Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hall Street Associates, LLC v. Mattel, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 06-955 .25 2° 20n7

a oe

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

HALl. STREET ASSOCIATES. LLC.

Petitioner.

MATTEL. ING...

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

7% ounse! of Record

HUNT PT. GARONNE *

NEHER AL COHEN

SCHUMW ABEL. WHEE EASON

& WY vr. PLC.

Io) 1 SW Fitth Ave. Suites 1600-1900

Portland. OR 97204-5798

(S03) 222-998]

, , ry

CcatePIned Foam Polite dh

QUESTION PRESENTED

1. Did the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals err when it

held, in conflict with several other federal Courts of Appeals,

that the Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”) precludes a federal

court from enforcing the parties’ clearly expressed agreement

providing for more expansive judicial review of an arbitration

award than the narrow standard of revicw otherwise provided

for in the FAA?

(1)

il

RULE 14.1(b) STATEMENT

The following were parties to the proceedings in the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit:

1. Hall Street Associates, L.L.C., Plaintiff-Appellee,

Petitioner on Review.

2. Mattel, Inc., Defendant-Appellant, Respondent on

Review.

RULE 29.6 CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

There is no parent corporation or publicly held corporation

owning 10% or more of the stock of Petitioner Hall Street

Associates, L.L.C.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CUES THIN PURESGIN 0 BSD. .cccccccccccsecessovsssesvocenorscousonece

RATES 04. 1GD) SEA TINIE ccccovecsscsccncessccossennsvecossenes

RULE 29.6 CORPORATE DISCLOSURE

eT. eshivrnictiesniussinntinsssmanteimninsercsecesninsententeenn

ENE OT sscctnancacnvinvetishininnninwiminccnmeimneteveininein

Ne IT iiiieiiiticesncsiicnnsinatacinninemiennansadiininnneciniennis

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .................

ys es fe _ Se nee

STATUTORY FRAMEWORK ....000000. ccc ceceeeceeeeeeeeeeeee

FS CFs I A iresescxcserevesessesnosncsenesesnesenes

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION...........

There is a Wide, [rreconcilable and Deepening

Split Between the Courts of Appeals Over

Whether Partics May Agree to Non-statutory

Grounds for Vacating an Arbitration Award, a

Split which this Court Should Resolve by

NE IT siscrsisiicsisrenesisetsincrenioersetentiadcssins

A.

The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Directly

Conflicts with the Decisions of Five Other

SESE Ae ee se Re ny Mee eee

. The Tenth Circuit, Along with the Ninth

Circuit, Has Held that Expanded Judicial

Review Undermines Public Policy Under

Se I thsicvinecsionititceiiscnicnncshidilonaioneeicbaitinisieaieini

Other Circuits Have Discussed the Issue of

Expanded Judicial Review Without Defini-

FE NE ivcneiinbtnsiveniniensaiiadenisinniniieniccniaii

(111)

—

—

—- WN NY NY NY — <

1]

13

16

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

D. The Conflict Between The Circuits Will

Continue to Decpen Without this Court's

Resolution of the Issue .......................00e0.00+.

II]. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Is Fundamentally

in Conflict with this Court’s Cases Interpreting

TET sctiipiciiatiigsndctesieslnieninnenetnindinnsannbiatuniiinpnanionee

IIT vepiiciindineedeictsimnennmcccnstnetieeninineiianineecn

APPENDIX A - Statutory Provisions Involved............

APPENDIX B —- Stipulation and Order Regarding

IE Be Fe ei ertceintctenerssneseusiscmsanevenaens

APPENDIX C - Arbitrator’s Findings of Fact and

EET AE RT TO

APPENDIX D ~ District Court Opinion and Order ......

APPENDIX E— Amended Arbitrator’s Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law on Remand.................

APPENDIX F - District Court Opinion and Ordcet.......

APPENDIX G -~ District Court Judgment.....................

APPENDIX H- Memorandum Opinion, Ninth Cir-

APPENDIX I — District Court Opinion and Ordet........

APPENDIX J — District Court Judgment ......................

APPENDIX K — Memorandum Opinion, Ninth Cir-

APPENDIX L - Judgment, Ninth Circuit...

APPENDIX M - Order Denying Petition for Rehear-

Fe BE, Fee I aces secccssccncesnsnvnsscconngiionnness

Page

18

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Bowen v. Amoco Pipeline, Inc., 254 F.3d 925

1 REET eae eee sire a 9 16, 26

Cable Connection, Inc. v. DIRECTV, Inc., 143

Cal. App. 4th 207 (2006) ..0...... eee ecceeeeeeeeeeeee 19

Cable Connection, Inc. v. DIRECTV, Inc., 2006

Cal. LEXIS 15057 (Cal. Dec. 20, 2006)............ 19

Chicago Typographical Union No. 16 v. Chicago

Sun-Times, Inc., 935 F.2d 1501 (7th Cir. 1991) 16, 17

Cortez Byrd Chips v. Bill Harbert Constr. Co.,

Be ey: ee ITE as cniicistiecnissendicannceniisiinaimddaasaiane 12

Dean Witter Reynolds Inc. v. Byrd, 470 U.S. 213

PITTA: icsisisinenisnlnbuiiihenediieiibaslapabtppaieeiiiahialaatabitetets nia 23, 24

Employer's Ins. of Wausau v. National Union

Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh, 933 F.2d 1481 (9th

Rs. FPP arcsncesepenpvunpesonenmsdavesosuiiisbenieimbditideinaitis 9

First Options of Chicago, Inc. v. Kaplan, 514

SP PP EOE co cccteiesesininnstentnaiiataliaiimsinanin 22, 24

Gateway Technologies, Inc. v. MC] Telecommu-

nications Corp., 64 F.3d 993 (Sth Cir. 1995)..... 13-15

Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co., v. Wolf Bros. & Co.,

Oe OF Fe CTP sicicesstcinishasindinidintinhamiigaaninns 13

Harris v. Parker College of Chiropractic, 286

ND 14

Hoeft v. MVL Group, Inc., 343 F.3d 57 (2d Cir.

FIED vinscitinntnininemnenmnnniianiiemdanaiaine 18

Howsam v. Dean Witter Revnolds, 537 U.S. 79

GIT icsicnsniincnscesccsecisanvaietanciiieisiipiisindiiildiila citadel 22

Hughes Training, Inc. v. Cook, 254 F.3d 588 (5th

Cir. 2001), cert. denied. 534 U.S. 1172 (2002). 14

Jacada, Ltd. v. Int'l Mktg. Strategies, 401 F.3d

701 (6th Cir.), cert denied, 126 S. Ct. 735

Eien eh cnsvevuissiaptnevduiminidédaiiesebniiabiedsdaiaeanaineniiaal Ps)

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —Continued

Page

Kyocera v. Prudential-Bache Trade Services,

Inc., 341 F.3d 987 (9th Cir. 2003), cert dis-

missed, 540 U.S. 1098 (2004)..........cccccccccceeeeeees passim

LaPine Tech. Corp. v. Kyocera Corp., 130 F.3d

I TT i deiarieni duns tenimendenenensensneneniens passim

Major League Baseball Ass'n v. Garvey, 532

a 13

Mastrobuono v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc.,

a asi ca certersnancens 3, 14, 21

Mercer v. Theriot, 377 U.S. 152 (1964) ...........004. 13

Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital v. Mercury

Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1 (1983) .......ccceeee. 3, 17,24

Photopaint Technologies, LLC vy. Smartlens

Corp., 335 F.3d 152 (2d Cir. 2003) .............024.. 25

Puerto Rico Telephone Co., Inc. v. U.S. Phone

Mfg. Corp., 427 F.3d 21 (1st Cir. 2005), cert

denied, 126 S. Ct. 1785 (2006)..............:cccceeeees 15-19

Roadway Package System, Inc. v. Kayser, 257

F.3d 287 (3d Cir.), cert denied, 534 U.S. 1020

Tn crit ieahassidiehidipininaananpnncineananentnesane 14,15

Sac and Fox Indians of Miss. in lowa v. Sac and

Fox Indians of Miss. in Okl., 220 U.S. 481

ACESS 25

Schoch v. InfoUSA, Inc., 341 F.3d 785 (8th Cir.

DE GREE ERA 17

Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. | (1984)..... 12

Svncor Int'l Corp. v. McLeland, 1997 U.S. App.

LEXIS 21248 (4th Cir., August 11, 1997), cert

denied, §22 U.S. 1110 (1998)... ee 14

Tanox, Inc. v. Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer &

Feld, L.L.P., 10S S.W. 3d 244 (Tex. Ct. App.

ETE ee 19

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-——Continued

Page

Theis Research Inc. v. Brown & Bain, 386 F.3d

1180 (9th Cir. 2004), amended on denial of

rehearing, 400 F.3d 659 (9th Cir. 2005) ........... i)

UHC Met. Co. v. Computer Sciences Corp., 148

Po 17

United States v. Mezzanatto, 513 U.S. 196 (1995)..... 24, 25

United States v. Wilson, 26 F.3d 142 (D.C. Cir.

ie iccitinnredioemncienpeniniensactmeninnesnseiuieimmmunseninn 25

Volt Information Sciences, Inc. v. Board of Trus-

tees, 489 U.S. 468 (1989) .........ccccecccceseeeeseseeeees passim

STATUTES

es OF cxceccecsepetenssesnssseeevecinemnisenntnienniannniones ]

es Ae cenenteniemateientenanions ieeninsiacininisiitintiahaiiasiiian 3

nites OF ccessicnctdecsntcdupiiteshatinninnianninentebaseiinidiitiiins 21,22

i tit 1 cnsinanitenitinainteieniipiabcceachiadianiigiepidenlanpiiteniedaaiaiaial 21, 22

IIIT. TIEN sccsecicniscchiguabiitaiieciceeidaaniniiienticeainiiatpenasaneite 3, 25

TET Tr Ua icctcciecesscsihinienieiiceetiomeiteiidensadantanienimabadannanin 3, 9, 10

rs OO nencietenetnnecesesaicncasinsenneeniinainesnnnmoannisiiia 3,9, 10

ice te Pe icenssesescasiesessendnsisinimmmaniaetineneia 2

en TID cciteniansiiiniennenmndiicitiniaiainiatacaiianiin 1]

Sy IIE I TTI -ocnccinsinniinittintnicsianenintinindiniatodinedinanias 4

Ss TIENT ceietuccenccinaiecionsapdniuiiietnesiaiiensaineionnes 12

a Te TUE scersccsiseianeriinisiesinininaitiiininadsideiibiiassineianinieiat 17

TTD aicicsintsisisseciiniisiceittactnbintiniandatinienbemiotadeiee 4

MISCELLANEOUS

eS en 14

Fric van Ginkel, Reframing the Dilemma of Con-

tractually Expanded Judicial Review: Arbitral

Appeal vs. Vacatur, 3 Pepp. Disp. Resol. L.

BR, ae Ca iinviscnsincsinsnenctninitibiiticiaiiniivinpbinananncans 19

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES— Continued

Page

Lee Goldman, Contractually Expanded Review

of Arbitration Awards, 8 Harv. Negotiation L.

eh I cnsiaccinsichietiiiabelisttiainiiehiemmaisitiiaminuiiaiacies 19

Milana Koptsiovsky, A Right to Contract for a

Judicial Review of an Arbitration Award:

Does Freedom of Contract Apply to Arbitra-

tion Agreements? , 36 Conn. L. Rev. 609........... 19, 23

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. P

HALL STREET ASSOCIATES, L.L.C.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

MATTEL, INC.,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Hall Strect Associates, L.L.C. (“Petitioner” or “Hall Street”)

respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the

judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the district court in which the court vacated

the arbitrator’s initial arbitration award because of legal error

is unreported. (App., infra, 39a-S8a). The original opinion

of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals in which the court

reversed the district court’s enforcement of the parties’

“expanded judicial review” agreement and remanded so that

the district court could apply the standard of review set forth

in the Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”), 9 ULS.C. § 1 et seq...

2

is unreported. (App., infra, 114a-116a). The district court’s

opinion on remand in which the district court vacated the

arbitration award based on the FAA standard of review is

unreported. (App., infra, 117a-128a). The Ninth Circuit’s

most recent opinion reversing the district court is also

unreported. (App., infra, 129a-134a).

JURISDICTION |

The Ninth Circuit’s most recent opinion was entered on

August 1, 2006. The Ninth Circuit denied a timcly petition

for rehearing en banc on October !7, 2006. The jurisdiction

of the United States Supreme Court is invoked in a timely

manner under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of the FAA are set forth at App.,

infra, \a-3a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves the Ninth Circuit’s refusal to enforce the

clear and unambiguous terms of the parties’ arbitration agree-

ment, an agreement that was entered into with district court

approval after the commencement of this litigation. The

arbitration agreement expressly states that the district court

shall vacate, modify or correct the arbitration award “where

the arbitrator’s conclusions of law are crroneous.” (App.,

infra, 16a). Because of the Ninth Circuit's refusal to enforce

the parties” agreement as written, Petitioner is saddled with an

arbitration decision that dissenting Judge Susan Graber held

was “completely irrational” (App., infra, 134a) and which

the majority on the Ninth Circuit panel recognized contained

“possible errors of law.” (App.. infra, 132a).

STATUTORY FRAMEWORK

Congress enacted the FAA for the “central purpose” of

“ensur[ing] that private agreements to arbitrate are entorced

3

according to their terms.” Mastrobuono v. Shearson Lehman

Hutton, Inc., 514 U.S. 52, 53-54 (1995) (internal quotations

and citations omitted). Section 2 of the FAA states that a

“written provision * * * to settle by arbitration” a controversy

arising out of “any contract evidencing a transaction involv-

ing commerce” shall be “valid, irrevocable and enforceable,

save upon any grounds that exist at law, or in equity for the

revocation of any contract.” 9 U.S.C. § 2. “The effect of

this section is to create a body of federal substantive law of

arbitrability, applicable to any arbitration agreement within

the coverage of the Act.” Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital

v. Mercury Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 24 (1983). The FAA

as a whole “creates a body of federal substantive law

establishing and regulating the duty to honor an agreement to

arbitrate * * *.” /d. at 26. .

The FAA further provides that “[i]f the partics in their

agreement have agreed that a judgment of the court shall be

entered upon the award made pursuant to the arbitration,” the

court, upon application by a party to confirm the award,

“must grant such an order unless the award is vacated, modi-

fied or corrected as prescribed in sections 10 and 11.”

9US.C. § 9. Section 10 sets forth several very narrow

grounds upon which the court “may make an order vacating

the award,” while section 11 scts forth limited grounds upon

which the court “may make an order modifying or correcting

the award.” 9 U.S.C. §§ 10, 11. The arbitration agreement in

this case provides for judicial review beyond the review

provided for under sections 10 and J}.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

This case arose from a property lease between Petitioner

Hall Street, the landlord, and Respondent Mattel, Inc.

(“Mattel”), the tenant. The lease did not contain an agree-

ment to arbitrate disputes and both parties therefore had the

absolute right to have all claims arising under the lease

resolved in court. The property that was subject to the lease

4

had been used for many years by both Mattel and its

predecessors as a toy manufacturing facility. (App., infra,

18a).' It is undisputed that the well water on the property,

which employees had used for many years for drinking and

bathing, was contaminated by trichloroethylene (“TCE”) in

concentrations well in excess of federal limits. (App., infra,

26a-27a). It is also undisputed that Mattel and its prede-

cessors failed to test the well water on the property for

contaminates as they were required to do under the Oregon

Drinking Water Quality Act (“ODWQA”), ORS 448.114 ef

seq. (App., infra, 26a, 52a, 81a).

On February 11, 2000, Hall Street filed suit in Oregon state

court seeking injunctive relief, declaratory relicf and dam-

ages. (2005 ER 004). Included amongst Its claims was a

claim that Mattel was required to indemnify it from all ac-

tions by any parties relating to the condition of the property.

(2005 ER 016). Mattcl removed the case to the United States

District Court for the District of Oregon, which possessed

diversity jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1332. (2005 ER 002).

The parties proceeded to a court trial of one of the issues in

the case, regarding Mattel’s termination of the lease. After

the district court decided that issue and after a subscquent

unsuccessful attempt to settle the entire case through media-

tion, the partics informed the district court that they would

seek the court’s approval of an agreement to arbitrate the

remaining issues, an agreement that allowed for de novo

judicial review of the arbitrator’s legal rulings. (2003 SER

148-49). This agreement for cxpanded judicial review was

central to the parties’ agreement to arbitrate their dispute, a

dispute which was not subject to a preexisting agreement to

' Mattel’s Excerpt of Record in the earlier 2003 appeal to the Ninth

Circuit is cited as “2003 ER.” Hall Street's Supplemental Excerpt of

Record in the 2003 appeal is cited herein as “2003 SER.” Mattel’s Excerpt

of Record in the 2005 appeal to the Ninth Circuit is cited as “2005 FR.”

Otherwise, all citations are to the Appendix.

5

arbitrate and which could have been properly litigated in

federal court in the first instance. (2003 SER 153).? The

agreement to arbitrate executed by the parties stated that the

district court retained authority to review the arbitrator’s fac-

tual findings for substantial evidence and to review the arbi-

trator’s lega! conclusions for legal error. (App., infra, 16a).

Relying on the Ninth Circuit’s decision in LaPine Tech.

Corp. v. Kyocera Corp., 130 F.3d 884 (9th Cir. 1997), which

upheld expanded judicial review of arbitration awards, the

district court approved the parties’ agreement to arbitrate with

de novo review of legal issues in the district court.’ (App.,

infra, 8a, 46a). The case proceeded to arbitration under this

judicially approved arbitration agreement.

