Amicus Curiae Brief — Kingdomware Techs., Inc. v. United States, 135 S. Ct. 2857 (2015) (No. 14-916)
Supreme Court brief2015
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
AUG 25 2015
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
No. 14-916
In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States
KINGDOMWARE TECHNOLOGIES, INC..,
PETITIONER
v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
RESPONDENT
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT
BRIEF FOR THE AMERICAN LEGION
AS AMICUS CURIAE
SUPPORTING PETITIONER
LINDA T. COBERLY ANDREW C. NICHOLS
Winston & Strawn LLP Counsel of Record
35 W. Wacker Drive STEFFEN N. JOHNSON
Chicago, IL 60601 EIMERIC REIG-PLESSIS
(212) 558-5600 Winston & Strawn LLP
1700 K Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 282-5000
anichols@winston.com
Counsel for Amicus Curiae
QUESTION PRESENTED
The Veterans Benefits, Health Care, and Infor-
mation Technology Act of 2006 provides that con-
tracting officers at the Department of Veterans Af-
fairs “shall award” contracts on the basis of competi-
tion restricted to small businesses owned by veterans
whenever there is a “reasonable expectation” that two
or more such businesses will bid for the contract at “a
fair and reasonable price that offers best value to the
United States.” 38 U.S.C. §8127(d). Citing the Act’s
prefatory clause, however, the Federal Circuit limited
the application of this mandate to situations in which
the Department believes that applying it is necessary
to meet the goals that the Department establishes for
contracting with veteran-owned small businesses.
The question presented is:
Whether the Federal Circuit erred in construing
38 U.S.C. §8127(d)’s mandatory set-aside restricting
competition for Department of Veterans Affairs’ con-
tracts to veteran-owned small businesses as discre-
tionary.
‘i
TABLE OF CONTENTS
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .................ccsssssessseeseees
INTRODUCTION AND INTEREST OF
tierce nnitchinncencsctntmensmeninesneessrecseees
I. The decision below violates this Court’s “long
applied” rule that statutes must be construed
“for the benefit of the veteran.”...........................
Il. Under settled precedent, prefatory clauses
cannot trump operative statutory language. .....
IlI.The decision below is contrary to Congress's
intent of maximizing economic opportunities
for our Nation’s veteranB.......................-cccsscceeeees
A. The VA’s persistent refusal to obey
Congress's command diverts from
veterans up to $10 billion every year. ...........
B. Confirming Kingdomware’s plain reading
of the statute, Congress strove to
overcome the VA’s recalcitrance by
strengthening the law three times.................
