Amicus Curiae Brief — Tanco v. Haslam, 135 S. Ct. 1040 (2015) (No. 14-562)

Supreme Court brief2015

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Nos. 14-556, 14-562, 14-571, 14-5674

Bn The Supreme Court of the United States

JAMES OBERGEFELL, ET AL.,

: Petitioners,

RICHARD HODGES, DIRECTOR, OHIO DEP’T OF HEALTH, ET AL.

Respondents.

VALERIA TANCO, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR OF TENNESSEE, ET AL.,

Respondents.

APRIL DEBOER, ET AL.,

7 Petitioners,

RICHARD SNYDER, GOVERNOR OF MICHIGAN ET AL.,

Respondents.

GREGORY BOURKE, ET AL.,

” Petitioners,

STEVE BESHEAR, GOVERNOR OF KENTUCKY, ET AL.,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICT CURIAE

NATIONAL WOMEN’S LAW CENTER,

WILLIAMS INSTITUTE SCHOLARS OF SEXUAL

ORIENTATION AND GENDER LAW, AND

WOMEN’S LEGAL GROUPS IN SUPPORT OF

PETITIONERS

EMILY J. MARTIN, Counsel Of Record NAN D. HUNTER

Maascia D. GREENBERGER THE WILLIAMS INSTITUTE

ELIZABETH JOHNSTON UCLA SCHOOL or Law

NATIONAL WOMEN'S LAW CENTER Box 951476

11 Dupont Circle NW, Ste. 800 Los Angeles, CA 90095-1476

Washington, DC 20036 (310) 267-4382

(202) 588-5180

emartin@nw lic_org BARBARA B. BROWN

nai , STEPHEN B. KINNAIRD

Counsel for Amici Curiae Pean. Megunes LLP

(Additional Counsel Listed on 875 15th Street, N.W.

Inside Cover) Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 551-1700

JENNIFER S. BALDOCCHI, Partner

JEFFREY S. HABER, Partner

BETSEY BOUTELLE

PETER T. BREJCHA

COURTNEY T. DETHOMAS

JENIFER Q. DOAN

MICHAELA DUDLEY

REBECCA D. FARBER

CAMERON W. Fox

AMANDA L. FRETTO

BRIDGET A. GORDON

ScoTT M. KLAUSNER

JUDITH M. KLINE

DAVID B. LYONS

ASHLEY N. MAYS

ELEANOR K. MERCADO

BRIAN P. MORAN

BETH C. MUELLER

SEAN M. SMITH

MOR WETZLER

MISTY WRIGHT

PAUL HASTINGS LLP

515 South Flower Street, 25th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90071

(213) 683-6000

TABLE OF CONTENTS

—— TT EN TE 4

A. This Court Adopted Heightened

Scrutiny for Laws That

Discriminate Based on Sex

Because Such Laws Are Typically

Based on Gender Stereotypes............... 8

B. Laws That Discriminate Based on

Sexual Orientation Should Be

Subject to Heightened Scrutiny

Because of Their Frequent Basis

in Gender Stereotypes......................... 13

1. Sexual Orientation

Discrimination Is Rooted in

Gender Stereotypes .................. 14

2. Government Action That

Discriminates Based on

Sexual Orientation

C. Laws Excluding Same-Sex

Couples From Marriage Cannot

Survive Heightened Scrutiny ............. 26

1. Heightened Scrutiny Has

Been Key to Dismantling

Sex-Specific Marriage Laws

That Once Enforced Gender

TERETE ea 27

-«

-iI-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

(continued)

2. Like Other Marriage Laws

Enforcing Gender-Based

Expectations, Laws

Excluding Same-Sex

Couples From Marriage

Cannot Survive

Constitutional Scrutiny............ 30

ee rcneninccnntccncnsnecssseteninsennnstmmenntn 34

V. eat cnnintressiccnmaieccensincnsnncaicsnntineints 1A

-1ll-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Baker v. Astrue, ;

No. 0120110008, 2013 WL 1182258

Re ES penn nee 20

Baskin v. Bogan,

766 F.3d 648 (7th Cir. 2014), cert.

denied, 135 S. Ct. BIG (]OUS) ...............ccccccccccccccee 23

Bishop v. U.S. ex rel. Holder,

962 F. Supp. 2d 1252 (N.D. Okla.),

aff'd on other grounds sub nom..,

Bishop v. Smith, 760 F.3d 1070 (10th

Cir.), cert. denied 135 S. Ct. 271

(2014)

Bostic v. Schaefer,

760 F.3d 352 (4th Cir. 2014),

cert. denied, 135 S. Ct. 308 (2014) 23, 32

eee eeee et eer aeeeree

Bourke v. Beshear,

996 F. Supp. 2d 542 (W.D. Ky. 2014),

reud sub nom. DeBoer v. Snyder,

772 F.3d 388 (6th Cir. 2014),

cert. granted, 135 S. Ct. 1040 (2015)...................... 6

Bradwell v. Illinois,

83 U.S. (16 Wall.) 130 (1872)

Brenner v. Scott,

999 F. Supp. 2d 1278 (N.D. Fla. 2014) ................ 24

Caban v. Mohammed,

I I ne ree eee 33

-jV-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Page(s)

Califano v. Goldfarb,

ae TT SE nee eee ane Eee ee: 11, 28

Califano v. Westcott,

I a 12, 29

Campaign for S. Equal. v. Bryant,

No. 3:14-CV-818-CWR-LRA, 2014

WL 6680570 (S.D. Miss. Nov. 25,

tere Ee cn a ke 23, 24

Carrasco v. Sec’y of Health, Educ. &

Welfare,

es re Ce Gos Bi cnccccccsecsccccccccsccccscescose 28

Castello v.Donahoe,

No. 0120111795, 2011 WL 6960810

RR eer 21

Centola v. Potter,

183 F. Supp. 2d 403 (D. Mass. 2002)............. 15, 18

Conde- Vidal v. Garcia-Padilla,

No. Civ. 14-1253 PG, 2014 WL

Te CE cli, GIs Mn, IFIED ccvcccccccccstonecescosocees 24

Couch v. Chu,

No. 0120131136, 2013 WL 4499198

I I eee ncelsinsineeniisiidll 20

Craig v. Boren,

| Ra a ee 10, 13

In re Crist,

gf Bt Ff Lo Re Fear 28

-V-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Culp v. Napolitano,

No. 0720130012, 2013 WL 2146756

FE eee 20

De Leon v. Perry,

975 F. Supp. 2d 632 (W.D. Tex. 2014) ................. 24

DeBoer v. Snyder,

973 F. Supp. 2d 757 (E.D. Mich.

2014), rev'd, 772 F.3d 388 (6th Cir.

2014), cer.. granted, 135 S. Ct. 1040

i ieee 7, 33

Doe ex rel. Doe v. City of Belleville, Il,

119 F.3d 563 (7th Cir. 1997), vacated

and remanded on other grounds, 523

fi | en Menem 15

Frontiero v. Richardson,

2 GR eee passim

Glenn v. Brumby,

663 F.3d 1312 (11th Cir. 2011) .............................. 2

Goesaert v. Cleary,

335 U.S. 464 (1948), disapproved of

by Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190

(1976)

Griego v. Oliver,

SIG P.3a SBS CIN.DE. BOUS) .....cccccccccccccccccccecccceccceces 23

Griswold v. Connecticut,

I all 32

-vi-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Heller v. Columbia Edgewater Country

Club,

195 F. Supp. 2d 1212 (D. Or. 2002) ........

Henderson v. Labor Finders of Va., Inc.,

No. 3:12-CV-600, 2013 WL 1352158

RE, See, AG, Ts SEED cttecinictioniawesenenetonsees

Henry v. Himes,

14 F Supp. 3d 1036 (S.D. Ohio 2014),

reud sub nom. DeBoer v. Snyder,

772 F.3d 388 (6th Cir. 2014),

cert. granted, 135 S. Ct. 1040 (2015).......

Hollingsworth v. Perry,

13S S. Ce. BEEB CSOUT) .........0...0000cccsecceceee.

Hoyt v. Florida,

368 U.S. 57 (1961), overruling

recognized in J.E.B. v. Alabama ex

rel. T.B., 511 U.S. 127 (1994)..................

J.E.B. v. Alabama ex rel. T.B..,

kf bg

Jernigan v. Crane,

No. 4:13-cv-00410 KGB, 2014 WL

6685391 (E.D. Ark. Nov. 25, 2014) .........

Johnson v. California,

eee

Kalina v. R.R. Ret. Bd..,

541 F.2d 1204 (6th Cir. 1976) .................

Kerrigan v. Comm’ of Pub. Health,

957 A.2d 407 (Conn. 2008) ......................

— 6

pecccccocescoee vo

-Vii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Kirchberg v. Feenstra,

Re ae ne RR De 29

Kitchen v. Herbert,

961 F. Supp. 2d 1181 (D. Utah 2013),

affd, 755 F.3d 1193 (10th Cir.), cert

denied, 135 S. Ct. 265 (2014) ..............0..0......... 5, 23

Koren v. Ohio Bell Tel. Co..,

894 F. Supp. 2d 1032 (N.D. Ohio

EEE AS A ee a ee a ee 17

Latta v. Otter,

771 F.3d 456 (9th Cir. 2014)..... a namandial passim

Lawrence v. Texas,

ee es ID cecrnitecdniinnencntnasntimeneionsssneninin 4, 25

Lawson v. Kelly,

No. 14-0622-CV-W-ODS, 2014 WL

5810215 (W.D. Mo. Nov. 7, 2014) 5

Love v. Beshear

989 F. Supp. 2d 536 (W.D. Ky. 2014)

Loving v. Virginia,

388 U.S. 1 (1967)

Macy v. Holder,

No. 0120120821, 2012 WL 1435995

(E.E.0O.C. Apr. 20, 2012)

In re Marriage Cases,

183 P.3d 384 (Cal. 2008)

Miss. Univ. for Women v. Hogan,

ER 12, 21, 22

-Vill-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Montgomery v. Indep. Sch. Dist. No. 709,

109 F. Supp. 2d 1081 (D. Minn. 2000)................. 17

Muller v. Oregon,

208 U.S. 412 (1908), overruling

recognized in Nev. Dep’t of Human

Res. v. Hibbs, 538 U.S. 721 (2003)....................... 10

Nichols v. Azteca Rest. Enters..,

256 F.3d 864 (9th Cir. 2001) .................2. ccc eee 17

Obergefell v. Wymyslo,

962 F. Supp. 2d 968 (S.D. Ohio 2013),

rev d sub nom. DeBoer v. Snyder,

772 F.3d 388 (6th Cir. 2014),

cert. granted, 135 S. Ct. 1040 (2015)...................... 7

Orr v. Orr,

eee smears 12, 29

Perry v. Schwarzenegger,

704 F Supp. 2d 921 (N.D. Cal. 2010),

aff'd sub nom. Perry v. Brown,

671 F.3d 1052 (9th Cir. 2012),

vacated and remanded sub nom.

