Opposition Brief — Nazarian v. PPL Energyplus, LLC, 135 S. Ct. 1582 (2015) (No. 14-614)
Supreme Court brief2015
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Nos. 14-614, 14-623
In the
Supreme Court of the United States
DOUGLAS R. M. NAZARIAN, et al.,
Petitioners,
Vv
PPL ENERGYPLUS, LLC, et al.,
Respondents.
CPV MARYLAND, LLC,
Petitioner,
V
PPL ENERGYPLUS, LLC, et ai.,
Respondents.
On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
PAUL D. CLEMENT
Counsel of Record
ERIN E. MURPHY
CANDICE C. WONG
BANCROFT PLLC
1919 M Street NW, Suite 470
Washington, DC 20036
(202) 234-0090
pclement@bancroftplic.com
Counsel for Respondents
(Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover)
February 11, 2015
TAMARA LINDE
Executive Vice President
and General Counsel
PSEG SERVICES CORP
80 Park Plaza
Newark, NJ 07102
SHANNEN W COFFIN
STEPTOE &
JOHNSON LLP
1330 Connecticut Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20036
Counsel for
PSEG Power, LLC
JESSE A. DILLON
Assistant General Counsel
PPL SERVICES CORP.
Two N. Ninth Street
Allentown, PA 18101
DAVID L. MEYER
MORRISON & FOERSTER
2000 Pennsy!vania Ave. NW
Suite 6000
Washington, DC 20006
Counsel for
The PPL Companies
DAVID MUSSELMAN
Associate General Counsel
ESSENTIAL POWER, LLC
150 College Road West
Princeton, NJ 08540
Counsel for
Essential Power, LLC
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether the Court of Appeals correctly concluded
that a novel state scheme that guarantees a generator
a price different from the price approved by the
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (“FERC”) for
its electricity and capacity sales into the federally
regulated wholesale market intrudes upon FERC’s
exclusive jurisdiction over rates “received ... for or in
connection” with wholesale sales. 16 U.S.C. §824d(a).
ll
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
Petitioners are CPV Maryland, LLC; and the
Chairman and Commissioners of the Maryland Public
Service Commission (at the time of the relevant
orders, Douglas R.M. Nazarian, Harold Williams,
Lawrence Brenner, Kelly Speakes-Backman, and W.
Kevin Hughes), who were sued in their official
capacities as Chairman.
Respondents are PPL EnergyPlus, LLC, PPL
Brunner Island, LLC, PPL Holtwood, LLC; PPL
Martins Creek, LLC, PPL Montour, LLC, PPL
Susquehanna, LLC, Lower Mount Bethel Energy,
LLC, PPL New Jersey Solar, LLC, PPL New Jersey
Biogas, LLC, and PPL Renewable Energy, LLC; Public
Service Electric and Gas Company (PSEG Power
LLC); and Essential Power, LLC.
il
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
Pursuant to Rule 29.6, respondents state:
PPL EnergyPlus, LLC; PPL Brunner Island, LLC;
PPL Holtwood, LLC; PPL Martins Creek, LLC; PPL
Montour, LLC; PPL Susquehanna, LLC; Lower Mount
Bethel Energy, LLC; PPL New Jersey Solar, LLC; PPL
New Jersey Biogas, LLC; and PPL Renewable Energy,
LLC (“PPL Parties”), are wholly-owned, indirect
subsidiaries of PPL Corporation, a publicly traded
corporation. No other publicly-held company has a
10% or greater ownership interest in the PPL Perties
or PPL Corporation.
Public Service Electric and Gas Company
(“PSE&G”) is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Public
Service Enterprise Group Incorporated, a publicly
traded corporation. No other publicly held company
has a 10% or greater ownership interest in Public
Service Electric and Gas Company or Public Service
Enterprise Group Incorporated.
Essential Power, LLC, formerly known as North
American Energy Alliance, LLC, is a Delaware limited
liability company. No publicly held corporation holds
an interest in Essential Power, LLC.
iv
TABLE OF CONTENTS
ty tb: : | i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ...................0000..4. ii
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT........... iii
, REE Vv
TE SEE ne er 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .............:cccccccssssseeseeeees 3
A. Federal Regulatory Background.................. 3
B. The Rapid Expansion of the Federal
RSE EEERERRE Vance Seas mee 5
C. PJM and the Reliability Pricing Mode)....... 7
D. Maryland’s Generation Order.................... 10
E. Procedural Background.............................- 12
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITIONS....... 15
I. This Factbound, Splitless Case Does Not
Merit This Court’s Review .....................c000000008+ 15
A. The Carefully Circumscribed Decision
Below Accords With Well-Settled and
Unchallenged Preemption Principles ........ 15
B. The Decision Accords With FERC’s View.. 18
C. Petitioners’ Pleas for Error Correction
teint al tcninrdhietldtliiati 21
Il. The Decision Below Is Consciously Narrow
And Lacks Exceptional Importance.................. 28
IE irsiciisicnsictsincinincnticinniaistieinninntionetdneneneninened 32
Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases
Arizona v. United States,
EE a ne ae 25
Ark. Elec. Coop. Corp.
v. Ark. Pub. Serv. Comm'n,
Se ies Mion denenencnitinpnmiinndantininenian 25
Atl. City Elec. Co. v. FERC,
296 F.3d 1 (D.C. Cir. 2002)..........ccccsccccssssecseees 21, 22
Conn. Dep't of Pub. Util. Control v. FERC,
569 F.3d 477 (D.C. Cir. 2009)...............00000s0000 22, 23
Graver Tank & Mfg. Co.
v. Linde Air Prods. Co.,
A ee ee eee Ee 16
Gulf States Utils. Co. v. FPC,
RES See aren m a 4
Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr,
SSE SEA Re a eI een an an ae 18
Miss. Indus. v. FERC,
BES F-Be BEES GAC. Cie. 1667) .......cccocccccccccceseccesess: 5
Miss. Power & Light Co.
v. Mississippi ex rel. Moore,
I uous 24
Morgan Stanley Capital Grp. Inc.
uv. Pub. Util. Dist. No. 1
of Snohomish Cnty.,
I ele 25
N.J. Bd. of Pub. Utils. v. FERC,
Pe ae Fe I Ce iitdictercecctensecnerneninemencios 20
vi
New York v. FERC,
I i 3,5
PPL EnergyPlus, LLC v. Solomon,
RE Se ae RT AT 14
Pub. Utils. Comm’n of RI.
