Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Philip Morris USA v. Williams

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(1) Suprems Cont, 1.5.

05125 6MAR 3 0 2006

No. 05-QFFIGE OF THE CLERK

Jn the Supreme Court of the Anited States

PHitip Morris USA,

Petitioner,

V:

MAYOLA WILLIAMS,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to

the Supreme Court of Oregon

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

KENNETH S. GELLER ANDREW L. FREY

EVAN M. TAGER Counsel of Record

Maver, Brown, Rowe ANDREW H. SCHAPIRO

& Maw LLP LAUREN R. GOLDMAN

1909 K Street, NW Maver, Brown, Rowe &

Washington, DC 20006 Maw LLP

(202) 263-3000 - 16725 Broadway

New York, New York 10019

WILLIAM F. GARY (212) 506-2500

SHARON A. RUDNICK

Harrang Long Gary Rudnick

- 360 East 10th Avenue

Eugene, OR 9740]

(S4]) ANS-U2208

Counsel for Petitioner

isos eheneneteniecigeemeneemenatimneteieeenendeeninmnmememeneenetmememmeamenaeeadademmemeeatenmmennuneeeaemenieeeieaees

=

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In this case brought by the widow of a smoker, the jury

held Philip Morris liable for fraud and awarded $79.5 million

in punitive damages — 97 times the compensatory damages

awarded by the jury. On remand from this Court for recon-

sideration in light of State Farm Mutual Automobile Insur-

ance Co. v. Campbell, 538 U.S. 408 (2003), the Oregon

Supreme Court upheld the trial court’s refusal to instruct the

jury that it could not punish Philip Morris for harms to non-

parties, concluding that a jury may punish for such harms so

long as the conduct that caused those harms is similar to the

conduct that harmed the plaintiff. Then, construing the evi-

dence in the light most favorable to the plaintiff, the court

proceeded to hold that the punitive award was not unconstitu-

tionally excessive, despite concluding that the punitive award

was not reasonably related to the harm to the plaintiff. The

questions presented, each of which is the subject of a conflict

in the lower courts, are:

1. Whether, in reviewing a jury’s award of punitive

damages, an appellate court’s conclusion that a defendant’s

conduct was highly reprehensible and analogous to a crime

can “override” the constitutional requirement that punitive

damages be reasonably related to the plaintiff's harm.

2. Whether due process permits a jury to punish a defen-

dant for the effects of its conduct on non-parties.

3. Whether, in reviewing a punitive award for exces-

siveness, an appellate court is permitted to give the plaintiff

the benefit of all conceivable inferences that might support a

finding of high reprehensibility even if the jury made no such

specific factual findings.

(I)

)

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Petitioner Philip Morris USA’s corporate parent is Altria

Group, Inc. Altria Group, Inc. is the only publicly held com-

pany that owns ten percent or more of Philip Morns USA’s

stock.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

OPINIONS BELOW

I.

IT.

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

THE OREGON SUPREME COURT’S RULING

THAT THE RATIO GUIDEPOST CAN BE

“OVERRIDDEN” VIOLATES THIS COURT’S

PRECEDENTS AND CREATES A CONFLICT

AMONG THE LOWER COURTS ............-::::00

A. The Framework Adopted And Applied By

The Oregon Supreme Court Conflicts With

This Court’s Decisions In BMW And State

EIA PEL Ne A EN TO

B. The Oregon Supreme Court’s Approach

Conflicts With That Of The Ninth Circuit And

Deepens The Division Among The Lower

EES Ses Cnr edersra tne ane a na

THE OREGON SUPREME COURT’S

APPROVAL OF THE IMPOSITION OF

PUNISHMENT FOR HARMS SUFFERED BY

NON-PARTIES VIOLATES STATE FARM AND

CREATES A CONFLICT WITH DECISIONS

ET sessecncccusatebinininsteinisismeabininei

Terre ee eee eee Pee eee eee Eee eee eee eee

PoEeP PRTC POPC C OPP eee Pee eee Pee eee eee ESE

ORE EEE EERE TEETER HEHEHE ETE ETHER EE

since 8

sail 10

1V

TABLE OF CONTENTS - continued

Page

A. The Oregon Supreme Court’s Holding

Conflicts With This Court’s Decision In State

Farm And With Decisions Of Other Appellate

SII IIED csthsccsunshicsiesininisiismaleiiaaiiinsammmiapdinaimasdaasieeata aan 16

B. The Oregon Supreme Court’s Holding Will

Have Significant Negative Consequences If

PS C0 BE covencccvivicessininivnsicnnniiimiania 20

III. THE OREGON SUPREME COURT'S USE OF

A SUFFICIENCY-OF-THE-EVIDENCE

STANDARD IN ASSESSING THE

CONSTITUTIONALITY OF A PUNITIVE

DAMAGES AWARD IS CONTRARY TO THIS

COURT’S PRECEDENTS AND CONFLICTS

WITH A DECISION OF THE CALIFORNIA

ET TEIITTIET « snsccccsneumesscddcentesddmedidasemssindanianeasidall 22

A. The Lower Courts Are Divided As To The

Proper Implementation Of De Novo Review. .......... 23

B. The Circular Approach Employed By The

Court Below Cannot Be Squared With This

CRIES PIII oe cocnscecssnssscsasssesencevessecennstintintons 26

PII sscccescesesscsonensmnineeninsisnsieisiistinancninenmaiaaiie 28

APPENDIX

Appendix A: Oregon Supreme Court Opinion..................- la

Appendix B: Oregon Court of Appeals Opinion............... 35a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

CASES

Action Marine, Inc. v. Continental Carbon, Inc.,

2006 WL 173653 (M.D. Ala. Jan. 23, 2006)................. 12

Aken v. Plains Elec. Generation & Transmission

Co-Op, Inc., 49 P.3d 662 (N.M. 2002).........00ceeeeees 24

BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore,

Pe Cs Be OR cccccescccenenesescenscecesesccscceessssescezen passim

Bach v. First Union Nat'l Bank,

2005 WL 2009272, 149 Fed. Appx. 358 (6th Cir.

Ba icccrsnncnitinnscdaseenenipsesencevseseosemesnessvesasenesseese 13

Bains LLC v. ARCO Prods. Co.,

I, SII. cscatippnsacsnsnuneneneene 10

Boeken v. Philip Morris Inc.,

26 Cal. Rptr. 3d 638 (Cal. Ct. App. 2005),

cert.demied, S.Ct. (Mar. 20, 2006)... 13

Boerner v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Co.,

NIE, SETI sccecctnassnecedetsonsesenevcesnnseseseoss 13

Bogle v. McClure, 332 F.3d 1347 (11th Cir. 2003)............ 25

Campbell v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.,

98 P.3d 409 (Utah 2004), cert. denied,

cess atertmerenmnasntonecs passim

Cass v. Stephens, 156 S.W.3d 38

sonic penenerpninnsecnnnnsmeneeonaneosneenen 13

Castano v. American Tobacco Co.,

EAT TE 21

Ceimo v. General Am. Life Ins. Co.,

137 Fed. Appx. 968 (9th Cir. 2005) ...........ccceetceeeees 13

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Page(s) _

Chu v. Hong, 2005 WL 2692464

Sere SE TEE, Ste SIE cisccreesiesesctnsscennsneninninaseavinnins 25

Clark v. Chrysler Corp., 436 F.3d 594

SG CUI hs AI iinintiadaciicintncinipanainencniinininecnisiiiniael 12

‘Conseco Finance Servicing Corp. v.

North Am. Mortgage Co.,

SP | ll FE 12

Cooper Industries, Inc. v. Leatherman

Tool Group, 532 U.S. 424 (2001) .........cccccceeeceeeees passim

Diamond Woodworks, Inc. v.

Argonaut Insurance Co., -

135 Cal. Rptr. 2d 736 (Ct. App. 2003) ..........cccccccceceeeees 13

Eden Elec., Ltd. v. Amana Co.,

err 13

Fresh v. Entertainment U.S.A. of Tennessee, Inc.,

340 F. Supp. 2d 851 (W:D. Tenn. 2003)..................c0. 13

Gober v. Ralph's Grocery Co., 40 Cal. Rptr. 3d 92

Glee. CR Aga BER. F, FEED ocecceccccesecssccscscccssessccensseese 20

Grefer v. Alpha Technical, 901 So. 2d 1117

GO. GR FR FI cccreseccccnssccccnimmmnesacsvmenncenmananncnne 13

Grvyger v. Burke, 334 U.S. 728 (1948) .........ccccccceeeeeceeeeeees 19

Hangarter v. Provident Life & Accident Ins. Co.,

i, -P ) ). (+ > 25

In re Rhone-Poulenc Rorer, Inc.,

EP he fy lk ee 21

Johnson v. Ford Motor Co.,

pf 6): > = 18, 19, 21

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

Page(s)

Mathias v. Accor Econ. Lodging, Inc.,

Vas [ety (+ } 10

Mission Resources, Inc. v. Garza Energy Trust,

166 S.W.3d 301 (Tex. Ct. App. 2005) .........::cccccceeseees 11

Nichols v. United States, 511 U.S. 738 (1994) ....-.cesss-s000 16

Park vy. Mobil Oil Guam, 2004 WL 2595897

eee 24

Parrott v. Carr Chevrolet, Inc.,

Be aii riniceneinsntnncenniidgmemnatnnnsiinaenntie 24

Phelps v. Louisville Water Co.,

ee 12

Planned Parenthood of the Columbia/Willamette, Inc.

v. American Coalition of Life Activists, 422 F.3d _

Ns BR entiecnenteceestciiinnnniciananicieiiieitiiimnsas 11,14

Philip Morris USA, Inc. v. Williams, 540 U.S. 801

SETTITTEtschnieadeeeeesen/tinnsitennislaninienssetinindeienaneihipebveininnadintnanaintsdinet 4

Roginsky v. Richardson-Merrell, Inc.,

eo eee 21

Roth v. Farner-Bocken Co.,

ee Fe 13

Simon v. San Paolo U.S. Holding Co.,

rE Minds tcitaiiscinsitecpchnninatiniicanintin 23,24

Staskal v. Symons Corp., 706 N.W.2d 311

Sorts UTIs SIRI cictnescesessiinansieniepmpinanbieidesndlenasainidnaiticiaiabisinde 25

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance

Co. v. Campbell, 538 U.S. 408 (2003)..................- passim

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— continued

Page(s) —

Stogsdill \ Healthntark Partners, L.L.C.,

eg ef ee 13, 25

Superior Federal Bank v. Jones & Mackey

Construction Co., 2005 WL 3307074

CREE, CR. AAI. TRG. 7, BD sncncsasecessctcsscenemnsmenenetnnntans 12

Union Pac. R.R. Co. v. Barber, 149 §.W.3d 325

(Ark.), cert. demied, 543 U.S. 940 (2004)... 25

United States v. Watts, 519 U.S. 148 (1997)..........ccccceeeees 18

University Med. Assoc. of the Med. Univ.

of South Carolina v. UNUMProvident Corp.,

335 F. Supp. 2d 702 (D.S.C. 2004) ...........cccccecceceeteeeeees 20

White v. Ford Motor Co., Slip Op., No. CV-N-95-

279-DWH-(PHA) (D. Nev. Mar. 15, 2005) .................. 12

Williams v. ConAgra Poultry Co.,

SIS F.3G TOO Coe Cav FOB G) access ny cecessececesccvesssscessscnsee 19

Williams v. Philip Morris, 48 P.3d 824

GED, GR, TI siesrcnntsenesenciecnectsstnccienirernisnemnnimsmnssinsintins 3

Witte v. United States, 515 U.S. 389 (1995) .......cccccceceseesees 18

Wohlwend v. Edwards, 796 N.E.2d 781

Ss ees FR, BD ersicccsetscccrniinceneennnenicentesninnmnniantinaton 20

Wolf v. Wolf, 690 N.W.2d 887 (lowa 2005)...........cccccceeces 23

Young v. DaimlerChrysler Corp.,

2004 WL 2538639 (S.D. Ind. Oct. 19, 2004)................ 13

Zhang v. Am. Gem Seafoods, Inc..,

339 F.3d 1020 (9th Cir. 2003),

cert. denied, 124 S. Ct. 1602 (2004)... eects 10

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

Page(s)

STATUTES, RULES AND REGULATIONS

a EO 1

MISCELLANEOUS

Thomas B. Colby, Beyond the Multiple Punishment

Problem: Punitive Damages as Punishment

Sor Individual, Private Wrongs

9 CEG, Bn EN, FD CD perccccecscoessevessnanccnsncsesessessns 20

Brief of Respondent, BMW of N. Am., Inc. v. Gore,

No. 94-896, 1995 WL 330613 (U.S. May 30,

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Philip Morris USA (“Philip Morris’’) respect-

fully petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment

of the Supreme Court of Oregon in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Oregon Supreme Court (App., infra,

la-34a) is reported at 127 P.3d 1165. The decision of the

Oregon Court of Appeals (App., infra, 35a-75a) is reported at

92 P.3d 126.

JURISDICTIIN

The judgment of the Oregon Supreme Court was entered

on February 2, 2006. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

STATEMENT

I. The Trial. Jesse Williams began smoking cigarettes

in 1950 while in the Army in Korea, because other soldiers

told him that the smoke would keep mosquitoes away. After

1955, Williams smoked Marlboros, manufactured and mar-

keted by petitioner Philip Morris. App., infra, 36a. Williams

eventually smoked three packs of cigarettes a day.

Williams had been taught as a child that smoking is un-

healthy. He and his wife taught their children not to smoke.

Citing the dangers of tobacco, his wife and children, in turn,

repeatedly urged Williams to stop smoking. So did his phy-

sician. Although Williams referred to cigarettes as “cancer

sticks,” he reacted angrily when confronted with the risks of

smoking. His wife frequently pointed to the warning labels

on cigarette packages and told him that cigarettes would kill

him. Williams reportedly responded: “Phooey. * * * This is

what the Surgeon General says, it’s not what [the] tobacco

company says.” According to his wife, Williams said that

“cigarettes are not going to kill you, because | just heard this

2

so-and-so guy on TV, and he said that tobacco doesn’t cause

you cancer!” Williams’ wife testified that in 1996, when

Williams was diagnosed with lung cancer, he said: “Those

darn cigarette people finally did it. They were lying all the

time.” Williams died in March 1997. App, infra, 36a. Wil-

liams’s widow (“plaintiff”) sued Philip Morris, alleging neg-

ligence and fraud.

At trial, plaintiff mounted a wide-ranging attack on 50

years of Philip Mornis’s conduct, introducing evidence relat-

ing not only to the company’s statements concerning smok-

ing and health (none of which plaintiff was shown to have

heard or seen), but also to its research practices, its litigation

positions, and its dealings with competitors. In closing ar-

guments, plaintiff explicitly and repeatedly urged the jury to

punish Philip Morris not only for the harm caused to Wil-

liams, but also for the alleged harms suffered by masses of

other, unidentified people who were not before the court -

people whose individual circumstances were never presented

to any finder of fact. Plaintiff urged the jury to award puni-

tive damages based on the supposition that ten out of every

hundred smokers in Oregon would get cancer, and three or

four of those ten would be Marlboro smokers:

In Oregon, how many people do we see outside,

driving home, coming to work, over the lunch hour

smoking cigarettes? For every hundred cigarettes

that they smoke are going to kill ten through lung

cancer. And of those ten, four of them, or three of

them | should say, because the market share of

Marlboros ts one-third * * *.

When you determine the amount of money to award

in punitive damages against Philip Mor-

ris * * * [ijt’s fair to think about how many other

Jesse Williams[es] in the last 40 years in the State of

Oregon there have been. it’s more than fair to think

about how many more are out there im the future.

3

Philip Morris sought an instruction that would have told

the jury that any punitive award must bear a reasonable rela-

tionship to the harm caused to the plaintiff and that it was not

permitted to punish Philip Morris for alleged harms suffered

by non-parties. The trial court refused to give this instruc-

tion, choosing instead to tell the jury that it was free to award

any amount of punitive damages up to $100 million, the

amount arbitrarily requested in plaintiff's complaint.

The jury found for plaintiff on both her fraud and product

design claims and awarded $821,485 in compensatory dam-

ages (reduced to $521,485 pursuant to Oregon’s statutory cap

on wrongful death damages). The jury also awarded $79.5

million in punitive damages for fraud but refused to award

any punitive damages on the claims relating to the design of

Philip Morris’s cigarettes.

On post-trial motions, the trial court held that the punitive

award was “excessive under federal standards.” Accord-

ingly, it reduced the punitive damages to $32 million — still

39 times the compensatory damages verdict.

2. Appeal and GVR. On appeal, the Oregon Court of

Appeals rejected Philip Morris’s contention that the jury

should have been given Philip Morris’s proposed instruction

that any award of punitive damages had to be reasonably re-

lated to the harm caused to Williams himself (as opposed to

non-parties), ruling that the proposed instruction misstated

the applicable law. Williams v. Philip Morris, 48 P.3d 824

(Or. App. 2002). It further concluded that the jury’s verdict

had not been excessive and accordingly reinstated the jury’s

$79.5 million award. /d. at 843.'

After the Oregon Supreme Court denied review, Philip

Morris petitioned for a writ of certiorari, raising both the

“punishment for harm to others” issue and an excessiveness

Including interest, the award now amounts to nearly $130 mil-

lion.

4

claim. This Court granted the petition, vacated the judgment,

and remanded to the Oregon Court of Appeals for reconsid-

eration in light of State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance

Co. v. Campbell, 538 U.S. 408 (2003). Philip Morris USA,

Inc. v. Williams, 540 U.S. 801 (2003).

3. Proceedings On Remand. On remand, the Oregon

Court of Appeals once again upheld the $79.5 million award.

It rejected Philip Morris’s claims of instructional error, ex-

pressly holding that it was both permissible and appropriate

for the jury to punish for harms to non-parties. App., infra,

75a. The Court of Appeals then held that the award was not

excessive, again relying primarily on unproven harms to non-

parties to justify the jury’s massive award.

