Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Munaf v. Geren

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

“(A C, Supreme Court, U.S.

—_ 061666 JUN 13 2007

Jn Whe OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

®

MOHAMMAD MUNAF, ET AL..,

Petitioners,

Vv.

PETE GEREN, ET AL.,

Respondents.

S

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The District Of Columbia Circuit

r

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

JONATHAN HAFETZ JOSEPH MARGULIES

Aziz Z. HUQ Counsel of Record

BRENNAN CENTER FOR MACARTHUR JUSTICE CENTER

JUSTICE NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY

NEW YORK UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF LAW

SCHOOL OF LAW 357 East Chicago Avenue

161 Avenue of the Americas Chicago, IL 60611

12th Floor Telephone: (312) 503-0890

New York, NY 10013

J ERIC M. FREEDMAN

Telephone: (212) 998-6730 250 West 94th Street

SUSAN L. BURKE New York, NY 10025

KATHERINE HAWKINS Telephone: (212) 665-2713

BURKE O’NEIL, LLC

4112 Station Street VINCENT MOCCIO

Philadelphia,PA 19127 MY Macip

waren: ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER

Telephone: (215) 487-6590 & CIRESI

2800 LaSalle Plaza

Minneapolis, MN 55402

Telephone: (612) 349-8500

Counsel for Petitioners

-———

ae

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. When an American citizen is detained under the

exclusive control of American military authorities abroad,

is the jurisdiction of a federal court to entertain his peti-

tion for a writ of habeas corpus defeated by the fact that

those American military authorities purport to act as a

part of a multi-national force and that they propose — with

no valid legal authority — to deliver the citizen to a foreign

nation for execution of a death sentence imposed by a

court of that nation?

2. Does the decision of the Court of Appeals, holding that

Hirota v. MacArthur deprives the federal courts of juris-

' diction under these circumstances, extend the 1948 per

curiam opinion in Hirota into conflict with this Court’s

post-1948 jurisprudence culminating in Rasul v. Bush and

Hamdi v. Rumsfeld, and should that conflict be resolved

either by restricting Hirota to its proper sphere or by

overruling it?

3. Did the Court of Appeals err in holding that the

jurisdiction of the federal courts over a habeas corpus

petition filed by an American citizen detained under the

exclusive control of American military authorities abroad

turns on whether those authorities propose to deliver him

to a foreign nation for prosecution in its courts (in which

case the Court of Appeals has held that habeas jurisdiction

exists) or for execution of sentence after conviction by the

foreign court (in which case the Court of Appeals here

holds that jurisdiction ceases to exist)? If this distinction is

valid, can the military authorities defeat federal habeas

corpus jurisdiction ex post by doing what they did in this

case — arranging the conviction and sentencing of their

detainee by a foreign court after his habeas petition has

been filed?

ii

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Mohammad Munaf, who is imprisoned at Camp

Cropper, in Iraq, appeared below as the petitioner, with

his sister, Maisoon Mohammed, acting as his next friend.

The following people appeared below as respondents: Pete

Geren, the Secretary of the Army; Major General John D.

Gardner, Deputy Commanding General of Detainee

Operations; and Lieutenant Colonel Quentin K. Crank,

petitioner’s immediate custodian.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED................cccsssscecceeeseeerers i

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW... ii

I iaithcbiscndcccscincravinctncsscisossocestoss iii

TIER GI GRR BEIMEE EEE ocsccescscsccscccccscessccconsccocecce Vv

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI.............. 1

CITATION TO OPINIONS BELOW.......................0008 1

IIT Giiitiicntcasitsanidbdsititpbinhihsdutasiidéesiseneiaiviens 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

ST a ininsiinsicninicidnnbiniipuctincsminieibsnennicidnensetionte 1

EEN ee ee ee 2

a so acerierinpenttonmenenidanéonbasse 3

By I III 00 isin cnctssonminnoontnssonsecseossesoee 4

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT...................+ 9

THE COURT SHOULD GRANT THE WRIT

BECAUSE THE LOWER COURT IMPROPERLY

EXTENDED HIROTA v. MACARTHUR TOA USS.

CITIZEN IMPRISONED BY U.S. SOLDIERS AT A

CF, FE We MEIDY skp bncccscsccistveccésanssnctesonevees 9

Bi. Fe itittitinittinntrintosccintindiinciniineessmninpeeses 9

B. Citizenship Has Been “A Head Of

Jurisdiction” For Nearly Sixty Years.............. 12

C. Treating Mr. Munaf’s Case As An Exception To

The Rule Of Habeas Jurisdiction For Citizens Has

Created Dangerous Uncertainty In The Law ........ 16

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

a. By Making Habeas Jurisdiction Hinge On

The Fact Of A Foreign Conviction, The

Lower Court Ignored Settled Constitutional

Principles And Introduced Needless

Ambiguity Into The Law Of Prisoner

Be aivcticccncssccsesnepercticsissectisiobssidiatin 17

b. Neither An Executive Agreement Nor A

U.N. Resolution Can Suspend The Great

WEI ci coaciinpenescoyeemnneedueitiniedaghiingsommbiaicuaiin 24

IIE i sscksccnsiscsaiticissnssiteenitiniicelandiaelin 27

I sccnisindsilcdapiaplenodananaaad App. 1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

FEDERAL CASES

Abu Ali v. Ashcroft, 350 F. Supp. 2d 28 (D.D.C.

ELS ao A a 22

Barr v. United States Department of Justice, 819

a etic lactic teaseantetiont 22

Braden v. 30th Judicial Circuit Court of Ky., 410

I cescetesarrtaees 13, 15

Burns v. Wilson, 346 U.S. 137 (1953) ...........cccccccccceeeeeeeees 13

Ex parte Bollman, 8 U.S. 75 (1807) .........:.cccccceseeeceeeeeeeees 25

Ex parte Merryman, 17 F. Cas. 144 (C.C.D. Md.

ENE a ce ee 26

Factor v. Laubenheimer, 290 U.S. 276 (1933) ............. 17, 23

Geofroy v. Riggs, 133 U.S. 258 (1890)..............ccccccceeseeeeees 25

Grupo Dataflux v. Atlas Global Group, 541 U.S. 567

EEE Se a ee 19

Hamdi v. Rumsfeld, 542 U.S. 507 (2004) ...............06. passim

Hirota v. MacArthur, 338 U.S. 197 (1948) (per

I cthiinttteinornientitinesnncscdguieesenneninees hocusssnasendenssoones passim

Holmes v. Jennison, 39 U.S. 540 (1840) ............ccccceceeceeeee 18

Holmes v. Laird, 459 F.2d 1211 (D.C. Cir.), cert.

denied, 409 U.S. 869 (1972) ..........ccccsscecscesceeeerseeeeeeenees 18

Johnson v. Eisentrager, 339 U.S. 763

unitate histybeendeeuedssseansecscetesetensevedevsccepesenccees 12, 14, 15, 16, 20

Madsen v. Kinsella, 343 U.S. 341 (1952) ..............cccccceeeees 13

McElroy v. Guagliardo, 361 U.S. 281 (1960).................... 13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Missouri v. Holland, 252 U.S. 416 (1929)..............ccceceeeees 25

Munaf v. Harvey, 456 F. Supp. 2d 115 (D.D.C. 2006)..... 1, 7

Munaf v. Geren, 482 F.3d 582 (D.C. Cir. 2007).......... passim

Omar v. Harvey, No. 06-5126, Slip Op. (D.C. Cir.

PRA a ee ccniticninneninhctiinibinitinniesbsccinanattianiinennniiints 19, 20, 22

Quinn v. Robinson, 783 F.2d 776 (9th Cir.) cert.

denied, 479 U.S. 882 (1986) ..............ssessecssssesesssreeeeserees 17

Rasul v. Bush, 542 U.S. 466 (2004) ...........ccccecceeereees passim

Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1 (1957) ..........cssesrsccccscssseseceecesees 25

Republic of Austria v. Altmann, 541 U.S. 677 (2004)....... 21

Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Express,

es ee eciisecsnititcnentiitetapimptensemnensinecinnean 8

Terlinden v. Ames, 184 U.S. 270 (1902) ............ccccceeeeeeeeees 18

Underhill v. Hernandez, 168 U.S. 250 (1897)................... 22

United States ex rel. Toth v. Quarles, 350 U.S. 11

Gil ncoceckaneesnesnsengutstpscecsineneptntntantantnninasnemesneseseesmnees 13

Valentine v. United States, 297 U.S. 5 (1936)........ 17, 18, 23

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

re a IR a I tasccneretnsenetntntnttenensenssccetinnmens 2,5

eee 22

eee 1, 4,5

FEDERAL STATUTES

SE ae IIE crstcuninentpetienenteninteininsniennaninmntanie 1

ET 2,5, 17

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Act of Sept. 24, 1789, ch. 20, § 14, 1 Stat. 82 oo... 17

Military Commissions Act of 2006, P.L. 109-366,

120 Stat. 2600 (Get. 17, 2OOG)......ccceccsccesecesesscossccserseees 26

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

152 Cong. Rec. H7925-02, H7946, 2006 WL

2796911 (daily ed. Sept. 29, 2006) ...........c.ceccssecsesseceeees 26

152 Cong. Rec. $10243-01, S10267, 2006 WL

Rs Ci FD ivicistininsteincteceihtincedinitaniterincerece 26

Advance Questions for General George W. Casey, Jr.,

U.S. Army Nominee for Commander, Multi-

National Force-Iraq, 108th Cong. 3 (2004)..............00000+ 4

Nomination of General George W. Casey, Jr., USA,

for Reappointment to the Grade of General and

to be Commander, Multinational Force-Irag:

Hearing Before the S. Comm. On Armed Sucs.,

108th Cong. (Jume 24, 2004) .........ccccccscccssseesessrereseneeeeees 4

ADMINISTRATIVE AND EXECUTIVE MATERIALS

Executive Agreement of July 27, 1942, 57 Stat.

IE csisaeessteeicpienapesnaineandanaiiindianaitncuniiateaitiatediinimnniniinaenesaiaietin 25

INTERNATIONAL MATERIALS

U.N. HRC, Communication No. 1539/2006, Munaf

v. Romania (CCPR), Submissions of Romanian

Gov’t on Admissibility (Mar. 5, 2007), available at

http://www. brennancenter.org/dynamic/subpages/

download_file_49032.pdf and http://www.brennan

center.org/dynamic/subpages/download_file_49034.

SET nsaseesaredesmensennsenscenniatinnnnmantenenintuininiseetntieisthesesents 6, 23

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

U.N. Resolution 1386 (Dec. 20, 2001)..........c.ccccccccseereeneees 14

U.N. Resolution 1511 (Oct. 16, 2003) ............cccccccsseeeeeeees 14

U.N. Resolution 1546 (June 8, 2004)..............ccccccseeeeeeeeees 14

TREATISES

M. Cherif Bassiouni, International Extradition:

United States Law and Practice (4th ed. 2002)............ 18

R. Stern, E. Gressman, and S. Shapiro, Supreme

Court Practice (8th ed. 2002) ............cccccccesereeeeeeeeeeesesees 20

MISCELLANEOUS

Appellant’s Pet. for Reh’g and Reh’g En Banc,

Omar v. Harvey, No. 06-5126 (D.C. Cir. Mar. 26,

iil icienscticiarentuchichiecetmasidatntnataiaisinianenintitinigidatndutidenseninnees 19

Arg. Tr., Munaf v. Harvey, 456 F. Supp. 2d 115

(D.D.C. 2006) (No. 06-1455) .........ccccccecceeeeseescessereerecees 23

Arg. Tr., Omar v. Harvey, No. 06-5126 (D.C. Cir.

Bs Bee cncscrunspabenqnacimmnpuarerdimmnitiedteteieaseineemnscseneeece 4

Brief of Petitioner, Johnson v. Eisentrager, 339 U.S.

_ EER eee 12

Brief of Petitioner-Appellant, Hirota v. MacArthur,

338 U.S. 197 (1948) (No. 239) ...........cccccceceeseeeersseeereres 21

Brief for the Appellees, Munaf v. Harvey, 482 F.3d

582 (D.C. Cir. 2006) (No. 06-5324) ...........cccccceseeeeeeeeeeeees 4

Munaf v. Harvey, No. 06-A471, Order, 2006 WL

3262398 (U.S. Nov. 13, 2006) .............cccccccccccsessssesssereseors 8

Munaf v. Geren, No. 06-5324, Order (D.C. Cir. May

ie et sinlnceitedinstiteibisineitettaaltitiieinniagnncceecoesentssiibiniidaedubinepibinhiiitis 9

—S- ee ee — ee LC!

-_ - Ss, S/S oe a Se” oe

“”

ee te Se Sg ee pe Pl ONS Sey Pee See ee a

rt a ee i Nee bie ot OO Mi he te r vr

¢ vos

>

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Munaf v. Harvey, No. 06-5324, Order (D.C. Cir. Nov.

Sn TTT sit i ciesineritetisibiathitelennalipiicieiiibiiaabieintabataiinliahatveuntenince 8

Munaf v. Harvey, No. 06-5324, Order (D.C. Cir. Oct.

Sita NITE iciinsioaticasinssiesiinhsdidataaiiniineiaiietttutiangehidigniniapetecmninnerietn 7

Pet’n for Writ of Habeas Corpus, Hirota uv.

MacArthur, 338 U.S. 197 (1948) (No. 239) ................0 21

Pet’rs’ Mot. for TRO, Munaf v. Harvey, 456

F. Supp. 2d 115 (D.D.C. 2006) (No. 06-1455).............0006 5

Pet’rs’ Supp. Mot. for TRO, Munaf v. Harvey, 456

F. Supp. 2d 115 (D.D.C. 2006) (No. 06-1455).................. 7

Resp. Pet’rs’ Supp. Mot. for TRO, Munaf v. Harvey,

456 F. Supp. 2d 115 (D.D.C. 2006) (No. 06-1455)........... 6

Resp’ts’ Mem. in Opp. to Mot. for TRO, Munaf v.

Harvey, 456 F. Supp. 2d 115 (D.D.C. 2006) (No.

eee iiitiainentnittaiebbdiipiindunsilsaneninigabilttiniiinidimadeeemnenene 5

1

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Mohammad Munaf, with his sister Maisoon Moham-

med as next friend, prays that a writ of certiorari issue to

review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit.

e

CITATION TO OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported as

Munaf v. Geren, 482 F.3d 582 (D.C. Cir. 2007), and is

reprinted at Appendix A to this petition. The opinion of the

United States District Court for the District of Columbia is

reported as Munaf v. Harvey, 456 F. Supp. 2d 115 (D.D.C.

2006), and is reprinted as Appendix B.

