,

at *1 n.4 (S.D.N.Y. June 4, 2013) (“[T]he Dodd-Frank

Act effectively reversed Morrison in the context of . . .

enforcement actions.”). However, Congress expressly

refused to overrule Morrison’s holding with respect to

private actions, opting instead to study the issue

further. See Dodd-Frank § 929(Y). Accordingly, in

the wake of Morrison and Dodd-Frank, the

government may bring securities-fraud actions based

on securities transactions that occur outside the

United States, but private plaintiffs may not.

The Second Circuit’s decision, if permitted to stand,

will create a partial end-run around Morrison and

Congress’s finely-tuned decision to permit only some

kinds of securities-fraud cases to be brought in U.S.

courts. The civil RICO statute expressly provides

that when the government obtains a criminal

conviction for fraud in connection with the purchase

or sale of a security, the conduct underlying the fraud

may then be used as the basis for a civil RICO claim.

See 18 U.S.C. § 1964(c). Against this background, the

Second Circuit’s ruling would permit a private

plaintiff to assert a RICO claim based on a foreign

securities transaction—even though a private

securities-fraud claim based on the same transaction

would be barred by Morrison. And, as a bonus, the

plaintiff would be able to recover three times the

damages incurred—a remedy not available for

securities fraud.

In sum, under the Second Circuit’s decision,

extraterritorial private claims—which this Court has

found unfit for adjudication in the United States—

will be permitted to proceed so long as they are

25

repackaged as a different cause of action. Amicus

respectfully submits that this Court should not

sustain such a broad interpretation of RICO’s private

right of action and should, instead, limit the private

right of action to claims brought to obtain redress for

injury suffered in the United States.

B. Permitting Civil RICO To Reach Claims

Based On Foreign Injuries Poses

Significant Risks To U.S. Businesses

Doing Business Abroad And To Foreign

Businesses Investing In The United

States

If permitted to stand, the Second Circuit’s ruling

will impose substantial burdens on U.S. companies

doing business abroad and on foreign businesses that

invest in the United States. The Second Circuit’s

ruling not only opens the door to claims of the kind

that this Court previously rejected in Morrison and

Kiobel; it goes much further. RICO’s breadth, both in

terms of the sheer number of predicate offenses and

the broad range of RICO’s conspiracy provisions,

means that under the Second Circuit’s ruling, many

claims with little if any connection to the United

States may now be brought in U.S. courts. This

exacerbates the problem identified by this Court in

Morrison and Kiobel, because civil RICO—“the

litigation equivalent of a thermonuclear device,”

Miranda v. Ponce Fed. Bank, 948 F.2d 41, 44 (1st Cir.

1991)—offers private plaintiffs the staggering benefit

of treble damages and attorneys’ fees.

This is not a theoretical risk. Since the Second

Circuit erased decades of precedent and concluded

that RICO could have extraterritorial reach, courts

have refused to dismiss RICO claims based on

26

everything from political oppression in the Ukraine,

see Tymoshenko, 57 F. Supp. 3d at 324-25, to a

European money-laundering scheme resulting in

damage to Swiss nationals, see Ixotic AG v. Kammer,

09-CV-4345 (NG) (JO), 2014 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

180782, at *30-32 (E.D.N.Y. Sept. 30. 2014) (“At an

earlier point in the proceedings, I expressed .. .

concern that the RICO claims were defective because

they impermissibly sought to apply the RICO Act

extraterritorially. . . . Given the [European

Community Panel’s] focus on the racketeering acts

rather than on the enterprise as such, I conclude that

the plaintiffs have asserted RICO claims that are not

impermissibly extraterritorial.”).

These decisions represent a material shift in how

civil RICO claims are treated by U.S. courts. Before

the Second Circuit’s ruling, courts routinely

dismissed similar RICO claims. See Adhikari v.

