Amicus Curiae Brief — Jackson v. Perry (Nos. 05-276, 05-204, 05-254, 05-439)
Supreme Court brief2005
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
7
mary opponent since his incumbency began,” and that the
court had “no measure of what Anglo turnout would be in a
Democratic primary if Frost were opposed by a Black candi-
date.” /bid. The court also noted that Congresswoman Eddie
Bernice Johnson had testified “that District 24 was drawn for
an Anglo Democrat.” /bid. In the court’s view, appellants’
claim “rests upon the shaky ground that much of the dominat-
ing Anglo Democratic vote does not bother to vote in the pri-
mary with Frost filling in as an unchallenged Anglo.” /bid.
The court thus found that “the most rational conclusion” is
that “Anglo Democrats control this district.” Jd. at 11la-112a.
The district court also concluded that appellants’ claim was
deficient with respect to the second and third Gingles precon-
ditions. See J.S. App. 112a-113a. The court stated that, based
on its voting behavior in prior elections, the cohesiveness of
the 21.4% African American voting age population is “far from
clear.” Jd. at 112a. In addition, the court pointed to the “An-
glo cross over rate of 30.75” in general elections, which, the
court stated, suggests “the absence of Anglo bloc voting under
Gingles’s third precondition.” Jd. at 111la.
c. South and West Texas. The district court also rejected
appellants’ claim that the State’s redistricting plan violates
Section 2, because it did not create a seventh Hispanic-major-
ity district in South and West Texas. J.S. App. 12la. The
district court explained at the outset that it had rejected the
identical argument in Balderas; that this Court had sum-
marily affirmed that decision; and that appellants had pro-
vided no reason to reject that decision. /d. at 124a. In any
event, the court went on to reject that claim on its merits.
The district court found that appellants had failed to prove
that “their demonstration plan would satisfy Gingles,” given
that its districts were so “unusually shaped.” J.S. App. 125a.
But even excusing the threshold “Gingles problems” with
8
their plan (Plan 1385C), the court held that appellants “failed
to make the necessary showing under § 2.” Jd. at 126a.
The district court explained that proportionality—an im-
portant factor, see Johnson v. De Grandy, 512 U.S. 997, 1020
(1994)—cuts against appellants’ Section 2 claim. The court
noted that other courts that had analyzed proportionality had
“us[ed] the same frame of reference for that factor and for the
factors set forth in Gingles.” J.S. App. 129a. In this case,
that frame of reference is South and West Texas. The court
noted that “six out of the seven districts in South and West
Texas,” or about 85% of the districts, are “citizen voting age
majority [Hispanic] districts.” /bid. Thus, because “Latinos
comprise 58% of the citizen voting age population in South
and West Texas,” the court found, “proportionality is satisfied
as to that area.” /bid.
Furthermore, the court found that the plan proposed by
appellants would not yield seven “effective majority-minority
districts.” J.S. App. 130a. The court explained that one of the
districts in appellants’ Plan 1385C “has a Hispanic citizen
voting age population of only 50.3%, and five of the seven dis-
tricts have a Hispanic citizen voting age population that is
below 60%,” Ibid. In addition, the court noted that “because
of the lower turnout of Latino voters, a low majority of the
Hispanic citizen voting age population does not produce an
effective Latino opportunity district.” /d. at 13la. Finally,
the court concluded that “the six Hispanic citizen voting age
population majority districts drawn in [the State’s plan] are
effective Hispanic opportunity districts.” Jd. at 133a.
d. Judge Ward concurred in part and dissented in part.
J.S. App. 17la-200a. He agreed with the court’s judgment
“insofar as it rejects the claims surrounding District 24.” Jd.
at 173a. With respect to the claims involving South and West
Texas, however, Judge Ward concluded that “(t]he state ac-
9
tion in this case unlawfully dilutes the strength of the Latino
voters residing in former District 23.” bid.
4. Plaintiffs appealed to this Court. 28 U.S.C. 2101(b). On
October 18, 2004, the Court issued an order vacating the judg-
ment and remanding the case to the district court for further
consideration in light of Vieth v. Jubelirer, 541 U.S. 267
(2004). Jackson v. Perry, 125 S. Ct. 351, 351-352 (2004).
5. On June 9, 2005, the district court issued a decision
holding that the Texas redistricting plan was constitutional in
light of Vieth. J.S. App. la-55a. The district court briefly
rejected the renewed Section 2 challenge, holding that it had
“examined and rejected all of the claims in detail in [the
court’s] previous opinion.” /d. at 39a-40a. Judge Ward filed
a specially concurring opinion. /d. at 45a-55a. With respect
to the Section 2 issues, he adhered to the views expressed in
his opinion prior to the remand. /d. at 55a n.6.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Section 2 of the Voting Rights Act guarantees the members
of a protected class an equal opportunity with other members
of the electorate to “elect representatives of their choice.” 42
U.S.C. 1973. A plaintiff alleging a violation of Section 2 bears
the burden of proving that the challenged practice has the
effect of denying or abridging such an opportunity under the
framework established by Thornburg v. Gingles, 478 U.S. 30,
50-51 (1986). The district court concluded that appellants
failed to meet that burden. That decision is supported both
by this Court’s precedents and by the district court’s factual
findings, and should be affirmed.
I. In rejecting appellants’ Section 2 challenge to the elimi-
nation of District 24, the district court found that African
Americans did not control the district in the court-ordered
2001 plan. Appellants themselves recognize that, in order to
satisfy the first Gingles precondition, they must at a minimum
10
show that they could draw a district in which African Ameri-
cans would control the outcome of elections and thus be able
to elect the candidate of their choice. Although African Amer-
icans constituted less than 22% of the voting population in the
district, appellants claimed that African Americans effectively
controlled the Democratic primary in the former District 24
and that the Democratic candidate was ordinarily elected in
that district. The district court found that appellants failed,
however, to carry their burden of proving African American
control of the Democratic primary, because appellants “over-
state the impact of the Black Democrats’ control of the prima-
ries” and “the most rational conclusion” is “that Anglo Demo-
crats control this district.” J.S. App. 1lla-112a. Those find-
ings are supported by record evidence and are not clearly
erroneous. Indeed, it is not surprising that minority voters
did not control a district in which they constituted only 22%
of the voting age population.
Because appellants failed to establish the fact of effective
African American electoral control that they themselves rec-
ognize was essential to their claim, the district court properly
rejected that claim. Accordingly, this case does not require
the Court to resolve the legal issue on which the Jackson ap-
pellants ground their appeal: whether a plaintiff asserting a
Section 2 vote dilution claim must always be able to draw a
district in which the minority group would constitute an abso-
lute numerical majority. This Court has expressly reserved
that question, and the issue implicates difficult questions in
borderline cases in which a group closely approaches 50%.
But this case is not a borderline case, and the district court’s
factual findings foreclose appellants’ claim even under their
expansive vote-dilution theory. Moreover, permitting Section
2 vote-dilution claims when, as here, a minority group is sub-
stantially less than a majority of voters in an alternative dis-
trict presents a number of potentially significant concerns.
11
II. The district court properly rejected appellants’ Section
2 challenge to the districting in South and West Texas. This
Court summarily affirmed the district court’s rejevtion of
essentially the same tlaim in Balderas v. Texas, 536 U.S. 919
(2002). Even aside from Balderas, however, the district court
below made two additional findings that defeat the claim.
