Amicus Curiae Brief — Harris v. Viegelahn, 135 S. Ct. 782 (2014) (No. 14-400)

Supreme Court brief2014

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 14-400

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

CHARLES E. HARRIS, III,

Petitioner,

v.

MARY K. VIEGELAHN, CHAPTER 13 TRUSTEE,

Respondent.

On Wait or CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

Court oF APPEALS FOR THE Firtu Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE AMERICAN

FINANCIAL SERVICES ASSOCIATION AND

CONSUMER MORTGAGE COALITION IN

SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

TYLER P. BROWN

Counsel of Record

JUSTIN F. PAGET

Hunton & WILLIAMS LLP

Riverfront Plaza, East Tower

951 East Byrd Street

Richmond, Virginia 23219

(804) 788-8200

tpbrown@hunton.com

Counsel for Amici Curiae

me

g

COUNSEL PRESS

(SOU) 274-3921 © (800) 359-6859

Page

pe ge, See i

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES .............. iii

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE .................. 1

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT................ 2

Ss 6G sGadaewi curds da ciecorsae cere 4

I. The Structure of Chapter 13 Provides

Debtors with Broad Benefits in

Exchange for Committing a Portion

of Their Post-Petition Earnings to

the Payment of Pre-Petition Claims........... 4

Il. Section 1326 Reflects the Intent of Congress

that the Chapter 13 Trustee Distribute

Undisbursed Funds Held at Conversion as

Directed by the Confirmed Plan.............. 7

A. The “Plain Meaning” of § 1326 Requires

Trustees to Disburse the Funds in

Question According to the Plan........... 8

t

TABLE OF CONTENTS

B. Even if Not Evident from its “Plain

Meaning,” § 1326 Suggests Congress

Intended That Creditors Have a Superior

Interest in Undisbursed Funds Paid to

a Trustee Under a Confirmed Plan ......

it

Table of Contents

III. Bankruptcy Code Provisions Excluding

Certain Property from the Post-

Conversion Chapter 7 Estate Do Not

Answer the Question Presented ............. 13

IV. Undisbursed Plan Payments Committed

to the Supervision and Control of the

Trustee Under a Confirmed Plan Do Not

“Revest” in the Debtor at Conversion ........ 17

A. The Debtor is Not Vested in Payments

Made to the Trustee from Post-Petition

Earnings under a Confirmed Plan ....... 18

B. Plan Payments Made to the Trustee

Are Not Property of the Estate, and

Conversion Does Not “Revest” Plan

Payments in the Debtor................ 19

C. Neither Petitioner’s Plan Nor the

Confirmation Order Dictate

RE ED. che cunnnenaacecewed 22

D. Conversion Does Not Invalidate

Creditors’ Rights to Funds Previously

Submitted to the Trustee Under

V. Section 348(e) Does Not Terminate

a Chapter 13 Trustee’s Obligation to

Distribute Undisbursed Funds.............. 27

EE N65 0405 Cobversasancacevaecines eas 31

202

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Arkison v. Plata (In re Plata),

ee ee EE GE ED oo Ske Siavccvdcucwccscts 11

Behles-Giddens, P.A. v. Raft (In re K.D. Co.),

254 B.R. 480 (B.A.P. 10th Cir. 2000).............. 25

Harris v. Viegelahn (In re Harris),

757 F.3d 468 (6th Cir. 2014) ................ passim

Harris v. Washington Mutual Home Loans, Inc.

(In re Harris),

297 B.R. 61 (Bankr. N.D. Miss. 2003)............. 23

In re Bejarano,

302 B.R. 559 (Bankr. N.D. Ohio 2003) ............ 17

In re Bobroff,

ee as Se Oe Ge BD oo iis ve bescicdcwawecass 15

In re Boggs,

137 B.R. 408 (Bankr. W.D. Wash. 1992)........... 10

In re Castillo,

508 B.R. 1 (Bankr. W.D. Tex. 2014)............... 17

In re Criscuolo

No. 09-14063, 2014 WL 1910078 (Bankr. E.D. Va.

eee err ret: rei 20 29

wv

Cited Authorities

Page

In re Czykoski,

390 B.R. 385 (Bankr. N.D. Ind. 2005). ........---- 28

In re Darden,

474 B.R. 1 (Bankr. D. Mass. 2012). .......+--+++5: 11

In re Doetsch,

No. 04-63998, 2007 WL 2702645

(Bankr. N.D.N-Y. Sept. 12, 2007) .....-------+++> 17

In re Doyle,

11 B.R. 110 (Bankr. E.D. Pa. 1981).........------- 6

In re Forte,

341 B.R. 859 (Bankr. N.D. Ill. 2005). ........------ 6

In re Halpenny,

125 B.R. 814 (Bankr. D. Haw. 1991) ........--+--- 20

In re Heinzle,

511 B.R. 69 (Bankr. W.D. Tex. 2014)..........--> 15

In re Inyamah,

378 B.R. 183 (Bankr. S.D. Ohio 2007). .........+++: 4

In re Jemison,

No. 07-40761, 2007 WL 2669222

(Bankr. N.D. Ala. Sept. 6, 2007) .......----+++-+> 22

In re Lennon,

65 B.R. 130 (Bankr. N.D. Ga. 1986) .....-..--- 18, 20

Vv

Cited Authorities

Page

In re Lybrook,

961 F.2d 136 (7th Cir. 1991) ......... ccc ccees 14, 17

In re Magee,

444 B.R. 254 (Bankr. S.D.N-Y. 2011). .............. 4

In re Markham,

504 B.R. 1 (Bankr. D. Mass. 2013) ............... 25

In re Messer,

No. 96-550617, 2000 WL 33673748

(Bankr. M.D.N.C. Nov. 22, 2000). ................ 17

In re Michael,

699 F.3d 305 (8d Cir. 2012)................. passim

In re Miller,

247 B.R. 795 (Bankr. W.D. Mo. 2000).............. 6

In re Parker,

400 B.R. 55 (Bankr. E.D. Pa. 2009) .............. 29

In re Parrish,

275 B.R. 424 (Bankr. D.D.C. 2002)...... 10, 20, 28, 30

In re Pegues,

266 B.R. 328 (Bankr. D. Md. 2001) ............... 10

In re Redick,

81 B.R. 881 (Bankr. E.D. Mich. 1987)............. 29

v1

Cited Authorities

Page

In re Reeves,

509 B.R. 35 (Bankr. S.D. Tex. 2014) .............. 17

In re Siegfried,

219 B.R. 581 (Bankr. D. Colo. 1998) .............. 17

In re Smith,

511 B.R. 612 (Bankr. W.D. Mo. 2014) .......... 11, 25

In re Stuart,

402 B.R. 111 (Bankr. E.D. Pa. 2009).............. 24

In re Valone,

500 B.R. 645 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 2013).............. 5

In re Verdunn,

210 B.R. 621 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 1997)...... 20, 25, 30

In re Waugh,

82 B.R. 394 (Bankr. W.D. Pa. 1988) ............ 7,17

In re Wiczek-Spaulding,

223 B.R. 538 (Bankr. D. Minn. 1998) ............. 17

K Mart Corp. v. Cartier, Inc.,

Ne ee ec ceccesceesse 7,12

Ledford v. Burns (In re Burns),

90 B.R. 301 (Bankr. S.D. Ohio 1988)............. .20

vit

Cited Authorities

Page

McDonald v. Burgie (In re Burgie),

239 B.R. 406 (B.A.P. 9th Cir. 1999)................ 4

McDonald v. Master Fin., Inc. (In re McDonald),

205 F.8d G06 (Od Cir. 2000)... 2. ccc sccccccccccces 4

Mele v. Mele (In re Mele),

501 B.R. 357 (B.A.P. 9th Cir. 2013). ............... 5

Mendoza v. Temple-Inland Mortgage Corp.

