Petitioners Brief — Hurst v. Florida, 135 S. Ct. 1531 (2015) (No. 14-7505)
Supreme Court brief2015
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
0. 14-7505 MAY 28 201
—sipreme out US
FILED
In THE
Supreme Court of the United States
TIMOTHY LEE HuRST,
Petiti
Vv.
F’LORIDA,
Respondent.
ON WRIT C ¥ CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA
BRIEF FOR PETITIONER
NANCY A. DANIELS
PUBLIC DEFENDER
DAVID A. DAVIS
ASSISTANT PUBLIC
DEF: NDER
Leon County Courthouse
301 South Monrve Street
Suite 401
Tallahassee, FL, 32301
MARK E. OLIVE
LAW OFFICES OF
MARK E. OLIVE, FP .A.
320 West Jefferson Street
Tallahassee, FL 32361
SETH P. WAXMAN
Counsel of Record
CATHERINE M.A. CARROLL
DAVID M. LEHN
FRANCESCO VALENTINI
WILMER CUTLER PICKERING
HALE AND DORR LLP
1875 Pennsylvania Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 663-6000
seth. waxman@wilmerhale.com
ErRIc F. FLETCHER
ALLISON TRZOP
WILMER CUTLER PICKERING
HALE AND DORR LLP
60 State Street
Boston, MA 02109
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether Florida’s death sentencing scheme vio-
lates the Sixth Amendment or the Eighth Amendment
in light of this Court’s decision in Ring v. Arizona, 536
U.S. 584 (2002).
(i)
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
oe i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...............ccccsssscscssssessescessess vi
STITT nrhiusiihtiatinisciniasbeenntaiasinieniianninpsnanatmmaenidanies 1
TITTY sinicsiascshicsieateittentineiaeieideinitininniinbiniasaubidaias 3
Fee itencensnnemmnemnnen 3
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED. .........cc.ccsccsessessecsesseeseceee 3
SEIU cenansneresorensemanemainetnnsemennmasemnnenenenmmenenennstes 4
A. Hurst’s Trial, Initial Sentencing, And
Post-Conviction Proceedings ..............:.s0-s--sseeee 4
in ee i recerccereceneersenneeeneseees 6
C. The Decision Under Review .....................000 12
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ...000..0....ccccccccceeeceeseesees 14
a carncintccanincientertndaiteresienatiinnnemnininemmintianinsimiseieinaten 17
Il. FLORIDA’S CAPITAL SENTENCING SCHEME
VIOLATES THE CONSTITUTION UNDER
A. Florida’s Capital Sentencing Scheme
Violates The Sixth Amendment Be-
cause The Judge Finds Facts Neces-
sary For Imposition Of The Death
B. Florida’s Capital Sentencing Scheme
Violates The Eighth Amendment Be-
cause It Assigns To The Judge The
Power To Impose The Death Penalty.............. 26
(iii)
iv
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
Il. THE JURY’S ADVISORY VERDICT DOES Not
IMPLY THE FINDING REQUIRED BY RING.............. 31
Ill. Ir THE JURY’S ADVISORY VERDICT ImM-
PLIED THE FINDING REQUIRED By RING,
HuURST’S SENTENCE WOULD VIOLATE THE
CONSTITUTION FOR OTHER REASONS. ........--...0--+++- 34
A. Hurst’s Sentence Would Violate The
Eighth Amendment Because It Would
Have Been Based On Jury Instructions
That Misleadingly Minimized The Ju-
ry’s Sense Of Responsibility.......................0000+. 35
B. Hurst’s Sentence Would Violate The
Sixth And Eighth Amendments Be-
cause The Jury's Supposed Implied
Finding May Have Been Made By Only
Fe iccicatentenccscasioneninninnenimeeseneeses 36
1. The Sixth and Fourteenth Amend-
2. The Eighth and Fourteenth Amend-
ments forbid Florida’s simple-
majority rule in capital cases .................++.- 47
C. Hurst’s Sentence Would Be Unconsti-
tutional Because The Aggregate Effect
Of The Defects In Florida’s Capital
Sentencing Scheme Subverts The Ju-
ry’s Deliberative Function.................ccccceeeees 52
CURES cncennrsnnnsrsccenssesecnsensnansemneensenesnseemansenennseninns 54
Vv
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
Page
APPENDIX: Pertinent Constitutional and
Statutory Provisions
Sits CI, GIS W Biccccccccsccncscecssscssensnsssevonennnees la
U.S. Const. amend. XIV .........ccccccccecccceseeceececeees la
Fla. Stat. § 775.082 (2011) .....ccccccccccecceeeseeeeseees la
Fla. Stat. $ 921.141 (2010) .........c.cccccccecceceseeseesccee 8a
vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Page(s)
Alford v. State, 307 So. 2d 433 (Fla. 1975)............ccsceeseeee 8
Allen v. United States, 164 U.S. 492
TT hscoriecihcoseietiintinsaasetadisuaiuiadiuabeinaptinaeuniadosavesimeemnesendints 43
Alleyne v. United States,
133 S. Ct. 2151 (2013)............. 17, 23, 24, 25, 26, 46, 47
Andres v. United States,
ee IE ccrstenvccsencnenesnsnscnnenentnneemennnstntts 28, 38
Apodaca v. Oregon, 406 U.S. 404
ee eee 38, 38, 40, 45, 52
Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S.
en 17, 19, 27, 39, 40, 49
Archuleta v. Galetka, 267 P.3d
TT ition inerinsinnirepraimiensansiinnadapiciamiainsins 43
Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304 (2002)... 10, 49
Ault v. State, 53 So. 3d 175 (Fla. 2010) .0.........cccsseccessenseeee 7
Baldwin v. New York, 399 U.S. 66 (1970) ........ccccccceeeeees 41
Ball v. State, 70 S.E. 888 (Ga. Ct. App.
REREAD SORES ERD verse Tener vO an Oe ETO 42
Baze v. Rees, 553 U.S. 35 (2008) ...........scccccsssesssserereeesees 30
Beck yv. Alabama, 447 U.S. 625 (1980).............0. 47, 48, 50
Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296
I Nicatiniiaitdeiaatiiniiniataetnainbipemememmmanes 19, 23, 24, 25, 34
Bostick v. State, 773 N.E.2d 266
vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
Bottoson v. Moore, 833 So. 2d 693
Sues aTTITTaiiisiiehcittiieesiteiehigainliinianaiaiieatiamsinaniandansl 9, 51
Brice v. State, 815 A.2d 314
IIIT siti oinieraiiateaicdgrnesieninaliapeneniniaidienmiannintid 25
Burch v. Louisiana,
441 U.S. 130 (19739) ................... 3, 17, 39, 41, 45, 52, 53
Caldwell v. Mississippi,
ee incisicatccrncenicinteinnininigninmananiittite 16, 35
Carter v. State, 980 So. 2d 473 (Fla. 2008)...........0...0..0... 21
Combs v. State, 525 So. 2d 853 (Fla. 1988)............... 21, 36
Davis v. State, 703 So. 2d 1055 (Fla. 1997)................c00000+ i)
Delgado v. State, 2015 Fla. LEXIS 871
Se A a I iceseceeetenccectiniatitenieniiedienteieminenneecensicinis 20
Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968) .............. 25, 37
Eddings v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104 (1982) ............. 27, 48
Engle v. State, 438 So. 2d 803 (Fla. 1983)................000 8,9
Espinosa v. Florida, 505 U.S. 1079 (1992)......... 21, 22, 31
Ex parte McGriff, 908 So. 2d 1024
I TTT dasa ciricieniitard aeaahacattaidiinninaanneecintnsigimaening 25
Fisher v. State, 291 N.E. 2d 76 (Ind. 1978) ................00 42
Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986) ..........ccceceeees 48
Franklin v. State, 965 So. 2d 79 (Fla. 2007)...............-2.. 34
Fulgham v. State, 46 So. 3d 315
ARIE RR Ee Oe a 42
Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349 (1977) .........0-cesesesesees 47
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
Graham v. Florida, 560 U.S. 48
EERE SEY Sa ee aC ON 50
Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S.
RE LEE eee eae 30, 31, 47, 50, 51
Grossman v. State, 525 So. 2d
ET eee en 9,21
Hall v. Florida, 134 S. Ct. 1986
EEE Se a ee ee TT 48, 49, 50
Harmelin v. Michigan, 501 U.S. 957
ERR Een renee eh ae 51
Harris v. Alabama, 513 U.S. 504 (1995) ..............00. 27, 30
Harris v. United States, 536 U.S. 545
indiana ciliata itil deine cealbaitbitienlnataaiinaaias 25
Hawaii v. Mankichi, 190 U.S. 197
SESE ASE ee ee EE 38
Hildwin v. Florida, 490 U.S. 638
RES Ee 13, 19, 22
Holland v. State, 280 N.W.2d 288
ERE ET Ie eT 42
Hurst v. Florida, 537 U.S. 977 (2002)...........ccccsssseeseeeeees 5
Johnson v. Louisiana, 406 U.S. 356
EERE es SR wee ena 38, 39, 45, 53
Jones v. United States, 526 U.S.
I ail ietriciaarari eat iarratsineesiaiatintiaictati 15, 31, 33
ix
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
Kaczmar v. State, 104 So. 3d 990
ESSER ES SR TEt 2 A eee eae 8
Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586 (1978)..............ccccecceeceeeeeees 48
McDonald v. City of Chicago, 561 U.S.
SUITE cctisehaiisdaieninhigsintapiiabintdninaniemennsememmpenanninien 38, 46
McGautha v. California, 402 U.S. 183
STITT ciasvniechiethtesninsinnniasiananitaleiiatbesdiciniibeianitcamuaiiaititvitink 28, 49
McKoy v. North Carolina, 494 U.S. 433
ITT stsisicietesapenescaisemeithitaiaheltidatiinasiabhddtailandatiiainiate 49, 50
Mills v. Maryland, 486 U.S. 367 (1988).............. 47, 50, 51
Motion to Call Circuit Judge to Bench,
Be Tiss liideicsantiaitcitatinipiitaninnpaninnincciasiionci 51
Newton v. State, 21 Fla. 53 (1884) 20.0... eeceeeeeeeeees 29
People v. DeCillis, 199 N.E.2d 380
ees Nia hic caeieaseietticiahletetilabanlinnlin iii iireeeiiamesitaeninn 42
People v. Russo, 25 P.3d 641 (Cal. 2001) .............ccceeeeee 42
Porter v. McCollum, 558 U.S. 30 (2009)... eeeeeee 22
Prieto v. Commonwealth, 682 S.E.2d 910
as sniinniiiall 43
Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242 (1976) ...........cccccsseecesees 27
Ring v. Arizona, 536 U.S. 584 (2002)... passim
Roberts v. Louisiana, 428 U.S. 325
ECE re eee a Ce 48
Rodriguez Sanchez v. State, 503 So. 2d
ee 51
Romano v. Oklahoma, 512 U.S. 1 (1994) .0....... ec eeeeeseeee 35
xX
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
Ross v. State, 386 So. 2d 1191 (Fla. 1980)............. 8, 20, 21
Russ v. State, 73 So. 3d 178 (Fla. 2011) .................... 8, 20
Seminole Tribe of Florida v. Florida,
I i eenieial 47
Sochor v. Florida, 504 U.S. 527 (1992) .................cceeeeeee 32
Southern Union Co. v. United States,
I scsi 19, 25, 27
Spaziano v. Florida, 468 U.S. 447
SRST Pn ee COO 22, 26, 29, 30
Spencer v. State, 615 So. 2d 688 :
a Sasi atinehceieelntietecioeedaiei pendant 8, 20
State v. Arceo, 928 P.2d 843 (Haw. 1996) ..............c..:.-2 42
State v. Celis-Garcia, 344 S.W.3d 150
I asinine 42
State v. Dixon, 283 So. 2d 1 (Fla. 1978) .............:cc0-++ 8,19
State v. Dushame, 616 A.2d 469
LSE eae oO eT 42
State v. Hochstein, 632 N.W.2d 273
ciated 42
State v. Logue, 28 S.E.2d 788
TE Ee aE eT 42
State v. Steele, 921 So. 2d 538
RACERS Orc onanaee SOI 7, 8, 31, 32, 43
United States v. Booker, 543 U.S.
ES LAUR ee eee Oe NO IO 23
xi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
United States v. Gaudin, 515 U.S. 506
IIT isesinesiinpiniieitiaeteitabandaiiemiaanatanitinmininaneeiitmaniebeiiiiaen 24, 46
United States v. Lopez, 581 F.2d 1338
a ctieclaicaeenentielil 414
Walton v. Arizona, 497 U.S. 639
TUTTE isesicthdineisheieniieiiithleaelinaibneenntpanine 15, 18, 22, 23, 31
Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S. 78
RR ASR EE ea a 52
Williams v. State, 967 So. 2d 735
EEE eee ee 8, 9, 20
Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 510
EES NE en 30
Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S.
iliac caiman 27, 28, 48, 49
Woodward v. Alabama, 134 S. Ct.
TEEN ne ne eT 26, 29
STATUTES AND RULES
I ial 42
I a aacentelalaniiiieniaiens 3
Ba ira sat earniaeibilitiibiehiliniicenidaeeniieh 42
pT EEE aC ee ene eee 42
EE | ee 42
Ark. Code Ann.
a al al 42
a 42
xii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
I a uininiaciianii 42
Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 16-10-108......................cccccceecsesee 42
Conn. Super. Ct. R. Crim. P § 42-29 o........cccsccesesseseesees 42
BR BR Se eee 42
I a ccumeineoons 42,51
Fla. Stat.
I IID ccccececcecencecreenneennevnnenenseusnsciti 6, 18
§ 921.141 (2010)
ESE I oe ae anne he Mase mee nen 7
Te OE Ere ee 6, 7
ET eee 6, 8, 9, 18, 20
ESET coe a a TR 12
EEE eR ee eRe nM Tre 7,9
EE TESTE eee eae ea Cee 7,18
EEE cetera Eee 42
Idaho Code Ann.
EER RE ee eo ee re ee 42
REITER ESE ee ne a ae aE ee ER 42
RE a ee 42
ee a, Cs FD crrenieincscicnnsenstnsentisnasennoions 42
RR RS 42
EO oe TE 42
I eines 42
ERT 42
La. Code Crim. P. Ann. art. 782(A)..........cccccccceccccesseseees 42
Oe | Eee 42
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
SE, Se CI, F. SIGID cccrnnrscnsecisnsiinseniiniiiotatmeniadiaaanaa 42
Md. Const. Decl. of Rights, art. 21 0.0... cceeeseseeenees 42
Ss ibe QIN crincrnesrccesicesneneianieiinntiaidammae 42
a BR, COR. FP. i a ncccscenscissvnniocnineeniniishiiaiaieaniemeanataman 42
Se, Ge, BR. GI ccsssccersensnscnnicnteenniteninensauaesaiiaaianiiai 42
Minn. R. Crim. P. 26.01, sualod. 1(5).........cccccccccesssscoscccssees 42
SS 42
ee. Casa, GR. B, GN, SEA ecncccneniniccisincseduiintieinaiiiaseainaig 42
pe 8 Ee 42
De. CI, CII, BT irvivtcesenninntintanibiiniettemiiagionaane 42
N.C. Gam. Stat. § 1G Ap TRB E (a) ..cccccccsscsssscesecsessscnsesescesonss 42
Re ee eH 42
8 Re § Se Sf eee 42
Peas CAR. Bhs. BED Dirrennncencssenicssnnsninctinatiniiniiiaaaael 42
BEB, Bh. CUR, F. GIG nccceereivisinicnvennctiaiiaaiiaanaal 42
Ae FSS , Re 42
Ee eee ee 42
SOOT, BRN U. GRR, © TGR cccensnssnniensiinnttitienmnaninuiiniiiammamaiaa 42
Re SS | 42
Oe 42
Go. Caria. G0, BB Di cicccrrsenntstensinntiivititeaanieinateliaaniana 42
Pes Be GORI, Fe Ga iececrsnserseitennsiinntinintnneaaiamaana 42
R. for Courts-Martial 1004(a)(2) 00.0... ceccceeeeeeeeee 42
xiv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
ES ESS ee 42
S.D. Codified Laws § 23 A-26-1 ...0...........cccccsceseeseeseneeesens 42
ee aa 42
Tex. Code Crim. P.
