Amicus Curiae Brief — Virginia v. Moore

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

564 |

15

45P)°P No. 06-1082

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

a

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA,

Petitioner,

—_—vV.—

DAVID LEE MOORE,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF

THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION

AND THE ACLU OF VIRGINIA

. INSUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

REBECCA GLENBERG

ACLU OF VIRGINIA

FOUNDATION

530 East Main Street

Suite 310

Richmond, Virginia 23219

(804) 644-8022

SUSAN N. HERMAN

Counsel of Record

250 Joralemon Street

Brooklyn, New York 11201

(718) 780-7945

STEVEN R. SHAPIRO

EMILY CHIANG

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES

UNION FOUNDATION

125 Broad Street

New York, New York 10004

(212) 549-2590

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..............cccccccesseceeeseeeees ili

STATEMENT OF INTEREST ...................ccccceeeeeseees 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE....................ccccccscesssecees 1

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .......0.0.... ccc eeese ees 4

SR ITITTIET iitiiteibcsteinhiinitiesiebeeeetariiearncinnaadedttatlaneniaditelesenin 6

I. ASEARCH INCIDENT TO AN ARREST

THAT IS UNLAWFUL UNDER

APPLICABLE STATE LAW IS NOTA

REASONABLE SEARCH WITHIN THE

MEANING OF THE FOURTH

ERIE eter: NOT SS nae OE 6

A. A State’s Law Of Arrest Provides A

Baseline For Determining When An

Arrest Is Reasonable Within The

Meaning Of The Fourth Amendment. ....... 6

B. Relying On State Law To Determine

When An Arrest Is Reasonable Is

Consistent With The Interpretation of

Many Other Bill Of Rights

a A ee 13

Il. ABSENT A STATE LAW LIMITATION,

CURRENT FOURTH AMENDMENT

LAW CREATES INCENTIVES FOR

UNLAWFUL ARRESTS AND

UNJUSTIFIED SEARCHES WITHOUT

IMPOSING COUNTERVAILING LIMITS... 21

A. The Search Incident to Arrest Doctrine

Invites Warrantless Searches Even

Where No Exigency Exists. ......................

B. The Lack Of Either Subjective Or

Objective Limitations On The Arrest

Power Invites Unreasonable Arrests

I

Ii]. RELYING ON STATE LAW TO DEFINE

WHEN AN ARREST IS REASONABLE

FOR FOURTH AMENDMENT

PURPOSES IS NECESSARY TO

PREVENT ARBITRARY AND

DISCRIMINATORY ARRESTS AND

INCIDENT SEARCHES ................ccecsceseseeeees

A. Encouraging Officers To Ignore

Limitations Imposed By Their State

Law Of Arrest Invites Arbitrary,

Discriminatory, And Ineffective Law

Is siiicaesnsininiendaiibulicadaiidtehiinemnitnbpenetien

B. Virginia’s State Constitution Does Not

Provide Any Independent Limit On

Police Discretion To Arrest.......................

NTE arrncenscsinenhttinnonanninitibaiancniontanigepienicintiiio

22

24

28

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Argersinger v. Hamlin,

elt 17

Arnett v. Kennedy,

EE a RE > 14, 19

Atwater v. City of Lago Vista,

a aclaaietl passim

Baldwin v. New York,

Ea a Re ra 17

Barnett v. United States,

§25 A.2d 197 (D.C. Ct. App. 1987) .................000000 29

Blockburger v. United States,

RE ea a rR 15

Board of Regents v. Roth,

es Te GE aicisittscicicctncsnsscnisesciinns 5, 13, 14, 15

Boothe v. Hammock,

Se ee EI, IUD cvciccscticsacccunsesosencisnienbens 17

Brendlin v. California,

Oe i I sccniseencictinsunediiis 24, 26, 28

Brewer v. Williams,

Ce Ee TERT ME 16

Brinegar v. United States,

ENE aoe ene RNR TIES 2: 26

California v. Greenwood,

Te a 20, 31

Chavez v. Ill. State Police,

S01 F.O0 GIS (7th Cir. BOOD)...n...0....0.0.0..00..0..000000085 32

Cleveland Board of Educ. v. Loudermill,

EE EF ee See 14

Cooper v. California,

STI a ne TA 11

Devenpeck v. Alford,

ee ee ETC N IE RTE 12

Elkins v. United States,

la 11

Entick v. Carrington,

19 How. St. Tr. 1029 (C.P. 1765)...................0..0000. 27

Fisher v. Washington Met. Area Transit Auth.,

690 F.2d 1133 (4th Cir. 1982)..........................0c000 28

Goldberg v. Kelly,

ETRE PaO TC RTS 14

Greenholtz v. Inmates of Neb. Penal & Corr.

Complex,

I cestiatnill 17

Hiibel v. Sixth Judicial Dist. Court,

Sa epniemeiinnel 9

Hudson v. Michigan,

I alain 34

iV

Johnson v. United States,

Es SIP UIIII «1, sscriascnnisisndiaiseinincdermaiaenausonesalaal 7, 29

Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath,

te eR ccciiciccnccsincnciqnntuiinieatiateaedamiaaaia 14

Jones v. United States,

gf ECR Er Oi emote. 8

Katz v. United States,

UI TIE TI... ori nachieasniibipmasanlaanaaiiameniiaianeala’ 20

Ker v. California,

SNe Sa BE IIo ccsicinipurseiiinncieiesiieninbanibinbammaaiuntidl 7,9, 29

Kirby v. Illinois, |

ee Pa SI CUI iscsi occncintincncinstendiinncdinsneimibenaaiadil 16

Knowles v. Iowa,

Be es a I cc ccsnnctanensoninintianpmniendaln 1, 21, 23

Lowe v. Commonwealth,

230 Va. 346, 337 S.E.2d 273 (1985).....0.0000 ce. 33

Mapp v. Ohio,

re ee I incricctcanictscnshansiiteniiintalamamnall 8, 34

Maryland v. Pringle,

ee as I iadenirccicnsssesienideibainiammeimmamaaians 11

Massiah v. United States,

pF SF EDEN MUTT TUTE om. 16

Mathews v. Eldridge,

SG Br i cicccccccsnnnicntistsscccuintsnntenaaeil 14, 15

Meachum v. Fano,

EE 17

Miller v. United States,

Se 7

Moore v. Illinois,

I ssiciaias 16

New York v. Belton,

Ee 22, 26

Perry Education Ass’n v. Perry Local Educators’

Ass'n, .