The Oregon Supreme Court affirmed. It stated that, in

applying the excessiveness analysis set forth in BMW of

North America, Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559 (1996), it would

“state all facts in the light most favorable to plaintiff.” Jd. at

2a; see also id. at 23a (“[W]e construe all facts in favor of

plaintiff, the party in whose favor the jury ruled.”).

Proceeding on that basis, the court stated that the jury

could have found that Philip Morris had “deceived other

smokers in Oregon” besides Mr. Williams and that Philip

Morris’s products “caused a significant number of deaths

each year in Oregon during the pertinent time period * * * .”

Id. at 7a-8a. Although no evidence had been introduced at

trial to show whether any Oregon smoker other than Wil-

liams smoked and sustained injuries in reliance on the al-

leged fraud, the court held that widespread reliance and

injury could be inferred. /d. at 8an.1.

The court then addressed Philip Morris’s contention that

the jury should have been instructed not to punish the com-

pany for alleged harms suffered by non-parties. The court

rejected the argument “that Campbell prohibits the state, act-

ing through a civil jury, from using punitive damages to pun-

ish a defendant for harm to non-parties.” /d. at 18a. Indeed,

5

in considering the text of the proposed instruction — which

would have permitted the jury to “consider,” but not “punish”

for, harm to others — the court stated: “It is unclear to us how

a jury could ‘consider’ harm to others, yet withhold that con-

sideration from the punishment calculus. If a jury cannot

punish for the conduct, then it is difficult to see why it may

consider it at all.” /d. at 18a n.3.

The court then considered the three BMW “guideposts”

for determining whether a punitive award is unconstitution-

ally excessive: (i) the degree of reprehensibility of the mis-

conduct; (ii) the ratio of punitive to compensatory damages;

and (iii) any relevant legislatively established penalties for

comparable conduct. 517 U.S. at 574-575.

Taking the evidence in the “light most favorable to the

plaintiff,” the court concluded that the record supported a

finding that Philip Morris’s conduct was “extraordinarily rep-

rehensible.” App., infra, 23a. As the court interpreted the

evidence, the jury could have found that Philip Morris’s mis-

conduct affected “many Oregonians” who kept smoking and

became ill or died. /bid. The court further reasoned that the

jury could have concluded that the misconduct harmed “a

much broader class of Oregonians”: those who “kept buying

cigarettes — taking money out of their pockets and putting it

into the hands of Philip Morris and other tobacco compa-

nies.” Jbid. Therefore, the court concluded, “the first Gore

guidepost favors a very significant punitive damage award.”

The court similarly held that the third BMW factor — the

legislatively established penalties for comparable misconduct

— supported a large punitive award: “Viewing the facts in the

light most favorable to plaintiff, Philip Morris’s actions, un-

der the criminal statutes in place at the beginning of its

scheme in 1954, would have constituted manslaughter.” /d.

at 27a.

Addressing the relationship between the compensatory

and punitive awards, the court recognized that “the second

6

Gore guidepost is not met.” /d. at 3la. It acknowledged that

“{ajll arguable versions of the ratios substantially exceed the

single-digit ratio (9:1) that the [U.S. Supreme] Court has said

ordinarily will apply in the usual case.” /bid.“ Nevertheless,

the court explained, “the other two guideposts — reprehensi-

bility and comparable sanctions — can provide a basis for

overriding the concern that may arise from a double-digit ra-

tio.” Jd. at 33a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This case, which involves a massive punitive award to a

single individual, presents three important constitutional

questions bearing on the administration of punitive damages:

whether a determination that a punitive award is excessive

under the reasonable-relationship guidepost may be trumped

by a determination that the other two guideposts support a

large punitive award; whether punitive damages may be im-

posed to punish for harms to non-parties; and whether a re-

viewing court permissibly may assume that the jury drew

every inference urged upon it by the plaintiff merely because

it awarded the plaintiff a large amount of punitive damages.

Each of these questions is important, each recurs with

regularity in punitive damages litigation, each has perplexed

and divided the lower courts, and each was resolved incor-

rectly by the Oregon Supreme Court.

First, by holding that the ratio guidepost may be overrid-

den by a finding of high reprehensibility, the court below

provided courts throughout the country with a roadmap for

evading this Court’s efforts to bring predictability and disci-

pline to punitive damages jurisprudence. Under the Oregon

Supreme Court’s approach, a court need only express the

subjective conclusion that the defendant’s conduct was

> Indeed, if the statutorily capped amount of compensatory dam-

ages is used as the denominator, the ratio in this case rises from

97:1 to 152:1.

7

highly reprehensible and it then can uphold any punitive

award no matter how disproportionate to the compensatory

damages it may be. But this Court has never treated the three

BMW guideposts as independent factors to be traded off

against one another. Instead, it has established a range of

constitutionally permissible ratios and suggested that the de-

gree of reprehensibility (and the amount of compensatory

damages) will determine where within that range the consti-

tutional cut-off falls in a particular case. The Ninth Circuit

has expressly so held; there thus exists a square conflict be-

tween a federal circuit court and the supreme court of a state

within that circuit on this question.

Second, the Oregon Supreme Court’s holding that a jury

may punish a defendant for harms to similarly situated non-

parties is a dangerous misreading of State Farm. A jury may

never punish a defendant for harms to non-parties because

doing so would inevitably expose the defendant to the risk of

unconstitutional duplicative punishments. The California

Supreme Court has expressly construed State Farm to bar

punishment on this basis, so once again a square conflict ex-

ists.

Finally, by presuming that the jury resolved every factual

dispute against petitioner notwithstanding the absence of any

specific factual findings by the jury, the Oregon Supreme

Court rendered de novo review completely toothless. Here,

too, a clear conflict exists. As the California Supreme Court

recognized in rejecting precisely this approach to post-verdict

review, to defer to “findings” not necessarily made by the

jury merely because the jury returned a large punitive verdict

is to allow the punitive award to “indirectly justify itself,”

which is “inconsistent with de novo review.”

Because the Oregon Supreme Court’s various holdings

collectively defy a decade of this Court’s punitive damages

jurisprudence and because each conflicts with decisions of

8

other state supreme courts or federal courts of appeals, re-

view is both warranted and necessary.

I. THE OREGON SUPREME COURT’S RULING

THAT THE RATIO GUIDEPOST MAY BE

“OVERRIDDEN” VIOLATES THIS COURT’S

PRECEDENTS AND CREATES A CONFLICT

AMONG THE LOWER COURTS

A. The Framework Adopted And Applied By The

Oregon Supreme Court Conflicts With This

Court’s Decisions In BMW And State Farm.

The Oregon Supreme Court acknowledged that the mas-

sive judgment under review did not satisfy the requirements

of the BMW ratio guidepost. App., infra, 3la. It neverthe-

less affirmed the $79.5 million penalty, which yielded a ratio

of almost 100:1, because “the other two guideposts — repre-

hensibility and comparable sanctions — can provide a basis

for overriding the concern that may arise from a double-digit

ratio.” /d. at 33a.

That approach directly conflicts with the decisions of this

Court. In explaining why “few awards exceeding a single-

digit ratio between punitive and compensatory damages, to a

significant degree, will satisfy due process” (538 US. at

425), the Court specifically enumerated the circumstances

that could permissibly give rise to double-digit ratios. Far

from creating an exception for all “high reprehensibility”

cases, as the Oregon Supreme Court believed, this Court

stated that a double-digit ratio was permissible only when “a

particularly egregious act has resulted in only a small amount

of economic damages.” J/bid. (emphasis added). That, of

course, is not the case here.

The presence of aggravating reprehensibility factors

alone does not override the ratio guidepost or even remove a

case from the single-digit-ratio framework described in State

Farm (much less justify the 97:1 ratio at issue here). To the

9

contrary, the degree of reprehensibility, among other factors,

helps the court to determine which single-digit multiplier is

appropriate. In State Farm, this Court explained that nor-

“mally a punitive award of four times compensatory damages

“might be close to the line of constitutional impropriety.”

Ibid. However, the absence of aggravating reprehensibility

factors renders any punitive damages award “suspect.” Jd. at

419. State Farm itself involved at least two aggravating rep-

rehensibility factors — intentional deceit and a financially

vulnerable victim. See id. at 419, 420. Nevertheless, the

Court suggested that any award producing a ratio of more

than 1:1 would be unconstitutionally excessive on the facts of

the case. Jd. at 429.°

It makes no sense to consider each guidepost as an inde-

pendent and sufficient factor that can “override” one or more

of the others, as the Oregon Supreme Court did. Rather than

“competitive tools,” as the Oregon Supreme Court described

them (App., infra, 32a), the guideposts are constructs that

must be considered together in assessing the excessiveness of

a punitive award. Reprehensibility may move the acceptable

ratio up the single-digit range; it does not render the ratio

guidépost inapplicable. By treating the ratio guidepost as an

abstract inquiry that could be overridden by high reprehensi-

bility, the Oregon Supreme Court’s decision sets punitive

damages free of any concrete “reasonable relationship” re-

quirement and conflicts with this Court’s punitive damages

jurisprudence.

* On remand, the Utah Supreme Court held that a 9:1 ratio was

permissible after finding all five reprehensibility sub-factors to

have been established. Campbell v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins.

Co., 98 P.3d 409 (Utah), cert. denied, 543 U.S. 874 (2004).

10

B. The Oregon Supreme Court’s Approach

Conflicts With That Of The Ninth Circuit And

Deepens The Division Among The Lower Courts.

The Oregon Supreme Court’s ruling conflicts with the far

different approach taken by the Ninth Circuit, which assesses

the BMW guideposts in tandem with one another. That court

recently explained:

Although the Supreme Court has eschewed any spe-

cific formula, we discern from BMW and its prog-

eny a rough framework for evaluating whether there

is a reasonable relationship between the punitive

damages award and the actual or likely harm associ-

ated with the wrongful conduct. In cases where

there are significant economic damages and punitive

damages are warranted but behavior is not particu-

larly egregious, a ratio of up to 4 to | serves as a

good proxy for the limits of constitutionality. See,

e.g., State Farm, 538 U.S. at 425, 123 S.Ct. 1513

(acts of bad faith and fraud warranted something

closer to a | to | ratio). In cases with significant

economic damages and more egregious behavior, a

single-digit ratio greater than 4 to | might be consti-

tutional. See, e.g., Zhang [v. Am. Gem Seafoods,

Inc., 339 F.3d 1020, 1043-1044 (9th Cir. 2003)]

(post-State Farm case upholding 7 to | ratio where

the wrongful conduct involved significant racial dis-

crimination); Bains LLC v. ARCO Prods. Co., 405

F.3d 764, 776-777 (9th Cir. 2005) (post-Siate Farm

case indicating that ratio between 6 to | and 9 to |

would be constitutional where underlying wrongful

conduct was racial discrimination). And in cases

where there are insignificant economic damages but

the behavior was particularly egregious, the single-

digit ratio may not be a good proxy for constitution-

ality. See, e.g., Mathias v. Accor Econ. Lodging.

Inc., 347 F.3d 672, 677 (7th Cir. 2003) (upholding a

lI

punitive damage award with a 37 to | ratio of puni-

tive damages to compersatory damages as constitu-

tional because defendant’s behavior was outrageous

but the compensable harm” was nominal and diffi-

cult to quantify).

Planned Parenthood of the Columbia/Willamette, 'nc. v.

American Coalition of Life Activists, 422 F.3d 949, %2 (9th

Cir. 2005). The Ninth Circuit’s approach, with its apprecia-

tion that the reprehensibility analysis operates within limits

set by the ratio guidepost, is irreconcilable with Oregon’s,

which simply tosses out the ratio consideration when high

reprehensibility is found.

The existence of a conflict such as this one, between a

federal appellate court and the high court of one of its con-

stituent states, is a compelling reason to grant review. See

Baldwin v. Alabama, 472 U.S. 372, 374 (1985). That is be-

cause such conflicts may lead to forum shopping and will

produce different results based on nothing more than whether

a particular lawsuit is removable.

A number of other courts agree with the Oregon Supreme

Court that reprehensibility (a highly subjective criterion) may

trump the ratio guidepost. These courts have expressly dis-

regarded the single-digit limitation in cases in which none of

the exceptions identified in State Farm was present, on the

theory that high reprehensibility suffices to break the single-

digit barrier.

In Mission Resources, Inc. v. Garza Energy Trust, 166

S.W.3d 301 (Tex. Ct. App. 2005), for example, the Texas

Court of Appeals upheld a $10 million punitive award for

trespass where the compensatory damages were $543,667.

The court “{a}dmitted[}” that the ratio “of approximately 20

to | * * * exceeds the ‘single-digit multiphers,’ which, ac-

cording to the Supreme Court, ‘are more likely to comport

with due process.” /d at 319. It nevertheless upheld the

award because the trespass was “highly unlawful.” /bid.

12

Similarly, in Superior Federal Bank v. Jones & Mackey Con-

struction Co., 2005S WL 3307074 (Ark. Ct. App. Dec. 7,

2005), the Arkansas Court of Appeals upheld a $3.08 million

punitive damages award for defamation that was 17.6 times

the $175,000 compensatory damages awarded on that claim.

The court recognized that “this ratio is greater than the sin-

gle-digit ratio mentioned in Campbell,” and therefore was

“constitutionally suspect.” Jd at 6-7. But it upheld the

award simply because “a 17.6-to-1 ratio is not breathtaking.”

Id. at 7. And in White v. Ford Motor Co., Slip Op., No. CV-

N-95-279-DWH-(PHA) (D. Nev. Mar. 15, 2005), the district

court upheld a $52 million punitive damages award that was

22.6 times the $2.3 million compensatory award on the

ground that “a single-digit multiplier does not necessarily

form an appropriate limitation upon a punitive damages

award” in a “malicious-conduct wrongful death action.” Slip

Op. at 42.* The majority of lower courts, on the other hand,

have heeded this Court’s admonition that “few awards ex-

ceeding a single-digit ratio between punitive and compensa-

tory damages, to a significant degree, will satisfy due

process.” 538 U.S. at 425.°

See also, e.g., Phelps v. Louisville Water Co., 103 S.W.3d 46,

55 (Ky. 2003) (upholding $2 million punitive award for wrongful

death that was 11.3 times the $176,361.64 compensatory award);

Action Marine, Inc. v. Continental Carbon, Inc., 2006 WL 173653,

at *8 n.6 (M.D. Ala. Jan. 23, 2006) (upholding $17.5 million puni-

tive award for release of carbon black resulting in property dam-

ages of $1.9 million; noting that “the facts of this case could have

supported an even higher multiplier [than 9.14:1]" because “a

strong state interest in deterrence of a particular wrongful act may

justify ratios higher than might otherwise be acceptable”).

* See, e.g., Clark v. Chrysler Corp., 436 F.3d 594, 596, 612 (6th

Cir. 2006) (reducing $3 million punitive award to $471,258.26, the

amount of compensatory damages); Conseco Fin. Servicing Corp.

v. North Am. Mortgage Ca., 381 F.3d 811, 825 (8th Cir. 2004) (re-

ducing $18 million punitive award to $7 million, for a ratio of 2:1),

13

The courts are also in conflict as to how to apply the

guideposts when the misconduct is especially reprehensible

(militating in favor of a high ratio) and the amount of com-

pensatory damages is substantial (militating in favor of a low

ratio). In such circumstances, some courts have held that a

ratio at the lower end of the single-digit range is appropriate.

See, e.g., Boerner v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Co., 394

F.3d 594, 598 (8th Cir. 2005) (“approximately 1:1”) and

Ceimo v. General Am. Life Ins. Co., 137 Fed. Appx. 968, 970

(9th Cir. 2005) (affirming reduction to approximately 1:1)

with Grefer v. Alpha Technical, 901 So. 2d 1117, 1152 (La.

Ct. App. 2005) (reducing 18:1 ratio to 2:1); Eden Elec., Ltd.

v. Amana Co., 370 F.3d 824, 829 (8th Cir. 2004) (affirming

reduction to 4.5:1 ratio). Other courts, however, have upheld

awards at the upper end of that range even where the com-

pensatory award is in seven figures. See, e.g., Boeken v.

Philip Morris Inc., 26 Cal. Rptr. 3d 638, 687 (Cal. Ct. App.

2005) (reducing 18:1 ratio to 9:1), cert. denied, S.Ct

Bach v. First Union Nat'l Bank, 149 Fed. Appx. 354, 366 (6th Cir.

2005) (6.6:1 ratio was “alarming” where compensatory damages

were $400,000); Stogsdill v. Healthmark Partners, L.L.C., 377

F.3d 827, 834 (8th Cir. 2004) (in wrongful death case, remitting $5

million punitive award to$2 million, for a ratio of 4:1); Fresh v.

Entm 't U.S.A. of Tenn., Inc., 340 F. Supp.2d 851, 860 (W.D. Tenn.

2003) (holding that 4:1 ratio was constitutional maximum in as-

sault case); Young v. DaimlerChrysler Corp., 2004 WL 2538639,

at *4 (S.D. Ind. Oct. 19, 2004) (holding that 3:1 was maximum

permissible ratio in discrimination case); Roth v. Farner-Bocken

Co., 667 N.W.2d 651, 671 (S.D. 2003) (vacating punitive award

that was 20 times the $25,000 compensatory award and suggesting

that 1:1 ratio was constitutional maximum); Cass v. Stephens, 156

S.W.3d 38, 77 (Tex. Ct. App. 2004) (holding, in fraud and mali-

cious conversion case involving $200,082 in compensatory dam-

ages, that 4:1 ratio was constitutional limit); Diamond Woodworks,

Inc. v. Argonaut Ins. Co. 135 Cal. Rptr. 2d 736, 760-761 (Ct. App.

2003) (holding that 4:1 was maximum ratio in insurance bad-faith

case).

14

(Mar. 20, 2006); Planned Parenthood, 422 F.3d at 962 (hold-

ing that 9:1 was constitutional maximum).

The Constitution does not require a “one size fits all” ap-

proach to assessing the ratio guidepost. But the current level

of conflict and confusion on the ratio question in the lower

courts is intolerable. The bottom line is that the guidepost ts

not being applied in any principled or predictable manner.