EL 42
i ern caatrerettainneaeniaianenennenties 42
Ee 42
Eee 42
EE 42
Ee 42
a 42
EE 42
i nas atetnrtmremnenemnenemmntnnennmnenenes 42
EE Se 42
Wash. Super. Ct. Crim. R. § 6.16(a)(2) .........cccccceceresenees 42
Wis. Const.
EEE 42
I EEE 42
a 42
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Se 40
1 Adams, John, A Defence of the
Constitutions of Government of the
United States of America (3d ed. 1797) ..............0-+ 40
XV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
American Bar Association, Standards of
Judicial Administration Relating to
Pe iiictiecncnennnitineniitenintaicinennntuinmnasnes 46
i Bishop, Joel Prentiss, Commentaries on
the Law of Criminal Procedure (1866) ...............--+. 41
3 Blackstone. Sir William, Commentaries on
the Laws of E-mgland (1768) ...............essereesereereneerees 40
4 Blackstone, Sir William, Commentaries on
the Laws of England (1769) ..........-cssssereeserserensesees 40
Cooley, Thomas McIntyre, A Treatise on the
Constitutional Limitations Which Rest
Upon the Legislative Power of the States
of the American Unt0n (1868) ........c-eseeeeeseeeerenes 41
Devine, Dennis J., et al., Jury Decision
Making: 45 Years of Empirical
Research on Deliberating Groups,
7 Psychol. Pub. Pol’y & L. 622 (2001) ...............c0000 44
Douglass, John G., Confronting Death: Sixth
Amendment Rights at Capital
Sentencing, 105 Colum. L. Rev. 1967
Ehrhardt, Charles W. & L. Harold
Levinson, Florida’s Legislative
Response to Furman: An Exercise in
Futility?, 64 J. Crim. L. & Criminology
SN 29
lontcheva, Jenia, Jury Sentencing as
Democratic Practice, 89 Va. L. Rev. 311
xvi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
Jonakait, Randolph N., The American Jury
Knowlton, Robert E., Problems of Jury
Discretion in Capital Cases, 101 U. Pa.
is es Sin eiteiencenhceseineniihdnmnennetindintinon 29
Langbein, John H., The Origins of
Adversary Criminal Trial (20038) .............c.-0c-0+-000 27
Lillquist, Erik, The Puzzling Return of Jury
Sentencing: Misgivings about Apprendi,
82 N.C. L. Rev. G21 (2004).........ccccccccccccccssecssecseces 27, 28
Proffatt, John, A Treatise on Trial by Jury
SEER ee er 41
3 Story, Joseph, Commentaries on the Con-
stitution of the United States (1833)................-.-0- 41
Sundby, Scott E., War and Peace in the
Jury Room: How Capital Juries Reach
Unanimity, 62 Hastings L.J. 103 (2010)................. 44
Taylor-Thompson, Kim, Empty Votes in
Jury Deliberations, 113 Harv. L. Rev.
RRM Re TEE UNECE SAO ee 44
Tiffany, Joel, A Treatise on Government,
and Constititional Law (1867) .........0.cccccccceseerereeee 41
2 Wilson, James, The Works of the
Honourable James Wilson, L.L.D.
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
No. 14-7505
TIMOTHY LEE HURST,
Petitioner,
Vv.
FLORIDA,
Respondent.
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA
INTRODUCTION
Under Florida law, a defendant convicted of a capi-
tal felony cannot be sentenced to death unless the State
proves beyond a reasonable doubt at least one statuto-
ry aggravating circumstance. Because the existence of
a statutory aggravator is a condition of the defendant’s
eligibility for a death sentence, its determination must
“be entrusted to the jury.” Ring v. Arizona, 536 U.S.
584, 597 (2002).
Florida law, however, assigns this factfinding role
to the trial judge. In Florida, the court makes its own
findings as to the existence of aggravating and mitigat-
ing circumstances and conducts its own weighing of
those circumstances before imposing a sentence of its
own determination. In doing so, the court may consider
evidence that was never shown to a jury, and may find
2
aggravators that were not found by or even presented
to a jury. Only the judge’s written findings of fact are
relevant on appellate review of a death sentence.
Florida juries play only an advisory role. The jury
recommends a sentence of life or death based on its as-
sessment of aggravating and mitigating circumstances,
but that recommendation has no binding effect. More-
over, the jury renders its advisory verdict under pro-
cedures that degrade the integrity of the jury’s func-
tion. Unanimity, and the deliberation often needed to
achieve it, is not necessary; only a bare majority vote is
required to recommend a death sentence. The jury
makes no express findings on aggravating circumstanc-
es. And jurors voting for a death sentence need not
even agree on which aggravating circumstance exists.
In this case, for example, the State presented two
aggravators in arguing that petitioner Timothy Lee
Hurst should be sentenced to death. The jury recom-
mended a death sentence by a bare majority of seven to
five. The jury made no express findings as to any ag-
gravator. It is entirely possible that four jurors found
one aggravator, and three found the other, but that at
least two-thirds of the jurors rejected each. The trial
court made its own findings that each aggravator exist-
ed beyond a reasonable doubt and imposed the death
sentence based on its own weighing of the aggravating
and mitigating circumstances.
Mr. Hurst’s death sentence and the procedures it
resulted from cannot stand. Florida’s capital sentenc-
ing scheme contravenes this Court’s holding in Ring
that findings of fact necessary to authorize a death sen-
tence may not be entrusted to the judge. It departs
from the procedures that apply in every other State
that allows death sentencing. And it undermines the
3
jury’s basic Sixth and Eighth Amendment functions as
responsible factfinder and voice of the community’s
moral judgment. This case thus arises “at the intersec-
tion of [this Court’s] decisions” according capital de-
fendants basic Sixth and Eighth Amendment protec-
tions in sentencing. Burch v. Louisiana, 441 U.S. 130,
137 (1979). Even if a State can constitutionally assign
the jury only an advisory role, or permit different ag-
gravators to be found by different jurors on different
theories, or allow the jury to find aggravating circum-
stances by a bare majority, a State cannot do all these
things at once without transgressing those constitu-
tional protections.
OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the Supreme Court of Florida
(J A289-321) is reported at 147 So. 3d 435. The order
denying rehearing (J A322) is unpublished but is availa-
ble at 2014 Fla. LEXIS 2652. The judgment of the Cir-
cuit Court, First Judicial Circuit, in and for Escambia
County, Florida (J A272-288) is unreported.
JURISDICTION
The Supreme Court of Florida entered judgment
on May 1, 2014, and denied a timely motion for rehear-
ing on September 4, 2014. The petition for a writ of
certiorari was filed on December 3, 2014. This Court
has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED
Pertinent provisions of the Sixth and Eighth
Amendments to the U.S. Constitution and Florida
Statutes §§ 775.082 and 921.141 are reproduced in the
Appendix to this brief.
4
STATEMENT
A. Hurst’s Trial, Initial Sentencing, And Post-
Conviction Proceedings
On May 2, 1998, Cynthia Lee Harrison was killed at
a Popeye’s Fried Chicken restaurant in Escambia
County, Florida, where she worked as an assistant
manager. Petitioner Timothy Lee Hurst, Harrison’s
coworker, was charged with first-degree murder, a cap-
ital felony under Florida law.
At Hurst’s jury trial, the State presented evidence
that on the day of Harrison’s murder, Harrison and
Hurst were scheduled to be at work at 8:00am in prepa-
ration for the restaurant’s opening at 10:30am. JA27-
28. A witness testified that he saw Harrison arrive at
the restaurant between 7:00am and 8:30am and go in-
side, followed shortly thereafter by a man the witness
later identified as Hurst. Jd. Tonya Crenshaw, another
assistant manager, testified that when she arrived at
10:30am, she found the door to the restaurant locked
and another employee waiting outside with a delivery-
truck driver. JA28. Crenshaw testified that when they
entered the restaurant, they discovered that the safe
was open and money was missing. JA28-29. The driver
found Harrison’s body in the freezer. Harrison’s hands
were bound with electrical tape, and she had tape over
her mouth. Harrison had “suffered a minimum of sixty
incised slash and stab wounds” and had “blood stains on
the knees of her pants, indicating that she had been
kneeling in her blood.” JA29. According to the medical
examiner, Harrison’s wounds “were consistent with the
use of a box cutter.” Jd.
Two of Hurst’s friends, Michael Williams and “Lee-
Lee” Smith, testified that Hurst told them he had killed
Harrison and that he had previously talked about
5
robbing the restaurant. JA29-30. According to Smith,
Hurst showed up at Smith’s house on the morning of
May 2 with a container of money. Smith said he
washed Hurst’s bloody pants and threw away Hurst’s
socks and shoes. JA30.
Smith’s mother discovered the container of money
the next day and contacted the police. JA30. In a gar-
bage can at Smith’s house, the police found a coin purse
containing Harrison’s driver’s license and other per-
sonal items. They also found a bank bag marked with
“Popeye’s” and Harrison’s name, a bank deposit slip
bearing Hurst’s fingerprints, and a blood-stained sock
later determined to have “DNA typing ... consistent
with the victim.” JA30-31. Tape similar to that used to
bind Harrison’s hands and mouth was found in Hurst’s
car, and evidence indicated that Hurst had been seen
with a box cutter several days before the murder.
JA29.
The jury was instructed that it could find Hurst
guilty of first-degree murder under two theories:
“premeditated murder” and “felony murder”—+.e., the
“death occurred as a consequence of and while [Hurst]
was engaged in the commission of Robbery.” Jury In-
structions 3-4, State v. Hurst, No. 98-1795-C (Fla. Es-
cambia County Ct. Mar. 23, 2000). The jury convicted
Hurst of first-degree murder, but its general verdict
form did not specify which theory was the basis of the
conviction. Verdict, State v. Hurst, No. 98-1795-C (Fla.
Escambia County Ct. Mar. 23, 2000). Hurst was not
separately convicted of any robbery in connection with
Harrison’s murder. JA308. After penalty-phase pro-
ceedings, Hurst was sentenced to death. The Supreme
Court of Florida affirmed, JA27, and this Court denied
Hurst’s petition for a writ of certiorari, 537 U.S. 977
(2002).
6
On post-conviction review, the Supreme Court of
Florida vacated Hurst’s death sentence. JA127. Based
on evidence presented at the post-conviction hearing,
the court held that there was “no reasonable, strategic
reason” for Hurst’s attorney’s failure to investigate or
present evidence concerning Hurs<’s borderline intelli-
gence—reflected in ‘‘an IQ of somewhere between 70
and 78” and “below average adaptive functioning
skills’—or evidence that Hurst suffered from brain
damage consistent with fetal alcohol syndrome. JA179-
187. Counsel’s failure, the court determined, “had an
identifiable detrimental effect on the process of weigh-
ing the aggravation and mitigation in this case.” JA190.
The court ordered that Hurst be resentenced.
B. Hurst’s Resentencing
1. Under Florida law, capital sentencing proceeds
“according to the procedure set forth in § 921.141” of
the Florida Statutes. Fla. Stat. § 775.082(1) (2011).' A
death sentence can be imposed only if that procedure
“yesults in findings by the court that such person shall
be punished by death,” id., including a finding that at
least one statutory aggravator exists, id. § 921.141(3)(a)
(2010). Otherwise, “such person shall be punished by
life imprisonment and shall be ineligible for parole.” /d.
§ 775.082(1).
Under § 921.141, the trial court begins the separate
penalty phase with a jury trial, but the jury’s role is
limited. “After hearing all the evidence,” the jury must
“deliberate and render an advisory sentence” recom-
mending either life imprisonment or death. Fla. Stat.
All citations of Florida Statutes are to the versions in effect
when Hurst was resentenced. The current versions remain sub-
stantially the same in relevant respects.
7
§ 921.141(2).? Only “a majority vote is necessary for a
death recommendation.” Awlt v. State, 53 So. 3d 175,
205 (Fla. 2010). The jury must consider:
(a) [wJhether sufficient paul aggravating
circumstances exist ..
(b) [wJhether sufficient mitigating circum-
stances exist which outweigh the aggravating
circumstances found to exist; and
(c) [bJased on these considerations, whether the
defendant should be sentenced to life impris-
onment or death.
Fla. Stat. § 921.141(2); see also id. § 921.141(5)-(6) (list-
ing aggravating and mitigating circumstances).
The jury may “return an advisory sentence in favor
of death [only if] a majority of the jury ... find[s} beyond
a reasonable doubt the existence of at least one aggra-
vating circumstance.” Ault, 53 So. 3d at 205. Florida
law, however, “does not require jury findings on aggra-
vating circumstances.” State v. Steele, 921 So. 2d 538,
544 (Fla. 2006). The trial court is actually prohibited
from using a special verdict form that would require the
jury to record its vote on each aggravating factor pre-
sented to it. Jd. at 544-548. Moreover, “{njothing in
[Florida law] ... requires a majority of the jury to agree
on which aggravating circumstances exist.” Jd. at 545.
As the Florida Supreme Court has explained, Florida
law permits a jury to recommend a death sentence
where four jurors believe one aggravator applies, and
The court may admit evidence it deems “probative” and
“relevant to the nature of the crime and the character of the de-
fendant ..., regardless of its admissibility under the exclusionary
rules of evidence, provided the defendant is accorded a fair oppor-
tunity to rebut any hearsay statements.” Fla. Stat. § 921.141(1).
8
three jurors believe a second aggravator applies, be-
cause in that situation, “seven jurors believe that at
least one aggravator applies.” /d.
Once the jury has rendered its advisory sentence,
the court may impose a death sentence only if it inde-
pendently finds beyond a reasonable doubt that at least
one “sufficient” aggravating circumstance exists and
that the aggravators are not outweighed by any miti-
gating circumstances. Williams v. State, 967 So. 2d 735,
751 (Fla. 2007); see also Kaczmar v. State, 104 So. 3d
990, 1006 (Fla. 2012); Alford v. State, 307 So. 2d 433, 444
(Fla. 1975); State v. Dixon, 283 So. 2d 1, 9 (Fla. 1973). In
making that determination, the court “is not bound by
the jury’s recommendation.” Williams, 967 So. 2d at
751. Instead, the judge has “final authority to deter-
mine the appropriate sentence.” I/d.; Engle v. State, 438
So. 2d 803, 813 (Fla. 1983). Section 921.141(3) directs
that “[nJotwithstanding the recommendation of a major-
ity of the jury, the court, after weighing the aggravat-
ing and mitigating circumstances, shall enter a sentence
of life imprisonment or death.” Although the court must
give the jury’s recommendation “great weight and seri-
ous consideration,” the court “must still exercise its rea-
soned judgment in deciding whether the death penalty
should be imposed.” Ross v. State, 386 So. 2d 1191, 1197
(Fla. 1980). Thus, “the trial court is required to make
independent findings on aggravation, mitigation, and
weight.” Russ v. State, 73 So. 3d 178, 198 (Fla. 2011).
To make those findings, the trial court typically
conducts a separate sentencing hearing before the
judge alone, known as a Spencer hearing, wherein both
sides are given “an opportunity to be heard,” “to pre-
sent additional evidence,” and “to comment on or rebut
information in any presentence or medical report.”
Spencer v. State, 615 So. 2d 688, 690-691 (Fla. 1993).
9
The court may consider evidence and arguments that
were not presented to the jury and may find aggrava-
tors that were not found by or presented to the jury.
Williams, 967 So. 2d at 751; Engle, 438 So. 2d at 813;
see also Bottoson v. Moore, 833 So. 2d 693, 709 (Fla.
2002); Davis v. State, 703 So. 2d 1055, 1061 (Fla. 1997).