(In re Mendoza),

ee EAE, NED oo 6 kkk sbeKkeecekeces 26

Moser v. Mullican (In re Mullican),

417 B.R. 389 (Bankr. E.D. Tex. 2008), aff'd,

417 B.R. 408 (E.D. Tex. 2009) ................... 16

Russello v. United States,

Se, CE sco das Gausneeesdaenebeabueel i)

Sullivan v. Stroop,

GF ED 6 Sis hecusedncdadecuciedensei 12

The Travelers Indemnity Co. of Illinois, Inc. v.

Griner (In re Griner),

240 B.R. 432 (Bankr. S.D. Ala. 1999) ............. 26

United Sav. Ass'n of Texas v. Timbers of Inwood

Forest Assocs., Ltd.,

Se ED s ch. nica caVadedncccdacedneds 11

viit

Cited Authorities

Page

United States v. Am. Trucking Asens.,

IE og cceccecadcsonvnacidndceaser 27

Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. v. Oparaji

(In re Oparaji),

698 F.3d 231 (6th Cir. 2012) ........... cece eeees 30

STATUTES AND OTHER AUTHORITIES

Oe Wee WI oko ho oe eek Fe secncccsesans secenet 8

ey I ee he ie ie be ae 24, 26, 29, 30

SS Wits OD web wadenddntiessesécnccncecnane 8

EP es PE h decks Week e denne execdens .27, 28, 29

hE rrr er 3, 13, 14, 15

Be See PI, svn nd ddnaWenkctwendrcuvedans< 14

Be es IEDs iii ak cdds cucccewesk coessuas 14

Se es SOE vb dos. dec tueueeseveececeeee 16, 17

i ee ED civeuccscecsaveeucuuneene .29, 30

Be I ha kdvedaccekke rad caaencakenurees .29

BE Wes SO os ecb ectcvccvaconsscncdcasvsseeed 5

iz

Cited Authorities

Page

BD OD tn vd avccuscesccscessuscusess .22

EE es ED Cw ck ceuccccinecouseescesececss 22

Be Pe PD acc enccncnsceccncvcescecvenavacd 5

Bs BG oct ceadctcesccscesncconsecenes 4

Be Fs Sp tne ecaecaccistccnenivenasesss 4,21

BE CEL BN cca cn cecccccosciecccennscess 4

Oe Ue in oo be kc cenconcccnsncsisenedises 3, 21

BE TA. 8 RD vc ccccccnscccsssccsccessene .20

Ee ED hod casvesscnscccusssecetgecunt 21

rs I y hc bee cukesscccsesenactsseseesy 9

Ps Oe Ss oka pe cccvevccesecesnnusensd 6

OE I bo asc tcUccrennnvecdvcssesewevsesns 5

BE Ee BI oc i cece vessetevivacecend 6, 18, 21

BE ee Be 0 8a 6 ccccenerncncscvescusnvsesa 5

11 U.S.C. § 1325@)GMB)Gi) .. 1... eee eee eee eee 5

Cited Authorities

Page

BD See WE pb Svevebccnncectcccsesccesesss 16

TD TRE BED snc ecesescessccvctncccencsas 14

BD TER © BI 0 ce vcecescsuccsnsevecceds 15

BE TE. Bs 6 he cdccunscuscccsesenossace passim

OR ER EID ccscecenicascencessass 2, 6, 8, 10

BD EL BD oc vets csccceceusccscunsenc g

OE TRI OND wast cenvoeswecseccicenss passim

BE EE, OI o voce vtncseneccccsccscncsoned 9

SE es IS vc cnceacekusensbacceseses passim

STs EE 6 0.00.0 5 veo ucsv06 cov davcanpecskes 3, 21

ek Sek rrerrrrr rrr rr rrr ri ry 5, 7, 24

SE EE Ses nadycistepecucnssecess passim

BB CAM I bo vets cccsecscbnncvecesoucecns 21

igie (68 5 MU TETeTTTTIrreeT TT eT 25

PO He EE Fe DURE cov cvsvccecncesocvcesegss 27

xt

Cited Authorities

Page

Ped. R. Banke. PF. WORSE 2. cc cecvccsvecccces .28

H.R. Rep. No. 835, 103d Cong. 2d Sess. 57 (1994)... .. 16

Local Bankr. R. 3015-1(b) (S.D. Tex.) ..........0005: 15

INTEREST OF AMICT CURIAP

AFSA is the national trade association for the

consumer credit industry, protecting access to credit

and consumer choice. AFSA has a_ broad

membership, ranging from large international

financial services firms to_ single office,

independently owned consumer finance companies.

The association represents financial services

companies that hold leadership positions in their

markets and conform to the highest standards of

customer service and ethical business practices.

AFSA’s members frequently hold secured or

unsecured claims in Chapter 13 bankruptcy cases

that are converted to Chapter 7.

The Consumer Mortgage Coalition is a trade

association of national mortgage lenders, servicers

and service providers. Its members participate in

every stage of the home financing process, from

providing loan information and taking loan

applications to processing and funding loans, to

purchasing loans from brokers and other lenders,

and to pooling loans for sale on the secondary

market as mortgaged backed securities. The

Coalition acts to pursue reform of the mortgage

origination process, to assure that consumers are

properly informed when making credit choices, and

to reduce abusive lending practices. It participates

1 No party or party's counsel authored the proposed

amici curiae brief in any part, nor did any party or party’s

counsel, or any person other than the amuci, its members, or its

counsel, contribute money that was intended to fund preparing

or submitting this brief. Each of the parties have consented to

the filing of this brief.

in almost every aspect of federal legislative activity

and regulatory rulemaking relating to the mortgage

industry.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The post-petition earnings that a debtor pays

to a Chapter 13 trustee, who acts as disbursing

agent pursuant to a plan, are the quid pro quo for a

debtor’s enjoyment of the expanded benefits that

Chapter 13 provides. This premise, which

permeates Chapter 13, and the language Congress

adopted in several sections of the Bankruptcy Code,

demonstrate that earnings submitted to the

supervision and control of the trustee under a

confirmed plan should be paid pursuant to the plan,

even if the case is subsequently converted.

Bankruptcy Code § 1326 offers the most direct

statutory authority for this rule. Section 1326(a)(1)

requires Chapter 13 debtors to begin making plan

payments promptly after the commencement of the

case. Section 1326(a)(2), in turn, requires a Chapter

13 trustee to distribute such payments in accordance

with the confirmed plan as soon as is practicable. As

the majority of the bankruptcy courts addressing the

question presented have concluded, these provisions

govern all payments received by the trustee during

the course of the Chapter 13 case, not merely the

payments due in the period prior to plan

confirmation. Section 1326(c) reinforces this

principle by providing that the trustee shall make

payments to creditors under a confirmed plan unless

the plan or the confirmation order provides

otherwise.