Hollingsworth v. Perry,

- | &. & | + \ emerson 29, 33

Planned Parenthood of Se. Pa. v. Casey,

ok eee 25, 32

Price Waterhouse v. Hopkins,

SS 16, 21

Prowel v. Wise Bus. Forms, Inc.,

579 F.3d 285 (3d Cir. 2009)..........................000.000- 16

-ix-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Reed v. Reed,

LL eee

Rene v. MGM Grand Hotel, Inc..,

305 F.3d 1061 (9th Cir. 2002) .................

Riccio v. New Haven Bd. of Educ.,

467 F. Supp. 2d 219 (D. Conn. 2006) ......

Robicheaux v. Caldwell,

2 F. Supp. 3d 910 (E.D. La. 2014)...........

Rosenbrahn v. Daugaard,

No. 4:14-CV-04081-KES, 2014 WL

6386903 (D.S.D. Nov. 14, 2014)..............

San Antonio Indep. Sch. Dist. v.

Rodriguez,

411 U.S. 1 (1973) ............... senepaneeinemenatiin

Searcy v. Strange, No. 14-0208-CG-N,

2015 WL 328728 (S.D. Ala. Jan. 23,

Smith v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co.,

569 F.2d 325 (5th Cir. 1978)

Stanley v. Illinois,

es SITE cneninicenandnistidnsdmasnntinmien

Stanton v. Stanton,

I: i a ceeienenis

eee eee eee eee eee

Page(s)

.. 9, 24, 2

ipiacaniaindin 5

-X-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Tanco v. Haslam,

7 F. Supp. 3d 759 (M.D. Tenn. 2014),

rev'd sub nom. DeBoer v. Snyder,

772 F.3d 388 (6th Cir. 2014),

cert. granted, 135 S. Ct. 1040 (2015)........

Terveer v. Billington,

34 F. Supp. 3d 100 (D.D.C. 2014) ............

Turner v. Safley,

482 U.S. 78 (1987) ......... iniiieninieipiamnnnonmmes

United States v. Carolene Prods. Co.,

oe ee

United States v. Virginia,

Ss GY GED cnccvisnncsnsnisedevccnstoens a“

United States v. Windsor,

Ue

Varnum v. Brien,

763 N.W.2d 862 (lowa 2009)................ —_

Veretto v. Donahoe,

Appeal No. 0120110873, 2011 WL

2663401 (E.E.O0.C. Jul. 1, 2011)...............

Waters v. Ricketts,

No. 8:14-cv-356, 2015 WL 852603

= RS Sl ee

Weber v. Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co..,

ee See CI eiccccenstcsnceisnnsvssesnentesess :

Weinberger v. Wiesenfeld,

eee

eocununensens 5

-xi-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Page(s)

Wengler v. Druggists Mut. Ins. Co..,

ee Se Se CE circicnccnsnnciesneseceisnetnidieniedaimueman 29

Whitewood v. Wolf,

992 F. Supp. 2d 410 (M.D. Pa. 2014)................... 24

Windsor v. United States,

699 F.3d 169 (2d Cir. 2012), affd, 133

RR RARE 22, 23

Wolf v. Walker,

986 F. Supp. 2d 982 (W.D. Wis.),

affd sub nom. Baskin v. Bogan, 766

F.3d 648 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,

Ok EEE erie 24

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes

U.S. Const. amend. XIV

teseeentdesioniiainaemaamamal passim

Title IX, 20 U.S.C. §§ 1681-1688..............0000000.... ann 19

Fair Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 3601-

SIRE incsetninetincensniempnenenseniiamaditiaiinaniadaiedasatniaae mn 20

Tenn. Code Ann. § 36-3-113(a) ............. 0. ccc cece cece eee 30

Other Authorities

Housing Trust Fund, 80 Fed. Reg. 5246

Ce |) ee ney area en .. 19

Equal Access to Housing in HUD

Programs Regardless of Sexual

Orientation or Gender Identity, 77

Fed. Reg. 5662-01 (Feb. 3, 2012)................000000.... 20

-xii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Susan Frelich Appleton, Missing in

Action? Searching for Gender Talk in

the Same-Sex Marriage Debate, 16

Stan. L. & Pol’y Rev. 97 (2005) ............................ 29

1 William Blackstone, Commentaries on

the Laws of England (3d ed. 1768) ...................... 27

Nancy F. Cott, Public Vows: A History of

Marriage and the Nation (2000) .....................-.... 27

Jill Elaine Hasday, Contest and Consent:

A Legal History of Marital Rape, 88

i n. ssesecnenenosoneons 28

Nan D. Hunter, Marriage, Law, and

Gender: A Feminist Inquiry, 1 Law &

aa eetimeneareniennonnetes 27

Andrew Koppelman, Why

Discrimination Against Lesbians and

Gay Men Is Sex Discrimination, 69

i EE, GET IED cnccccccancccnccesssecsoesecosocsess 15

Deborah A. Widiss, Changing the

Marriage Equation, 89 Wash. U. L.

Te |

Letter from Russlynn Ali, Assistant

Sec’y for Civil Rights, U.S. Dep't of

Educ., Office for Civil Rights, to

Colleagues (Oct. 26, 2010), available

at

http://www 2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/

ocr/ letters/colleague-201010.pd..................... 19, 20

-xili-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Page(s)

Memorandum from Attorney Gen. Eric

Holder from to United States

Attorneys, Head of Department

Components (Dec. 15, 2014)...... paieienisiaiadinameiete 18, 19

United States Dep’t of Justice, Civil

Rights Div., Protecting the Rights of

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender,

and Intersex (LGBTT) Individuals

(Feb. 11, 2013), available at

http://www.justice.gov/crt/publication

ieee niiinaniell 19

-.

i. INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE!

Amici Curiae are the National Women’s Law

Center, California Women Lawyers, Connecticut

Women’s Education and Legal Fund, Center for

Reproductive Rights, Equal Rights Advocates,

Michigan Association for Justice, National

Association of Women Lawyers, National Partnership

for Women and Families, Women’s Bar Association of

the District of Columbia, Women’s Bar Association of

Illinois, Women’s Law Center of Maryland, Women's

Lawyer Association of Michigan, and professors of

law associated with the Williams Institute, an

academic research center at UCLA School of Law

dedicated to the study of sexual orientation and

gender identity law and public policy. Amici have

substantial expertise related to equal protection,

discrimination based on sex, sexual orientation, and

gender stereotypes. Their expertise bears directly on

the issues before the Court. Descriptions of

individual Amici are set out in the Appendix.

| Prior to his representation of the Tanco Petitioners in the

pending action, attorney David Codell co-authored portions of

related briefs on the same issue submitted in this Court in

United States v. Windsor, 133 S. Ct. 2675 (2013), and

Hollingsworth v. Perry, 133 S. Ct. 2652 (2013), and in the Ninth

Circuit. He has not authored, revised, or edited any portion of

this brief since commencing the Tanco representation, nor has

any other party or party’s counsel authored this brief in whole or

in part. No party or party’s counsel contributed money intended

to fund preparation or submission of this brief, nor did a person

other than Amici or their counsel contribute money intended to

fund preparation or submission of the brief. All parties have

consented to the filing of this brief.

2.

iI. SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Under the federal Constitution’s equal protection

guarantees, laws that classify on the basis of sex are

subject to heightened judicial scrutiny and cannot

stand absent an “exceedingly persuasive justification”

and a showing that such laws substantially further

important governmental interests. United States uv.

Virginia, 518 U.S. 515, 533-34 (1996) [hereinafter

“VMI"]. In particular, the government may not

enforce laws that make sex classifications based on

gender stereotypes or gender-role expectations,

including those regarding roles that women and men

perform within the family, whether as caregivers,

breadwinners, heads of households, or parents.

Courts have recognized that sex classifications

warrant heightened scrutiny because the legal

imposition of archaic and overbroad’ gender

stereotypes arbitrarily harms women and men by

limiting individuals’ abilities to make decisions

fundamental to their lives and their identities.

Laws that discriminate based on sexual orientation,

like laws that discriminate based on sex, frequently

have a basis in overbroad gender stereotypes about

the preferences and capacities of men and women.”

Lesbian, gay, and bisexual persons long have been

harmed by legal enforcement of the expectation that

2 Amici note that, while this issue is not presented in this case,

laws that discriminate based on gender identity, including

transgender status, are also premised on overbroad gender

stereotypes and should be subject to heightened scrutiny. See

generally Glenn v. Brumby, 663 F.3d 1312, 1317 (11th Cir. 2011)

(holding discrimination against a transgender individual based

on gender nonconformity constitutes sex discrimination and

collecting cases in accord).

-3-

an individual’s most intimate relationship will be and

should be with a person of a different sex. Such

presumptions underlie many laws that discriminate

based on sexual orientation, including those at issue

here, and cause lesbian, gay, and bisexual persons to

experience both practical and dignitary harms of

constitutional magnitude. These laws communicate

to them and to the world that there is something

wrong with a core part of their identity, that they do

not measure up to what a man or a woman

supposedly should be, and that their most important

relationships are “less worthy,” United States v.

Windsor, 133 S. Ct. 2675, 2696 (2013) [hereinafter

“Windsor”’|, than the relationships and marriages of

different-sex couples.

The laws challenged here make sex classifications

in prescribing who may marry and whose marriages

shall be recognized, and thus should be reviewed

under heightened scrutiny, like any other law that

classifies on the basis of sex. But if these laws are

instead considered to classify on the basis of sexual

orientation, the result is the same. Just as the

Constitution requires heightened scrutiny of laws

that enforce the roles that men and women perform

within marriage on the basis of gender stereotypes,

the Constitution demands close scrutiny of laws

based on gender stereotypes that restrict an

individual’s liberty to decide whom he or she marries

and with whom he or she forms a _ family.

