Amicus Curiae Brief — Deboer v. Snyder, 135 S. Ct. 1040 (2015) (No. 14-571)

Supreme Court brief2015

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Nos. 14 14 14-571 and 14

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

JAMES OBERGEFELL, ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.

RICHARD HODGES, DIRECTOR, OHIO DEPARTMENT OF

HEALTH, ET AL.

VALERIA TANCO, ET AL., PETITIONERS

Vv.

BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR OF TENNESSEE, ET AL.

APRIL DEBOER, ET AL., PETITIONERS

Vv.

RICK SNYDER, GOVERNOR OF MICHIGAN, ET AL.

GREGORY BOURKE, ET AL., PETITIONERS

Vv.

STEVE BESHEAR, GOVERNOR OF KENTUCKY, ET AL.

ON WRITS OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

DONALD B. VERRILLI, JR.

Solicitor

Counsel of Record

ee

Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover

nay fa -

cting Associate Attorney

General

VANITA GUPTA

—s C. -—y

cting Assistant Attorneys

General

IAN HEATH GERSHENGORN

Deputy Solicitor General

BETH S. BRINKMANN

GreEGoRY B. FRIEL

PAMELA S. KARLAN

. -~- Attorneys

ERIc J. FEIGIN

Assistant to the Solicitor

General

DIANA K. FLYNN

DOUGLAS N. LETTER

SHARON M. MCGOWAN

MICHAEL JAY SINGER

ROBERT A. KocH

ABBY C. WRIGHT

JEFFREY E. SANDBERG

(202) 514-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does the Fourteenth Amendment require a

State to license a marriage between two people of the

same sex?

2. Does the Fourteenth Amendment require a

State to recognize a marriage between two people of

the same sex when their marriage was lawfully li-

censed and performed out-of-state?

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

I re Ce ee cccnscnnntrrnnnnersnnctenincmrememmesnnsiomannetn 2

STII i sniesieanesesinsrpapinninennensanemneeneunennmvenannaniatinnndaimminniiedstie: 2

I 11

Argument:

The state marriage bans violate the Equal Protection

I ecnnssnnsenanserenssmmnensnrecentenesenscsnenenenentneuensemnemeneinmenees 13

A. Classifications based on sexual orientation are

subject to heightened scrutiny .....................:.....0000+- 15

B. The state marriage bans fail heightened

I cnneccinernntarencenenerenpitsntadlicnsnsnssmsiimnatemermenenesees 25

C. The reasoning of United States v. Windsor

confirms the invalidity of the state marriage

ST iiciccnicrsnarnntencnnsenaiienintnnianminadeinpiaimnsniennnemmesasninnl 36

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Adoption of Doe, In re, 719 N.E.2d 1071 (Ohio Ct.

Bs Fi esrarsensenesorsentnntescssnennsnscsensnectnnsnssenmsasssemescatinmessenenes 7

Baker v. Nelson:

a ee ntrirtncrnntirecnetecemasienccsntinsennaenneel 9, 21

SD Dee as I. IP Pecrcccccnscsennscensscenscenenssntennsnes 21

Baskin v. Bogan, 766 F.3d 648 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, 135 S. Ct. 316 (2014) .................... 17, 19, 20, 28

Board of Trs. of Univ. of Ala. v. Garrett, 531 U.S. 356

Fes crnnncncsentnmnnscensnsssnepsnnmanemmnsenmasesnentessremmnenanemsennsnnesens

Bottoms v. Bottoms, 457 S.E..2d 102 (Va. 1995) hapasmasinennmsanent 5

Bowen v. Bowen, 688 So. 2d 1374 (Miss. 1997).............0000000 5

Bowen v. Gilliard, 483 U.S. 587 (1987)............... 16, 17, 19, 20

Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986) .................cccc0000- 30

Bray v. Alexandria Women’s Health Clinic,

a either ichteiaiteeatenara a inieiniaiiaataieiaaied 16

Cases—Continued: Page

Christian Legal Soc’y v. Martinez, 561 U.S. 661

eC 16

City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Ctr., 473 U.S.

eee passim

City of Eastlake v. Forest City Enters., 426 U.S. 668

GET Ui cccutucsancsnnmncnsmnmmanenncsenteiesteusnemimemanennenmmanteneneenteenaneetd 30

City of Richmond v. J.A. Croson Co., 488 U.S. 469

IID ccranssennnssceceqpsenentnsenmneencumnemapmenmmenesenmanmenmmmenmnnes 15

Clark v. Jeter, 486 U.S. 456 (1988) ...........cccceeeeseeees 15, 22, 25

Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974) ..........--cccccceccsseeesees 21

Fiallo v. Bell, 430 U.S. T87 (1977) .......ccccsecccesssesesssssesessosseses 22

Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677 (1973)......... 16, 18, 20

Goldman v. Weinberger, 475 U.S. 503 (1986) .............0c0000 22

Goodridge v. Department of Pub. Health, 798 N.E.2d

ee Ss Geen neccnsnsencecenncsansevecsnsanintinnstansssasssesssesssesansscsssse 7

Graham v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 365 (1971) .......cc00cceecesees 19

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965)..............00000 14

H.H., Ex parte, 830 So. 2d 21 (Ala. 2002) ............cccccseeeveeseeeees 5

Heller v. Doe, 509 U.S. 312 (19938) .........ccsssesserssesssseeressnseeens 30

J.E.B. v. Alabama T.B., 511 U.S. 127 (1994) 200......cccccccceeees 30

Johnson v. California, 543 U.S. 499 (Z005) .........0...ccecseereees 22

Kitchen v. Herbert, 755 F.3d 1193 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied, 135 S. Ct. 26 (2014) 2.0.0.0... cee cececeeeeeeee 23, 27

Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558 (2008) ......-.cccceeeoeee passim

Lesbian/Gay Freedom Day Comm., Inc. v. INS,

541 F. Supp. 569 (N.D. Cal. 1982) .............co-cscssssesssesesesonees 4

Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967) ...........cccceseeeeeee passim

Lyng v. Castillo, 477 U.S. 635 (1986) .......-ccsccsessssvesseerees 19, 20

Massachusetts Bd. of Ret. v. Murgia, 427 U.S. 307

ITED cacesiaseneccesmmecasesanesemmesnanennsmemmaieeininnaniaranemerenneecennmemannes 24

Cases—Continued: Page

Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620 (1996).................cc000e- 16, 31, 35

San Antonio Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Rodriguez,

Ee 24

S.J.LS. v. T.L.S., 265 S.W.3d 804 (Ky. Ct. App. 2008)......... 8

Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987) ..........-scccssssescseseeceeeees 25

United States v. Virginia, 518 U.S. 515

CTT cchitctresnendanennipeitieentinaiucnsenanapunntoniieité 15, 24, 25, 26, 30, 35

United States v. Windsor, 133 S. Ct. 2675 (2013) ...... passim

Washington v. Seattle Sch. Dist. No. 1, 458 U.S. 457

SEIT senbicndsecsiveinecicesciidenscieeiatinnainteipbaipeinnamnenentinnpeniimaiienimenanenavesnten 31

Watson v. City of Memphis, 373 U.S. 526 (1963)................ 28

Windsor v. United States, 699 F.3d 169 (2d Cir. 2012)......21

Zablocki v. Redhail, 434 U.S. 374 (1978)..........ccccccccceeeeeseeees 23

Constitutions and statutes:

U.S. Const.:

Art. IV, § 1 (Full Faith and Credit Clause)................... 32

Amend. XIV (Equal Protection Clause) ............... passim

a Ss Sr eh ertirienersnicenicntniscnstensciicitaiiatiiliinsinseneinincinneiniihaninaiaintin 7

RE a aD Te 7

FER ees eee ae Le aE 7

, v _SERET SESE ee eee enema 7

Act of Feb. 5, 1917, ch. 29, § 3, 39 Stat. 875 ............cccceccceeeeees 5

Defense of Marriage Act, Pub. L. No. 104-199,

110 Stat. 2419:

Ee a ee ean 32

I i at aa 31, 32, 33

Immigration Act of 1990, Pub. L. No. 101-649,

EE NS ee Ce 5

Statutes—Continued: Page

Ala. Code (LexisNexis):

fe ne 4

ae 4

Ga. Code Ann. § 16-6-2(a)(1) (2011).............csccecssesceneesenesenenes 4

a iterate neater ett eattatanaaiaes 4

Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-5504(a)(1) (Supp. 2013) ............c.csseee 4

Ky. Rev. Stat. (LexisNexis):

(2010):

EEE sae neem Me Se 8

REESE ee ance ene mee Oem nna 7

ASSERT I wenn ete nee Somer Renee Neo R Sart 7

I a 7

| Ce Ore ny ann CeO Mivereee ROOT 7

i islam 7

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 14:89(A)(1) (Supp. 2014)............c.scee0 4

Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. (West):

8 EE ee ee ee eae 7

EE EE en eee eS eer, &

ee I iii ecrincrcniasiciccabitilenidalieieaniaiatiaiiianils 7

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. (LexisNexis):

(2008):

| EET ae eee a a ee ee 7

EARLS RTE ne ne ED OO NEN Mime 8

ERA a Se TE &

Tenn. Code Ann. (2014):

SE ee an ae eR TE OTD 8

Teed en ae ce Ee 7

a tial 8

Tenn. House Bill No. 600, Pub. Ch. 278 (2011),

http:/Awww.state.tn.us/sos/acts/107/pub/pc0278.pdf ........ 20

Vil

Statutes—Continued: Page

Tex. Penal Code Ann. (West 2011):

i aliietiainiiad 4

EES a nar ee ER 4

Utah Code Ann. § 76-5-403(1) (LexisNexis Supp.

