Amicus Curiae Brief — Hamdan v. Rumsfeld

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED

a> zi

JAN 5 ~ 28%

No. 05-184 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Eee ee S aE PRCT

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

SALIM AHMED HAMDAN,

Petitioner,

V.

DONALD H. RUMSFELD,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Brief of Amici Curiae International Law Professors

Listed Herein in Support of Petitioner 4

(Commissions -- Geographic Requirement)

Jordan J. Paust Linda A. Malone

University of Houston Counsel of Record

Law Center College of William and Mary

100 Law Center 613 S. Henry Street,

Houston, TX 77204 Suite NW 240

(713) 743-2177 Wilhamsburg, VA 23185

(757) 221-3844

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Ge I ciniciscsiinceniceciniosinistpaitantapitinniancesiiniestisnpaichtibeetnined i

er IE satsceperttiistatcsttininsaniininnieaiiamemiiniandniesid il

SCENE GE AID Gr tientecntenininsincinsccrcsescainnnsenetnianansnnieenen l

SUIRERGARY GP ARISUBGIINGT onccccececccceccccsccscssnsesscesnscsccressescomecsenes 2

SIT ‘ichschriiteioncheinnctiiaciaiichtcinaancecacslaniainieapiaeniaiianlapaniiseisciibiie 3

1. Limits on Presidential Power to Create a Military

Commission and Lack of Jurisdictional Competence .......... 3

A. Limitations with Respect to Place................::0::s0e 3

B. Limitations with Respect to Time ...............:000s000 7

Il. The Geneva Convention Provisions, Including ~ Those

Requiring a Regularly Constituted Court, Are Partly Self-

Executing and Have Jurisdictional Requirements................ 9

Ul. A Violation of the Separation of Powers .......................:0++ 17

STF EL EI LE AIT ICE BIT Fd ORE RE ANIA OTRO 18

—ij—

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

UNITED STATES CASES

Baldwin v. Franks, 120 U.S. 678, 683 (1887) .........::cscseseeeee 9

Coleman v. Tennessee, 97 U.S. 509, 515 (1878) ...........ccccceeee 3

Cook v. United States, 288 U.S. 102 (1933)...........::cccceceeeeeeeees 8

Cross v. Harrison, 57 U.S. (16 How.) (1853) ..........cccceecceeeeeees 7

Dooley v. United States, 182 U.S. 222 (1901) .... eee eeeceeeeeeee 8

Duncan v. Kahanamoku, 327 U.S. 304 (1946) .0......:cccsseceeeeeee 2

Edye v. Robertson, 112 U.S. 580 (1884)... eceeeeesseeeeeeeeee 9

Ex parte Quirin, 317 U.S. 1 (1942) ....ccececcceeeeeeeeeeeeee passim

Ford v. Surget, 97 U.S. 594 (1878) .......ccccccseseeeeseeeees 10, 11, 19

Francis v. Francis, 203 U.S. 233 (1906)............cccceeceesee cones 10

Freeland v. Williams, 131 U.S. 405 (1889)...........::ccecceseeeeees 11

Hamdan v. Rumsfeld,

344 F.Supp.2d 152 (D.D.C. 2004) oo... ceeceeeteeeeeees passim

Hilao v. Estate of Marcos, 103 F.3d 767 (9"" Cir. 1996)........11

In re Guantanamo Detainee Cases,

35S F. Sapp.26 443 (D.D.C. BOOS) ...ccccsssoccccsesscesseessecescvcvceseses 9

In re Yamashita, 327 U.S. 1 (1946)..........cceccceeceeeeeeeeeeeees passim

Johnson v. Eisentrager 339 U.S. 763 (1950) .........cccceceeeeeeeees 12

Kadic v. Karadzic, 70 F.3d 232 (2d Cir. 1995)................ 11,14

Linder v. Portocarrero, 963 F.3d 332 (11" Cir. 1992)....11, 14

Madsen v. Kinsella, 343 U.S. 341 (1952) ......eeeee 2, 6, 8,9

Mitchell v. Harmony, 54 U.S. (13 How.) 115, 137 (1851).....11

Owings v. Norwood’s Lessee, 9 U.S. (5 Cranch) 344 (1809) ..9

Presbyterian Church of Sudan v. Talisman Energy, Inc., 244

Ps te Es © « BD cstcsnesieicsincinntctsmneviemieminmnns 11

Rasul v. Bush, 124 S.Ct. 2686 (2004) .0.....cccccceeeeeeeeteeeeeees 3,17

Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1 (1957) ........sccccssscssssesereessneceseeeees 5

Sosa v. Alvarez-Machain, 542 U.S. 692 (2004) 0... eee 11

Talbot v. Seeman, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 1 (1801)... 8

The Charming Betsy, 6 U.S. (6 Cranch) 64 (1804) ..............0.. 8

The Grapeshot, 76 U.S. 129 (1869) ......ccccceecceeeeeeeeseeeeeees 2,7

The Lessee of Pollard’s Heirs v. Kibbee, 39 U.S. (14 Pet.)

I TTIIID Lainie diatcsaretiebiibeneneniaeiaiaiciainsabilaiiacennaltinint 10

The Paquete Habana,.175 U.S. 677 (1900) ..........:ccccseceeeeeees 11

United States v. Flores, 289 U.S. 137 (1933) .......ccccececcceeeeeeees 8

Ware v. Hylton, 3 U.S. (3 Dall.) 199 (1796)

EERE ESRF RARRES RE: env oe BnnON eS oe To 11

INTERNATIONAL CASES AND OPINIONS

Abella v. Argentina, Case 11,137, Inter-Am. C.H.R..,

GAELS S77, BBG. SB CGI) vccecncenssescsecevccevecscccvevescoccsceves 13

Nicaragua v. United States, 1986 I.C.J. paras. 218, 255....1, 13

Advisory Opinion on the Legality of the Threat or Use of

Nuclear Weapons, 1996 1.C.J. paras. 81-82 ........cceccceccseeeees 10

The Prosecutor v. Delalic, IT-96-21-A, Judgment (ICTY 20

Pts a EITTaIihicuiteisdelealedeladaeelacecsibccanbenenapsepduiiahanstbenianatninnianietin 5,13

The Prosecutor v. Tadic, IT-94-1-AR72

I aa ioeelsdamiiicanlilae 13

The Prosecutor v. Tadic, (Trial Chamber, ICTY 10 Aug.

-iv-

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

U.S. Const, art. I, § 8 C1. 9 v.ccscscecssecesssseesesucssssuesessece 2, 3, 17, 18

ite. S| | enamnmmO ne 10

TREATIES

Geneva Convention Relative to the Protection of Civilian

Persons in Time of War August 12, 1949, 75 U.N.T.S. 287

UST. S506, TEAR. BOD. TaD ectesscesweneuiennniaeniinniin 4,5, 10

arts. 7-8, 27, 38, 43, 48, 72-73, 75-76, 78, 80, 101 ..........ceeeeee 9

BRI. .cccevencocevenceconsecesevenessonseiensesieueuedesivensennsitiniasaliibeiiteniiansiiiianiiiiiiel 5

BIE. BD covenreccceceeonnevessescnsnsesennonstoseissebeomasdonnegtinensaianneniaannnnann 5, 16

GBB. 4....cresvcerceceesvesessecssenseveenesncsunanenventannussnninieansiniinaneniininannnl 6

GR, F ccccecescececsecesenementveeneesesensevmnenieneniensinnmnadanammaaa 5

GAB. ED, 8G, BFF -cecreversssessoressevossssenssnemensensmnmmenaniananaaal 5

GR, 07 xereveceesssneesnesenessnserrssenmsernenennennnininmail 5

BR, ID ccneereesesesersvenseemeevenenmnnemmenninsinnaiiialtl 4,5

GUE. FB cvcrsesnsecsesreerseniinenentmniinnniduniiinimminiiaiiaaa 4, 10, 13

OR, BOT caeeecceseesensessseniecnenennesonenentnnontenionninnciinimsseimnmiiiedaieninnialae 6

Protocol Additional to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August

1949, and Relating to the Protection of Victims of

International Armed Conflicts, June 8, 1977)................ 5, 6, 13

GD, Fie wccacccctnsevituvithiinninzedsinaiaiiiiasiniaaee 13, 16

GR, Fi ccccccucsscecasticecsensencsiesebecsssiesatencicasunmasmicuaasiiainaasaannnnnn 5

-V—

UNITED STATES STATUTES

SEIT Sc Rae SEE 9

Uniform Code of Military Justice ...........::cccccccceeeeeeenneee passim

rel aidiiceinene dapermienidnbnonaienniniaes 4,9, 21

alti ial daccaiaaldaraiddeitteinecisaiialinensapicamemniinn 4,9,17

OPINIONS OF U.S. ATTORNEYS GENERAL

1 Op. Att’y Gen. 566 (1822) ...ccscccescsessscssssecsssesseseesessseecsssvees 10

9 Op. Att’y Gem. 356 (1859) ....cccccccccccesssssssvesesssssssesesssseeseseeeee 9

11 Op. Att’y Gen. 297 (1865) ..ccccccccssccsssssssseseessesesseeeen 7, 8, 10

24 Op. Atty Gem. 570 (1903) ..cccceccccssescsssssesssessssecsssssvessenecsee 7

TREATY-RELATED DOCUMENTS, DECISIONS,AND REPORTS

Military Order of Nov. 13, 2001, § 4(A), 66 Fed. Reg. 57,833

EEE a ee 8, 12

Report of the Secretary-General Pursuant to Paragraph 2 of

the Security Council Resolution 808 (1993), U.N. Doc.

a — 10

U.N.S.C. Res. 1438, U.N. SCOR, 58" Sess., 4761th

mtg.pmbl., U.N. Doc. S/RES/1483 (2003)......c:cccccscessesseseeseeees 6

U.S. Dep’t Defense, Military Commission Order No. 1, Mar.

EE DEE RES A ae 15,17

MISCELLANEOUS MATERIALS

IV Commentary, Geneva Convention Relative to the

Protection of Civilian Persons in Time of War (ICRC, Jean

EASES ET ee 5,6, 9,12

~vi-

III Commentary, Geneva Convention Relative to the

Treatment of Prisoners of War 51 (ICRC, Jean S. Pictet ed.

FIFI U ED rcssinasiansiinecinesianinsinnsneieinneemmminniendiidtimnnmniail 5,9

Norman Abrams, Anti-Terrorism and Criminal Enforcement

SEI seenniccensetdaennpeninienadncnnssabiepanininedatinibeniniemlnapinianeinitiins 14

Annotated Supplement to Commander's Handbook on the

Law of Naval Operations (U.S. Naval War College, vol. 73,

Michal R. Belknap, A Putrid Pedigree: The Bush

Administration's Military Tribunals in Historical

Perspective, 38 Cal. W. L. Rev. 433 (2002) ..........::.ccceceeeeees 14

A. Christopher Bryant & Carl Tobias, Quirin Revisited, 2003

IIs Siies NOG: SUE OEE ensccsseniitnctiniiseetssnsmitiinititenineireaeiinaiiiitnsanpeneion 14

' Mark A. Drumbl, Victimhood in Our Neighborhood:

Terrorist Crime, Taliban Guilt, and the Asymmetries of the

International Legal Order, 81 N.C. L. Rev. 1 (2002)............ 14

2 Henry W. Halleck, /nternational Law 444

a a 8

Major General Henry W. Halleck, Military Tribunals and

Their Jurisdiction, 5 Am. J. Int’! L. 958 (1911), reprinted in

Mil. L. Rev. Bicentennial Issue 15 (1975) ...........:..csccccceeeeeeees 7

Alexander Hamilton, The Federalist No. 78 (1788) .............. 15

Jean-Marie Henckaerts & Louise Doswald-Beck, Customary

International Humanitarian Law vol. I: Rules 299 (ICRC

ae ineciceniesiinsenciieabpinunasanapisasiteiildineaiiniiinaphiadadaseiialantdieinetaiaindiatid 13

Derek Jinks, Protective Parity and the Law of War, 79 Notre

I i Be ree nrtcinccscitntedteneiesaiinttanisnamnsiminidiiieneis 12

Harold Hongju Koh, The Case Against Military

Commissions, 96 AmJ. Int’! L. 337 (2002) ...0.0......ccccccceceeeee 14

‘ Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, Vindicating the Rule of Law:

The Role of the Judiciary, 2 Chinese J. Int’! L. 1 (2003)....... 15

—-vil-

Jordan J. Paust, Antiterrorism Military Commissions:

Courting Illegality, 23 Mich. J. Int’1 L. 1 (2001) ....3, 4, 12, 17

Jordan J. Paust, Antiterrorism Military Commissions: The Ad

Hoc DOD Rules of Procedure, 23 Mich. J. Int’) L. 677

ITEED ‘sctninseiiiatitansidanonatncnnisiaie sideeneiaibiiitiiaeatibaioadindbeiiei 14, 16

Jordan J. Paust, /nternational Law as Law of the United

I ee iticineninnnsriininnniaviinniiitaansteniticiain 8, 10,11, 12

Jordan J. Paust, /nternational Law Before the Supreme

Court: A Mixed Record of Recognition, 45 Santa Clara L.

hs a tessinstasisiinccntinspeinniicisenannitasiansivitenimanianbnnbiiiegn 9,10

Jordan J. Paust, Judicial Power to Determine the Status and

Rights of Persons Detained Without Trial, 44 Harv. Int’! L. J.

i cath ac i 9, 10, 12, 16, 17

Jordan J. Paust, Executive Plans and Authorizations to

Violate International Law Concerning Treatment and

Interrogation of Detainees, 43 Columbia J. Transnat’! L. 811

Se cnsinacadinnestciibidaldiidnesinniiniuitnnasniaipigthipiemnibiitiinembionins passim

Jordan J. Paust, The U.S. as Occupying Power Over Portions

of Iraq and Special Responsibilities Under the Laws of War

(May 2003), available at

http://www.nimj.org/documents/occupation(1).doc................. 6

Jordan J. Paust, War and Enemy Stutus After 9/11: Attackson

the Laws of War, 28 Yale J. Int’] L. 325 (2003)..............:ccccc0e 5

Jordan J. Paust, M. Cherif Bassiouni, et al., Jnternational

Criminal Law (2d ed. 2000) .............ccceccecseeeeeeeeeees 7,10, 12,14

James E. Pfander, Federal Courts: Jurisdiction Stripping and

the Supreme Court's Power to Supervise Inferior Tribunals,

ee ie Ee ee csnicinhueresnenenacitncninninenninisnabonesininine 17

Adam Roberts & Richard Guelff, Documents on the Laws of

RINSED Reap oepnenre teeny a ty Rts ae Bape na 10

—Vili-

Marco Sassoli, “Unlawful Combatants”: The Law and

Whether It Needs to Be Revised, 97 Proc., Am. Soc’y Int’! L.

IT <snsisssinctninsitnsiiimastiadaininiennnsitnnsesetinegsinanniaineeneeinneinnines 5

William H. Taft, IV, The Law of Armed Conflict After 9/11:

Some Salient Features, 28 Yale J. Int’! L. 319 (2003)............. 5

U.S. Dep’t of Army, Field Manual 27-10, The Law of Land

SI Be Ci crccnccttccnssscsescnnssnnttenninanetentactianigneinianstemanentis 5

U.S. Dep’t of Army, TJAG School, Operational Law

CI I centhncinenincitnnsnniencctsanisvineninnereuniniiainitantinnn 12, 16

U.S. Dep’t of Army, Pam. 27-161-2, II International Law

Fe CE cinicnncninnitenenciictanescesissensinenisonmnensinatesitiaentbiianniinnidiniiionn 6

William Winthrop, Military Law and Precedents 836 (2d ed.

Sri scsininceciilapiniiisielaenccainidseeiieiieanendieialianlinantinesasiabenhaiinedetiine 2,14

Detlev F. Vagts, Which Courts Should Try Persons Accused

of Terrorism?, 14 Eur. J. Int’] L. 313 (2003) .........:ccceeeeeeees 14

UK, The Manual of the Law of Armed Conflict

EET cvsccsanetanangttetiabenentaantiiteeninntinenmieniiadmamaiimiaticasiate 5, 6, 10

ale

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Amici Curiae, the international law professors named

below, include the Amici in Hamdan before the District of

Colombia Circuit Court and the district courts below, or

other professors who have lectured and/or published widely

on these and related matters.' This amicus memorandum sets

forth their considered views. We generally support the

recognitions in the District Court below and generally oppose

most of the conclusions of the Court of Appeals below.

However, we focus here on three main points, as explained in

the Summary of Argument. Amici sign this memorandum on

their own behalf and not as representatives of their respective

schools. The affiliations of amici are listed in the appendix.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

There are three reasons why the military commissions are

unlawfully constituted and without jurisdiction even if a

detainee-accused is not a prisoner of war. First, military

commissions are “war courts” and their jurisdiction is limited

in terms of context and time to a circumstance of actual war,

and in terms of place to an actual theater of war or a war-

related occupied territory. Guantanamo, Cuba is neither in a

theater of war nor a war-related occupied territory and, thus,

a military commission situated there does not have lawful

jurisdiction. Second, Department of Defense (DOD) rules of

procedure and instructions for military commissions do not

comply with jurisdictionally-related requirements of

customary and treaty-based international law (which is the

‘Letters of consent to the filing of this brief accompany this brief. No

counsel] for a party authored this brief in whole or in part and no person,

other than Amici, their members, or their counsel, made a monetary

contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.

efe

constitutionally-based supreme law of the United States

binding on the President and federal courts) that trial must be

in a regularly constituted, independent, impartial tribunal and

that there must be review by a competent, independent, and

impartial court of law.

Third, a serious violation of the separation of powers

exists because the military commissions at Guantanamo do

not comply with Article I, Section 8, clause 9 of the U.S.

Constitution, which requires that tribunals be constituted as

“inferior to the Supreme Court” and thus, subject to its

ultimate control. Thus, the commissions are not lawfully

constituted and lack jurisdiction.

ARGUMENT ~

I. Limits on Presidential Power to Create a Military

Commission and Lack of Jurisdictional Competence

A. Limitations With Respect to Place

The President’s power as Commander-in-Chief to set up

a military commission and its jurisdictional competence

apply only during an actual war (to which the laws of war

apply), and within a war zone (i.e., an actual theater of war)

or a war-related occupied territory. See, e.g., The Grapeshot,

76 U.S. 129, 132-33 (1869) (jurisdiction exists “wherever the

insurgent power was overthrown’); William Winthrop,

Military Law and Precedents 836 (2d. 1920); Jordan J. Paust,

Antiterrorism Military Commissions: Courting Illegality, 23

Mich. J. Int'l L. 1, 5 & n.14, 25 n.70, 26-27 (2001)

[hereinafter Paust, Military Commissions]; see also Madsen

v. Kinsella, 343 U.S. 341, 346-48 (1952) (military

commissions are “war courts,” “related to war,” and are

proper in a war-related occupied enemy territory “in time of

war”); Duncan v. Kahanamoku, 327 U.S. 304, 324 (1946)

(jurisdiction exists in “occupied enemy territory”); id. at 326

allie

(Murphy, J., concurring) (jurisdiction exists “[o]nly when a

foreign invasion or civil war actually closes the courts”); Jn

re Yamashita, 327 U.S. 1, 11, 20 n.7 (1946) (a military

commission is a “war court” prosecuting the “law of war”

and in that instance was created by a military commander in

charge of the U.S. Army Forces, Western Pacific, theater of

war and war-related occupied territory “so long as a state of

war exists.” Id. at 9-12); Coleman v. Tennessee, 97 U.S. 509,

515 (1878) (“when ... in the enemy’s country”); id. at 517

(when occupation of enemy territory occurs). As Colonel

Winthrop recognized in his classic study of military law: “A

military commission ... can legally assume jurisdiction only

of offences committed within the field of command of the

convening commander,” and regarding military occupation,

“cannot take cognizance of an offence committed without

such territory.... The place must be the theater of war or a

place where military government or martial law may be

legally exercised; otherwise a military commission ... will

have no jurisdiction....” Winthrop, supra, at 836. Contrary

to the opinion of the Court of Appeals in this case, the

military commission set up within the United States during

World War II and recognized in Ex parte Quirin had been

created during war in what was then an actual theater of war

for prosecution of enemy belligerents for violations of the

laws of war that occurred within the United States (in Florida

and New York) and within the convening authority’s field of

military command — the Eastern Defense Command of the

United States Army. 317 U.S. 1, 22 n.i (1942).

What is unavoidably problematic with respect to military

commission jurisdiction at Guantanamo, Cuba is the fact that

the U.S. military base at Guantanamo is neither in an actual

theater of war nor in a war-related occupied territory. See,

e.g., Paust, Military Commissions, supra, at 25 n.70. See

also Rasul v. Bush, 124 S.Ct. 2686 (2004) (Kennedy, J.,

concurring) (correctly describing Guantanamo as territory

“far removed from any hostilities” and clearly not in an

—4-

actual theater of war). Consequently, a military commission

at Guantanamo is not properly constituted and is without

lawful jurisdiction. Also, alleged violations of the laws of

war by detainees during a war with the Taliban in

Afghanistan did not occur in Cuba or within the field of

command of the convening commander.

Further, the District Court properly recognized other

jurisdictional limits: (1) “[t}he President may establish

military commissions only for offenders or offenses triable

by military tribunal under the laws of war,” (2) “limits [are]

now set for military commissions” by Congress “by Article

21” of the U.C.M.J. (by 10 U.S.C. § 818, 821), and (3)

approval “does not extend past ‘offenders or offenses that by

statute or by the law of war may be tried by military

commissions.’” Hamdan v. Rumsfeld, 344 F.Supp.2d 152,

158-59 (D.D.C. 2004).

Another jurisdictional problem with respect to

prosecution of certain persons in a military commission at

Guantanamo involves an absolute prohibition under the laws

of war. Any person who is not a prisoner of war and who is

captured in occupied territory in Afghanistan cannot be

transferred out of occupied territory. The Geneva

Convention Relative to the Protection of Civilian Persons in

Time of War, Aug. 12, 1949, art. 49, 75 U.N.T.S. 287, 6

U.S.T. 2516 [hereinafter GC or Geneva Civilian

Convention]’ expressly mandates that “[iJndividual or mass

2The Geneva Conventions apply to the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq even

though the U.S. cannot be at “war” with al Qaeda as such. Importantly,

the District Court below was correct that a member of al Qaeda, like any

person in the war area, is covered under certain provisions of the Civilian

Convention if captured during war in Afghanistan or Iraq. See, eg.,

Hamdan, 344 F. Supp.2d at 160-64; Paust, Military Commissions, supra,

at 5-8 n.16; Jordan J. Paust, Executive Plans and Authorizations to

Violate International Law Concerning Treatment and Interrogation of

Detainees, 43 Columbia J. Transnat’l L. 811, 816-20, 829-30 (2005)

oie

forcible transfers ... of protected persons from occupied

territory ... are prohibited, regardless of their motive.” GC,

art. 49.) Further, “unlawful deportation or transfer” is not

{hereinafter Paust, Detainees]; Jordan J. Paust, War and Enemy Status

After 9/11: Attacks on the Laws of War, 28 Yale J. Int’! L. 325, 325-28

(2003).

>See GC. art. 76 (“persons accused of offences shall be detained in the

occupied country”); Protocol Additional to the Geneva Conventions of 12

August 1949, and Relating to the Protection of Victims of International

Armed Conflicts, June 8, 1977, art. 85(4)(a) [hereinafter Geneva Protocol

I}; 1V Commentary, Geneva Convention Relative to the Protection of

Civilian Persons in Time of War 278-80, 363 (ICRC, Jean S. Pictet ed.

1958) [hereinafter [V Commentary]; UK, The Military Manual of the

Law of Armed Conflict 293 (2004) (“forbidden to transfer ... not moved

outside occupied territory”); Paust, Detainees, supra, at 850-51; Paust,

Military Commissions, supra, at 24 n.68. Additionally, rights and duties

under the Geneva Conventions must be applied “in all circumstances.”

See, eg, GC, arts. 1, 3, 27; Paust, Detainees, supra, at 814-16.