S

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals entered its judgment April 6,

2007, and, on May 9, granted Mr. Munaf’s motion to stay

the mandate pending the disposition of this petition. This

Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

*

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

| This case involves the Due Process Clause of the Fifth

Amendment to the United States Constitution, which

provides in pertinent part:

No person shall be . . . deprived of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law. . . .

2

This case also involves the Suspension Clause to the

Constitution, which provides:

The Privilege of the Writ of Habeas Corpus shall

not be suspended, unless when in Cases of Rebel-

lion or Invasion the public Safety may require it.

This case also involves 28 U.S.C. § 2241, which

provides in relevant part:

(a) Writs of habeas corpus may be granted by

the Supreme Court, any justice thereof, the

district courts and any circuit judge within

their respective jurisdictions.

** &

(c) The writ of habeas corpus shall not extend

to a prisoner unless —

1. He is in custody under or by color of

the authority of the United States . .. ; or

* * &

3. He is in custody in violation of the

Constitution or laws or treaties of the

United States. ...

¢

STATEMENT

This petition arises from a divided decision of the

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

dismissing the habeas corpus petition of a U.S. citizen in

U.S. military custody overseas. The lower court relied on a

59-year-old per curiam opinion from this Court that it

described as not “especially clear or compelling, particu-

larly as applied to American citizens,” a decision whose

3

continuing vitality has been called into question by more

recent rulings here. But the Court of Appeals expressly

concluded it would leave to this Court “the prerogative of

overruling its own decisions.” Munaf v. Geren, 482 F.3d

582, 585 (D.C. Cir. 2007) (App. A at 6).

A. Statement of Facts

Mohammad Munaf was born in Baghdad, Iraq, and

emigrated to the United States in 1990 with his wife. J.A.

7.' In 2000, after ten years in the United States, Mr.

Munaf naturalized to become an American citizen. Jd. at

11. Mr. Munaf and his wife have three young children, all

US. citizens. Id. at 12.

Mr. Munaf’s wife is Romanian, and in 2001 he and his

family moved to Bucharest. Jd. In March 2005, three

Romanian journalists invited Mr. Munaf to travel with

them to Iraq as their paid translator and guide. Jd. The

four arrived in Iraq in mid-March 2005. In late March,

they were kidnapped by an Iragi group identifying itself as

the “Muadh Ibn Jabal Brigade.” On May 22, 2005, after

nearly two months in captivity, Mr. Munaf and the three

journalists were released. Jd. Upon release, they were

taken to the Romanian Embassy in Baghdad.

Immediately thereafter, U.S. military officers arrested

Mr. Munaf. Jd. They moved him to Camp Cropper, a U.S.

prison near Baghdad International Airport, where he

remains in the custody of U.S. personnel. Jd. at 8; Munaf,

' “J.A.” refers to the Joint Appendix filed in the Court of Appeals.

4

App. A. at 7 (Randolph, J., concurring in the judgment)

(“[Munaf] is held by American forces overseas.”). *

Mr. Munaf’s custodians, like all U.S. soldiers in Iraq,

answer only to a U.S. chain of command and are solely

“subject to the authority, direction and control of the

Commander, U.S. Central Command/[.]” Advance Ques-

tions for General George W. Casey, Jr., U.S. Army Nominee

for Commander, Multi-National Force-Iraq, 108th Cong. 3

(2004). As the government has properly conceded, U.S.

citizens imprisoned in Iraq are entirely “in the authority

and control of the United States.” Arg. Tr., Omar v. Har-

vey, No. 06-5126 (D.C. Cir. Sep. 11, 2006).

B. Proceedings Below

On August 18, 2006 — after almost fifteen months in

U.S. custody — Mr. Munaf petitioned for a writ of habeas

* In the lower courts, the government described a non-judicial

proceeding that it claims took place at Camp Cropper, and that

supposedly led to Mr. Munaf’s classification as a “security internee.”

Brief for the Appellees at 5-6, Munaf v. Harvey, 482 F.3d 582 (D.C. Cir.

2006) (No. 06-5324). It is undisputed that Mr. Munaf did not have the

benefit of counsel at this proceeding, and the government pointedly

does not suggest it satisfied the requirements of the Due Process

Clause. When the litigation in this case moves to the merits, the district

court may take the measure of this proceeding against the require-

ments imposed by the Court in Hamdi v. Rumsfeld, 542 U.S. 507 (2004)

(plurality opinion) (military must demonstrate lawfulness of citizen’s

detention by judicial proceeding that satisfies Due Process Clause).

* General Casey's Senate testimony was to the same effect. See

Nomination of General George W. Casey, Jr., USA, for Reappointment to

the Grade of General and to be Commander, Multi-National Force-Iraq:

Hearing Before the S. Comm. On Armed Sucs., 108th Cong. (June 24,

2004) (U.S. soldiers in MNF-I do not answer to any component of the

United Nations or to any entity other than the United States).

5

corpus in the United States District Court for the District

of Columbia. Through his sister as next friend, he alleged

that he had committed no crime or violent act against the

U.S. or its allies; that he had not supported forces hostile

to American interests; that he had not been a member of

or associated with al-Qaeda or any insurgent or militia

group; and that his detention by the Executive without

lawful process violated, inter alia, the Suspension Clause

and the Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment to the

U.S. Constitution. J.A. 7, 13, 85-86. Mr. Munaf invoked the

court’s jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 2241(a), (c\(1),

and (c)(3), as well as the Suspension and Due Process

Clauses. Jd. at 9.

Three weeks after Mr. Munaf began this litigation,

counsel for the government advised Mr. Munaf’s counsel

that Mr. Munaf would be tried for an unspecified civilian

crime by an Iraqi court and would be transferred to Iraqi

custody if convicted. Because Mr. Munaf, a Sunni Muslim,

faces a real and substantial risk of torture if he were

delivered to the Iraqi Government, his counsel moved for a

temporary restraining order (“TRO”) to freeze the status

quo and prevent any transfer pending the adjudication of

his habeas petition. Pet’rs’ Mot. for TRO, Munaf v. Harvey,

456 F. Supp. 2d 115 (D.D.C. 2006) (No. 06-1455). The

government opposed the motion, contending the District

Court lacked jurisdiction over Mr. Munaf’s habeas peti-

tion. Id., Resp’ts’ Mem. in Opp. to Mot. for TRO, Munaf v.

Harvey, 456 F. Supp. 2d 115 (D.D.C. 2006) (No. 06-1455).

On October 12, 2006, despite the application for a

TRO pending in the District Court, U.S. military officers

presented Mr. Munaf before the Central Criminal Court of

Iraq (“CCCI”) to face criminal charges related to his

alleged role in the kidnapping of his three Romanian

6

companions. /d., Resp. to Pet’rs’ Supp. Mot. for TRO at 1,

Munaf v. Harvey, 456 F. Supp. 2d 115 (D.D.C. 2006) (No.

06-1455).

Iraqi law requires that an aggrieved party issue a

formal complaint against the accused before a prosecution

can go forward. J.A. 53. Because Mr. Munaf was charged

with kidnapping Romanian citizens, the CCCI could not

begin a prosecution without a formal complaint from the

Romanian government. Jd. At the October 12 proceeding,

Lieutenant Robert M. Pirone of the U.S. Coast Guard

appeared in the CCCI, purportedly on behalf of the Roma-

nian Government, to make a formal complaint against Mr.

Munaf. Lieutenant Pirone stated that the Romanian Em-

bassy had authorized him to appear on its behalf. Jd. at 52.

He claimed this authorization was documented in a letter

submitted in advance to the Iraqi court. Jd. No such letter

was produced, however. Nor is it part of the public record in

either the U.S. or Iraqi courts. Id. at 48. Neither Mr. Munaf

nor his counsel has seen it. The Government of Romania,

meanwhile, has officially and emphatically denied that it

authorized Lt. Pirone to speak on its behalf. Jd. at 85; see

also U.N. HRC, Communication No. 1539/2006, Munaf v.

_ Romania (CCPR), Submissions of Romanian Gov't on Admis-

sibility, {21 (Mar. 5, 2007) (“Romanian representatives from

the Embassy in Iraq had no knowledge either of the trial, nor

of the alleged authorization allegedly given by the Roma-

nian authorities to U.S. officer Robert Pirone.”).*

* Mr. Munaf has filed a complaint against the Government of

Romania in the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights,

alleging, inter alia, that Romania did not take actions within its power

to protect Mr. Munaf from a death sentence. In its response, Romania

has insisted Lt. Pirone had no authority to act for the Romanian

(Continued on following page)

7

After Lt. Pirone set forth what he claimed was Roma-

nia’s position, he met ex parte with the presiding Iraqi

judge for approximately fifteen minutes. Immediately

thereafter, that judge convicted and sentenced Mr. Munaf

to die. J.A. at 49. Mr. Munaf’s appeal of his criminal

conviction to the Iraqi Court of Cassation is still pending.

Mr. Munaf promptly notified the District Court that

he had been convicted and sentenced to death. Pet’rs’

Supp. Mot. for TRO, Munaf v. Harvey, 456 F. Supp. 2d 115

(D.D.C. 2006) (No. 06-1455). Nonetheless, on October 19,

2006, the District Court dismissed the case for want of

subject matter jurisdiction and denied the TRO application

as moot. Munaf v. Harvey, 456 F. Supp. 2d 115 (D.D.C.

2006) (App. B).

Mr. Munaf filed an immediate notice of appeal to the

D.C. Circuit and asked the Court of Appeals to enjoin the

government from transferring him to Iraqi custody pend-

ing the outcome of this litigation. On October 27, 2006, a

divided motions panel denied the request over a written

dissent, but granted an administrative injunction until

November 6, conditioned upon Mr. Munaf seeking emer-

gency relief in this Court by that date. See Munaf v.

Harvey, No. 06-5324, Order (D.C. Cir. Oct. 27, 2006); id.

(Tatel, J., dissenting). On November 6, petitioner filed

simultaneous applications for injunctive relief here and

with the en banc court of appeals.

Government in the Iraqi proceedings. The documents are available at

http://www. brennancenter.org/dynamic/subpages/download_file_49032. pdf

and http:/Avww. brennancenter.org/dynamic/subpages/download_file_49034.

pdf.

8

On November 10, 2006, the motions panel issued a

sua sponte order extending its administrative injunction

pending action by the en banc court. This removed any

imminent risk to Mr. Munaf. Having been so informed,

this Court on the next business day denied the motion

which was still pending before it. See Munaf v. Harvey, No.

06-5324, Order (D.C. Cir. Nov. 10, 2006); Munaf v. Harvey,

No. 06-A471, Order, 2006 WL 3262398 (U.S. Nov. 13,

2006). On December 15, the en banc court granted an

injunction barring Mr. Munaf’s transfer to Iraqi custody

pending resolution of his appeal.

On April 6, 2007, a divided panel affirmed the dis-

missal of Mr. Munaf’s habeas petition, concluding, reluc-

tantly, that its hands were tied by this Court’s terse per

curiam opinion in Hirota v. MacArthur, 338 U.S. 197

(1948) (per curiam). Munaf, App. A at 5-6. Speaking for the

panel majority, Judge Sentelle voiced dissatisfaction with

“the logic of Hirota,” “particularly as applied to U.S.

citizens,” and “acknowledged” that this Court’s recent

decisions in Hamdi v. Rumsfeld, 542 U.S. 507 (2004), and

Rasul v. Bush, 542 U.S. 466 (2004), cast doubt on “Hirota’s

continuing vitality.” Munaf, App. A at 5-6. Nonetheless, the

majority concluded that clarity on this issue must await

action by this Court, which alone enjoys “the prerogative

of overruling its own decisions.” Jd. at 6 (quoting Rodri-

guez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, 490 U.S.

477, 484 (1989)).

Concurring in the judgment, Judge Randolph rejected

the government’s jurisdictional argument out of hand. He

agreed with Mr. Munaf that citizenship and detention by

U.S. forces were “critical” distinctions between this case

and Hirota. Munaf, App. A at 7 (Randolph, J. concurring in

the judgment); see also id. at 8 (extending Hirota to bar

9

habeas petitions filed by or on behalf of U.S. citizens

“would contradict ... the majority and dissenting opinions

in Rasul”). Judge Randolph, however, would have denied

relief on the merits based on grounds neither party had

briefed in the courts below. Jd. at 7-9.

On April 26, 2007, Mr. Munaf moved the Court of

Appeals to stay issuance of its mandate pending the filing

and ultimate disposition of this petition. The government

opposed the motion on the basis that the petition was

unlikely to be granted. On May 9, the court below granted

Mr. Munaf’s motion. The effect of that order is to preserve

the Court of Appeals’ interim injunction of December 15,

2006, preventing Mr. Munaf’s transfer to Iraqi custody.

Munaf v. Geren, No. 06-5324, Order (D.C. Cir. May 9,

2007).

¢

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE COURT SHOULD GRANT THE WRIT BECAUSE

THE LOWER COURT IMPROPERLY EXTENDED

HIROTA v. MACARTHUR TO A U.S. CITIZEN IM-

PRISONED BY U.S. SOLDIERS AT A U.S. MILITARY

PRISON.

A. Introduction

The significance of this case can hardly be gainsaid.

The Executive Branch argues, and the lower court held,

that although Congress has not suspended the Great Writ

of Habeas Corpus for U.S. citizens, the United States

military may nonetheless detain an American citizen in an

overseas American prison indefinitely, or dispatch him to

his death at the hands of another sovereign, with no

10

obligation to demonstrate the lawfulness of either his

imprisonment or his threatened transfer.

So framed, this case presents questions of surpassing

importance: Is the Executive constrained by the Constitu-

tion and laws of the United States in its treatment of U.S.

citizens detained by U.S. officers at a U.S. prison over-

seas? And if so, can those citizens enforce those constraints

in a federal court by way of habeas corpus? The ruling

below, which cast into doubt the long-settled answers to

these questions, demands prompt review.

The Court of Appeals held that the Executive need not

account for Mr. Munaf’s imprisonment or threatened

transfer because he has been convicted by an Iraqi court

and is being detained “by United States military personnel

serving as part of the Multi-National Force-Iraq.” Munaf,

App. A at 2. The lower court did not elaborate on the

relative significance of these two facts except to conclude

_ that they brought his case within Hirota v. MacArthur,

338 U.S. 197 (1948) (per curiam). Id. In Hirota, the Court

declined to entertain a collateral challenge brought by the

former Japanese prime minister to his conviction by an

international war crimes tribunal. Hirota was a nine

sentence per curiam by a divided and incomplete Court.’ It

was issued three days after oral argument, cited no au-

thority, and has never been relied on by this Court for any

proposition.

* Justice Murphy dissented without writing in Hirota; Justice

Rutledge reserved his decision but died before announcing his vote; and

Justice Jackson did not participate. Hirota v. MacArthur, 338 U.S. 197,

198 (1948). Justice Douglas concurred only in the result, believing the

district court would have had jurisdiction over the case had it begun in

a lower court. Jd. at 203 (Douglas, J., concurring in the result).