EDS OY ER race a-ak eR a ee Lee Ee ee 4

Miscellaneous:

Am. Acad. of Pediatrics, Coparent or Second-Parent

Adoption by Same-Sex Parents (Feb. 2002),

http://www.pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/

OIE tecinnnsinsinsnnttnceniniasnnnstininnictnersascsmeees 28

Am. Psychiatric Ass’n, Position Statement on

Homosexuality and Civil Rights (1973),

131 Am. J. Psychiatry 497 (1974) ..........scsecsesseessesesecenevees 18

Am. Psychological Ass’n, Marriage Equality and

LGBT Health, http://www.apa.org/about/gr/

issues/lgbt/marriage-equality.pdf (last visited

I cinnennieniiete 28

Dale Carpenter, Windsor Products, 2013 Sup. Ct.

i, Ca ci scistentrierncenseencinteniesiiniisneditinienpiinainnemumemennnnnenes 4

Simon R. Crouch et al., Parent-Reported Measures

of Child Health and Wellbeing in Same-Sex Parent

Families, 14 BMC Public Health 635 (June 21,

ID centacitpdscenniatistnstiinemanenememansniminimatitininiainmeneanecmcene 28

Andrew DeMillo, Arkansas bars expanding local

protections for gays, lesbians, Associated Press

(Feb. 23, 2015), http://www.apnews.com/ap/db _

268748/contentdetail.htm?contentguid =aAo9UJmZ......20

FBI:

Hate Crime Statistics 1996, http://www.fbi.

gov/ about-us/cjis/ucr/hate-crime/1996/

IIIT -cocniehiciteniasinadamisistiinilisintindinsiniaaataniecmmacats 6

Vill

Miscellaneous—Continued:

2013 Hate Crime Statistics, http://www.

fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/hate-crime/2013/

tables/1tabledatadeepdf/table_1_

incidents_offenses_ victims _and_known_

offenders _by_ bias motivation_2013.xls ...........

Sean Gregory, Louisiana Sodomy Sting: How

Invalidated Sex Laws Still Lead to Arrests, Time

(July 31, 2013), http:/Awww.nation.time.com/2013/

07/31/louisiana-sodomy-sting-how-invalidated-sex-

laws-still-lead-to-arrests/ i icateachariasitiiiniteeidgehtntin alliniiainite aaa

H.R. Rep. No. 664, 104th Coitg? 2d Sess. (1996)...........

Letter from Eric H. Holder, Jr., Att’y Gen., to John

A. Boehner, Speaker, House of Representatives

A Be Se ercncerncitttneiicnccmceneansnenneniemennnsmenmanetinnense

Michael Klarman, From the Closet to the Altar (2012)

Official Journal of the House of Representatives of

the State of Louisiana (Apr. 15, 2014), http://

house.louisiana.gov/H_Journals/H_Journals_

All/2014 RSJournals/14RS%20%20HJ%200415%

Pew Research Ctr., How many same-sex marriages

in the U.S.? At least 71,165, probably more

(June 26, 2013), http:/Awww.pewresearch.org/fact-

tank/2013/06/26/how-many-same-sex-marriages-

in-the-u-s-at-least-71165-probably-more .........-......-++-

Remarks by the President and Vice President at

Signing of the Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell Repeal Act of

2010 (Dec. 22, 2010), http:/Awww.whitehouse.gov/

the-press-office/2010/12/22/remarks-president-and-

vice-president-signing-dont-ask-dont-tell-repeal-a ..

Page

seseasse 4

IX

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page

Trudy Ring, Voters in Two Kansas Cities Repeal

Antidiscrimination Laws, Advocate (Nov. 8, 2012),

http:/Awww.advocate.com/politics/election/

2012/11/08/voters-two-kansas-cities-repeal-

ee cirtccitcctntnsnrnienicenstiinsecenmneninnnnmeccesi 20

Carl Smith, Wiseman: Aldermen offered no explana-

tion for LGBT-related policy discussions in execu-

tive session, The Dispatch (Jan. 7, 2015), http://

www.cdispatch.com/news/article.asp?aid =39208 ............ 20

Glen Staszewski, The Bait-and-Switch in Direct

Democracy, 2006 Wis. L. Rev. 17 (2006) .................2..0e00- 29

A.G. Sulzberger, Kansas Law on Sodomy Remains

on Books Despite a Cull, N.Y. Times, Jan. 21, 2012,

(Sh a rena ae ne aT eT 4

Williams Inst.:

LGBT Parenting in the United States (Feb.

2013), http://www.williamsinstitute.law.ucla.

edu/wp-content/uploads/LGBT-Parenting.pdf .......27

Brad Sears et al., Surveys of LGBT Public Em-

ployees and Their Co-Workers, in Document-

ing Discrimination on the Basis of Sexual

Orientation and Gender Identity in State

Employment (2009), http://www.

williamsinstitute.law.ucla.edu/wp-

content/uploads/9 Surveys.pdf. ................ccscsseeeeeeees 6

U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey

Data on Same Sex Couples (2013) http://www.

census.gov/hhes/samesex/data/acs. htiml.................0000-0+++ 29

U.S. Dep't of Justice, Jnvestigation of the New Orle-

ans Police Department (Mar. 16, 2011), http:/Awww.

justice.gov/crt/about/spl/nopd_report.pdf.....................-.-. 6

Robert Wintemute, Sexual Orientation and Human

SERRE Ri eR ae 20

In the Supreme Court of the United States

No. 14-556

JAMES OBERGEFELL, ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.

RICHARD HODGES, DIRECTOR, OHIO DEPARTMENT OF

HEALTH, ET AL.

No. 14-562

VALERIA TANCO, ET AL., PETITIONERS

Vv.

BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR OF TENNESSEE, ET AL.

No. 14-571

APRIL DEBOER, ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.

RICK SNYDER, GOVERNOR OF MICHIGAN, ET AL.

No. 14-574

GREGORY BOURKE, ET AL., PETITIONERS

Vv.

STEVE BESHEAR, GOVERNOR OF KENTUCKY, ET AL.

ON WRITS OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

(1)

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

These cases concern the authority of a State to de-

ny to same-sex couples and their children the protec-

tions and benefits granted through civil marriage to

opposite-sex couples and their children. The United

States has a strong interest in the eradication of dis-

crimination on the basis of sexual orientation. The

President and Attorney General have determined that

classifications based on sexual orientation should be

subject to heightened scrutiny. See Letter from Eric

H. Holder, Jr., Attorney General of the United States,

to John A. Boehner, Speaker, U.S. House of Repre-

sentatives (Feb. 23, 2011). The United States also has

an interest because marital status is relevant to many

benefits and responsibilities under federal law. See

United States v. Windsor, 133 S. Ct. 2675, 2694-2695

(2013).

STATEMENT

Petitioners are same-sex couples who have been

denied the privileges and responsibilities of civil mar-

riage by the States in which they make their homes.

Petitioners have formed, and seek legal recognition of,

their committed relationships for the same reasons

that opposite-sex couples do. But their home States

persist in excluding them from the “dignity and sta-

tus” of civil marriage and the “far-reaching legal ac-

knowledgment of the intimate relationship between

two people” that civil marriage represents, United

States v. Windsor, 133 S. Ct. 2675, 2692 (2013). In

doing so, those States have burdened petitioners in

every aspect of life that marriage touches, “from the

mundane to the profound,” id. at 2694.

(2)

3

The pervasive discrimination petitioners face be-

cause they cannot marry is reflected in their pleas for

equal treatment: “[sjome involve a birth, others a

death”; “[slome involve concerns about property,

taxes, and insurance”; others involve “rights to visit a

partner or partner’s child in the hospital.” 14-556 Pet.

App. 16a (Pet. App.). These cases thus require the

Court to decide whether States may deny to lesbian

and gay couples—more than 700,000 families, includ-

ing nearly 220,000 children—equal participation in an

institution that gives legal expression and protection

to “one of the vital personal rights essential to the

orderly pursuit of happiness,” Loving v. Virginia, 388

U.S. 1, 12 (1967).

1. Throughout this Nation’s history, lesbian and

gay people have encountered numerous barriers—

public and private, symbolic and concrete—that have

prevented them from full, free, and equal participation

in American life. The federal government, state and

local governments, and private parties have all con-

tributed to this history of discrimination. Many forms

of discrimination continue to this day.

