Reply Brief — United States v. Atlantic Research Corp.

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

267 _ Suprame Court, U.S. bey

lA FILED

au oo

ol 0 | APR 13 2007

Ab.

APY \_OFFICE OF THE cere: |

No. 06-562

Jn the Supreme Court of the Cinited States

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER

v.

ATLANTIC RESEARCH CORPORATION

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

PAUL D. CLEMENT

Solicitor General

Connusel of Record

Department ot Justice

Weshingtow, D.C. 20520-0001

(20.2) 314-2217

TABLE OF CONTENTS

A. Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) does not permit

responsible parties to sue for cost recovery ........ 2

B. Respondent’s interpretation cannot account

for Section 113(f), which provides the exclusive

mechanisms by which a potentially responsible

party can sue another under CERCLA ............ 8

C. Section 107(a) does not create an implied right to

contribution separate and apart from the explicit

contribution remedy set forth in Section 113(f) .... 12

D. The structure and purpose of CERCLA and

SARA do not permit a potentially responsible

party to sue another potentially responsible

party to recover cleanup costs ................5-. 13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Allied Towing Corp. v. Great E. Petroleum Corp.,

642 F. Supp. 1339 (E.D. Va. 1986) .............-..... i)

Artesian Water Co. v. Government of New Castle

County, 605 F. Supp. 1348 (D. Del. 1985) ............ i)

Barnhart v. Thomas, 540 U.S. 20 (2003)... 2.2. ......006. 4

Block v. North Dakota, 461 U.S. 273 (1983) ............- 8

City of Rancho Palos Verdes v. Abrams, 544 U.S. 113

SE kk NAdadbcsdks eben eedenekenbaweseeonnanes 14

Consolidated Edison Co. of N.Y., Ine. v. UGI Utils.,

Ine., 423 F.3d 90 (2d Cir. 2005), petition for cert.

pending, No. 05-1323 (filed Apr. 14, 2006) ........ 13, 14

Cooper Indus., Inc. v. Aviall Servs., Inc., 543 U.S. 157

GE ovo cos cc cencciusinéccsvececsevesecssecs 2, 5, 16

II

Cases—Continued: Page

D’Imperio v. United States, 575 F. Supp. 248 (D.N_J.

ET Sach eeasdh betas iabkn ash baenewanendde wes 9

E.1. du Pont de Nemours & Co. v. United States,

460 F.3d 515 (3d Cir. 2006), petition for cert.

pending, No. 06-726 (filed Nov. 21, 2006) ............ 19

Harrison v. PPG Indus., Inc., 446 U.S. 578 (1980) ....... 4

Jones v. Inmont, 584 F. Supp. 1425 (S.D. Ohio 1984) ..... )

Key Tronic Corp. v. United States, 511 U.S. 809

Ds iiitunsbenisedeeasmedeienenineennineedees 5

Metropolitan Water Reclamation Dist. v. North Am.

Galvanizing & Coatings, Inc., No. 05-3299, 2006

WL 1354188 (7th Cir. filed May 1, 2006) ............. 5

United States v. BP Amoco Oil PLC, 277 F.3d 1012

(8th Cir.), cert. denied, 537 U.S. 942 (2002) .......... 15

United States v. Davis, 261 F.3d 1 (1st Cir. 2001) ....... 15

United States v. Estate of Romani, 523 U.S. 517

Db sue nhdnniebbatadndeeeeleanedess eeeeeesdes 10

United States v. Fausto, 484 U.S. 439 (1988) ........... 10

United States v. New Castle County, 642 F. Supp.

EE cdc vudcn dean ecareentekeunes 9

United States v. Southeastern Pa. Transp. Auth.,

SOG F Bd GET GG Cie. BOGB) ow wc ccccccccccccsccsece 15

/nited Techs. Corp. v. Browning-Ferris Indus.,

33 F.3d 96 (1st Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 513 U.S.

SEE cna dicn di wbedeaeibedenehhedkhbeee keane 15

Walls v. Waste Res. Corp., 761 F.2d 311 (6th Cir.

SE Suture din kad ekduensen bbs teh adeseendaedienns 9

Wicklavid Oil Terminals v. Asarco, Ine., 792 F.2d 887

eee ss]

Ill

Statutes and regulation: Page

Act of Dee. 11, 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-510, 94 Stat.

roo)» eee pe edeannes 4

Comprehensive Environmental Response,

Compensation, and Liability Act of 1980,

42 U.S.C. 9601 et seq.:

§ 101(35), 42 U.S.C. 9601(35) (Supp. II] 2003) ...... 5

§ 101(40), 42 U.S.C. 9601(40) (Supp. III 2003) ..... 5

Pe ED eb cdccncgecccccenceis 7,14, 18

§ 106(b)(1), 42 U.S.C. 9606(b)(1) . 0... eee eae 18

§ 106(b)(2)(C), 42 U.S.C. 9606(b)(2)(C) .. 2.0.2.2... 7

De eT 45 G6N5s dn stencnecanedesnses 1

§ 107(a), 42 U.S.C. 9607(a) ........... 2 eee passim

§ 107(a)(1)-(4), 42 U.S.C. 9607(a)(1)-(4) «2.0.2... 3,4

§ 107(a)(1)-(4)(A), 42 U.S.C.

