Amicus Curiae Brief — Gobeille v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 135 S. Ct. 885 (2014) (No. 14-181)

Supreme Court brief2014

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 14-181

In the Supreme Court of the United States

ALFRED GOBEILLE, in his official capacity as chair of

the Vermont Green Mountain Care Board,

Petitioner,

Vv.

LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY,

Respondent.

On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States

Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN BENEFITS

COUNCIL, AMERICA’S HEALTH INSURANCE

PLANS, THE ERISA INDUSTRY COMMITTEE,

THE HR POLICY ASSOCIATION, THE

NATIONAL BUSINESS GROUP ON HEALTH,

AND THE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA AS AMICI

CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

BRIAN D. NETTER NANCY G. Ross

MATTHEW A. WARING Counsel of Record

Mayer Brown LLP Mayer Brown LLP

1999 K Street NW 71 S. Wacker Drive

Washington, DC 20006 _— Chicago, IL 60606

(202) 263-3000 (312) 782-0600

nross@mayerbrown.com

Counsel for Amici Curiae

(additional counsel listed in signature block)

ee

1

TABLE OF CONTENTS

A. SELF-FUNDED EMPLOYER PLANS

ARE MUTUALLY BENEFICIAL FOR

EMPLOYERS AND EMPLOYEEG................... 6

1. Self-Funded Employer Plans Provide

Benefits To Millions Of Americans............. 6

2. Self-Funded Employer Plans Provide

Many Advantages Over Fully

I cs cmeetieild 8

B. APCD STATUTES LIKE VERMONT’S

IMPOSE A SUBSTANTIAL AND

UNWARRANTED BURDEN ON SELF-

FUNDED EMPLOYER PLANG...................... 11

1. An Increasing Number Of States Are

Adopting Mandatory APCD Laws,

Many Of Which Have Conflicting

EE ee eS AE eee 11

2. Reporting Health Care Claims Data

To All The States That Require It Is

Burdensome For Self-Funded

il ccenitiiscaralintipkanenninnionnn 14

3. Congress Enacted ERISA To Prevent

Self-Funded Plans From Being

Subject To Patchwork State

hing Ee i a a 17

‘:

TABLE OF CONTENTS—continued

Page

4. The Decision To Use A Third-Party

Administrator Does Not Protect

Vermont’s APCD Law From

ERSTE ran ones aint- ORCS pee OR DRE 20

5. APCDs Can Obtain Information

From Other Sources—Such As

Providers—Without Needing To

Burden Self-Funded Plans........................ 23

C. THE EXCLUSIVE PURPOSE OF

ERISA BENEFIT PLANS IS TO

PROVIDE BENEFITS, NOT TO BE

LABORATORIES FOR STATE

es EE 24

1. Congress Enacted ERISA In Order

to Protect The Interests Of Plan

I ll 25

2. ERISA Mandates That Plans Be

Operated For The Exclusive Purpose

Of Providing Benefits To

Oars 26

3. State APCD Statutes Interfere With

Congress’s Purpose By

Commandeering ERISA Plans For A

Different Purpose: Data Collection........... 27

NN seicitnctenenncasininetncenesiieshunitiiesninennenitnn 29

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Boggs v. Boggs,

Ne cs ciscinsingninbssihinnniciunieiiin

Donovan v. Bierwirth,

680 F.2d 263 (2d Cir. 1982) ................eee

Egelhoff v. Egelhoff ex rel. Breiner,

ee Se: Se Ee atiinictsinicniccnensensncccnnsies

Firestone Tire Co. v. Bruch,

I Gi CE iscsi ciissitacsicsissnnsenecennscions

FMC Corp. v. Holliday,

re isvbiisssisssncnensnantscsecssonse

Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne,

Se Ee Oe Ci iceitcennectehisicitnsctinsnnnsccntineen

Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon,

Se Ne I I ierctinacinertinisentcnsscncseenes

Jackson v. Truck Drivers’ Union Local

42 Health & Welfare Fund,

933 F. Supp. 1124 (D. Mass. 1996)..........

Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v. Kimbell,

No. 2:11-cv-204 (D. Vt. Aug. 17,

N.Y. State Conference of Blue Cross &

Blue Shield Plans v. Travelers Ins.

Co.,

ee Be Se Ge Patcccesccesrecesnosnscnccennnesens

Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.,

re ER i ncntsnnsericisnaniimseceensesssnons

Page(s)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Page(s)

Varity Corp. v. Howe,

I 20, 27

STATUTES, RULES AND REGULATIONS

| EERE REE EEE ter Ree 2, 25, 26

Is i tl 26

Oe cel 16, 22, 26

I Tr iii alicia iniaiial 5, 17

A, i a cuseinisenelbiatl 10

78 Fed. Reg. 72,322 (Dec. 2, 2O1F)............cccccscecseseees 21

IRS, Notice 2015-52, Section 4980I—

Excise Tax on High Cost Employer-

Sponsored Health Coverage,

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-

SPT hc siiiaiineailiakiiduedanatidiisbibalinibiiiseecbsdbensiicimaniein 22

Arkansas Ins. Dep’t Rule 100, § 7(B)........................ 16

RE BI, GD I, Be cccisessiccscniccennccnccssecscnescosiies 21

R.I. Dep’t of Health, Rules and

Regulations Pertaining to the Rhode

Island All-Payer Claims Database

§ 1.18, http://sos.ri.gov/documents/

archives/regdocs/released/

TT ictiericrincsiscsiciisiienabeininnineaninnninntdnti 12

Vt. Dep’t of Banking, Ins., Secs. &

Health Care Admin., Regulation H-

kN 9 21

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Vt. Dep’t of Banking, Ins., Secs. &

Health Care Admin., Regulation H-

ee

18 Vt. Stat. Ann. § 9401 ..0......ccccccccsesecseseeees

MISCELLANEOUS

Al Prysunka, Milliman Healthcare

Analytics Blog, APCDs: Moving

Toward Standardization of Data

Collection (Nov. 30, 2012),

http://info.medinsight.milliman.com//

/moving-toward-standardization-of-

EE Re RS i en ee

The Alliance, When You’re Considering

Self-Funding (Aug. 2014),

http://www.the-alliance.org/

uploaded Files/Downloads/

When YoureConsideringSelfFunding.

APCD Council, Standardization of Data

Collection in All-Payer Claims

Databases (Jan. 2011), https://

www.apcdcouncil.org/file/83/

download?token=R4vbK7Xf....................

Center for Democracy & Technology,

Decentralizing the Analysis of Health

Data (Mar. 22, 2012),

https://cdt.org/files//Decentralizing-

Analysis-Health-Data.pdf.......................

