Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. Williams

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

A

Vv

Michael Williams,

Respondent.

a

On Writs of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

¢

BRIEF OF THE STATES OF ALABAMA, ARIZONA,

ARKANSAS, COLORADO, DELAWARE, FLORIDA,

HAWAII, ILLINOIS, INDIANA, KANSAS, MAINE,

MARYLAND, MICHIGAN, MINNESOTA,

NEBRASKA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW MEXICO,

NORTH CAROLINA, NORTH DAKOTA,

OKLAHOMA, PENNSYLVANIA, SOUTH CAROLINA,

TEXAS, UTAH, VERMONT, VIRGINIA,

WASHINGTON, AND WEST VIRGINIA AS AMICI

CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PET_TIONER

¢

Troy King James W. Davis

Attorney General Assistant Attorney General

Kevin C. Newsom

Solicitor General STATE OF ALABAMA

Counsel of Record Office of the Attorney General

11 South Union Street

Montgo~ery, Alabama 36130

June 11, 2007 (334) 242-7401

(Additional counsel for amici curiae are listed inside the front cover.)

ey ee

FILED

No. 06-694 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In the ws

Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

United States of America,

Petitioner,

ADDITIONAL COUNSEL

TERRY GODDARD

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF ARIZONA

1275 W. Washington St.

Phoenix, AZ 85007

DUSTIN MCDANIEL

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF ARKANSAS

323 Center Street

Little Rock, AR 72201

JOHN W. SUTHERS

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF COLORADO

1525 Sherman Street

Seventh Floor

Denver, CO 80203

JOSEPH R. BIDEN, III

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF DELAWARE

Carvel State Office Bldg.

820 N. French Street

Wilmington, DE 19801

BiLL MCCOLLUM

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF FLORIDA

The Capitol PL-01

Tallahassee, FL 32399-

1050

MARK J. BENNETT

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF HAWAII!

425 Queen Street

Honolulu, HI 96813

LisA MADIGAN

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF ILLINOIS

100 W. Randolph Street

Chicago, IL 60601

STEVE CARTER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF INDIANA

302 W. Washington St.

IGCS — Sth Floor

Indianapolis, IN 46204

PAUL J. MORRISON

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF KANSAS

Memorial Hall, 2nd Floor

120 SW 10th Street

Topeka, KS 66612

G. STEVEN ROWE

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF MAINE

6 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333

DOUGLAS F. GANSLER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF MARYLAND

200 Saint Paul Place

Baltimore, MD 21201

MICHAEL A. Cox

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF MICHIGAN

P.O. Box 30212

Lansing, MI 48909

LORI SWANSON

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF MINNESOTA

102 State Capitol

75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther

King, Jr. Blvd.

St. Paul, MN 55155-1609

JON BRUNING

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF NEBRASKA

P.O. Box 98920

Lincoln, NE 68509

KELLY A. AYOTTE

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF NEW

HAMPSHIRE

33 Capitol Street

Concord, NH 03301

GARY KING

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF NEW MEXICO

P.O. Drawer 1508

Santa Fe, NM 87504-1508

Roy COOPER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF NORTH

CAROLINA

N.C. Dep’t of Justice

114 West Edenton Street

Raleigh, NC 27603

WAYNE STENEHJEM

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA

600 E. Boulevard Avenue

Bismark, ND 58505-0040

W.A. DREW EDMONDSON

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF OKLAHOMA

313 N.E. 21st Street

Oklahoma City, OK

73105-4894

/

THOMAS W. CORBETT, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL

COMMONWEALTH OF

PENNSYLVANIA

16th Floor, Strawberry Sq.

Harrisburg, PA 17120

HENRY D. MCMASTER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF SOUTH

CAROLINA

P. O. Box 11549

Columbia, SC 29211

GREG ABBOTT

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF TEXAS

P.O. Box 12548

Austin, TX 78711-2548

MARK L. SHURTLEFF

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF UTAH

Utah State Capital

Complex

East Office Bldg., Ste. 320

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-

2320

WILLIAM SORRELL

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF VERMONT

109 State Street

Montpelier, VT 05609

ROBERT F. MCDONNELL

ATTORNEY GENERAL

COMMONWEALTH OF

VIRGINIA

900 East Main Street

Richmond, VA 23219

ROBERT M. MCKENNA

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF WASHINGTON

1125 Washington Street

P.O. Box 40100

Olympia, WA 98504-0100

DARRELL V. MCGRAW, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA

State Capitol, Room 26-E

Charleston, WV 25305

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether 18 U.S.C. § 2252A(a)(3)(B) is overbroad and

impermissibly vague, and thus facially unconstitutional,

when the statute prescribes punishment for one who

“knowingly advertises, promotes, presents, distributes, or

solicits ... any material or purported material in a manner

that reflects the belief, or that is intended to cause another to

believe, that the material or purported material is or contains”

illegal child pornography.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Fi th, |__- nE EENe ETT i

FARES Ce Diy FRE oi a sccsccsccccsesecosescenesescsososogoosanientont iv

ECE CO Pe vicescicsciminsssecccesessenrecestnnsonnamnsnnataniiatiiat l

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ..2....c:ccscsccrccsssessesessovsesscsesseses 2

PTTOIGE sisiniipstajecerintinvictaninneneiniistiaitanaiinnina 3

I. THE PROTECT ACT’S PANDERING

PROVISION IS NECESSARY TO ABOLISH

THE NETWORK FOR _ CHILD

POU sa isiceciisiscsssiieicsinssauspiciiasiaianinaiien 4

A. The Congressional Findings Amply

Demonstrate the Necessity of the Protect

Act’s Pandering Provision................sssscessessssseeseres 4

B. State Obscenity Statutes Targeting

Distribution of Child Pornography

Demonstrate the Need for the PROTECT

Act’s Pandering Provision...............::ssscsssssssseesensenees 6

I]. THE PROTECT ACT IS NOT UNCONSTITU-

TIONALLY OVERBROAD,. .....cc-ccssssorscescrseoseqeoscssoosees 10

A. The Government May Covnstitutionally

Criminalize An Offer to Transact in

ey ee crtccictnnccnrecinrtictpataiinmtiiaiiusitetin 10

1. An Offer to Transact In Real Child

Pornography Expands the Market

Regardless of What Material the Panderer

a 10

2. A Market-Deterrence Rationale Is

Sufficient To Support the PROTECT Act.......... 12

3. Solicitation Statutes Show that Congress

May Constitutionally Target the

EEE 15

B. The PROTECT Act Does Not Criminalize

BT scteisiacnbaliteeatescegnsinnintatemensnenraceseces 16

C. The PROTECT Act Does Not Ban A

Substantial Amount of Protected Speech. ................ 17

Ill. THE PROTECT ACT’S' PANDERING

PROVISION Is NOT

UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE. .............cc:cceceee0es 21

ra esitensitbasiionens 23

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Ashcroft v. Free Speech Coalition, 535 U.S. 234

