Amicus Curiae Brief — American Electric Power Service Co. Corp. v. Public Utility District No. 1 of Snohomish County, Washington (Nos. 06-1462, 06-1457)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

5607 D

SCP? Nos, 06-1457 and 06-1462

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

MORGAN STANLEY CAPITAL GROUP INC., ET AL.,

PETITIONERS,

Vv.

PUBLIC UTILITY DISTRICT NO. 1

OF SNOHOMISH COUNTY, WASHINGTON, ET AL.,

RESPONDENTS.

CALPINE ENERGY SERVICES, L.P., ET AL.,

PETITIONERS,

Vv.

PUBLIC UTILITY DISTRICT NO. 1

OF SNOHOMISH COUNTY, WASHINGTON, ET AL.,

RESPONDENTS.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE AMERICAN PUBLIC POWER

ASSOCIATION AND NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC

COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION

IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

Scott H. STRAUSS

Counsel of Record

SPIEGEL & MCDIARMID LLP

1333 New Hampshire Avenue, NW

Washington, DC 20036

(202) 879-4000

(Additional counsel] listed on inside front cover)

ns sss

Wii SON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. ~ (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20002

MARK S. HEGEDUS

JEFFREY A. SCHWARZ

SPIEGEL & MCDIARMID LLP

1333 New Hampshire Avenue, NW

Washington, DC 20036

(202) 879-4000

SUSAN N. KELLY

Vice President of Policy Analysis and General

Counsel

AMERICAN PUBLIC POWER ASSOCIATION

1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200

Washington, D.C. 20009-5715

(202) 467-2933

WALLACE F. TILLMAN

General Counsel

RICHARD MEYER

Senior Regulatory Counsel

NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ~

ASSOCIATION

4301 Wilson Boulevard

Arlington, VA 22203-1860

(703) 907-5811

Counsel for Amici Curiae

American Public Power Association and

National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIEG.....................cssccsseseees ill

INTEREST OF AMICI ubiidenbabeananeinnniiniiammannbeiannsin l

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ....0............:ccscseoeeees 2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT... eee eeeeseeees 8

I cntetinteineeinncticitaninininpmimeoniemcnnmepseens 12

I. SECTION 206 CONTAINS ONLY

ONE STANDARD: THE JUST-AND-

REASONABLE STANDARD.............0ccecce00e0: 12

Il. CONTRACT RATES MAY BE

UNJUST AND UNREASONABLE

TO CONTRACTING PARTIES —

OR TO THE CONSUMING PUBLIC............ 17

A. Contracts Are Not Per Se Reasonable

soins cnistvaiinviiieianieientabiiiintnianiees 18

B. MBR Authority Does Not Foreclose

Review of Contract Reasonableness ........ 27

C. Petitioners and FERC Wouid

Unduly Limit FERC’s Ability

to Protect the Public Interest .................. 32

il

1. FERC Must Protect More Than

“Unequivocal Public Necessity” ......... 32

2. The Ninth Circuit Correctly

Interpreted Section 206 il 36

D. MBR Agreements Represent One

of Many Contexts in Which

Mobile-Sierra is Invoked ..............:0:0s0000 38

Il]. FERC MAY NOT ACCEPT ©

UNREASONABLE CONTRACTS TO

PROMOTE FUTURE CONTRACTING........42

aN in iniccincnricsnteunscvennnninntetniiedetunbnaniainis 43

Farmers Union Cent. Exch. Inc. v. FERC,

734 F.2d 1486

ky eee 19-20, 22-23

FCC v. RCA Commce'ns, Inc.,

fs EEE en anna EE 35

FPC v. Conway Corp.,

a i tall 37

FPC v. Hope Natural Gas Co.,

I ical asinine 19

FPC v. Sierra Pac. Power Co.,

350 U.S. 348 (1966) .............0cccc00000 passim

FPC v. Sunray DX Oil Co.,

Be ee I cincicntccecenssccsvnctenednevns 21-22

FPC v. Tenn. Gas Transmission Co.,

371 U.S. 145 (1962) ....... AOE Eee 20

FPC v. Texaco, Inc.,

417 US. 380 (1974) ....14, 17-18, 21-22, 43

Interstate Natural Gas Ass’n of Am. v. FERC,

285 F.3d 18 (D.C. Cir. 2002) ...... 19, 23, 28

Jersey Cent. Power & Light Co. v. FPC,

EE te UE sehhinsctnessstiivinteinctenbintonanes 19

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page(s)

Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall,

GB TET. BFE Ci cicntcabetciinstiseececied 33-35

Atlantic City Elec. Co. v. FERC,

295 F.3d 1 (D.C. Cir. 2002) .............. 13, 24

Atlantic Refining Co. v. Pub. Serv. Comm'n,

360 U.S. 378 (1959) ................. 9-10, 19-20

Boston Edison Co. v. FERC,

856 F.2d 361 (1st Cir. 1988)................... 37

Boston Edison Co. v. FERC,

233 F.3d 60 (1st Cir. 2000)..............00..... 13

California ex rel. Lockyer v. FERC,

383 F.3d 1006 (9th Cir. 2004) ...... 4, 22, 28

Consumers Energy Co. v. FERC,

367 F.3d 915 (D.C. Cir. 2004) .......00.000... 22

Electrical Dist. No. 1 v. FERC,

774 F.2d 490 (D.C. Cir. 1985) ..........00.... 28

Elizabethtown Gas Co. v. FERC,

10 F.3d 866 (D.C. Cir. 1993) .......00... 22

Louisiana. Energy & Power Auth. v. FERC,

141 F.3d 364 (D.C. Cir. 1998) ................ 22

Maine Pub. Utils. Comm'n v. FERC,

454 F.3d 278 (D.C. Cir. 2006)...... 35, 40-41

NAACP v. FPC,

os scnsdeosasonsce 35

Northeast Utils. Serv. Co. v. FERC,

55 F.3d 686 (1st Cir. 1995)............... 13, 35

NSTAR Elec. & Gas Corp. v. FERC,

481 F.3d 794 (D.C. Cir. 2007)................. 39

Papago Tribal Util. Auth. v. FERC,

723 F.2d 950 (D.C. Cir. 1983)................. 13

Pennsylvania Elec. Co. v. FERC,

11 F.3d 207 (D.C. Cir. 1993)................... 15

Pennsylvania Water & Power Co. v. FPC,

343 U.S. 414 (1952) .............cccccseseeees 20, 35

Permian Basin Area Rate Cases,

390 U.S. 747 (1968) ...... 8, 14, 33-34, 42-43

Public Util. Dist. No. 1 of Snohomish County

vu. FERC, 471 F.3d 1053 (9th Cir. 2006)

Te cr 7

vi

Public Utils. Comm'n of Caf. v. FERC,

462 F.3d 1027 (9th Cir. 2006)................... 3

Tejas Power Corp. v. FERC, -

908 F.2d 998 (D.C. Cir. 1990) ........... 20-22

Town of Norwood, Mass. v. FERC,

587 F.2d 1306 (D.C. Cir. 1978) ......... 24-25

United Gas Pipe Line Co. v. Mobile Gas

Serv. Corp., 350 U.S. 332 (1956) .... passim

AGENCY DECISIONS

Bridgeport Energy, LLC,

118 F.E.R.C. 4 61,243 (2007)....... 36, 39-40

California ex rel. Lockyer v. B.C.

Power Exch. Corp.,

99 F.E.R.C. 4 61,247 (2002) ............. 22, 28

Californians for Renewable Energy, Inc.

v. Cal. Pub. Utils. Comm’n,

119 F.E.R.C. 4 61,058 (2007) ................... 3

Florida Power & Light Co.,

67 F.E.R.C. 4 61,141 (1994).................... 36

Vil

GWF Energy LLC,

98 F.E.R.C. J 61,330 (2002) ................... 29

Milford Power, LLC,

119 F.E.R.C. 4 61,167, reh’g denied,

121 F.E.R.C. 4 61,042, appeal

dismissed sub nom. Blumenthal v.

FERC, No. 07-1270 (D.C. Cir. Oct.

Morgan Stanley Capital Group, Inc.,

69 F.E.R.C. 4 61,175 (1994), reh’g

granted in other part, 72 F.E.R.C.