Accordingly, this Court should hold that laws that

discriminate based on sexual orientation warrant

heightened judicial scrutiny and that the laws

challenged here cannot withstand such scrutiny.

il. ARGUMENT

Over the last four decades, application of

heightened scrutiny to laws that discriminate based

on sex has served as an important bulwark in

protecting individuals’ liberty to participate in family

life, education, and work, free from legally imposed

gender roles. Lesbian, gay, and bisexual persons,

however, are still subject to laws that burden their

liberty to enter into relationships, including

marriage, with the person to whom they may feel

closest-—a person of the same sex. These laws deny

lesbian, gay, and bisexual persons full citizenship in

profound ways.

Rather than serving any important governmental

interest, marriage laws that discriminate against

same-sex couples reflect the gender-role expectation

that women will form intimate relationships with

men, and that men will form such relationships with

women, as well as the stereotype that same-sex

spouses are inferior parents because they cannot

fulfill particular gender roles. “As the Constitution

endures, persons in every generation can invoke its

principles in their own search for greater freedom.”

Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558, 579 (2003). The

decisions whether and with whom to enter into

intimate relationships, including marriage, and

whether and with whom to raise children, are central

to individual liberty under the Constitution. The

government has no authority to restrict these choices

based on gender-based stereotypes or expectations,

just as it has no authority to dictate the roles that

men and women fill within marriage on such bases.

This Court repeatedly has held that the government

may not justify sex discrimination by an asserted

-5-

interest in perpetuating traditional gender roles in

people’s family and work lives. Nor is sexual

orientation discrimination justified by a rigid and

exclusionary gender-role expectation that an

individual will only partner with someone of a

different sex.

Two of the laws at issue here define who may enter

into marriage on the basis of sex: a man may only

marry a woman and a woman, aman. The remainder

make sex classifications in providing that only

marriages between a man and a woman shall be

recognized under state law. As a result, the Court

must review these laws with heightened scrutiny,

because they constitute classifications based on sex.

See Latta v. Otter, 771 F.3d 456, 479-85 (9th Cir.

2014) (concurring opinion) (prohibition of same-sex

marriage constitutes sex classification subject to

heightened scrutiny); Waters v. Ricketts, No. 8:14-cv-

356, 2015 WL 852603, at *14-15 (D. Neb. Mar. 2,

2015) (plaintifis are likely to prevail on the merits of

challenge to Nebraska’s marriage ban because the

law constitutes impermissible gender discrimination);

Jernigan v. Crane, No. 4:13-cv-00410 KGB, 2014 WL

6685391, at *23-24 (E.D. Ark. Nov. 25, 2014)

(prohibition of same-sex marriage constitutes sex

classification subject to heightened scrutiny);

Rosenbrahn v. Daugaard, No. 4:14-CV-04081-KES,

2014 WL 6386903, at *10-11 (D.S.D. Nov. 14, 2014)

(same claim survived motion to dismiss); Lawson v.

Kelly, No. 14-0622-CV-W-ODS, 2014 WL 5810215, at

*8 (W.D. Mo. Nov. 7, 2014) (prohibition of same-sex

marriage constitutes sex classification subject to

heightened scrutiny); Kitchen v. Herbert, 961 F. Supp.

2d 1181, 1206 (D. Utah 2013) (same), affd, 755 F.3d

1193 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 135 S. Ct. 265 (2014);

6.

cf. Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1, 9 (1967) (“In the

case at bar. . we deal with statutes containing racial

classifications, and the fact of equal application does

not immunize the statute from the very heavy burden

of justification which the Fourteenth Amendment has

traditionally required of state statutes drawn

according to race.”).4

Even if such laws are not considered sex

discrimination per se, however, this Court should

subject laws that deny rights or opportunities based

on sexual orientation to heightened scrutiny for

several reasons, including the close _ relationship

between sex discrimination and sexual orientation

discrimination, which is the focus of this brief.

In the cases at bar, the district courts uniformly

concluded that the challenged marriage laws

discriminated in violation of the Equal Protection

Clause, and three of those courts expressly held that

heightened scrutiny properly applies to sexual

orientation classifications.‘ On review of these

* The Amicus Brief of Constitutional Law Scholars Andrew

Koppelman et al. on Sex Discrimination sets out this analysis in

greater detail.

* See Henry v. Himes, 14 F. Supp. 3d 1036, 1054 (S.D. Ohio

2014) (applying heightened scrutiny to Ohio's marriage bans

because they classified on the basis of sexual orientation); Tanco

v. Haslam, 7 F. Supp. 3d 759, 769 (M.D. Tenn. 2014) (applying

rational basis review and concluding equal protection claim

likely to succeed); Bourke v. Beshear, 996 F. Supp. 2d 542, 548-

49 (W.D. Ky. 2014) (noting that gay and lesbian individuals

share many characteristics of other groups afforded heightened

scrutiny, but concluding Kentucky's ban could not survive even

rational basis review); Love v. Beshear, 989 F. Supp. 2d 536, 547

(W.D. Ky. 2014) (comparing sexual-orientation discrimination to

gender discrimination and concluding heightened scrutiny

applied but that marriage bans failed under rational basis

#.

decisions, however, the Sixth Circuit became the first

federal appellate court to uphold bans on marriage

and marriage recognition for same-sex couples since

this Court’s decision in Windsor. DeBoer v. Snyder,

772 F.3d 388, 421 (6th Cir. 2014), cert. granted, 135

S. Ct. 1040 (Jan. 16, 2015). In concluding that same-

sex couples should look not to the courts but to “state

democratic processes” to protect their rights, the

Sixth Circuit opinion declined to articulate the

relevant doctrinal framework to analyze _ the

constitutional challenges and thus “wholly failfed] to

grapple with the relevant constitutional question.”

Id. at 421 (Daughtrey, J., dissenting).

Were this Court to apply the standard of review

applicable to sex discrimination, the laws challenged

here would be invalid unless the government could

show an “exceedingly persuasive” justification for

them, including a showing “at least that the

[challenged] _ classification[s] serve[{] important

governmental objectives and that the discriminatory

means employed are substantially related to the

achievement of those objectives” without “rely[ing] on

overbroad generalizations about the different talents,

capacities, or preferences of males and females.”

VMI, 518 U.S. at 533 (first alteration in original)

review); DeBoer v. Snyder, 973 F. Supp. 2d 757, 769 (E.D. Mich.

2014) (concluding applicable standard of scrutiny need not be

determined because Michigan's laws did not survive even

rational basis review); Obergefell v. Wymysilo, 962 F. Supp. 2d

968, 991 (S.D. Ohio 2013) (holding heightened scrutiny applies

to sexual-orientation classifications but marriage bans fail even

rational basis review).

-R-

(citations and internal quotation marks omitted).

These laws cannot withstand such scrutiny.®

A. This Court Adopted Heightened

Scrutiny for Laws That Discriminate

Based on Sex Because Such Laws Are

Typically Based on Gender

Stereotypes.

Again and again, this Court has recognized that

laws that discriminate on the basis of sex typically

rely on gender-based expectations about the roles or

conduct that is supposedly natural, moral, or

traditional for women and men, and that legal

enforcement of these stereotypes is incompatible with

equal opportunity. A repeated refrain runs through

modern case law addressing measures that deny

rights or opportunities based on sex: such laws

warrant “skeptical scrutiny,” VMI, 518 U.S. at 531,

because “of the real danger that government policies

that professedly are based oon _ reasonable

considerations in fact may be reflective of archaic and

overbroad generalizations about gender, or based on

outdated misconceptions concerning the role of

females in the home rather than in the marketplace

and world of ideas.” J.E.B. v. Alabama ex rel. T.B.,

511 U.S. 127, 135 (1994) (Ginternal quotation marks

omitted).

5 Amici also note that these laws lack any rational basis.

Moreover, were this Court to employ strict scrutiny for laws that

discriminate based on sexual orientation—the standard of

review for laws that classify based on race and national origin,

e.g., Johnson v. California, 543 U.S. 499, 505 (2005)—the

challenged measures would fail, for they are not narrowly

tailored to further a compelling state interest.

-9-

For example, the first case in which Justices of this

Court expressly subjected a sex-based classification to

heightened scrutiny, Frontiero v. Richardson, 411

U.S. 677 (1973) (plurality), recognizes that “our

Nation has had a long and unfortunate history of sex

discrimination” in which the Court itself played a

role.6 Jd. at 684. Justice Brennan’s plurality opinion

quoted now-infamous language from the 1872 case

Bradwell v. Illinois, which proclaimed that “[m]an is,

or should be, woman’s protector and defender”; that

women’s “natural and proper timidity and delicacy”

render them “unfit[{] for many of the occupations of

civil life”; and that “[t]he paramount destiny and

mission of women are to fulfill the noble and benign

offices of wife and mother.” Frontiero at 684-85

(quoting Bradwell, 83 U.S. (16 Wall.) 130, 141 (1872)

(Bradley, J., concurring) (rejecting constitutional

challenge to Illinois’s refusal to admit a woman to the

bar)). The Frontiero plurality observed that “[a]s a

result of notions such as these, our statute books

gradually became laden with gross, stereotyped

distinctions between the sexes.” 411 U.S. at 685.

At issue in Frontiero was a law that provided

military benefits to wives of Air Force officers as a

6 In Frontiero, four Justices applied strict scrutiny to the

challenged sex classification, one Justice concurred and

concluded that the provision constituted “invidious

discrimination,” and three Justices concurred but found it

unnecessary to determine whether strict scrutiny applied.

Frontiero, 411 U.S. at 678, 691. Two years before Frontiero, in

Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71 (1971), this Court, “for the first time

in our Nation's history ruled in favor of a woman who

complained that her State had denied her the equal protection of

its laws,” VMT, 518 U.S. at 532 (citing Reed, 404 U.S. at 73), but

did not expressly apply heightened scrutiny. See Reed, 404 U.S.

at 74.

-10-

matter of course, but extended such benefits to

husbands of Air Force officers only upon proof of their

financial dependence on their wives. Applying

heightened scrutiny to smoke out gender stereotypes,

the Court recognized that the scheme was premised

on the gender-based expectation that women were

financially dependent on their husbands and

concluded it violated the equal protection guarantee.

In so doing, it directly rejected assumptions that this

Court had relied on not only in 1872 but for many

decades thereafter—assumptions that fundamental

differences in the roles appropriate for women and

men, rooted in women’s traditional family

responsibilities, justified laws limiting opportunities

for women and reinforcing gender stereotypes. E.g.,

Hoyt v. Florida, 368 U.S. 57, 62 (1961) (upholding

state law that made jury duty registration optional

for women because “woman [was] still regarded as

the center of home and family life”), overruling

recognized in J.E.B., 511 U.S. at 134 n.5; Goesaert v.