SEI vceinnicorentincnnifeasnntinialtncinpininioongnnanemenemmnintnatsnniel passim

Board of Trustees of the State University of New York

V. Fax, 492 U.S. 469 (1989) .........cccccescecsscscssessesrsessesoees 1]

Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. 312 (1988) ..........ccecccsseseceeseessenees 22

Brandenburg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444 (1969) ..........c.ccc000 16, 17

Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601 (1973).............++. 17, 18

Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352 (1983) ..........ccccseeseeeeeeees 21

Members of the City Council v. Taxpayers for

ED 17

New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747 (1982)...........0000+ 4, 12,21

Osborne v. Ohio, 495 U.S. 103 (1990)..........cccceceeees 4, 12,17

Pittsburgh Press Co. v. Pittsburgh Comm'n on

Human Relations, 413 U.S. 376 (1973) .........cececeeeeeees 1]

United States v. Farner, 251 F.3d 510 (5" Cir. 2001).......... 16

United States. v. Knellinger, 471 F. Supp. 2d 640

Eee ere rene ee Te 5

United States v. Meek, 366 F.3d 705 (9" Cir. 2004)............ 15

United States v. Miller, ___ F. Supp. 2d __, 2007

WL 188277 (N.D. Ohio Jan. 22, 2007) .............c.ecsceeseeeees 5

United States v. O'Rourke, 470 F. Supp. 2d 1049

NTT incininrnastcinnitastaneneieninaneniieiecictaminntiinieipaiids 5

United States v. Rodriguez-Pacheco, 475 F.3d 434

gg | PSEA PRT EA Se ESSA: 6

Vv

United States v. Root, 296 F.3d 1222 (11" Cir. 2002),

cert. denied, Root v. U.S., 537 U.S. 1176 (2003)........... 16

United States v. Sims, 428 F.3d 945 (10™ Cir. 2005)........... 15

United States v. Steiger, __ F. Supp. 2d __, 2006

WL 3450140 (M.D.Ala. Nov. 29, 2006) ...........ccecceseeeneee 5

United States v. Williams, 444 F.3d 1286 (11" Cir.

REESE Eee ven ee aan ieee eee ce ee Te passim

United States v. X-Citement Video, Inc., 513 U.S. 64

Sa Titties teaneciphicmntepnptbingecieneinianinertinnncnibiisiatapaeibiiiites 22, 23

Virginia State Bd. Of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens

Consumer Council, Inc., 425 U.S. 748 (1976)...........+++. 11

Statutes

Re se i UE eshiaeniibasnciccnh eiieiteepaceninnacninnninniateiiuinebsiivensii 15

CR eee passim

17-A Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 259(1-A)(A)(3) .........ccceeeeeeseees 15

eee 15

pn E 15

ee 15

Ark. Code Ann. § 5-27-603(a)(1).........cc.cccsssssseseeeesesensensenees 15

ee 15

Ga. Code. Ann. § 16-12-100.2(d)(1) ..........cccccsesseeeeeeeeeeeeeees 15

I irl emeseiemnenaneemnnemntiinaneientite 8

ae 15

ET sciniintcrnesnencecicinecenescarnmenccibenennsenmenianin 8

ic linstitnniceterienindiidiiianeemnniintenindeiiiataneiti 9

Fk en 15

vi

Mont. Code Ann. § 45-5-625 (1)(C) ........sccscsssesesseeseesrerneess 15

I rts tensesseniarioccmmiomanemenectioniasniaiits 15

a i nerriccierrinciiipninadnseciemsenieinatiiusiiitadel 15

O.C.G.A. § 16-12-100.2(O)(2)(A) .........ccssesscescereerserereerseneseees 8

Olio Rev. Code § 2907 GCN Z) q...00.ncecccosorerscrsesceorecvensserers 15

PRE, Glam, Caper © BBB+ 1 DEI... cceccccccccscvccensessseccewsvorsesseete 9

R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-9-1.3(d)(1 (iii)... eeseeeeeeeeeeeeeeseeeeees 9

eri en Sr Fh ichcctcnrictirsncnecsicensnenedennctesisiiios 15

BL. Cote Amt. © 16-1S-DEAIA)..nccccccececssesecscscvsseeesescevecsesens 15

S.D. Codified Laws § 22-24A-S(A)(2) .......cccccscesecsseneeneeeeees 15

Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-13-528 (8) ............s.ssssccseeseseseeeeeeees 15

Oe ccaiinsnintnictansccitcocncnseconninanmenstiananl 9

Fe Ee iiiaticnintistictesiieeninnentisasincemcennnistatenininisits 9

V.T.C.A. Penal Code § 33.021 (a)(1)(B) ..........:.ssccsseesereeeeees 15

a a dicetiticnictantrictnccestnnnciecqnagnenecnpensiail 15

Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 6-4-303(a)(ii)(B)............-cccseceeseeeeseereeeeeees 9

Other Authorities

Prosecutors in State Courts, 2001, p. 5 (http://www.

ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/pub/pdf/psc0 1 .pdf)..............:ccceeceeereees 6

Prosecutors in State Courts, 2005, p. 5 (http://www.

ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/pub/pdf/psc05.pdf)............c.ccccceceeeeeeees 6

Pub. L. No. 108-21, 117 Stat. 676 § 501(5), (11)............. 5, 14

S. Rep. No. 2, 108” Cong., 1 Sess. 12 (2003) ......e.cessecsseeenes 4

’ /

1

INTEREST OF AMICI

Child pornography was once traded by mail or by hand.

Risk of detection and the resulting public humiliation was a

built-in deterrent to a person tempted to participate in its

distribution. And perhaps more importantly, there was never

any question, and no difficulty of proving, that real flesh-

and-blood children were involved in its creation.

But times have changed. Today computers provide

pornographers and pedophiles with a cloak of anonymity.

