Amicus Curiae Brief — Boumediene v. Bush

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

-

\e FILED

AUG 2 4 2007

62) OFFICE OF THE CLEAK

SUPREME COURT, U.S.

Nos. 06-1195 & 06-1196

Jn the Supreme Court of the United States

LAKHDAR BOUMEDIENE, ET AL., Petitioners,

v. !

GEORGE W. BUSH, ET AL., Respondents.

KHALED A.F. AL ODAH, ET AL., Petitioners,

V.

UNITED STATES, ET AL., Respondents.

On Writs of Certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF MILITARY JUSTICE

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

STEPHEN A. SALTZBURG JENNIFER S. MARTINEZ

GEORGE WASHINGTON Counsel of Record

UNIVERSITY LAW SCHOOL STANFORD LAW SCHOOL

2000 H Street, NW 559 Nathan Abbott Way

Washington, DC 20052 Stanford, CA 94305

(202) 994-7098 (650) 725-2749

AKNON D. SIEGEL RONALD W. MEISTER

ERICA L. HOVANI COWAN Linpowittz & LATMA P.C

DeECHERT LLP 1133 Avenue of the Americas

1775 | Street, NW New York, NY 10036

Washington, DC 20006 (212) 790-9200

(202) 261-3300

August 24, 2007 Counsel for Amicus Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SED GI PUP MI III cccscccssinssscnsovnasnonsinonicsosnnsinnnse iil

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE ........0.cccccceceeeees |

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .............0....cccsscccsesoocesereosees 2

GEES SI NS EE ANE ES ae oP oe OOD See 3

1. THE LAW OF WAR PROVIDES

APPLICABLE STANDARDS FOR JUDGING

THE LEGALITY OF PETITIONERS’

BES BEES BUEN ccccsccccescosesecees puinienddipidanuniamtbaicbenseiinns 3

A. Military law guarantees fair procedures

to classify detainees in accordance with

RRO ISS HAA eee ea 3

B. This Court has traditionally used the law of

war to inform its interpretation of

congressional statutes related to armed

conflict and the scope of executive war

TT hatciirbinediinnacneitiimdiondteiindeatctintiinissatihdticienowinised 8

Il. PETITIONERS’ DETENTION IS NOT

AUTHORIZED BY THE LAW OF WAR............ 1]

A. The procedures used by the CSRTs do not

comport with the law of war ..........000. ccccececeeee. Il

B. The CSRTs used a definition of “combatant”

that is inconsistent with the law of war............ 14

1. The law of war distinguishes between

“combatants” and “civilians” .........00..00006 15

2. This Court's decisions have rested upon

a narrow definition of “combatant” that

is consistent with the law of war ..............+. 22

(il. THE GOVERNMENT’S DEPARTURE FROM

THE LAW OF WAR ENDANGERS

AMERICAN SOLDERS AND CIVILIANG.......... 24

A. The CSRTs’ broad definition of the term

“combatant” erodes the most fundamental

distinction in the law of waf................ccccccceeeee- 24

B. The CSRTs’ broad redefinition of the term

“combatant” erodes fundamental liberties....... 27

C. The Government’s disregard for the law of

war endangers American soldiers and

SITTIN sntiisticnsscsicideniictvencinnissciinnniibieaiigtiidteriatinnduieiniall 28

TNE istpitdctimnenicnicnnuinasititincnatetinnniesiousninaibbinaiaa 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

CASES

al-Marri v. Wright, 487 F.3d 160 (4th Cir. 2007)............. 20

. Bas v. Tingy, 4 U.S. (4 Dall.) 37 (1800) ooo eee 10

Boumediene v. Bush, 476 F.3d 981

a A I senda lihieinesitishninattisentiiinitaléebosiouuneiie 2, 3, 14

Brown v. United States,

Fe Grams Ge GUNED BU CEB EG) oa csnsecsucccesencccceesvecesssssvers 9

Clinton v. Goldsmith, 526 U.S. 529 (1999) ceccsseesseesense |

Duncan v. Kahanamoku, 327 U.S. 304 (1946) .....cccccccceeee 26

Ex parte Milligan, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 2 (1866)............. 23-24

Ex parte Ouirin, re) SE. . Scions passim

Dione v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67 (1972)... cccccccecccceseeeceees 13

Gratiot v. United States, 45 U.S. (4 How.) 80 (1846) ........ 5

In re Guantanamo Detainee Cases,

355 F. Supp. 2d 443 (D.D.C. 2005),

vacated sub nom. Boumediene v. Bush,

te ET od A) ) passim

Hamdan v. Rumsfeld, 126 S. Ct. 2749 (2006) .......... 1, 9, 20

Hamdi v. Rumsfeld, 542 U.S. 507 (2004) ..........cc005. passim

Rasul v. Bush, 542 U.S. 466 (2004)..........cccccesseeeseeseceeees 1,4

Service v. Dulles, 354 U.S. 363 (1957) ....cccccccccscecseserseeeeee 8

Talbot v. Seeman, § U.S. (1 Cranch) 1 (1801) scsssscssssssssse 10

The Prize Cases, 67 U.S. (2 Black) 635 (1863) -....c.scsses0e-0 9

STATUTES, REGULATIONS, AND

MILITARY AUTHORITIES

PEP EAA © TEED ‘cocsssnceneiehuninanpeninenetidinensliantiiasibiaginaaainna 5

FS SAL... BOO OE stcssrrdiserisinuninstingutsinninidiaalaal 27

SPF Es © Penn sctenctineienienncinsiiintamnaicitnniiicaiiie 9

DE Comite, Gaaee. Fie BGP ce cenecsevensesescrsstwtscceessseinannanin 28

Army Regulation 190-8, Enemy Prisoners of War,

Retained Personnel, Civilian Internees and

Sr ee Ce Dicer tetttitideinilinitcendonipiatindsiins passim

Authorization for Use of Military Force,

Pub. L. No. 107-40, 115 Stat. 224 (2001) ......... 9, 10,14

Deputy Secretary of Defense, Order Establishing

Combatant Status Review Tribunal

GEREN (op. ce TITOED cncsiceisnedecsevemnianidsehdiicieiiaaiaieaninaliae 12, 15

Secretary of the Navy, /mplementation of Combatant Status

Review Tribunal Procedures for Enemy Combatants

Detained at Guantanamo Bay Naval Base, Cuba

COREY a GEE iccricicincpisccuichidinciientuiiamisigaiaamaae 12, 13

iV

Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. §§ 801 ef seq.:

ER Tee 4

NE Re TO 4

I i 9

United States Air Force Regulation AFJI 31-304............... 5

United States Army Central Command Regulation 27-13 . 6

United States Dep’t of the Army, Field Manual on

the Law of Land Warfare,

FM 27-10 (1956) ------------------------------- 5,17, 19, 25

United States Dep’t of the Army, Operational

Law Handbook (2004) 00........c.cccccccceeeseeeeeeeees 6, 16-17, 25

United States Dep’t of the Navy, The Commander's

Handbook on the Law of Naval Operations (1995)........ >

United States Marine Corps Regulation MCO 3461.1 ....... 5

United States Military Assistance Command

for Vietnam, Directive No. 20-5 (Mar. 15, 1968,

amended, Sept. 21, 1966), reprinted in

Contemporary Practice of the United States Relating

to International Law, 62 AM. J. INT’LL. 754 (1968)...... 7

United States Military Assistance Command

for Vietnam, Directive No. 381-46, Annex A

(Dec. 27, 1967), reprinted in Contemporary Practice

of the United States Relating to International Law,

ee 6-7

United States Navy Regulation OPNAVINST 3461.6)...... 5

TREATIES AND OTHER INTERNATIONAL SOURCES

Geneva Convention [III] ‘Relative to the Treatment of

Prisoners of War, Aug. 12, 1949, 6 U.S.T. 3316,

75 U.N.T.S. 135 et seq.:

Sig Up uitasdschcaacinticnipctinimnbicesenninsncensciennitamphatiatapbetendiinniilals 17

SIDE. I ctsttiiene eenghiecabcaaiesteitbimncnsintepsencicstiiipimmiaeaicaiduliin 12

GAIN, FP snniestcstentintansennageasncscitipasituanianticianiteigipiiepidasisiidadiilian 16

NT Ti ncancartiinreapiecertntuiigitecicsenntinnsinesetapmessibicmimintiiaiaadical 4,9

GR BE siteecinrestnennse-wttscntcnnnicntbiigbinnninsiteieiaminimmaade 12

FID FFF stcinnin tienes: wimeteprniadinnssstentisaptimntbicsniuniiueanidinhiae 22

