Amicus Curiae Brief — Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios Inc. v. Grokster, Ltd.

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ou,” - sty

FILED

() NOV 8 - 2004

No. 04-480

8)

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Cited States

METRO-GOLDWYN-MAYER STUDIOS INC. ef al..

Petitioners,

;

v.

GROKSTER, LTD. ef al..

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF UTAH, NORTH

CAROLINA, VIRGINIA, RHODE ISLAND, TEXAS,

MISSISSIPPI, ALABAMA, ALASKA, ARIZONA,

ARKANSAS, COLORADO, DELAWARE, FLORIDA,

GEORGIA, HAWAII, IDAHO, ILLINOIS, INDIANA,

KANSAS, KENTUCKY, LOUISIANA,

MASSACHUSETTS, MICHIGAN, MISSOURI,

MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NEVADA, NEW JERSEY,

NEW MEXICO, NORTH DAKOTA, OHIO,

OKLAHOMA, OREGON, PENNSYLVANIA, SOUTH

CAROLINA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, _

VERMONT, WEST VIRGINIA, WISCONSIN AND THE

TERRITORY OF GUAM

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

MARK SHURTLEFF* Roy COOPER

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF UTAH ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

PO Box 142320 NORTH CAROLINA

Salt Lake City, Utah 9001 Mail Service Center

84114-2320 Raleigh, NC 27699-9001

(801) 366-0300 (919) 716-6400

Counsel for Amici Curiae

November 8, 2004 * Counsel of Record

{ Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover and Front Pages]

