Amicus Curiae Brief — Universal Health Servs., Inc. v. U.S. & Mass. ex rel. Escobar, 136 S. Ct. 582 (2015) (No. 15-7)

Supreme Court brief2015

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 15-7

|_OFFICE CF THE CLE

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

UNIVERSAL HEALTH SERVICES, INC.,

Petitioner,

v.

UNITED STATES and COMMONWEALTH OF

MASSACHUSETTS ex rel. JULIO ESCOBAR and

CARMEN CORREA,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to

the U.S. Court of Appeals

for the First Circuit

BRIEF OF WASHINGTON LEGAL FOUNDATION

AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Richard A. Samp

(Counsel of Record)

Mark S. Chenoweth

Washington Legal Foundation

2009 Mass. Ave., NW

Washington, DC 20036

(202) 588-0302

rsamp@wif org

Date: January 26, 2016

_° — WASHINGTON, D. C.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the “implied certification” theory of

legal falsity under the False Claims Act, 31 U.S.C.

§ 3729 et seq., is viable.

2. If the “implied certification” theory is viable,

whether a government contractor's reimbursement

claim can be legally false under that theory if the

provider failed to comply with a statute, regulation, or

contractual provision that does not state that it is a

condition of payment; or whether liability for a legally

false reimbursement claim requires that the statute,

regulation, or contractual provision expressly state that

it is a condition of payment.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Teams Ge BATE EEEED vg ccc ecccvcicecucs Vv

INTERESTS OF AMICUS CURIAE ............ 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................. 2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .................. 5

Ea a 6 Sota a isd 2a Bw oid ace cee 10

I. The False Claims Act Imposes Liability

Based on Claims Affirmatively Made, Not

by Inferring Certifications Not Actually

Es wwe eo ae eee eens an eae eS iG 10

A. The False Claims Act Is Designed

to Combat Fraud, a Term with a

Well-Understood Common-Law

DE cates oo Cee tan S ig 10

B. The Court’s Focus on “False or

Fraudulent Claim[s]” Has Not

Changed Since the FCA’s

Bmectment in 1668 .............. 15

C.. When Amending the False Claims

Act, Congress Never Indicated an

Intent to Expand the Definition of

ME oon a eae toe renee ets 19

Page(s)

Il. At a Minimum, Any Relator Alleging

Implied Certification Must Demonstrate

Noncompliance with an Expressly Stated

Condition of Payment ................. 23

A. Claimants Cannot Logically Be

Deemed to Have Fraudulently

Withheld Information in the

Absence of an Expressly Stated

Condition of Payment .... a ease: ee

B. The First Circuit's Standard Lacks

Any Statutory Basis or Support

from this Court’s Case Law ......... 25

C. In Light of the False Claims Act’s

Criminal-Law Applications, the

Rule of Lenity Requires Rejection

of the First Circuit’s Standard .... 28

ES Sig a aS Ota ie is ob 30

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases:

Allison Engine Co. v. United States ex rel. Wilson,

rd od ag wave 1 i

Chiarella v. United States,

I nt oS hg ores gc le re ll 12

Clark v. Martinez,

aa Ln a Re 29

Cook County v. United States ex rel. Chandler,

os cb a a ao wk kee 8 A 13

Graham Cnty. Soil & Water Conservation

Dist. v. United States ex rel. Wilson,

te ee rer ule eke kx Gtk 1

Ingraham v. United States,

a IIE ln 2 RE a PANE ge 17

Leocal v. Ashcroft,

I ho oe ee sD tee 29

Mikes v. Straus,

re We Ge Ge Ge. BOD gg occ ie vec cvccde. 15

Montanile v. Bd. of Trustees,

?

2016 WL 228344 (Jan. 20, 2016) .......... 10, 13

Omnicare, Inc. v. Laborers Dist. Council,

Ee I oa ' o e wou pce deka 12

Rainwater v. United States,

I ta cela wide wks 14, 18

Rockwell Int'l Corp. v. United States,

I a eee Ke 1

United States ex rel. Hutcheson v. Blackstone

Medical, Inc., 647 F.3d 377 (1st Cir. 2011) ..... 25

United States ex rel. Lee v. SmithKline

Beecham, Inc., 245 F.3d 1048 (9th Cir. 2001) ... 15

Page(s)

Unitec’ States ex rel. Marcus v. Hess,

a de ws 18, 19

United States ex rel. State of Wisconsin v. Dean,

728 F.2d 1100 (7th Cir. 1964) ............... 20

United States v. Bornstein,

eee ied eee ad wee 18

United States v. Bowman,

it ee ae alan 17

United States v. Kapp,

Seat aia a wa 18

United States v. Netfert-White,

Ee 13, 18

United States v. Science Applications Intl Corp.,

££ bg ee ee 27

United States v. Thompson/Center Arms Co.,

i i i a eo win 29

Vermont Agency of Natural Resources v. United

States ex rel. Stevens, 529 U.S. 765 (2000) ..... 22

Yates v. United States,

Ps ED oo vc aeecbcccseceuvcons 28

Statutes and Regulations:

False Claims Act (FCA),

Bie Pe FS re passim

Re ID cv ccccsccncicans 11, 28

31 U.S.C. § 3729(a)(1)(A) ........ 5, 8, 20, 24

TR kn a aaa og oe hh oo les 9, 16, 28

OE ove pedues veeeddaneus 16

ere 16

Page(s)

Pub. L. No. 97-258, § 3729, 96 Stat. 877,978 .... 16

Se Oe hoe re cee sats we wtian 3

Miscellaneous:

Black’s Law Dictionary (4th ed., 1968) ......... 12

James B. Helmer, Jr., et al., War Stories: A History

of the Qui Tam Provisions of the False Claims Act,

the 1986 Amendments to the False Claims Act,

18 Ohio N. U. L. Rev. 35, 44-45 (1991) ........ 23

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 551(1) (1977) ... 12

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 551(2)(b) (1977) . 12

ee ED. 3s og o's + os Wb es es due e ens 7,21

H.R. Rep. No. 97-651 (1982) ................-- 17

INTERESTS OF AMICUS CURIAE

Washington Legal Foundation (WLF) is a public

interest law firm and policy center with supporters in

all 50 States. WLF devotes a substantial portion of its

resources to defending free enterprise, individual

rights, a limited and accountable government, and the

rule of law.' To that end, WLF has frequently

appeared in this and other federal courts in cases

concerning the appropriate scope and application of the

False Claims Act (FCA), 31 U.S.C. § 3729 et seg. See,

e.g., Graham Cnty. Soil & Water Conservation Dist. v.

United States ex rel. Wilson, 559 U.S. 280 (2010);

Allison Engine Co. v. United States ex rel. Wilson, 559

U.S. 280 (2008); Rockwell Int’l Corp. v. United States,

549 U.S. 457 (2007).

WLF is concerned that in recent decades,

excessive FCA liability has spawned abusive litigation

against businesses, both large and small, to the

detriment of free enterprise, employees, shareholders,

and consumers. The proliferation of FCA litigation has

been exacerbated by the recognition—by several

federal appeals courts—of a new basis for liability, the

“implied certification” doctrine. That doctrine lacks

support in the FCA’s statutory language, and lower

courts have not pointed to any FCA amendments as

their basis for recognizing a doctrine that was

undiscovered for well more than a century following

the statute’s adoption in 1863. WLF is concerned that

' Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, WLF states that

no counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part; and

that no person or entity, other than WLF and its counsel, made a

monetary contribution intended to fund the preparation and

submission of this brief. All parties have consented to the filing of

this brief; letters of consent have been lodged with the clerk.

2

unless this Court overturns the decision below,

businesses that do not fully comply with the terms of

every applicable statute, regulation, or government

contract provision will face massive liability that far

exceeds both their culpability and any sanctions

intended by Congress in adopting the FCA.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The facts of this case are set out in detail in the

brief of Petitioner. WLF wishes to highlight several

facts of particular relevance to the issues on which this

brief focuses.

Petitioner Universal Health Services, Inc.

(“UHS”) is an indirect parent corporation of Arbor

Counseling Services. Arbor operates a mental health

clinic in Lawrence, Massachusetts; it receives federal

and state reimbursement through the Massachusetts

Medicaid program, MassHealth, for services rendered

by the clinic.

Respondents Julio Escobar and Carmen Correa

filed a lawsuit in the name of the United States and

Massachusetts against UHS (under both the FCA and

the Massachusetts False Claims Act), alleging that

reimbursement claims submitted by UHS to Mass

Health were false or fraudulent. The district court

found that the suit raises no claims with respect to the

quality of medical care provided by the clinic, nor does

it assert that Arbor failed to perform any of the

services for which reimbursement was sought. Pet.

App. 27. Rather, Respondents assert that UHS was

not complying with various MassHealth regulations

regarding qualifications of personnel, staffing, and

3

supervision. They assert that, by submitting the

claims for payment, UHS impliedly certified that it was

in compliance with those regulations, and that this

implied certification was false.

Respondents do not assert that UHS, in seeking

reimbursement, ever expressly certified that it had

complied with the regulations. Nor do Respondents

challenge the district court’s conclusion that none of

the regulations they cited expressly stated that UHS

was not entitled to any payments unless it fully

complied with them.

In March 2014, the district court granted UHS’s

Rule 12(b)(6) motion to dismiss the complaint for

failure to state a claim upon which relief could be

granted. Pet. App. 25-53. It held that while “the

regulation need not expressly state that [compliance]

is a condition of payment in order to lay the foundation

for FCA liability,. before a regulation can give rise

to FCA liability, it must, in fact, be a condition of

payment.” Jd. at 38. The court concluded: (1) only one

of the cited regulations, 130 C.M.R. § 429.439(B), even

arguably made compliance a condition of payment; and

(2) that regulation did not apply to the Lawrence

facility. Id. at 43-44.

The First Circuit reversed. Pet. App. 1-24. The

appeals court explained that it takes “a broad view of

what may constitute a false or fraudulent statement to

avoid foreclosing FCA liability in situations that

Congress intended to fall within the Act’s scope.” Jd. at

13 (citations omitted). It held that when an applicable

government regulation provides that compliance with

the regulation is a condition of payment, any entity

4

submitting a claim for payment is impliedly certifying

that it has complied with the regulation. Jd. at 13-16.

Moreover, the appeals court held, “preconditions

of payment, which may be found in sources such as

statutes, regulations, and contracts, need not be

expressly designated.” Id. at 13 (emphasis added).

“Rather, the question whether a given requirement

constitutes a precondition of payment is a fact-

intensive and context-specific inquiry.” Ibid. The court

concluded that the complaint adequately stated a claim

upon which relief could be granted because: (1)

compliance with MassHealth regulations providing

that the responsibilities of the Lawrence facility's

clinical director included “overall supervision of staff

performance” was a precondition of payment; (2) UHS’s

submission of claims for payment therefore constituted

an implied certification that the clinical director was

fulfilling his supervisory responsibilities; and (3) the

complaint adequately alleged that the clinical director

was not fulfilling those responsibilities and thus that

UHS had fraudulently misrepresented its compliance

with a condition of payment. Jd. at 16-17.

The First Circuit established the following

standard for evaluating implied certification claims:

“We ask simply whether the defendant, in submitting

a claim for reimbursement, knowingly misrepresented

compliance with a material precondition of payment.”