Criminal laws. Perhaps the starkest form of dis-

crimination against lesbian and gay people is our

Nation’s long history of “demean|ing] their existence

* * * by making their private sexual conduct a

crime.” Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558, 578 (2003);

see, e.g., id. at 573. “When homosexual conduct is

made criminal * * * , that declaration in and of

itself is an invitation to subject homosexual persons to

discrimination both in the public and in the private

spheres.” Jd. at 575.

Although this Court held over a decade ago that such

declarations are unconstitutional, Lawrence, 539 U.S. at

4

575, they remain on the books in many States. See, e.g.,

Ala. Code §§ 13A-6-60, 13A-6-65(a)(3) (LexisNexis 2005);

Ga. Code Ann. § 16-6-2(a)(1) (2011); Kan. Stat. Ann.

§ 21-5504(a)(1) (Supp. 2013); La. Rev. Stat. Ann.

14:89(A)(1) (Supp. 2014); Tex. Penal Code Ann.

§§ 21.01(1)(A), 21.06 (West 2011); Utah Code Ann. § 76-

5-403(1) (LexisNexis Supp. 2014). One State has affirm-

atively reenacted such a law post-Lawrence, 2006 Ga.

Laws 386, and other States have deliberately chosen not

to repeal preexisting laws, see A.G. Sulzberger, Kansas

Law on Sodomy Remains on Books Despite a Cull, N.Y.

Times, Jan. 21, 2012, at Al3; Official Journal of the

House of Representatives of the State of Louisiana

741 (Apr. 15, 2014), http://www.house.louisiana.gov/H _

Journals/H_ Journals All/2014 RSJournals/14RS%20-

%20HJ%200415%2022.pdf. Some local officials still

attempt to bring criminal charges under these laws. See

Sean Gregory, Louisiana Sodomy Sting: How Invali-

dated Sex Laws Still Lead to Arrests, Time (July 31,

2013), http://www.nation.time.com/2013/07/31/louisiana-

sodomy-sting-how-:nvalidated-sex-laws-still-lead-to-

arrests/.

Official hostility. In the early twentieth century,

the sexual orientation or conduct of lesbian and gay

people could provide a basis for indefinite civil institu-

tionalization, as well as sterilization or castration, on

the ground that they were “moral degenerates” or

“sexual perverts.” Dale Carpenter, Windsor Prod-

ucts, 2013 Sup. Ct. Rev. 183, 253 (2013). As late as

1991, lesbian and gay aliens were categorically subject

to exclusion from the United States on the ground

that they were “persons of constitutional psychopathic

inferiority,” mentally “defective,” or sexually deviant.

Lesbian/Gay Freedom Day Comm., Inc. v. INS, 541

5

F. Supp. 569, 571-572 (N.D. Cal. 1982) (quoting Act of

Feb. 5, 1917, ch. 29, § 3, 39 Stat. 875); see Immigration

Act of 1990, Pub. L. No. 101-649, 104 Stat. 4978.

States and localities have denied child custody and

visitation rights to lesbian and gay parents based on

their intimate relationships. See, e.g., Ex parte H.H..,

830 So. 2d 21, 26 (Ala. 2002) (Moore, C.J., concurring);

Bowen v. Bowen, 688 So. 2d 1374, 1381 (Miss. 1997);

Bottoms v. Bottoms, 457 S.E.2d 102, 108 (Va. 1995).

Historically, public employees at both the federal] and

state levels were subject to intrusive investigations of

their private lives and to termination if they were

suspected of being lesbian or gay. See U.S. Br. at 23-

24, Windsor, supra (No. 12-307) (U.S. Windsor Br.).

The federal government was particularly aggressive

in forcing thousands of federal employees out of their

jobs based on suspicions about their sexual orienta-

tion, or in denying them opportunities, such as by

deeming them ineligible for security clearances. And

by banning lesbian and gay people from serving open-

ly in the Armed Forces before 2011, the federal gov-

ernment treated their sexual orientation as incompat-

ible with a significant attribute of citizenship: the

chance to defend the Nation.

Lesbian and gay people have long been, and con-

tinue to be, targets of discriminatory law-enforcement

practices. Historically, police would engage in har-

assment through selective enforcement of liquor-

licensing laws and laws prohibiting lewdness, vagran-

cy, and disorderly conduct. See U.S. Windsor Br. at

25-26. And as recently as 2011, the Department of

Justice found a pattern and practice of discriminatory

policing against lesbian and gay people by the New

Orleans Police Department. U.S. Dep’t of Justice,

6

Investigation of the New Orleans Police Department

34-40 (Mar. 16, 2011), http://www-.justice.gov/crt/

about/spl/nopd_report.pdf.

Hate crimes. Animus toward gay, lesbian, bisexual, or

transgender people is the second-most common motiva-

tion for hate crimes. See Federal Bureau of Investigation

(FBD, 2013 Hate Crime Statistics tbl.1, http://www.

fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/hate-crime/2013/tables/

ltabledatadecpdf/table_1 incidents offenses victims and

_known_offenders_ by_ bias | motivation | 2013.xls. Indeed,

from 1996 (the first year for which the FBI reported data)

to 2013 (the latest year in which the FBI reported data),

such hate crimes increased by 21%, even as hate crimes

overall decreased by 32%. Compare zbid., with FBI, Hate

Crime Statistics 1996 tbl.1, http-/Awww-fbi.gov/about-us/

cjis/ucr/hate-crime/1996/hatecrime96.pdf.

Employment discrimination. Employers and co-

workers continue to discriminate against lesbian and

gay people in the workplace. A set of 15 studies con-

ducted since the mid-1990s has found that significant

percentages of lesbian, gay, and bisexual people have

experienced workplace discrimination, including being

fired or refused employment; being denied promotion

or given unfavorable performance reviews; being

verbally or physically abused or experiencing work-

place vandalism; and receiving unequal pay or bene-

fits. Brad Sears et al., Williams Inst., Surveys of

LGBT Public Employees and Their Co-Workers, in

Documenting Discrimination on the Basis of Sexual

Orientation and Gender Identity in State Employ-

ment 9-1 (2009), http:/Avwww.williamsinstitute.law.

ucla.edu/wp-content/uploads/9_Surveys.pdf.

2. These cases present challenges involving 16 les-

bian and gay couples residing in Kentucky, Michigan,

7

Ohio, and Tennessee to laws in those States that bar

them from the institution of civil marriage, and the

dignity, rights, and responsibilities that marriage

entails. Pet. App. 16a-22a; see Ky. Const. § 233A; Ky.

Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 402.005, 402.020(1)(d), 402.040(2)

and 420.045 (LexisNexis 2010) (Ky. Stat.); Mich.

Const. Art. I, § 25; Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 551.1

(West 2005) (Mich. Laws); Ohio Const. Art. XV, § 11;

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3101.01(C) (LexisNexis 2008)

(Ohio Code); Tenn. Const. Art. XI, § 18; Tenn. Code

Ann. § 36-3-113(a) (2014) (Tenn. Code). After the

highest court in Massachusetts recognized a right

under the Massachusetts constitution for same-sex

couples to marry, see Goodridge v. Department of

Pub. Health, 798 N.E.2d 941 (2003), the voters in each

of those four States amended their own state constitu-

tions to foreclose marriage for lesbian or gay couples,

even if the rights guaranteed under those state consti-

tutions would otherwise have required it. Pet. App.

16a-22a.

Some petitioners seek recognition in their home

States for their otherwise-lawful out-of-state marriag-

es; others are currently unmarried and seek marriage

licenses. Pet. App. 16a-22a. The refusal of their home

States to recognize current or prospective marriages

has prevented petitioners from realizing the wide

range of tangible and intangible benefits that mar-

riage provides. Among other things, the state mar-

riage bans inhibit their ability to raise children in a

recognized two-parent family. 14-571 Pet. App. 72a-

75a. The adoption law in each State expressly pro-

vides for joint adoption by two parents only when the

parents are married (see Ky. Stat. § 199.470 (Lex-

isNexis 2013); Mich. Laws § 710.24 (West Supp.

8

2014); Ohio Code § 3107.03; Tenn. Code § 36-1-115),

and none of the four States expressly permits sepa-

rate adoptions of the same child by two parents who

are not legally married under state law. Kentucky

and Ohio have rejected adoption petitions filed by

lesbian women seeking to become the second parent of

a partner’s biological child. See S.J.L.S. v. T.L.S., 265

S.W.3d 804, 828 (Ky. Ct. App. 2008); Jn re Adoption of

Doe, 719 N.E.2d 1071, 1073 (Ohio Ct. App. 1998).

