Opposition Brief — Kansas v. Nebraska and Colorado (No. 220126-ORG)

Supreme Court brief2015

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 126, Original

an The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

S

STATE OF KANSAS,

Plaintiff,

v.

STATE OF NEBRASKA

and

STATE OF COLORADO,

Defendants.

%

BRIEF OF THE STATE OF NEBRASKA

IN RESPONSE TO KANSAS’

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE PETITION

a

JON BRUNING

Attorney General of Nebraska

DAVID D. COOKSON

Deputy Attorney General

JUSTIN D. LAVENE

Assistant Attorney General

Counsel of Record

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

2115 State Capitol

Post Office Box 98920

Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8920

(402) 471-2682

Justin.Lavene@nebraska.gov

DONALD G. BLANKENAU

THOMAS R, WILMOTH

Special Assistant Attorneys General

BLANKENAU WILMOTH LLP

206 South 13th Street, Suite 1425

Lincoln, Nebraska 68508-2002

(402) 475-7080

Attorneys for State of Nebraska

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT « 402) 342-2431

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

yr i PF tt gti, , + 4): FRR emonnmtsnrcenn neem iii

TT hsccdsnitsnnicieindineriendsiobatsise a Pe tprate rem aee 1

I. Hydrologic Conditions Following Execution

ee tie tcctatenibind cvlececdnianventenadmeaatsees 2

Il. Nebraska’s Efforts to Ensure Compact

Compliance Leading Up To and Following

LR IAAI Sela RP Dae LAS A force Naas HEA SS

lil. The Positive Results of Nebraska’s Compli-

RS IN rei clog ee eee ee

IV. Kansas’ Demands on Nebraska...................

V. Kansas’ Plans to Finance New Water Projects

with Anticipated Litigation Recoveries.........

VI. The 2008-09 Arbitration ..............0.0.0000.0.0....

Vil. Nebraska Continues Its Efforts to Ensure

COSEEE CCMITERIIGD 2.0 cccnnccscsecccesscsscsecsens

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT .......................

IIE itrtibihieibittnded tee eee

I. Standing Alone, Kansas’ Claims Do Not Mer-

it Exercise of This Court’s Jurisdiction .......

A. Kansas Cannot Recover for “Unjust

Enrichment”; Its Actual Damages are

Se ND si iecccesenandtansecderecempecrcael

B. Kansas’ Demands for Prospective Re-

lief are Not Justiciable.........................

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

II. Nebraska’s Claims Concern Issues Central

to the Purposes of the Compact and Merit

I Oe I TD viicisisttecndedendcnicnnadcanetioten 24

lil. Issues Now Undergoing Arbitration ........... 26

ae RII fsichice hs dasdnchela siecle satcdanissstaacscemiasiininishetians 27

APPENDIX INDEX

PN, ME i cecscetecbumnitaebiaencnmn App. l

Arbitrator’s Final Decision on Legal Issues ....... App. 23

Arbitrator’s Final Decision..............0........::e App. 79

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Arizona v. New Mexico, 425 U.S. 794, 96 S.Ct.

ARENT ANSE het eRe ree ne Oe IS Oe oe 15

California v. Texas, 457 U.S. 164, 102 S.Ct.

RRR i SM OS Rie AO EI BOER a 20

Hall v. Beals, 396 U.S. 45, 90 S.Ct. 200 (1969) ...21, 22

Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305, 108 S.Ct. 592

cB ESOS AER ss Oe CAM de Ne RE A 20

Illinois v. City of Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91, 92

ns I IPG Soh re a eee soma 20

Kansas v. Colorado, 533 U.S. 1, 121 S.Ct. 2023

FER eS, ee eA RON SE AERO RA SR ce eae 16

Kansas v. Colorado, 543 U.S. 86 (2004)...............0..... 19

Louisiana v. Texas, 176 U.S. 1, 20 S.Ct. 251

ERE REREI Re ete Dee el nen RE OAR RE POA 15

Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725, 101 S.Ct.

UN ng rae 15

Mississippi v. Louisiana, 506 U.S. 73, 113 S.Ct.

SVEN xis -denanniit-sic-d ain pademdadesmacaaaadeseetoneiessoeensie eae 16

National Park Hospitality Assn. v. Department

of Interior, 538 U.S. 803, 123 S.Ct. 2026

SE ichetopusciicadunniedbiatabsnnidddncadscnesstendebeocuaianankeonees 22

Renne v. Geary, 501 U.S. 312, 111 S.Ct. 2331

III isss ditcndensaseuionicchpiasicdatiidaage se uhieastenannaina ueniuceminacenie 22

Reno v. Catholic Social Services, Inc., 509 U.S.

i ee Ce I OI sivitrdccrd ccist diekedade'scacenaunvinctiounss 21

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Rescue Army v. Municipal Court, 331 U.S. 549,

of ts BT fy RES TeR eRe ote eee 23

Socialist Labor Party v. Gilligan, 406 U.S. 583,

Ft Ss By fe. - SRRRRIRSUR RAR AP Ra ly sete iecutNneN meer eer 23

South Carolina v. North Carolina, __ U.S. ___

Se nn, I eed asian 16

Spear T Ranch, Inc. v. Knaub, 691 N.W.2d 116

I eee 22

Texas v. New Mexico, 462 U.S. 554, 103 S.Ct.

EE eRe eters SP Dee My NT NUR DLP 16

Texas v. New Mexico, 482 U.S. 124 (1987)........... 10, 19

Wyoming v. Oklahoma, 502 U.S. 437, 112 S.Ct.

+ RRP perso seen Onn gone TE aT ONT 15, 20

FEDERAL REGULATIONS

Se ry te I 5c cacccanstudcussmredinmssndeacuanamenmedans 20

STATUTES

KAN. STAT. ANN. § 82a-1804 (2008)........0...00..... 9, 10, 20

INGER. REV. DEAT. G5 66-701 OF B00. ..20cccccesccccasecscscaccneceese 5

A X_N DE MEE reper 5

NEB. REV. StatT. §§ 46-713 through 46-715 .................. 5

IMR. FEBV. TRA. F 4B 7 LIEN). osc ccciccocsncincsscnssescesssccces 6

eM ROE er ee et 13

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Second Report of the Special Master in Kansas

wy. Colorado, INO. 106, CPIGiROl .....0.cccsccsscesescccccsessees ll

1

STATEMENT

Kansas’ allegations that Nebraska violated this

Court’s 2003 Decree by consuming water in excess of

its allocation under the Republican River Compact

and in contravention of the Final Settlement Stipula-

tion (“FSS”) approved by the Decree, do not merit this

Court’s jurisdiction. Kansas’ recitation of material

facts leading to this action omits essential informa-

tion that exposes the weakness of its claims. In

contrast, Nebraska has raised claims of its own which

reflect Kansas’ persistent efforts to prevent an

accurate accounting of Republican River waters. To

the extent this dispute merits the exercise of this

Court’s jurisdiction, it is Nebraska’s claims that

supply the requisite seriousness and dignity.

Among other things, Kansas neglects to inform

this Court of the outcome of the arbitration it

initiated in 2008 pursuant to Section VII of the FSS

(“Dispute Resolution”). This non-binding arbitration

resulted in a recommended award to Kansas of

$10,000 for the same claims Kansas brings here.

Significantly the arbitrator explained that Kansas

did not provide any evidence it was harmed by

Nebraska’s alleged non-compliance. The arbitration

also revealed that Kansas initiated the arbitration

against Nebraska, basing its hydrologic analysis on

repealed regulations. The Arbitrator also refused to

award any prospective relief, but admonished

Nebraska to do more to constrain its uses in “Water-

Short Years” as defined in the FSS. Nebraska is now

working on a thire generation of regulations to

2

address the Arbitrator’s recommendations. The fact

Kansas’ claims are based on the wrong set of regu-

lations renders moot Kansas’ arbitrated claims, and

Kansas’ present demands for prospective relief are

unripe.

