Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Nebrasks v. Parker, 136 S. Ct. 27 (2015) (No. 14-1406)

Supreme Court brief2015

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

SJ

STATE OF NEBRASKA

AND

VILLAGE OF PENDER, NEBRASKA,

Petitioners,

v.

MITCH PARKER

AND

UNITED STATES,

Respondents.

Sd

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Eighth Circuit

SJ

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

SJ

DOUGLAS J. PETERSON

Nebraska Attorney General

BLAKE E. JOHNSON

Assistant Attorney General

Counsel of Record

RYAN S. Post

Assistant Attorney General

2115 State Capitol

Lincoln, Nebraska 68509

(402) 471-2682

blake.johnson@nebraska.gov

ryan.post@nebraska.gov

Attorneys for the State of Nebraska

[Additional Counsel Listed On Signature Page]

COCKLE LEGAL BRIEFS (800) 225-6964

WWW COCKLELEGALBRIEFS.COM

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In Solem v. Bartlett, the Court articulated a

three-part analysis designed to evaluate whether a

surplus land act may have resulted in a diminish-

ment of a federal Indian reservation. See 465 U.S.

463, 470-72 (1984). The Court found that the “statu-

tory language used to open the Indian lands,” “events

surrounding the passage of a surplus land Act,” and

“events that occurred after the passage of a surplus

land Act” are all relevant to determining whether

diminishment has occurred.

The questions presented by the petition are:

1. Whether ambiguous evidence concerning the

first two Solem factors necessarily forecloses any

possibility that diminishment could be found on a de

facto basis.

2. Whether the original boundaries of the

Omaha Indian Reservation were diminished following

passage of the Act of August 7, 1882.

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioners are Richard M. Smith, Donna M.

Smith, Doug Schrieber, Susan Schrieber, Rodney A.

Heise, Thomas J. Welsh, Jay Lake, Julie Lake, Kevin

Brehmer, and Ron Brinkman (“Individual Peti-

tioners”); the Village of Pender, Nebraska (“Village

Petitioner”); and the State of Nebraska (“State Pe-

titioner”) (collectively “Petitioners”). The State of

Nebraska was Plaintiff-Intervenor in proceedings

before the United States District Court for the Dis-

trict of Nebraska and Appellant to the Eighth Circuit

Court of Appeals.

Respondents are Mitch Parker in his official

capacity as Chairman of the Omaha Tribal Council;

Barry Webster in his official capacity as Vice-

Chairman of the Omaha Tribal Council; Amen Sheri-

dan in his official capacity as Treasurer of the Omaha

Tribal Council; Rodney Morris in his official capacity

as Secretary of the Omaha Tribal Council; Orville

Cayou in his official capacity as member of the Omaha

Tribal Council; Eleanor Baxter in her official capacity

as member of the Omaha Tribal Council; Ansley

Griffin in his official capacity as member of the

Omaha Tribal Council and as the Omaha Tribe’s

Director of Liquor Control; and the United States.

The United States was Defendant-Intervenor in pro-

ceedings before the United States District Court for

the District of Nebraska and Appellee to the Eighth

Circuit Court of Appeals.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...................c.c00eeeeeeees i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ...................... ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..................cccsssesceeeees Vv

ee Be iceccncinnnitnncsinienismeennnnisuvntitidinin 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ..................... 1

TREATIES AND STATUTES INVOLVED .......... 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE........................0000008 2

I. Establishment of the Omaha _ Tribe’s

EEE ccinccnsnensercininsusinnitinntaansentiinaiiant 2

II. Sale of the Western Part of the Reserva-

SD icrcrvsesesencstnsinnussennieutinbigeniindiiiiininedeamiinniin 3

III. Establishment of the Village of Pender..... 7

IV. Enforcement of the Beverage Control

Ordinance and Subsequent Litigation ...... 8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION... 10

I. The Analytical Framework........................ 10

II. The Eighth Circuit’s Decision ................... 16

FS eer renrenrenesenesseionenmeninninniininesiin 25

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

PETITION APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

Smith v. Parker, 774 F.3d 1166 (8th Cir. 2014)....App. 1

Smith v. Parker, 996 F. Supp. 2d 815 (D. Neb.

eka ae App. 9

Smith v. Parker, 2015 U.S. App. LEXIS 3054

ee App. 80

Een App. 82

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Carpenter v. Shaw, 280 U.S. 363 (1930).................... 11

DeCoteau v. District County Court, 420 U.S.

iin cietinaeliceacnehlieaeibeena cel iatieaiiatliciaimadia 14

Duncan Energy Co. v. Three Affiliated Tribes,

27 F.3d 1294 (8th Cir. 1994) ...0..........ccccccceceeeees 17, 24

Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994)......... 12, 16, 19, 20

Johnson v. United States, 163 F. 30 (1st Cir.

EEE REN eR Seger ee arene OSE DRan no ae 11

Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481 (1973)................00.. 11, 17

Oneida Indian Nation of New York v. City of

Sherrill, 337 F.3d 139 (2d Cir. 2003)...................... 21

Osage Nation v. Irby, 597 F.3d 1117 (2010).......... 21, 24

Pittsburgh & Midway Coal Mining Co. v.

Yazzie, 909 F.2d 1387 (10th Cir. 1990) ................... 24

Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584

SET i Aasnsinisinciisepehipeieneldeieaiahaeiatnataaiiaite 11, 14, 21, 25

Seymour v. Superintendent of Washington State

Penitentiary, 368 U.S. 351 (1962)...................cee 17

Shawnee Tribe v. United States, 423 F.3d 1204

II ITT echt iarieinaih arieiaianaiaiaeneatiantiaael 12

Smith v. Parker, 996 F. Supp. 2d 815 (D. Neb.

Ihsan inmate 1

Smith v. Parker, 774 F.3d 1166 (8th Cir. 2014)........... 1

Smith v. Parker, 2015 U.S. App. LEXIS 3054

Gee GRE SPD crccncescunvecacensscsssssencensstansnssanesctessesveoment 1

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463 (1984)............... passim

South Dakota v. Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S.

Gee cnccncssennsssnsseccasesssssensenasnsemmmesnmnsenspmcsvennsse 11

United States v. Celestine, 215 U.S. 278 (1909)......... 11

Yankton Sioux Tribe v. Gaffey, 188 F.3d 1010

SEUETIIIE, III scsiinmcistiicnanseiihdelabandichaniasitiiciisinatinnindel passim

1

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States District Court

for the District of Nebraska is reported at Smith v.

Parker, 996 F.Supp. 2d 815 (D. Neb. 2014). The

opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit, is reported at Smith v. Parker, 774

F.3d 1166 (8th Cir. 2014) (rehearing en banc denied

by Smith v. Parker, 2015 U.S. App. LEXIS 3054 (8th

Cir. 2015)).

¢

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The United States Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit entered judgment on December 19,

2014. The Court of Appeals denied rehearing on

February 26, 2015. This Court has jurisdiction pur-

suant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

«

TREATIES AND STATUTES INVOLVED

Act of August 7, 1882 is set out in the appendix

at App. 82.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. Establishment of the Omaha Tribe’s Res-

ervation

As the United States expanded westward, the

federal government entered into treaties with various

Native American Indian tribes for large land cessions,

leaving tribes with “reservations” on which they could

continue to live under the supervision of the federal

government. The Omaha Tribe of Nebraska (“Omaha”

or “Tribe”) “cede[d] to the United States all their

lands west of the Missouri River, and south of a line

drawn due west from a point in the centre of the main

channel....” under the Treaty of March 16, 1854

(“1854 Treaty”). (App. 19-20). Pursuant to the terms

of the 1854 Treaty, the Tribe selected a reservation of

300,000 acres within the ceded area in the Blackbird

Creek drainage basin (“Reservation”). (App. 20).

The Omaha entered into another treaty with the

United States on March 6, 1865 (“1865 Treaty”),

whereby the northern part of the Reservation was

ceded to the federal government for fifty-thousand

dollars ($50,000.00), which monies were to be ex-

pended for the Tribe’s benefit, creating the Winnebago

Reservation. (App. 20-21). The 1865 Treaty reduced

the size of the Reservation to approximately 202,000

acres and ordered the allotment of the land to indi-

vidual members of the Tribe. (App. 21). By March of

1871, the Tribe’s members had received certificates

for their allotments. (App. 21). All allotments taken

3

pursuant to the 1864 Treaty were in the eastern

portion of the Reservation. (App. 21).

Il. Sale of the Western Part of the Reservation

In August 1871, the Omaha Tribe, through its

designated federal agent, began petitioning Con-

_gress to enact legislation authorizing the sale of the

50,000 acres comprising the westernmost portion of

the Reservation in order to obtain additional financial

resources. (App. 22). Although the Tribe’s initial ef-

forts were unsuccessful, Congress eventually re-

sponded by enacting the Act of June 10, 1872 (“1872

Act”), providing for the separation and sale of 50,000

acres in the western part of the Reservation. (App.

22-23). However, the 1872 Act was largely unsuccess-

ful accomplishing the sale of only 300 acres. (App.

23).

On April 19, 1880, the Omaha Tribe granted the

Sioux City and Nebraska Railroad Company a right-

of-way through the Reservation (“Railroad right-of-

way”), beginning at the northern edge and generally

running southward along the Middle and Logan

creeks. (App. 20). Around that same period, drafts of

what would ultimately become the Act of August 7,

1882 (“1882 Act”) were being introduced and debated

in Congress. (App. 24-32). The 1882 Act was nearly

identical to the Act of 1872, both in its terms and

objectives. (App. 24-32). However, the Railroad right-

of-way now provided a clear demarcation of the

4

boundary-line west of which all land would be sold.

(App. 26; 29-30; 32).

The 1882 Act directed the conduct of a survey

and appraisal before the lands west of the Railroad

right-of-way could be opened for settlement and sale.

(App. 30-31). As a practical matter, the allotment

provisions of the 1882 Act also needed to be carried

out before any sale could be affected. (App. 33). The

allotment process under the 1882 Act concluded July

11, 1884, with 876 of the approximately 50,000 acres

west of the Railroad right-of-way being allotted to the

members of the Tribe. (App. 34). With the necessary

prerequisites accomplished, the General Land Office

opened 50,157 acres west of the Railroad right-of-way

for settlement by non-Indians on April 30, 1884. (App.

34).

By 1885, the federal Commissioner of Indian

Affairs was reporting that all lands lying west of the

Railroad right-of-way had been sold to non-Indian

settlers. (App. 34-37). Beginning in 1874, to the

extent they reported acreage for the whole Reserva-

tion, the Office of Indian Affairs annual reports no

longer recorded the 50,000 acres west of the Railroad

right-of-way as part of the Omaha Tribe’s Reserva-

tion. (App. 23; 34-37). Similarly, the Winnebago

Agency Annual Statistical Report for 1935 provides

the total area of the original Reservation was reduced

by 162,504.53 acres in light of three events, listing

the sale of 50,157.00 acres of land west of the Rail-

road right-of-way as one of such events. (App. 37).

5

The Office of Indian Affairs did not include the

land west of the railroad right-of-way as part of the

reservation in its reports of 1884, 1888, 1898, 1900,

1906, 1909, or 1911. (App. 36-37). Confirming at the

local level what the Commissioner of Indian Affairs

had previously indicated, Omaha and Winnebago

Agent George Wilson described results of the 1882

Act as follows: “The Omahas have reduced their

reservation by selling 50,000 acres, west of the Sioux

City and Omaha Railroad, to actual settlers, and

have taken allotments on the remainder.” (App. 34-

35). And in 1901 a “local authority,” Indian Agent

Charles Mathewson reported, “The Chicago, St. Paul,

Minneapolis and Omaha Railway passes through the

Winnebago Reservation on the west and form the

southwestern boundary of the Omaha Reservation.”

(App. 37).

A series of maps of the Omaha Reservation also

suggest that diminishment occurred as a result of the

1882 Act. In 1883, a map of Indian reservations,

compiled under the direction of Hiram Price, Com-

missioner of Indian Affairs, indicated that the bound-

aries of the Omaha Reservation did not extend west

of the railroad right-of-way. In 1888, a new map of

Indian reservations was “compiled from official and

authentic sources, under the direction of the Hon.

JNO. H. Oberly, Commissioner of Indian Affairs.”

Similarly, an 1892 map of Indian reservations “com-

piled under the direction of Hon. T.J. Morgan, Com-

missioner of Indian Affairs,” indicated that the

6

boundaries of the Omaha Reservation did not extend

west of the railroad right-of-way.

Congress authorized the Secretary of the Interior,

with the consent of the Omaha Tribe, to extend the

non-Indian settler’s payment period on multiple

occasions. (App. 35). The 1888 extension directed the

Secretary of the Interior to declare certain purchas-

er’s tracts forfeited due to default on payment. (App.

35). Upon forfeiture, a settler’s tract was to be sold at

public auction to the highest bidder. (App. 35).

On January 31, 1924, a letter was sent by a

delegation from the Omaha Tribe inquiring of the

Commissioner for Indian Affairs how much land west

of the Railroad right-of-way had been sold, the total

amount paid therefor, and whether those monies had

been allocated to the Omaha Tribe. (App. 37). The

Commissioner’s written response only provides that:

1) 50,157.24 acres were opened for homestead entry;

2) that public sales were held in accordance with the

terms of the Acts of August 7, 1882, March 3, 1883,

and section 3 of the Act of May 15, 1888; and 3) “all

the moneys for which the lands were sold have been

paid.” (App. 37).

Section 8 of the 1882 Act provided that any

“residue” lands lying east of the Railroad right-of-way

were to be patented to the Tribe in common and held

in trust by the federal government. (App. 32). While

some of the approximately 800 post-1882 Act allot-

ments were made adjacent to, but east of, the Rail-

road right-of-way, no new allotments were made west

7

of that demarcation line. (App. 36). By 1919, all lands

allotted to Omaha Tribe members west of the Rail-

road right-of-way had been patented in fee simple;

thus, no trust land remained west of the demarcation

line. (App. 36).

Ill. Establishment of Village of Pender

According to the Commissioner of Indian Affairs

report in 1884, non-Indian settlers immediately

occupied the land west of the Railroad right-of-way

upon its opening. (App. 34). One settler, W.E. Peebles,

then engaged in the town of Oakland, Nebraska,

decided to dispose of his mercantile interests and

purchased a 160-tract of land near the Railroad right-

of-way. (App. 38). Peebles deeded a tract to the Rail-

road to erect a depot and platted a townsite on the

remaining acres to found the city of Pender. (App. 38).

Lots within the townsite were sold on April 7, 1885.

(App. 38). Soon, Pender became the county seat of

Thurston County, Nebraska, which encompasses the

Omaha and Winnebago Tribe’s Reservations. Availa-

ble data from the U.S. Census Bureau for the rele-

vant townships in Thurston and Cuming Counties

indicates that, since at least 1900, the non-Indian

population west of the Railroad right-of-way has

ranged from 98.18% to 99.95%. (App. 38).

8

IV. Enforcement of the Beverage Control

Ordinance and Subsequent Litigation

On February 28, 2006, the Secretary of the

Interior approved amendments to Title 8 of the

Omaha Tribal Code, promulgating the Beverage

Control Ordinance (“Ordinance”). (App. 16). The

Ordinance “govern(s] the sale, possession and distri-

bution of alcohol within the Omaha Tribe’s Indian

Reservation” by imposing a licensing scheme and a

10% sales tax on the purchase of alcoholic beverages

from any licensee. (App. 16). Efforts to enforce the

Ordinance against Individual Petitioners began

shortly after its promulgation. (App. 17-18).

Individual Petitioners received application forms

and requests to remit the ten-percent tax in the mail

from the Tribe. (App. 17-18). When no response was

forthcoming, the Tribe sent a second notice to Indi-

vidual Petitioners informing them that they were

subject to the Omaha Tribal Code and subject to fines

up to $10,000.00 per violation. (App. 18). The United

States District Court for the District of Nebraska,

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1331, granted Individual

Petitioners a temporary restraining order against the

enforcement of the Ordinance on April 17, 2007. (App.

18). The District Court stayed further proceedings

pending exhaustion of review by the Omaha Tribal

Court. (App. 18-19). Individual Petitioners filed an

action in the Omaha Tribal Court seeking a declara-

tion as to whether Pender, Nebraska lay within the

boundaries of the Omaha Indian Reservation and an

injunction against any future enforcement of the

9

Ordinance. (App. 19). On cross-motions for summary

judgment, the Omaha Tribal Court determined that

the original boundaries of the Reservation had not

been diminished. (App. 19).

Proceedings resumed before the federal District

Court wherein de novo review was conducted as to

the question whether the Omaha Indian Reservation

was diminished following the 1882 Act such that

Pender, Nebraska was no longer within its borders.

(App. 12). State Petitioner intervened making the

broader assertion that the Reservation had been

diminished as to the entire area west of the Railroad

right-of-way. (App. 45-47). The United States inter-

vened in support of the Omaha Tribe. (App. 45-47).

The District Court ruled in favor of the Tribe on

cross-motions for summary judgment. (App. 77-79).

The District Court held that ambiguous evidence

regarding the first two Solem factors — statutory

language and legislative history — necessarily fore-

closed any possibility that diminishment would be

found on a de facto basis. (App. 68; 76). Petitioners

appealed to the United States Court of Appeals for

the Eighth Circuit. (App. 1). The Eighth Circuit

issued a panel opinion on December 14, 2014, affirm-

ing the judgment of the District Court. (App. 1-8). The

panel determined that the “(district] court carefully

reviewed the relevant legislative history, contemporary

historical context, subsequent congressional and

administrative references to the reservation, and

demographic trends, and did so in such a fashion that

any additional analysis would only be unnecessary

10

surplus.” (App. 7). Petitioners were denied rehearing

en banc. (App. 80-81).

SJ

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Court has established a “fairly clean analyti-

cal structure” to evaluate the potentially diminishing

impact surplus land acts of the late 1800’s and early

1900’s had on the boundaries of federal Indian reser-

vations. The Eighth Circuit’s decision presents an

apparent conflict with the Court’s diminishment

jurisprudence insofar as it precludes proper consider-

ation of one of the three factors articulated in Solem —

the jurisdictional history and subsequent treatment

of the area. The failure to properly consider the third

Solem factor, lead the Eighth Circuit to conclude that

the Omaha Tribe’s Reservation had not been dimin-

ished by the Act of 1882, thus undermining the justi-

fiable expectations of the Pender area residents. The

impacts stemming from mistreatment of the third

Solem factor are not limited to the circumstances

experienced in Pender, Nebraska — at least two of the

federal Circuit Courts have made the same analytical

error in prior decisions not reviewed by this Court.

