Amicus Curiae Brief — Morse v. Frederick
Supreme Court brief2007
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
241
No. 06-278 he ae
ae
IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States
DEBORAH MORSE, ET AL., Petitioners,
Vv.
JOSEPH FREDERICK, Respondent
On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals For the Ninth Circuit
BRIEF FOR THE DRUG POLICY ALLIANCE AND
THE CAMPAIGN FOR NEW DRUG POLICIES
AS AMICI CURIAE SUPPORTING RESPONDENT
DANIEL N. ABRAHAMSON DAVID I. GOLDBERG
Drug Policy Alliance Counsel of Record
Office of Legal Affairs 99 Hudson Street. 8th FI.
819 Bancroft Way New York, NY 10013
Berkeley, CA 94710 (212) 334-8813
(510) 229-5212
Attorneys for Amici Curiae
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Table of Authorities ................... Sorte ee
ED ss 9 d's Cede eh bes Sen eoenuens
EE ‘odd nekwune seaveususadevewees
ARGUMENT
I. The Constitution Requires and The Nation
Benefits From Open and Unhindered Discussion
eT ED kb dm canvcevecenccersusves
A. The “Bad Tendency” Theory of
Censorship Offends Constitutional
PE iccenakest duce even baneees ous
B. The Current Discussion Of Drug Policy
Reform Is Tied Inextricably to Principles
of Self-Government First Principles ..........
Il. High School Students Are And Should Be Full
Participants In the Policy Discussion .............
Ill. The “Special Characteristics” of The Public School
Forum Do Not Supply Authority For Punishing
Frederick’s Expression of A
Government-Disfavored View ..................
A. Frederick Was Speaking Publicly,
As A Citizen, In A Public Forum ............
B. The Court’s “Student Speech” Decisions
Do Not Confer Sweeping Powers Of
Viewpoint-Based Suppression ...............
IV. Society's Unquestioned Interest in Curtailing
Youth Drug Abuse Does Not Support The
Punishment Imposed Here ..................05. 27
A. The Suppression Here Bears No
Real Relationship To Preventing Drug Abuse .. 27
B. Well-Intended Suppression of Students’ Drug-
Related Speech Is Inimical To The Asserted
Prevention Interest .................ceecec- 29
I ek ce ae ee a eet 30
il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases.
44 Liquormart, Inc. v. Rhode Island,
DEE ee PEED hc 6b abe dnseccetecnctevecva 28
ACLU v. Mineta, 319 F. Supp. 2d 69
RCE ¢iveeesevukddeseneevantsees 14,23
Ambach v. Norwick, 441 U.S. 68 (1979) .............. 22
Arkansas Educ. Television Comm'n v. Forbes,
Fe UE oo bac Ketan vecsevsowevaccs 19
Austin v. Mich. Chamber of Commerce,
SP GED 66d ecccusccpesdasvaves’s 17,21
Bartnicki v. Vopper, 532 U.S. 514 (2001) ............. 28
Bethel Sch. Dist. v. Fraser, 478 U.S. 675 (1986) .. 4,23, 24
Board of Educ. y. Earls, 536 U.S. 822 (2002) . 16, 22, 27, 29
Bolger v. Youngs Drugs Prod. Corp.,
EE £00 ne hdedeeeeneeeuecavecnss 29
Bond v. Floyd, 385 U.S. 116 (1966) ...............8.0. 6
Boos v. Berry, 485 U.S. 312 (1988) ..............005. 19
Boy Scouts of America v. Dale, 530 U.S. 640 (2000) .... 20
Brandenberg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444 (1967) ............. 6
iil
Brown v. Louisiana, 383 U.S. 131 (1966) ............ 21
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) ......... 0.65005. 25
Burson v. Freeman, 504 U.S. 191 (1992) ............. 19
Carey v. Brown, 447 U.S. 455 (1980) ................ 21
Chandler v. Miller, 520 U.S. 305 (1997) ............ 29
Cincinnati v. Discovery Network, 507 U.S. 410 (1992) .. 21
Cornelius v. NAACP LDF, Inc., 473 U.S. 788 (1985) .... 19
Davis v. Monroe Bd. of Educ. .........6 020 c eee 22
Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578 (1987) ........... 26
First Nat'l Bank of Boston v. Bellotti,
SE EE. ik daneteces<é04e+0000ne08 21
Gitlow v. New York, 268 U.S. 652 (1925) ............. 7
Gonzales v. Raich 545 U.S. 1, 42 (2005) ........... 10, 11
Gonzales v. O Centro Espirita Beneficente U.D.V.,
Sa Gs CE EE ven coccccannescecnecs 12,14
Greater New Orleans Broad. Ass'n v.
United States, 527 U.S. 173 (1999) ........... 21, 28
Hague v. CIO, 307 U.S. 496 (1939) ...........2004.. 19
iv
Hazelwood vy. Kuhlmeier, 484 U.S. 260 (1988) ...... 19, 22
Hurley v. Irish-American Gay, Lesbian &
Bisexual Group, 515 U.S. 557 (1995) ...... 19, 20, 25
Island Trees School Dist. v. Pico, 457 U.S. 853 (1982) .. 26
Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558 (2003) ............... 8
Lorillard Tobacco Co. v. Reilly,
Sap as SPD 44 i i caeensieces come passim
LSC v. Velazquez, 531 U.S. 533 (2001) ........... 22, 23
Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923)........... 25, 26
Minersville School Dist. v. Gobitis, 310 U.S. 586 (1940) 25
Morrison v. Olson, 487 U.S. 654 (1988) ............. 14
NAACP vy. Claiborne Hardware, 458 U.S. 886 (1982) .... 6
NAACP vy. Alabama ex rel. Flowers,
Dee Cas BEEN + kv kd eewustises nie 26
New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964)... 12
Noy v. State, 83 P.3d 545 (Alaska Ct. App. 2003) ....... 12
Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202 (1982) ...............0.. 22
Police Dept. of Chicago v. Mosley,
Ge aa DR ROPTED vosncavccdeuccidecevesvurun 21
R.A.V. v. St. Paul, 505 U.S. 377 (1992) ........ 12, 16, 25
Ravin v. State, 537 P.2d 494 (1975)... 0... cee ae 12
Rosenberger v. University of Virginia,
Ee cccececeeseescccccscces 20, 21
Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476 (1957) .. 2... 6.6... 8
San Diego v. Roe, 543 U.S. 77 (2004) 2... 0... 6 cee. 17
Schenck v. Pro-Choice Network, 519 U.S. 357 (1997) ... 19
Schenck v. United States, 249 U.S. 47 (1919) ........... 8
Texas v. Johnson, 491 U.S 397 (1989). ............ 12, 24
Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88 (1940) ............ 16
Tinker v. Des Moines Ind.