In early January of 2002, the arbitrator issued his Findings

of Fact and Conclusions of Law. (App., infra, 17a to 38a).

The arbitrator’s initial decision was based on his legal con-

clusion that, despite the fact that Mattel had violated the

ODWQA by failing over many years to test the water supply

on the property for contaminants, it had not violated any

“applicable” environmental laws. (App., infra, 35a). The

arbitrator recognized (1) that the lease was negotiated in the

context that Mattel’s predecessor, View-Master, was “the

only party with intimate knowledge of the property” and

(2) that the lease therefore contained a broad indemnification

* Hall Street's attorney, Jim Finn, executed an affidavit that was filed

in the trial court stating as follows: “One of the primary factors of

this arbitration agreement was that, unlike ordinary binding arbitration,

the arbitrator's decision would be reviewable by Judge Jones, and then

entered as a judgment of the Federal District Court, which would then be

reviewed by the 9th Cirewt Court of Appeals.” (2003 SER 153)

(emphasis added).

“Nearly two years after the district court approved the parties” ex-

panded judicial review agreement in reliance on existing law, the Ninth

Circuit reversed LaPine in Avocera vo Prudential-Bache Trade Services,

Inc, 341 F.3d 987 (9th Cir, 2003), cert dismissed, 540 US. 1098 (2004)

6

clause that required Mattel to “indemnify Hall Street for all

activities with respect to the premises whether or not they

occurred before the date of the original lease.” (App., infra,

19a). The arbitrator further conciuded that Mattel agreed to

assume all liability for the presence of hazardous waste on the

property under this “comprehensive” indemnification clause,

irrespective of when the presence or use of the hazardous

waste occurred. (App., infra, 35a). The arbitrator also recog-

nized that the “only exception” to the indemnity obligation

was if Mattel was in compliance with applicable environ-

mental laws and did not directly or indirectly contribute to the

presence or use of hazardous waste. (/d.).

Despite these findings, the arbitrator concluded that Mattel’s

admitted failure to test the well water on the property over the

course of many years was not a violation of an “applicable”

environmental law because the ODWQA was designed to

protect human health and was “not designed to protect land-

owners from having their property protected from environ-

mental contamination.” (App., infra, 35a-36a). The arbitra-

tor recognized that Mattel and its predecessors did not test the

well water for a period of approximately 18 years but found

that this failure “may constitute a violation of other laws, but

does not constitute a violation of ‘applicable environmental

laws’ regarding TCE.” (/d.). Based on this conclusion, the

arbitrator decided that Mattel was entitled to the contractual

exception to the broad indemnification requirements of the

lease.

Petitioner moved to vacate the arbitrator’s award, secking

de novo review of the arbitrator’s 'egal conclusion that

Mattel’s admitted violation of the ODWQA was not a viola-

tion of an “applicable environmental law” within the meaning

of the lease. On April 29, 2002, the district court granted

Hall Street’s motion to vacate and remanded to the arbitrator

for further consideration. (App.. infra, 39a to 58a). The

district court held, in agreement with the arbitrator's findings,

7

that Mattel and its predecessors had failed to test for TCE

contamination on the property and that this failure constituted

a violation of the ODWQA. (App., infra, 42a-43a, 53a-54a).

The district judge also agreed with the arbitrator’s legal con-

clusion that the lease was “written to impose broad liability

on the tenant for any environmental damage on the property”

and that the exceptions to this broad liability contained in the

lease “freed the tenant from liability only if it was in com-

pliance with all ‘applicable environmental laws.*” (App.,

infra, 53a).

However, the district court ruled that the arbitrator’s con-

clusion that the ODWQA was not an applicable environ-

mental law was erroneous. (App., infra, 53a). The district

court stated:

The arbitrator’s contrary reasoning — that Oregon’s Drink-

ing Water Quality Act (“ODWQA”) does not constitute

“applicable environmental laws” because “these health

provisions are designed to protect a specific type of

injury, i.e., health injury to people from drinking the

water, and are not designed to protect landowners from

having their property protected from environmental

contamination” — is an overly restrictive construction of

“applicable environmental laws that is not warranted by

the language of the lease.” (App., infra, 53a-54a).

The court disagreed with the arbitrator’s conclusion that a law

must protect property to be deemed an “environmental law”

and stated that: “No environmental statute advances such a

purpose; the purpose of such statutes is to protect the environ-

ment and human health.” (App., infra, 54a-55a) (emphasis in

original). The court further stated that the contention that the

ODWQA was not an applicable environmental statute “defies

logic.” (App., infra, 55a).

On remand, the arbitrator entered an amended decision

based upon the legally correct ruling that the ODWQA was

an applicable environmental law which Mattel had violated.

8

(App., infra, 81a). Therefore, the exceptions contained in the

lease to Mattel’s broad indemnification responsibility did not

apply. (/d.). Based on this conclusion, the arbitrator rendered

a decision in favor of Hall Street in the amount of $583,971.60

and also awarded declaratory relief against Mattel for all

future costs that Hall Street might be required to pay rclating

to the environmental cleanup of the property. (App., infra,

85a). The arbitrator then rendered a supplemental decision

awarding attorney fees and costs. (2005 ER 138-141).

Both sides sought review of the arbitrator’s amended deci-

sion by the district court. (App., infra, 87a). Other than with

regard to Mattel’s assertion that the arbitrator made a mistake

in computing prejudgment interest, the district court upheld

the arbitrator’s amended award. (App. infra, 95a, 110a). On

May 15, 2003, a district court judgment was entered incor-

porating both the trial court’s initial decision regarding the

lease termination issue (which had been tried before the

court) and the arbitrator’s amended award in favor of Hal]

Street. (App. infra, 11la-113a). The money judgment in

Hall Street’s favor was for $810,107.49 with six percent (6%)

postjudgment interest. (App., infra, 112a to 113a).

Both sides appealed from certain aspects of that judgment.

Mattel challenged the district court’s enforcement of the

partics’ agreement that the arbitrator’s conclusions of law

could be reviewed de novo, arguing that the Ninth Circuit's

intervening en banc decision in Kyocera Corp. had reversed

LaPine and that the FAA did not permit judicial review of an

arbitrator's decision beyond the standards of review allowed

under the FAA. (Mattel’s Opening Brief on Appeal, Ninth

Circuit Case Nos. 03-35525 and 03-35526, pp. 12-13). Hall

Street contended that Kvocera was distinguishable because, in

that case, the parties’ underlying contract contained an arbi-

tration clause allowing for expanded judicial review while, in

this case, the parties did not have an arbitration agreement

when the lawsuit was instituted and agreed to the expanded

9

judicial review provision with district court approval after

the case had been partially tried. (Hall Street’s Combined

Opening Brief and Answering Brief, Case Nos. 03-35525 and

03-35526, pp. 31 & n 5). Hall Street further argued that the

de novo review provision was so inextricably intertwined

with the agreement to arbitrate that it could not be severed

and still give effect to the parties’ intentions regarding arbi-

tration. (/d. at 33 n 7).

On November 16, 2004, the Ninth Circuit reversed the

district court’s vacation of the arbitrator’s initial crroncous

award holding, without substantial comment, that “Kyocera

compels us to vacate the district court’s judgment based on

the arbitration agreement and remand to the district court.”

(App., infra, 115a). The court further stated that, under

Kyocera, “the terms of an arbitration agreement controlling

the mode of judicial review are unenforceable and severable.”

(/d.). The Ninth Circuit remanded to the district court with

instructions for the district court to confirm the arbitrator’s

initial award in favor of Mattel, “unless the district court

determines that the award should be vacated on the grounds

allowable under 9 U.S.C. § 10, or modified or corrected under

the grounds allowable under 9 U.S.C. § 11.” (App., infra,

1 16a).

On remand, the district court held that grounds for vacating

the arbitrator’s award cxisted under 9 U.S.C. § 10. (App.,

infra, 117a-128a). The district court held, in express reliance

on the Ninth Circuit’s decisions in Theis Research Inc. v.

Brown & Bain, 386 F.3d 1180 (9th Cir. 2004), amended on

denial of rehearing, 400 F.3d 659 (9th Cir. 2005), and

Employer's Ins. of Wausau v. Nat'l Union Fire Ins. Co. of

Pittsburgh, 933 F.2d 1481 (9th Cir. 1991), that an arbitrator

exceeds his or her powers within the meaning of 9 U.S.C.

§ 10 when the award is based on an “implausible interpreta-

tion of a contract.” (App., infra, 124a). The district court,

noting that neither party scriously disputed that the ODWQA

10

was an environmental law or that Mattel had violated it,

reversed the arbitrator’s initial conclusion that Mattel was

in compliance with applicable environmental laws on the

grounds that this conclusion was implausible. (App., infra,

12S5a-127a). The district court stated that nothing in the lease

supported the arbitrator’s conclusion that the phrase “applica-

ble environmental laws” meant “anything other than its plain

meaning, i.e., the body of environmental law that gencrally

applies to Mattel and with which Mattel’s non-compliance

could expose Mattel or Hall Street to civil or criminal penal-

ties.” (App., infra,126a). The trial court again vacated the

arbitration award, granted Hall Street additional attorney fees

and costs and again entered judgment for Hall Street. (App.,

infra, 127a-128a).

Mattel again appealed to the Ninth Circuit. On August |,

2006, a panel of the Ninth Circuit reversed and held that

“{ijmplausibility is not a valid ground for voiding an arbitra-

tion award under either 9 U.S.C. §§ 10 or 11.” (App., infra,

132a). The panel majority stated: “Although the arbitrator’s

assessment of the merits in this case contains possible errors

of law, those errors are not a sufficient basis for a federal

court to overrule an arbitration award.” (/d.). Despite its

finding regarding the presence of possible errors of law, the

panel majority held that the arbitrator’s decision was not

“completely irrational,” which it recognized as a valid (albeit

unstated) basis for vacating an arbitration award under the

FAA. (App. infra, 133a). The panel majority therefore

remanded the case to the district with instructions to review

the original award and declare Mattel the prevailing party.

(/d.).

Judge Susan Graber dissented on the grounds that the arbi-

trator’s award was “complctely irrational.” (/d.). She stated

that “the only rational reading” of the term “applicable

environmental laws” was “all federal, state, and local envi-

ronmental Jaws and regulations” which Mattel was required

11

to comply with in its use of the premises. (/d.). Because it

was undisputed that the ODWQA was an environmental law

that Mattel violated, Judge Graber would have either upheld

the district court under the “completely irrational” standard or

remanded the case to the district court for reconsideration

under that standard. (App., infra, 134a).

Petitioner sought en banc review of the Ninth Circuit’s

opinion. En banc review was denied by order of the Ninth

Circuit on October 17, 2006. (App., infra, 138a). At all

relevant times, the Ninth Circuit had jurisdiction over this

case under 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. There is a ‘Vide, Irreconcilable and Deepening

Split Between the Courts of Appeals Over Whether

Parties May Agree to Non-statutory Grounds for

Vacating an Arbitration Award, a Split which this

Court Should Resolve by Granting Certiorari.

In this case, the Ninth Circuit has ruled, in strict reliance on

its en banc decision in Kyocera, that parties to an arbitration

agreement cannot agree to judicial review on grounds that

expand on those provided for in sections 10 and 11 of the

FAA. In Kyocera, the Ninth Circuit, reversing its earlier

decision in LaPine, invalidated as contrary to the FAA

the parties’ agreement that an arbitration award should be

vacated, modified, or corrected if legally erroneous or not

supported by substantial evidence. The Kyocera court

recognized that other circuits had enforced such “expanded

judicial review” agreements based on this Court’s decisions,

including Volt Information Sciences, Inc. v. Board of Trustees,

489 U.S. 468 (1989), which emphasized that the primary

purpose of the FAA is to enforce the agreement of the parties

according to its terms. Kyocera, 341 F.3d at 999. However,

the Ninth Circuit reversed its prior decision in LaPine be-

cause of its policy judgment that “[b]road judicial review of

arbitration decisions could well jeopardize the very benefits

12

of arbitration, rendering informal arbitration merely a prelude

to a more cumbersome and time-consuming judicial review

process.” /d. at 998.

The Ninth Circuit’s decision in Kyocera, as followed by the

panel in this case, directly conflicts with the decisions of the

First, Third, Fourth, Fifth and Sixth Circuits and is inconsistent

with this Court’s rulings that the primary purpose of the FAA

is to give full effect to the parties’ agreement to arbitrate as

written. The FAA was intended to create a uniform federal

substantive law of arbitration that preempts inconsistent state

law. Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. | (1984); Moses H.

Cone, 460 U.S. at 24. As such, the FAA should not create

conflicting outcomes with regards to the enforcement of arbi-

tration agreements in different parts of the country. With the

current and deepening split between the circuits on the validity

of expanded judicial review under the FAA, many companies

that do business on a nationwide basis are faced with such

conflicting outcomes based simply on the circuit where the

action to confirm or vacate an arbitration award is filed.* The

widespread disagreement between the federal courts of appeals

on an issue of such fundamental importance under a federal

statute which has as its goal the creation of a uniform law of

arbitration warrants review by this Court.*

* Under the FAA, the proper venue for an action to confirm or vacate

an arbitration award is the district agreed to by the parties in the arbitra-

tion agreement or, if there is none, where the award was made. 9 U.S.C.

§ 9. Ho vever, this Court has held that this venue provision ts permissive,

not mandatory, and that any venue allowable under the general venue

statute for diversity actions, 28 U.S.C. § 1391, is proper. Cortez Byrd

Chips v. Bill Harbert Constr. Co., 529 U.S. 193 (2000). This raises the

specter of forum shopping by parties who will seek to further their chances

of either confirming or vacating an arbitration award based on whether the

district court sits in a circuit that permuts or prohibits expanded judicial

review.

* A party petitioning for a writ of certiorari ts entitled to seek review of

all interlocutory decisions preceding the entry of judgment. including

13

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Directly Conflicts

with the Decisions of Five Other Circuits.

The Ninth Circuit’s decision in reliance on Kyocera di-

rectly conflicts with decisions from the First, Third, Fourth,

Fifth and Sixth Circuits.

In LaPine, the Ninth Circuit initially upheld the validity of

expanded judicial review under the FAA and followed the

decision of the Fifth Circuit in Gateway Technologies, Inc. v.

MCI Telecommunications Corp., 64 F.3d 993 (Sth Cir. 1995).

LaPine, 130 F.3d at 889.° In Gateway, the parties’ arbitration

agreement stated that errors of law were subject to judicial

review. /d. at 996. Recognizing that this provision expanded

the extremely narrow standard of judicial review normally

applicable under section 10 of the FAA, the Fifth Circuit held

that “[s]uch a contractual modification ts acceptable because,

as the Supreme Court has emphasized, arbitration is a

creature of contract * * *.” Jd The court in Gateway held

that the FAA’s standard of review provision was the “default

standard of review” which would apply under a silent arbitra-

tion agreement but that “the FAA does not prohibit parties

who voluntarily agree to arbitration from providing contractu-

ally for more expansive judicial review of the award.” /d. at

997 n.3. The court, quoting Volt, 489 U.S. at 469, held that

“the federal policy is simply to ensure the enforceability,

according to their terms, of private agreements to arbitrate.”

Id. The court reasoned that a refusal to enforce the parties’

contractual expansion of the FAA’s default standard of re-

view “would be quite inimical to the FAA’s purpose of

rulings made in an earlier appeal. See, e.¢.. Major League Baseball Ass'n

v. Garvey, 532 U.S. S04. S08 n.1 (2001); Mercer v. Theriot, 377 U.S. 152,

153 (1964); Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co., v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 241 U.S.

251, 257-58 (1916).

* The Ninth Circuit in LaPine also based its holding on | o/t and other

decisions of this Court, which permitted parties to arbitrate under rules

other than those established by the FAA. LaPine, 130 F 3d at 888.

14

ensuring that private agreements to arbitrate are enforced

according to their terms.” /d. at 996 (quoting Mastrobuono,

514 U.S. at 57, quoting in turn Volt, 489 U.S. at 479). The

holding of Gateway has been reaffirmed by the Fifth Circuit

in subsequent cases. See Harris v. Parker College of Chiro-

practic, 286 F.3d 790, 793 (Sth Cir. 2002); Hughes Training,

Inc. v. Cook, 254 F.3d 588, 592-93 (Sth Cir. 2001), cert.

denied, 534 U.S. 1172 (2002).

In Syncor Int'l Corp. v. McLeland, 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS

21248 (4th Cir., August 11, 1997), cert. denied, 522 US.

1110 (1998), the Fourth Circuit followed Gateway.’ In Syncor,

the arbitration agreement, as in this case, allowed for de novo

judicial review of legal issues. The court, applying Gateway’s

reasoning that nothing in the FAA prohibits the parties from

“providing contractually for an expanded judicial review of

the award,” engaged in de novo review of the arbitrator's

decision. Syncor, 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 21248 at *17.

The next circuit to follow Gateway was the Third Circuit.

In Roadway Package System, Inc. v. Kayser, 257 F.3d 287

(3d Cir.), cert denied, 534 U.S. 1020 (2001), the court stated:

“We now join with the great weight of authority and hold that

parties may opt out of the FAA’s off-the-rack vacatur stan-

dards and fashion their own (including by referencing state

law standards).” /d at 293. The court ruled that, where the

parties have language in the arbitration agreement evidencing

their intent to opt out of the FAA’s standard of review,

“federal law requires that the court enforce the agreement.”

Id. at 292. While the court ultimately held that the arbitration

agreement before it did not evidence such an intent, the

’ Although the Syreor opinion is unpublished, the Fourth Circuit’s rules

provide that an unpublished opinion tssucd prior to January |, 2007, may

be cited if the case has “precedential value in relation to a material issue in

a case and that there 1s no published opimion that would serve as well.”

