Amicus Curiae Brief — Rancho Palos Verdes v. Abrams

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

, (— SapremeCout US

/5 FILED |

No. 03-1601

OFFICEOFTHECLERK |

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

CITY OF RANCHO PALOS VERDES, et ai.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

MARK J. ABRAMS,

Respondent.

On WrRirt OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

Court OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BrikeF OF JAMEs A. Kay, JR. As

AMICUS CURIAE IN SuPPORT OF RESPONDENT

407 North Harbor Boulevard

San Pedro, CA 90731

(310) 548-0410

Rosert J. KELLER Barry RICHARD

Law OFFICES OF Counsel of Record

Rosert J. Kevver, P.C. GREENBERG TRAURIG, P.A.

P.O. Box 33428 101 East College Avenue

Farragut Station Tallahassee, FL 32302

Washington, D.C. 20033 (850) 222-6891

(202) 223-2100 E.uiot H. SCHERKER

GLENN S. McRosBerts GREENBERG TRAURIG, P.A.

Tom MACIEJEWSKI 1221 Brickell Avenue

TRUTANICH - MICHEL, LLP Miami, FL 33131

Port of Los Angeles Office

Counsel for Amicus Quri®¥Ficg Of

191467

[BEST AVAILABLE COPY /

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Table of Cited Authorities ..................... ii

Table of Appendices ......................... vi

Interest of Amicus Curiae ..................... l

Summary of Argument ....................... 2

Statement of the Facts ........................ 3

UIE 6 6:00 0h6scbdebnneténcaenteee 7

The Telecommunications Act’s Provisions

For Judicial Review Of Local Governmental

Orders Denying Requests For Placement Of

Personal Wireless Service Facilities Cannot

Be Construed To Deny Access To Relief

Under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. ................ 7

A. The Analytical Framework........... 7

B. Extrinsic Sources of Purported

Congressional Intent Have No Place in

Construing an Unambiguous Statute. . . 9

C. The City and the NLC Cannot Demand

That the Court Must Import State Zoning

Law Limitations on Awarding Damages

on Appellate Review into Section

Paar aie ll

PED ns de ccidcdndvuae Scot eee 18

“ a ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES Cited Authorities

7 Page

Cases

Howlett by and through Howlett v. Ross,

Abrams v. City of Rancho Palos Verdes, cake ks whe addoceuace

354 F.3d 1094 (9th Cir.), .

cert. denied, 125 S. Ct. 26 (2004) ............ 7 Kay v. City of Rancho Palos Verdes,

No. CV 02-3922-DSF

Blessing v. Freestone, acem. Cae Wee 1S, DOOR)... cc ccc ccc cccce

EE ck ewdgdaseeeseeseesc 7-8

| ; Kelly v. Robinson,

Crider v. Board of County Comm'rs of ee eg ge wie) Jes aint

County of Boulder,

246 F.3d 1285 (10th Cir.), Landreth Timber Co. v. Landreth,

cert. denied, 534 U.S. 890 (2001) .........45. 16 OTE DD, GRU CITES) «0.000 cnc cecscccceccenss

Eichenlaub v. Township of Indiana, Leatherman v. Tarrant County Narcotics

385 F.3d 274 (3d Cir. 2004) ............0000e 16 Intelligence & Coordination Unit,

og

Engine Mfrs. Ass'n v. South Coast Air

Quality Mgmt. Dist., Owen v. City of Independence, Mo.,

EE secede tcedéaees se vcve 9 SF PED Sec avduncdseccevcessaes

Goodyear Atomic Corp.-v. Miller, Pierce v. Underwood,

ree 16 EE Sia hte deelbduawedewis

Shannon v. United States,

Greenbriar Village L.L.C. v. Mountain Brook, City,

i irda ddbideee obs see eus

345 F.3d 1258 (11th Cir. 2003) .............. 16

United States v. Gonzales,

Harlen Assocs. v. Incorporated Village of Mineola,

ME vnc civececceceneshviees ex

273 F.3d 484 (2d Cir. 2001) ..........--0005. 16

iv

Cited Authorities

Page

Universal Camera Corp. v. National

Labor Relations Bd.,

eee ree 14

Western Air Lines v. Board of Equalization

of South Dakota,

IE i oes xceneyeenced ones 10-11

Yates v. United States,

EE 6s canneéneaeseeeeed ees 15, 16

Statutes

Ram, Came § CECT GD a icin cde vedcvvedsecscse’ 11

Cit: GI SE 6 vce vsveedwe ees cvenea ll

Dev. Cope ANN. Tit. 10, § 4011(b)(2) ... sete eens 12

ee Et PPPOE ETTTTIT TTT iT cee 12

S.C. Cope Ann. § 15-78-60(1)-(2) ..........00.. 12

TENN. Cope ANN. § 29-20-201 ...........0.085- 12

Lk Tee rr rerrrry erry Ty rc rr er: 14

fh EG | =e TTVETET TTT tree passim

4 le | errr err rrr rr re Tyr 2,8

Vv

Cited Authorities

Page

Pe ee STD ov kc 60d deb dcaccxededecs passim

G7 UDG. GOSRIMIMAD «nc cccccccccccsvcce 7

47 UBC. § SSAC NT MBM) ow. ww ccc ccccccces passim

BF UBC. © SSRI) «ono cceccccccccces passim

Rules

8 Te ee erm anne anaes l

Pe ee EE waivuabevewecuuckeuuucx 13

Other Authorities

H.R. Conr. Rep. No. 458, 104TH Cona., 2p Sess.

EEE, Co sveke Gey slush hia iocake, 10 |

vi

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Page

Appendix A — Opinion And Order Of The United

States District Court For The Central District Of

California Dated July 12, 2004 And Filed July 13,

SE nc onc vbebiekonedn ss cube ey beatus ses la

Appendix B — Excerpts From City Of Rancho Palos

Verdes Planning Commission Meetings ....... 54a

l

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE'

Mr. Kay has been a Federal Communications

Commission licensed provider of business and commercial

mobile radio services since 1973. His business specializes

in the installation, maintenance, design, operation and sales

of air time for two-way radio communication systems in

California. He has had vast experience in dealing with local

governments and their zoning codes in the siting and

construction of radio antennas.

As noted in petitioner’s brief, Mr. Kay has challenged a

resolution of petitioner City of Ranchos Palos Verdes (the

City), which resolution denied him a permit to operate

commercially on a pre-existing, approved amateur antenna

structure, just as the City denied respondent Abrams a similar

permit. Brief of Petitioner at 11 n.4. In Kay v. City of Rancho

Palos Verdes, No. CV 02-3922-DSF (C.D. Cal May 15,

2002), the district court ruled that the resolution denying

Mr. Kay’s permit was not supported by substantial evidence,

as required by 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7), the Telecommunications

Act of 1966 provision that is at issue before this Court.

The district court ordered that the resolution denying

Mr. Kay’s permit be set aside and that Mr. Kay be allowed to

use his approved amateur antenna structure for commercial

purposes, subject to reasonable conditions. The court further

ordered that Mr. Kay is entitled to seek an award of damages,

1. No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in

part. No person or entity other than James Kay made a monetary

contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief. Petitioners

and respondents have consented to the filing of all amicus briefs;

their letters of consent have been filed with the Clerk of this Court

pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.3(a).

2

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, but the damages claim and

Mr. Kay’s pending motion for attorney’s fees under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1988 have been stayed until June 2005, pending the Court’s

decision in this case.

Having spent several hundred thousand dollars to force

the City to permit that which federal law requires — and

having undergone treatment at the City’s hands that mirrors

that which the City accorded to Mr. Abrams ~— Mr. Kay has a

keen interest in the issue on which this Court has granted

certiorari. And Mr. Kay’s experience shows, if nothing else,

that Mr. Abrams’ case is not an isolated event. It has happened

twice within the past year in one city alone, and no doubt

has played out in other municipalities as well. Mr. Kay can

well speak — with the voice of his experience — to the issues

before the Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Both the City and amicus The National League of Cities

(NLC) argue that the Ninth Circuit erroneously upheld

Mr. Abrams’ right to seek relief under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 (and,

correspondingly, under 42 U.S.C. § 1988) because, in their

view, 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7) is essentially borrowed from

state zoning codes and such codes do not generally allow for

an award of damages or for attorney’s fees. Brief of

Petitioners at 41-45; Brief of the National League of Cities,

etc. (NLC Brief) at 7-23. The NLC, in particular, takes great

pains to identify every supposed significant similarity

between the review scheme established by the Congress in

Section 332(c)(7) — which similarities come down, in the

end, to the unremarkable provisions for a 30-day filing

deadline, a finality requirement, and application of long-

established administrative “substantial evidence” standard

3

— and then, in one huge leap, asserts that Section 332(c)(7)

must be construed to bar relief under Section 1983 because

“damages are traditionally unavailable” in state zoning

appeals. NLC Brief at 7-17.

The City and the NLC are attempting to create

Congressional intent from whole cloth, and then to bootstrap

that purported intent into an argument that an unambiguous

statute must be interpreted to bar a Section 1983 claim —

when the statute is utterly silent on any such intent. But they

cannot be heard to invent Congressional intent and to rewrite

an unambiguous statute in a manner that overcomes

established presumptions to the contrary.

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

Mr. Kay adopts the Statement of the Facts in respondent’s

brief, insofar as that statement reflects the proceedings in

Mr. Abrams’ case. Because, as noted in the discussion of

Mr. Kay’s interest in these proceedings, the City meted out

to Mr. Kay treatment quite similar to that which it inflicted

upon Mr. Abrams — and did so after the district court in this

case had ruled in Mr. Abrams’ favor — a brief review of the

municipal permitting process, as that process was applied

on Mr. Kay’s application for his permit, may be illuminating

for the Court.’

On June 21, 2001, Mr. Kay applied to the City for a

Conditional Use Permit (CUP) to allow him to use his lawful

amateur antenna structure, located atop an unoccupied single-

2. Fhe appendix to this brief comprises the district court’s

order and an excerpt of the record on Mr. Kay’s application before

the City.

4

family residence, for commercial purposes. App. 8. Like

Mr. Abrams’ antenna, Mr. Kay’s antenna structure was

capable of transmitting and receiving amateur and/or

commercial radio frequencies, without alteration.

The City’s Senior Planner reported to the City’s Planning

Commission at the first hearing on Mr. Kay’s application

that the antenna structure previously had been approved for

non-commercial use and that the City’s staff recommended

approval of the CUP application. App. 10. The

Commissioners, however, voiced their inclination to impose

harsh conditions on the approval (CAR 1:39:0292) — and

ultimately voted to impose many of those conditions,

including, among other things: (i) reducing the approved

rooftop amateur structure from five to two masts, and limiting

those masts to amateur use only, in exchange for allowing

commercial use of interior antennas located in the house’s

master bedroom (CAR 1:39:0277-78); (ii) requiring Mr. Kay

(or another person) to use the presently unoccupied house as

a primary residence (CAR 2:42:0372); (iii) requiring Mr. Kay

“to agree to whatever shared use by third parties is requested

by the City,” i.e., Mr. Kay would be compelled to allow others

to operate commercially using antennas inside an occupied

residence (CAR 2:42:0368); and (iv) precluding Mr. Kay

frum using his driveway so that the driveway would always

be available for rare visits by service vehicles (CAR

2:42:0339).

The City Attorney eventually was moved to say that, “the

more we talk about this, the more uncomfortable I am with

it because . . . we are walking into a potential argument that

5

we are going too far,” in that the Commission was “walking

into a problem” — to which one Commissioner responded:

Well, but if he is going to sue us on the grounds

that he wants to really use the property for more

amateur antennas, fine. So be it. Then we will find

if this use maybe really is amateur. I mean my

inclination is if we have to allow commercial

structures all over the roof, and face more people

who come in like this guy [Mr. Kay] and Abrams

who lie to us and tell us that they are ham radio

buffs and they are really commercial operators,

my inclination would be to just deny all the

applications and tell them all to go to hell and let

them sue us.

(CAR 2:42:0358). App. 63-64.

Ultimately, the Planning Commission and the City

Council voted to grant the CUP, but subject to a total of 22

conditions, which conditions included provisions that denied

Mr. Kay the use of the rooftop antennas (and required him to

remove three of the existing five antennas). App. 8-12. In

granting Mr. Kay relief under Section 332(c) of the TCA,

the district court applied the “substantial evidence” standard

of 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7)(B)(iii) and held, in part:

When the Court considers that Kay’s five mast

structure had, by the time of the Council’s

decision, been lawfully in place for at least three

years, the City’s purported concerns are “too little,

too late.” What might have justified denial of

either a commercial or amateur application tn

1998 cannot justify denial when that same

6

structure has been accepted, however grudgingly,

by the community for at least three years. .... These

reasons are not sufficient today to justify removal

of three antennas.

** *& *

There is no evidence concerning which specific

“health, safety and welfare” concerns would

mandate removing three of five antennas,

especially when the record evidences no concerns

on these subjects raised during the previous

several years. To the extent that those concerns

relate merely to changing frequencies, the City

apparently concedes its inability to regulate in this

area.

x* * * &

The Court therefore finds the Council Resolution

requiring Kay to remove three of his five existing

antennas is not supported by “substantial evidence

contained in a written record.”

App. 21-23 (original emphasis). The court ordered the City

to issue its permit allowing commercial use of Mr. Kay’s

five-mast antenna structure. /d. at 24.’

3. As noted earlier, the court followed the Ninth Circuit’s

decision in this case, but the proceedings on damages and attorney’s

fees have been stayed pending this Court’s decision.

7

ARGUMENT

THE TELECOMMUNICATIONS ACT’S PROVISIONS

FOR JUDICIAL REVIEW OF LOCAL GOVERN-

MENTAL ORDERS DENYING REQUESTS FOR

PLACEMENT OF PERSONAL WIRELESS SERVICE

FACILITIES CANNOT BE CONSTRUED TO DENY

ACCESS TO RELIEF UNDER 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

A. The Analytical Framework.

Section 332(c)(7) of the Telecommunications Act of 1996

(TCA) establishes a limited federal right to seek review of

local zoning decisions on “the placement, construction and

modification of personal wireless facilities.” 47 U.S.C.

§ 332(c)(7)(A). Among other provisions, the statute requires

that a decision denying a permit request for wireless facilities

must be “in writing and supported by substantial evidence

contained in a written record.” 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7)(B)(iil).

An aggrieved applicant may seek review of a permit denial

(or a local government’s failure to act on a permit request)

in state or federal court, “within 30 days after such action,”

and the reviewing court “shall hear and decide such action

on an expedited basis.” 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7)(B)(v).

Neither petitioners nor their amici dispute that Section

332(c)(7)(B)(iii) creates a federal right, or that 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 may be invoked to enforce a federal statutory right.

Nor does there appear to be a dispute that, as the Ninth Circuit

noted, Abrams v. City of Rancho Palos Verdes, 354 F.3d 1094,

1096 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 125 S. Ct. 26 (2004), this Court’s

precedent creates a rebuttable presumption that one who is

vested with a federal statutory right may ordinarily seek relief

under Section 1983. E.g., Blessing v. Freestone, 520 U.S.

8

329, 340-41 (1997). While the parties have addressed the

“comprehensive enforcement scheme” standard set forth in

Blessing, 520 U.S. at 341, Mr. Kay will focus on the

argument, primarily advanced by the NLC, that the purported

importation of state zoning law concepts into Section

332(c)(7) requires that the provision be read to bar relief

under Sections 1983 and 1988, thereby overcoming the

Blessing presumption.