The Oregon Supreme Court’s doctrinal holding — that the

reasonable-relationship requirement can be “overridden”

whenever the conduct is highly reprehensible — promises to

exacerbate that disarray and to undermine the constitutional

principles established in BMW and State Farm. The impor-

tance of this issue could not be greater, and the need for re-

view could not be more pressing.

Il. THE OREGON SUPREME COURT’S APPROVAL

OF THE IMPOSITION OF PUNISHMENT FOR

HARMS SUFFERED BY NON-PARTIES VIO-

LATES STATE FARM AND CREATES A CON-

FLICT WITH DECISIONS OF OTHER COURTS

The jury returned an enormous punitive award because it

was urged and permitted to punish Philip Morris for the

harms suffered by every Oregonian who smoked the com-

pany’s cigarettes. Philip Morris asked the trial court to in-

struct the jury that it could not punish Philip Morris for the

effects of its conduct on non-parties. The proposed instruc-

tion stated:

The size of any punishment should bear a reason-

able relationship to the harm caused to Jesse Wil-

liams by the defendant’s punishable conduct.

Although you may consider the extent of harm suf-

fered by others in determining what that reasonable

relationship is, you are not to punish the defendant

for the impact of its alleged misconduct on other

persons, who may bring lawsuits of their own in

15

which other juries can resolve their claims and

award punitive damages for those harms, as those

other juries see fit.

App., infra, 17a-18a. The trial court refused to give the in-

struction, and plaintiff's counsel exploited that ruling by re-

peatedly urging the jury to punish Philip Morris for harms

suffered by anyone in Oregon who smoked Philip Morris's

cigarettes. See page 2, supra.

The Oregon Supreme Court held that State Farm does not

prohibit punishing for harms to similarly situated non-parties.

Accordingly, it rejected the claim of instructional error:

Philip Morris’s proposed jury instruction would

have prohibited the jury from ‘punishing the defen-

dant for the impact of its alleged misconduct on

other persons,’ even if those other persons were

Oregonians who were harmed by the conduct that

had harmed Williams, and in the same way. As we

noted, that is not correct as an independent matter of

Oregon law respecting the conduct of jury trials and

instructions that are given to juries. Neither, as we

read in [sic] Campbell, does it correctly state federal

due process law.

App., infra, 20a-2la.

The Oregon Supreme Court’s holding that punitive dam-

ages may properly be awarded to punish for harms to non-

parties conflicts with State Farm and decisions of the Cali-

fornia Supreme Court and the Eighth Circuit. It is a recipe

for multiple punishments for the same harms, and it will

spawn confusion in future punitive damages litigation. Re-

view is needed to resolve the split and prevent the further

erosion of the principles enunciated in State Farm.

16

A. The Oregon Supreme Court’s Holding Conflicts

With This Court’s Decision In State Farm And

With Decisions Of Other Appellate Courts.

In State Farm, this Court held that juries could consider

the effect of the defendant’s conduct on persons other than

the plaintiff for purposes of assessing the reprehensibility of

that conduct, but may not impose punitive damages to punish

the defendant for harms to non-parties. See 538 U.S. at 422-

423. This distinction is not new in the law, but in fact is ap-

plied by courts every day in implementing recidivism stat-

utes. See, e.g., Nichols v. United States, 511 U.S. 738, 747

(1994) (repeat-offender laws “penalize only the last offense

committed by the defendant”).

The Oregon Supreme Court did not understand the dis-

tinction between punishing the defendants for harm to non-

parties and considering such harm for purposes of assessing

reprehensibility. The court stated that “[i]t is unclear to us

how a jury could ‘consider’ harms to others, yet withhold

that consideration from the punishment calculus. If a jury

cannot punish for the conduct, then it is difficult to see why it

may consider it at all.” App., infra, 18a n.3.

The distinction between gauging reprehensibility and im-

posing punishment, however, is central to this Court’s puni-

tive damages jurisprudence. It is a critical protection against

duplicative punishment. The Court made clear in State Farm

that a defendant may be punished only for the harm to the

plaintiff before the court — and not for harms that may have

been suffered by non-parties. The Oregon Supreme Court's

contrary position is identical to the Utah Supreme Court’s

rationale for upholding the $145 million punitive award that

this Court found grossly excessive in State Farm. See 53%

U.S. at 423 (quoting Utah Supreme Court’s statement that

“fe]ven if the harm to the Campbells can be appropriately

characterized as minimal, the trial court’s assessment of the

situation is on target: ‘The harm is minor to the individual

17

399

but massive in the aggregate’). This Court expressly re-

jected the aggregate approach to assessing punitive damages,

explaining:

Due process does not permit courts, in the calculation of

punitive damages, to adjudicate the merits of other par-

ties’ hypothetical claims against a defendant under the

guise of the reprehensibility analysis. Punishment on

these bases creates the possibility of multiple punitive

damages awards for the same conduct; for in the usual

case nonparties are not bound by the judgment some

other plaintiff obtains.

‘Ibid.

At the same time, the Court in State Farm explained that,

under certain circumstances, evidence of a defendant’s simi-

lar wrongs might nevertheless be admissible to assist the jury

in assessing the degree of reprehensibility of the defendant’s

conduct. /d. at 422. Due process allows a range of permissi-

ble punishments in any given case — a range that is generally

limited by the ratio guidepost. According to this Court, in

most cases, the maximum allowable penalty will run from

zero to nine times the amount of compensatory damages (de-

pending upon the reprehensibility of the defendant’s miscon-

duct, the size of the compensatory award, and other factors).

Id. at 423-425. In determining where within the permissible

range a punitive damages award should fall, juries can ap-

propriately take into account whether the specific conduct

that injured the plaintiff is more blameworthy because it also

endangered others. And in deciding what the outer limit ts in -

a particular case, a reviewing court too can weigh the charac-

ter of the defendant’s conduct, including the magnitude of the

harms to which it exposed the public. However, both jury

18

and court may punish the defendant only for the harm that its

misconduct inflicted on the plaintiff in the case before it.°

While the court below claimed to be baffled by this dis-

tinction, it is commonplace in other areas of the law. For ex-

ample, evidence of similar wrongs in punitive damages cases

plays a role akin to the role of other uncharged criminal con-

duct in sentencing. A defendant’s entire course of conduct

may be relevant in determining where, within a range of po-

tential sentences, the penalty for the particular conviction

should fall. But the defendant cannot be punished for past or

contemporaneous uncharged offenses, or indeed for anything

other than the offense of conviction. See, e.g., United States

v. Watts, 519 U.S. 148, 154 (1997) (“sentencing enhance-

ments do not punish a defendant for crimes of which he was

not convicted, but rather increase his sentence because of the

manner in which he committed the crime of conviction”).’

° The Court drew a similar distinction in BMW when addressing

the role of evidence of conduct affecting individuals outside of the

forum state. See 517 U.S. at 574 n.21 (“Of course, the fact that the

Alabama Supreme Court correctly concluded that it was error for

the jury to use the number of sales in other States as a multiplier in

computing the amount of its punitive sanction does not mean that

evidence describing out-of-state transactions is irrelevant in a case

of this kind. To the contrary, * * * such evidence may be relevant

to the determination of the degree of reprehensibility of the defen-

dant’s conduct.”’).

” See also Witte v. United States, 515 U.S. 389, 401-403 (1995)

(“[C]onsideration of information about the defendant’s character

and conduct at sentencing does not result in ‘punishment’ for any

offense other than the one of which the defendant was convicted.”

Rather, the defendant is “punished only for the fact that the present

offense was carried out in a manner that warrants increased pun-

ishment * * *.”) (emphasis in original); Johnson v. Ford Motor

Co., 113 P.3d 82, 92 n.6 (2005) (“An enhanced punishment for

recidivism does not directly punish the earlier offense; it is, rather,

a stiffened penalty for the last crime, which is considered to be an

19

By the same token, the degree of wantonness reflected in the

defendant’s conduct may warrant an enhanced penalty for

that conduct, but that is fundamentally different from punish-

ing the defendant for harms to other people. The former

weighs the degree of reprehensibility of a defendant’s con-

duct; the latter runs a significant risk of “double count[ing]

by including in the punitive damages award some of the com-

pensatory, or punitive, damages that subsequent plaintiffs

would also recover.” BMW, 517 U.S. at 593 (Breyer, J., con-

curring).

The Oregon Supreme Court’s ruling not only is contrary

to State Farm, it also conflicts with the holdings of the Cali-

fornia Supreme Court and the Eighth Circuit. In Johnson v.

Ford Motor Co., 113 P.3d 82 (Cal. 2005), the California Su-

preme Court ruled that in an individual action, punitive dam-

ages cannot be used to punish a defendant for alleged harm to

non-parties because such an award would allow the individ-

ual plaintiff to recover without ever proving the specifics of

those “hypothetical claims.” /d. at 95. As the California Su-

preme Court explained in Johnson, the jury, and a reviewing

court, may consider “[t]he scale and profitability of a course

of wrongful conduct” in assessing reprehensibility, but only

within the framework established by the other two guide-

posts; the defendant cannot be punished for harms to anyone

other than the plaintiff before the court. /d. at 93. Similarly,

the Eighth Circuit has held that “{p]unishing systematic

abuses by a punitive damages award in a case brought by an

individual plaintiff * * * deprives the defendant of the safe-

guards against duplicative punishment that inhere in the class

action procedure.” Williams v. ConAgra Poultry Co., 378

F.3d 790, 797 (8th Cir. 2004).

aggravated offense because a repetitive one.”) (quoting Gryger v.

Burke, 334 U.S. 728, 732 (1948)) (internal quotation marks omit-

ted).

20

The issue of how to deal with harm to non-parties has en-

gendered confusion among other courts as well. Compare,

e.g., University Med. Assoc. of the Med. Univ. of South Caro-

lina vy. UNUMProvident Corp., 335 F. Supp. 2d 702, 711

(D.S.C. 2004) (relying on subsequent wrongful conduct to

enhance punitive award because such conduct “would result

in precisely the type of repetitive harm contemplated in State

Farm as ripe for larger punitive damage awards”) with Gober

v. Ralph's Grocery Co., 127 Cal. App. 4th 204, 223 (Cal. Ct.

App. Mar. 5, 2006) (refusing to consider defendant’s subse-

quent wrongful conduct as evidence of recidivism or in com-

parable penalties analysis because the victims of that conduct

could sue in their own right) and Wohlwend v. Edwards, 796

N.E.2d 781, 783 (Ind. Ct. App. 2005) (trial court erred in

admitting evidence of subsequent wrongful conduct because

relevance of that evidence was substantially outweighed by

the danger that the jury would use it to punish defendant for

his subsequent conduct rather than for the act that gave rise

to plaintiffs actual damages). This Court’s guidance is

plainly needed.

B. The Oregon Supreme Court’s Holding Will Have

Significant Negative Consequences If Permitted

To Stand.

The Oregon Supreme Court’s determination that the Con-

stitution permits a jury in one case to punish for injuries pre-

sumed to have been suffered by non-parties will have

substantial, negative repercussions if not corrected. It sub-

jects defendants to all the risks of a class action, while afford-

ing them none of the safeguards required by due process.® It

* See, e.g., Thomas B. Colby, Beyond the Multiple Punishment

Problem. Punitive Damages as Punishment for Individual, Private

Wrongs 87 MINN. L. REV. 583, 654-656 (2003) (“Because punitive

damages are properly recoverable for each individual injury only if

ail of the elements of the underlying cause of action are present

and there are no affirmative defenses, the defendant must be per-

21

creates a grave risk of excessive, multiple punishment.’ It

also works as a one-way ratchet that guarantees that corpo-

rate defendants will continue to be exposed to the risk of

massive penalties for a course of conduct no matter how

many times they are exonerated by courts and juries. See

Johnson, 113 P.3d at 94-95 (imposing punitive damages for

harms to others- would “present a problem of ‘successive

prosecution’ in which a defendant that loses a single case

would also lose the benefit of all previous victories against

the same claim of misconduct”). Indeed, the Oregon Su-

preme Court’s approach threatens to turn every case into a

“bet-the-company” event, thereby distorting the legal system

by creating inordinate pressure to settle even weak cases.'°

In addition, a defendant in an individual case cannot rea-

sonably be expected to fend off allegations of misconduct

affecting individuals who are not before the court. This case

mitted to contest causation and other elements of the alleged tort

On an individual basis with respect to each victim and to raise all

affirmative defenses that it might have against particular vic-

tims.”’).

* See Roginsky v. Richardson-Merrell, Inc., 378 F.2d 832, 839-

840 (2d Cir. 1967) (Friendly, J.) (describing multiple-punishment

problem).

'° See, e.g., In re Rhone-Poulenc Rorer, Inc., 51 F.3d 1293, 1298

(7th Cir. 1995) (observing that aggregating the claims of multiple

alleged victims in a single case can place a defendant that has won

the lion’s share of individual cases “under intense pressure to set-

tle” rather than “roll these dice” and risk potentially bankrupting

liability); Castano v. Am. Tobacco Co. 84 F.3d 734, 746 (Sth Cir.

1996) (“[a]ggregation of claims * * * makes it more likely that a

defendant will be found liable and results in significantly higher

damage awards,” which in turn “creates insurmountable pressure

on defendants to settle” because the prospect of “an all-or-nothing

verdict presents too high a risk, even when the probability of an

adverse judgment is low”).

22

perfectly illustrates the problem. The record here contains no

evidence whatsoever regarding the extent to which other

smokers were induced by any Philip Morris misconduct to

begin or continue smoking. Yet both the arguments of coun-

sel and the opinions of the Oregon courts rested on the facile

assumption that Philip Morris could properly be punished for

the injuries of everyone in Oregon who became ill as a result

of smoking its cigarettes. That assumption is indefensible: It

is entirely lawful to sell cigarettes, notwithstanding the

known dangers to health; and people who smoke knowin ng

the risks have no claim to have been unlawfully injured.’

The position of the courts below not only invites, it ulti-

mately rests on, impermissible speculation about the circum-

stances of all other potential “victims” as to whom there is no

evidence one way or another.

There thus are important practical reasons, in addition to

the conflicts with decisions of this and other courts, to grant

review on this issue. This Court should do so and should re re-

verse the decision below.

Ill. THE OREGON SUPREME COURT’S USE OF A

SUFFICIENCY-OF-THE-EVIDENCE STANDARD

IN ASSESSING THE CONSTITUTIONALITY OF

A PUNITIVE DAMAGES AWARD IS CONTRARY

TO THIS COURT’S PRECEDENTS AND CON-

FLICTS WITH A DECISION OF THE CALIFOR-

NIA SUPREME COURT.

This case raises a third critical issue that arises in virtu-

ally every punitive damages appeal and is the subject of a

split of authority: whether, when reviewing a punitive award

for excessiveness, a court is permitted to assume that the jury

decided all disputed facts in favor of the plaintiff. This is a

threshold question that arises whenever an appellate court 1s

'' For that reason (among others), most of the juries that have

heard cases against Philip Morris have found for the defense.

23

tasked with evaluating an excessiveness challenge to a puni-

tive award but lacks the benefit of specific fact-findings by

the jury or the trial court.

In Cooper Industries, Inc. v. Leatherman Tool Group,

532 U.S. 424 (2001), the Court held that appellate courts

must conduct a de novo review of trial courts’ application of

the three BMW excessiveness guideposts. 532 U.S. at 436.

The Court reiterated that mandate in State Farm, observing

that “[e]xacting appellate review ensures that an award of

punitive damages is based upon an application of law, rather

than a decisionmaker’s caprice.” 538 U.S. at 418 (internal

quotation marks omitted). In neither Cooper Industries nor

State Farm, however, did the Court instruct lower courts how

to implement this de novo review when the jury has not ren-

dered any specific factual findings. This Court should re-

solve the issue once and for all.

A. The Lower Courts Are Divided As To The

. Proper Implementation Of De Novo Review.

In Simon v. San Paolo U.S. Holding Co., 113 P.3d 63, 70

(Cal. 2005), the California Supreme Court ruled that, when

the jury has made “no * * * express finding” on a particular

issue bearing on application of the BMW guideposts, an ap-

pellate court should not simply assume that all relevant facts

were resolved by the jury in the plaintiff's favor. It explained

that to infer a factual finding unfavorable to the defendant

“from the size of the award would be inconsistent with de

novo review, for the award’s size would thereby indirectly

justify itself.” /bid. Accordingly, “{wJhile [courts must] de-

fer to express jury findings Supported by the evidence, in the

absence of an express finding on the question [they] must

independently decide” whether the fact at issue has been es-

tablished. /d. at 72.’

'? See also Wolf v. Wolf, 690 N.W.2d 887, 894 (lowa 2005) (as-

sessing reprehensibility on the basis of a “de novo review of the

24

Many other courts, however, including the Oregon Su-

preme Court, have taken a fundamentally different position,

choosing instead to apply a sufficiency-of-the-evidence stan-

dard. Under traditional sufficiency analysis, reviewing

courts assume the existence of any fact necessary to support

liability so long as the record contains “substantial evidence”

from which a reasonable jury could have made the required

finding. The Oregon Supreme Court adopted this approach

for assessing punitive damages awards in Parrott v. Carr

Chevrolet, Inc., 17 P.3d. 473, 485 (Or. 2001), a decision that

predates Cooper Industries.

Drawing all inferences in favor of the prevailing party

makes perfect sense in addressing evidentiary sufficiency

questions. However, the rationale for the practice simply

does not apply to the fundamentally different context of ex-

cessiveness analysis. When the jury renders a liability ver-

dict, the reviewing court shauld presume that the jury made

all factual findings necessary to uphold that verdict, provided

sufficient evidence exists for those findings in the record. By

contrast, when the jury awards punitive damages, no particu-

lar factual findings are “necessary” to its assessment of the

amount. See Cooper Industries, 532 U.S. at 437 (the amount

of punitive damages that wil! punish and deter is “not really a

‘fact’ tried by the jury”). It is erroneous to infer from the size

of the award findings of fact that the jury did not make —

thereby, in the words of the California Supreme Court, allow-

ing the punitive award to “indirectly justify itself” (Simon,

113 P.3d at 70).

The decision below is emblematic of this circular ap-

proach. The Oregon Supreme Court repeatedly emphasized

that, in performing its excessiveness review, it would “con-

record’); Park v. Mobil Oil Guam, Inc., 2004 WL 2595897, at

*13-14 (Guam Nov. 16, 2004) (evaluating the record de novo in

excessiveness analysis); Aken v. Plains Elec. Generation &

Transmission Co-Op, Inc., 49 P.3d 662, 668 (N.M. 2002).

