Amicus Curiae Brief — Federal Election Com'n v. Wisconsin Right to Life, Inc.
Supreme Court brief2007
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
a tel At a
ee
| ied ae °
© NM q “2 — \! i ei i? ry
4} ’ S) 6)! -Et
——
‘
In The j; OFFICE pate
Supreme Court of the Gite states
SJ
FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION,
Appellant,
Vs.
WISCONSIN RIGHT TO LIFE. INC., ET AL.,
Appellees.
o
SENATOR JOHN McCAIN, ET AL.,
Intervenor-Appellants,
vs.
WISCONSIN RIGHT TO LIFE, INC.. ET AL.,
Appellees.
-— e
On Appeal From The United States District Court
For The District Of Columbia
¢
BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF RICHARD BRIFFAULT
AND RICHARD L. HASEN IN SUPPORT OF
APPELLANT AND INTERVENOR-APPELLANTS
o
RICHARD BRIFFAULT RICHARD L. HASEN
435 West 116th Street “Counsel! of Record
New York, NY 10027 919 Albany Street
(212) 854-2638 Los Angeles, CA 99015
FAX: (212) 854-7946 (213) 736-1466
FAX: (213) 380-3769
DAVID S. ETTINGER
rick. hasen@lls.edu
HoOrRVITZ & LEVY LLP
15760 Ventura Boulevard, MARTIN S. LEDERMAN
18th Floor 600 New Jersey Avenue, NW
Encino, CA 91436 Washington, D.C. 20001
(818) 995-0800 (202) 662-9937
FAX: (818) 995-3157
Attorneys for Amict Curiae
i ' atk Khivik bh PRIN TONG) 6) ae
TABLE OF CONTENTS
| Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.........cccccscecscsscscecsssssecsesseenee iii
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE o...ccccssesssssessessuee 1
INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT... 2
EARN RET, 5
I. IN ITS CAMPAIGN FINANCE CASES
THE COURT HAS CRAFTED AS-APPLIED
EXEMPTIONS ONLY FOR ACTIVITY NOT
IMPLICATING COMPELLING GOVERN-
MENTAL INTERESTS AND WHEN REGU-
LATIONS IMPOSE UNIQUELY SERIOUS
BURDENS ON FIRST AMENDMENT
STEP cccrerccensintnntanmsnanntinaiininienictnmnncineianinnnmnete 5
Il. THE COURT SHOULD CRAFT ANY AS-
APPLIED EXEMPTION WITH REGARD TO
THE COMPELLING INTERESTS CON-
GRESS SOUGHT TO PROTECT IN BCRA
EET Wp enceninndceiiencsneneniscoesiimmenmenapansmvenns 10
III. THE DISTRICT COURT'S AS-APPLIED TEST
IS NOT TAILORED TO THE COMPELLING
INTERESTS CONGRESS SOUGHT TO PRO-
TECT IN BCRA AND WOULD LEAD TO
THE RE-EMERGENCE OF “ISSUE ADS’
PAID FOR WITH CORPORATE TREASURY
FUNDS THAT HAVE AN IMPACT ON FED-
ee NN adainininitinnitibcennsabeiiniiniianeniendeats 21
TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page
IV. THE COURT SHOULD HOLD THAT COR-
PORATIONS SEEKING AN AS-APPLIED
EXEMPTION FROM THE PAC REQUIRE-
MENT FOR “ELECTIONEERING COMMU-
NICATIONS” MUST DEMONSTRATE THAT
A PARTICULAR BROADCAST ADVERTISE-
MENT IS UNLIKELY TO HAVE ANY AP-
PRECIABLE EFFECT ON _ VOTERS’
CHOICES IN A FEDERAL ELECTION ............ 24
Ce enrinsnccncsesenimnerteinamnnenesensiscanisenceniengedanntien 28
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Austin v. Mich. Chamber of Commerce, 494 U.S.
Sy al einccshsinthiisiicisiensinasniininnniniiiantinabintunanntiniianmnaiind 5, 8,9
Brown v. Socialist Workers "74 Campaign Comm.,
ae TO Se Anratiiccecscitiintisisinaseticninedimensennssanmee passim
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) .............eeeeeeeeeeeees passim
Christian Civic League of Maine, Inc. v FEC, 433
aE TD GREENS CED iarcsincectsnnmaseinseninemnnsedsiniccnsnes 25
FEC v. Beaumont, 539 U.S. 146 (2003) ......................2. 9,10
FEC v. Colo. Republican Fed. Campaign Comm., 533
ee See Tee iesrsesichiieientkulsicnseeiaiiiehieitiahiiaiiapaiieaiiaiasaniiaaaun 1
FEC v. Mass. Citizens for Life, 479 U.S. 238 (1986) ....passim
FEC v. Nat'l Right to Work Comm., 459 U.S. 197
SST iaiiicsbiccihtapeelbeniceitsiianietpiciediceapsihieiaiitdindaniidiaiddeiehinnemeuieunineiaaniie 9
First Nat. Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765
STU hissindinsacieiicehiecteiiahiaipsigiescineebnaniainiiiapaiadiapbnanneiubembinitiiateinedatte 14
