Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rapanos v. United States

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

3)

CL) somone us

NO41 074 JAN 28 2008

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

+

JOHN A. RAPANOS; JUDITH A. NELKIE

RAPANOS; PRODO, INC.; ROLLING MEADOWS

HUNT CLUB; and PINE RIVER BLUFF ESTATES, INC.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

~>

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

——-

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

~~

GREGORY T. BRODERICK M. REED HOPPER

Of Counsel Counsel of Record

Pacific Legal Foundation ROBIN L. RIVETT

3900 Lennane Drive, Suite 200 Pacific Legal Foundation

Sacramento, California 95834 3900 Lennane Drive, Suite 200

Telephone: (916) 419-7111 Sacramento, California 95834

Facsimile: (916) 419-7747 Telephone: (916) 419-7111

Facsimile: (916) 419-7747

Counsel for Petitioners

Sa a aE ED TI a a OE ED

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does the Clean Water Act prohibition on unpermitted

discharges to “navigable waters” extend to nonnavigable

wetlands that do not even abut a navigable water?

2. Does extension of Clean Water Act jurisdiction to

every intrastate wetland with any sort of hydrological

connection to navigable waters, no matter how tenuous or

remote the connection, exceed Congress’ constitutional power

to regulate commerce among the states?

ii

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Prodo, Inc.; Rolling Meadows Hunt Club; and Pine River

Bluff Estates, Inc. are wholly owned by John A. Rapanos and

Judith A. Nelkie Rapanos. Petitioner companies have no parent

company and no publicly held company owns 10% or more of

Petitioners’ stock.

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND

REGULATORY PROVISIONS AT ISSUE .............

I. THERE IS A CONFLICT AMONG THE

CIRCUITS ABOUT WHETHER FEDERAL

JURISDICTION UNDER SECTION 404 OF

THE CLEAN WATER ACT EXTENDS TO

INTRASTATE, NONNAVIGABLE WETLANDS

THAT DO NOT ABUT A TRADITIONAL

NAVIGABLE WATER ..............-0-+5055:

ll. THE EXTENSION OF CLEAN WATER

ACT JURISDICTION TO EVERY

INTRASTATE WETLAND WITH ANY

SORT OF HYDROLOGICAL CONNECTION

TO NAVIGABLE WATERS, NO MATTER

HOW TENUOUS OR REMOTE THE

CONNECTION, EXCEEDS CONGRESS’

CONSTITUTIONAL POWER TO REGULATE

COMMERCE AMONG THE STATES ...........

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

A. Under Lopez and Morrison, Intrastate Activity

May Be Regulated for its Substantial Effects

B. The Extension of CWA Jurisdiction over

Any Water with a Hydrological Connection

to a Navigable Water Fails the Lopez

Standard for “Substantial Effects” ............. 21

GE octciecdaddsecessecanseetenconneses 26

one ee ote ome

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources

Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984) ...........-. s

Edward J. DeBartolo Corp. v. Florida Gulf Coast

Building and C ion Trades C. iL,

Ss ED vcucccddbadcncesesséedsenes 15

Headwaters v. Talent Irrigation District,

BE Fe Se Sc ccccccsccccccecsoecs 13

In re Needham, 354 F.3d 340 (Sth Cir. 2003) ..... 8, 10-11

Rice v. Harken Exploration Co.,

BD Fee BOO EO, SEED ccc ccccccccccosces 10-12

Solid Waste Agency of Northern Cook County v.

United S ; C of Engi

Se Ge SED ccacedescoseses 4, 7, 9, 14-16, 24

Treacy v. Newdunn Associates, LLP,

344 F.3d 407 (4th Cir. 2003) .................. 12-13

United States v. Deaton,

332 F.3d 698 (4th Cir. 2003) ...............---- 12-13

United States v. Lopez,

Se aes SEED cecoceccessoenss 15-19, 21-23, 25

United States v. Morrison,

I 15-16, 20-25

United States v. Rapanos,

190 F. Supp. 2d 1011 (E.D. Mich. 2002) .......... 5-6

United States v. Rapanos,

339 F.3d 447 (6th Cir. 2003)... ... 2... ee ee eens 13

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

United States v. Riverside Bayview Homes, Inc.,

Ge SPEED weccccccncccccecescesscesces 7

United States v. Rueth Development Company,

33S P.36 S96 (TGs Cis. 2OGS) . 0.2 cece ccc cccccces 13

United States Constitution

PRE SEG SD ccccceccecccccocvscccscccsséscscsss 1

Statutes

BP is SED occccccccceccséecscoses 16, 17

FP ae OF EOE Sceedcccéncecescccccccencs 2, 5, 23

DEED dccbcbececscaccecousuivceséucees 2, 5, 23

DEED ceddcdedevosscevesscdsdsseotes 2, 5, 23

as SEED 0 cdc cdbevccocccrecesseesoces 19

DERE cosecceccaceesécesccecscesedscees 19

Regulations

Ss SD hooheeecendestescdcocsbecnboases 3

Pc cveccucctessvcssccscscessesecéesees 5

PE oo cesecdddesecscesdscdescocucceosecs 5

Clean Water Act

See ORE ce cccccccccceccaccctsecesecocees 2, 5, 23

DGD Codcecccesoccesecccccccoucesesans 2, 5, 23

eneeepees Geen

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Miscellaneous .

S. Conf. Rep. No. 92- 1236 (1972),

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 1972 ........... 24

- ee

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

John A. Rapanos; Judith A. Nelkie Rapanos; Prodo, Inc.;

Rolling Meadows Hunt Club; and Pine River Bluff Estates,

Inc., respectfully petition this Court for a Writ of Certiorari to

review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit.

+

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 376

F.3d 629 (6th Cir. 2004), Appendix (App.) A. The opinion of

the district court, filed on March 22, 2000, was not published

but is included in App. B.

+

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

was entered on July 26, 2004. That court’s denial of the

Petition for Rehearing En Banc was entered on November 2,

2004, App. C. This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

+

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND

REGULATORY PROVISIONS AT ISSUE

The United States Constitution provides that Congress has

power “[t]o regulate commerce . . . among the several states.”

Art. I, § 8, cl. 3.

The Clean Water Act (CWA) provides in pertinent part:

Except as in compliance with this section and

section[] . . . 1344 of this title, the discharge of any

pollutant by any person shall be unlawful.

33 U.S.C. § 1311(a) (CWA § 301(a)).

The Secretary may issue permits, after notice and

opportunity for public hearings, for the discharge of

dredged or fill materials into the navigable waters at

specified disposal sites.

33 U.S.C. § 1344(a) (CWA § 404(a)).

(5) The term “person” means an_ individual,

corporation, partnership, association, State,

municipality, commission, or political subdivision of

a State, or any interstate body.

(6) Theterm “pollutant” means dredged spoil, solid

waste, incinerator residue, sewage, garbage, sewage

sludge, munitions, chemical wastes, biological

materials, radioactive materials, heat, wrecked or

discarded equipment, rock, sand, cellar dirt and

industrial, municipal, and agricultural waste

discharged into water... .

(7) The term “navigable waters” means the waters

of the United States, including the territorial seas.

33 U.S.C. § 1362(5-7) (CWA § 502(5-7).

(2) All interstate waters including interstate

wetlands;

(3) All other waters such as intrastate lakes, rivers,

streams (including intermittent streams), mudflats,

sandflats, wetlands, sloughs, prairie potholes, wet

meadows, playa lakes, or natural ponds, the use,

degradation or destruction of which could affect

interstate or foreign commerce including any such

waters:

(i) Which are or could be used by interstate or

foreign travelers for recreational or other purposes;

or (ii) From which fish or shellfish are or could be

taken and sold in interstate or foreign commerce; or

(iii) Which are used or could be used for industrial

purpose by industries in interstate commerce;

(4) All impoundments of waters otherwise defined

as waters of the United States under the definition;

(5) Tributanes of waters identified in paragraphs

(a)(1)-(4) of this section;

(6) The territorial seas;

(7) Wetlands adjacent to waters (other than waters

that are themselves wetlands) identified in

paragraphs (a)(1)-(6) of this section.

33 C.F.R. 328.3(a).

Federal regulations define “waters of the United States” to *

mean: | INTRODUCTION

(1) All waters which are currently used, or were Since 1988, John and Judith Rapanos have been embroiled

used in the past, or may be susceptible to use in in a dispute with the government over federal regulation of

interstate or foreign commerce, including all waters remote wetlands on their property. For more than ten years they

which are subject to the ebb and flow of the tide;

have had to defend themselves in court against an expansive

interpretation of the Clean Water Act this Court has never

sustained and arguably rejected in Solid Waste Agency of

Northern Cook County v. United States Army Corps of

Engineers, 531 U.S. 159 (2001) (“SWANCC”’)—an

interpretation that has created a stark conflict among the Courts

of Appeals and which raises serious constitutional questions.

As a result of this dispute and a separate criminal suit,

John Rapanos now faces certain jail time in a federal

penitentiary, while in this civil case, both he and his wife are

subject to fines and mitigation fees totaling several million

dollars. The Rapanos are accused of filling wetlands on their

property without a federal permit in putative violation of

section 404(a) of the CWA.

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Through their companies, the Rapanos own three parcels

of land in Bay, Midland, and Saginaw Counties in the State of

Michigan. See App. A2. These parcels are known as the

Salzburg, Hines Road, and Pine River sites. Jd. Although each

site is separated from the nearest navigable water by intervening

tributaries, as far as 20 miles, all three sites are alleged to

contain jurisdictional wetlands under the CWA. /d. at A21. In

February, 1994, criminal charges were brought against John

Rapanos for the unpermitted filling of wetlands on the Salzburg

site resulting from land-clearing activities. /d. at A2-A4. Upon

conviction in 1995, Rapanos was fined $185,000 and sentenced

to three years probation. /d. at A4. The conviction was upheld

by the Sixth Circuit but this Court vacated the conviction and

remanded the case in light of SWANCC in 2001. Jd. On

remand, the district court set aside the conviction ruling that,

under SWANCC, the federal government lacked jurisdiction to

regulate wetlands that are not physically adjacent to navigable

waters. Jd. at A4-A5. See also United States v. Rapanos, 190

F. Supp. 2d 1011 (E.D. Mich. 2002). But, on appeal, the Sixth

Circuit reversed the district court, finding SWANCC had little

effect on CWA jurisdiction, and remanded the case for

resentencing with mandatory jail time. Jd. at AS. A subsequent

petition for writ of certiorari by Rapanos was denied by this

Court in 2004. Jd. Simultaneous to the criminal case in 1994,

this civil action was brought against the Rapanos for land-

clearing activities on all three sites. Jd.

The CWA prohibits discharges of “fill” material into

“navigable waters” without a permit from the federal

government. See 33 U.S.C. §§ 1311(a) and 1344(a) (CWA

§ 301(a) and 404(a)). The Act defines “navigable waters” only

as “waters of the United States.” 33 U.S.C. § 1362(5-7).

Although the CWA does not mention “wetlands” in any

relevant provision, federal agencies have defined “waters of the

United States” to include wetlands the “use, degradation or

destruction of which could affect interstate or foreign

commerce” or any wetland “adjacent” to a tributary of defined

waters. 33 CFR § 328.3(a)(3), (7). In this case, the government

and the courts have interpreted that definition to authorize

federal regulation of any wetland with a “hydrological

connection” to a navigable water. See App. A and B.

A. The District Court Decision

Between 1988 and 1997, the Rapanos hired contractors to

prepare the Salzburg, Hines Road, and Pine River sites for

development. See App. A2-A4. The government contends the

site preparations resulted in the filling of jurisdictional wetlands

with sand and other materials in violation of section 404(a) of

the CWA. See App. Bl. Therefore, the Environmental

Protection Agency ordered the Rapanos to stop all land-clearing

activities and to restore the sites to their original condition. Jd.

at B30-36. When the Rapanos refused, based on their belief

that the CWA did not apply to their land, the United States

brought this suit. /d. at B2.

After a bench trial, the district court found the Rapanos

had filled 54 acres of wetlands on the three sites. See App. AS.

In reliance on the government’s “Migratory Bird Rule,” the

district court rejected the Rapanos’ defense that CWA

jurisdiction does not extend to wetlands far removed from

actual navigable waters. That rule was an administrative

interpretation of “navigable waters” and authorized federal

regulation of any water that could be used by migratory birds.

Id. at A11. However, after this Court ruled the “Migratory Bird

Rule” invalid in SWANCC because it exceeded statutory

authority, the district court “amended its findings to remove all

references to the ‘Migratory Bird Rule’ as a basis for federal

jurisdiction.” Jd. at A6 n.2. Instead, the court held the wetlands

on the Rapanos’ property were “adjacent” to tributaries and,

therefore, jurisdictional because they are “hydrologically

connected” to navigable waters. Jd. at A8.

But in the case of the Salzburg site, the nearest navigable

water is more than 20 miles away. See Rapanos, 190 F. Supp.

2d at 1012. Any surface water connection is intermittent and

connected to a navigable waterway only by means of a

manmade ditch, a nonnavigable creek and a river that ultimately

flows into the Saginaw Bay. Jd. at 1014-15. Likewise, the

wetlands on the Hines Road and Pine River sites are connected

to navigable waters only through surface runoff that purportedly

flows into nonnavigable tributaries to distant navigable waters.

See App. B20, B26. Relying on SWANCC, the Rapanos

appealed.

B. The Sixth Circuit Opinion

On appeal, the Rapanos argued this Court’s decision in

SWANCC did more than invalidate the “Migratory Bird Rule;”

et AE EN ek moe

it also prohibited federal regulation of wetlands that do not

physically abut a traditional navigable, water. See App. A20-

A21. In SWANCC, this Court explained its landmark decision

in United States v. Riverside Bayview Homes, Inc., 474 U.S.

121 (1985), noting it held in that case “that the Corps had

§ 404(a) jurisdiction over wetlands that actually abutted on a

navigable waterway.” SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 167. This Court

explained further that “[i]t was the significant nexus between

the wetlands and ‘navigable waters’ that informed [its] reading

of the CWA in Riverside Bayview Homes.” Id. This Court

pointed out, however, that it had expressed no opinion in that

case on the “question of the authority of the Corps to regulate

discharges of fill material into wetlands that are not adjacent to

bodies of open water.” Jd. With the stage thus set, this Court

proceeded to answer that question:

In order to rule for respondents here, we would have

to hold that the jurisd‘ction of the Corps extends to

ponds that are not adjacent to open water. But, we

conclude that the text of the statute will not allow

this.

Id. at 168.

Although the Sixth Circuit readily acknowledged the

wetlands on the Rapanos’ parcels are not physically adjacent to,

or directly abut, an open body of navigable water, the court

found this fact irrelevant to its jurisdictional determination:

What is required for CWA jurisdiction over

“adjacent waters,” however, is a “significant nexus

between the wetlands and ‘navigable waters,” . . .

which can be satisfied by the presence of a

hydrological connection.

App. Al6.

According to the Sixth Circuit, this Court’s decision in

Riverside Bayview does not require physical adjacency between

a wetland and a navigable water to establish CWA jurisdiction,

whereas this Court’s decision in SWANCC only invalidated the

“Migratory Bird Rule” and did not further limit the scope of the

CWA. See App. Al4. Nevertheless, the court recognized that

its broad reading of Riverside Bayview and narrow reading of

SWANCC, which had also been adopted by the courts in other

circuits, created a direct conflict with the Fifth Circuit’s

decision in Jn re Needham, 354 F.3d 340 (Sth Cir. 2003). Jd.

The primary difference the Sixth Circuit cited between its

understanding of CWA jurisdiction and the Fifth Circuit

concerned the “adjacency” requirement as determined by this

Court in SWANCC:

The Fifth Circuit requires that non-navigable water

be “truly adjacent to navigable waters” in order to

qualify for CWA jurisdiction. The majority of

courts, including this one, however, construe

Riverside Bayview and SWANCC to hold that, while

a hydrological connection between the non-navigable

and navigable waters is required, there is no “direct

abutment” requirement.

App. Al6.

The Sixth Circuit’s crabbed reading of SWANCC did not

stop there, however. The court also failed to follow this Court’s

lead in denying deference to the government’s interpretation of

the CWA under Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources

Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984). See App. Al7- -

A20. In SWANCC, as the Sixth Circuit noted, this Court

refused to accord Chevron deference to the government’s

“Migratory Bird Rule,” which authorized federal regulation of

nonadjacent waters, because the regulation impinged on the

5. +

state’s “traditional and primary power over land and water use”

9

and, “where an otherwise acceptable construction of a statute

would raise serious constitutional problems, the Court will

construe the statute to avoid such problems unless such

construction is plainly contrary to the intent of Congress.” /d.

at A19 (citing SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 173-74).

But, without citing any evidence that Congress intended

the CWA to cover nonabutting wetlands or that the regulation

of such wetlands does not impinge on the State’s traditional and

primary power over land and water use, the Sixth Circuit

determined Chevron deference was appropriate in this case

because this Court applied such deference in Riverside

Bayview. Id. at Al9-A20. Although Riverside Bayview

involved wetlands that actually abutted a navigable waterway,

and this case does not, the Sixth Circuit held the government's

interpretation of “waters of the United States” was reasonable

under Chevron. Id. at A20. .

