Amicus Curiae Brief — Travelers Cas. & Sur. Co. v. PACIFIC GAS

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

i iis

on.

’

“7 |

\ No. 05-1429 cr 2) 2G

oop OF THE CLERK;

2 UF ete M = CO UAT, XS S.

IN THE |

Supreme Court of the United States

sos

TRAVELERS CASUALTY & SURETY COMPANY OF AMERICA,

Petitioner,

—v.—

PACIFIC GAS AND ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT FOR

AMICI CURIAE PROFESSORS RICHARD AARON,

JAGDEEP S. BHANDARI, SUSAN BLOCK-LIEB,

RALPH BRUBAKER, ERWIN CHEMERINSKY,

S. ELIZABETH GIBSON, KENNETH N. KLEE,

ROBERT M. LAWLESS, NANCY B. RAPOPORT

AND ETTIE WARD

ROBERT M. ZINMAN

Professor of Law

ST. JOHN’S UNIVERSITY

SCHOOL OF LAW

8000 Utopia Parkway

Jamaica, New York 11439

(718) 990-6646/(914) 631-3515

Counsel of Recc d

December 22, 2006 for Amici Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Ae Cd PIII wiiitestinscichaiccseccncicenscdovdatanokiiniionn iil

INTEREST OF AMICT CURIAE ..s:.000.000.-ccsasarehesesceoreseccessees ]

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .......0........cccccccesceeessceseeseeeeees 2

FN i ESOS aE ESSAI SOONER SRO AT IET 6

I. Bankruptcy Code § 502(b) Should Be Construed

Narrowly In Light Of Long-Standing Precedent

Of This Court, and The Structure and Goals Of

re I GI soins siete tisigiinsaachinihetntinnsditntionend 6

A. In Light of Other Bankruptcy Code Provisions,

§ 502(b) Should Be Narrowly Construed Not To

Allow Unsecured Creditors’ Claims For

Postpetition Legal Services of No Benefit to The

tbh ibecechialail clathrate 6

B. Timbers of Inwbod Supports Disallowance of

Contractual Postpetition Fee Claims For

IIT ENR) IOSD SCD 7

C. Under Randolph v. Scruggs and Other Cases,

Unsecured Creditors Should Be Allowed Claims

For Postpetition Legal Fees Only If The Attorney’s

Services Were Beneficial To The Estate. .................. 9

D. The Bankruptcy Courts Have Exclusive

_ Jurisdiction Over Legal Fees In Bankruptcy

Cases; Such Fees Are Not A Matter For

Pe RN ioe ecnstcinidiiesanasepenicih 13

il

E. Section 502(b) Should Be Narrowly Construed

In View of The Bankruptcy Code’s Distinction

F. Interpretation of § 502(b) In Light of the

Principle of Equality of Distribution For

ai iaiciah hlinincchsaictincncaiticlaim andanbiatsicitlctstinedihiimnddbeane 16

II. Congress Could Not Have Intended To Allow

Unsecured Creditors’ Contract Claims For

Postpetition Legal Fees In Light of The Severe

Adverse Consequences Such Allowance Would

Have On The Administration of Chapter 11 and

CI Iai GN ciciccsesaiinetemancicapepiplshainhninnpintndldediidetbendiads 18

A. Allowing Such Claims Would Cause

Unwarranted Escalation of Monitoring

Activities By Individual Creditors and

Mounting Expense for the Estate................0.....0000 18

B. Allowing Postpetition Legal Fees to Unsecured

Creditors Will Overly Complicate Chapter 11

ID iccdesiapciccanensistchiessn lncadidieibandadncnsidutisensiiticnubalrnnipioiads 21

C. Unsecured Creditors’ Legal Fee Claims Should

Not Be Allowed Because of the Serious

Consequences Allowance Would Have on

Chapter 13 Debtors and Their Unsecured |

ik dekssiccdsbiciiianiccnedibiaideintiecaioiislatiaebabniedasniains 24

ei iicciccnciiiciliccbbctunstaiedaltgasidgulsteeapsitadigalicibliapaiiniii 29

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

~- FEDERAL CASES

In re 5900 Associate, Inc., 468 F.3d 326 (6"" Cir. 2006) ......14

Alport v. Ritter (In re Alport), 144 F.3d 1163

OP a a Ey 17

In re Alumni Hotel Corp., 203 B.R. 624

(Roamer. EDD. NEGGR. 199G). .2ccscssccccesessssesincsosesseyscsnceonenseses 12

Boeing Co. v. Van Gemert, 444 U.S. 472 (1980)............006. 10

Boese v. King, 108 U.S. 379 (1883).........ccccseccsseseeesseesseneens 16

Matter of Brints Cotton Marketing, Inc., 737 F.2d 1338

Pe a a 15

In re Brown, 346 B.R. 868 (Bankr. N.D. Fla. 2006)............. 26

Prown v. Gerdes, 321 U.S. 178 (1944).........cccccccescesesseeseeeees 14

Burlingham v. Crouse, 228 U.S. 459 (1913) .............0- cvveeed]

Clarke v. Rogers, 228 U.S. 534 (1913) ......cccccccccesseeseeeesseeees 16

In re Combustion Engineering, Inc., 391 F.3d 190

es ties ricibcipsanch sndtsadhcchinencsiditeicdipthidintiobsdelicenapuliods 20

Matter of Consolidated Bancshares, Inc., 785 F.2d 1249

a a 11

Davidson v. Davidson (In re Davidson), 947 F.2d 1294

Pr, Se a ee ee 17

IV

Dewsnup v. Timm, 502 U.S. 410 (1992) .0.....cccceeeseeeeees wovense hE

Dunbar v. Dunbar, 190 U.S. 340 (1903) ....c:cesesseseeseeee ee

In re Ezell, 338 BR. 330 (Bankr. E.D. Tenn. 2006)............. 26

In re Fleming, 339 B.R. 716 (Bankr. E.d. Mo. 2006)........... 26

In re Fobian, 951 F.2d 1149 (9" Cir. 1991) ..ccccesceccsseesessesseee 2-

In re Friedman, 232 F.3d 151 (2d Cir. 1956)... cece 1]

In re Fuger, 347 B.R. 94 (Bankr. D. Utah 2006).................. 27

In re Fuller, 346 B.R. 472 (Bankr. S.D. Ill. 2006) ............... 27

In re Granite Partners, L.P., 213 B.R. 440

IE. SEs BPD cases cehine ai stsiccenssiintescvenintininniiciuielite 12

Guerin v. Weil, Gotshal & Manges, 205 F.2d 302

Sats, Sea icialidanslosis sictipbbieninipssdlieensanesapmeiigtesloletnonniiesiie’ 11

In re Gulf Hills Development Corp., 60 B.R. 366

GFA: PI: SI Pia cesicinseccevntnsnncicepncctisclonpesateseinen secant 14

Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S.424 (1983) ..0.......::cccccsseeeeeeee 23

In re Inslaw, 106 B.R. 331 (Bankr. D.C. 1989).................... 14

Internal Importation Fund Trustees v. Greenough,

De A EF GRRE D cccetsiesestinsstcemionipnesitinicnsenidibatinensuintets 10

In re Johnson, 337 B.R. 269 (Bankr. M.D.N.C. 2006)......... 26

Jordan vy. Southeast National Bank, 927 F.2d 221

ie WON i i ea 17

v

In re Kisselberth, 273 F.3d 714 (6 Cir. 2001).......:0:ssess0ee 14

Lebron v. Mechem Financial, Inc., 27 F.3d 937

(3d Cir. 1994)....0000.....: Reali scesiilicastaceaibicaiadinisesiiighlbtesiiteisshlil 12

Leiman v. Gutman, 336 U.S. 1 (1949) 0... ccceeeeeeeeeeeee es 13, 14

In re Lister, 846 F.2d 55 (10" Cir. 1988) ......c.cccccsceseeseesesses 11

Local Loan Co. v. Hunt, 292 U.S. 234 (1934) .00.... eee 27

Martin v. Bank of Germantown (In re Martin),

761 F.2d 1163 (6™ Cir. 1985) .....cccccccscescssssesesceseeseseeeeees 17

In re Meza, 467 F.3d 874 (5™ Cir. 2006) ........sececesseseseeeseeees 27

Midlantic National Bank v. New Jersey Department of

Environmental Protection, 474 U.S. 949 (1986)............ ll

Mills v. Electric Auto-Lite Co., 396 U.S. 375 (1970) ........... 10

New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392 (1970)............... 13