Id. at 13. It held that the complaint satisfied that

standard, finding that compliance with the supervision

regulation was, indeed, a “material” precondition of

payment and that UHS had impliedly certified that it

complied with the regulation despite allegedly knowing

that it had not complied, or at least had acted in

5

reckless disregard of the falsity of its certification. Jd.

at 18.

The appeals court also determined that

Respondents adequately alleged that UHS, by

submitting claims for payment, impliedly (and falsely)

certified compliance with regulations supposedly

requiring the Lawrence clinic to employ a board-

certified psychiatrist at all times. Jd. at 20-22.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The False Claims Act is a Civil War-era statute

enacted to punish and prevent frauds against the

United States. It imposes civil liability on “any person”

who, inter alia, “knowingly presents, or causes to be

presented, a false or fraudulent claim for payment or

approval.” 31 U.S.C. § 3729(a)(1)(A). Respondents’

allegation of fraud is not based on anything UHS

actually said in connection with its claims for

payments, but rather on what they urge the Court to

imply that UHS said. Such efforts to manufacture

falsity by attributing to a party statements not actually

made by the party are wholly inconsistent with

common legal understandings of the words “false” and

“fraudulent.”

Respondents allege that the Lawrence mental

health clinic did not comply with all applicable

MassHealth regulations and that MassHealth would

not have paid UHS’s claims for services rendered had

UHS informed it of the noncompliance. Even if those

allegations were accurate, the common law has never

classified as “fraudulent” a failure to disclose the

noncompliance when seeking contract payments, in the

6

absence of a special duty of disclosure toward the other

party. In the absence of any showing by Respondents

that UHS owed a special duty of disclosure to

MassHealth (e.g., a showing that UHS has made

ambiguous statements that might affirmatively

mislead MassHealth unless the disclosure is made),

Respondents have not adequately alleged a “false or

fraudulent claim” within the meaning of the FCA.

The 150-year history of enforcement of the FCA

confirms that implied-certification liability is

inconsistent with the statute’s “false or fraudulent

claim” requirement. In every one of the FCA cases that

has come before the Court, the defendant was alleged

to have expressly made a false statement in connection

with its claim for payment.

Commentators have long agreed that the FCA

also applies to a limited number of cases in which the

claim for payment omits information whose absence

will affirmatively mislead the Government in light of

statements previously made by the claimant. For

example, if the Government contracts to pay a

company $100,000 following delivery of widgets and

the company later submits an invoice for $100,000

without telling the Government that it has decided not

to deliver the widgets, it has submitted a fraudulent

claim—even if the invoice does not expressly state that

the widgets have been delivered. But when the

claimant actually provides the contracted goods or

services, there is no evidence, at any time during the

first 130 years that the FCA was in effect, that the

Government ever considered a claim “false or

fraudulent” based solely on the claimant’s omission of

other information that the government might deem

relevant to the contract.

It was not until the 1990s that some lower

federal courts began to recognize FCA claims based on

an implied-certification theory of liability. Yet courts

that recognized such claims never explained why a

statute whose relevant language had not changed in

130 years should for the first time be interpreted in a

manner that drastically expanded the definition of a

“false or fraudulent claim.”

Congress significantly amended the FCA in

1986. But those amendments focused primarily on the

rights of private persons (relators) to file qui tam

lawsuits in the name of the Government against

alleged false claimants. Nothing in the 1986

amendments purported to expand the definition of

“false or fraudulent claims.”

Proponents of implied-certification liability often

point to several sentences in a Senate committee report

that accompanied the 1986 amendments, in which

committee members stated inter alia that “a false

claim may take many forms,” including a claim for

“goods or services . . . provided in violation of contract

terms, specifications, statute, or regulation.” S. Rep.

No. 99-345, at 9 (1986). Those sentences are invariably

taken out of context; read in context, they say no more

than that claims can be “false or fraudulent” when they

expressly state inaccurate claims regarding compliance

with applicable contract terms, specifications, statutes,

or regulations. In any event, a 1986 congressional

report is a particularly unreliable indicator of the

meaning of the FCA’s “false or fraudulent claim”

provision because the FCA’s 1986 amendments did not

8

address that provision. At best, the committee report

represents a rough guess by several members of a

Senate committee regarding the intent of the 1863

Congress in adopting the FCA.

If the implied-certification theory is to be

recognized at all, it should be limited to FCA cases in

which the statutory, regulatory, or contractual

provision allegedly violated states expressly that

claims will not be paid unless the claimant has

complied with the provision. Only in such cases can

the claimant be deemed to have received fair notice

that he might be charged with fraud if he seeks

payment without disclosing his noncompliance.

Indeed, claimants cannot logically be deemed to

have fraudulently withheld information in the absence

of an expressly stated condition of payment. The FCA

limits liability to claimants who “knowingly” present a

false or fraudulent claim for payment. 31 U.S.C.

§ 3729(a)(1)(A). If the Government has failed to state

expressly that compliance with a statute, regulation, or

contractual provision is a condition of payment, a

claimant cannot have “knowingly” presented a false or

fraudulent claim because he cannot have known that

his failure to disclose noncompliance would be

considered by the Government to constitute an implied

certification of compliance.

The First Circuit has rejected efforts to limit

FCA implied-certification liability to cases involving

expressly stated conditions of payment, reasoning that

such a limitation has no grounding in the statutory

language. That reasoning gets the argument

backward: it is the implied-certification theory itself

9

that lacks a statutory basis. Thus, if this atextual

theory is nonetheless adopted, it should be adopted in

a form that avoids unfairness by limiting its

application to instances in which claimants are

provided fair notice that they could face FCA

liability—including hefty fines and treble damages— if

they fail to disclose their non-compliance with the

provision at issue.