Page(s)

sninhacceineaie 15

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Page(s)

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid

Services, Medicare Provider

Utilization and Payment Data:

Physician and Other Supplier (June

1, 2015),

https://www.cms.gov/Research-

Statistics-Data-and-

Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-

Reports/Medicare-Provider-Charge-

Data/Physician-and-Other-

ar as crmmamannnmnecitiiidies 24

Cigna White Paper, Advantages and

Myths of Self-Funding (Feb. 2014),

http://www.cigna.com/assets/docs/

business/small-

employers/841956_b_self funding

EE ES TRE AO 7,10

Colorado Center for Improving Value in

Health Care, Colorado All-Payer

Claims Database Data Submission

Guide,

http://www.civhc.org/getmedia/

29f43b37-b39d-4373-85f5-

1c1232f2d9c7/Data-Submission-

Guide-V7-June-2015.pdf.aspw/; .................002.0000:. 13

Employee Benefit Research Institute,

Health Plan Differences: Fully-

Insured vs. Self-Insured (Feb. 11,

2009), http://www.ebri.org/pdf/

FFE114.11Feb09. Final. pdf...........c..ccscessecsecsesseeeee 7

vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

H.R. Rep. No. 93-533 (1973), reprinted

in 1974 U.S.C.C.A.N. 46939 .....................

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation,

2015 Employer Health Benefits

Survey: Section Ten: Plan Funding

(Sept. 22, 2015), http://kff.org/report-

section/ehbs-2015-section-ten-plan-

NE

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation,

2015 Employer Health Benefits

Survey: Summary of Findings (Sept.

22, 2015), http://kff.org/report-

section/ehbs-2015-summary-of-

Minnesota Community Measurement,

Health Care Data Collection:

Exploring the Root Causes of

Provider Burden in Minnesota

(2015), http://mncm.org/wp-

content/uploads/2015/03/MNCM_Wh

0 ER rene oe

P. Rich & D. Landers-Nelson, National

Business Group on Health, Benefit

Manager Guide: Therapies for

Children with Autism Spectrum

Dieser Ger Cet. BOVG)...cccccccccccscccccsscccecsece

Page(s)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Page(s)

Patrick B. Miller, State Coverage

Initiatives, Robert Wood Johnson

Foundation, All-Payer Claims

Databases: An Overview for

Policymakers (May 2010),

https://www.apcdcouncil.org/publicat

ion/all-payer-claims-databases-

overview-policymakers .................0ccccscccseececeeeeeees 16

S. Rep. No. 93-127 (1973), reprinted in

Eg Eee 25

Utah Department of Health, Utah All-

Payer Claims Database Data

Submission Guide,

http://health. utah.gov/hda/apd/

UT%20APCD%20DSG%20v?2. 1 .pdf..................... 13

Washington Office of Financial Management,

WA-APCD Rules Background Paper #4:

Deadlines for Submission of Claim Files

(Sept. 2015), http:/Awww.ofm.wa.gov/

healthcare/pricetransparency/

oc ssnnentons 14

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN BENEFITS

COUNCIL, AMERICA’S HEALTH INSURANCE

PLANS, THE ERISA INDUSTRY COMMITTEE,

THE HR POLICY ASSOCIATION, THE

NATIONAL BUSINESS GROUP ON HEALTH,

AND THE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA AS AMICI

CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE!

The American Benefits Council (the Council) is a

national nonprofit organization dedicated to protect-

ing and fostering privately sponsored employee bene-

fit plans. The Council’s approximately 400 members

are primarily large multistate U.S. employers that

provide employee benefits to active and retired

workers and their families. The Council's member-

ship also includes organizations that provide em-

ployee benefit services to employers of all sizes. Col-

lectively, the Council’s members either directly spon-

sor or provide services to retirement and health

plans covering virtually all Americans who partici-

pate in employer-sponsored benefit programs.

America’s Health Insurance Plans (AHIP) is the

national association representing nearly 1,300 mem-

ber companies that collectively provide health insur-

ance coverage to more than 200 million Americans.

The vast majority of individuals insured by AHIP

! Pursuant to Rule 37.6, amici affirm that no counsel for a

party authored this brief in whole or in part and that no person

other than amici, their members, and their counsel made a

monetary contribution intended to fund its preparation or sub-

mission. Counsel of record for the petitioner and the respondent

have both filed blanket consents to the filing of amicus curiae

briefs with the Clerk of this Court.

2

members are participants in, or beneficiaries of, em-

ployee benefit plans under the Employee Retirement

Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), 29 U.S.C.

§§ 1001 et seq. The association’s goal is to provide a

unified voice for the health care financing industry,

to expand access to high quality, cost-effective health

care to all Americans, and to ensure Americans’ fi-

nancial security through robust insurance markets,

product flexibility and innovation, and an abundance

of consumer choice.

The ERISA Industry Committee (ERIC) is a

nonprofit organization representing America’s larg-

est employers that maintain ERISA-covered pension,

healthcare, disability, and other employee benefit

plans. These employers provide benefits to millions

of active workers, retired persons, and their families

nationwide. For this reason, ERIC frequently partic-

ipates as amicus curiae in cases that have the poten-

tial for far-reaching effects on employee benefit plan

design or administration.

The HR Policy Association represents the most

senior human resource executives in more than 370

of the largest corporations doing business in the

United States. Collectively, these companies employ

more than ten million employees in the United

States, nearly nine percent of the private sector

workforce. As America’s largest employers, HR Polli-

cy Association member companies provide health

benefits to employees, retirees, and their dependents

that are regulated under ERISA.

The National Business Group on Health (NBGH)

is a non-profit organization devoted to representing

large employers’ perspectives on national health pol-

icy issues. With 429 members, NBGH is the national

voice of large employers dedicated to finding innova-

3

tive and forward-thinking solutions to the nation’s

most important health care issues. NBGH facilitates

communications between large employers and na-

tional policymakers on key health care issues and

participates actively in national health policy de-

bates.

The Chamber of Commerce of the United States

of America (the Chamber) is the world’s largest busi-

ness federation, representing an underlying mem-

bership of over three million businesses and organi-

zations of every size, in every industry sector, and

from every geographic region of the country. An im-

portant function of the Chamber is to represent the

interests of its members by filing amicus briefs in

cases involving issues of vital concern to the nation’s

business community. Many Chamber members pro-

vide health benefits to employees and arrange for the

provision of health care services through employee

welfare benefit plans regulated under ERISA.

INTRODUCTION AND

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

When Congress enacted ERISA, it wanted to en-

courage employers to offer benefit programs for their

employees. In the case of healthcare benefits, com-

panies could choose either to purchase individual in-

surance policies, which would be subject to regula-

tion by the States, or to self-fund a nationwide plan,

which would be subject to a uniform, federal program

of regulation.