+

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I

THERE IS A CONFLICT AMONG

THE CIRCUITS ABOUT WHETHER

FEDER AL JURISDICTION UNDER SECTION

404 OF THE CLEAN WATER ACT EXTENDS

TO INTRASTATE, NONNAVIGABLE

WETLANDS THAT DO NOT ABUT A

TRADITIONAL NAVIGABLE WATER

With obvious frustration, the Sixth Circuit remarked:

“determining the precise boundary of which waters are covered

by the CWA has been difficult” for the courts. App. A7. So

difficult in fact, that the court felt compelled to mention the

difficulty again and again. See App. A8 (“Determining which

10

wetlands are considered ‘adjacent to’ traditional navigable

waters or their tributaries has proved to be a complication in

defining CWA jurisdiction.”). Jd. (“Determining how much of

a connection is necessary has proven difficult.”). The court lays

blame for this difficulty squarely ow this Court’s decisions in

Riverside Bayview and SWANCCU. “Unfortunately, the two

leading Supreme Court cases on the reach of the CWA have

done little to clear the muddied waters of CWA jurisdiction.”

Id.

The Court of Appeals appears to be calling for further

clarification, but its decision in this case has muddied the

waters even further while expressly acknowledging a conflict

between the Sixth Circuit (and other Courts of Appeals) and the

Fifth Circuit. As if to punctuate the need for this Court’s

resolution, the Sixth Circuit takes pains to lay out the exact

nature of this conflict.

The definitive statement of the Fifth Circuit's

interpretation of CWA jurisdiction, cited by the Sixth Circuit,

is found in Needham. But to put that case in context, a look at

Rice v. Harken Exploration Co., 250 F.3d 264 (Sth Cir. 2001),

is instructive. In Rice, an action was brought against Harken

Exploration Company under the Oil Pollution Act (OPA) for oil

spills on Rice’s property in Hutchinson County, Texas. Among

other things, the OPA imposes strict liability on parties

responsible for discharging oil into “navigable waters,” defined

as “waters of the United States.” /d. at 266-67. The scope of

the OPA was an issue of first impression for the Fifth Circuit

and required the court to define “navigable waters.” Jd. at 267.

Because only a few cases had construed the OPA, the

court turned to the cases interpreting the term “navigable

waters” under the CWA. The Fifth Circuit determined that the

legislative history and the use of identical definitions of

11

“navigable waters” in the OPA and CWA suggested Congress

intended the term to “have the same meaning” in both Acts. /d.

The Fifth Circuit began its analysis with Riverside

Bayview noting this Court appeared to adopt an expansive

reading of “navigable waters” which the Fifth Circuit had

previously followed. /d. at 268. But the court concluded its

analysis with SWANCC, stating this Court had more recently

“limited the scope of the CWA.” Jd.

The Fifth Circuit observed that in SWANCC, this Court

had “distinguished Riverside Bayview Homes on the ground that

in that case the wetlands in question were adjacent to a body of

open water that was actually navigable” and that the term

“navigable waters” had to have some effect. Jd. Based on its

reading of SWANCC, therefore, the Fifth Circuit declined to

characterize a small seasonal creek as “waters of the United

States” subject to federal regulation under either the OPA or

CWA, even though the creek flowed intermittently into the

Canadian River, a “navigable water.” “Instead,” the court held,

“a body of water is protected under the Act only if it is actually

navigable or is adjacent to an open body of navigable water.”

Id. at 270.

More recently, the Fifth Circuit affirmed its holding in

Rice and expressly rejected the interpretation of CWA

jurisdiction which the Sixth Circuit applied in this case. In

Needham, the Fifth Circuit was again required to determine the

scope of “navigable waters” under the OPA and, as in Rice, the

Fifth Circuit relied on SWANCC for this determination. See In

re Needham, 354 F.3d at 344-47.

In Needham, as in this case, the government argued the

definition of navigable waters “covers all waters, excluding

groundwater, that have any hydrological connection with

‘navigable water.’” Jd. at 345. The Fifth Circuit acknowledged

some support for this view noting at least two appellate courts

12

had agreed with the government's interpretation: United States

v. Deaton, 332 F.3d 698, 702 (4th Cir. 2003) (“asserting

authority, under the CWA, over wetlands that are ‘adjacent to,

and drain into, a roadside ditch whose waters eventually flow

into the navigable Wicomico River and Chesapeake Bay’ ”),

and the Sixth Circuit in the Rapanos criminal case (“asserting

authority, under the CWA, over wetlands that flow into a man-

made drain, which in turn flows into a creek, which in turn

flows into a navigable river.”). In re Needham, 354 F.3d at

345.

But the Fifth Circuit expressly rejected this interpretation,

Stating unequivocally that the government’s definition of

navigable waters “is unsustainable” under SWANCC. Id. So as

not to be misunderstood, the court stated further that the CWA

and OPA are not so broad as to permit federal regulation of

“tributaries” that are neither navigable in fact nor cdjacent to

such waters. Jd. The court thus held:

Consequently, in this circuit the United States may

roadside ditches and the like; under SWANCC “a

body of water is subject to regulation . . . if the body

of water is actually navigable or adjacent to an open

body of navigable water.”

In Re Needham at 345-46 (citing Rice, 250 F.3d at 269).

This conclusion puts the Fifth Circuit in direct conflict

the Sixth Circuit observed, the Needham court disagreed with

decisions from the Fourth, Sixth, Seventh, and Ninth Circuits

that, under SWANCC, “water exhibiting a hydrological

connection with ‘navigable water’ should be considered part of

the “waters of the United States."” See App. A at Al4. Instead,

the Sixth Circuit stated, the Needham court found that the

13

“water must be ‘truly adjacent to navigable waters,” thus

supporting the Rapanos’ abutment argument. /d.

As noted by the Sixth Circuit, this disagreement runs to

the following noteworthy cases: United States v. Rapanos, 339

F.3d 447, 453 (6th Cir. 2003) (finding that SWANCC merely

invalidated the “Migratory Bird Rule”); Treacy v. Newdunn

Associates, LLP, 344 F.3d 407, 415 (4th Cir. 2003) (noting that

SWANCC reaffirmed a broad reading of CWA jurisdiction);

United States v. Deaton, 332 F.3d 698 at 703 (holding that

SWANCC did not disavow any Corps interpretations of the

CWA, except the “Migratory Bird Rule”); United States v.

Rueth Development Company, 335 F.3d 598, 604 (7th Cir.

2003), cert denied, (finding SWANCC did not significantly limit

the government’s wetland jurisdiction); Headwaters, Inc. v.

Talent Irrigation District, 243 F.3d 526, 533-34 (9th Cir. 2001)

(expressing the view that SWANCC did not change the

jurisdictional). See App. at A14-A15.

This conflict among the circuits is real and substantial and

involves an important question of law. To resolve this conflict,

14

THE EXTENSION OF CLEAN WATER ACT

JURISDICTION TO EVERY INTRASTATE

WETLAND WITH ANY SORT OF

HYDROLOGICAL CONNECTION

TO NAVIGABLE WATERS, NO MATTER

HOW TENUOUS OR REMOTE THE

CONNECTION, EXCEEDS CONGRESS’

CONSTITUTIONAL POWER TO REGULATE

COMMERCE AMONG THE STATES

In SWANCC, this Court held the word “navigable”

constrains the jurisdictional reach of the Clean Water Act.

Otherwise, “the use of the word navigable in the statute . . .

does not have any independent significance.” SWANCC, 531

U.S. at 172. Accordingly, this Court found: “the term

‘navigable’ has at least the import of showing us what Congress

had in mind as its authority for enacting the CWA: _ its

traditional jurisdiction over waters that were or had been

navigable in fact or which could reasonably be so made.” /d.

Besides the Act’s express language, this Court gave

another reason for limiting section 404(a) to Congress’

traditional power over navigable waters. This Court found the

government’s application of its CWA _ regulations to

nonnavigable, isolated, intrastate waters was overly broad and

a “far cry, indeed, from the ‘navigable waters’ and ‘waters of

the United States’ to which the statute by its terms extends” and

thus raises “significant constitutional questions.” /d. at 173-74.

But federal regulation of the wetlands in this case raises

the same “significant constitutional questions” and is, likewise,

a “far cry” from the waters “to which the statute by its terms

extends.” According to the Sixth Circuit, nonnavigable,

15

intrastate wetlands are subject to federal jurisdiction if they are

merely connected to navigable waters:

What is required for CWA jurisdiction over

“adjacent waters,” however, is a “significant nexus

between the wetlands and ‘navigable waters,’” . . .

which can be satisfied by the presence of a

hydrological connection.

App. A16. (emphasis added).

Therefore, under this decision, CWA jurisdiction extends

to every intrastate wetland with any sort of hydrological

connection to navigable waters, no matter how tenuous or

remote the connection. This is evidenced by the facts in this

case. It is undisputed that the intrastate wetlands on the

Rapanos’ property are not navigable waters. Nor do they abut

a navigable water. To the contrary, they have only an

intermittent, indirect and remote surface runoff connection to

the nearest navigable waters, which in the case of the Salzburg

site is 20 miles away.

In SWANCC, the government argued, much as it has in

this case, that the CWA reaches “nonnavigable, isolated,

intrastate” waters. SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 172. However, this

Court determined the government’s broad interpretation of the

statute invoked “the outer limits of Congress’ power” and could

not be sustained. /d.

Thus, “where an otherwise acceptable construction

of a statute would raise serious constitutional

problems, the Court will construe the statute to avoid

such problems unless such construction is plainly

contrary to the intent of Congress.”

Id. at 173 (quoting Edward J. DeBartolo Corp. v. Florida Gulf

Coast Building and Construction Trades Council, 485 U.S.

568, 575 (1988)).

16

. The constitutional problem was the government’s claim

that it could regulate any waters that could be used by migratory

birds under “Congress” power to regulate intrastate activities

that ‘substantially affect’ interstate commerce.” SWANCC, 531

U.S. at 173. This Court was clearly skeptical of that argument

and, to underscore the point, cited its Commerce Clause

decisions in United States v. Lopez, 514 U.S. 549 (1995), and

United States v. Morrison, 529 U.S. 598 (2000), stating:

“Twice in the past six years we have reaffirmed the proposition

that the grant of authority to Congress under the Commerce

Clause, though broad, is not unlimited.” SWANCC, 531 U.S. at

173.

Evidently, because the regulation of nonnavigsole,

isolated, intrastate waters implied unlimited Commerce Clause

authority in the federal government, this Court was unwilling to

read such authority into the CWA. But the government’s

assertion of authority over any wetland with a hydrological

connection to a navigable water in this case implies essentially

the same limitless commerce power as the “Migratory Bird

Rule” and is likewise invalid.

In Lopez, as subsequently affirmed in Morrison, this Court

set forth a simple standard for analyzing Commerce Clause

enactments that are based on the regulation of activities that

substantially affect interstate commerce, like the CWA. These

cases show the government has exceeded its authority in this

case.

A. Under Lopez and Morrison, Intrastate

Activity May Be Regulated for Its Substantial

Effects on Interstate Commerce Only if the

Regulated Activity Is Economic in Nature

The Gun-Free School Zones Act of 1990 made it a federal

offense “for any individual knowingly to possess a firearm . . .

at a place that the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to

ere.

= moe ar

17

believe, is a school zone.” 18 U.S.C. § 922(q)(2)(A). Lopez,

a 12th-grade student, was arrested and charged under this Act

when he brought a concealed .38 caliber handgun and five

bullets to school. Lopez, 514 U.S. at 551. However, Lopez

challenged the Act as beyond the commerce power of Congress.

Id. The Fifth Circuit agreed with Lopez and this Court

affirmed. Jd. at 552.

In Lopez, this Court declared the purpose of its inquiry

was to determine if Congress intended to regulate commerce,

and then to ascertain “whether a rational basis existed for

concluding that a regulated activity sufficiently affected

interstate commerce.” Jd. at 557.

First, this Court turned to the statute itself and found

section 922(q), by its own terms, had “nothing to do with

‘commerce’ or any sort of economic enterprise, however

broadly one might define those terms.” /d. at 561. This

obvious conclusion was compelled by the express language of

the Act which made the mere possession of a firearm in a

school zone a crime. It followed, therefore, that the regulated

act, the possession of a gun, was “not an essential part of a

larger regulation of economic activity, in which the regulatory

scheme could be undercut unless the intrastate activity were

regulated.” Lopez at 561. In fact, this Court observed, the Act

was a criminal statute that did not involve a commercial or

economic regulatory scheme at all. Jd. Accordingly, section

922(q) could not be sustained under this Court’s cases that

allowed congressional regulation of activities “that arise out of

or are connected with a commercial transaction, which viewed

in the aggregate, substantially affects interstate commerce.” Jd.

Interestingly, this Court came to this conclusion even though

the prohibited activity, possession of a gun, involved a

commercial item.

18

Second, this Court sought to determine whether section

922(q) contained a “jurisdictional element” that would ensure

on a case-by-case basis that the possession of a firearm

substantially affects interstate commerce. /d. at 562. For that

determination, this Court turned again to the language of the

Act and found it did not provide an express requirement that

would “limit its reach to a discrete set of firearm possessions

that additionally have an explicit connection with or effect on

interstate commerce.” Jd.

Third, because no substantial effect was “visible to the

naked eye,” in the text of the Act itself, this Court also looked

to the legislative history to locate any express congressional

findings that demonstrated Congress’ belief that the possession

of a gun in a school zone substantially affected interstate

commerce. /d. at 562-63. But this Court found none.

Nevertheless, the government argued that Congress could

rationally have concluded that section 922(q) did substantially

affe:t interstate commerce because possession of a gun in a

school zone may result in violent crime and violent crime

interferes with the national economy in two respects: (1)

violent crime increases the cost of insurance throughout the

nation, and (2) violent crime deters people from traveling to

unsafe areas. /d. at 563-64. The government also argued that

guns in school undermine the learning environment, producing

less productive citizens, which hurts the national economy. Jd.

at 564. To underscore the inherent limitations on the commerce

power, this Court also addressed the implications of those

arguments.

The government acknowledged under its “costs of crime”

argument, that Congress could regulate any activity that might

lead to violent crime no matter how remote the connection to

interstate commerce. Jd. Likewise, this Court found that under

the government’s “national productivity” argument, Congress

2 ss sees Lil SMM Ni dew

oT aia ete, Maiti OD LS TPE to WOR ee a es LT RN le eons

19

could ate anything related to individual economic

we Id. If these arguments were accepted, this Court

concluded, it would be “hard pressed” to find any individual

activity that Congress could not regulate under the commerce

power. Id. “Depending on the level of generality, this Court

observed, “any activity can be looked upon as commercial. Id.

at 565.

This was the fallacy in the government's arguments; they

provided no logical stopping point to congressional authority

and converted the commerce power into a general police power

like that enjoyed by the states. Jd. at 567. Although some of

this Court’s earlier cases leaned in that direction and suggested

a possible expansion of the commerce power, this Court set

aside section 922(q) as an invalid Commerce Clause enactment

and declined in Lopez to go any further. Id. “To do so, this

Court stated, “would require us to conclude that the

Constitution’s enumeration of powers does not presuppose

something not enumerated . . . and that there never will be a

distinction between what is truly national and what is truly

local.” Id. at 567-68.

As if to demonstrate that Lopez was no anomaly, this

Court affirmed that opinion five years later in Morrison. In

Morrison, Christy Brzonkala brought an action against two

university students for rape under section 13981 of the Violence

Against Women Act of 1994. That Act provided a federal civil

remedy for victims of gender-motivated violence and stated that

“persons within the United States shall have the right to be free

from crimes of violence motivated by gender.” 42 U.S.C. §

13981(b). The Act defined gender-motivated crime as a crime

of violence committed because of gender or on the basis of

gender, and due, at least in part, to an animus based on the

victim’s gender.” 42 U.S.C. § 13981(d)(1). The district court

dismissed the suit because it determined that section 13981 was

20

an invalid Commerce Clause enactment. The Fourth Circuit,

sitting en banc, and this Court both affirmed.

Relying on Lopez, this Court first determined, as it must,

that the statute, by its terms, had nothing to do with commerce:

“[g]ender-motivated crimes of violence are not, in any sense of

the phrase, economic activity.” Morrison, 529 U.S. at 613. As

a result, this Court held gender-motivated crimes are not the

type of activity that, through repetition elsewhere, would

substantially affect interstate commerce. /d. at 610-11.

This determination was critical to the outcome of the case.

As this Court observed, the noneconomic, criminal nature of the

prohibited activity in Lopez was central to its decision in that

case. /d. at 610. But this Court did not stop there. To further

illustrate the importance of this factor, this Court stated, as a

matter of historical fact, that it had upheld federal regulation of

intrastate activity based o.: its “substantial effects” on interstate

commerce only when the regulated activity was economic in

nature. /d. at 611, 613.

Next, this Court determined the Violence Against Women

Act did not contain an express “jurisdictional element”

establishing that Congress was attempting to regulate interstate

commerce. /d. at 613. Rather than limit its reach to a discrete

set of gender-motivated violent crimes that had an explicit

connection with or effect on interstate commerce, this Court

found section 13981 was drawn too broadly and included purely

intrastate violent crime. Jd. This Court concluded, therefore,

that the language of the Act did not support the conclusion that

section! 3981 was adequately tied to interstate commerce. Jd.

Unlike the situation in Lopez, however, this Court did find

that the Violence Against Women Act was supported by

congressional findings that gender-motivated violence affects

interstate commerce. Jd. at 614. Among others, those effects

included deterring victims from traveling interstate or engaging

eo ao ed ot a a a Re ale AR Da lta ll st adlindasine aren Beanies

mmr

21

in interstate business. Jd. at 615. Diminishing national

productivity, increased medical costs, and a decrease in the

supply and demand of interstate goods were also cited. Id. But

this Court did not believe these findings were sufficient to

uphold the Act under the Commerce Clause: “[S]imply

because Congress may conclude that a particular activity

substantially affects interstate commerce does not necessarily

make it so.” Jd. at 614. That determination, this Court stated,

is for the courts to decide. Jd.

