Amicus Curiae Brief — Burgess v. United States

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

[FILED

T © —__sJAN2.8 2008

379 No. 06-11429 | OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the Anited States

KEITH LAVON BURGESS,

Petitioner,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF OF NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

OF CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS AND

FAMILIES AGAINST MANDATORY MINIMUMS

AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

PAMELA HARRIS KEVIN B. HUFF

Co-CHAIR, NACDL Counsel of Record

AMICUS COMMITTEE GREGORY G. RAPAWY

1625 Eye Street, N.W. KELLOGG, HUBER, HANSEN,

Washington, D.C. 20006 TODD, EVANS & FIGEL,

(202) 383-5386 P.L.L.C.

1615 M Street, N.W.

MARY PRICE Suite 400

VICE PRESIDENT AND Washington, D.C. 20036

GENERAL COUNSEL (202) 326-7900

FAMILIES AGAINST

MANDATORY MINIMUMS PETER GOLDBERGER

1612 K Street, N.W. 50 Rittenhouse Place

Suite 700 Ardmore, Pennsylvania 19003

Washington, D.C. 20006 (610) 649-8200

(202) 822-6700

January 29, 2008

A

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Se GP FA WI EI ceccccecccccencescccccssceecccccosseene ii

INTEREST OF AMICI CURITAE................cccccccceceeeeess 1

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY

REDS Se a 2

a cially 5

1. THE HISTORY AND PURPOSES OF

THE RULE OF LENITY SUPPORT

ITS APPLICATION TO MANDA-

TORY MINIMUM SENTENCES .........000.000.... 5

A. The Rule of Lenity Is Rooted in the

Narrow Construction of Mandatory

iii iiniesictslsdcea de hdl ciaiideiniiedin 5

B. This Court Has Employed the Rule

of Lenity To Protect the Separa-

tion of Powers and the Principle of

EES TS Per acre aT RTC ee 10

C. The Rule of Lenity Should Apply

to Mandatory Minimum Sentences

MIU asi incndacneinandbntiinmaidadeunpiibaininanainiedncaninns 16

Il. THE RULE OF LENITY REQUIRES

REVERSAL IN THIS CASE........................... 20

STITT icossicsicnicibisitaiinisieibiebiaaaciacinceeliieidipdinen 27

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

United States

Bell v. United States, 349 U.S. 81 (1955)................ 11,

12, 13, 17

Bifulco v. United States, 447 U.S. 381 (1980).....13, 16

Busic v. United States, 446 U.S. 398 (1980) ............ 18

Calder v. Bull, 3 U.S. (3 Dall.) 386 (1798) ............... 16

Callanan v. United States, 364 U.S. 587

ERE ees D eae e ene oe ene ees oer en a eR 20

Caron v. United States, 524 U.S. 308 (1998) ........... 14

Chapman v. United States, 500 U.S. 453

a a at laa lll 15

Chickasaw Nation v. United States, 534 U.S.

TT ne ee wenn ne TOO 22

Colautti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379 (1979)................ 22

Dowling v. United States, 473 U.S. 207

EERE AER RUE ee sean terrence eee EES oe 13

Engine Mfrs. Ass'n v. South Coast Air Quall-

ity Mgmt. Dist., 541 U.S. 246 (2004)...........000.0... 21

Fasulo v. United States, 272 U.S. 620 (1926) .....12, 26

Gall v. United States, 552 U.S. ---, 128 S. Ct.

TREES Re Eom a ee a 17

Harmelin v. Michigan, 501 U.S. 957 (1991)............ 17

Holloway v. United States, 526 U.S. 1 (1999).......... 19

Huddleston v. United States, 415 U.S. 814

TT vsutnenceiiherhcandaeehldteha beh iatoehded ential itlabiatiettine 15

lll

James v. United States, 550 U.S. ---, 127 S.

ELS ne 19

Kimbrough v. United States, 552 U.S. ---,

i a ceunintios 18

Koon v. United States, 518 U.S. 81 (1996)............... 17

Ladner v. United States, 358 U.S. 169 (1958).......... 16

Logan v. United States, 552 U.S. ---, 128 S.

SESE er An a a ene eo 19

Lopez v. Gonzales, 549 U.S. ---, 127 S. Ct. 625

_RRETRE RS RSC ESR al em E ROLE Bi eS coe 21, 22

McBoyle v. United States, 283 U.S. 25

I aa a 3, 11, 13

McNally v. United States, 483 U.S. 350

REE See nan Re aneen ee Oe eR 13

Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc.,

ETERS Eee oh ee 23

Moskal v. United States, 498 U.S. 103

RRR ge RTS SETS AW a ener ters tae Wk A i 14, 15

Muscarello v. United States, 524 U.S. 125

EAE a SEE Brn tome eTe Nee On a OS 15

National Cable & Telecomms. Ass'n, Inc. v.

Gulf Power Co., 534 U.S. 327 (2002)................... 23

Scheidler v. National Org. for Women, Inc.,

I, 13, 15, 26

Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277 (1983) ..............c.cccceeeeee 17

Standefer v. United States, 447 U.S. 10 (1980)........... 5

United States v. Aguilar, 515 U.S. 593 (1995)......... 13

United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 (1971).............. 20

United States v. Booker, 543 U.S. 220 (2005).......... 18

lV

United States v. Corbett, 215 U.S. 233 (1909) ......... 14

United States v. Hartwell, 73 U.S. (6 Wall.)

EEE ee ee era eee ee 14

United States v. Lanier, 520 U.S. 259 (1997)........... 13

United States v. Laub, 385 U.S. 475 (1967)............. 26

United States v. RL.C., 503 U.S. 291

TREE e er aE ween © Se On we 14, 15, 21

United States v. Roberson, 459 F.3d 39 (1st

Cir. 2006), cert. denied, 549 U.S. ---, 127

ft | EES eee enw pe ees 22, 23, 24

United States v. Shabani, 513 U.S. 10 (1994) ......... 14

United States v. Turkette, 452 U.S. 576

TARR IEE REARS ee elas oO oe a na 21

United States v. Universal C.1.T. Credit

Corp., 344 U.S. 218 (1962) .........22.0000000000. 12, 15, 22

United States v. West, 393 F.3d 1302 (D.C.

EE AR A are ee ee Ce a OE 23

United States v. Wiltberger, 18 U.S. (56 Wheat.)

iia atta ead 3, 10, 11, 13, 15, 26

Williams v. United States, 503 U.S. 193

IIIT sr tesieicinsatedihiasitiacdaaidiabeaeneididtielinadbidaetndiemadeiiiiicniesdantin 17

England

Evans & Finch’s Case, Cro. Car. 473, 79 Eng.

EE eee ese eee 8,15

Howard’s Case, Fost. 77, 168 Eng. Rep. 39

SE eae ence OR tre Paes ARO a a are POA 26

The King v. Baynes, 1 Leach 7, 168 Eng. Rep.

TET AOS A eee ee ee LT Coat ee aD ee 8

Vv

The King v. Beaney, Russ. & Ry. 416, 168

SE, re GD iisecdttinnenicnieniintinniiccennne 7,8

The King v. Cook, 1 Leach 105, 168 Eng. Rep.

RE EE WU chetevedndaserincssvssepemniesiiaamianiinesbbineseniin 8

The King v. Hammond, 1 Leach 444, 168

i, Fe TOD sists vvnseconunsssneesiiiersensoncionsis 9,10

The King v. Midwinter & Sims, Fost. 415,

Ee, BT Ee setinricsccccensepesnovsnemievnenee 8,9

The King v. Page & Harwood, Style 86,

ee ee, SEE cncsectevsencestesenestonimeninstosiin 8

The King v. Sterne, 1 Leach 473, 168 Eng.

