Amicus Curiae Brief — Meredith v. Jefferson County Board of Education

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Yes * FILED

(») OCT 10 2006

No. 05-915

LERK

fe COURT, U.S.

In the

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

CRYSTAL D. MEREDITH, CUSTODIAL PARENT AND

NEXT FRIEND OF JOSHUA RYAN MCDONALD,

Petitioner,

V.

JEFFERSON COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION, E7 AL.,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF HUMAN RIGHTS ADVOCACY GROUPS

AND INTERNATIONAL LAW PROFESSORS AS >

AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

CONSTANCE DELA VEGA DAVID WEISSBRODT*

Frank C. Newman Regents Professor and

International Human Rights Fredrikson & Byron

Law Clinic, Professor of Law,

University of San Francisco University of Minnesota

School of Law Law School

2130 Fulton Street 229 — 19" Avenue South

San Francisco, CA 94117 Minneapolis, MN 55455

(415) 422-2296 (612) 625-5027

*Counsel of Record

2006 - Bachman Legal Printing @ (612) 339-9518 @ 1-800-715-3582 @ Fax (612) 337-8053

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a metropolitan-wide school system may

voluntarily pursue a race-conscious student assignment plan

to correct de facto segregation and promote integration?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Ne TIN cob ulocicddgutnciuaaanitonenenions i

ee Sa tidkintdidduencinctctciclienbeacenncsade il

BARR CP RATT III Be onc cctecescvcecscccccsccccccavconses il

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE.............cccosscsccesceces Vill

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.....................cceceeeee sees x

EE i Is ncecas duidabstuisniiationdadadienanaueinne Xl

Pe doiicubittdencnsesinancesdcchicvenpiaveiiabieudepenbanns l

I> INTERNATIONAL AND COMPARATIVE

LAW ARE RELEVANT TO THE ISSUES

RIED WOUND CAPTURE ceccccvsccspcesneccenseson l

ll. TREATY OBLIGATIONS SUPPORT A

FINDING THAT THE U.S. INTEREST IN

CONSIDERING RACE AS A FACTOR IN

SCHOOL ASSIGNMENT IS COMPELLING... 7

A. TO POCO CORIVOMMIGR. .....ccccesccccccsccccccess 7

B. The Civil and Political Covenant............... 1]

C. Affirmative Action, as Supported by

National and International Law, is Necessary to

I iscexcincevaasenniscniesssncnigvesnsniion 14

IE Mecnad cictscsnssevacediieppisiennenvenancnucaniens 16

“*

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

U.S. Cases

Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304 (2002).............ccceeeeee ees 4

Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483(1954) ...... 5,10

Cal. Fed. Sav. and Loan Ass'n. v. Guerra,

ele I Cie blkit cs naticidnnkininnceenoncndnnes iX

Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584 (1977) .........cccceeeeeee eee 3

Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982) ...............ccc eee 3

First Nat'l City Bank v. Banco Para el Comercio Exterior de

Sn A ER: CI ED Sidcccdthuiaddscsecvidcsodnseceses 3

Greenham Women Against Cruise Missiles v. Reagan,

Fae Ce Ss CUSED svesccccssccevncsndensstes css 1X

Grutter v. Bollinger, 539 U.S. 306 (2003)... vili, 1x, 1, 2, 14

Hampton v. Jefferson County Bd. of Educ.,

72 F. Sapp. 24 753 (CW .D. Ry. 1999) «...ccccsccccscccecees Xil

Hampton v. Jefferson County Bd. of Educ.,

102 F. Supp. 2d 358 (W.D. Ky. 2000) ....50........0.0.. xii

Hilao v. Estate of Marcos, 103 F.3d 789 (9th Cir. 1996)... ix

Knight v. Florida, 528 U.S. 990 (1999) 0.0.0... c cece eee es 3

Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558 (2003) ..............0005. ix, 4

McFarland vy. Jefferson County Pub. Sch.,

330 F.Supp.2d 834 (W.D.Ky. 2004) ..........0.........08 xi

McFarland ex rel. McFarland v. Jefferson County, Pub. Schs.,

ee EG ED vccchckindndcvidcsascsnacesonse Xil

Murray v. The Schooner Charming Betsy,

© UB. Co CI GO CED cccccccccccsccccscscccssccccscce: I

Newburg Area Council, Inc. v. Bd. of Educ. of Jefferson

County, 489 F.2d 925 (6th Cir. 1973) ...............0.008. xi

Parents Involved in Community Schools v. Seattle School

District NO. 1, 426 F.3d 1162 (9th Cir. 2005)....... X1-X1i

Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961) ..........ccceeeeeeeeeeeeees 3

Roper v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551 (2005) .............4. ix, 2,3

Stanford v. Kentucky. 492 U.S. 361 (1989) ...............068. 2

Sosa v. Alvarez-Machain, 542 U.S. 692 (2004) .........0..00. 4

Sullivan v. Kidd, 254 U.S. 433 (1921) ......... cece cece eens 15

The Paquete Habana, 175 U.S. 677 (1900) ........ onic 3

Thompson v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 815 (1988) .............. 2, 6

TPaD V. Dames, SSG UZ. GOTO osccccsesccccccsssossssccvenns 3

Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229 (1976) .............00e eee 15

Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702 (1997) .............. 3

Zadvydas v. Davis, 533 U.S. 678 (2001) ........ cece cece eee 3

iV

Treaties, Statutes, and Constitutional Provisions:

a cccctetecntnnsntnnnes en . passim

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of

Discrimination against Women, G.A. res. 34/180,

34 U.N. GAOR Supp. (No. 46) at 193, U.N. Doc.

A/34/46, entered into force Sept. 3, 1981............. o

International Convention on the Elimination of All

Forms of Racial Discrimination, G.A. res. 2106

(XX), Annex, 20 U.N. GAOR Supp. (No. 14), U.N.