25

strue all facts in favor of plaintiff, the party in whose favor

the jury ruled.”"’ App., infra, 23a; see also id. at 2a; ibid."*

The Oregon Supreme Court is not alone in deferring to

the plaintiff's version of events in assessing the degree of

reprehensibility of the punishable conduct. See, e.g., Stogs-

dill v. Healthmark, L.L.C., 377 F.3d 827, 831 (8th Cir. 2004)

(“viewing the evidence in the light most favorable to the

plaintiffs” as part of state and federal excessiveness review);

Hangarter v. Provident Life & Accident Ins. Co., 373 F.3d

998, 1014 (9th Cir. 2004) (same); Staskal v. Symons Corp.,

706 N.W.2d 311, 333 (Wis. App. 2005) (same); Union Pac.

R.R. Co. v. Barber, 149 $.W.3d 325, 346 (Ark.) (same), cert.

denied, 543 U.S. 940 (2004); Bogle v. McClure, 332 F.3d

1347, 1361 (11th Cir. 2003) (reprehensibility analysis rested

on what “a reasonable jury could have concluded from the

evidence”); Chu v. Hong, 2005 WL 2692464, at *6 (Tex.

'? This characterization of the jury verdict is itself debatable. The

jury awarded $79.5 million in punitive damages on plaintiff's

fraud claim but it unanimously chose not to award punitive dam-

ages on plaintiff's product-design-based claims. Although defen-

dant “prevailed” on the latter claim, the Oregon Supreme Court

nevertheless viewed evidence of the defendant’s product-design

conduct in the light most favorable to plaintiff in order to justify

the punitive award. See, e.g., App., infra, 6a; id. at 8a.

'* The opinion is replete with instances in which the court stated

that the jury “could have found” for plaintiff on a hotly disputed

issue, rather than making an independent determination on that

issue. See, e.g., App., infra, Sa; id. at 6a; id. at 7a.

The Oregon Supreme Court's statement that “the parties do not

dispute the way that the Court of Appeals framed the facts” (App.,

infra, 2a) is flatly inaccurate. Philip Morris expressly stated in its

brief that it “adopt[ed] and incorporate[d] by reference the State-

ment of Facts in its opening brief in the Court of Appeals,” which

sharply contested the version of the record put forth by plaintiff

and ultimately adopted by the Court of Appeals.

26

App. Oct. 20, 2005) (“[A] reviewing court must assume that

the factfinder resolved disputed facts in favor of its finding if

a reasonable factfinder could do so.”’).

B. The Circular Approach Employed By The Court

Below Cannot Be Squared With This Court’s

Precedents.

The practice of lower courts simply to assume from the

size of the punitive award that the jury has found the defen-

dant’s conduct to be highly reprehensible, and then to assume

that the jury supported that finding with factual conclusions

that the jury nowhere expressed, cannot be reconciled with

this Court’s punitive damages jurisprudence.

In BMW, for example, the plaintiff's theory was that

“BMW was palming off damaged, inferior-quality goods as

new and undamaged, so that BMW could pocket 10 percent

more than the true value of each car.” Brief of Respondent at

17, BMW of N. Am., Inc. v. Gore, No. 94-896, 1995 WL

330613, at *17 (May 30, 1995). Had a sufficiency-of-the-

evidence standard been applicable, the Court would have had

to accept this inference as one that the jury reasonably could

have reached. Instead, the Court reviewed the record for it-

self and, in the course of concluding that the case implicated

“none of the aggravating factors associated with particularly

reprehensible conduct,” found “no evidence that BMW acted

in bad fa:th when it sought to establish the appropriate line

between presumptively minor damage and damage requiring

disclosure to purchasers.” 517 U.S. at 576, 579.

In Cooper Industries, the Court observed that “the level

of punitive damages is not really a ‘fact’ ‘tried’ by the jury,”

but instead “is an expression of (the jury’s] moral condemna-

tion.” 532 U.S. at 432, 437 (internal quotation marks omit-

ted). The Court accordingly held that appellate review of a

trial court’s application of the BMW guideposts is de novo.

In the course of so holding, it indicated that reviewing courts

must accept “specific findings of fact” by the jury (id. at 439

27

n.12 (emphasis added)), thereby implying that, in the absence

of such findings, reviewing courts must resolve for them-

selves factual issues bearing on the application of the three

guideposts. The Court then did just that, expressly rejecting

the plaintiff's assertion that, for purposes of the second

guidepost, the potential harm was $3 million. /d. at 441-442.

And in State Farm, after reiterating the importance of

“fe]xacting appellate review” (538 U.S. at 418), the Court

gave no deference to findings that the jury could have made

but did not necessarily make, instead concluding from its

own review of the record that there was “scant evidence of

repeated misconduct of the sort that injured [the plaintiffs].”

Id. at 423. The fact that the jury had seen fit to award the

plaintiff $145 million in punitive damages did not persuade

this Court that State Farm’s conduct had in fact been highly

reprehensible.

The present case demonstrates that the concern about

phantom factual determinations is not hypothetical. Philip

Morris’s net worth was a focal point of the punitive damages

phase of the trial. The trial court instructed the jury — in reli-

ance on the complaint’s ad damnum - that it could award up

to $100 million in punitive damages. It is simply impossible

to tell from the bare fact of the jury’s $79.5 million verdict

which if any of the inferences urged by plaintiff was accepted

by the jury. The jury may well have believed, especially on

the record before it, that Philip Morris had not done most of

what the plaintiff had accused it of doing (see note 13, sw-

pra), but that $79.5 million was an appropriate award in view

of the plaintiff's exhortation to exact punishment for every

Oregon smoker who ever has or ever will become ill from

smoking, as well as Philip Morris’s substantial financial re-

sources. Indeed, the one thing that we do know is that the

jury decided that it did not need to award the full amount that

the plaintiff had requested.

28

The bottom line is that when - as here — the jury has not

been asked to respond to special interrogatories bearing on

the degree of reprehensibility of the defendant’s conduct and

other considerations relevant to setting the amount of puni-

tive damages, reviewing courts may not simply assume that

every relevant factual dispute was resolved against the de-

fendant and indulge every inference urged by the plaintiff.

Instead, reviewing courts must independently assess the dis-

puted factual issues before applying the three BMW guide-

posts.

This is, as previously noted, an issue that arises in every

punitive damages appeal ~ as well as one on which there is a

clear split of authority. This Court should grant review fo

address this highly important, frequently recurring issue.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

KENNETH S. GELLER ANDREW L. FREY

EVAN M. TAGER Counsel of Record

Mayer, Brown, Rowe & ANDREW H. SCHAPIRO

Maw LLP LAUREN R. GOLDMAN

1909 K Street, NW Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw

Washington, DC 20006 LLP

(202) 263-3000 1675 Broadway

New York, NY 10019

WILLIAM F. GARY (212) 506-2500

SHARON A. RUDNICK

Harrang Long Gary

Rudnick

360 East 10th Avenue

Eugene, OR 97401

(541) 485-0220

MARCH 2006

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A

OREGON SUPREME COURT OPINION

340 Ore. 35, 127 P.3d 1165

Supreme Court of Oregon.

MAYOLA WILLIAMS, PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE

OF THE ESTATE OF JESSE D. WILLIAMS,

Deceased, Respondent on Review,

V.

PHILIP MORRIS INCORPORATED,

NKA PHILIP Morris USA INC.,

Petitioner on Review,

and

RJ REYNOLDS TOBACCO COMPANY, FRED

MEYER, INC., AND PHILIP MORRIS COMPANIES, INC.,

Defendants.

(CC 9705-03957; CA A106791; SC $51805).

Argued and Submitted May 10, 2005.

Decided Feb. 2, 2006.

This tort case arose out of the death of Jesse Williams, a

smoker, who died of lung cancer. Plaintiff Mayola Williams

is the widow of Jesse Williams and personal representative of

his estate. Plaintiff sued defendant Philip Morris Inc. for,

inter alia, negligence and fraud, asserting a causal connection

between Jesse Williams’s smoking habit and his death. A

jury found for plaintiff on both causes of action. The jury

awarded both economic and noneconomic damages; it also

awarded plaintiff punitive damages of $79.5 million. The

issue before us is whether that punitive damage award vio-

lates the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment

to the United States Constitution. The Court of Appeals con-

cluded that it did not. Williams v. Philip Morris Inc., 182

Or.App. 44, 48 P.3d 824 (2002) (Williams 1), adh'd to on re-

2a

cons., 183 Or.App. 192, 51 P.3d 670, rev. den., 335 Or. 142,

61 P.3d 938 (2002), vac'd and rem'd, 540 U.S. 801, 124

S.Ct. 56, 157 L.Ed.2d 12 (2003), on remand, 193 Or.App.

527, 92 P.3d 126 (2004) (Williams II). For the reasons that

follow, we agree.

I. FACTS

Because the jury ruled in favor of plaintiff, we state all

facts in the light most favorable to plaintiff. See Parrott v.

Carr Chevrolet, Inc., 331 Or. 537, 556, 17 P.3d 473 (2001)

(“[Wjhen reviewing a punitive damages award for exces-

siveness, the reviewing court must view the facts in the light

most favorable to the jury’s verdict if there is evidence in the

record to support them.”). Because the parties do not dispute

the way that the Court of Appeals framed the facts, we quote

extensively from that court’s opinions.

Jesse Williams was a lifelong smoker who eventually

died of lung cancer. The cancer was caused by Williams’s

smoking.

“From the early 1950s until his death from a smoking-

related lung cancer in 1997, Williams smoked [Philip

Morris]’s cigarettes, primarily its Marlboro brand, even-

tually developing a habit of three packs a day. At that

point, he spent half his waking hours smoking and was

highly addicted to tobacco, both physiologically and psy-

chologically. Although, at the urging of his wife and

children, he made several attempts to stop smoking, each

time he failed, in part because of his addiction. Despite

the increasing amount of information that linked smoking

to health problems during that 40-year period, Williams

resisted accepting or attempting to act on it. When his

family told him that cigarettes were dangerous to his

health, he replied that the cigarette companies would not

sell them if they were as dangerous as his family claimed.

When one of his sons tned to get him to read articles

about the dangers of smoking, he responded by finding

3a

published assertions that cigarette smoking was not dan-

gerous. However, when Williams learned that he had in-

operable lung cancer he felt betrayed, stating ‘those darn

Cigarette people finally did it. They were lying all the

time.’ He died about six months after his diagnosis.”

Williams II, 193 Or.App. at 530-31, 92 P.3d 126.

Plaintiff based her fraud claim against Philip Morris on a

40-year publicity campaign by Philip Morris and the tobacco

industry to undercut published concerns about the dangers of

smoking. /d. at 531, 92 P.3d 126. Philip Morris and the to-

bacco industry had known for most of those 40 years, if not

all of them, that smoking was dangerous. /d. Nevertheless,

they tried to create in the public mind the impression that

there were legitimate reasons to doubt the danger of smoking.

Id. Philip Morris and the tobacco industry did so to give

smokers a reason to keep smoking (or, perhaps more accu-

rately, to undermine one of the main incentives for smokers

to stop smoking). /d.

The Court of Appeals summarized the evidence regarding

the campaign as follows:

“The industry established its strategy and began develop-

ing its public image in response to a decline in cigarette

sales in 1953 that was the apparent result of studies that

showed that cigarette tar could cause cancer in mice and

that established the existence of statistical correlations

between smoking and lung cancer. The first public joint

effort by the industry occurred in January 1954, when

[Philip Morris] and other tobacco companies published a

joint statement in 448 newspapers throughout the coun-

try. In that statement, among other things, they an-

nounced the creation of the Tobacco Industry Research

Committee (TIRC), one of whose stated goals was to

conduct research into ‘all phases of tobacco use and

health.” In 1964, the year of the Surgeon General’s report

on the hazard of smoking to health, the industry divided

4a

the TIRC into two parts, one of which, the Council on

Tobacco Research (CTR), continued to support scientific

research. The other part, named the Tobacco Institute,

focused on public relations and lobbying.

“Between 1954 and the 1990s, those organizations devel-

oped and promoted an extensive campaign to counter the

effects of negative scientific information on cigarette

sales. The individual tobacco companies, including

[Philip Morris], were part of the organizations and acted

im cooperation with them. At first, the industry publicly

denied that there was a problem; for example, in the

1950s and early 1960s, [Philip Morris]’s officials told the

public that [Philip Morris] would ‘stop business tomor-

row’ if it believed that its products were harmful. For

most of that period, however, the industry did not attempt

to refute the scientific information directly; rather, it tried

to find ways to create doubts about it. The industry’s

goal was to create the impression that scientists disagreed

about whether cigarette smoking was dangerous, that the

industry was vigorously conducting research into the is-

sue, and that a definitive answer would not be possible

until that research was complete. As one of [Philip Mor-

ris}'s vice-presidents explained in an internal memo, the

purpose was to give smokers a psychological crutch and a

self-rationale that would encourage them to continue

smoking. A Tobacco Institute internal memorandum

similarly described the industry’s purpose to provide

smokers ‘ready-made credible alternatives’ to the evi-

dence of the dangers of smoking.

“Both the industry as a whole and [Philip Morris] acted

consistently with those purposes. Among other things,

they avoided developing contradictory information. De-

spite the industry’s nominal emphasis on the need for fur-

ther research, the CTR designed its research program to

avoid studying the biological effects of tobacco use, the

very question that, according to the industry’s statements,

Sa

required more research. To the extent that [Philip Mor-

ris] conducted research on that issue independently of the

CTR, it did so in a European laboratory that it purchased,

and it was careful to avoid preserving records of the re-

sults in this country. [Philip Morris]’s director of re-

search in the late 1970s and 1980s explained to a

subordinate that his job was to’ attack outside research

that was inconsistent with the industry’s position by cast-

ing doubt on it. The jury could also have found that there

was a ‘gentleman’s agreement’ not to conduct research

beyond what the CTR did. The primary purpose of the

CTR’s research was to provide expert witnesses for con-

gressional hearings and lawsuits, not to determine the re-

lationship between smoking and disease. The CTR’s

lawyers, rather than its scientists, established its research

priorities; developing accurate information on the bio-

logical effects of smoking was not one of the lawyers’

priorities.

“The jury could have found that, throughout this period

of time, (Philip Morris] and the other tobacco companies

actually had little doubt that cigarette smoking was caus-

ally related to a number of diseases. In 1958, three Brit-

ish researchers found that the American tobacco scientists

with whom they spoke believed that cigarette smoke

could cause cancer. In 1961, [Philip Morris]’s director of

research stated that cigarette smoke contained so many

carcinogens that the best that the company could do was

to reduce their amounts. Internal company memoranda

agreed and suggested that it could not admit those facts

publicly because of adverse legal consequences. At least

by the 1970s, there was absolutely no scientific basis for

denying the connection between cigarette smoking and

cancer and other diseases. However, [Philip Morris] con-

tinued to assert that the hazard of cigarette smoking to

health was uncertain when it actually knew that there was

no legitimate controversy about that subject.

6a

“The jury could also have found that [Philip Morris] rec-

ognized both that nicotine was addictive and that its ad-

dictive effect was the primary reason that people

continued to smoke. [Philip Morris] spent considerable

effort discovering ways to deliver the optimal dose of

nicotine in each cigarette without actually adding nicotine

to its product. It also concluded that, because of nico-

tine’s addictive effect, smoking cessation programs and

technologies would be unlikely to work without signifi-

cant behavioral therapy. In its view, providing smokers a

reason to believe that there were serious doubts that to-

bacco was harmful would discourage smokers from mak-

ing the effort that was necessary to quit smoking.

“Also, the jury could have found that [Philip Morns] and

the industry used a large number of methods to create the

public impression of a legitimate controversy, despite the

lack of supporting scientific evidence. They issued press

releases, influenced the content of apparently neutral arti-

cles, cultivated opinion leaders, attempted to use their ad-

vertising power to get favorable treatment from the print

media, and appeared on commercial and public television

to put forth that message. Those individuals who spoke

for [Philip Morris} and the industry emphasized that the

evidence concerning the dangers of smoking was primar-

ily based on statistical relationships, and they argued that

there was no proof that a specific component of tobacco

smoke caused a specific disease. Even after the early

1990s, when the industry finally had to admit that to-

bacco could be a risk factor associated with a number of

diseases, it argued that there was a long chain of interven-

ing events before a disease actually arose from cigarette

smoking. The industry, including [Philip Morris], also

continued to deny that cigarette smoking was addictive

and publicized that message throughout the country, in-

cluding Oregon.” :

Id. at 531-34, 92 P.3d 126.

7a

Philip Morris and the tobacco industry intended to de-

ceive smokers like Williams, and it did in fact deceive him.

“As a smoker, Williams was one of the intended recipi-

ents of the industry’s message, and, in fact, the jury could

have found that he received its message and relied on its

representations. [The jury further could have found that

t]hose representations affected his decision to continue

smoking and not to make greater efforts to overcome his

addiction. When his family urged him to stop smoking,

he responded that he had learned from watching televi-

sion that smoking did not cause lung cancer. After his

diagnosis, he blamed the ‘cigarette people’ for betraying

him—which, given his exclusive use of [Philip Morris]’s

products, must at least have included [Philip Morris].

The jury could have found on the evidence before it that,

as a result of [Philip Morris]’s representations, Williams

suffered his fatal lung cancer. The jury also could have

found that Williams was one of thousands of Oregonians

who received [Philip Morris]’s message, acted on it, and,

like him, suffered cancer or other diseases as a result.”