McConnell v. FEC, 540 U.S. 93 (2008).........0.... ee passim
Nixon v. Shrink Mo. Gov’t PAC, 528 U.S. 377 (2000)..... 1, 6
Pipefitters Local Union No. 562 v. United States,
Se Ses Ae ee isenccsisincncsdnniiencastenadmnipninninnsaneiiennnitins 11
Randall v. Sorrell, 126 S.Ct. 2479 (2006)..............ccccceeeeeeeee 8
United States v. CIO, 335 U.S. 106 (1948)... eee 9
United States v. International Union of United
Automobile Workers (UAW), 352 U.S. 567 (1957)......... ll
lV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page
STATUTES
2 U.S.C.
I I nscinesesesdeuscentscenentatastneiptiataigundeninnnennsermnninmens 12, 23
i ircesciicenescnitnnininntonennonemiinsinesiatinieemminteeie 12
ST cinctencisnceipnectineniianianioneapnienineneniaainiomnmninaneeniaeie 1
Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002 (BCRA)
Se AI endiiantiesiapetenntesdadniaiceeentitainaaniitenaimnnennnnniieel 12, 23
Bp BIDE sencenccnsssseunptapemeaestesentintaneatinnnennnmmneimanniinneien passim
Be TEI sincsisspmnepaidaniannitnacnaniemneininmeeiinianensengtanaatntintte 3, 16
Labor Management Relations (Taft-Hartley) Act of
1947, ch. 120, § 304, 61 Stat. 159-160 ...... ee eeeeee 11
Tillman Act of 1907, Pub. L. 59-36, 34 Stat. 864.............. 10
Court RULES
es Te Be te etintciciecitcitinitsetertaiiameiniinnnien 1
MISCELLANEOUS
Richard Briffault, Jsswe Advocacy: Redrawing the
Elections/Politics Line, 77 Tex. L. Rev. 1751
Sisal icseiestiesinaieuiibinnieaiiuidinasiaiilitinsiiainiiatiuainineiibitiniiemannaeen 11
Richard L. Hasen, Buckley is Dead, Long Live
Buckley: The New Campaign Finance Incoher-
ence of McConnell v. Federal Election Commis-
sion, 163 U. Pa. L. Rev. 31 (BOG) .......cccccccscccovsscesesceserees 9
Daniel Hays Lowenstein & Richard L. Hasen,
Election Law - Cases and Materials (3d ed. 2004>......... 1
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE
The individual amici are law professors who have
devoted much of their careers to the study of election law,
especially campaign finance law. Richard Briffault, the
Joseph P. Chamberlain Professor of Legislation at Colum-
bia Law School, has written 17 articles on campaign
finance law, some of which the Court has cited in its
campaign finance cases. See, e.g., FEC v. Colo. Republican
Fed. Campaign Comm., 533 U.S. 431, 462 (2001); Nixon v.
Shrink Mo. Gov’t PAC, 528 U.S. 377, 406 (2000) (Kennedy,
J., dissenting). Richard L. Hasen, the William H. Hannon
Distinguished Professor of Law at Loyola Law School, has
written 18 articles (or parts of books) on campaign finance
law, is the co-author of an election law casebook, Election
Law - Cases and Materials (3d ed. 2004) (with Professor
Daniel Hays Lowenstein), and the co-editor of the peer-
reviewed quarterly publication, Election Law Journal.
Amici’s affiliations are listed for identification purposes
only.
With the consent of the parties, whose letters of
consent have been filed with the Clerk of the Court, amici
respectfully submit this brief in support of the Appellant
Federal Election Commission and the congressional
“ntervenor-Appellants.’ The brief suggests a test for as-
applied challenges to section 203 of the Bipartisan Cam-
paign Reform Act (BCRA), 2 U.S.C. § 441b(b)(2), that both
protects First Amendment rights of speech and association
and preserves the integrity of the election process through
‘ Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, amici state that no
counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part and that no
person or entity other than amici and their counsel contributed
monetarily to the preparation or submission of this brief.
2
reasonable limitations on corporate spending affecting
federal elections.
¢
INTRODUCTION AND
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
This case involves yet another attack on the 60-year-
old requirement that corporations use separate segregated
funds (or PACs), rather than treasury funds, to spend
money in connection with federal elections. The Court has
repeatedly addressed the PAC requirement, and has
sustained its constitutionality, most recently three Terms
ago in McConnell v. FEC, 540 U.S. 93, 203-11 (2003). The
Court has done so not because election-related speech is
entitled to less constitutional protection than other forms
of political speech, but because, in the context of the
election of public officials, legislatures and the Court have
repeatedly recognized.compelling justifications for regula-
tions that might not be present, or as compelling, in other
settings.
At the same time, the Court has recognized that the
Constitution sometimes requires the creation of as-applied
exemptions from otherwise permissible campaign finance
regulations. As-applied exemptions are appropriate, the
Court has explained, when the burden on speech in a —
particular application significantly outweighs any effect
the regulation may have in promoting electoral integrity
and other compelling legislative objectives — especially
where a particular application of the law does not raise
any of the concerns justifying regulation.
Thus, for example, in Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1
(1976), and Brown v. Socialist Workers ’74 Campaign
3
Comm., 459 U.S. 87 (1982), the Court created and applied
an exemption from general — and constitutionally sound —
campaign disclosure requirements for minor political
parties that can demonstrate that disclosure of contribu-
tors’ names would have an unusually severe chilling effect
on the parties’ and contributors’ First Amendment activi-
ties. To similar effect, in FEC v. Mass. Citizens for Life,
479 U.S. 238, 260-61 (1986) (MCFL), the Court held that
the First Amendment requires an exemption for certain
nonprofit corporations from a corporate PAC requirement
similar to that at issue here, because applying the re-
quirement to such nonprofit corporations would not
further the government interests underlying the require-
ment.
The Court should adopt a similar approach to as-
applied exemptions in this case. The regulation in ques-
tion here is a 2002 enactment, section 203 of the Biparti-
san Campaign Reform Act of 2002, which was aimed at
ending widespread evasions of the corporate PAC re-
quirement. This case presents the question whether and
under what circumstances the Constitution requires
another exemption to the PAC requirement for corpora-
tions, beyond the exemption recognized in MCFL and in
BCRA itself in section 204. We respectfully submit that
any as-applied exemption ought to build on the principles
for identifying such exemptions that the Court developed
in Buckley, Brown, and MCFL.~
The district court below failed to follow the Court's
guidance in these cases. It did not even attempt to tailor
its proposed as-applied exemption to those advertisements
that are unlikely to implicate the compelling government
interests underlying section 203. Congress found, and the
Court has agreed, that broadcast ads that name federal
4
candidates in the immediate pre-election period almost
invariably have an impact on voters’ choices in the elec-
tion. Yet the district court would exempt many of those ads
from regulation. If upheld by the Court, the district court’s
test would thwart Congress’s objectives and return us to
the days immediately preceding BCRA, when corporations
easily evaded the PAC requirement.
We believe that a more appropriate test would exempt
only those communications not implicating the govern-
mental interests underlying the corporate PAC require-
ment. We propose that a corporation should be entitled to
an as-applied exemption from the PAC requirement for
electioneering communications only when it proves that an
identifiable type of communication is unlikely to have any
appreciable effect on voters’ choices in the election. Follow-
ing the approach Congress took in BCRA and the Court’s
analysis in McConnell, whether the corporation is entitled
to an as-applied exemption for an ad must be based on a
consideration of the context as well as the content of a
broadcast advertisement.
The Court’s task in setting the balance between the
proper scope of election regulation of corporations and the
protection of corporate speech is a difficult one. Both
Congress and the Court struggled with it, and BCRA and
McConnell have struck a workable and proper balance. —
Any as-applied exemptions should not subvert that bal-
ance.
5
ARGUMENT
I.