11

The Circuit Court’s decision has dangerously destabi-

lized decades of settled precedent. Most importantly, it

threatens to transform the legal landscape for US. citi-

zens in U.S. custody. Almost sixty years ago, the Solicitor

General asked the Court to deny habeas protections to

U.S. citizens detained overseas. Unanimously, the Court

refused. In the years that followed, the Court has consis-

tently reaffirmed habeas as the preeminent protection of a

citizen’s physical liberty. The Circuit Court’s decision casts

this venerable doctrine in doubt.

At the same time, the lower court’s proffered justifica-

tion for its new rule introduces needless uncertainty into

other settled areas of the law. According to the lower court,

the bare fact of Mr. Munaf’s foreign conviction, along with

America’s participation in the MNF-I, combine by some

uncertain alchemy to strip a federal court of its power to

examine the lawfulness of a citizen’s detention and threat-

ened transfer. But this simply makes no sense. As for the

conviction, this Court has long recognized that a prisoner

may use habeas to challenge the lawfulness of his threat-

ened transfer to another sovereign, even in the shadow of

a foreign conviction. And, as for American participation in

the MNF-I, it is axiomatic that an executive agreement

cannot authorize what the Constitution forbids. Executive

membership in an international military force, therefore,

cannot suspend the Great Writ for U.S. citizens.

The lower court went astray by extending Hirota to

bar Mr. Munaf’s habeas petition. Whatever argument may

be made to deny the privilege of litigation to an enemy

alien who attempts to mount a collateral challenge to his

conviction by a foreign tribunal, it simply has no relevance

to a direct challenge by a U.S. citizen to his detention and

threatened transfer at the hands of his own countrymen.

12

The Court should grant certiorari and reverse the

judgment below to prevent a dangerous erosion of the

judiciary’s power to hear habeas petitions from U.S.

citizens detained abroad, and to prevent unnecessary

ambiguities from distorting the settled law governing

prisoner transfers and executive agreements.

B. Citizenship Has Been “A Head Of Jurisdiction”

For Nearly Sixty Years.

In 1950, the Solicitor General asked the Court to hold

that prisoners incarcerated overseas — whether citizen or

alien — had no right to challenge their detention in habeas.

The Court pointedly refused the invitation, drawing a

distinction that has endured for nearly six decades. Ameri-

can citizens, the Court explained, enjoy a “status” distinct

from “all categories of aliens”:

Citizenship as a head of jurisdiction and a

ground of protection was old when Paul invoked

it in his appeal to Caesar. The years have not de-

stroyed nor diminished the importance of citizen-

ship nor have they sapped the vitality of a

citizen’s claims upon his government for protec-

tion.

Johnson v. Eisentrager, 339 U.S. 763, 769-70 (1950); see

also Brief of Petitioner at 14-15, Johnson v. Eisentrager,

339 U.S. 763 (1950) (No. 306) (arguing that citizens as well

as aliens held overseas should be denied access to courts).

Decided two years after Hirota, Eisentrager conclusively

put to rest any argument that U.S. citizens enjoy no

greater protection than enemy aliens when they find

themselves imprisoned abroad by their government.

13

The decades since Kisentrager have only solidified the

Court’s commitment to this principle. See, e.g., Madsen v.

Kinsella, 343 U.S. 341 (1952) (entertaining habeas petition

filed by U.S. citizen convicted and sentenced by a U.S.-

controlled occupation court sitting in Germany); Burns v.

Wilson, 346 U.S. 137, 139 (1953) (plurality opinion) (adju-

dicating habeas petition from U.S. soldiers imprisoned in

Japan); United States ex rel. Toth v. Quarles, 350 U.S. 11

(1955) (granting writ to former U.S. soldier who sought

habeas while imprisoned in Korea); McElroy v. Guagliardo,

361 U.S. 281, 282 (1960) (granting writ to U.S. citizen who

sought habeas while held in Morocco).

By 1973, this principle had achieved sufficient clarity

that the Court could proclaim the following general rule

with confidence: “Where American citizens confined

overseas (and thus outside the territory of any district

court) have sought relief in habeas corpus ... , the peti-

tioners’ absence from the district does not present a

_ jurisdictional obstacle to the consideration of the claim.”

Braden v. 30th Judicial Circuit Court of Ky., 410 U.S. 484,

495 (1973) (internal citations omitted). For U.S. citizens

held abroad, the only relevant jurisdictional inquiry is

whether an ultimate custodian is in the territorial jurisdic-

tion of the district court. Jd.

The most recent links in this unbroken chain are

Rasul v. Bush, 542 U.S. 466 (2004), and Hamdi v. Rums-

feld, 542 U.S. 507 (2004). In Rasul, eight Justices “explic-

itly agreed that American citizens held by American

officials overseas could invoke habeas jurisdiction.” Munaf,

App. A. 7 (Randolph, J., concurring in the judgment).

Writing for five Justices, Justice Stevens pointed out that

a U.S. citizen could invoke the habeas statute to challenge

his imprisonment at Guantanamo Bay, Cuba. Rasul, 542

14

U.S. at 481. Dissenting on the ground that the writ did not

extend to foreign nationals at Guantanamo, Justice Scalia

observed for himself and two other Justices “that United

States citizens throughout the world may be entitled to

habeas corpus rights, [which] is precisely the position that

this Court adopted in Eisentrager....” Id. at 502.

Rasul concerned foreign nationals. Hamdi, however,

involved an American citizen seized by a multinational

force within a theater of active military operations. 542

U.S. at 510 (plurality opinion) (noting that Hamdi was

captured in Afghanistan by Afghan, not American, forces).°

Hamdi was transferred to the physical custody of the U.S.

military, and held first in Afghanistan, then at the

Guantanamo Bay Naval Base, and ultimately at military

brigs in Virginia and South Carolina. Jd. Like Mr. Munaf,

Hamdi filed a habeas petition seeking to vindicate “the

most elemental of liberty interests — the interest in being

free from physical detention by one’s own government.” Jd.

at 529. Not one Justice suggested even a possibility that

jurisdiction was wanting. Id. at 539; id. at 553 (Souter, J.,

concurring in part, dissenting in part, and concurring in

the judgment); id. at 554 (Scalia, J., dissenting); id. at 585

(Thomas, J., dissenting).

Like Hamdi, Mr. Munaf is a U.S. citizen taken into

U.S. custody in the course of an overseas multinational

* The U.N. Resolutions that authorized multinational operations in

Afghanistan mirror the Resolutions that established the multinational

force in Iraq. Compare U.N. Resolution 1386 41 (Dec. 20, 2001)

(authorizing an “International Security Assistance Force” to maintain

security in Afghanistan) with U.N. Resolution 1511 4 13 (Oct. 16, 2003)

(authorizing a “multinational force” to maintain security in Iraq); U.N.

Resolution 1546 4 10 (June 8, 2004) (authorizing the “multinational

force” to take all necessary steps to maintain and stabilize Iraq).

15

military operation. Like Hamdi, Mr. Munaf was initially

seized by an ally of the United States. J.A. 12. And like

Hamdi, Mr. Munaf is in the present and actual custody of

U.S. officers. Munaf, App. A at 2 (Munaf “is being held, in

Iraq, by United States military personnel ... ”); id. at 7

(Randolph, J., concurring in the judgment) (“[Munaf] is

held by American forces overseas.”).’ Quite literally, U.S.

military officers hold the key to his cell. They alone have

the authority to release him, should a U.S. court order it

done. Braden, 410 U.S. at 495. Habeas jurisdiction re-

quires nothing more.

This entire jurisprudence — from Lisentrager to

Hamdi — developed after Hirota. And the panel majority

freely “acknowledged” that the most recent decisions in

this line — Rasul and Hamdi —- cast “Hirota’s continued

vitality” into doubt. Munaf, App. A at 6. Indeed, the

majority candidly confessed that the logic of Hirota was in

no way “clear or compelling, particularly as applied to

American citizens.” Yet because “Hirota did not suggest

any distinction between citizens and non-citizens,” the

lower court concluded, reluctantly, that it was bound by

the decision, leaving it to this Court to resolve the incon-

sistencies in the doctrine. Jd. Judge Randolph, however,

disagreed, tersely dismissing reliance on Hirota. “To

’ The fact that Mr. Munaf is being held in Iraq while Hamdi was

held in South Carolina does not alter the result. As Kisentrager and its

progeny make plain, detention overseas does not alter the jurisdictional

calculus for American citizens. See supra at 11-14. Further, as Justice

O’Connor cautioned in Hamdi, granting access to U.S. courts for

American citizens held within the country but denying it to American

citizens held overseas would create a “perverse incentive” for the

military to “simply keep citizen-detainees abroad.” Hamdi, 542 U.S. at

524 (plurality opinion). And, in any event, the location of Mr. Munaf’s

detention was irrelevant to the lower court's jurisdictional logic.

16

extend Hirota to habeas petitions filed by American

citizens,” he warned, “would contradict Eisentrager and

the majority and dissenting opinions in Rasul.” Jd. at 8

(Randolph, J., concurring in the judgment).

The net effect of the lower court’s decision is to upend

almost six decades of settled precedent. The Circuit Court

has introduced dangerous uncertainty into the law by

holding that a U.S. citizen imprisoned by his government

may not challenge his detention in an American court —

precisely the result sought by the Solicitor General and

denied by the Court in Eisentrager. The lower court

understood perfectly well that this result dramatically

extended Hirota and created a conflict with more recent

Supreme Court authority. But the Court of Appeals left it

to this Court to restore clarity and predictability to the

law. The Court should accept the lower court’s invitation.

It should grant certiorari to reaffirm a bedrock principle of

our constitutional democracy: Unless Congress has sus-

pended the writ, a U.S. citizen may always challenge the

lawfulness of his detention at the hands of his country-

men.

C. Treating Mr. Munaf’s Case As An Exception To

The Rule Of Habeas Jurisdiction For Citizens

Has Created Dangerous Uncertainty In The Law.

The panel majority believed that Mr. Munaf’s convic-

tion by an Iraqi court, combined with the U.S. govern-

ment’s participation in the MNF-I, distinguished his case

from Eisentrager and its progeny and brought it within

Hirota. Munaf, App. A at 2. But the lower court’s struggle

to bring Mr. Munaf’s case within Hirota has produced a

rule that simply makes no sense, even as it destabilizes

previously settled doctrines.

——E——EE

pt

17

a. By Making Habeas Jurisdiction Hinge On

The Fact Of A Foreign Conviction, The Lower

Court Ignored Settled Constitutional Princi-

ples And Introduced Needless Ambiguity

Into The Law Of Prisoner Transfers.

With respect to American citizens, the habeas statute

is unambiguous and unequivocal: The writ may be granted

by “the Supreme Court, any justice thereof, the district

courts and any circuit judge within their respective juris-

dictions,” so long as the prisoner “is in custody under or by

color of the authority of the United States,” or “is in

custody in violation of the Constitution or laws or treaties

of the United States.” 28 U.S.C. §§ 2241(a), (c)(1), (c)(3). In

this regard, the statute has been a bulwark of remarkable

constancy. Since 1789 when it was passed by Congress in

the First Judiciary Act, and through several legislative

refinements, Congress has always given an American

citizen the right to challenge the lawfulness of his deten-

tion by the Executive. Act of Sept. 24, 1789, ch. 20, § 14, 1

Stat. 82. And nothing in this statute has ever remotely

depended on the presence or absence of a foreign convic-

tion.

Equally, the law is unmistakably clear that “in the

absence of a conventional or legislative provision, there is

no authority vested in any department of the government

to seize a fugitive criminal and surrender him to a foreign

power.” Valentine v. United States, 297 U.S. 5, 9 (1936); see

also, e.g., Factor v. Laubenheimer, 290 U.S. 276, 287 (1933)

(“(T)he legal right to demand [a prisoner’s] extradition and

the correlative duty to surrender him to the demanding

country exist only when created by treaty”) (collecting

cases); Quinn v. Robinson, 783 F.2d 776, 782 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 882 (1986) (“[NJo branch of the

a

’

18

United States government has any authority to surrender

an accused to a foreign government except as provided for

by statute or treaty”); Holmes v. Laird, 459 F.2d 1211,

1219 n.59 (D.C. Cir.) (“It is certainly the law that the

power of the Executive Branch to invade one’s personal

liberty by handing him over to a foreign government for

criminal proceedings must be traced to the provisions of

an applicable treaty.”), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 869 (1972).

Because the Executive may not transfer a prisoner to

another sovereign “in the absence of a conventional or

legislative provision,” Valentine, supra, federal courts have

for centuries relied on habeas to test the lawfulness of a

prisoner’s threatened transfer. See generally M. Cherif

Bassiouni, Jnternational Extradition: United States Law

and Practice 70-72 (4th ed. 2002) (citing cases); see also,

e.g., Holmes v. Jennison, 39 U.S. 540, 561-63 (1840)

(granting writ of habeas corpus to prisoner wanted for

extradition to Canada). For as long as it has applied this

doctrine, the Court has understood that this inquiry may

take place under the shadow of a foreign conviction. See,

e.g., Terlinden v. Ames, 184 U.S. 270 (1902) (defining

extradition as “the surrender by one nation to another of

an individual accused or convicted of an offence ... ”)

(emphasis added). Indeed, it is frequently the very fact of

the foreign conviction that triggers the demand for the

prisoner’s surrender. See, e.g., Holmes, 459 F.2d at 1212,

1214 (describing Germany’s demand for surrender of U.S.

citizen convicted of attempted rape). Habeas jurisdiction in

these circumstances is abundantly well settled.

The court below nevertheless cast this settled doctrine

into disarray by making “the fact of a criminal conviction

in a non-U.S. court [] a fact of jurisdictional significance

under the habeas statute.” Munaf, App. A at 6. And the

19

same court has solidified this rule by taking a complemen-

tary (but correct) position in another case. In Omar uv.

Harvey, No. 06-5126, Slip Op. (D.C. Cir. Feb. 9, 2007),

another panel of the Court of Appeals held that a U.S.

citizen detained in Iraq by American forces could challenge

his detention in habeas because he had not been charged

or convicted by an Iraqi court. Jd. at 12-13.° As a conse-

quence, the law in the D.C. Circuit reduces to this: U.S.

citizens convicted by a foreign court may not challenge the

lawfulness of their threatened transfer in an American

courtroom, but citizens who have not yet been convicted

may.

The government and Mr. Munaf agree on one point:

this rule is simply irrational. See Appellant’s Pet. for Reh’g

and Reh’g En Banc at 11, Omar v. Harvey, No. 06-5126

(D.C. Cir. Mar. 26, 2007) (making jurisdiction turn on fact

of a foreign conviction is “contrary to ... common sense”).

Under the rule adopted by the Court of Appeals, the

District Court apparently had jurisdiction when Mr.