9607(a)(1)-(4)(A) ...........0.0.. 2, 3, 4, 7, 16, 18

§ 107(a)(1)-(4)(B), 42 U.S.C. 9607(a)(1)-(4)(B) passim

§ 107(b)(3), 42 U.S.C. 9607(b)(3) ... 2.6.6... eee eee 5

§ 107(r)(1), 42 U.S.C. 9607(r)(1)

EE vdvteccesscudassdabnedvcdnces 5

DERI Ge MERE vv weccccscecccccsesess 6

§ 111(a)(1), 42 U.S.C. 9611(aXl) ... 22... eee 6

§ 111(a)(2), 42 U.S.C. 9611 (a2) .. 2.2... 6

§ 113(f), 42 U.S.C. 9612%(f) ................. passim

§ 113(f)(1), 42 U.S.C. 9613(N0) 2.2... ee. 11, 12,18

§ 113(f)(2), 42 U.S.C. 9613(f)(2) ............... 1,15

§ 113(f)(3)(B), 42 U.S.C. 9613(f)3)(B) .... 6, 14, 17, 18

§$ 113(g)(3), 42 U.S.C. 9613(g (3) 0.2.2.2... 14, 15

§ 120(a)(1), 42 U.S.C. 9620(a)(1) «0.2... 20

IV

Statutes and regulation—Continued: Page

Ark. Code Ann. §§ 8-7-501 et seq. (2000) .............. 19

40 C.F.R.:

Section 300.700(¢)(2) ..........0008. mis heweeened cane 7

ED occvenceandavdisecacccheses 7

ns iced evenusaesieveaceawade 6

Miscellaneous:

131 Cong. Rec. (1985):

LON ENE RNT OT ORE EOD 17

EE SRT aes Cae ne 16

el TERS er PL 17

Envt’'l L. Inst., An Analysis of State Superfund

Programs: 50 State Study (1998) <www.

elistore.org/reports_detail.asp?ID=436> ........... 19

EPA, Memorandum of Agreement (MOAs) on State

Voluntary Cleanup Program (VCPs) (Dee. 22,

2006) <www.epa. gov/brownfields/html-

ED - cnn de cakbndienencenebhiaeewes 19

H.R. Rep. No. 253, 99th Cong., Ist Sess. Pt. 1 (1985) .... 10

Memorandum from Susan E. Bromm, Director, Office

of Site Remediation Enforcement, EPA, and Bruce

S. Gelber, Chief Environmental Enforcement

Section, Environment and Natural Resources

Division, Department of Justice (Aug. 3, 2005)

<http://www.epa.gov/compliance/resources/

policies/cleanup/superfund/interim-rev-aoc-mod-

DE. na cuckessescenwasaedhavenadeseccece 18, 19

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page

S. 1480, 96th Cong., 2d Sess.:

POON: TE SE 6.0.0 hccstnenscceesstensvasbaaeaee 3

SEN Ba SEED voce cnccnsvecccssisnteceatssuakeuseel 3

,

a 7

a

,o .

/

-@ 9 ae. ot 3

fee 9°

1 -. Ip: -

7 aa Pree a -

=

jy ———

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

According to respondent (Br. 4, 28), “all” potentially re-

sponsible parties (PRPs) can sue other PRPs for cost recov-

ery under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) of CERCLA. As the gov-

ernment has explained, however, that interpretation is incon-

sistent with the text and structure of Section 107(a). It would

also render Section 113(f) essentially superfluous, negating

Congress’s decision to create an express and carefully delim-

ited contribution remedy for PRPs, and frustrating Con-

gress’s clear intent to provide powerful incentives to encour-

age PRPs to settle voluntarily with the government and per-

form government-supervised cleanups.

Apparently recognizing the unacceptable anomalies cre-

ated by its interpretation, respondent urges the Court to elim-

inate some of those difficulties by the simple expedient of

devising an altogether different scheme from the one enacted

by Congress. Thus, notwithstanding the established principle

that Section 107(a) imposes joint and several liability on

PRPs, respondent urges the Court to dispense with that prin-

ciple when PRPs bring suit, and instead to fashion remedies

that would effectively transform such PRP suits into actions

for contribution—albeit ones brought by litigants who do not

qualify as contribution plaintiffs under either the traditional

understanding of contribution or the express terms of Section

113(f). Faced with the unpleasant fact that its interpretation

would demolish the carefully crafted settlement bar that Con-

gress erected in Section 113(f)(2), respondent offers the fur-

ther antidote that the courts should simply conjure up a new,

broader settlement bar that would apply to Section 107 ac-

tions as well. All of this legislative tinkering might be a rea-

sonable proposal to Congress, but it is too much to ask of this

Court. In effect, respondent invites this Court to authorize

the wholesale rewriting of the remedial scheme enacted by

Congress so as to overturn the result in Cooper /ndustries,

(1)

2

Inc. v. Aviall Services, Inc., 543 U.S. 157 (2004), which in-

- voked a straightforward application of the statutory text. The

Court should apply the normal rules of statutory construction

and reject respondent’s invitation.

A. Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) Does Not Permit Responsible Par-

ties To Sue For Cost Recovery

1. Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) provides that all persons in four

enumerated categories (7.e., PRPs) shall be liable for “any

other necessary costs of response incurred by any other per-

son consistent with the national contingency plan” (NCP). 42

U.S.C. 9607(a)(1)-(4)(B). The better reading of the phrase

“any other person” is that it excludes the “persons” previ-

ously referred to in the same statutory sentence, 7.e., the

PRPs that are the sentence’s subject. The various textual

arguments of respondent and its amici to the contrary are

unavailing.

Respondent primarily contends (Br. 7-8) that Section

107(a)(1)-(4)(B) should be read in parallel with Section

107(a)(1)-(4)(A), and that, under that reading, the phrase “any

other person” in Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) necessarily excludes

only the persons who are entitled to bring suit under Section

107(a)(1)-(4)(A): ie., “the United States Government or a

State or an Indian tribe.” Such a reading would be possible

(although not compelled) if Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(A) and (B)

provided alternative causes of action for the recovery of the

same costs, as respondent contends (Br. 11). But in fact Sec-

tion 107(a)(1)-(4)(A) and (B) provide for recovery of mutually

exclusive costs. While Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(A) permits recov-

ery of “all costs of removal or remedial action * * * not in-

consistent with the national contingency plan,” 42 U.S.C.

