Amicus Curiae Brief — Irizarry v. United States

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

|

4

No. 06-7517 3-24-08

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

RICHARD IRIZARRY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF OF COURT-APPOINTED AMICUS

CURIAE URGING AFFIRMANCE OF

THE JUDGMENT BELOW

DOUGLAS A. BERMAN PETER B. RUTLEDGE

OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY Counsel of Record

MORITZ COLLEGE OF LAW Court-Appointed Amicus

55 West 12th Ave. 3600 John McCormack Rd NE

Columbus, OH 43210 Washington, D.C. 20064

(614) 688-8690 (202) 319-5140

WALSON-EPES PRINTING CO.., INC. — (202) 788-0096 - WASHINGTON, D. C. 20002

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a criminal defendant forfeits his Sixth

Amendment right “to be confronted with the witnesses

against him” by causing a witness to be unavailable to

testify, even if the defendant did not cause the witness’s

unavailability for the purpose of preventing the witness

from testifying.

(i)

—_-

Question Presented

Interest of Amicus Curiae

IT.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

This Case Falls Far Outside the Limited

Scope of the Framing-Era Forfeiture Rule

A. The Framing-Era Forfeiture Rule Was

a Narrow Rule of Unavailability That

Applied to Prior Cross-Examined

y RENE ASE Ot

. The Framing-Era Forfeiture Rule Did

Not Apply to Misconduct Unrelated to

the Declarant’s Status as a Witness............

The Framing-Era Treatment of Dying

Declarations Refutes California’s Version

of the Forfeiture Rule

A.

B.

Dying Declarations Were Not Admitted

on Forfeiture Grounds, Even When

They Fell Squarely Within the

California Supreme Court’s Version

of the Forfeiture Rule....................ccccccccsseeess

The Dying-Declaration Cases Foreclose

ESE ee

III. The California Supreme Court’s Decision

Would Significantly Expand the Use of

Unreliable Ex Parte Testimony in

A. The California Supreme Court’s Rule

Could Be Extended to a Wide Variety

REEL RREE AO TESIS A R e

SSS SSH TE TESTE FETE SESE SES EEEOE

SESS SESE SESS ESE ESSER EEEEEEEE EEE EE SE EEHEE EEE EEEEEEEEEEESEEESEEEOE

SSSSESSSHSSSHESSHSHESESESESEEE SESE SER ESOEEEEEE

SOSH SESE HESESEEEEEEEEESESESEEEEESEE ESE ROH E EEE

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

B. The California Supreme Court’s Rule

Would Undermine the Fairness of

Conclusion. .........000c0000s ictal lhiehpteamin taciiltalasicsinilached 30

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Anthony v. State, 19 Tenn. (Meigs) 265

Ayrton v. Addington (1780), in 2 James

Oldham, The Mansfield Manuscripts

and the Growth of English Law in the

Eighteenth Century 1023 (1992) ...........cseseee 9

Bromwich’s Case, 1 Lev. 180, 83 Eng. Rep.

ETRE ST eA 7

Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36

Drayton v. Wells, 10 S.C.L. (1 Nott &

McC.) 409 (Const. Ct. 1819)........ccccssersseresreees 11, 13

Dunn v. State, 2 Ark. 229 (1840)...........ccccccccssessees 23

Fenwick’s Case, 13 How. St. Tr. 537

7) EE OO, eee eee ee eee ee eee

Gibson v. Commonwealth, 4 Va. (2 Va.

ef BBE) Ee Sa eee 21

Gonzales v. State, 155 S.W.3d 603 (Tex. ;

App. 2004), aff’d on other grounds, 195 )

S.W.3d 114 (Tex. Crim. App. 2006).................. 26 |

|

Harrison’s Case, 12 How. St. Tr. 833

Hill v. Commonwealth, 43 Va. (2 Gratt.)

a eeetevettone 21

John’s Case (1790), in 1 Edward Hyde |

East, A Treatise of the Pleas of the |

I ai lai la eta initaai cians 18

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Johnston v. State, 10 Tenn. (2 Yer.) 58

iene telacectieileeeastemmestigannnemeaneneccnee 9

King v. Commonwealth, 4 Va. (2 Va. Cas.)

re 21

King v. Dingler, 2 Leach 561, 168 Eng.

itera iesincsirnenmcentnctmnatenccseresne 9, 20

King v. Drummond, 1 Leach 337, 168 Eng.

acini sntcrcereatedcantesenscescecssccesses 17

King v. Ely (1720), in 12 Charles Viner,

A General Abridgment of Law and

ES 16

King v. Eriswell, 3 T.R. 707, 100 Eng.

Rep. 815 (K.B. 1790) cccsesssscccscsssssssssssssucesseesen 9, 10

King v. Radbourne, 1 Leach 457,

168 Eng. Rep. 330 (1787)............c-.0-000 9, 14, 19, 22

King v. Woodcock:

1 Leach 500, 168 Eng. Rep. 352

Eee 9, 17, 18, 19

Thomas Leach, Cases in Crown

Law 437 (1st ed. 1789) .........c.ccccsceccecereseseeeees 19

Old Bailey Sessions Papers, Jan. 14,

LE LLL 19

Lewis v. State, 17 Miss. (9 S. & M.) 115

EEE 20, 21

Logan v. State, 28 Tenn. (9 Hum.) 24

LEE 22

Lord Morley’s Case:

Kel. 53, 84 Eng. Rep. 1079 (H.L. 1666)..... 6, 7,14

6 How. St. Tr. 769 (H.L. 1666).............cccecceseees 7

Mattox v. United States, 156 U.S. 237

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

McDaniel v. State, 16 Miss. sine & =

Ee - ee 21, 22

McLean v. State, 16 Ala. 672 a 22

McLean v. State, 8 Mo. 153 (1848)..............c00+ 21

Montgomery v. State, 11 Ohio 424 (1842)............ 21

Nelson v. State, 26 Tenn. (7 Hum.) 542

RT ae 21

Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980) .............00+. 24, 25

People v. Bauder, 712 N.W.2d 506

CBR ais. GR, Ba, GIGI ccccececsnsesssescsssszscsccsescscssceees 26

People v. Monterroso, 101 P.3d 956

ES re 24

People v. Moreno, 160 P.3d 242

ES SE eee 27, 28

People v. Restell, 3 Hill 289 (N.Y. Sup. Ct.

EERE REE Se ee 10

People v. Stechly, 870 N.E.2d 333

Ea 27, 28

People v. Wood, 2 Edm. Sel. Cas. 71 (N.Y.

Sup. Ct. 1849)..........000 si adianioaitlainbtepeepeamneacnees 22

Queen v. Scaife, 17 Q.B. 238, 117 Eng.

Be ee GD cetrcerennscncnsscenccsncensnsnsseommmensesees 11,13

Raleigh’s Case:

ER 17, 30

1 David Jardine, Criminal Trials 400

EE ETE eee 17

Respublica v. Langcake, 1 Yeates 415

FO rn 16

Rex v. Barber, 1 Root 76

ee 11, 12,13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Rex v. Reason & Tranter:

1 Strange 499, 93 Eng. Rep. 659

EE 16

16 How. St. Tr. 1 (K.B. 1722)...........cccccccsceseeeees 16

Reynolds v. United States, 98 U.S. 145

IEEE ARR ee ae 12, 13

Smith v. State, 28 Tenn. (9 Hum.) 9 (1848)......... 21

State v. Campbell, 30 S.C.L. (1 Rich.) 124

| a 10

State v. Ferguson, 20 $.C.L. (2 Hill) 619

TN cceereees 21

State v. Henderson, 160 P.3d 776

EE 28

State v. Hill, 20 S.C.L. (2 Hill) 607

a rrrereennenrnanaee 10

State v. Houser, 26 Mo. 431 (1858) ...........cccc0c000 10

State v. Jensen, 727 N.W.2d 518

EE 26

State v. Mason, 162 P.3d 396 (Wash. 2007)......... 26

State v. Mechling, 633 S.E.2d 311

EE 28

State v. Meeks, 88 P.3d 789 (Kan. 2004),

overruled in part on other grounds by

State v. Davis, 158 P.3d 317

ST 26

State v. Moody, 3 N.C. (2 Hayw.) 31

A icitinninentiiishinnttisinntsinateeneneces 9, 16, 20

State v. Poll, 8 N.C. (1 Hawks) 442 (1821)........... 21

State v. Webb, 2 N.C. (1 Hayw.) 103

ERE EE 9

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Tinckler’s Case (1781), in 1 Edward Hyde