Importantly, any detainee who is not a prisoner of war has certain

protections under the Geneva Civilian Convention and common Article 3,

which now applies in an international armed conflict (i.e., there are no

gaps in Geneva law that leave a person without any protections). See,

e.g., GC, arts. 3, 5, 13, 16, 27-33; U.S. Dep’t of Army Field Manual 27-

10, The Law of Land Warfare 31, § 73, 98, 247(b) (1956); IV

Commentary, supra, at 14, 51, 58, 595; Ill Commentary, Geneva

Convention Relative to the Treatment of Prisoners of War 5\ n.1, 76, 423

(ICRC, Jean S. Pictet ed. 1960); UK, 7he Manual of the Law of Armed

Conflict, supra, at 145, 148, 150, 216, 225; Derek Jinks, Protective Parity

and the Law of War, 79 Notre Dame L. Rev. 1493, 1504, 1510-11 (2004);

Paust, Detainees, supra, at 817-18, and references cited; Paust, Military

Commissions, supra, at 6-8 n.15; Marco Sassoli, “Unlawful

Combatants”: The Law and Whether It Needs to Be Revised, 97 Proc.,

Am. Soc’y Int'l L. 196, 197 (2003); William H. Taft, IV, The Law of

Armed Conflict After 9/11: Some Salient Features, 28 Yale J. Int’! L. 319,

321-22 (2003) (William H. Taft, IV is a former legal adviser for the

United States Department of State); The Prosecutor v. Delalic, Case No.

{T-96-21-T (Trial Chamber, ICTY, Nov. 16, 1998), at para. 271 (“there is

no gap between the Third and the Fourth Geneva Conventions”);

Hamdan, 344 F Supp.2d at 161, 163. Even nationals of a neutral state are

protected while they are outside “the territory of” the detaining state (e.g,

~6-

merely a war crime; it is also a “grave breach” of the

Convention. GC, art. 147; 1V Commentary, supra note 2, at

280, 599. See also Geneva Protocol I, supra note 2, art.

85(4)(a). Persons who are not prisoners of war and who were

captured in occupied territory and eventually found at

Guantanamo must be prosecuted in the territory where they

were captured. Trial at Guantanamo would continue the

crime.

B. Limitations With Respect to Time

The President’s power and a military commission’s

jurisdiction are limited in terms of time to a circumstance of

actual war until the point when peace is finalized. See, e.g.,

Madsen v. Kinsella, 343 U.S. 341, 346-48 (1952)

(recognizing that military commission power is “related to

war” and acknowledging them as “war courts”); Jn re

Yamashita, 327 U.S. 1, 11-13 (1946) (adding id. at 20 n.7: a

military commission is a “war court”); Ex parte Quirin, 317

U.S. 1, 28 (1942); The Grapeshot, 76 U.S. (9 Wall.) 129,

132-33 (1869); Cross v. Harrison, 57 U.S. 164, 190 (1853)

(permitting jurisdiction until a “treaty of peace”); 24 Op.

while outside the U.S.) and they are, therefore, not within any exclusion

in GC Article 4. See, e.g., GC, art. 4 (neutral nationals are only excluded

from Part II] when “in the territory of’ the detaining state); IV

Commentary, supra, at 48; UK, The Manual of the Law of Armed

Conflict, supra, at 274; U.S. Dep’t of Army, Pam. 27-161-2, II

International Law 132 (1962); Paust, Detainees, supra, at 819 & n.28,

850-51 (also demonstrating that there is no distinction between persons

lawfully or unlawfully within territory).

That the U.S. has been an occupying power in Afghanistan and Iraq is

well-known. See, e.g, U.N. S.C. Res. 1438, U.N. SCOR, 58th Sess.,

4761st mtg. pmbl., U.N. Doc. S/RES/1483 (2003) (addressing U.K. and

U.S. recognitions); Jordan J. Paust, The U.S as Occupying Power Over

Portions of Iraq and Special Responsibilities Under the Laws of War

(May 2003), available at hittp://www.nimj.org/documents/

occupation(1).doc; Paust, Military Commissions, supra, at 24 n.67.

ate

Att’y Gen. 570, 571 (1903); 11 Op. Att’y Gen. 297, 298

(1865); Paust et al., International Criminal Law 309-10 (2d

ed. 2000); Winthrop, supra, at 831! (jurisdiction is tied to the

war powers, “exclusively war-court”), 837 (“An offence ...

must have been committed within the period of the war or of

the exercise of military government.... [Jjurisdiction ...

cannot be maintained after the date of a peace....”). As Major

General Henry Halleck wrote, military commissions “have

jurisdiction of cases arising under the laws of war,” adding:

“(they] are war courts and can exist only in time of war.”

Halleck, Military Tribunals and Their Jurisdiction, 5 Am. J.

Int’] L. 958, 965-66 (1911). Similarly, in 1865 Attorney

General Speed formally advised the President:

A military tribunal exists under and according to the

Constitution in time of war. Congress may prescribe

how all such tribunals are to be constituted, what

shall be their jurisdiction, and mode of procedure.

Should Congress fail to create such tribunals, then,

under the Constitution, they must be constituted

according to the laws and usages of civilized warfare.

They may take cognizance of such offences as the

laws of war permit... In time of peace neither

Congress nor the military can create any military

tribunals, except such as are made in pursuance of

that clause of the Constitution which gives to

Congress the power “to make rules for the

government of the land and naval forces.”

11 Op. Att’y Gen. 297, 298 (1865).

Thus, relevant presidential power is tied to a war

circumstance and law of war competencies such as the ability

Oi a war-related occupying power to set up a military

commission in war-related occupied territory to try violations

of the laws of war in accordance with the laws of war.

Congress can regulate the jurisdiction and procedure of

military commissions, but must do so consistently “with

-~8-

international law. Specifically, the requirements of

international law “are of binding force upon the departments

and citizens of the Government, though not defined by any

law of Congress” and neither Congress nor the Executive can

“abrogate them or authorize their infraction.” See, e.g., 11

Op. Att’y Gen. at 298-300; Madsen v. Kinsella, 343 US.

341, 348-49 (1952); see also Dooley v. United States, 182

U.S. 222, 231 (1901) (describing executive military powers

as “‘regulated and limited ... directly from the laws of war’”),

quoting 2 Henry W. Halleck, Jnternational Law 444 (\st ed.

1861); Jordan J. Paust, /nternational Law as Law of the

United States 106-07, 169-73 (2d ed. 2003), and cases cited

{hereinafter Paust, Treatise]; Paust, Detainees, supra, at 856-

61. Additionally, federal statutes must be interpreted and

applied consistently with international law. See, e.g., United

States v. Flores, 289 U.S. 137, 159 (1933); Cook v. United

States, 288 U.S. 102, 120 (1933); The Charming Betsy, 6

U.S. (6 Cranch) 64, 117-18 (1804); Talbot v. Seeman, 5 U.S.

(1 Cranch) 1, 43 (1801); 11 Op. Att’y Gen. at 299-300

(1865); 9 Op. Att’y Gen. 356, 362-63 (1859) (“law ... must

be made and executed according to the law of nations”);

Paust, Treatise, supra, at 99, 120, 124-25 nn.2-3.

II. The Geneva Convention Provisions, Including Those

Requiring a Regularly Constituted Court, Are Partly

Self-Executing and Have Jurisdictional Requirements

We disagree with the Circuit panel and agree with the

District Court that all persons detained in a theater of war

(regardless of their status) have rights under Geneva law and

that most provisions of the Geneva Conventions are self-

executing and are judicially enforceable. See Hamdan, 344

F.Supp.2d at 164-65; supra notes 1-2. The Supreme Court’s

longstanding test for enforceability is met. See, e.g., Baldwin

v. Franks, 120 U.S. 678, 683 (1887) (Field, J., dissenting)

(“when it declares the rights and privileges which the citizens

ie

or subjects of each nation may enjoy”); Edye v. Robertson,

112 U.S. 580, 598-99 (1884) (“enforcement ... in the courts

of the country.... whenever its provisions prescribe a rule by

which the rights of the private citizen or subject may be

determined”); Owings v. Norwood’s Lessee, 9 U.S. (5

Cranch) 344, 348-49 (1809) (“Whenever a right grows out

of, or is protected by, a treaty ... whoever may have this right,

it is to be protected”). Most of the articles of the

Conventions contain mandatory language, address express

and implied individual rights, and are self-executing under

the language of the treaty considered in context test (a test

that focuses on express and implied rights, e.g., “grows out

of”). See, e.g., GC, arts. 3, 5, 7-8, 27, 38, 43, 48, 72-73, 75-

76, 78, 80, 101, 147; Jn re Guantanamo Detainee Cases, 355

F.Supp.2d 443, 478-79 (D.D.C. 2005); Hamdan, 344

F.Supp.2d at 164-65; IV Commentary, supra note 2, at 9, 13,

52, 56-58, 64, 70-72, 74-80, 214-15; II] Commentary, supra

note 2, at 23, 85, 87, 90-91, 415, 472, 484-87, 492-93, 625,

628; Jordan J. Paust, Judicial Power To Determine the Status

and Rights of Persons Detained Without Trial, 44 Harv. Int'l

L.J. 503, 515-17 (2003), and references cited [hereinafter

Paust, Judicial Power]; Paust, International Law Before the

Supreme Court: A Mixed Record of Recognition, 45 Santa

Clara L. Rev. 829, 836 n.48 (2005) [hereinafter Paust, Before

the S.Ct]. Additionally, they are “executed” by

congressional legislation in, for example, 10 U.S.C. §§ 818,

821 and 28 U.S.C. § 2241. See Hamdan, 344 F.Supp.2d at

164 (“is implemented ... by ... 10 U.S.C. § 821”); Paust,

Judicial Power, supra, at 517 (discussing the habeas statute).

Moreover, the President has an unavoidable constitutional

duty to faithfully execute the laws of the United States, U.S.

treaties are such laws, and the President must execute, and is

bound by, treaty law. See, e.g., U.S. Const., art. I], § 3;

Francis v. Francis, 203 U.S. 233, 240, 242 (1906); The

Lessee of Pollard’s Heirs v. Kibbee, 39 U.S. (14 Pet.) 353,

415 (1840); 11 Op. Att'y Gen. 297, 299-300 (1865); 1 Op.

-10-

Att’y Gen. 566, 569-71 (1822); Paust, Treatise, supra, at 7-

11, 169-73, 488-89, 493-94, and cases cited. The District

Court was correct that even a non-self-executing treaty can

be used defensively (e.g., not to create a private cause of

action). Compare Hamdan, 344 F Supp.2d at 164 with Paust,

Judicial Power, supra, at 515 & n.42. Finally, the Geneva

Conventions are customary international law of universal

application and protect all persons covered during an armed

conflict.‘ As such, they are binding on the Executive and

rights thereunder are directly incorporable and judicially

enforceable. See, e.g., Paust, Treatise, supra, at 7-12, 169-

73, 175, 488-89, 493-94, and cases cited; Paust, Detainees,

supra, at 856-61; Paust, Before the S.Ct., supra at 839-40

n.53 (unanimous recognition especially that the Executive is

bound by the laws of war).

The Court of Appeals recognized that Geneva law creates

individual rights, but stated in error that because some

“See, e.g, Report of the Secretary-General Pursuant to Paragraph 2 of

Security Council Resolution 808 (1993), U.N. Doc. S/25704 (May 3,

1993), at para. 35 (the 1949 Geneva Conventions are “part of

conventional international humanitarian law which has beyond doubt

become part of international customary law”), unanimously approved by

U.N. S.C. Res. 827 (1993); Jordan J. Paust, M. Cherif Bassiouni, et al.,

International Criminal Law 658, 807 (2 ed. 2000); UK, The Manual of

the Law of Armed Conflict, supra note 2, at 14 (“In practice, the Geneva

Conventions are of virtually universal application and are generally

considered to embody customary international law.”); Annotated

Supplement to Commander's Handbook on the Law of Naval Operations

490 n.47 (U.S. Naval War College, Int’! Studies vol. 73, A.R. Thomas

and James C. Duncan eds. 1999) (“GPW is the universally accepted

standard for treatment of Pws; virtually all nations are party to it and it is

now regarded as reflecting customary law.”); Adam Roberts & Richard

Guelff, Documents on the Laws of War 8, 196 (3 ed. 2000); Paust,

Detainees, supra, at 813; see also Advisory Opinion o» the Legality of

the Threat or Use of Nuclear Weapons, 1996 I.C.J. paras. 81-82, reprinted

in 35 J.L.M. 809, 828 (1996).