IN ITS CAMPAIGN FINANCE CASES THE COURT
HAS CRAFTED AS-APPLIED EXEMPTIONS ONLY
FOR ACTIVITY NOT IMPLICATING COMPELLING
GOVERNMENTAL INTERESTS AND WHEN REGU-
LATIONS IMPOSE UNIQUELY SERIOUS BURDENS
ON FIRST AMENDMENT RIGHTS
The Court has repeatedly sustained regulations of
campaign finance activity where such regulations are
supported by compelling governmental interests specific to
the election setting. See, e.g., Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1
(1976) (upholding disclosure requirements, campaign
contribution limits, and other provisions of Federal Elec-
tion Campaign Act); Austin v. Mich. Chamber of Commerce,
494 U.S. 652 (1990) (Austin) (upholding requirement that
corpuratious engage in election-related advocacy through
separate segregated funds); McConnell v. FEC, 540 U.S.
93 (2003) (upholding “soft money” and “electioneering
communications” provisions of BCRA). The Court has done
so not because election-related speech is entitled to less
constitutional protection than other forms of political speech.
To the contrary, speech and associational activity that
supports or opposes candidates is entitled to the greatest
constitutional protection. The election of public officials,
however, provides compelling justifications for regulation
that are not necessarily present in other settings.
For example, the Court has found that maintaining an
informed electorate justifies laws requiring disclosure of
information concerning contributions to and expenditures
by candidates, political parties, and political committees
that support or oppose candidates. Buckley, 424 U.S. at 66-
67. So, too, the Court has repeatedly held that preventing
6
the corruption or the appearance of corruption of elected
officials justifies contribution limitations. E.g., id. at 29;
Nixon v. Shrink Missouri Gov't PAC, 528 U.S. 377 (2000).
Again, this is not because large contributions for political
activities are not constitutionally protected, but because
they raise unique dangers to the integrity of elections.
In upholding reasonable campaign finance regula-
tions, however, the Court has also indicated that the
Constitution sometimes requires the creation of as-applied
exemptions from these regulations. The Court has carved
out discrete as-applied exemptions either when substan-
tial evidence demonstrates that a uniquely serious burden
on First Amendment activities significantly outweighs any
effect the regulation may have in promoting electoral
integrity in a particular set of cases, or when the conduct
of particular actors does not raise any of the concerns
justifying regulation.
Thus, in Buckley and in Brown v. Socialist Workers ’74
Campaign Comm., 459 U.S. 87 (1982), the Court created
and applied an exemption from general — and constitu-
tionally sound - campaign disclosure requirements:
disclosure cannot be required when a minor political party
shows its contributors, if identified, will be subject to
“threats, harassment, or reprisals from either Government
officials or private parties.” Buckley, 424 U.S. at 74;
Brown, 459 U.S. at 93. In such a case, not only is there a
unique First Amendment harm to the exempted parties; in
addition, the required disclosure would do little to advance
the voter information and anti-corruption goals that such
disclosure ordinarily serves. See Buckley, 424 U.S. at 70
(“the governmental interest in disclosure is diminished
when the contribution in question is made to a minor party
with little chance of winning an election”).’ When the limited
regulatory benefit of applying disclosure to minor party
candidates is combined with the demonstration that a
particular minor party and its members have been subject to
harassment, the First Amendment requires an as-applied
exemption to the disclosure requirement.
The Court has used a similar mode of analysis in
defining an exemption to requirements (such as that at
issue here, in BCRA section 203) that corporations spend
money on election-related activities only through “separate
segregated funds,” or PACs: the exemption is closely
tailored to the absence in certain cases of the state inter-
ests justifying the regulation.
The Court has recognized that such PAC requirements
are generally constitutional because they serve two com-
pelling state interests.’ First, such requirements eliminate
* The Court in Buckley explained that “[a]ls minor parties usually
represent definite and publicized viewpoints, there may be less need to
inform the voters of the interests that specific candidates represent.”
424 U.S. at 70. Moreover, the concern that large donors may wield
undue influence over officeholders is “reduced where contributions to a
minor party or an independent candidate are concerned, for it is jess
likely that the candidate will be victorious.” Jd.; see also Brown, 459
U.S. at 96 n.11 (“In the case of minor parties, .. . their limited financial
resources serve as a built-in expenditure ceiling which minimizes the
likelihood that they will expend substantial amounts of money to
finance improper campaign activities.... We cannot agree ... that
minor parties are as likely as major parties to make significant
expenditures in funding dirty tricks or other improper campaign
activities.... Moreover, the expenditure by minor parties of even a
substantial portion of their limited funds on illegal activities would be
unlikely to have a substantial impact.”).
* The general constitutionality of a PAC requirement for corporate
election-related spending was not litigated below and thus is not at
(Continued on following page)
8
a type of “distortion caused by corporate spending” in
elections. Austin, 494 U.S. at 660. The distortion is the
result of “state-created advantages” that permit corpora-
tions “to use ‘resources amassed in the economic market-
place’ to obtain ‘an unfair advantage in the political
marketplace.’” Id. at 659 (quoting MCFL, 479 U.S. at
257). “As the Court explained in MCFL, the political
advantage of corporations is unfair because ‘|tJ/he re-
sources in the treasury of a business corporation ... are
not an indication of popular support for the corporation’s
political ideas. They reflect instead the economically
motivated decisions of investors and customers. The
availability of these resources may make a corporation a
formidable political presence, even though the power of
the corporation may be no reflection of the power of its
ideas,’” Id.; see also McConnell, 540 U.S. at 205 (“We have
repeatedly sustained legislation aimed at ‘the corrosive
and distorting effects of immense aggregations of wealth
that are accumulated with the help of the corporate form
and that have little or no correlation to the public’s sup-
port for the corporation’s political ideas.’” (quoting Austin,
issue here. See Randall v. Sorrell, 126 S.Ct. 2479, 2500-01 (2006) (Alito,
J., concurring) (refusing to reconsider campaign finance precedent in
Buckley, 424 U.S. 1, because issue was not properly before the Court).
The only question in this case is whether Wisconsin Right to Life, Inc.
(WRTL) is entitled to an as-applied exemption from the requirement for
three advertisements it sought to broadcast with general treasury
funds near the 2004 elections.
* “State law grants corporations special advantages - such as
limited liability, perpetual life, and favorable treatment of the accumu-
lation and distribution of assets — that enhance their ability to attract
capital and to deploy their resources in ways that maximize the return
on their shareholders’ investments.” MCF, 479 U.S. at 258-59.