I. The Analytical Framework

“As a doctrinal matter, the States have jurisdic-

tion over unallotted opened lands if the applicable

surplus land Act freed that land of its reservation

status and thereby diminished the reservation

11

boundaries.” Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463, 467

(1984). “[WJhen Congress has once established a

reservation all tracts included within it remain a part

of the reservation until separated therefrom by

Congress.” United States v. Celestine, 215 U.S. 278,

285 (1909). Accordingly, the “touchstone to determine

whether a given statute diminished or retained

reservation boundaries is congressional purposes.”

South Dakota v. Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. 329,

344 (1998). Of course, “it is settled law that some

surplus land Acts diminished reservations and other

surplus land Acts did not.” Solem, 465 U.S. at 469.

“The mere fact that a reservation has been opened to

settlement does not necessarily mean that the opened

area has lost its reservation status.” Rosebud Sioux

Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584, 586-87 (1977). “A con-

gressional determination to terminate must be ex-

pressed on the face of the Act or be clear from the

surrounding circumstances and legislative history.”

Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481, 505 (1973). Courts are

cautioned to follow the general rule that “[djoubtful

expressions are to be resolved in favor of the weak

and defenseless people who are the wards of the

nation, dependent upon its protection and good faith.”

Carpenter v. Shaw, 280 U.S. 363, 367 (1930). Howev-

er, “we are not free to say to Congress: ‘[wJe see what

you are driving at, but you have not said it, and

therefore we shall go on as before.’” Rosebud, 430

U.S. at 597 (quoting Johnson v. United States, 163 F.

30, 32 (1st Cir. 1908)).

“‘Diminishment commonly refers to the reduction

in size of a reservation. A finding of diminishment

12

generally suggests that a discrete, easily identifiable

parcel of land has been removed from reservation

status.’” (App. 12) (citing Yankton Sioux Tribe v.

Gaffey, 188 F.3d 1010, 1017 (8th Cir. 1999)). The

issue presented to the Eighth Circuit involved the

removal of the parcel west of the Railroad right-of-

way from reservation status. (App. 3).

“In determining whether a reservation has been

diminished, [the Court’s] precedents in the area have

established a fairly clean analytical structure, direct-

ing [courts] to look to three factors.” Hagen v. Utah,

510 U.S. 399, 410-11 (1994) (emphasis added) (cit-

ing Solem, 465 U.S. at 470). The Solem Court articu-

lated the three-part analysis courts use to evaluate

whether a surplus land act may have diminished the

original boundaries of a federal Indian reservation.

See 465 U.S. at 470-72 (holding that the “statutory

language used to open the Indian lands,” “events

surrounding the passage of a surplus land Act,” and

“events that occurred after the passage of a surplus

land Act” are all relevant in determining whether

diminishment occurred). The doctrine of “de facto

diminishment” arises from a court’s consideration of

the third Solem factor — events occurring after pas-

sage of a surplus land Act. Jd. at 471-72.

With respect to the first Solem factor — statutory

language — it has been noted that “[uJltimately, no

magic words are required as prerequisites for finding

reservation boundaries have been altered.” Shawnee

Tribe v. United States, 423 F.3d 1204, 1222 (10th Cir.

2005) (referencing Solem, 465 U.S. at 471) (finding

13

that “explicit language of cession and unconditional

compensation are not prerequisites for a finding of

diminishment.”). The Court has observed that the

“most probative evidence of congressional intent is

the statutory language used to open the Indian

lands.” Solem, 465 U.S. at 470. At the same time, a

court’s ability rely on express statutory language to

discern the intended effect of the Act of 1882 is

viewed as limited because

... the surplus land Acts themselves seldom

detail whether opened lands retained reser-

vation status or were divested of all Indian

interests. When the surplus land Acts were

passed, the distinction seemed unimportant.

The notion that reservation status of Indian

lands might not be coextensive with tribal

ownership was unfamiliar at the turn of the

century.

Solem, 465 U.S. at 468.

Indeed, the Court has noted that the diminish-

ment

... inquiry is informed by the understand-

ing that, at the turn of this century, Congress

did not view the distinction between acquir-

ing Indian property and assuming jurisdic-

tion over Indian territory as a critical one, in

part because the notion that reservation sta-

tus of Indian lands might not be coextensive

with tribal ownership was unfamiliar ...

[and] Congress assumed that the reservation

system would fade over time. Given this

expectation, Congress naturally failed to be

14

meticulous in clarifying whether a particular

piece of legislation formally sliced a certain

parcel of land off one reservation.

Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at 343 (internal cita-

tions omitted).

With respect to the second factor — legislative

history — the Solem Court explained that

When events surrounding the passage of a

surplus land Act — particularly the manner

in which the transaction was negotiated

with the tribes involved and the tenor of

legislative Reports presented to Congress —

unequivocally reveal a widely held, contem-

poraneous understanding that the affected

reservation would shrink as a result of the

proposed legislation, we have been willing

to infer that Congress shared the under-

standing that its action would diminish the

reservation, notwithstanding the presence

of statutory language that would otherwise

suggest reservation boundaries remained un-

changed.

Solem, 465 U.S. at 471.

In addition to the potential impact of statutory

language and legislative history, the Court considers

whether the treatment of the area following the

opening of an Indian reservation to non-Indian set-

tlement may result in de facto diminishment of the

reservation’s original boundaries. See, e.g., DeCoteau

v. District County Court, 420 U.S. 425, 428 (1975);

Rosebud Sioux Tribe, 430 U.S. at 588 n.3 and 604-05;

15

Solem, 465 U.S. at 472. See also Yankton Sioux Tribe,

522 U.S. at 356-57 (the Court’s most recent pro-

nouncement on the diminishment inquiry wherein

the possibility of de facto diminishment was reassert-

ed in a unanimous opinion).

The nature of de facto diminishment is thus

described by the Court:

On a more pragmatic level, we have recog-

nized that who actually moved onto opened

reservation lands is also relevant to deciding

whether a surplus land Act diminished a res-

ervation. Where non-Indian settlers flooded

into the opened portion of a reservation and

the area has long since lost its Indian char-

acter, we have acknowledged that de facto, if

not de jure, diminishment may have oc-

curred.

In addition to the obvious practical ad-

vantages of acquiescing to de facto dimin-

ishment, we look to the subsequent

demographic history of the opened lands as

one additional clue as to what Congress ex-

pected would happen once land on a particu-

lar reservation was opened to non-Indian

settlers.

When an area is predominately populated by

non-Indians with only a few surviving pock-

ets of Indian allotments, finding that the

land remains Indian country seriously bur-

dens the administration of state and local

governments.

16

Resort to subsequent demographic history is,

of course, an unorthodox and potentially un-

reliable method of statutory interpretation.

However, in the area of surplus land Acts,

where various factors kept Congress from

focusing on the diminishment issue, the

technique is a necessary expedient.

Solem, 465 U.S. at 471-72 n.12 & 13 (internal cita-

tions omitted).

Notably, the Court expressly declined a past

proposal by the United States Solicitor General to

exclude the second and third Solem factors and

instead rely solely upon a “clear statement rule,”

instead electing to continue to “examine all the cir-

cumstances surrounding the opening of a reserva-

tion.” Hagen, 510 U.S. at 412. There is nothing in the

Court’s diminishment jurisprudence which suggests

that the third Solem factor is without influence when

a court is presented with ambiguous evidence con-

cerning the first two factors. Regardless, the Eighth

Circuit precluded any meaningful consideration of the

third Solem factor by limiting its value to the dimin-

ishment analysis in a manner that conflicts with the

Court’s precedent.

II. The Eighth Circuit’s Decision

The Eighth Circuit’s finding that ambiguity

concerning the first two Solem factors - statutory

language and legislative history — creates a conclu-

sive presumption of non-diminishment not subject to

17

rebuttal by evidence concerning the third Solem

factor is in apparent conflict with the Court’s prece-

dent regarding the potential for de facto diminish-

ment. Despite its authority to conduct a de novo

review of the District Court’s findings, the Eighth

Circuit adopted wholesale the lower court’s analysis

simply observing that “any additional analysis would

only be unnecessary surplus.” (App. 7). However,

additional analysis was necessary.

With respect to the first Solem factor, the District

Court found that the 1882 Act contained neither any

hallmark language evincing diminishment or any of

the commonly-identified provisions indicating Con-

gress intent that reservation status should be main-

tained. (App. 55-62); see, e.g., Mattz, 412 U.S. at 494

(reserving from settlement tracts upon which any

Indian Village currently sits); Seymour v. Superin-

tendent of Washington State Penitentiary, 368 U.S.

351, 354 (1962) (excluding from allotment and set-

tlement land reserved for Indian school, agency, or

other purposes); Solem, 465 U.S. at 464 (granting

authority to reserve land for agency, schools, or

religious purposes); Duncan Energy Co. v. Three

Affiliated Tribes, 27 F.3d 1294, 1297 (8th Cir. 1994)

(reserving timber and coa) rights in opened land).

As to the second Solem factor — legislative history

and the historical context surrounding the passage of

the Act of 1882 — the District Court found that “the

only thing that can be said with certainty is that

Congress understood that the stated purpose of the

legislation at issue was ‘to sell this land and get it

18

into cultivation, and the object of the Indians is to get

the money and have it put in trust for them here in

Washington where they can draw their interest.’”

(App. 62-69). This finding reflects the widely-held

notion regarding the fate of the reservation system

that led Congress to fail “to be meticulous in clarify-

ing whether a particular piece of legislation formally

sliced a certain parcel of land off one reservation.”

Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at 343. As with the

first Solem factor, the Eighth Circuit was presented

with ambiguous evidence concerning the second

factor. (App. 63-64) (“The congressional debate indi-

cates both an intent to ‘sell off from this reservation

..- 50,000 acres in a block on the western side of it,’

but also an intent to honor an existing treaty which

allowed ‘any Indian to go upon any part of the whole

reservation and occupy’ the land.”) (emphasis in

original).

Faced with ambiguity regarding the first two

Solem factors, the District Court held that because

“both the language in the 1882 Act and its legislative

history ‘fail to provide substantial and compelling

evidence of a congressional intention to diminish the

Indian lands [it was] bound by our traditional solici-

tude for the Indian tribes to rule that diminishment

did not take place and that the old reservation

boundaries survived the opening.’” (App. 68). To be

sure, the District Court provided some discussion of

the subsequent treatment of the area and pattern of

settlement. (App. 69-76). However, the District Court

improperly limited the impact of the third Solem

19

factor finding that “/ejven if this demographic evi-

dence did establish diminishment, it cannot overcome

my conclusion that the language of the 1882 Act itself

does not clearly evince Congress’ intent to diminish the

Omaha Reservation.” (App. 76) (emphasis added).

Rather than examining all the circumstances

surrounding the opening of the Omaha Tribe’s Reser-

vation, first in an effort to discern Congressional

intent and then to determine whether a de facto

diminishment had occurred, the Eighth Circuit

improperly created a conclusive presumption of non-

diminishment in light of the ambiguous evidence

regarding statutory language and legislative history.

See Solem, 465 U.S. at 481 (observing that “[nJeither

the [Act], the circumstances surrounding its passage,

nor the subsequent events clearly establish” dimin-

ishment). The Eighth Circuit’s decision effectively

reads the de facto diminishment doctrine out of

federal jurisprudence.

Proper consideration of the demographic and

jurisdictional history of the area west of the Railroad

right-of-way necessitates a finding of diminishment.

“[A] contrary conclusion would seriously disrupt the

justifiable expectations of the people living in the

area.” Hagen, 510 U.S. at 421. The Court has ex-

plained that the third Solem factor is the “least

compelling for a simple reason: Every surplus land

Act necessarily resulted in a surge of non-Indian

settlement and degraded the “Indian character” of the

reservation. .. .” Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at 356

(emphasis added). However, the “Indian character” of

20

the area west of the Railroad right-of-way has not

gradually diminished over time as has often occurred

in other cases where the Court considered the possi-

bility of de facto diminishment. See id. (observing

that “the Yankton population in the region promptly

and drastically declined after the 1894 Act ... [such

that] non-Indians constitute two thirds of popula-

tion.”) (emphasis added). See also Hagen, 510 U.S. at

421 (observing that the “current population of the

area is approximately 85 percent non-Indian.”);

Solem, 465 U.S. at 480 (observing that “[mlJost of the

members of the Tribe obtained individual allotments

on the lands opened by the Act” and that the “strong

tribal presence in the opened area has continued

until the present day”).

Rather, the record demonstrates that the area

west of the Railroad right-of-way never possessed any

Indian character. According to the Commissioner of

Indian Affairs report in 1884, non-Indian settlers

“immediately occupied” the land west of the Railroad

right-of-way upon its opening. (App. 34-37). Lots in

the tract of land dedicated to establish a townsite for

the city of Pender were sold on April 7, 1885. (App.

38). Available data from the U.S. Census Bureau for

the relevant townships in Thurston and Cuming

Counties indicates that, since at least 1900, the non-

Indian population west of the Railroad right-of-way

has ranged from 98.18% to 99.95%. (App. 38).

Even when “subsequent jurisdictional history is

not entirely clear, the single most salient fact is the

unquestioned actual assumption of state jurisdiction

21

over the unallotted lands... .” Rosebud, 430 U.S. at

675 (internal citation omitted). “The longstanding

assumption of jurisdiction by the State over an area

that is over 90% non-Indian, both in population and

in land use, not only demonstrates the parties’ under-

standing of the meaning of the Act, but has created

justifiable expectations which should not be upset by

so strained a reading of the Acts of Congress as

petitioner urges.” Jd. at 676. See also Osage Nation v.

Irby, 597 F.3d 1117, 1127-28 (2010) (citing Oneida

Indian Nation of New York v. City of Sherrill, 337

F.3d 139 (2d Cir. 2003) (“‘the longstanding assump-

tion of jurisdiction by the State over an area that is

[predominately] non-Indian, both in population and

in land use, may create justifiable expectations’ that

‘merit heavy weight.’”)).

The present appeal arose from litigation initiat-

ed, not by the Omaha Tribe, but by longtime business

owners from the Village of Pender who found them-

selves subject to Tribal taxation for the first time in

2006. (App. 17-18). Up until that time, these business

owners were licensed by, and subject to the taxation

of, the State of Nebraska. (App. 15). In fact, the

Tribe’s governmental presence in the area west of the

Railroad right-of-way has been virtually non-existent.

(App. 47-48). Apart from the Tribe’s 2006 effort to

impose the Beverage Control Ordinance, there is no

evidence in the record that the Omaha Tribe has

attempted to enforce tribal ordinances west of the

Railroad right-of-way. (App. 47-48). Nor has the Tribe

22

provided any utilities, health care, or social services

west of the Railroad right-of-way. (App. 47-48).

The Field Solicitor for the Department of the

Interior (“Field Solicitor”) issued a formal written

opinion on June 27, 1989, addressing the location of

the western boundary of the Omaha Tribe’s Reserva-

tion to facilitate a survey to be conducted by the

Bureau of Land Management. (App. 42-43). The

Department of the Interior’s official position in 1989

was that the Reservation had been diminished to

exclude the area west of the Railroad right-of-way.

(App. 42-43). Following commencement of legal

proceedings below, the Great Plains Regional Director

for the Bureau of Indian Affairs requested legal

support from the Deputy Solicitor of the Department

of the Interior (“Deputy Solicitor”). (App. 42-44). The

Deputy Solicitor considered the letter to “implicitly

request| ] reconsideration of the 1989 opinion issued

by [the Solicitor’s Office].” (App. 42-44). The Deputy

Solicitor the revised the Department’s opinion citing

“recent developments in diminishment jurisprudence”

restricted dissemination of the document labeling it

“Attorney Work Product.” On or about April 16, 2012,

the Deputy Solicitor issued a memorandum to the

Field Solicitor purporting to withdraw the June 27,

1989 opinion and directing the Field Office to rely

upon the revised April 24, 2008 diminishment analy-

sis. (App. 43-44). The U.S. Attorney’s Office did not

inform the State of Nebraska of this change in posi-

tion until October 9, 2012, after proceedings had

recommenced before the District Court. (App. 45).

23

The Field Solicitor’s original opinion examined

the relevant treaties and legislation and evaluated

the boundary question in light of the judicial prece-

dent at the time. The Field Solicitor found that

“[wJhen compared with the language of other cases

dealing with possible diminishment, the Omaha

language leads to the conclusion that on the basis of

the language alone diminishment was not the intent

of Congress.” (emphasis in original). However, the

Field Solicitor found that “the effect of the 1872 Act

was at least a de facto diminishment.” The Field

Solicitor also found that “the Omaha Act of 1882 does

not present a good set of facts to argue against de

facto diminishment.” The Field Solicitor recognized

that “the Tribe could certainly claim that the intent of

the 1882 Act was to open the reservation for non-

Indian settlement but not to diminish it. However,

the Court in Solem also acknowledges that the de

facto diminishment in fact may exist regardless of

Congressional intent.” The Solicitor went on to con-

clude that “[f]rom the information currently available

to this office, the Omaha situation presents a set of

facts from which a court could easily find de facto

diminishment.” Ultimately, the Field Solicitor con-

cluded that “the most logical demarcation line for the

western boundary of the Omaha Reservation is the

centerline of the abandoned railway right of way.”

The Deputy Solicitor explained the Department’s

earlier position was based on a “less developed

administrative file” and the revised opinion was

24

necessitated by the Court’s subsequent holding in

Yankton Sioux Tribe. However, it is unclear from the

revised opinion how the administrative record

changed between 1989 and 2008 or how the Court’s

holding in Yankton Sioux Tribe warranted a change in

position. Based on the record, it would appear the

Department simply revised its longstanding opinion

concerning the diminishment of the Reservation to

reflect the position it would take in litigation.

