Joint Appendix — Fry v. Pliler

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 06-5247

In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

JOHN F. FRY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

CHERYL K. PLILER, Warden,

Respondent.

¢

On A Writ Of Certiorari To The United States

Court Of Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

¢

JOINT APPENDIX

+

EDMUND G. BROWN, JR.

Attorney General of California

MARY JO GRAVES

Chief Assistant Attorney General

GERALD A. ENGLER

(916) 447-2988 (facsimile) Senior Assistant Attorney General

Counsel for Petitioner | DONALD E. DE NICOLA

Deputy Solicitor General

Pecoy S. RUFFRA

Supervising Deputy Attorney

General

of

455 Golden Gate Ave., Suite 11000

San Francisco, CA 94102

Telephone: (415) 703-1376

Facsimile: (415) 703-1234

Counsel for Respondent

Petition For Certiorari Filed June 20, 2006

Certiorari Granted December 7, 2006

oe -

" rv. t

— «ff oe de oe Py a. x

* > va ary - rT ; * SR eS etme

x > lon aa st

‘

— hla : .

Transcript of Taped Interview of Pamela Maples,

dated March 16, 1995

Opinion of California Court of Appeal, First Dis-

trict, Division Three, Filed March 30, 2000

Judgment of Supreme Court, Filed July 12, 2000

Findings and Recommendations of the U.S. District

Court, Eastern District of California, Filed June

Memorandum of the U.S. Court of Appeals, Ninth

Circuit, Filed February 2, 2006

Order of U.S. Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit, Filed

Order Granting Leave to Proceed in Forma Pau-

peris, and Motion Granting Petition for Writ of

Certiorari, Dated December 7, 2006

CHRONOLOGICAL LIST OF

RELEVANT DOCKET ENTRIES

A. Superior Court of California for Solano County

February 10, 1993 — Information filed

February 22, 1994 — First jury trial commenced

April 4, 1994 — Mistrial declared in first trial

August 22, 1994 — Second jury trial commenced

October 21, 1994 — Mistrial declared in second trial

February 21, 1995 — Third jury trial commenced

June 8, 1995 — Guilty verdict returned

August 30, 1995 — Notice of appeal filed

B. State Post-Conviction Proceedings

March 30, 2000 — Unpublished Opinion of the California

Court of Appeal, First Appellate District, Division

Three

May 8, 2000 — Petition for review filed

July 12, 2000 — Summary denial by the California Su-

preme Court

C. § 2254 Proceedings in the United States Dis-

trict Court, Eastern District of California

August 15, 2001 — Pro se § 2254 petition filed

June 24, 2002 —- Amended petition filed

June 2, 2004 — Findings and Recommendations of the

Magistrate Judge in the U.S. District Court, Eastern

District of Californi

August 27, 2004 — Order and Judgment of the U.S. Dis-

trict Court, Eastern District of California

& August 31, 2004 — Notice of Appeal

4 September 9, 2004 — Order granting certificate of appeal-

bilit

DD. Appeal to the Ninth Circuit

"February 2, 2006 — Memorandum of the U.S. Court of

a Appeals, Ninth Circuit

April 25, 2006 — Order of the U.S. Court of Appeals, Ninth

Circuit, denying petition for panel rehearing and re-

hearing en banc

. E. Supreme Court of the United States

June 6, 2006 — Petition for certiorari

_ December 7, 2006 — Order granting leave to proceed in

forma pauperis, and granting petition for writ of cer-

aco

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

IN AND FOR THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

THE PEOPLE OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

)

)

Plaintiff and Respondent,

vs. )

JOHN FRANCIS FRY,

)

Defendant and Appellant.

Proceedings of March 15, 1995 ........c....-.ccsssssssssssesesssvees 782

Proceedings of March 16, 1995 ....2............-..cccecccesseceseceeees 911

Proceedings of March 20, 1995 ....0............:cccscceeceereeeeeee 1010

Proceedings of March 21, 1995 ...0.............:ccc:cccceeeceeneeee 1147

Proceedings of March 22, 1995 ............cc:ccsssssesssssseesneeens 1309

Proceedings of March 23, 1995 ................:cc-sseceescesereeee 1422

Proceedings of March 24, 1995 .000...........ccccccsesceseeseeneenee 1577

Proceedings of March 27, 1995 .00..............:cccccceceseeeseeeee 1649

Proceedings of March 28, 1996 2000.0.............0cccccceseeesceesees 1766

Proceedings of March 29, 1995 .................ccccccsscceseeeeeeee 1809

Proceedings of March 30, 1995 .0.............:..:ccccececceseeesenee 1934

Proceedings of March 31, 1995 ....................cccsseeseeeceeeeees 2114

Proceedings of April 3, 1995 ............0..2.:ccccsscesseessesceeeee 2218

Proceedings of April 4, 1995 .2............:.ccccccccccessceeeeee sore 2339

Proceedings of April 5, 1995 .........ccc.cceccvesssucssuessnersseesons 2401

Proceedings of April 7, 1995 ...0..........ccccccccceceeeeeeeseeneeeee 2408

Proceedings of April 11, 1995 .0...0..........0...cccesceeseeeceeseeeee 2422

Proceedings of April 12, 1995 .0.....0.........-.ccc:ceccceeseeseeees 2559

Proceedings of April 13, 1995 .20............ccc:cccceccceeseeeeeeeee 2736

Proceedings of April 14, 1995 ............cccsecssesssesssesssessneee 2852

Proceedings of April 17, 1995 20............2...cccccccseceseeeeeeees 2988

Proceedings of April 18, 1995 ............c:..s.eccssssessssseesseeane 3718

Proceedings of April 19, 1995 ...............ce.ssssssssessesseeseess 3877

, fF San 5 > » »

‘e > - pS f- af we ta - 2 . ,

oe 4 , ,+ = om we w< re we ar, Te ™ : a ———

Sh Sea ee 5 4

[4136] going to get together to put it off on the defendant?

: A No, it was just Arleen, Ryan, Shannon.

Q Didn’t mention that a Debbie Mathies was part of

this to put it off on the defendant, did he?

A No.

MR. KEALY: I have no further questions. Thank

you very much.

MS. VOSS: Nothing further.

THE COURT: All right. You may step down.

THE WITNESS: Okay.

THE COURT: All right. Next witness on behalf

of the defense.

MS. VOSS: Pam Maples.

MR. KEALY: I'm sorry -

MS. VOSS: Pam Maples.

eu Th

ee he Pe. ee

Cg eer

__ called as a witness on behalf of the Defense, being duly

sworn to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but

the truth testified as follows:

THE WITNESS: Yes.

THE CLERK: Please state your full name and

spell your last name for the record.

THE WITNESS: Pamela Marie Maples, M-a-p-l-e-s.

THE COURT: All right. Ms. Maples, they have

some questions of you. ;

May [sic] Voss, you may proceed.

MS. VOSS: Thank you.

DIRECT EXAMINATION

[4137] BY MS. VOSS:

Q Ms. Maples, do you know anybody by the name of

John Fry?

A No, ma’am.

Q Do you know somebody by the name of Tony

Hurtz?

A Yes.

Q How do you know Tony Hurtz?

A He’s my cousin.

Q And, uh, at some point did you hear him discuss

any homicides?

Yes.

And when was that?

It was in April of 94.

And, uh, who was, uh — where did this take place?

In Vallejo at my sister Tammy Terrazas’ (ph)

EER as

Q Were you involved in the conversation, or did you

just overhear it?

A Just overheard it.

Q And what did you hear Mr. Hurtz say in regards to

the homicide?

MR. KEALY: Objection, hearsay, relevance.

MS. VOSS: I’m making -

MR. KEALY: No foundation.

a [4138] THE COURT: We'll have to have the jury

_ step outside. Why don’t we take our recess now for the

jurors. Hopefully you can return at 20 to 3:00, and we'll

take care of our matters. Remember the admonition.

(Jurors leave)

THE COURT: All right. The jurors have left the

courtroom. We’re present with the defendant and counsel,

and the offer of proof as to Ms. Maples?

MS. VOSS: Ms. Maples overheard Mr. Fry — Mr.

Hurtz say that he was the one who killed a man and

woman in a car in Vacaville is my understanding.

THE WITNESS: Yes.

MS. VOSS: And that, uh, after he shot them,

that he was full of blood, and that he, uh, put mud on

himself or dirt on himself to cover up the mud — I mean to

cover up the blood basically.

THE COURT: Mr. Kealy?

CROSS-EXAMINATION

BY MR. KEALY:

Q When did this conversation take place?

A April of 94.

Q Who other than yourself was present?

A My sister Tammy, myself, my cousin, and a guy

named Steve.

Q Your cousin, you, Mr. Hurtz?

A Uh-huh.

Q Do you know who Steve is?

A No, am

[4139] Q And what part of the conversation did you

overhear? Were you there for the whole conversation?

A No, I was in and out of the room when they were

talking.

10

Q Well, what part — was the coriversation already

underway about murders —

Yes.

— when you came in?

Uh-huh.

Yes or no. We need a yes or no.

Yes.

So you don’t know how long they had been discuss-

ing, um, you know, whatever context — what you heard?

& > © & © P

You don’t know how that arose, do you?

A Bub-uh,

3 Q Yes or no, please.

A No.

"q Q And you say you were in and out. Did you stay for

_ the whole conversation?

A No.

Q_ So you heard snippets of a conversation, correct?

a A Yes.

Q How long were you in the room present — well,

actually when you come into the room, did you actually sit

down and join the conversation?

A No, I was just in and out of the room. I just lis-

__ tened to bits and pieces of it.

° s -@3 val cee

“4 iy a

- Apa

"r. i

[4140] Q So you don’t know what was said before you

were in the room, then you went out, when you came back

in, correct?

A Uh-huh.

Q Again, yes or no.

A Yes.

Q And you don’t know, I mean, whether this was a

serious discussion or not, correct?

A Yes.

Q You do?

A No, I don’t.

Q You don’t know. I mean if, um, he had said, you

know, I’m making a story or anything of the sort, correct?

A I don’t know.

MR. KEALY: Nothing further.

THE COURT: Ms. Voss?

REDIRECT EXAMINATION

BY MS. VOSS:

Q Uh, when you ~ you did hear Mr. Hurtz say that

he had killed two people?

A Yes.

Q Did he describe whether they were male or fe-

male?

A He said male and female.

Q

A

Q

12

Did he say who he shot first?

Yes.

Who did he say he shot first?

[4141]A The girl.

Q

> © > © > & © & & OB P

Did he say where he shot her?

In the head.

What did he say he did next?

Then he reached over and shot the guy.

And did he say what town they were in?

No.

Did he say — describe the area in any way?

Um, he just said it was in a parking place.

A parking area?

Yeah. Yes. 4

And did he say what he did after the homicides? -

Yes, he said he — he was full of blood after the §

shooting, and he ran through a field, threw mud up on a

himself, and then went to make the phone call for some-

body to pick him up.

MS. VOSS: Thank you. I have nothing further.

MR. KEALY: Yes, please, if I may?

THE COURT: You may.

13

RECROSS EXAMINATION

BY MR. KEALY:

Q When did Mr. Hurtz say that this murder had

taken place?

A I didn’t hear that.

Q So you don’t know whether he was talking about

something the week prior, two weeks prior, two months

prior, two years prior, ten years ago?

A Yes.

[4142]Q Did he say where this murder took place, in

what state?

A No.

Q It could have been in California, Arizona, New

York, anyplace, correct?

Yes.

Did, um, he say what day of the week it was?

No.

Did he say who was with him?

No.

oOo > © & © P

And had you ever heard Mr. Hurtz discussing

other criminal acts of his before?

A No.

Q@ You never heard him discuss other instances of

murders? \

A No.

14

Q So you don’t know what he was talking about on

this occasion, do you?

A No.

MS. VOSS: Your Honor, I’m going to object to

this.

MR. KEALY: I have no further questions.

THE COURT: Okay. Ms. Voss, any further

questions?

MS. VOSS: No, not for the purposes of this

hearing.

THE COURT: Then I don’t believe a sufficient

foundation has been laid to allow this witness to testify as

to alleged statements of Mr. Hurtz to be attributed to the

incidents with which our trial is concerned without more,

so _

[4143] MS. VOSS: Well, maybe I could ask a

couple more questions. I don’t know — I don’t understand

the Court’s ruling then.

THE COURT: You asked for a 402 hearing, and I

made a ruling. All I’m doing is saying, with what I’ve

heard, I would not allow this witness to testify as to what

she heard to attempt to tie it into the facts with which our

case is concerned.

FURTHER REDIRECT EXAMINATION

BY MS. VOSS:

Q Did he say whether the — where the people were?

Like were they in or out of a car?

15

A They were in the car.

Q Did he describe the car? Did he say whether —

THE COURT: You can’t lead her. If you want to

testify —

BY MS. VOSS:

Q Astation wagon or —

A Ican’t say —I mean, I don’t know.

Q_ All right. Um, did he say anything else that would

identify, uh, any other details about the hoiaicide?

A Not that I can think of.

Q Uh, is Mr. Hurtz, um - did he — has he lived in

this area, uh, all his life?

A Idon’t know, ’cause I wasn’t raised with him.

Q Okay. In the last few years do you know where

he’s lived?

A In Sacramento and Fairfield.

[4144] MS. VOSS: Thank you. I have nothing

further.

BY MR. KEALY:

Q You don’t keep track of Mr. Hurtz’s coming and

going, do you?

A No.

Q I mean, two and-a-half years ago, you don’t know

where he was, do you?

*

ae.

et

a

Pi

16

A_ I believe he lived in Sacramento for a little while,

then moved to Fairfield.

Q But I! mean, he could go anywhere, you know, for

any period of time and you won’t know, correct?

A No.

MR. KEALY: That’s all I have. Thank you.

THE COURT: All right. Then Ill sustained the

objection to —

MS. VOSS: Your Honor -

THE COURT: -— lack of foundation to allow

testimony as to alleged statements of Mr. Hurtz.

MS. VOSS: Well, your Honor, I would argue that

the, um — here we have enough detail to identify these

murders, and plus it would be taken in with other mur-

ders. The jury should be allowed to decide what weight is

given. We have a man and a woman who are killed in a

car. The woman is shot in the head. Uh, it’s done in a

parking area. And, uh, there’s certainly not a lot of homi-

cides like that that go on. I would argue that this — there

is certainly sufficient detail to allow this in, and it’s

certainly a direct admission [4145] by Mr. Hurtz that he

was involved in these homicides.

MR. KEALY: No, your Honor, I mean, there’s —

first of all, there’s been absolutely no showing that what-

ever statement was made related in any way to this. To

say this is a unique homicide, certainly is not. We cannot

pin it down in any period of time in the past five, ten,

fifteen years. I mean, she doesn’t know.

17

THE COURT: Okay. I’m going to sustain the

objection. You can always recall the witness. You have

tomorrow off. I don’t know what you can gather, but my

feeling is today I’m not going to allow this witness to

testify. You can give me authorities too with what was

stated today whether or not you have a law that supports

your position, but there’s not been a sufficient showing

that this testimony ties in with the facts of our case.

All right. Do you have another witness?

MS. VOSS: Yes, I do.

THE COURT: All right. You may step down. And

do counsel need five minutes?

MR. KEALY: If I could. Do we know who the

witness is, if I need to get a book?

MS. VOSS: Harmina Ross. Maybe we should do

the transcript right now.

THE COURT: We can do the transcript of Mr.

Radossevich.

Okay. Get that ready, and get your reader here, and

we'll stand in recess until a quarter to 3:00.

(Recess taken)

x *

*

March 16, 1995

4P.M.

Taped Interview

AM = Al McClellan 9

PM = Pamela Maples | 2

AM

PM

AM

PM

AM

PM

18

PAMELA MAPLES

The date is 3/16. It is 4 o’clock. This is a taped

interview with Pamela Maples.

Maples.

Pamela Maples. Oh, o.k., I’m sorry.

Maple syrup, maple tree.

O.K., and we are in Sacramento. Pam, we were

talking about a conversation — you were telling me

about a conversation that occurred, I believe it was,

last April.

Uh huh.

O.K., alright. Before I get into that, I would like to

say that I’ve talked to you, and I’ve told you that I

wanted to take a quick recorded statement regard-

ing the conversation that you heard involving Tony

Hurtz in Vallejo. Right?

Uh huh.

O.K., and I haven't, have I forced you, or coerced

you, or —

No.

O.K, so you're giving this statement freely, right?

Right.

I don’t have your hand behind your back, or —

Arr ‘is er a7 a ar 7, =") oe | Soe id i ad a i | ON, ee Yt aah ® 4 on. ORES Eee

19

No.

O.K. O.K. Pam, when was it that you heard this

conversation?

Inaudible.

Uh huh. What month?

It was in April.

O.K. And, what year was that?

84, I mean 94.

O.K., so that was April of last year?

Uh huh.

O.K., and where did the conversation take place?

At Los Cerritos in Vallejo, on Los Cerritos Street, at

my sister’s house.

O.K., what’s your sister’s name?

Tammy Treeace

O.K., and who was living with Tammy?

My cousin, Tony Hurtz, uh, her boyfriend, Ernie

Minara..

O.K., was it — do you know if it was day or night

time?

It was daytime.

O.K. Tell me what you heard. Tony was, uh, was he

sitting in the living room and —

No, we were all sitting, it used to be my sister's

daughter’s room. She had gave it up to Tony Hurtz

to rent out.

PM

AM

PM

AM

PM

AM

PM

AM

PM

AM

PM

AM

PM

AM

PM

AM

PM

AM

PM

AM

PM

AM

PM

AM

PM

ce 2 8 Re

EZ:

O.K.

And they, that was his room, then at the time. And

they were all sitting in there, and —

Who was in there?

Uhm, me, my sister, Tony, and a guy named Steve.

O.K. And, what did, what did you hear Tony — what

was he discussing?

He was discussing a murder case that had been

done. He was bragging about that he had done the

That he had shot people.

O.K. So, he told you that he had done the shoot-

ings?

Uh huh, he had reached in through the car window

and boom, boom.

So, he, you heard him say that the victims were in

a car?

Yes.

O.K. You were telling me he said something about

being dropped off.

Yes, he, I don’t know who, who had dropped him off,

but he said somebody had dropped him off and he

walked up to them and did what he had to do.

And what was that? Go ahead.

Shoot them.

O.K. Then what happened after that? What did he

say he did after he shot them?

