Petitioners Brief — Bell v. Thompson
Supreme Court brief2005
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
No. 04-514 | 7033
3n The
Supreme Court of the Anited States
¢
RICKY BELL, WARDEN,
Petitioner,
v.
GREGORY THOMPSON,
Respondent.
—@
On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Sixth Circuit
BRIEF OF PETITIONER
PAUL G. SUMMERS
Attorney General
State of Tennessee
MICHAEL E. MOORE
Solicitor General
GORDON W. SMITH
Associate Solicitor General
JENNIFER L. SMITH
Associate Deputy Attorney General
Counsel of Record
ANGELE M. GREGORY
Assistant Attorney General
P.O. Box 20207
Nashville, Tennessee 37202
(615) 741-3487
Attorneys for Petitioner
COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831
CAPITAL CASE
QUESTION PRESENTED
ewetion by wi
wi notice to the
parties or any finding that the court’s action was neces-
, ;
the denial of habeas corpus
months after Fed. R. App. P. 41(d)(2)(D) made
of justice, particularly where
state judicial proceedings to enforce the inmate’s
opinion
of the mandate mandatory,
nl
Did the Sixth Circuit abuse i
sentence had progressed in reliance upon the finality of
the judgment in the federal habeas proceedings?
sary to prevent a
ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
QUESTION PRESENTED .................cssesscccssssseeeeeneees i
GED HEP OD scccccesccccscocccecseseccocsccsscccsescounennees 1
STE cccasccanesesensnecncsenisesionesseccnnesseccemnansnenn 1
ED STII ccccccvcnnscccncnscososnssesssesioconsconceennetnent 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..............::sssseeceeeneeeeeees 2
A. State Trial Proceedings ................cc0sccccccesssesee 3
B. State Post-Conviction Proceedings................. 6
C. Federal Habeas Corpus Proceedings .............. 7
D. Events Subsequent to Initial Habeas Dispo-
SI nih iiciieibaaidigieidiinianbineenrbenseneserenesscconinennete 12
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT..................c0cccceeees 15
ITE diictpcnintcendinnnmetenininsintimenmeimemneseneccunanenes 18
I. THE SIXTH CIRCUITS DECISION TO
WITHDRAW ITS FINAL JUDGMENT AF-
FIRMING THE DISMISSAL OF THOMP-
SON’S FEDERAL HABEAS PETITION IS
AN EXTRAORDINARY ACT EQUIVALENT
TO A RECALL OF THE MANDATE UNDER
CALDERON V. THOMPSON ............00000000000 18
A. Because the Sixth Circuit had no discre-
tion to withhold issuance of the mandate
beyond the filing of this Court’s order
denying certiorari, the court’s subse-
quent withdrawal of its judgment deny-
ing federal habeas relief was an
extraordinary act equivalent to a recall
gL een 20
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page
B. A federal habeas judgment becomes “fi-
nal” when the court of appeals fully re-
solves the appeal and is subject to no
further review or correction by this
Court, even if the mandate of the court
of appeals has not yet issued ................... 25
Il. THE SIXTH CIRCUITS DECISION TO
WITHDRAW ITS FINAL JUDGMENT AND
PERMIT THOMPSON TO RELITIGATE
THE MERITS OF HIS UNDERLYING HA-
BEAS CORPUS PETITION CONSTITUTES
AN ABUSE OF DISCRETION...................00004 34
Se ccccacensncecenccvensescenecenscscenessssesnsesssessaseese 45
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Adamson v. Lewis, 955 F.2d 614 (9th Cir.), cert.
denied, 505 U.S. 1213 (1992).................cccesserssesesseesseees 24
Bank of Nova Scotia v. United States, 487 U.S. 250
CEE nn cecoccnennsiemmmeamiES 23
Beardslee v. Brown, 393 F.3d 899 (9th Cir. 2004),
cert. denied, 125 S. Ct. 982 (2005)............cccccccceeeeeeeeeeeees 24
Bousley v. United States, 523 U.S. 614 (1998)...............0: 41
Bryant v. Ford Motor Co., 886 F.2d 1526 (9th Cir.
1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1076 (1990)...............c000+ 24
Buchanan v. Angelone, 522 U.S. 269 (1998) .............c00000 38
Burget v. Robinson, 123 F. 262 (1st Cir. 1903).................. 26
Calderon v. Thompson, 523 U.S. 538 (1998)............. passim
Carlisle v. United States, 517 U.S. 416 (1996).................. 23
Caspari v. Bohlen, 510 U.S. 383 (1994) ...........cc.0c0000 29, 32
Clarke v. United States, 915 F.2d 699 (D.C. Cir.
I 21
Clay v. United States, 537 U.S. 522 (2003)..... 30, 31, 32, 33
Cole v. Violette, 319 U.S. 581 (1943).............ccccccccsseeereeeeees 28
Deering Milliken, Inc. v. FTC, 647 F.2d 1124 (D.C.
Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 958 (1978)...............ccceeeeees 26
Degen v. United States, 517 U.S. 820 (1996)................00+++ 23
Department of Banking v. Pink, 317 U.S. 264 (1942)....... 27
Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107 (1986)..................ceccceseeeeeeneees 19
Finberg v. Sullivan, 658 F.2d 93 (3d Cir. 1981)..... 21, 25 26
Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued
Page
First Gib. Bank v. Morales, 42 F.3d 895 (5th Cir.
ee ENE ee ee 26
Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986).................... 12, 13
Foucha v. Louisiana, 504 U.S. 71 (1992) ...........cccccccceeeeee 41
Gendron v. United States, 154 F.3d 672 (7th Cir.
1998), cert. denied, 526 U.S. 1113 (1999) .................0000. 30
Graham v. State, 547 S.W.2d 531 (Tenn. 1977)................. 42
Griffith v. Kentucky, 479 U.S. 314 (1987) ...............cccccc000 29
Humphreys v. DEA, 105 F.3d 112 (3d Cir. 1996) .............. 25
Jefferson v. City of Tarrant, 522 U.S. 75 (1997) ............... 27
Johnson v. United States, 246 F.3d 655 (6th Cir.
ee Oe NE a eR Se ede 30
Linkletter v. Walker, 381 U.S. 618 (1965) .............cccccccceee 29
Market St. Railway Co. v. Railroad Commission of
RE ee 26, 27, 33
O’Neal v. McAninch, 513 U.S. 432 (1995) 000.0... ..cccccccceeees 31
Ostrer v. United States, 584 F.2d 594 (2d Cir. 1978) ........ 21
. Pennsylvania v. Finley, 481 U.S. 551 (1987) .................... 32
Perales v. INS, 575 F.2d 1293 (9th Cir. 1978)................... 21
Radio Station WOW, Inc. v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120
TITIT neennnneermsnitacnnienninianitiiiieienietaiieaimaniiaiiiaieliail 26, 27
Republic Natural Gas Co. v. Oklahoma, 334 U.S. 62
ST ccsreerteicneitenaiecineaianciiiniiiieiiiitaaenialeetaidtaiiaii ia eine aati 27
Sawyer v. Whitley, 505 U.S. 333 (1992) .................... passim
Schlup v. Delo, 513 U.S. 324 (19965)........... 17, 34, 39, 41, 42
vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page
State v. Thompson, 768 S.W.2d 239 (Tenn. 1989),
cert. denied, 497 U.S. 1031 (1990)................cccceeeeee passim
Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984)............ 9, 10
Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1989) ..............ccccceeeeeeee 28, 32
Thompson v. Bell, 315 F.3d 566 (6th Cir. 2003).................. i)
Thompson v. Bell, 540 U.S. 1051 (2003) .................000000000 20
Thompson v. Bell, 540 U.S. 1158 (2004) .000....0...eccceeeeeees 11
Thompson v. State, 134 S.W.3d 168 (Tenn. 2004)............. 12
Thompson v. State, 958 S.W.2d 156 (Tenn. Crim.
FR, Fie resrcsmamunnstepnsnnemepncmimaitininizets 2, 7, 10
Thompson v. Tennessee, 497 U.S. 1031 (1990)................... 6
Tower v. Fletcher, 114 U.S. 127 (1885)..............00..-ccceeeeeees 28
Tuilaepa v. California, 512 U.S. 967 (1994) .....cccccsvseee00e 38
United States v. Craigo, 993 F.2d 1086 (4th Cir.
rele ieesetitsinrensiesithtesnpinettieniiniiennteantisisibaainanesieainaiiiadnenmmimiataeniniiis 31
United States v. Johnson, 457 U.S. 537 (1982)................. 29
United States v. Reyes, 49 F.3d 63 (2d Cir. 1995).............. 31
United States v. Torres, 211 F.3d 836 (4th Cir. 2000) ....... 30
Van Tran v. State, 6 S.W.3d 257 (Tenn. 1999)................... 12
Williams v. United States, 401 U.S. 667 (1971)................ 32
Wilson v. Ozmint, 357 F.3d 461 (4th Cir. 2004) ................ 26
Wolfel v. Bates, 749 F.2d 7 (6th Cir. 1984) 2000...0...cccceeeees 21
Vii
i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued
Page
STATUTES
TE EEE CMA, SO A aL ND 31
TUR care ee 30
iinet inincmniinialatieeie sti aan 1
|” SRE See eee aa 27, 28
ST RENT a eae RAO 28
EEE Seam nee a RCA 22
I a ociciinciiestiiiienindtssiintinietemelenieads 29
| Ee nana Pe 29
EERE ann Rete oS ASR fevineorn 9
I a iicitnsernicncienannsiatiigialaaiiesaiibiaaiias .