Because Congress followed the but-for causal chain from

the original violent act to every remote effect upon interstate

commerce, this Court decided that Congress’ findings were

faulty and relied on a “method of reasoning” that obliterates the

distinction between what is national and what is local and

which this Court had already rejected in Lopez. Id. at 615. This

Court was simply unwilling to allow Congress to regulate

noneconomic activity, such as gender-motivated acts of

violence, based only on that activity’s attenuated effects on

interstate commerce. Jd. at 617. Therefore, this Court held that

Congress did not have authority under the Commerce Clause to

enact section 13981 of the Violence Against Women Act. Jd.

at 619.

B. The Extension of CWA Jurisdiction

over Any Water with a Hydrological

Connection to a Navigable Water Fails

the Lopez Standard for “Substantial Effects

Both Lopez and Morrison strongly affirmed that federal

power under the Commerce Clause is limited in order to

prevent the federal government from becoming a government

of general powers, like the states. Lopez, 514 U.S. at 559-68;

Morrison, 529 U.S. at 617-19. These cases recognized that the

Constitution prohibits the federal government from regulating

noneconomic intrastate activities like the filling of remote,

22

nonnavigable, intrastate wetlands in this case, that have only an

attenuated connection to interstate commerce and obliterate the

“distinction between what is truly national and what is truly

local.” Lopez, 514 U.S. at 567-68. A faithful application of the

Lopez standard to the facts in this case demonstrates that the

regulation of the Rapanos’ land-clearing activities exceeds the

commerce power and is invalid.

As expressed by this Court, four factors contributed to its

decision in Lopez. The first factor was that the statute, by its

terms, had nothing to do with commerce or an economic

enterprise; that is, the Act did not purport to regulate an

economic activity. See Morrison, 529 U.S. at 610. The second

factor was that the Act contained “no express jurisdictional

element which might limit its reach to a discrete set of firearm

possessions that additionally have an explicit connection with

or effect on interstate commerce.” /d. at 611-12. This factor

was important to establish that the Act was in “pursuance of

Congress’ regulation of interstate commerce.” Jd. The third

factor was that neither the statute “nor its legislative history

contain[ed] express congressional findings regarding the effects

upon interstate commerce” of the regulated activity. Id. at 612.

And, the fourth factor was that the connection between the

regulated activity and a substantial effect on interstate

commerce was attenuated. /d.

The first factor is the most telling and focuses on the

express language of the Act. As this Court observed in Lopez,

“§ 922(q) is a criminal statute that by its terms has nothing to

do with ‘commerce’ or any sort of economic enterprise,

however broadly one might define those terms.” 514 U.S. at

516. As interpreted by the government and the court below, the

CWA fares no better. ‘

The CWA provides that “the discharge of any pollutant by

any person shall be unlawful,” unless approved by the federal

23

government. 33 U.S.C. § 1311(a) (CWA § 301(a)). ‘The Act

provides further that: “The Secretary may issue permits oe for

the discharge of dredged or fill materials into the navigable

waters at specified disposal sites.” 33 U.S.C. § 1344(a) (CWA

§ 404(a)). The term “navigable waters” is defined simply as

“waters of the United States.” 33 U.S.C. § 1362(7) (CWA

§ 502(7)). It was under these statutory provisions that the

Rapanos were cited for filling wetlands without a permit.

Like the statutes in Lopez and Morrison, the CWA

prohibition on the discharge of fill material into navigable

waters by any person, does not, by its terms, have anything to

do with commerce or an economic activity or enterprise

however broadly those terms are defined. The prohibition

applies to all discharges, whatever the source. Whether the.

discharge is caused by a child playing with a pail of sand or by

the operation of a backhoe, it is the same. The text of the Act

gives no indication that Congress intended to regulate

commerce by prohibiting discharges to remote wetlands. Under

Lopez and Morrison, this alone is sufficient to invalidate federal

regulation of the wetlands in this case: “[T]hus far in our

Nation’s history our cases have upheld Commerce Clause

regulation of intrastate activity only where that activity is

economic in nature.” Morrison, 529 U.S. at 613.

Only one exception applies. If the Act does not, by its

terms, purport to regulate economic activity, then the provision

may be upheld as a proper Commerce Clause enactment if the

provision contains an express “jurisdictional element which

would ensure, through case-by-case inquiry that the [regulated

activity] affects interstate commerce.” Lopez, 514 U.S. at 561.

This is the second Lopez factor. But in this case, the statutory

definition of “navigable waters” as “waters of the United

States,” does not contain any reference to interstate commerce.

There is no jurisdictional statement. Moreover, the Sixth

Circuit held in this case it is enough if the regulated wetlands

24

have a mere hydrological connection with a navigable water.

Therefore, the statutory definition of “navigable waters” in this

case suffers from the same problem as the provisions

challenged in Lopez and Morrison; it is too broad and sweeps

in waters that have no actual effect on interstate commerce. See

Morrison, 529 U.S. at 613. :

The third Lopez factor involves a consideration of the

legislative history to determine if Congress was pursuing its

power to regulate interstate commerce and to allow the court to

consider the legislative judgment that the regulated activity

substantially affects interstate commerce. See Morrison, 529

U.S. at 612. In SWANCC, the government argued the

legislative history of the CWA supported its view that Congress

intended to exercise its commerce power to its full extent. But,

this Court disagreed, noting the legislative history does not

indicate that Congress intended to exercise any Commerce

Clause authority over remote wetlands:

Respondents refer us to portions of the legislative

history that they believe indicate Congress’ intent to

expand the definition of “navigable waters.”

Although the Conference Report includes the

statement that the conferees “intend that the term

‘navigable waters’ be given the broadest possible

constitutional interpretation,” S. Conf. Rep. No. 92-

1236, p. 144 (1972), U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

News 1972 pp. 3668, 3822, neither this, nor anything

else in the legislative history to which respondents

point, signifies that Congress intended to exert

anything more than its commerce power over

navigation. Indeed, respondents admit that the

legislative history is somewhat ambiguous.

SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 168 n.3.

25

As in Lopez, neither the statute nor the legislative history

contains “express congressional findings regarding the effects

upon interstate commerce” of the filling of remote, intrastate

wetlands. See Morrison, 529 U.S. 612.

The fourth and final Lopez factor involves a determination

as to whether the regulated activity is so removed from any

substantial impact on interstate commerce that to allow such

regulation would obliterate the distinction between what is

national and what is local. Jd. at 615. This determination

appears to be foregone when the court finds the other three

factors do not support the enactment, as here.

In this case, neither the statutory definition of “navigable

waters” nor the prohibition on discharges to “navigable waters”

without a permit has, by its terms, anything to do with

economic activity and there is no express jurisdictional element

to limit the Act to a “discrete set of [discharges] that

additionally have an explicit connection with or effect on

interstate commerce” as the Lopez standard requires. Lopez,

514 U.S. at 562. There are also no express findings in the

legislative history to support the regulation of remote, intrastate

wetlands as a regulation of commerce. These factors suggest

the connection to interstate commerce is attenuated and that no

“rational basis existed for concluding that [the] regulated

activity sufficiently affected interstate commerce.” Jd. at 557.

Moreover, it is axiomatic that to allow federal regulation of any

water that has a mere hydrological connection to a navigable

water would “completely obliterate the Constitution’s

distinction between national and local authority.” Morrison,

529 U.S. at 615. So long as a federal permit is required to fill

such waters, the federal government has a virtual veto power

over local land and water use. If the federal government can

regulate all waters hydrologically connected to a navigable

water, no matter how tenuous or remote the connection, there

26

is virtually nothing the government could not regulate under the

commerce power.

Under the Lopez standard, the regulation of the filling of

remote, nonnavigable, intrastate wetlands utterly fails as a valid

exercise of the Commerce Clause power. Therefore, the

decision below should be overturned.

+

CONCLUSION

This case raises a question of immense federal

importance—the scope of federal authority over “waters of the

United States.” The lower courts are starkly divided on that

question. Whereas the Fourth, Sixth, Seventh, and Ninth

Circuits have broadly interpreted the CWA to cover all waters

with a hydrological connection to a navigable water, no matter

how tenuous or remote the connection, the Fifth Circuit has

expressly rejected that interpretation as “unsustainable” under

this Court’s precedents. This conflict alone warrants Supreme

Court review. But there is more. The Sixth Circuit decision in

this case not only authorizes federal regulation of wetlands in

excess of statutory authority but beyond constitutional limits as

well. Review by this Court is, therefore, necessary to a

resolution of these issues.

27

For these reasons, this Court should grant the Rapanos’

petition for writ of certiorari.

DATED: January, 2005.

Respectfully submitted,

M. REED HOPPER

Counsel of Record

ROBIN L. RIVETT

GREGORY T. BRODERICK

Of Counsel

Pacific Legal Foundation

3900 Lennane Drive, Suite 200

Sacramento, California 95834

Telephone: (916) 419-7111

Facsimile: (916) 419-7747

Counsel for Petitioners

Appendix Al

No. 03-1489

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES of America, ) Argued June 9, 2004

) Decided and Filed

Plaintiff-Appellee, ) July 26, 2004

)

v. ) Rehearing En Banc

) Denied Nov. 2, 2004

John A. RAPANOS; Judith A.

Nelkie Rapanos; Prodo, Inc.;

Rolling Meadows Hunt Club;

Pine River Bluff Estates, Inc.,

ee ee a a a

Defendants-Appellants.

OPINION

REEVES, District Judge.

Plaintiff-Appellee United States brought suit against the

Defendants pursuant to the Federal Water Pollution Control Act

Amendments of 1972, Pub.L. No. 92-500, 86 Stat. 817, as

amended 33 U.S.C. § 1251 et seg., commonly known as the

Clean Water Act (“CWA”). Defendants-Appellants John

Rapanos, Judith Rapanos, Prodo, Inc., Rolling Meadows Hunt

Club, and Pine River Bluff Estates, Inc. appeal the district

court’s entry of judgment in favor of the United States. Prodo,

Inc., Rolling Meadows Hunt Club, and Pine River Bluff

Estates, Inc. are wholly owned by John and Judith Rapanos.

For the reasons discussed below, we AFFIRM the judgment of

the district court.

Appendix A2

BACKGROUND

The Rapanos, through their wholly-owned companies,

owned various parcels of land in Bay, Midland, and Saginaw

Counties in Michigan. These parcels are known as the

Salzburg, Hines Road, Pine River, Freeland, Mapleton, and

Jefferson Avenue sites. The Rapanos were charged with

illegally discharging fill material into protected wetlands at

_ these sites between 1988 and 1997. The United States alleges

that the Rapanos attempted to fill these wetlands to make the

land more conducive to development.

I. The Salzburg Site

Before filling wetlands subject to CWA jurisdiction, a

landowner must first obtain a permit from the Army Corps of

Engineers (“Corps”). 33 U.S.C. § 1344. In December 1988,

John Rapanos asked the state to inspect the Salzburg site in

hope of obtaining a permit to construct a shopping center at this

location. The state informed him that the site was likely a

regulated wetland and sent him an application for the necessary

permits. A state representative toured the site in March 1989,

noting that the site probably contained wetlands but could be

developed if the necessary permits were issued. Mr. Rapanos

hired a consultant, Dr. Goff, to prepare a report detailing the

wetlands on the Salzburg site. Dr. Goff concluded that there

were between 48 and 58 acres of wetlands on the site,

presenting his findings in the form ofa report and a map. Upset

by the report, Mr. Rapanos ordered Dr. Goff to destroy both the

report and map, as well as all references to Mr. Rapanos in Dr.

Goff's files. However, Dr. Goff was unwilling to do so. Mr.

Rapanos stated he would “destroy” Dr. Goff if he did not

comply, claiming that he would do away with the report and

bulldoze the site himself, regardless of Dr. Goff's findings.

Appendix A3

In April 1989, workers began leveling the ground, filling

in low spots, clearing brush, removing stumps, moving dirt, and

dumping sand to cover most of the wetland vegetation. This

activity caused Dr. Goff to note that the site now looked “like

nothing move than a beach.” In August 1989 the state

attempted to inspect the Salzburg site, but was denied access.

Three months later, authorities from the state returned, armed

with a search warrant.

In 1991, a state representative returned to the Salzburg site,

noting that the site had been “tiled” to drain subsurface water.

When Mr. Rapanos refused to comply with an administrative

compliance order issued by the Environmental Protection

Agency (“EPA”) (requiring him to immediately cease his filling

of the Salzburg site), the EPA referred the matter to the

Department of Justice.

Il. The Hines Road Site

The Defendants undertook to expand drains, build roads,

and fill the wetlands at the Hines Road site. However, in July

1992, the state issued a cease and desist letter to stop the ©

ongoing activity. Mr. Rapanos did not reply to this letter.

Thereafter, the state conducted an examination of the site

pursuant to a search warrant in June 1994. In June 1997, the

state returned to the site and noted that fill had been added to

certain areas since the 1994 search. Accordingly, the EPA

issued an administrative compliance order. The EPA alleges

that Mr. Rapanos did not comply with this order.

III. The Pine River Site

Mr. Rapanos also hired contractors at the Pine River site to

construct ditches, spread dirt and sand, construct roads, and

clear vegetation. The state sent Mr. Rapanos a cease and desist

order after an official observed that portions of the wetlands had

Appendix A4

been filled. The EPA issued an administrative compliance

order in September 1997 after Mr. Rapanos refused to comply

with the cease and desist order. The EPA alleges that Mr.

Rapanos also did not comply with the administrative order.

IV. The Criminal Proceedings

Criminal charges were brought simultaneously with the

instant civil action. In July 1994, the district court declared a

mistrial in Mr. Rapanos’ criminal trial. The trial was moved to

Flint, Michigan and, on March 7, 1995, the jury in the second

trial returned a guilty verdict on two counts. United States v.

Rapanos, 895 F. Supp. 165, 166 (E.D. Mich.1995). Following

trial, the district court granted Rapanos’ motion for a new trial,

finding that the court had improperly allowed the United States

to pursue a line of questioning that was prejudicial to the

defendant. /d. at 169-70. This court, however, determined that

the line of questioning was not improper and reversed the

district court’s grant of a new trial and remanded for sentencing.

United States v. Rapanos, 115 F.3d 367, 374 (6th Cir. 1997).

The district court sentenced Rapanos to three years probation

and ordered him to pay a $185,000 fine. On appeal, this court

affirmed the conviction but remanded for resentencing. United

States v. Rapanos, 235 F.3d 256, 261 (6th Cir. 2000).

The Supreme Court granted Rapanos’ request for a writ of

certiorari, vacating and remanding this court’s order in light of

Solid Waste Agency of Northern Cook County v. United States

Army Corps of Engineers, 531 U.S. 159, 121 S. Ct. 675, 148 L.

Ed.2d 576 (2001) (“SWANCC “). Rapanos v. United States,

533 U.S. 913, 121 S. Ct. 2518, 150 L. Ed.2d 691 (2001).

Following remand from the Supreme Court, this court

remanded the case to the district court for further consideration.

United States v. Rapanos, 16 Fed. Appx. 345 (6th Cir. 2001).

On remand, the district court set aside the conviction, finding

that the United States lacked jurisdiction in the wake of the

Appendix A5

Supreme Court’s ruling in SWANCC. United States v.

Rapanos, 190 F. Supp.2d 1011 (E.D. Mich.2002). On appeal,

this court reversed the order of the district court, reinstated the

previous conviction and remanded to the district court for

resentencing. United States v. Rapanos, 339 F.3d 447, 454 (6th

Cir. 2003). A panel of this court determined that, despite the

Supreme Court’s decision in SWANCC, the United States

retained jurisdiction over the wetlands at issue by virtue of the

CWA.!' Recently, the Supreme Court denied Rapanos’ petition

for a writ of certiorari. Rapanos v. United States, --- U.S. ----,

124 S. Ct. 1875, 158 L. Ed.2d 467 (2004).

V. The Civil Proceedings

The United States initiated this civil action in February

1994, confining its scope to the Salzburg site and naming only

Mr. Rapanos as a defendant. In June 1996, the United States

added Mrs. Rapanos to the complaint, as well as Prodo, Inc., a

company owned by Mr. Rapanos. In February 1998, the United

States amended its complaint to add allegations concerning the

Hines Road and Pine River sites. Pine River Bluffs Estates was

also added as a defendant.

Following a 13-day bench trial, the district court concluded

that Rapanos had filled 22 of 28 acres of protected wetlands at

the Salzburg site, 17 of 64 acres of protected wetlands at the

Hincs Road site, and 15 of 49 acres of protected wetlands at the

Pine River site. The district court concluded that the

government had established that 54 of the filled acres fit the

' Tue land at issue in the criminal trial was the Salzburg site.

The Salzburg site in the criminal trial is somewhat different

than the Salzburg site involved in this proceeding.

Appendix A6

three parameters for wetlands, i.e., vegetation, soils, and

hydrology. In addition, the court found that the United States

did not meet its burden regarding the existence of wetlands at

the Freeland and Mapleton sites. The district court entered

these findings and conclusions on March 22, 2000.”

STANDARD OF REVIEW

[1] Following a bench trial, this court reviews the district

court’s findings of fact for clear error and reviews its

conclusions of law de novo. Pledger v. United States, 236 F.3d

315, 320 (6th Cir. 2000). Factual determinations of a trial court

are not clearly erroneous unless we are “left with the definite

and firm conviction that a mistake has been committed.” /d.