This case is about whether a company that has

elected to create a self-funded plan for the exclusive

purpose of providing healthcare benefits to its em-

ployees and their families—a plan that, under

ERISA, is subject to uniform federal regulation—

4

may nevertheless be forced by the States to function

as a clearinghouse for state data-collection efforts.

The Court’s answer to this question has important

implications not only for self-funded employer health

plans, but for all other employer benefit plans. The

more States are empowered to impose burdensome

regulatory requirements on employers, the more they

will do so. This slippery slope presents a serious

threat to the viability of welfare benefit plans, and

thus to the purposes of ERISA.

State programs such as Vermont's all-payer

claims database (APCD) undercut ERISA’s objectives

by subjecting self-funded plans to a morass of state

reporting requirements that Congress neither in-

tended nor allowed in enacting ERISA.

A.

Self-funded employer plans provide medical ben-

efits to some 93 million Americans. Employers large

and small rely on such plans because of the benefits

of self-funding, which include flexibility in fashioning

benefits to suit an employer’s workforce; the ability

to pay claims after they are incurred, instead of pre-

paying insurance premiums; and reductions in regu-

latory burdens and administrative costs.

The advantages of self-funding inure not only to

benefit employers, but to participants in those em-

ployers’ health insurance plans. To put it simply, an

employer that can reduce the costs of administering

benefit plans can provide more generous benefits to

its employees. Congress sought through ERISA to

encourage employers to establish self-funded plans,

so that more plans and plan participants would reap

the benefits of self-funding.

5

B.

Laws that require self-funded employer plans to

report data on medical claims to state APCDs impose

considerable compliance burdens on plans. Plan costs

necessarily increase, and Congress’s plan for uniform

regulation is compromised notwithstanding its es-

sential role in the passage of the Act. No two state

APCDs are the same; each requires that a plan (or

its agent) report somewhat different data, concerning

differently defined patient populations, at different

times, and in different file formats. A plan operating

in multiple states would need to devote substantial

time and resources to navigating this complex web of

regulations—resources that Congress. intended

should be spent on paying benefits to plan partici-

pants. APCD laws thus have an impermissible effect

on self-funded employer plans and are expressly

preempted by ERISA. See 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). Peti-

tioner touts the fact that, under the peculiar circum-

stances of this case, it is technically the employer's

third-party administrator that must comply with

Vermont's APCD law. That is immaterial, however,

for it cannot be the case that Congress intended to

protect sponsors from piecemeal regulation but to

expose their plans to a different regime of burden-

some requirements if they choose to use a third-party

administrator.

C.

APCD laws also frustrate one of ERISA’s core

mandates: that plans must be operated solely for the

purpose of paying benefits to plan participants.

APCD laws contemplate that plans will serve an en-

tirely different purpose—namely, collecting partici-

pants’ medical data to support state programs and

initiatives. Commandeering ERISA plans for that

6

use, or the other infinite possibilities of state use

that await on the horizon, necessarily undermines

the objectives of ERISA and the goals that Congress

sought to achieve through the statute. Vermont’s

APCD law expands the purpose and function of bene-

fit plans contrary to ERISA’s dictates, and is there-

fore preempted.

ARGUMENT

Using self-funded welfare benefit plans as data

clearinghouses is incompatible with ERISA.

State APCDs impose real burdens on self-funded

plans. Those plans that operate across state lines

are subject to onerous requirements that require

plan sponsors or their agents to develop state-by-

state data-collection systems and reporting mecha-

nisms. APCD laws disrupt the uniform regulatory

scheme that Congress sought to create for employer

benefit plans and frustrate Congress’s desire that

ERISA plans’ resources be used efficiently to pay

benefits and plan expenses. ERISA preempts state

laws that so directly interfere with Congress’s de-

sign. Thus, this Court should affirm the judgment

below.

A. SELF-FUNDED EMPLOYER PLANS

ARE MUTUALLY BENEFICIAL FOR

EMPLOYERS AND EMPLOYEES

1. Self-Funded Employer Plans Provide

Benefits To Millions Of Americans

An employer can structure the health benefits it

provides to its employees in two different ways. The

first is for the employer to purchase an insurance

policy from an insurance company, paying a premi-

um to the insurance company for every employee

7

who is covered. This type of plan is referred to as a

“fully insured” plan, since the insurance company as-

sumes the full risk of covering employees’ medical

claims. See Employee Benefit Research Institute,

Health Plan Differences: Fully-Insured vs. Self-

Insured (Feb. 11, 2009), http://www.ebri.org/pdf/

FFE114.11Feb09.Final.pdf.

Alternatively, an employer can choose to estab-

lish a “self-funded” or “self-insured” plan. An em-

ployer with a self-funded plan pays for employees’

medical claims out of its own assets and thus bears

the entire risk associated with employees’ medical

claims, although it may purchase a “stop-loss” insur-

ance policy to cover its losses when its aggregate

costs grow unexpectedly high. Some employers with

self-funded plans—though not all—choose to contract

with third-party administrators (TPAs) rather than

control the day-to-day operations of their health

plans themselves. A typical TPA “administers the

health plan by processing the claims, issuing ID

cards, handling customer questions and performing

other tasks.” Cigna White Paper, Advantages and

Myths of Self-Funding 2 (Feb. 2014),

http://www.cigna.com/assets/docs/business/small-

employers/841956_b_self_ funding whitepaper_

v8.pdf.

Although the fully insured model was the tradi-

tional means by which employers provided health in-

surance benefits to employees, self-funded employer

plans are now overwhelmingly prevalent among

large and mid-size employers and have become more

popular with smaller employers in recent years. In-

deed, self-funded employer plans now cover more

employees than fully insured plans. A recent survey

found that 147 million Americans—“over half of the

8

non-elderly population”—receive employer-sponsored

health benefits. See Henry J. Kaiser Family Foun-

dation, 2015 Employer Health Benefits Survey:

Summary of Findings 1 (Sept. 22, 2015),

http://kff.org/report-section/ehbs-2015-summary-of-

findings/. Of those individuals, 63%—approximately

93 million—participate in self-funded employer

plans, including 94% of workers in firms with at

least 5,000 employees. Henry J. Kaiser Family

Foundation, 2015 Employer Health Benefits Survey:

Section Ten: Plan Funding (Sept. 22, 2015),

http://kff.org/report-section/ehbs-2015-section-ten-

plan-funding/. In 2000, by contrast, only 49% of

workers participated in self-funded employer plans.

Ibid.