SU IITUIIIIIID.. ° siiscnnseepeniinibehinahasiealenel 28-29

Nevada Power Co. v. Duke Energy Trading

& Mktg., LLC, 100 F.E.R.C. 4 61,273

| ES) | ee 7, 15, 26

Nevada Power Co. v. Enron Power Mktg., Inc.,

103 F.E.R.C. 4 61,353 (2003)

SRI: ST a siensincntietetncietpaaticeimansainemeeis passim

105 F.E.R.C. § 61,185 (2003)

I a 16

Vill

Promoting Wholesale Competition Through

Open Access Non-Discriminatory

Transmission Services by Public

Utilities; Recovery of Stranded Costs

by Public Utilities and Transmitting

Utilities, Order No. 888-A, 62 Fed. Reg.

12,274 (Mar. 14, 1997), [1996-2000

Regs. Preambles] F.E.R.C. Stat. & Regs.

4 31,048, on reh’g, Order No. 888-B, 62

Fed. Reg. 64,688 (Dec. 9, 1997), 81

F.E.R.C. § 61,248 (1997), on reh’g, Order

No. 888-C, 82 F.E.R.C. 4 61,046 (1998),

affd in part and remanded in part sub

nom. Transmission Access Policy Study

Group v. FERC, 225 F.3d 667 (D.C. Cir.

2000), affd sub nom. New York v. FERC,

I te tin incinceiceicinianenndl 25

Public Utils. Comm’n of Cal. v. Sellers of Long

Term Contracts:

101 F.E.R.C. 4 61,293 (2002)

EER TENSE ee ce 13, 15

103 F.E.R.C. 4 61,354 (2003)

| FREESE eee nen 4

105 F.E.R.C. 4 61,182 (2003)

2 eee 3, 16-18

Reliant Energy Servs., Inc., |

102 F.E.R.C. 4 61,315 (2003) .........0....... 22

ix

San Diego Gas. & Elec. Co. v. Sellers of

Energy:

92 F.E.R.C. 4 61,172 (2000)

| K——_ SREEREACEEEEDS rs eo eee EE 4

93 F.E.R.C. 4 61,294 (2000)

Een passim

95 F.E.R.C. 4 61,418 (2001)

Rs IE hetennpncntizanercnrsinennninsnsermnesannatee 4

97 F.E.R.C. 4 61,275 (2001)

i cat iiinttaned ...4, 6, 31

Wabash Valley Power Ass'n,

107 F.E.R.C. 4 61,327 (2004).................. 36

STATUTES

Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C.

Snr ET aiichinisiieinetbiapenpeecentetennint passim

S BOL, 16 UBS. © GBR) .nccccccccccccecccccsees 14

§ 205, 16 U.S.C. § 824d.......... 15, 23, 36-37

§ 205(a), 16 U.S.C. § 824d(a) ............0... 14

§ 205(c), 16 U.S.C. § 824d(c) ........... ee. 27

§ 206, 16 U.S.C. § 824e................... passim

§ 206(a), 16 U.S.C. § 824e(a) ...... 12, 20, 33

Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C.

ae) | aD 10, 20, 33-34, 43

BE, 2G WEG. © FIGS cvcecccsecescospiecccecnscesens 23

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Stephen Breyer, Regulation and Its Reform

IED ciicstoupncnnbieiinbemedneiecapinns sheeseneneensenenes 20

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission,

Final Report on Price Manipulation

. in Western Markets: Fact Finding

Investigation of Potential Manipulation

of Electrical and Natural Gas Prices,

Docket No. PA02-2-000 (2003)

SEs Ie Ge icidinietaianciibiedncsencsenendtenieiooane 4

S. Rep. No. 74-621 (1935)...............ssssssscessssereees 19

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE AMERICAN

PUBLIC POWER ASSOCIATION AND

NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC

COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION IN SUPPORT

OF RESPONDENTS

INTEREST OF AMICI!

American Public Power Association (“APPA”)

represents the Nation’s more than 2,000 not-for-

profit, publicly-owned electric utilities, which do

business in every state except Hawaii and provide

over 15 percent of all kilowatt-hours of electricity

sold to ultimate customers. Public power systems

own about 10 percent of the nation’s electric

generating capacity, but purchase nearly 70

percent of the power they use to serve their

customers. Half of all public power systems have

fewer than 2,000 customers. Respondent Public

Utility District No.1 of Snohomish County,

Washington (“Snohomish”), is an APPA member.

National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

(“NRECA”) represents the Nation’s 930 not-for-

' All parties have consented to the filing of this brief. No

counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part. No

person other than amici curiae, their members, or their

counsel made a monetary contribution to its preparation or

submission.

profit, customer-owned rural electric cooperatives

serving more than 40 million end users in 47

states. Of those 930 cooperatives, 64 are

generation and transmission cooperatives that are

owned by and sell power to their member

distribution cooperatives.

Both associations’ members participate in

wholesale power markets as buyers and sellers

and, accordingly, seek to ensure that: (a) well-

functioning, transparent wholesale electricity

markets produce just and reasonable rates, terms,

and conditions; (b) the Federal Energy Regulatory

Commission (“FERC”) does not allow consumers

and markets to be harmed by unreasonable

contracts formed under uncompetitive conditions;

and (c) FERC ensures that contract rates are just

and reasonable to non-contracting parties,

including the public.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case presents the question whether this

Court’s Mobile? and Sierra® decisions (collectively,

“Mobile-Sierra”) preclude FERC from examining

the justness and reasonableness of “market-based

rate” (“MBR”) agreements formed during the “worst

2 United Gas Pipe Line Co. v. Mobile Gas Serv. Corp., 350

U.S. 332 (1956) (“Mobile’).

3 FPC v. Sierra Pac. Power Co., 350 U.S. 348 (1956)

(“Sierra”).

electricity-market crisis in American history,”4

amidst “unprecedented” market dysfunction

produced by “flawed market rules” and extensive

“market manipulation,” FERC Opp. Cert. at 13,

22-23 (quoting Californians for Renewable Energy,

Inc. v. Cal. Pub. Utils. Comm’n, 119 F.E.R.C.

4] 61,058, P 30 (2007) (““CARE’)).

By the summer of 2000, California electricity

markets no longer worked “as intended,” id. at 6.

Short-term prices skyrocketed above “preexisting

competitive levels,” id. at 7. The California spot

market peaked at $1,099 per megawatt-hour

(“MWh”)—“a __sfifteen-fold increase over’ the

historical average.” Brief for Petitioner Morgan

Stanley Capital Group (“MS Br.”) at 11. Pacific

Northwest spot prices “reached an unprecedented

$3,300/MWh.” Jd.5

Load-serving utilities incurred billions in debt,

FERC Opp. Cert. at 6, and, in some cases, went

bankrupt, J.A. 1533a. The system operator

declared system emergencies and _ rolling

blackouts.® | The “market meltdown,” J.A. 626a,

4 Brief for the FERC in Opposition (“FERC Opp. Cert.”) at 12.

5 See also Brief of Respondents Snohomish et al. (“Snohomish

Br.”) at 12 (noting price spikes to $3,500/MWh compared to

historical averages of approximately $24/MWh).

6 See Brief of Respondents Pub. Utils. Comm'n of Cal. et ai.

(“PUC Br.”) at 9; see also Pub. Utils. Comm'n of Cal. v. FERC,

462 F.3d 1027, 1040 (9th Cir. 2006) (discussing blackouts,

engulfed not just California but the entire West.

FERC Opp. Cert. at 23.

Non-compliance with FERC’s MBR reporting

requirements, imposed to allow FERC to remedy

unreasonable rates, was “rampant,” California ex

rel. Lockyer v. FERC, 383 F.3d 1006, 1014 (9th Cir.

2004); Brief for the Federal Energy Regulatory

Commission (“FERC Br.”) at 9. So were schemes to

manipulate electricity markets, natural gas

markets (the operation of which impact electricity

prices), and published electricity or natural-gas

price indices. Supp. J.A. 17sa-19sa.

Then-existing rules exacerbated market flaws

by relying on the “wildly dysfunctional” spot

market, see J.A. 1462a. As Commissioner Massey

explained, during high demand in California

“generator bid prices [were] virtually unrestrained

by the forces that would apply in competitive

markets.” Id. 459a. On investigation, FERC found

that California spot market prices were unjust and

unreasonable, id. 687a, attempted several times to

stabilize the market, and undertook an extensive

proceeding to consider refunds of unreasonable spot

prices charged between October 2, 2000 and

June 19, 2001, see id. 779a-80a.’

emergencies, and claims of economic and physical

withholding).