Doc. A/6014 (1966), 660 U.N.T.S. 195, entered into

force Jan. 4, 1969, http://www 1.umn.edu/ humanrts/

III, ectecinsnsinicsidseiintinesnsesesensensenecssenees passim

International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights,

G.A. res. 2200A (XXI), 21 U.N. GAOR Supp. (No.

16) at 52, U.N. Doc. A/6316 (1966), 999 U.N.T.S.

171, entered into force Mar. 23, 1976, http://www.

umn.edu/humanrts/instree/b3ccpr.him. ............... passim

Foreign Cases

L.R. et al. v. Slovakia, Communication No. 31/2003,

U.N. Doc. CERD/C/66/D/31/2003 (2005),

http://www 1.umn.edu/humanrts/country/decisions/

lead ia ani ndmneesdendeutconcesees 8

Other Authorities

Justice Stephen Breyer, The Supreme Court and the

New International Law, Keynote Address to the

American Society of International Law (Apr. 4,

2003), 97 Am. Soc’y INi’L L. Proc. 265 (2003)..... 5

Concluding Observations of the Committee on the

Elimination of Racial Discrimination, United States

of America, U.N. Doc. CERD/C/59/Misc.17/Rev.3

(2001), http://www1.umn.edu/humanrts/usdocs/

conclcomments-usa.html.................00ccccecesceceee i)

Concluding Observations of the Human Rights

Committee, United States of America, U.N. Doc.

CCPR/C/USA/CO/3 (July 28, 2006),

http://www | .umn.edu/humanrts/usdocs/hruscomme

EL wettidndenectnisaniindnscipentctinnteteebiamaninae 13

Const. S. AFR. (Act 108 of 1996) ch.2 (Bill of Rights),

9(2), http://www.info.gov.za/docusments/

constitution/1996/1996/96cons2/htm#9. ............... 10

Rodrigo Davies, Brazil Takes Affirmative Action in

Higher Education, The Guardian, August 4, 2003,

http://www.education.guardian.co.uk/higher/world

wide/story /0,9959,101215 7,00.html. ................. 10

Connie de la Vega, Civil Rights During the 1990s: New

Treaty Law Could Help Immensely, 65 CINN. L.

Fe, GD ccicciichiccsdndandandieneevencieneninmnian 11

Ruth Bader Ginsburg & Deborah Jones Merritt,

Lecture: Fifty-First Cardozo Memorial Lecture -

Affirmative Action: An International Human Rights

Dialogue, 21 CARDOZO L. REV. 253 (1999)........... 4-5, 10

Conrad K. Harper Statement to the Human Rights

Committee, USUN Press Release #49-(95), at 3

(Mar. 29, 1995), http://www.state.gov/s/I/

I i a a 13

vi

Theodor Meron, The Meaning and Reach of the

International Convention on the Elimination of All

Forms of Racial Discrimination, 79 AM. J. INT'L L.

II: cicsccpeditnicsienudinccuinidipiniiiinas ssiiahiaaiinibandiniig al 10

Lois M. Quinn and John Pawasarat, Racial Integration

in Urban America: A Block Level Analysis of

African American and White Housing Patterns,

Employment and Training Institute, School of

Continuing Education, University of Wisconsin-

Milwaukee, 18, 21 (2003), http://www.uwm.edu/

Dept/ETI/integration/integration.pdf. ................... 14

Italo Ramos, “Affirmative Action in Brazil, The Day of

the Lambs”, The Black Commentator, |ssue 172 (Feb.

23, 2006), http://www.blackcommentator.com/172/

172_guest_ramos_brazil_affirmative_action.html.... 10

Second and Third Periodic Report of the United States

of America to the UN Committee on Human Rights

Concerning the International Covenant on Civil and

Political Rights, October 21, 2005,

http://www 1 .umn.edu/humanrts/us-report-

SEITE nndiduncdundaccnendsutindiingiibehinnindiaismasnlins 12, 13

United Nations Treaty Database, http://untreaty.un.

org/ENGLISH/bible/englishinternetbible/Bible.

U.S. reservations, declarations, and understandings,

International Covenant on Civil and Political

Rights, 138 Cong. Rec. $4781-01 (daily ed., April

2, 1992), http://wwwl.umn.edu/humanrts/

dtcentosenisnntdaddusonnceibncetsens 13

Vil

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE’

The University of Minnesota Human Rights Center

is a national leader in human rights advocacy and research.

The Human Rights Center was established in 1988 at the

University of Minnesota. The Center’s most visible

educational activity is its sponsorship of the University of

Minnesota Human Rights Library on the World Web, which

contains over 25,000 core human rights treaties, instruments,

and other documents in seven languages and is used by about

200,000 individuals from more than 150 nations each month.

The Human Rights Center also does applied human rights

research on such issues as corporate social responsibility, the

rights of non-citizens, contemporary forms of slavery

(including trafficking and child labor), human rights fact-

finding, the right to a fair trial, and other subjects of current

concern. Another visible project of the Human Rights Center

is its sponsorship of the Upper Midwest Human Rights

Fellowship Program and its cooperation with the Hubert

Humphrey International Fellowship Program. The Upper

Midwest Fellowship Program provides opportunities for

approximately 30 students and community leaders each year

to work with human rights organizations throughout the

world. The Humphrey Fellowship Program is sponsored by

the U.S. Department of State and provides exchange

opportunities to mid-career professionals from developing

countries.