EE 18

Phillips v. Washington Legal Found.,

a senseeneenonane 15

Robinson v. California,

I cremains 22

Rothgery v. Gillespie County,

491 F.3d 293 (5th Cir. 2007),

cert. granted, 07-440 (Dec. 3, 2007)...............0..00. 16

Sandin v. Conner,

St Ee 12

Smith v. Maryland,

Ee 18

Thomas v. Florida,

614 So.2d 468 (Filia. 1993) ................................ 28, 30

Thornton v. United States,

ses cnsessnsumnncnccsoes 22, 25, 26

United States v. Di Re,

332 U.S. 581 (1948) ......cccccccccecocesecsecsecsesceseceeseveee 7, 8

United States v. Herring,

35 F. Supp. 2d 1253 (D. Or. 1999)... ee. 28

United States v. McLaughlin,

170 F.3d 889 (9th Cir. 1999)..............cccccecececeeeeeeees 25

United States v. Miller,

Eee ee eee ne ee 18

Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies v. Beckwith,

EE TS A eS ACCS ae 15

Welsh v. Wisconsin,

EEC eee es 9

Whren v. United States,

GE eee passim

Wilson v. Arkansas,

ET MN SMR ORR TOE ae Fe )

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS &

STATUTES

VIRGINIA CONSTITUTION, article I, § 10 .................... 32

Act of September 24, 1789, Ch. 20, § 33, 1

TITIAN scislediettarnitbeipistdainbideiiniendangieceabaniinsininniiabieneinmaiiaseites 8

I leat 2,3

Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2) (1975)........... cece ceseeeeeeeeeeees 9

Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2)(a) (Supp. 1983-1984) .............. 9

vil

OTHER AUTHORITIES

A. E. Dick Howard, Commentaries on the

Constitution of Virginia 182 (1974)....................0. 33

BUREAU OF JUSTICE STATISTICS, U.S. DEP’T

OF JUSTICE, CHARACTERISTICS OF DRIVERS

STOPPED BY POLICE 2002 5 (2006), available

at http://www.ojp.usdoj/bjs/

I i sciidictiUhintarintoncnteninienemone 30, 31

David A. Sklansky, Traffic Stops, Minority

Motorists, and the Future of the Fourth

Amendment, 1997 SuP. CT. REV. 271...............0.... 32

Donald A. Dripps, The Fourth Amendment

and the Fallacy of Composition:

Determinacy versus Legitimacy in a Regime

of Bright-Line Rules, 74 Miss. L.J. 341

RACIAL PROFILING DATA COLLECTION

RESOURCE CENTER AT NORTHEASTERN

UNIVERSITY, http://www.racialprofiling

analysis.neu.edu/background/jurisdictions.

Sn caiciscieresteipaniniepinsiiniiediailitiphedalindiinmpemnnmnsecnnien 31

Richard S. Frase, What Were They Thinking?

Fourth Amendment Unreasonableness in

Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, 71 ForRD. L.

SETS SEAS aera 25

Robert C. Post, Between Governance and

Management: The History and Theory of

the Public Forum, 34 UCLA L. REv. 1713

ETE SIE ERASE TSS 22S AEE eae On 18

Samuel R. Gross & Debra Livingston, Racial

Profiling Under Attack, 102 COLUM. L.

a iia asian ernie cilities 31

Susan N. Herman, The New Liberty: The

Procedural Due Process Rights of Prisoners

and Others Under the Burger Court, 59

Ck tS | Een 17

Thomas W. Merrill, The Landscape of

Constitutional Property, 86 VA. L. REV. 885

Thomas Y. Davies, Recovering the Original

Fourth Amendment, 98 MICH. L. REV. 547

Fe ativnnseresenceeapintunteanentencetinnsannenetinntannlinemeeinsaste 31

Wayne R. LaFave, The “Routine Traffic Stop”

from Start to Finish: Too Much “Routine,”

Not Enough Fourth Amendment, 102 MICH.

% % —___ SS TPE Set eene eee 29, 32

ix

STATEMENT OF INTEREST!

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) is

a nationwide, non-partisan, non-profit organization

with more than 500,000 members dedicated to the

principles of liberty and equality embodied in the

Constitution and this nation’s civil rights laws. The

ACLU has participated in numerous Fourth

Amendment cases before this Court including, of

particular note here, Atwater v. City of Lago Vista,

532 U.S. 318 (2001), and Knowles v. Iowa, 525 U.S.

113 (1998). The ACLU of Virginia is a statewide

affiliate of the national ACLU.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Virginia state officers involved in this case

concededly violated state law and aggressively

exploited constitutional law exceptions designed for

exigencies in circumstances where there was no

exigency, all in a transparent attempt to avoid the

Fourth Amendment’s requirement that they obtain a

warrant before searching respondent David Lee

Moore and his hotel room.

The initial stop of Moore, according to the

officers involved, was due to a mistake. Officers

Anthony and McAndrew were discussing the fact

' Both parties have lodged blanket letters of consent with the

Court. Pursuant to Rule 37.6, counsel for amici states that no

counsel! for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, and

no counsel or party made a monetary contribution intended to

fund the preparation or submission of this brief. No person

other than amicus curiae, its members or its counsel made a

monetary contribution to its preparation or submission.

that a man nicknamed “Chubs’” was driving a car in

their area. Although this fact did not seem

remarkable in itself, Detective Karpowski, who

overheard their conversation on his police radio, was

aware that a man nicknamed “Chubs,” one

Christopher Delbridge, had recently been released

from a federal penitentiary and had been driving on

a suspended license. (Karpowski said he had learned

this because he had stopped Delbridge the week

before.) Karpowski radioed the other officers and

told them that “Chubs” was driving with a suspended

license and that they should stop his vehicle.

The officers stopped the car in question, which

was actually being driven by David Lee Moore, not

the individual known to Detective Karpowski.

Amazingly enough, Moore, who evidently was also

nicknamed “Chubs,” was also driving on a suspended

license.

At this point, Virginia law required the officers

to do no more than give Moore a summons for

committing a misdemeanor and then release him.”

The only exceptions to this rule provided by the

? “Whenever any person is detained by or is in the custody of an

arresting officer for any violation committed in such officer's

presence which offense is a violation of any county, city or town

ordinance or any provision of this Code punishable as a Class 1

or Class 2 misdemeanor or any other misdemeanor for which he

may receive a jail sentence . . . the arresting officer shal! take

the name and address of such person and issue a summons or

otherwise notify him in writing to appear at a time and place to

be specified in such summons or notice. Upon the giving by

such person of his written promise to appear at such time and

place, the officer shal] forthwith release him from custody.” Va.

Code § 19.2-74(A)(1).

2

Virginia Code, under which an arrest would have

been permitted, did not apply in this case.’

Despite the clear command of Virginia law,

the officers placed Moore under arrest for committing

the misdemeanor of driving with a _ suspended

license, handcuffed him, and advised him of his

Miranda rights. Their reason for arresting him, and

the reason for their initial interest in his presence in

the area, quickly became apparent. Officer Anthony

asked Moore whether he had any narcotics on his

person and where he was staying. When Moore

replied that he was staying at an Econo-Lodge in

Chesapeake, he was taken to Officer McAndrew’s

vehicle where he was asked to sign a consent form

allowing the officers to search his hotel room without

a warrant. He signed the form. He was then placed

in the police car, but was not searched. The officers

later explained this as another mistake — Officer

McAndrew said he was under the impression that

Moore had already been searched. The officers then

called animal control to pick up the dog in Moore’s

car and, after waiting forty-five minutes for their

arrival, drove Moore to his hotel room so they could

conduct their search. There, Officer McAndrew

somehow realized that Moore had not yet been

searched. The officers performed a protective sweep

of the room and a search of Moore’s person, finding

16 grams of crack cocaine and $516.

* Section 19.2-74(A)(1) allows warrantless arrests for Class 1

and Class 2 misdemeanors only if the person fails or refuses to

discontinue the unlawful act, or is believed to be likely to

disregard a summons or to cause harm to himself or any other

person.

3

Officer Anthony testified that Moore was not

released immediately because “we were still in the

middle of an investigation; the investigation was not

complete yet. We were, pursuant to the traffic stop, .