The negative effects of the Eighth Circuit’s

decision have the potential for recurrence in future

boundary disputes between sovereign States and

federally-recognized Indian tribes. Indeed, this is not

the first instance in which the Eighth Circuit has

held given improper treatment to the third Solem

factor under the diminishment analysis. See Duncan

Energy Co., 27 F.3d at 1298 (“[wle find this exclusive

reliance on the third Solem factor to create a quasi-

diminishment totally inappropriate”) (emphasis

added). The Tenth Circuit has similarly held that

“‘subsequent events and demographic history can

support and confirm other evidence but cannot stand

on their own....’” Osage Nation, 597 F.3d at 1122

(citing Pittsburg & Midway Coal Mining Co. v. Yazzie,

909 F.2d 1387, 1396 (10th Cir. 1990)).

The question of how evidence relating to the

third Solem factor is to be treated is of exceptional

importance — not only to the residents of the Pender,

Nebraska area but to the relationship among the

federally-recognized Indian Tribes and the States.

25

The Eighth Circuit’s decision alters the status quo,

undermining the justifiable expectations developed

by Pender area residents over more than a century

and creating uncertainty and risk for the well-being

of citizens of Nebraska and members of the Tribe.

Over the last 132 years, the individuals who have

chosen to reside in the Pender, Nebraska area and

build homes, schools, and churches, open businesses

and raise families, have developed justifiable expecta-

tions that the area in which they are doing these

things was under the jurisdiction of the State of

Nebraska.

Viewing the stipulated record as whole, it is

difficult to overlook how time has allowed the resi-

dents of the Pender, Nebraska area to develop the

sort of justifiable expectations the Rosebud Sioux

Tribe Court was referring to. To create a conclusive

presumption of non-diminishment based on ambigu-

ous evidence relating to the first two Solem factors

precludes meaningful consideration of such expecta-

tions. The Court’s traditional solicitude for Indian

tribes does not require such a result.

S

CONCLUSION

Petitioners respectfully request that the Court

issue a writ of certiorari to the Eighth Circuit Court

of Appeals.

26

Respectfully submitted this 27th day of May,

2015.

DOUGLAS J. PETERSON

Nebraska Attorney General

BLAKE E. JOHNSON GENE SUMMERLIN

Assistant Attorney General MARNIE JENSEN

Counsel of Record MARK D. HILL

RYAN S. Post HUSCH BLACKWELL, LLP

Assistant Attorney General 610 J Street, Suite 200

2115 State Capitol Lincoln, Nebraska 68508

Lincoln, Nebraska 68509 (402) 434-8040

(402) 471-2682 gene.summerlin@

blake,johnson@nebraska.gov = huschblackwell.com

ryan.post@nebraska.gov marnie.jensen@

huschblackwell.com

Attorneys for the ic hill@huschblackwell

State of Nebraska —_

Attorneys for Individual

& Village Petitioners

App. 1

Richard M. Smith; Donna Smith; Doug

Schrieber; Susan Schrieber; Rodney A. Heise;

Thomas J. Welsh; Jay Lake; Julie Lake; Kevin

Brehmer; Ron Brinkman; Village of Pender,

Plaintiffs - Appellants State of Nebraska,

Intervenor Plaintiff - Appellant v. Mitch Parker,

In his official capacity as Chairman of the

Omaha Tribal Council; Barry Webster, In his

official capacity as Vice-Chairman of the Oma-

ha Tribal Council; Amen Sheridan, In his offi-

cial capacity as Treasurer of the Omaha Tribal

Council; Rodney Morris, In his official capacity

as Secretary of the Omaha Tribal Council;

Orville Cayou, In his official capacity as Mem-

ber of the Omaha Tribal Council; Eleanor Bax-

ter, In her official capacity as Member of the

Omaha Tribal Council; Ansley Griffin, In his

official capacity as Member of the Omaha Tribal

Council and as the Omaha Tribe’s Director of

Liquor Control, Defendants - Appellees The

United States, Intervenor Defendant - Appellee

No. 14-1642

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

774 F.3d 1166; 2014 U.S. App. LEXIS 23963

October 7, 2014, Submitted

December 19, 2014, Filed

COUNSEL: For Richard M. Smith, Donna Smith,

Doug Schrieber, Susan Schrieber, Rodney A. Heise,

Thomas J. Welsh, Jay Lake, Julie Lake, Kevin

Brehmer, Ron Brinkman, Village of Pender, Plaintiffs

~ Appellants: Mark Davis Hill, HUSCH &

App. 2

BLACKWELL, Omaha, NE; Marnie Jensen, Gene

Summerlin, HUSCH & BLACKWELL, Lincoln, NE.

For State of Nebraska, Intervenor Plaintiff — Appel-

lant: Jon Cumberland Bruning, Attorney General,

David D. Cookson, Deputy Assistant Attorney Gen-

eral, Blake E. Johnson, Assistant Attorney General,

David A. Lopez, Assistant Attorney General, Ryan

Post, Assistant Attorney General, Katherine J.

Spohn, Assistant Attorney General, ATTORNEY

GENERAL'S OFFICE, Lincoln, NE.

For Mitch Parker, In his official capacity as Chair-

man of the Omaha Tribal Council, Barry Webster, In

his official capacity as Vice-Chairman of the Omaha

Tribal Council, Amen Sheridan, In his official capaci-

ty as Treasurer of the Omaha Tribal Council, Rodney

Morris, In his official capacity as Secretary of the

Omaha Tribal Council, Orville Cayou, In his official

capacity as Member of the Omaha Tribal Council,

Eleanor Baxter, In her official capacity as Member of

the Omaha Tribal Council, Ansley Griffin, In his

official capacity as Member of the Omaha Tribal

Council and as the Omaha Tribe’s Director of Liquor

Control, Defendants — Appellees: Nora Marie Kane,

Patricia A. Zieg, STINSON & LEONARD, Omaha,

NE; Mark Jon Peterson, PETERSON LAW OFFICE,

Omaha, NE.

For The United States, Intervenor Defendant —

Appellee: Katherine J. Barton, Daron Carreiro, Mary

Gabrielle Sprague, U.S. DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE,

App. 3

Environment & Natural Resources Division, Appel-

late Section, Washington, DC.

JUDGES: Before LOKEN, BEAM, and COLLOTON,

Circuit Judges.

OPINION BY: BEAM

OPINION

BEAM, Circuit Judge.

Appellants, the Village of Pender, Nebraska, and

resident owners or agents of establishments in or

near Pender engaged in the sale of alcoholic beverag-

es, appeal the district court’s' denial of Appellants’

motion for summary judgment requesting declaratory

and injunctive relief from the Omaha Tribe’s attempt

to enforce its liquor-license and tax scheme on them,

and the court’s corresponding grant of summary

judgment in favor of the Omaha Tribe. The Omaha

Tribal Court as well as the federal district court

determined that Pender and the relevant areas

involved in this action are located on Omaha tribal

land. Appellants challenge the district court’s deter-

mination that the Omaha Indian Reservation was not

diminished by an 1882 act of Congress. We affirm.

In 2006, the Secretary of the Interior approved

amendments to Title 8 of the Omaha Tribal Code,

which modified the tribe’s Beverage Control Ordinance

" The Honorable Richard G. Kopf, United States District

Judge for the District of Nebraska.

App. 4

and allowed the tribal government to impose a ten

percent sales tax on the purchase of alcohol from any

licensee on tribal land. The Omaha Tribe attempted

to enforce this alcohol tax on the individual plaintiffs,

resulting in this action. Appellants claimed that they

were not located within the boundaries of the Omaha

Indian Reservation and thus not subject to the tax.

As noted by the district court, the pivotal issue in

this case is whether Congress intended to “diminish”

the boundaries of the Omaha Indian Reservation in

Nebraska when it enacted an 1882 Act that ratified

an agreement for the sale of Omaha tribal lands to

non-Indian settlers. If it did, the district court stated,

“the area involved would no longer constitute Indian

country, and the Omaha Tribe could not regulate and

tax alcohol sales in Pender, Nebraska.” We review de

novo a grant of summary judgment. Torgerson v. City

of Rochester, 643 F.3d 1031, 1042 (8th Cir. 2011) (en

banc).

The extensive legislative history surrounding the

1882 Act is discussed by the district court. Most

relevant to the required analysis — the touchstone,

really — is language contained in the 1882 Act and the

effect it had on the Omaha Indian Reservation,

especially an area comprising approximately 50,000

acres that lie in the western portion of the reserva-

tion and include the land upon which the Village of

Pender now sits. The Act of August 7, 1882, § 1,

provided:

App. 5

That with the consent of the Omaha

tribe of Indians, expressed in open council,

the Secretary of the Interior be, and he here-

by is, authorized to cause to be surveyed, if

necessary, and sold, all that portion of their

reservation in the State of Nebraska lying

west of the right of way granted by said In-

dians to the Sioux City and Nebraska Rail-

road Company under the agreement of April

nineteenth, eighteen hundred and eighty,

approved by the Acting Secretary of the Inte-

rior, July twenty-seventh eighteen hundred

and eighty. The said lands shall be ap-

praised, in tracts of forty acres each, by three

competent commissioners, one of whom shall

be selected by the Omaha tribe of Indians,

and the other two shall be appointed by the

Secretary of the Interior.

Although not definitive, notably absent from this

language is any explicit reference to “cession” com-

bined with “sum certain” payment, both of which

have been found “precisely suited to terminating

reservation status.” South Dakota v. Yankton Sioux

Tribe, 522 U.S. 329, 344, 118 S. Ct. 789, 139 L. Ed. 2d

773 (1998) (internal quotation omitted). As noted by

the parties, § 3 of the 1882 Act did not provide a sum

certain to be paid to the Omaha Tribe but, rather,

the proceeds of such sale, after paying

all expenses incident to and necessary for

carrying out the provisions of this act, in-

cluding such clerk hire as the Secretary of

the Interior may deem necessary, shall be

placed to the credit of said Indians in the

App. 6

Treasury of the United States, and shall bear

interest (at five percent annually], which in-

come shall be annually expended for the

benefit of said Indians, under the direction of

the Secretary of the Interior.

The district court held that this language did not

clearly evince Congress’ intent to change boundaries

of the Omaha Reservation, but rather “indicates that

the United States intended to act as the Omaha

Tribe’s sales agent for purposes of surveying and

auctioning its reservation land ... with the proceeds

held in trust in the United States Treasury for the

benefit of members of the Omaha Tribe.”

As the district court also highlighted, the histori-

cal facts in this action are undisputed and all are

relevant to the instant analysis in varying degrees

because in this case, while the touchstone of our

determination is the congressional purpose expressed

through relevant statutory language, we also consider

the historical context surrounding the passage of the

act(s) at issue, and, to a lesser extent, the subsequent

treatment of the area in question and the pattern of

settlement there. Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at

351.

Based on our de novo review, we discern that the

district court has thoroughly, thoughtfully, and accu-

rately considered the evidence in light of the guide-

posts provided by the Supreme Court as well as this

court. These guideposts allow courts, sitting in judg-

ment much later in time, a mechanism to most accu-

rately discern the contemporaneous intent and

App. 7

understanding of the relevant parties as it pertained

to the relevant reservation land in question. See id.;

Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399, 421, 114 S. Ct. 958, 127

L. Ed. 2d 252 (1994); Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463,

470, 104 S. Ct. 1161, 79 L. Ed. 2d 443 (1984); Rosebud

Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584, 586-87, 97 S. Ct.

1361, 51 L. Ed. 2d 660 (1977).

Based upon the record evidence, the district court

in this matter has done just that — accurately dis-

cerned the contemporaneous intent and understand-

ing of the 1882 Act. The court carefully reviewed the

relevant legislative history, contemporary historical

context, subsequent congressional and administrative

references to the reservation, and demographic

trends, and did so in such a fashion that any addi-

tional analysis would only be unnecessary surplus.

Ever mindful to “resolve any ambiguities in favor of

the Indians,” there is nothing in this case to overcome

the “presumption in favor of the continued existence”

of the Omaha Indian Reservation. Yankton Sioux

Tribe, 522 U.S. at 344 (quotation omitted); Yankton

Sioux Tribe v. Podhradsky, 606 F.3d 985, 991 (8th Cir.

2010) (quotation omitted).

The importance and impact that this determina-

tion has on the entire community of Pender and its

residents is not lost on this court. As Appellants point

out, this is not a matter of mere historical curiosity or

academic interest. Yet, as we have stated throughout,

App. 8

the district court conducted the appropriate analysis

and we agree. Accordingly, we therefore affirm for the

reasons stated by the district court in its well-

reasoned opinion. See 8th Cir. R. 47B.

App. 9

RICHARD M. SMITH, et al., Plaintiffs, and

STATE OF NEBRASKA, Plaintiff-Intervenor

v. MITCH PARKER, et al., Defendants, and

THE UNITED STATES, Defendant-Intervenor.

4:07CV3101

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEBRASKA

996 F. Supp. 2d 815; 2014 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 18605

February 13, 2014, Decided

February 13, 2014, Filed

COUNSEL: For Richard M. Smith, Donna Smith,

Doug Schrieber, Susan Schrieber, Rodney A Heise,

Thomas J Welsh, Jay Lake, Julie Lake, Keith Brehmer,

Ron Brinkman, Village of Pender, Plaintiffs: Mark D.

Hill, LEAD ATTORNEY, HUSCH, BLACKWELL LAW

FIRM — OMAHA, Omaha, NE; V. Gene Summerlin,

Jr., LEAD ATTORNEY, Lincoln, NE.

For State of Nebraska, Intervenor Plaintiff: David D.

Cookson, David A. Lopez, Jon C. Bruning, Katherine

J. Spohn, Ryan S. Post, LEAD ATTORNEYS, ATTOR-

NEY GENERAL'S OFFICE — NEBRASKA, Lincoln,

NE.

For Mitch Parker, In his official capacity as Chair-

man of the Omaha Tribal Council, Barry Webster, In

his official capacity as Vice-Chairman of the Omaha

Tribal Council, Amen Sheridan, In his official capac-

ity as Treasurer of the Omaha Tribal Council, Rodney

Morris, In his official capacity as Secretary of the

Omaha Tribal Council, Eleanor Baxter, In her official

App. 10

capacity as Member of the Omaha Tribal Council,

Ansley Griffin, In his official capacity as Member of

the Omaha Tribal Council and as the Omaha Tribe’s

Director of Liquor Control, Defendants: Mark J.

Peterson, Nora M. Kane, Patricia A. Zieg, LEAD

ATTORNESY, STINSON, LEONARD LAW FIRM -—

NEBRASKA, Omaha, NE.

For United States, Intervenor Defendant: Daron Carreiro,

LEAD ATTORNEY, U.S. DEPARTMENT OF JUS-

TICE — ENVIRONMENTAL ENFORCEMENT, Wash-

ington, DC.

JUDGES: Richard G. Kopf, Senior United States

District Judge.

OPINION BY: Richard G. Kopf

OPINION

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

The plaintiffs are owners or agents of businesses

and clubs in Pender, Nebraska, that sell alcoholic

beverages. They have sued Omaha Tribal Council

members in their official capacities for prospective

injunctive and declaratory relief from the Omaha

Tribe’s attempt to enforce its liquor-license and tax

scheme on the plaintiffs. The plaintiffs claim that be-

cause they are not located on a federally recognized

App. 11

Indian reservation or in “Indian country,” they are

not subject to the Omaha Tribe’s jurisdiction, and the

defendants have therefore exceeded their authority

under 18 U.S.C. § 1161° and under federal common

law by trying to exercise tribal jurisdiction over the

plaintiffs. The plaintiff-intervenor, the State of Ne-

braska, alleges that the Omaha Tribe has exceeded

its tribal authority under federal common law by at-

tempting to enforce its liquor-license and tax scheme

against the retailers in Pender, but also requests a

permanent injunction prohibiting the Omaha Indian

Tribe from asserting any tribal jurisdiction whatso-

ever within all 50,157 acres of Thurston County,

Nebraska, lying west of the now-abandoned right-of-

way of the Sioux City and Nebraska Railroad — in

other words, the State’s challenge is not limited to

‘ “Indian country” is defined in 18 U.S.C. § 1151 to mean:

“(a) all land within the limits of any Indian reservation under

the jurisdiction of the United States Government, notwithstand-

ing the issuance of any patent, and, including rights-of-way

running through the reservation, (b) all dependent Indian

communities within the borders of the United States whether

within the original or subsequently acquired territory thereof,

and whether within or without the limits of a state, and (c) all

Indian allotments, the Indian titles to which have not been ex-

tinguished, including rights-of-way running through the same.”

* The plaintiffs complaint alleges that 18 U.S.C. § 1161 per-

mits the Omaha Tribe to regulate liquor sales on its reservation

land and in “Indian country.”

App. 12

Pender, Nebraska. (Filing 107, Complaint-in-Intervention

of Intervenor State of Nebraska. )°

This matter is before the court on cross-motions

for summary judgment (Filings 113 & 116) after a

lengthy stay‘ to allow the plaintiffs to exhaust their

remedies in the Omaha Tribal Court. The pivotal

issue in this case is whether Congress intended to

“diminish” the boundaries of the Omaha Indian

* The defendant-intervenor, the United States, claims that

Pender, Nebraska, is located within the boundaries of the Omaha

Tribe’s reservation and that such boundaries have not been

reduced or diminished. (Filing 109, Answer of Intervenor-

Defendant United States to Plaintiffs’ Second Amended Com-

plaint.)

* This case was stayed on October 4, 2007 (Filing 53), and

the judgment of the Omaha Tribal Court was filed in this court

on March 4, 2013. (Filing 86.)

* The term “diminishment” was discussed and clarified in

Lower Brule Sioux Tribe v. State of South Dakota, 711 F.2d 809,

815 n.3 (8th Cir. 1983):

For the sake of clarity, we note that the question

whether the boundaries of an Indian reservation, as

drawn when the reservation was established, are re-

drawn after part of that reservation has been opened

for settlement, has been expressed in several different

ways by various courts. The process has been called

disestablishment (referring to the disestablishment of

the original reservation boundaries); diminishment

(referring to a diminishing or shrinking of the original

boundaries); termination of reservation status (if the

original boundaries are redrawn, the reservation sta-

tus of the land is no longer within the boundaries and

thus is terminated); and a change of boundaries.