The NLC purports to overcome the presumption by

superficially analyzing the procedural mechanisms

established by the Congress in Section 332(c)(7). NLC Brief

at 8-13. The NLC notes that Section 332(c)(7)(B)(v) imposes

a 30-day deadline for seeking judicial review of a local

government’s decision, and finds it significant that 30-day

time limits “have a venerable provenance in early zoning

law and continue to be widely used in state zoning law review

schemes.” NLC Brief at 8. Second, the requirement that

review be restricted to “final” decisions, 47 U.S.C.

§ 332(c)(7)(B)(v), is deemed by the NLC to be

significant because “[n]early every state review scheme is

identical, in that virtually all allow parties ‘aggrieved’ or

‘affected’ by a ‘final’ state administrative zoning or

permitting decision to challenge the decision in court.” Jd.

at 10 (citations omitted). Finally, NLC cites the very federal

right that it seeks to remove from Section 1983’s ambit,

Section 332(c)(7)(B){il1)’s requirement that zoning decisions

be “in writing and supported by substantial evidence

contained in a written record,” and asserts that this provision

reflects the Congress’s purported intent to import state zoning

law principles into the TCA’s judicial review mechanism,

because state courts generally apply a “substantial evidence”

test on judicial review of zoning decisions. /d. at 11-13.

9

From these utterly unremarkable similarities — as will

be set forth below, each cited provision can just as easily be

traced to non-zoning law — NLC asserts that “neither

damages nor attorney’s fees would constitute ‘appropriate

relief’ in actions brought under § 332(c)(7)(B)(v)” because

“damages are traditionally unavailable where a board of

adjustment or city council incorrectly denied a permit.”

NLC Brief at 17. But NLC’s construct is an unalloyed

contrivance. Fundamental statutory construction principles

bar NLC’s effort to create an otherwise non-existent

legislative history from extrinsic sources that have neither a

relation to any statutory language nor any basis in legislative

history.

B. Extrinsic Sources of Purported Congressional Intent

Have No Place in Construing an Unambiguous

Statute.

It is notable that NLC finds no ambiguity in Section

332(c)(7)(B)(v). NLC Brief at 7. Nor does the City. Brief of

Petitioner at 21-49. How it is that the NLC can turn to

extrinsic sources to elucidate legislative intent, including,

for example, model codes, state zoning laws, governmental

statistics and newspaper articles, is left unexplained. But

“(s]tatutory construction must begin with the language

employed by Congress and the assumption that the ordinary

meaning of that language accurately expresses the legislative

purpose.” Engine Mfrs. Ass'n v. South Coast Air Quality

Memt. Dist., 541 U.S. 246, 124 S. Ct. 1756, 1761 (2004)

(citation omitted). Here, as in so many instances, it must also

end there.

“(I]t is axiomatic that ‘(t]he starting point in every case

involving construction of a statute is the language itself.’”

10

Landreth Timber Co. v. Landreth, 471 U.S. 681, 685 (1985)

(citation omitted). In the absence of ambiguity in the statutory

language, “there is no reason to resort to legislative history.”

United States v. Gonzales, 520 U.S. 1, 6 (1997) (citation

omitted). Thus, without statutory ambiguity, there is no basis

for consulting any extrinsic source, even one as well

recognized as legislative history.‘ Bereft of any evidence of

Congressional intent to import state zoning law — and some

concomitant limitations on awarding damages — into Section

332(c)(7)(B)(v), the City and the NLC turn, as previously

noted, to a bewildering array of state zoning statutes and

decisional law.

This Court, however, uniformly has rejected such efforts

to create legislative history. E.g., Pierce v. Underwood, 487

U.S. 552, 566-68 (1988) (Congressional intent in adopting

statute could not be drawn from committee report issued five

years after statute’s adoption, at time of amendment to statute;

report “would not suffice to fix the meaning of language

which that reporting Committee did not even draft”); Western

Air Lines v. Board of Equalization of South Dakota, 480 U.S.

4. Neither the City nor the NLC rests much of their argument

on the very terse legislative history that exists for Section

332(c)(7)(B)\(v). See Brief of Petitioners at 26, 38 n.12, 46 n.15;

NLC Brief at 7, 11. This is so, quite obviously, because that history

is utterly unilluminating, at least when it comes to addressing the

attempt by the City to add new provisions to Section 332(c)(7)(B)(v).

The Conference Report on the 1996 amendments to the TCA shows

only that the Congress viewed judicial review under Section 332(c)(7)

as an “appeal,” and stated that the “substantial evidence” standard

was to be construed as “the traditional standard used for judicial

review of agency actions.” H.R. Conr. Rep. No. 458, 104TH Cona.,

2p Sess. 208-09 (1996). As will be discussed infra, neither that history

nor Section 332(c)(7)(B)(v)’s text are of any assistance to the NLC’s

argument.

11

123, [30 n.* (1987) (sparse legislative history cannot be

augmented by “the creation of legislative history through the

post-hoc statements of interested onlookers”); Kelly v.

Robinson, 479 U.S. 36, 51 n.13 (1986) (rejecting argument

that statute should be interpreted to adopt federal appellate

court’s interpretation of Congressional language; while

“a few comments in the hearings . .. may suggest that the

language bears the interpretation . . . none of those statements

was made by a member of Congress, nor were they included

in the official Senate and House Reports”; Court “decline[d]

to accord any significance to those statements”) (citations

omitted). The NLC’s attempt to “creat[e] ... legislative

history,” Western Air Lines, 480 U.S. at 130 n.*, goes even

farther afield.

C. The City and the NLC Cannot Demand That the

Court Must Import State Zoning Law Limitations on

Awarding Damages on Appellate Review into Section

332(c)(7)(B)(v).

The NLC asks the Court to import state zoning statutes

that “grant local governments immunity from damages

liability for zoning decisions” and case law that bars such

damages, by virtue of the procedural similarities that the NLC

identifies between Section 332(c)(7)(B)\(v) and state zoning

procedures. NLC Brief at 17.° The indicia upon which the

5. The statutory provisions upon which NLC relies, NLC Brief

at 17 n.6, are state sovereign immunity statutes. ALa. Cope § 11-47-

190 (“[n]o city or town shall be liable for damages or injury done to

or wrong suffered by any person ..., unless such injury or wrong

was done or suffered through the neglect, carelessness or

unskillfullness of some agent . . . of the municipality engaged in work

therefor”); Cac. Gov. Cope § 818.4:

(Cont'd)

12

(Cont'd)

[a] public entity is not liable for injury caused by the

issuance, denial, suspension or revocation of, or by the

failure or refusal to issue, deny, suspend or revoke, any

permit ... or similar authorization where the public

entity .. . is authorized . . . to determine whether or not

such authorization should be issued, denied, suspended

or revoked.

Det. Cope Ann. Tit. 10, § 4011(b)(2) (“a governmental entity shall

not be liable for any damage claim which results from * * * [t]he

undertaking or failure to undertake any judicial or quasi-judicial act,

including, but not limited to, granting, granting with conditions,

refusal to grant or revocation of any license, permit, order or other

administrative approval or denial”); IbaAHo Cope § 6-904B(3):

{a] governmental entity and its employees while acting

within the course and scope of their employment and

without malice or criminal intent and without gross

negligence or reckless, willful and wanton conduct...

shall not be liable for any claim which * * * [a]rises out

of the issuance, denial, suspension or revocation of, or

failure or refusal to issue, deny, suspend or revoke a

permit, license, certificate, approval, order or similar

authorization.

S.C. Cope Ann, § 15-78-60(1)-(2) (“[t]he governmental entity is not

liable for a loss resulting from * * * legislative, judicial, or

quasijudicial action or inaction [or] administrative action or inaction

of a legislative, judicial, or quasi-judicial nature”); Tenn. Cope ANN.

§ 29-20-201:

all governmental entities shall be immune from suit for

any injury which may result from the activities of such

governmental entities wherein such governmental

entities are engaged in the exercise and discharge of any

(Cont'd)

13

NLC relies to reach this conclusion are far too slender to

support it.

First, the NLC relies on the 30-day time limit for seeking

relief under Section 332(c)(7)(B)(v). NLC Brief at 8-10.

The NLC’s exegesis of state zoning law notwithstanding, the

legislative history is absolutely silent on the derivation of

the 30-day time limit. The Court might as readily — and

perhaps more logically — assume that the Congress derived

the 30-day time limit from Rule 4(a)(1) of the Federal Rules

of Appellate Procedure. That the Congress elected to use such

a standard deadline hardly indicates an intent to import

wholesale all aspects of state zoning law procedure into

Section 332(c)(7)(B)(v).

Next, the NLC argues that the requirement of finality in

Section 332(c)(7)(B)(v) “emulates state judicial review

(Cont'd)

of their functions; statute affords “[c]omplete and

absolute immunity . . . for the free exercise and discharge

of the duties of . . . boards, commissions, authorities and

other governing agencies.

ed

But statutes granting sovereign immunity are of limited — if any —

utility in this analysis, because sovereign immunity may not be

asserted to shield a municipality or other local government from

liability under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Leatherman v. Tarrant County

Narcotics Intelligence & Coordination Unit, 507 U.S. 163, 166-67

(1993); Howlett by and through Howlett v. Rose, 496 U.S. 356, 375-

81 (1990); Owen v. City of Independence, Mo., 445 U.S. 622, 650

(1980). The Congress could not conceivably have imported state

sovereign immunity statutes into Section 332(c)(7)(B)(v) to immunize

municipalities and other local governments from liability under

Section 1983, when this Court has so firmly established that no such

immunity extends to such entities under Section 1983.

14

provisions.” NLC Brief at 10. That may be true, but the

provision also “emulates” 5 U.S.C. § 551(13), under which

a denial of a requested license constitutes final agency action

that is subject to judicial review. Once again, the non-unique

requirement of finality before a court may review a lower

tribunal’s ruling is hardly an indicium of the intent that NLC

would have ascribed to the Congress.

Finally, the NLC relies on Section 332(c)(7)(B)(iii)’s

requirement of “substantial evidence” to support the local

government’s ruling. NLC Brief at 11-13. Once again, the

NLC overreaches. The “substantial evidence” standard of

review has long been established in federal law for judicial

review of agency action. Universal Camera Corp. v. National

Labor Relations Bd., 340 U.S. 474, 491 (1951). Its inclusion

in Section 332(c)(7)(B)(iii) hardly shows an intent to import

a body of state law. For that matter, the Congress’s use of

what is nothing more than a well-established standard for

judicial review says nothing about whether damages or

attorney’s fees should — or should not — be available when a

basis for such awards is shown.

What this brief analysis readily shows is that NLC cannot

ascribe to the Congress the intent to import state zoning law

concepts, on which the NLC’s effort to support a denial of

access to Section 1983 remedies entirely depends. This Court

has long looked with great care at construction arguments

derived from the Congress’s purported adoption of a

pre-existing state enactment:

The “general rule that adoption of the wording of

a statute from another legislative jurisdiction

carries with it the previous judicial interpretation

of the wording * * * is a presumption of legislative

15

intention * * * which varies in strength with the

similarity of the language, the established

character of the decisions in the jurisdiction from

which the language was adopted and the presence

of lack of other indicia of intention.”

Yates v. United States, 354 U.S. 298, 309 (1957) (citation

omitted).

In Shannon v. United States, 512 U.S. 573 (1994), the

Court applied that principle in addressing a criminal

defendant’s argument that the federal Insanity Defense

Reform Act, which was derived from a District of Columbia

statute, silently had imported the District’s requirement of a

special not guilty by reason of insanity verdict. /d. at 580-

82. The Court noted that the principle quoted above

“is merely a ‘presumption of legislative intention’ to be

invoked only ‘under suitable conditions.’” /d. at 581 (citation

omitted). And, despite a passage in the legislative history

indicating an intent to adopt the District’s procedure, the

Court refused to engraft that procedure onto the federal act:

We are not aware of any case ... in which we

have given authoritative weight to a single passage

of legislative history that is in no way anchored

in the text of the statute. On its face, the passage

Shannon identifies does not purport to explain or

interpret any provision of the [act]. Rather, it

merely conveys the Committee’s “endorsement”

of the [District’s] “procedure” — a procedure that

Congress did not include in the text of the Act.

To give effect to this snippet of legislative history,

we would have to abandon altogether the text of

the statute as a guide in the interpretative

16

process. . . . “[C]ourts have no authority to enforce

[a] principl[e] gleaned solely from legislative

history that has no statutory reference point.”

Id. at 583-84.

Here, there is no legislative history of any kind to support

the NLC’s attempt to read principles of state zoning law into

the statute.° “[I]n the absence of anything in the legislative

history indicating that [state decisions] were called to [the

Congress’s]} attention, we should not assume that Congress

was aware of them.” Yates, 354 U.S. at 310. And the purported

indicia of Congressional intent are simply far too

6. Contrary to the impression that is created in the NLC’s brief,

Section 1983 is available for aggrieved property owners whose

applications have been denied by local governmental boards under

circumstances that give rise to claims of a denial of due process or

equal protection. E.g., Eichenlaub v. Township of Indiana, 385 F.3d

274, 285 (3d Cir. 2004); Greenbriar Village L.L.C. v. Mountain Brook,

City, 345 F.3d 1258, 1263 (11th Cir. 2003); Harlen Assocs. v.

Incorporated Village of Mineola, 273 F.3d 484, 498-503 (2d Cir.

2001); Crider v. Board of County Comm'rs of County of Boulder,

246 F.3d 1285, 1289-90 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 534 U.S. 890 (2001).

The Congress is, of course, presumed to have been aware of this

precedent. E.g., Goodyear Atomic Corp. v. Miller, 486 U.S. 174, 184-

85 (1988) (“[w]Je generally presumed that Congress is knowledgeable

about existing law pertinent to the legislation it enacts”) (citation

omitted). That presumption leads to two conclusions neither of which

is helpful to the City and the NLC: that the Congress saw nothing

incongruous about allowing Section 1983 relief to be sought by an

aggrieved landowner in a zoning dispute, and that the Congress

recognized that the admittedly stringent burden imposed upon a

landowner to make a claim for denial of due process or equal

protection should not be imposed upon a wireless operator who has

wrongfully been denied a permit by a local governmental board.

17

commonplace to infer, from their inclusion in Section

332(c)(7)(B)(v), that the Congress sought thereby silently to

import an entire body of state zoning law into the federal

statute.

Both the City and the NLC offer perfervid visions of

municipal devastation if the TCA is construed to allow

Section 1983 claims to be brought on Section 332(c)(7)

judicial review. They suggest that “thousands of local

governments” will either suffer fiscal losses and be unable

to spend appropriately on essential services or will surrender

their authority to consider citizens’ interests on wireless

facility applications. NLC Brief at 21-23. The City invokes

the menacing image of giant corporations raiding small

towns’ coffers to execute on “staggering” damage awards.

Brief for Petitioners at 31. These dramatic stances are perhaps

better suited to a Congressional committee hearing than they

are to legal arguments on a question of statutory construction.

But the City itself recognizes that, at the present time,

more than 90 percent of cellular tower applications are

approved by local governments, usually within 60 days.

Id. at 32 n.10. Allowing those applicants whose applications

are wrongfully denied to seek damages and fees under

Sections 1983 and 1988 will hardly ruin municipalities across

the country. But taking away Section 1983 remedies will most

surely embolden irresponsible local governments to act just

as the City did on Mr. Kay’s application. When an applicant

must spend untold thousands of dollars to obtain that which

the TCA guarantees, because a local government has acted

in violation of Section 332(c)(7)(B)’s commands, the

Congress cannot have intended that ordinary remedies

available under federal law should be denied. There is

certainly nothing in Section 332(c)(7)(B) that supports such

a draconian result, and nothing in the construction arguments

offered by the City that would warrant it.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals should be

affirmed.