If the court imposes the death sentence, it must “set
forth in writing its findings.” Fla. Stat. § 921.141(3).
And it is those “written findings of fact and the trial
record”—not the jury’s advisory verdict—that “furnish
the basis for [the Florida Supreme] Court’s review of ...
death sentences.” Grossman v. State, 525 So. 2d 833,
839 (Fla. 1988), receded from on other grounds in Fran-
qui v. State, 699 So. 2d 1312 (Fla. 1997).
2. Hurst’s resentencing proceeded in accordance
with these provisions of Florida law. On remand, the
trial court first allowed evidence of aggravating and
mitigating circumstances to be presented to the jury.
See JA296. “[TJhe State presented an abbreviated ver-
sion of the trial testimony as to the circumstances of
the murder,” id., and presented two aggravating cir-
cumstances to the jury: that Hurst had murdered Har-
rison while engaged in the commission of a robbery,
and that the murder was “especially heinous, atrocious,
or cruel,” Fla. Stat. § 921.141(5)(d), (h); see JA959-960.
Defense counsel invited the jury to question whether
there was reasonable doubt as to those aggravating cir-
cumstances and what weight to give them, JA978-980,
and “presented testimony concerning mitigation,”
JA296. In addition to Hurst’s young age at the time of
the murder, Hurst’s lack of prior criminal history, and
other mitigating circumstances, defense counsel con-
tended that Hurst’s capacity to conform his conduct to
law was substantially impaired by low mental function-
ing. JA970-977, 980-981, 984.
10
Several of Hurst’s relatives and teachers testified
about Hurst’s difficult childhood and limited mental ca-
pacity. For example, during pregnancy, Hurst’s moth-
er, who was just 15 years old at the time, “drank all day,
every day.” JA300. Hurst’s school wanted to place him
in a special-education program, but his mother objected.
JA301. By the time of the murder, Hurst was a 19-year-
old who “had to be reminded to take care of himself ...
[and] to bathe and dress appropriately.” Jd.
Several expert witnesses testified about Hurst’s in-
tellectual disabilities. A psychiatrist opined that
“Hurst has widespread abnormalities in multiple areas
of his brain ... associated with lack of judgment, risk
taking, impulsivity, and immaturity.” JA302. Two psy-
chologists testified that his IQ was as low as 69, and
that he is mentally retarded. JA268-269, 302-304. The
State’s psychologist, however, emphasized Hurst’s past
testing “resulting in ... IQ scores of 76 and 78,” and
concluded “that Hurst does not meet the criteria for
mental retardation.” JA304.°
At the end of the penalty-phase trial, the court in-
structed the jury as to its “duty” “to advise the court”
on Hurst’s sentence. JA207. The instructions empha-
sized that:
the final decision as to which punishment shall
be imposed is the responsibility of the judge. ...
However, the law requires you to render an
advisory sentence as to which punishment
should be imposed ...
* In light of this testimony, the trial court “determin[ed] that
Hurst did not meet the test for mental retardation as a bar to the
death penalty” under Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304 (2002).
J A304-306.
11
Although the recommendation of the jury as to
the penalty is advisory in nature and is not
binding, the jury recommendation must be giv-
en great weight and deference by the Court in
determining which punishment to impose.
JA207-208.
The court then instructed the jury that it could
consider two aggravating circumstances: whether
Hurst had committed the murder while engaged in the
commission of a robbery, and whether the murder was
“especially heinous, atrocious or cruel.” JA211-212.
The court also listed the mitigating circumstances the
jury could consider, JA213-214, and explained the
weighing of aggravating and mitigating circumstances
required under § 921.141, JA215. Finally, the court in-
structed that “it is not necessary that the advisory sen-
tence of the jury be unanimous.” /d. Rather, “[i}f a ma-
jority of the jury, seven or more, determine that Timo-
thy Lee Hurst should be sentenced to death, your advi-
sory sentence will be” a recommendation of death.
JA216.
After deliberating for less than two hours, the jury
recommended a death sentence. The vote was seven to
five. JA24-25. The verdict form did not identify any
aggravators found, JA217, and the trial court denied
Hurst’s request “for an interrogatory verdict to specify
the aggravators found and the votes on each,” J A307.
After discharging the jury, the trial court held a
Spencer hearing. JA218, 258. Hurst and the State each
presented sentencing memoranda, but presented no
additional evidence. JA230, 238, 258. Four months af-
ter the Spencer hearing, the court sentenced Hurst to
death. JA271. The court stated that it had “inde-
pendently weighfed] the aggravating and mitigating
12
circumstances.” JA259. The court underscored that it
had “carefully considered the evidence, the arguments
of counsel, and the relevant legal authority.” JA260.
The court made no mention of the jury’s advisory ver-
dict, except to say it “hald] given [the jury’s recom-
mendation] great weight.” JA271.
In its independent review of the sentencing evi-
dence, the court found and assigned “great weight” to
both aggravating circumstances presented by the
State—that the murder was “committed while [Hurst]
was engaged in the commission of a robbery” and that
the murder was “especially heinous, atrocious or cruel.”
JA261-263. The court also found and assigned “moder-
ate weight” to three mitigating circumstances: Hurst’s
lack of any significant criminal history, Hurst’s young
age at the time of the crime, and Hurst’s “significant
mental issues”—namely, his “limited intellectual capac-
ity” and the “widespread abnormalities in his brain ...
consistent with fetal alcohol syndrome,” which affect
“judgment and impulse control.” JA263-270. Finally,
the court concluded that, in its judgment, “the aggra-
vating factors applicable to this crime outweigh the
mitigating factors presented.” JA271.
C. The Decision Under Review
On automatic appeal to the Supreme Court of Flori-
da, see Fla. Stat. § 921.141(4), Hurst challenged his sen-
tence on several grounds. Among other things, Hurst
argued that, in light of Ring v. Arizona, 536 U.S. 584
(2002), “constitutional error occurred in his case because
the advisory jury in the penalty phase was not required
to find specific facts as to the aggravating factors, and
13
[because] the jury was not required to make a unani-
mous recommendation as to the sentence.” JA307.*
The Florida Supreme Court rejected Hurst’s ar-
guments and affirmed the death sentence. The court
observed that, before Ring, this Court had upheld Flor-
ida’s capital sentencing scheme in Hildwin v. Florida
on the ground that “{tJhe Sixth Amendment does not
require that the specific findings authorizing the impo-
sition of the sentence of death be made by the jury.”
J A309 (quoting 490 U.S. 638, 640-641 (1989)). Florida
courts had subsequently held that “Ring does not re-
quire the jury to make specific findings of the aggrava-
tors or to make a unanimous jury recommendation as to
sentence.” JA307. The Florida Supreme Court “de-
cline{[d] to revisit those decisions in [Hurst’s] case.”
J A308. The court concluded that Hildwin remains good
law because this Court “has never expressly overruled”
it and because “Florida’s sentencing procedures do
provide for jury input about the existence of aggravat-
ing factors prior to sentencing—a process that was
completely lacking in the Arizona statute struck down
in Ring.” JA309-310.
Justice Pariente dissented on the ground that
“there was no unanimous jury finding of either of the
two aggravating circumstances found by the trial
* Hurst also argued that the trial court had erred in rejecting
his assertion of mental retardation as a bar to execution under Af-
kins and refusing to submit the question of mental retardation to
the jury. JA297-298, 306. The Supreme Court of Florida rejected
each of these contentions. JA298-307.
Hurst’s petition for certiorari sought review of his Atkins
claim, including the question whether the factual issues relevant to
an Atkins claim must be submitted to the jury. Because the re-
vised question as to which this Court granted review does not ap-
pear to encompass those issues, this brief does not address them.
14
judge.” JA314. Justice Pariente observed that a de-
fendant convicted of first-degree murder is not eligible
for a death sentence in Florida unless additional find-
ings of fact are made regarding aggravators and miti-
gators. JA316. And under Ring, all facts necessary for
imposition of a sentence must be found by a jury.
JA316-317. In Hurst’s case, however, “the jury rec-
ommended death by the slimmest margin permitted
under Florida law—a bare majority seven-to-five vote,”
and it was “actually possible that there was not even a
majority of jurors who agreed that the same aggrava-
tor applied.” JA315. In Justice Pariente’s view, that
outcome contravened Ring, id., and raised “possible
Eighth Amendment implications” in light of “Florida’s
outlier status” as the only State that does not require a
unanimous jury finding of an aggravating circumstance
before a death sentence may be imposed, J A319-320.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
I. In Ring v. Arizona, this Court held that the
Sixth Amendment right to a jury trial requires that the
jury be entrusted with finding all facts necessary for
imposition of the death penalty, including sentencing
aggravators. 536 U.S. 584, 597 (2002). Florida’s capital
sentencing scheme, however, assigns that factfinding
responsibility to the trial judge. Although in Florida a
jury renders an advisory verdict recommending a sen-
tence, the jury makes no express findings as to aggra-
vating factors, and its recommendation of death is nei-
ther necessary nor sufficient for imposition of the death
sentence. Rather, the court independently makes its
own findings regarding aggravators and mitigators,
and it is the court’s factual findings—not the jury’s—
that authorize imposition of the death sentence. As this
Court has recognized, a “Florida trial court no more has
15
the assistance of a jury’s findings of fact with respect to
sentencing issues than d[id] a trial judge in Arizona”
under the scheme struck down in Ring. Walton v. Ari-
zona, 497 U.S. 639, 648 (1990). Consequently, Florida’s
capital sentencing scheme violates the Sixth Amend-
ment just as Arizona’s did.
Florida’s capital sentencing scheme violates the
Eighth Amendment, too, because it permits the judge
to impose the death penalty. In a concurring opinion in
Ring, Justice Breyer concluded that “the Eighth
Amendment requires that a jury, not a judge, make the
decision to sentence a defendant to death.” 536 U.S. at
614. Historically, the power to impose the death penal-
ty was the province of the jury, not the judge. Today,
nearly every jurisdiction that allows for the death pen-
alty requires the jury to impose it. And only imposition
by a jury, which embodies “the community’s moral sen-
sibility,” ensures that the death penalty serves its sole
legitimate penological function of retribution. Jd. at
614-615.
Il. In opposing certiorari in this case, the State
argued that Hurst’s sentence satisfies the Sixth
Amendment because the jury’s advisory verdict im-
plied that “the jury ha{d] ‘necessarily engag{ed] in the
factfinding required for imposition of a higher sen-
tence.” Opp. 15 (quoting Jones v. United States, 526
U.S. 227, 250-251 (1999)). But no such inference can be
drawn. The jury did not render explicit findings on ag-
gravators. It was not required to agree on which, if
any, of the two presented aggravators existed. And
each aggravator could have been rejected by two-thirds
of the jury. In any event, even if the jury had implicitly
made determinate factual findings, that would not cure
Florida’s Sixth Amendment violation because it was
the court’s findings, not the jury’s, that authorized the
16
death sentence. “Based solely on the jury’s verdict ...,
the maximum punishment [Hurst] could have received
was life imprisonment.” Ring, 536 U.S. at 597.
IIL. If this Court nonetheless concluded that Flori-
da’s capital sentencing scheme satisfied Ring because
the jury’s advisory verdict recommending death im-
plied the necessary factual findings, Hurst’s death sen-
tence would violate the Sixth and Eighth Amendments
for other reasons.
First, Hurst’s sentence would violate the Eighth
Amendment because the jury instructions would have
misleadingly “minimize[d] the jury’s sense of responsi-
bility for determining the appropriateness of death.”
Caldwell v. Mississippi, 472 U.S. 320, 341 (1985). The
jury was instructed that its sentencing verdict would
be purely advisory and that ultimate responsibility for
determining whether Hurst should be sentenced to
death rested with the trial court. The jury was not in-
structed that a recommendation of death would author-
ize the trial court to impose the death sentence.
Second, Hurst’s sentence would be unconstitutional
because no inference can be drawn from the jury’s rec-
ommendation that more than seven jurors found any
aggravator. Neither the Sixth nor the Eighth Amend-
ment—as incorporated under the Fourteenth Amend-
ment—tolerates a death sentence based on such a slim
vote. Florida’s simple-majority rule contravenes centu-
ries of practice recognizing unanimous verdicts as the
norm in criminal cases. It departs from the uniform po-
sition of the federal system and 49 other States in capi-
tal and non-capital cases. It disregards the bedrock
principle that the jury system is predicated on meaning-
ful deliberations, which a simple-majority vote cannot
safeguard. And it contradicts Florida’s own judgment
17
that unanimity is necessary for all jury findings of guilt.
This Court has never approved a verdict rendered by a
simple-majority vote for any non-petty offense. It
should not do so now, particularly in a capital case.
Finally, even if the Constitution permitted a death
sentence to be imposed when the jury has been misled
about its responsibility for the defendant’s sentence, or
has found necessary aggravating circumstances by only
a bare majority, or has reached no agreement that any
particular aggravator exists, a system that combines all
of those features cannot stand. Hurst’s sentence was
imposed under a sentencing scheme that undermines
the jury’s deliberative function from every angle. The
aggregate effect of Florida’s procedures prevented the
jury from engaging in the adequate “group delibera-
tion” the Constitution requires. Burch v. Louisiana,
441 U.S. 130, 135 (1979).
ARGUMENT
I. Fvorma’s CAPITAL SENTENCING SCHEME VIOLATES
THE CONSTITUTION UNDER RING
A. Fiorida’s Capital Sentencing Scheme Violates
The Sixth Amendment Because The Judge
Finds Facts Necessary For Imposition Of The
Death Penalty
Under Apprendi v. New Jersey, 580 U.S. 466 (2000),
and its progeny, “the Sixth Amendment provides de-
fendants with the right to have a jury find” the “facts
that increase the prescribed range of penalties to which
a criminal defendant is exposed ... beyond a reasonable
doubt.” Alleyne v. United States, 133 S. Ct. 2151, 2160
(2013) (quotation marks omitted). In Ring v. Arizona,
this Court applied that principle in the context of capital
sentencing to hold that “the Sixth Amendment’s jury
18
trial guarantee, made applicable to the States by the
Fourteenth Amendment, requires that the aggravating
factor determination be entrusted to the jury.” 536 U.S.
584, 597 (2002) (footnote omitted).
Florida’s capital sentencing scheme violates this
principle because it entrusts to the trial court instead of
the jury the task of “find[ing] an aggravating circum-
stance necessary for imposition of the death penalty.”
Ring, 536 U.S. at 609. Although in Florida a jury ren-
ders an advisory verdict recommending a sentence
based on its assessment of aggravators, mitigators, and
the balance between them, the jury makes no express
findings as to aggravators, and its recommendation of
death is neither necessary nor sufficient to authorize a
death sentence and therefore does not bring Florida’s
scheme into line with the Sixth Amendment. As this
Court has already observed, a “Florida trial court no
more has the assistance of a jury’s findings of fact with
respect to sentencing issues than d[id] a trial judge in
Arizona” under the capital sentencing scheme struck
down in Ring. Walton v. Arizona, 497 U.S. 639, 648
(1990). Consequently, as Ring made clear when it inval-
idated Arizona’s scheme, Florida’s scheme is also invalid.
1. Florida law permits the death penalty to be
imposed if and only if the sentencing proceeding “re-
sults in findings by the court that [the defendant] shall
be punished by death.” Fla. Stat. § 775.082(1) (empha-
sis added). The court must find beyond a reasonable
doubt that at least one “sufficient” statutory aggravat-
ing circumstance exists (and that the aggravators are
not outweighed by mitigating circumstances). /d.
§ 921.141(3). “[O]therwise,” Florida law states, the de-
fendant “shall be punished by life imprisonment.” 7d.
§ 775.082(1). Thus, “(t]he aggravating circumstances of
Fla. Stat. § 921.141(6) actually define those crimes ... to
19
which the death penalty is applicable in the absence of
mitigating circumstances.” State v. Dixon, 283 So. 2d 1,
9 (Fla. 1973). Florida law, therefore, violates the prin-
ciple set down in Ring that States may not entrust the
judge with finding any aggravating circumstances nec-
essary to authorize a death sentence.