(4th Cir. Local R. 32.1). There ts no published opmmion from the Fourth

Circuit on the issue cited.

15

holding of the court on the overarching legal issue is clear:

An arbitration agreement which evidences a “clear intent to

displace the FAA’s default standards for judicial review” is

enforceable. /d. at 295.

The Sixth Circuit has also ruled that partics may contract

for expanded judicial review. In Jacada, Lid. v. Int'l Mktg.

Strategies, 401 F.3d 701 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 126 S. Ct.

735 (2005), the court stated that “the central purpose of the

FAA is to ensure that private agreements to arbitrate are

enforced according to their terms” and proceeded to decide

whether the judicial review provision of the FAA applied as

opposed to the standard of review provision contained in the

arbitration agreement. /d. at 709-10. Although the court

ultimately held that the parties did not intend to displace the

federal standard for vacatur under the contractual language

used in their arbitration agreement, the court’s decision is

based upon the clear recognition that such displacement is not

prohibited by the FAA. /d. at 711-12.

The latest circuit to rule that the FAA permits expanded

judicial review is the First Circuit. In Puerto Rico Telephone

Co., Inc. v. U.S. Phone Mfg. Corp., 427 F.3d 21 (ist Cir.

2005), cert. denied, 126 S. Ct. 1785 (2006), the court was

faced with a similar issue as in Roadway and Jacada, whether

a generic choice-of-law provision was sufficient to establish

the parties” intent to supplant the FAA standard of review of

an arbitration award. The court stated that “[t]he issue

whether parties by contract can supplant the FAA standard of

review has generated substantial litigation.” /d. at 30. After

carefully analyzing Gateway and other cases supporting

expanded judicial review as well as Kvocera and other cases

opposing it, the court held: “We agree with the other circuits

that have concluded that parties can by contract displace the

FAA standard of review but that displacement can be

achieved only by clear contractual language.” /d at 31.

Where, as here, there is no question but that the parties used

such clear language in their arbitration agreement, the court in

16

Puerto Rico Telephone would have certainly enforced the

partics’ expansion of the FAA’s standard of review.

B. The Tenth Circuit, Along with the Ninth

Circuit, Has Held that Expanded Judicial

Review Undermines Public Policy Under the

FAA.

Joining the Ninth Circuit in opposition to the First, Third,

Fonrth, Fifth and Sixth Circuits is the Tenth Circuit in Bowen

v. Amoco Pipeline, Inc., 254 F.3d 925 (10th Cir. 2001). In

Bowen, the court held that the enforceability of the parties

contractually “expanded standard” of judicial review “pre-

sents a difficult question.” /d. at 933. Recognizing that its

decision not to enforce such a contractual agreement con-

flicted with the law in the Fourth and Fifth Circuits, as well as

the then-governing law in the Ninth Circuit as set forth in

LaPine, the court, as in Kyocera, cited policy reasons for its

holding. /d. at 933-35. While recognizing that arbitration

even with expanded judicial review “reduces the burden on

the courts,” the court nonetheless found, on public policy

grounds, that expanded judicial review “would threaten the

independence of arbitration and weaken the distinction be-

tween arbitration and adjudication.” /d. at 936 & n.6." As

stated earlier, Bowen and Kyocera directly conflict with the

decisions of five other circuits.

C. Other Circuits Have Discussed the Issue of

Expanded Judicial Review Without Definitive

Holdings.

Three other circuits, the Second, Seventh and Eighth, have

discussed the issue of expanded judicial review without de-

finitive holdings. For example, in Chicago Typographical

Union No. 16 v. Chicage Sun-Times, Inc., 935 F.2d 1501,

1504-05 (7th Cir. 1991), the Seventh Circuit, in a case involv-

“The Ninth Circuit cited Buwen approvingly and adopted its public

policy rationale in Avocera. Avocera, 341 F.3d at 999-1000.

17

ing an arbitration award under section 301 of the Labor-

Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185, stated in dicta

that “[a]n agreement to submit a dispute over the interpreta-

tion of a labor or other contract to arbitration is a contractual

commitment to abide by the arbitrator’s interpretation,” and

the parties “cannot contract for a judicial review of that award

because federal jurisdiction cannot be created by contract.”

Id. at 1505.” This case did not directly involve the FAA and

is thus questionable precedent in cases involving that statute.

In Schoch v. InfoUSA, Inc., 341 F.3d 785 (8th Cir. 2003),

the court noted the split in the circuits “on whether parties to

an arbitration agreement can expand the scope of judicial

review of arbitration awards.” /d. at 788. Citing its prior

decision in UHC Mgt. Co. v. Computer Sciences Corp., 148

F.3d 992 (8th Cir. 1998), the court stated that the ability to

contract for a heightened standard of review is “not yet a

foregone conclusion” and expressed “grave skepticism” as

to whether parties could do so consistent with the policies

underlying the FAA. /d. at 789. However, the court chose

not to expressly adopt the Tenth Circuit’s holding in Bowen

and instead resolved the case on the narrow ground that the

arbitration agreement did not contain clear and unmistakable

language establishing the intent to impose a heightened

standard of judicial review. /d. at 789-90.

* The notion that expanded judicial review creates federal jurisdiction

“by contract” was also stated by the Ninth Circuit in Ayocera, which

quoted Chicago Typographical to this effect. Kyocera, 341 F.3d at 999.

However, as recognized by the First Cireuit in Pueri> Rico Telephone,

this coricern is “misplaced, as it 1s well settled that federal courts have

jurisdiction over suits to compel arbitration (or to vacate or enforce arbi-

tration awards) only if the parties are of diverse citizenship, or some

separate grant of jurisdiction applies.” Puerto Rico Telephone, 427 F.3d

at 30-31. See also Moses H. Cone, 460 U.S. at 26 (the FAA “creates

a body of federal substantive law establishing and regulating the duty to

honor an agreement to arbitrate, yet ut does not create any independent

federal-question jurisdiction*® * *")

18

The Second Circuit has similarly avoided the issue. In

Hoeft v. MVL Group, inc., 343 F.3d 57, 63 (2d Cir. 2003), the

arbitration agreement purported to “insulate the substance of

the arbitration award from judicial review,” even the very

narrow review available under the FAA. The court acknowl-

edged that, in those cases where courts “have enforced private

agreements to alter the judicial review to be applied to arbitral

awards, * * * the cases have involved attempts to raise the

level of judicial review otherwise available under the FAA.”

Id. at 64. “While taking no position on the enforceability of

agreements to raise the level of judicial review,” the court

noted “that there is a fundamental difference between an

agreement to increase the scrutiny that courts apply when

considering whether to confirm or vacate an arbitration award

and an agreement to prevent courts from reviewing the sub-

stance of an arbitration award at all.” Jd. The court declined

to allow private litigants to completely divest the courts of

authority to review both the substance of the arbitration

award and the arbitration process under section 10 of the

FAA. /d. at 66. However, the court expressly chose not to

address the issue of heightened judicial scrutiny.'”

D. The Conflict Between The Circuits Will

Continue to Deepen Without this Court’s

Resolution of the Issue.

The substantial divide between the circuits is based on a

fundamental, philosophical difference about the purposes of

the FAA and is bound to decpen without resolution of the

issue by this Court. As recognized by the First Circuit in

Puerto Rico Telephone, those courts which have upheld

expanded judicial review “have held that the Act’s ultimate

purpose is to enforce the terms of the agreement to arbitrate,

The court in Kyocera went the other route and stated that contracting

tor a narrower standard of review “may be less troublesome” than a

broader, more searching, standard of review. such as is present here.

Avocera, 341 F.3d at 999 1.16.

19

and that they are therefore bound by federal! law to enforce

the arbitration agreements as drafted.” Puerto Rico Tele-

phone, 427 F.3d at 31. Those courts which have construed

the FAA to preclude expanded judicial review have done so

based “‘on the theory that allowing private parties to contract

for more searching review standards would create federal

jurisdiction by contract” and “on a public policy concern”

that broad judicial review of arbitration decisions would

jeopardize the benefits of arbitration. /d. at 30-31.

The circuit courts are thus in a square and irreconcilable

conflict which is unlikely to resolve itself without guidance

by this Court. The issue has gained the attention of several

legal commentators, See, e.g., Milana Koptsiovsky, A Right to

Contract for a Judicial Review of an Arbitration Award:

Does Freedom of Contract Apply to Arbitration Agreements ?,

36 Conn. L. Rev. 609 (2004); Lee Goldman, Contractually

Expanded Review of Arbitration Awards, 8 Harv. Negotiation

L. Rev. 171 (2003); Eric van Ginkel, Reframing the Dilemma

of Contractually Expanded Judicial Review: Arbitral Appeal

vs. Vacatur, 3 Pepp. Disp. Resol. L. Rev. 47 (2003).'!

The issue can have important consequences in a particular

case. For example, in Kvocera the arbitration award at issue

was for approximately one quarter of a billion dollars.

Kyocera, 341 F.3d at 990. The case at bar involves claims

that exceed one million dollars. In very large cases, the

'’ State courts are also in conflict on this issuc. For instance, a Texas

appellate court followed the Fifth Circuit rule and interpreted the FAA to

permit the parties to expand the scope of judicial review. Tanox, Inc. v.

Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld, L.L.P.. \OS S.W.3d 244, 250-51

(Tex. Ct. App. 2003). However, the Caiifornia Court of Appeals in Cable

Connection, Inc. v. DIRECTV, Inc., 143 Cal. App. 4th 207, 223 (2006),

following Avocera, held that the FAA did not permit expanded judicial

review. However, on December 20, 2006, the California Supreme Court

granted review and depublished this decision. Cahle Connection, Inc. v

DIRECTY, Inc., 2006 Cal. Lexis 18087 (Cal. Dee. 20, 2006)

20

parties may not want to take the risk that an arbitrator will

make a legal error, which is not correctable through judicial

review. While these parties may very well have good reason

to choose the flexibility, economy and speed which arbitra-

tion may offer with regards to the factual issues of the case,

they may not be willing to give up the right to meaningful and

searching judicial review on the controlling principles of law.

The narrow default standards of the FAA simply do not meet

their needs. '”

Petitioner contends that parties should be free to contract

for judicial review of an arbitration award beyond the limited

scope of review set forth in the FAA. Parties that bargain for

expanded judicial review do so with the expectations that the

arbitration award will not be permeated with legal crror.

These contractual expectations should not be frustrated. Cer-

tainly, the question of whether such an agreement is

enforceable should not depend solely on the circuit in which

the arbitration award is issued, a situation which prevails

because of the current split in the circuits.

il. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Is Fundamentally in

Conflict with this Court’s Cases Interpreting the

FAA.

This Court has enforced in several cases contract terms that

have called for arbitration under rules other than those

established by the FAA itself. The Ninth Circuit’s decision in

this case is in direct conflict with these decisions.

For example, in Vo/t, the parties agreed that their arbitra-

tion agreement would be governed by California law. Volz,

489 US. at 470. California law permitted the trial court to

stay an arbitration pending the outcome of other litigation.

In tact. the court in Avocera stated that the issue of expanded judicial

review was “of exceptional importance to future contracting parties and

litigants within this cnreunt.” Avocera, 341 F.3d at 997 (emphasis added).

21

Id. at 471 n.3. Respondent argued that this provision con-

flicted with sections 3 and 4 of the FAA, which call for the

direction of arbitration and a stay of the court proceeding

pending arbitration, but which do not permit a stay of the

arbitration itself. Jd. at 476-77. See also 9 U.S.C. §§ 3, 4.

The Court rejected this argument in clear and forceful

terms:

In recognition of Congress’ principal purpose of ensur-

ing that private arbitration agreements are enforced

according to their terms, we have held that the FAA pre-

empts state laws which require a judicial forum for the

resolution of claims which the contracting parties agree

to resolve by arbitration. But it does not follow that the

FAA prevents the enforcement of agreements to arbitrate

under different rules than those set forth in the Act itself.

Indeed, such a result would be quite inimical to the

FAA’s primary purpose of ensuring that private agree-

ments to arbitrate are enforced according to their terms.

Arbitration under the Act is a matter of consent, not

coercion, and parties are generally free to structure their

arbitration agreements as they see fit. Just as they may

limit by contract the issues which they will arbitrate, so

too may they specify by contract the rules under which

that arbitration will be conducted.

Id. at 478-79 (citations and quotations omitted).

Similarly, in Mastrobueno, the parties’ arbitration agree-

ment contained a provision stating that New York law ap-

plied. Mastrobuono, 514 U.S. at 53. Because New York

courts had decided that the power to award punitive damages

was limited to judicial tribunals and could not be exercised by

arbitrators, the Court was faced with the issue of “whether a

contractual choice—of—law provision may preclude an arbitral

award of punitive damages that otherwise would be proper.”

Id. at $8. Although the Court ultimately held that the parties

did not intend to foreclose an arbitral award of punitive

damages, the decision clearly supports the parties’ freedom to

22

contract for such an exclusion if they so desired. In this

regard, the Court, citing Vo/t, made the familiar statement that

the “central purpose” of the FAA was to ensure that private

agrcements to arbitrate are enforced according to their terms.

Id. at 53. Holding that “the FAA’s pro-arbitration policy does

not operate without regard to the wishes of the contracting

parties,” the Court was prepared to enforce the parties’ agree-

ment whether it included or excluded punitive damages. /d.

at 57-58.

Similarly, in First Options of Chicago, Inc. v. Kaplan, 514

U.S. 938 (1995), the Court again gave free reign to the parties

to structure their arbitration agreement as they saw fit, cven if

the agreement altered the role of the reviewing court_as

prescribed by the FAA. In First Options, the Court permitted

the parties to an arbitration agreement to alter the role of

the reviewing court as prescribed in the FAA and to allow

the arbitrator to determine, in the first instance, whether the

dispute was arbitral. Under the FAA, the determination as to

whether a dispute is arbitrable is reserved for the court. For

example, section 3 of the FAA states that the court in any

proceeding brought upon any issue referable to arbitration

shall stay the action until such arbitration has been held in

accordance with the terms of the arbitration agreement if the

court “is satisfied that the issue in such suit or proceeding is

referable to arbitration.” 9 U.S.C. § 3. Section 4 states that,

in the event that a party to an arbitration agreement fails to

proceed to arbitration, the court shall make an order directing

the parties to proceed “in accordance with the terms of the

agreement.” 9 U.S.C. § 4. The normal rule is thus that

the court, not the arbitrator, decides arbitrability. See, e.g.,

Howsam v. Dean Witter Reynolds, 537 U.S. 79, 82 (2002).

However, in First Options, this Court permitted the parties

to alter the traditional role of the court by private agreement.

The Court held that the question of “who has the primary

power to decide arbitrability turns upon what the parties

23

agreed about that matter.” /d. at 943 (emphasis in original).

The Court’s conclusion that the partics could decide the issue

flowed “inexorably from the fact that arbitration is simply a

matter of contract between the parties * * *.” /d.

In this case, the Ninth Circuit held that Kyocera compelled

reversal because the trial court had engaged in de novo review

of the arbitrator’s decision (according to the express terms of

the parties’ agreement) and had gone beyond the FAA stan-

dard of review. However, the reasoning behind Kyocera’s

holding is contrary to this Court’s precedents.

For example, the Kyocera rule as applied by the Ninth

Circuit in this case gives short shrift to the oft-repeated hold-

ing of this Court that the “central purpose” of the FAA is to

give effect to the parties’ contractual agreement to arbitrate.'”

Rather, the court in Kyocera cited to modern views of arbitra-

tion, views which extol its supposed speed, economy and

informality. Kyocera, 341 F.3d at 998.

Elevating these claimed benefits of arbitration over the

central purpose of the FAA is contrary to this Court’s prece-

dents. As stated in Volt, while “Congress was no doubt aware

that the Act would encourage the expeditious resolution of

disputes, its passage ‘was motivated, first and foremost by a

congressional desire to enforce agreements to which parties

had entered.”” Volt, 489 U.S. at 477 (citing Byrd, 470 U.S. at

220). In Byrd, this Court expressly held that efficiency and

speedy resolution of claims is not the main concern of the

'* This Court’s holding that the central purpose of the FAA is to give

effect to the parties’ agreement is also supported by the FAA’s legislative

history. See, e.g., Dean Witter Reynolds Inc. v. Byrd, 470 U.S. 213, 219-

20 (1985). Nowhere does the legislative history assert that an agreement

to arbitrate must be enforced only in accordance with the FAA or that a

court is precluded from enforcing a contract on its own terms 1f the

contract expands on the FAA’s terms. Koptsiovsky, 4 Right to Contract

for a Judicial Review of an Arbitration Award: Does Freedom of Contract

Apply to Arbitration Agreements”, 36 Conn. L. Rev. at 614-15.

24

FAA and that it would not overlook what it viewed to be the

principal objective of the FAA ~ specific enforcement of

arbitration agreements — in favor of a mere “efficient” dispute

resolution. /d. at 219-20.'* Similarly, in First Options, this

Court held that “the basic objective in this area is not to

resolve disputes in the quickest manner possible, no matter

what the parties’ wishes,” but rather to ensure that arbitration

agreements, like other contracts, are enforced according to

their terms. First Options, 514 U.S. at 947.