.. also conducting a narcotics investigation.” Moore

v. Commonwealth, 47 Va. App. 55, 60, 622 S.E.2d

253, 256 (2005) (en banc). These facts do not

describe a search incident to arrest, but an arrest

incident to the desire to search both Moore and his

hotel room. Virginia law clearly required the officers

to obtain a search warrant before doing so.

The trial court denied Moore’s motion to

suppress the cocaine and he was convicted of a drug

offense. On appeal, a divided Court of Appeals voted

to reverse the conviction, 45 Va. App. 146, 609 S.E.2d

74 (2005). On rehearing en banc, a divided Court of

Appeals affirmed the conviction. 47 Va. App. 55, 622

S.E.2d 253 (2005). The Virginia Supreme Court then

held unanimously, seven votes to none, that the

evidence should have been suppressed as

unconstitutionally obtained. 272 Va. 717, 636 S.E.2d

395 (2006).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

An arrest for an offense Virginia state law

declares not to be arrestable is an unreasonable

seizure within the meaning of the Fourth

Amendment. The Court has often looked to a

state’s law of arrest in Fourth Amendment decisions,

and has never held that state law defining arrestable

offenses may be ignored.

Looking to state law as a baseline to decide

whether an arrest is reasonable under the Fourth

4

Amendment is, moreover, consistent with the

approach the Court has taken in interpreting many

other constitutional guarantees. For example, in the

procedural due process area, the Court looks to state

law as a primary source of entitlements. If the Court

concludes that state law has created an entitlement,

it then employs the Due Process Clause to decide, as

a matter of federal constitutional law, what

protections should attach to that entitlement. See

Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972). The

same two-step analysis, starting with a policy

decision made by state law and ending by putting the

procedural consequences of that decision beyond the

state’s reach, also applies to Fifth Amendment

Double Jeopardy and Takings claims, Sixth

Amendment claims about the scope of the right to

counsel and right to jury trial, Due Process claims

regarding the liberty of prisoners, and even the First

Amendment’s public forum doctrine.

The Court has already decided that the Fourth

Amendment allows a state to authorize arrest for

even minor offenses. See Atwater, supra. But when,

as here, a state has made the opposite choice, the

Fourth Amendment should be construed to enforce

that policy choice by declaring the _ arrest

constitutionally unreasonable. Otherwise, the police

have in effect been given a constitutional carte

blanche to engage in lawless, arbitrary, and

discriminatory arrests.

Probable cause is a necessary ingredient of a

constitutional arrest under the Fourth Amendment

but it is not a sufficient safeguard when the state

itself has concluded that arrest is an excessive

response to particular offenses. Nor does the

5

Virginia Constitution provide an adequate safeguard

in this case since its relevant provisions have been

deemed co-extensive with the Fourth Amendment.

The Court is not being asked to impose a

limitation on Virginia’s officers that Virginia would

find objectionable. To the contrary, the Court is

merely being asked to help Virginia enforce the

constitutional consequences of its own _ policy

decisions.

ARGUMENT

I. A SEARCH INCIDENT TO AN ARREST

THAT IS UNLAWFUL UNDER APPLICABLE

STATE LAW IS NOT A REASONABLE

SEARCH WITHIN THE MEANING OF THE

FOURTH AMENDMENT

A. A State’s Law Of Arrest Provides A

Baseline For Determining When An

Arrest Is Reasonable Within The

Meaning Of The Fourth Amendment.

The idea that a state’s law of arrest provides a

baseline for Fourth Amendment interpretation is not

new. The Court has often stated that the question of

whether a search incident to arrest is constitutional

can only be answered by looking to the particular

requirements of state law.

The Government contends, however, that this

search without warrant must be held valid

because incident to an arrest. This alleged

ground of validity requires examination of the

facts to determine whether the arrest itself

was lawful. Since it was without warrant, it

6

could be valid only if for a crime committed in

the presence of the arresting officer or for a

felony of which he had reasonable cause to

believe defendant guilty.

Note 5: This is the Washington law. State law

determines the validity of arrests without

warrant. United States v. Di Re, 332 U.S. 581.

Johnson v. United States, 333 U.S. 10, 15 & n. 5

(1948)(citations omitted).

In Ker v. California, 374 U.S. 23 (1963), the

Court confronted the question of whether a state

officer's warrantless search of Ker’s apartment was

justifiable under the Fourth Amendment as a search

incident to a “lawful arrest.” To answer this

question, the Court first determined that probable

cause existed, and then looked to state law to flesh

out the definition of what constituted a reasonable

arrest:

This Court, in cases under the Fourth

Amendment, has long recognized that the

lawfulness of arrests for federal offenses is to

be determined by reference to state law insofar

as it is not violative of the Federal

Constitution. Miller v. United States, [357 U.S.

301 (1958)]; United States v. Di Re, 332 US.

581 (1948); Johnson v. United States, 333 U.S.

10, 15, n. 5 (1948). A fortiori, the lawfulness of

these arrests by state officers for state offenses

is to be determined by California law.

Ker, 374 U.S. at 37.4

4 Ker assumed that federal arrests would also be judged by the

standards of state law because in United States v. Di Re, 332

7

The Court explained its focus on state law by

observing that Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961),

had not

precluded [the states] from developing

workable rules governing arrests, searches

and seizures to meet “the practical demands of

effective criminal investigation and law

enforcement” in the States, provided that

those rules do not violate the constitutional

proscription of unreasonable searches and

seizures and the concomitant command that

evidence so seized is inadmissible against one

who has standing to complain. See Jones uv.

United States, 362 U.S. 257 (1960). Such a

standard implies no derogation of uniformity

in applying federal constitutional guarantees

U.S. 581, 588-95 (1948), the Court had asked whether the

arrest in that case, by a state officer for a federal offense, was

consistent with the law of the state. “{I]n absence of an

applicable federal statute the law of the state where an arrest

without warrant takes place determines its validity.” Jd. at

589. Deciding that an arrest for a federal offense is invalid

because it violates the law of the state where it took place

would indeed create a problem of lack of uniformity. That

aspect of Di Re has become outdated. Congress has

nationalized the law of arrest for federal officers. No such non-

uniformity problem exists in applying the law of each state only

to its own officers.

The Di Re Court also noted that the tradition of deferring to

state laws governing arrest was one of long standing: “By one

of the earliest acts of Congress [Act of September 24, 1789 (Ch.

20, § 33, 1 Stat. 91), the principle of which is still retained, the

arrest by judicial process for a federal offense must be

‘agreeably to the usual mode of process against offenders in

such state.” 332 U.S. at 589.

but is only a recognition that conditions and

circumstances vary just as do investigative

and enforcement techniques.

Ker, 374 U.S. at 34.5 The Court went on to hold that

the arrest in that case was consistent with both state

and federal law.

Similarly, in Welsh v. Wisconsin, 466 U.S.

740, 754 (1984) the Court held that no exigent

circumstances existed to excuse obtaining a warrant

before conducting a home arrest for an offense

defined by state law as minor:

The State of Wisconsin has chosen to classify

the first offense for driving while intoxicated

as a noncriminal, civil forfeiture offense for

which no imprisonment is possible. See Wis.

Stat. § 346.65(2) (1975); § 346.65(2)(a) (Supp.

1983-1984). . . . This is the best indication of

the State's interest in precipitating an arrest,

and is one that can be easily identified both by

the courts and by officers faced with a decision

to arrest.