Before Apprendi, this Court upheld Florida’s capi-
tal sentencing scheme against a similar Sixth Amend-
ment challenge. In Hildwin v. Florida, the Court de-
clared that because “an aggravating factor here is not
an element of the offense but instead ... ‘a sentencing
factor ...,’ the Sixth Amendment does not require that
the specific findings authorizing the imposition of the
sentence of death be made by the jury.” 490 U.S. 638,
640-641 (1989). But Apprendi, Ring, and subsequent
decisions “have uniformly rejected [the assumption]
that in determining the maximum punishment for an
offense, there is a constitutionally significant difference
between a fact that is an ‘element’ of the offense and
one that is a ‘sentencing factor.”” Southern Union Co.
v. United States, 132 S. Ct. 2344, 2356 (2012). When “an
aggravating circumstance [is] necessary for imposition
of the death penalty,” as it is under Florida law, it “op-
erate[s] as the functional equivalent of an element of a
greater offense” and therefore must “be found by a ju-
ry.” Ring, 536 US. at 609; see also Apprendi, 530 U.S.
at 482-483, 494 n.19. Hildwin does not survive those
later decisions.”
> Even if Hildwin remained valid, it would not control here
because one of the aggravators there was that the defendant “had
previous convictions for violent felonies,” 490 U.S. at 639, and so it
would fit the exception to Apprendi and Ring for the “fact of a pri-
or conviction.” Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296, 301 (2004).
Neither aggravating circumstance presented here fits that excep-
tion.
20
2. The Florida trial judge’s duty to give “great
weight” to the jury’s “advisory sentence” does not
spare Florida’s capital sentencing scheme from consti-
tutional invalidity under Ring by elevating the jury to
the role of sentencing factfinder, or even quasi-
factfinder. In Florida, authorization to impose the
death penalty derives solely from the trial court’s inde-
pendent findings regarding aggravating and mitigating
circumstances; the jury’s advisory verdict is not neces-
sary or sufficient to authorize the death penalty.
Time and again, the Florida Supreme Court has de-
clared that although the jury’s sentencing recommen-
dation carries “great weight,” the trial judge “must
conduct an independent analysis of the aggravating and
mitigating circumstances,” “regardless of the jury’s
recommendation.” Delgado vy. State, 2015 Fla. LEXIS
871, at *27-28 (Fla. Apr. 23, 2015) (quotation marks
omitted); see also, e.g., Fla. Stat. § 921.141(3) (trial
court must determine appropriate sentence
“(njotwithstanding the recommendation of a majority
of the jury”); Russ v. State, 73 So. 3d 178, 198 (Fla.
2011) (“{TJhe trial court is required to make independ-
ent findings on aggravation, mitigation, and weight.”);
Williams v. State, 967 So. 2d 735, 751 (Fla. 2007) (court
“is not bound by the jury’s recommendation, and is giv-
en final authority to determine the appropriate sen-
tence” (quotation marks omitted)); Ross v. State, 386
So. 2d 1191, 1197 (Fla. 1980) (“The trial court must still
exercise its reasoned judgment in deciding whether the
death penalty should be imposed.”). The trial court is
thus free to consider sentencing evidence and to find
aggravators that were never considered or found by
the jury, Williams, 967 So. 2d at 751; Spencer v. State,
615 So. 2d 688, 691 (Fla. 1993), and to impose the death
penalty even where the jury has recommended a life
21
sentence, see, ¢.g., Grossman v. State, 525 So. 2d 833,
840 (Fla. 1988), receded from on other grounds in
Franqui v. State, 699 So. 2d 1312 (Fla. 1997). And it is
the trial court’s findings, not the jury’s advisory verdict
or any findings arguably implicit in it, that the Florida
Supreme Court reviews. Grossman, 525 So. 2d at 839.
Consequently, the Florida Supreme Court has
made clear that the “great weight” accorded the jury’s
sentencing recommendation does not make the verdict
anything other than purely “advisory,” and it has dis-
missed the suggestion that the jury functions as “de
facto, if not de jure, sentencer” in capital cases. Gross-
man, 525 So. 2d at 839-840. In Combs v. State, for ex-
ample, the Florida Supreme Court held that the trial
court was not required to instruct the jury that “a life
sentence carries substantial weight and that a jury rec-
ommendation of life could be overridden only if virtual-
ly no reasonable person could differ.” 525 So. 2d 853,
855-858 (Fla. 1988). Such an instruction would have
been improper because “the court is the final decision-
maker and the sentencer—not the jury,” and “the ju-
ry’s sentencing recommendation in a capital case is on-
ly advisory.” Id. (quotation marks omitted); accord
Espinosa v. Florida, 505 U.S. 1079, 1081 (1992) (noting
State’s assertion that “in the Florida scheme, the jury
is not ‘the sentencer’ ... because the trial court is not
bound by the jury’s sentencing recommendation”). In
fact, the Florida Supreme Court has criticized trial
judges for relying too heavily on the advisory verdict,
but not for relying too little. Compare Ross, 386 So. 2d
at 1197 (vacating death sentence where “the trial court
gave undue weight to the jury’s recommendation of
death and did not make an independent judgment of
whether or not the death penalty should be imposed”),
with Carter v. State, 980 So. 2d 473, 483-484 (Fla. 2008)
22
(no abuse of discretion even though trial court did “not
expressly consider{]} the jury’s recommendation”).
This Court too has repeatedly recognized that, “[iJ]n
Florida, the jury’s sentencing recommendation in a cap-
ital case is only advisory.” Spaziano v. Florida, 468
U.S. 447, 451 (1984); see also Espinosa, 505 U.S. at
1080; Walton, 497 U.S. at 648; Porter v. McCollum, 558
U.S. 30, 40-41 (2009).
3. The Florida Supreme Court nonetheless denied
Hurst’s Ring challenge because “F'lorida’s sentencing
procedures do provide for jury input about the exist-
ence of aggravating factors prior to sentencing—a pro-
cess that was completely lacking in the Arizona statute
struck down in Ring.” JA310 (emphasis added). “Jury
input” may be a fair description of the role played by
the advisory verdict in Florida, but it is insufficient to
satisfy the Sixth Amendment—as this Court has al-
ready recognized.
In Walton, the defendant challenged Arizona’s capi-
tal sentencing scheme under the Sixth Amendment. The
Court began by reiterating Hildwin’s now-rejected dic-
tate that “the Sixth Amendment does not require that
the specific findings authorizing the imposition of the
sentence of death be made by the jury.” 497 U.S. at 648
(quoting 490 U.S. at 640-641). The defendant in Walton
attempted to avoid Hildwin’s implications by distin-
guishing Florida’s scheme from Arizona’s—just as the
court below did here—on the ground that Arizona’s
scheme did not provide for any advisory jury verdict.
This Court deemed that “distinction{] ... not persua-
sive.” Jd. at 648. Because a jury in Florida “does not
make specific factual findings with regard to the exist-
ence of mitigating or aggravating circumstances and its
recommendation is not binding on the trial judge,” the
23
Court concluded, a “Florida trial court no more has the
assistance of a jury’s findings of fact with respect to sen-
tencing issues than does a trial judge in Arizona.” Jd.
Subsequently in Ring, this Court “overrule[d] Wal-
ton to the extent that it allow[ed] a sentencing judge,
sitting without a jury, to find an aggravating circum-
stance necessary for imposition of the death penalty.”
536 U.S. at 609. Because this Court had rejected the
very distinction the court below sought to draw be-
tween Arizona’s and Florida’s capital sentencing
schemes, Ring’s invalidation of Arizona’s capital sen-
tencing scheme applies with equal force to Florida’s.
Even apart from the Court’s prior recognition that
Florida’s scheme is not meaningfully different from the
Arizona scheme struck down in Ring, the availability of
the jury’s advice—of its mere “input”—does not satisfy
the Sixth Amendment right to a jury trial. The Court
has repeatedly said that the Sixth Amendment prohib-
its entrusting the judge with “finding” the facts neces-
sary to impose the sentence. Ring, 536 U.S. at 597, 602;
United States v. Booker, 543 U.S. 220, 232 (2005); Al-
leyne, 133 S. Ct. at 2160. Across the many cases in
which the Court has considered the role of the jury
since Apprendi and Ring, it has never suggested that
such a Sixth Amendment defect could be cured simply
by having the jury provide advice.
The Court’s silence reflects the reality that an ad-
visory role would not serve the jury’s essential function
in preserving liberty. The jury-trial right “is no mere
procedural formality, but a fundamental reservation of
power in our constitutional structure.” Blakely v.
Washington, 542 U.S. 296, 305-306 (2004). Thus, the
“historic role of the jury” has been as “an intermediary
between the State and criminal defendants.” Alleyne,
24
133 S. Ct. at 2161. When the Sixth Amendment was
ratified, juries functioned as factfinders. Ring, 536 U.S.
at 599. That is the traditional role Apprendi and Ring
restored. But if a State could depart from that tradi-
tion and assign the jury an advisory role while vesting
the judge with responsibility for essential factfinding,
as Florida has, it could “relegate[] [the jury] to making
a determination that the defendant at some point did
something wrong, a mere preliminary to a judicial in-
quisition into the facts of the crime the State actually
seeks to punish.” Blakely, 542 U.S. at 307. For exam-
ple, much as this Court has feared before, under Flori-
da’s view of the Sixth Amendment, “a judge could sen-
tence a man for committing murder even if the jury
convicted him only of illegally possessing the firearm
used to commit it[,] or of making an illegal lane change
while fleeing the death scene”—as long as the jury also
offered the judge its recommendation as to whether the
judge should find him guilty of murder. Jd. at 306-307.
If that were permissible, “[t]he jury could not function
as circuitbreaker in the State’s machinery of justice.”
Id. at 306.
4. For the reasons discussed above, Ring’s over-
turning of Walton decisively repudiated Hildwin as
well. But even if that were not so, principles of stare
decisis would not stand in the way of now expressly
overruling Hildwin and holding Florida’s capital sen-
tencing scheme unconstitutional under Ring. “/S/tare
decisis cannot possibly be controlling” where the con-
stitutional precedent involves “a procedural rule [that]
does not serve as a guide to lawful behavior” and where
“the [precedent] has been proved manifestly erroneous,
and its underpinnings eroded, by subsequent decisions
of this Court.” United States v. Gaudin, 515 U.S. 506,
521 (1995); see also Alleyne, 133 S. Ct. at 2163 n.5 (“The
25
force of stare decisis is at its nadir in cases concerning
procedural rules that implicate fundamental constitu-
tional protections.”).
That is the case here. The Sixth Amendment’s bar
against entrusting a judge with finding any circum-
stance necessary to authorize the death penalty is a
fundamental rule of constitutional procedure. Alleyne,
133 S. Ct. at 2163 n.5 (Apprendi “concern[s] procedural
rules that implicate fundamental constitutional protec-
tions”); Blakely, 542 U.S. at 305-306 (right to jury trial
is “a fundamental reservation of power in our constitu-
tional structure”); Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145,
148-149 (1968) (right to jury trial is “fundamental
right”). As detailed above, from Apprendi through Al-
leyne, this Court has adopted and reinforced a view of
the Sixth Amendment that is utterly inconsistent with
Hildwin’s underpinnings—and it has overturned other
similarly aberrant precedents along the way. See Ring,
536 U.S. at 608-609 (overturning Walton); Alleyne, 133
S. Ct. at 2155 (overturning Harris v. United States, 536
U.S. 545 (2002)). Moreover, given that “Apprendi [and
Ring are} now more than a decade old,” any “reliance
interests” Florida might claim in Hildwin “are by this
point attenuated.” Southern Union, 132 S. Ct. at 2357.
Tellingly, the three other States that, at the time of
Ring, had “hybrid systems, in which the jury renders
an advisory verdict but the judge makes the ultimate
sentencing determinations,” Ring, 536 U.S. at 608 n.6,
modified their capital sentencing schemes after Ring to
ensure that the jury makes all findings necessary for
imposition of the death penalty (even if the judge still
selects the sentence). See Brice v. State, 815 A.2d 314,
320 (Del. 2003); Bostick v. State, 773 N.E.2d 266, 273
(Ind. 2002); Ex parte McGriff, 908 So. 2d 1024, 1037
(Ala. 2004).
26
Therefore, because F lorida’s outlier capital sentenc-
ing scheme entrusts to the trial court the task of finding
facts necessary for imposition of the death penalty, and
because the jury’s advisory role does not meaningfully
distinguish Florida’s scheme from the Arizona scheme
struck down in Ring, Florida’s scheme violates the
Sixth Amendment and must also be struck down. This
Court should no longer countenance “the repeated spec-
tacle of a man’s going to his death [in Florida] because a
judge found that an aggravating factor existed.” Ring,
536 U.S. at 612 (Scalia, J., concurring).
B. Florida’s Capital Sentencing Scheme Violates
The Eighth Amendment Because It Assigns
To The Judge The Power To Impose The
Death Penalty
In a concurring opinion in Ring, Justice Breyer
concluded that “the Eighth Amendment requires that a
jury, not a judge, make the decision to sentence a de-
fendant to death.” 536 U.S. at 614; see also Woodward
v. Alabama, 134 8. Ct. 405, 406-410 (2013) (Sotomayor,
J., dissenting from denial of certiorari). That conclusion
is correct. In Spaziano, this Court found no Eighth
Amendment violation in Florida’s commitment of capi-
tal sentencing to judges. 468 U.S. at 464-465. But it is
clear that each of the three guideposts of this Court’s
Eighth Amendment jurisprudence—history, current
practice, and independent judgment—compels the op-
posite conclusion: juries, not judges, must be responsi-
ble for imposing the death penalty. Nor can Spaziano
be salvaged on stare decisis grounds, for “(t]he force of
stare decisis is at its nadir in cases concerning proce-
dural rules that implicate fundamental constitutional
protections.” Alleyne, 133 S. Ct. at 2163 n.5. In answer
to the Court’s question whether Florida’s capital
27
sentencing scheme violates the Eighth Amendment in
light of Ring, the Court should therefore overrule Spa-
ziano and restore Florida juries to their traditional and
appropriate role as sentencers in capital cases.°
1. Historically, the power to impose the death
penalty was the province of the jury, not the judge.
English criminal law “prescribed a particular sentence
for each offense,” Apprendi, 530 U.S. at 479, and the
penalty for many felonies was fixed at death. See, e.g.,
Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280, 289 (1976)
(joint opinion); Eddings v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104,
110-111 (1982); Southern Union, 132 S. Ct. at 2361
(Breyer, J., dissenting). Juries routinely exercised this
sentencing discretion by “issuing ‘partial verdicts’ or
‘downvaluing’ stolen goods”—practices “immortalized
through Blackstone’s colorful phrase, ‘pious perjury.”
Douglass, Confronting Death: Sixth Amendment
Rights at Capital Sentencing, 105 Colum. L. Rev. 1967,
2013 (2005).' In fact, since most eighteenth-century
criminal trials lacked “contested inquiries into guilt or
innocence,” the primary function of the jury trial “was
to decide the sanction.” Langbein, The Origins of Ad-
versary Criminal Trial 59 (2003).
° To the extent the Court suggested in Proffitt v. Florida, 428
U.S. 242, 252 (1976), or Harris v. Alabama, 513 U.S. 504 (1995),
that jury sentencing is not constitutionally required in capital cas-
es, those suggestions are unavailing for the same reasons that
counsel] in favor of overruling Spaziano.
” Judges did have some power to effect a downward depar-
ture from a jury-imposed death sentence by seeking a royal par-
don. Lillquist, The Puzzling Return of Jury Sentencing: Misgiv-
ings about Apprendi, 82 N.C. L. Rev. 621, 638 (2004). But no au-
thority suggests that a judge could unilaterally impose a death
sentence against the jury’s verdict.