Id. at 534, 92 P.3d 126.

Furthermore, Philip Morris also deceived other smokers

in Oregon:

“Although a tobacco industry survey indicated that 85

percent of smokers wished that they had never started

smoking, [Philip Morris] concealed information that the

addictive effects of nicotine made it difficult for them to

stop without significant assistance. The fraudulent

statements from [Philip Morris] and the rest of the indus-

try reinforced those addictive effects by giving smokers a

reason not to make the necessary effort to break the ad-

diction. The jury could [have found] on this record that

[Philip Morris]’s public relations campaign had precisely

the effect that [Philip Morris] intended it to have and that

it affected large numbers of tobacco consumers in Oregon

8a

other than Williams. It is also reasonably inferable from

the evidence that [Philip Morris]’s products, used as

[Philip Morris] intended them to be used, caused a sig-

nificant number of deaths each year in Oregon during the

pertinent time period, together with other serious but non-

fatal health problems with their attendant economic con-

sequences.”

Williams I, \82 Or.App. at 66-67, 48 P.3d 824.'

' These last statements reflect the one real disagreement between

the parties over the record. Philip Morris claims repeatedly that

the record does not show that its fraud injured any party other than

Williams. However, its opening brief indicates that Philip Morris

does not contest how the Court of Appeals summarized the record.

Rather, it argues that plaintiff did not put on any specific evidence

to show that any particular person (other than Williams) continued

smoking because of the fraud.

“There is nothing in the record that supports the Court of Ap-

peals’ assumption that any Oregon smoker other than Wi!!iams

smoked and sustained injuries in reliance on the alleged fraud.

At most, plaintiff introduced evidence that smoking per se in-

jured non-parties. However, the mere act of selling cigarettes

is lawful conduct.- Plaintiff never connected the injuries of

non-parties to the fraud alleged in this case.”

(Emphasis in original.)

In essence, Philip Morris is claiming that one cannot reasona-

bly infer that anyone was actually fooled by its 40-year advertising

campaign directed to thousands of Oregonians. Yet even the sim-

plest assessment of human nature, viewed in light of the design-

edly addictive properties of cigarettes, tells any reasonable person

that those lies would have been very persuasive. We think that

such an appreciation of human nature fairly may be attributed to

jurors, including the ones who heard this case. Moreover, Philip

Morris’s own conduct belies its protestations. As a for-profit cor-

poration, it would not spend over 40 years of time, effort, and

money to deceive people, unless it thought it was succeeding.

9a

Il. PROCEDURAL POSTURE

At trial, the jury found in favor of plaintiff on both the

negligence and fraud claims, and it awarded compensatory

damages of $821,485.50—$21,485.80 in economic damages

and $800,000 in noneconomic damages.

As to the negligence claim, the jury found Williams 50%

responsible for the damages. The jury declined to award any

punitive damages respecting that claim. As to the fraud

claim, however, the jury awarded punitive damages of $79.5

million.

The trial court significantly reduced the amounts awarded

to the plaintiff. The court “capped” the noneconomic dam-

ages at $500,000 pursuant to former ORS 18.560 (1999), re-

numbered as ORS 31.710 (2003), thereby producing a total

compensatory damage award of $521,485.80.’ The court

also reduced the punitive damage award. The court did con-

clude that $79.5 million “was within the range a rational ju-

ror could assess based on the record as a whole and applying

the Oregon common law and statutory factors.” Neverthe-

less, the court concluded, the $79.5 million punitive damage

award “was excessive under federal standards.” The tral

court therefore reduced the punitive damage award to $32

million.

Both plaintiff and Philip Morris appealed to the Court of

Appeals. In Williams I, the Court of Appeals reversed the

trial court on plaintiff's appeal and reinstated the $79.5 mil-

lion punitive damage award. 182 Or.App. at 72, 48 P.3d 824.

it affirmed on Philip Morris’s cross-appeal. /d. at 47, 48

P.3d 824. The court later adhered to its opinion on reconsid-

eration. Williams, 183 Or.App. at 197, 51 P.3d 670. This

court denied review. 335 Or. 142, 61 P.3d 938 (2002).

* There is no issue in this case as it comes before us respecting the

propriety of the trial court’s application of former ORS 18.560.

10a

The United States Supreme Court then granted certiorari,

vacated the Court of Appeals’ judgment, and remanded the

case to the Court of Appeals for that court to reconsider the

amount of the punitive damages award in light of State Farm

Mut. Automobile Ins. Co. v. Campbell, 538 U.S. 408, 123

S.Ct. 1513, 155 L.Ed.2d 585 (2003). Philip Morris USA Inc.

v. Williams, 540 U.S. 801, 124 S.Ct. 56, 157 L.Ed.2d 12

(2003). The Court of Appeals did so in Williams I], again

reversing on plaintiff's appeal and affirming on Philip Mor-

ris’s cross-appeal. We allowed review.

Ill. ISSUES ON REVIEW

On review, Philip Morris asks us to consider four issues,

which it states as follows:

“A. Is a defendant entitled to have the jury instructed that

any award of punitive damages must bear a reasonable

relationship to the harm caused to the plaintiff and that

punitive damages cannot be imposed for alleged harm to

non-parties?

“B. Are the punitive damages assessed in this case un-

constitutionally excessive in violation of the Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution?

“C. Must a plaintiff prove receipt of and reliance upon

the defendant’s allegedly fraudulent communications

when he or she claims that a defendant committed fraud

by communicating a false impression to the general pub-

lic through mass media?

“D. Does the Federal Cigarette Labeling and Advertising

Act, 15 USC §§ 1331 ef seg., preempt the ‘false impres-

sion’ theory relied upon by the Court of Appeals, which

is based in part upon a defendant’s failure to disclose in-

formation beyond that prescribed by the congressionally

mandated warnings?”

lla

We will not consider the third and fourth issues. This

court earlier declined review of all the issues decided in Wil-

liams I. The appeal remained alive only because of, and to

the extent that, the United States Supreme Court later di-

rected the Court of Appeals to reconsider its decision respect-

‘ing the amount of punitive damages in light of Campbell.

The Court of Appeals performed that limited function in Wil-

liams II, and we allowed review of that decision. We decline

to go beyond the Supreme Court’s mandate, and the Court of

Appeals’ opinion in Williams II, to consider issues that this

court previously determined were not review-worthy. See

ORAP 9.20(2) (this court’s opinion need not address every

question presented on review).

The Supreme Court’s decision in Campbell clearly relates

to the second issue presented by Philip Morris. Philip Morris

asserts that Campbell also relates to the first issue, regarding

jury instructions. Because of that, and because the Court of

Appeals addressed both issues in Williams I], we will con-

sider those issues here.

IV. DISCUSSION

A. Overview of State Farm v. Campbell

We begin by reviewing the United States Supreme

Court’s opinion in Campbell.

The punitive damage award at issue in Campbell arose

from an insured’s action against an insurer for bad faith,

fraud, and intentional infliction of emotional distress. 538

U.S. at 414, 123 S.Ct. 1513. Campbell, the insured, had

caused an automobile accident that killed one person and

permanently disabled another. /d. at 412-13, 123 S.Ct. 1513.

When Campbell was sued, Campbell’s insurer, State Farm,

chose to contest liability. /d. at 413, 123 S.Ct. 1513. It re-

fused settlement offers that were within policy limits and

took the case to trial despite the advice of one of its own in-

vestigators, in the process assuring Campbell and his wife

l2a

that they would face no personal liability. /d. When the jury

returned a verdict substantially above the policy limits, State

Farm initially refused to cover the excess, telling the Camp-

bells to put “for sale” signs on their property. Jd. State Farm

also refused to post a supersedeas bond to appeal the verdict.

Id.

In their action against State Farm, the Campbells intro-

duced evidence that State Farm’s decision to try the case was

part of a nationwide effort to limit payouts on insurance

claims. /d. at 415, 123 S.Ct. 1513. The evidence “concerned

State Farm’s business practices for over 20 years in numer-

ous States. Most of these practices bore no relation to third-

party automobile insurance claims, the type of claim underly-

ing the Campbells’ complaint against the company.” /d. The

jury awarded the Campbells $2.6 million in compensatory

damages and $145 million in punitive damages. /d. The tnal

court reduced the compensatory damages to $1 million and

the punitive damages to $25 million. /d. On appeal, the

Utah Supreme Court reinstated the $145 million punitive

damage award. Jd. The United States Supreme Court

granted certiorari. /d. at 416, 123 S.Ct. 1513.

The Court first noted that compensatory damages are in-

tended to compensate for a loss, while punitive damages “are

aimed at deterrence and retribution.” /d. However, the Court

noted, the Fourteenth Amendment’s Due Process Clause

prohibits imposing “grossly excessive or arbitrary punish-

ments” on a tortfeasor. /d. A person must have fair notice,

not just that the state will punish certain conduct, but also

how severely it will do so. Jd. at 417, 123 S.Ct. 1513.

The Court identified two risks peculiar to punitive dam-

ages. First, although punitive damage awards are similar to

criminal sanctions, defendants do not receive the procedural

protections required of criminal trials. /d. Second, vague jury

instructions can leave the jury with too much . iscretion in

choosing the amount of punitive damages, allowing it to ex-

13a

press preexisting biases or to rely too much on tangential or

inflammatory evidence. /d. at 417-18, 123 S.Ct. 1513. For

those reasons, the Court had directed “[e]xacting appellate

review” of a jury’s punitive damage award, considering three

“guideposts” identified in BMW of North America, Inc. v.

Gore, 517 U.S. 559, 116 S.Ct. 1589, 134 L.Ed.2d 809

(1996):

“(1) the degree of reprehensibility of the defendant’s mis-

conduct; (2) the disparity between the actual or potential

harm suffered by the plaintiff and the punitive damages

award; and (3) the difference between the punitive dam-

ages awarded by the jury and the civil penalties author-

ized or imposed in comparable cases.”

Campbell, 538 U.S. at 418, 123 S.Ct. 1513.

The Court then applied those guideposts. The first

guidepost, the repr *hensibility of defendant’s conduct, repre-

sents “ ‘[t]he most .mportant indicium of the reasonableness

of a punitive damages award.’” /d. at 419, 123 S.Ct. 1513

(quoting Gore, 517 U.S. at 575, 116 S.Ct. 1589). In analyz-

ing reprehensibility, courts should consider whether

“the harm caused was physical as opposed to economic;

the tortious conduct evinced an indifference to or a reck-

less disregard of the health or safety of others; the target

of the conduct had financial vulnerability; the conduct in-

volved repeated actions or was an isolated incident; and

the harm was the result of intentional malice, trickery, or

deceit, or mere accident.”

Id. (citing Gore, 517 U.S. at 576-77, 116 S.Ct. 1589).

In analyzing that guidepost in Campbell, however, the

Court did not itself focus on those five considerations. In-

stead, 1t concentrated on how evidence of out-of-state con-

duct and dissimilar conduct had skewed the reprehensibility

analysis against State Farm. The state wrongly relied on

such conduct, the Court ruled, because a state cannot punish

14a

a defendant for its lawful conduct in another state, or for

conduct that “occurred outside [the state] to other persons.”

Id. at 421, 123 S.Ct. 1513. In Campbell, most of the out-of-

state conduct was lawful where it took place, and it was not

connected to the harm to the Campbells. /d. at 422, 123 S.Ct.

1513. Furthermore, the Court held, a state cannot punish a

defendant for “dissimilar acts”: ““A defendant should be pun-

ished for the conduct that harmed the plaintiff, not for being

an unsavory individual or business.” /d. at 423, 123 S.Ct.

1513. In sum, the Court held that, because the Campbells-

showed “no conduct by State Farm similar to that which

harmed them, the conduct that harmed them is the only con-

duct relevant to the reprehensibility analysis.” /d. at 424, 123

S.Ct. 1513.

The second Gore guidepost examines the ratio between

the punitive damage award and the actual or potential harm

to the plaintiff. Campbell, 538 U.S. at 424, 123 S.Ct. 1513.

The ratio, however, is no mechanical formula. /d. (“we have

been reluctant to identify concrete constitutional limits on the

ratio’), id. at 425, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (“[w]e decline again to im-

pose a bright-line ratio”); id. (“there are no rigid benchmarks

that a punitive damage award may not surpass’’).

That*said, the Court proceeded to give some guidance re-

garding the second guidepost. Twice in the past, the Court

noted, it had suggested that a punitive damage award more

than four times compensatory damages “might be close to the

line of constitutional impropriety.” /d. at 425, 123 S.Ct.

1513 (citing Gore, 517 U.S. at 581, 116 S.Ct. 1589, and Pa-

cific Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 23-24,

111 S.Ct. 1032, 113 L.Ed.2d 1 (1991)). The Court also had

noted previously that, for 700 years, legislatures had author-

ized double, treble, or quadruple damages as a sanction.

Campbell, 538 U.S. at 425, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (citing Gore, 517

U.S. at 581 & n. 33, 116 S.Ct. 1589). The Court concluded

that, “in practice, few awards exceeding a single-digit ratio

between punitive and compensatory damages, to a significant

15a

degree, will satisfy due process.” 538 U.S. at 425, 123 S.Ct.

1513.

“Single-digit multipliers are more likely to comport with

due process, while still achieving the State’s goals of de-

terrence and retribution, than awards with ratios in [the]

range of 500 to 1, or, in this case, of 145 to 1.”

Jd. (citation omitted).

The Court did acknowledge, however, that even those

tentative ratios might be adjusted up or down. A greater ratio

might comport with due process if “ ‘a particularly egregious

act has resulted in only a small amount of economic dam-

ages,’” if “ ‘the injury is hard to detect,’ ” or if “ ‘the mone-

tary value of noneconomic harm might have been difficult to

determine.’” Jd. at 425, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (quoting Gore, 517

U.S. at 582, 116 S.Ct. 1589). With a “substantial” compen-

satory damage award, however, due process might require “‘a

lesser ratio, perhaps only equal to compensatory damages.”

Id. But “{t}he precise award * * * must be based upon the

facts and circumstances of the defendant’s conduct and the

harm to the plaintiff.” /d.

In applying the second Gore guidepost, the Court stated

that there is “a presumption against an award that has a 145-

to-1 ratio.” Jd. at 426, 123 S.Ct. 1513. The Campbells had

received a substantial compensatory damage award; they

were injured economically, not physically; and State Farm

paid the excess verdict before the Campbells sued them, so

their economic injuries were minor. /d. Additionally, the

outrage and humiliation that State Farm caused the Camp-

bells may have been considered twice—once in the compen-

satory damage award and again in the punitive damage

award. Id.

The Court also rejected several other factors that the Utah

Supreme Court had identified in support of the punitive dam-

age award. For example, the Utah Supreme Court had

l6a

pointed to State Farm’s wealth. The Court concluded that

wealth should not have been considered:

“While States enjoy considerable discretion in deducing

when punitive damages are warranted, each award must

comport with the principles set forth in Gore. * * * The

wealth of a defendant cannot justify an otherwise uncon-

stitutional punitive damages award. Gore, 517 U.S., at

585, 116 S.Ct. 1589 (‘The fact that BMW is a large cor-

poration rather than an impecunious individual does not

diminish its entitlement to fair notice of the demands that

the several States impose on the conduct of its business’);

see also id., at 591, 116 S.Ct. 1589 (Breyer, J., concur-

ring) (‘(Wealth] provides an open-ended basis for inflat-

ing awards when the defendant is wealthy ***. That

does not make its use unlawful or inappropriate; it simply

means that this factor cannot make up for the failure of

other factors, such as “reprehensibility,” to constrain sig-

nificantly an award that purports to punish a defendant’s

conduct’).”

Id. at 427-28, 123 S.Ct. 1513.

The third guidepost compares the punitive damage award

to comparable civil and criminal penalties. /d. at 428, 123

S.Ct. 1513. Criminal penalties, however, do not help as

much in determining “the dollar amount of the award”:

Id.

“Great care must be taken to avoid use of the civil proc-

ess to assess criminal penalties that can be imposed only

after the heightened protections of a criminal trial have

been observed, including, of course, its higher standards

of proof. Punitive damages are not a substitute for the

criminal process, and the remote possibility of a criminal

sanction does not automatically sustain a punitive dam-

ages award.”

17a

The comparable civil sanctions in Campbell fell well be-

low the punitive damage award. The Court identified only

one, a $10,000 fine for fraud. /d. The Utah Supreme Court

had pointed to other, more substantive penalties, but they

were all based on evidence of out-of-state and dissimilar

conduct. /d.

In all, the Court in Campbell found the case “neither

close nor difficult,” id. at 418, 123 S.Ct. 1513, and concluded

that $145 million in punitive damages violated due process,

see id. at 429, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (concluding award was “irra-

tional and arbitrary deprivation” of property). The Court

suggested that the guideposts,

“especially in light of the substantial compensatory dam-

ages awarded (a portion of which contained a punitive

element), likely would justify a punitive damages award

at or near the amount of compensatory damages.”

Id. However, the Court concluded, Utah state courts should

calculate punitive damages in the first instance. /d. at 429,

123 S.Ct. 1513.

With the foregoing principles in mind, we turn to the

questions presented on review.

B. The Trial Court's Refusal to Give Philip Morris's

Proposed Jury Instruction No. 34

Philip Morris first argues that the trial court erred in re-

fusing to give its proposed jury instruction number 34. That

instruction stated, in part:

“The size of any punishment should bear a reasonable re-

lationship to the harm caused to Jesse Williams by the

defendant’s punishable misconduct. Although you may

consider the extent of harm suffered by others in deter-

mining what that reasonable relationship is, you are not

to punish the defendant for the impact of its alleged mis-

conduct on other persons, who may bring lawsuits of

18a

their own in which other juries can resolve their claims

and award punitive damages for those harms, as such

other juries see fit.”