Inve Nova Real Estate Investment Trust, 23 B.R. 62

Cee: DD, Vt BOD nas cicissicas cnnnicdeivinendatcrcenher OR 22

Official Committee of Cybergenics, 330 F.3d 548

(3d Cir. aes) bss aSehithosponncnenhiehal RTECS. ESE Mees IRE OE 12

In re Omigas Group, Inc., 16 F.3d 1443

Oe sia 3

Pepper v. Litton, 308 U.S. 295 (1939) .........eccecceeeeeteeeeeeeeeeees 18

Randolph v. Scruggs, 190 U.S. 533 (1903).......cccccceees 2, 9,10

vi

Ruckelshaus v. Sierra Club, 463 U.S. 680 (1983) .......... 20, 21

In re Sakowitz, Inc., 110 B.R. 268

NG Bc Ls SII cncencéciotnnnndibcnrescchondtioscnisenmtinsends 15,19

Saper v. John Viviane & Sons, Inc., 258 F.2d 826

ERE EERE REA SOD Bee UP Y Te Pie 11

Matter of Saphire Steamship Lines, Inc., 509 F.2d 1242

ERS ECCS Rae aw kerk are emo 11

Sexton v. Dreyfus, 219 U.S. 339 (1911)... ceeeeeeeeee 14, 15, 16

In re Sokolowski, 205 F.3d 532 (2d Cir. 2000).........0.0.0..00... 10

In re Solar Manufacturing Corp., 206 F.2d 780

I Sieh A cet ciniacetihii dep hiendelanbiipsniibinedsenndiabicenionhion 11

In re Southern Pacific Funding Corp., 268 F.3d 712

i cstulenaniglibaashis 13

Tennessee Student Assistance Corp. v. Hood,

541 U.S. 440 (2

Transouth Finance Corp. of Fla. v. Johnson ,

931 F.2d 1505 (11 Cir. 1991) o.ccecccecsccsseessesssesseesesneenes 17

In re Triangle Laboratories, Inc., 663 F.2d 463

Fe io encccnernsscsoresencensccsasepstconerpepepeccenivsyeioctoosecats 13

Union Bank v. Wolas, 502 U.S. 151 (1991)......0....ccccceeecceee 16

In re United Merchants & Manufacturers, Inc.,

FP ee BO Oe, BI icsicindetpcctenscnccorsccicscvetwincnsenet 10

United Savings Association of Texas v.Timbers of Inwood

Forest Associate, Lid., 484 U.S. 365 (1988)........... 7, 8,17 -

vi

Vizcaino v. Microsoft Corp., 290 F.3d 1043 (9th Cir.),

cert demied 537 U.S. 1018 (2002) ...........:.escssceeceseeseeeeeees 10

In re Wilson, 274 B.R. 4 (Bankr. D.C. 2001) ...... cece 25

Worthen Bank & Trust Co. v. Morris (In re Morris),

CG Re, CI iiss issn 17

Young v. Higbee, 324 U.S. 204 (1945) ..00...cccccecceeeccesceneeeeees 16

FEDERAL STATUTES

ee ae ED POI veicsiccieibecgunnisenssidbinstnianielininctcctenitadbaitacenica 2

8. RO SRN SS ea a or: 22

Bankruptcy Code § 101(10).............cecccccccscsseccsccosecsceccsesceece 15

Bankruptcy Code § 103(a).............:scsssesserecsesesesesscesenseosenes 24

Bankruptcy Code § 301(5) iliceiliipliiihibsatistinenspipinisbeinsabbinaeaabiiaseiD 15

Bankruptcy Code § 303(h)....cccocceceee0s0-. sd es i a cae 15

Bammteepeay Cain § SOG) oaecncerncnseccecsccccssocessoseconsseconisssnsnnwid 6

NIE TE 2D ccsisnisersndcotiiicentiniesieedsehbesinistinnibdiidaaanial 6

EINE TIO escpicttrtciiccinshicbsisesteeniciclghenmninigang titi 6

NN NID SF SII ncinicininencncitnioninnnstiienishaimsucdeeinciabatiio 20

Bankruptcy Code § 362(d)(1) ..............cccccsceseecesceeceecensereeees 7,8

One ERNIE UF GIA nc) scicstivssterisssnctipaiddiiseduinsnieiediaebaceia 6

Bankruptcy Code § 363(b)......cccccscecececcccssesesesssssesessseesecesssen 20

Bankruptcy Code § 364 .............sscsssecsesesneseesensees aE Se 20

TI ici ccniscccsusiscincsiaseccsnncininlbebianiantnatiiaauiilds 20

Bankruptcy Code § 502(b)...0........0...:cccceececceseeeceseseceeee passim

IE I IED sescntcisniccniscnspsininsspctiniondapntmeisiici 5, 22

Bankruptcy Code § 503(b)...............ccccsceseeeseeseeeceeceeceees passim

Bankruptcy Code § 503(b)(3)(D) and (4)..........0.000.000.. passim

Bamticraptcy Code $ SOG q.....ccccceccsscccescerscsecccvasesseeeeeeses passim

Bankruptcy Code § 506(b).................:c-sceeceeceseeereeeeeseeee passim

I CRD BSI ccc ssstisttscicntninanscdasnnsvilacpetsallils 17

Membrane y Cala © SII) incase sccccsecesicccacnsncoconsnincsessosaseens 6

hedeisies |) SOT ER EE Re A MeL AI ‘epee

IIIS AE D vinh css dnnictrichnicicatllbcheicrnsslisiciinainied duc 20

I AE OIG iia nicteensensisststesndintntinsemiencdiectnlemsilionil 20

SN TI TD CI i iiiceiinseitisidniteinsinsinininictiinineniiiesiten 20

Bankruptcy Code § 1123(a)(4) .............cccccecescescececeseeeeeeeeeces 16

I CAR BET ais cinssscccerincesccsscndecininieipiiacitcest 20, 23

SN RAD 1 OOP nd ncssienencictstoniccsscontabibadniieniesiiiioninis 20

Bankruptcy Code § 1322(d)..............sccscccssseseeeeecseesceerecereeeece 25

IEC AEE eRe 26

iX

Bankruptcy Code § 1325(a)(5)(B) seccsscsecessosescsessesensee

Bankruptcy Code § 1325(a)(9) ..............-.cceccceeeseeeeeceeeeerees

Bankruptcy Code § 1325(b)(1)(B)................cccccccceseceeseeeees

Bankruptcy Code § 1325()(2) .0........cccccccseseeeseeeeeeeeeeeeees

Bankruptcy Code § 1326(C)............sscccsscsssesesecesessesseneceees

pd SRP SERRE, TRC EE CEO

CONGRESSIONAL HISTORY

S. Rep. 95-989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 40 (1978)...............

OTHER AUTHORITY

Liore Z. Alroy and J. Michael Mayerfeld, Contracted-

For Post-Petition Attorneys' Fees and Collection

Costs; United Merchants Revisited, 1992 Colum.

Is Sc Rs A, TD wcteicciecciantonpnenicblindienctiaibiotanios

Kenneth N. Klee and K. John Shaffer, Creditors’

Committees Under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy

Code, 44 S. Carolina L. Rev. 995, 997 (1993)............

Keith M. Lundin, Chapter 13 Bankruptcy § 518.1

Oe

ioe nas, s4 et ye

wee oy ws

oo.

aa peershy “<7 we

Ma es > ‘

*« ms fe

. “WS > by % hee

De atta

maps

re.

eee ; ~ aes ¢

é ‘Send ‘a * woe ES :

thal

S ewtiy i HEEB Dy

« rer ae .

ron'y WeSSAe i bi,

ig rsa gu F

«

git

eos

fot

wa

¥

a

mat 4

| ae

bs ots 5 bi : “

Lo ae ©, frat >? ard

we i ae ye

ay.