I. HYDROLOGIC CONDITIONS FOLLOWING

EXECUTION OF THE FSS.

The years just before and immediately following

execution of the FSS were marked by severe condi-

tions in the Basin. Declaration of Brian Dunnigan,

Director of the Department of Natural Resources,

attached as App. 1-22 (“Dunnigan Decl.”). These

conditions came on the heels of a period when

groundwater pumping in Nebraska had reached its

apex (i.e., prior to the FSS, when such pumping was

allowed). When the FSS was executed, Nebraska had

to overcome depleted groundwater levels, historically

low stream flows, and reservoirs at historically low

storage levels. Jd.

These difficult hydrologic conditions impacted the

calculated Virgin Water Supply (“VWS”) of the

Republican River and, consequently, the allocations

available to the States under the Compact. Dunnigan

Decl. 9 26, App. 8. The size of a State’s allocation

varies with the calculated VWS, which decreases

during dry years: The smaller the VWS, the smaller

each State’s allocation. Nebraska’s average alloca-

tions for the 2002-2006 period represented the small-

est average allocations for Nebraska since at least

3

1980 and were well below the basic allocation af-

forded Nebraska in the Compact, which in turn were

based on a period that included the Dust Bow! era.

Dunnigan Decl. { 27, Fig. 1, App. 8. The smaller a

State’s allocation, the more difficult it is to comply

with the Compact.

Thus, after execution of the FSS, Nebraska faced

two significant challenges: (1) extreme drought con-

ditions and (2) a declining allocation within which to

limit its consumption. Because they were unprece-

dented in terms of both magnitude and duration,

these conditions posed considerable challenges for

water managers in the Basin. Further complicating

Nebraska’s compliance effort was the fact that

Colorado had consistently overused, on average, ap-

proximately 10,000 acre-feet annually since the FSS

was signed. Dunnigan Decl. 9 28, App. 9. It is within

this context that Nebraska undertook to ensure it

complied with its obligations under the Compact and

the newly instituted FSS.

II. NEBRASKA’S EFFORTS TO ENSURE COM-

PACT COMPLIANCE LEADING UP TO AND

FOLLOWING THE FSS.

Nebraska historically managed consumption of

groundwater and surface water in the State under

separate legal regimes. The Department of Natural

Resources (“DNR”), a state agency, was responsible

for surface water, while local Natural Resources

Districts (“NRDs”) managed groundwater. Dunnigan

Decl. 4 7, App. 2. The FSS demanded management of

4

these regimes be integrated in Nebraska, and

Nebraska responded by overhauling its entire water

management structure.

Nebraska’s efforts to manage hydrologically con-

nected waters actually began before the FSS was

executed. Dunnigan Decl. 4 8-9, App. 2-3. In 1996, the

Legislature passed Legislative Bill (“L.B.”) 108, allow-

ing NRDs to pursue integrated management of hydro-

logically connected groundwater and surface water. In

addition, the NRDs were authorized to develop “joint

action plans” with various water users and DNR for

the integrated management of hydrologically con-

nected groundwater and surface water. Jd. This effort

was initiated immediately, but was ultimately super-

seded by Kansas’ original litigation. Jd. During this

time, a moratorium on the construction of new wells

was applied to all or part of three Republican River

NRDs. The Upper Republican NRD adopted a mora-

torium in 1997; the Middle Republican NRD adopted

a moratorium in June 2002, and the Lower Repub-

lican NRD adopted a moratorium in the area up-

stream of Guide Rock, Nebraska effective on December

9, 2002. Dunnigan Decl. ¥ 10, App. 3.

As the litigation came to a close among the three

States in 2002, the Nebraska Legislature passed L.B.

103 (2002), mandating creation of a Water Policy

Task Force to address further management of hydro-

logically connected water supplies. The 49 member

Task Force provided the Legislature with draft legis-

lation and suggested changes to statutes in December

2003. The Legislature considered the Task Force

i)

recommendations in its 2004 session and passed

L.B. 962 (2004). Dunnigan Decl. 4 12, App. 4. Gover-

nor Mike Johanns signed L.B. 962 into law on April

15, 2004, and it is now codified as part of the

Nebraska Groundwater Management and Protection

Act. NEB. REV. STAT. §§ 46-701 et seg. The law repre-

sented landmark legislation in Nebraska, requiring

integrated management of hydrologically connected

water supplies in river basins to achieve a sustain-

able supply.

The significance of L.B. 962 is reflected in the

findings of the Nebraska Legislature, which recog-

nized hydrologically connected groundwater and sur-

face water would require different management than

waters not so connected. NEB. REv. StTaT. § 46-703(2).

A critical component of L.B. 962 was its requirement

for Integrated Management Plans (“IMPs”) within

areas of the State determined to be “fully” or “over”

appropriated. NEB. REv. STaT. §§ 46-713 through 46-

715. Because the Republican River Basin was deter-

mined to be fully appropriated, IMPs and complemen-

tary rules and regulations implemented by the NRDs

and DNR were instituted to govern the use of

hydrologically connected waters in the Basin. These

initial IMPs contained a blueprint for sustainable

water management in the Basin and charted a course

for Nebraska’s Compact compliance. Dunnigan Decl.

4] 13, App. 4.

The original IMPs lasted from 2005 to 2007 and

required a groundwater pumping reduction of 5%

from the baseline period (1998-2002). Dunnigan Decl.

6

4 14, App. 5. During 2007 and early 2008, DNR, in

conjunction with the NRDs, adopted revisions to the

initial IMPs. Dunnigan Decl. 9 15, App. 5. Together,

these “second generation” IMPs (1) limit each NRD to

its share of Nebraska’s allowable groundwater deple-

tions, and (2) require each NRD to further reduce its

share of the groundwater consumptive use by 20%

from the baseline period. Dunnigan Decl. ¥ 16, App.

5. These additional limitations were needed in part

because of the length and severity of the drought.

Again, the regulatory measures in an IMP must “be

sufficient to ensure that the state will remain in com-

pliance with applicable state and federal laws and

with any applicable interstate water compact or de-

cree. ” NEB. REv. Stat. § 46-715(4)(b) (emphasis

supplied).

Nebraska simultaneously undertook other mea-

sures to ensure compliance with the Compact.

Dunnigan Decl. {{ 29-34, App. 9-10; 43-50, App. 14-

16. From 2006 to 2008, the NRDs and DNR leased a

total of 98,368 acre-feet of surface water from irriga-

tion districts to reduce Nebraska’s consumption un-

der the Compact by 51,614 acre-feet. The total cost

of these surface water leases was approximately

$18,722,500. Dunnigan Decl. 9 30, App. 9. Nebraska

also sought to reduce its consumption by taking

advantage of available federal conservation programs

(e.g., the Environmental Quality Incentives Program

and the Conservation Reserve Enhancement Pro-

gram). Over 48,000 irrigated acres in the Basin were

retired through these programs. Dunnigan Decl. { 31,

App. 9. Nebraska worked to reduce water lost within

7

its borders to non-beneficial uses, and by the end of

2007, Nebraska had cleared over 150 river miles of

invasive vegetation along and in the Republican

River channel and tributaries to help improve water

conveyance to Kansas. The Nebraska Legislature con-

tinued to appropriate funds for additional vegetation

management efforts and more work was (and re-

mains) planned for the future. Dunnigan Decl. { 32,

App. 10.