9607(a)(1)-(4)(A), Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) permits recovery

only of “any other necessary costs * * * consistent with the

national contingency plan”: /.e., costs other than the costs of

governmental entities described in Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(A).

3

42 U.S.C. 9607(a)(1)-(4)(B) (emphasis added). Because the

“other necessary costs” language already precludes govern-

mental entities from suing under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B), re-

spondent’s reading would render the word “other” in the

phrase “any other person” entirely superfluous—in contra-

vention of the rule that every word in a statute should be

given some operative effect. '

Respondent acknowledges (Br. 10-11) that, while a prior

version of the language that would become Section 107(a)(1)-

(4) authorized “any person” to bring suit for “any other costs”

besides those incurred by a governmental entity, see S. 1480,

96th Cong. § 4(a) (as reported, Nov. 18, 1980), a substitute bill

replaced the phrase “any person” with “any other person.”

See S. 1480, 96th Cong. § 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) (as amended, Nov.

21, 1980) (emphasis added). Respondent and its amici, how-

ever, offer no explanation for that change, other than to char-

acterize it as a “minor stylistic change” or “mere drafting

edit{ |.” Lockheed Br. 17. But words have meaning, and “any

other person” plainly does not mean the same thing as “any

person.” Because the prior version of the bill, by limiting

recovery to “other” costs, already unambiguously prevented

governmental entities from recovering under Section

107(a)(1)-(4)(B), there was no need for Congress to “clarify”

that governmental entities could not recover under that provi-

sion. And while respondent correctly notes (Br. 11) that there

was no discussion of that change in the legislative history,

' Respondent notes (Br. 8) that, by permitting recovery of costs that are

consistent with the NCP. rather than costs that are not inconsistent with the

NCP, Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) has been read to place the burden on the plaintiff

on the issue of consistency. That is true, but it does nothing to support

respondent's view that “any other person” excludes only the governmental

entities included in Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(A). Those entities could not have sued

under Section 107(aX 1)-(4)(B) in any event—nor would they have any incentive

to do so even if they could. given that it is more difficult to recover (and fewer

costs are recoverable) under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) than under Section

107(a1)-(4)(A).

4

that fact is neither dispositive, see, e.g., Harrison v. PPG

Indus., Inc., 446 U.S. 578, 592 (1980), nor surprising, in light

of the fact that the Senate passed the substitute bill on the

Monday following the Friday on which it was introduced. See

Pub. L. No. 96-510, 94 Stat. 2811. The history of Section

107(a)(1)-(4)(B) thus underscores that the inclusion of the

word “other” was purposeful and confirms that the phrase

“any other person” was intended to exclude PRPs, rather

than (already excluded) governmental entities.

Contrary to respondent’s contention (Br. 12), the “rule of

the last antecedent” does not compel a different interpreta-

tion. As a preliminary matter, it is questionable whether that

rule even applies here, because it provides only that an adjec-

tival clause or phrase should be read to modify the noun that

it immediately follows. See Barnhart v. Thomas, 540 U.S. 20,

26 (2003). The adjective “other,” by contrast, plainly modifies

the noun that it precedes, “person,” and the relevant question

is thus not what the adjective “other” modifies, but instead to

what it refers (and thereby excludes). Even assuming, how-

ever, that the rule could be relevant here, this Court has ob-

served that the rule “is not an absolute and can assuredly be

overcome by other indicia of meaning.” /bid. Here, in partic-

ular, the rule should not be read to trump the more fundamen-

tal rule against rendering statutory terms superfluous. Be-

cause the word “other” in the phrase “other necessary costs”

already forecloses the possibility that the governmental enti-

ties enumerated i Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(A) could seek relief

under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B), the only construction that

gives meaning to the word “other” in the phrase “any other

person” is one in which “other” refers to (and excludes) the

PRPs listed earlier in Section 107(a)(1)-(4).

Respondent’s amici contend that Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B)

should not be limited to suits by “innocent” private parties

because the number of parties that would fall into that cate-

gory would be “minuscule.” See, e.g., Consolidated Edison Br.

5

13. But even a modest role for a statutory provision is better

than none at all (which is what respondent’s view leaves the

term “other”). Moreover, it is incontrovertible that Section

107(a)(1)-(4)(B) can be invoked by at least two important

classes of private parties that would qualify as PRPs but for

specific statutory exclusions: (1) parties that can show that

the release of a hazardous substance was caused solely by the

act or omission of a third party, see 42 U.S.C. 9601(35),

9607(b)(3); and (2) parties that can satisfy the statutory re-

quirements for a “bona fide prospective purchaser,” see 42

U.S.C. 9601(40), 9607(r)(1) (Supp. II] 2003). Indeed, some of

respondent’s amici concede that they would usually be able to

bring suit under the government’s interpretation of Section

107(a)(1)-(4(B). See ACWA Br. 16. When properly construed

to permit only non-PRP private parties to bring suit, Section

107(a)(1)-(4)(B) thus has substantial operative effect.’

* Respondent (Br. 5-6, 30) and its amici contend that the United States has

taken conflicting positions concerning the availability of a cause of action for

PRPs under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B). In reality, the United States has

consistently maintained, in keeping with the unanimous view of the courts of

appeals before this Court’s decision in Cooper Industries, that Section 113(f)

governs the procedures by which one PRP can sue another under CERCLA.

See, ¢.g., U.S. Br. at 21, Cooper Industries, supra (No. 02-1192) (stating that,

“{wJhen read in combination, the clear implication of Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B)

and Section 113 is that the jointly liable party is limited to seeking contribution

in the manner authorized by Section 113(f)”). In light of seemingly contrary

suggestions in Aey Tronic Corp. v. United States, 511 U.S. 809, 818 & n.11

(1994), the United States did not specifically argue before this Court’s decision

in Cooper Industries that the plain text of Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) forecloses

one PRP from bringing suit against another. Once Cooper Industries clarified

that the suggestions in Key Tronic constituted dictum (see 543 U.S. at 170),

however, the United States reexamined the statutory text and concluded that

Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) does not confer a cause of action on PRPs. See, ¢.g.,

US. Br. at 9-11, Metropolitan Water Reclamation Dist. v. North Am.