When pormographers gained the ability to trade images

electronically and in secret, opportunities for “pandering”

skyrocketed, and so (not surprisingly) did the incidents of

trading in illegal child pornography. At the same time,

pandering became a cyberspace crime without borders rather

than a trade in physical goods at a physical location.

State and federal prosecutors struggle to keep up. The

criminals can now digitally alter images of real children by

making those images appear to be computer-generated. The

pornographers claim that the images they transmit are not

real child pornography, thus forcing prosecutors to prove

otherwise and making it increasingly difficult to close the

network for illegal child pornography. State and federal

prosecutors need robust laws that account for the

technological revolution and that will allow the government

to protect children in the digital age. The Eleventh Circuit’s

decision in this case stripped away a vital prosecutorial tool —

namely, the ability to target directly an intentional offer to

trade in illegal material, irrespective of whether the

prosecutor is able to locate the image or specifically to prove

that it has been digitally altered to disguise a real child.

The States have a strong interest here because many of

them have laws on the books — laws that protect children —

that may be endangered by the Eleventh Circuit’s decision.

Moreover, the States recognize that child pornography is a

uniquely pervasive, hidden, and borderless crime, and that

2

prosecutorial cooperation between state and federal agents is

essential. The States therefore have an interest in seeing the

United States possess the full panoply of anti-child

pornography powers, lest State prosecutors become

overwhelmed with too many criminals and too few tools to

battle a national (and international) trade.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. This Court has recognized that the government has a

compelling interest in closing the network for illegal child

pornography, arid that is precisely what the PROTECT Act’s

pandering provision is designed to do. Current technology

allows pornographers to take images made with real flesh-

and-blood children and disguise them so that they appear to

be computer-generated. In almost every prosecution, the

criminals claim that they were trading virtual pornography

and not the real thing. This stock “virtual defense” makes the

prosecution of child pornography cases increasingly difficult

and expensive. The statute at issue here serves an important

need by directly targeting an offer to transact in unprotected

material. It is critical in the digital age that pandering

prosecutions do not remain dependent on the nature of the

material, at least where, as here, there is a provable intent to

expand the network for child pornography.

The congressional findings clearly demonstrate the link

between the PROTECT Act’s aims and the government’s

compelling interest in closing the network for child

pornography. Congress’ efforts are further supported by

several state statutes that address distribution of child

pornography in a similar manner. The Eleventh Circuit’s

analysis calls some of these statutes into question,

- demonstrating that much more is at stake here than a single

law.

Il. The PROTECT Act’s pandering provision is not

overbroad. Because there is nothing unconstitutional about

criminalizing an offer to transact in child pornography, the

3

statute is not overbroad to the extent that it focuses on the

intent of the panderer and not the actual content of the

material. In fact, the statute does not prohibit or chill any

protected speech, because it does not prohibit advocacy

speech, straight-forward offers to exchange virtual

pornography, or benign distribution of family photos. By its

terms, the statute applies only where the defendant

intentionally offers to transact in pornography made with real

children.

Ill. Nor is the statute unconstitutionally vague. The

Eleventh Circuit simply misread the statute and failed to give

the key term “knowingly” its proper meaning. Correctly

interpreted, the statute provides fair notice of what conduct is

proscribed and properly restricts prosecutors’ discretion.

ARGUMENT

The underlying facts of Williams’ lurid crime are set

forth in the Eleventh Circuit’s opinion, United States v.

Williams, 444 F.3d 1286 (11" Cir. 2006). Suffice it to say

that Williams distributed real pictures of real children

engaged in real sexually explicit conduct, and was charged

with one count of “pandering” material “in a manner that

reflects the belief, or that is intended to cause another to

believe,” that the material contains illegal child pornography

in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 2252A(a)(3)(B), a provision of

the PROTECT Act. /d. at 1289. Williams posted the illegal

child pornography after an exchange with an undercover law

enforcement officer in an internet chat room. Williams

boasted, “HERE ROOM; I CAN PUT UPLINK CUZ IM

FOR REAL ~ SHE CANT.” Jd. at 1288-89.

Williams entered into a plea agreement that reserved his

right to challenge the constitutionality of the pandering

provision. The Eleventh Circuit reversed Williams’

conviction under the pandering provision on First

Amendment grounds, holding that the provision was

unconstitutionally overbroad and vague. The Eleventh

4

Circuit was wrong on both counts. It misapplied this Court’s

overbreadth analysis, misread the statute’s express intent

requirement, and in the process called into question many

sound and important state laws.

I. THE PROTECT ACT’S PANDERING PROVISION

IS NECESSARY TO ABOLISH THE NETWORK

FOR CHILD PORNOGRAPHY.

The PROTECT Act’s pandering provision is a critical

prosecutorial tool, and an analysis of its usefulness will lend

much-needed context to the overbreadth and vagueness

issues in this case. The statute is necessary because of what

the criminals can do with technology and because of the

difficulty (perhaps soon to be impossibility) of proving that

an image is, in fact, of a real child and not computer-

generated. It allows prosecutors directly to target an offer to

transact in illegal child pornography even in cases where the

material cannot be located or has been digitally altered, or

where a person is expanding the network for child

pomography with material that may not otherwise be

obscene. The congressional findings and comparable state

Statutes amply support Congress’ efforts to close the network

for child pornography through the PROTECT Act.

A. The Congressional Findings Amply Demonstrate

the Necessity of the Protect Act’s Pandering

Provision.

Congress passed § 2252A(a)(3)(B) to close the network

of illegal child pornography: “The crux of what this

provision bans is the offer to transact in this unprotected

material, coupled with proof of the offender’s specific

intent.” S. Rep. No. 2, 108” Cong., 1™ Sess. 12 (2003). As

this Court recognized in New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747

(1982), and Osborne v. Ohio, 495 U.S. 103 (1990), the

government has a compelling interest in closing the child-

pornography distribution network. Ferber, 458 U.S. at 759;

Osborne, 495 U.S. at 109. The congressional findings

5

amply support the pandering provision and its vital

connection to the government’s interest.

Congress emphasized that technology currently exists —

and, indeed, is inexpensive and readily available — to take

images of real children and disguise them by making them

appear to be computer-generated. Pub. L. No. 108-21, 117

Stat. 676 § 501(5), (11). Congress also recognized that as

digital files are transferred over the internet again and again,

they degrade “so as to make it difficult for even an expert

conclusively to opine that a particular image depicts a real

child.” § 501(8).