RuBerT J. KELLER

Law OFFICES OF

Rosert J. Kevcer, P.C.

P.O. Box 33428

Farragut Station

Washington, D.C. 20033

(202) 223-2100

GLENN S. McRoBerts

Tom MACIEJEWSKI

TRUTANICH - MicHet, LLP

Port of Los Angeles Office

407 North Harbor Boulevard

San Pedro, CA 90731

(310) 548-0410

Respectfully submitted,

Barry RICHARD

Counsel of Record

GREENBERG TRAURIG, P.A.

101 East College Avenue

Tallahassee, FL 32302

(850) 222-6891

Ex.uiot H. SCHERKER

GREENBERG TRAURIG, P.A.

1221 Brickell Avenue

Miami, FL 33131

(305) 579-0500

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

APPENDIX

dower f

ye as, ae a :

TTR, , oN . , ae

ob Ue ke AY hy - ae

Mone: a Cee rae “

4 4. 3S Sc ees at

te Bae a tf crea 78S

KN ae Aaty Ealal ag vey

4 ray , b ay

. ‘ oon <4 eta re a

at Day S3 . ear 3 la

oe ay “4 ” * thes

SAD niet oe & er rua Se YY . n - . j “ >

-) i ie ae ne ‘ es 1 ’ :

Ctx eth 5a a 1% ve i aNeeO - - ‘

pci. Mitte ay iris ; : PPENDIX A — OPINION AND ORDER OF THE

t BRP ASS } ” 7 mite ‘ a ° \ - " A A A

ae Gera ass j UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

A SN Nee eae a rs: : CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

tc Rs ae | | : DATED JULY 12, 2004 AND

“ie Fase A Ge aia | 4 FILED JULY 13, 2004

Aes ee * 3 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

et. pees, | % CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Shaye a S : ‘ re d

CASE NO. CV 02-3922-DSF(RZx)

Do OS Sa aes : JAMES A. KAY, JR, JAMES A. KAY, JR. dba LUCKY’S

Bee Se Gs) | TWO WAY RADIO, COMMUNICATIONS RELAY

CORPORATION, a California corporation,

Plaintiffs and Petitioners,

VS.

CITY OF RANCHO PALOS VERDES, a Municipality,

CITY OF RANCHO PALOS VERDES PLANNING

COMMISSION and its members, FRANK LYON, LARRY

CLARK, JON CARTWRIGHT, THOMAS LONG, CRAIG

MUELLER, THEODORE PAULSON, and DONALD

VANNORSDALL; CITY OF RANCHO PALOS VERDES

CITY COUNCIL and its members, JOHN MCTAGGART,

DOUGLAS STERN, PETER GARDINER, BARBARA A.

FERRARO, and DOUGLAS STERN,

Defendants and Respondents.

2a

Appendix A

OPINION AND ORDER AFTER COURT TRIAL

I. INTRODUCTION

Petitioner James A. Kay (“Kay”)' seeks rulings from this

Court in what he has described as three general areas:

(1) whether the Conditional Use Permit decision should be

vacated for lack of substantial evidence; (2) whether the

Respondents’ actions violated his constitutional rights; and

(3) whether the Respondents’ new antenna ordinance is

invalid.

A. The CUP Decision

Kay seeks an order vacating a Conditional Use Permit

(“CUP”) decision adopted by Respondents, City of Rancho

Palos Verdes, et al. (the “City”) in alleged violation of the

Telecommunications Act of 1996 (“TCA”), and a writ of

mandate requiring the City to permit Kay to operate

commercially using an existing amateur antenna structure.

Kay is licensed by the Federal Communications Commission

(“FCC”) for both amateur and commercial operations, and

the antenna structure is capable of transmitting and receiving

both amateur and commercial radio frequencies.

The question presented by Kay is whether the City can

bar Kay from using a lawful amateur antenna structure where

the only difference between amateur operations and the

proposed commercial operations is the radio frequency

1. Kay sues on his own behalf and “dba Lucky’s Two Way

Radio.” Communications Relay Corporation, an entity about which

this Court has received no information, is also named as a Plaintiff.

3a

Appendix A

utilized. Kay relies almost exclusively on the unpublished

decision of another judge of this Court, which vacated a CUP

decision in what Kay contends is an almost identical case:

Abrams v. City of Rancho Palos Verdes, CV 01-9071-SVW

(Order dated and filed January 9, 2002) (“Abrams”’).’

B. The Claimed Violations of Kay’s Constitutional

Rights

Kay also contends the City violated his constitutional

rights. He asks this court to “delve into the administrative

record, and beyond, to see for itself the animosity, bias and

sometimes outrageous abuse of power by City Planning

Commissioners and Council Members.” Kay admits the CUP

decision “naturally contains few express statements of bias,

discrimination or improper motives, elements required to

prove Kay’s other claims.” Kay’s Opening Brief at 2. In order

to establish his claims, Kay sets forth what he contends are

“some of the more egregious acts and comments of the City,”

asking the Court to conclude “that the City falsely accused

Kay of lying, abhorred Kay and his antenna structure, and

openly used the CUP process to hold Kay hostage to the City’s

often absurd, and in some cases unconstitutional, demands

(e.g., forcing him to rent his property).” Kay’s Opening Brief

at 3.

2. Though this Court (unlike the Ninth Circuit) has no local

rule prohibiting the citation of unpublished decisions, none is

necessary, as district court opinions have no binding effect.

PSS

ee

ww > te, SOA es a Fame, ae. OR Les ae ee

Be SS ok eae Rae a Ce Seeking eae does bn

wel Ge : “ a < 2 ory. “ af ,

P sien

“rs

4a

Appendix A

C. Validity of Ordinance 374U and the New Antenna

Regulations

Finally, Kay contends that Urgency Ordinance 374U

(“374U”), passed March 11, 2002, is invalid and violated

numerous statutory and constitutional rights because its

retroactive provisions allegedly affected only Kay. He further

argues 101 F.C.C. 2d 952, 50 Reg. 38, 813 (1985) (“PRB-1”)

preempts the City’s amateur antenna regulations, as amended

by 374U and applied to Kay, because the City failed

reasonably to accommodate his amateur radio operations, and

the regulations do not represent the minimum practicable

means to accomplish the City’s legitimate goals. In doing so

he asks the Court to rely on expert testimony given after the

decision was made. Both Kay’s expert and the City’s expert

agreed that limiting Kay to two antennas would not be a

reasonable accommodation. 374U, however, allows an

applicant to request additional antennas, and the City agrees

Kay would be allowed at least five. City’s Trial Brief at 46.

D. The Trial

The TCA provides that “[a]ny person adversely affected

by any final action or failure to act by a State or local

government or any instrumentality thereof... may, within

30 days after such action or failure to act, commence an action

in any court of competent jurisdiction. The court shall hear

and decide such action on an expedited basis.” 47 U.S.C.

§ 332(c)(7)(B)(v). The parties agreed to a Court trial in the

administrative record as supplemented by expert testimony’

3. The Court initially permitted expert testimony as to certain

issues. The Court did not rely, however, on any of the proffered

testimony in reaching its decision.

Sa

Appendix A

which was held May 11, 2004. Pursuant to Rule 52 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, the following constitutes

this Court’s findings of fact and conclusions of law.

Il. FACTS

A. Events Preceding Approval of the Five Mast

Antenna for Amateur Use

In 1994 Kay purchased a two-story, single-family

residence at 26708 Indian Peak Road in the City of Rancho

Palos Verdes. AR 3:66:792 [lines 11-12].* The neighborhood

is single-family residential. AR 1:30:115. It is undisputed

that either Kay nor anyone else has lived at the property since

Kay purchased it. See AR 3:66:792 [lines 18-24]. When

purchased, the Property had two rooftop antennas.

AR 3:66:792 [lines 12-14]. Kay contends he used the

antennas for amateur purposes, while the City contends he

also used them for commercial purposes.

On December 7, 1994, Kay wrote a letter to the FCC

authorizing use of commercial frequencies for which he was

licensed, including 852.9625 MHz, at a base station at his

property in Rancho Palos Verdes and at the Getty Museum

Center. AR 4:76:1182. Kay contends he “forgot” about this

letter. /d. at 1164.

In January 1997, the City sent Kay a notice of violation

relating to the use of his rooftop antennas for commercial

4. References to the certified administrative record are indicated

by “AR volume no.:tab no.:page no.”

6a

Appendix A

purposes without a CUP. AR 2:56:432 [lines 25-28]. Kay

denied any commercial use. AR 2:56:433 [line 9].

In April 1998, Kay installed in an upstairs bedroom

antennas for commercial use. AR 2:56:433 [line 20] - 434

[line 2]. Kay contends in his trial brief that he believed the

operation of interior antennas was permissible without

approval because they were “located in the upstairs master

bedroom, out of public view, and had no effect on surrounding

properties.” Kay’s Opening Brief at 8.° Kay asserts the indoor

antennas were connected to their own transmitter and the

rooftop antennas remained connected to their own amateur

band radio facilities, i.e., they were separate communications

facilities. AR 3:66:793-94 [20-28].

By August 1998, Kay had installed three additional

antennas on his roof, for total of five rooftop antennas.°®

On August 5, 1998, Kay filed an application with the City

for approval of the “existing antenna array” on the roof for

non-commercial purposes. See AR 1:30:114 [first paragraph].

Staff approved Kay’s application on October 22, 1998.

See AR 1:30:114 [first paragraph]. On November 4, 1998,

before the 15-day appeal period was to expire, the City

Council adopted Urgency Ordinance No. 341U, placing a

moratorium on the processing of all antenna applications,

5. Though the brief cites to Kay’s declaration for support, the

declaration does not contain such an assertion. :

6. It is not clear when these antennas were first erected. Kay

contends that he replaced the original antennas with the five mast

structure at issue “shortly” after purchasing the house. Kay’s Opening

Brief at 7.

7a

Appendix A

including Kay’s. AR 2:43:376 [J 1 and 2]. Kay suggests he

was the only person who had had his Site Plan approved and

was simply waiting for it to become final. The City contends

one or two other applications also were stayed by the

moratorium. Fox Depo., City’s Trial Brief, Ex. B, at 71:15-18.

On March 16, 1999, the City adopted Ordinance No. 345,

amending its amateur and commercial antenna regulations.

On April 16, 1999, the moratorium was lifted and the new

regulations went into effect. The ordinance clarified the

definition of “antenna support structure” as a vertical

structure. Rancho Palos Verdes Municipal Code (“RPVMC’”’)

§ 17.96.120. The ordinance also created a category of amateur

antennas exempt from the City’s permitting requirements,

specifically: “[o]ne (1) building mounted antenna assembly

which does not exceed twelve feet (12) in height ... and

which contains radiating elements, each of which

does not exceed six (6) feet in length.” RPVMC

§ 17.76.020(C)(3)(c)(ii). The term “antenna assembly” was

defined in the ordinance as “the totality of equipment used

to support reception by or transmission from an antenna.

It includes the antenna(s), . . . antenna support structure(s),

and any radiating elements. . . .” RPVMC § 17.96.087. Thus,

the ordinance exempted from City regulation one roofiop

mounted vertical antenna support structure not exceeding

twelve feet in height with horizontal radiating elements not

exceeding six feet in length.

At some point before June 2001, Kay mounted a

horizontal antenna support structure from which his five

antennas would extend. See AR 1:2:3 [project description];

AR 1:36:210 and 212. The Code at the time also provided

8a

Appendix A

that two amateur antenna support structures were allowed

per lot. RPVMC § 17.76.020(C)(1)(a).

Kay contended that because his antenna support structure

was horizontal, he could add as many vertical poles as

possible as long as they did not exceed twelve feet in height.

See AR 1:34:208. Because Kay had attached five vertical

poles to his horizontal antenna assembly before Ordinance

No. 345 was adopted in March 1999, the City notified Kay

on July 7, 1999 that he was “technically correct” that those

five vertical poles, if used only for amateur purposes, were

exempt from the City’s permitting requirements.

AR 2:56:438.

B. Kay’s CUP Application and the Planning

Commission Actions

On June 21, 2001, Kay applied for a CUP (“CUP 230”)

to use his existing rooftop amateur antenna structure for

commercial purposes. AR 1:2:3-40.

The initial Staff Report from Senior Planner Fox (“Fox”)

to the Planning Commission, dated October 23, 2001,

presented proposed findings and recommended that CUP 230

be conditionally approved. AR 5:89:1386-1394. The

“Conclusion” of the Report states: “Based on the discussion

presented above, Staff believes that all of the required

findings for the approval of the proposed project can be made.

In addition, Staff believes that the conditional approval of

the proposed project is consistent with the City’s Wireless

Communications Antenna Development Guidelines and the

Telecommunications Act of 1996. Therefore, Staff

9a

Appendix A

recommends adoption of P.C. Resolution No. 2001-_,

conditionally approving Conditional Use Permit No. 230.”

AR 1:30:125.

At the October 23, 2001 Planning Commission meeting,

the commissioners, based on information in the Staff Report,

concluded that Kay had lied about his commercial use of the

antennas. E.g., AR 1:32:195.

On November 7, 2001 Kay hand-delivered a letter to Fox

referencing “Conditional Use Permit No. 230 and

Environmental Assessment No. 744 - 26708 Indian Peak

Road.” The letter attaches “corrected project plans” which

Kay asserted had been corrected “to accurately reflect the

project as it was originally described on the site plan, and as

it currently exists on the project site.”’ The letter further

states: “It is our understanding that the 20 existing antenna

elements are permitted by right, and that this correction will

not materially change the nature of the project as originally

proposed, which requests to convert the 20 existing roof-

mounted antennas to be used for commercial purposes.”

AR 1:33:205.

The November 13 Staff Report again recommended that

Kay be permitted to use his five mast antenna structure for

commercial purposes, while maintaining the position that

commercial operations were conducted at the property.

AR 1:37:217. The report also notes the addition of some

antenna masts. The City planners resubmitted a draft

resolution granting Kay’s CUP application for the five mast

7. Kay admitted, Kay’s Opening Brief at 35, that Kay’s actions

in erecting the additional masts were “provocative.”

10a

Appendix A

structure, but added a new condition (condition No. 12) that

Kay remove the later added antenna masts. AR 5:90:1403.

At the November 13, 2001 Planning Commission

meeting Fox advised the commission that the five mast

structure had been permitted for non-commercial use, and

again recommended approval of the CUP. AR 1:39:231-32.

City Attorney Lynch advised of a potential problem under

the Telecommunications Act and PRB-1. AR 2:42:358.

On November 15, 2001, the Planning Commission issued

Resolution 2001-43, “A Resolution of the Planning

Commission of the City of Rancho Palos Verdes Approving

Conditional Use Permit No. 230, Thereby Approving the

Commercial Use of Interior Antennae and Related Support

Structures and Equipment on the Site of a Single-Family

Residence Located at 26708 Indian Peak road in the

Grandview Community” (the “PC Resolution”). The PC

Resolution addresses only the five mast structure.*

AR 2:43:378-379. Though framed as an “approval,” Kay

correctly notes that the PC Resolution effectively denied

commercial use of his outdoor antennas and required him to

remove three of the previously approved “amateur use”

antennas from his roof as a condition of being permitted to

use his interior antennas commercially. AR 2:43:379 (Finding

1 B), 384-388. The PC Resolution posed a total of

22 conditions to commercial use.’ /d.