a

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

_—

JERRY KILGORE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

VIRGINIA

900 E. Main Street

Richmond, VA 23219

(804) 786-2071

GREG ABBOTT

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

TEXAS

P.O. Box 12548

Austin, TX 78711-2548

(512) 463-2100

TROY KING

ATTORNEY GENERAL

OF ALABAMA

Alabama State House

11 South Union Street

Montgomery, AL 36130

(334) 242-7300

TERRY GODDARD

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

ARIZONA

1275 West Washington

Street

Phoenix, AZ 85007-2926

(602) 542-5025

PATRICK C. LYNCH

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

RHODE ISLAND

150 S. Main Street

Providence, RI 02903

(401) 274-4400 }

JiM Hoop

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

MISSISSIPPI

Department of Justice

P.O. Box 220

Jackson, MS 39205-0220

(601) 359-3680

GREGG D. RENKES

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

ALASKA

P.O. Box 110300

Juneau, AK 99811-0300

(907) 465-2133

MIKE BEEBE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

ARKANSAS

323 Center Street, Suite 200

Little Rock, AR 72201

(501) 682-2007 ~

KEN SALAZAR

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

COLORADO

1525 Sherman Street

7" Floor

Denver, CO 80203

(303) 866-3557

CHARLES J. CRIST, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

FLORIDA

The Capitol PL-01

Tallahassee, FL 32399-

1050

(850) 414-3300

DOUGLAS B. MOYLAN

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

GUAM

Guam Judicial Center

120 W. O’Brien Drive

Suite 2-200E

Hagatna, GU 96910-5174

(617) 475-3324

LAWRENCE G. WASDEN

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

IDAHO

700 W. Jefferson Street

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0010

(208) 334-2400

M. JANE BRADY

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

DELAWARE

Carvel State Office Building

820 N. French St.

Wilmington, DE 19801

(302) 577-8400

THURBERT E. BAKER

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

GEORGIA

40 Capitol Square, SW

Atlanta, GA 30334-1300

(404) 656-3300

MARK J. BENNETT

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

HAWAII

425 Queen Street

Honolulu, HI 9586-1500

(808) 586-1500

LISA MADIGAN

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

ILLINOIS

James R. Thompson Center

100 W. Randolph Street

Chicago, IL 60601

(312) 814-3000

STEVE CARTER

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

INDIANA

IGCS — Fifth Floor

302 W. Washington Street

Indianapolis, IN 46204

(317) 232-6201

GREGORY D. STUMBO

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

KENTUCKY

State Capitol, Suite 118

Frankfort, KY 40601

(502) 696-5300

THOMAS F. REILLY

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

MASSACHUSETTS

One Ashburton Place

Boston, MA 02108

(617) 727-2200

JEREMIAH W. (JAY) NIXON

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

MISSOURI

Supreme Court Building

207 West High Street

P.O. Box 899

Jefferson City, MO 65102

(573) 751-3321

PHILL KLINE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

KANSAS

120 SW 10" Ave. 2™ Floor

Topeka, KS 66612-1597

(785) 296-2215

CHARLES C. Forti, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

LOUISIANA

P.O. Box 94005

Baton, Rouge, LA 70804

(225) 326-6000

MICHAEL A. Cox

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

MICHIGAN

P.O. Box 30212

Lansing, MI 48909

(517) 373-1110

MIKE MCGRATH

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

MONTANA

Justice Building

215 N. Sanders. 3” Street

P.O. Box 201401 Helena, MT

59620-1401

(406) 444-2026

JON BRUNING

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

NEBRASKA

2115 State Capitol

P.O. Box 98920

Lincoln, NE 68509-8920

(402) 471-2682

PETER C. HARVEY

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

New JERSEY

R.J. Hughes Justice

Complex

25 Market Street

P.O. Box 080

Trenton, NJ 08625

(609) 292-4925

WAYNE STENEHJEM

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

NorRTH DAKOTA

State Capitol

600 E. Boulevard Avenue

Bismarck, ND 58505-0040

(701) 328-2210

W.A. DREW EDMONDSON

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

OKLAHOMA

2300 N. Lincoln Boulevard

Suite 112

Oklahoma City, OK 73105-

4894

(405) 521-3921

BRIAN SANDOVAL

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

NEVADA

100 N. Carson Street

Carson City, NV 89701

(775) 684-1100

PATRICIA A. MADRID

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

New MExico

P.O. Drawer 1508

Santa Fe, NM 87504-1508

(505) 827-6000

Jim PETRO

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

OHIO

30 E. Broad St., 17" Floor

Columbus, OH 43215

(614) 466-8980 —

HARDY MYERS

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

OREGON

1162 Court Street, N.E.

Salem, OR 97301

(503) 378-4400

GERALD J. PAPPERT

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

PENNSYLVANIA

16" Floor, Strawberry

Square

Harrisburg, PA 17120

(717) 787-3391

LAWRENCE E. LONG

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

SOUTH DAKOTA

500 East Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501-5070

(605) 773-3215

WILLIAM H. SORRELL

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

VERMONT

109 State Street

Montpelier, V T 05609-

1001

(802) 828-3173

PEG LAUTENSCHLAGER

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

WISCONSIN

P.O. Box 7857

Madison, WI 53707-7857

(608) 266-1221

HENRY MCMASTER

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

SOUTH CAROLINA

P.O. Box 11549

Columbia, SC 29211-1549

(803) 734-3970

PAUL G. SUMMERS

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

TENNESSEE

P.O. Box 20207

Nashville, TN 37202-0207

(615) 741-3491

DARRELL V. MCGRAW, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

WEST VIRGINIA

1900 Kanawha Blvd., East

Room 26E

Charleston, WV 25305

(304) 558-2021

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether companies that provide Internet-based file-sharing

services designed to enable users to exchange copyrighted

material for free and without permission from the copyright

owners are liable for the copyright infringement committed

by their users and upon which the companies’ business

depends.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED. ...........:ccccsscsssseesseseessesssneenees

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..........cccccccccesseseesereeeeseneees

RE IPOD ccsrecvmassesnmentnersnepentntsrensneedbninseiiinncesmnanss

I. THE DIGITAL COPYING PHENOMENON. .......

Il. P2P SOFTWARE UTILIZES THE INTER-

CONNECTION AND RAPID TRANSMISSION

PROVIDED BY THE INTERNET TO CREATE

LARGE LIBRARIES OF FILES AVAILABLE

FUSES GAEID WEDUED ccccesscoccensesnsvevsqnecctneepensqeonestocnsneness

Ill. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION...............008

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION..............

I. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION POSES A

THREAT TO CONSUMERS, .........::cccccceeseeeeeeeees

Il. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION CREATES

A CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS. ........:ccccceeseees

Ill. FURTHER PERCOLATION IS UNLIKELY TO

BE OF ASSISTANCE TO THIS COURT..............

CORFU GE Aaa e vecoscnceoscevensccccenneabassnctutenaséansvosoesnenemeneeenses

(iii) |

14

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES | Page

ALS Scan, Inc. v. Digital Serv. Consultants, Inc.,

293 F.3d 707 (4th Cir. 2002), cert. denied, 537

CLE TI ie ccectcnidcinsttelsnniiaibeninahintacepeainensitininiaite 16

A&M Records, Inc. v. Napster, inc., 239 F.3d

DODE GOI COE: FE Prctctntitsitesncersvinnediaeniannmiinens 3,7

In re Aimster Copyright Litig., 334 F.3d 643 (7th

Cir. 2003), cert. denied, 124 S. Ct. 1069

Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios, Inc. v. Grokster,

Lid., 259 F. Supp. 2d 1029 (C.D. Cal. 2003),

aff'd, 380 F.3d 1154 (9th Cir. 2004)... cceeees 8, 11

Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios, Inc. v. Grokster

Lid., 380 F.3d 1154 (9th Cir. 2004)... eens 5, 8,9

Recording Indus. Ass'n v. Diamond Multimedia

Sys., Inc., 180 F.3d 1072 (9th Cir. 1999)............. 4

Sony Corp. of Am. v. Universal City Studios, Inc.,

GD EAs Oe FC ei icinsictancnrenionbisathiatatentisnian 15

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

The Dark Side of a Bright Idea: Will Personal

and National Security Risks of P2P Networks

Compromise the Promise of P2P Networks?:

Hearing Before the Senate Comm. on_ the

Judiciary, 108th Cong. (June 17, 2003) (state-

ment of Senator Orrin Hatch) ......................000000s 10

Pornography, Technology, and Process: Prob-

lems and Solutions on Peer-to-Peer Networks:

Hearing before the Senate Comm. on the

Judiciary, 108th Cong. (Sept. 9, 2003) (state-

ment of Marybeth Peters, the Register of Copy-

rights), available at http://www.copyright.gov/

docs/regstat090903 html .............cccccecccseesssreeereees l

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

SCHOLARLY AUTHORITIES

Jesse M. Feder, /s Betamax Obsolete?: Sony

Corp. of America v. Universal City Studios, Inc.

In The Age of Napster, 37 Creighton L. Rev.

Aaron L. Melville, Note, The Future of the Audio

Home Recording Act of 1992: Has it Survived

the Millennium Bug?, 7 B.U. J. Sci. & Tech. L.

2 | REPRO ce EEG 7 a Fy,

Albert Sieber, The Constitutionality of the DMCA

Explored: Universal City Studios, Inc. v. Corley

& United States v. Elcom Ltd., 18 Berkeley

EEG, CR en ee

Tim Wu, When Code Isn't Law, 89 Va. L. Rev.

a citiicieritccaitariiiittninatabinttnninibdatintiiaitaiiaea

OTHER AUTHORITIES

CR _ Investigates: Protect Yourself Online,

Consumer Reports, Sept. 2004 ..0..........::ccccccceeeees

amazon.com (last visited Nov. 8, 2004), af

http://WWW.aMAZON.COM............cescecseeseesseseeeeeeees

Business Software Alliance, Piracy and the Law,

available at http://www.bsa.org/usa/antipiracy/

Piracy-and-the-Law.cfm (last visited Nov. 8,

CinemaNow (last visited Nov. 8, 2004), af

http://WWW.CiINEMANOW.COM ............sceseceeeseeneeeeees

Cydoor: Desktop Media (last visited Nov. 8,

2004), at http://www.cydoor.com. ...........ccceeees

Simon Dyson, Informa Media Group Report,

Music on the Internet (4th ed. 2003)..............00000

FTC, FTC Cracks Down on Spyware Operation

(Oct. 12, 2004), available at http://www.ftc.

gov/opa/2004/10/spy ware. htm. ............c.ccccccceeeeees

Page

5, 12, 13

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Lev Grossman, /t's All Free, Time, May 5, 2003 ...

iPod+iTunes (last visited Nov. 8, 2004), af

http://www. apple.cOm/itunes ............cccceeeeeeeeeees

Patrick L. Kenney, The Napster Battle: Applying

Copyright Laws in the Era of the Internet and

Digital Music, e-Commerce L. & Strategy, June

TED ccutcosenenieniantseniennicsaipinimiipemnepeiainessiadiasiaiiadinaiaie

msn music (last visited Nov. 8, 2004), at

http://WWW.MUSIC.MSN.COM .........ceccceereeeeeeeeeeeeeees

Nat’! Conference of State Legislatures, 2004 State

Legislature Relating to Internet Spyware or

Adware, at http://www.ncsl.org/programs/lis/

spyware04.htm (last updated Oct. 19, 2004).......