TTT instrinteneiitiieniteiniseneiadliiiinndicemipmitimammipieatin
..14
21
23
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
CASES
Ass'n of Am. R.R. v. Costle,
562 F.2d 1310 (D.C. Cir. 1977) ...............ccccceeeees 19
Atl. Richfield Co. v. United States,
764 F.2d 837 (Fed. Cir. 1985).....................ccc0000 19
Boone v. Lightner,
TCE EN Oe 7, 10, 13
Brown v. Gardner,
gy Ee 6, 8, 10-13
Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Res. Def. Council,
Inc.,
Se RR TT cscs iciciiceticiiinmeicibinnniipiinmntiemeins 5
City of Joliet, Ill. v. New West, L.P.,
562 F.3d 830 (7th Cir. 2009) ................ccseseereeeees 20
CMS Contract Mgmt. Servs. v. United States,
745 F.3d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2014).....................0000. 20
Coffy v. Republic Steel Corp.,
LL Cee 7,13
Crawford v. Burke,
Er eee 24
District of Columbia v. Heller,
ee 6, 16-17
Escoe v. Zerbst,
nna 15
Fishgold v. Sullivan Drydock & Repair Corp.,
re 8, 13
Florentine v. Church of Our Lady of Mt. Carmel,
340 F.2d 239 (2d Cir. 1966).............cccceeseccccesseees 19
iv
Hawaii v. Office of Haw. Affairs,
TTC 6-7, 17
Henderson ex rel. Henderson v. Shinseki,
562 U.S. 428 (2011) ...................... 6-7, 9, 11, 13-14
Hooper v. Bernalillo Cnty. Assessor,
| TTA SED 13-14
In re Aldevra,
2011 WL 4826148 (Comp. Gen. Oct. 11, 2011)......
sii eaueiiltepasiphaniininatibatesanerianieeepeitciidiaitaaeaaiieaeiall 4, 20
In re Aldevra,
2012 WL 860813 (Comp. Gen. Mar. 14, 2012) .. 20
Jurgensen v. Fairfax Cnty., Va.,
745 F.2d 868 (4th Cir. 1984) .............ccccccccceeeeeees 19
King v. St. Vincent’s Hosp.,
8 5, 7-8, 10, 13
Kingdomware Techs.—Reconsideration,
2012 WL 6463498 (Comp. Gen. Dec. 13, 2012) .....
spciataiaetnatitaiaitiaiiasiauataiaaa estate tetaeaiaicimaaiiaitaaiatimaneed 22
Lexecon Inc. v. Milberg Weiss Bershad Hynes &
Lerach,
TEER een ne N ae 15
Lopez v. Davis,
TN TE 15
Mach Mining, LLC v. E.E.O.C.,
I: I iccrcninsnienstinasiisintenietienton 15
Nat Wildlife Found. v. Marsh,
721 F.2d 767 (11th Cir. 1983) .....................220++ 19
Parish Oil Co. v. Dillon Cos.,
523 F.3d 1244 (10th Cir. 2008) ..............ccceeeeeee 19
Regan v. Taxation with Representation,
8 ECE 7,13
Russello v. United States,
LL ea ee 24
Scialabba v. Cuellar de Osorio,
a ee ae 17
Shinseki v. Sanders,
TR ERR EE 13
United States v. Rodgers,
oni rnesinnatnniniiniaataiciiatel 24
United States v. White,
2012 WL 4513489 (S.D.N.Y. Oct. 2, 2012) ...10-11
Util. Air Regulatory Grp. v. EPA,
es I TT cnccirrnnsncensecniicnnsesmcnsnseutens 18
White v. United States,
543 F.3d 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2008).....................00000 19
Yazoo & M.V.R. Co. v. Thomas,
a CT dicnuticcnnscsnsvcsccstninsndinnssesdnneeian 18
STATUTORY PROVISIONS
15 U.S.C.
iT ineaaetaineeneniinpaniinieceininemrimeasitiiaimmiatinaitiaalimmmiaalid 2
ETT Re Nera ENT een NTO 3, 23
38 U.S.C.
iT siinsasepdinnneninsenitiaaninensenidnetibiaeianssibdeieeniiieiinusiinis 12
ST cp pep eanendanntestnsnemeanesnmmanmieeiis 3-5, 8, 12, 15, 24
Pub. L. No. 106-50, 113 Stat. 233 2.0.0.0... cece eeceeeeeee 2
Pub. L. No. 108-183, 117 Stat. 26611 ......................0. 2
OTHER AUTHORITIES
ee ED ccncapenseterseneesccssessemmmnennen 6, 10
GAO Report to Congress, 2012 WL 5510908 (Comp.
es a te SI circcnncctincsnensniccninectnenmennnsenes 4, 21
Miller, Kathleen, Dispute Simmers Between VA and
Veteran-Owned Businesses, Wash. Post, 2011
WLNR 23483727 (Nov. 14, 2011).................00006. 22
Scalia, A. & Garner, B., Reading Law (2012)......... 16
Sedgwick, T., A Treatise on the Rules which Govern
the Interpretation and Construction of Statutory
and Constitutional Law (2d ed. 1874)............... 18
Sherman, P., Paved with Good Intentions: Obstacles
to Meeting Federal Contracting Goals for Service-
Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses,
36 Pub. Cont. L.J. 125 (2006)................... 2, 14, 23
Small Business Administration, Veteran-owned
Businesses and their Owners—Data from the
Census Bureau’s Survey of Business Owners (Mar.
ITT incninetccala ined iiertintabaieaamasenabeanitananganbinienaiite 21
Sutherland Statutes & Statutory Constr. (7th ed.
ST iia sipieeaenbtiaianallintninditinieinebinneaeneanmeniieuneines 18
Williams, J.T., Veterans First? VA Should Give Vet
Contracting Program Priority, 47-WTR
Procurement Law. (2012)...............cccccccccccscssesees 22
INTRODUCTION AND INTEREST OF
AMICUS CURIAE’
In a decision that eviscerates the rights of 2.5 mil-
lion veteran-owned businesses to participate in an
important government contract program, a divided
panel of the Federal Circuit violated this Court’s
precedent and Congress’s command that veterans
“shall” participate in the program. That word was
chosen carefully. It was enacted in a third revision
directed specifically to the U.S. Department of Veter-
ans Affairs (“VA”) after it failed to heed Congress’s
first two enactments, which were permissive. Rever-
sal is needed because the Federal Circuit’s decision
flouts two of this Court’s critical canons of statutory
construction—one of which is specially tailored to
veterans—and contravenes the expressly stated in-
tent of Congress. In the process, the court below
snuffed out the rights of veterans to contracts esti-
mated at up to $10 billion per year.
These rights could hardly be more important to
the American Legion’s three million members. Char-
tered by Congress in 1919, the American Legion is a
community-service organization that routinely assists
veterans in matters involving the VA. Among other
services, the American Legion helps veterans transi-
tion to the civilian economy. This is the same critical
transition that Congress sought to ease with the
statutory rights here, which have now been destroyed
by the VA and the majority below.
* The parties have consented to the filing of this brief, and their
letters of consent are on file with the Clerk. See R. 37.3(a). No
counsel for any party has authored this brief in whole or in part,
and no person or entity, other than amicus and its counsel, has
made a monetary contribution intended to fund the preparation
or submission of this brief. See R. 37.6.
2
STATEMENT
1. This case involves the third of three attempts
by Congress to compel federal agencies to favor vet-
erans in awarding government contracts. In its first
attempt, the Veterans Entrepreneurship and Small
Business Development Act (the “1999 Act”), Congress
set an annual goal that at least three percent of
contracts be awarded to service-disabled veteran-
owned small businesses, and required that agencies
falling short of this goal “justiffy]” their failure. 15
U.S.C. §644(g), (h). As Congress explained, it had
“done too little to assist veterans, particularly
service-disabled veterans, in playing a greater role in
the economy *** by forming and expanding small
business enterprises.” Pub. L. No. 106-50 §101(3).
Although the vote was unanimous, some groups,
including the American Legion, expressed concern
that it did not go far enough. See P. Sherman, Paved
with Good Intentions: Obstacles to Meeting Federal
Contracting Goals for Service-Disabled Veteran-
Owned Small Businesses, 36 Pub. Cont. L.J. 125, 130
(2006).
The American Legion proved to be right. It
quickly became clear that the 1999 Act was a failure,
as agencies fell far short of the three percent goal.
Pet. App. 4a. In fact, from 2001 to 2002, the
percentage of contracts awarded to service-disabled
veteran-owned businesses fell—from 0.22 percent to a
mere 0.12 percent. Sherman, supra, at 131.
2. In response to the 1999 Act’s failure, Congress
passed the Veterans Benefits Act of 2003 (the “2003
Act”), which gave agencies substantial flexibility to
favor veterans. The 2003 Act provided that an agen-
cy “may award” a contract while restricting competi-
3
tion to service-disabled veteran-owned businesses.
15 U.S.C. §657f(b) (emphasis added). The only stipu-
lation was what is known as the “Rule of Two”’—
namely, that the agency have “a reasonable expecta-
tion that not less than 2 [such businesses] will submit
offers and that the award can be made at a fair mar-
ket price.” Ibid. This flexible approach failed, too.
By 2005, service-disabled veteran-owned businesses
were receiving barely a half percent of contracts. Pet.
App. 5a.
3. Determined to solve the problem, Congress re-
turned to the drawing board in 2006, this time draft-
ing a law (i)with mandatory provisions,
(ii) benefiting all veteran-owned small businesses,
and (iii) focusing on the VA, which should “set the
example among government agencies.” Pet. App. 5a-
6a, 16a. The result was the Veterans Benefits,
Health Care, and Information Technology Act of 2006
(the “2006 Act”), which, with certain exceptions,
requires the VA to award contracts to veteran-owned
small businesses whenever the Rule of Two is met:
Except as provided in subsections (b) and (c), for
purposes of meeting the goals under subsection
(a), and in accordance with this section, a
contracting officer of the [VA] shall award
contracts on the basis of competition restricted to
small business concerns owned and controlled by
veterans if the contracting officer has a
reasonable expectation that two or more small
business concerns owned and controlled by
veterans will submit offers[.]