8. While Kay repeatedly impliedly suggests there was some

impropriety in this failure, he has submitted nothing to suggest that

he properly amended the application or otherwise was entitled to

have the City consider these additional antennas.

9. Kay’s contention that all conditions had to be accomplished

(Cont'd)

lla

Appendix A

C. Kay’s Appeal and the City Council’s Actions

Before the City Council received Kay’s appeal brief,

AR 2:56:416-461, the Abrams decision was issued. On March

11, 2002, before the Council’s first full hearing on Kay’s

appeal, the City enacted Urgency Ordinance 374U, amending

its antenna regulations. RPVMC § 17.76.020 (“374U");

AR 3:64:641-43.

At the March 19, 2002 City Council meeting Fox

recommended that the five mast structure be approved. The

Council continued to question Kay’s credibility. AR 4:69:993.

The March 25, 2002 Memorandum from the Director of

Planning recommended that the City modify the PC

Resolution to permit Kay’s commercial use of the five mast

structure based on the City’s previous indication that it was

exempt from 374U, AR 4:72:1023, 4 1, but continued to

question Kay’s credibility. The Report included a section in

its “finding of facts” which concluded, “Accordingly, the City

Council finds that the appellant’s arguments — that these

additional vertical support structures and antenna are amateur

antennae that previously were exempt from City regulation

and that the roof-mounted antenna support structure and array

has not been materially altered — to be without merit or

credibility.” AR 4:72:1034-35.

(Cont'd)

within 90 days, Kay’s Opening Brief at 17, is incorrect. The

Conditions of Approval he cites for this proposition state only that

Kay must, within 90 days, confirm in writing that he has read and

understood these conditions, and agrees to them — not that he has

comrz':ted them. AR 2:43:384.

l2a

Appendix A

At the March 25, 2002 City Council hearing, the City

Attorney agreed with Kay’s assertions that transmissions with

Getty had not been activated. There was, however, some form

of agreement between Kay and Getty. AR 4:75:1129.

On April 16, 2002, the City Council issued Resolution

2002-27, “A resolution of the City Councii of the City of

Rancho Palos Verdes Approving Conditional Use Permit No.

230, Thereby Approving the Commercial Use of Interior

Antennae and Related Support Structures and Equipment on

the Site of a Single-Family Residence Located at 26708

Indian Peak Road in the Grandview Community (the

“Council Resolution”). AR 5:84:1329-1344.

Ill. ANALYSIS

A. The Telecommunications Act

When enacting the TCA, Congress unquestionably

intended to preserve the traditional local control over land

use regulations. 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7)(A) provides: “Except

as provided in this paragraph, nothing in this chapter shall

limit or affect the authority of a State or local government

... over decisions regarding the placement, construction, and

modification of personal wireless service facilities.” Nearly

every case addressing claims similar to Kay’s has found in

favor of the government agency denying the request. Indeed,

the only authority Kay was able to cite in support of his

position was Abrams, which Kay must, and does, admit is

not binding, and which the City contends was based on

different facts in any event.

De eee

13a

Appendix A

Kay asks this Court to find that the decision to deny

commercial use of a pre-existing amateur antenna structure

was not supported by substantial evidence as required by

47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7)(B)(iii).'° He does not contend that his

antenna structure is aesthetically pleasing, or even that it

conforms to the City’s present regulations. He contends only

that the City cannot justifiably raise the issue of aesthetics

now, when Kay’s only request is to change the frequency of

his transmissions from an already existing lawful structure.

The Court agrees.

1. Burden of Proof

Circuit courts addressing this issue have thus far been

consistent in their determination that the burden is on the

applicant to show that the local government’s decision is not

supported by substantial evidence. E.g., Voicestream

Minneapolis v. St. Croix County, 342 F.3d 818, 830 (7 Cir.

2003); Am. Tower LP v. City of Huntsville, 295 F.3d 1203,

1207 (11" Cir. 2002); Southwestern Bell Mobiie Systems, Inc.

v. Todd, 244 F.3d 51, 63 (1" Cir. 2001). The Ninth Circuit as

not yet addressed the issue. The only dis*rict court in

California to resolve the issue in a reported decision has also

held that the burden rests with the party challenging the local

decision. See MetroPCS, Inc. v. City and County of San

Francisco, 259 F. Supp. 2d 1004, 1009-1010 (N.D. Cal.

2003). This Court sees no reason to depart from this

substantial and persuasive body of authority. Therefore, the

10. As the Court finds in favor of Kay on this issue, it declines

to decide whether the City also “unreasonably discriminate[d] among

providers of functionally equivalent services” in violation of the TCA.

See 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7)(B)(i)(1).

l4a

Appendix A

Court concludes that Kay bears the burden of establishing

that the Council's resolution is not “supported by substantial

evidence contained in a written record.”

2. The “Substantial Evidence” Standard of

Review

In the context of the TCA, “[t]he ‘substantial evidence’

standard of review is the same as that traditionally applicable

to a review of an administrative agency’s findings of fact.

Judicial review under this standard ... is narrow.” Second

Generation Props. L.P. v. Town of Pelham, 313 F.3d 620,

627 (1" Cir. 2002) (citation omitted). “The substantial

evidence test is highly deferential to the local board.” /d.

“The City’s decision will be considered supported by

substantial evidence if the record contains ‘such relevant

evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to

Support a conclusion.’” MetroPCS, 259 F. Supp. 2d at 1010,

citing Preferred Sites, LLC v. Troup County, 296 F.3d 1210,

1218 (11" Cir. 2002). This standard requires “more than a

scintilla of evidence but less than a preponderance” Airtouch

Cellular v. City of El Cajon, 83 F. Supp. 2d 1158, 1164 (S.D.

Cal. 2000) (citation omitted). “The court must review the

entire record as a whole in making its determination,

including all evidence unfavorable to the agency’s position.”

Id. (citation omitted). “If any one ground provided by the

City is supported by substantial evidence, the [City’s

decision] is proper.” MetroPCS, 59 F. Supp. 2d at 1010.

“(T]he possibility of drawing two inconsistent conclusions

from the evidence does not prevent an administrative

agency’s finding from being supported by substantial

evidence.” Second Generation Properties, 313 F.3d at 627

(citation omitted).

lSa

Appendix A

In evaluating the City’s decision here, “the [City’s local]

zoning laws govern the weight to be given the evidence.”

MetroPCS, 259 F. Supp. 2d at 1010 (citation omitted). “The

City’s interpretation of its own zoning laws ‘is entitled to

great weight and should be respected by the court unless it is

clearly erroneous or authorized.’” /d., citing Carson Harbor

Village, Ltd. v. City of Carson, 70 Cal. App. 4th 281, 290

(1999).

3. The Council Resolution Is Not Supported by

Substantial Evidence

Kay’s claim for violation of the TCA (and for a writ of

mandate under California Code of Civil Procedure section

1094.5) depends on Kay’s ability to prove that the Council

Resolution was not supported by substantial evidence.

Though it is unusual to consider this issue in the context of a

municipal action “approving” a CUP with conditions rather

than denying the CUP altogether, the City has suggested no

reason that the analysis should be substantively different.

Therefore the Court simply considers whether the Council

Resolution, as issued, is supported by “substantial evidence

contained in a written record.””''

Kay contends that there is no adverse impact associated

with operating on commercial frequencies using existing

amateur antenna structures, and thus no substantial evidence

11. As alluded to previously, Kay sought to provide additional

evidence by way of expert testimony, and the City objected. The

Court admitted the expert testimony, but did not find it necessary or

appropriate to rely on that testimony in reaching its decision.

16a

Appendix A

to support any decision barring such use. The City contends:

“Kay’s use of his rooftop antennas for commercial purposes

long before he applied in 2001 for a CUP is critical to

determining whether the City properly conditioned the CUP

on the removal of three of the five antennas. ... Had the

City known that Kay was really using the antennas for

commercial purposes from the outset. . . the City would have

required Kay to apply for a CUP before erecting those

antennas. Thus, the City’s requirement here that Kay remove

three of his five antennas is no different than if Kay had

originally applied to erect five antennas for commercial use,

and the City permitted only two.” City’s Trial Brief at 21.

Thus, the City does not dispute that Kay’s five mast antenna

structure was approved for amateur use before Kay filed his

CUP application." It simply contends that it should be placed,

for purposes of this Court’s analysis, in the position it would

have been in if it had known at the time of Kay’s original

application, that he intended to use the five antennas for

commercial purposes.

But the City provides no legal support for this position.

Even if the Court were to assume that Kay lied — or that the

City’s belief that he lied was reasonable — that does not,

a priori, suggest that the City can retract its prior approval

of the five mast structure. Neither body of law — that relating

12. Kay contends that his actual CUP application was for use

of a 20-mast structure, including 15 masts erected after June 1, 2001.

Kay has not established this to the Court’s satisfaction. In any event,

the City did not consider these additional masts in its analysis and

“findings of fact” when it reviewed Kay’s application. See, e.g.,

AR 2:43:378-79 [Section 1(A)]. The Court therefore addresses the

approved five mast structure.

17a

Appendix A

to amateur use of antennas or that relating to commercial

use — even suggests that veracity of the applicant is a relevant

factor. The Court has not been cited to any authority

concerning PRB-1, which applies to applications for amateur

use, that discusses the veracity of the applicant or the impact

of the applicant’s actual or potential intention to use the

antennas for commercial purposes in the future. Therefore,

it is not clear why the City’s decision would have been

different.

While the Court can understand the City’s concern that,

in the wake of Abrams, it now must consider applications

for amateur antenna structures even more carefully, there is

no basis to conclude that the Court can retroactively imprint

that concern onto this decision — at least as it relates to the

five mast structure.

The City urges that the Court “decline Kay’s invitation

to follow Abrams without acknowledging the factual

distinctions that compel a different result.” City’s Trial Brief

at 21. The Court agrees that there are significant differences

between this case and Abrams, and fully recognizes that

Abrams is not binding. In Abrams, for example, Judge Wilson

accepted the City’s contention that 12.5 feet of Abrams’

antenna violated the original permit. Here, the City claims it

would never have allowed Kay to put five commercial

antennas on his roof had it known of his true purpose

(in other words he only received a permit for those five

because he intended to use them for amateur purposes). The

findings in Abrams regarding the alleged improper use,

however, show a stark contrast to the facts here. Regarding

Dey Dn?

18a

Appendix A

the City’s contention that it could require Abrams to reduce

the size of his antenna structure, Judge Wilson found:

The first reason indicated above, that the use

contradicts the original purpose of [the] 1990

permit, is immaterial. The record does not indicate

that the denial of the CUP would require Plaintiff

to remove the antenna, or reduce the height to

40 feet, so the denial of the permit would only be

an act of spite by the community.

Abrams at 10:25 to 11:3.

Here, the City is taking precisely the position that it

apparently failed to take in Abrams — that it would require

Kay to limit his (visible) use of antennas to the amateur use

previously allowed, i.e., two antennas.

The Court is not persuaded, however, by the City’s

argument that “[t]he real question is whether the City

originally could have permitted erection of only two rooftop

aritennas for commercial purposes.” City’s Trial Brief at 21.

The Court instead chooses to do what it believes the law

compels — decide this case based on the record before it,

i.e., the administrative record before the City Council in

August 2001.

The Court now turns to that administrative record to

determine the reasons for the Council Resolution to the extent

that it requires Kay to remove three of his five antennas —

and to determine whether those reasons are supported by

“substantial evidence contained in a written record.’

19a

Appendix A

The City groups the findings supporting the Council

Resolution into three categories. First, the City contends that

its “findings were designed largely to retain the residential

character of the surrounding single-family neighborhood and

to reserve aesthetics atop the Palos Verdes peninsula.” City’s

Trial Brief at 17. The City correctly notes that “(nJothing in

the Telecommunications Act forbids local authorities from

applying general and nondiscriminatory standards derived

from their zoning codes.” Aegerter v. City of Delafield, 174

F.3d 886, 891 (7" Cir. 1999). Moreover, “aesthetic harmony

is a prominent goal underlying almost every such code.” /d.

The City of Ranchos Palos Verdes is no exception. The City

cites to code provisions designed to address aesthetics.

E.g,. RPVMC § 17.76.020(A)(11)(a)(ii). With these concerns

in mind the Council Resolution contains the following

findings: (1) there was inadequate foliage to “screen any

antenna support structures or antennae on the roof of the

structure from view from any surrounding residences .. . ,”

thus requiring reduction to two masts to “maintain the

appearance of the structure as a singie-family residence, and

to integrate the commercial use into the residential

neighborhood,” AR 5:84:1332 [Section 1B]; (2) “conversion

of the existing antennae to commercial use constitutes

intensification of the use that benefits the applicant

financially but . . . does not offset the visual impacts of the

antenna array upon the surrounding neighborhood,” AR

5:84:1333 [Section 1D]; (3) the conditions imposed are meant

to prevent the commercial use of the property from

exacerbating the substandard condition of the residence, and

ensure use consistent with the General Plan, AR 5:84:1334

[Section 1 F]; (4) the conditions imposed are meant to protect

the “health, safety and general welfare,” AR 5:84:1334-35

20a

Appendix A

[Section 1H]; and (5) the removal of the antennas will

“balance the aesthetic impacts of the antennae upon the

neighborhood with the applicant’s financial benefit.”

AR 5:84:1336 [Section 4].

The Court declines to adopt Kay’s suggestion that the

City’s obvious disdain for the proliferation of antennas

detracts from the reasonableness of its decision. Indeed, all

aesthetic requirements arise from the relevant agency’s

dislike — or that of its constituents — for certain visual

features, and preference for others. That the City Council

members heed the reasonable desires of residents to maintain

certain standards establishes that they are acting as voters

expect elected public officials to act. This should not

result in blanket condemnation by the Courts. It is only proper

for a court to intervene when the City impermissibly

crosses the boundaries established by the TCA. See 47 U.S.C.

§ 332(c)(7)(A) and (B).

The Court also declines Kay’s invitation to conclude that

the “real reason” the Council denied his request was due to

hostility toward Kay; to punish him for “fighting-City Hall”;

to punish him for adding 15 additional masts to his structure,'’

to punish him for referring to his litigation with the City as

“cheap theater” in a press interview, etc. While these factors

most certainly did not endear Kay to his neighbors or the

13. Kay claims that after he realized the City was intent on

preventing his commercial operations, he decided to “maximize his

amateur station and experiment with it,” but the City then responded by

changing the law and making it retroactive to render those masts illegal,

after-the-fact. The Court does not accept Kay’s characterization in light

of the record before it.

2la

Appendix A

Council members, as discussed below, the Court believes

there was “substantial evidence contained in a written record”

of valid aesthetic reasons for denying Kay’s request that

would have been sufficient had Kay not already received

permission to have the five mast structure. As noted above,

however, the Court believes it must consider the record as a

whole as it stood at the time Kay applied for CUP 230 -- that

is, with the approval of the five mast structure as it then

existed. When the Court considers that Kay’s five mast

structure had, by the time of the Council’s decision, been

lawfully in place for at least three years,'* the C ity’s purported

concerns are “too little, too late.” What might have justified

denial of either a commercial or amateur application in 1998

cannot justify denial when that same structure has been

accepted, however grudgingly, by the community for at least

three years. (As one planning commissioner noted, there are

other methods of code enforcement that may be available to

address these matters.) These reasons are not sufficient today

to justify removal of three antennas.