Bankruptcy Code § 348(f) makes clear that

earnings submitted to the supervision and control of

the trustee do not ordinarily become property of the

Chapter 7 estate upon conversion. Section 348(f),

however, does not direct whether the trustee should

distribute these funds in accordance with the plan or

refund the money to the debtor.

Similarly, §§ 1306 and 1327 do not control the

question presented. A contextual reading indicates

that Congress did not intend these sections to cause

undisbursed plan payments to “revest” in the debtor

at conversion. Nothing in the Bankruptcy Code

retroactively invalidates the plan upon conversion to

cause the funds to revert to the debtor either. Thus,

funds already submitted to the supervision and

contro] of the trustee prior to conversion should be

paid according to the plan.

The rule adopted by the Court below, that

plan payments held by the trustee at the time of

conversion should be paid to creditors, does not

discourage Chapter 13 filings. To the contrary, it

follows the debtor’s expectation at the outset of a

Chapter 13 case. A corollary to the debtor’s

commitment of post-petition earnings to the plan is

that the trustee will pay those funds to creditors as

directed by the confirmed plan.

ARGUMENT

I. The Structure of Chapter 13 Provides Debtors

with Broad Benefits in Exchange for Committing a

Portion of Their Post-Petition Earnings to the

Payment of Pre-Petition Claims

Congress has demonstrated a preference for

individual debtors to attempt to repay their creditors

under the terms of a plan governed by Chapter 13 of

the Bankruptcy Code rather than filing under

Chapter 7. See McDonald v. Master Fin., Inc. Un re

McDonald), 205 F.3d 606, 614 (3d Cir. 2000). Part of

the reason is that unsecured creditors often receive

more under a Chapter 13 plan than in a Chapter 7

liquidation. Jd.

Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 have significantly

different structures. In Chapter 7, non-exempt pre-

petition assets are turmed over to a trustee for

liquidation. Jn re Magee, 444 B.R. 254, 262 (Bankr.

S.D.N.Y. 2011). In contrast, Chapter 13 allows

debtors to retain their non-exempt pre-petition

property in exchange for funding the Chapter 13

plan with a portion of their post-petition earnings.

McDonald v. Burgie (In re Burgie), 239 B.R. 406, 410

(B.A.P. 9th Cir. 1999). Thus, a Chapter 13 trustee’s

duties are not identical to the duties of a Chapter 7

trustee. See 11 U.S.C. § 1302; Resp. Br. at 4.

Noticeably absent from a Chapter 13 trustee’s duties

is the responsibility set forth in § 704(a)(1) “to collect

and reduce to money the property of the estate for

which such trustee serves ....” 11 USC. §

1302(b)(1).

Using a Chapter 13 plan may enable a debtor

to save a home from foreclosure, or maintain

possession of a vehicle or other personal property, by

curing a delinquency over time rather than all at

once as state laws often provide. /n re Michael, 699

F.3d 305, 318 n.1 (3d Cir. 2012) (Roth, J.,

dissenting). Moreover, subject to certain exceptions,

Chapter 13 debtors may also “cram down” certain

secured debts and “strip off’ junior liens. See 11

U.S.C. §§ 506(a), 1322(b) and 1325(a)(5)(B)Gi.

Further, the “superdischarge” available in Chapter

13 relieves debtors from liabilities that may not be

discharged in Chapter 7. See Mele v. Mele Un re

Mele), 501 B.R. 357, 368 n.10 (B.A.P. 9th Cir. 2013).

Another benefit enjoyed by Chapter 13 debtors

is the protection of the automatic stay for the entire

payment period of the Chapter 13 plan, usually from

three to five years. Jn re Valone, 500 B.R. 645, 650-

51 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 2013). That generally prevents

creditors from enforcing their contractual or legal

rights against the debtor or any collateral while the

Chapter 13 case continues. See 11 U.S.C. § 362(a).

As only a debtor can propose a Chapter 13

plan, there is no risk of a creditor filing a competing

plan of full or partial liquidation. 11 U.S.C. § 1321.

Upon confirmation of a Chapter 13 plan, its

provisions “bind the debtor and each creditor,

whether or not the creditor has objected to, has

accepted, or has rejected the plan.” See 11 U.S.C. §

1327(a). Thus, Chapter 13 plans are variously

referred to as a legislative “contract,” the “Chapter

13 Deal,” or the “Chapter 13 bargain.” See Jn re

Forte, 341 B.R. 859, 869 (Bankr. N.D. Il]. 2005).

The guid pro quo for the expanded benefits a

debtor receives in Chapter 13 is the commitment of a

portion of his or her post-petition earnings to

funding the Chapter 13 plan. Michael, 699 F.3d at

319 (Roth, J., dissenting). Congress emphasized a

quid pro quo concept in Chapter 13 by requiring that

debtors commence plan payments shortly after

filing. See 11 U.S.C. §1326(a)(1). Chapter 13 is not

intended to give debtors a “free ride.” Jn re Miller,

247 B.R. 795, 797 (Bankr. W.D. Mo. 2000). Once

confirmed, a Chapter 13 plan typically provides for

the trustee to make deferred cash payments to pre-

petition creditors from the future earnings a debtor

commits to the plan. See 11 U.S.C. §§ 1322(a)(1) &

1326(c).

Congress said nothing about returning to a

debtor funds that a debtor has paid to a Chapter 13

trustee under a confirmed plan. The only time the

Bankruptcy Code mentions returning funds a

Chapter 13 trustee has received from a debtor is

when a plan is not confirmed, see 11 U.S.C. §

1326(a)(2), and that occurs whether the case is then

converted to another Chapter, as in this case, or

dismissed. See id. §§ 1307(a)-(c).

Conversion or dismissal of a Chapter 13 case

after confirmation of a plan relieves a debtor of the

obligation to continue making payments to a trustee.

See In re Doyle, 11 B.R. 110 (Bankr. E.D. Pa. 1981).

Nothing in Chapter 13, however, provides a debtor

with retroactive relief to, in effect, claw back

payments that were made to a trustee while both the

debtor and his creditors were bound by a confirmed

plan. See 11 U.S.C. § 1327(a).

Whether creditors should receive the quid pro

quo contemplated by the structure of Chapter 13

should not depend on whether a trustee has

distributed the payments received from the debtor at

the time of conversion. Such a ruling would subject

creditors to undue risk resulting from “the trustee’s

lack of] speed in distributing the payments” or

simply a debtor’s timing in converting a case relative

to a trustee’s payment cycle. Harris v. Viegelahn (In

re Harris), 757 F.3d 468, 480 n.10 (5th Cir. 2014)

(citing In re Waugh, 82 B.R. 394, 400 (Bankr. W.D.

Pa. 1988)). This Court should not permit

happenstance, or debtor opportunism, to determine

creditors’ rights to payments already submitted to a

trustee and then due and owing to creditors under a

Chapter 13 plan.