Geneva Convention [IV] Relative to the Protection of

Civilian

Persons in Time of War, Aug. 12, 1949, 6 U.S.T. 3516,

75 U.N.T.S. 287 et seq.:

Fela Ticetisinssrineaheenpespanincntasiinnicementncnsitigengpitaiiniaiasiain 16, 19

SIRS aie ditesinaiceasivtitvianinisepicninneastmnuannjeiinmniadaidaial 19

aA srerivustpsansottntpentetediemmsannpuibepmeiniiaenpenieaneiiaiain 19

Fes Tae ateciiniincsiapscentverensvingssenscnnnasepnianiiioeinmmniniiniadiedian 24

AER, FB sniccccnctantscanessaintotgeseavissensninnaitteatnniiibininiiiciidas 19

Hague Convention [IV] Respecting the Laws

and Customs of War on Land and Regulations

Annexed Thereto, Oct. 18, 1907, 36 Stat. 2277............ 25

Int’! Comm. of the Red Cross, Commentary on the

Additional Protocols of 8 June 1977 to the Geneva

Conventions of 12 August 1949 (Claude Pilloud

i cieinieistitsictiacatednsniihieniindbinitintanlidaatesiiin 18, 24

Int’! Comm. of the Red Cross, Commentary to the

[IV Geneva Convention (Jean S. Pictet ed. 1958)...... 8, 16

vi

ey

Protocol Additional [I] to the Geneva Conventions of

Aug. 12, 1949, and Relating to the Protection of Victims

of International .4rmed Conflicts, June 8, 1977, 1125

U.N.T.S. 3, 16 1.L.M. 1391 et seq.:

gE SER ERA an ae ne 16, 23

ree tatieeitinithindiociaetcinsliashblpaicduisdseintihinditnpiinaposiaasbiiaiianiale 23

FE en ee TE mT 16

STIPE Gish diciainnastshniniabpnappnnintaliaepethinndadtesiaiiipetinmisdgpeasuaal 17, 25

nN sbtaibbehnitvesatbdbesasdeiiaianbearecninesbebeimatneattinaiiggeaaiiindiaieg 24

Sit itetaletinteniciieatilaiiinisnenataisiiiaahaaticattaectaiigiinieinnitihtalibains 19

Protocol Additional [II] to the Geneva Conventions of

Aug. 12, 1949, and Relating to the Protection of Victims

of Non-International Armed Conflicts, June 8, 1977,

1125 U.N.T.S. 609, 16 1.L.M. 1442 ef seq.:

I i 17, 19, 25

Reservations by the United Kingdom to Art. 1,

para. 4 & art. 96, para. 3 of Additional Protocol I

(Dec. 12, 1977), available at www.icrc.org/ihL.nsf ...... 21

U.N.S.C. Res. 674, U.N. SCOR, 45th Sess..,

295 1st mtg., U.N.Doc. S/RES/674 (1990)... 29

Public Comm. Against Torture v. Israel,

46 I.L.M. 375 (Isr. Supr. Ct. 2007) 200.0... 17,18

OTHER AUTHORITIES

George H. Aldrich, The Taliban, Al Qaeda, and the

Determination of Illegal Combatants,

96 AM. J. INT’L L. 891, 893 (2002)... 19

Geoffrey Best, WAR AND Law SINCE 1945 (1994)........... 25

Vil

Frederic L. Borch, JUDGE ADVOCATES IN COMBAT:

ARMY LAWYERS IN MILITARY OPERATIONS FROM

VIETNAM TO HAATI (2001)................ hachihndiiehaliniitehisaiescanata 6

President George W. Bush, Address to a Joint Session of

Congress and the American People (Sept. 20, 2001),

availabie at http://www.whitehouse.gov/news/releases/

200 1/09/200 10920-8 Ft... ceeeseessseeseeeesesessenees 22

President George W. Bush, Remarks (March 23, 2003),

available at http://www.whitehouse. -gov/news/releases/

i EE ee 29

John Cerone, Jurisdiction and Power:

The Intersection of Human Rights Law &

the Law of Non-International Armed Conflict

in an Exira-Territorial Context, 40(s) Isr. L. REV.

(forthcoming 2007), available at

http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm?

RE TT cee RRP 20

Mark Denbeaux et al., Report on Guantanamo Detainess:

A Profile of 517 Detainees through Analysis of

Department of Defense Data (2006), available at

http://law.shu.edu/news/guantanamo report final

Soe STE OTe eunctcciecinctoeaciitamstacsearitiiaasiaiaiiaitinieriitniientibiantiti 2

Dep’t of Defense, Briefing on Enemy Prisoner of

War Status Categories, Releases and Paroles

I iia clans tained inate tieectinieaninithinmaal 7

Knut Dormann, The Legal Situation of

“Unlawful/Unprivileged Combatants,”

85 INT’L REV. RED Cross 45 (March 2003)................. 20

vill

Geneva Conventions for the Protection of War Victims:

Hearing Before the Senate Comm. on Foreign Relations,

S4th Cong., bet Sess. (1955S) .............cccccccccccsscecseeccceseees 28

Robert K. Goldman, /nternational Humanitarian Law:

Americas Watch's Experience in Monitoring

Internal Armed Conflicts, 9 AM U. J. INT’L.

REESE Si ce 18

L.C. Green, THE CONTEMPORARY LAW OF

ARMED CONFLICT (2d ed. 2000)............c.ccceccccseeeeeeeeeeee 18

THE HANDBOOK OF HUMANITARIAN LAW IN

ARMED CONPLICTS (Dieter Fleck ed. 1995)....0000000000.... 24

_ INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF

ARMIES OF THE UNITED STATES IN THE FIELD

(Lieber Code) (Apr. 24, 1863) .......00000..... wtitiiniiinmdionsieas 24

Josef L. Kunz, The Chaotic Status of the Laws

of War and the Urgent Need for Their Revision,

| ERE 28

Howard S. Levie, PRISONERS OF WAR IN

INTERNATIONAL ARMED CONFLICT (1977) ..0000....00000000- 28

Michael J. Matheson, The United States Position on

the Relation of Customary International Law to the 1977

Protocols Additional to the 1949 Geneva Conventions,

Remarks before Session One of the Humanitarian Law

Conference (Fall 1987), 2 AM.U. J. INT'L

I PP 16

_ Hilaire McCoubrey & Nigel D. White,

INTERNATIONAL LAW AND ARMED CONFLICT

STITT nsetiiceinectnidenpsntebnnanepetesemnensmbannsinnsbspesininiieliiiimapitiiie 2!

1X

Maj. Gen. George S. Prugh, VIETNAM STUDIES,

LAW AT WAR: VIETNAM 1964-73 (1975) .......cccccccceseeees 29

Marco Sassoli, Use and Abuse of

the Laws of War in the “War on Terrorism,”

22 LAW & INEQ..195 (2004) 20

William H. Taft IV, Legal Adviser, Dep’t of State,

Memorandum to Counsel to the President

(Feb. 2, 2002), available at http://www. fas.org/sgp/

I acisiccaditiciiileenieteinsceitiatneininsiutehassiiiatiesiasiin iis 29

Kenneth Watkin, Warriors Without Rights? Combatants,

Unprivileged Belligerents, and the Struggle Over

Legitimacy, Harvard Program on Humanitarian Policy

and Conflict Research (Winter 2005) ............ccccccccceeeees 26

Deputy Secretary of Defense Paul Wolfowitz,

Interview with New England Channel News

(Mar. 23, 2003), available at

http://www.defenselink.mil/transcripts/

transcript.aspx ?transcriptid=2 131 ooo... cccceceeseseeeeeee 29

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE!'

The National Institute of Military Justice (NIMJ) is a

District of Columbia nonprofit corporation organized in

1991 to advance the fair administration of military justice

and improve public understanding of military law. NIMJ’s

officers and advisory board include law professors, private

practitioners, and other experts in the field, none of whom

is on active duty in the military, but nearly all of whom

_ have served as military lawyers, several as flag and general

officers.

NIMJ appears regularly as an amicus curiae before the

United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces, and

has appeared in this Court as an amicus in support of the

Government in Clinton v. Goldsmith, 526 U.S. 529 (1999),

and in support of the Petitioners in Rasul v. Bush, 542 U.S.

466 (2004), and Hamdan v. Rumsfeld, 126 S. Ct. 2749

(2006).

NIMJ is actively involved in public education through its

~ website, www.nimj.org, and through publications including

the Annotated Guide to Procedures for Trials by Military

Commissions of Certain Non-United States Citizen in the

War Against Terrorism (2002) and two volumes of Military

Commission Instructions Sourcebooks (2003-04). NIMJ

has also sought to improve public understanding of military

law by seeking release of comments on the rules governing

military commissions. NIMJ is independent of the

Government and relies for its programs exclusively upon

voluntary private contributions.