I cc sncciccnsntesneaiseennintaniiciadensiaibaiicians 14
iil asian cetaceans ated 30
RES Eere enero nara ne Fae 29
I aiiiisictniiitichininrsanitctctineniccnitaaiciel 30
Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2-202(b) (1982) ...........csccececeseseeneees 37
Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2-203(g) (1982) ...........:.:csecseseseeeeees 37
Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2-203(i)5) (1982)...........ccecee0e0ee 6, 37
Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2-20/0(ii)00) (1982).............cc:cececseceeees 37
Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2+208(iiji'7))\(1982).............c.csececereeees 37
Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2200} \(8) (1982)...............00000- 35, 42
Tenn. Code Ann. § 99-2-302 (1982)............. ae
Tenn. Code Ann. $ 39-2-501 (1962) ..............cccssssrereereresers 38
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page
RULES
ee Bt Ge Bi SI cccecsscetevenenineneenneennecntsesineien 22, 28
EE | a eneeneeae ee eee 28
FY Cees 21, 22, 24, 25, 30
Fed. R. App. P. 41(d)(2)(D)........:::ccccceseereeeeeerenneeeesenes passim
Ei Gy Be Sad creccnnccnnsecnsencsscsnensmsnsnccsnaccsnsseinepienee 30, 31
eee, Gea, GO BR Ba csececensecncnscenesennsinsncinnsneninsasisetonn 32
OTHER AUTHORITIES
16A C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper, Federal
Practice and Procedure § 3987.1 (3d ed. 1999)....... 24, 34
R. Stern, E. Gressman, S. Shapiro & K. Geller,
Supreme Court Practice (8th ed. 2002) ...2......cccccccceeeeees 27
1
OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1) that is
the subject of this case is published at 373 F.3d 688. The
earlier opinion of the court of appeals affirming the district
court’s denial of habeas corpus relief (Pet. App. 117) is
reported at 315 F.3d 566. The memorandum opinion of the
district court dismissing respondent’s petition for writ of
habeas corpus is unreported. (Pet. App. 202)
¢
JURISDICTION
The judgment and opinion of the court of appeals were
entered on June 23, 2004. (Pet. App. 1) The petition for a
writ of certiorari was filed on October 14, 2004,’ and
granted on January 7, 2005. The jurisdiction of this Court
rests on 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).
°
RULE INVOLVED
Rule 41(d)(2), Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure,
provides in pertinent part:
(A) A party may move to stay the mandate
pending the filing of a petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari in the Supreme Court. The motion must
be served on all parties and must show that the
certiorari petition would present a substantial
question and that there is good cause for a stay.
’ On September 17, 2004, Justice Stevens granted petitioner’s
application to extend the time to file a petition for writ of certiorari
from September 21, 2004, until October 14, 2004. Bell v. Thompson, No
04A211.
2
* * *
(D) The court of appeals must issue the man-
date immediately when a copy of a Supreme
Court order denying the petition for writ of cer-
tiorari is filed.
¢
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
In 1985, Gregory Thompson was convicted by a jury in
Coffee County, Tennessee, for the first-degree murder of
Brenda Blanton Lane on New Year’s Day of that same
year. Following a separate sentencing hearing, the jury
sentenced Thompson to death for the murder. Thompson’s
conviction and sentence were affirmed on direct appeal,
State v. Thompson, 768 S.W.2d 239 (Tenn. 1989), cert.
denied, 497 U.S. 1031 (1990), and later upheld in state
post-conviction proceedings. Thompson v. State, 958
S.W.2d 156 (Tenn. Crim. App. 1997) (app. denied Oct. 20,
1997). Thompson then sought a writ of habeas corpus in
the federal district court, which summarily denied relief,
and the Sixth Circuit affirmed that decision. (Pet. App.
117) On December 1, 2003, this Court denied Thompson’s
petition for a writ of certiorari (J.A. 91) and denied rehear-
ing on January 20, 2004. (J.A. 92)
On February 25, 2004, the Tennessee Supreme Court
set a date for Thompson’s execution, thus setting in motion
state judicial proceedings to carry out that execution in
accordance with Tennessee state law. (Pet. App. 349-51,
383) But while state-court proceedings were ongoing — and
unbeknownst to the parties in this action or the Tennessee
Supreme Court — the Sixth Circuit was conducting a
second sua sponte review of Thompson’s federal habeas
3
appeal. (Pet. App. 2) And, on June 23, 2004, 18 months
after its initial decision denying habeas corpus relief and
205 days after this Court denied certiorari, the Sixth
Circuit, relying on its “inherent power over a case until
[its] mandate issues,” withdrew its previous judgment and
opinion and remanded the case to the district court for an
evidentiary hearing on Thompson’s original habeas peti-
tion. (Pet. App. 6)
A. State Trial Proceedings
As summarized in the opinion of the Tennessee
Supreme Court on direct appeal, the proof at Thompson’s
trial showed that, on December 29, 1984, Thompson and
Joanne McNamara, a juvenile female, traveled by bus
from Marietta, Georgia, to Shelbyville, in Bedford County,
Tennessee. They presented themselves as a married couple
at the home of Willa Mae Odum, an acquaintance of
McNamara’s family, who allowed them to stay there. When
Ms. Odum learned the two were not married, she asked
Thompson to leave, but he remained through the night of
December 31, waiting for a relative to wire him some
money. The following morning, January 1, 1985, Odum
again insisted that Thompson leave, and she called the
authorities to report McNamara as a runaway. This call
apparently prompted the couple to depart Odum’s home.
Having little money and no transportation, the couple
spent the afternoon at a nearby Wal-Mart store.
That same afternoon, January 1, after making several
purchases at the Wal-Mart, Brenda Lane did not arrive
home when expected. Shortly after midnight, Lane’s
automobile was reported on fire near an apartment build-
ing in Marietta, Georgia. Thompson and McNamara were
4
arrested on the night of January 2 in connection with the
investigation of Lane’s disappearance. A traffic ticket in
Thompson’s jacket showed that he had been cited for
speeding while driving Brenda Lane’s vehicle on Interstate
24 in Tennessee near the Georgia line. A Wal-Mart receipt
and several items recovered from the vehicle indicated a
purchase at the Shelbyville Wal-Mart at 5:51 p.m. on
January 1. A button found in Lane’s car matched those on
Thompson’s clothing.
A few hours after being taken into custody, Thompson
admitted that he had abducted a woman at knifepoint
from the Wal-Mart in Shelbyville and forced her to drive
him and his companion in her car to a remote location
outside Manchester, Tennessee. There, according to
Thompson, he stabbed her, drove the car over her body,
and left. Thompson drew a map illustrating the route from
the town to the site of the-stabbing and spoke with au-
thorities by telephone to clarify certain aspects of his
directions.
On January 3, 1985, following Thompson’s directions,
a search team found Brenda Lane’s body at the location
described in Thompson’s statement. According to the
pathologist, she had died from multiple stab wounds to the
back and would have remained conscious five to ten
minutes before bleeding to death. Apart from the stab
wounds, there was no evidence of other injury or trauma
to Lane’s body. Thompson presented no proof in the guilt
phase of trial, and the jury convicted him of the first-
degree murder of Brenda Lane.
During the sentencing phase, Thompson called a
number of witnesses, including former high school teach-
ers, acquaintances, his grandparents, two siblings, and a
5
cousin, who presented a picture of him as non-violent,
cooperative and responsible. Witnesses described in detail
his childhood and family circumstances in Georgia until he
left in 1979 to join the Navy. The Tennessee Supreme
Court noted in its opinion on direct appeal that, “while
[Thompson’s] family was poor, it was also good and loving.”
State v. Thompson, 768 S.W.2d 239, 244 (Tenn. 1989).
Arlene Cajulao, Thempson’s girlfriend while he was
stationed with the Navy in Hawaii, testified that she knew
Thompson from December 1980 until June 1984. She
described their relationship as good, one that she was
“very proud to have experienced,” and stated that Thomp-
son was caring and sensitive. She related that Thompson
had suffered a head injury when three of his fellow service
members attacked him with a crowbar and that he became
paranoid and unreasonably concerned about his and her
personal safety thereafter. Cajulao was aware that
Thompson was discharged from the Navy as a result of
being court-martialed for shoving a petty officer and either
dislocating the officer’s shoulder or breaking his collar
bone. She was also aware of other violent incidents involv-
ing Thompson and other Navy personnel. After leaving the
Navy, Thompson returned to Georgia for a short time in
1983 and then in 1984 to look for work. Thompson’s sister,
Nora Jean Walton, and his brother-in-law testified about
Thompson’s activities in Georgia after he returned from
the Navy, including his relationship with co-defendant
Joanne McNamara.
Dr. George Copple, a clinical psychologist retained by
the defense who interviewed and tested Thompson before
trial, testified about Thompson’s personality and aptitude
for employment in prison. He opined that Thompson had
an unusually strong need to nurture other people, which
6
may have led, in part, to the commission of the offense in
this case. Dr. Copple further testified that Thompson
exhibited strong remorse for the killing and did not have
an adult anti-social personality disorder.
To rebut Dr. Copple’s testimony, the State presented
the deposition of Dr. Robert Glenn Watson, a clinical
psychologist who participated in a staff evaluation of
Thompson at Middle Tennessee Mental Health Institute
(MTMHI) shortly after his arrest. Dr. Watson testified that
Thompson showed little remorse and exhibited adult anti-
social behavior. He further stated that, during the pre-trial
evaluation period, Thompson appeared to fake schizophre-
nia by claiming to hear voices and also falsely claimed that
he was unable to read. Thompson, 768 S.W.2d at 244.
The jury sentenced Thompson to death after finding
three aggravating circumstances beyond a reasonable
doubt: (1) that the murder was especially heinous, atro-
cious or cruel in that it involved torture or depravity of
mind; (2) that the defendant committed the murder for the
purpose of avoiding or preventing his lawful arrest and
prosecution; and (3) that the murder was committed while
the defendant was engaged in committing robbery or
kicdaapping. Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2-203(i)(5), (6), (7)
(1982) (repealed). The Tennessee Supreme Court affirmed
the judgment, State v. Thompson, 768 S.W.2d 239 (Tenn.
1989), and this Court denied certiorari. Thompson uv.
Tennessee, 497 U.S. 1031 (1990).
B. State Post-Conviction Proceedings
On post-conviction, Thompson contended, inter alia,
that his trial counsel was ineffective for failing to investi-
gate head injuries he had suffered prior to the murder. He
7
claimed that evidence of the head injuries could have been
beneficial to his case in the penalty phase of his trial. The
post-conviction court rejected Thompson’s claims following
an evidentiary hearing, and the Tennessee Court of
Criminal Appeals affirmed the denial of the petition for
post-conviction relief, finding that counsel’s decision to
“emphasize [Thompson’s] positive qualities [at sentencing]
rather than to suggest brain damage, while unsuccessful,
was based upon adequate investigation.” Thompson v.