East, A Treatise of the Pleas of the

EE 19

United States v. Garcia-Meza, 403 F.3d

I a 26

Uniied States v. Mayhew, 380 F. Supp. 2d

ET 26

United States v. McGurk, 26 F. Cas. 1097

(C.C.D.C. 1802) (No. 15,680)...............ccccsceseeee 16

United States v. Veitch, 28 F. Cas. 367

(C.C.D.C. 1808) (No. 16,614).............c.cccecceeseees 21

United States v. Woods, 28 F. Cas. 762

(C.C.D.C. 1834) (No. 16,760)..........cc.ccecccceseeeeees 21

Welbourn’s Case (1792), in 1 Edward

Hyde East, A Treatise of the Pleas of

| en 18

Williams v. State, 19 Ga. 402 (1856)...............0002+ 12

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,

STATUTES, AND RULES

A aR 3,5

i I... sssenensennnstinasons 2

Cal. Penal Code § 1846(d)..........c.ccceccscsscssessccseeseees 27

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-3-413(38) ......................-csessees 27

1 & 2 Phil. & M., c. 13 (1554) ..00...........cc.ccccccccccsees 6

2 & 3 Phil. & M., c. 10 (1565) ..................00.00.000000-. 6

Fed. R. Evid. 804(0)(6)...........csssssssssssssseessseeeees 3, 5, 13

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

TREATISES

John Frederick Archbold, A Summary of

the Law Relative to Pleading and

Evidence in Criminal Cases (1822) ...........0+++: 11

William Blackstone, Commentaries on the

Laws of England (1768) .........sssssseceeeeeeeeeeees 29

Richard Burn, The Justice of the Peace and

8

Joseph Chitty, A Practical Treatise on

the Criminal Law (1816)............ccccececesereeseee 11,14

Edward Hyde East, A Treatise of the Pleas

Er 20

Geoffrey Gilbert, The Law of Evidence

I 17

William Hawkins, A Treatise of the Pleas

of the Crown:

EE 8

Ce 17, 20

ee I icrtertccccncstnscecncsesosesceneses 9

Leonard MacNally, The Rules of Evidence

on Pleas of the Crown (1802) ............cceseseseesevees 20

John Morgan, Essays upon the Law of

Evidence, New Trials, Special Verdicts,

Trials at Bar, and Repleaders (1789)............. 9

Thomas Peake, A Compendium of the Law

of Evidence:

RE 9, 10, 20

Te ae 9

S.M. Phillipps;.A Treatise on the Law of

Evidence (2d ed. 1815) (1814)..........cc.cc0ssseee. 11,14

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Thomas Starkie, A Practical Treatise on

the Law of Evidence (1st Am. ed. 1826)

John H. Wigmore, A Treatise on the Anglo-

American System of Evidence in Trials

at Common Law (2d ed. 19238) ..........ccecsee 12, 23

Thomas Wood, An Institute of the Laws of

pS af)

MISCELLANEOUS

J.M. Beattie, Crime and the Courts in

Te 6

Beattie, Scales of Justice, 9 Law & Hist.

TE eR 23

Carter & Lyons, The Potential Impact of

Crawford v. Washington on Child Abuse,

Elderly Abuse and Domestic Violence

Litigation, Champion, Sept.-Oct. 2004,

| jnininnieetitininntantinrensne 27

Julius Goebel, Jr. & T. Raymond Naughton,

Law Enforcement in Colonial New York

|: A aac ee ca 9

Huff, Confronting Crawford, 85 Neb. L.

- hha 29

King-Ries, Forfeiture by Wrongdoing:

A Panacea for Victimless Domestic

Violence Prosecutions, 39 Creighton L.

8 EE 28

Krischer, “Through Justice May Be Blind,

It Is Not Stupid”: Applying Common

Sense to Crawford in Domestic Violence

Cases, Prosecutor, Nov.-Dec. 2004, at 14....... 28

xii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

| Page

Kry, Confrontation Under the Marian

Statutes, 72 Brook. L. Rev. 493 (2007)............ 8,9

Landsman, The Rise of the Contentious

Spirit, 75 Cornell L. Rev. 497 (1990)................ 22

John H. Langbein, The Origins of

Adversary Criminal Trial (2008)............ 6, 18, 22

John H. Langbein, Prosecuting Crime in

the Renarssance (1974)..........ccescerecsereeseresersere 6

Raeder, Remember the Ladies and the

Children Too: Crawford’s Impact on

Domestic Violence and Child Abuse

Cases, 71 Brook. L. Rev. 311 (20085) ................ 28

Gerry Spence, Win Your Case: How To

Present, Persuade, and Prevail—Every

Place, Every Time (2005).......ssscssecsesessereeeerers 29

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 07-6053

DWAYNE GILES,

Petitioner,

v.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of California

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CRIMINAL

DEFENSE LAWYERS AS AMICUS CURIAE

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The National Association of Criminal Defense Law-

yers (“NACDL”) is a non-profit corporation with a mem-

bership of more than 10,000 attorneys and 28,000 affiliate

members in 50 States, including private criminal defense

lawyers, public defenders, and law professors. NACDL

was founded in 1958 to promote study in the field of

' The parties have consented to the filing of this brief, and their let-

ters of consent have been filed with the Clerk. No counsel for a

party authored this brief in whole or in part, no such counsel or party

made a monetary contribution intended to fund the preparation or

submission of this brief, and no person other than amicus, its mem-

bers, and its covnsel made such a contribution.

2

criminal law, to disseminate and advance knowledge of

the law in the area of criminal practice, and to encourage

the integrity, independence, and expertise of defense

lawyers in criminal cases. NACDL seeks to defend indi-

vidual liberties guaranteed by the Bill of Rights and has a

keen interest in ensuring that criminal proceedings are

handled in a proper and fair manner. NACDL has fre-

quently appeared before this Court as amicus curiae.

NACDL has grave concerns about the California Su-

preme Court’s decision in this case. The decision ex-

pands the forfeiture doctrine well beyond its historical

roots and thus denies defendants a right the Confronta-

tion Clause, as originally understood, guarantees them.

The decision would also greatly expand the use of unreli-

able ex parte testimony, impairing the fairness of crimi-

nal trials.

STATEMENT

Dwayne Giles was convicted in California state court

of the first-degree murder of his ex-girlfriend, Brenda

Avie. J.A. 36. Mr. Giles admitted killing Ms. Avie but

claimed he acted in self-defense, testifying that she was a

violent woman who had shot another man and had threat-

ened people with knives. /d. at 34.

To prove that the killing was premeditated, the State

introduced statements Ms. Avie had made to police offi-

cers three weeks earlier. In those statements, Ms. Avie

accused Mr. Giles of threatening and assaulting her on

another occasion. J.A. 35-36. The trial court admitted

the statements under a recently enacted hearsay excep-

tion for certain “trustworthy” statements of unavailable

witnesses. Jd. at 36 (citing Cal. Evid. Code § 1370).

It is undisputed that the prosecution’s introduction of

Ms. Avie’s statements rendered her a “witness” against

Mr. Giles within the meaning of the Confrontation

Clause. J.A. 39. The statements were made outside Mr.

3

Giles’ presence, and he had no opportunity to cross-

examine her to test the truth of her accusations. None-

theless, the California Supreme Court held that the

statements did not infringe Mr. Giles’ right “to be con-

fronted with the witnesses against him,” U.S. Const.

amend. VI, because he had forfeited that right by killing

Ms. Avie—the same offense for which he was on trial.

J.A. 32.

The court rejected the argument that forfeiture ap-

plies only where a defendant renders a witness unavail-

able to prevent her from testifying (a requirement that

Federal Rule of Evidence 804(b)(6) expressly imposes in

federal prosecutions). J.A. 39-57. The court conceded

that the forfeiture doctrine was “generally applied” in

that context. Jd. at 45. But it held that forfeiture was not

so limited because early cases “did not specifically ad-

dress the intention of the defendants” and the rule was

based on “broad equitable principles.” /d. at 41 n.3, 52.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. The California Supreme Court’s decision represents

a dramatic departure from the traditional rule governing

forfeiture of confrontation rights. At the framing and for

at least a century thereafter, forfeiture was a narrow rule

of unavailability: If a witness testified against the defen-

dant at his pretrial hearing but the defendant then pro-

cured the witness’s absence from trial, the pretrial depo-

sition could be admitted. Procurement of a witness’s ab-

sence was treated like death, illness, or other types of

unavailability that justified admitting prior testimony

where the defendant had had an earlier opportunity to

cross-examine the witness. That rule was extended dur-

ing the twentieth century to cover any sort of hearsay

statement where the defendant procured the declarant’s

absence for the purpose of preventing him from testify-

ing. The California Supreme Court’s rule goes far be-

yond both the framing-era rule and its modern counter-

4

part: According to that court, forfeiture applies when-

ever a defendant merely wrongfully causes a potential

trial witness’s absence—even where the misconduct is

wholly unrelated to the declarant’s status as a witness.

