Amicus Curiae Brief — King v. Burwell, 135 S. Ct. 475 (2014) (No. 14-114)

Supreme Court brief2014

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

JAN 28 205

No. 14-114

CLERK

IN THE

SHupreme Court of the Anited States

DAVID KING, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

SYLVIA MATTHEWS BURWELL,

SECRETARY OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, ET AL.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF

MARILYN RALAT-ALBERNAS, R.N.,

MARCUS SANDLING, M.D., MICHELE

EVANS, SERVICE EMPLOYEES

INTERNATIONAL UNION, ET AL.,

SUPPORTING RESPONDENTS

CLAIRE PRESTEL JUDITH A. SCOTT

DANIEL M. ROSENTHAL Counsel of Record

JAMES & HOFFMAN, P.C. NICOLE G. BERNER

1130 Connecticut Ave., NW, SERVICE EMPLOYEES

Suite 950 INTERNATIONAL UNION

Washington, D.C. 20036 1800 Massachusetts Ave., NW

(202) 496-0500 Washington, D.C. 20036

cpprestel@jamhoff.com (202) 730-7383

judy.scott@seiu.org

WALTER KAMIAT

7305 Alaska Avenue, NW

Washington, D.C. 20012

January 28, 2015

EID DESTIN L DLAI LED EEE LT IEEE LE LEP LE TEED YELL EAL E LE_ELE EIEN ELL LEE LDL Oe

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO. Inc. — (202) 789-0096 — WaSHmGTON, D.C. 20002

IT.

ITI.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PETITIONERS’ CARROTS-AND-STICKS

THEORY RAISES SERIOUS CONSTI-

TUTIONAL AND FEDERALISM QUES-

TIONS THAT DEMAND A CLEAR

STATEMENT OF CONGRESSIONAL

INTENT, WHICH IS NOT PRESENT

UII tienesictnshidtntnuneduichbpatienisamedhceoaieiadasascdess

PETITIONERS’ CARROTS-AND-STICKS

THEORY IS NOT SUPPORTED BY,

AND INDEED CONTRADICTS, THE

EE SUPINE iiisiitenphisecnd uitisestincanuneiidedsicasasiuoce

A. When Congress Incentivizes State

Action, It Does So In Clear Terms And

Not At All As In The ACA....................

B. Congress’s Provision For FFEs Makes

No Sense Under Petitioners’ Theory ..

C. Other ACA Provisions Make No Sense

Under Petitioners’ Theory...................

PETITIONERS’ THEORY CONTRA-

VENES CONGRESS’S PURPOSES IN

ENACTING THE ACA ...0..0 oo ccccccceeeeeeee

PETITIONERS’ THEORY IS CON-

TRARY TO THE ACA’S LEGISLATIVE

IEEE dditrtpencseniipnencinnndtiesembindatensmenn

13

20

21

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

V. THE STATES DID NOT INTERPRET

THE ACA AS PETITIONERS DO NOW... =. 25

VI. EVEN PETITIONERS’ SUPPORTERS

DO NOT BELIEVE THE CARROTS-

AND-STICKD THB ...222.20020200.s0000eee- 34

GENIE iccavnrcpssnsindaninnmcssdeinnienerssenssararvi 36

APPENDIX:

STATE DOCUMENTS REVIEWED ........... la

til

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page(s)

Bond v. United States,

oe Be eg | een 7,8

Fargo Packing Corp. v. Hardin,

312 F. Supp. 942 (D.N.D. 1970)................ 15

Gregory v. Ashcroft,

Bt Rt REE ee eee ee 7,13

Halbig v. Burwell,

758 F.3d 390 (D.C. Cir. 2014),

vacated, No. 14-5018 (Sept. 4, 2014)........ 18

Hall v. United States,

ge ee Be, eens 18

Leocal v. Ashcroft,

I ce LN a ba 19

Maracich v. Spears,

Be is Cc EE CIR cca cnrotetdnarescicnavensas 18

Nat'l Fed’n of Indep. Bus. v. Sebelius,

> | £e |... RR RRs passim

New York v. United States,

ns 7, 8, 13, 14

Nixon v. Missouri Mun. League,

Be Pe, Bt ID iii csssiccteniscdeinanenescsdtcsnass 8

Pennhurst State Sch. & Hosp. v.

Halderman, 451 U.S. 1 (1981).................. 8, 34

Ransom v. FIA Card Servs.,

Fe | ae Sey |, |) | ee 18

Rewis v. United States,

Oe es CI I adcnces ikcdncenéntedabasetsenssdes Re

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

United States v. Bass,

IG re MU AT Banca a iccsitsstcnacesscbasssaccnce 7

Whitman v. American Trucking Ass’ns,

es gd) _ | ene 11

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Oy nn 11

Fe REESE ima, Pease se Se ane 11

Be Ns WIE eitieda.sidicctcsaiticiadtstsitvaceicaudenaaneas 11

ee ns I oie td clk, 0 11

ee A icone nat scce a ceecinaeaadonnitns 15

RE 5 EAR SIRES Sie Sgt nc SR 12

a isk da cehcornisicibieeipsteslsonunaiaoienndn 12

Be Ie aisha stestcirnesndaansndicceccasactonneie 12

ERATE rare Cereneete narvia un SPE sw 10

Be ee ID iis sdicichsscanbsicdaccobhusededatietconeniniis 12

Ss fk” Eee Otani 12

Be ee I sic cntsccsmicionabiceetnteeesenianbes 12

ET hE PRN We comer eran 12

Be ee ia I iinet caicisticnicestehensnpcliclonetinen 16

Fa es SID sicitincinesencennesdonasnebescnace 16

BL SII datehasdilatncscphaanancecanieacituminconsionage 15

Oe ae ED cnercncncancssésixesiccessssnbonpin 11

Se es IIR oniveriicienaceateceosusieimeigunas 24

ey eens IEE vacrndacipeenisacinnntdntrsenendevtaumenctcans 11

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Oe RE, SED dscidciniciadncacemncimnincinnicnicedicnstasteishanie 11

Re I tr diccisdcateaeiwianinnnuntyenonniebieibiaavanaiicnns 11

I er I oi nicacicciodseicsacnecenssabnendenidladdelens 11

42 U.S.C. $655(aN4)A(5) ...............cccccrcsrrcooees 11

ga Oe 10, 11

ei II siinirincsecetssccnnsenntnusonsnssns 11

Oe a IED iin tnnssicnictnhtnncidomniccnbipeninednts 11

Oe as I ciiskinicetnihaescrctnnapcnccinitenseesonas 11

es IDE BI icsencsicissacecansccsnassecenseiaies 15

Be i I sc cansniicnancdiinnienssanindiinicatiocanes 19

is i iitnitsstecccntirestpanninccssonens 19

Ee, Be Rivtenrinnscnsnisecrcsséncantacaren 19

42 U.S.C. §18021(aX 1M Ci) ...............seeeeeee 24

es IB iviincctinnnicanscacosonsbssstanans 24

i BI cesncccsnestlsaccetninrdacsncerintncennas 10

Oe iia: SE eri cénhtictnsntdinmanestivnansecnaes 11

BE TE Fa. BIE ccc psnesisevsessiscenessasesouns 18

ee, BE eicccintarinbicstannnccinsnesesechiene 20

Oe SIE scccicivasipasancncunanienenteateinaanehsinies 10, 16

Ie cesstsstierencetoens. 11

TT FG Be vines etn cc isscinsecicassenccoessss 18

IF Pe eR csctiinnicsscsesccctesctasinntnnnniatie 19

42 U.S.C. §18061(c)1)(A)

SSSR Oe eC eee Ee ee ee

19

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

43 U.S.C. GIBBS IMEN UMA) ......200sesscerecocccesesss- 19

42 U.S.C. $180BU(2XD) ............0cc.cccccesscesseees 21

Os I iii asricrennsngebeiscnnioncinen 15

71 Fed. Reg. 25,328 (Apr. 28, 2006)............. 15

79 Fed. Reg. 49,465 (Aug. 21, 2014)............ 15

OTHER AUTHORITIES

34 House Record 18 (N.H. Mar. 7, 2012),

available at http://www.gencourt.

state.nh.us/house/caljourns/calendars/

2012/houcal2012_18.html, archived at

http://perma.cc/BTZ2-NDXSG..................... 32

155 Cong. Rec. $12,356 (daily ed. Dec. 4,

SII: scgustuaddiasssenseasaasunicaiaaien uciauaa aakcuon 22, 23

155 Cong. Rec. $13,345 (daily ed. Dec. 17,

SIA so cashes taeiiactouss aks sasuabieae wane aneseoeasasde 23

155 Cong. Rec. S13,714 (daily ed. Dec. 22,

RU csiddae asecacoecicnsicncnuccamacsieinsabanaimencticasasese: 22

155 Cong. Rec. $13,796 (daily ed. Dec. 23,

I parern ee eer 22

156 Cong. Rec. H1854, 1871, 1888 (daily

a 23

Affordable Health Choices Act, S. 1679

Be I, Ci renesccscdsnnececemincocetsecscasas 23, 24

Alaska Health Care Comm'n,

Transforming Health Care in Alaska

(Jan. 2011), available at http://dhss.

alaska.gov/ahcc/Documents/2010_ report.

pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/5R6C-

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

America’s Healthy Future Act, S. 1796,

111th Cong. (2009)..............:scsessereresseseees 23, 24

Ariz. Health Care Cost Containment Sys.,

Notice of Request for Info. (Aug. 15,

2011), available at http://www.azahcccs.

gov/commercial/Downloads/

Solicitations/Open/RFIs/YH 12-0013/

YH12-0013.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/W9BN-PE668 ..............-..--. 27

Austin Bordelon et al., The Stage is Set:

Predicting State and Federal Reactions

to King v. Burwell (Jan. 2015), available

at http://www. healthreformgps.org/wp-

content/uploads/the_stage_is_set_

federal_and_state_planning_ahead_of_

king_v_burwell.pdf ............:..ssccserseeseree 35

Carrie Budoff Brown, Nelson: National

exchange a dealbreaker, Politico, Jan.

QE, BOVO .......crseccrscrersorersesersrensecroossccessseres 24

Daniel Tyson, W.Va. man plaintiff in

health care case, Register-Herald, Jan.

12, 2015, available at

http://www.register-herald.com/news/w-

va-man-plaintiff-in-health-care-

case/article_991503a3-3024-539 1-b5a8-

28d2e4a59347 html................cccceeeeeeeeeeeeees 35

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Fed. Healthcare Reform: Exchange

Planning Symposium, Background

Information and Requested Stakeholder

Input (Feb. 14, 2011), available at

www.politico.com/pdf/PPM170_symposi

um_background.pdf, archived at http://

perma.cc/R4GA-LE®@F ............. ccc. ceeeeeeeeee es 28

Ga. Health Ins. Exchange Advisory

Comm., Report to the Governor (Dec. 15,

2011), available at https://

www.statereforum.org/system/files/

1797658 13ghix_final_report_to_the_gov

ernor.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/9PNY-NXBL..................... 30

Greg Sargent, Mitch McConnell: We can’t

repeal Obamacare, but Supreme Court

may ‘take it down’ instead, Wash. Post:

Plum Line (Dec. 2, 2014),

http://www. washingtonpost.com/

blogs/plum-line/wp/2014/12/02/mitch-

mcconnell-we-cant-repeal-obamacare-

but-supreme-court-may-take-it-down-

GODIN o.oo ccovcsossccionvsecesnbasasiiaiuantensenn ae 34

H.R. 3962, 111th Cong. (2009) ........cescccsee0e-. 24

Health Care Reform Review Comm.,

Minutes (July 25, 2012), available at

http:/Jegis.nd.gov/assembly/62-

201 1/interim-info/minutes/hc

072512minutes.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/2DE4-CVB2................0000 32

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Health Ins. Exchange Working Grp.,

Findings (Oct. 30, 2012), available at

http://www.doi.idaho.gov/Health

Exchange/Final_report.pdf, archived

at http://perma.cc/S285-UQWG................. 32

HTMS, Health Benefit Exchange Planning

Services: Narrative Summary (Dec. 2,

2011), available at http://www.nd.gov/

ndins/uploads/18/finalhbeplanningnarr

ative.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc

a Te 30

Humberto Sanchez and Niels Lesniewski,

Cornyn: Obamacare Repeal Vote Should

Wait, Roll Call: #WGDB (Jan. 8, 2015,

11:16 AM), http://blogs.

rolicall.com/wgdb/obamacare-repeal-

vote-should-wait-cornyn/ ......................... 34, 35

In re Starpower Commc’ns, LLC,

es BEETS F GUD vecccscccccevvescceccscees 15

Ind. Family & Social Servs. Admin..,

Comment on Proposed Rule: Health

Insurance Premium Tax Credit (Oct. 31,

2011), available at http://www.

regulations.gov/#!document

Detail; D=IRS-2011-0024-0133 ................. 30

Kaiser Family Foundation, State Exchange

Profiles: Kansas (Mar. 21, 2013),

http://kff.org/health-reform/state-profile/

state-exchange-profiles-kansas/ ............... 26

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Karen Langley, Council Backs Off Health

Exchange, Concord Monitor (Apr. 14,

2011), available at http://www.concord

monitor.com/ article/251216/council-

backs-off-health-exchange, archived at

http://perma.cc/KT8Y-RXZH ....................

Letter, Bruce D. Greenstein to Kathleen

Sebelius (Nov. 16, 2012), available at

http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov/assets/

media/LA_Declaration_HealthInsurance

Exchanges.pdf, archived at http://perma.

Maureen Michael, M.G.A., e¢ ai.,

Stakeholder Views about the Design of

Health Ins. Exchanges for N.J.: Volume

II i, 19-25 (Aug. 2011), available at

http://www.cshp.rutgers.edu/Down

loads/9000.pdf, archived at http://perma.

IED cetitnitenssistirinssiadbecieniiteenise

Me. Joint Select Comm. On Health Care

Reform Opportunities and Implemen-

tation, Health Ins. Exchanges: Written

Comments Submitted by Stakeholders

(Sept. 21, 2010), available at

http://www.maine.gov/legis/opla/health

reformstakeholdercomments.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/2DWM

32

32

29

29

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Milliman, Inc., N.C. Health Benefit

Exchange Study (Mar. 31, 2011),

available at http://www.nciom.org/wp-

content/uploads/2010/12/Health-Be

nefits-Exchange-Study-DRAFT-4-2011-

03-31-FULL-REPORT.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/Y6FF-64XxX .....000...

N.C. Inst. of Med., Examining the Impact

of the [ACA] in N.C. (Jan. 2013),

available at http://www.nciom.org/wp-

content/uploads/2013/0 /FULL-

REPORT-2-13-2013.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/5X5C-HNSS .....................

Okla. Health Care Authority, Comments

on IRS Proposed Rule REG-131491-10

(Oct. 31, 2011), available at http://www.

regulations.gov/#!documentDetail;D

eS BS GE oo cccccsccsnncccasoseccescesss.

Okla. Legislature, Final Report of the

Joint Comm. on Fed. Health Care Law

(Feb. 22, 2012), available at http://www.

oksenate.gov/news/press_releases/

press_releases_2012/pr20120222b. pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/99UF-

CORRE EEE OEE RH REE He eT eee ee

Press Release, Miss. Health Ins. Exchange

Op-Ed from Comm’r of Ins. Mike

Chaney (Nov. 20, 2012), available at

https://www.mid.ms.gov/pdf/hc-exchange

-oped.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/ZEB5-H9PP .....................

xii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

S.C. Dep’t of Ins., The ACA’s Impact on

Ins. Regulation, Presentation to Senate

Banking & Ins. Comm. (Mar. 23, 2011),

available at http://doi.sc.gov/Document

Center/View/2472, archived at

http://perma.cc/4PHV-E4R8 ..................... 27

S.C. Health Planning Comm., Improving

the Health Care Marketplace in S.C.

