Amicus Curiae Brief — Tanco v. Haslam, 135 S. Ct. 1040 (2015) (No. 14-562)

Supreme Court brief2015

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

SUL ete o aA..3 iu »

PLED

APR - 3 2015

Nos. 14-556, 14-562, 14-571, and 14-974 0. Ge ye crx

Ju the Supreme Court

of the Anited States

JAMES OBERGEFELL, ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.

RICHARD HODGES, DIRECTOR, OHIO

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, ET AL..,

RESPONDENTS

ON WRITS OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH

CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE DAVID BOYLE IN

SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

David Boyle

Counsel of Record

P.O. Box 15143

Long Beach, CA 90815

dbo@boyleslaw.org

(734) 904-6132

(Additional captions listed on inside cover)

VALERIA TANCO, ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.

BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR OF TENNESSEE, ET

AL., RESPONDENTS

APRIL DEBOER, ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.

RICK SNYDER, GOVERNOR OF MICHIGAN, ET

AL., RESPONDENTS

GREGORY BOURKE, ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.

STEVE BESHEAR, GOVERNOR OF KENTUCKY, ET

AL., RESPONDENTS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

AMICUS CURIAE STATEMENT OF INTEREST... 1

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.......000000.0.... ccc 1

I. SAME-SEX COUPLES MAY MOVE TOA

STATE WITH SAME-SEX MARRIAGE;

THEIR CHILDREN CANNOT EASILY

LEAVE THEIR PARENTS AND GET

DIVERSE-SEX PARENTS

A. Most Homosexual Couples Do Not Have

a Household with Children................. 3

B. How Same-Sex Marriage Injures

Children: Deprivation of Mother or

Father, and the Consequences............ 4

C. Grutter Allows States to Balance

“Constitutional Injury” with

Countervailing, Beneficial State

at nine aiaame nana eal 6

Il. BALLARD AND TIGNER RE SAME-SEX

COUPLES’ PHYSICAL IMPOSSIBILITIES:

HAVING CHILDREN TOGETHER; HAVING

REPRODUCTIVE SEX; AND PROVIDING

DIVERSE-GENDER PARENTAGE...... anit 9

Ill. BISEXUAL AND SEXUALLY-FLUID

PERSONS WILL OFTEN CHOOSE

OPPOSITE-SEX SPOUSES WHEN SAME-

SEX MARRIAGE IS UNAVAILABLE; THUS,

SAME-SEX-MARRIAGE BANS ARE

SESS CRB eccc ccc cepesceccccocsecescceoces 9

A. Human Sexual Fluidity Comprises

Many Bisexual or Other Americans

Who Could Choose either Sex-

B. A Revelatory Law-Review Article

Admitting Same-Sex-Marriage Bans’

Channeling Effect Towards Diverse-

Gonder Marriages... ......ccscccccccccccccss 11

C. The Successful Heterosexual Marriages

of Some Sexually-Fluid People: Further

Proof that Same-Sex-Marriage Bans

kitdctiectddiccinnicesitdiersinns 14

D. The Defeat of Arguments for the

Ineffectiveness of Same-Sex-Marriage

Bans, by the Proof Above................. 15

IV THE FAILURE OF

“UNDERINCLUSIVENESS RE FERTILITY”

ARGUMENTS AGAINST SAME-SEX-

MARRIAGE BANG..............c.sceeeccseeseeceeees 16

V GRUTTER AND CHILDREN’S BENEFIT

FROM DIVERSE-GENDER PARENTAGE;

VIII.

IX.

AND THE BAN’S SOCIALLY-BENEFICIAL,

LIFE-AFFIRMING EXPRESSIVE CONTENT

RE CASEY AND CARHART..................++: 17

A. Gender-Diverse Parentage Is a

Compelling State Interest................ 17

B. A Lower Court’s Failure to Respect

Gender Diversity in DeBoer Repeats

That Court’s Failure to Respect

Racial/Gender Diversity in Grutter....19

C. Showing State Respect for Life......... 20

STATES MAY WEIGH THE BALANCE OF

COST/BENEFIT FROM SAME-SEX

I vccecescccseccceveccccnvececsoecesecceseses 21

A SEX-DISCRIMINATION CLAIM IS NOT

| Ee 23

A SEXUAL-ORIENTATION-

DISCRIMINATION CLAIM IS NOT

VIABLE; AND, UPHOLDING SAME-SEX-

MARRIAGE BANS WOULD NOT SUPPORT

EMPLOYMENT/HOUSING

DISCRIMINATION AGAINST GAYS....... 25

SODOMY AS CANCER, AIDS, AND

INJURY VECTOR; AND SODOMY-

NORMING AND -EXAMPLING FOR

CHILDREN OF SAME-SEX

PEED covccccuscscsrsesesccscnsonesescounsess 27

lV

MANY ARGUMENTS FOR MANDATORY

LEGAL SAME-SEX MARRIAGE WOULD

ALSO SUPPORT LEGALIZING

PES coccrcccctcevescdecocosecescsecoscocsncess 31

XI. SOCIAL SCIENCE ON SAME-SEX

MARRIAGE IS STILL UNSETTLED,

THOUGH SOME SUPPORTS

SEE USOEPENEY Bere cccccecccesccccccccecoceseescoces 34

XII. RATIONAL BASIS IS THE RIGHT LEVEL

OF SCRUTINY; AND THE REASONS

ADDUCED HERE COMPRISE VERY

COMPELLING STATE INTERESTS.......37

XIII. SEEKING PRINCIPLED “MIDDLE

GROUND”, IF NEEDED, IN THESE

Ge rcccesscccevccscsescecsecsencosesoseesesouscesce 38

(QTE Occ ccc cccccccescccccccceccsconcsooes 40

ee tevc ccnccccscccccanceccocerecneseteococnseese 41

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Ballard v. United States, 329 U.S. 187

Brown v. Bd. of Educ., 347 U.S. 483 (1954)...........24

Cabell v. Chavez-Salido, 454 U.S. 432 (1982)......... 26

DeBoer v. Snyder, 973 F Supp. 2d 757 (E.D. Mich.

i ccsscenaiadesdninenaiadiiiddaediaraniheinnn 19, 20, 34

DeBoer v. Snyder, 772 F.3d 388 (6th Cir. 2014), cert.

granted (U.S. Nov. 18, 2014) (No. 14-

tl cdciiddatigesdetdiidaddidnddaiiiienbetianbieneaie 1&n.2

Gonzales v. Carhart, 550 U.S. 124

REECE NEARER 17, 20, 21-22

Grutter v. Bollinger, 137 F. Supp. 2d 821

SII saiapndiceiihebdlainbcacaiaahdiiieneieceeaiaa titled 19, 20

Grutter v. Bollinger, 288 F.3d 732 (2002).............. 18

Grutter v. Bollinger, 539 U.S. 306

Se cdcmssesncsensenndnecseenintberseimnesneneasented passim

Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558 (2003)........ passim

Maynard v. Hill, 125 U.S. 190 (1888).............0600-. 29

Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438 (1928).....27

One, Inc. v. Olesen, 355 U.S. 371 (1958)............... 33

Planned Parenthood of Se. Pa. v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833

RE escensdndsondbenncesdeenseseedessneneeeieeses 17, 20, 21

Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202 (1982)............cccceececeenes 6

Potter v. Murray City, 585 F. Supp. 1126 (1984), 760

F.2d 1065 (1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 849

SI iicdahedeeneudbenssianthidnddbnnbnbntennnsaemdebens 33, 34

Schuette v. BAMN, 134 S. Ct. 1623 (2014)...............7

Tigner v. Texas, 310 U.S. 141 (1940).................2, 4, 9

United States v. Windsor, 133 S. Ct. 2675 (2013)....22

CONSTITUTION

a Ge, SIE, TE cnccscciccnsausseseessoseseinades 5, 41

STATUTES OR BALLOT MEASURES

Cal. Proposition 6 (“Briggs Initiative”) (1978)......... 26

Hyde Amendment, Pub. L. 94-439, tit. II, § 209, 90

Stat. 1434 (1976; amended 2009).........21 &n.11

Mich. Proposal 04-2 (2004).................cccee eee ees 24, 25

Mich. Proposal 06-2 (2006).................0022eeeeceeeeeees 25

RULE

ae 1n.l

OTHER AUTHORITIES

(All Internet links below were last visited April 3,

2015.)

Michael Boucai, Sexual Liberty and Same-Sex

Marriage: An Argument from Bisexuality, 49 San

Diego L. Rev. 415 (2012)...........12-13, 23, 29, 37

Br. of Amicus Curiae David Boyle in Supp. of

Neither Party, in DeBoer v. Snyder,

Brs. in Obergefell v. Hodges, Tanco v. Haslam, Boer

v. Snyder, & Bourke v. Beshear, Nos. 14-556, 14-

562, 14-571, and 14-574:

Br. of Amicae Curiae Heather Barwick and Katy

Faust in Supp. of Resp’ts....................5. 4,5,6

Br. of Amicus Curiae BiLaw in Supp. of

Br. of Amici Curiae Robert Oscar Lopez and

B.N. Klein in Supp. of Resp’ts................... 4,5

Br. of Amicae Curiae Dawn Stefanowicz and

Denise Shick in Supp. of Resp’ts................... 5

CDC, HIV Among Youth (undated), http://www.cdc.

gov/hiv/risk/age/youth/......................2+0+ 30 & n.20

Dan Chmielewski, Ronald Reagan on Gay Rights,

Liberal OC, June 9, 2008, http://www.