Ill. THE POSITIVE RESULTS OF NEBRASHKA’S

COMPLIANCE EFFORTS.

Together, these efforts had a tangible, positive

impact on the Basin. DNR has compiled annual

information concerning irrigation levels within the

Basin, and contrary to Kansas’ implications, ground-

water pumping in the Nebraska portion of the Basin

has declined steadily and significantly since the FSS

was executed. Dunnigan Decl. { 33, Fig. 2, App. 10;

contrast KS Brief at 15. These trends show reductions

in the volumes of groundwater pumping for irrigation

throughout the NRDs, continuing even after water

supplies in the Basin began to rebound. Far from

worsening the situation or otherwise “destroying”

Kansas’ interests in the Basin, KS Brief at 21,

Nebraska’s post-FSS management efforts have yielded

positive Compact accounting balances since 2007.

Dunnigan Decl. 4 34, Fig. 3, App. 10. In other words,

there is no dispute Nebraska is in compliance today.

8

IV. KANSAS’ DEMANDS ON NEBRASKA.

On December 19, 2007, Kansas _ accused

Nebraska of violating the FSS and demanded

Nebraska pay damages to be measured by the greater

of Nebraska’s gains or Kansas’ losses. In addition,

Kansas requested a draconian shutdown of wells and

groundwater irrigation in Nebraska within 2% miles

of the Republican River and its tributaries. Dunnigan

Decl. { 35, App. 11.

Nebraska responded by letter on February 4,

2008, reminding Kansas of Nebraska’s earlier stated

concerns over significant accounting errors which

prevent accurate accounting of each State’s calculated

beneficial consumptive use (“CBCU”), a key element

of Compact accounting used to determine Compact

compliance. Dunnigan Decl. { 36, App. 11. Nebraska

asserted the Republican River Compact Administra-

tion (“RRCA”) must first deal with these errors before

compliance could be properly calculated. Nebraska

also communicated concerns over Kansas’ excessive

demands in light of Nebraska’s efforts to maintain

compliance, asserting Kansas’ proposed remedy could

reduce Nebraska’s consumptive use far more aggres-

sively than required under the Compact. Finally,

Nebraska urged Kansas to take a close look at

Nebraska’s second generation IMPs and offered to

meet with Kansas to explain the components and

operation of the newly revised IMPs. Jd.

Nebraska, on February 22, 2008, again urged

Kansas to address the states’ differences at upcoming

9

RRCA meetings in Kansas City. Dunnigan Decl. { 38,

App. 12. At a March 11, 2008 RRCA Special Meeting,

Kansas brought its claim for damages to the RRCA in

the form of a written Resolution containing a demand

for payment from Nebraska. Jd. No background infor-

mation was provided to explain or justify the claim.

In April 2008, Kansas first identified the scope of its

payment demand at over $72,000,000. Dunnigan

Decl. ¢ 39, App. 12. Kansas submitted its Resolution

to the RRCA for a vote at a subsequent Special Meet-

ing on May 16, 2008. That Resolution failed and

Kansas immediately invoked the dispute resolution

process pursuant to Section VII of the FSS. Dunnigan

Decl. 7 40, App. 13.

V. KANSAS’ PLANS TO FINANCE NEW

WATER PROJECTS WITH ANTICIPATED

LITIGATION RECOVERIES.

Meanwhile, as Kansas’ demand was pending, and

before it invoked Arbitration, the Kansas Legislature

passed Senate Bill 89. KAN. Stat. ANN. § 82a-1804

(2008). This legislation created a plan for Kansas to

spend anticipated monetary recoveries from Republi-

can River litigation against Colorado and Nebraska.

The law requires a reload of the Interstate Litigation

Fund, up to $20,000,000. After the fund reaches

$20,000,000, the law assigns one-third of the remain-

ing litigation recoveries to the State Water Plan

Fund. Under the law, any person or entity may apply

for money from this fund, but priority is given to

projects that will help maintain compliance with the

Compact. KAN. STAT. ANN. § 82a-1804 (2008). The

10

remaining two-thirds of any recovery is to be spent on

water conservation in the Lower Republican River

Basin. /d. There is a conspicuous absence of any

funds earmarked for individuals in the Basin who

may have been actually harmed by a lack of water

supply.

VI. THE 2008-09 ARBITRATION.

Section VII of the FSS allows “any matter” to

proceed to non-binding Arbitration when the RRCA

fails to resolve the matter. Non-binding Arbitration

concerning Kansas’ claims and certain other claims

by Nebraska commenced in earnest in October 2008.

Dunnigan Decl. 4 40, App. 13. Arbitrator Karl Dreher,

a former Idaho State Engineer hand-picked by the

three States, bifurcated the Arbitration to deal with

preliminary legal issues before discovery. All legal

issues were fully briefed, and the Arbitrator held an

initial hearing on December 10, 2008 to resolve those

issues.

The Arbitrator phrased one of the issues as fol-

lows: “If Nebraska has violated the Compact or the

consent decree of May 19, 2003, causing damage to

Kansas, is Nebraska subject to remedies for civil con-

tempt of court, including disgorgement of Nebraska’s

gains as monetary sanctions, or should any damages

awarded to Kansas be limited to actual damages suf-

fered by Kansas.” On January 22, 2009, the Arbi-

trator issued his decision rejecting Kansas’ “unjust

enrichment” theory. Grounding his ruling in this

Court’s decision in Texas v. New Mexico, 482 U.S. 124

11

(1987), and the Second Report of the Special Master

in Kansas v. Colorado, No. 105, Original, the Arbi-

trator held damages should be limited to any actual

harm suffered by Kansas. A copy of the Arbitrator’s

Decision on Legal Issues is attached as App. 23-78.

Following the Arbitrator’s initial ruling, Kansas

adjusted its damage claim to reflect the actual harm

to its users. This adjustment reduced the total

Kansas claim to about $9,000,000 — $63,000,000 less

than the amount originally demanded.

The decision on legal issues narrowed the dispute

to three main issues for fina] hearing: (1) the amount

of Kansas’ actual damages; (2) the merits of Kan-

sas’ remedy for future compliance by Nebraska; and

(3) Nebraska’s proposed corrections to Compact

accounting under the FSS. Over a two-week period in

March 2009, the Arbitrator conducted an evidentiary

hearing in Denver, Colorado to address these issues.

Kansas offered the testimony of three expert wit-

nesses to support its claims. Nebraska likewise

offered countervailing expert evidence showing Kan-

sas enjoyed record crop yields in 2005 and 2006. On

June 39, 2009, the Arbitrator issued a 73-page

decis:«* in which he concluded Kansas had failed to

prove it had been harmed. He recommended a nomi-

nal damage award of $10,000. Material excerpts from

the Arbitrator’s Final Decision are attached as App.

79-108.

Concerning Kansas’ demand for prospective re-

lief, Nebraska’s experts showed it would yield over

1.7 million acre-feet more water to Kansas than to

12

which it was entitled under the Compact over the

next 50 years. Dunnigan Decl. 9 41, Fig. 4, App. 13.

Ultimately, the Arbitrator found Kansas’ remedy

unwarranted and affirmed Nebraska’s sovereign right

to regulate water use within its borders. However, the

Arbitrator recommended Nebraska undertake addi-

tional measures to ensure compliance in Water-Short

Years as defined by the FSS. App. 109.

Regarding Nebraska’s proposed corrections to

Compact accounting, the Arbitrator found Nebraska’s

proposal for calculating the VWS more consistent

with the Compact and Accounting Procedures than

the current method. However, because the Arbitrator

found aspects of Nebraska’s proposal problematic, he

recommended the RRCA resurrect the original

technical modeling team to re-evaluate procedures for

determining CBCU. App. 107-108.