Munaf filed his habeas petition in August 2006, but

somehow lost it two months later when he was convicted.

Cf. Grupo Dataflux v. Atlas Global Group, 541 U.S. 567,

570-71 (2004) (affirming long-standing time-of-filing rule

for calculation of federal-court jurisdiction). The power of

the federal judiciary, in other words, turns on the timing

of a foreign tribunal’s decision. This rule is not merely

nonsensical — it also creates an intolerable incentive

for the Executive to engage in precisely the sort of ma-

nipulations of a foreign tribunal that are alleged to have

* Mr. Omar and Mr. Munaf are represented by the same counsel.

20

occurred here. Nothing in the habeas statute supports this

result.

Nor will the state of the law improve through addi-

tional percolation of the issue: U.S. prisoners have either

been convicted by a foreign court or they have not. If they

have not, the longstanding rule of Kisentrager, confirmed

in Omar, prevails and the District Court has jurisdiction;

if they have, or if they are convicted at any point in their

habeas proceeding, including on appeal, the rule in Munaf

prevails and the Court’s jurisdiction is ousted. No further

development of the doctrine in the D.C. Circuit — the sole

effective forum for citizens detained overseas — can bring

reason to this rule.”

The lower court candidly conceded that this result was

irrational and confessed its inability to understand “why,

in cases such as this,” the mere fact of Mr. Munaf’s convic-

tion should deprive him of a forum to test the lawfulness

of his detention and threatened transfer. Munaf, App. A at

6. Still, the court considered itself “constrained” by Hirota,

where the petitioner had also been convicted by a foreign

tribunal. Jd. at 2. But there is a simple solution to the

lower court’s conundrum: Hirota did not turn on the mere

fact of a foreign conviction; it turned on the fact that the

petitioner tried to challenge that conviction in this Court.

* Rules concerning citizens detained overseas, much like patent

cases, will rarely if ever develop into circuit splits because all such

cases are typically filed in one federal circuit. Cf R. Stern, E. Gress-

man, and S. Shapiro, Supreme Court Practice § 4.21 p. 263 (8th ed.

2002) (because “conflict among and with other federal courts [in patent

cases] has been virtually eliminated|[,]” decisions about certiorari “now

turn largely on the importance of the questions presented”).

21

Bare recitation of Hirota’s facts reveals how far that

case is from this, and why the Circuit Court’s expansion of

Hirota was wholly unwarranted. Koki Hirota was a former

Foreign Minister and Prime Minister of Japan. He swore

allegiance to the Imperial Emperor and held governmental

posts through the barbarous Rape of Nanking. For his role

in these atrocities, Hirota was convicted of war crimes

after a trial before a panel of eleven international judges, a

trial that lasted almost two years. Pet’n for Writ of Habeas

Corpus at 22, Hirota v. MacArthur, 338 U.S. 197 (1948)

(No. 239). After his trial, Hirota attempted to mount a

collateral challenge to the judgment and conviction of the

foreign tribunal by seeking leave to file a habeas petition

directly in this Court.

His petition contained three main arguments: that

General MacArthur exceeded his constitutional authority

in creating the international military tribunal; that the

predicate acts for conviction were “beyond the scope and

purview of the Japanese instrument of surrender”; and

that the commission deprived him of the rights essential to

a fair trial. See Pet’n for Writ of Habeas Corpus at 34,

Hirota v. MacArthur, 338 U.S. 197 (1948) (No. 239); Brief

of Petitioner-Appellant at 18-22, Hirota v. MacArthur, 338

U.S. 197 (1948) (No. 239) (tribunal deprived Hirota of

right to cross-examine accusers, misapplied the rules of

evidence, and ignored proscriptions contained in Bill of

Attainder and Ex Post Facto Clauses of U.S. Constitution).

Hirota, in short, asked the Court to second-guess the

legitimacy and operation of a foreign court. But it is

axiomatic that an American court does not provide collat-

eral review of the proceedings in a foreign tribunal. Cf.

Republic of Austria v. Altmann, 541 U.S. 677, 700 (2004)

(“the courts of one state will not question the validity of

22

public acts ... performed by other sovereigns within their

own borders, even when such courts have jurisdiction”);

Underhill v. Hernandez, 168 U.S. 250, 252 (1897) (“[T]he

courts of one country will not sit in judgment on the acts of

the government of another done within its own territory.”).

In this respect, the result in Hirota is uncontroversial.”

By contrast, the litigation that Mr. Munaf commenced

in the District Court stands on an entirely different

footing. Though Mr. Munaf has been convicted by an Iraqi

court, he does not challenge his foreign conviction or

sentence. Instead, he challenges the legality of three

specific actions taken or threatened by his American

jailers: 1) holding him 24 months without legal justifica-

tion; 2) interfering in the Iraqi proceedings in order to

create the conviction now relied upon by the government

to strip the courts of jurisdiction;” and 3) delivering him to

” Hirota’s litigation suffered from a second fatal defect as well. As

the lower court recognized, he sought leave to file directly in the

Supreme Court. Munaf, App. A at 2; see also Omar v. Harvey, No. 06-

5126, Slip Op. at 11 (D.C. Cir. Feb. 9, 2007) (Hirota was filed “as an

original petition for habeas corpus”). But jurisdiction in that instance is

either original or appellate. U.S. Const. Art. III, § 2, cl. 2. Hirota’s

litigation was neither, and the Court had no choice but to deny him

leave to file his habeas petition.

" The Court of Appeals in Omar correctly recognized this distinc-

tion. See Omar, Slip. Op. at 12 (Omar “seeks not to collaterally attack a

final international conviction, but only to test the lawfulness of his

extrajudicial detention in Iraq, where he has remained in the control of

U.S. forces for over two years without legal process.”).

* It is well-established that the district courts will investigate on

habeas corpus whether American officials have directed or participated

in the ostensibly independent actions of a foreign sovereign. See, e.g.,

Barr v. United States Department of Justice, 819 F.2d 25, 27-28 (2d Cir.

1987) (U.S. government bears legal responsibility for actions that

foreign government takes at its request); Abu Ali v. Ashcroft, 350

F. Supp. 2d 28, 64 (D.D.C. 2004) (court has jurisdiction over habeas

(Continued on following page)

23

face execution by the Iraqi Government without the

requisite judicial inquiry into whether that transfer is

lawful.” While the outcome of these claims turns on

petition filed by U.S. citizen held in Saudi Arabia to determine whether

U.S. controls his detention).

In this case it is undisputed that Lt. Pirone purported to act on

behalf of the Government of Romania at Mr. Munaf’s trial. But it is

sharply disputed whether he had any authorization from Romania to do

so. Compare J.A. 52 (declaration of Robert M. Pirone stating he was

authorized to act by the Romanian Embassy in Iraq) with J.A. 86

(Romanian “Embassy has not authorized any American official to

represent the Romanian Government during the Iraqi judicia] proce-

dures”) and U.N. HRC, Communication No. 1539/2006, Munaf v.

Romania (CCPR), Submissions of Romanian Gov't on Admissibility, 121

(Mar. 5, 2007) (“Romanian representatives from the Embassy in Iraq

had no knowledge either of the trial, nor of the alleged authorization

allegedly given by the Romanian authorities to US officer Robert

Pirone.”) (available at http://www. brennancenter.org/dynamic/subpages/

download_file_49032.pdf and http://www.brennancenter.org/dynamic/

subpages/download_file_49034.pdf, and id. at Annex 4 (“The Ministry of

Justice never empowered any American official to represent Romania

within the Iraqi legal proceedings concerning Mohammad Munaf and

has no knowledge of the existence of such a delegation”). The district

court must resolve this factual conflict on remand.

" See Valentine, supra; Laubenheimer, supra. In the District Court,

the government conceded that no treaty or statute authorized Mr.

Munaf’s transfer to Iraqi custody. Arg. Tr., Munaf v. Harvey, 456

F. Supp. 2d 115 (D.D.C. 2006) (No. 06-1455). In the Court of Appeals,

Judge Randolph ignored that concession and opined that “the Congres-

sional Authorization for Use of Military Force Against Iraq ... in

conjunction with United Nations Security Council Resolutions 1546 and

1637,” provided sufficient legal basis for the transfer. Munaf, App. A at

8-9 (Randolph, J., concurring in the result) (citations omitted). Perhaps

mindful of its concession below, the government did not advance such

an argument in the lower courts, and Mr. Munaf has never had an

opportunity to be heard on this matter. At a minimum, the lawfulness

of Mr. Munaf’s transfer raises complex questions that lie at the

intersection of extradition law, treaty law, the laws of war, and custom-

ary international law, none of which was addressed by Judge Randolph

in his hasty short-circuit of the judicial process. But Judge Randolph

(Continued on following page)

24

factual inquiries that the District Court must conduct on

the merits, each claim falls squarely within the heartland

of habeas.

In sum, the decision below introduces needless confu-

sion into the law of prisoner transfers because it fails to

recognize the difference between a collateral challenge to

the judgment of a foreign tribunal and a direct challenge

to the detention by American jailers. Oblivious to this

difference, the Court of Appeals has made a citizen’s right

to the Great Writ turn on the timing of a foreign tribunal's

judgment. The Court should grant review to restore reason

to the doctrine.

b. Neither An Executive Agreement Nor A U.N.

Resolution Can Suspend The Great Writ.

While the Court of Appeals placed principal reliance

on the fact of Mr. Munaf’s conviction, it also mentioned

several times that Mr. Munaf’s custodians were part of an

international, or multinational, force. Munaf, App. A at 3,

4, 5. The lower court did not elaborate on the significance

of this fact except to imply that it helped bring the case

within an unexpressed penumbra of Hirota. Id. at 4 (“As in

Hirota, Munaf’s case involves an international force,

detention overseas, and a conviction by a non-U:S. court.”).

But the Executive’s decision to participate in the MNF-I

has no effect on the habeas jurisdiction of a federal court.

It is inherent in our constitutional democracy that our

government cannot entreat with a foreign sovereign to do

was correct in one respect: these issues go to the merits, and not to

jurisdiction. They must be taken up on remand.

25

that which the Constitution forbids. In Reid v. Covert, 354

U.S. 1 (1957), for instance, the government argued that an

executive agreement between the United States and Great

Britain vested military courts with exclusive jurisdiction

over offenses committed in Great Britain by American

servicemen or their dependents. Pursuant to this agree-

ment, the United States tried and convicted Covert before

a military tribunal. Reid, 354 U.S. at 15-16 (plurality

opinion). Covert protested that the tribunal had not

provided for trial by jury, in violation of the Sixth Amend-

ment. Defending the conviction, the government invoked

the executive agreement and argued that it prevailed over

the Constitution. Jd. at 16.

The Court emphatically disagreed: “The United States

is entirely a creature of the Constitution. Its power and

authority have no other source. ... [Njo agreement with a

foreign nation can confer power on the Congress, or on any

other branch of Government, which is free from the

restraints of the Constitution.” Jd. at 5-6, 16. This part of

the Reid plurality, of course, has long been the law. See,

e.g., Missouri v. Holland, 252 U.S. 416, 432-34 (1929)

(treaty cannot authorize the national government “to do

that which the Constitution forbids”); Geofroy v. Riggs, 133

U.S. 258, 267 (1890) (treaty power cannot “authorize what

the Constitution forbids”).

At the same time, the Court has long held that the

constitutional authority to suspend the writ lies in

Congress, not the Executive. See, e.g., Ex parte Bollman,

8 U.S. 75, 101 (1807) (“If at any time the public safety

“ See Executive Agreement of July 27, 1942, 57 Stat. 1193 (cited in

Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1, 16 n.29 (1957)).

26

should require the suspension of [habeas] ... it is for the

legislature to say 20”) (emphasis added); Hamdi. 542 US. at

562 (Scalia, J., dissenting on other grounds) (“[S)uspension

must be effected by, or authorized by, a legislative act.”); Ex

parte Merryman, 17 F. Cas. 144 (C.C.D. Md. 1861) (Taney,

C.J.) (President has no power to suspend habeas).

The lower court turned these ancient doctrines upside

down. If membership in the MNF-I contributes somehow

to the outcome, as the lower court implies, then a unilat-

eral determination by the Executive to participate in

multilateral military operations could suspend the Great

Writ for American citizens, even in the teeth of congres-

sional opposition.” The Court should take review of this

case to correct this dangerous distortion of settled separa-

tion-of-powers law.

" Not even the government suggests that Congress has suspended the

habeas writ for citizens. On the contrary, as the Court knows, in late 2006,

courts of habeas jurisdiction over certain alien “enemy combatants.” 28

US.C. § 2241(eX(1); Military Commissions Act of 2006, P-L. 109-366, 120

Stat. 2600 (Oct. 17, 2006). Conspicuously, the MCA does not apply to US.

citizens - a point repeatedly emphasized by its drafters and supporters.

During a floor debate in the Senate, for instance, Jon Kyl (R-AZ) insisted:

“This legislation has nothing to do with citizens. The decision cited by the

Senator from Pennsylvania is the Hamdi decision, which dealt with a U.S.

citizen. And, of course, the writ of habeas corpus applies to U.S. citizens.”

152 Cong. Rec. $10243-01, S10267, 2006 WL 2771411 (Sept. 27, 2006)

(emphasis added). Similar declarations echoed throughout the House. The

“limitations on habeas corpus,” California Representative Dan Lungren

explained, “only apply to alien enemy combatants. . . .{UJnder the expressed

terms of the bill, an American citizen will have the unencumbered ability to

challenge his or her detention as they have under the Constitution.” 152

Cong. Rec. H7925-02, H7946, 2006 WL 2796911 (daily ed. Sept. 29, 2006)

(emphasis added).

27

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, a writ of certiorari should

issue to review the judgment of the D.C. Circuit Court of

y Appeals. On review, the ruling of that court that the

District Court lacked subject matter jurisdiction should be

reversed, and the case remanded for further proceedings

on the merits in the District Court.

Respectfully submitted,

JONATHAN HAFETZ JOSEPH MARGULIES

Aziz Z. Hug Counsel of Record

BRENNAN CENTER FOR MACARTHUR JUSTICE CENTER

JUSTICE NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY

NEW YORK UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF LAW

SCHOOL OF LAw 357 East Chicago Avenue

161 Avenue of the Americas Chicago, IL 60611

; 12th Floor Telephone: (312) 503-0890

New York, NY 10013

Telephone: (212) 998-6730

Facsimile: (312) 503-1272

ERIC M. FREEDMAN

Facsimile: (212) 995-4550

SuSAN L. BURKE

KATHERINE HAWKINS

BURKE O’NEIL, LLC

4112 Station Street

Philadelphia, PA 19127

Telephone: (215) 487-6590

Facsimile: (215) 482-0874

250 West 94th Street

New York, NY 10025

Telephone: (212) 665-2713

Facsimile: (212) 665-2714

VINCENT MOccIo

AMY MAGID

ROBINS, KAPLAN, MILLER

& CIRESI

2800 LaSalle Plaza

Minneapolis, MN 55402

Telephone: (612) 349-8500

Counsel for Petitioners

Dated: June 13, 2007

|

4

:

}

Dy

q

;

is 4

,

1

:

App. 1

APPENDIX A

482 F.3d 582

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Argued February 16, 2007

No. 06-5324

MOHAMMAD MuNAF AND

MAISOON MOHAMMED, AS NEXT FRIEND OF MOHAMMAD

MunaF,

APPELLANTS

Decided April 6, 2007

Vv.

