Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rowe v. New Hampshire Motor Transport Ass'n

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

2 oo

Q Supreme Court U.S.

Ne. 06-457 AUG 16 2006

In The OFFICE OF THE CLEHK

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

e

G. STEVEN ROWE, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE STATE OF MAINE,

Petitioner,

v.

NEW HAMPSHIRE MOTOR TRANSPORT

ASSOCIATION, MASSACHUSETTS MOTOR

TRANSPORTATION ASSOCIATION, INC., and

VERMONT TRUCK & BUS ASSOCIATION, INC.,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The First Circuit

o

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

REDACTED

o

G. STEVEN ROWE

Attorney General

PAUL STERN

Deputy Attorney General

(Counsel of Record)

MELISSA REYNOLDS O’DEA

PETER B. LAFOND

CHRISTOPHER C. TAUB

Assistant Attorneys General

Office of the Attorney General

6 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333-0006

Tel: (207) 626-8568

Counsel for Petitioner

—-—

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Federal Aviation Administration Au-

thorization Act of 1994 (“FAAAA”), 49 U.S.C. §§ 14501(c)(1)

and 41713(b)(4)(A), preempts states from exercising their

historic public health police powers to regulate carriers

that deliver contraband such as tobacco and other danger-

ous substances to children.

2. Whether the FAAAA preempts states from exercis-

ing their historic public health police powers to require

shippers of contraband such as tobacco and other danger-

ous substances to utilize a carrier that provides age

verification and signature services to ensure that such

substances are not delivered to children.

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner G. Steven Rowe is the Attorney General of

the State of Maine, acting in his official capacity. Respon-

dents New Hampshire Motor Transport Association,

Massachusetts Motor Transportation Association, Inc., and

Vermont Truck and Bus Association, Inc., (the “Associa-

tions”), are trade associations of businesses engaged in the

commercial delivery of packages containing property.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

I ia ata leisctaeisiidemnasabiintaneatilii i

Ee il

ac tisnentinnstiaincisnindiimaloninaiéaciiensielainn iv

EET en eee EN 1

Catal nia ciel 1

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved.... 1

STITT icssincicepaihiditiaiiiesicdndgetatpiecldiineneenaeianiaddiadesiaadiaiiidele 4

1. The Maine Tobacco Delivery Law ............. 4

2. The Federal Aviation Administration Au-

thorization Act of 1994..................cccccsesses 7

— SN NEE 10

© I BI ercciccccnccscccesccscsccccsncsasee 12

Reasons for Granting Writ ......................:::cccceeseeeeneees 15

I. The Court’s Review Is Needed Because the

First Circuit’s Decision Prevents the States

from Regulating Delivery Sales of Dangerous

Substances, Including in Particular Tobacco

ERLE SEER ae eee CME MCRD as ONE ORD 17

Il. The First Circuit’s Preemption Analysis Is

Incorrect and Not Consistent with this

EET ICL D IRS LE TTR 20

Ill. The First Circuit’s Decision Is Inconsistent

with the Decisions of Other Courts of Ap-

peals as well as Lower Courts ................00c.0005 25

TEFEN EEE en SCT en ae De ee Ee EOE 29

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

Ace Auto Body & Towing, Ltd. v. City of New York,

ee TIES eb ciicetniisceccnticessinennsniniansiniinesen 27

American Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, 513 U.S. 219

SSSI ictsenstileiteiunceiitiieinehdeaiancihidinitdaeinteiincaiapasiabaeaiiehncai 26

California Div. of Labor Standards Enforcement v.

Dillingham Construction, Inc., 519 U.S. 316 (1997)........ 21

Californians for Safe & Competitive Dump Truck

Transp. v. Mendonca, 152 F.3d 1184 (9th Cir.

1998), cert. denied, 526 U.S. 1060 (1999)................ 25, 26

City of Columbus v. Ours Garage and Wrecking

Service, Inc., 536 U.S. 424 (2002)..................cce cece passim

Federal Drug Administration v. Brown & William-

son Tobacco Corp., 529 U.S. 120 (2000) ........................ 18

Granholm v. Heald, 544 U.S. 460 (2005).................04. 20, 23

Lorillard Tobacco Co. v. Reilly, 533 U.S. 525 (2001) .. 18, 23

Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S. 374

iittala haiti adda taialaaila 14, 22, 26

New York State Conference of Blue Cross & Blue Shield

Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co., 514 U.S. 645 (1995)............. 21, 22

New York State Motor Truck Assoc. v. Pataki, 2004

U.S. Dist. Lexis 25519 (S.D. N.Y. 2004)... 27

Pharmaceutical Research & Mfrs. Of Am. v. Walsh,

NG I iii esi liidnaniettenigenientaabiomepeinnbiiaes 19

Robertson v. State of Washington Liquor Control

Board, 10 P.3d 1079 (Wash. App. Ct. 2000) .................. 28

Ward v. New York, 291 F. Supp. 2d 188 (W.D. N-Y.

Si eicicaetiininichiattoienieaiéatnadieseineneddiidiindaaaiibvieeasodiiesiprihice 27

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

U.S. CONSTITUTION AND FEDERAL STATUTES

U.S. Const., art. VI, cl. 2 (Supremacy Clause).................... 2

Se Oe I ccncscsnccccsenovssensetetibanmncscnamienpnetesiiadeiaiians 18

Be EY OP BEE cinsccrsnccscessnetcennnsnininigiseuuiinseesihiaenndiana 1

Bee I Ot BI vsesiricnscccnscatenscsnncassveccsengsisnionianemeaaiaaaiala 1

a a SII diicscichinsinnsnencapionmrenenednnietianieaniaiasentiill 21

Fe es Ae IED cntncepentrensnninssnssintacescnesbeitinianinniaied 18

es EID cccnivicnsccntesescnsnsetsessssincdnimmaneinnds 18

ey Oe SEED coniccecetersisrnsatecescsosstsnnitbiandienanibumaiia 22

ee El taneccceosnnctoinncsniimnnsianitinisimmmiumpnaianaadell 9

rs Oe ic cceccccccetnssicntsensicntessitiinsadssiintmadieimdaiiall 8

rs 0 i cccsiccscentovscnndncnsenapsonnannininieniieiiaimeiata 9

ee Oe ces cscnscsctnssencsenececerasienciiteatanaunaianal 9

re i iccsivsiscteciedscccatendcsidinvetcmmiiaiuadaal 3, 8, 21

GD UB. B DESIRE) — BD). ccvceccevseesccscscosnssesesesesssints 3, 8,9

le Oe eR cscicentcsccccccntinestinitiintintansindaaanaia 9

49 U.S.C. § 41713(D)(4 (A)... ee eeeceeeeeeeteeeeeeeeenee 2, 8, 21

ae he FR csieicscsecececnsstninnsmniiiivepsiniiaiinaa 3,8

Pub. L. No. 102-321, Title II, § 202, 106 Stat. 394

(1992 Synar Amendment) ..............sccccssssssssossoccsssscesceees 18

Pub. L. No. 103-305, § 601, 108 Stat. 1569, 1605........... 2,7

Pub. L. No. 103-305, § 601(a)(1), 106 Stat. 1569,

SIUTTEP sss cnesciendindsiiointiionmuniatddentiiieenimeinigaiaiaiiaiaiaiieelien 8

Pub. L. No. 103-305, § 601(a)(2), 108 Stat. 1569,

STUTEED voscovevetscnnscanesenreossnnsanpeensinssonatpeibininbapetdenduiunisaialiai 8

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Pub. L. No. 103-305, § 601(c), 108 Stat. 1569, 1605... 2, 8, 9

Pub. L. No. 104-88, § 103, 109 Stat. 803, 899..............0.0.... 9

STATE STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

EE ELC 17

EL eee 17

ee 17

Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 17533.9...................ccccccecsssssseeess 17

Cal. Fish & Game Code § 4800 ..00.0.0.........ccccccccceceeeeeeeeeeees 17

I IIE, II, ETI 01 ccc ccesscnssnseunesesocosooncocoosonnete 4

8 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 221, ef seq. ..............cccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeees 4

i ni nrtccsrsmmnsgnansntoncbins 4

12 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 8305-06 0.00000. .2.......cccccccceeeeeteeeeees 4

17-A Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 554-B(2)..0.0000..... ccc ccccceeeceeees 4

17-A Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1001(1)(B)...................000:ccceeseeee 4

SS, OT nn cnassececeseseuscnsnstcnnnsonccens 4

22-A Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-A ...... ccc ccceeceeeeeeeeeees 5

22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-B(1) ...............ec cee cceceeeeeeeeeees 5

22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-B(2) 20.0.0... ccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 5

22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-B(5-A).............. ccc ccccceeteeees 5

22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-C(3)(A) «00... eceeees 6, 12

22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-C(3)(B) ....... 2... ccccccececceteees 6

22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-C(3)(C) ....... ee. passim

22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-C(1) 2.0.0... cccccceccceeeeeeeeeeeees 5

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-C(2) 0.0... cccceseeeeeeneeeeees 5

22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-C(7) ..................:cccsccceecercceees 6

22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-D «2.000.000... passim

22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-D(2) 0000.0... cccecceeeesseeeeees 7

22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-D(3) 0.0.0.0... eee eeceeeeeseeeeeees 7

22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-D(4) ..0.0... ec cccccceeeeeeeeeeeees 7

es Sey CEU BUI, SO tr iccncccessscccscseccsscnscnnsessncenionien 4

A SEED CI RI, OF ID cnciecerncscsccccecnsnessannnisissnenneese 4

28-A Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 2081 ..00.0.........ccccccceesseeeeeseeeeeees 4

TTD STITT iieteeesintesinemnintnactiinnneidnenedamnsaibniines 17

N.Y. Public Health Law § 1399-11 ..0.0...........ccccccccseeeeeeeeeee 12

SS 5 ee ae 4

RN ee ae 4

SER EE ene oT 4

Ta TT iin atienensentenemntniesicinniaibhitatddl 4

RE Se TE 4

es Sik ts Os SE OF OP cescecenccesenennnmnsenesneneecnncenectinnasion 4

a tice inten eaiemteniatiteitaas 5

10-144-203 Me. Code R. § 10(C)(2)..........cceccceeceesceeeeceeeeeees 6

10-144-203 Me. Code R. § 11 oo... cece cccccccccccceeeeeceeeeeeeees 6

OTHER

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 103-677 (1994), reprinted in

1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1715-1760 ....0... cece 7, 9, 22, 26

1

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The petitioner respectfully petitions for a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment and opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit in this

case decided on May 19, 2006.

S

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals is reported at 448

F.3d 66 (Petition Appendix (“App.”) 1). The district court’s

opinions are reported at 377 F. Supp. 2d 197, 324 F. Supp.

2d 231, and 301 F. Supp. 2d 38 (App. 31, 73, and 86).

°

JURISDICTION

The district court exercised jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. § 1331, and entered a final amended judgment on

June 29, 2005. The court of appeals asserted jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291, and entered judgment on

May 19, 2006. The district court entered its second

amended judgment on June 29, 2006.

@

CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

At issue in this case is whether Maine’s “Act To

Regulate the Delivery and Sales of Tobacco Products and

To Prevent the Sale of Tobacco Products to Minors”

(“Maine Act”), which regulates retailers and deliverers of

tobacco products in order to protect children, is preempted

by the Federal] Aviation Administration Authorization Act

2

of 1994 (“FAAAA”), Pub. L. No. 103-305, § 601, 108 Stat.

1569, 1605. Article VI, clause 2 of the Constitution pro-

vides that the laws of the United States “shall be the

supreme Law of the Land; ... any Thing in the Constitu-

tion or Laws of any state to the Contrary notwithstand-

ing.

The first FAAAA preemption provision states:

(A) General rule. - Except as provided in sub-

paragraph (B), a State, political subdivision of a

State, or political authority of 2 or more States

may not enact or enforce a law, regulation, or

other provision having the force and effect of law

related to a price, route, or service of an air car-

rier or carrier affiliated with a direct air carrier

through common controlling ownership when

such carrier is transporting property by aircraft

or by motor vehicle (whether or not such property

has had or will have a prior or subsequent air

movement).

49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(4)(A). Subparagraph (B), captioned

“Matters not covered,” provides that subparagraph (A)

(i) shall not restrict the safety regulatory au-

thority of a State with respect to motor vehicles,

the authority of a State to impose highway route

controls or limitations based on the size or

weight of the motor vehicle or the hazardous na-

ture of the cargo, or the authority of a State to

regulate motor carriers with regard to minimum

amounts of financial responsibility relating to in-

surance requirements and self-insurance au-

thorization; and

(ii) does not apply to the transportation of

household goods. .. .

49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(4)(B).

The second preemption provision states:

(c) Motor carriers of property. (1) General Rule.

Except as provided in paragraphs (2) and (3), a

State, political subdivision of a State, or political

authority of 2 or more States may not enact or

enforce a law, regulation, or other provision hav-

ing the force and effect of law related to a price,

route, or service of any motor carrier .. . with re-

spect to the transportation of property.

49 U.S.C. § 14501(c)(1). Paragraph (2), captioned “Matters

not covered,” exempts from preemption the same areas set

forth above for air carriers, and also certain types of

towing rates. 49 U.S.C. §14501(c\2). Paragraph (3),

captioned “State standard transportation practices,”

exempts from preemption state regulation related to

certain uniform liability rules, bills of lading, and credit

rules and certain antitrust laws if such regulation “is no

more burdensome than compliance with” federal law, and

the carrier requests that the law apply to it. 49 U.S.C.

§ 14501(c)(3).

The pertinent provisions of the Maine Law, in particu-

lar 22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 1555-C(3)(C) and 1555-D, are

reproduced at App. 100, and immediately discussed below.

S

4

STATEMENT

This case presents the issue of whether Congress has

preempted the states from controlling the delivery of

dangerous substances, here tobacco, where a carrier such

as United Parcel Service (“UPS”) is used as the conduit for

illegal transactions.

1. The Maine Tobacco Delivery Law. The Maine

law at issue here is strongly rooted in the State’s tradi-

tional police powers to protect the health of its children.

Maine, like other states, has historically regulated the

transport and delivery of various substances in order to

protect the public. These laws range from limiting the sale

and delivery of fireworks and explosives, to prohibiting the

delivery of liquor, drugs and handguns to minors, to

regulating the transportation of plants and wild animals.’

' See, e.g., 28-A Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 2073, 2077, originally

enacted in 1987, Me. Pub. L. 1987, c. 45, § A, 4 (liquor transportation

provisions); former 12 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 7534, originally enacted in

1979, Me. Pub. L. 1979, c. 420, § 1 (“Any common carrier accepting any

wild animal or wild bird for transportation shall” check the hunter's

license, affix tags and identification, and make returns to the commis-

sioner); 8 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 221, et seg., enacted by Me. Pub. L.

1985, c. 23, §2 (prohibiting possession, sale or transport “in any

conveyance” of fireworks “except as permitted by” state regulations),

17-A Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1001(1B), enacted by Me. Pub. L. 1975, c.

499, § 1 (prohibiting transport or sale of explosives without a permit);

28-A Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 2081, enacted by Me. Pub. L. 1987, c. 45, § A,

4 (prohibiting furnishing, delivering, or giving liquor to a minor); 7 Me.

Rev. Stat. Ann. § 3981, enacted by Me. Pub. L. 1987, c. 383, § 3 (regulat-

ing periods of confinement and conditions for transportation of ani-

mals); 12 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 8305-06, originally enacted by Me. Pub.

L. 1979, c. 545, §3 (prohibiting and regulating shipment of plants and

trees); 17-A Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1118 (transporting scheduled drugs);

17-A Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 554-B(2) (transferring handgun to minor).

5

It is illegal in Maine for a minor to “purchase, possess

or use cigarettes, cigarette paper or any other tobacco

product.” 22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1555-B(5-A). A person

“may not sell, furnish, give away or offer to sell, furnish or

give away a tobacco product to any person under 18 years

of age” and may not sell “to any person under 27 years of

age unless the seller first verifies that person’s age by

means of reliable photographic identification containing

the person’s date of birth.” Jd. at § 1555-B(1) & (2).

Internet and telephone sales of tobacco products have

become a serious problem. By means of delivery services,

enterprising retailers seek to avoid over-the-counter age

verification requirements by selling the tobacco products

to minors and delivering them not over-the-counter, but

rather through third-party carriers such as UPS. In

response to this dangerous practice, in 2003 the Maine

Legislature passed “An Act To Regulate the Delivery and

Sales of Tobacco Products and To Prevent the Sale of

Tobacco Products to Minors,” Me. Pub. L. 2003, c. 444.

The Act requires a person who engages in the sale of

tobacco products by means of delivery to take a number of

steps to ensure that tobacco products do not reach the

hands of minors. Retailers engaged in delivery sales of

tobacco to Maine citizens must obtain a retail license from

the Maine Department of Human Services (22 Me. Rev.

Stat. Ann. § 1555-C(1)), just as over-the-counter retailers

must (/d. at § 1551-A). Similarly, the Act requires the

internet or telephone tobacco retailer to obtain age verifi-

cation (Jd. at § 1555-C(2)), just as age verification for

persons under 27 years of age is called for in over-the-

counter sales (/d. at § 1555-B(2)).

6

The Act requires the retailer to “clearly mark the

outside of the package . . . to indicate that the contents are

tobacco products and to show the name and State of Maine

tobacco license number of the ... retailer.” Jd. at § 1555-

C(3)(B).’ Section 1555-C(3)(C) applies only to retailers who

ship tobacco products, not to the carriers, and calls for

tobacco retailers to “utilize a delivery service that imposes”

requirements that the addressee be of legal age to pur-

chase tobacco products and sign for the package, the

purchaser be the addressee, and, if the addressee is under

27 years old, present a valid identification showing proof

of age.’ Tobacco products shipped in violation of these

requirements are contraband, subject to forfeiture. Jd. at

1555-C(7).

Section 1555-D of the Act applies to carriers and, in

pertinent part, provides:

A person may not knowingly transport or

cause to be delivered to a person in this State a

tobacco product purchased from a person who is

not licensed as a tobacco retailer in this State,

except that this provision does not apply to the

transportation or delivery of tobacco products to

a licensed tobacco distributor or tobacco retailer.