Galvanizing & Coatings, Inc., No. 05-3299, 2006 WL. 1354188 (7th Cir. filed

May 1, 2006).

6

2. All of the other arguments advanced by respondent and

its amici in support of their construction of Section 107(a)(1)-

(4)(B) also lack merit.

Respondent contends (Br. 20-21) that the phrase “any

other person” in Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) should be construed

as including PRPs because the same phrase appears, and is so

construed, in Section 111(a). That provision specifies that the

- Hazardous Substances Superfund should be used for, inter

alia, “[pjayment of governmental response costs,” 42 U.S.C.

9611(a)(1), and “[playment of any other claim for necessary

response costs incurred by any other person,” subject to gov-

ernment authorization, 42 U.S.C. 9611(a)(2) (emphasis added).

Section 111(a)(2), however, critically differs from Section

107(a)(1)-(4)(B) because the word “other” in the former provi-

‘sion must refer to the governmental entities that are implic-

itly mentioned in the previous paragraph; there is no other

possible referent. The content of the term “other” obviously

varies depending on the surrounding text and the universe of

potential referents.’

Respondent relies (Br. 21-23) on regulations promulgated

by EPA, but those regulations are consistent with the view

that PRPs that cannot seek contribution under Section 113(f)

have no remedy under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B). Indeed, the

most relevant provision states that “[rjesponsible parties shall

be liable for necessary costs of response actions * * * in-

* There is no incongruity in permitting PRPs to recover response costs from

the Superfund while preventing them from bringing suit against other PRPs

absent an untlerlying suit or settlement. Private parues can seek Superfund

reimbursement only with respect to costs that have been ‘approved under [the

NCP] and certified by the responsible Federal official,” 42 U.S.C. 9611(a)(2),

and the relevant regulation provides that the &. PA may authorize a PRP’s claim

“only in accordance with an order issued pursuant to [Slection 106 * * * or

a settlement with the federal government in accordance with [Sjection 122.”

40 C.F.R. 300.700(d)(5). Settling PRPs—inecluding PRPs that enter into

appropriate administrative consent orders with FPA under Section 106-—would

generally have the right to seek contribution under Section 113(13)(B).

7

curred by any other person consistent with the NCP.” 40

C.F.R. 300.700(¢c)(2) (emphasis added). The word “other” in

the phrase “any other person” necessarily refers to (and

thereby excludes) the “(rJesponsible parties” that are the

subject of the sentence. While another provision, 40 C.F.R.

300.700(c)(3)(ii), states that a response action carried out in

compliance with a Section 106 order or a Section 122 consent

decree “will be considered ‘consistent with the NCP’” for

purposes of cost recovery under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B), it

does not follow that PRPs that are ineligible for Section 113(f)

relief can bring suit under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B). A private

party can be subject to an administrative order under Section

106 even if it is not a PRP, see 42 U.S.C. 9606(b)(2)(C), and, in

any event, to the extent that Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) imposes

the underlying liability that is a necessary predicate for a

contribution claim under Section 113(f),* the regulation simply

makes clear that, when a PRP is entitled to obtain contribu-

tion for cost recovery pursuant to Section 113(f), it may re-

cover any costs covered by that regulation without having to

burden itself (and the courts) with the necessity of proving

consistency with the NCP—often a costly, complex, and time-

consuming matter that is best resolved through administra-

tive expertise rather than the unnecessary expenditure of

judicial resources.

Finally, respondent argues (Br. 26) that CERCLA was

intended to “make those responsible for the contamination

py for the cleanups.” It does not follow, however, that Con-

* Absent a discharge of liability by judgment or settlement with the govern-

ment, PRPs always retain shared liability to the government for cleaning up

(or paying for the cleanup) of their contaminated sites, regardless whether any

private party has a cause of action under Section 107(aX1)44)(B). See 42

U.S.C. 9606, 9607(a)11)-(4)(A). Respondent thus errs in contending (Br. 2, 5-6)

that PRPs have no CERCLA liability until another party has incurred re-

sponse costs. Any PRP that has not discharged its liability to the government

qualifies as a “person who is liable or potentially liable” under Section 106 or

107(a), and can therefore be sued under Section 113(f) by qualifying plaintiffs.

8

gress intended to permit any PRP to sue any other PRP for

cost recovery at any time, even when the plaintiff has not yet

resolved its own CERCLA liability. The government’s read-

ing of Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) fully effectuates CERCLA’s

purposes, and does so in an orderly fashion, by allowing gov-

ernment enforcement agencies to settle with (or take action

against) PRPs before those PRPs can sue others for contribu-

tion, thereby encouraging settlements and supervised clean-

ups.

B. Respondent’s Interpretation Cannot Account For Section

113(f), Which Provides The Exclusive Mechanisms By

Which A Potentially Responsible Party Can Sue Another

Under CERCLA

That Cooper /udustries reserved the question in this case

while construing Section 113(f) does not mean that Section

113(f) is irrelevant to the question here. To the contrary,

that express statutory contribution provision fatally under-

mines the plausibility of respondent’s proposed construction.

Under respondent’s reading, Section 113(f)’s interlocking

remedial scheme for PRPs would be rendered largely super-

fluous, and Congress’s goal of encouraging settlement with

the government would be frustrated. The better view is that

Section 113(f) provides the exclusive mechanisms by which

one PRP can bring suit against another under CERCLA, and

respondent's contrary arguments lack merit.

1. Respondent fails to come to grips with the established

principle that, in the context of remedial statutes, “a precisely

drawn, detailed statute pre-empts more general remedies.”