2. Self-Funded Employer Plans Provide

Many Advantages Over Fully Insured

Plans

Employers have increasingly turned to self-

funded employer plans because, in comparison to ful-

ly insured health plans, self-funded employer plans

are often more flexible and less expensive. Self-

funded employer plans thus improve both employers’

bottom lines and the level of benefits that they can

provide to their employees.

Self-funded employer plans offer employers and

employees four principal advantages over fully in-

sured health plans:

First, self-funded employer plans give employ-

ers—particularly small employers—much more choice

as to which benefits their plans will provide. Em-

ployers who opt for a fully insured plan are limited to

the insurance policies approved for sale in the state

where the employer is located. By contrast, when

9

employers self-insure, they can customize their plans

by tailoring their benefit packages (above and beyond

any applicable statutory requirements) to match the

needs of their workforce. Cigna White Paper, supra,

at 3. The ability to customize benefits is especially

valuable to smaller businesses, which often have

specialized workforces whose needs differ from those

of most larger companies. Ibid.

Second, employers who self-fund save money be-

cause they do not need to prepay insurance companies

for health costs that may never be incurred. When an

employer opts to provide fully insured medical bene-

fits, it pays to an insurer the expected cost of benefits

plus a risk premium and also typically owes insur-

ance premium taxes to each State where it does

business. By contrast, so long as it can absorb or

spread the risks, an employer with a self-funded plan

can avoid the risk premium and the premium taxes,

and does not need to pay in advance. It can keep the

cash used to pay medical expenses in its own re-

serves, where the money can earn interest for the

plan. See The Alliance, When You're Considering

Self-Funding 3 (Aug. 2014), http://www.the-

alliance.org/uploadedFiles/Downloads/

WhenYoureConsideringSelfFunding.pdf.

Third, self-funded plans are typically less expen-

sive to operate than fully insured plans. Self-funded

plans generally have lower administrative costs than

fully insured plans. See The Alliance, supra, at 4

(‘Employers frequently find that administrative

costs for a self-funded program through a TPA are

lower than those charged by an insurance carrier.”).

The lower overhead of self-insurance allows more of

an employer’s resources to be spent on paying bene-

fits to employees and less on plan expenses.

10

Fourth, employers offering self-funded plans are

not subject to conflicting regulations in each of the

states in which they operate. Fully insured plans are

subject to state and local insurance laws and thus

must comply with differing mandates in each state

(and perhaps every different locality) in which they

operate. Self-funded plans, by contrast, are covered

by ERISA and subject only to ERISA’s regulatory

standards. See 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(B) (exempting

employee benefit plans from state insurance and

banking regulations). Thus, self-funded plans are

able to streamline their operations by offering one

uniform set of benefits everywhere they operate. This

lowers plans’ administrative costs and ensures that

employees who move from place to place but stay

with the same employer can enjoy the same benefits

no matter where they reside. See The Alliance, su-

pra, at 3-4; Cigna White Paper, supra, at 3.2

Self-funded plans are a win-win proposition for

employers and their employees. Self-funding lowers

employers’ costs by allowing them to retain control

over the terms and features of their own benefit

plans and enabling them to manage how risks are

liquidated. And by lowering employers’ costs, self-

2 The flexibility of self-funded employer plans also enables

them to experiment more easily with innovative, evidence-

based benefit designs and then implement those designs on a

national scale. For example, recent research has shed consider-

able light on which treatments for children with autism work

better than others. Self-funded employer plans can easily adapt

their nationwide benefit packages to reflect these new findings.

See P. Rich & D. Landers-Nelson, National Business Group on

Health, Benefit Manager Guide: Therapies for Children with

Autism Spectrum Disorder (Oct. 2014) (excerpted summary for

public).

11

funding helps plan beneficiaries, who enjoy greater

benefits than they otherwise would. One of the prin-

cipal goals of ERISA is to ensure that sponsors and

beneficiaries can experience the benefits of uniform

federal regulation.

B. APCD STATUTES LIKE VERMONT'S

IMPOSE A SUBSTANTIAL AND UN-

WARRANTED BURDEN ON SELF-

FUNDED EMPLOYER PLANS

Vermont and many other states require self-

funded employer plans to report data on participants’

medical claims to state-run “all-payer claims data-

bases,” or APCDs. Each of these States requires that

different data be reported in a different format and

on a different schedule, meaning that an employer

that offers a health benefit plan in more than one

State is potentially subject to a complex web of regu-

lations. Complying with these varied data-reporting

requirements is a costly and burdensome undertak-

ing for self-funded employer plans. If forced to com-

ply with the dizzying array of APCD requirements,

self-funded employer plans would be required either

to dedicate personnel to the task of mastering and

satisfying the various requirements or to pay outside

parties to do the same. Either approach obviously

diverts resources away from the payment of benefits

to plan participants. Congress enacted ERISA pre-

cisely to protect plans from this sort of overwhelming

regulatory burden.

1. An Increasing Number Of States Are

Adopting Mandatory APCD Laws, Many

Of Which Have Conflicting Requirements

Though APCDs are a relatively new phenome-

non, they are proliferating rapidly across the coun-

12

try. Since 2003, when Maine established the first

APCD in the United States, twenty other states have

created their own APCDs. Eighteen of these twenty-

one state databases are “mandatory” APCDs that re-

quire all payers of medical claims—including self-

funded health benefit plans—to report data on their

customers or plan participants. See N.Y. Br. 4-5.

Thus, a large number of states already purport to

subject self-funded plans that operate nationally to

claims reporting requirements. And that number is

likely to increase in the near future: nineteen addi-

tional states are either considering legislation that

would create a mandatory APCD or are otherwise

exploring the idea. NY. Br. 5.

Although state APCDs share certain features in

common, each State’s database is distinctive. States

calibrate the features of their APCDs to match their

idiosyncratic policy goals, creating significant differ-

ences between each database’s requirements. To cite

only a few examples of these differences:

a. Different APCDs require different claims to be

reported. The coverage of each state APCD’s report-

ing requirement varies because states do not take

the same approach in determining which claims are

subject to reporting. Vermont, for example, requires

reporting of all medical care that is provided to Ver-

mont residents and all care provided within the

State of Vermont (even to nonresidents). Vt. Dep’t of

Banking, Ins., Secs. & Health Care Admin., Regula-

tion H-2008-01, § 4(D). Rhode Island, by contrast,

requires reporting only of care provided to Rhode Is-

land residents; care provided in the state to nonresi-

dents is not covered. See R.I. Dep’t of Health, Rules

and Regulations Pertaining to the Rhode Island All-

Payer Claims Database §§ 1.18, 1.20, 4.1(a),

13

http://sos.ri.gov/documents/archives/regdocs/released/

pdf/DOH/7305.pdf.