See also Hiibel v. Sixth Judicial Dist. Court, 542

U.S. 177, 187 (2004) (arrest for refusal to provide

name did not violate the Fourth Amendment because

the source of the obligation was state law).

5 Justice Brennan, in dissent, argued that the method of entry

in Ker should have been considered unreasonable under the

Fourth Amendment even if it was permissible under state law,

a position the Court ultimately adopted in Wilson v. Arkansas,

514 U.S. 927 (1995). Ker, 374 U.S. at 46-62. Brennan also

questioned the plurality’s conclusion that state law had not

actually been violated, id. at 62-63. But he did not disagree

that the state law should provide at least a floor for protection

against unreasonable arrests.

In Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, 532 U.S. 318

(2001), the Court considered whether to interpret the

Fourth Amendment itself as rendering arrests for

minor offenses unreasonable. The Court decided not

to get into the business of formulating nationalized

limitations to govern local law enforcement. Id. at

347. The Court did express concern that the arrest of

Gail Atwater, a law-abiding citizen whose only

offense was a failure to use seat belts, seemed

unnecessary and rather arbitrary, id. at 346 (“[iJf we

were to derive a rule exclusively to address the

uncontested facts of this case, Atwater might well

prevail”), but concluded that it was best to allow the

states to structure their own laws of arrest to

preclude custodial arrest for minor offenses if they

wished to do so, id. at 351-53.

The Texas law at issue in Atwater clearly

authorized arrest for all violations of the traffic code.

Id. at 323. The Virginia legislature just as clearly

did not. The Court in this case is not being asked to

override a decision resting in_ local policy

considerations and conditions, but to respect the

state’s own choice.®

Petitioner and the United States both cite

dicta from some cases remarking that probable cause

is sufficient to make an arrest reasonable, see

Petitioner's Brief at 14-15, United States Brief at 7-9.

6 The ACLI' argued in Atwater that the Fourth Amendment

itself bars arrest for minor offenses regardless of what state law

may authorize. See Brief Amicus Curiae of the ACLU, et. al.,

Supporting Petitioner in Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, 532 U.S.

318 (2000)(No. 99-1408). We continue to believe that Atwater

was wrongly decided, although we are not pressing that

argument here.

10

In no case they cite did the Court conclude that an

arrest was constitutionally valid despite being

invalid under state law.’

Fourth Amendment law will never yield

consistent results throughout the states because, at

an absolute minimum, the Fourth Amendment

requires that an arrest be based on probable cause to

believe that an offense has been or is being

committed. See Maryland v. Pringle, 540 U.S. 366,

370 (2003). State legislatures decide how to define

offenses; federal constitutional law then

superimposes the probable cause requirement as one

aspect of what is necessary to render an arrest

“reasonable.”

This reliance on state law has not posed any

problems. Because officers in each state refer to

their own unique state law in deciding when an

arrest is permissible, there is no likelihood of

confusion. Similarly, reviewing courts have not had

any difficulty looking to state law to determine

whether proba! le cause existed to believe that a

7 In Cooper v. California, 386 U.S. 58, 61 (1967) and in Elkins v.

United States, 364 U.S. 206, 223-24 (1960), the Court held that

an otherwise unconstitutional arrest did not become

constitutional because a state law purported to authorize it.

Although a state may add to the Fourth Amendment

requirements, it obviously cannot reduce those requirements. In

Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. 806 (1996), the question was

whether a traffic stop the D.C. Code defined as permissible

became unconstitutional because the officer conducting the stop

was not wearing a uniform. Jd. at 815. The D.C. Code had not

declared that stops or even arrests for such traffic offenses were

unreasonable; it only sought to regulate the relative jurisdiction

of plainclothes officers.

state offense was actually being committed. See, e.g.,

Devenpeck v. Alford, 543 U.S. 146 (2004) (providing

an example of how careful review of state law is

necessary to determine the validity of an arrest).

The Fourth Amendment does not permit

officers to disregard the elements of a criminal

offense as defined by their own state laws when

making an arrest. If an officer does arrest someone

without having probable cause to believe that an

actual offense was committed, the appropriate

sanction (including the exclusion of evidence) is

determined under the federal Constitution. There is

no reason why the result should be any different

when officers disregard their state law on the related

issue of whether an arrest for the defined offense is

authorized. ®

8 Petitioner's parade of horribles raises the specter of federal

courts suppressing evidence because an officer has failed to

follow a technical state law requiring the wearing of a badge or

imposing a geographical limitation on jurisdiction. Petitioner's

brief at 40-43. The discussion of Whren, supra, suggests that

the Court will have no difficulty in finding arrests reasonable

where state law regulates what an arresting officer should

wear, as opposed to embodying a fundamental decision about

whether or not any given offense is arrestable. The chief case

petitioner cites as an example of the federal courts’ alleged

inability to distinguish between trivial and non-trivial state

laws, Sandin v. Conner, 515 U.S. 472 (1995), is actually an

example of the Court distinguishing the “atypical and

significant” deprivations of liberty a prisoner experiences from

de minimis deprivations.

12

B. Relying On State Law To Determine

When An Arrest Is Reasonable Is

Consistent With The Interpretation of

Many Other Bill Of Rights Guarantees.

There is nothing unique or surprising about

recognizing that the reasonableness of an arrest

under the Fourth Amendment turns in part on state

law. To the contrary, the scope of many of the

procedural protections provided by the Bill of Rights

varies from state to state depending on the unique

context of each state’s law. It is consistent with

interpretations of rights under the First, Fifth, Sixth,

and Fourteenth Amendments to treat state law as

providing a baseline for determining when an arrest

is reasonable, and then to treat federal law as

determining the procedural consequences of each

state’s choice.

The classic example of this two-step

interpretive approach is procedural due process

doctrine. In Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. at

576-78, the Court explained that plaintiff Roth had

no right to a hearing or any other form of due process

in connection with losing his job at a state university

unless he was deprived of liberty or property within

the meaning of the Due Process Clause. The Court

held that the first step to take in answering that

question was to look at state law. If state law limited

the state’s discretion to fire Roth, Roth would be

deprived of a state-created entitlement by that

decision and hence would fall within the ambit of the

Due Process Clause. What process he was due

would then be decided as a matter of federal

constitutional law. See Cleveland Bd. of Educ. v.

13

Loudermill, 470 U.S. 532, 538-41 (1985); Mathews v.

Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 334-35 (1976).

Justices Brennan and Marshall had argued

that the Court should shoulder the burden of

deciding what values the Due Process Clause

protects, and should therefore require that any state

decision inflicting a “grievous loss” on an individual

be tested against federal procedural norms of due

process. See Roth, 408 U.S. at 587-92 (Marshall, J.,

dissenting); Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970)

(Brennan, J.). Other Justices had advocated a due

process balancing test that also would have involved

the Court in judicial decision-making about the

values due process should protect. See, e.g., Joint

Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341 US

123, 161-63 (1951) (Frankfurter, J., concurring).

The Roth Court rejected those approaches.

But it also rejected the idea that the #tates should be

left to decide what process is necessary to protect

those rights the state itself has acknowledged. Then-

Justice Rehnquist, for example, maintained that

state legislatures should retain the prerogative to

decide for themselves what sort of procedure should

attach to any particular decision because the states

may choose whether to create an entitlement in the

first place. Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134, 151-55

(1974). Instead of adopting the Rehnquist “bitter

with the sweet” theory, the Court adopted a hybrid

rights approach, splitting the decisions about how

rights are created and protected. Once state policy

makers have made the threshold decision that an

entitlement deserves respect, the Due Process Clause

then requires the state to follow through on its own

normative judgments by providing procedures

14

sufficient to meet the standards set by federal

constitutional law. Mathews, supra.