Daas deat

oF

SS oo a od as (ee

ea y yer ote.

ot aan

“ee ee

: mR Ie ae

.

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE'

The Amici Curiae are law professors who have

devoted their careers to the study and teaching of bankruptcy

law.” They respectfully submit this pro bono brief in support

of Respondent.

The Amici are deeply interested in this case because

of the severe adverse impact the allowance of postpetition

legal fees to unsecured creditors in a bankruptcy case could

have on the sound and economical administration of the case.

They file this brief to offer to the Court what assistance they

can as it considers and decides whether to allow an unsecured

creditor, based on a contract clause it obtained from the

debtor before the bankruptcy filing, to charge the debtor

estate for the iegal fees it incurs for its attorney to monitor

and appear in proceedings in the debtor’s bankruptcy case for

the sole benefit of such creditor.

' Pursuant to Rule 37 of the Rules of this Court, the Amici file this brief

with the written consent of both parties, which are on file with the Clerk.

No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part. No person

or entity including the Amici or their counsel made a monetary

contribution for the preparation or submission of this bref.

> The Amici are Richard Aaron, Professor of Law, S. J. Quinney College

of Law, University of Utah; Jagdeep S. Bhandari, Professor of Law,

Florida Coastal School of Law; Susan Block-Lieb, Professor of Law,

Fordham Law School; Ralph Brubaker, Professor of Law and Mildred

Van Voorhis Jones Faculty Scholar, University of Illinois College of

Law; Erwin Chemerinsky, Alston & Bird Professor of Law and Political

Science, Duke University; S. Elizabeth Gibson, Burton Craige Professor

of Law, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Kenneth N. Klee,

Professor of Law, University of California at Los Angeles School of Law;

Robert M. Lawless, Gordon & Silver, Ltd. Professor of Law, William S.

Boyd School of Law, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; Nancy B.

Rapoport, Professor of Law, University of Houston Law Center; and Ettie

Ward, Professor of Law, St. John’s University School of Law.

2

In the Amici’s view, an unsecured creditor who has

provided no benefit to the estate should not be permitted to

shift its postpetition legal fees to all of the other creditors

who enjoyed no benefit from the legal services such creditor

chose to obtain for its own purposes. This brief argues that, in

the absence of benefit to the estate, the allowance of such

fees would be at odds with long-standing precedent of this

Court and the fundamental bankruptcy goal of equality for

creditors, and impair the sound administration of chapter 11

and chapter 13 cases.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Amici seek an affirmance of the order of the

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit disallowing

Petitioner’s claim for the legal fees it incurred for monitoring

and appearing in various proceedings in the Respondent’s

case for reorganization under chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy

Code.’ But the Amici urge disallowance on a different basis

than the one employed by that court. In this case, the Ninth

Circuit applied its decision in Jn re Fobian, 951 F.2d 1149

~(9" Cir. 1991), which disallowed an unsecured creditor’s

claim for postpetition legal fees because its fees were

incurred for litigating purely bankruptcy law issues. The

Amici contend, however, that none of the postpctition legal

fees incurred by an unsecured creditor should be allowed in

the absence of a substantial benefit to the estate as a result of

such legal services.

The Amici note a long-standing holding of this Court

that an unsecured creditor’s postpetition legal fees are

allowed only for services that provide a benefit to the estate.

Randolph v. Scruggs, 190 U.S. 533, 539 (1903) (per Holmes,

* The Bankruptcy Code is codified in 11 U.S.C §101 et seq., and is

referred to herein as the Bankrptcy Code.

3

J.) (a claimant’s pre-bankruptcy contract claim for

postpetition legal services will be allowed only if they were

“beneficial to the estate.”).-The Amici accordingly argue that

§ 502(b)* should be narrowly construed not to allow an

unsecured creditor’s claim for legal services that did not

benefit the debtor estate.

This is a case in which one unsecured creditor seeks

to gain more on its claim in the bankruptcy than the other

unsecured creditors by collecting its own postpetition legal

fees from the debtor estate.” The charging of an unsecured

creditor’s legal fees to the estate, which received no benefit

from the legal services, would, however, be at odds with the

bankruptcy principle of equality for creditors. The allowance

of such fees to an unsecured creditor who obtained a fee-

shifting contract clause would prefer such claimant over

other unsecured creditors, particularly those who become

creditors involuntarily, such as tort creditors, the United

States as the holder of various non-priority tax claims, and

state and local tax creditors, who were never in a position to

seek fee-shifting contracts. In addition, many trade creditors

and others do not have the negotiating power to obtain such

* Citations in this form are to sections of the Bankruptcy Code.

* As stated in /n re Omigas Group, Inc., 16 F.3d 1443, 1445 (6" Cir.

1994), analogizing to the film, Annie Hall (United Artists Entertainment

1977):

Understandably, creditors of bankrupt debtors often feel like

restaurant patrons who not only hate the food, but think the

portions are too small. [fn 1]. To press the analogy, they also

don’t like having to wait in line for a table, possibly being seated

only to find out that the kitchen has just closed. The bankruptcy

court is a little like a soup kitchen, ladling out whatever is

available in ratable portions to those standing in line;

nevertheless, scarcity begets innovation in the hungry creditor’s

quest to get a little more than the next fellow. This case involves

just such an effort.

4

clauses, so that an unsecured creditor who obtained such a

clause would be preferred over many other types of creditors

as well.

The bankruptcy system would be overwhelmed with

claims by unsecured creditors for legal fees if they are

allowed to charge the estate for the tees of their attorneys to

monitor all of the proceedings in the bankruptcy case, and to

pursue unnecessary protections for their claims in

proceedings in the case. The announcement of such a rule

would be a wake-up call to creditors alerting them to write or

revise their contract forms so as to shift to the estate all legal

fees they may incur for services that relate in any way to a

subsequent bankruptcy case of the other party. Such a rule

could generate a multitude of legal fee claims by unsecured

creditors in many bankruptcy cases, which would be

duplicative of the legal fees borne by the estate for the

services of the attorney for the statutorily designated official

creditors’ committee, which performs its statutory duties and

functions on behalf of the entire creditor body.

Moreover, a ruling that allows postpetition legal fees

for services to an unsecured creditor that did not benefit the

estate would cause severe adverse consequences in chapter

11 and chapter 13 cases. In light of the consequences of such

a rule, as set forth herein, Congress could not have intended

to obscure the allowance of such legal fee claims within the

general language of § 502(b).

First, if the Court announces such a rule, it will alert

all creditors to write broad fee shifting clauses, and the level

- of participation by unsecured creditors’ attorneys will

increase because the estate will bear the freight. Unsecured

creditors’ attorneys will monitor all proceedings in chapter

11 cases even though many, if not most, of them do not

directly affect the particular nghts of their creditor clients.

5

—

—_—

Second, allowing postpetition legal fees to an

unsecured creditor will overly complicate chapter 11 cases.

At the beginning of a chapter 11 case, the creditor would not

know what legal services it will seek or the extent thereof.

That will only become known in stages as the chapter 11 case

progresses. Nevertheless, at the outset of a case, as in the

present one, the creditor will file a “contingent” proof of

claim in a particular amount, based solely on a guess. In due

course, it will be necessary to quantify the claim, either by

estimation pursuant to § 502(c), or by an adjudication in a

litigated proceeding. Neither process, however is satisfactory.

An estimation proceeding is a process leading to an educated

guess by the bankruptcy court, which may turn out to be way

off the mark, and the litigated approach may require more

than one adjudication to determine the amount of the

creditor’s claim. This will consume the time of the court and

the parties, and escalate the burden on the estate for fees,

while reducing the “pot” available for the other unsecured

creditors.

Third, the allowance of postpetition legal fee claims

of unsecured creditors would have a significant adverse

effect both on chapter 13 debtors and their unsecured

creditors. This is of great concern because of the hundreds of

thousands of chapter 13 cases filed each year. These adverse

effects have come into sharp focus because of amendments to

the Bankruptcy Code governing chapter 7 and chapter 13

adopted by Congress in 2005. The vast majority of workers

use their own automobiles to get to and from their jobs.