States also lack a uniform approach to determin-

ing who qualifies as a “resident” for APCD reporting

purposes. Colorado and Utah, for example, consider

students attending in-state colleges to be residents

subject to APCD reporting, no matter where they of-

ficially reside for other purposes. See Colorado Cen-

ter for Improving Value in Health Care, Colorado

All-Payer Claims Database Data Submission Guide

5, http://www.civhc.org/getmedia/29f43b37 -b39d-

4373-85f5-1¢c1232f2d9c7/Data-Submission-Guide-V7-

June-2015.pdf.aspx/; Utah Department of Health,

Utah All-Payer Claims Database Data Submission

Guide 3, http://health.utah.gov/hda/apd/UT%20

APCD%20DSG%20v2.1.pdf. Vermont, on the other

hand, appears not to treat students as residents. See

Vt. Regulation H-2008-01, § 4(D).

The States’ conflicting requirements as to which

claims must be reported and who qualifies as a “resi-

dent” mean that many claims may have to be report-

ed to multiple states at once. A claim involving care

provided in Vermont to a Rhode Island resident must

be reported to both states, for example. An employer

plan that operates in more than one state likely must

keep track of many such overlapping reporting re-

quirements.

b. Different APCDs have different schedules for

reporting data. State APCDs do not all require sub-

mission of data on the same timetable. On the con-

trary, at least four different reporting schedules are

in use by APCDs around the country. Maryland and

Oregon require that data be submitted quarterly.

But Colorado, Massachusetts, and Tennessee require

that data be submitted every month. Maine, New

14

Hampshire, and Vermont's APCDs take a third ap-

proach, requiring that different plans report data at

different intervals depending on the number of cov-

ered lives in the plan. And finally, Minnesota allows

reporters simply to choose between monthly and

quarterly data reporting. See Washington Office of

Financial Management, WA-APCD Rules Back-

ground Paper #4: Deadlines for Submission of Claim

Files 4-5 (Sept. 2015), http://www.ofm.wa.gov/

healthcare/pricetransparency/pdf/paper_4.pdf. Thus,

a plan that operates in multiple states would be un-

able to have one internal schedule for reporting all of

its claims data.

c. Different APCDs require that data be submit-

ted in different formats. State APCD laws prescribe

not only what data must be reported and when, but

also what format that data must be in. And here, too,

the requirements of each state’s APCD vary: differ-

ent states require that data be submitted in “consid-

erably different data file formats.” Al Prysunka,

Milliman Healthcare Analytics Blog, APCDs: Mov-

ing Toward Standardization of Data Collection (Nov.

30, 2012), http:/info.medinsight.milliman.com/2012/

11/apceds-moving-toward-standardization-of-data-

collection/. As a result, employers operating in more

than one state must develop different programs and

protocols for data submission in each state.

2. Reporting Health Care Claims Data To

All The States That Require It Is Burden-

some For Self-Funded Employer Plans

The task of reporting medical claims data to

state APCDs would be costly and difficult enough for

self-funded employer plans if every state’s require-

ments were exactly the same. Collecting health care

data for thousands of covered plan members, format-

15

ting it, and submitting it to an APCD is a time- and

labor-intensive undertaking—one that has only be-

come more difficult over time, as state regulators

have requested that more and more data points be

reported for each claim. Minnesota Community

Measurement, Health Care Data Collection: Explor-

ing the Root Causes of Provider Burden in Minnesota

1 (2015), http://mncm.org/wp-content/uploads/

2015/03/MNCM_WhitePaper_PrvdrBrdn_Final.pdf

(noting that due to the proliferation of health quality

measures among state regulators, “there is growing

concern in the [medical] community that the burden

of collecting and submitting data—represented pri-

marily by the cost of additional human resources—is

beginning to outweigh the benefits”).

Yet the multiplicity of conflicting and overlap-

ping reporting requirements in different states has

made the burden on plans even greater. For one

thing, self-funded plans that operate in multiple

states must deal with the sheer technical challenge

of reporting data to numerous states at different

times and in different formats. As one prominent

technology advocacy group has noted, it is simply

“burdensome and costly for plans to set up and se-

cure multiple large data submissions to different en-

tities in various locations, especially if those entities

require different data formats.” Center for Democra-

cy & Technology, Decentralizing the Analysis of

Health Data 9 (Mar. 22, 2012), https://cdt.org/files/

pdfs/Decentralizing-Analysis-Health-Data.pdf. _—In-

deed, even the strongest proponents of the creation of

APCDs acknowledge that the States’ varying re-

quirements for data reporting impose a significant

technical burden on plans. See, e.g., APCD Council,

Standardization of Data Collection in All-Payer

Claims Databases 1 (Jan. 2011), https://

16

www.apcdcouncil.org/file/83/download?

token=R4vbK7Xf (noting that “each state is collect-

ing different data by different methods and with dif-

ferent definitions,” which “rais[es] costs for payers

submitting data to the states (especially those payers

that are operating in multiple states)”); id. at 2 (“As

APCDs are required in more states, the cost to pay-

ers will become significant.”); see also Patrick B. Mil-

ler, State Coverage Initiatives, Robert Wood Johnson

Foundation, All-Payer Claims Databases: An Over-

view for Policymakers 8 (May 2010),

https://www.apcdcouncil.org/publication/all-payer-

claims-databases-overview-policymakers (noting that

payers who operate in numerous states must “bear

the compounded costs of responding to unique state

reporting requirements’).

In addition to the technical burden of reporting,

plans operating in multiple states must invest time

and resources in keeping track of each State’s re-

quirements, or assuring that a third-party adminis-

trator is doing so.? Most state APCDs’ requirements

are spelled out in regulations rather than in statuto-

ry law, allowing those requirements to change with-

out the need for legislative action. And in some

states, certain changes to APCD regulations can be

made without even needing to go through notice-and-

comment rulemaking. For example, the Arkansas

Insurance Department is authorized to change the

technical formatting requirements for data “at any

time,” without taking public comment. Arkansas Ins.

Dep’t Rule 100, § 7(B). After the new formatting re-

$A plan fiduciary has a duty to make sure the plan is adminis-

tered prudently, which includes compliance with applicable

laws. See 29 U.S.C. § 1104(a).

17

quirements are revised, payers can be required to

comply with the new requirements in as little as

four months. Jbid. The potential for rapid change in

state data reporting requirements means that self-

funded plans and other reporters must constantly

monitor state regulations and be prepared to revamp

their reporting procedures quickly.

In short, the burden of reporting claims data to

state APCDs is anything but minor. On the contrary,

reporting to APCDs is an onerous obligation that

self-funded employer plans must expend considera-

ble financial and human resources in order to meet.

And as more and more states create APCDs, that

burden is likely to worsen.