Deputy Assistant Attorney General John G.

Malcolm, Privacy and Intellectual Property—

Legal Issues Related to Peer-to-Peer File

Sharing Over the Internet, Address to the N.Y.

State Bar Ass’n & Int'l Bar Ass'n (Oct. 23,

2003), available at http://www.cybercrime.gov/

Malcolmtestimony 102303 html ............0ccceceeeeeees

State Net, /ssue Trends Spyware, at http://www.

statenet.com/fpdata/issue_trends.htm (last visit-

GD BE Ti Ee ccscrnectninlecbtabivcciiniltipbininaideiicectaiiinaatinines

Chris Taylor, Invasion of the Movie Snatchers;

More and More Movie Fans are Sharing Films

Online, and Hollywood Doesn't Like It. Should

the Studios Find a Way to Adapt?, Time, Oct.

DD SO, OO PB censsiticnivnseciinisthicnevisisasentinlitiiamitinians

Press Release, U.S. Immigration & Customs

Enforcement, Departments of Justice, Home-

land Security Announce Child Pornography

File Sharing Crackdown (May 14, 2004), at

http://www.ice.gov/graphics/news/newsreleases

/articles/porncrackdown.htm...........cccceeseeeeereeeees

Page

12

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE

The Amici States’ and Territories’ Attorneys General are

responsible for enforcing the consumer protection laws and

other public interest statutes within their respective

jurisdictions. Protecting the public and enforcing the law are

affirmative obligations. The Amici seek to identify and

prevent threats from materializing, to cultivate and encourage

a culture of lawfulness, to educate citizens about the legal

standards governing their conduct, and to maintain and

promote the development of a lawful business culture as our

residents and their institutions seek to make the most of

rapidly advancing technological innovation. The issues raised

in this case impact all of these interests.

Even more importantly, peer-to-peer (“P2P”) networks are

increasingly becoming havens for non-copyright-related

criminal activity. Of particular concern to the Amici is the

widespread use of P2P technology to disseminate

pornography, particularly unlawful child pornography, and

the deliberate choice of some P2P networks to disable control

devices that might be effective in tracking and prosecuting

this predatory practice. As part of an ongoing effort to keep

pace with emerging technologies that are being used to

commit, facilitate, and conceal Internet crimes against

children, federal, state, and local law enforcement officials

have joined forces as part of a nationwide initiative to combat

the large volume of child pornography being distributed

through P2P networks. See Press Release, U.S. Immigration

& Customs Enforcement, Departments of Justice, Homeland

Security Announce Child Pornography File Sharing

Crackdown (May 14, 2004), at http://www.ice.gov/graphics/

news/newsreleases/a. :cles/porncrackdown.htm. This effort is

undermined and its success will be obstructed by a legal

standard that permits companies, who facilitate not only the

conduct but also the anonymity of perpetrators, to escape any

responsibility for their role in these crimes.

2

The widespread use of P2P technology for illegal purposes

presents a number of unique threats to the citizens of the

States and Territories. Respondents’ P2P services are

overwhelmingly used to locate and duplicate copyrighted

works (such as songs, movies, print and audio books, audio

newspapers and periodicals, and computer software) for free

and without the permission of the copyright owners. The

massive scope of this infringement victimizes artists, writers,

production companies, distributors, theaters, and stores that

lawfully do business in Amici’s States and Territories and,

inevitably, the consumers who do business with them. This

infringement also creates a threat to the users of file-sharing

services (many of whom are minors) who do not yet fully

appreciate the unlawfa nature of their conduct, the legal risks

they are undertaking, and the personal risks they are running

and to which they are exposing their families. Further, the

Amici are concerned that their citizens may be subjecting

themselves to unwanted invasions of privacy and may be

unwittingly falling victims to identity theft due to their use of

P2P services. Many P2P services (including Respondent

Grokster) include hidden “spyware” with their software that is

designed secretly to monitor and report on the user’s

computer activities. Moreover, Amici have found that P2P

services are rife with criminal schemes, such as instructions

on how to pilfer financial accounting data from computer

users and otherwise engage in electronic identity theft. The

Ninth Circuit’s decision allows these problematic practices to

continue on Respondents’ services and on any other P2P

network which does business from within that circuit with

risk of liability to users.

The “mind-boggling”' level of copyright infringement

facilitated by Respondent's services also causes direct injury

' Pornography, Technology, and Process: Problems and Solutions on

Peer-to-Peer Networks: Hearing Before the Senate Comm. on the

Judiciary, 108th Cong. (Sept. 9, 2003) (statement of Marybeth Peters, The

3

to the States and Territories themselves. Any time legitimate

commerce such as that associated with the distribution and

sale of copyrighted works is submerged into the black market,

the community inevitably suffers a direct loss of the jobs,

business investment, and sales tax revenue that would

otherwise be generated by the affected industry. In this case,

the Respondents’ software (and similar P2P services that also

follow an infringement-driven business model) have caused

billions of dollars in lost sales. See, e.g., Simon Dyson,

Informa Media Group Report, Music on the Internet 25 (4th

ed. 2003). Theft and redistribution on such a grand scale

imposes broad economic harm with far reaching

consequences.

As the foregoing discussion suggests, the threats to the

citizens of Amici’s States and Territories posed by the Ninth

Circuit’s decision directly implicate the Amicis’ interests in

enforcing the law, protecting consumers, promoting a law-

abiding culture, educating citizens about legal standards, and

promoting lawful innovation. The decision creates a conflict

among the federal circuits regarding the legal standards

governing P2P technology and effectively establishes a safe

harbor for those who would utilize P2P technology for illegal

purposes. Amici need a clear and uniform legal standard that

protects the welfare of their citizens.