The University of Minnesota Human Rights Center

and its leadership have submitted amici curiae briefs in

several significant U.S. cases, including Grutter v. Bollinger,

“All parties in this case have given blanket consent to

participation of amici curiae. Amici sign this memorandum on their own

behalf. No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part and

no person, other than Amici, their members, or their counsel, made a

monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.

Vill

539 U.S. 306 (2003): Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558

(2003); and Roper v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551(2005).

Human Rights Advocates is a non-profit California

corporation founded in 1978 with national and international

membership. It has Special NGO Consultative Status in the

United Nations. It endeavors to ensure that the most basic

protections are afforded to everyone and has submitted briefs

in cases involving individual and group rights where

international standards offer assistance in interpreting both

state and federal statutes at issue. Examples of amicus briefs

that Human Rights Advocates has filed include those in the

following cases: Grutter v. Bollinger; Roper v. Simmons; Cal.

Fed. Sav. and Loan Ass'n v. Guerra, 479 U.S. 272 (1987);

Greenham Women Against Cruise Missiles v. Reagan, 755

F.2d 34 (2nd Cir. 1985); and Hilao v. Esiate of Marcos, 103

F.3d 789 (9th Cir. 1996).

The Midwest Coalition for Human Rights is a

network of 32 U.S.-based advocacy organizations and

academic centers collaborating to promote and protect human

rights both in the United States and abroad.

The Centre on Housing Rights and Evictions

(COHRE) is a worldwide organization, headquartered in

Geneva, Switzerland, but with offices in Duluth, Minnesota.

George E. Edwards is the Carl M. Gray Professor of

Law and Director of the Program in International Human

Rights Law and Faculty Director/Advisor, Master of Laws

(LLM) Track in International Human Rights Law at Indiana

University School of Law at Indianapolis, Indianapolis,

Indiana.

ix

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The United States has traditionally been a leader of

the international community in protecting and promoting

human rights. U.S. leadership has, in large part, been due to

our Constitution’s power «0 promote and protect human

rights. Numerous countries have followed the U.S. lead by

citing and deferring to our human rights precepts, practices,

legislation, and jurisprudence.

As a leader in promoting human rights, the United

States should not interpret the Constitutional guarantee of

equal protection under the law as a lesser right than those

articulated in treaties whicn the U.S. has accepted or as a

lesser right than those adopted by other nations with which

the United States ordinarily compares itself. In deciding

whether schools may voluntarily take action to address de

facto segregation, international law and treaties that the

United States has accepted and helped to create may provide

guidance to this Court. The Fourteenth Amendment’s Equal

Protection guarantee, read consistently with treaties the

United States has ratified as well as other international law,

upholds the use of voluntary state action to correct de facto

segregation in public schools.

Both the International Covenant on Civil and Political

_ Rights (“Civil and Political Covenant”) and the Convention

on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination

(“Race Convention”) permit race-based distinctions to redress

past discrimination and promote the benefits of diversity.

International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, G.A. res.

2200A (XXI), 21 U.N. GAOR Supp. (No. 16) at 52, U.N.

Doc. A/6316 (1966), 999 U.N.T.S. 171, entered into force

Mar. 23, 1976, http://www1.umn.edu/humanrts/instree/

b3ccpr.htm; International Convention on the Elimination of

All Forms of Racial Discrimination, G.A. res. 2106 (XX),

Annex, 20 U.N. GAOR Supp. (No. 14), U.N. Doc. A/6014

(1966), 660 U.N.T.S. 195, entered into force Jan. 4, 1969,

http://www 1.umn.edu/humanrts/ instree/d|cerd.htm.

By becoming a party to these treaties, the United

States is obligated to take the affirmative steps necessary to

guarantee all persons equal and effective protection against all

forms of racial discrimination. International law and

international interpretive bodies uphold and encourage state

action to address both de facto and de jure segregation. Such

action is appropriate whenever a law, regulation, or action has

the effect, not just the intent, of race-based discrimination.

Should this Court find that race-based integration measures

are unconstitutional, public schools will be encouraged to re-

segregate. Such re-segregation will not only violate the Equal

Protection Clause, but it will also have the effect of

jeopardizing the reputation of the United States as a human

rights leader in the world community.

SUMMARY OF FACTS

Jefferson County, Kentucky, has a long history of de

jure and de facto segregation in its neighborhoods and

schools. In response to litigation over Jefferson County’s

segregated school system, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit directed district court Judge James Gordon to

devise a student assignment plan that abolished all vestiges of

state-imposed school segregation. Newburg Area Council,

Inc. v. Bd. of Educ. of Jefferson County, 489 F.2d 925, 932

(6th Cir. 1973). Judge Gordon’s direct monitoring of the plan

ended in 1981. McFarland v. Jefferson County Pub. Sch.,

330 F.Supp.2d 834, 841 (W.D.Ky. 2004). Since 1981,

Jefferson County has modified its student assignment plan to

address growth while keeping its policies consistent with

previous desegregation decrees.

In 1998, a group of parents challenged the student

assignment plan, alleging that their children were denied

Xl

admission to a magnet high school based on race. Hampton v.

Jefferson County Bd. of Educ., 72 F. Supp. 2d 753, 774 (W.D.