(Nov. 2011), available at

http-//doi.sc.gov/DocumentCenter/View/

2534, archived at http://perma.cc/LD8A-

Tl ciciisstntacenbeniitininatsnntsbbniadanaianaananineshins 30

S.D. Health Insurance Exchange Planning

Effort: Report for Governor Dennis

Daugaard (Nov. 3, 2011), available at

http://federalhealthreform.sd.gov/docum

ents/exchange_planning_effort_report.p

df, archived at http://perma.cc/223F-

ei necanssbocueusacicecsiactinnansgsivciptnaisiinectataiinnncian 31

State of Colo., Stakeholder Perspectives:

Health Ins. Exchange Governance and

Structure (Dec. 2010), available at

http://www.nahu.org/legislative/

exchange/HIE%20Governance%

20Structure%20Brief%20Final%201_7_

11.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/2HLG-68XxX ................-..+ 29

Xili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Tom Howell Jr., House Budget chairman:

Supreme Court could unravel

Obamacare ‘pretty darn quickly’, Wash.

Times, Jan. 12, 2015, available at

http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/

2015/jan/12/tom-price-supreme-court-

could-unravel-obamacare’ ......................+: 35

U.S. Rep. Doggett: Settling for Second-Rate

Health Care Doesn’t Serve Texans, My

Harlingen News (Jan. 11, 2010),

http://www.myharlingennews.

com/?p=6426, archived at

http://perma.cc/2K3C-CFP6...................... 25

es fa

peat

oa

ft fo

14) ca» fo.

oh pont

jc

1, ey ewe A ®

a oH

pie Oh

be

SO SA SR

ee aaa A Pen ht

a aah

(Sled ee oe

a

Ha

*

a®

i iB a teat astviee

= ca

A

ere

oy Ah My ay

ney erence ent

‘ 2) Ao EN

se rT eee a ee gant

arene wt, HW nM Ly BS r 7 7

er aaa vi ie caie nth ;

CERNE ny RI yr eee = ;

a aly

RES,

= aii

a

=

thes

eam

oe

Lapahet el oy

lh eee

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE

Marilyn Ralat-Albernas, R.N., of Miami, Florida,

is a member of the Service Employees International

Union (SEIU) and a nurse in the postpartum division

of a hospital maternity unit.' Ms. Ralat-Albernas has

seen improved health outcomes for mothers and

infants since enactment of the Patient Protection and

Affordable Care Act (ACA). With improved access to

affordable healthcare, more soon-to-be mothers are

able to obtain prenatal care and education.

Marcus Sandling, M.D., is a third-year medical

resident in Jersey City, New Jersey, and a member of

SEIU. Dr. Sandling has noticed positive benefits of the

ACA for the low-income patients he treats at an

internal medicine clinic. More affordable healthcare

and better access to health insurance have made it

easier for Dr. Sandling to maintain relationships with

his patients and refer them to necessary specialists.

Michele Evans is a small business owner in

Bozeman, Montana, who has worked with SEIU and a

coalition of organizations to advocate for better

healthcare for all. In 2009, Ms. Evans was diagnosed

with Lyme disease. Because she could not afford

health insurance at the time, she had to pay out of

pocket for her treatment. At one point, Ms. Evans’s

husband was forced to leave his job so that he could

stay home to care for her. Ms. Evans was able to

purchase insurance in December 2014 because of the

availability of a premium tax credit. She can now

! Letters of consent from all parties are on file with the

Clerk. No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in

part, and no person or entity other than amici curiae made a

monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this

brief.

2

receive regular checkups and _ routine health

screenings.

Healthcare workers in addition to

Ms. Ralat-Albernas and Dr. Sandling

Robert Blair, R.N., lives in Port St. Lucie, ‘orida,

and is a member of SEIU. He has been a nurse for

more than 15 years. Mr. Blair enjoys helping others

and believes access to healthcare is a basic human

right. In his view, the ACA’s expansion of insurance

coverage and its tax-credit provisions have helped

extend that right to all Floridians.

Michelle Boyle, R.N., is a member of SEIU and a

nurse in the Level I Trauma Center at a Pittsburgh,

Pennsylvania, hospital. Ms. Boyle’s mother-in-law

died in 1999 as the result of a chronic illness for which

she struggled to receive proper treatment because of

her lack of insurance. Ms. Boyle has noticed that since

enactment of the ACA, patients are more likely to go

to the doctor when ill rather than wait until

emergency-room care is necessary.

Mary Brooks is a member of SEIU from Portland,

Oregon. She has worked as a clinical scheduler for a

hospital’s mental-health department for 30 years. Ms.

Brooks witnessed the devastating consequences of

inadequate insurance coverage when a family member

nearly went bankrupt after falling down stairs. Ms.

Brooks believes that the ACA has not only expanded

access to affordable health insurance for all Americans

but also forced private insurance companies to cover

better quality care.

Chryseandra Roland of Atlanta, Georgia, is a

secretary in a hospital neonatal intensive care unit.

Ms. Roland believes the ACA is one of the most

significant and positive improvements to the

3

healthcare system to occur during her 41 years

working in the industry.

Healthcare consumers in addition to Ms. Evans

Rita Adamski is a member of SEIU and a home-

care worker in Salem, Oregon. Prior to enactment of

the ACA, Ms. Adamski could not afford health

insurance and was uninsured in 2013. Ms. Adamski

suffers from depression and had to turn to her church

for help paying for the therapy she needed. In 2014,

because of a premium tax credit, Ms. Adamski was

able to purchase health insurance. She now sees a

therapist regularly and, as a result, is able to lead a

more productive and meaningful life.

Jay Joshi lives in Richardson, Texas, and is part

of the Texas Organizing Project, a community

organization that works in partnership with SEIU.

After Ms. Joshi lost her job as a travel agent, she

began working part-time as a yoga instructor for

children in an after-care program. Prior to enactment

of the ACA, Ms. Joshi was able to purchase individual)

health insurance on the private market. However, her

husband, who is retired, could not buy insurance

because of his preexisting diabetic condition and, as

a result, could not afford insulin. Because of the

availability of a premium tax credit, Ms. Joshi can now

afford health insurance for herself, her husband, and

her two sons, and her husband is able to get the

treatment he needs.

Deborah McBee is a retired educator from Tilton,

New Hampshire. Her husband is an adjunct professor

and a member of SEIU. Ms. McBee’s husband is

covered by Medicare, but Ms. McBee is not yet eligible.

Before enactment of the ACA, Ms. McBee struggled to

afford health insurance and often had to reduce her

+

spending on necessities like food in order to pay for

insurance. Because of a tax credit available under the

ACA, Ms. McBee’s monthly insurance premium was

significantly reduced.

Claudette Newsome lives in Houston, Texas, and

is part of the Texas Organizing Project. Before

enactment of the ACA, Ms. Newsome and her family

were uninsured. Ms. Newsome’s husband received

cancer treatment through an experimental trial

because the trial was his least costly option, not

because it was his preferred choice. He passed away in

2010. Ms. Newsome was recently able to purchase

health insurance with a premium tax credit. She feels

that health insurance is critical to her family’s welfare

and financial stability.

Janet Wolfe is an SEIU member from Springfield,

Oregon, who works as a healthcare aide in both a

private home and in an adult foster home for the

developmentally disabled. Prior to enactment of the

ACA, Ms. Wolfe was uninsured and was unable to

afford treatment for proble ~s with her hip. Ms. Wolfe

purchased health insurance with a tax credit after

enactment of the ACA, got a hip replacement, and now

walks without pain.

Service Employees International Union

SEIU is the largest healthcare union in the United

States. More than half of SEIU’s two million members

work in the healthcare industry. SEIU supports the

ACA because it helps to ensure accessible, quality

healthcare for all Americans, including SEIU

members and their families.

5

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

As healthcare workers, healthcare consumers, and

the largest healthcare union in the country, amici

have witnessed first-hand the ways in which the ACA

has vastly improved access to care, health outcomes,

and overall quality of life for millions of Americans.

Amici file this brief supporting respondents to

address petitioners’ argument that their reading of the

statute gives effect to Congress’s true intent to use tax

subsidies as “carrots” (or “sticks”) to encourage states

to operate their own exchanges. As explained below,

petitioners’ carrots-and-sticks theory, developed post-

hoc for purposes of litigation, should be rejected

because it turns the ACA into a statute that is

arguably coercive and, at a minimum, disruptive of

ordinary federal-state relations, and also because it is

contrary to the ACA’s text, Congress’s stated purposes

in enacting the statute, the ACA’s legislative history,

and evidence of what the states understood when

deciding whether to set up their own exchanges, and

is not even believed by petitioners’ supporters.

ARGUMENT

To shore up their purported “plain meaning”

argument, which in fact contravenes the ACA’s text,

Respondents’ Br. 19-35, and has been anything but

“plain” to either the statute’s proponents or its

detractors, infra Parts IV-—VI, petitioners have

developed a post-hoc theory that Congress intended to

use subsidies as “carrots” (or “sticks”) to encourage

state-operated exchanges. Petitioners’ carrots-

and-sticks theory raises serious constitutional and

6

federalism questions such that it should not be

accepted unless supported by unmistakably clear

evidence of congressional intent, which is not present

here. Petitioners’ theory in fact is contradicted by the

statute, its legislative history, the record of ACA-

related state decision-making, and even the public

statements of petitioners’ supporters.

I. PETITIONERS’ CARROTS-AND-STICKS

THEORY RAISES SERIOUS CONSTITU-

TIONAL AND FEDERALISM QUESTIONS

THAT DEMAND A CLEAR STATEMENT

OF CONGRESSIONAL INTENT, WHICH IS

NOT PRESENT HERE.

Petitioners’ theory raises serious constitutional and

federalism questions because it turns the ACA into an

arguably coercive statute that disrupts ordinary

federal-state relations. The Court should not accept a

statutory construction that raises unnecessary

constitutional questions and disturbs normal federal-

state relations absent clear evidence that the proffered

construction is consistent with Congress’s intent, and

there is no such evidence here.

As an initial matter, Congress may not constitution-

ally compel states to participate in a federal program

by presenting them with what appears to be a free

choice but is in fact a choice “so coercive as to pass the

point at which pressure turns into compulsion.” Nat'l

Fed’n of Indep. Bus. v. Sebelius, 132 S. Ct. 2566, 2604

(2012) (NFIB) (Roberts, C.-J., joined by Breyer and

Kagan, JJ.) (internal quotation marks omitted).

Construed as petitioners urge, the ACA would present

significant questions of unconstitutional compulsion

because states, by refusing to create exchanges, would

not only forfeit subsidies but would also subject their

7

insurance markets to the “death spiral” caused by

the ACA’s market reforms in the absence of subsidies.

See, e.g., Respondents’ Br. 3-8. The doctrine of

constitutional avoidance requires rejecting such an

interpretation unless doing so would be “plainly

contrary to the intent of Congress,” which is not the

case here, as demonstrated below. New York v. United

States, 505 U.S. 144, 170 (1992) (internal quotation

marks omitted).

Moreover, even if petitioners’ view of the statute

did not raise serious questions of unconstitutional

compulsion, this Court in construing federal statutes

relies on “background principles . . . grounded in the

relationship between the Federal Government and the

States,” Bond v. United States, 134 S. Ct. 2077, 2088

(2014), that are contravened by petitioners’ reading.

Among those principles, which apply even when no

specific constitutional federalism restriction is

implicated, see, e.g., id. at 2087-94, is that the Court

will not adopt a construction that “upsetis] the usual

constitutional balance of federal and state powers”

unless its correctness is “unmistakably clear.” Gregory

uv. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452, 460 (1991) (internal

quotation marks, citations omitted). This rule “assures

that the legislature has in fact faced, and intended to

bring into issue, the critical matters involved in the

judicial decision.” United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336,

349 (1971).

Before construing statutes to “alter sensitive

federal-state relationships,” Rewis v. United States,

401 U.S. 808 (1971), and to determine whether the

legislature has in fact made its intent “unmistakably

clear,” Gregory, 501 U.S. at 460, this Court has

examined whether the overall statutory policies and

context are consistent with the proffered construction,

8

see, e.g., Bond, 134 S. Ct. at 2090; the degree to which

the construction conforms to traditional statutory

approaches taken by Congress, see, e.g., New York, 505

U.S. at 167-68; whether legislative history validates

the construction, see, e.g., Nixon v. Missouri Mun.

League, 541 U.S. 125, 140—41 (2004); and whether the

statute puts states on clear notice of the consequences

of their choices, especially of possible “massive

financial” costs. See, e.g., Pennhurst State Sch. &

Hosp. v. Halderman, 451 U.S. 1, 16-17, 24-25 (1981);

cf. NFIB, 132 S. Ct. at 2602 (Roberts, C.J., joined by

Breyer and Kagan, JJ.) (Pennhurst requirement that

states be given clear statement of potential costs “is

critical to ensuring that Spending Clause legislation

does not undermine the status of the States as

independent sovereigns in our federal system”).

As shown below, petitioners’ reading of the ACA

represents a severe deviation from the presumed

relationship between the federal government and the

states but is not supported by any of the expected

indicia of congressional intent. On petitioners’ view,

Congress coerced state decisions about their internal

operations by threatening the states with severe

injury. Yet we are to believe that Congress did so in a

manner never before seen in a federal statute, i.e., by

promising to establish intentionally ineffective and

destructive federal institutions within those states

that do not do what Congress wants, and legislated

that unprecedented scheme using language buried in

a technical provision not directed to the states’

attention, which is surrounded by other provisions

indicating that the language does not mean what

petitioners claim, and which failed to give the states

full and fair notice of the serious consequences they

faced.

9

ff. PETITIONERS’ CARROTS-AND-STICKS

THEORY IS NOT SUPPORTED BY, AND

INDEED CONTRADICTS, THE ACA’S

TEXT.

A. When Congress Incentivizes State

Action, It Does So In Clear Terms And

Not At All As In The ACA.

Petitioners’ theory is that Congress intended the

ACA’s tax subsidies to be “carrots” (or their potential

unavailability, and ensuing death spiral, a “stick”) to

encourage state-operated exchanges. If petitioners’

theory were correct, one would expect to find that

subsidy-as-incentive scheme articulated clearly in the

statute’s text, but the ACA defies such expectations: It

contains none of the clear language one would

anticipate if petitioners’ theory were true, and its

provisions seem, if anything, designed to hide the

incentive petitioners claim to have identified. The

illogic of this approach undermines petitioners’ theory,

as does the fact that Congress has always spoken

clearly in the past when it has incentivized state

action.

If Congress in fact intended to use tax subsidies as

carrots or sticks to encourage states to set up their own

exchanges, one would expect to find that incentive

scheme articulated clearly in the ACA’s text because

just as a threat is effective only if communicated, an

incentive to the states is effective only if state officials

understand what they are being encouraged to do and

what their states’ citizens stand to gain or lose

depending on their decisions. In short, Congress has

every reason, if it intends to use a carrot or stick to

incentivize the states, to make that intention

unmistakably clear.