In Williams I, the Court of Appeals concluded that that in-

struction was incorrect under state law. 182 Or.App. at 63-

64, 48 P.3d 824. We agree. See Parrott, 331 Or. at 563, 17

P.3d 473 (evaluating punitive damage award; “Because de-

fendant’s tortious conduct was a routine part of its business

practice that it was unwilling to change, we also consider the

potential injury that its misconduct may have caused to past,

present, and future customers.”). That is, the jury could con-

sider whether Williams and his misfortune were merely ex-

emplars of the harm that Philip Morris was prepared to inflict

on the smoking public at large.

Philip Morris, however, contends that Campbell over-

rules state rules like the one set out in Parrott. Specifically,

Philip Morris asserts that Campbell prohibits the state, acting

through a civil jury, from using punitive damages to punish a

defendant f to nonparties.’ In support of that argu-

ment, Philip Morris quotes the following from Campbell:

“Due process does not permit courts, in the calculation of

punitive damages, to adjudicate the merits of other par-

ties’ hypothetical claims against a defendant under the

guise of the reprehensibility analysis ** *. * * * Pun-

ishment on these bases creates the possibility of multiple

punitive damages awards for the same conduct; for in the

usual case nonparties are not bound by the judgment

some other plaintiff obtains. Gore, supra, [517 U.S.] at

593 (Breyer, J., concurring) (‘Larger damages might also

> Philip Morris does not explain how its instruction summarizes its

interpretation of Campbell. \t is unclear to us how a jury could

“consider” harm to others, yet withhold that consideration from the

punishment calculus. If a jury cannot punish for the conduct, then

it is difficult to see why it may consider it at all.

19a

“double count” by including in the punitive damages

award some of the compensatory, or punitive, damages

that subsequent plaintiffs would also recover’).”

538 U.S. at 423, 123 S.Ct. 1513.

We think that Philip Morris takes the foregoing quoted

material from Campbell out of context. The quote referred

only to dissimilar acts and dissimilar claims; the Court in-

tended to prohibit a punitive damage award from becoming a

referendum on a corporate defendant’s general behavior as a

citizen. The full paragraph in Campbell states:

“For a more fundamental reason, however, the Utah

courts erred in relying upon this and other evidence: The

courts awarded punitive damages to punish and deter

conduct that bore no relation to the Campbells’ harm. A

defendant’s dissimilar acts, independent from the acts

upon which liability was premised, may not serve as the

basis for punitive damages. A defendant should be pun-

ished for the conduct that harmed the plaintiff, not for be-

ing an unsavory individual or business. Due process

does not permit courts, in the calculation of punitive

damages, to adjudicate the merits of other parties’ hypo-

thetical claims against a defendant under the guise of the

reprehensibility analysis, but we have no doubt the Utah

Supreme Court did that here. [Campbell v. State Farm

Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.,} 65 P.3d [1134], at 1149 [ (Utah

2001) ] (‘Even if the harm to the Campbells can be ap-

propriately characterized ‘as minimal, the trial court’s as-

sessment of the situation is on target: “The harm is minor

to the individual but massive in the aggregate” ‘). Pun-

ishment on these bases creates the possibility of multiple

punitive damages awards for the same conduct; for i the

usual case nonparties are not bound by the judgment

some other plaintiff obtains. Gore, supra, [517 U.S.] at

593, 116 S.Ct. 1589 (Breyer, J., concurring) (‘Larger

damages might also “double count” by including in the

20a

punitive damages award some of the compensatory, or

punitive, damages that subsequent plaintiffs would also

recover’).”

538 U.S. at 422-23, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (emphasis added).

Considering the foregoing material as a whole, we con-

clude that evidence of similar conduct against other parties

may be relevant to a punitive damage award. The Court

criticized the Utah courts only for allowing in evidence of

dissimilar conduct:

“The Campbells have identified scant evidence of re-

peated misconduct of the sort that injured them. ** *

Although evidence of other acts need not be identical to

have relevance in the calculation of punitive damages,

the Utah court erred here because evidence pertaining to

claims that had nothing to do with a third-party lawsuit

was introduced at length *** The reprehensibility

guidepost does not permit courts to expand the scope of

the case so that a defendant may be punished for any

malfeasance, which in this case extended for a 20-year

period. In this case, because the Campbells have shown

no conduct by State Farm similar to that which harmed

them, the conduct that harmed them is the only conduct

relevant to the reprehensibility analysis.”

Id. at 423-24, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (emphasis added). See also id.

at 427, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (“The failure of the company to report

the Texas award is out-of-state conduct that, if the conduct

were similar, might have had some bearing on the degree of

reprehensibility, subject to the limitations we have de-

scribed.” (emphasis added)).

Philip Morris’s proposed jury instruction would have

prohibited the jury from “punish{ing] the defendant for the

impact of its alleged misconduct on other persons,” even if

those other persons were Oregonians who were harmed by

the same conduct that had harmed Williams, and in the same

2la

way. As we noted, that is not correct as an independent mat-

ter of Oregon law respecting the conduct of jury trials and

instructions that are given to juries. Neither, as we read in

Campbell, does it correctly state federal due process law. Be-

cause the proposed jury instruction did not accurately reflect

the law, the trial court did not commit reversible error when

it refused to give it. See Hernandez v. Barbo Machinery Co.,

327 Or. 99, 106, 957 P.2d 147 (1998) (trial court’s refusal to

give requested jury instruction “is no[t] error if the requested

instruction is not correct in all respects”).

Philip Morris also claims that the trial court committed

reversible error because the jury instructions that were given

did not accurately reflect some aspects of Campbell's hold-

ing. But Philip Morris did not preserve that argument before

the Court of Appeals. See ORAP 5.45(1) (“No matter

claimed as error will be considered on appeal unless the

claimed error * * * is assigned as error in the opening brief

***”): Ailes v. Portland Meadows, Inc., 312 Or. 376, 380,

823 P.2d 956 (1991) (to preserve error, “the adversely af-

fected party must have * * * raised the issue on appeal by an

assignment of error in its opening brief”). Fairly read, Philip

Morris’s assignment of error in the Court of Appeals claimed

only that the trial court erred in refusing to give requested

instruction number 34. That narrow assignment of error did

not give the Court of Appeals notice that it needed to con-

sider any challenge to the instructions actually given.

Based on the foregoing discussion, we affirm the Court

of Appeals on the first issue.

C. The Punitive Damage Award and Federal Due

Process

On review of a punitive damage award under the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment, a court must

determine whether the punitive damage award is “ ‘grossly

excessive’.” Parrott, 331 Or. at 554, 17 P.3d 473 (emphasis

deleted; citing Gore, 517 U.S. at 568, 116 S.Ct. 1589).

22a

' Whether the verdict exceeds the gross excessiveness standard

is a question of law. Jd. at 555, 17 P.3d 473.

In Parrott, this court identified five factors to be consid-

ered to determine whether a punitive damage award is

grossly excessive:

“(T]he range that a rational juror would be entitled to

award depends on the following: (1) the statutory and

common-law factors that allow an award of punitive

damages for the specific kind of claim at issue; (2) the

state interests that a punitive damages award is designed

to serve; (3) the degree of reprehensibility of the defen-

dant’s conduct; (4) the disparity between the punitive

damages award and the actual or potential harm inflicted;

and (5) the civil and criminal sanctions provided for

comparable misconduct.”

Id. (citations omitted). Parrott has been superseded some-

what by Campbell, but the last three Parrott factors are, of

course, the Gore guideposts as they have been further eluci-

dated by Campbell. We consider only those guideposts in

the following analysis.

The first guidepost directs us to consider, based on the

facts contained in the record, how reprehensible Philip Mor-

ris’s conduct was. As noted, we consider whether:

“the harm caused was physical as opposed to economic;

the tortious conduct evinced an indifference to or a reck-

less disregard of the health or safety of others; the target

of the conduct had financial vulnerability; the conduct in-

volved repeated actions or was an isolated incident; and

the harm was the result of intentional malice, trickery, or

deceit, or mere accident.”

Campbell, 538 U.S. at 419, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (citing Gore, 517

U.S. at 576-77, 116 S.Ct. 1589). And, as we have explained,

the jury, in assessing the reprehensibility of Philip Morris’s

23a

actions, could consider evidence of similar harm to other

Oregonians caused (or threatened) by the same conduct.

Again, we construe all facts in favor of plaintiff, the party

in whose favor the jury ruled. Doing so, there can be no dis-

pute that Philip Morris’s conduct was extraordinarily repre-

hensible. Philip Morris knew that smoking caused serious

and sometimes fatal disease, but it nevertheless spread false

or misleading information to suggest to the public that doubts

remained about that issue. It deliberately did so to keep

smokers smoking, knowing that it was putting the smokers’

health and lives at risk, and it continued to do so for nearly

half a century.

Philip Morris’s fraudulent scheme would have kept many

Oregonians smoking past the point when they would other-

wise have quit. Some of those smokers would eventually

become ill; some would die. Philip Morris's deceit thus

would, naturally and inevitably, lead to significant injury or

death.

Although it weighs less in our analysis, we also note that

Philip Morris harmed a much broader class of Oregonians.

Every smoker tricked by its scheme, even those who never

got ill, kept buying cigarettes—taking money out of their

pockets and putting it into the hands of Philip Morris and

other tobacco companies. And every one of those smokers

risked serious illness or death for as long as they remained

deceived.

Of the five reprehensibility factors listed in Gore and re-

cited—if not precisely used—in Campbell, four certainly are

met here. The harm to Williams was physical—lung cancer

cost Williams his life. Philip Morris showed indifference to

and reckless disregard for the safety not just of Williams, but

of countless other Oregonians, when it knowingly spread

false or- misleading information to keep smokers smoking.

Philip Morris’s actions were no isolated incident, but a care-

fully calculated program spanning decades. And Philip Mor-

24a

ris’s wrongdoing certainly involved trickery and deceit.* We

conclude, then, that the first Gore guidepost favors a very

significant punitive damage award.

We also conclude that the third Gore guidepost—

comparable civil or criminal sanctions—favors plaintiff. In

examining that guidepost, however, we believe that it is im-

portant to correct two errors that the Court of Appeals com-

mitted in applying it.

In Williams I, the Court of Appeals suggested that, be-

cause the comparable sanctions guidepost was about notice to

a prospective defendant, “the established Oregon law of pu-

nitive damages, including ORS 30.925(2),” gave Philip Mor-

ris adequate notice here. 182 Or.App. at 72, 48 P.3d 824.

That was not correct.

Courts consider comparable sanctions for two reasons.

First, comparable sanctions suggest a legislative determina-

tion about what constitutes an appropriate sanction for the

conduct, a determination that ts entitled to “substantial defer-

ence.” Gore, 517 U.S. at 583, 116 S.Ct. 1589 (internal quo-

tation marks and citation omitted). Second, comparable

sanctions may give a defendant fair notice of the penalties

that the conduct may carry. /d. at 584, 116 S.Ct. 1589

(“None of these statutes would provide an out-of-state dis-

tributor with fair notice that the first violation—r, indeed the

* Only one factor arguably is not met: There is no evidence that

Williams was especially financially vulnerable. Plaintiff argues

that Williams was vulnerable in another way, because he was ad-

dicted to cigarettes and so more susceptible to Philip Morris's de-

ceptive message. Gore indirectly suggests that reprehensibility

may include other sorts of vulnerability than financial. See 517

U.S. at 576, 116 S.Ct. 1589 (suggesting that higher punitive dam-

ages are appropriate, even though the injury is solely economic, if

“the target is financially vulnerable”). However, as we will dis-

cuss, we would affirm this punitive damage award even if that fac-

tor was not met.

25a

first 14 violations—of its provisions might subject an of-

fencer to a multimillion dollar penalty.”’).

Those reasons explain why we conclude that the Court of

Appeals misunderstood the guidepost. Neither Oregon law

generally, nor ORS 30.925(2) specifically,’ suggest how se-

verely the state may choose to punish Philip Morris’s con-

duct. Thus, they do not independently provide a legislative

standard entitled to substantial deference. If the Court of

Appeals’ analysis were correct, then the third Gore guidepost

would always support any punitive damage award, i.e., the

mere existence of the award would justify itself automati-

* ORS 30.925 provides, in part:

“(2) Punitive damages, if any, shall be determined and

awarded based upon the following criteria:

“(a) The likelihood at the time that serious harm would arise

from the defendant’s misconduct;

“(b) The degree of the defendant’s awareness of that likeli-

hood;

“(c) The profitability of the defendant’s misconduct;

“(d) The duration of the misconduct and any concealment of it;

“(e) The attitude and conduct of the defendant upon discovery

of the misconduct;

“(f) The financial condition of the defendant; and

“(g) The total deterrent effect of other punishment imposed

upon the defendant as a result of the misconduct, including,

but not limited to, punitive damage awards to persons in situa-

tions similar to the claimant's and the severity of criminal pen-

alties to which the defendant has been or may be subjected.”

Of course, those criteria were established without the benefit of the

Campbell decision, and may be applied only to the extent that they

comport with that decision.

26a

cally, regardless of the amount awarded. That reasoning is

circular, and we reject it.

In Williams I, the Court of Appeals also suggested that

the comparable sanctions guidepost does not “play[ ] a major

role one way or the other,” because it concluded that there

were no comparable civil penalties and that criminal penal-

ties were not truly comparable. 182 Or.App. at 72, 48 P.3d

824. Although it is not clear to us that the foregoing state-

ment correctly interprets and applies the law as Campbell

now explicates that law, we need not pursue that issue defini-

tively iiere. That is true, because applying the comparable

sanctions guidepost involves more than just asking whether

the dollar amount of the sanction equals or exceeds the puni-

tive damage award. Campbell proves that. There, the most

relevant civil sanction was $10,000; the Court found that

civil sanction was “dwarfed” by the $145 million punitive

damage award. 538 U.S. at 428, 123 S.Ct. 1513. Yet the

Court approved a punitive damage award “at or near the

amount of compensatory damages,” id. at 429, 123 S.Ct.

1513, i.e., an award somewhere around $1 million. And a $1

million punitive damage award was still 100 times the com-

parable sanction.

So far as we can discern from Campbell, then, the “com-

parable sanctions” guidepost requires three steps. First,

courts must identify comparable civil or criminal sanctions.

Second, courts must consider how serious the comparable

sanctions are, relative to the universe of sanctions that the

legislature authorizes to punish inappropriate conduct. Third,

courts must then evaluate the punitive damage award in light

of the relative severity of the comparable sanctions. The

guidepost may militate against a significant punitive damage

award if the state’s comparable sanctions are mild, trivial, or

nonexistent. However, the guidepost will support a more

significant punitive damage award when the state’s compara-

ble sanctions are severe.

27a

We tum, then, to consider the facts of this case, in light of

_ the guideposts and the Fourteenth Amendment. If there are

comparable civil sanctions, the parties did not cite them to us

and we have not found them by independent investigation.

There are what we consider to be comparable criminal

sanctions, but we must exercise care when relying on them.

As the Court took pains to caution in Campbell:

“The existence ofa criminal penalty does have [a] bear-

ing On the seriousness with which a State views the

wrongful action. When used to determine the dollar

amount of the award, however, the criminal penalty has

less utility. Great care must be taken to avoid use of the

civil process to assess criminal penalties that can be im-

posed only after the heightened protections of a criminal

trial have been observed, including, of course, its higher

standards of proof. Punitive damages are not a substitute

for the criminal process, and the remote possibility of a

criminal sanction does not automatically sustain a puni-

tive damages award.”

538 U.S. at 428, 123 S.Ct. 1513. That admonition is impor-

tant, of course. But the basis for holding that Philip Morris’s

actions in this case compare to a familiar crime is not specu-

lative or remote. Viewing the facts in the light most favor-

able to plaintiff, Philip Morris’s actions, under the criminal

Statutes in place at the beginning of its scheme in 1954,

would have constituted manslaughter. See ORS 163.040

(1953).° Today, its actions would constitute at least second-

* In 1953, that statute provided, in part:

“(2) Any person who, in the commission of * * * a lawful act

without due caution or circumspection, involuntarily kills an-

other, is guilty of manslaughter. * * *

“(3) Every killing of a human being by the act, procurement or

culpable negligence of another, when the killing is not murder

in the first or second degree, or is not justifiable or excusable

28a

degree manslaughter, a Class B felony. See ORS

163.125(1)(a).’ Individuals who commit Class B felonies

may face up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to-

$250,000. ORS 161.605(2) (term of imprisonment); ORS

161.625(1)(c) (fine). Corporations that commit a felony of

any class may be fined up to $50,000, or required to pay up

or negligent homicide as provided in ORS 163.090 [negligent

homicide by operation of motor vehicle], is manslaughter.”

” The Oregon statutes generally define criminal homicide as fol-

lows: |

“A person commits criminal homicide if, without justification

or excuse, the person intentionally, knowingly, recklessly or

with criminal negligence causes the death of another human

being.”

ORS 163.005(1).

Second-degree manslaughter is a specific category of criminal

homicide:

“(1) Criminal homicide constitutes manslaughter in the second

degree when:

“(a) It is committed recklessly[.}

“eee

“(2) Manslaughter in the second degree is a Class B felony.”

ORS 163.125.

Reckless conduct is defined in ORS 161.085(9):

“ *Recklessly,’ when used with respect to a result or to a cir-

cumstance described by a statute defining an offense, means

that a person is aware of and consciously disregards a substan-

tial and unjustifiable risk that the result will occur or that the

circumstance exists. The risk must be of such nature and de-

gree that disregard thereof constitutes a gross deviation from

the standard of care that a reasonable person would observe in

the situation.”

29a

to twice the amount that the corporation gained by commit-

ting the offense ORS 161.655(1)(a) and (3). Thus, the pos-

sibility of severe criminal sanctions, both for any individual

who participated and for the corporation generally, put Philip

_ Morris on notice that Oregon would take such conduct very

seriously.* We conclude that the third guidepost, like the

first, supports a very significant punitive damage award.

The same cannot be said of the second Gore guidepost.

As noted, that guidepost considers the ratio between the puni-

tive damage award and the compensatory damage award.

The numerator of the ratio is fixed by the punitive damage

award: $79.5 million.