3. Congress Enacted ERISA To Prevent Self-

Funded Plans From Being Subject To

Patchwork State Regulation

The application of so many conflicting and over-

lapping state regulations to employer benefit plans

was precisely what Congress sought to prevent when

it enacted ERISA. Congress intended that employer

benefit plans would be administered in a single and

uniform way across the entire country. Central to

that uniform administrative process are the report-

ing obligations that plans must satisfy. Resp. Br. 17-

24. There can be no doubt that state APCD laws—

which require that a plan report its participants’

medical claims data differently in every state in

which the plan operates—“relate to” self-funded em-

ployer plans in an impermissible manner and are ex-

pressly preempted by ERISA. See 29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(a).

As amici explain infra (at pp. 24-29), Congress’s

primary concern when it enacted ERISA was to en-

18

sure that plans would be able to meet their obliga-

tions to participants and their beneficiaries. One of

the most important ways in which ERISA advances

this objective is by protecting plans from regulatory

requirements that vary from state to state—or even

from city to city. Congress believed that complying

with many differing state and local regulations

would burden plans with high compliance costs. See

Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 98-99

(1983) (quoting a sponsor of ERISA who explained on

the House floor that the legislation would “elimi-

nate[e] the threat of conflicting and inconsistent

State and local regulation”). These higher costs, in

turn, would eventually fall on beneficiaries in the

form of reduced benefits. See, eg., Egelhoff v.

Egelhoff ex rel. Breiner, 532 U.S. 141, 149 (2001)

(“Requiring ERISA administrators to master the rel-

evant laws of 50 States *** would undermine

the congressional goal of ‘minimizing the administra-

tive and financial burdens’ on plan administrators—

burdens ultimately borne by the beneficiaries.”)

(quoting Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S.

133, 142 (1990) (brackets omitted)); FMC Corp. v.

Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 60 (1990) (“To require plan

providers to design their programs in an environ-

ment of differing state regulations would complicate

the administration of nationwide plans, producing

inefficiencies that employers might offset with de-

creased benefits.”); Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne,

482 U.S. 1, 11 (1987) (‘ERISA’s pre-emption provi-

sion was prompted by recognition that employers es-

tablishing and maintaining employee benefit plans

are faced with the task of coordinating complex ad-

ministrative activities. A patchwork scheme of regu-

lation would introduce considerable inefficiencies in

benefit program operation, which might lead those

19

employers with existing plans to reduce benefits, and

those without such plans to refrain from adopting

them.”). Subjecting employer benefit plans to only a

single set of national regulations would reduce plan

expenses and hence would foster greater healthcare

coverage for beneficiaries.

This Court thus has “not hesitated to apply

ERISA’s pre-emption clause to state laws that risk

subjecting plan administrators to conflicting state

regulations.” FMC Corp., 498 U.S. at 59. Indeed, this

Court has repeatedly struck down state laws that

have that undesirable effect. See, e.g., Egelhoff, 532

U.S. at 148-49 (holding that a state statute inter-

fered with “nationally uniform plan administration”

because it required plan administrators to “familiar-

ize themselves with [different] state statutes” and

created the possibility that plan payments would be

“subject to conflicting legal obligations”); FMC Corp.,

498 U.S. at 60 (holding that a state antisubrogation

law was preempted because “[a]pplication of differing

state subrogation laws to plans would * * * frustrate

plan administrators’ continuing obligation to calcu-

late uniform benefit levels nationwide”).

The Court should do the same in this case. The

multifarious regulations found in state APCD laws

burden self-funded employer plans—particularly na-

tional plans—with cumbersome and inefficient re-

porting requirements, the cost of which ultimately

falls on plan beneficiaries. And these reporting re-

quirements relate directly to the core function of self-

funded employer plans: their provision of benefits to

plan participants. This sort of onerous burden on a

core function of self-funded plans was exactly what

Congress sought to prevent.

20

Moreover, if the Court were to hold that APCD

laws were not preempted by ERISA, States and mu-

nicipalities would have no barrier holding back new

laws that similarly intrude on plan administration,

increasing the regulatory burden on self-funded em-

ployer plans even more. Perhaps States would re-

quire retirement and pension plans to report data on

their investments’ performance, for example.

Such a confusing patchwork of state regulations

would threaten to “create a system that is so complex

that administrative costs *** unduly discourage

employers from offering *** benefit plans in the

first place.” Varity Corp. v. Howe, 516 U.S. 489, 497

(1996). Congress enacted ERISA to prevent that un-

desirable result. See Fort Halifax, 482 U.S. at 11

(“ERISA’s pre-emption provision was prompted by

recognition that * * * [a] patchwork scheme of regu-

lation would introduce considerable inefficiencies in

benefit program operation, which might lead those

employers with existing plans to reduce benefits, and

those without such plans to refrain from adopting

them.”). This Court should abide by Congress’s in-

tent to encourage private welfare plans by holding

that Vermont's APCD reporting requirement imper-

missibly invades the province of ERISA and is ex-

pressly preempted.

4. The Decision To Use A Third-Party Ad-

ministrator Does Not Protect Vermont's

APCD Law From Preemption.

In his attempts to argue that state APCD laws

like Vermont’s do not impose a burden on self-funded

employer plans that triggers ERISA preemption, Pe-

titioner relies to a surprising extent on the fact that

it is Liberty Mutual's TPA—rather than Liberty Mu-

tual itself—that is subject to reporting requirements

21

under Vermont’s law. See Pet. Br. 1, 23, 31, 38 &

n.21, 53-55. Petitioner's position appears to be that

because Liberty Mutual’s TPA is the party that actu-

ally reports data to Vermont’s APCD, Liberty Mutual

itself cannot possibly be burdened by the reporting

requirement.

That position is incorrect, for two reasons. First,

as explained supra, although Liberty Mutual em-

ploys a TPA to operate its self-funded employer plan,

some employers do not.4 And under Vermont’s law

(and the APCD laws of other states), even companies

that do not retain TPAs are responsible for satisfying

burdensome reporting requirements. See, e.g., Vt.

Regulation H-2008-01, § 3(%); 957 Mass. Code Regs.

2.02. Thus, the burden of state APCD laws—

including Vermont’s—clearly falls on some self-

funded employer plans directly, which suffices to

make those laws preempted.

Second, from the standpoint of ERISA, there is

no legal distinction between legal obligations that

fall on a plan sponsor and those that fall on its dele-

gate, such as a TPA. Common sense and basic eco-

nomics both suggest that the burden of complying

with such obligations is ultimately borne by the plan

sponsor, irrespective of which party is subject to the

obligations in the first instance: if the TPA is respon-

sible for reporting, it will pass on the cost of report-

4 See Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act; HHS Notice

of Benefit and Payment Parameters for 2015, 78 Fed. Reg.