(quoting Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564, 573,

105 S. Ct. 1504, 84 L. Ed.2d 518 (1985)). “If the district

court's account of the evidence is plausible in light of the

record viewed in its entirety, the court of appeals may not

reverse it even though convinced that had it been sitting as the

trier of fact, it would have weighed the evidence differently.”

Anderson, 470 U.S. at 573-74, 105 S. Ct. 1504.

DISCUSSION

On appeal, Rapanos argues that the district court erred

when it (1) held that the disturbed wetlands were adjacent

wetlands because they had a surface connection to waters of the

United States; (2) failed to make subsidiary findings to support

its conclusion that the Salzburg, Hines Road, and Pine River

. On January 10, 2003, after the Supreme Court overturned the

“Migratory Bird Rule” as an excessive extension of jurisdiction

under the CWA in SWANCC, the district court amended its

findings to remove all references to the “Migratory Bird Rule”

as a basis for federal jurisdiction.

Appendix A7

sites had a hydrological connection to navigable waters; (3)

allowed plaintiff's expert Dr. Willard to testify, (4) failed to

consider Michigan’s definition of “wetland”; (5) collaterally

estopped Rapanos from denying liability at the Salzburg site;

and (6) relied on Dr. Willard’s testimony to determine the

extent of unauthorized filling.

I. The CWA

In 1972, Congress reacted to the problem of water

pollution by enacting the CWA. The CWA is viewed by some

as the federal government’s main weapon in its effort to protect

wetlands. David Dornak, A New Generation is Teeing Off: Is

Tiger Woods Making Divots on Environmentally Sound Golf

Courses?, 23 Colum. J. Envtl. L. 299, 324 (1998). Section 404

of the CWA requires landowners to obtain permits from the

Army Corps of Engineers (“Corps”) before discharging fill

material into wetlands adjacent to navigable bodies of water

and their tributaries. United States v. Riverside Bayview

Homes, Inc., 474 U.S. 121, 123, 106 S. Ct. 455, 88 L. Ed.2d

419 (1985); see also 33 U.S.C. § 1344.

“Navigable waters” are defined as “waters of the United

States, including territorial seas.” 33 U.S.C. § 1362(7). The

Supreme Court and this court have noted that “Congress chose

to define waters covered by the Act broadly” in the CWA.

Riverside Bayview, 474 U.S. at 133, 106 S. Ct. 455; Rapanos,

339 F.3d at 450-51. Determining the precise boundary of

which waters are covered by the CWA has been difficult. It is

well-settled that the CWA covers more than what has come to

be known as “navigable in fact waters,” i.e., waters that can be

navigated in the traditional sense. See id. at 451. As the

Supreme Court has noted, CWA jurisdiction extends beyond

traditionally navigable waters because economic activities

affecting interstate commerce are susceptible to “congressional

regulation under the Commerce Clause irrespective ot whether

Appendix A8

navigation, or, indeed, water, is involved.” Kaiser Aetna v.

United States, 444 U.S. 164, 174, 100 S. Ct. 383, 62 L. Ed.2d

332 (1979).

The CWA’s broad reach, extending beyond traditionally

navigable waters, however, does not extend to all waters. The

Code of Federal Regulations contains the Corps’ interpretation

of which waters are properly considered “waters of the United

States.” 33 C.F.R. § 328.3. In the present case, the district

court relied on the Corps’ exercise of jurisdiction over

“wetlands adjacent to traditional navigable waters” as

supporting CWA jurisdiction for the Defendants’ lands. /d. at

§ 328.3(a)(7). It found that the wetlands were adjacent to

tributaries of traditional navigable waters. The Corps asserts

jurisdiction over such waters pursuant to the CWA. Jd. at § §

328.3(a)(5), 328.3(a)(7).

Determining which wetlands are considered “adjacent to”

traditional navigable waters or their tributaries has proved to be

a complication in defining CWA jurisdiction. The Code of

Federal Regulations states that “adjacent” means “bordering,

contiguous, or neighboring. Wetlands separated from other

waters of the United States by man-made dikes or barriers,

natural river berms, beach dunes and the like are ‘adjacent

wetlands.’” 33 C.F.R. § 328.3(c).

In order to invoke federal jurisdiction the wetlands must

bear some connection to navigable waters or interstate

commerce. Determining how much of a connection is

necessary has proven difficult. Unfortunately, the two leading

Supreme Court cases on the reach of the CWA have done little

to clear the muddied waters of CWA jurisdiction.

\

Appendix A9

A. Riverside Bayview

Riverside Bayview Homes owned 80 acres of low-lying,

marshy land near the shores of Lake St. Clair in Macomb

County, Michigan. It began filling part of the land with the

intention of constructing a housing development on the site.

The Corps determined that the land was an “adjacent wetland,”

thus falling under the ambit of the CWA. The district court

determined that the land on the site below 575.5 feet above sea

level was a wetland requiring the issuance of a permit before it

could be filled. Riverside Bayview, 474 U.S. at 125, 106 S. Ct.

455. This court reversed the district court, concluding that

adjacent wetlands only existed when the land was flooded by

adjacent navigable waters at a frequency sufficient to support

the growth of aquatic vegetation. United States v. Riverside

Bayview Homes, Inc., 729 F.2d 391 (6th Cir. 1984).

This court was largely motivated by Fifth Amendment

takings concerns, concluding that the CWA must be read

narrowly to avoid improper condemnation by the government.

A unanimous Supreme Court, however, held that the Tucker

Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1491, provides the owners of condemned land

with the right of compensation and thus concluded that this

court was not justified in reading the CWA’s jurisdiction so

narrowly. Riverside Bayview, 474 U.S. at 128, 106 S. Ct. 455.

Having disposed of the Fifth Am adment issue, the Court

concluded that “(t]he plain language of (33 C.F.R. § 323.2(c)]

refutes the Court of Appeals’ conclusion that inundation or

‘frequent flooding’ by the adjacent body of water is a sine qua

non of a wetland under the regulation.” Jd. at 129, 106 S. Ct.

455.

Appendix A1l0

Next, the Court addressed the issue of which waters could

be considered “adjacent to navigable waters.”

In determining the limits of its power to regulate

discharges under the Act, the Corps must necessarily

choose some point at which water ends and land

begins. Our common experience tells us that this is

often no easy task: the transition from water to solid

ground is not necessarily or even typically an abrupt

one. Rather, between open waters and dry land may

lie shallows, marshes, mudflats, swamps, bogs—in

short, a huge array of areas that are not wholly aquatic

but nevertheless fall far short of being dry land.

Where on this continuum to find the limit of “waters”

is far from obvious.

Id. at 132, 106 S. Ct. 455.

The Court concluded that to protect against pollution “at its

source, Congress sought to define coverage of the CWA

broadly. /d. at 133, 106 S. Ct. 455. It noted that even wetlands

that are not connected to adjacent bodies of water and are not

regularly inundated by flooding may still have a connection to

navigable waters because such water can drain into navigable

waters. /d. at 134, 106 S.Ct. 455. These adjacent bodies of

water can bring pollution to the navigable waters, resulting in

possibly disastrous effects on the habitat and food chain for the

native aquatic species. See id. at 134-35, 106 S. Ct. 455. Thus,

the Court wrote that

the Corps has concluded that wetlands adjacent to

lakes, rivers, streams, and other bodies of water may

function as integral parts of the aquatic environment

even when the moisture creating the wetlands does

not find its source in the adjacent bodies of water... .

[W]e cannot say that the Corps’ judgment on these

Appendix All

matters is unreasonable, and we therefore conclude

that a definition of “waters of the United States”

encompassing all wetlands adjacent to other bodies of

water over which the Corps has jurisdiction is a

permissible interpretation of the [CWA].

Id. at 135, 106 S. Ct. 455.

B. SWANCC

After upholding a broad view of the CWA’s jurisdictional

reach in Riverside Bayview, a divided Supreme Court

invalidated one of the Corps’ jurisdictional regulations in

SWANCC. The regulation at issue, known as “the Migratory

Bird Rule,” extended the definition of “waters of the United

States” to include isolated waters that were used as habitat by

migratory birds or endangered species. Final Rule for

Regulatory Programs of the Corps of Engineers, 51 Fed. Reg.

41206, 41217 (Nov. 13, 1986) (previously codified at 33 C.F.R.

§ 328.3). The disputed land was a 533 acre parcel straddling

the Cook and Kane County lines in northern Illinois. The land

was owned by the Solid Waste Agency of Northern Cook

County, a consortium of 23 Chicago cities that sought to

develop a garbage disposal site. SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 162-63,

121 S. Ct. 675. The Corps initially determined that it had no

jurisdiction over the land because it did not contain any

wetlands and did not support “vegetation typically adapted for

life in saturated soil conditions.” Jd. at 164, 121 S. Ct. 675

(citing 33 C.F.R. § 328.3(b)). However, after learning that

several migratory birds were observed at the site, the Corps

asserted jurisdiction under the Migratory Bird Rule. /d.

The Seventh Circuit concluded that the federal government

had the authority to use the Migratory Bird Rule, relying on the

cumulative impact doctrine to conclude that, in toto, the impact

on migratory birds from disturbing wholly intrastate,

Appendix A12

non-navigable waters had a substantial impact on interstate

commerce. Solid Waste Agency of N. Cook County v. United

States Army Corps of Engineers, 191 F.3d 845, 850 (7th Cir.

1999). A majority of the Supreme Court disagreed, however,

holding that the Migratory Bird Rule was not supported by

Congress’ intent in passing the CWA and thus concluding that

it was unnecessary to determine whether the Migratory Bird

Rule fell within the broadest reach of Congress’ commerce

powers. SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 167, 121 S. Ct. 675.

In doing so, the Court first reaffirmed the holding in

Riverside Bayview, pointing out that in Riverside Bayview

we noted that the term “navigable” is of “limited

import” and that Congress evidenced its intent to

regulate at least some waters that would not be

deemed “navigable” under the classical understanding

of that term. But our holding was based in large

measure upon Congress’ unequivocal acquiescence to,

and approval of, the Corps’ regulations interpreting

the CWA to cover wetlands adjacent to navigable

waters. We found that Congress’ concern for the

protection of water quality and aquatic ecosystems

indicated its intent to regulate wetlands inseparably

bound up with the “waters” of the United States.

It was the significant nexus between the wetlands and

“navigable waters” that informed our reading of the

CWA in Riverside Bayview Homes. Indeed, we did

not express any opinion on the question of the

authority of the Corps to regulate discharges of fill

material into wetlands that are not adjacent to open

bodies of water. In order to rule for respondents here,

we would have to hold that the jurisdiction of the

Corps extends to ponds that are not adjacent to open

Appendix Al3

water. But we conclude that the test of the statute will

not allow this.

SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 167-68, 121 S. Ct. 675 (citations

omitted) (emphasis in original).

The Court also refused to extend Chevron deference to the

Corps’ interpretation of its authority under the CWA. See

Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense Council,

Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 104 S. Ct. 2778, 81 L. Ed.2d 694 (1984). It

reasoned that such deference was inappropriate where the Corps

was infringing upon a power usually reserved to the states, i.e.,

the authority to regulate land and water use. SWANCC, 531

U.S. at 172-74, 121 S. Ct. 675. Therefore, the Court concluded

that Congress had not envisioned extending CWA jurisdiction

to isolated, intrastate, non-navigable “ponds” simply by virtue

of the fact that they were occasionally the home for migratory

birds, despite the Corps’ contrary interpretation of its authority.

Id. at 171-72, 121 S. Ct. 675.

C. Putting Riverside Bayview and SWANCC in Context

The Court in SWANCC noted that even reading the CWA

through a restrictive lens demonstrates that Congress “wanted

to include all waters adjacent to ‘navigable waters,’ such as

nonnavigable tributaries and streams” in its definition of

“waters of the United States.” SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 171, 121

S. Ct. 675. Lower courts have disagreed over the extent to

which SWANCC limited Riverside Bayview’s holding.

SWANCC only specifically addressed the Migratory Bird Rule,

and in fact specifically held that it was not overruling any

aspect of Riverside Bayview, yet its language has been seen by

some as justification for a wide-ranging reduction of the

CWA’s jurisdiction. A minority of courts have done so,

reading SWANCC broadly to limit the CWA to navigable waters

and non-navigable waters that directly abut navigable waters.

Appendix Al4

In re Needham, 354 F.3d 340, 345-46 (5th Cir. 2003); FD & P

Enterprises, Inc. v. U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 239 F.

Supp.2d 509, 516 (D.N.J.2003). Conversely, the majority of

courts have interpreted SWANCC narrowly to hold that while

the CWA does not reach isolated waters having no connection

with navigable waters, it does reach inland waters that share a

hydrological connection with navigable waters. Rapanos, 339

F.3d at 453; Treacy v. Newdunn Assoc., LLP, 344 F.3d 407, 415

(4th Cir. 2003); United States v. Deaton, 332 F.3d 698, 702 (4th

Cir. 2003), cert. denied, --- U.S. ----, 124 S. Ct. 1874, 158 L.

Ed.2d 466 (2004); United States v. Rueth Dev. Co., 335 F.3d

598, 604 (7th Cir. 2003), cert. denied, --- U.S. ----, 124 S. Ct.

835, 157 L. Ed.2d 699 (2003); Headwaters v. Talent Irrigation

District, 243 F.3d 526, 533-34 (9th Cir. 2001); Carabell v.

United States Army Corps of Engineers, 257 F. Supp.2d 917,

930(E.D. Mich.2003); United States v. Interstate Gen. Co., 152

F. Supp.2d 843, 847 (D. Md.2001).

The Fifth Circuit has adopted the more expansive reading

of SWANCC and thus the more limited interpretation of the

CWA’s jurisdiction. Needham, 354 F.3d at 345-46. The

Needham court disagreed that water exhibiting a hydrological

connection with “navigable water” should be considered part of

the “waters of the United States,” instead finding that the water

must be “truly adjacent to navigable waters,” or at least have a

“significant measure of proximity” to navigable waters. Jd. at

345, 347, n. 12. In reaching this conclusion, the Fifth Circuit

relied heavily on SWANCC, disagreeing with holdings from the

Fourth, Seventh, and Ninth Circuits, as well as this court, that

have adopted a limited interpretation of SWANCC. Rapanos,

339 F.3d at 453 (finding that the SWANCC court merely

invalidated the Migratory Bird Rule and did not deal with the

Corps’ “adjacent waters” jurisdiction); Treacy, 344 F.3d at 415

(noting that SWANCC reaffirmed the holding in Riverside

Bayview and did not abridge the Corps’ authority over “adjacent

waters”); Deaton, 332 F.3d at 702 (holding that SWANCC did

Appendix A15

not disavow any of the Corps’ interpretations of the CWA, save

for the Migratory Bird Rule); Rueth Dev. Co., 335 F.3d at 604

(“it is clear that SWANCC did not affect the law regarding the

government’s alternative asserted basis for jurisdiction

adjacency under [the “adjacent water” rule]. The Corps

adjacency jurisdiction is well-established; it was upheld by the

Supreme Court in [Riverside Bayview], and was reaffirmed in

SWANCC” ); Headwaters, 243 F.3d at 533-34 (holding that

SWANCC did not impact its conclusion that waters flowing

into navigable waters are within the CWA’s jurisdiction);

Carabell, 257 F. Supp.2d at 930 (concluding that SWANCC’s

holding was narrow and did not require a body of water to

directly abut navigable water in order to fall under the

jurisdiction of the CWA); Interstate Gen. Co., 152 F. Supp.2d

at 847 (“[b]ecause the Supreme Court only reviewed 33 CFR §

328.3(a)(3), it would be improper for this Court to extend the

SWANCC Court’s ruling any further than they clearly

intended”); but see FD & P Enterprises, 239 F. Supp.2d at 516

(“it is the view of this court that the ‘hydrological connection

test is no longer the valid mode of analysis”).

In Rapanos’ criminal trial, a panel of this court adopted the

limited reading of SWANCC criticized in Needham. Adopting

the Fourth Circuit’s reasoning in Deaton, this court held that

because we find the Fourth Circuit’s reasoning

persuasive, we disagree with the broad interpretation

of [SWANCC ] taken by the district court in this case

and, instead, agree with Deaton. Although the

[SWANCC ] opinion limits the application of the

Clean Water Act, the Court did not go as aot

R s argues, restricting the Act’s coverage to only

ualients directly abutting navigable water. Instead,

the [SWANCC ] Court, in a narrow holding,

invalidated the Migratory Bird Rule as exceeding the

authority granted to the [Corps] by the [CWA],

Appendix A1l6

because it found “nothing approaching a clear

statement from Congress that it intended [the CWA]

to reach an abandoned sand and gravel pit.”

Rapanos, 339 F.3d at 453 (citations omitted).

This court further adopted the holding in Deaton, that

“adjacent waterways” include any branch of a

tributary system that eventually flows into a navigable

body of water. Rapanos, 339 F.3d at 452-53. This

court concluded that the wetlands were adjacent

because “[a]ny contamination of the Rapanos

wetlands could affect the Drain, which, in turn could

affect navigable-in-fact waters.” /d.

Thus, the primary difference between the conclusion

reached by the Fifth Circuit and that reached by the Fourth,

Sixth, Seventh, and Ninth Circuits, concerns the “adjacency”

requirement. The Fifth Circuit requires that the non-navigable

water be “truly adjacent to navigable waters” in order to qualify

for CWA jurisdiction. The majority of courts, including this

one, however, construe Riverside Bayview and SWANCC to

hold that, whii. a hydrological connection between the

non-navigable and navigable waters is required, there is no

“direct abutment” requirement.

[2] What is required for CWA jurisdiction over “adjacent

waters,” however, is a “significant nexus between the wetlands

and ‘navigable waters,” SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 167, 121 S. Ct.