BA Se PUD tarinchsasnecniletvesiniccencsioiustiinsiaisianidmmeiien 8

CONSTITUTION, STATUTES, AND RULES

nite tes

U.S. Const.:

Art. I, § 9, Cl. 3 (Ex Post Facto Clause).............. 13

Amend. V (Due Process Clause)....................0000+8 13

Act of Apr. 30, 1790, ch. 9, 1 Stat. 112.................. 10

lg Sg | EN ee erv en =e 10

ES I eT ee eRe 10

Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act

of 2006, Pub. L. No. 109-248, § 141(a)(1),

I eel 19

Anti-Drug Abuse Amendments Act of 1988,

Pub. L. No. 100-690, tit. VI, § 6452(a), 102

i SE, SIE TIEN Sw ictneciniasecdeidliaianiineniansincianiaiai 25

vi

Controlled Substances Act, Pub. L. No. 91-

513, tit. I], 84 Stat. 1236, 1242 (1970)

(codified, as amended, in part at 21

RT) Seana 20, 21, 23, 24

Be le OF IED cccctcccescccccsccceses 20, 21, 22, 23, 25

21 U.S.C. § 802(44)............. 2, 20, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26

cere rcnsncentiintcnnsidicnnassseeniies 24

ncn nctaninesiclintsatiniidnniiidiien 20

21 U.S.C. § 841(b)(1)(A)........ 2, 4, 18, 20, 24, 25, 26

cs ocsicninttncnncacecummebiinseenil 24

sc crnnanennesennasoeconsnes 24

Ts crscaccennanennssnssnneinneniee 24

i nicisn siicnnccncncinntenneninnssntensnil 24

ii cs ttcdnncetnmnensennenemnegatsids 24

nin cnaratcncinctnmncancnnecennsntil 24

asec rreenerentabenmatncsennt 24

IE Re cme 24

se sentcscenestnnmmnenecsannenienes 24

ee 24

. . «| Ee seweseee 24

21 U.S.C. § 848(q)(5) (2000) 00.0.0... eeeeeeeeeeeees 25

21 U.S.C. § 848(q)(6) (2000) 00... cece ceeceeeeeeeeees 25

ne cciicgnnpenimnenenntnnnsnntiin 24

a sinntetceeinccinadl 24

ci crtenrciesccpnnasennrnenisniinneings 25

21 U.S.C. § 881(a)(9) (1994) ................ceerccrccsssees 24

vil

Controlled Substances Import and Export

Act, Pub. L. No. 91-513, tit. III, 84 Stat.

1236, 1285 (1970) (codified, as amended,

in part at 21 U.S.C. § 951 et seq.) ............cceeeeeeees 24

Be I ici ccssnntcinsesenintecsnciinneenmnoenss 24

iis scccniccctinsassnnserensinasennntions 24

Oe nincnsrsennennsmiennnenininennienininlti 24

inane ensariaeabbamiinieienien 24

PROTECT Act, Pub. L. No. 108-21, § 103(b),

117 Stat. 650, 653 (2003).................ccccsrcssceseees 19

Protection of Lawful Commerce in Arms Act,

Pub. L. No. 109-92, § 6(b), 119 Stat. 2095,

as esetens 19

Sentencing Reform Act of 1984, Pub. L. No.

98-473, tit. II, ch. Il, 98 Stat. 1837,

1987 (codified, as amended, in part at

ee OD citcinsccstccapnaisscinsesescorscsnecs 19

a cnencectncinineeiaieineninetnectinianiiie 19

ee iicsinttinincenicsceesccensenssnvniniids 18, 19

ii ceccccncmnsencsnsstanecontemiiainiiiii 18

te Oe I icrccnccsnsssrscscncccnensssnsesees 18

ee ee iicnctninnnenniticsnneieianenssonee 18

Violent Crime Control and Law Enforce-

ment Act of 1994, Pub. L. No. 103-322,

§ 90105(c)-(d), 108 Stat. 1796, 1987-88 .............. 25

GI tile I cecceccenserencenssmnanenensstinntintmantinnenanennsnanties 1

vill

England

1 Edw. 6, c. 12, §§ 9, 13 (1547) ....ccecccccssescececsessesseeeee 6

fee " —-_- snes 7

11 Geo. 1, c. 29, §§ 5, 6 (1724) ..cecccccscccesseseesessessesseeeee 7

EG 6

Pee fs eS | eS aeesenee 7

Serene Nereen re 7

OTHER MATERIALS

Cesare Beccaria, An Essay on Crimes and

Punishments (4th ed. 1775)..................ccccccssssseees 14

William Blackstone, Commentaries:

SEARS Ea Nav ase Oa sane DETR TS 7

a i eieiataiiachicheeichaiaeiaielncicaitciniieniniahnaee ideiiacmeblinsninsines 5, 6, 7

George W. Dalzell, Benefit of Clergy in

America & Related Matters (1955)...............000.00++- 6

Henry J. Friendly, “Mr. Justice Frankfurter

and the Reading of Statutes,” in Bench-

ceri 20

1 Matthew Hale, Historia Placitorum

ES RR ne a ae 7, 8,9

Jerome Hall, Theft, Law and Society (2d ed.

REEDS CRIS ees er ee an oe 5, 6,9

John H. Langbein, Shaping the Eighteenth-

Century Criminal Trial: A View from the

Ryder Sources, 50 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1 (1983)....... 5, 6

Charles de Montesquieu, The Spirit of Laws

SR SERRE VC Ea Spe ec eae 11

ix

Herbert L. Packer, The Limits of the Crimi-

SERS rece 13, 14

1 Leon Radzinowicz, A History of English

Criminal Law and Its Administration

Antonin Scalia, Assorted Canards of Con-

temporary Legal Analysis, 40 Case W.

ee 5 | —_s See 14-15, 16

2A Norman J. Singer, Statutes and Statutory

Construction (5th ed. 1992) ................ccceeeeeeeeeeeees 23

1 James Stephen, A History of the Criminal Law of

TALE ERI ce ne ae eee een 5

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE'!

The National Association of Criminal Defense

Lawyers (“NACDL”) is a nonprofit organization with

a direct national membership of more than 12,500

attorneys, in addition to more than 35,000 affiliate

members from all 50 states. Founded in 1958,

NACDL is the only professional association that rep-

resents public defenders and private criminal defense

lawyers at the national level. The American Bar

Association (“ABA”) recognizes NACDL as an affili-

ated organization with full representation in the

ABA House of Delegates.

NACDL’s mission is to ensure justice and due proc-

ess for the accused; to foster the integrity, independ-

ence, and expertise of the criminal defense profes-

sion; and to promote the proper and fair administra-

tion of justice. NACDL routinely files amicus curiae

briefs on a broad range of issues in this Court and

other courts and has filed amicus curiae briefs in

previous cases involving the interpretation of manda-

tory minimum sentencing statutes. See, e.g., Begay

v. United States, No. 06-11543 (argued Jan. 15,

2008).

Families Against Mandatory Minimums (“FAMM”)

is a national, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization of

14,300 members founded in 1991. FAMM’s primary

mission is to promote fair and proportionate sentenc-

! Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, counsel for amici

represent that they authored this brief in its entirety and that

none of the parties or their counsel, nor any other person or

entity other than amici, their members, or their counsel, made

a monetary contribution intended to fund the preparation or

submission of this brief. All parties have consented to the filing

of this brief, and letters reflecting their consent have been filed

with the Clerk.

2

ing policies and to challenge inflexible and excessive

penalties required by mandatory sentencing laws.

By mobilizing prisoners and their families who

have been adversely affected by unjust sentences,

FAMM illuminates the human face of sentencing as

it advocates for state and federal sentencing reform.