To determine the denominator of the ratio, we consider

not only the harm actually suffered by plaintiff, but also the

potential harm to plaintiff. See Campbell, 538 U.S. at 418,

123 S.Ct. 1513 (“actual or potential harm suffered by the

plaintiff’); id. at 424, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (ratio “between harm,

or potential harm, to the plaintiff and the punitive damages

award”). Plaintiff suffered relatively small economic dam-

ages for Williams’s wrongful death—less than $25,000.

However, that low figure occurred only because Williams

died shortly after being diagnosed with cancer. If Williams

had lived long enough to incur substantial medical bills, for

example, economic damages could easily have been 10 or

more times the amount awarded here. Only chance saved

* The fines and periods of imprisonment have changed over the

many years that Philip Morris carried out its scheme. In 1953, for

example, manslaughter carried a much longer prison term (15

years), but a much lower fine ($5,000). ORS 163.080 (1953). The

point, however, is that reckless conduct like Philip Morris’s, when

it resulted in death (as it did here), always has constituted a crimi-

nal act to which attached a severe potential criminal penalty.

30a

Philip Morris from a much higher compensatory damage

award.”

In analyzing the ratio of punitive to compensatory dam-

ages, the Court of Appeals also added to the compensatory

damages calculus the estimated harm to others. Williams II,

193 Or.App. at 562, 92 P.3d 126 (estimating that 100 Orego-

nians had been harmed by Philip Morris’s scheme, and so

concluding ratio was less than 4:1).

Using harm to others as part of the ratio may have been

correct under the plurality opinion in TXO Production Corp.

v. Alliance Resources Corp., 509 U.S. 443, 460, 113 S.Ct.

2711, 125 L.Ed.2d 366 (1993) (Stevens, J., joined by

Rehnquist, C. J., and Blackmun, J.) (relationship between

actual and punitive damages should consider “the possible

harm to other victims that might have resulted if similar fu-

ture behavior were not deterred”). However, it no longer ap-

* One sentence in Campbell suggested that a small award of “

‘economic damages’ ” might, when combined with particularly

egregious conduct, justify a higher ratio. 538 U.S. at 425, 123

S.Ct. 1513 (quoting Gore, 517 U.S. at 582, 116 S.Ct. 1589; em-

phasis added).

We conclude, however, that the Court meant compensatory

damages generally, not economic damages specifically. See id.

(“The converse is also true, however. When compensatory dam-

ages are substantial, ther « \esser ratio * * * can reach the outer-

most limit of the due process guarantee.” (emphasis added)); see

also id. at 426, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (expressing concern that compensa-

tory damages might have included outrage or humiliation compo-

nent duplicated in punitive damage award). That accords with

Gore, 517 U.S. at 582, 116 S.Ct. 1589 (“[L}ow awards of compen-

satory damages may properly support a higher ratio than high

compensatory awards, if, for example, a particularly egregious act

has resulted in only a small amount of economic damages.” (em-

phasis added)).

3la

pears to be permissible (if it ever was) to factor in that con-

sideration. Although Campbell held that similar acts could

bear on reprehensibility (discussed above), it now appears

that harm to others should not be considered as part of the

ratio guidepost. See 538 U.S. at 426-27, 123 S.Ct. 1513

(“Since the Supreme Court of Utah discussed the Texas

award when applying the ratio guidepost, we discuss it here.

The Texas award, however, should have been analyzed in the

context of the reprehensibility guidepost only.” (emphasis

added)); see also id. at 427, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (had Texas award

involved similar conduct, it “might have had some bearing on

the degree of reprehensibility”); Gore, 517 U.S. at 582-83,

116 S.Ct. 1589 (Court used 500:1 as ratio, although Court

noted in 35 that ratio would have been 35:1 if damages to

other Alabama consumers had been included). From the

foregoing, we conclude that the ratio guidepost considers

only harm to the plaintiff. See Campbell, 538 U.S. at 425,

123 S.Ct. 1513 (precise award must be based on “the defen-

dant’s conduct and the harm fo the plaintiff” (emphasis

added)); id. at 426, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (punishment must be

“reasonable and proportionate to the amount of harm to the

plaintiff and to the general damages recovered” (emphasis

added)).

There also is some imprecision regarding what amount

we should use for noneconomic damages—is it the $800,000

awarded by the jury, or the $500,000 awarded by the tnal

court after applying the statutory.cap? We need not decide

between the “capped” or “uncapped” figure, however, be-

cause it makes no difference here. Either way, the second

Gore guidepost is not met. All arguable versions of the ra-

tios substantially exceed the single-digit ratio (9:1) that the

Court has said ordinarily will apply in the usual case. See

Campbell, 538 U.S. at 425, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (so stating).

In Williams II, the Court of Appeals also relied on Philip

Morris’s wealth to conclude that the jury’s punitive damage

award did not violate due process. 193 Or.App. at 563, 92

32a

P.3d 126. Philip Morris objects that Campbell prohibits us-

ing wealth in that way. We agree. Wealth “cannot justify an

otherwise unconstitutional punitive damages award.” Camp-

bell, 538 U.S. at 427, 123 S.Ct. 1513. If a punitive damage

award is grossly excessive under Gore and Campbell, then

the defendant’s wealth will not make it constitutional. In

short, wealth is not a fourth Gore guidepost.

However, Campbell did not otherwise remove wealth

from the punitive damage equation, as Philip Morris asserts.

A jury still may levy a higher punitive damage award against

a wealthy defendant, as long as the final punitive damage

award does not exceed the constitutional limits established by

the three Gore guideposts. /d. at 427, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (wealth

“cannot justify an otherwise unconstitutional punitive dam-

ages award,” indicating that punittve damage award could be

constitutional even though jury considered wealth (emphasis

added)); see id. at 428, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (wealth is not “

‘unlawful or inappropriate’ “factor (quoting Gore, 517 U.S.

at 591, 116 S.Ct. 1589 (Breyer, J., concurring))). Consis-

tently with the foregoing, Oregon law specifically permits a

jury to consider a defendant’s financial condition when it im-

poses a punitive damage award. ORS 30.925(2)(f).

Of the three Gore guideposts, then, two support a very

significant punitive damage award. One guidepost—the ra-

tio—cuts the other way. In the end, we are left to use those

competitive tools to assess whether the jury’s punitive dam-

age award was not “grossly excessive” and therefore should

be reinstated.

The Gore guideposts are not bnght-line tests. See, e.g.,

Campbell, 538 U.S. at 425, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (“there are no

rigid benchmarks that a punitive damages award may not

surpass”); see also Gore, 517 U.S. at 582, 116 S.Ct. 1589

(“we have consistently rejected the notion that the constitu-

tional line is marked by a simple mathematical formula”). In

other words, the guideposts are only that—guideposts. Gore

33a

also referred to them as indicia. 517 U.S. at 575, 116 S.Ct.

1589 (reprehensibility is “most important indicium”),; id. at

580, 116 S.Ct. 1589 (ratio is “second and perhaps most

commonly cited indicium”); id. at 583, 116 S.Ct. 1589 (com-

parable sanctions “provides a third indicium for excessive-

ness”). Campbell specifically contemplated that some awards

exceeding single-digit ratios would satisfy due process. See

id. at 425, 123 S.Ct. 1513 (“in practice, few awards exceed-

ing a single-digit ratio between punitive and compensatory

damages, to a significant degree, will satisfy due process”).

Single-digit ratios may mark the boundary in ordinary cases,

but the absence of bright-line rules necessarily suggests that

the other two guideposts—reprehensibility and comparable

sanctions—can provide a basis for overriding the concern

that may arise from a double-digit ratio.

And this is by no means an ordinary case. Philip Mor-

ris’s conduct here was extraordinarily reprehensible, by any ~

measure of which we are aware. It put a significant number

of victims at profound risk for an extended period of time.

The State of Oregon treats such conduct as grounds for 2 se-

vere criminal sanction, but even that did not dissuade Philip

Morris from pursuing its scheme.

In summary, Philip Morris, with others, engaged in a

massive, continuous, near-half-century scheme to defraud the

plaintiff and many others, even when Philip Morris always

had reason to suspect—and for two or more decades abso-

lutely knew—that the scheme was damaging the health of a

very large group of Oregonians—the smoking public—and

was killing a number of that group. Under such extreme and

Outrageous circumstances, we conclude that the jury’s $79.5

million punitive damage award against Philip Morris com-

ported with due process, as we understand that standard to

relate to punitive damage awards. It follows that the Court of

Appeals correctly held that the trial court should have entered

judgment against Philip Morris for the full amount of the

jury's punitive damage award.

34a

The decision of the Court of Appeals is affirmed. The

judgment of the circuit court is reversed, and the case is re-

manded to the circuit court for further proceedings.

35a

APPENDIX B

OREGON COURT OF APPEALS OPINION

193 Ore. App. 527, 92 P.3d 126

Court of Appeals of Oregon.

MAYOLA WILLIAMS, PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE

OF THE ESTATE OF JESSE D. WILLIAMS,

Deceased, Appellant-Cross-Respondent,

Vv.

PHILIP MORRIS INCORPORATED,

Respondent-Cross-Appellant,

and

RJ REYNOLDS TOBACCO COMPANY, FRED MEYER, INC.,

AND PHILIP MORRIS COMPANIES, INC.,

Defendants.

9705-03957; A106791.

Submitted on Remand Nov. 17, 2003.

Decided June 9, 2004.

Before EDMONDS, Presiding Judge, and ARM-

STRONG and WOLLHEIM, Judges.

EDMONDS, P.J.

This case comes to us on remand from the United States

Supreme Court. Philip Morris USA Inc. v. Williams, 540

US. 801, 124 S.Ct. 56, 157 L.Ed.2d 12 (2003). We previ-

ously reversed the trial court’s reduction of the jury’s award

of punitive damages on plaintiff's fraud claim and remanded

the case with instructions to enter judgment on the verdict.

We affirmed on defendant’s cross-appeal. Williams v. Philip

Morris Inc., 182 Or.App. 44, 48 P.3d 824, adh'd to on re-

cons., 183 Or.App. 192, 51 P.3d 670, rev. den., 335 Or. 142,

61 P.3d 938 (2002). The Court thereafter granted defen-

36a

dant’s petition for a writ of certiorari, vacated our decision,

and remanded the case for reconsideration in light of its re-

cent decision in State Farm Mut. Automobile Ins. Co. v.

Campbell, 538 U.S. 408, 123 S.Ct. 1513, 155 L.Ed.2d 585

(2003) (State Farm). On remand, we reach the same result

that we reached in our previous decision.

We readopt our previous opinion in all respects that are

not superseded by our discussion in this opinion, including

our statement of the facts and our resolution of issues of Ore-

gon and federal law. Our failure to discuss any issue that de-

fendant raises on remand indicates that we are satisfied with

our previous resolution of that issue. We begin by summa-

rizing the facts that we described in our previous opinion,

again construing the evidence most favorably to plaintiff be-

cause of the verdict in her favor. These then are the facts that

the jury could have found on the evidence before it.

Plaintiff is the widow of Jesse D. Williams (Williams)

and the personal representative of his estate. Defendant is a

leading manufacturer of cigarettes and currently has about

half of the domestic market for that product. From the early

1950s until his death from a smoking-related lung cancer in

1997, Williams smoked defendant’s cigarettes, primarily its

Marlboro brand, eventually developing a habit of three packs

a day. At that point, he spent half his waking hours smoking

and was highly addicted to tobacco, both physiologically and

psychologically. Although, at the urging of his wife and

children, he made several attempts to stop smoking, each

time he failed, in part because of his addiction. Despite the

increasing amount of information that linked smoking to

health problems during this period, Williams resisted accept-

ing or attempting to act on it. When his family told him that

cigarettes were dangerous to his health, he replied that the

cigarette companies would not sell them if they were as dan-

gerous as his family claimed. When one of his sons tried to

get him to read articles about the dangers of smoking, he re-

sponded by finding published assertions that cigarette smok-

37a

ing was not dangerous. However, when Williams learned

that he had inoperable lung cancer he felt betrayed, stating

“those darn cigarette people finally did it. They were lying all

the time.” He died about six months after his diagnosis.

In resisting the information about the dangers of smok-

ing, Williams was responding to a campaign that defendant,

together with the rest of the tobacco industry, created and

implemented for the purpose of undercutting the effect of

that information. During most of that campaign, the industry

did not expressly assert that cigarettes were safe because it

knew that it could never prove their safety. Instead, defen-

dant and the industry attempted to make -it appear that the

evidence against cigarettes was sufficiently uncertain so that

smokers would find a reason to justify their continued smok-

ing. To achieve that result, defendant and the rest of the in-

dustry worked together for more than 40 years to create a

public impression that there was a legitimate controversy

about whether cigarettes were dangerous to a smoker’s health

and that resolving that health issue would require further re-

search. Although defendant and the other companies knew

throughout most, if not all, of that 40-year period that ciga-

rette smoking was in fact dangerous, they intended that

smokers rely on the false impression that the industry cre-

ated.

The industry established its strategy and began develop-

ing its public image in response to a decline in cigarette sales

in 1953 that was the apparent result of studies that showed

that cigarette tar could cause cancer in mice and that estab-

lished the existence of statistical correlations between smok-

ing and lung cancer. The first public joint effort by the

industry occurred in January 1954, when defendant and other

tobacco companies published a joint statement in 448 news-

papers throughout the country. In that statement, among

other things, they announced the creation of the Tobacco In-

dustry Research Committee (TIRC), one of whose stated

goals was to conduct research into “all phases of tobacco use

38a

and health.” In 1964, the year of the Surgeon General's re-

port on the hazard of smoking to health, the industry divided

the TIRC into two parts, one of which, the Council on To-

bacco Research (CTR), continued to support scientific re-

search. The other part, named the Tobacco Institute, focused

on public relations and lobbying.

Between 1954 and the 1990s, those organizations devel-

oped and promoted an extensive campaign to counter the ef-

fects of negative scientific information on cigarette sales.

The individual tobacco companies, including defendant, were

part of the organizations and acted in cooperation with them.

At first, the industry publicly denied that there was a prob-

lem; for example, in the 1950s and early 1960s, defendant’s

officials told the public that defendant would “stop business

tomorrow” if it believed that its products were harmful. For

most of that period, however, the industry did not attempt to

refute the scientific information directly; rather, it tried to

find ways to create doubts about it. The industry’s goal was

to create the impression that scientists disagreed about

whether cigarette smoking was dangerous, that the industry

wis vigorously conducting research into the issue, and that a

definitive answer would not be possible until that research

was complete. As one of defendant’s vice-presidents ex-

plained in an internal memo, the purpose was to give smok-

ers a psychological crutch and a self-rationale that would

encourage them to continue smoking. A Tobacco Institute

internal memorandum similarly described the industry’s pur-

pose to provide smokers “ready-made credible alternatives”

to the evidence of the dangers of smoking.

Both the industry as a whole and defendant acted consis-

tently with those purpeses. Among other things, they

avoided developing contradictory information. Despite the

industry's nominal emphasis on the need for further research,

the CTR designed its research program to avoid studying the

biological effects of tobacco us€, the very question that, ac-

cording to the industry’s statements, required more research.

39a

To the extent that defendant conducted research on that issue

independently of the CTR, it did so in a European laboratory

that it purchased, and it was careful to avoid preserving re-

cords of the results in this country. Defendant’s director of

research in the late 1970s and 1980s explained to a subordi-

nate that his job was to attack outside research that was in-

consistent with the industry’s position by casting doubt on it.

The jury could also have found that there was a “gentleman’s

agreement” not to conduct research beyond what the CTR

did. The primary purpose of the CTR’s research was to pro-

vide expert witnesses for congressional hearings and law-

suits, not to determine the relationship between smoking and

disease. The CTR’s lawyers, rather than its scientists, estab-

lished its research pnrorities; developing accurate information

on the biological effects of smoking was not one of the law-

yers’ priorities.

The jury could have found that, throughout this period of

time, defendant and the other tobacco companies actually had

little doubt that cigarette smoking was causally related to a

number of diseases. In 1958, three British researchers found

that the American tobacco scientists with whom they spoke

believed that cigarette smoke could cause cancer. In 1961,

defendant’s director of research stated that cigarette smoke

contained so many carcinogens that the best that the com-

pany could do was to reduce their amounts. Internal com-

pany memoranda agreed and suggested that it could not

admit those facts publicly because of adverse legal conse-

quences. At least by the 1970s, there was absolutely no sci-

entific basis for denying the connection between cigarette

smoking and cancer and other diseases. However, defendant

continued to assert that the hazard of cigarette smoking to

health was uncertain when it actually knew that there was no

legitimate controversy about that subject.

The jury could also have found that defendant recognized

both that nicotine was addictive and that its addictive effect

was the primary reason that people continued to smoke. De-

40a

fendant spent considerable effort discovering ways to deliver

the optimal dose of nicotine in each cigarette without actually

adding nicotine to its product. It also concluded that, because

of nicotine’s addictive effect, smoking cessation programs

and technologies would be unlikely to work without signifi-

cant behavioral therapy. In its view, providing smokers a

reason to believe that there were serious doubts that tobacco

was harmful would discourage smokers from making the ef-

fort that was necessary to quit smoking.

Also, the jury could have found that defendant and the

industry used a large number of methods to create the public

impression of a legitimate controversy, despite the lack of

supporting scientific evidence. They issued press releases,

influenced the content of apparently neutral articles, culti-

vated opinion leaders, attempted to use their advertising

power to get favorable treatment from the print media, and

appeared on commercial and public television to put forth

that message. Those individuals who spoke for defendant

and the industry emphasized that the evidence concerning the

dangers of smoking was primarily based on statistical rela-

tionships, and they argued that there was no proof that a spe-

cific component of tobacco smoke caused a specific disease.

Even after the early 1990s, when the industry finally had to

admit that tobacco could be a risk factor associated with a

number of diseases, it argued that there was a long chain of

intervening events before a disease actually arose from ciga-

rette smoking. The industry, including defendant, also con-

tinued to deny that cigarette smoking was addictive and

publicized that message throughout the country, including

Oregon..