675, which can be satisfied by the presence of 2 hydrological

connection. Rapanos, 339 F.3d at 453; see also Deaton, 332

F.3d at 711-12 (CWA jurisdiction extends to those waters

adjacent to any branch of a tributary system that eventually

flows into a navigable water, because these waters effect the

water quality of navigable waters and thus there is a

“substantial nexus” between the tributaries and the navigable

ES Ca eae, ke

Appendix A1l7

waters); Headwaters, 243 F.3d at 533 (“Because the canals

receive water from natural streams and lakes, and divert water

to streams and creeks, they are connected as tributaries to other

‘waters of the United States’”). Waters sharing a hydrological

connection are interconnected, sharing a symbiotic relationship.

As Congress acknowledged when passing the CWA, “[w]ater

moves in hydrological cycles and it is essential that discharge

of pollutants be controlled at the source.” Rapanos, 339 F.3d

at 451 (citing S. Rep. No. 92-414, at 77 (1972), reprinted in

1972 U.S.C.C.A.N. 3668, 3742).

Unlike the absence of Congressional support for the

Migratory Bird Rule discussed in SWANCC, Congress clearly

envisioned that CWA jurisdiction would extend to bodies of

water exhibiting a hydrological connection to traditional

navigable waters. As this court previously recognized

[i]n Riverside Bayview the Supreme Court concluded

that the Corps regulation extending jurisdicticn to

adjacent wetlands was a reasonable interpretation in

part because of what [SWANCC ] described as “the

significant nexus between the wetlands and ‘navigable

waters.”” There is also a nexus between a navigable

waterway and its nonnavigable tributaries .... This

nexus, in light of the “breadth of congressional

concern for protection of water quality and aquatic

ecosystems,” is sufficient to allow the Corps to

determine reasonably that its jurisdiction over the -

whole tributary system of any navigable waterway is

warranted. The regulation, as the Corps reads it,

reflects a reasonable interpretation of the Cizan Water

Act.

Rapanos, 339 F.3d at 452 (quoting Deaton, 332 F.3d at 712).

Appendix A18

D. Chevron Deference

[3] The doctrine of “administrative deference,” also

known as “Chevron deference,” provides an alternative ground

for affirming the Corps’ authority over waters adjacent to

tributaries of navigable waters. When Congress delegates

authority to enforce a statute to a governmental agency, while

leaving some ambiguity in how the agency is to enforce the

Statute, courts should assume that Congress impliedly delegated

the authority to interpret the ambiguity to the agency charged

with administering the statute. Chevron, 467 U.S. at 843-45,

104 S. Ct. 2778. The agency is thus in the position to “fill the

gaps” left by Congress. Unless the agency’s interpretation-of

the statute is “arbitrary, unreasonable, or manifestly contrary to

the statute,” the agency interpretation should be applied. /d. at

843-44, 104 S. Ct. 2778.

In Chevron, a unanimous Supreme Court pointed out that

deferring to agency interpretations, rather than requiring judicial

interpretation, served the interests of democracy, noting that

Judges are not experts in the field, and are not part of

either political branch of the Government. Courts

must, in some cases, reconcile competing political

interests, but not on the basis of the judges’ personal

policy preferences. In contrast, an agency to which

Congress has delegated policymaking responsibilities

may, within the limits of that delegation, properly rely

upon the incumbent administration’s views of wise

policy to inform its judgments. While agencies are

not directly accountable to the people, the Chief

Executive is, and it is entirely appropriate for this

political branch of the Government to make such

policy choices—resolving the competing interests

which Congress itself either inadvertently did not

resolve, or intentionally left to be resolved by the

se

wR

is ee ee Nee

Appendix A19

agency charged with the administration of the statute

in light of everyday realities.

When a challenge to_an agency construction of a

statutory provision, fairly conceptualized, really

centers on the wisdom of the agency’s policy, rather

than whether it is a reasonable choice within a gap left

open by Congress, the challenge must fail. In such a

case, federal judges—who have no constituency—

have a duty to respect legitimate policy choices made

by those who do. The responsibilities for assessing

the wisdom of such policy choices and resolving the

struggle between competing views of the public

interest are not judicial ones: Our Constitution vests

such responsibilities in the political branches.

Id. at 865-66, 104 S. Ct. 2778 (citation omitted).

Before according deference to agency interpretations,

a federal court “need not find that [the agency’s

interpretation] is the only permissible construction .-

. but only that [its] understanding of this . . . statute is

a sufficiently rational one to preclude a court from

substituting its judgment for that of [the agency.]”

Chem. Mfrs. Ass'n v. Natural Resources Defense

Council, 470 U.S. 116, 125, 105 S. Ct. 1102, 84 L.

Ed.2d 90 (1985) (citation omitted). In SWANCC the

Supreme Court refused to accord Chevron deference

to the Corps’ Migratory Bird Rule. Noting that

“where an otherwise acceptable construction of a

statute would raise serious constitutional problems,

the Court will :onstrue the statute to avoid such

problems unless such construction is plainly contrary

to the intent of Congress,” the Court concluded that

the Migratory Bird Rule infringed on the state’s

“traditional and primary power over land and water

Appendix A20

use,” and thus was not entitled to Chevron deference.

Id. at 173-74, 121 S. Ct. 675 (citation omitted). In

Riverside Bayview, however, the Supreme Court

accorded Chevron deference to the Corps’ conclusion

that “waters of the United States” included wetlands

adjacent to navigable waters. 474 U.S. at 134-35, 106

S. Ct. 455. As the SWANCC Court recognized,

deference was appropriate in Riverside Bayview given

the significant nexus between the adjacent waters and

navigable waters that was not present in the

“nonnavigable, isolated, intrastate ponds” at issue in

SWANCC whose only connection to interstate

commerce was the fact that they were occasionally

home to migratory birds.

[4] In Deaton, after conducting a thorough review of the

CWA, the Fourth Circuit accorded Chevron deference to the

Corps’ construction of the CWA that granted it authority over

“distant, nonnavigable tributaries of navigable waters.”

Deaton, 332 F.3d at 709. In Rapanos, this court agreed with the

Fourth Circuit’s holding in Deaton. Rapanos, 339 F.3d at

452-53. Because waters containing a hydrological connection

to tributaries of navigable waters bear a “significant nexus” to

navigable waters, as in Riverside Bayview and unlike the waters

in SWANCC, Chevron deference is appropriate. The Corps’

interpretation of “waters of the United States” to include those

waters adjacent to tributaries of navigable waters, that share a

hydrological connection with those tributaries, is neither

“arbitrary, unreasonable, or manifestly contrary to the statute.”

Chevron, 467 U.S. at 843-44, 104 S. Ct. 2778.

E. Application to this Case

The Defendants argue that this court should impose a

“direct abutment” requirement to CWA jurisdiction over

Appendix A21

non-navigable water. In response, the United States asserts that

the Defendants waived a defense based on SWANCC by not

raising it before the district court. It claims that, while the

Defendants argued that the CWA does not extend to “isolated

waters,” they did not make the current argument that the CWA

does not extend to “wetlands adjacent to nonnavigable

tributaries.” However, the United States is splitting hairs, as

this is simply part and parcel of the “isolated waters” argument

the Defendants made before the district court. Alternatively,

the Defendants’ current claim falls under the exceptions to the

traditional rule that appellate courts will not entertain arguments

raised for the first time on appeal because this argument

involves a question of law and the factual record has been fully

developed below. Taft Broadcasting Co. v. United States, 929

F.2d 240, 244 (6th Cir. 1991).

[5] [6] As discussed supra, Rapanos’ argument regarding

SWANCC has previously been adjudicated by this court, in a

published disposition, and its conclusion is entitled to stare

decisis. See Rapanos, 339 F.3d at 453. Indeed, Rapanos

acknowledged as much during oral arguments. Further, this

court’s reasoning in that case is supported by the majority of

circuits, by the policy of deferring to agency interpretations, and

by a careful examination of the relevant Supreme Court cases.

There is no “direct abutment” requirement in order to invoke

CWA jurisdiction. Non-navigab'e waters must have a

hydrological connection or some other “significant nexus” to

traditional navigable waters in order to invoke CWA

jurisdiction. Unlike the isolated waters in SWANCC, these

waters are interconnected with traditional navigable waters.

Next, the Defendants’ argument that the district court did

not find that there was a “significant nexus” between the

wetlands and the navigable waters is similarly misplaced. The

district court found that all three sites contained a hydrological

connection to navigable waters and thus fell within the

Appendix A22

jurisdiction of the CWA. Specifically, the district court found

that

the Salzburg wetlands have a surface water

connection to tributaries of the Kawkawlin River

which, in turn, flows into the Saginaw River and

ultimately into Lake Huron. Dr. Willard testified that

the wetlands at the Salzburg site had a surface

connection to the waters of the United States. In

1994, Hal Harrington verified that a surface water

connection exists between the Salzburg site and

Saginaw Bay.

Further, Hal Harrington, Chief of the Michigan

Department of Environmental Quality’s Great Lakes

Submerged Lands Unit, testified that there was a

surface water connection between the Salzburg site

and the Saginaw Bay. In 1994 he visited the site.

During this visit, he observed carp spawning in a

roadside stream on the north side of the property. He

followed the flow of the water and “each road

crossing with this surface water connection to

Saginaw where it entered . . . the river entering

Saginaw Bay north of the Bay City State Park [the

Kawkawlin River].” An expert for Rapanos, Dr.

Straw, testified that water left the site through the

Appendix A23

Regarding the Hines Road site, the district court noted that

Dr. Willard testified that the wetlands at the Hines

Road site have a surface water connection to the Rose

Drain which, in turn, has a surface water connection

to the Tittabawassee River. Dr. Willard also

described the nature of the surface water connection

between the wetlands at Hines Road and the Rose

Drain. In October 1994, Dodgers and Zbiciak . . .

demonstrated that the interior wetlands have a

hydrologic connection with the Rose Drain.

In addition, Mr. Zbiciak, a representative from the

State of Michigan, testified that the wetlands drained

into the Rose Drain, which runs along the western

side of the site and flows down to the Tittabawassee

River. A report by Charlie Dodgers, another

representative of the State of Michigan, indicated that

the site inspection revealed five locations where water

moved into the Rose Drain, as he testified at trial.

Rapanos claims that ditches he dug in 1992 were the

only cause of a surface water connection to the Rose

drain. However, Charlie Dodgers testified that

surface runoff occurred naturally “at least seasonally,”

and one of the United States’ exhibits demonstrated

surface connections to the Rose drain as early as 1975.

Hoppler Drain, which drains into the Hoppler Creek. Regarding the Pine River site, the district court noted that “Dr.

This drain is immediately north of the Salzburg site.’ Willard testified that the wetlands at the Pine River site have a

surface water connection to the Pine River, which flows into

Lake Huron.” The maps utilized by the United States showed

> In Rapanos’ criminal case, this court held that the evidence

demonstrated that “the wetlands on Rapanos’s land are adjacent

to the Labozinski Drain . . .” and noted that contamination of > (. continued)

that drain “could affect navigable-in-fact waters.” Rapanos, the H er

339 F.3d at 453 (discussing a slightly different parcei of land). °PP :

The Labozinski Drain discussed in the criminal case drains into

(continued...)

Appendix A24

that areas of wetlands on the site were in close proximity to the

Pine River (although they did not delineate the specific paths

these wetlands would have taken to drain into the river).

[7] Although the Defendants claim that the evidence did

not support these conclusions, the record demonstrates that

there were hydrological connections between all three sites and

corresponding adjacent tributaries of navigable waters. See

Rapanos, 339 F.3d at 453 (“Because the wetlands are adjacent

to the Drain and there exists a hydrological connection among

the wetlands, the Drain, and the Kawkawlin River, we find an

ample nexus to establish jurisdiction.”). Moreover, the

Defendants are certainly unable to show that the district court’s

conclusions were clearly erroneous. Pledger, 236 F.3d at 320.

The district court was in a far superior position to judge the

complicated facts of this case after presiding over the lengthy

proceedings and the bench trial. Further,

[t]he rationale for deference to the original finder of

fact is not limited to the superiority of the trial judge’s

position to make determinations of credibility. The

trial judge’s major role is the determination of fact,

and with experience in fulfilling that role comes

expertise. Duplication of the trial judge’s efforts in

the court of appeals would very likely contribute only

negligibly to the accuracy of fact determination at a

huge cost in diversion of judicial resources. In

addition, the parties to a case on appeal have already

been forced to concentrate their energies and

resources on persuading the trial judge that their

account of the facts is the correct one; requiring them

to persuade three more judges at the appellate level is

requiring too much. As the Court has stated in a

different context, the trial on the merits should be “the ©

‘main event’ .. . rather than a “tryout on the road.”

Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72, 90, 97 S. Ct. 2497,

Appendix A25

53 L. Ed.2d 594 (1977). For these reasons, review of

factual findings under the clearly-erroneous

standard—with its deference to the trier of fact—is

the rule, not the exception.

Anderson, 470 U.S. at 574-75, 105 S.Ct. 1504. The testimony

and evidence in the record support the district court’s findings.

Its conclusions of fact are entitled to substantial deference and

they are not “clearly erroneous.”

The Defendants also argue that the district court was

required to make “subsidiary findings” to support its conclusion

that the sites had a hydrological connection to navigable waters,

citing Deal v. Cincinnati Bd. of Educ., 369 F.2d 55 (6th Cir.

1966). To the contrary, the district court’s opinion, along with

the expert testimony regarding the hydrological connection,

provides a sufficient basis to examine the district court’s

findings and supports the determination that its conclusions

were not clearly erroneous.

Il. Dr. Willard’s Testimony

At trial, the United States offered the expert testimony of

Dr. Daniel E. Willard. The district court found Dr. Willard to

be “eminently qualified” as an expert in wetlands and

concluded that his testimony was “highly credible.” The

Defendants argue that this testimony should have been stricken,

or the trial delayed, because Dr. Willard relied upon a

supplemental expert witness report that was not disclosed until

after trial was underway.

Dr. Willard revised the map he prepared for trial

delineating the areas of wetland on the Rapanos’ land. After

examining the soil analysis from the Defendants’ expert and

aerial photography, Dr. Willard revised his wetlands maps,

removing some of the areas he had previously marked as

Appendix A26

wetlands. He did so to be “as conservative and as accurate as

[he] could.” The new maps were produced in conjunction with

Will Bowman, a soils scientist with the Natural Resources

Conservation Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture,

and were known as the “Bowman Supplemental Soils Maps.”

Accompanying the new maps was a five-page supplemental

report. The Defendants contend that this late report “made a

mockery of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,” specifically

complaining that the disclosure rules specified in Rule 26 were

violated. They claim that the district court’s denial of their

motion for Rule 37 sanctions, based on the failure to disclose,

requires remand for a new trial.

The United States points out that the new maps were based

on analysis from the Defendants’ experts contained in the

Pierce report. The version of Rule 26(e) in effect at the time of

the trial provided that a party was required to supplement its

disclosures “if the information disclosed is incomplete or

incorrect and if the additional or corrective information has not

otherwise been made known to the other parties during the

discovery process.” The data used in the supplemental report

and maps was known to the Defendants, as it was produced by

their experts. Because Dr. Willard’s previous expert report and

maps were available to the Defendants, it seems unlikely that

simply incorporating some of the data from the Defendants’

own experts, which reduced the computation of wetland areas,

qualifies under Rule 26’s mandatory disclosure requirements.

[8] [9] [10] Even if we assume that the United States was

required to disclose the supplemental results, exclusion of the

report and testimony was not the only remedy available to the

district court. Rule 37(c) provides sanctions for the failure to

comply with Rule 26, including exclusion of evidence. This

court reviews for abuse of discretion a district court’s ruling on

a motion to exclude an expert witness as a sanction under Rule

37 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Roberts ex rel.

Appendix A27

Johnson v. Galen of Virginia, Inc., 325 F.3d 776, 782 (6th Cir.

2003); Toth v. Grand Trunk Railroad, 306 F.3d 335, 344 (6th

Cir. 2002). Rule 37 provides that the trial judge should not

exclude expert testimony unless the failure to disclose is both

unjustified and harmful. Roberts, 325 F.3d at 782; Fed. R. Civ.

P. 37(c)(1) 2000 advisory committee’s notes (“Even if the

failure [to disclose] was not substantially justified, a party

should be allowed to use the material that was not disclosed if

the lack of earlier notice was harmless.”). The non-disclosing

party bears the burden of proving that a disclosure was

harmless. Roberts, 325 F.3d at 782. The aggrieved party,

however, must show substantial prejudice before this court will

grant a new trial based on an alleged Rule 26(e) disclosure

error. Toth, 306 F.3d at 344.

[11] In this case, the failure to disclose seems harmless as

the Defendants were aware of the data used in the supplemental

reports and the revised reports reduced the amount of wetlands

found to exist at the sites. Thus, the only changes made

between the original disclosed report and the supplemental

report were beneficial to the Defendants. In summary, no

“substantial prejudice” has been demonstrated.

[12] Even ifa trial court determines that Rule 26 has been

violated, Rule 37 does not mandate exclusion of evidence.