« “o5~

remedies exist through international processes individuals

have no domestic remedies. For centuries, private remedies

have been available in courts for violations of the laws of

war. See, e.g., Ex parte Quirin, 317 U.S. at 27 (“From the

very beginning of its history this Court has recognized and

applied the law of war as including that part of the law of

nations which prescribes ... the status, right and duties of

enemy ... individuals”); Paust, Treatise, supra, at 64 n.130,

226-27, 291-92 nn.489-95; Winthrop, supra, at 780 n.1;

Paust, Detainees, supra, at 852 n.154; see also Sosa v.

Alvarez-Machain, 542 U.S. 692 (2004) (Breyer, J.,

concurring) (war crimes are judicially actionable); The

Paquete Habana, 175 U.S. 677, 698 (“law of war”), 714

(1900); Freeland v. Williams, 131 U.S. 405, 416-17 (1889)

(“no civil liability attached” when no war crime); Ford v.

Surget, 97 U.S. 595, 605-06 (1878) (individuals “relieved

from civil liability” where no war crime occurred); Mitchell

v. Harmony, 54 U.S. (13 How.) 115, 137 (1851) (suit could

be brought in “any district in which the defendant might be

found”); Bas v. Tingy, 4 U.S. (4 Dall.) 37, 43 (1800) (Chase,

J.); Ware v. Hylton, 3 U.S. (3 Dall.) 199, 279 (1796) (Iredell,

J.) (“rights ... derived from the laws of war ... end in that case

the individual might have been entitled to compensation”);

Hilao v. Estate of Marcos, 103 F.3d 767, 777 (9" Cir. 1996);

Kadic v. Karadzic, 70 F.3d 232, 242-43 (2d Cir. 1995), cert.

denied, 518 U.S. 1005 (1996); Linder v. Portocarrero, 963

F.3d 332, 336-37 (11 Cir. 1992); Presbyterian Church of

Sudan v. Talisman Energy, Inc., 244 F.Supp.2d 289, 310-11

(S.D.N.Y. 2003). There is nothing in the text or drafting

history of the 1949 Geneva Conventions requiring that

individuals must lose such remedies. Diplomatic remedies

are mentioned merely by way of example. Moreover, as

customary laws of war, rights reflected in Geneva law are

remediable like other violations of the laws of war and

customary law has long been a background for interpretation

of the treaties (see, e.g., Paust, Treatise, supra, at 12, 61, 73,

affine

211, 316, 388, 409, 437). Johnson v. Eisentrager, 339 U.S.

763 (1950), addressed the 1929 GPW and occurred prior to

changes in the 1949 GPW and treaty-based and customary

human rights law requiring access to courts, the right of

review, and rights to a remedy — law that is infused into

common Article 3 of the 1949 Conventions. See, e.g., Paust,

Military Commissions, supra, at 6 n.15, 25-26; Paust,

Detainees, supra, at 816; Paust, Judicial Power, supra, at

507-10, 511 n.27, 514.

We also agree with the District Court that today common

Article 3 of the Geneva Conventions sets forth a minimum

set of fundamental rights and duties in an international armed

conflict and that these include the jurisdictional requirement

of trial before a “regularly constituted court affording all the

judicial guarantees which are recognized” today as

customary human rights to due process incorporated through

Article 3. See Hamdan, 344 F.Supp.2d at 162-63, 165;

Paust, Judicial Power, supra, at 511 n.27, 514 & n.32; Paust,

Detainees, supra, at 816-17 n.19; IV Commentary, supra

note 2, at 14 (“This minimum requirement in the case of a

non-international armed conflict is a fortiori applicable in

international conflicts.”), 58; Jean-Marie Henckaerts &

Louise Doswald-Beck, Customary International

Humanitarian Law vol. |: Rules 299, 306-19 (ICRC 2005);

Paust et al., International Criminal Law, supra, at 693, 695,

813-14, 816; U.S. Dep’t Army, TJAG School, Operational

Law Handbook 8-9 (2003); Jinks, supra note 2, at 1508-11;

Case Concerning Military and Paramilitary Activities in and

Against Nicaragua (Nicaragua v. United States), 1986 I.C.J.

paras. 218 (“There is no doubt that, in the event of

international armed conflicts, these rules also constitute a

minimum yardstick, in addition to the more elaborate rules

which are also to apply to international conflicts; and they are

rules which ... reflect... ‘elementary considerations of

humanity’”), 255 (is included in “general principles of

humanitarian law ... in the context of armed conflicts,

alte

whether international in character or not”); The Prosecutor v.

Delalic, IT-96-21-A, Judgment (Appeals Chamber,

International Criminal Tribunal for Former Yugoslavia

(ICTY), 20 Feb. 2001), at paras. 143, 150, reprinted in 40

I.L.M. 630 (2001); The Prosecutor v. Tadic, IT-94-1-AR72

(Appeals Chamber, ICTY, Oct. 2, 1995), para. 102 (“The

International Court of Justice has confirmed that these rules

reflect ‘elementary considerations of humanity’ applicable

under customary international law to any armed conflict,

whether it is of an internal or international character.

(Nicaragua Case [1986 1.C.J.], at para. 218). Therefore, at

least with respect to the minimum rules in common Article 3,

the character of the conflict is irrelevant.”), reprinted in 35

I.L.M. 32 (1996); The Prosecutor v. Tadic, Decision on the

Defense Motion on Jurisdiction (Trial Chamber, ICTY, 10

Aug. 1995), paras. 65, 67, 74; Abella v. Argentina, Case

11,137, Inter-Am. C.H.R., paras. 155-56, OEA/ser.L/V.97,

doc. 38 (1997). Moreover, the same rights and duties are

mirrored in Article 75 of Geneva Protocol |, a treaty

provision that is also customary international law universally

applicable during any international armed conflict. See, e.g.,

Taft, supra note 2, at 321-22; Paust, Detainees, supra, at 817

n.19, 818 & n.27.

The statement of the Court of Appeals that members of al

Qaeda could not be protected by Geneva law because al

Qaeda is not a party to the 1949 Geneva Conventions is in

fundamental error. Cf Williams, J., concurring. Whenever

the Conventions apply to certain armed conflicts (such as

those in Afghanistan and Iraq) all persons in the area are

protected under various articles in the Conventions whether

or not they are members of some group that cannot ratify

treaties or be at war. See, e.g., Paust, Detainees, supra, at

816-21, 829-30; Taft, supra note 2, at 321-22. Further,

members of al Qaeda are most likely nationals of various

parties to the Conventions and are thus protected.

Additionally, the Conventions reflect customary international

-14-

law that is universally applicable and protects all human

beings found in a theater of war or occupied territory

according to the terms of various articles. If the Court of

Appeals had been correct that laws of war do not apply to al

Qaeda, they could not be prosecuted for war crimes and even

U.S. military commissions in Afghanistan or Iraq are

necessarily without jurisdiction. This is, however,

fundamental error. Kadic recognized the application and

judicial enforcement of common Article 3 even though

Bosnian Serbs could not ratify the Geneva Conventions.

Karadzic has also been indicted by the ICTY for violations of

Geneva law. See, e.g., Paust et al., /nternational Criminal

Law, at 88-99. Linder is similar with respect to the liability

of the Contras. In this sense, rights and duties under Geneva

law are concomitant. Also, “private contractors” in Iraq have

rights and duties under Geneva law even though their

companies cannot ratify treaties.

The President's Military Order and DOD rules for

military commissions assure denial of the customary and

treaty-based human rights to trial before a regularly

constituted, competent, independent, and impartial court;’ to

*See, e.g, Jordan J. Paust, Antiterrorism Military Commissions: The Ad

Hoc DOD Rules of Procedure, 23 Mich. J. Int'l L. 677, 687-88 (2002)

{hereinafter Paust, DOD Rules); A. Christopher Bryant & Carl Tobias,

Quirin Revisited, 2003 Wis. L. Rev. 309, 360-61 (2003); Mark A.

Drumbl, Victimhood in Our Neighborhood Terrorist Crime, Taliban

Guilt, and the Asymmetries of the International Legal Order, 81 N.C. L.

Rev. 1, 10-12, 58-59 (2002); Harold Hongju Koh, The Case Against

Military Commissions, 96 Am. J. Int'l L. 337, 338-39 (2002); Detlev F.

Vagts, Which Courts Should Try Persons Accused of Terrorism”, 14 Eur.

J. Int'l L. 313, 322 (2003); see also Norman Abrams, Anti-Terrorism and

Criminal Enforcement 330-31 (2003), Michal R. Belknap, A Putrid

Pedigree The Bush Administration's Military Tribunals in Historical

Perspective, 38 Cal. W.L. Rev. 433 (2002); Justice Sandra Day

O'Connor, Vindicating the Rule of Law The Role of the Judiciary, 2

Chinese J. Int'l L. 1, 3-4 (2003) (quoting the Declaration of Rights of the

=

review by a competent, independent, and impartial court of

law;° and to various other human rights, including freedom

from discrimination on the basis of national origin (since

only aliens will be subject to prosecution before the military

commissions), rights to equality of treatment and equal

protection, and “denial of justice” to aliens.’ Such rights are

Massachusetts Constitution, art. 29, which “framed by John Adams,

boldly declares, ‘It is the right of every citizen to be tried by judges as

free, impartial and independent as the lot of humanity will admit,”” and

adding: “Individual judicial independence is necessary if each case is to

be resolved on its own merits, according to the facts and the law.”).

*See, e.g., Paust, Military Commissions, supra, at 11 (U.S. Exec. Country

Reports addressing this violation of fundamental human rights), 15 &

n.34, 22-23; Paust, DOD Rules, supra, at 678-81, 685-86. The

Executive’s military “Review Panel” may not overturn a conviction,

reverse or amend a decision, or order dismissal or release of the person

(or order anything else), because it bound to “either (a) forward the case

to the Secretary of Defense with a recommendation as to disposition, or

(b) return the case to the Appointing Authority for further proceedings” if

a majority of the panel decides that “a material error of law occurred.”

Military Commission Order No. | (Mar. 21, 2002), § 6(H)(4), available

at http://www.defenselink.mil/news/Mar

2002/d20020321ord.pdf. Further, only one member of the panel must be

a lawyer, since only one member must “have experience as a judge,” and

no member of the pane! must have been a judge with expertise in the laws

of war, international law more generally, or criminal law more generally.

See id. § 6(H)(4). The final “decision” in such a “review” and

“recommendation” system will be made by the Secretary of Defense or

the President. /d. § 6(H)(2), (6). See also Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1, 36

n.66 (1957) (“Liberty can have nothing to fear from the judiciary alone,

but would have everything to fear from its union with either of the other

departments....”) (quoting Alexander Hamilton, The Federalist No. 78

(1788)).

"See, e. g., Paust, Military Commissions, supra, at 10-17; Paust, DOD

Rules, supra, at 678-85 (including impermissible discrimination on the

basis of national origin, denial of equal access to courts and to equality of

treatment and equal protection of the law, “denials of justice” in violation

of customary international law, and denial of the fundamental human

-16-

incorporated through common Article 3 of the Geneva

Conventions as minimum guarantees for any person detained

in any armed conflict, regardless of their status (e.g., as

combatants or noncombatants) and whether or not the due

process requirements are mirrored elsewhere in the

Conventions. See, e.g., GC, art. 3(1)(d); Paust, Judicial

Power, supra, at 511 n.27, 514 & n.32; Paust, DOD Rules,

supra, at 678 n.9. The same customary human rights are

incorporated into the requirements of Article 75(4) of

Protocol I.