BACKGROUND

The Ninth Circuit’s decision is the latest attempt to grapple

with the widespread copyright infringement occurring on P2P

networks. See /n re Aimster Copyright Litig., 334 F.3d 643

(7th Cir. 2003), cert. denied, 124 S. Ct. 1069 (2004); A&M

Records, Inc. v. Napster, Inc., 239 F.3d 1004 (9th Cir. 2001).

These networks (whether they are utilized for lawful or

unlawful purposes) build on two technical innovations of the

Register of Copyrights), available at http://www.copyright.gov/docs/

regstat090903.html (Pet. App. 65a-66a).

4

digital age: the ability easily and repeatedly to duplicate

digital files without data degradation, and the interconnection

and rapid transmission capability offered by the Internet.

I. THE DIGITAL COPYING PHENOMENON.

One significant advantage of digital technology is its ability

to make perfect-quality copies of existing data files.’ For

some time, various technologies have offered the capability of

storing and copying data (including songs, pictures, movies,

computer software and typewritten documents) in electronic

format. However, these previous technologies su‘fer from the

drawback of data degradation. In particular, when a data file

stored using older technologies is copied, some data are

inevitably lost and the copy is therefore of lesser quality than

the original. As this duplication process is repeated, copies

made from already-degraded copies become undesirable or

unusable. In contrast, digital files can be repeatedly copied

(and copies made from the copies) with little or no loss in

quality. See Aaron L. Melville, Note, The Future of the

Audio Home Recording Act of 1992: Has it Survived the

Millennium Bug?, 7 B.U. J. Sci. & Tech. L. 372, 376-79

(2001). Thus, a computer program, song or movie stored in

digital format can be copied literally millions of times, and

each of those copies can be re-copied through multiple

generations with each copy enjoying the same perfect quality

as the original. Moreover, this copying process can be

accomplished relatively quickly and inexpensively using

hardware that is commonly incorporated into personal

computers (“PCs”). See id. at 382.

? See Recording Indus. Ass'n v. Diamond Multimedia Sys., Inc., \80

F.3d 1072, 1073 (9th Cir. 1999); Albert Sieber, The Constitutionality of

the DMCA Explored: Universal City Studios, Inc. v. Corley & United

States v. Elcom Lid, 18 Berkeley Tech. L.J. 7, 14 (2003); Patrick L.

Kenney, The Napster Battle: Applying Copyright Laws in the Era of the

Internet and Digital Music, e-Commerce L. & Strategy, Jun. 2000, at 6.

5

Of course, to make a copy of a digital file the user needs

access to a high-quality original version. This can be

accomplished by obtaining a physical data storage device

such as a compact disk (“CD”) or Digital Video Disk

(“DVD”) that contains a copy of the relevant data file.

However, the process of locating and copying a particular file

can also be accomplished by transmitting the digital data from

one computer to another through the Internet. See Tim Wu,

When Code Isn't Law, 89 Va. L. Rev. 679, 716-18 (2003).

il. P2P SOFTWARE UTILIZES THE INTER-

CONNECTION AND RAPID TRANSMISSION

PROVIDED BY THE INTERNET TO CREATE

LARGE LIBRARIES OF FILES AVAILABLE FOR

COPYING.

Typically, a person obtains information from the Internet

by using a computer to retrieve data from a Web page hosted

by another computer connected to the Internet. In this

scenario, the person seeking information is the “client” and

the computer that hosts the Web page is the “server.” The

client makes a request for access to digital files such as news

pages, weather reports, or audio files, and the server fulfills

the request by sending the relevant information to the client's

computer. See Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios, Inc. v.

Grokster Lid, 380 F.3d 1154, 1158 (9th Cir. 2004)

(“Grokster IT’); see also Jesse M. Feder, /s Betamax

Obsolete?: Sony Corp. of America v. Universal City Studios,

Inc. In The Age of Napster, 37 Creighton L. Rev. 859, 863

(2004). For example, a consumer who is seeking to purchase

a copy of a copyrighted book, photograph, or song from a

legitimate online retailer will use a computer to search for the

desired file, will exchange payment data with the retailer's

Web page, and will receive a “downloaded” copy of the

digital audio file from the retailer's server.’

* There are a number of legitimate Internet vendors that offer various

types of copyrighted works for sale via download to the client's PC. See,

6

P2P exchanges operate somewhat differently. In contrast to

the typical client-and-server system discussed above, the

information contained in a P2P network does not reside on a

centralized server on the Internet fat rather exists on

networked PCs that simultaneously may be acting both as

clients and servers. Users download the P2P software

program onto their PC. On a P2P network, the person or

company who has created P2P software offers the software

for download from a Web site or other sources. Both

Grokster and StreamCast offer the software for their networks

free of charge." The software allows these users (the “peers”

in a peer-to-peer system) to access the computers of everyone

else who has installed that particular P2P software. The

purpose of networking the peers’ computers in this manner is

to allow the peers to search each others’ computers and copy

the data files stored therein. The P2P software both provides

the necessary search capability and it permits the transfer of

files between users. In other words, a P2P user may both

request and provide copies of digital files from other users on

the network.

To facilitate the file-searching function of these wide-

ranging networks, all P2P software has an indexing

component, which represents the list of files available on the

e.g., http://www.music.msn.com (music); http://www.apple.com/ itunes

(music, audiobooks, foreign language lessons and recorded public radio

programs), http://‘www.amazon.com (print and audio books, audio

periodicals such as Forbes and Scientific American , audio newspapers

such as The New York Times, music, recorded radio programs, and

computer software); http://www.cinemanow.com (movies).

* Their business model is based on advertising revenues which increase

in proportion to the amount of user traffic on their networks. Users are

attracted to Grokster and Streamcast by the possibility of free downloads

of copyrighted material. To implement this business model, Grokster and

Streamcast usually bundle intrusive adware or spyware with the free

versions of P2P software they give out to users. This adware or spyware

is automatically installed without the user’s effective consent or

know ledge.