As stated earlier, the Ninth Circuit’s decision in Kyocera

was also based on its assumption that expanded judicial re-

view allowed the parties to define the jurisdiction of the

district court by contract and/or that the parties were attempt-

ing to dictate how the court functioned. Kyocera, 341 F.3d at

999. However, this concern is misplaced because the FAA

docs not create an independent ground for federal court juris-

diction. Moses H. Cone, 460 U.S. at 26. In this case, the

district court had independent jurisdictional grounds to decide

the case based on its diversity jurisdiction and had the power

to decide all factual and legal issues in the case until the

parties entered into an arbitration agreement after the case

was partially decided. The expanded judicial review provi-

sion was specifically approved by the district court, which

relied on the Ninth Circuit’s decision in LaPine, which had

held that such provisions were enforceable.

As to the Ninth Circuit’s concern that allowing expanded

judicial review permits the partics to dictate how the court

functions, this Court’s decisions support the rights 01 parties

to agree to waive statutory and other rights, even if such

waiver affects the conduct of the court’s proceedings. See,

e.g., United States v. Mezzanatto, 513 U.S. 196, 200-01

06 on . , fe ° she

The Court in Byrd held that the “preeminent concern of Congress in

passing the Act was to enforce private agreements to arbitrate***."” Byrd,

470 US. at 221.

25

(1995) (criminal defendant may waive evidentiary admissibil-

ity of plea negotiations); Sac and Fox Indians of Miss. in

lowa v. Sac and Fox Indians of Miss. in Okl., 220 U.S. 481,

488-89 (1911) (waiver of evidentiary rule barring hearsay). It

is thus clear that, “absent an affirmative indication of Con-

gress’ intent to preclude waiver, we have presumed that

statutory provisions are subject to waiver by voluntary agree-

ment of the parties.” Mezzanatto, 513 U.S. at 201.

In addition, courts have permitted parties to waive affirma-

tive defenses that would normally bar the court from deciding

the case on the merits. Thus, in Photopaint Technologies.,

LLC v. Smartlens Corp., 335 F.3d 152, 160 (2d Cir. 2003),

the court held that the parties could agree to waive the statute

of limitations for confirming an arbitration award under

Section 9 of the FAA. Absent the parties’ stipulation, the

court would have been directed by Congress pursuant to the

terms of the FAA not to hear the dispute. See also United

States v. Wilson, 26 F.3d 142, 154-56 (D.C. Cir. 1994)

(discussing various cases which uphold agreements to waive

statutes of limitations).

The Ninth Circuit’s rule, enforced in this case, that parties

cannot waive what would otherwise be their right to have an

arbitration award judged under an extremely deferential stan-

dard of review is without support in this Court’s cases. The

rule reflects a judicial approach which applies subjective and

varying public policy views over precedent and which affords

greater weight to the supposed speed and efficiency of

arbitration than to the rights of the parties to contract for the

type of arbitration process which best suits their needs. See

Mezzanotto, 513 U.S. at 207 (the Court criticized the Ninth

Circuit for its reliance upon “public policy “ to “override the

presumption of waivability”).

While the Ninth Circuit accepts that the FAA creates only a

default standard which the parties can “contract around” for

all purposes prior to the final arbitration award, its policy

26

views cause it to abandon that premise with regards to judi-

cial review, despite the fact that there is nothing cither in the

text of the FAA or its legislative history to indicate that this

was Congress’ intent. Kyocera, 341 F.3d at 1000. In the face

of clear and long-standing authority from this Court that the

central purpose of the FAA is to give effect to the parties’

agreement to arbitrate, the Ninth Circuit’s avoidance of that

purpose when it comes to judicial review (and that of the

Tenth Circuit as set forth in Bowen) is without support and is

based solely on the court’s views of the public policy benefits

of arbitration.

In this case, the parties had the right to have their dispute

decided by the district court, which clearly possessed jurisdic-

tion over the case. They sought to conserve their own

resources, and that of the district court, by agrecing to try the

remaining issues in the case before an arbitrator. However,

the central premise of their agreement to arbitrate was that the

district court would retain the authority to correct errors of

law. Neither side bargained for an arbitration award which

contained such errors. Their agreement to arbitrate with

expanded judicial review was expressly approved by the

district court in reliance on the Ninth Circuit’s prior holding

in LaPine, which approved expanded judicial review under

the FAA. The arbitrator’s initial decision contained a fun-

damental error of law, which was corrected by the district

court in accordance with the parties’ agreement and resulted

in a final award in favor of Hall Street.

The Ninth Circuit’s reliance on Kyocera in this case has the

practical effect of reinstating an arbitral ruling on an issue of

law which Judge Graber of the Ninth Circuit held was “com-

pletely irrational” and which the pancl majority recognized

might very well be erroncous. The parties’ reasonable expec-

tations as set forth in their agreement to arbitrate are thus

being directly frustrated, to Hall Street's great disadvantage.

However, if the arbitration award had been issued in Boston,

27

Philadelphia, New Orleans or a myriad of other locations

throughout the First, Third, Fourth, Fifth and/or Sixth Cir-

cuits, Hall Street would be the prevailing party, not Mattel.

The central purpose of the FAA is to enforce agreements to

arbitrate according to their express terms. The holdings of

the Ninth and Tenth Circuits undermine this purpose while

the holdings of the First, Third, Fourth, Fifth and Sixth

Circuits follow this Court’s precedents and give controlling

weight to this principal purpose of the FAA.

The FAA was also intended to create a uniform federal

substantive law of arbitration. The current deep split in the

circuits concerning the important issue of expanded judicial

review under the FAA frustrates this important statutory

purpose as well. This Court should accept review to resolve

this important issue of statutory construction under the FAA.

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, the petition for writ of certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL T. GARONE *

MICHAEL A. COHEN

SCHWABE, WILLIAMSON

& WYATT, P.C.

1211 SW Fifth Ave., Suites 1600-1900

Portland, OR 97204-3795

(503) 222-998]

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

9 USCS § 2

§ 2. Validity, irrevocability, and enforcement of agree-

ments to arbitrate

A written provision in any maritime transaction or a contract

evidencing a transaction involving commerce to settle by

arbitration a controversy thereafter arising out of such

contract or transaction, or the refusal to perform the whole or

any part thereof, or an agreement in writing to submit to

arbitration an existing controversy arising out of such a

contract, transaction, or refusal, shall be valid, irrevocable,

and enforceable, save upon such grounds as exist at law or in

equity for the revocation of any contract.

9 USCS § 9

§ 9. Award of arbitrators; confirmation; jurisdiction;

procedure

If the parties in their agreement have agreed that a judgment

of the court shall be entered upon the award made pursuant to

the arbitration, and shall specify the court, then at any time

within one year after the award is made any party to the

arbitration may apply to the court so specified for an order

confirming the award, and thercupon the court must grant

such an order unless the award is vacated, modified, or

corrected as prescribed in sections 10 and 11 of this title [9

USCS §§ 10, 11]. If no court is specified in the agreement of

the parties, then such application may be made to the United

States court in and for the district within which such award

was made. Notice of the application shall be served upon the

adverse party, and thercupon the court shall have jurisdiction

of such party as though he had appeared generally in the

proceeding. If the adverse party is a resident of the district

within which the award was made, such service shall be made

upon the adverse party or his attorney as prescribed by law

2a

for service of notice of motion in an action in the same court.

If the adverse party shall be a nonresident, then the notice of

the application shall be served by the marshal of any district

within which the adverse party may be found in like manner

as other process of the court.

9 USCS § 10.

§ 10. Same; vacation; grounds; rehearing

(a) In any of the following cases the United States court in

and for the district whercin the award was made may make an

order vacating the award upon the application of any party to

the arbitration --

(1) where the award was procured by corruption, fraud,

or undue means;

(2) where there was evident partiality or corruption in

the arbitrators, or either of them;

(3) where the arbitrators were guilty of misconduct in

refusing to postpone the hearing, upon sufficient cause

shown, or in refusing to hear evidence pertinent and

material to the controversy; or of any other misbehavior by

which the rights of any party have been prejudiced; or

(4) where the arbitrators exceeded their powers, or so

imperfectly executed them that a mutual, final, and definite

award upon the subject matter submitted was not made.

(b) If an award is vacated and the time within which the

agreement required the award to be made has not expired,

the court may, in its discretion, direct a rehearing by the

arbitrators.

(c) The United States district court for the district wherein an

award was made that was issued pursuant to section 580 of

title 5 may make an order vacating the award upon the

application of a person, other than a party to the arbitration,

who is adversely affected or aggricved by the award, if the

3a

use of arbitration or the award is clearly inconsistent with the

factors set forth in section 572 of title 5.

9 USCS § 11

§ 11. Same; modification or correction; grounds; order

In either of the following cases the United States court in and

for the district wherein the award was made may make an

order modifying or correcting the award upon the application

of any party to the arbitration --

(a) Where there was an evident material miscalculation

of figures or an evident material mistake in the description

of any person, thing, or property referred to in the award.

(b) Where the arbitrators have awarded upon a matter

not submitted to them, unless it is a matter not affecting the

merits of the decision upon the matter submitted.

(c) Where the award is imperfect in matter of form not

affecting the merits of the controversy.

The order may modify and correct the award, so as to effect

the intent thereof and promote justice between the parties.

4a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF OREGON

{Filed OCT 23, 2001]

Case No. CV 00-355-JO

HALL STREET ASSOCIATES, L.L.C.,

a Washington Limited Liability Company,

Plaintiff,

v.

MATTEL, INC., a Delaware corporation; TYCO INDUS-

TRIES, INC., a Delaware corporation, TYCO MANU-

FACTURING CORP., a Delaware corporation; and VIEW-

MASTER IDEAL GROUP, INC., an Oregon corporation,

Defendants.

STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER

REGARDING AGREEMENT TO ARBITRATE

MARC D. BLACKMAN,

Oregon Bar No. 73033

RANSOM BLACKMAN LLP

1001 S.W. Fifth Avenue, Suite 1400

Portland, Oregon 97204-1144

Telephone: (503) 228-0487

Facsimile: (530) 227-5984

E-mail: marc@ransomblackman.com

PETER HSIAO, California Bar No. 119881

SIEGMUND SHYVU, California Bar No. 208076

MORRISON & FOERSTER, LLP

555 West Fifth Street, Suite 3500

Los Angeles, California 90013-10024

Telephone: (213) 892-5200

Facsimile: (213) 892-5454

E-mail: phsiao@moto.com

Attorneys for Defendant Mattel, Inc.

Sa

The partics, through the signatures of their counsel on this

Stipulation, hereby agree to the following:

|. The parties in Case No. 00-355-JO, plaintiff Hall

Street Associates, L.L.C., and defendant Mattel, Inc., agree to

arbitrate before one arbitrator all remaining issues not decided

previously in this case by the Court, the Honorable Robert E.

Jones presiding. The arbitrator shall prepare written findings

of fact and conclusions of law that may be reviewed by Judge

Jones at the request of either party, as more fully described in

paragraph 27 of the Rules attached as Exhibit A hereto.

2. All parties agree that the remaining issues in this case

are set forth in the pleadings and referenced in the pretrial

order and are as follows:

A. Whether the repairs and maintenance that Mattel

performed prior to May 31, 2001 satisfied its repair and

maintenance obligations under the Lease? If not, what

additional repairs and maintenance are required and at what

cost?

B. Whether the payments that Mattel has made to

Hall Street in connection with litigation brought by third

parties satisfied its indemnity obligation under the Lease? If

not, what amounts does it owe for:

(1) The Christopherson case;

(2) The Schiffer, Phelps and Keith cases.

C. Whether Hall Street suffered a loss, and, if so,

whether Mattel has any obligation under the Lease to

compensate Hall Street for:

(1) Remediation of shallow soil contamination

located under the buildings, including the film processing

building and injection molding buildings, including remedia-

tion of the soil and damage to and loss of use of the buildings

themselves, in excess of the amount reflected in the estimate

6a

for this work that Mattel has previously offered to pay to

Hall Street;

(2) Expenses incurred by Hall Street in relation to

the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (“DEQ”)

proceeding relating to the deep aquifer contamination by

TCE, including any amounts Hall Street may be required to

pay to DEQ;

(3) Damages, if any, to Hall Street’s use or right

to withdraw water from under the property.

(4) Expenses incurred by Hall Street for environ-

mental consulting services performed by Dames & Moore in

connection with environmental issues on the property.

(5) Expenses incurred by Hall Street for legal

services rendered by Short, Cressman in connection with

environmental issues on the property.

(6) Expenses incurred by Hall Street in pursuing

claims against its own insurers regarding all of the above.

D. Which party is deemed to be the “prevailing

party” in this litigation and what amount is it entitled to

receive from the other under paragraph 24 of the Lease for

the attorney’s fees and costs it incurred as a result of this

litigation?

3. The arbitrator shall decide the arbitration on or before

December 30, 2001, and issue written findings of fact and

conclusions of law. Any request for review of the arbitrator's

decision will be made by motion to Judge Jones and filed

within 15 days of the arbitrator’s ruling.

4. The arbitration wil! leave in place all issues already

decided by Judge Jones, meluding the orders dated Decem-

ber 11, 2000 and May 21. 2001.

5. The parties agree to schedule the arbitration to begin

on December 12, 2001, to continue until completed to the

7a

arbitrator’s satisfaction. The parties agree that there will be no

formal discovery. The parties will exchange expert reports

prior to the arbitration, and limit the expert testimony to the

opinions contained in those reports as provide by the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure.

6. The parties agree that they will in good faith work

together to select an arbitrator, who shall be selected on or

before November 1, 2001.

7. The parties agree to extend the Protective Order

entered by the Court on April 4, 2001 to cover all matters in

the arbitration, including the arbitrator’s written findings of

fact and conclusion of law.

8. The partics will conduct the arbitration according to

the rules attached hereto as Exhibit A.

9. The parties agree that this agreement will bind both

parties, and waive any challenge they may have to the

procedures set forth in this Agreement.

10. The parties agree that they have both fully par-

ticipated in the drafting of this Agreement, are represented by

counsel, and have negotiated this Agreement at arm’s-length,

and therefore there will be no presumption that ambiguities, if

any, in this Agreement be interpreted against the drafter.

11. This Agreement may be executed in one or more

counterparts, each of which shall be deemed an original

agreement, but all of which shall be considered one instru-

ment and shall become a binding agreement when one or

more counterparts have been signed by each of the partics and

delivered to the other.

12. This Agreement constitutes the entire agreement

among the parties to it, and supersedes any prior or contem-

poraneous understandings or agreement with respect to the

issues addressed herein. It may be amended only by a written

instrument executed by all of the parties.

8a

IT IS SO STIPULATED AND AGREED.

Dated: 10/22/01.

MARC D. BLACKMAN

RANSOM BLACKMAN LLP

PETER HSIAO

SIEGMUND SHYU

MORRISON & FOERSTER, LLP

By: /s/ [Illegible]

MARC D. BLACKMAN, Esq.

Attorneys for Defendant Mattel, Inc.

Dated: 10/22/01.

JAMES M. FINN

DEBRA MALDONADO

SCHWABE, WILLIAMSON &

WYATT, P.C.

By: /s/ James M. Finn

JAMES M. FINN, Esq.

Attorneys for Plaintiff Hall Street

Associates, L.L.C.

IT IS SO ORDERED

Dated: Oct. 23, 2001.

/s/ Robert E. Jones

HON. ROBERT E. JONES

U.S. District Court Judge

9a

RULES FOR THE ARBITRATION BETWEEN HALL

STREET ASSOCIATES, LLC AND MATTEL, INC.

General: The parties intend for this arbitration to be

conducted, to the extent possible, according to the rules

of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and Local

Rules of the U.S. District Court for the District of

Oregon. Where the following rules do not specifically

address the issue, the parties agree that the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure will be given the most

persuasive weight in the arbitrator’s decision on how to

resolve the issue.

Service and Filing.

A. Service and Filing: How Made. All papers will

be served and filed by fax and mail on all counsel of

record pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 5(b).

Hearing Site. The arbitration hearing shall begin on

December 12, 2001 and be held at the arbitrator’s

office, or a site to be selected by the arbitrator in

Portland, Oregon.

Appointment of Arbitrator. The arbitrator shall be

identified to the Court by November 1, 2001.

Conduct and Role of Arbitrator. In the arbitration

proceeding, an arbitrator shall be bound by the same

ethical considerations as that of a judge and will adhere

to the conduct prescribed by the Code of Judicial

Conduct, After the appointment of the arbitrator, the

arbitration proceeding thereafter shall be conducted by

the arbitrator.

Restrictions on Communication Between Arbitrator

and Parties. No disclosure of any offers or settlement

made by any party shall be made to the arbitrator prior

to the announcement of the award. Neither counsel nor

any party may communicate with the arbitrator re-

10.

10a

garding the merits of the case except in the presence of,

or upon reasonable notice to, all other parties. An

application or discussion for a postponement or other

such periphcral matters may be communicated directly

with the arbitrator when warranted by necessity and

time constraints, but only after unsuccessful attempts to

communicate through the secretary of the arbitrator and

after unsuccessful attempts to discuss the matter via

conference call among all concerned.

Compensation of Arbitrator.

A. Statement of Time Expended And Expenses. An

arbitrator shall serve a detailed Statement of Time

Expended on each party within fourteen days after the

award or supplemental award or any earlier termination

of the arbitration by scttlement or otherwise, accom-

panied by any refund due to cach party who paid the

compensation deposit. The Statement of Time Ex-

pended shall itemize the dates, task performed, and

time spent by the arbitrator on the arbitration, or shall

indicate the minimum fee charge, and shall also list

expenses reimbursable. The parties shall each pay one

half of the arbitrator’s fees and expenses.

Postponements. A hearing date may be postponed only

upon just and sufficient cause by the arbitrator, or upon

the application of any party to the arbitrator (whose

decision shall be final), or by the agreement of the

parties.