Kansas provides the Court with no details of this

extensive Arbitration in its initial filings with this

Court. The omission is striking, as the Arbitration

uncovered serious flaws in Kansas’ damages claim,

found Kansas’ future compliance remedy to be un-

warranted, and recognized Nebraska’s proposal for

calculating the VWS and CBCU was more consistent

with the Compact and FSS Accounting Procedures

than the method currently employed.

13

VIL. NEBRASKA CONTINUES ITS EFFORTS

TO ENSURE COMPACT COMPLIANCE.

Nebraska’s understanding of the demands of in-

tegrated water management has improved immensely

since execution of the FSS and passage of L.B. 962.

Today, Nebraska continues to improve its efforts to

manage hydrologically connected water supplies in

the Basin, illustrated by several innovative develop-

ments.

In 2007, the Nebraska Legislature passed L.B.

701 (2007). This legislation included, in part, a

requirement to forecast future water supplies in river

basins “whenever necessary to ensure that the state

is in compliance with an interstate compact or de-

cree. ” NEB. Rev. STAT. § 46-715(6) (emphasis

supplied). The forecasting methods developed by DNR

since 2007 are increasingly sophisticated. While pre-

dicting future water supplies is inherently difficult,

DNR has made great strides to enhance the accuracy

of its forecast. The improved forecast has allowed the

NRDs and DNR to begin efforts to incorporate more

refined plans into the IMPs for Water-Short Years.

Dunnigan Decl. 4 43, App. 14.

Legislative Bill 701 also authorized a property

tax levy and an occupation tax levy for the NRDs.

Litigation over the constitutionality of the taxes en-

sued, ultimately striking down the property tax and

leaving a cloud over the validity of the occupation tax.

Dunnigan Decl. 7 44, App. 14. In 2010, however, the

Nebraska Legislature passed L.B. 862 (2010). This

14

legislation addresses the constitutionality concerns

by broadening the occupation tax authority and aug-

menting funding sources for NRDs to manage inter-

connected water supplies throughout Nebraska.

Thus, two events led Nebraska to begin recently

a third round of revisions to the IMPs. First, Arbi-

trator Dreher recommended Nebraska implement

additional regulations for Water-Short Years. Second,

the L.B. 701 litigation impeded non-regulatory man-

agement options in the Basin. These events spurred a

new effort by the NRDs and DNR to design a regu-

latory back-stop for Water-Short Years to incorporate

into the IMPs. Dunnigan Decl. 9 45, App. 15. The

NRDs in the Basin are currently working with DNR

to finalize these new modifications for Water-Short

Year planning. Although the plans are complex and

must undergo extensive public hearings and review

prior to adoption, it is expected the new plans will be

adopted by each NRD this year. Dunnigan Decl. ¥ 46,

App. 15.

Nebraska also is develop:ng plans for projects

that augment stream flows. Dunnigan Decl. 4 47,

App. 16. A preliminary feasibility study is complete,

and an augmentation engineering study is underway.

When completed, Nebraska’s augmentation system

will assist Nebraska in managing Compact compli-

ance, especially during Water-Short Year Administra-

tion. Jd.

Today the NRDs are better equipped than they

ever have been to manage groundwater resources in

the Basin through augmentation projects, surface

15

water purchases, riparian vegetation management,

and other non-regulatory management practices. /d.

Nebraska is not neglecting its obligations under the

Compact, the Decree or the FSS. Rather, it has over-

come the most difficult drought in the Basin’s history

and taken extraordinary steps to ensure it remains in

Compact compliance. Notwithstanding early chal-

lenges, and the inherent period of time recognized by

the FSS for Nebraska to implement new laws for

integrated management, Nebraska is now compliant

with the Compact. Kansas does not (and cannot)

claim otherwise. Far from constituting a “flagrant

disregard” for its obligations, KS Brief at 19,

Nebraska is doing what is necessary to remain within

its Compact allocation.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

This Court’s origina] jurisdiction is exercised

only “sparingly.” See Wyoming v. Oklahoma, 502 U.S.

437, 450, 112 S.Ct. 789, 798 (1992); Maryland v.

Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725, 739, 101 S.Ct. 2114, 2125

(1981); Arizona v. New Mexico, 42° ‘'.S. 794, 796, 96

S.Ct. 1845, 1846 (1976). Its original “jurisdiction is of

so delicate and grave a character that it was not

contemplated that it would be exercised save when

the necessity was absolute.” Louisiana v. Texas, 176

U.S. 1, 15, 20 S.Ct. 251, 256 (1900). The Court has

“substantial discretion to make case-by-case judg-

ments as to the practical necessity of an original

16

forum in this Court,” Texas v. New Mexico, 462 U.S.

554, 570, 103 S.Ct. 2558, 2568 (1983).

In determining whether to exercise its original

jurisdiction, this Court focuses on “the nature of the

interest of the complaining State,” and in partic-

ular the “seriousness and dignity” of the claim as-

serted. South Carolina v. North Carolina, __ U.S.

__., 130 S.Ct. 854, 869 (2010) quoting Mississippi

v. Louisiana, 506 U.S. 73, 77, 113 S.Ct. 549 (1992).

The history of events surrounding Kansas’ claims

reveals those claims standing alone do not merit the

exercise of this Court’s original jurisdiction.

As a preliminary matter, Kansas’ effort to obtain

damages based on the greater of Nebraska’s gain or

Kansas’ loss is frivolous. Kansas Prayer for Relief No.

4. Kansas once before sought to recover damages on

this basis from a neighboring Compact state, but was

rebuffed. Kansas v. Colorado, 533 U.S. 1, 121 S.Ct.

2023 (2001). The proper measure of any damage

claim is Kansas’ actual loss, rather than Nebraska’s

gain. Jd. However, any actual harm Kansas water

users may have suffered is de minimis. After a

lengthy evidentiary hearing, Kansas could muster no

convincing evidence of actual harm at all.

Kansas’ proposed injunctive and punitive mea-

sures are equally frivolous, and Nebraska’s actions

have rendered those demands non-justiciable. Kan-

sas’ arguments are based on the original IMPs, which

were repealed and replaced by the second generation

IMPs prior to Kansas invoking the dispute resolution

17

process in 2008. Kansas brought this issue to Arbi-

tration using the wrong set of regulations. Once this

fact was exposed at the arbitration hearing, it was

not until the eleventh hour (during its rebuttal

presentation) that Kansas offered any analysis on the

validity of Nebraska’s second generation IMPs. By

the time this Court rules on Kansas’ motion, Ne-

braska may well be on its third iteration of the IMPs,

and we will be twice removed from the source of

Kansas’ original claim.

Kansas’ claims do, however, open the door to a

wider array of Compact issues that, taken as a whole,

rise to the level of seriousness and dignity befitting

exercise of this Court’s original jurisdiction. Nebraska

has identified serious errors in the Compact Ac-

counting Procedures under the FSS. These errors

distort actual hydrologic conditions and result in

erroneous allocation assignments. The errors prevent

an accurate determination of the VWS, CBCU, and

allocations as required by the Compact. Although

Kansas has acknowledged these deficiencies, it has

steadfastly blocked all attempts to amend the FSS

Accounting Procedures to capture actual conditions

because the errors inure to Kansas’ benefit.