Gary DeMar, How Can Chirlane McCray de Blasio

be a ‘Former’ Lesbian?, Godfather Politics, Dec.

28, 2013, http://godfatherpolitics.com/13765/can-

chirlane-mccray-de-blasio-former-

Rivka Edelman, Robert Oscar Lopez, & Dawn

Stefanowicz, Children of Gay Parents, Part 1 of

4, in Jephthah’s Daughters (Lopez & Edelman,

ST iictlinkinstdinmumbtonadotecincinnsietetosipicen 29

Kelly Faircloth, The ACLU Kicks Up a Fuss About

Sex-Segregated Middle School Classes, Jezebel,

Jan. 24, 2014, 3:15 p.m., http://jezebel.com/the-

aclu-kicks-up-a-fuss-about-sex-segregated-

middle-sc-15065782972......................0-20- 24 &n.14

Fifth Commandment (Exodus 20:12)................ 8, 41

Gary J. Gates, LGBT Parenting in the United States,

The Williams Inst., Feb. 2013, http://

williamsinstitute.law.ucla.edu/wp-content/

uploads/LGBT-Parenting.

i iinicstvneuséeetabenkemehonines 3 & n.3, 22-23 & n.13

Gay Men’s Health Crisis, The Bottom Line on Rectal

Microbicide Research (undated, but about a Jan.

23, 2013 presentation), http://www.gmhc.org/

news-and-events/events-calendar/the-bottom-

line-on-rectal-microbicide-research....... 28 &n.18

Arin Greenwood, Who Are “The Polyamorists Next

Door’? Q&A With Author Elisabeth Sheff,

Huffington Post, updated Mar. 5, 2014, 10:59

http://www. huffingtonpost.com/2014/03/05/

elisabeth-sheff-polyamory_n_4898961.

REET EE eee, 22 & n.12, 32

HHS, Promoting Responsible Fatherhood—

Promoting Responsible Fatherhood Home Page

(last revised July 21, 2011), http://www.

I I occcctccccccscccvesseceseenesees 18 & n.10

Carrie A. Moore, Gay LDS men detail challenges: 3

who are married give some insights to therapist

group, Deseret News, Mar. 30, 2007, 12:22 a.m.,

http://www.deseretnews.com/article/660207378/

Gay-LDS-men-detail-challenges.

Sidndanaintdienpadidllmmndsnasivenidedinniniienin 14-15 & n.6

Nat'l Ctr. for Biotech. Info., U.S. Nat'l Libr. of Med..,

Nat'l Insts. of Health, Vaginal “fisting” as a

cause of death., PubMed.gov (undated), http://

www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/

SLE RRR A oS ee 28 & n.19

Martha Nussbaum, A Right to Marry? Same-sex

Marriage and Constitutional Law, Dissent,

Summer 2009, http://www.dissentmagazine.

org/article/a-right-to-marry-same-sex-marriage-

and-constitutional-law...................... 31-32 & n.21

Patricia, Our America with Lisa Ling — “Modern

Polygamy” a New Perspective on an Old Taboo,

The Daily OWN, Oct. 24, 2011, http://www.

thedailyown.com/our-america-with-lisa-ling-

modern-polygamy-a-new-perspective-on-an-old-

Matt Sloane, Fewer teens having oral sex, The Chart,

CNN, Aug. 17, 2012, 10:41 a.m., http://thechart.

blogs.cnn.com/2012/08/17/fewer-teens-having-

EEA EER ot Re ae PES ONE SORES = 28 & n.17

Sonia Sotomayor, My Beloved World (paperback ed.,

Vintage Books 2014 (2013))..................0eeee2 eee 19

Judith Stacey & Timothy J. Biblarz, (How) Does the

Sexual Orientation of Parents Matter?, 66 Am.

BR EG ST iccinctanndsuacnessiinaciinans 29-30

Mircea Trandafir, The effect of same-sex marriage

laws on different-sex marriage: Evidence from

the Netherlands (2009), available at http://www.

iza.org/conference_files/TAM2010/trandafir_m

6039.pdf (courtesy of Institute for the Study of

i cncniemdensansaentiaanasannaeiins 35-36 & n.24, 37

Mircea Trandafir, The effect of same-sex marriage

laws on different-sex marriage: Evidence from

the Netherlands, 51 Demography 317 (2014),

available at http://findresearcher.sdu.dk:8080/

portal/files/80662951/MS_2012 _063.pdf

(courtesy of Syddansk

i tiaiceeel 36 & n.25, 37

Variety Staff, TLC Faces Pressure to Cancel ‘My

Husband’s Not Gay’ Special, GLAAD Calls Show

‘Dangerous’, Variety, Jan. 6, 2015, 7:02 a.m.,

http://variety.com/2015/tv/news/tlc-my-

husbands-not-gay-cancellation-protest-glaad-

TE Eee nee meee Ee 15 & n.7

Hilary White, Group marriage is next, admits Dutch

father’ of gay ‘marriage’, LifeSiteNews, Mar. 12,

2013, 5:58 p.m., http://www.lifesitenews.com/

news/group-marriage-is-next-admits-dutch-

father-of-gay-marriage........................... 34 & n.23

Wikipedia, Anal sex, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/

Anal sex (as of Mar. 19, 2015, at 16:17

Siicicisatsceniutciisndiadsuniddibanaamaiinieaddadmabanadiadias 27 & n.16

Wikipedia, Anne Heche, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/

Anne_Heche (as of Apr. 2, 2015, at 00:23

gE eae EAE ie eee aE nc ata ne 16 & n.8

Wikipedia, Bisexuality, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/

Bisexuality (as of Mar. 29, 2015, at 5:53

NC siascnia ceeded cel tuba eeudigtaianseaiieaadaaaiaial 10-11 & n.4

Wiktionary, yestergay, http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/

yestergay (as of May 22, 2014, at 28:54

AMICUS CURIAE STATEMENT OF INTEREST

The present amicus curiae, David Boyle

(hereinafter, “Amicus”),! is respectfully filing this

Brief in Support of Respondents, supplementing his

pre-certiorari brief in Case 14-571 (“DeBoer”).

The present brief presents a “worst-case litigation

scenario” for Respondents, wherein Petitioners may

indeed suffer constitutional injury from same-sex-

marriage bans. However, the scenario is even worse

than that, since this brief assumes that no matter

how the Court decides, either Petitioners or

Respondents might suffer constitutional injury. And

that injury is easier for Petitioners to avoid.

That, plus other reasons, should persuade this

Court to hold for Respondents and their citizens’

democratic vote to retain traditional marriage alone.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Though most same-sex couples lack children,

those who have them, de facto deprive those children

of either mother or father—and if the State promotes

same-sex marriage, that state action may violate

children’s rights to mother and father. Even if same-

sex-marriage bans do constitutional injury to same-

sex couples and their children, then, under Grutter v.

Bollinger (539 U.S. 306 (2003)), a State may risk

constitutional injury (such as using blatant racial

1 No party or its counsel wrote or helped write this brief, or

gave money intended to fund its writing or submission, see S.

Ct. R. 37. Blanket permission from Respondents to write briefs

is filed with the Court, as is a letter of permission to Amicus

from Petitioners.

2 DeBoer v. Snyder, 772 F.3d 388 (6th Cir. 2014), cert. granted

(U.S. Nov. 18, 2014) (No. 14-571).

preferences) to parties if there is sufficiently-

compelling justification. And the likely constitutional

injury from State endorsement/assistance to

depriving a child of mother or father, plus other

injury, strongly justifies a State’s not licensing same-

sex marriages.

Ballard v. United States, 329 U.S. 187 (1946), and

Tigner v. Texas, 310 U.S. 141 (1940), support the

idea that with the physical differences between

same-sex couples and opposite-sex couples re

fertility, etc., same-sex-marriage bans make sense.

Same-sex-marriage bans steer bisexual or

sexually-fluid persons towards heterosexual

marriage. This increases the number of children, and

reduces the amount of sodomy-norming role-

modeling for children.

Same-sex-marriage bans are not “underinclusive”

re fertility, due to, e.g., privacy concerns which

preclude fertility testing.

The Grutter compelling state interest in diversity

also applies to gender-diverse couples who raise

children. Moreover, the State may show respect for

life—which only diverse-gender couples can create—

by its regulations, much as with abortion laws.

A State’s People are competent to assess the cost

and benefit of various marriage laws.

A sex-discrimination claim is not appropriate,

especi: 'ly since same-sex marriage creates sex-

segregation.

A sexual-orientation-discrimination claim is not

appropriate, even if such claims are appropriate for

employment, housing, or other matters.