Issues to be Presented. The parties agree that the

issues to be decided in the arbitration are set forth in

the Stipulation and Order Regarding Agreement to

Arbitrate, as signed by Judge Jones.

Discovery. There will be no discovery.

11.

lla

Exchange of Proof. At least fourteen days prior to the

date of the arbitration hearing, each party shall file with

the arbitrator and serve upon all other parties a

statement containing a list of witnesses whom the party

intends to call at the arbitration hearing, a list of

exhibits and documentary evidence. The statement

shall contain a narrative statement of the matters about

which each witness will be called to testify, which will

serve as the witnesses’ direct testimony, the address

and telephone number of each such witness and affiant,

and whether the Witness will testify by telephone. At

least seven days prior to the arbitration hearing, each

party shall file and serve upon a!l other parties its

exhibits and other documentary evidence, including its

expert report, and a “trial brief” for the mediation.

Plaintiff shall designate its experts and serve on the

other party the reports required by Fed. R. Civ. P.

26(a)(2)(B) not later than November 2, 2001. Defen-

dant shall designate experts to be called by defendant

and serve on the other party the reports required by

Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(a)(2)(B) not later than November 30,

2001. Plaintiff shall not be permitted to add any new

rebuttal expert, but may serve on the other party

rebuttal expert reports not later than December 6, 2001.

The rebuttal report will be limited to respond only to

matters raised in one of defendant's expert reports, and

shall not introduce or address any issue not raised in

defendants’ report. The mediator will also take into

account the fact that defendant is not filing rebuttal

reports under this schedule, and allow appropriate

rebuttal testimony from defendant’s experts at the

arbitration hearing. All experts will be limited to testify

at trial to the matters identified in their report.

A party failing to comply with the rules delineated in

this paragraph may not present at the hearing a witness,

12.

12a

exhibit or documentary evidence required to be dis-

closed or made availabic, except with the permission of

the arbitrator.

Conduct of Hearing.

A. Procedure The arbitrator shall exercise reason-

able control over the mode and order of interrogating

witnesses and presenting evidence so as to:

1. Make the interrogation and presentatior effective

for the ascertainment of the facts.

2. Protect witnesses from harassment or undue ©

embarrassment.

B. Oaths and Evidence. The arbitration shall be

conducted under the Federal Rules of Evidence. A

witness shall be placed under oath or affirmation by the

arbitrator prior to presenting testimony. If the hear-

ing room has a speaker phone, a witness may testify

by telephone, unless the arbitrator finds that this

method would be unfair. The arbitrator may question

any witness.

C. Recording. The hearing shall be recorded by

stenographer or clectronically by the arbitrator.

D. Stipulation to Evidence. The parties should stip-

ulate to the admission of evidence where there is no

genuine issue as to its relevancy or authenticity.

FE. Privacy. Unless otherwise specifically provided

by law, the hearing and all proccedings herein shall be

private. All matters in the arbitration, including but not

limited to any testimony, documents, findings of fact,

conclusions of law, or transcript of the proceedings,

shall be kept confidential under the terms of the

Protective Order entered by the U.S. District Court in

this matter on April 4, 2001.

13.

14.

15.

16.

13a

F. Exhibit/Witness List. The arbitrator shall make a

record of the names and addresses of the witnesses, and

the exhibits offered and reccived into evidence.

Sanction for Failure to Comply with Arbitration

Order. The arbitrator shall have the authority to

require a party, an attorney advising each party, or

both, to pay the reasonable expenses, including

attorney’s fees, caused by the failure of such party or

attorney, or both, to obcy an order of the arbitrator.

Subpoena and Contempt Power. The arbitrator shall

have the power granted in 9 USC Sec. 7 to compel the

attendance of witnesses duly notified by either party

and to enforce from either party the production of all

books, papers and documents deemed material to the

cause by the arbitrator. The arbitrator or a party shall

have the right granted in 9 USC Sec. 7 to initiate

contempt proceedings against any witness or party

refusing to answer a subpoena or obey any lawful order

of the arbitrator.

Failure or Refusal of a Party to Participate; Prima

Facie Hearing. The failure, refusal, or inability of any

party to participate in the arbitration process or to

attend the hearing or any portion thereof, or a party’s

failure to obtain an adjournment or postponement of the

hearing or any portion thereof after due notice thereof,

shall not prevent the arbitration process from con-

tinuing or prevent the hearing from taking place as

scheduled or prevent an award from being rendered.

However, the arbitrator shall not render an award

except upon evidence made at the hearing sufficient to

support the award rendered.

Adjournments. Upon the request of any party and at

the discretion of the arbitrator, the hearing maybe

adjourned from time to time. The hearing shall be

adjourned upon the joint request of all parties.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

l4a

Closing of Hearing. After each party has stated that it

has no further evidence to present, the arbitrator shall

declare the hearing closed and may thereupon, at the

discretion of the arbitrator, hear oral arguments of the

parties.

Reopening of Hearing. A hearing may be reopened

prior to the rendering of the award upon the motion of

the arbitrator or by the arbitrator upon the application

of any party if, in the discretion of the arbitrator, it

appears just and proper to do so.

When Decision Due. The arbitrator shall render a

written decision promptly and shall make every rea-

sonable effort to render the award within fourteen days

from the close of the hearing.

Scope of the Decision. The arbitrator shall prepare

written findings of fact and conclusions of law.

Form of Decision and Delivery. The decision shal’ be

in writing and signed by the arbitrator. A signed

original of the award shall be served upon each party

by fax on the date it is signed, and by regular mail.

Costs and Attorney’s Fees.

A. Procedure. If the arbitrator decides that the Lease

requires the payment of attorney’s fees and costs to

cither side, the arbitrator shall require the prevailing

party to submit a statement containing a detailed,

itemized list of such feces and costs sought in com-

pliance with the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and

the Local Rules of the U.S. District Court for the

District of Oregon. The arbitrator shall provide the non

prevailing party an opportunity to submit a written

objection, also in compliance with the Federal Rules

and Local Rules as stated above. The arbitrator will set

a schedule for the submission of these items, and issue

23.

24.

N

lSa

a supplemental decision without farther hearing (unless

requested by the arbitrator) that contains findings of

fact and conclusions of law sufficient to support any

such payment. The award shall specifically state the

award in a dollar amount,, and provide that payment is

to be made in 30 days from the date of decision. The

supplemental decision shall be issued within 21 days of

the decision issued pursuant to Paragraph 19 above,,

following the same form and procedure for the entry of

that decision, and shall be limited to the issue of costs

and attorney’s fees.

Correcting an Award.

A. Purpose. A decision or supplemental decision

may be amended by the arbitrator to correct an inad-

vertent miscalculation, description, designation, etc., or

a typographical error or misplaced decimal point. An

amended award shall not change any decision on its

merits.

Confirmation of Award by Judgment. The parties

will submit the decision and supplemental decision to

U.S. District Court for the District of Oregon (U.S.

District Judge Robert E, Jones, presiding) within thirty

(30) days after the issuance of the decision, for the

confirmation of the decision as a judgment of such

court. Either party may request that the Court set a

bricfing schedule for review or modification of the

dvcision. Any Court review of the arbitrator’s decision

shall be as set forth in paragraph 27 below.

Return of Exhibits. The exhibits and any recording of

the proceeding will be submitted upon request of either

party to the U.S. District Court for its review. If these

materials are not requested by the Court, the arbitrator

may request that the partics stipulate to the release

and/or destruction of these materials.

26.

27.

28.

l6a

Modification of Rules by Stipulation. The parties

may by stipulation modify any of these rules.

Judicial Review of Arbitrator’s Findings of Fact

and Conclusions of Law. The arbitrator shall decide

the matters submitted based upon the evidence

presented and the applicable law. The arbitrator shall

issue a written decision which shall state the basis of

the decision and include specific findings of fact and

conclusions of law. The United States District Court for

the District of Oregon may enter judgment upon any

award, either by confirming the award or by vacating,

modifying or correcting the award. The Court shall

vacate, modify or correct any award: (i) where the

arbitrator’s findings of factS are not supported by

substantial evidence, or (ii) where the arbitrator’s con-

clusions of law are erroneous.

No Contesting of Arbitration Rules. The partics agree

that no party shall contest in any court of law the

arbitration rules set forth herein as contrary to any le ¥,

regulation, rule, or guidcline.

17a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF OREGON

Case No. CV 00-355-JO

HALL STREET ASSOCIATES, L.L.C.,

a Washington Limited Liability Company,

Plaintiff,

V.

MATTEL, INC., a Delaware corporation; TYCO INDUS-

TRIES, INC., a Delaware corporation, TYCO MANU-

FACTURING CORP., an Oregon corporation; TYCO

TOYS INC., a Delaware corporation; and VIEW-

MASTER IDEAL GROUP, INC., an Oregon corporation,

Defendants.

ARBITRATOR’S FINDINGS OF FACT AND

CONCLUSION OF LAW

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Plaintiff dall Street Associates, L.L.C. (“Hall Street”)

is a Washington limited liability company and is the owner of

certain property in Washington County, Oregon, located at

8585 S.W. Hall Boulevard, Beaverton, Oregon (the “Prop-

erty”). Cascade Square Associates (“Cascade”) is the sole

principal of Hall Street and its predecessor-in-interest.

2. Defendant Mattel, Inc. (“Mattel”) is a Delaware corpora-

tion doing business in Oregon. Its “predecessors-in-interest.”” as

that tenn is commonly understood, but without regard to the

“Lease” referred to below, are View-Master International

Group, Inc., and View-Master Ideal Group (collectively “View-

Master”); and Tyco Industries, Inc.. Tyco Manufacturing

Corporation, and Tyco Toys, Inc. (“collectively “Tyco”).

18a

History of the Property

3. The Property was once a part of a lasgcr, 50-acre L-

shaped property. The larger property consisted of three

distinct parcels, known as Parcels |, 2, and 3.

4. From 1951 to 1967, Sawyers, Inc. (“Sawyers”) owned

Parcels 1, 2, and 3, and operated a toy manufacturing facility.

5. In 1967, GAF acquired Sawyers and continued

operations at the site.

6. In 1979, GAP sold Parcel 3 to the Southern Pacific

Industrial Development Company.

7. In 1981, GAF sold Parcels | and 2 to View-Master.

8. View-Master owned and operated Parcels | and 2 from

approximately 1981 to 1983.

9. In 1983, View-Master sold Parcels | and 2 to Western

International Propertics (also known as Western Industrial

Propertics), but leased back Parcel 1 to continue its manu-

facturing activities.

10. In 1984, Western International Properties subdivided

Parcel 1, with the northwest corner sold to Commercial Real

Estate Company, which redeveloped it as an office building.

The remaining portion of Parcel | (the “Property”) was sold

to John Eyler in 1984. Mr. Eyler subsequently conveyed

Parcel | to Cascade in 1985.

11. In 1989, Tyco acquired the assets of View-Master,

which remained a subsidiary of Tyco.

12. In 1997, Mattel acquired Tyco.

13. In 1998, Cascade transferred its ownership interest in

the Property to Hall Strect.

14. On May 31, 2000, Mattel sent Hall Street a Notice of

Termination informing Hall Strect that it was terminating the

lease effective May 31, 2001, almost two years prior to the

scheduled lease termination date in 2003. At an earlier stage

19a

of this litigation, Hall Street alleged ihat Mattel’s early

termination of the lease term was not permitied under the

terms of the lease. Judge Jones bifurcated tha’ issue from the

issues in this arbitration and, after a two-day bench trial,

concluded that Mattei’s termination did not violate the

agreement. Accordingly, Mattel’s early termination of the

lease is not an issue in this arbitration.

15. The Lease terminated and Mattel vacated the Property

on May 31, 2001. Except for remediation efforts, the Property

remains unoccupied.

The Lease

16. On March 5, 1991, View-Master entered into a Lease

Agreement with Cascade for the Property (the “Lease”). On

April 26, 1996, Cascade and View-Master executed a First

Amendment to the Lease, which, among other items,

extended the term of the Lease.

17. The Lease was negotiated by Robert Hibbs, an attorney

and partner of Cascade, for the Landlord, and Dennis

Wesolowski and Michael Kennedy, attorneys for Vicw-

Master. Both parties participated in drafting certain portions

of the Lease.

18. The Lease was negotiated in the context that View-

Master was the only party with intimate knowledge of the

property and would, therefore, indemnify Hall Street for all

activities with respect to the premises whether or not they

occurred before the date of the original lease of June 1, 1985,

with limited exceptions.

19. The Lease replaced the Original Lease dated June 1,

1985, which had provided in Section 6.3 as follows:

“Tenant shall indemnify and defend Landlord from

any claim, loss, or liability arising out of or related to

any action or inaction of Tenant, its employees, agents

or invitees or any condition of the Property.” (Em-

phasis added.)

20a

20. The recitals to the Lease provide as follows:

“B. View-Master designed and constructed the

Premises as a toy manufacturing facility at a time

when it owned the underlying real property. View-

Master has been the only party to occupy or conduct

business on the Premises. View-Master continued to

lease the Premises front Landlord pursuant to the

Original Lease which provided that View-Master

Indemnified Landlord for its actions with respect to

the Premises or any condition of the Premises. The

parties intended that such Indemnity applied to

Tenant’s actions in constructing the Premises, including

its choice of building materials, and all activities with

respect to the Premises whether or not they occurred

before the date of the Original Lease.

C. In Executing this Lease, the parties intend that

Tenant shall assume View-Master’s obligation to

indemnify Landlord under the Original Lease, which

indemnity obligation shal] survive termination of the

Original Lease, and intend that Tenant shall indem-

nify Landlord for any actual or potential liability

Landlord may be exposed to as a result of Tenant’s

future actions with respect to the Premises. Because

the Premises are a_ self-contained manufacturing

facility constructed and previously owned by View-

Master, and because the Original Lease was on a

triple net basis, Landlord has not been actively

involved in managing the Premises and relied on

View-Master’s agreement to indemnify Landlord for

Its actions.” (Emphasis added.)

21. In addition, the Lease contains the following relevant

sections:

a. Section 5(b) provides, in pertinent part:

“Tenant shall comply at its expense with all ap-

plicable laws, rules and regulations of any public

2la

authority, including but not limited to those regarding

maintenance, operation, and use of the Premises, use

of machinery and signs on the Premises, and those

regarding discharging hazardous materials or any

other waste.” (Emphasis added.)

. Section 5(c) provides, in pertinent part:

“Tenant shall not conduct or permit any activities on the

Premises that create a nuisance or damage the reputation

of the Premises or Landlord’s adjoining property, or are

reasonably offensive to Landlord, or other owners or

users of adjoining property.”

. Section 8(a) provides:

‘Maintenance of the Premises. Tenant will, at its sole

cost and expense, maintain the Premises and make

repairs to the Premises, including without limitation

the heating, ventilating, air conditioning, mechanical,

electrical, elevator, and plumbing systems, structural

roof, walls, and foundations, the fixtures and appur-

tenances to the Premises, other improvements, sidewalks

and parking areas as and when required or requested

by any governmental agency or when needed to

preserve them in good repair, operating condition,

working order and good appearances, and regardless

of whether the repairs are ordinary or extraordinary,

foresceable or unforeseeable, capital or noncapital, or

the fault or not the fault of Tenant, its agents,

employees, invitees, visitors, or contractors. All such

repairs will be in quality and class equal to the

original work or installations.” (Emphasis added.)

. Section 12(a) provides, in pertinent part:

“Tenant shall comply with all federal, state and local

environmental laws and regulations in its use of the

Premises, including but not limited to the Resource

22a

Conservation and Recovery Act, as amended

(RCRA), and the Comprehensive Environmental

Response Compensation and Liability Act, as

amended (CERCLA). . .. Tenant shall indemnify,

hold harmless and defend Landlord against all costs

and claims associated with a release {of hazardous

wastes] whether occurring before the Lease Com-

mencement Date, or during the Lease term.”

(Emphasis added.)

. Section 12(b) provides:

“Tenant shall use its best efforts and safety practices

to prevent the release by Tenant, its agents or

employees of hazardous substances as herein defined

on the Premises. Tenant shall immediately notify

Landlord in writing of any release of hazardous waste. In

addition, Tenant assumes liability for the use or

presence in the Building materials or on or about the

Premises of any hazardous waste including but not

limited to asbestos or lead. Tenant assumes all

responsibility for the investigation and cleanup of any

such release or presence or use of hazardous Building

materials and shall indemnify and defend Landlord, its

officers, agents, and employces, against and from any

and all losses, costs, damages, expenses (including

environmental abatement costs) or liabilities directly

or indirectly resulting or arising from any such

release or presence or use or hazardous building

materials. Subject to the conditions of Section 12c,

below, this provision shall continue in full force and

effect regardless of whether this Lease is terminated

pursuant to any other provision or the Premises are

vacated by Tenant,” (Emptas:s © ed.)

. Section 12(c) provides, fhomert part:

“To the extent Tenant has been in compliance with

applicable environmental laws then, notwithstanding

23a

the foregoing language in Section 12.b. above, Tenant

shall not be held liable following the expiration of this

Lease term for the following: . . .

(iii) the removal and disposal of any hazardous waste

on the Premises, the presence or use of which

hazardous waste has not been caused directly or

indirectly by the acts of the Tenant or View-

Master Ideal Group, Inc.

If Landlord decides, at the time of the expiration of the

Lease, to demolish or otherwise tear down the Building,

and not to relet the Premises, then Tenant shall be liable

only for amounts that Tenant would have had to expend

had the Building remained standing and not for any

additional costs associated with the demolition or tearing

down of the Building.” (Emphasis added.)