A person is deemed to know that a package con-

tains a tobacco product if the package is marked in

accordance with the requirements of section 1555-

C, subsection 3, paragraph B or if the person

* Maine adopted rules for the enforcement of this law that require,

inter alia, the retailer to mark the label side of the package with a

tobacco marking, and does not require a carrier to look at the bottom of a

package for tobacco markings. 10-144 -203 Me. Code. R. §§ 10(CX2), 11.

> Section 1555-C(3)(A) requires the tobacco retailer, prior to

shipping, to provide to the delivery service the age of the purchaser.

7

receives the package from a person listed as an

unlicensed tobacco retailer by the Attorney Gen-

eral under this section.

Transgressions are civil violations punishable by fines of

from $50 to $1500, and the Attorney General may enforce

the law by seeking injunctive relief. Jd. at § 1555-D(2) &

(3). Maine maintains a list of licensed and known unli-

censed retailers, provides the list to delivery services, and

reliance on that list is an affirmative defense. Id. at

§ 1555-D(3) & (4). These provisions ensure that a carrier is

not delivering contraband tobacco.

2. The Federal Aviation Administration Au-

thorization Act of 1994. The FAAAA was intended to

preempt the states from engaging in economic regulation

in order (1) to eliminate non-uniform “[s]tate economic

regulation of motor carrier operations [that] causes signifi-

cant inefficiencies, increased costs, reduction of competi-

tion, inhibition of innovation and technology, and curtails

the expansion of markets”; and (2) to “level the playing

field” between air carriers and motor carriers. H.R. Conf.

Rep. No. 103-677, at 85-88 (1994), reprinted in 1994

U.S.C.C.A.N. 1715, 1758-60. “The problem to which the

congressional conferees attended was ‘state economic

regulation.’” City of Columbus v. Ours Garage and Wreck-

ing Service, Inc., 536 U.S. 424, 440 (2002) (emphasis in

original). There is no hint that Congress intended to

preempt state public health laws regulating the delivery of

dangerous substances.

The pertinent preemption provisions were enacted as

Pub. L. No. 103-305, § 601, 108 Stat: 1569, 1605. Congress

found that state regulation of intrastate transportation of

property imposed unreasonable burdens on and impeded the

free flow of interstate commerce and placed an unreasonable

8

cost on American consumers, and, therefore, “certain

aspects of the State regulatory process should be pre-

empted.” Pub. L. No. 103-305, § 601(a)(1) & (2) (emphasis

added).

Section 41713(b) of Title 49 was amended to add a

“(gleneral rule” that “[e]xcept as provided in subparagraph

(B),” a state could not enact or enforce a law “related to a

price, route, or service of an air carrier ... when such

carrier is transporting property by aircraft or by motor

vehicle.” Pub. L. No. 103-305, § 601(b)(1), codified at 49

U.S.C. § 41713(b)(4)(A). Subparagraph (B), entitled “Mat-

ters not covered,” provided that preemption would not

cover state regulation of safety, hazardous cargo, insur-

ance or household goods. Pub. L. No. 103-305, § 601(b)(1),

codified at 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(4)(B).

In order to accomplish the goal of placing air and ground

carriers on the same economic plane, as part of the FAAAA

Congress enacted a new subsection entitled “Preemption of

State Economic Regulation of Motor Carriers.” Pub. L. No.

103-305, §601(c) (emphasis added). This new subsection

proscribed states from enacting or enforcing laws “related to

a price, route, or service of any motor carrier ... with

respect to the transportation of property.” Pub. L. No. 103-

305, § 601(c), originally codified at 49 U.S.C. § 11501(h)(1),

now codified at 49 U.S.C. § 14501(c\(1). The exemptions

from preemption for motor carriers included the same

matters exempted for air carriers — state regulation of

safety, hazardous cargo, insurance or household goods. Pub.

9

L. No. 103-305, § 601(c), originally codified at 49 U.S.C.

§ 11501(h)(2), now codified at 49 U.S.C. § 14501(c)(2).'

The exceptions came about due to Congress’ paying

specific attention to the American Trucking Association’s

position that there be no preemption of state “non-

economic factors,” and the conferees intended to imple-

ment that approach. H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 103-677, at 88

(1994), reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1715, 1760; City of

Columbus, 536 U.S. at 440-41. In particular, the conferees

added the specific exceptions to preemption in an effort to

make clear that the intent was “to preempt economic

regulation by the States”; and the conferees explained that

those specific exceptions “were not intended to be all

inclusive, but merely to specify some of the matters which

are not ‘prices, rates or services’ and which are therefore

not preempted.” H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 103-677, at 84, 86-88

(1994), reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1715, 1756, 1758-

60 (emphasis added). Non-uniform regulation in non-

preempted areas was expected and permitted. City of

Columbus, 536 U.S. at 441.

* Congress also included an additional exemption from preemption

for motor carriers for certain “State standard transportation practices”

regarding uniform liability, bills of lading, credit rules and antitrust

laws if the carrier requests that the state law apply to it. Pub. L. No.

103-305, § 601(c), originally codified at 49 U.S.C. § 11501(h)(3), now

codified at 49 U.S.C. § 14501(c)(3).

Just one year after its enactment, § 11501(h) was recodified at 49

U.S.C. § 14501(c), with an added exemption for state regulation of

nonconsensual tow rates — by the Interstate Commerce Commission

Termination Act of 1995 (ICC Termination Act), Pub. L. No. 104-88, §

103, 109 Stat. 803, 899. The tow rate exemption is now found at section

1450 1(c2XC).

10

3. Operative Facts. The three _ respondents-

plaintiffs are non-profit trade associations whose members

are “engaged in the commercial delivery of packages

containing property.” In their challenge to the Maine Act,

the Associations relied entirely upon the experience and

facts of UPS.

Ordinarily, and prior to the enactment of this law, all

sides of the exterior of packages are visually scanned at

many stages through the distribution process’ for, inter

alia, labels, signs of damage, improper packaging, leakage,

handguns, prohibited contents and hazardous waste

markings by various UPS employees such as sorters,

presorters and drivers. UPS has implemented written

procedures and policies relating to the delivery of sub-

stances such as alcohol and handguns.

In response to the Maine Act, UPS instructed certain

of its employees in Maine to look for markings indicating

°* UPS uses a “hub-and-spoke” system, which consists of an

extensive network of sorting facilities throughout the country that

generally works as follows: the person or entity shipping the package

provides delivery information on UPS's shipping form or though an

electronic shipping system; the package enters UPS’s system through a

package driver pick-up (includ ag pickups from the shipper, an outlet

such as a UPS Store or a UPS drop box), or through UPS's customer

counter; the driver brings the picked-up package to a local operating

center; the package is unloaded and placed on conveyor belts for sorters

to separate based on delivery location and the delivery time commit-

ment; feeder vehicles and, in some cases, airplanes and trains take the

package from the centralized hub to another hub for further sorting,

and ultimately to a local center for delivery; at the local center the

package is further sorted and loaded onto a vehicle for delivery based

on the recipient’s address; and at delivery the driver physically delivers

the package checking specific delivery information, such as the need for

age verification or a signature, on a hand-held computer device (a

“DIAD”).

11

that a package contained tobacco products. The preloaders

and drivers were instructed to treat any such package as

non-deliverable, and to give that package to a designated

employee who assesses how to proceed, including return-

ing the package to the sender or disposing of the package.

A UPS employee estimated that it takes a preloader

approximately an additional two seconds to visually scan

the label of a package for tobacco indicia. Based upon this

estimate, the UPS employee provided a cost figure for

Maine, amounting to approximately $0.009, or less than

one cent, per package. UPS did no other study or analysis

to determine whether a driver spends any additional time

to comply with the Maine Act, or what the effect of the

Maine Act is on its package sorting rate. UPS delivers

approximately 65,000 packages per day in Maine.

During a five-month period, UPS intercepted a total of

thirty-three packages that its workers believed contained

tobacco products destined for Maine consumers. UPS

estimates that it costs approximately $2.00 in personnel

time to deal with each such package. Thus, according to

UPS, for a five month period there was an additional $66

in costs to UPS to comply with Maine’s law. UPS's total

revenue in 2003 was $33.5 billion.

UPS’s computer systems, according to UPS, can do

“pretty much anything.” It is the second largest computer

system in the world. At the time of each and every deliv-

ery, the UPS driver checks and enters delivery information

on a hand-held computer device (“DIAD”). The DIAD has

the capability and does provide relevant prompts or

“alerts” regarding each package when delivered. These

“alerts” inform the driver, inter alia, whether a signature

or adult confirmation is required. UPS has the capability

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

12

to flag specific delivery addresses or specific consignees to

UPS offers a delivery confirmation, adult

signature-required service, for an additional fee of either

$1.75 or $2.75. When a driver delivers such a package, she

receives a prompt on her DIAD to have her verify the age

of the — receiving the package or obtain a signature.

The State provided to UPS an electronic version of its

list of known unlicensed tobacco retailers who may be

attempting to unlawfully ship tobacco to Maine consum-

ers, but UPS has not researched whether any of its regular

shippers are on the state list of known unlicensed tobacco

retailers. UPS has over 4,000 employees in the technology

and information systems area but did no study of the

capability of the system regarding compliance with the

Maine law.

During the pendency of the appeal, UPS entered into

an agreement to comply with New York’s “Unlawful

Shipment of Cigarettes Law,” N.Y. Pub. Health Law,

§ 1399-/l. UPS agreed, inter alia, to impose measures to

ensure that employees “actively” look for indications that a

package contains cigarettes, and to instruct preloaders

and drivers not to load for delivery or deliver cigarette

packages to consumers. UPS's policy is to “require its

shippers to be licensed by applicable law in order to ship

tobacco products,” and to accept shipments of cigarettes

for delivery only to recipients who are licensed by applica-

ble federal or state law to receive cigarette deliveries.

4. Proceedings Below. On October 10, 2003, the

Associations commenced this action in the United States

13

District Court for the District of Maine to challenge

sections 1555-C(3)(A) and (C) and 1555-D of the Maine Act

as preempted facially and as-applied by the FAAAA. The

Associations immediately filed a motion for summary

judgment that those provisions were facially »eempted.

On February 6, 2004, the district court denixi plaintiffs’

motion, holding the challenged portions of the Maine Act

were not facially preempted by the FAAAA. (App. 86). The

court allowed the Associations to proceed on the as-applied

challenge.

The Attorney General then filed a motion for sum-

mary judgment on the facial challenge for the reasons set

forth in the court’s first decision. On June 30, 2004, the

district court granted summary judgment for the Attorney

General on “all counts as to any facial FAAAA preemption

challenges to” the Maine Act. (App. 73).

Cross-motions for summary judgment were filed, and,

on May 27, 2005, the district court issued its ruling in

favor of the Associations and against the Attorney General

that sections 1555-C(3)(C) and 1555-D were preempted by

the FAAAA both facially, thus reversing its prior rulings,

and as applied. (App. 31).

The Attorney General appealed. On May 19, 2006, the

First Circuit issued its decision effectively affirming the

lower court’s decision.* (App. 1). The First Circuit held that

* Below, the Attorney General sought dismissal of the action on the

grounds of mootness and lack of associational standing. The appeals

court rejected those positions (App. 7-12). In particular, the First

Circuit reasoned the matter was not moot because the New York

agreement dealt only with cigarettes, while Maine’s law covers all

tobacco products. The Attorney General no longer presses these

arguments.

14

the FAAAA “preempts state police-puwer enactments” to

the extent they have “the effect of forcing [a carrier] to

change its uniform package-processing procedures,” and

the purpose of the state law is irrelevant to the preemp-

tion inquiry. (App. 17-18, 28). The court reasoned that the

“related to” language of the FAAAA’s preemption provi-

sions as well as the FAAAA’s structure and legislative

history support a broad preemptive effect, and that the

Attorney General’s view would “swallow the rule of pre-

emption” because most state laws are enacted pursuant to

the states’ police powers. (App. 14-21). The appeals court

also found that the conferees’ specific reference to Morales

v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S. 374 (1992), required

adherence to a broad view of preemption, and the court

refused to apply subsequent Supreme Court interpretation

of similar “relate to” preemption language in ERISA,

indicating it was for the Supreme Court and not the First

Circuit to do so. (App. 14-16, 20).

The appeals court found that section 1555-C(3\(C) —

which requires tobacco retailers to use a delivery service

that provides delivery directly to the purchaser, a signa-

ture, and age verification — is “related to” a carrier’s

service due to the potential for delay if a carrier chose to

provide such options. (App. 23). Although the provision

applies only to retailers, the court reasoned it indirectly

regulated carriers by “employing [the state’s] coercive

powers to police the method by which carriers provide

services in the state.” (App. 24).

Section 1555-D precludes carriers from knowingly

delivering tobacco products to children. The First Circuit

found that so much of section 1555-D that proscribed

“knowing” delivery of tobacco for an unlicensed retailer

was not preempted. (App. 26). However, the appeals court

15

went on to conclude that section 1555-D was preempted to

the extent it charged carriers with knowledge that a

package contains tobacco products if the package is so

marked or if the shipper appears on the Attorney Gen-

eral’s list of licensed or known unlicensed retailers. (Jd. at

27-28). These provisions were found to be preempted

because they require the carrier “to change its uniform

package-processing procedures” by inspecting every

package destined for delivery in Maine and segregating

the packages that contain tobacco to research whether the

addressee is a Maine-licensed retailer or distributor who

can receive the package. (Jd.) The First Circuit conceded

there was “notential tension” in its decision — Maine

hypothetically could prosecute a carrier for “knowing

delivery” of contraband tobacco, but Maine could not

impute knowledge “based on a failure to read labels or

consult lists — an imputation which would amount to

prescribing how carriers must operate.” (Id. at 28-29). Of

course, these are the identified means to prove “knowing”

delivery of tobacco. The court admitted that “as a practical

matter, [it] may be difficult to prove” a case against a

carrier. (/d. at 29).

SJ

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

The First Circuit’s decision has far-reaching and

devastating effects on the states’ ability to exercise their

historic health-related police powers. The First Circuit

held that the FAAAA preempts the exercise of the state's

historic public health police powers whenever the state

regulation directly or indirectly potentially affects a

carrier’s business. The decision forbids states from requir-

ing retailers to use a carrier that provides age verification

16

and signature services, even though some carriers already

provide these types of services. And the decision forbids

states from imputing knowledge to a carrier from obvious

tobacco markings on a package because it has “effects” on

the “uniformity” of a carrier’s procedures, even though the

carriers already check the packages for a variety of other

markings and for damage. These are the means to regu-

late delivery of dangerous substances, and the First

Circuit has identified no others. The decision, thus, pre-

empts countless state laws that have existed for decades,

regulating the sale and delivery of substances, from

tobacco to weapons to alcohol. See note 1, supra.

It is beyond debate that unregulated access by chil-

dren to tobacco products is a serious public health problem

— tobacco addicts, sickens and kills. Regulation of chil-

dren’s access to tobacco traditionally and specifically is

intended by Congress to be handled by the states. There is

no federal program regulating delivery sales of tobacco by

telephone and internet retailers. The appeals court deci-

sion effectively leaves delivery sales of tobacco to children

unregulated by any government, a result nowhere sug-

gested by Congress or supported by common sense.

The First Circuit’s decision is wrong and conflicts with

decisions of this Court. The FAAAA was intended to

preempt state economic regulation, City of Columbus, 536

U.S. at 432. There is no hint that Congress intended

preemption of state public health regulations that may

have an effect on the “uniformity,” and potentially the

“economics” or profitability, of carriers. The First Circuit’s

boundless reading of the “related to” language in the

FAAAA preemption provisions swallows up state police

powers, and the appeals court specifically refused to follow

this Court’s practical interpretation of similar language

17

found in other statutes such as ERISA. It should come as

no surprise, therefore, that the First Circuit’s decision also

conflicts with the analysis of FAAAA preemption of other

circuits. The Second and Ninth Circuit hold that the

FAAAA does not preempt a state’s exercise of its tradi-

tional police powers in noneconomic areas. This Court

should grant certiorari and reverse the First Circuit's

damaging decision.

I. THE COURT'S REVIEW IS NEEDED BECAUSE

THE FIRST CIRCUIT’S DECISION PREVENTS

THE STATES FROM REGULATING DELIVERY

SALES OF DANGEROUS SUBSTANCES, IN-

CLUDING IN PARTICULAR TOBACCO TO

CHILDREN.

Tobacco is just one of many substances controlled by

states to protect the public health and safety. Maine, like

virtually all states, places controls and restrictions on the

sale and delivery of tobacco as well as, inter alia, weapons,

chemicals, and live animals.’ State controls rely almost

entirely upon requiring retailers to ship dangerous sub-

stances in a certain fashion or checking for identifying

markings or labels on the outside of the package. By

holding a state cannot require a retailer to ship dangerous

substances in a particular fashion, such as requiring age

verification, or impute knowledge to a carrier it is shipping

* E.g., Ala. Code § 2-14-5 (barring transport of certain products

related to bee keeping); Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 3-209 (barring the transport

of quarantined produce); Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-3102 (barring transport

of prohibited weapons); Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 17533.9 (barring

transport of teargas); Cal. Fish & Game Code § 4800 (barring the

transport of mountain lions); N.Y. Penal Law § 190.50 (barring trans-

port of slot machines or other gambling devices). See also note 1, supra.

18

such substances from markings or labels, the First Circuit

effectively prevents the states from controlling these

substances. There is no other manner to effectively regu-

late delivery sales of dangerous substances to children.

Certainly, the First Circuit does not identify any. The

appeals court’s decision prevents states from controlling

the third-party delivery of such substances, a result

having grave consequences for the public health and

nowhere suggested by Congress.