That new rule lacks any historical support. Early au-

thorities’ descriptions of the forfeiture rule make clear

that they had only witness-tampering in mind. The con-

text in which the rule arose confirms that focus: The for-

feiture rule governed testimony against the defendant at

his pretrial hearing, after the crime had been committed

and prosecution was underway. The reason early au-

thorities did not elaborate on the defendant’s intent is not

that intent was irrelevant, but that it was a given: Where

a witness had already testified against the defendant at

his pretrial hearing, the likelihood that a defendant would

procure his absence by wrongful conduct for some reason

unrelated to his status as a witness was so minuscule as

to be unworthy of comment.

II. The framing-era law of dying declarations con-

firms that. If the State’s version of forfeiture were his-

torically accurate, courts would have routinely admitted

statements of dying witnesses accusing their alleged kill-

ers on forfeiture grounds. But such statements were not

admitted on that ground—only on the wholly different

theory that consciousness of impending death made them

uniquely reliable. When a witness was not sufficiently

aware of his imminent death, moreover, his statements

were excluded. That result would be wholly inexplicable

if the State’s theory of forfeiture were correct.

III. The decision below would not only deny defen-

dants constitutional rights that the Sixth Amendment

guarantees them, but also vastly expand the use of unre-

liable ex parte testimony in criminal trials. States recog-

nize many different forms of unavailability, all of which

will no doubt form the basis for forfeiture claims if this

Court affirms the decision below. The state court’s deci-

5

sion would thus vastly expand the use of ex parte testi-

mony in criminal trials—precisely the sort of evidence

the Confrontation Clause was designed to exclude.

ARGUMENT

The Confrontation Clause guarantees a criminal de-

fendant the right “to be confronted with the witnesses

against him.” U.S. Const. amend. VI. That provision se-

cures “the right of confrontation [as it existed] at com-

mon law, admitting only those exceptions established at

the time of the founding.” Crawford v. Washington, 541

U.S. 36, 54 (2004). There is no dispute that the State’s

introduction of Ms. Avie’s testimony rendered Ms. Avie a

“witness[] against” Mr. Giles, or that he had no opportu-

nity to “confront{]” her. The case thus turns on whether

the testimony falls within a framing-era exception to the

rule. The State cannot make that showing.

I. This Case Falls Far Outside the Limited Scope of

the Framing-Era Forfeiture Rule

Federal Rule of Evidence 804(b)(6) reflects the mod-

ern understanding of forfeiture applied in federal courts:

Hearsay is admissible “against a party that has engaged

or acquiesced in wrongdoing that was intended to, and

did, procure the unavailability of the declarant as a wit-

ness.” Fed. R. Evid. 804(b)(6) (emphasis added). The

California Supreme Court adopted an even broader con-

ception of the forfeiture doctrine—one that applies to

misconduct that causes a witness’s absence even if wholly

unrelated to his status as a witness. The historical record

does not remotely support that rule. To the contrary, the

framing-era forfeiture rule was narrower than even the

modern federal rule that the state court rejected.

At the framing, forfeiture was not a free-standing

hearsay exception but a species of unavailability—akin to

death or illness—that justified admitting an absent wit-

ness’s prior cross-examined testimony from a pretrial

6

hearing. That context makes clear that forfeiture was

fundamentally a rule about witness-tampering: Where

the crime has already been completed, the prosecution is

already underway, and the witness has already accused

the defendant in a formal proceeding, there is no realistic

likelihood that a defendant would engage in misconduct

that renders the witness unavailable for some reason wn-

related to his status as a witness. The decision below

thus extends forfeiture well beyond its historical scope.

A. The Framing-Era Forfeiture Rule Was a Nar-

row Rule of Unavailability That Applied to

Prior Cross-Examined Testimony

1. In England, pretrial proceedings in criminal cases

were governed by the so-called Marian statutes, 1 & 2

Phil. & M., ec. 13 (1554), and 2 & 3 Phil. & M., c. 10 (1555).

According to those statutes, when witnesses believed

someone had committed a felony, they were to bring him

before a justice of the peace, who would examine both the

witnesses and the suspect to decide whether to bail the

suspect or commit him to jail to await trial. The deposi-

tions from those “committal” hearings were then sent to

the court. The statutes also directed coroners to take

depositions of witnesses during their pretrial homicide

inquests. Jbid.; see generally John H. Langbein, Prose-

cuting Crime in the Renaissance 5-20 (1974); John H.

Langbein, The Origins of Adversary Criminal Trial 40-

47, 273-77 (2003); J.M. Beattie, Crime and the Courts in

England 268-81 (1986).

Those Marian pretrial depositions were an attractive

source of evidence if a witness later became unavailable

before trial. England’s twelve judges laid down the rules

governing their admissibility in 1666. That year, Lord

Morley was tried before the House of Lords for killing

another man after a quarrel, and the twelve judges ad-

vised the House on the admissibility of depositions that

had been taken by the coroner. Lord Morley’s Case, Kel.

7

53, 84 Eng. Rep. 1079, 6 How. St. Tr. 769 (H.L. 1666).

The twelve judges resolved that the depositions were

admissible if the witness was “dead or unable to travel,”

or—as relevant here—“detained by the means or pro-

curement of the prisoner.” Kel. at 55, 84 Eng. Rep. at

1080; see also 6 How. St. Tr. at 776-77 (“dead” or “with-

drawn by the procurement of the prisoner”).

At Lord Morley’s trial, the Crown read the coroner’s

depositions of three witnesses who had died. 6 How. St.

Tr. at 776. The court, however, excluded the deposition

of a fourth witness who had “run away” after telling his

friends that “Lord Morley’s Trial was to be shortly but

he would not be there.” Jd. at 777. That, the court ruled,

was not sufficient to show witness-tampering. Jd. at 776-

77. Consistent with that ruling, when Lord Morley’s ac-

complice was later tried before the King’s Bench, the

Crown read the depositions of two of the witnesses who

had died but apparently did not even offer the deposition

of the witness who had merely run away. See Brom-

wich’s Case, 1 Lev. 180; 83 Eng. Rep. 358 (K.B. 1666).

For centuries, Lord Morley’s case governed the ad-

missibility of Marian depositions—both coroners’ deposi-

tions and committal depositions before justices of the

peace. In 1692, for example, a coroner’s deposition was

read at the murder trial of Henry Harrison after the

Crown showed that a man had “asked [the witness], if he

was not an evidence [7.e., witness] against Mr. Harrison,”

and then “pulled out a piece of money, and offered it [to]

him, desiring him to be kind to Mr. Harrison.” Harri-

son’s Case, 12 How. St. Tr. 833, 851-52 (1692). Four

years later, in Fenwick’s parliamentary attainder pro-

ceedings, one speaker invoked the Marian forfeiture rule

to justify admitting a witness’s deposition before a justice

of the peace, after the defendant’s associates apparently

bribed the witness to abscond: “{WJhere persons do

stand upon their lives, accused for crimes, if it appears to

8

the court that the prisoner hath, by fraudulent and indi-

rect means, procured a person that hath given informa-

tion against him to a proper magistrate, to withdraw

himself, so that he cannot give evidence as regularly as

they used to do; in that case his information hath been

read ***.” Fenwick’s Case, 13 How. St. Tr. 537, 594

(H.C. 1696) (Lovel); see also id. at 596 (Sloane).”