State, 958 S.W.2d 156, 165 (Tenn. Crim. App. 1997). The
court further found that Thompson had demonstrated no
prejudice from counsel’s alleged deficiencies, because he
“failed to established that the head injuries had any effect
upon his mental stability at the time of the murder” and
“failed to demonstrate that any type of psychological
impairment in general may have existed which would
have been mitigating evidence.” Jd. Thompson subse-
quently sought permission to appeal to the Tennessee
Supreme Court pursuant to Rule 11, Tennessee Rules of
Appellate Procedure, but that court denied his application
on October 20, 1997.
C. Federal Habeas Corpus Proceedings
On June 12, 1998, Thompson filed a petition for writ
of habeas corpus in the United States District Court for
the Eastern District of Tennessee. On February 17, 2000,
the district court entered an order summarily denying
Thompson’s claims for relief and dismissing his petition,
concluding that Thompson had failed to demonstrate that
the state court’s adjudication of his ineffective assistance
of counsel claim involved an unreasonable application of
established federal law or an unreasonable determination
of the facts in light of the evidence before the state court.
28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1). (Pet. App. 202, 271) The district
court specifically found that Thompson had presented no
competent evidence in response to the State’s motion for
summary judgment, by way of affidavit, deposition or
otherwise, demonstrating that he was suffering from a
significant mental disease at the time of the offense or at
trial that should have been presented to the jury during
the penalty phase of his trial as mitigation evidence. (Pet.
App. 270) The court further noted that Thompson “had
two different psychological evaluations [prior to trial] and
both resulted in findings of competency at the time of the
crime and at the time of trial.” In addition, the state-court
record supported the state post-conviction court’s determi-
nation that trial counsel reasonably investigated Thomp-
son’s background and mental health history. (Pet. App.
270-71)
Thompson appealed the district court’s decision to the
Sixth Circuit on April 21, 2000. (J.A. 2) On March 1, 2001,
while Thompson’s appeal was pending in the Sixth Circuit,
but before oral argument, Thompson filed a motion in the
district court under Rule 60(b), Federal Rules of Civil Proce-
dure, requesting the district court to “supplement” the record
with additional evidence that had been developed through
discovery in the federal habeas proceeding but had never
been presented to the district court and, in light of that
evidence, to “revisit [the court’s] previous summary denial” of
Thompson’s habeas petition. (Pet. App. 337, 340-41)
Contemporaneous with the filing of his Rule 60(b)
motion in the district court, Thompson filed a motion in the
Sixth Circuit seeking to hold his appeal in abeyance pending
the district court’s disposition of the Rule 60(b) motion. (Pet.
App. 333) The district court denied Thompson’s Rule 60(b)
motion on March 7, 2001 (Pet. App. 343), and the Sixth Circuit
—— or
denied Thompson’s motion to hold his appeal in abeyance
on March 21, 2001. (Pet. App. 345)
On January 9, 2003, the Sixth Circuit affirmed the
district court’s denial of habeas relief. Thompson v. Bell,
315 F.3d 566 (6th Cir. 2003). (Pet. App. 117) As to Thomp-
son’s ineffective assistance claim, the court observed that,
because the Tennessee courts analyzed the claim under
the appropriate standard established by this Court in
Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984), the ques-
tion to be decided was whether the state court unreasona-
bly applied Strickland to the facts of Thompson’s case
under 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d). (App. 154) The court of appeals
found that the state-court record reflected that counsel
adequately investigated Thompson’s mental health:
[T]he [state-court] record reflects that trial coun-
sel investigated Thompson’s mental health and
that he received expert assistance to attempt to
establish valid mitigating factors. The record
shows that trial counsel were aware from the
outset of Thompson’s prior head injuries and in-
appropriate behavior, and that they investigated
possible mental illness or defect. They requested
a competency evaluation. Thompson was evalu-
ated for thirty days by a team of experts. The
MTMHI team found no mental illness, mental
defect, or insanity. Counsel also had [Dr. George]
Copple, a clinical psychologist and former profes-
sor of psychology at Vanderbilt, evaluate Thomp-
son. Copple found no evidence of mental illness.
* * 7.
[N]ot one of Thompson’s post-trial experts have
opined that Thompson suffered from organicity
or mental illness at the time of the crime or trial.
10
[Dr. Gillian] Blair, Thompson's state post-
conviction expert, also a clinical psychologist
with ties to Vanderbilt, declined to give an opin-
ion, stating simply that more information was
needed. Significantly, she did not fault the test-
ing procedures used by MTMHI or Copple, but
merely stated that they were not extensive
enough. Indeed, she performed many of the same
tests. Similarly, neither Crown nor Sultan
[Thompson’s federal habeas experts] ever ex-
pressed an opinion that Thompson was mentally
ill at the time of the crime.
As the Tennessee Court of Criminal Appeals
held, there is no prejudice because, “(the peti-
tioner has failed to establish that the head inju-
ries had any effect upon [Thompson’s] mental
stability at the time of the murder. Further, he
has failed to establish that any type of psycho-
logical impairment in general may have existed
which would have been mitigating evidence.”
Thompson, 958 S.W.2d at 165.
Indeed, although the state court ruled on the
prejudice prong of Strickland, its ruling is
equally sustainable under the cause prong of
Strickland because trial counsel’s decision to em-
ploy a clinical psychologist at trial was not objec-
tively unreasonable. Further, as the Tennessee
Court of Criminal Appeals concluded, “counsel
cannot be faulted for discarding a strategy that
could not be supported by a medical opinion.” Jd.
Nor can there be prejudice because the jury was
not deprived of any actual evidence of organicity
or mental disease or defect at the time of the
crime. Thus, the state court’s decision holding
11
that counsel were not ineffective under the Sixth
Amendment is not an unreasonable application
of Strickland.
(Pet. App. 158-59, 163-64)
Thompson filed a timely Petition for Rehearing and
Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc in the Sixth Circuit.
The panel reviewed the petition and, after finding that the
issues raised were fully considered upon the original
submission and decision of the case, denied rehearing on
March 10, 2003. (Pet. App. 346) On March 24, 2003, the
court of appeals stayed the issuance of its mandate pend-
ing the filing and disposition of a petition for writ of
certiorari. (Pet. App. 347)
On August 6, 2003, Thompson filed a petition for writ
of certiorari in this Court. The Court denied Thompson’s
petition on December 1, 2003. Thompson v. Bell, 540 U.S.
1051 (2003). (J.A. 91) The following day, December 2, 2003,
Thompson filed a motion in the court of appeals to extend
the stay of the mandate pending a petition for rehearing in
this Court from the denial of his certiorari petition. (J.A. 8)
This Court’s order denying certiorari was filed with the
clerk of the court of appeals on December 8, 2003. (J.A. 8)
The Sixth Circuit granted Thompson’s motion to extend
the stay of the mandate on December 12, 2003, pending
the filing of a petition for rehearing and “thereafter until
the Supreme Court disposes of the case.” (Pet. App. 348)
Thompson filed a petition for rehearing in this Court on
December 22, 2003. On January 20, 2004, the Court
denied Thompson’s petition for rehearing. Thompson v.
Bell, 540 U.S. 1158 (2004). (J.A. 92) A copy of the Court’s
order denying rehearing was filed with the clerk of the
court of appeals on January 23, 2004. (J.A. 8)
12
D. Events Subsequent to Initial Habeas Dis-
position
On February 25, 2004, the Tennessee Supreme Court
ordered that Thompson’s death sentence be carried out on
August 19, 2004. In addition, finding that Thompson had
sufficiently raised the issue of his present competency to
be executed through his Notice of Incompetency to be
Executed and supporting exhibits, the court remanded the
case to the trial court where Thompson was originally
convicted and sentenced for an “expeditious determina-
tion” of Thompson’s competence for execution under the
procedures established in Van Tran v. State, 6 S.W.3d 257
(Tenn. 1999).* (App. 349-51)
On March 1, 2004, Thompson filed a “Petition Provid-
ing Notice of Incompetency to Be Executed, Requesting a
Hearing on Competency to Be Executed, and Requesting
an Order Finding Gregory Thompson Incompetent to Be
Executed and Issuance of a Reprieve” in the state trial
court. Accompanying his petition were, inter alia, three
mental health experts’ reports, all dated after this Court’s
denial of certiorari, opining as to Thompson’s present
competence. On March 8, 2004, the trial court denied
Thompson’s competency petition without a hearing, and,
following expedited review, the Tennessee Supreme Court
affirmed the judgment of the trial court in an opinion filed
on May 12, 2004. Thompson v. State, 134 S.W.3d 168
(Tenn. 2004). (Pet. App. 352)
* In Van Tran, the Tennessee Supreme Court adopted the standard
of competency for execution in Tennessee and established state-court
procedures to enable state prisoners to assert last-minute claims of
incompetence under Ford uv. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986).
13
On June 14, 2004, Thompson filed a petition for writ
of habeas corpus in the United States District Court for
the Eastern District of Tennessee, asserting a claim of
incompetency for execution under Ford v. Wainwright, 477
U.S. 399 (1986). On June 21, 2004, the district court
granted a “brief stay” of Thompson’s execution, with the
stay to expire automatically upon issuance of an order of
the court denying habeas relief but to remain in place
upon issuance of an order granting the writ. The district
court further ordered that the Warden file a response to
Thompson’s Ford petition within ten days of the date of
the order.
On June 23, 2004, nearly seven months after this
Court denied certiorari from the Sixth Circuit’s January
2003 decision, that court issued an opinion vacating the
district court’s February 2000 order dismissing Thomp-
son’s initial habeas petition, supplementing the record on
appeal with a deposition that had been attached to
Thompson’s March 2001 motion to hold his appeal in
abeyance but never presented in the habeas proceedings in
the district court, and remanding the case to the district
court for a “full evidentiary hearing” on Thompson's initial
habeas petition. (Pet. App. 5-6) The court reasoned that a
discovery deposition of a mental health expert, taken by
counsel during the federal habeas proceedings but never
submitted to the district court for consideration in connec-
tion with the warden’s motion for summary judgment, was
“extremely probative” in assessing Thompson's mental
state at the time of the crime and, thus, relevant to his
claim of ineffective assistance of counsel at sentencing.