Block v. North Dakota, 461 U.S. 273, 285 (1983). It would

have been peculiar if Congress, in enacting SARA, had sup-

plied PRPs with an express cause of action for contribution

(and explicitly addressed and resolved a variety of second-

order issues such as the effect of settlement in those actions),

but not a broader express cause of action for cost recovery, if

9

it intended to permit PRPs to pursue the latter (as well as the

former) type of action.

Respondent repeatedly asserts (Br. 1, 16 n.8, 19, 23, 28, 29,

30, 43, 46) that lower courts have unanimously held that one

PRP can bring suit against another for cost recovery under

Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B). Respondent thereby seemingly sug-

gests that, because it was allegedly undisputed that one PRP

could bring suit against another for cost recovery under Sec-

tion 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) at the time Congress enacted SARA,

Congress operated on that assumption, and left that right

undisturbed, in providing an express cause of action only for

contribution in Section 113(f). Respondent and its amici,

however, utterly fail to identify the supposed plethora of cases

in which lower courts held, prior to Congress’s enactment of

SARA, that one PRP could bring suit against another for cost

recovery under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B). Instead, as previ-

ously noted (U.S. Br. 28), only a few district court cases had

so held.”

On the other hand, at least one district court had concluded

that a PRP did not have a right to cost recovery under Section

107(a)(1)-(4)(B). See D’Imperio v. United States, 575 F. Supp.

* While respondent (Br. 10 nn.4 & 5) and its amici cite numerous cases,

almost all of those cases are distinguishable on the grounds that (1) the case

was decided after Congress enacted SARA in 1986 (and thus could not have

informed Congress's understanding of Section 107(a)); (2) the court simply

assumed, without analysis, that a PRP was entitled to bring suit under Section

107(a)(1)-(4)(B), see Allied Towing Corp. v. Great Eastern Petroleum Corp.,

642 F. Supp. 1339, 1348-1349 (E.D. Va. 1986); (3) it was unclear whether the

plaintiff had first been sued or reached a settlement (and was therefore suing

for contribution), see Wickland Oil Terminals v. Asarco, lnc., 792 F.2d 887,891

(9th Cir. 1986); (4) the plaintiff was or may have been an “innocent” party

rather than a PRP, see Walls v. Waste Res. Corp., 761 F.2d 311, 314 (6th Cir.

1985); Artesian Water Co. v. Government of New Castle County, 605 F. Supp.

1348, 1356-1357 (D. Del. 1985): Jones v. Jnmont, 584 F. Supp. 1425, 1427 (S.D.

Ohio 1984); or (5) the reference to PRP suits for cost recovery under Section

107(a)(1)-(4XB) was mere dictum, see United States v. New Castle County, 642

F. Supp. 1258, 1262-1264 (D. Del. 1986).

10

248, 253 (D.N.J. 1983). Because it was far from settled that

one PRP could sue another for cost recovery under Section

107(a)(1)-(4)(B) at the time Congress enacted SARA, the rele-

vant question is not whether Congress impliedly repealed

Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) by enacting Section 113(f). Instead,

it is whether, when Seetion 107(a) and Section 113(f) are read

together, the text of Section 113(f) suggests that a PRP is not

entitled to bring suit under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B)—and the

answer to that question is plainly yes. See United States v.

Estate of Romani, 523 U.S. 517, 530 (1998); United States v.

Fausto, 484 U.S. 439, 453 (1988).

The legislative history of SARA, moreover, supports the

conclusion that Congress did not intend to permit a broader

and amorphous implied cause of action for cost recovery to

coexist with (and largely supplant) the narrow and carefully

defined express cause of action for contribution that it sup-

plied in SARA. Respondent does not so much as cite, much

less explain, the report of the House Energy and Commerce’

Committee, which the United States emphasized in its open-

ing brief (at 29). That report states that Section 113(f) “does

not affect the right of the United States to maintain a cause

of action for cost recovery under Section 107,” without men-

tioning any corresponding “right” of private PRPs. H.R. Rep.

No. 253, 99th Cong., Ist Sess. Pt. 1, at 79-80 (1985) (emphasis

added). That legislative history indicates that, in enacting

Section 113(f), Congress was operating on the assumption

that a PRP could not pursue an action against another PRP

for cost recovery under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B).

2. Respondent contends (Br. 4, 28) that “all” PRPs can sue

other PRPs for cost recovery under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B).

Under that view, of course, Section J13(f) is rendered entirely

superfluous, because any PRP that paid response costs could

sue directly under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B), regardless of

whether it would qualify to bring a contribution action under

Section 113(f). Respondent does not even attempt to justify

11

the absurd notion that Congress engaged in an entirely point-

less and futile act in drafting Section 113(f) (and that this

Court engaged in a similarly futile act in Cooper Industries in

holding that the “during or following any civil action” limita-

tion in Section 113(f)(1) means what it says).

At other points (e.g., Br. 19), respondent seems to assume,

as did the court of appeals (Pet. App. 17a), that only “volun-

tary remediators” could sue under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B),

and that PRPs that made the mistake of settling with the gov-

ernment would be relegated to the contribution remedy pro-

vided by Section 113(f). Respondent does not, however, at-

tempt to justify that atextual limitation on suits under Section

107(a)(1)-(4)(B), which is patently inconsistent with respon-

dent’s reading of the “any other person” phrase. For their

part, respondent’s amici concede that, in order to adopt that

limitation, this Court would have to “create an implied excep-

tion in [Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B)].”. NRDC Br. 21 n.26.° Even

if the Court were to engage in such radical statutory surgery,

however, it would not cure the fundamental infirmity with the

court of appeals’ reading: 7.¢., that a PRP could always cir-

cumvent Section 113(f)’s requirement of a pending or com-

pleted Section 106 or 107(a) action simply by bringing suit

under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B).