Pornographers know that Congress’ assessment is

correct. They also know well this Court’s decision in

Ashcroft v. Free Speech Coalition, 535 U.S. 234 (2002),

which holds that the government cannot criminalize the

possession or manufacturing of “virtual” child pornography.

Therefore, defendants arrested for dealing in unprotected

child pornography claim routinely that their images are fake,

thus requiring the government to prove beyond a reasonable

doubt that images are in fact of real flesh-and-blood children.

§ 501(7), (10). The proliferation of this “virtual defense” .

has made prosecution of child pornography crimes more

difficult and expensive. § 501(9), (10).? Prosecutors, for

' The amicus States disagree with this Court’s holding in Free Speech

Coalition. See infra at 13-14.

? Cases recognizing the availability of the “virtual defense” include, e.g.,

United States v. Miller, __ F.Supp.2d __, 2007 WL 188277 (N.D.

Ohio Jan. 22, 2007); United States v. O'Rourke, 470 F.Supp.2d 1049

(D.Ariz. 2007); United States v. Knellinger, 471 F.Supp.2d 640, 647 n.6

(E.D.Va. 2007); and United States v. Steiger, __ F.Supp.2d __, 2006

WL 3450140 (M.D.Ala. Nov. 29, 2006).

> At the same time that prosecutions are becoming more difficult and

expensive in light of the technology available to pornographers, the

internet (and its anonymity) makes it easier for pornographers to

distribute their wares. Because trades occur at computer terminals rather

than in large cities’ red light districts, the child pornography network is

more widespread than ever. In 2001, only 30% of state prosecutor’s

6

example, the prosecution may be required to present expert

testimony that an image depicts a real child. See e.g., United

States v. Rodriguez-Pacheco, 475 F.3d 434, 444 (1* Cir.

2007)

Recognizing that pornographers hide behind such

dangerous claims, Congress drafted the PROTECT Act’s

pandering provision to reach those situations where it is

difficult or impossible to prove that real children were

involved. Even if an image of a real child has been digitally

disguised to appear virtual, a panderer can be prosecuted

where he holds the image out to be real (and illegal) child

pornography.

It is critical that prosecutors be allowed to target offers to

trade in illegal pornography and not just the images

themselves. When pornographers trade images and hold

them out as depicting real children, they expand the network

for child pornography — whether or not the images are real

and whether or not the government can locate the images and

prove that they are real. The PROTECT Act works to

undermine the market and network for illegal child

pornography by reaching distribution of images that are

advertised as the “real thing” in an effort to develop trade

relationships.

B. State Obscenity Statutes Targeting Distribution of

Child Pornography Demonstrate the Need for the

PROTECT Act’s Pandering Provision.

As technology increasingly causes widespread problems

for prosecutors of child pornography cases, many state

offices litigated crimes related to computer transmission of child

pornography. Prosecutors in State Courts, 2001, p. 5 (http://www.ojp.

usdoj.gov/bjs/pub/pdf/psc0 | .pdf) (last visited May 24, 2007). By 2005,

just four years later, that number had risen to two-thirds of state

prosecutor’s offices which had prosecuted such crimes. Prosecutors in

State Courts, 2005, p. 5 (http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/pub/pdf/psc05.pdf)

(last visited May 24, 2007).

7

legislatures have addressed the issue in their obscenity

statutes. They have done so in a variety of ways, often by

expanding the definition of child pornography. Several such

statutes are summarized below. The amicus States reference

these statutes to make two points: First, the very existence of

these statutes underscores the legitimacy of Congress’

concerns about the impact of technology on child

pornography prosecutions. States have the same concerns, as

shown by the fact that the issue shows up time and again in

legislation. And second, more is at stake in this case than

just the PROTECT Act. The faulty reasoning of the Eleventh

Circuit casts doubt on a number of very sensible (and

constitutional) state statutes as well.

Some of the state statutes summarized below address

distribution or advertisement of “virtual” pornography,

“morphed” images,’ and digitally altered images. The

CPPA, invalidated in Free Speech Coalition, also addressed

such material (but in a different way and for a different

purpose). Therefore, before discussing the state statutes at

issue, it is important to emphasize that this is nof a virtual

porn case and Free Speech Coalition does not require

affirmance of the Eleventh Circuit’s judgment. In Free

Speech Coalition, this Court held that the government may

not criminalize the possession or production of virtual child

pornography where real children were not involved in its

creation. 535 U.S. at 256-57. The provision of the

PROTECT Act at issue here addresses a very different issue:

the knowing distribution or promotion of images, whether or

not the images are illegal child pornography, where the

distributor intentionally passes the images off as depicting

real children (and where the distributor is_ therefore

expanding the network and market for child pornography).

The statutes have a very different focus, even though both the

* “Morphing” is the alteration of “innocent pictures of real children so

that the children appear to be engaged in sexual activity.” Free Speech

Coalition, 535 U.S. at 242. The anti-morphing provisions in the CPPA

were neither challenged nor addressed in Free Speech Coalition. Id.

CPPA and the PROTECT Act attempt to deal with the

8

prosecutorial difficulties presented by technology.

State legislatures around the country are likewise

attempting to deal with the same difficulties, further

demonstrating that virtual porn, morphing, and digitally

disguising real pornography are very real (and related)

problems and that the PROTECT Act’s pandering provision

is a necessary prosecutorial tool. These statutes target the

network for child pornography in a fashion similar to

Congress’ approach in the PROTECT Act:

Georgia’s child pornography statute defines

“identifiable child” as any person under 16 “[w]ho

was a child at the time the visual depiction was

created, adapted, or modified or whose image as a

child was used in creating, adapting, or modifying the

visual depiction.” O.C.G.A. § 16-12-100.2(b)(2)(A)

(emphasis added).

Hawaii’s statute defines “child pornography” to

include pictures or computer-generated images

“created, adapted, or modified to appear that an

identifiable minor is engaging in sexual conduct.”

H.R.S. § 707-751(2).

In Kentucky, “[a] person is guilty of promoting [the]

sale of obscenity when he knowingly, as a condition

to a sale... of any . . . publication or other

merchandise, requires that the purchaser or consignee

receive any matter reasonably believed by the

purchaser or consignee to be obscene... . .” KRRS §

531.060(1) (emphasis added).