. Section 12(d) provides:

“Hazardous waste, hazardous building materials or haz-

ardous substances for the purposes of this Lease shall be

defined to include, but shall not be limited to, the

following: ...

1b) Any substance defined as “hazardous substance,”

“hazardous material,” or “toxic substance” in:

(1) the Comprchensive Environmental Response,

Compensation, and Liability Act of 1980, as

amended;

(2) the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act, as

amended;

(3) the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, as

amended; and

(4) any similar federal, state, or local law or

regulation now or hereafter in effect.”

24a

h. Section 13({a) provides:

“Indemnification. Tenant shall defend and indemnify

Landlord and save it harmless from and against any

and all liability, damages, costs, or expenses, includ-

ing attorneys’ fees, arising from any act, omission, or

negligence of Tenant or its officers, contractors,

licensee; agents, servants, employees, guests, invitces,

predecessors-in-interest, or visitors in or about the

Building or Premises as a result of any act, omission

or negligence of Tenant or its officers, contractors,

licensees, agents, servants, employees, guests, invitees,

predecessors in interest, or visitors, whether occur-

ring in the construction of or choice of building

materials for the Building, occurring during or prior to

the Original Lease [or] during this Lease, relating to

discharging hazardous materials, or arising from any

breach or default under this Lease by Tenant.

In the event that Landlord is sued for failure to

comply with local, state or federal environmental

laws and/or regulations regarding the Premises, and it

is alleged the spill or violation occurred over a number

of years, some portion of which time is outside of the

term of this Lease or the Original Lease, then Landlord

shall agree to seek to have the other tenants (whether

prior or subsequent to the Lease or Original Lease) pay

for their prorated amount of Landlord’s defense costs in

such suit. Tenant’s obligation to defend shall not be

delayed but shall be limited to its allocable portion of

such defense costs. . . .

To the extent Tenant has been in compliance with

applicable environmental laws, notwithstanding the

foregoing language in Section 13.a. above, Tenant shall

not be held liable following the expiration of this Lease

term for the following: . . .

25a

(iit) the removal and disposal of any hazardous waste

on the Premises, the presence or use of which

hazardous waste has not been caused directly or

indirectly by the acts of the Tenant or View-

Master Ideal Group, Inc. ...

(iv) Any other liability, damage, cost, or expense

which has not been caused directly or indirectly

by the acts of Tenant or View-Master Ideal

Group, Inc. ...

If Landlord decides, at the time of the expiration of the

Lease, to demolish or otherwise tear down the Building,

and not to relet the Premises, then Tenant shall be liable

only for amounts that Tenant would have had to expend

had the Building remained standing and not for any

additional costs associated with the demolition or tearing

down of the Building.” (Emphasis added.)

1. Section 20 provides, in pertinent part:

“{U]pon expiration of the term of this Lease, whether by

lapse of time or otherwise, Tenant shall promptly and

peacefully surrender the Premises, together with all keys

thereto, to Landlord in as good condition as when re-

ceived by View-Master from Landlord under the Orig-

inal Lease or as thereafter improved, reasonable use,

wear and tear excepted.”

}. Section 31 provides:

“The Premises and Landlord’s adjoining property are

both served by a drainage system which consists of open

grates and underground sewers and catch basins. Tenant

shall maintain in good condition and repair the portion

of such system on the Premises and shall be responsible

to Landlord pursuant to the indemnity provisions in

Section 13 for any materials Tenant discharges into such

drainage system.

26a

k. Section 32 provides:

“The Premises and Landlord’s adjoining property are

both served by one unified sanitary sewer system. Ten-

ant shall be responsible for maintaining in good condi-

tion and repair the portion of such system located on the

Premises and shall be responsible to Landlord pursuant

to the indemnity provisions in Section 13 for any

materials Tenant discharges into such drainage system.”

19. During the negotiations, View-Master asked Cascade to

remove the term “predecessors-in-intercst” from Section 13a,

fearing that the language would later be interpreted to include

Sawyers and GAF. Cascade refused, but did agree to add

other language to Section 13 limiting View-Master’s liability

if certain conditions were met. Despite that refusal, View-

Master signed the Lease.

Environmental Issues at the Property

22. From approximately 1951 to 1980, GAF/Sawyers used

trichlorocthene (“TCE”) to remove grease from metal parts.

The degreasing operations occurred in a building on Parcel 2,

where TCE contamination of the shallow groundwater is

found today. GAF/Sawyers also disposed of sanitary wastes

via a septic tank and drainficld located at the north end of

Parcel 1, where shallow groundwater contamination is also

found today. Spills of TCE by GAF/Sawyers occurred at the

degreasing location and other areas. Drums of degreaser

wastes were dumped on Parcel 3 by GAF/Sawyers. There is

no evidence of TCE use at the facility after GAF sold the

Property in 1981.

23. The well and water tower on Parcel | were installed in

1950. The on-site well supplied facility water.

24. During the period 1981-1998, View-Master, Tyco, and

Mattel did not test the well water, groundwater, or shallow

soils for contaminants.

27a

25. In March 1998, during testing performed at the instance

of Hall Street by SECOR, an environmental consultant, water

from the well was discovered to contain TCE at levels far in

excess of the federal maximum allowable level. Efforts were

initiated under the auspices of the Oregon Department of

Environmental Quality (“DEQ”) to investigate the environ-

mental contamination problem and plan remedial efforts.

Those investigations revealed contamination of the Property

and adjacent parcels by several types of contaminants, in-

cluding TCE, petroleum hydrocarbons (“TPH”), cyanide,

chromium and silver. The contamination was determined to

exist not only in the on-site well, but also in the shallow soil,

groundwater, and deep aquifer underlying the Property.

26. Mattel shut down the well upon discovery of the

contamination. This shutdown is permanent and Hall Strect

has lost any water rights it had.

27. There is insufficient evidence to prove that Mattcl’s use

of the well aficr 1981 circulated TCE and resulted in

additional contamination of the shallow soil and groundwater.

28. There is insufficient evidence to prove that the condi-

tion of certain pipes after 1981 resulted in TCE leaks and

additional contamination of the shallow soil and groundwater.

29. In November 1998, Mattel and GAF entered into a

consent order with DEQ. GAF agreed to investigate the cn-

vironmental conditions of the Property, and Mattel agreed to

provide public outreach and communications to the employ-

ees. Interim cleanup actions to address areas of immediate

concern were completed during the Summer of 2001.

30. As part of the site investigation, a risk assessment was

performed under DEQ’s direction to evaluate all contami-

nants at all areas. The risk assessment identified current and

future risks at the site in two locations. First: unacceptable

risk was identified from TCE in the deep aquifer if that

source is to be used as drinking water. The risk assessment

also identified possible impact to ecological receptors in the

28a

wetland, if untreated water from the deep groundwater were

ever to be pumped to the surface and discharged.

31. Second, unacceptable risk was identified from TCE in

the shallow groundwater located at Parcel 2 in the location of

spills from GAF/Sawyers at the degreasing machine area and

at Parcel | in the GAF/Sawyers drainfield urea. This risk was

limited to trench workers who may be exposed to shallow

groundwater in those areas, should there be any excavation of

those areas in the future. The shallow groundwater in all other

areas of the Property have only low levels of TCE and other

associated compounds present, and therefore no current or

future remediation or special conditions are necessary.

32. Petroleum hydrocarbons were also identified in the soil

located under Buildings 400 and 800/900 that were used by

both GAF and View-Master for injection molding machines

and boilers. Because the hydrocarbons capped by the building

are immobile, and have low toxicity, DEQ has found that

the hydrocarbons are posing no risk and is not requiring

their remediation. However, if the buildings were ever re-

moved, and the soil was subsequently disturbed, the hydro-

carbons in the soil must, under DEQ’s direction, be properly

treated.

33. The contaminants in the soil in the remainder of Parcel

1 are below residential cleanup standards; therefore, no

current or future remediation or special conditions are neces-

sary as to the shallow soil.

34. The investigation and cleanup of contamination at the

Property, to the extent required by DEQ, is being addressed

by G-I Holdings, the successor to GAF, under DEQ’s

supervision. On October 29, 2001, DEQ issued its Recom-

mended Remedial Action Staff Report for the Property.

Repair Issucs

35.In general, View-Master, Tyco, and Mattel failed to

repair and maintain the Property as required by Section 8a

prior to 2000.

29a

36. In preparation for terminating the Lease and vacating

the Property, Mattel cngaged in an extensive program to

assess and repair the facility.

37. Mattel offered to pay the Landlord the cost of repair, in

lieu of performing them, if the Landlord intended to tear

down the buildings to redevelop the Property. Hall Street

refused.

38. Mattel provided a list of repairs to the Landlord before

beginning work. Mattel kept Halli Street informed by

providing regular status reports and providing Hall Street

with the opportunity to inspect the work. Neither Hall Street

nor Mortenson, Hall Street’s consultant, responded to the

letters, and neither visited the Property er criticized the work

while it was performed.

39. The City of Beaverton inspected repairs on the roof and

other building elements both before and after the work was

completed, and approved all work performed. All of the

materials used in the work performed were cqual or better in

quality and class to the original work.

40. Mattel expended more than one million dollars in

repairs to the Hall Street facility in 2000. In its final

inspections before returning the Property to the Landlord at

the end of May 2001, Mattel determined that the structures

were in good condition, that none of the roofs leaked, and that

all of the mechanical, electrical, water and other equipment,

pipes, fixtures, pavement and systems on the Property were in

good working order.

41. Hall Street presented no evidence regarding the condi-

tion of the Property when View-Master began its lease:

Third Party Lawsuits

42. Hall Street and Cascade were sued by former em-

ployees of Tyco for their negligence as Landlord for the TCE

Contamination. These cases are identified as the Keith,

30a

Phelps, and Schiffer cases. Those cases were subsequently

dismissed for lack of proof of any injury caused by any

condition at the property.

43. Hall Street incurred expenses defending those claims

and sceks indemnification from Mattel.

44. GAF, Hall Street, and Mattel were also sued by the

daughter of a Tyco worker in the Christopherson case for

personal injuries allegedly caused by TCE contamination at

the Property. That case was subsequently dismissed for lack

of proof of any injury caused by any condition at the

property.

45. Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt was the only counsel of

record for Hall Street in the Christopherson cases, Matte] has

paid for those attorneys’ fees and costs.

46. In addition, Hall Street incurred defense costs from

Short, Cressman & Burgess, the law, firm of Mr. Robert

Hibbs, in defending the Christopherson case and seeks

indemnification from Mattel.

47. The Court previously ruled that Hall Street’s “conduct

did not result in a waiver of the indemnity requirement” in the

Christopherson case. The parties dispute whether this

constituted a determination that Mattel was required to

indemnify Hall Street for defense costs in Christopherson.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Arbitration Agreement between the parties defines

the issues for decision in this Arbitration:

(a) Whether the repairs and maintenance that Mattel

performed prior to May 31, 2001 satisfied its repair and

maintenance obligations under the I.case? If not, what

additional repairs and maintenance are required and at

what cost?

3la

(b) Whether the payments Mattel made to Hall Street

in connection with litigation brought by third partics

satisfied its indemnity obligation under the lease? If not,

what amounts does it owe for:

(1) The Christopherson case:

(2) The Schiffer, Phelps, and Keith cases.

(c) Whether Hall Street suffered a loss, and, if so,

whether Mattel has any obligation under the Lease to

compensate Hall Strect for:

(1) Remediation of shallow soil contamination located

under the buildings, including the film processing

building and injection molding buildings, includ-

ing remediation of the soil and damage to and loss

of use of the buildings themselves, in excess of the

amount reflected in the estimate for this work that

Mattel has previously offered to pay to Hal! Strect;

(2) Expenses incurred by Hall Street in relation to the

DEQ proceeding relating to the deep aquifer con-

tamination by TCE, including any amounts Hall

Street may be required to pay to DEQ;

(3) Damages, if any, to Hall Strect’s use or right to

withdraw water from under the property;

(4) Expenses incurred by Hall Street for environ-

mertal consulting services performed by Dames &

Moore in connection with environmental issues on

the property;

(5) Expenses incurred by Hall Street for legal services

rendered by Short. Cressman in connection with

environmental issues on the property; and

(6) Expenses incurred by Hall Street in pursuing

claims against its own insurers regarding all of the

above.

32a

(d) Which party is deemed to be the “prevailing party”

in this litigation and what amount is it entitled to receive

from the other under paragraph 24 of the Lease for the

attorney’s fees and costs it incurred as a result of this

litigation?

2. Hall Street brings each of these claims against Mattel

under the theory of breach of contract. That is, Hall Street

alleges that Mattel breached the Lease. Under Oregon law, to

maintain an action for breach of contract the plaintiff must

establish (1) a valid contract between the parties, (2) a breach

or failure without legal excuse to perform any promise that is

a part of the contract, and (3) resulting damages to the

plaintiff. 17A Am. Jur. 2d Contracts § 716 (1991); Reliable

Credit Assoc. Inc. v. Credithrift of America, Inc., 570 P.2d

379, 381 (Or. 1977). For there to be a valid contract, the party

bringing the action must be in compliance with the terms of

the contract, and not in breach. 17A Am. Jur. 2d Contract

§ 716 (1991). Hall Strect, as the plaintiff in this action, has

the burden of proof to establish all requisite elements to

maintain a breach of contract. Pickard v. Or. Senior Citizens,

Inc., 395 P.2d 168, 170 (Or. 1964).

Lease Interpretation

3. Under Oregon law, the construction of a contract is a

question of law for the court. Anderson v. Divito, 130 Or.

App. 272, 277, 908 P.2d 315 (1995) (citing Timberline Equip.

Co., Inc. v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 281 Or. 639,

643, 576 P.2d 1244 (1978)). The court’s goal is to give effect

to the intention of the contracting parties. Anderson v. Jensen

Racing, Inc., 324 Or. 570, 375-76, 931 P.2d 763 (1997)

(citing /nvestment Serv. Co. v. Smither, 276 Or. 837, 843, 556

P.2d 955 (1976) and O.R.S. 42.240 (in the construction of a

written instrument the intention of the parties is to be pursued

if possible)).

33a

“To interpret a contractual provision . . . , the court follows

three steps. First, the court examines the text of the disputed

provision, in the context of the document as a whole.”

Yogman v. Parrott, 325 Or. 358, 361, 937 P.2d 1019 (1997).

“If the provision is clear, the analysis ends.” /d.

When considering a written contractual provision, the

court’s first inquiry is what the words of the contract say

.... 10 determine that, the court looks at the four corn-

ers of a written contract, and considers the contract as a

whole with emphasis on the provision or provisions in

question. The meaning of disputed text in that context is

then determined. In making that determination, the court

inquires whether the provision at issue is ambiguous.

Whether terms of a contract are ambiguous is a question

of law. In the absence of an ambiguity, the court

construes the words of a contract as a matter of law.

Id. (quoting Eagle Indus., Inc. v. Thompson, 321 Or. 398,

405, 900 P.2d 475 (1995).

A contract or tennis unambiguous if it has only one

sensible and reasonable interpretation. D & D Co. v. Kauf-

man, 139 Or. App. 459, 462, 912 P.2d 411 (1996). For a

contract or term to be legally ambiguous, it must be

susceptible to at least two plausible interpretations when

examined in the context of the contract as a whole. Moon v.

Moon, 140 Or. App. 402, 407, 914 P.2d 1133, rev. den., 323

Or. 484, 918 P.2d 848 (1996).

If the contractual provision at issuc is still ambiguous after

examining the text and its context, the sccond step “is to

examine extrinsic evidence of the contracting parties’ intent.”

Yogman, 325 Or. at 363. In determining whether an ambig-

uity exists, the court may consider parol and other extrinsic

evidence. AMfoon, 140 Or. App. at 407; see also Adams v.

Knoth, 102 Or. App. 238, 243-44, 794 P.2d 796 (1990) (“in

deciding if the language of a contract is ambiguous, It ts

34a

proper for the court to consider extrinsic evidence regarding

the circumstances under which the agreement was made or to

which it relates.”). The parties’ “practical construction of

an agreement may hint at their intention.” Yogman, 325 Or.

at 364.

If the first two analytical steps have not resolved the

ambiguity, the court proceeds to the third and final analytical

step: the usc of “appropriate maxims of construction.” /d.

Presumably, if the language is still ambiguous, then what the

parties intended by that language is to be decided by the trier

of fact. See Oregon Sch. Employees Ass'n v. Rainier Sch.

Dist. No. 13, 311 Or. 188, 194, 808 P.2d 83 (1991) (“If

contract terms are ambiguous, then the trier of fact is to

ascertain the intent of the parties and construe the contract

consistentiy with their intent.”).

4. Considering the text of the Lease as recited in

Paragraphs 18 and 19 of the Findings of Fact in the context of

the document as a whole, I conclude as follows:

a. The Lease, as written, is not ambiguous.

b. Repairs/Maintenance: Sections 8a and 20 must be

read together. Mattel assumed all repair and main-

tenance obligations, with all such repairs to be in

quality and class equal to the original work or

installations. This obligation is in no way diminished

by the terms of Section 20. However, nothing in the

Lease requires Mattel to build new buildings, to

bring existing buildings up to current code require-

ments, or to retrofit the buildings to comply with the

accessibility requirements of the American with

Disabilities Act (“ADA”).

c. Indemnification: The term “predecessors-in-inter-

est,” as used in Section 13a, includes Sawyers and

GAF. The term would otherwise be meaningless

since View-Master, the tenant under the Lease, had

35a

no other predecessors-in-interest. Therefore, Mattel

agreed to a comprehensive indemnification of Hall

Street, including for occurrences prior to the original

lease: The only exception arises when Mattel, Tyco,

and View-Master (i.e., not including Sawyers and

GAF) have been in compliance with applicable

environmental laws and have not directly or indi-

rectly contributed to the presence or use of the

particular hazardous waste. This exception applies to

both the cleanup of hazardous wastes and to any

other liability, damages, or expenses.

d. Environmental: In addition to the indemnification

clause, Section 13a, Mattel agreed in Section 12 to

assume all liability for the use or presence of haz-

ardous wastes irrespective of when the use occurred.