Under the amended provisions, for most chapter 13 debtors

to avoid foreclosure of the purchase money lien on their cars

and be able to retain them and enjoy a “fresh start,” they must

pay in cash to the secured party the full amount of the

underlying debt. The allowance of legal fee claims would not

only increase the amount of cash the debtor must come up

with to keep the car, but also reduce pro tanto the amount of

6

the debtor’s “disposable income” that the unsecured creditors

will receive under a chapter 13 plan. Unsecured creditors’

legal fee claims will also reduce the payments to the other

creditors. Moreover, such a rule would require the periodic

recomputation by the chapter 13 trustee of the amount of

each creditor’s distribution because of the ever-increasing

amount of an unsecured creditor’s postpetition legal fees.

Such recomputation would have to be made in each case,

usually monthly, by the standing chapter 13 trustee in the

district, who may be responsible for administering thousands

of chapter 13 cases, and would pose enormous administrative

complications and difficulties in chapter 13 cases.

ARGUMENT

I. BANKRUPTCY CODE § 502(b) SHOULD BE CONSTRUED

NARROWLY IN LIGHT OF LONG-STANDING PRECEDENT

OF THIS COURT, AND THE STRUCTURE AND GOALS OF

THE BANKRUPTCY CODE.

A. In Light of Other Bankruptcy Code Provisions,

§ 502(b) Should Be Narrowly Construed Not To

Allow Unsecured Creditors’ Claims For

Postpetition Legal Services of No Benefit to The

Estate

Section 502(b) should not be construed to allow an

unsecured creditor’s claim for legal fees because to do so

would be contrary to the structure of the Bankruptcy Code,

which has many provisions that explicitly provide for the

allowance of postpetition legal fees in_ specific

circumstances. See, e.g., §§ 303(i), 330, 331, 362(k),

503(b)(3)(D) and (4), 506(b), and 523(d).

Specifically, only two provisions of the Bankruptcy

Code authorize a creditor’s claim for postpetition legal fees,

7

and Petitioner’s claim does not fit within either of them. The

first is §503(b)(4), which, in_ conjunction’ with

§ 503(b)(3)(D), authorizes a bankruptcy court to allow as an

expense of administration of a chapter 11 case the

postpetition legal fees of an attorney for an unsecured

creditor in making a “substantial contribution” in the case.

The second, § 506(b), allows the legal fees of a secured

creditor, but only to the extent that the value of the collateral

exceeds the principal and interest of the claim. Petitioner’s

claim fails to qualify under either of these provisions. In light

of these provisions sharply limiting the recognition of claims

for postpetition legal fees of creditors’ attorneys, § 502(b) -

should be interpreted narrowly.

B. Timbers of Inwood Supports Disallowance of

Contractual Postpetition Fee Claims For

Unsecured Creditors

The Court’s discussion of Bankruptcy Code § 362(d)(1)

and § 506 in United Savings Ass'n of Texas v.Timbers of

Inwood Forest Assoc., Ltd., 484 U.S. 365 (1988), supports

the conclusion that § 502(b) should be construed narrowly.

There, the Petitioner, a secured creditor whose collateral was

worth less than the amount of its claim, argued that it was

entitled to periodic payments for the use value of its

collateral under the “adequate protection” provision of

§ 362(d)(1). The Court first stated that § 362(d)(1) could be

read to support Petitioner’s claim, but rejected that reading

because it was implausible to impute to Congress an intent to

allow such claims under a general provision, rather than

providing for them specifically in § 506(b). As analyzed by

Justice Scalia for a unanimous court:

If the Code had meant to give the undersecured

creditor, who is thus denied interest on his claim,

interest on the value of his collateral, surely

8

[§ 506(b)] is where that disposition would have been

set forth, and not obscured within the “adequate

protection” provision of § 362(d)(1). Instead of the

intricate phraseology set forth above, § 506(b) would

simply have said that the secured creditor is entitled

to interest “on his allowed claim, or on the value of

the property securing his allowed claim, whichever is

lesser.”

Id. at 373 (Italics in original). The Court’s logic in Timbers of

Inwood likewise requires the disallowance of a contract claim

for postpetition legal fees by an unsecured creditor who has

provided no benefit to the estate. If Congress had intended to

allow such claims despite the absence of benefit to the estate,

it would have simply said so in any of the numerous -

provisions of the Bankruptcy Code that do authorize

postpetition legal fees, and not silently “obscured” the

allowance of such claims within the general language of

§ 502(b).

Moreover, the Court pointed out in Timbers of

Inwood that § 506 has the “substantive effect of denying

undersecured creditors postpetition interest on their claims”

by not providing for it. 484 U.S. at 372. Section 506, which

deals with attorneys’ fees, as well as interest, should have

the same substantive effect of disallowing postpetition

attorneys’ fees for undersecured creditors, and by extension

for wholly unsecured creditors as well. See Liore Z. Alroy

and J. Michael Mayerfeld, Contracted-For Post-Petition

Attorneys’ Fees and Collection Costs; United Merchants

Revisited, 1992 Colum. Bus. L. Rev. 309, 321-23 (“Timbers

suggests that attorneys’ fees ought not to be allowed to

anyone save an oversecured creditor with a contract

providing for collection costs”).

9

C. Under Randolph v. Scruggs and Other Cases,

Unsecured Creditors Should Be Allowed Claims

For Postpetition Legal Fecs Only If The Attorney’s

Services Were Beneficial To The Estate.

Long ago, in Randolph v. Scruggs, 190 U.S. 533

(1903), this Court formulated the requirement of “benefit to

the estate” for the allowance of unsecured creditors’ contract

claims for postpetition legal fees. As stated by Justice

Holmes for the Court:

We are not prepared to go further than to allow

compensation for [legal] services which were

beneficial to the estate.

190 U.S. at 539 (Italics added).

Randolph v Scruggs appears to be the only case in

which this Court has ruled on the allowability in bankruptcy

of a claimant’s unsecured contract claim for postpetition

legal fees it incurs during a bankruptcy case. In the Amici's

view, Randolph v. Scruggs is controlling.

In Randolph v. Scruggs, an assignment for the benefit

of creditors made by a debtor pursuant to state law was

superseded by a subsequent involuntary bankruptcy filing.

The pre-bankruptcy assignment contract between the debtor-

assignor and the assignee provided for the payment of fees of

the assignee’s attorneys. Based on the prepetition contract

clause for legal fees, the assignee’s attorneys filed a claim

against the bankruptcy estate for their fees for various

services, including advice to the assignee with respect to his

duties, and in resisting adjudication in bankruptcy of the

debtor-assignor during the bankruptcy case. The Court held

that the attorneys’ contract claim for legal fees, including

such claim for postpetition legal services, could be allowed

10

only if the legal services were beneficial to the bankruptcy

estate, stating: “The services to the voluntary assignee may

be allowed so far as they benefited the estate.” 190 U.S. at

539 (Italics added).

This Court thus held in Randolph v. Scruggs that the

attorneys’ services for resisting such adjudication dunng the

bankruptcy case did not give rise to an allowable claim

because they were of no benefit to the estate. With respect to

the claim based on the attorneys’ advice to the assignee, the

Court ruled that a remand was necessary for factual findings

as to whether such advice was beneficial to the estate.

Petitioner does not pretend that any of the legal services of its

attorneys were beneficial to the estate. Under Randolph v.

Scruggs, its contract claim for postpetition legal fees must be

disallowed.°

The doctrine for charging one party’s legal fees to a

group that benefited from them has its origin in /nternal Imp.

Fund Trustees v. Greenough, 105 U.S. 527, 531-32. 535-36

(1881), and has been applied ever since. See Mills v. Electric

Auto-Lite Co., 396 U.S. 375, 392 (1970); Boeing Co. v. Van

Gemert, 444 U.S. 472, 478 (1980); Vizcaino v. Microsoft

Corp., 290 F.3d 1043, 1051-52 (9" Cir.), cert denied 537

U.S. 1018 (2002).