28
American juries similarly held unilateral power to
impose the death penalty. For example, in homicide
cases, juries “had the option of (1) convicting the de-
fendant of murder, which carried a mandatory death
sentence; (2) convicting the defendant of manslaughter,
which was not a capital crime; or (3) acquitting the de-
fendant.” Lillquist, The Puzzling Return of Jury Sen-
tencing: Misgivings about Apprendi, 82 N.C. L. Rev.
621, 648 (2004). In effect, this “g[a]ve the jury not only
the power of conviction, but also the power of execu-
tion.” I/d.; see also lontcheva, Jury Sentencing as
Democratic Practice, 89 Va. L. Rev. 311, 323 (2003)
(“More than factfinders, juries decided the fate of the
defendants they convicted.”).
In the early nineteenth century, many American
States became concerned about the harshness of man-
datory death penalties, as well as the rate of “mercy”
acquittals of guilty defendants. Woodson, 428 U.S. at
289-290. The States responded by giving juries more
power over sentencing. The first wave of reforms cre-
ated new categories of homicide, which gave juries
more discretion to convict defendants of non-capital
homicide. Id. at 290. As that option failed to resolve
the concern, States gave juries yet more sentencing au-
thority, “forthrightly granting juries the discretion
which they had been exercising in fact.” McGautha v.
California, 402 U.S. 183, 199-200 (1971), vacated on
other grounds sub nom. Crampton v. Ohio, 408 U.S.
941 (1972); see also Woodson, 428 U.S. at 289-290.
2. The jury’s authority over capital sentencing
remained consistent in the twentieth century despite
shifts in American views regarding capital punishment.
See, e.g., Andres v. United States, 333 U.S. 740, 758
(1948) (Frankfurter, J., concurring) (jury had power
over sentencing in all but three of 43 States with death
29
penalty); Knowlton, Problems of Jury Discretion in
Capital Cases, 101 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1099, 1100-1101
(1953) (“[Tlhirty-five states and the Federal Govern-
ment provide that the jury shall determine whether the
death penalty shall be imposed, four provide that the
jury may recommend the punishment to be inflicted but
that such recommendation shall not be binding upon
the judge, and six have abolished the death penalty for
murder, leaving only three that still require capital
punishment” (footnotes omitted)).* In Spaziano itself,
this Court recognized that among the States that had
reinstated the death penalty after Furman, “the major-
ity view [was] that capital sentencing ... should be per-
formed by a jury.” 468 U.S. at 463 (30 of 37 jurisdic-
tions with capital sentencing statutes “give the life-or-
death decision to the jury”).
The consensus of other jurisdictions continues to
make jury sentencing the norm in the modern era of
bifurcated (or trifurcated) capital sentencing. In 27 of
the 31 States that maintain the death penalty, as well
as in the federal system, the jury makes the final deci-
sion whether to impose the death penalty. See Wood-
ward, 134 8. Ct. at 407 (Sotomayor, J., dissenting from
denial of certiorari).? Only Florida, Alabama, Dela-
ware, and Montana leave the final sentencing decision
to the court. /d.
* When this Court decided Furman, Florida, too, “gave the
jury complete life-ordeath discretion.” Ehrhardt & Levinson,
Florida's Legislative Response to Furman: An Exercise in Futili-
ty?, 64 J. Crim. L. & Criminology 10, 17 (1973). Juries in Florida
had authority to choose between death and life sentences for near-
ly 100 years. See Newton v. State, 21 Fla. 53, 100 (1884).
* Nebraska, which also left the capital sentencing decision to
the judge, Woodward, 134 S. Ct. at 407, abolished the death penal-
ty by statute enacted on May 27, 2015.
30
3. Finally, evaluating the relevant penological in-
terests confirms that juries should make the final deci-
sion as to life or death in capital cases. “{UJ]nless a
criminal sanction serves a legitimate penological func-
tion, it constitutes ‘gratuitous infliction of suffering’ in
violation of the Eighth Amendment.” Baze v. Rees, 553
U.S. 35, 78 (2008) (Stevens, J., concurring); Gregg v.
Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 183 (1976) (joint opinion). Of the
principal functions of criminal sentencing—
rehabilitation, incapacitation, deterrence, and retribu-
tion—only retribution provides a constitutionally de-
fensible basis for application of the death penalty.
Baze, 553 U.S. at 79 (Stevens, J., concurring); Ring, 536
U.S. at 614-615 (Breyer, J., concurring).'® But, as Jus-
tice Breyer explained in his Ring concurrence, “{ijn re-
spect to retribution, jurors possess an important com-
parative advantage over judges.” /d. at 615. Juries
“are more attuned to ‘the community’s moral sensibil-
ity” and “reflect more accurately the composition and
experiences of the community as a whole.” /d. (quoting
Spaziano, 468 U.S. at 481, 486 (Stevens, J., concurring
in part and dissenting in part)). As a result, they more
faithfully “express the conscience of the community on
the ultimate question of life or death” in a specific case.
Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 510, 519 (1968). By
contrast, Florida’s transfer of the ultimate sentencing
decision “to a lone government official’s decree,”
Harris, 513 U.S. at 522-523 (Stevens, J., dissenting),
” Rehabilitation does not apply, and incapacitation is accom-
plished by a life sentence without possibility of parole. Baze, 553
U.S. at 78 (Stevens, J., concurring); Ring, 536 U.S. at 615 (Breyer,
J., concurring). And “there remains no reliable statistical evidence
that capital punishment in fact deters potential offenders.” Baze,
553 U.S. at 79 (Stevens, J., concurring); see also Ring, 536 US. at
614-615 (Breyer, J., concurring). Reliance on these interests in
Spaziano, 468 U.S. at 461-462, was misplaced.
31
unmoors the death penalty from its function as an “ex-
press{ion of] the community’s belief that certain crimes
are themselves so grievous an affront to humanity that
the only adequate response may be the penalty of
death.” Gregg, 428 U.S. at 184 (joint opinion); see also
id. at 183 (“(C]Japital punishment is an expression of so-
ciety’s moral outrage at particularly offensive con-
duct.”). And, in so doing, Florida’s scheme undermines
the reliability of the punishment as a reflection of con-
temporary moral values.
Il. THE JuRY’s ADVISORY VERDICT DOES Not IMPLY THE
FINDING REQUIRED By RING
In opposing certiorari in this case, the State argued
that where the jury has recommended a sentence of
death, “the jury has ‘necessarily engag[ed] in the fact-
finding required for imposition of a higher sentence.”
Opp. 15 (quoting Jones v. United States, 526 U.S. 227,
250-251 (1999)). On that view, there was no Ring viola-
tion in this case because the jury’s advisory verdict
recommending death implied that it had found at least
one aggravating factor, thereby authorizing the trial
court to impose the death penalty. This contention is
both factually wrong and unavailing under Ring.
1. It cannot be inferred that the jury found any
particular aggravator. The jury certainly did not make
explicit findings on aggravators. See JA217. Florida
prohibits the trial court from “using a penalty phase
special verdict form that details the jurors’ determina-
tion concerning aggravating factors.” State v. Steele,
921 So. 2d 538, 548 (Fla. 2006); see also Espinosa, 505
U.S. at 1080 (“verdict does not include specific findings
of aggravating and mitigating circumstances”); Walton,
497 U.S. at 648 (“[IJn Florida the jury ... does not make
specific factual findings with regard to the existence of
32
mitigating or aggravating circumstances.”). The trial
court accordingly denied Hurst’s request to use such a
form. J A307.
Nor does the jury’s seven-to-five vote recommend-
ing death support an inference that a majority of jurors
found any one aggravator. Although the jurors were
instructed that they could recommend death only if
they “determine[d] that at least one aggravating cir-
cumstance is found to exist,” JA215, they were pre-
sented with two aggravating circumstances, JA211-212.
And “(nothing in [Florida law] ... requires a majority
of the jury to agree on which aggravating circumstanc-
es exist.” Steele, 921 So. 2d at 545. It is entirely possi-
ble that as few as four jurors found one aggravator and
three found the other, and thus that each aggravator
was rejected by at least two-thirds of the jurors. See
id. (observing that Florida permits this precise scenar-
io); see Sochor v. Florida, 504 U.S. 527, 538 (1992) (“Be-
cause the jury in Florida does not reveal the aggravat-
ing factors on which it relies, we cannot know whether
this jury actually relied on [a particular] factor.”).''
The advisory verdict’s inherent indeterminacy with re-
spect to aggravators—which will exist in every capital
case in Florida except where the jury is presented with
only one aggravator and votes to recommend a death
sentence—precludes the advisory verdict from bring-
ing Hurst’s sentence into line with the Sixth Amend-
ment under Ring because it cannot be said that the ju-
ry has actually found a fact necessary to authorize the
sentence.
'' The jury’s earlier verdict convicting Hurst of first-degree
murder also does not imply that the jury found facts sufficient to
establish any particular aggravator. Supra p. 5.
33
2. In any event, implicit factual findings—
whether determinate or indeterminate—cannot cure
Florida’s Ring violation because, as discussed, under
Florida law it is the court’s findings alone, not the ju-
ry’s verdict or any findings implied by that verdict, that
authorizes the death sentence.
The State’s contrary argument (Opp. 15) rests on
this Court’s remark in Jones v. United States that the
unanimous jury in Hildwin “made a sentencing recom-
mendation of death, thus necessarily engaging in the
factfinding required for imposition of a higher sentence,
that is, the determination that at least one aggravating
factor had been proved.” 526 U.S. 227, 250-251 (1999).
But Jones does not express the Court’s considered, au-
thoritative judgment about the constitutionality of
Florida’s capital sentencing scheme in general or of a
death sentence after a jury recommendation of death in
particular. In Jones, the Court addressed the Sixth
Amendment to ascertain whether one proposed inter-
pretation of the federal statute before it “would raise
serious constitutional questions” that could be avoided
by adopting a different interpretation. See 526 U.S. at
250-252. The Court did not decide what the Constitu-
tion actually requires. /d. In addition, Jones was de-
cided before Ring and Apprendi, at a time when the
Court was still “endeavor[ing] to distinguish certain
capital sentencing decisions, including Walton,” without
confronting the Sixth Amendment issues it ultimately
resolved in Ring. Ring, 536 U.S. at 600-603.
Ring has since made clear that even if the jury’s
advisory sentence recommending death implied that
the jury here had found at least one aggravator—and
as discussed above, it does not—Hurst’s sentence
would not comport with the Sixth Amendment. Just as
in Ring, the jury’s recommendation of death here did
34
not authorize a death sentence. “Based solely on the
jury’s verdict”—whether its guilty verdict, its advisory
verdict recommending death, or both—“the maximum
punishment [Hurst] could have received was life im-
prisonment.” Ring, 536 U.S. at 597. “This was so be-
cause”—as discussed above—in Florida, as in Arizona
at the time of Ring, “a death sentence may not legally
be imposed ... unless at least one aggravating factor is
found to exist beyond a reasonable doubt” by the trial
court. /d.; Blakely, 542 U.S. at 304 (“When a judge in-
flicts punishment that the jury’s verdict alone does not
allow, the jury has not found all the facts which the law
makes essential to the punishment, and the judge ex-
ceeds his proper authority.” (quotation marks and cita-
tion omitted)). Florida bars the use of a special verdict
form for capital sentencing precisely because “requir-
ing specific jury findings on aggravators without guid-
ance about their effect on the imposition of a sentence
could ... harm[] the trial court’s independent determi-
nation of the existence of the aggravating and mitigat-
ing circumstances.” Franklin v. State, 965 So. 2d 79,
102 (Fla. 2007) (quotation marks omitted). The State’s
“implicit findings” theory therefore fails.
I. Ir THE JuRY’S ADVISORY VERDICT IMPLIED THE FIND-
ING REQUIRED By RING, Hurst’s SENTENCE WOULD
VIOLATE THE CONSTITUTION FOR OTHER REASONS
If, contrary to the arguments above, the State were
correct that the jury’s advisory verdict satisfied Ring
on the theory that the jury implicitly made the findings
of fact necessary to authorize imposition of the death
sentence, Hurst’s sentence still could not be sustained.
Florida law imposes constraints that would scuttle the
jury’s function as responsible factfinder and bulwark of
the community’s judgment.
35
A. Hurst’s Sentence Would Violate The Eighth
Amendment Because It Would Have Been
Based On Jury Instructions That Mislead-
ingly Minimized The Jury’s Sense Of Re-
sponsibility
If the jury’s advisory verdict implied the finding
necessary to satisfy Ring, then Hurst’s sentence would
violate the Eighth Amendment because the jury in-
structions would have misleadingly “minimize[d] the
jury’s sense of responsibility for determining the ap-
propriateness of death.” Caldwell v. Mississipm, 472
U.S. 320, 341 (1985); see also Romano v. Oklahoma, 512
U.S. 1, 8 (1994). Under the Eighth Amendment, “it is
constitutionally impermissible to rest a death sentence
on a determination made by a sentencer who has been
led to believe that the responsibility for determining
the appropriateness of the defendant’s death rests
elsewhere.” Caldwell, 472 U.S. at 328-329; see also id.
at 342 (O’Connor, J., concurring) (“(TJhe prosecutor’s
remarks were impermissible because they were inaccu-
rate and misleading in a manner that diminished the
jury’s sense of responsibility.”).
Here, the jury was instructed that its sentencing
verdict would be purely advisory and that responsibil-
ity for determining whether Hurst should be sentenced
to death rested with the trial court. Before the jurors
retired to deliberate, the trial court told them that
theirs would be “an advisory sentence,” and that, alt-
hough their recommendation “must be given great
weight,” “the final decision as to which punishment
shall be imposed is the responsibility of the judge.”
JA207-208. Nowhere did the court instruct the jury
that its verdict would constrain the court’s sentencing
deliberation, let alone control it. Nowhere did the court
instruct that the jury’s recommendation alone was
36
sufficient to authorize the court to impose the death
sentence by (implicitly) finding at least one aggravating
circumstance. And nowhere did the court instruct that
the jury’s finding of an aggravator was necessary for
the imposition of a capital sentence.
The Florida Supreme Court has acknowledged this
Eighth Amendment concern. In Combs, the court re-
jected a Caldwell objection to Florida’s standard jury
instructions—which have remained substantially the
same as the instructions given here, see 525 So. 2d at
856-857—but did so only because the jury’s sentence
was “only advisory,” such that the instructions were
not misleading. Jd. In doing so, the court acknowl-
edged that if the jury’s verdict were not merely adviso-
ry, then the court “would necessarily have to find that
[Florida’s} standard jury instructions, as they have ex-
isted since 1976, violate the dictates of Caldwell,”
thereby requiring “a resentencing proceeding for vir-
tually every individual sentenced to death in this state
since 1976.” Jd. at 858 (quotation marks omitted).
B. Hurst’s Sentence Would Violate The Sixth
And Eighth Amendments Because The Jury’s
Supposed Implied Finding May Have Been
Made By Only A Simple Majority
In addition, if the jury’s recommendation implied a
factual finding as to aggravating circumstances that au-
thorized imposition of the death penalty, that finding
would not satisfy the Sixth and Eighth Amendments
because no inference can be drawn from the jury’s rec-
ommendation that more than seven jurors found an ag-
gravator. JA215-217. This Court has never accepted
that an element of a serious crime—which is how ag-
gravators must be viewed for Sixth Amendment pur-
poses under Ring, supra p. 19—can be found by a sim-
37
ple-majority verdict. It should not do so now, and it
should especially not do so in a capital case. Florida’s
simple-majority rule contravenes centuries of jurispru-
dential history recognizing unanimous verdicts as the
norm if ©riminal cases. It stands as the lone outlier
against tne uniform position of the federal system and
49 other States—in capital and non-capital offenses
alike. It lacks the safeguards of fairness that are se-
cured by more demanding voting rules, which find sup-
port in social science addressing the unanimity re-
quirement. And it contradicts Florida’s own judgment
that unanimity is necessary for all jury findings of guilt.
1. The Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments
forbid simple-majority jury verdicts
Allowing the aggravating circumstances that make
a defendant eligible for a death sentence to be estab-
lished by a simple-majority vote violates the right to a
jury trial secured by the Sixth and Fourteenth
Amendments.