PETE GEREN, ACTING SECRETARY OF THE

U.S. ARMY, ET AL.,

APPELLEES

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

(No. 06cv01455)

Joseph Margulies argued the cause for appellants.

With him on the briefs were Jonathan L. Hafetz, Aziz Z.

Hug, Eric M. Freedman, and Susan L. Burke.

Gregory G. Garre, Deputy Solicitor General, U.S.

Department of Justice, argued the cause for appellees.

With him on the brief were Peter D. Keisler, Assistant

Attorney General, Jeffrey A. Taylor, U.S. Attorney, David

B. Salmons, Assistant to the Solicitor General, Douglas N.

Letter, Litigation Counsel, and Lewis Yelin, Attorney.

App. 2

Before: SENTELLE, RANDOLPH and KAVANAUGH, Circuit

Judges.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge SEN-

TELLE.

Opinion filed by Circuit Judge RANDOLPH, concurring

in the judgment.

SENTELLE, Circuit Judge: Mohammad Munaf, an

American citizen, traveled to Iraq in 2005. In October 2006

he was convicted on kidnapping charges and sentenced to

death by the Central Criminal Court of Iraq (“CCCI”). He

is being held, in Iraq, by United States military personnel

serving as part of the Multi-National Force-Iraq (“MNF-

I”). Munaf sought a writ of habeas corpus in the United

States District Court for the District of Columbia, naming

the Secretary of the Army and others as respondents. Soon

after Munaf’s conviction by the Iraqi criminal court, the

district court held that it lacked jurisdiction and dismissed

the petition. Mohammed v. Harvey, 456 F. Supp. 2d 115

(D.D.C. 2006). Munaf appeals. Constrained by precedent,

we hold that the district court does not have the power or

authority to entertain Munaf’s petition and we therefore

affirm.

Our result is required by the Supreme Court’s decision

in Hirota v. MacArthur, 338 U.S. 197 (1948), as that

decision has been applied by this court in Flick v. Johnson,

174 F.2d 983 (D.C. Cir. 1949), and interpreted by Omar v.

Harvey, No. 06-5126 (D.C. Cir. Feb. 9, 2007). In Hirota,

Japanese citizens sought permission to file petitions for

writs of habeas corpus directly in the United States

Supreme Court. The petitioners were held in Japan, where

they had been tried by a military tribunal authorized by

General Douglas MacArthur acting as the Supreme

App. 3

Commander for the occupying Allied Powers, Hirota, 338

U.S. at 198. In a short per curiam opinion the Supreme

Court concluded that the sentencing tribunal “[was] not a

tribunal of the United States” and held that “[{uJnder the

foregoing circumstances the courts of the United States

have no power or authority to review, to affirm, set aside

or annul the judgments and sentences imposed on these

petitioners.” Jd.

Flick involved a habeas petition filed in the United

States District Court for the District of Columbia by a

German citizen held in Germany by American forces after

he was convicted by a military tribunal. 174 F.2d 983.

Relying on Hirota, we framed the jurisdictional question

as follows: “Was the court which tried and sentenced Flick

a tribunal of the United States? If it was not, no court of

this country has power or authority to review, affirm, set

aside or annul the judgment and sentence imposed on

Flick.” Jd. at 984. Finding that the military tribunal was

not a U.S. court, we held that the district court lacked

jurisdiction to review Flick’s habeas petition. Jd. at 986.

Our recent decision in Omar involved a habeas peti-

tion filed on behalf of a United States citizen being held in

Iraq by U.S. forces acting as part of the MNF-I. Omar, slip

op. at 2. As in Hirota and Flick, Omar involved detention

overseas and a multinational force. But unlike the peti-

tioners in Hirota and Flick, Omar had not been charged or

convicted by a non-U.S. court. We distinguished Hirota

and Flick on this basis and went on to hold that the

district court had jurisdiction to hear Omar’s habeas

claim. Slip op. at 12-14.

Unlike Omar, the instant case is controlled by Hirota

and Flick. The MNF-I is a multinational force, authorized

App. 4

by the United Nations Security Council, that operates in

Iraq in coordination with the Iraqi government. The CCCI

is an Iraqi criminal court of nationwide jurisdiction and is

administered by the government of Iraq; it is not a tribu-

nal of the United States. Accordingly, the district court has

no power or authority to hear this case.

Munaf contends that Hirota and Flick do not control

because, like Omar and unlike the petitioners in Hirota

and Flick, Munaf is a United States citizen.’ See, e.g.,

Johnson v. Eisentrager, 339 U.S. 763, 769 (1950) (describ-

ing citizenship as “a head of jurisdiction and a ground of

protection”). But Munaf’s citizenship does not take his

case out of the ambit of Hirota and Flick. Hirota did not

suggest any distinction between citizens and noncitizens

who were held abroad pursuant to the judgment of a non-

U.S. tribunal. Indeed, Justice Douglas wrote a separate

opinion criticizing the Hirota majority for seeming to

foreclose habeas review even for American citizens held in

such circumstances. See 338 U.S. at 204-05 (Douglas, J.,

concurring) (1949). In Omar, we held that “the critical

factor in Hirota was the petitioners’ convictions by an

international tribunal.” Slip op. at 12. We explained that,

because Hirota “articulates no general principle at all,” the

decision is controlling as a matter of precedent if the

circumstances important to the Court’s decision are

present here. Jd. at 11. As in Hirota, Munaf’s case involves

an international force, detention overseas, and a convic-

tion by a non-U.S. court. As we noted in Omar, conducting

habeas proceedings in the face of such a conviction risks

judicial second-guessing of a non-U.S. court’s judgments

' Munaf was born in Iraq and was naturalized as a United States

citizen in 2000.

App. 5

and sentences, and we explained that Hirota’s repeated

references to the petitioners’ sentences “demonstrate []

that the Court’s. primary concern was that the petitions

represented a collateral attack on the final judgment of an

international tribunal.” Jd. at 12-13. Whether a habeas

petition represents a collateral attack on a conviction by a

non-U.S. court is not dependent on the petitioner’s citizen-

ship. In light of the precedent established by Hirota,

specifically as interpreted in Flick and Omar, American

citizenship cannot displace the fact of a criminal conviction

in a non-United States court and permit the district court

to exercise jurisdiction over Munaf’s habeas petition.

Munaf also argues that he does not challenge his

conviction by the Iraqi court but rather the lawfulness of

his detention at the hands of United States military

personnel. As with Munaf’s citizenship argument, we do

not think that Hirota and Flick can be distinguished on

this ground. In Hirota and Flick, as in this case, U.S.

forces who were operating as part of a multinational force

detained the petitioners. And as in those cases, continued

confinement is dependent on a conviction by a court not of

the United States - specifically, a multinational tribunal

in Hirota and Flick and, in this case, the CCCI, which is a

foreign tribunal. The fact that the MNF-I is not an arm of

the Iraqi government but rather cooperates with Iraq and

its courts in matters of detention does not bring this case

outside the scope of Hirota. Munaf states in his brief that

“lelven if the Iraqi charges were dismissed tomorrow the

United States does not suggest [Munaf] would be re-

leased.” But the district court’s jurisdiction to inquire into

such matters is precisely the issue; if the charges were

dismissed, and United States forces were to continue to

hold Munaf, this would be a different case. Under Omar

App. 6

the district court arguably would have jurisdiction over

Munaf’s habeas claim.’ See Omar, slip op. at 14.

* * *

One final point deserves emphasis. In holding that the

district court lacks jurisdiction, we do not mean to suggest

that we find the logic of Hirota especially clear or compel-

ling, particularly as applied to American citizens. In

particular, Hirota does not explain why, in cases such as

this, the fact of a criminal conviction in a non-US. court is

a fact of jurisdictional significance under the habeas

statute. And as we acknowledged in Omar, the Supreme

Court’s recent decisions in Hamdi v. Rumsfeld, 542 U.S.

507 (2004), and Rasul v. Bush, 542 U.S. 466 (2004), are

grounds for questioning Hirota’s continued vitality. Omar,

slip op. at 9. But we are not free to disregard Hirota

simply because we may find its logic less than compelling.

“If a precedent of [the Supreme] Court has direct applica-

tion in a case, yet appears to rest on reasons rejected in

some other line of decisions, the Court of Appeals should

follow the case which directly controls, leaving to [the

Supreme] Court the prerogative of overruling its own

decisions.” Id. at 9 (quoting Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shear-

son/American Express, Inc., 490 U.S. 477, 484 (1989)).

For the reasons discussed above, the judgment of the

district court is

Affirmed.

* Munaf’s conviction was automatically appealed to the Iraqi Court

of Cassation. At oral argument, Munaf’s counse) stated that the status

of that appeal is unclear.

f

’

‘

,

;

4

7

App. 7

RANDOLPH, Circuit Judge, concurring in the judgment.

I believe the district court had jurisdiction over

Munaf’s habeas corpus petition. The critical considera-

tions are that Munaf is an American citizen and that he is

held by American forces overseas. Hirota v. MacArthur,

338 U.S. 197 (1948) (per curiam), in which the habeas

petitioners were Japanese citizens held in Japan, there-

fore does not apply. There is a longstanding jurisdictional

distinction between citizens and aliens detained outside

the sovereign territory of the United States. In Johnson v.

Eisentrager, 339 U.S. 763, 781 (1950), decided two years

after Hirota, the Court held that it lacked jurisdiction to

issue writs of habeas corpus for German prisoners held by

the United States in Germany. But the Court stated that

its holding did not apply to American citizens, to whom the

“Court long ago extended habeas corpus” when they were

held outside the United States. See id. at 769-70 (citing

Chin Yow v. United States, 208 U.S. 8 (1908)).

It is hardly surprising then that eight of the nine

Justices in Rasul v. Bush, 542 U.S. 466 (2004), explicitly

agreed that American citizens held by American officials

overseas could invoke habeas jurisdiction. For himself and

four other Justices, Justice Stevens wrote that “[a]liens

held at the [Guantanamo Bay Naval] base, no less than

American citizens, are entitled to invoke the federal courts’

authority under [28 U.S.C.] § 2241.” Id. at 481. Justice

Scalia, joined by Chief Justice Rehnquist and Justice

Thomas, stated that “[nJeither party to the present case

challenges the atextual extension of the habeas statute to

United States citizens held beyond the territorial jurisdic-

tions of the United States courts,” “[a]nd that position — the

position that United States citizens throughout the world

may be entitled to habeas corpus rights — is precisely the

App. 8

position that this Court adopted in Hisentrager ... even

while holding that aliens abroad did not have habeas

corpus rights.” Id. at 497, 502 (Scalia, J., dissenting)

(citation omitted).

It is true that Omar v. Harvey, No. 06-5126, slip op. at

12 (D.C. Cir. Feb. 9, 2007), distinguished Hirota and Flick

v. Johnson, 174 F.2d 983 (D.C. Cir. 1949), on the ground

that in both cases the alien petitioners held overseas had

been convicted by an international tribunal. But Omar did

not speak to the jurisdictional issue confronting us here.

To extend Hirota to habeas petitions filed by American

citizens not only would contradict Eisentrager and the

majority and dissenting opinions in Rasul, but also would

constitute an unwarranted extension of an opinion that

“articulates no general legal principle at all,” Omar, slip

op. at 11.

Habeas petitions test the legality of detention. The

fact that the United States is holding Munaf because of his

conviction by a foreign tribunal thus goes to the question

whether he is entitled to the writ, not to the question

whether the court has jurisdiction to consider the petition.

See Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678, 681 (1946). As to the

merits, I believe Wilson v. Girard, 354 U.S. 524 (1957), is

conclusive. After Japan indicted a United States soldier for

killing a Japanese woman in Japan, the soldier sought a

writ of habeas corpus in the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia to prevent his transfer to

Japanese authorities. Jd. at 525-26. The district court

denied the writ on the merits but issued a preliminary

injunction against the soldier’s transfer. Girard v. Wilson,

152 F. Supp. 21, 27 (D.D.C. 1957). Referring to a Security

Treaty between the United States and Japan, the Supreme

Court upheld the denial of the writ but reversed the grant

App. 9

of the injunction, 354 U.S. at 530, reasoning that a “sover-

eign nation has exclusive jurisdiction to punish offenses

against its laws committed within its borders, unless it

expressly or impliedly consents to surrender its jurisdic-

tion,” id. at 529 (citing Schooner Exchange v. M’Faddon, 11

U.S. (7 Cranch) 116, 136 (1812)). In Munaf’s case, the

Congressional Authorization for Use of Military Force

Against Iraq, Pub. L. No. 107-243, 116 Stat. 1498 (2002),

in conjunction with United Nations Security Council

Resolutions 1546, U.N. Doc. S/RES/1546 (June 8, 2004),

and 1637, U.N. Doc. S/RES/1637 (Nov. 11, 2005), com-

mands the same result. Cf Holmes v. Laird, 549 F.2d

1211, 1219 n.59 (D.C. Cir. 1972).

App. 10

APPENDIX B

456 F.Supp.2d 115

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

MAISOON MOHAMMED, et al., )

Petitioners, Civil Action No.

v. ) 06-1455 (RCL)

FRANCIS J. HARVEY, et al., _} Filed Oct. 19, 2006)

Respondents. )

MEMORANDUM OPINION

This matter comes before the Court on a motion(6]

and supplemental motion [12] for temporary restraining

order seeking injunctive relief pending the Court’s review

of a petition for writ of habeas corpus. [1] Upon considera-

tion of the petition, the memorandum in support of the

motion for temporary restraining order, the opposition and

the reply thereto, the applicable law, the entire record

herein, and after hearing argument, the Court dismisses

the petition sua sponte for lack of subject matter jurisdic-

tion. As such, the Court also dismisses the motion for

temporary restraining order as moot. The Court’s reason-

ing is set forth below.

App. 11

I. BACKGROUND

The petitioner, Mohammad Munaf,’ was born in Iraq

in 1952 and became a United States citizen in 2000.

Mohammed Decl. 9 2, 4, 7.” He is married to a Romanian

woman, split residences between Romania and the United

States from 1996 to 2001, and since 2001 has lived solely

in Romania. Jd. {7 5, 6, 9. In March 2005 he traveled from

Romania to Iraq with several Romanian journalists. /d.