>

network for copying at any given time. The creators of the

P2P software may choose to have this index centralized or

decentralized, although that choice has little practical impact

on the function or use of the network. The first and perhaps

most notorious P2P network, Napster, utilized a centralized

indexing system whereby the files available for copying (e.g.

copyrighted digital music files) remained on the users’ PCs,

but a centralized server maintained an index of the available

files. When users entered search requests, Napster’s server

compared the requests with the file names listed in the

centralized index and transmitted the search results to the

requesting user along with the locations of the matching files

in the form of Internet Protocol (“IP”)_addresses.° The

requesting user then communicated directly with the “host”

user to arrange for the transfer of files from one PC to another

over the Internet.®

Next-generation P2P companies such as Grokster and

StreamCast developed a modified structure for their P2P

services specifically to avoid secondary liability for the

copyright infringement imposed on Napster. They have

decentralized the indexing feature of their software. Instead

of a centralized index, every person using StreamCast’s

software maintains a list of digital files that he or she is

willing to share. The software enables each search request to

be broadcast to every computer on the StreamCast network

and routes the results to the requestor.’ Thus Grokster and

* An IP address is a string of numbers that uniquely identifies each

computer connected to the Internet.

° The Ninth Circuit relied, in part, on this central indexing feature when

it held Napster vicariously liable for the infringement of its users. A&M

Records, Inc. v. Napster, Inc., 239 F.3d 1004, 1027 (9th Cir. 2001).

’ Grokster’s software is designed somewhat differently. Rather than

every computer maintaining its own index of files available for copying,

certain PCs on the network associated with Grokster’s software are

designated as indexing servers and requests for files are routed through

StreamCast have designed their software to shift the indexing

function to the infringing users themselves. The Ninth Circuit

has concluded that this technological slight of hand warranted

a different legal standard applicable to vicarious copyright

infringement. See Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios, Inc. v.

Grokster, Lid, 259 F. Supp. 2d 1029, 1045-46 (C.D. Cal.

2003) (“Grokster I), aff'd, 380 F.3d 1154 (9th Cir. 2004).

il. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION.

In 2001, a number of motion picture and recording industry

entities (the “copyright plaintiffs”) sued Grokster and

StreamCast in federal district court in California for copyright

infringement based on the contributory and vicarious

infringement theories of secondary liability. The district

court granted summary judgment in respondents’ favor.

Grokster 1, 259 F. Supp. 2d at 1045-46. The court of appeals

affirmed, concluding that respondents did not have the

requisite level of knowledge to be held contributorily liable

because the software at issue was capable of substantial

noninfringing uses. Grokster IJ, 380 F.3d at 1161-63. The

court further found that respondents did not materially

contribute to the infringement of their software users because

Grokster and StreamCast neither provided storage for

infringing data files nor maintained indices of copyrighted

materials available for dissemination. /d at 1163-64. The

court of appeals rejected the copyright plaintiffs’ claim of

vicarious infringement because it concluded that neither

software provider possessed the right and at ility to supervise

and control the behavior of its users. /d. at 1165. In so doing,

the Ninth Circuit expressly rejected the copyright plaintiffs’

claim that respondents should be held liadle because they

refused to adopt simple modifications that would permit them

to monitor the behavior of their users. The court of appeals

dismissed the argument that Grokster and StreamCast should

not be able to escape vicarious liability by simply turning a

““blind eye’” to the copyright infringement of their users

while simultaneously encouraging and relying on that activity

9

in order to be profitable. /d at 1166. As the Ninth Circuit

explicitly recognized, its opinion is in conflict with the

analysis of these issues articulated by the Seventh Circuit in

In re Aimster Copyright Litig., 334 F.3d 643 (7th Cir. 2003).

See Grokster 11, 380 F.3d at 1162 n. 9.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Court should grant certiorari in this case to remedy the

conflict between the Ninth and the Seventh Circuits and to

resolve the confusion regarding the legal standards that

govern secondary copyright liability in the context of P2P

networks. The public, copyright holders, and law

enforcement officers such as the Amici have an urgent need

for uniform rules to be applied to this activity. In particular,

the Amici need such clarity to fulfill their law enforcement

duties and to protect consumers. Accordingly, irrespective of

what principles the Court ultimately applies in the P2P

context, the announcement of those principles should not be

delayed.

I. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION POSES A

THREAT TO CONSUMERS.

Ordinarily, the societal effects of any particular copyright

infringement case are not so severe as to merit significant

consideration in the decision whether to grant certiorari. But

this is not the typical case. The illegal activity occurring on

respondents’ networks poses a number of real and immediate

threats to consumers and the economic welfare of the states

First, the people who use respondents’ P2P services and

their families are increasingly (and perhaps unwittingly) at

risk. For example, when P2P users install file-sharing

sofiware on their PCs, they can expose themselves and their

children to massive amounts of unwanted pornographic

material, including child pornography available on these

10

services.® P2P users are often ill-equipped to respond to this

onslaught, given that 41 percent of those who download files

on P2P networks are between the ages of twelve and

eighteen.” Sexual predators often seek to surprise or lure

young viewers by giving files containing offensive material

names that are innocuous or even attractive to young users

(such as “Britney Spears” or “Pokemon”). Some predators

choose to distribute pornographic images on P2P networks

because law enforcement officials have infiltrated many

Internet chat rooms where child exploitation occurs, and the

encryption features associated with P2P software can shield

the identity of the originator of offending files. By affording

predators the cover of anonymity, encryption features

incorporated into P2P software impede law enforcement

efforts to identify and prosecute those who victimize children.

Respondents’ efforts to disable their ability to police user

conduct increases the threat posed by child exploitation on

P2P networks. Simply put, other P2P services will mimic

respondents’ successful behavior—ensuring that they (and

Amici) know as little as possible about any unlawful behavior

on their networks so that they cannot be held secondarily

liable for that behavior. The Ninth Circuit’s decision

therefore puts our children at increased risk and thus presents

a question of urgent national significance in need of further

review by this Court.