Ky. 1999) (“Hampton I”). The district court held that Judge

Gordon’s original 1975 desegregation decree was stil! in

effect. Hampton 1, 72 F. Supp. 2d at 744. In 2000, the

desegregation decree was lifted and the court held that the

school board could not use racial quotas at magnet and other

schools that offered unique programs not available at other

schools in the district. Hampton v. Jefferson County Bd. of

Educ., 102 F.Supp.2d 358, 376, 381 (W.D.Ky. 2000)

(“Hampton II’).

In response to the court’s ruling and in an effort to

avoid undermining all the court-ordered progress in

integration, Jefferson County adopted the 2001 Plan. The

2001 Plan uses a system of managed, voluntary choice to

promote integration in the county’s schools without using

racial quotas. Enrolment decisions are based on place of

residence, student choice (through a system of student

preference ranking, application to magnet or traditional

programs, transfer, or open enrolment), and racial guidelines.

Jefferson County’s 2001 Plan was found constitutional by the

Western District of Kentucky and this decision was affirmed

en banc by the Sixth Circuit. McFarland ex rel. McFarland

v. Jefferson County Pub. Schs., 416 F.3d 513 (6th Cir. 2005).

The present case challenges the constitutionality of

Jefferson County’s continued commitment to integration.

Without a voluntary race-conscious student assignment plan,

neighborhood schools would be highly segregated. The 2001

Plan is necessary to prevent wide-spread re-segregation

throughout the county’s schools. The 2001 Plan tries to

ensure that each child, regardless of their race or ethnicity,

receive an education of equal quality in a diverse and

productive environment.

This case has been joined with an appeal from Parents

Involved in Community Schools v. Seattle School District,

\

Xl

NO.1, 426 F.3d 1162 (9th Cir. 2005). The Seattle school

district, like Jefferson County, utilized a voluntary open

choice student assignment plan. In an effort to address the

city’s historical struggle with de facto segregation, the school

district used a race based tiebreaker in assigning students to

oversubscribed high schools. Without a voluntary race-

conscious student assignment plan, Seattle schools would also

re-segregate.

Xill

i

ARGUMENT

I. INTERNATIONAL AND COMPARATIVE LAW ARE

RELEVANT TO THE ISSUES BEFORE THIS COURT

From its earliest opinions, the Supreme Court has

stated that the Constitution and relevant statutes should be

read consistently with treaties and international law. Murray

v. The Schooner Charming Betsy, 6 U.S. (2 Cranch) 64, 118

(1804) (“[A]n act of Congress ought never to be construed to

violate the law of nations if any other possible construction

remains.”). The Constitution protects a wide range of human

tights, especially under the Fifth, Eighth, and Fourteenth

Amendments. Treaties and other nations’ concepts of equal

protection can help the United States better understand the

protections available under the Fourteenth Amendment.

Supreme Court decisions have consistently

acknowledged human rights treaties and used them to better

understand U.S. human rights obligations. Justice Ginsburg’s

concurrence in Grutter yv. Bollinger noted that international

_ human rights treaties approve affirmative action by states to

alleviate discrimination and segregation. 539 U.S. 306, 344

(2003). Justice Ginsburg stated:

The International Convention on _ the

Elimination of All Forms of Racial

Discrimination, ratified by the United States in

1994, endorses “special and concrete measures

to ensure the adequate development and

protection of certain racial groups or individuals

belonging to them, for the purpose of

guaranteeing them the full and equal enjoyment

of human rights and fundamental freedoms”.

But such measures, the Convention instructs,

“shall in no case entail as a consequence the

maintenance of unequal or separate rights for

different racial groups after the objectives for

which they were taken have been achieved.

Grutter, 539 U.S. at 344 (citations omitted). Justice Ginsburg

also noted that the Convention on the Elimination of All

Forms of Discrimination Against Women' authorizes

“temporary special measures aimed at accelerating de facto

equality [that] shall be discontinued when the objectives of

equality of opportunity and treatment have been achieved.”

Id.

Similarly, in Roper v. Simmons, Justice Kennedy’s

majority opinion referred to the Civil and Political Covenant

to gauge consensus on the prohibition of juvenile execution

and ultimately determine whether or not juvenile execution

was constitutional. 543 U.S. 551, 567 (2005). Further, in

Thompson v. Oklahoma, Justice Stevens observed that the

International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the

American Convention on Human Rights, and Article 68 of the

Geneva Convention Relative to the Protection of Civilian

Persons in Time of War explicitly prohibit juvenile death

penalties. 487 U.S. 815, 831 n.34 (1988). The same Justices

also referred to the Civil and Political Covenant, the

American Convention on Human Rights, and the Geneva

Convention in their constitutional analysis of whether

juvenile execution was constitutional. Stanford v. Kentucky,

492 U.S. 361, 389 (1989).

It has been established for more than one hundred

years by U.S. Supreme Court precedent that international law

is “part of our law, and must be ascertained and administered

' the courts of justice of appropriate jurisdiction, as often as

' Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against

Women, G.A. res. 34/180, 34 U.N. GAOR Supp. (No. 46) at 193, U.N.

Doc. <A/34/46, entered into force Sept. 3, 1981,

http://untreaty.un.org/ENGLISH/bible/englishinternetbible/partl/chapterl

V/treaty 10.asp.

questions of right depending upon it are duly presented for

their determination.” The Paquete Habana, 175 U.S. 677,

700 (1900). In addition to looking at treaties and customary

international law obligations, courts have also found non-

binding international and foreign law persuasive authority in

constitutional interpretation. Throughout history, the Court

has given persuasive weight to international standards in its

Constitutional analysis” :

In Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86, 102 (1958), the

plurality explored international consensus on the death

penalty in relation to U.S. law. Writing for the Court in

Roper v. Simmons, Justice Kennedy stressed the importance

of international law as persuasive authority in constitutional

analysis when he stated that, “[i]t does not lessen our fidelity

to the Constitution or our pride in its origins to acknowledge

that the express affirmation of certain fundamental rights by

other nations and peoples simply underscores the centrality of

* Zadvydas v. Davis, 533 U.S. 678, 721 (2001) (Kennedy, J.)