10

The ACA’s exchange provisions, however, contain

none of the clear language one would expect if

petitioners’ theory were true. For example, if Congress

had actually intended to use subsidies as an incentive

for state-operated exchanges, it could and would likely

have made that intention clear by stating, as part of

ACA §1321, 42 U.S.C. §18041, that “tax credits under

section 36B of the Internal Revenue Code shall not be

available to anyone purchasing insurance on an

Exchange operated by the Secretary.” Cf, e.g., 42

U.S.C. §1396c. Or in the tax credit provision itself,

Congress could have defined an “eligible taxpayer” to

exclude anyone who purchases insurance on an

“exchange operated by the Secretary.” Cf, e.g.,

26 U.S.C. §223. Contra Petitioners’ Br. 20 (claiming

that Congress “could not have chosen clearer

language”).

Either of these formulations would have been much

clearer than the language on which petitioners rely,

yet the ACA, rather than using any of the above

language, seems if anything designed to obscure

petitioners’ imagined incentive scheme. Not only

did Congress fail to mention any subsidy-related

difference between state-operated exchanges and

federally facilitated exchanges (FFEs) in the statutory

sections that provide for exchanges, see 42 U.S.C.

§§18031, 18041, but also Congress (accepting petition-

ers’ theory) hid its threat to withhold subsidies from

FFEs in at-best ambiguous language in a definition of

“coverage month” where no one would expect to find it.

And Congress (again accepting petitioners’ theory)

further disguised its threat with language assuring

states that they have the “flexibility” to “elect”

whether to set up their own exchanges, without even

hinting at any significant consequences flowing from

11

those decisions. Jd. §18041(c); see also Respondents’

Br. 22-23.

Of course it makes no sense for Congress to have

hidden a key incentive (indeed, a threat of serious

harm) in such a way. Nor, in this Court’s words, does

Congress usually “hide elephants in mouseholes.”

Whitman v. American Trucking Ass’ns, Inc., 531 U.S.

457, 468 (2001).

Furthermore, if Congress did hide its key incentive

as petitioners claim, then the ACA stands in sharp

contrast to other federal statutes. When Congress has

in the past conditioned receipt of federal funds on

particular state action, it has done so in clear terms.

For example, the Medicaid statute provides that if a

state plan fails to meet federal requirements, “the

Secretary shall notify such State agency that further

payments will not be made to the State.” 42 U.S.C.

§1396c. And the other federal-funding programs cited

by petitioners’ amici as comparators contain similarly

clear language, unlike the language in the ACA on

which petitioners rely.2 Even the ACA itself is clear

about offering grants to states to set up their own

exchanges; the statute’s plain grant language, see 42

U.S.C. §18031(a), is entirely unlike the buried subsidy

incentive petitioners claim to find in the statute’s

definition of “coverage month.”

2 See 7 U.S.C. §§2013(a), 2020(g) (Supplemental Nutrition

Assistance Program); 20 U.S.C. §6311(g) (No Child Left Behind);

42 U.S.C. §280g-15(c) (medical malpractice program); 42 U.S.C.

§§602, 603, 609 (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families); 42

U.S.C. §§8654, 655(a)(4)-(5) (child support program); 42 U.S.C.

§§1397aa(b), bb, ff (Children’s Health Insurance Program); 20

U.S.C. §1412 (Individuals with Disabilities Education Act).

12

As is true of the other statutes just discussed, the

health coverage tax credits (HCTC) statute cited as a

comparator by amici Adler and Cannon is more unlike

the ACA than like it. The health-coverage credits are

stand-alone tax provisions, not part of a complex,

interconnected statutory scheme like the ACA. Thus,

while it may have made sense given the HCTC

statute’s structure for Congress to put the conditions

on those credits in the tax provisions alone, that does

not support amici’s claim that it made sense for

Congress to hide petitioners’ purported subsidy

incentive in 26 U.S.C. §36B in the very differently

structured ACA without mentioning that incentive in

the statute’s exchange provisions.

Congress also used much clearer language in the

HCTC statute. In providing credits for certain kinds

of “state-based insurance plans,” among others,

Congress introduced its “state-based” language not in

a definition of “coverage month” but in a section titled

“[qjualified health insurance”—a logical location. 26

U.S.C. §35(e)(1). And Congress did not rely on the

phrase “state-based” alone: it described qualified

state-based plans with specificity and devoted a sub-

section to explaining what qualified “state-based”

plans must be. See id. §35(e)(2). All very much unlike

the ACA language on which petitioners rely.*

3 Cf. also 26 U.S.C. §223(a), (c) (a health-savings-account

deduction will be “allowed” to “eligible individual|s],” defined to

mean, inter alia, individuals enrolled in high-deductible plans);

26 U.S.C. §§3302(a), 3305(j) (Federal Unemployment Tax Act,

providing credit for money paid “into an unemployment fund .. .

under the unemployment compensation law of a State which is

certified” as meeting certain requirements, and for the “[djenial

of credits” in states without certified laws).

13

In sum, accepting petitioners’ theory means

accepting that Congress hid and disguised its key

incentive (indeed, a threat of serious harm)—an

approach that is illogical and contrary to Congress’s

past practice and that falls far short of the

requirement that a statute be “unmistakably clear”

before it may be construed to alter the federal-state

balance of power. See Gregory, 501 U.S. at 460.

B. Congress’s Provision For FFEs Makes

No Sense Under Petitioners’ Theory.

Petitioners’ theory is also inconsistent with the

ACA’s provisions calling for the creation of FFEs.

If petitioners’ theory is correct, then FFEs, which

appear on the ACA’s face to be an effective federal

“backup” for states that choose not to set up their own

exchanges, are in fact not effective at all but infected

with a fatal flaw, i.e., the unavailability of subsidies.

Congress has never created that kind of false fallback

before, and doing so makes no sense even under

petitioners’ theory. A federal backup that appears

legitimate to the states (and even to members of this

Court) will blunt any incentive to the states to set up

their own exchanges, not encourage state-operated

exchanges.

Congress has in the past employed two different

strategies for encouraging states to implement federal

programs. Congress sometimes encourages state

action by conditioning federal grants on state

implementation of a federal regime, see New York, 505

U.S. at 167, as in the Medicaid statute. See 42 U.S.C.

§1396c. Congress has also encouraged state action by

giving states a choice between regulating an activity

themselves and having the federal government

regulate instead, in essence providing alternative

14

federal and state means for furthering the federal

government’s policy objectives. See New York, 505 U.S.

at 167-68.

The ACA’s provision for FFEs appears on its face to

be an example of the latter, federal-fallback approach.

As explained in a dissenting opinion in NFIB:

“[Blecause Congress thought that some States might

decline federal funding for the operation of a ‘health

benefit exchange,’ Congress provided a _ backup

scheme; if a State declines to participate. ., the

Federal Government will step in and operate an

exchange in that State.” NFIB, 132 S. Ct. at 2665

(Scalia, Kennedy, Thomas and Alito, JJ., dissenting).

Petitioners’ carrots-and-sticks theory, however, leads

to the conclusion that the ACA’s exchange system is

not the federal “backup” everyone has understood it to

be but is instead an entirely new scheme, previously

unknown: A coercive choice masquerading as a federal

fallback. Without subsidies, FFEs will never function

as effective exchanges, leaving FFE states worse off

than before the ACA’s enactment by exposing their

individual insurance markets to “death spiral”

pressures. See, e.g., Br. Amicus Curiae of Am.’s Health

Ins. Plans (AHIP). Thus, although ACA Title I appears

to give states a classic choice between setting up their

own exchanges or having an equally effective federal

“backup” set up for them, under petitioners’ theory

the ACA’s federal-fallback option is essentially a

sham disguising a “set-up-exchanges-or-else” coercive

choice.

Petitioners do not cite any examples of similar false-

fallback regimes in other statutes, and amici are

not aware of any. Petitioners’ amici do cite some

prototypical federal “backup” provisions, but in all

15

those statutes the federal fallbacks are real: If

states decline to regulate themselves, the federal

government steps in in a manner that achieves

Congress’s policy goals and ensures no state’s citizens

are “left out in the cold.” NFIB, 132 S. Ct. at 2665

(Scalia, Kennedy, Thomas and Alito, JJ., dissenting);

see 42 U.S.C. §7410(c)(1) (Clean Air Act); 47 U.S.C.

§252(e)(5) (Telecommunications Act); 21 U.S.C.

§661(c) (Wholesome Meat Act (WMA)); 29 U.S.C. §667

(OSHA).‘ In none of the cited statutes does the federal

government leave a state’s citizens unprotected and

outside of the federal scheme—or, indeed, worse off—

as a consequence of the state’s allowing for federal

regulation.

Nor do petitioners explain why Congress would have

acted so illogically—and would have wasted its time—-

by creating a false federal fallback. For one thing, it is

an inefficient and confusing waste of resources to

legislate an at-best useless institution. For another, a

federal backup, like an FFE, that appears effective

will blunt any incentive for states to set up their own

exchanges: if states believe there is a federal-fallback

option on which they can rely, they have less reason to

incur the cost and responsibility of implementing the

federal regime themselves. Thus, if Congress’s goal

was, as petitioners claim, to use subsidies as an

incentive, it was illogical for Congress to provide a

* See also, e.g., Fargo Packing Corp. v. Hardin, 312 F. Supp.

942, 945 (D.N.D. 1970) (federal government subjected state to

regulation under WMA); In re Starpower Commc’ns, LLC, 15

F.C.C.R. 11277 (2000) (FCC asserted jurisdiction under Telecom-

munications Act after state failed in its responsibility); 79 Fed.

Reg. 49,465 (Aug. 21, 2014) (proposed rejection of Arizona safety

standard “to allow OSHA to enforce Federal. . standards”); 71

Fed. Reg. 25,328 (Apr. 28, 2006) (federal emissions regulation

following states’ failure to regulate).

16

federal fallback, especially one that appeared even to

members of this Court to play an effective operational

role. See NFIB, 132 S. Ct. at 2664—65.

C. Other ACA Provisions Make No Sense

Under Petitioners’ Theory.

Several more of the ACA’s provisions are

inconsistent with petitioners’ theory.

First, ACA $1321 informs the states that they have

the “flexibility” to “elect” whether to set up their own

exchanges and indicates as well, using the word “such”

to refer back to “required Exchange,” that states

will not face adverse consequences for deciding

against state-operated exchanges. 42 U.S.C. §18041.

Under petitioners’ theory, however, these references to

“flexibility,” state “electlion],” and equally effective

FFEs are false and misleading: FFEs are not equally

effective, and the “flexibility” to choose between a

functioning healthcare system and an insurance-

market death spiral is no real flexibility at all.

Second, the ACA’s employer mandate is at odds with

petitioners’ theory.

If petitioners’ argument is correct, then the ACA

gives many large employers an incentive to lobby

against state-operated exchanges, which makes no

sense if Congress so strongly preferred them. As

petitioners point out, under their theory penalties

for violating the ACA’s employer mandate will not

apply in FFE states because the penalties are imposed

only if a “tax credit or cost-sharing reduction is allowed

or paid” to an employee. 26 U.S.C. §4980H(a), (b).

This gives employers an incentive to lobby for

FFEs and against state-operated exchanges, and

petitioners never explain why Congress would

17

have created that incentive if it in fact wanted to

encourage such exchanges.

And the way petitioners’ theory interacts with the

employer mandate is even more irrational and

counterproductive than that. For an employer will still

face penalties for its entire operation if even one of

its employees receives a subsidy. This means, under

petitioners’ theory, that an FFE-state employer

employing anyone who resides in a state that operates

its own exchange risks substantial penalties (i.e., if

that out-of-state employee receives a subsidy), while

another employer in the same state risks no penalties

if it employs only in-state residents. This outcome

makes no sense in relation to any imaginable policy

goals, and Congress cannot be assumed to have

intended such a bizarre result, which would present

employers with irrational competitive advantages

or disadvantages based on location within a state

(i.e., near or far from state borders) and on the

happenstance of where employees reside, and would

undermine efficient operation of interstate labor

markets by promoting job discrimination on the basis

of state residence.*

Third, the ACA’s provisions regarding “qualified

individualls]” provide more _ evidence against

petitioners’ theory, as demonstrated by the fact

that petitioners abandon any effort at consistent

statutory construction in explaining those provisions.

Petitioners’ leading argument on the qualified-

individual issue is that the term “Exchange” should be

5 Cf. Rewis, 401 U.S. at 812 (rejecting idea that Congress would

“produce situations in which the geographic origin of customers,

a matter of happenstance” would define significant federal

liabilities given “the ease . . . [of] travel and the existence of mar y

multi-state metropolitan areas”).

18

equated with “state established” for purposes of the

qualified-individual definition, see Petitioners’ Br. 48,

but not equated with “state established” in the

statutory provision for FFEs. Jd. 12. Contra, e.g.,

Maracich v. Spears, 133 S. Ct. 2191, 2205 (2013)

(statutory terms should be read consistently with one

another). And petitioners’ next argument—that non-

qualified individuals may purchase insurance on the

exchanges—flies in the face of ACA §1331(eX2), 42

U.S.C. §18051(e)(2), which equates being “treated as a

qualified individual” with being “eligible for

enrollment . . through an Exchange.” Contra, e.g.,

Maracich, 133 S. Ct. at 2205.

Fourth, ACA §1311(d)(1) must be re-written to

accommodate petitioners’ theory. Section 1311(dX1)

“require[s}” that “[a]n Exchange shall be a governmental

agency or nonprofit entity that is established by a

State.” 42 U.S.C. §18031(d\1) (emphasis added). That

requirement is consistent with §1321(c)(1)’s provision

for FFEs if, as respondents argue, FFEs are

“established by a State” for purposes of the statute

such that creation of an FFE complies with

§1311(d\1)’s_ state-establishment requirement. For

§1311(d\1) to make sense under petitioners’ theory,

however, the section’s reference to “established by the

State” must be deleted entirely and (d\1)’s verb

changed from “shall be” to “shall operate.” See Halbig

v. Burwell, 758 F.3d 390 (D.C. Cir. 2014), vacated, No.

14-5018 (Sept. 4, 2014) (re-writing §1311(d)(1) to

require only that “[aJn Exchange shall operate as a

governmental agency or nonprofit entity”). Contra,

e.g., Hall v. United States, 132 S. Ct. 1882, 1893 (2012)

(“[I]t is not for us to rewrite the statute.”); Ransom v.

FIA Card Servs., N.A., 131 S. Ct. 716, 724 (2011)

(“(Wle must give effect to every word of a statute

19

wherever possible.”) (quoting Leocal v. Ashcroft, 543

U.S. 1, 12 (2004)).

Fifth, the ACA’s interim high-risk pool for

consumers with pre-existing conditions is yet another

statutory provision that makes no sense under

petitioners’ theory. To ensure “[ijmmediate access” to

insurance for consumers with pre-existing conditions,

Congress created a temporary high-risk pool for that

group. 42 U.S.C. §18001. Congress provided that the

pool would sunset in January 2014 when consumers

could “[t]Jransition to exchange” coverage and in-

structed the Secretary to adopt transition procedures

to “ensure . . . no lapse in coverage.” Jd. §18001(gX3).

Congress’s plan for high-risk consumers works if

subsidies are available in all states because consumers

with pre-existing conditions can use subsidies to

transition to affordable exchange coverage everywhere.

But Congress’s plan falls apart under petitioners’

theory because if subsidies are unavailable in FFE

states, then the cost of insurance in those states will

skyrocket, effectively guaranteeing the “lapse in

coverage” Congress promised to prevent. See also 42

U.S.C. §18002(a)(1) (similar January 1, 2014 sunset

for temporary reinsurance program for early retirees).

Sixth, the ACA’s “[t]ransitional” reinsurance, risk

corridor, and risk adjustment programs cannot

operate as intended under petitioners’ reading.