“[Tlobacco use, particularly among children and

adolescents, poses perhaps the single most significant

threat to public health in the United States.” Federal Drug

Administration v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., 529

U.S. 120, 161 (2000). Although there is no comprehensive

federal tobacco delivery law, every state bans the sale of

tobacco to children. Moreover, as this Court recognized in

Lorillard Tobacco Co. v. Reilly, 533 U.S. 525, 552 (2001),

“there is an established congressional policy that supports”

state laws prohibiting cigarette sales to minors; “Congress

has required States to prohibit tobacco sales to minors as a

condition of receiving federal block grant funding for

substance abuse treatment activities.” The Lorillard Court

pointed to the 1992 Synar Amendment, Pub. L. No. 102-

321, Title II, § 202, 106 Stat. 394, which conditions the

receipt of federal block grant funding for substance abuse

treatment activities on states’ enactment and effective

enforcement of laws covering the sale and distribution of

tobacco by “any manufacturer, retailer, or distributor.” The

Synar Amendment specifically mandates that the states

“reduce the extent to which tobacco products are available

to individuals under the age of 18.” 42 U.S.C. § 300x-

26(a)(1) & (bX1). While striking down certain aspects of

the Federal Cigarette Labeling and Advertising Act, 15

19

U.S.C. § 1334(b), the Court approved of state laws that

regulate the “sale and distribution of tobacco products” to

children, and emphasized that “States and localities also

have at their disposal other means of regulating conduct to

ensure that minors do not obtain cigarettes.” 533 U.S. at

552.

“The presumption against federal pre-emption of a

state statute designed to foster public health, has special

force when it appears ... that the two governments are

pursuing ‘common purposes.’” See Pharmaceutical Re-

search & Mfrs. of Am. v. Walsh, 538 U.S. 644, 666 (2003)

(citations omitted). There is no doubt that the federal and

state governments have a common purpose in dealing with

youth access to tobacco, and that Congress has left and

encouraged that regulation to the states.

While the First Circuit stated that the “FAAAA and

Synar Amendment can exist harmoniously because the

states may pass laws to curb underage smoking without

passing laws ‘related to’ carrier prices, routes, or services,”

even that court recognized the “tension” and “practical”

difficulties of its decision. (App. 28-29). By striking down

the Maine law requiring telephone and internet retailers

to use a carrier that provides age verification and signa-

ture services, the decision all ws those retailers to avoid

age verification requirements otherwise applicable to over-

the-counter retailers. And the decision purports to allow

states to prevent carriers from knowingly delivering

tobacco, but prevents the states from imputing knowledge

to the carriers from tobacco markings or labels on a

package, the only identified means to proving knowing

delivery. The appeals court’s decision is unworkable and

allows telephone and internet retailers to circumvent state

law by utilizing carriers to deliver contraband to minors.

20

The First Circuit decision thus draws into question

the underpinnings of this Court’s recent holding in Gran-

holm v. Heald, 544 U.S. 460 (2005). There, the Court

struck down certain state laws regulating youth access to

alcohol as discriminatory against out-of-state businesses

under the Commerce Clause. In doing so, the Court

explained that “the States can take less restrictive steps to

minimize the risk that minors will order wine by mail. For

example, the Model Direct Shipping Bill developed by the

National Conference of State Legislatures requires an

adult signature on delivery and a label so instructing on

each package.” Id. at 490-91. These requirements are

similar to those struck down by the First Circuit. It would

be a curious result indeed if the sort of “less restrictive”

state public health regulations relied upon in Granholm

are, in fact, preempted under the FAAAA.

Il. THE FIRST CIRCUIT’S PREEMPTION ANALY-

SIS IS INCORRECT AND NOT CONSISTENT

WITH THIS COURT’S DECISIONS.

The First Circuit’s decision conflicts with this Court’s

holdings which give a practical meaning to otherwise

boundless “relate to” preemption language. This Court's

approach honors the intent of Congress when considering

the scope of its preemption of states’ police powers. The

First Circuit’s decision, by contrast, rests upon a broad

reading of “related to” that effectively swallows up state

contraband delivery laws — even though Congress did not

manifest any intent, let alone a clear one, to preempt

states’ health-related police powers. The First Circuit

should have looked directly at the intent of Congress, as

identified by this Court, that only state economic laws

regulating carriers are preempted by the FAAAA. See City

21

of Columbus, 536 U.S. at 441. Congress did not intend to

preempt any and all traditional state public health laws

that happen to have some effect on the uniformity or

economic profitability of carriers.

The FAAAA language that preempts state laws

“related to a price, route, or service,” 49 U.S.C.

§§ 14501(c)(1), 41713(b)(4)(A), on its face is of the same

limitless breadth as that found in ERISA that preempts

state laws “insofar as they ... relate to any employee

benefit plan,” 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). But the Court has

explained in the context of ERISA that the term “relate to”

is “unhelpful” and “frustrating,” requiring resort to the

objectives of the federal legislation. New York State Con-

ference of Blue Cross & Blue Shield Plans v. Travelers Ins.

Co., 514 U.S. 645, 656 (1995). The term “relate to” cannot

be taken “to extend to the furthest stretch of its indeter-

minacy,” or else “for all practical purposes pre-emption

would never run its course.” Jd. at 655; see also California

Div. of Labor Standards Enforcement v. Dillingham

Construction, Inc., 519 U.S. 316, 335 (1997) (Scalia, J.,

concurring) (“as many a curbstone philosopher has ob-

served, everything is related to everything else.”). Under

such circumstances, the “preemption claims turn on

Congress’ intent,” not the literal application of “relate to.”

Travelers, 514 U.S. at 655. The First Circuit, however,

specifically chose not to apply this common sense approach

to similar preemption language in the FAAAA, stating

quite clearly that it is up to the Supreme Court, and not

the First Circuit, to do so. (App. 16). The Court should

take the opportunity to do so here.

Just as there is “nothing in the language of [ERISA]

or the context of its passage indicat[ing] that Congress

chose to displace general health care regulation, which

22

historically has been a matter of local concern,” Travelers,

514 U.S. at 661, so too there is nothing in the language or

context of the FAAAA’s passage suggesting Congress

enacted that law to displace state contraband delivery

laws. As noted by this Court, the FAAAA was intended to

preempt “the State’s economic authority . . . , ‘not restrict’

the preexisting traditional police power over” safety, City

of Columbus, 536 U.S. at 439, and obviously public health

as well. The conferees referred to this Court’s decision in

Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S. 374 (1992),

which dealt with similar “relating to” language in the

Airlines Deregulation Act (ADA), 49 U.S.C. § 1305(a)(1), as

setting forth the level of preemption, but in subsequent

pages the conferees repeatedly explained that preemptive

effect related to “economic” regulations. H.R. Conf. Rep.

No. 103-677, at 83, 84, 86-88 (1994), reprinted in 1994

U.S.C.C.A.N. 1715, 1755, 1756, 1258-60. The report went

on to explain that the committee’s intent was not to

preempt state authority to regulate such areas as safety

and hazardous material, which is only a “partially identi-

fied,” not “all inclusive” list, so long as the state regulation

is not a “guise for ... economic regulation.” H.R. Conf.

Rep. No. 103-677, at 83, 84 (1994), reprinted in 1994

U.S.C.C.A.N. 1715, 1755, 1756. Regulation in such areas

“is not a price, route or service and thus is unaffected.”

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 103-677, at 85 (1994), reprinted in

1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1715, 1757. Finally, the conferees noted

that several states, including Maine, had none of the

problematic laws that were intended to be preempted,

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 103-677, at 86, reprinted in 1994

U.S.C.C.AN. at 1757, 1758. At that time, Maine had

numerous contraband delivery laws on the books. See note

1, supra.

23

Thus, it is clear that when it used the broad phrase

“related to a price, route, or service,” Congress did not

intend it to be applied literally - and boundlessly — to

preempt state public health laws regulating retailers and

carriers regarding delivery of dangerous substances such

as tobacco. This Court already has approved of state laws

regulating the sale and distribution of tobacco to children,

Lorillard, 533 U.S. at 552, 571, and state laws requiring

adult signature and identifying markings for the delivery

of alcohol, Granholm v. Heald, 544 U.S. at 490. So long as

the state law is not intended to regulate the economics of

the carriers, such as setting rates or establishing tariffs,

there is no preemption under the FAAAA.

Had the First Circuit applied the correct analysis in

this case, it would have found that none of the provisions

of Maine law at issue were preempted. Section 1555-

C(3)(C) requires retailers to use a delivery carrier that

provides age verification and signature services in order to

prevent delivery of tobacco to children. First, these are not

economic regulations — they are intended only to protect

the health of children — and therefore are not embraced by

the FAAAA’s “related to” language. Moreover, this provi-

sion does not require a carrier to do anything — it merely

requires that a retailer use a service that is provided by

carriers. As noted, the only carrier to present record

evidence, UPS, stated that it offers a type of delivery

confirmation, adult-signature-required service, for an

additional nominal fee of either $1.75 or $2.75. All section

1555-C(3)(C) requires, therefore, is that retailers use a

carrier that chooses to provide the required service. It is

difficult to see how that regulates the “service” provided by

carriers.

24

The First Circuit’s decision appears to be founded on

the notion that this regulation of retailers somehow

coerces rival carriers to compete to provide such options,

and therefore is “related to” a service. (App. 24). Such a

boundless reading of a “related to” preemption provision is

precisely what this Court rejected in the ERISA line of

cases. Its effect, as a practical matter, is to eliminate any

state ability to control how retailers deliver tobacco,

alcohol and other substances, a result clearly at odds with

pronouncements of this Court and the intent of Congress.

The First Circuit’s holding regarding section 1555-D

fares no better. On the one hand, the court found that the

first part of section 1555-D — which prohibits the knowing

delivery of tobacco — is not preempted because that could

not possibly have been the intent of Congress. (App. 25-

27). On the other hand, the court held that the Maine

provision imputing knowledge to a carrier from tobacco

markings and labels — the only identified means to estab-

lish a knowing delivery — is preempted. (Jd. at 27-28). The

appeals court acknowledged the “tension” in its decision

and the “practical” difficulties for the State to prove its

case. (Id. at 28-29). Simply put, if a State cannot impute

knowledge to a carrier from a tobacco marking or label —

even though UPS stated that it already checks the outside

of packages for other markings, labels and signs of damage

~ the “practical” difficulties of enforcing Maine's law are in

reality insurmountable.

If the First Circuit were true to its reading of “related

to,” it would have struck down the first part of section

1555-D as well, but even that court realized Congress

could not have intended to bar the states from controlling

contraband. Instead, the appeals court upheld in theory a

state’s authority to regulate delivery of tobacco, but struck

25

down the only means to exercise that authority. As that

authority rests upon the state’s health-related police

powers, and not economic regulation, the appeals court

decision not only is unworkable but is in direct contraven-

tion of this Court’s holdings and Congress’ intent.

III. THE FIRST CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS INCON-

SISTENT WITH THE DECISIONS OF OTHER

COURTS OF APPEALS AS WELL AS LOWER

COURTS.

The First Circuit’s view of FAAAA preemption is

markedly at odds with that of the Ninth and Second

Circuits, as well as several lower courts. In Californians

for Safe & Competitive Dump Truck Transp. v. Mendonca,

152 F.3d 1184 (9th Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 526 U.S. 1060

(1999), the Ninth Circuit concluded that certain California

prevailing wage laws, which were alleged to increase

prices by 25 percent and to compel rerouting of equipment,

were not preempted by the FAAAA. Plaintiffs argued that

the FAAAA preempted the state prevailing wage law

because it “directly affects, and therefore is ‘related to’ the

prices, routes, and services of” plaintiffs. Jd. at 1189. The

Ninth Circuit found that California’s wage laws were

“state action in a field long regulated by the states,” and

do not “fall{) into the ‘fields of laws’ regulating prices,

routes, or services,” finding that nowhere in the FAAAA is

there any “mention of Congress’s intent to occupy the field

of general prevailing wage laws.” Jd. at 1189 & n.6. Obvi-

ously, the First Circuit takes the opposite view of the

FAAAA - although there is no mention of a Congressional

intent to preempt state public health laws, the appeals

court held that such an intent is presumed from the

“related to” language.

26

In reviewing the legislative history, the Ninth Circuit

noted that Congress identified 41 jurisdictions “which

regulated intrastate prices, routes and services, followed

by ten jurisdictions which did not regulate in those areas.”

Id. at 1187, relying upon H.R. Conf. Rep. 103-677, at 86

(1994), reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1758. Seven of

the latter ten jurisdictions, including Maine, had prevail-

ing wage laws at the time of FAAAA’s enactment. /d. at

1187 & n.3. The appeals court found this constitutes

“indirect evidence that Congress did not intend to prevent”

prevailing wage laws, a “perception reinforced by the

absence of any positive indication in the legislative history

that Congress intended preemption in this area of tradi-

tional state power.” Jd. at 1188. Similarly, Maine was

identified by the conferees as a state with no problematic

laws; although Maine had substance delivery laws on the

books when the FAAAA was enacted (see note 1, supra),

the First Circuit ignored this key consideration.

The appeals courts also disagree regarding the inter-

play between the interpretations of the similar “related to”

preemption language of the FAAAA, Airline Deregulation

Act (“ADA”), and ERISA. The Ninth Circuit read Morales

and American Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, 513 U.S. 219, 234-

35 (1995), both of which dealt with the ADA, as not estab-

lishing a rigid and boundless rule of preemption, and

incorporated into its FAAAA analysis this Court's practical

approach toward preemption found in subsequent ERISA

cases “to preserve the proper and legitimate balance

between federal and state authority.” Mendonca, 152 F.3d

at 1188-89. The First Circuit read Morales and Wolens as

requiring courts only to “focus ... on the effect that the

state law has on ... operations,” and, as noted previously,

27

specifically declined to apply this Court’s ERISA analysis

to the FAAAA. (App. 15-20).

Subsequently, in Ace Auto Body & Towing, Ltd. v. City

of New York, 171 F.3d 765 (2d Cir. 1999), the Second

Circuit dealt with the scope of the FAAAA’s tow truck

exception to preemption, deciding that certain New York

City towing regulations were not preempted by the

FAAAA. That appeals court, like the Ninth Circuit, began

with the basic proposition that a state’s historic police

powers are not superseded unless that was the “clear and

manifest purpose of Congress.” Id. at 771. The Second

Circuit found that FAAAA preempts economic regulation,

and applied the “common sense” approach towards pre-

emption from its ERISA cases. Id. at 773-74. Again, the

First Circuit takes the opposite approach.

Three lower courts have directly found tobacco con-

traband and delivery laws not to be preempted by the

FAAAA. In New York State Motor Truck Assoc. v. Pataki,

2004 U.S. Dist. Lexis 25519 (S.D. N.Y. 2004), the court

rejected a claim that the FAAAA facially preempted New

York’s law mandating, inter alia, that if the carrier trans-

ported cigarettes to a home or residence, the carrier is

presumed to know that such person was not a statutorily

authorized recipient. In Ward v. New York, 291 F. Supp. 2d

188 (W.D. N.Y. 2003), brought by tobacco retailers and

manufacturers, the court denied a motion for a temporary

restraining order against enforcement of that law, conclud-

ing plaintiffs’ FAAAA preemption claim was not likely to

succeed. The courts concluded that Congress -was con-

cerned with “state economic regulation,” not public health

laws. Pataki, 2004 U.S. Dist. Lexis 25519, at *16; Ward,

291 F. Supp. 2d at 209-10. The Pataki court put it best,

holding “there is nothing within the body of the federal

28

law or in the legislative history suggesting Congress

intended to usurp the states’ power to regulate the manner

in which cigarettes are shipped into their borders in order

to protect their citizenry from the pernicious effects of

tubacco which negatively impacts on the states’ economy.”

Pataki, 2004 U.S. Dist. Lexis 25519, at *21.

Finally, in Robertson v. State of Washington Liquor

Control Board, 10 P.3d 1079 (Wash. App. Ct. 2000), the

court rejected a claim that Washington’s law governing the

forfeiture of unstamped cigarettes was preempted by the

FAAAA. Using reasoning similar to that of the New York

district courts, the Washington court upheld the Washing-

ton law even though it did have an impact on the use of

plaintiff ’s truck to haul contraband cigarettes, noting that

if the FAAAA preempted state laws prohibiting the “ser-

vice” of transporting contraband, “a motor carrier would be

exempt from forfeiture for transporting a methampheta-

mine lab, poached game, or contraband cigarettes.” Jd. at

858. The First Circuit’s decision draws that obvious and

correct conclusion into question.

Sd

29

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

G. STEVEN ROWE

Attorney General

PAUL STERN

Deputy Attorney General

(Counsel of Record)

MELISSA REYNOLDS O’DEA

PETER B. LAFOND

CHRISTOPHER C. TAUB

Assistant Attorneys General

Six State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333-0006

(207) 626-8568

Counsel for Petitioner

App. 1

NEW HAMPSHIRE MOTOR TRANSPORT

ASSOCIATION; MASSACHUSETTS MOTOR

TRANSPORTATION ASSOCIATION, INC.;

VERMONT TRUCK & BUS ASSOCIATION, INC.,

Plaintiffs, Appellees, v.G. STEVEN ROWE, in his

official capacity as Attorney General for the State

of Maine, Defendant, Appellant.

No. 05-2136.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

448 F.3d 66; 2006 U.S. App. LEXIS 12264

May 19, 2006, Decided

COUNSEL: Paul Stern, Deputy Attorney General, with

whom G. Steven Rowe, Attorney General, Melissa Rey-

nolds O’Dea, Peter B. LaFond, and Christopher C. Taub,

Assistant Attorneys General, Office of the Attorney Gen-

eral, were on brief, for appellant.

Ruth N. Borenstein, with whom Paul T. Friedman, Law-

rence R. Katzin, Morrison & Foerster LLP, Michael A.

Nelson and Jensen Baird Gardner & Henry, were on brief,

for appellees.

JUDGES: Before BOUDIN, Chief Judge, STAHL, Senior

Circuit Judge, and HOWARD, Circuit Judge.

OPINION BY: HOWARD

OPINION:

HOWARD, Circuit Judge. In 2003, Maine enacted a

law to restrict and regulate the sale and delivery of tobacco

products purchased via the internet or other electronic

means. Several trade associations, representing air and

motor carriers of property, brought this action against the

App. 2

Maine Attorney General alleging that certain provisions of

this law are preempted by the Federal Aviation Admini-

stration Authorization Act of 1994 (FAAAA). The district

court granted summary judgment for the associations and

enjoined Maine’s Attorney General from enforcing the law.

We affirm in all respects but one.’

I.

A. The FAAAA

There are two FAAAA preemption provisions at issue

in this case. See Pub. L. No. 103-305, § 601; 108 Stat.