First, the court found that appellants were unable to show
that more than six districts could be created in South and
West Texas in which Hispanics would be able to elect the can-
didate of their choice. In particular, the court found that, in
light of evidence of relatively low turnout among Hispanics,
they would not have the opportunity to elect the candidate of
their choice in a proposed district that had a Hispanic popula-
tion of only 50.3%. Second, the court found that Hispanics,
who make up roughly 58% of the relevant population in South
and West Texas, are a majority in 85% (six of seven) of the
districts in that area in the State’s 2003 plan. That level of
more-than-proportional representation in the relevant area
strongly suggests that, under the totality of the circum-
stances, the State’s plan does not result in a denial or abridge-
ment of the right to vote as defined in Section 2. See De
Grandy, 512 U.S. at 1016. Section 2, moreover, does not im-
pose an obligation to maximize the number of majority-mi-
nority districts in that region. See ibid.
ARGUMENT
I. SECTION 2 DID NOT REQUIRE THE STATE TO INCLUDE
A DISTRICT COMPARABLE TO OLD DISTRICT 24 IN ITS
2003 PLAN
A. Appellants Failed To Establish The First Gingles Precon-
dition
1. Under the first Gingles precondition, plaintiffs challeng-
ing an existing districting plan generally must show that they
could draw an alternative plan containing reasonably compact
12
districts in which the minority group would be sufficiently
large to constitute a majority. The purpose of that require-
ment is to “establish that the minority has the potential to
elect a representative of its own choice in some single-mem-
ber district,” Growe v. Emison, 507 U.S. 25, 40 (1993), a nec-
essary prerequisite to establishing that the minority has been
deprived of the “opportunity * * * to elect representatives of
their choice.” 42 U.S.C. 1973b. Plaintiffs bear the burden of
showing that that requirement has been met. Voinovich v.
Quilter, 507 U.S. 146, 155 (1993). |
African Americans constitute less than 22% of the voting
age population in District 24 in the court-ordered plan—the
district they identified to demonstrate the first Gingles pre-
condition. J.S. App. 107a. Appellants, therefore, would ap-
pear to face a formidable obstacle to establishing a majority-
minority district, to say the least.’ Appellants assert, how-
ever, that the first Gingles requirement nonetheless can be
satisfied even at this low percentage in a “demonstration”
district, so long as the district is a “coalitional district effec-
tively controlled by one minority group.” 05-276 Appellants
Br. 39. Even under their own theory of the case, however,
appellants had to prove that old District 24 was “effectively
controlled by African-American voters,” id. at i, in order to
. Appellants on several occasions refer to District 24 as a “majority-
minority” district. See 05-276 Appellants Br. 8, 16, 40. By that, appellants
apparently are referring to the fact that African Americans, Hispanics, and
“other” minorities constitute a majority of the voting age population—
combined. That majority is itself borderline, because the district court found
that African Americans and Hispanics together constitute only 46.4% of the
voting age population of District 24, J.S. App. 107a, and appellants assert only
4% Asian or “other” minorities. 05-276 Appellants Br. 8. In any event, the
district court found that there is “no cohesion” between African American and
Hispanic voters, J.S. App. 11 1a, and appellants’ Section 2 claim therefore rests
on the contention that African Americans—who constitute less than 22% of the
voting age population—exercise “effective” electoral control.
13
satisfy the first Gingles precondition. Appellants attempted
to carry that burden by arguing that African Americans effec-
tively controlled the Democratic primary and that the winner
of the Democratic primary could be expected to prevail in the
general election in the district.’
2. In a finding that is fatal to their Section 2 claim, the
district court found that District 24 in the court-ordered 2001
plan was not effectively controlled by African Americans.
Instead, the court found that appellants had “overstate[d] the
impact of the Black Democrats’ control of the primaries.” J.S.
App. llla. Rather than being a “Black opportunity district,”
the court found that, “[mJore accurately, * * * [District 24] is
a strong Democratic district,” id. at 110a, and “that Anglo
Democrats control this district is the most rational conclu-
sion.” Jd. at 1lla-112a. Because that finding was not clearly
erroneous, it is entitled to respect on appeal and forecloses
appellants’ claim even under their own expansive theory of
Section 2 liability. See Gingles, 478 U.S. at 79 (“clearly erro-
neous test * * * is the appropriate standard for appellate
review of a finding of vote dilution”).
a. The record amply supports the district court’s finding
that African Americans lacked effective electoral control over
District 24. For example, there was direct evidence “that
District 24 was drawn for an Anglo Democrat,” J.S. App.
11la; see id. at 107a (similar), regardless of whether he is the
candidate of choice of the African American minority. Con-
gresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson, an African American
who represented the neighboring, majority-African American
District 30 in the 2001 plan, had served in 1991 on a state leg-
islative committee that addressed congressional redistricting.
J.A. 262-263. She testified at trial that, in 1991, African
Appellants do not argue that a plan in which a State allegedly fails to draw
“influence districts”—ie., districts which, by definition, the minority group
does not effectively control, see Georgia, 539 U.S. at 482—violates Section 2.
14
~
American communities in that area had been divided “to elect
White Democrats,” including Congressman Frost. J.A. 264.
She also testified that the motivation for District 24 in the
1991 plan was “to accommodate others,” and, in particular,
“White Democrats.” J.A. 265. The district court heard that
testimony about the original intent for creating District 24,
and the court relied on it in concluding that the intent had
been realized. See J.S. App. 107a, 11 1a.‘
In addition, the district court examined appellants’ proof
of actual election results in District 24 congressional elections.
No African American ever won election to Congress in old
District 24. It is true that Frost received the votes of African-
Americans in the Democratic primary. But, as the court
found, that fact is not probative, because Frost not only was
running with the advantages of incumbency, but also “ha[{d]
not had a primary opponent since his incumbency began” in
the currently configured District 24. J.S. App. llla. Indeed,
the court found that the fact “[t]hat no Black candidate has
ever filed in a Democratic primary against Frost in a district
assertedly controlled by Blacks reflects the accuracy of Con-
gresswoman Johnson’s claim that District 24 was drawn for
-
* Similarly, Democratic state legislator Ron Wilson, when asked whether
“District 24 * * * is a District that would elect a Black for Congress if pitted
against an Anglo,” responded “There’s no way. There’s absolutely no way it
can happen.” J.A. 277. To be sure, some “local African-American leaders”
testified that “Congressman Frost went unchallenged in the African-American-
dominated primaries precisely because he was the black voters’ candidate of
choice.” 05-276 Appellants Br. 42 n.35 (citing statements of former Mayor Ron
Kirk, Commissioner Roy Brooks, and Congressman Frost himself). However,
especially in light of the obvious potential partisan motivation underlying the
testimony of Democratic officeholders and of Congressman Frost himself, the
court was entitled to decline to give their testimony dispositive weight.
15
an Anglo Democrat,” not to attempt to provide control to an
African American minority of 22%. Ibid.°
While African Americans constituted less than 22% of the
voting age population of old District 24, Anglos were close t
50% of the CVAP. Texas has an open primary system. iy
which individuals can choose to vote in any party’s primary on
election day. See Tex. Elec. Code Ann. §§ 63.001, 162.002-
162.003, 162.010 (2003); see also Michael Barone & Richard E.
Cohen, The Almanac of American Politics 1575 (2006)
(“Texas does not have party registration, and so turnout in
each party’s primaries is a fair index of party preference.”).
In those circumstances, it is not surprising that Anglos—not
African Americans, who were only the third largest ethnic
group in the district and comprised only about one-fifth of its
population—would control the district. And if the district is
solidly Democratic (as appellants assert), the “most rational
conclusion” is that Anglo Democrats would control the dis-
trict, as the district court found. J.S. App. 111la-112a.°
° The district court also noted that Distriet 25 under the court-ordered 2001
plan had “demographics * * * strikingly similar” to the demographics in
District 24. J.S. App. 109a. The percentage of African American voters in
District 25 was identical to District 24 (21.4%), and the Hispanic population was
very close. /bid. Yet, in the 2002 Democratic primary in District 25, the white
candidate, Bell, “defeated Carroll Robinson, the Black candidate of choice.”
ry That evidence also supports the district court’s factual finding.