(Pet. App. 2) While acknowledging that the deposition was
outside the record of the district court, the court of appeals
nevertheless considered it in rendering its opinion pursuant
14
to the court's “equitable power to supplement the record on
appeal,” finding that the deposition was “apparently
negligently omitted” by Thompson's habeas counsel.’
Because the evidence here was apparently negli-
gently omitted, because the evidence is so proba-
tive of Thompson’s mental state at the time of
the crime, because there is no surprise to [the
Warden] as it was his counsel who took the depo-
sition, and because this is a capital case, we be-
lieve that the circumstances of this case merit
consideration of the Sultan deposition pursuant
to our equitable power to supplement the record
on appeal, despite the omission of the deposition
from the District Court record. We therefore va-
cate the grant of summary judgment, and re-
mand the case to the District Court for a full
evidentiary hearing.
(Pet. App. 5-6) The court made no finding that Thompson
was not at fault in failing to develop mental health evi-
dence in state court or that the limitations set forth in 28
U.S.C. § 2254(e2) were satisfied in order to justify its
directive for a “full evidentiary hearing.” Indeed, the
court’s previous opinion indicated to the contrary. (App.
169-70) In justifying its action, the court invoked its
“inherent power to reconsider [its] opinion prior to the
issuance of the mandate.” (App. 6)
¢
* In his concurring/dissenting opinion, Judge Suhrheinrich found
habeas counsel's explanation for the omission of the deposition to be
“implausible, if not intentionally false,” and thus justified the court's
late intervention on grounds of a fraud upon the district court. (App. 82,
89-107) The panel majority, however, declined to join in that conclusion.
(App. 2)
15
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT
The Sixth Cireuit’s decision withdrawing its final
judgment affirming dismissal of Thompson’s habeas
corpus petition and permitting him to relitigate the merits
of his case is an extraordinary act equivalent to a recall of
the mandate. In Calderon v. Thompson, 523 U.S. 538
-(1998), this Court held that, given a State’s strong interest
in the finality ofits criminal convictions, a federal court of
appeals abuses its discretion when it recalls its mandate
to revisit the merits of an earlier decision denying habeas
relief to a state prisoner unless it acts to avoid a miscar-
riage of justice. Calderon, 523 U.S. at 557-58. Although
acknowledging Calderon’s restrictions on a court of ap-
peals’ ability to recall an already issued mandate, the
Sixth Circuit in this case saw no such restriction of its
ability to reconsider the merits of Thompson’s appeal, even
after this Court had denied certiorari review, because of its
“power over a case” until issuance of the appellate man-
date. (Pet. App. 6)
But the Sixth Circuit’s rationale fails for two reasons.
First, the court’s actions violate the plain language of Fed.
R. App. P. 41(dX2D), which requires that the mandate
issue “immediately” upon the filing of the order of this
Court denying certiorari. Because the Sixth Circuit had no
discretion to withhold issuance of the mandate beyond the
filing of this Court’s order denying certiorari, the court’s
subsequent withdrawal of its judgment denying federal
habeas relief — in reliance upon its improperly withheld
mandate — was an extraordinary act equivalent to a recall
of the mandate. And in the federal habeas context, where a
prisoner seeks relief from a criminal judgment entered by
a state court, this Court has made clear that a decision to
16
recall a mandate must be measured against the statutory
and jurisprudential limits applicable in habeas cases.
Aside from its clear violation of Rule 41(d)(2)(D), the
Sixth Circuit’s withdrawal of its judgment after finality
had attached — premised upon the notion that it retained
unfettered discretion to reconsider its decision before
issuance of the mandate - is inconsistent with the princi-
ples of finality and comity underlying Calderon. Indeed,
applying those principles, this Court’s denial of certiorari —
the point at which “finality” attached to the Sixth Circuit’s
judgment —- triggered Calderon’s miscarriage of justice
standard as a prerequisite to any reconsideration by the
Sixth Circuit of the merits of the petition, irrespective of
whether the appellate court mandate had in fact issued.
Issuance of the mandate is a purely ministerial function
unrelated to the adjudication of an appeal. And where, as
in this case, the court of appeals’ judgment of affirmance
required no further action in the district court save filing
of the judgment in the court below, the finality of federal
habeas corpus proceedings is not contingent upon the
performance of that residual ministerial function. Indeed,
the State’s strong interest in the “assurance of finality”
beyond that point is indistinguishable from that which
Calderon sought to protect. Calderon, 523 U.S. at 558.
When viewed under the appropriate standard, the
Sixth Circuit’s decision to withdraw its prior final judg-
ment constitutes a grave abuse of discretion. In Calderon,
this Court held that a court of appeals abuses its discre-
tion when it recalls its mandate to revisit the merits of an
earlier decision denying habeas corpus relief “unless it
acts to avoid a miscarriage of justice as defined by [this
Court’s] habeas corpus jurisprudence.” Calderon, 523 U.S.
at 549-50. If the petitioner asserts his actual innocence of
17
the underlying crime, he must show that “it is more likely
than not that no reasonable juror would have convicted
him in light of the new evidence.” Jd. at 559 (quoting
Schlup v. Delo, 513 U.S. 298, 327 (1995)). If the petitioner
challenges his death sentence, he must show by clear and
convincing evidence that “no reasonable juror would have
found him eligible for the death penalty in light of the new
evidence.” Id. at 559-60 (quoting Sawyer v. Whitley, 505
U.S. 333, 348 (1992)). Neither standard is satisfied under
the facts of this case.
First, the evidence upon which the Sixth Circuit based
its decision — additional mitigation evidence relevant to
the jury’s decision to impose a death sentence — can never
meet Sawyer’s “innocence of the death penalty” standard.
While such evidence may be potentially relevant to the
jury’s selection of the appropriate penalty, it in no way
undercuts the defendant’s eligibility for the death penalty,
which was conclusively determined at the point of Thomp-
son’s conviction for a death-eligible offense, i.e., first-
degree murder, and by the existence of at least one statu-
tory aggravating circumstance. In this case, there were
three.
Nor can Thompson meet Schlup’s “actual innocence”
standard. Neither the initial nor subsequent opinion of the
Sixth Circuit contains any suggestion that Thompson is
“innocent” of first-degree murder, a result that is hardly
surprising, since Thompson himself confessed to the crime
and made no appreciable effort to contest his guilt at trial.
Aside from the overwhelming evidence of guilt, the evi-
dence on which the Sixth Circuit actually based its deci-
sion itself contains a concession of guilt by Thompson
and thus, on its face, defeats any claim of “actual inno-
cence.” In sum, the evidence in this case falls far short of
18
the showing necessary to disturb the State of Tennessee’s
“all but paramount” interest in finality. Because Thomp-
son has already had extensive review of his claims in both
state and federal courts, “the State’s interests in finality
outweigh [his] interest in obtaining yet another opportu-
nity for [federal habeas] review,” Calderon, 523 U.S. at
557, and the Sixth Circuit’s surprise reconsideration of its
earlier decision — disturbing that finality interest in the
absence of a threatened miscarriage of justice — constitutes
a grave abuse of discretion.
+
ARGUMENT
I. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT'S DECISION TO WITH-
DRAW ITS FINAL JUDGMENT AFFIRMING
THE DISMISSAL OF THOMPSON’S FEDERAL
HABEAS PETITION IS AN EXTRAORDINARY
ACT EQUIVALENT TO A RECALL OF THE
MANDATE UNDER CALDERON V. THOMPSON.
In Calderon v. Thompson, 523 U.S. 538 (1998), this
Court held that, given a State’s strong interest in the
finality of its criminal convictions, a federal court of
appeals abuses its discretion when it recalls its mandate
to revisit the merits of an earlier decision denying habeas
relief to a state prisoner, unless it acts to avoid a miscar-
riage of justice. Calderon, 523 U.S. at 557-58. Finality, the
Court reasoned, is not only “essential” to both the retribu-
tive and deterrent functions of criminal law but serves to
“preserve the federal balance.” Jd. at 555. In the context of
federal habeas review of state convictions, finality gains
added significance because the proceeding, by its very
19
nature, “frustrates” the State’s independent authority to
execute its moral judgment.‘ Jd. at 555-56. For this reason,
Calderon restricted the ability of a court of appeals to
recall a mandate denying federal habeas relief — a power
that had historically been viewed as “inherent” — in order
to ensure that the “merits of concluded criminal proceed-
ings” not be revisited in the absence of a strong showing of
actual innocence. Jd. at 558.
In this case, however, the Sixth Circuit attempted to
distinguish Calderon on the ground that the court had not
yet issued its mandate when it withdrew its initial judg-
ment 18 months after entry in order to allow Thompson to
relitigate the merits of his petition in the federal district
court. (Pet. App. 6) The Sixth Circuit’s effort to defeat the
finality of its judgment by withholding its mandate fails
for two reasons. First, its action violates the plain lan-
guage of Fed. R. App. P. 41(d)\(2)(D), which requires,
without exception, that the mandate issue “immediately”
upon the filing of the order of this Court denying certio-
rari. Because the rule allows no discretion to withhold the
mandate beyond that point, the Sixth Circuit’s action was
extraordinary and tantamount to a recall of the mandate.
Second, the Sixth Circuit’s withdrawal of its judgment —
* Recognizing that federal challenges to state convictions “entail
greater finality problems and special comity concerns,” Engle v. Isaac,
456 U.S. 107, 134 (1986) (Burger, C.J., concurring), the decisions of this
Court in the federal habeas context impose significant limits on the
discretion of federal courts to grant relief. Calderon v. Thompson, 523
U.S. at 554-55 (citations omitted). Those jurisprudential limitations
reflect the Court’s “enduring respect for ‘the State’s interest in the
finality of convictions that have survived direct review within the state
court system.’” Jd. at 555. Likewise, the Antiterrorism and Effective
Death Penalty Act of 1996 (AEDPA) is grounded in “respect for the
finality of state criminal judgments.” Jd. at 558.