38 U.S.C. §8127(d) (emphasis added). By contrast,
the exceptions in subsections (b) and (c) are
discretionary, providing that the VA “may use” other
4
procedures or “may award” contracts to other busi-
nesses (assuming certain conditions apply). Id.
§§8127(b), (c) (emphasis added).
4. Despite the command that the VA “shall” set
aside contracts where the Rule of Two is met, the VA
refused. Between 2011 and 2012, the Government
Accountability Office (“GAO”) sustained 18 bid
protests on the ground that the VA awarded contracts
to non-veterans without applying the Rule of Two.
GAO Report to Congress, 2012 WL 5510908, at *1
(Comp. Gen. Nov. 13, 2012). In sustaining the pro-
tests, the GAO held that the law’s set-aside is “une-
quivocal” and that “nothing in the [2006] Act ***
provides the agency with discretion” to defy it. In re
Aldevra, 2011 WL 4826148, at *2 (Comp. Gen. Oct.
11, 2011). Undeterred, the VA announced that it
would continue to treat the set-aside as optional.
GAO Report to Congress, 2012 WL 5510908, at *4.
5. One of the contractors affected by the VA’s in-
transigence is petitioner, Kingdomware Technologies,
a service-disabled veteran-owned small business.
Pet. App. 2a. In 2012, the VA awarded a contract for
an emergency notification system, a product offered
by Kingdomware, to a non-veteran vendor. Id. at 9a-
10a. Kingdomware filed a protest with the GAO,
showing that §8127(d) required the VA to examine
whether the contract should have been set aside for
veteran-owned small businesses. Ibid.
The GAC agreed with Kingdomware, but the VA
refused to fuilow the GAO’s recommendations. Id. at
10a. Unable to obtain relief, Kingdomware filed a
complaint in the U.S. Court of Federal Claims (id. at
lla), which found the statute “ambiguous” and de-
ferred to the VA’s interpretation as “reasonable” un-
5
der Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Res. Def. Coun-
cil, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 843-844 (1984).
6. A divided panel of the Federal Circuit affirmed,
but without finding §8127(d) ambiguous. Rather, the
majority held that the statute’s prefatory clause—‘“for
purposes of meeting the goals under subsection (a)”—
“unambiguously” grants the VA “discretion” to pass
over veteran-owned small businesses when it decides
that it can meet its goals. Pet. App. 15a, 17a-20a
(Clevenger, J., joined by Prost, C.J.). According to the
majority, if the purpose statement did not limit the
operative clause (ordering that the VA “shall” prefer
veterans), the purpose statement would be “superflu-
ous.” Id. at 20a.
In a forceful dissent, Judge Reyna showed that the
“plain language of the 2006 Veterans Act unambigu-
ously requires” the VA to award contracts to veteran-
owned small businesses “in every acquisition” that
meets the Rule of Two. Id. at 22a. Thus, the majori-
ty was wrong “[t]o override the [law's] clear impera-
tive” by “relf[ying] on [its] prefatory language,” be-
cause “a mandate * * * cannot be limited by its pro-
logue.” Id. at 26a.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
The panel majoritys reasoning violates two
controlling canons of statutory construction estab-
lished by this Court. It also flouts the statute’s plain
language, which Congress strengthened three times.
First, as we explain in Section I (infra at 7-14), it
is a “basic rule[] of statutory construction” that “pro-
visions for benefits to members of the Armed Services
are to be construed in the beneficiaries’ favor.” King
v. St. Vincent’s Hosp., 502 U.S. 215, 220-221, n.9
(1991). To be sure, the statute here is clear. “Shall”
6
means shall. And the VA’s own regulation confirms
this very point. But even if the purpose clause creat-
ed some doubt, and even in the face of a conflicting
regulation by the VA, any “interpretive doubt” still
would have to “be resolved in the veteran’s favor.”
Brown v. Gardner, 513 U.S. 115, 118 (1994); see also
Henderson ex rel. Henderson v. Shinseki, 562 U.S.
428, 441 (2011) (same).
Unable to contest the importance of this
“longstanding canon,” the government resorts to ar-
guing that “Section 8127 is not a benefits statute.”
Opp. 21 n.5. Yet Congress itself called the set-aside
here a “benefit” in the very name of the statute—the
“Veterans Benefits, Health Care, and Information
Technology Act of 2006.” And the VA calls it a “bene-
fit” in its own regulation. 48 C.F.R. §819.7003(d)
(‘Any [veteran-owned business] must meet the re-
quirements * * * to receive a benefit under this pro-
gram.”) (emphasis added). Thus, even if this Court’s
pro-veteran canon were limited to formally designat-
ed “benefits statutes” (as we will show, it is not), the
canon would apply here with full force.
Second, as the dissent below showed, “a prefatory
clause does not limit or expand the scope of the oper-
ative clause.” Although the dissent relied for this
point on District of Columbia v. Heller, 554 U.S. 570
(2008), which involved the Constitution, this Court
applies the principle to all “federal legislation.”
Hawaii v. Office of Haw. Affairs, 556 U.S. 163, 175
(2009). “As we recently explained in a different con-
text, ‘where the text of a clause itself indicates that it
does not have operative effect, such as “whereas”
clauses in federal legislation * * * a court has no li-
cense to make it do what it was not designed to do.”
Ibid. (quoting Heller, 554 U.S. at 578 n.3). “Rather
7
than focusing on the operative words,” the majority
here “directed its attention to the * * * clause[] that
preface[s]” them, leading it to a “conclusion [that] is
wrong.” 556 U.S. at 175. See Section II (infra at 14-
21).
Finally, reversal is needed to protect the express
statutory rights of millions of veteran-owned busi-
nesses. See Section III (infra at 21-24). Left uncor-
rected, the decision below will rob veterans of billions
of dollars of contracts each year—in violation of Con-
gress’s plain intent. That thwarts “[ojur country[s]
*** long standing policy of compensating veterans,”
as they “have been obliged to drop their own affairs
and take up the burdens of the nation.” Regan v.