Additionally, there are related points made about military

commission jurisdiction and due process in a 1970

Department of Defense, Office of the General Counsel, and

Department of the Army, OTJAG, Military Justice Study on

“Military Commissions,” cited in 23 Mich. J. Int’) L. 1, 2 n.7

(2001) and reproduced in an appendix in an amici brief

below and here from Professor (then U.S. Army Captain,

JAGC) Paust’s personal copy as an Appendix. In particular,

offenses must be committed within the convening authority’s

field of command (App. 1b, 3b, pt. I(A)); there is a need “to

the greatest degree possible” to approximate a civilian court

(App. 7b, pt. I(C)); regarding trial procedures, “[b]oth logic

and precedent indicate that a lesser standard [than that for

courts-martial] for military commissions would not be

constitutionally permissible” (App. 12b, pt. V(A)); “the

procedures adopted should provide every safeguard which an

accused would be entitled to in a court-martial or a Federal

district court” (App. 14b, pt. V(A)); and “rules shouid, as far

as practicable, conform with the rules of evidence generally

recognized in the trial of criminal cases in Federal district

courts” (App. 1 8b, pt V(E)).

right to fair, meaningful and effective judicial review of the propriety of

detention).

a *

III. A Violation of the Separation of Powers

Third, a serious violation of the separation of powers

exists with respect to the attempt by the President in his 2001

Military Order to preclude any judicial review of U.S.

military commission decisions concerning offenses against

the laws of war and other international crimes over which

there is concurrent jurisdictional competence in federal

district courts. See U.S. Dep’t Defense, Military

Commission Order No. |, i, § 7(B)(1)-(2); see also id. §§ 6 H

(4)-(6), 7 B. He cannot do so lawfully. See, e.g., Paust,

Military Commissions, supra, at 10-11, 15; Paust, Judicial

Power, supra, at 518-24. Additionally, under Article |,

Section 8, clause 9 of the United States Constitution,

Congress merely has power “[t]o constitute Tribunals inferior

to the Supreme Court” and, thus, tribunals subject to ultimate

control by the Supreme Court. See James E. Pfander,

Federal Courts: Jurisdiction-Stripping and the Supreme

Court's Power to Supervise Inferior Tribunals, 78 Tex. L.

Rev. 1433, 1454-56 (2000); see also Article I, Section 8,

clause 14 of the United States Constitution (which gives

Congress the authority to make rules for the government of

the land and naval forces). For this reason, the congressional

authorization for creation of military commissions in 10

U.S.C. § 821 is necessarily subject to the constitutional

restraint contained in Article 1, Section 8, clause 9 and the

President’s attempt to preclude any form of judicial review is

constitutionally improper whether or not a_ military

commission has support in a_ general congressional

authorization. The Supreme Court has already recognized

the propriety of habeas review concerning detention at

Guantanamo. Rasul v. Bush, 542 U.S. 466 (2004); see also

Paust, Judicial Power, supra, at 517 & n.47, 519-20 n.67.

-18-

CONCLUSION

Military commissions are “war courts” and their

jurisdiction is limited in terms of context and time to a

circumstance of actual war and in terms of place to an actual

theater of war or a _ war-related occupied territory.

Guantanamo, Cuba is not in a theater of war or war-related

occupied territory and, thus, a military commission situated

there does not have lawful jurisdiction. Second, some of the

present DOD rules of procedure and instructions for military

commissions do not comply with international law, which is

constitutionally-based supreme law of the United States

binding on the President and the courts. Since their use

would be unlawful, trial! in the military commissions

presently constituted would be without lawful authority. In

particular, the President’s Military Order unlawfully attempts

to preclude the fundamental right to trial in a regularly

constituted, competent, independent, and impartial court; and

to review by a competent, independent, and impartial court of

law. This alone obviates any lawful authority that the

military commission process might have.

Third, a serious violation of separation of powers exists

because the military commissions at Guantanamo do not

comply with Article 1, Section 8, clause 9 of the U‘S.

Constitution, which requires that tribunals be constituted

“inferior to the supreme Court” and, thus, subject to its

ultimate control. For this reason alone, the military

commissions are unlawfully constituted.

In view of these three independent reasons why the

military commissions do not have lawful jurisdiction, it is not

in the interest of the U.S. to allow individuals to be brought

before an_ illegally constituted and unconstitutional

commission and defendant should not have to endure an

illegal process in an unlawful commission without

jurisdiction.

-19-

Amici curiae International Law Professors request that

the Supreme Court reverse the decision of the Court of

Appeals.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of amici,

Linda A. Malone*

Marshall Wythe Foundation Professor of

Law and Director of the Human

Rights and National Security Law

Program

College of William and Mary

613 S. Henry Street, Suite NW 240

Williamsburg, VA 23185

(757) 221-3844

Jordan J. Paust

Mike and Teresa Baker Law Center

Professor

University of Houston Law Center

100 Law Center

Houston, TX 77204

(713) 743-2177

*Counsel of Record for Amici Curiae

DATED: JANUARY 5, 2006

-—la—

APPENDIX A

LIST OF AMICI

M. Cherif Bassiouni is Distinguished Research Professor of

Law and President of the International Human Rights Law

Institute at DePaul University College of Law.

Nathaniel Berman is Professor of Law at the Brooklyn Law

School.

Richard B. Bilder is Foley &-Lardner-Bascom Emeritus

Professor of Law at the University of Wisconsin Law School.

Carolyn Patty Blum is Clinical Professor of Law Emeritus at

the University of California, Berkeley School of Law.

Benjamin Davis is Associate Professor of Law at the

University of Toledo College of Law.

Daniel H. Derby is Professor of Law and Director of

International Programs at Touro College Jacob D. Fuchsberg

Law Center.

Mark A. Drumbl is Ethan Allen Faculty Fellow and

Associate Professor of Law at Washington & Lee University

School of Law.

Brian J. Foley is Assistant Professor of Law at Florida

Coastal School of Law.

Diane Geraghty is Professor of Law at Loyola University,

Chicago, School of Law.

Peter Krug is Professor of Law & Herman G. Kaiser

Foundation Chair in International Law at the University of

Oklahoma Law Center.

—2a-—

Bert Lockwood is Distinguished Service Professor and

Director of the Urban Morgan Institute for Human Rights at

the University of Cincinnati School of Law.

Thomas McDonnell is Professor of Law at Pace University

School of Law.

Jennifer Moore is Professor of Law at the University of New

Mexico Schoo! of Law.

Makau Mutua is Professor of Law at the State University of

New York at Buffalo School of Law.

Jerry E. Norton is Professor of Law at Loyola University,

Chicago, School of Law.

Hari M. Osofsky is Visiting Assistant Professor at the

University of Oregon School of Law.

Cesare P.R. Romano is Assistant Director, Project on

International Courts and Tribunals at New York University.

Leila Nadya Sadat is Henry H. Oberschelp Professor of Law

at Washington University School of Law.

Lowell Schechter is Professor of Law at Northern Kentucky

University, Chase College of Law.

Andrea K. Schneider is Professor of Law at Marquette

University Law School.

Edward F. Sherman is Moise S. Steeg, Jr. Professor at Tulane

University School of Law.

Nadine Strossen is Professor of Law at New York Law

School and President of the American Civil Liberties Union.

A. Dan Tarlock is Distinguished Professor of Law at

Chicago-Kent College of Law.

Daniel C. Turack is Professor of Law at Capital University

Law School.

—3a—

Connie de la Vega is Professor of Law and Academic

Director of International Programs at the University of San

Francisco School of Law.

Gabriel Wilner is Professor of International Law at the

University of Georgia School of Law.

Edieth Y. Wu is Associate Dean and Professor of Law at

Thurgood Marshall School of Law.

TABLE OF CONTENTS FOR APPENDIX B

|

Vi.

Page(s)

Establishment of a Military Commission..... 1b

Selecting the Convening Authority .............. Ib

Procedure for Convening the Commission...5b_ -

Composition of the Commission.................. 7b

Filing of Charges and Specifications............ 8b

Apprehension and Imposition of Restraint,.. 9b

Pretrial Investigation ................cssscessesseees Llb

IN sicscinesnsccnsrinininiiectiicinssinasinni 12b

Trial in general statutory and constitutional

limitations; precedents.........:...cseseceeeeeeees 12b

Counsel; who prosecutes, defends.............. 14b

Power to subpoena witnesses .................00. 16b

Granting of immunity ................cccceceeseeeeees 17b

Rules of evidence........sccssccsssesessssesssseeeesseees 18b

Limitations on sentencing power................ 19b

SEALE Ae nena TCT TORRE 22b

VIL.

Use of the Regular Military Review

RITRRIID onc csecsetcensrsonsnetonnatineiioniistanaionanetine 22b

Special Review System. .........csesseseeseeees 25b

Review by Convening Authority Alonc.....26b

Execution of Sentences ...........ccccccceeeseseeeees 27b

APPENDIX B

MILITARY COMMISSIONS

PREPARED BY D.A. JAGO, MJ AND JAG SCHOOL &

GEN. COUNSEL OFFICE (1970)

I. Establishment of a Military Commission

A. Selecting the Convening Authority

Traditionally, military commissions have been

established by military commanders to try offenses which

were committed both (1) within a theater of war and (2)

within the convening authority's field of command. Winthrop

836-37. Thus, for example, the American commander in the

Philippines convened the military commission in the

Yamashita case in order to try Japanese prisoners of war for

offenses committed within his jurisdiction. Jn re Yamashita,

327 U.S. 1, 9-10 (1946). The Court in that case noted that the

offenses involved were committed within the Philippines, the

conven~ing authority's field of command, and added that

military commissions “may be appointed by any field

commander, or by any commander competent to appoint a

general court martial....” 327 U.S. at 10.

In this case, a military commission could conceivably be

convened by an appropriate American commander in

Vietnam; in this way, the exact procedure used in Yamashita

and described in Winthrop could be followed. The trial

would have to be conducted in Vietnam, and the defendants

would have to be arrested in the United States and

transported abroad. Such an approach is not entirely without

precedent; a companion case to Yamashita involved a former

Japanese officer who was arrested in Japan and brought to

-2b-

the Philippines for trial. Homxna v. Patterson, 327 U.S. 759

762n. 4 (1946). Trial in Vietnam would also dispense some

of the arguments which would be raised under Ex parte

Milligan, 4 Wall. (71 U.S.) 2 (1866), since no American

civilian courts would be open and functioning in the area

whore the trial was held. See Winthrop 836.

There are, however, very good policy reasons for

conducting this particular trial within the United States. Trial

in Vietnam would require the defendants to be arrested and

taken into a combat zone, far from home and far from many

of the witnesses they would wish to call in defense. It would

be an expensive proposition, both for the Government and

the defense, and conflicts with concurrent court-martial

proceedings in the United States might well develop. Since

the trials of the military personnel involved are taking place

within the United States, the Army would seem to be

imposing an unnecessary and discriminatory hardship on the

accused ex-soldiers. The press might argue that trial in an

isolated area was an attempt to discourage full reporting of

the events at trial. Moreover, given the hostility of the

Vietnamese Government to any trials arising out of the Son

My Incident, we could expect international complications to

arise from any decision to conduct proceedings within

Vietnamese territory. It should also be noted that United

States ex. Rel. v. Quarles, 350 U.S. 11 (1955), in which the

Supreme Court struck down an attempt to exert military

jurisdiction over civilians, involved an overseas trial

Thus, it would seem, preferable to depart from the typical

procedure and hold any military commission proceedings in

the United States. Such a decision on venue would, however,

Sharply limit the Army's flexibility in selecting the

appropriate convening authority. The language of both

Winthrop and of the Supreme Court in Yamashita indicates

that the convening authority must have held command

authority over tine area where the offense was committed. Ex

parte Quirin, 317 U.S. | (1942), which involved a military

-3b-

offense committed within the United States, is no exception.

There the President convened the military commission, 7

Fed. Reg, 5103 (1942), and he, as Commander-in-Chief,

certainly had command jurisdiction within the United States.

Moreover, the commander who convenes the military

commission ought to be one who ordinarily possesses

military justice responsibilities; the reference in Yamashita to

commanders competent to appoint general courts-martial

certainly makes this desirable. Finally, the convening

authority ought to have jurisdiction over the place where the

trial is held. This requirement is not only traditional in

military law; it also follows from the uniform practice in

regard to military commissions. Under Article 22 of the U.

C.M. J., the only general court martial convening authorities

who meet all those tests are the President and the Secretary

of the Army.

Historically, there is little precedent for actions by either

the President or the Secretary; almost all military

commissions have been convened by military commanders in

the field. The International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg

was, of course, established by executive-agreement among

the allied powers, but the subsequent trials conducted by the

United States alone were authorized by a military ordinance

signed by the four allied military commanders in occupied

Europe. T. Taylor, Final Report on the Nuremberg War

Crimes Trials 250 (1949).