Daoud & Partners, 09-cv-1237, 2013 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 189601, at *22-26 (S.D. Tex. Aug. 23, 2013)

(dismissing RICO claims stemming from a Jordanian

entity's Middle East racketeering, which allegedly

injured citizens of Nepal); Republic of Iraq v. ABB

AG, 920 F. Supp. 2d 517, 542-46 (S.D.N.Y. 2013)

(dismissing a RICO claim arising from a money-

laundering scheme conducted in connection with the

Oil-for-Food Program, which allegedly harmed the

Republic of Iraq); Hourani v. Mirtchev, 943 F. Supp.

2d 159, 167-68 (D.D.C. 2013) (dismissing RICO

claims revolving around an extortion and money-

laundering operation conducted in Kazakhstan,

which allegedly caused harm there). As Judge

Cabranes noted, after the Panel’s decision, these

claims would likely be “welcome[]” in “federal court.”

Pet. App. 72a n.8 (Cabranes, J., dissenting).

27

Moreover, the risk that civil RICO claims seeking

redress for foreign injuries will proliferate is

particularly troublesome because anything from

product liability, see In re Toyota Motor Corp., 785 F.

Supp. 2d 883 (C.D. Cal. 2011), to antitrust claims, see

In re LIBOR-Based Fin. Instruments Antitrust Litig.,

935 F. Supp. 2d 666 (S.D.N.Y. 2013), to false

advertising claims, see Complaint, Bagert v.

Volkswagen Grp. of Am., Inc., No. 2:15-cv-07174-JLL-

JAD (D.N.J. Sept. 29, 2015), ECF. No. 1, can be

framed as civil RICO claims. That only some RICO

predicates have extraterritorial reach offers little

relief. Ordinary business disputes can be—and when

they arise in developing countries, frequently are—

repackaged as claims of money laundering, a RICO

predicate with extraterritorial application. See, e.g.

Hourani, 943 F. Supp. 2d at 162-63, 167; Iraq, 920 F.

Supp. 2d at 543; Tymoshenko, 2013 WL 4564646,

at *1.

RICO’s broad scope and the oft-noted abuse

associated with a statute that authorizes treble

damages and attorneys’ fees only underscores the

danger created by the Second Circuit’s decision.

DelRio-Mocci v. Connolly Props., 672 F.3d 241, 254

(3d Cir. 2012) (“In the criminal arena, this proclivity

for abuse is at least limited by prosecutorial

discretion, the risk of losing credibility with jurors if

the prosecution engages in ‘overkill’ or overreaching,

and the related risk of jury nullification. However,

RICO’s civil remedy is not restricted by any such

considerations. Thus, it is not surprising that we are

today faced with a claim that this landlord-tenant

dispute is really a racketeering conspiracy that

should entitle this tenant to treble damages under

RICO.”); Fleet Credit Corp. v. Sion, 699 F. Supp. 368,

28

377 (D.R.1. 1988), rev'd on other grounds, 893 F.2d

441 (lst 1990) (“[O]verbreadth is limited through

prosecutorial discretion in [RICO] cases brought by

the government, but in private actions a proper

construction of the pattern requirement is all that

constrains plaintiffs to obey Congressional intent.”);

Lopez v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc., 591 F. Supp. 581,

588 (N.D. Cal. 1984) (“It is incumbent upon courts,

especially in civil RICO actions where the restraint of

prosecutorial discretion is not present, to scrutinize

claims to insure that the statute is not applied to

contexts outside those intended by Congress.”); DLJ

Mortg. Capital, Inc. v. Kontogiannis, 726 F. Supp. 2d

225, 236 (E.D.N.Y. 2010) (“[P]laintiffs have often

been overzealous in pursuing RICO claims, flooding

federal courts by dressing up run-of-the-mill fraud

claims as RICO violations. In consequence, courts

must ‘strive to flush out frivolous RICO allegations at

an early stage of the litigation.”).?7 The abuse

endemic in civil RICO litigation only highlights the

risk posed by the Second Circuit’s decision, both to

U.S. companies doing business abroad and to foreign

businesses investing in the United States.