20
an action indicative of a narrow, mandate-based view of
finality - is inconsistent with an unbroken line of this
Court's decisions holding that finality attaches at the point
of “final adjudication” and is not contingent upon the
performance of residual ministerial functions.
Where, as here, nothing remained to be done in the
district court save filing of the Sixth Circuit’s judgment
affirming its decision, issuance of the mandate did not
have the significance imputed to it by the Sixth Circuit; it
was a purely ministerial function unrelated to the adjudi-
cation of the merits of the appeal. Instead, as Calderon
makes clear, the central concern of AEDPA and this
Court’s habeas precedents is a State’s assurance of “real
finality” of its criminal convictions. Jd. at 556-58. The
Sixth Circuit’s decision cannot be reconciled with these
principles and should be reversed.
A. Because the Sixth Circuit had no discre-
tion to withhold issuance of the mandate
beyond the filing of this Court’s order de-
nying certiorari, the court’s subsequent
withdrawal of its judgment denying fed-
eral habeas relief was an extraordinary
act equivalent to a recall of the mandate.
Following its initial disposition of Thompson’s habeas
appeal in January 2003, the Sixth Circuit denied rehear-
ing and a suggestion for rehearing en banc on March 10,
2003, but stayed the issuance of the mandate pending a
petition for writ of certiorari. (Pet. App. 346-47) The Court
denied Thompson’s certiorari petition on December 1,
2003, Thompson v. Bell, 540 U.S. 1051 (2003) (No. 03-
5759) (J.A. 91); a copy of this Court’s order denying certio-
rari was filed with the Clerk of the Sixth Circuit on
21
December 8, 2003. (J.A. 8) Instead of issuing the mandate
“immediately,” as required by Fed. R. App. P. 41(d)(2)(D),
the Sixth Circuit entered an order on December 12, 2003,
“extending the stay” to allow Thompson to file a petition
for rehearing from the denial of the writ of certiorari and
“thereafter until the Supreme Court disposes of the case.”
(Pet. App. 348; J.A. 8) On January 20, 2004, this Court
denied Thompson’s petition for rehearing. (J.A. 92) A copy
of this Court’s order denying rehearing was filed with the
Clerk of the Sixth Circuit on January 23, 2004. (J.A. 8)
Rule 41, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, gov-
erns the procedures relating to the issuance and stay of a
court of appeals’ mandate.’ Sub-section (b) of the rule
provides that the mandate “must issue” seven calendar
days after expiration of the time for filing a petition for
rehearing, unless a petition is filed or a different time is
set by order.® Once a petition for rehearing is filed, Rule
* The mandate of an appellate court establishes the law binding
further action in the litigation by another body subject to its authority.
Finberg v. Sullivan, 658 F.2d 93, 97 n.5 (3d Cir. 1981). Functionally, the
mandate is the formal vehicle for conveying the terms of an appellate
court's disposition to the lower court. Clarke v. United States, 915 F.2d
699, 716 (D.C. Cir. 1990); Ostrer v. United States, 584 F.2d 594, 598 (2d
Cir. 1978) (“The effect of the mandate is to bring the proceedings on
appeal in our Court to a close and to remove it from the jurisdiction of
this Court, returning it to the forum whence it came”).
* Rule 41(b) allows the time for issuance to be shortened or
enlarged by court order. See, e.g., Wolfel v. Bates, 749 F.2d 7, 8 (6th Cir.
1984) (under Rule 41(b), court may “delay the date of the issuance of
the mandate until the court determines whether to grant, deny, o:
remand to the district court the movant’s request for attorney’s fees”,,
Perales v. INS, 575 F.2d 1293, 1295 (9th Cir. 1978) (court orderea
mandate affirming denial of reopening by Board of Immigration
Appeals issued forthwith in case involving eight years of effort to avoid
deportation).
22
41(b) automatically extends the time for issuing the
mandate to seven days after entry of the order denying
rehearing, unless otherwise ordered by the court.
Although Rule 41 permits the court of appeals to stay
issuance of the mandate pending the filing of a petition for
writ of certiorari, the unequivocal language of Rule
41(d)(2)(D) makes issuance mandatory upon the denial of
certiorari: “The court of appeals must issue the mandate
immediately when a copy of a Supreme Court order deny-
ing the petition for writ of certiorari is filed.” (emphasis
added) By its terms, the rule leaves no room for the
exercise of discretion by the court. In addition, unlike sub-
section (b), there is no provision under sub-section
(d\(2)\(D) authorizing a delay in the issuance of the man-
date following the denial of certiorari. Indeed, even the
Sixth Circuit’s own rules expressly forbid it.’ Rather, the
issuance of the mandate upon receipt of an order of this
Court denying certiorari is a ministerial act leaving no
discretion or power to adopt some other course of action. In
this case, that act should have been performed immedi-
ately upon the filing of this Court’s order with the clerk of
the court of appeals on December 8, 2003. Any further stay
” Rule 41(c), Rules of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Sixth Circuit, provides: “A stay of the mandate pending application to
the Supreme Court for a writ of certiorari shall not be effective later
than the date on which the movant’s application for a writ of certiorari
must be filed pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2102 or Rule 13 of the Supreme
Court Rules, as applicable. If during the period of the stay there is filed
with the clerk a notice from the clerk of the Supreme Court that the
party who has obtained the stay has filed a petition for the writ in that
Court, the stay shall continue until final disposition by the Supreme
Court. Upon the filing of a copy of an order of the Supreme Court
denying the petition for writ of certiorari, the mandate shall issue
immediately.” (emphasis added)
23
of the mandate would have been justified only under the
same exceptional circumstances permitting recall of the
mandate. The Sixth Circuit, however, extended the stay of
the mandate, in violation of Rule 41(d)(2\(D) and its own
rules, pending the filing of a petition in this Court for
rehearing of the denial of certiorari. Even assuming the
court of appeals was authorized to enter such an order, the
extended stay expired by its own terms when this Court
_— of respondent’s petition for rehearing. (Pet. App.
Pp
For reasons never explained by the court of appeals,
however, the mandate was never issued. The Sixth Circuit
entered no order further staying issuance of the mandate,
let alone justifying a stay. The mandate simply did not
issue. Five months later, on June 23, 2004, the Sixth
Circuit suddenly withdrew its initial opinion and issued a
second opinion, this time remanding the case to the
district court for a “full evidentiary hearing” on respon-
dent’s federal habeas petition. The Sixth Circuit’s only
acknowledged source of authority for withdrawing its
earlier opinion was its “inherent power to reconsider [the]
opinion prior to issuance of the mandate.” (Pet. App. 6)
But while federal courts are undoubtedly vested with
certain inherent authority over their proceedings and
judgments, that authority may not be invoked to circum-
vent either federal statutes or federal rules. Degen v.
United States, 517 U.S. 820, 823 (1996) (inherent powers
of courts may be controlled or overridden by statute or
rule); Carlisle v. United States, 517 U.S. 416, 426 (1996)
(scope of “inherent power” does not include power to
circumvent federal rules); Bank of Nova Scotia v. United
States, 487 U.S. 250, 254 (1988) (same).
24
Because Rule 41(d)(2)(D) allows no discretion in the
issuance of the mandate, the filing of this Court’s order
denying certiorari with the Clerk of the Sixth Circuit on
December 8, 2004, operated, as a matter of law, to dissolve
the Sixth Circuit’s March 24, 2003, stay of the mandate. See
also 16A C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper, Federal Practice
and Procedure § 3987.1, p. 744 (3d ed. 1999) (If the Supreme
Court denies certiorari, “the stay is automatically dissolved
and the rule directs that the court of appeals ‘must issue the
mandate immediately’ when a copy of a Supreme Court order
denying the petition for writ of certiorari is filed”). Therefore,
any further stay of the mandate or other action disturbing
the finality of the court’s prior decision following denial of
certiorari is an extraordinary act tantamount to a decision of
the court of appeals to recall the mandate. See, e.g., Adamson
v. Lewis, 955 F.2d 614, 620-21 (9th Cir.) (en banc), cert.
denied, 505 U.S. 1213 (1992) (continuing stay of mandate
following denial of certiorari justified only upon the same
exceptional circumstances permitting recall of the man-
date); see also Bryant v. Ford Motor Co., 886 F.2d 1526,
1529 (9th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1076 (1990)
(Rule 41(b)’s express direction makes threshold showing of
“exceptional circumstances” necessary before mandate may
be stayed after denial of certiorari); Beardslee v. Brown, 393
F.3d 899, 901 (9th Cir. 2004), cert. denied, 125 S. Ct. 982
(2005) (same). And in the federal habeas context, where a
prisoner seeks relief from a criminal judgment entered by a
state court, this Court has made clear that a decision to re-
call a mandate must be measured against the statutory and
jurisprudential limits applicable in habeas cases. Calderon,
523 U.S. at 553. The June 2004 decision of the Sixth Circuit
to withdraw its January 2003 opinion came 198 days after
Rule 41(dX2XD) made issuance of the mandate mandatory
and 152 days after the Sixth Circuit's “extension” of the
25
stay expired and should, therefore, be deemed the equiva-
lent of a decision by the Sixth Circuit to recall the man-
date subject to the discretionary limitations imposed by
Calderon.
B. A federal habeas judgment becomes “final”
when the court of appeals fully resolves the
appeal and is subject to no further review
or correction by this Court, even if the
mandate of the court of appeals has not yet
Although acknowledging Calderon’s restrictions on a
court of appeals’ ability to withdraw an already issued
mandate, the Sixth Circuit asserted that it retained the
“inherent power” to reconsider its judgment because the
mandate had “not yet issued in this case.” (Pet. App. 6)
But issuance of the mandate, which ordinarily is nothing
more than “a certified copy of the judgment, a copy of the
court’s opinion, if any, and any directions about costs,”
Fed. R. App. P. 41(a), does not have such talismanic
significance. It is a purely ministerial act required by Rule
41, performed by the clerk, and it is wholly separate from
an appellate court’s adjudication of the merits of a case.’