Roberts, 325 F.3d at 783-84 (Rule 37(c)(1) “provides several

remedies to a district judge who is faced with violations of the

mandatory-disclosure provisions of Rule 26. The provision on

sanctions explicitly states in pertinent part that ‘in lieu of this

sanction [of total exclusion], the court, on motion and after

affording an opportunity to be heard, may impose other

appropriate sanctions.””). The district court, after noting its

concern with the failure to disclose the supplemental report,

concluded that

Appendix A28

the defense should be accommodated and [I] will do

so in several ways, [at] the option totally of the

defense. Number one is that at the conclusion of the

Government’s expert witness case, I would certainly

give the defense as much reasonable time as they need

in order to consult with their experts. I would be

more than happy to . . . so that your expert can be

prepared without having to order transcripts and so

forth, have him or her on a phone conference so that

they can hear all that testimony . . . so that you can be

prepared and also take some time and recess for as

long as you need in order to consult with your expert

for cross-examination and if it entails taking whatever

time it takes reasonably to be prepared. But I think

that we’ re here to seek the truth, and that’s—that’s the

whole idea of having a trial is to seek the truth. It’s

not... to ambush and everybody should be prepared

.... But I have to, I think, listen to the testimony to

see what really transpired here with the understanding

that we’re here to seek the truth and that I will give

the defense as much opportunity as they need since

it’s a bench trial and we can take time, and it’s

important, but not that important that you shouldn’t

have an opportunity to be able to use your right to

cross-examine, to seek the truth.

The district court properly considered the role of the

trial, the rights of the parties, and the considerations of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure in this side-bar.

The Federal Rules of Civil Procedure are not so monolithic

as to demand a single outcome for the widely varying

circumstances encountered in discovery and trial. They

properly recognize the discretion of the trial court to fashion

appropriate remedies, taking into account the facts of the case.

This case languished for more than five years between the filing

Appendix A29

of the Complaint and the 13-day bench trial. It involved

complicated factual and legal issues. It was within the district

court’s discretion to allow the evidence and it significantly

allayed any fears of undue surprise by granting the Defendants

“as long as they needed” to review Dr. Willard’s supplemental

report so that they could discuss it with their experts.

Finally, Dr. Willard notified the Defendants during his

deposition a few weeks before trial that he was in the process of

amending his findings based upon the Pierce report. The

Defendants apparently did not object to this until Dr. Willard

testified and they never made a motion pursuant to Rule

37(a)(2)(A) to compel discovery. In Roberts, this court noted

that such inaction by the “surprised” party suggests that the

failure to disclose should be considered harmless or justified.

Roberts, 325 F.3d at 783.

Considering all of the circumstances in this complicated

case, the district court’s failure to exclude Dr. Willard’s

supplemental reports cannot be said to be an “abuse of

discretion” and its solution for the disclosure problem was

entirely appropriate.

Ill. The Michigan Wetlands Program

The CWA permits states to develop their own water

protection permit program to enforce the provisions of the

CWA. 33 U.S.C. § 1344(g). This partial delegation provision

“gives a state the authority to render a comprehensive

federal/state wetland permit decision with the federal

government playing the role of the overseer in the consideration

of permit applications.” Michigan Peat v. United States Envtl.

Prot. Agency, 175 F.3d 422, 424 (6th Cir. 1999). Michigan,

along with New Jersey, has established such a permitting

program. 40 C.F.R. §§ 233.70-233.71.

Appendix A30

The Defendants claim that Michigan’s permitting

regulations contain slight variations to the federal statutes. In

particular, they cite Michigan’s Geomare-Anderson Wetlands

Protection Act, which has language defining wetlands that

differ somewhat from the Corps’ regulations. Mich. Comp.

Laws § 324.30301(p). Those wetlands that are not contiguous

to the Great Lakes, an inland lake or pond, or a river or stream,

and less than five acres in size, are net subject to Michigan’s

Wetlands Protection Act, unless it is certified that the area’s

preservation is necessary to protect the natural resources of the

state. Jd. § 324.30301(p)ii). This five-acre jurisdictional

limitation is not found in the CWA or the Code of Federal

Regulations. The Defendants argue that it was error for the

district court not to make findings of fact regarding the

Michigan statute’s five-acre limitation, instead focusing solely

on the federal regulations.

[13] [14] While the CWA grants states the authority to

establish their own clean water regulations, Congress clearly

intended for any state program to be at least as broad as the

federal program. See 33 U.S.C. § 1344(h)(1)(A)-(B). The

Geomare-Anderson Wetlands Protection Act is a state statute

separate from the CWA. The CWA’s provision for state

involvement in issuing CWA permits does not delegate

authority to the state to alter application of the CWA and the

Corps specifically notes that “[a]ny approved State Program

shall, at all times, be conducted in accordance with the

requirements of the Act and of this part. While States may

impose more stringent requirements, they may not impose any

less stringent requirements for any purpose.” 40 C.F.R. §

233.1(d). Moreover, contrary to the Appellant’s assertions,

permitting a state to issue CWA permits does not foreclose all

federal issuance of CWA permits. See Michigan Peat, 175 F.3d

at 427 (a case in which the Corps had ultimate authority to issue

permit when state permit did not address the concerns of the

federal government); 33 U.S.C. § 1344(g)(1) (Corps still issues

Appendix A31

permits for waters used in interstate commerce, including

adjacent wetlands).

[15] The CWA explicitly provides that, notwithstanding

the delegation of authority to the states, nothing in Section 1344

is meant to restrict the Corps’ authority to enforce the CWA.

33 U.S.C. § 1344(n). This court has recognized that Section

1344(n) allows the federal government to pursue an action

against an offender regardless of whether the state has instituted

its own enforcement program, noting that under “the CWA ...

the responsible federal agency retains oversight power to ensure

compliance with federal standards.” S. Ohio Coal Co. v. Office

of Surface Mining, Reclamation and Enforcement, 20 F.3d

1418, 1427-28 (6th Cir. 1994); see also United States v. City of

Rock Island, 182 F. Supp.2d 690, 693-94 (C.D. Ill. 2001);

United States v. Town of Lowell, 637 F. Supp. 254, 257 (N.D.

Ind. 1985). The CWA does not contain any language suggesting

that state implementation of the CWA is “in lieu of” federal

enforcement and thus any delegation of authority to the state in

the CWA does not end a citizen’s responsibility to abide by the

federal laws and regulations. Cf United States v. City of

Youngstown, 109 F. Supp.2d 739, 741 (N.D. Ohio 2000).

In short, there is nothing in the CWA to suggest that by

allowing Michigan to enforce portions of the CWA, the Corps

was delegating the authority to the state to determine the

limitations on CWA jurisdiction. Michigan does not gain the

authority to alter the CWA’s federal jurisdiction merely by

virtue of the fact that it is entitled to administer some portions

of the act. In fact, the statute and the accompanying regulations

make it clear that state enforcement programs cannot act to

weaken the CWA.

Finally, it should be noted that the Corps retains the

ultimate authority to deny a CWA permit, even if Michigan is

inclined to grant one under its delegation of authority.

Appendix A32

Michigan’s Administration of Section 404 at 2 (available at

http://www.deg.state.mi.us/documents/deq-lwm-wetlands-40

4admin.pdf); see also Michigan Peat, 175 F.3d at 427

(Michigan failed to issue a permit satisfying the federal

government’s reservations so the Corps retained the sole

authority to authorize the issuance of a permit). In certifying

Michigan’s 404 permitting scheme, Michigan’s Attorney

General wrote that

[t]he Water Resources Commission Act governing

discharge of pollutants into water of this state includes

within its ambit all waters of the State of Michigan.

It is, of course, clear that the . . . Wetlands Act

exclude from their purview certain lakes having an

area of less than 5 acres. Even this problem is, in fact,

of no practical matter for a number of reasons. First,

it is quite conceivable that a lake under 5 acres would

have an affect on interstate commerce so as to imbue

it with the distinction of being “water of the United

States” and thus subject to the federal permit program.

Thus, Michigan’s permitting program properly recognized

that a site not falling within the ambit of Michigan’s state

program could still be within the jurisdiction of the federal

program.

IV. Collateral Estoppel

The district court found that Mr. Rapanos should be

collaterally estopped from denying liability at the Salzburg site

based on the outcome in the criminal case. Both parties note

the confusion from relying upon collateral estoppel in this case

because (1) the “Salzburg site” referenced in the criminal trial

is not completely analogous to the Salzburg site in this case and

(2) when the district court entered its findings of fact in 2000,

Rapanos had been convicted in his trial and sentenced, but his

Appendix A33

appeal was pending, yet when the district court entered its final

judgment in February 2003, Rapanos’ conviction had been

vacated by the criminal trial court and the United States’ appeal

to this court was pending. The United States notes the

difficulty inherent in relying upon collateral estoppel when an

appeal is pending.

Regardless, the district court’s conclusion regarding

collateral estoppel was not necessary for its finding that the

Defendants were responsible for CWA violations at the

Salzburg site. As discussed supra, the district court concluded

that the Defendants had discharged fill into the Salzburg site

and that the Salzburg site was subject to CWA jurisdiction. A

judge may rely upon multiple alternative, but independent

rationales for his decision. See Nat’! Satellite Sports, Inc. v.

Eliadis, Inc., 253 F.3d 900, 909-10 (6th Cir. 2001) (discussing

the effects on collateral estoppel when a decision is based upon

two alternative, but independent rationales). In this case, it is

unnecessary to determine whether collateral estoppel was

appropriate because the district court provided alternate

rationales for its findings.

V. The Extent of Unauthorized Filling

Finally, the Defendants contend that substantial evidence

did not support the district court’s finding that 54 acres of

wetlands were illegally filled. They claim that some of the fill

used in the district court’s calculation was “incidental fallback.”

The district court concluded that the illegal fill was substantial

(covering 54 acres) and not the result of incidental fallback after

examining the evidence and hearing the relevant testimony.

This conclusion is supported by the evidence and is not clearly

erroneous.

Appendix A34

_ CONCLUSION

We AFFIRM the judgment of the district court.

nee

Appendix B1

No. 02-1377

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Filed March 24,

2000

Plaintiff,

Civil Action No.

v. 94-CV-70788-DT

HON. BERNARD

A. FRIEDMAN

JOHN A. RAPANOS, JUDITH A.

NELKIE RAPANOS, PRODO,

INC., ROLLING MEADOWS

HUNT CLUB, and PINE RIVER

BLUFF ESTATES, INC.,

Defendants.

licen Senet) ies Said Neue tea? Mee Sue Sea? Nee eee ee ee a

FINDING OF FACT AND

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

I. Introduction

Plaintiff alleges in this matter that defendants have violated

the Clean Water Act (“CWA”). Specifically, it is alleged that

defendants violated 33 U.S.C. § § 1311 and 1344 by cutting

down trees, destroying vegetation, moving and removing soil,

dumping sand, building roads and houses, dredging ditches,

installing drain tiles, and engaging in other construction

activities at six sites where protected wetlands are present (or

where protected wetlands were present before defendants

Appendix B2

destroyed them) without a permit.' Plaintiff also alleges that

defendant John Rapanos violated 33 U.S.C. § 1318(a) by failing

to respond to a request for information regarding one of the

sites; and that all of the defendants violated 33 U.S.C. § 1319(a)

by failing to comply with two administrative compliance orders.

Plaintiff seeks injunctive relief, civil penalties, and costs.

After a court-ordered special mediation failed to achieve a

settlement, the matter was tried to the bench. The central issues

at trial were the extent to which, if at all, protected wetlands

existed at the five sites; and the extent to which, if at all,

defendants unlawfully disturbed them. The court now submits

its findings of fact and conclusions of law in accordance with

Fed. R. Civ. 52. In short, the court concludes that plaintiffs

proved by a preponderance of the evidence that jurisdictional

wetlands existed at three of the five sites at the time defendants

engaged in their earth-moving and other construction activities.

Plaintiff also proved that defendants destroyed substantial

amounts of jurisdictional wetlands at these sites.

II. Relevant Statutes and Regulations

Under section 301(a) of the CWA, 33 U.S.C. § 1311(a), no

person may discharge any pollutant except in accordance with

restrictions established under other provisions of the act. The

term pollutant includes dredged spoil, biological materials,

rock, sand, and cellar dirt, and the phrase “discharge of a

pollutant” means any addition of any pollutant to navigable

' Throughout this litigation, the parties have referred to the six sites

as the Salzberg site; the Hines Road or Northwood site; the Pine

River site; the Freeland site; the Tittabawassee River or Mapleton

site; and the Jefferson Avenue site. Prior to trial, the court granted

summary judgment for defendants as to the Jefferson Avenue site.

All of the sites are located near Midland, Michigan, in Bay County,

which is within the Eastern District of Michigan.

Appendix B3

waters from a point source. See 33 U.S.C. § 1362 (6), (12).

Navigable waters are defined as “waters of the United States.”

See 33 U.S.C. § 1362 (7). Thus, plaintiff must prove by a

preponderance of the evidence that each site contains “waters

of the United States,” that “pollutants” were “discharged” into

those waters that the defendants are the “persons” responsible

for the discharge, and that the defendants lacked a permit.

The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (“Corps”) and

Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”) definitions of

“waters of the United States” include certain wetlands. See 40

C.F.R. § 230.3(s)(1)-(7). Wetlands are defined as “those areas

that are inundated or saturated by surface or ground water at a

frequency and duration sufficient to support, and that under

normal circumstances do support, a prevalence of vegetation

typically adapted for life in saturated soil conditions. Wetlands

generally include swamps, marshes, bogs and similar areas.” 33

C.F.R. § 323.2(c). Federal jurisdiction over wetlands is

permitted where the wetlands are “adjacent to” waters of the

United States, or where destruction of the wetlands has an

adverse effect on interstate commerce.

In addition to the proscription against addition of a

pollutant contained in section 301 of the CWA, 33 U.S.C.

§1319, the CWA also contains a requirement that the discharge

of dredged or fill material into waters of the United States be

permitted by the Secretary of the Army acting through the Chief

of Engineers (i.¢., the Corps). The Corps’ regulations define

“fill material” to mean “any material used for the primary

purpose of replacing an aquatic area with dry land or of

changing the bottom elevation of a waterbody.” 33 C.F.R. §

323.2(e).

The determination whether a particular area is a “wetland”

for purposes of the CWA is accomplished by using the U.S.

Army Corps of Engineers Wetlands Delineation Manual,

Appendix B4

Technical Report Y-87-1 (“1987”). The 1987 Manual presents

technical guidelines for identifying wetlands and distinguishing

them from non-wetlands, provides methods for applying the

technical guidelines, and provides supporting information

useful in applying the technical guidelines.

The 1987 Manual outlines a “three-parameter approach”

for identifying wetlands. This approach requires examination

of an area’s vegetation, soils and hydrology. The parties agree

that this approach must be used to identify and delineate

wetlands.

The wetland vegetation criterion is met when there is a

prevalence of vegetation typically adapted to survive in

conditions where the frequency and duration of inundation or

soil saturation produces saturated soil conditions that exert a

controlling influence on a plant species present. The

assessment of whether a given species of plant is typically

adapted for life in saturated soil conditions is made in part by

referring to the Wetland Plant List compiled by the U.S. Fish

and Wildlife Service. This plant list assigns an “indicator

status” to each species of plants. The wetland Plant List uses

indicator status categories of “obligate wetland” (“OBL”),

“facultative wetland” (“FACW”), “facultative” (“FAC”)

“facultative upland” (“FAC-UP), and “upland” (“UP”). These

categories reflect biological assessments of the probability of a

given plant occurring in a given environment. Thus, an obligate

wetland plant is defined as a plant that almost always occurs in

wetlands, under natural conditions, but may also occur in non-

wetlands. To be classified as an obligate wetland plant, its

estimated probability of occurring in wetlands is greater than

99%, with an estimated probability of occurring in non-

wetlands of less than 1%. A “facultative wetland” plant is one

which usually occurs in wetlands, but also occurs in non-

wetlands (estimated probability of occurrence in wetlands of

67%-99% and estimated probability in non-wetlands of 1%-

Appendix B5

33%). A “facultative” plant is sometimes found in wetlands

(estimated frequency of 34%-66%), but is also found in non-

wetland areas. A “facultative upland” plant is one that is

seldom found in wetlands (estimated frequency in wetlands of

1-33%). An “upland” plant has an estimated probability of

occurring in wetlands of less than 1%.

To meet the vegetation criterion of the three-parameter test,

one determines what plants are prevalent. The 1987 Manual

indicates that wetlands vegetation is prevalent in an area when

more than 50% of the dominant species comprising the plant

community or communities are obligate, facultative wet, or

facultative, i.e. typically adapted for life in saturated soil

The 1987 Manual also requires an examination of the soils

present on a site to determine whether they are “hydric.”

Hydric soils are soils that are saturated, flooded, or ponded long

enough during the growing season to become anaerobic, or

lacking in oxygen, in the upper part. Soils are characterized and

their color, structure, and texture are evaluated. Certain

features of the soil help to determine whether a given soil

sample is hydric. Hydric soils can be either peat/muck, mineral,

or sandy. Mineral hydric soils are subjected to periodic

saturation sufficient to exhibit specific soil colors. These colors

are defined and standardized in the Munsell Soil Chart.

The third parameter of the three-parameter test is the

hydrology of the land. The 1987 Manual states at pages 39-40

that “[t]he term ‘wetland hydrology’ encompasses all

hydrologic characteristics of areas that are periodically

inundated or have soils saturated to the surface at some time

during the growing season. . . . Hydrology is often the least

exact of the parameters, and indicators of wetland hydrology are

sometimes difficult to find in the field. However, it is essential

to establish that a wetland area is periodically inundated or has

Appendix B6

saturated soils during the growing season.” The 1987 Manual

also indicates that an area has wetland hydrology if it is

inundated or saturated to the surface continuously for at least

five percent of the growing season in most years. Indicators of

wetland hydrology include saturation, flooding, or ponding of

the area, as well as indirect evidence such as watermarks on

trees. Wetland hydrology can be demonstrated by surface water

inundation or flooding or groundwater saturation within twelve

inches of the surface during the growing season.