Adopting a standard that fails to provide fair

warning is particularly unwarranted given that

violations of the civil FCA will almost always also

violate the FCA’s companion criminal statute, 18

U.S.C. § 287. When Congress first adopted the FCA in

1863, it provided for both civil and criminal liability.

It later separated the civil and criminal provisions into

two statutes, but the conduct prohibited by the two

statutes has remained largely identical. It is highly

likely that Congress intended the scope of “false” and

“fraudulent” claim liability to be identical under both

statutes.

The Rule of Lenity requires any ambiguity

concerning the scope of a criminal statute, including

§ 287, to be resolved in favor of lenity to the accused.

To avoid a situation in which two virtually identical

statutes with common origin—the FCA and § 287—are

assigned conflicting interpretations, the Rule of Lenity

should be applied to the FCA as well. Thus, to the

extent that the Court concludes that the language of

the FCA is ambiguous with respect to the second

Question Presented, the Rule of Lenity requires the

Court to adopt a construction that limits implied-

certification liability to instances in which the

provision at issue states expressly that compliance is a

10

condition of payment.

UHS is entitled to judgment if either of the two

questions presented is decided in its favor. It is

undisputed that MassHealth never asked UHS to

expressly certify its compliance with applicable

regulations, and that UHS never provided any such

express certification. Thus, if the Court resolves

Question One by rejecting the implied certification

theory, there can be no basis for concluding that UHS

presented a “false or fraudulent claim.” Nor can UHS

be held liable if the Court resolves Question Two by

limiting implied-certification liability to instances in

which the statute, regulation, or contractual provision

at issue states expressly that compliance is a condition

of payment. None of the regulations at issue in this

case expressly conditions payment on compliance with

the regulation.

ARGUMENT

I. The False Claims Act Imposes Liability

Based on Claims Affirmatively Made, Not

by Inferring Certifications Not Actually

Made

The implied-certification theory of liability is a

recently developed, judge-made theory of liability that

derives from a perceived need to further the FCA’s

statutory purposes by providing the Government with

stronger tools to combat alleged contractor fraud. But

as the Court reminded yet again last week, “Vague

notions of a statute’s basic purpose are inadequate to

overcome the words of its text regarding the specific

issue under consideration.” Montanile v. Bd. of

11

Trustees, _U.S.__, 2016 WL 228344 (Jan. 20, 2016)

(emphasis in original) (citations omitted). The text of

the FCA imposes liability for actual “false or

fraudulent claim[s].” It does not impose liability for

hypothetical implied claims that, the contractor did not

make and that there is no evidence that he intended to

convey. The desire of some lower courts to further

their conceptions of the purposes of the FCA by

creating new theories of lability should not be

permitted to trump the statute’s text.

A. The False Claims Act Is Designed to

Combat Fraud, a Term with a Well-

Understood Common-Law Meaning

In determining whether Respondents’ implied

certification theory states a claim against UHS under

the False Claims Act, “[w]e start, as always, with the

language of the statute.” Allison Engine, 553 U.S. at

668. Section 3729(a) imposes civil liability on “any

person” who “knowingly presents, or causes to be

presented, a false or fraudulent claim for payment or

approval.” Respondents contend, and the First Circuit

held, that the reimbursement claims that UHS

submitted to MassHealth were “false or fraudulent,”

even though: (1) there is no allegation that UHS did

not perform the work for which it sought payment; (2)

there is no allegation that UHS’s claim stated

expressly that it had complied with any of the

regulations at issue here; and (3) there is no allegation

that Massachusetts officials ever conveyed to UHS that

it was not entitled to any payments unless it complied

with all of the regulations at issue. The First Circuit’s

holding cannot be squared with commonly accepted

definitions of the terms “false” and “fraudulent.”

12

UHS’s brief explains at length the widely-

accepted common law meaning of the word

“fraudulent.” WLF will not repeat that explanation

here, except to note that an essential element of any

fraud is an intent to deceive. See, e.g., Black’s Law

Dictionary (4th ed. 1968) (defining fraud as “a false

representation of a matter of fact, whether by words or

by conduct, by false or misleading allegations, or by

concealment of that which should have been disclosed,

which deceives and is intended to deceive another’).

Respondents and the First Circuit have provided no

argument suggesting that Congress intended to assign

the words “false” and “fraudulent” meanings other than

their common-law meanings.

Importantly, while the common law

acknowledges that the failure to disclose can under

proper circumstances constitute fraud, there is no

general duty to disclose information to another unless

one owes some special duty to the other. Restatement

(Second) of Torts § 551(1) (1977); Chiarella v. United

States, 445 U.S. 222, 235 (1980) (“When an allegation

of fraud is based upon non-disclosure, there can be no

fraud absent a duty to speak.”). The duty to speak can

arise in several ways in connection with a business

transaction, including when one party to the

transaction has made a partial or ambiguous

statement of the facts, and he possesses information

whose disclosure is necessary to prevent the previous

disclosure from misleading the other party.

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 551(2)(b) (1977). See

also, Omnicare, Inc. v. Laborers Dist. Council, 135 S.

Ct. 1318, 1327-1330 (2015) (an issuer of securities has

a duty under federal securities law to disclose factual

information in a registration statement if omission of

13

the fact would render misleading a statement of

opinion included in the registration statement).

The First Circuit made no effort to apply

common-law understandings of fraud in determining

whether Respondents stated a cause of action under

the FCA. It did not assert that UHS said anything

untrue to MassHealth. Nor did it examine whether the

relationship between the parties was such that the

common law would impose a duty on UHS to

affirmatively disclose its (alleged) noncompliance with

MassHealth regulations. Instead, it justified its

adoption of implied-certification liability based

primarily on its conclusion that a “broad view of what

constitutes a false or fraudulent statement” was

required to effectuate Congress’s intent that the FCA

be employed to combat all types of fraud. That stacked

approach to statutory analysis, which discounts the

words of the statute, is precisely the sort of analysis

Montanile condemned.