1569. The first provides that a “State ... may not enact or

enforce a law . . . related to a price, route, or service of any

motor carrier ... with respect to the transportation of

property.” 49 U.S.C. § 14501(c)(1). The second states that a

“State may not enact or enforce a law . .. related to a price,

route, or service of an air carrier or carrier affiliated with a

direct air carrier through common controlling ownership

when such carrier is transporting property by aircraft or by

motor vehicle. . . .” 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(4)(A).

These provisions combine to bar states (subject to

certain exceptions discussed later) from enacting laws

related to prices, routes, or services of air or motor carriers

of property. They are “intended to function in the exact same

manner with respect to [their] preemptive effects.” H.R.

Conf. Rep. 103-677 at 85, reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. at

1757.

' We are grateful for the amicus curiae briefs filed by several state

attorneys general, the American Trucking Association, the Federal

Express Corporation and the United States Chamber of Commerce.

App. 3

B. The Maine Tobacco Delivery Law

In 2003, the Maine Legislature adopted “An Act to

Regulate the Sale of Tobacco Products and to Prevent the

Sale of Cigarettes to Minors.” See L.D. 1236 (121st Maine

Leg.) (codified at 22 M.R.S.A. §§ 1551, 1555-C & 1555-D)

(Tobacco Delivery Law). The Tobacco Delivery Law was

prompted by the recent increase in internet tobacco sales

which are consummated by direct delivery to consumers

through the mail or by commercial carriers. See Testimony

of Representative Glen Cummings Before the Joint Stand-

ing Committee on Health & Human Services (Apr. 29,

2003). This phenomenon has complicated Maine’s efforts

to regulate “the sale of tobacco products to minors” and

caused it to lose “tremendous tax revenues as a result of

tax free sales by unlicensed companies.” Jd. The associa-

tions persuaded the district court that §§ 1555-C(3)(C) &

1555-D are preempted by the FAAAA.

1. § 1555-C(3)(C)

Maine’s Tobacco Delivery Law permits a licensed

tobacco retailer to sell tobacco products’ directly to con-

sumers via the internet or other electronic means so long

as the retailer takes specified steps to ensure that sales

are not made to minors. See id. §§ 1555-C(2) & (3). One

such step requires the retailer to use a carrier that will

ensure that: (1) the purchaser of the tobacco products is

the same person as the addressee of the package; (2) the

* Tobacco products are broadly defined to include “any form of

tobacco and any material or device used in the smoking, chewing, or

other form of tobacco consumption, including cigarette papers and

pipes.” 22 M.R.S.A. § 1551(3).

App. 4

addressee is of legal age to purchase tobacco products and

sign for the package; and (3) if the addressee is under 27

years of age, that she show a valid government-issued

identification verifying that she is old enough to purchase

tobacco products. Id. § 1555-C(3)(C). Penalties are imposed

only against the retailer for violations of this provision.

See id. §§ 1555-C(3)(E) & (F).

2. § 1555-D

Section 1555-D makes it illegal for any person to

knowingly deliver tobacco products to a Maine consumer if

the products were purchased from an unlicensed retailer.’

The section also states that a person delivering a package

“is deemed to know” that the package contains tobacco

products if it (1) so indicates on any side other than the

side directly opposite the label, see Code of Me. R. ch. 203,

§ 11, or (2) was shipped by a person listed by the Attorney

General as an unlicensed tobacco retailer.*

C. The Effect of the Tobacco Delivery Law on

United Parcel Service (UPS)

As discussed in further detail below, one way for the

associations to prove that the challenged provisions of the

Tobacco Delivery Law are preempted by the FAAAA is to

demonstrate that they have a forbidden significant effect

* It does not, however, bar the delivery of tobacco products pur-

chased from an unlicensed retailer to a licensed tobacco retailer or

distributor operating in Maine. See id.

‘ The Attorney General maintains a list of unlicensed tobacco

retailers that he distributes to carriers operating in Maine. 22 M.RS.A.

§ 1555-D (2).

App. 5

on carrier services. See infra at 25. The associations have

attempted to make this showing by highlighting the effect

of the challenged provisions on UPS, a motor/air carrier of

property operating in Maine.’

UPS, which delivers approximately 65,000 packages

per day in Maine, offers door-to-door delivery service of

packages and delivery of packages on an express basis. Its

delivery operations function as an integrated system,

requiring extensive planning and coordination among its

operating facilities and ground and air fleet. Delays and

disruptions in the sorting and delivery of packages can

affect the timely delivery of thousands of packages within

the UPS system.

Prior to the enactment of § 1555-C(3)(C), UPS did not

require that its drivers deliver a package only to the

addressee, and it did not require a signature from the

recipient of the package unless the shipper paid a pre-

mium for this additional service. UPS determined that it

would not be feasible to alter its delivery operations to

provide these new services in Maine, so it stopped deliver-

ing all tobacco products to Maine consumers.

To make deliveries of tobacce products to licensed

retailers and distributors in Maine as permitted by § 1555-

D, UPS now has modified its uniform package delivery

procedures to identify packages that contain tobacco

products. UPS requires that its preloaders in Maine (the

employees who place the packages on the trucks for

delivery) specially examine each package to determine if it

* While the associations rely on UPS’ experience to prove that the

Tobacco Delivery has a forbidden significant effect on carriers, UPS is

not a party to this action.

App. 6

is marked as containing tobacco or if the name of the

addressee or shipper indicates that the package likely

contains tobacco.‘ Packages identified as likely containing

tobacco products are then segregated so that UPS employ-

ees can research whether the package is destined for a

licensed tobacco retailer or distributor. If UPS determines

that the addressee is not a licensed tobacco retailer or

distributor, it arranges to return the package to the

shipper or otherwise to dispose of the package.

D. The District Court Decision

Proceeding from the premise that the FAAAA pre-

empts a state law if it “expressly references” a carrier’s

prices, routes, or services or has a “forbidden significant

effect” on the same, the district court concluded that the

challenged provisions of the Tobacco Delivery Law are

preempted by the FAAAA. See N.H. Motor Transp. Ass’n v.

Rowe, 377 F.Supp. 2d 197, 210 (D. Me. 2005) (citing

United Parcel Serv., Inc. v. Flores-Galarza, 318 F.3d 323,

334-35 (1st Cir. 2003) (UPS I). The court determined that,

while § 1555-C(3C) did not expressly reference carrier

services because that section is directed only at retailers of

tobacco products, it has a forbidden significant effect on

UPS because, for the carrier to accept packages containing

tobacco for delivery in Maine, it would have to adopt

procedures that would “alter [its] delivery practices” for

these packages. /d. at 216.

* UPS does not cross-reference packages against the Attorney

General’s list to determine if the shipper is listed as an unlicensed

tobacco retailer.

App. 7

The court also ruled that § 1555-D both expressly

references and has a forbidden significant effect on carrier

services. It concluded that the provision expressly refer-

ences services because it prohibits carriers from delivering

a certain class of tobacco products, i.e., tobacco products

purchased by Maine consumers from unlicensed retailers.

See id. at 211-12. It also concluded that the provision also

has a forbidden significant effect because it forced UPS to

depart from “its nationally uniform procedure” by inspect-

ing each package to identify the contents. Jd. at 212. The

Attorney General timely appealed from this ruling.’

II.

. A. Jurisdiction

Before reaching the merits of the Attorney General’s

appeal, we consider two threshold jurisdictional issues.

The Attorney General asserts that the associations lack

standing and that the action is moot in light of events

occurring subsequent to the noticing of the appeal.

1. Standing

The associations invoke the representational standing

doctrine recognized by the Supreme Court in Hunt v.

Washington State Apple Adver. Comm’n, 432 U.S. 333, 343,

97 S. Ct. 2434, 53 L. Ed. 2d 383 (1977). Under this doc-

trine, “an association has standing to bring suit on behalf

* The district court found that another section of the Tobacco

Delivery Law, which requires the shipper of tobacco products to inform

the carrier of the age of the purchaser, was not preempted. Jd. at 217

(citing 22 M.R.S.A. § 1555-C(3)A)). The associations have not cross-

appealed from this ruling.

App. 8

of its members when: (a) its members would otherwise

have standing to sue in their own right; (b) the interests it

seeks to protect are germane to the organization’s purpose;

and (c) neither the claim asserted nor the relief requested

requires the participation of individualized members in

the lawsuit.” Id.

The Attorney General focuses his argument on the

third Hunt factor. He contends that evidence concerning

the effect that the challenged provisions of the Tobacco

Delivery Law have on UPS suffices only to justify preemp-

tion of the challenged provisions as to UPS. Preemption

against other carriers should occur only to the extent that

the other carriers individually prove that the challenged

provisions have a forbidden significant effect on their

prices, routes, or services.

The district court rejected this argument, observing

that “la]ssociational standing is ... granted in cases

seeking injunctive relief rather than damages, because

individualized proof is not necessary and the relief usually

inures to the benefit of all members injured.” N.H. Motor

Transp. Ass’n v. Rowe, 324 F. Supp. 2d 231, 236 (D. Me.

2004). Because the associations only sought an injunction

and a declaratory judgment against the challenged provi-

sions, the court ruled that the third Hunt factor was

satisfied. See id. at 236 (citing Playboy Enters., Inc. v. Pub.

Serv. Comm’n of P.R., 906 7.2d 25, 35 (1st Cir. 1990)).

After the district court issued this ruling, we clarified

the requirements for establishing the third Hunt factor. In

so doing, we acknowledged that “there is no well developed

test in this circuit as to how the third prong of the Hunt

test .. . applies in cases where injunctive relief is sought.”

Pharmaceutical Care Mgmt. Ass’n v. Rowe, 429 F.3d 294,

App. 9

313-14 (1st Cir. 2005). But we did not embrace the proposi-

tion that, under Playboy Enters. the third Hunt factor is

always satisfied where an association seeks injunctive

relief on behalf of all of its members. See Rowe, 429 F.3d at

314 (“Playboy is not an open door for association standing

in all injunction cases where member circumstances differ

and proof of them is important.”). We concluded that

representational standing is inappropriate if adjudicating

the merits of an association’s claim requires the court to

engage in a “fact-intensive-individual inquiry.” Jd. (quoting

Penn. Psychiatric Soc. v. Green Spring Health Servs., Inc.,

280 F.3d 278, 287 (3d Cir. 2002)). We therefore turn to

whether the associations’ preemption claim requires a

sufficiently fact-intensive inquiry to preclude representa-

tional standing.

The FAAAA provides that a state law is preempted if it

relates to the prices, routes, or services of “any motor carrier”

or “an air carrier.” 49 U.S.C. §§ 14501(c) & 41713(b)(4)(A)

(emphases supplied). “Any” means “one ... of whatever

kind,” and “an” means “one.” Merriam Webster’s Collegiate

Dictionary at 40, 53 (10th ed.2001). The language of the

FAAAA accordingly suggests that, if a state law is pre-

empted as to one carrier, it is preempted as to all carriers.”

See N.H. Motor Transp. Ass’n, 377 F. Supp. 2d at 219. Such

a reading accords with one of the FAAAA’s central pur-

poses: to establish a “level playing field” among carriers.

H.R. Conf. Rep. 103-677 at 85, reprinted in 1994

U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1757; see Californians for Safe Dump

* Even if “an” as used in § 41713(b\(4)(A) is ambiguous, “any” as

used in § 14501(c) is clear, and Congress has emphasized that these

provisions were intended to “function in the exact same manner.” H.R.

Conf. Rep. 103-677 at 85, reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1757.

App. 10

Truck Transp. v. Mendonca, 152 F.3d 1184, 1187 (9th Cir.

1998). If preemption were judged on a carrier-specific

basis, the result would be a “patchwork” of state laws

applying to some carriers and not to others, depending on

which carriers proceeded to litigation. H.R. Conf. Rep. 103-

677 at 87 reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1759. Such a

result would undermine Congress’ goal of encouraging

uniformity in carrier regulation. Thus, the associations

can prevail by establishing that the challenged provisions

of the Tobacco Delivery Law have a forbidden significant

effect on one carrier. The district court correctly ruled that

the associations have standing to press their preemption

claim. See Rowe, 429 F.3d at 314.”

2. Mootness

After the district court granted summary judgment,

UPS settled an enforcement action brought by the New

York Attorney General under a New York law restricting

the ability of carriers to deliver cigarettes to consumers.

See N.Y. Pub. Health Law § 1399-11(2) (McKinney 2001). In

that settlement, UPS promised to stop “shipping cigarettes

to individual consumers in the United States while still

permitting lawful shipments of cigarettes to licensed

tobacco businesses.” To fulfill this promise, UPS agreed (1)

to identify all shippers that may be cigarette retailers and

* The Attorney General also argues that representational standing

should not be allowed because “the increased use of [representational]

standing by large businesses [makes] the defense of suits ... more

difficult by controlling discovery and access to information.” We do not

foreclose the possibility that representational standing may be im-

proper in a particular case because of some hardship imposed on a

defendant in conducting discovery. But the Attorney General has not

attempted to demonstrate such a hardship here.

App. 11

advise them that UPS will not accept cigarettes for deliv-

ery to consumers; (2) to discipline shippers that violate

UPS's non-delivery policy; (3) to impose measures to

ensure that employees “actively” look for indications that a

package contains cigarettes; and (4) to instruct drivers not

to deliver cigarette packages to consumers.

The Attorney General argues that, as a result of the

settlement, this appeal has become moot, the judgment

should be vacated and the case should be dismissed. See

Duke Power Co. v. Greenwood County, 299 U.S. 259, 267,

57 S. Ct. 202, 81 L. Ed. 178 (1936) (stating that where a

case becomes moot while on appeal, the appellate court

must set aside the judgment and remand the case with

instructions that it be dismissed). He contends that, by

agreeing not to deliver cigarettes directly to consumers

throughout the United States and directing employees

actively to look for cigarettes, UPS is no longer affected by

the Tobacco Delivery Law.

Article III considerations require that an actual case

or controversy exist between the parties throughout the

course of litigation. See Ramirez v. Sanchez Ramos, 438

F.3d 92, 100 (1st Cir. 2006). A case must be dismissed as

moot “if, at some time after the institution of the action,

the parties no longer have a legally cognizable stake in the

outcome.” Goodwin v. C.N.J., Inc., 436 F.3d 44, 46 (1st Cir.

2006). This rule applies even where the case becomes moot

while pending on appeal. See Great Western Sugar Co. v.

Nelson, 442 U.S. 92, 93, 99 S. Ct. 2149, 60 L. Ed. 2d 735

(1979) (per curiam). But “[t]he burden of establishing

mootness rests squarely on the party raising it, and the

burden is a heavy one.” Mangual v. Rotger-Sabat, 317 F.3d

45, 60 (1st Cir. 2003) (citation omitted). To establish moot-

ness, the party raising it must show that the court cannot

App. 12

grant any “effectual relief whatever” to its opponent.

Church of Scientology of Cal. v. United States, 506 U.S. 9,

12, 113 S. Ct. 447, 121 L. Ed. 2d 313 (1992).

The Attorney General has not met this heavy burden.

The New York settlement agreement applies only to the

delivery of cigarettes, but the Tobacco Delivery Law

applies to “any form of tobacco and any material or device

used in the smoking, chewing or other form of tobacco

consumption.” 22 M.R.S.A. § 1551-3. UPS could therefore

adhere to the terms of the settlement agreement and

nevertheless violate the Tobacco Delivery Law by unlaw-

fully delivering non-cigarette tobacco products. Because

enjoining the challenged provisions would permit UPS to

deliver all tobacco products, effectual relief remains

available.

B. Preemption

We turn now to the merits of the district court’s

preemption ruling. We review the ruling de novo, consider-

ing the record and all reasonable inferences in the light

most favorable to the Attorney General. See Mullin v.

Raytheon Co., 164 F.3d 696, 698 (1st Cir. 1999). We may

affirm on any ground revealed by the record. See Houlton

Citizens’ Coalition v. Houlton, 175 F.3d 178, 183-84 (1st

Cir. 1999).

The Attorney General presents two arguments for

reversal. First, he contends that the FAAAA does not

preempt state laws enacted pursuant to a state’s police

power to protect the health and welfare of its citizens. The

Attorney General asserts that the FAAAA preempts only

state laws that impose traditional economic regulation on

carriers — e.g. entry and commodity controls, tariff filing

App. 13

requirements, and price ceilings. Because the Tobacco

Delivery Law does not impose such traditional economic

restrictions, the Attorney General argues that the FAAAA

does not apply. Alternatively, the Attorney General con-

tends that, even if the Act applies, neither challenged

provision is “related to” carrier services within the mean-

ing of the FAAAA.

1. Applicability of the FAAAA to a State’s

Police-Power Enactments

A fundamental tenet of our federalist system is that

constitutionally enacted federal law is supreme to state

law. See U.S. Const. Art. VI. cl. 2. As a result, federal law

sometimes preempts state law either expressly or by

implication. See Gade v. Nat’l Solid Wastes Mgmt. Ass’n,

505 U.S. 88, 98, 112 S. Ct. 2374, 120 L. Ed. 2d 73 (1992).

“Express preemption occurs when Congress has unmis-

takably ... ordained that its enactments alone are to

regulate a , oujuet and state laws regulating that subject

must fall.” Mass. Ass’n of Health Maintenance Organiza-

tions v. Ruthardt, 194 F.3d 176, 179 (1st Cir. 1999) (cita-

tion omitted). In every preemption case, “the purpose of

Congress is the ultimate touchstone.” Medtronic, Inc. v.