See also Yankton Sioux Tribe v. Gaffey, 188 F.3d 1010, 1017 (8th

Cir. 1999) (“[D]iminishment commonly refers to the reduction in

(Continued on following page)

App. 13

Reservation in Nebraska when it enacted an 1882 Act

that ratified an agreement for the sale of Omaha

tribal lands to non-Indian settlers. If Congress in-

tended to diminish the Omaha Reservation, the area

involved would no longer constitute Indian country,

and the Omaha Tribe could not regulate and tax

alcohol sales in Pender, Nebraska. Atkinson Trading

Co., Inc. v. Shirley, 532 U.S. 645, 653, 121 S. Ct. 1825,

149 L. Ed. 2d 889 (2001) (“An Indian tribe’s sovereign

power to tax — whatever its derivation — reaches no

further than tribal land.”).

I. STANDARD OF REVIEW

After litigants have exhausted their remedies in

tribal court, the federal district court “should review

the Tribal Court’s findings of fact under a deferential,

clearly erroneous standard. The Tribal Court’s deter-

minations of federal law should be reviewed de novo

while determinations of Tribal law should be accorded

more deference.” Duncan Energy Co. v. Three Affili-

ated Tribes of Fort Berthold Reservation, 27 F.3d

1294, 1300 (8th Cir. 1994) (citations omitted) (dis-

cussing district court’s review of tribal court’s deter-

mination of its own jurisdiction).

The parties agree that the ultimate issue in this

case — whether the Omaha Indian Reservation was

size of a reservation. A finding of diminishment generally sug-

gests that a discrete, easily identifiable parcel of land has been

removed from reservation status.” (internal citations omitted)).

App. 14

diminished by an 1882 act of Congress — is a question

of federal law and, therefore, is subject to this court’s

de novo consideration. (Filing 118, Pls.’ Br. Supp. Mot.

Summ. J. at CM/ECF pp. 31-37 (arguing that tribal

court’s decision has no legal effect, but “[e]ven if the

Court engages in traditional judicial review, a de novo

standard applies”); Filing 138, Defs.’ Br. Opp’n Pls.’

Mot. Summ. J. at CM/ECF pp. 15-17 (“the ultimate

question of whether the Omaha Indian Reservation

was diminished is subject to this Court’s de novo re-

view”).)

Il. UNDISPUTED MATERIAL FACTS’

A. Parties’

1. The Village of Pender, Nebraska, (“Pender”)

is a village as defined by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 17-201

* I previously ordered (Filings 110 & 130) that this matter

shall be resolved solely on the evidentiary record established

before the tribal court, along with the parties’ joint stipulation of

facts (Filing 100), exhibits attached to the State of Nebraska’s

complaint (Filing 107), Exhibit B to the United States’ index in

support of iiz motion to intervene (Filing 106-3), and additional

maps filed by the State of Nebraska (Filings 123-2, 123-3, 123-4)

and by the defendants in rebuttal (Filings 123-5, 123-6, 123-7,

123-8, 123-9). The parties have also agreed to additional facts in

the course of briefing their motions for summary judgment.

(Filing 138 at CM/ECF pp. 5-15; Filing 118 at CM/ECF pp. 8-9,

11-17, 21-23, 25-28, 31.)

” Unless otherwise indicated, the following facts are undis-

puted and appear in the parties’ joint stipulation of facts (Filing

100) or are characterized as admitted in the parties’ briefing

(Filing 138 at CM/ECF pp. 5-15).

App. 15

with a population of approximately 1,300 residents in

northeastern Nebraska, and is a plaintiff in this liti-

gation. Pender is a political subdivision of the State of

Nebraska, the county seat of Thurston County, and is

governed by a Village Board of Trustees.

2. The remaining plaintiffs are and were at all

relevant times residents of Thurston County and

owners of or agents for establishments engaged in

the sale of alcoholic beverages in or near Pender,

Nebraska. Each of the plaintiffs holds a valid liquor

license from the State of Nebraska and has fully com-

plied with all of Nebraska’s requirements to engage

in the retail sale of alcohol.

3. The Omaha Tribe of Nebraska is a federally

recognized Indian Tribe organized and chartered un-

der the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934. Indian

Entities Recognized and Eligible to Receive Services

from U.S. Bureau of Indian Fairs Notice, 75 Fed. Reg.

60810 (Oct. 1, 2010). Defendants are or were at all

relevant times members or officials of the Omaha

Tribal Council.

4. The plaintiffs’ primary customers are not

members of the Omaha Tribe, but rather nonmember

residents of Pender and the surrounding areas. None

of the plaintiffs are members of the Omaha Tribe,

parties to any contracts with the Omaha Tribe, or in-

volved in any other formal business relationship with

the Tribe. Finally, none of the plaintiffs have applied

for a license or remitted any taxes to the Omaha

App. 16

Tribe under the “Beverage Control Ordinance,” dis-

cussed below.

5. On February 28, 2006, the Secretary of the In-

terior approved amendments to Title 8 of the Omaha

Tribal Code. (Amendment (Title 8 of the Tribal Code)

to Omaha Tribe’s Beverage Control Ordinance, 71

Fed. Reg. 10056 (Feb. 28, 2006) (the ordinance, as

amended, is hereinafter referred to as the “Beverage

Control Ordinance”).

6. The purpose of the Beverage Control Ordi-

nance “is to govern the sale, possession and distri-

bution of alcohol within the Omaha Tribe’s Indian

Reservation.” The Beverage Control Ordinance re-

quires establishments that sell alcohol to obtain a

license for a fee that varies by license class and im-

poses a 10-percent sales tax on the purchase of alco-

hol from any licensee.

7 The licensing scheme contained within the

Beverage Control Ordinance introduces three classes

of liquor licenses — A, B, and C. Class A licenses are

issued to “Package Dealers” and require a $1,000.00

application fee; Class B licenses are issued to “On-

Sale Dealers” and require a $1,500.00 application

fee; and Class C licenses are issued to “Wholesalers”

and require a $500.00 application fee. Each license

is valid for one year, but may be extended for an

additional 30 days, provided that a new license

App. 17

application is pending at the time of expiration. The

Beverage Control Ordinance also institutes a 10-

percent sales tax to be levied on the retail price of

all sales of alcoholic beverages. The 10-percent sales

tax must be remitted to the Omaha Tribe.

8. Any entity applying for a license under the

Beverage Control Ordinance must also grant unlim-

ited access to its books and premises to the Omaha

Tribe. The Beverage Control Ordinance states: “[An

applicant’s] premises, for the purpose of search and

seizure laws shall be considered public premises, and

that such premises and all buildings, safes, cabinets,

lockers, and store rooms thereon will at all times on

demand of the Tribal Council or a duly appointed

Tribal or Federal policeman, be open to inspection.”

9. Non-tribal members who fail to comply with

the licensing and taxing scheme imposed by the Bev-

erage Control Ordinance are subject to administra-

tive fines in the amount of $10,000.00 per violation.

nt of the Vv ontrol

Ordinance

10. The Omaha Tribe has attempted to enforce

the Beverage Control Ordinance against the individ-

ual plaintiffs. In particular, on December 19, 2006,

plaintiff Richard M. Smith, owner of a convenience

store in Pender that has sold alcoholic beverages for

the last 38 years, received a letter from the Omaha

Tribe. The letter included an application to obtain a liq-

uor license from the Omaha Tribe for his convenience

App. 18

store, Smitty City West, and a request to remit the

10-percent alcohol tax imposed by the Beverage Con-

trol Ordinance on a monthly basis. Smith did not take

any action in response to the December 19, 2006, let-

ter because he believed that his business was not

located within the Omaha Indian Reservation, nor

was he affiliated with the Omaha Tribe.

11. On or about January 31, 2007, the plaintiffs

received a Second Notice from the Omaha Tribe via

registered mail. The Second Notice was addressed to

“all manufacturers, importers, wholesalers, and re-

tailers of alcoholic beverages within the Omaha In-

dian Reservation.” This notice informed the plaintiffs

that “the Omaha Tribe’s Director of Liquor Control

has determined that [they] are subject to the re-

quirements of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Title.”

The Second Notice also stated that because the plain-

tiffs were not in compliance with the Beverage Con-

trol Ordinance, they were subject to fines of up to

$10,000.00 per violation. The Second Notice threat-

ened “enforcement actions in Omaha Tribal Court.”

12. On April 17, 2007, the United States Dis-

trict Court for the District of Nebraska granted the

plaintiffs a temporary restraining order prohibiting

the enforcement of the Beverage Control Ordinance

in Pender, Nebraska, and that order was later ex-

tended by a stipulation of the parties. (Filings 16 &

29.)

13. On October 4, 2007, the United States Dis-

trict Court for the District of Nebraska stayed the

App. 19

original proceeding in order for the plaintiffs to ex-

haust any potential remedies available in the Omaha

Tribal Court. (Filing 53.)

14. On January 7, 2008, the plaintiffs filed an

action in the Omaha Tribal Court seeking a judgment

declaring that Pender is not within the boundaries

of the Omaha Reservation and an injunction prohibit-

ing the enforcement of the Beverage Control Ordi-

nance in Pender. In those proceedings, the plaintiffs

retained Emily Greenwald, Ph.D., as their expert wit-

ness to prepare a historical report. Defendants re-

tained R. David Edmunds, Ph.D., Watson Professor of

American History for the University of Texas at

Dallas, as their expert witness to prepare a historical

report.

15. On February 4, 2013, pursuant to cross-

motions for summary judgment, the Omaha Tribal

Court determined that Congress did not “intend[ ] to

diminish the boundaries of the Omaha Indian Reser-

vation” in the applicable 1882 Act, which is discussed

in detail below. (Filings 82-1 & 86.) Stipulating that

exhaustion was complete, the parties returned to this

court for resolution of this matter.

D. The 1854 Treaty

16. In 1854, the Omaha Tribe entered into a

treaty with the United States government in which

the Tribe agreed to “cede to the United States all

their lands west of the Missouri River, and south of a

line drawn due west from a point in the centre of the

App. 20

main channel of said Missouri River due east of

where the Ayoway river disembogues out of the bluffs,

to the western boundary of the Omaha country, and

forever relinquish af right and title to the country

south of said line[.]” (Filing 115-2, at CM/ECF p. 2.)

17. In consideration of and payment for the

land ceded by the Omaha Tribe, the United States

agreed to pay the Omaha Tribe a sum certain paid

over a certain number of years.

18. In the Treaty of 1854, the Omaha Indians

also made a commitment to allow railroads to con-

struct a right-of-way across their reservation at some

point in the future, and in 1880, they agreed to grant

the Sioux City and Nebraska Railroad a right-of-way

from the northern edge of their reservation generally

southeastward until it crossed the southern boundary

of the Omaha Indian Reservation.

19. As a result of the 1854 Treaty, the actual

boundaries of the Omaha Reservation were set in

1855, and the original size of the Omaha Reservation

was approximately 300,000 acres. Pender is within

the original boundaries of the Omaha Reservation as

established in 1855.

E. 1865 Omaha Land Sale: Winnebago Res-

ervation

20. On March 6, 1865, the Omaha Tribe entered

into a treaty with the United States government

under which the Tribe agreed to “cede, sell, and

App. 21

convey to the United States” a portion of the Omaha

Reservation for the sum certain of $50,000.00 for the

establishment of the Winnebago Reservation. (Filing

115-3 at CM/ECF p. 2.)

21. The size of the Winnebago Reservation cre-

ated by the 1865 Treaty was approximately 98,000

acres, leaving the Omaha Reservation with approx-

imately 202,000 acres. The General Land Office

(“GLO”) conducted a survey of the remaining Omaha

Reservation from 1866 to 1867 which was approved

by the GLO Commissioner in 1867.

22. The 1865 Treaty provided for the allotment

of the remaining portion of the Omaha Reservation to

individual Omaha Tribe members and also provided

that the Omaha Tribe was to “vacate and give posses-

sion of the lands ceded by this treaty immediately

after its ratification.”

23. In March 1871, the Omaha received certifi-

cates for their individual allotments, all of which

were in the eastern half of the Omaha Reservation.

The Omaha Tribe members later learned that the

certificates they were given for the allotments pro-

vided in the 1854 and 1865 Treaties did not provide

fee-simple title to the land, causing the Omaha Tribe

to request allotments that would guarantee fee-

simple title to the reservation land so allotted.

App. 22

F 1 i rn Por-

ti rv n

24. In August 1871, the Omaha chiefs appealed

to Congress “to provide for the enactment of a law

authorizing the sale of 50,000 acres of the most west-

ern portion of their reservation ...” to raise funds for

farming and housing. Congress did not enact the re-

quested legislation.

25. In October 1871, the Omaha chiefs sent a

letter to Congress and “earnestly renew/led] the peti-

tion presented to Congress at its last session” calling

for “the sale of near 50,000 acres from the most west-

ern portion of our reservation as can be separated

from the remainder by a line running along the

section-lines from north to south.”

26. On January 22, 1872, Commissioner of In-

dian Affairs F.A. Walker recommended the proposed

legislation to Congress and stated, “I believe that the

general idea of diminishing these reservations for the

purpose of securing higher cultivation of the remain-

ing lands, is consonant with sound policy.”

27. On June 10, 1872, Congress enacted legis-

lation that authorized the Secretary of the Interior,

with the consent and concurrence of the Omaha

Tribe, to “cause to be surveyed, if necessary, a portion

of their reservation in the State of Nebraska, not

exceeding fifty thousand acres, to be taken from the

western part thereof, and to be separated from the

remaining portion of said reservation by a line run-

ning along the section lines from north to south. The

App. 23

said lands so separated shall be appraised... . [and]

the Secretary of the Interior shall be, and hereby is,

authorized to offer the same for sale for cash in

hand.” The 1872 Act also contained provisions allow-

ing other Indian tribes to sell portions of their reser-

vation lands.

28. Only 300.72 acres of the Omaha Reserva-

tion were actually sold under the terms of the 1872

Act. The Commissioner reported: “By the provision of

the act of June 10, 1872, 49,762 acres have been

appraised for sale [and are held] in trust for said

Indians, leaving 143,225 acres as their diminished

reserve.”

' G,. 1873 Ponca Agreement Regarding the

Western Portion of the Omaha Reserva-

tion

29. On November 6, 1873, the Omaha and

Ponca chiefs signed a resolution to sell a portion of

the Omaha Reservation to the Ponca Tribe. Both

tribes wished to settle the Ponca on the western part

of the Omaha Reservation surveyed and appraised for

sale in 1872.

30. The sale of land from the Omahas to the

Poncas was never completed.

App. 24

| Sale: Wisconsin Win-

nebagoes

31. In 1874, following the Omaha’s unsuccessful

attempt to sell land to the Poncas, Congress appro-

priated funds to purchase additional land from the

Omaha Tribe for the Wisconsin Winnebagoes from the

eastern part of the Omaha Reservation. The amount

of land sold to the Wisconsin Winnebagos was re-

ported as 12,374.53 acres.

I. 1880 Proposal Regarding the Western

Portion of the rvation

32. In 1880, Nebraska Senator Alvin Saunders

again offered a bill to accomplish the sale of 50,000

acres from the western portion of the Omaha Reser-

vation first proposed as part of the 1872 Act. In

support of this effort, Senator Saunders stated: “The

bill provides for a survey and sale of fifty thousand

acres. There was a bill passed some eight years ago

[the 1872 Act] authorizing the sale of this land, and

only about three hundred acres of land were sold

under it. The Secretary now recommends that we de-

duct that from this bill so that the survey may stand

as it is, 49,461.71 acres instead of fifty thousand

acres.

33. Later in the debate, Senator Saunders ex-

plained why the 1872 Act was unsuccessful: “Let me

state the reason for it. A bill was passed some seven

or eight years ago authorizing it to be sold in smaller

tracts, but people would not go and settle around the

App. 25

Indians when they could get lands as cheap or cheaper

off a distance from them. The object now is that we

may get, if possible, persons to emigrate in colonies

and go and make their own settlements where they

will not be isolated from society.”

34. Senator Saunders went on to state: “The In-

dians want the land sold . . . [T]hey want this money

put out at interest so that they can have the interest

to use in improving their farms. They are very desir-

ous to have the land sold. They even would have it

sold at a lower figure than this bill names if it cannot

be sold at that.”

35. Senator Saunders’ 1880 proposal did not ad-

vance.

J. 1882 Act Regarding the Western Portion

of th ation

36. On February 20, 1882, the Senate intro-

duced Senate Bill 1255, which provided for the sale of

up to 50,000 acres from the western portion of the

Omaha Reservation.

37. During the first floor debate on this bill,

Senator Saunders stated: “It happens to be one of

those few cases where I believe everybody is satisfied

to have a bill of this kind passed. The Indians want it

passed so as to put the money derived from the sale

on interest. The white people are there ready to buy

the land and put it in cultivation.” In support of the

bill, Senator Saunders read a letter into the record

App. 26

stating: “[TJhere are no Indians living on the western

portion of the Omaha Reservation; that no land has

been allotted to any of them so far as I can ascertain;

and furthermore [] there are no improvements such

as housing, fencing[ ] upon the 50,000 acres of land

alluded to in your letter.” Senator Saunders also

stated: “Twice they have expressed themselves al-

ready in open council in favor of it, and the bill re-

quires that it shall be done a third time, and that the

land shall not be sold until they do decide in open

council that they want it sold.”

38. Senator Saunders explained that the 1882

Act “practically breaks up that portion at least of the

reservation which is to be sold, and provides that it

shall be disposed of to private purchasers.” He went

on to state that under the bill, “(t]he lands that [the

tribe] occupy are segregated from the remainder of

the reservation, and the allottees receive patents to

the separate tracts, so that the interest and control

and jurisdiction of the United States is absolutely

relinquished.”

39. Specific to the land west of the right-of-way,

Senator Saunders explained that the Omahas did not

want to live in the area to be sold. “I do not think an

acre of this land will be sold to the Indians... ,” and

“I did not think as a matter of fact a single acre of

land [west of the right-of-way] would go into the

hands of Indians.” Senator Saunders’ belief was con-

sistent with the report submitted by the local agent

which stated, “there are no Indians living on the

western portion of the Omaha reservation.”