® Appellants assert that Anglo Democrats, who they say—without record
citation—constitute “only about 18% of the district’s general electorate,” had
“no ability to control who the party nominated.” 05-276 Appellants Br. 41 n.33.
Even assuming that the 18% figure is accurate, Anglo Democrats were not
substantially fewer in number than African Americans (22%), who appellants
argue do control the district. More important, Anglo Democrats could control
the district because Texas operates an open primary system, in which all
voters—including Republicans and independents—can vote in the Democratic
primary. The district court reasonably concluded that African Americans, who
vote primarily Democratic and therefore do not have that potential to tap same-
race non-Democratic voters, do not control the district.
16
b. Appellants have not shown that the court’s factual find-
ing that African Americans lacked effective control was
clearly erroneous. They argue (without citation) that “in 19
of 20 recent general elections for statewide office, the candi-
date preferred by black and Latino voters carried this dis-
trict.” 05-276 Appellants Br. 42. Because that statistic refers
only to general elections and to the candidate “preferred by
black and Latino voters,” it casts no doubt on the district
court’s conclusion that, in an election in which African Ameri-
ean voters (not including Latino voters) and Anglo voters
have a different candidate of choice, Anglo voters—and Anglo
Democrats, in particular—would have prevailed.’
Appellants also emphasize that African Americans consti-
tuted 64% of the voters in the Democratic primary in old Dis-
trict 24. As the district court pointed out, however, appel-
lants’ claim crucially depends on the premise that “much of
the dominating Anglo Democratic vote does not bother to vote
in the primary with Frost filing as an unchallenged Anglo.”
J.S. App. 1lla. The district court could reasonably conclude
that exceptionally low turnout by Anglos indicates only that
Anglos are content with the likely outcomes of those races. It
does not indicate that Anglos, with their much larger num-
bers, do not control the district, or that they would not turn
out to vote in Texas’s open primary in the relevant scenario,
Le., if a candidate whom they opposed but who was the candi-
date of choice of the African American voters was running.
As the district noted, it “ha[d] no measure of what Anglo turn-
” Appellants do not challenge the district court’s finding that “there is no
serious dispute but that Blacks and Hispanics do not vote cohesively in primary
elections,” J.S. App. 99a; see id. at 111a, and appellants do not argue that the
district court erred in preciuding on that basis a claim that the State’s 2003 pian
diluted the vote of the two groups together, even assuming such aggregation
were permissible under Section 2. See Growe, 507 U.S. at 41 (assuming without
deciding that aggregation is permissible under Section 2).
17
out would be in a Democratic primary if Frost were opposed
by a Black candidate.” /bid.*
c. In short, the district court reasonably found that Afri-
can American voting strength in District 24 was insufficient
to enable African Americans to control the district. Given
that African Americans comprised less than 22% of the voting
age population, that conclusion is not surprising. Because the
district court’s finding was fatal to appellants’ expansive the-
ory of how they could satisfy the first Gingles precondition,
the district court correctly rejected appellants’ Section 2
claim concerning old District 24.
B. This Case Does Not Require The Court To Decide Whether
A Minority Group Must Always Show That It Is A Major-
ity To Establish A Section 2 Claim
In challenging the district court’s Section 2 ruling with
respect to District 24, appellants claim that the district court
erred in grounding its decision on the understanding that “the
only districts that ‘count’ under Section 2 * * * are those in
which one minority group constitutes a mathematical majority
of the population.” 05-276 Appellants Br. 16, 33-43. Appel-
lants’ argument is mistaken. Appellants’ own expansive the-
ory of how a less-than-22% district could satisfy the first
Gingles precondition depended on factual premises the dis-
trict court rejected, and the district court accordingly did not
base its decision on a simple application of the 50% rule. It is
therefore unnecessary for the Court to decide in this case
whether a minority group must always establish that it repre-
sented an absolute majority of voters to invoke Section 2.
. To be sure, minority voters may vote for candidates of a different race or
ethnicity. See De Grandy, 512 US. at 1027 (Kennedy, J., concurring). In this
case, however, the district court found that appellants had not shown that Frost
could be regarded as the candidate of choice of African-Americans for purposes
of analyzing their Section 2 claim. That finding is not clearly erroneous. See
p. 14, supra.
18
1. Avoiding a definitive ruling on the 50% rule here would
be consistent with the Court’s past practice. In Gingles, this
Court held that a precondition to stating a Section 2 claim is
that “the minority group must be able to demonstrate that it
is sufficiently large and compact to constitute a majority in a
single-member district,” 478 U.S. at 50 (emphasis added), and
the Court has repeatedly reiterated that requirement in sub-
sequent cases. See, e.g., Georgia, 539 U.S. at 478; Abrams v.
Johnson, 521 U.S. 74, 91 (1997); De Grandy, 512 U.S. at 1006;
Growe, 507 U.S. at 40-41. Nonetheless, in Gingles the Court
also stated that it had “no occasion to consider whether § 2
permits, and if it does, what standards should pertain to, a
claim brought by a minority group, that is not sufficiently
large and compact to constitute a majority in a single-member
district.” 478 U.S. at 46 n.12; see id. at 89 n.1 (O’Connor, J.,
concurring in the judgment). The Court similarly reserved
the question in Growe. See 507 U.S. at 41 n.5. In Voinovich,
the Court assumed, without deciding, that such claims were
possible. See 507 U.S. at 154. Likewise, in De Grandy, the
Court “assume[d] without deciding” that Gingles could be
satisfied “even if [members of the minority group] are not an
absolute majority of the relevant population.” 512 U.S. at
1009.’
2. The position of the United States on this issue over the
years underscores the wisdom of resolving the issue in a con-
crete setting that clearly poses the issue. In Voinovich, the
* In Parker v. Ohio, 263 F. Supp. 2d 1100 (S.D. Ohio 2003), this Court
summarily affirmed the decision of the three-judge court rejecting a Section 2
challenge to a state apportionment plan. 124 S. Ct. 574 (2003). The district
court rejected the argument that the first Gingles precondition could be met
where “a distinct [minority] group cannot form a majority, but they are
sufficiently large and cohesive to effectively influence elections,” 263 F. Supp.
2d at 1104, and appellants challenged that ruling. See 03-411 J.S. at i, 13-23.
Appellees defended the district court’s ruling, see 03-411 Mot. to Aff. at 14-19,
and also advanced alternative bases for affirmance. See id. at 19-24.
19
United States stated that it “agree{d] with those courts that
have rejected” the assumption “that Section 2 requires cre-
ation of districts in which minorities are demonstrably not a
majority of the voting age population.” Br. for the U.S. as
Amicus Curiae at 16, Voinovich v. Quilter (No. 91-1618). As
the government explained, “[uJnless a minority group can
demonstrate that it could constitute a majority in a single-
member district so as to enable it to elect its preferred candi-
dates, the alleged fragmentation of that group’s voters into
multiple districts could not possibly have denied that group an
equal ‘opportunity * * * to elect representatives of [its]
choice.’” Jd. at 11 (quoting 42 U.S.C. 1973(b)); see id. at 11-12
n.6 (citing cases). Similarly, in Growe, the United States ar-
gued that, “[a]bsent proof that the plaintiff minority group
could form a majority of a single-member district, that group
‘eannot claim to have been injured by’ the challenged
districting scheme.” Br. for U.S. as Amicus Curiae at 7,
—-Growe v. Emison (No. 91-1420); see also zd. at 11 & n.6.