III. Facts Relevant to All Defendants

There is no dispute as to the following facts: Defendant

John A. Rapanos (“Mr. Rapanos”) is the president and sole

shareholder of defendant Prodo, Inc. (“Prodo”), and has been

since at least since 1980. Defendant Judith A. N. Rapanos

(“Mrs. Rapanos”) is the president and sole shareholder of

defeadant Pine River Bluff Estates, Inc. (“PRBE”). None of the

defendants had a permit issued to it under the CWA to

discharge pollutants into any water of the United States.

IV. Findings of Fact as to the Sites at Issue in this Case

A. The Salzburg Site

In a criminal proceeding, defendant John Rapanos was

convicted of violating section 301(a) of the CWA, 33 U.S.C. §

1311(a), for knowingly discharging pollutants into waters of the

United States without a permit at the Salzburg site during the

time periods of December 1988 to November 1989, and

December 1989 to October 1991. He was sentenced on

December 2, 1998, and the judgment was entered on that date.

See United States v. Rapanos, 93-CR-20023-DT (E.D. Mich.).

Although the criminal conviction did not include a jury

determination of the number of acres of wetlands Mr. Rapanos

Appendix B7

filled, he is collaterally estopped from denying his liability at

the Salzburg site.

1. Vegetation

The presence of wetland vegetation at the Salzburg site

was established by lay testimony, expert testimony, photographs

and other scientific evidence. Steve Sadewasser, and employee

of the State of Michigan who is trained in wetland

identification, reported the presence of hydrophytic vegetation

at the Salzburg site in 1989. The locations of this vegetation

were noted by a survey crew. Sadewasser found areas with

remnant vegetation, and used aerial photography, soil boring

data, the county soil survey, and hydrological observations to

determine that the remnant areas were representative of broader

areas on the site.

Hal Harrington, an employee of the State of Michigan

trained in wetland identification, also observed what appeared

to be a scrub/shrub wetland in the “superstructure” portion of

the site in March 1989.’

Charles Dodgers, an employee of the State of Michigan

trained in wetland identification, found that the dominant plant

species in July 1989 were sedges, rushes, and water plaintain.

Dodgers observed aquatic milkweed, an OBL plant, in August

1989.

Dr. Daniel E. Willard was plaintiff's wetlands expert

witness. He is eminently qualified in this area and his

testimony was highly credible. Dr. Willard reviewed and relied

upon the vegetation data gathered by Sadawasser in 1989 and

? The “superstructure” is a forty acre portion of the Salzburg site

bounded on the east by Flajole Road, and which resembles the

superstructure of a ship when the site is viewed from above.

Appendix B8

the vegetation analysis reported by Dr. Stephenson in the 1990s

and concluded that the vegetation criterion was met at the

Salzburg site.

2. Soils

The presence of hydric soils at the Salzburg site was also

established by testimony and documentary evidence. Dodgers

observed deep, mucky soils in the center of the site. The

evidence was that mucky soils consist of organic material that

does not decompose due to the present of water. Sadewasser

observed very dark, organic, peat-like soil in the

“superstructure” portion of the site in November 1989.

Harrington also observed dark soils throughout the property in

March 1989.

Dr. Willard examined the data obtained in November 1989

by Martin Kroell. Kroel!l collected soil samples at various

points on the Salzburg site and reached conclusions regarding

the nature of the soil at those points. The exact location of each

of Kroell’s soil boring data points was identified by a survey

crew and placed on a diagram of the site. Dr. Willard also

examined the soil data gathered by Dr. Pierce and other experts

retained by Mr. Rapanos. Dr. Willard also had the benefit of

the soil point descriptions made by soil scientist Will Bowman.

Defendants presented soil data through Dr. Robert Pierce and

Mr. Blake Parker. Plaintiff's and defendants’ evidence agreed

substantially as to the location of hydric and non-hydric soils.

The evidence presented by Dr. Willard, who reviewed and

observed the work of Bowman and reviewed the data gathered

by other soil experts, showed that the soils that were present at

the Salzburg site exhibited field indicators of hydric soils as

described in the 1987 Manual, such as gleyed or low chroma

colors, high organic content in the surface layer in sandy soils,

organic streaking in sandy soils, and sulfidic odor. These data

Appendix B9

are sufficient to support Dr. Willard’s conclusions as to the

extent to which the soils at the Salzburg site are hydric.

3. Hydrology

The hydrology criterion for identifying wetlands was also

met at the Salzburg site. Dr. Frederick Glenn Goff, a wetlands

scientist, observed buttressed root systems in low areas of the

site, water lines, and orientation of vegetation swept by water

flow. Dr. Goff also observed running water, both on the ground

and in ditches. In certain areas, Dr. Goff observed both

innundation and saturation to the surface during the initial

portion of the growing season. He specifically observed that

wetlands adjacent to ditches were not being effectively drained.

Charles Dodgers observed a 30-foot wide area of standing

water in May 1989. He observed matted areas and buttressed

tree roots in August 1989, both of which are indications of

standing water. Dodgers also observed water marks and stains

ten to twelve inches high on trees in November 1989. The

evidence was that such water marks indicate the level at which

water stands, and take a number of years to develop. Dodgers

also observed mucky soils, which consist of organic material

that does not decompose due to the presence of water.

_ Dr. Hendrik Haitjema gave expert testimony regarding the

probable groundwater levels, prior to construction, at the

Salzburg, Hines Road and Pine River sites. Dr. Haitjema has

a Ph.D. degree with a specialty in groundwater flow modeling.

He has taught, performed research, published articles, and

consulted in groundwater hydrology. He is eminently qualified

to testify in this area, and the court found his testimony to be

fully credible.

Dr. Haitjema analyzed whether the ground water table

would be likely near the terrain surface or at the terrain surface.

Appendix B10

He considered the topography as he expected it to be in July

1988, as well as groundwater monitoring well data. Dr.

Haitjema rendered his conclusions using conservative

assumptions so as not to overestimate the elevation of the

groundwater table. He concluded that the groundwater likely

was at or near the land surface for 21 days over a significant

portion of the Salzburg site. The court finds that the

groundwater modeling Dr. Haitjema performed has a

reasonable degree of accuracy in terms of average conditions,

and the court accepts and adopts his conclusion regarding the

nature of the groundwater at the Salzburg site.

Dr. Willard also concluded that conditions at the Salzburg

site met the technical requirement for wetlands hydrology. The

expert testimony of Drs. Willard and Haitjema showed that the

water table and zone of the soil that is saturated extend to the

root zone of the prevalent plant species during the growing

season. Dr. Willard also relied in part on a site visit and on the

observations of contemporaneous observers.

The defendants’ evidence regarding wetland hydrology

consisted principally of the testimony of Drs. Thomas Straw

and Robert Pierce. Their credibility was weakened by the fact

that they did not review testimony from witnesses who were

familiar with conditions at the site prior to defendants’

construction activities. Dr. Pierce did not investigate whether

there were persons who could have told him if there was surface

inundation during the growing season at the Salzburg site prior

to construction. He did not consult with Mr. Rapanos, who

would have had first-hand knowledge about conditions at the

site. In addition, the groundwater well data that Dr. Pierce used

to determine the groundwater level were unreliable because

they were not corrected to the original, pre-construction ground

surface. Dr. Straw likewise failed to consider whether

monitoring wells at the site were dug through fill.

Appendix B11

4. Conclusion as to the existence and Extent of

Wetlands at the Salzburg Site

Dr. Willard concluded that as of July 1988, there were 28

acres of wetlands meeting the criteria of the 1987 Manual at the

Salzburg site. In addition to the evidence noted above, this

conclusion was also based on his work with Dr. John Estes, a

photo-interpreter, who assisted Dr. Willard in analyzing aerial

photographs of he Salzburg site. The court agrees with Dr.

Willard’s conclusion and finds that 28 acres of wetlands were

present at the Salzburg site, as indicated in plaintiff's Exhibit

124(j), at the time of defendants’ construction activities began

in 1988.

5. Federal Regulatory Jurisdiction

The evidence at trial amply established that the wetlands at

the Salzburg site are “jurisdictional wetlands,” that is, that they

are subject to the provisions of the CWA. The evidence

indicated that the Salzburg wetlands have a surface water

connection to tributaries of the Kawkawlin River which, in turn,

flows into the Saginaw River and ultimately into Lake Huron.

Dr. Willard testified that the wetlands t the Salzburg site had a

surface water connection to the waters of the United States. In

1994, Hal Harrington verified that a surface water connection

exists between the Salzburg site and Saginaw Bay. Defendants’

expert, Dr. Straw, agreed that all of the water leaves the

Salzburg site through the Hoppler Drain.

Dr. Willard also testified that the Salzburg site provided

migratory bird habitat for, among other birds, Canadian geese

and great blue herons. Dr. Goff observed migrating songbirds

on this site in th> spring of 1989. In 1994, Harrington

witnessed carp spawning in a ditch immediately north of the

Salzburg site, indicating a direct surface water connection to the

Saginaw Bay.

Appendix B12

Further, Dr. Clinton Oster testified as to the interstate

commerce effects. He testified that the lost functions of these

wetlands, including migratory bird habitat, water quality

enhancement and flood control, have interstate impacts. Dr.

Oster also testifies that the conversion of wetland to upland had

an impact on interstate commerce. The court accepts this

testimony and finds that the loss of wetlands at the Salzburg site

had an effect on interstate commerce.

6. The Discharge of Pollutants

The evidence at trial overwhelmingly established the

“discharge of pollutants” within the meaning of the CWA at the

Salzburg site. This discharge took the form of extensive

earthmoving acti ities at the site, which were accomplished

primarily by Pat’s \Gradall Services, Inc. (“Pat’s Gradall”) and

Three-S Construction, Inc. (“Three-S”).

Beginning in 1988, Pat’s Gradall performed extensive

land-clearing work at this site. These activities were

accomplished with a backhoe, bulldozer, an excavator, and a

“Roto clear.” Three-S began work at this site in April 1989.

This company’s activities included clearing land, removing

stumps, clearing brush, moving dirt, leveling ground, cleaning

existing ditches, pushing off high spots and filling in low spots,

and pulling in a disk with a bulldozer. Three-S used heavy

equipment including a backhoe, a loader, and a bulldozer.

Construction records introduced at trial indicated the dates

when construction work was performed at the Salzburg site and

the amounts of money spent therefor. From July 1988 to

December 1988, Pat’s Gradall was paid approximately $30,000

for its work. Thereafter, most of the work was preformed by

Three-S. The total amount paid to Pat’s Gradall and Three-S

for work at this site was nearly $350,000.

Appendix B13

Several witnesses testified to the nature and extent of the

construction activities at the Salzburg site. In March 1989, Hal

Harrington observed that there had been clearing, grubbing,

construction, and land balance activities at this site. He saw

scalped earth and piles of wind-rowed vegetation, ten feet high

and fifteen feet wide, in depressional areas between sandy

ridges. This scalping involved pushing earth.

In May 1989. Charles Dodgers drove by the Salzburg site

and observed a pile of bright yellow sand in the middle of the

site. He had walked through the entire site in March 1989 and

saw no sand fill on the site at the time. In July 1989, Dodgers

observed sand dumped over black, organic soil. In that month,

Dodgers saw that more sand fill had been deposited since May

1989. He observed a front end loader place sand into a dump

truck, which took the sand and dumped it in a low area where

he had previously observed a forested wetland. Dodgers

observed sand piled and spread in other areas of the site where

there had not been sand in May 1989. He also saw “grubbed”

topsoil in July 1989, where vegetation had been uprooted and

the topsoil had been disturbed. Dodgers estimated that up to 20

acres of land was freshly covered with sand.

In July 1989, Hal Harrington visited the Salzburg site and

saw sand fill over dark soils which did not have sand fill in

March 1989. The windrows and scalped earth he had observed

in March were still visible. The scrub/shrub wetland

Harrington had observed in the “superstructure” area of the site

in March 1989 was now gone.

Dodgers returned to the site in August 1989. He observed

that more sand had been dumped and spread. He also saw a

rototiller tearing up vegetation and disturbing the topsoil.

Steve Sadewasser inspected the site in November 1989. So

much sand had been added to or spread around that the site was

Appendix B14

“devastated.” In Sadewasser’s words, “It looked like nothing

more than a beach, essentially no vegetation.” Sadewasser

found fresh spoils and sand sidecast immediately adjacent to

and on top of wetland vegetation such as cattails and rushes. At

one point, Sadewasser observed a pocket of cattails surrounded

by ten inches of sand fill, with heavy equipment tracks still

visible in the sand. Each of these locations are close to or

within wetland areas identified by Dr. Willard.

The areas in which construction activities took place at the

Salzburg site are not in dispute. Plaintiff's expert, Dr. John

Estes, testified that plaintiff's Exhibit 124(m) identifies the

s»irface disturbance (i.e., material moved on the surface of the

land) that occurred from the beginning of construction until

1988. Soil samples also demonstrated the existence of fill in

wetland areas at this site.

Dr. Willard testified that the fill he observed could not be

attributed solely to incidental fallback. Dr. Willard testified

that at the Salzburg site, 22 acres of wetlands were lost to the

lateral movement of soils between 1988 and 1997. The

locations of these lost wetlands are shown on plaintiff s Exhibit

124(n). The court found Dr. Willard to be a highly credibly

witness and the court accepts his testimony as to the extent of

the loss of wetlands at the Salzburg site.

7. The Responsible Persons at the Salzburg Site

The evidence clearly showed that defendant John Rapanos

was the person responsible for the discharge of pollutants at the

Salzburg site. At all times relevant to this action, Mr. Rapanos

owned the Salzburg site. He also worked at the Salzburg site

and generally directed and had control over the work performed

at the site by Pat’s Gradall and Three-S. Mr. Rapanos

authorized payment for, and he or his sole proprietorship paid

for, the work of Pat’s Gradall and Three-S at the Salzburg site.

Appendix B15

Mr. Rapanos’ disregard for the protected status of wetlands

at the Salzburg site is apparent from his dealings with the

Michigan Department of Natural Resources (“MDNR”) and his

own wetlands expert, whom he retained te determine the

location and extent of wetlands at this site. In December 1988,

Mr. Rapanos requested that the MDNR inspect the Salzburg

site in order to discuss with him the feasibility of building a

shopping center there. Hal Harrington informed Mr. Rapanos

that there were likely regulated wetlands on the Salzburg site

and sent him a permit application. Harrington toured the site

with Mr. Rapanos in March 1989, and again informed him that

there were likely regulated wetlands on this site, but that the

land could still be developed if the wetlands were delineated.

Mr. Rapanos hired Dr. Goff, a wetlands consultant, to

delineate the wetlands. Dr. Goff toured the site with Mr.

Rapanos, told Mr. Rapanos that there were wetlands on the site,

and pointed out to him some of the wetlands that were in low

areas. In April 1989, Dr. Goff concluded that there were

between 48 and 58 acres of wetlands on the Salzburg site. He

presented his findings to Mr. Rapanos in both a written report

and a map. Dr. Goff testified that Mr. Rapanos instructed him

to destroy the report and map, including any copies and any

references to Mr. Rapanos in his files. Mr. Rapanos threatened

to “destroy” Dr. Goff if he did not destroy the wetland report,

and refused to pay Dr. Goff unless and until he complied. Mr.

Rapanos offered to burn the report himself, and stated that he

would bulldoze the site flat.

The MDNR sent Mr. Rapanos a cease and desist letter in

July 1989, but Mr. Rapanos did not respond. MDNR

representatives attempted to inspect the Salzburg site in August

1989, but Mr. Rapanos refused to allow them to come onto the

property. At a subsequent meeting in Mr. Rapanos’ office, Mr.

Rapanos again refused to grant the MDNR representatives

access and asserted that he intended to farm the land on this

Appendix B16

site. The State again informed Mr. Rapanos that a permit was

required, even for farming. Harrington returned to the Salzburg

site in 1991 and observed that tiles had been placed on the site

to drain subsurface water.

As noted above, Mr. Rapanos was convicted at his criminal

trial of violating section 301(a) of the CWA, 33 U.S.C. §

1311(a), for knowingly discharging pollutants into waters of the

United States without a permit at the Salzburg site during the

time periods of December 1988 to November 1989, and

December 1989 to October 1991. Even if this conviction did

not collaterally estop Mr. Rapanos from denying his liability in

this action for disturbing protected wetlands at the Salzburg

site, his liability therefor was independently established by the

proofs presented in the present case.

B. The Hines Road (Northwood) Site

The evidence clearly established the existence and

destruction of wetlands at the Hines Road (Northwood) site as

well.

1. Vegetation

The evidence at trial clearly showed that the vegetation

criterion of the three parameter test was satisfied at the Hines

Road site. In April 1992, Charles Dodgers inspected the Hines

Road site and observed swamp white oak, an OBL species, and

sensitive fern, a FAC-W species. In May 1992 Dodgers’

supervisor, Robert Zbiciak, who is also trained in wetland

identification, visited the site. He walked along the “C” ditch,

which extends off the Rose Drain into the site’s interior, from

the north-south bend in the C ditch north through the central

portion of the site. He observed forested scrub/shrub wetland

vegetation in these areas. In March 1994, Dodgers again visited

the site and recorded the areas where he observed sensitive fern

Appendix B17

and wool grass. He also observed green ash, swamp white oak,

and bu!trush.

In October 1994, the State of Michigan conducted an

inspection of the Hines Road site pursuant to a search warrant

and documented the existence of wetland plant communities

along a series of transects throughout the property. In June and

July of 1997, a multi-disciplinary team of federal, state and

private sector investigators led by Brooks Williamson

conducted an inspection of the Hines Road site and identified

numerous species of wetland vegetation. This team

documented that the federal criterion for wetland vegetation

was met at eleven of 26 sample locations.