' Pursuant to Rule 37.6, amicus affirms that no counsel for the parties

authored this brief in whole or in part, and no person or entity other

than the amicus curiae, its members, and its counsel made a monetary

contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief. The parties

have consented to the filing of this brief, and their letters of consent

have been filed with the Clerk.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

For more than five years, hundreds of individuals, from

more than forty countries, have been held in. military

detention by the United States at its Naval Base in

Guantanamo Bay and subjected to repeated interrogations

under harsh conditions. According to the most

comprehensive study of the population at Guantanamo

Bay,’ 93% of the prisoners were captured by parties others

than the United States and its coalition partners, at a time

when the United States was paying bounties for prisoners.

Fewer than half of the prisoners are accused of committing

a hortile act. Many were captured far from zones of active

combat in Afghanistan and Iraq, in civilian settings in

places as far-flung as Bosnia and Zambia. Many are held

for nothing more than staying at hotels recommended by

international travel guides, fleeing from troops fighting the

Taliban, or owning a rifle or a Casio watch.”

Petitioners here contend that they are innocent. of

wrongdoing, engaged neither in combat nor in acts of

terrorism, and are held without just cause. They further

contend that they are entitled to a meaningful hearing at

which the legality of their detention can be evaluated using

fair procedures and an appropriate definition of the conduct

for which they may lawfully be detained as combatants.

The majority below did not reach these claims because

it concluded that it lacked jurisdiction over these habeas

petitions and that the Constitution did not extend to

Guantanamo. 476 F.3d 981, 994 (D.C. Cir. 2007). This

brief does not focus on the jurisdictional issues or the

question of the Constitution’s territorial scope. Rather, it

focuses on two of the claims that Petitioners would have

the Court consider once it holds that it has jurisdiction and

reaches the merits of their habeas petitions: first, that the

” Mark Denbeaux et al., Re port on Guantanamo Detainees, A Profile of

517 Detainees through Analysis of Department of Defense Data (2006).

3

Id. at 17.

procedures used by the Combatant Status Review Tribunals.

(CSRTs) were inadequate; and second, that there is no

lawful basis for Petitioners’ detention because the CSRTs

used a substantive definition of “combatant” that is not

supported by the law of war and thus exceeds the scope of

authority granted to the President by Congress. In one of

the decisions on review, Judge Green held the CSRTs

facially deficient on both these grounds. 355 F. Supp. 2d

443 (D.D.C. 2005). Similarly, Judge Rogers, dissenting in

the Court of Appeals, thought the CSRT procedures

inadequate, 476 F.3d at 1004-06, and skeptically described

the Government’s definition of “combatant” as “evolving

and unlimited,” id. at 1012 n.14. These judges were

correct.

NIMJ files this brief to demonstrate how the

Government’s treatment of the prisoners at Guantanamo

represents a dramatic and unlawful deviation from

traditional military law and practice, both in terms of the

procedures used to classify detainees and in terms of the

substantive definition of “combatant.” The Governmeni’s

unlawful and unauthorized actions violate the rights of

these Petitioners, and would endanger U.S. military

personnel and civilians by undermining the law of war.

After resolving the threshold jurisdictional issues, this

Court should hold that Petitioners are entitled to habeas

relief based on the procedural and substantive deficiencies

of the CSRTs.

ARGUMENT

l. THE LAW OF WAR PROVIDES APPLICABLE

STANDARDS FOR JUDGING THE LEGALITY OF

PETITIONERS’ DETENTION

A. Military law guarantees fair procedures to classify

detainees in accordance with the law of war

The U.S. military has traditionally used fair procedures to

classify prisoners in accordance with the law of war. The

Government's failure to provide such procedures for the

3

Guantanamo detainees is a stark departure from this

tradition of compliance with the law.

Contrary to the Government’s argument _ that

Guantanamo is a “law free” zone, U.S. armed forces

everywhere in the world are governed by a comprehensive

legal framework for the administration of justice. The

Uniform Code of Military Justice (UCMJ), 10 U.S.C.

§§ 801-940, applies in peace and war, worldwide, and to

American service members and people -in their custody.

UCMS arts. 2(a)(1), (9) and 5, 10 U.S.C. §§ 802(a)(1), (9)

and 805. These provisions reflect a_ legislative

determination that rules of law can and do apply to persons

located at, among other places, Guantanamo Bay.*

For over half a century, the UCMJ and implementing

regulations have required compliance with the law of war,

including the requirement that individuals seized in combat

be afforded the protection of contemporaneous, competent

and neutral tribunals to determine their status in doubtful

cases in conformance with the law of war. This

requirement stems from the Third Geneva Convention,

which specifies that should there be any doubt “as to

whether persons, having committed a belligerent act” are

eniitled to prisoner of war status, “such persons shall enjoy

the protection of the present Convention until such time as

their status has been determined by a competent tribunal.” °

This obligation is implemented in U.S. law through

Army Regulation 190-8, Enemy Prisoners of War, Retained

Personnel, Civilian Internees and Other Detainees 4 1-1(b)-

(1997) (AR 190-8). The Regulation is no mere aspiration,

* UCMJ Article 2 makes the UCM) applicable to “persons within an

area leased by or otherwise reserved or acquired for the use of the

United States which is under the controi of the Secretary concerned and

which is outside the United States.” 10 U.S.C. § 802 (a)(12); see

Rasul, 542 U.S. at 481-82 (Guantanamo Bay is such an area.).

* Geneva Convention [III] Relative to the Treatment of Prisoners of

War, Aug. 12, 1949, art. 5, 6 U.S.T. 3316, 75 U.N.T.S. 135.

4

but a detailed, enforceable rule of law promulgated under

the authority of the UCMJ.° AR 190-8 specifically states

that it “implements international law,” including the

Geneva Conventions. The Regulation provides that, “{i}n

accordance with Article 5” of the Third Geneva

Convention, in case of doubt “[a] competent tribunal shall

determine the status of any person not appearing to be

entitled to prisoner of war status who has committed a

belligerent act or has engaged in hostile activities in aid of

enemy armed forces.”’ Such tribunals are legally required

to determine whether individuals in custody meet the law

of war definition of civilian rather than combatant, and

whether or not they are entitled to prisoner of war status.

Id. 4 1-6(e)( 10) (listing possible determinations).

The requirement that wartime detainees’ status must be

determined by impartial tribunals in accordance with the

law of war is recognized throughout authoritative sources

on military law. This requirement is incorporated in the

Department of the Army’s Field Manual on the Law of

Land Warfare, FM 27-10, at ¥ 71(a) (1956) (providing for a

“competent tribunal” to determine the status of

belligerents) (The Law of Land Warfare); the Department

of the Navy’s Commander’s Handbook on the Law of

Naval Operations § 11-7 (1995) (even “individuals

captured as spies or illegal combatants have the right to

assert their claim of entitlement to prisoner-of-war status

before a judicial tribunal and to have the question

adjudicated”); and the Army Judge Advocate General’s

* This Regulation was issued pursuant to 10 U.S.C. § 121, which

authorizes the President to “prescribe regulations to carry out his

functions, powers, and duties under this title.” Duly enacted

regulations like AR 190-8 constitute U.S. law. Gratiot v. United States,

45 U.S. (4 How.) 80, 117 (1846) (“As to the army regulations, this

court has too repeatedly said, that they have the force of law .. . .”).

” This identical regulation has been also adopted in the Navy

(OPNAVINST 3461.6), Air Force (AF JI 31-304), and Marine Corps

(MCO 3461.1.).

School’s Operational Law Handbook 26 (2004) (directing

judge advocates to “advise commanders that, regardless of

the nature of the conflict, all enemy personnel should

initially be accorded the protections of the [Third Geneva

Convention], at least until their status may be determined”)

(Army Operational Law Handbook).

In the United States military’s Area of Operations

(AOR) that includes Afghanistan and Iraq, these provisions

are further implemented by United States Central

Command (CENTCOM) Regulation 27-13 (1995), which

provides that U.S. personnel “who take or have custody of

a detainee will: . . . (2) Apply the protections of the [Third

Geneva Convention] to each [Enemy Prisoner of War] and

to each detainee whose status has not yet been determined

by a Tribunal covered under this regulation.” This

regulation applies to “all members of the United States

Forces deployed to or operating in support of operations in

the US CENTCOM AOR.” Id. 4 2. Personnel who fail to

treat any detainee in accordance with the Geneva

Conventions “may be subject to punishment under the

UCMJ.” Id. 4 7(b).

The military’s otherwise consistent record of compliance

with these laws belies the Government’s argument in these

cases that legal process is incompatible with war. The U.S.

Military Assistance Command in Vietnam, for example,

enforced strict requirements for the classification of

captured personnel, including providing impartial tribunals

to determine eligibility for prisoner-of-war _ status.