See Finberg, 658 F.2d at 96 n.5 (“[T]he extent of.a Court’s
supervision of a case between entry of judgment and
issuance of the mandate should not be overstated”). While
issuance of the mandate may be evidence of the finality of
* The Third Circuit has expressly recognized the “minimal role” of
a court between the filing of its decision and the issuance of a mandate.
men een ot due to F.3d 112, 117 (3d Cir. 1996) (declining
vaca as moot to death of after decision
= party was filed,
26
an appellate court’s judgment, it is not necessary to
achieve it.
Undoubtedly, a federal court of appeals retains juris-
diction over a case and, thus, the power to alter or modify
the judgment prior to issuance of its mandate. Wilson v.
Ozmint, 357 F.3d 461, 463 (4th Cir. 2004) (court may
amend “what it previously decided” before issuance of the
mandate); First Gib. Bank v. Morales, 42 F.3d 895, 898
(5th Cir. 1995) (“[blecause the mandate is still within our
control, we have the power to alter or to modify our judg-
ment”); Finberg v. Sullivan, 658 F.2d 93, 102 (3d Cir. 1981)
(“[t]his Court unquestionably may change its judgment
before the mandate becomes effective”); Deering Milliken,
Inc. v. FTC, 647 F.2d 1124, 1128 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied,
439 U.S. 958 (1978) (as long as appellate court retains its
mandate, it maintains its jurisdiction over the case and
the power to alter the mandate); Burget v. Robinson, 123
F. 262, 264 (1st Cir. 1903) (effect of order staying mandate
after judgment indefinitely is to retain jurisdiction of the
cause in that court and the power to grant rehearing, even
after the term). However, the mere existence of jurisdic-
tion in the court of appeals does not per se negate the
finality of its judgment. “(Flinality is not deferred by the
existence of a latent power in the rendering court to
reopen or revise its judgment.” Market St. Ry. Co. v.
Railroad Comm'n of Cal., 324 U.S. 548, 551 (1945).
This Court has long recognized the strong finality
concerns implicated when the jurisdiction of one sovereign
is invoked to upset a decision of another. Indeed, this
Court has described the requirement of finality as “an
important factor in the smooth working of our federal
system.” Radio Station WOW, Inc. v. Johnson, 326 U.S.
120, 124 (1945). Given the “realm of potential conflict
27
between the courts of two different governments” created
in that circumstance, the Court, since 1789,’ has been
constrained in its power to intervene in State litigation
only after “the highest court of a State in which a decision
in the suit could be had” has rendered a “final judgment or
decree.” Radio Station WOW, Inc., 326 U.S. at 124. The
current federal statute regulating the Court’s jurisdiction
to review state-court decisions, codified at 28 U.S.C.
§ 1257(a), retains that original “firm final judgment rule.”
Jefferson v. City of Tarrant, 522 U.S. 75, 81 (1997).
To be reviewable by this Court, a state-court judgment
must be final in two respects: (1) it must be subject to no
further review or correction in any other state tribunal;
and (2) it must be final as an effective determination of the
litigation and not merely interlocutory. In other words,
“[iJt must be the final word of a fin. 1 court.” Market St. Ry.
Co., 324 U.S. at 551. Finality for purposes of * 1257(a) is
not contingent upon the issuance of an appellate court
mandate. For this Court has made clear that the mere fact
that residual ministerial acts are to be performed on
remand to a lower court, such as “entering the judgment
which the appellate court had directed,” does not defeat
the finality of a state-court judgment for purposes of
certiorari review. Dep't of Banking v. Pink, 317 U.S. 264,
267 (1942); see also R. Stern, E. Gressman, S. Shapiro &
K. Geller, Supreme Court Practice, ch. 3.5, p. 144 (8th ed.
2002) (“The literal approach [to § 1257(a)] does ascribe
finality to a state court judgment that leaves only ministe-
rial acts to be performed on remand to the lower state
court”); Republic Natural Gas Co. v. Oklahoma, 334 U.S.
* Judiciary Act of 1789, § 25, 1 Stat. 85.
28
62, 68 (1948) (if nothing more than mere ministerial act
remains to be done, such as entry of judgment upon a
mandate, decree is regarded as conch, ‘ing the case and is
immediately reviewable); Cole v. Violette, 319 U.S. 581,
582 (1943) (order of highest state court deemed “final”
where it finally disposed of all issues in case, leaving
nothing to be done but the ministerial act of entering
judgment in the trial court); Tower v. Fletcher, 114 U.S.
127, 12. (1885) (“The litigation is ended, and the rights of
the parties on the merits have been fully determined.
Nothing remains to be done but to require the inferior
court to perform the ministerial act of entering the judg-
ments in that court which have been ordered”).
The same principles of comity and federalism driving
this Court’s definition of “finality” in the context of
§ 1257(a) also inform the definition of “finality” for pur-
poses of retroactivity analysis. Under Teague v. Lane, 489
U.S. 288 (1989), judicial decisions announcing new rules of
criminal procedure do not apply to cases in which the
conviction becomes “final” before the new rules are an-
nounced. Teague, 489 U.S. at 310. Applying that analysis,
this Court’s decisions establish that a judgment not
reviewed by this Court becomes “final” when “the time for
filing a petition for a writ of certiorari has elapsed or a
” Nor do any of the time limi’ | for seeking review by this Court
run from the issuance of the mandate. Indeed, Sup. Ct. R. 13.3 ex-
pressly provides otherwise: “|t)he time to file a petition for a writ of
certiorari runs from the date of entry of the judgment or order sought to
be reviewed, and not from the issuance date of the mandate.” See also
Sup. Ct. R. 18.1 (appeal from district court commenced by filing notice
of appeal with the clerk of the district court within the time provided by
law “after entry of the judgment sought to be reviewed”); 28 U.S.C.
§ 2101 (time for appeal runs from entry of judgment or decree).
29
timely filed petition has been finally denied.” Caspari v.
Bohlen, 510 U.S. 383, 390 (1994).”
Likewise, AEDPA does not impose a mandate-based
definition of finality. In fact, none of the limitations peri-
ods contained in the Act run from issuance of the mandate
of the appellate court. Rather, “finality” is determined with
reference to the exhaustion of available avenues of review.
Under 28 U.S.C. §2244(d)(1), a state prisoner must
initiate federal habeas corpus proceedings within one year
from the latest of “the date on which the judgment became
final by the conclusion of direct review or the expiration of
the time for seeking such review.” (emphasis added) Under
28 U.S.C. § 2263, which provides the statute of limitations
for habeas petitions filed by prisoners subject to capital
sentences in states that qualify for expedited collateral
review procedures, an application for habeas corpus relief
under § 2254 must be filed in the appropriate district court
within 180 days “after final State court affirmance of the
conviction and sentence on direct review or the expiration
of the time for seeking such review.” (emphasis added)
Thus, although the terms of AEDPA do not speak specifi-
cally to the question raised in this case, its provisions
“certainly inform [this Court’s] consideration” of it.
Calderon, 523 U.S. at 558 (quoting Felker v. Turpin, 518
U.S. 651, 663 (1996)).
" See also Griffith v. Kentucky, 479 U.S. 314, 321 n.6 (1987) (“By
‘final,’ we mean a case in which a judgment of conviction has been
rendered, the availability of appeal exhausted, and the time for a
petition for certiorari elapsed or a petition for certiorari finally denied”);
United States v. Johnson, 457 U.S. 537, 542 n.8 (1982) (same); Linklet-
ter v. Walker, 381 U.S. 618, 622 n.5 (1965) (same).
30
Similarly, in Clay v. United States, 5837 U.S. 522
(2003), the Court addressed finality in the context of the
one-year limitation provision under 28 U.S.C. § 2255,
specifically rejecting the views of two federal courts of
appeals that had adopted a mandate-based definition of
finality.” The relevant provision of the statute required
the initiation of federal post-conviction proceedings within
one year of “the date on which the judgment of conviction
becomes final.” 28 U.S.C. § 2255, ¥6(1) (emphasis added).
The Court held that the judgment of conviction is “final”
when the Supreme Court “affirms a conviction on the
merits on direct review or denies a petition for a writ of
certiorari, or when the time for filing a certiorari petition
expires.” Clay, 537 U.S. at 527. The Court’s ruling in Clay
is particularly instructive here, since it involved applica-
tion of the same rules of appellate procedure at issue in
this case, including the mandate requirement of Fed. R.
“ The Court expressly overruled the decisions of the Fourth and
Seventh Circuits in United States v. Torres, 211 F.3d 836 (4th Cir. 2000),
and Gendron v. United States, 154 F.3d 672 (7th Cir. 1998), cert. denied,
526 U.S. 1113 (1999), which held that the judgment of conviction for
federal post-conviction purposes becomes final on the date the court of
appeals issues its mandate on direct review. See also Johnson v. United
States, 246 F.3d 655, 657 (6th Cir. 2001) (“finality” for purposes of
§ 2255 not delayed pending appellate resolution of post-trial motion
under Fed. R. Crim. P. 33 based on new evidence).
" Congress has dictated this same point of finality in other
contexts as well. See, e.g., 26 U.S.C. § 7481(a(2\B) (decision of the Tax
Court becomes final “[u]pon the denial of a petition for certiorari, if the
decision of the Tax Court has been affirmed or the appeal dismissed by
the United States Court of Appeals”); 38 U.S.C. § 7291(aX2) (decision of
the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims “shall become
final . . . upon the denial of a petition for certiorari, if the decision of the
Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims is affirmed or the appeal is
dismissed by the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal
Circuit”).
31
App. P. 41." See also United States v. Craigo, 993 F.2d
1086 (4th Cir. 1993) (court’s stay of its mandate to allow
government to seek certiorari left judgment within the
court’s control subject to modification, even though the
judgment became final when the government failed to file
certiorari petition) (emphasis added).
As the discussion above illustrates, in determining the
point of finality in the context of both direct and collateral
review — state and federal — both Congress and this Court
have consistently applied the same definition of finality -
one that is practical, workable, and not dictated or con-
trolled by the particular practices of the rendering courts —
that the judgment at issue be “the final word of a final
court.” Federal habeas review “intrudes on state sover-
eignty to a degree matched by few exercises of federal
judicial authority.” O’Neal v. McAninch, 513 U.S. 432, 448
(1995). When a court of appeals enters a final judgment
denying habeas relief and then denies rehearing of that
decision, it has had its “final word,” subject only to review
“ In those limited situations in which a mandate-based definition
of finality has been employed, the rationale is not based upon any
general view that the mandate is necessary to achieve “real” finality.