{ 10. Shortly after their arrival, the group was kidnapped

and held captive for almost two months by a group claim-

ing to be the “Muadh Ibn Jabal Brigade.” Jd. 9J 11-13.

Their release was secured in May 2005 during a raid by

military troops under the command of Multi-National

Force-Irag (“MNF-I”). Gardner Decl. {J 3-4.

MNF-I is a military force described as “a coalition

authority consisting of approximately twenty-seven

different nations that operates in accordance with the

mandate of United Nations Security Council Resolutions

(UNSCR) 1546 and 1637 (2005).” Gardner Decl. ¥ 2; see

also Respondents’ Opposition to Petitioners’ Motion for

a Temporary Restraining Order [9-1] (“Opp.”), Ex. 2

' The petition in this case was brought on behalf of Munaf by his

sister, Maisoon Mohammed, as next friend. For ease of reference, the

Court will use the singular “petitioner” to refer to Munaf.

* Ms. Mohammed's affidavit consists partly of matters within her

personal knowledge and partly of hearsay statements. Petitioner also

submits three declarations of Sean Riordan, a law student and legal

intern for petitioner's American legal counsel, who speaks Arabic. These

declarations consist of Riordan’s accounts of his conversations, in

Arabic, with one of petitioner’s sisters, see First Riordan Decl. and

Third Riordan Decl., and with petitioner’s Iraqi lawyer, see Second

Riordan Decl., both of whom are in Iraq. Portions of these declarations

contain additional layers of hearsay. At this stage of the proceedings,

the Court will consider all of the materials before it.

App. 12

(Resolution 1546), Ex. 3 (Resolution 1637). Under this

limited mandate, which is set to expire at the end of 2006

unless renewed, MNF-I operates “on behalf of and at the

request of the Iraqi government” in Iraq. Gardner Decl.

q 2. MNF-I’s power under the U.N. Resolutions includes

the authority to detain prisoners who pose a threat to

security in Iraq. MNF-I and the government of Iraq have

agreed that MNF-I will maintain physical custody of

prisoners awaiting criminal prosecution in Iraqi courts, as

Iraq lacks much of the infrastructure necessary for main-

taining its own prisoners. Jd. {J 2-3; Opp. at 4.

Since the MNF-I raid, petitioner Munaf has been held

as a prisoner by MNF-I troops at Camp Cropper, a mili-

tary installation located at the Baghdad International

Airport. Petition 7 3. It has been alleged that petitioner

was a willing participant in a kidnapping-for-profit

scheme, in that he posed as a kidnap victim and led the

actual victims into a trap.’ Gardner Decl. {9 4-5, 11-14.

Petitioner maintains he is innocent of any criminal

wrongdoing, and that he is not and has never been a

member of al Qaeda in Iraq or any other terrorist group.

Petition { 22.

* According to respondents, petitioner’s role in the scheme was to

travel to Iraq with the journalists, “ostensibly as their guide and

translator and help facilitate the kidnapping.” Gardner Decl. 7 13. The

alleged “mastermind” of the plot would then negotiate the release of the

Romanians, which would “increase his own stature” and help him “gain

the support of the Romanian President Traian Basescu to develop new

business in Romania.” /d. {4 11-12. The kidnappers called themselves

the “Muadh Ibn Jabal Brigade” and demanded payment of a ransom

and that Romania withdraw its troops from Iraq. Mohammed Decl.

G 12.

Z

;

'

al

4

,

:

|

j

‘

;

App. 13

Petitioner alleges that for the first five months of his

detention, he was held incommunicado. Petition J 4. Since

then, he has had limited contact with his family and with

an Iraqi attorney. Jd. Two months after petitioner was

taken into custody, he appeared before a three-person

panel of MNF-I officers who conducted “a comprehensive

review of Munaf’s status and detention.” Opp. at 7;

Gardner Decl. 7 5. The panel interviewed witnesses and

reviewed “available intelligence information.” Gardner

Decl. 9 5. Petitioner was present at the hearing and had

an opportunity to hear the basis for his detention and to

make a statement. Jd. The panel found that petitioner

should be considered a “security internee,” as defined in

U.N. documents, and should continue to be detained

pursuant to MNF-I’s U.N. mandate. Jd.

Munaf’s case was referred to the Iraqi government.

Gardner Decl. 16. The government instituted criminal

proceedings in the Central Criminal Court of Iraq

(“CCCI”), an Iraqi court that is staffed by Iraqi citizens

and applies Iraqi law. Jd. 9 7. Munaf has appeared at four

CCCI “Investigative Hearings,” each time with his Iraqi

attorney. Jd. 7 15. At two of these hearings Munaf ap-

peared as a witness against other defendants, and at the

other two he appeared as the defendant in his own prose-

cution. Jd. The Investigative Hearing Judge concluded

that there was sufficient evidence to refer Munaf’s case to

the Trial Court as a defendant. Jd. Respondents allege

that Munaf has confessed his role in the kidnapping on

camera, in writing, and in front of the Investigative

Hearing Judge. Gardner Decl. J 11. Munaf counters that

any incriminating statements he made were coerced. First

Riordan Decl. {4 8, 11. Specifically, petitioner alleges that

he has been threatened by “U.S. and Romanian officials,”

SSE

Te

Oe ee ee. eA. te ee eee

App. 14

and that unspecified “[o)fficials” told him that if he did not

confess, he, his sister, and his wife would be sexually

assaulted. Id.

Through his sister as next friend, Munaf petitioned in

this Court for a writ of habeas corpus on August 18, 2006.

The petition named as respondents Francis J. Harvey, the

United States Secretary of the Army; Maj. Gen. William H.

Brandenburg, Deputy Commanding General of Detainee

Operations for Task Force 134, MNF-I; and one “Colonel

Steele,” first name unknown, who is the alleged Com-

manding Officer of Camp Cropper. The petition calls for

issuance of a writ compelling respondents to allow Munaf

access to attorneys of his choice, to “establish a lawful

basis for Mr. Munaf’s detention or release him from

custody,” and to enjoin his transfer to Iraq authorities. On

September 8, 2006, petitioner moved for a temporary

restraining order to prohibit respondents from transfer-

ring him to the custody of the government of Iraq, pending

resolution of his habeas petition. A hearing on the motion

was held on October 10, 2006.

On October 12, 2006, petitioner and his five codefen-

dants appeared before a three-judge Trial Panel of the

CCCI to face kidnapping charges under the Iraqi Penal

Code. Pirone Decl. ¥ 3. Petitioner was accompanied by his

Iraqi counsel and had the opportunity to “submit any

evidence or bring any witnesses.” Jd. 9 4. Indeed, peti-

tioner did make a statement, reiterating his position that

he was innocent and that his prior confession was coerced.

Second Riordan Decl. 99. Petitioner claims that two

“United States military officials” attended the hearing. /d.

4 7. He alleges that one was an American soldier who told

the court he was appearing at the request of the Romanian

embassy to seek the death penalty for the defendants. /d.

+ —_ S

;

:

|

:

;

|

-

;

:

¥

App. 15

Petitioner alleges that the other was an American general

“who told the judge in open court that the defendants

should all be convicted and sentenced to death,” and that

one “Judge Al-Rubaay” disagreed with the general.‘ Jd. at

qi 7-8. At one point, defendants and their counsel were

removed from the courtroom. Petitioner claims that the

“American military officials” then met with the judge for

about 15 minutes. Jd. { 12.

Respondents explain that Robert Pirone, a Coast

Guard Lieutenant who serves as an attorney at the CCCI

Liaison Office in Baghdad, was present at the hearing in

his capacity as a participant in MNF-I. Pirone Decl. { 1.

According to Pirone’s sworn affidavit, Pirone appeared at

the trial to make a formal complaint for the Romanian

government about the kidnapping, whose victims were all

Romanian.’ Jd. J 7. Pirone was under oath at the trial, and

his notarized authorization to represent the Romanian

Embassy had been submitted to the court weeks before the

trial. Jd. In his affidavit, Pirone attests that his role at the

trial was limited to answering questions about the case,

based on prior confessions by the defendants, and to

making the formal complaint, a requirement under Iraqi

law. Id. Petitioner and his codefendants were allowed to

make statements, and counsel for the prosecution and

* While petitioner mentions only one judge who was present at the

hearing, respondents have identified three judges who were present.

See Second Riordan Decl. { 5; Pirone Decl. 4 3. The use of a three-judge

panel is consistent with the Trial Panel procedure previously described

by respondents. Gardner Decl. { 9.

* Romania participates in MNF-I. Opp. at 3 n.1.

App. 16

defendants made arguments.* Second Riordan Decl. 9{ 9-

10; Pirone Decl. {9 6-9. The Trial Panel questioned the

defendants and called additional witnesses. Pirone Decl.

14% 6-7.

Pirone attests that no other member of MNF-I par-

ticipated in the trial in any way, and that any MNF-I

personnel who were present were there only as observers

or guards. Jd. J 8. There was no American general present,

nor a general of any other MNF-I member nation. Jd.

Pirone states that when the courtroom was closed, he left

the room and spent the entire recess talking with peti-

tioner’s attorney. Jd. J] 10. He also says that no MNF-I

personnel were with the judges while they deliberated. /d.

When the hearing was reconvened, the court found peti-

tioner and his five codefendants’ guilty of kidnapping and

sentenced them all to death.

A standard practice is followed when an MNF-I

detainee is convicted of criminal charges by the CCCI.

Gardner Decl. 9 17. First, the Trial Court issues an order

to the Deputy Commanding General for Detainee Opera-

tions of MNF-I, who is a respondent in this case." Jd. In

* Petitioner and four of his codefendants recanted their prior

confessions before the Trial Panel, claiming they had been coerced.

Second Riordan Decl. 7 9; Pirone Decl. { 6.

" Munaf’s codefendants were held in the custody of the Iraqi

government and were never in the custody of MNF-I. Pirone Decl. { 4.

* The habeas petition names as a respondent one “Major General

William H. Brandenburg, Deputy Commanding General (Detainee

Operations)//Commanding General, Task Force 134, Multi-National

Force-Iraq.” Respondents have identified the proper respondent as

Major General John D. Gardner in his capacity as the “Deputy Com-

manding General for Detainee Operations (DCG-DO) Multi-National

Force-Iraq.” Gardner Decl. { 1.

App. 17

response, the Deputy Commanding General for Detainee

Operations issues a transfer order releasing the detainee

to an Iraqi Ministry of Justice facility. Jd. It typically takes

two to three weeks to process a transfer. Jd. A defendant

under sentence of death in Iraq has a statutory right to an

automatic appeal to the Iraqi Court of Cassation. Pirone

Decl. J 13. The defendant has 30 days from the day after

sentencing to submit material to the Court of Cassation.

Id.

II. ANALYSIS

A. Standard for Reviewing Habeas Corpus

Petition for Jurisdiction

“Whenever it appears by suggestion of the parties or

otherwise that the court lacks jurisdiction of the subject

matter, the court shall dismiss the action.” Fed. R. Civ. P.

12(h)(3). If a court determines that it lacks subject matter

jurisdiction, it therefore is duty bound to dismiss the case

on its own motion. In considering the legal sufficiency of

the jurisdictional allegations in a petition for habeas

corpus, the Court takes the petitioners’ factual allegations

as true, drawing all reasonable inferences in the petition-

ers’ favor. See Hawk v. Olson, 326 U.S. 271, 272 (1945);

Phoenix Consulting, Inc. v. Republic of Angola, 216 F.3d

36, 39 (D.C. Cir. 2000). But in determining its own juris-

diction, the Court is not limited to the allegations in the

petition. See Hohri v. United States, 782 F.2d 227, 241

(D.C. Cir. 1986), vacated on other grounds, 482 U.S. 64

(1987). The Court may examine materials outside the

pleadings as appropriate to determine whether it has

jurisdiction over the subject matter. See Herbert v. Nat'l

Acad. of Sciences, 974 F.2d 192, 197 (D.C. Cir. 1992).

App. 18

Petitioner alleges that a “U.S. citizen detained in the

custody of federal officials in violation of the Constitution,

laws, or treaties of the U.S. unquestionably has the right

to challenge that detention in federal court once personal

jurisdiction over the petitioner’s custodian is established.”

Petition 7 8. He alleges that he “is detained by U.S.

officials at a detention facility known as Camp Cropper.

The facility is under the control of the U.S. military and

within the plenary and exclusive jurisdiction or dominion

exercised in fact of the U.S.” Jd. | 9. He contends that he is

“in U.S. custody.” Id. 921. Respondents counter that

“[ajlthough United States Armed Forces participate in the

detention fof detainees pending CCCI prosecutions], they

do so not gua the United States but as part of their role in

MNF-I.” Opp. at 8.

B. Habeas Corpus Jurisdiction

“Federal courts are courts of limited jurisdiction. They

possess only that power authorized by Constitution and

statute, which is not to be expanded by judicial decree. It

is to be presumed that a cause lies outside this limited

jurisdiction[.)” Kokkonen v. Guardian Life Ins. Co. of

America, 511 U.S. 375, 377 (1994). The principal source of

jurisdiction alleged in this case is the habeas corpus

statute applicable to the federal government, 28 U.S.C.

§ 2241 (2006). In pertinent part, it states that the:

writ of habeas corpus shall not extend to a pris-

oner unless —

(1) He is in custody under or by color of the au-

thority of the United States or is committed for

trial before some court thereof; or

App. 19

(2) He is in custody for an act done or omitted

in pursuance of an Act of Congress, or an order,

process, judgment or decree of a court or judge of

the United States; or

(3) He is in custody in violation of the Constitu-

tion or laws or treaties of the United States; or

(4) He, being a citizen of a foreign state and

domiciled therein is in custody for an act done or

omitted under any alleged right, title, authority,

privilege, protection, or exemption claimed under

the commission, order or sanction of any foreign

state, or under color thereof, the validity and ef-

fect of which depend upon the law of nations; or

(5) it is necessary to bring him into court to tes-

tify or for trial.

28 U.S.C. § 2241(c). The application for the writ must

“allege the facts concerning the applicant’s commitment or

detention, the name of the person who has custody over

him and by virtue of what claim or authority, if known.”

Id. at § 2242. If the writ is granted, it “shall be directed to

the person having custody of the person detained,” who

can therefore “be required to produce at the hearing the

body of the person detained.” Jd. at § 2243.