Directive No. 381-46, Annex A (Dec. 27, 1967), and

Directive No. 20-5 (Sept. 21, 1966, as amended Mar. 15,

1968); see also Frederic L. Borch, JUDGE ADVOCATES IN

COMBAT: ARMY LAWYERS IN MILITARY OPERATIONS FROM

VIETNAM TO HAITI 29 (2001).

During Operation Desert Storm, the United States

processed 69,822 Iraqi troops pursuant to AR 190-8. Borch,

supra, at 22. The International Red Cross accordingly

6

reported that the United States complied with the Geneva

Conventions more fully than any other nation in any

- previous conflict. /d. Similarly, in Panama in 1989-90, the

United States provided tribunals to adjudicate the status of

4100 captured troops, promptly releasing 4000 and granting

POW status to the remaining 100. /d. at 104-06. More

recently, U.S. forces have also provided impartial tribunals

- compliant with Article 5 to adjudicate the status of captured

belligerents in the current conflict in Iraq, a theater of

active combat. Dep't of Defense, Briefing on Enemy

Prisoner of War Status Categories, Releases and Paroles

(May 9, 2003).

The Government’s failure to provide the Guantanamo

detainees with AR 190-8 hearings immediately after their

capture is a dramatic break from decades of consistent

military practice of compliance with the law. Since the

United States has provided AR 190-8 tribunals in the war

theaters of Vietnam, Panama, Iraq, and elsewhere, it is

' difficult to credit the argument that such tribunals at

Guantanamo Bay, or litigation in the District of Columbia

courts, would interfere with field commanders. Unlike the

past tribunals that operated under fire, tribunals in

Guantanamo Bay, or courts in the continental United

States, would not be held in war zones. The Government

offers no credible argument that tribunals required by

military regulations and by the 194 nations subscribing to

the Geneva Conventions would interfere with its war

powers. The rules and practice of United States military

forces establish that the involvement of competent tribuna!s

in determining the status and rights of detained combatants

is a regular component of military operations, and essential

to ensuring compliance with the law of war.

There is simply no provision in any law, domestic or

international, that permits the President to issue a blanket

pronouncement that a military detention facility is outside

the law or that all individuals falling into the control of the

United States in a particular theater of war are outlaws.

These protections may not be circumvented by a claim

that detained personnel are not entitled to status as enemy

prisoners of war. The Regulations implementing the

Geneva Conventions provide a comprehensive framework

for the treatment of persons caught up in armed conflict. By

their explicit terms, every detainee whose status has not

been determined by an impartial tribunal is entitled to their

protection.

Having undertaken to adhere to these legal obligations,

our military services and commander-in-chief are not free

to disregard them. Service v. Dulles, 354 U.S. 363 (1957).

The protections afforded by impartial tribunals are not

voluntary or idiosyncratic efforts of field commanders, or

applicable only to some detainees, but are the product of

United States law, regulations, and orders protecting all

classes of detainees.

B. This Court has traditionally used the law of war to

inform its interpretation of statutes related to armed

conflict and the scope of executive war powers

American compliance with the law of war has also been

ensured by this Court’s practice of looking to the law of

war to inform the meaning of statutory provisions related to

armed conflict, as well as the scope of inherent executive

power. Based on these precedents, this Court should again

be guided by the law of war in determining whether there is

legal authority for the continued detention of Petitioners at

Guantanamo.

* Reliance on the customary law of war (as reflected in the Geneva

Conventions, among other sources) as a guide for interpretation of the

scope of authorized government powers is analytically distinguishable

from invoking the Geneva Conventions as a “source of rights” as

described in section 5 of the Military Commissions Act of 2006

(MCA). When Congress does not intend its enactments to be read in

light of international law, it says so explicitly, as it did in section

8

The Court relied on the law of war most recently in

interpreting Article 21 of the UCMJ in Hamdan. Two

years earlier, the plurality similarly relied on the law of war

in interpreting the Authorization for Use of Military Force

(AUMF), Pub. L. No.: 107-40, 115 Stat. 224 (2001) in

Hamdi, 542 U.S. at 520-21; id at 550 (op. of Souter, J.).

The plurality in Hamdi also indicated that the law of war

could be relevant as one possible benchmark for evaluating

whether particular procedures for classifying wartime

detainees satisfy the constitutional requisites of due

process. 542 U.S. at 538 (referring to AR 190-8 in

discussing the “possibility that the [due process] standards

we have articulated could be met by an appropriately

authorized and properly constituted military tribunal’’)

(plurality op.); id. at 550 (op. of Souter, J.) (finding the

detention of Petitioner unauthorized because of the

Government’s failure to comply with AR 190-8 and art. 5

of the Third Geneva Convention).

These decisions are only the latest in a long line of cases

throughout American history that rely on the international

law of war as a guide to the scope of government powers in

armed conflict. See Ex parte Quirin, 317 U.S. 1, 27-28

(1942) (the Court has “recognized and applied the law of

war as including that part of the law of nations which

prescribes, for the conduct of war, the status, rights and

duties of enemy nations as well as of enemy individuals”);

The Prize Cases, 67 U.S. (2 Black) 635, 667 (1863)

(looking to international law of war to determine legality of

wartime seizures by executive); Brown v. United States, 12

U.S. (8 Cranch) 110, 153 (1814) (Story, J., dissenting)

(noting that the President “cannot lawfully transcend the

6(a)(2) of the MCA regarding the interpretation of the War Crimes Act.

18 USC. § 2441(d). Thus, regardless of the meaning or proper

application of these provisions of the MCA, reliance on the law of war

as a guide for interpretation of authorized powers is as appropriate in

this case as in other cases throughout American history.

9

rules of warfare established among civilized nations. He

cannot lawfully exercise powers or authorized proceedings

which the civilized world repudiates and disclaims,” in

dissent from a majority opinion that restricted presidential

war powers even further to measures explicitly authorized

by Congress); Talbot v. Seeman, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 1, 28

(1801) (“congress may authorize general hostilities, in

which case the general laws of war apply to our situation;

or partial hostilities, in which case the laws of war, so far as

they actually apply to our situation, must be noticed”); Bas

v. Tingy, 4 U.S. (4 Dall.) 37, 43 (1800) (“If a general war is

declared, its extent and operations are only restricted and

regulated by the jus belli, forming a part of the law of

nations; but if a partial war is waged, its extent and

operation depend on our municipal laws.”’).

Against this historic backdrop of compliance with the

law of war, Congress would need to be exceptionally clear

if it intended to empower the President to detain people in a

manner not authorized by the law of war. Far from

indicating an intent to authorize such deviation, however,

Congress here authorized the President to use “necessary

and appropriate force.” AUMF § 2(a).

As the plurality of this Court concluded in Hamdi, the

AUMF’s reference to “necessary” and “appropriate”

military force should be interpreted in light of

_ “longstanding law-of-war principles,” 542 U.S. at 521, to

encompass only “fundamental and accepted” military

detention practices that are by “‘universal agreement and

practice’” part of the lawful waging of war, id. at 518; see

id. at 549 (op. of Souter, J.) (rejecting government’s “claim

here to be acting in accordance with customary law of war

and hence to be within the terms of the Force Resolution.”).

". PETITIONERS’ DETENTION IS NOT

AUTHORIZED BY THE LAW OF WAR

As the above sections indicate, the requirements of the

law of war are relevant both because of the binding military

10

rules and regulations that implement them and because this

Court has traditionally relied on the law of war in

interpreting the lawful scope of government powers in

armed conflict. The continued detention of Petitioners at

Guantanamo is unauthorized and illegal because the

Government has deviated from both the procedural and

substantive requirements of the law of war.

Petitioners are entitled to habeas relief on at least two

grounds: first, the CSRTs employed procedures that are

legally inadequate; and second, the CSRTs classified

prisoners based on a substantive definition of “combatant”

for which there is no authority. As the court below

correctly concluded, because Petitioners’ detention is not

consistent with the law of war, it cannot be part of the

“necessary and appropriate” force that Congress has

authorized the President to use in fighting terrorism. 355 F.

Supp. 2d at 475.

A. The procedures used by the CSRTs do not

comport with the law of war

In accordance with the binding regulations described

above, the U.S. military has traditionally used the

procedures of AR 190-8 to classify prisoners in accordance

with the law of war. None of the Petitioners received the

hearings required by AR 190-8 immediately following their

detention, and this fact alone renders their detention in

violation of the law.