* Petitioner’s heavy reliance on the dicta of the Second Circuit in /n re

United Merchants & Mfrs., Inc., 774 F.2d 134 (2d Cir.1982), a decision

under the prior Bankruptcy Act offering the court’s interpretation of then

newly-enacted § 506(a) of the Bankruptcy Code, is entirely misplaced.

Not only is that opinion dicta because § 506 was inapplicable, but also it

is unlikely that the Second Circuit would currently hold that contract

claims for such postpetition services may be allowed. See /n re

Sokolowski, 205 F.3d 532, 535 (2d Cir. 2000) (disallowing a claim for

attorneys’ fees).

1]

The principle established by Randolph v. Scruggs has

been adhered to by the courts. See Saper v. John Viviane &

Sons, Inc., 258 F.2d 826, 828 (2d Cir. 1958) (“[A]s a general

rule no compensation or reimbursement can be had unless a

tangible benefit has been conferred on the estate to the

advantage of the creditors as a whole.”); /n re Friedman, 232

F.3d 151 (2d Cir. 1956); In re Solar Mfg. Corp., 206 F.2d

780, 781 (3d Cir. 1953) (the work of attorneys for creditors

“must be at the expense of their clients unless it is in some

manner beneficial to the estate”); Guerin v. Weil, Gotshal &

Manges, 205 F.2d 302, 304 (2d Cir.1953) (In the absence of

benefit to the estate, “the bankruptcy court lacks power to

grant, and the policy of the [Bankruptcy] Act is against,

compensation not expressly provided for by the Act.”);

Matter of Saphire Steamship Lines, Inc., 509 F.2d 1242, 1245

(2d Cir.1975); Matter of Consol. Bancshares, Inc., 785 F.2d

1249, 1253 (Sth Cir. 1986) (“[A] creditor’s attorney must

ordinarily look to its own client for payment, unless the

creditor's attorney ... conferred a_ significant and

demonstrable benefit to the debtor’s estate and the

creditors.”) (Italics in onginal); Jn re Lister, 846 F.2d 55, 57

(10" Cir. 1988).

If Congress had intended, when enacting § 502(b) and

§ 506, to overturn Randolph v. Scruggs or the subsequent

cases conditioning the allowance of an unsecured creditor’s

postpetition fee claim on benefit to the estate, it would have

said so explicitly in either of those provisions or in their

legislative history. See Dewsnup v. Timm, 502 U.S. 410, 419

(1992) (“When Congress amends the bankruptcy laws, it

does not write on a clean slate [and] this Court has been

reluctant to accept arguments that would interpret the Code

... to effect a major change in pre-Code practice that is not at

least the subject of some discussion in the legislative

history.”). See also, Midlantic Nat'l Bank v. New Jersey

Dep't of Environmental Protection, 474 U.S. 949, 501 (1986)

12

(“[Ijf Congress intends for legislation to change the

interpretation of a judicially created concept, it makes that

intent specific.”).

The doctrine of Randolph v. Scruggs requiring benefit

to the estate has been carried into the Bankruptcy Code in

§ 503(b)3)(D) and (4), which allows legal fees to the

attorney for an unsecured creditor who has made a

“substantial contribution” in a chapter 11 case. Petitioner

ignores this Code provision in its argument that Congress

meant for postpetition legal fees to be payable whenever

provided for by a contract clause. But the long-standing rule

of Randolph v. Scruggs, which is carried into § 503(b)(3)(D)

and (4), eviscerates Petitioner’s argument. Something more is

required of an unsecured creditor for it to grasp a

disproportionate share of the bankruptcy estate — it must

substantially contribute to that estate to recover its attorney’s

fees. See Lebron v. Mechem Financial, Inc. 27 F.3d 937, 944

(3d Cir. 1994) (“[T]he purpose of § 503(b)(3)(D) is to

encourage activities that will benefit the estate as a

whole....”). See also Official Committee of Cybergenics, 330

F.3d 548, 564 (3d Cir. 2003) (§ 503(b)(3)D) and (4)

continues the benefit policy of § 64(a)(1) of the former

Bankruptcy Act allowing a creditor to recover expense

incurred “which actually benefits the estate.” ). In addition,

the courts have developed a stringent standard for the

allowance of fee claims of attorneys for unsecured creditors

pursuant to § 503(b)(3)(D) and (4). As stated in Lebron, 27

F.3d at 944, the applicable test for determining whether there

has been a “substantial contribution” is whether the efforts of

the applicant resulted in “an actual and demonstrable benefit

to the debtor’s estate [and] the creditors.” Accord: Jn re

Granite Partners, L.P., 213 B.R. 440, 446 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y.

1997); In re Alumni Hotel Corp., 203 B.R. 624, 632 (Bankr.

E.D. Mich. 1996). In the present case, Petitioner does not

13

make any pretense that its attorneys’ services provided any

benefit whatever to the estate or the creditors.’

D. The Bankruptcy Courts Have Exclusive

Jurisdiction Over Legal Fees In Bankruptcy

Cases; Such Fees Are Not A Matter For Private

Agreements

A fundamental principle of the bankruptcy law is that

the bankruptcy courts have exclusive jurisdiction over the

property of the debtor estate from the moment that the

debtor’s bankruptcy case has been commenced. See New

Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392, 420-21 (1970). Such

exclusive jurisdiction of the bankruptcy courts was carried

into the 1978 bankruptcy jurisdictional legislation as 28

U.S.C. § 1334(e). See Tennessee Student Assistance Corp. v.

Hood, 541 U.S. 440, 447 (2004) (relying on 28 U.S.C.

§ 1334(e)).

Among the matters central to bankruptcy that are

within the exclusive jurisdiction of the bankruptcy courts is

the conduct of litigation in those courts and the determination

of issues regarding legal fees incurred in connection

therewith. See Leiman v. Gutman, 336 U.S. 1, 9 (1949)

(“...[T]he determination of [legal fee] allowances has been

made an integral part of the process of confirmation which is

” To the extent that a contract clause triggers an obligation for

postpetition legal fees because of a bankruptcy filing, it <s in the nature of

an ipso facto provision and should be held unenforceable for that reason

as well. See §§ 365(e)(1) and 541(c)1)(B); in re Southern Pacific

Funding Corp., 268 F.3d 712, 716 (9" Cir. 2001) (ipso facto provisions

are intended “to protect the debtor from enforcement of unfavorab.-

insolvency-triggered clauses”); Jn re Triangle Lab., Inc., 663 F.2d 463,

465 (3d Cir. 1981) (Congress outlawed ipso facto clauses under the

Bankruptcy Code to protect and maximize the estate, indicating a strong

policy against such provisions).

4

exclusively entrusted to the bankruptcy court....”); Brown v.

Gerdes, 321 U.S. 178, 188 (1944) (the bankruptcy court has

“exclusive authority” to determine bankruptcy fees payable

out of the estate). Significantly, the Court has refused to

enforce “private arrangements” fixing bankruptcy fees that

were not even payable out of the estate. See Leiman v.

Gutman, 336 U:S. at 4, 8. Accord: Jn re Kisselberth, 273 F.3d

714, 718-19 (6" Cir. 2001); Jn re Inslaw, 106 B.R. 331, 333

(Bankr. D.C. 1989) (“In a bankruptcy case fees are not a

matter for private agreement.”); Jn re 5900 Assoc., Inc., 468

F.3d 326, 329 (6 Cir. 2006) (The debtor and an attorney

“cannot, simply by entering into a state law contract, abridge

the cour’ s duty to monitor such fees.”); Jn re Gulf Hills Dev.

Corp., 6v B.R. 366, 369 (S.D. Miss. 1985). See also, S. Rep.

95-989, 95" Cong., 2d Sess. 40 (1978) (“In a bankruptcy case

fees are not a matter for private agreement.”).

E. Section 502(b) Should Be Narrowly Construed In

View of The Bankruptcy Code’s Distinction

Between the Prepetition and Postpetition Periods

The Bankruptcy Code distinguishes between the

prebankruptcy and the postbankruptcy periods:

For more than a century and a half the theory

of the English bankruptcy system has been that

everything stops at a certain date. Interest was not

computed beyond the date of the commission. ...[T]he

rule was laid down not because of the words of the

statute, but as a fundamental principle. We take our

bankruptcy system from England, and we naturally

assume that the fundamental principles upon which it

was administered were adopted by us when we copied

the system....