° In an effort to obviate the need to “create an implied exception,” NRDC

suggests that, at the time Congress enacted SARA, it was “at best ambiguous”

whether Section 107(a)(1)-(4\ B) conferred a right to contribution, even though

Section 107(a)(1)-(4B) “unambiguously provided * * * a right |to cost

recovery] to those who engaged in voluntary cleanups.” Br. 20. Because

contribution is merely a form of cost recovery (and, indeed, the form with

firmer common law roots), however, and because the purportedly sweeping

preexisting cause of action for cost recovery would (if it had in fact existed)

have obviated any need to supply the narrower contribution remedy enacted

in Section 113(f), it could not have been clear before SARA’s enactment that

one PRP could bring suit against another under Section 107(a1)-(4\(B) for cost

recovery, vet simultancously unclear whether one PRP could bring suit against

another under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) for contribution.

12

3. Finally, respondent apparently concedes (Br. 48) that,

at least to the extent that it is deemed a “voluntary” rather

than “compelled” remediator, its claim does not qualify as a

claim for “contribution” that could be saved by the savings

clause in Section 113(f)(1). Respondent is correct to make

that apparent concession, because the savings clause merely

preserves the ability of a PRP to bring an action for contribu-

tion (as that concept is traditionally defined) under any other

provision of law, including state law. See 42 U.S.C. 9613(f)(1).

The savings clause does not purport to “save” any supposed

cause of action for PRPs under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B), as it

would have done if Congress had intended PRPs to have such

a remedy.

C. Section 107(a) Does Not Create An Implied Right To Con-

tribution Separate And Apart From The Explicit Contri-

bution Remedy Set Forth In Section 113(f)

Respondent makes no serious effort to defend the court of

appeals’ alternative holding that Section 107(a) contains an

implied right to contribution, distinct from the cause of action

for cost recovery contained in Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B). Pet.

App. 15a. In particular, respondent offers no response to the

argument that Section 107(a) is best read as not giving rise to

an implied right to contribution at all. Nor does respondent

refute the point that any implied right of contribution would,

at most, authorize contribution in its traditiona! sense.

Instead, respondent contends (Br. 45) only that, “{iJn the

event that [it] is somehow deemed a ‘compelled remediator,’”

it should be entitled to avail itself of an implied right to con-

tribution. Even assuming that Section 107(a) contained an

implied right to contribution, however, the relevant question

would not be whether a PRP had incurred cleanup Costs under

some form of “compulsion”—or, as respondent alternatively

suggests (Br. 48), whether the PRP’s actions “result{ed] in a

complete cleanup”—but rather whether the PRP had extin-

13

guished its common liability to a third party through suit or

settlement. Respondent does not explain how it could qualify

to seek contribution notwithstanding the fact that it has indis-

putably not been subject to suit (or reached a settlement) with

regard to the costs it seeks to recover. As a result, respon-

dent cannot avail itself of any implied right to contribution

under Section 107(a).

D. The Structure And Purpose Of CERCLA And SARA Do

Not Permit A Potentially Responsible Party To Sue An-

other Potentially Responsible Party To Recover Cleanup

Costs

Respondent offers no valid response to the argument that

its reading of Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) would undermine Con-

gress’s goals, in enacting CERCLA and SARA, of promoting

government-supervised cleanups and encouraging PRPs

promptly to settle with the government.

1. Respondent disputes the proposition (Br. 39) that, under

its reading of Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B), a PRP that has not yet

been sued under Section 106 or 107(a) may have incentives

-not to settle with the government, in order to preserve its

right to sue other PRPs under the substantially more gener-

ous provisions of Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) rather than Section

113(f). Respondent’s arguments lack merit.

“irst, notwithstanding the settled principle that Section

107(a) imposes joint and several liability on PRPs (in keeping

with its plain text, which makes PRPs liable for “any” qualify-

ing response costs), respondent contends (Br. 7) that, when

(but only when) a PRP is the plaintiff, Section 107(a) should

instead “impose several liability only, just as in the contribu-

tion remedy provided by § 113(f).” Respondent offers no tex-

tual basis for that inconsistent treatment, which has seem-

ingly been rejected even by courts that have adopted respon-

dent’s reading of Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B). See Pet. App. 15a;

Consolidated Edison Co. of New York, Inc. v. UGT Utils.,

14

Inc., 423 F.3d 90, 100 n.9 (2d Cir. 2005), petition for cert.

pending, No. 05-1323 (filed Apr. 14, 2006). Under the ap-

proach favored by those courts, however, a PRP could sue

another PRP for joint and several liability, thereby placing

the burden on the defendant PRP to pursue (and prove) a

counterclaim against the plaintiff PRP simply in order to

avoid paying for the plaintiff PRP’s share of the costs.

In any event, it is uncertain whether even respondent’s

approach would entirely eliminate the burden on defendant

PRPs, because a defendant PRP might still be required to

pursue third-party claims for contribution against other PRPs

in order to avoid paying for their shares. By proposing an

atextual limitation on a PRP suit for cost recovery under Sec-

tion 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) comparable to the textual limitation that

Congress did impose on a PRP suit for contribution under

Section 113(f), respondent makes clear that it seeks nothing

less than to circumvent Section 113(f)’s requirement of a

pending or completed Section 106 or 107(a) action through the

simple expedient of bringing an action under Section

107(a)(1)-(4)(B). Respondent cannot simply borrow the sub-

sidiary aspects of Section 113(f) in order to make its Section

107(a) action workable without also borrowing the major limi-

tation of Section 113(f), which makes clear that respondent |

has no viable action. Cf. City of Rancho Palos Verdes v.

Abrams, 544 U.S. 113, 125 (2005) (rejecting attempt to “bor-

row” only statute of limitations, but not other limitations, of

a specific statutory cause of action).