Moreover, the Government’s attempt in the courts below

to characterize the CSRT proceedings as comparable to

those required by AR 190-8 misses the point that, at this

late date, several years and half a world away from the

place of capture, such minimal process is unacceptable. As

this Court's decision in Hamdi made clear, “initial captures

on the battlefield [where AR 190-8 hearings pursuant to

Article 5 are held] need not receive the process we have

discussed here; that process is due only when the

determination is made to continue to hold those who have

been seized.” 542 U.S. at 534 (emphasis added). Whereas

battlefield needs may require a more summary proceeding,

the defects in the CSRTs had no such justification.

Petitioners here were far from a combat zone, and had been

regularly interrogated for years, allowing the Government

ample time to develop its evidence. The resulting

proceedings ought to have been more robust if they were to

remedy the lack of contemporaneous AR 190-8 hearings;

instead they were less so.

The CSRTs did not provide even the minimum

safeguards of an AR 190-8 proceeding. AR 190-8 hearings

are based on evidence secured in compliance with the

Geneva Conventions, which prohibit torture and coercion;”

the CSRTs are not."” AR 190-8 hearings are conducted

contemporaneously and near the place of capture, where

witnesses are available; the CSRTs were conducted years

later and thousands of miles from the battlefield. AR 190-8

hearings presume prisoners to be entitled to POW

protections until proven otherwise (at 4 1-6(a)); the order

creating the CSRTs begins with a recitation that the

detainees subject to the CSRTs have already been

determined to be enemy combatants,'' requires the

detainees to prove otherwise without access to witnesses

* AR 190-8, 2-La(1)(d) (“[t}he use of physical or mental torture or any

coercion to compel prisoners to provide information is prohibited”);

Third Geneva Convention arts. 3(1 (a), 17.

'’ Sec’y of the Navy, Implementation of Combatant Status Review

Tribunal Procedures for Enemy Combatants Detained at Guantanamo

Bay Naval Base, Cuba § G(7) (July 29, 2004) (CSRT Memorandum)

(allowing use of “any information it deems relevant and helpful”); see

also In re Guantanamo Detainee Cases, 355 F. Supp. 2d at 472-73

(discussing allegations of CSRT use of statements obtained through

torture or coercion).

‘' Deputy Sec’y of Defense, Order Establishing Combatant Status

Review Tribunal § a (July 7, 2004) (CSRT Order)

12

and without being informed of the identity of accusers,"

and in any event cannot grant detainees POW status.'?

The failure of the CSRTs to meet even the basic

requirements of AR 190-8 — let alone provide the additional

protections necessary as a matter of due process to justify

detention after so many years — is indicative of the degree

to which they are inconsistent with the traditional law of

war. The CSRTs are unauthorized because their deviation

from the procedures required by the law of war takes them

outside of Congress’s authorization of “necessary and

appropriate” force. Their departure from the law of war is

also relevant to the issue of whether they satisfy the Due

Process Clause. Cf Hamdi, 542 U.S. at 538. While

compliance with the law of war is not alone enough to

satisfy constitutional standards of due process, cf. id. at 575

n.5 (Scalia, J., dissenting), failure to comply with even the

most minimal law of war standards for battlefield tribunals

certainly belies the argument that a given procedure

constitutes due process.

Any neutral observer asked to describe the features of a

civilized system of justice would be hard-pressed to

identify anything more basic than the right to be informed

of the basis for detention; the right to be confronted with

evidence; and the rights to challenge that evidence and

have assistance in doing so. Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S.

67, 80 (1972). As this Court made clear in Hamdi, “These

essential constitutional promises may not be eroded.” 542

U.S. at 533. Petitioners here have been denied these most

basic rights.

In one of the decisions below, Judge Green — the only

district judge to have reviewed the CSRTs in depth — found

that they were woefully insufficient. She held that the

'° CSRT Memorandum §§ G(11), F(8). G(9).

' CSRT Memorandum, Encl. 9, Combatant Status Review Tribunal

Decision Report Cover Sheet) (“The Tribunal has determined that he

(isis not) an enemy combatant as defined in [CSRT Order)").

13

detainees had stated a valid claim that the CSRTs violated

the Due Process Clause because in all cases detainees were

(1) not provided with adequate notice of the bases for their

detention; (2) forbidden access to material evidence upon

which the CSRTs determined their status; (3) not given a

fair opportunity to rebut the evidence upon which their

Status was determined; and (4) not provided with

meaningful assistance to oppose the claims against them.

355 F. Supp. 2d at 468-72. In addition, the district court

concluded that, in at least some of the cases, the CSRTs

were alleged to have relied on evidence that was obtained

by interrogations so severe as to amount to torture or

impermissible coercion. Judge Rogers, who dissented from

the jurisdictional ruling of the Court of Appeals, reached a

similar conclusion. 476 F.3d at 1004-06.

B. The CSRTs used a definition of “combatant” that

is inconsistent with the law of war

Judge Green also properly concluded below that the

CSRTs were legally deficient because they employed a

vague and overly broad definition of “enemy combatant.”

355 F. Supp. 2d at 474-76.

In Hamdi, this Court recognized that the “necessary and

appropriate force” authorized by Congress in the AUMF

encompassed the detention of the “limited category” of

persons who were “‘part of or supporting forces hostile to

the United States or coalition partners’ in Afghanistan and

who ‘engaged in an armed conflict against the United

States’ there.” 542 U.S. at 516, 518 (plurality op.)

(emphasis added). As the Court explained, such detentions

were supported by “longstanding law-of-war principles.”

Id. at 521.

As Judge Green found, “[t}he definition of ‘enemy

combatant’ in the Order creating the CSRTs is significantly

broader than the definition considered in Hamdi.” 355 F.

Supp. 2d at 475. The CSRT Order defines “enemy

combatant” to be “an individual who was part of or

14

supporting Taliban or al Qaeda forces, or associated forces

that are engaged in hostilities against the United States and

its coalition partners.” CSRT Order § a (emphasis added).

The Order specifies that this “includes” any person who has

“committed a belligerent act or has directly supported

hostilities in aid of enemy armed forces.” /d. But it does

not require that a person detained as a combatant have

committed a belligerent act, directly supported hostilities,

or otherwise “engaged in an armed conflict against the

United States,” as required by Hamdi. To the contrary,

merely “supporting” the Taliban, al Qaeda, or associated

forces is sufficient to subject one to indefinite military

detention under the CSRT Order definition. /d.

At the hearing in the district court, the Government's

attorney demonstrated the breadth of the CSRT definition

in response to a series of hypotheticals. The Government

argued that a variety of persons who did not participate

directly in hostilities could be detained as combatants,

including: “[a] little old lady in Switzerland who writes

checks to what she thinks is a charity that helps orphans in

Afghanistan but [what] really is a front to finance al-Qaeda

activities,” “a person who teaches English to the son of an

al Qaeda member,” and a “journalist who knows the

location of Osama Bin Laden but refuses to disclose it to

protect her source.” 355 F. Supp. 2d at 475.

The law of war classifies all these individuals as

civilians, not combatants. Congress’s authorization of

“necessary and appropriate” force cannot properly be read

to encompass the classification and detention of individuals

under the definition used by the CSRTs.

I. The law of war distinguishes between “combatants”

and “civilians”

The Geneva Conventions, and especially Additional

Protocol |, prescribe with considerable detail the rights and

duties of people caught up in armed conflict.'* Additional

Protoco! I states that “combatants,” who are “members of

the armed forces of a Party ‘to a conflict,” art. 43(2), are

lawful military targets, while non-combatants are not.'°

This deliberately limits the class of people who lawfully

may be targeted by opposing military forces. People who

are actually in the armed forces of a nation-state are

deemed combatants and are generally lawful targets at all

times; people who are not in the armed forces are generally

not combatants and are generally not lawful targets.

Because the law of war provides a comprehensive

scheme for people caught up in warfare, there is no

intermediate status. Individuals must be classified either as

combatants or civilians: “[e]very person in enemy hands

must have some status under international law: he is either

a prisoner of war and, as such, covered by the Third

Convention, [or] a civilian covered by the Fourth

Convention .... There is no intermediate status; nobody in

enemy hands can be outside the law.” Int'l Comm. of the

Red Cross, Commentary. to the 1V Geneva Convention 51

(Jean S. Pictet ed. 1958); see also Army Operational Law

'* Although the United States has not ratified Additional Protocol [, it

has acknowledged that much of the treaty reflects binding customary

international law. Army Operational Law Handbook at \1; Michael J.

Matheson, The United States Position on the Relation of Customary

International Law to the 1977 Protocols Additional to the 1949 Geneva

Conventions, 2 AM. U. J. INT'L L. & POL’ Y 419, 420 (1987).

'S Additional Protocol | further defines combatants to include: “all

organized armed forces, groups and units which are under a command

responsible to that Party for the conduct of its subordinates, even if that

Party is represented by a Government or an authority not recognized by

an adverse Party.” Additional Protocol | art. 43(1). Members of

disorganized militia groups who are not under a command responsible

to a state Party to the conflict are not combatants under this definition.