7 Even more troubling, the Panel’s reasoning has been

used not only to extend the reach of civil RICO; it has also been

used to extend the reach of other federal statutes that refer to

criminal predicates with some extraterritorial application, such

as Section 924(c) of the Firearms Act, 18 U.S.C. §§ 921-31, see

United States v. Ahmed, 94 F. Supp. 3d 394, 413 (E.D.N.Y. 2015)

(based on the Panel’s ruling, “[njeither Morrison nor Kiobel

requires Congress to employ some talismanic language to rebut

the presumption against extraterritoriality. Rather, the Court

may look to the structure of the statute and with it, its

incorporated predicate statutes, to determine whether the

presumption against extraterritoriality has been rebutted.”).

29

1. The Potential For Extraterritorial

Civil RICO Enforcement Places

Significant Burdens On NFTC’s

Members

Permitting U.S. courts to adjudicate claims based

on foreign conduct and seeking redress for foreign

injury will impose substantial burdens on NFTC’s

members. As noted above, conduct that is legal in

foreign jurisdictions may now not only be subject to

suit in the United States, but may result in U.S.

businesses’ facing class actions seeking triple

recoveries under civil RICO. The problem is

particularly acute for financial institutions and

companies doing business in developing countries,

where garden-variety business disputes often involve

allegations of money laundering, a RICO predicate

with extraterritorial reach.

Moreover, litigating cases involving foreign

plaintiffs and foreign injuries imposes unique

burdens on American businesses. Obtaining

discovery from foreign sources is_ invariably

expensive, cumbersome, and difficult, and almost

always results in a dramatic increase in the cost of

litigation. Courts have acknowledged as much,

observing that foreign discovery imposes “financial

hardships” and “significant delays” on parties and on

the courts. Turedi v. Coca Cola Co., 460 F. Supp. 2d

507, 526 (S.D.N.Y. 2006), affd, 343 F. App’x 623 (2d

Cir. 2009). And the high cost posed by international

discovery and the potential for treble damages

ensures that once a case passes the motion-to-dismiss

stage, companies will be under tremendous pressure

to settle—even if the case lacks any merit. In this

way, civil RICO litigation “presents a danger of

vexatiousness different in degree and in kind from

30

that which accompanies litigation in general.” Blue

Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723, 739

(1975). Faced with an ever-present risk that their

legitimate business dealings in foreign countries will

result in U.S. litigation, many companies may opt to

disengage from developing countries—yielding those

business opportunities to their foreign competitors

and undermining their competitive position.

2. The Potential Of Extraterritorial

Civil RICO Enforcement Presents

Extraordinary Risks For Foreign

Corporations Considering Investment

In The United States

Permitting civil RICO claims based on foreign

injury will also deter foreign investment in the

United States. Foreign direct investment is vital to

the U.S. economy: it creates jobs for Americans, and

increases the availability, and decreases the cost, of

capital. But the increased exposure to litigation risk

caused by the extraterritorial application of U.S. law

discourages foreign investment because corporations

are reluctant to place themselves within the

jurisdiction of U.S. courts. See ICC Report at 2.

Indeed, as Amicus can attest, and as American

policy-makers and scholarly studies have repeatedly

confirmed, potential U.S. class-action litigation is

high among the concerns of would-be investors in the

United States. See Sen. Jon Kyl, A Rare Chance

to Lower Litigation Costs: A Federal Committee

Wants to Hear Your Ideas On the Subject. Speak Up.,

WALL STREET J., (Jan. 20, 2014, 6:21 PM)

http://www.wsj.com/articles/SB1000142405270230404

9704579321003417505882 (“[E]xcessive litigation

costs ... make foreign companies reluctant to invest

31

here.”); Dep’t of Commerce, The U.S. Litigation

Environment and Foreign Direct Investment:

Supporting U.S. Competitiveness by Reducing Legal

Costs and Uncertainty, Internatinal Trade

Administration, 2 (Oct. 2008), http://trade.gov/

investamerica/Litigation_FDI.pdf (“Fear of litigation

and potential liability under the U.S. legal system are

among the more important concerns to those

interested in investing in the United Sates.”);