Il. Section 1326 Reflects the Intent of Congress

that the Chapter 13 Trustee Distribute Undisbursed

Funds Held at Conversion as Directed by the

Confirmed Plan

“In ascertaining the plain meaning of [a]

statute, the [Clourt must look to the particular

statutory language at issue, as well as the language

and design of the statute as a whole.” K Mart Corp.

v. Cartier, Inc., 486 U.S. 281, 291 (1988). Section

1326, through its express language and its fit within

the design of Chapter 13, demonstrates

congressional intent that Chapter 13 trustees

distribute funds held at conversion according to the

confirmed plan.

A. The “Plain Meaning” of § 1826 Requires

Trustees to Disburse the Funds in Question

According to the Plan

Section 1326(a)(1) requires that Chapter 13

debtors commence making payments in the amounts

proposed by their plans to Chapter 13 trustees

within 30 days after the earlier of filing their plans

or entry of the order for relief. See 11 U.S.C. §§

301(b), 348(a) & 1326(a)(1). That section does not

provide an end date for the payments.

Section 1326(a)(2) then provides,

A payment made under paragraph

(1)(A) shall be retained by the trustee

until confirmation or denial of

confirmation. If a plan is confirmed,

the trustee shall distribute any such

payment in accordance with the plan

as soon as is practicable. If a plan is

not confirmed, the trustee shall return

any such payments not previously

paid and not yet due and owing to

creditors pursuant to paragraph (3) to

the debtor, after deducting any unpaid

claim allowed under section 503(b).

11 U.S.C. § 1326(a)(2).

When no plan is confirmed,? Congress

provided that the Chapter 13 trustee would return

funds to the debtor that are “not previously paid and

not yet due and owing to creditors.” 11 U.S.C. §

1326(a)(2).2 If a plan is confirmed, § 1326(a)(2)

should be read to require the trustee to disburse

both pre- and post-confirmation payments according

to the plan because, as noted above, § 1326(a)(1)(A)

is not restricted to pre-confirmation payments.

Section 1326(a)(1)(A) simply provides a starting

? When a Chapter 13 debtor cannot confirm a plan, the

Chapter 13 case cannot continue, and the only available

outcomes are conversion or dismissal. See 11 U.S.C. § 1307(5).

Had Congress similarly intended for debtors to receive a return

of funds upon conversion or dismissal after confirming a plan,

Congress could have included a parallel provision in §§ 1326 or

348. See Russello v. United States, 464 U.S. 16, 23 (1983)

(“[W]here Congress includes particular language in one section

of a statute but omits it in another section of the same Act, it is

generally presumed that Congress acts intentionally and

purposely in the disparate inclusion or exclusion.”).

3 Under the express language of § 1326(a)(2), a debtor

is not entitled to the return of undisbursed moneys then “due

and owing to creditors pursuant to paragraph (3)” as adequate

protection payments. See 11 U.S.C. § 1326(a)(3). In addition,

the trustee is authorized to deduct the amount of any unpaid

administrative claims under § 503(b) before returning the

balance of any payments made under a non-confirmed plan.

See 11 U.S.C. § 1326(a)(2); see also In re Inyamah, 378 B.R.

183, 185 (Bankr. S.D. Ohio 2007). It would be inconsistent to

provide for the return of all undisbursed funds to the debtor

upon subsequent failure of a confirmed plan when Congress

expressed clear intent not to pay all undisbursed funds to the

debtor upon denial of confirmation, if those sums were then due

and owing to creditors for adequate protection or as

administrative claims.

point for payments. Thus, requiring a trustee to

“distribute any [payment made under paragraph

(1)(A)] in accordance with the plan as soon as is

practicable” refers to all payments a Chapter 13

trustee receives, no matter when received. See id.

There are at least three different judicial

interpretations of whether § 1326 answers the

question presented. One line of cases concludes that

§ 1326(a)(2) does not apply to payments received

post-confirmation. See, e.g., In re Boggs, 137 B.R.

408, 410 (Bankr. W.D. Wash. 1992) (concluding that

§ 1326 only answers the “questions of when plan

payments are to begin, the disposition of funds in the

event no plan is confirmed, and who is to handle the

funds”). The shortcoming in these decisions is that

they overlook that § 1326(a)(1) is not limited to pre-

confirmation payments.

A second line of cases, representing the

majority, correctly concludes that § 1326(a)(2)

instructs Chapter 13 trustees how to distribute all

plan payments, regardless of when received. See,

e.g., In re Pegues, 266 B.R. 328 (Bankr. D. Md. 2001)

(collecting cases); see also In re Parrish, 275 B.R.

424, 433 (Bankr. D.D.C. 2002) (holding that §

1326(a(2) mandates that a chapter 13 trustee

distribute post-confirmation funds to creditors even

upon case dismissal).

Other courts in a third line of cases find that §

1326(a)(2) does not directly answer the question, but

read §§ 1326(a)(2) and 1326(c) together to discern a

broader congressional purpose to give creditors a

vested right to plan payments that a Chapter 13

10

trustee received after confirmation. See, e.g., Jn re

Smith, 511 B.R. 612 (Bankr. W.D. Mo. 2014) (“When

[Section 1326(a)(2)] is considered together with the

Section 1326(c) requirement that the trustee shall

make payments to creditors ... one can reasonably

infer that Congress intended that post-confirmation

payments made pursuant to the plan are likewise to

be distributed to creditors provided for by the plan.”).

Section 1326(c) fully supports this conclusion.

Unless a plan or confirmation order makes someone

other than a Chapter 13 trustee the disbursing agent

for plan payments, this provision obligates the

trustee to make payments according to the

confirmed plan. Arkison v. Plata In re Plata), 958

F.2d 918, 923 (9th Cir. 1992) (Brunetti, J.,

dissenting) (interpreting identical provision in

Chapter 12). No provision in the Bankruptcy Code

other than § 1326 addresses the distribution of funds

submitted to the trustee under a confirmed plan.

This means that post-confirmation Congress

intended for the confirmed plan itself to control the

disbursement of funds. See 11 U.S.C. §§ 1326(a)(2),

(c).

The most logical interpretation of § 1326 is

one that is consistent with its language and the

structure of the Bankruptcy Code. See Jn re Darden,

474 B.R. 1, 8 (Bankr. D. Mass. 2012) (quoting United

Sav. Ass'n of Texas v. Timbers of Inwood Forest

Assocs., Ltd., 484 U.S. 365, 371 (1988)) (“Statutory

construction . . . is a holistic endeavor’ where

isolated provisions ought to be interpreted to

produce a ‘substantive effect that is compatible with

11

the rest of the law.”). The interpretation of § 1326

that once a bankruptcy court confirms a Chapter 13

plan, payments made to a Chapter 13 trustee

pursuant to the plan should be distributed according

to the plan, is both consistent with the language

Congress chose for § 1326 and the design of Chapter

13. Thus, the “plain meaning” of § 1326 should be

respected and, because “the statute is clear and

unambiguous, ‘that is the end of the matter.”

Sullivan v. Stroop, 496 U.S. 478, 482 (1990) (quoting

K mart, 486 U.S. at 291-92).

B. Even if Not Evident from its “Plain

Meaning,” § 1326 Suggests Congress Intended That

Creditors Have a Superior Interest in Undisbursed

Funds Paid to a Trustee Under a Confirmed Plan

Even if this Court finds that the plain

meaning of § 1326 does not answer the question, the

Court should find, as did the Court below, that

Petitioner's creditors had a right to receive the

undisbursed funds held by the trustee upon

conversion. The creditors hold the superior right to

the funds based upon the bargain represented by a

confirmed Chapter 13 plan. Harris, 757 F.3d at 480-

81.