9
494 U.S. at 660)); MCFL, 479 U.S. at 257-59; cf. FEC v.
Natl Right to Work Comm., 459 U.S. 197, 209-10 (1982).
Second, the PAC requirement protects dissenting
shareholders of corporations who oppose the use of their
money to affect political campaigns. See McConnell, 540
U.S. at 204 (quoting FEC v. Beaumont, 539 U.S. 146, 163
(2003)); Austin, 494 U.S. at 673-75 (Brennan, J., concur-
ring); see also id. at 665-66 (majority opinion); MCFL, 479
U.S. at 260; cf. FEC v. Beaumont, 539 U.S. at 154-55."
The Court in MCFL held that the First Amendment
requires an exemption from the longstanding PAC re-
quirement for a certain category of nonprofit corporations
whose electoral expenditures do not implicate these two
state interests — namely, those that (1) rely solely on
donations from ideological supporters rather than from
commercial activities; (2) have no shareholders; and (3) do
not take money from business corporations. MCFL, 479
* These two rationales have been the dual justifications for
Congress's restrictions on corporate election activity going all the way
back to the Tillman Act of 1907. See United States v. CIO, 335 U.S. 106,
113 (1948). Since its inception in 1947, the federal PAC requirement
has also applied to labor unions. As the Court recognized in Austin,
there are “crucia] differences between unions and corporations,” 494
U.S. at 666, such that the government interests that justify the PAC
requirements as to corporations do not necessarily apply in the same
manner to unions, see id. at 665-66 (elaborating those differences). In
McConnell, the Court held that the PAC requirement was constitutional
as applied to unions, albeit without providing any rationale for treating
corporations and unions alike. See Richard L. Hasen, Buckley is Dead,
Long Live Buckley; The New Campaign Finance Incoherence of McCon-
nell v. Federal Election Commission, 153 U. Pa. L. REV. 31, 56-57
(2004). Because of the additional constitutional questions that might
arise with respect to application of the PAC requirement to unions, the
discussion in this brief is limited solely to election-related spending by
corporations.
10
U.S. at 259-65; see also McConnell, 540 U.S. at 210-11
(reiterating criteria in greater detail). In crafting these
criteria, the Court ensured that the exemption would be
carefully tailored in accord with the underlying justifica-
tions for the PAC requirement. Requiring such “MCFL
corporations” to use PACs for political expenditures would
burden their First Amendment activities without advanc-
ing the state interests that support the general regulation
as applied to other corporations. With respect to such a
corporation, “the concerns underlying the regulation of
corporate political activity are simply absent.... It is not
the case ... that [the corporation] merely poses less of a
threat of the danger that has prompted regulation. Rather,
it does not pose such a threat at all.” MCFL, 479 U.S. at
263.
The Court’s treatment of as-applied exceptions in such
cases should guide its analysis here, as well, where it is
faced with a virtually indistinguishable corporate PAC
requirement.
Il.
THE COURT SHOULD CRAFT ANY AS-APPLIED
EXEMPTION WITH REGARD TO THE COMPEL-
LING INTERESTS CONGRESS SOUGHT TO PRO-
TECT IN BCRA SECTION 203
Section 203 of BCRA is the latest amendment to the
very well-established, decades-old regulation on corporate
expenditures that the Court has reviewed in numerous
cases. Congress has regulated corporate influence on
federal elections for 100 years, since the Tillman Act
of 1907, Pub. L. 59-36, 34 Stat. 864. See Beaumont, 539
U.S. at 152-53. Since 1907, “there has been continual
_
—
congressional attention to corporate political activity.” /d.
at 153. And for fully 60 years, since the Labor Manage-
ment Relations (Taft-Hartley) Act of 1947, ch. 120, § 304,
61 Stat. 159-160, Congress has required that corporate
expenditures in connection with federal elections must
come from funds raised for that purpose, rather than from
corporate treasury funds derived from shareholders. See
generally Pipefitters Local Union No. 562 v. United States,
407 U.S. 385 (1972) (construing the 1947 and 1972 ver-
sions of the PAC requirement); see also id. at 402-14
(canvassing the history of the regulation); United States v.
International Union of United Automobile Workers (UAW),
352 U.S. 567, 570-87 (1957); MCFL, 479 U.S. at 246-48.
In 1986, the Court construed the PAC requirement to
apply only to expenditures for express advocacy (i.e., ads
specifically stating that viewers or listeners should vote
for or against a particular candidate), so as to avoid a
concern that the coverage of the law was too imprecise.
MCFL, 479 U.S. at 248-49 (referring to Buckley's vague-
ness concerns in an analogous context); see Buckley, 424
U.S. at 40-44. Within ten years, corporations had begun to
exploit this limitation by spending significant sums of
treasury funds for so-called “issue ads,” that is, ads not
expressly advocating a vote for or against a candidate, but
instead criticizing or supporting a candidate’s position on
an issue and telling listeners to call the candidate about
the issue. McConnell, 540 U.S. at 127-28 & nn.20-21; see
also Richard Briffault, Lésuwe Aduocacy: Redrawing the
Elections/Politics Line, 77 TEXAS L. REV. 1751, 1755-62
(1999) (setting forth ease by which corporations and others
evaded FECA regulation).
\
|
|
|
12
Congress’s response to this widespread evasion of the
restrictions on corporate campaign spending was section
203 of BCRA. It applies the PAC requirement to “election-
eering communications.” Doing so eliminates the vague-
ness concerns that resulted in the Court’s narrowing
construction in MCFL, and as a practical matter puts
corporations in much the same position they were in for
several decades after Congress enacted its initial limita-
tion on corporate expenditures in 1947. Under section 203
- and the definition of “electioneering communications”
found in BCRA section 201 - the corporate PAC require-
ment now extends to expenditures for broadcast, cable, or
satellite communications that refer to a clearly identified
candidate for federal office, that are aired within 60 days
before a general election or 30 days before a primary
election, and that are aired to the candidate’s constituency.
2 U.S.C. § 434(f)(3). Congress determined that by reason of
‘their content, medium, timing, and targeting, such ads are
“functionally identical in important respects” to express
campaign advocacy even though they eschew the “magic
words” of express advocacy, such as “Elect John Smith.”
McConnell, 540 U.S. at 126. In McConnell, the Court
agreed, upholding the extension of the longstanding
corporate PAC requirement to electioneering communica-
tions as defined by Congress. Jd. at 203-09.