Taxation with Representation, 461 U.S. 540, 550-551
(1983). Reversal is needed to protect the vital eco-
nomic opportunities that Congress sought to secure
three times.
ARGUMENT
I. The decision below violates this Court’s
“long applied” rule that statutes must be
construed “for the benefit of the veteran.”
The Court should reverse, first, because the deci-
sion below cannot be reconciled with this Court’s
“long applied * * * ‘canon that provisions for benefits
to members of the Armed Services are to be construed
in the beneficiaries’ favor.” Henderson, 562 U.S. at
441 (Veterans’ Judicial Review Act) (quoting King,
502 U.S. at 220-221 n.9). Under this canon, statutes
are “always to be liberally construed to protect [vet-
erans], who have been obliged to drop their own af-
fairs to take up the burdens of the nation.” Boone v.
Lightner, 319 U.S. 561, 575 (1943); Coffy v. Republic
Steel Corp., 447 U.S. 191, 196 (1980) (same). That is,
8
courts must adopt “as liberal a construction for the
benefit of the veteran as * * * [the statute] permits.”
Fishgold v. Sullivan Drydock & Repair Corp., 328
U.S. 275, 285 (1946).
A court’s task “is to construe the separate provi-
sions of the [statute] as parts of an organic whole and
give each as liberal a construction for the benefit of
the veteran as a harmonious interplay of the separate
provisions permits.” Ibid. Any “interpretive doubt”
must “be resolved in the veteran's favor.” Gardner,
513 U.S. at 118.
1. The decision below contradicts this “basic
rule{] of statutory construction.” King, 502 U.S. at
574 n.9. To be sure, the statute here yields no “inter-
pretive doubt.” Gardner, 513 U.S. at 118. As the dis-
sent noted, the “plain language” of the statute “un-
ambiguously requires” that the VA “shall award” con-
tracts to veteran-owned small businesses “in every
acquisition” that meets the Rule of Two. Pet. App.
22a-23a. As its only basis for rejecting that “plain
meaning,” the majority reasoned that §8127(d)’s
“purpose” clause overrides its operative clause when-
ever the VA decides that it “has met the goals set un-
der §8127(a).” Id. at 19a-20a. As Kingdomware
shows, that “reading” runs squarely into the principle
that “shall” is the language of command. Pet. Br. 29.
Further, it runs into the black-letter rule that prefa-
tory clauses must never override the plain meaning of
operative clauses. Infra at 14-21. And still further, it
collides with the very language of the surrounding
statutory clauses, which likewise state the statute’s
purpose but use the contrasting word of permission:
“may.” Pet. Br. 29-30.
9
But even assuming that the statute’s purpose
statement created some “interpretive doubt” (which
was the holding of the Claims Court), any such doubt
must be resolved “in the beneficiaries’ favor.” Hen-
derson, 562 U.S. at 441. The Federal Circuit’s failure
even to mention that obligation was inexcusable.
2. As its sole defense, the government asserts
that “Section 8127 is not a benefits statute; it is a
government-contracting statute.” Opp. 21 n.5. But
the government cites no authority limiting the pro-
veteran canon to “benefits statutes,” and Henderson
confirms that the canon is not so limited. And in any
event, the statute here is a benefits statute.
We start with Henderson, which required constru-
ing a statutory time-bar—specifically, by deciding
“whether a veteran’s failure to file a notice of appeal”
to the Veterans Court “within the [statutory] 120-day
period” “should be regarded as having ‘jurisdictional’
consequences.” 562 U.S. at 431. The Federal Circuit
held that it did, and thus “dismissed [a veteran’s] un-
timely appeal for lack of jurisdiction’—without “al-
low[ing] equitable tolling of the 120-day deadline,”
even though the veteran’s “illness caused his tardy
filing.” Id. at 433-434.
In reversing the Federal Circuit, this Court relied
on the pro-veteran canon: “Particularly in light of
this canon, we do not find any clear indication that
the 120-day limit was intended to carry the harsh
consequences that accompany the jurisdiction tag.”
Id. at 441. In so doing, the Court gave the 120-day
time-bar the same treatment as a “provision for bene-
fits” (ibid.), even though the time-bar itself did not
benefit veterans at all. To the contrary, if anything,
the time-bar by definition cut off benefits. Thus,
10
Henderson teaches that it is immaterial whether a
veterans-related statute itself provides “benefits” or
even limits them; “interpretive doubt is to be resolved
in the veteran's favor.” Gardner, 513 U.S. at 117-118;
see also King, 502 U.S. at 220 n.9 (applying canon to
statute addressing veterans’ right to reemployment
as civilians).
Regardless, the statute here plainly is a “benefits
statute,” as it mandates that the VA set aside certain
contracts for businesses owned by veterans. Indeed,
the VA’s own regulation describes the statute as
providing a “benefit”: “Any [veteran-owned business]
must meet the requirements in FAR 19.102(f) to re-
ceive a benefit under this program.” 48 C.F.R.
§819.7003(d) (emphasis added). This is common
sense. And, indeed, the set-aside was enacted as part
of the “Veterans Benefits, Health Care, and Infor-
mation Technology Act of 2006.” That name was apt,
as the set-aside exists, as do all veterans’ benefits, to
assist those “who have been obliged to drop their own
affairs to take up the burdens of the nation.” Boone,
319 U.S. at 575.)
! Notably, at least “[fjour U.S. Courts of Appeals have concluded
that government contracts that are set aside for disadvantaged
or minority-owned businesses fall within the * * * definition of
‘government benefits” in the U.S. Sentencing Guidelines. Unit-
ed States v. White, 2012 WL 4513489, at *3 (S.D.N_Y. Oct. 2,
2012) (citing United States v. Maxwell, 579 F.3d 1282, 1306
(11th Cir. 2009); United States v. Tulio, 263 F. App’x 258, 260,
263-264 (3d Cir. 2008); United States v. Bros. Constr. Co. of
Ohio, 219 F.3d 300, 317-318 (4th Cir. 2000); United States v.