This Court need not characterize the interest

of creditors in the funds at issue as a vested right.

The Bankruptcy Code does not expressly use the

term “vest” with respect to the rights of creditors to

receive funds voluntarily paid by a debtor under a

confirmed plan. While property of the estate is to

“vest” in the debtor upon confirmation, unless the

plan provides otherwise, see 11 U.S.C. § 1327(b), the

12

Bankruptcy Code does not characterize the

payments received by the trustee as property of the

estate, as discussed infra pp. 19-21, nor does it state

that any party is vested in the funds under a

trustee’s supervision and control.

The Court below found that creditors’ rights to

funds held by a Chapter 13 trustee derive from §

1327(a): “When confirmed, the plan governs the

relations of the parties and the debtor is bound to

make the specified payments provided in the

confirmed plan.” Harris, 757 F.3d at 478. “Or, in

other words, ‘the attached wages are the guid pro

guo that the debtor has given up during the

pendency of the reorganization in return for being

permitted to stave off foreclosure and cure the

mortgage default, retain the use of his automobile,

and enjoy the automatic stay.” Id. at 480 (quoting

Michael, 699 F.3d at 320 (Roth, J., dissenting)).

Thus, if the creditors were not permitted to receive

the funds paid to the trustee under the plan, they

will have lost their benefit of the bargain

represented by the confirmed plan while the debtor

has enjoyed the benefits perceived to flow from the

plan he proposed.

ll. Bankruptcy Code Provisions Excluding

Certain Property from the Post-Conversion Chapter

7 Estate Do Not Answer the Question Presented

Section 348() of the Bankruptcy Code

provides that property of the converted Chapter 7

estate includes only assets that the debtor held as of

the Chapter 13 petition date and over which the

13

debtor still retains possession or control. See 11

U.S.C. § 348()(1)(A). Petitioner argues that § 348(f)

grants a debtor rights to undisbursed funds held by

the Chapter 13 trustee upon conversion of the case

to Chapter 7. Nothing in § 348(f), however, suggests

that result.

Congress enacted § 348(f) to address an

altogether different issue. As discussed in the Brief

of Respondent, Congress added § 348(f) for the

ostensive purpose of overruling the holding in Jn re

Lybrook, a Seventh Circuit decision that adopted a

rule of “once in, always in” for determining what

property became part of the converted Chapter 7

bankruptcy estate. See Res. Br. at 33-34; see also In

re Lybrook, 951 F.2d 136, 137 (7th Cir. 1991).

Congress adopted an alternate approach by

creating a default rule for converted cases, treating

the Chapter 13 petition as though it was filed under

Chapter 7. Under § 348(f)(1), the converted Chapter

7 estate is limited to pre-petition property that the

debtor still possesses or controls at conversion.

Stated differently, Congress chose not to punish

debtors solely for a failed attempt at Chapter 13 by

creating an enlarged Chapter 7 estate. Yet, in

enacting § 348(f), nothing in the text of § 348(f or its

legislative history suggests that Congress intended

to modify the structure of Chapter 13 by which

debtors commit all their disposable income from

their post-petition earnings as the primary means to

fund a Chapter 13 plan. See 11 U.S.C. § 1325(b)(1)

(To confirm a plan over an objection, the debtor must

14

commit to pay creditors all “projected disposable

income” during the applicable commitment period.).

Petitioner argues that post-petition earnings

held by the Chapter 13 trustee at conversion should

be returned to the debtor. To hold otherwise,

Petitioner asserts, would create a disincentive to file

Chapter 13 contrary to Congressional intent in

enacting § 348(f. Pet. Br. at 11. The irony in

Petitioner’s position, of course, is that Chapter 13

contemplates that post-petition earnings will be the

primary source of payment to creditors in Chapter

13. See 11 U.S.C. § 1325(b)(1)(B). Thus, requiring a

trustee to turn over the funds in question should not

serve as a disincentive for debtors to seek Chapter

13 relief; disbursing the funds to creditors is

precisely what the parties intended at the time the

payments were made. Creditors will receive only the

funds the debtor earmarked for them in the plan and

paid to them through the trustee when those

payments were due.®

4 “Such a result not only would be patently unfair, but

also contradict the reasoning of [Jn re Bobroff, 766 F.2d. 797

(3d Cir. 1985)]. [The debtor] would be in a better position (and

his creditors in a worse position) than he would have been if he

had initially filed for bankruptcy under Chapter 7.” See Jn re

Michael, 699 F.3d 305, 320 (3d Cir. 2012) (Roth, J., dissenting).

5 Many districts, known as “conduit mortgage districts,”

require debtors to make mortgage payments through the

Chapter 13 trustee, rather than directly to the creditor outside

the plan. See, e.g., Local Bankr. R. 3015-1(b) (S.D. Tex.); see

also In re Heinzle, 511 B.R. 69, 73-74 (Bankr. W.D. Tex. 2014).

It would be inconsistent to permit secured creditors paid

directly to retain payments, but require a trustee to return

undisbursed funds paid to the trustee as a conduit.

15

Nor would paying creditors any funds held by

the trustee under the plan prior to conversion

effectively nullify the “bad faith” exception in §

348(f)(2). Under that exception, a bankruptcy court

can order other post-petition earnings or assets, not

simply those earnings the debtor had committed to

and paid under a Chapter 13 plan, to become

property of the Chapter 7 estate.

The “bad faith” exception was not enacted to

address the disposition of post-petition earnings

intended for plan payments. Prior to 1994, the

Bankruptcy Code already contemplated that post-

petition earnings, to the extent not needed for living

expenses, ordinarily would be paid to creditors in the

plan. See 11 U.S.C. §1325(b). In 1994, Congress

added the “bad faith” exception in § 348(f)(2) so that

bankruptcy judges would have the discretion “to

order that a// property held at the time of the

conversion shall constitute property of the estate in a

converted case.” H.R. Rep. No. 835, 103d Cong. 2d

Sess. 57 (1994), reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C_A.N. at

3366 (emphasis added). Thus, through § 348((2),

Congress empowered bankruptcy judges to address

potential abuses of the “absolute” right to convert a

case to Chapter 7 in the event a debtor were, for

example, to receive a substantial asset post-petition

and yet, in bad faith, elect not to modify the plan to

share that asset with creditors. See, e.g., Moser v.

Mullican (In re Mullican), 417 B.R. 389 (Bankr. E.D.

Tex. 2008), affd, 417 B.R. 408 (E.D. Tex. 2009)

(finding case was converted in bad faith where

debtors were current on their plan payments,

inheritance would have paid creditors in full, debtors

16

instead paid family member debts, spent portion of

inheritance, and made false representations about

use of proceeds).®

IV. Undisbursed Plan Payments Committed to

the Supervision and Control of the Trustee Under a

Confirmed Plan Do Not “Revest” in the Debtor at

Conversion

The Court below correctly concluded that the

funds in question do not “revest” in the debtor at

conversion. Harris, 757 F.3d at 478 n.8. Once the

debtor makes payment to the trustee from his

earnings under the confirmed plan, the debtor is not

entitled to possession nor is the debtor vested with

any interest in those payments. /d. at 477-78. The

Court below also declined to hold that creditors had

a vested interest in undisbursed funds in the hands

of the trustee, as other courts have found. See, e.z.,

In re Waugh, 82 B.R. 394, 400 (Bankr. W.D. Pa.