As a smoker, Williams was one of the intended recipients

of the industry’s message, and, in fact, the jury could have

found that he received its message and relied on its represen-

tations. Those representations affected his decision to con-

tinue smoking and not to make greater efforts to overcome

his addiction. When his family urged him to stop smoking,

4la

he responded that he had learned from watching television

that smoking did not cause lung cancer. After his diagnosis,

he blamed the “cigarette people” for betraying him—which,

given his exclusive use of defendant’s products, must at least

have included defendant. The jury coulc have found on the

evidence before it that, as a result of defendant’s representa-

tions, Williams suffered his fatal lung cancer. The jury also

could have found that Williams was one of thousands of

Oregonians who received defendant’s message, acted on it,

and, like him, suffered cancer or other diseases as a result.

In our previous opinion, we described the requirements

for proving a fraud claim in Oregon and explained why the

jury could have found that plaintiff had proven fraud in this

case. In short, the jury could have found that defendant, by

itself and through the industry effort of which it was a part,

intentionally made the false representation that there was a

legitimate controversy about the health effects of cigarette

smoking, that defendant knew that that representation was

false, that Williams relied on it, that he thereafter continued

to smoke, and that he suffered his fatal lung cancer as a result

of that reliance. Williams, 182 Or.App. at 49-70, 48 P.3d

824. Based on the evidence, the jury awarded plaintiff com-

pensatory damages of $21,485.80 in economic damages and

$800,000 in noneconomic damages on that claim. In accor-

dance with former ORS 18.560(1) (1999), renumbered as

ORS 31.710(1) (2003), the trial court reduced the amount of

noneconomic damages to $500,000 when it entered judg-

ment.

In addition to compensatory damages, the jury awarded

plaintiff punitive damages of $79.5 million, which the trial

court reduced to $32 million. In our previous opinion, we

reinstated the jury’s verdict on those damages. The issue be-

fore us on remand is the extent to which that award of puni-

tive damages is consistent with the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment, particularly as the Court interpreted

it in State Farm. In our previous opinion, we followed the

42a

Oregon Supreme Court’s decision in Parrott v. Carr Chevro-

let, Inc., 331 Or. 537, 17 P.3d 473 (2001), in deciding the

federal constitutional issue. Now, on remand from the

United States Supreme Court, we determine whether our ear-

lier decision is consistent with the Supreme Court’s discus-

sion in State Farm. We begin that analysis by reviewing

earlier United States Supreme Court cases on punitive dam-

ages, cases that provide the context for understanding the

Court’s decision in State Farm.

Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Haslip, 499 US. 1,

111 S.Ct. 1032, 113 L.Ed.2d 1 (1991), is the first case in

which the Court considered the effect of the Due Process

Clause on the size of an award of punitive damages.’ In

Haslip, the defendant Ruffin, an agent and employee of the

defendant insurance company, sold life insurance issued by

the defendant company, together with health insurance issued

by an unrelated company, to an Alabama municipality of

which the plaintiffs were employees. Ruffin had the munici-

pality send the premiums for the insurance to him at the

company’s branch office, rather than to the insurers directly,

but he did not forward the premiums to either insurer. As a

result of its failure to receive premiums, the health insurer

sent notices that the insurance had lapsed for nonpayment to

the plaintiffs, in care of Ruffin at the defendant company’s

branch office. Ruffin did not forward those notices to the

plaintiffs. When the plaintiff Haship sought medical services,

she learned that she was uninsured and that she was person-

ally liable for the charges that she had incurred. She was un-

able to pay her medical bills, and her physician placed her

account with a collection agency. The agency obtained a

‘The Court had previously rejected challenges to punitive dam-

ages under the Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amendment.

In several other cases, it had noted the possibility of a due process

challenge but concluded that the issue was not properly raised. See

Haslip, 499 U.S. at 9-12, 111 S.Ct. 1032.

43a

judgment against her, adversely affecting her credit. Haslip,

499 US. at 4-5, 111 S.Ct. 1032.

The plaintiffs sued Ruffin and the defendant company for

fraud. The jury returned general verdicts for damages for all

plaintiffs. The verdict for Haslip was $1,040,000, which, the

Court assumed, consisted of $200,000 in compensatory dam-

ages (the maximum amount that Haslip’s attorney requested

in his closing argument) and $840,000 in punitive damages.

The Alabama Supreme Court affirmed the award, and the

United States Supreme Court granted certiorari. Haslip, 499

U.S. at 5-8, 111 S.Ct. 1032. In its opinion, the Court first

held that the Alabama common-law rule that made the com-

pany vicariously liable for punitive damages for its em-

ployee’s fraud did not violate due process. /d. at 12-15, 111

S.Ct. 1032. It then turned to the constitutionality of the

award of punitive damages.

The Court began by concluding that the common-law

method of assessing punitive damages—initially by a jury

that is instructed to consider the gravity of the wrong and the

need to deter similar wrongful conduct, followed by trial and

appellate court review—is consistent with due process.

Haslip, 499 U.S. at 15-18, 111 S.Ct. 1032. It then evaluated

whether the award to Haslip was constitutionally acceptable.

It observed that, although it is not possible to draw a mathe-

matical bright line between the constitutionally acceptable

and the unacceptable, the reasonableness of the award and

whether the jury received adequate guidance from the court

are significant considerations. The trial court had expressly

instructed the jury on the purposes of punitive damages—not

to compensate but to punish and to deter future conduct.

That instruction operated to limit the jury’s discretion. In

addition, under Alabama law, the jury did not receive evi-

dence of the defendant’s wealth, and the court told the jury

that whether to award punitive damages at all was within its

discretion. Thus, the jury’s discretion in determining punitive

44a

damages was no greater than it would have been in many

other areas of law. /d. at 18-20, 111 S.Ct. 1032.

Alabama had also provided significant judicial review of

the jury’s award. Before Haslip, the Alabama Supreme

Court had established procedures for a tnal court to evaluate

a jury award of punitive damages, including requiring the

court to place the reasons for its decision in the record. In

addition, Alabama provided appellate review of the cnteria

that it had previously established to ensure that punitive

damage awards were reasonable in amount and rational in

light of their purpose. Has/lip, 499 U.S. at 20-21, 111 S.Ct.

1032. The Court concluded that those cnteria imposed a suf-

ficiently definite and meaningful constraint on the discretion

of Alabama factfinders in awarding punitive damages. It es-

pecially noted that factfinders who are asked to award puni-

tive damages must be guided by more than the defendant's

net worth. The Court said, “Alabama plaintiffs do not enjoy

a windfall because they have the good fortune to have a de-

fendant with a deep pocket.” /d. at 22, 111 S.Ct. 1032.

After concluding that the defendant had received the full

panoply of protections that Alabama provided, the Court

mentioned that the award was more than four times the com-

pensatory damages, more than 200 times Haslip’s out-of-

pocket expenses, and considerably in excess of a fine for in-

surance fraud. However, it concluded that, although “the

monetary comparisons are wide and, indeed, may be close to

the line, the award here did not lack objective criteria.”

Haslip, 499 U.S. at 23, 111 S.Ct. 1032. The Court therefore

affirmed the judgment for the plaintiff. /d. at 23-24, 111

S.Ct. 1032.

The next case that the Court considered, 7XO Production

Corp. v. Alliance Resources Corp., 509 U.S. 443, 113 S.Ct.

2711, 125 L.Ed.2d 366 (1993) (TXO ), arose out of a prop-

erty dispute between two energy companies. TXO, the de-

fendant, agreed to purchase rights to develop gas and oil on

4Sa

property where the plaintiff Alliance Resources controlled

the major share of the rights. The agreement was subject to

TXO’s attorney determining that Alliance’s title to the prop-

erty was valid. In the process of making that determination,

TXO discovered a 1958 deed that conveyed the coal mining

rights on the property to another party. Although both the

wording of the deed and interviews with the parties involved

made it clear that the grantor had not conveyed on! and gas

rights, TXO paid for a quitclaim deed from the owner of the

coal rights and attempted to renegotiate its agreement with

Alhance. It also unsuccessfully attempted to induce the gran-

tor of the 1958 deed to execute a false affidavit to the effect

that the deed included oil and gas mghts. /d. at 447-49, 113

S.Ct. 2711.

When its other efforts failed, TXO filed an action to quiet

title based on the quitclaim deed, although it knew at the ime

that its action was frivolous. TXO’s real reason for filing the

action was to reduce its royalty payments under its agreement

with Alhance. The trial court dismissed TXO’s action based

on the wording of the 1958 deed alone, holding that that deed

made the quitclaim deed a nullity. On Alliance’s counter-

claim for slander of title, the yury awarded it $19,000 in ac-

tual damages——the cost of defending the quiet title action—

and $10 million in punitive damages. There was evidence

that TXO was a large company 1n its own nght, that it was a

wholly owned subsidiary of an even larger company, that the

amount of royalties that it sought to renegotiate was substan-

tial, and that it had engaged in similar nefarious activities in

its business dealings in other parts of the county. 7XO, 509

U.S. at 449-51, 113 S.Ct. 2711. The trial court refused to

reduce the amount of punitive damages, and the West Vir-

gimia Supreme Court affirmed. /d. at 452, 113 S.Ct. 2711.

On certiorari, the United States Supreme Court affirmed

the judgment, with Justice Stevens writing the plurality opin-

ion. Chief Justice Rehnquist and Justice Blackmun joined in

full, and Justice Kennedy did so in part. Justice Kennedy also

46a

wrote a concurrence, as did Justice Scalia, with whom Justice

Thomas joined. The remaining justices joined Justice

O’Connor’s dissent. The plurality first noted that, assuming

that the lower courts followed fair procedures, a judgment

that 1s a product of that process is entitled to a strong pre-

sumption of validity. It also noted that comparisons with

other awards of punitive damages are difficult because no

two cases are truly identical. TX¥O, 509 US. at 456-57, 113

S.Ct. 2711. It quoted the Court’s statement in Haslip that tt

is not possible to draw a mathematical bright line between

acceptable and unacceptable awards but that a general con-

cern for reasonableness certainly enters into the calculation.

Id. at 458, 113 S.Ct. 2711.

In evaluating whether the award in 7XO was grossly ex-

cessive, the plurality first reyected the defendant’s emphasis

on the fact that the award was 526 times the amount of the

actual damages that the jury awarded. Although the plurality

agreed that punitive damages should bear a reasonable rela-

tionship to compensatory damages, it agreed with a previous

West Virginia Supreme Court case in which that court

pointed out that the ratio between the dollar amounts of com-

pensatory and punitive damages ts only one of several factors

for evaluating that relationship. Among the other factors that

the West Virginia court identified was the relationship be-

tween the harm that was likely to occur from the defendant's

conduct as well as the harm that actually occurred. TXO, 509

U.S. at 459-60, 113 S.Ct. 2711.

The jury could have found in 7XO that the defendant

would have avoided millions of dollars in royalty payments if

it had successfully attacked the platntiff's ttle. The plurality

said that, even if the amount of savings were only $1 million,

the award of punitive damages would not jar its sensibilities

TXO, 509 U.S. at 461-62, 113 S.Ct. 2711. It reasoned:

“The punitive dumegns award in this case is certainly

large, but in light of the amount of money potentially at

47a

stake, the bad faith of petitioner, the fact that the scheme

employed in this case was part of a larger pattern of

fraud, trickery and deceit, and petitioner's wealth, we are

not persuaded that the award was so ‘grossly excessive’

as to be beyond the power of the State to allow.”

ld. at 462, 113 S.Ct. 2711 (footnote omitted). In its instruc-

tions to the jury, the trial court also authorized it to take into

account the defendant’s wealth in assessing punitive dam-

ages, recognizing that deterrence may require a larger fine for

a defendant of larger means than it would for a defendant of

ordinary means. The 7XO plurality recognized that empha-

sizing the wealth of the wrongdoer increased the risk that the

award would be influenced by prejudice against a large cor-

poration, especially one from outside the state. However, it

noted that in Has/ip it had referred to the financial condition

of the defendant as a factor in assessing punitive damages.

Id. at 463-64, 113 S.Ct. 2711.

In his concurrence, Justice Kennedy objected to the plu-

rality’s reliance on general reasonableness as the basis for

evaluating the constitutionality of the award. He thought that

it was more manageable to focus not on the amount of the

award but on the jury’s reasons for making the award:

“The Constitution identifies no particular multiple of

compensatory damages as an acceptable limit for punitive

awards; it does not concern itself with dollar amounts, ra-

tios, or the quirks of juries in specific jurisdictions.

Rather, its fundamental guarantee is that the individual

citizen may rest secure against arbitrary or irrational dep-

rivations of property. When a punitive damages award

reflects bias, passion, or prejudice on the part of the jury,

rather than a rational concern for deterrence and retribu-

tion, the Constitution has been violated, no matter what

the absolute or relative size of the award.”

TXO, 509 U.S. at 467, 113 S.Ct. 2711 (Kennedy, J., concur-

ring). He did not agree with the plurality that a rational rela-

48a

tionship between the size of the award and the harm that the

defendant’s conduct threatened was an adequate basis for

concluding that the award was rational because the record did

not indicate that that was the basis on which the case was

presented to the jury. He was concerned that the record sug-

gested, as the dissent argued, that the verdict was the result of

redistributionist impulses arising from antipathy to a wealthy,

Out-of-state corporation. Justice Kennedy concluded, how-

ever, that the verdict was permissible, pnmanly because the

defendant acted with malice; the evidence of “deliberate,

wrongful conduct” was sufficient to show that the jury was

motivated by a legitimate concern to punish and deter the de-

fendant. /d. at 468-69, 113 S.Ct. 2711 (Kennedy, J., concur-

ring). Justice Ker.nedy observed:

“There was ample evidence of willful and malicious con-

duct by TXO in this case; the jury heard evidence con-

ceming several pnor lawsuits filed against TXO accusing

it of similar misdeeds; and respondents’ attorneys in-

formed the jury of TXO’s vast financial resources and ar-

gued that TXO would suffer only as a result of a large

judgment.” -

Id. at 469, 113 S.Ct. 2711 (Kennedy, J., concurring).

Justice Scalia, joined by Justice Thomas, concurred on

the ground that due process required only that there be fair

procedures for making and reviewing an award of punitive

damages. Because the West Virginia courts properly in-

structed the jury and properly reviewed its verdict for reason-

ableness, he agreed that it should be affirmed.'' TXO, 509

U.S. at 470-72, 113 S.Ct. 2711 (Scalia, J., concurring).

‘The Court subsequently followed Justice Scalia’s suggestions

conceming procedural requirements. In Honda Motor Co. v.

Oberg, 512 U.S. 415, 114 S.Ct. 2331, 129 L.Ed.2d 336 (1994), it

held that the Due Process Clause zequires post-verdict review of

punitive damage awards for excessiveness. In Cooper Industries,

49a

In her dissent, Justice O'Connor argued that the record

showed that the verdict was based on prejudice against a

wealthy outside corporation and constituted a windfall to the

plaintiff based on the jury’s desire to redistribute that wealth.

TXO, 509 U.S. at 490-91, 113 S.Ct. 2711 (O’Connor, J., dis-

senting). She did not argue, however, that consideration of a

defendant’s wealth is impermissible. Rather, she said that

courts simply need to recognize the special dangers involved

when they review jury verdicts. /d. at 491-92, 113 S.Ct.

2711 (O’Connor, J., dissenting).

TXO was followed by BMW of North America, Inc. v.

Gore, 517 U.S. 559, 116 S.Ct. 1589, 134 L.Ed.2d 809 (1996)

(Gore), a 5-4 decision. It became the first case in which the

Court held that an award of punitive damages was excessive.

In Gore, the jury awarded Gore, the plaintiff, $4,000 1n actual

damages and $4 million in punitive damages for BMW’s

conduct in representing that the car that it sold to him was

new despite presale damage that required repainting the car

at a cost of $601. BMW had a policy of not telling purchas-

ers about presale repairs that cost less than three percent of

the value of the vehicle. Gore produced evidence that the

repair reduced the value of his car by $4,000, which was ten

percent of its cost as new. He also produced evidence that

between 1983 and the time of trial, the defendant had sold

983 cars, including 14 in Alabama, representing them to be

new cars without disclosing that they had been repainted at a

- cost of more than $300 per vehicle. Gore calculated his re-

quest for punitive damages of $4 million by multiplying his

$4,000 actual damages by the approximately 1,000 cars that

Inc. v. Leatherman Tool Group, Inc., 532 U.S. 424, 121 S.Ct

1678, 149 L.Ed.2d 674 (2001), it required appellate courts to de-

termine whether an award of punitive damage is excessive without

giving any deference to the trial court’s decision on that issue. Our

review of the award in this case is consistent with those procedural

decisions.

50a

the defendant had sold. Gore, 517 US. at 563-65, 116 S.Ct.

1589.

On appeal, the Alabama Supremé Court applied the crite-

ria that the United States Supreme Court had approved in

Haslip and held that the award was not excessive. However,

_ the Alabama court concluded that the jury improperly in-

cluded BMW’s conduct in other jurisdictions in calculating

the amount of punitive damages. It therefore reduced the

amount of those damages to $2 million. The court based its

conclusion on a belief that that amount was a constitutionally

reasonable amount based on its comparative analysis both of

other Alabama cases and of cases from other jurisdictions

that invoived a seller’s misrepresentation of the condition of

an automobile. Gore, 517 U.S. at 566-67, 116 S.Ct. 1589.

The United State Supreme Court first agreed with the

Alabama court that the state had no authority to penalize a

defendant for conduct in other jurisdictions that was legal

where it occurred and that had no effect on Alabama resi-

dents. Gore, 517 U.S. at 568-73, 116 S.Ct. 1589. It did rec-

ognize, however, that evidence of out-of-state conduct may

be relevant for determining the reprehensibility of a defen-

dant’s conduct. /d. at 574 n. 21, 116 S.Ct. 1589. The Court

then concluded that the punitive damages award, even with

the Alabama court's reductions, was grossly excessive. The

Court’s focus in evaluating the award was on whether the

defendant received fair notice, not only of the conduct that

could subject it to punishment bu

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.