Conversely, civilians are defined as persons who do not fall into one of

the categories of persons entitled to prisoner of war status pursuant to

article 4 of the Third Geneva Convention and article 43 of Additional

Protocol |. See Additional Protocol | art. 50.

16

Handbook 142 (“Anyone not qualifying as a combatant, in

the sense that they are entitled to [prisoner of war] st us

upon capture, should be regarded as a civilian.”); Tie Law

of Land Warfare 4| 73.

The law of war recognizes that civilians may cause

harm in armed conflict. They may be treated as targets of

force and, inferentially, as combatants, but only “for such

time as they take a direct part in hostilities.”'° The law of

_ war standard, therefore, for when people who are not

ordinarily defined as combatants may be treated as

combatants is when they take a “direct part” in “hostilities.”

This standard contains three relevant criteria. First, it

applies only to “hostilities.” This word has a narrower

connotation than the phrase “armed conflict,” which

appears frequently elsewhere in the Geneva Conventions."’

Thus, an individual who would not ordinarily be considered

a combatant must participate in actual “hostilities” — rather

than the relevant armed conflict more generally — to lose

protection as a civilian. The standard also has a clear

temporal dimension. It lasts only “for such time” as the

individual takes a direct part in hostilities. A civilian who

takes part in hostilities regains his civilian status after his

direct participation has ceased (although he may be

criminally prosecuted for his illegal participation in

hostilities).'* Finally, the test sets up a demanding nexus.

The individual must take a “direct” part. While this phrase

is not further defined, it clearly provides that indirect aid—

no matter how valuable—does not suffice.

A civilian does not become a combatant because he

generally “supports” troops. Nor does he become a

“Additional Protocol [, art. 51(3) (“Civilians shall enjoy the protection

afforded by this Section, unless and for such time as they take a direct

art in hostilities.”); Additional Protocol [1, art. 13 (same).

” See, e.g., Third Geneva Convention, art. 2.

'* See Public Comm. Against Torture v. Israel, 46 1.L.M. 375, 393 (Isr.

Supr. Ct. 2007).

17

combatant because an opposing commander suspects he

might, at some point in the future, plot to engage in violent

acts.'” If the rule were otherwise, large parts of the civilian

population of a country at war would become lawful targets

for attack. Shooting a gun on a battlefield constitutes

taking a “direct part in hostilities.” So, too, would

hijacking an airplane with the intent to use it as missile.

Driving a truck full of explosives or carrying a gun towards

the battlefield with the imminent intent to engage in combat

could also amount to taking a direct part in hostilities. See

Public Comm. Against Torture v. Israel, 46 1.L.M. at 391.

By contrast, supporting the enemy cause off the battlefield,

conspiring with the enemy, contemplating taking part in

battle in the future, and sympathizing with the enemy do

not constitute taking a direct part in hostilities under the

law of war, although those acts may be punishable under

domestic criminal law.”°

'? See Int’! Comm. of the Red Cross, Commentary on the Additional

Protocols of 8 June 1977 to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August

1949, at 619 (Claude Pilloud et al. eds. 1987) (Commentary to

Protocols) (noting that there is “a clear distinction between direct

participation in hostilities and participation in the war effort,” to avoid

endangering large parts of the civiltan population).

°° Public Comm. Against Torture v. Israel, 46 1.L.M. at 392 (direct

participation does not include someone who “aids the unlawful

combatants by general strategic analysis, and grants them logistical,

general support, including monetary aid.”); Robert K. Goldman,

International Humanitarian Law: Americas Watch's Experience in

Monitoring Internal Armed Conflicts,9 AM U. J. INT'L. L. & POL’ y 49,

70 (1993) (“[A] civilian can be considered to participate directly in

hostilities when he actually takes part in fighting, whether singly or as a

member of a group. Such participation . . . would also include acting as

a member of a weapons crew or providing target information for

weapons systems ‘intended for immediate use against the enemy, such

as artillery spotters or members of ground observer teams.’”);

Commentary to Protocols at 516 (“Direct participation im hostilities

implies a direct causal relationship between the activity engaged in and

the harm done to the enemy at the time and place where the activity

18

A civilian who participates directly in hostilities would

in some circumstances be violating the law of war, and in

the Government’s nomenclature would presumably be

labeled an “unlawful combatant.””' “Illegal combatant” or

“unlawful combatant” is not a term that appears in any

treaty on the law of war. Commentators have occasionally

used these phrases to describe someone who does not

receive the privileges accorded to combatants, the most

important of which are prisoner of war status and immunity

from prosecution for merely engaging in combat. As used

by these commentators, the phrase “unlawful combatants”

actually encompasses two sets of people: members of the

regular armed forces who do not wear uniforms and do not

bear arms openly (and thereby lose their privileged

combatant status) and civilians who unlawfully participate

directly in battle (who never had privileged combatant

status to begin with).

As persons in the latter category retain their civilian

Status, it is arguably improper to refer to them as

combatants at all under the law of war: they are more

accurately described as “unprivileged _ belligerents.”

George H. Aldrich, The Taliban, Al Qaeda, and the

Determination of Illegal Combatants, 96 AM. J. INTL L.

891, 893 (2002).

Members of the Taliban armed forces would properly

be considered combatants in the conflict in Afghanistan.

Similarly, members of groups associated with the Taliban,

takes place.”); L.C. Green, THE CONTEMPORARY LAW OF ARMED

CONFLICT 107 (2d ed. 2000).

*' A civilian who directly participated in hostilities could be treated as

a combatant only in the sense that he would become a lawful target of

attack for the duration of his direct participation; in all other senses he

would remain a civilian protected by the Fourth Geneva Convention.

Fourth Geneva Convention art. 4; The Law of Land Warfare 4 73. The

Fourth Geneva Convention would not prohibit the detention or criminal

prosecution of such a person, provided that procedural safeguards were

observed. Aris. 42, 43, 78; Additional Protocol | art. 75(4).

19

such as al Qaeda, who fought on the battlefield in

Afghanistan and who served under a command responsible

to Taliban officials, could also be classified as combatants

in that conflict. In addition, other individuals who fought

on the battlefield could be treated as combatants during

their actual participation in the fighting.

‘ At the same time, persons who are not alleged to be

members of a regular armed force of a nation state, nor to

have participated directly in _ hostilities, cannot be

categorized as combatants—lawful or unlawful. For many

of the prisoners at Guantanamo, including a number of the

Petitioners in this case, the Government does not claim that

th — directly in hostilities in Afghanistan or

Ira Nor are many of these detainees alleged to be

2 As this Court recognized in Hamdan, the bulk of the 1949 Geneva

Conventions and Additional Protocol | apply only in armed conflicts

between state parties to the Conventions. A more limited body of law

applies to armed conflicts “not of an international character,” 126 S. Ct.

at 2795-96, and thus is potentially applicable to those detainees not

connected to international armed conflict in Iraq or Afghanistan. Like

the law applicable to international armed conflict, the rules for non-

international armed conflict distinguish between combatants and

civilians. Civilians may not be targets of attack “unless and for such

time as they take a direct part in hostilities.” Additional Protocol II, art.

13. Thus, as in international armed conflict, those taking no direct part

in hostilities cannot lawfully be classified as combatants. Furthermore,

and in contrast to the law applicable in international armed conflict, the

law of war applicable in non-international armed conflict arguably

provides no independent authority for detaining cither combatants or

civilians. al-Marri v. Wright, 487 F.3d 160, 184-186 (4th Cir. 2007);

John Cerone, Jurisdiction and Power: The Intersection of Human

Rights Law & the Law of Non-International Armed Conflict in an

Extra-Territorial Context, 40 Isr. L. REV. (forthcoming 2007) (“while

the law of inter-state armed conflict authorizes the conflicting states to

detain enemy combatants for the duration of hostilities, no analogous

provision exists in the law of non-international armed conflict.”);

Marco Sassoli, Use and Abuse of the Laws of War in the “War on

Terrorism,” 22 LAW & INEQ. 195, 210-11 (2004); Knut Dormann, The

Legal Situation of “Unlawful/Unprivileged Combatants,” 85 INTL

20

> >

members of “organized armed forces, groups and units

which are under a command responsible to [the Taliban

Government or the Government of Iraq] for the conduct or

its subordinates.” :

Regardless of the facts of each Petitioner’s case, the

fundamental problem is that the CSRTs employed a

definition of “combatant” that is overly broad, and so it is

‘impossible to determine based on their findings which

individuals have been properly detained. The CSRT

definition encompasses many individuals who are not

members of the armed forces of a nation-state, who did not

participate directly in hostilities, aud who never committed

any belligerent act. Such individuals are civilians under the

law of war. They may be arrested and punished under

other laws, but they do not fall within Congress’s

authorization for “necessary and appropriate” military

force.”*

REV. RED Cross 45, 47 (2003). While the law of war does not prohibit

the detention of either combatants or civilians in non-international

armed conflict, authority for such detentions cannot be derived directly

from the law of war and must be explicitly authorized by and consistent

with domestic legal and constitutional standards, and international

human rights law. .