Minnesota’s statute defines “pornographic work” to

include a picture or computer-generated image that

“(ii) has been created, adapted, or modified to appear

that an identifiable minor is engaging in sexual

conduct; or (iii) is advertised, promoted, presented,

described, or distributed in such a manner that

9

conveys the impression that the material is or

contains a visual depiction of a minor engaging in

sexual conduct.” M.S.A. § 617.246(f) (emphasis

added).

¢ Missouri’s statute criminalizes the promotion and

advertisement of “child pornography,” defined to

include pictures and computer-generated images of

sexually explicit conduct where “such visual

depiction is a digital image, computer image, or

computer-generated image that is, or is

indistinguishable from, that of a minor engaging in

sexually explicit conduct.” V.A.M.S. 573.010(2)(b)b.

e Rhode Island’s statute criminalizes the distribution of

“child pornography,” defined to include visual

depictions “created, adapted, or modified to display

an identifiable minor engaging in sexually explicit

conduct,” R.J. Gen. Laws § 11-9-1.3(c)(iii), but

makes it, an affirmative defense that “[t]he defendant

did not advertise, promote, present or distribute the

material in such a manner as to convey the

impression that it is or contains a visual depiction of

a minor engaging in sexually explicit conduct, § 11-9-

1.3(d)(1)(iii) (emphasis added).

e Texas’ statute criminalizes the promotion of obscene

material, including promotion of “an image that to a

reasonable _—s person would be virtually

indistinguishable from the image of a child younger

than 18 years of age.” V.T.C.A. § 43.23(h)(2)

e Wyoming’s statute defines “c.ild pornography” to

include a visual depiction “of explicit sexual conduct

involving a child or an_ individual virtually

indistinguishable from a child.” Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 6-

4-303(a)(ii)(B) (emphasis added).

These statutes show that the practical difficulties that led

to passage of the PROTECT Act are felt, in a big way, on the

10

state level. The PROTECT Act and comparable state statutes

simply must be flexible enough to reach pandering in cases

where material is distributed in an intentional effort to

expand the network for child pornography. If the judgment

of the Eleventh Circuit stands, many sound and important

state statutes may face the same fate as the PROTECT Act.

Il. THE PROTECT ACT IS NOT UNCONSTITU-

TIONALLY OVERBROAD.

A. The Government May Constitutionally

Criminalize An Offer to Transact in Unprotected

Material.

1. An Offer to Transact In Real Child

Pornography Expands the Market Regardless

of What Material the Panderer in Fact

Possesses.

The Eleventh Circuit held that the PROTECT Act’s

pandering provision is overbroad because it criminalizes the

pandering of material that may not be real child pornography:

We echo Senator Leahy’s concern that the provision

thus “federally criminalize[s] talking dirty over the

Internet or the telephone when the person never

possesses any material at all.” In a non-commercial

context, any promoter — be they a _ braggart,

exaggerator, or outright liar — who claims to have

illegal child pornography materials is a criminal

punishable by up to twenty years in prison, even if

what he or she actually has is a video of “our Gang,”

a dirty handkerchief, or an empty pocket.

Williams, 444 F.3d at 1298. That is, a defendant who uplinks

images with a tagline that says, “This is real child

pornography - have more to trade,” violates the pandering

provision even if the images are not real child pornography.

That does not, however, make the statute “overbroad.” A

Statute is overbroad only to the extent that it criminalizes

1]

protected speech. Here, the statute applies only when the

panderer is intentionally offering to transact in unprotected

materials. The First Amendment does not protect such

conduct.

As an initial matter, the Eleventh Circuit was incorrect to

label this speech as “non-commercial.” As the facts of this

case demonstrate, child pornographers are not in the business

(typically, anyway) of distributing pornography for free.

Exchanges may not always be made for a payment of money

per se, but images are routinely swapped for other images or

to build a relationship that will lead to future exchange.

Bartering is the original commercial activity, and, even

today, bartering is as much commercial activity as a sale for

cash.

Moreover, the “innocent” braggarts, exaggerators, and

liars for whom the Eleventh Circuit’s decision showed such

concern are not really innocent at all. Whether they have a

real ‘seage to distribute or not, only persons who intend to

fostey expand the network of child pornography fall

within we statute. Whether the distributor has pornography

made with real children or “an empty pocket,” Williams, 444

* “Commercial speech” is “speech that proposes a commercial

transaction.” Board of Trustees of the State University of New York v.

Fox, 492 U.S. 469, 482 (1989). Williams, like other panderers, proposed

a commercial transaction, a trade or barter of illegal images. The

transaction does not lose its commercial character simply because one

image is traded for another instead of for cash. As commercial speech

(to the extent the conduct at issue should be classified as “speech”), an

offer to transact in child pornography can be regulated whether or not real

children are depicted in the advertised image. If the image is in fact made

with real material, it is illegal contraband, and advertisement for illegal

items may be prohibited. Eg. Pittsburgh Press Co. v. Pittsburgh

Comm'n on Human Relations, 413 U.S. 376, 388 (1973). If it is not real

child pornography but is advertised as such, the advertisement may be

barred as false or fraudulent speech. E.g. Virginia State Bd. Of

Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens Consumer Council, Inc., 425 U.S. 748,

772 0.24 (1976).

12

F.3d at 1298, he either (i) believes that he is distributing

illegal child pornography or (ii) is attempting to convince the

recipient that a specific image is illegal child pornography.

In either case, the panderer is intentionally offering to

transact in unprotected material, and the government may

constitutionally ban that conduct in furtherance of the

government’s acknowledged and compelling interest in

closing the network for child pornography. See Ferber, 458

U.S. at 759; Osborne, 495 U.S. at 109.

In this case, Williams posted illegal child pornography in

a public chat room to show that he was “for real” — that he

had real images to exchange. He was demonstrating his

product and was expanding and promoting the network of

child pornography on both the supply and demand sides of

the equation. Had Williams posted images that were not real

pornography, but that were presented in such a manner,

Williams still would have promoted and expanded the

network for illegal child pornography because others in the

chat room still would have identified Williams as a person

who desired to trade in pornography made with real abused

children. Williams’ conduct thus expanded the market

regardless of the nature of the image that he posted.°

2. A Market-Deterrence Rationale Is Sufficient

To Support the PROTECT Act.

It is true that in Free Speech Coalition, this Court held

that a market-deterrence theory alone could not support a ban

on the production or possession of virtual pornography:

* Even if Williams had posted a video of “Our Gang,” Williams, 444 F 3d

at 1298, or if the other participants in the chat room had concluded that

Williams was mistaken or fraudulent about the nature of the images he

had, Williams would have nonetheless identified himself as a user who

desired to trade in illegal pornography. And had Williams been merely

deluded about the nature of the image he posted, he would not have been

prosecuted for his mistaken beliefs, but instead for his conduct of offering

to transact in illegal child pornography.