Under these terms, “[tJhe turnkey of the habeas

statute is the requirement of custody.” Abu Ali v. Ashcroft,

350 F.Supp. 2d 28, 45 (D.D.C. 2004). A court has jurisdic-

tion to issue the writ only if the petitioner is “in custody

under or by color of the authority of the United States” or

“in violation of the Constitution or laws or treaties of the

United States,” or other elements not relevant here. A

central prerequisite for habeas relief is that the court must

have the ability to force compliance by the petitioner’s

custodian, because “[t]he writ of habeas corpus does not

App. 20

act upon the prisoner who seeks relief, but upon the

person who holds him in what is alleged to be unlawful

custody.” Braden v. 30th Judicial Circuit Court of Ken-

tucky, 410 U.S. 484 (1973). The identity of the custodian is

crucial because the writ:

is directed to, and served upon, not the person

confined, but his jailor. It does not reach the for-

mer except through the latter. The officer or per-

son who serves it does not unbar the prison

doors, and set the prisoner free, but the court re-

lieves him by compelling the oppressor to release

his constraint. The whole force of the writ is

spent upon the respondent, and if he fails to obey

it, the means to be resorted to for the purposes of

compulsion are fine and imprisonment.

In the Matter of Samuel W. Jackson, 15 Mich. 417, 439-40

(1867).

The Supreme Court has “very liberally construed the

‘in custody’ requirement for purposes of federal habeas.”

Maleng v. Cook, 490 U.S. 488, 492 (1989). For habeas

jurisdiction to exist, the prisoner must be “held in actual

or constructive custody by the respondents named in the

petition, or by any other person or persons subject to the

jurisdiction of the District Court.” United States ex rel.

Keefe v. Dulles, 222 F.2d 390, 392 (D.C. Cir. 1954). The

converse must also be true: if the petitioner is in custody

under some authority other than the United States, there

is no habeas jurisdiction. For instance, where a US.

citizen was held in a French jail by the authority of a

French court, a U.S. court did not have jurisdiction over

his habeas petition. Jd. at 391 (“For obvious reasons,

[petitioner] did not ask that the writ be directed to the

foreign jailer.”).

Bik ae ins Si ae

“

App. 21

A prisoner is in the constructive custody of the United

States when he is in the actual, physical custody of some

person or entity who cannot be deemed the United States,

but is being held under the authority of the United States

or on its behalf. Constructive custody has been found in

cases of actual custody between one state and another,

Braden v. 30th Judicial Circuit Court of Kentucky, 410

U.S. 484 (1973) (prisoner in actual custody of state of

Alabama found to be in constructive custody of Kentucky

for habeas purposes); between a state and a private prison,

Stokes v. United States Parole Comm’n, 374 F.3d 1234,

1238 (D.C. Cir. 2004), Skelton v. Pri-Cor, Inc., 963 F.2d

100, 102 (6th Cir. 1991); between the United States and

private individuals acting as its agent, United States v.

Jung Ah Lung, 124 U.S. 621, 626 (1888) (petitioner held

by harbormaster “in custody by direction of the customs

authority of the port, under the provision of the Chinese

restriction act,” an act of Congress), Chin Yow v. United

States, 208 U.S. 8 (1908) (petitioner held by manager of

steamship company under similar authority); and between

the United States and a foreign country that is used as the

United States’ “intermediary,” Abu Ali v. Ashcroft, 350

F.Supp. 2d 28 (D.D.C. 2004).

The reach of the writ is not limited to the territorial

jurisdiction of the United States courts where the immedi-

ate custodian is the United States. See, e.g., Burns v.

Wilson, 346 U.S. 137 (1953) (finding jurisdiction over

habeas claims by airmen detained under courts martial in

Guam); United States ex rel. Toth v. Quarles, 350 U.S. 11

(1955) (finding jurisdiction over habeas petition by ex-

airman facing court martial in Korea). The ultimate

territorial scope of the writ remains an open question.

.

S

”

£]

:

2

2

a

“3

:

App. 22

That question need not be answered in this case,

because petitioner fails on a threshold requirement: he is

not being held “under or by color of the authority of the

United States” or “in violation of the Constitution or laws

or treaties of the United States,” as required under the

habeas statute. Petitioner has alleged that he is “detained

by U.S. officials” and “in U.S. custody.” Petition 7{ 9, 21.

But he is in the custody of coalition troops operating under

the aegis of MNF-I, who derive their ultimate authority

from the United Nations and the MNF-I member nations

acting jointly, not from the United States acting alone. The

United States has not asserted and does not profess to

have the independent right to order that petitioner be

moved, tried, punished, or released. Petitioner is thus

under the actual, physical custody of MNF-I, a multina-

tional entity separate and distinct from the United States

or its army. He is in the constructive custody of the Repub-

lic of Iraq, which is seized of jurisdiction in the criminal

case against him, and which controls his ultimate disposi-

tion. Petitioner thus has two custodians, one actual and

the other constructive: MNF-I and the government of Iraq.

Petitioner has not shown that either custodian is the

equivalent of the United States for the purposes of habeas

corpus jurisdiction.

1. Iraq as Custodian

Petitioner voluntarily entered the sovereign country of

Iraq and has been convicted by the courts of that country

for a violation of Iraqi law. The writ of habeas corpus will

not reach to a foreign sovereign. See, e.g., Duchow uv.

United States, 1995 WL 425037 *1, *3, 95-cv-2121 (E.D.

La. 1995) (U.S. citizen detained in Bolivia by Bolivian

government not entitled to habeas relief). See generally Ex

a i i i tet a Sel el,

or “on 4.

:

App. 23

parte Mwenya, [1960] 1 Q@.B. 241 (summarizing evolution

of British common law of habeas corpus, in which avail-

ability of the writ turns on the sovereign’s control over the

custodian). In exceptional cases where the United States

acts through another country as an intermediary to hold a

U.S. citizen, at the direction and under the ultimate

control of the United States, the writ can be issued to the

appropriate officials of the United States. Abu Ali, 350

F.Supp. 2d 28. But no evidence has been presented that

the sovereign nation of Iraq is holding petitioner at the

direction and under the ultimate control of the United

States.

2. MNF-I as Custodian

It does not change the outcome to point out that

Munaf is in the physical custody of U.S. troops in their

capacity as participants in MNF-I. Where a U’S. citizen is

detained under the authority of a multinational military

entity, he is not in custody “under or by color of the author-

ity of the United States,” even if American military per-

sonnel play a role in his detention as part of their

participation in that multinational force. Petitioner in this

case is held by MNF-I, operating under international

authority derived from the U.N. Resolutions. MNF-I has

clearly asserted its authority over him by, for instance,

conducting a hearing at which MNF-I determined that

petitioner should be held as a security internee and that

his case should be referred to CCCI.

In Hirota v. General of the Army MacArthur, 338 U.S.

197 (1948) (per curiam), Japanese citizens moved in the

Supreme Court for leave to file habeas corpus petitions

challenging their sentences under a military tribunal in

App. 24

Japan. American military personnel participated in iue

tribunal, and the prisoners were in the physical custody of

U.S. troops. General Douglas MacArthur, acting in his

capacity as Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers,

established the military tribunal “as the agent of the

Allied Powers.” Jd. at 198. The Court denied the petition-

ers’ motion because “the tribunal sentencing these peti-

tioners is not a tribunal of the United States.” Jd. The

Court traced the authority under which the tribunal acted

and determined that it emanated from the multinational

Allies and not the United States in its independent capac-

ity. Because the prisoners were held under the authority of

an entity that was “not a tribunal of the United States,”

the prisoners were not in the custody of the United States

for purposes of habeas jurisdiction.

The rule recognized in Hirota was applied in Flick v.

Johnson, 174 F.2d 983 (D.C. Cir. 1949), in which German

citizens petitioned for habeas corpus to challenge their

convictions by an Allied military tribunal in Germany

following World War II. While the tribunal had been

staffed by Americans and the petitioners were in the

physical custody of American soldiers, the crucial question

was the authority by which they were held: “If it was an

international tribunal, that ends the matter.” Jd. at 985.

Because the tribunal derived its authority from the Allies

acting jointly in the immediate aftermath of the fall of

Germany, it was not “a tribunal of the United States.”

Therefore “no court of this country has power or authority

to review, affirm, set aside or annul the judgment and

sentence imposed.” Jd. at 984.

Petitioner counters that the habeas applicants in

those cases were not U.S. citizens. But nothing in Hirota

or Flick purported to turn on whether the petitioners were

App. 25

citizens. The courts were without jurisdiction because the

petitioners were held under the authority of entities that

were “not a tribunal of the United States.” The identity of

the custodian, and the concomitant lack of habeas jurisdic-

tion, would remain the same regardless of the petitioners’

citizenship. This is because, as stated previously, the writ

acts upon the custodian, not the prisoner.

The fact that it is the identity of the custodian that

matters most in this context, and not the citizenship of the

prisoner, is demonstrated by In re Yamashita, 327 U.S. 1

(1946). There a Japanese commander petitioned for

habeas corpus to challenge his sentence by a military

tribunal in the Philippines. The Supreme Court traced the

authority under which the tribunal was established: the

authority emanated originally from the President of the

United States as commander-in-chief, who directed the

Joint Chiefs of Staff, who in turn commanded General

MacArthur, acting in his capacity as “Commander in

Chief, United States Arm [sic] Forces, Pacific,” who in turn

specifically ordered a U.S. Army general to establish the

tribunal. Jd. at 10. The tribunal derived its power entirely

from the United States Executive and operated outside the

framework of the Allied Powers. The Court found that

there was habeas jurisdiction for a limited inquiry into the

jurisdiction o. the sentencing tribunal.

Hirota and Yamashita, taken together, recognized that

General MacArthur acted in two capacities, as both an

American and Allied commander, and evaluated the

derivation of authority by which he and his subordinates

held prisoners in custody. Therefore, prisoners who were

in custody of the United States alone, under the sole

App. 26

authority of the United States, could invoke habeas

jurisdiction.’ But prisoners who were held pursuant to the

authority of the Allies, and who were in the physical

custody of American soldiers acting as members of the

Allied Powers, were in the custody of the Allies, not the

United States, and therefore could not invoke the jurisdic-

tion of the U.S. courts. Flick and Madsen v. Kinsella, 343

U.S. 341 (1952) are to the same effect for the European

theater.

Petitioner claims that citizenship must have mattered

in Hirota and Flick because there have been other cases

where courts entertained habeas applications from citi-

zens who were in the custody of the United States while it

participated in a multinational force. But in each of these

cases, the petitioner was held under the independent

authority of the United States qua United States, not by a

multinational force in which the United States partici-

pated. In all of those cases, the courts traced the authority

of the custodian to its source to determine if the custodian

was the United States or some other entity.

For instance, petitioner cites to Madsen v. Kinsella,

343 U.S. 341 (1952). In that case the Supreme Court found

that there was jurisdiction to hear the habeas petition of a

woman confined in a federal prison in West Virginia for

* Courts have found jurisdiction to entertain habeas petitions from

U.S. military personnel who were held or tried by American military

tribunals or courts martial in various locations the world over. The

jurisdiction has turned not on the location where the soldier was held,

nor on the composition of the force in which he served — multinational

or unilateral — but on the authority under which he was actually tried

or held. See, e.g., Burns v. Wilson, 346 U.S. 137 (1953) (courts had

jurisdiction over habeas claims of airmen tried by U.S. courts martial in

Guam).

ei a ee

‘

d

‘

j

;

:

$

‘

3

7

:

;

‘

x

;

:

:

y

4

;

x

5

5

—_

App. 27

the murder of her serviceman-husband, whom she had

killed in the American Occupied Zone of Germany shortly

after World War II. She had been tried and sentenced in

Germany by the “United States Court of the Allied High

Commission for Germany” in 1950. This court, established

unilaterally by the United States and with jurisdiction

within the American zone of control, was a different court

than the one at issue in Flick. It was a purely American

creation and did not purport to exercise the authority of

the Allies, and, moreover, petitioner was in custody in a

United States federal prison in America.

Similarly, habeas jurisdiction was found to lie in the

case of a former U.S. airman who was arrested by military

officials in America and taken to Korea, where he was

charged in a court martial with participating in a murder

conspiracy in Korea during the Korean conflict. United

States ex rel. Toth v. Quarles, 350 U.S. 11 (1955). Though

America had participated in the Korean conflict under the

auspices of a multinational United Nations force, the

petitioner’s court martial was an entirely American

tribunal, established under the authority of an act of

Congress.” Once again, the Court established at the outset

that the tribunal derived its authority solely from the

United States government. With the United States as

custodian, habeas jurisdiction was proper, despite the fact

that the prisoner and immediate custodian were in Korea.

” Petitioner repeatedly conflates the authority by which U.S.

troops operate within a military theater and the authority under which

a prisoner is held. That the United States operates within a multina-

tional military force does not cast all subsequent events in a multina-

tional sheen. Thus courts must look to the substance of the matter and

determine the source of authority for the detention.

ee Le, eS eae, ee Oe eee eee ao cee Ry) earwe ~

CE eA ee

App. 28

Petitioner has argued that strong dicta in Johnson v.

Eisentrager, 339 U.S. 763 (1950), counsels a different

result, After denying enemy aliens held abroad the right to

sue in U.S. courts, the Supreme Court distinguished the

rights of aliens from those of citizens, and opined that

“[clitizenship as a head of jurisdiction and a ground of

protection was old when Paul invoked it in his appeal to

Caesar. The years have not destroyed nor diminished the

importance of citizenship nor have they sapped the vitality

of a citizen’s claims upon his government for protection.”

Id. at 769. But in the very same paragraph, the Court

identified two ways in which the courts protect citizenship:

by issuing writs of habeas corpus to those in custody by

the United States, and by hearing suits to declare a person

a citizen “regardless of whether he is within the United

States or abroad.” Id. at 769-70. But the Court followed by

noting that “[wJhen any citizen is deprived of his liberty by

any foreign government, it is made the duty of the Presi-

dent to demand the reasons and, if the detention appears

wrongful to use means not amounting to acts of war to

effectuate his release.” Id. at 770. The Eisentrager Court

thus recognized that while citizenship may be a head of

jurisdiction, it does not justify jurisdiction when the

citizen is not held by the United States; the only remedies

there are diplomatic, not judicial.

Most tellingly, Eisentrager recognized the distinction

between custody by the authority of the United States and

custody by the authority of a multinational entity. As the

first matter it considered, the Court found that the peti-

tioners Were in the custody of a United States force that

derived its authority solely from the United States, and

that the “proceeding was conducted wholly under Ameri-

can auspices and involved no international participation.”

RR Be RD OE eR oa NER ea ae

App. 29

Id. at 765. Eisentrager thus recognizes the threshold

importance of determining the identity of the custodian.

Recent developments in the law of habeas corpus

serve to confirm the holding in the instant case. Rumsfeld

v. Padilla, 542 U.S. 426 (20004 [sic]), Rasul v. Bush, 542

U.S. 466 (2004), Hamdi v. Rumsfeld, 542 U.S. 507 (2004),

and Hamdan v. Rumsfeld, 126 S.Ct. 2749 (2006), reiterate

that the remedy provided by the writ of habeas corpus is

expansive and not confined solely to U.S. citizens. But the

one constant in all these cases is that the petitioners were

in the custody of the United States alone, in its capacity as

the United States, and not by any multinational force.