Congress created those programs to help “stabilize

premiums .. during the first 3 years of operation of

an Exchange.” 42 U.S.C. §§18061(a), (c)(1A). The

programs operate identically in every state, which

makes sense if subsidies are available everywhere but

not if subsidies are unavailable in FFE states such

that insurance markets will function and premiums

20

fluctuate much differently in FFE states than in states

with their own exchanges.

Finally, ACA §1311(f), which provides for regional

or interstate exchanges, further undercuts petitioners’

theory that the phrase “established by the State” in

the tax-subsidy provisions excludes FFEs. Section

1311(f) provides that one exchange may operate in

multiple states if the states agree and the Secretary

approves. See 42 U.S.C. §18031(f). But if petitioners’

understanding of “established by the State” is correct,

then the citizens of some member states in interstate

exchanges will likely have no access to subsidies, e.g.,

if their states joined already-established exchanges.

Since that result makes no sense, the better reading of

§1311( is that Congress intended all exchanges

created under the ACA to be “established by the State”

for purposes of the tax subsidy provisions.

To say the least, petitioners’ carrots-and-sticks

theory runs counter to myriad ACA terms.

lil. PETITIONERS’ THEORY CONTRAVENES

CONGRESS’S PURPOSES IN ENACTING

THE ACA.

Petitioners’ theory runs counter to Congress’s stated

purposes in enacting the ACA as well. Congress passed

the ACA to “increase the number of Americans covered

by health insurance and decrease the cost of health

care.” NFIB, 132 S. Ct. at 2580. Yet, under petitioners’

theory, the ACA will lead to fewer insured Americans

and more expensive healthcare in FFE states.

As described by respondents and amicus AHIP, the

ACA’s market reforms, which apply in all states,

tend to encourage adverse selection if they stand

alone. When individuals are guaranteed the ability to

purchase insurance at a set price not based on their

21

individual health, many will “wait to purchase

health insurance until they need[} care.” 42 U.S.C.

§18091(2)(1). The remaining pool of insureds will then

skew toward the less healthy.

Adverse selection, in turn, will lead to higher

premiums for the entire pool, and higher premiums

will drive even more relatively healthy consumers

from the insurance market. The dynamic will feed on

itself, forcing premiums ever higher and the insured

population ever lower.

When the ACA functions as intended, its individual-

mandate and tax-subsidy provisions work to prevent

this “death spiral.” By requiring individual insurance

coverage and subsidizing that coverage, the mandate

and tax subsidy provisions work together to keep

healthy consumers in the market. They curb adverse

section and protect states from its adverse

consequences.

Under petitioners’ carrots-and-sticks theory, how-

ever, FFE states are left with unchecked adverse

selection. FFE states must abide by the ACA’s market

reforms but without subsidies and an effective

individual mandate. Inevitably, FFE states will

experience what Washington State and others

experienced in the 1990s, namely, fewer insureds and

higher premiums—making the ACA a tool, in FFE

states, for achieving the exact opposite of Congress's

stated goals.

IV. PETITIONERS’ THEORY IS CONTRARY

TO THE ACA’S LEGISLATIVE HISTORY.

Nor can petitioners’ carrot-and-sticks theory be

reconciled with the ACA’s legislative history, which

contains no mention of petitioners’ posited design,

much less the kind of controversy one would expect to

22

accompany such a novel and heavy-handed effort at

state coercion. Rather, the ACA’s legislative history

shows that Congress both thought it possible that the

federal government would set up exchanges and,

notwithstanding that possibility, expected subsidies to

be available in every state.

On the Senate side, Senators Orrin Hatch and Max

Baucus spoke in December 2009 about the ACA’s

provision for FFEs and made clear that they viewed

FFEs as a very real possibility. Senator Hatch objected

in strong terms to what he expected to be the federal

government’s role in operating FFEs and described

that federal role as a reason to reject the statute. See

155 Cong. Rec. $13,714, 13,726 (daily ed. Dec. 22,

2009). Senator Baucus, on the other hand, emphasized

the statute’s provision for FFEs as ensuring its

constitutionality. 155 Cong. Rec. $13,796, 13,832

(daily ed. Dec. 23, 2009).°

Simultaneous with this discussion of FFEs as a very

real possibility, various senators made clear their

understanding that tax subsidies would be available

in each state. E.g., 155 Cong. Rec. $12,356, 12,358

(daily ed. Dec. 4, 2009) (statement of Sen. Bingaman)

(ACA creates a “new health insurance exchange in

each State which will provide Americans

refundable tax credits to ensure that coverage is

® Senator Hatch’s December 2009 statement also drew a sharp

contrast between the ACA’s exchange provisions and the type of

conditional-grant legislation that petitioners claim those

provisions to be. Senator Hatch noted that in the past Congress

had “encouraged States to pass legislation,.. bribed them, .. .

even extorted them by threatening to withhold federal funds.” See

155 Cong. Rec. at 13,726. But he described the ACA as different

in that it provides for FFEs as a federal fallback. Jd.

23

affordable”); 155 Cong. Rec. $13,345, 13,375 (daily ed.

Dec. 17, 2009) (statement of Sen. Johnson) (the ACA

“will. . form health insurance exchanges in every

State” that will “provide tax credits to significantly

reduce the cost of purchasing .. coverage.”). That

understanding makes sense only if the senators

expected subsidies to be available via FFEs.

The House record is similar. In March 2010,

Representative Phil Roe noted that “[t)hirty-seven

States” were “proposing legislation to opt out” of

implementing ACA provisions if the statute were to

pass. 156 Cong. Rec. H1854, 1888 (daily ed. Mar. 21,

2010). At the same time, House members stated their

understanding that citizens would be able to “shop for

more affordable coverage on exchanges set up by

states or the Federal Government.” Jd. at 1871

(statement of Rep. Maloney). Of course insurance

would be “more affordable” only with subsidies.

Petitioners and their amici cite ACA precursor bills

as legislative history supporting their theory, but

those bills, too, aid the government’s position. For

example, when the Affordable Health Choices Act

(AHCA), passed by the Senate HELP Committee,

conditioned subsidies on states adopting certain

protections for their public employees, it did so in clear

language entirely unlike the ACA language on which

petitioners rely. See AHCA, S. 1679 111th Cong. 3142

(2009) (adding §3104 to the Public Health Service Act).

In the same section of the bill that called for “federal

fallback” exchanges, AHCA provided that citizens in

federal fallback states “shall be eligible for credits .

if the State agrees to make employers that are State

or local governments subject to sections 162 and 163 of

the [AHCA].” Id. (§3104(d)(1D)) (emphasis added).

Moreover, neither AHCA nor America’s Healthy

24

Future Act of 2009 (AHFA), passed by the Senate

Finance Committee, drew any distinction between

state-operated exchanges and FFEs with respect to

subsidies, so neither is a model for petitioners’ vision

of the ACA. See AHCA, S. 1679; AHFA, S. 1796, 111th

Cong. (2009) (not providing for FFEs at all).

Against this legislative history supporting

respondents’ view, petitioners and their amici cite two

irrelevant documents.

Senator Ben Nelson’s statement that he opposed a

“national exchange” that might “start us down the

road of.. a single-payer plan,” Carrie Budoff Brown,

Nelson: National exchange a dealbreaker, Politico,

Jan. 25, 2010, says nothing at all about support for

conditioning subsidies on state-operated exchanges.

Senator Nelson plainly opposed a policy solution akin

to that found in an earlier House bill, which would

have created a single national exchange through

which the federal government could “negotiate and

enter into contracts with [qualified insurance plans)”

on a nationwide basis. H.R. 3962, 111th Cong. §301

(2009) (as introduced in House). But the ACA, unlike

that House bill, requires separate state-by-state

exchanges, prevents the federal government from

negotiating with insurers on a nationwide basis,

grants states the first opportunity to create exchanges,

and defers to state policies in important areas even in

FFE jurisdictions, see 42 U.S.C. §§300gg(a)(2),

18021(aX1C)i), 18023(a)(1). Thus, Senator Nelson’s

opposition to a solution like that found in the earlier

House bill provides no insight into his position

regarding the very different ACA.

Indeed, it is counter-intuitive to think that Senator

Nelson, who opposed a single national exchange

because he feared federal over-reaching, would have

25

supported a federal power to coerce states to set up

their own exchanges by threatening to destroy their

insurance markets if they did not.

Petitioners’ second document, a letter from

Representative Lloyd Doggett and other Texas

Democrats, is equally irrelevant. The Doggett letter

expresses concern that the Senate version of

healthcare reform, unlike the House version that

created a “single, national health insurance

exchange,” would allow “indifferent state leadership”

to “administer” “weak, state-based exchanges,” which

would “fracture the market. . especially .. if the

state sets up multiple exchanges.” U.S. Rep. Doggett:

Settling for Second-Rate Health Care Doesn’t Serve

Texans, My Harlingen News (Jan. 11, 2010),

http://www.myharlingennews.com/?p=6426, archived

at http://perma.cc/2K3C-CFP6. The authors explained

that when “states face difficult budget years,” they

sometimes cut funding for healthcare programs, and

the “same result” could befall exchanges. Jd.

As the text of the letter reflects, Representative

Doggett and his co-signatories sought to ensure

effective operations even where state officials might

not want to operate effective exchanges; their letter

supports the need for effective FFEs. The letter, like

Senator Nelson’s statement, says nothing about the

idea of limiting subsidies to states’ operating their own

exchanges, and its one reference to FFEs implies no

difference between them and __state-operated

exchanges. Id.

V. THE STATES DID NOT INTERPRET THE

ACA AS PETITIONERS DO NOW.

If, as petitioners claim, the ACA’s tax subsidies are

“obvious[ly]” not available in FFE jurisdictions,

26

Petitioners’ Br. 20, one would expect the states to have

discussed that important fact at length when deciding

whether to set up their own exchanges. Instead, the

record of state decision-making indicates that most

states never considered the possibility that subsidies

might be unavailable in FFE states, and there is no

evidence showing that any state made its decision on

the basis of petitioners’ theory.

Under the ACA, each state had to decide whether to

operate its own exchange or to opt for an FFE, and

state officials, legislators, and contractors created a

written record of their decision-making processes.

Most states created committees to consider their

options, and in at least 20 States, a comprehensive

report was prepared for the governor, state

legislature, or other responsible entity. Some state

governments also or alternatively published partial or

tentative reports, statements to their citizens

regarding the state’s decision, or other documents

related to the exchange issue. See App.

The authors of this brief reviewed more than one

hundred documents created during the states’

decision-making processes, including documents

linked to on the “State Exchange Profiles” created by

the Kaiser Family Foundation, see, e.g., Kaiser Family

Foundation, State Exchange Profiles: Kansas (Mar. 21,

2013), http://kff.org/health-reform/state-profile/state-

exchange-profiles-kansas/, and documents we found

by searching state web domains. In total, we reviewed

190 relevant documents from 46 States (plus the

District of Columbia). See App. (listing reviewed

documents).’

’ Specifically, we reviewed all Kaiser-linked documents created

by or on behalf of state governments before January 1, 2013 that

27

Fifty of the documents we reviewed pre-date August

17, 2011, when IRS first proposed the rule at issue.

Not one of those documents mentions that subsidies

might be available only via state-operated exchanges,

while many suggest the opposite.

For example, in March 2011, the South Carolina

Department of Insurance presented to a state

legislative committee about the ACA, and in doing so,

explained both that the federal government would

establish an exchange if the state did not and, without

drawing any distinction between state-operated

exchanges and FFEs, identified as a “Minimum

Exchange Function|[]” the transmission of information

about individuals “eligible for a tax credit.”*

Similarly, an August 15, 2011 Arizona document

calling for contract proposals explains that the ACA

requires creation of an exchange in “each state, either

by the state or by the federal government, [which)

would perform a variety of functions, including

offering residents of each state the means to... receive

subsidies if eligible.”

discuss creation of individual exchanges. We then searched each

state’s web domain for additional documents (e.g., by searching

for pages containing “exchange,” “insurance,” and “subsidy”

within kansas.gov) and reviewed those additional documents

that appeared most likely to be relevant.

® S.C. Dep't of Ins., The ACA’s Impact on Ins. Regulation,

Presentation to Senate Banking & Ins. Comm., 8, 15 (Mar. 23,

2011), available at http://doi.sc.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2472,

archived at http://perma.cc/4PHV-E4R5.

® Ariz. Health Care Cost Containment Sys., Notice of Request

for Info. 3 (Aug. 15, 2011), available at http://www.azahcccs.

gov/commercial/Downloads/Solicitations/Open/RFIs/YH 12-

0013/YH12-0013.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/W9BN-PE68.

28

And in January 2011, Alaska’s healthcare

commission wrote:

A Health Insurance Exchange will be

established for every state by 2014.

The federal government will establish

Exchanges for the states in which the State

government chooses not to participate. .

The premium credits will be advanceable and

available for purchase of insurance through

the Exchange. In addition to premium credits,

cost sharing subsidies will be provided to

individuals and households whose income is

between 100% - 400% FPL."®

The Alaska report makes no mention of what would

have been, if petitioners are correct, the salient point

that subsidies would be available only on state-

operated exchanges."’

‘© Alaska Health Care Comm'n, Transforming Health Care in

Alaska 15-16 (Jan. 2011) (emphasis added), available at

http://dhss.alaska.gov/ahcc/Documents/2010_report.pdf,

archived at http//perma.cc/5R6C-23M7.

'! See also Milliman, Inc., N.C. Health Benefit Exchange Study

19 (Mar. 31, 2011), available at http://www.nciom.org/wp-

content/uploads/20 10/12/Health-Benefits-Exchange-Study-

DRAFT-4-2011-03-31-FULL-REPORT.pdf, archived at http://per

ma.cc/Y6FF-64XX (also mentioning FFEs without discussing the

asserted unavailability of subsidies); Fed. Healthcare Reform:

Exchange Planning Symposium, Background Information and

Requested Stakeholder Input 1 (Feb. 14, 2011) (same), available

at www.politico.com/pdf/PPM170_symposium_background. pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/RAGA-LE2F.

29

Some states consulted business and employer

groups during this period, and although such groups

were presumably well advised and would have been

interested in the issue petitioners raise, none of their

comments reflect any understanding that subsidies

might be unavailable in FFEs jurisdictions. In New

Jersey, for example, employers participated in a

series of fora ending in April 2011 and “agreed

that New Jersey should create its own exchange” in

order to retain “regulatory authority” without

mentioning that subsidies might be limited to state-

operated exchanges.'* The same employer perspective

is reflected in similar compilations from other

states, including statements from the Denver

Chamber of Commerce and the National Federation of

Independent Businesses."

And the same pattern continues in later state

documents. Several states, including amici Indiana

and Oklahoma, submitted comments after IRS

proposed the regulation at issue. None of those

comments doubt the proposed regulation’s correctness

12 See Maureen Michael, M.G.A., et al., Stakeholder Views

about the Design of Health Ins. Exchanges for N.J.: Volume II i,

19-25 (Aug. 2011), available at http//www.cshp.rutgers.edu/

Downloads/9000.pdf, archived at http://perma.ce/3HN8-NE68.

'3 See State of Colo., Stakeholder Perspectives: Health Ins.

Exchange Governance and Structure 7, 12-13 (Dec. 2010),

available at http://www.nahu.org/legislative/exchange/HIE%20

Governance%20Structure%20Brief%20Final®201_7_11.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/2HLG-68XX; Me. Joint Select Comm.