7 See also J.A. 709a (discussing “deficient market

On December 15, 2000, as California foundered

“In a state of economic emergency,” J.A. 520a,

FERC acted to “stop the ... hemorrhaging,”

id. 48la, by encouraging load-serving utilities to

enter into long-term power supply contracts,

id. 538a; FERC Br. at 9. Load-serving utilities

feared, however, that suddenly moving massive

demand into forward markets would produce

unreasonable prices in those markets. J.A. 522a.

In response, FERC promised to:

monitor prices in those markets and

also adopt a benchmark that we will

use as a reference point in addressing

any complaints regarding the pricing

of long-term contracts negotiated over

the next year, after which time the

sudden increase in forward demand

will have subsided.

Id. FERC adopted a $74/MWh benchmark for five-

year, around-the-clock power contracts, id. 522a-

23a, to “assist buyers and sellers over the next year

when so many MWs will be entering the forward

market at one time,” id. 523a-24a. FERC said that

it would use the benchmark “to assess potential

complaints regarding long-term contracts,” but

mechanisms initially established by California, and approved

by the Commission, that have resulted in a dysfunctional

marketplace both in California and the remainder of the

West”).

cautioned that it should not be interpreted as “a

price floor on forward contracts.” Id.

FERC’s December 15 action failed to stem the

crisis. By January 4, 2001, “(t]he Western energy

shortage [had] metastasized into a financial crisis

of major proportions as well as a crisis of consumer

confidence.” J.A. 62la (Chairman Hoecker,

concurring). Although he believed’ that

“[clompetition is the solution, not the problem,”

Chairman Hoecker observed that “it was not well-

conceived or well-executed in California,” resulting

in a “failed market structure.” Id. 628a-30a. Two

weeks later, as the crisis “deepen[ed],” Chairman

Hoecker spoke to the “palpable” sense of

“desperation.” Id. 641a, 647a.

Petitioners and Respondents negotiated their

contracts within this extraordinary environment,

executing them between November 2000 and June

2001. J.A.123la. Prices in spot “and forward”

markets did not “{fall] back to preexisting

competitive levels” until summer 2001. FERC Opp.

Cert. at 7. FERC denied rehearing regarding the

$74/MWh benchmark in December 2001. J.A.

970a-7la. Respondents filed their complaints

between December 2001 and February 2002.

Id. J.A. 1232a-33a.

FERC found that Respondents established a —

prima facie case that “dysfunctional” spot markets

“adversely affected the long-term bilateral contract

prices so as to render them unjust and

unreasonable or contrary to public interest.” J.A.

1173a. FERC denied relief, however, because it

believed that Mobile-Sierra precluded consideration

of contract reasonableness unless the contracts

expressly permitted such review. FERC instead

applied a “public-interest standard” under which it

was “not enough to show that forward prices

became unjust and unreasonable due to the impact

of spot market dysfunctions; it must be shown that

the rates, terms, and conditions are contrary to the

public interest.” J.A. 1275a-76a. FERC dismissed

the complaints, finding that the public interest did

not require contract modification.

The Ninth Circuit vacated and remanded

FERC’s orders, explaining that “there is but one

s.atutory standard addressing the lawfulness of

wholesale electricity rates[:] ... that all rates be

‘just and reasonable.” Pet. App. 35a. The court

elaborated that FERC may not presume contract

reasonableness without regard to the “context in

which the contracts were initially formed” and

whether that context “provide[s] a sound basis to

believe that the resulting rates are just and

reasonable.” IJd.38a. The court remanded for

FERC’s “review [of] these complaints in the first

instance” under the correct statutory standard.

Id. 4a. These proceedings followed.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Faced with contracts negotiated at its urging

amid promises of “vigilant ... monitoring,”

J.A. 520a, FERC. abruptly reversed course and held

that the Federal] Power Act (“FPA”), 16 U.S.C.

§§ 79la-825r, and Mobile-Sierra precluded just-

and-reasonable review of contract rates above

FERC’s own “benchmark,” J.A. 484a. FERC

instead applied a much stricter “public-interest

standard,” under which it deemed irrelevant

evidence that the spot market meltdown produced

forward contract prices outside the zone of

reasonableness. FERC here admits _ that

“dysfunction in the spot market had an effect on

the prices available in the forward market.” Br. at

44.

Unlike the orders below, Petitioners and FERC

now concede that there is only one statutory

standard, MS Br. at 7 n.4; FERC Br. at 21,

effectively admitting that the agency applied the

wrong standard and that a remand was required.

They nonetheless argue for reversal, claiming that

FERC reached the correct outcome by rejecting

contract modification. They contend that contracts

are per se reasonable to the contracting parties and

are just and reasonable even to non-parties and the

consuming public except in “extraordinary

circumstances” of “unequivocal public necessity.”

FERC Br. at 17 (quoting Permian Basin Area Rate

Cases, 390 U.S. 747, 822 (1968)); MS Br. at 6.

That position is twice flawed. First, FERC

cannot be sustained on reasoning different from

that in its order. Second, neither the FPA nor

Mobile-Sierra allows FERC to presume contract

reasonableness despite evidence that the contracts

were tainted by the exercise of market power,

market manipulation, or other uncompetitive

conditions.

Grants of MBR authority do not allow FERC to

treat MBR contracts as conclusively reasonable.

Orders granting that authority are based on then-

existing conditions and FERC’s predictions of

future market competitiveness. But FERC’s

predictions are fallible, as this case starkly

illustrates. See also FERC Br. at 34-35.

Reasonable predictions may justify waiving notice-

and-filing requirements, but cannot

“predetermin{[e]” that subsequent MBR

transactions—including those occurring in markets

substantially less competitive than FERC

predicted—are just, reasonable, and immune from

review.

A contrary holding would require electric

consumers to bear the risks of FERC’s predictive

errors and of market participants’ anticompetitive

conduct, undermining Congress's intent to “afford

consumers a complete, permanent and effective

bond of protection from excessive rates and

charges,” Atl. Ref. Co. v. Pub. Serv. Comm'n, 360

10

U.S. 378, 388 (1959).° Such a holding also would be

inconsistent with FERC’s willingness to remedy

short-term transactions occurring during the same

period, under similar market conditions, and

entered into pursuant to the same MBR authority.

Neither FERC nor Petitioners cite any precedent

that Mobile-Sierra’s applicability turns. on

transaction duration.

Importantly, the Ninth Circuit did not order

FERC to set these long-term contracts aside. The

absence of a presumption of reasonableness does

not lead inexorably to contract reform. It leads to

contract review without any presumption. The

Ninth Circuit correctly remanded for FERC to

determine, without any presumption, whether the

contracts were just and reasonable to Respondents.

The Ninth Circuit also understood that FERC

failed to consider adequately the contracts’ effects

on the _ public. Petitioners would (further

circumscribe that protection, arguing that FERC

lacks authority to set aside contracts, even to

protect non-parties and the public, except in cases

of “[u]nequivocal [p]ublic [njecessity.” E.g., MS Br.

at 26. That constriction of FERC’s authority not

only would produce unjust outcomes here; but

would eviscerate FERC’s ability to protect the

8 Atlantic Refining involved the Natural Gas Act (“NGA”),

but this Court has interpreted that Act and the FPA in pari

materia. See Sierra, 350 U.S. at 353.

1]

public in other contexts, including cases where the

contracting parties’ interests are less aligned with

the public interest than are Respondents’ interests

here. In other contexts, contracting parties jointly

invoke Mobile-Sierra to insulate their contracts

against challenge by affected non-parties. Even if

contracts are (or are deemed to be), reasonable to

their signatories, however, there is no ‘asis for

presuming reasonableness to non-parties and the

public. The Court should clarify that the FPA does

not permit contracting parties to curtail non-

parties’ statutory rights, and does not limit FERC

to protecting only against “[e]xtensive [d)amage” to

the public, MS Br. at 45.

Finally, Petitioners claim that the need to

maintain “sanctity of contract” and to avoid

deterring sellers from contracting during future

crises justified FERC’s decisions. But Congress

struck a balance by permitting public utilities to set

rates by contract subject to FERC review. The FPA

does not allow FERC to sanctify contracts tainted

by the exercise of market power, market

manipulation, or uncompetitive conditions. Nor

may FERC tolerate unjust rates now in order to

spur future contracting. In any event, efficient

ecenomic outcomes require only that MBR

contracts entered under competitive conditions be

enforced. The FPA neither requires nor permits

FERC to refrain from just-and-reasonable review of

12

MBR contracts entered under uncompetitive

conditions.

ARGUMENT

I. SECTION 206 CONTAINS ONLY

ONE STANDARD: THE JUST-

AND-REASONABLE STANDARD.