The state marriage bans also deny lesbian and gay

couples many other advantages under state law, in a

wide range of areas, that opposite-sex couples may

take for granted. Marriage affects contexts including

taxation, see, e.g., Ky. Stat. § 141.069(2) (tax deduction

for spouse’s educational expenses); intestate succes-

sion, see, e.g., Ohio Code § 2105.06 (LexisNexis 2011)

(inheritance rights of surviving spouse); workers’

compensation, see, e.g., Tenn. Code § 50-6-210(e)(1)

(income benefits for dependent spouse); and wrongful-

death actions, see, e.g., Mich. Laws § 600.2922(3)(a)

(West 2010) (automatic right for deceased’s spouse to

sue). And petitioners’ cases illustrate some of the

myriad other ways in which same-sex couples who

would marry in-state if allowed, or whose out-of-state

marriages are discounted, are disadvantaged. Ken-

tucky residents Timothy Love and Lawrence Ysunza,

who have lived together for over three decades, allege

that Love’s emergency heart surgery had to be de-

layed in order for him to execute documents granting

Ysunza hospital access and medical-decisionmaking

authority—rights that a spouse would have automati-

cally. 14-574 Pet. App. 100a. Tennessee residents

Valeria Tanco and Sophia Jesty cannot combine their

healtheare plans and lack automatic visitation and

9

medical-decision rights. 14-562 Pet. App. 113a-114a.

And Ohio-resident petitioners, although lawfully mar-

ried under the laws of other States, cannot obtain

from Ohio a child’s birth certificate listing both spous-

es or a death certificate listing the surviving spouse.

Pet. App. 20a-21a.

Beyond these tangible legal harms, petitioners also

allege that the marriage bans inflict psychological and

dignitary harms on themselves and their children.

For example, Sergeant First Class Ijpe DeKoe, who

married Thomas Kostura in New York and is now

stationed in Tennessee, has explained that “as some-

one who has dedicated my career and risked my life to

protect American values of freedom, liberty, and

equality, it is particularly painful to return home after

serving in Afghanistan only to have my citizenship

diminished by Tennessee’s refusal to recognize our

marriage.” 14-562 Pet. App. 114a-115a (brackets

omitted). And Tanco and Jesty “are concerned about

the environment in which their child will be raised,

fearing that Tennessee’s refusal to recognize her

parents’ marriage will stigmatize her, cause her to

believe that she and her family are entitled to less

dignity than her peers and their families, and give her

the impression that her parents’ love and their family

unit is somehow less stable.” Jd. at 114a.

3. The district courts hearing petitioners’ suits all

held that the state marriage bans violate the federal

Constitution’s Fourteenth Amendment. Pet. App.

107a-221la; 14-562 Pet. App. 104a-130a; 14-571 Pet.

App. 1038a-141a; 14-574 Pet. App. 96a-157a. The court

of appeals reversed. Pet. App. la-106a.

The court of appeals believed that, as a lower court,

it was bound by Baker v. Nelson, 409 U.S. 819 (1972),

10

in which this Court summarily dismissed a challenge

to Minnesota’s denial of a marriage license to a same-

sex couple. Pet. App. 23a-27a. The court of appeals

also held that the marriage bans are constitutional

because (in its view) they are rationally related to a

state interest in “creatiling] an incentive for two peo-

ple who procreate together to stay together for pur-

poses of rearing offspring” and a state interest in

taking a “wait and see” approach before changing

existing legal and social norms. /d. at 35a-37a. In

reaching that holding, the court rejected the conten-

tion that the marriage bans warrant heightened scru-

tiny under the Fourteenth Amendment. /d. at 5la-

58a. The court acknowledged “the lamentable reality

that gay individuals have experienced prejudice in this

country, sometimes at the hands of public officials,

sometimes at the hands of fellow citizens.” Jd. at 52a.

But it concluded that the “usual leap from history of

discrimination to intensification of judicial review does

not work” because “the institution of marriage arose

independently of this record of discrimination.” /d. at

53a.

Judge Daughtrey dissented. Pet. App. 70a-106a.

She emphasized the “destabilizing effect” of the mar-

riage bans on “tens of thousands of same-sex parents

throughout the four states of the Sixth Circuit.” /d. at

72a. Drawing upon trial evidence introduced in the

Michigan case, she noted that “same-sex couples in

Michigan are almost three times more likely than

opposite-sex couples to be raising an adopted child

and twice as likely to be fostering a child”; that “the

psychological well-being, educational development,

and peer relationships were the same in children

raised in gay, lesbian, or heterosexual homes”; and

11

that “heterosexual marriages have not suffered or

decreased in number as a result of states permitting

same-sex marriages.” Jd. at 78a-80a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The marriage bans challenged in these cases im-

permissibly exclude lesbian and gay couples from the

rights, responsibilities, and status of civil marriage.

These facially discriminatory laws impose concrete

harms on same-sex couples and send the inescapable

message that same-sex couples and their children are

second-class families, unworthy of the recognition and

benefits that opposite-sex couples take for granted.

The bans cannot be reconciled with the fundamental

constitutional guarantee of “equal protection of the

laws,” U.S. Const. Amend. XIV.

A. This Court has appropriately recognized only a

small set of legal classifications as. constitutionally

suspect and subject to heightened equal-protection

scrutiny. Classification on the basis of sexual orienta-

tion presents the rare circumstance of a classification

that should be added to that list.

Sexual orientation satisfies all four factors that this

Court has looked to in determining whether to recog-

nize a suspect class. First, lesbian and gay people

have been subject to significant and continuing dis-

‘crimination in this country. That history includes

criminalization of intimate relations, treatment as

deviants, denial of rights to care for children, target-

ing in hate crimes, and limitation of employment op-

portunities. See pp. 3-6, supra. Second, sexual orien-

tation bears no relation to ability to participate in and

contribute to society. Lesbian and gay people make

critical contributions in every significant area of this

Nation’s life. Third, discrimination against lesbian

12

and gay people is based on an immutable or distin-

guishing characteristic. Sexual orientation is a core

aspect of a person’s identity, and it defines lesbian and

gay people as a class. Fourth, lesbian and gay people

are a minority group with limited political power.

Recent progress toward eradicating some of the

harshest and most overt forms of discrimination has in

significant respects been the result of judicial en-

forcement of the Constitution, and legislative gains

have often generated political backlash.

Heightened scrutiny under the Equal Protection

Clause is particularly appropriate in the context of

legal barriers to marriage. A State should be required

to present an especially strong justification for a law

that excludes a long-disadvantaged class of persons

from an institution of such paramount personal, socie-

tal, and practical importance.

B. The marriage bans at issue here cannot sur-

vive heightened scrutiny because they are not sub-

stantially related to an important governmental objec-

tive. Respondents’ contention that the marriage bans

encourage biological parents to jointly raise children

ignores the many non-procreative aspects of marriage,

assumes counterintuitively and without evidence that

allowing same-sex couples to marry would discourage

opposite-sex couples from staying together, and un-

justifiably disfavors children raised by same-sex cou-

ples by denying those couples the same incentives to

remain together. Respondents’ contention that the

marriage bans further a state interest in proceeding

with caution before departing from the traditional

understanding of marriage echoes similar arguments

advanced, and properly rejected, in other contexts,

such as integration of public facilities and interracial

13

marriage. And respondents’ contention that the mar-

riage bans return the issue of marriage to the demo-

cratic process simply begs the question whether those

bans exceed the limits that the Equal Protection

Clause imposes.

C. The Court’s recent decision in United States v.

Windsor, 133 S. Ct. 2675 (2013), reinforces the conclu-

sion that the state marriage bans are unconstitutional.

In Windsor, the Court held unconstitutional a federal

statute that denied recognition to same-sex couples

who were validly married under state law, notwith-

standing attempts by the law’s defenders to justify the

statute on substantially the same rationales that re-

spondents advance here. The primary distinctions

between these cases and Windsor—that these cases

involve state rather than federal law, and that peti-

tioners seek not only recognition of existing marriages

but also licensing of new ones—mean that the mar-

riage bans here inflict even more legal and practical

harm than the law at issue in Windsor. They impose a

more direct stigma that is all the more painful because

its source is the home State and not the federal gov-

ernment; they exclude lesbian and gay couples from

the institution of civil marriage; and they deprive the

children of those couples of equal recognition of their

family structure. There is no adequate justification

for such a discriminatory and injurious exercise of

state power.

ARGUMENT

THE STATE MARRIAGE BANS VIOLATE THE EQUAL

PROTECTION CLAUSE

Few, if any, legal institutions have the symbolic,

social, and practical importance of civil marriage.

Marriage is the gateway to a vast array of governmen-

14

tal benefits, which “touch[] many aspects of married

and family life, from the mundane to the profound,”

including parental rights, access to healthcare, and

inheritance and survivorship. United States v. Wind-

sor, 133 S. Ct. 2675, 2694 (2013); see pp. 7-9, supra.

But “marriage is more than a routine classification for

purposes of certain statutory benefits.” Windsor, 133

S. Ct. at 2692. “Marriage is a coming together for

better or for worse, hopefully enduring, and intimate

to the degree of being sacred.” Griswold v. Connecti-

cut, 381 U.S. 479, 486 (1965). And “[tjJhe freedom to

marry has long been recognized as one of the vital

personal rights essential to the orderly pursuit of

happiness.” Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1, 12 (1967).