On Health Care Reform Opportunities and Implementation,

Health Ins. Exchanges: Written Comments Submitted by

Stakeholders 24-32 (Sept. 21, 2010), available at http://

www.maine.gov/legis/opla/healthreformstakeholdercomments

_pdf, archived at http://perma.ce/2DWM-2JUS.

30

with respect to subsidy availability.‘ Other state

documents either note that subsidies will be available

on both state-operated exchanges and FFEs" or imply

that they will be available on both without suggesting

that the statute supports any other reading."

4 See Ind. Family & Social Servs. Admin., Comment on

Proposed Rule: Health Insurance Premium Tax Credit (Oct. 31,

2011), available at http//www.regulations.gov/#!document

Detail;D=IRS-2011-0024-0133; Okla. Health Care Authority,

Comments on IRS Proposed Rule REG-131491-10 (Oct. 31, 2011),

available at http//www.regulations.gov/#!documentDetail;D

=IRS-2011-0024-0064.

'S See Ga. Health Ins. Exchange Advisory Comm., Report to

the Governor 13 (Dec. 15, 2011), available at https-/

www.statereforum.org/system/files/1797658 13ghix final_report_

to_the_governor.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/9PNY-NX6L

(“Georgians will be eligible for . subsidies whether the

lexchange] in Georgia is established by the state or federal

government.”); HTMS, Health Benefit Exchange Planning

Services: Narrative Summary 5, 46—47 (Dec. 2, 2011), available

at http://Awww.nd.gov/ndins/uploads/18/finalhbeplanningnarr

ative.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/PSY7-37L6 (report by

private firm, contracted by North Dakota Insurance Department,

stating that in a “federally-run exchange,” the federal

government will “transmit[] information necessary to initiate

advance payments of the premium tax credit and cost-sharing

reductions”).

'6 See, e.g.,S.C. Heaith Planning Comm., Improving the Health

Care Marketplace in S.C. 17 (Nov. 2011), available at

http://doi.sc.gov/DocumentCenter/V iew/2534, archived at

http://perma.cc/LD8A-ZRX6 (“[A]n exchange will be established

in each state; if a state chooses not to create its own exchange,

the federal government will operate one in that state. The

exchanges will provide. premium and cost-sharing subsidies

to make health insurance coverage more affordable. ”); Okla.

Legislature, Final Report of the Joint Comm. on Fed. Health Care

Law 18-20 (Feb. 22, 2012), available at http//www.

oksenate.gov/news/press_releases/press_releases_2012/pr2012

0222b.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/99UF-VW9M (listing

31

By contrast, the states did speak bluntly and often

about other perceived advantages and disadvantages

of state-operated exchanges, suggesting they would

have discussed the subsidy issue as well if they

had agreed with petitioners’ reading. For example,

Mississippi's Insurance Commissioner advocated for a

state-operated exchange, while acknowledging that

subsidies would be available even on an FFE, so that

Mississippi could avoid “ced[ing] the regulation of a

large portion of [the] health insurance market to the

federal government.”"’

Only four of the 190 state government documents

we reviewed mention that subsidies might not be

available in FFE states, and none of those documents

aids petitioners’ argument. Two post-date litigation of

the issue so may reflect knowledge of the litigation

rather than any independent statutory assessment,

many reasons for recommending a state-operated exchenge

without any mention of the subsidy issue); N.C. Inst. of Meu .

Examining the Impact of the [ACA] in N.C. 37 (Jan. 2013),

available at http://www.nciom.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/

FULL-REPORT-2-13-2013.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

5X5C-HN59 (mentioning reasons state-operated exchange was

recommended, without mentioning subsidies); South Dakota's

Health Insurance Exchange Planning Effort: Report for

Governor Dennis Daugaard 19 (Nov. 3, 2011), available at

http-//federalhealthreform.sd.gov/documents/exchange_planning

_effort_report.pdf, archived at _ http://perma.cc/223F-G7C3

(describing benefits and advantages of an FFE without

mentioning subsidies).

'’ Press Release, Miss. Health Ins. Exchange Op-Ed from

Comm’r of Ins. Mike Chaney 1-3 (Nov. 20, 2012), available at

https://www.mid.ms.gov/pdf/hc-exchange-oped.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cce/ZEB5-H9PP.

32

and those two documents are of no help to petitioners

in any event.'®

The two documents that pre-date litigation are

equally beside the point. One North Dakota legislator

mentioned a “claim” that subsidies might not be

available in FFE states but did not indicate whether

he agreed with the claim."® And a single New

Hampshire legislator mentioned the idea in a speech

railing against the ACA, long after the New

Hampshire Executive Council effectively had ended

planning for a state-operated exchange.”

'® One, an Idaho report, mentions “talk” about the issue

without expressing a view. Health Ins. Exchange Working Grp.,

Findings 48 (Oct. 30, 2012), available at http://www.

doi.idaho.gov/HealthExchange/Final report.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/S285-UQWG. Another, a letter from a state

official to Secretary Sebelius, mentions the issue but notes that

the author’s state already had decided not to create an exchange

18 months earlier. Letter, Bruce D. Greenstein to Kathleen

Sebelius 1-2 (Nov. 16, 2012), available at http://Awww.dhh.

lovisiana.gov/assets/media/LA Declaration HealthInsuranceExch

anges. pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/PPS6-AP6Z.

'? Health Care Reform Review Comm., Minutes 7 (July 25,

2012), available at http:/Aegis.nd.gov/assembly/62-201 L/interim-

info/minutes/hc072512minutes.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

2DE4-CV52 (“[I)f there is truth to the claim that a federally

administered health benefit exchange would not allow subsidies,

this would be very serious. If this claim is accurate, the State may

need to reconsider state administration.”).

*° Compare 34 House Record 18, 28-29 (N.H. Mar. 7, 2012),

available at http//www.gencourt.state.nh.us/house/caljourns/

calendars/2012/houcal2012_18.html, archived at http://perma.

cc/BTZ2-NDXS, with Karen Langley, Council Backs Off Health

Exchange, Concord Monitor (Apr. 14, 2011), available at

http://www.concordmonitor.com/article/251216/council-backs-off-

health-exchange, archived at http://perma.cc/KT8Y-RXZH.

33

In short, we did not find any documents

demonstrating that any state made its decision about

whether to set up an exchange on the basis of

petitioners’ theory.

Petitioners’ amici’s arguments regarding the state

record do not alter the analysis. Six states have

submitted a brief claiming, after the fact, that “the

States were well aware” of the asserted subsidy

incentive, but the brief cites nothing to support the

claim. See Br. of Amici Curiae Oklahoma, et al., 15.

Other amici cite statements made by Idaho’s and

Wisconsin’s governors, which make no mention of the

subsidy issue. See Br. of Amici Curiae Galen Institute,

et al., 13. Missouri Liberty Project’s (MLP’s) claim that

Missourians voted against a state-operated exchange

with full knowledge that they were declining tax

subsidies is also unpersuasive. See. Br. of Amici

Curiae, et al., MLP 14-15 (citing only one article

published after the vote and one op-ed published nine

months earlier in a local publication).*'

The states’ ignorance of the threat supposedly made

to them undercuts petitioners’ claim that the statute

is clear, while demonstrating that petitioners’ theory

would deprive states, retroactively, of the ability to

“exercise their choice knowingly, cognizant of the

2! MLP’s brief makes similar claims about several other states,

but those claims are also not supported by the evidence MLP

cites. See id. 15—17 (citing a newspaper article pertaining to New

Jersey that makes no mention of subsidies being prohibited in

FFE jurisdictions, a New Hampshire article citing only the

president of a local think tank, and a Maine article that describes

it as at-best unclear whether the state’s decision was motivated

by petitioners’ reading of the statute, even after a review of 2,000

pages of administration documents).

34

consequences of their participation.” Pennhurst, 451

USS. at 17.

VI. EVEN PETITIONERS’ SUPPORTERS DO

NOT BELIEVE THE CARROTS-AND-

STICKS THEORY.

Although petitioners claim that Congress intended

to make subsidies available only through state-

operated exchanges, and that a ruling for petitioners

will ensure that the ACA operates as planned, many

of petitioners’ supporters and the statute’s opponents

have described a ruling in petitioners’ favor as a body

blow for the ACA that will “take it down” and from

which it will never recover—hardly a victory for

congressional intent.

Indeed, the death-blow understanding of peti-

tioners’ theory seems to be widespread, and it is

striking that in discussing a statutory-construction

case, petitioners’ supporters and ACA opponents

describe petitioners’ theory (which they did not

advance during earlier debate) as a way to destroy the

statute, rather than as a way to effectuate Congress’s

intent. For example, one senator said recently that a

victory for petitioners would “take [the ACA] down.””

Similarly, Senator John Cornyn said that if the Court

accepts petitioners’ theory, it will deal “a body blow to

Obamacare from which I don’t think it will ever

recover.” And Representative Tom Price, Chairman

22 Greg Sargent, Mitch McConnell: We can’t repeal Obamacare,

but Supreme Court may ‘take it down’ instead, Wash. Post: Plum

Line (Dec. 2, 2014), http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/plum-

line/wp/20 14/12/02/mitch-mcconnell-we-cant-repeal-obamacare-

but-supreme-court-may-take-it-down-instead/.

23 Humberto Sanchez and Niels Lesniewski, Cornyn:

Obamacare Repeal Vote Should Wait, Roli Call: #WGDB (Jan. 8,

35

of the House Budget Committee, has said that this

case presents a “great opportunity”—not to fulfill

Congress’s original intent—but to “unravel [] Obamacare

pretty darn quickly.””

That many of the people who want this Court to

accept petitioners’ theory as being consistent with

Congress’s intent describe it publicly as a way to

destroy the statute and undo wha‘ Congress intended

casts further doubt on petitioners’ post-hoc theory.

2015, 11:16 AM), http://blogs.rollcall.com/wgdb/obamacare-

repeal-vote-should-wait-cornyn/.

* Tom Howell Jr., House Budget chairman: Supreme Court

could unravel Obamacare ‘pretty darn quickly’, Wash. Times,

Jan. 12, 2015, available at http//www.washingtontimes.

com/news/2015/jan/12/tom-price-supreme-court-could-unravel-

obamacare/. See also, e.g., Austin Bordelon et al., The Stage is

Set: Predicting State and Federal Reactions to King v. Burwell 5

(Jan. 2015), available at http//www.healthreformgps.org/wp-

content/uploads/the_stage is_set_federal_and_state_planning_

ahead_of_king v_burwell.pdf (white paper prepared by Leavitt

Partners, the firm of former Health and Human Services

Secretary Michael Leavitt, stating that “[elimination] of

consumer subsidies through the marketplace in 34 states will

deliver a crippling blow to the healthcare law”); Daniel Tyson,

W.Va. man plaintiff in health care case, Register-Herald, Jan. 12,

2015, available at http://www.register-herald.com/news/w-va-

man-plaintiff-in-health-care-case/article_991503a3-3024-539 1-

b5a8-28d2e4a59347.html] (statement by one of the petitioners

that “courts seem to be the only way we are going to eliminate

[the ACA]”).

36

CONCLUSION

Petitioners posit a congressional plan that, if

accepted, would raise constitutional questions and

have deeply serious consequences for federal-

state relations, and thus should be rejected unless

supported by clear congressional intent. Given that

there is no evidence of such clear intent here, the

Fourth Circuit’s decision should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

CLAIRE PRESTEL JUDITH A. SCOTT

DANIEL M. ROSENTHAL Counsel of Record

JAMES & HOFFMAN, P.C. NICOLE G. BERNER

1130 Connecticut Ave., NW, SERVICE EMPLOYEES

Suite 950 INTERNATIONAL UNION

Washington, D.C. 20036 1800 Massachusetts Ave., NW

(202) 496-0500 Washington, D.C. 20036

cpprestel@jamhoff.com (202) 730-7383

judy.scott@seiu.org

WALTER KAMIAT

7305 Alaska Avenue, NW

Washington, D.C. 20012

January 28, 2015

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX

STATE DOCUMENTS REVIEWED

An * indicates a report authored by state officials, or

created at their direction, as part of the state’s deci-

sion-making process regarding exchanges.

ALABAMA

Ala. Office of Consumer Info. and Ins. Oversight, State

Planning and Establishment Grants for the ACA’s

Exchanges, Quarterly Report 2 (Apr. 7, 2011),

available at http://www.aldoi.gov/PDF/Consumers/

SQReport.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/CUZA4-

2T4G

*Robert Carey, Ala.’s Ins. Exchange Roadmap (June

2011), available at http://Awww.insurance.alabama.

gov/PDF/Consumers/Exchange%20Roadmap%20BM

A10T1.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/BY2P-XPX7

Press Release, Governor Bentley Signs Executive

Order Creating Ala. Health Ins. Exchange Study

Comm’n (June 2, 2011), available at http://

governor.alabama.gov/newsroom/20 1 1/06/governor-

bentley-signs-executive-order-creating-alabama-

health-insurance-exchange-study-commission/,

archived at http://perma.cc/N588-ULR2

Executive Order No. 17 (Ala. June 2, 2011), available

at https://web.archive.org/web/201 1080816010 1/

http://governor.alabama.gov/news/news_detail.aspx

?ID=5 164, archived at http://perma.cc/A2ZAF-8CTR

Press Release, Ala. Health Ins. Exchange Study

Comm’n Holds Organization Meeting (Sept. 14,

2011), available at https://web.archive.org/web/

20111205201 702/http://governor.alabama.gov/news

/‘news_detail.aspx?ID=5603, archived at http://

perma.cc/VMK4-3HK,J

2a

*Ala. Dep’t of Ins., Ala. Health Ins. Exchange

Study Comm’n Recommendations (Nov. 2011),

available at https://web.archive.org/web/2012111

6202704/http//www.governor.alabama.gov/pdfs/HIX

StudyCommissionReport.pdf, archived at https://

perma.cc/3D3S-RQLR

State of Ala., Request for Information (Feb. 23, 2012),

available at http://www.aldoi.gov/PDF/Consumers/

RFI-Alabama-HIX-14.pdf, archived at http://perma

.cc/BG2S-VAQ6

State of Ala., Request for Proposal for the Ala. Health

Ins. Exchange Sys. (June 7, 2012), available at

http://www.aldoi.gov/PDF/Consumers/FINAL-Alab

ama-HIX-RFP-v47_acceptedchange. pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/R6EA-XS9L

Press Release, Governor Bentley Announces Ala.

Will Not Set Up State Ins. Exchange (Nov. 13,

2012), available at http://governor.alabama.gov/

newsroom/20 12/1 1/governor-bentley-announces-ala

bama-will-not-set-up-state-insurance-exchange/,

archived at http://perma.cc/2Y9H-3XE2

ALASKA

Deborah Erickson, Overview of Fed. Health Care Re-

form Legis. (May 27, 2010), available at

http://dhss.alaska.gov/Commissioner/Documents/

FederalHealth/5-27-10%200verview%200f%20Fed

%20HC%20Reform%20Law.pdf, archived at http://

perma.cc/F6HS-7CG9

*Alaska Health Care Comm’n, Transforming Health

Care in Alaska (Jan. 2011), available at http://

dhss.alaska.gov/ahcc/Documents/2010_report.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/5R6C-23M7

3a

*Mark A. Foster, Estimated Economic Effects in

Alaska of the PPACA, as Amended (June 30,

2011), available at http://dhss.alaska.gov/ahcc/Docu

ments/MAFA_PPACA AK Estimates _Junellc.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/8Z8R-V2NC

Press Release, Alaska Won’t Fund Exchanges (June

17, 2012), available at https://web.archive.org/web/

20130823 160607/http://www.gov.state.ak.us/parne!