(stating that detention of aliens accords with international views. The

. Court also referenced the U.N. Working Group Report on Arbitrary

Detention and the U.N. High Commissioner for Refugees’ Guidelines on

Detention of Asylum-Seekers); Knight v. Florida, 528 U.S. 990, 995-96

(1999) (Breyer, J.) (citing case law of Canada, Great Britain, India,

Zimbabwe, and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights to support the

conclusion that lengthy delay in administering lawful death penalties may

be unusually cruel); Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702, 785-87

(1997) (Souter, J.) (examining Dutch constitutional practice of physician-

assisted suicide); First National City Bank v. Banco Para el Comercio

Exterior de Cuba, 462 U.S. 611, 623 (1983) (O’Cunnor, J.) (stating that it

is a frequently reiterated principle that federal common law is necessarily

informed by international law); Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782, 796-

797 n.22 (1982) (O’Connor, J.) (noting elimination or restriction of felony

murder in Canada, England, India, and a “number of other

Commonwealth countries”); Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584, 596 (1977)

(White, J.) (noting that only three out of sixty major nations in the world

use the death penalty as a punishment for rape); Poe v. Ullman, 367 US.

497, 548 (1961) (Harlan, J.) (defining privacy in the home by looking to

“common understanding throughout the English-speaking world’’).

- 3

those same rights within our own heritage of freedom.’’ 543

U.S. 551, 578. In Atkins v Virginia, the 6-3 majority noted

national and international consensus against the execution of

a mentally retarded individual. 536 U.S. 304, 316 n.21

(2002). The Court found the practice unconstitutional,

observing that “within the world community, the imposition

of the death penalty for crimes committed by mentally

retarded offenders is universally disapproved.” /d Similarly,

in Lawrence v. Texas, the majority of the Court referred to a

decision by the European Court of Human Rights and noted

that the right the petitioners sought had been accepted as an

integral part of human freedom-in many other countries. 539

U.S. 558, 573 (2003). This attention to foreign law

recognizes international law as a useful source or context for

constitutional interpretation.

A number of Supreme Court Justices have been vocal

in their support of international law as a valuable resource for

interpreting U.S. law. Justice Souter, speaking for the

majority in Sosa v. Alvarez-Machain, said that the First

Congress

assumed that federal courts could properly

identify some international norms as

enforceable [under the law it wrote.] It would

take some explaining to say now that federal

courts must avert their gaze entirely from any

international norm intended to protect

individuals.

542 U.S. 692, 730 (2004). More specifically, Justice

Ginsburg has said that “comparative analysis emphatically is

relevant to the task of interpreting constitutions and enforcing

human rights. We are the losers if we neglect what others can

tell us about endeavors to eradicate bias against women,

minorities, and other disadvantaged groups.” Ruth Bader

Ginsburg and Deborah Jones Merritt, Lecture: Fifty-First

4

Cardozo Memorial Lecture - Affirmative Action: An

International Human Rights Dialogue, 21 CARDOZO L. REV.

253, 282 (1999). Justice Breyer has explained that

comparative use of international law will not lead courts

blindly to follow foreign law, but will aid Constitutional

interpretation by casting an empirical light on relevant

problems. Stephen Breyer, The Supreme Court and the New

International Law, Keynote Address to the American Society

of International Law (Apr. 4, 2003), 97 Am. Soc’y INT’L L.

Proc. 265, 266 (2003). |

This understanding that the U.S. Constitution should

be interpreted consistently with international law is held by an

increasing number of courts. The Constitutional guarantee of

equal rights under the law has helped drive the United States’

role as a leader in international human rights. The U.S

commitment to equality has been relied upon by many nations

and international organizations. The United States should not

interpret the right to equal protection under the law as a lesser

right than those adopted by other nations. In deciding

whether schools may voluntarily take action to address de

facto segregation, the Court should look to the international

law and treaties the United States has helped create and ratify.

There is a national consensus on eradicating all forms

of discrimination. The Constitution guarantees equal

protection under the laws. This Court has ruled that

“segregation is a denial of the equal protection of the laws.”

Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483, 495 (1954). The

Race Convention and the Civil and Political Covenant reflect

this national commitment and promote affirmative action as a

permissible means of addressing de facto segregation. That

the President of the United States has signed and the United

States Senate has agreed by a two-thirds majority to

ratification of these treaties, demonstrates the United State’s

commitment to these principles. The use of voluntary

measures to address de facto discrimination by many

educational institutions indicates a collective understanding of

these rights under the Equal Protection Clause.

There is also international consensus on eradicating

discrimination and on the importance of voluntary measures

in eliminating de facto discrimination. The overwhelming

majority of nations have ratified the Race Convention and the

Civil and Political Covenant.’ Looking to other countries’

interpretations of these documents further « »nfirms that our

own understanding of these principles is ce rect.

This commitment to abolish all forms of

discrimination is so implicit in our concept of ordered liberty

that it occupies a place in our Constitution. See Thompson,

487 U.S. 815, 868-69 n.4 (Scalia, J. dissenting) (stating that

the practices of other nations are relevant only if there is a _

settled consensus among Americans and the practice is so

implicit in the concept of ordered liberty that it occupies a

place in our Constitution). Further, the use of voluntary

measures to eradicate all forms of discrimination has

occupied a place in our jurisprudence, in our history, and in

learning institutions throughout the country. The fact that it

occupies a place in the global consciousness only strengthens

our own commitment.