Nevertheless, there is clear authority for action by the

President. Jn Ex parte Quirin, 317 U. S. | (1942), President

Roosevelt, utilizing both his statutory power and his

constitutional authority as President and Commander-in-

Chief, appointed a military commission consisting of seven

general officers to try a group of German saboteurs. 7 Fed.

Reg. 5103 (1942). A variant of this procedure was used after

the civil war to try Henry Wirz, the commandant of the

Confederate prison at Andersonville, Georgia. In that case

the Assistant Adjutant General convened the commission “by

—4b-

order of the President of the United States.” H. R. Ex. Doc.

23, 40th Cong., 2d Seas. (1866). The Wirz procedure was

also employed late in World War II when the President, by

order of January 11, 1945, authorized certain military

commanders to convene military commissions to try German

saboteurs. The commanders were to act “under the

supervision of the Secretary of War.”

Although the Secretary could conceivably act alone, the

Quirin, Wirz, and 1945 saboteurs precedents argue strongly

that it should be either the President himself or an official

acting under authority of a Presidential delegation who

convenes the military commission in this case. In any case,

the President would probably have to act to give clear

authority for the creation of any special procedural rules

which are thought necessary for this military commission. By

Article 36 of the Uniform Code of Military Justice, the

President is given the power to specify rules of procedure for

military commissions. The only currently effective

presidential exercise of this power is a brief statement found

in paragraph 2 of the Manual for Courts Martial. That

paragraph states that military commissions are to be “guided”

by the law and procedures applied by courts-martial, “subject

to any applicable rule of international law or to any

regulations prescribed by the President or by any other

competent authority. “Since it is not clear who a “competent

authority” might be in this case, it would be advisable to have

a clear presidential delegation as a basis for any special

procedural rules which needed to be promulgated. Action by

the President could also allow invocation of any inherent

power to appoint military commissions which the

Commander-in-Chief might possess, independent of a

statute. See Ex parte Quirin, 317 U.S. at 29.

For all these reasons, the best procedure would be to

convene the military commission either by order of the

President or under authority of a presidential delegation,

presumably to the Secretary of Defense or the Secretary of

-~Sb-

the Army but conceivably to a military commander within

the United States. Under Article 140 of the Uniform Code of

Military Justice, all of the President's authority is delegable.

If the delegation were to an official subordinate to the

Secretary of Defense, the actions of the delegated convening

authority could, under the precedent of the 1945 saboteur

case, be made subject to the “supervision” of any superior

official. Accordingly, it would be possible to delegate, by

executive order, the President's power to establish a military

commission and his power to specify the procedures the

commission is to utilize. The President's delegate could then

do what President Roosevelt did in Quirin -- name the

members of the commission, define its jurisdiction, and

specify certain essential procedural points. The President's

delegate should probably specify that the defendants should

be accorded all substantive rights possessed by defendants

tried by general court-martial, and that the commission could

devise only those necessary additional procedures for which

no guiding precedent can be found in court martial practice.

B. Procedure for Convening the Commission

Assuming that the commission is to be convened under

_ the authority of the President, the first step would be the

issuance of an Executive Order authorizing the Secretary of

the Army (or other delegate) to convene a military

commission to try former military personnel for offenses

against the law of war; the order could be in general terms, or

it could be limited to offenses alleged to have been

committed at Son My. The order would cite as authority the

President’s power as Commander-in-Chief, Articles 18-21,

36, and 140 of the Uniform Code of Military Justice, and

perhaps Article 22 which makes the President a general court

martial convening authority). It would delegate both the

power to convene the commission and the power to specify

its procedures in accordance with Article 36 of the Code.

Redelegation would be permitted, citing Article 140.

~6b-

An alternative would be to follow the practice used in

Quirin and to have the Executive Order specify the

membership of the commission, the essential procedural

points, and the names of the defendants. This procedure has

several drawbacks. First, it would unnecessarily involve the

White House in many detailed questions about the

composition and organization of the tribunal in which the

President would undoubtedly have no interest. Second, it

would, by specifying the names of the defendants, rule out

the conduct of a pretrial investigation analogous to that

required for courts-martial by Article 32 of the Code. Third,

it would make the President the convening authority and

would involve him in a number of trial matters -- such as

determining the propriety of confinement and reviewing the

record -- which he would undoubtedly prefer to have handled

by others. The preferable procedure would be a brief

Executive Order delegating authority.

If such a brief order were issued giving the Secretary

power to act as the President’s delegate, the Secretary should

immediately issue an order convening the commission,

specifying its jurisdiction and authority, and naming its

members. The order would state that the commission would

meet at a specified place at such future time as charges

should be referred to it. Such action would be necessary to

give the commission at least de jure existence prior to

charging or apprehending the defendants; it would allow the

defendants to sue for a writ of habeas corpus immediately

upon being placed under restraint, and it might result in a

pretrial judicial determination on the question of jurisdiction.

Such an early decision on the jurisdictional question would

seem to be in the interest of both the Government and the

defendants. The Secretary's order would specify any

important procedural questions (such as the way the

commission will receive cases and the type of review to be

given its decision) and would redelegate to the commission

the powers to devise those necessary additional procedures

-Tb-

for which no guiding precedent can be found in court-martial

practice.

C. Composition of the Commission

According to Winthrop, there are no limitations at all

upon the composition of military commissions; any number

of members, military or civilian, may be chosen by the

convening authority. Ordinarily, however, commissions --

like courts-martial -- consists of military officers senior in

rank to any defendants. Winthrop 835-36. The commission

in Quirin consisted of seven officers; in Yamashita, it

consisted of five; in the Civil War trial of Clement

Vallandigharn, there were nine officers on the court, and the

same number was used in the Wirz trial immediately after the

war. The American occupation courts in Germany after

World War II, which the Supreme Court treated as military

commissions in Madsen v. Kinsella, 343 U.S. 341 (1952),

consisted of three American civilians, two “judges” and one

“magistrate.” Jd. at 344. Winthrop notes that “a commission

of a single member would be as strictly legal as would be one

of thirteen members. “ Winthrop 835.

In this case, two important considerations will affect any

decision about the composition of the tribunal. First, the

com~mission should be constituted in a manner which will

not give rise to the argument that the defendant has been

deprived of any important rights by the use of a military

commission rather than a general court martial. Second, the

commission ought to be organized in a way which will

counteract, to the greatest degree possible, the argument that

the defendants have sacrificed crucial rights by being

deprived of a trial before a civilian court. The first

consideration argues for appointing a court of at least five

members, including an analogue of a military judge, and for

giving the parties challenges to members of the court to at

least the same degree as would be allowed in a trial before a

general court martial. The second consideration gives rise to

-8b-

more difficult problems. Lacking the power to compel jury

service, it would be impossible to impanel a randomly

selected group of jurors as part of the commission. However,

members of the panel ought to be chosen in a way which will

not give rise to the argument that it has been “stacked”

against the defendants. Although military personnel certainly

ought to be included to insure some degree of expertise in

military law and in the realities of the battlefield, thought

should certainly be given to including on the panel civilian

members or activated reservists who are not closely tied in

the public eye with the military. Although the “judge” or

presiding officer should be experienced in military law,

nonmilitary jurists or even laymen might well be included on

the panel. Inclusion on the panel of persons not on active

military duty will also lessen the impact of any “command

influence” arguments which could result from having the

commission convened under the authority of the President

and the Secretary.

Il. Filing of Charges and Specifications

According to Winthrop, the ordinary practice in regard to

charges and specifications for offenses triable by military

commission is “precisely as in the court martial practice.”

Winthrop 842. Article 30 of the Uniform Code of Military

Justice, which governs charges and specifications, is not

limited in effect to court-martial offenses, and may govern

military commissions as well. It requires the signing of

charges and specifications, under oath, by a person subject to

military law, and states that the signer must declare both that

he has personal knowledge of, or has investigated, the

matters set forth and that the charges are true in fact to the

best of his knowledge and belief. Article 30 also incorporates

a requirement that the person accused be informed of the

charges against him “as soon as practicable.” In the Quirin

case, for example, the charges and specifications were signed

-9b-

by a colonel the day after the commission was convened, and

were attested by The Judge Advocate General.

In order to comply with the traditional practice of

military commissions, with Article 30 of the U. C. M. J., and

with the notice requirements imposed by the Due Process

clause of the Fifth Amendment, charges and specification

ought to be drafted, signed, attested, and served shortly after

the convening of the commission; the same procedure

utilized for courts-martial should be employed. Presumably,

the evidence developed by the CID would be referred to a

disinterested officer, and the charges and his report and

recommendations would be referred to the convening

authority for action.

II]. | Apprehension and Imposition of Restraint,

The sections of the Uniform Code of Military Justice

governing “apprehension” and “imposition of restraint,

“articles 7 and 9, state specifically that they apply both to

persons ordinarily subject to the Code and tothose “subject to

trial thereunder. “This latter category appears to apply to

persons, not ordinarily subject to military law, who are

triable in a military tribunal for violation of the law of war.

Hence, the Code seems clearly to authorize apprehension and

restraint of persons subject to trail by military commission.

Article 7 governs “apprehension. “ It allows a person to

be apprehended, or taken into custody, “upon reasonable

belief that an offense has been committed and that the person

apprehended has committed it.” Paragraph 19 of the Manual

for Courts Martial, which also applies to all persons subject

to trial under the Code, authorizes all commissioned,

noncommis ‘ioned, and warrant officers to effect such

apprehensions.

—10b-

The provisions governing the imposition of restraint are

slightly more complicated. Under the Code, arrest is defined

as moral restraint imposed by oral or written orders;

confinement is physical restraint. Article 9 specifically

grants authority for either the arrest of the confinement of

civilians subject to trial under the Code. It states, however,

that a civilian subject to trial under the Code may be ordered

into arrest or confinement only upon order of “a commanding

officer to whose authority is subject.” Although it is not

altogether clear who the “commanding officer” would be in

the case of civilians not serving with a military organization,

it would probably be safe to assume that, in this context, the

proper person would be the authority convening the military

commission. Article 9(c), the relevant subsection, also

declares that the authority to order civilians into arrest or

confinement may not be delegated. Hence, the convening

authority would have to sign any arrest or confinement orders

personally.

Article 10, which discusses the type of restraint which is

appropriate in certain cases, for some reason is limited in

effect to those persons “who are charged with an offense

under the Code. Hence, it would be inapplicable to this

situation. However, Article 9 does provide adequate authority

for the arrest or confinement of all persons, subject to trial by

a military court, and such power has traditionally been

exercised in commission cases. Although there is no absolute

requirement that civilian defendants before a military

commission be ordered into either arrest or confinement, in

order to assure presence at trial, it might well be wise to

“arrest” persons to be tried before the commission and

subject them to the “moral restraint” of an order not to leave

the country and to appear at the time set for trial. More

onerous restraints probably would be unnecessary, especially

since no similar precautions were taken when military

personnel were charged for offenses committed at Son My.

—l1b—

IV. Pretrial Investigation

The available records disclose no military commission

case in which a formal pretrial investigation, such as that

required for general courts-martial by Article 32 of the

Uniform Code of Military Justice, was conducted. Usually

charges have been referred directly to the military

commission by the convening authority. In fact, President

Roosevelt's order of January 11, 1945, which authorized the

trial by military commission of German saboteurs,

specifically stated that pretrial investigations were not to be

required. Since Article 32 is limited in effectto general

courts-martial, there is clearly no statutory requirement

involved.

Nevertheless, prudence would seem to require that some

sort of pretrial investigation be ordered. First, omitting this

procedural step would give rise to the argument that the

defendants were being deprived of an important protection by

ordering trial by military commission rather than trial by

general court-martial. Second, a formal pretrial investigation

can be an important device for insulating the convening

authority from the process of analyzing and refining the

charges. Giving this task to an investigating officer will make

the process more objective and less subject to the charge that

the trials are politically motivated.

Accordingly, it would probably be best to appoint a

disinterested investigating officer and to proceed with a

pretrial investigation just as would be required by Article 32.