Kay contends that the foliage (and the degree to which

it does or does not address the City’s aesthetic concerns) is

the same regardless of whether the lawful five mast structure

transmits and receives amateur or commercial frequencies.

Kay is correct. There is no indication in the record that the

foliage existing at the time Kay’s five mast structure was

found to be exempt had died or otherwise changed. In the

absence of such evidence, the record does not contain

“substantial evidence” to support the Council’s finding. (Even

SS --—-s —_————

14. As previously indicated, it is not clear when the five mast

structure was erected, but it was no fewer than three years before the

Council Resolution and two years before the PC Resolution.

22a

Appendix A

with such evidence, the more appropriate remedy might have

been a condition that it be replaced considering that the five

mast structure was exempt.)

There is no indication, either in the record or the City’s

Trial Brief, of what the Council meant by “intensification of

use” -- at least as it would relate to any visual impact different

from that existing in June 1999, when the City confirmed

that Kay’s five mast structure was exempt. This finding is

vague and unsupported.

There is no evidence concerning which specific “health,

safety and welfare” concerns would mandate removing three

of five antennas, especially when the record evidences no

concerns on these subjects raised during the previous several

years. To the extent that those concerns relate merely to

changing frequencies, the City apparently concedes its

inability to regulate in this area. See AR 5:84:1337-38

[Section SC}.

As to “balancing the aesthetic impact with financial

gain,” there is no explanation in the record as to what

legitimate concerns the City might have been addressing, or

how the balancing might be accomplished. For example, it’s

not clear whether more antennas would be allowed if Kay

could make a /ot of money from them (and therefore his loss

would be great), or if he could make only a small amount

from them (and therefore his loss would be so minimal that

the City’s concerns about aesthetics would weigh in the City’s

favor). In any event, considering that the aesthetics, such as

they were, had already been in place for years, there is no

particular logic in allowing the City to change the rules as to

23a

Appendix A

existing lawful antennas simply because Kay now might

profit from those antennas. No evidence supports this finding.

The City’s next category of findings relates to Kay’s use

of the residence as an “antenna facil ity.” City’s Trial Brief at

18. This concern is closely tied with the City’s third category:

that Kay lied when he stated that he did not use his exterior

antennas for commercial use. City’s Trial Brief at 19. Notably,

Section 2 of the Council Resolution focuses on Kay's

commercial use and lack of credibility. AR 5:84:1335

[Section 2]. Despite the amount of space devoted to this issue

in the briefs -- and Kay’s vehement protestations of honesty,

supported mostly by his own declarations, this Court is unable

to conclude whether Kay has always been open and honest”

with the City with regard to when his commercial use began.

_As indicated previously, however, the Court cannot find any

legal support for denying Kay’s application, even if he had

intentionally misled the City on this issue.

The Court therefore finds the Council Resolution

requiring Kay to remove three of his five existing antennas

is not supported by “substantial evidence contained in a

written record.”

B. The Improper CUP Decision Warrants A Writ of

Mandate Under California Code of Civil

Procedure § 1094.5.

Review of planning commission proceedings regarding

a conditional use permit is appropriate under Code of Civil

Procedure section 1094.5. Scott v. City of Indian Wells, 6

Cal. 3d 541, 546 (1972). As with the TCA, the standard of

24a

Appendix A

review is “whether substantial evidence supports the

administrative agency’s findings and whether the findings

support the agency’s decision ... in light of the whole

record.” Topanga Assn. for a Scenic Community v. County

of Los Angeles, 11 Cal. 3d 506, 514-15 (1974).

Therefore, for the reasons described above, a writ of

mandate shail issue requiring that the City permit commercial

use of Kay’s five mast antenna structure subject to appropriate

conditions.

C. Kay Has Not Established That His Constitutional

Rights Have Been Violated.

1. Kay Has Not Proved a Violation of His Right

to Substantive Due Process

Assuming arguendo that Kay has a constitutional basis

for his claim,'> Kay is cofrect that substantive due process

may be violated where a municipal body acts arbitrarily or

irrationally in making its decisions. See Airtouch Cellular,

83 F. Supp. 2d at 1170 (the principle of substantive due

15. The City objects to Kay’s substantive due process claim on

the grounds that any argument that the City Council retaliated against

him for exercising his First Amendment rights preempts a substantive

due process claim. As the Court rejects Kay’s substantive due process

claim on other grounds, it need not reach the issue.

For the same reason, the Court need not determine whether Kay

seeks constitutional rec -ss for property infringement generally, for which

there is aconstitution !ly protected right, or only for his CUP permit for

commercial antennas, for which the City argues there is not.

25a

Appendix A

process assures property owners of the right to be free

from arbitrary or irrational zoning actions); Omnipoint

Communications, Inc. v. Penn Forest Tp., 42 F. Supp. 2d

493, 508 (M.D. Pa. 1999) (substantive due process violation

may occur if the zoning authorities are “motivated by ‘bias,

bad faith, improper motive, racial animus, or the existence

of artisan political or personal reasons””’).

Kay points to comments of City planning commissioners,

the City Attorney and City Council members that allegedly

demonstrate a lack of fairness.

Kay first points to Planning Commissioner Long’s

statements: “I mean my inclination is if we have to allow

commercial structures all over the roof, and face more people

who come in like this guy and Abrams who lie to us and tell

us that they are ham radio buffs and they are really

commercial operators, my inclination would be to just deny

all the applications and tell them all to go to hell and let

them sue us.” AR 2:42:358. City Attorney Lynch responded:

“Which undoubtedly will happen. OK. I will be quiet now.

I have said this every way I can think of.” /d.

Commissioner Long’s statement appears to be a reaction

to the Abrams decision, which was clearly unpopular with

the Commission and City Council. Commissioner Long’s

comment is not at all irrational in light of the potential impact

of Abrams. While Congress made clear in the TCA that it

wished to reserve to local agencies the right to make aesthetic

decisions when presented with applications for commercial

antenna use, 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7)(A), PRB-1 makes clear

that governments must consider the great benefits conferred

26a

Appendix A

on the public by amateur radio operators when considering their

applications. PRB-1 at 4 10. This provision may allow those in

the telecommunications business to avoid a certain degree of

regulation by purporting to erect amateur antennas while fully

intending immediately to convert them to commercial use.

The proliferation of unsightly antennas’® is limited to some

degree by their non-commercial use. There simply is a limit to

how many antennas (or how high an antenna) one residence

needs (or would want) for amateur use. If one is able to make

money from antennas, however -- SO much money that it makes

economic sense to buy a home in a well-to-do residential

neighborhood to be used simply as a structure on which to place

antennas -- “the sky is the limit,” so to speak. It was not irrational

for the commissioners to fear that Abrams, coupled with the

willingness of applicants to “misrepresent” their intentions

(or legitimately change their minds), would effectively sera

Congress’ recognized intention to preserve the ability of loca

governments to address the aesthetic concerns of the vast

majority of their citizens.

Elsewhere, Kay objects to Council ge 908 ee

ment in response to the arguments of one © ay’s

meemeaiuen: T've heard enough snake oil.” AR 4:69: 1003.

It’s not clear from the record to what this referred, but it may

have been the obviously troublesome position taken by Kay S

counsel that Kay could place “10, 20, 30” or a virtually unlimited

number of amateur use antennas on his roof so long as each

was under 12 feet tall. AR 4:69:1001.

16. The Court assumes there’s no real dispute that such antennas

are rarely considered a positive addition to a residential neighborhood.

27a

Appendix A

Later, Gardiner discusses the concept of “substantial

evidence” and that it is expected that legislators will consider

the views of their constituents, and states: “I think we have a

right under the Telecommunications Act to simply say take

the stuff off the exterior. Now if you want to put inside [sic],

that’s your choice. If you want to find greener pastures. That’s

your choice, but I believe we can say take the antennas off

the exterior of the house... . So | would say that we have a

basis, a reasonable basis, for saying take all the antennas off

the roof.” AR 4:75:1139. This was not a totally unreasonable

interpretation of the TCA in light of section 7(A) and the

substantial circuit authority upholding the ability of local

government to regulate aesthetics, and does not prove

irrationality, bias, or punitive intent.

Finally, Council Member Clark stated: “Well, I'll tell

you the difficulty I have with that is, this is a residential

community. It’s a residentially zoned community and quite

frankly, this ruse by Mr. Kay with the City doesn’t fly with

me one iota. And by the way, I’m not impressed with his

comments to the press, that he considers this cheap theater

.... If you think that impresses the Council, it doesn’t.”

AR 4:75:1126. Mayor Pro Tern Stern follows this remark

with: “We are. We are, Larry.” /d.

Council Member Clark frankly stated his appropriate

concerns for maintaining the residential nature of the

community. These are precisely the concerns relegated to

local governments under the TCA and the case law

interpreting it. Clearly, Council Member Clark did not believe

Kay had been honest with the City. The Council’s concerns

with Kay’s veracity in this regard have a substantial basis in

28a

Appendix A

fact.'’? The Court concludes, based on the record, that the

belief of the commissioners and council members that Kay

had intended to use his antennas for commercial purposes as

early as the date on which he applied for amateur use was

reasonable. Their concerns in that regard were not irrational,

nor did they arise from bias. The concerns arose from the

information before the Council members. While attempting

to rebut “unfounded attacks on [his] credibility, Kay made

clear his long existing interest in commercial use. He has

been active in the telecommunications industry since 1973.

AR 4:76:1160 (Applicant James A. Kay, Jr.’s Supplemental

Declaration and Exhibits in Support of Conditional Use

Permit). Kay has operated telecommunications businesses

since 1977. /d. These businesses specialize in, inter alia, sales

of air tame for two way radio systems. He has transmission

facilities throughout Southern California. /d. “Shortly” after

purchasing the Indian Peak residence, Kay placed three

additional antennas on his roof (for a total of five). Kay's

Opening Brief at 7. In December 1994 he signed a letter that

would have authorized the Getty Trust to broadcast from his

residence. AR 4:76:1182. Kay leased space on his indoor

antennas to at least two businesses. AR 4:76:1161. At the

time he was applying for CUP 230, Kay had “a large number

of pending commercial applications with the FCC.” Id. Most

of the applications sought permission to broadcast from the

—— =>

17. The Court distinguishes the question of whether Kay was

truthful concerning the date on which he began commercial

operations, and whether those operations were inside the house or

outside, from the question of whether Kay misrepresented his

intentions when he stated he intended to use the additional antennas

for amateur purposes. It is this latter subject that Long and Clark

appear to be addressing.

Pe ae

29a

Appendix A

Indian Peak property as well as other locations. /d.

He admitted he might want to use the Indian Peak property

for those licenses. /d. Kay contends he purchased the Indian

Peak property as a “second residence” and has been fixing it

up, but it is unquestioned that no one has lived at the residence

since its purchase by Kay. Kay’s representative admitted at

the November 13, 2001 public hearing that Kay wanted all

20 antennas to remain on the roof for commercial use.

AR 1:39:236-37.

With respect to the comments of City Council members,'*

Kay bases his due process claim on allegations unsupported

by the record. For example, Kay baldly alleges that City

officials “allowed Kay’s legal acts and statements to provoke

them into abusing their powers, to the point that they ignored

advice from experienced City planners and their own City

Attorney (and Judge Wilson’s ruling Abrams) in their drive

to retaliate against Kay.” Kay’s Opening Brief at 36-37.

However, the other statements by City Council members

suggest an ongoing debate over the merits of Kay’s

application rather than any arbitrary or irrational animus

toward Kay. City Council Member Gardiner attempted to

determine what the City Council’s obligations were under

18. Kay has cited only isolated statements of City officials to

substantiate his claim of due process violations. This Court agrees

that the City Council’s decision on Kay’s CUP application, not the

Planning Commission's decision, is under review. Regardless of

whether planning commissioners are agents of the City, the comments

of Commissioner Long, or any other commissioner, are irrelevant to

the question of whether the City Council’s decision-making process

violated Kay's right to substantive due process. Even if the Court

considered all the comments identified by Kay, the result would be

the same.

30a

Appendix A

the TCA, AR 4:75:1139, while Council Member Clark voiced

concerns about maintaining the residential character of the

neighborhood. AR 4:75:1126. Instead of arbitrary action, the

City Council membérs’ comments evidence serious

deliberation as they discuss reasons Kay’s permit application

should or should not be granted. Surely, the City Council

has a right to debate the merits of Kay’s permit application

without running afoul of substantive due process.

Elsewhere, Kay insists that the City commissioners and

Council members decided Kay was a liar, based on false

assumptions about alleged Getty Trust operations, and

thereafter treated him with contempt, precluding any chance

of a fair assessment of his antenna application. See AR

4:75:1129. The City Council did indeed debate whether Kay

had a contract with the Getty Trust. AR 4:75 1129. Nothing

in the record, however, rises to the level of treating him with

“contempt” or establishes that council members formed any

irrational hostility toward him based on these assertions. The

City continues to contend that, in November I 995, the FCC

issued the Getty Trust a license to use Kay's antennas for

business purposes. It further contends the Getty Trust was

licensed to use antennas on Kay’s property and began using

those antennas on November 27, 1995 to transmit on

frequencies licensed to use antennas for commercial mobile

radio services, including the 852.9625 MHz frequency which

Kay expressly authorized. Kay initially submitted a swom

declaration to the City saying that “The Getty Trust obtained

an FCC license to transmit on commercial frequencies

from my location without my knowledge or permission.

3ia

Appendix A

AR 2:56:434 [lines 6-7].'° Kay opined that “Getty must

simply have been told by a “radio industry professional .. .

of [his] home and radio transmitters located in Rancho Palos

Verdes.” /d. Later, Kay’s counsel admitted to the City Council

that Kay gave Getty permission to list Kay’s property as a

site on Getty’s application for a commercial license.

AR 5:83:1305. Indeed, the December 7, 1994 letter

establishes that Kay had business discussions with Getty that

could potentially have resulted in a lucrative business

arrangement. The Court is skeptical, to say the least, that

Kay, who clearly was interested in making money from the

use of his antennas, would have forgotten he had entered

into such an agreement with such a well-known entity as the

Getty Trust. Indeed, it is not clear to this Court even now,

after extensive briefing and discussion by both parties,

precisely what commercial arrangements Kay actually had

with Getty at any particular point in time. The City was

justifiably skeptical about Kay’s veracity concerning his

actual and intended use of the property. -

Moreover, as the City notes, other statements by these

same Council members demonstrate fairness and

professionalism toward Kay. On the last night of the public

hearing, for example, Council Member Gardiner stated the

matter should be continued until the City Council has had

“a fair chance” to look at Kay’s submissions in order for the

19. The City contends that Kay’s alleged lies about commercial

use of the antennas is dispositive. The Court disagrees. The Court

concludes there was “substantial evidence” in the record to suggest

that Kay had lied. Therefore, if the City’s position were legally

correct, the Court would uphold the CUP. (The Court is not making

a finding as to whether Kay actually did lie about this issue.)

32a

Appendix A

decision-making process “to be absolutely fair.” AR

5:83:1309. Elsewhere, Council Member Clark stated that his

goal was to permit Kay to use the two antennas on his roof

as he sought fit, while maintaining the residential character

of the neighborhood. AR §:83:1319. Mayor Pro Tem Stern

stated that while he was troubled by Kay’s candor, his

decision “turns on other factors” as well. AR 5:83:1316.