Cleary, 335 U.S. 464, 466 (1948) (upholding statute

prohibiting women from bartending unless they were

a bar owner’s wife or daughter because states were

not precluded “from drawing a sharp line between the

sexes” and “oversight .. . by a barmaid’s husband or

father minimizes hazards that may confront a

barmaid without such _ protecting oversight”),

disapproved of by Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190, 210

n.23 (1976); cf. Muller v. Oregon, 208 U.S. 412, 421-22

(1908) (upholding legislation limiting women’s work

hours because “healthy mothers are essential to

vigorous offspring, [and so] the physical well-being of

woman becomes an object of public interest”),

overruling recognized in Nev. Dep't of Human Res. v.

Hibbs, 538 U.S. 721, 729-30 (2003).

-11-

In Weinberger v. Wiesenfeld, 420 U.S. 636 (1975)

(hereinafter “Wiesenfeld’|, this Court further

illuminated how laws based on gender stereotypes

arbitrarily harm those who do not conform to those

stereotypes. Wiesenfeld held unconstitutional a

Social Security Act provision that required payment

of benefits to a deceased worker’s widow and minor

children, but not to a deceased worker’s widower. Id.

at 637-39. First, the Court explained that the

challenged provision’s reliance on the “gender-based

generalization” that “men are more likely than

women to be the primary supporters of their spouses

and children” devalued the employment of women,

“depriv[ing] women of protection for their families

which men receive as a result of their employment.”

Id. at 645. Second, the challenged provision “was

intended to permit women to elect not to work and to

devote themselves to the care of children.” Id. at 648.

The provision thereby failed to contemplate fathers

such as Stephen Wiesenfeld, a widower who wished

to care for his child at home. The Court emphasized

that gender does not prescribe or limit parental roles,

stating, “It is no less important for a child to be cared

for by its sole surviving parent when that parent is

male rather than female.” I/d. at 652; see also

Califano v. Goldfarb, 430 U.S. 199, 216-17 (1977)

fhereinafter “Goldfarb”] (holding unconstitutional

differential treatment of widows and widowers based

on “archaic and overbroad generalizations”) (internal

quotation marks omitted).

As these and other cases illustrate, laws that

discriminate on the basis of sex are _ typically

premised on gender’ stereotypes, including

stereotypes of the family as properly or necessarily

comprising a woman as homemaker and caretaker

-12-

and a man as breadwinner and protector.’ In their

failure to recognize that many men and women either

do not wish to or are unable to conform to these roles,

such laws arbitrarily limit individuals’ ability to

make fundamental decisions about their lives. By

enforcing what Justice Bradieys Bradwell

concurrence termed the “law of the Creator” that

“[t]he paramount destiny and mission of women are

to fulfill the noble and benign offices of wife and

mother,” Frontiero, 411 U.S. at 685, such laws not

only reflect an often inaccurate conclusion that this is

how men and women do behave but also seek to

impose a moral judgment that this is how men and

women should behave. When the law enforces

“assumptions about the proper roles of men and

women,” it closes opportunity, depriving individuals

of their essential liberty to depart from gender-based

expectations. Miss. Univ. for Women v. Hogan, 458

U.S. 718, 726 (1982) fhereinafter “Hogan”.

Accordingly, “the test for determining the validity of

a gender-based classification . must be applied free

of fixed notions concerning the roles and abilities of

males and females.” Id. at 724-25.

7 See also Califano v. Westcott, 443 U.S. 76, 89 (1979) (holding

unconstitutional federal statute providing for support only in

the event of father’s unemployment based on stereotype that

father is principal provider “while the mother is the center of

home and family life”) (internal quotation marks omitted); Orr v.

Orr, 440 U.S. 268, 283 (1979) (invalidating measure imposing

alimony obligations solely on husbands because it “carries with

it the baggage of sexual stereotypes”); Stanton v. Stanton, 421

U.S. 7, 14-15 (1975) (finding unconstitutional state support

statute assigning different age of majority to girls than to boys

and stating, “[nJo longer is the female destined solely for the

home and the rearing of the family, and only the male for the

marketplace and the world of ideas”).

-13-

These decisions make clear that “archaic and

overbroad generalizations” cannot justify “statutes

employing gender as an inaccurate proxy for other,

more germane bases of classification.” Craig uv.

Boren, 429 U.S. 190, 198 (1976). Such “loose-fitting

characterizations’ are “incapable of supporting .. .

statutory schemes. premised upon their accuracy.”

Id. at 199. By requiring an “exceedingly persuasive”

showing of a close relationship between a _ sex

classification and a statutory scheme’s objective, and

by demanding that the objective be important (rather

than merely legitimate), the Equal Protection Clause

rejects the “artificial constraints on an individual's

opportunity” imposed by laws resting on gender

stereotypes, VMI, 518 U.S. at 533, and ensures that

“generalizations about ‘the way women are,

estimates of what is appropriate for most women, no

longer justify denying opportunity to women whose

talent and capacity place them outside the average

description,” id. at 550. In this way, heightened

scrutiny recognizes that “[ajt the heart of the

Constitution’s guarantee of equal protection lies the

simple command that the Government must treat

citizens as individuals, not as simply components of a

racial for] sexual. class.” J.E.B., 511 U.S. at 152-53

(Kennedy, J., concurring) (alteration in original)

(internal quotation marks omitted).

B. Laws That Discriminate Based on

Sexual Orientation Should Be Subject

to Heightened Scrutiny Because of

Their Frequent Basis in Gender

Stereotypes.

Just as laws that classify based on sex often

improperly rest on and seek to impose stereotyped

.14-

gender-role expectations that do not hold true for all

men and women, “same sex marriage prohibitions

seek to preserve an outmoded, sex-role-based vision

of the marriage institution, and in that sense ...

raise the very concerns that gave rise to the

contemporary constitutional approach to _ sex

discrimination.” Latta, 771 F.3d at 487 (concurring

opinion). Central among the gender-based

expectations on which these prohibitions rest are the

presumptions that a woman will and should form an

intimate relationship and family with a man, not

with a woman, and that a men will and should form

an intimate relationship and family with a woman,

not with a man. Courts have rejected gender

stereotypes as a proper basis for lawmaking with

regard to sex. Courts similarly should view these

stereotypes and expectations with skepticism when

reviewing the _ constitutionality of laws that

discriminate based on sexual orientation.

1. Sexual Orientation Discrimination

Is Rooted in Gender Stereotypes.

Laws that classify based on sexual orientation and

laws that discriminate based on sex typically share a

foundation in gender stereotypes or gender-based

expectations. Many laws discriminating based on

sexual orientation are founded on assumptions that

men and women form (or should form) romantic,

familial, or sexual relationships with each other,

rather than with persons of the same sex. These

assumptions have been at the root of laws prohibiting

same-sex intimate conduct, as well as laws regarding

family structure that discriminate based on sexual

orientation, such as the marriage laws challenged

here. Perhaps less apparent, but equally true, is that

-15-

such gender-based expectations underlie other forms

of discrimination against lesbian, gay, and bisexual

people too.

The notion that stigma and discrimination against

lesbian, gay, and bisexual persons are premised on

gender-role assumptions is a matter of common

experience in our society. “There is nothing esoteric

or sociologically abstract in the claim that the

homosexuality taboo enforces traditional sex roles.

Everyone knows that it is so.”. Andrew Koppelman,

Why Discrimination Against Lesbians and Gay Men

Is Sex Discrimination, 69 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 197, 235

(1994). “Most Americans learn no later than high

school that one of the nastier sanctions that one will

suffer if one deviates from the behavior traditionally

deemed appropriate for one’s sex is the imputation of

homosexuality. The two stigmas, sex-

inappropriateness and homosexuality, are virtually

interchangeable, and each is readily used as a

metaphor for the other.” IJd.; see also Doe ex rel. Doe

v. City of Belleville, Ill., 119 F.3d 563, 593 n.27 (7th

Cir. 1997) (“There is, of course, a considerable overlap

in the origins of sex discrimination and homophobia,

and so it is not surprising that sexist and homophobic

epithets often go hand in hand.”), vacated and

remanded on other grounds, 523 U.S. 1001 (1998);

Henderson v. Labor Finders of Va., Inc., No. 3:12-CV-

600, 2013 WL 1352158, at *5 (E.D. Va. Apr. 2, 2013)

(“[A]s a result of the well-documented relationship

between perceptions of sexual orientation and gender

norms, gender-loaded language can easily be used to

refer to perceived sexual orientation and vice versa.”);

Ceniola v. Potter, 183 F. Supp. 2d 403, 410 (D. Mass.

2002) (“[S]tereotypes about homosexuality are

directly related to our stereotypes about the proper

-16-

roles of men and women.”). Individuals who depart

from gender-based expectations are often targeted

with antigay animus and slurs, regardless of their

actual sexual orientation. Lesbian, gay, and bisexual

people regularly experience social disapproval and

discrimination that is targeted at their nonconformity

with gender-based expectations—because they are

not acting as “real men” or “real women” supposedly

do.

Although the linkage between antigay stigma and

gender-based expectations is apparent in ordinary

life, courts have only recently begun to recognize its

legal implications. For example, in considering

whether lesbian, gay, and bisexual people could find

recourse in federal statutes prohibiting

discrimination based on sex, courts initially focused

on the absence of express mention of sexual

orientation in such laws. See, e.g., Smith v. Liberty

Mut. Ins. Co., 569 F.2d 325, 326-27 (5th Cir. 1978)

(declining to apply Title VII to “sexual preference”

discrimination claim because “the prohibition on

sexual discrimination could not be extend(ed) .. to

situations of questionable application without some

stronger Congressional mandate”) (internal quotation

marks omitted). More recently, however, an

increasing number of courts understand that the

discrimination lesbian, gay, and bisexual people

experience in the workplace or in school can take the

form of hostility toward nonconformity with gender

stereotypes—which, as this Court recognized twenty-

six years ago in Price Waterhouse v. Hopkins, 490

U.S. 228 (1989), constitutes sex discrimination. See,

e.g., Prowel v. Wise Bus. Forms, Inc., 579 F.3d 285,

290-92 (3d Cir. 2009) (holding harassment of gay man

targeting his gender-nonconforming behavior and

-17-

appearance could constitute sex harassment); Rene v.