Community School Dist., 393 U.S. 503 (1969) .. passim
United States v. Grace, 461 U.S. 171 (1984)...... 19,20,21
Ward v. Rock Against Racism, 491 U.S. 781 (1989) ..... 24
Vashington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702 (1997) ........ 8
West Virginia Bd. of Educ. v. Barnette,
EE be ctncdaceecnseeessens passim
Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357 (1927) ...... 8, 26, 28
vi
Legislative And Administrative Materials
y kT | | POPSET TeTT TTT TTT Te Te Tree 16
Cal. Health & Safety Code § 124960(d) ....... oleasee 1]
Rev. Code Wash. § 69.50.412(5) .............55. ‘<<
Alaska Dept’t of Educ. & Early Development,
Content and Performance Standards for
EN cs bv oeinnneansccedusean cen 27
Other Authorities
G.A.O. Rep. No. GAO-03-172R, Youth Illicit
Drug Use Prevention: DARE Long-Term Evaluations
and Federal Efforts to Identify Effective Programs . 17
G.A.O. Rep. No. 06-818, Contractor ’s National
Evaluation Did Not Find That the Youth
Anti-Drug Media Campaign Was Effective
in Reducing Youth Drug Use (Aug. 25, 2006) ...... 17
Satcher, Evidence-Based Findings on the Efficacy
of Syringe Exchange Programs: An Analysis
from the Assistant Secretary for Health and
Surgeon General of the Scientific Research
Completed Since April 1998 (2000) ............. 15
Simmons, Children of Incarcerated
Parents 3 (Cal. Research Bureau 2000) ........... 16
vii
U.S. Sentencing Commission, Report to
the Congress: Cocaine and Federal
SPEED 6 cccccéecurcesevsccsts 14
President George W. Bush,
Address to Armed Forces Wives’ Luncheon
DT ,kscedtdne sekunnewahenendends 26
BERNSTEIN, ALL ALONE IN THE WORLD:
CHILDREN OF THE INCARCERATED (2006) .......... 16
CHAFFEE, FREE SPEECH IN THE UNITED STATES (1941). ... 9 -
CURTIS, FREE SPEECH, “THE PEOPLE’S DARLING
PRIVILEGE”: STRUGGLES FOR FREEDOM OF
EXPRESSION IN AMERICAN HISTORY (2000) .... 6,9, 10
GRABER, DRED SCOTT AND THE PROBLEM OF
CONSTITUTIONAL EVIL(2006) ................05. 10
INST. OF MEDICINE, MARIJUANA AND MEDICINE:
ASSESSING THE SCIENCE BASE (1999) ......... 13, 15
KYVIG, REPEALING NATIONAL PROHIBITION (2000) .. 8, 11
LEVINE, FREEDOM’S CHILDREN (1993) ............... 16
MILLER, ARGUING ABOUT SLAVERY, THE GREAT
BATTLE IN THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS (1996) .. 10
Ballot Pamphlet, “Argument Against [California]
PY CEE oncuecarhubentosedoses. 17
Vili
Brown, Listen to the Kids: When It Comes
to Drug Education, Students Confirm
What Research Says, AM. SCHOOL
i cnausshecebsndeeennsuouns 17
Center For Science In the Public Interest,
Liquid Candy, How Soft Drinks Are Harming
Americans’ Health (2005) ............02200005. 20
Drug Policy Alliance, State of the States,
Drug Policy Reforms: 1996-2002 (2003) .......... 10
Partnership For a Drug-Free America,
The Wrong Message of Legalizing
Illicit Drugs (Aug. 18, 1994) ...............244. 12
Skager, Beyond Zero Tolerance:
A Reality-Based Approach to Drug Education
and Student Assistance 4-10 (2006) .............. 30
Brief for Petitioner, Gonzales v.
O Centro Espirita Beneficente U.D.V.,
U.S. S. Ct. No. 04-1084 (July 2005) ............. 12
Editorial, “Think Outside The Box,
Decriminalize Marijuana,”
Juneau Empire, Jan.1,2007 ...............445. 14
Friedenauer, “Inspired by an Unsung Hero,”
Fairbanks News-Miner, Jan. 21,2007 ............ 27
“Lawmakers OK Clean-Needle Bill,”
Newark Star-Ledger, Dec. 12,2006 ............. 1]
ix
Stockton, “Marijuana Vote Sparks
Passion on Both Sides,”
Juneau Empire, Oct. 29,1998 ...........2 00055.
Verhovek, “Alaska’s Voters to Decide On Legalizing
Marijuana,” N.Y. Times, Oct. 10,2000 ...........
Zernike, “Anti-Drug Program Says It Will
Adopt A New Strategy,” N.Y. Times, Feb. 15,2001. .
STATEMENT OF INTEREST’
The Drug Policy Alliance (DPA) is dedicated to broadening
the public debate over drug use and regulation and to advancing
realistic policies, grounded in science, compassion, public
health, and respect for human rights. A non-profit, non-partisan
organization with more than 20,000 members and active
supporters nationwide, the Alliance has played a central role in
the movement for drug law reform in this country, raising
public awareness of the inadequacies of current measures and
identifying and galvanizing support for promising alternatives.
The Alliance has a core, abiding commitment to preventing
adolescent substance abuse and assuring that young people who
develop drug problems receive proper assistance. In recent
years, the Alliance has worked with government officials,
parents’ groups, and experts to develop effective and realistic
prevention strategies and advocate for proven interventions.
The Campaign for New Drug Policies (CNDP) is a
non-profit organization devoted to reforming State policies
toward illicit drugs, with an emphasis on healthcare responses
to drug-related problems. A forerunner organization,
Americans for Medical Rights (AMR), now a project of CDNP,
was chartered to advocate for the legal, medical use of
marijuana, and through their advocacy efforts, CNDP and AMR
have advanced enactment of ballot measures in 12 States and
the District of Columbia.
As participants in the earnest and often emotionally-charged
debate about drug policy reform — and frequent critics of
government policies and enforcement efforts -— Amici are
deeply concerned that this case be decided consistently with the
First Amendment’s core commitment to public discussion
"The parties have consented to the filing of this brief. It was not
authored in any part by counsel for a party, and no one other than Amici and
their counsel made a monetary contribution for its preparation or submission.
2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Although the incident giving rise to this case may seem
trivial, the First Amendment principles that have now been
drawn into question are not. In an effort to uphold punishment
imposed here for Respondent’s nondisruptive expression in a
public forum, Petitioners advance a fateful First Amendment
argument: that because federal law proscribes marijuana, any
expression that might have the effect of weakening its
audience’s compliance with the statutory prohibition — whether
a “BONG HiTS 4 JESUS” banner, one that says “legalize
marijuana,” or one that lays out a more elaborate case against
existing law — is punishable based on these “bad tendencies.”
This theory has been decisively repudiated by this Court
before and must be here. As landmark opinions have explained,
a “bad tendencies” rule systematically disadvantages those who
criticize existing laws, thereby entrenching the unexamined
status quo, and it has no place in a system of government based
on popular sovereignty and public discussion. This realization,
however, did not come easily; the theory has a long and
notorious history — and was at the center of the bitter
controversies over the right to speak against slavery that helped
impel the Nation toward Civil War.
The commitment to resolving matters through open public
debate — and appreciation for the dangers of viewing speech
suppression as an auxiliary means of law enforcement — are of
central relevance to the subject matter of this case. In recent
years, citizens across the country have been engaged in a
serious, robust and wide-ranging discussion about the Nation’s
present approach to drug use and abuse. Voters and legislators
have debated whether marijuana possession should remain
regulated under the criminal law; whether laws should exempt
drug use for medical or religious purposes; whether laws
mandating lengthy sentences for nonviolent offenders are
sensible and fair; whether rules impeding the availability of
effective pain medications to individuals with chronic and
3
intractable pain should be changed; and whether the need to
combat infectious disease warrants changing laws intended to
prevent drug users from obtaining sterile syringes. Many of
these measures have been enacted, often with broad citizen
support, typically over the vocal opposition of government
authorities, and almost always after long and intense debate.
This is not the occasion to argue the merits of the reform
positions on various policies, but rather to highlight the radical
incompatibility of Petitioners’ position with the Constitution’s
core commitment to open debate. When policy reforms are
discussed, opponents in law enforcement invariably claim that
measures will have unintended consequences and weaken
compliance with other laws. To date, however, such claims,
advanced in the forum of public opinion, have been subject to
scrutiny and counter-argument. Under a “bad tendencies”
theory, assertions that have been matters for disproof or rebuttal
become a valid basis for silencing the disfavored speech.
Nor is this danger particular to debates over drug control
laws. Those who seek to change laws outlawing physician-
assisted suicide, gun controls, or constitutional abortion
protection necessarily believe — and seek to persuade others —
that the existing laws are unwise or unjust. Petitioners’ theory
would have condemned advocacy of the 21st Amendment as
readily as it condemns present reform proposals.
To be sure, the expression in this case — a banner bearing
words whose precise meaning remains elusive - was not a
closely reasoned law reform argument. The logic of
Petitioners’ position does not admit a distinction on that basis.
On the country, a statement cogently laying out scientific data
inconsistent with the government’s harm message could have
a greater effect than did Frederick’s banner display as
presumably would a “legalize marijuana” banner exhibited by
a revered recent JDHS graduate. Indeed, the United States as
Amicus does not shy away from this implication, and expressly
disavows any suggestion that political advocacy should be
4
exempt from tendency-based suppression.
Petitioners do not claim here that government could punish
the speech by non-student advocates of drug policy reform.
Rather, citing Tinker and Fraser, they claim authority “only” to
stop public high school students from speaking on the
government-disfavored side of this debate. By their own terms,
those decisions rest exclusively on the need to adapt First
Amendment rules to the special circumstances of the public
school environment — not, as Petitioners suggest, that the
freedom of belief and expression the Amendment protects do
not attach until the age of majority. Both history and precedent
rebel against that claim. Students have been active participants
in urgent national debates over war and civil rights, as they are
in the discussion of drug policy reform, and, given their distinct
perspective on many of the most important issues, society has
a strong interest in hearing from them.