13

If virtual images were identical to illegal child

pornography, the illegal images would be driven from

the market by the indistinguishable substitutes. Few

pornographers would risk prosecution by abusing real

children if fictional, computerized images would

suffice ....

Even if the Government’s market deterrence theory

were persuasive in some contexts, it would not justify

this statute.

Free Speech Coalition, 535 U.S. at 254. For two reasons,

however, that does not mean that a market-deterrence theory

is insufficient in this case.

First, even if market-deterrence was insufficient to

support the CPPA, it is a better fit with the PROTECT Act.

The pandering provision works to close a loophole created by

technology (and, in candor, by Free Speech Coalition). It

criminalizes conduct that directly and immediately expands

the market for illegal child pornography even in cases where

the distributor is mistaken, fraudulent, or unable to determine

whether a real child was used in creation of the image. Here

Congress did not address the viewing or creation of virtual

porn, as it did in the CPPA Instead, Congress prohibited

intentional conduct — pandering — that directly and

immediately expands the market for pornography made with

real abused children.

Second, and with respect, this Court erred by concluding

that the government’s market-deterrence rationale was

insufficient to support the CPPA. There is no support for this

Court’s assumption in Free Speech Coalition that “[i]f virtual

images were identical to illegal child pornography,”

pornographers would stop photographing real children. /d. at

254. This Court assumed that if pornographers could create

on their computers child pornography that is identical to the

real thing, they would not create real child pornography

because it presents the risk of prosecution. But that argument

14

presumes the rationality of pedophiles who are, by definition,

irrational. In addition, even if child abusers stopped

photographing children, that would not stop the sexual abuse

of children that occurs separate from the production of child

pornography. As Congress found with respect to the

PROTECT Act,

[a] child pornography results from the abuse of real

children by sex offenders; the production of child

pornography is a byproduct of, and not the primary

reason for, the sexual abuse of children. There is no

evidence that the future development of easy and

inexpensive means of computer generating realistic

images of children would stop or even reduce the

sexual abuse of real children or the practice of

visually recording that abuse.

§ 501(12).’

A market in virtual pornography, therefore, is not in any

way, shape, form, or fashion good for children. It makes

prosecution of real child pornography cases more difficult,

increases the market for real child pornography, whets the

appetite of sexual abusers, and may be used to lure children

into abusive situations. While this Court can reverse the

” Similarly, this Court was wrong in Free Speech Coalition when it

rejected the government's argument that virtual pornography may be used

to seduce children:

There are many things innocent in themselves, however, such as

cartoons, video games, and candy, that might be used for

immoral purposes, yet we would not expect those to be

prohibited because they can be misused.

535 U.S. at 251-52. A computer-generated image of children being

sexually abused simply cannot be equated to a lollipop. Cartoons, video

games, and candy are innocent things that can be perverted by evil

people. Virtual images of children having sex, used to Jure children into

abusive situations and to convince them that sexual abuse is “normal,” are

evil per se. Images of children having sex, whether real or virtual, are not

innocent in their creation and have no legitimate purpose.

15

Eleventh Circuit without abandoning its holding in Free

Speech Coalition, the amicus States ask the Court to take this

opportunity to (at the very least) clarify that virtual child

pornography does not lead to less child abuse. Even if the

law cannot ban all virtual pornography, it can ban the

pandering of such material (as in the PROTECT Act), and

the law certainly should not encourage the creation of virtual

pornography.

3. Solicitation Statutes Show that Congress May

Constitutionally Target the Panderer’s Intent.

There simply is no constitutional difficulty in the fact that

a person may be prosecuted for offering to transact in illegal

child pornography even when the material he offers to share

is not, in fact, unprotected material. There is a comparable

offense in many solicitation statutes, such as Illinois’, which

define “solicitation” to include solicitation of one whom the

defendant “reasonably believes” to be a minor. See, e.g., 720

ILCS 5/11-6(a) (“A person . . . commits the offense of

indecent solicitation of a child if the person . . . knowingly

solicits a child or one whom he or she believes to be a child

to perform an act of sexual penetration or sexual conduct...

.”) (emphasis added).* That is, a person may be prosecuted

* States with similar solicitation statutes include Alaska (AS §

11.41.452(a)(2)); Arkansas (A.C.A.. § 5-27-603(a)(1)); Florida (F.S.A. §

847.0135(3)); Georgia (Ga. Code. Ann. § 16-12-100.2(d)(1)); Idaho (1.C.

§ 18-1509A(1)); Maine (17-A M.RS.A. § 259(I-A)(A)(3)); Minnesota

(M.S.A. § 609.352(2)); Montana (Mont. Code Ann. § 45-5-625 (1)(c));

Nebraska (Neb.Rev.St. § 28-320.02(1)); New Hampshire (N.H. Rev. Stat.

§ 649-B:4); Ohio (R.C. § 2907.07(C)(2)); Oklahoma (21 Okl. St. Ann. §

1040.13a(B)); Rhode Island (R.1. Gen. Laws, § 11-37-8.8(a)); South

Carolina (Code 1976 § 16-15-342(A)); South Dakota (SDCL § 22-24A-

5(A)(2)); Tennessee (T.C.A. § 39-13-528 (a)); Texas (V.T.C.A. Penal

Code § 33.021(a(1)(B)); and West Virginia (W. Va. Code § 61-3C-14b).

See also, United States v. Sims, 428 F.3d 945, 960 (10 Cir. 2005)

(holding that “it is not a defense to an offense involving enticement and

exploitation of minors[, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 2242,] that the

defendant falsely believed a minor to be involved”) (citing United States

v. Meek, 366 F.3d 705, 717 (9" Cir. 2004); United States v. Root, 296

16

for soliciting an actual minor or for soliciting an adult

undercover police officer.