1. This Court has never approved a simple-
majority rule for jury verdicts in criminal cases. The
guarantee of a jury trial “reflect(s] ... a reluctance to
entrust plenary powers over the life and liberty of the
citizen to one judge or to a group of judges.” Duncan,
391 U.S. at 156. As this Court has emphasized, by
“(p]roviding an accused with the right to be tried by a
jury of his peers,” the Framers “gave him an inestima-
ble safeguard against the corrupt or overzealous prose-
cutor and against the compliant, biased, or eccentric
judge.” Id.
The Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments fulfill
these purposes in slightly different ways in federal and
state cases, respectively. In federal cases, the Sixth
38
Amendment requires that all convictions for non-petty
offenses be by a unanimous jury verdict. Andres, 333
U.S. at 748-749; Hawaii v. Mankichi, 190 U.S. 197, 211-
212 (1903). Thus, Hurst’s sentence could not constitu-
tionally have been imposed in federal court. Ring re-
quires that “the aggravating circumstances necessary
for the imposition of the death penalty” be found by the
jury, 536 U.S. at 609; but Florida does not require una-
nimity for aggravators, and the jury here was instruct-
ed accordingly, JA215-217.
The standard is somewhat different—but no more
tolerant of a simple-majority rule—in state cases. This
distinction results from the Court’s splintered ruling in
Apodaca v. Oregon, 406 U.S. 404 (1972), involving Ore-
gon’s “ten of twelve” rule. In Apodaca, eight Justices
agreed that the right to a jury trial “applied identically”
in federal and state cases. McDonald v. City of Chica-
go, 561 U.S. 742, 766 n.14 (2010) (plurality) (citing John-
son v. Louisiana, 406 U.S. 356, 395 (1972) (Brennan, J.,
dissenting in Apodaca)). But because those eight Jus-
tices were evenly divided on whether the Sixth
Amendment required unanimity, Justice Powell’s sepa-
rate concurrence broke the tie, and he concluded that
the Sixth Amendment requires unanimity in federal
cases, but that Oregon’s “ten of twelve” rule passed
muster under the Fourteenth Amendment. /d.; John-
son, 406 U.S. at 369-380 (Powell, J., concurring in the
judgment in Apodaca); id. at 381-382 (Douglas, J., dis-
senting); Apodaca, 406 U.S. at 406 (plurality); id. at
414-415 (Stewart, J., dissenting). As a result, the per se
unanimity requirement applicable in federal cases does
not extend fully to the States. But the States are still
prohibited from altering their jury systems—including
their voting rules—in a way that threatens the “jury’s
essential feature”: “the ‘interposition between the
39
accused and his accuser of the commonsense judgment
of a group of laymen” and “the community participa-
tion and shared responsibility that results from that
group’s determination of guilt or innocence.” Burch v.
Louisiana, 441 U.S. 130, 135 (1979).
Apodaca itself casts serious doubt on a simple-
majority rule. While a majority of the Apodaca Court
declined to recognize an across-the-board unanimity
requirement in state cases, another (overlapping) ma-
jority made clear that a simple-majority rule would, at
a minimum, raise great constitutional concerns. See
Apodaca, 406 U.S. at 414 (Stewart, J., joined by Bren-
nan, J., and Marshall, J., dissenting) (unanimity re-
quired in state court); Johnson, 406 U.S. at 380-381
(Douglas, J., joined by Brennan, J., and Marshall, J.)
(same); Johnson, 406 U.S. at 415 (Blackmun, J., concur-
ring in Apodaca) (“a system employing a 7-5 standard,
rather than a 9-3 or 75% minimum, would afford me
great difficulty”). And Justice Powell recognized that
“{alpproval of Oregon’s 10-2 requirement does not com-
pel acceptance of all other majority-verdict alterna-
tives.” Johnson, 406 U.S. at 377 n.21 (Powell, J., con-
curring in the judgment in Apodaca). With four Justic-
es believing a simple-majority rule unconstitutional,
one Justice expressing “great difficulty,” and another
Justice disclaiming any approval, Apodaca lends no
support to Florida’s simple-majority rule.
2. Each of the factors this Court considers in the
Sixth Amendment context—history, current practice,
and functional considerations, e.g., Apprendi, 530 U.S.
at 478-484; Burch, 441 U.S. at 138-139—confirms that a
simple-majority rule is inadequate to fulfill the jury tri-
al’s fundamental purposes.
40
By the eighteenth century, it was well-established
that a guilty verdict in criminal cases required a unan-
imous jury. Sir William Blackstone explained that “the
trial by jury ... is the most transcendent privilege
which any subject can enjoy, or wish for, that he cannot
be affected either in his property, his liberty, or his
person, but by the unanimous consent of twelve of his
neighbours and equals.” 3 Blackstone, Commentaries
on the Laws of England 379 (1768); see also 4 Black-
stone, Commentaries on the Laws of England 343
(1769) (“(Tjhe truth of every accusation ... should af-
terwards be confirmed by the unanimous suffrage of
twelve of [the defendant’s] equals and neighbours,”
quoted in Apprendi, 530 U.S. at 477). Similarly, John
Adams wrote in 1786 that “it is the unanimity of the ju-
ry that preserves the rights of mankind.” 1 Adams, A
Defence of the Constitutions of Government of the
United States of America 376 (3d ed. 1797). Justice
Wilson concurred in his lectures in 1790-1791: “To the
conviction of a crime, the undoubting and the unani-
mous sentiment of the twelve jurors is of indispensable
necessity.” 2 Wilson, The Works of the Honourable
James Wilson, LL.D. 350 (1804). And James Madison’s
draft of the Sixth Amendment explicitly provided for
the right to trial “by an impartial jury of freeholders of
the vicinage, with the requisite of unanimity for convic-
tion, of the right of challenge, and other accustomed
requisites.” 1 Annals of Cong. 452 (1789).’*
'2 Whether Madison’s inclusion of “unanimity” alongside the
“other accustomed requisites” of the jury-trial right shows that
Congress intended to constitutionalize a unanimity requirement in
the Sixth Amendment may be debated in light of Congress’s
amendment of Madison’s draft. See Apodaca, 406 U.S. at 409-410
(plurality). But, at a minimum, Madison’s draft confirms that, at
the time of the Founding, more than a bare majority was required.
41
In the early nineteenth century, Justice Story simi-
larly observed that, in criminal cases, “unanimity in the
verdict of the jury is indispensable.” 3 Story, Commen-
taries on the Constitution of the United States § 777, at
248 (1833). And unanimity—not a bare-majority rule—
continued to define the contours of the right to a jury
trial at the time of the Fourteenth Amendment’s ratifi-
cation. See, e.g., Cooley, A Treatise on the Constitu-
tional Limitations Which Rest Upon the Legislative
Power of the States of the American Union 320 (1868)
(“The jury must unanimously concur in the verdict.”);
1 Bishop, Commentaries on the Law of Criminal Pro-
cedure 532 (1866) (statute authorizing a verdict “upon
anything short of the unanimous consent of the twelve
jurors” is “void”); Tiffany, A Treatise on Government,
and Constitutional Law 367 (1867) (“[T]rial by jury is
understood to mean—generally—trial by a jury of
twelve men, impartially selected, and who must unani-
mously concur in the guilt of the accused before a legal
conviction can be had.”); Proffatt, A Treatise on Trial
by Jury 119 (1880) (“[I]}t is required that th{e] jury shall
be unanimous.”).
The “current jury practices of the several States”
establish that a simple-majority rule is an aberration by
contemporary standards as well. Burch, 441 U.S. at
138. No State, except Florida, applies a simple-majority
verdict rule with respect to the elements of any serious
(i.e., non-petty) crime—much less for capital cases.'’
The federal system and all States but two—Oregon and
Louisiana—require unanimity to convict a defendant of
'S-The Sixth Amendment right to trial by jury applies to
“non-petty” offenses—i.e., those where imprisonment for more
than six months is authorized. Baldwin v. New York, 399 U.S. 66,
68-69 (1970).
42
any non-petty offense.'* The two outliers deviate from
unanimity only to the extent of allowing a ten-to-two
verdict, and even then only in non-capital cases. In cap-
ital cases, both Louisiana and Oregon require unanimity
at all stages. La. Const. art. I, § 17(A); La. Code Crim.
P. Ann. art. 782(A); Or. Const. art. I, § 11.
'* See Ala. R. Crim. P. 23.1(a); Alaska R. Crim. P. 31(a); Ariz.
Const. art. II, § 23; Ark. Code Ann. § 16-89-126(a), 128; Cal. Const.
art. I, § 16; People v. Russo, 25 P.3d 641, 645 (Cal. 2001); Colo. Rev.
Stat. Ann. § 16-10-108; Colo. R. Crim. P. 31(a(3); Conn. Super. Ct.
R. Crim. P. § 42-29; Del. Super. Ct. R. Crim. P. 31(a); Fla. R. Crim.
P. 3.440; Ball v. State, 70 S.E. 888 (Ga. Ct. App. 1911); State v.
Arceo, 928 P.2d 843, 872 (Haw. 1996); Idaho Crim. Ct. R. 31(a); Ida-
ho Code Ann. §§ 19-2316, 2317; 725 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/115-4(0); Ind.
St. Ct. Jury R. 16(a); Fisher v. State, 291 N.E. 2d 76, 82 (Ind. 1973),
Iowa R. Crim. P. 2.22(5); Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-3421; Ky. R. Crim. P.
9.82(1); Me. R. Crim. P. 31(a); Md. Const. Decl. of Rights, art. 21;
Md. R. 4-327(a); Mass. R. Crim. P. 27(a); Mich. Ct. R. 6.410(B);
Minn. R. Crim. P. 26.01, subd. 1(5); Miss. Const. art. 3, § 31; Ful-
gham v. State, 46 So. 3d 315, 324 (Miss. 2010); Mo. Const. art. I, sec.
22(a); State v. Celis-Garcia, 344 S.W.3d 150, 155 (Mo. 2011) (en
banc); Mont. Const. art. II, § 26; Neb. Const. art. I, § 6; State v.
Hochstein, 632 N.W.2d 273, 282 (Neb. 2001); Nev. Rev. Stat.
§ 175.481; N.H. Const. Pt. 1, art. 15; State v. Dushame, 616 A2d
469, 472 (N.H. 1992); N.J. Ct. R. 1:8-9; N.M. R. Crim. P. 5-611(A);
N.Y. Const. art. 1, § 2; People v. DeCillis, 199 N.E.2d 380, 381 (N.Y.
1964); N.C. Const. art. I, § 24; N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-1201-(a); N.D.
Const. art. I, § 13; Ohio R. Crim. P. 31(A); Okla. Const. art. I], § 19;
Pa. R. Crim. P. 648(B); R.I. Super. R. Crim. P. 31(a); State v. Logue,
28 S.E.2d 788, 791 (S.C. 1944); S.D. Codified Laws § 23A-26-1; Tenn.
R. Crim. P. 31(a); Tex. Code Crim. P. arts. 36.2%a), 37.02, 37.03;
Utah Const. art. I, § 10; Utah R. Crim. P. 21(b); Va. Const. art. I, §
8; Va. S. Ct. R. 3A:17(a); Vt. Const. ch. I, art. 10; Vt. R. Crim. P.
31(a), Wash. Super. Ct. Crim. R. § 6.16(aX2); W. Va. R. Crim. P.
31(a); Wis. Const. art. I, $§ 5, 7; Holland v. State, 280 N.W.2d 288,
290 (Wis. 1979); Wyo. Stat. § 7-11-501. Fed. R. Crim. P. 31(a). The
Uniform Code of Military Justice requires a unanimous verdict for
capital crimes; a two-thirds majority is required for all other of-
fenses. 10 U.S.C. § 852(a); R. for Courts-Martial 1004(a\2).
43
The consensus is even stronger with respect to
findings that make a defendant eligible for the death
penalty. The federal system and all other States that
retain the death penalty require that such findings be
made by a unanimous jury. See Steele, 921 So. 2d at
548-549 & nn.3-5.'° The Florida Supreme Court itself
has recognized that Florida is now “the outlier state.”
Id. at 550.
The American system’s rejection of simple-
majority verdict rules is not just well-established; it is
eminently well-founded. This Court has “long been of
the view that ‘the very object of the jury system is to
secure unanimity by a comparison of views, and by ar-
guments among the jurors themselves.” Jones v.
United States, 527 U.S. 373, 382 (1999) (quoting Allen
v. United States, 164 U.S. 492, 501 (1896)) (brackets
omitted). As Justice Kennedy explained when sitting
on the court of appeals:
The dynamics of the jury process are such that
often only one or two members express doubt
'S Since Steele surveyed the States in 2005, seven States
(Connecticut, Illinois, Maryland, Nebraska, New Jersey, New
Mexico, and New York) have eliminated the death penalty, bring-
ing the number of capital-punishment States to 31. Further, while
Steele stated that, in Utah and Virginia, the jury need not neces-
sarily “find each aggravator unanimously,” 921 So. 2d at 549 (em-
phasis added), both require unanimity for the aggravators neces-
sary to make the defendant death-eligible. See Archuleta v.
Galetka, 267 P.3d 232, 259 (Utah 2011) (“{Tyhe fact finder in the
guilt phase must find—unanimously and beyond a reasonable
doubt—the statutory aggravator that makes death a possible sen-
tence”); Prieto v. Commonwealth, 682 S.E.2d 910, 985 (Va. 2009)
(holding, after Steele, that unanimity as to aggravators is re-
quired). In both Utah and Virginia, moreover, “the jury must
unanimously recommend the death penalty.” Steele, 921 So. 2d at
549.
44
as to [the] view held by a majority at the outset
of deliberations. A rule which insists on una-
nimity furthers the deliberative process by re-
quiring the minority view to be examined and,
if possible, accepted or rejected by the entire
jury. The requirement of jury unanimity thus
has a precise effect on the fact-finding process,
one which gives particular significance and con-
clusiveness to the jury’s verdict.
United States v. Lopez, 581 F.2d 1338, 1341 (9th Cir.
1978). Non-unanimous voting rules compromise this
function—most severely when the voting rule is a sim-
ple majority.
Empirical research confirms that concern. Accord-
ing to a 2001 study, “several consistent findings have
emerged” in research conducted over the last four dec-
ades: Juries not subject to a unanimity requirement
“tend to take less time to reach a verdict, take fewer
polls, ... hang less often,” and most importantly, “cease
deliberating when [the minirnum necessary vote] is
reached.” Devine et al., Jury Decision Making: 45
Years of Empirical Research on Deliberating Groups, 7
Psychol. Pub. Pol’y & L. 622, 669 (2001) (citations omit-
ted); see also Taylor-Thompson, Empty Votes in Jury
Deliberations, 113 Harv. L. Rev. 1261, 1272-1273 (2000)
(reporting similar findings); see also Jonakait, The
American Jury System 103 (2003). Most troubling, ev-
idence from jurisdictions that do require unanimity—
thus forcing jurors to continue deliberating—shows
that prolonged deliberations affect outcomes. Accord-
ing to one study, when unanimity is required, “a simple
majority of seven votes for death on the first ballot al-
most invariably portends ... that eventually a life sen-
tence will emerge from the jury room.” Sundby, War
45
and Peace in the Jury Room: How Capital Juries
Reach Unanimity, 62 Hastings L.J. 103, 107-108 (2010).
This case exemplifies the extent to which a simple-
majority rule can undermine the “community partici-
pation” and “shared responsibility” in the verdict that
underpin the right to a jury trial. Burch, 441 U.S. at
135. After four days of testimony, and despite the
gravity of their task, the jurors spent less than two
hours in the jury room before recommending that
Hurst be sentenced to death by the slightest of mar-
gins. JA24-25.
3. Because this Court has never considered the
constitutionality of a simple-majority rule under the
Sixth Amendment, invalidating Hurst’s sentence on
this ground would not require revisiting any of this
Court’s decisions. To the extent the Court views Apo-
daca’s upholding of Oregon’s “ten of twelve” rule as
necessarily approving a seven-to-five rule, however, it
should overturn it.