Lohr, 518 U.S. 470, 485, 116 S. Ct. 2240, 135 L. Ed. 2d 700

(1996). The primary focus is on the “plain wording” of the

statute because the text “contains the best evidence of

Congress’ pre-emptive intent.” Sprietsma v. Mercury

Marine, 537 U.S. 51, 62, 123 S. Ct. 518, 154 L. Ed. 2d 466

(2002). But “[allso relevant is the structure and purpose of

the statute as a whole as revealed . . . through the reviewing

court’s reasoned understanding of the way in which Congress

intended the statute and its surrounding regulatory scheme

App. 14

to affect business, consumers and the law.” Medtronic, 518

U.S. at 486.”°

We begin with the text. As mentioned above, the

FAAAA prohibits states from enacting laws “related to a

price, route, or service” of a carrier. 49 U.S.C. §§ 14501(c)

& 41713(b\4\A). This language was patterned after the

preemption provision of the Airline Deregulation Act of

1978. See H.R. Conf. Rep. 103-677 at 85, reprinted in 1994

U.S.C.C.A.N. 1757, 1759; Mendonca, 152 F.3d at 1184;

Desardouin v. United Parcel Serv., Inc., 285 F. Supp. 2d

153, 162 (D. Conn. 2003). Therefore, in addition to cases

interpreting the FAAAA, we look to cases interpreting the

Airline Deregulation Act. UPS I, 318 F.3d at 335-36;

Mastercraft Interiors, Ltd. v. ABF Freight Sys., Inc., 284

F. Supp. 2d 284, 287 (D. Md. 2003).

The parties devote a great deal of argument to whether we

should conduct our preemption analysis with a presumption against

preemption because the state law at issue was enacted to further

Maine’s police-power interest. See Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331

U.S. 218, 230, 67 S. Ct. 1146, 91 L. Ed. 1447 (1947) (stating that a

preemption analysis starts “with the assumption that the historic police

powers of the States were not to be superseded by the Federal Act

unless that was the clear and manifest purpose of Congress”). The

circumstances in which the presumption is to apply are not altogether

clear. Compare Medtronic, 518 U.S. at 485 (stating that the presump-

tion against preemption applies “in all preemption cases”) with United

States v. Locke, 529 U.S. 89, 108, 120 S. Ct. 1135, 146 L. Ed. 2d 69

(2000) (holding the presumption inapplicable where “the State legis-

lates in an area where there has been a history of significant federal

presence”). In any event, the presumption can be overcome where the

congressional purpose is sufficiently clear. See Egelhoff v. Egelhoff 532

U.S. 141, 151, 121 S. Ct. 1322, 149 L. Ed. 2d 264 (2001). For the reasons

discussed infra, we think that the congressional intent to preempt state

police-power enactments that are related to carrier prices, routes, or

services is sufficiently clear to overcome any presumption that would

apply here.

App. 15

The seminal case is Morales v. Trans World Airlines,

Inc., 504 U.S. 374, 112 S. Ct. 2031, 119 L. Ed. 2d 157

(1992). Like the FAAAA, the version of the Airline Deregu-

lation Act considered in Morales preempted state laws

“relating to rates, routes or services of any air carrier.” ”

The Court identified “relating to” as the key phrase in

determining the breadth of the preemption provision and

concluded that the “words . . . express a broad pre-emptive

purpose.” Jd. at 383. It relied on several cases in which the

Court had interpreted a similarly-worded provision of the

Employment Retirement Security Act of 1974 (ERISA)

preempting all state laws that “relate to” an employee

benefit plan. Jd. at 384. The Morales Court emphasized

that this language had an “expansive sweep” and that it

was “conspicuous for its breadth.” Jd. In light of Congress’

use of similarly broad language, the Court concluded that

Congress intended the Airline Deregulation Act to preempt

any state law that has “a connection with or reference to

airline rates, routes, or services.” Id.

The FAAAA’s drafters were familiar with Morales and

approved of its reasoning. The Conference Committee

Report explains that “the conferees [did] not intend to

alter the broad preemption interpretation adopted by the

United States Supreme Court in Morales... .” H.R. Conf.

Rep. 103-677 at 83, reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. at

1755. The sweep of the FAAAA’s text and the drafters’

expressed intent to use Morales as a roadmap are strong

evidence that the FAAAA was not intended to preempt

In 1994 Congress replaced “relating” with “related” and “rates”

with “price” but did not intend these revisions to substantively change

the law. See Pub. L. No. 103-272, § 1(a); 108 Stat. 745. This provision is

currently codified at 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1).

App. 16

only a narrow class of economic regulations while exclud-

ing the many laws enacted by the states under their police

powers. If Congress had such a limited purpose in mind, it

likely would have employed narrower language in fashion-

ing the FAAAA preemption provisions. Cf. Botz v. Omni

Air Intl, 286 F.3d 488, 493-94 (8th Cir. 2002) (“Although

Congress could easily have selected more restrictive

terminology to describe the type of ... enactment the

{Airline Deregulation Act] pre-empts, the provision as

written is without language that would produce a more

limited pre-emptive effect.”).

The Attorney General argues that we should disre-

gard Morales because, post-Morales, the Supreme Court

has narrowed its understanding of ERISA’s “relat[ing] to”

language. We previously rejected this identical argument:

The Secretary argues that the broad preemption

standard adopted in Morales has been overruled

by a number of Supreme Court cases narrowing

the preemptive effect of [ERISA]. While the

Morales Court undoubtedly took its interpretive

cues from the ERISA preemption jurisprudence

then in existence, it does not follow that any

change in the ERISA law necessitates a parallel

change in the law affecting . . . carriers. As Judge

Easterbrook has put it: [I]f developments in pen-

sion law have under-cut holdings in air-

transportation law, it is for the Supreme Court

itself to make the adjustments. Our marching

orders are clear: follow decisions until the Su-

preme Court overrules them.

UPS I, 318 F.3d at 335 n. 19 (quoting United Airlines, Inc.

v. Mesa Airlines, Inc., 219 F.3d 605, 608 (7th Cir. 2000)).

Absent extraordinary circumstances not present here, we

are not at liberty to disregard this ruling. See United

App. 17

States v. Wogan, 938 F.2d 1446, 1449 (1st Cir. 1991) (“We

have held, time and again, that in a multi-panel circuit,

prior panel decisions are binding upon newly constituted

panels in the absence of supervening authority sufficient

to warrant disregard of established precedent.”).

We look also to the FAAAA’s structure and legislative

history. The FAAAA includes a series of exceptions to the

general preemption rule. The excepted areas are:

the safety regulatory authority of a State with

respect to motor vehicles, the authority of a State

to impose highway route controls or limitations

based on the size or weight of the motor vehicle

or the hazardous nature of the cargo, or the au-

thority of a State to regulate motor carriers with

regard to minimum amounts of financial respon-

sibility relating to insurance requirements and

self-insurance authorization.

49 US.C. §§ 14501(cX2) & 41713(b)4)(BXi). The Attorney

General acknowledges that the challenged provisions of the

Tobacco Delivery Law do not fall within any of these excep-

tions. He contends, however, that these statutory exceptions

suggest broader congressional purpose to permit states to

regulate carriers to protect citizen health and safety. The

Attorney General points to a passage from the FAAAA’s

legislative history indicating that the enumerated excep-

tions were “not intended to be all inclusive,” H.R. Conf. Rep.

103-677 at 84, reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1756, to

argue that we may establish an additional exception to

FAAAA preemption for laws enacted pursuant to a state’s

police power to protect the health and welfare of its

citizens.

We have cautioned that an overly broad interpretation

of the FAAAA exceptions “would swallow the rule of

App. 18

preemption.” United Parcel Serv., Inc. v. Flores-Galarza,

385 F.3d 9, 14 (1st Cir. 2004) (UPS II). An exclusion from

preemption for police-power enactments would surely

“swallow the rule of preemption,” as most state laws are

enacted pursuant to this authority. Jd. The exceptions

preserving the states’ authority to regulate motor vehicles

do not support the Attorney General’s argument. See id.

{rejecting an argument that the FAAAA preemption

exceptions indicate a congressional intent to preserve state

authority over safety issues generally).

While the statute’s structure does not support the

Attorney General’s police-power argument, there is some

support in the legislative history for his view that the

FAAAA preempts only state economic regulation. The

Conference Committee Report observed that “(state

economic regulation of motor carriers ... is a huge prob-

lem for national and regional carriers attempting to

conduct a standard way of doing business.” H.R. Conf.

Rep. No. 103-677 at 85, reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. at

1757. The conferees identified “typical forms” of harmful

regulation to include “entry controls, tariff filing, price

regulation,” and regulation of the “types of commodities

carried.” Jd. at 1758. This history led the Supreme Court

to remark that “the problem to which the [FAAAA] con-

gressional conferees attended was state economic regula-

tion.” Columbus v. Ours Garage & Wrecker Serv., 536 U.S.

424, 440, 122 S. Ct. 2226, 153 L. Ed. 2d 430 (2002). This

history, however, does not indicate that preempting eco-

nomic regulation was the FAAAA’s only purpose. And, in

any event, the legislative history cannot trump the stat-

ute’s text. See Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S.

504, 521, 112 S. Ct. 2608, 120 L. Ed. 2d 407 (1992) (declin-

ing to adopt a limited interpretation of a preemption

App. 19

provision suggested by legislative history because “the

language of the [cigarette labeling] Act plainly reaches”

further); Morales, 504 U.S. at 385 n.2. (The “legislative

history need not confirm the details of changes in the law

effected by statutory language before we will interpret

that language according to its natural meaning.”). Con-

gress often acts to address a specific problem but ulti-

mately settles on a broader remedy. See Penn. Dep't of

Corr. v. Yeskey, 524 U.S. 206, 213, 118 S.Ct. 1952, 141

L. Ed. 2d 215 (1998) (“[T]he fact that a statute can be

applied in situations not expressly anticipated by Con-

gress does not demonstrate ambiguity. It demonstrates

breadth.”).

In addition, the legislative history reveals a second

goal for FAAAA preemption which is inconsistent with the

Attorney’s General argument: “to create a completely level

playing field between air carriers . .. on the one hand and

motor carriers on the other.” H.R. Conf. Rep. 103-677 at

85, reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1757. In other

words, the conferees intended the scope of FAAAA and

Airline Deregulation Act preemption to be coterminous.

See Ace Auto Body & Towing Ltd. v. City of New York, 171

F.3d 765, 772 (2d Cir. 1999); Mendonca, 152 F.3d at 1187.

In the Airline Deregulation Act context, the Supreme

Court has focused on the effect that a state law has on

carrier operations, not on the state’s purpose for enacting

the law. In Morales, the Court found that the Airline

Deregulation Act preempted a directive promulgated by

several state attorneys general informing airlines that

certain advertising practices would be considered to

violate state consumer-protection laws. 504 U.S. at 379.

And, in American Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, 513 U.S. 219,

227-28, 115 S. Ct. 817, 130 L. Ed. 2d 715 (1995), the Court

App. 20

held that the Airline Deregulation Act preempted a cause

of action under the Illinois Consumer Fraud Act concern-

ing the redemption of frequent-flier miles. In both cases,

the Court’s preemption analysis centered on the impact

that the challenged state laws had on airline services and

rates and not on the fact that the preempted laws were

enacted pursuant to the states’ police power to combat

consumer fraud. See Fla. Lime & Avocado Growers v. Paul,

373 U.S. 132, 150, 83 S. Ct. 1210, 10 L. Ed. 2d 248 (1963)

(describing the traditional state authority to pass laws to

combat consumer fraud). The Court reached these conclu-

sions over dissents by Justice Stevens arguing (similarly

to the Attorney General here) that the state laws at issue

should not be preempted because there was insufficient

evidence of congressional intent to preempt state police-

power enactments. See Am. Airlines, 513 U.S. at 235-31

(Steven, J. dissenting in part); Morales, 504 U.S. at 419-27

(Stevens, J., dissenting).

Morales and American Airlines thus teach that, under

the Airline Deregulation Act, the focus should be on the

effect that the state law has on airline operations. Accept-

ing the Attorney General’s argument would shift the

analysis under the FAAAA away from that state law’s

effect and towards the state’s purpose for enacting the law.

A purpose-related limitation on FAAAA preemption would

thus inevitably create a gap between the scope of FAAAA

and Airline Deregulation Act preemption - a gap which

the FAAAA drafters sought to avoid.

In the end, the Attorney General’s argument founders

because it cannot be reconciled with the FAAAA’s text. The

Act’s drafters chose to express the preemptive scope of the

FAAAA in words that they understood to be exceedingly

broad. In the preemption context, we are to give effect to

App. 21

the ordinary meaning of a congressional enactment

“unless there is good reason to believe that Congress

intended the language to have some more restrictive

meaning.” Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 521. We do not find a

sufficiently compelling basis in either the structure or

history of the FAAAA to interpret the Act contrary to its

“deliberately expansive text.” Morales, 504 U.S. at 384. We

therefore conclude that the FAAAA preempts state police-

power enactments to the extent that they are “related to” a

carrier’s prices, routes, or services.”

2. FAAAA Preemption of the Tobacco

Delivery Law

We turn now to whether the challenged provisions of

the Tobacco Delivery Law are preempted because they are

“related to” carrier services. The parties do not contest

that carriers provide the service of delivering “packages on

an express or time-guaranteed basis.” See N.H. Motor

* The Attorney General offers a narrower argument for excluding

from FAAAA preemption state laws intended to address underage

smoking. He cites the Synar Amendn-ent, a federal law conditioning the

states’ receipt of certain federal funds on their enacting laws to ban the

sale of tobacco products to minors. See 42 U.S.C. § 300x-26. The

Attorney General contends that the Synar Amendment demonstrates

Congress’ intent that the states be able to regulate the delivery of

tobacco products irrespective of the FAAAA. We disagree. The Synar

Amendment indicates Congress’ intent that the states take the lead in

addressing the underage smoking problem. But the Attorney General

has not identified any evidence that Congress intended the states do so

in derogation of other federal laws. The FAAAA and Synar Amendment

can exist harmoniously because the states may pass laws to curb

underage smoking without passing laws “related to” carrier prices,

routes, or services. See UPS I, 318 F.3d at 333-34 (stating that courts

should endeavor to read congressional enactments in harmony when-

ever possible).

App. 22

Transp. Ass’n, 377 F. Supp. 2d at 209 (quoting UPS I, 318

F.3d at 336). But they disagree over whether the chal-

lenged provisions are “related to” this service.

We have previously interpreted the phrase “related to”

as used in the FAAAA:

The phrase “related to” has a broad meaning in

ordinary usage: to stand in some relation; to

have bearing or concern; to pertain; refer; to

bring in association or connection with. When

used in a preemption provision, such as [in the

FAAAA], it has a similarly broad reach. State

laws and regulations having a connection with or

reference to a... carrier’s ... services are pre-

empted under the [FAAAA). A sufficient nexus

exists if the law expressly references the .. . car-

riers’... services or has a forbidden significant

effect on the same.

UPS I, 318 F.3d at 335. We therefore consider whether the

district court correctly concluded that the challenged

provisions of the Tobacco Delivery Law either expressly

reference carrier services or have a forbidden significant

effect on UPS’ services.

We begin with § 1555-C(3)(C). As set forth above, this

statute requires tobacco retailers seeking to ship tobacco

products directly to Maine consumers to use only carriers

that deliver the package directly to the addressee/purchaser,

require a signature from the addressee/purchaser, and

conduct age verification if the addressee/purchaser is

under 27 years of age. Another section penalizes retailers

that use carriers that do not provide these services. 22

M.R.S.A. §§ 1555-C(3)(E) & (F).

App. 23

Section 1555-C(3)(C) expressly references a carrier’s

service of providing the timely delivery of packages. The

statute prescribes the method by which a carrier operating

in Maine must deliver packages containing tobacco prod-

ucts in a way that would affect the ability of the carrier to

meet package-delivery deadlines. Delays in searching for

the purchaser, making multiple delivery attempts if the

purchaser cannot be located, obtaining the purchaser’s

signature, and verifying the purchaser’s age all could

affect timely deliveries. See UPS I, 318 F.3d at 336 (find-

ing that the FAAAA preempted a state law that “affect {ed]

the timeliness and effectiveness” of a carrier’s service).

The Attorney General responds that there is no

FAAAA preemption because § 1555-C(3)(C) regulates

retailers of tobacco products and not carriers. He also

argues that we should decline to find preemption because

any carrier can avoid the requirements of § 1555-C(3)(C)

by declining to provide tobacco-product deliveries to Maine

consumers.

The Attorney General’s first argument amounts to a

claim that there can be no FAAAA preemption unless the

state law imposes a direct regulation on carriers. This

argument cannot be squared with the FAAAA’s text because

it reads the broad phrase “related to” out of the statute and

replaces it with the narrower term “regulates.” See Morales,

504 U.S. at 385. (rejecting an argument that would have

read “relating to” out of the Airline Deregulation Act and

replaced it with “regulate”); UPS I, 318 F.3d at 335 (rejecting

an argument for narrowing scope of the FAAAA that “would

read ‘the related to language’ out of the statute”).

Moreover, limiting preemption to direct regulation of

carriers is inconsistent with the FAAAA’s purpose to bar

App. 24

states from policing carrier operations. See Am. Airlines,

513 U.S. at 228. A state may use its coercive power to

cause carriers to conform to state-imposed rules in at least

two ways: it may directly regulate carriers or it may limit

retailers to hiring only those carriers that comply with the

state-imposed mandates. Either way the state is employ-

ing its coercive power to police the method by which

carriers provide services in the state. In short, the Attor-

ney General’s argument would lead to the untenable result

of permitting states to regulate carrier services indirectly

by regulating shippers. Cf. Abington Sch. Dist. v. Schemp,

374 U.S. 203, 230, 83 S. Ct. 1560, 10 L. Ed. 2d 844 (1963)

(declining to adopt an interpretation that would permit

states to do indirectly what they cannot do directly).

The Attorney General’s alternative argument — that

there is no preemption because a carrier can forgo certain

tobacco-product deliveries in Maine — also fails. Declining

to find preemption simply because a carrier can limit its

in-state business to avoid a particular requirement would

undermine the FAAAA’s goal of creating an environment in

which “[sjervice options will be dictated by the marketplace,”

and not by state regulatory regimes. H.R. Conf. Rep. 103-677

at 88, reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1760. The district

court correctly concluded that the FAAAA preempts § 1555-

C(3\(C).

We turn finally to whether the FAAAA preempts

§ 1555-D. In considering this question, we are mindful

that courts should “not nullify more of a legislature’s work

than is necessary, for ... a ruling of unconstitutionality

frustrates the intent of the elected representative of the

people.” Ayotte v. Planned Parenthood of N. New England,

126 S. Ct. 961, 967, 163 L. Ed. 2d 812 (2006) (internal

citation omitted). The first part of § 1555-D makes it

App. 25

unlawful for any person knowingly to deliver to Maine

consumers certain contraband tobacco products — Le.,

those tobacco products purchased by consumers from

unlicensed retailers. The second part of § 1555-D charges a

carrier with knowledge that a package contains tobacco

products if the package is so marked or if the shipper

appears on the Attorney General’s list of unlicensed

tobacco retailers.