As further evidence of the extent to which City officials

respected Kay’s rights, Kay’s own representative thanked the

City’s planning staff and praised them as “consummate

professionals.” AR 4:69:1003. While Kay dismisses these

comments as “perfunctory professionalism” that does not

waive Kay’s right to object to the City’s “arbitrary and

irrational acts,” Reply at 15, the Court sees them as some

evidence that Kay’s substantive due process rights were not

violated. Kay simply has not proven to this Court that the

Council’s actions rose to the level of a substantive due process

violation.

2. The City Did Not Violate the Equal Protection

Clause.

The Equal Protection Clause mandates: “No State shall

_.. deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws.” U.S. CONST. amend. XIV, § 1.

Kay admits he is not a member of 4 suspect class.

Therefore, as long as the City has a “rational basis a

the equa

creating a classification, ... the law passes :

protection test.” Watson v. Proctor, 161 F.3d 593, 599 (9"

Cir. 1998).

33a

Appendix A

Kay’s first equal protection claim is that he was treated

differently from Abrams, who was allegedly similarly

situated. As the City notes, it was vehemently opposed to

granting Abrams commercial use of his antenna. The Court

doubts an equal protection claim can be based on an

involuntary, court ordered action. In any event, the Court

finds Kay and Abrams arc not sufficiently similarly situated

to compel a finding of an equal protection violation. Kay

himself argues that his situation.is different from Abrams’.

He, contends: “Kay’s [antenna] arguably had /ess of a visual

impact than Abrams’ ....” The Court agrees there is a

difference in visual impact - and therefore, a difference

between Abrams’ situation and Kay’s. Whether the impact is

greater or less is not for Kay -- or for this Court -- to decide.

As is by now obvious, Kay and Abrams think in terms of

antenna use, while the City properly considers aesthetics. A

five (or 20) mast structure is not aesthetically equivalent to

a 52.5 foot tower. More importantly, the City notes that -

Abrams apparently lives in his residence while Kay does not.

As discussed previously, there is substantial evidence

supporting the City’s conclusion that Kay purchased his

residence simply to use it as an unoccupied base for his

antenna business.

Kay has not proven that he is similarly situated to

Abrams.

34a

Appendix A

3. Ordinance 374U Does Not Constitute A Bill

Of Attainder Or Ex Post Facto Law; Its

Passage Does Not Violate Kay’s Equal

Protection Rights.

The parties agree 374U was a reaction to, and designed

to address, Judge Wilson’s ruling in Abrams.”° Specifically,

374U prohibits the installation of more than one vertical mast

per amateur rooftop antenna structure. AR 3:64:641. Kay

argues that the City adopted 374U as an “urgency” measure

to affect the appeal pending on Kay’s CUP application, which

was then scheduled to be heard in a few days. AR 3:66:737.

Had the City adopted the amendment in the ordinary course

of business, 374U would not have applied to Kay’s CUP

application. Kay contends at, assuming the ruling in Abrams

applied to Kay, the City “arguably would have been forced”

to grant Kay’s application as to his entire 20 mast antenna

structure (not just the five mast antenna structure), subject —

to reasonable conditions. Kay’s Opening Brief at 39.

Although the new “urgency ordinance” banned the

installation of all multiple antenna mast structures without

first obtaining a permit, it “grandfathered” in all existing

antenna structures — except those erected after June 1, 2001.

AR :64:0641 [Section 3]. Based on sworn testimony of both

Senior Planner Fox and Director of Planning Rojas, Kay is

the only Rancho Palos Verdes homeowner who erected or

modified his antenna structure after that date, i.e., both the

“urgency” nature of 374U and the retroactive provision were

20. Though Kay refers to the ordinance as “eviscerating” the

ruling, there is nothing inherently wrong in the City passing an

ordinance in an attempt to address the impact of a court’s ruling.

35a

Appendix A

pore} solely at Kay. (Fox Depo., Kay’s Opening Brief, Exh

, at 91:14 to 92:15; Rojas Depo., Kay’s Opening Bri , ,

E, at 119:7 to 120:7.) tet

a. Bill of Attainder

The Constitution provides that “[n]o Bill of Attainder

or ex post facto Law shall be passed.” U.S. CONST. ART. I

§ 9, cl. 3. A bill of attainder is “a law that legislatively

determines guilt and inflicts punishment upon an identifiable

individual without provision of the protections of a judicial

trial.” SeaRiver Mar. Fin. Holdings, Inc. v. Mineta, 309 F.3d

662, 668 (9" Cir. 2002), quoting Nixon v. Adm'r of Gen.

tg ee U.S. 425, a (1977). “A statute that singles out

iduals or groups by targeti

a bill of attainder.” Id. 2 a

“Three key features brand a statute a bill of attainder:

that the statute (1) specifies the affected persons, and

(2) inflicts punishment (3) without a judicial trial.” /d. at

668. “Only the clearest proof suffices to establish the

unconstitutionality of a statute as a bill of attainder.” /d. at

669. Only the first two factors need be discussed here.

The Ninth Circuit has established four non-exclusive

guideposts “to aid in determining whether legislation singles

out a person or class within the meaning of the Bill of

Attainder Clause.” /d. Courts must evaluate (1) whether the

statute or provision explicitly names the individual or class

or instead describes the affected population in terms of

general applicability; (2) whether the identity of the

individual or class was easily ascertainable when the

36a

Appendix A

legislation was passed; (3) whether the legislation defines

the individual or class by past conduct that operates only as

a designation of particular persons, and (4) whether the past

conduct defining the affected individual consists of

irrevocable acts committed by them. /d. No single factor is

dispositive. /d.

Cle rly 374U does not name Kay, but the class of persons

affected by it would be “easily ascertainable”: it is those City

residents who erected certain types of rooftop antennas after

June 1, 2001. It appears Kay was the only Rancho Palos

Verdes homeowner in this group (though there are others who

might have been affected if an earlier date had been chosen).

The ordinance was passed in response to the Abrams decision

and was deemed “urgent” specifically because of Kay’s

pending application. The City acknowledges that 374U was

intended to apply to Kay’s additional antennas. See AR

3:64:642; City’s Trial Brief at 11-12.

The “past conduct” factor supports a finding of

specificity when the date in the challenged statute targets an

individual on the basis of a past act that others had not

committed as of the date the statute was passed. /d. Courts

may also consider the future potential of the statute to

“encompass a larger class than the individual or group

allegedly targeted.” Jd. That 374U will apply to every future

homeowner wishing to erect amateur antennas detracts from

Kay’s specificity argument. SeaRiver, 309 F.3d at 671. Indeed,

although Kay apparently was the only person then affected

by 374U, its clear purpose was to address the very concerns

the city had raised before Judge Wilson, and that

Commissioner Long identified, AR 2:42:358, i.e., that

37a

Appendix A

individuals would falsely claim to want antennas for amateur

use as a means to avoid restrictions or denials of commercial

permit applications.

Finally, the Court must consider whether the challenged

statute “defines the specific class of persons affected by the

‘irreversible acts committed by them.’” SeaRiver, 309 F.3d

at 671 (internal citation and quotations omitted). Clearly no

irreversible acts are involved here. Though no single factor

is dispositive, the Court finds the “reversibility” of the

conduct at issue to be a compelling factor favoring a finding

of non-specificity. The Court need not decide the issue,

however, as it concludes 374U does not inflict punishment.

A statute must inflict punishment in order to constitute

a bill of attainder. SeaRiver, 309 F.3d at 673. In determining

whether a statute inflicts punishment, courts must evaluate:

(i) whether the challenged statute fails within the historical

meaning of legislative punishment; (2) whether the statute,

viewed in terms of the type and severity of burdens imposed,

reasonably can be said to further non-punitive legislative

purposes; and (3) whether the legislative record evinces a

congressional intent to punish. /d. Courts may also consider

“whether less burdensome alternatives would have achieved

the same non-punitive purpose.” /d. statute need not satisfy

all of these factors to constitute a bi’ of attainder. Jd.

Traditionally, bills of attainder sentenced the targeted

individual to death, imprisonment, banishment, punitive

confiscation of property, or otherwise erected a bar against

employment or participation in specified vocations. /d.

Kay argues that 374U falls within the historical meaning of

NS

38a

Appendix A

legislative punishment because it represents a punitive

confiscation of property. Reply at 17. ‘Th« City contends

(1) economic loss does not fall within the historical meaning

of legislative punishment and (2) 374U’s limit on the number

of amateur antennas cannot by definition amount to punitive

confiscation. City’s Trial Brief at 38-39. The Court agrees

with the City.

Because the Ordinance does not provide for actual

confiscation, Kay must necessarily rely on a theory that

equates confiscation with economic loss. But, economic loss

occurs only when Kay does exactly what the City accuses

him of doing: constructing antennas allegedly for amateur

use, while fully intending to use them for commercial

purposes. If the Court takes Kay at his word, there can be no

economic loss. In any event economic loss alone is not

coterminous with punitive confiscation of property. Fresno

Rifle and Pistol Club, Inc. v. Van de Kamp, 965 F.2d 723,

728 (9 Cir. 1992); see also Coalition of New Jersey

Sportsmen, Inc. v. Whitman, 44 F. Supp. 2d 666, 692 (D.

N.J.) (economic punishment does not fall within the historical

meaning of legislative punishment). ;

Next, the Court inquires whether the challenged statute,

“viewed in terms of the type and severity of burdens imposed,

reasonably can be said to further non-punitive legislative

purposes.” SeaRiver, 309 F.3d at 674. Even if the statute

singles out an individual on the basis of irreversible past

conduct, it cannot be a bill of attainder if it furthers a

non-punitive legislative purpose. Id. Kay alleges that 374U

does not further a non-punitive legislative purpose because

it contains a retroactivity clause that applies only to one

39a

Appendix A

individual. Reply at 18. The City claims that the non-punitive

purpose of 374U is (1) to reduce visual blight that could occur

if individuals erect an unlimited number of amateur antennas

and (2) to control the potential explosion of commercial

antennas in li = tate Tes

mee in light of the Abrams decision. City’s Trial Brief

Although 374U singles Kay out on the basis of past

conduct, a quick review of photographs of the Indian Peak

Residence, AR 1:36:212, establishes the non-punitive

legislative purpose of avoiding visual blight. Aesthetic

concerns lie at the root of zoning policy, see Nelson v City

of Selma, 881 F.2d 836, 839 (9" Cir. 1989) (“preservation of

the character and integrity of single-family neighborhoods”

is a legitimate purpose of planning and zoning”), and Ka

does not dispute that a number of his neighbors Psrcersri

that the Property was unsightly and did not conform with

the residential character of the neighborhood. (Kay does

contend, however, that he was in the process of fixing it up.)

Indeed, if Kay had not had the five mast structure on his a

for several years -- lawfully -- this Court would have found

that the City’s aesthetic concerns were justified even as to

those. Moreover, rather than targeting Kay’s property only.

374U addressed the prospective risk of additional

oe mye antennas. In short, this factor supports

indin at 374U f -puniti islati

es urthers a non-punitive legislative

One characteristic of a punitive statute is a legislative

record that evinces an intent to punish. SeaRiver, 309 F.3d at

676. Courts must determine whether the legislative record is

probative of non-punitive intentions or instead evidences an

|; 5) ae st Ania eee

40a -

Appendix A

intention “to pander to an inflamed popular constituency”

and “assume the mantle of judge -- or worse still, lynch mob.”

Id. (citation omitted). Departure from established legislative

procedure may indicate an improper purpose. Id.

Kay claims that numerous hostile remarks directed

toward him and his counsel demonstrate a legislative intent

to punish. Kay’s Opening Brief at 41; Reply at 18. For the

reasons addressed in the discussion of Kay’s substantive due

process claim, the Court disagrees. While the administrative

record reflects a certain degree of hostility toward persons

who claim to be interested in amateur use in order to obtain

permission to erect antennas in residential neighborhoods,

on balance, the record indicates that 374U was enacted with

the non-punitive intention of furthering legitimate planning

goals, rather than the intention of punishing Kay. Similarly,

although Kay describes the conditions imposed as punitive,

the conditions arguably reflect a legitimate attempt to ensure

that Kay’s long vacant property will in future be maintained

in keeping with the residential character of the nei ghborhood.

Thus, the conditions cannot be fairly described as a mere

attempt to “pander to an inflamed popular constituency.”

SeaRiver, 309 F.3d at 676. In short, any hostility toward Kay

reflected in the legislative record is not conclusive evidence

of punitive intent.

In determining whether a legislature sought to inflict

punishment on an individual, courts also find it useful to

“inquire into the existence of less burdensome alternatives

by which [the agency] could have achieved its legitimate

nonpunitive objectives.” /d. at 677, quoting Nixon, 433 US.

at 482. Here the City Council certainly could have chosen a

4la

Appendix A

date other than June 1, 2001 for application of the

retroactivity provision, or otherwise increased the number

of permissible antennas. Nevertheless, the City Council’s

decision appears to be rational and commensurate with its

legitimate non-punitive goals. Therefore, the Court wil]

decline to assume the mantle of the legislature in

determining the date that a statute must take effect, or in

framing and quantifying the class that th islati

iSsi e legislat

permissibly affect.” /d. at 678. a ay

Because 374U does not inflict punishment, the Court

finds it is not a bill of attainder.

b. Ex Post Facto

To determine whether a statute is an ex post facto law

courts must first “ascertain whether the legislature meant the

statute to establish civil proceedings” Smith v. Doe, 538 U.S

84, 92 (2003) (citation and quotation marks omitted). If the

legislature intended to impose punishment, then the inquiry

is finished. /d. If, however, the legislature intended to “enact

a regulatory scheme that is civil and nonpunitive,” courts

must “further examine whether the statutory scheme is so

punitive either in purpose or effect as to negate [the

legislature’) intention to deem it civil.” /d. (citation and

quotation marks omitted). Because courts must ordinarily

defer to the legislature’s stated intent, “only the clearest proof

will suffice to override legislative intent and transform what

has been denominated a civil remedy into a criminal penalty.”

/d. (citation and quotation marks omitted). |

tS al, die a

>. *

io. meee

oy

42a

Appendix A

To determine whether a statutory scheme is civil or

criminal, courts “must first ask whether the legislature, in

establishing the penalizing mechanism, indicated either

expressly or impliedly a preference for one label or the other.”

Id. at 93 (citation and quotation marks omitted). Courts

should begin by examining the statute’s text and structure,

but “[o]ther formal attributes of a legislative enactment, such

as the manner of its codification or the enforcement

procedures it establishes, are probative of the legislature’s

intent.” /d. at 94.

The City alleges that 374U is not an ex post facto law

because the City Council’s intention was to enact a civil

non-punitive statute. City’s Trial Brief at 43. Kay does not

specifically address this issue. See Kay’s Opening Brief at

42; Reply at 18-19.

The Rancho Palos Verdes City Council expressed its

legislative intent in the text of 374U itself. See AR 3:64:642.