App. 27

40. Senator Dawes reported, “Last summer I

saw the representatives of this tribe, and I heard

them myself state . .. they were very anxious to sell a

portion of their real estate and obtain the money, so

that the interest of the money they could use for the

improvement of the residue of their property. They

had more land than they could occupy, as I heard

them myself.”

41. Senator Dawes explained, “When this bill

came in I was troubled lest the sale of 50,000 acres

would leave the [Omaha] reservation too small. I

went personally to the Indian Bureau to satisfy

myself upon that point, and by the Commissioner of

Indian Affairs I was assured that it would leave an

ample reservation, as much as, if all the Indians

should take in severalty, would give each one a farm

and have some left for such increase of numbers as

might probably be expected in the next twenty-five

years; that there was no apprehension on the part of

the Department; they were satisfied.”

42. On April 20, 1882, the Senate passed the

bill and referred it to the House Committee on Indian

Affairs. On July 1, 1882, the House committee offered

a substitute bill that authorized both the sale of land

and allotment in severalty to the Omaha Tribe.

43. On July 26, 1882, Representative Dudley

Haskell explained that before the western portion of

the Omaha Reservation would be sold,

they are at liberty to make their individual

selections of one hundred and sixty acres to

App. 28

every head of family, eighty acres to every

widow, and forty to every child. These sever-

alty selections are to be held in trust by the

Government for the sole use of the Indians

for twenty-five years, at the end of which

time patents are to be issued in fee-simple.

All the lands not allotted are to be patented

under the broad seal of the United States to

the tribe in common, so as to give them an

absolute indefeasible title to about 100,000

[sic] acres.

44. On July 26, 1882, Representative Edward

Valentine of Nebraska stated: “These Indians I know

very well, and they are anxious to sell this portion of

the reserve and have allotments made to them in

severalty of the remainder. It is at their request, as |

have stated, that the bill was drawn...”

45. On July 16, 1882, Representative Valentine

also stated:

I desire to say there is now a law [the

1872 Act] authorizing the Secretary of the

Interior to sell 50,000 acres of that land. It

embraces all the land mentioned in this bill

and some other land in addition; and that

land may be sold indiscriminately to any

persons. It may be sold to persons not expect-

ing to become actual settlers. After this rail-

road was built through there[,] the Indians

then asked that he sell no land under the

law as it now exists, and made their peti-

tions for a bill of this character, the one

which is now pending before the House, and

App. 29

which was framed in accordance with their

wishes.

46. Representative Valentine further explained:

You cannot find one of those Indians that

does not want the western portion sold, not

the eastern part. A railroad has been built

and is now being operated through that res-

ervation. The Indians say they want that

portion west of the railroad sold. This could

be done under existing law, but if sold under

the existing law/[,] it would be sold to persons

who would not be required to occupy it.

Therefore, the Indians say, “Do not sell the

land under the present law, but pass a new

law and sell it only to persons who will re-

side upon it and cultivate it.” When it is sold

upon these conditions, the white men will oc-

cupy up to the railroad on the west. They

will build stations and towns; and the Indi-

ans will come up to the railroad from the

east and get the benefit of these improve-

ments.

47. Finally, while specifically discussing the

provision to allow Indians to select allotments west of

the railroad right-of-way prior to the lands opening,

Senator Valentine stated, “They do not care about

making selections over on that side of the road at

all.”

48. On July 27, 1882, the House approved S.

1255, as amended, to provide for both the grant of

allotments to Omaha Tribe members from either the

east or west portions of the Omaha Reservation, as

App. 30

well as the sale of the remaining portion of the reser-

vation west of the railroad right-of-way to white set-

tlers.

49. Although initially referred back to commit-

tee by the Senate, the Senate withdrew its opposition

to the House amendment to S. 1255.

50. On August 7, 1882, President Chester

Arthur signed the bill into law. The Act of August 7,

1882, 22 Stat. 341, distinguished between treatment

of “that portion of their reservation ... lying west of

the right of way,” id. §§ 1-4, and “lands lying east of

the right of way,” id. §§ 5-8. As to land situated west

of the right-of-way, the Act of 1882 provided:

That with the consent of the Omaha

tribe of Indians, expressed in open council,

the Secretary of the Interior be, and he here-

by is, authorized to cause to be surveyed, if

necessary, and sold, all that portion of their

reservation in the State of Nebraska lying

west of the right of way granted by said In-

dians to the Sioux City and Nebraska Rail-

road Company under the agreement of April

nineteenth, eighteen hundred and eighty,

approved by the Acting Secretary of the Inte-

rior, July twenty-seventh eighteen hundred

and eighty. The said lands shall be ap-

praised, in tracts of forty acres each, by three

competent commissioners, one of whom shall

be selected by the Omaha tribe of Indians,

and the other two shall be appointed by the

Secretary of the Interior.

App. 31

(Act of August 7, 1882, 22 Stat. 341 § 1.) After the

survey and appraisal, the law authorized the Secre-

tary of the Interior to issue a proclamation that “un-

allotted lands are open for settlement... ”:

That after the survey and appraise-

ments of said lands the Secretary of the Inte-

rior shall be, and he hereby is, authorized to

issue proclamation to the effect that un-

allotted lands are open for settlement under

such rules and regulations as he may pre-

scribe. That at any time within one year af-

ter the date of such proclamation, each bona

fide settler, occupying any portion of said

lands, and having made valuable improve-

ments thereon, or the heirs-at-law of such

settler, who is a citizen of the United States,

or who has declared his intention to become

such, shall be entitled to purchase, for cash,

through the United States public land office

at Neligh, Nebraska, the land so occupied

and improved by him, not to exceed one hun-

dred and sixty acres in each case, according

to the survey and appraised value of said

lands as provided for in section one of this

act...

(Id. at § 2.)

51. The 1882 Act did not provide a sum certain

to be paid to the Omaha Tribe for land sold, but

stated:

That the proceeds of such sale, after pay-

ing all expenses incident to and necessary

for carrying out the provisions of this act,

App. 32

including such clerk hire as the Secretary of

the Interior may deem necessary, shall be

placed to the credit of said Indians in the

Treasury of the United States, and shall bear

interest at the rate of five per centum per

annum, which income shall be annually ex-

pended for the benefit of said Indians, under

the direction of the Secretary of the Interior.

(Id. at § 3.)

52. As to land east of the right-of-way, the 1882

Act authorized the Secretary of the Interior to allot

lands “in severalty to the Indians” in certain quanti-

ties, and to patent such land to the Omaha Tribe

allottees in trust for 25 years. After the 25-year trust

period, fee patents would issue “to said Indian or his

heirs.” Similarly, the “residue” of land lying east of

the right-of-way not allotted were to be patented to

the Omaha Tribe, with the United States holding

such land in trust for the sole use and benefit of the

Omaha Tribe for 25 years, after which fee patents

would issue to the Omaha Tribe. Id. §§ 5, 6, 8.

53. The last sentence of section 8 of the 1882

Act refers to land both east and west of the right-of-

way, providing “[t]hat said Indians ... may ... select

the land which shall be allotted to them in severalty

in any part of said reservation either east or west of

said right of way...” Id. § 8 (emphasis added).

App. 33

K. Implementation of the 1882 Act

54. In April 1883, the Secretary of the Interior

appointed Alice Fletcher as a special agent to oversee

the allotment process. Fletcher urged the Omahas to

select land near the railroad right-of-way because she

considered this the best agricultural land, and it also

afforded rail access to markets. While some of the

Omahas accepted Fletcher’s advice, most preferred

the eastern part of the reservation for its access to

water and timber.

55. In April 1883, Commissioner of Indian Af-

fairs Hiram Price wrote to Fletcher, directing her to

“please ascertain whether any of the Indians desire to

make their selections west of the right-of-way of the

Sioux City and Nebraska Railroad Company. It is

important that their wishes in that respect be made

known at once in order that the appraisement of the

lands lying west of the railroad may be proceeded

with, if deemed desirable, without waiting for the

completion of the allotments. . . .”

56. Section 8 of the 1882 Act allowed the Omaha

Tribe members to take their allotments anywhere on

the reservation, including west of the railroad right-

of-way. Commissioner of Indian Affairs Hiram Price

addressed this provision in his 1882 annual report:

By section 8 of the act the Indians are

permitted, if they shall so elect, to select al-

lotments within the tract designated to be

sold, and while it is not thought that there

are any who desire to make selections there,

App. 34

it might be well to ascertain their intentions

in that respect, so that if there be any such

they may make their selections and have

them approved before the appraisement is

begun.

(Greenwald Report, p. 15, n.69 citing ARCIA 1882,

LXVII.) At the end of 1883, Commissioner Price re-

ported that 10 to 15 allotments had been taken west

of the railroad right-of-way, and 876 of the approxi-

mately 50,000 acres west of the railroad right-of-way

had been allotted to Omaha Tribe members. Indian

allotments either wholly or partially west of the rail-

road right-of-way taken by members of the Omaha

Indian Tribe represented less than two percent of the

total acreage west of the right-of-way. (Decl. of Emily

Greenwald { 3.)

57. Upon completion of the initial allotment

process, and on April 30, 1884, 50,157 acres west of

the railroad right-of-way were opened for settlement

by non-Indians, and “the major portion thereof was

quickly absorbed by settlers. By September 1, 1884,

311 filings had been made, embracing about 43,000

acres.” (Greenwald Report, p. 22, n.105 quoting Re-

port of the Commissioner of the General Land Office,

28, in Report of the Secretary of the Interior, vol. I,

H.exdoc. 1, part 5, 48th Cong., 2d sess., 1884, serial

2286.)

58. In 1885, Omaha and Winnebago Agent

George Wilson described the results of the 1882 Act

as follows: “The Omahas have reduced their reserva-

tion by selling 50,000 acres, west of the Sioux City

App. 35

and Omaha Railroad, to actual settlers, and have

taken allotments on the remainder.”

59. In 1885, the Commissioner of Indian Affairs

reported that “Omaha Reservation lands lying west of

the Sioux City and Nebraska Railroad” had recently

been sold to settlers, but that many of the latter had

failed to pay for the acreages.

60. In 1887, the Secretary of the Department of

the Interior referred to land west of the railroad

right-of-way as “within the limits of the former Omaha

Indian Reservation.”

61. Congress authorized extensions of payment

under the 1882 Act in 1885, 1886, 1888, 1890, and

1894. The 1894 extension of payment provided that

“this Act shall be of no force and effect until the

consent thereto of the Omaha Indians shall be ob-

tained[.]” Further, non-Indian settlers on the reserva-

tion lands west of the railroad also requested the

Omaha Tribe’s acquiescence in the payment exten-

sions. Federal officials agreed to the request, and on

December 23, 1895, the Omaha met in council with

Indian Agent William Beck and gave their permission

for payment schedules for reservation lands west of

the railroad to be extended.

62. Under the terms of the 1888 extension, if a

settler defaulted on payment for land west of the

right-of-way, the land was to be sold at public auction

rather than revert back to the Omaha Tribe. The

proceeds from any sale of the land continued to inure

for the benefit of the Omaha Tribe.

App. 36

63. Congressional reports focusing upon this ex-

tension also refer to the land as being “on the Omaha

Reservation” or individuals buying lands west of the

railroad as “purchasers of land of the Omaha tribe.”

64. In 1900, Secretary of Interior Ethan Allen

Hitchcock ruled that settlers who purchased land

west of the railroad right-of-way were not subject to

homestead legislation because they were settled on

lands “in the Omaha reservation.”

65. All of the land west of the railroad right-of-

way, apart from the 10 to 15 Indian allotments, was

conveyed from the United States to non-Indians, with

the final remaining parcel selling in 1913.

66. The land allotted to Indians west of the

right-of-way was patented in fee simple by 1919, with

no trust land remaining west of the railroad.

67. The Office of Indian Affairs (“OLA”) reports

of 1884 and 1888 did not include the land west of the

railroad right-of-way as part of the reservation, list-

ing the size of the Omaha Reservation as 142,345

acres.

68. The OIA report of 1898 did not include the

land west of the railroad right-of-way as part of the

reservation, listing the size of the Omaha Reservation

as 142,344.63 acres.

69. The OIA report of 1900 did not include the

land west of the railroad right-of-way as part of the

reservation’s total acreage, listing the size of the

App. 37

Omaha Reservation as 142,344.79 total allotted and

unallotted acres.

70. In 1901, Indian Agent Charles Mathewson

reported, “The Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis and

Omaha Railway passes through the Winnebago Res-

ervation on the west and forms the southwestern

boundary of the Omaha Reservation.”

71. In 1906 and 1909, the OIA’s report did not

include the land west of the railroad right-of-way as

part of the reservation, listing 141,891 total allotted

and unallotted acres.

72. In 1911, OIA’s report did not include the

land west of the railroad right-of-way as part of the

reservation, listing 135,022 total allotted and un-

allotted acres.

73. In 1924, two Omaha tribal delegates in-

quired into the 1882 land sales regarding the amount

of land sold, its value, the amount of interest due, and

whether the Tribe had been paid for the value of land

and interest.

74. In 1924, the Commissioner of the General

Land Office reported: “Public sales have accordingly

been held and all the moneys for which the lands

were sold have been paid.”

75. The 1935 Annual Statistical Report for the

Winnebago Agency listed three “reductions” to the

original acreage of the Omaha Reservation, including

the “[slale of land west of railroad, 50,157 acres.”

App. 38

L. i d Population of the

Village of Pender

76. Upon the opening of the area west of the

right-of-way, W.E. Peebles purchased a tract of 160

acres, on which he platted the townsite for Pender,

Nebraska. He conveyed a portion of the land to the

railroad for a depot site. Lots within the town went

on sale in April 1885.

77. Since the early twentieth century, Indians

have comprised less than two percent of the popula-

tion west of the right-of-way.

78. Many Omahas regularly visited Pender, re-

sided in the village, and conducted business there.

Excerpts from the correspondence and diary of

Rosalie Farley, whose allotments were located west

of the railroad, indicate that her family resided on

her allotment, and that she and other Omahas reg-

ularly visited Pender, conducted business at that

location, and attended concerts in the village.

79. Between 1890 and 1895, Thomas Sloan, an

attorney and member of the Omaha Tribe, main-

tained both a residence and a law office in the Village

of Pender, where he employed an Omaha as a clerical

assistant. Sloan also served as Mayor of the Village of

Pender, Thurston County Surveyor, and Justice of the

Peace.

80. Hiram Chase, another attorney and enrolled

member of the Omaha Tribe, resided and practiced

law in Pender, where his children attended public

App. 39

schools. Chase also served as Thurston County Attor-

ney for eight years before being elected as a county

judge.

81. In Hallowell v. United States, 221 U.S. 317,

319-20, 31 S. Ct. 587, 55 L. Ed. 750 (1911), the United

States Supreme Court restated the parties’ stipula-

tion of facts relied upon by the district court as fol-

lows:

That the Omaha Indians exercise the

rights of citizenship, and participate in the

County and State Government extending

over said Omaha Indian Reservation, and

over and upon the allotments herein referred

to. That the defendant, Simeon Hallowell,

has been on frequent occasions a Judge and

Clerk of election, a Justice of the Peace, an

Assessor, and a Director of the public school

district in which he lives. That Omaha Indi-

ans have taken part in the State and County

government, extending over the reservation,

and have held the following offices in said

county of Thurston, State of Nebraska:

County Coroner, County Attorney, County

Judge, Justice of the Peace, Constable, Road

Overseer, Election Officers, and have also

served as jurors in the county and district

Courts. Defendant is self-supporting, as are

most of said Indians. Some of them are en-

gaged in business and most of them engaged

in farming.

App. 40

M. r terminations Re i the

Disputed Territory

82. In 1889, the Nebraska Legislature enacted

legislation defining the geographical boundaries of

Thurston County — now codified as Neb. Rev. Stat.

§ 22-187. By 1922, the legislature had changed the

boundaries of Thurston County, as reflected below.

New language as of 1922 is highlighted in bold font

and excluded 1889 language is stricken through:

The territory bounded as follows

shall constitute the county of Thurston:

Commencing at a point where the west

boundary of the Omaha Indian reserva-

tion intersects the south line of section

thirty-three (33), the—seutheast—corner—of

section—thirty-feur—{34), township twenty-

five, (25), north, of range five, (5) east, sixth

PM; 6th principal meridian; thence east

to the northeast corner of township twenty-

four, (24), north, of range seven (7), east

sixth-P-M; thence south to the south line of

the Omaha Indian reservation, as originally

surveyed; thence east along said line to the

line between sections thirty-two and

thirty-three, seutheast—eorner—of section

twenty-eight+{28), township twenty-four (24),

north, of range ten (10), east sixth—P-M-

thence north to the northwest corner of sec-

tion twenty-one (21), township twenty-four,

(24) north, of range ten (10) east sixth P.M.;

thence east to the eastern boundary of the

State of Nebraska; thence in a _ north-

westerly direction along said boundary line

App. 41

to its intersection with the section north line

of the Winnebago Indian reservation,

dvrding seettons twenty-five +26} and thirty-

stx36), township twenty-seven (27), north,

of range nine, (9), east—sixth-P-M-, thence

west along the north line of said res-

ervation to the intersection of the line

between sections thirty-three and noerth-

west-corner-section thirty-four, (64) township

twenty-seven (27), north, range six (6), east

sixth #-M-; thence south to the south-west

corner of section thirty-four, (34), township

twenty-seven, (27), north, range six (6), east

sixth-P-M., thence west to an intersection

with the west boundary of said Winne-

bago Indian reservation; the—northwest

(26),-nerth_of range five 6},east-sixth prin-

cipal—meridian; thence south along the

Winnebago and Omaha Indian reserva-

tion line to the place of beginning.

(Filing 100, Joint Stipulation of Facts (comparing

Compiled Statutes of Nebraska 1889, chapter 17,

§75b with Compiled Statutes of Nebraska 1922,

chapter 13, § 804).)

83. In November 1961, the Winnebago Agency

issued a “Historical Summary for Omaha Reserva-

tion,” which stated that boundaries of the Omaha

Reservation had been delineated in the original

survey of 1855 and were only diminished by two sales

of land to the United States for the benefit of the

Winnebagos. According to the “Summary,” these “two

statutory cessions . . . are the only changes effected in

App. 42

the boundaries of the Omaha Reservation since its

inception. The later enactments authorizing sale of

various lands included within these boundaries are

not considered to have had the effect of terminating

Federal jurisdiction over them.”