vu. Attleboro Steam & Elec. Co..,
| REEF IRERSSTEES SS I ean RAS ONS aR oes Ra 4
Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp.,
ETI UE ER ERED Se Be DO RN Pe 25
Statutes
SLO AEE TTOR 15
Le SEE EE RAED Te Re EN IS, 4,5
a TIT ininaeteeciahalnintiignceinealatdcapseeadi passim
tA eR te sania Sor, Me east Sea 4
Other Authorities
Entergy Servs., Inc.,
120 FERC 961,020 (2007)...........0......0000000000..0000e000 25
Jeff Newman, CPV breaks ground on gas
plant, Gazette.Net (Dec. 3, 2014) ...............ccccce. 31
PJM Interconnection, L.L.C.,
fo, kt eee 10, 17
PJM Interconnection, L.L.C.,
128 FERC 961,157 (2008)......................0000...00000 9, 10
PJM Interconnection, L.L.C.,
ee I I OR icncciccctccccoccnccosccssecccosccsies 20
RENE ET eR RID 26
Appellees’ Br., PPL EnergyPlus, LLC
v. Solomon, No. 13-4330
I I 28
vl
U.S. Br., PPL EnergyPlus, LLC v. Solomon,
No. 13-4330 (3d Cir. Mar. 20, 2014).........000000000..
S.B. 400, 2007 Reg. Sess. (Md.),
Ot ISTE STI GID 00.00000c0csccccscccsccccccsccesscceses
INTRODUCTION
This case involves an avowedly narrow decision
resolving a factbound preemption question on which
there is no division in authority. Indeed, although
New Jersey and Maryland embarked on a similar
course that was challenged in cases on parallel tracks
through the Third and Fourth Circuits, the
unanimous judgment of all four courts—two district
and two circuit—and all eight judges who have
weighed in on the issue is that the novel state-
mandated contractual mechanisms adopted by New
Jersey and Maryland are preempted. As the courts
have all recognized, these naked efforts to guarantee
in-state generators a price for wholesale electricity
sales into the federally regulated wholesale market
that is different from the rate set by the prevailing
federal regulatory mechanisms are _ squarely
preempted by FERC’s exclusive jurisdiction over
wholesale rates. That conclusion is a straightforward
application of the unremarkable proposition that,
even when it comes to matters within the states’
legitimate authority, such as_ regulating or
incentivizing generating facilities, means matter as
well as ends. And whatever else a state may do to
encourage new generation, it may not dictate the rates
and terms of wholesale sales.
In fact, petitioners do not even dispute that legal
principle; instead, they just fight the premise that
Maryland actually set wholesale rates. But the courts
below resolved that dispute in respondents’ favor for
good reason: By forcing in-state utilities to guarantee
a new generator a rate fixed by the state for each unit
of electricity or capacity that it sells into the interstate
2
wholesale market for 20 years—regardless of the
prices set by that market through its FERC-approved
auction mechanism—Maryland simply replaced
FERC’s rates and terms with ones more to its liking.
Moreover, Maryland made no secret about the fact
that it guaranteed a preferred generator this fixed,
long-term price in an effort to “improve” on a federal
marketplace with which the state was dissatisfied.
Indeed, the state resorted to this measure only after
FERC explicitly rejected its request to adopt the very
same long-term pricing guarantee mechanism as a
federal regulatory solution. It does not take an
“extravagant” view of the Federal Power Act to
recognize that it preempts this direct and transparent
incursion on FERC’s exclusive authority over rates
“received ... for or in connection with” wholesale sales.
That does not mean that states are without tools
to incentivize new _ generation. States retain
substantial latitude in such matters—including
latitude to retreat from the federal wholesale market
entirely if they no longer believe that it is serving their
interests. FERC itself stressed this point in its amicus
brief before the Third Circuit opining that this
particular form of state action is preempted, and every
court to consider this issue has been at pains to
emphasize the same. Petitioners’ dire warnings that
the decision below endangers a laundry list of other
incentive schemes thus falls flat. Indeed, the Fourth
Circuit explicitly disclaimed any effort to pass
judgment on the myriad other programs to which
petitioners have sought to analogize throughout this
litigation. Instead, the court simply reiterated that,
whether for the best of reasons, the worst of reasons,
or any reason in between, states simply do not have
3
the authority to set the rates and terms of wholesale
transactions. That manifestly correct conclusion does
not warrant this Court’s review.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Federal Regulatory Background
Historically, state electricity markets were
“vertically integrated,” meaning utilities were
responsible both for delivering electricity to customers
and for generating the electricity that they delivered.
See New York v. FERC, 535 U.S. 1, 5 (2002). Because
their operations were almost exclusively intrastate,
these vertically integrated markets were heavily
regulated by states, which set the rates that a utility
could charge retail customers based on costs the utility
incurred in generating, transmitting, and delivering
electricity.
Because electricity demand fluctuates at different
times of year, an electricity supplier must be equipped
to serve not just relatively static demand, but also
significantly increased demand during peak periods.
Traditionally, vertically integrated utilities did this by
building generating plants intended to operate only
when demand was at its peak—even if that meant
they operated as little as 20 or 30 hours a year. The
obvious inefficiencies of numerous companies with
underutilized peak generating facilities soon led
utilities to look for ways to sell excess electricity to
each other, in hopes of diminishing costs attributable
to too many plants spending most of the year idle. To
facilitate this “wholesale” market, utilities began
building high voltage transmission lines across which
electricity could be transferred from utility to utility
for ultimate retail sale.
4
As these wholesale transactions began to cross
state lines, the question arose whether states had
authority to regulate them, or whether the dormant
Commerce Clause reserved this nascent interstate
market to the federal government. This Court
answered that question in Public Utilities Commission
of Rhode Island v. Attleboro Steam & Electric Co., 273
U.S. 83, 89 (1927). Reasoning that these wholesale
transactions are “fundamentally interstate from
beginning to end,” the Court concluded that the
dormant Commerce Clause prohibited states from
regulating them, and held that such regulation could
come only from “exercise of the power vested in
Congress.” Jd. at 89-90.
Congress responded with the Federal Power Act
of 1935 (“FPA”), which established a new federal
agency (then the Federal Power Commission, now
FERC) charged with providing “effective federal
regulation of the expanding business of transmitting
and selling electric power in interstate commerce.”
Gulf States Utils. Co. v. FPC, 411 U.S. 747, 758 (1973).
Section 201(b) of the FPA grants FERC exclusive
jurisdiction over “the transmission of electric energy
in interstate commerce” and “the sale of electric
energy at wholesale in interstate commerce,”
including the power to determine what “rates and
charges made, demanded, or received ... for or in
connection with the transmission or sale” of electricity
at wholesale are “just and reasonable.” 16 U.S.C.
§§824(b), 824d(a), 824e.