Petitioners asked FERC to reform their

contracts under FPA Section 206, 16 U.S.C. § 824e.

That provision commands FERC to modify an

existing rate “[w]henever” it finds that any such

rate or “any ... contract affecting such rate” is

“unjust, unreasonable, unduly discriminatory or

preferential.” Id. § 824e(a). Upon such finding,

FERC must “determine the just and reasonable

rate ... or contract to be thereafter observed....” Id.

In Sierra, the public utility agreed to low rates

to stave off competition and then “sought to raise

rates [once] the competitive threat had

diminished,” MS Br. at 32. This Court held that

FERC’s predecessor could not find the rates

unreasonable “solely” or “simply” because they had

become “unprofitable to the public utility.” 350

U.S. at 355. While the Commission could not

impose such rates, the public utility could agree to

them and would not be “entitled to be relieved of its

improvident bargain.” Jd. The Commission’s sole

concern then “would seem to be whether the rate is

-.

so low as to adversely affect the public interest.”

Id.

Attempts to generalize Sierra’s rule to the

California meitdown require an unwarranted leap.

That a contract rate prompted by a competitive

threat is reasonable (and remains so when the

threat abates) does not mean that a contract rate

extracted under uncompetitive conditions is also

reasonable.

Misinterpretation of Sierra has led to the notion

that the FPA contains two standards for evaluation

of contract rates: a just-and-reasonable standard

and a “higher,” J.A. 1198a, or “much more

restrictive,”? “public-interest standard.” Which

standard applies or which “version” of the “public-

interest standard” applies has generated extensive

controversy.!° The Ninth Circuit correctly returned

to the FPA’s roots by recognizing, as Petitioners

and FERC now concede, that the just-and-

reasonable standard is the only standard. FERC

Br. at 21; MS Br. at 7 n.4.

9 FERC Br. at 38 (quoting Atl. City Elec. Co. v. FERC, 295

F.3d 1, 14 (D.C. Cir. 2002)).

10 See Boston Edison Co. v. FERC, 233 F.3d 60, 68 (ist Cir.

2000) (discussing confusion); compare Papago Tribal Util.

Auth. v. FERC, 723 F.2d 950, 954 (D.C. Cir. 1983) with Ne.

Utils. Serv. Co. v. FERC, 55 F.3d 686, 691 (1st Cir. 1995).

14

The FPA commands that “[aJ/l rates ... shall be

just and reasonable,” and declares that “any ... rate

... that is not just and reasonable is ... unlawful.”

16 U.S.C. § 824d(a) (emphasis added). The FPA

imposes these requirements because “the business

of ... selling electric energy for ultimate

distribution to the public is affected with a public

interest.” 16 U.S.C. § 824(a). Thus, unjust and

unreasonable rates are contrary to the public

interest, and rates that “contravene the relevant

public interests,” Permian Basin, 390 U.S. at 784,

are unjust and unreasonable.

The Act does not establish a higher public-

interest standard for reviewing contract rates and a

lower just-and-reasonable standard for reviewing

other rates. Even if only a “small dent in the

consumer's pocket” would result, “the Act makes

wnlawful all rates which are not just and

reasonable, and does not say a little unlawfulness

is permitted.” FPC v. Texaco, Inc., 417 U.S. 380,

399 (1974). While FERC has “great discretion as to

how to insure just and reasonable rates,” the FPA

“does not empower it to” abandon that standard.

Id. at 394.

Despite FERC’s clear statutory obligation, it did

not determine here whether the contract rates were

just and reasonable.'! Rather, FERC set for

11 FERC contradicts itself when it says the “statute confers

broad discretion,” which it exercised by determining that it

15

hearing “whether the complainants must ... show[]

that a challenged contract is contrary to the public

interest, or whether they ... [must] show[] that the

contract is not just and reasonable.” J.A. 1170a

(emphasis added). FERC concluded that the

public-interest standard applied, and therefore

deemed irrelevant evidence that the contracts were

unjust and unreasonable. J.A. 1275a (“[A] finding

that the unjust and unreasonable spot market

prices caused forward bilateral prices to be unjust

and unreasonable would be relevant to contract

modification only where there is a ‘just and

reasonable’ standard of review.”); id. 1198a (“[T]hat

a contract may be found ... unjust and

unreasonable under sections 205 or 206 ... does not

in and of itself demonstrate that the contract is

contrary to the public interest ....”) FERC’s

admission that the just-and-reasonable standard is

the only standard (Br. at 21) itself justifies a

remand so that the agency may apply the correct

standard in the first instance.}?

lacked discretion tc modify contracts except in cases of

“unequivocal public necessity.” FERC Br. at 17.

12 FERC and Petitioners emphasize the transactions’

supposed “voluntariness” and Respondents’ attempts to

bargain for the best available rates. But “[w]hether a rate [is

just and reasonable} is to be determined by FERC, not the

parties to an agreement, however voluntary their agreement

may be.” Pa. Elec. Co. v. FERC, 11 F.3d 207, 210 (D.C. Cir.

1993). Moreover, if market “options” were constricted by

uncompetitive factors, as FERC concedes (Br. at 44), then

16

Below, Petitioners asked FERC to clarify that

the public-interest standard “[did] not authorize

unjust and unreasonable rates.” J.A. 1567a. FERC

responded that rates “initially” must be just and

reasonable and that its grant of MBR authority

satisfied that requirement. Jd. But that was no

answer. FERC never explained why rates must be

reasonable only “initially,” when the FPA contains

no such limitation. Nor did FERC ever examine

the reasonableness of these contracts, even

“Initially.” Rather it concluded (wrongly, as

explained below) that §MBR authority

predetermines reasonableness regardless of the

circumstances under which MBR contracts are

negotiated. FERC never explained why MBR

authority predetermines the reasonableness of

subsequent long-term contracts but not short-term

transactions.!3 The Ninth Circuit therefore

correctly remanded the case.

Respondents’ “choice” among unreasonable “options” hardly

renders the resulting rates just and reasonable. FERC

refused to consider claims that “available alternatives ‘were

not those that would have been presented in the absence of

spot market dysfunction,” because it deemed that contention

“not pertinent” to a public-interest inquiry but relevant only

to a just-and-reasonable review. J.A. 1527a, quoting Request

for Rehearing of the California Electricity Oversight Board

and the California Public Utilities Commission at 21, No.

EL02-60 et al. (July 28, 2003).

13 FERC’s attempt to reconcile its treatment of long-term and

short-term transactions was circular. FERC asserted that

17

Il. CONTRACT RATES MAY BE

UNJUST AND UNREASONABLE

TO CONTRACTING PARTIES OR

TO THE CONSUMING PUBLIC.

Conceding that only one standard exists, FERC

and Petitioners argue that contracts meet that

standard except in cases of “unequivocal public

necessity.” But while FERC may presume that

unchallenged contracts are reasonable to the

contracting parties, FERC may not ignore claims

that market power, market manipulation, or other

uncompetitive’ conditions tainted contract

formacion and led to unreasonable rates. Treating

contract rates as reasonable per se would make

markets the “final measure” of justness and

reasonableness, which the FPA does not permit.

Texaco, 417 U.S. at 397.

“spot market sales are not subject to ... the Mobile-Sierra

doctrine, while the long-term forward contracts ... here are.”

J.A. 1540a. FERC reasoned that long-term buyers can

negotiate for provisions “retain{ing] their rights to

unilaterally file for rate changes.” Id. But that assumed a

functional market—an assumption that FERC viewed Mobile-

Sierra as preventing it from examining. Moreover, even if

Respondents could have obtained such provisions, the FPA

does not require customers to bargain and pay for the

statutory, just-and-reasonable review of rates they claim were

extracted by exercise of market power, manipulation, or

uncompetitive circumstances.

18

The FPA also prohibits FERC from “narrow/ly]”

“limit[ing]” its review of contracts’ effects on third

parties and the public, MS Br. at 45, as there is

often no reason to presume reasonableness to

ultimate consumers oor other interests

unrepresented by the contracting parties. The FPA

does not limit FERC to protecting only against

“extensive” damage, id., to the public. See Texaco,

417 US. at 399 (FPA forbids even “a little

unlawfulness”). Binding FERC’s hands except in

“extraordinary circumstances” of “unequivocal

public necessity” would rewrite the FPA and

eviscerate FERC’s ability to fulfill its statutory role.

A. Contracts Are Not Per Se

Reasonable to Signatories.