72,322, 72,340 (Dec. 2, 2013) (‘We recognize that some self-

insured group health plans self-administer the benefits and

services provided under the plan, and do not use the services of

a third party administrator.”).

22

ing to its client in the form of a higher price.5 And

even when a plan sponsor delegates a duty (such as

data reporting) to a TPA, it retains a fiduciary duty

to oversee and monitor the TPA’s performance of its

tasks. See 29 U.S.C. § 1104(a); see also, e.g., Jackson

v. Truck Drivers’ Union Local 42 Health & Welfare

Fund, 933 F. Supp. 1124, 1141 (D. Mass. 1996) (“[A]

delegating [ERISA] fiduciary retains an obligation to

oversee and monitor the activities of his delegate.”).

This monitoring takes both time and effort on the

plan sponsor’s part. Either factual scenario, there-

fore, subjects plan sponsors to the costs of state regu-

lation from which Congress sought to shield them in

enacting ERISA.

No principle in ERISA, moreover, suggests that

plans can be subjected to inconsistent jurisdiction-

by-jurisdiction obligations just because they have

sought outside assistance. On the contrary, this

Court has held that state laws may not “bind plan

administrators to [a] particular choice” about how to

structure their plan—such as the choice whether or

not to employ a TPA. See N.Y. State Conference of

Blue Cross & Blue Shield Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co.,

514 U.S. 645, 659 (1995). Thus, Petitioner’s interpre-

tation of ERISA preemption—which would essential-

5 The IRS acknowledged this “pass-through” dynamic in its

proposals for implementing the Patient Protection and Afforda-

ble Care Act’s excise tax on high-cost employer health plans. In

the notice laying out the proposals, the agency acknowledged

that if the excise tax on a self-insured employer plan is paid by

its TPA, the TPA is likely to “pass through all or part of the

amount of the excise tax to the employer.” IRS, Notice 2015-52,

Section 4980l1—Excise Tax on High Cost Employer-Sponsored

Health Coverage at 7, https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-15-

52.pdf.

23

ly coerce plans into forgoing TPAs by subjecting

them to APCD reporting only when they use TPAs—

is surely wrong. ERISA preemption should not and

does not depend on whether a plan opts to employ a

TPA.

5. APCDs Can Obtain Information From

Other Sources—Such As _ Providers—

Without Needing To Burden Self-Funded

Plans

Petitioner and his amici devote considerable

space in their briefs to arguments why APCDs are a

useful regulatory tool for states and explanations of

the potential benefits they offer to state policymak-

ers. See, e.g., Pet. Br. 12; Am. Hosp. Ass’n & Ass’n of

Am. Med. Colls. Br. 16-23. But none of this infor-

mation is relevant to the issue before this Court—

t.e., whether ERISA preempts state APCD laws. If

APCD laws impose the sort of burden on self-funded

employer plans that Congress sought to avert (and

they do), those laws are preempted no matter how

high-minded a purpose they serve.

Noticeably missing from Petitioner's brief is any

meaningful explanation as to why data from self-

insured plans is so critical to Vermont’s goals. In

fact, Petitioner contradicted that position when he

told the district court that self-insured plans account

for only a small percentage of the total data collected.

Def.’s Opp. to Mot. for Summ. J. 12, Liberty Mut. Ins.

Co. v. Kimbell, No. 2:11-cv-204 (D. Vt. Aug. 17,

2012), ECF No. 48 (“[A]t least two-thirds of Blue

Cross’ reporting in Vermont pertains to non-ERISA

plan members.”); see also Pet. App. 69a. It should be

noted, however, that if States truly think it im-

portant to obtain data on medical care provided to

participants in self-funded employer plans, they can

24

obtain those data from other sources—including,

most importantly, the providers who deliver that

care.6 The choice that Petitioner and his amici pre-

sent, between allowing States to maintain compre-

hensive APCDs on the one hand and respecting

ERISA’s goal of protecting plans from conflicting

state regulations on the other, is therefore a false

choice. States can obtain the data they need without

imposing regulatory costs on self-funded employer

plans—the entities that Congress singled out for spe-

cial protection in ERISA.

C. THE EXCLUSIVE PURPOSE OF ERISA

BENEFIT PLANS IS TO PROVIDE

BENEFITS, NOT TO BE LABORATO-

RIES FOR STATE EXPERIMENTATION

State APCD laws not only increase costs for self-

funded employer plans; they also conscript plans into

the service of the States, turning them into laborato-

ries in which States collect data for their own pur-

poses. This conscription of self-funded plans, wheth-

er well-intentioned or not, undermines the goals of

ERISA. Congress specified in ERISA that the sole,

exclusive purpose of employee benefit plans is to pro-

vide benefits to beneficiaries. By forcing plans to di-

vert resources to serve a different and unrelated

6 The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), for

example, has made efforts in recent years to collect Medicare

claims data from providers and to make those data publicly

available for study. See Centers for Medicare and Medicaid

Services., Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data:

Physician and Other Supplier (June 1, 2015),

https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics- Data-and-

Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-Reports/Medicare-Provider-

Charge-Data/Physician-and-Other-Supplier. html. States could

compile similar datasets on non-Medicare claims.

25

purpose chosen by the state, APCD laws interfere

with the legislative scheme that Congress crafted in

ERISA.

1. Congress Enacted ERISA In Order to

Protect The Interests Of Plan Beneficiar-

les

In the early 1970s, Congress conducted “a com-

prehensive and exhaustive study of the private pen-

sion plan system in the United States” to investigate

concerns about the number of private-sector pension

and benefit plans that were becoming insolvent and

unable to pay their beneficiaries. This study revealed

that many retirement plans did not “meet the obliga-

tion[s] promised [to employees] * * * after many

years of service.” S. Rep. No. 93-127, at 11-12 (1973),

reprinted in 1974 U.S.C.C.A.N. 4838, 4847-48. Con-

gress found that “despite the enormous growth in

[employee benefit] plans[,] many employees with

long years of employment [were] losing anticipated

retirement benefits,” and that “owing to the inade-

quacy of current minimum standards, the soundness

and stability of plans with respect to adequate funds

to pay promised benefits [was] endangered.” 29

U.S.C. § 1001(a). In Congress’s view, the precarious

financial situation of employee benefit plans was a

threat to the “continued well-being and security of

millions of employees and their dependents” and,

thus, to the “national public interest.” bid.