After the pretrial investigation, the convening authority

should refer the charges to the appropriate legal officer for

consideration and advice. Paragraph 35 of the Manual for

Courts-Martial states that if the Secretary is the convening

authority, advice should be sought from The Judge Advocate

General. After receiving the prope: legal advice and the

report of the investigating officer, the convening authority

~12b-

would then refer any appropriate charges to the commission

for trial.

V. Trial procedure

A. Trial in general statutory and constitutional

limitations; precedents

It is well settled that the mandate of section 2 of Article

III of the Constitution that the “Trial of all crimes. . . shall be

by Jury” is not applicable in cases which “arise in the land

and naval forces” if military jurisdiction is asserted within

the constitutional authority to discipline the active military

services or to provide for trial of military offenses against the

law of nations, Compare U.S. Const. Art, 1, sec, 8, cl. 14,

with U. S. Const. Art. 1, sec. 8, cl 10, and Ex parte Quirin,

317 U. S. 1, 40 (1942). But the specific protections of the

Bill of Rights, unless made inapplicable to military trials b

the Constitution itself, have been held applicable to courts-

martial. Burns v. Wilson, 346 U.S. 137, 142 (1953); United

States v. Jacoby, 11 USCMA 428, 29 CMR (1960); United

States v. Tempia, 16 USCMA 629, 37 CMR 249 (1967);

United States v. Bearchilld, 17 USCMA 598, 38 CMR 396

(1968). Both logic and precedent indicate that a lesser

standard for military commissions would not be

constitutionally permissible. In this regard, Winthrop stated:

“Military commissions. . . are commonly conducted

according to the rule and forms governing courts-martial...

[T]heir proceedings...will not be rendered illegal by the

omission of details required upon trials by courts-

martial....But, as a general rule, and as the only safe and

satisfactory course for the rendering of justice to both parties,

a military commission will-like a court-martial--permit and

pass upon objections interposed to members. . . will formally

arraign the prisoner, allow the attendance of counsel,

~13b-

entertain special pleas. . . receive all material evidence...hear

argument, find and sentence after adequate deliberation,

render to the convening authority a fully authenticated record

of its proceedings, and...be governed. . . by established rules

of and principles of law and evidence.”

Winthrop, Military Law and Precedents. 1920, at 843.

For a similar analysis see Weiner, A Practical Manuel of

Military Law, 1940, at 122. Congress has not established any

procedures which are specifically made applicable to military

commissions, but Article 21 Uniform Code of Military

Justice (10 U.S.C. 821), which grants military commissions

concurrent jurisdiction with courts-martial, can be considered

as a congressional approval of the long established practice

of tailoring commissions to fit the procedures used in courts-

martial. This position is buttressed by the fact that Congress

directed the President to establish procedures for courts-

martial or other military tribunals which follow, to the extent

practicable, the principles of law and the rules of evidence

generally followed in United States district courts. Article 36

UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 836. It did not indicate that separate

procedures for military commissions were either needed or

desired.

In Re Yamashita, 327 U.S. 1 (1946), could however, be

cited for the proposition that the due process clause of the

Fifth Amendment is not applicable to military commissions.

In that case, the-majority stated that “Congress by

sanctioning trials of enemy aliens by military commission for

offenses against the law of war had recognized the right of

the accused to make a defence” 327 U.S. at 9. The court

refused to consider what else the Fifth Amendment might

require, and it held that a number of statutory safeguards set

forth in the Articles of War were not applicable even though

they would have been controlling in a trial by court-martial.

But Justice Murphy in a strong dissent, stated that “the

failure of the military commission to obey the dictates of the

due process requirements of the Fifth Amendment is apparent

-14b-

in this case.” 327 U.S. at 27. His view would seem to present

the better reasoned approach, particularly in view of the

expanded scope which the Supreme Court has given over the

past decade to those fundamental rights which the due

process clause guarantees to all criminal defendants.

Furthermore, due process has been‘ judicially defined as

encompassing those fundamental principles of liberty,

justice, and fairness which lie at the base of all of our civil

and political institutions, and this concept demands that

criminal liability be adjudicated by trial rather than

inquisition. See, e.g., Palko v. Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319

(1937). Although the minimal requirements for the

procedures which the trial must follow will depend on what

the courts have determined to be essential elements of

fundamental fairness, the procedures adopted should provide

every safeguard which an accused would be entitled to in a

court-martial or a Federal district court. This position would

enhance the likelihood of overcoming a defendant's

objections that the commission lacked jurisdiction, and it

would further the Government's obligation to prosecute

persons who offend the law of war without detracting from

its equally important responsibility of conducting criminal

trials consonant with the protections of the Bill of Rights.

B. Counsel; who prosecutes, defends

It is now settled that the Sixth Amendment's guarantee of

counsel is one of the provisions of the Bill of Rights which is

fundamental and essential to a fair trial. Gideon vy.

Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1.963). Of course, due process

also dictates that a defendant be allowed the assistance of Is

own attorney. Chandler v. Fretag, 3418 U.S. 3 (1954);

Ferguson v. Georgia, 365 U.S. 570 (1961); Pewell v.

Alabama, 287 U.S. 45 (1932). Accordingly, all defendants in

Federal district court are entitled to be represented by counsel

of their choice if such counsel are admitted 12 practice before

that particular court (there is no uniform Tule governing the

-15b-

procedure by which practitioners may be admitted for a

single case, but it is generally accomplished by a pro-forma

motion), and all indigent defendants are entitled to free

counsel appointed by the court. Rule 44, Federal Rules of

Criminal Procedure. Defendants before a general court-

martial fare even better as they are entitled to be represented

by any counsel of their choice who is a member of the bar of

a Federal court or the highest court of a State, and they are

also entitled to a free appointed counsel whether or not they

are indigent. Article 27(b), Uniform Code of Military Justice

(10 U.S.C. 827).

The Constitution would thus, require that counsel be

provided for any indigent tried by a military commission, and

that all defendants be allowed to select counsel at their own

expense from the ranks of any State or Federal bar. Although

not required, it would probably be wise to provide free

appointed counsel for all defendants whether or not they

were indigent as a failure to do so would discriminate

between those tried by court-martial and others tried by

commission. It night also open the door to charges that we

treat war prisoners more favorably than our own people, as

the 1949 Geneva Prisoners' Convention provided that all

prisoners of war tried by the host country arc entitled to free

counsel. Furthermore, providing free counsel for all

defendants, indigent or otherwise, seems to have been the

practice which was followed in the past. See Weiner, supra,

at 842. But see Vallandigham Trial and Habeas Corpus,

1863, for report of a civil war case where defendant

represented himself in a case which was prosecuted by a JAG

officer, See the Trial of Henry Wirz, \867, for a trial by

military commission where the accused was defended by

counsel of his choice,

Thus, President Roosevelt appointed two judge advocate

officers to defend Quirin (one of the German saboteurs tried

by military commission in 1942) and he appointed the

Attorney General and The Judge Advocate General to handle

—16b-—

the prosecution. Jn the Yamashita case, supra, the prosecution

was not quite as formidable (General McArthur directed the

convening authority to proceed with the trial and it is

assumed that a JAG officer handled the prosecution) but

General Yamashita was defended by no less than six JAG

officers whose defense effort was praised by the Supreme

Court. Jn Re Yamashita, 327 U.S. at 5.

There does not seem to be any limitations on who may be

appointed for the defense or prosecution other than the

obvious limitations that the men selected should be qualified

trial attorneys and should not have any conflicting interests.

Of course, the nature of the proceedings and precedent would

indicate that at least some of the men appointed for both the

prosecution and the defense should be members of the

military.

C. Power to subpoena witnesses

Article 46, Uniform Code of Military Justice (10 U.S.C.

846) provides in substance that the power of courts-martial to

compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of

other evidence shall be similar to that of Federal district

courts, and shall run to any part of the United States,

territories, commonwealths, and possessions. Although

Article 46 addresses itself only to the power of the courts-

martial to issue subpoenas, Article 47 (10 U.S.C. 847)

provides a criminal sanction for any person who fails to

appear, after being subpoenaed to appear, as a witness before

a “court-martial, military commission, court of inquiry, or

any other military court or board... i. (emphasis

supplied). It thus appears that military commissions may

compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of

other evidence, But the legislative history of the Code is

silent as to why Congress chose to define the limits to which

court-martial process may run without also defining the

limits of process issued by other military tribunals. The

geographic limits of process issued by a military commission

-17b-

are, accordingly, a matter open to speculation. Of course,

Article forty-seven's parity treatment of military

commissions and courts-martial lends great weight to the

proposition that the process of military commissions is at

least equal to and concurrent with that of courts-martial. It

can also be argued that process in the instant case would run

world wide as an inherent attribute of the fact that the crime

to be tried is an offense against the law of nations--an offense

without territorial! limitation--and the fact that the convening

authority's “field of command” extends world wide. If

Congress has provided the convening authority with the

responsibility for prosecuting these offenses, it must have

also intended to provide him with the means of

accomplishing the task.

D. Granting of immunity

Although a convening authority may not have an inherent

power to grant immunity from prosecution for offenses

committed against the United States, United States v. Ford,

99 U.S. 593 {1879), the power to grant immunity may be

authorized by statute. Brown v. Walker, 161 U.S. 591 (1896).

The Uniform Code of Military Justice has been construed as

empowering general court-martial convening authorities to

grant immunity from prosecution with respect to an offense

cognizable in military law. United States v Kirsch, 15

USCMA 84, 35 CMR 56 (1964). The court in Kirsch

reasoned that Congress had provided: that it was to be within

the discretion of proper authorities as to whether charges

would be referred to a military tribunal; that the President

could provide rules of evidence and procedure for military

tribunals; and that the decision to refer or not to refer charges

to trial was a matter which could be regulated by procedures

established by the President. It, therefore, interpreted the

provisions of the Manual for courts-martial which established

a convincing authority’s right to remove a case from trial as a

lawfully established means of granting immunity. The case

~18b-

also held that a convening authority's grant of immunity was

coextensive with the accused’s Fifth Amendment right

against self-incrimination and that it would bar a prosecution

in a civilian court. 15 USCMA at 97, 35 CMR at 69, citing

Murphy v. Waterfront Comm'n, 378 U.S. 52 (1964). The

current Manual provision is based on this case anted it

provides in pertinent part that “an authority competent to

order a person's trial by general court-martial may grant or

promise him immunity from trial,” Although it could be

argued that the foregoing provision is by its terms applicable

only to trial by court-martial, it should be noted that the

offenses in the instant case could also have been tried by

court-martial and that the Secretary of the Army (or other

‘convening authority) is competent to convene a general

court-martial. Furthermore, the President could delegate the

power to grant immunity to the convening authority in the

Executive Order establishing the military commission and

that action could be sustained, using the rationale of Kirsch,

as an exercise of the power delegated to him by Congress to

establish rules of evidence and procedure for military

commissions. It might also be sustained as a proper

invocation of the President's constitutional power to grant

pardons.

E. Rules of evidence

Congress has provided that the President shall prescribe

rules of evidence for trial of cases by court-martial or

military commission and that these rules should, as far as

practicable, conform with the rules of evidence generally

recognized in the trial of criminal cases in Federal district

courts. Article 36, UCMJ (10 U.S.C. 836), The President has

established detailed rules of evidence for courts-martial and

he has provided that military commissions will be guided by

these rules. Paragraphs 2, 137, MCM, 1969 (Rev.). Although

President Roosevelt directed that the military commissions

which tried General Yamashita and Mr. Quirin could admit

—19b-

such evidence as was probative in the mind of a reasonable

man, it would be difficult to argue that hearsay or other

arguable probative but objectionable evidence would be

permissible by “practicality.” Furthermore, the right to

confront witnesses is clearly fundamental to a fair trial, and it

is thus fairly clear that the hearsay rule (which exists

primarily to safeguard the right of confrontation) is a right

guaranteed by due process and thus required in a trial by

military commission irrespective of whether it is regarded as

a practical rule by the President. In any event, the most

expeditious and fair solution available would be to have the

President exercise his congressional! grant of authority (Art

36, UCM) by stating in the Executive Order establishing

the commission that the rules of evidence are set out in the

Manual shall govern. A further caveat could be added that

the Manual would not apply if 2 rule more favorable to the

accused were being followed im criminal prosecutions in

Federal district courts, but this might cause needless

confusion as the rules of evidence which are followed in

Federal! district court may not be uniform as they depend on

the law of the circuit in which the Federal district court is

located.