Section 201(b) further provides that FERC has
jurisdiction over “all facilities for such transmission or
sale of electric energy, but shall not have jurisdiction,
5)
except as specifically provided in this subchapter and
subchapter III of this chapter, over facilities used for
the generation of electric energy or over facilities used
in local distribution or only for the transmission of
electric energy in intrastate commerce, or over
facilities for the transmission of electric energy
consumed wholly by the transmitter.” Id. §824(b)(1)
(emphasis added). That proviso underscored that
Congress recognized the interrelationship between in-
state generation and interstate sales and
transmission; while Congress preserved traditional
state authority over generation and intrastate
transmission, it consciously subordinated state
authority to FERC’s power to regulate interstate
transmissions and wholesale sales. See Miss. Indus.
vu. FERC, 808 F.2d 1525, 1545 n.74 (D.C. Cir. 1987)
(“[FERC] has been awarded jurisdiction over
generation facilities ‘to the extent provided in other
sections,’ including jurisdiction necessary to effectuate
regulation of interstate wholesale rates”).
B. The Rapid Expansion of the Federal
Wholesale Market
Although the wholesale market continued to
expand modestly over the years, it remained largely
ancillary to the traditional vertically integrated
regime. That began to change, however, in recent
decades with several federal initiatives that forced the
vertically integrated utilities that owned the
interstate transmission lines to provide wholesale
generators with access to those lines on a non-
discriminatory basis. See generally New York, 535
U.S. at 6-10. These and other regulatory measures
6
paved the way for explosive growth in wholesale
transactions over the past two decades.
As this expanded wholesale marketplace took
shape, states began to question whether vertical
integration still made sense. Many (but by no means
all) states ultimately opted to restructure their
electricity industries by disentangling their utilities’
generation, transmission, and distribution functions
and ordering utilities to open their distribution
networks to competitors. By allowing generators to
sell the bulk of their electricity into, and retail
suppliers to purchase the bulk of their electricity out
of, the interstate wholesale market, these states
reaped the benefits of lower prices resulting from a
more competitive market. At the same time, by
rendering their local electricity markets largely
dependent on the federally regulated wholesale
market, states necessarily ceded much of their
traditional regulatory authority.
In 1999, Maryland embraced this new model.
Through the Electric Customer Choice and
Competition Act, it restructured its market so that
electricity sold in Maryland would be purchased from
the interstate wholesale market, rather than
generated by vertically integrated utilities.
Consumers, in turn, would “benefit more from a
competitive market for their electricity rather than
being captive to a single utility that had a monopoly
on their electricity service.” PX606 at 36 (PSC Order
No. 81423). Regulated utilities known as electric
distribution companies (“EDCs”) now purchase
electricity at wholesale and resell and deliver it to
consumers over local distribution networks.
7
The significance of its decision to do away with
vertical integration was not lost on Maryland. By
spinning off its “utilities’ generating assets,”
Maryland ensured that “electricity previously subject
to traditional rate-of-return regulation (in which the
PSC set the utility’s profit through a state regulatory
proceeding) would now be purchased ... in the
federally regulated wholesale electricity market.”
PX391 at 10 (2007 PSC Interim Report). And by
relying on the wholesale market, the state anticipated
that it would no longer “evaluate the need for new
generation stations in Maryland”, “that need is
determined by the marketplace” instead. JA248. In
short, the state consciously opened itself up not just to
the “benefit [of] a competitive market,” PX606 at 36,
but also to the risks of participation in a federal
market that the state could not regulate.
C. PJM and the Reliability Pricing Model
As the interstate wholesale market expanded,
FERC encouraged participants to organize regional
transmission organizations (“RTOs”) to facilitate
wholesale market operations in large portions of the
country. PJM Interconnection, LLC, (“PJM”) is the
RTO that operates the wholesale market for a region
comprising all or part of 13 states, including
Maryland, and the District of Columbia. Subject to
FERC’s oversight and approval, PJM ensures that its
wholesale market will supply all retail sellers within
PJM enough electricity to meet consumer demand.
Among other things, PJM operates a wholesale
electricity market in which generation resources sell
electricity to PJM. PJM then sells that electricity to
load serving entities (“LSEs”), which resell it to
8
consumers to meet energy demands. To participate in
this market, generation resources bid their electricity
into a market for delivery either in the next hour or
the next 24 hours. PJM then accepts bids from lowest
to highest until it has enough electricity The highest
bid PJM must accept to satisfy the region’s needs
becomes the “market clearing price.” Each resource
that bid at or below that price will be paid the market
clearing price for all of its electricity, even if its bid
was lower.
PJM also operates a market for “capacity”—that
is, for the option to buy electricity to satisfy future
demand. To ensure that sufficient capacity will be
available throughout the region, PJM employs an
auction mechanism known as the reliability pricing
model (“RPM”). RPM’s central feature is a competitive
auction that PJM holds annually for a year three years
in the future. PJM determines how much capacity the
region will need for the relevant year, then holds an
auction at which sellers commit to sell, and PJM
commits to purchase, the targeted amount from all
types of generation resources for subsequent resale to
retail suppliers. The capacity auction operates much
like the hourly and daily electricity markets, with
PJM accepting bids from lowest to highest until it has
the requisite capacity, and making the highest bid
accepted the market clearing price. Each capacity
resource that cleared the market must sell PJM all the
capacity it bid, and, in return, will get paid the market
clearing price for all of that capacity. This forward
market is designed to provide price signals that
encourage new generation three years in advance
(which is sufficient time to construct a new generating
facility).
9
In both its electricity and its capacity markets,
PJM uses a pricing model that is designed to “reflect[]
the value of the energy at the specific location and
time it is delivered,” as well as “the effect of actual
operating conditions.” PX516 at 11. The clearing price
may be higher, for instance, in a zone where
transmission lines are congested, and generating
facilities will receive higher revenues for servicing
those areas. These different prices for different zones
are designed to establish “price signals that encourage
new generation sources to locate in areas where they
will receive higher prices,” thereby reducing the
impact of congestion on prices. Jd. Relying on these
signals, generation companies make decisions about
how much capacity development or transmission
planning is needed, what sources will provide that
new electricity, and where new power plants will be
located.
FERC recognizes that, in certain circumstances
and areas, the auction’s price signals alone may be
insufficient to incentivize new generation in certain
areas. To address those circumstances within the
PJM market construct, PJM established, and FERC
approved, the new entry price adjustment (“NEPA”)
for new resources that satisfy specific size and
locational conditions. The NEPA provides a special
three-year revenue guarantee to the new resources in
an effort to “provide support to the new entrant until
sufficient load growth would be expected to” do so.
PJM Interconnection, L.L.C., 128 FERC 961,157, at
4101 (2009). The NEPA is the one exception to PJM’s
general policy of non-discrimination—i.e., of seeking
to obtain the most cost-effective electricity, whether it
comes from new resources or existing ones. See id.