Although this hybrid rights approach is best

known in the procedural due process context, the

Court has adopted the same technique in many other

contexts to decide when constitutional protections

apply. The Fifth Amendment’s Double Jeopardy

Clause, for example, prohibits being put twice in

jeopardy for the same “offense,” but protection

against multiple prosecutions hinges on _ each

legislature’s definition of what constitutes an

“offense.” Under Blockburger v. United States, 284

U.S. 299, 304 (1932), two offenses are not the “same”

if each is defined as requiring proof of a fact the

other does not. It is up to the legislature to decide

how to define its offenses. Thus, here too, state law

provides the trigger for the constitutional right, but

then must yield to the consequences required by the

federal constitutional provision being interpreted.

The Fifth Amendment Takings Clause,

providing that private “property” may not be taken

for public use without just compensation, likewise

relies on state law to determine what constitutes

“property” entitled to constitutional protection. See,

e.g., Phillips v. Washington Legal Found., 524 U.S.

156, 164 (1998) (“[b]ecause the Constitution protects

rather than creates property interests, the existence

of a property interest is determined by reference to

‘existing rules or understandings that stem from an

independent source such as state law’ (quoting Roth,

408 U.S. at 577); Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies v.

Beckwith, 449 U.S. 155, 164-65 (1980) (following the

Roth approach in deciding that the interest in

question was a form of property). See Thomas W.

15

Merrill, The Landscape of Constitutional Property, 86

VA. L. REV. 885, 886-88, 934-42 (2000).

Sixth Amendment rights are contingent on

state legislative policy decisions, as well. Decisions

regarding the temporal and substantive scope of the

Sixth Amendment right to counsel also look to state

law. The right to counsel attaches once formal

judicial] proceedings have begun, and the Court has

historically treated state law as a minimum baseline

in making that decision. The point at which the

police must notify counsel of a lineup, see Kirby v.

Illinois, 406 U.S. 682, 689 (1972); Moore v. Illinois,

434 U.S. 220 (1977), or must stop trying to elicit

incriminating information in the absence of counsel,

see Massiah v. United States, 377 U.S. 201 (1964),

Brewer v. Wiiliams, 430 U.S. 387, 398 (1977),

therefore can vary from state to state.9

Whether the Sixth Amendment provides a

right te assigned counsel also depends on decisions

made by the state. Any legislature can choose to

avoid the provision of assigned counsel altogether by

making a particular offense punishable only by fine,

or to create the conditions under which an indigent

defendant will be entitled to assigned counsel by

% Rothgery v. Gillespie County, 491 F.3d 293 (5th Cir. 2007),

cert. granted, 07-440 (Dec. 3, 2007), raises the question of

whether the Sixth Amendment poses an additiona) limitation

on the state’s ability to define when the right to counsel begins.

No matter what the Court decides in Rothgery, it will still be

true that the state law establishes a minimum baseline of

protection. Sometimes, as in the Fourth Amendment area, the

Court concludes that the state's minimum is not sufficient -- a

state may not, for example, decide to create a law of arrest

eliminating the probable cause requirement.

16

providing for punishment by incarceration. See

Argersinger v. Hamlin, 407 U.S. 25 (1972). The

Sixth Amendment right to counsel only requires the

state to spend money on provision of defense counsel

if the state has chosen to impose a punishment so

serious that the provision of counsel is deemed too

important to leave to the vagaries of state politics.

Similarly, the Sixth Amendment right to trial

by jury springs into being only if the jurisdiction's

legislature has decided that the offense in question

should be punishable by incarceration of six months

or more. See Baldwin v. New York, 399 U.S. 66, 68-

69 (1970). In all of these contexts, state autonomy is

respected, but not to the extent of eviscerating the

Constitution’s procedural protections.

The Court has also employed this two-step

approach in defining the “liberty” entitlements of

prisoners and others. See Meachum v. Fano, 427

U.S. 215 (1976).!° Inmates seeking parole in New

York, for example, may not have a right to a parole

hearing, see Boothe v. Hammock, 605 F.2d 661 (2d

Cir. 1979), while inmates in Nebraska will (see

Greenholtz v. Inmates of Neb. Penal & Corr.

Complex, 442 U.S. 1, 11-12 (1979). That difference in

constitutional protection is entirely due to the fact

that New York policy makers have made different

0 For a fuller explanation of the theoretical basis for the hybrid

rights approach in the procedural due process area, see Susan

N. Herman, The New Liberty: The Procedural Due Process

Rights of Prisoners and Others Under the Burger Court, 59

N.Y.U.L. REV. 482, 543-54 (1984).

17

decisions than Nebraska’s, and those decisions shape

a prisoner's legitimate expectation of release.!!

Recognizing that a state’s decision about what

constitutes an arrestable offense can have Fourth

Amendment consequences is consistent with this

broader jurisprudence. Justices Brennan and

Marshal) had argued that defining the scope of the

Fourth Amendment should require the Court to

identify the norms and values the Amendment

serves, see Smith v. Maryland, 442 U.S. 735, 750

(1979) (Marshall, J., dissenting); United States v.

Miller, 425 U.S. 435, 448, 451 (1976) (Brennan. J.,

dissenting). That task, which the Court disavowed

in Atwater, is comparable to deciding what

constitutes a “grievous loss,” the approach Brennan

and Marshall had advocated in the due process area.

But despite the lessons of the procedural due process

cases, petitioner invites the Court to go to the other

extreme and simply leave it to the states to decide

whether the search incident to arrest doctrine should

'! Even in the First Amendment area, the Court has on occasion

used a two-stage inquiry to set levels of constitutional

protection contingent upon state policymakers’ decisions. See,

e.g., Perry Education Ass'n v. Perry Local Educators’ Ass'n, 460

U.S. 37, 45-46 (1983), where the Court explained that it first

looks to see whether or not “by long tradition or by government

fiat” a place has become a public forum devoted to assembly and

debate. Only after answering that question does the Court

decide what type of First Amendment protections to afford

speakers in that place. See Robert C. Post, Between Governance

and Management: The History and Theory of the Public Forum,

34 UCLA L. REV. 1713, 1805-24 (1987) (discussing whether the

public forum doctrine should ideally make constitutional

principles rest on social practices or vice versa).

apply to officers who use the arrest power at their

own whim, even if in flagrant defiance of state law,

or to restrict Fourth Amendment analysis to asking

at most the minimal question of whether probable

cause existed. Petitioner's Brief at 19. This Court

should reject that approach here, just as it did in the

procedural due process cases. !2

Petitioner paints a dire picture of befuddled

federal courts grappling with the complexities and

confusion of state law, or taking on the role of

instructing state officials on the meaning of their

own law. Petitioner's Brief at 20. What petitioner

describes as a uniquely daunting inquiry, however, is

in reality routine in numerous constitutional

contexts. Petitioner further assumes that whoever

creates a right should also have the final decision

about the procedures and remedies surrounding that

right. Jd. at 20-26. That assumption, like the firmly

rejected “bitter with the sweet” approach of Arnett v.