Kansas has similarly blocked efforts by Colorado

to build a pipeline to provide augmentation water to

the Republican River. The pipeline may be the only

means by which Colorado can come into compliance

with its Compact obligations. These and other issues

affecting the orderly administration of the Compact

are the subject of a second round of Arbitration now

18

ongoing before the former director of the Oregon

Department of Water Resources, Ms. Martha Pagel.

By agreement of the parties, that Arbitration will

conclude in November 2010.

Given the significance of the Compact accounting

issues in question, Nebraska submits the Court

should grant Kansas’ motion, but for the purpose of

addressing all issues presented to Arbitrator Dreher

below and currently before Arbitrator Pagel. To en-

sure all disputed Compact issues are resolved in an

orderly, economical manner, Nebraska urges the

Court to defer appointment of a Special Master until

the arbitration pending before Arbitrator Pagel has

concluded and those issues can be joined in the

instant action as appropriate.

+

ARGUMENT

Viewed in isolation, Kansas’ claims fail to meet

the standard justifying exercise of this Court’s

jurisdiction. Kansas has not undertaken any serious

measures to resolve its concerns by any method other

than litigation. Kansas’ motion for leave and its peti-

tion do, however, provide a means by which a wide-

range of other vexing issues associated with Compact

compliance can be resolved. Granting Kansas leave to

file will, therefore, allow Nebraska and Colorado to

raise all material issues for final resolution.

19

I. STANDING ALONE, KANSAS’ CLAIMS

DO NOT MERIT EXERCISE OF THIS

COURT’S JURISDICTION.

A. Kansas Cannot Recover for “Unjust

Enrichment”; Its Actual Damages are

De Minimis.

As a preliminary matter, Nebraska does not

“agree” it violated the Decree to the tune of 71,005

acre-feet. KS Brief at 11. Rather, as Kansas acknowl-

edges: (1) the first test for Water-Short Year compli-

ance was 2006, id., and (2) “(tlhe FSS allows for

multi-use averaging of Compact allocations and

consumptive use to determine Nebraska’s compliance

with its Water-Short Year Administration obliga-

tions.” Jd. at 10. Thus, Nebraska’s maximum violation

could be no greater than the average overuse in 2005

and 2006 (or 35,505 acre feet).

Kansas’ attempt to equate the magnitude of the

violation here with those at bar in Texas v. New

Mexico, 482 U.S. 124 (1987) and Kansas v. Colorado,

543 U.S. 86 (2004) is absurd at best. KS Brief at 15.

The former case involved an ongoing, 33 year viola-

tion amounting to over 340,000 acre feet, while the

latter involved an ongoing, 44 year violation amount-

ing to approximately 400,000 acre feet. At the out-

side, the violation at bar here represents a single year

of non-compliance and is one-tenth and one-twelfth,

respectively, the size of the violations at issue in those

cases. Moreover, there is no ongoing violation at

issue.

20

Even assuming a one-time violation of 35,505

acre-feet, Kansas’ damage claim lacks merit. During

the Arbitration, it became clear the claim was com-

pletely unrelated to any actual harm Kansas might

have suffered and was, instead, an estimate of an

alleged financial gain to Nebraska water users re-

sulting from the overuse. As noted above, Kansas is

not entitled to recover based on Nebraska's gains. Its

actual damages are somewhere between zero and

$9,000,000. With due regard for the solemn obliga-

tions imposed by the Compact, Nebraska submits

Kansas’ damage claim is de minimis and appears to

be nothing more than a means to fund desired water

projects in the Basin. KAN. Stat. ANN. § 82a-1804

(2008). No water user in Kansas, who may have been

shorted water, will obtain money from this litigation.

Standing alone, this claim does not warrant exercise

of this Court’s jurisdiction.

B. Kansas’ Demands for Prospective Relief

are Not Justiciable.

This Court construes its jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. §1251(a)(1) as it does jurisdiction under

Article III, § 2, cl. 2, in the sense it honors its original

jurisdiction, but considers it obligatory only in appro-

priate cases. Wyoming v. Oklahoma, 502 U.S. 437,

450-51, 112 S.Ct. 789 (1992) discussing Illinois v. City

of Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91, 93, 92 S.Ct. 1385, 1387

(1972) and California v. Texas, 457 U.S. 164, 168, 102

S.Ct. 2335, 2337 (1982). “Under Article III of the Con-

stitution this Court may only adjudicate actual,

ongoing controversies.” Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305,

21

317, 108 S.Ct. 592 (1988). Ripeness (as well as moot-

ness) reflect constitutional considerations that impli-

cate “Article III limitations on judicial power,” as well

as “prudential reasons for refusing to exercise juris-

diction.” Reno v. Catholic Social Services, Inc., 509

U.S. 43, 57, n. 18, 113 S.Ct. 2485 (1992).

In Hall v. Beals, 396 U.S. 45, 48, 90 S.Ct. 200

(1969), the Court made clear that suits before it must

be viewed in light of current regulatory schemes, not

those that might have given rise to earlier causes of

action. The Court there found moot a challenge to a

Colorado law that, when subsequently amended, no

longer threatened the interests of the plaintiff. Jd.

Kansas here demanded Nebraska shut off all wells

within 2% miles of the Republican River and its

tributaries (an area roughly 15 times larger than the

District of Columbia) and agree to a “Court-appointed

River Master.” These demands were based on Kansas’

calculation that Nebraska would again fall out of

compliance sometime after 2020. But, Kansas’ entire

analysis was based on the initial IMPs repealed and

replaced by the second generation IMPs.

Upon the strength of the more strident, second

generation IMPs, the Arbitrator rejected Kansas’

demand, but noted Nebraska should undertake even

greater regulatory efforts to ensure Compact compli-

ance during periods of drought. Nebraska has since

begun efforts to modify its regulations to address the

concerns identified by the Arbitrator in third gen-

eration IMPs, which should be online by the end of

2010. Yet even today, Kansas still relies for support

22

on a Nebraska Supreme Court decision resolving

conflicts that preceded enactment of L.B. 962 and

Nebraska’s integrated water management regime. As

noted above, the very conflicts the Nebraska Supreme

Court lamented in Spear T Ranch, Inc. v. Knaub, 691

N.W.2d 116 (Neb. 2005) were addressed in that legis-

lation. Thus, contrary to Kansas’ assessment, KS

Brief at 23, Nebraska does have mechanisms in place

today to control the depletions about which Kansas

complains.

Simply put, Kansas’ claims based on the initial

IMPs are moot. Kansas’ claims (if any) based on the

se ead generation IMPs are unripe. In evaluating a

claim to determine whether it is ripe for judicial

review, this Court considers both “the fitness of the

issues for judicial decision” and “the hardship of

withholding court consideration.” National Park Hos-

pitality Assn. v. Department of Interior, 538 U.S. 803,

808, 123 S.Ct. 2026 (2003). Alleged future injury,

which theoretically might occur through a series of

“speculative contingencies” affords no basis for this

Court’s jurisdiction. Hall, 396 U.S. at 49-50. Nor does

mere evidence of past non-compliance ripen into a

legally cognizable claim for future injunctive relief

without evidence of continuing adverse effects. Renne

v. Geary, 501 U.S. 312, 320-21, 111 S.Ct. 2331 (1991).

In this case, the second generation IMPs have

not yet injured Kansas, and present no threat of

injury that is cognizable. The second generation IMPs

were implemented in 2008 and Nebraska has been in

compliance since that time. Nebraska anticipates

23

third generation IMPs will be complete in 2010.

Kansas cannot credibly claim it will be injured by the

second generation IMPs because they are functioning

to ensure ongoing Compact compliance today. And, it

certainly cannot be heard to complain about the third

generation IMPs, which are not yet final.