10
§102 (“Both new entry and retention of existing
efficient capacity are necessary to ensure reliability”).
D. Maryland’s Generation Order
Although Maryland voluntarily abandoned
vertical integration to reap the benefits of the federal
wholesale market, within a few years, it began to voice
concerns that PJM’s price signals were doing too little
to encourage new generation in Maryland and keep
prices down for Maryland consumers. Accordingly,
Maryland’s legislature passed a law requiring the
state’s public service commission (“PSC”) to “consider
changes”—including a possible return to vertical
integration—designed to provide consumers reliable
electricity “at the best possible price.” S.B. 400, 2007
Reg. Sess. (Md.), http://perma.cc/z6py-qzhe.
Rather than advocate a return to vertical
integration, the PSC attempted to convince FERC to
revise the PJM market to provide the longer-term
investment horizon that the PSC preferred.
Specifically, the PSC asked FERC to expand the
NEPA’s three-year price guarantee to at least ten
years. FERC explicitly rejected Maryland’s proposal.
PJM Interconnection, L.L.C., 126 FERC 961,275, at
4146 (2009). Although it “recognize[d] that a longer
commitment period may aid the developer in financing
a project,” FERC concluded that “giving new suppliers
longer payments and assurances unavailable to
existing suppliers” would upset the market’s “balance”
between new and existing generation and “long-term
forward price signals.” Id. 4149-50; see also id. 4150
(auction “was designed to provide long-term forward
price signals and not necessarily long-term revenue
assurance’ ).
11
At that point, Maryland decided to take matters
into its own hands, seeking to incentivize new in-state
generation by directing utilities to enter into contracts
that would guarantee new generators fixed revenues
for a period much longer than PJM does. To that end,
in 2011, the PSC issued a request for proposals to
build a new generating facility. The request required
the winning bidder to agree to build in Maryland a
new gas-fired facility that would sell all of its
electricity and capacity into the PJM market. In
return, it guaranteed the winning bidder something it
called a “Fixed/Indexed Pricing Contract for
Differences.” This pricing contract is not a contract
with the state itself. Rather, it is a contract that the
PSC orders Maryland’s EDCs (the private companies
that deliver electricity to end-users) to enter into, and
it guarantees the new generator a fixed, 20-year
revenue stream for all electricity and capacity that it
sells to PJM.
Under the pricing contract, the EDCs are
obligated to ensure that the new generator receives
this state-set “contract price”—regardless of what the
PJM market clearing price may be—“for each unit of
energy and capacity [that it] sells to PJM in the PJM
Markets” for 20 years. JA264. The contract payments
are explicitly conditioned on the sale of the generator’s
capacity in the PJM market: If the state-set “contract
price” is higher than the PJM price, the EDCs must
pay the new generator the difference for each unit of
electricity and capacity that the generator actually
sells into the PJM market. If the new generator fails
to clear the PJM market and sells nothing to PJM, the
EDC is not required to pay anything. The EDCs may
pass along any costs or credits achieved to ratepayers.
12
The PSC received three proposals and ultimately
selected only CPV’s. The state then issued an order
compelling each of the state’s EDCs to execute a 20-
year pricifig contract with CPV, which each did under
protest.
E. Procedural Background
Respondents are generating companies that, as a
result of Maryland's actions, suffered suppressed PJM
prices and reduced revenues for their sales in the PJM
markets and were forced to forgo certain investments
in new generating assets. Accordingly, respondents
challenged Maryland’s actions in the U.S. District
Court for the District of Maryland. After a six-day
trial that included extensive presentation of evidence
and testimony, the district court agreed with
respondents that Maryland’s state-mandated pricing
contract intrudes upon FERC’s exclusive jurisdiction
over the wholesale market because it “establishes the
price ultimately received by CPV for its actual
physical energy and capacity sales to PJM in the PJM
Markets.” Pet.App.113a.!
In a unanimous opinion authored by Judge
Wilkinson, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit quickly affirmed. The court first dismissed the
state s argument that it lacked jurisdiction to consider
respondents challenge the generation order or the
pricing contracts. Pet.App.13a n.1. The court then
agreed with the District Court that Maryland’s action
are preempted. As the court explained, “[a]lthough
states plainly retain substantial latitude in directly
' Unless otherwise noted, all Petitioner-Appendix citations are
to the CPV petition s appendix in No. 14-623.
13
regulating generation facilities, they may not exercise
this authority in a way that impinges on FERC's
exclusive power over wholesale rates.” Pet.App.20a.
The court held that Maryland’s pricing contract does
just that, as it “functionally sets the rate that CPV
receives for its sales in the PJM auction” and
“supersedes the PJM rates that CPV would otherwise
earn.” Pet.App.17a, 19a; see also Pet.App.19a (pricing
contract “ensures that CPV receives a fixed price for
every unit of energy and capacity it sells in the PJM
auction, regardless of the market price”). As the court
put it: “Maryland has chosen to incentivize generation
by setting interstate wholesale rates. This particular
choice of means is impermissible.” Pet.App.21a.
The court also concluded that “principles of field
and conflict preemption in this case are mutually
reinforcing,” as Maryland’s pricing contract not only
displaces wholesale rates approved by FERC, but also
“disrupts [PJM’s price-signal] scheme by substituting
the state’s preferred incentive structure for that
approved by FERC.” Pet.App.21la, 23a. The contract
does so by guaranteeing CPV a fixed price for its sales
to PJM for 20 years, even though FERC explicitly
rejected Maryland’s proposal to expand NEPA’s three-
year guarantee for new generators as inconsistent
with its policy of non-discrimination between new and
existing generation. Pet.App.23a-24a. By providing
its own 20-year pricing guarantee, the court
explained, Maryland “sought to achieve through the
backdoor of its own regulatory process what it could
not achieve through the front door of FERC
proceedings.” Pet.App.24a. “Circumventing and
displacing federal rules in this fashion is not
permissible.” Pet.App.24a.
14
In reaching those conclusions, the Fourth Circuit
repeatedly stressed “the limited scope of [its] holding,
which is addressed to the specific program at issue.”
Pet.App.21; see also Pet.App.24a. As the court
reiterated in declining to opine on the validity of a
variety of programs to which petitioners sought to
analogize, “[i]t goes without saying that not ‘every
state statute that has some indirect effect’ on
wholesale rates is preempted.” Pet.App.2la. Here,
“however, the effect ... on matters within FERC’s
exclusive jurisdiction is neither indirect nor
incidental,” as the pricing contract “strikes at the
heart of the agency’s statutory power to establish rates
for the sale of electric energy in interstate commerce.”
Pet.App.2la. Whatever else states may do to incentive
generation, the court concluded, that particular choice
of means “is simply a bridge too far.” Pet.App.25a.