The rules announced in Tinker and Fraser simply have no
application to Frederick’s First Amendment claims because, as
we argued (unsuccessfully) as amicus curiae below,
Respondent was not speaking as a student in a school-provided
forum. He was addressing the public from a public sidewalk,
a forum where, under this Court’s precedents, freedom of
expression is given its most comprehensive protection. There
is no question that if any of the other people standing in that
same place had displayed an identical banner, any attempt to
suppress their speech would be judged — and condemned —
under an undiluted strict scrutiny standard. There is no valid
First Amendment reason why Frederick, present with them by
right, wholly independent of his status as a public high student
— could more readily be silenced.
But even if the Court were to allow Petitioners’ actions an
exception from the ordinary rules governing censorship in a
public forum, the “school speech” decisions recognize no
permissible basis for the punishment here. Contrary to
Petitioners’ rereading, Tinker and Fraser recognize that
5
suppressing speech based on disapproval of the idea expressed
— viewpoint discrimination — to be no less serious “inside the
schoolhouse gate” than outside. As this Court’s landmark
public school First Amendment decision, West Virginia Bd. of
Educ. v. Barnette, makes clear, whether or how “central”
Petitioners’ drug prevention is to their “mission” does not
control; school authorities’ unquestioned power to teach
students about the dangers of illegal drugs or the dangers of
global warming — does not include the power to suppress
expression by students who believe otherwise.
While Petitioners and Amici call the Court’s attention to the
vastness, complexity and seriousness of the problem of youth
drug abuse, implying that adherence to First Amendment
principles — the remedy for speech is “more speech” — in these
circumstances would be an unaffordable luxury, any such
“special needs” exception should be rejected. There are strong
reasons for adhering to First Amendment doctrine — developed
in war, civil emergency, and upheaval — in any circumstances,
but the conflict posited here is not authentic. No searching
scrutiny is needed to see that the only purpose the power
Petitioners’ claim can actually serve is as a signal of the
steadfastness of their commitment to the anti-drug cause; it
bears no reasonable relationship (save for, perhaps, an inverse
one) to actual drug abuse prevention. Whether or not “pro-
drug” messages “lead to” drug abuse and even if Respondent’s
inscrutable banner could be so described, the government
would have scant authority to suppress other, similar (or more
“incendiary”) banners visible to these high school students, and
none at all to interfere with the many other messages that
Petitioners themselves acknowledge “bombard” teenagers.
Under First Amendment law, the patent inefficacy of
censorship in advancing the governmental interest settles its
unconstitutionality. But the reasons for rejecting Petitioners’
argument are not confined to its First Amendment dangers. At
least as important, censorship here is a profoundly bad drug
/
6
abuse prevention strategy. To legislators, school authorities,
and parents concerned about youth drug abuse, every message
the government can send that drugs are harmful and every
contrary one it can suppress may seem a step in the right
direction, but experience belies that intuition. Because schools
cannot talk to students through a “closed circuit”; because
students receive so much other drug-related information, an
alarmist approach, which lacks candor and credibility, does not
work.
This case, however, is not about what public school
authorities should or may say — but rather what they may
suppress, and a “drug abuse prevention” policy that aims to
inhibit students from expressing what they actually know,
believe, or think about drug-related matters, in favor of what the
government wants to hear, is doomed.
ARGUMENT
I. The Constitution Requires and The Nation Benefits From
Open and Unhindered Discussion of Drug Policy Reform
A. The “Bad Tendency” Theory of Censorship Offends
Constitutional First Principles
Although the Briefs of Petitioners and their Amici
repeatedly describe this case as involving punishment for
“advocating” violation of the federal drug laws, see Pet. Br.8,
the expression in this case bears no resemblance to the speech
that has given rise to this Court’s incitement case law, see, e.g.,
NAACP vy. Claiborne Hardware, 458 U.S. 886, 928 (1982);
Bond v. Floyd, 385 U.S. 116 (1966), and the theory of
censorship they assert goes far beyond what has been held
permissible even in those circumstances.’ Frederick’s
expression —a banner bearing a cryptic message that Petitioners
have described as a “whimsical espousal[] of illegal drug use”
'The Court has held that speech unequivocally advocating unlawful
action is protected, subject to a narrow and stringent set of exceptions. See
Brandenberg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444, 447 (1967) (unlawful action must be
serious, imminent, and highly likely).
7
and “at best * * * a parody of the seriousness with which the
school takes its mission to prevent use of illegal drugs.”
C.App.Br. at 21 — was “incitement” only in the sense that
“le}very idea is an incitement,” Gitlow v. New York, 268 U.S.
652, 673 (1925) (Holmes, J., dissenting).
What Petitioners here call “illegality promot[ion],” Br. 15,
reduces to a claim that (1) marijuana use is prohibited under
federal law; (2) Frederick’s inclusion of a slang and seemingly
sympathetic drug reference is at odds with that law’s underlying
premise, i.e., that drug use is “harmful and wrong,” and (3)
statements of this character could comfort those who might
smoke marijuana, in violation of the prohibition. That
Respondent did not intend the message to incite others to
unlawful action, Petitioners maintain, does not diminish their
power to suppress it, nor would it matter that the banner
contained a more explicitly political appeal or only truthful,
factual information.’
The idea that government officials are empowered to punish
expression on these broad terms has a long history, see CURTIS,
FREE SPEECH, “THE PEOPLE’S DARLING PRIVILEGE”:
STRUGGLES FOR FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION IN AMERICAN
HISTORY (2000) 10-12, but it is one whose dangers to core
constitutional values this Court has come to emphatically
repudiate.
As the efforts of the parties and courts below make clear, divining what
the message meant is no easy matter; apparently, many who observed the
banner in January 2002 found it unintelligible. But there is agreement that
Frederick’s intended audience were those watching on television. Pet. App.
62a — not the high schoo! students whose noncompliance with the law he is
charged with “inciting,” and the only “effect” Petitioners have even
attempted to connect to the banner was an instance of pro-drug graffiti.
For his part, Respondent testified that inclusion of a reference to drugs
(as against some other controversial topic) was in some sense fortuitous.
The primary purpose of the exercise, he explained, was to “reassure myself
that this is America. I have a Bill of Rights. I have the right to do something,
whether (] somebody finds it offensive or somebody doesn’t agree with it.”
Punishing those who criticize laws is contrary to what
Justice Jackson described as the “American concept of the
State,” — “where [a]uthority * * * is to be controlled by public
opinion, not public opinion by authority,” Barnette, 343 U.S. at
641. It gives would-be censors vast power, see, e.g., Lorillard
Tobacco Co. v. Reilly, 533 U.S. 525, 580 (2001) (Thomas, J.,
concurring in part) (“if speech may be suppressed whenever it
might inspire someone to act unlawfully, then there is no limit
to the State’s censorial power”), and, because every
“denunciation of existing law tends in some measure to increase
the pre vability that there will be violation of it,” Whitney v.
California, 274 U.S. 357, 377 (1927) (Brandeis, J., concurring),
it operates to the systematic disadvantage of those seeking to
persuade fellows citizens to change the status quo. See Roth v.
United States, 354 U.S. 476, 484 (1957) (the First Amendment
“was fashioned to assure unfettered interchange of ideas for the
bringing about of political and social changes desired by the
people”).
As Judge Kleinfeld’s opinion below was quick to recognize,
this theory does not limit itself to speech critical of the Nation’s
drug \|aws. What Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702
(1997), described as the “earnest and profound debate about the
morality, legality, and practicality of physician-assisted
suicide,” id. at 735, has unfolded in an environment where
criminal prohibition is a!most universal, id. at 711-16, and the
recognition that this “debate [should] continue * * * in a
democratic society,” id. at 735 was made with full awareness
that such discussion — by exposing apparent weaknesses in the
justifications for current prohibitions — could lead to
noncompliance. The same might be said about arguments that
federal gun control laws violate the Second Amendment;
arguments against federal abortion clinic access statutes; those
favoring repeal (prior to Lawrence vy. Texas, 539 U.S. 558
(2003)) of laws criminalizing homosexual sodomy; or the 1932
Democratic Party platform’s condemnation of national alcoho!
prohibition. See KYVIG, REPEALING NATIONAL PROHIBITION
9
(2000) at 157.2. And Tinker upheld expression that might
readily have been described as “advocating” noncompliance
with the law requiring military service. Cf. U.S. Br. 7. Indeed,
virtually every basis for arguing that a law should be changed
— that it is unjust, philosophically unsound, that it violates the
Constitution or some other, higher law, that it is hypocritically
or haphazardly enforced — can be said to affect some listener’s
readiness to comply.