84. On April 16, 1969, the legislature on behalf

of the State of Nebraska voted to retrocede to the

United States all jurisdiction over offenses committed

by or against Indians in the areas of Indian country

located in Thurston County, Nebraska, except for of-

fenses involving operation of motor vehicles on public

roads or highways.

85. The United States government, through the

Secretary of the Interior, accepted the retrocession of

jurisdiction on October 25, 1970. See 35 Fed. Reg.

16598 (1970). The legal description of the land in

the Notice of Acceptance of Retrocession of Jurisdic-

tion delineates the Omaha Indian Reservation as

originally surveyed.

86. From 2007 until sometime immediately

prior to expert depositions in this case (August 7-8,

2012), the Thurston County website declared: “The

two reservations [the Omaha Indian and Winnebago]

are still in existence today and cover the entire

Thurston County area.”

87. In 1989, the Office of the Solicitor of the

United States Department of the Interior was asked

by the Bureau of Indian Affairs to locate the western

boundary of the Omaha Indian Reservation. The

Department of Interior reviewed “each of the treaties

App. 43

or legislative acts effecting [sic] the reservation”

boundary and stated that the land west of the rail-

road right-of-way “appears to have lost its Indian

character long ago with the arrival of non-Indian

homesteaders.” The Department of Interior concluded

“the most logical demarcation line for the western

boundary of the Omaha Reservation is the centerline

of the abandoned [Sioux City and Nebraska Railroad

Company] right of way . . [U}nder the 1882 Act the

land to the west of the right of way went out of Indian

control when it was opened for settlement.”

88. The 1989 Department of the Interior opin-

ion incorrectly stated that no “Indian trust allotments

were made on lands lying west of the Sioux City and

Nebraska Railroad right-of-way.” The allotment map

shows that there were at least 10 to 15 allotments

taken by Omaha Tribe members which were either

wholly or partially west of the railroad right-of-way

following the passage of the 1882 Act.

89. The 1989 Department of the Interior opin-

ion was officially withdrawn on April 16, 2012, by

Patrice H. Kunesh, Deputy Solicitor for Indian Affairs

in the United States’ Solicitor’s Office in Washington,

in a letter to Priscilla Wilfahrt, Twin Cities Field

Solicitor. Kunesh’s letter to Wilfahrt stated:

I have reviewed your letter of April 24,

2008, to the Great Plains Regional Director

of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, which con-

cludes that the boundaries of the Omaha In-

dian Reservation have not been diminished.

The April 24, 2008 letter supersedes your

App. 44

Office’s letter of June 27, 1989, to the Great

Plains Regional Director regarding ‘Survey

of Western Boundary of Omaha Reservation.’

The June 27, 1989 letter is hereby with-

drawn and not to be relied upon or used by

your office.

(Filing 120-54.) The Department of the Interior, the

Office of the Solicitor in Washington, D.C., the Field

Solicitor’s Office in Minnesota, and the Winnebago

Agency in Nebraska have been instructed to rely

upon the April 24, 2008, Wilfahrt letter.°

* he April 24, 2008, 27-page Wilfahrt letter concluded:

[S}ince diminishment is not to be lightly

inferred and a reservation retains it[s] sta-

tus no matter what happens to the title of

individual{} plots of land within the area

until Congress explicitly indicates other-

wise, a plain reading of the treaties and

statutory language involving the Omaha

Indian Reservation does not evidence a di-

minishment of the reservation boundaries.

Our review of the documentation of legisla-

tive history and urrounding circumstances

which is available in the record does not

show a contemporaneous understanding

that the reservation would be diminished

and in accordance with Yankton, leads us to

conclude that our 1989 opinion should be

revisited.

Wilfahrt also recommended further factual develop-

ment of the administrative record, without which she

was unable to “make any broader conclusions.” (Filing

120-55, at CM/ECF p. 26 (Letter from Field Solicitor

(Continued on following page)

App. 45

90. Deborah R. Gilg, United States Attorney for

the District of Nebraska, sent a letter dated October

9, 2012, to Nebraska Governor David Heineman,

informing him of the United States Department of

Justice’s position “that the [Omaha Indian] reserva-

tion has not been diminished” and the Department of

Justice “intends to assert the same federal jurisdic-

tion in Pender that we routinely exercise in other

parts of ‘Indian Country’.” (Filing 107, Complaint in

Intervention of State of Nebraska, Ex. 1.)

91. On August 22, 2000, the Thurston County

District Court determined that the land west of the

railroad right-of-way is not a part of the Omaha

Reservation. On February 15, 2007, the Nebraska

Attorney General issued an opinion which also con-

cluded that the land west of the railroad right-of-way

was not a part of the Omaha Reservation.

N. f of Neb and

United States

92. After issuance of the Tribal Court’s opinion

in the case now before this court concluding that

Congress did not “intend[ ] to diminish the boundaries

of the Omaha Indian Reservation” in the applicable

1882 Act, Rodney Morris, Chairman of the Omaha

Tribe of Nebraska, sent a letter dated February 12,

2013, to Douglas A. Ewald, Tax Commissioner of the

Priscilla Wilfahrt to Acting Director of Bureau of In-

dian Affairs Alice Harwood (Apr. 24, 2008)).)

App. 46

Nebraska Department of Revenue. The letter pur-

ported to respond to the Department of Revenue’s

prior letter stating that it “would cease sharing fuel

tax revenue from retailers in Pender as of March 1,

2007” based on the February 15, 2007, Nebraska At-

torney General’s opinion concluding that property

west of the right-of-way described in the 1882 Act

should not be considered part of the Omaha Indian

Reservation. Based on the Tribal Court’s contrary

decision that the 1882 Act did not diminish the

boundary of the reservation, leaving the original

boundary intact, the letter demanded “that the Ne-

braska Department of Revenue forward the tribal

share of the fuel tax revenue attributable to retailers

located west of the referenced right-of-way from

March 1, 2007 to the present” and that such retailers

should be included “in future fuel tax calculations.”

(Filing 107, Complaint in Intervention of State of

Nebraska, Ex. 2.)

93. Because the “Tribe’s request for money from

the State obviously implicates a direct interest of the

State which hinges on a resolution of the substantive

issue in this case” — that is, whether the 1882 Act of

Congress diminished the boundary of the Omaha

Indian Reservation — I allowed the State of Nebraska,

as Plaintiff-Intervenor, to file a Complaint in Inter-

vention in this matter to challenge the Tribe’s juris-

diction over approximately 50,157 acres of Thurston

County, Nebraska, lying west of the now-abandoned

right-of-way of the Sioux City and Nebraska Railroad,

as that term is defined in the 1882 Act of Congress.

App. 47

This area includes the Village of Pender, but also

areas lying beyond Pender’s municipal boundaries.

Like the plaintiffs, the State of Nebraska claims that

the Omaha Tribe has exceeded its authority under

federal common law. (Filings 102 & 107.)

94. I also allowed the United States to inter-

vene in this matter as Defendant-Intervenor. (Filing

108.) The United States has filed an Answer to Plain-

tiffs’ Second Amended Complaint, asserting as af-

firmative defenses that Plaintiffs’ claims are barred

because Pender and Plaintiffs’ businesses are located

within the boundaries of the Omaha Reservation, as

established by the Treaties of 1854 and 1865, and

because those boundaries have not been reduced or

diminished by the Act of 1882 or otherwise. (Filing

109.)

O. Treatment of the Disputed Territory by

the Tribe

95. Tribal authorities enforce the following por-

tions of the Omaha Tribal Code east of the right-of-

way, but not west of the right-of-way: Title 7 (fire

protection); Title 9 (animal control); Title 14 (fire-

works); Title 15 (wildlife and parks); Title 35 (busi-

ness permits); and Title 36 (business licenses).

96. The Omaha Tribe does not offer foster care

or medical, welfare, or child protective services west of

the right-of-way. The Omaha Tribe does not have an

office and does not operate a school, industry, or bus-

iness west of the right-of-way. No tribal celebrations

App. 48

or ceremonies take place west of the right-of-way. The

Omaha Tribe does not conduct governmental or cer-

emonial activities west of the right-of-way and has no

mineral rights or other claims to land west of the

right-of-way.

P. r e

Reservation Boundaries

97. On March 6, 1992, the Nebraska State Tax

Commissioner issued a Revenue Ruling stating that

the Village of Pender, among others, is located within

the boundaries of the Omaha Indian Reservation.

98. In 2002 and 2003, the Omaha Tribe con-

tacted the Nebraska Department of Roads requesting

replacement of signs delineating the location of the

boundaries of the Omaha Indian Reservation. The

signs had been removed at the direction of state

officials due to a dispute over the location of the

western boundary of the Omaha Indian Reservation.

99. Beginning on October 1, 2005, the Omaha

Tribe and the State of Nebraska entered into an

Agreement for the Collection and Dissemination of

Motor Fuel Taxes between those parties on sales of

motor fuel made on the Omaha Reservation.

100. Former Omaha Tribal attorney Maurice

Johnson testified regarding various efforts made by

the Omaha Tribe throughout his tenure as counsel

relating to its presence in the western region of

the Omaha Tribe of Nebraska Reservation and, in

App. 49

particular, near or within the Village of Pender.

Mr. Johnson testified that in his opinion, for the most

part, the Tribe’s efforts were met with anger and

hostility and at least one instance of overt racism. For

example, in approximately 2003, the Tribe received a

federal grant relating to roads. A requirement of the

grant was the exercise of traffic safety checks in order

to determine whether people were wearing seatbelts.

There was opposition from the Pender community

and, specifically, the Pender police, who challenged

the Tribe’s authority to administer the safety checks.

101. In 2003, Mark Casey, the Highway Su-

perintendent of the Thurston County Road Depart-

ment, contacted the Nebraska Department of Roads

and requested that the state road map of Nebraska

be redrawn. Casey stated that “the latest BIA maps

that are in my possession show the original boundary

of the Reservation and include a notation ‘Omaha

Treaty Boundary of March 10, 1854.’” Casey requested

that the boundary be changed “particularly in the

area around Pender” due to a “District Court decision

[State v. Picotte] of August 22, 2000, Case No. CR 00-

Rice’

102. Although all orders entered in State v.

Picotte by the District Court of Thurston County, with

no involvement by the Omaha Tribe, have no legal

impact on the Omaha Reservation, state cartogra-

phers again redrew the western borders of the res-

ervation, creating an altered map that moved the

western boundary of the Omaha Reservation to a new

location just east of Pender. The state cartographers

App. 50

then extended the Omaha Reservation’s western

boundary to the junction of State Highways 94 and 9

(north of Pender), with State Highway 9 as the west-

ern border of the reservation until this highway

passed into the Winnebago Reservation. This new

delineation of reservation boundaries placed the Vil-

lage of Pender outside of the reservation’s borders.

103. In or around the summer of 2007, officials

from the Environmental Protection Agency, Region 7

in Kansas City (“EPA”), visited Pender to publicly

discuss the Omaha Tribe administering federal regu-

lations on pesticide and fungicide control on the

Omaha Tribe Reservation, including Pender. The

meeting, which was of a “town hall” variety, was very

heated. Two statements made by persons in opposi-

tion to the EPA’s involvement were anti-Native Amer-

ican, such as “We’re not going to have Indians telling

us how to farm,” and “How about if I change my name

to ‘Spotted Eagle,’ can I then tell white people how to

farm their land?”

104. In 2007, Ms. Teri Lamplot, while she was

Chair of the County Board of Supervisors for

Thurston County, asked the U.S. Census Bureau to

revise the boundaries of the Omaha Indian Reserva-

tion to place Pender outside of the Omaha Indian

Reservation. In response to Ms. Lamplot, Robert

LaMacchia, the Chief of the Geography Division of

the U.S. Census Bureau, informed Ms. Lamplot that

the Census Bureau was “unable to make the changes

to our database” and would continue to rely upon the

1999 BIA map which indicated that Pender fell

App. 51

within the western boundary of the Omaha Indian

Reservation and stated, “While land ownership may

change on reservation lands, the reservation bounda-

ries are clear and, as far as we are aware, no new

legal opinion, federal court decision, Act of Congress,

etc., has altered these boundaries.”

105. Finally, efforts were made to cross-

deputize police officers among the Tribe, the Thurston

County Sheriff, and the Nebraska State Patrol to fa-

cilitate law enforcement on the reservation by defin-

ing policing relationships, delineating powers, and

encouraging cooperation. Thurston County refused to

join any cross-deputization efforts despite the will-

ingness of the Nebraska State Patrol to participate in

such an agreement. Although cross-deputization did

occur with the State Highway Patrol and with the

Walthill Police Department, Thurston County did not

participate.

106. In approximately October of 2011, tribal

member Thomas Saunsoci was arrested and charged

with a probation violation in the County Court of

Thurston County, Nebraska. Mr. Saunsoci was held in

custody in the Thurston County Jail in Pender with

the condition that he could not be released until he

paid a bond. A close personal friend of Mr. Saunsoci

came to the Thurston County Jail in Pender with a

sufficient amount of money to bail him out. The jailer

said that Thurston County could not accept the

money without Mr. Saunsoci’s signature appearing on

a document called a “Waiver of Extradition.”

App. 52

Ill. ANALYSIS

“Indian reservation lands are owned by the

United States and held in trust for the benefit of

specific tribes or bands.” United States v. Jackson,

697 F.3d 670, 672 (8th Cir. 2012). In this case, I must

decide whether Congress’s Act of August 7, 1882, 22

Stat. 341,, (the “1882 Act”) diminished the boundaries

of the Omaha Indian Reservation, or whether the Act

simply permitted non-Indians to settle within exist-

ing Omaha Reservation boundaries.

“Congressional action removing certain reserva-

tion land from Indian ownership does not necessarily

disestablish reservation boundaries. Disestablishment

occurs only when Congress intends to create a small-

er reservation with adjusted boundaries. It does

not occur if Congress only intended to remove from

Indian control certain land within the reservation

boundaries while retaining its original exterior

boundaries.” Lower Brule Sioux Tribe, 711 F.2d at 815

(internal citations omitted). “The opening of an Indi-

an reservation for settlement by homesteading is not

inconsistent with its continued existence as a reser-

vation.” City of New Town v. United States, 454 F.2d

121, 125 (8th Cir. 1972); see also Rosebud Sioux Tribe

v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584, 586-587, 97 S. Ct. 1361, 51

L. Ed. 2d 660 (1977) (“The mere fact that a reser-

vation has been opened to settlement does not nec-

essarily mean that the opened area has lost its

reservation status.”).

App. 53

“[OjJnly Congress can divest a reservation of its

land and diminish its boundaries.” Solem v. Bartlett,

465 U.S. 463, 470, 104 S. Ct. 1161, 79 L. Ed. 2d 443

(1984). Diminishment “will not be lightly inferred”

because Congress must “clearly evince an intent to

change boundaries before diminishment will be

found.” Id. (internal quotation and citation omitted).

Without clear congressional intent to disestablish a

reservation, the reservation remains because “‘[o]nce

a block of land is set aside for an Indian Reservation

... [it] retains its reservation status until Congress

explicitly indicates otherwise.’” Yankton Sioux Tribe

v. Pedhradsky, 606 F.3d 985, 991 (8th Cir. 2010)

(quoting Solem, 465 U.S. at 470). “‘[TJhere is a pre-

sumption in favor of the continued existence of a

reservation.’” Yankton Sioux Tribe, 606 F.3d at 991

(quoting Osage Nation v. Irby, 597 F.3d 1117, 1122

(10th Cir. 2010)).

The Supreme Court has “established a fairly

clean analytical structure” for determining whether

* This analytical structure is derived from several Supreme

Court cases. As summarized by the Eighth Circuit Court of Ap-

peals in United States v. Jackson, 697 F.3d at 672 (parallel

citations omitted):

In modern times, the Supreme Court has decided

seven cases raising the question whether various sur-

plus lands Acts diminished or entirely terminated

particular reservations. In three cases, the answer

was no. Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463, 481, 104

S. Ct. 1161, 79 L. Ed. 2d 443 (1984); Mattz [v. Arnett],

412 U.S. [481, 506, 93 S. Ct. 2245, 37 L. Ed. 2d 92

[(1973)]; Seymour v. Supt. of Wash. State Pen., 368

(Continued on following page)

App. 54

an Indian reservation has been diminished. “To de-

termine whether a reservation has been diminished,

we examine three factors: the statutory language, the

historical context, and the population that settled the

land. Of the three factors, the statutory language is

the most probative. Throughout the inquiry, ambigui-

ties are to be resolved in favor of the Indians, and

diminishment should not be found lightly.” Duncan

Energy, 27 F.3d at 1297 (citations omitted); see also

South Dakota v. Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. 329,

344, 118 S. Ct. 789, 139 L. Ed. 2d 773 (1998) (most

probative evidence of diminishment is statutory lan-

guage used to open Indian lands; however, court will

also consider “the historical context surrounding the

passage of the surplus land Acts, and, to a lesser ex-

tent, the subsequent treatment of the area in ques-

tion and the pattern of settlement there”) (internal

quotation and citation omitted).

If an act and its legislative history fail to “provide

substantial and compelling evidence of a congres-

sional intention to diminish Indian lands,” the court

is “bound by [its] traditional solicitude for the Indian

U.S. 351, 356, 82 S. Ct. 424, 7 L. Ed. 2d 346 (1962). In

the other four, including the most recent two, the an-

swer was yes. South Dakota v. Yankton Sioux Tribe,

522 U.S. 329, 358, 118 S. Ct. 789, 139 L. Ed. 2d 773

(1998); Hagen [v. Utah], 510 U.S. 399, 421, 114 S. Ct.

958, 127 L. Ed. 2d 252 [(1994)]; Rosebud Sioux Tribe

uv. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584, 614-15, 97 S. Ct. 1361, 51

L. Ed. 2d 660 (1977); DeCoteau v. Dist. Cnty. Ct., 420

U.S. 425, 445, 95 S. Ct. 1082, 43 L. Ed. 2d 300 (1975).