In so doing, the Court gave great weight to political
realities and focused on the electoral significance of the
ads’ context — not merely to their words:
[T]he unmistakable lesson from the record on
this litigation, as all three judges in the District
Court agreed, is that Buckley’s magic-words re-
quirement is functionally meaningless ... Not
13
only can advertisers easily evade the line by es-
chewing the use of magic words, but they would
seldom choose to use such words even if permit-
ted. And although the resulting advertisements
do not urge the viewer to vote for or against a
candidate in so many words, they are no less
clearly intended to influence the election. Buck-
ley’s express advocacy line, in short, has not
aided the legislative effort to combat real or ap-
parent corruption, and Congress enacted BCRA
to correct the flaws it found in the existing sys-
tem.
Id. at 193-94 (emphasis added); see also id. at 206.
The Court in McConnell concluded that BCRA’s
electioneering communication definition was not vague, id.
at 194, and that the corporate PAC requirement for such
electioneering communications is neither unconstitution-
ally underinclusive, id. at 207-08, nor unconstitutionally
overbroad, id. at 205-07. The Court noted that the vast
majority of ads that fall within the statutory definition are
“clearly” election-related. Id. at 206. Moreover, the Court
noted that corporations would not be unduly burdened by
the regulation because they could continue to pay for
political ads either by avoiding any specific reference to
federal candidates, or “in doubtful cases by paying for the
ad from a segregated fund,” that is, a PAC. Id.
We respectfully submit that in determining whether
any as-applied exemption to this rule is constitutionally
required, the Court ought to build on the principles that it
developed in Buckley, Brown, and MCFL.
In crafting as-applied exemptions in those cases, the
Court identified discrete circumstances in which the
constitutional balance between the burden on First
14
Amendment rights and the advancement of the state’s
interests was significantly different from the usual run of
cases in which the regulation had already been deemed
constitutional. In particular, the Court considered whether
there were situations in which (i) the burden on First
Amendment rights was greater than in the standard cases
covered by the regulation; and (ii) the usual justifications
for imposing that burden did not apply, i.e., where the
state interests are not implicated.
In this case — unlike in Brown, 459 U.S. 87; see supra
pp. 6-7 — there are no circumstances in which BCRA’s PAC
requirement imposes greater burdens on First Amendment
rights than the burdens imposed in the vast majority of
concededly constitutional applications. In particular,
application of section 203 to “electioneering communica-
tions” that are purportedly related to legislative initiatives
does not impinge on corporations’ protected speech any
more than does the application of the PAC requirement to
express advocacy itself. As the Court explained in McCon-
nell, “the speech involved in so-called issue advocacy” is
not “any more core political speech than are words of
express advocacy.” 540 U.S. at 205.°
* “After all,” the Court explained, “‘the constitutional guarantee
has its fullest and most urgent application precisely to the conduct of
campaigns for political office,’” and “ ‘[ajdvocacy of the election or defeat
of candidates for federal] office is no less entitled to protection under the
First Amendment than the discussion of political policy generally or
advocacy of the passage or defeat of legislation.’” McConnell, 540 US.
at 205 (citations omitted). On this particular point, the entire Court in
McConnell appeared to be in agreement. See id. at 328 (Kennedy, J.,
concurring in the judgment in part and dissenting in part). ~
The Court’s decision in First Nat. Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435
U.S. 765 (1978), is not to the contrary. In Bellotti, the state had
foreclosed all means for corporations to engage in communications on
(Continued on following page)
15
Because application of section 203 to speech that is
arguably more focused on legislative initiatives than on
electoral choices does not raise greater First Amendment
concerns than the core applications of the law that the
Court has already approved, if there are to be any as-
applied exemptions from that statute, it would only be
under circumstances in which “the interests that justify
the regulation of campaign speech might not apply.” Jd. at
206 n.88; see also MCFL, 479 U.S. at 263 (“the concerns
underlying the regulation of corporate political activity are
simply absent with regard to MCFL”).
As noted above, supra pp. 7-9, Congress and the Court
have identified at least two such interests — prevention of
the “distortion caused by corporate spending” when a
corporation uses funds secured by virtue of “state-created
advantages,” and protection of the prerevatives of dissent-
ing shareholders — that are sufficiently compelling to
justify the basic corporate PAC requirement, even as
applied to core political speech.
The Court and Congress have identified one category
of cases in which these two compelling governmental
interests are simply not implicated — namely, application
of the PAC requirement to so-called “MCFL-exempt”
nonprofit corporations. See McConnell, 540 U.S. at 210-11
(“We presume that the legislators who drafted” BCRA
certain referendum proposals. Under BCRA section 203, by contrast,
corporations may engage in electioneering communications in a number
of ways, including through a PAC that they may control. See MCFL,
479 U.S. at 259 n.12 (“The [corporate PAC requirement] imposed as a
result of this concern is of course distinguishable from the complete
foreclosure of any opportunity for political speech that we invalidated in
the state referendum context in {Bellotti).”).
16
section 204, 2 ').S.C. § 441b(c)(6)(A), extending PAC
requirement to certain nonprofit corporations “were fully
aware that the provision could not validly apply to MCFL-
type entities.”).
The Court has explained in MCFL and McConnell
why the two state interests that ordinarily justify the
corporate PAC requirement are inapposite to such non-
profit corporations. First, such groups do not use aggrega-
tions of wealth accumulated by virtue of the corporate
form to espouse political advocacy with no correlation to
the public’s support for such ideas. Second, the share-
holder-protection interest is not implicated, because
“lilndividuals who contribute to [such a nonprofit corpora-
tion] are fully aware of its political purposes, and in fact
contribute precisely because they support those purposes.”
MCFL, 479 U.S. at 260-61; see generally McConnell, 540
U.S. at 210-11.
Wisconsin Right To Life, Inc. (WRTL) presumably
satisfies two of the three criteria for an MCFL exemption:
It “‘was formed for the express purpose of promoting
political ideas, and cannot engage in business activities,’”
and “‘it has no shareholders or other persons affiliated so
as to have a claim on its assets or earnings.’” McConnell, —
540 U.S. at 210 (quoting MCFL, 479 U.S. at 264). There-
fore, WRTL’s use of its treasury funds, like that of most
nonprofit advocacy corporations, would not implicate the
state interests underlying BCRA section 203. WRTL would
be free to use its treasury funds for both issue-oriented
and direct electoral expression, but for the fact that it does
not satisfy the final MCFL criterion: WRTL does not abide
by a policy of declining to accept contributions from for-
profit corporations. See Defendant Federal Election Com-
mission’s Supplemental Brief in Support of Motion for
17
Summary Judgment, Wis. Right to Life, Inc. v. FEC, No.