EEZEZEZEZER

PM

AM

Ez

Uh, he shot, he shot them and went out.

Relax.

Inaudible.

Oh, your own words are just fine,

O.K. Is that all.

Uh huh.

Inaudible.

You want to take a break? Gather your thoughts.

Inaudible.

O.K., we’re going to take a break. It’s 4:04.

O.K., the time is 4:07, the date is 3/16, and Pam,

you wanted to take a minute to think because

things apparently started coming back to you.

Yeah.

O.K. So, I'll take this moment to ask you, have I

tried to put any words in your mouth, or asked you

to say anything?

No, you sure didn't.

O.K. O.K., when you were collecting your thoughts

then, and I know you got a little emotional, so

that’s very understandable. You, uh, Ill let you con-

tinue to tell me — you were saying that he men-

tioned the car.

Yeah, where he shot the people. He mentioned he

walked up to, I remember, somebody dropped him

off to this car, or to a certain point, and he walked

up to this car, to these people, took a gun, and shot

these people through the door of the driver’s, uh,

window, put his gun through and shot the driver,

cae 8 8 oe eee eee 8

ee

which was supposedly a girl, and the passenger

was a guy. And, it took more than one shot to shoot

him.

And that’s what he told you?

Uh huh. )

O.K. Well that was the conversation?

Yes, and I don’t know for sure if that was the way

he, the conversation was going.

O.K. And this was Tony Hurtz talking?

Yes.

O.K. Did he mention whether either of the victims

said anything when the shooting was taking place.

I don’t remember any of that.

O.K. Did he say whether there was any yelling, or

anything? Or do you not remember?

I thought there was some yelling, or something or

other, but I don’t remember what about.

O.K. Did he say whether there was anyone else

there, or any other cars? Or, did he not say?

I don’t remember him saying that.

O.K. Alright. What did he say he did after he did

the shootings?

He tock off running, and he was in the woods or

running through something that was to cover up

blood enough to, he found mud somewhere to cover

up the blood that was al] over his clothes from when

the blood splattered from the lady’s head and stuff, it

just splattered all over him, and he was trying to find

23

somewhere he could go to throw mud so he

wouldn't be noticed.

O.K. Is there anything else you can remember as

we sit here today?

Nah.

I can tell you’re getting upset.

Inaudible. No, not yet. No, I can’t remember any-

more than this.

O.K. The time is 4:10, the date is 3:16. This has

been an interview between myself and Pam Ma-

ples. My name is Al McClellan. Pam, let me think a

moment and see if I have anymore questions for

you. I just want to reiterate a little bit. He told you,

or you heard him say that the woman’s head ex-

ploded, or that —

Yes.

O.K.

He was saying he shot her in the head, on the side

of her head, and it just splattered all over the place.

Splattered. O.K. O.K. So he didn’t use the term

“exploded,” he said it “splattered”?

Exploded, splattered, I mean it’s all the same thing.

O.K. Alright, I was just taking back the word that I

had put out there cause I just wanted to be as accu-

rate as possible. O.K. And, after it splattered on

him, well he —

All over the place.

Did he describe what kind of car they were in?

No, I don’t remember, I, uh —

Ee ae RE ee ee Fe ee ee ee ee Oe ee ee

ee Zee 22

O.K.

I thought it was maybe a two-door he was saying,

or something like that, but I’m not for sure.

O.K.

I can’t say, you know, about the car.

O.K. Well, I don’t have anymore questions right

now. And, I'll be in touch with you, o.k.?

O.K.

This is the end of the interview.

25

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED IN OFFICIAL REPORTS

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION THREE

THE PEOPLE,

Plaintiff and Respondent,

A072396

(Filed March 30, 2000)

(Solano County

Super. Ct. No. C34299)

Vv.

JOHN FRANCIS FRY,

Defendant and Appellant.

John Francis Fry was convicted of two counts of first

degree murder and sentenced to life imprisonment without

the possibility of parole. On appeal, he contends we must

reverse iz conviction because there was insufficient

evidence to support the jury’s verdicts; the trial court erred

by’ ordering the jury to continue deliberations after nine

jurors informed the trial court they did not believe further

‘deliberations would be beneficial; the trial court erred in

its editing of certain testimony read-backs requested by

the jury; und the trial court erred in various of its rulings

dealing with the admission of witness testimony and cross-

examination. We affirm the judgment.

I. FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

.Because the central issue on this appeal is the suffi-

ciency of the evidence to support the murder conviction, we

are required to review the extensive evidence in the lengthy

trial record to determine whether the judgment was sup-

ported by substantial evidence. (People v. Hawthorne (1992)

4 > a - ~ .

ee aa a ee ee ea wee Se ee

<9 pre

a ee ee, Te ee ee, Lee DE. Te EE ee pm en VEC fF) ere Pa

26

4 Cal.4th 43, 63; People v. Johnson (1980) 26 Cal.3d 557,

576-578)

THE CRIME

Between 6:15 and 6:30 a.m. on October 27, 1992, the

bodies of James and Cynthia Bell’ were discovered in a

white 1978 Camaro automobile parked on the dirt shoul-

der of interstate 505 near the freeway intersection with

VacaValley Parkway. Both victims had been shot. Cyn-

thia’s body was on the driver’s side, with the window

down. The victim’s left arm was resting on the door sill,

and her body was turned to the left as though she had

been talking to someone outside the vehicle. According to

witnesses who first saw the body, the upper portion of

Cynthia’s head was “missing.” James’s body was in the

front passenger seat, slumped toward Cynthia’s body. The

car keys were in the ignition and turned to the “on” posi-

tion. However, the engine was not running; the gas tank

was empty, and the battery was dead. Black, sooty carbon

deposits were visible directly below the tailpipe, indicating

the car had been idling for some period of time at that

location. There was an empty paper soft-drink cup from a

Chevron minimart between James’s thighs.

When police officers and paramedics arrived at the

scene between 7:00 and 7:30 a.m., they found the bodies

“ashen,” “very cold,” “very firm,” and mottled or marbled in

appearance. Pictures were taken of the victims’ bodies and

the crime scene between 8:30 and 10:C0 a:m., before the

' At various points during the trial, Cynthia Bell was also referred

to as “Cynthia Edon.” For consistency, throughout this opinion we will

refer to the female victim in this case as Cynthia Bell.

27

bodies were moved or disturbed. By the time the coroners

removed the victims from the car between 11:00 and 11:30

a.m., the bodies were totally rigid and stiff, and retained

their postures when moved.

Three bullets were recovered: one from James’ cheek;

a second from the passenger dour; and a third from the

rear floor of the Camaro behind the passenger seat. Dr.

Aaron Lipton, the pathologist who performed the autop-

sies on the victims, testified that Cynthia had sustained

“massive damage” to the upper part of her face and skull,

“with a large area of these areas of the face and skull

absent ... [aJnd a large portion of the brain material

beneath the skull also absent.” Dr. Lipton opined that the

gunshot wound to Cynthia’s head, which was the cause of

her death, was the result of someone shooting her in the

face from only inches away. Under the circumstances, the

shooter “[plossibly” would be “covered with blood and

tissue” from the victim. James had a total of eight bullet

wounds or his head, chest, back and wrist; death resulted

from the wounds to the head and lungs. Dr. Lipton opined

that James’ wounds were caused by shots fired at him

from the driver’s side of the car.

Based on the photographs of the victims taken after

their bodies had been taken out of the Camaro, Dr. Lipton

opined that they appeared to be “in full rigor mortis,” a

condition which, in a temperate climate like that present

at the time and location of the crime, usually develops

“between six and twelve hours” after death and then

subsides within 36 hours. Rigor mortis would manifest by

a “very firm” condition of the muscles directly under the

skin. At the time he performed the autopsies, beginning at

approximately 8:30 a.m. on October 28, 1992, Dr. Lipton

noted only “mild” or “moderate” rigor mortis remaining in

“aay beta Rae

28

the victims’ bodies. On cross-examination, Dr. Lipton

testified that he originally estimated the victims had died

three or four hours before the bodies were found, based on

the pictures and the descriptions given by the police

investigators. However, he also testified there are many

different variables affecting the accuracy of any estimate

of the time of death based on rigor mortis.

Several witnesses testified to having seen an older-

model white Camaro, matching the description of the

victim’s car, parked at the crime scene between approxi-

mately 8:30 and 10:00 p.m. on October 26, 1992, in the

same location and position where it was subsequently

found with the victims’ bodies the next morning. At least

four different witnesses also described seeing an older-

mode] pickup truck with a light-colored camper shell

parked near the Camaro at some point during this time

period.

Two other individuals testified that they encountered

the victims and their white Camaro at a nearby conven-

ience store sometime between 8:40 and 9:00 p.m. on the

evening of October 26, 1992. Both witnesses testified they

saw James talking on a pay telephone, and heard Cynthia

say something referring to “Leroy.” Neither witness could

tell whether Cynthia was talking to James about someone

else named “Leroy,” or addressing James by his own

middle name of “Leroy.” A third witness saw both victims

sometime between 9:30 and 10:00 p.m. on October 26,

1992, at the Chevron minimart where she worked as a

cashier. James purchased a soft drink at the time.

29

PROSECUTION WITNESS TESTIMONY

Several prosecution witnesses testified to appellant’s

erratic behavior during the weeks prior to the murders.

Arleen Murphy had known appellant for 32 years, al-

though she had lost touch with him for about 10 years

until meeting him again in October 1992. On October 24,

1992, appellant drove Murphy to Davis in his blue truck

with a white camper shell on it. As he “always” did, appel-

lant had a gun in a case on the dashboard of his truck. He

was also carrying a second gun in his belt. After driving

Murphy out a back road and stopping in an isolated

location on a levee, appellant told Murphy he was upset

because he thought she was in league with their mutual

acquaintance Ryan Bernal to steal $1,300 from him, and it

was time for her “to go to sleep.” Murphy tearfully tried to

tell appellant she had no reason to steal from him. Saying

he “had to show somebody up north that he had killed”

her, appellant held his gun out of the window and fired

two shots into the air. Appellant then told Murphy “he was

going to get to the bottom of why ... he was being told

[Murphy] was going to steal” his money. Then appellant

drove Murphy back to a gas station where Murphy’s aunt,

Lynn Ruiz, worked. Appellant again told Murphy “(slome

people up north” were supposed to think she was dead,

and to stay in hiding for a couple of days “so he could get

to the bottom of this.”

Murphy next saw appellant on the morning of October

26, 1992, when she unexpectedly found him sitting on a

couch in the apartment of one of her friends where the

front “door had been kicked in” and was off its hinges.

Appellant told Murphy he had arranged a meeting at his

house with her aunt Ruiz, “to get to the bottom of this and

find out what was going on.” Appellant drove Murphy in

30

his truck back to his house. Murphy then paged Ruiz, who

arrived several hours later. At various points during the

afternoon, Murphy saw a number of people at appellant’s

residence, including appellant’s girlfriend Betty Jo Ring-

ler; appellant’s brother Edgar Fry; Shannon Nissen;

Debbie Mathies; and Bernal. Murphy did not participate

in the conversation between appellant and Ruiz. After

talking with Ruiz, appellant assured Murphy everything

“was going to be okay” between them. Around 5:30 p.m.,

shortly after Ruiz left, the two victims arrived and stayed

awhile. Murphy could not recall seeing them leave. Later,

appellant asked Murphy to purchase a gun for him from

David Sparks, one of two other men who had arrived at

the house, saying she “could get it cheaper” than he could.

Murphy declined.

In order “to make sure everything was cleared up,”

Murphy asked appellant if she was “free to go” Appellant

said, “Yes.” Then he told her he was “going to go kill”

Cynthia and James Bell because Cynthia had stolen from

him and broken into his house. Appellant had thought

Murphy knew the Bells, which had caused him to suspect

Murphy of being involved in a plot against himself. Appel-

lant wanted Murphy to go with him, but she refused.

Appellant then left with Bernal, and Murphy left appel-

lant’s house shortly thereafter.

On cross-examination, Murphy testified that she did

not immediately call the police to tell them about appel-

lant’s threat to kill the Bells because she “was really upset

and stressed” and “didn’t think he was serious.” She did

not tell the police about appellant’s statement for at least a

month because appellant had not yet been arrested and

she “was really scared” of him.

Pe ee ee Ee ee er eh ee Se RP ee RS SS nee REREL Lat a ee On cee. ee eee

. ; -

31

Lynn Ruiz, Murphy's aunt, had been friends with

victim Cynthia Bell for 15 years, and had known James

Bell for about 5 years. On October 24, 1992, she saw

Murphy and appellant at the gas station where she was

working. Murphy appeared “nervous” and “antsy,” like she

was “in a hurry or bothered or something.” At approxi-

mately 1:30 p.m. on October 26, 1992, Ruiz received a page

from a telephone number she did not recognize. When

Ruiz returned the call, appellant identified himself, stated

he had asked Murphy to place the page for him, and said

he wanted to talk with Ruiz about Cynthia. Appellant gave

Ruiz his address and asked her to stop by his home after

she got off work. Ruiz agreed.

When Ruiz arrived at approximately 4:00 p.m., she

found appellant outside his house by his “old,” “bluish”

pickup truck. Appellant told Ruiz he was “upset” with

Cynthia because she owed him $600 to $800 for drugs and

“(hje thought she was trying to rip him off.” Appellant

described an incident in which Cynthia had entered his

house without his permission and “was shocked” when she

opened his bedroom door and found him there. He believed

Cynthia was trying to steal methamphetamine from him,

and he wanted to talk to Ruiz about it because both

Cynthia and Murphy had mentioned her name and “re-

spected [her] opinion.” Ruiz agreed that Cynthia was

probably trying to steal drugs from appellant, and told

him to “(kliss her off,” “stay away from her,” and “ignore

her.” Appellant told Ruiz he had been upset with Murphy

because he thought she was involved in a conspiracy with

Bernal and others “to rip him off also,” and described the

incident in which he had taken “her for a ride out to the

country,” “scared her and threatened her,” and “took his

gun and told her he was going to blow her away ... if she

4 ~* 7 Pay * +. . ’ 5 & =e Z - $ -

eer Ne eae ee ee eg ee TOD ath! age lg ae ne ie Ot ye ee ee” be ee

32

didn’t explain. ...” He had pointed his gun at Murphy’s

head, and had then fired “a couple shots out the window to

scare her or something.” Appellant told Ruiz that Murphy

and Bernal “had to prove their loyalty.” He “wanted to

blow everybody away,” and had only refrained from killing

Murphy because he had “known her for 20 years” since

they “went to school together.”

The next day, Ruiz heard about the discovery of the

bodies by the freeway, and was worried it was Cynthia and

James Bell. She drove to the victims’ apartment to check

on them. She found the apartment dark and a police

officer present. She told the officer about her conversation

the day before with appellant, in which appellant had been

upset with the Bells because he thought they were trying

to steal drugs from him, and “he wanted to blow everybody

away.” The following day Ruiz gave a taped interview to

the police in which she stated that appellant had talked

about taking his gun and blowing Cynthia’s head off.

Lynn Reed was another long-time friend of Cynthia

Bell and Murphy. She had purchased drugs from appellant

as well as used them with him. In the early afternoon on

October 25, 1992, appellant came to Reed’s house looking

for Murphy. Appellant was “[{u}pset, angry, [and] frus-

trated” because, he said, Cynthia had stolen “[a] large

amount of drugs ... from his house.” Appellant told Reed

that Cynthia had come into his house by a sliding glass

door when she thought he was not at home and had stolen

drugs from him while he hid in his closet and watched her.

Appellant came by Reed’s residence again around 6:30

p.m. on October 26, 1992, driving his “baby blue” pickup

truck with a camper shell on it, and accompanied by a

“young man.” Appellant wanted to purchase an ounce of

methamphetamine for $900. He offered a gun for collateral

Re Oe a eS ee ne Ee a Oe eee

Le ee ee ee ee

Re eh aR cal a Ne oe ia i aN te Ghia oe | > rs

33 )

when Reed replied that amount of drug would cost $1,100.

When no agreement was reached, appellant left appearing

“really anxious and frustrated.”

Kathleen (Debbie) Mathies’s testimony at an earlier

trial was introduced through reading a transcript.’

Mathies testified that she was alone with appellant in his

house a “couple” of days before the murders when someone

knocked on the door. Mathies could see through a window

that it was Cynthia Bell, and she informed appellant of

that fact. Appellant told Mathies not to answer the door.

Mathies went upstairs to see appellant in his bedroom,

and closed the bedroom door. Cynthia went around to the

back of appellant’s house and entered through a sliding

glass patio door. She then came upstairs and opened

7 appellant’s bedroom door. Cynthia appeared “shocked” and

“surprised” to find that someone was there, and said she

just wanted “to see what was going on” at the house. After

a few minutes, Cynthia left. Later, Mathies overheard

appellant tell Ringler that he was going to kill Cynthia

because “she did him wrong” over “[djrugs and money.”

Mathies was also present at appellant’s house on October

26, 1992, the day of the murders. At some point that day,

she again heard appellant say he was going to kill Cyn-

thia, and complain that Cynthia “owed him money for

fl ee

ee eT? See ee ghee sn

* In connection with Mathies’ testimony, the trial court told the

jury: “Counsel and the Court have been going over a transcript of the

prior testimony in September of 1994 of the witness Debbie Mathies.

4 We had anticipated that Debbie Mathies would be here earlier this

a week, and then even as late as today, and counsel have agreed that we

can read her testimony and make a finding that she’s unavailable for

trial because of her voluntary use of drugs aid unabie to testify. And

the fact that she is unavailable is in no way connected to any acts or

influence of the defendant, Mr. Fry. This lady is unavailable for the

reasons of her own voluntary use of drugs.”

cs - » s “ro

ye, SS ah Pe A ee, a ee ee ee ee | — a) he el ee ea eS ee ee Se eee) oP ‘

drugs, and they are lying and doing him wrong.” Mathies

had been using methamphetamine, marijuana and alcohol

during the entire time period at issue.

In addition to Murphy, Ruiz, and Mathies, three other

witnesses — Shannon Nissen, David Sparks and Edgar Fry

— testified about appellant’s actions in the days leading up

to and including October 26, 1992, the date of the murder.