The United States Constitution through the Fourteenth

Amendment has endowed the states with the authority and the

obligation to take action to ensure that all persons are treated

equally under the law. When read in conjunction with the

Race Convention and the Civil and Political Covenant, it is

clear that equal protection under the law cannot be secured if

states do not address both de jure discrimination and policies

and practices that have discriminatory effects. Jefferson

County’s 2001 Plan meets these requirements and is an

important tool in helping to eradicate all forms of

discrimination.

> There are 171 State parties to the Race Convention and 159 State parties

to the Civil and Political Covenant.

ll. TREATY OBLIGATIONS SUPPORT A FINDING

THAT THE U.S. INTEREST IN CONSIDERING

RACE AS A FACTOR IN SCHOOL

ASSIGNMENT IS COMPELLING

A. The Race Convention

The Race Convention is the definitive treaty-based

international standard on racial discrimination. As of October

1, 2006, there were 171 State parties to the Race Convention.

See United Nations treaty database, http://untreaty.un.org

/ENGLISH/bible/englishinternetbible/partl/chapterl V/treaty2.

asp President Johnson signed the Race Convention in 1966,

and it was ratified after the Senate gave its advice and consent

in 1994. The Race Convention addresses purposeful

discrimination as well as actions that have discriminatory

effects. Discrimination is defined as:

any distinction, exclusion, restriction or

preference based on race, colour, descent, or

national or ethnic origin which has the purpose

or effect of nullifying or impairing the

recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on equal

footing, of human rights and fundamental

freedoms in the political, economic, social,

cultural or any other field of public life.

Race Convention, art. 1, http://www1.umn.edu/humanrts/

instree/d1cerd.htm (emphasis added).

Furthermore, the Race Convention requires State

parties to: “take effective measures to review governmental,

national, and local policies and to amend, rescind, or nullify

any laws or regulations which have the effect of creating or

perpetuating racial discrimination wherever it exists.” /d_, art.

2(1)(c). In addition, State parties are required to take specific

action to guarantee human rights, which include the right to

education. /d. art. 2(2). These remedial measures should not

in any way be considered discrimination. Article 1(4) of the

Race Convention states:

Special measures taken for the sole purpose of

securing adequate advancement of certain racial

or ethnic groups or individuals requiring such

protection as may be necessary in order to

ensure such groups or individuals equal

enjoyment or exercise of human rights and

fundamental freedoms shall not be deemed

racial discrimination. . ..

(emphasis added).

The Race Convention established the Committee on

the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (Race Committee)

to monitor state parties’ implementation of and compliance

with treaty obligations. The Race Committee is composed of

independent experts who are nationals of State parties. /d.

art. 8(1). State parties must submit periodic reports on their

implementation of the rights enshrined in the Race

Convention. /d. art 9. The Race Committee is authorized to

review country reports, hear individual and interstate

complaints, and make recommendations to State parties with

regard to treaty implementation. Additionally, the Race

Committee interprets the content of the human rights

provisions in the Race Convention in its General

Recommendations.

The Race Committee has consistently held that de

facto discrimination violates the Race Convention. In L.R. v.

Slovakia, the Committee held the State party responsible for

actions that have discriminatory effects, regardless of whether

they were committed with discriminatory intent. L.R. et al. v.

Slovakia, Communication No. 31/2003, U.N. Doc.

CERD/C/66/D/31/ 2003 (2005), http://www1.umn.edu/

8

humanrts/country/decisions/31-2003.html. Specifically

addressing the treatment of Roma people, the Race

Committee found that Slovakia had failed its treaty obligation

to “[nJullify any laws or regulations which have the effect of

creating or perpetrating racial discrimination.” /d. The

Committee reiterated that discrimination, as defined in Article

1(1) of the Race Convention, extends beyond explicitly

discriminatory measures to reach those which are also

discriminatory in fact and effect. Article 5 states that the right

to equality in education is especially important. Race

Convention, Article S(e)(v), http://wwwl.umn.edu/

humanrts/instree/dicerd.htm.

The Race Committee has specifically addressed de

facto discrimination in the United States. In response to the

United States’ most recent report, the Race Committee stated:

The Committee draws the attention of the State

party to its obligations under the Convention,

and in particular to article | paragraph 1, and

General Recommendation No. XIV, to

undertake to prohibit and to elirninate racial

discrimination in all its forms, including

practices and legislation that may not be

discriminatory in purpose, but in effect. The

Committee recommends the State party to take

all appropriate measures to review . . . local

policies to ensure the effective protection

against any form of racial discrimination and

any unjustifiable disparate impact.

Concluding Observations of the Committee on the

Elimination of Racial Discrimination: United States of

America, U.N. Doc. CERD/C/59/Misc.17/Rev.3 (2001); see

http://www] .umn.edu/humanrts/usdocs/conclcomments-usa.

html. These findings, which emphasize the duty of the United

States to prohibit and eliminate racial discrimination, are

9

consistent with the Constitutional prohibition of

discrimination under the Equal Protection Clause. The

Committee’s conclusions underscore the global consensus on

the necessity of eradicating the pernicious effects of de facto

segregation.’ See Theodore Meron, The Meaning and Reach

of the International Convention on the Elimination of All

Forms of Racial Discrimination, 79 AM. J. INT’L L. 283, 288

(1985).