Under Maine law, tobacco products purchased by a

consumer from an unlicensed retailer are contraband. See

22 M.R.S.A. § 1555-C(7). The first part of § 1555-D is a

corollary to § 1555-C(7) in that it makes the knowing

delivery of contraband tobacco products illegal. Thus, the

question we face is whether a generally applicable law

barring any person from knowingly delivering contraband

tobacco is preempted by the FAAAA insofar as the law

pertains to carriers.

While the FAAAA’s preemptive effect is broad, see

UPS I, 318 F.3d at 335, it is not unlimited, see Mendonca,

152 F.3d at 1188. State laws that only have a “tenuous,

remote, or peripheral” relation to services are beyond the

FAAAA’s reach. Morales, 504 U.S. at 390; Mendonca, 152

F.3d at 1188. In describing this limitation on preemption in

the Airline Deregulation Act context, the Supreme Court

explained that its broad interpretation of the statute’s

preemption provision did not place it “on a road that leads to

pre-emption of gambling and prostitution as applied to

airlines.” Morales, 504 U.S. at 390. We understand the

Morales Court to have meant that states may continue to

enjoy the power to ban primary conduct, and that the ADA

and FAAAA do not preempt laws applying these prohibi-

tions to airlines and carriers.

App. 26

Accordingly, Morales suggests that § 1555-D’s ban on

the knowing delivery of contraband tobacco products is not

preempted by the FAAAA - even only insofar as it pertains

to carrier services. Section 1555-D requires that carriers

do not act as knowing accomplices in the illegal sale of

tobacco products. It does not, however, require that carri-

ers modify their delivery methods other than by declining

to transport a product that Maine has legitimately

banned. We think that this effect on services is “too tenu-

ous” to warrant preemption. Mendonca, 152 F.3d at 1189

(stating that a state law is too tenuous to be preempted by

the FAAAA where the law does not frustrate the FAAAA’s

deregulatory purposes).

If the rule were otherwise, states would be unable to

bar a primary method by which contraband crosses state

lines. We do not believe that this was Congress’ intent in

enacting the FAAAA. Other courts applying the FAAAA to

prohibitions on the delivery of contraband tobacco have

reached similar conclusions. See Robertson v. Liquor

Control Bd., 102 Wn. App. 848, 10 P.3d 1079, 1084-85

(Wash. App. Ct. 2000) (concluding that the FAAAA did not

preempt a state law banning the transport of contraband

cigarettes because otherwise “a motor carrier would be

exempt from forfeiture for transporting a methampheta-

mine lab or poached game”); see also N.Y. State Motor Truck

Ass’n v. Pataki, No. 03-CV-2386 (GBD), 2004 WL 2937803,

at *6 (W.D.N.Y. Aug. 19, 2003) (concluding that the FAAAA

did not preempt a state law making it unlawful for carriers

to deliver cigarettes directly to New York consumers be-

cause “the mere fact that a statute concerns the transporta-

tion of a particular cargo by . . . carriers . . . does not render

it ... unconstitutional on preemption ground Ward uv.

App. 27

New York, 291 F. Supp. 2d 188, 210-211 (S.D.N.Y. 2004)

(similar).

But, while Maine may ban a carrier from knowingly

transporting contraband tobacco products, it may not

dictate the procedures that a carrier should employ to

locate these products in its delivery chain. See UPS I, 318

F.3d at 336 (concluding that the FAAAA preempted a

Puerto Rico revenue-collection scheme that mandated

procedures that carriers had to follow to deliver certain

packages). The second part of § 1555-D violates this

principle.

As noted, § 1555-D imposes upon a carrier construc-

tive knowledge that it has delivered a tobacco product if

the package containing the product is marked as contain-

ing tobacco or if the seller’s name appears on the Attorney

General's list. As UPS’ experience demonstrates, a carrier

seeking to comply with § 1555-D must specially inspect

every package destined for delivery in Maine. Once the

carrier has finished this inspection, it must segregate the

* There are many state laws barring the transport and delivery of

contraband. E.g., Ala. Code § 2-14-5 (barring transport of certain

products related to bee keeping); Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 3-209 (barring the

transport of quarantined produce); Ariz. Rev Stat. § 13-3102 (barring

transport of prohibited weapons); Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 17533.9

(barring transport of tear gas); Cal. Fish & Game Code § 4800 (barring

the transport of mountain lions); N.Y. Penal Law § 190.50 (barring

transport of slot machines or other gambling devices). We have not a

found a single case, outside the tobacco context, in which bans on the

transport of contraband have been challenged as preempted by the

FAAAA. Cf. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Silver Blaze (1890) (William S.

Baring-Gould, ed., The Annotated Sherlock Holmes, Vol. Il, 1967)

(Detective Gregory: “‘Is there any other point to which you would wish

to draw my attention?” Sherlock Holmes: “To the curious incident of the

dog in the night-time.” Gregory: “The dog did nothing in the night-

time.” Holmes: “That was the curious incident.”).

App. 28

packages that contain tobacco and research whether the

addressee is a Maine-licensed retailer or distributor who

can receive the package. While the second part of § 1555-D

does not expressly reference carrier services, it “impermis-

sibly affect[s] ... services .. . because it requir[es] UPS to

identify the contents of the packages (a deviation from

standard procedures used in deliveries elsewhere in the

United States)... .” UPS II, 385 F.2d at 14 (parenthesis in

original). UPS can only provide timely package delivery if

it follows uniform procedures that allow for “an orderly

flow of packages.” UPS I, 318 F.3d at 336. Because the

second part of § 1555-D has the effect of forcing UPS to

change its uniform package-processing procedures, the

district court correctly found it to be preempted.”

In reaching this conclusion, we recognize that there is

a potential tension between saying that, on the one hand,

Maine is free to punish the knowing delivery of material that

it has classified as contraband, while, on the other hand,

ruling that it may not dictate or interfere with a carrier’s

delivery procedures. What we are saying here, however, is

that Maine cannot use the mechanisms outlined in the

statute to impute knowledge based on a failure to read

labels or consult lists — an imputation which—would

amount to prescribing how carriers must operate.

* The Attorney General argues that the associations have failed to

establish a forbidden significant effect on UPS because they did not

offer studies conducted by UPS on the cost of compliance. We agree

with the district court that there is no such quantification requirement.

The cases in this area have looked to the logical effect that a particular

scheme has on the delivery of services or the setting of rates and have

not required the presentation of empirical evidence. See N.H. Motor

Transp. Ass’n, 377 F. Supp. 2d at 217 n. 92 (collecting cases).

App. 29

If, however, Maine could prove that a carrier employee

had actual knowledge that a package being delivered was

contraband tobacco, then it might have a colorable en-

forcement case — although such circumstances, as a

practical matter, may be difficult to prove. True, the

“related to” language could stretch to such a case but it

could also stretch to the knowing delivery of hard drugs —

and Congress cannot have intended such a result.

II.

“[T]obacco use, particularly among children and

adolescents, poses perhaps the single most significant

public health problem in the United States.” FDA v. Brown

& Williamson Tobacco Corp., 529 U.S. 120, 161, 120 S. Ct.

1291, 146 L. Ed. 2d 121 (2000). There is no question that

Maine has sought to achieve a worthy objective by passing

the Tobacco Delivery Law to combat this pernicious

problem. See N.H. Motor Transp. Ass’n, 377 F. Supp. 2d at

219. But the FAAAA focuses on the effect that a state’s law

has on carriers, and not on the state’s objective in passing

the law. To the extent that Maine’s Tobacco Delivery Law

requires (or has the effect of requiring) carriers to imple-

ment state-mandated procedures in the processing and

delivery of packages, it is preempted by the FAAAA. But to

the extent that the Tobacco Delivery Law merely bars all

persons (including carriers) from knowingly transporting

contraband tobacco into Maine, the FAAAA is not impli-

cated.

We affirm the judgment as it pertains to 22 M.R.S.A.

§ 1555-C(3)(C) and the second part ef 22 M.R.S.A. § 1555-

D but reverse the judgment as it pertains to the first part

of § 1555-D. We remand the case to the district court with

App. 30

instructions to amend the judgment consistent with this

opinion. No costs are awarded.

So ordered.

App. 31

NEW HAMPSHIRE MOTOR TRANSPORT

ASSOCIATION, ET AL., PLAINTIFFS v. G. STEVEN

ROWE, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS

ATTORNEY GENERAL FOR THE STATE OF

MAINE, DEFENDANT

CIVIL No. 03-178-B-H

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE DISTRICT OF MAINE

377 F. Supp. 2d 197; 2005 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 10394

May 27, 2005, Decided

COUNSEL: For NEW HAMPSHIRE MOTOR TRANS-

PORT ASSOCIATION, MASSACHUSETTS MOTOR

TRANSPORTATION ASSOCIATION, INC., VERMONT

TRUCK AND BUS ASSOCIATION, INC., Plaintiffs; MI-

CHAEL A. NELSON, Jensen, Baird, Gardner & Henry,

Portland, ME; LAWRENCE R. KATZIN, PAUL T. FRIED-

MAN, RUTH N. BORENSTEIN, Morrison & Foerester LLP,

San Francisco, CA

For G. STEVEN ROWE, in his official capacity as Attorney

General for the State of Maine, Defendant; MELISSA

REYNOLDS O’DEA, PAUL D. STERN, Office of the Main

Attorney General, Augusta, ME.

JUDGES: D. BROCK HORNBY, UNITED STATES DIS-

TRICT JUDGE.

OPINION BY: D. BROCK HORNBY

OPINION: DECISION AND ORDER ON CROSS MO-

TIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

App. 32

The Interstate Commerce Clause gives Congress the

authority “[tlo regulate commerce with foreign nations,

and among the several States.” Congress has exercised

this constitutional power to enact legislation that limits

state authority over the transportation of goods by air and

motor carriers. Does this federal legislation preempt a

Maine statute that regulates carriers when they deliver

tobacco products in Maine? Maine lawmakers had two

worthy objectives in enacting the state statute: to reduce

Maine teenagers’ access to tobacco products and to collect

tobacco taxes.’ But worthy motives are not enough to avoid

federal preemption, as other states learned when they

tried to regulate consumer fraud or deceptive advertising

in the airline industry.’ I denied a preliminary request to

enjoin enforcement of the Maine statute.“ But now I

conclude that two of the three challenged state provisions

cannot survive the broad preemptive language of the

federal legislation and two recent First Circuit decisions.

If there is to be regulation in this area, it will have to come

from the federal government.

* US. Const. art. I, § 8, cl. 3.

* I have provided more detail on the reasons for the Maine

legislation in New Hampshire Motor Transport Ass’n v. Rowe (“N.H.

Motor I”), 301 F.Supp.2d 38, 44-45 n.12 (D.Me.2004).

* See Am. Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, 513 U.S. 219, 228, 115 S. Ct. 817,

130 L. Ed. 2d 715 (1995); Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S.

374, 388-89, 112 S. Ct. 2031, 119 L. Ed. 2d 157 (1992).

* N.H. Motor I, 301 F.Supp.2d at 46. Judge Daniels issued a similar

decision in New York State Motor Truck Ass'n v. Pataki, 2004 WL

2937803, at *3-*6 (S.D.N.Y. Dec. 17, 2004).

App. 33

I. PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

New Hampshire Motor Transport Association, Massa-

chusetts Motor Transportation Association and the Ver-

mont Truck & Bus Association (“the associations”) are non-

profit trade associations. Their members include motor

carriers and air/ground carriers in the cargo transporta-

tion business.’ The associations sued the Maine Attorney

General, seeking a declaration that the Federal Aviation

Administration Authorization Act of 1994 (“FAAAA”),°

preempts three provisions of Maine’s law regulating the

retail sale and delivery of tobacco (“the Maine Tobacco

* See Statement of Undisputed Material Facts in Support of Pls.’

“As Applied” Mot. for Summ. J. (“Pls.’” SMF”) 9 1 (Docket Item 61);

Def.’s Resp. to Pls.’ Statement of Undisputed Material Facts (“Def.’s

Responsive SMF” ) J 1 (Docket Item 69).

The associations ask me to take judicial notice of the following

items as facts “not subject to reasonable dispute” under Federal Rule of

Evidence 201: the affidavits filed in their earlier motion for summary

judgment; the Maine Department of Health and Human Services’

(“DHHS”) proposed (now final) “Rules Related to the Retail Sale and

Delivery of Tobacco Products in Maine”; and the public hearing and

comment period for those rules. Req. for Judicia) Notice in Support of

Pls.’ “As Applied” Mot. for Summ. J. (Docket Item 62). The Attorney

General does not object to this motion. Def.’s Resp. to Pls.’ Req. for

Judicial Notice (Docket Item 67).

The associations cite the affidavits only in paragraph one of their

Statement of Material Facts for the basic fact, admitted by the Attorney

General, that the associations engage in the commercial delivery of

property. I consider the affidavits only for this limited purpose. I am not

sure that Rule 201 judicial notice is necessary for the state rules and

the procedures for enacting them, but I do not need to decide the issue

because there is no dispute about these rules and procedures.

* Pub.L. No. 103-305, 108 Stat. 1569 (codified in scattered sections

of 49 U.S.C.).

App. 34

Delivery Law”).’ They also ask that I permanently enjoin

enforcement of these provisions.

I previously denied the associations’ motion for sum-

mary judgment, and granted the Maine Attorney General’s

subsequent motion for partial summary judgment, reject-

ing the argument that the FAAAA facially preempts the

Maine law.’ Both parties now move again for summary

judgment. The associations continue to argue facial

preemption, and also bring an as-applied challenge based

upon the Maine law’s effects on one of their members,

United Parcel Service (“UPS”). The Maine Attorney

” 22 M.R.S.A §§ 1551 to 1560. The associations challenge 22

M.R.S.A. §§ 1555-C(3)(A), 1555-C(3\(C) and 1555-D.

* N.H. Motor Transp. Ass’n v. Rowe (“N.H. Motor IT”), 324

F.Supp.2d 231, 234 (D.Me.2004); N.H. Motor I, 301 F.Supp.2d at 46.

* Pls.’ “As Applied” Mot. for Summ. J. with Incorporated Memo. of

Law (Docket Item 60). Commentators note some confusion over the

distinction “etween as-applied and facial challenges. See, e.g.. Richard

H. Fallon, Jr., As-Applied and Facial Challenges and Third-Party

Standing, 113 Harv. L.Rev. 1321, 1335-41 (2000) (discussing the

relationship between facia! and as-applied challenges and stating that

“[flacial challenges are not sharply categorically distinct from as-

applied challenges to the validity of statutes”); Gillian E. Metzger,

Facial Challenges and Federalism, 105 Colum. L.Rev. 873, 879-83

(2005) (addressing the confusion about what constitutes a facial

challenge and noting that it arises in part from the Supreme Court's

statement in U.S. v. Salerno, 481 U.S. 739, 745, 95 L. Ed. 2d 697, 107

S. Ct. 2095 (1987), that a facial challenge is only successful if the»

statute has no valid application); see also McGuire v. Reilly, 386 F.3d 45,

57 (1st Cir. 2004) (indicating that the standard for a facial challenge

may not be as demanding as Salerno suggests). On this motion and

throughout this case, I use the term “facial” to refer to the challenge

based solely on the words of the Maine statute and “as-applied” to refer

to the challenge based solely on the actual effect of the law. See N.H.

Motor II, 324 F. Supp.2d at 233-34 n.1; N.H. Motor I, 301 F.Supp.2d at

40 n. 2. This distinction is based on the associations’ bifurcated

summary judgment approach (first asserting a challenge based on the

face of the statute, then bringing this effects-based challenge) and the

(Continued on following page)

App. 35

General argues that the FAAAA does not preempt the

challenged provisions either facially or as applied.”

II. LEGAL BACKGROUND

(A) Federal Regulation of the Transportation

Industry

Federal regulation of the transportation industry

dates back to the Interstate Commerce Act of 1887, which

created the Interstate Commerce Commission (“ICC”) to

regulate interstate railroad carriers. Congress sought

national uniformity in the regulation of interstate rail

transport. It therefore limited state authority over railroad

carriers (and other industries later regulated by the

6c.) *

Congress placed motor carriers under ICC control

with the Motor Carrier Act of 1935.” The Motor Carrier

Supreme Court’s holding in Morales, 504 U.S. at 388, 112 S. Ct. 2031,

that the FAAAA preempts statutes that expressly refer to (based on the

face of the statute) or have a forbidden significant effect on (based on

the statute’s application) a carrier’s prices, routes or services.

Def.’s Mot. for Summ. J. with Incorporated Memo. of Law

(Docket Itera 64); Def.’s Opp’n to Pls.’ “As Applied” Mot. for Summ. J.

(“Def.’s Opp’n”) at 9 (Docket Item 68).

" See Act to Regulate Commerce (Interstate Commerce Act), ch.

104, 24 Stat. 379 (1887). For a comprehensive history of federal

regulation of transportation, see Paul Stephen Dempsey, Transporta-

tion: A Legal History, 30 Transp. L.J. 235 (2003).

" See Chicago & N.W. Transp. Co. v. Kalo Brick & Tile Co., 450

US. 311, 318, 325-26, 101 S. Ct. 1124, 67 L. Ed. 2d 258 (1981); see also

W. Union Tel. Co. v. Boegli, 251 U.S. 315, 316-17, 40 S. Ct. 167, 64 L.Ed.

281 (1920) (placing telegraph companies under ICC control showed

congressional intent “to subject such companies to a uniform national

rule” and thus preclude state regulation).

” Ch. 498, 49 Stat. 543 (1935).

App. 36

Act authorized the ICC to regulate the entry, routes,

business practices, rates and safety of motor carriers

engaged in interstate or foreign commerce. A few years

later, Congress created the Civil Aeronautics Authority, an

agency similar to the ICC, to regulate air transportation.“

The Civil Aeronautics Authority governed entry, routes,

rates, business practices and safety of the airline industry.

The Federal Aviation Act of 1958 recodified the Civil

Aeronautics Act, continued the Civil Aeronautics Board

(the reorganized form of the Civil Aeronautics Authority)”

and established and transferred authority over safety

regulation to the Federal Aviation Agency (later renamed

the Federal Aviation Administration).