Dr. Willard used the same general approach at the Hines

Road site as he did at the Salzburg site in identifying wetlands

and delineating their scope. Dr. Willard worked with Dr. John

Estes, a photo-interpreter, to determine the spatial extent of

baseline wetlands. Dr. Willard also independently reviewed

aerial photographs. Dr. Willard also reviewed and relied upon

the data from the 1994 state inspection and the data from the

1997 Williamson inspection in concluding that the vegetation

criterion was met at the Hines Road site.

2. Soils

In his April 1992 visit to this site, Dodgers observed areas

with dark, organic soils and gleyed sand, which indicates

wetness. He also observed mucky conditions in the center of

the site, and peat-like soils, which had less decomposition due

to the presence of water. In his May 1992 visit, Zbiciak also

observed organic, muck soils exposed along the C ditch. The

state’s 1994 inspection of the Hines Road site also documented

the existence of hydric soils along a series of sample lines. The

1997 Williamson inspection of the Hines Road site identified

the existence of hydric soils throughout the site and

Appendix B18

documented that hydric soils were present at 19 of 26 sample

locations. Dr. Willard reviewed and relied upon the data from

the 1994 state inspection and the data from the 1997

Williamson inspection, as well as the data supplied by Dr.

Pierce and his colleagues, in concluding that the hydric soil

criterion was met at the Hines Road site.

One of defendants’ experts, William Parker, indicated he

believed the soil data were insufficient to show the existence of

wetlands in 13 areas identified as such by plaintiff's experts.

However, Parker did not have any data himself for these areas,

and he did not know whether or not the plaintiff's experts

investigated these areas without digging pits or taking soil

borings. Parker did not question any of the plaintiff's soil data

points at the Hines Road site, and he did not dig any soil pits

himself or make any data sheets or record the colors he

observed using the Munsell chart. Accordingly, the court

rejects Parker’s testimony regarding the alleged lack of

evidence of hydric soils at the wetlands locations identified by

plaintiff's experts.

3. Hydrology

In April 1992, Dodgers observed standing water in the

center of the site. In his May 1992 visit, Zbiciak observed

extremely wet conditions along the C ditch, creating soupy, wet

areas. In March 1994, Dodgers again observed standing water

adjacent to a ditch. The 1997 Williamson inspection of the

Hines Road site identified the existence of the requisite wetland

hydrology throughout the site.

There was extensive expert testimony demonstrating that

the hydrology criterion of the three-parameter test was satisfied

at the Hines Road site. Dr. Willard reviewed and relied upon

the data fro the 1997 Williamson inspection in concluding that

the hydrology criterion was met at the Hines Road site. Dr.

Appendix B19

Willard also relied upon the analysis performed by Dr.

Haitjema. Dr. Haitjema used the same general approach at the

Hines Road ste as described above for the Salzburg site. He

concluded that the groundwater table was likely to be at or near

the land surface for 21 days over a significant portion of the site

and that there was saturation to the surface in significant

portions of the majority of the site in approximately 1989.

The credibility of defendants’ experts, Drs Pierce and

Straw, was undermined by several factors. As at Salzburg,

neither of these defense experts investigated whether there were

witnesses to pre-construction site conditions who could have

supplied information regarding wetland hydrology. Nor did

defendants’ experts make a systematic effort to determine

whether the surface elevation of the groundwater wells was the

same as prior to construction. Dr Pierce conceded that there —

was a wetland in the center of the Hines Road site, but only

disputed its size.

Dr. Straw testified that the Drain Commissioner’s cleaning

and deepening of the Rose Drain would have drained

“extensive” portions of the site, but he conceded that he did not

have sufficient data to say how many acres were drained, or to

quantify the effect of the Rose Drain. For example, Dr. Straw

testified that if the drain were deepened by five feet, the

groundwater table immediately adjacent to the drain would go

down five feet, and the watertable elsewhere on the site would

also go down, but he could not say by how much, other than to

opine that the effect would be “marked,” but less than five feet.

While Dr. Straw stated that the internal ditches at the Hines

Road site were “very effective” in draining areas of the site, he

conceded that he had not quantified the effect of either the Rose

Drain or the internal ditches, and that he could not quantify the

influence of any drain at the site. Further, as at the Salzburg

site, Dr. Straw did not consider whether monitoring wells were

dug through fill in coming to his conclusion that the site lacked

Appendix B20

the requisite wetland hydrology. In contrast, federal

investigators did take the depth of fill into consideration when

evaluating whether water was present within one foot of the

surface at various locations at the Hines Road site.

4. Conclusion as to the Existence and Extent of

Wetlands at the Hines Road Site

Dr. Willard testified that, as of November 1991, there were

64 acres of wetlands meeting the criteria of the 1987 Manual at

the Hines Road site. These wetlands are shown on plaintiff's

Exhibit 131(j). The court found Dr. Willard to be highly

credible and specifically adopts his findings as to the size and

location of wetlands at the Hines Road site.

Defendants’ expert, Dr. Pierce, conceded the presence of

at least some wetlands at the Hines Road site in early 1992. His

opinion that Dr. Willard overestimated the size of wetlands is

inadequately supported. Nor did Dr. Pierce make his own

determination as to the extent of wetlands at the Hines Road

site.

5. Federai Regulatory Jurisdiction

Dr. Willard testified that the wetlands at the Hines Road

site have a surface water connection to the Rose Drain which,

in turn, has a surface water connection to the Tittabawassee

River. Dr. Willard also described the nature of the surface

water connection between the wetlands at Hines Road and the

Rose Drain. In October 1994, Dodgers and Zbiciak participated

in the execution of a search warrant at the Hines Road site.

During that search, the state established transects, or lines,

which identified and traced wetlands from the Rose Drain into

the interior of the site. The transects followed the flow of the

water, and demonstrated that the interior wetlands have a

hydrologic connection with the Rose Drain.

Appendix B21

Further, Dr. Willard testified that the Hines Road site

provides actual migratory bird habitat for, among other birds,

Canadian geese and great blue herons. At the Hines Road site,

as at the Salzburg site, Dr. Oster testified that the lost functions

of these wetlands—migratory bird habitat, water quality

enhancement, and flood control—have interstate effects. Dr.

Oster testified that the conversion of wetland to upland also had

an impact on interstate commerce. Therefore, the evidence

established that the destruction of the Hines Road wetlands had

an effect on interstate commerce.

6. The Discharge of Pollutants

The evidence at trial amply documented the discharge of

pollutants into wetlands at the Hines Road site. The

construction work at the Hines Road site consisted principally

of deepening, widening and extending drains (and building

roads alongside them with fill from the drains and pushing

sidecast materials into adjacent wetlands) and cultivation for

crops, and involved ditching, earthmoving, planting, seeding

and plowing. The work was performed by Prodo, Pat’s Gradall,

Bilacic Trucking, Inc., and Fisher Contracting.

The work performed by Bilacic Trucking at the Hines Road

site began in November 1991, and included digging ditches,

using an excavator bucket to pull material out of ditches, and

spreading that material on the ground. Bilacic also sidecast

material from the drains, and used that material to build roads

and to widen existing roads. In addition, Bilacic removed trees

to make room for the spoils. Prodo’s work at this site included

cleaning washouts, putting in culverts, taking: off topsoil,

pushing sand around, planting, seeding, discing, and cleaning

ditches. The work was performed with equipment including

and excavator, bulldozers, scrapers and back hoes, and a tractor,

disc, plow and spreader.

Appendix B22

Plaintiff s Exhibit 74 fairly reflects the times that work was

performed and the money that was spent as it relates to

construction activity at the Hines Road site. The evidence

indicates that from November 1991 to December 1997, Pat’s

Gradall, Bilacic Trucking, Fisher Construction, and Prodo were

paid approximately $158,000 for earth moving work.

In April 1992, > »dgers observed spoil that had been

removed from interior ditches (i.e., not the Rose Drain) and

dropped next to the ditches. He confirmed this during a low

level flight over the sight in July 1992. In July 1993, Dodgers

again took low level aerial photographs of the site, which

documented additional sidecasting from the construction of

additional ditches in the center of the site, and which document

that equipment was used to spread spoils in addition to

sidecasting. In May 1992, Zbiciak also observed sidecast spoils

along the C ditch. The sidecast material was fresh and had been

placed there that year. In June 1997, Zbiciak returned to the site

and noticed that new fill had been placed in areas that were

undisturbed in 1994.

In March 1994, Dodgers again visited the Hines Road site

and documented more newly dug ditches and spoils from those

ditches sidecast and spread into wetlands. At lease some of the

spoils were sidecast into areas containing obligate vegetation.

At that time, he also observed that the central portion of the

site, which was wooded in 1992 but was cleared by 1994, had

been tilled and red clover (a pasture plant) had been planted.

Dr. Willard testified that at the Hines Road site, 17 acres

of wetlands were lost due -to the lateral movement of soils

between November 1991 to present. Some of the wetlands

were lost between November 1991 and 1994, while others were

lost between 1994 and 1997. The locations of these lost

wetlands are shown on Plaintiff's Exhibits 131(1) and 131(n).

The court specifically adopts Dr. Willard’s testimony

Appendix B23

concerning the location and extent of the loss of wetlands at the

Hines Road site.

In 1994, Dodgers estimated that three to five acres of

wetlands had been filled by sidecast, and that an additional 10-

15 acres of wetlands had been filled by spreading spoils. Soil

boring data obtained by plaintiff at the Hines Road site reflects

considerable added fill in a number of former wetland locations.

Defendants’ expert, Mr. Parker, agreed that there is fill over

hydric soils at the Hines Road Site. Dr. Willard testified that

the fill he observed could not be solely attributed to incidental

fallback.

7. The Responsible Persons at the Hines Road Site

The Hines Road site consists of four parcels. Defendant

Prodo owned all four parcels between 1992 and 1997. Mr.

Rapanos arranged for the work performed at Hines Road site

and had control over that work. He requested and generally

directed Pat’s Gradall’s work and Bilacic Trucking’ work.

Prodo also arranged for the work performed at the Hines Road

site and had control over and directed the work, in whole or in

part. Prodo paid for Pat’s Gradall’s work and hired and paid for

Bilacic Trucking’s work.

The MDNR sent a cease and desist letter to the Rolling

Meadows Hunt Club on July 7, 1992. Mr. Rapanos asked the

Equalization Office to list Rolling Meadows Hunt Club as the

site’s owner, and the Equalization Office gave Dodgers that

name and address. The cease and desist order was not complied

with, and work continued at the site thereafter.

Appendix B24

C. The Pine River Site

As at the Salzburg and Hines Road sites, plaintiff produced

convincing evidence to demonstrate that all three criteria of the

three-parameter test were met at the Pine River site.

1. Vegetation

In October 1992, Dodgers observed wetland vegetation

such as royal fern, sensitive fern, ash, and red maple.

Williamson’s 1997 inspection of the Pine River site identified

numerous species of wetland vegetation still growing at the site

and documented that the federal criterion for wetland vegetation

was met at 30 of 46 sample locations.

At the Pine River site, as at other sites, Dr. Willard gave

spatial effect to point data. He used aerial photo-interpretation

from Dr. Estes as well as data collected by Williamson.

Defendants’ expert, Dr. Pierce, had no factual data to show that

hydrophytic vegetation was not present in the claimed wetland

areas.

2. Soils

The 1997 Williamson inspection of the Pine River site also

identified the existence of hydric soils throughout the site and

documented that hydric soils were present at 35 of 46 sample

locations. As at other sites, at Pine River, Dr. Willard used

point data gathered by Williamson.

Defense expert Parker agreed that there are hydric soils at

the Pine River site, both within and outside of the ditches, but

he did not indicate or record the locations where he found the

hydric soils outside of the ditches. As at the Salzburg and

Hines Road sites, Parker questioned some of the wetlands

identified by the plaintiffs experts at the Pine River site, but he

Appendix B25

did not have any counter-data to show that there are not hydric

soils in these areas.

3. Hydrology

The 1997 Williamson inspection of the Pine River Site

showed that wetland hydrology was present at 24 of 46 sample

locations. Dr. Willard relied on the data collected by

Williamson. Dr. Willard also relied on Dr. Haitjema, who used

the same general approach at the Pine River site as described

above for the Salzburg and Hines Road sites. Dr. Haitjema

concluded that the groundwater table was likely to be at or near

the land surface for 21 days over a significant portion of the

site.

In contrast, Dr. Pierce’s team did not attempt to determine

quantitatively the contribution, if any, of surface water to the

wetland technical guideline for hydrology at the Pine River site.

Dr. Pierce presented no factual data as to whether there was

sufficient ponding to meet the technical guideline for

hydrology.

Dr. Straw testified that the historical ditches (i.e., pre-

1992) at the Pine River site had a “pervasive” impact on

hydrology, but he conceded that he had no data quantifying the

impact. He conceded that swales at the site could have held

water, but he did not know how much water or for how long.

He also conceded that some portions of the site had wetland

hydrology in 1992.

4. Conclusion as to the Existence and Extent of

Wetlands at the Pine River Site

Dr. Willard testified that, as of April 1992, there were 49

acres of wetlands meeting the criteria of the 1987 Manual at the

Pine River site. These wetlands are shown on plaintiff's

Appendix B26

Exhibit 134(k). The court found Dr. Willard to be highly

credible and specifically adopts his conclusion as to he extent

and location of wetlands at the Pine River site.

5. Federal Regulatory Jurisdiction

Dr. Willard testified that the wetlands at the Pine River site

have a surface water connection to the Pine River, which flows

into Lake Huron. By contrast defendants expert, Dr. Pierce, did

not analyze all of the areas identified by Dr. Willard as wetlands

to see if there was a surface water connection to the Pine River.

Dr. Willard also testified that the Pine River site provided

actual migratory bird habitat for, among other birds, Canadian

geese and red-tailed hawks. At the Pine River site, as at

Salzburg, Dr. Oster testified that the lost functions of these

wetlands—migratory bird habitat, water quality enhancement,

and flood control—have interstate effects. Dr. Oster testified

that the conversion of wetland to upland also had an impact on

interstate commerce. Therefore, the destruction of the Pine

River wetlands had an effect on interstate commerce.

6. The Discharge of Pollutants

The evidence clearly showed that construction work at the

Pine River site was performed by defendant Prodo, Pat’s

Gradall, Bilacic Trucking, Inc., Three-S, and Fisher.

Contracting. The parties have stipulated that this work was

generally directed by Mr. Rapanos.

The work performed at the Pine River site consisted

principally of ditch construction and ditch cleaning (with

associated spreading of material removed from ditches), road

construction, and tree and brush clearance. Bilacic Trucking’s

work at the Pine River site consisted of clearing roads and

ditching with an excavator, and removing trees and stumps

Appendix B27

from 1992 to 1994. Material from ditching was spread on the

road, spread on adjacent wooded lots, or temporarily mounded

and thereafter spread out with a bulldozer. Bilacic cleared

existing ditches and excavated new ones at the Pine River site.

Pat’s Gradall began working in 1992 and used an

excavator, a scraper and a loader to clear roads. During 1995

and 1996, Pat’s Gradall also dug ditches. Three-S’s work

consisted of making and clearing roads through the property.

Beginning in 1992, Prodo excavated, built roads and dug

ditches, cleared roads, spread dirt and pushed trees with a

bulldozer and with an excavator.

In October 1992, Dodgers observed that sand had been

pushed into forested wetland areas adjacent to newly

constructed roads. He also observed an area away from the

roads, near the property line, where fill had been placed right up

to the property line and undisturbed wetlands remained on the

other side of the line. In December 1993, Dodgers observed

that additional ditches had been dug, additional roads had been

constructed, and additional fill had been spread adjacent to the

roads. The ditch and road construction proceeded concurrently.

Plaintiff s Exhibit 75 fairly reflects the times that work was

performed and the money that was spent as it relates to

construction activity at the Pine River site. The evidence shows

that from July 1992 to April 1997, Pat’s Gradall, Bilacic

Trucking, Fisher Construction, and Prodo were paid over

$463,000 for earth moving work.

Dr. Willard testified that the Pine River site, 15 acres of

wetlands were lost to the lateral movement of soils between

April 1992 and 1997. The locations of these lost wetlands are

shown on Plaintiff's Exhibit 134(m). The court specifically

adopts Dr. Willard’s conclusions as to the extent and location

of wetlands lost at the Pine River site.

Appendix B28

Soil data also show the existence of fill in areas that Dr.

Willard identified as wetlands. Dr. Willard testified that the fill

he observed could not be solely attributed to incidental fallback:

7. The Responsible Persons at the Pine River Site

The work performed by the contractors indicated above

was conducted, authorized, contracted or paid for by one or

more defendants, and was generally directed by Mr. Rapanos.

The parties have stipulated that work at the Pine River site was

accomplished pursuant to a plan drawn up by Mr. Rapanos and

Ayres Associates. Mr. Rapanos generally directed the work

performed by Prodo at the Pine River site, with some oversight

by Jeffrey Brown, who was employed by Prodo. Mrs. Rapanos

owned all of the site except for the “Bailey parcel” from 1990

to 1996. Pine River Bluffs Estates has owned all of the site,

including the Bailey parcel, since 1996, except for the few lots

that have been sold to third parities. In addition to owning most

of the Pine River site from 1990 to 1996, Mrs. Rapanos held

herself out to state regulators as the owner of the site. Further,

Mrs. Rapanos, as president of Pine River Bluff Estates, Inc.,

signed contracts for work to

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.