The Race Convention satisfies the constitutional

requirements of equal protection. The goal of the Race

Convention is to eliminate all forms of racial discrimination,

including de facto segregation. The Court stated in Brown,

that the government has a compelling interest in abolishing

discrimination, especially in school segregation. 347 U.S.

483. The 2001 Plan does not maintain separate or unequal

rights for any group; each student is assigned to a school that

is, by design, the equal of any other school in the area. The

2001 Plan addresses discriminatory housing practices such as

racial steering, location of low income housing, and racial

preferences by voluntarily using a race-conscious plan to

* Several other states have implemented racial guidelines to

eliminate de facto segregation in education. Brazil recently introduced

race-conscious guidelines for University admissions to afford Afro-

Brazilians equal access to post-secondary education. Italo Ramos,

Affirmative Action in Brazil, The Day of the Lambs, THE BLACK

COMMENTATOR (Feb. 23, 2006), http://www.blackcommentator.com/

172/172_guest_ramos_brazil_affirmative_action.html; Rodrigo Davies,

Brazil Takes Affirmative Action in Higher Education, THE GUARDIAN,

August 4, 2003, http://www.education.gaurdian.co.uk/higher/

worldwide/story/0,9959,1012157,00.html. India has adopted numerous

racial! guidelines in education. Ruth Bader Ginsburg & Deborah Jones

Merritt, Affirmative Action: An International Human Rights Dialogue, 21

CARDOZO L. REV. 253, 275-76 (1999). South Africa expressly condones

racial guidelines to achieve equal protection in Article 9(2) of its

constitution. See CONST. S. AFR. (Act 108 of 1996) ch.2 (Bill of Rights),

9(2), http://www.info.gov.za/ docusments/constitution/1996/1996/96

cons2/htm#9.

10

ensure that students have substantially similar educational

experiences. Jefferson County students should not bear a

badge of inferiority based on where they attend school. All

students should be able to attain the benefits of a diverse

educational environment.

The Race Convention also states that remedial

measures should be narrowly tailored in that the measures

“shall in no case entail as a consequence the maintenance of

unequal or separate rights for different racial groups after the

objectives for which they were taken have been achieved.”

Race Convention art. 2(2). The race-conscious measures

included in the 2001 Plan are not permanent, nor are they the

only measures used in determining student assignments.

These race-conscious measures will no longer be necessary

when the county has achieved desegregation in its housing

patterns. Jefferson County’s 2001 Plan should be upheld

under the Constitution and under U.S. treaty obligations

because it is based on a compelling government interest,’ and

it is narrowly tailored.

B. The Civil and Political Covenant

The Civil and Political Covenant is the leading treaty

addressing fundamental civil rights and political freedoms.

President Carter signed the Civil and Political Covenant in

1977, and the United States ratified it in 1992 during the

Presidency of George H.W. Bush. See United Nations Treaty

Database, http://untreaty.un.org/ENGLISH/bible/english

internetbible/partl/chapterl V/treaty6.asp; ICCPR, 138 Cong.

Rec. $4781-84 (Apr. 2 1992). The United States is one of

159 State parties to the Civil and Political Covenant. See /d

* Treaty obligations themselves can constitute a compelling state interest

to justify the establishment of such programs. Sec Connie de la Vega,

Civil Rights During the 1990s: New Treaty Law Could Help Immensely,

65 CINN. L. REV. 423, 468 (1997).

1]

Article 26 of the Civil and Political Covenant, requires the

United States to “guarantee to all persons equal and effective

protection against discrimination on any ground such as race .

...” International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, art.

26 (emphasis added). Furthermore, Article 2(2) places an

affirmative duty on State parties to: “take the necessary steps,

in accordance with its constitutional processes and with the

provisions of the present Covenant, to adopt such legislative

or other measures as may be necessary to give effect to the

rights recognized in the present Covenant.” /d. art. 2(2).

The Civil and Political Covenant established the

Human Rights Committee to monitor State parties’

compliance. The Human Rights Committee reviews State

parties’ reports, issues authoritative adjudicative decisions on

individual complaints, and interprets the Covenant’s

provisions in its General Comments. The Human Rights

Committee is composed of eighteen independent experts who

are nationals of State parties. Jd. Art. 28(2). State parties are

obligated to submit periodic reports to the Committee for its

review. Jd. Art. 40(1). The Human Rights Committee’s

definition of discrimination is consistent with the definition

found in the Race Convention. General Comment 18 4 7,

http://www 1.umn.edu/humanrts/gencomny/hrcom18.htm. The

Civil and Political Covenant defines discrimination as “any

distinction, exclusion, or preference . . . which has the

purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition,

enjoyment, or exercise by all persons, on equal footing, of all

rights and freedoms. /d. (emphasis added).

~ On October 25, 2005, the United States submitted its

second and third periodic reports to the Human Rights

Committee. Full repo... available at:

http://www.state.gov/g/drl/rls/55504.htm. After reviewing

the U.S. reports and questioning the United States

representative in July 2006, the Human Rights Committee

noted its concern about de facto segregation in U.S. schools.

12

The Committee noted the failure of the United States to

eliminate racial discrimination, as evidenced by the wide

disparities in the quality of education available to different

groups of students. Specifically, the Committee expressed

concern about:

reports of de facto racial segregation in public

schools, reportedly caused by discrepancies

between racial and ethnic composition of large

urban districts and their surrounding suburbs,

and the manner in which schools districts are

created, funded and regulated. The Committee is

concerned that the State party, despite measures

adopted, has not succeeded in eliminating racial

discrimination such as regarding the wide

disparities in the quality of education across

school districts in metropolitan areas, to the

detriment of minority students.