Apodaca was wrong when it was decided. Justice
Powell’s tie-breaking concurrence rested on the notion
that the Fourteenth Amendment did not incorporate
““Sot-for-jot and case-for-case” every element of the
Sixth Amendment’s right to a jury trial. Johnson, 406
US. at 375 (Powell, J., concurring in the judgment in
Apodaca). But, as both the dissenters and Justice Pow-
ell himself recognized, this Court had already rejected
the proposition that the Fourteenth Amendment incor-
porated only a “watered-down version of [Bill of Rights]
guarantees.” Jd. at 384 (Douglas, J., dissenting in Apo-
daca); see also Apodaca, 406 U.S. at 414 (Stewart, J.,
dissenting) (same); Johnson, 406 U.S. at 375 (Powell, J.,
concurring in the judgment in Apodaca) (acknowledging
the “course of constitutional interpretation” upon which
46
the Court “ha[d) embarked” in prior cases). Stare deci-
sis considerations are weakened where the relevant
precedent is “inconsistent with earlier Supreme Court
precedent.” United States v. Dixon, 509 U.S. 688, 704
(1993).
Since Apodaca, moreover, this Court has rejected
Justice Powell’s “watered down” notion of incorpora-
tion. In McDonald, a plurality of this Court confirmed
that “incorporated Bill of Rights protections ‘are all to
be enforced against the States under the Fourteenth
Amendment according to the same standards that pro-
tect those personal rights against federal encroach-
ment.” 561 U.S. at 765. Writing separately, Justice
Thomas also concluded that the Fourteenth Amend-
ment makes applicable against the States all the “indi-
vidual rights enumerated in the Constitution.” Jd. at
823 (Thomas, J., concurring). Apodaca thus stands out
as an “exception” that can only be explained as “the re-
sult of an unusual division among the Justices.” Jd. at
766 n.14 (plurality). “/S]tare decisis does not compel
adherence to a decision whose ‘underpinnings’ have
been ‘eroded’ by subsequent developments of constitu-
tional law.” Alleyne, 133 S. Ct. at 2164 (Sotomayor, J.,
concurring) (quoting Gaudin, 515 U.S. at 521)."°
In sum, stare decisis considerations do not warrant
adhering to Apodaca, which was incorrect when decided
‘© The factual premise of Apodaca’s ruling has also been dis-
credited by the empirical research, discussed above, showing that
unanimity is instrumental to preserving the traditional jury func-
tion. See supra pp. 44-45. Moreover, while Justice Powell relied
upon the position of the American Bar Association at the time as
support for his conclusion, the ABA has long since reconsidered
and abandoned that position in favor of unanimity. See ABA,
Standards of Judicial Administration Relating to Trial Courts
Standard 2.10 (1992).
47
and has been undermined by subsequent developments.
They especially cannot do so here, where, in addition,
“a majority of the Court expressly disagreed with the
rationale of the plurality” at the time of the decision,
Seminole Tribe of Fla. v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44, 66
(1996), and the decision involves “procedural rules that
implicate ... fundamental constitutional protections” —
an area where “{tJhe force of stare decisis is at its na-
dir.” Alleyne, 133 S. Ct. at 2163 n.5.
2. The Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments
forbid Florida’s simple-majority rule in
capital cases
Even if a simple majority were permissible for jury
verdicts in non-capital cases, it is prohibited by the
Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments in capital cases
because it “risks erroneous imposition of the death
sentence.” Mills v. Maryland, 486 U.S. 367, 375 (1988).
This Court has held that “there is a significant con-
stitutional difference between the death penalty and
lesser punishments,” Beck v. Alabama, 447 U.S. 625,
637 (1980):
“Death is a different kind of punishment from
any other which may be imposed in this coun-
try. ... From the point of view of the defend-
ant, it is different in both its severity and its fi-
nality. From the point of view of society, the
action of the sovereign in taking the life of one
of its citizens also differs dramatically from any
other legitimate state action.”
Id. at 637-638 (quoting Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S.
349, 357-358 (1977) (opinion of Stevens, J.)) (brackets
omitted); see also, e.g., Gregg, 428 U.S. at 181-188 (joint
opinion); id. at 231-241 (Marshall, J., dissenting);
48
Woodson, 428 U.S. at 305 (joint opinion). It is therefore
“of vital importance to the defendant and to the com-
munity that any decision to impose the death sentence
be, and appear to be, based on reason rather than ca-
price or emotion.” Beck, 447 U.S. at 637-638.
To that end, this Court has repeatedly invalidated
under the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments “pro-
cedural rules that tended to diminish the reliability of
the sentencing determination.” Beck, 447 U.S. at 638
(quotation marks omitted); see, e.g., Woodson, 428 U.S.
at 301-305 Goint opinion) (States may not impose man-
datory death sentences); Roberts v. Louisiana, 428 U.S.
325, 335-336 (1976) (joint opinion) (same); Beck, 447
U.S. at 638-646 (States must permit juries to consider
lesser-included non-capital offense); Lockett v. Ohio,
438 U.S. 586, 604 (1978) (piurality) (States may not con-
strain sentencer’s consideration of relevant mitigating
circumstances); Eddings, 455 U.S. at 117 (similar).
History and the “evolving standards of decency,”
Hall v. Florida, 134 S. Ct. 1986, 1992 (2014)—as evi-
denced by current practice and independent judgment,
see id. at 1996-2001—demonstrate that Florida’s sim-
ple-majority rule is too unreliable to establish the fac-
tual predicate for a death sentence.
First, the rule that a death sentence requires a
unanimous jury verdict as to all necessary factual pred-
icates—including all aggravating circumstances—has
“impressive historical credentials.” Ford v. Wain-
wright, 477 U.S. 399, 406 (1986). English and American
history establishes that convictions in criminal cases
traditionally required a unanimous verdict by the jury.
See supra pp. 40-41. This right to a unanimous verdict,
moreover, necessarily extended to all facts necessary to
impose the death penalty because, at least throughout
49
the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, all factfind-
ing—with respect to both guilt and capital sentencing—
remained the exclusive province of the jury. See Ap-
prendi, 530 U.S. at 479; Woodson, 428 U.S. at 289-291;
McGautha, 402 U.S. at 197-198; supra pp. 27-28. A
death sentence founded on non-unanimous factual find-
ings would have been unknown to the Framers of the
Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments alike.
Second, this Court has “pinpointed that the ‘clear-
est and most reliable objective evidence of contempo-
rary values is the legislation enacted by the country’s
legislatures.”” Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304, 312
(2002).'’ On the question of jury unanimity, the legisla-
tures’ consensus is overwhelming: All States that re-
tain the death penalty other than Florida, as well as the
federal system, require that a jury establish the eligi-
bility for a death sentence by unanimous verdict. Su-
pra p. 43. Florida’s outlier status is “strong evidence of
consensus that our society does not regard” imposing
death based on a simple-majority vote as “proper or
humane.” Hall, 134 S. Ct. at 1998.
Third, independent judgment confirms the impro-
priety of a simple-majority rule for aggravating cir-
cumstances in capital cases. As already explained, this
Court’s precedent has long recognized the critical pur-
pose served by jurors’ “comparison of views” and “ar-
guments among ... themselves.” Jones, 527 U.S. at
382; see also McKoy v. North Carolina, 494 U.S. 433,
452 (1990) (Kennedy, J., concurring) (“Jury unanimity
'’ This Court has considered such consensus as an important
component of Eighth Amendment analysis in cases challenging the
procedure for selecting the sentence, as well as in cases where the
propriety of capital punishment was substantively in issue. £.g.,
Woodson, 428 U.S. at 294 (joint opinion); Hall, 134 S. Ct. at 1996-
1998.
50
... is an accepted, vital mechanism to ensure that real
and full deliberation occurs in the jury room, and that
the jury’s ultimate decision will reflect the conscience
of the community.”); supra pp. 43-44. This conclusion,
moreover, is confirmed by empirical research indicating
that juries not subject to a unanimity requirement en-
gage in less meaningful deliberation and often end de-
liberations altogether as soon as the minimum neces-
sary vote is reached. Supra pp. 44-45; cf. Hall, 134 S.
Ct. at 2000 (independent judgment “is informed by the
views of medical experts”).'*
Finally, Florida’s own adherence to a unanimity re-
quirement in all other criminal contexts renders its
adoption of the looser simple-majority rule in capital
sentencing “arbitrary and capricious.” Gregg, 428 U.S.
at 188 (joint opinion). This Court often views intraju-
risdictional inconsistencies as relevant under the
Eighth Amendment. See, e.g., Beck, 447 U.S. at 636-637
(invalidating Alabama’s failure to instruct capital juries
on lesser-included offenses and noting that “Alabama
itself gives the defendant a right to such instructions
under appropriate circumstances”); Graham v. Florida,
560 U.S. 48, 60 (2010) (explaining when courts should
“compare the defendant’s sentence with the sentences
received by other offenders in the same jurisdiction”);
id. at 88 (Roberts, C.J., concurring) (citing “intrajuris-
dictional’ comparison of the sentence at issue” in
'S-That the Eighth Amendment prohibits a unanimity re-
quirement for mitigating circumstances does not alter this analy-
sis. See McKoy, 494 U.S. at 443; Mills, 486 U.S. at 373-374. Re-
quiring different voting rules for aggravating and mitigating cir-
cumstances makes sense because mitigating circumstances, unlike
aggravators, are not factual prerequisites for imposing the death
penalty and do not increase—but generally decrease—the risk
that the death penalty will be imposed.
51
proportionality analysis); Harmelin v. Michigan, 501
U.S. 957, 1005 (1991) (Kennedy, J., concurring) (same).
Here, despite the uniquely grave context of capital
sentencing, Florida’s simple-majority rule for capital
sentencing is inexplicably less demanding than the vot-
ing rule Florida applies in all other criminal proceed-
ings. Florida law is clear that “{njo verdict may be ren-
dered unless all of the trial jurors concur in it.” Fla. R.
Crim. P. 3.440 (emphasis added); see also Bottoson v.
Moore, 833 So. 2d 693, 714 (Fla. 2002) (Shaw, J., concur-
ring) (unanimity requirement “has been an inviolate
tenet of Florida jurisprudence since the State was cre-
ated”); Motion to Call Circuit Judge to Bench, 8 Fla.
459, 482 (1859) (“The common law wisely requires the
verdict of a petit jury to be unanimous.”). This unanimi-
ty requirement, moreover, applies to all criminal cases
in which a jury is empaneled—a broad swath that even
includes many misdemeanors. See, e.g., Rodriguez
Sanchez v. State, 503 So. 2d 436, 437 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App.
1987) (jury unanimity required when defendant charged
with misdemeanor “for the alleged theft of a blouse hav-
ing a value of less than one hundred dollars”).
“The decision to exercise the power of the State to
execute a defendant is unlike any other decision citi-
zens and public officials are called upon to make.
Evolving standards of societal decency have imposed a
correspondingly high requirement of reliability on the
determination that death is the appropriate penalty in a
particular case.” Mills, 486 U.S. at 383-384. Under
Florida law, however, the jury’s decision “on a matter
so grave as the determination of whether a human life
should be taken,” Gregg, 428 U.S. at 189 (1976) (joint
opinion), requires only a majority vote. A Florida jury
must deliberate until it reaches unanimity to convict a
defendant for stealing a blouse, but can recommend a
52
defendant’s execution without seeking any consensus
as to aggravators beyond a simple majority. The
Eighth Amendment cannot abide such an anomalous,
attenuated standard of reliability.
C. Hurst’s Sentence Would Be Unconstitutional
Because The Aggregate Effect Of The Defects
In Florida’s Capital Sentencing Scheme Sub-
verts The Jury’s Deliberative Function
Even if the many defects identified above could be
tolerated in isolation, they certainly cannot be tolerated
in combination. The “essential feature” of the jury trial
is the “interposition between the accused and his accus-
er of the commonsense judgment of a group of laymen”’
and the assurance of “community participation and
shared responsibility” in and for the verdict. Burch,
441 U.S. at 135. A jury can serve these ends only if its
procedures promote adequate “group deliberation” and
responsible factfinding. Jd. Here, Florida law relegates
the jury to a purely advisory role in violation of Ring.
But if, as the State suggests, no Ring violation arose be-
cause the jury in fact made implicit findings that author-
ized Hurst’s death sentence, the State would have to
confront the fact that in making those implicit findings,
the jury operated under constraints that combined to
render its deliberations hollow.
As this Court has recognized, procedures that un-
dermine adequate group deliberation are constitution-
ally invalid whether they do so in isolation or collective-
ly. In Burch, this Court invalidated Louisiana’s prac-
tice allowing convictions by a vote of five out of six ju-
rors. The Court had previously held that jury size
could be reduced to six, Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S.
78 (1970), and had previously upheld a less-than-
unanimous ten-to-two voting rule, Apodaca, 406 U.S. at
53
411; see also Johnson, 406 U.S. at 364-365 (nine-to-
three rule does not violate Due Process Clause). But
Louisiana’s “five of six” practice at issue in Burch arose
“at the intersection of [the Court’s] decisions concern-
ing jury size and unanimity.” Burch, 441 U.S. at 137.
The Court accordingly focused on the aggregate effects
on the function of the jury of Louisiana’s reduced jury
size and relaxed decision rule. /d. at 138-139. The
Court concluded:
[W]hen a State has reduced the size of its juries
to the minimum number of jurors permitted by
the Constitution, the additional authorization of
nonunanimous verdicts by such juries suffi-
ciently threatens the constitutional principles
that led to the establishment of the size thresh-
old that any countervailing interest of the State
should yield.
Id. at 139. Together, Louisiana’s practices did “not per-
mit the jury to function in the manner required by” the
Constitution, but “threatened the fairness of the pro-
ceeding and the proper role of the jury.” /d. at 137-138.
Similar logic applies here. Even if the various as-
pects of Florida’s capital sentencing scheme identified
above could be constitutional in isolation, Hurst’s sen-
tence would still be invalid because their aggregate ef-
fect undermines any confidence in the quality of the ju-
ry’s deliberations. Assume that, despite Caldwell, a
jury may be misled to believe that its (implied) finding
of an aggravator is merely “advisory” when in fact it is
critical to the availability of the death sentence. As-
sume that, despite the views of a majority of this Court
in Apodaca and every State’s practice with respect to
non-aggravator elements of non-petty crimes, a jury
may find an aggravator by a simple majority. Assume,
54
finally, that despite Ring, the jury need not even agree
on which aggravator exists—so that as few as four ju-
rors may find one of the presented aggravators while
three jurors find the other aggravator. At a minimum,
the aggregate effect of these procedures would prevent
the jury from conducting the meaningful deliberation
required by the Constitution. Hurst’s sentence thus
cannot be sustained.
CONCLUSION
The Florida Supreme Court’s judgment should be
reversed and Hurst’s sentence should be vacated.
Respectfully submitted.
NANCY A. DANIELS SETH P. WAXMAN
PUBLIC DEFENDER Counsel of Record
DAVID A. DAVIS CATHERINE M.A. CARROLL
ASSISTANT PUBLIC DAVID M. LEHN
DEFENDER FRANCESCO VALENTINI
Leon County Courthouse WILMER CUTLER PICKERING
301 South Monroe Street HALE AND DORR LLP
Suite 401 1875 Pennsylvania Ave., NW
Tallahassee, FL 32301 Washington, DC 20006
(202) 663-6000
MARK E. OLIVE seth.waxman@wilmerhale.com
LAW OFFICES OF
MARK E.OLIVE,P.A. ERIC F. FLETCHER
320 West Jefferson Street ALLISON TRZOP
Tallahassee, FL 32301 WILMER CUTLER PICKERING
HALE AND DORR LLP
60 State Street
Boston, MA 02109
May 2015
APPENDIX
la
PERTINENT CONSTITUTIONAL
AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
U.S. Const. amend. VI
In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the
right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury
of the state and district wherein the crime shall have
been committed, which district shall have been previ-
ously ascertained by law, and to be informed of the na-
ture and cause of the accusation; to be confronted with
the witnesses against him; to have compulsory process
for obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to have the as-
sistance of counsel for his defense.