Summarizing the law in 1721, Hawkins wrote: “(T]he

Examination of an Informer * * * either before a Coroner

upon an Inquisition of Death in pursuance of 1 & 2 Ph. &

M. 13 or before Justices of Peace in pursuance of 1 & 2

Ph. & M. 13 and 2 & 3 P. & M. 10 upon a Bailment or

Commitment for any Felony, may be given in Evidence

at the Trial * * * [if] such Informer is dead, or unable to

travel, or kept away by the Means or Procurement of the

Prisoner ** * .” 2 William Hawkins, A Treatise of the

Pleas of the Crown 429 (1721) (footnotes omitted). Other

authorities stated the same rule. See, eg., 1 Richard

Burn, The Justice of the Peace and Parish Officer 287-88

(1755). Forfeiture was thus a species of unavailability—

akin to death or illness—that justified admitting a wit-

ness’s pretrial Marian deposition.

2. Marian committal hearings were normally conduct-

ed in the prisoner’s presence (their purpose, after all, was

to determine whether to commit the prisoner to jail).

Over the eighteenth century, the view emerged that

those hearings offered the prisoner at least a theoretical

opportunity to confront and cross-examine his accusers.

See generally Kry, Confrontation Under the Marian

* The rule was of questionable applicability there. Among other

things, Fenwick was charged with treason while the Marian statutes

applied only to felonies; those were considered separate categories of

offenses. See 13 How. St. Tr. at 602 (Musgrave). The deposition was

admitted largely on the ground that the rules of evidence did not

bind Parliament. See id. at 591-607.

9

Statutes, 72 Brook. L. Rev. 493 (2007). Lord Morley’s

case and its progeny were then interpreted to mean that

a witness’s unavailability justified admitting only prop-

erly taken committal depositions—i.e., depositions taken

in the prisoner’s presence, affording an opportunity for

cross-examination. That view was widely,’ although not

uniformly,‘ held around the time of the framing, and was

consistently followed in early American cases.°

Coroners’ depositions, by contrast, would not neces-

sarily be taken in the defendant’s presence, and English

authorities thus had greater difficulty rationalizing their

admissibility. See, e.g., Thomas Peake, A Compendium

of the Law of Evidence 64 n.(m) (3d ed. 1808) (question-

ing rule but acknowledging that the practice was to admit

them “without inquiry whether the party was present or

* See Fenwick’s Case, 13 How. St. Tr. at 602 (Musgrave); Thomas

Wood, An Institute of the Laws of England 671 (9th ed. 1763) (sem-

ble); Julius Goebel, Jr. & T. Raymond Naughton, Law Enforcement

in Colonial New York 634-35 (1944) (1766 protest); Ayrton v. Ad-

dington (1780), in 2 James Oldham, The Mansfield Manuscripts and

the Growth of English Law in the Eighteenth Century 1023, 1024-26

(1992); 1 John Morgan, Essays upon the Law of Evidence, New Tri-

als, Special Verdicts, Trials at Bar, and Repleaders 431 (1789) (sem-

ble); King v. Radbourne, 1 Leach 457, 460-61, 168 Eng. Rep. 330, 332

(1787) (reported 1789/1800); King v. Woodcock, 1 Leach 500, 501-02,

168 Eng. Rep. 352, 352-53 (1789) (reported 1789); King v. Dingler, 2

Leach 561, 562-63, 168 Eng. Rep. 383, 383-84 (1791) (reported 1800);

4 William Hawkins, A Treatise of the Pleas of the Crown 423 (Leach

7th ed. 1795); King v. Eriswell, 3 T.R. 707, 710 n.(c), 100 Eng. Rep.

815, 817 n.(c) (K.B. 1790) (reporter’s note 1797); Thomas Peake, A

Compendium of the Law of Evidence 40-41 (1801); and other au-

thorities cited in Kry, supra, at 495-96 nn.11-12, 512-24, 530-41.

* See, e.g., Eriswell, 3 T.R. at 713-14, 100 Eng. Rep. at 819 (Buller,

J.).

* See State v. Webb, 2 N.C. (1 Hayw.) 103, 104 (Super. 1794); State v.

Moody, 3 N.C. (2 Hayw.) 31, 31-32 (Super. 1798) (Haywood, J.);

Johnston v. State, 10 Tenn. (2 Yer.) 58, 59-60 (1821); and other cases

cited in Kry, supra, at 496-97 n.13.

10

not”). One rationale offered was that inquests were such

notorious proceedings that everyone was presumed to be

aware of them, and thus to have had at least a construc-

tive opportunity to cross-examine. See 2 Thomas Star-

kie, A Practical Treatise on the Law of Evidence *492

(1st Am. ed. 1826) (1824); King v. Eriswell, 3 T.R. 707,

722, 100 Eng. Rep. 815, 824 (K.B. 1790) (Kenyon, C.J.).

American authorities, however, refused to indulge that

fiction for coroners’ depositions and insisted on an actual

opportunity for cross-examination. See State v. Camp-

bell, 30 S.C.L. (1 Rich.) 124, 131-32 (App. L. 1844); People

v. Restell, 3 Hill 289, 297 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1842); State v.

Hill, 20 S.C.L. (2 Hill) 607, 610 (App. L. 1835); State v.

Houser, 26 Mo. 431, 436 (1858) (ex parte coroners’ depo-

sitions had “never been permitted [as evidence] in this

country”). In Campbell, for example, the court excluded

the coroner’s deposition of a deceased witness because

the defendant was not present at the inquest. The court

first described Lord Morley’s case as “quite uncertain, as

to the precise point of the absence of the accused at the

taking of the depositions.” 30 S.C.L. at 127. Apparently

not wholly satisfied by that distinction, the court then

characterized Lord Morley’s case as a “precedent{], not

to follow, but to deter,” and opined that, “without disre-

spect to the twelve judges of England,” their entire deci-

sion was “obiter dicta” entitled to no more weight than an

earlier state-court decision. Jd. at 127, 131. Years later,

this Court described Campbell as if that holding were

self-evident. See Mattox v. United States, 156 U.S. 237,

241 (1895) (“of course it was held to be inadmissible”).

The rules of Lord Morley’s case thus came to be under-

stood as conditions for admitting prior cross-examined

testimony.

3. That was no less true in forfeiture cases than in

cases involving other types of unavailability. Thus, for

example, Archbold wrote that committal depositions

1]

were admissible if the witness was “dead, or unable to

travel, or * * * kept away by the means or procurement

of the prisoner”—but added that, “to be thus given in

evidence, {the depositions} must have been taken in the

presence of the prisoner, so that he might have had an

opportunity of cross examining the witness.” John Fre-

derick Archbold, A Summary of the Law Relative to

Pleading and Evidence in Criminal Cases 85 (1822) (ci-

tation omitted). Chitty likewise wrote that committal

depositions were admissible if the witness was “dead, or

not able to travel, or * * * kept away by the means and

contrivance of the prisoner”—but must also be “done in

the presence of the party accused, in order that he may

have the advantage of cross-examining the witnesses.” 1

Joseph Chitty, A Practical Treatise on the Criminal

Law 79-81 (1816) (footnotes omitted). Phillipps agreed:

Committal depositions were admissible if the witness was

“dead, or not able to travel, or * * * kept away by the

means and contrivance of the- prisoner”—but only if

taken “in the presence of the prisoner.” S.M. Phillipps, A

Treatise on the Law of Evidence 277 (2d ed. 1815) (1814)

(footnotes omitted); see also Queen v. Scaife, 17 Q.B. 238,

238-39, 117 Eng. Rep. 1271, 1271 (1851) (committal depo-

sition taken “in the presence of the prisoners” admitted

against one defendant on forfeiture grounds).

American courts likewise understood forfeiture as a

basis for admitting prior cross-examined testimony. In

Drayton v. Wells, 10 S.C.L. (1 Nott & McC.) 409 (Const.

Ct. 1819), the court addressed the admissibility of prior

trial testimony. It listed being “kept away by the con-

trivance of the opposite party”—along with death, insan-

ity, and absence overseas—as grounds for admitting the

testimony, provided that the earlier trial was “between

the same parties” and “the point in issue was the same,”

conditions that ensured an opportunity to cross-examine.

Id. at 411. In a colonial case, Rex v. Barber, 1 Root 76

12

(Conn. Super. 1775), “{oJne White, who had testified be-

fore the justice and before the grand jury against [the

defendant) Barber * * * was sent away by one Bullock, a

friend of Barber’s, and by his instigation; so that he could

not be had to testify before the petit jury.” Jd. at 76. The

report states that the court admitted “evidence of what

[White] had testified before the justice”—but contains no

mention of admitting his (ex parte) grand jury testimony.

Ibid.; see also Williams v. State, 19 Ga. 402, 403 (1856)

(committal deposition).