A few days before the killings, appellant informed Nissen

that Cynthia owed him $800 for drugs, and that Cynthia

had told his girlfriend Ringler that appellant was sleeping

with Cynthia. Appeliant “wasn’t happy” about this. Appel-

lant’s brother, Edgar Fry, testified that during the day on

October 26, appellant told him that “a day or so before this

time” Cynthia had come into his residence without per-

mission, and he had caught her coming up stairs. Appel-

lant appeared “[ijrritated”; he told Edgar he believed

Cynthia had intended “[t]o steal his drugs.” Appellant had

a .357 revolver which he “usually” took with him whenever

he left the house, carried in a soft tan-colored canvas case.

On October 26, 1992, Nissen was at appellant’s

residence with appellant, Bernal, Murphy, appellant’s

brother Edgar, and Ringler and her two girls. Victims

Cynthia and James Bell were also present for some period

of time during the day. In addition, Sparks and his friend

Jason Gibeau arrived at some point in the evening in a

dark minitruck. Sparks was carrying a .38-caliber pistol

and approximately $1,000 in cash, because he was inter-

ested in purchasing an ounce of methamphetamine. There

was some discussion between Sparks and appellant about

the latter purchasing Spark’s gun, but no sale of the gun took

place. There was also some discussion of purchasing drugs at

appellant’s house, but Sparks declined because he already

had a deal set up elsewhere. After about 30 minutes, Gibeau

and Sparks left in Gibeau’s truck. Bernal asked appellant

if they were meeting at “505.” Appellant replied, “That will

work.” Shortly thereafter, between 7:00 and 7:30 p.m.,

appellant retrieved his gun, and he and Bernal left in

appellant’s truck after telling Edgar he “was going to go

make a drug deal, do some business.” At some point

thereafter, Cynthia and James Bell also left appellant’s

house.’ Edgar testified that Cynthia told him she was

going to meet appellant near the “Wild Oates” store. The

victims left in their automobile, a light-colored 1970's

Camaro.

Sparks testified that after he and Gibeau left in the

latter’s truck and were on the Interstate 80 freeway to

Vacaville, a vehicle pulled up very rapidly behind them. As

it came “[aJs close as you could get without touching,”

Sparks recognized appellant’s truck. Both vehicles pulled

over to the side of the road, and Sparks got out of Gibeau’s

truck to talk with appellant. Appellant apologized to

Sparks that “things . . . didn’t work out at the house,” and

expressed interest in selling him some methamphetamine.

Sparks agreed to ride in appellant’s truck and talk with him

on condition that appellant would drive him to Vacaville.

* Like much of the testimony in this case, there was some conflict

in the witnesses’ recollection of when the victims arrived at appellant’s

house on October 26, 1992, and when they left. As seen, Murphy

testified the Bells arrived at approximately 5:30 p.m. shortly after

Ruiz’s departure, and she did not see them leave. Nissen testified that

Cynthia and James Bell were present at appellant's house during the

afternoon, and that they left about half an hour after appellant left with

Bernal. On the other hand. Edgar Fry testified that the Bells were not

at appellant’s residence when he arrived there at approximately 5:00

p.m., and did not show up until 30 to 45 minutes after appellant left

with Bernal. According to Edgar, the victims stayed for another 30 to 45

minutes and then left.

Bernal got out of appellant’s truck and left with Gibeau in

the latter’s truck.

When Sparks got into appellant’s truck, he saw a soft

gun carrying case on the seat or the dashboard. Appellant

proceeded to drive Sparks around for about 45 minutes,

persistently trying to convince Sparks to “put some money

up” and “go in” with him on purchasing a larger quantity

of drugs, stopping at various locations to talk with differ-

ent individuals about buying drugs or selling Sparks’ gun,

and ignoring Sparks’ repeated requests to drive him to

Vacaville. Sparks began to feel “really uncomfortable.”

Finally, when appellant stopped at a gas station and

walked in, Sparks got out of appellant’s truck, approached

a motorist, and obtained a ride to Vacaville.

Both Nissen and Edgar Fry testified that Bernal

returned to appellant's house sometime later in the eve-

ning, stayed for a few minutes, and then left again. Hours

later that night appellant returned, driving his light blue

pickup truck with the camper shell on it. Nissen, Edgar,

Mathies, and Ringler were all at appellant’s house when

he returned. Eczar, who was not wearing a watch, esti-

mated that it was approximately 10:30 p.m. when appel-

lant returned.

Nissen, Edgar and Mathies each gave somewhat

differing accounts of appellant’s actions and appearance

upon his return home. Nissen testified that appellant was

wearing a T-shirt, blue jeans and tennis shoes, and was

carrying his gun case. According to Nissen, there were

spots of blood on appellant’s shirt, his shoes, his forehead,

the gun case, and “maybe his pants.” Appellant appeared

“tired” and “kind of nervous”; he went to the kitchen,

wiped his face and forehead with a towel, and then walked

;

|

4

:

|

4

Vee te ae Sere a! CU CT keh le le

SAS Peg ae

4

|

:

)

’

;

é

i

by

7

37

up to his bedroom. Edgar testified that appellant was

wearing “[pJants with no shirt,” and carrying a “satchel or

briefcase.” He immediately went “straight upstairs” and

into the bathroom off the master bedroom, from which

Edgar heard running water. In response to Edgar’s ques-

tion, appellant said he had taken his shirt off because

there was blood on it. Edgar saw a large spot of blood on

appellant’s pants. Mathies saw appellant drive up and

then sit in his truck for a while before coming in the house

and going upstairs to the bathroom, where he washed

blood off his hands. Mathies could not remember whether

appellant was wearing a shirt.

Nissen, Mathies, Edgar and Ringler all followed

appellant upstairs to his bedroom. Mathies testified that

after coming out of the bathroom, appellant said that he

had “killed her,” and “had to do James, too,” He reported

that “[hje blew their heads off with a gun,” and that

Cynthia’s head “looked like spaghetti.” He had shot James

Bell “a couple of times in the back” after missing with his

first shot. According to Nissen, appellant “kind of smiled”

and asked him if he “had ever seen what a .357 does to

someone’s head at close range.” When Nissen shook his

head “[nJo” appellant said “It’s not pretty.” ‘Referring to

Cynthia Bell, appellant stated “we wouldn’t have to worry

about her anymore.” When appellant announced that the

Bells “were taken care of,” Edgar asked him if he “had

done” Cynthia. Appellant said, “Yes.” According to Edgar,

appellant said he told Cynthia “she shouldn’t have fucked

with him,” and told James “he was sorry” before shooting

him. Like Nissen, Edgar also testified that appellant

commented that “you couldn’t imagine what a .557 would

do ... [tlo somebody’s skull.” Appellant pulled a nickel-

plated .357 gun out of the gun case and unloaded it. The

et tie ee

’ Se ait

Pa ore nae See Pe

ES” ee RE eS em

Pee A ee,

Es LES LS Eee SET eee ae ee Se NTS See NSIS WS Lge re a

a ee Se ee

( (aero St

oe on e

=

38

gun contained four spent shells and two live shells, which

both Edgar and Nissen described as .357 “wadcutters.”

Appellant asked Nissen if he wanted to clean the gun.

When Nissen declined, appellant handed the gun to Edgar,

who cleaned it for him. Both Nissen and Edgar testified -

they saw what appeared to be blood on the gun. In addi-

tion, Mathies saw blood on appellant’s wrist watch, which

appellant also asked Edgar to clean off.

. Both Mathies and Edgar Fry testified that appellant

and Edgar discussed what to do with appellant’s bloody

clothes. Edgar told appellant that if he “did do it,” then “he

better get rid of his clothes.” Edgar volunteered to take

them with him when he left. At first appellant resisted the

idea, because he had few pairs of pants and the ones he

was wearing “were good pants.” Eventually appellant gave

Edgar a paper bag, which Edgar assumed contained

appellant’s clothing. He disposed of it in a dumpster. He

knew that he could get in trouble for destroying evidence,

but did it because he wanted to help his brother. Appellant

left the house again around 11:30 p.m., saying he was

going to the Chevron station to “make a transaction.”

Appellant returned about 20 minutes later. Edgar left

appellant’s house between 1:00 and 2:00 a.m. that morn-

ing.

Nissen spent the night at appellant’s house. The next

morning, appellant asked him to help take the camper

shell off appellant’s pickup truck. Appellant was in a

hurry; he told Nissen he “didn’t want people to recognize

the truck.” While they were working on the truck, appel-

lant told Nissen “that he shot [Cynthia Bell] and her

boyfriend.” Appellant described shooting Cynthia once in

the head from the driver’s side of the car, after which

James Bell had turned toward appellant, put his hands in

eae ee eee ee es ee AML IS ot eee Ta by ol eee PAR eT eee & Fee _-"

: . : ve Oil tai 795 f.. ~ y = 3 t a

39

the air, and said “What the fuck are you doing.” Appellant

then demonstrated how he had shot James three times,

“pop, pop, pop.’” Nissen did not report appellant’s confes-

sion when the police questioned him about the murders on

October 28 as they served a search warrant on appellant’s

residence, because appellant was his friend, and he “didn’t

want him to get in trouble.” In addition, Ringler and

appellant both told Nissen that, if asked, he should say

appellant was home at the time of the murders. A “couple

days” later the police returned to the house to talk with

Nissen, and threatened to arrest him for possession and

use of methamphetamine. At that point, Nissen decided to

tell the police what he knew in order to avoid arrest. On

cross-examination, Nissen admitted reading press ac-

counts of the killings before he spoke to the police. How-

ever, he testified he never felt threatened by the police to

tell anything but the truth, and that he did tell the truth.

Like Nissen, Mathies did not contact the police de-

spite her knowledge of appellant’s involvement in the

murders. She testified she did not contact the police and

initially denied knowing anything because she “was

scared.” She denied changing her story because the police

had threatened to arrest her and take her children away.

When she first heard appellant threaten to kill Cynthia

Bell, Mathies did not believe it, and simply thought it was

“an expression.” On cross-examination, Mathies testified

that Nissen was not in the bedroom when appellant was

cleaning up after the killings.

Edgar Fry testified that during a conversation with

appellant after the police first searched appellant’s resi-

dence and seized his clothing, appellant told Edgar that he

had thrown the .357 into the bushes at the Chevron

station after he drove by his house and saw police activity

mes «free.

(f2 )F = Cee

ne NS Et ead oie

ae a ae

there. Appellant said someone named “Mike” picked up the

gun for him. A few days after the killing, while they were

working on a car together, appellant told Edgar that he

had the power “[t]o give or take life.” Appellant told Edgar

to “[j]ust keep [his] mouth shut” if contacted by the police.

Edgar intended to do so, until contacted by the police and

offered immunity for telling what he knew. The police

never asked him to say anything but the truth, and never

threatened him other than to tell him what he “was up

against.”

During the search of appellant’s home on October 28,

1992, police found a gun box labeled “‘Ruger, Security-six,

.357 Magnum Cal. stainless steel.’” The police also 1vund a

metal box containing 12 bullets on a bookcase in appel-

lant’s bedroom, a loaded Winchester .22-caliber rifle in the

living room closet, a “pipe bomb,” and a loaded .22-caliber

revolver under the seat of a red Chevrolet pickup truck

parked at appellant’s residence. The police were not able

to find any other gun on the premises. There was a white

camper sheil in appellant’s backyard. There were two

small .3 gram packages of methamphetamine on the

premises, as well as marijuana and drug paraphernalia.

Appellant arrived on the premises while the officers were

serving the warrant. There was a loaded .22-caliber pistol

in his jacket pocket and five additional rounds of .22-

caliber ammunition. The police also found a 12-gauge

shotgun and .22-caliber rifle in the blue pickup truck

appellant was driving upon his arrival. The white camper

shell was subsequently found to fit the blue pickup truck.

Appellant was arrested for gun possession and then

released.

Police records showed that appellant had registered a

Ruger Security Six .357-magnum pistol on May 22, 1991.

_ » *. —_ ’ »

Oe gee a ee ee a eT

a ee PE ee ee eC a ee Lae Se ee RI en ee Ne Seen NS ane

41

The gun was light silver in color, with a “brushed,” “satin

finish” and black rubber grips. An analysis of three of the —

bullets found at the crime scene showed that two were

“semi-wadcutter” style, and one was a “round-nosed” style

bullet. All three were fired from a gun with lands and

grooves matching those of either a .38-special or a .357-

magnum.

On November 10, 1992, Dixon police received a

request to “be on the lookout” for appellant in connection

with the murders. Police officers observed appellant the

next morning and followed him into a gas station. When

asked to stay in his vehicle and keep his hands where the

police could see them, appellant accelerated his vehicle

and quickly drove out of the gas station. The police acti-

vated lights and siren and attempted to execute a traffic

stop, but appellant drove on through a stop sign and

eniered the freeway. Appellant accelerated to a speed of

about 90 miles an hour before police were able to force him

to stop. Appellant was taken into custody.

The prosecution offered the testimony of Robert

Jacobitz, a jailhouse informant. Jacobitz testified that

while they were incarcerated in the same facility, appel-

lant asked his advice on joining a prison gang called the

Aryan Brotherhood. Jacobitz told appellant that one had

to “make your bones” by killing someone before being

allowed to join. While together in the law library, appel-

lant told Jacobitz about his case, and said his brother was

“the star witness in the case against him.” The more

appellant talked about his brother, the angrier and more

vehement he became, stating: “ ‘My brother has cost me 2-

1/2 years of my life, and now he’s trying to cost me my

whole life.’” Jacobitz told appellant he should have his

brother “whacked, taken care of,” i.e., killed. Appellant

ES EE Ee AL) hee Ee RR Le DT oT Cea Ne a Re a Cane Oe ee Se, Cee ee eee ee ee ah ee

42

replied that this would not help because the prosecutor

could simply use his brother’s testimony from the two

previous trials; “[wJhat he needed was his brother to

change his testimony to offset other witnesses.” Jacobitz

told appellant he could arrange to have people call on his

brother to coerce him to change his story, possibly by

cutting off his finger. Appellant repeatedly stated his

intention to kill his brother after he had “let some time

pass.”

Jacobitz testified that appellant discussed the facts of

his case with him in detail. Appellant said he had been

“doing a lot of crazy things” during the time just before the

murders, “going around kicking people’s doors in” and

“putting guns to their heads.” Because Cynthia Bell owed

him money and he had caught her breaking into his house,

appellant arranged to meet her in a secluded “undevel-

oped” area of Vacaville with the intent to kill her. When

appellant arrived, the Bells were already there. Appellant

told Jacobitz that he walked up to the Bell’s car, leaned

down and kissed Cynthia on the cheek while she sat in the

driver’s seat, said something to her, and then “blew her

head off” by shooting her once with his .357 handgun.

Appellant then reached across her, and said:

“T’m sorry, James. You're in the wrong place at the wrong

time.’” He then shot James three times. Appellant told

Jacobitz that a piece of Cynthia’s skull was found 35 feet

away, and that he had blood on his shirt, pants and shoes.

Appellant told Jacobitz the killings were “almost like a

sexual rush.” When he returned to his house he was

“pumped up” and splattered with blood, and made in-

criminating statements to his brother and other witnesses.

Among other things, appellant told Jacobitz he had said

“*You should have seen what a .357 does to a girl’s head.’”

Te a Se ee Ye ee ee ee ee ee ee NS en A Eee ee ee ee ee

43

Appellant told Jacobitz his brother had disposed of his

bloody clothes in a trash can, and that his girlfriend’s “best

friend,” a “black male,” had the murder weapon in his

possession.

Jacobitz and appellant discussed the various wit-

nesses testifying against him and what could be done with

respect to each of them. Appellant reportedly thought

Nissen could not “be tampered with” because he was

currently living out of state. Appellant thought that

because of her heroin addiction, Mathies might be vulner-

able to a “hot shot,” or mortal overdose. Appellant also told

Jacobitz that an out-of-state truck driver claimed to be an

eyewitness to the murders and was testifying that appel-

lant was not the murderer. Appellant and Jacobitz “were

both laughing” about the truck driver’s testimony. Appel-

lant gave Jacobitz the names of his brother, his brother’s

wife, and the fact they had three children. Jacobitz took

notes and wrote down the names. Later, appellant himself

wrote down Edgar’s name and address on a piece of paper

and gave it to Jacobitz. The piece of paper was admitted in

evidence at trial.

Jacobitz testified that he decided to contact the

authorities and become an informant after appellant told

him he would be willing to harm his brother’s children.

Jacobitz had recently become a father for the first time,

and “felt that was wrong.” Jacobitz sent the district

attorney an eight-page letter detailing what appellant had

said, without asking for any compensation or reward.‘ In

* According to Jacobitz: “When he told me he had no problem if. . .

the .. . last alternative is using the kids to get his freedom, I know that

John Fry is out of control and needs to be stopped.”

i og sO wae > eae &

Oe eR ee ee ee TEE See OT EE? al OP EES Te ean Re nee Se. | nee a ee

nd @: Pree hi woe vic en

Pe TE Le oe eT ae ee ae Nee Oe te ee a ee AUS xt

A ee! ee

ae wie, eS eee

5 er PR Pee AF

bs

>:

J

:

bi,

h!

?

>

c

‘4

‘,

=

3

“s

Be gy eg Pe DP ee Ee ee Ge Tee, ee gee eee NS Te eee ke

44

return for additional cooperation, Jacobitz subsequently

received diversion to a counseling program for a pending

domestic abuse charge, and the district attorney agreed to

recommend that Jacobitz’s parole not be revoked. As a

result, Jacobitz testified, he had “been branded a snitch,”

which “could be a death sentence in prison.” During the

period prior to trial Jacobitz had been isolated from the

rest of the jail population for his own protection. On cross-

examination, Jacobitz admitted convictions for robbery

and larceny, and acknowledged that he had had access to

one of appellant’s newspaper clippings on this case.