\/press-room/full-press-release.html?pr=6195,

archived at http://perma.cc/PPD8-XPZR

*State of Alaska Dep't of Health and Human Servs.,

Health Ins. Exchange Planning: Final Report (June

21, 2012), available at http://dhss.alaska.gov/

Documents/Pdfs/AKHealthExchangeReport2012.pd

f, archived at http://perma.cc/GG8P-KGYU

ARIZONA

S.B. 1305, 49th Leg., 2nd Reg. Sess. (Apr. 24, 2010),

available at http://www.azleg.gov/legtext/49leg/2r/

bills/sb1305h.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/EB9Z-

WS7M

Ariz. Health Cost Containment Sys., Notice of Request

for Info. (Aug. 15, 2011), available at http://www.

azahcccs.gov/commercial/Downloads/Solicitations/O

pen/RFIs/YH12-0013/YH12-0013.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/W9BN-PE68

Ariz. Governor’s Office, Level One Grant Application

(Sept. 2011), available at https://web.archive.org/

web/20130920185929/http://www.azgovernor.gov/hi

x/documents/Grants/L1EstGrantApp_SubmittedN

OTApproved.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/SDS3-

BESN

4a

Ariz. Office of Consumer Info. and Ins. Oversight,

Quarterly Report (Oct. 15, 2011), available

at https://web.archive.org/web/20120413001627/

http://www.azgovernor.gov/hix/documents/QuickLi

nks/ExchangePlanningGrantReportQ4.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/CWP8-F7QW

H.B. 2783, 50th Leg., 2nd Reg. Sess. (Ariz. 2012),

available at http://)www.azleg.gov/legtext/50leg/2r/

bills/hb2783p.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

DPD5-YFEX

Ariz. Office of Consumer Info. and Ins. Oversight,

Quarterly Report (Jan. 5, 2012), available at

https://web.archive.org/web/20130920190252/http:/

www.azgovernor.gov/hix/documents/QuickLinks/Ex

changePlanningGrantReportFinal.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/V32U-RM2Y

State of Ariz., Health Ins. Exchange: Request for Pro-

posal (Feb. 2, 2012), available at http://www.

azahcccs.gov/commercial/Downloads/Solicitations/Y

H12_0023/AZ_HIX_RFPSoliticationNoYH 12-

0023.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/B2V4-9533

Beth Lazare, Ariz. Health Care Cost Containment

Sys., Health Ins. Exchange and ACA Update

(Aug. 23, 2012), available at http://www.azdhs.gov/

diro/documents/forums/2012/health-insurance-

exchange-affordable-care-act.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/45VK-9W2D

Letter, Janice K. Brewer to Gary Cohen (Nov. 28,

2012), available at https://web.archive.org/web/

20130122090103/http://azgovernor.gov/dms/upload/

PR_112812_CohenLetter.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/D67M-E3FE

5a

ARKANSAS

Ark. Ins. Dep’t, Request for Proposal (Jan. 30, 2012),

available at https://web.archive.org/web/20131012

144029/http://hbe.arkansas.gov/RFQ_ID-12-0001.

pdf, archived at http://perma.cce/RRD6-6R8J

Jay Bradford & Cynthia Crone, Ark. Ins. Dep't,

Update on Federally-Facilitated Health Benefits

Exchange Partnership Planning in Ark. (July 18,

2012), available at http://hbe.arkansas.gov/Present

ation.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/A2R4-ETLH

Arkansas Federally-Facilitated Exchange Partnership

Open Marketplace/Active Purchaser Recommenda-

tions (Sept. 17, 2012), available at http://www.

hbe.arkansas.gov/FFE/Plan/Recommendations/9-

17-2012. pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/784G-VV8F

CALIFORNIA

Assembly Bill 1602, 2009-2010 Reg. Sess. (Cal. Sept.

30, 2010), available at http://www.leginfo.ca.

gov/pub/09-10/bill/asm/ab_1601-1650/ab_1602_bill

_20100930_chaptered.html, archived at http://

perma.cc/C3ZY-5J47

Senate Bill 900, 2009-2010 Reg. Sess. (Cal. Sept. 30,

2010), available at http-//www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/

09-10/bill/sen/sb_0851-0900/sb_900_bill_20100930_

chaptered.html, archived at http://perma.cc/J92R-

JZ7F

Cal. Health Benefit Exchange Bd., Minutes (Sept.

18, 2012), available at http://board.coveredca.com/

meetings/2012/10%200ct-30%20Meeting%20Mater

ials/PDFs/TV_HBEX_091812BoardMeetingMinutes

_103012.pdf, archived ot http://perma.cc/9CX8-

C5P7

6a

Cal. Health Benefit Exchange, 2012-2013 Initial

Qualified Health Plan Solicitation to Health

Insurers (Nov. 16, 2012), available at http://

www.oal.ca.gov/res/docs/pdf/emergencies/recent%2

Oaction,%20moved%20emergencies/2013-0703-03

EE _2App.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/Y2D2-

6UDH

COLORADO

*State of Colo., Implementing Health Care Reform:

A Roadmap for Colo. (Dec. 2010), available at

http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite%3Fblobcol%3D

urldata%26blobheader%3Dapplication%252F pdf%2

6blobkey%3Did%26blobtable%3DMungoBlobs%26b

lobwhere%3D1251682472168%26ssbinary%3Dtrue,

archived at https://perma.cc/5M5S-ATQ6

State of Colo., Stakeholder Perspectives: Health Ins.

Exchange Governance and Structure (Dec. 2010),

available at http://www.nahu.org/legislative/exch

ange/HIE%20Governance%20Structure%20Brief%

20Final%201_7_11.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

2HLG-68XX

Senate Bill 11-200, 68th Gen. Assembly (Colo. June

1, 2011), available at http://www.leg.state.co.us/

clics/clics201 1a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont/7233327000DC9A

078725780100604CC4?0pen&file=200_ren. pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/LJ2D-JLQS

CONNECTICUT

An Act Establishing a State Health Ins. Exchange,

Pub. L. No. 11-53 (Conn. July 1, 2011), available at

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/ACT/PA/2011PA-00053-

ROOSB-00921-PA.htm, archived at http://perma.cc/

Q8WY-MK3E

Ta

*Conn. Health Ins. Exchange, Exchange Plan: Rec-

ommendations for the Successful Implementation of

the Conn. Health Ins. Exchange (Feb. 1, 2012),

available at http://www.healthreform.ct.gov/ohri/

lib/ohri/exchange/1-19-12/exchange_plan_-_draft1

_19_12.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/9VJG-72EF

Conn. Health Ins. Exchange, Bd. of Directors Meeting

(Sept. 27, 2012), available at https://jwww.state

reforum.org/sites/default/files/postingbod_meetings

lides_92712 final_pvl-5ii.pdf, archived at http://

perma.cc/GEX8-LHDS

Conn. Health Ins. Exchange, Plan Mgm’t Overview

(Oct. 10, 2012), available at http://www.ct.gov/

hix/lib/hix/Memo_Plan_Management_Overview_ 10

1512.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/RU5C-S8E2

DELAWARE

Del. Health Care Comm’n, Del. QHP Certification

Standards (Nov. 1, 2012), available at http://

dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dhcc/files/certificationstand

ardsNovl.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/6L2D-

U626

Letter, Jack A. Markell to Kathleen Sebelius (Nov. 14,

2012), available at https://web.archive.org/web/

20130115185927/http://www.healthcare.gov/law/res

ources/letters/de-exchange-letter.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/7M4B-CQMQ

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

D.C. Act. 19-269 (D.C. Jan. 17, 2012), available at

http://www.dcregs.dc.gov/Notice/DownLoad.aspx?N

oticeID=1889092, archived at https://perma.cc/

ZY2J-W7DF

8a

GEORGIA

Executive Order (Ga. June 2, 2011), available at

https://web.archive.org/web/20120813174313/http://

gov.georgia.gov/vgn/images/portal/cit_1210/21/41/1

7217485106_02_11_01.pdf, archived at http://perma

cc/9YJH-8NCH

*Ga. Health Ins. Exchange Advisory Comm., Report to

the Governor (Dec. 15, 2011), available at

https://www.statereforum.org/system/files/1797658

13ghix_final_report_to_the_governor.pdf, archived

at http://perma.cc/9PNY-NX6L

Press Release, Ga. Will Not Set Up State Exchange

(Nov. 16, 2012), available at http://gov.georgia.gov/

press-releases/2012-11-16/deal-georgia-will-not-set-

state-exchange, archived at http://perma.cc/NFS5-

QW5L

HAWAII

Act 205 (Haw. July 8, 2011), available at http://www.

capitol. hawaii.gov/session201 1/bills/GM1309_.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/TB4K-N6AZ

Press Release, Governor Affirms Commitment to a

State-Based Health ins. Exchange (June 13,

2012), available at http://archive2014.abercrom-bie

-hawaii.gov/blog/governor-affirms-commitment-to-

a-state-based-health-insurance-exchange/, archived

at http://perma.cc/3.J94-56NE

IDAHO

S.B. 1115, 61st Leg., Ist Reg. Sess. (Idaho Apr. 1,

2011), available at http://www.legislature.idaho.

gov/legislation/2011/S1115.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cce/73LN-3KBA

9a

Executive Order 2011-03 (Idaho Apr. 20, 2011),

available at http://gov.idaho.gov/mediacenter/exec

orders/eol l/eo_2011_03.html, archived at http://

perma. cc/K42R-MR82

Press Release, Governor Opts to Seek Fed. Funding

for Implementing State-Based Health Exchange

(Sept. 20, 2011), available at http://gov.idaho.gov/

mediacenter/press/pr201 1/prsept11/pr_053.html,

archived at http://perma.cc/BRFQ-9AXY

Draft Legis. Regarding Idaho Health Ins. Exchange

(Nov. 9, 2011), available at http://www.legis

lature.idaho.gov/sessioninfo/20 1 1/interim/healthcar

e1117_deal2.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/L9QT-

CMZB

Press Release, Idaho’s Next Steps on Obamacare Re-

quire Further Study, Careful Consideration (July

10, 2012), available at http://gov.idaho.gov/media

center/press/pr2012/7Jul/pr_32.html, archived at

http://perma.cc/Y48G-J9K7

*Idaho Health Ins. Exchange Working Grp.,

Findings (Oct. 30, 2012), available at http://www.

doi.idaho.gov/HealthExchange/Final_report. pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/S285-UQWG

Press Release, Governor Opts for State-Based Ex-

change; Legislature Still Must Weigh in on

Health Ins. Issue (Dec. 11, 2012), available at

http://gov.idaho.gov/mediacenter/press/pr2012/12D

ec/pr_64.htm!, archived at http://perma.cc/J292-

5GSK

10a

ILLINOIS

Pub. Act 097-0142 (Ill. July 14, 2011), available ai

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/97/PDF/0

97-0142.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/GV24-

NBPM

Iii. Dep’t of Ins., Performance Progress Report (June

30, 2012), available at http://insurance.illinois.gov/

hiric/ILLevelOneExEstGrantRpt073012.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/7E4T-RGHB

INDIANA

Executive Order 11-01 (Ind. Jan. 3, 2011), available at

http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/20110119-IR-GOV

110047EOA.xml.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

3GW4-Y98Q

State of Ind., Ind. Ins. Market Level One Funding

Solicitation (2011), available at http://www.

statecoverage.org/files/IN_InsuranceMarketGrant]

TGAPSummary_2011.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/D7GW-677G

State of Ind., Quarterly Report: Performance Progress

Report, Ind. Ins. Market, Level One Solicitation

(Oct. 30, 2011), available at http://www.in.gov/

aca/files/HIX_Level_One_Quarterly_Report.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/2T27-BHJL

Letter, Michael A Gargano & Stephen P. Robertson to

Kathleen Sebelius (Jan. 10, 2012), available at

http://www.in.gov/aca/files/Indiana_Exchange_Cert

ification_Application_Comments.pdf, archived at

http://perma.ce/J49T-WTYE

lla

IOWA

lowa Dep’t of Human Servs., lowa Design Review Evi-

dence: State Partnership Model (Nov. 14, 2012),

available at http://www.iid.state.ia.us/sites/default/

files/press_release/2013/02/15/ia_hbe_design_revie

w_section_4_plan_managementl_pd_20878.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/32EL-BPRU

Letter, Terry E. Branstad to Kathleen Sebelius

(Dec. 14, 2012), available at http://Awww.cms.gov/

CCI1O/Resources/Technical-Implementation-Letter

s/Downloads/ia-exchange-letter.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/26VK-TKGY

KANSAS

Kan. Dep't of Ins., Ins. Benefits Exchange: Steering

Committee Notes (Oct. 20, 2011), available at

http://www.ksinsurance.org/hbexplan/files/2011102

4 gpid2 Edited_Steering Committee_10-20-11_not

es.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/Z498-9EUD

Testimony of Ins. Comm’r Sandy Praeger before Spe-

cial Comm. on Fin. Inst. and Ins., Overview of the

PPACA Requirements for the Development and

Implementation of a Health Insurance Exchange,

Exchange Options, and Planning Status Report

(Oct. 24, 2011), available at http://www.ksin

surance.org/hbexplan/files/slcfi/Exchange_Require

ments.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/628R-XM9G

KENTUCKY

Ky. Office of Health Policy, Stakeholder Perspectives

on Health Benefit Exchanges (June 2012),

available at http://healthcarereform.ky.gov/grants/

Documents/Stakeholder®%20Report%2020 12. pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/5SGG-V2S6

12a

Executive Order 2012-587 (Ky. July 17, 2012),

available at http://apps.sos.ky.gov/Executive/Jour

nal/execjournalimages/2012-MISC-2012-0587-2229

43.pdf, archived at http://pe rma.cc/W8JP-FUR6

Press Release, Gov. Beshear Appoints Members to

Health Exchange Bd. (Sept. 18, 2012), available at

http://migration.kentucky.gov/Newsroom/gover

nor/20120918healthboard.htm, archived at http://

perma.cc/SA68-Z5DR

Ky. Health Benefits Advisory Bd., Meeting Minutes

(Dec. 20, 2012), available at http://healthbenefit

exchange.ky.gov/Documents/KHBE%20Advisory%2

OBd%20Mtg%20Minutes%20 12-20-12.pdf, archived

at http://perma.cc/3D5U-9QWL

LOUISIANA

Senate Bill 744, 2012 Reg. Sess. (La. introduced Apr.

3, 2012), available at http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/

View Document.aspx?d=794947, archived at

http://perma.cc/RL69-PQ25

Letter, Bruce D. Greenstein to Kathleen Sebelius,

(Nov. 16, 2012), available at http://www.dhh.louisi-

ana.gov/assets/media/LA_Declaration_HealthInsur

anceExchanges.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

PPS6-AP6Z

MAINE

H.P 1165—L.D. 1582, 125th Leg., lst Reg. Sess. (Me.

July 6, 2011), available at http://www.mainelegis

lature.org/legis/bills/getPDF .asp?paper=HP1165&it

em=2&snum=125, archived at http://perma.cc/

WW8M-R4C6

13a

Comm’r Anne L. Head, Me. Dep’t of Profl and Fin.

Reg., Memorandum Regarding Admin. Rec. on

Structure/Governance (Sept. 13, 2011), available

at http://www.dirigohealth.maine.gov/Documents/

Health®%20Exchange%20recommendation. pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/R94U-JW2P

*Advisory Comm. on Me.’s Health Ins. Exchange, Rec.