> To the extent that some detainees at Guantanamo are unconnected

with aspects of the “war on terror” that qualify as armed conflict, the

law of war provides no authority whatsoever for their detention as

“combatants.” Not all terrorist actions rise to the level of armed

conflict. Indeed, terrorist actions by private groups have not

customarily been viewed as creating armed conflicts. Hilaire

McCoubrey & Nigel D. White, INTERNATIONAL LAW AND ARMED

CONFLICT 318 (1992). For example, as the United Kingdom stated

when it ratified Additional Protocol |: “It is the understanding of the

United Kingdom that the term ‘armed conflict’ of itself and in its

context denotes a situation of a kind which is not constituted by the

commission of ordinary crimes including acts of terrorism whether

concerted or in isolation.” Reservations by the United Kingdom to Art.

|, para. 4 & art. 96, para. 3 of Additional Protocol | Key aspects of

some parts of the “war on terrorism” diverge from traditional

21

2. This Court’s decisions have rested upon a narrow

definition of “combatant” that is consistent with the

law of war

This Court’s previous decisions have hewed closely to

the traditional definition of “combatant” under the law of

war as described above. Yaser Hamdi, for example, was

alleged to have participated directly in hostilities at the time

of his capture. Northern Alliance forces were “engaged in

battle” with the Taliban when Hamdi’s: Taliban unit

surrendered. Hamdi himself was allegedly carrying a

Kalashnikov assault rifle at the time of his surrender. In its

decision, the Court repeatedly emphasized Hamdi’s direct

participation in hostilities on a foreign battlefield. 542 U.S.

at 522 n.1 (“the basis asserted for detention by the military

is that Hamdi was carrying. a weapon against American

troops on a foreign battlefield”); id. at 523 (referring to the

“context of this case: a United States citizen captured in a

foreign combat zone”) (emphasis omitted); 542 U.S. at 517

(decision addresses only the “narrow question” of whether

the Government had authority to detain as “enemy

combatants” individuals who were “part of or supporting

forces hostile to the United States or coalition partners” in

assumptions of the law of war. For example, the “war on terrorism”

does noi have clear geographic parameters. Furthermore, the law of

armed conflict anticipates that armed conflict will, at some point, end,

and regulates the return from a state of war to normal life. Third

Geneva Convention art. 118 (“Prisoners of war shall be released and

repatriated without delay after the cessation of active hostilities.”). As

defined by the Government, however, the “war on terror” will not end

until al Qaeda (an ill-defined and amorphous group) and its “associated

forces” or supporters (also undefined), anywhere in the world are

eradicated. See, ¢.g., President Bush’s Address to a Joint Session of

Congress and the American People (Sept. 20, 2001) (“Our war on terror

begins with al Qaeda, but it does not end there. It will not end until

every terrorist group of global reach has been found, stopped and

defeated.”).

22

Afghanistan and who “engaged in an armed conflict against

the United States” there.).

In addition to participating directly in hostilities at the

time of his capture, Hamdi was also specifically alleged to

be affiliated with a Taliban government militia unit, 542

U.S. at 513, and therefore to be a part of the “organized

armed forces, groups and units which are under a command

responsible to [a] Party for the conduct of its subordinates.”

Additional Protocol |, art. 43(2). The defendants in Ex

parte Quirin, also had the “status of an enemy belligerent”

when they entered the United States, id. at 38, having worn

uniforms of the German Marine Infantry when they came

ashore from German military submarines, id. at 21.

By contrast, the Court held that the prisoner in Ex Parte

Milligan was not a combatant. Milligan was accused of

“joining and aiding” a “secret society” for the “purpose of

overthrowing the Government,” “holding communication

with the enemy,” “conspiring to seize munitions of war

stored in the arsenals,” and “to liberate prisoners of war” in

Indiana at a time when it “was constantly threatened to be

invaded by the enemy.” 71 U.S. at 6-7. Nevertheless,

Milligan was entitled to a civilian criminal trial. As the

Court exp\»ined:

If in Indiana he conspired with bad men to assist the

enemy, he is punishable for it in the courts of

Indiana; but, when tried for the offence, he cannot

plead the rights of war; for he was not engaged in

legal acts of hostility against the Government, and

only such persons, when captured, are prisoners of

war. If he cannot enjoy the immunities attaching to

the character of a prisoner of war, how can he be

subject to their pains and penalties?

Id. at 131. As the Court emphasized in Hamdi, the key

distinction was Milligan’s lack of direct participation in

hostilities: “Had Milligan been captured while he was

assisting Confederate soldiers by carrying a rifle against

23

Union troops on a Confederate battlefield, the holding of

the Court might well have been different.” 542 U.S. at 522.

In short, as the Court indicated in Hamdi, it has upheld

the detention of enemy combatants only when “based on

longstanding law-of-war principles.”. The Court has

warned that “[{i]f the practical circumstances of a given

conflict are entirely unlike those of the conflicts that

informed the development of the law of war, that

~-derstanding may unravel.” 542 U.S. at 521. The

G. vernment’s attempted extension of the term combatant

through the overbroad CSRT definition is- exactly the

unraveling the Court foresaw.

Ill. THE GOVERNMENT’S DEPARTURE FROM

THE LAW OF WAR ENDANGERS AMERICAN

SOLDIERS AND CIVILIANS

A. The CSRTs’ broad redefinition of the term

“combatant” erodes the most fundamental distinction

in the law of war

The principle of distinctyon, which requires

distinguishing between combatants and civilians, is the

most fundamental principle of the law of war. As the

official commentary to the additional protocols of the

Geneva Convention observes, “the principle of protection

and distinction forms the basis of the entire regulation of

war.” Int'l Comm. of the Red Cross, Commentary to

Protocols 586; HANDBOOK OF HUMANITARIAN LAW IN

ARMED CONEPLICTS 65 (Dieter Fieck ed. 1995); Quirin, 317

U.S. at 30-31 (noting that “[b]y universal agreement and

practice,” the law of war draws a distinction between “the

armed forces” and civilian populations); INSTRUCTIONS FOR

THE GOVERNMENT OF ARMIES OF THE UNITED STATES IN

THE FIELD (Lieber Code) art. 22 (1863).

The concept of combatant determines who may be the

lawful target of military attack. Combatants may be

intentionally shot, bombed, or otherwise targeted with

lethal force. See Additional Protocol I art. 48; Additional

24

Protocol II art. 52(2). Civilians are protected from being _

the intentional targets of armed attack, as long as they do

not participate directly in hostilities. See Additional

Protocol I art. 51(2); Additional Protocol II art. 13(2). “The

principle of distinction is sometimes referred to as the

“grandfather of all principles,” as it forms the foundation

for much of the Geneva tradition of the law of war. The

essence of the principle is that military attacks should be

directed at combatants and military targets, and not

civilians or civilian property.” Army Operational Law

Handbook 166.

Within certain limits, combatants may be attacked with

lethal force wherever they are found.”* Thus, if all persons

alleged to “support” al Qaeda or associate groups truly

were “combatants,” the law of war would not only allow

them to be held until the end of active hostilities, but in

many circumstances would allow them to be shot upon

discovery, at any point, anywhere tn the world.”°

Military officers, statesmen, judges, and scholars have

long recognized that any blurring between the categories of

combatant and non-combatant could lead to a severe

breakdown in limits. on whom military forces may

legitimately target. See Geoffrey Best, WAR AND LAW

SINCE 1945, at 254-66 (1994). In many wars, virtually

every member of society — from farmers and factory

workers to government bureaucrats — may provide direct or

24

While it is forbidden “to kil! or wound an enemy who, having laid

down his arms, or having no longer the means of defense, has

surrendered at discretion,” Hague Convention [IV} Respecting the

Laws and Customs of War on Land art. 23(c), the law of war authorizes

attacks on “individual soldiers or officers of the enemy whether in the

zone of hostilities, occupied territory, or elsewhere.” The Law of Land

Warfare 4 31. Attacks on combatants must also be proportional and

necessary to military objectives.

*> Moreover, the Government might also be allowed to inflict collateral

damage on bystanders. Fourth Geneva Convention art. $3, Additional

Protocol | art. 52.