FERC held that it lacks authority to examine a

contract’s reasonableness to the contracting parties

absent fraud, J.A. 1507a, “bad faith, unfairness or

duress,” id. 1536a. But relegating consumers to

traditional contract-law arguments—available

without the FPA—ignores the reasons why

Congress subjected public utilities to rate

regulation in the first place. The FPA does not

require FERC to treat contracts as reasonable

despite the “potential effects of market dysfunction”

or the absence of “effective [market] oversight,”

FERC Br. at 18.

Opposing certiorari, FERC argued that the

Ninth Circuit’s decision stood for “the narrow

19

proposition that, if there is a credible claim that

severe market dysfunction has affected the

formation of a market-based contract, the

Commission must take that fact into account” in

determining whether the contract rate is

reasonable. FERC Opp. Cert. at 12. Below, FERC

refused to undertake that FPA-mandated inquiry

because it misunderstood Mobile-Sierra.

In 1935, Congress concluded that “federal

regulation of the wholesale energy market was

necessary’ because the industry was increasingly

“dominated by ‘giant’ vertically integrated holding

companies,” MS Br. at 4 (quoting S. Rep. No. 74-

621 (1935) (Senate Report to the Public Utility Act

of 1935)), which could not be regulated effectively

or constitutionally by the States.'4 Congress was

concerned that “without regulation [public

utilities’] rates ... would exceed competitive rates,

i.e., Ones approximating cost.” Interstate Natural

Gas Ass’n, 285 F.3d 18, 30 (D.C. Cir. 2002); see also

Farmers Union Cent. Exch., Inc. v. FERC, 734 F.2d

1486, 1508-09 (1984). Thus, while electric rates

may be established initially by contract, Congress

subjected those rates to regulatory review “to

protect consumers against exploitation,” Hope, 320

U.S. at 610, and “to afford consumers a complete,

permanent and effective bond of protection from

4 Jersey Cent. Power & Light Co. v. FPC, 319 U.S. 61, 67-68

& n.7 (1943); FPC v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320 U.S. 591, 610

(1944).

20

excessive rates and charges,” Atl. Ref. Co., 360 U.S.

at 388.15

The FPA does not exempt contract rates from

review. 16 U.S.C. § 824e(a) (requiring FERC to

reform “any” unreasonable contract). While

contracts may result from negotiations between

entities with equal bargaining power (although,

even then, contracting parties may not adequately

protect the interests of the consuming public or

other non-parties), contracts also may result from

uncompetitive conditions involving the exercise of

market power, market manipulation, or other

market failure. Indeed, contracts securing the

fruits of those conditions, and limiting the relief

available to disadvantaged parties,'® are most

1S See also FPC v. Tenn. Gas Transmission Co., 371 U.S. 145,

154 (1962) (Natural Gas Act “protect[s] consumers against

exploitation’ ... and ‘...underwrite[s] just and reasonable rates

to the consumers of natural gas...””) (citations omitted); Pa.

Water & Power Co. v. FPC, 343 U.S. 414, 418 (1952) (“A major

purpose of the [Power] Act is to protect power consumers

against excessive prices”); Farmers Union, 734 F.2d at 1508

(“[Mjarket failure and the control of monopoly power are

central rationales for the imposition of rate regulation.”)

(citing Stephen Breyer, Regulation and Its Reform 15-16

(1982)). :

16 Cf. Tejas Power Corp. v. FERC, 908 F.2d 998, 1004 (D.C.

Cir. 1990) (“[I]f the [seller] has significant market power with

which to extract an agreement unfavorable to its

customers, then it would not require much imagination for

the [seller] also to require that they support the agreement

fully before the Commission.”).

21

likely when wholesale buyers’ needs are greatest

and their choices fewest. As the D.C. Circuit put it,

“relying upon the [customers’] agreement begs the

question whether the agreement is the product of

the pipeline’s exercise of significant market power.”

Tejas, 908 F.2d at 1005.

Thus, FERC is not “free under the Act to equate

just and reasonable rates with the prices

... prevailing in the market place.” Texaco, 417

U.S. at 396. As this Court has explained:

It is abundantly clear from the history

of the Act and from the events that

prompted its adoption that Congress

considered that the natural gas

industry was heavily concentrated and

that monopolistic forces were

distorting the market price for natural

gas. Hence, the _ necessity for

regulation and hence the statement in

Sunray DX that if contract prices for

gas were set at the market price, this

would necessarily be based on a belief

that the current contract prices in an

area approximate closely the “true”

market price[,] the just and reasonable

rate[,] [which] ... would contradict the

basic assumption that has caused

natural gas production to be subjected

to regulation... .

22

Id. at 397-98 (quoting FPC v. Sunray DX Oil Co.,

391 U.S. 9, 25 (1968)). Having “subject{ed]

producers to regulation because of anticompetitive

conditions in the industry,” Congress did not allow

FERC to determine just and reasonable rates

“conclusively ... by reference to market price.” Id.

at 399.

Following Texaco, lower courts limited FERC’s

reliance on markets to set just-and-reasonable

rates to cases where the market is “competitive,”!”

and have required ongoing monitoring and

assurances of remedies that check unreasonable

rates.18 As the D.C. Circuit explained, “regulation”

17 Consumers Energy Co. v. FERC, 367 F.3d 915, 922-923

(D.C. Cir. 2004); Elizabethtown Gas Co. v. FERC, 10 F.3d 866;

870 (D.C. Cir. 1993) (“[W]hen there is a competitive market the

FERC may rely upon market-based prices in lieu of cost-of-

service regulation to assure a ‘just and reasonable’ result.”)

(emphasis added); Lockyer, 383 F.3d at 1013; Tejas Power

Corp., 908 F.2d at 1004; La. Energy & Power Auth. v. FERC,

141 F.3d 364, 365- 366 (D.C. Cir. 1998); Farmers Union, 734

F.2d at 1510. FERC itself has emphasized that “authority to

sel} nower at market-based rates, as opposed to at cost-based

rates, depends on a functioning, competitive market for

wholesale power unimpaired by market manipulation.”

Reliant Energy Servs., Inc., 102 F.E.R.C. 461,315, P 12

(2003).

18 Cal. ex rel. Lockyer v. B.C. Power Exch. Corp., 99 F.E.R.C.

4 61,247, at 62,064 (2002) (“When the Commission moves to a

market-based rate system, it ‘must retain some general

oversight over the system, to see if competition in fact drives

rates into the zone of reasonableness ‘or to check rates if it

23

that simply equates market prices with just and

reasonable rates “is worse than an exemption

simpliciter” because it “retains the false illusion

that a government agency is keeping watch over

rates, pursuant to the statute’s mandate, when it is

in fact doing no such thing.” Farmers Union, 734

F.2d at 1510.

Contrary to Petitioners’ claims (MS Br. at 3-4),

neither Mobile nor Sierra forbids FERC from

inquiring whether uncompetitive market conditions

unduly limited a contracting party’s options and

rendered the resulting contract unreasonable.

Mobile held that NGA Section 4, which corresponds

to FPA Section 205, does not create new rate-

change rights.’ That holding is irrelevant to cases

arising, as these do, under FPA Section 206.

does not.’ , quoting /nterstate Natural Gas Ass'n, 285 F.3d at

31). According to FERC, those requirements are met by

“monitoring and FPA § 206 complaint procedures.” Id. at

62,062 (emphasis added); see also 285 F.3d at 34 (discussing

“monitoring and assurance of remedies in the event of

insufficient | competition,” including “entertain{[ing]}

complaints ...to respond to specific allegations of market

power ...”).

'8 Mobile explained that NGA Section 4 requires public

utilities to provide notice of rate changes but does not

independently authorize them. Thus, if a public utility lacks

rate-change authority (because it limited its rights by

contract or otherwise), Section 205 does not expand that

authority. 350 U.S. at 339.

24

Sierra construed FERC’s authority to set aside a

rate under Section 206. There, Pacific Gas and

Electric Company (“PG&E”) sold power to Sierra

Pacific Power Company at unusually low rates “to

forestall potential competition” from available low-

cost hydropower. 350 U.S. at 352. “A few years

into the agreement, ‘when power from Shasta Dam

was no longer available to Sierra,” and the

“competitive threat had diminished,” MS Br. at 29,

32 (quoting Sierra at 352), PG&E asked FERC to

increase its rates. FERC found that the contract

rates (to which competitive pressures had prompted

PG&E to agree) were no longer just and reasonable.

This Court rejected FERC’s analysis, explaining

that a contract rate “may not be said to be either

‘unjust’ or ‘unreasonable’ simply because it is

unprofitable to the public utility.” 350 U.S. at 355.