MGM Grand Hotel, Inc., 305 F.3d 1061, 1069 (9th

Cir. 2002) (en banc) (concurring opinion) (concluding

gay man stated a claim for sex discrimination based

on evidence that he was mocked by male co-workers

because of his nonconformity with “gender-based

stereotypes’); Nichols v. Azteca Rest. Enters., 256

F.3d 864, 874-75 (9th Cir. 2001) (holding harassment

of male employee for failing to act “as a man should

act,” including being derided for not having sex with

female colleague, constituted actionable sex

discrimination based on nonconformity with gender

stereotypes); Terveer v. Billington, 34 F Supp. 3d

100, 114-16 (D.D.C. 2014) (holding gay man stated

sex discrimination claim where he _ alleged

discrimination due to his nonconformity with gender

stereotypes); Koren v. Ohio Bell Tel. Co., 894 F. Supp.

2d 1032, 1037 (N.D. Ohio 2012) (holding an allegation

that manager harassed employee because he took his

male spouse’s surname stated claim based on sex

stereotyping); Riccio v. New Haven Bd. of Educ., 467

F. Supp. 2d 219, 226 (D. Conn. 2006) (explaining that

harassment claims premised on antigay epithets and

plaintiffs alleged failure to conform to gender

stereotypes could proceed to trial under Title [IX’s sex

discrimination prohibition); Heller v. Columbia

Edgewater Country Club, 195 F. Supp. 2d 1212, 1223-

25 (D. Or. 2002) (denying employer’s motion for

summary judgment on Title VII sex discrimination

claim in case where supervisor repeatedly used

antigay slurs); Montgomery v. Indep. Sch. Dist. No.

709, 109 F. Supp. 2d 1081, 1090 (D. Minn. 2000)

(holding plaintiff stated Title IX sex discrimination

claim because he alleged fellow students targeted him

“not only because they believed him to be gay, but

-18-

also because he did not meet their stereotyped

expectations of masculinity”).

As one district court has noted:

Sexual orientation harassment is often, if not

always, motivated by a desire to enforce

heterosexually defined gender norms. In fact,

stereotypes about homosexuality are directly

related to our stereotypes about the proper

roles of men and women. While one

paradigmatic form of stereotyping occurs

when co-workers single out an effeminate

man for scorn, in fact, the issue is far more

complex. The harasser may discriminate

against an openly gay co-worker or a co-

worker that he perceives to be gay, whether

effeminate or not, because he thinks, “real

men don’t date men.” The gender stereotype

at work here is that “real” men should date

women, and not other men.

Centola, 183 F. Supp. 2d at 410. This jurisprudence

recognizes that discrimination faced by lesbian, gay,

and bisexual people, as well as transgender people,

will often be based on gender stereotypes.

Federal agencies charged with enforcement of civil

rights laws also have recently emphasized that

discrimination experienced by lesbian, gay, bisexual,

and transgender people is often discrimination based

on nonconformity with gender-based expectations—

and in these circumstances such discrimination

constitutes sex discrimination. For example, the

8 Imdeed, several federal agencies have concluded that

discrimination on the basis of gender identity is per se sex

discrimination. See, e.g., Memorandum from Attorney Gen. Eric

-19-

United States Department of Labor’s Office of

Federal Contract Compliance Programs has recently

proposed new sex discrimination regulations

addressing employment decisions made on the basis

of sex-based’ = stereotypes, noting, “Sex-based

stereotyping may have even more-severe

consequences for transgender, lesbian, gay, and

bisexual applicants and employees, many of whom

report that they have experienced discrimination in

the workplace.” Housing Trust Fund, 80 Fed. Reg.

5246, 5252 (Jan. 30, 2015). The Civil Rights Division

of the United States Department of Justice has

issued guidance explaining that federal employment,

housing, education, and other statutes that prohibit

discrimination based on sex “protect[{] all people

(including LGBTT people) from .— discrimination

based on a person’s failure to conform to stereotypes

associated with [a] person’s real or perceived gender.”

U.S. Dep’t of Justice, Civil Rights Div., Protecting the

Rights of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and

Intersex (LGBTI) Individuals (Feb.11, 2013),

available at http://www.justice.gov/crt/publications/

lgbtibrochure.pdf. The United States Department of

-Education’s Office for Civil Rights has explained that

harassment of students “on the basis of their LGBT

status” is prohibited by Title IX, 20 U.S.C. §§ 1681-

1688, when such harassment is motivated by “sex-

stereotyping.” Letter from Russlynn Ali, Assistant

Sec’y for Civil Rights, U.S. Dep’t of Educ., Office for

Civil Rights, to Colleagues, at 7-8 (Oct. 26, 2010),

Holder to United States Attorneys, Head of Department

Components (Dec. 15, 2014) (stating the Department now

considers discrimination against transgender individuals a form

of sex discrimination barred by Title VII); Macy v. Holder, No.

0120120821, 2012 WL 1435995 (E.E.O.C. Apr. 20, 2012) (same).

-20-

available at http://www?2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/

letters/colleague-201010.pdf. The United States

Department of Housing and Urban Development has

similarly construed the sex discrimination prohibition

in the Fair Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 3601-3619. 2.

See Equal Access to Housing in HUD Programs

Regardless of Sexual Orientation or Gender Identity,

77 Fed. Reg. 5662, 5666 (Feb. 3, 2012) (‘[T]he Fair

Housing Act’s prohibition of discrimination on the

basis of sex prohibits discrimination against LGBT

persons in certain circumstances, such as _ those

involving nonconformity with gender stereotypes.”).

In addition, the United States Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission has reasoned that

Title VII's “broad prohibition of discrimination ‘on the

basis of sex’ will offer coverage to gay individuals

in certain circumstances,” including where an

employee is discriminated against “based on the

perception that he does not conform to gender

stereotypes of masculinity.” Couch v. Chu, No.

0120131136, 2013 WL 4499198, at *7-8 (E.E.O.C.

Aug. 13, 2013) (quoting Baker v. Astrue, No.

0120110008, 2013 WL 1182258 (E.E.0.C. Jan. 11,

2013)); see also id. at *7 (“[S}ince Price Waterhouse,

every court of appeals has recognized that disparate

treatment for failing to conform to gender-based

expectations is sex discrimination and has also

concluded that this principle applies with equal force

in cases involving plaintiffs who are gay, bisexual,

heterosexual, or transgender.”); Culp v. Napolitano,

No. 0720130012, 2013 WL 2146756, at *3-4 (E.E.0.C.

May 7, 2013) (concluding allegation of sexual

orientation discrimination was a claim of sex

discrimination because supervisor was motivated by

gender stereotypes that women should have

-2i.

relationships only with men); Castello v. Donahoe,

No. 0120111795, 2011 WL 6960810, at *2-3 (E.E.0.C.

Dec. 20, 2011) (concluding discrimination based on

stereotype that women should have sexual

relationships only with men can constitute sex

discrimination); Veretto v. Donahoe, Appeal No.

0120110873, 2011 WL 2663401, at *3 (E.E.0.C. Jul.

1, 2011) (holding discrimination based on the

stereotype that a man should not marry another man

can constitute sex discrimination).

Just as courts and agencies have recognized in the

context of statutory antidiscrimination protections

that Price Waterhouse’s anti-stereotyping principle

will often protect lesbian, gay, and bisexual people

from discrimination, so must courts consider the

implications of the anti-stereotyping principle

underlying constitutional protections against sex

discrimination for laws that discriminate based on

sexual orientation. Laws that discriminate based on

sexual orientation are, at their core, based on “fixed

notions” about the roles, preferences, and capacities

of women and men of the sort that have been

repeatedly rejected in sex discrimination cases under

the Equal Protection Clause. VMI, 518 U.S. at 541

(quoting Hogan, 458 U.S. at 725). Such

discrimination improperly seeks to impose gender-

based expectations on how men and women structure

their lives.

2. Government Action That

Discriminates Based on Sexual

Orientation Warrants Heightened

Scrutiny.

Lesbian, gay, and bisexual people long have had

important life opportunities foreclosed by state action

-22-

seeking to enforce gender-based expectations in

connection with the most intimate of human

relationships. As with measures seeking to enforce

outdated gender stereotypes on the basis of sex,

courts should require at least “an ‘exceedingly

persuasive justification,” VMI, 518 U.S. at 531

(quoting Hogan, 458 U.S. at 724), for classifications

based on sexual orientation. Heightened scrutiny for

such laws follows straightforwardly from precedents

identifying relevant factors in determining whether a

particular classification warrants close _ judicial

scrutiny, rather than simple _ deference to

majoritarian lawmaking. See generally San Antonio

Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1, 28 (1973)

(reciting “traditional indicia of suspectness”); United

States v. Carolene Prods. Co., 304 U.S. 144, 153 n.4

(1938) (noting considerations that “may call for a . .

more searching judicial inquiry”); Windsor v. United

States, 699 F.3d 169, 181 (2d Cir. 2012) [hereinafter

“Windsor v. United States”) (explaining why lesbian,

gay, and bisexual persons meet definition of a quasi-

suspect class), affd, 133 S. Ct. 2675 (2013). That is

so because measures discriminating on the basis of

sexual orientation typically bear little or no relation

to the actual abilities, capacities, or preferences of the

persons that they constrain or burden.

In Windsor, this Court observed that the question

of what level of scrutiny applies to sexual orientation

discrimination is “still being debated and considered

in the courts.” 133 S. Ct. at 2683. Nearly two years

later, courts across the country have spoken with a

strong voice. In that case, the Second Circuit had

concluded that the federal Constitution requires

heightened scrutiny of laws that discriminate based

on sexual orientation, a holding that stands given

-23-

this Court’s affirmance of its judgment. Windsor uv.

United States, 699 F.3d at 181. Post-Windsor, four of

five federal appellate courts and all but two of the

over 40 federal district courts to consider laws that

ban same-sex couples from marrying or prohibit

recognition oof same-sex couples’ out-of-state

marriages have found these laws violate the

Constitution. Many have _ concluded ’_ these

prohibitions are subject to heightened scrutiny under

the Equal Protection Clause because they constitute

discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and

that they fail, or are likely to fail, this test. See, e.z.,

Baskin v. Bogan, 766 F.3d 648, 656 (7th Cir. 2014)

(holding that Indiana’s and Wisconsin’s marriage

bans unconstitutionally deny equal protection under

heightened scrutiny and also are “irrational”

discrimination and fail rational basis review), cert.

denied, 135 S. Ct. 316 (2014); Latta, 771 F.3d at 468

® Other courts have struck down these laws as an

unconstitutional denial of the fundamental right to marry, e.g.,

Bostic v. Schaefer, 760 F.3d 352, 367 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 135

S. Ct. 308 (2014); Kitchen v. Herbert, 755 F.3d 1193 (10th Cir.),

cert denied, 135 S. Ct. 265 (2014). Applying heightened

scrutiny, the highest courts of California, Connecticut, lowa, and

New Mexico also invalidated marriage bans under their state

constitutions. See In re Marriage Cases, 183 P.3d 384, 401 (Cal.