However, the same exception applies.

Environmental Issues

5. TCE: Mattel is not liable for the TCE contamination to

the shallow soil and groundwater on the Property. Mattel,

Tyco, and View-Master have been in compliance with the

applicable environmental laws with respect to TCE and,

therefore, the exception to liability under Sections 12 and 13a

have been met. They did not use TCE and their actions have

not been shown to have resulted in additional TCE

contamination. Their failure to test for, or otherwise discover,

the TCE contamination does not constitute a violation of

“applicable environmental laws” regarding TCE.

6. TPH: Mattel is liable for the TPH contamination under

Buildings 400 and 800/900. Although this gontamination

poses no immediate risk and remediation is only required if

the buildings are removed, it must eventually be cleaned up.

“Mattel is only responsible for remediation costs and not for

any demolition or restoration costs since the cleonup is not

required until the buildings are removed. The cost of exca-

36a

vating, hauling, and disposing of this soil and concrete is not

“in excess of the amount reflected in the estimate for this

work that Mattel has previously offered to pay to Hall Street,”

i.e., $130,000.00.

7. Water Rights: Mattel is not liable for loss of the use of

the well due to TCE contamination of the deep aquifer.

Mattel, Tyco, and View-Master have been in compliance with

the applicable environmental laws with TCE and, therefore,

the exception to liability under Sections 12 and 13a have been

met. They did not use TCE and their actions have not been

shown to have resulted in additional TCE contamination.

Their failure to test well water for contaminants may con-

stitute a violation of other laws, but does not constitute a

violation of “applicable environmental laws” regarding TCE.

Hall Street specifically argues that Mattel violated “appli-

cable environmental laws” by violating ORS § 448 and OAR

§ 333-061, which are provisions administered by the Oregon

Health Division of é1e Départment of Human Resources that

obligate both the owner and operator of public water systems

to test the water. However, as far as the Lease is concerned,

these health provisions are designed to protect a specific type

of injury, i.e., health injury to people from drinking the water,

and are not designed to protect landowncrs from having their

property protected from environmental contamination.

8. Expenses: Mattcl is not liable for the expenses incurred

by Hall Strect in relation to the DEQ proceeding relating to

the deep aquifer contamination by TCE, for environmental

consulting services performed by Dames & Moore, for legal

services rendered by Short, Cressman, or in pursuing claims

against its own insurers. These expenses primarily relate to

TCE contamination for which Mattel ts not responsible and

the non-TCE related expenses cannot be veadily determined

from the evidence.

37a

Repair Issues

9. Mattel met its repair and maintenance obligations under

Sections 8a and 20 prior to vacating the Property on May 31,

2001.

10. The Lease did not require Mattel to upgrade the facility

beyond what was required during its leasehold interest, since

such upgrades would clearly be in “quality and class” greater

than the original works. Oregon statutes explicitly do not

require buildings to upgrade to newer requirements so long as

the same occupancy is being continued. Uniform Building

Code § 1101.5, 3401; Oregon Electrical Specialty Code,

Chapter 27.01.040; see also Prudential Insurance, .65. F.3d at

372-74.

11. Therefore, since none of the required repairs involved

substantial alterations to the buildings on the Property, Mattel

was not required to bring the buildings up to current code

standards or to b~ ig the buildings into compliance with

the accessibility requirements of the American with Disabil-

ities Act.

12. The only evidence is that the leak in the roof over

Building 800 developed afier May 31, 2001.

Indemnity front Third-Party Lawsuits

13. Hall Street is not entitled to any further indemnification

from Mattel for the third-party lawsuits since these claims all

related to TCE contamination. As noted above, Mattcl is not

liable for the TCE contamination, having met the exception

under Sections 12 and 13a. Section 1|3a(iv) likewise pro-

vides an exception to liabiiity for the costs of defending

these lawsuits.

CONCLUSION

Based on the foregoing, the ultimate issues are answered as

follows:

38a

A. The repairs and maintenance that Mattel performed

prior to May 31, 2001, satisfied its repair and maintenance

obligations under the .Leasc.

B. The payments Mattel has made to Hall Street in con-

nection with litigation brought by third patties has satisfied its

indemnity obligation under the Lease.

C. Hall Street has not suffered any compensable losses for

soil contamination in excess of the amount previously offered

to Hall Street by Mattel, for expenses relating to the deep

aquifer contamination, for damages from the right to with-

draw water, for expenses for consulting services performed

by Dames & Moore, for expenses for legal services rendered

by Short Cressman, or for expenses incurred in pursuing

claims against Hall Street’s insurers.

D. Considering the foregoing and the Court’s prior rulings

in this case, Mattel is the “prevailing party” for purposes of

this litigation and is entitled to its attorneys’ fees, costs, and

expenses under the Lease incurred as a result of this

litigation.

IT IS THEREFORE the Order of the Arbitrator, pursuant

to the Arbitration Agreement between the partics, that

judgment be granted to Mattel, Inc. on all issues presented,

and Hall Street take nothing beyond the sum of $130,000.00

previously offered. Mattel is directed to submit its statement

of attorney fees and costs by January | 1, 2002. Hall Street is

directed to file its objections by January 18, 2002. Oral

argument, if requested, ‘will be held via conference telephone

call thereafter.

Dated this 2nd day of January, 2002.

‘s/ Larry T. Coady

LARRY T. COADY

Arbitrator

39a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF OREGON

[Filed APR 29, 2002]

Case No. 00-355-JO

HALL STREET ASSOCIATES, L.L.C.,

a Washington Limited Liability Company,

Plainuff,

v.

MATTEL, INC., a Delaware corporation; et ai,

Defendants.

James M. Finn

Michael A. Cohen.

SCHWABE WILLIAMSON & WYATT

1211 S.W. Fifth Avenue, Suite 1700

Portland, OR 97204

Attorneys for Plaintiff

Laurie D. Zelon

Peter Hsiao

Scott A. McPhee

Siegmund Shyu

MORRISON & FOERSTER

555 West Fifth Street

Los Angeles, CA 90013-1024

Marc D. Blackman

Ransom Blackman

1001 S.W. Fifth Avenue, Suite 1400

Portland, OR 97204

Attorneys for Defendants

40a

JONES, Judge:

OPINION AND ORDER

Plaintiff Hall Street Associates (“Hall Street”) brings this

action against defendants Mattel, Inc. (“Mattel”) and its

predecessors for indemnification arising out of a lease agree-

ment. Having resolved the other issues in prior proceedings,

the court now addresses the issue of Mattel’s liability for-

environmental cleanup and related costs. These issues were

submitted to an arbitrator on December 12-14, 2001, who

found generally in favor of Mattel and awarded fees

and costs.

The case is now before me on Hall Street’s Motion for an

Order Vacating, Modifying and/or Correcting the Arbitration

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law (# 70) and Hall

Street’s Motion to Strike (# 79). After considering the par-

ties’ arguments, Hall Street’s Motion to Vacate (# 70) is

GRANTED and its Motion to Strike (# 79) is DENIED

as moot.

BACKGROUND

This case involves several disputes between a landlord and

its tenant over the tenant’s obligations under a lease

agreement. Plaintiff Hall Street Associates, L.L.C. (“Hall

Street”) is the owncr of the property at issue, located at

8585 S.W. Hall Boulevard, Beaverton, Oregon (the “prop-

erty”). Defendant Mattel, a Delaware corporation doing

business in Oregon, leased the premises from Hall Street,

until May 31, 2001.' In this portion of the action, Hall Street

' In its original complaint, Hall Strect also asserted that Mattel was

attempting to prematurely terminate its lease in violation of the lease

agreement. After a bench trial in which the court reviewed the lease

agreement and parol evidence surrounding its execution, | held that Mattel

could terminate its lease. anytime after May of 1997, with one year’s

notice. Accordingly, having given notice of termination in May of 2000,

Matte! terminated the lease in May of 2001.

4la

contends that Mattel is liable for cleanup and third party

litigation costs.

History

The relevant history surrounding the premises began more

than 50 years ago, when Sawyer’s, Inc., owned the property

and began a toy manufacturing facility on the site.’ Sawyer’s

was acquired by GAF Corporation in 1967, which continued

the toy manufacturing operations. GAF eventually sold the

premises to View-Master in 1981, which operated a similar

toy operation on the site. In 1983, View-Master sold the

property to Western International Properties, but then Icased

back the property from Western to continue its operations. In

1984, Western subdivided the property and sold the relevant

portion of the property to John Eyler. Mr. Eyler then

conveyed the property to Cascade Square Associates in 1985.

In 1989, while View-Master was still leasing the property,

View-Master was acquired by Tyco.’ Mattel acquired Tyco in

1997. Finally, in 1998, Cascade transferred its ownership

interest in the property to Hall Street. The current action

is primarily between Hall Street and Mattel, as successors

in interest.

The Lease Agreements

On March 5, 1991, View-Master entered into a Lease

Agreement (the “Lease”) with Cascade Square Associates,

pursuant to which Cascade Square Associates agreed to lease

ihe premises to View-Master.* The Lease was negotiated by

Robert Hibbs, an attorney and partner for Cascade, and

~ At that time, the property was separated into three parcels: parcels 1,

2 and 3. The only parcel relevant to this action is parcel |, and | therefore

discuss parcel | in this opinion.

’ Tyco refers collectively to Tyco Industries, Inc.. Tyco Manufacturing

Corporation and Tyco Toys, Inc.

The Lease was substantially similar to the original lease executed on

June 1, 1985 and containing the same basic rights and responsibilities.

42a

Dennis Wesolowski and Michael Kennedy, attorneys for

View-Master. The Lease provided that View-Master would

lease the property for commercial purposes for a term of

approximately six years. Because View-Master and _ its

predecessors had used the property and operated its facilities

for many years, they were generally more familiar with the

condition of the property than Cascade. Accordingly, the

Lease provided that with certain limited exceptions, View-

Master would indemnify Cascade for any activities under-

taken by it or its predecessors on the property.

On April 29, 1996, Cascade Square Associates and View-

Master executed an amended lease (the “Amended Lease”),

which was substantially similar to the 1991 lease. After

acquiring Tyco, Mattel became the tenant under the Amended

Lease in 1997. Mattel informed Hall Street in May of 2000

that it intended to terminate its lease, and the Icase was

terminated on May 31, 2001.

Environmental Issues on the Property

In 1950, a well and water tower were installed on the

property to supply water to the facility. Thereafter, between

1951 and 1980, Sawyers, Inc. and GAF used trichlorocthene

(“TCE”) in its toy manufacturing operations. While most of

the work with TCE was done on the surrounding areas of

the property, and not the property at issue in this action,

Sawyers/GAF did dispose of sanitary wastes through a septic

tank and drainfield located at the north end of the prop-

erty. There is no evidence that any party used TCE in any

operations on the property after 1981. It is undisputed that

neither Mattcl nor any of its predecessors, however, ever

tested the well water, groundwater or shallow soils for

contaminants.

In March of 1998, Hall Street commissioned SECOR, an

environmental consultant, to test the property's well water for

pollutants. SECOR discovered that the water contained TCF

43a

levels that far cxceeded the federal maximum allowable

level.” Upon this discovery, the Oregon Department of

Environmental Quality (“DEQ”) began investigating the

contamination and planning remedial! measures. The DEQ’s

investigations revealed additional contaminants, including

petroleum hydrocarbons (“TPH”), cyanide, chromium and

silver. The contamination was discovered on the property as

well as its adjacent parcels, and was found in the well water,

the shallow soil, the groundwater and the deep aquifer

underlying the property. Upon discovery of the extensive

contamination at the site, Mattel shut down the well. The

shutdown continues today.

In November of 1998, Mattel and GAF entered into a

consent order with the DEQ, pursuant to which GAF agreed

to investigate the environmental conditions of the property

and Mattel agreed to provide public outreach and commu-

nications to its employees. As part of the site investigation,

the DEQ performed a risk assessment (“RA”) to evaluate the

levels of contaminants and the dangers they posed. The RA

identified current and future risks at the site:

1) Unacceptable risks from TCE in the deep aquifer

underlying the property, if that source is used for drinking

water; and 2) Unacceptable risk from TCE in the

drainfield area, primarily faced by trench workers

performing excavation in that area who may be exposed

to shallow groundwater. In addition, petroleum hydro-

carbons were identified in the soil located under certain

buildings on the property. The DEQ found that the

hydrocarbons pose no threat as long as the buildings

remain, but noted that if the buildings were ever removed,

the hydrocarbons in the soil would have to be treated.

* The Federal Drinking Water Standard for TCE is 5 micrograms per

liter (ug/l). The well water on the property purportedly contained TCE in

concentrations of 1220 to 1520 ug/1.

44a

On October 29, 2001, the DEQ issued its Recommended

Remedial Action Staff Report for the Property. Thereafter,

G-1 Holdings, the successor to GAF, undertook the inves-

tigation and cleanup on the property. The DEQ is currently

supervising the remedial work being performed by G-1

holdings.

Repair Issues on the Property

In the arbitrator’s decision, he found that Mattel and its

predecessors had “failed to repair and me «tain the Property

as required by Section 8(a) prior to 2000.” See Arbitrator’s

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law (“FFCL”), at 4 35.

The arbitrator also found, however, that Mattel did initiate

repair efforts in 2000, in preparation for terminating the

Amended Lease. Mattel offered to pay Hall Strect the cost of

the necessary repairs, in lieu of performing them, but Hall

Street refused. Mattel then proceeded with the repair work,

keeping Hall Street apprized of the progress of the work with

regular status reports. The City of Beaverton eventually

inspected and approved Mattel’s repair work. Mattel spent in

excess of one million dollars in repairs on the property, and in

its final inspections of the property before rclinquishing

control to Hall Street, it determined that the structures were

in good condition, the roofs were leak-proof, and all the

mechanical, electrical, water and other equipment, pipes,

fixtures, pavement and systems were in good working order.

The evidence indicates that Hall Street presented no evidence

regarding the condition of the property when View-Master

began its lease, and did not inspect Mattel’s repair work while

it was being performed.”

6 . . . °

In its motion to vacate, Hal! Street does not challenge the arbitrator's

decision with respect to Mattel’s repair efforts

45a

Third Party Lawsuits

After the contamination was discovered, former employees

of Tyco brought suit against Hall Street and Cascade for

injuries allegedly caused by their negligence in permitting

and/or not detecting the TCE contamination. These cases are

identificd as Keith, Phelps and Schiffer. They were even-

tually dismissed for lack of proof of any injury caused by the

condition of the property. In a fourth action, the Christo-

pherson case, the daughter of a Tyco worker brought suit

against GAF, Hall Street and Mattel, also for injuries

allegedly caused by the TCE contamination at the site. This

case, too, was dismissed for inadequate proof of injury, and

Mattel has paid all costs incurred in litigating this action.

Hall Street initiated the instant action on March 10, 2000.

Its complaint raised three general issues: 1) Whether Mattel

could legitimately terminate its lease on May 31, 2001, if it

provided one year’s notice of termination; 2) Whether Mattel

was obligated to indemnify Hall Street for costs related to

environmental cleanup; and 3) Whether Mattel was obligated

to indemnify Hall Street for expenses it incurred in defending

itself against third party lawsuits.

The first issue was resolved by a bench trial to this court on

April 27, 2001. The remaining issues were resolved in an

arbitration held on December 12-14, 2001, in which the

arbitrator found generally in favor of Mattel. He concluded

that Mattel was not obligated to indemnify Hall Street either

for environmental cleanup costs or for third party lawsuits.’

In a second opinion, the arbitrator ordered Hall Street to pay

Mattel for costs and fees incurred in litigating this action, in

the sum of $441,545.58.

” The arbitrator did order Mattel to pay Hall Street $130,000 for Mat-

tel’s lability for the TPH contamination under buildings on the property,

but Mattel had already agreed to pay this amount.

46a

STANDARD OF REVIEW

Typically, arbitration awards are given substantial defer-

ence and will not be set aside unless the arbitrator acted in

manifest disregard of the law. Todd Shipyards Corp. v.

Cunard Line, Ltd., 943 F.2d 1056, 1060 (9th Cir. 1991)

(“Arbitrators are judges chosen by the parties to decide the

matters submitted to them, finally and without appeal. . . . If

the award is within the submission, and contains the honest

decision of the arbitrators, after a full and fair hearing of the

parties, a court . . . will not set it aside for error, either in law

or fact... . An arbitrator’s decision must be upheld unless it

is ‘completely irrational,’ or it constitutes a ‘manifest disre-

gard of law’”). Parties are free, however, to draft a contract

that sets rules for arbitration and dictates an alternative

standard of review. Sec, e.g., LaPine Tech. Corp. v. Kyocera

Corp., 130 F.3d 884, 889 (9th Cir. 1997) (“Federal courts can

expand their review of an arbitration award beyond the

FAA’s grounds, when . . . the parties have so agreed”). An

intent to specify an alternative standard must be clearly

expressed. /d.

In this case, the parties drafted an Arbitration Agreement

that set the rules for arbitration. Paragraph 27 of the Rules tor

Arbitration set forth the applicable standard of review: “The

Court shall vacate, modify or correct any award: (i) where the

arbitrator’s findings of fact are not supported by substantial

evidence, or (ii) where the arbitrator’s conclusions of law are

erroneous.” Thus, the court must review the arbitrator’s

findings of fact for substantial evidence, and his conclusions

of law for error.