25

indirect support to the nation’s military. Designating as

combatants people who provide indirect support to a party

engaged in armed conflict but who do not directly

participate in hostilities would threaten to legitimize the

wholesale targeting of civilian populations. See Kenneth

Watkin, Warriors Without Rights? Combatants,

Unprivileged_ Belligerents, and the Struggle Over

Legitimacy, Harvard Program on Humanitarian Policy and

Conflict Research, 8-11 (Winter 2005). Moreover,

maintaining a clear legal separation between combatants

and non-combatants reinforces the separation of military

and civilian functions and control. “Thje] supremacy of the

civil over the military is one of our great heritages. It has

made possible the attainment of a high degree of liberty

regulated by law rather than by caprice. Our duty is to give

effect to that heritage at all times, that it may be handed

down untarnished to future generations.” Duncan v.

Kahanamoku, 327 U.S. 304, 325 (1946) (Murphy, J.,

concurring). Expanding the definition of “combatant” of

necessity increases the scope of military authority over civil

socie . Nations that adopt sweepingly overbroad

definitions of “combatant,” such as the one proffered by the

Government in this case, run the risk of thrusting upon the

military the roles of judge and jailer to a degree far

exceeding military necessity.

Indeed, one of the most chilling aspects of the attacks

of September 11, 2001 was the attackers’ intentional

targeting of civilians, a fundamental violation of the law of

war. Some terrorist rhetoric refuses to acknowledge the

distinction between civilians and combatants — labeling all

U.S. and Israeli citizens, for example, the “enemy.” This

verbal sleight of hand renders the law of war useless,

because it justifies the killing of any individual. It is

precisely to protect against such abuses that the law of war

defines “combatants” narrowly.

The CSRTs’ definition of combatant renders the

distinction between civilian and combatant illusory. This

Court should, instead, employ the definition of

“combatant” contained in the law of war in interpreting

Congress’s authorization of “necessary and appropriate”

force.

B. The CSRTs’ broad redefinition of the term

“combatant” erodes fundamental liberties

Accepting the CSRTs’ redefinition of the term “enemy

combatant” would also erode fundamental liberties by

extending the law of war far beyond its traditional domain.

The law of war allows the Government extraordinary

powers to deprive individuals of life, liberty and property

with relatively minimal process. These extraordinary

powers are justified both by battlefield exigency and by

their limited temporal and geographic scope. If the

Government’s position in this case is accepted, it would

extend those extraordinary powers without any of these

limits.

The Government’s own statements in litigation reveal

how the breadth of its redefinition of the term “combatant”

would encompass the “little old lady in Switzerland,” the

English teacher, and the journalist. 355 F. Supp. 2d at 475.

The consequences of designation as an “enemy combatant”

are severe, since such individuals will not be granted the

due process of a criminal trial that those who are criminally

accused of providing “material support” to terrorism are

given. See 18 U.S.C. § 2339A-2339D. The breadth of the

definition of enemy combatant is thus particularly troubling

in light of the minimal process that individuals so classified

are likely to receive before being indefinitely deprived of

their liberty — or even their lives.

Moreover, such a broad expansion of the category of

persons who can be treated as “combatants” could

potentially affect U.S. citizens and persons in the United

States as well as aliens overseas. See Hamdi, 542 U.S. at

27

520 (“a citizen, no less than an alien” can be subject to

military detention and trial); Ex parte Quirin, 317 U.S. at

37 (“Citizenship in the United States of an enemy

belligerent does not relieve him from the consequences of a

belligerency which is unlawful because in violation of the

law of war.”). While the differences between persons

arrested in the United States and those seized abroad are of

potential constitutional significance, this Court should be

extremely wary of the possible domestic consequences of

endorsing the Government’s novel redefinition of the term

“combatant.”

B. The Government’s disregard for the law

endangers American soldiers and personnel

Compliance with the law of war is necessary to protect

the safety and welfare of American soldiers and civilians.

As Secretary of State Dulles testified during the Senate’s

consideration of the Geneva Conventions, America’s

“participation is needed to . . . enable us to invoke them for

the protection of our nationals.” Geneva Conventions for

the Protection of War Victims: Hearing Before the Senate

Comm. on Foreign Relations, 84th Cong. Ist Sess. 3-4

(1955). Senator Alexander Smith added, “I cannot

emphasize too strongly that the one nation which stands to

benefit the most from these four conventions is the United

States.” 101 Cong. Rec. 9962 (1955).

Time and again, the United States’ adherence to the

Conventions and their precursors has saved American lives.

In World War II, for example, “The American Red Cross

attributed . . . the survival of 99 percent of the American

prisoners of war held by Germany . . . to compliance with

the [1929] Convention.” Howard S. Levie, PRISONERS OF

WAR IN INTERNATIONAL ARMED CONFLICT 10 n.44 (1977).

The fact that millions of POWs from all camps returned

home was “due exclusively to the observance of the

Geneva Prisoners of War Convention.” Josef L. Kunz, The

28

Chaotic Status of the Laws of War and the Urgent Need for

Their Revision, 45 AM. J. INT’L L. 37, 45 (1951).

To safeguard its own troops, the United States has been

steadfast in applying the Geneva Conventions even to

combatants whose governments insisted the Conventions

did not bind them. Thousands of American soldiers taken

prisoner during the Vietnam War benefited from the United

States’ commitment to afford all enemy POWs the

protections of the Conventions to secure “reciprocal

benefits for American captives.” Maj. Gen. George S.

Prugh, VIETNAM STUDIES, LAW AT WAR: VIETNAM 1964-

73, at 63 (1975). The United States provided those

protections not only to North Vietnamese soldiers but also

to the Viet Cong, who did not subscribe to the laws of war.

Id.

The Executive Branch has emphatically demanded —

and rightly so — that these protections be accorded to

Americans captured or detained overseas, and has joined in

condemnations of behavior that violates them. U.N.S.C.

Res. 674, U.N. SCOR, 45th Sess., 295!st mtg., U.N.Doc.

S/RES/674 (1990). The Defense Department took pains to

“remind the Iraqis . . . [t]hat there are very clear obligations

under the Geneva Convention to treat prisoners humanely.”

Statement of Deputy Secretary of Defense Paul Wolfowitz,

Mar. 23, 2003, Interview with New England Channel News

(Mar. 23, 2003). In objecting to the televised display of

captured American soldiers, President Bush stated his

insistence that prisoners be afforded the protections of

international law. President George W. Bush, Remarks

(Mar. 23, 2003).

The Legai Adviser to the Department of State

commented on the consequences to American forces that

would arise from a departure from these rules, “[ajny small

benefit from reducing -further [the application of the

Geneva Conventions] will be purchased at the expense of

the men and women in our armed forces that we send into

29

combat.” William H. Taft [V, Legal Adviser, Dep’t of

State, Memorandum to Counsel to the President (Feb. 2,

2002).

Denying Guantanamo detainees the protections of the

law of war is a departure from past practice that weakens

the United States’ ability to demand that the Conventions

be applied to Americans captured during armed conflicts

abroad.

The lives of American military and civilian personnel

are endangered by the United States’ failure to grant

foreign prisoners in its custody the same rights that the

United States insists be accorded to American prisoners

held by foreigners.

CONCLUSION

The Government’s position in this case is inconsistent

with decades of sound military law and policy. If endorsed

by this Court, it will do considerable violence to that vital

body of law that protects soldiers, civilians, and all those

caught up in war. After resolving the threshold

jurisdictional issues, this Court should hold that Petitioners

are entitled to habeas relief because the CSRTs used

inadequate procedures and an unauthorized definition of

“combatant” not supported by the law of war.

August 24, 2007 Respectfully submitted.

JENNIFER S. MARTINEZ

Counsel of Record

STANFORD LAW SCHOOL

559 Nathan Abbott Way

Stanford, CA 94305

(650) 725-2749

30

RONALD W. MEISTER

COWAN, LIEBOWITZ & LATMAN P.C.

1133 Avenue of the Americas

New York, NY 10036

(212) 790-9200

STEPHEN A. SALTZBURG

GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY

LAW SCHOOL

2000 H Street, NW

Washington, DC 20052

(202) 994-7098

ARNON D. SIEGEL

ERICA L. HOVANI

DECHERT LLP

1775 | Street, NW

Washington, DC 20006

(202) 261-3300

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

31

7 ed

2 * »

~ a i ded - ‘ . .

or 7 a is --s ae ~~ Pre i » “a -

. ¥ 5 Lv = b

; : ’ ; - ‘ “4

. j ;

- , -

‘

:

*

.

.

‘

>

SS :

é .

'

J

.

.

.

~

2

.

4

;

i

bi

7%

Pie."

5%

8

f

i

.

5

*

a

By!

7

)

"

od

f

>

lan .

s

‘

.

. A Ades ‘

- = i = ler ips ogre Ph i pay ; byes. —— aes ed wea rs ao _ a = Ca r ae ee

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.