Just as governmental recognition of a marriage

confers “a dignity and status of immense import,”

Windsor, 133 S. Ct. at 2692, governmental exclusion

from the institution of marriage can impose profound

emotional and practical hardships on committed cou-

ples. Same-sex couples form deeply committed rela-

tionships, and they seek the recognition, support,

stability, and benetiis of the institution of marriage

for the same reasons as opposite-sex couples. A

State’s refusal to confer such status under state law

through issuance of marriage licenses, or to recognize

marriages lawfully licensed and performed out-of-

state, “demeans the couple, whose moral and sexual

choices the Constitution protects,” id. at 2694. It

“humiliates tens of thousands of children now being

raised by same-sex couples,” by “mak[ing] it even

more difficult for the children to understand the in-

tegrity and closeness of their own family and its con-

cord with other families in their community and in

their daily lives,” ibid. It crystallizes in an acutely

15

painful way the stigma that lesbian and gay adoles-

cents experience as they come to understand that an

essential attribute of their being marks them for sec-

ond-class status. And it violates the Equal Protection

Clause.

A. Classifications Based On Sexual Orientation Are

Subject To Heightened Scrutiny

1. Legislation is generally presumed valid and sus-

tained if the “classification drawn by the statute is

rationally related to a legitimate state interest.” City

of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Ctr., 473 U.S. 432, 440

(1985). When “individuals in the group affected by a

law have distinguishing characteristics relevant to

interests the State has the authority to implement,”

courts will not “closely scrutinize legislative choices as

to whether, how, and to what extent those interests

should be pursued.” /d. at 441-442. But when legisla-

tion classifies on the basis of a factor that “generally

provides no sensible ground for differential treat-

ment,” the Equal Protection Clause imposes a greater

burden on the sovereign to justify the classification.

Id. at 440-441.

Such classifications are subject to heightened scru-

tiny, under which the government must show, at a

minimum, that the classification drawn is “substantial-

ly related to an important governmental objective.”

Clark v. Jeter, 486 U.S. 456, 461 (1988). Heightened

scrutiny provides an enhanced measure of protection

in circumstances where there is a greater danger that

the legal classification results from impermissible

prejudice or stereotypes. See, e.g., City of Richmond

v. J.A. Croson Co., 488 U.S. 469, 493 (1989) (plurality

opinion); United States v. Virginia, 518 U.S. 515, 533

(1996) (VM7).

16

2. The marriage bans in these cases discriminate

on the basis of sexual orientation by foreclosing a

class of marriages into which only lesbian and gay

people are likely to enter. See, e.g., Windsor, 133 S.

Ct. at 2694 (observing that burdens on marriage bear

on freedom of “sexual choice[]”); Christian Legal

Soc’y v. Martinez, 561 U.S. 661, 689 (2010) (observing

that the Court’s “decisions have declined to distin-

guish between status and conduct” of lesbian and gay

people) (citing cases); cf. Bray v. Alerandria Women’s

Health Clinic, 506 U.S. 263, 270 (1993) (“A tax on

wearing yarmulkes is a tax on Jews.”).

This Court has yet to determine what level of

equal-protection scrutiny is appropriate for review of

laws that classify based on sexual orientation. Previ-

ous decisions have found such laws illegitimate with-

out expressly deciding the level-of-scrutiny issue. See

Windsor, 133 S. Ct. 2675 (federal statute denying

recognition to marriages of same-sex couples); Law-

rence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558 (2003) (state statute ban-

ning same-sex intimacy); Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S.

620 (1996) (state statute repealing and prohibiting

legal protections for lesbian and gay people).

This Court has, however, identified four factors

that guide a determination whether to apply height-

ened scrutiny to a classification that singles out a

particular group: (1) whether the class in question has

suffered a history of discrimination, e.g., Bowen v.

Gilliard, 483 U.S. 587, 602 (1987); (2) whether the

characteristic prompting the discrimination “frequent-

ly bears no relation to ability to perform or contribute

to society,” Cleburne, 473 U.S. at 440-441 (quoting

Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677, 686 (1973)

(plurality opinion)); (3) whether the discrimination

17

against members of the class is based on “obvious,

immutable, or distinguishing characteristics that de-

fine them as a discrete group,” Gilliard, 483 U.S. at

602 (citation omitted); and (4) whether the class is “a

minority or politically powerless,” ibid. The first two

considerations lie at the core of the inquiry; are com-

mon to every class this Court has deemed suspect;

and, where they coexist, provide direct and powerful

reasons to apply additional scrutiny to a discriminato-

ry classification, because they point strongly to the

conclusion that the classification is the product of

prejudice and stereotyping. By contrast, although

relevant, neither “immutability” nor political power-

lessness is dispositive. See, e.g., Cleburne, 473 U.S. at

443 n.10 (immutability); id. at 472 n.24 (Marshall, J.,

concurring in part and dissenting in part) (political

powerlessness). All four factors are present in the

case of sexual orientation.

History of discrimination. As the court of appeals

recognized, it is impossible to “deny the lamentable

reality that gay individuals have experienced preju-

dice in this country, sometimes at the hands of public

officials, sometimes at the hands of fellow citizens.”

Pet. App. 52a; see, e.g., Baskin v. Bogan, 766 F.3d 648,

658 (7th Cir.) (“[H]omosexuals are among the most

stigmatized, misunderstood, and _ discriminated-

against minorities in the history of the world.”), cert.

denied, 135 S. Ct. 316 (2014). The history—which

includes treating lesbian and gay people as criminals

and deviants, unfit parents, targets for hate crimes,

and undesirable employees—speaks for itself. See pp.

3-6, supra.

General irrelevance of classification. As with oth-

er suspect classifications such as gender, race, or

18

religion, sexual orientation “bears ‘no relation to [an]

individual’s ability to participate in and contribute to

society’” and is not “a characteristic that the govern-

ment may legitimately take into account in a wide

range of decisions.” Cleburne, 473 U.S. at 441, 446

(quoting Mathews v. Lucas, 427 U.S. 495, 505 (1976));

see Frontiero, 411 U.S. at 686 (plurality opinion).

Historically, discrimination against lesbian and gay

people has had nothing to do with ability to contribute

to society, but has instead rested on the discredited

view that they are, for example, sexual deviants, men-

tally ill, or immoral. See pp. 3-6, supra.

The American Psychiatric Association concluded

more than 40 years ago that “homosexuality per se

implies no impairment in judgment, stability, reliabil-

ity, or general social or vocational capabilities.” Am.

Psychiatric Ass’n, Position Statement on Homoseru-

ality and Civil Rights (1973), 131 Am. J. Psychiatry

497 (1974). That fact is evident throughout all aspects

of society, including military service. “[VJalor and

sacrifice are no more limited by sexual orientation

than they are by race or by gender or by religion or

by creed,” and lesbian and gay Americans have served

with honor “to protect this nation and the ideals for

which it stands.” Remarks by the President and Vice

President at Signing of the Don’t Ask, Don't Tell Repeal

Act of 2010 (Dec. 22, 2010), http://www.whitehouse.gov/

the-press-office/2010/12/22/remarks-president-and-vice-

president-signing-dont-ask-dont-tell-repeal-a. Indeed,

there are countless examples of contributions by les-

bian and gay people in all fields—including business,

medicine, technology, government, and the arts—even

when they were forced to hide their sexual orientation

due to anti-gay laws and attitudes. And the records in

19

these cases are replete with evidence of the contribu-

tions petitioners make to their communities, their

States, and their Nation.

Discrete group. Sexual orientation is an “obvious,

immutable, or distinguishing characteristic[] that

define[s} * * * a discrete group,” Gilliard, 483

U.S. at 602 (citation omitted); Lyng v. Castillo, 477

U.S. 635, 638 (1986). The broad consensus in the sci-

entific and medical community is that sexual orienta-

tion is not a choice for lesbian and gay people any

more than it is for their straight neighbors. See U.S.

Windsor Br. at 31-32 & nn.6-7. The choice lesbian and

gay people face is whether to live their lives openly

and honestly.

As this Court has recognized, sexual orientation is

a core aspect of human identity, and its expression is

an “integral part of human freedom.” Lawrence, 539

U.S. at 562, 576-577. The distinctive orientation of

lesbian and gay people—toward persons of their own

sex—is what distinguishes them as a class from the

majority of society. Such a defining characteristic

may give rise to heightened scrutiny even if it is not

always readily visible and even if it were subject to

change. See Lucas, 427 U.S. at 506 (“[I]llegitimacy

does not carry an obvious badge, as race or sex do.”);

Graham v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 365, 372 (1971) (al-

ienage).

Limited political power. Finally, lesbian and gay

people are “a minority or politically powerless,” Gilli-

ard, 483 U.S. at 602 (quoting Lyng, 477 U.S. at 638).

It is undisputed that they are a small percentage of

the population. See, e.g., Baskin, 766 F.3d at 668.