Sodomy is far more dangerous than heterosexual

sex, and the tendency of same-sex-parenting to

increase children’s likelihood of homosexual behavior

may adversely affect fertility and disease rates.

Arguments for mandatory legal same-sex

marriage are hard to distinguish from those for

legalized polygamy.

Social science about same-sex marriage and its

effects is still in flux, though some research strongly

supports Respondents.

Compelling state interests, narrowly tailored and

with least-restrictive means, support Respondents’

marriage laws.

While Respondents deserve victory, there are

possibilities for a “middle ground” if desired.

The Court’s decision will inevitably disappoint

Petitioners or Respondents; but the tragedy of

ending democratic rule in America can be avoided by

holding for Respondents.

ARGUMENT

I. SAME-SEX COUPLES MAY MOVE TOA

STATE WITH SAME-SEX MARRIAGE; THEIR

CHILDREN CANNOT EASILY LEAVE THEIR

PARENTS AND GET DIVERSE-SEX PARENTS

A. Most Homosexual Couples Do Not Have a

Household with Children

As a starting note, Amicus observes that “same-

sex-marriage bans hurt the children” may be a red

herring, in that over 80% of gay couples don’t even

have children in the household.’ The vast majority

3 See Gary J. Gates, LGBT Parenting in the United States, The

Williams Inst., Feb. 2013, http-//williamsinstitute.law ucla.

edu/wp-content/uploadse/LGBT-Parenting.pdf, at 2.

4

being childless, one need do little more than mention

“The truth is that the two sexes are not fungible; a

community made up exclusively of one is different

from a community composed of both”, Ballard, 329

U.S. at 193 (Douglas, J.), and “The Constitution does

not require things which are different in fact or

opinion to be treated in law as though they were the

same”, Tigner, 310 U.S. at 147 (Frankfurter, J.), to

disprove a “constitutional right to same-sex

marriage”

B. How Same-Sex Marriage Injures Children:

Deprivation of Mother or Father, and the

Consequences

But where there are children, one should not

injure them through state action. However, Amicus

does not see how bans on same-sex marriage hurt

the children of same-sex couples more than bans on

polygamy hurt the children of polygamists: bans on

polygamy being perfectly constitutional so far. (In

fact, polygamists would tend to have more children

to be hurt. Are polygamists’ kids second-class

citizens, or “children of a lesser god”, compared to

homosexuals’ kids?)

However, Amicus shall assume, only for the sake

of argument, that same-sex-marriage bans may

wield some constitutional injury against same-sex

couples’ children.

This might seem to give an “automatic win” to

Petitioners’ side, or close. However, are children also

hurt if same-sex-marriage bans are struck down?

As evinced by testimony in the amicae/i briefs in

these cases from Barwick & Faust, Lopez & Klein,

5

and Stefanowicz & Shick (Amicus was counsel), see

Brs. passim, and other evidence, children do suffer

in same-sex marriages, horribly, by having no

mother or no father—with the attendant stigma,

humiliation, injury, and gender confusion—, and

growing up in an environment that encourages

comparatively-dangerous sex (sodomy). Because of

the State’s actions in encouraging, through

government honor and subsidy, same-sex couples to

marry, with full knowledge that many of them will

have children, through surrogacy or otherwise, the

State is responsible for what happens. This State

action hurts children, including the expressive harm

of saying those children do not need both mother and

father; and this gives ample reason for States not to

license same-sex marriage.

Otherwise put: if children should have an equal

right not to be deprived of a mother or father, then

State licensing of same-sex marriages may violate

the Fourteenth Amendment equal-protection rights

of same-sex couples’ children.

So if either same-sex marriage, or same-sex-

marriage bans, may hurt children, then who decides

on the legality of same-sex marriage? If there is

damage (or benefit) either way, it seems States

should be trusted to do a “cost-benefit judgment” and

make the decision.

This is all the truer since there is no nationwide

same-sex-marriage ban. Many States offer such

marriages, so, if first cousins must move to another

State to marry, how is it unconstitutional for same-

sex couples to do similarly?

By massive contrast, same-sex couples’ children

who do not enjoy being deprived of a mother or

6

father cannot just easily “divorce their parents” and

go to the corner store and get themselves a new,

diverse-gender set of parents like the vast majority

of children have. The children are basically trapped

until age 18 in that sad situation—and, horribly,

may not even be aware of their deprivation, see, e.g.,

Barwick/Faust Br. at 7-8, 11 (detailing how amicae

did not realize their loss until later in life). And even

after 18, they may live the rest of their lives sans a

mother or father, unless they somehow get adopted

by someone else.

Agency, autonomy, right of exit, “choice”:

whatever one calls it, same-sex couples’ children are

deprived of it, re motherlessness or fatherlessness.

And those helpless children should be protected from

that, by letting States avoid licensing same-sex

marriage.

(Same-sex-marriage supporters who really care

about children, should insist that all children, even

of the unmarried or polygamists, receive equal

benefits, without their parents having to be legally

married. After all, Plyler v. Doe (457 U.S. 202

(1982)), see id., did not give “illegal/undocumented”

children, or their likely also “illegal/undocumented”

parents, legal-citizenship status, though both

parents and children may feel “stigmatized” by lack

of legal-citizen status.)

C. Grutter Allows States to Balance

“Constitutional Injury” with Countervailing,

Beneficial State Interests

So there is a terrible differential, i.e., that same-

sex couples can move and escape any “injury”, but

children cannot easily “dump” their same-sex

parents. Thus, same-sex marriage can be considered

more damaging than same-sex-marriage bans—or at

least States may so find, just as they may support

injurious race preferences, see Grutter, supra at 2,

passim.

In fact, under Grutter, States are allowed to

choose a constitutionally-injurious practice, when

they could choose instead a practice that does no

constitutional injury:

[W]henever the government treats any

person unequally because of his or her

race, that person has suffered an

injury([.]

Id. at 327 (internal quotation marks omitted)

(O’Connor, J.). E.g., States may choose to allow

affirmative action, with open race (or gender)

preferences that may stigmatize both the

recipients—possibly seen as unable to win college

admission without race/gender bonuses—and the

majority, e.g., white males, who may feel stamped as

“unworthy” of race/gender preferences; when the

States could simply have chosen not to have

affirmative action, see, e.g., Schuette v. BAMN, 134

S. Ct. 1623 (2014), and there would be no

stigmatization or constitutional injury.

By contrast, in the instant cases, either way may

risk constitutional injury, whether upholding or

overturning same-sex-marriage bans; and, again,

same-sex couples may escape injury by merely

crossing a State border, whereas their children

might have to fly to Neverland to find a mother or

father. (Borrowing from tort law: the “cheapest cost

avoider” or “easiest risk-avoider” is the same-sex

couple, not their children, so the adults should have

to make the accommodation.) A fortiori, then, it is

even more constitutionally allowable to uphold

same-sex-marriage bans than it is to uphold

affirmative action.

(In addition, even if quasi-suspect classification

were necessary in these cases, due to gender or

sexual-orientation “discrimination”; such

“discrimination” is less serious than racial

discrimination—as in race-based affirmative

action—, which is fully-suspect classification.)

While there may be no black-letter “constitutional

right to a mother and father” in the Nation at

present, nor is there a black-letter “constitutional

right to a State same-sex marriage”, either. So for

this Court to invent a constitutional right to State

same-sex marriage but not acknowledge a

constitutional right to a mother and father—and

there is a far older tradition of having and

cherishing father and mother than of same-sex

marriage, see, e.g., the Fifth Commandment (Exodus

20:12), ordaining honor to father and mother so that

the children may live long—, risks seeming biased

and irrational by the Court.

After all, Justice Sandra Day O’Connor’s

concurrence in Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558

(2003), notes, “[R]easons exist to promote the

institution of marriage beyond mere moral

disapproval of an excluded group.” Jd. at 585.

Protecting children’s right to a mother and father,

and to an environment not role-modeling sodomy,

are indeed “legitimate reasons, id.

9

Il. BALLARD AND TIGNER RE SAME-SEX

COUPLES’ PHYSICAL IMPOSSIBILITIES:

HAVING CHILDREN TOGETHER; HAVING

REPRODUCTIVE SEX; AND PROVIDING

DIVERSE-GENDER PARENTAGE

Indeed, for same-sex couples, some things are

physically impossible. —First, they cannot get each

other pregnant. Second, the only kinds of sexual

relations they can have are non-reproductive, a.k.a.

“sodomy”. And third, they can never provide gender-

diverse parenting or role-modeling. Two men cannot

breast-feed a child; two women cannot provide a

little boy a male role model.

Once again, Ballard and Tigner, supra at 2, hold

sway, letting the law treat unlike parties—same-sex

and diverse-sex couples—differently. Amicus politely

notes that Petitioners’ briefs never mentioned

Ballard at any point, when Petitioners may have

duty to mention such directly contrary authority to

the Court.

There are profound common-sense differences

between diverse-gender and same-gender couples. If

this Court wants to openly overrule Ballard, that

seems a radical and destructive step to take.