F. Limitations on sentencing power

Congress has provided that the punishment which is a

general court-martial may adjudge for an offence punishable

by the Code must be consonant with limits set by the Code or

by the President for that offense. Articles 18, 56, Uniform

Code of Military Justice (10 U.S.C, 818, 856). Congress and

the President have provided that the minimum punishment

for premeditated or felony-murder is life imprisonment.

Paragraph 127c, MCM, 1969 (Rev.); Article 118, Uniform

Code of Military Justice (10 U.S.C. 918). But Congress also

has stated that a general court-martial has jurisdiction to try

any person who by the law of war is subject to trial by a

military tribunal and the court may adjudge any punishment

~20b-

permitted by the law of war. Article 18, Uniform Code of

Military Justice 10 U.S.C. § 818). There is no reference to a

Presidentia! limitation on the sentencing power for offenses

against the law of war. Since a military commission's

jurisdiction is coextensive with that of a general court-martial

(Article 21), and Congress has not established a fixed

punishment for atrocities which are punishable by the law of

war, it may he concluded that a military commission could

impose any punishment authorized by the law of war

notwithstanding Presidential limitations concerning similar

offenses under the Code. Of course, it may be argued that the

convening authority has a right to limit the punishment which

may be adjudged as in inherent aspect of his power to create

the commission. Another basis for such power is that the

convening authority of a general court-martial need only

approve any part or amount of the sentence which is

adjudged. Article 64, UCMJ (10 U.S.C. 864).

Furthermore, the Articles of War in effect when Mr.

Quirin and General Yamashita were tried could also be

interpreted (although not as readily) as meaning that a

military commission could impose any punishment

authorized by the law of war without restriction, but an order

which established the commission which tried General

Yamashita provided that the convening authority could alter

the sentence and that a death sentence had to be approved by

General McArthur, the convening authority's superior. The

order, otherwise allowed the commission to impose any

sentence authorized by the law of war. The Executive Order

which convened the commission which tried Mr. Quirin and

the other German saboteurs provided only that a concurrence

of two-thirds of the commission was needed for a conviction

and that the record of trial would be directed to the President

for his action thereon. A military order signed by President

Roosevelt on 11 January 1945 providing for the

establishment of military commissions to try saboteurs also

provided that a two-thirds vote would be required, but it too

-21b-

failed to set out limits of punishment. 1945 Supp CPR 170.

In this regard, Congress has provided that in trials by court-

martial a unanimous vote is required for a death sentence, a

three-fourths vote for a sentence to confinement for more

than 10 years, and a two-thirds vote for all other sentences.

Article 52, Uniform Code of Military Justice (10 U.S.C.

852). Article of War 43, in effect during the Yamashita and

Quirin trials, also required a unanimous vote for a death

sentence, but it specifically mentioned sentences by court-

martial and it did not refer to sentences by other types of

military tribunals. Article 52 of the Uniform Code also refers

to questions to be decided by courts-martial, and it might

thus be contended that the limitations of Article 52 do not

apply to trial by military commissions. This would leave the

convening authority free to establish any voting requirement.

Of course, sentencing in Federal district court is done by the

judge and this alternative might be made part of the oder

convening the commission if Article 52 is determined to be

inapplicable.

It may be concluded that e military commission may

impose any punishment which is authorized by the law of

war. It would seem clear that a death sentence or life

imprisonment could be imposed for persons convicted of

mass murders as these punishments are in accord with

customary law of war for serious cases of unlawful

belligerency. Ex parte Quirin, supra, Wirz, supra. The

President or convening authority probably has the power to

set a maximum sentence which the commission may impose,

and the convening authority can probably set any voting

requirement, but these points are not free from doubt.

Accordingly, the most prudent approach would be to have the

Executive Order establishing the commission provide that the

commission may impose any sentence which is authorized by

the law of war and that the vote required should conform

with the Article 52 requirements for courts-martial. The

danger of an excessive punishment could be alleviated

~-22b-

through review procedures and provision that the

commission be guided by the maximum punishments for

analogous offenses under the Uniform Code.

VI. Review

A. Use of the Regular Military Review System

The review procedures set forth in the Uniform Code,

like their antecedents in the Articles of War, arc by their

terms applicable only to court-martial cases. The review

procedures of the Articles of War were, nonetheless, held to

be usable with respect to cases tried by military commission.

See Weiner at 112; Winthrop at 846; Dig. Op. J.A.G., 1912,

p. 1070. Accordingly, President Roosevelt in an Executive

Order of 11 January 1945 provided that record of trial by

military commission would be reviewed in accordance with

Article of War 50%, the predecessor of Article 66 of the

Uniform Code. Although Article of War 50% provided for

review of certain cases by a board of review, the functions of

those boards were somewhat different from practice under

the Code, and these differences may be pertinent in

considering whether precedent under the Articles of War is

still valid.

One prisoner convicted by a military commission

convened pur~suant to the 11 January 1945 order collaterally

attacked his conviction, alleging that the commission had

lacked jurisdiction to proceed against him. Denial of the

petition was affirmed by the Court of Appeals, but the court

did not discuss the efficacy of the review procedures used

after conviction. Colepaugh v. Looney, 235 F. 2d 429 (10

Cir. 1956).

The review procedures required for court-martial cases

tried under the Articles of War were not, however, adopted in

either the Quirin or the Yamashita case. \n Quirin the

~23b-

Executive Order that convened the commission provided

only that the record would be transmitted diretly to the

President for his action. Except for an unsuccessful collateral

attack, Ex parte Quirin 317 U.S. 1 (1942), review by the

convening authority was the extent of appellate review

afforded these accused. The record of General Yamashita’s

trial was directly reviewed by the convening authority, but a

provision in the order authorizing trial provided for

additional review by the convening authority’s superior in the

event that a sentence of death was adjudged. The concept of

limiting review to the convening authority is further

discussed in part C., post.

It has been held that both the Court of Military Appeals

and the U.S. Army Court of Military Appeals and the U. S.

Army Court of Military Review are “courts” of the United

States competent to issue all writs and orders necessary in aid

of their jurisdiction. United States v. Frischholz, 16 USCMA

150, 36 CMR 306 (1966); United States v. Draughhon, —__

CMR ___ (ABR 1970) The judicial power granted these

tribunals by Congress is limited, however, to the review of

court-martial cases under the ternis of Articles 66 and 67 if

the Uniform Code,10 U.S.C. §§ 866 and 867, and therefore

actions by military authority not involving “proceedings

before a court- martial” are beyond the scope of review of the

Court of Military Appeals and, perforce, the U.S. Army

Court of Military Review Mueller v. Brown, 18 USCMA

534, 40 CMR 246 (1969).

In view of the limitations of the jurisdiction of the regular

military appellate tribunals, it would not appear possible to

provide that the findings and sentence of a conviction by

military commission will be reviewed pursuant to Articles 66

and 67 of the Code; neither court could act in its limits

imposed upon it by Congress.

The review provided by Article of War 50 2, which was

used in some cases of trial by military commission, differed

~24b-

from that now provided in. Articles 66 and 67 of the

Uniform Code in several respects. Although both the Articles

of War and Article 66 of the Code (prior to enactment of the

Military Justice Act of 19G8) authorized creation of boards

of review to be manned by persons selected by The Judge

Advocate General, practice under the Articles of War did not

contemplate that boards of review would provide more than

recommendations. Boards of review under the Articles of

War did not purport to dispose of cases by their own action;

action by The Judge Advocate General or the President was

necessary to implement the conclusions of the boards. There

was no statutory provision in the Articles of War assuring the

independence of board members in their judicial capacity. In

short, those boards of review had few, if any, of the powers

and trappings that distinguish a court. Such status contrasts

with the status of the current appellate agencies, especially

since the Military Justice Act and its denomination of boards

of review as Courts of Military Review. It is unlikely that a

Court of Military Review would acquiesce to an argument

that it could be assigned duties beyond those of the statute

that created it.

It should be noted; however that it is the court, and not its

members, which has its functions limited by statute. It is not

unprecedented for judicial officers to be asked to serve in

some other official capacity on a pro hac basis. For example,

Mr. Justice Jackson was detailedto prosecute some of the

German war criminals at the Nuremberg Trials after World

War. Il, and Chief Justice Warren assented co lead a

commission which inquired into the assassination of

President Kennedy. Inasmuch as members of the L.S. Army

Court of Military Review are military officers subject to

assignment by The Judge Advocate General, there would not

appear to be any problems in having the record of trial by.

military commission reviewed by members of the Court of

Military Review, acting in their individual capacities and not

~25b-

as the court established by Congress in Article 66 of the

Uniform Code.

B. Special Review System.

Having concluded chat the jurisdiction of the U.S. Army

Court of Military Review and the Court of Military Appeals

is limited to court-martial cases, it appears that some other

provision must be made for review of convictions by military

commission. One method would be to create a system of

review chat approximates as closely as possible that used for

court-martial cases.

The only statutory material describing review of military

commissions is 10 U.S.C. § 3037(c)(3), which, requires The

Judge Advocate General to “receive, revise and have

recorded the proceedings of .., military commissions.” The

Judge Advocate General’s functions have, in this context,

been considered chiefly ministerial and advisory, with the

term “revise” imposing only a duty to assure that the record

is in proper form and not providing the authority to reverse a

decision. See Ex parte Mason, 256 Fed. 384 (C.C.A. N.Y.

1882).

Once The Judge Advocate General has, in accordance

with his statutory duty, received and perused the record, it

could be transmitted to members of the U.S. Army Court of

Military Review (or a panel of that court) to be reviewed as

would have been a court-martial case. If this procedure is

adopted, it should be specified that the powers of the

reviewing panel be similar with respect to action on findings

and sentence to those exercised by the Court of Military

Review in court-martial cases, lest resort to the military

commission appear to have resulted in fewer safeguards for

the accused than would have been present had the case been

referred to trial by court-martial

There does not appear to be any way that the record of

trial by military commission could be reviewed by the Court

~26b-

of Military Appeals or its judges. Unlike the appellate

military judges which constitute the U.S. Army Court of

Military Review, the judges of the Court of Military Appeals

have no military status and are not assigned by The Judge

Advocate General.

It should be noted that, in view of the seniority of the

convening authority proposed (I A, above), review by a panel

of appellate military judges should precede action by the

convening authority. Such a sequence would permit the

convening authority to take final action on the record after

review by the appellate military judges without having

prejudged the merits of any issues presented by the record.

C. Review by Convening Authority Alone

Although founded on precedent, limitation of review to

the convening authority would present several disadvantages

and might well sufiice alone to make any convictions

amenable to collateral attack. See Burns v, Wilson, 346 U.S.

137 (1953). Proper review by the convening authority alone,

even with the advice and recommendations of The Judge

Advocate General would require personal scrutiny of the

entirety of what might be a voluminous record. Limitation of

review to the individual who initially exercised prosecutorial

discretion by referring the charges to trial would be an

extreme departure from ‘the safeguards enjoyed by accused

before general courts-martial, and, indeed, would provide

fewer protections than those granted accused before special

and summary courts-martial, which must always be reviewed

by an authority superior to the convening authority. For these

reasons review by the convening authority alone does not

lend itself to adoption, let alone serious consideration, let

alone serious consideration.

-27b-

VII. Execution of Sentences

Conceptually, if the military commission has Jurisdiction

to proceed against an accused, it must also have the power to

invoke that jurisdiction to its logical conclusion. Article 58 of

the Uniform Code specifically alludes to courts-martial and

“other military tribunal(s) when it provides that sentences to

confinement may be executed in any penal institution under

the control of the United State;. Article 58, Uniform Code of

Military Justice, 10 US.C. § 858. Other provisions

concerning sentences are, however, limited by their terms to

court-martial cases and do not embrace the “other military

tribunals” which might adjudge sentences. See Articles 58a,

71, 76, Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. 88 856a,

871, 876.

The touchstone of the sentencing power is the question of

jurisdiction, however, and if jurisdiction is found the

execution of any sentence permitted by the law of war is

authorized by virtue of the judgment of the commission

itself. If it is lawful, that judgment provides the executive

with the authority to execute the sentence adjudged

notwithstanding the paucity of specific legislative enactments

concerning the methods by which such sentences are to be

executed.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.