Leahy, 464 F.3d 773, 790 (7th Cir. 2006)).
Following these precedents, the Southern District of New York
has held that “[t]he VA contracts set aside for small businesses
owned by veterans and service-disabled veterans fall squarely
within the definition of government benefits” because the VA's
11
Grasping at straws, the government insists that
“[ajeither petitioner here nor any of the judges below
relied upon the canon.” Opp. 21 n.5. Not so. As the
government itself noted in its opposition brief below,
“Kingdomware * * * contend[ed] that veterans’ legis-
lation including the 2006 Act should be liberally con-
strued for the benefit of veterans.” Resp. Ct. App. Br.
22 n.3. Although “the judges below” did not invoke
the canon, that is beside the point. The Federal Cir-
cuit majority in Henderson did not mention it, either
(see 589 F.3d 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2009)); and the dissent
here did not need to, as it found the statute “unam-
biguous[]” and “plain” and that, in fact, it “could not
be clearer.” Pet. App. 22a-23a.
3. Nor is it an answer to say that “thije] canon
would not alter the result here because * * * the VA's
interpretation *** and its own regulations would
warrant deference.” Opp. 21-22 n.5. For one thing,
as Kingdomware has shown, the VA’s own regulation
commands using the Rule of Two. Pet. Br. 46-48.
That alone should settle the issue. But even if the
government's “interpretation” had been “continuously
and consistently” preferred by the VA (Pet. App. 8a),
the pro-veteran canon would still control.
That is the lesson of Gardner, in which a veteran
began suffering pain after receiving surgery at a VA
medical facility. 513 U.S. at 116. He sought disabil-
set-aside program “is an effort to increase the opportunities for a
class of businesses specified by Congress.” Jbid. (citation omit-
ted). Although this case of course does not involve the Sentenc-
ing Guidelines, the sensible reasoning of these cases applies
here. Mandating the use of the Rule of Two is an “effort to in-
crease the opportunities for a class of businesses specified by
Congress.” Ibid. It is a benefit.
12
ity benefits under a statute providing compensation
for “an injury or an aggravation of an injury’ that oc-
curs ‘as the result of hospitalization, medical or sur-
gical treatment” that is not attributable to the veter-
an’s “willful misconduct.” 38 U.S.C. §1151 (1994).
Even though the veteran had committed no willful
misconduct, the VA denied his claim, citing its own
regulation interpreting the statute implicitly to cover
only injuries arising from the VA’s own “fault-or-
accident.” 513 U.S. at 117 & n.2.
In a unanimous decision, this Court held that the
VA’s interpretation “flies against the plain language
of the statutory text.” Id. at 122. In so holding, the
Court rejected the VA’s “attempt/] to reveal a fault
requirement implicit in the text” on the ground “that
fault inheres in the concept of compensable ‘injury.”
Id. at 117. While acknowledging that “injury can of
course carry a fault connotation,” the Court noted
that “it just as certainly need not do so.” Ibid. Thus,
“(t]he most * * * that the [VA] could claim on the ba-
sis of thie] term [injury] is the existence of an ambi-
guity.” Ibid. And although the VA could not “plausi-
bly make even this claim” given the statute’s “clear
answer against” it, this Court emphasized that any
“ambiguity” would be resolved by “the rule that in-
terpretive doubt is to be resolved in the veteran’s fa-
vor.” Id. at 118, 120.
This is an a fortiori case under Gardner. “Despite
the absence from the statutory language of so much
as a word about [discretion] on the part of the VA,”
the majority below adopted a contrived “interpreta-
tion{] in attempting to reveal” a grant of discretion
“implicit in” the statute’s purpose clause. Jd. at 117.
Yet given the operative clause’s command that the
VA “shall award” contracts to veterans (38 U.S.C.
13
§8127(d)), “no such inference can be drawn” (513 U.S.
at 117). Even if it could, however, “[t}he most” the
government “could claim on the basis of thfe] [pur-
pose clause] is the existence of an ambiguity”—which
must “be resolved in the veteran’s favor.” Id. at 117-
118. Yet the Federal Circuit did not even mention
Gardner—much leas Henderson, King, Boone, Coffy,
or Fishgold. That was reversible error. The Federal
Circuit, which has exclusive jurisdiction under the
2006 Act (Pet. 33-34), may not simply ignore this cru-
cial principle of statutory construction.
4. Nor is the pro-veteran canon a mere technicali-
ty. It reflects our Nation’s collective dedication to
care for those who put their lives at risk for the coun-
try, a commitment expressed in Congress’s labors to
strengthen the laws preferring veterans no fewer
than three times. Infra at 23-24. Simply put, the
pro-veteran canon is an expression by this Court of
“special solicitude for the veterans’ cause.” Shinseki
v. Sanders, 556 U.S. 396, 412 (2009). As “[vjeterans
have been obliged to drop their own affairs and take
up the burdens of the nation,” Congress “has a long
standing policy of compensating veterans for their
past contributions by providing them with numerous
advantages.” Regan, 461 U.S. at 550-551. As the
pro-veteran canon shows, so has this Court.
“The justification for providing a special benefit
for veterans,” moreover, “has been recognized
throughout the history of our country.” Hooper v.
Bernalillo Cnty. Assessor, 472 U.S. 612, 626 (1985)
(Stevens, J., joined by Rehnquist, J., and O’Connor,
J., dissenting). Aside from “expressing * * * gratitude
for services that often entail hardship, hazard, and
separation from family and friends, and that may be
vital to the continued security of our Nation”’—which
14
“itself [is] an adequate justification”’—this Court and
Congress alike have recognized “that military service
typically disrupts the normal progress of civilian
employment.” Ibid.
That indisputable fact “justifies *** benefits-
employment preferences,” like the one at issue here,
which are designed “to facilitate the reentry into
civilian society.” Ibid. As scholars have recognized,
that policy dates back to “the Revolutionary War,”
when “the Continental Congress” first established
“veterans benefit packages.” Sherman, supra, at 126.
Since then, Congress has “recognized an obligation to
provide economic assistance to its military veterans,”
much of which has “focused on assisting veterans in
reentering the workforce and starting small busi-
nesses.” Ibid.