We now focus on how same-sex-marriage bans are

effective at their goals:

Ill. BISEXUAL AND SEXUALLY-FLUID

PERSONS WILL OFTEN CHOOSE OPPOSITE-

SEX SPOUSES WHEN SAME-SEX MARRIAGE

IS UNAVAILABLE; THUS, SAME-SEX-

MARRIAGE BANS ARE HIGHLY RATIONAL

10

A. Human Sexual Fluidity Comprises Many

Bisexual or Other Americans Who Could

Choose either Sex-Segregated or Diverse-

Gender Marriage

Same-sex-marriage proponents often cite only two

groups as really relevant: heterosexuals and

homosexuals. Supposedly, a same-sex-marriage

ban—-since it neither affect heterosexuals nor makes

homosexuals enter heterosexual marriages—is not

only meaningless but mean: an illegal instantiation

of “animus”

However, that binary model supra is false. There

is a “rainbow” of sexual preference: traditional two-

person heterosexual! relationships; polygamy;

homosexuality; asexuality; and bisexuality, among

others. The last of those, bisexuality, has many

adherents in America.

The Wikipedia article Bisexuality‘ offers figures

ranging from 0.7 to 5 percent of Americans being

bisexual, see id. There may be even more bisexuals

than homosexuals: “The Janus Report on Sexual

Behavior, published in 1993, showed that 5 percent

of men and 3 percent of women considered

themselves bisexual and 4 percent of men and 2

percent of women considered themselves

homosexual.” Jd. (footnote omitted) Thus, with so

many people attracted to either sex, the myth of

“immutable sexual preference” vanishes.

The number may be even larger than 5%: “Alfred

Kinsey’s 1948 work Sexual Behavior in the Human

4 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bisexuality (as of Mar. 29, 2015,

at 5:53 GMT).

11

Male found that ‘46% of the male population had

engaged in both heterosexual and homosexual

activities[.]” Id. (footnote omitted)

See also, e.g., “A 2002 survey in the United States

by National Center for Health Statistics found that

[:] 2.8 percent of women ages 18—44 considered

themselves bisexual, 1.3 percent homosexual, and

3.8 percent as ‘something else”’, id. (footnote

omitted); therefore, 6.6 percent who were either

bisexual or “sexually flexible”

So, if we conservatively assume that not even 5%,

but only 4%, of the population is bisexual/‘sexually

fluid”; then if there are c. 320 million Americans

right now, c. 12.8 million are bisexual. If even half of

those marry, that is 6.4 million people, with roughly

3.2 million marrying opposite-sex partners, and 3.2

million marrying same-sex partners, if same-sex

marriage were available.

But if same-sex marriage were unavailable, then,

at least c. 3.2 million more people, if they marry,

would marry opposite-sex partners. Over three

million people moved into diverse-gender marriage

provides far more than a mere “rational basis” for

same-sex-marriage bans, but rather, an extremely

compelling state interest.

If the real-life numbers are anywhere close to

those hypothetical figures—or even if lower—, they

make the case for a direct, very strong nexus

between same-sex-marriage bans and the channeling

of people into heterosexual marriages.

B. A Revelatory Law-Review Article Admitting

Same-Sex-Marriage Bans’ Channeling Effect

Towards Diverse-Gender Marriages

12

Even some proponents of same-sex marriage

admit, and lament, that laws like Respondents’

“channel” bisexuals into heterosexual marriages. See

Michael Boucai, Sexual Liberty and Same-Sex

Marriage: An Argument from Bisexuality, 49 San

Diego L. Rev. 415 (2012): “This Article proposes that

same-sex marriage bans channel individuals,

particularly bisexuals, into heterosexual relations

and relationships[.]” Jd. at 416. Boucai believes

(wrongly) that same-sex-marriage bans violate

fundamental rights, see td. passim. So he is basically

“admitting against interest” when acknowledging

the channeling effect.

Some mechanisms for such channeling include

“proscription of competing institutions[,] vast

material support, and symbolic valorization”, id. at

418 (footnote omitted). (Polygamy is another

“proscribed competing institution”, so same-sex

marriage is not alone.)

Also: bisexuals are a “class of individuals,

amorphous yet numerous’, id. at 438; “72.8% of all

homosexually active men identify as heterosexual”,

id. at 440; certain “trends describe only self-

identified bisexuals. It would be startling if

bisexuals’ true rates of heterosexual coupling and

marriage were not significantly higher’, id. at 450;

bisexuals are “by some estimates an ‘invisible

majority’ of LGBT people”, id. at 483-84 (footnote

omitted); and, “With regard to procreation, this

Article’s argument implicitly concedes one way in

which same-sex marriage bans advance the state’s

interest: by increasing the number of bisexuals who

pursue same-sex relationships, legalization

13

presumably will decrease these individuals’ chances

of reproducing.” Jd. at 482.

Boucai’s last observation supra disproves the

argument, “Same-sex-marriage bans just hurt same-

sex couples and their kids who are already together.”

That argument falsely assumes that legalized same-

sex marriage will entice nobody into entering same-

sex relationships: a startling assumption. Same-sex-

marriage supporters are adamant that legalized

same-sex marriage has wonderful benefits; if that is

true, why would it not greatly entice people (e.z.,

bisexuals) to enter same-sex relationships, who

otherwise would not have entered them?

And Boucai also shows far more extreme views.

For example: “(What if the] impressionable

psychosexual development of children is a basis for

widening, not limiting, the range of ‘lifestyle choices’

to which they are exposed[?]”, with a citation “urging

advocates to affirm that nonheterosexual parents

‘create an environment in which it is safer for

children to openly express their own sexual

orientations”. Id. at 484 & n.456. L.e., Boucai posits

nonheterosexual parenting as better than

heterosexual parenting, see id., because a larger

amount of children’s homosexual behavior will occur.

If Boucai admits it, who is anyone else to deny it?

BiLaw’s brief in these cases, see id. at 7, rightly

mentions Boucai and his complaint that same-sex-

marriage litigation has unjustly omitted bisexuality

issues. However, that brief itself, see id.,

unfortunately omits Boucai’s fertility-based rationale

for how same-sex-marriage bans have a rational—or

compelling—basis, and omits Boucai’s candid

14

admission about how gay parenting makes children’s

homosexual behavior more likely.

The LGBT community even privately

acknowledges sexual flexibility, using terms like

“yestergay’, see Wiktionary, yestergay,5 “1. (slang,

LGBT) A former gay male who is now in a

heterosexual relationship”, id., or the terms

“hasbian” and “lesbians until graduation”. Our

courts should publicly acknowledge this “sexual

flexibility”, and should acknowledge Boucai’s

admissions supra, which support Respondents’ case.

C. The Successful Heterosexual Marriages of

Some Sexually-Fluid People: Further Proof

that Same-Sex-Marriage Bans Are Effective

Theory aside, there are multifarious real-life

examples of how channeling people into diverse-

gender marriages works. See, e.g., Carrie A. Moore,

Gay LDS men detail challenges: 3 who are married

give some insights to therapist group, Deseret News,

Mar. 30, 2007, 12:22 a.m.,®

Speaking to a standing-room-only

audience, three LDS couples described

their experiences with their

heterosexual marriages, despite the fact

that each of the husbands experience[s]

what they call same-sex attraction, or

SSA.

5 http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/yestergay (as of May 22, 2014, at

23:54 GMT).

6 http://www.deseretnews.com/article/660207378/Gay-LDS-

men-detail-challenges. htm].

15

Because of the nature of the

discussion, none of the participants

wanted their [sic] identities publicized.

“[MJjarriage and family .... was always

the goal, even when I [one husband]

was in the wilderness.”

The wives said they see their

husbands as much more than their

same-sex attraction. Despite the

challenges and public perception to the

contrary, one said, “there are people

who are married and dealing with this.”

Id. This revelatory story of courage and persistence

teaches us much. It shows, see id., that sexually-fluid

people can be channeled into successful diverse-

gender relationships. It also shows, see id., the fear

and anonymity that such people gc through, perhaps

obscuring their true, massive numbers.

See also, e.g., Variety Staff, TLC Faces Pressure to

Cancel ‘My Husband’s Not Gay’ Special, GLAAD

Calls Show ‘Dangerous’, Variety, Jan. 6, 2015, 7:02

a.m.7? (homosexuals try to censor idea that sexually-

flexible people might choose heterosexual lifestyle).

D. The Defeat of Arguments for the

Ineffectiveness of Same-Sex-Marriage Bans, by

the Proof Above

7 http://variety.com/2015/tv/news/tlc-my-husbands-not-gay-

cancellation-protest-glaad-1201393586/.

16

At this point, lower courts’ arguments that same-

sex-marriage bans do not channel people, and

procreative power, into traditional marriages, is

destroyed. If same-sex couples are not allowed State-

licensed marriage, then huge numbers of people, e.g.,

the sexually-fluid men noted supra, will be, and have

been, incentivized to enter gender-diverse marriages.