FAMM advances its charitable purposes in part

through education of the general public and through

selected amicus filings in important cases.

Amici file this brief for two reasons. First, the

question presented in this case will affect the sen-

tences of a significant number of criminal] defendants

in the federal courts. This Court’s decision will

have a direct and immediate impact on the lives of

these individuals and their families. Second, the way

in which the Court decides this case will greatly

influence how the federal courts deal with the wide-

spread proliferation of mandatory minimum sentenc-

ing provisions. Amici believe that the Court should

take the opportunity offered by this case to empha-

size the important role of the rule of lenity in inter-

preting those provisions.

INTRODUCTION

AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Both the historical roots of the rule of lenity and its

modern function in American criminal law strongly

suggest that a “felony drug offense” for purposes of

21 U.S.C. § 841(b)(1)(A) must be a “felony” within the

meaning of 21 U.S.C. § 802(44). The Court should

reaffirm the importance of the rule of lenity and

emphasize the rule’s especially significant role in the

interpretation of mandatory minimum sentences.

The rule of lenity derives from the practice of the

English courts in the seventeenth and eighteenth

centuries of strictly construing penal statutes. The

3

English courts applied this rule of strict construction

primarily to enactments that effectively imposed

a mandatory death sentence for a broad range of

felonies by removing the so-called “benefit of clergy,”

a legal fiction that had allowed first-time offenders

to avoid hanging. Parliament passed many such

statutes, some of which applied to minor felonies,

such as shoplifting. The courts responded by read-

ing these statutes narrowly, thereby reducing the

number of covered felonies. The result was a rule

requiring a clear statement by Parliament before the

courts would construe a statute as depriving a defen-

dant of the benefit of clergy and subjecting him to the

death penalty. Some of these historical precedents,

moreover, show an emerging understanding that a

restrained judicial reading of sentencing laws appro-

priately observes the line between the legislature’s

prerogative in enacting criminal statutes and the

more limited judicial role of interpreting and apply-

ing them.

The rule of lenity likewise has deep roots in Ameri-

can law. Chief Justice Marshall’s opinion in United

States v. Wiltberger, 18 U.S. (5 Wheat.) 76 (1820),

detached the rule from any particular association

with capital sentencing and located it firmly in the

understanding that it is the role of the legislature,

not the courts, to define crimes and their punish-

ments. By the time of McBoyle v. United States, 283

U.S. 25 (1931), it was clear that the rule of lenity

was a structural safeguard requiring that criminal

punishment be clearly authorized by a statute — not

so much for the benefit of the individual defendant,

who Justice Holmes’s opinion acknowledged was

unlikely to “carefully consider the text of the law,” id.

at 27, but rather to protect the broader principle

22

it “reflects a judgment that the length of authorized

punishment is a better,measure of severity than a

State’s label for the offense.” Br. 36-37. But as

petitioner already has shown, the length of permis-

sible sentences — especially in the context of drug

crime “ varies widely from state to state, and thus is

often a| poor guide for judging the seriousness of the

underlying conduct. Petr. Br. 21-22. Classifying a

crime as a felony, by contrast, has a time-honored

import; and carries well- established consequences.

Individuals who are convicted of “felonies” can lose

the right to vote, see Richardson v. Ramirez, 418 U.S.

24 (1974); the right to run for public office, see, e.g.,

Tex. Elec. Code § 141.001(a\(4) (Vernon 2007); the

right to obtain professional: licenses, see, e.g., N.Y.

Real Prop. Law § 440-a (McKinney 2006)-(real estate

license); and numerous other civil rights. It thus

seems jlikely that Congress — even while adding a

length-of-punishment criterion to the calculus for

determining whether a prior conviction for a drug

offense triggers a twenty-year mandatory sentence —

would |have wanted to' retain the requirement that

such prior offenses also'be classified as felonies. _

Even assuming, as the government says, requir-

ing a crime to be classified as a felony in order to

constitute a “felony drug offense” docs not have any

practical significance in the vast majority of cases,

this reality would not pose any impediment to

enforcing Section 802(13)’s classification requirement

in cases in which it does matter. “It is not at all

unusual to give a statute’s ambiguous language a

limiting construction called for by one of the statute’s

applications, even though other of the _ statute’s

applications, standing alone, would not support the

3

23

same limitation.” Clark v. Martinez, 543 U.S. 371,

380 (2005). In cases where the rule of lenity comes

into play, “[tlhe lowest common denominator, as it

were, must govern.” /d.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, as well as those in the

petitioner’s opening brief, the judgment of the court

of appeals should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

Thomas C. Goldstein Jeffrey L. Fisher

AKIN, GUMP, STRAUSS, Counsel of Record

HAUER & FELD LLP Pamela S. Karlan

1333 New Hampshire STANFORD LAW SCHOOL

Ave., NW SUPREME COURT

Washington, DC 20036 LITIGATION CLINIC

559 Nathan Abbott Way

Amy Howe Stanford, CA 94305

Kevin K. Russell | (650) 724-7081

HOWE & RUSSELL, P.C.

7272 Wisconsin Ave.

Suite 300

Bethesda, MD 20814

March 17, 2008

4

that prospective statutes, not retrospective judicial

decisions, should define the criminal law. The rule

of lenity is by now an established part of our legal

system and a background principle against which

Congress presumptively legislates, and so has ac-

quired precedential significance that reinforces its

original justification.

Application of the rule of lenity is particularly

appropriate with respect to mandatory minimum

sentencing provisions, such as § 841(b)(1)(A). Like

the English statutes removing benefit of clergy,

mandatory minimums require a harsher punishment

than might otherwise be imposed after judicial con-

sideration of the circumstances of a particular case.

Mandatory minimums are thus contrary to the usual

rule permitting discretion in sentencing. Applying

the rule of lenity to mandatory minimums also

vindicates the underlying bases of the rule — the

separation of powers and the principie of legality.

A mandatory minimum sentence, with its serious

consequences for individual liberty, should be im-

posed only when Congress has spoken clearly. In

addition, the certainty offered by the rule of lenity

enhances the smooth operation of the criminal justice

system.

Petitioner correctly argues that § 841(b)(1)(A) is

best read in his favor even without the rule of lenity.

But that rule resolves any residual doubt in peti-

tioner’s favor. The contrary position of the First

and Fourth Circuits and the Government ignores

the plain language and ordinary meaning of the

statute in favor of dubious extensions of inapplicable

canons of statutory construction. This Court should

reject those arguments and construe § 841(b)(1)(A)

ee

5

narrowly, consistent with the longstanding and well-

justified rule of lenity.

ARGUMENT

I. THE HISTORY AND PURPOSES OF THE

RULE OF LENITY SUPPORT ITS APPLICA-

TION TO MANDATORY MINIMUM SEN-

TENCES

A. The Rule of Lenity Is Rooted in the Nar-

row Construction of Mandatory Sentences

At common law, all felonies were punishable by

death. See, e.g., Standefer v. United States, 447

U.S. 10, 15 (1980). Over time, however, the English

courts developed procedural mechanisms that left

room for discretion to impose what were effectively

noncapital sentences. See id. Among these was the

doctrine known as “benefit of clergy.”2 Benefit of

clergy was originally a jurisdictional mechanism by

which ordained clergy could transfer criminal cases

brought against them out of the royal courts and into

the ecclesiastical courts.* Later, benefit of clergy

became available to almost any male defendant who

could read;4 and, later still, to almost any defendant

2 See generally 4 William Blackstone, Commentaries *365-74

(“Blackstone”); 1 James Stephen, A History of the Criminal Law

of England 458-73 (1883); John H. Langbein, Shaping the

Eighteenth-Century Criminal Trial: A View from the Ryder

Sources, 50 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1, 37-41 (1983).