2008); Kerrigan v. Comm'r of Pub. Health, 957 A.2d 407, 476

(Conn. 2008); Varnum v. Brien, 763 N.W.2d 862, 896 (lowa

2009); Griego v. Oliver, 316 P.3d 865, 884 (N.M. 2013). Post-

Windsor courts also have concluded that rational basis review

applies but that these laws fail to pass muster even under this

deferential standard; see e.g., Bishop v. United States ex rel.

Holder, 962 F. Supp. 2d 1252, 1295 (N.D. Okla.), affd on other

grounds sub nom. Bishop v. Smith, 760 F.3d 1070 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied 135 S. Ct. 271 (2014); Searcy v. Strange, No. 14-

0208-CG-N, 2015 WL 328728, at *1, *4 (S.D. Ala. Jan. 23, 2015);

Campaign for S. Equal. v. Bryant, No. 3:14-CV-818-CWR-LRA,

2014 WL 6680570, at *28-34 (S.D. Miss. Nov. 25, 2014).

-24-

(applying heightened scrutiny to strike down Idaho's

and Nevada's marriage bans); Brenner v. Scott, 999 F.

Supp. 2d 1278, 1289 (N.D. Fla. 2014) (noting that

states’ asserted interests would fail intermediate

scrutiny, and that arguments they would fail rational

basis review as well were “persuasive”); Whitewood v.

Wolf, 992 F. Supp. 2d 410, 428, 431 (M.D. Pa. 2014)

(finding Pennsylvania’s marriage bans are subject to

and violate heightened scrutiny); Wolf v. Walker, 986

F. Supp. 2d 982, 1014 (W.D. Wis.) (holding that

because sexual orientation is “most similar to sex

among the different classifications that receive

heightened protection. . [the court] will assume that

intermediate scrutiny applies”), affd sub nom. Baskin

v. Bogan, 766 F.3d 648 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 135 S.

Ct. 316 (2014); De Leon v. Perry, 975 F. Supp. 2d 632,

652 (W.D. Tex. 2014) (finding plaintiffs’ argument for

heightened scrutiny compelling but unnecessary to

the equal protection claim “since Texas’ ban on same-

sex marriage fails even under the most deferential

rational basis level of review”); see also Searcy, 2015

WL 328728, at *3 (noting a strong argument can be

made that classification based on sexual orientation

is suspect); Campaign for S. Equal., 2014 WL

6680570, at *28 (observing that intermediate scrutiny

was most appropriate, though circuit precedent

required rational basis review). But see Conde-Vidal

v. Garcia-Padilla, No. 14-1253 PG, 2014 WL 5361987,

at *10 (D.P.R. Oct. 21, 2014) (upholding Puerto Rico's

marriage ban); Robicheaux v. Caldwell, 2 F. Supp. 3d

910, 919-20 (E.D. La. 2014) (upholding Louisiana's

marriage bans under rational basis review).

Heightened scrutiny is particularly appropriate in

this context because laws that impose gender-role

expectations in contravention of the actual

-25-

preferences of individuals offend the central liberty

interest on which this Court focused in Lawrence and

Windsor. In Lawrence, this Court reaffirmed that

“matters[] involving the most intimate and personal

choices a person may make in a lifetime, choices

central to personal dignity and autonomy, are central

to the liberty protected by the Fourteenth

Amendment,” and that “[bJehefs about these matters

could not define the attributes of personhood were

they formed under compulsion of the State.” 539

U.S. at 574 (quoting Planned Parenthood of Se. Pa. v.

Casey, 505 U.S. 833, 851 (1992)). The Court in

Lawrence was emphatic that “[pJersons in a

homosexual relationship may seek autonomy for

these purposes, just as heterosexual persons do,” id.,

and in Windsor, the Court expressly noted that state

marriage laws permitting same-sex couples to marry

reflect “evolving understanding of the meaning of

equality,” 133 S. Ct. at 2692-93. The Constitution's

liberty and equality principles are mutually

reinforcing and are incompatible with a presumption

of constitutionality for the legally enforced

expectation that individuals should enter into

intimate relationships only with someone of a

different sex.

An essential component of the Constitution’s due

process and equal protection guarantees is that the

government cannot exclude individuals from

important social statuses, institutions, relationships,

or legal protections because of a characteristic that is

irrelevant to participation in_ such _§ statuses,

institutions, relationships, or protections. See, e.g.,

Frontiero, 411 U.S. at 686-87. Courts therefore must

look with skepticism upon laws that restrict access to

marriage based on overbroad gender stereotypes and

-26-

prescribed gender roles unrelated to the actual

capacity of persons to engage in mutual care and

protection, to share economic risks, and to raise

children together—capacities that do not turn on

sexual orientation. Because legal enforcement of

these stereotypes and roles arbitrarily constrains

individuals’ most fundamental and personal choices

about their own lives, the Constitution requires

vigorous interrogation of any such government

action.

Cc. Laws Excluding Same-Sex Couples

From Marriage Cannot Survive

Heightened Scrutiny.

Marriage laws were once a leading example of sex-

based rules that enforced separate gender roles for

men and women and deprived persons of equal

opportunities based on notions of what was moral,

proper, or divinely ordered. As the harm arising from

laws requiring adherence to stereotyped gender roles

has been recognized, sex-based marriage rules have

been almost completely dismantled, with one glaring

exception: Many states continue to exclude same-sex

couples from marriage. See Latta, 771 F.3d at 489-90

(concurring opinion). The Equal Protection Clause

promises lesbian, gay, and bisexual persons, as it

promises all persons, “full citizenship stature—equal

opportunity to aspire, achieve, participate in and

contribute to society.” VMI, 518 US. at 532.

Subjecting such laws, including marriage laws that

discriminate based on _ sexual orientation, to

heightened scrutiny is appropriate so that each

person may have equal opportunity to aspire to and

experience a relationship with the person whom he or

she most wishes to build a hfe.

-27-

1. Heightened Scrutiny Has Been Key

to Dismantling Sex-Specific

Marriage Laws That Once Enforced

Gender Stereotypes.

Historically, “the husband and wife [were] one

person in law: the very being or legal existence

of the woman [was] suspended . or at least [was]

incorporated and consolidated into that of the

husband ....” 1 William Blackstone, Commentaries

on the Laws of England 442 (3d ed. 1768); see Nancy

F. Cott, Public Vows: A History of Marriage and the

Nation 11 (2000). For example, wives could not

contract or dispose of their assets without their

husbands’ cooperation. Even after the Married

Women’s Property Acts and similar laws gave

married women increased control over their property

in the nineteenth century, many state and federal

statutes continued to rely on the notion that marriage

imposed separate (and unequal) roles on men and

women. See generally Deborah A. Widiss, Changing

the Marriage Equation, 89 Wash. U. L. Rev. 721, 735-

39 (2012). Indeed, courts routinely invalidated efforts

by spouses to “alter the ‘essential’ elements of

marriage” through contractual arrangements seeking

to modify its “gender-determined aspects.” Nan D.

Hunt <, Marriage, Law, and Gender: A Feminist

Inquiry, 1 Law & Sexuality 9, 15 & n.24 (1991).

An extensive legal framework continued to set out

gender-specific rules relating to marriage well into

the second half of the twentieth century. In 1971, for

example, an appendix to the appellant’s brief in Reed

v. Reed listed numerous areas of state law that

disadvantaged married women, including mandatory

disqualification of married women from

-28-

administering estates of the intestate, qualifications

on married women’s right to engage in independent

business, limitations on the capacity of married

women to become sureties, differential marriageable

ages, and domiciles of married women following that

of their husbands. Brief for Appellant, app. at 69-88,

Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71 (June 25, 1971) (No. 70-4)

(collecting state laws in each area). Many states’

criminal laws retained the common law presumption

that wives could not be raped by their husbands. See

Jill Elaine Hasday, Contest and Consent: A Legal

History of Marital Rape, 88 Calif. L. Rev. 1373, 1375

(2000). Federal law also persisted in attaching

different legal consequences to marriage for men and

women. For example, across a variety of federal

programs, benefits were provided to wives on the

assumption that they were financially dependent on

their husbands, but denied to husbands altogether

unless they could prove financial dependence on their

wives. See, e.g., Goldfarb, 430 U.S. at 201;

Wiesenfeld, 420 U.S. at 643-44; Frontiero, 411 U.S. at

678; Kalina v. R.R. Ret. Bd., 541 F.2d 1204, 1209 (6th

Cir. 1976), affd, 431 U.S. 909 (1977). The Social

Security Act presumed income from a trade or

business in a community property state to be the

husband’s income. See Carrasco v. Sec’y of Health,

Educ. & Welfare, 628 F.2d 624, 627, 629 (1st Cir.

1980). Federal bankruptcy law provided that

alimony and support debts owed to a wife were

nondischargeable, while the same debts owed to a

husband lacked such protection. See In re Crist, 632

F.2d 1226, 1229, 1232-33 (5th Cir. 1980).

In the intervening years, courts § applying

heightened scrutiny have played a key role in

dismantling the legal machinery that enforces

-29-

separate gender roles within marriage, based on the

principle that such legally enforced roles do not

properly reflect individuals’ “ability to perform or

contribute to society” and thus violate “the basic

concept of our system that legal burdens should bear

some relationship to individual responsibility.”

Frontiero, 411 U.S. at 686 (quoting Weber v. Aetna

Cas. & Sur. Co., 406 U.S. 164, 175 (1972)); see also

Kirchberg v. Feenstra, 450 U.S. 455, 458-61 (1981)

(affirming invalidation of Louisiana statute giving

the husband as “head and master” the right to sell

marital property without wife’s consent); Wengler v.