And while political powerlessness is not an inflexible

prerequisite for recognition as a suspect class, see

20

Frontiero, 411 U.S. at 685-687 & n.17 (plurality opin-

ion) (gender), the extensive and ongoing history of

discrimination against lesbian and gay people illus-

trates their inability to protect themselves adequately

through the political process.

Although some forms of discrimination have begun

to diminish, many of the most critical strides toward

equality for lesbian and gay people have resulted from

judicial enforcement of constitutional guarantees, e.g.,

Lawrence, supra, not from political action. Indeed,

efforts to combat discrimination against lesbian and

gay people have engendered significant political back-

lash, as evidenced by a series of successful state and

local ballot initiatives, starting in the 1970s, that re-

pealed antidiscrimination protections for lesbian and

gay people. See, e.g., Michael Klarman, From the

Closet to the Altar 26-29 (2012); Robert Wintemute,

Sexual Orientation and Human Rights 56 (1995).

That pattern continues today. In 2011, one State’s

legislature repealed local ordinances prohibiting discrim-

ination on the basis of sexual orientation and barred

future enactment of such ordinances. Tenn. House Bill

No. 600, Pub. Ch. 278, http://www.state.tn.us/sos/acts/

107/pub/pc0278. pdf. Another State has just adopted a

similar provision. Andrew DeMillo, Arkansas bars ex-

panding local protections for gays, lesbians, Associated

Press (Feb. 23, 2015), http:/Awww.apnews.com/ap/db _

268748/contentdetail.htm?contentguid=aAo9UJmZ.

Municipal anti-discrimination protections have likewise

recently been repealed. See, e.g., Carl Smith, Wiseman:

Aldermen offered no explanation for LGBT-related policy

discussions in executive session, The Dispatch (Jan. 7,

2015), http://www.cdispatch.com/news/article.asp?aid=

39203; Trudy Ring, Voters in Two Kansas Cities Repeal

21

Antidiscrimination Laws, Advocate (Nov. 8, 2012), http://

www.advocate.com/politics/election/2012/11/08/

voters-two-kansas-cities-repeal-antidiscrimination-laws.

And the history of marriage initiatives, such as those at

issue in these cases, confirms that lesbian and gay people

lack consistent “ability to attract the [favorable] attention

of the lawmakers,” Cleburne, 473 U.S. at 445.

3. The court of appeals did not question the history

of discrimination against lesbian and gay people. Pet.

App. 52a-53a. Nor did it question that lesbian and gay

people are fully capable of contributing to society,

engaging in meaningful marital commitment, and

successfully raising children. /d. at 34a-35a, 53a. Its

reasons for nevertheless rejecting heightened scruti-

ny are flawed.

First, whatever weight it might have had in the

lower courts, this Court’s summary disposition in

Baker v. Nelson, 409 U.S. 810 (1972), has limited

precedential value in this Court’s plenary review of

the questions presented. See, e.g., Edelman v. Jor-

dan, 415 U.S. 651, 671 (1974). Moreover, Baker pre-

dates many of the important developments in this

Court’s equal-protection jurisprudence, see Windsor

v. United States, 699 F.3d 169, 178-179 (2d Cir. 2012),

aff’d, 133 S. Ct. 2675 (2013), and neither the underly-

ing state-court decision nor the questions presented in

the plaintiffs’ jurisdictional statement addressed the

applicability of heightened scrutiny to classifications

based on sexual orientation, see Baker v. Nelson, 191

N.W.2d 185, 187 (Minn. 1971) (en banc); J.S. 3, Baker,

supra (No. 71-1027).

Second, the court of appeals erred in suggesting

(Pet. App. 53a) that heightened scrutiny, even if gen-

erally appropriate for sexual-orientation classifica-

22

tions, would not apply to a law defining marriage as an

institution unavailable to lesbian and gay couples,

because that definition “arose independently” of sex-

ual-orientation discrimination. Assuming arguendo

the court’s premise of independent development, the

level of scrutiny afforded a particular classification

does not—outside of certain specialized areas, see,

e.g., Fiallo v. Bell, 430 U.S. 787, 792-793 (1977) (immi-

gration); Goldman v. Weinberger, 475 U.S. 503, 507-

508 (1986) (military)—vary based on the context in

which the classification is employed. See, e.g., John-

son v. California, 543 U.S. 499, 505 (2005) (noting that

the Court “haj[s] insisted on strict scrutiny in every

context, even for so-called ‘benign’ racial classifica-

tions”); Clark, 486 U.S. at 461 (holding that interme-

diate scrutiny applies to “classifications based on sex

or illegitimacy” without noting context-dependent

exceptions).

If anything, the fact that these cases involve the in-

stitution of marriage underscores the appropriateness

of heightened scrutiny. “The freedom to marry has

long been recognized as one of the vital personal

rights essential to the orderly pursuit of happiness.”

Loving, 388 U.S. at 12. And the Court has recognized

that “personal decisions relating to marriage” are

“central to the liberty protected by the Fourteenth

Amerdment.” Lawrence, 539 U.S. at 587 (internal

quotation marks and citation omitted). It should re-

quire a particularly strong justification to deny equal

participation in an institution of such surpassing per-

sonal and social importance to a group that has been

historically marginalized on the basis of characteris-

tics that bear no general relevance to the ability of

members of the group to contribute to society. See

23

Zablocki v. Redhail, 434 U.S. 374, 383 (1978) (stating,

in equal-protection case, that “[slince our past deci-

sions make clear that the right to marry is of funda-

mental importance, and since the classification at

issue here significantly interferes with the exercise of

that right, we believe that ‘critical examination’ of the

state interests advanced in support of the classifica-

tion is required”) (citation omitted).

That earlier generations may have failed to “even

consider[] the possibility that two persons of the same

sex might aspire to occupy the same status and digni-

ty as that of a man and woman in lawful marriage,”

Windsor, 133 S. Ct. at 2689, does not counsel! in favor

of lesser scrutiny at a time when the invidiousness of

sexual-orientation discrimination has become appar-

ent. The Framers of the Fourteenth Amendment

“knew times can blind us to certain truths and later

generations can see that laws once thought necessary

and proper in fact serve only to oppress.” Lawrence,

539 U.S. at 579. That statement rings just as true in

the context of laws limiting same-sex couples’ access

to marriage as it did when referring to laws prohibit-

ing same-sex sexual intimacy. “[I]t is not the Consti-

tution that has changed, but the knowledge of what it

means to be gay or lesbian.” Kitchen v. Herbert, 755

F.3d 1193, 1218 (10th Cir.) (citation omitted), cert.

denied, 135 S. Ct. 26 (2014).

Third, the court of appeals’ perception (Pet. App.

56a-57a) that the political power of lesbian and gay

people obviates the need for heightened scrutiny is

both doctrinally and factually erroneous. As previous-

ly noted, see pp. 17, 19-20, supra, political powerless-

ness is not an irreducible prerequisite to heightened

scrutiny. Sex-based classifications, for example, re-

24

ceive heightened scrutiny even though men and wom-

en as groups have considerable political power. See

VMI, 518 U.S. at 531-534. And the court of appeals

failed to engage with the manifest evidence that lesbi-

an and gay people still suffer substantial discrimina-

tion in the political arena. See pp. 20-21, supra.

Finally, the court of appeals mistakenly viewed

(Pet. App. 57a) the States’ “undoubted power over

marriage” as a reason for deferential review of the

marriage bans. “State laws defining and regulating

marriage,” like other state laws, “must respect the

constitutional rights of persons.” Windsor, 133 S. Ct.

at 2691. In Loving v. Virginia, supra, this Court

applied the “most rigid scrutiny” under the Equal

Protection Clause to invalidate state laws banning

interracial marriage. 388 U.S. at 11 (citation omitted).

There is similarly no reason to water down the other-

wise-appropriate level of scrutiny here.

4. This Court has appropriately been reluctant to

recognize new suspect (or quasi-suspect) classes. See

Cleburne, 473 U.S. at 441-442, 445-446. None of the

Court’s reasons for rejecting heightened scrutiny for

other classifications, however, applies to sexual orien-

tation. See, e.g., id. at 442-443 (rejecting heightened

scrutiny for persons with intellectual disabilities on

grounds relating to, inter alia, “reduced ability to

cope with and function in the everyday world”); Mas-

sachusetts Bd. of Ret. v. Murgia, 427 U.S. 307, 313

(1976) (rejecting heightened scrutiny for age classifi-

cations due to insufficient purposeful discrimination or

unjustified stereotyping); San Antonio Indep. Sch.

Dist. v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1, 28 (1973) (rejecting

heightened review for poverty-based classifications

because such a class would be too “large, diverse, and

25

amorphous”). Rather, sexual orientation falls square-

ly in the limited category of classifications for which

heightened scrutiny is designed.