Sexton v. Dreyfus, 219 U.S. 339, 344 (1911) (per Holmes, J).

15

The Bankruptcy Code also structures the date of

commencement of a bankruptcy case as a temporal date for

the determination of claims against the estate and the scope

of property of the estate. See § 502(b), § 503(b) and § 541.

Thus, under § 502(b), the amount of every claim must be

determined “as of the date of the filing of the petition”

commencing the bankruptcy case.

The Bankruptcy Code also divides claims into two

categones depending on whether they arose before or after

the date of the filing of the bankruptcy petition. The claims of

“creditors” are those that arise at the time of or before the

commencement of the bankruptcy case.* Claims arising after

the commencement of the bankruptcy case that provide a

benefit to the estate constitute “administrative expenses” of

the case under § 503(b), and they are accorded priority of

distribution under § 507(a)(2) because they benefit the estate

by enabling the debtor in possession or the trustee to

administer the estate, and to operate the debtor’s business.

The determination and allowance of claims as of the

filing date, with payment as administrative expenses only for

expenditures benefiting the estate during its administration, is

fundamental to the bankruptcy system. See Matter of Brints

Cotton Marketing, Inc., 737 F.2d 1338, 1342 (5" Cir. 1984)

(A creditor cannot “improve his position viz-a-viz other

creditors by action taken by him post-petition,” citing Sexton

v. Dreyfus, 219 U.S. 339 (1911)). See also, Jn re Sakowitz,

Inc., 110 B.R. 268, 271 (Bankr. S.D. Tex. 1989) (disallowing

* Under § 101(10), a “creditor” is defined as an entity whose claim

against the debtor arose at the time of or before the “order for relief” in

the case; and under § 301(b), the commencement of a voluntary

bankruptcy case constitutes an order for relief in the case. In an

involuntary bankruptcy case, if the petition is not dismissed after trial, the

bankruptcy court enters an order for relief pursuant to § 303(h).

16

a claim for postpetition legal fees because “Section 502(b)

speaks in terms of the proof of claim as it existed at the time

of the filing of the case.") (Italics in original).

Legal fees incurred by a creditor after the

commencement of the bankruptcy case are of the same

quality as interest that would otherwise accrue after

bankruptcy, and should be disallowed under the fundamental

principle adopted by this Court in Sexton v. Dreyfus and

followed thereafter by the courts.

F. Interpretation of § 502(b) In Light of the Principle

of Equality of Distribution For Creditors

A prime policy of the bankruptcy law, established

long ago, is “to secure equality among the creditors of a

bankrupt.” Boese v. King, 108 U.S. 379, 385-86 (1883). The

_ Court has continued to apply this policy through the years.

~ See, e.g., Clarke v. Rogers, 228 U.S. 534, 548 (1913); Young

v. Higbee, 324 U.S. 204, 210 (1945); Union Bank v. Wolas,

502 U.S. 151, 161 (1991). This policy was carried into the

Bankruptcy Code by § 1123(a)(4), which requires that a

chapter 11 plan provide “the same treatment for each claim

...of a particular class.”

Indeed, Petitioner recognizes this basic bankruptcy

policy, Pet. Op. Br., p. 45,” but contends that equality is

served by allowing creditors with provisions for attorneys’

fees to increase their claims by adding postpetition fees to

their claims. The cases it cites for this proposition are

inapposite because they concern either a secured creditor, or

an unsecured creditor who obtained a judgment ayainst the

debtor personally on a debt found to be non-dischargeable

* Citations in this form are to pages of Petitioner’s opening brief.

17

pursuant to § 523(a).'° Secured creditors are entitled to look

to their collateral for the payment of their claims in priority to

the unsecured creditors, and their rights to collect interest and

legal fees up to the limit of their collateral value is the

exception that underscores the rule. Only “to the extent” of

that collateral value do secured creditors receive that special

right to collect interest and attorneys’ fees. This principle was

thoroughly analyzed in Timbers of Inwood, 484 U.S. at 373.

With regard to unsecured creditors’ claims, the six decisions

by courts of appeals relied upon by Petitioner, Pet. Op. Br., p.

25,'' are also inapposite. In each of those cases, the judgment

in favor of the creditor was on a debt excepted from the

debtor’s discharge under § 523(a). Significantly, such a

judgment is not granted against the debtor estate, but only

against the debtor personally. The creditor’s legal fees

allowed in each of those cases was thus borne solely by the

debtor personally, not by the debtor estate or the other

creditors.

If the debtor estate is required, predicated on a

contract clause, to bear the legal fees incurred by an

unsecured creditor during the bankruptcy, that creditor would

in actuality be preferred over other unsecured creditors,

particularly those who become unsecured creditors

involuntarily, such as the holders of tort claims for pe:sonal

injuries, or of claims for non-priority federal, state or local

'° See § 523 (a), which sets forth 19 particular types of debts of an

individual debtor that are excepted from such debtor’s discharge in

bankruptcy.

"! Alport v. Ritter (In re Alport), 144 F,3d 1163, 1168 (8 Cir. 1998);

Davidson v. Davidson (In re Davidson), 947 F.2d 1294, 1297-98 (5" Cir.

1991); Transouth Fin. Corp. of Fla. V. Johnson , 931 F.2d 1505, 1507

(11™ Cir. 1991); Jordan v. Southeast Nat'l Bank, 927 F.2d 221, 227 (5™

Cir. 1991); Martin v. Bank of Germantown (In re Martin), 761 F.2d 1163,

1168 (6" Cir. 1985); Worthen Bank & Trust Co. v. Morris (/n re Morris),

602 F.2d 826, 828-29 (8" Cir. 1979).

18

taxes. None of the involuntary unsecured creditors could

have negotiated before bankruptcy for provisions allowing

legal fees they might incur in a subsequent bankrupicy.

Moreover, many trade creditors and suppliers who operate

small businesses lack sufficient bargaining power to obtain

contracts affording them coverage for their legal fees

incurred in a subsequent bankruptcy. If such postpetition fee

claims are allowed, many unsecured creditors would not be

on an equal footing with those who have the prepetition

ability and leverage to obtain fee-shifting clauses. The

principle of the bankruptcy law for equality of treatment for

unsecured creditors thus requires the disallowance of

Petitioner’s claim.

Petitioner calls on equity to support its effort to gain

more than the other general creditors. Pet. Op. Br., p. 49.

Rather, equity calls for the disallowance of Petitioner’s claim

so as to avoid conferring a postpetition benefit on it that other

creditors, whose claims do not-arise under contracts, could

never obtain. See Pepper v. Litton, 308 U.S. 295, 305 (1939)

(“Equitable powers are to be exercised on the allowance of

claims....”).

II. CONGRESS COULD NOT HAVE INTENDED TO ALLOW

UNSECURED CREDITORS’ CONTRACT CLAIMS FOR

POSTPETITION LEGAL FEES IN LIGHT OF THE SEVERE

ADVERSE CONSEQUENCES SUCH ALLOWANCE WOULD

HAVE ON THE ADMINISTRATION OF CHAPTER I1 AND

CHAPTER 13 CASES

A. Allowing Such Claims Would Cause Unwarranted

Escalation of Monitoring Activities By Individual

Creditors and Mounting Expense for the Estate

If the Court were to sustain such legal fee claims, its

decision will alert lenders and others who extend credit to

-

19

focus on the need to include or revise the fee-shifting clauses

in their standard forms of contracts. Such a rule will likely

result in the prevalent use of fee shifting clauses in

prepetition contracts and a vast increase in the number of

such claims, which could overwhelm the administration of

bankruptcy cases. It can be expected that all parties who

extend credit will write clauses broadly providing for

charging all legal fees of every kind they incur in connection

with a later bankruptcy case. It is also likely that such claims

will be routinely filed even in the absence of any dispute over

the unsecured creditor’s underlying substantive claim and

thus no need for legal representation to establish such claim.