As the Court has explained, “(pjroblems of pre-

maturity and abstractness may well present ‘in-

superable obstacles’ tw the exercise of the Court’s

jurisdiction, even though that jurisdiction is tech-

nically present.” Socialist Labor Party v. Gilligan, 406

U.S. 583, 589, 92 S.Ct. 1716, 1720 (1972) citing

Rescue Army v. Municipal Court, 331 U.S. 549, 574,

67 S.Ct. 1409, 1422 (1947). As in Socialist Labor

Party, the issues presented by Kansas’ motion have

become moot, and nothing on the face of Kansas’

motion or supporting materials shows Kansas has

suffered any injury thus far under Nebraska’s present

regulations.

Finally, to the extent Kansas’ claims for pro-

spective relief are live and ripe, they should still be

rejected because Kansas has not exhausted the

remedies afforded it under the Dispute Resolution

provisions of Section VII of the FSS. That section

establishes a series of remedies Kansas has not begun

to apply to the IMPs presently in place. There is no

question that exhaustion of the Section VII dispute

resolution process is a fundamental prerequisite to

approaching this Court and that failure to follow

those requirements is a jurisdictional bar.

24

II. NEBRASKA’S CLAIMS CONCERN ISSUES

CENTRAL TO THE PURPOSES OF THE

COMPACT AND MERIT REVIEW AT THIS

TIME.

The first duty of the RRCA is to account for the

VWS. As defined by the Compact, the VWS is the

“waters of the basin undepleted by the activities of

man.” It is from the VWS that each State’s allocation

of water is derived. Determination of the actual VWS

is, therefore, essential to achieving the purposes of

the Compact. The VWS is, in part, comprised of de-

pletions to streamflow resulting from well use.

Accounting for those depletions was one of the major

features of the FSS and required the development of

a joint basin-wide groundwater model. In simple

terms, the model is a computer program that pro-

duces mathematical outputs, which are then applied

to the FSS Accounting Procedures to arrive at the

VWS.

In 2007, Nebraska became aware of an error in

the FSS Accounting Procedures related to how out-

puts from the model are applied within the Account-

ing Procedures. Specifically, the error related to the

application of the outputs used to determine the

CBCU, and the Imported Water Supply Credit as

defined in the FSS. The error was of such a mag-

nitude and degree that final Compact accounting

balances were in error by as much as 10,000 acre-feet

per year. In effect, the Accounting Procedures were

distorting the actual hydrologic conditions of the

Basin and undermining the allocations specifically

25

provided for in the Compact. Dunnigan Decl. { 51,

App. 17.

In response to this problem, Nebraska developed

a relatively straight-forward adjustment to correct

the CBCU problem. Dunnigan Decl. 9 52, App. 17.

Nebraska explained the CBCU issue (along with

several other lesser accounting issues) and offered its

proposed solution. After study, Kansas agreed the

CBCU accounting created a problem but declined to

accept Nebraska’s solution and offered specific criti-

cisms to direct Nebraska’s efforts to find an alterna-

tive solution. Acting on those suggestions, Nebraska

refined its proposed accounting amendment and

presented the same to the RRCA for review. This time

Kansas rejected Nebraska’s proposed changes for rea-

sons that were diametrically opposed to the reasons it

gave for rejecting Nebraska’s first proposal. Kansas

also refused to offer any solutions of its own. Id.

With no other options available, Nebraska began

a parallel track toward dispute resolution in October

2008. Like the Kansas issues, Nebraska’s CBCU and

other accounting issues were arbitrated in March

2009. The Arbitrator’s Final Decision acknowledged

Nebraska’s CBCU proposal was more consistent with

the definition of VWS in the Compact than the

existing procedure. App. 86. Although he ultimately

recommended against adoption of Nebraska’s pro-

posal, he recommended the RRCA thoroughly re-

evaluate the problem for possible alternative solu-

tions. Unfortunately, no further action by the RRCA

is possible because, although Kansas acknowledges

26

the problem presented, it has blocked all attempts to

resolve the errors within the RRCA and Dispute

Resolution. This Court remains the only avenue for

resolution.

lil. ISSUES NOW UNDERGOING ARBITRA-

TION.

In addition to the issues previously arbitrated,

two other important issues presently are in arbitra-

tion pursuant to Section VII of the FSS, which was

initiated on March 22-24, 2010. One issue concerns

how a damage payment by Nebraska for any Compact

overuse will be reflected relative to Compact account-

ing. In basic terms, Nebraska contends that if pay-

ment is made to Kansas, the overuse appearing on

the RRCA’s ledger must be credited. This is important

because the multi-year accounting feature of the FSS

causes the entry for one year to impact the results for

subsequent years. Dunnigan Decl. 4 54-5, App. 18.

Without a credit it is possible for a state to recover for

a violation occurring in one year and recover again for

that same violation as if payment had never been

made. That would constitute a double recovery and

must be avoided. This issue is referred to by the

States as “Nebraska’s Crediting Issue.” Resolution of

the Nebraska Crediting Issue within this proceeding

is essential to avoid Nebraska later filing a separate

motion for leave to file a Bill of Complaint to address

the issue.

27

In addition to the Nebraska Crediting Issue, the

current Arbitration involves the Colorado Compact

Compliance Pipeline (“CCP”). The CCP is designed to

facilitate Colorado’s efforts to come into Compact

compliance by augmenting stream flow. Since 2003,

Colorado has been unable to achieve Compact compli-

ance and believes it will be impossible to achieve

compliance unless it develops the CCP, allowing it to

withdraw water from areas hydrologically remote

from the Republican River and pump that water into

tributaries of the Republican River.

To obtain credit for the CCP within the Compact

accounting, Colorado must receive approval from the

other States, and the FSS Accounting Procedures

must be modified. Both Kansas and Nebraska ini-

tially opposed the CCP fearing harm to their users.

After Colorado provided additional detail regarding

proposed operation of the CCP, Nebraska changed

its position. Kansas, however, remains opposed, and

the ongoing Arbitration will determine whether

Kansas has unreasonably withheld its consent. Like

Nebraska, Colorado likely will file a separate motion

for leave to file a Bill of Complaint if the CCP is left

outside the present proceeding.

°

CONCLUSION

While Kansas’ motion standing alone is in-

sufficient to merit this Court’s attention, the other

issues presented do warrant review. However, given

28

the existence of the ongoing Arbitration, Nebraska

suggests the Court defer appointment of a Special

Master until

the Arbitration has concluded in

November 2010. Judicial economy will result and the

States will enjoy a similar economy of effort.

June 2010

Respectfully submitted by,

JON BRUNING

Attorney General of Nebraska

Davip D. CoOKSON

Deputy Attorney General

JUSTIN D. LAVENE

Assistant Attorney General

Counsel of Record

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

2115 State Capitol

Post Office Box 98920

Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8920

(402) 471-2682

DONALD G. BLANKENAU

THOMAS R. WILMOTH

Special Assistant Attorneys General

BLANKENAU WILMOTH LLP

206 South 13th Street, Suite 1425

Lincoln, Nebraska 68508-2002

(402) 475-7080

Attorneys for State of Nebraska

‘

App. 1

Declaration of Brian Dunnigan

Director of the Nebraska

Department of Natural Resources

COMES NOW, Brian Dunnigan, pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1746, states as follows:

PERSONAL AND

PROFESSIONAL BACKGROUND

1. I am the Director of the Nebraska Depart-

ment of Natural Resources (Department). In this

capacity, I am responsible for managing the State’s

surface water resources and the State’s compliance

with interstate water compacts, including the Repub-

lican River Compact (Compact).

2. Iwas appointed Acting Director on March 24,

2008, and appointed Director on December 9, 2008.