The Court on several occasions has stated that

the FCA “was intended to reach all types of fraud,

without qualification, that might result in financial

loss to the Government.” United States v. Neifert-

White Co., 390 U.S. 228, 961 (1968); Cook County v.

United States ex rel. Chandler, 538 U.S. 119, 129

(2003). But the First Circuit has misread those

statements when it concludes that this Court is

endorsing an expanded definition of fraud in FCA

cases. Neifert-White and Cook County expanded FCA

coverage to new subject matters (the former held that

the FCA covers false statements made in connection

with government loan applications, the latter held that

the FCA covers false statements made by local

14

governments). The Court’s statement that the FCA

reaches “all types of fraud, without exception” indicates

that the FCA’s anti-fraud provisions apply in a

virtually limitless variety of factual situations, not that

Congress intended to alter common-law definitions of

fraud.

WLF does not suggest that the FCA only

imposes liability for affirmatively untrue statements.

There are a number of scenarios under which a

contractor's omissions could be actionable under the

FCA. Indeed, Congress apparently had such scenarios

directly in mind when it adopted the FCA in 1863.

Congress adopted the FCA “after disclosure of

widespread fraud against the Government” during the

Civil War. Rainwater v. United States, 356 U.S. 590,

592 (1958). A frequently cited example: businesses

would enter into a contract to provide goods at a

specified price, then submit a claim for payment

without ever delivering the goods. If the invoice

submitted by the business expressly (and falsely)

stated that the goods were actually delivered, then the

fraud would be obvious.

But what happens when (as often was the case)

the invoice did not explicitly state the quantity of goods

shipped but rather stated “for services rendered” (or

the equivalent) and then listed an amount due that

was identical to the purchase price under the initial

contract? Under those circumstances, the contractor

could still be held liable under the FCA because his

prior actions and statements would lead a reasonable

person to believe that the goods had been

delivered—and thus the contractor has breached his

duty to disclose that arose because his past actions,

15

along with his submission of the invoice, would likely

cause the Government to conclude that he had

delivered the goods.” In sum, the most plausible

interpretation of the FCA’s “false or fraudulent claim”

language is one that adopts existing common-law

understandings of fraud, not an implied-certification

approach that bears no relationship to the statutory

language.

B. The Court’s Focus on “False or

Fraudulent Claim[s}]” Has Not

Changed Since the FCA’s Enactment

in 1863

The FCA’s statutory language has changed very

little during its 150-year history. Accordingly, if the

implied certification theory of liability were a plausible

interpretation of the statute, one would expect it to

have gained traction at various points in the statute’s

history. Remarkably, however, WLF’s search of older

FCA cases has turned up not a single instance in which

this Court adopted anything even remotely akin to

implied-certification liability. Nor, apparently, did

government attorneys ever press the Court to adopt

? Some courts have adopted similar reasoning to conclude

that a contractor who supplies totally worthless goods (e.g., boxes

filled with Civil War rifles that are incapable of firing) are also

subject to FCA liability even if their invoices include no affirmative

falsehoods. See, e.g., Mikes v. Straus, 274 F.3d 687, 702-04 (2d Cir.

2001). Those courts have concluded that a “worthless services

claim” should be treated the same as a claim against a contractor

who has not performed at all, because “performance of the service

is so deficient that for all practical purposes it is the equivalent of

no performance at all.” Jd. at 703; United States ex rel. Lee v.

SmithKline Beecham, Inc., 245 F.3d 1048 (9th Cir. 2001).

16

that theory of liability. That uniform history provides

strong support for rejecting novel implied-certification

liability.

The False Claims Act as initially enacted in 1863

(and re-enacted in 1874) contained both civil and

criminal aspects. The criminal portion provided for up

to five years’ imprisonment for, inter alia, presenting

a claim upon the Government “knowing such claim to

be false, fictitious, or fraudulent.” Rev. Stat. § 5438

(1874). The civil portion directly referenced the

criminal portion; it provided that anyone who violated

§ 5438 was subject to civil liability consisting of a

$2,000 fine and double the amount of damages suffered

by the Government. Rev. Stat. § 3490 (1874).

The criminal portion was later broken off and

divided into two separate criminal statutes. The

operative language of the current “false, fictitious or

fraudulent” claims criminal statute is identical to the

1863 version. It provides for up to five years’

imprisonment for presenting a claim upon the

Government, “knowing such claim to be false, fictitious,

or fraudulent.” 18 U.S.C. § 287.

The civil portion continued to define prohibited

conduct by explicit reference to the 1874 criminal

statute until 1982. Congress re-codified the FCA in

1982 and, at the same time, eliminated the word

“fictitious” from the 1863 proscription of “false,

fictitious, or fraudulent” claims. Pub. L. No. 97-258,

§ 3729, 96 Stat. 877, 978. The House report explained,

however, that the minor textual change was not

intended to be substantive but rather was designed

only to “eliminate unnecessary words.” H.R. Rep. No.

17

97-651, at 143 (1982). The FCA has been amended

several more times since 1982, but the wording of the

principal operative language—the imposition of

liability for knowingly presenting a “false or fraudulent

claim”—has not changed.

In sum, the statutory language establishing the

standard for imposing liability under the FCA (both

civilly and criminally) has been essentially unchanged

throughout the FCA’s history. The standard which the

First Circuit interpreted as authorizing implied-

certification liability is the same standard that the

Court has addressed throughout its 150-year

experience in addressing claims arising under the FCA.

If implied-certification liability were a plausible

outcome of cases decided under the “false or fraudulent

claim” standard, one would expect the Court to have at

least considered such outcomes in its prior decisions.