U.S. Const. amend. VIII
Excessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive fines
imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted.
Fla. Stat. § 775.082. Penalties; applicability of sen-
tencing structures; mandatory minimum sentences
for certain reoffenders previously released from
prison
Effective: July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2014
(1) A person who has been convicted of a capital felony
shall be punished by death if the proceeding held to de-
termine sentence according to the procedure set forth
in s. 921.141 results in findings by the court that such
person shall be punished by death, otherwise such per-
son shall be punished by life imprisonment and shall be
ineligible for parole.
2a
(2) In the event the death penalty in a capital felony is
held to be unconstitutional by the Florida Supreme
Court or the United States Supreme Court, the court
having jurisdiction over a person previously sentenced
to death for a capital felony shall cause such person to
be brought before the court, and the court shall sen-
tence such person to life imprisonment as provided in
subsection (1). No sentence of death shall be reduced
as a result of a determination that a method of execu-
tion is held to be unconstitutional under the State Con-
stitution or the Constitution of the United States.
(3) A person who has been convicted of any other des-
ignated felony may be punished as follows:
(a) 1. For a life felony committed prior to October 1,
1983, by a term of imprisonment for life or for a term of
years not less than 30.
2. For a life felony committed on or after October 1,
1983, by a term of imprisonment for life or by a term of
imprisonment not exceeding 40 years.
3. Except as provided in subparagraph 4., for a life felo-
ny committed on or after July 1, 1995, by a term of im-
prisonment for life or by imprisonment for a term of
years not exceeding life imprisonment.
4. a. Except as provided in sub-subparagraph b., for a
life felony committed on or after September 1, 2005,
which is a violation of s. 800.04(5)(b), by:
(I) A term of imprisonment for life; or
(II) A split sentence that is a term of not less than 25
years’ imprisonment and not exceeding life imprison-
ment, followed by probation or community control for
the remainder of the person’s natural life, as provided
in s. 948.012(4).
3a
b. For a life felony committed on or after July 1, 2008,
which is a person’s second or subsequent violation of
s. 800.04(5)(b), by a term of imprisonment for life.
(b) For a felony of the first degree, by a term of impris-
onment not exceeding 30 years or, when specifically
provided by statute, by imprisonment for a term of
years not exceeding life imprisonment.
(c) For a felony of the second degree, by a term of im-
prisonment not exceeding 15 years.
(d) For a felony of the third degree, by a term of im-
prisonment not exceeding 5 years.
(4) A person who has been convicted of a designated
misdemeanor may be sentenced as follows:
(a) For a misdemeanor of the first degree, by a definite
term of imprisonment not exceeding 1 year;
(b) For a misdemeanor of the second degree, by a defi-
nite term of imprisonment not exceeding 60 days.
(5) Any person who has been convicted of a noncriminal
violation may not be sentenced to a term of imprison-
ment nor to any other punishment more severe than a
fine, forfeiture, or other civil penalty, except as provid-
ed in chapter 316 or by ordinance of any city or county.
(6) Nothing in this section shall be construed to alter
the operation of any statute of this state authorizing a
trial court, in its discretion, to impose a sentence of im-
prisonment for an indeterminate period within mini-
mum and maximum limits as provided by law, except as
provided in subsection (1).
(7) This section does not deprive the court of any au-
thority conferred by law to decree a forfeiture of prop-
erty, suspend or cancel a license, remove a person from
4a
office, or impose any other civil penalty. Such a judg-
ment or order may be included in the sentence.
(8)(a) The sentencing guidelines that were effective Oc-
tober 1, 1983, and any revisions thereto, apply to all fel-
onies, except capital felonies, committed on or after Oc-
tober 1, 1983, and before January 1, 1994, and to all felo-
nies, except capital felonies and life felonies, committed
before October 1, 1983, when the defendant affirmative-
ly selects to be sentenced pursuant to such provisions.
(b) The 1994 sentencing guidelines, that were effective
January 1, 1994, and any revisions thereto, apply to all
felonies, except capital felonies, committed on or after
January 1, 1994, and before October 1, 1995.
(c) The 1995 sentencing guidelines that were effective
October 1, 1995, and any revisions thereto, apply to all
felonies, except capital felonies, committed on or after
October 1, 1995, and before October 1, 1998.
(d) The Criminal Punishment Code applies to all felo-
nies, except capital felonies, committed on or after Oc-
tober 1, 1998. Any revision to the Criminal Punishment
Code applies to sentencing for all felonies, except capi-
tal felonies, committed on or after the effective date of
the revision.
(e) Felonies, except capital felonies, with continuing
dates of enterprise shall be sentenced under the sen-
tencing guidelines or the Criminal Punishment Code in
effect on the beginning date of the criminal activity.
(9a) 1.“Prison releasee reoffender” means any de-
fendant who commits, or attempts to commit:
a. Treason;
b. Murder;
ce. Manslaughter;
d. Sexual battery;
e. Carjacking;
f. Home-invasion robbery;
g. Robbery;
h. Arson;
i. Kidnapping;
j. Aggravated assault with a deadly weapon;
k. Aggravated battery;
|. Aggravated stalking;
m. Aircraft piracy;
n. Unlawful throwing, placing, or discharging of a de-
structive device or bomb;
o. Any felony that involves the use or threat of physical
force or violence against an individual;
p. Armed burglary;
q. Burglary of a dwelling or burglary of an occupied
structure; or
r. Any felony violation of s. 790.07, s. 800.04, s. 827.03, s.
827.071, or s. 847.0135(5);
within 3 years after being released from a state correc-
tional facility operated by the Department of Correc-
tions or a private vendor or within 3 years after being
released from a correctional institution of another
state, the District of Columbia, the United States, any
possession or territory of the United States, or any for-
eign jurisdiction, following incarceration for an offense
for which the sentence is punishable by more than 1
year in this state.
6a
2. “Prison releasee reoffender” also means any defend-
ant who commits or attempts to commit any offense
listed in sub-subparagraphs (a)1.a.-r. while the defend-
ant was serving a prison sentence or on escape status
from a state correctional facility operated by the De-
partment of Corrections or a private vendor or while
the defendant was on escape status from a correctional
institution of another state, the District of Columbia,
the United States, any possession or territory of the
United States, or any foreign jurisdiction, following in-
carceration for an offense for which the sentence is pun-
ishable by more than | year in this state.
3. If the state attorney determines that a defendant is a
prison releasee reoffender as defined in subparagraph
1., the state attorney may seek to have the court sen-
tence the defendant as a prison releasee reoffender.
Upon proof from the state attorney that establishes by
a preponderance of the evidence that a defendant is a
prison releasee reoffender as defined in this section,
such defendant is not eligible for sentencing under the
sentencing guidelines and must be sentenced as follows:
a. For a felony punishable by life, by a term of impris-
onment for life;
b. For a felony of the first degree, by a term of impris-
onment of 30 years;
c. For a felony of the second degree, by a term of im-
prisonment of 15 years; and
d. For a felony of the third degree, by a term of impris-
onment of 5 years.
(b) A person sentenced under paragraph (a) shall be re-
leased only by expiration of sentence and shal! not be
eligible for parole, control release, or any form of early
Ta
release. Any person sentenced under paragraph (a)
must serve 100 percent of the court-imposed sentence.
(c) Nothing in this subsection shall prevent a court from
imposing a greater sentence of incarceration as author-
ized by law, pursuant to s. 775.084 or any other provi-
sion of law.
(d) 1. It is the intent of the Legislature that offenders
previously released from prison who meet the criteria in
paragraph (a) be punished to the fullest extent of the law
and as provided in this subsection, unless the state at-
torney determines that extenuating circumstances exist
which preclude the just prosecution of the offender, in-
cluding whether the victim recommends that the offend-
er not be sentenced as provided in this subsection.
2. For every case in which the offender meets the crite-
ria in paragraph (a) and does not receive the mandatory
minimum prison sentence, the state attorney must ex-
plain the sentencing deviation in writing and place such
explanation in the case file maintained by the state at-
torney.
(10) If a defendant is sentenced for an offense commit-
ted on or after July 1, 2009, which is a third degree fel-
ony but not a forcible felony as defined in s. 776.08, and
excluding any third degree felony violation under chap-
ter 810, and if the total sentence points pursuant to
s. 921.0024 are 22 points or fewer, the court must sen-
tence the offender to a nonstate prison sanction. How-
ever, if the court makes written findings that a non-
state prison sanction could present a danger to the pub-
lic, the court may sentence the offender to a state cor-
rectional facility pursuant to this section.
(11) The purpose of this section is to provide uniform
punishment for those crimes made punishable under
8a
this section and, to this end, a reference to this section
constitutes a general reference under the doctrine of
incorporation by reference.
Fla. Stat. § 921.141. Sentence of death or life im-
prisonment for capital felonies; further proceedings
to determine sentence
Effective: October 1, 2010
(1) Separate proceedings on issue of penalty.— Upon
conviction or adjudication of guilt of a defendant of a
capital felony, the court shall conduct a separate sen-
tencing proceeding to determine whether the defend-
ant should be sentenced to death or life imprisonment
as authorized by s. 775.082. The proceeding shall be
conducted by the trial judge before the trial jury as
soon as practicable. If, through impossibility or inabil-
ity, the trial jury is unable to reconvene for a hearing
on the issue of penalty, having determined the guilt of
the accused, the trial judge may summon a special juror
or jurors as provided in chapter 913 to determine the
issue of the imposition of the penalty. If the trial jury
has been waived, or if the defendant pleaded guilty, the
sentencing proceeding shall be conducted before a jury
impaneled for that purpose, unless waived by the de-
fendant. In the proceeding, evidence may be presented
as to any matter that the court deems relevant to the
nature of the crime and the character of the defendant
and shall include matters relating to any of the aggra-
vating or mitigating circumstances enumerated in sub-
sections (5) and (6). Any such evidence which the court
deems to have probative value may be received, re-
gardless of its admissibility under the exclusionary
rules of evidence, provided the defendant is accorded a
fair opportunity to rebut any hearsay statements.
9a
However, this subsection shall not be construed to au-
thorize the introduction of any evidence secured in vio-
lation of the Constitution of the United States or the
Constitution of the State of Florida. The state and the
defendant or the defendant’s counsel shall be permitted
to present argument for or against sentence of death.
(2) Advisory sentence by the jury.—After hearing al)
the evidence, the jury shall deliberate and render an
advisory sentence to the court, based upon the follow-
ing matters:
(a) Whether sufficient aggravating circumstances exist
as enumerated in subsection (5);
(b) Whether sufficient mitigating circumstances exist
which outweigh the aggravating circumstances found
to exist; and
(c) Based on these considerations, whether the defend-
ant should be sentenced to life imprisonment or death.
(3) Findings in support of sentence of death.—
Notwithstanding the recommendation of a majority of
the jury, the court, after weighing the aggravating and
mitigating circumstances, shall enter a sentence of life
imprisonment or death, but if the court imposes a sen-
tence of death, it shall set forth in writing its findings
upon which the sentence of death is based as to the
facts:
(a) That sufficient aggravating circumstances exist as
enumerated in subsection (5), and
(b) That there are insufficient mitigating circumstances
to outweigh the aggravating circumstances.
In each case in which the court imposes the death sen-
tence, the determination of the court shall be supported
by specific written findings of fact based upon the cir-
10a
cumstances in subsections (5) and (6) and upon the rec-
ords of the trial and the sentencing proceedings. If the
court does not make the findings requiring the death
sentence within 30 days after the rendition of the
judgment and sentence, the court shall impose sentence
of life imprisonment in accordance with s. 775.082.
(4) Review of judgment and sentence.—The judg-
ment of conviction and sentence of death shall be sub-
ject to automatic review by the Supreme Court of Flor-
ida and disposition rendered within 2 years after the
filing of a notice of appeal. Such review by the Su-
preme Court shall have priority over all other cases and
shall be heard in accordance with rules promulgated by
the Supreme Court.
(5) Aggravating circumstances.—Aggravating cir-
cumstances shall be limited to the following:
(a) The capital felony was committed by a person previ-
ously convicted of a felony and under sentence of im-
prisonment or placed on community control or on felony
probation.
(b) The defendant was previously convicted of another
capital felony or of a felony involving the use or threat
of violence to the person.
(c) The defendant knowingly created a great risk of
death to many persons.
(d) The capital felony was committed while the defend-
ant was engaged, or was an accomplice, in the commis-
sion of, or an attempt to commit, or flight after commit-
ting or attempting to commit, any: robbery; sexual bat-
tery; aggravated child abuse; abuse of an elderly person
or disabled adult resulting in great bodily harm, per-
manent disability, or permanent disfigurement; arson;
burglary; kidnapping; aircraft piracy; or unlawful
lla
throwing, placing, or discharging of a destructive de-
vice or bomb.
(e) The capital felony was committed for the purpose of
avoiding or preventing a lawful arrest or effecting an
escape from custody.
(f) The capital felony was committed for pecuniary gain.
(g) The capital felony was committed to disrupt or hin-
der the lawful exercise of any governmental function or
the enforcement of laws.
(h) The capital felony was especially heinous, atrocious,
or cruel.
(i) The capital felony was a homicide and was commit-
ted in a cold, calculated, and premeditated manner
without any pretense of moral or legal justification.
(j) The victim of the capital felony was a law enforce-
ment officer engaged in the performance of his or her
official duties.
(k) The victim of the capital felony was an elected or
appointed public official engaged in the performance of
his or her official duties if the motive for the capital fel-
ony was related, in whole or in part, to the victim’s offi-
cial capacity.
(l) The victim of the capital felony was a person less
than 12 years of age.
(m) The victim of the capital felony was particularly
vulnerable due to advanced age or disability, or because
the defendant stood in a position of familial or custodial
authority over the victim.
(n) The capital felony was committed by a criminal gang
member, as defined in s. 874.03.
12a
(0) The capital felony was committed by a person des-
ignated as a sexual predator pursuant to s. 775.21 or a
person previously designated as a sexual predator who
had the sexual predator designation removed.
(p) The capital felony was committed by a person sub-
ject to an injunction issued pursuant to s. 741.30 or s.
784.046, or a foreign protection order accorded full faith
and credit pursuant to s. 741.315, and was committed
against the petitioner who obtained the injunction or
protection order or any spouse, child, sibling, or parent
of the petitioner.
(6) Mitigating circumstances.—Mitigating circum-
stances shall be the following:
(a) The defendant has no significant history of prior
criminal activity.
(b) The capital felony was committed while the defend-
ant was under the influence of extreme mental or emo-
tional disturbance.
(c) The victim was a participant in the defendant’s con-
duct or consented to the act.
(d) The defendant was an accomplice in the capital felo-
ny committed by another person and his or her partici-
pation was relatively minor.
(e) The defendant acted under extreme duress or under
the substantial domination of another person.
(f) The capacity of the defendant to appreciate the crim-
inality of his or her conduct or to conform his or her
conduct to the requirements of law was substantially
impaired.
(g) The age of the defendant at the time of the crime.
13a
(h) The existence of any other factors in the defendant’s
background that would mitigate against imposition of
the death penalty.
(7) Victim impact evidence.—Once the prosecution
has provided evidence of the existence of one or more
aggravating circumstances as described in subsection
(5), the prosecution may introduce, and subsequently
argue, victim impact evidence to the jury. Such evi-
dence shall be designed to demonstrate the victim’s
uniqueness as an individual human being and the re-
sultant loss to the community’s members by the vic-
tim’s death. Characterizations and opinions about the
crime, the defendant, and the appropriate sentence
shall not be permitted as a part of victim impact evi-
dence.
(8) Applicability.—This section does not apply to a
person convicted or adjudicated guilty of a capital drug
trafficking felony under s. 893.135.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.