1:04cv01260, at 12 (D.D.C. Sept. 11, 2006), available at:
http://electionlawblog.org/archives/fec-wrtl-supp%20msj. pdf
(WRTL took contributions of up to $300,000 (including
individual contributions of $50,000 and $130,000) from for-
profit corporations).
This third requirement “‘prevents [nonprofit] corpora-
tions from serving as conduits for the type of [otherwise
prohibited] direct [corporate] spending that creates a
threat to the political marketplace.’” McConnell, 540 U.S.
at 211 (quoting MCFL, 479 U.S. at 264). This point is
worth emphasis: The only reason section 203 applies to
WRTL at all — as to any of its advertising — is because
WRTL has opted to accept large amounts of money from
the for-profit corporations that are the specific target of
the section 203 PAC requirement. If WRTL would simply
decline corporate funds to pay for political advocacy, then
section 203 and FECA more broadly would not prevent it
from using its treasury funds for any sort of advertising,
including express advocacy.’ Because it has chosen not to
take advantage of the MCFL exemption, the burden of
establishing eligibility for yet another type of as-applied
exemption rests upon WRTL. See Buckley, 424 U.S. at 72-
74; Brown, 459 U.S. at 93-94.
" It is conceivable that some other nonprofit corporation that
accepts very little money from for-profit corporations could demonstrate
that in such a case the “conduit” concern the Court has recognized is
inapposite because: of the trivial amount of corporate funds received. If
such a showing were made, then the Court would have to consider
whether a “de ninimis” exception to the final criterion of the MCFL
exemption would be appropriate, and manageable. But no such proof
has been offered here, presumably because WRTL acéepts a great deal
of money frora for-profit corporations.
18
Instead of identifying a category of speakers that do
not implicate the state interests underlying section 203 (as
in MCFL), WRTL argues that there is a category of broad-
cast advertising that falls within the plain terms of the
BCRA definition of “electioneering commuz cations” but
that somehow does not implicate the interests underlying
the PAC requirement. See Appellee’s Response to Appel-
lants’ Jurisdictional Statements, at 4 (the Court in
McConnell “‘assume[d] that the interests that justify the
regulation of campaign speech might not apply to the
regulation of genuine issue ads’” (quoting McConnell, 540
U.S. at 206 n.88)).
In order for WRTL to meet its burden, it must demon-
strate that there is a category of so-called corporate
“electioneering communications” as defined by Congress as
to which corporate aggregations of wealth do not have the
sort of “corrosive and distorting” effects on federal elec-
tions that justify the PAC requirement in the first in-
stance, and that do not implicate shareholders’ interests in
not having their funds be used to affect federal elections.
We submit, however, that advertisements taking the
form of “electioneering communications” as defined by
Congress will invariably implicate such concerns except in
the unusual situation where it is unlikely that such adver-
tisements would have an appreciable effect on voters’
choices in the relevant election.
The Court’s decision in McConnell makes clear that
whether or not an ad implicates the relevant state interests
is a question that necessarily requires careful consideration
of the electoral setting — of whether the ad could have the
effect of influencing voters’ decisions. The Court held that
“issue ads” falling within the statutory definition generally
19
are the “functional equivalent of express advocacy,” i.e.,
that the “justifications that adequately support the regula-
tion of express advocacy” apply as well to “significant
quantities of speech encompassed by the definition of
electioneering communications.” McConnell, 540 U.S. at
206.
Of course, Congress’s definition of “electioneering
communications” does not correspond exactly to every
advertisement that implicates the interests supporting the
corporate PAC requirement. That definition does not, for
instance, cover every ad that is likely to influence voters’
choices in a federal election. See id. at 208 (explaining that
the definition is not fatally underinclusive even though “it
leaves advertising 61 days in advance of an election
entirely unregulated”). Just as the definition — like any
bright-line rule — is slightly underinclusive relative to
Congress’s objectives, perhaps it is likewise a bit overin-
clusive: There might be some ads covered by the definition
that would be highly unlikely to influence voters’ choices.
Appellees’ primary argument appears to be that an as-
applied exemption should be recognized where a corpora-
tion’s ostensible purpose in broadcasting the advertise-
ment is to influence legislative debates rather than (or in
addition to) federal elections. There is some reason to
think such ostensible non-election-related purposes would
be pretextual in a significant number of cases. See McCon-
nell, 540 U.S. at 206. But more fundamentally, it simply is
not the case that “electioneering communications” would
not implicate Congress’s compelling interests even if the
corporation might a/so intend for the broadcasts to have
an impact on legislative debates.
20
Indeed, a corporation’s intent in broadcasting such ads
should be immaterial to the as-applied-exemption ques-
tion. The state interests underlying the PAC requirement
— the effects of corporate wealth on federal elections by
virtue of state-conferred prerogatives, and the protection
of shareholders against the risk that their money will be
used to influence federal elections in ways that they do not
approve — are implicated whenever such ads influence
voters’ choices, regardless of whether the corporation
might have (or be able to articulate as a pretext) addi-
tional objectives for broadcasting such ads.
Thus, corporate intent should not be the touchstone
for an exemption. The burden for a corporation such as
WRTL must be to identify an easily distinguishable set of
advertisements that fall within the definition of “election-
eering communications” but that do not have any appre-
ciable chance of actually. influencing voters’ federal
election choices — because it is only such advertisements
that would not implicate the compelling government
interests underlying the 60-year-old requirement that
corporations should use segregated funds to influence
federal elections.
21
III. .
THE DISTRICT COURT’S AS-APPLIED TEST IS
NOT TAILORED TO THE COMPELLING INTER-
ESTS CONGRESS SOUGHT TO PROTECT IN BCRA
AND WOULD LEAD TO THE RE-EMERGENCE OF
“ISSUE ADS” PAID FOR WITH CORPORATE
TREASURY FUNDS THAT HAVE AN IMPACT ON
FEDERAL ELECTIONS
The district court did not attempt to identify a set of
advertisements that are unlikely to implicate the compel-
ling government interests underlying section 203. Rather,
it would create an exemption for any advertisement that
“describes a legislative issue that is either currently the
subject of legislative scrutiny or likely to be the subject of
legislative scrutiny in the near future,” refers to the
candidate’s voting record, “exhorts the listener to ...
contact the candidate about the described issue,” but then
avoids references to an election or political party, and
avoids expressly attacking or supporting a candidate.