The United States has also recognized that the majority
requirement of the first Gingles precondition might be re-
laxed in certain specific situations. First, “the requirement
that the minority group be sufficiently numerous and compact
to constitute a majority of a single-member district may be
relaxed where intentional racial discrimination has been
shown.” 91-1420 U.S. Br. at 12 n.6 (citing Garza v. County of
Los Angeles, 918 F.2d 763, 770-771 (9th Cir. 1990), cert. de-
nied, 498 U.S. 1028 (1991)). See U.S. Br. in Opp. at 21, County
of Los Angeles v. Garza (Nos. 90-849 & A-422). Second, the
government has argued that a “flat 50% rule” was inappropri-
ate when the minority group was “compact, politically cohe-
sive, and substantial in size yet just short of a majority.” Br.
for the U.S. as Amicus Curiae at 11, 13, Valdespino v. Alamo
Heights Indep. Sch. Dist. (No. 98-1987) (emphasis added). In
that situation, the government explained, a “small amount of
20
consistent crossover voting” might give “the minority voters
the potential to elect their representative of choice.” /d. at 11;
see id. at 12 n.3 (“[a]t some point, of course, the amount of
crossover voting may be sufficiently substantial that it would
not be possible to sustain a finding that voting is racially po-
larized or that the majority votes as a bloc to defeat the candi-
date preferred by minority voters”). But this case involves
neither claims of intentional discrimination, nor the kind of
near-50% borderline case alluded to in the Valdespino brief.
Under the circumstances, there is no need for the Court to
resolve the validity of a strict 50% rule."
3. Permitting Section 2 vote-dilution claims when, as here,
a minority group is substantially less than a majority of the
voters in an alternative district raises a number of potentially
‘The plaintiff minority group in Valdespino represented “48% of the
CVAP.” 98-1987 U.S. Br. at 13. In its brief, the government repeatedly
referred to the fact that the minority group was “just short of a majority.” /d.
at 11; see id. at 10 (“slightly less than 50%”). The United States also filed an
amicus brief in Perez v. Pasadena Indep. Sch. Distr. (No. 98-1747), which
involved similar circumstances, in which the government reiterated its position
in Valdespino. See 98-1747 U.S. Br. at 7-8 (“[pletitioners have shown that
Hispanics would be very close to a majority of the CVAP in their demonstration
district”). In two appellate court briefs, the United States took the position
that plaintiffs need not show that they would constitute 50% of a demonstration
district to prevail under the first Gingles precondition. See Br. for the United
States at 35, Garza v. County of Los Angeles, 918 F.2d 763 (9th Cir. 1990) (No.
92-749), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 1028 (1991); see also Br. for United States at 12-
17, Campos v. City of Houston, 113 F.3d 544 (5th Cir. 1997) (No. 90-849).
'l he large majority of lower courts that have addressed the issue have
embraced the 50% rule. See, ¢.g., Hall v. Virginia, 385 F.3d 421, 429-431 (4th
Cir. 2004), cert. denied, 125 S. Ct. 725 (2005); Valdespino v. Alamo Heights
Indep. Sch. Dist., 168 F 3d 848, 852-853 (5th Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 528 U.S.
1114 (2000); Cousin v. Sundquist, 145 F.3d 818, 828-829 (6th Cir. 1998), cert.
denied, 525 U.S. 1138 (1999); McNeil v. Springfield Park Dist., 851 F.2d 937,
943-945 (7th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1031 (1989); but see Metts v.
Murphy, 363 F.3d 8, 11-12 (1st Cir. 2004) (en banc) (declining “to foreclose the
possibility” that a Section 2 claim might be viable where the minority is less
than 50%).
21
significant concerns. First, when, as here, the minority group
is substantially less than a majority and depends on a high
level of crossover voting to show that it nonetheless exercises
electoral control (see J.S. App. 11lla), it is doubtful that the
plaintiff can show that racially polarized voting—as opposed
to other local factors or conditions—has led to a decrease in
its electoral opportunities. Such crossover voting indicates to
the contrary that a district may not suffer from the kind of
race-based voting that led to the enactment of the Voting
Rights Act. See Metts v. Murphy, 363 F.3d 8, 12 (1st Cir.
2004) (“To the extent that African-American voters have to
rely on cross-over voting to prove that they have the ‘ability
to elect’ a candidate of their choosing, their argument that the
majority votes as a bloc against their candidate is undercut.”);
see id. at 13-15 (Seyla, J, joined by Torruella, J., dissenting)
(“{a] showing of majoritarian bloc voting is structurally incon-
sistent with” a minority group’s “reliance on a high level of
crossover voting” to assert electoral control).
Second, recognizing such claims under Section 2 could com-
promise needed flexibility that the Court has recognized in an
analogous setting under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act.
'2 Indeed, efforts like appellants’ to hypothesize control with relatively low
percentages of CVAP require assumptions about voting behavior that suggest
other factors are at work. Under appellants’ theory, a minority group can
control a district because it constitutes a majority in the Democratic primary
even if it is only 22% of the population. The theory relies on the proposition
that white Democrats, who do not control the district, would prefer the
minority candidate of choice in the general election. But if there were suffi-
cient white voters willing to carry the district for the candidate of choice of a
22% minority in the general election, voting in the district would not be racially
polarized in the first place, but instead would be explicable on the basis of non-
racial factors. Moreover, in light of the open primary system in Texas, appel-
lants’ theory appears to assume that at the same time that Democratic voters
vote on racial lines in an open Democratic primary, Republican voters would
not be motivated to cast votes-along similar racial-lines in the open Democratic
primary.
22
In Georgia v. Ashcroft, the Court rejected the argument that
the States are required to maximize the number of majority-
minority “safe” districts and, instead, held that “Section 5
leaves room for States to use * * * influence and coalition
districts” as well, “even if it means that in some of those dis-
tricts, minority voters will face a somewhat reduced opportu-
nity to elect a candidate of their choice.” 539 U.S. at 483, 489-
490; see id. at 482 (“Section 5 gives States the flexibility to
choose one theory of effective representation over another”).
Permitting minority groups with as little as 22% of the popu-
lation to pursue Section 2 litigation in the wake of a redistrict-
ing could discourage States from redistricting in ways “that
would truly ‘maximize’ minority electoral success,” Gingles,
539 U.S. at 480 (O’Connor, J., concurring in the judgment),
such as by moving minority voters from 22% districts to dis-
tricts in which they have a greater population and greater
chance of success or pursuing similar efforts.
Third, if the Court recognized the viability of Section 2
claims where, as here, the plaintiff group was substantially
less than a majority of the voters, then a great many districts
could be subject to fact-intensive litigation under Section 2.
At a minimum, such a ruling could substantially increase the
volume and nature of Section 2 litigation. Cf. cNeil v.
Springfield Park Dist., 851 F.2d 937, 947 (7th Cir. 1988)
(“Courts might be flooded by the most marginal Section 2
claims if plaintiffs had to show only that an electoral practice
or procedure weakened their ability to influence elections.”).
Likewise, to the extent that plaintiffs could pursue Section 2
claims with as little as 22% of the voting population, it would
be difficult to establish an obvious end point and judicially
administrable standards for recognizing vote-dilution claims
by minority groups with only a small fraction of voters. Cf.
Holder v. Hall, 512 U.S. 874, 885 (1994) (plurality); 7d. at 889-
890 (O’Connor, J., concurring in the judgment).