3 See Langbein, 50 U. Chi. L. Rev. at 37; Jerome Hall, Theft,

Law and Society 110-11 (2d ed. 1952) (“Hall”). According to

Blackstone’s somewhat critical summary, the ecclesiastical

courts would reexamine the merits of the conviction under pro-

cedures markedly more favorable to the accused, and it was

common for them to find innocent those previously found guilty.

See 4 Blackstone at *361; see also Hall at 110 n.1.

4 Moreover, a specific verse of the Bible — called for this

reason the “neck verse” — was used for the literacy test, and

6

at all, at least for a first offense.6 A statute had

eliminated any actual referral of lay defendants to

the ecclesiastical courts, and the royal courts would

impose an alternative punishment such as, depend-

ing on the period and the offense, branding, whip-

ping, the pillory, imprisonment, or “transportation”

to one of the colonies. Effectively, by the time of the

eighteenth century, benefit of clergy — when avail-

able — rendered a first felony offense noncapital and

subject to judicial discretion in sentencing.

From the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries,

however, Parliament passed a series of statutes

making certain felonies punishable by death “with-

out benefit of clergy.”’ A conviction under one of

these statutes was equivalent to a mandatory death

sentence. Some statutes took away benefit of clergy

for the most serious offenses against the person, such

as murder and rape. See 1 Edw. 6, c. 12, §§ 9, 13

(1547); 18 Eliz. c. 7 (1575-76). But, especially in the

late seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries,

Parliament stripped benefit of clergy from a long list

so even illiterate defendants could memorize it to claim the

benefit. See George W. Dalzell, Benefit of Clergy in America &

Related Matters 24 (1955) (quoting Psalms 51:1: “Have mercy

upon me, O God... .” (King James)).

5 See 4 Blackstone at *362-63; Langbein, 50 U. Chi. L. Rev. at

37-38.

6 See 4 Blackstone at *362-64; Hall at 115 & n.15; see also

1 Leon Radzinowicz, A History of English Criminal Law and

Its Administration, app. 1, 633 (1948) (“Radzinowicz”) (listing

punishments for larceny). Branding on the brawn of the thumb

was used to indicate that the defendant had already received

benefit of clergy once and therefore would not be eligible a

second time. See Langbein, 50 U. Chi. L. Rev. at 37-38.

’ For collections cf these statutes, see Hall at app., 356-63;

1 Radzinowicz at app. 1, 611-59.

7

of felonies, some of them newly created by statute.

These new capital felonies included shoplifting, see

10 Will. 3, c. 12 (1698); destroying a ship to defraud

an insurance company, see 11 Geo. 1, c. 29, §§ 5, 6

(1724); and bankruptcy fraud, see 5 Geo. 2, c. 30, § 1

(1732). A statute even imposed the death penalty

upon “any outlandish people calling themselves or

being called Egyptians ... [and] any person being

fourteen years old, which hath been seen or found

in the fellowship of such Egyptians,”® who remained

in England or Wales for more than a month. 1

Matthew Hale, Historia Placitorum Coronae *670

(1736) (“Hale”) (citing 1 & 2 Phil. & M. c. 4 (1554-55)).

Faced with application of these statutes, the royal

courts began to invoke the principle that “penal

statutes must be construed strictly,” 1 Blackstone

at *88, meaning that they would be applied to

cases only within their express terms and that those

terms would be read narrowly (in some cases, very

narrowly). Blackstone gives two examples. One

statute took away benefit of clergy if a defendant

had been convicted of stealing “horses,” but “the

judges conceived that this did not extend to him

that should steal but one horse.” Id. Another statute

made benefit of clergy inapplicable to the stealing of

“sheep, or other cattle.” Id. “[T|hese general words,

‘or other cattle,’ being looked upon as much too loose

to create a capital offence, the act was held to extend

to nothing but mere sheep.” Jd. Similarly, in the

later case of The King v. Beaney, Russ. & Ry. 416,

168 Eng. Rep. 874 (1820), a defendant was found to

have stolen two “colts,” and the courts found that “as

‘colts’ were not mentioned, eo nomine in the statute,

* Blackstone refers to the targets of this statute as “gypsies,”

4 Blackstone at *165, today more properly called Roma.

8

the judges could not take notice that they were of the

horse species,” so that Beaney could be convicted only

of common law larceny. Jd. at 416, 168 Eng. Rep. at

874 (citation omitted); see also The King v. Cook,

1 Leach 105, 168 Eng. Rep. 155 (1774) (theft of a

“heifer,” though “clearly proved,” could not be pun-

ished under a statute forbidding the stealing of a

“cow’). In each case, although framed as interpreta-

tion of the substantive scope of the statutory prohi-

bition, the strict construction principally worked to

limit the application of the mandatory penalty.

The English rule of strict construction also applied

to situations in which the interaction of two differ-

ent statutes, or of a statute with the common law,

was doubtful or ambiguous. For example, Evans &

Finch’s Case, Cro. Car. 473, 79 Eng. Rep. 1009

(1638), interpreted a statute denying benefit of clergy

to those convicted of robbery from a dwelling house.

Although the common law made accessories to rob-

bery equally liable with principals, the statute did

not mention accessories, and so the King’s Bench

held that Finch, who had been convicted as an

accessory, was entitled to benefit of clergy. Jd. at

474, 79 Eng. Rep. at 1009; see 1 Hale at *528

(explaining the reasoning in more detail). Similar

results were reached in The King v. Baynes, 1 Leach

7, 8, 168 Eng. Rep. 106, 106 (1731) (statutory offense

of “privately stealing from the person”), The King v.

Sterne, 1 Leach 473, 474-75, 168 Eng. Rep. 338, 339

(1787) (same), and The King v. Page & Harwood,

Style 86, 82 Eng. Rep. 550 (1648) (statutory man-

slaughter by stabbing).°

® Additional cases on the treatment of accessories are dis-

cussed in the reporter’s note to The King v. Midwinter & Sims,

Fost. 415, 168 Eng. Rep. 90 (1751), which criticizes the result

9

The English courts’ practice of strict construction

was motivated in large part by the fatal result of a

holding that the benefit of clergy was not available.

See 2 Hale at *335 (stating that, when a statute has

“ousted clergy ..., it is only so far ousted, and only

in such cases and as to such persons, as are expressly

comprised within such statutes, for in favorem vitae

& privilegii clericalis such statutes are construed lit-

erally and strictly”).

There is evidence, however, that by the late eight-

eenth century the practice of narrowly construing

penal statutes had already begun to rest on more

general principles about the appropriately limited

role of the courts in construing criminal legislation.

In The King v. Hammond, 1 Leach 444, 168 Eng.

Rep. 324, tried at the Old Bailey in 1787, the court

said:

In all cases ... so highly penal as the present

case is, it is certainly necessary not only to

consider the intention of the Legislature, but

to bring the offender within the words of the

Act of Parliament itself.... The Judges ...

are not to consider what the Legislature would

have done in certain cases, but to look at the

words they have used, and to construe them

according to the meaning which it is most

likely they entertained at the time the subject

was under their consideration.

in that case as inconsistent with the general principle and

adds that “[c]lases without number might [be] cited to shew how

extremely tender the judges in all times have been in the con-

struction of Acts, which take away clergy.” Jd. at 419, 168 Eng.

Rep. at 92; see also Hall at 118-26 (collecting and discussing

more cases); 1 Radzinowicz at app. 2, 660-98 (same).

10

Id. at 446, 168 Eng. Rep. at 325. This case reflects

the more modern concern of the courts that the legis-

lature’s role was to define a crime and its potential

punishment and the judiciary’s role was to ensure

that the definition clearly applied to the defendant.