Since the 1970s, Congress has reversed course and

deregulated the transportation industry.” In the Airline

Deregulation Act of 1978, Congress reduced federal regula-

tion of the airline industry to encourage maximum reliance

on free market competition.” Congress also prevented the

States from interfering with federal deregulation by includ-

ing a broad preemption provision prohibiting states from

See Civil Aeronautics Act of 1938, ch. 601, 52 Stat. 973 (1938).

** See Reorganization Plan No. IV, §7, 54 Stat. 1234, 1235-36

(1940).

See Federal Aviation Act of 1958, Pub.L. No. 85-726, 72 Stat. 731

(1958); see also Department of Transportation Act, Pub.L. No. 89-670,

§§ 3(e)(1), 6(c)(1), 80 Stat. 931, 932, 938 (1966) (renaming the Federal

Aviation Agency).

” See, e.g., ICC Termination Act of 1995, Pub.L. No. 104-88, 109

Stat. 803 (1995); Staggers Rail Act of 1980, Pub.L. No. 96-448, 94 Stat.

1895 (1980); Motor Carrier Act of 1980, Pub.L. No. 96-296, 94 Stat. 793

(1980); see also Dempsey, supra, at 327-66 (discussing deregulation of

the various transportation industries).

* See Airline Deregulation Act of 1978, Pub.L. No. 95-504, 92 Stat.

1705 (1978) (codified in scattered sections of 49 U.S.C.).

App. 37

“enactling] or enforcling] any law ... relating to rates,

routes, or services of any air carrier.””

In the 1994 FAAAA, Congress extended the Airline

Deregulation Act’s preemption provision to prohibit state

regulation of air/ground carriers as well. It also added a

new provision preempting state regulation of motor

carriers of property.” In the same language used in the

Airline Deregulation Act’s preemption provision, the

FAAAA preemption provisions broadly prohibit states from

“enactl[ing] or enforc{ing] a law, regulation, or other provi-

sion having the force and effect of law related to a price,

route, or service” of a motor carrier, air carrier or

air/ground carrier of property.

In enacting the FAAAA preemption provisions, Con-

gress exercised its authority under the Interstate Com-

merce Clause to ease the burden intrastate regulation

imposed on interstate commerce.” Congress believed that

the need for preemption of state authority arose out of a

" Id. § 105(a); see Morales, 504 U.S. at 378-79, 112 S. Ct. 2031; see

also New England Legal Found. v. Mass. Port. Auth., 883 F.2d 157, 172-

73 (1st Cir. 1989) (“In reducing federal economic regulation of the field

{with the Airline Deregulation Act of 1978] . .. , Congress obviously did

not intend to leave a vacuum to be filled by the Balkanizing forces of

state and local regulation.”). Congress initially codified this preemption

provision at 49 U.S.C.App. § 1305(a)(1), then amended and recodified it

at its current location, 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1), in Pub.L. No. 103-272,

ch. 417, 108 Stat. 745 (1994).

* See Federal Aviation Administration Authorization Act of 194,

Pub.L. No. 103-305. Section 601(b) of the FAAAA is the air/ground

carrier provision, codified at 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(4XA). Section 601(c)

is the motor carrier provision, which was recodified as amended at its

current location, 49 U.S.C. § 14501(c)(1), in Pub.L. No. 104-88, ch. 145,

109 Stat. 803 (1995).

* See FAAAA, Pub.L. No. 103-305, § 601(a) (findings).

App. 38

“patchwork of [state] regulation” of transportation, which

created “a huge problem for national and regional carriers

attempting to conduct a standard way of doing business.”

It believed that intrastate regulation also resulted in

higher rates for intrastate shipments. Congress designed

the preemption provisions to eliminate diverse state

regulations (such as regulation of entry, tariffs, prices and

types of commodities carried), and promote uniform

standards for air, air/ground and motor carriers engaged

in the transportation of property.”

(B) Federal Contraband Cigarette Law

Although Congress has limited state regulation over

the transportation of goods, Congress has also expressly

recognized the power of the states to regulate and confis-

cate contraband cigarettes (cigarettes on which state taxes

have not been paid). In 1978, Congress stated in the

Contraband Cigarette Trafficking Act that federal regula-

tion of contraband cigarettes does not “affect the concur-

rent jurisdiction of a State to enact and enforce cigarette

tax laws, to provide for the confiscation of cigarettes and

other property seized for violation of such laws, and to

provide for penalties for the violation of such laws.”

Congress included this provision because “/t]he major

responsibility for enforcing state cigarette tax laws is now

and must continue to be the burden of the states.”“

* H.R.Rep. No. 103-677, at 86-88 (1994), reprinted in 1994

U.S.C.C.A.N. 1715, 1758-60.

* 18 U.S.C. § 2345(a).

* H.R. Rep. 95-1778, at 13 (1978), reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N.

5535, 5541.

App. 39

(C) Maine’s Tobacco Delivery Law

The Maine Legislature enacted the Tobacco Delivery

Law to “clarif{y] the collection of taxes with regard to the

delivery sales of cigarettes” and “to strengthen the regula-

tion of delivery sales of cigarettes, especially with regards

to preventing sales to minors.”” When the Maine Legisla-

ture enacted the law in 2003, its Health and Human

Services Committee considered testimony that nearly 25%

of Maine’s high school students smoke occasionally and

14% smoke on a regular basis.” The bill’s sponsor in-

formed the Health and Human Services Committee that

delivery sales via the internet increased minors’ access to

tobacco by giving them an opportunity to purchase tobacco

without having to verify their age. He also stated that out-

of-state retailers advertise and sell tobacco products tax-

free, thereby increasing the tobacco delivery sales through

the mail and the internet and costing the State lost tax

revenue.”

The Tobacco Delivery Law is one of many steps that

Maine has taken to restrict underage access to tobacco.

When considering the Tobacco Delivery Law, the Legisla-

ture heard testimony about Maine’s “comprehensive

program on youth smoking,” which “includes education on

* L.D. 1236, Summary for the Original Legislative Document

(121st Me.Legis.2003).

* See Committee File of the Committee on Health and Human

Services on L.D. 1236, “An Act To Regulate the Delivery Sales of

Cigarettes and To Prevent the Sale of Cigarettes to Minors” (April 29,

2003), Testimony of the Maine Coalition on Smoking or Health. This

testimony is the written testimony submitted at the time of the public

hearing held by the committee assigned the bill. There is no record of

the oral testimony presented at these hearings.

*” See id., Testimony of Representative Glenn Cummings.

App. 40

tobacco, increases in the price of cigarettes through [an]

excise tax, ... programs to help youth who smoke and

want to quit” and “tough laws regarding access.”” Accord-

ing to repeated testimony, this comprehensive approach

contributed to a decline in smoking by Maine high school

students.”

Increasing internet sales have frustrated the State’s

laudable and extensive efforts to restrict underage access

to tobacco. The Maine Tobacco Delivery Law addresses

this problem by requiring: that delivery services check for

packages marked as containing tobacco and confirm that

those packages are being sent by a Maine-licensed tobacco

distributor or retailer; that tobacco retailers tell their

delivery service (such as UPS or the other members of the

carrier associations) the age of any tobacco-product pur-

chaser; and that tobacco retailers use for tobacco-product

delivery only a delivery service that agrees to request age

identification from and deliver to the specific addressee.”

(D) Other States’ Tobacco Delivery Laws

Other states recently have passed statutes regulating

the delivery of tobacco products.” Although these state

* JId., Testimony of the Maine Coalition on Smoking or Health.

* See, e.g., id.; id., Testimony of Dora Anne Mills, Director, Bureau

of Health, Department of Human Services (“As a result of these efforts,

Maine’s tobacco addiction rates have plummeted among youth — from

nearly 40% of Maine high school students being . . . smokers in 1997 to

25% in 2001. This 36% decline is one of the largest declines seen across

the country.”).

*® See 22 M.R.S.A. §§ 1555-C(3)(A), (C), 1555-D.

* See, eg., Ariz.Rev.Stat. §§ 42-3221 to 3230 (enacted in 2004);

Conn. Gen.Stat. § 12-285c (enacted in 2003); Okla. Stat. tit. 68, § 317.4

(enacted in 2003); Wash Rev.Code § 70.155.105 (enacted in 2003). The

(Continued on following page)

App. 41

tobacco delivery laws involve similar limitati~ns on to-

bacco shipments, the specific requirements vary by state.

For example, while state limitations on tobacco

shipments often depend on whether a retailer shipping or

receiving the package is licensed, the licensing is state-

specific. Thus, for each tobacco shipment, an interstate

delivery service must determine whether the addressee is

located in a state that has such a limitation, then consult a

list of licensed retailers provided by that state to deter-

mine if the delivery is lawful.”

Many states require that tobacco retailers use a

delivery service that will confirm the addressee’s age and

deliver only to an adult.” But while some states require

that the addressee sign personally for the package, others

allow any adult to sign. States also vary in their require-

ments for checking the identification of the person signing

for the package.”

associations cite many of these statutes in paragraphs 100 to 158 of

their Statement of Material Facts. The Attorney General qualifies and

moves to strike all of these paragraphs. Def.’s Responsive SMF 7J 100-

158. I consider these state statutes as relevant law, not facts.

* See, e.g., Alaska Stat. § 43.50.105(c); Conn. Gen.Stat. § 12-

285c(a); 22 M.R.S.A. § 1555-D; N.Y. Pub. Health Law §§ 1399- // (1)-(2).

* See, e.g., Ariz.Rev.Stat. § 42-3225(AX2); Conn. Gen.Stat. § 12-

285c(c); Del Code Ann. tit. 30, § 5365(a)(2); 22 M.R.S.A. § 1555-C(3\C);

Or. Rev.Stat. § 323.718(1)(b)(A).

“ Compare Ariz.Rev.Stat. § 42-3225(2) (addressee or adult residing

at the same address must sign and identification is required if the

Signer appears to be under twenty-seven) with Conn. Gen.Stat. § 12-

285c(c) (customer receiving the delivery must provide proof of age) and

22 M.R.S.A. §§ 1555-C(3)(C)(2) to (3) (addressee must sign and identifi-

cation is required if the addressee is under twenty-seven).

App. 42

Although many of these state laws require the retailer

to mark the package to reveal that it contains tobacco, the

required location and content of the marking may differ.”

The type of tobacco regulated also varies from state to

state. Some statutes regulate only cigarettes, while others

cover a broad range of tobacco products.”

Ill. ANALYSIS

The carrier associations attack Maine’s Tobacco

Delivery Law on the basis that the FAAAA expressly

preempts state regulation that relates to a carrier’s

services.” According to Article VI of the United States

Constitution, federal statutes enacted under constitutional

authority are “the supreme Law of the Land; ... any

Thing in the Constitution or Laws of any State to the

Contrary notwithstanding.” The FAAAA, enacted under

Congress’s constitutional authority to regulate interstate

* Compare Del Code Ann. tit. 30, § 5365(a)(1) (shipping documents

must include a clear and conspicuous statement that Delaware law

prohibits shipping tobacco to minors and requires the payment of

applicable taxes) with 22 M.R.S.A. § 1555-C(3\B); 10-144 Code Me. R.

Ch. 203, §§ 10(C)(2) (marking must be on the outside of the package

and, at a minimum, on the same plane as the shipping label, and must

show that tobacco products are inside and list the retailer’s name and

Maine license number) and Nev.Rev.Stat. § 202.24935(3) (packaging or

wrapping must be clearly marked “cigarettes” or “tobacco products”).

* Compare Alaska Stat. § 43.50.105 (cigarettes) and Conn.

Gen.Stat. § 12-285c (cigarettes) with 22 M.R.S.A. §§ 1551(3), 1555-C,

1555-D (any form of tobacco and any material or device used for

smoking, chewing or other tobacco consumption) and Nev.Rev.Stat.

§ 202.24935(1) (“cigarettes, cigarette paper, tobacco of any description

or products made from tobacco”).

” They also argue preemption based on prices and routes, but |

find it necessary to address only service(s). Since the associations have

argued only express preemption, I do not consider implied preemption.

App. 43

commerce, prohibits states from enacting laws “related to

a...service of” an air carrier, air/ground carrier or motor

carrier “with respect to the transportation of property.”

Congress has specified some areas that are exempt from

preemption, but the Maine Tobacco Delivery Law fits none

of the exemptions.” Therefore, the associations argue, the

* See 49 USC. §§14501(c)(1), 41713(b)4)(A). 49 USC.

§ 14501(c)(1) is the motor carrier provision. It provides that a state:

may not enact or enforce a law, regulation, or other provi-

sion having the force and effect of law related to a price,

route, or service of any motor carrier (other than a carrier

affiliated with a direct air carrier covered by section

41713(b)(4)) or any motor private carrier, broker, or freight

forwarder with respect to the transportation of property.

(Emphasis added.). 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(4)(A) is the air and air/ground

carrier provision. In very similar language, it provides that a state

may not enact or enforce a law, regulation, or other provi-

sion having the force and effect of law related to a price,

route, or service of an air carrier or carrier affiliated with a

direct air carrier through common controlling ownership

when such carrier is transporting property by aircraft or by

motor vehicle (whether or not such property has had or will

have a prior or subsequent air movement).

(Emphasis added). Congress intended that these “identical” provisions

“function in the exact same manner with respect to [their] preemptive

effects.” H.R.Rep. No. 103-677, at 85, reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. at

1757. Both provisions apply here because the associations include

ground carriers as well as air/ground carriers. (UPS is covered by the

air/ground carrier provision because one of its operating entities is an

air carrier. Pls.’ SMF, Def.’s Responsive SMF 7 5.)

* Savings clauses in the preemption provisions permit states to

regulate safety with respect to motor vehicles, highway route controls

or limitations based on vehicle size, weight or cargo hazards, financial

responsibility relating to insurance, household goods transportation,

and tow truck pricing for service provided without the towed-vehicle

owner's or operator’s consent. 49 U.S.C. §§ 14501(c)(2), 41713(b\4)(B).

The safety exception, 49 U.S.C. §§ 14501(c)(2A), 41713(b)(4)(BXi),

does not exempt Maine’s Tobacco Delivery Law from preemption

because the exception applies only to state regulation of motor vehicle

(Continued on following page)

App. 44

FAAAA preempts the challenged provisions of the Maine

Tobacco Delivery Law.

Congress enlarged the Airline Deregulation Act

preemption provisions to include motor carriers and

air/ground carriers because it wanted to level the playing

field between deregulated air carriers, carriers that are

affiliated with an air carrier but not otherwise covered by

the Airline Deregulation Act, and motor carriers not

affiliated with an air carrier. Jd. at 82, 87, reprinted in

1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1754, 1759. The preemption is not

limited to interstate transportation. See FAAAA, Pub.L.

No. 103-305, §601(a) (finding that “the regulation of

intrastate transportation of property by the States has —

(A) imposed an unreasonable burden on interstate com-

merce; (B) impeded the free flow of trade, traffic, and

transportation of interstate commerce; and (C) placed an

unreasonable cost on the American consumers”) (emphasis

added); N.Y. State Motor Truck Ass’n, 2004 WL 2937803, at

*4 (“The FAAAA, with a few minor exceptions, effectively

preempts state regulations of intrastate motor carrier

activities.”).

Given the deadly health consequences, there are no

persuasive arguments for allowing minors to have tobacco

products. Thus, it is hard to believe that, if Congress were

confronted now with the specific question whether Maine

should be able to take ster. to protect the health of its

safety, and does not preserve the states’ genera] authority over safety

issues. See United Parcel Serv., Inc. v. Flores-Galarza (“UPS ITI”), 385

F.3d 9, 13-14 (1st Cir.2004). The exception for the transportation of

household goods, 49 U.S.C. §§ 14501(c2XB), 41713(b\4)B)ii), also

does not apply because it refers to state regulation of the services of

moving companies. See UPS II, 385 F.3d at 14.

App. 45

children, Congress would vote to prohibit what Maine is

trying to do. But the federal legislation that I must inter-

pret comes from a congressional push to deregulate air-

lines and motor carriers generally, without regard for the

topic or goal of the preempted state regulation (other than

the few, irrelevant, specified exceptions). At the time,

Congress believed that state regulation was interfering

with ordinary market forces, driving up the price of service

and hindering competition.” To avoid that state interfer-

ence, Congress enacted preemption legislation that speaks

in general categories. To interpret the scope of the result-

ing federal preemption, I must “look to Congress’s intent,

which is revealed in the language of the provision, as well

as the structure and purpose of the statute.”

“ See FAAAA, Pub.L. No. 103-305, § 601(a).

“ United Parcel Serv., Inc. v. Flores-Galarza (“UPS I”), 318 F.3d

323, 334 (1st Cir.2003). The Supreme Court has provided several

guideposts for approaching the issue of federal preemption:

(1) An express congressional definition of what is pre-

empted “supports a reasonable inference ... that Congress

did not intend to pre-empt other matters.” Freightliner

Corp. v. Myrick, 514 U.S. 280, 288, 115 S. Ct. 1483, 131

L. Ed. 2d 385 (1995);

(2) Congressional purpose is the “ultimate touchstone.”

Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S. 504, 516, 112

S.Ct. 2608, 120 L. Ed. 2d 407 (1992) (internal quotation

omitted);

(3) If the federal statute would “bar state action in a Seld

of traditional state regulation,” a court must “work on the

assumption that the historic police powers of the States are

not to be superseded by the Federal Act unless that is the

clear and manifest purpose of Congress.” Lorillard Tobacco

Co. v. Reilly, 533 U.S. 525, 541-42, 121 S. Ct. 2404, 150

L. Ed. 2d 532 (2001) (citations and internal quotation omit-

ted);

(Continued on following page)

App. 46

(4) This “assumption” (elsewhere called a “presumption,”

see Pharm. Research & Mfrs. of Am. v. Walsh, 538 U.S. 644,

666, 123 S. Ct. 1855, 155 L. Ed. 2d 889 (2003); UPS I, 318

F.3d at 336) disappears when a state legislates in a field

with “a history of significant federal presence.” United

States v. Locke, 529 U.S. 89, 108, 120 S.Ct. 1135, 146

L. Ed. 2d 69 (2000).

Ultimately the analysis here hinges on the second factor, congres-

sional purpose.