For certain determinations under the Speedy Trial Act of 1974, 18
U.S.C. § 3161 et seg., and the former version of Fed. R. Crim. P. 33
(motion for new trial based on newly discovered evidence), for example,
some courts have held that finality attaches upon issuance of the
appellate court’s mandate. Clay, 537 U.S. at 537. But since both require
further action in the district court, a mandate-based definition of
finality in those contexts is entirely reasonable. Issuance of the
mandate is necessary to transfer jurisdiction back to the district court
to permit it to proceed either with a retrial of the defendant or disposi-
tion of a motion. As the Second Circuit reasoned in United States v.
Reyes, 49 F.3d 63 (2d Cir. 1995), it would be anomolous to include
within the pertinent time period an interval during which the lower
court had no jurisdiction to act. Reyes, 49 F.3d at 68.
32
by this Court. If, as in Teague, Clay and Caspari, denial of
certiorari is of significant enough import, in itself, to
establish finality of a judgment of conviction for purposes
of retroactivity and collateral review, then surely that
event should carry at least as much significance in the
federal habeas context, which this Court has long recog-
nized as collateral and secondary in importance to the
direct review proceedings. See Williams v. United States,
401 U.S. 667, 682-83 (1971); see also Pennsylvania v.
Finley, 481 U.S. 551, 556-57 (1987) (“Postconviction relief
is even further removed from the criminal trial than is
discretionary direct review. It is not part of the criminal
proceeding itself, and it is in fact considered to be civil in
nature”). Indeed, the Tennessee Supreme Court specifi-
cally looks to that event as the point at which a death-
sentenced prisoner has completed “the standard three-tier
appeals process” for purposes of setting an execution
date.“ Moreover, this view is entirely consistent with the
mandatory language of Rule 41(d\2XD), requiring the
clerk of the court of appeals to issue the mandate immedi-
ately upon the filing of a copy of this Court’s order denying
certiorari.
\
* Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 12.4(A) provides: “After a death-row prisoner
has pursued at least one unsuccessful challenge to the prisoner's
conviction and sentence through direct appeal, state post-conviction,
and federal habeas corpus proceedings, the State Attorney General
shall file a motion requesting that this Court set an execution date. The
motion shall include a brief summary of the procedural history of the
case demonstrating that the prisoner has completed the standard three-
tier appeals process. The motion shall be considered premature if filed
prior to the expiration of the time for filing a petition for writ of
certiorari or a petition to rehear the denial of a petition for writ of
certiorari in the United States Supreme Court.”
33
There is no logical justification for departing from this
Court’s “long-recognized, clear meaning” of finality in the
post-conviction relief context, Clay, 537 U.S. at 527, and
imposing a mandate-based definition, especially where, as
in this case, the judgment of the court of appeals affirmed
the summary dismissal of a habeas petition, requiring no
further action in the district court save the filing of the
judgment in the court below. The decision of the court of
appeals lacked none of the attributes of an adjudication.
All that remained to be done following this Court’s denial
of certiorari —- issuance of the mandate by the clerk of
court — is properly characterized as merely “ministerial.”
Thus, the fact that the court of appeals retained some
“latent power” to modify its judgment while it controlled
the mandate did not defer or defeat the finality of its
judgment. Market St. Ry. Co., 324 U.S. at 551 (“finality is
not deferred by the existence of some latent power in the
rendering court to reopen or revise its judgment”).
Because finality of the Sixth Circuit’s judgment
attached when this Court denied respondent’s petition for
a writ of certiorari, the court’s subsequent withdrawal of
that judgment was an event of considerable significance
and demanded an extraordinary justification, particularly
given the State of Tennessee’s strong interest in the
finality of its criminal convictions. As we now show, the
Sixth Circuit’s action lacked any such justification and
should be overturned by this Court.
34
Il. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION TO WITH-
DRAW ITS FINAL JUDGMENT AND PERMIT
THOMPSON TO RELITIGATE THE MERITS
OF HIS UNDERLYING HABEAS CORPUS PE-
TITION CONSTITUTES AN ABUSE OF DIS-
CRETION.
While the courts of appeals are recognized to possess
inherent power to reconsider sua sponte the merits of an
earlier decision that has become final, the power must be
exercised only in “extraordinary circumstances.” Calderon,
523 U.S. at 549-50 (addressing sua sponte recall of the
mandate) (citing 16A C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper,
Federal Practice and Procedure § 3938, p. 712 (2d ed.
1996)). In the context of federal habeas review of a state
criminal conviction, that power is even further circum-
scribed by the comity concerns underlying this Court’s
habeas precedents. Thus, in Calderon, this Court held that
a court of appeals abuses its discretion when it recalls its
mandate to revisit the merits of an earlier decision deny-
ing habeas corpus relief “unless it acts to avoid a miscar-
riage of justice as defined by [this Court’s] habeas corpus
jurisprudence.” Jd. at 558. “[T]he miscarriage of justice
exception is concerned with actual as compared to legal
innocence.” Jd. at 559 (quoting Sawyer v. Whitley, 505 U.S.
333, 339 (1992)). If the petitioner asserts his actual inno-
cence of the underlying crime, “he must show ‘it is more
likely than not that no reasonable juror would have
convicted him in light of the new evidence. ...’” Id. at 559
(quoting Schlup v. Delo, 513 U.S. 298, 327 (1995)). If the
petitioner challenges his death sentence, “he must show
‘by clear and convincing evidence’ that no reasonable juror
would have found him eligible for the death penalty in
light of the new evidence.” Id. at 559-60 (quoting Sawyer,
505 U.S. at 348).
35
Because the Sixth Circuit failed to perceive its action
as the equivalent of a recall of the mandate, it made no
attempt to justify its decision under either standard. It is
clear, however, that the evidence on which the court based
its remand — the discovery deposition of Faye E. Sultan,
Ph.D. — meets neither criterion. The deposition addressed
only potential mitigation evidence available to defense
counsel and in no way undermined the jury’s determina-
tion of Thompson’s guilt. The Sixth Circuit itself viewed it
as probative in analyzing Thompson’s claim of ineffective
assistance of counsel at sentencing, since it could have
demonstrated available mitigating evidence related to his
mental state at the time of the crime. Judge Suhrheinrich
characterized the Sultan deposition as “powerful mitigat-
ing evidence that should have been presented to the trier
of fact at sentencing.” (Pet. App. 86) Indeed, Dr. Sultan’s
opinion was specifically couched in the language of the
statutory mitigating circumstance under Tenn. Code Ann.
§ 39-2-203(j)(8) (“The capacity of the defendant to appreci-
ate the wrongfuless of his conduct or to conform his
conduct to the requirements of the law was substantially
impaired as a result of mental disease or defect . . . .”):
It is my opinion that ... Mr. Thompson was suf-
fering serious mental illness at the time of the
1985 offense for which he was convicted and sen-
tenced. This mental illness would have substan-
tially impaired Mr. Thompson’s ability to conform
his conduct to the requirements of the law.
Further, Mr. Thompson was the victim of severe
childhood emotional abuse and physical neglect.
The panel majority specifically approved Judge Suhrheinrich’s
summary of the probative value of the Sultan deposition. (Pet. App. 2)
36
His family background is best described as
highly neglectful and economically deprived. Mr.
Thompson repeatedly witnessed episodes of vio-
lence during his childhood in which one family
member assaulted or brutalized another. There
are significant aspects of Mr. Thompson’s social
history that have been recognized as mitigating in
other capital cases.
(J.A. 20) (emphasis added).
On its face, the potential relevance of this evidence
was limited to the sentencing phase of Thompson’s trial; it
suggested that there might have been additional mitigat-
ing information available to defense counsel that he did
not present. The Sixth Circuit was thus authorized to
revisit its prior decision only if that evidence established
Thompson’s “innocence of the death penalty” under Saw-
yer. Calderon, 523 U.S. at 560 (quoting Sawyer, 505 US.
at 348).” To prevail on such a claim, a petitioner must
demonstrate “by clear and convincing evidence that, but
for a constitutional error, no reasonable juror would have
found ... {him] eligible for the death penalty under the
applicable state law,” Sawyer, 505 U.S. at 336, or, in other
words, “that there was no aggravating circumstance or
that some other condition of eligibility had not been met.”
Id. at 345 (emphasis added). That showing simply cannot
be made on this record.
At the time of Thompson’s offense, first-degree murder
in Tennessee was punishable by death or imprisonment for
” Sawyer’s “actual innocence of the death penalty” exception is
limited to “the context of an alleged error at the sentencing phase of a
capital trial.” Sawyer, 505 U.S. at 340 (quoting Smith v. Murray, 477
U.S. 527, 537 (1986)).
37
life. Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2-202(b) (1982). Once convicted
of the crime, a defendant is eligible for imposition of the
death penalty if the jury finds “at least one statutory
aggravating circumstance” beyond a reasonable doubt.
Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2-203(g) (1982). The jury in this case
found three such aggravators: (1) that the murder was
especially heinous, atrocious or cruel in that it involved
torture or depravity of mind; (2) that the defendant com-
mitted the murder for the purpose of avoiding or prevent-
ing his lawful arrest and prosecution; and (3) that the
murder was committed while the defendant was engaged
in committing robbery or kidnapping. Tenn. Code Ann.
§ 39-2-203(iX5), (6), (7) (1982) (repealed). The Sultan
deposition does not undercut the applicability of any of
these factors to Thompson’s crime.
The “heinous, atrocious or cruel” aggravator in effect
at the time of Thompson’s trial was established by the
circumstances of the murder itself. The proof at trial (as
affirmed in the opinion of the Tennessee Supreme Court
on direct appeal) demonstrated “a particularly senseless
killing indicative of depravity of mind.” Thompson, 768
S.W.2d at 252. Brenda Lane was abducted at knifepoint
from the parking lot of a Wal-Mart store and driven some
distance into rural Tennessee, where she was stabbed
multiple times a> left alive, conscious and alone to die on
a winter night. Jd. As noted in the opinion of the Tennes-
see Supreme Court, it is highly probable that Lane knew
her fate in advance; there is evidence that she was crying
as she rode with Thompson and his juvenile accomplice to
her death. Jd. Moreover, the fact that the murder was
committed while Thompson was engaged in committing
kidnapping and robbery - supporting application of the
“felony murder” aggravator —- has never been disputed.