During the course of renovations to a commercial

building at 5141 Quinn Road in Vacaville in May 1993,

appellant’s gun, a .357 Ruger, was discovered in the metal

“channel” of a door frame, inside its tan canvas case. The

gun was not loaded, but a speed loader found with the gun

contained six bullets. Of the bullets, two were .38’s and

four were .357’s. According to the individual who found the

gun, the bullets were “blunt” or “flat” on top. The building

where the gun was found was approximately one mile

from the location of the murders. The gun was confirmed

to be the weapon appellant had previously registered with

the Vacaville police. Edgar Fry testified that the gun found

in the building on Quinn Road was the same gun he

cleaned off on the night of the killings. He also testified

that the canvas gun case “looks familiar” and “very well

could be” appellant’s. An expert criminalist testified that

one of the bullets recovered from the victims had definitely

been fired from appellant’s gun. Two other bullets found at

the crime scene “could have been fired from” that gun as

well, although there were too few markings on the slugs to

be certain they had come from appellant’s gun.

gee RY eee Ts ae See

a ee a ee

my —

——e ee

Se ee eee ee ee a ee ee Se Gee wee

45

Michael Walker testified that in late 1992 he rented

space at 5141 Quinn Road for a general repair shop. For

3 the last three months of the year, Walker shared the space

with one “Mike Turner.” In exchange for his oral promise

to pay half the rent, Turner had his own key to the rental

unit, “stored some stuff” there, and came and went as he

pleased. Near the end of December 1992, Turner “stopped

coming around” because of a dispute with Walker over

money Walker knew appellant from when they both drove

trucks for the same company. About one month before the

murders, appellant and Ringler “stopped by” Walker's

shop on Quinn Road when he was there. Michael Turner

was seen standing across the street from appellant’s house

at the time the police served the search warrant on Octo-

ber 28, 1992. After the police spoke with Turner briefly, he

walked away from the area.

Douglas Carter, a dispatcher at the trucking company

for which both Walker and appellant had worked, testified

that he helped Walker move his possessions out of the

Quinn Road unit in March 1993. One or two days before

appeliant’s arrest, Carter saw appellant outside the offices

of the trucking company. Knowing that the police were

looking for appellant, Carter asked him “if he killed the

kid out there in Yolo County,” referring to a recent shoot-

ing death. Appellant said, “No,” but added that “he killed

the people in Vacaville.” Appellant told Carter that the

people he killed had been “harassing him and his kids,”

and that “he just went to his pickup, got his gun and killed

them.” When Carter asked him “‘... What were you

thinking,” appellant replied, “‘I just messed up.’” When

Carter told appellant “he should turn himself in,” appel-

lant said, “‘No,’... ‘they won’t catch me.’” Carter did not

go to the police with this information because he did not

‘

ti

wh

3

a

1

:

a

4

|

gr Lee a ee Oe eee ett ue

Cae ie =7 2 .

SS ee Oy eA ERE Pe ea E eee

© ey alee,

;

3

+.

3

:

7

46

want to get involved. He also did not know whether to

believe appellant’s confession, “because sometimes he

seemed kind of full of hot air.”

DEFENSE WITNESS TESTIMONY

In his defense, appellant offered evidence and testi-

mony to show that (a) he was not present at the scene of

the crime when it occurred; (b) the prosecution’s witnesses

were not credible: and (c) at least three other people (Daryl

Borelli, Ryan Bernal, and Anthony Hurtz) were linked to

the murders, and had means, motive, and opportunity to

commit them.

Appellant’s girlfriend Ringler and her daughter

Cynthia C. gave testimony on the identities of the persons

coming, going and staying at appellant’s residence on

October 26, 1992. Cynthia C. confirmed the testimony of

Nissen and Edgar Fry that appellant left the house at

approximately 7:00 p.m., shortly after Sparks and Gibeau

left; and that Cynthia and James Bell were in the house

for at least 20 to 30 minutes between 7:30 and 8:00 p.m.

before leaving. Cynthia C. also confirmed that appellant

generally carried his handgun on the dashboard of his

truck. Ringler similarly testified that appellant “always

had his gun with him,” and he “always” took the gun with

him when he got out of his truck. However, on the day

after the murders, when appellant drove Ringler to work

in his pickup truck, Ringler could not recall whether he

brought his gun with him.

At trial, Cynthia C. claimed she could place appel-

lant’s return to the house at precisely 10:01 p.m., because

she turned around and looked at the clock when he came

in the door. According to Cynthia C, there was nothing

baa Stee} ie “ > 2 Pye “

— . WO a. ee ae ee ee re eee oe ee

;

Saree a a ee *

I 8 I EL ee AO Pe ee ee ot ee eS

ie aS tial » |

! 47

unusual about appellant’s appearance; he was carrying a

black briefcase, wearing jeans and a T-shirt, and appeared

“casual.” She did not see any blood on him. On the other

hand, she admitted originally telling the police she could

only estimate the time of appellant’s return home as

between 9:30 and 10:15 p.m. because she did not look at

the clock. Cynthia C. also claimed that Bernal came to the

house at 11:00 p.m., about one hour after appellant re-

turned; appellant never left the house again that night;

and she would have seen appellant leave because he would

have walked by where she was watching television.

Ringler testified that on October 23, 1992, she and

appellant agreed that Ringler should “take over” appel-

lant’s drug business and collect his debts because appel-

lant “wasn’t doing very well.” After that, “everybody had to

deal with” her. According to Ringler, she and Cynthia Bell

were “[vjery good friends”; although she had a serious

“fight” with Cynthia on October 24, 1992, they resolved it

the next day. Ringler testified that she did not know about

the incident in which Cynthia had “broken into” appel-

lant’s residence until Cynthia herself told her about it.

Ringler did not know what Cynthia owed appellant,

although she knew Cynthia owed money for a “sixteenth”

of methamphetamine Ringler had “front[ed]” her. Ringler

testified that appellant never gave Cynthia a hard time

about the money Cynthia owed him, and she never heard

appellant ever say he wanted to harm or kill Cynthia or

James Bell. However, Ringler conceded that appellant was

angry with Cynthia because of her attempt to break into

his residence, with what he believed was an intent to steal

drugs; indeed, as a result of that incident, Cynthia and

appellant were not speaking to each other and appeared to

be trying to avoid each other.

:

;

|

;

.

y

|

:

:

.

|

:

:

|

48

Ringler testified that appellant came home between

10:00 and 10:30 p.m. on October 26, 1992, wearing a T-

shirt and pair of jeans. Appellant was “tweaking” on

methamphetamine, but otherwise appeared “basically

normal! for him at that point in time.” Ringler did not see

any blood on appellant’s shirt or pants, or anything in his

hands. After a while, appellant went to the Chevron

station, and then returned after about 15 minutes. He

went straight upstairs without washing himself. Ringler

denied hearing appellant talk about harming Cynthia or

James Bell that night, hearing any discussion of what to

do with appellant’s clothing, or seeing any blood being

cleaned off appellant’s body, gun or watch. Ringler ac-

knowledged that she knew Michael Turner; Turner was “a

good friend” of hers; he was present at the house on the

night of the search warrant; she introduced Turner to

appellant; and she saw Turner alone at the “shop” on

Quinn Road where the gun was later discovered. However,

Ringler denied ever asking Turner to do anything with

appellant’s gun. Ringler admitted that she continued to

have a relationship with appellant at the time of trial, and

that she lied to the police to protect him when initially

questioned about his whereabouts on the night of the

murders.

Manuel Michel, another “good friend” of appellant,

testified that he saw appellant at a liquor store between

6:00 and 7:00 p.m. on October 26, 1992. Later, he went by

appellant’s house. According to Michel, he was already at

appellant’s residence when appellant returned that eve-

ning, and “was the first one [appellant] saw when he

opened the door.” He and appellant went upstairs, where

they consumed methamphetamine. Michel denied that

appellant had any blood on him at the time.

49

Pete Joy testified that he met appellant at a Chevron

station sometime between 10:00 and 10:30 p.m. on October

26, 1992, to buy some methamphetamine. They left around

11:00 p.m. Shannon Joy testified that appellant looked

“jumpy and a little shaky.” She and her husband sent

appellant $80 after his house had been searched, and let

him stay in their mobile home.

Ronald Lewis, who had known appellant for about five

years as of the time of trial, testified that he saw appellant

and Mathies the day after Lewis heard about the murders.

Lewis testified that Mathies had a “very bad” reputation

for truthfulness.

Charles Morton, a criminalist expert in firearms,

testified that there were insufficient markings on the

bullets found at the crime scene to match them to appel-

lant’s gun. Although he conceded there was “significant

agreement” between test bullets fired from appellant’s gun

and the bullets that killed the victims, he opined the

agreement was not “sufficient” to make an id..ntification.

APPELLANT’S TESTIMONY

Appellant testified in his own defense. In October

1992, he owned a 1977 “[plowder blue” Ford pickup truck

with a white camper shell. At the time he also owned five

guns, including a Ruger .357-magnum. Appellant denied

killing either Cynthia or James Bell, threatening to do so,

or talking with anyone about having done so.

Appellant testified that he began selling drugs to

support his own methamphetamine habit after he was

fired from his truck driving job in September 1992, He was

50

not very successful at it, and was “slowly losing ground.”

Appellant met Cynthia Bell because she was a friend of his

girlfriend, Ringler. He would “front” one-sixteenth of an

ounce of methamphetamine to Cynthia, who would in turn

“cut” the drug, divide it into smaller parcels, and then pay

him back after selling it herself. Although Cynthia was in

debt to appellant for as much as $700, appellant claimed

she would always pay him back. Just before she was

murdered, Cynthia owed him between $150 and $170.

Appellant claimed that he never threatened Cynthia about

the money she owed him.

Appellant described the incident on October 23, 1992,

in which Cynthia Bell “entered my house without asking,

or broke into the house, however you want to say it.” He

claimed that he did not get angry at Cynthia; instead, he

was “more amused” by the incident. After Cynthia found

him in his bedroom, he “fronted” her a quantity of

methamphetamine, injected her with some of the drug,

and then socialized with her and James Bell. He claimed

that after that, everything “was fine” between them.

Appellant had known Murphy from going to school

with her between 1966 and 1979. He started selling drugs

to her in October 1992. Murphy introduced appellant to

Bernal about one week before October 26. Through Bernal,

appellant also became reacquainted with Daryl] Borelli,

whom appellant had known in high school. Bernal served

as a conduit for drug purchases by appellant from Borelli.

On October 25, Borelli brought two ounces of metham-

phetamine to appellant’s house. They had never dealt

personally with each other before. Later that night, Borelli

came over to appellant’s house again. They talked in

appellant’s bedroom about the “games” Bernal was play-

ing, and decided that from then on Bernal would not serve

}

§

:

‘

3

:

:

;

;

d

;

51

as a “middleman” for them. According to appellant, Borelli

told him that as long as he had Murphy and Cynthia in his

business, he “was going to have problems,” and Cynthia

“shouldn’t even be able to breathe the air that we do.”

Appellant denied saying anything negative about Cynthia

to Borelli or twirling a gun around in his presence.

Appellant acknowledged driving Murphy out into the

country on October 24, 1992. He claimed he was merely

taking the “rural route” to Davis. According to appellant,

Murphy was “hysterical,” so he simply let her talk for a

while. Then he began to question her about a tape re-

cording he had heard of a suspicious conversation between

Murphy and Bernal. Appellant denied threatening to kill

Murphy at any time or pointing a gun at her. According to

appellant, he simply “decided to play a little game,” and

shot his gun out of the truck window twice. Appellant next

saw Murphy on the morning of October 26, when, accord-

ing to him, she called to ask him to pick her up at a

friend’s apartment in Davis. When he arrived, he became

irritated because no one was there. He kicked the door,

and it “flew open.” He then went in and sat on a couch,

thinking “somebody would show up sooner or later.” When

Murphy arrived, appellant left a note apologizing for the

damage to the door.

Appellant asked Murphy to contact Ruiz because he

wanted to ask her advice about how to get along with

heavy methamphetamine users. He denied making any

threats against the Bells or anyone else while talking with

Ruiz. He “could have said something” to the effect that he

felt “like just blowing them away,” but he was only “laugh-

ing and joking,” and not directing the comment “toward

any one person.” Appellant decided he “didn’t want to deal

in drugs anymore,” because he “didn’t want to put up with

sh ee SCC

Fert ae et Se ee! eee

— Ser ee ae re ae

~~.

52

the games that were being played,” and was planning on

“cutting everybody loose,” including Cynthia. He did not

want to talk to Cynthia or have anything to do with her,

although she would continue tc be welcome in his house

because of her friendship with Ringler. Appellant denied

making any arrangements with Cynthia to meet her at the

intersection of Interstate 505 and VacaValley, or anywhere

else that day.

Sparks arrived at appellant’s house with “another kid”

whom appellant did not know between 5:30 and 6:00 p.m.

on October 26, 1992, and tried to sell appellant a .38

special. Appellant did not buy it because it was damaged.

According to appellant, Sparks said he had some money

and was looking for an ounce of methamphetamine.

Because he did not want to deal in his house, appellant

told Sparks to wait in a nearby park while appellant tried

to find some drugs. Appellant and Bernal left in appel-

lant’s pickup truck at the same time Sparks left. When

Sparks proceeded onto the freeway instead of toward the

park, appellant followed close behind and blinked his

headlights. They pulled over, and agreed that Sparks

would come with appellant to look for methamphetamine

while Bernal went with Gibeau and then met them at a

gas station in an hour. Once appellant found some

methamphetamine, however, Sparks was no longer inter-

ested in buying it and instead asked appellant to take him

to Vacaville. Appellant declined, saying he would take

Sparks to the agreed rendezvous. According to appellant,

Sparks “was so spun, he couldn’t talk.” After driving

around for awhile looking for someone to purchase Sparks’

gun, appellant stopped at the gas station and got out to

telephone Ringler, leaving his own .357 gun on or under

the seat. When appellant returned to the truck, Sparks

53

was gone. Appellant did not see Sparks leave; he assumed

Bernal had picked him up. Appellant did not check to see

if his gun was still in the truck.

Appellant testified that after Sparks left, Bernal and

Gibeau arrived and talked with him for about 20 minutes

before leaving. John Peterskoff and Manuel Michel, two of

appellant’s former trucking acquaintances, also pulled up

at the gas station. After drinking beers and socializing

with them for at least an hour, appellant telephoned

Ringler at approximately 7:00 p.m. Thereafter, he “shot

up,” and drove home “very slowly.” When he got home, he

“pulled into the driveway and sat there for a while,”

“trying to maintain control” and “get a focus.” After

Mathies, Nissen and Ringler asked him if he “was going to

come inside or just sit out there all night,” he came inside

with his briefcase and his shirt on. Because appellant “was

pretty spun” on drugs at that point he “didn’t even think

about” his gun, even though it was his normal custom

always to retrieve his gun from the truck and bring it into

the house with him in the briefcase or some other holder.

Appellant went upstairs, put down his briefcase, and went

into the bathroom. He denied changing his clothes or

having any blood on him. A few minutes later, someone

came to the bedroom and informed appellant that Michel

was there to see him. Michel stayed for about an hour

talking with appellant and taking drugs. Between 10:00

and 10:30 p.m., in response to two telephone calls, appel-

lant went to the nearby Chevron station to supply Pete

and Shannon Joy with methamphetamine. After about 20

minutes, appellant came home and went to sleep.

- The next morning, appellant asked Nissen to help him

take the camper shell off of his pickup truck because he

wanted to save gas mileage. He denied telling Nissen he

Gat un Sf -_ . + » . eae : saan wie ‘

i vee See oe eee PAE, Slt Pee a et eee TO een

P ee ee ee ey ee ae ee ee eee

54

did not want anyone to recognize thé truck, or saying

anything to Nissen about the victims. Appellant claimed to

have asked Nissen to take his gun from his briefcase, and

to put it behind the seat of the truck. According to appel-

lant, his “last clear recollection” of the gun was seeing in

on the seat of his truck while he was talking with Sparks.

He assumed the gun was in his briefcase because it was

his usual habit to put it in the briefcase when he got out of

the truck and went into the house. Appellant conceded

that his usual custom was to have a trigger lock on the

gun, and that it would have to be removed for the gun to

be used.° Appellant also admitted he lied to the police

when asked when he had last seen his .357. Appellant

denied asking Turner to get rid of his gun.*

Appellant denied telling Carter that he killed the

Bells. According to appellant, Carter asked him whether

he killed someone in Yolo County and whether he “did the

two in Vacaville.” After “playing with [Carter’s] mind” and

“having fun” with him a bit, appellant told him “No, but

they sure think I did.” Appellant claimed he fled from the

police when they tried to arrest him because he “had no

intentions on going to prison for three counts of murder

that I didn’t do.”

Appellant denied confessing to Jacobitz or giving him

any information about the Bells’ murder. According to

* On October 28, 1992, the police found a trigger lock in a gym bag

on the passenger floorboard of appellant’s pickup truck.

* Appellant testified he did not know Turner, and was introduced to

him the first time when Turner came with Ringler to pick him up at the

police station. According to appellant, he did not ask Turner to “get rid”

of his gun because “I didn’t even know Mike Turner. I wouldn't ask

somebody I didn’t know to do something like that.”

z

’

a

¥

Zi

S

:

4

rt ee eR ee ee IE Pl ee Pp ee Pe ee ha Pe ee ae ee ee ee

55

appellant, Jacobitz was a known “liar”; appellant was

suspicious of him because he asked too many questions

about appellant’s case and wanted to read all of appel!ant’s

newspaper clippings. Appellant let Jacobitz read some

newspaper clippings, which Jacobitz kept for several days.

However, appellant would not let Jacobitz read the police

report because he mistrusted him. Appellant thought

Jacobitz may have heard him talk with other inmates

about how witnesses had testified at his earlier trials.

Appellant testified that while in the county jail law li-

brary, Jacobitz offered to help him by having Edgar killed.

Appellant rejected the offer, saying he just wanted Edgar

“to tell the truth,” i.e., that Edgar “had been threatened”

by the police to give testimony against appellant. On cross-

examination, appellant admitted that he gave Edgar’s

address to Jacobitz. According to appellant, he “didn’t

think {there] was any harm” in doing so even though

Jacobitz claimed to be a member of the Aryan Brotherhood

and had offered to have Edgar “done in,” because Jacobitz

was “a liar.”

" In support of his testimony in this regard, appellant offered the

testimony of two other county jail inmates (James Stevenson and Brett

Swafford) that Jacobitz was in the vicinity when appellant talked about

what had happened at his previous trials. According to these inmates,

discuss what he himself actually did or did not do. The inmates testified

that Jacobitz read the Vacaville newspaper, and was interested in

newspaper clippings about appellant’s case which he obtained either

from appellant directly or through one of the inmates to whom appel-

lant had loaned them. Swafford testified that appellant expressed

concern about Jacobitz, saying he did not trust him, and volunteered

that he was “going to have some fun with the guy.” Swafford was

impeached with prior felony convictions, and admitted that appellant

was a “good acquaintance” of his in the jail.