In short, both the statute here and this Court’s
pro-veteran canon stem from these time-honored na-
tional policies. The court below ignored this “solici-
tude of Congress for veterans,” which “is of long
standing.” Henderson, 562 U.S. at 440 (quotations
omitted). This Court should reaffirm its pro-veteran
canon and reverse the judgment below.
II. Under settled precedent, prefatory clauses
cannot trump operative statutory language.
As the dissent below emphasized, this Court’s
precedents make clear that “a prefatory clause does
not limit or expand the scope of the operative clause.”
Pet. App. 26a (citation omitted). Instead, the majori-
ty held the exact opposite—namely, that if the pur-
pose statement did not limit the scope of the opera-
tive clause, the purpose statement would be “unnec-
essary,” “surplusage,” and “superfluous.” Pet. App.
19a-20a. The majority was mistaken.
15
1. As noted, the statute here commands that,
when conditions satisfied here are met, the VA “shall
award” contracts to veteran-owned small businesses.
38 U.S.C. §8127(d). That should have been the end of
the matter. “[S]hall” is “the language of command”
(Escoe v. Zerbst, 295 U.S. 490, 493 (1935)), and it
“creates an obligation impervious to * * * discretion”
(Lexecon Inc. v. Milberg Weiss Bershad Hynes & Ler-
ach, 523 U.S. 26, 35 (1998); accord, e.g., Lopez v. Da-
vis, 631 U.S. 230, 241 (2001) (Congress’s “use of a
mandatory ‘shall’ * * * impose[s] discretionless obli-
gations”); Mach Mining, LLC v. E.E.O.C., 135 S. Ct.
1645, 1651 (2015) (‘That language is mandatory”’—
“the word ‘shall’ admits of no discretion.”)).
Unable to deny that “shall” is “mandatory
language,” the majority read “shall” out of the stat-
ute. Adopting the government’s “interpretation,” the
court limited “shall” to situations where “the VA has
decided,” in its unbounded discretion, that it is
“necessary’ to “meet[] the [VA's] goals”—the
“purpose[]” articulated in the statute’s introductory
cleuse. Pet. App. 17a (quoting 38 U.S.C. §8127(d)).
According to the majority, this reading was required
because “each word in a statute should be given
effect.” Pet. App. 19a. As the majority reasoned, in-
terpreting “shall” as “shall” “assigns no substantive
meaning” to the statute’s stated “goals”; rather, “this
goal-setting provision is itself made superfluous.”
Pet. App. 20a. “Because [Kingdomware’s] plain
meaning interpretation *** reads the words ‘for
purposes of meeting the goals[] * * * out of the stat-
ute and makes the mandatory goal-setting statutory
provision unnecessary, it cannot stand.” Ibid.
2. In so holding, the majority inverted the proper
approach to interpreting purpose statements, as laid
16
down by this Court. To be sure, there is a “general
rule that every clause in a statute must have effect.”
Heller, 5654 U.S. at 578 n.3. “But where the text of a
clause itself indicates that it does not have operative
effect, * * * a court has no license to make it do what
it was not designed to do.” Ibid. For that reason, it is
a “settled principle of law” that a statute’s “prefatory
clause does not limit * * * the scope of the operative
clause.” Id. at 578 & n.3 (quotations omitted). Put
simply, “operative provisions should be given effect as
operative provisions, and prologues as prologues.”
Ibid.
By the government's lights, this fundamental
principle applies only to prefatory language “[a]t the
beginning of the statute” that “contain[s] the telltale
‘whereas’ language.” Opp. 18-19. Not so. While
“[e]xpressions of purpose are usually placed” in a
preamble, “they do not have to be.” A. Scalia & B.
Garner, Reading Law 220 (2012). Indeed, in Heller
itself, the purpose statement appeared in the same
sentence as the operative language—not in a pream-
ble—and did not use the word “whereas.” An internal
purpose statement can no more trump a clear statu-
tory command than a purpose that appears in a pre-
amble. Instead, in every case, the question is wheth-
er “the text of a clause itself indicates that it does not
have operative effect, such as ‘whereas’ clauses in
federal legislation.” Heller, 554 U.S. at 578 n.3 (em-
phasis added). Regardless of where such a clause ap-
pears, “a court has no license to make it do what it
was not designed to do.” Ibid.
For its part, the government offers no principled
reason why it should matter where a statement of
purpose appears. And there is none. The text at is-
sue here begins with the phrase, “[f/Jor purposes of
17
meeting the goals under subsection (a).” Because it
“announces a purpose” for what follows, that clause is
“a prefatory statement of purpose.” Heller, 554 U.S.
at 577. In other words, “the text of [the] clause itself
indicates that it does not have operative effect.” Jd.
at 578 n.3. Therefore, it has none.
Nor does this principle merely control when inter-
preting the Constitution, as in Heller. Just a year af-
ter Heller, this Court applied the same principle to a
congressional joint resolution, which it referred to as
a “statute.” Hawaii, 556 U.S. at 173. In that case,
the question was whether Congress “recognized that
the native Hawaiian people hafd] unrelinquished
claims over [certain] lands.” Jd. at 172. As did the
Federal Circuit here, the Hawaii Supreme Court held
that the answer was “clear[]” “[bjased on a plain read-
ing” of the statute’s purpose clauses. Id. at 175.
Relying on Heller, this Court rejected this reason-
ing: “As we recently explained in a different context,
‘where the text of a clause itself indicates that it does
not have operative effect * * * a court has no license
to make it do what it was not designed to do.” Ibid.
(quoting Heller, 554 U.S. at 578 n.3). “Rather than
focusing on the operative words of the law,” the lower
court in Hawai “directed its attention to the * * *
clause[] that preface[s]” them, leading it to a
“conclusion [that] is wrong.” Ibid.
So too here. As did the Hawaii Supreme Court,
the Federal Circuit ignored that the VA’s duties “de-
pend|[] entirely on the meaning of the statute’s opera-
tive provision”—and “not on” any perceived legisla-
tive purpose that may or may not “fall within the
prefatory clause.” Scialabba v. Cuellar de Osorio, 134
S. Ct. 2191, 2215 n.3 (2014) (Roberts, C.J., joined by
18
Scalia, J., concurring in the judgment). This is horn-
book law. As a leading treatise notes, clauses that
merely “supply reasons” cannot “confer power or
determine rights” and thus “may not be used to
create ambiguity” about “the scope or effect of a
statute.” Sutherland Statutes & Statutory Constr.