Regarding the Maine Health Benefit Exchange

(Sept. 20, 2011), available at http://www.dirigo

health.maine.gov/Documents/Advisory%20Committ

ee%20Report%200n%20Health%20Insurance%20E

xchange%20%28F inal%209-20-11%29. pdf, archived

at http://perma.cce/UQ75-H32X

State of Me., Level One Establishment Grant—

Project Narrative (Sept. 29, 2011), available

at http://www.dirigohealth.maine.gov/Documents/

ME_L1 Project_Narrative_09292011_FINAL.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/E4RX-CL8J

Press Release, Me. Issues Letter to Fed. Health

Officials Opting Out of Health Ins. Exchanges

(Nov. 16, 2012), available at http://content.

govdelivery.com/bulletins/gd/MEGOV-5cfe96#.UKZ

voA8Yogk, archived at http://perma.cc/PGJ9-H5K7

MARYLAND

House Bill 166 (Md. Apr. 12, 2011), available at

http://mlis.state.md.us/201 1rs/chapters_noln/Ch_2_

hbO166T pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/UQH4-

EKA2

Maryland Health Benefits Exchange Bd., Meeting

Minutes (Feb. 14, 2012), available at http://dhmh.

maryland.gov/exchange/pdf/Health%20Benefit%20

Exchange%20Board%20minutes_Feb2012. pdf.

archived at http://perma.cc/6E4K-5PJ8

l4a

House Bill 443 (Md. May 2, 2012), available at

http://mlis.state.md.us/2012rs/bills/hb/hb0443t. pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/VTW7-Q8U4

State of Md., Md. Health Benefit Exchange Level Two

Establishment Grant Application (June 12, 2012),

available at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/exchange/

pdf/Level2_site.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

BAZ2-SNEW

Joint Comm. on Md. Health Benefit Exchange

Financing, Options for Financing the Md. Health

Benefits Exchange (Dec. 1, 2012), available at

http://www.healthreform.maryland.gov/wp-content

/uploads/2012/12/Options-for-Financing-the-Maryla

nd-Health-Benefit-Exchange.Joint-Committee-

Report-and-Recommendations.pdf, arched = at

http://perma.cc/KT98-VPXA

MICHIGAN

Rick Snyder, A Special Message from Governor Rick

Snyder: Health and Wellness (Sept. 14, 2011),

available at _ http://www.michigan.gov/snyder/

0,4668,7-277--262254--,00. html, archived at

http://perma.cc/BUZ2-D5VD

Press Release, Mich. Moves Towards State-Fed. Part-

nership Health Exchanges, Leaves Door Open for

MI Health Marketplace (Nov. 16, 2012), available at

http://www. michigan.gov/snyder/0,4668,7-277-5757

7-290046--,00.html, archived at http://perma.cc/

LUS4-MAC9

MINNESOTA

Executive Order 11-30 (Minn. Oct. 31, 2011), available

at http://mn.gov/governor/images/EO- 1 1-30.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/8PB6-XMGN

15a

*Jonathan Gruber, et al., The Impact of the ACA and

Exchange on Minn. (Apr. 2012), available at

http://mn.gov/commerce/insurance/images/Exch

GruberGormanFinalReport4-12.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/5UPE-R6ZH

MISSISSIPPI

Miss. Ins. Dep't, Application for Cooperative

Agreement to Support Establishment of State-

Operated Health Ins. Exchange (June 29, 2011),

available at http:/Awww.mid.ms.gov/pdf/MS_Exch

ange_Establishment_Grant_Application.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/E4JA-Q95T

Mike Chaney, Miss. Comm’r of Ins., Bulletin Regard-

ing Application Requirements and Appointment

Procedure for Establishment of Health Ins.

Exchange Advisory Bd. and Subcomm. (Oct. 18,

2011), available at http://www.mid.ms.gov.bullet

ins/20119bul.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/B5ZB-

WV32

Miss. Comprehensive Health Ins. Risk Pool Ass’n, Re-

quest for Proposals for a Health Ins. Exchange

Portal (Phase 1) (Nov. 16, 2011), available at

http://www.mshie.org/images/user_files/files/MS%2

OCHIRPA%20EXCHANGE%20PORTAL%20RFP%

2011-16-2011.pdf, archived at _ http://perma.cc/

K63A-WPZS

Presentation, Inaugural Meeting of the Miss.

Health Ins. Exchange Advisory Bd. (Jan. 31, 2012),

available at http://www.mid.ms.gov/pdf/ExcMtg

SlideShow 013112.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

K63A-WPZS

16a

Miss. Comprehensive Health Ins. Risk Pool Ass’n,

Request for Proposals for a Health Ins. Exchange

Portal (Phases 2 and 3) (May 22, 2012), available

at http:/Awww.mshie.org/images/CHIRPA-Associa-

tion_HIX_RFP_002-FINAL-5-22-12_BEF.docx,

archived at http://perma.cc/HP9E-RSCE

Miss. Health Ins. Exchange Advisory Bd., Meeting

Minutes (Nov. 14, 2012), available at http://

www.mid.ms.gov/pdf/ExcAdvBoardMtgMinutes111

42012.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/TF9T-CEE6

Presentation, Miss. Health Ins. Exchange Advisory

Bd. (Nov. 14, 2012), available at http://(www.mid.ms.

gov/pdf/ExchAdvisoryBoadMtgPresentation111420

12.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/6R3M-3NRR

Letter, Mike Chaney to Gary Cohen (Nov. 14,

2012), available at https://www.mid.ms.gov/pdf/

ExchDecLtr.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/FL6W-

ACLE

Press Release, Miss. Health Ins. Exchange Op-Ed

from Comm’r of Ins. Mike Chaney (Nov. 20, 2012),

available at https://www.mid.ms.gov/pdf/hc-exchan

ge-oped.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/ZEB5-

H9PP

MONTANA

House Bill 124, 62nd Leg. (Mont. introduced Dec. 15,

2010), available at http:/Aeg.mt.gov/bills/2011/

hb0199/HB0124 1.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

ZS9A-4ZTQ

House Bill 620, 62nd Leg. (Mont. introduced Mar. 18,

2011), available at http://leg.mt.gov/bills/2011/

hb0699/HB0620_1.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

DC9G-4HR9

17a

Senate Bill 176, 62nd Leg. (Mont. vetoed Apr. 4, 2011),

available at http:/Mleg.mt.gov/bills/2011/sb0199/

SB0176_x.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/VMC9-

FNVR

Senate Bill 228, 62nd Leg. (Mont. vetoed Apr. 13,

2011), available at http:/Meg.mt.gov/bills/2011/

sb0299/SB0228 x.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

XEE4-DBRG

House Joint Resolution 33, 62nd Leg. (Mont. Apr. 29,

2011), available at http://leg.mt.gov/bills/2011/

billpdf/HJ0033.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

TVVS-K4N7

NEBRASKA

Legislative Bill 835, 102nd Leg. (Neb. introduced Jan.

5, 2012), available at http://nebraskalegislature.gov/

FloorDocs/102/PDF/Intro/LB835.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/T95W-4VB2

Legislative Bill 838, 102nd Leg. (Neb. introduced

Jan. 5, 2012), available at http://nebraska

legislature.gov/FloorDocs/102/PDF/Intro/LB838. pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/H2Y6-6Y3E

State of Neb., Request for Proposal (Mar. 12, 2012),

available at http://www.doi.nebraska.gov/rfp/RFP _

12-002Z /RFP_12-002Z1.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/5U4K-LANZ

Neb. Dep’t of Ins., Presentation to the Banking, Fin..,

and Ins. Comm. (Sept. 14, 2012), available at

https://www.statereforum.org/sites/default/files/neb

raska_public_meetings_9-14-12.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/2G5D-2WJR

18a

Neb. Dep’t of Ins., State of Neb.’s Health Ins. Ex-

change: A Presentation to the Public (Sept. 2012),

available at https://www.statereforum.org/sites/

default/files/nebraska_public_meetings_9-14-

12.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/NTH9-JYVP

NEVADA

Senate Bill 440, 76th Sess. (Nev. June 16, 2011),

available at http://Awww.leg.state.nv.us/Session/

76th2011/Bills/SB/SB440_EN.pdf, archived’ at

http://perma.cc/D86C-PAL9

Silver State Health Ins. Exchange, Plan Certification

and Management (Apr. 12, 2012), available at

http://exchange.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/exchangen-

vgov/Content/Meetings/CommitteeRecommendatio

nsApprovedbytheBoard%20April%2012%202012%2

OPCM.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/AGX3-EHE7

Silver State Health Ins. Exchange, Summary of

Recommendations Approved by the Bd. (June 14,

2012), available at https://www.statereforum.

org/sites/default/files/09a-board_approved_recomm

endations.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/XZ8H-

4B53

Silver State Health Ins. Exchange, Design Review Sec.

2.0 Consumer Stakeholder Engagement and Sup-

port (Oct. 4, 2012), available at http://exchange.

nv.gov/uploadedFiles/exchangenvgov/Content/Repo

rts/Design_Review_Evidence_Matrix_2_2012_ 10 0

4. pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/2LG3-2FWG

19a

*Silver State Health Ins. Exchange, Advisory

Comm. Recommendations (Dec. 24, 2012), available

at http//exchange.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/exchange

nvgov/Content/About/Board%20Approved%20Reco

mmendations.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

MUL2-M5VA

NEW HAMPSHIRE

HB 601, 2011 Sess. (N.H. June 22, 2011), available

at http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/legislation/201 1/

HBO0601.html, archived at http://perma.cc/LW8D-

HMG9

Press Release, Governor Lynch’s Statement on Allow-

ing HB 601 to Become Law Without His Signature

(July 14, 2011), available at https://web.archive.org/

web/20110719035104/http://www.governor.nh.gov/

media/news/2011/071411-hb601.htm, archived at

http://perma.cc/T37U-4DDF

34 House Record 18 (N.H. Mar. 7, 2012), available at

http:/Awww.gencourt.state.nh.us/house/caljourns/

calendars/2012/houcal2012 18.html, archived at

http://perma.cc/BTZ2-NDXS

HB 1297, 2012 Sess. (N.H. June 21, 2012), available af

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/legislation/2012/H

B1297.html, archived at http://perma.cc/Y46D-

XYT2

Press Release, First Meeting of Health Exchange

Advisory Bd. (Oct. 31, 2012), available at

http://www.nh.gov/insurance/media/pr/2012/docum

ents/pr_103112.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

RFC7-ALBJ

20a

State of N.H., The ACA in N.H. (Nov. 9, 2012),

available at http:/www.nh.gov/insurance/consume

rs/documents/aca_bullets-faq.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/3W2F-9PE8

NEW JERSEY

Joel C. Cantor, et al., Stakeholder Views about the De-

sign of Health Ins. Exchanges for N.J.: Volume [

(Aug. 2011), available at http://www.cshp.rut-

gers.edu/Downloads/8980. pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/74KV-K8VE

Joel C. Cantor, et al., Stakeholder Views about the

Design of Health Ins. Exchanges for N.J.: Volume

II (Aug. 2011), available at http://www.cshp.

rutgers.edu/Downloads/9000. pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/3HN8-NE68

Joel C. Cantor, et al., Stakeholder Views about the De-

sign of Health Ins. Exchanges for N.J.: Volume II

(Aug. 2011), available at http://www.cshp.rutgers.

edu/Downloads/8990.pdf, archived at http://perma.

cce/Z.CK8-5C9Z

*Joel C. Cantor, et al., Health Ins. Status in N.J. After

Implementation of the ACA (Aug. 2011), available

at http://www.cshp.rutgers.edu/Downloads/8970.

pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/Z6XA-MB4B

*John V. Jacobi, Health Ins. Exchanges: Governance

Issues for NJ. (Sept. 2011), available at

http://www.cshp.rutgers.edu/Downloads/9020. pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/PG9H-KHYC

Rutgers Center for State Health Policy, Summary of

Proceedings: Stakeholder Forums to Discuss Gov-

ernance Options for a N.J. Health Ins. Exchange

(Dec. 2011), available at http://www.cshp.rutgers.

2la

edu/Downloads/9160.pdf, archived at http://perma.

cc/X882-K88A

Assembly Bill 2171, 215th Leg. (N.J. vetoed May 10,

2012), available at http:/Awww.njleg.state.nj.us/

2012/Bills/A2500/2171_R1.HTM, archived at http://

perma.cc/P2KT-VKQN

*John V. Jacobi, Active or Passive: The Role of a New

Jersey Health Ins. Exchange (Aug. 2012), available

at _—http://www.cshp.rutgers.edu/Downloads/9530.

pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/3USQ-ZBUE

*Joel C. Cantor, Preventing Adverse Risk Selection in

N.J.’s Health Ins. Exchange and the Outside Indi-

vidual and Small-Group Markets (Aug. 2012),

available at http//www.cshp.rutgers.edu/Downloads/

9510.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/ZZS6-NQ6V

*Kate Greenwood, The Health Ins. Exchange, the

Medicaid Program, and the Apportionment of

Responsibility for Determining Eligibility and

Effectuating Enrollment in N.J. (Aug. 2012),

available at http://www.cshp.rutgers.edu/Down

loads/9500.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/4DV7-

3X8T

Chris Christie, Message to the Senate Regarding Veto

of Senate Bill No. 2135 (Dec. 6, 2012), available at

http://www.state.nj.us/governor/news/news/552012

/pdf/20121206b_S-2135AV.pdf, archived at http://

perma.cc/7 DG7-JDR4

Senate Bill 2135, 215th Leg. (NJ. vetoed Dec. 17,

2012), available at http://www.njleg.state.nj.us/

2012/Bills/S2500/2135_R1.HTM, archived at http://

perma.cc/R2WN-N849

22a

NEW MEXICO

N.M. Dep’t of Human Servs., N.M. Level 1 Health

Ins. Exchange Establishment Grant (Sept. 2011),

available at https://Aweb.archive.org/web/20111116

2029 15/http://www.hsd.state.nm.us/pdf/hcr/NM%20

Health%20Insurance%20Exchange%20Establishm

ent%20Grant.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/C7T2-

5B23

Press Release, Governor Susana Martinez Announces

Award of Health Ins. Exchange Grant (Nov. 29,

2011), available at http:/Awww.governor.state.

nm.us/uploads/PressRelease/191a415014634aa896

04e0b4790e4768/health®20insurance%20grant%20

11.29. pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/S2ZE-NGQY

*The Hilltop Inst., N.M. Health Care Reform Fiscal

Model: Detailed Analysis and Methodology (Mar.

2012), available at https://web.archive.org/web/

20130319081803/http://www.hsd.state.nm.us/pdf/h

cr/New%20Mexico%20Health%20care%20Reform%

20Fiscal%20Model%20Report.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/WX56-U8Y7

Letter, Susana Martinez to Kathleen Sebelius (Dec.

13, 2012), available at https://web.archive.org/

web/20130115181149/http://cciio.cms.gov/Archive/T

echnical-Implementation-Letters/nm-declaration-

letter.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/BAEL-5MCW

NEW YORK

Press Release, Governor Cuomo Issues Executive Or-

der Establishing Statewide Health Exchange (Apr.