The Fourth Circuit’s decision was reinforced a few
months later by a unanimous decision of the U.S.
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit holding a nearly
identical scheme adopted by New Jersey—a state that
had joined Maryland in its unsuccessful effort to
convince FERC to modify its own regulatory scheme—
preempted by FERC’s exclusive jurisdiction over
wholesale rates. See PPL EnergyPlus, LLC v.
Solomon, 766 F.3d 241 (2014) (petitions for certiorari
in Nos. 14-634 and 14-694 pending). The Third Circuit
reached that conclusion after soliciting the views of
the federal government, which agreed that New
Jerseys scheme encroaches on FERC’s exclusive
jurisdiction. In its brief taking that position, FERC
specifically noted the close resemblance of the
Maryland scheme.
15
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITIONS
I. This Factbound, Splitless Case Does Not
Merit This Court’s Review.
A. The Carefully Circumscribed Decision
Below Accords With Well-Settled and
Unchallenged Preemption Principles.
Petitioners ask this Court to review a consciously
“narrow” decision, Pet.App.24a, applying settled legal
principles to a novel state scheme. Petitioners do not
and cannot claim any division of authority on whether
that scheme is preempted by federal law, as every
court—indeed, every judge—to consider the question
has agreed that the scheme is preempted. As
challenges to the New Jersey and Maryland pricing
schemes have made their way through the federal
courts, eight judges out of eight have found the laws
preempted, and the pleas for en banc review of those
decisions were denied without dissent. None of this is
surprising. There may well be some difficult questions
about the overlap between state authority over
generation and federal authority over wholesale rates.
But whether a state may avowedly provide in-state
generators a different and more stable wholesale rate
than prevails on the federally regulated wholesale
market is not one of them.
It is beyond cavil that FERC has exclusive
regulatory power over the field of interstate wholesale
electricity sales. The FPA expressly grants FERC
jurisdiction over “the transmission of electric energy
in interstate commerce and the sale of such energy at
wholesale in interstate commerce.” 16 U.S.C. §824(a).
That broad authority encompasses exclusive
jurisdiction to regulate “rates and charges made,
16
demanded, or received ... for or in connection with”
interstate wholesale transactions. Jd. §824d(a). In
sum, “the text and structure of the FPA
unambiguously apportion[{] control over wholesale
rates to FERC.” Pet.App.22a. That principle is so
settled that even petitioners readily concede that
“States may not... set the price ... at which electricity
or capacity is sold at wholesale.” CPV-Pet.11.
Petitioners’ principal dispute is instead with the
lower courts’ factual finding that Maryland’s novel
pricing scheme did indeed set wholesale rates—hardly
a promising basis for seeking this Court’s review. See
Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Prods. Co., 336
U.S. 271, 275 (1949) (this Court does not “review
concurrent findings of fact by two courts below in the
absence of a very obvious and exceptional showing of
error’). But petitioners’ arguments are readily refuted
by the pricing contract itself. On its face, the contract
“ensures that CPV receives a fixed price for every unit
of energy and capacity it sells in the PJM auction,
regardless of the market price.” Pet App.19a; see also
JA264. It is difficult to imagine a more clear-cut
example of a state determining the rate that a
generator “receive[s] ... for or in connection with” its
wholesale transactions. 16 U.S.C. §824d(a).
Indeed, the whole point of the pricing contract is
to guarantee that CPV’s wholesale sales to PJM will
be compensated at a price that is different from the
market clearing price set by PJM’s FERC-approved
auction mechanism. Any generator that clears the
auction already is entitled to the market clearing
price, so the contract makes sense only if it “effectively
supplants the rate generated by the auction with an
17
alternative rate preferred by the state”’—which it does.
Pet.App.17a. By “adopting terms and prices set by
Maryland, not those sanctioned by FERC,” this
scheme “strikes at the heart of the agency’s statutory
power to establish [wholesale] rates.” Pet.App.21a.
And to make matters worse, Maryland
guaranteed CPV this fixed, state-set rate for 20 years
even though FERC expressly rejected Maryland’s
request to expand NEPA’s three-year fixed revenue
guarantee to encourage more new generation. FERC
did so out of concern that “giving new suppliers longer
payments and assurances unavailable to existing
suppliers” would upset the PJM market's careful
“balance” between new and existing generation. PJM
Interconnection, 126 FERC 961,275, at 99149-50; see
also id. $150 (auction “was designed to provide long-
term forward price signals and not necessarily long-
term revenue assurance”). Maryland’s scheme thus
not only intrudes on an exclusively federal field, but
does so in a manner that conflicts overtly with FERC’s
regulation of that field. As the Court of Appeals
correctly concluded, that makes field and conflict
preemption principles “mutually reinforcing” here,
Pet.App.21la, as Maryland has both interfered with
FERC’s exclusive authority over wholesale rates and
created a “direct and transparent impediment to the
functioning of the PJM markets.” Pet.App.25a.
In short, the incursion on FERC’s authority in this
case is “neither indirect nor incidental,” but rather is
as “direct and transparent” as it could be.
Pet.App.21a, 25a. Maryland made no secret of its view
that the price signals the FERC-approved PJM
market was sending were not doing enough to benefit
18
Maryland. Indeed, the state candidly acknowledged
its view that the “market structures within PJM will
never provide the signals or the financial support to
build power plants in Maryland.” 3/5/13a.m. Tr.12:11-
15. Yet rather than exercise its option to retreat from
a federal market with which it was displeased, the
state took it upon itself to try to fix those perceived
deficiencies by changing the rates and terms for CPVs
sales in the PJM auction. Worse still, Maryland did
so in the face of FERC’s explicit refusal to take the
substantially similar “corrective” actions when
Maryland urged them.
It requires no “extravagant” view of FERC’s
jurisdiction, CPV-Pet.20, to recognize that this “is
simply a bridge too far.” Pet.App.25a. To be sure,
“states plainly retain substantial latitude in directly
regulating generation facilities” and incentivizing
their creation. Pet.App20a. But means matter as well
as ends. And states simply do not have the power “to
incentivize generation by setting interstate wholesale
rates.” Pet.App.2la. The decision below does nothing
more than reaffirm that unremarkable proposition.
B. The Decision Accords With FERC’s View.
The decision below accords not only with settled
preemption principles, but with FERC’s own view. See
Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr, 518 U.S. 470, 495-96 (1996)
(“the federal agency to which Congress has delegated
its authority ... is uniquely qualified to determine
whether a particular form of state law ... should be
pre-empted”). Petitioners conspicuously fail to
mention that FERC, before the Fourth Circuit’s
decision, already weighed in on this very mechanism
19
for incentivizing new generation resources and opined
that it is preempted.