Thus the law stood in 1879 when this Court decided

Reynolds v. United States, 98 U.S. 145 (1879). That case

involved a witness’s testimony at a former trial for the

same offense; the defendant was “present at the time the

testimony was given, and had full opportunity of cross-

examination.” Jd. at 161. The defendant concealed the

witness so she could not be found for the second trial, and

the Court admitted her former cross-examined testi-

mony on forfeiture grounds. /d. at 158-61.

That was still the law when Wigmore wrote decades

later. He too listed forfeiture, not as an independent

hearsay exception, but as a type of unavailability akin to

death or illness that justified admission provided “there

ha{d] been cross-examination.” 3 John H. Wigmore, A

Treatise on the Anglo-American System of Evidence in

Trials at Common Law §§ 1401, 1405, at 111, 118-20 (2d

ed. 1923). Thus, for at least a century after the framing,

forfeiture was a species of unavailability like death or ill-

ness—it justified admitting prior cross-examined testi-

mony but was not an independent hearsay exception.

B. The Framing-Era Forfeiture Rule Did Not Ap-

ply to Misconduct Unrelated to the Declarant’s

Status as a Witness

That history shows just how far the California Su-

preme Court departed from the narrow traditional forfei-

13

ture rule. Obviously, the statement at issue does not fall

within the framing-era rule: It is not testimony from a

pretrial hearing, former trial, or other occasion where the

defendant had an opportunity to cross-examine. This

Court, however, need not address the constitutionality of

the modern, broader conception of forfeiture embodied in

Federal Rule 804(b)(6), because the California Supreme

Court’s decision extends far beyond even that.

The state court held that forfeiture applies whenever a

defendant wrongfully causes a witness’s absence, even if

the wrongful conduct is unrelated to that person’s status

as a witness. No historical authority extends forfeiture

that far. Every case described above that actually admit-

ted a statement on forfeiture grounds (which includes

every case cited by Reynolds and every early case cited

by the court below) involved witness-tampering. See

Harrison’s Case, 12 How. St. Tr. at 851-52 (bribery);

Fenwick’s Case, 13 How. St. Tr. at 550 (bribery); Rey-

nolds, 98 U.S. at 159-60 (concealment); Barber, 1 Root at

76 (witness “sent away * * * so that he could not be had

to testify”); Scaife, 17 Q.B. at 238-42, 117 Eng. Rep. at

1271-73 (similar). The court below conceded that forfei-

ture “generally applied *** when the defendant in-

tended to, and did, tamper with an actual or potential

witness to prevent the witness from cooperating with the

authorities or testifying at trial.” J.A. 45. Indeed, the

oldest case the court cited outside that context was from

1997. Id. at 46-51.

The court nonetheless claimed that intent was irrele-

vant because the early authorities “did not specifically

address the intention of the defendants.” J.A. 41 n.3.

That is a strained reading at best. The authorities rou-

tinely described the forfeiture rule in terms suggesting

that it was limited to witness-tampering. Reynolds, for

example, referred to witnesses “corruptly kept away.” 98

U.S. at 159. Drayton referred to witnesses “kept away

14

by the contrivance of the opposite party.” 10 S.C.L. at

411. Treatises referred to witnesses “kept away by the

means and contrivance of the prisoner.” 1 Chitty, supra,

at 81; Phillipps, supra, at 277. Those formulations are far

more naturally read as connoting manipulation of the ju-

dicial process, not mere misconduct that causes a wit-

ness’s absence.

Even if the descriptions were neutral, however, their

context makes clear that the authorities had only wit-

ness-tampering in mind. The common-law forfeiture rule

governed testimony against the defendant at his pretrial

committal hearing, the coroner’s inquest, or (by the nine-

teenth century) a former trial for the same offense. See

pp. 6-12, supra. The rule thus applied to misconduct in

contexts where the crime had already been completed,

the prosecution was already underway, and the witness

_had already accused the defendant in a formal proceed-

ing. In those contexts, the possibility that a defendant

would engage in misconduct that rendered a witness un-

available for some reason unrelated to his status as a

witness seems remote.°

The far more reasonable explanation for the early

sources’ failure to elaborate on intent is not that intent

was irrelevant, but that it would so clearly exist in the

particular pretrial context those sources were expound-

ing that there was no point in addressing it. Intent sim-

* One can imagine situations where a defendant injures a victim, the

victim lingers long enough to testify at the pretrial hearing, but the

victim then dies or succumbs to incapacity before trial. See, e¢.g.,

Radbourne, 1 Leach at 458-60, 168 Eng. Rep. at 331-32. In those

cases, however, the testimony would be admissible under the “death”

or “illness” prongs of Lord Morley’s case without regard to forfei-

ture. See Kel. at 55, 84 Eng. Rep. at 1080. Forfeiture mattered only

if the defendant prevented the witness from testifying by means

short of killing or injuring him (by threats, bribery, kidnapping, or

the like).

15

ply was not an issue until the forfeiture rule was ex-

panded beyond the Marian pretrial context to statements

like those here, made before or shortly after the time of

the underlying crime. Only then was it likely that a de-

fendant might render a witness unavailable by miscon-

duct unrelated to his status as a witness.

The California Supreme Court also invoked what i

described as the “broad equitable principles” underlying

the forfeiture rule. J.A. 52. No doubt, the rule was moti-

vated by equity. But that does not mean a modern court

can apply the rule whenever it thinks it would be equita-

ble to do so. Procuring a witness’s absence te manipulate

the trial’s truth-seeking function raises different consid-

erations than merely causing a witness to be unavailable.

The fact that forfeiture cases historically involved only

the former situation shows that the Framers thought eq-

uity justified admitting ex parte testimony only in that

situation. The Confrontation Clause “admit{s] only those

exceptions established at the time of the founding.”

Crawford, 541 U.S. at 54. What matters is the traditional

scope of the equitable forfeiture rule—not the mere fact

that is was equitable.

II. The Framing-Era Treatment of Dying Declere-

tions Refutes California’s Version of the Forfei-

ture Rule

The framing-era treatment of dying declarations dis-

pels any doubt that the California Supreme Court’s rule

is historically insupportable. For centuries, witnesses

have made statements accusing their alleged killers after

sustaining injuries that eventually resulted in their

deaths. If California’s version of forfeiture were accu-

rate, those statements would be paradigmatic candidates

for application of the forfeiture rule. But the cases failed

to invoke any forfeiture rationale for admitting such

statements. Moreover, courts adopted a limitation on ad-

missibility that is wholly inconsistent with forfeiture prin-

16

ciples: They excluded the statements unless the witness

was aware of his impending demise when he made them.

That result is wholly inconsistent with California’s for-

feiture rule. California’s rule would justify admitting

such statements against the alleged killer whatever the

witness’s mental state. The fact that no court or lawyer

ever suggested admitting those excluded statements on

forfeiture grounds is powerful evidence that the rule did

not extend so far.

A. Dying Declarations Were Not Admitted on For-

feiture Grounds, Even When They Fell Square-

ly Within the California Supreme Court’s Ver-

sion of the Forfeiture Rule

1. By the mid-eighteenth century, it was settled in

England that dying declarations were admissible against

the defendant in a murder prosecution. See King v. Ely

(1720), in 12 Charles Viner, A General Abridgment of

Law and Equity 118 (c. 1757); Rex v. Reason & Tranter,

1 Strange 499, 499-500, 93 Eng. Rep. 659, 659-60, 16 How.

St. Tr. 1, 24-38 (K.B. 1722); Bambridge’s Case, 17 How.

St. Tr. 397, 417 (1730). Early American courts followed

the same rule. See, eg., Respublica v. Langcake, 1

Yeates 415, 416-17 (Pa. 1795); State v. Moody, 3 N.C. (2

Hayw.) 31, 31 (Super. 1798); United States v. McGurk, 26

F. Cas. 1097, 1097 (C.C.D.C. 1802) (No. 15,680). The ra-

tionale for that rule, however, was not that the defendant

had forfeited his confrontation rights by killing the wit-

ness. Rather, the specter of impending death was

thought to render the statements sufficiently trustwor-

thy to dispense with the ordinary safeguards of oath and

cross-examination.