The absence of such case law speaks volumes about the

plausibility of relying on the “false or fraudulent claim”

standard as the basis for the implied-certification

doctrine.

Indeed, in every FCA decision reviewed by WLF

over ‘he past century (both civil and criminal), the

Court addressed an allegation that the defendant made

an express claim alleged to be false or fraudulent. See,

e.g., Ingraham v. United States, 155 U.S. 434 (1894)

(defendant presented claim for reimbursement based

on false and fraudulent assertions that he had paid

money for his mother’s health care and funeral);

United States v. Bowman, 260 U.S. 94 (1922)

(defendant presented claim for reimbursement based

on falsified invoice showing purchase of 1,000 tons of

oil, when in fact only 600 tons had been delivered;

18

United States v. Kapp, 302 U.S. 214 (1937) (defendant

sought benefit payments under the Agricultural

Adjustment Act by making a false “representation”

regarding the source of the pigs he sold to the

Government); United States ex rel. Marcus v. Hess, 317

U.S. 537 (1943) (defendants obtained excess profits

from Government by rigging bids for construction

contracts, then expressly (and falsely) certifying to the

Government that their bids were “genuine and not

sham or collusive”); Rainwater v. United States, 356

U.S. 590 (1958) (obtaining crop loans by falsifying loan

applications); United States v. Neifert-White Co., 390

U.S. 228 (1968) (same); United States v. Bornstein, 423

U.S. 303 (1976) (defendant subcontractor falsely

labeled electron tubes for purpose of deceiving

government into believing that they were of superior

quality).

Admittedly, one likely reason for the absence of

implied certification claims in the first 130 years of

FCA litigation is that the filing of qui tam lawsuits was

significantly restricted, and the Government chose not

to pursue such claims. But the failure of the federal

government to pursue such claims is highly significant,

given that the Government would have had a major

financial interest in pursuing such claims if it thought

they were viable. A reasonable conclusion to be drawn

from the absence of such claims is that the federal

government determined—at least until very

recently—that implied-certification claims are

inconsistent with the FCA’s requirement that liability

be based on the knowing presentment of false or

fraudulent claims.

19

C. When Amending the False Claims

Act, Congress Never Indicated an

Intent to Expand the Definition of

Fraud

Implied-certification liability first began to gain

a foothold in the lower federal courts in the years

following the 1986 amendments to the FCA. Those

amendments eased federal court access for qui tam

suits and led to a considerable uptick in filings. Some

courts have cited the 1986 amendments as a rationale

for expanding the FCA’s definition of “false or

fraudulent claims” beyond its common-law roots. Such

reliance is unwarranted. Nothing in the 1986

amendments purported to expand the definition of

“false or fraudulent claims.”

Before 1943, the FCA’s qui tam provisions

permitted virtually any private citizen to serve as an

FCA relator—albeit, not many individuals knew

enough about the statute to take advantage of the

opportunities. The qui tam provisions fell into disfavor

among senior government officials following the Court’s

1943 Hess decision. In that case, the Court upheld a

relator’s right to receive 50% of any civil judgment

obtained against antitrust conspirators who had been

indicted for antitrust violations. The relator did not

provide the Government with any information that

assisted the antitrust investigation; indeed, everything

he knew about the case he learned by reading a copy of

the indictment. Senior Justice Department officials,

incensed by having to share their civil recovery with

the relator, persuaded Congress to amend the statute

to make it much more difficult for relators to pursue

qui tam suits.

20

A 1984 Seventh Circuit decision persuaded some

that the pendulum had swung too far in the other

direction. In United States ex rel. State of Wisconsin v.

Dean, 729 F.2d 1100 (7th Cir. 1984), the appeals court

refused to permit Wisconsin to maintain a qui tam suit

on the ground that the federal government already

knew about the alleged Medicaid fraud—even though

an investigation conducted by Wisconsin itself was the

source of the federal government’s information.

Largely in response to Dean, Congress amended the

FCA to loosen the standards governing who is entitled

to file qui tam actions under the FCA.

Also as part of its 1986 amendments, Congress

adopted several other measures designed to encourage

the filing of qui tam actions. Those changes included:

(1) reducing a _ relator’ burden of proof to

preponderance of the evidence; (2) relaxing the scienter

requirement somewhat (some courts had been

requiring evidence of a specific intent to defraud); and

(3) increasing damages and penalties recoverable

under the FCA. James B. Helmer, Jr., et al., War

Stories: A History of the Qui Tam Provisions of the

False Claims Act, the 1986 Amendments to the False

Claims Act, 18 Ohio N. U. L. Rev. 35, 44-45 (1991). As

noted above, the amendments did not change the basic

requirement for establishing liability; the FCA

continued to require relators to demonstrate knowing

presentment of a “false or fraudulent claim.” 31 U.S.C.

§ 3729(a)(1).

Appeals courts that have endorsed implied-

certification liability often point to the Senate Report

that accompanied the 1986 amendments as evidence

that the existence of a “false or fraudulent claim” can

21

be proven by demonstrating that a contractor

presented a claim for payment while not in compliance

with an applicable statute, regulation, or contract

term. S. Rep. No. 99-345, at 9 (1986). Reliance on the

Senate Report for this purpose is not well founded; its

meaning is far from clear. More importantly, a 1986

congressional report is a particularly unreliable

indicator of the meaning of the FCA’s “false or

fraudulent claim” provision because the FCA’s 1986

amendments did not address that provision. At best,

the committee report represents a rough guess by

several members of a Senate committee regarding the

intent of the 1863 Congress in adopting the FCA. And,

of course, a congressional report is entitled to no

weight to the extent that it contradicts clear statutory

language.