Prior to that time, I served as Acting Deputy Director

beginning on August 20, 2005 until I was appointed

Deputy Director on January 3, 2007.

3. Ihave worked within the Department, in one

capacity or another, for the last 25 years. Before be-

coming the Deputy Director, and later Director, I was

previously the division head for Floodplain Manage-

ment, Dam Safety, and Surveys.

4. I am a licensed professional engineer. [ re-

ceived my undergraduate degree at the University of

Nebraska-Lincoln in Civil Engineering in 1981.

5. As Director, I am Nebraska’s Commissioner

on the Republican River Compact Administration

App. 2

(RRCA). The RRCA is composed of one Commissioner

from each of the three States of Colorado, Kansas,

and Nebraska. In that capacity I am responsible for

administering the Compact.

6. Ihave read the Brief in Opposition to Kansas’

Motion for Leave to File Petition to which this decla-

ration is attached as Appendix A. The facts stated in

the brief are true and correct to the best of my know!l-

edge, information, and belief.

BACKGROUND ON WATER

ADMINISTRATION IN NEBRASKA

7. While I am not an attorney, in my capacity as

Director, I am familiar with the legal principles

governing Nebraska water administration. Generally

speaking, Nebraska administers surface water under

the prior appropriation doctrine. Groundwater is ad-

ministered under a modified version of the correlative

rights doctrine. The Department is primarily respon-

sible for administration of surface water supplies,

while Nebraska’s twenty-three Natural Resources

Districts (NRDs) are primarily responsible for ad-

ministration of groundwater supplies.

8. Nebraska’s efforts to manage hydrologically

connected waters began in earnest in 1996 when the

Legislature passed LB 108. The law allowed NRDs to

consider whether integrated management of hydro-

logically connected groundwater and surface water

was necessary. See Neb. Rev. Stat. § 46-656.28. In

addition, the NRDs were authorized to develop “joint

App. 3

action plans” with various water users and the De-

partment for the integrated management of hydro-

logically connected groundwater and surface water.

Id.

9. In July, 1996, the Republican River NRDs

asked the Department to begin the studies and hear-

ing process provided for in LB 108. The Department

made a preliminary determination that there was

reason to believe the use of hydrologically connected

groundwater and surface water resources was con-

tributing to or was in the reasonably foreseeable

future likely to contribute to disputes over the Com-

pact. The Department began, in cooperation with the

Republican River NRDs, studies to determine the

cause of such possible disputes and the extent of the

area affected. That work ultimately was superseded

when Kansas started its initial litigation.

10. During this time, a moratorium on the

construction of new wells was applied to all or part of

three Republican River NRDs. The Upper Republican

NRD adopted a moratorium in 1997; the Middle

Republican NRD adopted a moratorium in June 2002,

and the Lower Republican NRD adopted a morato-

rium in the area upstream of Guide Rock, Nebraska

effective on December 9, 2002.

11. After Kansas sued Nebraska in 1998 for vio-

lations of the Compact, the three states entered into a

settlement agreement known as the Final Settlement

Stipulation (FSS), which I understand was approved

by this Court in 2003. Execution of the FSS, as well

App. 4

as internal pressures on Nebraska’s water resources,

called for greater integration of water management in

Nebraska, and today the Department and NRDs

coordinate management of waters that are hydro-

logically connected (e.g., groundwater supplies that

are interconnected to such a degree that their use can

impact stream flows).

12. Before the litigation came to a close between

the three States in 2003, the Nebraska Legislature

passed L.B. 103 (2002), mandating creation of a

Water Policy Task Force to address the management

of hydrologically connected water supplies. The forty-

nine member Task Force provided the Legislature

with draft legislation and suggested changes to stat-

utes in December 2003. The Legislature considered

the Task Force recommendations in its 2004 session

and subsequently passed L.B. 962 (2004), which is

codified as the Nebraska Groundwater Management

and Protection Act.

13. A eritical component of L.B. 962 (2004) was

its requirement for Integrated Management Plans

(IMPs) within areas of the State determined to be

fully or over appropriated. Because the Republican

River Basin was subsequently determined to be fully

appropriated, IMPs and complementary rules and

regulations implemented by the NRDs and DNR are

in place to govern the use of hydrologically connected

waters in the Basin. These IMPs represent a blue-

print for sustainable water management in the Basin

and facilitate Nebraska’s Compact compliance be-

cause the state law requires the regulatory measures

App. 5

in an IMP must “be sufficient to ensure that the state

will remain in compliance with applicable state and

federal laws and with any applicable interstate water

compact or decree. ” Neb. Rev. Stat. § 46-715(4)(b).

14. The original IMPs for the Republican River

Basin lasted from 2005 to 2007 and required a pump-

ing reduction of 5% from a representative baseline

period (1998-2002). The IMPs limited the depletions

by groundwater users within each NRD to the NRD’s

fixed percentage of Nebraska’s total allowable Com-

puted Beneficial Consumptive Use (CBCU) for

groundwater (CBCUg) in the Basin. The NRDs in the

basin previously agreed to limit their groundwater to

the following shares of Nebraska’s CBCUg: 26% for

the Lower Republican NRD, 30% for the Middle

Republican NRD, and 44% for the Upper Republican

NRD. This requirement ensures Compact require-

ments will be met under any and all water supply

conditions that may occur in the Basin.

15. During 2007 and early 2008 the Department,

in conjunction with the NRDs, adopted revisions to

their original IMPs. The second generation of IMPs in

the Republican River Basin presumptively cover the

five-year period from 2008 to 2012. These IMPs in-

creased the target pumping reduction to 20% from

the baseline period (1998-2002).

16. In other words, the IMPs required the

NRDs to take affirmative actions to reduce ground-

water pumping in their respective districts to meet a

consumptive use reduction of 20% from the pumping

App. 6

experienced from 1998 to 2002. Like the original

IMPs, the second generation IMPs also limited each

NRD’s allowable groundwater depletions to the

NRD’s fixed percentage of Nebraska’s total allowable

CBCUg.

BASICS OF COMPACT ACCOUNTING

17. The Compact does not require Nebraska to

deliver a certain amount of water to Kansas. Rather,

the Compact (as interpreted in the FSS) effectively

requires Nebraska to constrain its uses and live

within an annual allocation.

18. The Compact allocations are based on a

percentage of the calculated Virgin Water Supply

(VWS). This VWS value is calculated annually by the

RRCA. The size of a State’s allocation varies with the

calculated VWS, which decreases during dry years:

the smaller the VWS, the smaller each State’s alloca-

tion. The smaller a State’s allocation, the more diffi-

cult it is to comply with the Compact.

19. The RRCA also calculates each State’s

CBCU and CBCUg and the Imported Water Supply

(IWS) Credit for Nebraska. Simply put, if Nebraska’s

CBCU is less than its allocation plus the IWS Credit

in the relevant accounting period, Nebraska is con-

sidered to be in Compact compliance.

20. A major complicating factor that arises from

this approach is that the accounting is inherently

retrospective. One State cannot know whether it has

App. 7

complied with the Compact (or not) in any one year

until all data are collected for that year and analyzed

by the RRCA. Only at that time, usually the following

spring or summer, does a State first learn whether or

not it has complied with the Compact by living within

its allocation.

21. In part to help the States address this, the

FSS incorporated the concept of averaging, which

provides that a State will be deemed to be in Compact

compliance if that state lives within its allocation

over an average of 2 years (during water short year

administration) or five years (during normal year

administration).

22. While this makes it somewhat easier to

manage resources to ensure Nebraska does not ex-

ceed its allocation (on average), the reality remains

that Nebraska must anticipate, to some degree, the

appropriate extent of regulation within its borders in

any given year.