Kennedy, supra, is not an accurate reflection of the

Supreme Court’s constitutional law in any of the

areas of constitutional procedure described above. A

state may no more decide to authorize successive

trials for two identical offenses it has created than it

may truncate due process protections attaching to a

state-created entitlement.

12 The due process cases reject any notion that the Court

should minimize its role in deciding what process is due by, for

example, setting aside state procedural decisions only if they

are shocking to the conscience. Deciding that an arrest is

reasonable simply because it is based on probable cause would

limit the scope of the Fourth Amendment in a similarly

inappropriate fashion.

19

In this case, Virginia decided not to confer

upon its. officers discretionary arrest power

constrained only by the probable cause requirement.

Virginia’s decision to define what happened to David

Moore in this case as an unreasonable search and

seizure triggers Fourth Amendment protections, just

as a state’s decision to create an entitlement triggers

due process protections.

Respondent makes much of the fact that the

Court has previously held that state laws do not

always generate expectations of privacy under the

Fourth Amendment. Petitioner's Brief at 18.

California v. Greenwood, 486 U.S. 35 (1988), the

principal case on which petitioner relies for this

proposition, is readily distinguishable. The state law

at issue in Greenwood was a state constitvtional

right of privacy applicable to the general public, not a

law circumscribing the authority of state law

enforcement officers. The Supreme Court concluded

that the California courts did not create a “search”

within the meaning of the Fourth Amendment by

holding that individuals have a state constitutional

right of privacy in their trash. Id. at 43-44. The

Court has always held that whether or not

something is a “search” within the meaning of the

Fourth Amendment depends on nationwide “societal

expectations,” under the Katz test. Katz v. United

States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967). The Virginia statute in

this case, by way of contrast, addresses what is

already clearly a Fourth Amendment seizure — an

arrest — and a Fourth Amendment search of a person

and a home. As the cases in the previous section

demonstrate, the Court has historically embraced the

idea that a determination of when an arrest is

20

reasonable, reflected in the state law of arrest, is to

be treated differently from the question of whether

the Fourth Amendment applies at all.

Il. ABSENT A STATE LAW LIMITATION,

CURRENT FOURTH AMENDMENT LAW

CREATES INCENTIVES FOR UNLAWFUL

ARRESTS AND UNJUSTIFIED SEARCHES

WITHOUT IMPOSING COUNTERVAILING

LIMITS

Because current Fourth Amendment doctrine

makes custodial arrest the necessary predicate for an

automatic warrantless search, see Knowles v. lowa,

525 U.S. 113 (1998) (declaring a search incident to

arrest impermissible if a citation is issued), officers

are invited to defy their state law of arrest if they

wish to conduct a search but have no probable cause

to justify that search and no lawful authority to

arrest. Beyond reliance on state law, current

constitutional doctrine imposes no limitation on an

officer’s discretion to arrest except for the existence

of probable cause to believe that an offense, no

matter how trivial, has been committed. The Court

has created a number of bright line rules, each

initially designed to address an exigency, which in

combination have created a vast power to conduct

searches without either a warrant or probable cause

to search. If the state law of arrest does not provide

some limit to that discretion beyond the minimal

probable cause for arrest requirement, there will be

no meaningful limit.

21

A. The Search Incident to Arrest Doctrine

Invites Warrantless Searches Even Where

No Exigency Exists.

Robinson v. California, 414 U.S. 218, 235

(1973), correctly observed that searches incident to

arrest are sometimes justified by exigency — either to

protect the arresting office or to prevent concealment

or destruction of evidence. Responding to the need to

conduct a warrantless search in some cases, the

Court conferred a broad power to search incident to

arrest in all cases, even in circumstances where

there is little likelihood of danger and no likelihood

that evidence will be concealed or destroyed.

Robinson ruled that authority to search an arrestee’s

person can be exercised even where an offense, like a

traffic offense, does not generate any prospect that

evidence might exist. New York v. Belton, 453 U.S.

454 (1981), then expanded the search incident to

arrest authority respecting vehicles, affording a

broad bright line authority to conduct warrantless

searches of vehicles in the absence of probable cause

to search, even in circumstances where an individual

is in handcuffs and removed from the vicinity of the

vehicle and thus poses no danger. Thornton uv.

United States, 541 U.S. 615 (2004), further expanded

this automatic search authority to situations where

the person arrested was not even in the car at the

time of arrest.

It is no wonder that Justice Scalia, in

Thornton, urged the Court to return to the principle

that if officers wish to search the car of a person who

has been arrested, in circumstances where no actual

exigency exists, they should be required to

demonstrate probable cause to believe that evidence

22

might be found. “The fact of prior lawful arrest

distinguishes the arrestee from society at large, and

distinguishes a search for evidence of his crime from

general rummaging,” id. at 630 (emphasis in

original), but “[iJn the context of a general evidence-

gathering search, the state interests that might

justify any overbreadth are far less compelling.” /d.

at 632.

The search incident to arrest in this case is

virtually indistinguishable from general rummaging.

Moore committed the traffic offense of driving with a

suspended license. His infraction generated no

prospect of finding evidence of the crime for which he

was arrested, and did not seem to lead the officers,

who forgot to search him at the scene of the arrest, to

believe that he was dangerous. Moore’s commission

of this traffic offense could not, under Knowles,

supra, have led to an incident search if the officers

had obeyed their state law and issued a summons.

Petitioner argues that Knowles is distinguishable

because an arrest took place here, despite the fact

that the arrest was illegal. Allowing officers to get

around Knowles so easily would ratify the

“prerogative”! the officers in this case claimed -- to

bootstrap their way into what would have been an

overbroad search power in any event. There is no

reason to allow officers who conduct illegal arrests to

take advantage of their own misconduct by

conducting searches that, even if the arrest had been

legal, would not have addressed an actual exigency.

The cynicism and illegality of the officers’ conduct

here highlights the need for some meaningful

13 See Moore v. Commonwealth, 47 Va. App. 55, 60, 622 S.E.2d

253, 256 (Ct. App. 2005) (en banc).

23

implementation of the Fourth Amendment’s central

purpose of constraining arbitrary or discriminatory

arrests and searches.

Just last Term, the Court unanimously

decided that a passenger is “seized” within the

meaning of the Fourth Amendment when the car in

which the passenger is traveling is _ stopped.

Brendlin v. California, 127 S. Ct. 2400 (2007). The

state conceded that the officers in question had

violated state law by stopping the car in which

Brendlin was traveling. Jd. at 2404 n.2. In its

opinion, the Court recognized the importance of

interpreting the Fourth Amendment in a manner

that avoids creating perverse incentives for overly

zealous officers, remarking that a contrary rule

would invite officers to stop cars illegally. Jd. at

2410. The same concern applies with equal force

here.

B. The Lack Of Either Subjective Or

Objective Limitations On The Arrest

Power Invites Unreasonable Arrests And

Searches.

The Court has already rejected two of three

possibilities for limitations on the arrest power,

either of which would have had the effect of

circumscribing the search incident to arrest

authority in circumstances where no exigency exists.