Second, respondent claims (Br. 31) that PRPs permitted to

sue under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) would not receive a poten-

tially more favorable limitation period, because actions for

“first instance response costs” are never subject to the three-

year limitation period for actions for contribution in Section

113(g)(3), even when asserted by a contribution plaintiff. Re-

spondent is mistaken. Contribution is available for “first in-

stance” response costs, see 42 U.S.C. 9613(f)(3)(B); United

15

Techs. Corp. v. Browning-Ferris Indus., 33 F.3d 96, 101-102

(1st Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 1183 (1995), and Section

113(g)(3) provides that “[nJjo action for contribution for any

response costs” may be brought outside the three-year limita-

tion period. 42 U.S.C. 9613(g)(3) (emphasis added). Thus, all

contribution claims are subject to the three-year limitation

period, whereas PRPs, if permitted to sue under Section

107(a)(1)-(4)(B), could avail themselves of the potentially more

generous limitation period for cost-recovery claims.

Third, respondent suggests (Br. 38) that, when one PRP

sues another for cost recovery under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B),

a court could, “where appropriate,” prohibit the plaintiff PRP

from recovering where the defendant PRP had itself reached

a settlement with the government. It is indisputable, how-

ever, that the settlement bar enacted by Congress in SARA

provides protection only against actions for “contribution,”

not actions for cost recovery. 42 U.S.C. 9613(f)(2).' In pro-

posing (Br. 38) that courts ignore the exrpressio unius princi-

ple and create out of thin air a parallel settlement bar that

would miraculously extend to cost-recovery actions “precisely

the same settlement protection” afforded to contribution ac-

tions by Section 113(f)(2), respondent once again seeks to

borrow complementary parts of Section 113(f) while ignoring

* Amicus Lockheed contends (Br. 25-26) that, because the settlement bar in

Section 113(f2) provides protection only against “claims for contribution

regarding matters addressed in the settlement,” 42 U.S.C. 9613(f)(2) (emphasis

added), it protects only against claims by PRPs that have reimbursed some

portion of the govern ment’s costs and not against claims by PRPs that incurred

response costs of their own. As respondent seemingly recognizes (Br. 37),

however, whether an action for cost recovery implicates “matters addressed in

the settlement” turns on the terms of the settlement agreement itself, and

courts have upheld settlement agreements that protect settling defendants

from contribution claims for response actions being performed by other PRPs.

See, e.g., United States v. BP Amoco Oil PLC, 277 F.3d 1012, 1015, 1020-1021

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 537 U.S. 942 (2002); United States v. Davis, 261 F 3d 1,

27-28 (1st Cir. 2001); l/nited States v. Sontheastern Pa. Transp. Auth., 235

F.3d 817, 822-823 (3d Cir. 2000).

16

its major limitation. Statutory construction simply does not

work that way. Respondent’s effort merely confirms that

allowing private PRPs to pursue actions against settling

PRPs would create incentives not only for would-be plaintiff

PRPs not to settle with the government (so as to preserve

their right to sue settling PRPs), but also for would-be defen-

dant PRPs not to settle (because a settling PRP could stiil be

sued by another PRP).*

The Court should see respondent's proposed statutory

rewrites for what they are: viz., an effort to create a shadow

_contribution scheme under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B) for PRPs

that cannot satisfy Section 113(f)’s suit-or-settlement require-

ment. “There is no reason why Congress would bother to

specify conditions under which a person may bring a contribu-

tion claim, and at the same time allow [the precise equivalent

of] contribution actions absent those conditions.” Cooper In-

dustries, 543 U.S. at 166.

2. Respondent and its amici suggest that, in enacting

CERCLA and SARA, Congress intended to encourage volun-

tary cleanups of contaminated sites. That is undoubtedly

true, but it does not follow that Congress intended to promote

unsupervised cleanups at the expense of government-super-

vised cleanups pursuant to settlement or suit. Indeed, the

legislative history on which they rely actually confirms that

Congress sought to encourage voluntary cleanups pursuant to

settlements with the government. Thus, respondent cites (Br.

26) Senator Domenici’s statement concerning the importance

of encouraging “voluntary cleanup actions,” 131 Cong. Rec.

24,730 (1985), but omits the very next sentence, which makes

clear that he was referring to voluntary settlement agree-

* As atheoretical matter, of course, settling PRPs remain subject to actions

for cost recovery by “innocent” private parties under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(B)

and by non-settling sovereigns under Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(A). In practice,

however, the prospect of such actions is likely to be a much smaller deterrent

to settlement than the prospect of actions by other PRPs.

17

ments with the government. See id. at 24,731 (explaining

that, “[u]nder [SARA], the President would be authorized to

enter into agreements with potentiully responsible parties to

conduct remedial actions”). Similarly, amici Browner et al.

cite (Br. 6) Representative Lent’s reference to “a key ground-

breaking structural reform |in SARA] that will encourage

responsible parties to come forward and take responsibility

for cleaning up the toxic waste sites they helped create,” 131

Cong. Rec. 16,573 (1985), but omit the very next sentence,

which makes clear that the “reform” at issue was designed to

encourage settlements with the government. See ibid. (noting

that, “[ijn this bill, we have provided the EPA administrator

with additional authority to expedite settlements * * * so

that responsible parties will no longer ‘hide in the weeds’ and

avoid their responsibility to safeguard the public health and

safety”).

SARA was no doubt motivated by concerns that PRPs were

resisting EPA’s cleanup demands, necessitating costly and

time-consuming litigation. But Congress addressed that con-

cern by creating incentives for PRPs to enter into settlements

with the government. There is no evidence in the legislative

history of either CERCLA or SARA that suggests that Con-

gress intended to allow PRPs to bring suit under Section

107(a) despite the very real danger that such suits would un-

dermine the government-enforcement and settlement regime

established by those statutes.