As one framing-era court explained: “(T]he general

principle on which this species of evidence is admitted is,

that they are declarations made in extremity, when the

party is at the point of death, and when every hope of this

17

world is gone: when every motive to falsehood is silenced,

and the mind is induced by the most powerful considera-

tions to speak the truth; a situation so solemn, and so aw-

ful, is considered by the law as creating an obligation

equal to that which is imposed by a positive oath adminis-

tered in a Court of Justice.” King v. Woodcock, 1 Leach

500, 502, 168 Eng. Rep. 352, 353 (1789) (reported 1789).

Many other authorities identified the same rationale.

See, e.g., King v. Drummond, 1 Leach 337, 337-38, 168

Eng. Rep. 271, 272 (1784) (reported 1789) (“The principle

upon which this species of evidence is received is, that the

mind, impressed with the awful idea of approaching dis-

solution, acts under a sanction equally powerful with that

which it is presumed to feel by a solemn appeal to God

upon an oath.”); 2 William Hawkins, A Treatise of the

Pleas of the Crown 619 n.10 (Leach 6th ed. 1787) (“(TJhis

evidence seems to be admiss{i]ble only upon the idea,

that no human motive can at such an awful moment in-

terpose to bias the truth of what is asserted; and there-

fore the law considers the declarations of a person so dy-

ing as equal to the solemnity of an oath.” (emphasis omit-

ted)); ef. 1 Geoffrey Gilbert, The Law of Evidence 280

(Lofft ed. 1791).’

2. Because of that rationale, admissibility depended,

not only on whether the witness later died, but on

whether he knew he was dying. Only then would any mo-

tive to fabricate be extinguished. When a witness’s ap-

prehension of imminent death was not sufficiently shown,

courts excluded his statements.

” Indeed, references to the trustworthiness of dying declarations

date as far back as Raleigh’s case. See 2 How. St. Tr. 1, 18 (1603)

(“Nem moriturus praesumitur mentiri”—a dying man never lies);

Trial of Sir Walter Raleigh (1603), in 1 David Jardine, Criminal Tri-

als 400, 435 (1832) (“a dying man is ever presumed to speak truth”).

18

Thus, in John’s Case (1790), in 1 Edward Hyde East,

A Treatise of the Pleas of the Crown 357 (1803), a woman

accused her husband of assaulting her and later died of

her injuries. The husband objected to the statements at

his murder trial because “it was not proved that she con-

sidered herself at the time as a dying person.” Jd. at 357.

The court admitted the statements but referred the case

to the twelve judges for review.® The judges unanimous-

ly ruled that “whether the deceased thought she was dy-

ing or not” was to be “decided by the judge before he re-

ceives the evidence,” and a majority concluded that the

statements should have been excluded in that case be-

cause “there was no foundation for supposing that the

deceased considered herself in any danger at all.” Jd.

at 358.

Likewise, in Welbourn’s Case (1792), in 1 East, supra,

at 358, a servant told an apothecary a mere hour before

dying that another servant had poisoned her. She added,

however, that “she believed that she was getting better

from the pain ceasing.” Jd. at 359. The twelve judges

ruled the statement inadmissible at the fellow servant’s

murder trial because “it did not sufficiently appear that

the deceased knew or thought she was in a dying state

when she made the declaration.” Jd. at 360.

Other English cases are to the same effect. In King v.

Woodcock, 1 Leach 500, 168 Eng. Rep. 352 (1789), a

woman told a magistrate before dying that her husband

had assaulted her. The judge lamented that it “seem[ed]

impossible to find out, whether the deceased herself ap-

prehended that she was in such a state of mortality as

would inevitably oblige her soon to answer before her

® Although there was no formal appellate review in criminal cases, a

court faced with a difficult legal issue could stay the execution and

refer the case to all twelve judges, much like a modern swa sponte en

banc process. See Langbein (2003), supra, at 212-13 & n.153.

19

Maker for the truth or falsehood of her assertions.” /d.

at 508, 168 Eng. Rep. at 353-54 (footnote omitted). He

left the issue to the jury, instructing them not to consider

the statement unless they thought she was “under the

apprehension of death.” /d. at 504, 168 Eng. Rep. at 354.”

In Tinckler’s Case (1781), in 1 East, supra, at 354, the

defendant objected to the alleged murder victim’s dying

declarations because “it appeared at the time of her dec-

larations she was better, or thought herself so.” Jd. at

355. The twelve judges did not dispute that statements

under such circumstances were inadmissible. But they

approved the conviction because the witness had re-

peated her statements later, after taking a turn for the

worse. /d. at 355-56.

In King v. Radbourne, 1 Leach 457, 168 Eng. Rep. 330

(1787) (reported 1789/1800), a woman died after testify-

ing to a justice of the peace that her maid had assaulted

her. At the maid’s trial, the prosecution argued that the

declaration, “by a person who was sensible she was about

soon to give an account at the high tribunal of the Al-

mighty, * * * was considered by the law to be made under

a sanction more awful and impressive than that of an

oath itself.” Jd. at 460-61, 168 Eng. Rep. at 332. The

court, however, referred the case to the twelve judges

because the witness did “not appear[], at the time she

gave [the testimony], to be apprehensive of her approach-

ing dissolution.” Jd. at 462, 168 Eng. Rep. at 333. The

judges ruled that the statement (which had been sworn in

the defendant’s presence) was admissible on another

ground—as prior Marian testimony of an unavailable

* According to other reports, however, the judge himself resolved the

issue. See Woodcock’s Case (1789), in Thomas Leach, Cases in

Crown Law 437, 441-42 (1st ed. 1789); Trial of William Woodcock,

_ Old Bailey Sessions Papers, Jan. 14, 1789, at 95, 111-12.

20

witness. See 1 East, supra, at 356; cf. Peake (1801), sw-

pra, app. 1, at 144 & n.*.

In King v. Dingler, 2 Leach 561, 168 Eng. Rep. 383

(1791) (reported 1800), a woman testified to a magistrate

that her husband had assaulted her, and died eleven days

later. Jd. at 561-62, 168 Eng. Rep. at 383. At the hus-

band’s murder trial, the prosecution counsel conceded

that the testimony “was not such an examination of a

person under apprehension of immediate death as would,

on that principle, authorize the production of it in evi-

dence.” Jd. at 563, 168 Eng. Rep. at 384. The testimony

was therefore excluded. See ibid.; see also Leonard

MacNally, The Rules of Evidence on Pleas of the Crown

381-87 (1802); 1 East, supra, at 353-54; ef. 2 Hawkins (6th

ed. 1787), supra, at 619 n.10.

3. Early American decisions were comparable. In

State v. Moody, 3 N.C. (2 Hayw.) 31 (Super. 1798), the

witness accused the defendant of wounding him; he died

several weeks later. The court excluded the statements.

It explained that dying declarations must be “of one so

near his end that no hope of life remains, for then the so-

lemnity of the occasion is a good security for his speaking

the truth, as much so as if he were under the obligation of

an oath.” Jd. at 31. “(I]f at the time of making the decla-

ration he has reasonable prospects and hope of life, such

declarations ought not to be received; for there is room to

apprehend he may be actuated by motives of revenge and

an irritated mind, to declare what possibly may not be

true.” Ibid.

In Lewis v. State, 17 Miss. (9 S. & M.) 115 (1847), the

court reversed a murder conviction because the alleged

victim’s declarations were introduced without sufficient

evidence that he was aware of his impending death. Dy-

ing declarations, the court explained, were admissible

only because “(t]he danger of impending death is re-

garded as equivalent to the sanction of an oath.” Jd. at

21

119. Upon being stabbed, the witness had exclaimed “O

my people!” but “said nothing else which indicated the

apprehension of immediate death.” Jd. at 120. “This

showing,” the court held, “was not sufficient. It indicated

alarm and suffering, but showed no sense of approaching

dissolution.” bid.

That same year, in Nelson v. State, 26 Tenn. (7 Hum.)

542 (1847), the court reversed another murder conviction

for similar reasons. The witness there accused the de-

fendant of attacking him but claimed he “‘was not badly

wounded and was not going to die.’” Jd. at 543. He was,

alas, “very greatly deceived as to his actual condition,”

and died not an hour later. /bid. The court held the ac-

cusation inadmissible because “[iJt is the solemn state of

the declarant’s mind, in view of approaching death, which -

is thought to be equivalent to the sanction of an oath,”

and the declarant’s “mind at the very moment of the dec-

laration, according to his own view of the case, was not in

the state necessary.” bid.

Other cases reached similar results. Courts excluded

the statements of dying witnesses where the witness did

not apprehend his imminent death. See United States v.