ERISA was Congress’s response to these prob-

lems. As its text proclaimed, the statute’s animating

purpose was “to protect interstate commerce and the

interests of participants in employee benefit plans

and their beneficiaries.” 29 U.S.C. § 1001 (b); see al-

so, e.g., Shaw, 463 U.S. at 90 (“ERISA is a compre-

hensive statute designed to promote the interests of

26

employees and their beneficiaries in employee bene-

fit plans.”); H.R. Rep. No. 93-533, at 1 (1973), re-

printed in 1974 U.S.C.C.A.N. 4639, 4639 (“The pri-

mary purpose of the bill is the protection of individu-

al pension rights”). Each of ERISA’s safeguards—

from requiring plan administrators to disclose more

information, to holding fiduciaries to stricter stand-

ards of conduct, to requiring plan termination insur-

ance—was designed to further the purpose of pro-

tecting plan participants and their beneficiaries. See

29 U.S.C. § 1001(b)-(c). Vermont’s plan reporting ob-

ligations do not further that purpose.

2. ERISA Mandates That Plans Be Operat-

ed For The Exclusive Purpose Of Provid-

ing Benefits To Participants

The most important safeguard Congress included

in ERISA was the “exclusive purpose” rule of Section

404(a). This rule requires a plan fiduciary to “dis-

charge his duties with respect to a plan solely in the

interest of the participants and beneficiaries” and

“for the exclusive purpose * * * of providing benefits

to participants and their beneficiaries[,] and defray-

ing reasonable expenses of administering the plan.”

29 U.S.C. § 1104(a)(1) (emphases added). Section

403(c) of the statute provides a corollary to the “ex-

clusive purpose” rule, by providing that plan assets

are to be used “for the exclusive purposes of providing

benefits to participants in the plan and their benefi-

ciaries and defraying reasonable expenses of admin-

istering the plan.” Id. § 1103(c)(1).

The “exclusive purpose” rule is quite stringent: it

makes plan participants’ interests the sole relevant

consideration in plan decisionmaking and resource

allocation. See, e.g., Donovan v. Bierwirth, 680 F.2d

263, 271 (2d Cir. 1982) (noting that the exclusive

27

purpose rule requires that plan trustees’ decisions

“be made with an eye single to the interests of the

participants and beneficiaries.”). Indeed, Congress

intended that the exclusive-purpose rule would hold

plan fiduciaries to an even higher standard than or-

dinarily applies under state trust law, because Con-

gress “determin[ed] that the common law of trusts

did not offer completely satisfactory protection” to

beneficiaries. Varity Corp., 516 U.S. at 497. Federal

courts have accordingly developed a _ specialized

common law of fiduciary obligations under ERISA

“bearing in mind the special nature and purpose of

employee benefit plans.” Jbid. (citing Firestone Tire

Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 110-11 (1989)). In short,

the “exclusive purpose” rule is an exceedingly exact-

ing standard—one that reflects Congress’s special so-

licitude for the welfare of participants in employer

benefit plans.

3. State APCD Statutes Interfere With Con-

gress’s Purpose By Commandeering

ERISA Plans For A Different Purpose:

Data Collection

State APCD laws like Vermont’s are irreconcila-

ble with the “exclusive purpose” rule’s clear require-

ment that plan resources be expended solely for the

benefit of participants and beneficiaries, less any in-

cidental expenses of plan administration. APCD laws

require plans to expend resources on wholly different

priorities that the State has chosen: i.e., collecting,

formatting, and reporting data in compliance with

the requirements of each State’s database. This ex-

penditure of resources does not inure to the sole ben-

efit of plan participants, as ERISA requires; on the

contrary, it harms beneficiaries, since every dollar

spent on data reporting is a dollar that cannot be

28

spent to meet the plan’s obligations to its partici-

pants. And it layers on another regulatory scheme

requiring distraction from the plan’s exclusive pur-

pose of providing benefits.

Petitioner and his amici respond to this point by

suggesting that the costs imposed on self-funded em-

ployer plans by APCD laws are no different from

those imposed by any other generally applicable

state regulation. See Pet. Br. 27; N.Y. Br. 31, 34. Not

so. The expenses of reporting data to APCDs are not

akin to taxes or other costs that a plan might ordi-

narily be expected to incur under state law. On the

contrary, APCD reporting is an extraordinary obliga-

tion targeted at plans (and a very few other kinds of

healthcare enterprises) as a means of conscripting

them for the pursuit of specific state policy objec-

tives. See 18 Vt. Stat. Ann. § 9401 (listing policy

goals of Vermont's APCD statute). APCD reporting is

far from an ordinary cost of doing business in a par-

ticular state; it is a deadweight loss that Vermont

and other States require plans to absorb for the

States’ convenience.

This Court should therefore hold that state

APCD laws are preempted by ERISA because they

“operate[] to frustrate [ERISA’s] objects.” Boggs v.

Boggs, 520 U.S. 833, 841 (1997). Congress’s consid-

ered judgment in enacting ERISA was that main-

taining a strong and financially sound employee ben-

efit system is crucial to the well-being of millions of

American employees and their families and to the

strength of the national economy. And Congress con-

cluded that the best way to keep employee benefit

plans sound is to ensure that plans are administered

for the single and exclusive purpose of providing

benefits to participants and their beneficiaries.

29

When States attempt to use ERISA plans as tools for

pursuing their own agendas, ERISA preempts such

regulations, irrespective of how high-minded the

state’s purposes for commandeering the plan’s re-

sources or of whether the state’s regulatory scheme

would be “less useful,” Pet. Br. 33, if ERISA plans

were excluded from it.

The only acceptable use of an ERISA plan is to

provide benefits to participants. Vermont's law,

which uses ERISA health plans for an entirely dif-

ferent purpose chosen by the State, is therefore

preempted.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be

affirmed.

Respectfully submitted.

BRIAN D. NETTER

MATTHEW A. WARING

Mayer Brown LLP

1999 K Street NW

Washington, DC 20006

(202) 263-3000

NANCY G. Ross

Counsel of Record

Mayer Brown LLP

71 S. Wacker Drive

Chicago, IL 60606

(312) 782-0600

nross@mayerbrown.com

Counsel for Amici Curiae

KATHRYN WILBER

American Benefits

Council

1501 M Street NW

Suite 600

Washington, DC 20005

Counsel for American

Benefits Council

ANNETTE GUARISCO

FILDES

ERISA Industry

Committee

1400 L Street NW

Suite 350

Washington, DC 20005

Counsel for ERISA

Industry Committee

OCTOBER 2015

THOMAS WILDER

America’s Health

Insurance Plans

601 Pennsylvania Ave

NW

South Building, Ste. 500

Washington, DC 20004

Counsel for America’s

Health Insurance Pians

KATHRYN COMERFORD

TODD

WARREN POSTMAN

U.S. Chamber Litigation

Center

1615 H Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20062

Counsel for the Chamber

of Commerce of the United

States of America

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.