1988) (holding that creditors have a “non-divestible

® Most reported decisions addressing the bad faith

exception in § 348(f)(2) involve a debtor obtaining a significant

asset during the Chapter 13 case, often through inheritance,

similar to the facts in Lybrook. See, e.g., In re Castillo, 508

B.R. 1 (Bankr. W.D. Tex. 2014) (post-petition inheritance); Jn re

Doetsch, No. 04-63998, 2007 WL 2702645 (Bankr. N.D.N-Y.

Sept. 12, 2007) (same); Jn re Messer, No. 96-550617, 2000 WL

33673748, at *3 (Bankr. M.D.N.C. Nov. 22, 2000) (same); see

also In re Siegfried, 219 B.R. 581 (Bankr. D. Colo. 1998) (right

to overbid at foreclosure); Jn re Bejarano, 302 B.R. 659 (Bankr.

N.D. Ohio 2003) (post-petition tax refund and personal injury

claim); In re Wiczek-Spaulding, 223 B.R. 538 (Bankr. D. Minn.

1998) (separation payment); Jn re Reeves, 509 B.R. 35 (Bankr.

S.D. Tex. 2014) (retroactive benefit payment, monthly income

from new business venture and collection of large receivable).

17

right to plan payments”); Jn re Lennon, 65 B.R. 130,

136, 137 (Bankr. N.D. Ga. 1986) (same).

Nevertheless, the Court below correctly held that a

confirmed plan directs what a trustee must do with

funds paid by the debtor under the plan. Creditors

are entitled to the guid pro quo of the debtor's

enjoyment of the plan and thus, between creditors

and Petitioner, creditors have a superior claim to the

funds. Harris, 757 F.3d at 481.

A. The Debtor is Not Vested in Payments

Made to the Trustee from Post-Petition

Earnings under a Confirmed Plan

This Court, like the Fifth Circuit, should

reject the notion that the debtor was vested with an

interest in the funds at issue. As the Court below

explained, “[t]hese payments are _ specifically

earmarked and set aside for distribution to creditors

provided for by the confirmed plan. To the extent

that the confirmed plan provides for payment from

debtor's future earnings and the debtor actually

makes payment to the trustee pursuant to that plan,

the debtor is not entitled to possession nor is the

debtor vested with title to such payments.” Harris,

757 F.3d at 478 (quoting Lennon, 65 B.R. at 136).

It is axiomatic that, once turned over to the

Chapter 13 trustee under a confirmed plan, moneys

from earnings are under the “supervision and control

of the trustee,” as contemplated by § 1322(a)(1), and

the debtor no longer has possession or control of the

funds.

18

is,

Similarly, a debtor no longer has a vested

interest in the funds. Once a plan is confirmed, the

Chapter 13 trustee is required to pay to creditors

funds under the proposed plan received both pre-

confirmation and post-confirmation. See 11 U.S.C. §

1326(a)(2) (“[T]he trustee shall distribute any such

payment in accordance with the plan as soon as is

practicable.”); see also § 1326(c) (“Except as

otherwise provided in the plan or the order

confirming the plan, the trustee shall make

payments to creditors under the plan.”).

B. Plan Payments Made to the Trustee

Are Not Property of the Estate, and

Conversion Does Not “Revest” Plan Payments

in the Debtor

With no right to possession and no vested

interest immediately following submission of

earnings to the trustee, Petitioner asserts that

conversion “revested” the debtor with such rights by

operation of § 1327(b) and the order confirming

Petitioner's plan. Pet. Br. at 13. That result is

wholly unsupported by the language and purpose of

the vesting provision, § 1327(b).

First, § 1327(b) provides that confirmation is

the event that vests all property of the estate in the

debtor (absent a provision to the contrary in the plan

or the confirmation order).? The statute does not

” Nothing about the vesting provision in Petitioner's

plan alters the vesting analysis with respect to payments made

to the trustee under the plan. See, infra, pp. 22-24.

19

mention conversion and does not itself cause any

vesting to occur upon conversion.

Second, the vesting provision in § 1327(b)

applies only to property of the estate, which does not

include funds previously submitted to the trustee

under the plan.* Section 1306 determines what is

property of the estate in Chapter 13, and includes

“earnings from services performed by the debtor

after commencement of the case but before the case

is closed, dismissed, or converted... .” 11 U.S.C.

§1306(a)(2). A debtor’s post-petition earnings,

however, lose their character as “earnings” when

they are paid to the Chapter 13 trustee pursuant to

a confirmed plan. As the dissent in Michae/

observed, when in the hands of the trustee, “we are

not dealing simply with wages here but with that

portion of the wages that had been attached under

the plan and paid to the trustee for distribution to

the creditors.” Michael, 699 F.3d at 320. Once paid

* A number of courts have directly or indirectly reached

this conclusion by holding that creditors are vested with an

interest in funds submitted to the control and supervision of a

trustee pursuant to a confirmed plan. See Jn re Verdunn, 210

B.R. 621, 626 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 1997); Jn re Halpenny, 125

B.R. 814, 816 (Bankr. D. Haw. 1991); Ledford v. Burns Un re

Burns), 90 B.R. 301, 304-05 (Bankr. S.D. Ohio 1988); Jn re

Lennon, 65 B.R. 130, 137 (Bankr. N.D. Ga. 1986); see also In re

Parrish, 275 B.R. 424, 432 (Bankr. D.D.C. 2002) ([Tlhe estate

could alternatively be viewed as continuing to have legal title

to the funds, with the creditors vested with ownership of the

equitable interest in the funds as beneficiaries of a trust

created by the terms of the confirmed plan.”).

* The conclusion that payments made to a trustee under

a confirmed plan are not property of the estate is consistent

20

to the trustee, those funds can no longer be

characterized as “earnings” any more than one

would characterize as “earnings” wages previously

spent on milk and bread, or used to pay post-petition

mortgage payments or rent.

Third, if previously submitted funds were to

be viewed as property of the estate, §§ 1306 and

1327 would conflict with the clear direction provided

in § 1326 on how trustees are to disburse funds

submitted to their supervision and _ control.

Specifically, § 1306(b) provides a default rule that

“the debtor shall remain in possession of ail property

of the estate.” Section 1327(b) establishes a default

rule that “the confirmation of a plan vests all of the

property of the estate in the debtor.” Section 1327(c)

further provides that, absent a plan or confirmation

order providing otherwise, “property vesting in the

debtor under subsection (b) of this section is free and

clear of any claim or interest of any creditor provided

for by the plan.” Reading these statutes to treat

plan payments submitted to the trustee as property

of the estate would cause § 1306(b) to grant

possession to the debtor of pre-confirmation

payments under the plan. Similarly, § 1327(b)

would vest in the debtor pre-confirmation plan

with the duties Chapter 13 trustees are and are not given by

statute. As discussed, supra p. 4, nothing in § 1302 suggests

that the Chapter 13 trustee is to collect property of the estate

under a confirmed plan. The trustee collects funds via monthly

payments made by the debtor out of estate property that vested

in the debtor upon confirmation. See 11 U.S.C. § 1322(a)(1).