(Continued on following page)

rh. oF p > ‘ es 7 rie

Sy oF Rep a ee ae ee te, Eee ee ee

56

TIME OF DEATH EVIDENCE

Appellant offered markedly conflicting testimony from

several witnesses in an attempt to establish that the

murders could not have occurred during the time frame

established by the prosecution witnesses. Russell Carter, a

truck driver from Missouri, testified that when he drove

by the scene of the murders between 6:10 and 6:45 a.m. on

October 27, he saw several people and at least five vehi-

cles: an old two-tone brown Ford van, a dark brown 1975-

1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass, a beat-up old Volkswagen, a

1981-1982 silver Cadillac, and a Camaro. Carter saw a

woman in the driver’s seat of the Camaro; an approxi-

mately 40-year-old man with a light blue T-shirt standing

next to the Ford van; a gray-haired man in the driver’s

seat of the Cadillac with a woman with long gray hair in

the passenger seat; another person in the Oldsmobile; and

yet another man walking toward the Camaro with a smal]

pistol in his hand. This man had light brown shoulder-

length hair, was five feet seven to eight inches in height

and about one hundred forty pounds in weight, and was

wearing a T-shirt, jeans and a baseball cap. When he

reached the Camaro, the man shot the woman in the head,

causing blood to splatter all over the windshield. Mean-

while, the man standing next to the van was talking into a

portable scanner or telephone. Carter called 911 on his CB

radio, drove to the business to which he was making a

delivery, and called 911 a second time. Although Carter

had never seen appellant before, he was sure appellant

In addition, Charles Millard testified that he visited appellant in

county jail as a favor to appellant’s mother. According to Millard, about

one week before trial appellant told Millard he was concerned that

Jacobitz was a “snitch” because he persisted in asking about appellant’s

trial.

we ee ee ee ee a a

ne EG es RS Te ig Ee oe ee pads A RCL ee Ogee Se ne

57

was not the man he saw shoot the woman because the

shooter had a full head of hair. On cross-examination,

Carter conceded he was some “distance” away from the

scene; because he had “to watch the road” as he drove his

tractor-trailer by, he could not “see all of it.”

Still other defense witnesses gave contradictory and

inconsistent evidence about what they saw and the times

that they saw it as they drove by the scene of the murders.

Charles Anderson testified that when he drove by the

murder scene at approximately 8:15 p.m. on October 26,

1992, he saw an older Camaro or Firebird together with a

light green mid 70’s Ford pickup with a lumber rack and

no camper shell. Robert Tavares testified he saw a white

Camaro and a blue 1970’s Chevrolet pickup parked side by

side approximately one hour later. According to Tavares, a

“very skinny,” 6-foot-tall 20 or 30-year-old white male with

dirty blond shoulder-length hair got out of the passenger

side of the car. Tavares did not see anyone else around,

and could not tell if the windows of the Camaro were open.

In direct contradiction to Tavares’s testimony, Scott

Schriefer testified that he did not see any vehicles in the

area when he drove by the murder scene at approximately

9:15 p.m. Lisa Peer saw an older white Camaro and a

newer red Camaro racing up Interstate 505 sometime

during the night of October 26. At approximately 12:08

a.m., Peer saw the same two cars parked at the scene of

the murders. A very petite, 5-foot-4-inch woman with short

brown hair was apparently arguing with a man about five

: feet eight to nine inches with “new-fangled” spiky hair,

who towered over her. When Linda Daraskavich drove by

the same scene about 3:05 a.m., she saw the Camaro and

an older model, dark-colored pickup truck. A tall, thin

man, six feet to six-foot three inches in height and wearing

Bee RTE Fe Sas

58

a dark-colored baseball cap, was walking from the car to

the truck. Daraskavich could not tell if the windows of the

Camaro were rolled up or down.

THIRD PARTY CULPABILITY EVIDENCE

Through the testimony of several witnesses, appellant

tried to establish that one or more of several other indi-

viduals was the actual perpetrator of the murders in this

case. The defense theory was that these persons were

acting on behalf of Daryl Borelli, another local metham-

phetamine dealer to whom Cynthia Bell owed money.

BORELLI

Called as a hostile witness by the defense, Borelli

himself testified that he and appellant had been ac-

quainted from school, but were never friends. Borelli was

employed as a custodian at the University of California in

Davis; he denied selling drugs in 1992 or that Bernal

worked for him as a middleman, and claimed that no one

owed him any money in 1992. Borelli had known Michael

Walker, the man who rented the space where appellant’s

gun was found, for eight years. Borelli denied having

anything to do either with the Bells’ murder, or with the

disappearance of appellant’s gun.

According to Borelli, the first contact he had with

appellant since grade school occurred when appellant

called his house in October 1992, told Borelli’s wife that

Bernal and Murphy were trying to “rip him off,” and asked

Borelli to come over to appellant’s house immediately if he

wanted to see Bernal alive again. Borelli went to appel-

lant’s house and met with appellant and Bernal in appel-

lant’s bedroom. Appellant was heavily under the influence

ee en RO Se ee apes a co al

4 y

.

’

59

of drugs; he accused Cynthia Bell of trying to steal his

drugs and owing him $600, and talked about blowing her

head off. While doing so, appellant was twirling a cocked

.357-magnum around his finger and playing a tape of a

telephone conversation between Bernal and Murphy.

Borelli acknowledged that he did not immediately tell the

police about appellant’s threats against Cynthia Bell,

explaining that he did not want to get involved. He told

the entire story only after he heard that appellant was

accusing him of the murders.

Debra Lyn Neundorf testified via transcript from a

previous trial. She had been friends with Cynthia Bell for

15 years and had dated Borelli for 2 years, although not in

October 1992. Neundorf testified that Borelli never told

her he was present when the Bells were shot, and she

never heard him agree to meet Cynthia on Interstate 505.

She denied ever selling drugs to Cynthia on Borelli’s

behalf; hearing Borelli threaten to kill Cynthia; hearing

Borelli say that Cynthia owed him money; or ever telling

anyone that Borelli was responsible for the Bells’ murders

or had said he was, or that she herself was a witness to

the killings. Neundorf admitted that in September or

October 1992, Borelli commented that Cynthia Bell

“shouldn’t be allowed to even breathe the air.” However,

she did not believe this to be a threat. According to Neun-

dorf: “Daryl thought that about a lot of people. It was a

way to keep me home and not find out ... what he was

doing out and about.” Neundorf never saw Borelli in a red

Camaro or with a .357-magnum handgun. She denied she

ever told defense investigator McClellan that Borelli told

her “he had a gun that was used in the homicides of the

Bells” which “he got rid of.” Neundorf also denied Borelli

had ever threatened her, or that she was afraid of him. On

60

cross-examination by the People, Neundorf testified that

when she was interviewed by defense investigator

McClellan and the defense attorney, they tried to tell her

things that she knew not to be true, without tape re-

cording the interview or providing her with any report for

her to review.

To contradict Borelli and Neundorf, the defense

offered the testimony of several witnesses who claimed

Neundorf had previously indicated that someone other

than appellant had committed the murders. George

McCleese testified that Neundorf told him she had wit-

nessed the homicides, and appellant “wasn’t the one that

did it”; instead, she said they were committed by “[hler

boyfriend,” without identifying him directly. Neundorf

drove a green Ford pickup truck. McCleese talked with

Anthony Hurtz about appellant when the two were in

custody together in March 1993. According to McCleese,

Hurtz told him appellant would not be convicted because

appellant did not commit the murders, and the gun used

in the killings was hidden in a storage shed on Leisure

Town Road. McCleese did not recall whether Hurtz said he

was involved. He also testified he did not believe Hurtz,

because of Hurtz’s own reputation as a “loud talker” who

liked to “make himself look big.” McCleese was impeached

with several felony convictions for burglary and receiving

stolen property. He admitted he had previously testified

that Neundorf did not tell him anything about witnessing

the murders or her boyfriend committing the crimes.

To support McCleese’s testimony and impeach Neun-

dorf appellant offered the double hearsay testimony of

McCleese’s mother, Helen Dixon, to the effect that the

boyfriend of Dixon’s daughter told Dixon that Neundorf

had said she knew it was not appellant “that did the

eae ed eee “

’ ‘

61

killing” because she (Neundorf) was there at the time.

Dixon was not told who did commit the “killing,” or even

what murder(s) were being discussed. Appellant also

offered the testimony of Diane McClure, a legal secretary,

that while present at an interview of Matthew Cordell she

heard Cordell state he had sold large amounts of metham-

phetamine to Borelli; he had witnessed drug transactions

between Borelli and Cynthia Bell; and he had heard

Borelli express anger against Cynthia because she had

“burned” him, as Borelli rolled some bullets back and forth

in his hand. When on the stand, Cordell himself denied

making any of these statements. Cordell did testify he

heard Sparks say he had been dropped off at the “country

Oates store” while the victims “were being done.”

HuRTz

Aside from this testimony purportedly linking Borelli

to the murders, the defense offered evidence of the possible

involvement of Anthony Hurtz. Hurtz himself testified

that in October 1992 he made “(t]he majority” of his money

in construction, doing “concrete work.” He denied making

money selling drugs; ever selling drugs to Cynthia Bell; or

even knowing the victims, appellant, or any of the other

principal individuals in this case. He denied any involve-

ment in the Bells’ murder or telling anyone he had been

involved, and claimed he was at home with his girlfriend

in Sacramento all night on October 26, 1992. He also

denied possession of a 357 revolver in October 1992. He

admitted he had been convicted of at least one felony, and

that he use to go “by the name of Leroy or Uncle Leroy.”

To contradict and impeach Hurtz, appellant offered

the testimony of several witnesses linking Hurtz to the

|

i?

;

5

> ao ae.

Tee ee Sie ee ee ee ee ees ae ee ee ee ee

& 43a >. «fF -™

=." ©

62

murders. Hurtz’s former girlfriend Chantelle Eittreim

testified via transcript that she was living with Hurtz in

late 1992, at which time he was heavily involved in drug

trafficking, selling four to five pounds of methampheta-

mine e\ sry other day. At the time, he owned both .357-

magnum and .38-caliber handguns. According to Eittreim,

after receiving a page sometime after 10:00 p.m. on Octo-

ber 26, he told her he had to go to Dixon to meet “Ryan”

because “‘[sJome bitch burned one of my friends, and I

have to go take care of it.’” Eittreim accompanied Hurtz to

Dixon where Hurtz met with Bernal in a restaurant for

about 20 minutes while Eittreim remained outside. After

Hurtz took her home, he left again and did not return

until the next morning. Eittreim tried to page him several

times during the night, but he did not respond. In Decem-

ber 1992, Hurtz told her the police were looking for him

because they wanted to question him about the murders.

He told her he had attended the meeting at which the

killings were planned, and was also there when the

victims were murdered. According to Eittreim, Hurtz told

her “that [Cynthia] took it like a man,” while “James was

on the floorboard with his hands over his head begging not

to be shot.” After October 26, Hurtz changed the outer

appearance of his automobile and started acting “para-

noid.” On cross-examination, Eittreim could not state

Hurtz’s pager number, conceded she did not like Hurtz,

and admitted she was addicted to methamphetamine in

October 1992.

Both of Ejittreim’s parents testified for the defense.

Candida Eittreim testified that at first, Hurtz told her he

had committed the murders of the Bells. Then he changed

his story to having been involved in the murders. Finally,

he told her he had only helped plan the killings and was

: o¥

.

oF

pe Ee eee et eA Re ee eae ea, as ee ae ee a ee ae ee ee oy ee eee ele eT ae ee 7

s

4

63

there when they were committed. He asked for her help in

getting an attorney, and her husband hired one for him.

Later he threatened to kill her and her family if she

testified in this matter. On cross-examination, Mrs.

Eittreim admitted she did not contact the police “right

away” after Hurtz’s alleged confession because she did not

believe him; and when she was later contacted by the

police, she “misled” and lied to them. Mr. Eittreim testified

that in January 1993, Hurtz asked him to pick up a .357

revolver from a storage unit off Leisure Town Road in

Vacaville. As soon as he did so, Mr. Eittreim turned it over

to the police.

Kenneth Keith, yet another admitted methampheta-

mine abuser, testified he was rooming with Eittreim and

Hurtz in October 1992. Keith did not think Hurtz came

home on the night of October 26, although he had only

“vague” recollection of that date and was using drugs at

the time. According to Keith, in January or February 1993,

Hurtz told him he knew Cynthia and did not like her

because “[sJhe had a big mouth and she talked a lot.”

Hurtz also told Keith he had seen the Bells on “(t]he night

that it happened,” and he knew who killed them but “he

wasn't going to tell.”

Harmina Ross, another former girlfriend of Hurtz and

the mother of his child, testified he had begun dealing

drugs in 1992. Although she tried paging him several

times on October 26, he did not respond. In December

1992, Hurtz told her he had shot two people at close range

while they were sifting in a Camaro in a vacant lot in

Vacaville; the second person killed had begged not to be

shot and “tried to get away.” Later, Hurtz changed his

story and told her he was only a suspect and was not

responsible for the murders. Ross acknowledged that she

64

did not come forward with Hurtz’s confession until she was

contacted by a defense investigator. When Ross subse-

quently spoke with the police, she did not mention Hurtz’s

confession.

Eliane West was a friend and neighbor of Hurtz in

October 1992. She testified that Hurtz told her he was

present at the planning of the murder of the two people in

the white car out in the area of the Nut Tree. She did not

relay this information to the police. According to West,

Hurtz sent her a letter threatening that if she “said

anything to anybody about him being there when they

were planning it, that they would never ever find [West].

He would guarantee it.” West was unable to produce the

letter, claiming it was stolen from her apartment. She did

not remember the date on the letter or how many pages it

was. She also testified that Hurtz had sent her two

friendly notes from jail.

BERNAL

Finally, the defense also attempted to link Ryan

Bernal to the murders through the testimony of several

additional witnesses. Bernal himself did not testify be-

cause of his pending prosecution for the murder of Gibeau

and his consequent invocation of the Fifth Amendment.

The testimony of other defense witnesses was introduced

to establish that Bernal had known Borelli for approxi-

mately 15 years and sold methamphetamine on his behalf.

About one week before the date of the murders on October

26, 1992, Murphy introduced Bernal to appellant.

Ryan Vergos, who testified through transcript, lived

with Bernal and his family in a mobile home on the

property of his uncle George Santos. Bernal owned a faded

65

black baseball-type cap. Vergos did not know appellant,

and did not see appellant with Bernal on October 26. That

evening, Bernal left in a small truck sometime between

8:30 and 9:00 p.m. Bernal did not come home until the

next morning between 7:30 and 9 am. Bernal told Vergos

that his uncle “helped him” with some killings in Vacaville.

Several days later, Bernal told Vergos that it was actually

appellant who had killed the Bells. Vergos testified that

Bernal was a liar, and was very afraid of Borelli, for whom

he sold methamphetamine. Cynthia Bell had purchased

methamphetamine from Borelli regularly, and Vergos

heard Borelli say she owed him money. A week before the

murders, Borelli was furious because he needed $1,500

that Cynthia owed him, and “he wanted her taken care of.”

Cordell told a defense investigator that Nissen said he

had lied about appellant’s involvement in the murders in

order to protect Bernal. Nissen described Bernal as his

“best friend,” whom he had met through another drug

client of appellant named Jason Kraak. Kraak in turn

testified that Nissen had a “very bad reputation” for

“making up stories, lying,” and untruthfulness. Although

Nissen never told Kraak he was going to lie or had lied in

his testimony about appellant’s involvement in the kill-

ings, he did say that he, Murphy and Bernal had decided

they were “going to put it off on” appellant. This was

because Bernal “was young and had his whole life ahead of

him,” and because the police had played them a tape

recording in which appellant threatened to kill Nissen.

On cross-examination, Kraak conceded that Nissen

never said he was going to lie about appellant and the

murders, and Kraak did not know whether or not Nissen’s

statement about “putting it off” on appellant was the

truth. Kraak testified that a few days after the homicides,

‘a> ot oo

Pe

A E

dt cali

66

appellant told him that Cynthia Bell “was found with her

head blown off from the jaw up.” Appellant told Kraak that

the police had shown him photographs of the victims when

he was arrested; he asked Kraak if he had “ever seen what

a .357 wadcutter does to a person.” Appellant never told

Kraak that he had killed the Bells, and Kraak never saw

appellant with a gun.

REBUTTAL AND SURREBUTTAL

In rebuttal, the prosecution offered evidence Harmina

Ross told the police that Hurtz had told her he was a

suspect in the victims’ murders but was not responsible for

their deaths, and “he gave her reasons why.” Ross never

gave the police any information that Hurtz had confessed

to the murders himself.

Officer Robert Lee testified that on November 2, 1992,

Ringler’s daughter Cynthia C. told him appellant carried

his handgun wherever he went, and she had last seen him

with it at approximately 6:00 p.m. on October 27, 1992. He

was carrying it in a brown-colored, soft handgun case.

According to Officer Lee, Cynthia C. had never mentioned

appellant carrying a briefcase.

Finally, the prosecution offered evidence that in his

initial contacts with the police, truck driver Russell Carter

told the police that he had stopped his truck at the scene

of the crime at approximately 6:50 a.m. on October 26,

1992, and approached the victims’ car, at which point he

observed that someone had been shot. Carter did not

report that he actually saw the shootings take place, and

did not mention the presence of any people other than the

victims at the scene. Aside from reporting that he observed

one “mid-sized, four-door Oldsmobile” leaving the area.

a a ie st , ee ae ee ee 8

. TF VtLOS 2

67

Carter did not mention any other vehicles in the area.

Carter also told the police he thought the shootings must

have been done by means of a rifle. The police did not

follow up on Carter’s report because it was totally incon-

sistent with the physical evidence at the scene, the fact the

killings had been committed with a handgun, and the

actual condition of the victims’ bodies when found around

the same time Carter claimed to have seen them.

In surrebuttal, the defense offered the testimony of an

employee of the business to which Carter made a delivery

at approximately 7:00 a.m. on October 27, 1992. He

described Carter as looking “like he saw a ghost, . . . very

distraught, very upset.” Carter told him he had seen

someone standing next to a car holding a gun pointed in

the window, who then got into a brown car and drive away.