(Even those already in gay relationships may change

course. For example, Ellen DeGeneres’ lesbian lover

Anne Heche later married a man, Coleman Laffoon,

and then moved on to James Tupper, having a son

by each, see, e.g., Wikipedia, Anne Heche.® See also

Gary DeMar, How Can Chirlane McCray de Blasio

be a ‘Former’ Lesbian?, Godfather Politics, Dec. 28,

20139 (noting that New York’s mayor's wife is former

lesbian, despite stereotype that gays are immutably

“born that way”).)

So, same-sex-marriage prohibitions are

effective—or same-sex-marriage supporters like

Boucai would not admit it.

IV. THE FAILURE OF

“UNDERINCLUSIVENESS RE FERTILITY”

ARGUMENTS AGAINST SAME-SEX-

MARRIAGE BANS

And the prohibitions are quite constitutional,

despite weakly-reasoned counterarguments like

“underinclusiveness re fertility”. Infertility is very

difficult to police, especially when advancing medical

technology may cure infertility previously thought

8 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anne_Heche (as of Apr. 2, 2015,

at 00:23 GMT).

® http-//godfatherpolitics.com/13765/can-chirlane-mccray-de-

blasio-former-lesbian/#.

17

incurable. (Some people sterilize themselves; but

they may have new surgery and become fertile

again. Should a “Fertility Police” give everyone

frequent examinations before and during marriage”)

Too, as for elderly/post-menopausal people, what

age is that, precisely? Again, medicine may assist

fertility at later ages than previously possible. As

well, men are often fertile longer than women, so

that any “Senior-Citizen Fertility Police” would run

into equal-protection problems, in that old men

might be allowed to marry, while old women might

not be: an outrage.

As for individuals who “choose not to procreate”:

millennia of ribald literature, plus common sense,

confirm that even sincere desire to remair celibate—

or consistently use birth control—, between two

romantic partners, may last as long as a dandelion

blown to pieces by a warm summer wind. Also, will a

“Birth Police” make sure there is issue, progeny,

born from a marriage?

By contrast, gender is supremely easy to

understand and police. So, “underinclusion” re

fertility fails as an objection.

V. GRUTTER AND CHILDREN’S BENEFIT

FROM DIVERSE-GENDER PARENTAGE; AND

THE BAN’S SOCIALLY-BENEFICIAL, LIFE-

AFFIRMING EXPRESSIVE CONTENT RE

CASEY AND CARHART

A. Gender-Diverse Parentage Is a Compelling

State Interest

There is another socially positive aspect to same-

sex-marriage bans besides increased fertility. That

18

is, Grutter upholds diversity, including gender

diversity, as a compelling state interest, see 539 U.S.

at 325. (Too, the Sixth Circuit iteration of Grutter,

288 F.3d 732 (2002), cites with favor the use of

gender preferences, see id. at 745.) Since it would be

ludicrous to say diversity is compelling in formal

education but cannot even be rationally relevant in

18 years of child-nurture, then a gender-diverse

parentage is worthy of special favor by the State.

(See, e.g., HHS, Promoting Responsible Fatherhood—

Promoting Responsible Fatherhood Home Page (last

revised July 21, 2011),'!° “Involved fathers provide

practical support in raising children and serve as

models for their development.” Id. (emphasis added))

Some may make questionable counterarguments,

e.g., “Then why couldn't a State make forced

interracial marriage a compelling state interest?”

But that would be unadministrable; there are so

many racial/interracial categories, that it would be

impossible to assign people. By contrast, there are

only two sexes; and dual-gender marriage has been

the standard arrangement worldwide for thousands

of years.

And, some critics say same-sex-marriage bans

presume same-sex couples can never be good

parents. However, Respondents may only presume

that diverse-sex couples have something special to

offer in parenting. The two Grutter cases supra show

how gender diversity matters; and part of the

rationale States may adopt per Grutter, 539 U.S.

306, is, see id. passim,

1) a bonus for diversity

0 http://www.fatherhood.hhs.gov/.

19

2) that allows exclusion of others.

Thus, diversity bonuses in university admissions

to members of some groups, may exclude certain

others (e.g., white males). But this of course does not

mean white males cannot be good students;

similarly, even though same-sex-marriage bans

exclude same-sex persons, such bans do not mean

same-sex couples can’t be good parents.

Also, no “sex stereotyping” is going on here: in

fact, if children have “nontraditional-occupation”

male and female parents, e.g., a homemaker father

and a Marine Corps sniper mother, that may help

break down gender stereotypes. See, e.g., Sonia

Sotomayor, My Beloved World (paperback ed.,

Vintage Books 2014 (2013)), mentioning that her

father cooked the dinners, id. at 16, and that, “In

many ways, he defied the macho stereotype of a

Latin male.” Id. at 78. Same-sex-marriage

prohibitions stereotype no one. (Unless observing

that women can breast-feed and men can’t, is

“stereotyping’ .)

B. A Lower Court’s Failure to Respect Gender

Diversity in DeBoer Repeats That Court’s

Failure to Respect Racial/Gender Diversity in

Grutter

Mistakes are best not repeated, including ones

made by the same court twice. The district court in

Grutter, with the same judge who rendered one

district-court opinion in the instant cases, Bernard

Friedman, outlawed affirmative action (re Michigan

Law School’s admissions program), thus

disrespecting the compelling power of diversity to

20

fulfill State interests, see 137 F. Supp. 2d 821, 849

(2001). This Court rightfully overturned that

decision. And this Court, accordingly, should differ

with the trial-court DeBoer decision, which does not

appreciate the State’s compelling interest in

supporting diverse-gender couples, instead of same-

gender couples, in publicly-recognized and

subsidized marriage.

C. Showing State Respect for Life

In addition, the State may uphold the value of

life: and same-sex parents cannot have children with

each other. (Artificial insemination and such may let

same-sex couples have someone else’s child—at

least, half someone else’s—and employ the social

fiction of calling it their own.)

See, e.g., Planned Parenthood of Se. Pa. v. Casey,

505 U.S. 833 (1992): “Regulations. . by which the

State .... may express profound respect for the life

of the unborn are permitted”, id. at 877 (Kennedy,

O’Connor, Souter, JJ.); Gonzales v. Carhart, 550 U.S.

124 (2007): “The [Partial-Birth Abortion Ban] Act

expresses respect for the dignity of human life. .

The government may use its voice and its regulatory

authority to show its profound respect for the life

within the woman’, id. at 157 (Kennedy, J.). The

instant cases are not about abortion, but they do

involve procreation and human life. So, a State may

“show its profound respect for .. life”, id., by

passing laws honoring only those marriages, dual-

gender ones, that create life.

Critics may rejoin that Casey and Carhart, supra,

still permit some abortions, while a ban prohibits all

same-sex marriages. However, this analogy is not

21

apt. Gays are still permitted to live their private

sexual and relational lives any way they want,

following Lawrence. They are just not automatically

given a State blessing and funding for doing so.

This is similar to how abortion is treated:

Americans are usually allowed to perform that

physical act, but sans government endorsement, see

Casey and Carhart (allowing government to

undertake actions or messages favoring children’s

lives), and without government money, see, e.g., the

Hyde Amendment!! (massively limiting federal

abortion funding).

Thus, same-sex-marriage bans, including their

expressive elements, constitutionally promote new

life, gender equity and desegregation, and diversity.

VI. STATES MAY WEIGH THE BALANCE OF

COST/BENEFIT FROM SAME-SEX MARRIAGE

Some say that due to same-sex-marriage bans,

same-sex couples’ children are needlessly deprived of

protection. However, polygamous families, too,

produce children outside a legal marriage

relationship; yet polygamy bans are legal, and those

children are “deprived”, despite States’ overall desire

to promote children being born into marriage.

The People, not courts, should decide between the

contending social-science evidence, and also consider

common-sense wisdom about gender-diversity,

encapsulated in sources like Grutter. See, e.z.,

Carhart, supra at 20 (disregarding medical

1! Pub. L. 94-439, tit. II, § 209, 90 Stat. 1434 (1976; amended

2009).

22

professionals’ opinions and upholding federal

partial-birth-abortion ban).

If same-sex couples’ children allegedly suffer

financial harm: since United States v. Windsor, 133

S. Ct. 2675 (2013), federal activism in extending tax

breaks and other benefits to same-sex couples from

any State has strongly alleviated any such harm,

And speaking of fiscal harm: if something

honored as “marriage” can never naturally produce

posterity, that “marriage” may spend public social

capital and money on a non-productive relationship

that the People consider wasteful. How could it be

irrational for a poor, minority, heterosexual mother

of five to decide that draining the public fisc to give

same-sex couples (many of whom may be white and

wealthy) an additional tax break is not right?

As for “humiliation of children”: if any, it is

probably no worse than polyamorists’ children suffer.

See, e.g., Arin Greenwood, Who Are ‘The

Polyamorists Next Door’? Q&A With Author

Elisabeth Sheff (“Sheff Article”), Huffington Post,

updated Mar. 5, 2014, 10:59 a.m.,!2 “[K]ids in poly

families [must] deal[ ] with stigma from society”, id.