23
Fourth, extending Section 2 beyond its intended reach not
only could disrupt the traditional workings of our representa-
tive democracy, but could inflict other harms. The Voting
Rights Act was intended “to hasten the waning of racism in
American politics,” De Grandy, 512 U.S. at 1020, not to en-
sure that “race predominates in the redistricting process,”
Miller v. Johnson, 515 U.S. 900, 916 (1996), a situation that
would raise constitutional concerns that Congress presumably
seeks to avoid. See Georgia, 539 U.S. at 490-491 (“[T]he Vot-
ing Rights Act, as properly interpreted, should encourage the
transition to a society where race no longer matters: a society
where integration and color-blindness are not just qualities to
be proud of, but are simple facts of life.”). If Section 2 pre-
vented legislatures from redrawing districts in which minori-
ties constituted only a small fraction of voters, then race could
~ become a predominant factor in a great many redistricting
decisions.
4. Contrary to appellants’ contention (05-276 Appellants
Br. 16, 39), the district court in this case did not rest its ruling
on a “mechanical” application of the 50% rule. Indeed, if the
court had done so, it could have simply recited the undisputed
fact that African Americans comprise less than 50% of the
voting age population in District 24, and ended its inquiry.
The district court instead stated that “the facts of this case
offer no occasion to decide if there is a tolerable deviation
from the rule that a minority must demonstrate that * * * it
had the potential to elect a candidate of its choice by proof
that it could constitute 50% of the district.” See J.S. App. 96a.
The district court’s factual findings with respect to electoral
control resolve the District 24 vote dilution claim without re-
gard to the 50% rule.
_ Accordingly, this case does not require the Court to decide
whether a plaintiff minority group must always show that it
represents a majority of the voting age population in a district
24
to state a claim under Section 2. The Court should therefore
defer passing on that issue until it is faced with a case in
which resolution of the question would likely be dispositive,
such as a case in which the plaintiff minority group was only
slightly less than a majority in the demonstration district.
Such a case would offer the Court the benefit of a concrete
factual setting in which to resolve that issue.”*
II. SECTION 2 DID NOT REQUIRE THE STATE TO CRE-
ATE SEVEN MAJORITY- rae DISTRICTS IN
SOUTH AND WEST TEXAS
A. Appellants Failed To Establish That Seven Effective
Majority-Hispanic Districts Could Be Drawn In South
And West Texas
Appellants GI Forum, et al., challenge the State’s 2003
plan—as they did the court-ordered 2001 plan upheld in
Balderas—on the ground that it violates Section 2 because it
creates six, rather than seven, majority-Hispanic districts in
South and West Texas. This Court rejected essentially the
same claim in Balderas. See 536 U.S. at 919. To the extent
that the Court believes it necessary or appropriate to revisit
this issue, the district court properly rejected that claim be-
low.
'3 Because the record supports the district court’s conclusion that appellants
failed to meet the first Gingles precondition, there is no need for the Court to
examine the other preconditions. In any event, as noted above, the district
court also properly determined that appellants had not clearly demonstrated
that the African American voting age population is cohesive. See J.S. App.
112a. In addition, the district court stated that the relatively high level of white
crossover voting (30.75%) established the “absence of Anglo bloc voting under
Gingle’s third precondition.” /d. at 1lla; see J.A 260-262. Moreover,
appellants have also failed to establish that they could prevail under a “totality
of the circumstances” analysis, which provides an independent reason for
rejecting their Section 2 challenge to District 24.
25
1. Appellants introduced a plan (Plan 1385C) in support of
their claim, which outlined seven districts in South and West
Texas with a majority-Hispanic CVAP. See 05-439 J.S. App.
241 (Plan 1385C map); see also J.S. App. 133a n.136 (Hispanic
CVAP percentages). Both that plan and the State’s 2003 plan
have “the same number of districts” —-six—“in which Latinos
equal or exceed 55% of the citizen voting age population.” Jd.
at 132a; see id. at 133a n.136. All six of those districts in the
State’s plan would effectively permit Hispanics to elect the
candidate of their choice. See id. at 133a-148a. Thus, appel-
lants’ claim required proof that the seventh district in their
plan would effectively function to permit Hispanics to elect
the candidate of their choice. Without such proof, a court
would have no basis to conclude that the State’s plan abridged
the opportunity of Hispanics in violation of Section 2.
2. The district court found that the seventh district in the
GI Forum plan would not effectively function as a Hispanic
opportunity district. That district “has a Hispanic citizen
voting age population of only 50.3%.” J.S. App. 130a. The
court found that “because of the lower turnout of Latino vot-
ers, a low majority of the Hispanic citizen voting age popula-
tion does not produce an effective Latino opportunity district.”
Id. at 131a. Appellants therefore had not shown that “seven
{Hispanic-majority] districts * * *, if they could be drawn,
would function effectively as Latino opportunity districts.”
Id. at 133a. The court thus “reject[ed] the claim * * * that § 2
demands a seventh Hispanic citizen voting age population
majority district in South and West Texas.” Jbid.
The district court’s finding was well supported. Appellants
themselves had argued that three of the districts in the
State’s plan—each of which had a Hispanic CVAP of more
than 55%—would not provide effective opportunity for His-
panies. J.S. App. 13la. Dr. Jerry Polinard, a political scien-
tist, testified that “you become comfortable with opportunity
26
districts once you break into those 60%-plus ranges.” Id. at
131a n.134. Dr. Allan Lichtman, another political scientist,
testified that lowering the Hispanic CVAP in a district may
approach “the danger zone” for opportunity, even if the His-
panic CVAP remains over 50%. Ibid. Congressman Hinojosa
testified that “because of the low [relative] turnout,” “in order
to win an election, you need to have about 57, 58% or higher
Hispanic voter age population.” /bid. Congressman Gonzalez
testified that a mere majority in numbers “doesn’t translate
to having an effective voice or ability to elect someone of your
choice” because of relatively low Hispanic registration and
turnout figures. bid. Combining that testimony with the
bare-majority 50.3% CVAP, the court found that appellants’
seventh district Would not “function effectively as [a] Latino
opportunity district{].” Jd. at 133a. That finding was not
clearly erroneous, and it alone defeats appellants’ claim.
3. Appellants argue (05-439 Appellants Br. at 46) that evi-
dence shows that the 50.3% district in their plan (District 28)
would elect the Hispanic candidate of choice, and that the
district court improperly “relied upon the testimony of GI
Forum’s expert witness to conclude that the State Plan con-
tained six Latino opportunity districts while ignoring those
portions of his analysis showing that the GI Forum plan con-
tained seven Latino opportunity districts.” Jd. at 45-46. A
trial court, however, is permitted to accept some conclusions
and reject others advanced by an expert witness. In addition,
as noted, the challenged finding was based not just on one
witness’s evidence, but on a variety of evidence introduced by
a number of different witnesses. Moreover, there was nothing
inconsistent in the district court’s conclusion that the six dis-
tricts in the State’s plan—with 55% or more Hispanic CVAP
—would function as opportunity districts, while the bare-ma-
jority 50.3% district would not. Appellants fail to show that
that dispositive finding was clearly erroneous.
27
B. In Any Event, The More-Than-Proportional Electoral Op-
portunities For Hispanics In South And West Texas Sup-
port The District Court’s Rejection Of That Claim
There is an additional reason why appellants’ claim fails.
In the seven-district South and West Texas area, Hispanics
constitute 58% of the CVAP. Six of the seven districts in that
area—or 85% of the districts—are majority Hispanic CVAP.
Based on that calculation, the district court concluded that
“proportionality is satisfied as to that area.” J.S. App. 129a.