Second, the fact that the Ninth Circuit’s decision allows

respondents and others to continue an infringement-based

* Deputy Assistant Attorney General John G. Malcolm, Privacy and

Intellectual Property— Legal Issues Related to Peer-to-Peer File Sharing

Over the Internet, Address to the N.Y. State Bar Ass'n & Int’! Bar Ass’n

(Oct. 23, 2003), available at http://www.cybercrime.gov/Malcolm

testimony 102303.htm.

* The Dark Side of a Bright Idea: Will Personal and National Security

Risks of P2P Networks Compromise the Promise of P2P Networks’,

Hearing Before the Senate Comm. on the Judiciary, 108th Cong. (Jun. 17,

2003) (statement of Senator Orrin Hatch).

ee ~

business model both places consumers’ privacy at risk and

frustrates the policy judgments of a number of States. Unlike

legitimate retailers, respondents do not make their money

from sales of copyrighted products to end users. Rather,

respondents’ businesses are driven by the volume of traffic on

their networks. See Grokster 1, 259 F.Supp. 2d at 1044. To

make money, respondents sell advertising to third parties.

The more users that are attracted by the prospect of free

downloads of copyrighted works, the more respondents can

charge their advertising clients.

To make this business model work, free versions of P2P

software are almost always bundled with intrusive spyware,

which is automatically installed on the users’ computers

without their effective knowledge or consent. Spyware, a

form of adware, monitors a user’s Web browsing activities

and causes targeted advertising to appear on a_ user’s

computer screen." Some sophisticated spyware is even

capable of logging keystrokes to record personal information,

such as online account passwords, which can lead to identity

theft. Spyware consumes hard drive space, slows users’

Internet connections and is responsible for a large percentage

computer crashes. CR Investigates: Protect Yourself Online,

Consumer Reports, Sep. 2004, at 12. A number of States

have made efforts to curb the dissemination of spyware. See

Nat’! Conference of State Legislatures, 2004 State Legislature

Relating to Internet Spyware or Adware, at http://www.ncsl.

org/programs/lis/spyware04.htm (last updated Oct. 19, 2004)

(detailing State efforts); State Net, /ssue Trends: Spyware, at

http://www.statenet.com/fpdata/issue_trends.htm (iast visited

Nov. 8, 2004) (same); see also FTC, FTC Cracks Down on

Spyware Operation (Oct. 12, 2004), available at http://www.

The spyware Cydoor is bundled with Grokster’s free software.

Cydoor displays pop-up advertisements and communicates information to

advertisers about users’ Web activity. See CR Investigates: Protect

Yourself Online, Consumer Reports, Sep. 2004, at 12; http://www.cydoor.

com.

12

ftc.gov/opa/2004/10/spyware.htm (discussing federal efforts

to combat spyware). The Ninth Circuit’s decision stands as a

potential roadblock to the effective implementation of the

States’ and Territories’ policy decisions, since respondents’

services operate from the Ninth Circuit but are available to

the citizens of every State on the Internet.

Third, the scope of the unlawful conduct facilitated by

respondents’ activities is staggering. Each and every day

more than 85 million copyrighted songs are illegally

downloaded from P2P networks. See Lev Grossman, /t’'s Al/

Free, Time, May 5, 2003 (more than 2.6 billion songs

illegally copied each month). That is the rough equivalent of

two hundred million CDs being stolen every month. See Wu,

supra, at 710. This is crime of unprecedented proportions,

and music is just one type of copyrighted work that is

illegally distributed on respondents’ networks.

The widespread copyright infringement on which

respondents’ business is based has real-world costs for

- American consumers and the community. In this case, the

scope of the lost commerce cannot be overstated. As a result

of that injury to lawful trade, the Amici’s States and

Territories are losing jobs, sales tax revenue, and legitimate

business investment on a significant scale. See Business

Software Alliance, Piracy and the Law, available at http://

www.bsa.org/usa/antipiracy/Piracy-and-the-Law.cfm (last

visited Nov. 8, 2004) (noting lost jobs, wages and tax revenue

due to pirated software); Chris Taylor, /nvasion of the Movie

Snatchers; More and More Movie Fans are Sharing Films

Online, and Hollywood Doesn't Like It. Should the Studios

Find a Way to Adapt?, Time, Oct. 11, 2004, at A2 (noting

that illegal downloads threaten the livelihoods of a wide

variety of artists).

These losses are not limited to brick-and-mortar businesses.

The illegal duplication of copyrighted works on P2P networks

threatens the ongoing development of legitimate innovations

in online retailing. As noted above, a number of businesses

oe ee ere nem ee ee ee

13

have launched Internet Web sites that sell authorized

downloads of songs, movies, books, computer software and

other copyrighted works. See supra at note 3. The threat of

secondary copyright liability persuaded Napster to convert to

a business based on authorized sales. See supra at 9. But the

viability and success of these innovative online businesses is

diminished by the fact that all of the copyrighted materials

they sell can be easily and quickly obtained on respondents’

P2P networks for free. By establishing standards that

immunize respondents from secondary liability, the Ninth

Circuit’s decision imperils the trend to lawful online

commerce in copyrighted works.

Moreover, the harms associated with the Ninth Circuit's

decision extend beyond just the economic aspects of

infringement. As courts and commentators have noted, many

P2P users are genuinely confused about the legal standards

that govern the duplication of copyrighted works on P2P

networks. See Wu, supra, at 722-26 (discussing several

studies which have shown that “those who use filesharing

networks do not think they are stealing”). While such

copying is clearly unlawful, many of the users of these

systems (nearly half of whom are minors) are unaware or

uncertain of this fact. See id And P2P services exploit this

ambiguity to the fullest extent. See id. at 724 (“The design of

P2P networks... tak[es] full advantage of an _ existing

ambiguity as to whether home, non-commercial copying is

‘wrong.’”). As a result, the operators of P2P systems are able

to entice users with the prospect of free songs and movies,

and (as noted below) expose those users to both legal and

safety risks. The Ninth Circuit’s decision exacerbates this

problem by immunizing respondents from liability for

operating and profiting from an infringement-driven business,

yet leaves the individual consumer fully exposed to the legal

and practical consequences (which the consumer may not

fully appreciate) of illegal P2P use.