Yet few people cry that polygamy must be legalized

just because of “stigma”. As well: what about

children who feel stigmatized or horrified by being

children of a same-sex relationship; who despise that

sex-segregated upbringing? Those children may fear

physical or emotional abuse if they speak out.

Moreover, in America, as of 2010, “[T]here are

approximately 125,000 same-sex couples raising

‘2 http://www.huffingtonpost.com/20 1 4/03/05/elisabeth -sheff-

polyamory_n_ 4898961.html.

23

nearly 220,000 children.”!5 220,000 may be far less

than the number of new children born of the possibly

3.2 million people moved into fruitful marriage by

same-sex-marriage bans, see supra at 11. If those 3.2

million had roughly one child each, that would be

over three million children, far more than the

220,000 children raised by same-sex couples. (Of

course, the 3-million-some new children would be

spread out over some years.)

Thus, if same-sex marriage is unavailable, so that

same-sex couples lack State financial or status

benefits, many sexually-fluid people will likely move

into heterosexual marriages, which offer benefits,

instead. Not only will this let some children who

dislike a nontraditional upbringing, have a

traditional two-gender upbringing instead: it will let

more children be born, period, as noted supra at 12-

13 (Boucai on same-sex-marriage bans’ raising the

fertility rate). Not a court, but the People, should

weigh the comparative cost of not letting same-sex

couples and their children receive certain financial

or societal entitlements, with the benefit of having

many more children born at all, and many moved

under a diverse-gender parentage.

Vil. A SEX-DISCRIMINATION CLAIM IS NOT

VIABLE

Speaking of gender: a sex-discrimination claim is

invalid. —If Amicus said there are public facilities

that utterly exclude women: this would sound

horrible, except when Amicus explains that the

13 Gates, LGBT Parenting, supra n.3, at 3.

24

“facilities” are men’s bathrooms. Context is key here,

as with same-sex marriage. (Incidentally, re out-of-

context assertions: various commentators claim gays

and lesbians are as able as heterosexuals to form

lasting relationships. But any number of people can

form committed, long-term relationships, whether

polygamists, underage couples, adult incestuous

couples, etc.)

Inter alia, how is it “sex discrimination” to

prohibit licensing sex-segregated environments for

children? To claim otherwise turns the idea of sex

discrimination on its head. One is tempted to say

that instead, any unhappy children of a same-sex

couple might have sex-discrimination or sex-

segregation claims. See, e.g., Brown v. Bd. of Educ.

(347 U.S. 483 (1954)) (condemning segregated

learning environments for children).

Some who support same-sex marriage, self-

contradictingly also oppose same-sex classrooms, see,

e.g., Kelly Faircloth, The ACLU Kicks Up a Fuss

About Sex-Segregated Middle School Classes,

Jezebel, Jan. 24, 2014, 3:15 p.m.'4 (re lawsuit about

sex-segregated classrooms). But if sex-segregated

student bodies are damaging, why would sex-

segregated parentage—and parents are around kids

far more hours than kids’ hours in school—not be

even more damaging”? States should have leeway not

to license sex-segregated parentage for children.

In one State, Michigan, within two years,

Michiganders passed Proposal 04-2, in 2004

(banning same-sex marriage), and also passed

14 http://jezebel.com/the-aclu-kicks-up-a-fuss-about-sex-

segregated-middle-sc- 1506578292.

25

Proposal 06-2, in 2006 (preventing race or gender

preferences in public education—e.g., affirmative

action—, employment, or contracting). Michiganders

apparently believed that gender preferences in

certain areas (should one’s gender really be a plus in

getting a contract?) was discriminatory. So, it is hard

to say they were trying to promote sex

discrimination by voting for Proposal 04-2, since

they shortly banned it in Proposal 06-2.

Perhaps the People, with their common sense

that is often wiser than the ideas of some academics

or activists, realized that in a marriage setting,

gender-diversity is not discriminatory: it may even

be mandatory for optimal upbringing of children.

Vill. A SEXUAL-ORIENTATION-

DISCRIMINATION CLAIM IS NOT VIABLE;

AND, UPHOLDING SAME-SEX-MARRIAGE

BANS WOULD NOT SUPPORT EMPLOYMENT/

HOUSING DISCRIMINATION AGAINST GAYS

And upholding Respondents’ marriage laws would

not estop this Court from finding that gays suffer

illegal discrimination in employment or other fields

unrelated to marriage. For example, since gay people

person can presumably flip hamburgers as well as

heterosexuals can, it might be considered irrational

for restaurateurs to fire burger-flippers for being

gay. But same-sex marriage is distinguishable from

business-related laws or private decisions.

After all, gay athletes Michael Sam and Jason

Collins of the NFL and NBA might be superb at

their sports, but that does not mean they can get

pregnant, breast-feed, or serve as female role

models.

26

The Court could someday, if desired, adopt

heightened scrutiny re homosexuality vis-d-vis

employment or other non-marital issues. (Amicus is

not recommending heightened scrutiny, only saying

that rational-basis scrutiny re same-sex marriage

does not rule out higher scrutiny elsewhere.) This

kind of bifurcated scrutiny has been done before, see,

e.g., Cabell v. Chavez-Salido, 454 U.S. 432, 439

(1982) (applying strict scrutiny to alienage, but a

lower level of scrutiny re political classifications).

Indeed, it would be strange for the Court to

declare mandatory national legalized same-sex

marriage, when mandatory national employment/

housing sexual-orientation-nondiscrimination

measures do not exist yet. “Cart before the horse.”

See also, e.g., Dan Chmielewski, Ronald Reagan

on Gay Rights, Liberal OC, June 9, 2008,'5 on the

Briggs Initiative, a 1978 California ballot measure

banning gay teachers from public schools,

Reagan met with initiative

opponents[,] and, ultimately, at the risk

of offending his anti-gay supporters in

the coming presidential election, wrote

in his newspaper column: “I don't

approve of teaching a so-called gay life

style in our schools, but there is already

adequate legal machinery to deal with

such problems if and when they arise.”

Id. However, Reagan was only protecting some

employment for gays, and said explicitly, “I don’t

15 http://www.theliberaloc.com/2008/06/09/ronald-reagan-on-

gay-nights/.

27

approve of teaching a so-called gay life style[.]” Jd.

And government giving same-sex unions the honor of

marriage, teaches children and others that the

sexual lifestyle in same-sex marriage is just as

healthy as a heterosexual lifestyle. See Olmstead v.

United States, 277 U.S. 438, 485 (1928): “Our

government is the potent, the omnipresent teacher.”

(Brandeis, J., dissenting from the judgment)

IX. SODOMY AS CANCER, AIDS, AND INJURY

VECTOR; AND SODOMY-NORMING AND -

EXAMPLING FOR CHILDREN OF SAME-SEX

MARRIAGES

On the note of “healthiness”, supra: another

reason to disallow same-sex marriage is that

subsidizing relations based on sodomy may increase

their number, although they are a risk factor for

disease, injury, or death. E.z.,

Anal sex is considered a high-risk

sexual practice because of the

vulnerability of the anus and rectum{,

which] can easily tear and permit

disease transmission[, resulting in] the

risk of HIV transmission being higher

for anal intercourse than for vaginal

intercourse[.]

Wikipedia, Anal sex'§ (citations, including internal,

omitted).

16 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anal sex (as of Mar. 19, 2015, at

16:17 GMT).

28

There are other deadly problems with sodomy

besides HIV/AIDS, such as cancer. See, e.g., Matt

Sloane, Fewer teens having oral sex, The Chart,

CNN, Aug. 17, 2012, 10:41 a.m.,!7 “It’s widely

accepted that there is an increased number of head

and neck cancers today due to changes in sexual

practices. . specifically, an increase in oral sex,

said Dr. Otis Brawley, the chief medical officer of the

American Cancer Society.” Id.

See also Gay Men’s Health Crisis, The Bottom

Line on Rectal Microbicide Research (undated, but

about a Jan. 23, 2013 presentation), !* “Unprotected

anal intercourse is 10 to 20 times more likely to

result in HIV infection compared to unprotected

vaginal intercourse[, and] is a significant driver in

the global HIV epidemic among gay men and

transgender women{[.]” Jd.

Disease-transmission aside, sodomy also causes

physical injury, since it includes practices like

“fisting”, i.e., putting a fist—or two—., into the birth

canal, since women lack certain anatomy men have

that would substitute for a fist. See, e.g., Nat’l Ctr.

for Biotech. Info., U.S. Nat'l Libr. of Med., Nat'l

Insts. of Health, Vaginal “fisting” as a cause of

death., PubMed.gov (undated)!9 (young woman dies

from vaginal fisting) (citation omitted).

This all proves that sodomy is a comparative

vector of injury and disease. (And because of science,

'7 http://thechart.blogs.cnn.com/2012/08/17/fewer-teens-having-

oral-sex/.

18 http://www.gmhc.org/news-and-events/events-calendar/the-

bottom-line-on-rectal-microbicide-research.

189 http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/2929548.

29

not relying on moralistic or Biblical reasons. One

does not need to be religious to fear AIDS.)