1. In De Grandy, this Court addressed a similar argument.
Noting that “equal political opportunity” was “the focus of the
enquiry,” the Court stated that it did “not see how * * * dis-
trict lines, apparently providing political effectiveness in pro-
portion to voting age numbers, deny equal political opportu-
nity.” 512 U.S. at 1014. The Court observed that such pro-
portionality “would thwart the historical tendency to exclude
Hispanics, not encourage or perpetuate it,” and that there
a:cordingly were “no grounds for holding * * * that [the] dis-
trict lines diluted the votes cast by Hispanic voters” in the
challenged plan.” Jd. at 1014-1015. While not in itself
dispositive, the Court therefore concluded that “proportional-
ity * * * is obviously an indication that minority voters have
an equal opportunity.” Jd. at 1020. In addition, the Court
held that Section 2 does not require a State to maximize the
number of “safe” districts in an area. /d. at 1016-1017.
De Grandy seriously undercuts appellants’ argument here.
While the minority groups in De Grandy enjoyed only “rough
proportionality,” 512 U.S. at 1023, Hispanics in South and
West Texas enjoy representation—six of seven districts—far
greater than their proportion of the population, no matter
how it is measured. Accordingly, appellants’ claim that they
are entitled to an additional majority-Hispanic district in
South and West Texas should be rejected. —
28
<
2. Appellants argue that the State nonetheless violated
Section 2 by reconfiguring District 23 so that it hac less than
a majority-Hispanic CVAP, even though at the same time the
State created a new majority-Hispanic district east of District
23 in South Texas. See 05-439 Appellants Br. at 36. In their
view, such a reconfiguration is prohibited by Shaw v. Hunt,
517 U.S. 899, 917 (1996), which stated that, “{i]f a § 2 violation
is proved for a particular area,” the “vote dilution injuries
suffered by [minority-group members in that area] are not
remedied by creating a safe majority-black district some-
where else in the State.” That contention is mistaken.
First, the Shaw rationale by its terms applies only if “a § 2
violation is proved for a particular area.” Appellants have not
proved a Section 2 violation for the area of District 23; to the
contrary, the question in this case is whether they can prove
a Section 2 violation for any area in South and West Texas,
and the greater-than-proportional representation of Hispan-
ics in that area strongly suggests that they cannot.
Second, Shaw rejected a claim that “once a legislature has
a strong basis in evidence for concluding that a § 2 violation
exists in the State, it may draw a majority-minority district
anywhere.” 517 U.S. at 916-917. In this case, by contrast, the
State does not assert that it could draw a majority-Hispanic
district anywhere in Texas to avoid an otherwise proven Sec-
tion 2 claim in South and West Texas. Rather, the state legis-
lature considered the southwest part of the State as a whole,
and it drew a series of districts there to achieve a variety of
purposes, including to provide representation for Hispanic
citizens. Although large in geographical size, the area con-
tains certain common features, such as the shared Mexican
border, a generally sparse population, and, indeed, a large
Hispanic population. Within that area, as the Court recog-
nized in De Grandy, “some dividing by district lines and com-
bining within them is virtually inevitable and befalls any pop-
29
ulation group of substantial size.” 512 U.S. at 1015. The
Court concluded in De Grandy that “[a]ttaching the labels
‘packing’ and ‘fragmenting’ to these phenomena, without
more, does not make the result vote dilution when the minor-
ity group enjoys substantial proportionality.” Jd. at 1015-
1016. So too here.
Finally, accepting appellants’ theory would require States
in many instances to freeze existing districting configurations
wherever majority-minority districts exist. Whenever the
State reconfigured districts in a particular area in such a way
as to decrease the minority population in one district while
increasing it in another, neighboring area, a plaintiff could
claim that the State had violated Section 2 with respect to the
former district. This Court has never suggested that Section
2 permanently freezes into place particular districting config-
urations or gives particular minority-group members veto
power over alternative districting configurations that may
well serve other legitimate state interests and, indeed, advan-
tage other neighboring minority-group members.
3. Appellants briefly argue that Hispanics in the State as
a whole constitute 24.5% of the CVAP, and that they therefore
are entitled to 24.5% of the 32 congressional districts in
Texas, or 7.82 districts. They contend that “[t]he District
Court should have concluded that eight opportunity districts
would provide proportional political representation to Latinos
in Texas and that the State plan falls well short of this num-
ber.” 05-439 Appellants Br. at 49. That argument is mis-
taken. In De Grandy, the Court was presented with a similar
statewide proportionality claim. But because the case before
it had in fact been “litigated on a smaller geographical scale”
than statewide, the Court held that it was appropriate to con-
sider proportionality on the same scale. 512 U.S. at 1022. The
district court reasonably relied on precisely the same reason-
ing here to conclude that South and West Texas is the appro-
30
priate geographic frame of reference in this case. J.S. App.
129a & n. 131.
Indeed, the South and West Texas geographic frame of
reference is particularly appropriate in this case. Hispanics
are so far over-represented in South Texas (and sufficiently
close to achieving proportionality statewide) that even use of
a much broader frame of reference than South and West
Texas would not alter the result here. As noted above, far
from an arbitrarily defined region of the State, South and
West Texas has a variety of characteristics that make it an
appropriate frame of reference for Section 2 analysis.
CONCLUSION
The Court should affirm the district court’s judgment that
the State’s redistricting plan does not violate Section 2 of the
Voting Rights Act.
Respectfully submitted.
PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General
WAN J. Kim
Assistant Attorney General
GREGORY G. GARRE
Deputy Solicitor General
JAMES A. FELDMAN
Assistant to the Solicitor
General
DAVID K. FLYNN
LISA J. STARK
NATHANIEL S. POLLOCK
Attorneys
FEBRUARY 2006
FILED
FEB 1 - 2006
(2) (3) (¢) ICE OF THE CLERK
Nos. 05-204, 05-254, 05-276 & SUPREME COURT. U.S.
In the Supreme Court of the Anited States
e
LEAGUE OF UNITED LATIN AMERICAN CITIZENS, et al.,
Appellants,
Vv
RICK PERRY, et al., Appellees.
TRAVIS COUNTY, TEXAS, et al., Appellants,
Vv.
RICK PERRY, et al., Appellees.
EDDIE JACKSON, et al., Appellants,
v.
RICK PERRY, et al., Appellees.
GI FORUM OF TEXAS, et al., Appellants, ‘
v.
RICK PERRY, et al., Appellees.
e
On Appeal from The United States
District Court For the Eastern District of Texas
.
BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE AMERICAN
LEGISLATIVE EXCHANGE COUNCIL AND FREE
ENTERPRISE COALITION IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEES
, +
MARGUERITE MARY LEONI, ESQ.
Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae
CHRISTOPHER E. SKINNELL, ESQ.
NIELSEN, MERKSAMER,
PARRINELLO, MUELLER & NAYLOR
591 Redwood Highway, Suite 4000
Mill Valley, California 94941
Phone: (415) 389-6800
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
American Legislative Exchange Council
& Free Enterprise Coalition
-
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
Does Article I, § 4 prohibit state legislatures and/or
voters exercising their reserved legislative power through
the initiative, from redistricting more than once in a decade,
thereby eliminating the possibility of political remedies to
post-census partisan gerrymanders, and increasing the
frequency of lawsuits challenging such gerrymanders?
Does Article I, § 4 require federal court-ordered
redistricting plans to remain in effect during an entire
decade, insulated from any changes by subsequent
redistricting legislation enacted by the Legislature or the
voters of the state by initiative?