App. 55

tribes to rule that diminishment did not take place

and that the old reservation boundaries survived the

opening.” Solem, 465 U.S. at 472.

A. Statutory Language

“Explicit reference to cession or other language

evidencing the present and total surrender of all

tribal interests strongly suggests that Congress

meant to divest from the reservation all unalloted

opened lands,” Solem, 465 U.S. at 470, and “cession,”

combined with “sum certain” language, is “‘precisely

suited’ to terminating reservation status.” Yankton

Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at 344. Specifically,

when a surplus land Act contains both ex-

plicit language of cession, evidencing “the

present and total surrender of all tribal in-

terests,” and a provision for a fixed-sum

payment, representing “an unconditional

commitment from Congress to compensate

the Indian tribe for its opened land,” a “nearly

conclusive,” or “almost insurmountable,” pre-

sumption of diminishment arises.

Id. (quoting Solem, 465 U.S. at 470 and Hagen v.

Utah, 510 U.S. 399, 411, 114 S. Ct. 958, 127 L. Ed. 2d

252 (1994)); see also United States v. Jackson, 697

F.3d at 675 (“When a surplus lands Act provides that

a Tribe cedes its entire interest in land to the United

States for a sum certain, ‘a nearly conclusive, or al-

most insurmountable, presumption of diminishment

arises.’” (quoting Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at

344)). However, while statutory language requiring a

App. 56

fixed-sum payment “can certainly provide additional

evidence of diminishment, the lack of such a provision

does not lead to the contrary conclusion,” Hagen, 510

U.S. at 412, and language of cession and uncondi-

tional compensation “are not prerequisites for a

finding of diminishment.” Solem, 465 U.S. at 471.

In analyzing statutory language for evidence of

diminishment, a court should focus on terms and lan-

guage contained in the operative portion of the act at

issue because it “is the relevant point of reference for

the diminishment inquiry.” Hagen, 510 U.S. at 413

(statute’s reference to “public domain” dispositive if

act “restores” lands to “public domain” in the “opera-

tive language of the statute opening the reservation

lands for settlement”). The Supreme Court has cau-

tioned that “although the statutory language must

‘establis[h] an express congressional purpose to di-

minish,’ Solem, 465 U.S., at 475, 104 S. Ct., at 1168-

1169, we have never required any particular form of

words before finding diminishment.” Hagen, 510 U.S.

at 411.

The plaintiffs admit that the most probative fac-

tor to be examined in a diminishment inquiry -—

statutory language — does not work in their favor,

acknowledging that “the express language of the 1882

Act does not incorporate terms which the [United

States Supreme] Court has previously determined to

be clear evidence of Congressional intent to dimin-

ish.” (Filing 118, Pls.’ Br. Supp. Mot. Summ. J. at

CM/ECF p. 41.)

App. 57

I agree. The language of the 1882 Act does not

provide for cession, relinquishment, conveyance, or

surrender of all rights, title, or interest to the Omaha

Tribe’s land in exchange for a specific sum of money;

does not restore lands to the public domain; and does

not require the Tribe to vacate their reservation land.

Rather, the Act states that land west of the right-of-

way could “be surveyed, if necessary, and sold” and,

after survey and “appraisement,” could be proclaimed

by the Secretary of the Interior as “open for settle-

ment.” Proceeds of the sales were to be “placed to the

credit of said Indians in the Treasury of the United

States,” and income was to “be annually expended for

the benefit of said Indians.” Further, Article 8 of the

1882 Act allows “Indians . . . [to] select the land which

shall be allotted to them in severalty in any part of

said reservation either east or west of said right of

way,” suggesting that Congress intended the land

west of the right-of-way to remain part of the Omaha

Reservation. (Emphasis added.)

In the late 1800s, “Congress was fully aware

of the means by which termination could be effected,”

as evidenced by numerous bills that were introduced

during that time frame that expressly terminated

Indian reservations in unequivocal terms. Mattz v.

Arnett, 412 U.S. 481, 504-05, 93 S.Ct. 2245, 37

L. Ed. 2d 92 & n.22 (1973) (stating that Congress

knew how to expressly terminate reservation land

when desired by using language such as “reserva-

tion is hereby discontinued,” “a portion of the. . In-

dian Reservation ... be, and is hereby, vacated and

App. 58

restored to the public domain,” and “the reservation

lines of the .. . Indian reservations be, and the same

are hereby, abolished”). When such language is not

employed, the court will not be “inclined to infer an

intent to terminate the reservation.” Mattz, 412 U.S.

at 504 (finding no diminishment when act provided

that reservation was “hereby declared to be subject to

settlement, entry, and purchase under the laws ...

granting homestead rights and authorizing the sale of

... lands,” with proceeds of land sales to “constitute a

fund to be used under the direction of the Secretary of

ihe Interior for the maintenance and education of the

Indians now residing on said lands”; finding reference

in act and legislative history to reservation in past

tense insufficient to infer clear intent to diminish

reservation).

Further, the difference between the 1882 Act and

the Omaha Treaties of 1854 and 1865 is “particularly

illuminating.” Duncan Energy, 27 F.3d at 1297. In the

Omaha Treaties of 1854 and 1865, the Tribe expressly

agreed to “cede, sell, and convey” land to the United

States and “relinquish ... all claims” thereto in ex-

change for fixed sums of money, demonstrating that

both Congress and the Tribe knew how to alter the

reservation boundaries when they chose to do so.

(Filing 115-2, 1854 Treaty (“The Omaha Indians cede

to the United States” and “relinquish to the United

States all claims” in exchange for specific sums of

money); Filing 115-3, 1865 Treaty (“The Omaha tribe

of Indians do hereby cede, sell, and convey to the

United States a tract of land” and “the United States

App. 59

agree to pay to the said Omaha tribe of Indians the

sum of fifty thousand dollars”). This treaty language

is substantially different from that employed in the

1882 Act.

The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals addressed a

similar scenario in Duncan Energy, 27 F.3d at 1297,

where the court compared an 1891 treaty in which an

Indian tribe agreed to “cede, sell, and relinquish to

the United States all their right, title, and interest

in” a portion of its reservation and referred to the

“diminished Reservation” with a 1910 allotment stat-

ute that merely authorized the Secretary of the In-

terior to “surve[y] and to sell and dispose of . . . all the

surplus unallotted and unreserved lands within [a]

portion of said reservation... .” Finding this contrast

in language to be “particularly illuminating,” the

court concluded that the allotment statute did not

result in diminishment, stating that “[i]t would be

contrary to the principle of resolving ambiguities in

favor of the Indians were we to conclude that Con-

gress intended the same meanings for the vastly

different language employed in these two documents

[the treaty and the allotment statute] affecting the

Tribe.” Id.

When compared to the language used in the 1854

and 1865 Omaha treaties, as well as statutes enacted

by Congress around the turn of the century that the

Supreme Court has construed to diminish reserva-

tion boundaries, I conclude that the language of the

1882 Act does not “clearly evince” Congress’ “intent

to change boundaries” of the Omaha Reservation,

App. 60

Solem, 465 U.S. at 470. Rather, the 1882 Act indicates

that the United States intended to act as the Omaha

Tribe’s sales agent for purposes of surveying and

auctioning its reservation land west of the right-of-

way, with the proceeds held in trust in the United

States Treasury for the benefit of miembers of the

Omaha Tribe. See Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. 329,

118 S. Ct. 789, 139 L. Ed. 2d 773 (finding diminish-

ment when act provided that Tribe would “cede, sell,

relinquish, and convey to the United States all their

claim, right, title, and interest in and to all the un-

allotted lands within the limits of the reservation”

and the United States pledged a fixed payment of

$600,000 in return); Hagen, 510 U.S. at 412-14 (find-

ing diminishment when act’s language provided for

opened land to be “restored to the public domain” in

the operative language of the statute opening reser-

vation lands for settlement); Solem, 465 U.S. at 472-

475 (finding that act “opened but did not diminish”

reservation and that Secretary of the Interior was

“simply being authorized to act as the Tribe’s sales

agent” when act authorized Secretary to “sell and

dispose” of portions of reservation land and provided

that “proceeds arising from the sale ... shall be

deposited in the Treasury of the United States, to the

credit of the Indians ... ”; noting no “specific refer-

ence to the cession of Indian interests in the opened

lands or any change in existing reservation bound-

aries”; finding that act’s “isolated” and “ambiguous”

references to “reservations thus diminished” and

“public domain” were “hardly dispositive” and were

insufficient to infer intent to diminish reservation

App. 61

when balanced against act’s purpose of opening

reservation lands for sale to non-Indian settlers);

Rosebud Sioux Tribe, 430 U.S. at 597 (finding dimin-

ishment when act was ratification of negotiated

agreement with tribe that opened lands to settlement

and appropriated and vested in the tribe $2.50 per

acre in payment for the express cession and relin-

quishment of “all” of the tribe’s “claim, right, title and

interest” in the unallotted lands); DeCoteau v. District

County Court, 420 U.S. 425, 436, 95 S. Ct. 1082, 43

L. Ed. 2d 300 (1975) (finding diminishment when

tribe agreed to “cede, sell, relinquish, and convey to

the United States all their claim, right, title, and in-

terest” in reservation land for payment of sum cer-

tain); Seymour v. Superintendent of Washington State

Penitentiary, 368 U.S. 351, 82 S. Ct. 424, 7 L. Ed. 2d

346 (1962) (finding no diminishment when act did not

provide that reservation land was “vacated and re-

stored to the public domain” and stated that proceeds

from disposition of lands were to be deposited in

United States Treasury “to the credit of the Colville

.... Indians”; stating that the “Act did no more than

open the way for non-Indian settlers to own land on

the reservation in a manner which the Federal Gov-

ernment, acting as guardian and trustee for the

Indians, regarded as beneficial to the development of

its wards”); Duncan Energy, 27 F.3d at 1297 (finding

no disminishment when act “merely authorized the

Secretary of the Interior to ‘survely] and to sell and

dispose of ... all the surplus unallotted and un-

reserved lands within [a] portion of said reservation

...’”; authorized Secretary to reserve land in opened

App. 62

territory for schools and religious institutions for ben-

efit of Indian tribe; prohibited intoxicants in Indian

Country in the opened territory; reserved timber and

coal rights in opened territory for tribe; and stated

that United States would act as “trustee for said

Indians”).

B. Histori un Pas-

sage of Act

While Plaintiffs admit that the 1882 Act does not

contain language that the Supreme Court has charac-

terized as evidence of Congress’ clear intent to dimin-

ish the Omaha Indian Reservation, Plaintiffs argue

that “the legislative history of the 1882 Act and Con-

gress’ subsequent treatment of the land do make it

clear that Congress intended to diminish and alter

the boundaries of the reservation.” (Filing 118, Pls.’

Br. Supp. Mot. Summ. J. at CM/ECF p. 41.)

“Even in the absence of a clear expression of con-

gressional purpose in the text of a surplus land Act,

unequivocal evidence derived from the surrounding

circumstances may support the conclusion that a res-

ervation has been diminished.” Yankton Sioux Tribe,

522 U.S. at 351 (emphasis added) (looking at man-

ner in which legislation developed after negotiations

with tribe and tenor of legislative reports presented

to Congress and noting that while such “context”

was not compelling enough to indicate diminishment

standing alone, it did not rebut the statute’s plain

App. 63

terms, which established Congress’ intent to diminish

reservation).

When events surrounding the passage of

a surplus land act — particularly the man-

ner in which the transaction was negotiated

with the tribes involved and the tenor of

legislative reports presented to Congress —

unequivocally reveal a widely-held, contem-

poraneous understanding that the affected

reservation would shrink as a result of the

proposed legislation, we have been willing

to infer that Congress shared the under-

standing that its action would diminish the

reservation, notwithstanding the presence

of statutory language that would otherwise

suggest reservation boundaries remained un-

changed.

Solem, 465 U.S. at 471.

The legislative history and the circumstances

surrounding the 1882 Act indicate that in 1882, the

only thing that can be said with certainty is that

Congress understood that the stated purpose of the

legislation at issue was “to sell this land and get it

into cultivation, and the object of the Indians is to get

the money and have it put in trust for them here in

Washington where they can draw their interest.”

(Filing 117-17 at CM/ECF p. 17, 13 Cong. Rec. 3079

(1882) (statement of Sen. Saunders).) The congres-

sional debate indicates both an intent to “sell off from

this reservation ... 50,000 acres in a block on the

western side of it,” but also an intent to honor an

existing treaty which allowed “any Indian [to] go

App. 64

upon any part of the whole reservation and occupy”

the land.” (Filing 117-17 at CM/ECF p. 15 (statement

of Sen. Dawes) (emphasis added).) These dual goals

resulted in confusion and debate among members of

Congress regarding treatment of the “Indian lands”

versus lands of the “white people who would be

settling “side by side with the Indians,” especially

with regard to taxation." The legislative history fur-

ther indicates that the primary concern of the Omaha

Tribe was obtaining “clear and full title” to land on

which they had worked, farmed, and built houses

upon and which they wished to pass on to their

° See Filing 117-17 at CM/ECF pp. 32-33 (statements of

Rep. Haskell (“This is the protection of the Indians in the sale.

Before any land is sold they are at liberty to make their individ-

ual selections. ”; Indians’ “severalty selections” may be made

“anywhere in the reservation”; “Any Indian, however, who

wishes to take his piece of land to the west of the railroad can

do s0.”)).

" See Filing 117-17 at CM/ECF p. 16 (statement of Sen.

Jones (“If you undertake to sell the Indian lands, and to permit

the white people to buy them and settle side by side with the

Indians, and thus consolidate and unite these two populations

together, you cannot apply one rule to one and another to

another. If you want to give Indians land in severalty, separate

them from the white masses; recognize their independent or-

ganization, but do not undertake to mix them up side by side

with the white people under such a system as this.”)); Id.

(statement of Sen. Butler (“I understand _.. that it is proposed

to sell about fifty thousand acres of this reservation to anybody

who chooses to purchase, Indian, white man, or anybody else. Do

I understand that the Senator proposes to protect an Indian who

purchases part of that 50,000 acres and takes it in severalty —

does he propose to exempt that Indian from taxation?”)).

App. 65

children. (Filing 117-17 at CM/ECF pp. 19-30 (H.R.

Rep. No. 1530, 47th Cong., 1st Sess. (July 1, 1882)

(statements by 53 individual members of the Omaha

Indian Tribe regarding their desire to have title to

their land); Filing 117-17 at CM/ECF p. 30 (Big Elk

stating, “We want titles to our lands. We are thinking

of little else.”).)

None of this legislative history establishes that

Congress clearly contemplated that the area west of

the right-of-way — whether sold in a “block” or in

parcels among Indian allotments — would no longer

be within the Omaha Reservation boundaries after

the 1882 Act. Indeed, the parties do not cite, nor does

the court find, specific discussion of how, if at all, the

1882 Act would impact Omaha Reservation bounda-

ries or whether the Act would transfer the Omaha

Indians’ tribal sovereignty in a particular geographic

area. See, e.g., Yankton Sioux Tribe v. Gaffey, 188 F.3d

at 1025 (noting that because Yankton Indian Com-

mission report to Congress did not describe reser-

vation boundaries or mention transfer of tribal

sovereignty, the report did not indicate “clear and

plain congressional intent” to terminate reservation

status of nonceded lands).

The legislative history leading up to the passage

of the 1882 Act is insufficient to establish an “un-

equivocal,” widely held, contemporaneous understand-

ing that the 1882 Act would diminish or alter the

boundaries of the Omaha Reservation, as opposed to

merely authorize the sale of reservation land to non-

Indian settlers for the Omaha Tribe’s benefit — that

App. 66

is, to remove certain land within the Omaha Reserva-

tion from Indian control while retaining the reserva-

tion’s original exterior boundaries. Solem, 465 U.S. at

477-78 (neither floor debates nor legislative reports

contained clear statement that Indians agreed to

“cede” opened areas — rather, Congress described In-

dians as being “satisfied to have the surplus and

unalloted lands disposed of under the provisions of

the bill as amended”; legislative debate centered on

amount of money Indians would receive after sale

and “no mention was made of the Act’s effect on the

reservation’s boundaries or whether State or Fed-

eral officials would have jurisdiction over the opened

areas”; while there was some legislative history sup-

porting idea that reservation was diminished, Court

could not find congressional purpose to diminish res-

ervation “[wlithout evidence that Congress under-

stood itself to be entering into an agreement under

which the Tribe committed itself to cede and relin-

quish all interests in unallotted opened lands” and

without “some clear statement of congressional intent

to alter reservation boundaries”); City of New Town,

454 F.2d at 125 (citing Seymour, 368 U.S. 351, 82

S. Ct. 424, 7 L. Ed. 2d 346) (“The opening of an In-

dian reservation for settlement by homesteading is

not inconsistent with its continued existence as a

reservation.”).

The plaintiffs contend that an intent to diminish

the Omaha Reservation is evident from the fact that

from 1871 to 1882, the Omaha Tribe and various mem-

bers of Congress consistently sought to “separate”

App. 67

and sell 50,000 acres from the western portion of the

Omaha Reservation. (See Undisputed Material Facts

77 24-28 of this Memorandum & Order.) However, if

use of the word “separate” in proposed and actual

legislation prior to 1882, as well as the phrase “to be

separated from the remaining portion of said reserva-

tion” in the 1872 Act, have any legal relevance, then

equally significant is Congress’s decision to remove

the word and phrase from the 1882 Act at issue here.

Like the use of the phrase “separate” in prior

legislation, the Commissioner of Indian Affairs’ two

isolated statements — 10 years prior to the 1882 Act —

referring to “diminishing these reservations” and

“diminished reserve” also carry little weight. (See

Undisputed Material Facts {J 26 & 28 of this Memo-

randum & Order.) The Supreme Court has held that

even direct, contemporaneous congressional language

“scattered through the legislative history” referring to

“reduced reservation(s]” or “reservations as dimin-

ished” is ambiguous for purposes of diminishment

analysis. Solem, 465 U.S. at 478. In using such

phrases, “it is unclear whether Congress was alluding

to the reduction in Indian-owned lands that would

occur once some of the opened lands were sold to set-

tlers or to the reduction that a complete cession of

tribal interests in the opened area would precipitate.”