3. Private PRPs retain-considerable incentives to engage

in cleanups notwithstanding their inability to sue under Sec-

tion 107(a). See U.S. Br. 43. And where a private PRP incurs

substantial response costs and then enters into a settlement

with the federal or state government (and where the PRP can

identify other solvent PRPs with respect to the same facility),

the PRP will generally be able to recover an allocated share

of its costs by bringing an action for contribution under Sec-

tion 113(f)(3)(B).

18

Respondent’s amici suggest that, where EPA compels a

PRP to undertake a response action by means of an adminis-

trative order under Section 106, the PRP would be unable to

seek contribution from other PRPs, because the administra-

tive order would not constitute a “civil action” for purposes of

Section 113(f)(1). But a PRP threatened with issuance of a

Section 106 order has two options, either of which may entitle

it to seek contribution. If the PRP has no objection to the

proposed response action, it can agree with EPA to enter into

a consent order, and EPA has indicated that it will generally

include language in such an order that would render it a “set-

tlement” for purposes of Section 113(f)(3)(B).” On the other

hand, if the PRP objects to the order, it can refuse to comply,

whereupon the United States could bring suit under Section

106(b)(1) or Section 107(a)(1)-(4)(A) (and thereby trigger the

right to seek contribution under Section 113(f)(1)).

Amicus Consolidated Edison also suggests (Br. 4-5) that,

' under the government’s interpretation of © ction 107(a)(1)-

(4)(B), a PRP would have no incentive to settle with a State,

because the State would somehow be disabled from entering

into a qualifying settlement under Section 113(f)(3)(B). It is

hard to see why that is so. While there are various open ques-

tions concerning precisely what a State must do in order to

enter into a qualifying settlement, a State could do so by, at

a minimum, making clear in the settlement that it was releas-

ing its claim for response cost8 under CERCLA. Notably, the

amici States do not embrace Consolidated Edison’s view, but

instead complain only that they would have to divert their

attention from other cleanups upon receiving requests to en-

ter into settlements at other sites. See States Br. 26-28. That

* See Memorandum from Susan EF. Bromm, Director, Office of Site Reme-

diation Enforcement, EPA, and Bruce S. Gelber, Chief, Environmental En-

forcement Section, Environment and Natural Resources Division, Department

of Justice at 2 (Aug. 3, 2005) <http:/Avww.epa.gov/compliance/resources/

policies/cleanup/superfund/interim-rev-aoc-mod-mem.pdf>.

19

concern is overstated, however, given that States can and do

require parties to reimburse the administrative-costs incurred

by States in entering into settlements. Moreover, many

States have established EPA-approved voluntary cleanup

programs in which they commit to ensure that such cleanups

will be conducted in accordance with federal law. See EPA,

Memoranda of Agreement (MOAs) on State Voluntary Clean-

up Programs (VCPs) (Dec. 22, 2006) <www.epa.gov/brown-

fields/html-doc/statemoa.htm>. There is no obvious reason

why States could not enter into settlement agreements with

. private parties that satisfy the terms of those programs.

Wholly apart from any incentives to settle in order to trig-

. ger a federal contribution remedy, PRPs also have powerful

incentives to settle with States because virtually all States can

also pursue PRPs under state law (which often enables PRPs

to obtain contribution from other PRPs as well). See, e.g.,

Environmental Law Institute, An Analysis of State Super-

fund Programs: 50 State Study 7-9, 31-35, 53-57, 139-279

(1998) (listing state statutes) <www.elistore.org/reports_de-

tail.asp?I1D=436>; Ark. Code Ann. §§ 8-7-501 et seq. (2000).

Thus, the government's interpretation of Section 107(a)(1)-

(4)(B) leaves PRPs with considerable incentive and opportu-

nity to enter into settlements with States, and to engage in

cleanups more generally.

4. Finally, respondent renews the contention (Br. 26-27)

that, when federal PRPs are subject to liability, EPA would

forgo enforcement action (and thus insulate those PRPs from

liability for contribution). Respondent, however, does not

dispute the proposition that EPA has repeatedly taken en-

forcement action in those circumstances.’ Respondent’s

’* Respondent's amici contend that the government broke off settlement

negotiations in this case and in FJ. du Pont de Nemours & Co. v. United

States, 460 F.3d 515 (3d Cir. 2006), petition for cert. pending, No. 06-726 (filed

Nov. 21, 2006), in the wake of this Court’s decision in Cooper Industries. But

the plaintiff PRPs were not negotiating with EPA to resolve their own cleanup

liability; rather, they were merely seeking monetary relief from federal PRPs.

20

amici unwittingly confirm that proposition when they cite

statements by EPA officials indicating their commitment to

ensuring that the government abides by its obligations under

CERCLA. See Browner Br. 16-17. Although the United

States does not bring actions against itself in federal court, it

routinely exposes itself to liability by pursuing enforcement

action against private PRPs, and can also be subjected to lia-

bility when state or tribal authorities or “innocent” private

parties take action themselves against PRPs.

The government’s waiver of sovereign immunity in Section

120(a)(1) likewise provides no support for respondent’s posi-

tion. That waiver merely imposes liability on federal PRPs

“to the same extent” as private parties; it does not define the

class of permissible plaintiffs under Section 107(a) (or, for

that matter, any other provision of CERCLA). The argument

that SARA’s waiver of sovereign immunity justifies reading

into Section 107(a) a broad right of cost recovery against gov-

ernmental and private PRPs alike is thus a non sequitur.

Like all of the other policy arguments advanced by respon-

dent and its amici, it should be rejected with !eave to renew it

before Congress, to which it is more properly directed.

* *+ *£+ *&

For the foregoing reasons and those stated in the govern-

ment’s opening brief, the judgment of the court of appeals

should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

PAUL D. CLEMENT

Solicitor General

APRIL 2007

Any “refusal” by the government to settle on those terms was understandable

in light of the fact that, in the government’s view, the plaintiff PRPs have no

cause of action absent resolution of their own liability.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.