B. The State Marriage Bans Fail Heightened Scrutiny

Because a classification based on sexual orientation

calls for the application of heightened scrutiny, re-

spondents must establish, at a minimum, that their

States’ marriage bans are “substantially related to an

important governmental objective.” Clark, 486 U.S. at

461. The court of appeals did not suggest that any of

the bans could survive such scrutiny. And they can-

not. To the extent that any of the primary rationales

advanced in defense of the bans were, as heightened

scrutiny requires, the “actual state purposes” behind

the laws, and “not hypothesized or invented post hoc

in response to litigation,” VM/, 518 U.S. at 533, 535,

they cannot justify excluding lesbian and gay couples

from the institution of marriage.

Responsible procreation and child-rearing. In re-

spondents’ view, marriage as an opposite-sex-only

institution “create[{s] an incentive for two people who

procreate together to stay together for purposes of

rearing offspring.” Pet. App. 35a-36a. That argument

rests on an unduly cramped view of marriage.

It should go without saying that marriage is much

more than a government incentive program to encour-

age biological parents to stay together. At its most

fundamental level, marriage constitutes an “expres-

sion|] of emotional support and public commitment,”

regardless of whether a married couple ever has chil-

dren. Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 95-96 (1987); see

Loving, 388 U.S. at 12; see also Lawrence, 539 U.S. at

578 (recognizing the liberty interests of “married

persons” in the privacy of their sexual conduct “even

26

when not intended to produce offspring”) (citation

omitted). Respondents’ narrow conception of mar-

riage would hardly be recognizable to most of its par-

ticipants.

State laws reflect this broader understanding.

Marriage opens the door to a wide range of state-

conferred benefits that respect and give effect to the

deep bonds between a married couple without regard

to whether they are rearing biological offspring.

Those benefits include intestacy rights, medical-

decisionmaking authority, and state-incentivized fi-

nancial support. See pp. 7-9, supra. And, as this

Court recognized in Windsor, the federal government

similarly looks to marital status for purposes as di-

verse as taxes, social security, healthcare benefits,

and ethics rules. 133 S. Ct. at 2694-2695. The perva-

sive use of marriage for these purposes at the state

and federal levels “stems from the understanding that

marriage is more than a routine classification for

purposes of certain statutory benefits”; it “is a far-

reaching legal acknowledgement of the intimate rela-

tionship between two people.” /d. at 2692.

A complete bar to civil marriage for lesbian and

gay couples is not remotely tailored to respondents’

asserted procreational rationale. See VM/, 518 U.S.

at 533 (law must be “substantially related” to the

achievement of objective) (internal quotation marks

and citation omitted). On that rationale, the marriage

bans here are both overinclusive and underinclusive:

opposite-sex couples that either do not want or are not

able to procreate can marry, while same-sex couples

who are raising children biologically related to one of

the parents cannot.

27

The fact that opposite-sex couples can have un-

planned children with one another, while same-sex

couples cannot, Pet. App. 36a, provides no sound rea-

son for barring same-sex couples from marriage. To

begin with, respondents have provided no evidence for

the counterintuitive proposition that recognizing

same-sex marriages will change the incentives for

opposite-sex couples to remain together to raise an

unplanned child. See, e.g., Kitchen, 755 F.3d at 1223

(“We emphatically agree with the numerous cases

decided since Windsor that it is wholly illogical to

believe that state recognition of the love and commit-

ment between same-sex couples will alter the most

intimate and personal decisions of opposite-sex cou-

ples.”). At the same time, a State’s legitimate interest

in “creatiing] an incentive for two people * * * to

stay together for purposes of rearing offspring,” Pet.

App. 35a-36a, is not limited to “two people who pro-

create together,” ibid. It instead embraces all couples

raising children, whether those children came into

their lives by accident or on purpose, and whether

through giving birth or through adoption. The inter-

est thus applies equally to same-sex couples raising a

child as it does to opposite-sex couples raising a child.

See Williams Inst., LGBT Parenting in the United States

1 (Feb. 2013), http://www. williamsinstitute.law.ucla.edu/wp

-content/uploads/LGBT-Parenting.pdf (estimating nearly

220,000 children in same-sex households nationwide); see,

e.g., 14-571 Pet. App. 72a-75a.

As the court of appeals recognized, “gay couples,

no less than straight couples, are capable of raising

children and providing stable families for them.” Pet.

App. 34a. “There is no scientific basis for the asser-

tion that lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender per-

28

sons are not fit to marry or to become parents of

healthy and well-adjusted children.” Am. Psychologi-

cal Ass’n, Marriage Equality and LGBT Health 1,

http://www.apa.org/about/gr/issues/lgbt/marriage-

equality.pdf; see, e.g., Simon R. Crouch et al., Parent-

Reported Measures of Child Health and Wellbeing in

Same-Sex Parent Families, 14 BMC Public Health 635

(June 21, 2014); Am. Acad. of Pediatrics, Coparent or

Second-Parent Adoption by Same-Sex Parents (Feb.

2002), http://www. pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/

109/2/339.full.pdf+html. And “{iJf marriage is better

for children who are being brought up by their biolog-

ical parents, it must be better for children who are

being brought up by their adoptive parents.” Baskin,

766 F.3d at 664.

Caution. Respondents also assert that the mar-

riage bans serve a state interest in allowing them to

“wait and see” what happens in other States that allow

same-sex couples to marry before recognizing such

marriages themselves. Pet. App. 36a. “The basic

guarantees of our Constitution,” however, “are war-

rants for the here and now and, unless there is an

overwhelmingly compelling reason, they are to be

promptly fulfilled.” Watson v. City of Memphis, 373

U.S. 526, 533 (1963); see id. at 528 (rejecting city’s

attempt to “justify its further delay in conforming

fully and at once to constitutional mandates by urging

the need and wisdom of proceeding slowly and gradu-

ally in its desegregation efforts”). Defenders of the

ban on interracial marriage at issue in Loving v. Vir-

ginia, supra, argued that “there ha[d] not been suffi-

cient scientific investigation,” Tr. of Oral Argument

31, Loving, supra (No. 395), of the “biological conse-

quences” of interracial procreation, Resp. Br. App. E,

29

Loving, supra (No. 395). This Court did not credit

that argument. Cf. 388 U.S. at 8. There is no reason

to treat the wait-and-see argument in these cases any

differently.

Even assuming caution for its own sake were a

substantial state interest in some cireumstances, the

marriage bans here are not framed in temporary or

provisional terms. See, e.g., Glen Staszewski, The

Bait-and-Switch in Direct Democracy, 2006 Wis. L.

Rev. 17, 23 (2006) (quoting campaign brochure ex-

plaining that Michigan initiative “settles the question

once and for all what marriage is—for families today

and future generations”). They contain neither a

sunset provision nor a provision for further study. It

is, in any event, unclear what waiting would accom-

plish. States first began allowing same-sex couples to

marry in 2003. See Goodridge v. Department of Pub.

Health, 798 N.E.2d 941, 964 (Mass. 2003). Tens of

thousands of same-sex couples have wed. See Pew

Research Ctr., How many same-sex marriages in the

U.S.? At least 71,165, probably more (June 26, 2013),

http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2013/06/26/how-

many-same-sex-marriages-in-the-u-s-at-least-71165-

probably-more. Nothing that has happened during

this period supports continuing to deny equal access

to marriage to loving and committed same-sex cou-

ples. See, e.g., Pet. App. 80a-8la (Daughtrey, J., dis-

senting); see also U.S. Census Bureau, American Com-

munity Survey Data on Same Sex Couples tbl.3 (2013),

http://www.census.gov/hhes/samesex/data/acs.htm] _ (esti-

mating more than 700,000 same-sex couples in the United

States).

At bottom, the wait-and-see rationale largely re-

duces to an assertion that the persistence of class-

30

based discrimination is legally justifiable, at least in

the short run, so long as it is premised on longstand-

ing tradition. See Pet. App. 36a-37a. But tradition, no

matter how long established, cannot in itself justify a

law that otherwise violates the Equal Protection

Clause. “Many of ‘our people’s traditions,’ such as de

jure segregation and the total exclusion of women

from juries, are now unconstitutional even though

they once coexisted with the Equal Protection

Clause.” J.E.B. v. Alabama, 511 U.S. 127, 143 n.15

(1994); see VMI, 518 U.S. at 535-536 (invalidating

longstanding tradition of single-sex education at Vir-

ginia Military Institute); Lawrence, 539 U.S. at 577-

578 (“[Nleither history nor tradition could save a law

prohibiting miscegenation from constitutional at-

tack.”) (quoting Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186,

216 (1986) (Stevens, J., dissenting)); Heller v. Doe, 509

U.S. 312, 326 (1993) (“Ancient lineage of a legal con-

cept does not give [a law} immunity from attack for

lacking a rational basis.”).

Democratic self-governance. Respondents addi-

tionally claim that their marriage bans advance an

interest in state self-governance. See, e.g., Ohio C.A.

Br. 46-47. The court of appeals, while frequently

referencing this interest, e.g., Pet. App. 16a, correctly

declined to rely on it as a freestanding justification for

the marriage bans, even under rational-basis review,

id. at 32a-41la.

Promoting democratic decisionmaking is a laudable

governmental interest. But it cannot itself justify a

law that would otherwise violate the Constitution.