Druggists Mut. Ins. Co., 446 U.S. 142, 147-48 (1980)

(rejecting stereotypes regarding wives’ financial

dependency in the context of differential workers’

compensation benefits); Westcott, 443 U.S. at 89

(finding unconstitutional a statute providing benefits

only to unemployed fathers, rather than to both

fathers and mothers); Orr, 440 U.S. at 281-83

(rejecting stereotypes regarding wives’ financial

dependency in the alimony context). As a result of

these decisions and attendant legislative reforms,

laws relating to marriage have become almost wholly

gender-neutral—apart from their frequent exclusion

of same-sex couples. See generally Latta, 771 F.3d at

490 (concurring opinion); Perry v. Schwarzenegger,

704 F. Supp. 2d 921, 993 (N.D. Cal. 2010), affd sub

nom. Perry v. Brown, 671 F.3d 1052 (9th Cir. 2012),

vacated and remanded sub nom. Hollingsworth v.

Perry, 133 S. Ct. 2652 (2013); Susan Frelich

Appleton, Missing in Action? Searching for Gender

Talk in the Same-Sex Marriage Debate, 16 Stan. L. &

Pol'y Rev. 97, 113-14 (2005). Men and women

entering into marriage today have the liberty under

law to determine for themselves the responsibilities

-30-

each will shoulder, regardless of whether these roles

conform to traditional arrangements.

2. Like Other Marriage Laws

Enforcing Gender-Based

Expectations, Laws Excluding

Same-Sex Couples From Marriage

Cannot Survive Constitutional

Scrutiny.

Although the law no longer expressly imposes

separate roles on married men and women, marriage

laws that discriminate based on sexual orientation

continue to rest on gender stereotypes about the

proper preferences, relationship roles, and capacities

of men and women that do not reflect the realities of

many individuals’ lives. For example, in Tennessee,

the challenged marriage ban expressly delineates

families headed by opposite-sex couples as “the

fundamental building block of our society,” Tenn.

Code Ann. § 36-3-113(a), and the State has asserted

the ban is justified by the “promotion of family

continuity and stability.” Brief for Appellant at 25,

Tanco v. Haslam, No. 14-5297 (6th Cir. May 7, 2014).

In passing Kentucky's marriage law, legislators

argued that “[t]he sacred institution of marriage joins

together a man and a woman for the stability of

society and for the greater glory of God.” See Pl.’s

Mem. in Supp. of Mot. for Summ. J. at 4, Bourke v.

Beshear, 3:13-CV-750-JGH (W.D. Ky. Dec, 16, 2013).

Similarly, in passing Ohio's first marriage-

recognition ban, legislators argued it was necessary

to uphold “a divine institution that’s been given to us

by God” and that “males and females coming together

in traditional marriage create the basic unit, the

building blocks of our society.” Expert Decl. of Susan

he

J. Becker in Supp. of Pl.’s Mot. for Declaratory J. and

Permanent Inj. 4 40, Obergefell v. Wymyslo, No. 1:13-

cv-501 (S.D. Ohio Oct. 11, 2013) (ECF No. 41-1)

(internal quotation marks omitted). Such

justifications reflect the gender-stereotyped notion

that the stability of marriage depends on the

separate roles played by women and men, and

require skeptical examination under the Equal

Protection Clause.

Respondents have argued that procreation is a

principal reason for marriage and will not be

furthered by recognition of same-sex marriages. See

Brief for Appellant at 52, DeBoer v. Snyder, No. 14-

1341 (6th Cir. May 7, 2014); Brief for Appellant at 11-

12, Bourke v. Beshear, No. 14-5291 (6th Cir. May 7,

2014); Brief for Appellant at 24-26, Tanco v Haslam,

No. 14-5297 (6th Cir. May 7, 2014). Tennessee, for

example, has argued that “marriage can simply not

be divorced from its traditional procreative purposes”

and that the ban on marriage between same-sex

couples serves to “ensure that procreation occur only

within the confines of a stable family unit.” Defs.’

Resp. in Opp’n to Pls.’ Mot. for Preliminary Inj. at 14-

17, 24, Tanco v. Haslam, No. 3:13-cv-01159 (M.D.

Tenn. Dec. 6, 2013). Similarly, Kentucky asserts that

recognizing marriages only between different-sex

couples is justified because only “[t}raditional man-

woman couples” can procreate. Brief for Appellant at

21, Bourke, No. 14-5291 (6th Cir. May 7, 2014); see

also Brief of Amicus Citizens for Community Values

at 15, Obergefell v. Wymyslo, No. 14-3057 (6th Cir.

Apr. 17, 2014) (arguing that procreation is the

primary reason for marriage and that granting

recognition to marriages between same-sex couples

will diminish responsible procreation).

-32-

Same-sex couples, of course, may become parents

through adoption, assisted reproduction, or

surrogacy, or they may raise biological children from

prior different-sex relationships. Moreover, as this

Court has recognized, marriage has many other core

purposes beyond procreation, including emotional

support, public commitment, and personal dedication,

as well as tangibie benefits such as Social Security

and property rights. See Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S.

78, 95-96 (1987) (holding prison inmates must be

allowed to marry, even if marriages might never be

consummated). Cases holding that married couples

have a right to use contraception, e.g., Griswold v.

Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 485-86 (1965), and that

women cannot be required to notify their spouses to

obtain an abortion, Casey, 505 U.S. at 898, further

illustrate that marriage and procreation are not

coextensive. See generally id. at 849 (“[T]he

Constitution places limits on a State’s right to

interfere with a person’s most basic decisions about

family and parenthood . . as well as bodily

integrity .”). Indeed, a description of marriage as

based primarily on procreation is one that most

married couples would fail to recognize.

Relatedly, the contention that permitting same-sex

couples to marry could harm child welfare is based on

pervasive gender stereotypes. See Bostic, 760 F.3d at

383-84; Latta, 771 F.3d at 491-92 (concurring

opinion); see also Brief for Appellant at 51, DeBoer,

No. 14-1341 (6th Cir. May 7, 2014) (allowing same-

sex marriage would undermine child welfare because

“no institution in society would reinforce the idea . .

that mothers and fathers have, in general, different

parenting strengths”). Courts repeatedly have struck

down laws based on the assumption that mothers and

-33-

fathers play categorically and predictably different

roles as parents, rejecting “any universal difference

between maternal and paternal relations at every

phase of a_ child’s development.” Caban v.

Mohammed, 441 U.S. 380, 389 (1979); see also

Wiesenfeld, 420 U.S. at 652 (“It is no less important

for a child to be cared for by its sole surviving parent

when that parent is male rather than female.”);

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 646-47, 649 (1972)

(finding unconstitutional a state’s presumption that

single fathers were unfit to raise their children where

single mothers were presumed fit). Gender-based

generalizations about how mothers and fathers

typically parent are an insufficient basis for

discriminatory laws, even when these generalizations

are “not entirely without empirical support.”

Wiesenfeld, 420 U.S. at 645. Here, empirical evidence

does not support the notion that different-sex couples

are better parents than same-sex couples; indeed,

research supports the conclusion that “[c]hildren

raised by gay or lesbian parents are as likely as

children raised by heterosexual parents to be healthy,

successful and well-adjusted”—a finding that “is

accepted beyond serious debate in the field of

developmental psychology.” Perry, 704 F. Supp. 2d at

980. '0

While evidence does not support the notion that

permitting same-sex couples to marry will harm

children, banning same-sex couples from marrying or

preventing recognition oof same-sex couples’

10 Like the Perry court, the trial court in the instant case DeBoer

v. Snyder, 973 F. Supp. 2d 757 (E.D. Mich. 2014), also held a

bench trial on this question and found an overwhelming

consensus among scholars that there is no difference in quality

of parenting between heterosexual! and gay parents.

-34-

marriages does inflict serious harms on same-sex

couples and their children. These harms include not

only denial of substantial tangible benefits and

responsibilities, but also dignitary harms of

constitutional dimension. Windsor, 133 S. Ct. at

2694-95 (explaining how the federal government's

refusal to recognize same-sex couples’ marriages

“demeans” such couples and “humiliates” their

children). Windsor instructs that in evaluating for

constitutional purposes the harms that

discriminatory marriage laws inflict, dignitary harms

are of great moment.

One of the most serious ways in which laws that

exclude same-sex couples from marriage demean

lesbian, gay, and bisexual persons is by enforcing

gender-based expectations in the roles that men and

women play in families. State enforcement of such

stereotypes and expectations—through exclusionary

marriage laws and other discriminatory government

actions—communicates to lesbian, gay, and bisexual

persons, their children, and their communities that

there is something wrong with a core part of their

identity and being. Such government actions

communicate that lesbian, gay, and bisexual persons

do not measure up to what a man or a woman should

be and that their most important relationships are

“less worthy,” Windsor, 133 S. Ct. at 2696, than the

relationships and marriages of different-sex couples.

Such discrimination cannot survive heightened

scrutiny.

I'v. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Amici Curiae urge this

Court to hold that laws that classify based on sexual

orientation are subject to heightened scrutiny under

-35-

the Equal Protection Clause and that the challenged

laws cannot withstand this scrutiny, and to reverse

the judgment of the Court of Appeals upholding the

challenged provisions.

Respectfully submitted,

EMILY J. MARTIN, Counsel of NAN D. HUNTER

Record THE WILLIAMS INSTITUTE

MARCIA D. GREENBERGER UCLA SCHOOL OF LAW

ELIZABETH JOHNSTON Box 951476

NATIONAL WOMEN’S LAW Los Angeles, CA 90095-1476

CENTER (310) 267-4382

11 Dupont Circle, NW, Suite

800

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 588-5180

emartin@nwilc.org

Counsel for Amici Curiae National Women’s Law Center, the Williams

Institute UCLA School of Law, California Women Lawyers, Center for

Reproductive Rights, Connecticut Women’s Education and Legal Fund,

Equal Rights Advocates, Michigan Association for Justice, National

Association of Women Lawyers, National Partnership for Women and

Families, Women’s Bar Association of the District of Columbia, Women’s

Bar Association of Illinois, Women’s Law Center of Maryland and

Women’s Lawyer Association of Michigan

-36-

BARBARA B. BROWN

STEPHEN B. KINNAIRD

JENNIFER S. BALDOCCHI

JEFFREY S. HABER

PAUL HASTINGS LLP

875 15 Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 551-1700

Counsel for Amici Curiae National Women’s Law Center, the Williams

Institute UCLA School of Law, California Women Lawyers, Center for

Reproductive Rights, Connecticut Women’s Education and Legal Fund,

Michigan Association for Justice, National Association of Women

Lawyers, National Partnership for Women and Families, Women’s Bar

Association of the District of Columbia, Women’s Bar Association of

Illinois, Women’s Law Center of Maryland and Women’s Lawyer

Association of Michigan

March 2015

APPENDIX

-la-

APPENDIX

National Women’s Law Center

The National Women’s Law Center is a nonprofit

legal advocacy organization dedicated to the

advancement and protection of women’s legal rights

and opportunities since its founding in 1972. The

Center focuses on issues of key importance to women

and their families, including economic security,

employment, education, health, and reproductive

rights, with special attention to the needs of low-

income women, and has participated as counsel or

Amicus Curiae in a range of cases before the

Supreme Court and Federal Courts of Appeals to

secure the equal treatment of women under the law,

including numerous cases addressing the scope of the

Constitution’s guarantees of equal protection of the

laws. The Center has long sought to ensure that

rights and opportunities are not restricted for women

or men on the basis of gender stereotypes and that all

individuals enjoy the protection against such

discrimination promised by the Constitution.