§§ 20:3, 20:12, 47.4 (7th ed. 2013). No matter how
“narrow[],” preambles “shall not restrain” a statute’s
command. T. Sedgwick, A Treatise on the Rules
which Govern the Interpretation and Construction of
Statutory and Constitutional Law 43 (2d ed. 1874).
Although emphasized by Judge Reyna in dissent
(Pet. App. 26a), the majority below did not even
mention the longstanding principle that preambles
“cannot enlarge or confer powers, nor control the
words of the act, unless they are doubtful or
ambiguous.” Yazoo & M.V.R. Co. v. Thomas, 132
U.S. 174, 188 (1889). But as this Court has
underscored, “[a]gencies exercise discretion only in
the interstices created by statutory silence or
ambiguity; they must always give effect to the
unambiguously expressed intent of Congress.” Uivzil.
Air Regulatory Grp. v. EPA, 134 S. Ct. 2427, 2446
(2014) (quotations omitted). Here, “the need to
rewrite clear provisions of the statute should have
alerted [the VA] that it had taken a wrong
interpretive turn.” Id. at 2446.
3. In contrast to the decision below, previous
Federal Circuit panels, as well as other circuits and
the GAO, have followed this Court’s precedent.
Indeed, until this case, the Federal Circuit itself
had recognized that “i[n] the case [of] a statute,”
Congress's “intent is best expressed in the operative
provisions,” and thus “specific operative provisions
19
cannot be controlled by general expressions of intent.”
Atl. Richfield Co. v. United States, 764 F.2d 837, 840
(Fed. Cir. 1985). “The operative provision[]” here
should have “controlfled] the outcome of this case”
too. Ibid. After all, “[p]refatory language does not
manufacture an ambiguity in the statute where there
is none.” White v. United States, 543 F.3d 1330, 1336
(Fed. Cir. 2008).
Other circuits, too, have held that even where a
statute’s “operative language” is “internally and
irreconcilably inconsistent with the purpose ***
stated in its introductory clause” (and here it is not),
it is still improper for a court to “depart{] from [its]
literal meaning.” Parish Oil Co. v. Dillon Cos., 523
F.3d 1244, 1249, 1253 (10th Cir. 2008) (McConnell,
J.). Notably, the “introductory clause” in Parish ap-
peared—as it does here—in the same sentence as the
statute’s “operative language,” and began with the
phrase, “[flor the purpose of.” Id. at 1247 (citation
omitted’. Yet that did not alter the conclusion that
“the operative provision’—and not “its stated pur-
pose”"—“must be given effect.” Id. at 1253, 1249.2
2 See also Ass'n of Am. R.R. v. Costle, 562 F.2d 1310, 1316 (D.C.
Cir. 1977) (‘A preamble * * * is not an operative part of the stat-
ute and it does not enlarge or confer powers on administrative
agencies or officers.”); Jurgensen v. Fairfax Cnty., Va., 745 F.2d
868, 885 (4th Cir. 1984) (same); Natl Wildlife Found. v. Marsh,
721 F.2d 767, 773 (11th Cir. 1983) (“Preambles to statutes do
not impose substantive rights, duties or obligations”; and a
statement of “the primary goal of the statute” does not alter the
scope of a “requirement [that] is statutorily imposed.”); Floren-
tine v. Church of Our Lady of Mt. Carmel, 340 F.2d 239, 241-242
(2d Cir. 1965) (what is clear from the text” of a statute “cannot
be obscured by reliance on the ambiguous general purpose
clause,” which “must accede to the operative text”).
20
Ultimately, what is at stake here is nothing less
than the separation of powers. By “rely[ing] on [a]
purpose clause[], rather than the concrete rules that
[Congress] selected to achieve the stated ends,” two
unelected judges “bec[a]me effective lawmakers,
bypassing the give-and-take of the legislative
process.” City of Joliet, Ill. v. New West, L.P., 562
F.3d 830, 837 (7th Cir. 2009) (Easterbrook, J.). As
the dissent below noted, by “relying entirely on
prefatory language to second-guess Congress['s]”
plain command, the majority “departied] from [its]
duty to enforce the proper interpretation of the
statute regardless of [its] policy views.” Pet. App.
22a.
The GAO likewise understood—and reaffirmed in
18 bid protests—that the phrase “for purposes of
meeting the goals under subsection (a)” merely “ex-
plains the purpose for the mandate”; it “does not cre-
ate an exception to the mandate.” Jn re Aldevra, 2012
WL 860813, at *4 (Comp. Gen. Mar. 14, 2012). Ac-
cordingly, “nothing in the [2006] Act * * * provides
the [VA] with discretion” to award a contract “with-
out first determining whether the acquisition should
be set aside” for veterans. Aldevra, 2011 WL
4826148, at *2.
The VA’s decision to defy the GAO is extraordi-
nary. In light of “the GAO’s long experience and spe-
cial expertise,” its findings in “bid protest matters”
have long been “give[n] due weight and deference,”
such that “an agency's decision to disregard a GAO
recommendation is exceedingly rare.” CMS Contract
Mgmt. Servs. v. United States, 745 F.3d 1379, 1384
(Fed. Cir. 2014) (quotations omitted). As the dissent
noted, in 15 years, agencies have declined to follow
the GAO only 10 times out of 1,099. Pet. 25a.
21
In sum, the decision below departs not only from
this Court’s binding precedent, but also from the
Federal Circuit's own law, as well as the sound anal-
ysis of other circuits and the GAO. The Court should
reverse.
Ill. The decision below is contrary to Con-
gress’s intent of maximizing economic op-
portunities for our Nation’s veterans.
Reversal is also needed because the decision below
wipes out a statutory benefit worth billions of dollars
per year, which Congress has tried to establish three
times. If the Court does not reverse, millions upon
millions of veterans will have no avenue left for se-
curing their rights to billions of dollars of critical
benefits from the government they risked their lives
to serve.
A. The VA’s persistent refusal to obey Con-
gress’s command diverts from veterans up
to $10 billion every year.