TABLE OF CONTENTS |
| Page
ee WIIG FIND ecccesseponiiieseenmenchicndiovcenntpnaninndeniasiiate i
+ ee Oe CR CEC piercecneenreternsemnsenserminieninimmnvnmniinasisaniidion ii
Se AT ccsrrteretnrcnmtnintinmmninninaianel iv
STATEMENT OF INTERESTS OF AMICUS CURIAE ..........-. 1
INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT......... 3
REETRII CE scccrncsensssshinspinttisiniendencteisinnnenieinidiinnmnaaittgiimaiainetin 5
I. STATE LEGISLATURES HAVE
CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORITY TO
REDISTRICT MORE THAN ONCE PER
I. ENSHRINING A “ONCE-PER-DECADE”
RULE INTO THE CONSTITUTION TO LOCK-
IN A. FEDERAL COURT-DRAWN PLAN
WOULD DISPLACE STATES FROM THEIR
CONSTITUTIONAL ROLE UNDER ARTICLE
RIERA HT. EAS RIES Pte Ae 9
Il. LIMITING REDISTRICTING TO ONCE PER
DECADE IS AT LEAST AS LIKELY TO
ENTRENCH PARTISAN GERRYMANDERING
PD FP IG crtintetestiettninviammnmnnanintnis 15
A. Prohibiting Redistricting More Than Once
Per Decade Would Deprive States Of An
Important Tool For Combating Egregious
UII eee cancercnessistconsnorenanrnqnmenecenimecensincsieas 15
B. A “Once-Per-Decade” Rule Would Also
Stymie
Redistricting Reform Efforts By
I ils
IV. A PROHIBITION ON REDISTRICTING MORE
THAN ONCE IN A DECADE WOULD
RESULT IN A MULTIPLICITY OF POST-
CENSUS PARTISAN GERRYMANDER SUITS
AND WOULD INCREASE THE DEMAND
FOR COURT-DRAWN PLAN G.........0:::ess:eseseseseseseeeenes
CONCLUSION
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Assembly 0. Deukmejian,
SP Fae COM. TOG) cece eseneisceniconsennennsernnenviiaibaain 16
Badham ov. Eu,
694 F. Supp. 664 (N.D. Cal. 1988) ..........scsssesesvees 16, 17, 21
Branch v. Smith,
SOD WR. FG GIB IED exer ecceveccccessssnnseeassnenenensoniermastvigannutiiiniinss 9
Buckley v. Am. Constitutional Law Found., 7
SP CIA BAe (ROO p vensovenspcecovinerensintiniomnicnninntisinendannstnbitanpiiie 18
Buckley v. Hoff,
243 F. Supp. 873 (D. Vt. 1965) .......-.:sesssssssssssssessessseeenseees 7
Burton ex rel. Republican Party v. Sheehan,
793 F. Supp. 1329 (D.S.C.), vac’d on other grounds
sub. nom, Statewide Reapportionment Advisory
Comm. v. Theodore, 506 U.S. 951 (1992).........cccceseeseeseees 14
Bush v. Vera,
Fe Es Fee Qt crericnnnsntncenressngnsnancinonannaicisentinitsdvlisintpits 11
Chapman v. Meier,
> IAI 8 GPO sineescovsssvnssinscrnstsinasastisitinioabineapiaabtaieaaadl 9,10
Citizens Against Rent Control v. City of Berkeley,
0 Te Fe II) eestesvsnisesrecsnistineiivistiinaitinnaiciepesiiaibabtisit 18
Coleman v. Thompson,
Se WI, Fee GROW ED cxrrerncesvacnistnsrrnnsctnnsentaleseinsevinsehinttiitteniias 10
Colleton County Council v. McConnell,
201 F. Supp. 2d 618 (D.S.C. 2002) ..........cessssssessesesesseeseees 13
Connor v. Finch,
GS I, SF C00 F) cscentersrerrstivvtcecarntneseeasninitvmnstiiel 11, 20
Daly o. Hunt,
SB PSE TAT CO. TODO eccencsccesscrssserenveriesiontctiiagarninii 6
IV
Davis 0. Bandemer,
I cestbncbeltntnion 21, 22
French v. Boner, — ¢
786 F. Supp. 1328 (M.D. Tern. 1992).......-ssesssvesssneesneennsee 7
Gaffney v. Cummings,
ERAT IE ean ee RO 21
Garza v. County of Los Angeles,
918 F.2d 763 (9th Cir. 1990), cert. denied,
I iceisinrestnneconcernmsstetestsceninampenetesannmmatignees a
Georgia v. Ashcroft,
ins penannaignnnpasenmntisinensannmnetaains 11
Gonzalez v. Monterey County,
808 F. Supp. 727 (N.D. Cal. 1992) .........seceseseseseseseeeserenes 12
Gregory v. Ashcroft, |
ee eM EI enrntjocacenescorscoreeeunesereas lcatibsienishacinniagasin 10
Grisbaum v. McKeithen,
336 F. Supp. 267 (E.D. La. 1971) .......cccsseeseseseseecsesneeeneess 10
Growe v. Emison,
Be nT ecicirtaemnstecimenesqnicneccsesensetoonsessentes 9,10, 12
Harmison v. Ballot Comm'rs,
ee I s B ceccenvenscetenrnnscecscescsinsosnsnsersnttsanessne 8
_ Harris v. Shanahan,
TT or ccecnietcnennemnstaigtapentnnapiensnteces 7
Henderson v. Perry, - :
399 F. Supp. 2d 756, 2005 U.S. Dist. LEXIS
SS TI IT sca enecrentatntmentunsdncstenneianescitiie 14,15
Johnson v. Mortham,
915 F. Supp. 1529 (N.D. Fla. 1995).......s::sesssessesssesneeeeesess 14
Johnson v. Mortham,
926 F. Supp. 1460 (N.D. Fla. 1996), affd
sub nom., Johnson v. Smith, 132 F.3d 1460
(11th Cir. 1997) .......-sssecssessssssnsesnessnessesssseesserseeese 6, 7, 10, 11
Jones v. Freeman,
oe BS eee 7,8
Jordan v. Winter,
604 F. Supp. 807 (N.D. Miss. 1984) ..........-:-:ssssesesesneesees 14
Klahr v. Williams,
339 F. Supp. 922 (D. Ariz. 1972)..........scssesssserssssesssesssseees 7
Legislature of the State of Cal. 0. Deukmejian,
669 P.2d 17 (Cal. 1983) ............corserecseceosseeees sahihaatiai 7,16, 17
New York v. United States, .
I ED anicccinciccrnctancscetininesesinvipitnieicansticaiaineiitatiedl 10
Ohio ex rel. Davis v. Hildebrandt,
Be es Se crinctnincsateninntnmatncnatitinnmntinpibipiioinaie 18
People ex rel. Mooney v. Hutchinson,
Fs BO i ircisssancsicnintinesiictiininncnmtanintmpiiaistaleea 8
People ex rel. Salazar v. Davidson,
79 P.3d 1221 (Colo. 2003), cert. denied sub —
nom., Colo. Gen. Assembly v. Salazar, 541
SP I I Cictensnctegcintpiseacntinsentsnrertiemimasianemnnnnatieh 7
Principality of Monaco v. Mississippi,
Sa: Se ccsraseercnecticnbecistilehesititeniinnniniiieduasindinitiniainantiha 10
Reynolds v. Sims,
gg REESE REE eorr nse 5,6, 12, 14
Scott v. Germano,
Be ay MINE Et dcninsicisineiensoiesipaniibiniiincianapinninasinisiabaiias 10
Session 0. Perry,
298 F. Supp. 2d 451 (E.D. Tex. 2004) ......ccreccseeseneneees 5,13
Springer v. Phillipine Islands,
ST CR iiisinincescitessscsniciticinibantiontngapsenanintatinaionnah 10
Smiley v. Holm,
ee TE i ecccncccesnricactcctininnniinimmnaintineniinanel 5, 18
Upham v. Seamon,
TP AEE Ce icrceneccntcemnegecineeneneine weseee 10, 11, 12
Vera v. Bush,
933 F. Supp. 1341 (S.D. Tex. 1996) ...........-00ese0e0- 11, 13, 14
Vera v. Bush,
980 F. Supp. 251 (S.D. Tex. 1997) ...sccccsscssssscsseeceeeesee 13, 14
Vieth v. Jubelirer, .