(Appendix to Jurisdictional Statement of Appellant Fed-
eral Election Commission (App. J.S.) 22a.)
Tius draws a roa‘map for easily evading BCRA.
Congress found, and the Court agreed in McConnell, that
broadcast advertisements that name federal candidates in
the immediate pre-election period have an impact on the
election. Yet, the district court would exempt many of
these ads from regulation. It is hard to magine what
campaign issue is not “currently the subject of legislative
scrutiny or likely to be the subject of legislative scrutiny in
the near future.” (App. J.S. 22a.) Surely, it would be simple
for a corporation to develop an election-period ad that
takes an emphatic position on an issue, links a candidate
22
to the issue, criticizes the candidate’s position on the issue
(albeit not the candidate herself), and calls on voters to
contact the candidate — all without referring to an election
or party. As McConnell explained, “[llittle difference
existed, for example, between an ad that urged viewers to
‘vote against Jane Doe,’ and one that condemned Jane
Doe’s record on a particular issue before exhorting viewers
to ‘call Jane Doe and tell her what you think.’” McConnell,
540 U.S. at 126-27.
The district court’s standard would once again enable
corporations to use treasury funds to sponsor election-
period ads that condemn Jane Doe’s record on a particular
issue before exhorting voters to “call Jane Doe and tell her
what you think.” Truly, under the district court’s appri ach,
the exemption would eat up the rule, and the very kinds of
advertising tactics that BCRA was enacted to prevent
would flourish again.
The district court determined that the as-applied
exemption has to be decided solely by looking at the face of
the ad, without any context. As the court explained, it
limited “its consideration to language within the four
corners of the anti-filibuster ads.” (App. J.S. 22a.) This is
flatly inconsistent with Congress’s judgment in BCRA, and
with the Court’s opinion in McConnell. The lower court's
test for as-applied challenges to section 203 ignores
political reality by adopting a “see no evil” approach,
devoid of context, for determining whether corporate
treasury funds are being spent on election-period adver-
tisements that are likely to have an appreciable effect on
voter choices in federal elections.
The compelling government interests that justify
regulation of corporate spending are not concerned with
23
the content of ads per se but with the potential impact of
the corporate treasury funds on elections and on the rights
of shareholders not to have their funds diverted to election
campaigns. The content of the ad is, of course, a critical
factor in determining whether an ad raises the concerns
that justify regulation. That is why section 203 provides
that a reference to a “clearly identified candidate for
Federal office” is a prerequisite for regulation of the ad as
an “electioneering communication.” But as Congress and
the Court have recognized, content cannot be the only
factor. As BCRA and McConnell together make clear,
context — including the timing of the ad and the medium of
communication — matters, too.
If the lower court’s as-applied test is allowed to stand,
the corporate “issue ads” that Congress intended to subject
to the PAC requirement in BCRA would likely return in
full force, hereby leading once again to an irrational
regime tha: might treat ads with virtually identical
electoral impact differently, depending upon the presence
or absence of magic words (in this case, any word that
directly “promotes, attacks, supports, or opposes” a named
candidate (J.S. App. 22a)).
Moreover, although WRTL in this litigation requests
an as-applied exemption only as to BCRA section 203’s
PAC requirement, if the lower court opinion is allowed to
stand, corporations and others would be able to ask for as-
applied exemptions to BCRA section 201, which uses the
same “electioneering communications” test to trigger a
disclosure requirement for election-related communica-
tions over a certain spending threshold. See 2 U.S.C.
§ 434(f). A broad as-applied exemption thus could lead to a
situation in which the “sponsors of [issue] ads [will once
again use] misleading names to concea) their identity.”
24
McCorinell, 540 U.S. at 128. This is a result that would
thwart Congress’s strong interest in mandating effective
campaign finance disclosure, an interest eight of the
Court’s Justices upheld in McConnell. Id. at 196 (uphold-
ing section 201); id. at 321 (Kennedy, J., joined by
Rehnquist, C.J., and Scalia, J., concurring and dissenting) .
(voting with majority to uphold the disclosure rules of
section 201 except as to its “advanced disclosure” require-
ment).
IV.
THE COURT SHOULD HOLD THAT CORPORATIONS
SEEKING AN AS-APPLIED EXEMPTION FROM
THE PAC REQUIREMENT FOR “ELECTIONEERING
COMMUNICATIONS” MUST DEMONSTRATE THAT A
PARTICULAR BROADCAST ADVERTISEMENT IS
UNLIKELY TO HAVE ANY APPRECIABLE EFFECT
ON VOTERS’ CHOICES IN A FEDERAL ELECTION
The as-applied exemption the Court should craft is
one tailored to the substantial governmental interests
that, according to the Court, justify the regulation of
corporate election-related activity. We propose the follow-
ing test: a corporation should be entitled to an as-applied
exemption to the PAC requirement for electioneering
communications only when it proves that the communica-
tion is unlikely to have any appreciable effect on voters’
choices in the federal election.
For example, suppose a corporation wishes to use its
general treasury funds to broadcast a television advertise-
ment during the pre-election period concerning a pending
25
legislative issue that mertions an incumbent member of
Congress who is running unopposed for reelection.” In such
circumstances, an as-applied exemption might be war-
ranted because in an uncontested election the advertising
can have no appreciable effect on voters’ choices.”
To give another example, imagine a corporation that
sells baseball cards. It pays for a television advertisement
of its products that is broadcast close to an election and
* The Center for Responsive Politics reports that in 2006, candi-
dates ran completely unopposed in 36 House races. Center for Respon-
sive Politics, 2006 Election Analysis: Incumbents Linked to Corruption
Lose, But Money Still Wins (updated Nov. 9, 2006), http://www.opensecrets.
org/pressreleases/2006/PostElection.11.8.asp.
* The issue is more complex when a corporation wishes to run a
television advertisement in an uncontested primary election mention-
ing a candidate who will run in a contested general election. Such
advertising may affect the general election. See Christian Civic League
of Me., Inc. v FEC, 433 F.Supp.2d 81, 89 (D.D.C. 2006) (suggesting that
electioneering communication mentioning Senator Olympia Snowe
broadcast shortly before the 2006 Maine Republican primary for U.S.
Senate “might have the effect of encouraging a new candidate to oppose
Senator Snowe, reducing the number of votes cast for her in the
primary, weakening her support in the general election, or otherwise
undermining her efforts to gather such support, including by raising
funds for her reelection”). Nevertheless, Congress has treated the
primary and general elections as separate elections under BCRA, and
therefore we would not rule out the possibility of an as-applied exemp-
tion for uncontested primary elections, depending upon the nature of
the proof a corporation is able to adduce, notwithstanding a slight
possibility that the pre-primary ads might affect general elections.