Excessive Litigation’s Impact on America’s Global

Competitiveness: Hearing Before the Subcomm. on

the Constitution and Civil Justice of the H. Comm. on

the Judiciary, 113th Cong. 11 (2013) (Statement

of Paul J. Hinton, NERA Economic Consulting)

(“Many foreign companies are wary of becoming

embroiled in U.S. litigation, which may deter

foreign direct investment.”); Michael R. Bloomberg &

Senator Charles E. Schumer, Sustaining New York’s

and the US’ Global Financial Services Leadership ii,

16, (2007) http://www.nyc.gov/html/om/pdf/ny_report_

final.pdf; see also Tellabs, Inc. v. Makor Issues &

Rights, Ltd., 551 U.S. 308, 313 (2007) (class actions,

‘“f not adequately contained, can be employed

abusively to impose substantial costs on companies

and individuals whose conduct conforms to the law’).

Under the Second Circuit’s holding, foreign citizens

are now able to come into U.S. courts to seek redress

for foreign injuries, even when no such cause of action

is available in their home jurisdictions. (Cf.

Empagran, 542 U.S. at 167 (“[T]o apply our remedies

would unjustifiably permit [foreign] citizens to bypass

their [countries’]) own less generous. remedial

schemes.”).

This case illustrates the litigation abuse that

businesses with contacts in the United States, which

32

are subject to the jurisdiction of U.S. courts, will now

be forced to confront. The European Commission,

and those of its member states that have joined this

action, have declined to enact legislation of the kind

at issue here. Even though the alleged misconduct

took place in Europe, Respondents are apparently

unable, or unwilling, to litigate their claims in any

European jurisdiction and so bring their claims in the

United States.* That alone points to a deep conflict

between the laws of this country and those of

Respondents’ home jurisdictions. Indeed, noting that

many European countries have made different

regulatory and policy choices from the United States,

many of the Respondents here have previously

objected to the extraterritorial application of U.S.

law. See, e.g., Brief for the Federal Republic of

Germany as Amicus Curiae in Support of

Respondents at 1, Kiobel, 133 S. Ct. 1659 (No. 10-

1491) (“The Federal Republic of Germany has

consistently maintained its opposition to overly broad

assertions of extraterritorial civil jurisdiction arising

out of aliens’ claims against foreign defendants for

alleged foreign activities that caused injury on

foreign soil.”); Brief for the Republic of France as

Amicus Curiae in Support of Respondents at 1-3,

Morrison, 561 U.S. 247 (No. 08-1191); Brief of the

Federal Republic of Germany as Amicus Curiae in

Support of Petition for a Writ of Certiorari at 1-2,

Empagran, 542 U.S. 155 (No. 03-724).

8 While in this case, the European Commission seeks to

invoke the statute for conduct that occurred abroad, any victory

would be “pyrrhic,” because “its citizens . . . are among the likely

targets of future RICO actions under the panel's interpretation

of the statute.” Pet. App. 70a (Cabranes, J., dissenting).

33

This Court has worried about the potential for U.S.

laws with extraterritorial reach to discourage foreign

investment. That concern—previously expressed in

connection with antitrust and securities laws, and in

connection with the ATS—is particularly pronounced

in the case of civil RICO claims because of the type of

liability at issue, which contemplates not only class

actions, but also class actions seeking treble

damages. The courts of this country simply cannot,

and should not, become the forum to ventilate the

whole world’s complaints, much less the complaints of

foreign sovereigns that have elected not to enact

similarly sweeping legislation at home.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, and those in the

Petitioners’ brief, the Court should reverse the

decision below.

Respectfully submitted,

TIMOTHY P. HARKNESS

Counsel of Record

LINDA H. MARTIN

ELLIOT FRIEDMAN

DAVID Y. LIVSHIZ

LEAH FRIEDMAN

JONATHAN ELSNER

FRESHFIELDS BRUCKHAUS

DERINGER US LLP

601 Lexington Avenue, 31st Floor

New York, New York 10022

(212) 277-4000

timothy. harkness@freshfields.com

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

The National Foreign Trade Council

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.