As predicted by the court in Jn re Sakowitz, Inc., 110 B.R. at

275, “Each creditor might send an attorney to every hearing

in the case.”

Accordingly, such a rule will lead to escalating and

often unnecessary legal fees being imposed on _ the estate in

chapter 11 cases at the expense of all of the other creditors,

who, through the estate, are already bearing the fees of the

attorneys for the official creditors’ committee for serving all

of the creditors. See Kenneth N. Klee and K. John Shaffer,

Creditors’ Committees Under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy

Code, 44 S. Carolina L. Rev. 995, 997 (1993) (discusses the

role, functions and operation of official creditors’ committees

in chapter 11 cases). The official creditors’ committee

participates in the numerous bankruptcy-specific proceedings

that are conducted during chapter 11 cases, and is

specifically required by § 1102(b)(3) to provide access to

relevant information to all of the creditors, and gives

additional reports and disclosure to the creditors as required

by the bankruptcy court. Yet if Petitioner wins the day in this

case, bankruptcy estates will be burdened with legal fees that

creditors may choose to incur for having their own attorneys

monitor and otherwise participate in these proceedings.

20

Fee-shifting clauses encourage the pursuit of

litigation, Ruckelshaus v. Sierra Club, 463 U.S. 680, 687

(1983). Chapter 11 is intended to provide a framework for the

consensual and cooperative resolution of disputes and the

reorganization of the debtor, a purpose that would be

undermined by a rule allowing recovery of postpetition legal

fees. See In re Combustion Engineering, Inc., 391 F.3d 190,

244 (3d Cir. 2004).

This problem is especially heightened in chapter 11

cases, which are significantly different than conventional

two-party litigation in the federal district courts. A chapter 11

case is not litigation between parties as such, but is a forum

for-the adjudication of numerous bankruptcy-related separate

proceedings that affect all unsecured creditors as a group.’

The effect of the myriad of bankruptcy-related proceedings is

generally the same for all unsecured creditors, rather than

affecting the rights of particular creditors, and is adequately

addressed for unsecured creditors as a group by the attorney

for the official creditors’ committee. However, bankruptcy

attorneys representing creditors in chapter 11 cases tend to

participate in such proceedings even though the interests of

their clients are not challenged or at risk. It is not uncommon

for creditors’ attorneys, as here, to inject themselves into

proceedings for bankruptcy court approval of disclosure

statements pursuant to § 1125 and for confirmation of plans

of reorganization pursuant to § 1129.

'2 Such bankruptcy-specific proceedings affect the unsecured creditors as

a group, and often do not affect the allowance of the individual claims of

the creditors. Proceedings of this type arise under § 362(d) (relief from

the automatic stay), § 363(b) (sale of assets), § 364 (borrowing money),

§ 365 (assumption and rejection of executory contracts), § 1104

(appointment of a trustee), § 1113 (rejection of collective bargaining

agreements), § 1114 (payment of retiree benefits), and § 1121(d)

(changing the debtor’s exclusive period to file a chapter 11 plan).

21

If unsecured creditors are allowed legal fees under

contract clauses, it will be necessary for the bankruptcy

courts to sort out whether and to what extent such legal

services are within the applicable contract clause and to

adjudicate the value of unnecessary and duplicative legal

services of creditors’ attorneys. A rule allowing legal fees of

unsecured creditors incurred for their attorneys’ appearance

at these proceedings would result in a large number of

claims aggregating large amounts against the estate, and

reduce the distributions from the “pot” that would otherwise

be available for all of the unsecured creditors.

Because bankruptcy proceedings are multi-party with

shifting alliances, quite different than standard two-party

lawsuits, bankruptcy courts may be hard-pressed to evaluate

the results achieved by attorneys for unsecured creditors and

determine who was the winner. See Ruckelshaus v. Sierra

Club, 463 U. S. at 684 (after referring to the basic American

rule against fee-shifting, stating: “It is clear that generations

of American judges, lawyers and legislators... would regard it

as quite ‘inappropriate’ to award the ‘looser’ an attorney’s

fee from the ‘prevailing litigant.””).

In light of these consequences, Congress could not

have intended § 502(b) to be a basis for the allowance of

claims by unsecured creditors for postpetition legal fees.

B. Allowing Postpetition Legal Fees to Unsecured

Creditors Will Overly Complicate Chapter 11

Cases

The allowance of postpetition legal fee claims to

unsecured creditors will overly complicate chapter 11 cases,

increase the legal fees the estate must bear, thereby diluting

the “pool” of assets available for all other unsecured

creditors, and delay their administration and conclusion.

22

Unsecured creditor legal fee claimants will, as

Petitioner did here, increasingly file so-called “contingent”

protective claims at the outset of the case. Contingent claims

constitute “claims” under the Bankruptcy Code because they

are within §101(5)’s definition of a “claim.” At the

beginning of a chapter 11 case, when creditors file contingent

claims, an unsecured creditor will not know whether, or the

extent to which, it will thereafter incur legal fees in the case

because it will not know what proceedings will be

commenced in the case and whether its claim will be

challenged. The contingent claim for future legal fees will

thus amount to nothing more than a guess by the unsecured

creditor.

To be an allowed claim entitled to vote on a chapter

11 plan and participate in distributions thereunder, however,

such contingent claim must be estimated pursuant to

§ 502(c), or adjudged to be in a particular amount in a

litigated proceeding. Section 502(c) requires that an

“estimation” proceeding be conducted, at which evidence

may be adduced and in which the bankruptcy court makes an

educated guess as to the ultimate value of the claim. See Jn re

Nova Real Estate Inv. Trust, 23 B.R. 62, 66 (Bankr. D. Va.

1982) (“An estimate necessarily implies no certainty”). Cf.

Dunbar v. Dunbar, 190 U.S. 340, 345 (1903) (There is an

“innate difficulty, if not impossibility, of estimating or

valuing” many contingencies). The estimate is made before

any legal services of the unsecured creditor’s attorney have

been rendered and will ascribe value to various possible

future proceedings that may never be commenced or disputes

involving the unsecured creditor that may never arise. This

makes estimation of future legal services in the chapter 11

context a speculative matter. It is thus not a satisfactory

process for the allowance of an unsecured creditor’s legal fee

claim in a chapter 11 case.

23

On the other hand, the alternative of liquidating the

contingent legal fee claim of the unsecured creditor by an

adjudication is likewise unattractive. Among other things, it

could require the bankruptcy court to conduct several

proceedings at different stages of the chapter 11 case in order

to determine the total amount to which the creditor would be

entitled for its legal fee claim. All of these proceedings would

occur in the face of the Court’s admonition in Hensley v.

Eckerhart, 461 U.S.424, 437 (1983), that “A request for

attorney’s fees should not result in a second major litigation.”

But that is exactly what may happen if unsecured creditors

are allowed postpetition legal fees under contract clauses.

Even if the determination of the amount of an

unsecured creditor’s claim is not made until later in the case,

there may initially be a proceeding by the unsecured creditor

to determine the amount of the claim so as to establish its

voting mghts. The unsecured creditor’s attorney will likely

thereafter continue to render legal services as the chapter 11

case moves forward to other stages of the confirmation

process including among others, proceedings for approval of

disclosure statements under §1125 required for the

solicitation of acceptances of the plan and for its

confirmation. After the creditor’s attorney monitors or

otherwise participates in those proceedings, more litigation

will be required. to determine the amount of the fees to be

allowed for that participation. And even that may not be the

end of the story. If the proposed plan is not accepted by

creditors or is not confirmed for other reasons, still another

proposed plan of reorganization will emerge, only to be

followed by still another round of fee litigation with the

unsecured creditor. All of these proceedings would consume

a substantial amount of time of the bankruptcy court as well

as for the attorneys for the chapter 11 debtor in possession (or

trustee) and for the official creditors’ committee, all at the

expense of the debtor estate.

24

Moreover, a rule allowing unsecured creditors’ claims

for postpetition legal fees may interfere with the formulation

on a timely basis of the terms for reorganization by the debtor

or another potential proponent of a plan of reorganization.