Woods, 28 F. Cas. 762, 763 (C.C.D.C. 1834) (No. 16,760);

Montgomery v. State, 11 Ohio 424, 425-26 (1842); Smith

v. State, 28 Tenn. (9 Hum.) 9, 17-23 (1848). And they ad-

mitted such statements only after concluding that the

requisite mental state had been shown. See United

States v. Veitch, 28 F. Cas. 367, 367-68 (C.C.D.C. 1803)

(No. 16,614); King v. Commonwealth, 4 Va. (2 Va. Cas.)

78, 80-81 (Gen. Ct. 1817); Gibson v. Commonwealth, 4 Va.

(2 Va. Cas.) 111, 121 (Gen. Ct. 1817); State v. Poll, 8 N.C.

(1 Hawks) 442, 444 (1821); State v. Ferguson, 20 S.C.L. (2

Hill) 619, 623-24 (App. L. 1835); Anthony v. State, 19

Tenn. (Meigs) 265, 277-80 (1838); McLean v. State, 8 Mo.

153, 157-59 (1843); Hill v. Commonwealth, 43 Va. (2

Gratt.) 594, 607-11 (Gen. Ct. 1845); McDaniel v. State, 16

22

Miss. (8 S. & M.) 401, 415-16 (1847); Logan v. State, 28

Tenn. (9 Hum.) 24, 25-26 (1848); McLean v. State, 16 Ala.

672, 674-75 (1849); People v. Wood, 2 Edm. Sel. Cas. 71,

74-75 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1849). Statements of dying wit-

nesses were thus admissible against their accused killers

only if the witness anticipated his imminent demise.

B. The Dying-Declaration Cases Foreclose Cali-

fornia’s Rule’

1. That history of dying declarations forecloses the

California Supreme Court’s rule. In dozens of cases,

courts either excluded a dead witness’s statement accus-

ing his alleged killer because the declarant was not aware

of his impending death, or admitted the statement only

because the declarant was aware of his impending death.

Those decisions cannot be reconciled with California’s

version of the forfeiture rule, which would admit all those

statements without regard to the declarant’s mental

state. If any framing-era lawyer or judge shared Cali-

fornia’s understanding of the rule, surely someone would

have tried to invoke it. But the statements were analyzed

only as dying declarations; if they failed to qualify on that

basis, they were excluded.

If only a handful of cases were at issue, they might be

written off as incompetent lawyering—a prosecution

counsel overlooking another potentially applicable excep-

tion. The sheer number of cases, however, makes that

explanation implausible. In many cases, moreover, the

prosecution was well represented. In Radbourne, for ex-

ample, the Crown counsel was William Garrow, 1 Leach

at 460, 168 Eng. Rep. at 332, “the dominant [criminal]

barrister of the day,” Langbein (2003), supra, at 243, and

'° Although McDaniel briefly alludes to equitable considerations, 16

Miss. at 416, the court did not treat those considerations as an inde-

pendent basis for admitting the statements; rather, it made clear

that apprehension of imminent death was required, see id. at 415-16.

-

. 7"

:

:

;

:

|

23

“one of the foremost counsel of the era,” Landsman, The

Rise of the Contentious Spirit, 75 Cornell L. Rev. 497,

551 (1990); see also Beattie, Scales of Justice, 9 Law &

Hist. Rev. 221, 236-47 (1991). Admissibility in that case

was far from clear, see pp. 19-20, supra, and if anyone

could be expected to raise every conceivably applicable

hearsay exception, Garrow surely could.

That omission is all the more striking because Califor-

nia’s version of the forfeiture rule would subsume the dy-

ing-declaration rule in the mine-run of cases. At least in

the nineteenth century, the rule in most jurisdictions was

that dying declarations were admissible only in homicide

prosecutions. See 3 Wigmore, supra, §§ 1431-32, at 162-

64. But the vast majority of dying declarations in homi-

cide cases would also qualify under California’s version of

the forfeiture rule. Even if one could imagine exceptions,

cf. Dunn v. State, 2 Ark. 229, 245-47 (1840) (defendant

proffered victim’s declaration that he was “shot by mis-

take”), as a practical matter, California’s approach to for-

feiture would all but swallow the dying-declaration rule.

2. The California Supreme Court made no attempt to

explain the historical treatment of dying declarations.

Professor Richard Friedman (whose scholarship is large-

ly responsible for the line of cases that includes the deci-

sion below) does address the issue in his amicus brief.

See Br. of Richard D. Friedman as Amicus Curiae in

Support of Pet. for Cert. 11-14 (Nov. 29, 2007) (“Br.”).

On this point, however, his arguments are unpersuasive.

Professor Friedman does not dispute that trustwor-

thiness was the “traditional” rationale for admitting dy-

ing declarations. Br. 13. He contends, however, that that

rationale is “absurd” because dying declarations are not

particularly trustworthy. /d. at 12. He accordingly sug-

gests that their admissibility is better explained on for-

feiture grounds. /d. at 11.

24

That Professor Friedman does not find the framing-

era rationale persuasive, however, does not change what

that rationale actually was. The Confrontation Clause

“admit(s] only those exceptions established at the time of

the founding.” Crawford, 541 U.S. at 54. This Court

cannot, consistent with that holding, reject the framing-

era rationale for admitting dying declarations, replace it

with a new rationale, and then rely on that new rationale

to broaden the exception so as to admit testimony the

original rule would have excluded.”

Professor Friedman further argues that the tradi-

tional rationale for admitting dying declarations is incon-

sistent with Crawford’s rejection of a reliability-based _

approach. Br. 12-13. The doctrine that Crawford re-

jected, however, was the amorphous and ahistorical rule

that ex parte testimony of any sort was admissible if suf-

ficiently reliable, see Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 66

(1980)—not the well-defined and eminently historical rule

that dying declarations are admissible because they

were deemed reliable. The “right” the Confrontation

Clause categorically protects is the right to confrontation

as it existed at common law. Admitting dying declara-

tions is consistent with that right. See Crawford, 541

US. at 56 n.6. Admitting other sorts of “reliable” ex

parte testimony is not.

Finally, Professor Friedman contends that it would be

an “abomination” to exclude statements where the de-

fendant caused the witness’s unavailability. Br. 13-14. In

case after case, however, framing-era courts did precisely

that. See pp. 17-22, supra. It is not an “abomination” to

“ Tronically, the California Supreme Court has previously held that

the dying-declaration exception survives Crawford on purely histori-

cal grounds, without reference to forfeiture principles. See People v.

Monterroso, 101 P.3d 956, 971-72 (Cal. 2004).

*

_

il

25

apply the Confrontation Clause as it was written and

originally understood. That is simply the rule of law.

The State denied Mr. Giles the right “to be confronted

with the witnesses against him” under any conceivable

literal meaning of those terms. It justifies doing so on

the basis of a purported historical exception, but it cannot

cite a single case applying the exception in a remotely

similar context, even though dozens of cases presented

similar fact patterns and would have been prime candi-

dates for application of the rule. Instead, the State relies

on the purported failure of factually inapposite forfei-

ture cases to exclude the rule’s application here. This

Court should insist on a more compelling historical show-

ing before creating an exception to a right the Sixth

Amendment expressly provides.

Ill. The California Supreme Court’s Decision Would

Significantly Expand the Use of Unreliable Ex

Parte Testimony in Criminal Trials

The absence of any meaningful historical support for

the California Supreme Court’s holding is reason enough

to reject it. But the court’s rule also threatens the fun-

damental fairness of criminal trials by inviting wide-

spread use of unreliable ex parte testimony.

A. The California Supreme Court’s Rule Could Be

Extended to a Wide Variety of Cases

As the California Supreme Court acknowledged, until

recently, courts generally applied the forfeiture rule only

to witness-tampering. J.A. 45. Since Crawford, however,

the doctrine has exploded, as prosecutors—confronted

with the demise of Ohio v. Roberts—have sought new

ways to introduce ex parte testimony. That trend will

only accelerate if this Court affirms the decision below.

1. In homicide cases alone, California’s rule would

radically expand the use of unreliable ex parte testimony.

Traditionally, courts admitted a decedent’s prior ex parte

26

accusations in a murder prosecution only if they qualified

as dying declarations. Thus, only statements made im-

mediately before the witness’s death would be admitted.

California’s rule, by contrast, would seem to justify ad-

mitting virtually anything the alleged murder victim ever

said. In this case, for example, the statement was made

three weeks before the shooting. J.A. 32, 35. Other

- courts have admitted statements even more remote: In

United States v. Garcia-Meza, 403 F.3d 364 (6th Cir.