“The sovereignty of the people is itself subject to

* * * constitutional limitations.” City of Eastlake

v. Forest City Enters., 426 U.S. 668, 676 (1976) (cita-

31

tion omitted). The very premise of heightened scruti-

ny is that certain types of classifications are “seldom

relevant to the achievement of any legitimate state

interest,” and yet may become the basis for legislation

that burdens persons who are unable adequately to

protect themselves through the democratic process.

Cleburne, 473 U.S. at 440. The judiciary plays a “spe-

cial role in safeguarding” such classes. Washington v.

Seattle Sch. Dist. No. 1, 458 U.S. 457, 486 (1982).

Just as a State could not rely on an interest in

democratic decisionmaking to prohibit marriage be-

tween individuals of a different race (cf. Loving, su-

pra), it cannot rely on such an interest to prohibit

marriage between individuals of the same sex. Re-

spondents’ reliance on the state interest in democratic

self-governance thus ultimately begs the questions

presented in these cases.

C. The Reasoning Of United States v. Windsor Confirms

The Invalidity Of The State Marriage Bans

In United States v. Windsor, supra, this Court ad-

dressed a challenge to the federal government’s re-

fusal, codified in Section 3 of the federal Defense of

Marriage Act (1 U.S.C. 7), to recognize marriages of

same-sex couples considered valid under state law.

133 S. Ct. at 2682-2683. Reviewing that law with

“careful consideration,” the Court found it unconstitu-

tional. Jd. at 2692 (quoting Romer, 517 U.S. at 633);

see id. at 2693, 2696. Windsor’s reasoning and result

strongly support the conclusion that the bans at issue

here are likewise unconstitutional.

A principal purpose of Section 3 was to “discourage

enactment of state same-sex marriage laws.” Wind-

sor, 133 S. Ct. at 2693. The interests advanced in

support of the marriage bans here—encouraging

32

opposite-sex parents to raise their children together,

cautionary adherence to the traditional definition of

marriage, and sovereign self-determination—were

accordingly advanced to justify the discriminatory law

at issue in Windsor as well. See Bipartisan Legal

Advisory Grp. Br. at 28-49, Windsor, supra (No.

12-307). This Court nonetheless held Section 3 to be

“unconstitutional as a deprivation of the liberty of the

person protected by the Fifth Amendment,” which

“the equal protection guarantee of the Fourteenth

Amendment” made “all the more specific and all the

better understood and preserved.” Windsor, 133 S.

Ct. at 2695." Respondents’ arguments here should

meet the same fate as their Windsor analogues.

The Court in Windsor reasoned that the affected

same-sex couples had “their lives burdened * * *

* The Court in Windsor did not address Section 2 of the Defense

of Marriage Act, which provides that “[n]o State * * * shall be

required to give effect to any public act, record, or judicial pro-

ceeding of any other State * * * respecting a relationship

between persons of the same sex that is treated as a marriage

under the laws of such other State.” 28 U.S.C. 1738C. Section 2

concerns the Full Faith and Credit Clause, which addresses the

respect that one State must give the “Acts, Records and judicial

Proceedings” of another. U.S. Const. Art. IV, § 1; see H.R. Rep.

No. 664, 104th Cong., 2d Sess. 24-30 (1996). Any effect Section 2

might have in the context of a State’s refusal to recognize an out-

of-state marriage of a same-sex couple would most logically be

considered only after answering the second question presented

here, which asks whether such a refusal would be consistent with

the Fourteenth Amendment. Should the Court agree with the

government that such a refusal violates the Fourteenth Amend-

ment, then Section 2 itself would never come into play. Should the

Court hold otherwise, then the government would, in an appropri-

ate case, evaluate the effect and constitutionality of Section 2 in

light of the principles set forth in the Court’s decision.

33

in visible and public ways” by Section 3’s denial of

marriage recognition. 133 S. Ct. at 2694. By barring

application of a great number of statutes that turned

on marriage, Section 3 not only “wr[ote] inequality

into the entire United States Code,” ibid., but also

brought “financial harm to children of same-sex cou-

ples” and divested such couples of “the duties and

responsibilities that are an essential part of married

life and that they in most cases would be honored to

accept,” id. at 2695. On a more personal level, Section

3 “place[d] same-sex couples in an unstable position of

being in a second-tier marriage,” “demean[ed]” those

couples, and “humiliate[d]” the tens of thousands of

children being raised by such couples. /d. at 2694.

Section 3 “instructied]) * * * all persons with

whom same-sex couples interact, including their own

children, that their marriage is less worthy than the

marriages of others.” Id. at 2696.

As in Windsor, the laws here “single[] out a class of

persons,” exclude them from a vital institution on the

basis of this classification alone, and thereby “im-

pose[] a disability on the class.” 133 S. Ct. at 2695-

2696. For same-sex couples who are already married,

the States’ refusals to recognize those valid marriages

produce much the same harms here that the federal

government’s refusal produced in Windsor. But those

harms are not limited to couples who are already

married. The underlying dignitary and practical in-

terests of same-sex couples, “whose moral and sexual

choices the Constitution protects,” id. at 2694 (citing

Lawrence, 539 U.S. 558), and the underlying dignitary

and practical interests of their families, do not mean-

ingfully differ depending upon whether the couple is

34

already married in some other State or instead wishes

to be married in the couple’s home State.

Nor does it matter that, unlike Windsor, these cas-

es involve regulation of marriage by the States, rather

than by a federal law that “departs from th[e] history

and tradition of reliance on state law to define mar-

riage,” 133 S. Ct. at 2692. Indeed, the injury to same-

sex couples and their children is all the greater when

it is the State, rather than the national government,

that has declared marriage to be an opposite-sex-only

institution. The couple is considerably more “de-

meanj(ed]” when it is barred from even “a second-tier

marriage,” recognized by the couple’s home State but

not by the federal government, id. at 2694, and in-

stead relegated to no marriage at all. In that situa-

tion, the family is denied the many benefits provided

at the state level, in addition to federal benefits that

require recognition of a marriage by the state of resi-

dence. Cf. id. at 2694-2695. And the children’s “hu-

miliat{ion]” at their family’s legal status, id. at 2694, is

surely much greater when the source of the stigma is

not the national government, but instead their own

local community, cf. id. at 2693 (noting “the substan-

tial societal impact the State’s classifications have in

the daily lives and customs of its people”).

The harms of denying marriage to same-sex cou-

ples are sufficiently manifest that a law with that

effect is unconstitutional, irrespective of whether it

exhibits the sort of direct legislative record of animus

that the Court in Windsor found in relation to Section

3. See 133 S. Ct. at 2693-2694. It is unnecessary to

characterize those who voted for the laws at issue here

as having acted out of conscious il] will in order to

recognize the laws’ inconsistency with the fundamen-

35

tal guarantee of equal protection. “Prejudice, we are

beginning to understand, rises not from malice or

hostile animus alone. It may result as well from in-

sensitivity caused by simple want of careful, rational

reflection or from some instinctive mechanism to

guard against people who appear to be different in

some respects from ourselves.” Board of Trs. of Univ.

of Ala. v. Garrett, 531 U.S. 356, 374 (2001) (Kennedy,

J., concurring). The marriage bans at issue here, like

the law invalidated in Romer v. Evans, supra, “im-

pose[] a broad and undifferentiated disability” on

lesbian and gay people with a “sheer breadth * * *

so discontinuous with the reasons offered” that they

violate equal protection. 517 U.S. at 632.

*- * *+ * €

“As the Constitution endures, persons in every

generation can invoke its principles in their own

search for greater freedom.” Lawrence, 539 U.S. at

579. A “prime part of the history of our Constitution

* * * is the story of the extension of constitutional

rights and protections to people once ignored or ex-

cluded.” VMI, 518 U.S. at 557. Here, petitioners seek

the “duties and responsibilities that are an essential

part of married life,” Windsor, 133 S. Ct. at 2695, that

opposite-sex couples, and tens of thousands of same-

sex couples, already enjoy. The laws they challenge

exclude a long-mistreated class of human beings from

a legal and social status of tremendous import. Those

laws are not adequately justified by any of the ad-

vanced rationales. They are accordingly incompatible

with the Constitution.

36

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be re-

versed.

Respectfully submitted.

DONALD B. VERRILLI, JR.

Solicitor General

STUART F. DELERY

Acting Associate Attorney

General

VANITA GUPTA

BENJAMIN C. MIZER

Acting Assistant Attorneys

General

IAN HEATH GERSHENGORN

Deputy Solicitor General

BETH S. BRINKMANN

GREGORY B. FRIEL

PAMELA S. KARLAN

Deputy Assistant Attorneys

eneral

ERIC J. FEIGIN

Assistant to the Solicitor

General

DIANA K. FLYNN

DOUGLAS N. LETTER

SHARON M. MCGOWAN

MICHAEL JAY SINGER

ROBERT A. KOCH

ABBY C. WRIGHT

JEFFREY E. SANDBERG

Attorneys

MARCH 2015

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.