Normally, of course, it is not illegal to ask an adult for

sex. But under these statutes it is illegal to do so if the

defendant believes he is approaching a child (that is, if he

offers to have sex with a child). In precisely the same

manner, it normally is not illegal to distribute a picture that is

not child pornography. However, under the PROTECT Act,

it is illegal to do so if the defendant thereby offers to transact

in illegal child pornography. In prosecutions under the

solicitation statutes, the defendant is not prosecuted for his

mistaken belief that his target is an actual minor. Instead, he

is prosecuted for his offer to engage in illegal conduct, i.e.,

sexual relations with a minor. Likewise, in prosecutions

under the PROTECT Act’s pandering provision, the

defendant is not prosecuted for what he believes about any

pictures, but rather for his intentional offer to transact in

illegal child pornography. Like the solicitation statutes, the

pandering provision is constitutional.

B. The PROTECT Act Does Not Criminalize

Advocacy Speech.

The Eleventh Circuit also held that the PROTECT Act is

unconstitutionally overbroad because “[t}he First

Amendment plainly protects speech advocating or

encouraging or approving of otherwise illegal activity, so

long as it does not rise to ‘fighting word’ status.” Williams,

444 © Sd at 1298, citing Brandenburg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444,

447 (1969). However, the PROTECT Act does not in any

way criminalize advocacy speech, and the Eleventh Circuit

misunderstands the statute to the extent it found otherwise.

In Brandenburg, this Court held that advocacy of racial

violence, although repugnant, is protected by the First

F.3d 1222, 1227 (11® Cir. 2002), cert. denied, Root v. U.S., 537 US.

1176 (2003); and United States v. Farner, 251 F.3d 510, 512-13 (5® Cir.

2001)).

17

Amendment so long as it does not immediately incite

violence or other criminal activity. Jd The conduct

proscribed by the PROTECT Act is a far cry from the

advocacy speech at issue in Brandenburg.

Williams could have entered a public chat room and

proclaimed, “I like child pornography,” or “Legalize child

pornography!” Had he done so, he would have had nothing

to fear from the PROTECT Act. As the definite article “the”

in the statute makes clear, the pandering provision applies

only to those who intentionally advertise, promote, present,

distribute, or solicit particular material or purported material.

See 18 U.S.C. § 2252A(a)(3)(b) (“in a manner that reflects

the belief . . . that the material or purported material is or

contains” illegal child pornography). It does not touch one

who encourages, promotes, or advocates the idea of child

pornography or the general subject matter.

The Eleventh Circuit simply misread the statute. The

statute does not proscribe advocacy speech, and therefore

cannot be overbroad on that ground.

C. The PROTECT Act Does Not Ban A Substantial

Amount of Protected Speech.

A statute is not overbroad merely because a court can

imagine a scenario under which a statute bars protected

speech. E.g., Members of the City Council v. Taxpayers for

Vincent, 466 U.S. 789, 800-801 (1984). Instead, “the

overbreadth of a statute must not only be real, but substantial

as well, jucged in relation to the statute’s plainly legitimate

sweep.” Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601, 615 (1973).

See also Free Speech Coalition, 535 U.S. at 255 (“The

overbreadth doctrine prohibits the Government from banning

unprotected speech if a substantial amount of protected

speech is prohibited or chilled in the process.”) (emphasis

added); Osborne, 495 U.S. at 112 (accord). we

Had the Eleventh Circuit engaged in a proper overbreadth

analysis, it would have considered the scope of unprotected

18

speech banned by the PROTECT Act and compared it to the

scope of protected speech arguably banned (and would have

then determined that the statute is nof overbroad). The

Eleventh Circuit did not undertake these steps at all, but

instead pointed to a few unrealistic examples of protected

speech that, in fact, the statute clearly does not prohibit.

The pandering provision does not in any way dictate what

a person may “see or read or speak or hear.” Free Speech

Coalition, 535 U.S. at 245. It does not, in and of itself,

prohibit a person from producing or possessing real or

computer-generated child pornography (or, for that matter,

any other material). Instead, it prohibits only conduct -

specifically, offers to distribute or trade in illegal child

pornography or material that purports to be illegal child

pornography. 18 U.S.C. § 2252A(a)(3)(B).’ That conduct,

as stated above, expands the network for child pornography.

Nor does the statute preclude an offer to transact in

virtual pornography where the panderer is clear that the

offered material is not real. Had Williams advertised, “The

attached item is virtual pornography — looks like the real

thing,” he could not be prosecuted under the PROTECT Act,

because no reasonable person would conclude that Williams

was offering to exchange real child pornography, that he

believed the material was made with flesh-and-blood

children, or that he intended anyone else to believe so. No

reasonable person would conclude that Williams was

offering to transact in anything other than virtual items,

which, however harmful they may be, are, under this Court’s

® Because the statute does not preclude “pure speech,” the overbreadth

doctrine has less application here. The doctrine’s “function, a limited one

at the outset, attenuates as the otherwise unprotected behavior that it

forbids the State to sanction moves from ‘pure speech’ toward conduct

and that conduct — even if expressive — falls within the scope of otherwise

valid criminal Jaws that reflect legitimate state interests in maintaining

comprehensive controls over harmful, constitutionally unprotected

conduct.” Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 615.

19

decision in Free Speech Coalition, protected by the First

Amendment.

In the same manner, the PROTECT Act’s pandering

provision has no bearing on works of art, such as the movies

Traffic or American Beauty discussed in Free Speech

Coalition. A theater or video rental establishment that

promotes the movies as the works of art that they are has

nothing to fear. Granted, a person who promotes images

from these movies as purported child pornography, and

thereby expands the network for unprotected speech, may be

prosecuted under the PROTECT Act. The distributor would

not be prosecuted for his belief or the nature of the materials,

however, but rather for his conduct — his intentional offer to

transact in illegal child pornography or purported illegal child

pornography.

Likewise, a proud parent can confidently send baby

pictures to friends and relatives without any concern for the

PROTECT Act’s reach, no matter how unintentionally

ambiguous the description of the pictures. The Eleventh

Circuit posed a hypothetical (as part of its vagueness

analysis) that it obviously considered problematic. When

dissected and applied to the statute as properly read, the

hypothetical poses no First Amendment difficulty.

The hypothetical was this: “Suppose, for example, the

government intercepts an email claiming that the attached

photographs depict ‘little Janie in the bath — hubba, hubba!”

Williams, 444 F.3d at 1306. The Eleventh Circuit further

posited that the attached pictures were not illegal child

pornography, but instead were “innocent baby-in-the-bubbles

snapshots or candid stills of the family Rottweiler in a No. 10

washtub....” Jd. The sender of this email has not violated

any reasonable construction of the statute. The Eleventh

Circuit’s hypothetical is, with respect, rather silly because it

never gets past the first element of the crime: “knowingly.”