B. This Court Has Employed the Rule of Len-

ity To Protect the Separation of Powers

and the Principle of Legality

When the courts of the United States adopted the

rule of lenity, they rested it primarily on concerns

about the separation of powers and the principle

of legality (which holds that punishment must be

imposed only pursuant to law), rather than concerns

about erroneous application of the death penalty.!°

In United States v. Wiltberger, 18 U.S. (5 Wheat.) 76

(1820) (Marshall, J.), the Court adopted the “rule

that penal laws are to be construed strictly,” alluding

to its English history by observing that the rule “is

perhaps not much less old than construction itself.”

Id. at 95. Wiltberger made express what the English

courts had largely hinted at: that the rule of lenity is

founded both on “the tenderness of the law for the

rights of individuals; and on the plain principle that

the power of punishment is vested in the legislative,

not in the judicial department.” Jd. (emphasis

added).!! Although these goals would not justify a

10 The Congress of 1790, in “An Act for the Punishment

of certain Crimes against the United States,” provided that

the benefit of clergy should not apply in the federal courts, so

this Court never had occasion to apply the rule of lenity in its

original context. See Act of Apr. 30, 1790, ch. 9, Preamble, § 31,

1 Stat. 112, 112, 119.

1 The manslaughter statute interpreted in Wiltberger did not

provide for capital punishment, see 18 U.S. (5 Wheat.) at 93-94,

and Chief Justice Marshall did not invoke the presurnption in

favorem vitae in support of the rule of lenity.

11

court in “defeat[ing] the obvious intention of the leg-

islature,” this “intention ... is to be collected from

the words [the legislature] employ{s],” and so, “[t]o

determine that a case is within the intention of a

statute, its language must authorise [a court] to say

so.” Id. at 95-96.'2

Justice Holmes’s opinion for the Court in McBoyle

v. United States, 283 U.S. 25 (1931), provides another

leading explanation of the rule of lenity. Justice

Holmes wrote that, before imposing a criminal pun-

ishment, “it is reasonable that a fair warning should

be given to the world in language that the common

world will understand, of what the law intends to do

if a certain line is passed.” Jd. at 27. McBoyle makes

clear, however, that the rule is not based on any

unrealistic assumption that “a criminal will carefully

consider the text of the law before he murders or

steals.” Jd.'3 Instead, the rule of lenity ensures that

courts do not punish “because it may seem to [them]

that a similar policy applies” to acts not expressly

covered by a statute, “or upon the speculation that

if the legislature had thought of it, very likely

broader words would have been used.” Jd. This “fair

warning’ function of the rule is closely tied to the

separation-of-powers justification given by Chief

Justice Marshall in Wiltberger. It is less concerned

with actual notice to particular defendants, and

12 See also Charles de Montesquieu, The Spirit of Laws 80

(1794 ed.) (“In republics the very nature of the constitution

requires the judges to keep to the letter of the law. Here there

is no citizen against whom a law can be interpreted, in cases

where his honour, property, or life is concerned.”).

13 See also Bell v. United States, 349 U.S. 81, 83-84 (1955)

(the rule of lenity does not “assume that offenders against

the law carefully read the penal code before they embark on

crime”).

12

more with the certainty and predictability that the

justice system as a whole derives from ensuring that

statutes providing for criminal punishments contain

clear statements rather than calling for judicial

extrapolation.

Many other decisions of this Court similarly

emphasize the role of plain statutory language in

monitoring the boundary between the legislative and

judicial spheres in criminal punishment. In Fasulo

v. United States, 272 U.S. 620 (1926), for instance,

the Court wrote that, in construing a criminal

statute, “it is not permissible for the court to search

for an intention that the words themselves do not

suggest.” Jd. at 628. In United States v. Universal

C.L.T. Credit Corp., 344 U.S. 218 (1952), the Court

explained that, “when choice has to be made between

two readings of what conduct Congress has made a

crime, it is appropriate, before we choose the harsher

alternative, to require that Congress should have

spoken in language that is clear and definite.” Jd. at

221-22. The Court’s reference to “what conduct ...

has [been] made a crime” meant not the difference

between conduct that is criminalized and that which

is not, but to a scope-of-punishment issue — the “unit

of prosecution,” which determines how many counts

may be charged against the defendant for a single

course of conduct. In Bell v. United States, again

addressing the scope of punishment rather than the

definition of crime, the Court addressed the number

of counts that could be laid for a single act that

endangered multiple victims, adding that the rule of

lenity applies when “Congress leaves to the Judiciary

the task of imputing to Congress an undeclared

13

will.” 349 U.S. at 83-84.!4 This Court also has said

recently that the rule of lenity asks whether, in a

criminal statute, “‘Congress has spoken in clear

and definite language,” citing the concern that

“expansion of the law’s coverage must come from

Congress, and not from the courts.” Scheidler v.

National Org. for Women, Inc., 537 U.S. 393, 409

(2003) (quoting McNally v. United States, 483 U.S.

350, 359-60 (1987)).

This requirement for a clear statutory statement to

guide decisions of whether and how much to punish

also safeguards the “principle of legality,” which

requires that punishment be dictated by “law in

existence at the time the conduct complained of

occurred,” and “that the amount of discretion en-

trusted to those who enforce the law does not exceed

tolerable limits.” Herbert L. Packer, The Limits of

the Criminal Sanction 93 (1968) (“Packer”); see also

United States v. Lanier, 520 U.S. 259, 265 n.5 (1997).

Legality is protected in federal criminal law both by

the Constitution’s Ex Post Facto and Due Process

Clauses and by the rule of lenity. See Lanier, 520

U.S. at 266-67; Packer at 95 (observing that lenity

“may perhaps be viewed as something of a junior

\4 See United States v. Aguilar, 515 U.S. 593, 600 (1995)

(giving both “deference to the prerogatives of Congress” and

McBoyle’s concern for “fair warning” as reasons for the Court’s

“traditional{] ... restraint in assessing the reach of a federal

criminal statute”); Dowling v. United States, 473 U.S. 207, 213-

14 (1985) (citing “[djue respect” for Congress as the justification

for the rule, and quoting Wiltberger); see also Bifulco v. United

States, 447 U.S. 381, 401-02 (1980) (Burger, C.J., concurring)

(observing that, “[p]articularly in the administration of criminal

justice, a badly drawn statute places strains on judges,” but

warning against “|[t]he temptation to exceed our limited judicial

role and do what we regard as the more sensible thing”).

14

version of the vagueness doctrine”). Uncertainty

in the interpretation of penal statutes, or judicial

expansion of them beyond their plain language,

erodes legality by removing the required constraints

on judicial discretion. Because of the importance of

avoiding this danger, “[cJourts have . . . traditionally

been quite insistent on maintaining a high standard

of compliance with thfe] policy of clear statement”

embodied by the rule. Packer at 95."

To be sure, the rule of lenity does not preclude

the use of the “traditional tools of statutorv construc-

tion.” Caron v. United States, 524 U.S. 308, 316

(1998) (citing United States v. Shabani, 513 U.S. 10,

17 (1994)). This Court has always made clear,

however, that, when called upon to clarify a criminal

statute, these traditional tools of statutory construc-

tion must meet a high burden: if, after consulting

them, “a reasonable doubt persists about a statute’s

intended scope,” then the traditional presumption

takes effect. United States v. R.L.C., 503 U.S. 291,

305-06 (1992) (plurality opinion) (internal quotation

marks omitted).'6 There is no precise way to quan-

tify exactly the “weight” of the “judicial thumb on . . .

the scales” imposed by the rule of lenity, Antonin

15 See Cesare Beccaria, An Essay on Crimes and Punishments

16 (4th ed. 1775) (“The disorders, that may arise from a rigor-

ous observance of the letter of penal laws, are not to be com-

pared with those produced by the interpretation of them.”).