Although FERC was not a party to this case or the
parallel New Jersey proceeding, the Third Circuit
invited the federal government to submit a brief
providing its views on whether New Jersey’s
materially analogous scheme is preempted. In a brief
that was brought to the Fourth Circuit's attention
through a 28(j) letter and explicitly referenced
Maryland’s “similar program,” FERC opined in no
uncertain terms that New Jerseys scheme is
preempted by federal law. By “tying the subsidy
explicitly and directly to ... wholesale rates,” FERC
explained, New Jersey's scheme marks an “intrusion
upon the Commission’s exclusive jurisdiction to
regulate wholesale rates and practices ‘affecting’
rates.” U.S. Br.5 n.3, 14-15, PPL EnergyPlus, LLC v.
Solomon, No. 13-4330 (3d Cir. Mar. 20, 2014). In
doing so, however, FERC made a point of reiterating
that “states have numerous ways to incentivize
construction of new generation facilities that do not
directly affect the setting of FERC-jurisdictional
wholesale rates.” Jd. at 18.
Remarkably, petitioners nonetheless continue to
suggest that FERC actually endorsed Maryland’s (and
New Jersey's) scheme when it made various revisions
to PJM’s “minimum offer price requirements” in
anticipation of the participation of state-subsidized
generators like CPV See State-Pet.17-18; CPV-
Pet.29. But the minimum offer price requirements
address wholly distinct issues about the price at which
a new generator may bid into PJM’s auction—not
whether states may supplement the price that
20
generators may receive for or in connection with those
sales. As the Fourth Circuit noted, moreover, “FERC’s
own comments on the subject belie [petitioners’] claim
that the agency has affirmatively approved the
Generation Order.” Pet.App.24a. For example,
FERC’s orders specifically disclaimed any “intent ... to
pass judgment on state and local policies and
objectives with regard to the development of new
capacity resources.” PJM Interconnection, L.L.C., 137
FERC 461,145, at 93 (2011). And, of course, “[t]}he
fact that FERC was forced to mitigate the Generation
Order’s distorting effects” with its revisions to the
minimum offer price rule “tends to confirm rather
than refute the existence of a conflict.” Pet.App.24a.
All of that readily explains why the Third Circuit,
which had just issued a lengthy decision upholding the
minimum offer price rule, N.J. Bd. of Pub. Utils. v.
FERC, 744 F.3d 74 (3d Cir. 2014), gave no more
credence to this flawed argument than the Fourth
Circuit did when the New Jersey petitioners raised it
before that court.
In any event, there is no need to guess at FERC’s
views on the question. When asked to weigh in, FERC
was crystal clear: No matter its motivation, a state
may not manipulate prices in the federally regulated
wholesale market. Petitioners’ contrary view thus has
been refuted not only by every judge to consider it, but
by the federal agency that oversees that market.’
2 In suggesting that the decision below “prevented FERC from
reviewing [the pricing contracts] to determine whether they are
just and reasonable,” CPV-Pet.35 & n.34, CPV ignores the fact
that it chose not to seek FERC review of the contracts until after
21
C. Petitioners’ Pleas for Error Correction
Recycle Arguments That Were Soundly
Rejected Below.
Petitioners’ continued efforts to find fault with the
decision below succeed only in revealing that they, not
the courts below, suffer from “basic
misunderstandings about the FPA _ regulatory
framework.” CPV-Pet.24. Moreover, petitioners’
strained attempts to recast the pricing contracts as
various things they are not were thoroughly
considered and rejected by both courts below after
careful consideration of an expansive trial record.
At the outset, to the extent petitioners attempt to
manufacture some sort of circuit split, their efforts are
unavailing—as evidenced by the fact that they cannot
even seem to agree on the decisions with which the one
below purportedly conflicts. Maryland offers up
Atlantic City Electric Co. v. FERC, 295 F.3d 1 (D.C.
Cir. 2002), a case that CPV never even bothers to
cite—and that the state itself cited only once in its
briefing below, for a point having nothing to do with
the one raised here. But Atlantic City addressed the
altogether different question of whether FERC may
compel utilities who agree to let PJM use their
transmission lines to cede their statutory rights to file
“changes in rate design” for the transmission services
they provide—even if PJM itself has not made that a
condition of their participation. Jd. at 8. Maryland
makes the feeble analogy that because FERC could not
they had been invalidated by the courts below. At that point,
FERC quite logically concluded that, even setting aside
preemption concerns, it could not review contracts that were no
longer in force.
22
force this term upon PJM and its participants, “PJM’s
tariff could not displace CPV’s right to set its own rate
for wholesale sales, subject to FERC review.” State-
Pet.16. But the obvious flaw in this logic is that the
PJM clearing price is not forced upon CPV by FERC or
anyone else; it is simply the price that CPV agreed to
receive when it agreed to bid its capacity into the PJM
auction.
All of Maryland’s talk about CPV’s right to “decide
the rates and terms on which [it is] willing to sell”
electricity and capacity (talk that is noticeably absent
from CPV’s own petition) is therefore beside the point.
State-Pet.12. To be sure, CPV may decide what prices
it will accept for the electricity and capacity that it
sells to willing buyers. But as petitioners themselves
argue, see CPV-Pet.24, CPV here sells its electricity or
capacity not to any utility, but to PJM. And as
Atlantic City itself makes clear, “utilities may choose
to voluntarily give up, by contract, some of their rate-
filing freedom.” 295 F.3d at 10. That is precisely what
CPV does when it opts into the PJM auction. CPV
cannot then, at Maryland’s direction, opt out of the
prices set by the PJM auction for sales to PJM.
CPV, for its part, makes much of Connecticut
Department of Public Utility Control v. FERC, 569
F.3d 477 (D.C. Cir. 2009) (““CDPUC”), a case that
Maryland barely mentions, and that is equally
inapposite. CDPUC dealt with whether FERC had
jurisdiction to review a feature of the New England
bulk power system that estimated the target amount
of capacity the system would need. Although CDPUC
at least involved the line between FERC’s jurisdiction
over wholesale rates and states’ jurisdiction over
23
generation, it resoundingly affirmed that FERC’s
jurisdiction over capacity rates remains exclusive even
when it has the potential to affect generation-related
ends. As the court explained, FERC “may directly
establish prices for capacity ... even for the express
purpose of incentivizing construction of new generation
facilities,” and thus likewise has “the power to do so
indirectly by setting a target for capacity demand.” Id.
at 482 (emphasis added). If anything, then, CDPUC
only bolsters the decision below.