Sierra’s holding, that a contract prompted by

competition does not become unjust and

unreasonable simply because it seems insufficiently

profitable once the “competitive threat...

diminishe[s],” MS. Br. at 32, does not allow FERC

to sidestep claims that contracts formed under

uncompetitive conditions were unjust and

unreasonable ab initio. Mobile-Sierra requires

contracting parties to live with their bargain

“assuming that there was no reason to question

what transpired at the contract formation stage.”

Atl. City Elec. Co. v. FERC, 295 F.3d 1, 14 (D.C.

Cir. 2002) (emphasis added); Town of Norwood,

25

Mass. v. FERC, 587 F.2d 1306, 1313-14 (D.C. Cir.

1978). Notably, in other cases, FERC has

entertained (and even’ invited) contract

modification because agreements were negotiated

under uncompetitive conditions.”°

While Petitioners accuse Respondents of buyers’

remorse and complain that FERC may not relieve

buyers of “improvident bargains,” they fail to

acknowledge the extraordinary circumstances

surrounding formation of the contracts at issue

here. The challenged contracts were negotiated

amid the “worst electricity-market crisis in

American history,” FERC Opp. Cert. at 12,

produced in part by “flawed market rules” and

extensive “market manipulation,” id. at 22-23

(quotations omitted), in which California’s market

structure “failed,” J.A. 630a, “desperation” was

20 Promoting Wholesale Competition Through Open Access

Non-Discriminatory Transmission Services by Public

Utilities; Recovery of Stranded Costs by Public Utilities and

Transmitting Utilities, Order No. 888-A, 62 Fed. Reg. 12,274,

12,285-86 (Mar. 14, 1997), [1996-2000 Regs. Preambles]

F.E.R.C. Stat. & Regs. J 31,048, at 30,193-94 (entertaining

modification of requirements contracts on grounds that,

before open access, customers were captive to monopolist

transmission providers), on reh’g, Order No. 888-B, 62 Fed.

Reg. 64,688 (Dec. 9, 1997), 81 F.E.R.C. 4 61,248 (1997), on

reh’g, Order No. 888-C, 82 F.E.R.C. 4 61,046 (1998), affd in

part and remanded in. part sub nom. Transmission Access

Policy Study Group v. FERC, 225 F.3d 667 (D.C. Cir. 2000),

aff'd sub nom. New York v. FERC, 535 U.S. 1 (2002).

a

26

“palpable,” id. 647a, and “dysfunction in the spot

market had an effect on the prices available in the

forward market,” FERC Br. at 44.

FERC itself urged load-serving utilities to enter

forward contracts, promised to “monitor prices” in

forward markets, and adopted a benchmark for use

“as a reference point in addressing any complaints

regarding the pricing of long-term contracts

negotiated over the next year.” J.A. 522a. When

purchasers filed complaints, FERC found that they

established a prima facie case that “dysfunctional!”

spot markets “adversely affected the long-term

bilateral contract prices so as to render them unjust

and unreasonable or contrary to public interest.”

J.A. 1173a.

These are hardly pedestrian cases of buyers’

remorse over “improvident bargains” struck in

functional, competitive markets. FERC’s denial of

relief on grouiuds that Mobile-Sierra precludes

inquiry into whether the contract rates were the

product of uncompetitive market conditions, J.A.

1173a, 1275a-76a, was an abdication of its

statutory responsibility to ensure just-and-

reasonable rates, and the Ninth Circuit was right

to remand.

27

B. MBR Authority Does Not

Foreclose Review of Contract

Reasonableness.

FERC and Petitioners invoke FERC’s grant of

MBR authority to foreclose questioning of the

market conditions under which Respondents’

contracts were negotiated. In doing so, they place

more weight on FERC’s grant of MBR authority

than it can bear. While FERC’s ex ante review of

market conditions and imposition of ongoing

reporting requirements were intended “to ensure

that sellers cannot exercise market power and thus

that rates charged are just and reasonable,” FERC

Br. at 7, the facts of this case refute any implication

that these measures were effective—or could be

deemed effective—in guarding against market

power and unjust or unreasonable rates.?!

FERC grants MBR authority based upon its

assessment of then-existing market conditions and

its prediction of future conditions. While

reasonable predictions may justify waiving prior

notice and filing requirements,?2 no prediction is

21 FERC states (Br. at 33) that its MBR “framework must be

taken as a given in assessing the validity of” subsequent MBR

contracts. But one may take the framework as given without

indulging the fiction that it was effective.

22 See MS Br. at 8-9 (noting that FERC’s MBR regime was

enacted “under [FERC’s} statutory authority to detail the

‘rules and regulations’ about the ‘time’ and ‘form’ for filing of

wholesale energy rates”) (quoting 16 U.S.C. § 824d(c)); FERC

28

infallible. As FERC admits (Br. at 34), “any initial

determination ... can only be based on the factual

_ circumstances existing at the time, and those

circumstances can change.” Moreover, “[t]here will

inevitably be situations in which a seller evades

detection and is later found to have acquired

market power or manipulated markets.” Jd. at 34-

35. Accordingly, MBR authority cannot “pre-

determine[],” J.A. 1245a, that contracts negotiated

under unforeseen circumstances are indisputably

just and reasonable. Cf. Elec. Dist. No. 1 v. FERC,

774 F.2d 490, 495 (D.C. Cir. 1985) (Judge

Scahia) (“[T]he Commission cannot fix a rate, as it

purports to have done here, without ever seeing

it.”) That is one reason why FERC imposed

ongoing transaction-reporting requirements (see

n.18 supra), non-compliance with which was

“rampant” during the relevant period. Lockyer, 383

F.3d at 1014.

For example, in 1994, Morgan Stanley

requested “approval to sell electricity at market-

based rates.” Morgan Stanley Capital Group Inc.,

‘69 F.E.R.C. 461,175, at 61,691 (1994), rehg

granted in other part, 72 F.E.R.C. 4 61,082 (1995).

While it granted that request, FERC did not

purport to predetermine that the resulting rates

would be just and reasonable. The phrase “just and

reasonable” appears nowhere in the order. The

Br. at 28-29.

——— = LL AE

29

grant of “MBR authority” consisted instead of the

waiver of otherwise-applicable FERC regulations

requiring (among other things) prior notice and

filing of rates, with cost support. Id. at 61,697-98.

Because those waivers would prevent FERC from

“hav[ing] the opportunity to examine the particular

circumstances of each transaction,” FERC imposed

ongoing “reporting and periodic review

requirements.” Jd. at 61,692. FERC explained that

the reporting requirements were imposed both to

monitor for the acquisition of market power and “to

allow the Commission to evaluate’ the

reasonableness of the marketer’s charges.” Jd. at

61,696.28

Acknowledging that an MBR authority grant

does not ensure continued market competitiveness

or future just and reasonable rates (see FERC Br.

at 34-35), FERC imposed ongoing reporting

requirements (which many sellers violated) and

invited customers or others who believed the prices

were unjust and unreasonable to file complaints.4

23 FERC’s brief recasts the import of FERC’s reporting

requirements, stating only that they “place[] sellers on notice

that their [MBR] authority will be subject to continuing

review and, if necessary, to remedial action.” Br. at 8.

24 FERC dismissed protests of MBR rates that were filed or

reported, deeming them procedurally improper and advising

protestors to file formal complaints. E.g., GWF Energy LLC,

98 F.E.R.C. 4 61,330, at 62,389 (2002). See also J.A. 522a

(December 15, 2000 order establishing “benchmark” to be

“use[d] as a reference point in addressing any complaints

30

Yet, faced with such complaints, FERC declined to

determine whether rates were just and reasonable.

FERC now says that “the primary remedy” upon

complaint is not rate relief, but prospective

revocation of MBR authority (precluding future

MBR agreements but leaving existing ones

unaffected), disgorgement of profits reaped through

tariff violations, or “civil penalties.” Br. at 35. In

effect, FERC says that it will punish wrongdoers (if

caught), and will protect future customers, but will

allow existing consumers to remain saddled with

unjust rates extracted during the “market

meltdown,” J.A. 626a.

That position is consistent neither with the FPA

nor with FERC’s” response to complaints

challenging short-term rates charged during the

same period and under the same MBR authority as

Petitioners’ long-term contracts. In response to a

complaint attacking California spot-market prices,

the Commission established a refund effective date,

investigated, concluded that prices were unjust and

unreasonable, and began a proceeding to consider

refunds of short-term rates collected from

October 2, 2000 through June 19, 2001. Yet, when

Respondents complained about their long-term

contracts as FERC had contemplated, J.A. 522a,

regarding the pricing of long-term contracts negotiated over

the next year”).