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Appellant was charged in February 1993 with three

counts of first degree murder of three victims (James Bell,

Cynthia Bell, and Jason Gibeau), with allegations of the

special circumstance of multiple murder and of firearm

use. (Pen. Code, §§ 187; 190.2, subd. (a3); 12022.5.)° In

May 1993, appellant’s section 995 motion to set aside the

information was granted with respect to the charged

murder of Gibeau.

Appellant’s first two trials resulted in mistrials due to

juror deadlock. Appellant’s third jury trial commenced on

February 24, 1995. On June 8, 1995, the jury convicted

* Unless otherwise indicated, all further statutory references are to

the Penal Code.

appellant of first degree murder on both counts, and found

true the allegations of firearm use and multiple murder

special circumstances. He was sentenced to life in prison

without the possibility of parole, plus a term of 35 years.

This appeal followed.

II. SUFFICIENCY OF THE EVIDENCE To CONVICT

Appellant’s principal contention is that there was

insufficient evidence to support the jury’s verdict that he

murdered Cynthia and James Bell. Based on our exhaus-

tive review of the lengthy record, we conclude there was

ample evidence to support the conclusion that appellant

was guilty as charged.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

When the sufficiency of the evidence to convict is

challenged on appeal, the critical inquiry is “whether, after

reviewing the evidence in the light most favorable to the

prosecution, any rational trier of fact could have found the

essential elements of the crime beyond a reasonable

doubt.” (Jackson v. Virginia (1979) 443 U.S. 307, 318-319,

original italics; see also People v. Berryman (1993) 6

Cal.4th 1048, 1083, overruled on other grounds in People

v. Hill (1998) 17 Cal.4th 800, 823, fm. 1.) An appellate

court “must review the whole record in the light most

favorable to the judgment below to determine whether it

discloses substantial evidence — that is, evidence which is

reasonable, credible, and of solid value — such that a

reasonable trier of fact could find the defendant guilty

beyond a reasonable doubt.” (People v. Johnson, supra, 26

Cal.3d at p. 578.)

ee ee eee ee ee LL ee PR Te tg a ee DS Pe PAR eel ye ey fa »

OP let oe es tee le. Te. pie’

Se Ne or ee Ee Pre ae Yee

i el ee eh

69

In reviewing the evidence adduced at trial, our per-

spective must favor the judgment. (People v. Bloom (1989)

48 Cal.3d 1194, 1208; People v. Barnes (1986) 42 Cal.3d

284, 303-304; People v. Matian (1995) 35 Cal.App.4th 480,

483-484.) “This court must view the evidence in a light

most favorable to respondent and presume in support of

the judgment the existence of every fact the trier could

reasonably deduce from the evidence. [Citation.] If the

circumstances reasonably justify the trial court’s findings,

reversal is not warranted merely because the circum-

stances might also be reasonably reconciled with a con-

trary finding. [Citations.] The test on appeal is whether

there is substantial evidence to support the conclusion of

the trier of fact; it is not whether guilt is established

beyond a reasonable doubt. [Citation.] [¥] Before the

judgment of the trial court can be set aside for insuffi-

ciency of the evidence to support the verdict of the jury, it

must clearly appear that upon no hypothesis whatever is

there sufficient substantial evidence to support it. [Cita-

tion.}” (People v. Redmond (1969) 71 Cal.2d 745, 755.) The

standard stated by California cases is entirely consistent

with the controlling federal law. (Jackson v. Virginia,

supra, 443 U.S. at pp. 318-319; In re Winship (1970) 397

U.S. 358, 362.)

There is no question that the prosecutor’s burden is a

heavy one. “To justify a criminal! conviction, the trier of

fact must be reasonably persuaded to a near certainty. The

trier must therefore have reasonably rejected all that

undermines confidence.” (People v. Hall (1964) 62 Cal.2d

104, 112.) Nevertheless, even though “[elvidence which

merely raises a strong suspicion of the defendant’s guilt is

not sufficient to support a conviction” (Redmond, supra, 71

Cal.2d at p. 755), this court is bound by the findings of the

Pe CM a pt ee ee Ey Mee ek eae en

4

a

A

;

:

.

.

:

. 7 oe te

— 2? Cee eo

ROD I ET Re RE OR Td ee Malem eel a pl I Ree Ee ae en I) TR OED coh? aang tL Ook Pee

70

trier of fact where, by its verdict, it has rejected an hy-

pothesis pointing to innocence and there is evidence to

support its implied finding that guilt is the more reason- e

able of the two hypotheses. Moreover, we must be ever

mindful of the fact that it is the exclusive province of the :

trier of fact to determine the credibility of a witness and ;

the truth or falsity of the facts upon which a determina- .

tion depends. (Barnes, supra, 42 Cal.3d at p. 303.) “Thus,

even though the appellate court may itself believe that the .

circumstantial evidence might be reasonably reconciled ‘

with the defendant’s innocence, this alone does not war- :

rant interference with the determination of the trier of

fact. [Citations.] Whether the evidence presented at trial is

direct or circumstantial, . . . the relevant inquiry on appeal

remains whether any reasonable trier of fact could have

found the defendant guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.

[Citations.}” (People v. Towler (1982) 31 Cal.3d 105, 118,

original italics.)

SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE SUPPORTS THE VERDICTS

2

|

1

Appellant argues that the prosecution’s evidence of his |

guilt is undermined by his competing evidence (a) suggest- a

ing the victims were murdered after 10:30 p.m. on October 3

26, 1992, the time at which the prosecution witnesses z

testified that appellant returned home; (b) attacking the }

credibility of the prosecution witnesses; and (c) raising the |

q

;

:

:

:

d

be possibility of third-party culpability involving Borelli,

. Hurtz and Bernal. This argument simply asks this court to

- reweigh the evidence and make different determinations

3 of credibility than those already made by the trier of fact.

3 This we may not do. (People v. Ochoa (1993) 6 Cal.4th

1199, 1206; People v. Jones (1990) 51 Cal.3d 294, 314.)

wan iat ee » “ - 5 6

espe cf oor a ee Ae Oe 6 . a . an 4). ei. oe o " lala aren”. es

1 Pe Ee Le ae a ey ae ee ee OEY He ORY RAPED TM ae PE Ree EE et ee

a Be be Ni Oy oe Ge i - -

7 ** Ce ee Oe oe oe ae nf AL es | >

we °% ¥ ye ¥1 eo, MA rs BE :

71

There was ample evidence to support of [sic] the jury’s

verdicts. Numerous witnesses testified that Cynthia Bell

owed appellant money for drug transactions, and he had

recently been deeply angered when he caught Cynthia

sneaking into his house unannounced and entering his

bedroom, evidently with the intent to steal from him. At

least three witnesses — Murphy, Ruiz and Mathies —

testified that appellant had threatened to kill Cynthia Bell

during the few days immediately preceding the murders.

Several witnesses, including his own brother, testified that

when appellant returned home after 10:30 p.m. on the

night of the murders, he was spotted with blood. His

handgun also had blood on it, and contained four spent

shells. He made incriminating statements to his brother

and several other witnesses, saying he “did” Cynthia and

James Bell and describing the impact of a .357-magnum

bullet on a human head. Appellant’s gun was found in a

location tied to appellant and his girlfriend, and expert

testimony established that one of the bullets recovered

from the victims had definitely been fired from appellant’s

gun. Appellant fled from police in a high-speed chase when

they attempted to take him into custody. Finally, he

confessed his crime to a fellow inmate, tried to arrange to

have his brother Edgar and his family injured in order to

coerce Edgar to change his testimony, and even wrote

down his brother’s name and address to give to the other

inmate.

Appellant’s evidence does not undermine the substan-

tiality of the prosecution case. His own testimony about

his activities and whereabouts on the night of the murder

was extraordinarily vague, particularly with regard to the

critical time period between 7:00 and 10:30 p.m, Many

details of appellant’s testimony were actually in conflict

A os Co SS : +

BS ts ed A ER ee eee een ee Paes

;

cs

;

:

ce

4

72

with the testimony of other defense witnesses.” The physi-

cal evidence of the victims’ bodies, found in a state of full

rigor mortis as of approximately 11:00 a.m. on October 27,

was consistent with placing the time of the murders

around 10:00 p.m. the night before. On the other hand, the

physical condition of the bodies was completely inconsis-

tent with appellant’s reliance on the testimony of truck

driver Russell Carter, who claimed to see the murders take

place at 6:50 a.m. on October 27, or just before the arrival

of the police at 7:00 a.m., by which time the bodies were

already stiff cold and ashen.” The fact the victims’ Camaro

had its ignition in the “on” position with an empty gas

tank and obvious carbon buildup below the exhaust pipe

clearly indicated the car had been idling there for a

lengthy period of time. In short, appellant’s theory that the

victims had been shot only minutes before the police

arrived was unbelievable and completely contrary to all

the other evidence in the case.”

* For example, Michel testified he was the first person appellant

saw when the latter returned home the night of October 26, and they

immediately went upstairs together. Appellant, in contrast, testified he

went upstairs as soon as he came home that night; only later did

someone come up to his bedroom to tell him Michel was there to see

him.

Needless to say, truck driver Carter’s alleged observation of the

murders at 6:50 a.m. is also inconsistent with the earlier discovery of

the bodies sometime between 6:15 and 6:30 a.m.. by William Patterson,

the man who first called 911 and reported the murders to the police.

Carter also gave the police several inconsistent versions of the event,

including that he had not seen the actual murder and speculated that it

had been committed with a rifle.

" Appellant actually offered a wide variety of possible times the

victims could have been shot, based on the testimony of all the various

defense witnesses who made ambiguous sightings of something

suspicious taking place at the location of tae murders at different times

(Continued on following page)

rf. as f ’ : . 3 ¥

Ee ee eS eee ee eee ee ee ee eee eee Se a Ae ae 6 Oe ep ee a Fae | Ta Se Bee ae SB ee a CU os ft

73

Appellant’s evidence of the purported third party

culpability of Borelli, Hurtz and Bernal was both contra-

dictory and weak. Other than alleged “confessions” by

these individuals to others, there was no physical evidence

linking them to the crime, and no witnesses to their

activities on the night of the murders. Moreover, the

supposed “confessions” were themselves ambiguous and

self-contradictory. The witnesses who testified to these

confessions themselves lacked credibility, either because

they had personal motives rendering them hostile to the

alleged suspects or biased in favor of appellant; or because

of their own failure to give timely, truthful information to

the police. In light of the prosecution evidence of appel-

lant’s threats against the victims prior to the murders, his

bloody clothing and gun on the night of the killings, his

admissions to several witnesses, the discovery of appel-

lant’s gun and its establishment as the murder weapon,

and appellant’s high-speed flight from the police, the jury

was not required to accept this flimsy defense evidence.

Finally, appellant’s attack on the credibility of the

prosecution’s witnesses does not render insufficient the

evidence of appellant’s guilt. These arguments were made

by defense counsel at trial, and were rejected by the jury.

It was exclusively for the jury, as the ultimate arbiter and

finder of fact, to assess and adjudge the credibility of all the

witnesses, both prosecution and defense. In the absence of

clear evidence that the jury’s determination of credibility was

egregiously arbitrary, capricious and irrational, we will not

Pe ee ee

eee. 2

PET eR Ee Sete ay Pee OY Gee ts ee ee LE Oe OS Ln Oe ee Tee ey ae eee te eee ee

-* ae a Se. be

toe

> ee

of the night and morning of October 26 and 27. Appellant’s own

contradictory evidence, obviously offered in the hope of raising some

“reasonable doubt” in the minds of the jurors, was insufficiently

substantial to offset the substantial evidence of appellant’s guilt.

Ly Oe REP See em

SR, ee oy Pee

74

disturb that determination. (Barnes, supra, 42 Cal.3d at p.

303; Towler, supra, 31 Cal.3d at p. 118.)

Ill. PROPRIETY OF CONTINUED JURY DELIBERATIONS

Appellant contends the trial court erred in responding

to the jury foreperson’s report that the jury was dead-

locked by determining that additional deliberations would

be appropriate. Appellant is wrong; there was no abuse of

the trial court’s discretion.

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On May 16, 1995, after 11 days of deliberations, the

jury sent the trial court a note from the foreperson stating

that she believed “we are deadlocked at this point,” and

asking the trial court: “Do you have any suggestions for us

regarding what we might do to break the deadlock?” The

trial court called the jury into the courtroom and asked the

foreperson whether (a) if the jury continued in its delibera-

tions, the foreperson thought there was a reasonable

possibility that the jury might arrive at a verdict; and (b)

whether there was anything further the trial court could

do to assist the jury in arriving at a verdict. The foreper-

son responded that the jurors were “just looking for ...

anything that the Court might suggest that we could try to

do to break the deadlock.” The trial court inquired how the

jury was split, and was told that after four votes, the jury

was split seven to five.

The trial court admonished the jurors that each party

had a right to the jurors’ own individual opinions; “every-

body is entitled to their own opinion as a juror”; the jurors

awe & ee ee

Pa SS ek er lhe

—

4

,

o

;

*

75

should “unhesitatingly change” their votes if they were

shown to be wrong during deliberations; “until you are

convinced that you are wrong, then you should stick to

your vote”; “if a verdict can be reached, then we want a

verdict to be reached”; and “[ilf a verdict can’t be reached,

then that’s just the way it is.” The trial court then polled

the jury to determine whether they individually believed

further deliberations would be useful. Seven jurors agreed

with the foreperson that their deliberations “hopelessly

deadlocked”; one “[hJesitantly” agreed; one was undecided;

and two disagreed. On the basis of this poll, the trial court

sent the jurors back to deliberate further, again instruct-

ing “that if you are convinced that you are wrong, then you

should change, [but] if you are not convinced, ... you

should stick with you own vote....” The trial court told

the jurors it would check with them the next day “as to

what, if any, progress” had been made, “and if not, then we

can go from there again.”

At that point, the foreperson asked for further clarifi-

cation of the concept of reasonable doubt. The trial court

told the foreperson to reread the instruction, and added

that “it’s really you, as individual jurors, when you read

that instruction, to apply it and then give it the meaning

to which you feel it’s entitled.” Thereafter, the jury delib-

erated for two days without communicating with the court.

On May 19, the jury requested a readback of some por-

tions of trial testimony, and informed the court it had

selected a new foreperson. On May 22, the trial court

suggested making an inquiry about whether the jurors felt

they were making progress, but the prosecutor objected on

the ground that “[they’re obviously working,” and “if they

haven't brought the subject matter up with the Court, we

shouldn’t be bringing that up.” The jury was brought in,

~~ ie s,s ow en ee i nl “Te . ee er ee ery We ee eee eee

76

and the new foreperson indicated the jury’s willingness to

continue deliberations the next day.

On June 1, the trial court sua sponte asked the jury to

come into the courtroom to inquire whether there had

been any progress in the deliberations. At that time, the

new foreperson stated: “Yes, there has been some change.”

The trial court reread CALJIC No. 17.40 instructing the

jury that both sides were entitled to the individual opinion

of each juror; each juror was to decide the case for him or

herself, after discussing the evidence and instructions

with the other jurors; and although each juror was not to

hesitate to change an opinion if convinced it was wrong, he |

or she was not to decide any question in a particular way :

just because a majority of the jurors, or any of them, might :

favor such a decision. Upon seeing “all affirmative nods”

from the jurors in response to its question whether further

deliberation would be helpful, the trial court sent them

back to deliberate. On June 8, the jury returned verdicts of

guilty on both counts.

be ieee eee Ae

APPLICABLE LAW

: Under Penal Code section 1140, “[e)xcept as provided

. by law the jury cannot be discharged after the cause is

submitted to them until they have agreed upon their

verdict and rendered it in open court, unless by consent of ;

both parties, entered upon the minutes, or unless, at the q

expiration of such time as the court may deem proper, it

satisfactorily appears that there is no reasonable probabil-

ity that the jury can agree.” Generally, “[t]he determina- |

; tion whether there is reasonable probability of [jury]

; agreement rests in the discretion of the trial court. [Cita-

| tions.] The court must exercise its power, however, without

=<“... oe eS ee

77

coercion of the jury, so as to avoid displacing the jury's

independent judgment ‘in favor of considerations of com-

promise and expediency.’ [Citation.]” (People v. Breaux

(1991) 1 Cal.4th 281, 319; see People v. Pride (1992) 3

Cal.4th 195, 265; People v. Rodriguez (1986) 42 Cal.3d 730,

775.)

The issue of coercion is necessarily dependent on the

facts and circumstances of each case. (People v. Sandoval

(1992) 4 Cal.4th 155, 195.) On the one hand, coercion has

been found where a trial court, by insisting on further

deliberations, expresses an opinion that a verdict should

be reached. (People v. Crossland (1960) 182 Cal.App.2d

117, 119; People v. Crowley (1950) 101 Cal.App.2d 71, 75.) .

On the other hand, a trial court’s refusal to discharge a :

jury in the face of the jury’s repeated reports of impasse

does not necessarily amount to an implied suggestion to

the jury that a verdict should be reached. (Rodriguez, :

supra, 42 Cal.3d at p. 775.) :

Thus, it is neither an abuse of discretion nor inher- .

ently coercive for a trial court to inquire into the numeri- |

cal division of the jury in an attempt to determine whether

there is any reasonable probability of agreement, or to ask

for a resumption of deliberations after ascertaining the 4

breakdown in juror voting. (Breaux, supra, 1 Cal.4th at p.

319; People v. Sheldon (1989) 48 Cal.3d 935,958-960;

Rodriguez, supra, 42 Cal.3d at pp. 775-776, fn. 14; People

v. Carter (1968) 68 Cal.2d 810, 817.) Similarly, it is not

necessarily coercive for a trial court to ask a jury to re-

| sume deliberations more than once, even after the jury has

deliberated for several days and repeated polling shows

the jurors are unanimously negative about the prospects :

for a verdict. (Breaux, supra, 1 Cal.4th at p. 319 [jury 3

twice asked to resume deliberations after four days of

“oa

os

__~. =_ news =

Ea ENE ge EER RES) ne WEE TO REE AE OR SN a hs NT oe ee ae

78

deliberations despite polling showing all jurors negative

on prospect of a verdict; held, no coercion); Rodriguez,

supra, 42 Cal.3d at pp. 775-776 [jury asked to resume

deliberations after 18 days of deliberation and 4 impasses;

held, no coercion].) A trial court does not abuse its discre-

tion or coerce the jury by inquiring into the numerical

division of voting and individually polling the jurors in an

effort to see if there was anything the court could do to

assist the jury in its deliberations to reach a verdict, as

long as the court makes no threats or other statements

that could be interpreted either as suggesting that a

verdict must be reached, or as exerting undue pressure on

any individual juror. (Breaux, supra, 1 Cal.4th at pp. 319-

320; Carter, supra, 68 Cal.2d at p. 815; People v. Thomas

(1991) 231 Cal.App.3d 299, 303; People v. Duran (1983)

140 Cal.App.3d 485, 501-502.)

Because a trial court is charged with determining

whether there is a reasonable probability of agreement, it

may properly determine that further deliberation might be

beneficial even if the jurors unanimously express the

opposite opinion. Where even a single juror expresses the

opinion that consensus might be reached if further clarify-

ing instructions are given, it is not an abuse of discretion

for the trial court to respond affirmatively to the sugges-

tion. (People v. Proctor (1992) 4 Cal.4th 499, 539; Stone v.