The Council noted that the Abrams decision established

“judicial precedent that could be used to allow the current

exemption for certain amateur antennae to be used by

individuals seeking to make commercial use of those

antennae and profit thereby by adding more antennae and

support structures on residential structures to the detriment

of the surrounding residential neighborhoods and the public

health, safety and welfare.” /d. The ordinance explains that

“(t]o avoid the substantial delay ... and the corresponding

adverse impacts to the public health, safety and welfare of

the City’s residents and the general public, . . . it is necessary

for this ordinance to become effective immediately.” /d. The

text also suggests that retroactive application would ensure

ES ORE OI EI PA TN RE SN CTU OR Gt PA IEE Se ESET ERE AO TONITE ET OR RAEN TES ow

43a

Appendix A

“that the current exemption cannot be misused by individuals

seeking to make commercial use of amateur antennae

especially since one such application currently is pending

before the City... .” /d. Thus, the text of 374U reflects the

intent to deal rationally with a public policy concern, and

[nJothing on the face of the statute suggests that the

po my sought to create anything other than a civil

scheme designed to protect the publi ” Smith,

538 U.S. at 93 para aan a

Kay attempts to cast doubt on the non-punitive character

of 374U by pointing out that any violation of the municipal

code may be punished by criminal prosecution. Kay’s

Opening Brief at 42. Specifically, Section 1.08.010 of the

RPVMC provides: “[a]ny person violating the Code is guilty

ofa misdemeanor, unless the violation or failure to comply

is expressly stated by [the] Code to be an infraciion or is

subsequently prosecuted as an infraction in the discretion of

the city attorney. . . .” 374U itself, however, does not provide

for any procedures associated with the criminal process, nor

does it establish penalties for noncompliance. See AR

3:64:641. The (remote) possibility that Kay could be

criminally prosecuted for failure .o comply does not render

374U 4 criminal law. See Smith, 538 U.S. at 96 (“Invoking

the criminal process in aid of a statutory regime does not

render the statutory scheme itself punitive.”).

In analyzing the effect of a challenged statute, courts

examine whether the sanction: (i) involves an affirmative

disability or restraint; (2) has historically been regarded as a

punishment; (3) comes into play only on a finding of scienter:

(4) promotes the traditional aims of punishment (retribution

it

44a

Appendix A

and deterrence); (5) applies to behavior which is already a

crime; (6) has a rational connection to a non-punitive

purpose; or (7) is excessive with respect to this purpose. Id.

at 97; citing Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez, 372 U.S. 144,

168-69 (1963). These factors are “neither exhaustive nor

dispositive.” /d. (citation omitted).

Misdemeanor charges for violation of local zoning

ordinances have not historically been regarded as punishment.

See SeaRiver, 309 F.3d at 673 (historical punishments include

death, imprisonment, banishment, punitive confiscation of

property, and bars to employment). In any event, it is clear

from the record that Kay has regularly been in violation of

various ordinances of the Rancho Palos Verdes Municipal

Code. There is no suggestion that Kay or anyone else has

ever had such a violation treated as a misdemeanor.

The statutory scheme does not impose any affirmative

disability or restraint. See Smith, 538 U.S. at 99-100 (“If the

disability or restraint is minor and indirect, its effects are

unlikely to be punitive.”). Although the possibility of criminal

prosecution may prevent City residents from violating 374U,

374U does not reasonably have the effect of promoting the

traditional aims of punishment. See Smith, 538 U.S. at 102.

The ordinance does not prohibit behavior that is already a

crime or otherwise require a finding of scienter. See AR

3:64:641. Most significantly, however, 374U has a rational

connection to a non-punitive purpose, namely the prevention

of the proliferation of antennas in the City of Rancho Palos

Verdes. See AR 3:64:642; see also Smith, 538 U.S. at 102-03

(a rational connection to a nonpunitive purpose is the most

significant factor for determination that a statute’s effects

10 ep ee he

EE ti ee ee ee a "

OEE PGE BAAS AG POORER

45a

Appendix A

are non-punitive). Finally, possible misdemeanor charges for

violation do not constitute an excessive punishment in light

of 374U’s nonpunitive goals. See AR 3:64:642.

In passing 374U, the intent of the Rancho Palos Verdes

Council appears to have been to create a civil, non-punitive

regime. Kay has failed to show by the “clearest proof” that

the statute’s effect is so punitive as to negate the City

Council’s intent to establish a civil regulatory scheme. 374U

therefore, does not violate the Ex Post Facto Clause of the

United States Constitution.

c. Equal Rights

In this permutation of his equal protection argument

Kay contends that he is not the only homeowner whose

rooftop antenna structure fails to meet the requirements of

374U. As the retroactive aspect of 374U applies to his

structure (because of its effective date), he claims he is treated

differently from similarly situated homeowners. To establish

his claim he refers only to photographs attached to the report

of his expert, H. Clark Bell. This photos are inadmissible,

and in any event would not prove his claim. Bell does not

authenticate the photos other than to say that they were

provided during discovery. Although his report mentions

them, it is for another point -- not to establish that the

homeowners are similarly situated to Kay or that their

antennas do not conform to 374u or were in place before

June 2001. Indeed there is nothing in the record from which

the Court could conclude these homeowners were similarly

situated. The pnotos are so poor the Court cannot even be

sure that some of the homes depicted even have radio

antennas, much less similar, non-conforming ones.

ae i

y*

— ww] eS ee eee ™™

46a

Appendix A

Where the plaintiff is not a member of a suspect class, a

statute will not violate equal protection if there is “any

reasonably conceivable state of facts that could provide a

rational basis for the classification.” SeaRiver, 390 F.3d at

679, quoting FCC v. Beach Communications, Inc., 508 U.S.

307 (1993). After viewing Kay’s evidence (the photos

provided by the City), the Court perceived an aesthetic

difference among antenna structures. Even if Kay had

established that 374U did not include others similarly

situated, “‘mere underinclusiveness is not fatal to the validity

of a law’ under the Fifth Amendment’s guarantee of equal

protection.” 390 F.3d at 679 (citations omitted). In any event,

that the Council “could have chosen an earlier or later

effective date does not establish an equal protection

violation.” Jd. at 680, quoting United States R.R. Ret. Bd. v.

Fritz, 449 U.S. 166, 179 (1980) (“the fact the line might

have been drawn differently at some points is a matter for

legislative rather than judicial discretion”).

The City has not violated the Equal Protection Clause.

d. Kay’s “Taking” Claim Is Not Ripe.

The “taking” clause of the Fifth Amendment provides:

“(njor shall private property be taken for public use, without

just compensation.” U.S. CONST. amend. V. The purpose of

the clause is “to bar Government from forcing some people

alone to bear public burdens which, in all fairness and justice,

should be borne by the public as a whole.” Armstrong v.

United States, 364 U.S. 40, 49 (1960).

-

2

3

:

;

3

47a

Appendix A F

| Before a challenge to an alleged taking may be brought

in federal court, the claims must satisfy the ripeness

requirement of Williamson County Regional Planning

Comm'n v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985). A challenge

to an alleged regulatory taking is not ripe unless (1) the

government entity charged with implementing the regulations

has reached a final decision regarding the application of the

regulations to the property at issue, and (2) the claimant has

sought “compensation through the procedures the State has

provided for doing so.” /d. at 186, 194. Thus, pursuant to

the second prong of the Williamson test, “if a State provides

an adequate procedure for seeking just compensation, the

property owner cannot claim a violation of the Just

Compensation Clause until it has used the procedure and been

denied just compensation.” /d. at 195. If the state does not

have a “reasonable, certain, and adequate provision for

obtaining compensation” at the time of taking, however, the

claim is instantly ripe. /d. at 194; see also San Remo Hotel v.

City and County of San Francisco, 145 F.3d 1095, 1101-02

(9" Cir. 1998). “A landowner who seeks to sue in federal

court before seeking compensation from the state bears the

burden of establishing that state remedies are inadequate.”

Carson Harbor Village, Ltd. v. City of Carson, 353 F.3d 824,

827 (9" Cir. 2004) (internal quotation marks and citation

omitted).

Kay appears to allege that ripeness is irrelevant because

“ordinary takings cases” are not applicable to the present

situation. Reply at 21. The City alleges that Kay’s taking

claim fails because Kay has not exhausted his state remedy

for seeking just compensation. City’s Trial Brief at 45.

—

48a

Appendix A

Kay has failed to show that he pursued state

administrative or judicial remedies to seek just compensation.

See Reply at 21-22. Although Kay engaged in an extended

series of dealings with the City regarding his CUP

application, see Kay’s Opening Brief at 9-22, Kay has not

alleged that he ever sought compensation or losses resulting

from conditions imposed on the CUP. See Reply at 21-22.

Moreover, Kay has failed to prove, or even allege, that

California lacks an adequate procedure for seeking just

compensation. Id. For that reason, Kay’s taking claim is not

ripe.

5. Kay’s Claim Under PRB-1 Is Premature.

PRB-1 is a Federal Communications Commission

declaratory ruling, providing that “local regulations which

involve placement, screening or height of antennas based on

health, safety or aesthetic considerations must be crafted to

accommodate reasonably amateur communications, and to

represent the minimum practicable regulation to accomplish

the local authority’s legitimate purpose.” /d. at { 25

(emphasis added). PRB-1 preempts only those “local

regulations that operate to preclude amateur communications

_...” PRB-1 4 24 (emphasis added). PRB-1 “promotes the

federal interest in amateur radio operations rather than any

individual operator’s right to erect the antenna of his or her

choice. Howard v. City of Burlingame, 937 F.2d 1376, 1380

(9" Cir. 1991). PRB-1’s reasonable accommodation standard

requires that a municipality (i) consider a resident’s antenna

application, (2) make factual findings, and (3) attempt to

negotiate a satisfactory compromise with the applicant. /d.

Kay admits that the City considered his application and made

49a

Appendix A

factual findings; he objects only to the City’s alleged failure

to negotiate a Satisfactory compromise with him; Kay’s

Opening Brief at 45:16-19. Kay likens his situation to that

of plaintiff in Palmer v. City of Saratoga Springs, 180 F

Supp. 2d 379, 385 (N.D.N.Y. 2001). According to Kay. the

City has disregarded this third prong of the reasonable

accommodation test and instead “engaged ... in a strictly

one-sided negotiation consisting of inflexible demands and

the construction of hoop after hoop .. . to jump through.”

id. In support of his contention, Kay cites the City’s alleged

historical, demonstrable animosity” toward antennas in

general and Kay’s antennas in particular as proof that the

City “would never allow a property owner to have more

rooftop antennae than are exempt under section 17.76.20.”2'

Kay’s Opening Brief at 46:21-27.” ~~

Kay’s objection to the City’s attitude toward antennas is

premature, however, as the City has not ruled on how many

21. Kay’s argument that PRB l ion i

| | -1 preempts this section is

immaterial, as Kay has not yet applied for an amateur antenna permit.

22. Kay cites to a statement in Abrams and “hostili

by the City towards antennae in the Abrams — ace —

for his contention. But Abrams is a different case with different hon

most of which have not been provided to this Court. Even if the

Court considers the few facts provided in the Abrams decision. it

would establish that the City was hostile to a 52.5 foot tower in a

different location. The Court declines to find the City would not act

in good faith in an entirely different situation without giving the City

an Opportunity to act properly. The Court also notes that the testimon

= noe City’s min provided in support of his argument was ao

er this action was filed. Thus the Ci j

to consider that opinion. iaieaaia aiid

50a

Appendix A

amateur antennas Kay may have. The City never prohibited

Kay’s amateur-use antennas because Kay never applied for

an amateur permit for the additional fifteen antennas he seeks

to erect. In fact, the City specifically states in its trial brief

that it would allow Kay at least five amateur antennas should

Kay “avail himself of the procedures set forth. . . for seeking

approval from the Planning Director or the Planning

Commission depending on the height of the proposed

antenna.” Opposition Brief at 47. The City’s Planning

Director has the ability to approve amateur antennas “beyond

the two exempt assemblies,” so long as the proposed antenna

meets specified height requirements. City’s Trial Brief at 48.

Kay’s failure to apply for an amateur antenna permit is

apparently based on his fear that the City’s hostility to him

and his antennas precludes fair adjudication of any

application he might make.

Black letter law typically demands that an individual

seeking judicial review of agency action exhaust all

administrative remedies before seeking relief in a federal

court. See, e.g., Hoeft v. Tucson Unified School District, 967

F.2d 1298, 1302-30 (9th Cir. 1992). In the present case, the

City has explicitly prohibited Kay from erecting more than

two antennas for commercial use. AR 5:84:1340-41

[condition 2]. It has not yet ruled on his amateur antennas.

Kay has not exhausted his administrative remedies.

Kay’s remaining arguments are thus inapposite. Kay

asserts that, although the CUP demands only that Kay remove

“roof-mounted antenna” but permits him to locate as many

antennas inside of his house as he wishes, AR 5:84:1342

[condition 11], interior antennas are far less effective than

Sla

Appendix A

exterior antenna. AR 4:76:1166-67. Kay further notes that

the only possible interior location is the home’s master

bedroom but that Kay was only permitted to broadcast

commercially on the condition that the house be occupied.

If, after applying for an amateur antenna permit, the five

permissible roof-top amateur antenna” (in addition to interior

antenna Kay may choose to have) do not provide Kay with

reasonable accommodation for amateur purposes, he may

then, and only then, appropriately pursue his case in federal

court.

As the City notes, moreover, expert Richter’s testimony

rests on the mistaken premise that the City has already stated

that Kay may have only two amateur antennas. Because this

is not the case, Richter’s testimony that two antennas are

insufficient has no bearing on the present case. In addition,

the aesthetic similarity of amateur and commercial antennas

is not dispositive, as other considerations, such as the health

or safety issues suggested by PRB-1, may direct the City’s

decision. The Court will not attempt to predict on what basis

the City may make its ultimate ruling.

Of course, if the City fails reasonably to accommodate

Kay’s amateur antenna use, once he files an application, the

City may be in violation of PRB-1. The Court will address

that issue, if necessary, when properly presented, rather than

usurp the City’s permit-granting role. Indeed, PRB-1 “does

not contemplate the outright invalidation of city zoning

authority ....” Howard, 937 F.2d at 1380. Barring Kay’s

exhaustion of the remedies, his PRB-1 claim is not ripe for

23. These will now be allowed to remain in accordance with

the instant order.

52a

Appendix A

review. See, e.g., Kinzli v. City of Santa Cruz, 818 F.2d 1449,

1456 (9" Cir. 1987) (plaintiffs’ taking, equal protection and

due process claims were not ripe for review where “the City

has not yet made a final decision regarding the property”);

Shelter Creek Development Corp. v. City of Oxnard, 838 F.2d

375, 379-80 (9" Cir. 1988) (property owners’ takings, equal

protection and due process claims not ripe because the “City

reached no final and authoritative determination as to how

the [zoning] ordinance applied”). The Court simply cannot

determine that the City has violated PRB-1 based on what it

might do according to some unsubstantiated alleged grudge.

In any event, Kay’s requested relief is inappropriate. He

apparently attempts to bootstrap his PRB-1 argument into

an order that the City approve all of his amateur antennas

for commercial use. While that might be the legal effect, if

this Court’s present ruling and the Abrams decision are

correct, thatis an argument for another day with further

briefing. PRB-1, by, its express terms, refers only to amateur

antenna use and does not address commercial use at all.

Insofar as Kay attempts to apply PRB-1 to commercial

antenna, he misapplies the agency ruling. Insofar as Kay

attempts to apply PRB-1 to amateur antenna, he has failed

to exhaust his administrative remedies as required in order

to seek relief in this Court.

D. Remedies Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §§ 1983 and 1988

Kay asks that the Court award him damages pursuant to

42 U.S.C. § 1983 and attorney’s fees pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

§ 1988.

53a

Appendix A

The Ninth Circuit recently held that section 1983 damages

are available for violations of the TCA, Abrams v. City of Rancho

Palos Verdes, 354 F.3d 1094 (9" Cir. 2004), finding that although

“the TCA contains no remedies at all,” awarding section 1983

damages is more consistent with “the presumption in favor of

§ 1983 remedies.” /d. at 1098. Kay may submit his request under

these sections by regularly noticed motion.

V. CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the Court finds there was not

“substantial evidence contained in a written record” to support

the Council Resolution. A writ of mandate will issue compelling

the City Council of the City of Rancho Palos Verdes to issue a

new resolution allowing James A Kay, Jr. to use his five mast

antenna structure for commercial purposes, subject to reasonable

conditions. Kay may seek fees and Costs in a separately noticed

motion.

On all other issues the Court finds in favor of Respondents.

Kay is ordered to submit a proposed Judgment within ten

days of the date of this Opinion and Order. Respondents shall

have ten days to submit any objections to the proposed

Judgment.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated: July 12, 2004

s/ Dale S. Fischer

Dale S. Fischer

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

54a

APPENDIX B — EXCERPTS FROM

CITY OF RANCHO PALOS VERDES

PLANNING COMMISSION MEETINGS

CITY OF RANCHO PALOS VERDES

PLANNING COMMISSION

REGULAR MEETING

NOVEMBER 13, 2001

ITEM NO. 3

CHAIRMAN LYON: Okay, next item is Item Number 3.

COMMISSIONER LONG: When do we get comments from

the public on non-agenda items.

CHAIRMAN LYON: Pardon?

COMMISSIONER PAULSON: Comments from the. ...

COMMISSIONER LONG: Public on non-agenda items.

CHAIRMAN LYON: Oh we covered that already.

COMMISSIONER LONG: Oh we did already?

CHAIRMAN LYON: Yeah, yeah. There were none.

COMMISSIONER LONG: Oh okay, that was it.

COMMISSIONER PAULSON: We were moving fast in the

beginning.

[Laughter]

55a

Appendix B

COMMISSIONER PAULSON: You stepped out of the

room .... ;

[Laughter]

COMMISSIONER LONG: I stepped out the room briefly

so that’s fine. Good.

CHAIRMAN LYON: Okay.

COMMISSIONER LONG: That we’re done startles me.

COMMISSIONER VANNORSDALL: Never leave the

room.

* * *

COMMISSIONER CARTWRIGHT: So it would seem to me

that if we were to narrow our discussion to the five antennas

that were up there when the application was filed, there were

antennas on the second level that, we can certainly discuss

what should happen to those, and then it seems to me that

we need to make certain that the structure looks like and

feels like a single family residence and fits in with the

character of the neighborhood. These other 16 antennas that

are up on the roof, as far as I’m concerned, unless there are

some compelling arguments on the part of the other

Commissioners, I don’t see where they fit into this

application. It seemed to me that that’s a violation of our

Development Code and they should be taken down.

COMMISSIONER LONG: I think we should probably

include a fact-finding in a amended resolution saying what

56a

Appendix B

John just said. I guess to start off, I mean, to maybe go

through, my thought was to go through and maybe we could

take it paragraph by paragraph, starting on page 3 of 9,

Section 1, subparagraphs. It seems to me perhaps we should

have a section A, which would be just what John just said,

that we find that this application applies only to the four

antennas that actually existed and were depicted in

photographs in the application. Am I getting the number

wrong?

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: There’s five.

COMMISSIONER LONG: Five.

SENIOR PLANNER FOX: There were five existing.

COMMISSIONER LONG: Okay, five. The five antennas

that were in the pictures depicted with the application, and

that the other antennas to the extent they were existent on

the property, do not fall within any exemption and are not

the subject of this application. It seems to me we’re going to

want to modify proposed finding A, where it says there is

existing foliage which screens the roof-mounted antennae

from many surrounding residences. I would say, the existing

foliage does not adequately screen the roof-mounted antennae

from many surrounding residences in the neighborhood, and

then, I would say, however, conditioning approval upon

relocation of all antenna facilities, and I would add a sentence

at the end of A, however, conditioning approval upon removal

of all antenna facilities to the interior of the house eliminates

any adverse visual impacts. Let me see.

57a

Appendix B

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: I might Suggest that you go

ahead and allow the two, in that there’s one that looks like a

television antenna remain. Leave those two up there, because

there is an exemption for two of that type of antenna.

COMMISSIONER LONG: Okay, and then maybe we should

also, in the proposed amendment. . .

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: Put everything else inside.

COMMISSIONER LONG: ... that John was talking about

say that, other than those two, the others are not exempt, and

that we’re removing those.

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: And putting them inside, right?

COMMISSIONER LONG: Right. Okay. I would go next to

well, okay, actually C, in approving the subject use at the

subject location, there will be no significant adverse effect

on adjacent property or the permitted use thereof because

the conditions of approval of the project will require

reductions of the existing exterior antenna support structure

and array. It’s a part of the basis of our factual finding. And

C Is going to be the conditions that we’re going to be

imposing. It would seem appropriate to leave all of the other

conditions and findings in place in C.

COMMISSIONER PAULSON: Tom, a question. I have a

question first. City Attorney and staff, if we do what is being

proposed on this specific one, where we’re saying put

everything inside other than two, under the City’s current

Development Code, if they want to put up antennas exterior-

58a

Appendix B

wise, after we were to take such an action, strictly on the

outside, based on an amateur antenna situation, do they have

to come back to the City?

COMMISSIONER LONG: No they’II already have their two,

that’s why Carol made the modification.

* * *

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: I’m sure the three of us will

work together.

CHAIRMAN LYON: And are we going to have it available

to us before our meeting Thursday night.

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: Yes.

COMMISSIONER LONG: I am going to be looking to have

as many conditions as we had for Longpoint. |

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: I’m sorry.

COMMISSIONER LONG: Just kidding. As many conditions

of approval as we had for Longpoint. You know, how many

were there, sixty-three.

CHAIRMAN LYON: More than that.

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: Keep going.

COMMISSIONER LONG: One hundred.

COMMISSIONER PAULSON: It was a hundred.

59a

Appendix B

COMMISSIONER LONG: When the conditions are done

you can deliver both volumes of them to my Office.

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: We can email them.

COMMISSIONER MUELLER: I think as part of those

conditions took, I would like to see that thing on the roof.

that pipe, disappear. I don’t think that’

’ J that’s necessary to

basically two antennas. ——

SENIOR PLANNER FOX: You mean the thi

. . t

like a big dryer vent? e thing that looks

COMMISSIONER MUELLER: Yes. That’

entire array. - #hat's to support the

60a

Appendix B

CITY OF RANCHO PALOS VERDES

PLANNING COMMISSION

ADJOURNED MEETING

NOVEMBER 15, 2001

Adoption of Resolution for Conditional Use

Permit No. 230 and Environmental Assessment No. 744;

26708 Indian Peak Road

CHAIRMAN LYON: I guess there aren’t any comments on

the agenda. This evening there is one item on the agenda.

Unless there is an objection, we'll approve the agenda. Are

there any communications?

DIRECTOR ROJOS: Yes, I'll let Carol handle that.

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: We did pass out this evening a

revised resolution and we provided a redline copy to the

Commission where we made some additional changes today

to the resolution. I have also provided a copy to the

applicant’s representative who is here, and if the other

member of the public would like one, we also have an

additional copy. So, and we passed this out before the

meeting, so we would be asking the Commission to take

action on the revised resolution that was passed out tonight.

CHAIRMAN LYON: Are there any questions from the

Commission? OK, motion to proceed with the consent

calendar items, and do we need a staff report? As far as I’m

concerned, we can waive it.

6la

Appendix B

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: Basically, we attempted to

incorporate the directions that were given by the Commission

at the meeting two nights ago.

CHAIRMAN LYON: And it’s clearly st

ated that that’

we ve got. So, let’s... ' ications

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: We have two speakers.

CHAIRMAN LYON: We have two speakers. I guess the first

item of business, unless there are questions . . .

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: You closed the public hearing

At this point, the public hearing is closed and the speakers

can certainly comment on the text of the resolution, but this

is not reopening consideration of the item. It’s just adoption

of the resolution memorializing the Commission’s actions.

* /~ x

DIRECTOR ROJAS: Two.

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: Two. Which is the garage.

SENIOR PLANNER FOX: The garage would be the required

parking.

CHAIRMAN LYON: I made a comment at some point that

I'd like to use the word “dedicated.”

COMMISSIONER LONG: No I said, yeah, I said

exclusively.

62a

Appendix B

CHAIRMAN LYON: Well exclusively would preclude

anyone else from ever parking in the driveway.

COMMISSIONER LONG: That’s right. That’s. . . .

CHAIRMAN LYON: I have a problem with that.

COMMISSIONER LONG: That’s what it means.

COMMISSIONER PAULSON: I don’t know if you mean

that, Tom.

COMMISSIONER LONG: No, actually, that is exactly what

I mean. Because then they’re being required to maintain two

spaces for the residence, and two spaces for the service

vehicles, so that at no time when the service vehicles are

visiting will they ever have to park on the street.

COMMISSIONER PAULSON: You just qualified your

statement. You said at no time when they are visiting. I m

concerned that when they’re not visiting, you're saying

somebody can’t park their car there.

COMMISSIONER LONG: Well yeah, the concern I have is

that someone will park their car there and... .

COMMISSIONER PAULSON: Then they’re in violation if

they park on the street.

COMMISSIONER LONG: Oh yeah, because it says, all

service vehicles related to maintenance of the commercial

antenna shall be parked off-street. Okay, so then no more

63a

Appendix B

than two service vehicles are allowed in the same time. Two

off-street parkitig spaces. . . .

* * &

COMMISSIONER LONG: Right.

CHAIRMAN LYON: This...

COMMISSIONER LONG: This approval of commercial

antennas in the interior allows two exterior masts because it

has restrictive conditions. In other words, it’s still O.K.

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: I have to say, the more we talk

about this, the more uncomfortable I am with it because it

seems to me that in addition to the. enforcement issue, we

are walking into a potential argument that we are going too

far under the Telecommunications Act and PRB 1 and the

balance that has to go under PRB 1. I hadn’t even thought

about this until now. Under PRB 1, we have to use the least

restrictive means possible to regulate amateur antennas. By

getting into this issue, we are walking into a problem.

COMMISSIONER LONG: Well, but if he is going to sue us

on the grounds that he wants to really use the property for

more amateur antennas. Fine, so be it. Then we will find if

this use maybe really is amateur. I mean my inclination is if

we have to allow commercial structures all over the roof,

and face more people who come in like this guy and Abrams

who lie to us and tell us that they are ham radio buffs and

they are really commercial operators, my inclination would

be to just deny all the applications and tell them all to go to

64a

Appendix B

hell and let them sue us.

[LAUGHTER]

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: Which undoubtedly will

happen. O.K. I will be quiet now. L have said this every way

I can think of, so....

CHAIRMAN LYON: Well, Carol, . ..

COMMISSIONER MUELLER: I’m glad you here to hear

that statement, myself.

CHAIRMAN LYON: Carol, you raised a good point, and

are we doing anything in this paragraph that affects your

position in that regard?

COMMISSIONER PAULSON: She was not addressing this

paragraph. She was addressing the decision, the basic

decision.

ae He tt

CHAIRMAN LYON: O.K. Then why are we not telling Mr.

Kay to locate his antennas up on Abrams’ property?

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: Because, right now, Mr.

Abrams doesn’t have a CUP to operate commercially.

COMMISSIONER LONG: Right. That’s not an available

site. And it won’t be when we get a favorable termination of

his lawsuit. Hopefully.

65a

Appendix B

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: Hopefully.

COMMISSION LONG: But my comment on 9 was almost

going to be, I think B is too vague, “negotiate in good faith.”

I would say, “agree to co-location as reasonably requested

by the City,” if we could do that.

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: Well, the trouble with that is

that there is always an issue about separation and distances

in order to avoid interference and if they show that they can’t

reasonably accommodate the other user, we can’t then require

them to do something that interferes with their own

transmissions.

COMMISSIONER LONG: Well, but that’s why I say, “as

reasonable requested by the City.” In other words, the thought

is “good faith” is kind of a different standard. “Good faith,”

they could say, well, yeah, maybe they could have located an

antenna here, but, you know, we want a lot of money and

they weren’t willing to pay it.

COMMISSIONER PAULSON: Which is part of the

argument for [unintelligible].

COMMISSIONER LONG: Yes. Exactly. And I would kind

of like to modify 9B to say that they will, instead of saying

“negotiate in good faith for shared use by third parties,”

“agree to whatever shared used by third parties is requested

by the City.”

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: I don’t like that.

66a

Appendix B

COMMISSIONER LONG: “Is reasonably requested by the

City.”

CHAIRMAN LYON: Well, we are quoting directly from our

Code using these words, and I think that we shouldn’t deviate

from that.

COMMISSIONER LONG: Then, I will defer.

* * *

PAULSON: See, that’s my concern, I don’t know whether

we have the right to dictate, even in this situation, much of

the appearance of the roof.

CHAIRMAN LYON: I don’t think we need to...

COMMISSIONER PAULSON: We don’t necessarily tell

people to put drapes, curtains, blinds ....

COMMISSIONER LONG: Well, you say we don’t require

it in vacant houses. Do we require, is there anything in the

Building Code. This is not going to be a vacant house.

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: No. There’s no requirement

about...

COMMISSIONER LONG: .. . even when they reside. O.K.

Then fine. We are requiring whatever we are requiring for a

residential house.

67a

Appendix B

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: O.K. So-we take out C. All

right.

C HAIRMAN LYON: I guess I understand the reason why B

is in there, really for the same reason A is in there, but we

don’t really require landscaping in anybody’s front yard.

COMMISSIONER PAULSON: Well, that’s true, but there

is ;

CHAIRMAN LYON: We do, oh, good. I didn’t know.

COMMISSIONER LONG: We are going to go look at your

front yard. Don’t look at mine. I’m having it relandscaped

right now.

CHAIRMAN LYON: Number 19, I suggest, do we say 90

days? I think that’s too stringent. I would suggest 6 months.

Even that is difficult, because we are requiring him to have

either himself or some other person occupying that property

within 6 months.

a

COMMISSIONER PAULSON: Well the planner, Frank, for

the applicant says they will have somebody in the house.

COMMISSIONER LONG: They didn’t ask for six months

to do. I think three months is ample.

CHAIRMAN LYON: What if he wanted to rent?

COMMISSIONER LONG: Well, then he can rent. I mean, I

can’t imagine some...

68a

Appendix B

CHAIRMAN LYON: You can put an add in the paper and ~

put itin...

COMMISSIONER LONG: Given the current rental market,

I don’t think he’ll have any trouble.

COMMISSIONER PAULSON: Well, why does he have to

it in 90 days if he [unintelligible].

COMMISSIONER LONG: And show that he’s...

CHAIRMAN LYON: My question is, is it unreasonable?

That’s my only concern. If it is not unreasonable, then | am

O.K. with it.

SENIOR PLANNER FOX: Their attorney did state last night

on the record that the addition will be done in six weeks.

COMMISSIONER LONG: When did he say that?

SENIOR PLANNER FOX: Tuesday night, on the recerd,

whatever night it was.

CHAIRMAN LYON: And, the second and third line “shall

be occupied by the applicant.” I don’t think so. I think we

want to say “owner.”

SENIOR PLANNER FOX: Well, the owner is the applicant.

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: The owner is the applicant.

69a

Appendix B

CHAIRMAN LYON: Yes. But sometimes, the applicant is

let’s see, an architect, or property manager and, you know,

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: We can say owner.

SENIOR PLANNER FOX: We can say owner.

CHAIRMAN LYON: Just so it is clear.

SENIOR PLANNER FOX: Yes.

CITY ATTORNEY LYNCH: Or someone chosen by the

owner. Let’s change it then to owner.

* * * *

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.