Id.; see also Lower Brule Sioux Tribe, 711 F.2d at 819

(holding that the phrase “as diminished” had “noth-

ing to do with the location of reservation boundaries”

App. 68

and fell short of establishing congressional intent to

disestablish).”

Because I have found that both the language in

the 1882 Act and its legislative history “fail to provide

substantial and compelling evidence of a congres-

sional intention to diminish Indian lands,” I am

“bound by our traditional solicitude for the Indian

tribes to rule that diminishment did not take place

and that the old reservation boundaries survived the

opening.” Solem, 465 U.S. at 472 (citing Mattz, 412

U.S. at 505; Seymour, 368 U.S. 351, 82 S. Ct. 424, 7

L. Ed. 2d 346). However, I shall address the third

prong of the well-established diminishment “analyti-

cal structure,” as courts are to consider all three

* In Solem, both the Senate and House reports referred to

a “reduced reservation” and to “reservations as diminished.”

Solem, 465 U.S. at 478 (citations omitted). The statute itself

even referred to the reservation as “thus diminished” and to

certain parts of the opened lands as “part of the public domain.”

Id. at 474-75. Yet the Supreme Court held that these statements

did not constitute clear congressional intent to diminish reserva-

tion boundaries. Similarly, in Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at

353-54, references to restoring the land at issue to the “public

domain” appeared in the legislative history of the statute, as

well as in the annual report of the Commissioner on Indian

Affairs. The Supreme Court found that the “context of the Act is

not so compelling that, standing alone, it would indicate dimin-

ishment,” but the Court went on to find diminishment because

of the “almost insurmountable presumption that arises from the

statute’s plain terms.” Jd. at 351 (internal quotation marks and

citation omitted). As explained above, the language of the 1882

Act does not raise such an “insurmountable presumption.”

App. 69

factors in determining whether an Indian reservation

has been diminished.

C tment of Pat-

tern of Settlement

The plaintiffs assert that “jurisdictional history

and population demographics” of the land at issue

“‘demonstrate[ } a practical acknowledgment that the

Reservation was diminished.’” (Filing 118, Pls.’ Br.

Supp. Mot. Summ. J. at CM/ECF p. 43 (quoting

Hagen, 510 U.S. at 421).)

To a lesser extent, we have also looked to

events that occurred after the passage of a

surplus land act to decipher Congress’s in-

tentions. Congress’s own treatment of the

affected areas, particularly in the years im-

mediately following the opening, has some

evidentiary value, as does the manner in

which the Bureau of Indian Affairs and local

judicial authorities dealt with unalloted open

lands.

Solem, 465 U.S. at 471. However, subsequent history

is “less illuminating” than contemporaneous evidence.

Hagen, 510 U.S. at 420. The court may also “look to

the subsequent demographic history of opened lands

as one additional clue as to what Congress expected

would happen once land on a particular reservation

was opened to non-Indian settlers.” Solem, 465 U.S.

at 471-472.

App. 70

1. Subsequent Treatment of Area

As evidence of diminishment, the plaintiffs argue

that “[s]ince the early twentieth century, Indians

have comprised less than two percent of the popula-

tion west of the right[-of-way] and State and local

officials — not the Omaha Tribe — have exercised ex-

clusive jurisdiction over the land.” (Filing 118, Pls.’

Br. Supp. Mot. Summ. J. at CM/ECF p. 43.) The

plaintiffs also cite as persuasive the facts that (1) Con-

gress treated the disputed land as if it were no longer

part of the Omaha Reservation by passing the 1888

extension, which directed that in the event a settler

defaulted on payment for a homestead claim in the

disputed territory, the land was to be sold at public

auction, not revert back to tribal ownership; (2) the

Bureau of Indian Affairs issued reports and state-

ments indicating their belief that the land west of the

right-of-way was no longer part of the reservation;

and (3) a local court and the Nebraska Attorney

General determined that the property west of the

right-of-way was no longer part of the Omaha Reser-

vation after the 1882 Act. (Filing 118, Pls.’ Br. Supp.

Mot. Summ. J. at CM/ECF pp. 45-49.)

It is true that Congress postponed the 1882 Act’s

payments required from non-Indian settlers via sub-

sequent legislation enacted in 1885, 1886, 1888, 1890,

and 1894. (See Undisputed Material Facts 761 of

this Memorandum & Order.) These extensions were

passed several years after the 1882 Act, yet Congress

continued to reference the disputed area as the

“Omaha Indian Reservation” and “Omaha lands.” See

App. 71

49 Cong. Ch. 844, Act of Aug. 2, 1886, 24 Stat. 214

(“all persons who have settled or shall settle upon

said Omaha lands”); 50 Cong. Ch. 255, Act of May 15,

1888, 25 Stat. 150 (Secretary of Interior authorized to

extend the time for payment due for “land sold on

[the] Omaha Indian Reservation ... by virtue of an

act to provide for the sale of a part of the reserva-

tion of the Omaha tribe of Indians in the State of

Nebraska”); 51 Cong. Ch. 803, Act of Aug. 19, 1890,

26 Stat. 329 (same); 53 Cong. Ch. 254, Act of Aug. 11,

1894, 28 Stat. 276 (same). This would suggest that

the opened area remained a part of the reservation.

Solem, 465 U.S. at 478-79 (two years after the sur-

plus land statute at issue, Congress passed another

bill referring to “‘lands in the Cheyenne River Indian

Reservation,’ suggesting that the opened area was

still a part of the reservation”) (citation omitted) (em-

phasis in original).

The 1888 extension Act, 25 Stat. 150, also ad-

dressed what was to happen upon default by a pur-

chaser, a scenario about which the 1882 Act was

silent. The 1888 Act provided that upon default by a

purchaser, the Secretary of the Interior was to sell

the land at public auction to the highest bidder, over

and above the original appraisal, with “the proceeds

of all such sales ... covered into the Treasury, to be

disposed of for the sole use of said Omaha tribe of

Indians.” 25 Stat. 150 §3. Under the 1888 Act, the

United States merely continued to act as trustee for

the Tribe so the Tribe gained the financial benefit of

the sale. Congress’s reaffirmation in the 1888 Act that

App. 72

the United States served as trustee for the Tribe’s

benefit, as opposed to the absolute owner of unre-

stricted fee title by virtue of the cession of Indian

lands, hints that diminishment did not occur. See,

e.g., Ash Sheep Co. v. United States, 252 U.S. 159,

164-66, 40 S. Ct. 241, 64 L. Ed. 507 (1920) (distin-

guishing between the United States acting as trustee

for a tribe and the United States acquiring unre-

stricted title to their lands by tribal cession). In ad-

dition, 12 years after the passage of the 1882 Act,

Congress stated that the 1894 extension “shall be of

no force and effect until the consent thereto of the

Omaha Indians shall be obtained,” 53 Cong. Ch. 254,

1894 Act, 28 Stat. 276, again suggesting the contin-

ued reservation status of the disputed lands.

As to treatment of the area west of the right-of-

way following the 1882 Act, the Omaha Reservation

has been described, treated, and mapped inconsis-

tently by the State of Nebraska, its agencies, and the

United States. (See Undisputed Material Facts of this

Memorandum & Order {4 60, 63-64, 67-72, 75, 83,

85-87, 89-91, 97-99, 101-102, 104; Filing 107, Exs. 1 &

2; Filing 106-3; Filings 123-2, 123-3, 123-4, 123-5,

123-6, 123-7, 123-8, 123-9.)

A “mixed record” which fails to reveal a con-

sistent or dominant approach to the territory at issue

is of “limited interpretive value,” carries “little force,”

and cannot be considered dispositive of the question

whether Congress intended to diminish the Omaha

Reservation in the 1882 Act. Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522

U.S. at 354-355 (citing conflicting descriptions of

App. 73

disputed land by Congress and Executive Branch and

inconsistent “scores of administrative documents and

maps” presented by parties; finding that such evi-

dence carried “little force in light of the strong textual

and contemporaneous evidence of diminishment” and

that “the views of a subsequent Congress form a

hazardous basis for inferring the intent of an earlier

one” (internal quotations and citations omitted));

Solem, 465 U.S. at 478-479 (“The subsequent treat-

ment of the Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation by

Congress, courts, and the Executive is so rife with

contradictions and inconsistencies as to be of no help

to either side.”); Rosebud Sioux Tribe, 430 U.S. at 604

n.27 (sporadic and contradictory history of congres-

sional and administrative actions carried “little force”

in light of state’s longstanding and clear assumption

of jurisdiction over disputed area, with acquiescence

by the tribe and federal government); Yankton Sioux

Tribe v. Gaffey, 188 F.3d at 1029 n.11 (conflicting

representations of reservation boundaries in adminis-

trative materials and maps had limited interpretive

value, as “use of the term ‘Yankton Sioux Reservation’

in such documents, without more, cannot be said to

be a considered jurisdictional statement regarding

the specific status of the remaining Indian lands”).

2. P f

The plaintiffs argue that “[slince the early twen-

tieth century, Indians have comprised less than two

percent of the population west of the right/-of-way]

and State and local officials — not the Omaha Tribe —

App. 74

have exercised exclusive jurisdiction over the land.”

(Filing 118, Pls.’ Br. Supp. Mot. Summ. J. at CM/ECF

p. 43.)

“Where non-Indian settlers flooded into

the opened portion of a reservation and the

area has long since lost its Indian character,

we have acknowledged that de facto, if not de

jure, diminishment may have occurred.”

[Solem, 465 U.S.] at 471, 104 S. Ct., at 1166.

This final consideration is the least compel-

ling for a simple reason: Every surplus land

Act necessarily resulted in a surge of non-

Indian settlement and degraded the “Indian

character” of the reservation, yet we have

repeatedly stated that not every surplus land

Act diminished the affected reservation.

Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at 356. The Court has

also noted that “[wJhen an area is predominately

populated by non-Indians with only a few surviving

pockets of Indian allotments, finding that the land

remains Indian country seriously burdens the admin-

istration of State and local governments.” Solem, 465

U.S. at 472 n.12.

The parties agree that very few Omaha Indians

settled west of the right-of-way but, as stated above,

this is the “least compelling” factor in diminishment

analysis because every act of this kind necessarily

resulted in “a surge of non-Indian settlement,” yet the

Supreme Court has found that diminishment did not

occur. Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at 356.

App. 75

The parties also agree that “many” members of

the Omaha Tribe have regularly visited, resided in,

and conducted business in Pender. Community in-

volvement by members of the Omaha Tribe suggests

their understanding that Pender sits within reserva-

tion boundaries. For example, as early as 1890, an

attorney and member of the Omaha Tribe maintained

-an office and residence in Pender, as well as served as

mayor of the Village of Pender, Thurston County sur-

veyor, and justice of the peace. At a time not specified

by the parties, another attorney and enrolled mem-

ber of the Omaha Tribe resided and practiced law

in Pender, where his children attended the public

schools. He also served as the Thurston County At-

torney for eight years before being elected as a county

judge. Finally, there is some historical evidence that

the Omaha Indians have held several additional pub-

lic offices in Thurston County, including county cor-

oner, constable, road overseer, election officer, and

juror in the county and district courts. (Undisputed

Material Facts of this Memorandum & Order 44 76-

81 (citing Hallowell v. United States, 221 U.S. 317,

319-20, 31 S. Ct. 587, 55 L. Ed. 750 (1911).)

In contrast, the parties have stipulated that

Omaha Tribal authorities enforce various portions of

the Omaha Tribal Code east, but not west, of the

right-of-way; the Omaha Tribe does not offer foster

care or medical, welfare, or child protective services

west of the right-of-way; the Omaha Tribe does not

have an office and does not operate a school, indus-

try, or business west of the right-of-way; no tribal

App. 76

celebrations or ceremonies take place west of the

right-of-way; the Omaha Tribe does not conduct gov-

ernmental or ceremonial activities west of the right-

of-way; and the Tribe has no mineral rights or other

claims to land west of the right-of-way. (Undisputed

Material Facts of this Memc’andum & Order 4] 95-

96.)

As was the case with state and federal agencies’

inconsistent treatment of the disputed land following

the 1882 Act, this “mixed” evidence regarding the

demographics of the area west of the right-of-way is

not dispositive. Solem, 465 U.S. at 478-79 (finding no

diminishment where “[t]he subsequent treatment of

the Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation by Congress,

courts, and the Executive is so rife with contradic-

tions and inconsistencies as to be of no help to either

side”); Duncan Energy, 27 F.3d at 1297 (“Throughout

the {diminishment] inquiry, ambiguities are to be re-

solved in favor of the Indians, and diminishment

should not be found lightly.”).

Even if this demographic evidence did establish

diminishment, it cannot overcome my conclusion that

the language of the 1882 Act itself does not clearly

evince Congress’ intent to diminish the Omaha Res-

ervation. Duncan Energy, 27 F.3d at 1298 (“We find

... exclusive reliance on the third Solem factor to

create a quasi-diminishment totally inappropriate.”).

App. 77

Iv. CONCLUSION

“Once a block of land is set aside for an Indian

Reservation and no matter what happens to the title

of individual plots within the area, the entire block

retains its reservation status until Congress explicitly

indicates otherwise.” Solem, 465 U.S. at 470. Con-

gress did not explicitly indicate otherwise here, as

neither the 1882 Act’s statutory language, the legisla-

tive history and circumstances surrounding the pas-

sage of the Act, nor the demographic history of the

land west of the right-of-way demonstrate clear con-

gressional intent to diminish the boundaries of the

Omaha Indian Reservation or a widely-held, contem-

poraneous understanding that Congress’s action

would diminish those boundaries.

Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED:

1. Because the 47th Congress’s Act of August 7,

1882, 22 Stat. 341, did not diminish the boundaries of

the Omaha Indian Reservation as they existed at that

time, the motion for summary judgment (Filing 116)

filed by Plaintiffs requesting declaratory and injunc-

tive relief from the Omaha Indian Tribe’s attempt to

enforce the Omaha Tribe’s Beverage Control Ordi-

nance, as amended, 71 Fed. Reg. 10056 (Feb. 28,

2006), against Defendants is denied;

2. The motion for summary judgment (Filing

113) filed by Defendants is granted;

App. 78

3. The temporary restraining order prohibiting

the enforcement of the Omaha Tribe’s Beverage Con-

trol Ordinance in Pender, Nebraska, which was later

extended by a stipulation of the parties (Filings 16

& 29), is dissolved;

4. The State of Nebraska’s claims as plaintiff-

intervenor are mooted by my finding that the 1882

Act did not diminish the Omaha Indian Reservation;

and

5. Judgment in favor of Defendants and Defendant-

Intervenor and against Plaintiffs and Plaintiff-Intervenor

providing that Plaintiffs and Plaintiff-Intervenor shall

take nothing shall be entered by separate document.

DATED this 13th day of February, 2014.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Richard G. Kopf

Senior United States District Judge

App. 79

JUDGMENT

Pursuant to the Memorandum and Order filed

this date finding that the 47th Congress’s Act of

August 7, 1882, 22 Stat. 341, did not diminish the

boundaries of the Omaha Indian Reservation as they

existed at that time and denying Plaintiffs’ and

Plaintiff-Intervenor’s requests for declaratory and

injunctive relief from the Omaha Indian Tribe’s

attempt to enforce against Defendants the Omaha

Tribe’s Beverage Control Ordinance, as amended, 71

Fed. Reg. 10056 (Feb. 28, 2006),

JUDGMENT is hereby entered in favor of De-

fendants and Defendant-Intervenor and against Plain-

tiffs and Plaintiff-Intervenor, providing that: (1) Plain-

tiffs and Plaintiff-Intervenor shall take nothing; and

(2) the temporary restraining order prohibiting the

enforcement of the Omaha Tribe’s Beverage Control

Ordinance in Pender, Nebraska, which was later

extended by a stipulation of the parties, is dissolved.

DATED this 13th day of February, 2014.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Richard G. Kopf

Senior United States District Judge

App. 80

Richard M. Smith, et al., Appellants v. Mitch

Parker, In his official capacity as Chairman

of the Omaha Tribal Council, et al., Appellees

No: 14-1642

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

2015 U.S. App. LEXIS 3054

February 26, 2015, Decided

COUNSEL: For Richard M. Smith, Donna Smith,

Doug Schrieber, Susan Schrieber, Rodney A. Heise,

Thomas J. Welsh, Jay Lake, Julie Lake, Kevin

Brehmer, Ron Brinkman, Village of Pender, Plaintiffs-

Appellants: Mark Davis Hill, HUSCH & BLACK-

WELL, Omaha, NE; Marnie Jensen, Gene Summerlin,

HUSCH & BLACKWELL, Lincoln, NE.

For State of Nebraska, Intervenor Plaintiff-Appellant:

Blake E. Johnson, Assistant Attorney General, David

A. Lopez, Assistant Attorney General, Ryan Post, As-

sistant Attorney General, Katherine J. Spohn, Assis-

tant Attorney General, ATTORNEY GENERAL'S

OFFICE, Lincoln, NE.

For Mitch Parker, In his official capacity as Chair-

man of the Omaha Tribal Council, Barry Webster, In

his official capacity as Vice-Chairman of the Omaha

Tribal Council, Amen Sheridan, In his official capac-

ity as Treasurer of the Omaha Tribal Council, Rodney

Morris, In his official capacity as Secretary of the

Omaha Tribal Council, Orville Cayou, In his official

capacity as Member of the Omaha Tribal Council,

App. 81

Eleanor Baxter, In her official capacity as Member of

the Omaha Tribal Council, Ansley Griffin, In his offi-

cial capacity as Member of the Omaha Tribal Council

and as the Omaha Tribe’s Director of Liquor Control,

Defendants-Appellees: Nora Marie Kane, Patricia A.

Zieg, STINSON & LEONARD, Omaha, NE; Mark Jon

Peterson, PETERSON LAW OFFICE, Omaha, NE.

For The United States, Intervenor Defendant-Appellee:

Katherine J. Barton, Mary Gabrielle Sprague, U.S.

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE, Environment & Natu-

ral Resources Division, Appellate Section, Wash-

ington, DC; Daron Carreiro, U.S. DEPARTMENT

OF JUSTICE, Environmental Enforcement Division,

Washington, DC.

OPINION

ORDER

The petition for rehearing en banc

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.