The question is not academic in the context of this very case.
Senator Feingold ran unopposed in 2004 in the Wisconsin Democratic
primary for U.S. Senate. See Wisconsin State Elections Board, Results
of Fall Primary Election -— 9/14/2004, at p. 2, http://165.189.88.185/
docview asp*docid=1382&locid=47. However, only part of the total
electioneering communications period at issue in this case was due to
the primary; on September 2, or two weeks before the primary, the 60-
day general election period began.
|
|
|
26
includes the name or likeness of a former baseball star
who also happens to be an incumbent Senator running for
re-election. The corporation should be entitled to an as-
applied exemption because such an advertisement, so
entirely unconnected to anything relevant to the candidate
or his performance in office, is unlikely to have an appre-
ciable effect on the voters’ decisionmaking.
Similarly, suppose a candidate has the same name as
_an automobile dealership within the district she seeks to
represent in Congress — a business that she founded and is
now operated by her daughter, who has the same name.
The dealership could be allowed to run ads for its business
in the pre-election period featuring the name common to
the candidate, the dealership, and the current head of the
business. ”
Although this test would require application of some
judgment (less in the case of the unopposed candidate, a
little more in the baseball card and car dealership cases),
the number of difficult cases would be few. The baseball
card or car dealership ad will not have an appreciable effect
on voters’ choices because it is highly unlikely that voters
would use an ad so far removed from anything relevant to
the candidate or his or her performance in assessing the
candidate. In contrast, WRTL’s 2004 advertisements
should easily fail to qualify for an as-applied exemption
* The FEC agreed in a 2004 determination. 2004-31 Op. FEC
(2004) (Russ Darrow Group, Inc.), available at http://www.fec.gov/aos/
2004/a02004-31final.pdf. Although the FEC declined to create an
exemption for all situations in which a candidate and a business shared
a name - because such ads could often be used to promote the candidate
— it found that in the particular circumstances of the dealership case an
exemption was appropriate. Jd.
27
(except arguably during part of the primary period, when
Senator Feingold was running unopposed; see supra p. 25
n.9). A broadcast ad that refers to both a candidate and a
campaign issue in the pre-election period is singularly
unsuitable for an as-applied exemption, because such ads
would almost certainly affect voters’ choices about the
named candidates. The WRTL ads are closely enough
related to a candidate’s performance and issues in the
election that it is quite plausible the advertisements could
affect voters’ choices, as the dissent in the lower court
below demonstrated, applying an appropriate contextual
analysis. (App. J.S. 40a-47a.)"
The Court in McConnell recognized that political
actors can understand context and make such common-
sense judgments. In the few close cases that may arise,
corporations may seek an advisory opinion from the FEC,
cf. McConnell, 540 U.S. at 170 n.64, or “during those
timeframes [] simply avoid[] any specific reference to
federal candidates, or in doubtful cases |] pay|] for the ad
from a segregated fund.” Jd. at 206.
" It is noteworthy that the radio scripts for each of WRTL's ads
included the following disclaimer: “Paid for by Wisconsin Right to Life
(befair.org), which is responsible for the content of this advertising and
not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.” (App. J.S.
3a-5a & nn.3-5.) The disclaimer plainly indicates WRTL's recognition
that the ads would be perceived by the voters who heard them as
electoral ads, thus confirming that even their sponsor understood they
would have an electcral effect. Indeed, by specifically using the terms
“candidate” and “candidate’s committee,” the ads employ the language
of electoral ads, which reinforces their foreseeable electoral effect. Even
under the district court’s inadequate, content-only test, the ads’
references to “candidate or candidate’s committee” ought to render
them electoral communications ineligible for any as-applied exemption.
28
To be sure, there would not be many cases in which
corporations would qualify for as-applied exemptions. But
corporations would continue to have significant protections
for their First Amendment activities. MCFL-exempt corpora-
tions are not subject to the PAC requirement at all. They can
spend their general treasury funds on such ads. (Recall that
WRTL itself could qualify for such a sweeping exemption if it
simply declines donations from other corporations.) Even for-
profit corporations and corporations such as WRTL that do
not qualify for the MCFL exemption continue to have many
ways to engage in political activity, including:
° Spending on express advocacy and electioneer-
ing communications through a separate PAC
(as WRTL has created (see App. J.S. 41a-42a));
¢ Internet, mail, and print advertising that
avoids express advocacy;
* Broadcast advertisements, including ads
that refer to federal candidates, that are
aired outside the statutory pre-election pe-
riod and that avoid express advocacy;
and
e Television or radio advertising broadcast
close to the election that “simply avoid|s]
any specific reference to federal candidates”
(McConnell, 540 U.S. at 206).
— ~ A
CONCLUSION
Both Congress and the Court have long struggled to set
the balance between the proper scope of election regulation
and the protection of political speech. BCRA and McConnell
29
have struck a fair balance. Any as-applied exemptions to
BCRA should not be allowed to subvert that balance.
The district court erred in its most recent opinion by
applying a poorly tailored and constitutionally tone-deaf
test for separating electioneering communications likely to
influence voters’ choices in federal elections from those
unlikely to have such an effect. It would permit corporate
use of treasury funds for speech that falls within the core
of the constitutional justifications for BCRA’s regulation.
And it would exempt many electioneering communications
from the reach of a statute Congress only recently adopted
and the Court just recently sustained. Its judgment should
be reversed. Any as-applied exemption the Court adopts
should exempt only those electioneering communications
that are not likely to have an appreciable effect on voters’
choices in a federal election.
For the foregoing reasons, we urge the Court to-
reverse the judgment of the district court.
Respectfully submitted,
RICHARD BRIFFAULT RICHARD L. HASEN
435 West 116th Street *Counsel of Record
New York, NY 10027 919 Albany Street
(212) 854-2638 Los Angeles, CA 90015
FAX: (212) 854-7946 (213) 736-1466
FAX: (213) 380-3769
Davib S. ETTINGER rick.hasen@lls.edu
Horvitz & LEVY LLP
15760 Ventura Boulevard, MARTIN S. LEDERMAN
18th Floor 600 New Jersey Avenue, NW
Encino, CA 91436 Washington, D.C. 20001
(818) 995-0800 (202) 662-9937
FAX: (818) 995-3157
Attorneys for Amici Curiae
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.