31

FERC held that it had _ predetermined the

reasonableness of those rates and denied relief.?

FERC is correct that “[o}]nce dysfunction in the

spot market occurred, it was inevitable that it

would impose costs on someone,” Br. at 45, but the

FPA does not permit FERC to foist the costs of

market dysfunction on consumers. FERC’s

attempts to justify that result blame the victim.

“Had the purchasers believed that the rates in their

contracts might become unjust and unreasonable

based on future developments in the spot market,

they could have insisted on a clause preserving

their right to seek Commission modification of the

contracts,” FERC says. Jd. But Respondents were

not negotiating under competitive conditions to

allocate the risk of future market dysfunction.

They were bargaining in an already-dysfunctional

market.?6

25 FERC also noted that there had been no finding of

manipulation “specific to” the long-term contracts at issue.

J.A. 1285. In contrast, FERC dismissed the need for such

findings in concluding that short-term rates were unjust and

unreasonable. E.g., J.A. 824a, 933a-34a.

26 Morgan Stanley argues (Br. at 25) that its contract was

reasonable because “were market conditions to repeat the

events of 2000-2001 during the remaining term of the

contract, Snohomish again would reap the benefit ... of

purchasing power at or below the spot market rate.” But

Morgan Stanley’s argument is a tautology that would justify

any rate. That an unreasonably high contract rate protects

32

C. Petitioners and FERC Would

Unduly Limit FERC’s Ability

to Protect the Public

Interest.

1. FERC Must Protect More

Than “Unequivocal

Public Necessity.”

By restricting FERC’s contract-modification

power to “extraordinary circumstances” of

“unequivocal public necessity,"27 FERC and

Petitioners not only would frustrate FERC’s duty to

protect contracting parties subjected’ to

uncompetitive markets but also would limit its

ability to protect non-parties and the public.

Such restrictions find no support in either

Mobile or Sierra. Mobile “in no way impair|[ed]”

FERC’s regulatory powers. 350 U.S. at 344.

Instead, the decision clarified that contracts are

“fully subject” to FERC’s “paramount power ... to

modify them when necessary in the _ public

interest.” Jd. Although natural gas companies may

against even higher (and potentially less reasonable) spot

prices does not render the contract rate just and reasonable

under the FPA.

27 FERC Br. at 22; MS Br. at 24, 45-46 (arguing that FERC

may modify a “valid energy contract” only to avoid “extensive”

or “extraordinary” damage to the public, “akin to the closing

of a public utility”).

33

not “unilaterally chang[e] their contracts simply

because it is in their private interests to do so,”

they may obtain relief “when their interests

coincide with the public interest.” Jd.

Sierra similarly acknowledged FERC’s

“undoubted” power under FPA Section 206(a) to

modify contract rates “whenever” it finds them

unlawful. 350 U.S. at 353. While FERC may not

find an agreement “unreasonable solely because it

yields less than a fair return,” id. at 355, Sierra did

not purport to limit FERC’s authority to find a rate

unlawful for other reasons. On the contrary, Sierra

instructed the Court of Appeals to remand the case

“for such further proceedings, not inconsistent with

this opinion, as [FERC] may deem desirable.” Id.

Far from commanding FERC to refrain from

modifying contracts-except in cases of unequivocal

public necessity, the Court remanded with

guidance that, in the “circumstances” presented,

FERC’s concern “would seem to be” whether the

rate was “so low as to adversely affect the public

interest.” Id.

Petitioners’ claims regarding FERC’s “highly

limited” contract-modification authority, e.g., MS

Br. at 4, derive from misreading dicta in Permian

Basin and Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall, 453

U.S. 571 (1981) (“Arkla”). Permian Basin explained

that “[a]lthough the [NGA] is premised upon a

continuing system of private contracting, [FERC]

34

has plenary authority to limit or to proscribe

contractual arrangements that contravene the

relevant public interests.” 390 U.S. at 784 (citation

omitted) (emphasis added). The Court added that

FERC may not abdicate its responsibility based on

“conjectures about the prospective responses of the

capital market,” but, rather, was “obliged at each

step of its regulatory process to assess the

requirements of the broad public interests

entrusted to its protection by Congress.” Jd. at 791.

Arkla rejected sellers’ claims for breach-of-

contract damages on grounds that their “theory of

the case would give inordinate importance to the

role of contracts between buyers and sellers in the

federal scheme for regulating the sale of natural

gas.” 453 U.S. at 582. In Arkla, a natural gas

purchaser had agreed to a most-favored-nations

clause but then failed to inform the seller when

another transaction triggered that clause. The

seller sought damages in state court, and the buyer

defended on filed-rate and primary-jurisdiction

grounds. Id. at 573-76. The seller claimed that the

buyer’s failure to inform it of the other transaction

excused its failure to file a higher rate with FERC.

Id. The Court rejected the seller's arguments,

explaining that while “nothing in the Act forbids

parties to set their rates by contract” that rule

“does not affect the supremacy of the Act itself.” Id.

at 582. The Court held that allowing state-court

damages based on the presumption that an un-filed

35

contract rate was reasonable would “undercut the

clear purpose of the congressional scheme: granting

the Commission an opportunity in every case to

judge the reasonableness of the rate.” Jd.

Thus, none of the cited cases supports the claim

that FERC must accept a contract as reasonable

except in cases of “unequivocal public necessity.”

Moreover, holding FERC to such an exacting

standard would eviscerate its ability to protect the

“public interest”’—a broad standard, see FERC Br.

at 21 (citing FCC v. RCA Commce'ns, Inc., 346 U.S.

86, 90 (1953)), that takes “content and meaning”

from “the purposes for which the [FPA] [was]

adopted,” NAACP v. FPC, 425 U.S. 662, 669 (1976),

including the “protect[ion] [of] power consumers

against excessive prices,” id. at 670 n.5 (quoting Pa.

Water & Power Co. v. FPC, 343 U.S. 414, 418

(1952)).

Contrary to Petitioners’ (and now FERC’s)

claims, courts have affirmed FERC’s authority to

modify contracts for the protection of third parties

and the public without requiring the exacting

showing that Petitioners and FERC would require.

See FERC Opp. Cert. at 23 (citing Ne. Utils. Serv.

Co., 55 F.3d 686 (1st Cir. 1995); Me. ub. Utils.

Comm'n v. FERC, 454 F.3d 278 (D.C. Cir. 2006)).

Further, Petitioners’ assertion that contracts

must be accepted as reasonable except in cases of

unequivocal public necessity would undermine

36

settled precedent regarding FERC’s rejection of

unreasonable contract rates when they are first

filed.28

2. The Ninth Circuit

Correctly Interpreted

Section 206.

Petitioners and amici contend that the Ninth

Circuit interpreted Section 206 to create a “heads I

win, tails you lose” rule under which purchasers

may challenge unfavorable contracts but sellers

cannot. Brief of Coral Power et al. (“Coral Br.”) at

26. FERC now joins the chorus, contending that

the public-interest standard “protects both buyers

and sellers” against claims by the other, either of

28 E.g., Bridgeport Energy, LLC, 118 F.E.R.C. 4 61,243,

PP 41-42 (2007) (conditioning settlement acceptance on

removal of a Mobile-Sierra provision); Wabash Valley Power

Ass'n, 107 F.E.R.C. 4 61,327, P 11 (2004) (“The 2000 Contract,

filed here for the first time, arguably attempts to bind the

Commission to a ‘public interest’ standard of review when the

Commission first reviews that contract. We will not apply a

‘public interest’ standard in cases where we have not

previously determined the contracts to be just and

reasonable.”) (footnote omitted); Fla. Power & Light Co., 67

F.E.R.C. 4 61,141, at 61,396 (1994) (Contracting parties “may

not unilaterally preclude the Commission from fulfilling its

statutory responsibility, under [FPA] section 205 ..., to review

the rates, terms and conditions of an agreement to ensure

that they are just and reasonable ....”).

37

whom “can make bargains which in hindsight prove

improvident.”29

The Ninth Circuit properly construed

Section 206. FERC’s duty to assess a contract’s

reasonableness to the public protects neither the

buyer nor the seller directly but focuses on non-

parties to the contract—including, notably,

ultimate consumers.*® Consumer protection is a

paramount concern in both low- and high-rate

cases. Consumer harm occurs in low-rate cases if

the rate threatens continuation of service or shifts

cost responsibility to other consumers. Sierra, 350

U.S. at 355. Consumer harm occurs in high-rate

cases when the costs of unreasonable wholesale

contracts are passed on to ultimate consumers.*!