While the wrongness of the “bad tendencies” theory seems
so self-evident as to make such dangers seem only theoretical,
the judicial opinions famed for exposing its errors were dissents
and concurrences, delivered at a time not long after the Court
upheld the conviction of Charles Schenck, for sending a flyer to
World War I era draftees with the Thirteenth Amendment
printed on one side and a denunciation of war printed on
another, see 249 U.S. 47 (1919), and when
Citizens were sentenced to prison terms for telling a woman
who was knitting socks for soldiers that no soldier would
ever see them * * * for urging broader exemptions for
conscientious objectors * * * and for circulating a pamphlet
arguing that Christ’s principles condemned war.
CURTIS, FREE SPEECH at 390 (summarizing cases collected in
CHAFFEE, FREE SPEECH IN THE UNITED STATES (1941)).
*The Court of Appeals made a similar point in rejecting Petitioners’
claimed power to punish “mission-undermining” speech.
All sorts of missions are undermined by legitimate and protected speech
~a school’s anti-gun mission would be undermined by a student passing
around copies of John R. Lott’s book, More Guns, Less Crime; a
school’s anti-alcohol mission would be undermined by a student
e-mailing links to a medical study showing less heart disease among
moderate drinkers than teetotalers; and a school’s traffic safety mission
would be undermined by a student circulating copies of articles
showing that traffic cameras and automatic ticketing systems for cars
that run red lights increase accidents.
Pet.App. 11a (footnote omitted).
10
These wartime prosecutions do not represent an historical
aberration or even the high water mark of the “bad tendencies”
theory. During the middle decades of the Nineteenth Century,
Southern States relied on an increasingly aggressive version of
the theory to thwart expression of anti-slavery opinion and
prevent debate over even modest measures, on the theory that
such discussion tended to undermine bondsmen’s acceptance of
their “lawful” lot. See CURTIS at 260-99; see also GRABER,
DRED SCOTT AND THE PROBLEM OF CONSTITUTIONAL EVIL
232-34 (2006); W. MILLER, ARGUING ABOUT SLAVERY (1996).
This suppression provoked outrage in the North, where
accusations that principles of republican government had been
supplanted by “Slave Power,” and these crises over free speech
fueled hostilities that took the Nation into Civil War.
B. The Current Discussion Of Drug Policy Reform Is Tied
Inextricably to Principles of Self-Government
These experiences and lessons have resonance in this case.
As this Court’s recent decisions give some indication, the
wisdom, justice, and efficacy of our Nation’s drug laws is the
subject of a thoughtful, robust debate at every level of
government and throughout the country. See Gonzales v. Raich
545 U.S. 1, 42 (2005) (O’Connor, J, dissenting) (describing
California’s Compassionate Use Act as “exempliffying] the role
of States as [policy] laboratories” pursuing “novel social and
economic experiments). A non-exhaustive count identified
more than 150 notable reforms enacted at the State level alone
(in 46 different States) between 1996 and 2002 — 17 of which
became law by voter initiative. See Drug Policy Alliance, State
of the States, Drug Policy Reforms: 1996-2002 (2003). The
number of changes at the local government level is far larger,
and many measures that did not become law garnered large
citizen and legislative support. These continue.*
‘Petitioners’ Amici are profoundly wrong to imply (D.A.R.E.Br.18n.32)
that these developments are inconsequential, because marijuana remains
federally prohibited. Although State measures yield in instances of conflict,
In addition to measures removing State law barriers to
medically-recommended marijuana, States have enacted
measures reforming mandatory minimum sentencing laws,
making drug treatment more widely available, removing
barriers to effective pain medications for those suffering from
intractable pain, see, e.g, Cal. Health & Safety Code §
124960(d),° and modifying laws relating to sterile syringes, e. g.,
Rev. Code Wash. § 69.50.412(5); see “Lawmakers OK
Clean-Needle Bill,” Newark Star-Ledger (Dec. 12, 2006)
(describing New Jersey legislation culminating “more than a
dozen years and countless hours of impassioned debate,”
explaining that “[f]or 13 years, lawmakers have wrestled with
the Jegal and moral paradox of giving addicts syringes to use
illicit drugs,” but that “scores of scientific studies,” cited by
proponents had eventually carried the day).
Many of these measures have been enacted by popular
initiative, with millions of Americans casting ballots on the
reform side — with many prominent elected officials and
medical and public health organizations spearheading support
for reforms. Millions of citizens have also voted or spoken
U.S. Const art. V1, States are sovereigns, and whether their non-preempted
laws proscribe or permit conduct is of vast legal and practical significance.
In addition, the censorship here was imposed by those acting under color of
Alaska, not federal, law, and that State has recognized a fundamental right
to marijuana use by adults (including 18 year-old high school students like
Frederick) in the privacy of the home. Cf. Lorillard, 533 U.S. at 564 (First
Amendment analysis must take account that products advertised were legal
for adult use)
Through a broader lens, discussion and experience at the State level can
profoundly affect changes in federal law. See, e.g, KYVIG, REPEALING
NATIONAL PROHIBITION at 68-69 (describing importance of State-level
referenda condemning Prohibition as precursors to 21st Amendment).
*Indeed, these particular reforms _ result of efforts by maverick health
professionals who endured insults that they were no better then “drug
pushers” — have come to play a central role in the debate over physician-
assisted suicide. See, e.g, 521 U.S. at 747 (Stevens, J., concurring in
judgment) (“Encouraging the development and ensuring the availability of
adequate pain treatment is of utmost importance”).
12
against these reforms, cf. Raich, 545 U.S. at 57 (O’Connor, J.,
dissenting) (observing that “If I were a California citizen, I
would not have voted for the medical. marijuana ballot
initiative”) — and in many places, they have encountered
outspoken opposition from government officials (and federal
law enforcement authorities, especially), who frequently claim
that any step away from prevailing approach undermines the
law’s anti-drug “message.”
Alaska, as Judge Kleinfeld’s opinion noted, has been the
locus of one the most intense and long-running of these citizen
debates. See Pet.App.6a n.4 (explaining that “[m]essages about
marijuana have a degree of political salience” there). By the
time Frederick unfurled his banner, Alaskans had been arguing
with one another about the legal status of marijuana for more
than a quarter century. The State Supreme Court’s decision in
Ravin v. State, 537 P.2d 494 (1975), holding that criminal
punishment for possession of a small amount of marijuana in
one’s home violated the State Constitution’s right to privacy
prompted a repeal effort that included failed constitutional
amendments and a successful — but ultimately ineffectual —
ballot initiative, see Noy v. State, 83 P.3d 545 (Alaska Ct. App.
2003). In 1998, the year Frederick entered high school,
Alaskans debated and approved a medical marijuana ballot
measure, and two years after that, the State’s voters were
presented — and rejected — a sweeping decriminalization ballot
measure. See Verhovek, “Alaska’s Voters to Decide On
*Thus, last Term, in Gonzales v. O Centro Espirita Beneficente U.D.V.,
the United States argued that a RFRA exemption would “increase] public
familiarity with hoasca, * * * generat(e] public misperceptions about the
safety of DMT tea, and fuel[} the development of a market for hoasca,” Pet.
Br. No. 04-1084 at 40 n.30. And the official ballot pamphlet, “Argument
Against [California] Proposition 215” asserted that it would “damage * * *
efforts to convince young people to remain drug free. It sends our children
the false message that marijuana is safe and healthy.” See also Partnership
for A Drug-Free America, The Wrong Message of Legalizing Illicit Drugs
(Aug. 18, 1994) (“Legalization sends [a] message * * * erodes the anti-drug
attitudes of our youth and [encourages] them to try and use illegal drugs”).
13
Legalizing Marijuana,” N.Y. Times (Oct. 10, 2000).
It would be mistaken to observe that the enigmatic message
on the banner was not a closely reasoned argument for law
reform and that its suppression poses no threat to more earnest
appeals. The First Amendment’s limitations are not limited to
speech by “philosophers,” Texas v. Johnson, 491 U.S. at 421
(Kennedy, J., concurring); see also R.A.V. v. St. Paul, 505 U.S.