16 See R.L.C., 503 U.S. at 307-08 (Scalia, J., concurring in part

and concurring in the judgment) (disagreeing with the R.L.C.

plurality’s reliance on “legislative history” and “motivating

policies” but agreeing with its “reasonable doubt” criterion)

(internal quotation marks omitted); Moskal v. United States,

498 U.S. 103, 108 (1990) (same “reasonable doubt” standard);

see also United States v. Corbett, 215 U.S. 233, 242 (1909);

United States v. Hartwell, 73 U.S. (6 Wall.) 385, 395-96 (1868).

15

Scalia, Assorted Canards of Contemporary Legal

Analysis, 40 Case W. Res. L. Rev. 581, 582 (1990),

but the rule’s deep roots and crucial purpose estab-

lish that the weight should be significant. As the

line from Evans & Finch’s Case through Wiltberger to

the modern cases shows, judges have often found the

rule of lenity, and its function of protecting the sepa-

ration of powers and the principle of legality, decisive

in the interpretation of criminal statutes. !”

17 Muscarello v. United States, 524 U.S. 125 (1998), includes

language suggesting that only a “grievous ambiguity or uncer-

tainty” will trigger the rule of lenity. /d. at 138-39 (internal

quotation marks omitted; quoting, among others, Chapman uv.

United States, 500 U.S. 453, 463 (1991)); see also Huddleston v.

United States, 415 U.S. 814, 831 (1974). Conceivably, the term

“grievous” could indicate a lightened “thumb on the scales” — a

heightened degree of ambiguity as necessary to trigger lenity,

especially in contrast with older cases that require lenity in the

absence of a “clear and definite” statement, e.g., Universal

C.LT., 344 U.S. at 221-22. But Muscarello and its short line of

predecessors should not be read to depart from the traditional

standard. These cases show no intent to change a centuries-old

rule and contain additional language that is more consistent

with the clear-statement requirement of the properly applied

rule of lenity. See, e.g., Muscarello, 524 U.S. at 139 (reasoning

that the conduct there at issue fell within the “generally

accepted contemporary meaning” of the statutory language);

Chapman, 500 U.S. at 463-64 (quoting Moskal’s formulation

that lenity applies in cases of “reasonable doubt”). Moreover,

this Court has in more recent cases reaffirmed that the rule of

lenity is a requirement that Congress speak in “clear and defi-

nite language.” Scheidler, 537 U.S. at 409 (internal quotation

marks omitted). The “grievous ambiguity” formulation, if read

to require a heightened degree of ambiguity, would be in con-

siderable tension with the “reasonable doubt” test applied in

such cases as R.L.C. and Moskal. This case presents a good

opportunity to review this Court’s many statements about the

rule of lenity and to clarify that triggering ambiguity need not

be “grievous,” except perhaps in the sense that any uncertainty

16

In addition, as with other background principles

of statutory interpretation, the rule’s long history

alone reinforces its importance: because Congress

“presumably has |the rule] in mind when it chooses

its language,” id. at 583, the absence of clear lan-

guage in a statute that might be read to expose indi-

viduals to additional liability suggests that Congress

did not mean to achieve that result.

C. The Rule of Lenity Should Apply to Man-

datory Minimum Sentences Today

The interpretation of a mandatory minimum sen-

tencing provision squarely implicates the history and

policies underlying the rule of lenity. Accordingly,

the Court should give that rule very serious consid-

eration in interpreting those provisions.

This Court’s precedents firmly establish that the

rule of lenity “applies not only to interpretations of

the substantive ambit of criminal prohibitions, but

also to the penalties they impose.” Bifulco, 447 U.S.

at 387; see also Ladner v. United States, 358 U.S.

169, 178 (1958) (stating that the rule applies to

any question of statutory interpretation that would

“increase the penalty that [the statute] places on

an individual”). These holdings make sense from a

historical perspective, given the rule’s roots in cases

interpreting statutes that enhanced sentences for

crimes already punishable at common law. They also

make sense in light of the rule’s theoretical ground-

ing in the principle of legality.'* Because the rule of

about the reach of a criminal statute raises grievous concerns

for the rule of law.

18 Cf. Calder v. Bull, 3 U.S. (3 Dall.) 386, 390 (1798) (opinion

of Chase, J.) (stating that ex post facto laws include “{e]very law

that changes the punishment, and inflicts a greater punish-

ment, than the law annexed to the crime, when committed”).

17

lenity does not rest on an “assum|(ption] that offend-

ers against the law carefully read the penal code,”

Bell, 349 U.S. at 83-84, but instead on a broader

imperative that the criminal laws be clear, it has

equal force in decisions whether to punish conduct at

all, and, if so, how much punishment to inflict.

A mandatory minimum sentencing statute, more-

over, raises with particular force the concerns that

underpin the rule of lenity. Such a statute repre-

sents a legislative abrogation of the “uniform and

constant . . . federal judicial tradition for the sentenc-

ing judge to consider every convicted person as an

individual and every case as ... unique.” Koon v.

United States, 518 U.S. 81, 113 (1996), quoted in Gall

uv. United States, 552 U.S. ---, 128 S. Ct. 586, 598

(2007).!8 Every mandatory minimum provision is a

congressional directive that a greater risk of injustice

in many cases will be tolerated in order to serve a

perceived social need for greater deterrence or in-

capacitation of a class of offenses or offenders. This

kind of tradeoff is within legislative competence,

subject to constitutional constraints, but it is not part

of the judicial role. Cf. Williams v. United States,

503 U.S. 193, 205 (1992) (“[E}xcept to the extent

specifically directed by statute, ‘it is not the role of

an appellate court to substitute its judgment for that

of the sentencing court as to the appropriateness of

a particular sentence.’”) (quoting Solem v. Helm,

463 U.S. 277, 290 n.16 (1983)) (emphasis added).

19 See also Harmelin v. Michigan, 501 U.S. 957, 1007 (1991)

(Kennedy, J., concurring in part and concurring in the judg-

ment) (“Mandatory sentencing schemes can be criticized fer

depriving judges of the power to exercise individual discretion

when remorse and acknowledgment of guilt, or other extenuat-

ing facts, present what might seem a compelling case for depsr-

ture from the maximum.”).

18

Accordingly, the courts should read such statutes

narrowly to ensure that they are implementing a de-

cision that the legislature has actually made, rather

than guessing about an unclear legislative intent.

See Busic v. United States, 446 U.S. 398, 408-09

(1980) (refusing to interpret a sentencing enhance-

ment based on the “assumption that ... Congress’

sole objective was to increase the penalties . . . to the

maximum extent possible”).

Indeed, in one sense, the argument for reading a

mandatory minimum narrowly is stronger than the

concern that motivated the English courts. Even

after this Court’s decision in United States v. Booker,

543 U.S. 220 (2005), the Sentencing Guidelines

system promotes “uniformity [as] an important goal

of [federal] sentencing.” Kimbrough v. United States,

552 U.S. ---, 128 S. Ct. 558, 573 (2007). And the exis-

tence of this system, together with judicial discretion

guided by 18 U.S.C. § 3553(a), ensures that the policy

considerations that underlie mandatory minimums

will be taken into account even in cases to which the

minimums themselves do not apply. For example, if

the mandatory minimum is held not to apply in this

case, the sentencing court will be required to take

Burgess’s prior state conviction into account for the

light it sheds on his “history and characteristics,”

18 U.S.C. § 3553(a)(1), to consider its seriousness

and the need for deterrence, id. § 3553(a)(2)(A), (B),

and to balance it against the other factors present in

the case. There is therefore no need for the courts to

stretch the language of § 841(b)(1)(A) to ensure that

prior convictions are given due weight and much

reason to read that provision narrowly to ensure that

the significance of prior convictions is not exagger-

ated beyond what Congress's clear intent requires.