Williams Institute Scholars of Sexual

Orientation and Gender Law

The Amici professors of law are associated with

the Williams Institute, an academic research center

at UCLA School of Law dedicated to the study of

sexual orientation and gender identity law and public

policy. These Amici have substantial expertise in

constitutional law and equal protection

jurisprudence, including with respect to

discrimination based on sex, sexual orientation, and

-2a-

gender stereotypes. Their expertise thus bears

directly on the constitutional issues before the Court

in these cases. These Amici are listed below.

Institutional affiliations are listed for identification

purposes only.

e Christine A. Littleton

Vice Provost for Diversity and Faculty

Development, UCLA;

Professor of Law and Gender Studies,

UCLA School of Law;

Former Faculty Chair and Faculty

Advisory Committee Member, The

Williams Institute.

e Nancy Polikoff

Professor of Law, American University

Washington College of Law;

2012 Visiting McDonald/Wright Chair of

Law, UCLA School of Law;

Former Faculty Chair & Faculty

Advisory Committee Member, The

Williams Institute.

e Vicki Schultz

Ford Foundation Professor of Law and

Social Sciences, Yale Law School;

2011 Visiting McDonald/Wright Chair of

Law, UCLA School of Law;

-3a-

Former Faculty Chair & Faculty

Advisory Committee Member, The

Williams Institute.

e Brad Sears

Assistant Dean of Academic Programs

and Centers, UCLA School of Law;

Roberta A. Conroy Scholar of Law and

Policy, The Williams Institute;

Executive Director, The Williams

Institute.

e Seana Shiffrin

Professor of Philosophy, UCLA School of

Law;

Pete Kameron Professor of Law and

Social Justice, UCLA School of Law;

Faculty Advisory Committee Member,

The Williams Institute.

e Jonathan D. Varat

Professor of Law Emeritus, UCLA

School of Law;

Dean Emeritus, UCLA School of Law;

Faculty Advisory Committee Member,

The Williams Institute.

e« Adam Winkler

e Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law;

e Faculty Advisory Committee Member,

The Williams Institute.

California Women Lawyers

California Women Lawyers (“CWL”) has

represented the interests of more than 30,000 women

in all facets of the legal profession since 1974. CWL’s

mission includes advancing women’s interests,

extending universal equal rights and eliminating

bias. In pursuing its values of social justice and

gender equality, CWL often joins amici briefs

challenging discrimination by private and

government entities, weighs in on _ proposed

legislation, and implements programs fostering the

appointment of women and other qualified candidates

to the bench.

Center for Reproductive Rights

The Center for Reproductive Rights (the “Center”)

is a global advocacy organization that uses the law to

advance reproductive freedom as a fundamental right

that all governments are legally obligated to respect,

protect, and fulfill. In the U.S., the Center’s work

focuses on ensuring that all women have access to a

full spectrum of high-quality reproductive healthcare

services. Since its founding in 1992, the Center has

been actively involved in nearly all major litigation in

the U.S. concerning reproductive rights, and its

attorneys have regularly appeared before this Court.

As a rights-based organization, the Center has a vital

-5a-

interest in protecting individuals endeavoring to

exercise their fundamental rights from restrictions on

the basis of gender stereotypes. Using its expertise in

U.S. constitutional law, discrimination, and equal

protection jurisprudence, the Center seeks to

highlight why discrimination based on gender

classifications or gendered stereotypes should be

subject to heightened scrutiny.

Connecticut Women’s Education and Legal

Fund

The Connecticut Women’s Education and Legal

Fund (CWEALF) is a non-profit women’s rights

organization dedicated to empowering women, girls

and their families to achieve equal opportunities in

their personal and professional lives. CWEALF

defends the rights of individuals in the courts,

educational institutions, workplaces and in their

private lives. Since its founding in 1973, CWEALF

has provided legal education and advocacy and

conducted research and public policy work to advance

women’s rights. As one of the leaders in

Connecticut's fight for marriage equality and

subsequent victor, CWEALF’s research and advocacy

includes the role of gender stereotypes and the

prevention of discrimination based on gender, sexual

orientation, and gender identity.

-6a-

Equal Rights Advocates

Equal Rights Advocates (“ERA”) is a national

nonprofit civil rights advocacy organization based in

San Francisco that is dedicated to protecting and

expanding economic justice and equal opportunities

for women and girls. Since its founding in 1974, ERA

has sought to end gender discrimination in

employment and education and advance equal

opportunity for all by litigating historically

significant gender discrimination cases in both state

and federal courts, and by engaging in other

advocacy. ERA recognizes that women historically

have been the targets of legally sanctioned

discrimination and unequal treatment, which often

have been justified by or based on stereotypes and

biased assumptions about the roles that women (and

men) can or should play in the public and private

sphere, including within the institution of marriage.

ERA is concerned that if laws such as_ those

challenged in this case are allowed to stand, millions

of gay, lesbian, and bisexual persons in the United

States will be deprived of the fundamental liberty to

choose whether and whom they will marry—a

deprivation that offends the core principle of equal

treatment under the law.

-J7a-

Michigan Association for Justice

The Michigan Association for Justice (MAJ) is an

organization of Michigan lawyers engaged in

litigation and trial work. The mission of the

Michigan Association for Justice is to promote a fair

and effective justice system. MAJ recognizes an

obligation to assist this Court on important issues of

law that would substantially affect the orderly

administration of justice in the trial courts of the

United States of America, including the Sixth Circuit.

This case presents important issues of law, the

resolution of which is important to civil and

constitutional rights, and will have a direct and

substantial impact on MAJ members’ clients whose

rights may be challenged by these issues, requiring

heightened scrutiny by the Courts.

National Association of Women Lawyers

The National Association of Women Lawyers

(“NAWL,”) is the oldest women’s bar association in the

United States. Founded in 1899, the association

promotes not only the interests of women in the

profession but also women and families everywhere.

That has included taking a stand opposing gender

stereotypes in a wide range of areas, including

Title IX and Title VII. NAWL is proud to have been a

signatory to the civil rights amicus brief in the 2003

case of Goodridge v. Department of Public Health,

where the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court

found that denial of marriage licenses to same sex

couples violated state constitutional guarantees of

liberty and equality. Now, over a decade later,

NAWL is proud to join in this brief and stand, once

again, for marriage equality.

-Sa-

National Partnership for Women & Families

The National Partnership for Women & Families

is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that uses

public education and advocacy to promote fairness in

the workplace, quality health care for all, and policies

that help women and men meet the dual demands of

work and family. Founded in 1971 as the Women’s

Legal Defense Fund, the National Partnership has

been instrumental in many of the major legal

changes that have improved the lives of women and

their families. The National Partnership has devoted

significant resources to combating sex, race, and

other forms of invidious discrimination and has filed

numerous briefs as Amicus Curiae in the Supreme

Court and in the Federal Courts of Appeals to protect

constitutional! and legal rights.

Women’s Bar Association of the District of

Columbia

The Women’s Bar Association of the District of

Columbia (WBA) is one of the oldest and largest

voluntary bar associations in metropolitan

Washington, D.C. WBA’s mission is to maintain the

honor and integrity of the profession; promote the

administration of justice; advance and protect the

interests of women lawyers; promote their mutual

improvement; and encourage a spirit of friendship

among our members. The WBA is dedicated to

advance women’s rights in furtherance of an equal

and just society.

~-9a-

Women’s Bar Association of Illinois

The Women’s Bar Association of Illinois (WBAIT)

was founded in 1914 to promote, foster, advance and

protect the interest and welfare of women and women

lawyers. An essential element of the WBAI’s mission

is to aid in the enactment of legislation to protect the

interests and rights of women. The WBAI has long

advocated for individual rights and liberties including

the elimination of discriminatory laws predicated

upon gender stereotypes and gender based

expectations. The WBAI joins the brief as amicus

curiae before this Honorable Court on behalf of the

parties whose rights are in jeopardy.

Women’s Law Center of Maryland

The Women’s Law Center of Maryland, Inc. is a

nonprofit, public interest, membership organization

of attorneys and community members with a mission

of improving and protecting the legal rights of

women. Established in 1971, the Women’s Law

Center achieves its mission through direct legal

representation, research, policy analysis, legislative

initiatives, education and implementation of

innovative legal-services programs to pave the way

for systemic change. The Women’s Law Center has

dedicated substantial advocacy efforts to reform

family law through its Kaufman Center for Family

Law. The Women’s Law Center is participating as an

amicus in Obergefell v. Himes because it supports the

right of same sex couples to marry. This is a

necessary and appropriate expansion of family law

which makes the rights, benefits and responsibilities

of marriage available to all women, including

lesbians who wish to marry, and ensure that those

-10a-

rights are not restricted on the basis of gender

stereotypes.

Women Lawyers Association of Michigan

Women Lawyers’ Association of Michigan

(“WLAM”) was founded in 1919. WLAM works to

secure the rights of women in society. The mission

statement for WLAM is to advance the interests of

women members of the legal profession, to promote

improvements in the administration of justice, and to

promote equality and social justice for all people.

WLAM has participated as Amicus Curiae in cases to

secure equal treatment of women under the law.

With more than 700 member attorneys, judges and

law students, WLAM has substantial expertise

related to equal protection, including discrimination

based on sex. WLAM has an interest in the

continued recognition by Courts that sex

classifications warrant heightened scrutiny under the

Equal Protection Clause of the Constitution. WLAM

supports the Amicus Brief provided by the National

Women’s Law Center to the extent that all people

should be afforded the rights provided under the

Equal protection Clause of the United States

Constitution.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.