While the prisoners may have been captured by a multina-

tional force, they were transferred to the sole custody of

the United States, and it was that detention they chal-

lenged. There is not even the slightest hint in any of these

cases that another nation or multinational entity claimed

control over the prisoners.

This is not to say that the United States military may

purposefully evade the habeas jurisdiction of the courts, or

otherwise deprive citizens of their rights, merely by

cloaking its conduct in the guise of a multinational force."

” Military personnel who participate in MNF-I remain subject to

the military justice systems of their respective countries. United

Nations Security Council Reeolution 1546 (2004), which authorized

MNF-I, incorporates by reference a letter from Colin Powell, then the

Secretary of State for the United States, in which Powell represents

that “the MNF under unified command” is prepared to participate in

the maintenance of security in Iraq. Opp., Ex. 2 at 11. Powell's letter

states that “the MNF must continue to function under a framework

that affords the force and its personnel the status that they need to

accomplish their mission, and in which the contributing states have

responsibility for exercising jurisdiction over their personnel.” Jd. at 12.

This language indicates that the participants in MNF-I retain court

(Continued on following page)

App. 30

Nothing in teday’s holding is inconsistent with Abu Ali v.

Ashcroft, 350 F.Supp. 2d 28 (D.D.C. 2004), which held that

“the United States may not avoid the habeas jurisdiction

of the federal courts by enlisting a foreign ally as an

intermediary to detain the citizen.” Jd. at 41.

In Abu Ali, an American citizen was arrested and held

in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia by the Saudi government.

But the citizen alleged, and “to some degree substanti-

ated,” that: (1) the United States initiated his arrest as

part of an American criminal investigation; (2) the United

States participated in interrogating him in the Saudi

prison; (3) the United States controlled his detention in

the Saudi prison; (4) the United States was keeping him in

martial jurisdiction over their own personnel, rather than subjecting

them to some sort of joint system of military justice. The letter cannot

be read to suggest, as petitioner would have it, that the United States

courts have subject matter jurisdiction over the habeas claims of

prisoners who are guarded by U.S. forces operating within the frame-

work of MNF-I. Taken as a whole and in context, Powell's letter clearly

establishes that MNF-I is a distinct entity created to give the force “the

status that they need to accomplish their mission,” and that the letter

simply reserves the military justice jurisdiction of each country “over

their personnel.”

Furthermore, while placing U.S. personnel under the unified

command of a multinational force may result in the United States

courts lacking jurisdiction over habeas corpus petitions by detainees

held by the multinational force on foreign soil, this does not mean that

American military personnel are completely removed from the control

of the United States government when they are put under a multina-

tional command. To the contrary, they remain under the direction of the

Executive, subject to the oversight of Congress. See U.S. Const. Art. II

§ 2 (setting forth power of President as commander in chief of the

armed forces and in foreign affairs, subject in appropriate cases to

Senate approval); id. at Art. I § 8, cl. 11-16 (setting forth powers of

Congress to declare war, “make rules concerning Captures on Land and

Water,” support and fund an army and navy, “make Rules for the

Government and Regulation” of the armed forces, etc.).

App. 31

Saudi Arabia to avoid constitutional scrutiny by American

courts; and (5) Saudi Arabia would immediately release

the citizen to United States officials upon a request by the

United States government. Jd. at 30-31. The United States

did not offer any facts to rebut these allegations, which

were substantiated by numerous affidavits and other

documentary evidence “of varying degrees of competence

and persuasiveness.” Jd. The court held that the citizen

was entitled to limited jurisdictional discovery to deter-

mine whether he was being held in the actual or construc-

tive custody of the United States. If the citizen could prove

that he was being held “at the behest and ongoing direc-

tion of United States officials,” he could invoke habeas

jurisdiction. Id. at 67.

The court in Abu Ali noted that “(t]he instances where

the United States is correctly deemed to be operating

through a foreign ally as an intermediary for purposes of

habeas jurisdiction will be exceptional, and a federal

court’s inquiry in such cases will be substantially circum-

scribed by the separation of powers.” Jd. at 41. Because the

United States Executive was acting under its foreign

affairs powers in Abu Aili, principles of separation of

powers and international comity “place[d] considerable

limitations on the inquiry (and authority) of a United

States court in this setting.” Jd. at 49. The importance of

recognizing the “considerable limitations” on a court’s

“substantially circumscribed” inquiry is especially appar-

ent in this case, where the Executive acts not only under

its foreign affairs powers, by dealing with dozens of allies

and the United Nations, but also under its war powers.

Applying that “substantially circumscribed” inquiry to

this case, it is clear that the United States is not “operat-

ing through” MNF-I “as an intermediary.” In Abu Ali the

es

App. 32

petitioner presented, and the United States did not at-

tempt to rebut, substantial evidence that the petitioner

was arrested and held by officials of the Kingdom of Saudi

Arabia at the request of the United States, that America

controlled his ultimate disposition, and that his immediate

custodians had no independent interest in detaining him.

In this case, petitioner offers little real evidence that the

United States is using MNF-I as an “intermediary to

detain the citizen.” The habeas petition alleges that

petitioner is “in U.S. custody,” and does not allege that the

United States is acting through some intermediary. In

their briefs, petitioner’s counsel merely handpick quota-

tions from U.S. military leaders to imply that the United

States has control over MNF-I. See Reply Memorandum in

Support of Petitioners’ Application for a Temporary Re-

straining Order [10-1] at 5-6 n.2.

Petitioner also submitted supplemental information

regarding his hearing and sentencing before the Iraqi Trial

Panel. See generally Second Riordan Decl. Therein, peti-

tioner apparently attempts to allege that U.S. military

personnel interfered with the Iraqi proceeding. This

statement, which is disputed by respondents at every

point, and which does not point to any evidence that the

Americans were acting outside of their roles in MNF-I,

falls far short of the kind of allegations that were required

in Abu Ali to obtain jurisdictional discovery, let alone to

establish jurisdiction. To the extent petitioner claims that

the Americans interfered with the fairness of his trial, his

remedies lie in the Iraqi courts. Petitioner has not alleged

the kind of jurisdictional facts that would qualify this case

as one of the “exceptional” instances where the United

App. 33

States is acting through an intermediary to detain a

citizen.” Given the paucity of allegations that petitioner

is in the custody of the United States and not MNF-I,

and the necessarily “substantially circumscribed” nature

of the Court’s inquiry, jurisdictional discovery is not

warranted.

Finally, Eisentrager and Rasul strongly suggest that

there are constitutional aspects to the right to habeas

" This puts the Court at odds with the ruling in Omar v. Harvey,

416 F.Supp. 2d 19 (D.D.C. Feb. 13, 2006), whereby Judge Urbina issued

injunctive relief to bar the transfer of an American citizen from MNF-I

to Iraqi authorities. Judge Urbina held that the citizen, Omar, had pled

sufficient jurisdictional facts to warrant injunctive relief. The “strong

evidence that [Omar] is in the custody of the United States military”

consisted of two e-mails from State Department employees to Omar's

wife, saying that he was “under U.S. military care, custody and control”

and that he was “under control of Coalition Forces (U.S. and MNF).” Id.

at 25. The Court respectfully disagrees that the casual representations

of a State Department employee provide a sufficient basis for what

amounts to piercing the veil between the United States and an entity

comprised of the United States acting jointly with its allies. For

instance, in this case petitioner Munaf’s sister claims that a State

Department employee “confirmed that Mohammad [Munaf] was in U.S.

custody” in a telephone conversation. Mohammed Decl. 14. By the logic

of Omar, this statement would be allowed to trump the determination

by the United States and its allies and the United Nations that the

allied forces shall act jointly through the distinct entity of MNF-I. The

government has been careless in its language, which sometimes reflects

the reality that it is mostly U.S. troops who are carrying out the

mission of MNF-I, and thus it is usually U.S. troops who are doing the

physical “holding” of the petitioner. But it takes more than some

offhand remarks by a few government officials to change the nature of a

multinational force that has been created by the governments of over

two dozen sovereign nations. Much more is required to establish habeas

jurisdiction in the face of Supreme Court precedent respecting the

distinction between the United States when it acts alone and when it

acts as part of an allied force, as well as the “substantially circum-

scribed” nature of the Court’s inquiry under Abu Ali.

~f

x

4

"y

;

;

3

%

y

4

7

App. 34

corpus, whether or not they are embodied in the jurisdic-

tional statute. To the extent that there remain constitu-

tional aspects of the right which have not been covered by

recent Supreme Court decisions, this does not change the

outcome of this case. The right to habeas corpus embodied

in the statute reflects the fundamental nature of the writ

as captured in the Constitution and as it has survived for

centuries in the common law. It is a right against the

sovereign.

Courts have struggled to describe the scope of the

right by reference to territorial bounds, citizenship, and

the malleable meaning of custody itself. See, e.g., Rasul,

542 U.S. 466, nn.11-14 and accompanying text (collecting

authorities on the territorial ambit of the writ at common

law); Ex parte Mwenya, [1960] 1 Q.B. 241 (same); 1 Op.

Atty Gen. 47 (1794) (Attorney General William Bradford

opining that the writ extends to areas or entities within

the sovereign control of the government). But at least one

thing is constant about the right: it applies only against

the sovereign that grants it. The petitioner here is chal-

lenging his detention on foreign soil, under the authority

of a multinational force, at the request of a foreign gov-

ernment. “[P]rovisions of the Federal] Constitution relating

to the writ of habeas corpus, bills of attainder, ex post

facto laws” and the like “have no relation to crimes com-

mitted without the jurisdiction of the United States

against the laws of a foreign country,” because there the

citizen is treating with a foreign country, and our Consti-

tution gives him rights only as against the United States.

Neely v. Henkel, 180 U.S. 109 (1901). The same holds true

of a duly constituted allied force, against which petitioner

does not have constitutional rights. Whatever independent

effect the habeas provision of the Constitution may have,

App. 35

it does not grant petitioner the right to secure the writ

against one who does not hold him in custody “under or by

color of the authority of the United States” or “in violation

of the Constitution or laws or treaties of the United

States.” The habeas provision of the Constitution therefore

cannot expand the jurisdiction of the Court in this case

beyond that granted by the statute.

In cases such as Hirota, the Supreme Court recog-

nized that when the United States commits troops to a

multinational, allied force, that force is a unique juristic

entity distinct from the United States. The distinction

between unilateral American action and multinational,

allied action is no mere nicety or matter of form. It is a

real distinction with real, substantive consequences. This

distinction was summarized by Justice Jackson, in a

separate memorandum, when he described his reluctance

to vote for review of the claims in Hirota:

On American initiative, under direction of the

President as Commander-in-Chief, this country

invited our Pacific allies, on foreign soil, to coop-

erate in conducting a grand inquest into the al-

leged crimes, including the war guilt, of these

defendants. Whatever its real legal nature, it

bears the outward appearance of an interna-

tional enterprise, undertaken on our part under

the war powers and control of foreign affairs

vested in the Executive. For this Court now to

call up these cases for judicial review under ex-

clusively American law can only be regarded as a

warning to our associates in the trials that no

commitment of the President or of the military

authorities, even in such matters as these, has

finality or validity under our form of government

until it has the approval of this Court. And since

the Court’s approval or disapproval cannot be

:

a

y

A

g

£

od

L

TES ay

;

=

App. 36

known until after the event — usually long after —

it would substantially handicap our country in

asking other nations to rely upon the word or act

of the President in affairs which only he is com-

petent to conduct.

Hirota v. MacArthur, 335 U.S. 876, 878 (Jackson, J.)

(Memorandum).” The United States has placed troops in

Iraq under the unified command of a multinational force.

It has not thereby placed that force and all its troops,

whatever flag they may fly, under the strictures of the

Constitution and the reach of this Court. There is evidence

that this force is a true coalition over which no single

nation has sovereignty, and petitioner has not demon-

strated that it is a mere sham by which the United States

seeks to avoid constitutional accountability. Petitioner is

in a foreign country and in the custody of MNF-I, not the

* Justice Jackson did not participate in the decision in Hirota,

because of his involvement in the Nuremberg war crimes tribunal in

Europe. He explained that his decision to break the tie and allow

argument in Hirota stemmed from a desire to put to rest criticisms of

the tribunal by America’s enemies, and he did not express an opinion on

the Court’s jurisdiction. Hirota v. MacArthur, 335 U.S. 876 (1948)

(Jackson, J.) (Memorandum). While petitioner in this case attempts to

treat the Court’s ruling in Hirota as an isolated case, it is worth noting

that a divided Supreme Court declined to review numerous habeas

petitions implicating dozens of petitioners in Germany following WWII,

though four members of the Court wanted to hear argument on the

jurisdictional issues raised by the petitions. Justice Jackson, who

recused himself from the cases involving German petitioners, inter-

vened to break the tie and secure review in Hirota. The precedential

value of Hirota should thus be considered in light of the robust debate

that centered around the issues at the time. See generally Charles

Fairman, “Some New Problems of the Constitution Following the Flag,”

1 STAN. L. REV. 587 (1949) (discussing post-WWII habeas petitions by

German and Japanese prisoners).

App. 37

United States, and he is therefore beyond the habeas

corpus jurisdiction of this Court."

Ill. CONCLUSION

The Court is aware of the debate over the right of

aliens to obtain the writ of habeas corpus, even when they

are not held in the United States, and so it is aware that

some will consider today’s decision anomalous. But no

court in our country’s history, other than Omar, has ever

found habeas corpus jurisdiction over a multinational force

comprised of the United States acting jointly with its allies

overseas. And the law is legend that in time of actual

hostilities or war, as in Iraq, courts should tread lightly

and give the President, as Commander-in-Chief, the full

power of his office. The President has the power to “employ

[the Nation’s Armed Forces] in the manner he may deem

most effectual to harass and conquer and subdue the

enemy,” Fleming v. Page, 50 U.S. (9 How.) 603, 615 (1850),

and such decisions are “delicate, complex, and involve

large elements of prophecy. They are and should be under-

taken only by those directly responsible to the people

“ Petitioner also attempts to invoke jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§§ 1331, 1651, 2201, and 2202, Article I, § 9, cl. 2 and Article III of the

Constitution, and the Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment.

None of these provisions provide a proper basis for junsdiction. Because

the petitioner is in the custody of MNF-I, against whom no U.S. law

secures him nghts, he cannot point to a constitutonal provision, law, or

treaty of the United States that his case arises under, and thus he

cannot invoke federal question jurisdiction. His invocation of the Al)

Wnts Act and Declaratory Judgment Act is unavailing because those

remedial statutes presume jurisdiction and do not create it Likewise,

the constitutonal provisions he cates do not independently create

junsdiction for him, nor for that matter do they secure any nghts for

him against hie custodian, MNF-I.

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.