14

The Ninth Circuit's decision provides an incentive for

technological innovation to develop in a manner that foments

lawlessness and puts the public at risk. At a minimum, the

Ninth Circuit’s decision must be read as stating that the fact

that respondents affirmatively chose to eliminate or disable

tools for detecting and discouraging illegal activity is

irrelevant to the secondary-liability analysis. See Pet. App.

13a, 43a n.7. At worst, the Ninth Circuit’s decision provides

a perverse incentive for P2P businesses to take steps to

minimize their ability to control unlawful conduct on their

networks, so that the P2P provider can claim ignorance of its

users’ intringement while profiting from the infringing traffic.

See id.

Il. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION CREATES A

CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS.

This Court has historically granted certiorari in copyright

cases presenting issues of urgent importance regardless of

whether the state and lower federal courts had diverged on the

issues in question. See, e.g., Brief of Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari at 10, New York Times Co. v. Tasini, 533 U.S, 483

(2001) (No. 00-201) (asserting review in copyright cases is

granted “even absent a direct circuit conflict”) (citing

Campbell v. Acuff-Rose Music, Inc., 510 U.S. 569 (1994);

Feist Publ’ns, Inc. vy. Rural Tel. Serv. Co., 499 U.S. 340

(1991); Harper & Row Publishers, Inc. v. Nation Enters., 471

U.S. 539 (1985); Mills Music, Inc. v. Snyder, 469 U.S. 153

(1985); Sony Corp. of Am. v. Universal City Studios, Inc., 464

U.S. 417 (1984)). For the aforementioned reasons, this case

would meet that standard. However, this Court’s immediate

review is even more critical because, as Petitioners have well

documented (Pet. at 24-29), the Ninth Circuit’s decision

conflicts with the law of the Seventh Circuit in several critical

respects."

''As the Seventh Circuit's well-reasoned opinion in Aimster

demonstrates, the Ninth Circuit’s decision also conflicts with this Court's

15

In Aimster, the Seventh Circuit upheld a preliminary

injunction effectively shutting down Aimster’s P2P file-

sharing service. Aimster’s software was designed to prevent

the company from knowing what specific files were being

copied and shared among its users. See 334 F.3d at 646-47.

The Seventh Circuit concluded that “the ability of a service

provider to prevent its customers from infringing is a factor to

be considered in determining whether the provider is a

contributory infringer.” /d. at 648. The Aimster court also

concluded that “[w]illful blindness” satisfied the knowledge

requirement for contributory infringement. /d. at 650. The

court stated that a file-sharing service does not shield itself

from liability for contributory infringement by using

encryption technology to prevent itself from obtaining actual

knowledge that its service is being used for unlawful

purposes. /d. at 650-51. Further, in analyzing the

noninfringing use defense, the court held that the burden is on

the product or service provider to establish that its product or

service not only is capable of noninfringing uses, but is

actually used for noninfringing purposes. /d at 653.

Moreover, the court held that even if there are noninfringing -

uses for a file-sharing network, if the infringing uses are

substantial, then to escape liability the service provider must

demonstrate that the burden of eliminating or reducing the

infringing uses would have been disproportionately costly.

Id.

These points are in direct conflict with the Ninth Circuit’s

decision in this case. First, where the Ninth Circuit requires

only that a product or service be capable of noninfringing

uses, the Seventh Circuit obliges P2P providers to

demonstrate that its product or service is actually used for

noninfringing purposes. Second, unlike the Ninth Circuit, the

holding in Sony Corp. of America v. Universal City Studios, Inc., 464 U.S.

417 (1984). See Aimster, 334 F.3d at 647-51 Petitioners have effectively

described the Ninth Circuit’s misapplication of Sony, see Pet. at 15-24,

and Amici will therefore not repeat those points here.

16

Seventh Circuit held that P2P providers could not design their

software so as to avoid knowledge that their product is being

used to facilitate copyright infringement; rather, the court

concluded that, regardless of whether a product or service is

used for noninfringing purposes, the ability of a provider to

limit or prevent the infringement of its users is relevant to the

liability analysis.

These are fundamental uifferences between the circuits on

an issue of vital importance. It simply is impossible to

believe that the same court that shut down Aimster would

have- condoned the actions of Grokster and StreamCast.

Because the copyright laws inherently require uniform rules

and because this Court long has recognized that liability

should not be affected by the fortuity of geography, certiorari

should be granted to review the Ninth Circuit’s holding.

Ill. FURTHER PERCOLATION IS UNLIKELY TO BE

OF ASSISTANCE TO THIS COURT.

Awaiting further development of these issues in the lower

federal courts is not likely to be of material assistance to this

Court. The Ninth Circuit’s decision creates a zone of safety

for those who would build infringement-based P2P

businesses. Respondents and others can now base their P2P

operations within the Ninth Circuit, distribute P2P software

that enables Internet-based copyright infringement, and then

sell advertising based upon the high volume of infringing

traffic. Because the Internet allows nationwide distribution of

P2P software from computers based in the Ninth Circuit, any

future challenges to such conduct in other circuits is likely to

result in litigation over the jurisdictional aspects of engaging

in Internet activity that one circuit has held legal, but which

has effects in other circuits. See, e.g, ALS Scan, Inc. v.

Digital Serv. Consultants, Inc., 293 F.3d 707, 713 (4th Cir.

2002) (discussing the challenges of evaluating personal

jurisdiction over Internet-based entities and adopting a test to

determine whether a State can assert jurisdiction based on the

17

extent of interaction with the defendant’s Web site), cert

denied, 537 U.S. 1105 (2003).

To be sure, copyright holders will attempt to litigate these

issues in jurisdictions other than the Ninth Circuit, but there

will be significant resources wasted on litigating jurisdictional

issues, which would be unnecessary if this Court were to

review the holding below and resolve the split in the circuits.