The funds paid, however, once under the trustee’s supervision

and control, are not property of the estate because they no

longer are post-petition earnings.

21

payments free of any interest of creditors despite

later confirmation of the plan. Those results would

directly conflict with § 1326(a)(2)’s express

instruction to the trustee to pay such funds “in

accordance with the plan as soon as is practicable.”

11 U.S.C. § 1326(a)(2). The proper and more

harmonious reading of those statutes is that

Congress intended to address estate assets, which

will remain in the debtor’s possession and control

during the pendency of the Chapter 13 case, not to

direct the distribution of payments submitted to the

trustee under a proposed or confirmed plan. Section

1326, titled “Payments,” already accomplishes that

task.

C. Neither Petitioners Plan Nor the

Confirmation Order Dictate a Different Result

Some Chapter 13 plans and confirmation

orders, including in Petitioner’s case, delay the

vesting of property of the estate in the debtor. The

“delayed vesting” provision is used in some

jurisdictions to provide a debtor with more

protection from post-petition creditors than

otherwise may be available under the automatic stay

if vesting occurred at confirmation..° See In re

Jemison, No. 07-40761, 2007 WL 2669222, at *3

(Bankr. N.D. Ala. Sept. 6, 2007).

‘© If property of the estate is vested in the debtor and

thus no longer property of the estate, it would not be subject to

the protections of the automatic stay under § 362(a)(3) or (a)(4),

which prohibits acts against property of the estate by holders of

both pre- and post-petition claims.

22

The “delayed vesting” provision in the order

confirming Petitioner’s plan provides, “Such property

as may revest in the Debtor shall so revest only upon

further Order of the Court or upon dismissal,

conversion, or discharge.”!! J.A. 48. The Court

below declined to “define with precision the property

that ‘may revest in the Debtor.” See Harris, 757

F.3d at 478 n.8. According to the Court, such a

ruling was unnecessary because, by requiring

Petitioner “to pay part of his wages to the trustee for

distribution to creditors, the order clearly did not

contemplate that such payments would revest in”

Petitioner.'2 Jd. Stated differently, nothing in the

order or in the vesting provision, § 1327(b), suggests

that Congress intended for earnings to make a

round-trip, that is, to be possessed and vested in the

1! Petitioner's plan is based on the form Chapter 13

plan published by the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Western

District of Texas, San Antonio Division. See Chapter 13 Plan

Form —- San _ Antonio Division, available’ at

Attp-/www. txrwb. uscourts.gow/sites/default/files/file/order_ch 13

_pln_san_antonio.pdf (ast visited, Mar. 3, 2015). The “as may

revest” language in the confirmation order is not part of the

form chapter 13 plan. A number of other jurisdictions have

adopted form Chapter 13 plans that do not contain the “as may

revest” language, and explicitly provide, “A// property shall

remain property of the estate and shall vest in the debtor only

upon dismissal, discharge, or conversion.” See, e.g., Harris v.

Washington Mutual Home Loans, Inc. (In re Harris), 297 B.R.

61, 72 (Bankr. N.D. Miss. 2003) (emphasis added).

2 Funds paid to the trustee under the plan post

confirmation are not funds “as may revest” in the debtor; they

are funds that, but for the language of Petitioner's plan, would

have vested in the debtor at confirmation, but were

subsequently paid out of the estate to the trustee under the

plan.

23

debtor at confirmation, but after being voluntarily

paid to the trustee under the plan, to vest in the

debtor again following conversion.

Regardless of when vesting occurs under a

plan or confirmation order, payments that are made

from the debtor’s earnings to the trustee will not

subsequently vest or revest in the debtor. Congress

intended that the confirmed plan, as a “court-

sanctioned contract that binds the chapter 13 debtor

and its creditors,” Jn re Stuart, 402 B.R. 111, 126

(Bankr. E.D. Pa. 2009), govern the rights of creditors

to funds submitted to the supervision and control of

the trustee, regardless of when property of the estate

vests in the debtor. Both the debtor and his

creditors are bound to the terms of a confirmed plan,

11 U.S.C. § 1327(a), and Petitioner’s plan called for

money paid to the trustee from Petitioner's earnings

to be distributed to creditors by the trustee. See JA.

27 (“From the monthly payments described above,

the Chapter 13 trustee shall pay the following

allowed claims in the manner and amounts

specified”).

D. Conversion Does Not Invalidate

Creditors’ Rights to Funds Previously

Submitted to the Trustee Under a Confirmed

Plan

The fact that the proponent of a confirmed

plan may later decide to convert the case to another

chapter does not change the parties’ rights

concerning payments made to the trustee while the

plan was effective. Petitioner’s resort to § 348 to

4

support his “revesting upon conversion” argument is

unavailing. Consistent with congressional purpose

that § 348 not serve as “a source of disruption, but,

instead, preserves the continuity of the bankruptcy

proceedings,” conversion does not invalidate any

action taken by the debtor or creditors in the

superseded case pursuant to a plan. /n re Verdunn,

210 B.R. 621, 625 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 1997).

Conversion does not vacate the Chapter 13

plan or have retroactive effect. See 11 U.S.C. § 1330

(omitting conversion as a triggering event for

vacating an order of plan confirmation); see a/so In

re Markham, 504 B.R. 1, 7 (Bankr. D. Mass. 2013)

(“Nowhere in § 348 nor in any other provision of the

Bankruptcy Code is there a suggestion that

conversion from chapter 13 to chapter 7 vacates a

confirmed plan”); accord Behles-Giddens, P_A. v. Raft

Un re KD. Co.), 254 B.R. 480, 487 (B.A.P. 10th Cir.

2000) (chapter 11). Otherwise, Chapter 13 would

prove unworkable as secured creditors, for example,

would face the prospect of returning collateral

surrendered under a confirmed plan upon

conversion. See Jn re Smith, 511 B.R. 612, 616-17

(Bankr. W.D. Mo. 2014). Thus, while conversion

relieves a debtor of the obligation to contribute

additional funds to the plan, conversion does not

invalidate a confirmed plan’s direction that funds

submitted to the trustee be paid to creditors.

This result is evident from the Chapter 13

trustee’s role as disbursing agent. Once the debtor

submits payments to the trustee’s supervision and

control, “[t]he trustee is the conduit for the funds to

25

get to the creditors.” Jd. at 317. Unlike the duties of

a Chapter 7 trustee, “[t]he functions of the chapter

13 trustee are basically administrative, e.g, review

plans, advise the court on plans, and act as

disbursing agent.” The Travelers Indemnity Co. of

Illinois, Inc. v. Griner (In re Griner), 240 B.R. 432,

438 (Bankr. S.D. Ala. 1999) (emphasis added).'

Thus, rights to the funds submitted to the trustee,

acting as disbursement agent under a confirmed

plan, already have been determined at conversion,

and nothing in § 348 suggests that Congress

intended to alter those rights ex post facto.