In Whren, supra, the Court declined to hold that

officers act unreasonably if they use enforcement of

minor traffic laws as a pretext to conduct a search

they could not otherwise have conducted. After

rejecting the idea that the Fourth Amendment might

impose some subjective limitation on an officer’s

power to arrest, the Court went on to reject the

24

imposition of an objective limitation as well. In

Atwater, supra, the Court ruled that an arrest for a

minor, fine-only offense is not inherently

unreasonable within the meaning of the Fourth

Amendment, freeing officers to conduct arrests in a

vast array of circumstances and then conduct

warrantless searches incident to arrest.'4

The combined effect of the unlimited bright

line rules the Court has created in this series of cases

has substantially diluted core Fourth Amendment

safeguards:

"I{I]n our search for clarity, we have now

abandoned our constitutional moorings and

floated to a place where the law approves of

purely exploratory searches of vehicles during

which officers with no definite objective or

reason for the search are allowed to rummage

around in a car to see what they might find.” I

entirely agree with that assessment.

Thornton, 541 U.S. at 628-29 (Scalia, J., concurring)

(quoting United States v. McLaughlin, 170 F.3d 889,

894 (9th Cir. 1999) (Trott, J., concurring). The Court

has reached this unfortunate position by piling

bright line rules on each other without attending to

the combined effect of those rules. See Donald A.

Dripps, The Fourth Amendment and the Fallacy of

'4 The decision in Atwater has been criticized as affording too

much unconstrained discretion to arrest. See, e.g., 3 Wayne R.

LaFave, SEARCH & SEIZURE 5.1 (Supp. 2004); Richard S. Frase,

What Were They Thinking? Fourth Amendment

Unreasonableness in Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, 71 FORD. L.

REV. 329 (2002).

25

Composition: Determinacy versus Legitimacy in a

Regime of Bright-Line Rules, 74 Miss. L.J. 341, 392-

404 (2004). Dripps describes Whren, Atwater, and

Belton as together creating an “iron triangle” where

police can arrest and search at whim. ZJd. at 392-404.

The facts here show how easily officers can

maneuver within the “iron triangle” and how they

can capitalize on a pretextual arrest in order to

search not only the person arrested and his vehicle,

but even the person’s home, by inveigling consent to

search -- all without either probable cause to search

or a warrant. Petitioner defends the “constitutional

propriety” of the illegal arrest and unjustified search

in this case, see Petitioner’s Brief at 10, on the

ground that they happen to fall within the iron

triangle. As Justice Scalia noted in Thornton, 541

U.S. at 627, however, such a search “is not the

Government's right; it is an exception — justified by

necessity — to a rule that would otherwise render the

search unlawful.” Justice Scalia, like the unanimous

Court in Brendlin, supra, recognized the continuing

truth of an earlier observation by Justice Robert

Jackson: “We must remember that the extent of any

privilege of search and seizure without warrant

which we sustain, the officers interpret and apply

themselves and will push to the limit.” Brinegar v.

United States, 338 U.S. 160, 182 (1949) (dissenting).

26

Ill. RELYING ON STATE LAW TO DEFINE

WHEN AN ARREST IS REASONABLE

FOR FOURTH AMENDMENT PURPOSES

IS NECESSARY TO PREVENT

ARBITRARY AND DISCRIMINATORY

ARRESTS AND INCIDENT SEARCHES

This case demonstrates how easy it is for an

officer to subvert both state law and the warrant

requirement in order to rummage for drugs. The

expansive search incident to arrest authority has

become the modern equivalent of the general

warrant, allowing the police to search at will. See

Entick v. Carrington, 19 How. St. Tr. 1029, 1031,

1063-744 (C.P. 1765) (disapproving a search of

plaintiffs private papers under a general warrant,

despite the arrest of the plaintiff). This situation

surely would have horrified the framers of the

Fourth Amendment.

[The framers] did not perceive the warrantless

officer as being capable of posing a significant

threat to the security of person or house. That

was because the ex officio authority of the

peace officer was still meager in 1789.

Warrant authority was the potent source of

arrest and search authority. As a result, the

Framers expected that warrants would be

used.

Thomas Y. Davies, Recovering the Original Fourth

Amendment, 98 MICH. L. REV. 547, 552 (1999).

“(T]he common law did not provide officers with

discretionary search and seizure authority.” Id. at

619.

27

A. Encouraging Officers To Ignore

Limitations Imposed By Their State Law

Of Arrest Invites Arbitrary,

Discriminatory, And Ineffective Law

Enforcement.

What could be more arbitrary than an arrest

prohibited by state law? If the Fourth Amendment

endorses any arrest based on probable cause,

regardless of the arrest’s illegality under state law,

officers will have almost boundless discretion to

decide whom to arrest and therefore search. The

facts in this case demonstrate that some officers will

disregard state law in exercising that discretion. The

Court in Brendlin, supra, also confronted officers

who were willing to violate state law in order to stop

a car, and recognized that it would be a mistake to

interpret the Fourth Amendment in a manner that

condones or invites such illegal conduct. 127 S.Ct. at

2410.

If officers can arrest and search almost on

whim, some officers will inevitably use that authority

to conduct arbitrary arrests, or to discriminate on the

basis of race or some other impermissible factor.

There are, unfortunately, many cases showcasing

officers who were willing to take advantage of this

license to perform what seem to. have been arbitrary

and possibly discriminatory arrests. See, e.g., Fisher

v. Washington Met. Area Transit Auth., 690 F.2d

1133 (4th Cir. 1982) (arrest for eating on the

subway); Thomas v. Florida, 614 So.2d 468 (Fla.

1993) (arrest for failure to have a bell or gong on

one’s bicycle); United States v. Herring, 35 F. Supp.

2d 1253 (D. Or. 1999) (arrest for littering); Barnett v.

28

United States, 525 A.2d 197 (D.C. Ct. App. 1987)

(arrest for “walking as to create a hazard”).

The probable cause requirement is a negligible

hurdle and an inadequate deterrent to arrests

pronibited by state law. Petitioner prominently cites

Fourth Amendment authority Wayne LaFave for the

proposition that nothing more than probable cause is

required for an arrest to be reasonable. Petitioner's

Brief at 29. In the section cited, however, LaFave

was merely reporting the Court's. dicta.'5

Expressing his own view elsewhere, LaFave has

forcefully argued that probable cause should not be

the only Fourth Amendment requirement for arrest

because it does not provide sufficient guidance to

officers. “[P]robable cause as to a minor traffic

violation can be so easily come by that its existence

provides no general assurance against arbitrary

police action,” Wayne R. LaFave, The “Routine

Traffic Stop” from Start to Finish: Too Much

“Routine,” Not Enough Fourth Amendment, 102

MICH. L. REV. 1843, 1854 (2004). Sve also id. at

1852-53. If probable cause is the only prerequisite

to arrest, virtually anyone who drives can be stopped

(for changing lanes without signaling, exceeding the

speed limit, etc.). Pedestrians can be arrested for

jaywalking, mass transportation riders for eating or

'* The Court has also frequently said that an arrest not

complying with the state law of arrest would be invalid. See

Johnson, supra (noncompliance with presence requirement);

Ker, supra (noncompliance with knock and arrest requirement).

The Court's recent dicta to the opposite effect have not been the

basis for holdings, and so the question petitioner describes as

resolved is in fact being squarely presented to the Court for the

first time.

29

putting a package on the seat, and cyclists for failing

to have a “bell or gong” on their bicycle, all so that

officers can rummage for drugs. The cases above

describing people who have actually been arrested

and even searched for such trivial offenses, see, e.g., .

Thomas v. Florida, supra, show that probable cause

is indeed a very low bar.