Petitioners fare no better with their efforts to
portray the decision below as inconsistent with settled
distinctions between state and federal power under
the FPA. Indeed, once again, petitioners cannot even
get on the same page in identifying the purported
problem. CPV insists that Maryland’s pricing contract
does not intrude on FERC’s exclusive jurisdiction
because it does not set the rate that CPV will receive
from PJM, but rather sets only the rate that CPV will
receive from the EDCs for each unit of electricity or
capacity that it sells to PJM. See CPV-Pet.25. But
that crabbed view of FERC’s jurisdiction as extending
only to the rate paid by the direct purchaser of
electricity or capacity is defeated by the plain text of
the FPA, which grants FERC jurisdiction over “fa]ll
rates and charges made, demanded, or received ... for
or in connection with the ... sale” of electricity at
wholesale. 16 U.S.C. §824d(a) (emphasis added). A
contract that requires a third party to ensure that a
seller receives a particular price for each unit of
electricity or capacity that it sells to PJM plainly
24
establishes the “rate” that the seller “receive[s] ... for
or in connection with” those wholesale sales.
Maryland, by contrast, takes the decidedly
different view that the pricing contracts do establish
the rate for CPV’s wholesale sales, but that the rate
they set should be subject to “just and reasonable”
review by FERC because it is not set by the state.
State-Pet.13. But the courts below resolved that
factual dispute in respondents’ favor for good reason:
The contract price, while initially proposed by CPV as
part of a procurement, “became operative only after
reviewed, evaluated, and accepted by the PSC in an
agency order.” Pet.App.110a n.48. Indeed, the
chairman of the PSC “testified that the contract price
accepted by the PSC in the Generation Order
represented a unilateral decision by the PSC, and that
... PSC had reserved the right to select none of the
proposed contract prices.” Pet.App.110a n.48.
Because Maryland did in fact set the rate at which
CPV will be compensated, it cannot avoid preemption
3 As the Court of Appeals noted, that conclusion follows directly
not just from the statutory text but also from this Court's decision
in Mississippi Power & Light Co. v. Mississippi ex rel. Moore, 487
U.S. 354 (1988). There, the Court made clear that a state may
not use its jurisdiction over retail sales to prevent utilities from
recovering from their consumers FERC-mandated rates for their
wholesale electricity purchases. /d. at 373. Such state
interference was “preempted because it denied full effect to the
rates set by FERC.” Pet.App.18a. A fortiori, a state directive
that third parties pay generators a different rate for their
wholesale sales to PJM denies full effect to the PJM rates
approved by FERC. See Pet.App.18a (“If states are required to
give full effect to FERC-mandated wholesale rates on the demand
side of the equation, it stands to reason that they are also
required to do so on the supply side.”).
25
by appealing to FERC’s power to determine whether
rates are just and reasonable. It is black-letter law
that “any state law falling within [an exclusively
federal] field is preempted.” Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee
Corp., 464 U.S. 238, 248 (1984). That is so even if the
law purports to be “complementary” to federal
regulation. Arizona v. United States, 132 S. Ct. 2492,
2501-02 (2012). Indeed, it is so even if the federal
government has decided not to regulate at all. See
Ark. Elec. Coop. Corp. v. Ark. Pub. Serv. Comm’n, 461
U.S. 375, 383-84 (1983). By giving FERC exclusive
power to determine what wholesale rates are “just and
reasonable,” 16 U.S.C. §824d(a), Congress necessarily
foreclosed efforts by states to engage in their own
process of setting or reviewing the reasonableness of
wholesale rates—even if FERC might not object to
whatever rate a state would set. See Entergy Servs.,
Inc., 120 FERC 961,020, at 428 (2007) (reiterating
that FERC’s “ratemaking obligations under the FPA
cannot be delegated to a state”).
Petitioners fare no better in seeking to analogize
the pricing contracts to bilateral contracts, whether
long-term or short-term. See CPV-Pet.27-28.
Bilateral contracts are contracts between buyers and
sellers for the sale of electricity or capacity from one
party to the other. In other words, they are arms-
length transactions between a willing seller and buyer
for actual sales of electricity or capacity. See Morgan
Stanley Capital Grp. Inc. v. Pub. Util. Dist. No. 1 of
Snohomish Cnty., 554 U.S. 527, 531, 537 (2008)
(bilateral contracts are entered into under tariffs that
“simply state that the seller will enter into freely
negotiated contracts with purchasers’ (emphasis
added)). Here, by contrast, as CPV itself emphasizes
26
repeatedly, “Maryland's local utilities do not purchase
electricity or capacity from CPV under the contracts at
issue.” CPV-Pet.24 (emphasis added). CPV sells its
electricity or capacity not to the utility, but to PJM.
CPV-Pet.25. Contracts between sellers and non-
buyers that have merely been obligated by a state to
make payments (under protest) to subsidize sales of
electricity or capacity to someone else are nothing at
all like any kind of bilateral contract FERC has
approved.
Nor does it help CPV that a party who purchases
electricity or capacity through a bilateral contract may
proceed to sell that same electricity or capacity into
the PJM market. A party that purchases electricity at
one price and then sells that electricity into PJM at
another has not received two different prices for its
sale to PJM. As PJM’s own rules make clear, “the
capacity that is the subject of the [bilateral contract]
shall pass to the buyer” and “[ijn no event shall the
purchase and sale ... constitute a transaction with
[PJM].” PJM Tariff 4.6(a)(i)-(i). The buyer's
subsequent sale to PJM is another electricity or
capacity transaction entirely, and, in any event, none
of the wholesale prices it pays or receives is set by a
state. Here, by contrast, there is only one actual
electricity or capacity transaction taking place: the
transaction with PJM. The pricing contracts just force
the EDCs to ensure that CPV receives a particular
rate—and a rate different from PJM’s FERC-approved
rate—for that transaction. The problem here thus is
not that LCAPP generators are receiving more
revenue than the PJM auction supplies, see CPV-
Pet.26; it is that they are doing so even though they
27
are selling electricity and capacity to no one other than
PJM.
CPV alternatively attempts to paint the payments
under the pricing contracts as payments not for sales
of electricity or capacity, but for “new power plant
construction.” CPV-Pet.22. Once again, that is in the
teeth of the factual findings below, as both courts
found that those payments “plainly qualify as
compensation for interstate sales at wholesale, not
simply for CPV’s_ construction of a_ plant.”
Pet.App.17a. They could hardly find otherwise given
that payments are due under the pricing contracts
only if CPV physically delivers electricity or capacity
to PJM. If CPV constructed a plant but failed to clear
PJM, it would get nothing. Unsurprisingly, then, even
CPV’s own witness agreed that “the financial
considerations” in determining the contract price went
well “beyond recouping the costs for physically
constructing a generation facility,” JA293; as he
explained, “physical delivery of electricity was ... the
raison d’etre of going down this path.” 3/5/13a.m.
Tr.17:18-20 (emphasis added).