Only a person who intends to offer to transact in illegal

materi | violates the statute. No reasonable person could

20

conclude that the sender in the hypothetical has offered to

transact in child pornography.

The Eleventh Circuit suggested another hypothetical. No

need to worry there, either:

Let us consider, for example, an email entitled simply

“Good pics of kids in bed.” Let us also imagine that

the “pics” are actually of toddlers in footie pajamas,

sound asleep. Sender One is a proud and computer-

savvy grandparent. Sender Two is a chronic

forwarder of cute photos with racy tongue-in-cheek

subject lines. Sender Three is a convicted child

molester who hopes to trade for more graphic photos

with like-minded recipients.

Williams, 444 F.3d at 1306-07.

As in all of life, context matters. When a reasonable

person considers the nature of the attachment, the

relationship of the sender to the subject of the photograph,

and the obvious intent of the sender, it is clear in the first two

cases that the distribution is wholly innocent and ‘that the

sender is not at all offering to transact in unprotected

material. It is equally clear that the sender in the third case

has violated the PROTECT Act. The law is quite

accustomed to considering the nuances of a situation in this

manner. If all one knows is that one person shot and killed

another man, the situation is ambiguous, but that does not

mean that a murder/manslaughter statute is overbroad (or

vague). When the layers of fact are peeled back, they may

show that the shooter was a would-be thief, lying in wait for

a helpless victim. Alternatively, the facts may show that the

shooter was a police officer who pulled the trigger in self

defense. One case is murder, one is not, even though facts

overlap. Where intent is an element of a crime, as it is here,

the statute may constitutionally apply to one sender with

intent to transact in illegal child pornography, even though it

21

has no application to a distributor of the same photograph

who clearly has no such intent.

In fact, the provision of the PROTECT Act at issue here

does not prohibit or chill protected speech at all. Even if

there might be isolated situations where protected speech is

arguably proscribed, the statute is not unconstitutionally

overbroad because the amount of protected speech that is

covered is not “substantial” in relation to the statute’s

permissible scope. Any supposed overbreadth can and

should be handled on a case-by-case basis. See Ferber, 458

U.S. at 773-774 (where “impermissible applications” of the

Statute are but “a tiny fraction of the materials within the

statute’s reach . .. whatever overbreadth may exist should be

cured through case-by-case analysis of the fact situations to

which its sanctions, assertedly, may not be applied”). There

is therefore no call to apply the “strong medicine” of the

overbreadth doctrine to this case. See id. at 769.

Ill. THE PROTECT ACT’S PANDERING PROVISION

IS NOT UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE.

The Eleventh Circuit also held that the PROTECT Act’s

pandering provision is unconstitutionally vague. The court

believed the statute to be “so vague and standardless as to

what may not be said that the public is left with no objective

measure to which behavior can be conformed,” and that the

statute “requires a wholly subjective determination by law

enforcement personnel” of what conduct is prohibited.

Williams, 444 F.3d at 1306. The Eleventh Circuit is wrong

on both counts.

“(T]he void-for-vagueness doctrine requires that a penal

statute define the criminal offense with sufficient definiteness

that ordinary people can understand what conduct is

prohibited and in a manner that does not encourage arbitrary

and discriminatory enforcement.” Kolender v. Lawson, 461

U.S. 352, 357 (1983). When a statute is vague, federal courts

“have the power to adopt narrowing constructions of federal

22

legislation. Indeed, the federal courts have the duty to avoid

constitutional difficulties by doing so if such a construction is

fairly possible.” Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. 312, 330-331

(1988) (citations omitted). See also, United States v. X-

Citement Video, Inc., 513 U.S. 64, 78 (1994) (construing the

Protection of Children Against Sexual Exploitation Act to

contain a scienter requirement).

In finding the statute vague, the Eleventh Circuit misread

the statute by ignoring the effect of the word “knowingly.”

The court believed that “the ‘reflects the belief? portion of the

statute has no intent requirement,” and that the statute does

not require “specific intent to traffic in illegal child

pornography.” Williams, 444 F.3d at 1306-07. That simply

is not true.

The pandering provision provides as follows:

(a) Any person who -

(3) Knowingly -

(B) advertises, promotes, presents, distributes, or

solicits through the mails, or in interstate or

foreign commerce by any means, including

by computer, any material or purported

material in a manner that reflects the belief,

or that is intended to cause another to

believe, that the material or purported

material is, or contains —

(i) an obscene visual depiction of a minor

engaging in sexually explicit conduct; or

(ii) a visual depiction of an actual minor

engaging in sexually explicit conduct;

shall be punished as provided in subsection (b).

18 U.S.C. § 2252A(a)(3)(B) (emphasis added).

23

The term “knowingly” is set apart from the other sections

of the statute so that it applies to each element of the crime.

There is no reasonable construction of the statute under

which “knowingly” would apply to some terms and not

others. Therefore, if a person does not specifically intend to

offer to transact in unprotected child pornography, he does

not violate the statute. Instead of applying the X-Citement

Video rule and construing the statute to require scienter in

order to avoid a constitutional difficulty, the Eleventh Circuit

did the opposite, engaging in interpretive gymnastics to read

the scienter requirement out of the statute and to create

constitutional difficulty.

The statute gives fair notice of what it prohibits: An

intentional distribution or promotion of material in such a

manner that a reasonable person would conclude either (i)

that the sender considers it to be illegal child pornography, or

(ii) that the sender intends for others to so believe. The

sender is offering to traffic in unprotected goods and is

expanding the network for child pornography. A person who

is surprised that such conduct is illegal is not due any

sympathy.

There is no indication that prosecutors are abusing their

discretion in choosing their targets under the PROTECT Act

or comparable state statutes. The amicus States are not

aware of a single person who has been prosecuted for sharing

pictures of his kids with friends and family. Of course they

haven’t, because both prosecutors and defendants know what

the statute does and does not proscribe. It is no more vague

than it is overbroad, and the Eleventh Circuit’s decision to

the contrary should be reversed.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court should reverse the

court of appeals’ judgment.

June 11, 2007

24

Respectfully submitted,

Troy King

Attorney General

Kevin C. Newsom

Solicitor General

Counsel of Record

James W. Davis

Assistant Attorney General

STATE OF ALABAMA

Office of the Attorney General

1] South Union Street

Montgomery, AL 36130-0152

(334) 242-7401

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.