The parties have not argued that the first factor helps resolve this

case.

They have spent a good deal of energy on the third and fourth

factors. I conclude that I erred in my analysis in my earlier decision on

the associations’ facial motion for summary judgment, where | applied

the presumption against preemption by viewing the field narrowly as

“ground transport or delivery of dangerous products, especially to

minors in order to protect their health.” I noted there that the First

Circuit in UPS I made much of the long federal presence in air trans-

portation (which I distinguished from the history in ground transporta-

tion). See N.H. Motor I, 301 F.Supp.2d at 44. But I observe now that I

cannot make this distinction, because the purpose of the FAAAA’s

preemption provisions was to even the playing field for air and ground

transportation. See H.R.Rep. No. 103-677, at 82, reprinted in 1994

U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1754. More importantly, in determining whether there

is a presumption against federal preemption, the focus is to be on the

field where Congress legislates. (“Thle) presumption [against preemp-

tion} only arises ... if Congress legislates in a field traditionally

occupied by the states.” UPS I, 318 F.3d at 336 (citing Locke, 529 U.S.

at 108, 120 S. Ct. 1135).) I therefore adopt the approach taken in UPS /

and do not apply the presumption against preemption. But see Ward v.

New York, 291 F.Supp.2d 188, 209-10 (W.D.N.Y.2003) (distinguishing

UPS I and applying a presumption against preemption because New

York’s tobacco delivery law was “a public health law of general applica-

tion”).

Since both sides argued explicitly on this motion whether I should

apply the presumption against preemption, there is no unfairness in my

making this correction and no longer applying the presumption. See

Pls.’ “As Applied” Mot. for Summ. J. at 10-13; Def.’s Opp’n at 9-12; Def.’s

Mot. for Summ. J. at 8. Even if I continued to apply the presumption, |

would find Maine’s Tobacco Delivery Law preempted for the reasons

stated in text.

App. 47

I turn therefore to the statutory language. The pre-

emption provisions broadly prohibit states from enacting a

law “related to a price, route, or service” of an air carrier,

air/ground carrier or motor carrier “with respect to the

transportation of property.” I deal with the significant

terms in reverse order.

(A) “With respect to the transportation of

property”

The Maine statute deals with the transportation

(here, the delivery) of property, namely, tobacco products.“

(B) “Service”

Two Supreme Court cases have interpreted the Airline

Deregulation Act’s preemption provision (the statutory

predecessor to the FAAAA preemption provisions). The

Airline Deregulation Act provision that these cases inter-

pret is very similar to both of the FAAAA preemption

provisions and uses the term “services.” Unfortunately,

“@ 49 U.S.C. §§ 14501(c)(1), 41713(b)(4)(A).

“ The language “with respect to the transportation of property”

comes from the motor carrier provision, 49 U.S.C. § 14501(c\1). The

provision for air carriers and air/ground carriers, 49 U.S.C.

§ 41713(b)(4)(A), has slightly different language. This provision

prohibits state regulation of “an air carrier or carrier affiliated with a

direct air carrier ... when such carrier is transporting property by

aircraft or motor vehicle (whether or not such property has had or will

have a prior or subsequent air movement).” (Emphasis added). Under

this provision, the Maine statute regulates a motor carrier affiliated

with a direct air carrier when the motor carrier is transporting (deliver-

ing) property (tobacco products) by motor vehicle.

“ These cases interpret the original Airline Deregulation Act

provision, which provided that no state “shall enact or enforce any law,

(Continued on following page)

App. 48

these Supreme Court cases do not shed much light on the

term “services” or “service.” In one case, the state statutes

regulated the advertising of airfares. Since the federal

statute expressly prohibited state regulation that relates

to rates (fares), the Supreme Court had no need to con-

sider or define the term “services.”” The other case con-

cerned frequent flyer miles; the Supreme Court observed

summarily that frequent flyer miles relate both “to ‘rates,’

i.e., [the airline]’s charges in the form of mileage credits for

free tickets and upgrades, and to ‘services,’ i.e., access to

flights and class-of-service upgrades.” It did not elaborate

further on the meaning of the term “services,” although it

did reject an attempt to separate “matters ‘essential’ from

matters unessential to airline operations” in analyzing

what is preempted.“

rule, regulation, standard, or other provision having the force and effect

of law relating to rates, routes, or services of any air carrier having

authority under title IV of this Act . . . to provide air transportation.” 49

U.S.C.App. § 1305(a)(1) (1993). In 1994, Congress amended this

preemption provision to include its current language (the same

language used in the FAAAA provisions), which provides that a state

may not “enact or enforce a law, regulation, or other provision having

the force and effect of law related to a price, route, or service of an air

carrier.” See Pub.L. No. 103-272, ch. 417, 108 Stat. 745 (July 5, 1994)

(also recodifying the provision at its current location, 49 U.S.C.

§ 41713(bX1)). Congress did not intend the amendment to make any

substantive change, see id.; Wolens, 513 U.S. at 223 n.1, 115 S. Ct. 817,

and the parties have not cited any cases suggesting a different defini-

tion for the term “service” under the FAAAA than that used for the term

“services” under the original Airline Deregulation Act provision.

* Morales, 504 U.S. at 379-80, 112 S.Ct. 2031. The Court in

Morales instead addressed the meaning of the phrase “relating to,” as

discussed below. 504 U.S. at 383-91, 112 S. Ct. 2031.

“ Wolens, 513 U.S. at 226, 115 S. Ct. 817. Wolens considered the

meaning of the language “enact or enforce any law” as it related to the

common law of contracts. See id. at 228-29, 115 S. Ct. 817.

App. 49

Lower courts, on the other hand, have struggled with

the scope of the “services” preemption in the Airline

Deregulation Act, particularly in determining whether

federal law preempts state tort law for accidents that

happen on board an aircraft.” These courts have limited

the preempting term “service” to the frequency and sched-

uling of transportation and the choice of starting and

ending points;“ or have defined “services” as bargained-for

“ In Charas v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 160 F.3d 1259, 1265-66

(9th Cir. 1998), the Ninth Circuit held that the Airline Deregulation Act

did not preempt state negligence and breach of contract claims because

“service” referred to “the r-ovision of air transportation to and from

various markets at various times,” not the provision of amenities such

as personal] assistance, luggage handling, and food and drink. The

Eleventh Circuit has held that a state claim of age discrimination in

employment is not preempted because it does not relate to an airline’s

services, but that claims relating to the physical capabilities of flight

personnel could relate to services and thus be preempted. Parise v.

Delta Airlines, Inc., 141 F.3d 1463, 1466-68 (11th Cir. 1998). Courts

have also held that a state defamation claim had too tenuous a connec-

tion with services (ticketing) to be preempted, Taj Mahal Travel, Inc. v.

Delta Airlines, Inc., 164 F.3d 186, 195 (3d Cir. 1998), but that a plain-

tiff’s claim for conversion for a carrier’s failure to deliver the contents

of a package related to the carrier’s services and was thus preempted,

Forman v. Fed. Express Corp., 194 Misc.2d 441, 753 N.Y.S.2d 348, 351-

52 (2003). The Fifth Circuit held that a state tort claim for persoual

injury was not preempted because it related to the operation of the

aircraft, not its services. Hodges v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 44 F.3d 334, 340

(5th Cir. 1995). The court in 7rujillo. v. American Airlines, Inc., 938

F.Supp. 392, 394 (N.D. Tex. 1995), applied this services/operations

distinction, holding that negligence and consumer protection claims for

the airline’s preparation and shipping of a package were preempted

because they involved services, not operations of the airline.

Some of these cases interpret the term “services” in the original

Airline Deregulation Act preemption provision, 49 U.S.C.App.

§ 1305(a)(1), and others interpret the term “service” in the amended

provision, 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1), depending on which version was in

effect.

“ Charas, 160 F.3d at 1265-66.

App. 50

provisions (preempted) distinct from “operations or main-

tenance” (not preempted).” The Third Circuit, on the other

hand, has concluded that the services/operations distinc-

tion is “strained and unsatisfactory,” and that to define the

term service, “focusing on the competitive forces of the

market ... leads to a more accurate assessment of Con-

gressional intent.””

The First Circuit has not entered this debate over the

meaning of the word “services” in the Airline Deregulation

Act.”’ But without discussing the ambiguities of the term,

the First Circuit has said that the word “service,” as used

in the FAAAA’s air and air/ground carrier provision,

includes “the delivery of packages on an express or time-

guaranteed basis.”” In that case, the First Circuit charac-

terized UPS’s delivery services as depending on the “or-

derly flow of packages.” It also quoted approvingly a Ninth

Circuit statement that “[tlerms of service determine cost.

To regulate them is to affect the price.””

* Hodges, 44 F.3d at 336-37, 338-39.

© Taj Mahal, 164 F.3d at 194.

*! See French v. Pan Am Express, Inc., 869 F.2d 1, 3 (ist Cir.1989)

(declining to address express preemption based on the Airline Deregu-

lation Act’s reference to “services” where the comprehensive federal

legal scheme set out in the rest of the Airline Deregulation Act impli-

edly preempted the plaintiff’s state claim).

*® UPS I, 318 F.3d at 336 (interpreting 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(4)(A)).

* Id. (quoting Fed. Express Corp. v. Cal. Pub. Utils. Comm'n, 936

F.2d 1075, 1078 (9th Cir. 1991)). Price is another preempted area of

regulation. 49 U.S.C. §§ 14501(c)(1), 41713(b)(4(A) (prohibiting states

from enacting or enforcing a law “related to a price, route, or service” of

a carrier). The Fifth Circuit has interpreted the term “price,” holding

that a negligence claim for failure to provide more leg room to prevent

the health condition of deep vein thrombosis related to price because

providing more leg room would reduce the number of seats and affect

(Continued on following page)

App. 51

I follow the First Circuit decision. The Maine statute

here deals with the delivery of packages and, in its appli-

cation to UPS, affects delivery on an express or time-

guaranteed basis. UPS has a national and international

distribution system that relies heavily on uniform proce-

dures for picking up, documenting, processing, handling

and delivering packages. The record establishes that to

comply with the Maine statute, UPS must use delivery

practices for Maine packages that vary from its nationally

and internationally uniform procedures.” This lack of

uniformity affects the price of UPS’s services and inter-

feres with the orderly flow of packages by jeopardizing the

the prices the airline charged. Witty v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 366 F.3d

380, 383 (5th Cir. 2004).

“ Pls.’ SMF, Def.’s Responsive SMF J 7, 9, 18, 20, 24, 26, 30-31,

60-67. The Attorney General admitted paragraphs 7, 9, 18, 26, 30, 31

and 60 through 67 of the associations’ Statement of Material Facts.

He responded “qualified” to the associations’ paragraph 20, which

states that UPS preloaders must scan the exterior of every package to

be delivered in Maine for a marking indicating the package contains

tobacco products. The Attorney General responded that “[p]reloaders

are already inspecting packages for markings,” but did not deny that it

takes the preloaders more time to check the package for the marking

required by the Maine statute, see 10-144 Code Me. R. Ch. 203,

§§ 10(CX2), 11; see also footnote 67 (discussing what a carrier must do

to comply with these regulations).

In response to paragraph 24, which states that the preloaders do

not usually read the shipper’s name and only occasionally read the

addressee’s name, and that having to do so because of the Maine

statute delays the preloaders’ tasks, the Attorney General stated,

“Qualified. UPS has done no operational study to ascertain whether

there is such a delay or, if so, the magnitude of that delay.” The

Attorney General does not deny that the preloaders usually do not

check for the shipper’s or the addressee’s name, or that having to do so

causes delay. There is no need for an operational study because it is

logical that checking these names would cause some delay, however

slight.

App. 52

speed, reliability and efficiency of delivery.” Under First

Circuit precedent, therefore, the Maine statute has some

effect on a carrier’s “services.”

(C) “Related to”

In Morales, the Supreme Court determined the

meaning of the phrase “relating to” in the Airline Deregu-

lation Act.” The Court recognized that the phrase has a

broad scope both in ordinary language and in the statute.

It ruled that the relationship can be satisfied in either of

two ways: if the state law: (a) expressly references the

carrier’s prices, routes or services or (b) has a “forbidden

significant effect upon” the carrier’s prices, routes or

services.” I see no reason to interpret the FAAAA phrase,

“related to,” any differently. Indeed, the legislative history

makes clear that the drafters intended the same mean-

ing,” and the First Circuit has made it the law of this

® See Pls.’ SMF, Def.’s Responsive SMF 9 7-8, 10-11. The Attorney

General admitted paragraphs 7, 8 and 10, but responded “qualified” to

the associations’ paragraph 11. Paragraph 11 states that UPS must

avoid even minor delays to meet its delivery deadlines, and that “delays

or disruptions at any point in UPS's operations can affect thousands of

packages in transit.” The Attorney General responded that UPS’s time

projections are based on historical data, which inherently include

delays associated with non-deliverable packages, and that a number of

factors can delay UPS’s services. But the Attorney General did not deny

that delays affect delivery deadlines, and, logically, the fact that UPS

already encounters delays does not mean additional delay is acceptable.

* 504 U-S. at 383-89, 112 S. Ct. 2031.

* Id. at 388, 112 S. Ct. 2031; see also UPS I, 318 F.3d at 335 (citing

Morales, 504 U.S. at 388, 112 S. Ct. 2031).

* According to the FAAAA's legislative history:

In substituting the word “related” for the prior word “relat-

ing”... we are intending no substantive change to the pre-

viously enacted preemption provision in Section 105 of the

(Continued on following page)

App. 53

circuit that the Morales interpretation controls the FAAAA

as well.” I will address each of the three challenged Maine

provisions for whether they satisfy either or both or these

two requirements.

Federal Aviation Act and do not intend to impair the appli-

cability of prior judicial case law interpreting these provi-

sions. In particular, the conferees do not intend to alter the

broad preemption interpretation adopted by the United

States Supreme Court in Morales v. Trans World Airlines,

-

H.R.Rep. No. 103-677, at 83, reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C_A.N. at 1755.

“ UPS I, 318 F.3d at 334-35. In interpreting the Airline Deregula-

tion Act preemption provision, the Court in Morales considered a

similar ERISA preemption provision, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). 504 U.S. at

383-85, 112 S. Ct. 2031. The ERISA provision preempts state laws

“insofar as they ... relate to any employee benefit plan.” 29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(a); Morales, 504 U.S. at 383, 112 S. Ct. 2031. At the time of

Morales, under the ERISA provision a law “relate{d] to” an employee

benefit plan “if it had a connection with, or reference to, such a plan.”

Morales, 504 U.S. at 384, 112 S. Ct. 2031 (internal quotation omitted).

The Supreme Court later limited the meaning of “relate to” in the

ERISA provision, stating that courts should consider the objectives of

the ERISA statute rather than look to “infinite relations” or “infinite

connections” to measure preemption, and noting that ERISA preempts

state laws that “mandate{] employee benefit structures or their

administration.” N.Y. State Conference of Blue Cross & Blue Shield

Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co., 514 U.S. 645, 656-58, 115 S. Ct. 1671, 131

L. Ed. 2d 695 (1995); see also Catholic Charities of Me., Inc. v. City of

Portland, 304 F.Supp.2d 77, 90-92 (D.Me.2004) (discussing this cutback

in the ERISA meaning of “relate to”). Despite the Supreme Court's

narrowing of the ERISA meaning of “relate to,” Congress intended the

Morales Court's broad interpretation of “relating to” in the Airline

Deregulation Act to apply to the FAAAA preemption provisions. See

H.R.Rep. No. 103-677, at 83, reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1755;

see also UPS I, 318 F.3d at 335 n.19 (“(I)f developments in pension law

have undercut holdings in air-transportation law, it is for the Supreme

Court itself to make the adjustment. Our marching orders are clear:

follow decisions until the Supreme Court overrules them.”) (quoting

United Airlines, Inc. v. Mesa Airlines, Inc., 219 F.3d 605, 608 (7th Cir.

2000)) (alteration in original).

App. 54

(1) Section 1555-D

One of the three challenged provisions of the Maine

statute expressly references carriers’ services. Specifically,

section 1555-D states: “A person may not knowingly

transport or cause to be delivered to a person in this State

a tobacco product purchased from a person who is not

licensed as a tobacco retailer in this State.”” Although this

prohibition uses the general language “a person” (rather

than “a delivery service” or “a carrier”), it expressly

references the service that carriers provide (the transpor-

tation of property). Carriers that violate this prohibition

face penalties under section 1555-D(2). Moreover, to

achieve compliance, subsection 1555-D(1) requires the

Attorney General to provide lists of licensed tobacco

retailers and known unlicensed retailers to “a delivery

service.” “Delivery service” is defined as “a person, includ-

ing the United States Postal Service, who is engaged in

the commercial delivery of letters, packages, or other

containers.” A “delivery service” under the Maine statute

that uses motor vehicle transportation fits within the

* In full, the preamble reads:

A person may not knowingly transport or cause to be deliv-

ered to a person in this State a tobacco product purchased

from a person who is not licensed as a tobacco retailer in

this State, except that this provision does not apply to the

transportation or delivery of tobacco products to a licensed

tobacco distributor or tobacco retailer. A person is deemed to

know that a package contains a tobacco product if the pack-

age is marked in accordance with the requirements of sec-

tion 1555-C, subsection 3, paragraph B or if the person

receives the package from a person listed as an unlicensed

tobacco retailer by the Attorney General under this section.

22 M.R.S.A. § 1555-D.

* Id. § 1551(1-C).

App. 55

FAAAA'’s definition of “motor carrier” (“a person providing

motor vehicle transportation for compensation”).” Section

1555-D thus expressly references carriers’ services. Under

the analysis of Morales and UPS I, that is enough to result

in preemption.

This conclusion differs from what I said in my pre-

liminary rulings.” My conclusion has changed because I no

longer apply the presumption against preemption,” and

because, since my previous rulings, I have had the oppor-

tunity for further thought and reflection, as well as the

benefit of the First Circuit’s decision in UPS II, which

sheds additional light on the issue of preemption under

the FAAAA. I follow the plain language of the statute and

the First Circuit authority in UPS I and UPS II in con-

cluding

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.