At bottom, no creative refashioning can change
the fact that Maryland’s scheme both by design and
intent supplants FERC-approved rates “received ...
for or in connection with” wholesale electricity sales to
PJM. Whatever else a state may do to incentivize new
generation, it may not do that. Pet.App.17a. Nor may
it manipulate the terms of wholesale transactions to
“achieve through the backdoor of its own regulatory
process what it could not achieve through the front
door of FERC proceedings.” Pet.App.24a. Because
Maryland's novel scheme plainly does both, the courts
28
below held that it is preempted by federal law There
is no reason for this Court to disturb that factbound,
splitless, and manifestly correct conclusion.‘
II. The Decision Below Is Consciously Narrow
And Lacks Exceptional Importance.
As a straightforward application of settled law to
a novel state program—one that deliberately and
directly set out to reform a market over which FERC
concededly has exclusive regulatory jurisdiction—the
decision below has far less legal or practical
significance than petitioners suggest. Indeed, the
Fourth Circuit carefully avoided precisely the kinds of
broad-brush pronouncements that petitioners seek to
attribute to it in their efforts to magnify the
importance of this case. Petitioners’ dire warnings
that the decision below “hobbles” or “cripples” states’
efforts to support new generation therefore fall flat.
CPV-Pet.18, State-Pet.1.
According to petitioners, the decision below rests
on the faulty premise that the PJM market must be
the “exclusive source of ‘incentives’ for constructing
power plants.” CPV-Pet.30. But in fact, the Fourth
Circuit emphasized that states have plenty of avenues
for incentivizing new generation; they just may not
alter the incentives that the PJM market produces by
‘ That is particularly so given that the Maryland's actions here
are invalid for the additional reason that they violate the
dormant Commerce Clause. See Appellees’ Br.49-58, PPL
EnergyPlus, LLC v. Solomon, No. 13-4330 (3d Cir. Feb. 18, 2014);
Appellees’ Br.51-60 (Doc. 65). While the Fourth Circuit had no
need to reach that issue in light of its holding that the Act was
preempted, Pet.App.25a n.3, that remains an alternative basis
for affirming the District Court’s injunction.
29
establishing different and more stable price
guarantees for sales in that market (particularly when
FERC has already rejected that approach). In
reaching that conclusion, the court explicitly
disclaimed any attempt to “express an opinion on
other state efforts to encourage new generation ... that
may or may not differ in important ways from the
Maryland initiative.” Pet.App.2la. Likewise, the
court made a point of reiterating that “not ‘every state
statute that has some indirect effect’ on wholesale
rates is preempted,” and that “not every state
regulation that incidentally affects federal markets is
preempted.” Pet.App.21la, 24a-25a.
Indeed, although petitioners continue to largely
ignore them, there is no question that states retain
numerous other means of incentivizing generation.
For instance, Maryland could have procured capacity
outside of the PJM auction through FERC’s fixed
resource requirement option, which allows
distributors to do so through true bilateral contracts
(i.e., contracts between two parties for the actual sale
of electricity) or by constructing their own generation
facilities. It could have established an agency to build
state-owned power plants and sell directly to
Maryland’s retail consumers. It could have bypassed
the wholesale market altogether and returned to the
vertically integrated regime that many states still
retain. In fact, the PSC expressly recognized that a
return to vertical integration would enable Maryland
to regain complete control over regulatory decisions,
yet nonetheless opted not to pursue that path.
Nothing in the decision below casts doubt on the
continued validity of those alternatives—let alone
30
“creates a regulatory vacuum for generation planning
and development.” State-Pet.26.
Nor is there any merit to petitioners’ contention
that the decision below somehow jeopardizes a whole
laundry list of other state incentive schemes. See
State-Pet.22-28; CPV-Pet.32-34. Petitioners
conspicuously fail to identify a single one of these
programs (other than New Jersey's materially
analogous one) that has been invalidated. Moreover,
for the most part, the programs they invoke involve
different factual circumstances, such as contracts for
electricity or capacity sales outside of an RTO’s market
mechanism. In any event, whether the lower courts
will confine the decision below to this specific scheme
or construe it to have implications for other factual
scenarios remains to be seen. For this Court to wade
into those issues now therefore would be premature—
particularly when every single federal judge to
consider this specific scheme has agreed that the
preemption problem could not be clearer.
Petitioners fare no better with their suggestion
that the particular incentive scheme at issue here is
critical to the development of new generating
facilities. That suggestion is belied by the numerous
other options state retain and the paucity of states
that have insisted on attempting anything like this. It
also is belied by the developments in this very case:
After insisting that it would not and could not build a
new generating facility without the fixed revenue
stream that the pricing contracts guarantee, CPV
proceeded with its plans to build the very same plant
at issue here, even though those contracts were
31
invalidated. See Jeff Newman, CPV breaks ground on
gas plant, Gazette.Net (Dec. 3, 2014).
In short, as the Fourth Circuit correctly
recognized, this case is not about whether states
retain power to regulate or incentivize generating
facilities. Of course they do. This case is instead about
the much narrower question of whether states may
incentivize generation by setting their own rates for
wholesale transactions. Even petitioners concede that
they may not. In doing so, they effectively concede
that this case is ultimately about an even narrower
question—namely, whether the particular state
scheme at issue here does in fact set the rate that CPV
“receive[s] ... for or in connection with” its sales of
energy and capacity to PJM. 16 U.S.C. §824d(a). As
both courts below recognized, there can be no serious
dispute that it does. That factbound, splitless, and
manifestly correct conclusion by four federal courts
and eight judges on what really amounts to a question
of fact does not warrant this Court’s review.
32
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, this Court should deny
the petitions for certiorari.
Respectfully submitted,
PAUL D. CLEMENT
Counsel of Record
ERIN E. MURPHY
CANDICE C. WONG
BANCROFT PLLC
1919 M Street NW
Suite 470
Washington, DC 20036
(202) 234-0090
pclement@bancroftplic.com
Counsel for Respondents
33
TAMARA LINDE JESSE A. DILLON
Executive Vice President Assistant General Counsel
and General Counsel PPL SERVICES CORP.
PSEG SERVICES CORP TwoN. Ninth Street
80 Park Plaza Allentown, PA 18101
Newark, NJ 07102
DAVID L. MEYER
SHANNEN W. COFFIN MORRISON & FOERSTER
STEPTOE & 2000 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
JOHNSON LLP Suite 6000
1330 Connecticut Ave. NW Washington, DC 20006
Washington, DC 20036
Counsel for
Counsel for The PPL Companies
PSEG Power, LLC
DAVID MUSSELMAN
Associate General Counsel
ESSENTIAL POWER, LLC
150 College Road West
Princeton, NJ 08540
Counsel for
Essential Power, LLC
February 11, 2015
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.