DISCUSSION

|. Plaintiffs Motion to Vacate, Modify or Correct

Arbitration Award

Following arbitration, the arbitrator issued two separate

opinions in this action. First, on January 2, 2002, he issued

47a

findings of fact and conclusions of law in which he found for

Mattel as to liability (the “January 2 findings”). Second, on

January 29, 2002, he issued findings of fact and conclusions

of law in which he awarded fees and costs to Mattel

(“January 29 findings”). Hall Street filed its motion to vacate,

modify and/or correct the arbitration award on February 2,

2002, challenging both the January 2 findings and the January

29 findings.

A. Liability

In his January 2 findings, the arbitrator reached three basic

conclusions with respect to Mattel’s liability to Hall Street: 1)

Mattel is not liable for environmental cleanup costs because

Hall Street has suffered no loss, and even if it had, Mattel

remained in compliance with “applicable environmental

laws” as required by the Amended Lease; 2) Mattel satisfied

all of its repair and maintenance obligations under the

Amended Lease prior to its termination; and 3) to the extent it

was liable, Mattel fully indemnified Hall Street for the third-

party lawsuits brought against Hall Street. In its motion to

vacate, Hall Street challenges (1) and (3) above.

1. Timeliness

At the outset, Mattel contends that to the extent Hall

Street’s motion challenges the arbitrator’s findings on the

issue of liability, it is time-barred under the Arbitration

Agreement because it was filed more than 15 days after the

opinion on liability was issued, on January 2, 2002. Hall

Street responds that its motion to vacate was filed as a

combined motion to challenge both the arbitrator’s decision

on liability and the decision on attorneys’ fees. The arbitrator

issucd his findings on the fees issue on January 29, 2002. Hall

Street filed its motion to vacate both decisions on Febru-

ary 13, 2002.

There is no question that parties consenting to arbitration

can stipulate a time period within which any challenge to the

arbitrator's decision must be filed. See, e.g.. Sheet Metal

48a

Workers’ Int’l Assoc., Local No. 252 v. Standard Sheet

Metal, Inc., 699 F.2d 481, 482-83 (9th Cir. 1983). Mattel

contends that the Arbitration Agreement unambiguously

provides that any motion challenging any decision of the

arbitrator must be challenged within 15 days of its issuance.

In support, it cites paragraph 3 of the parties’ Arbitration

Agreement, which provides:

The arbitrator shall decide the arbitration on or before

December 30, 2001, and issue written findings of fact

and conclusions of law.* Any request for review of the

arbitrator’s decision will be made by motion to Judge

Jones and filed within 15 days of the arbitrator’s ruling.

Paragraph 3 does not define the specific “decision” that may

be revicwed upon a subsequent motion. Mattel contends that

the best reading of this provision is that each “decision”

issued by the arbitrator must itself be challenged within 15

days of its issuance. Under this interpretation, Hall Strect

would have to challenge the liability decision and the feces

decision in separate motions, cach filed less than 15 days

after the decisions were issued.

In further support of this view, Mattel citcs |) paragraph 22

of the Rules of Arbitration, which refers to a decision on the

issuc of fees as “supplemental” to the underlying decision on

the merits, and 2) the “uniform rule that an unresolved issue

of attorney’s fees for the litigation in question does not

prevent judgment on the merits from being final,” Budinich v.

Becton Dickinson & Co., 486 U.S. 196, 200-02 (1988), and

3) Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d)(2)(C), which states that an award of

fees should be “sct forth in a separate document.” Relying on

the Arbitration Agreement and the relevant law, Mattel

* By stipulation of the parties, the December 30, 2001 deadline was

extended to allow the arbitrator to issue his decision on the merits no later

than December 31, 2001 and a decision on the issue of fees no later than

January 28, 2002.

49a

argues that the Arbitration Agreement is unambiguous,

permits no considcration of extrinsic evidence, and mandates

the conclusion that the motion to vacate is untimely to the

extent it challenges the January 2 FFCL.

Hall Street correctly points out, however, that several

provisions of the Arbitration Agreement support the conclu-

sion that a single motion challenging any and all conclusions

reached by the arbitrator was intended. First, paragraph 3,

rclied on heavily by Mattel, states that the arbitrator shall

decide “the arbitration,” implying that he will issue one

comprehensive opinion that may then be challenged by the

losing party. Paragraph | of the Arbitration Agreement states

that the partics “agree to arbitrate before one arbitrator all

remaining issues.” Paragraph | itself then refers to paragraph

27, which permits this court to “enter judgment upon any

award cither by confirming the award or by vacating, modi-

fying or correcting the award” (emphasis added). In other

places in the Arbitration Agreement, including paragraphs 7

and 19, the arbitrator’s final decision is referred to as an

“award” as well. Relying on these provisions, Hall Strect

contends that the Arbitration Agreement on this issue is, at

the very least, ambiguous, and permits consideration of

outside evidence.

Oregon law provides that in order for a contract or term to

be legally ambiguous, it must be susceptible to at least two

plausible interpretations when cxamincd in the context of the

contract as a whole. Hoyt Street_ Properties, L.L.C. _v.

Burlington Nornhern & Santa Fe Ry. Co., 38 F.Supp.2d 1185

(D. Or. 1999). In this case, in light of the use of “award” and

“decision” in separate provisions of the Arbitration Agree-

ment, both parties have probably put forth plausible inter-

pretations of the contract, and the court therefore finds that it

is ambiguous.

Finding an ambiguity on this issuc permits the court to

consult extrinsic evidence to shed light on what was intended

50a

by the parties. Hall Street cites two pieces of outside evidence

to support its claim that the parties intended that a final

decision by the arbitrator resolving all issues in the case

would be challenged in a single motion. First, it cites a

January 2, 2002 letter written by the arbitrator, in which the

arbitrator indicates that he will issue one comprehensive

“award” that may then be challenged here. In the January 2

letter, the arbitrator stated that “once the attorney fees and

costs are resolved, | will issue the Arbitration Award,” While

this letter certainly docs not, on its own, evidence the view of

the parties, the lack of response or clarification by Mattel

indicates that its understanding was not inconsistent. Second,

it contends that the parties initially intended that the arbitrator

would issue one final decision on all issues no later than

December 30, 2001. When it became apparent that the

arbitrator would not meet this deadline, the parties apparently

agreed to extend the deadline to December 31, 2001, for the

decision on the merits, and January 28, 2001, for the decision

on fees. At the time the extension was discussed, Hall Street

states that the parties neither envisioned nor discussed a

requirement that the decisions be challenged in separate

motions. The extrinsic evidence thus indicates that to the

extent it was considered, the parties intended that the arbi-

trator would issue one “award,” which could then be chal-

lenged in a single motion within 15 days.

As the court has discussed, there are persuasive arguments

to the contrary. On the whole, however, the Arbitration

Agreement and the facts support Hall Street’s argument that

its Motion to Vacate was timely filed. In light of the parties’

substantial interests at stake in this case, it would be

extraordinary to deny either party its right to judicial review

on the basis of a disputable filing deadline, the alleged

violation of which prejudiced no one. Given these consid-

erations and the discussion above, the court concludes that

Hall Street’s Motion was timely filed.

S5la

2. The Merits

The key issue before me is whether the arbitrator erred in

concluding that Mattel was in compliance with applicable

environmental laws while leasing the property, and therefore

was not liable to Hall Street for environmental cleanup costs.

Under the lease, because Mattel and its predecessors, espe-

cially View-Master, were most familiar with the condition

and operations at the property, they were obligated under the

Lease to indemnify Hall Street for Mattcl’s and its pred-

ecessors’ activities at the site. Section 6.3 of the original

lease, for example, provided as follows: “‘Tenant shall indem-

nify and defend Landlord from any claim, loss, or liability

arising oat of or related to any action or inaction of Tenant, its

employees, agents or invitees or any condition of the Prop-

erty.” Other provisions of the original lease were consistent

with this clause:

¢ Section 5(b): Tenant must comply with “all applic-

able laws, rules and regulations of any public

authority”; |

¢ Section 12(a): “Tenant shall comply with all federal,

state and local environmental laws and regulations in

its use of the Premises . . . Tenant shall indemnify,

hold harmless and defend Landlord against all costs

and claims associated with a release [of hazardous

wastes |”;

* Section 12(b): “Tenant shall use its best efforts and

safety practices to prevent the release by Tenant, its

agents or employees of hazardous substances. . . .

Tenant assumes liability for the use or presence. . .

of any hazardous waste. . . . Tenant assumes all

responsibility for the investigation and cleanup of

any such release or presence or use of hazardous

Building materials and shall indemnify and defend

Landlord, its officers, agents, and employees, against

52a

and from any and all losses, costs, damages,

expenses . . . or liabilities directly or indirectly

resulting or arising from any such release or presence

or use of hazardous building materials.”

These provisions consistently impose a duty on Mattel to

indemnify Hall Street for costs associated with environmental

damage, and neither party disputes that this was the general

rule under all of the lease agreements.

There was an exception to Mattel’s duty to indemnify,

however, found in section 12(c) of the Lease. Section 12(c)

provided:

To the extent Tenant has been in compliance with ap-

plicable environmental laws then, notwithstanding the

foregoing language in Section 12.b above, Tenant shall

not be held liable following the expiration of this Lease

term for the following . . . (iii) the removal and disposal

of any hazardous waste on the Premises, the presence or

use of which hazardous waste has not been caused

directly or indirectly by the acts of the Tenant or View-

Master Ideal Group, Inc.

A similar provision conditionally excepting the tcnant’s

liability is found in section |3(a) of the lease agreements.

In the January 2 findings, the arbitrator found that “Mattel,

Tyco, and View-Master have been in compliance with the

applicable environmental laws with respect to TCE and,

therefore, the exception to liability under Sections 12 and |3a

have been met.” See January 2, 2002 findings, p. 16 at § 5S.

The arbitrator acknowledged that Mattel and its predecessors

failed to test for TCE contamination at the site, constituting a

violation of O.R.S. § 448 and O.A.R. § 333-061, but con-

cluded that these provisions were not “applicable environ-

mental laws.” He stated that these sections were not ap-

plicable because they were designed to target the specific

harm of injury to end users caused by contaminated drinking

53a

water, and not potential economic injury to a private land-

owner. He noted that the law is administered by the Oregon

Health Division of the Department of Resources. Citing no

specific provision of the lease, the arbitrator reasoned that “as

far as the Lease is concerned, these health provisions are

designed to protect a specific type of injury, i.e., health injury

to people from drinking the water, and are not designed to

protect landowners from having their property protected from

environmental contamination.” January 2 findings at ¥ 7, pp.

16-17. Relying on this conclusion, the arbitrator found that

Mattel had remained in compliance with applicable environ-

mental laws, thereby meeting the exception to its gencral duty

to indemnify found in sections 12(c) and 13(a) of the Lease.

Hall Street contends that this conclusion was in error.”

After careful consideration, | conclude that Mattel’s failure

to test the water for contaminants was in fact a violation of

“applicable environmental Jaws” within the meaning of the

lease. Several considerations lead me to this conclusion.

Generally, an analysis of the lease Makes clear that it was

written to impose broad liability on the tenant for any

environmental damage on the property. The two exceptions to

this liability, found in sections 12(c) and 13 of the lease, freed

the tenant from liability on/y if it was in compliance with all

“applicable environmental laws.”

The arbitrator’s contrary reasoning—-that Oregon’s Drink-

ing Water Quality Act (““ODWQA”) does not constitute

“applicable environmental laws” because “these health

provisions are designed to protect a specific type of injury,

Le., health injury to people from drinking the water, and are

* Hall Street also contends that Mattel violated applicable environ-

mental laws by discharging TCE-contaminated water into the storm and

sanitary sewer systems. Based on the information before the court, it

appears that this was not properly submitted to the arbitrator, who made

no finding on this issue, and the court therefore declines to reach the issue

here.

54a

not designed to protect landowners from having their property

protected from environmental contamination”—is an overly

restrictive construction of “applicable environmental laws”

that is not warranted by the language of the lease. The Acct is

certainly “applicable” to Mattel, as the tenant on the property.

Further, while the Act is administered by the Oregon Health

Division, along with the DEQ, this does not necessarily

indicate that the Act is not also an environmental law. The

Act is the Oregon counterpart to the Federal Safe Drinking

Water Act (“SDWA”), 42 U.S.C. §§ 300f to 300j-26, which

is generally considered an environmental law. Sce, e.g., In re

Willy, 831 F.2d 545, 546 (Sth Cir. 1987); 323-343 E. 56th St.

Corp. v. Mobil Oil Corp., 906 F. Supp. 669, 685 n21 (D.D.C.

1995); Roe_v. Wert, 706 F. Supp. 788, 791 (W.D. Okla.

1989). Its purpose——“to protect the public health through

insuring safe drinking water within a water system”—is

complementary to the goals of most environmental statutes.

The Clean Air Act, for example, is designed “to promote the

public health and welfare and the productive capacity of the

population.” See 42 U.S.C. 7401(b)(1). See also Toxic

Substances Control Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 2601(b)(1) (noting that

the goal of the TSCA is to “regulate chemical substances and

mixtures which present an unreasonable risk of injury to

health or the environment”). In fact, the environ:nental

component of the ODWQA is undeniable: the Act protects

the public from potential health hazards resulting from

environmental damage. Significantly, Mattel does not dispute

the general conclusion that the ODWQA is, standing alone,

an environmental law.

Instead, Mattel contends that the arbitrator was correct in

concluding that the Act is not “applicable,” because the Act ts

“a statute administered by the Health Department for the

express purpose of protecting the public from tainted drinking

water” and not “an applicable environmental statute designed

to protect Hall Strect from the property damage.” See

Mattel’s Memorandum in Opposition, p. 22. This reasoning,

55a

however, defics logic. No environmental statute advances

such a purpose; the purpose of such statutes is to protect the

environment and human health.

Mattel also argues that even were the Act “applicable” to

Mattel within the meaning of the lease, its violation of the Act

resulted in no loss to Hall Street, and therefore cannot be a

basis for Mattel’s liability to Hall Street. I reject this argu-

ment for two reasons. First, there is no requirement in the

lease that there be actual causation of loss. The lease is

written to simply impose broad liability on Mattel for envir-

onmental cleanup costs, an obligation that it can avoid only if

it complies with all applicable environmental laws.'°

Furthermore, even were the arbitrator correct in his con-

clusion that there is a causation requirement in the lease, the

third party lawsuits filed against Hall Street could in fact

constitute loss caused by Mattel’s violations. While it is true

that the Phelps, Schiffer and Keith cases alleged negligence

only against Hall Street, had Mattel tested the water and

ceased its use, the lawsuits arguably would not have been

filed. At the very least, the existence of such suits creates a

factual issue to be addressed on remand as to whether there is

loss resulting from Mattel’s violation.

In sum, the arbitrator erred as a matter of law in concluding

that Mattel’s failure to test for contaminants did not constitute

'° Mattel contends that the arbitrator concluded that there must be

causal link between the alleged violation of applicable environmental laws

and any losses incurred by Hall Street, and that this conclusion is entitled

to deference because it rests on a factual determination of the parties’

intent in the lease. The arbitrator does not explicitly reach this conclusion,

however. Furthermore, to the extent the arbitrator reaches this conclusion

implicitly, he cites no provision of the lease in support and does not

discuss any reasoning for drawing such a conclusion. In the face of a

rather clear contract provision, which imposes liability simply if Mattel

violates “applicable environmental laws.” such a conclusion devoid of

reasoning or support ts not entitled to substantial deference.

56a

a violation of applicable environmental laws. Accordingly,

this case is remanded to the arbitrator for further consid-

eration in accordance with this opinion.

3. Mattel’s Contingent Appeal

Finally, Mattel “contingently” appeals the arbitrator’s find-

ing that GAF and G-! Holdings were Mattels’ predecessors-

in-interest and that Mattel is therefore liable under the lease

for their contamination. In his January 2 findings, the arbi-

trator concluded that when the original lease was executed by

View-Master as the tenant, View-Master’s consent to in-

demnify the landlord for the acts of its predecessors must

necessarily include GAF and Sawyers, because there were no

other predecessors to View-Master with respect to the

property. The arbitrator stated:

The term “predecessors-in-interest,” as used in Section

13a, includes Sawyers and GAF. The term would

otherwise be meaningless since View-Master, the tenant

under the Lease, had no other predecessors-in-interest

Therefore, Mattel agreed to a comprchensive indemni-

fication of Hall Street, including for occurrences prior to

the original lease.

January 2 findings, p. 15 at ¥ 4c.

Mattel contends that the arbitrator’s conclusion was in

error, because he incorrectly found that GAF and Sawyers

were the only potential predecessors to View-Master at the

time the original lease was executed. It asserts that the View-

Master entity that executed the original lease was the

successor to a previous View-Master entity that owned the

property after GAF and Sawyers. It also cites the testimony of

Michael Kennedy, negotiating the leases on behalf of Tyco,

who stated that he did not intend the term predecessor-in-

intcrest to include GAF and Sawyers. According to Mattel,

there is no testimony to the contrary by any representative of

Hall Street or Cascade.

57a

From a review of the arbitrator’s decision, it appears that

the arbitrator did not revicw substantial evidence relevant to

the parties’ intent in construing the term predecessors-in-

interest. He states, simply, that the term includes GAF and

Sawyers because “[t]he term would otherwise have no

meaning,” yet he does not mention Mattel’s assertion that a

previous View-Master entity occupied and oversaw opera-

tions on the property. He does not discuss the relationship

b

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.