19

Moreover, the Sentencing Reform Act of 1984 itself,

including its overriding principle of parsimony

(requiring a sentence “not greater than necessary,”

id. § 3553(a)), is to be applied at every federal sen-

tencing unless “otherwise specifically provided.” /d.

§ 3551(a) (emphasis added). This mandate reinforces

the traditional requirement that a departure from

discretionary sentencing be justified by an unambi-

guous statement of congressional intent.

A robust rule of lenity applied to mandatory mini-

mum sentencing provisions also will promote clarity

and predictability in interpreting those provisions.

Congress has passed and continues to consider many

such provisions.2” This Court has felt it necessary

to grant review in a significant number of cases to

resolve circuit splits in the interpretation of these

mandatory minimums.?! Proper application of the

rule of lenity can provide helpful clarity and reduce

litigation over the meaning of such statutes. More-

over, uncertainty in the interpretation of mandatory

minimums can impede the plea negotiations that

today help resolve a large majority of the federal

criminal caseload. These negotiations will proceed

more quickly and smoothly if the law that governs

criminal punishment is clear. See Holloway v.

United States, 526 U.S. 1, 22 (1999) (Scalia, J., dis-

senting) (citing the “in terrorem effect” of expanded

20 See, e.g., Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of

2006, Pub. L. No. 109-248, § 141(a)(1), 120 Stat. 587, 602;

Protection of Lawful Commerce in Arms Act, Pub. lL. No. 109-

92, § 6(b), 119 Stat. 2095, 2102 (2005); PROTECT Act, Pub. L.

No. 108-21, § 103(b), 117 Stat. 650, 653 (2003).

21 See, e.g., Begay v. United States, No. 06-11543 (argued Jan.

15, 2008): Logan v. United States, 552 U.S. ---, 128 S. Ct. 475

(2007); James v. United States, 550 U.S. ---, 127 S. Ct. 1586

(2007).

20

liability on “a modern federal criminal-law system

characterized by plea bargaining” to support the rule

of lenity).

Finally, the consequences of triggering 4 manda-

tory minimum can be severe. Although not as severe

as the parliamentary statutes that led to the rule’s

English predecessor, mandatory minimums never-

theless have a dramatic impact on individual liberty

in many cases, and this is the kind of consequence

that courts for centuries have given reasonable

weight in the construction of statutes. See Callanan

v. United States, 364 U.S. 587, 596 (1961) (when

“applicable statutory provisions [are] found to be un-

clear ..., the rule of lenity [is] utilized, in favorem

libertatis, to resolve the ambiguity”). The Court has

approved Judge Friendly’s observation that the rule

of lenity embodies an “instinctive distaste against

men languishing in prison unless the lawmaker has

clearly said they should.” Henry J. Friendly, “Mr.

Justice Frankfurter and the Reading of Statutes,”

in Benchmarks 196, 209 (1967), quoted in United

States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336, 348 (1971). It should do

so again today.

Il. THE RULE OF LENITY REQUIRES RE-

VERSAL IN THIS CASE

Applied properly to this case, the rule of lenity

compels reversal. As petitioner’s brief shows, the

Controlled Substances Act can be read harmoniously

only if a prior “felony drug offense” within the mean-

ing of § 841(b)(1)(A) is defined in accord with both

§ 802(13) and § 802(44). This reading best accords

with the text of the statute and with the ordinary

usage of the English language. The arguments pre-

sented by the court below and by the Government for

the harsher reading of § 841(a)(1) fail to overcome

21

this more natural reading and certainly cannot

eliminate the “reasonable doubt” (R.L.C., 503 U.S. at

305-06 (plurality opinion)) that calls the rule of lenity

into play.

To begin, as the Court should, with the text of

the statute, § 802(13) says plainly that “|t]he term

‘felony’ means . . . [an] offense classified by applicable

Federal or State law as a felony.” Any reading of

the statute that did not incorporate this requirement

into the meaning of “felony drug offense” would fail

to give § 802(13) full application according to its

language, because, when used as part of the phrase

“felony drug offense,” the term “felony” would not

refer to an offense so classified. Such a reading

would make the provisions of the Controlled Sub-

stances Act internally inconsistent, which is not a

promising beginning for an argument that must

show that the statute contains no ambiguity. Cf.

United States v. Turkette, 452 U.S. 576, 580 (1981)

(observing that the process of statutory construction

involves “dealj{ing] with” any “internal inconsisten-

cies in the statute”).

This reading is reinforced by this Court's “assump-

tion that the ordinary meaning of [statutory] lan-

guage accurately expresses the legislative purpose.”

Engine Mfrs. Ass'n v. South Coast Air Quality Mgmt.

Dist., 541 U.S. 246, 252 (2004) (internal quotation

marks omitted). Congress, of course, is “free to be

unorthodox” and may “define [statutory terms] in an

unexpected way” — but, to do so, it must “tell us so.”

Lopez v. Gonzales, 549 U.S. ---, 127 S. Ct. 625, 630

(2006). This logic applies to the relationship be-

tween noun and adjective in the phrase “felony drug

offense” —- such an offense would, in ordinary usage,

be a “felony.” Congress could, to be sure, have

22

created a statutory scheme in which a felony drug

offense was not necessarily a felony, or indeed one in

which the two categories were mutually exclusive.

This statute, however, does not speak directly to

the relationship between § 802(13) and § 802(44).

Accordingly, because a situation in which a felony

drug offense is not a felony is “just what the English

language tells us not to expect,” this Court should be

“very wary before reaching that result. Id.

The contrary arguments presented and discussed

by the court below and by the First Circuit in United

States v. Roberson, 459 F.3d 39 (1st Cir. 2006), cert.

denied, 549 U.S. ---, 127 S. Ct. 1261 (2007), rely on

various canons and maxims of statutory construction.

In this context, it is worth remembering Justice

Frankfurter’s caution that “(gjeneralities about stat-

utory construction ... are not rules of law but merely

axioms of experience.” Universal C.I.T., 344 U.S. at

221; accord Chickasaw Nation v. United States, 534

U.S. 84, 94 (2001). To begin with, the court below

relied on this Court's statement in Colautti v. Frank-

lin, 439 U.S. 379 (1979), that “a statutory definition

‘which declares what a term means ... excludes

any meaning that is not stated.” Pet. Br. App. 7a

(quoting 439 U.S. at 392 n.10) (ellipsis in original).

This undoubtedly accurate statement does not re-

solve the problem, but only restates it, because this

case, unlike Colautti, features two statutory defini-

tions rather than only one. If § 802(44) excludes

from the term “felony drug offense” any meaning

other than § 802(44) itself provides, then § 802(13)

should likewise exclude from the term “felony” any

meaning other than § 802(13) itself provides, and the

word “felony” remains part of the phrase “felony drug

offense.” Recognizing Congress’s ability to define

23

words does not help to resolve the question, in an

individual case, of how Congress actually chose to

define them.

The canon that “specific statutory language should

control more general language when there is a con-

flict between the two,” National Cable & Telecomms.

Ass'n, Inc. v. Gulf Power Co., 534 U.S. 327, 335

(2002), relied upon by the Government in the First

Circuit and in its brief in opposition, see Roberson,

459 F.3d at 55 (citing Morales v. Trans World Air-

lines, Inc., 504 U.S. 374, 384-85 (1992)); Br. in Opp.