Practicalities also support this result. If

Chapter 13 trustees were required to return

undisbursed plan payments upon _ conversion,

trustees would face unwarranted pressure to

accelerate the distribution of payments. This could

jeopardize equitable distribution of payments to all

') The Bankruptcy Code presumes that the Chapter 13

trustee will act as “disbursing agent” under the plan, but the

debtor may act as disbursing agent under certain

circumstances. See 11 U.S.C. § 1326(c); Mendoza v. Temple-

Inland Mortgage Corp. (In re Mendoza), 111 F.3d 1264, 1269

(5th Cir. 1997). There is no workable distinction between

payment to creditors directly, in cases where the debtor acts as

his own disbursing agent, and submission of earnings to the

supervision and control of the Chapter 13 trustee for the same

purpose. Each instance involves a voluntary payment of the

debtor “in order to fulfill his obligations under the

reorganization plan and in exchange for the benefits he derives

from the plan.” Michael, 699 F.3d at 320. Petitioner does not

argue that payments made directly to creditors are recoverable

upon conversion, for good reason, and the same rule should

apply to earnings submitted to the supervision and control of

the trustee.

26

creditors of the same priority, as well as drive up the

costs of administration. '*

V. Section 348(e) Does Not Terminate a Chapter

13 Trustee’s Obligation to Distribute Undisbursed

Funds

Finally, a Chapter 13 trustee undoubtedly has

duties to perform following conversion. See Fed. R.

Bankr. P. 1019(5). Among other duties, monies held

under the trustee’s supervision and control, whether

submitted under a proposed or a confirmed plan,

must be paid by the trustee to someone.

Read literally, § 348(e) would prohibit Chapter

13 trustees from performing any tasks immediately

upon conversion. The Court below reasonably

observed that § 348(e) “cannot be taken too literally.”

If read literally, upon conversion a Chapter 13

trustee would be equally powerless to disburse funds

to a debtor or creditors. This interpretation is

unacceptable because it would lead to an absurd, or

at least unreasonable, result. See United States v.

Am. Trucking Assns., 310 U.S. 534, 543 (1940).

The more reasonable interpretation of § 348(e)

is that “there cannot be two trustees administering

'* In order to ensure equitable distribution to creditors,

Chapter 13 trustees sometimes accumulate payments, rather

than distribute the funds immediately. Michael, 699 F.3d at

316. This case is one example. Knowing that the mortgagee in

this case might obtain relief from stay to liquidate its collateral

in satisfaction of its claim, the Chapter 13 trustee held

payments rather than face the prospect of seeking to recover

the funds after payment. See Pet. App. 4a.; Resp. Br. at 10.

27

the same estate under the provisions of the new

chapter.” Parrish, 275 B.R. at 430. While there is

evidence of a desire to avoid jurisdictional overlap,

there also is evidence that Congress did not intend

Chapter 13 trustees to have no further role in the

case after conversion. See, eg, 11 USC.

§1326(a)(2) (requiring a Chapter 13 trustee to return

funds to the debtor if the case is converted pre-

confirmation, but subject to deducting adequate

funds to pay allowed administrative expense claims);

see also Fed. R. Bankr. P. 1019(5)(B)(ii)

(requirement to file a final report and account with

the United States Trustee). Indeed, the post-

conversion tasks performed by the Chapter 13

trustee are necessary for the bankruptcy scheme to

work seamlessly. The Court below correctly

concluded that one of the remaining roles upon

conversion is for the Chapter 13 trustee to distribute

remaining funds to the parties with the best claim to

them—creditors in this case.

Urging that the Fifth Circuit's approach in

interpreting § 348(e) yields inconsistency as applied

to different chapters, Petitioner argues that it would

be absurd for a Chapter 7 trustee to distribute funds

to creditors after conversion from Chapter 7. Pet.

Br. at 12. Yet, the unique roles of Chapter 7 and

Chapter 13 trustees explains any perceived

inconsistency. The Chapter 13 trustee’s role of the

“disbursing agent” for monthly plan payments is

entirely unique to Chapter 13.15 There is nothing

16 Chapter 7 trustees also have persisting, albeit

different, roles in cases converted from Chapter 7. See In re

Crykoski, 320 B.R. 385, 390 (Bankr. N.D. Ind. 2005) (holding

28

inconsistent in reading § 348(e) to permit a Chapter

13 trustee to complete a task unique to that chapter.

See In re Redick, 81 B.R. 881, 886 (Bankr. E.D.

Mich. 1987) (at conversion, “the Chapter 13 trustee

is, at the very least, a custodian of funds”).

Petitioner further attempts to draw support

from a perceived inconsistency that would arise

when a Chapter 13 debtor dismisses a case, rather

than converts to Chapter 7. Upon dismissal,

Petitioner argues, § 349 requires the Chapter 13

trustee to disburse any post-petition wages on hand

to the debtor. See 11 U.S.C. §349(b)(3). Petitioner

theorizes that it would be illogical to return funds to

a debtor in the event of dismissal but not upon

conversion.

Petitioner's position that § 349 leads to a

different result is not grounded in any specific

statutory command. Similar to § 348, discussed supra

pp. 24-26, § 349 is silent on whether funds in the

hands of the Chapter 13 trustee should be paid to

creditors upon dismissal. Several courts have

concluded that § 349 does not instruct Chapter 13

trustees to return undisbursed funds to debtors for

many of the same reasons that such an outcome is

inappropriate upon conversion. See, eg, In re

Criscuolo, No. 09-14063, 2014 WL 1910078 at *8

(Bankr. E.D. Va. May 13, 2014) (holding that §

1326(a)(2) grants creditors the right to payment of the

funds notwithstanding § 349(b)(3)); In re Parker, 400

that Chapter 7 trustee retains standing to file motion to

dismiss and assert claims in case converted from Chapter 7).

29

B.R. 55 (Bankr. E.D. Pa. 2009) (same); Jn re Parrish,

275 B.R. 424 (Bankr. D.D.C. 2002) (same).

Even if undisbursed funds should be returned

to the debtor upon dismissal, which Amici dispute,

there are ample reasons to justify a different result

upon conversion. First, § 349(b)(3) “re-vests the

property of the estate in the entity in which such

property was vested immediately before the

commencement of the case under this title.” This

provision has the impact of returning, to the extent

possible, the debtor and creditors to the status quo

ante. See Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. v. Oparaji (In re

Oparaji), 698 F.3d 231, 238 (5th Cir. 2012). Upon

dismissal, creditors’ rights are restored. See id. The

automatic stay is lifted to allow creditors to

undertake collection action against the debtor and

their collateral. Section 348, governing conversion,

has no such language. Rather, Congress intended

conversion to be a continuation of the bankruptcy

case. Verdunn, 210 B.R. at 625. Upon conversion,

although the Chapter 13 plan no longer will govern

the conduct of the parties, the automatic stay

continues and creditors are not restored to their pre

petition positions to the same extent as upon

dismissal.

30

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Amici Curlae

respectfully requests that this Court affirm the

decision below.

Respectfully submitted,

TYLER P. BROWN

Counsel of Record

JUSTIN F. PAGET

HUNTON & WILLIAMS LLP

Riverfront Plaza, East Tower

951 East Byrd Street

Richmond, Virginia 23219-4074

(804) 788-8200

tpbrown@hunton.com

jpaget@hunton.com

Counsel for Amici Curiae

March 4, 2015

31

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.