Superior Court (1982) 31 Cal.3d 503, 522; People v. De La

Roi (1944) 23 Cal.2d 692, 701; Thomas, supra, 231

Cal.App.3d at p. 303.) Indeed, because one of the primary

duties of the trial court is to help the jury understand the

legal principles it is asked to apply, “a court must do more

than figuratively throw up its hands and tell the jury it

cannot help.” (People v. Beardslee (1991) 53 Cal.3d 68, 97.)

|

:

{

3

4

;

i

7

:

:

“

79

DISCUSSION: NO COERCION

OR ABUSE OF DISCRETION

Appellant asserts that the trial court abused its

discretion by requiring further deliberation after the

foreperson reported the jury was deadlocked. The asser-

tion is meritless, both on the law and on the facts of the

record in this case.

That record clearly shows the trial court did nothing

to coerce the jury, and did not abuse its discretion in

having the jurors continue their deliberations after inquir-

ing into the numerical division of voting and individually

polling the members in an effort to see if there was any-

thing it could do to assist them in their deliberations to

reach a verdict. The trial court made no threats or other

statements that could be interpreted as exerting undue

pressure on any juror; nor did it ever indicate that it was

necessary for the jury to reach a verdict. The trial court

never expressed an opinion on appellant’s guilt or inno-

cence of the charges; nor did it comment on the evidence.

Indeed, appellant’s assertions notwithstanding, the trial

court specifically told the jury they were not required to

return a verdict.”

" The trial court stated: “If after there’s a vote or two votes or

three votes or, as in your case, four votes, if you are shown that you are

wrong or that the evidence does not support your vote, then you should,

as the law says, unhesitatingly change. [4] But until you are convinced

that you are wrong, then you should stick to your vote, and that’s what

was carefully pointed out by both attorneys, and that’s the law that I!

gave you during the instructions. [¥) So with that, the question then

boils down, if you wish further deliberation, and you have been in

deliberation for quite a period of time — and all of you, the Court knows,

were very attentive throughout the trial. We went through a long

time. .. . But if a verdict can be reached, then we want a verdict to be

(Continued on following page)

80

Thus, the trial court specifically reinstructed that (a)

each party had a right to the jurors’ own individual opin-

ions and each juror was entitled to his or her own opinion;

(b) each juror was to decide the case for him or herself,

after discussing the evidence and instructions with the

other jurors; (c) although the jurors should “unhesitatingly

change” their votes if they were shown to be wrong during

deliberations, they should not decide any question in a

particular way just because a majority of the jurors, or any

one of them, might favor such a decision; (d) “until you are

convinced that you are wrong, then you should stick to

your vote”; (e) the individual jurors should interpret and

apply the instructions themselves; and (f) although a

verdict should be reached if possible, “[i]f a verdict can’t be

reached, then that’s just the way it is.” The trial court only

had the jury continue deliberations after it became appar-

ent that some jurors believed further deliberations would

be useful, and that it would be possible to reach a verdict.

On this record, the trial court’s actions were clearly

not coercive and not an abuse of discretion. (Breaux,

supra, 1 Cal.4th at pp. 319-320; Carter, supra, 68 Cal.2d at

p. 815; Rodriguez, supra, 42 Cal.3d at pp. 775-776, fn. 14;

Thomas, supra, 231 Cal.App.3d at p. 303; Duran, supra,

140 Cal.App.3d at pp. 501-502.) There was no error.

IV. EDITING OF TESTIMONY READBACKS

Appellant next contends the trial court committed

prejudicial error by editing some of the testimony read-

hacks requested by the jury. Specifically, appellant claims

reached. If a verdict can’t be reached, then that’s just the way it is. It’s

not to — because everybody is entitled to their own opinion as a juror.”

81

the trial court’s editing of some of jailhouse informant

Jacobitz’s trial testimony at the time of its readback to the

jury violated appellant’s right to have the jurors apprised

of all the evidence in the record. The contention is merit-

less.

At issue is the jury’s requested readback of a portion

of the trial record relating to appellant’s jailhouse conver-

sations with Jacobitz. The jury asked for a readback of the

testimony of both appellant and Jacobitz on the subject of

what appellant told the latter about this case, and their

conversation in the jailhouse library. Later, the jury asked

to rehear portions of both individuals’ testimony concern-

ing “descriptions of blood and skull pieces” and “gun(s).” In

consultation with counsel, the trial court edited the

transcripts of appellant and Jacobitz for purposes of

readback, striking portions regarding conversations

between appellant and other prisoners because “[(tJhat

doesn’t respond to the question they’re talking about.”

Defense counsel objected and asked the court to read back

large portions of cross-examination. However, the trial

court concluded that these portions were outside the scope

of the jury's request, which was for a readback of testi-

mony on the conversations between appellant and Jacobitz.

The trial court was not required to accede to defense

counsel’s request. It is the jury’s right to have testimony

reread, not that of the parties or their attorneys. The trial

court’s obligation is simply to comply with the jury’s

request. (§ 1138; People v. Ainsworth (1988) 45 Cal.3d 984,

1020; People v. Cooks (1983) 141 Cal.App.3d 224, 261;

People v. Butler (1975) 47 Cal.App.3d 273, 284.) Here, the

material sought to be included by the defense in the read-

back was clearly outside the scope of the jury's request. The

jury did not ask for testimony about conversations between

i el ed et ae 744+ a 29 ad ee OPS 2 oS 2

BPR CS EP eee ae ee eee Ue REE Pe Gs ete ate ey, Sate ee, Oe Oe 2 ee

- % : ee sR

ne

i

"ou

’

i ee

A Pee

i

- Oa

—~_—. oo oe

- . -

ETS Oe gee See oa Le Ae. ey ee — %

. 7 : 7 eee ve +

Re EF OE SIR Te Eee Ae PR ey One en eee Ty See Meee en ea ee ee Nea Pe ier a Bes ¥ ie

“" : ’ " Ee ee ae ee ge eae ae ” ‘ Oe pee ee

82

appellant and other prisoners in the jail, or about other

places where Jacobitz might have gleaned information

about appellant’s case. It simply asked for a readback of

testimony about what Fry told Jacobitz in their own

private conversations. The trial court was under no obliga-

tion to have Jacobitz’s cross-examination read, or any

other portion of the record not encompassed by the jury's

specific request. (People v. Cathey (1960) 186 Cal.App.2d

217, 222.) The jury did not ask for any further readbacks.

We may assume that if the testimony actually read to

them did not contain the material they wished to hear,

they would have said so. (People v. Gordon (1963) 222

Cal.App.2d 687, 689.)

Contrary to appellant’s assertion, it is not reasonably

probable a result more favorable to himself would have

occurred had the redacted portions of the testimony also

been reread. Jacobitz’s testimony was corroborated by the

notes he took during his library conversation with appel-

lant, and the slip of paper given to him by appellant with

Edgar Fry’s name and address. It is not reasonably prob-

able that rereading appellant’s testimony that Jacobitz

learned these facts by overhearing appellant’s jailhouse

conversations with other prisoners — which testimony of

course the jury had already heard — would have resulted

in appellant’s acquittal. (People v. Watson (1956) 46 Cal.2d

818, 836.)"*

” Appellant failed to request any instruction pursuant to CALJIC

No. 3.20 cautioning the jury about the credibility of jailhouse infor-

mants, an instruction that need only be given if requested by a party.

He has therefore waived that issue. (§ 1127a; People v. Daya (1994) 29

Cal.App.4th 697, 714.)

< 7 - bo = SaPupeted cy i gat wins eg ote 5s ep Bite my 9 er = “i Ws ¥ ‘ ’ ts To ie eS hee

Vv. SANITIZATION OF HURTZ’S CONVICTIONS

Appellant argues the trial court erred by permitting

the defense to cross-examine Hurtz about his two prior

felony convictions, but disallowing it from eliciting the fact

that those convictions were for drug-related offenses.

There was no error.

After appellant called Hurtz as a witness, defense

counsel questioned him about his sources of income in

October 1992. When Hurtz testified that he worked as a

construction worker, defense counsel asked the following

leading question: “And weren’t you, in fact, making your

money dealing drugs at that time, Mr. Hurtz?” The trial

court sustained objections to this question on grounds of

both relevance and the fact it was leading. Under further

questioning, Hurtz testified that he made “(t]he majority”

of his money from construction, and that he did “[n]ot”

have “another source of income at or about the time of

October of 1992.” When defense counsel then attempted to

ask Hurtz if it was true he had been convicted of a particu-

lar crime, the trial court interposed and ruled: “My feeling

would be you could ask him if he has been convicted of a

felony, and Ill allow if he’s been convicted of a felony, if

that answer is true, but not what felony.” Thereafter,

defense counsel] was only able to elicit Hurtz’s admission of

at least one felony conviction.

Later, defense counsel objected on the record to the

trial court’s ruling, arguing that Hurtz had in fact been

convicted of two felonies — sale and possession for sale of

drugs — and that both felonies were crimes of moral

turpitude. The trial court ruled that although appellant

could impeach Hurtz’s credibility with the fact of his felony

» ’ * Me, Poe - - * ti a> ie ew Pe ’

: A rt - tl - Ji , wigs Sab os 1g ee ene a ier tee

pi) ah < a eats A eg ee ps ) J 4 ~ - P pas ee ee Pte

RE ee SO IT Se CN Pe eT ee Ne Gee, OY Se PUT Mie OWE Re PEE e

. % - ‘ 4

84

convictions, the nature of the crimes of which he was

convicted “is of no relevance.”

Under California Constitution, article I, section 28,

subdivisions (d) and (f), trial courts have broad power to

exercise discretion under Evidence Code section 352

(hereinafter referred to as section 352) to permit the use of

prior felony convictions for impeachment purposes, so long

as the convictions are of crimes involving “moral turpi-

tude.” (People v. Castro (1985) 38 Cal.3d 301, 306, 312-

317.) In addition, trial courts have broad discretion to

“sanitize” such prior convictions, in order to reduce a

demonstrable potential for unfair prejudice. (Sandoval,

supra, 4 Cal.4th at pp. 177-178; People v. Mickle (1991) 54

Cal.3d 140, 172; People v. Collins (1986) 42 Cal.3d 378,

387-389; People v. Foreman (1985) 174 Cal.App.3d 175,

179-182.) Thus, a ruling refusing to permit impeachment

with a prior conviction is reviewed for abuse of discretion.

(Cal. Const., art. I, § 28, subd. (f); Castro, supra, 38 Cal.3d

at p. 306; People v. Gordon (1990) 50 Cal.3d 1223, 1239;

People v. Dewey (1996) 42 Cal.App.4th 216, 220; People v

Stewart (1985) 171 Cal.App.3d 59, 65.)

Under section 352, a trial court may in its discretion

exclude material evidence if its probative value is substan-

tially outweighed by the probability that its admission will

necessitate undue consumption of time, or create a sub-

stantial danger of undue prejudice, confusion of the issues,

or misleading the jury. The weighing process under section

352 depends upon the trial court’s consideration of the

“ The Supreme Court has defined “moral turpitude” as a “‘readi-

ness to do evil,” or “any character trait which can reasonably be

characterized as ‘immoral.’” (Castro, supra, 38 Cal.3d at pp. 314-317, &

fn. 13.)

3

..

:

"

E

a

unique facts and issues of each case, rather than upon the

mechanical application of automatic rules. (Stewart,

supra, 171 Cal.App.3d at p. 65; People v. Yu (1983) 143

Cal.App.3d 358, 377.) We will not overturn or disturb a

trial court’s exercise of its discretion under section 352 in

the absence of manifest abuse, upon a finding that its

decision was palpably arbitrary, capricious and patently

absurd. (People v. Rodriguez (1994) 8 Cal.4th 1060, 1124-

1125; People v. Robbins (1988) 45 Cal.3d 867, 880-881;

People v. Adams (1980) 101 Cal.App.3d 791, 799; People v.

Cordova (1979) 97 Cal.App.3d 665, 670.) “The [trial]

court’s exercise of discretion under Evidence Code section

352 will not be disturbed on appeal unless the court

clearly abused its discretion, e.g., when the prejudicial

effect of the evidence clearly outweighed its probative

value.” (People v. Brown (1993) 17 Cal.App.4th 1389,

1396.)

There was no abuse of discretion in this case. The trial

court was clearly entitled to make a discretionary deter-

mination on the admissibility of Hurtz’s prior felony

convictions under section 352. As appellant points out, the

trial court simply ruled that the nature of the crimes of

which Hartz had been convicted was irrelevant; it did not

explicitly base its ruling barring admission of this evi-

dence on a section 352 analysis. However, in stating that

the evidence was “irrelevant,” the court essentially made a

dispositive determination for section 352 purposes, since

evidence that is irrelevant cannot be probative, without

regard to any question of prejudice. Hurtz’s prior felony

convictions were relevant to impeach his credibility as a

witness only, not to prove his prior conduct. (Castro, supra,

38 Cal.3d at pp. 306, 312-316, 322-323; Stewart, supra,

171 Cal.App.3d at pp. 63-66.) It is patently clear from

Sine if wx - : q - eh ~ nd ah dale oe hn el Sane

SE Re nee Ye ee ee ee SE ee eee eee Pinas © Wee, ent Oe ere ein tet ee 4 ;

Phe

b

a!

M

+8

rf

%

a

‘ea

—

~

,

off

4

Fares ©

7, SM Ae sth See eee Ee ee ee ee oe

oa ota -

ies

ee ei eee POS Ee eee, Se OC eee ee Ree Ne ae ee ee Sen ene. Garry ae a oe ere Tee a Se ee “p> Sat ae ea Se) ene, Se ‘ ‘ :

a , - — 9 eee a Sa Ne? ee PSE be ME St aad RT ee ae eee aetets fm, SD 7 oe eS ee ae 5 ye Oe

. . ay oe 5 1 x 5h P Sed > ba i SS kee ‘ee ee Oe

ae “a

Ki

-

86

appellant’s defense strategy at trial as well as his argu-

ments on appeal that his purpose was to convince the jury

that, given his drug convictions, Hurtz was probably

involved in drug trafficking in 1992. Such an inference in

[sic] beyond the scope of impeachment for credibility

purposes. For this reason, the trial court’s decision not to

permit the admission of this evidence did not exceed the

bounds of reason. (Sandoval, supra, 4 Cal.3d at p. 178;

People v. Massey (1987) 192 Cal.App.3d 819, 825; Stewart,

supra, 171 Cal.App.3d at p. 65.)

Appellant also urges that the precise nature of Hurtz’s

prior convictions was admissible to impeach his testimony

that his only source of income was his employment as a

concrete worker and denying that he sold drugs. In fact,

Hurtz testified that he made “most” of his money from

construction work; he never actually denied selling drugs.

Given the lack of such direct testimony, Hertz’s drug

convictions were not relevant to impeach his testimony,

and the trial court’s discretionary decision sanitizing his

testimony was not unreasonable.” (People v. Clair (1992) 2

Cal.4th 629, 655.)

VI. EXCLUSION OF EVIDENCE OF BORELLI’S ALLEGED

CONDUCT

Next, appellant contends the trial court erred by

preventing the defense from presenting certain evidence in

* In any event, given the substantial evidence supporting appel-

lant’s guilt and Hurtz’s admission that he had been convicted of an

unnamed felony, it is not reasonably probable that permitting the

defense to establish that Hurtz had been convicted of selling drugs

would not have tipped the balance in this case in favor of acquittal.

(Watson, supra, 46 Cal.2d at p. 836.)

Seer, ey PARR ON Tem Me Se Re ee ne Oe PELE le OO OL Rg, Fa eT aE Oe EE eee Oe REO Pr oe ee %

ae tyme, Gel ane be . ON pay Se DAS eed eve ce pet any Se YP" SOc te oe 4 jade Aph

ce Se RES. Ss Se ~ Nee oe ee Oe we Oe ee ee eS RO ee ma eee tek Se) Geee Tees, ete ee Fe

SOS Do IE OAR EO ROO Le Mee tt eS

te) a ee Eee ee

4

:

;

}

}

A

:

87

support of its third party culpability theory, to the effect

that Borelli had engaged in conduct “similar” to that

involved in this case. Once again, the contention is merit-

less.

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

At issue is appellant’s attempt to convince the jury

that the Bells’ murders were ordered or instigated by

Borelli and performed by persons other than appellant,

through the introduction of evidence to the effect that

various allegedly “independent” witnesses had heard

Borelli (a) complain victim Cynthia Bell owed him a drug

debt, (b) state “he wanted her taken care of,” and (c)

subsequently admit having ordered the Bells’ murder. In

support of this theory, appellant sought to introduce

alleged “character” evidence to the effect that, on various

other occasions, Borelli had asked people to “take care of”

other individuals with whom he was having difficulties.

Thus, appellant moved in limine to permit the intro-

duction of testimony regarding three alleged incidents

supposedly “similar” to the Bells’ murders. In the first

alleged incident, Bernal allegedly asked Vergos to “take

care of” Debra Neundorf for Borelli. Vergos refused.

Borelli then asked Neundorf to meet him “in a somewhat

isolated location” on the side of a road just off Interstate

505. There, Borelli and Neundorf had an angry conversa-

tion. Borelli pulled out a gun and fired three times, shout-

ing “‘you need to be like George, dead.’” Neundorf was

able to avoid the shots, and Borelli “sped off.” In the

second alleged incident, Be:nal approached appellant and

asked him to “get rid of a guy named Rick for Borelli.”