377 (1992), and Petitioners’ own characterization confirms that
they discerned a political aspect to the message. See
Ct.App.Br.21 (calling banner “at best, a parody of the
seriousness with which the school takes its mission to prevent
use of illegal drugs” and describing Frederick as deserving of
punishment for “belittl[ing]” administrators’ pursuit of their
“critical [anti-drug] mission”); New York Times Co. v. Sullivan,
376 U.S. 254, 270 (1964) (restraints on “criticism of
government and public officials are [inconsistent] with the First
Amendment”); see also Pet.App.6a n.4 (noting that statements
about marijuana “might be understood as political advocacy”).
Even more important, the logic of Petitioners’ position does
not suggest a distinction between “whimsical” banners and
those which lay out a reasoned case for drug reform. On the
contrary, if potential to “undermine” the government’s anti-drug
message is the source of the power to censor, it is unimaginable
that a banner urging that voters “legalize marijuana” in the next
election would be protected — or a pamphlet that summarized
the Institute of Medicine’s findings that “marijuana users
appear to be less likely to [become dependent] than users * * *
of alcohol and nicotine{}, and marijuana dependence appears to
be less severe than dependence on other drugs”; that “marijuana
use * * * does not appear to be a gateway drug to the extent
that it is the cause or even * * * the most significant predictor
of serious drug abuse,” or that report’s rejection of the view that
“because [marijuana] is an illegal substance, * * * any use of
marijuana [is] substance abuse.” See MARIJUANA AND
MEDICINE: ASSESSING THE SCIENCE BASE (1999) (“IOM
14
REPORT”) 86, 98, 101. A speech referencing this Court’s recent
observation that allowing peyote use by Native American
Church members belied the government’s assertion that “any
Schedule I substance is in fact always highly dangerous in any
amount no matter how used,” O Centro, 126 S. Ct. 1211, 122
(2006), would be suspect — as would one referencing the U.S.
Sentencing Commission’s observation that “the negative effects
from prenatal exposure to cocaine are very similar to those
associated with prenatal tobacco exposure and less severe than
the negative effects of prenatal exposure to alcohol,” Report to
the Congress: Cocaine and Federal Sentencing Policy 100
(2002) —or one reading from a recent Juneau Empire editorial
entitled, “Think Outside The Box, Decriminalize Marijuana”
declaring that “the reality is that Prohibition did not work and
the effort to stamp out marijuana is not working either.”
Despite all the government's efforts, it is available to just about
anyone, in any part of the nation.” (Jan. 1, 2007).
These are not “slippery slope” concerns: “[t]his wolf comes
as a wolf,” Morrison v. Olson, 487 U.S. 654, 699 (1988)
(Scalia, J., dissenting). Rather than suggest that expression
more explicitly addressing a political matter, such as a drug
legalization ballot initiative, would somehow be exempted,
despite its “drug promoting” tendencies, the United States
asserts (Br. 27) “‘legalize’ is not a magic word that clothes
speech advocating drug use from school discipline. And
students do not have a First Amendment right to display
‘legalize marijuana’ banners * * * at events like the one at issue
here”) (emphasis in original); compare ACLU v. Mineta, 319 F.
Supp. 2d 69, 78 (D. D.C. 2004) (“a government regulation that
directly placed prohibitions on speech advocating the
legalization of marijuana, but allowed the opposite point of
view * * * unquestionably would be unconstitutional”).’
"Although emphasizing “banners” seems to imply that there was
something objectionable about the form of Frederick’s expression,
punishment was not imposed pursuant to a “no banners” policy, but rather
an anti-drug policy.
15
There is no reason to expect that government officials
would be reluctant to wield the “bad tendencies” theory against
reform arguments. As noted above, law enforcement
authorities opposing drug law reforms in the political arena
almost always do so on the ground that efforts to discourage
improper use will be undermined, see n.6, supra (collecting
examples), or by casting aspersions on the “agenda” of those
who criticize the status quo.
But such claims, when made in public debate, may be met
with reasoned, evidence-based counterargument. See, e.g.,
IOM REPoRT at 104 (finding “no convincing data to support
[the] concern” that permitting medical use of marijuana would
lead to an increase of marijuana use in the general population,
noting and “no evidence that the medical marijuana debate has
altered adolescents’ perceptions of the risks associated with
marijuana use”); Satcher, Evidence-Based Findings on the
Efficacy of Syringe Exchange Programs (2000) (Surgeon’s
General’s finding of “conclusive scientific evidence that
syringe exchange programs * * * do[] not encourage the use of
illegal drugs”); IOM REPORT at 102 (observing that
“widespread concern among physicians and medical licensing
boards that liberal use of opiates would result in many addicts
* * * * [has] proven unfounded; it is now recognized that fear
of producing addicts through medical treatment resulted in
needless suffering among patients with pain as physicians
needlessly limited appropriate doses of medications”). Cf.
Zernike, “Anti-Drug Program Says it Will Adopt a New
Strategy,” N.Y. Times (Feb. 15, 2001) (“DARE has long
dismissed criticism of its approach as flawed or the work of
groups that favor decriminalization of drug use. But the body
of research had grown to the point that the organization could
no longer ignore it. In the past two months alone, both the
surgeon general and the National Academy of Sciences have
issued reports saying that DARE’s approach is ineffective”).
16
II. High School Students Are And Should Be Full Participants
In the Policy Discussion
Petitioners’ offhand suggestion (Br.19 n.4) that the
“marketplace of ideas” protected by the First Amendment is
open only to those who have attained the age of majority (a
notion that would not augment their power over the 18-year old
respondent here), is refuted not only by 7inker (which referred
to the “First Amendment rights” of the 13, .., and 16-year olds
plaintiffs), but also by R.A.V. and Barnette.
Whatever may have been the case in England in 1859,
constitutional protection — and participation in public affairs —
by students of high school age is and long has been the norm on
these shores. See Tinker; LEVINE, FREEDOM’S CHILDREN 77-92
(1993) (describing 1963 “Children’s Crusade” in Birmingham,
Alabama). Students have been full and active participants in
many recent drug pu:'cy debates, — on both sides of the reform
position see Stockton, “Mc*ijuana Vote Sparks Passion on Both
Sides,” Juneau Empire (Oct. 2>, 1998) (noting that students at
Juneau-Douglas High School studen.: had formed “Juneau’s
Teens Against Ballot Measure 8 [permitting mcu:-al use]”’); Br.
Amicus Curiae, Students for Sensible Drug:Policy.
Students are distinctly affected by — and distinctly qualified
to speak about — a number of drug policies that are the subject
of intense debate, see Ear/s (linking high school activities to
drug tests); 20 U.S.C. § 1091(r)(1) (denying education aid
based on previous drug conviction), and younger people bear
especially severe collateral effects of lengthy sentencing laws.
BERNSTEIN, ALL ALONE IN THE WORLD: CHILDREN OF THE
INCARCERATED (2006); Simmons, Children of Incarcerated
Parents 3 (Cal. Research Bureau (2000) (nearly 300,000
California children have a parent incarcerated). There is a
strong First Amendment interest in assuring that views are
heard by those who decide such policies. See Thornhill v.
Alabama, 310 U.S. 88, 102 (1940) (linking freedom of
discussion to “information “appropriate to enable the members
17
of society to cope with the exigencies of their period”); Austin
v. Mich. Chamber of Commerce, 494 U.S. 652, 699 (1990)
(Scalia, J., dissenting) (noting nonprofit corporations with
“unique views of vital importance to the electorate”); cf. San
Diego v. Roe, 543 U.S. 77, 80 (2004) (per curiam) (on some
issues, “public employees are uniquely qualified to comment”).
Indeed, the Briefs of Petitioners and their Amici go far in
making this case. Accepting the paramount importance of
preventing youth drug substance abuse — and the government-
documented difficulty of crafting messages that actually
advance that interest, see G.A.O., Rep. No. GAO-03-172R,
Youth Illicit Drug Use Prevention: DARE Long-Term
Evaluations and Federal Efforts to Identify Effective Programs
2 (Jan 16, 2003) (finding “no significant differences in illicit
drug use between students who received [widely-used drug
education program] and students who did not”); G.A.O. Rep.