The Atwater decision declined to raise that bar

because the Court thought that arbitrary arrests

were unlikely to occur very often. The Court reached

that conclusion by speculating that officers would not

want to waste resources and time by taking people

into custody unnecessarily. Atwater, 532 U.S. at 352.

These pragmatic considerations do not, however,

prevent an officer from conducting an arbitrary

arrest in order to search and then simply releasing

the individual or issuing a summons if the search

comes up empty. Arbitrary custodial arrests, as

happened to Gail Atwater, may be rarer than

arbitrary or discriminatory searches incident to

arrest.

Substantial empirical evidence also strongly

suggests that allowing virtually unconstrained police

discretion to decide whom to arrest and search may

disproportionately affect minorities. In a national

survey published in 2006, the United States

Department of Justice found that African-Americans

were nearly three times as likely and Hispanics more

than twice as likely as white motorists to be

physically searched or to have their vehicles

searched when their cars were stopped.'® See also 1

16 BUREAU OF JUSTICE STATISTICS, U.S. DEP’T OF JUSTICE,

CHARACTERISTICS OF DRIVERS STOPPED BY POLICE 2002 5 (2006),

available at http://www.ojp.usdoj/bjs/pub/pdf/cdsp02.pdf.

30

Wayne R. LaFave, SEARCH & SEIZURE 1.4 n. 77.36

(Supp. 2004). Amici do not have data showing how

extensive a problem this might be within the state of

Virginia because the Virginia legislature has

repeatedly voted down bills that would have

mandated collecting statistics on racial profiling.'’ It

is clear, however, that “[flishing for drug couriers in

the immense stream of cars on interstate highways is

a hopeless strategy for eliminating drug trafficking;

it probably has no impact whatsoever on drug

markets.” Samuel R. Gross & Debra Livingston,

Racial Profiling Under Attack, 102 COLUM. L. REV.

1413, 1431 (2002). Furthermore, studies consistently

find that there is no difference in “hit rates” —

contraband discovery rates — when officers use their

discretion to search in a racially disparate manner.!®

Thus, there is little benefit to law enforcement

gained by allowing state officers to evade the

limitations of their state law of arrest.

B. Virginia’s State Constitution Does Not

Provide Any Independent Limit On

Police Discretion To Arrest.

State constitutional law does not provide an

adequate alternative to Fourth Amendment

protection. In California v. Greenwood, 486 U.S. at

African Americans were searched during 10.2 % of stops;

Hispanics 11.4%, and whites 3.5%.

17 See RACIAL PROFILING DATA COLLECTION RESOURCE CENTER

AT NORTHEASTERN UNIVERSITY, _ http://www.racialprofiling

analysis.neu.edu/background/jurisdictions.php?state=VA (de-

scribing the failure of four bills, HB 157 (2006), HB 2735 (2005),

SB 225 (2004), and SB 280 (2002)).

18 See BUREAU OF JUSTICE STATISTICS, supra note 16, at 6.

3

43-44, after declining to find a government

investigation to be a search within the meaning of

the Fourth Amendment, the Court suggested that

individual states could use their own constitutions to

impose more stringent constraints on their state

police. This case provides a striking example of how

readily the Fourth Amendment’s floor can become its

ceiling.!9

The Virginia Constitution does not contain a

provision like the Fourth Amendment, prohibiting

unreasonable searches and seizures. The Virginia

Constitution only provides: “That general warrants,

whereby an officer or messenger may be commanded

to search suspected places without evidence of a fact

committed, or to seize any person or persons not

named, or whose offense is not particularly described

and supported by evidence, are grievous and

oppressive, and ought not to be granted.” VIRGINIA

CONSTITUTION, article I, § 10. The framers of the

Virginia Constitution evidently did not foresee a

world in which exceptions to the warrant

'2 In Whren, the Court suggested the possibility of an equal

protection challenge to address discriminatory searches or

seizures. 517 U.S. at 813. That possibility has turned out to be

more theoretical than real. A plaintiff cannot successfully

challenge a pattern of discriminatory arrests under the Equal

Protection Clause without meeting the very demanding burden

of proving intentional racial] discrimination. For this reason,

equal protection challenges will “almost always fail.” David A.

Sklansky, Traffic Stops, Minority Motorists, and the Future of

the Fourth Amendment, 1997 Sup. CT. REV. 271, 326; see also

LaFave, The “Routine Traffic Stop,” 102 MICH. L. REV. at 1860-

61. For a dramatic example of how easily a plaintiffs

discrimination claim can be dismissed despite substantial

evidence of discriminatory enforcement, see Chavez v. Ill. State

Police, 251 F.3d 612 (7th Cir. 2001).

32

requirement would proliferate. They acted against a

background where law severely limited warrantless

arrest and search authority and so they tried to

constrain legislatures from using general warrants to

authorize conduct that would not otherwise have

been acceptable, on the assumption that the common

law would prevent arbitrary warrantless searches

and seizures. See Davies, supra, at 619-24.

Under the duress of this constitutional

language and history, the Virginia courts have ruled

that state constitutional protections against

unreasonable searches and_ seizures “are

substantially the same as those contained in the

Fourth Amendment.” Lowe v. Commonwealth, 230

Va. 346, 348 n.1, 337 S.E.2d 273, 274 (1985)(quoting

I A. E. Dick Howard, Commentaries on _ the

Constitution of Virginia 182 (1974)). Thus, if the

Virginia state legislature provides limitations on

arrest but stops short of providing any meaningful

enforcement of those limits, the Virginia courts

cannot choose to exclude evidence under their state

Constitution. The only Constitution that can be

brought to bear on what the Virginia Supreme Court

obviously viewed as a serious problem is the United

States Constitution.

The Virginia state legislature and all of the

Justices of the state’s highest court agree that the

arrest in this case was unreasonable. The Virginia

legislature was willing to provide more constraints

on the state police than the federal Constitution

requires, but stopped short of providing a remedy to

make those constraints effectual — just as state law

might provide employees with entitlements to their

jobs but not to any meaningful procedures to protect

33

those entitlements. The framers of the Fourth

Amendment were concerned that legislatures would

authorize general warrants. They would not have

been relieved to learn that a legislature might go

halfway, imposing a constraiat on the ability of peace

officers to conduct arbitrary warrantless searches

and seizures, but leaving that prohibition toothless.

This Court uses the exclusionary rule, albeit

reluctantly, where its use is necessary to enforce

constitutional guarantees. Hudson v. Michigan, 547

U.S. 586 (2006); Mapp v. Ohio, supra. In this case,

those guarantees must be derived from state law and

must then be enforced by the Fourth Amendment, or

there will be no meaningful limits on warrantless

arrests or searches in the state of Virginia. All of the

members of the Virginia Supreme Court, who are

fully familiar with whatever alternative enforcement

opportunities exist under Virginia law, believed that

the exclusionary rule is necessary in this case. They

are right.

34

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the judgment of

the Virginia Supreme Court should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

Susan N. Herman

Counsel of Record

250 Joralemon Street

Brooklyn, New York 11201

(718) 780-7945

Steven R. Shapiro

Emily Chiang

American Civil Liberties

Union Foundation

125 Broad Street

New York, N.Y. 10025

(212) 549-2500

Rebecca Glenberg

ACLU of Virginia Fdn.

530 E. Main St., Ste 310

Richmond, VA 23219

(804) 644-8022

Dated: December 10, 2007

35

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.