2005), the court allowed statements the defendant’s wife

had made five months before her death, accusing the de-

fendant of assaulting her on another occasion because

“he was angry that she had been talking to a former boy-

friend.” Jd. at 366, 369. The court explained that “[t}he

Defendant, regardless of whether he intended to prevent

the witness from testifying against him or not, would

benefit through his own wrongdoing if such a witness’s

statements could not be used against him, which the rule

of forfeiture, based on principles of equity, does not per-

mit.” Jd. at 370-71. .

Other courts have relied on similarly broad forfeiture

theories to admit a wide variety of statements of alleged |

homicide victims. See, e.g., State v. Mason, 162 P.3d 396,

401-05 (Wash. 2007); State v. Jensen, 727 N.W.2d 518,

527-35 (Wis. 2007); People v. Bauder, 712 N.W.2d 506,

511-15 (Mich. Ct. App. 2005). Some courts have relied on

forfeiture to admit more traditional dying declarations.

See State v. Meeks, 88 P.3d 789, 792-95 (Kan. 2004), over-

ruled in part on other grounds by State v. Davis, 158 P.3d

317, 322 (Kan. 2006); United States v. Mayhew, 380 F.

Supp. 2d 961, 963-69 (S.D. Ohio 2005); Gonzales v. State,

155 S.W.3d 603, 605-06, 609-11 (Tex. App. 2004), aff’d on

other grounds, 195 S.W.3d 114, 125 (Tex. Crim. App.

2006). But even those courts, by discarding the tradi-

tional rationale for admitting such statements, invite fur-

ther expansion of the forfeiture rule.

27

2. If this Court affirms the decision below, moreover,

prosecutors will attempt to extend California’s rule be-

yond homicide cases. Although the witness in this case

was dead, forfeiture historically was not limited to dead

witnesses. See pp. 6-12, supra. Prosecutors would seek

to introduce ex parte statements in cases involving other

types of unavailability caused by the defendant.

Courts have recognized broad theories of unavailabil-

ity. For example, some courts have deemed witnesses

“unavailable” where the witness claimed to be psycho-

logically or emotionally unable to testify. See, e.g., Peo-

ple v. Stechly, 870 N.E.2d 333, 373 (Ill. 2007) (“{U]navail-

ability includes those child witnesses who are unable to

testify because of fear.”); Carter & Lyons, The Potential

Impact of Crawford v. Washington on Child Abuse, Eld-

erly Abuse and Domestic Violence Litigation, Champion,

Sept.-Oct. 2004, at 21, 22 (defendant’s mere presence in

the courtroom can render a witness “emotionally unavail-

able”). California law expressly allows courts to treat

certain witnesses as “medically unavailable” if “testimony

would cause the[m] emotional trauma.” Cal. Penal Code

§ 1346(d); see also Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-3-413(3).

Since Crawford, prosecutors have routinely attempted

to combine those broad concepts of unavailability with

broad notions of forfeiture. They argue that defendants

forfeit their confrontation rights whenever the offense

for which they are being prosecuted rendered the witness

psychologically unavailable to testify—or, indeed, even

available to testify but at the cost of further psychologi-

cal trauma. In People v. Moreno, 160 P.3d 242 (Colo.

2007), for example, a trial court found an alleged child

abuse victim unavailable because testifying would cause

her to be “retraumatized”; “she could suffer enhanced

anxiety, fear, and humiliation; and the ‘trauma bond’ be-

tween her and the defendant could be renewed.” Jd. at

247. The State proffered her earlier ex parte testimony,

28

arguing that the defendant had “forfeited” his confronta-

tion rights because his alleged acts of child abuse were

responsible for the witness’s trauma. Jd. at 246. The

Colorado Supreme Court rejected that argument only

because it held, contrary to the California Supreme

Court below, that intent to prevent a witness from testi-

fying was required for forfeiture to apply. /d. at 247; see

also Stechly, 870 N.E.2d at 340-41, 348-54; State v. Hen-

derson, 160 P.3d 776, 793 (Kan. 2007).

Commentators have likewise taken up the charge.

One author argues that forfeiture should apply in domes-

tic-violence cases, even in the absence of a specific threat

to the witness not to testify, so long as the State shows

the “existence of a battering relationship built on power

and control dynamics.” King-Ries, Forfeiture by Wrong-

doing: A Panacea for Victimless Domestic Violence

Prosecutions, 39 Creighton L. Rev. 441, 444, 463 (2006).

Another author similarly argues: “Whether the reason is

fear of retaliation, physical terror of seeing the abuser, or

a desire to please and remain with the abuser, the cause

of a victim’s unavailability is the same—procurement by

the abuser through the abuse itself.” Krischer, “Though

Justice May Be Blind, It Is Not Stupid”: Applying Com-

mon Sense to Crawford in Domestic Violence Cases,

Prosecutor, Nov.-Dec. 2004, at 14, 16.

Unavailable witnesses are a routine feature of domes-

tic-violence and child-abuse cases. “{E]ighty to ninety

percent of domestic violence victims who appeal to the |

criminal justice system for help recant or otherwise fail

to assist the prosecution at some point in the proceed-

ings.” State v. Mechling, 633 S.E.2d 311, 324 (W. Va.

2006). Child abuse prosecutions encounter similar issues.

See Raeder, Remember the Ladies and the Children Too:

Crawford’s Impact on Domestic Violence and Child

Abuse Cases, 71 Brook. L. Rev. 311, 374-77 (2005). Be-

fore Crawford, prosecutors relied on Roberts to avoid

29

having to produce those alleged victims in court. See

Huff, Confronting Crawford, 85 Neb. L. Rev. 417, 435-36

(2006). This Court should not allow an expansive and his-

torically baseless forfeiture doctrine to become prosecu-

tors’ new tool of choice for evading confrontation rights.

B. The California Supreme Court’s Rule Would

Undermine the Fairness of Criminal Trials

Broad application of forfeiture would damage the fair-

ness of criminal trials. Confrontation is not a mere pro-

cedural formality. As the Framers well knew, accusa-

tions of criminal conduct are not always true. The Con-

frontation Clause reflects the Framers’ judgment that

the crucible of cross-examination is the best—and only

acceptable—method of ascertaining the truth. As any

defense lawyer will attest, cross-examination is no less

important to discovering the truth today. Compare, e.g.,

3 William Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of

England 373-74 (1768) (cross-examination will “sift out

the truth much better”), with Gerry Spence, Win Your

Case: How To Present, Persuade, and Prevail—Every

Place, Every Time 168-222 (2005) (cross-examination is

“the one best pry to disgorge the whole truth”).

The forfeiture doctrine allows convictions based on

precisely the sort of evidence the Confrontation Clause

was designed to guard against: untested—and thus pre-

sumptively unreliable—ex parte testimony. Here, for ex-

ample, the State presented Ms. Avie’s ex parte accusa-

tions of an earlier assault to prove that Mr. Giles mur-

dered her. Mr. Giles had no opportunity to cross-

examine Ms. Avie to show that her accusations were in-

complete, misleading, or false; that she was biased or had

some ulterior motive; or that her answers were the prod-

uct of slanted questioning by overzealous police officers.

Cf. 3 Blackstone, supra, at 373-74.

30

The state court thought that result “equitable” be-

cause Mr. Giles had murdered Ms. Avie. Of course, as in

most cases, that fact was disputed. Ms. Avie’s ex parte

testimony was allowed, not because we know Mr. Giles

murdered her, but because a panel of state judges made

a finding to that effect. That is no small difference. The

Framers secured the right to a common-law criminal

trial “by witness and jury” (2 How. St. Tr. at 15-16) pre-

cisely because judges can make mistakes (and typically

not in favor of defendants accused of heinous crimes).

The Framers allowed narrow exceptions, long recognized

at common law, for dying declarations or witness-tamper-

ing. The State’s pleas of “equity” notwithstanding, this

Court should go no further.

CONCLUSION

The decision of the California Supreme Court should

be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

KENNON L. PETERSON JEFFREY A. LAMKEN

BAKER BOTTS L.L.P. Counsel of Record

98 San Jacinto Blvd. ROBERT K. KRY

Austin, TX 78701 BAKER BOTTs L.L.P.

(512) 322-2500 1299 Pennsylvania Ave., NW

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 639-7700

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

February 2008

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.