No. 06-818, Contractor’s National Evaluation Did Not Find
That the Youth Anti-Drug Media Campaign Was Effective in
Reducing Youth Drug Use (Aug. 25, 2006) (endorsing
conclusion that “campaign was not effective in reducing youth
drug use, either during the entire period of the campaign or
during the period from 2002 to 2004 when the campaign was
redirected and focused on marijuana use”), it is deeply
irresponsible to ignore what high school students actually think,
know, and believe, about the subject, see Brown, Listen to the
Kids: When It Comes to Drug Education, Students Confirm
What Research Says, AM. SCHOOL BOARD J., Dec. 1997, at 40
— or to punish them because officials do not like what they have
to say. See Ct.App.Br.21 (asserting that Respondent’s
“belittl[ing]” administrators’ pursuit of their “critical [anti-
drug] mission” was punishable).
lif. The “Special Characteristics” of The Public School Forum
Do Not Supply Authority For Punishing Frederick’s
Expression of A Government-Disfavored View
18
Just as this Court’s “student speech” cases do not recognize
governmental power to punish high school students’ free
expression based on their age, they do not, as the Court of
Appeals acknowledged, rest on their status as enrollees in
public-run schools. See Pet.App.5a (unconstitutionality of
punishing a “student [for] having an after-school job at a video
store that rents out Cheech and Chong tapes [or] * * * driving
a car on public streets with a ‘Bong Hits 4 Jesus’ bumper
sticker” is “easy”).
Rather, these cases recognize that the Constitution protects
students’ freedom of belief and expression inside and outside
the “schoolhouse gate,” Tinker 393 U.S. at 506; see also
Barnette, but that general First Amendment principles must be
applied in light of the “special characteristics” of the public
school forum, id.; see also id. at 512 (delimiting permissible
grounds for suppressing students’ “expressifons of] their
personal views on the school premises”) (emphasis added). The
Court of Appeals was unassailably correct to hold that these
“student speech” cases supply no authority for the viewpoint-
based punishment Petitioners imposed; its only error (albeit
harmless, under these circumstances) was in understating the
extent of First Amendment protection to which Frederick’s
expression was entitled.
A. Frederick Was Speaking Publicly, As A Citizen, In A
Public Forum
Petitioners and Amici insist (and the decision below agreed)
that, though Frederick was not “on the school premises” when
he displayed his banner, it would be error to treat “which side
of the street [he] chose to stand on” as “constitutionally
dispositive,” U.S. Br. 27 — given that the banner was visible to
JDHS students across the street, who were present at the Torch
Relay under school supervision. Accord Pet.App.6a
(“Frederick was a student, and school was in session”).
This is wrong. It is of course not uncommon in First
Amendment jurisprudence for such variables to have large
19
weight. See, e.g., Schenck v. Pro-Choice Network, 519 U.S.
357, 378-82 (1997); cf. Burson v. Freeman, 504 U.S. 191
(1992). But Respondent’s entitlement to undiluted First
Amendment protection is not based on his expression’s
occurring far enough away from a public school, but rather
because of where it did occur: in a public forum — indeed, the
quintessential such forum, a public sidewalk along a parade
route. As legions of this Court’s cases instruct, that undisputed
fact is “constitutionally dispositive”: the first task in judging a
governmental limitation on expression is to “identify the nature
of the forum” in which expression occurs, see, e.g., Cornelius
v. NAACP LDF, Inc., 473 U.S. 788, 800 (1985); Arkansas
Educ. TelevisionComm’n v. Forbes, 523 U.S. 666, 671 (1998),
and if it is held to be “public” in character,“the government’s
ability to restrict expressive activity is very limited.” United
States v. Grace, 461 U.S. 171, 177 (1984). The Nation’s
tradition of free speech commands that a speaker who takes
to the street corner to express his views * * * should be free
from interference by the State based on the content of what
he says.
Hurley vy. Irish-American Gay, Lesbian & Bisexual Group,
515 U.S. $57, 579 (1995). Indeed, this point was highlighted
in Kuhlmeier: “|t]he public schools do not possess all of the
attributes of streets, parks, and other traditional public forums
that ‘time out of mind, have been used for purposes of
assembly, communicating thoughts between citizens, and
discussing public questions’” 484 U.S. 260, 267 (1988)
(quoting Hague v. CIO, 307 U.S. 496, 515 (1939)).
Under settled law, the sidewalk’s relative proximity to the
public high school was immaterial: “public forum property
* * * will not lose its historically recognized character for the
reason that it abuts government property * * * dedicated to a
use other than as a forum for public expression,” Grace, 461
U.S. at 180; Boos v. Berry, 485 U.S. 312 (1988) (applying
public forum standards to sidewalks outside foreign embassies).
20
Nor can the presence in the audience of public high school
students, or the fact that they were present at the public event
under the school’s auspices, make “school speech” rules
control. The assembled crowd included many non-students, —
Petitioners found the message was intended “for the benefit of
television cameras covering the Torch Relay,” Pet.App.62a;
see Lorillard, 533 U.S. at 564. Visits by school groups to this
Court or to Boston’s St. Patrick’s Day parade would not
authorize censorship under the standards of the public school
setting.® Indeed, the “special * * * First Amendment
protection,” for speech in public fora, Grace, 461 U.S. at 180,
has never been grounded on the assumption that students of
high school (and younger) age do not frequent streets and parks.
These principles control Respondent’s Free Speech claim.”
Because every other person standing along side Frederick —
including a private school student, a recent graduate, or a recent
JDHS drop out — could lawfully have displayed precisely the
same banner to the same audience, so too could he. “If the
speaker[] here were not [a high school student], no one would
‘Under Hurley, the presence of students enrolled at a school committed
to teaching tolerance and respect would not have supplied a reason for
rehabilitating the inclusion mandate the Court struck down, nor could a
principal prevent a Boy Scout troop from participating, see Boy Scouts of
America v. Dale, 530 U.S. 640 (2000) — or punish a student for marching
under the Boy Scout Flag. That, in relevant respects, is this case.
Similarly, that Petitioners’ responsibility for educating students about
nutrition would presumably allow them to exclude sugar-laden soft drinks
from the cafeteria, see Center For Science In the Public Interest, Liquid
Candy, How Soft Drinks Are Harming Amer cans Health (2005), it would
not have allowed them to pull down a Coca Cola banner that sought to
associate cola drinking with a healthy lifestyle, on the ground that it was
visible to the student audience.
"There is a plain, unacknowledged tension between Petitioners’
insistence that the Court of Appeals took an insufficiently categorical
approach — by noting that the event was privately sponsored and that teacher
supervision was, in fact, lax — and their central premise that the Court need
not strictly follow its (very categorical) public forum case law in a case
involving expression that occurred in a public forum.
2)
suggest that the State could silence [his] proposed speech,”
First Nat'l Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765, 784
(1978). See Rosenberger v. University of Virginia, 515 U.S.
819, 828 (1995) (principle that “government regulation may not
favor one speaker over another” derives from the “axiom[{] that
the government may not regulate speech based on * * * the
message it conveys”). Accord Police Dept. of Chicago v.
Mosley, 408 U.S. 92 (1972); Carey v. Brown, 447 U.S. 455
(1980); Greater New Orleans Broadcasting Ass'n, Inc. United
States, 527 U.S. 173, 193 (1999) (“[e]ven under the degree of
scrutiny that we have applied in commercial speech cases,
decisions that select among speakers conveying virtually
identical messages are in serious tension with the principles
undergirding the First Amendment”); Cincinnati v. Discovery
Network, 507 U.S. 410, 428 (1993)."°
Petitioners’ attempts to analogize the circumstances here to
those of a student on an off-campus class trip fail to reckon with
'° That the expression of a student peer is said to be more persuasive
than another’s (i.e., through “peer pressure” U.S. Br. 17) would not, under
usual First Amendment rules, be a permissible ground for a speaker-based
restriction, see Austin, 494 U.S. at 695 (1990) (Scalia, J., dissenting) (First
Amendment does not allow restrictions grounded on the notion that an
individual’s “speech may be ‘unduly’ persuasive * * * or ‘unduly’ respected
(because they are clergymen)”), but the issue need not be squarely faced
here, because it is simply impossible to describe a banner, let alone a delphic
one directed at the television audience, as “pressuring” others. Cf. Board
of Educ. v. Earls, 536 U.S. 822, 841 (2002) (Breyer, J.) (noting that policy
gave “adolescents a nonthreatening reason to decline his friend’s drug-use
invitations”).
Nor is there anything “strange” about the “dichotomy” (Pet. Br. 30 n.9)
between the decision below and the Fourth Circuit’s (pre-Lorillard) decision
upholding an ordinance limiting the location of alcohol advertising, see
Anheuser-Busch v. Schmoke, 101 F.3d 325 (4th Cir. 1996). This Court's
cases generally give noncommercial speech greater protection than
advertising — and while advertising, by definition, “promotes” the product,
what Frederick wanted viewers to do is far from clear. Most important, a
geographic ban like the one upheld in Schmoke applies even-handedly to the
same speech — advertising. Here, a hypothetical non-student “Frederick
Joseph,” could have taken up the same banner with impunity.