Concluding Observations of the Human Rights Committee on

the Second and Third U.S. Reports to the Committee: United

States, U.N. Doc. CCPR/C/USA/CO/3 (July 28, 2006), § 23,

http://www1.umn.edu/humanrts/usdocs/ hrucomments2.html.

Voluntary race-conscious plans, such as the Jefferson

County 2001 Plan, were expressly considered when the U.S.

ratified the Civil and Political Covenant. Statement by Conrad

K. Harper to the Human Rights Committee, USUN Press

Release #49-(95), at 3 (Mar. 29, 1995),

http://www.state.gov/s/l/65762.htm. The U.S. entered an

understanding upon ratification, which effectively stated that

the United States could make distinctions based upon race if

they are rationally related to a legitimate government

objective. U.S. reservations, declarations, and understandings,

International Covenant on Civil and Poiitical Rights, 138

Cong. Rec. S4781-01 (daily ed., April 2, 1992),

http://www 1 .umn.edu/humanrts/usdocs/civilres.html.

13

C. Affirmative Action, as Supported by National and

International Law, is Necessary to Assure Equality

The state government has a legitimate objective in

addressing the de facto discrimination that exists in Jefferson

County, like those in many large U.S. cities.° This

discrimination is largely a remnant of de jure segregation and

underlying racial hostilities and preferences that carry over

into school systems. Without race-conscious plans to

counteract de facto segregation, both black and white students

are deprived of the opportunity to interact across racial

barriers, establish friendships with those of a different

background, and receive an education similar to that of their

peers across town. Diversity benefits students throughout

their education and in the workforce. See Grutter v. Bolinger,

539 U.S. 306 at 313, 323-24. Jefferson County’s 2001 Plan is

a voluntary race-conscious student assignment plan that

addresses de facto discrimination by promoting equality and

diversity throughout the county’s schools. Should the Court

find the Plan unconstitutional, schools will be severely

hampered in their ability to address de facto discrimination,

and the United States will have greater difficulty meeting its

treaty obligations.

The widespread repercussions of prohibiting schools

from addressing de facto segregation would undermine good

faith actions which implement provisions of the Race

Convention and the Civil and Political Covenant. The

° Housing in Jefferson County is still highly segregated. Forty-

seven percent of all blacks live on blocks that are 80 percent or more

black. Among whites, 86.9 percent live on blocks that are 80 percent or

more white. See Lois M. Quinn and John Pawasarat, Racial /ntegration

in Urban America: A Block Level Analysis of African American and White

Housing Patterns, Employment and Training Institute, School of

Continuing Education, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 18, 21

(2003), http://www.uwm.edu/DeptETI/ integration/integration. pdf.

14

discriminatory effects of re-segregation would violate srticle

2(2) of the Race Convention and Articles 2 and 26 of the

Civil and Political Covenant. See Race Convention, art. 2;

Civil and Political Covenant, art. 2, 26. The U.S. will be

obligated to report re-segregation when it reports again to the

Race Committee and the Human Rights Committee.

As this Court stated almost a century ago, “|T]reaties

are to be executed in the utmost good faith, with a view to

make effective the purposes of the high contracting parties.”

Sullivan v. Kidd, 254 U.S. 433, 439 (1921). Treaties to which

the U.S. is a party, authoritative interpretations of those

treaties, and constitutional courts of other States recognize

that policies with discriminatory effects violate equal

protection. Recognition of discriminatory effects is essential

to achieving equal protection under the law because policy

makers rarely, if ever, express their intent to discriminate.

See e.g. Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229, 254 (Stevens, J.

concurring) (“My point in making this observation is to

suggest that the line between discriminatory purpose and

discriminatory impact is not nearly as bright, and perhaps not

as critical, as the reader of the Court’s opinion might

assume.”). Jefferson County’s 2001 Plan, like that of many

other school systems nation-wide, is based on the recognition

that discrimination did not die with de jure segregation.

Addressing de facto segregation is necessary to ensure all

students equal protection under the law.

CONCLUSION

State action is appropriate and necessary whenever a

law, regulation, or practice has the effect, not just the intent,

of race-based discrimination. If states do not take action,

public schools will continue to re-segregate. Such re-

segregation violates the Equal Protection Clause as well as

U.S. treaty obligations. The United States committed itself to

undertake the steps necessary to guarantee all persons equal

and effective protection against all forms of racial

discrimination by ratifying the Race Convention and Civil

and Political Covenant.

The Race Convention and the Civil and Political

Covenant embody U.S. standards as well as international

standards. Voluntary, race-conscious programs, like

Jefferson County’s 2001 Plan, are implicit in the United

States’ concept of equality. Affirming the judgment of the

district court will further the Constitutional guarantee of equal

protection in addition to promoting U.S. obligations under

international law.

Based on the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the

district court should be affirmed.

Dated: October 9, 2006 Respectfully submitted,

CONSTANCE DE LA VEGA DAVID WEISSBRODT*

Frank C. Newman Regents Professor

International Human Rights and Fredrikson & Byron

Law Clinic, University of San Professor of Law, University

Francisco School of Law of Minnesota Law School

2130 Fulton Street 229-19th Avenue South

San Francisco, CA 94117 Minneapolis, MN 55455

(415) 422-2296 (612) 625-5027

“Counsel of Record’

” Amici are grateful to Sara Payne, Elizabeth Powers, and Marsha

Freeman for their extraordinary contributions to this brief.

16

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.