As official government reports show, the decision
below empowers the VA to deny the statutory rights
of nearly 2.5 million veteran-owned small
businesses.’ Indeed, as noted, between December
2011 and November 2012 alone, the GAO found that
the VA violated the 2006 Act’s mandatory set-aside
provision 18 times. GAO Report to Congress, 2012
WL 5510908, at *1. Ultimately, the GAO decided
that it would “no longer consider protests based only
on the argument that the VA must consider setting
8 Small Business Administration, Veteran-owned Businesses and
their Ownere—Data from the Census Bureau’s Survey of
Business Owners, at 1 (Mar. 2012), available at
http://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/393tot.pdf.
22
aside procurements for [veterans]” because the “deci-
sion in [this case], together with the VA’s position on
the meaning of th[e] statute, effectively means that
protesters who continue to pursue these arguments
will be unable to obtain meaningful relief.” King-
domware Techs.—Reconsideration, 2012 WL
6463498, at *2 (Comp. Gen. Dec. 13, 2012).
The lost opportunities for veterans are enormous.
For example, the VA “faced substantial criticism” af-
ter it “made multiple awards to nonveteran offerors
on an unrestricted basis”—in violation of the 2006
Act—for a single “multibillion dollar” procurement.
J.T. Williams, Veterans First? VA Should Give Vet
Contracting Program Priority, 47-WTR Procurement
Law. 1, 23 (2012). Nor was this unusual. As it did in
this case, the VA routinely procures goods and ser-
vices directly through the Federal Supply Schedule
(“FSS”}—a network of large, government-wide con-
tractors with notoriously few veteran-owned small
businesses—before even considering whether to apply
the Rule of Two.
In just one year, the VA used the FSS for $3.26
billion—over one-fifth—of its $16 billion in annual
procurements. Kathleen Miller, Dispute Simmers Be-
tween VA and Veteran-Owned Businesses, Wash.
Post, 2011 WLNR 23483727 (Nov. 14, 2011). Yet a
mere 13 percent of those FSS purchases—worth $436
million—went to veteran-owned small businesses.
Ibid. Thus, the VA’s unlawful procurements from the
FSS without first conducting market research poten-
tially deprived veteran-owned small-business coa-
tractors of up to nearly $3 billion in government con-
tracts in a single year alone. Ibid. Indeed, according
to the VA itself, up to 60 percent of $18 billion in an-
nual procurements use the FSS—in which case vet-
23
erans are being deprived of the opportunity to com-
pete for contracts totaling $10 billion. Pet. 35.
This loss can be traced directly to the VA’s illegal
reliance on the FSS at a time when almost 2.5 million
veteran-owned small businesses stand ready to com-
pete with FSS vendors. To stop the VA from steering
billions of dollars in contracting opportunities away
from veterans, the Court should reverse.
B. Confirming Kingdomware’s plain reading
of the statute, Congress strove to over-
come the VA’s recalcitrance by strength-
ening the law three times.
Finally, Kingdomware’s plain reading of the stat-
ute is powerfully underscored by Congress’s decision
to address the issues here three times between 1999
and 2006. For years, agencies failed to heed earlier
statutes, which were merely aspirational. Supra at
2-3. “Continuing the trend started with” those stat-
utes, and focusing on the VA, Congress thus
“amend(ed] the permissive language of the set aside”
provisions for veterans “to make these practices
mandatory.” Sherman, supra, at 135. Consider the
contrasting language:
> 2003 Act: “[A] contracting officer may award
contracts on the basis of competition restricted
to small business concerns owed and
controlled by service-disabled veterans if the
contracting officer has a_ reasonable
expectation” that the Rule of Two is met. 15
U.S.C. §657f(b) (emphasis added).
> 2006 Act: “[A] contracting officer of the
Department shall award contracts on the
basis of competition restricted to small
business concerns owned and controlled by
24
veterans if the contracting officer has a
reasonable expectation” that the Rule of Two is
met. 38 U.S.C. §8127(d) (emphasis added).
“The evolution of these statutory provisions supplies
further evidence that Congress intended” the 2006
Act to be mandatory. Russello v. United States, 464
U.S. 16, 23 (1983). In comparing “the predecessor
statute” to the 2006 Act, the VA and the Federal Cir-
cuit should have “discernfed] Congress’s intent” from
the “crucial fact” that it “used the word ‘shall’ rather
than the word ‘may.” United States v. Rodgers, 461
U.S. 677, 706 (1983).
Instead, the VA and the Federal Circuit concluded
that Congress had enacted yet another
“discretion[ary]” law (Pet. App. 17a), ignoring that “a
change in phraseology” in statutory language “creates
a presumption of a change in intent” (Crawford v.
Burke, 195 U.S. 176, 190 (1904)). But “Congress
would not have used such different language * * *
without thereby intending a change of meaning.”
Ibid. This was Congress's third attempt to assist vet-
erans; yet the VA continues to resist the congression-
al will. This Court should restore these critical bene-
fits and thereby carry out Congress’s unambiguous
intent in passing the 2006 Act.
CONCLUSION
What is perhaps most frustrating for veterans is
that it is not clear why the VA—an agency specifical-
ly created to protect their interests—is treating the
2006 Act’s mandatory set-aside as optional. Regard-
less, in following the VA’s lead, the Federal Circuit
majority ignored—and the government here contin-
ues to ignore—the plain language of the 2006 Act,
Congress's labors that led to that language, and our
25
Nation’s tradition of advancing the veteran’s cause.
It also ignored this Court's binding precedent favor-
ing veterans in statutory interpretation, and empha-
sizing the primacy of operative language. In so doing,
the majority enabled the VA to deprive veterans of
billions of dollars in vital contracting opportunities.
For all of these reasons, and those stated by King-
domware and the forceful dissent below, the judg-
ment of the Federal Circuit should be reversed.
Respectfully submitted.
LINDA T. COBERLY ANDREW C. NICHOLS
Winston & Strawn LLP Counsel of Record
35 W. Wacker Drive STEFFEN N. JOHNSON
Chicago, IL 60601 EIMERIC REIG-PLESSIS
(212) 558-5600 Winston & Strawn LLP
1700 K Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 282-5000
anichols@winston.com
AUGUST 2015
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.