Thus, while under the “negative liberty” of

Lawrence, States cannot outlaw consensual non-

commercial adult sodomy, see id., States are not

obliged to endorse or subsidize an activity, same-sex

marriage, whose physical base is sodomy. While

marriage is not only about sex, it is still

substantially about sex. Traditional marriage

implicitly valorizes heterosexual sex, see, e.g.,

“(Mjarriage._ . is the foundation of the family”,

Maynard v. Hill, 125 U.S. 190, 211 (1888). Thus,

State-blessed same-sex marriage implicitly valorizes

homosexual sex, the only type anatomically possible

therein. The People have a right to withhold such

valorization. (Cf. the U.S. 12-month restriction on

gay men’s blood donations. Also, incest prohibitions

are partly about the “health reason” of avoiding

genetically-damaged offspring. Therefore, health is

legally allowable as a restrictive factor re marriage.)

There is theoretical evidence of how same-sex

parents sodomy-norm children, as mentioned supra

at 13 (Boucai praises sodomy-norming effect). There

is testimonial evidence, see, e.g., Rivka Edelman,

Robert Oscar Lopez, & Dawn Stefanowicz, Children

of Gay Parents, Part 1 of 4, in Jephthah’s Daughters

(Lopez & Edelman, eds.) (2015), p. 50, where Lopez

describes how the homosexual atmosphere of his

same-sex-parented home, and his lack of a father,

drove him to become a homosexual prostitute, see id.

at 53. And there is scientific evidence, see Judith

Stacey & Timothy J. Biblarz, (How) Does the Sexual

Orientation of Parents Matter?, 66 Am. Soc. Rev. 159

(2001),

30

Children raised by lesbian co-parents

should and do seem to grow up more

open to homoerotic relationships. . . .

... [(C]hildren of lesbigay parents

appear to express a significant increase

in homoeroticism|[.]

Id. at 178. Stacey and Biblarz nevertheless support

same-sex marriage, see id. passim, but they candidly

note, “It is neither intellectually honest nor

politically wise to base a claim for justice on grounds

that may prove falsifiable empirically.” Jd. at 178.

(I.e., they refuse to suppress research results proving

sodomy-norming by same-sex parentage.) However,

not Stacey and Biblarz, but the People, should decide

whether an increased rate of homosexual behavior

and sodomy among same-sex-parented children is a

reason not to grant a marriage license to same-sex

couples.

(See, e.g., CDC, HIV Among Youth (undated)”°,

“Most new HIV infections among youth occur among

gay and bisexual males; there was a 22% increase in

estimated new infections in this group from 2008 to

2010.” Id. Respondents are not obliged to norm

lifestyles leading to further infections.)

A State has compelling reason for not raising to

the status of marriage a lifestyle which, unless

chaste, is based in inherently risky or deadly

behaviors. (By contrast: policing, for disease,

heterosexuals who want to get married or stay

married, would be impractical for essentially the

reasons supra at 16-17 on policing fertility.)

20 http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/risk/age/youth/.

31

X. MANY ARGUMENTS FOR MANDATORY

LEGAL SAME-SEX MARRIAGE WOULD ALSO

SUPPORT LEGALIZING POLYGAMY

And there are few arguments for same-sex

marriage that could not be made for polygamy. See,

e.g., Patricia, Our America with Lisa Ling — “Modern

Polygamy” a New Perspective on an Old Taboo, The

Daily OWN, Oct. 24, 2011,?! “Lisa [Ling] introduced

a group of all women who were meeting with a gay

activist for training. They were determined to fight

for their rights and lifestyle[, and] claim to want the

ability to have their children not feel like second

class citizens.” Jd. So, polygamists are actually

training with gay activists, see id., and using “rights”

or “protecting our children from animus” arguments

to legalize polygamy, exactly as same-sex couples do.

Sauce for geese may cover ganders too.

Some may claim that polygamy/polyamory is

inherently dangerous and unequal. However, what if

there were an isogamous multipair marriage

(“IMM”), “iso” (“equal”) plus “gamous” (“marriage”),

which had an even, sex-balanced number of

partners? E.g., a tetrad of two men group-marrying

two women: an “intimate quadrilateral” States could

set upper bounds, e.g., ten people (five pairs) would

be too many. But “equality” would reign, and gender-

balance. How, then, could someone who believes in

the fallacious “fundamental right to non-traditional

marriage” that Petitioners proffer, complain about

an “IMM”? See, e.g., Martha Nussbaum, A Right to

Marry? Same-sex Marriage and Constitutional Law,

21 http://www.thedailyown.com/our-america-with-lisa-ling-

modern-polygamy-a-new-perspective-on-an-old-taboo.

32

Dissent, Summer 200922 (not only supporting same-

sex marriage but also claiming “legal restriction .

would not tell against a regime of sex-equal

polygamy’).

See also, e.g., Sheff Article, supra at 22, where

Sheff, having researched polyamorous families for 15

years, concludes, “The kids who participated in my

research were in amazingly good shape”, id. (Though

many polyamorous families were white and wealthy,

many were far from wealthy, see id.) So if, see id.,

some social science shows polyamory is not harmful

to children: then, logically, polyamorists’

“fundamental right to marry” should not be impeded,

lest their children be “harmed and humiliated”.

Some question why children conceived or adopted

by same-sex couples should not profit from their

parents becoming married. However, this applies

equally to polygamists’ children. (Also, marriage is

given as an ideal, whereas adoption is largely to help

children without biological parents. So, a State-

licensed ideal of same-sex marriage has

motherlessness, fatherlessness, and sodomy-norming

problems.)

Also, if some say that the Court has previously

shown more respect for same-sex privacy and

relationships than for polygamy: if there is a super-

fundamental right to marriage, the right to marry

whom you will would cover anybody, regardless of

number. And Lawrence “does not involve whether

the government must give formal recognition to any

relationship that homosexual persons seek to enter.”

22 http://www.dissentmagazine.org/article/a-right-to-marry-

same-sex-marriage-and-constitutional-law.

33

Id. at 578 (Kennedy, J.). When Lawrence says, “[Re]

personal decisions relating to marriage, procreation

[,] family relationships, [and] child rearing[, gays]

may seek autonomy for these purposes”, id. at 574,

that logically refers to free-speech actions like voting

and lobbying for same-sex marriage, in line with

One, Inc. v. Olesen, 355 U.S. 371 (1958) (upholding

gays’ free-speech rights). If Lawrence at 574 (gays

may seek autonomy) contradicts Lawrence at 578

(same-sex marriage not endorsed), then Lawrence is

self-contradicting.

And re any argument that same-sex-marriage

bans prevent homosexuals from marrying anyone at

all: this does not address homosexuals’ ability to

move to another State, just as enamored first cousins

may have to do likewise. And people who want

polygamous—r, e.g., incestuous—relationships,

may want no other partner(s) but their chosen, and

feel their lives are ruined by denial of marriage.

And, some assert that a homosexual soldier who

risks his life for America should ipso facto have the

right to same-sex marriage. However, see Potter v.

Murray City, 585 F. Supp. 1126 (1984), 760 F.2d

1065 (1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 849 (1985), re

polygamist Utah policeman Royston Potter. He lost

his employment case, i.e., Murray City fired him for

his polygamy; but the parties stipulated that Potter

had treated his wives and children quite well, see

585 F. Supp. at 1129. As a policeman, Potter risked

his life for the community, just like a soldier. But he

was still not given a right to the type of marriage he

wanted, see id. at 1142-43. And this Court let that

stand, 474 U.S. 849.

34

So even when sexual minorities can show they

raise families as well as traditional families, see 585

F. Supp. at 1129, it is still constitutional! to treat

them differently. (Indisputably, licensing

polygamists’ marriage would lessen stigma for them

and their children; yet, the long-term effect of

licensing would be to create more polygamy, which is

not desirable.)

Finally, see Hilary White, Group marriage is next,

admits Dutch ‘father’ of gay ‘marriage’,

LifeSiteNews, Mar. 12, 2013, 5:58 p.m.:25 “Boris

Dittrich, the homosexual activist called the ‘father’ of

Dutch gay ‘marriage’, has admitted that group

marriages of three or more people, is the next,

inevitable logical step[.]” Id. The Court should avoid

the slippery slope presented.

XI. SOCIAL SCIENCE ON SAME-SEX

MARRIAGE IS STILL UNSETTLED, THOUGH

SOME SUPPORTS RESPONDENTS

The DeBoer trial court highly praised research

purporting to show no difference between same-sex

and diverse-sex parenting; and that court practically

savaged research which asserted otherwise. See 973

F. Supp. 2d 757, 761-68 (E.D. Mich. 2014). However,

there are various authorities, such as Walter

Schumm and Paul Sullins, whose research supports

Respondents, and whose work the trial court did not

consider. Thus, social science is not conclusive one

way or the other.

23 http://www .lifesitenews.com/news/group -marriage-is-next-

admits-dutch-father-of-gay-marriage.

35

A striking example of this inconclusiveness

relates to Mircea Trandafir, who authored an award-

winning 2009 study, The effect of same-sex marriage

laws on different-sex marriage: Evidence from the

Netherlands.” It says, “I [Trandafir] find that the

marriage rate rose after the registered partnership

law but fell after the same-sex marriage law.” Id. at

title/Abstract page.