The oft-cited passage from the Senate Report

reads as follows:

The False Claims Act is intended to reach all

fraudulent attempts to cause the government to

pay out sums of money or to deliver property or

services. Accordingly, a false claim may take

many forms, the most common being a claim for

goods or services not provided, or provided in

violation of contract terms, specification, statute,

or regulation.

Ibid.

The first sentence strongly supports WLF’s view

of the FCA; it reinforces our view that the FCA only

reaches fraudulent conduct, not mere breaches of

contract. Supporters of implied-certification liability

22

interpret the second sentence as suggesting that any

claim for payment based on the provision of goods or

services in violation of any contract term, specification,

statute or regulation constitutes a “false claim.” That

meaning is far from clear. An equally plausible

interpretation is that some claims for payment can be

false or fraudulent if the claimant has not complied

with all applicable contract terms, specifications,

statutes, and regulations. For example, all would

agree with the unremarkable proposition that a claim

for payment is a false or fraudulent claim if the claim

expressly (and falsely) certifies compliance with a

contract term, statute, or regulation.

There is one other strong reason not to place any

weight on the Senate Report: this Court has previously

declined to credit the same report under analogous

circumstances. In Vermont Agency of Natural

Resources v. United States ex rel. Stevens, 529 U.S. 765

(2000), the relator sought to rely on the 1986 Senate

Report in support of its claim that States should be

subject to FCA suits. The Court concluded that the

Report was of no value in discerning whether a State

was a “person” within the meaning of the FCA, in part

because the 1986 amendments had not addressed the

meaning of that term. Vermont Agency, 529 U.S. at

782-83 & n.12. Similarly, because the 1986 FCA

amendments did not revise the “false and fraudulent

claim” requirement, any discussion of that term by the

Senate report amounts to nothing more than

speculation regarding the intent of prior Congresses.

In sum, recent amendments to the FCA are

irrelevant to the issues raised by this case. The

implied-certification theory of liability was inconsistent

23

with the FCA in 1863, was inconsistent with the FCA

in 1963, and is inconsistent with the FCA today.

Il. At a Minimum, Any Relator Alleging

Implied Certification Must Demonstrate

Noncompliance with an Expressly Stated

Condition of Payment

If the implied-certification theory is to be

recognized at all, it should be limited to FCA cases in

which the statutory, regulatory, or contractual

provision allegedly violated states expressly that

claims will not be paid unless the claimant has

complied with the provision. Only in such cases can

the claimant be deemed to have received fair notice

that he might be charged with fraud if he seeks

payment without disclosing his noncompliance.

A. Claimants Cannot Logically Be

Deemed to Have Fraudulently

Withheld Information in the Absence

of an Expressly Stated Condition of

Payment

In the modern legislative state, a company

seeking payments from the federal government will

likely be subject to hundreds if not thousands of

statutory, revulatory, and contractual requirements.

No company can reasonably hope to stay in compliance

with all of those requirements at all times. More

importantly, government regulators almost surely

deem compliance with some of their requirements to be

considerably more important than compliance with

others. Under those circumstances, it makes sense to

place the onus on regulators to identify those

24

regulations on which they place highest priority, by

designating which regulations must be complied with

if the company hopes to be paid.

Indeed, claimants cannot logically be deemed to

have fraudulently withheld information in the absence

of an expressly stated condition of payment. The FCA

limits liability to claimants who “knowingly” present a

false or fraudulent claim for payment. 31 U.S.C.

§ 3729(a)(1)(A). If the Government has failed to state

expressly that compliance with a statute, regulation, or

contractual provision is a condition of payment, a

claimant cannot have “knowingly” presented a false or

fraudulent claim because he cannot have known that

his failure to disclose noncompliance would be

considered by the Government to constitute an implied

certification of compliance.

Moreover, the First Circuit does not permit a

regulator simply to announce that a claim for payment

is fraudulent unless the contractor complies with all

regulations. Rather, it requires the regulator to

demonstrate that the requirement at issue is a

“material” precondition of payment. Pet. App. 13.

Under those circumstances, a requirement that

regulators expressly identify in advance which of their

regulations are preconditions for payment will likely be

of substantial benefit to regulators because courts may

well conclude that they should defer to a government’s

establishment of a priority list among its regulations.

25

B. The First Circuit’s Standard Lacks

Any Statutory Basis or Support from

this Court’s Case Law

The First Circuit has rejected efforts to limit

FCA implied-certification liability to cases involving

expressly stated conditions of payment, reasoning that

such a limitation has no grounding in the statutory

language. United States ex rel. Hutcheson v.

Blackstone Medical, Inc., 647 F.3d 377, 388 (1st Cir.

2011) (“the rule advanced by [the defendant] that only

express statements in statutes and regulations can

establish preconditions of payment is not set forth in

the text of the FCA.”). That reasoning gets the

argument backward: it is the implied-certification

theory itself that lacks a statutory basis. Thus, if this

atextual theory is nonetheless adopted, it should be

adopted in a form that avoids unfairness by limiting its

application to instances in which claimants are

provided fair notice that they could face FCA

liability—including hefty fines and treble damages— if

they fail to disclose their non-compliance with the

provision at issue.

The First Circuit described its standard of

review as follows: “We ask simply whether the

defendant, in submitting a claim for reimbursement,

knowingly misrepresented compliance with a material

precondition of payment.” Pet. App. 13. Thus, the only

two hurdles faced by a First Circuit relator seeking to

survive a motion to dismiss are adequately alleging

that the defendant violated a regulation, and

demonstrating that the regulation was “a material

26

precondition to payment.”* Those requirements

provide scant protection for companies seeking to avoid

costly litigation.