Such terms are formulated in part on the basis of the total

amount of all of the claims against the debtor. Information as

to the universe of claims against the debtor is thus needed by

the debtor and others who seek to pursue reorganization

alternatives. The continuous stream of services by unsecured

creditors’ attorneys throughout the case and the continued

accrual of the fees therefor, however, will stand in the way

of determining on a timely basis the universe of claims

against the debtor.

C. Unsecured Creditors’ Legal Fee Claims Should

Not Be Allowed Because of the Serious

Consequences Allowance Would Have on Chapter

13 Debtors and Their Unsecured Creditors

A rule interpreting § 502(b)’’ to allow postpetition

legal fee claims of unsecured creditors under fee-shifting

clauses would have a serious adverse effect on chapter 13

debtors, and also on all of their unsecured creditors. Such a

rule would also create . unmanageable administrative

difficulties in computing and making the periodic

distributions, usually monthly, of the debtor’s “disposable

income”'* :o the unsecured creditors pursuant to confirmed

chapter 13 plans. § 1325(b)(1)(B). This is because it would

" Under § 103(a), § 502(b) applies in chapter 13 cases as well as chapter

11 cases.

* Section 1325(b\2) defines “disposable income” as all of the current

income monthly income of the debtor (excluding certain support

obligations and payments) less amounts reasonably necessary for support

of the debtor and dependants, and certain charitable contributions and

certain business expenses if the debtor is engaged in a business.

25

be essential to recompute each creditor’s share of such

distributions every time that a creditor’s attorney renders

additional legal services.

The problems caused by the allowance of such claims

would be acute in light of the enormous volume of chapter 13

cases. During the 12 months ended June 30, 2006, there were

313,085 chapter 13 filings'’ and thousands more than that

number of chapter 13 cases are currently being administered.

In light of that high volume, allowing postpetition legal fee

claims would be a nightmare in chapter 13 cases, and

specifically for chapter 13 trustees, who are the ones who

make the payments to the unsecured creditors under the plan

pursuant to § 1326(c), and who may be held personally liable

for errors in making distributions to the creditors. See Jn re

Wilson, 274 B.R. 4 (Bankr. D.C. 2001).

In most districts, a standing chapter 13 trustee is

appointed to administer all of the chapter 13 cases in the

district, § 1302(a), and the single chapter 13 trustee is thus

often responsible for thousands of chapter 13 cases at a time.

If unsecured creditors’ postpetition fee claims were to be

allowed, it would be a virtual impossibility for these chapter

13 trustees to make the periodic recomputations of claims

and distributions to creditors on a timely basis, and it could

be necessary to defer distribution to creditors for five years

until the end of a chapter 13 case, § 1322(d), instead of much

earlier period’ distributions in chapter 13 cases.

Morec.’, the Court should not adopt a rule allowing

postpetition fee claims by unsecured creditors because it

would operate against the interests of both the chapter 13

'S This number was compiled by the Administrative Office of the United

States Courts. See http://www. te sure ue

bankrupt f2table_jun2006.xls.

26

debtor and all of the debtor’s unsecured creditors. First,

chapter 13 debtors often need to retain their automobiles to

get to and from work. Over 77% of workers in America use

their cars for that purpose.,'® and given the dependence on

cars for getting to work, making cars-a vital component of

gaining a “fresh start.” See Keith M. Lundin, Chapter /3

Bankruptcy § 518.1 (3d ed. 2006). In order to retain his or

her car, § 1325(a)(S)(B) requires a chapter 13 debtor to pay

the holder of a purchase money lien securing the vehicle the

full amount of “the underlying debt determined under

nonbankruptcy law” if such debt arose within 910 days

before the bankruptcy filing and the car was acquired for

personal use.'’ See In re Fleming, 339 B.R. 716, 722

(Bankr.E.D. Mo. 2006) (stating that it is irrelevant that the

value of the collateral is less than the underlying debt); Jn re

Johnson, 337 B.R. 269, 272-73 (Bankr. M.D.N.C. 2006); Jn

re Ezell, 338 B.R. 330, 340-41 (Bankr. E.D.Tenn. 2006); Jn

re Brown, 346 B.R. 868, 876 (Bankr. N.D.Fla. 2006). If, as in

many chapter 13 cases, the lienholder’s claim is more than

the value of the car, the debt to such undersecured creditor

would, if such rule is adopted, include unsecured postpetition

legal fees as part of the “underlying debt.” This will make it

more difficult for the debtor to be able to retain the car,

because to do so, the financially embarrassed debtor will

have to come up with even more cash to cover the legal fees

as part of the underlying debt to the vehicular financier, or

loose the car. This could impair the debtor’s “fresh start,”

‘© US. Census Bureau, 2005 American Community Survey,

http://factfinder.census. Gov/servlet/STTable

'’ The so-called “hanging paragraph” of §1325(a), which immediately

follows the first sentence of § 1325(a)(9), makes § 506(a), which reduces

the secured portion of an undersecured claim to the value of the collateral,

inapplicable to the determination of the amount of the“underlying debt”

for the purpose of § 1325(a)(5S) if the debt arose within 910 days before

the bankruptcy filing and the car was acquired for the debtor’s personal

use.

27

which is a main purpose of the bankruptcy law. See

Burlingham v. Crouse, 228 U.S. 459, 473 (1913); Local Loan

Co. v. Hunt, 292 U.S. 234, 244 (1934).

There is another compelling reason for the

disallowance of such claims. The obligation to pay such car

lenders more than their collateral value was enacted in 2005

as part of the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer

Protection Act. That Act significantly amended both chapter

7 governing liquidation proceedings, in which unsecured

creditors rarely receive any distribution from the individual

debtor’s chapter 7 estate, and chapter 13, under which

unsecured creditors are likely to receive periodic distributions

under confirmed plans. Congress’ purpose was to ensure that

unsecured creditors of individual debtors seeking bankruptcy

relief would receive distributions from the debtors’ post-

petition wages. Cf. In re Meza, 467 F.3d 874, 877 (5" Cir.

2006) (Chapter 13 enables individual debtors “to amortize

their debts out of future earnings,” and “permits wage-

earning debtors ‘to reorganize with a repayment plan as an

alternative to seeking a complete discharge of debts through

the chapter 7 bankruptcy liquidation process.’”). To

accomplish that objective, Congress restructured chapter 7 to

require the dismissal of an individual debtor’s chapter 7 case

unless the debtor’s monthly income is less than the statutory

level, which § 707(b)(2) fixes at a relatively low amount.

This makes chapter 7 unavailable to many individual wage

earners, and leaves as their only bankruptcy alternative a —

proceeding under chapter 13, which, to accomplish Congress’

purpose, requires the distribution of all of the debtor's

“disposable income” to his or her unsecured creditors during

the multi-year life of a chapter 13 plan. See Jn re Fuller, 346

B.R. 472, 484 (Bankr. S.D. Ill. 2006); Jn re Fuger, 347 PR.

94, 99 (Bankr. D. Utah 2006).

28

The allowance of postpetition legal fee claims would

result in a significant reduction in the amount of the chapter

13 debtor’s “disposable income” and thus in a dollar for

dollar reduction in the distributions targeted by Congress for

the unsecured creditors in chapter 13 cases. This is because

the allowance of postpetition legal fees to an undersecured

creditor, which must be paid by a chapter 13 debtor to retain

his or her car, would reduce the debtor’s “disposable income”

and thereby reduce the amount distributable to all of the other

unsecured creditors. Moreover, the allowance of

postpetition fee claims of wholly unsecured creditors would

itself increase the aggregate amount of all unsecured claims,

thereby diluting every unsecured creditor’s pro rata share of

all distributions of the debtor’s “disposable income.”

A rule allowing unsecured creditors’ postpetition

legal fee claims would not only be administratively

unmanageable, but also would be harmful to the unsecured

creditors.

29

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the order appealed from

disallowing Petitioner’s claim should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel:

Richard Corbi

Daniel J. Morse

December 22, 2006

ROBERT M. ZINMAN

Professor of Law

St. John’s University School of

Law .

8000 Utopia Parkway

Jamaica, New York 11439

(718) 990- 6646, or

(914) 631-3515

Counsel of Record for Amici

Curiae Professors

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.