29 FERC Br. at 40 (quoting Boston Edison Co. v. FERC, 856

F.2d 361, 372 (ist Cir. 1988)) (emphasis added); compare

FERC Opp. Cert. at 20-21 (denying that the Ninth Circuit

“create(d}] a rule ... biased against sellers” and noting that

“even under the just-and-reasonable standard, a purchaser

may not claim ‘buyer’s remorse’ and be excused from a long-

term contract simply because market prices have fallen

during the term of the contract”).

30 As explained below, contracting parties’ interests do not

always align with the public interest.

%! Consumer harm also may occur because unreasonable

long-term contracts formed under uncompetitive conditions

have long-term market-distorting effects. FERC must take

into account “the anticompetitive effects of regulated aspects

of interstate utility operations pursuant to ... directives

contained in §§ 205, 206....”". FPC v. Conway Corp., 426 U.S.

38

Assuming arguendo that Mobile-Sierra precluded

inquiry into the contracts’ reasonableness to

Respondents, the Ninth Circuit correctly remanded

for FERC to determine whether the contracts

produced unreasonable rates affecting ultimate

consumers.

D. MBR Agreements Represent

One of Many Contexts In

Which Mobile-Sierra Is

Invoked.

As national organizations, APPA and NRECA

ask the Court to recognize that this case involves

just one of many contracting contexts in which

Mobile-Sierra is invoked. Here, the contracts at

issue were arms-length agreements between

buyers and sellers with opposed interests and

unequal bargaining power resulting from

uncompetitive market conditions. In other cases,

contracting parties may join forces to advance

shared interests at the expense of third parties or

the public. And in still other cases, increasingly

common in today’s restructured energy industry,

contracting parties may be simply indifferent to

costs that can be externalized or that they are

virtually assured of passing through to others.*?

271, 279 (1976).

32 In this case, the alignment of Respondents’ interests with

the consuming public’s interest in reasonable rates allows

39

For example, Reliability Must-Run (“RMR”)

agreements superficially resemble bilateral

purchase-sale agreements similar to those at issue

here. See Bridgeport, 118 F.E.R.C. 4 61,243, at

P 41 (“RMR agreements are contracts between a

generator and the ISO [Independent System

Operator] that commit a generator to provide

reliability service in return for fixed monthly

payments by load in the affected zone.”). But such

RMR agreements are negotiated by not-for-profit

ISOs that do not pay the resulting costs—which are

passed directly to consumers—and therefore lack

incentives to reduce such costs. See NSTAR Elec.

& Gas Corp. v. FERC, 481 F.3d 794, 803 (D.C. Cir.

2007). FERC also has determined that such

agreements harm markets and should be accepted

only as a “last resort” when necessary to maintain

system reliability. Bridgeport at P 41.

FERC thus has rejected attempts to invoke

Mobile-Sierra to foreclose complaints seeking to

terminate RMR agreements, holding that it “would

amici to characterize protection of the consuming public as

indirect protection of Respondents. See Coral Br. at 26; Br. of

Electric Power Supply Ass'n et al. at 29. But Mobile expressly

allowed for modification when a party’s “interests coincide

with the public interest.” 350 U.S. at 344. Moreover, in many

other contexts, neither party's interests will align with the

public interest. The Court must not tie FERC’s hands in such

cases out of misplaced concern that protecting the public

interest will allow Respondents to accomplish indirectly what

Petitioners and FERC say they cannot do directly.

ill

40

be inconsistent with our duty under the [FPA] to be

bound to the higher ‘public interest’ standard when

reviewing RMR agreements.” Id. at P 41; see also

Milford Power LLC, 119 F.E.R.C. 4 61,167, P 31

(clarifying that non-parties, as well as FERC, may

challenge RMR agreements under a _ just-and-

reasonable standard), reh'y denied, 121 F.E.R.C.

461,042 (2007), appeal dismissed sub nom.

Blumenthal v. FERC, No. 07-1270 (D.C. Cir. Oct.

25, 2007). Petitioners’ position here would require

FERC to accept such provisions and to allow RMR

agreements to remain in effect as long as the

contracting parties wished, unless “unequivocal

public necessity” dictated otherwise.

FERC also has refused to accept Mobile-Sierra

provisions seeking to insulate aspects of the

relationship between ISOs and _transmission-

owning public utilities (“TOs”). For example, in

2003, a group of New England TOs and New

England’s ISO entered into an agreement to

facilitate formation of a regional transmission

organization (“RTO”). FERC rejected the TOs’

proposal that “the Mobile-Sierra ‘public interest’

standard govern FERC review of termination and

withdrawal” from the RTO, Me. Pub. Utils., 454

F.3d at 281, finding (inter alia) that such

withdrawal could “have a substantial [deleterious]

impact on other market participants and the

markets themselves,” id. at 286 (quotation

omitted), and that the threat of withdrawal “could

4]

subvert the independence of the RTO,” id. at 287.

The D.C. Circuit affirmed, noting that “there is no

expectation of contract stability when a contract is

submitted to FERC for the first time, has yet to be

approved ..., and has not yet gone into effect—

particularly when that contract is a complex

agreement establishing a new regional structure

impacting all market participants.” Id. at 284.

FERC’s position here, that contracts may not be

reformed absent “exceptional circumstances of

unequivocal public necessity,” Br. at 37 (quotations

omitted), involving “harm of comparable severity”

to threatened discontinuation of service, id. at 39,

cannot be squared with FERC’s reformation of

contracts in the above-cited cases. More

fundamentally, as FERC recognized in those cases,

FERC may not abdicate its statutory duty to

protect the public through blind reliance on

contracting parties’ self-interest. FERC’s and

Petitioners’ position here would disable FERC from

protecting non-parties and the public against all

but the severest harms, even in cases where the

contracting parties’ interests diverge from the

public interest. The Court must reject such

sweeping and misguided positions.

42

Iii. FERC MAY NOT ACCEPT |

UNREASONABLE CONTRACTS

TO PROMOTE FUTURE

CONTRACTING.

Petitioners and amici claim that modifying

contract rates entered under uncompetitive

conditions will deter sellers from contracting

during future periods of market dysfunction. E.g.,

Coral Br. at 25; Br. of Calpine Energy Servs. et al.

at 51-52.

Such arguments focus on only one side of the

equation, however. Refusing to modify long-term

rates formed under uncompetitive conditions, while

simultaneously refunding unreasonable short-term

rates charged during the same period, will deter

buyers from entering long-term contracts when

FERC urges them to do so, as it did here.

Moreover, exclusive focus on sellers’ incentives

proves too much. Monopolists have strong

incentives to monetize market power by entering

into long-term, uncompetitive contracts. They have

strong (albeit self-serving) reasons to claim that

reducing prices to reasonable levels will undermine

incentives to enter into future contracts. But the

FPA does not allow such assertions, or even FERC’s

own views of the potential responses of capital

markets, to trump other considerations under the

Act. Permian Basin, 390 U.S. at 791 (FERC

“cannot confine its inquiries either to the

43

computation of costs of service or to conjectures

about the prospective responses of the capital

market.”); Texaco, 417 U.S. at 400 (“It may also be

that control of prices ... is counterproductive to the

interests of the consumer in increasing the

production of natural gas[, but i]t is not the Court’s

role ... to overturn congressional assumptions

embedded into the framework of regulation

established by the Act.”)

Finally, efficient economic outcomes do not

require FERC to enforce contracts entered into

under uncompetitive conditions. All that is

required is that FERC enforce reasonable contracts

entered into in competitive markets.

CONCLUSION

Therefore, the Court should affirm the Ninth

Circuit’s decision remanding these cases to FERC.

Respectfully submitted,

Scott H. STRAUSS

Counsel o,; Record

MARK S. HEGEDUS

JEFFREY A. SCHWARZ

SPIEGEL & MCDIARMID LLP

1333 New Hampshire Avenue, NW

Washington, DC 20036

SUSAN N. KELLY

Vice President of Policy Analysis and General

Counsel

AMERICAN PUBLIC POWER ASSOCIATION

1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200

Washington, D.C. 20009-5715

WALLACE F. TILLMAN

General Counsel

RICHARD MEYER

Senior Regulatory Counsel

NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE

ASSOCIATION

4301 Wilson Boulevard

Arlington, VA 22203-1860

Counsel for Amici Curiae

American Public Power Association and

National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

January 14, 2008

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.