It is quite possible that courts outside of the Ninth Circuit will

transfer all such challenges to that jurisdiction. In any event,

the Court cannot be certain that additional judicial scrutiny of

these important issues will be quick in coming or that future

cases will present an equally clean vehicle for review. And at

a minimum, the Court has the benefit of two fundamentally

different approaches to the issues presented and these are a

more than adequate platform for evaluating the social and

legal issues that should inform the Court’s disposition of this

case.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, and those set forth in the Petition

for Certiorari, Amici respectfully ask this Court to grant the

petition for a writ of certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

MARK SHURTLEFF* Roy COOPER

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF UTAH ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

PO Box 142320 NORTH CAROLINA

Salt Lake City, Utah 9001 Mail Service Center

84114-2320 Raleigh, NC 27699-9001

(801) 366-0300 (919) 716-6400

JERRY KILGORE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

VIRGINIA

900 E. Main Street

Richmond, VA 23219

(804) 786-2071

GREG ABBOTT

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

TEXAS

P.O. Box 12548

Austin, TX 78711-2548

(512) 463-2100

TROY KING

ATTORNEY GENERAL

OF ALABAMA

Alabama State House

11 South Union Street

Montgomery, AL 36130

(334) 242-7300

TERRY GODDARD

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

ARIZONA

1275 West Washington Street

Phoenix, AZ 85007-2926

(602) 542-5025

PATRICK C. LYNCH

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

RHODE ISLAND

150 S. Main Street

Providence, RI 02903 a

(401) 274-4400

Jim Hoop

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

MISSISSIPPI

Department of Justice

P.O. Box 220 ie

Jackson, MS 39205-0220

(601) 359-3680

GREGG D. RENKES

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

ALASKA

P.O. Box 110300

Juneau, AK 99811-0300

(907) 465-2133

MIKE BEEBE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

ARKANSAS |

323 Center Street, Suite 200

Little Rock, AR 72201

(501) 682-2007

KEN SALAZAR

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

COLORADO

1525 Sherman Street

7" Floor

Denver, CO 80203

(303) 866-3557

CHARLES J. CRIST, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

FLORIDA

The Capitol PL-01

Tallahassee, FL 32399-1050

(850) 414-3300

DOUGLAS B. MOYLAN

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

GUAM

Guam Judicial Center

120 W. O’Brien Drive

Suite 2-200E

Hagatna, GU 96910-5174

(617) 475-3324

_ LAWRENCE G. WASDEN

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

IDAHO

700 W. Jefferson Street

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0010

(208) 334-2400

M. JANE BRADY

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

DELAWARE

Carvel State Office Building

820 N. French St.

Wilmington, DE 19801

(302) 577-8400

THURBERT E. BAKER

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

GEORGIA

40 Capitol Square, SW

Atlanta, GA 30334-1300

(404) 656-3300

MARK J. BENNETT

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

HAWAII

425 Queen Street

Honolulu, HI 9586-1500

(808) 586-1500

LISA MADIGAN

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

ILLINOIS

James R. Thompson Center

100 W. Randolph Street

Chicago, IL 60601

(312) 814-3000

STEVE CARTER

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

INDIANA

IGCS — Fifth Floor

302 W. Washington Street

Indianapolis, IN 46204

(317) 232-6201

GREGORY D. STUMBO

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

KENTUCKY

State Capitol, Suite 118

Frankfort, KY 40601

(502) 696-5300

THOMAS F. REILLY

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

MASSACHUSETTS

One Ashburton Place

Boston, MA 02108

(617) 727-2200

JEREMIAH W. (JAY) NIXON

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

MISSOURI

Supreme Court Building

207 West High Street

P.O. Box 899

Jefferson City, MO 65102

(573) 751-3321

PHILL KLINE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

KANSAS

120 SW 10" Ave. 2™ Floor

Topeka, KS 66612-1597

(785) 296-2215

CHARLES C. Fori, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

LOUISIANA

P.O. Box 94005

Baton, Rouge, LA 70804

(225) 326-6000

MICHAEL A. Cox

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

MICHIGAN

P.O. Box 30212

Lansing, MI 48909

(517) 373-1110

MIKE MCGRATH

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

MONTANA

Justice Building

215 N. Sanders. 3” Street

P.O. Box 201401 Helena, MT

59620-1401

(406) 444-2026

JON BRUNING

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

NEBRASKA

2115 State Capitol

P.O. Box 98920

Lincoln, NE 68509-8920

(402) 471-2682

PETER C. HARVEY

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

NEW JERSEY

R.J. Hughes Justice Complex

25 Market Street

P.O. Box 080

Trenton, NJ 08625

(609) 292-4925

WAYNE STENEHJEM

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

NORTH DAKOTA

State Capitol

600 E. Boulevard Avenue

Bismarck, ND 58505-0040

(701) 328-2210

W.A. DREW EDMONDSON

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

OKLAHOMA

2300 N. Lincoln Boulevard

Suite 112

Oklahoma City, OK 73105-

4894

(405) 521-3921

BRIAN SANDOVAL

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

NEVADA

100 N. Carson Street

Carson City, NV 89701

(775) 684-1100

PATRICIA A. MADRID

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

New MEXxiIco

P.O. Drawer 1508

Santa Fe, NM 87504-1508

(505) 827-6000

JiM PETRO

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

OHIO

30 E. Broad St., 17" Floor-

Columbus, OH 43215

(614) 466-8980

HARDY MYERS

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

OREGON

1162 Court Street, N.E.

Salem, OR 97301

(503) 378-4400

GERALD J. PAPPERT

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

PENNSYLVANIA

16" Floor, Strawberry Square

Harrisburg, PA 17120

(717) 787-3391

LAWRENCE E. LONG

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

SOUTH DAKOTA

500 East Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501-5070

(605) 773-3215

WILLIAM H. SORRELL

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

VERMONT

109 State Street

Montpelier, VT 05609-1001

(802) 828-3173

PEG LAUTENSCHLAGER

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

WISCONSIN

P.O. Box 7857

Madison, WI 53707-7857

(608) 266-1221

HENRY MCMASTER

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

SOUTH CAROLINA

P.O. Box 11549

Columbia, SC 29211-1549

(803) 734-3970

PAUL G. SUMMERS

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

TENNESSEE

P.O. Box 20207

Nashville, TN 37202-0207

(615) 741-3491

DARRELL V. MCGRAW, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

WEST VIRGINIA

1900 Kanawha Blvd., East

Room 26E

Charleston, WV 25305

(304) 558-2021

Counsel for Amici Curiae

November 8, 2004

* Counsel of Record

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.