12, 2012), available at http://www.governor.ny.gov/

news/governor-cuomo-issues-executive-order-estab

lishing-statewide-health-exchange, archived at

http://perma.cc/77R8-PFLD

23a

NORTH CAROLINA

*Milliman, Inc., N.C. Health Benefit Exchange Study

(Mar. 31, 2011), available at http://www.nciom.org/

wp-content/uploads/2010/12/Health-Benefits-

Exchange-Study-DRAFT-4-201 1-03-31-FULL-

REPORT.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/Y6FF-

64XX

*N.C. Inst. of Med., Examining the Impact of the

PPACA in N.C. (May 2012), available at

http://www.nciom.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/

FULL-REPORT-2-13-2013.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/5X5C-HN59

N.C. Dep’t of Ins., Level 1 Establishment Cooperative

Agreement Application (Dec. 19, 2012), available at

http://www.ncdoi.com/Smart/Documents/November

%202012%20Level%200ne%20Exchange%20Estab!

ishment%20Cooperative*%20Agreement%20Applica

tion.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/97Z4-GNML

NORTH DAKOTA

House Bill 1126, 62nd Leg. (N.D. May 20, 2011), avail-

able at http:/Awww.legis.nd.gov/assembly/62-2011/

documents/11-8110-05000. pdf?20 150123172423,

archived at http://perma.cc/Q5L5-8KZ8

House Bill 1474, 62nd Leg. (N.D. introduced

Nov. 7, 2011), available at http://www.legis.nd.gov/

assembly/62-201 1/documents/11-8110-05000. pdf

720150123172423, archived at http://perma.cc/RBM

6-L7SY

*HTMS, Health Benefits Exchange Planning Services:

Narrative Summary (Dec. 2, 2011), available at

http://www.nd.gov/ndins/uploads/18/finalhbeplan-

ningnarrative.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/PSY

7-37L6

24a

N.D. Health Care Reform Comm., Minutes (July 25,

2012), available at http:/Negis.nd.gov/assembly/62-

201 1/interim-info/minutes/hc0725 12minutes.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/2DE4-CV52

OHIO

Ohio Health Care Coverage and Quality Council,

Health Benefits Exchange Task Force (Oct. 22,

2010), available at http://www.healthcarereform.

ohio.gov/Documents/HBE%20federal%20req%20an

d%20timeline%2010_22 10%20-%20final. pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/57EB-YFZY

*Milliman, Inc., Assist With the First Year of Planning

for Design and Implementation of a Federally Man-

dated Am. Health Benefits Exchange (Aug. 31,

2011), available at http://Awww.healthtransform

ation.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=bAXaVW0

HZQA%3D&tabid=150, archived at http://perma

.cc/PZ6N-7QP9

*KPMG, State of Ohio Health Ins. Exchange Planning:

Strategic Architecture Blueprints Report (Sept. 13,

2011), available at http://www.healthtransform

ation.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=O046c4hg0

AQM%3D&tabid=150, archived at http://perma.cc/

TQR7-PQ62

*KPMG, State of Ohio Health Ins. Exchange Planning:

Strategic Architecture Roadmap and Budget

Report (Sept. 14, 2011), available at http://www.

healthtransformation.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?filet

icket=8SDAQ4Y-enE%3D&tabid=150, archived at

http://perma.cc/Y3PM-6EWK

25a

Press Release, Ohio Says No to an Obamacare

Health Exchange (Nov. 16, 2012), available at

http://governor.ohio.gov/exchange.aspx, archived at

http://perma.cc/4466-65UG

OKLAHOMA

Press Release, Health Care Law to be Studied Over

Interim (May 18, 2011), available at https://

web.archive.org/web/20110519201724/http://www.o

khouse.gov/OkhouseMedia/ShowStory.aspx?Media

NewsID=4000, archived at http://perma.cc/M6F2-

M2LA

Summary of the Meetings of the Joint Comm. on

Fed. Health Care Law (Sept. 14 and Nov. 3, 2011),

available at http://garystanislawski.net/okhealth

care.info/Presentations/Joint®20Comm%20Fed%20

Health%20Care%20Laws%20summ.pdf, archived

at http://perma.cc/T4WN-GTJE

*Okla. Legislature, Final Report of the Joint Comm.

on Fed. Health Care Law (Feb. 22, 2012), available

at _http://www.oksenate.gov/news/press_releases/

press_releases_2012/pr20120222b.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/99UF-VW9M

Letter, Mary Fallin to Kathleen Sebelius (Nov. 19,

2012), available at http://www.bartlesvilleradio.

com/caffeine/uploads/files/images/Oklahoma%20Let

ter%20to%20Secretary%20Sebelius 1}.pdf, archived

at http://perma.cc/SDD7-H9UC

Press Release, Gov. Fallin: Okla. Will Not Pursue a

State-Based Exchange or Medicaid Expansion

(Nov. 19, 2012), available at http://services.ok.gov/

triton/modules/newsroom/newsroom_article.php?id

=223&article_id=9750, archived at http://perma.cc/

A8NJ-V68T

26a

OREGON

Senate Bill 99, 76th Leg. (Or. June 17, 2011), available

at https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2011R1/Downloads/

MeasureDocument/SB99/Introduced, archived at

http://perma.cc/3ZCQ-3PZV

PENNSYLVANIA

*KPMG, Pa. Ins. Dep’t, Ins. Exchange Planning Over-

view (Nov. 21, 2011), available at https://

www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/document/1

209620/kmpg_report_pdf, archived at

http://perma.cce/F4FV-7Q5T

Pa. Ins. Dep’t, Conceptual Draft of Commonwealth

Health Ins. Marketplace and Exchange Access

Act (Jan. 30, 2012), available at http://www.

phlp.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/Draft-exch

ange-bill-1-31-12.pdf, archived at http://perma

.cc/BETF-4VMS

Pa. Ins. Dep’t, Request for Quotations for Pa. Ins. Ex-

change Planning and Implementation (May 2,

2012), available at http:/Awww.emarketplace.state.

pa.us/FileDownload.aspx?file=6 100022192/Solicitat

ion_0.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/9LKE-JW22

Press Release, Governor Corbett Announces State-

Based Ins. Exchange Decision (Dec. 12, 2012),

available at https://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/

server. pt/document/1305763/governor_corbett_ann

ounces_state-based_insurance_exchange_decision_

pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/4EJL-H5A6

RHODE ISLAND

Executive Order 11-09 (R.I. Sept. 19, 2011), available

at http://Awww.healthcare.ri.gov/documents/Exec%

200rder%2011-09%20as%20Signed.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/J3NS-6G9L

27a

State of R.I., Request for Proposals: Health Ins. Ex-

change Establishment Technical Assistance (Nov. 9,

2011), available at http://www.purchasing.ri.gov/

RIVIP/StateAgencyBids/7449222.PDF, archived at

http://perma.cc/8PP5-JDHV

Letter, Lincoln D. Chafee to Kathleen Sebelius (July

5, 2012), available at http://www.cms.gov/CCIIO/

Resources/Technical-Implementation-Letters/Down

loads/ri-exchange-letter.pdf, archived at http://

perma.cc/DCA5-6Z8L

SOUTH CAROLINA

Executive Order 2011-09 (S.C. Mar. 22, 2010),

available at http://www.scstatehouse.gov/reports

/executiveorders/exor1109.htm, archived at http://

perma.cc/6HB6-A2KG

S.C. Dep’t of Ins., Presentation to Senate Banking &

Ins. Comm., The ACA’s Impact on Ins. Regulation

(Mar. 23, 2011), available at http://doi.sc.gov/

DocumentCenter/View/2472, archived at http://

perma.cc/4PHV-E4R5

Letter, Nikki D. Haley to Jim DeMint (July 2, 2011),

available at http://governor.sc.gov/Documents/

Letter%20to%20Senator%20DeMint.pdf, archived

at http://perma.cc/T42W-9Y74

*S.C. Health Planning Comm., Improving the

Health Care Marketplace in S.C. (Nov. 2011),

available at http://doi.sc.gov/DocumentCenter/View/

2534, archived at http://perma.cc/LD8A-ZRX6

Letter, Nikki D. Haley to Kathleen Sebelius (Nov.

15, 2012), available at http://governor.sc.gov/

Documents/Gov%20Nikki%20Haley%20Letter%20

to%20HHS%20Secretary. pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/7B29-HUTP

28a

SOUTH DAKOTA

State of S.D., Quarterly Report (Oct. 28, 2011),

available at https://web.archive.org/web/20130221

202359/http://healthreform.sd.gov/documents/4thQ

uarterlyExchangePlanningGrantsReport_000.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/BV48-3V7L

*South Dakota’s Health Insurance Exchange

Planning Effort: Report for Governor Dennis

Daugaard (Nov. 3, 2011), available at http://

ederalhealthreform.sd.gov/documents/exchange_p!

anning_ effort_report.pdf, archived at http://perma

.cc/223F-G7C3

Press Release, S.D. Will Not Build Health Ins. Ex-

change (Sept. 26, 2012), available at http://

news.sd.gov/newsitem.aspx7id=13607, archived at

http://perma.cc/8BYA-YBTC

S.D. Div. of Ins., Newsletter (Fall 2012), available at

http://dir.sd.gov/insurance/publications/newsletter_

fall12.pdf, - -chived at http://perma.cc/U6FF-LR45

TENNESSEE

State of Tenn., Quarterly Report (May 2, 2011),

available at https://web.archive.org/web/201110141

644 13/http//www.tn.gov/nationalhealthreform/forms

/planninggrant2ndatr.pdf, archived at http://perma

ce/ 34JT-GG9S

Brian Haile, Ins. Exchanges: What Makes Sense

for Tennessee? (May 24, 2011), available at

https-//web.archive.org/web/20111014164356/http://

www.tn.gov/nationalhealthreform/forms/HC21.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/KG2R-DSS4

29a

State of Tenn., Level 1 Establishment Grant Applica-

tion (Sept. 30, 2011), available at http://www.state

coverage.org/files/TN_level lestablishmentgrant. pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/PBG5-6ZNZ

Tenn. Ins. Exchange Planning Initiative, Best

Alternatives to a Fed. Ins. Exchange in Tennessee:

A Summary of Stakeholder Feedback (Oct. 21,

2011), available at https:/Awww.statereforum.org/

system/files/white_paper_-_final.pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/3HZ6-2667

State of Tenn., Request for Information: Ins. Exchange

Planning Initiative (Oct. 2012), available at

http://tn.gov/generalserv/cpo/sourcing_sub/

documents/RF131865-00709. pdf, archived at http://

perma.cc/MQ43-3GWG

Press Release, Haslam Announces State Will Not Run

Health-Care Exchange (Dec. 10, 2012), available at

https://news.tn.gov/node/10017, archived at

http://perma.cc/L442-KNB4

TEXAS

Fed. Healthcare Reform: Exchange Planning Sympo-

sium, Background Information and Requested

Stakeholder Input (Feb. 14, 2011), available at

http://www.politico.com/pdf/PPM170_symposium_

background.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/R4GA-

LE2F

Letter, Rick Perry to Kathleen Sebelius (July 9, 2012),

available at http://gov.texas.gov/files/press-office/O-

SebeliusKathleen201207090024 pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/2QWN-FMBV

30a

Press Release, Gov. Perry: Texas Will Not Expand

Medicaid or Implement Health Benefit Exchange

(July 9, 2012), available at https://web.archive

org/web/20141117112510/http://governor.state.tx.u

s/news/press-release/17408/, archived at http://

perma .cc/HS84-MBYU

VERMONT

Act 48 (Vt. May 26, 2011), available at

http://www.leg.state.vt.us/docs/2012/Acts/ACT048.p

df, archived at http://perma.cc/5MZ3-P45D

*Senate Comm. on Health and Welfare; Senate Comm.

on Fin.; House Committee on Health Care, Act 48

Integration Report: The Exchange (Jan. 17, 2012),

available at http://hcr.vermont.gov/sites/hcr/files/

RJL%20Final%20Integration%20Report%20Act%2

048%20Exchange.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

4FU7-GCHY

Presentation, Planning Review: Vt. Health Benefit

Exchange (May 10-11, 2012), available at http://

dvha.vermont.gov/administration/hbe-powerpoint-

presentation-for-vermonts-planning-review-with-

hhs-05-2012.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/PF2F-

UUAE

Vt. Exchange Advisory Grp., Minutes (May 14,

2012), available at http://dvha.vermont.gov/admin

istration/hbe-advisory-group-minutes-05-14-12.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/DBB7-RH2V

Presentation, The Vt. Health Benefit Exchange: An

Update for Small Business Owners (Nov. 28, 2012),

available at http://dvha.vermont.gov/administra-

tion/exchange-update-small-biz-11.28.12-final.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/5GBG-3QCD

3la

VIRGINIA

*Va. Health Reform Initiative Advisory Council,

Report (Dec. 20, 2010), available at http://www.na-

hu.org/legislative/exchange/VHRIFINAL122010.pd

f, archived at http://perma.cc/Z935-9USK

House Bill 2434, 2011 Sess. (Va. Apr. 6, 2011),

available at http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.

exe?111+ful+CHAPO823+pdf, archived at http://

perma.ce/JC2W-WSJ4

Cindi B. Jones, The Va. Health Reform Initiative

(Nov. 16, 2011), available at http://hac.virginia

.gov/Committee/files/2011/11-16-11/DMAS_ Virginia

HealthcareReformInitiative.pdf, archived at http://

perma.cc/N8SF-RT42

*Sec. of Health and Human Servs., Report Pursuant

to House Bill 2434: Va. Health Reform Initiative

Advisory Council Recommendations for a Health

Benefit Exchange (2011), available at https://www.

statereforum.org/system/files/report_-_2011_- vhri

_-_health_benefit_exchange -_december_2011.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/8B39-CBFY

Letter, Robert F. McDonnell to Kathleen Sebelius

(Dec. 14, 2012), available at https://delegated

avealbo.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/letter-to-secret

ary-sebelius.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/JD22-

2WVQ

WASHINGTON

Senate Bill 5445, 62nd Leg., 2011 Reg. Sess.

(Wash. May 11, 2011), available at http://

lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/201 1-12/Pdf/Bills/

Session%20Laws/Senate/5445-S.SL. pdf, archived at

http://perma.cc/BD2R-CHU5

32a

House Bill 2319, 62nd Leg., 2012 Reg. Sess. (Wash.

Mar. 23, 2012), available at http://lawfilesext.leg.

wa.gov/biennium/201 1-12/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Law

s/House/2319-S2.SL.pdf, archived at http://perma

.cc/EH98-VZY9

WEST VIRGINIA

Senate Bill 408, 2011 Reg. Sess. (W. Va. Mar. 18,

2011), available at http://www.legis.state.wv.us/

Bill_Text_HTML/2011_SESSIONS/RS/bills/SB408

%20SUB2%20ENR.pdf, archived at http://perma

.cc/42G2-K6VF

WISCONSIN

Executive Order 10 (Wis. Jan. 27, 2011), available at

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/executive_orde

rs/2011_scott_walker/2011-10.pdf, archived at http:

//perma.cc/D2EJ-SSKK

Press Release, Wis. Office of Free Market Health

Care Releases Report on PPACA (Aug. 24, 2011),

available at https:/;www.statereforum.org/system/

files /press_release_gruber_study_august_2011.pdf,

archived at http://perma.cc/M5XN-TEZJ

Press Release, Governor Walker Turns Down

ObamaCare Funding (Jan. 18, 2012), available at

http://walker.wisconsin.gov/newsroom/press-release

/governor-walker-turns-down-obamacare-funding,

archived at http://perma.cc/GQ9K-7F3P

Letter, Scott Walker to Kathleen Sebelius (Nov. 16,

2012), available at https://web.archive.org/web/

20130214040913/http://www.walker.wi.gov/Docume

nts/11.16.12%20Letter%20to%20Secretary%20Sebe

lius.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/E5JG-UQSG

33a

WYOMING

Act 102, 61st Leg., 2011 Reg. Sess. (Wyo. Mar. 10,

2011), available at http://legisweb.state.wy.us/2011/

Enroll/HB0050.pdf, archived at http://perma.cc/

ST9B-LK4M

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.