12 (same), likewise fails to remove ambiguity from

the statute. As the First Circuit itself acknowledged

in rejecting this argument, the canon applies only

where a conflict exists within the text of the statute.

See Roberson, 459 F.3d at 55; see also National Cable

& Telecomms., 534 U.S. at 336 (canon inapplicable

where “there is no conflict”); 2A Norman J. Singer,

Statutes and Statutory Construction § 46.05, at 105

(5th ed. 1992) (canon applies only “[w]here there is

inescapable conflict”). In this case, however, only the

Government’s construction creates a conflict between

§ 802(13) and § 802(44). Petitioner’s construction

does not, and it is preferable for that reason alone.

Further, any attempt to apply to the Controlled

Substances Act the canon that the specific trumps

the general deepens, rather than resolves, the ambi-

guity created by the Government’s interpretation. As

the D.C. Circuit correctly observed in United States

v. West, 393 F.3d 1302 (D.C. Cir. 2004), “the word

‘felony, as used in the enhancement provisions of

the Act to refer to prior convictions, always pertains

explicitly to drug offenses.” Jd. at 1314.22 It is there-

22 This is true not only for the enhancement provisions

themselves, but also for a large majority of all uses of the term

24

fore wrong to say that either definition is more

specific than the other: both refer to felony drug

offenses. The First Circuit, and the Government,

have objected that the word “felony” is used in the

statute for purposes other than to describe a felony

drug offense. See Roberson, 459 F.3d at 53-54; Br.

“felony” in the Controlled Substances Act as a whole. For

example, 21 U.S.C. § 824(a)(2) refers to a “felony under this

subchapter or subchapter II of this chapter or any other law of

the United States, or of any State, relating to any substance

defined in this subchapter as a controlled substance or a list |

chemical”; any such felony would be a “felony drug offense”

as defined by § 802(44). Accord id. §§ 841(b)(2) (“felony under

any other provision of this subchapter or subchapter II of this

chapter or other law of a State, the United States, or a foreign

country relating to narcotic drugs, marihuana, or depressant or

stimulant substances”), 841(b)(1)(A), (B), (C), (D) (“felony drug

offense”), 841(e) (“felony violation of this section relating to the

receipt, distribution, manufacture, exportation, or importation

of a listed chemical”), 843(b) (“felony under any provision of this

subchapter or subchapter II of this chapter”), 843(d)(1) (“felony

under any other provision of this subchapter or subchapter

II of this chapter or other law of the United States relating

to narcotic drugs, marihuana, or depressant or stimulant sub-

stances”), 843(d)(2)(B) (“felony under any other provision of this

subchapter or subchapter II of this chapter”), 843(e) (“felony

violation of this section relating to the receipt, distribution,

manufacture, exportation, or importation of a listed chemical”),

848(c)(1) (“any provision of this subchapter or subchapter II of

this chapter the punishment for which is a felony”), 848(e)(1)(B)

(“felony violation of this subchapter or subchapter II of this

chapter”), 853(d) (“felony under this subchapter or subchapter

Il of this chapter”), 862a(a) (“felony [under] the law of the

jurisdiction involved ... which has as an element the posses-

sion, use, or distribution of a controlled substance”); see also id.

§ 881(a)(9) (1994) (amended in relevant part in 1996; formerly

referring to “a felony provision of this subchapter or subchapter

II of this chapter”); id. §§ 960(b)(1), (2), (3), 962(b) (in penalty

provisions of adjacent Controlled Substances Import and Export

Act; “felony drug offense”).

25

in Opp. 9. Inspection, however, shows that the three

relevant references apply only to federal felonies, so

that § 802(13)’s incorporation of state law is irrele-

vant to them.”* Accordingly, while the word “felony”

is used in these three parts of the statute, the defini-

tion of “felony” contained in § 802(13), which is the

relevant subject for the specificity analysis, is not.

Section 802(44)'s enactment history also does

not support the inference that it was intended to

define felony drug offenses that were not necessarily

felonies, as the Government has argued. See Br. in

Opp. 11-12. Before 1994, § 841(b)(1)(A) contained a

section-specific definition of “felony drug offense”

that included a requirement that any prior non-

federal offense be a felony under state law. See

Anti-Drug Abuse Amendments Act of 1988, Pub. L.

No. 100-690, tit. VI, § 6452(a), 102 Stat. 4181, 4312,

4371. In 1994, Congress removed that definition and

enacted § 802(44) as it now stands (then numbered

§ 802(43)). See Violent Crime Control and Law

Enforcement Act of 1994, Pub. L. No. 103-322,

§ 90105(c)-(d), 108 Stat. 1796, 1987-88. If consistent

with the inference that Congress meant to remove

the state-law requirement from the operation of

§ 841(b)(1)(A), this sequence nevertheless equally

supports the inference that, with § 802(44) now

located alongside § 802(13), Congress considered the

#8 The provisions are 21 U.S.C. § 878(a)(3), which authorizes

arrests for a “felony, cognizable under the laws of the United

States,” and former § 848(q)(5) and (q)(6), repealed in 2006,

which required counsel in capital cases to have “experience

in the actual trial of felony prosecutions,” or the “handling of

appeals .. . in felony cases,” in the specific courts in which those

capital cases were to be tried or appealed, id. § 848(q)(5), (6)

(2000). Because the courts were federal ones, the felonies would

also have been federal.

26

extra language unnecessary for both requirements

to apply. After all, if Congress had the intent the

Government now attributes to it, it also could easily

have added express language to § 802(44) stating

that a felony drug offense need not be a felony under

state law. The Government’s indirect extrapolation

of congressional intent thus falls far short of the

“clear and definite language” that this Court’s prece-

dents require before invocation of the rule of lenity.

Scheidler, 537 U.S. at 409; see United States v. Laub,

385 U.S. 475, 487 (1967) (“Crimes are not to be cre-

ated by inference.”).

In summary, the arguments for a broad construc-

tion of § 841(b)(1)(A) fail because they neglect this

Court’s instructions that legislative “intention ...

is to be collected from the words [the legislature]

employ|s],” Wiltberger, 18 U.S. (5 Wheat.) at 95, and

that courts may not “search for an intention that

the words {of a criminal statute] themselves do not

suggest,” Fasulo, 272 U.S. at 628. No inferences

that can be drawn from the structure or history of

the statute are strong enough to establish a “clear

and definite” conclusion (Scheidler, 537 U.S. at 409)

that greater punishment is justified. To affirm in

this case would disserve a judicial tradition that pre-

dates the English Civil War. It also would increase

the danger that harsh mandatory minimums will

be applied in ways that Congress never considered

and did not authorize. Therefore, this Court should

adopt “the safer construction of so penal a statute,”

Howard’s Case, Fost. 77, 79, 168 Eng. Rep. 39, 39

(1751) (reporter’s note), reverse, and in doing so

reaffirm the importance of the rule of lenity in the

construction of sentencing provisions.

27

CONCLUSION

The court of appeals’ judgment should be reversed.

PAMELA HARRIS

Co-CHAIR, NACDL

AMICUS COMMITTEE

1625 Eye Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 383-5386

MARY PRICE

VICE PRESIDENT AND

GENERAL COUNSEL

FAMILIES AGAINST

MANDATORY MINIMUMS

1612 K Street, N.W.

Suite 700

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 822-6700

January 29, 2008

Respectfully submitted,

KEVIN B. HUFF

Counsel of Record

GREGORY G. RAPAWY

KELLOGG, HUBER, HANSEN,

TODD, EVANS & FIGEL,

P.L.L.C.

1615 M Street, N.W.

Suite 400

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 326-7900

PETER GOLDBERGER

50 Rittenhouse Piace

Ardmore, Pennsylvania 19003

(610) 649-8200

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.