Appellant refused, but later confronted Borelli, “who

” ee

e Pele ee Bp" a, ee ace, 5

Pe ee ee ee ee es eee ee eg

5 ~ » * :

a ee ee ee eT

eA eee ee Send a PART e oy eee ee

eet ee, Tene abe

Po ee aes Se Pe oo.

tA

=)

‘

‘

.

a

j

,

q

j

By

’

88

confirmed that he wanted Rick harmed.” In the third

alleged incident, Bernal confided to Murphy that he and

Borelli had planned “to get rid of” appellant. Bernal

offered to introduce Murphy to the people who were to

commit the homicide, but Murphy refused.

During the colloquy with the trial court concerning

this motion, the trial court pointed out that all of the

testimony concerning the incidents was hearsay and

asked, “How am I going to get those in?” The triai court

then denied the motion in limine without prejudice,

expressly in order to permit defense counsel to renew the

motion when seeking to introduce the testimony during

trial. However, appellant did not attempt to introduce this

evidence again.

te A ee ORR on RD, Co Oa a

EVIDENCE OF ALLEGED PRIOR MISCONDUCT

TO PROVE THIRD-PARTY CULPABILITY

The fact that an individual may have committed other :

offenses in the past may be evidence of his or her bad

character, or propensity or disposition to commit the crime

charged. As a general rule, evidence of a person’s character

or character trait, whether in the form of an opinion,

reputation, or specific instances of conduct, is inadmissible

when offered to prove that person’s conduct on a given

occasion. (Evid. Code, § 1101, subd. (a).) If evidence of

prior misconduct, bad acts or offenses is offered only for

this purpose, it must be excluded. (People v. Thompson

(1980) 27 Cal.3d 303. 316-317; People v. Basket (1965) 237

Cal.App.2d 712, 715, overruled on other grounds in People

c v. Kelley (1967) 66 Cal.2d 232, 243, fn. 5; 1 Witkin, Cal. ;

Evidence (3d ed. 1986) Circumstantial Evidence, § 356, pp.

3 325-326.)

RISE es Bigs Fhe SRE ER NOT Se SR SME Le ae eh err NT a eS geen 2 Phe eg

Ree ee eee

-_ OY

s

:

—S 7 eee ioe | ack pee eee ee ee ee ee ae ot tae yp ne Es. ee ee

i a Te ee

2 4

” a

y.

89

However, where the purpose of introducing evidence of

other crimes, uncharged offenses or prior bad acts is not to

show bad character or a disposition to commit a crime, but

instead is to establish some other independent material

fact in issue in the case, the evidence may be admissible

for that particular limited purpose. (Evid. Code, § 1101,

subd. (b); People v. Haslouer (1978) 79 Cal.App.3d 818,

825; 1 Witkin, Cal. Evidence, supra, Circumstantial

Evidence, § 357, pp. 326-328.) Thus, among other things,

evidence of prior misconduct is admissible if relevant to

prove identity, opportunity, intent, or common design,

method, scheme or plan. (Evid. Code, § 1101, subd. (b);

People v. Balcom (1994) 7 Cal.4th 414, 422; People v.

Ewoldt (1994) 7 Cal.4th 380, 399-402; Haslouer, supra, 79

Cal.App.3d at p. 825; CALJIC No. 2.50 (1994 rev.) (5th ed.

supp.); 1 Witkin, Cal. Evidence, supra, Circumstantial

Evidence, § 357, pp. 326-328.) This analysis also applies to

“proposed evidence regarding prior criminal conduct of a

third party alleged to have committed the charged of-

fense.” (People v. Davis (1995) 10 Cal.4th 463, 501.) In

such a case, the proffered third party culpability evidence

must “show a fact other than the third party's criminal

disposition, such as motive or intent,” or else it “does not

amount to direct or circumstantial evidence linking the

third person to the actual perpetration of the crime.”

(Ibid.)

Appellant now contends the trial court prejudicially

erred in limiting his right to present a defense based on

third party culpability by introducing evidence of alleged

prior similar conduct under Evidence Code section 1101.

According to appellant, the evidence of Borelli’s alleged

acts and behavior with regara to persons other than the

victims in this case was admissible as relevant to prove a

2

‘4

;

be

4)

4

a

ie ee

ae ae

common scheme, design or plan. (Evid. Code, § 1101, subd.

(b); Balcom, supra, 7 Cal.4th at p. 422; Ewald, supra, 7

Cal.4th at pp. 399-402; Haslouer, supra, 79 Cal.App.3d at

p. 825; CALJIC No. 2.50 (1994 rev.) (5th ed. supp.); 1

Witkin, Cal. Evidence, supra, Circumstantial Evidence,

§ 357, pp. 326-328.)

Evidence of an individual’s previous uncharged

misconduct may be relevant and admissible where the

‘uncharged misconduct and the charged offense share

sufficient common features to support the inference that

they are both manifestations of a common design or plan.

(People v. Ewoldt, supra, 7 Cal.4th at pp. 401, 403.) In

determining whether evidence of the uncharged prior

misconduct is relevant to demonstrate a common design,

method or plan, the court must consider the nature and

degree of similarity between the uncharged misconduct and

the charged offense. (Jd. at p. 402.) The degree of similarity

required to establish a common design, method, scheme or

plan is greater than that required to prove intent, but less

than the high degree of similarity required to prove identity.

(Ud. at pp. 402-403.) In order to establish a common design or

plan, the evidence of prior uncharged misconduct must

demonstrate not just a mere similarity in results, but such a

“concurrence of common features” that the various events

are naturally explained as the individual manifestations of a

general design, method, scheme or plan rather than merely a

series of similar spontaneous acts. (Jd. at p. 402.)

§

‘

See Fe a ee ee Ne ee ee a eee ee oe ee Pe

SS i ie otal, 0 he ee

The Supreme Court in Ewoldt requires a two-step ;

analysis before prior uncharged offenses are admitted in a

subsequent trial on charges of similar offenses: the initial

analysis under Evidence Code section 1101; and an addi-

tiona; analysis under Evidence Code section 352 to deter-

mine whether the probative value of the uncharged prior

91

offenses was substantial enough to outweigh the prejudice

inherent in all such evidence. (Ewoldt, supra, 7 Cal.4th at

pp. 404-407.) It is not necessary that the trial court spe-

cifically mention Evidence Code section 352 in making this

analysis, although it is better practice to do so. What is

essential is that the record show the trial court in fact

weighed prejudice against probative value. (People uv.

Zapien (1993) 4 Cal.4th 929, 960; People v. Heishman

(1988) 45 Cal.3d 147, 170.) This determination is commit-

ted to the sound discretion of the trial court, and will not

be reversed on appeal absent a clear abuse of discretion.

(People v. DeRango (1981) 115 Cal.App.3d 583, 589-590.)

The underlying inference supporting the admission of

prior bad act evidence is that, if the individual committed

the former act and did so in a particular fashion, he or she

must also have committed the charged crime, in the same

way or with the same intent. (People v. Diaz (1992) 3

Cal.4th 495, 561-562; Robbins, supra, 45 Cal.3d at p. 879;

People v. Wade (1988) 44 Cal.3d 975, 990; Thompson,

supra, 27 Cal.3d at p. 315; Haslouer, supra, 79 Cal.App.3d

at pp. 827-828.) No matter for which purpose the prior act

evidence is admitted — whether to show “identity,” “intent,”

or the existence of a “common scheme or plan” pursuant to

which the charged act allegedly occurred — the essential

foundational premise for admission of the uncharged acts

is that the alleged acts were actually committed by the

individual in the first place. Unless this fundamental

precondition is met, evidence of uncharged acts can have

no materiality to the charged offense, and cannot form the

basis for any reasonable inferences about the individual’s

intent, plan, or identity as the perpetrator. (People v.

Albertson (1944) 23 Cal.2d 550, 576-581; People v. Marti-

nez (1992) 10 Cal.App.4th 1001, 1006-1008; People v.

:

1

;

a ON eee ee Oe ae? ee ee

i he nd Se

Dellinger (1984) 163 Cal.App.3d 284, 298-300; People v.

Long (1970) 7 Cal.App.3d 586, 590; People v. Jackson

(1967) 254 Cal.App.2d 655, 658-660.)

DISCUSSION: APPELLANT’S

PROFFERED EVIDENCE WAS INADMISSIBLE

The short answer to appellant’s contention that the

trial court erred in not permitting him to introduce the

subject “evidence” in this instance is that there was no

competent evidence to be admitted. Even if relevant,

hearsay evidence is inadmissible except as provided by

law. (Evid. Code. § 1200, subd. (b).) Appellant never

responded to the trial court’s expressed concern that the

entirety of the proffered testimony constituted inadmissi-

ble hearsay. Certainly, he did not establish that it came

within any particular exception to the hearsay rule. As the

proponent of this evidence, appellant bore the burden of

establishing the necessary foundation for its admission.

(People v. Ramos (1997) 15 Cal.4th 1133, 1177.) We will

not assume error in the absence of any record affirma-

tively supporting such a foundation. Having failed to

proffer competent, admissible evidence that Borelli had

actually engaged in the supposedly “similar” prior acts or

that any of these alleged incidents actually occurred,

appellant cannot possibly assert error in the trial court’s

refusal to admit this testimony under Evidence Code 1101.

(Evid. Code, § 354; Ramos, supra, 15 Cal.4th at pp. 1177-1

178.)

“ For example, appellant has never offered any evidence to support

his assertions about Borelli’s alleged attempts to shoot Neundorf during

an argument with her on a side road off Interstate 505. As appellant

concedes, Neundorf herself denied that Borelli ever threatened her or

(Continued on following page)

|

F

|

|

5

.

4

j

:

.

|

:

4

1

‘

-

;

q

’

‘

4

4

;

3

!

4

A LS TE re EE ears ar, C8 age Nore rt Ga | a rr ae ae | ee eee

93

VII. ADMISSION OF EVIDENCE OF APPELLANT’S BE-

HAVIOR TOWARD MURPHY

In a corollary to the preceding argument, appellant

urges that because his proffered “bad acts” evidence

against Borelli was excluded, the trial court should also

have excluded the evidence of appellant’s threatening

behavior toward Murphy. There is no merit to the conten-

tion.

The crucial difference between the two situations is

both obvious and determinative. As seen, there was no

competent evidence proffered concerning Borelli’s alleged

prior threats or misdeeds against third persons. On the

other hand, Murphy herself testified at length about how

appellant took her for a long drive along deserted country

backroads, stopped his pickup truck in an isolated loca-

tion, threatened her life over a drug and money dispute,

fired his .357-magnum out of the window, and told her he

“was going to get to the bottom of this.” Murphy’s direct

testimony about appellant’s words and actions toward her

indisputably distinguishes this incident from those alleged

by appellant of Borelli.

By the same token, there is no question the evidence

of appellant’s behavior toward Murphy was admissible to

prove motive, opportunity, intent, preparation, plan,

knowledge and potential identity. The incident evidenced

appellant’s practice of using his gun to threaten people

over drug and money disputes, his method of going to an

that she was afraid of him. Appellant does not suggest what sort of

competent evidence could contradict the testimony of the only two

people purportedly present at the alleged incident. Similar difficulties

exist with respect to the hearsay evidence regarding the other two

allegedly “similar” incidents.

5

7 ¢ 5

.

;

P

4

:

-.

‘

:

:

oe aye eee a ey

: to ae _ ;

een we oS) ee oe eee Me ee ee eee

4

%

7

7

:

:

4

%

B

E

i,

3

j

i

2

.

:

’

94

isolated spot to do so, and his stated desire and intent to

kill those who he perceived as cheating him. This incident,

occurring only two days before the subject murders, clearly

demonstrates motive, plan, intent and identity. Tiere was

no error or abuse of discretion in admitting this e idence.

VIII. EXCLUSION OF TESTIMONY OF DEFENSE WITNESS

MAPLES

Appellant argues the trial court denied him his

constitutional right to present a defense and to a fair trial

by excluding the testimony of defense witness Pamela

Maples to the effect that she overheard Hurtz confess to

two killings committed under circumstances similar or

matching those of the murders at issue in this case. To the

contrary, the record demonstrates there was no error or

violation of appellant’s constitutional rights.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Defense witness Pamela Marie Maples testified that

Hurtz was her cousin. According to Maples, while at her

sister’s house in Vallejo in April 1994 she “overheard”

Hurtz discussing some homicides. After the trial court

sustained the prosecution’s objection to the admission of

Maples’ testimony as to what she heard Hurtz say, the

defense made an offer of proof that Maples overheard him

say he had killed a man and a woman in a car in Vacaville,

and was covered with blood as a result.

Under questioning outside the presence of the jury,

Maples testified that she was present with her sister,

Hurtz, and “a guy named Steve” at a conversation in

which Hurtz allegedly said he had killed a man and a

woman in a car. Maples was “in and out of the room” at

a 66. 2+ Sheed ol

95

the time, only heard “bits and pieces” of the conversation,

and never joined in it. The conversation was already

underway when she came in; she did not know how long

they had been discussing the murders, the context of the

discussion, or whether it was “serious” or not. Neverthe-

less, Maples testified that Hurtz said he shot “[t]he girl”

“ijn the head” first, and “[tJhen he reached over and shot

the guy.” Hurtz said they were in a parking place, but did

not otherwise describe the locale of the murders or the

type of car the victims were in. Afterward, according to

Maples’ version of what Hurtz said, “he was full of blood”

and “ran through a field, threw mud up on himself, and

then went to make the phone call for somebody to pick him

up.” Maples “didn’t hear” Hurtz say when the murders

took place. Under cross-examination, she acknowledged

that she had no idea whether the murders took place one

week or 10 years before the conversation, or whether they

took place in California or somewhere else.

The trial court sustained the prosecution objection,

stating the defense had failed to establish sufficient

foundation to permit Maples to testify as to the alleged

statements of Hurtz, because there was insufficient

evidence to connect the details of the incident allegedly

described by Hurtz to the facts of the murders at issue in

this case.

APPLICABLE LAW

A criminal defendant has the right to present evidence

of third party culpability if it is capable of raising a rea-

sonable doubt about the defendant’s own guilt. (People v.

Hall (1986) 41 Cal.3d 826, 833; People v. Von Villas (1992)

10 Cal.App.4th 201, 264.) However, a trial court is not

96

required to permit the admission of any evidence, however

remote, to show a third party’s culpability. “[T]here must

be direct or circumstantial evidence linking the third

person to the actual perpetration of the crime.” (Hall,

supra, 41 Cal.3d at p. 833; see also People v. Clark (1992) 3

Cal.4th 41, 131; Sandoval, supra, 4 Cal.4th at p. 176.)

The mere possibility that some third person commit-

ted the crime is not enough. In order to place reasonable

limits on the trial of collateral issues and avoid undue

prejudice to the People from unsupported jury speculation

on the possible guilt of other suspects, there must be some

competent and substantial proof of a probability that this

actually happened. (People v. Green (1980) 27 Cal.3d 1, 22,

overruled on other grounds in Hall, supra, 41 Cal.3d at p.

834, fn. 3; People v. Perry (1980) 104 Cal.App.3d 268, 272;

People v. Whitney (1978) 76 Cal.App.3d 863, 869-870.)

Even if a defendant's evidence is found to raise a reason-

able doubt, the evidence may still be excluded in the

discretion of the trial court if its probative value is sub-

stantially outweighed by the risk of undue delay, preju-

dice, or confusion of the issues. (§ 352; Hall, supra, 41

Cal.3d at pp. 829, 834; Von Villas, supra, 10 Cal.App.4th at

p. 265.) An appellate court should not disturb the trial

court’s exercise of its wide discretion in making this

determination unless there has been a manifest abuse of

discretion resulting in a miscarriage of justice. (People v.

Milner (1988) 45 Cal.3d 227, 239; People v. Harlan (1990)

222 Cal.App.3d 439, 446.)

DISCUSSION: NO ABUSE OF DISCRETION

The trial court did not abuse its discretion in exclud-

ing Maples’ testimony in this case. Even if her testimony

was fully credited, there was simply insufficient evidence

to connect the murders she heard Hurtz describe, with the

ones at issue here. Although Hurtz allegedly said he shot a

man and a woman sitting in a car in a “parking place,”

Maples did not know when or where the killing occurred,

or even if Hurtz was seriously describing an act he had

himself committed. There was no mention of Cynthia or

James Bell, and indeed no identification of the alleged

victims’ of Hurtz’s murders at all.

Given the absence of any actual linkage to the charged

offenses, or any other evidence supporting an inference

that the killings allegedly described by Hurtz were those

of Cynthia and James Bell, Maples’ testimony simply did

not tend to show appellant’s innocence. In view of the total

charged offense and the charged crimes, the evidence was

insufficient to raise a reasonable doubt. The trial court’s

ruling was an appropriate exercise of its discretion under

section 352. (Davis, supra, 10 Cal.4th at p. 502; Pride,

supra, 3 Cal.4th at p. 238; Clark, supra, 3 Cal.4th at pp.

132-133; Von Villas, supra, 10 Cal.App.4th at pp. 266,

267)"

" At any rate, no possible prejudice could have occurred to

appellant as a result of the exclusion of Maple’s testimony. As seen, the

trial court had already permitted appellant to introduce the very

similar testimony of both Harmina Ross and Eliane West regarding

Hurtz’s alleged confessions of shooting two unidentified people at close

range while the victims were sitting in a parked car near Vacaville.

Maple’s testimony to similar effect was merely cumulative.

oe pe tT; ‘ ,

a7 ¥ / WIRED Ss + -f ‘

aes he * is Pll a ee ee ee ‘} Z

ers “Vs Je pat: Sa 4 , OAT SOEs % ee

ee

98

(X. EXCLUSION OF IMPEACHMENT EVIDENCE AGAINST

NEUNDORF

Appellant next contends the trial court erred in

refusing to allow him to impeach the stipulated testimony

of his own defense witness Debra Neundorf by means of

alleged prior inconsistent statements and statements

against penal interest. Although we believe the trial court

erred in its analysis of the question whether Neundorf’s

alleged out-of-court statements were made against her

penal interest, we conclude that any possible error in

denying their admission was not prejudicial.

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Debra Neundorf was called as a defense witness at

both of appellant’s prior trials. The defense was unable to

call her in person as a witness at this trial because she

was declared unavailable, having invoked her Fifth

Amendment rights due to an arrest prior to trial. The

parties therefore stipulated that her testimony from the

second trial could be read into evidence. Pursuant to this

stipulation, Neundorf’s direct, cross, redirect and recross

examinations from the prior trial

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.