22
the reason why broader First Amendment protection is afforded
in the public forum: because citizens are free to speak their
minds “‘in a place where [they] ha[ve] every right to be,””
Grace, 461 U.S. at 184 (Marshall, J., concurring and dissenting
in part) (quoting Brown v. Louisiana, 383 U.S. 131, 142 (1966))
(Opinion of Fortas, J). Frederick was not trying to speak in a
school-created forum, see Fraser, 478 U.S. at 677; his presence
on the public sidewalk, was, as a matter of fact and law,
independent of school authorities. Compare Pet.App.58a
(Policy No. 5850) (“Participation in * * * class trips is not a
right”). He was present and expressing himself, not as a student
— but as a citizen."
B. The Court’s “Student Speech” Decisions Do Not Confer
Sweeping Powers Of Viewpoint-Based Suppression
Although Respondent’s public forum speech is entitled to
full protection, the viewpoint-based censorship at issue here
fares no better under the First Amendment standards applicable
to student speech in the public schools. At the center of
''The Government's suggestion (U.S. Br. 24) that public school
students’ Free Speech rights be determined under rules applicable to
government employees likewise ignores critical dissimilarities between the
respective legal relationships. First, many public employees’ duties include
delivering government’s message, and their effectiveness in doing so can be
impaired by what they say elsewhere, see Davis v. Monroe Bd. of Educ.
(Kennedy, J., dissenting) (noting Court’s unanimity “that the school [does
not] act[] through its students”); LSC v. Velazquez, 531 U.S. 533, 542 (2001)
(when government “funds to private entities to convey a governmental
message, it may take legitimate and appropriate steps to ensure that its
message is neither garbled nor distorted by the grantee”) (quoting
Rosenberger, 515 U.S. at 833). That authorities may exclude a person from
teaching in the public schools based on citizenship, Ambach v. Norwick, 441
U.S. 68, 76 (1979), obviously does not define power to exclude a student on
that ground. See Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202 (1982). Moreover, because
school attendance (up to a certain age) is compulsory, a restriction is the
equivalent of a mandate, rather than a condition on a benefit. See Barnette,
319 U.S. at 629 (noting interplay of flag salute requirement and attendance
laws); Earls, 533 U.S. at 841 (Breyer, J., concurring) (noting that drug
testing policy “preserve[d an] option for a conscientious objector”).
23
Petitioners’ contrary argument is a breathtaking reinterpretation
of Tinker and Fraser — which,are claimed to have together
established that student speech may not be suppressed to quell
controversy, but that the student may be punished for
“undermining” the school’s communication of a message
important to its educational mission.'* As the court below was
quick to perceive, Petitioners’ “undermining”/“mission”
construct is a roundabout way of describing power to punish
speech based on governmental disapproval or disagreement
with the idea expressed, i.e., “viewpoint discrimination.”
So disambiguated, the claim that Tinker prohibited school
authorities from suppressing discussion of controversial topics
— but left the door open for suppressing speech expressing
government-disfavored viewpoints (on matters “central” to the
school) is simply untenable. It is a cardinal First Amendment
principle that viewpoint-based restrictions are more suspect
than those which apply even-handedly to all sides of an issue,
ACLU vy. Mineta, 319 F. Supp. 2d at 86 (a law aimed at
“shield[ing] the nation’s youth from ai/ conversation regarding
controlled substances” might have been permissible; one
targeting only one side of the “dialogue regarding legislative
reform of the narcotics laws”); see also Velazquez, 531 U.S. at
548-49 (otherwise discretionary “funding decision cannot be
aimed at the suppression of ideas thought inimical to the
Government’s own interest”), and nothing in 7inker hints that
things should be inverted inside the school gate. To be sure,
Tinker held that public schools are not the kind of forum from
which controversial speech may be excluded (absent “material[]
and substantial disruption,” 393 U.S. at 513), but it also
squarely rejected that official disapproval could justify
punishing a student speaker. /d. (A rule “forbidding * * *
'2Detitioners and Amici include references to Kuhlmeier — and half-
hearted suggestions that they punished Frederick to “disassociate” — the
school from his banner, U.S. Br.17. But Frederick obviously did not claim
that the “First Amendment require[d Petitioners] affirmatively to promote”
his expression, 484 U.S. at 271, just to leave it alone.
24
expression by any student of opposition to [Vietnam War]
would be an “obvious” constitutional violation).
Fraser picked up this central point, emphasizing that
“{ujnlike the sanctions imposed on the students wearing
armbands in Jinker, the penalties imposed in this case were
unrelated to any political viewpoint.” 478 U.S. at 685; see also
id. at 689 (Blackmun, J., concurring) (“There is no suggestion
that school officials attempted to regulate respondent’s speech
because they disagreed with the views he sought to express”).
Indeed, almost every page of Fraser resonates with the general
First Amendment rule that government may more freely
regulate the time, place, and manner of protected speech, but
not the idea expressed. See Ward v. Rock Against Racism, 491
U.S. 781, 791 (1989). See 478 U.S. at 683, 684 (school may
limit the “terms” and “manner” of student speech in an
assembly). But the Court approved the civility-promoting rules
Thomas Jefferson drafted for congressional debate, see 478
U.S. at 681-82 (prohibiting “indecent” speech) — not the “gag
rules” Congress imposed to assure that Nineteenth century
critics of slavery could not be heard. See supra."
The First Amendment problem with Petitioners’ argument
is not, as the decision below may have implied, that a school
might define its “mission” too elastically, see U.S.Br.11
(arguing that “a school can conceive of its mission as involving
not only the graduation of well-educated students, but students
who have emerged from their K-12 years free from the scourge
of illegal drugs”); or that prevention is not an “important” part
of the high school curriculum,” Pet.Br.9, but rather with its
premise ~— that suppressing heterodox speech is a
constitutionally permissible means for schools to get across
even their most important messages. The viewpoint
>It is likewise implausible to interpret Fraser’s reference to “offensive
terms,” 478 U.S. at 683, as repudiating the “bedrock” First Amendment bar
to censoring “expression * * * because society finds the idea itself
offensive,” Johnson, 491 U.S. at 414.
25
discrimination discussed in Tinker was not condemned because
it concerned a federal, rather than a Des Moines, matter (i.e.,
the Vietnam War); it was condemned because it was viewpoint
discrimination.
There are no shortage of cases explaining why government
may not “interfere with speech for no better reason than
promoting [its own] approved message,” Hurley, 515 U.S. at
579; Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 48-49 (1976); R.A.V., 505
U.S. at 396, and that principle’s application to the public school
environment was settled long before Tinker — in Barnette, a
landmark decision Petitioners do not cite even once. The Court
did not strike down the mandatory pledge law because it
doubted the importance of the objectives pursued — “‘national
security’” and “‘national unity,””’— 319 U.S. at 626, or that the
Board of Education’s decision to make recitation part of the
school day was the kind of legitimate judgment it was
authorized to make. Rather, the Court held that compulsory
speech “was not a permissible means” of advancing that end, id.
at 640."
Though decided on general Due Process grounds, Meyer v.
Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923), is to the same effect. It struck
down a law prohibiting foreign language instruction not on
account of doubts as to the legitimacy or educational
importance of the measure’s objective — graduating students
fluent in English and thereby “prepared * * * to understand
current discussions of civic matters” -- but rather because that
“desirable end cannot be promoted by [the] prohibited means”
of limiting what else students could learn. /d at 403. See
Tinker, 393 U.S. at 511 (“[S]}tudents may not be regarded as
closed-circuit recipients of only that which the State chooses to
communicate. They may not be confined to the expression of
4In doing so, the Court explicitly acknowledged the “legislative
judgment” recognized in Minersville School Dist. v. Gobitis, 310 U.S. 586,
599 (1940), that failure to punish the Witnesses “‘might cast doubts in the
minds of the other children which would themselves weaken the effect of the
exercise."” 319 U.S. at 635 n.16 (quoting 310 U.S. at 599).
26
those sentiments that are officially approved”).
These decisions give no indication that a different rule holds
as the curricular hard core of the “work of the schools,” 393
U.S. 508, is approached. That school authorities have almost
plenary power to make educational judgments as to what
scientific principles are important for students to learn, cf.
Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578 (1987), or whether and
which foreign languages will be taught, Meyer, Island Trees
School Dist. v. Pico, 457 U.S. 853 (1982), does not imply the
power to prevent “undermining” such decisions by suppressing
disagreement.
Nor do Amici’s efforts to conjure a mission beyond drug
abuse prevention — to present censorship as inculcating
“fundamental democratic values” — make for easy reading. The
claim that “advocacy of unlawful conduct * * * strikes at the
heart of a school’s basic educational mission to teach
‘fundamental democratic values’” because “our society depends
on the willingness of its members to work to change
objectionable laws, rather than simply violating them,” U.S.
Br.12, sits uncomfortably in a brief that elsewhere maintains
that Frederick could have been punished for expressly
advocating a legalization measure, id 27. The notion that
“respect for law” is advanced by punishing those who disagree
with them is hardly a “democratic value,” see Whitney, 274 U.S.
at 377 (Brandeis, J.); and whether obedience to law is an
unqualified duty is no easy question. See Barnette, 319 U.S. at
629 (vindicating claim grounded in belief “that the obligation
imposed by law of God is superior to that of laws enacted by
temporal government”).
Presumably Amicus would not say that President Bush
undermined the school district’s message by lauding Rosa
Parks’s “defiance” of Montgomery’s segregation laws, “as an
act of personal courage [that] transformed America for the
better,” Address to Armed Forces Wives’ Luncheon (Oct. 29,
2005); see NAACP v. Alabama ex rel. Flowers, 377 U.S. 288,
27
302 (1964) (rejecting effort to oust NAACP based partly on its
“organizing, supporting and financing an illegal boycott’”’) — or
that speaker at Fairbanks’ recent Martin Luther King Jr.
Holiday Youth Breakfast was interfering with public educators’
mission when he told the students assembled about 15-year-old
Claudette Clovin, whose earlier arrest for violating the same
segregation law had inspired Rosa Parks’s stand. See
Friedenauer, “Inspired by an Unsung Hero,” Fairbanks News-
Miner (Jan. 21, 2007).
In fact, Alaska’s State-adopted Content and Performance
Standards for Alaska Students (2006), which “represent what
Alaskans want students to know and be able to do as a result of
their public schooling,” id. at 2, suggest that public education
does not have the mission imputed to it. Rather than exalt law
obedience as a central value, the “government and citizenship”
component suggests a vision more in line with Barnette than
Gobitis, describing a well-educated young person as one who
“recognize[s} the role of dissent in the American political
system” and can “establish, explain, and apply criteria useful in
evaluating rules and laws,” /d. at 19-20.'°
IV. Society's Unquestioned Interest in Curtailing Youth
Drug Abuse Does Not Support The Punishment
Imposed Here
A. The Suppression Here Bears No Real Relationship To
Preventing Drug Abuse
In places, the submissions of Petitioners and Amici read like
a plea for at least a de facto “special needs” exception to the
First Amendment along the lines of the Fourth Amendment one
recognized in Earls. In the context of the serious, intractable,
The standards that relate most closely to drug abuse are phrased in less
than dogmatic terms: Alaska expects high school graduates to “understand
how the human body is affected by behaviors related to eating habits,
physical fitness, personal hygiene, harmful substances, safety, and
environmental conditions; and * * * * demonstrate an ability to make
responsible decisions by discriminating among risks and by identifying
consequences,” /d. at 25.
28
and complex problem of youth drug abuse, this suggests, settled
First Amendment rules — that “speech restrictions cannot be
treated as simply another means that the government may use
to achieve its ends,” 44 Liguormart, Inc. v. Rhode Island, 517
U.S. 484, 512 (1996); that “the normal method of deterring
unlawful conduct is to impose an appropriate punishment on the
person who engages in it,” Bartnicki v. Vopper, 532 U.S. 514,
529 (2001); and that “more speech, not enforced silence,” is
society’s remedy, Whitney, 274 U.S. at 377 (Brandeis, J.) — fail
to persuade, and Barnetie’s concerns about the long-term
effects of censorship are abstract.
While the force of such an appeal is understandable, the
circumstances of this case only highlight why it must be
rejected. First Amendment doctrine already recognizes that
some government interests are compelling enough to suppress
speech; but, recognizing claims of necessity will frequently
(and sincerely) advanced and that the less tangible, but
compelling benefits of free expression must be protected, it
requires that those claiming compelling interests show that the
repressive means will make a substantial difference. See
Barnette, 319 U.S. at 636-37."°
What Petitioners defend here cannot possibly pass that test.
Even accepting that a “Bong Hits 4 Jesus” banner on a public
sidewalk can “lead to” youth drug abuse — premise that is both
fanciful and fraught with First Amendment danger, the regime
the Court is asked to uphold — one, as explained above, in
which every other person present in the same public place could
display a banner bearing a message identical to Frederick’s,
cannot stand. Comparable rules have been invalidated under
First Amendment standards more deferential than those which
govern here. See Greater New Orleans, 527 U.S. at 193.
‘©The Court in that case rejected a claim of “national security” at a time
of war, and the government purposes supporting measures struck down in
Lorillard, 44 Liquormart, and R.A.V. were extremely serious and
compelling.
29
But saying only this much significantly overstates the
efficacy of what Petitioners are defending. As they emphasize,
banners are not the whole story: students are “bombarded with
pro-drug messages from classmates, adults, and the media,”
Pet. Br. 27, and they get information from literature, political
debate, parents and siblings; frem their own experiences and
observation of others. A student sitting at a personal computer
can retrieve 22 million websites by typing in the word
“marijuana” into a search engine — with those of the ONCDP
and NORML among the first appearing. Whether government-
maintained ignorance is an ideal, a policy that seeks to maintain
a‘‘closed circuit,” is not an option. See Bolger v. Youngs Drugs
Prod. Corp., 463 U.S. 60, 73 & n. 26 (1983) (ban must be
evaluated in light of likelihood that minors would have been
exposed to similar “stimuli” from other sources).
Petitioners’ exertions notwithstanding, the parallel here is
not with Earls, but Chandler v. Miller, 520 U.S. 305, 322
(1997), which, after determining that the policy advanced no
anti-drug purpose, apart from enhancing the State’s “image [as]
* * * committed to the struggle against drug abuse,” held that
Fourth Amendment privacy interests may not be “diminishe[d]
for a symbol’s sake,” id.
B. Well-Intended Suppression of Students’ Drug-Related
Speech Is Inimical To The Asserted Prevention Interest
What has just been said is not an argument about the futility
of prevention education, but rather about the futility of
censorship. The relevance of the realities cited above realities
is not limited to the legal question present here; they also
critically affect how drug abuse prevention should be pursued.
Given the inestimable seriousness of the problem of youth drug
abuse, it must be common ground that what matters most is not
the clarity of the message educators send youth, let alone the
steadfastness conveyed to their parents or legislators, but rather
the likelihood that the message will actually induce its audience
to engage in less harmful behavior. As those who study
30
adolescent drug attitudes stress, strategies that deny the reality
that students hear other messages, that they are intelligent and
prone to cynicism, and that many have direct experience with
drug use —— and proceed from the assumption that teenagers
will credit whatever they are told and therefore will be more
deterred by an exaggerated harm message than an accurate one
— cannot work. See Skager, Beyond Zero Tolerance: A Reality-
Based Approach to Drug Education and Student Assistance 4-
10 (2006). And, as noted above, reports of independent
government evaluators confirm in depressing detai! just how
completely programs popular with parents and legislators have
failed.
But this case is not about what educators should say — or
what they may say — but rather what they can punish others for
saying. And on this point, the case is even starker: those who
craft and deliver the message must know what their intended
audience actually thinks, knows, and believes about illegal drug
use — whether these are grounded in fact or myth and even
(especially) if attitudes are “pro-drug” or anti-authoritarian.
There is no conceivable interest in having students tell school
authorities what they want to hear, i.e.,“\just saying no” — then
doing otherwise.
Conclusion
The judgment of the Court of Appeals should be affirmed.
Respectfully submitted,
DANIEL N. ABRAHAMSON DAVID T. GOLDBERG
Drug Policy Alliance Counsel of Record
Office of Legal Affairs 99 Hudson Street
819 Bancroft Way 8th Floor
Berkeley, CA 94710 New York, NY 10013
(510 229-5211 (212) 334-8813
Attorneys for Amici Curiae
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.