NR I ae 6, 20, 22
Wesberry v. Sanders,
0 ET AAD S ELS SE 5
Whitcomb v. Chavis,
EAE LR 6,21
White v. Weiser, —
EES TET ETA ET 13,21
Wise v. Lipscomb,
gt) ERI IRE ROREN 6 SRO CSE 13
CONSTITUTIONS
TPC AO BG inincsecestsietssinsinstninisas passim
ARIZ. CONST. art. IV, pt. 2, § 1 sssssocccscesssssosssseeseessesssees .
NG Ct IG ii ecsssthccinincsiniticiaiabinicititaanati s
1 | ae RE Me ON en Fe 8
bh S| EC RT IR 8
I AE V0 i ciseciternccrsscitaninsieneipeiiiittibisiiacoiis 8
vii
STATUTES & RULES
a 5
I a i a in ie 5
Idaho Code § 72-1501 (2005) qsccccscsssecscssssssscssssssssseeseeseseee 8
21 Maine Rev. Stat. Anin. § 1206 (2005) ...cccsocecsnccsaneesenee 8
NJ. Stat. § 19:46-12 (2005) .esccssocssccsscecssessreeeeneene ae
Tenn. Code Amn. § 2-16-102 (2005) ............-cscceserseceeeeseeeneees 8
Wash. Rev. Code § 44.05.030 (2005) -.sccsccussosssssosseenseee 8
Wash. Rev. Code § 44.05.110 (2005) -sccsssscssoocsssnacssesnseenes 8
Li ES | ARO Pee Pe weed Heo en Ma eR eee 1
SS 3 | SLE eyes ae ee SRO Oe RTA 1
MISCELLANEOUS
1 A. de Tocqueville, DEMOCRACY IN AMERICA
rp ae OE, Be cccrcernscccercpnsensstpenennntevecamenssiemnanenes 4
Adam Nagourney, States See Growing
Campaign for New Redistricting Laws, N.Y.
TIMES, Feb. 7, 2004, at A1........sssssesssssesssecsssnssneeneeneesneens 17
Clark Benson, Substantial Political
Consequences, A Practitioner's Perspective on
Redistricting, EXTENSIONS (Carl Albert
Cong. Stud. & Research Ctr. Fall 2004), at
http:/ /www.ou.edu/special /albertctr /ex
tensions /fall2004/ Bernsen. htmml...........cscsseesssereeseeees 11
Common Cause, Two Other Groups Back
Redistricting Measure, ASSOC. PRESS, Oct. 5,
Dean E. Murphy, Ohio Critics of G.O.P. Start
Battle to Change Election Process, N.Y.
TIMES, Aug. 10, 2005, at A12 ........csccsessseseseseseseeees swveee 19
Viii
Dean E. Murphy, Schwarzenegger Enters Debate
Over Redistricting In Ohio, N.Y. TIMES, Oct.
eT ee Le 19
Douglas Johnson, et al., RESTORING THE
COMPETITIVE EDGE: CALIFORNIA'S NEED
FOR REDISTRICTING REFORM AND THE
LIKELY IMPACT OF PROPOSITION 77 (Rose
Institute 2005), at http://rose.claremont
mckenna.edu/ redistricting /redistricting.a
GIP). x-2eccsocesnccnsusennseescesqnnesscnasenssnenssssneenessevesesnesesnenscesseees 18, 19
Editorial, Districts, LANSING ST. J., Apr. 6,
EEE SLO DMT FS OTIS SENSE 19
Editorial, Our Election Guide, L.A. TIMES, Nov.
Bs I oi enesiittnheesiicaiichiinlalti tassel ia tadiatiinaiia 18
FLA. DEPT. OF STATE, DIV. OF ELEC.,
IMPLEMENTATION OF APPORTIONMENT &
DISTRICTING COMM’N NO. 05-16, at
http: / /election.dos.state.fl.us/initiatives /
initdetail.asp?account=41643&seqnum=s ...........00+ 19
H.R. 830, 109th Cong. (2005) ......--.cecsessssensseneecesersensnenanseees 8
H.R. 2642, 109th Com. (2005) .......s-sssssessseseseresenencsensnensnenees 8
H.R. 4094, 109th Cong. (2005) .....-.esessessessscrerrseeescncssnesenees 8
John H. Fund, Beware the Gerrymander, My
Son, NAT'L REV., Apr. 7, 1989........scssssssseerereneneers 16, 17
Michael Barone, THE ALMANAC OF AM.
POI Fee ee ccccvicsrnnpsinseccsensecminilnamneiensianine 15
Paul Thornton, Editorials Elsewhere:
Endorsements Elsewhere, L.A. TIMES, Nov. 8,
A i cescicicextetltininesdasetimanincsaedaneieiaieaiaa instiiniatiat iaditeaianiate 18
ix
Richard H. Pildes & Richard G. Niemi,
Expressive Harms, “Bizarre Districts,” and
Voting Rights: Evaluating Election-District
Appearances After Shaw v. Reno, 92 MICH. L.
DU. GER, GIS CIO ccicscnicinesinnscincinssceanntincesitntninianasintaiie 16
Rosemarie Zagarri, THE POLITICS OF SIZE:
REPRESENTATION IN THE UNITED STATES, |
1776-1850 (Cornell 1987)...........::seccssesessesssereenseceesessenerees 9
STATEMENT OF INTERESTS OF AMICUS CURIAE
The American Legislative Exchange Council (“ALEC”)
is the nation’s largest nonpartisan individual membership
association of state legislators. ALEC has more than 2,400
members, comprising approximately one-third of all state
legislators in the United States. Its mission is to discuss,
develop, and disseminate public policies that expand free
markets, promote economic growth, limit government, and
preserve economic liberty. It is also generally concerned
with matters of legislative accountability and governmental
structure. ALEC serves as a “think tank” on many specific
legislative issues and provides for its members a variety of
additional resources, including a number. of publications, a
website (www.alec.org), and affiliation with more than 300
corporate and private foundation members. ALEC’s interest
in this proceeding is the protection of the state legislatures’
authority over redistricting, thereby promoting the vital
principle of federalism (ALEC represents state legislators)
and a sound separation of powers (ALEC represents state
legislators) in the areas of redistricting and elections—
domains traditionally entrusted to the care of the state
legislatures. U.S. CONST. art. I, § 4.!
The Free Enterprise Coalition (“FEC”) is a non-profit
organization incorporated in the State of Virginia. The
Coalition’s purpose is to engage in activities that promote
policies that are supportive of the free enterprise system.
The Chairman of FEC is Robert L. Livingston. For the past
two years the coalition has concentrated on ensuring fair
' As required by Rule 37.3(a) of this Court, amicus curiae have
sought and received the written consent of all parties to file this brief
presented. Copies of letters of consent signed by counsel are filed
herewith with the Clerk of the Court. Pursuant to this Court’s Rule
37.6, amicus curiae state that none of the parties authored this brief in
whole or in part, and no person or entity, other than the amicus curiae,
its members, or its counsel, made a monetary contribution to the
preparation or submission of the brief.
1
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.