Also:

One relatively straightforward way

to gauge the decline in the marriage

rate is to compare the largest gap

between the actual marriage rate in the

Netherlands and the synthetic control .

This [evidence] suggests that the

decline in the marriage rate after 2001

is rather significant[.]

Id. at 24. Trandafir offers as a plausible explanation

for the decline, “the end-of-marriage argument: the

same-sex marriage law changes the value of

marriage for some couples, who choose not to marry

anymore.” Id.

Finally, some especially significant statistics:

The marriage rate of men over the

1995—2005 period is, on average, 2.99

percent and is estimated to fall by

0.16 percentage points after the same-

sex marriage law, compared to a long-

term downward trend of 0.05

percentage points per year. In the case

24 Available at http://www.iza.org/conference_files/TAM2010/

trandafir_m6039.pdf (courtesy of Institute for the Study of

Labor).

36

of women, the average marriage rate is

4.07 percent and the decline is 0.65

percentage points[,] while the

downward trend is 0.05 percentage

points per year.

Id. at 16-17. 0.65 percentage-points decline

compared to 4.07 percentage points, id. at 17, isa

steep, significant drop in the female marriage rate,

almost one-sixth.

The bizarre part of the story is that Trandafir

then “updated” the study, but to say nearly the exact

opposite thing, see the version at 51 Demography

317 (2014).25 The 2014 study claims “an insignificant

decrease [in either different-sex marriages or

marriages in general] after the same-sex marriage

law”, id. at 3. So, while acknowledging damage to

traditional marriage, see id., Trandafir calls it

“insignificant”— directly contradicting his 2009

study calling the damage “significant”, id. at 24. The

2014 study, see id., completely and unexplainedly

omits, inter alia, the 2009 version’s statistic re the

huge 0.65 percentage-point decline from the 4.07

percentage-point female marriage rate, id. at 17. In

fact, the 2014 version does not even mention the

2009 version, or the reasons for the total turnaround

re “significant damage” These gross material

omissions are incomprehensible, and make the 2014

report more of a near-polar opposite to the 2009

report, not an “update”

25 Available at http://findresearcher.sdu.dk:8080/portal/files/

80662951/MS_2012 063.pdf (courtesy of Syddansk

Universitet).

37

Amicus accuses no one of bad faith, but the very

strange contradiction between the two versions of

Trandafir’s report almost reminds Amicus of what

Boucai said, supra at 13, about gay-marriage

advocates’ omitting or distorting the record re

bisexuality. Mandatory-same-sex-marriage

proponents have not told the full story, in social

science or otherwise; and Amicus hopes this Court

takes account of crucial information like, “The

results suggest that same-sex marriage leads to a

fall in the different-sex marriage rate,” Trandafir

2009 Rep. at title/Abstract page.

XII. RATIONAL BASIS IS THE RIGHT LEVEL

OF SCRUTINY; AND THE REASONS

ADDUCED HERE COMPRISE VERY

COMPELLING STATE INTERESTS

But even if heightened scrutiny were somehow

necessary instead of rational basis, the various bases

adduced supra, either singly or together, form very

compelling government interests.

Even strict scrutiny is met. E.g., the interest in

gender diversity of parents seems far more

compelling than racial/gender diversity at colleges,

and is met in a narrowly-tailored manner. People

aren't arrested for not entering opposite-sex

marriages, or harassed by State billboards or

mandatory “get married” classes; rather, people are

just not actively supported by government for

entering same-sex marriage.

The reasonably-least-restrictive means are used

as well. For example, re diverse-gender role models,

would it really be less restrictive to have the

Government provide two male spouses a visiting

38

female breast-feeder and role model for children? or

give two female wives a “rent-a-man” as a male role

model for children?

Similarly, with the disease- and injury-risking

practice of nonreproductive sex—and reduction of

AIDS and cancer is a compelling interest—-,

Lawrence prohibits punishing sodomy. But it need

not be encouraged, either: i.e., no State “merit

badge” or financial benefit need be given to same-sex

marriage. (People are legally free to engage in

private sodomy all they want, or marry at any

church or synagogue which marries gays.)

XIII. SEEKING PRINCIPLED “MIDDLE

GROUND”, IF NEEDED, IN THESE CASES

While Respondents deserve total victory, the

Court may somehow prefer to seek a middle path.

One inappropriate “middle path” would be to force

States to recognize same-sex marriages from other

States, while preserving for each State the right not

to license same-sex marriages itself. This

“compromise” would be fallacious, in that this age of

cheap, easy travel, and perhaps one day same-sex

marriages recognized over the Internet, would make

a State’s own “public policy” meaningless, if the

State must recognize alien same-sex-marriage

licenses.

(Those same-sex couples moving to a State

without same-sex marriage are at least “assuming

the risk” by choice; as opposed to their children, who

are choiceless about lack of father or mother.)

What may be a more reasonable “middle ground”

would be to recognize the status quo: that is, any

39

same-sex marriages that have already taken place,

could be recognized, and those couples could serve as

an “experimental body” to see how they and their

children do. However, bans on future same-sex

marriages would stand.

Also, for example, bans on civil unions might be

overturned, so that there would be mandatory

legality of civil unions, or “domestic partnerships” or

a “reciprocal benefits contract”, that would offer

same-sex couples some legal protection.

Amicus is definitely not recommending the Court

impose such an arrangement on any State; he is

merely saying that such an arrangement would be

less damaging than mandatory national same-sex

marriage.

Too, a “middle ground” already exists in that the

federal government currently offers federal tax

breaks to same-sex couples who marry in any State.

This resembles the offering of federal healthcare

subsidies on HHS-run exchanges (which Amicus

supports) even if a State did not establish an

exchange. So, same-sex couples are already receiving

massive relief and protection (especially given that

federal taxes are often higher than State taxes), and

a “middle ground” thus exists between States’

choices on same-sex marriage, and federal activism

in providing tax benefits to same-sex couples.

And if, arguendo, every recent State ban on same-

sex marriage is somehow “fatally infected with

animus [or other bad element]”: the Court could

strike down those bans, but not strike down the

States’ underlying laws, of centuries’ provenance,

40

upholding traditional marriage. As well, if a State

ban has “bad element A” (animus) mixed with “more

worthy elements B and C” (re fertility, or the good of

complementary-gender parenting, etc.), the Court

could delineate what elements are good or bad, so

that a struck-down referendum or law could be

reenacted—but now sans any forbidden element—by

the People.

x*x* *

What is the “American People”? A diverse and

diversely-scattered crew, among other things:

straights, gays, polys, etc. To let them self-define on

a public level, by defining—through majority vote—

the public honors, subsidies, and licenses in their

region, their State, seems fair. If the Court does not

allow this, in a matter as fundamental as defining

marriage, then the experiment in democracy known

as America has truly failed.

The Court’s own vote here may have a tincture of

unavoidable tragedy, in that each side, Petitioners or

Respondents, may be disappointed and damaged,

even on a constitutionally-injurious level, if it loses.

But America’s story allows one to escape tragedy, to

have a second act. Same-sex couples, if they desire

marriage, are mobile citizens who can “escape” to a

State that offers marriage. But their children, if any,

have no, or very little, recourse, scant escape, from

their motherlessness or fatherlessness. There is no

second act for them. States should be allowed to

maintain a “safe zone”, wherein the stigma and

humiliation of motherlessness/fatherlessness is not

lauded and abetted by the State, and a same-sex |

couple’s parentage and marriage are not given

license.

41

If the People of every State someday do not want

children to have that safe zone any more, so will it

be. But if traditional marriage is reaching its sunset,

then the Court should let it sunset only if the People

want that. Grutter allowed 25 years, see 539 U.S. at

343, to sunset affirmative action, a fairly recent

practice which uses explicit racial preferences. For

the Court not to allow at least that quarter-century

space, then, to allow traditional marriage, a

tradition of millennia, to sunset out, would be

absurd, and unjust. The People can work out same-

sex-marriage issues themselves.

Otherwise put: if solely-traditional marriage must

perish from this Nation, at least let it not be because

“government of the people, by the people, for the

people”26 perishes here, perishes because the Court

does not trust the People enough. Generations have

died for the democratic ideal; keeping faith with

them, with both our fathers and mothers who died

for that ideal, would be the path of greatest honor.

Future generations, well aware that the Fourteenth

Amendment is not violated by letting children follow

the Fifth Commandment, having, cherishing, and

honoring father and mother, may be deeply grateful

that this Court follows that honorable path.

CONCLUSION

Amicus respectfully asks the Court to uphold the

judgments of the court of appeals; and humbly

thanks the Court for its time and consideration.

26 President Abraham Lincoln, Gettysburg Address (Nov. 19,

1863).

42

April 3, 2015 Respectfully submitted,

David Boyle

Counsel of Record

P.O. Box 15143

Long Beach, CA 90815

dbo@boyleslaw.org

(734) 904-6132

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.