38
Thompson's own statement to police established that he
abducted Lane at knifepoint and took her vehicle after
murdering her.” Finally, the Tennessee Supreme Court
concluded that there was ample evidence to support the
jury’s deterinination that the murder was committed to
prevent the lawful aporehension of Thompson and his
juvenile accomplice. They were both on the run from
authorities, and Lane undoubtedly “could have identified
the twosome and raised an alarm after the theft of her
car.” Id. Because these factors remain unaffected by the
evidence on which the Sixth Circuit relied to withdraw its
opinion — or any other record evidence in this case -
Thompson cannot satisfy Sawyer’s miscarriage of justice
exception because he cannot demonstrate that he is
ineligible for the death penalty.
Instead, as even the concurring opinion demonstrates,
the Sultan deposition would be relevant only to the jury's
selection of the appropriate penalty. Even in view of
multiple aggravating circumstances, whether a defendant
in fact receives a capital sentence depends upon the
weighing of individual mitigation evidence against the
statutory aggravator or aggravators found, i.e., the selec-
tion stage. See, e.g., Buchanan v. Angelone, 522 U.S. 269,
275 (1998) (distinguishing between eligibility and selection
phases of capital sentencing process), Tuilaepa v. California,
“ Under Tennessee law at the time of Thompson's offense, “kid-
napping” was committed when a person “forcibly or unlawfully confines,
inveigles, or entices away another, with the intent to cause him to be
secretly confined, or imprisoned against his will.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-
2-302 (1982). “Robbery” was defined as the “felonious and forcible
taking from the person of another, goods or money of any value, by
violence or putting the person in fear.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2-501
(1982).
39
512 U.S. 967, 972-73 (1994) (same). Thus, by its very
nature, the new evidence upon which the Sixth Circuit
based its decision — additional mitigation evidence — can
never meet Sawyer’s miscarriage of justice standard. See
Sawyer, 505 U.S. at 345 (rejecting argument that “inno-
cence of the death penalty” should be extended beyond
elements of the capital sentence to include additional
mitigation evidence). :
Thompson’s ability to meet the less stringent Schlup
standard fares no better. While Schlup’s miscarriage of
justice exception is met by the lower “more likely than not”
standard, this Court has explicitly tied the exception to a
petitioner’s “actual innocence” of the crime. Thus, a
petitioner “must show that it is more likely than not that
no reasonable juror would have convicted him” in light of
newly discovered evidence. Schlup, 513 U.S. at 332
(O'Connor, J., concurring). The evidence in support of an
assertion of actual innocence should be reliable, concrete
and verifiable. Schlup, 513 U.S. at 234. In addition, this
Court has made clear that the miscarriage of justice
exception under Schlup does not extend to “prisoners
whose guilt is conceded or is plain.” Schlup, 513 U.S. at
a Kuhlmann v. Wilson, 477 U.S. 436, 452
Neither the initial nor subsequent opinion of the Sixth
Circuit contains any suggestion that Thompson did not kill
Brenda Lane or that he is otherwise “innocent” of her
murder, a result that is hardly surprising, since Thompson
himself confessed to the crime and made no appreciable
40
effort to contest his guilt at trial.” Thompson, 768 S.W.2d
at 243. It was Thompson’s own statement that led authori-
ties to Lane’s body, id., and as recently as January 19,
2004, Thompson accepted full responsibility for her mur-
der, as noted in the Tennessee Supreme Court’s May 2004
opinion. Thompson, 134 S.W.3d at 181. Indeed, according
to Thompson’s own mental health expert in state compe-
tency proceedings, Thompson “readily admitted that he
‘killed Brenda Lane.’” (Pet. App. 373)
Aside from the overwhelming evidence of guilt at trial,
the Sultan deposition itself supports Thompson’s guilt, as
demonstrated by the following exchange:
Q. What did Mr. Thompson tell you about the
offense, as best you can recall?
A. As best I recall, Mr. Thompson talked about
his relationship with the young girl that he was
with for the days and weeks prior to this.
Q. Joanne McNamara?
A. Yes. ... What he told me was that they were
thrown out of the place that they had been staying
”(R. 5, Add. 1H, Vol. 16, pp. 85-86, 92)
41
when it was discovered that they were not in fact
married. I don’t know who it was who portrayed
them as a married couple to the people that they
were staying with, but that the truth of it was
discovered, that someone contacted Joanne
McNamara’s mother - or parents, I don’t know
which; I think mother — to let her know that this
child was in her home, the person they were
staying with, that Mr. Thompson forced the vic-
tim in this case into her car at knifepoint... .
[HJe knew that he had in fact killed her.
(J.A. 41-42) (emphasis added).
Nor can it be argued that Thompson’s new evidence
meets the Schlup standard on the theory that it might
have supported an insanity defense. First, this Court has
made clear that, for purposes of the miscarriage of justice
analysis under Schlup, “actual innocence” is different from
“legal innocence.” Calderon, 523 U.S. at 558; see also__
Bousley v. United States, 523 U.S. 614, 615 (1998) (“Actual
innocence means factual innocence”). The clear example of
actual innocence is “the case where the State has con-
victed the wrong person of the crime.” Sawyer, 505 U.S. at
339-40. An insanity defense cannot satisfy the concept of
“actual innocence,” because it concedes the act, but in-
vokes a bar to legal responsibility for it. See, e.g., Foucha v.
Louisiana, 504 U.S. 71, 76 (1992) (An insanity verdict
“establishes two facts: (i) the defendant committed an act
that constitutes a criminal offense; and (ii) he committed
the act because of mental illness”). This prerequisite of
42
guilt is incompatible with the requirement of actual
innocence necessary to establish a miscarriage of justice.
Second, even if potential evidence of insanity is an
appropriate consideration for determining whether there
has been a miscarriage of justice, the Sultan deposition
fails to meet even that threshold for consideration because
Dr. Sultan’s testimony fails to establish the defense under
Tennessee law. Consistent with the language of the statu-
tory mitigating circumstance, Dr. Sultan specifically
opined that Thompson’s ability to conform his conduct to
the requirements of the law was “substantially impaired”
as a result of mental illness. (J.A. 20) But that mitigator,
by definition, does not amount to legal insanity, since it
specifically provides that the mental impairment of which
it speaks is “insufficient to establish a defense to the
crime.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2-203(j8) (1982). By con-
trast, an insanity defense under Tennessee law at the time
of Thompson’s crime required more than a showing of
mere impairment; a defendant was required to demon-
strate that he lacked the substantial capacity to conform
his conduct to the requirements of the law. Graham v.
State, 547 S.W.2d 531, 543 (Tenn. 1977). Finally, the
testimony at Thompson's trial of both the defense and
State mental health expert witnesses clearly established
Thompson’s sanity at the time of the offense. (J.A. 264-66)
Dr. Sultan’s testimony would thus provide nothing more
than impeachment evidence in the form of an alternative
opinion on the subject of Thompson’s sanity. And this
Court has made clear that impeachment evidence provides
” As this Court has stated, “the quintessential miscarriage of
justice is the execution of a person who is entirely innocent.” Schlup,
513 U.S. 324-25 (emphasis added).
43
no basis for finding a miscarriage of justice. Calderon, 523
U.S. at 563 (citing Sawyer, 505 U.S. at 348). In sum, the
evidence on which the Sixth Circuit based its decision falls
far short of the showing necessary to justify the extraordi-
nary act of withdrawing an already final decision.
After the courts of the State of Tennessee affirmed
Thompson’s conviction and sentence on direct appeal and
then refused to disturb it on state collateral review, the
State waited five and one-half years for federal habeas
proceedings to run their course. When the district court
denied Thompson’s federal habeas petition, the Sixth
Circuit affirmed that decision and this Court denied both
certiorari and rehearing. The courts of Tennessee then
took the steps necessary to enforce Thompson’s death
sentence. In the period between this Court’s final disposi-
tion of Thompson’s request for certiorari in January 2004
and the Sixth Circuit’s second decision in June 2004, the
Tennessee Supreme Court set a new execution date,
ordered expedited competency proceedings in the trial
court, disposed of numerous procedural motions seeking to
delay execution of the judgment, and issued a detailed
opinion following expedited appeal proceedings affirming
the trial court’s denial of Thompson’s claim of incompe-
tence for execution. In short, the State marshaled the full
force of its judicial machinery in what should have been
the final step toward execution of its judgment. This case,
like Calderon, illustrates the extraordinary costs associ-
ated with a federal court of appeals’ reconsideration of its
judgment in a habeas case after finality has attached.
The State’s finality interests in this case are no
different from those that Calderon sought to protect.
Those interests are “all but paramount, without regard to
whether the court of appeals predicates the recall on a
44
procedural misunderstanding or some other irregularity
occurring prior to its decision.” Calderon, 523 U.S. at 557.
Because Thompson has already had extensive review of
his claims in both state and federal courts, absent a strong
showing of actual innocence, “the State’s interests in
finality outweigh the prisoner’s interest in obtaining yet
another opportunity for review.” Id. The Sixth Circuit's
surprise reconsideration of its January 2003 decision
frustrates the State’s “all but paramount” interest in
finality and constitutes a grave abuse of discretion.
¢
45
CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be re-
versed and the case should be remanded to the court of
appeals with instructions to reinstate its January 9, 2003,
judgment affirming the district court’s denial of habeas
corpus relief.
Respectfully submitted,
PAUL G. SUMMERS
Attorney General
State of Tennessee
MICHAEL E. MOORE
Solicitor General
GORDON W. SMITH
Associate Solicitor General
JENNIFER L. SMITH
Associate Deputy Attorney General
Counsel of Record
ANGELE M. GREGORY
Assistant Attorney General
P.O. Box 20207
Nashville, Tennessee 37202
(615) 741-3487
Attorneys for Petitioner
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.