As the First Circuit concedes, “the question

whether a given requirement constitutes a precondition

to payment is a fact-intensive and context-specific

inquiry, involving a close reading of the foundational

documents, or statutes and regulations.” Ibid. The

appeals court provided no guidance for determining

which facts and what contexts are relevant in

determining which of the thousands of applicable

statutes and regulations should be deemed “material.”

Faced with an amorphous standard, district courts

considering motions to dismiss would be extremely

hard-pressed to determine that a relator had not

adequately pleaded that compliance with a specific

regulation was a material condition of payment.

Courts could easily avoid this morass by requiring

governments to complete a simple task: expressly

designate which of the thousands of applicable statutes

and regulations they deem most important—and state

that claims will not be paid unless the claimant has

complied with those provisions.

The “knowingly” requirement is similarly

ineffective in weeding out insubstantial claims. Ifa qui

tam relator can adequately allege noncompliance with

a regulation, he will always be able to allege that the

defendant had knowledge of the noncompliance.

° Asexplained above, “misrepresentation” is not a separate

requirement, because the implied-certification theory presumes

that a contractor certifies compliance with all material regulations

when it presents a claim for payment.

27

Federal appeals courts have justified their

application of implied-certification liability, even in the

absence of an express-designation requirement, by

arguing that any other rule would create “a counter-

intuitive gap in the FCA.” United States v. Science

Applications Int Corp. [SAIC], 626 F.2d 1257 (D.C.

Cir. 2010). The court below justified its decision to

“take a broad view of what may constitute a false or

fraudulent statement” in order to “avoid foreclosing

FCA liability in situations that Congress intended to

fall within the Act’s scope.” Pet. App. 13. But that

form of argumentation assumes the answer to the

question that courts should be asking: what is the

proper scope of the FCA? If a claim presented to the

Government does not constitute a “false or fraudulent

claim,” then judges should not invent new theories of

liability simply because they have a gut feeling that

Congress must have intended claims of that sort “to fall

within the Act’s scope.”

Moreover, while a finding that certain categories

of cases do not fall within the scope of the FCA may be

bad for plaintiffs’ lawyers’ business, it hardly leaves

the Government without remedies. In addition to the

numerous administrative remedies available to the

Government when a contractor violates statutes,

regulations, or contractual terms, it may also file a

breach of contract action. WLF notes, for example,

that in SAIC, the Government sued for breach of

contract as well as for violations of the FCA. While

government attorneys will always be tempted to add an

FCA count to their lawsuits because of the FCA’s

attractive provisions authorizing civil penalties and

treble damages, a ruling from this Court that the FCA

should be interpreted in accordance with its statutory

28

provisions would still leave the Government with

numerous powerful tools to ensure adequate

performance from companies that receive federal

funds.

C. In Light of the False Claims Act’s

Criminal-Law Applications, the Rule

of Lenity Requires Rejection of the

First Circuit’s Standard

As noted above, the civil and criminal FCA

statutes (which at one time were both part of a single

statute) contain virtually identical language. Compare

31 U.S.C. § 3729(a); 18 U.S.C. § 287. Both statutes

prohibit submission of “false” or “fraudulent” claims

and have done so since 1863. Accordingly, it has highly

likely that the 1863 Congress intended the scope of

“false” and “fraudulent” claim liability to be identical

under both statutes.

The Rule of Lenity requires any ambiguity

concerning the scope of a criminal statute, including

§ 287, to be resolved in favor of lenity to the accused.

Yates v. United States, 135 S. Ct. 1074, 1088 (2015)

(“ambiguity concerning the ambit of criminal statutes

should be resolved in favor of lenity”). Given the even

split—among those federal appeals courts that accept

the validity of the implied-certification

doctrine—regarding whether to impose an “express

designation” requirement, the only reasonable

conclusion is that the FCA is ambiguous on that issue.

Accordingly, a court would likely interpret § 287 as

barring criminal prosecution of someone who presents

a claim to the Government while not in compliance

with an applicable regulation, unless the regulation

29

states expressly that compliance with the regulation is

a condition of payment.

Unless the Court applies the Rule of Lenity in

this case, it risks creating conflicting interpretations

for closely related statutes that employ identical

language. The Court has routinely applied the Rule of

Lenity in civil cases in order to avoid just such a

conflict. See, e.g., Clark v. Martinez, 543 U.S. 371, 380

(2005) (“[I]f a statute has criminal applications, ‘the

rule of lenity applies’ to the Court’s interpretation of

the statute even in immigration cases ‘[b]ecause we

must interpret the statute consistently, whether we

encounter its application in a criminal or noncriminal

context.””) (quoting Leocal v. Ashcroft, 543 U.S. 1, 11-12

n.8 (2004)); United States v. Thompson/Center Arms

Co., 504 U.S. 505, 517-18 & n.10 (1992)(plurality

opinion) (applying Rule of Lenity to interpret a tax

statute in a civil setting “because the statute has

criminal applications”); id. at 519 (Scalia, J.,

concurring in judgment) (also invoking the Rule of

Lenity).

For all the reasons explained above, the FCA is

best interpreted as: (1) not incorporating the implied-

certification theory; and (2) alternatively, limiting

recognition of the implied-certification theory to cases

in which the statutory, regulatory, or contractual

provision allegedly violated states expressly that

claims will not be paid unless the claimant has

complied with the provision. But to the extent that the

Court concludes that the FCA is ambiguous with

respect to those two issues, the Rule of Lenity should

be applied to arrive at that same result.

30

CONCLUSION

Amicus curiae Washington Legal Foundation

reque: ts that the Court reverse the decision of the

court of appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

Richard A. Samp

(Counsel of Record)

Mark S. Chenoweth

Washington Legal

Foundation

2009 Mass. Ave., NW

Washington, DC 20036

(202) 588-0302

rsamp@wlf.org

Dated: January 26, 2016

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.