CHALLENGES FOLLOWING THE FSS

23. Unfortunately, the Nebraska portion of the

Republican River Basin faced extraordinary chal-

lenges leading up to and immediately after the FSS

was approved. Due to a combination of factors,

streamflows in Nebraska were about 20% of the long-

term average.

24. In addition, prior to approval of the FSS,

Nebraska maintained groundwater use was not

App. 8

subject to Compact regulation, and groundwater de-

pletions in the Nebraska portion of the Republican

River Basin reached their highest levels immediately

before the FSS was executed.

25. Thus, immediately after the FSS was exe-

cuted, the Nebraska portion of the Basin had to

overcome both depleted groundwater levels and

historically low gaged streamflows in an effort to en-

sure Compact compliance. In addition, in the years

following the FSS, federal reservoirs were at historic-

ally low levels. Because they were unprecedented in

terms of both magnitude and duration, these con-

ditions introduced considerable challenges for water

managers in the Basin.

26. The difficult hydrologic conditions referenced

above directly impacted the calculated VWS of the

Republican River and, consequently, the allocations

available to the States under the Compact.

27. As shown in Figure 1, the available Com-

pact allocations following execution of the FSS in the

period 2002-2007 were amongst the lowest in the

Compact’s history. Allocations dropped significantly

after 2001, and only marginally increased in 2007.

Specifically, the average allocations for the 2002 to

2006 period represent the smallest average alloca-

tions for Nebraska since at least 1980. These were

also well below the basic allocation provided to Ne-

braska in the Compact, which was based on a period

of record that included the Dust Bow] era.

App. 9

28. Further complicating Nebraska’s Compact

compliance is the fact that Colorado has consistently

overused approximately 10,000 acre-feet (AF) annu-

ally as calculated by the RRCA under current Ac-

counting Procedures from 2003-2008. This overuse

complicates Nebraska’s ability to comply with the

Compact by restricting the amount of water entering

Nebraska, further depleting federal reservoirs and

significantly contributing to operational decisions by

surface water users and the Bureau of Reclamation

which contributed to these historically low allocations

for Nebraska..

NEBRASKA’S ADDITIONAL

COMPLIANCE MEASURES

29. In the face of increasing pressures on

Republican River Basin water supplies, Nebraska did

not rely solely on the IMPs to achieve Compact com-

pliance. While working to setup the new integrated

management regime under L.B. 962 (2004), Nebraska

undertook an array of aggressive measures to main-

tain compliance with the Compact.

30. From 2006 to 2008, the NRDs and the

Department leased a total of 98,368 AF of surface

water from irrigation districts to reduce Nebraska’s

consumptive use under the Compact by 51,614 AF.

The total cost of these surface water leases was

approximately $18,722,500.

31. Nebraska also sought to reduce its con-

sumptive use by taking advantage of available federal

App. 10

conservation programs (e.g., Environmental Quality

Incentives Program (EQIP) and the Conservation

Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP)). Over 48,000

irrigated acres in the Basin were retired through

these programs.

32. Nebraska also worked to reduce water lost

within its borders due to non-beneficial consumptive

use. By the end of 2007, Nebraska cleared over 150

river miles of invasive vegetation along and in the

Republican River channel and its tributaries, signifi-

cantly improving water conveyance. The Nebraska

Legislature continues to appropriate new funds for

additional vegetation management efforts and more

work is planned for the future.

33. The combination of the foregoing efforts is

having a tangible effect on the Republican River

Basin. DNR has compiled annual information con-

cerning irrigation levels within the NRDs located in

the Model area. As shown by Figure 2, irrigation

groundwater pumping in the Basin has declined

steadily and significantly since the FSS was executed.

These trends show significant reductions in irrigation

volumes throughout the Republican River NRDs,

continuing even after water supplies in the basin

began to rebound.

34. As Nebraska’s post-FSS management efforts

continue to unfold, the Compact Accounting in Figure

3 demonstrates Nebraska has maintained a positive

annual balance in the Accounting since 2007.

35.

App. 11

KANSAS’ LATEST COMPLAINT

On December 19, 2007, Kansas sent Ne-

braska a letter requesting a monetary payment and

an extensive remedy for future compliance by Nebras-

ka. In addition to monetary payment for the greater

of Nebraska’s gains or Kansas’ losses, Kansas re-

quested the following remedy:

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

36.

Shutdown of all wells and groundwater

irrigation in Nebraska within 2 '/% miles

of the Republican River and its tribu-

taries;

Shutdown of all groundwater irrigation

on acreage added after the year 2000

throughout the Republican River Basin

in Nebraska;

Further reductions of net consumptive

use in the Basin in Nebraska necessary

to maintain yearly compliance, or the

hydrologic equivalent of the foregoing;

and

Appointment of a river master to ensure

Nebraska stays in compliance with the

Compact.

Following Kansas’ demand, Nebraska re-

sponded by letter on February 4, 2008. Nebraska

reminded Kansas of Nebraska’s concern over sig-

nificant accounting errors which prevent accurate

accounting of each State’s CBCU. Nebraska asserted

that the RRCA must first deal with these errors be-

fore compliance can be properly calculated. Nebraska

App. 12

also communicated concerns over Kansas’ excessive

demands in light of Nebraska’s efforts to maintain

compliance, stating that Kansas’ proposed remedy

would potentially reduce Nebraska’s consumptive use

50,000 AF more per year than required under the

Compact. Finally, Nebraska urged Kansas to take a

close look at its IMPs and offered to meet with

Kansas face-to-face to explain the components and

operation of the IMPs.

37. Kansas’ first response to Nebraska’s call for

face-to-face discussions came by letter four days later

on February 8, 2008, invoking non-binding arbitra-

tion under the terms of the FSS. On February 19,

2008, Kansas sent Nebraska a second letter ac-

knowledging its concerns and offering to continue

discussions so long as the discussions did not slow the

dispute resolution procedure.

38. A final letter from Nebraska on February

22, 2008 once again urged Kansas to come to the

table to discuss the States’ differences at the up-

coming RRCA meeting in Kansas City on March 11,

2008. Nebraska reiterated its position that exchang-

ing letters did not appear to be an effective manner to

resolve the issues and requested meaningful face-to-

face discussions. At the March 11, 2008 meeting,

Kansas brought its claim to Nebraska for damages in

the form of a written Resolution.

39. On April 22, 2008, after the RRCA meeting

in Kansas City, Nebraska was informed that Kansas

requested $72,365,133 for Nebraska’s non-compliance

App. 13

with the Compact during the 2006 Water Short Year.

Kansas allegedly derived this figure from Nebraska’s

gains, not Kansas’ actual damages.

40. Kansas submitted its claim to the RRCA for

vote at a May 11, 2008 special meeting of the RRCA,

but the Resolution failed to pass. The States later

began non-binding arbitration in October 2008 to

attempt to resolve a growing number of disputes

concerning errors in the Compact Accounting, inter-

pretations of the FSS, and Kansas’ claims for mone-

tary payment and to impose a remedy on Nebraska

for past noncompliance.

41. In the arbitration, I testified on the issue of

Nebraska’s future compliance with the Compact. In

addition, Nebraska introduced evidence, shown in

Figure 4, that Kansas’ proposed remedy would yield

to Kansas over 1.7 million AF of over-delivery over

the next 50 years.

42. While the Arbitrator generally concluded

Nebraska’s IMPs were sufficient, he recommended

Nebraska take further steps to ensure Compact

compliance in extended drought periods. Nebraska

has taken the Arbitrator’s ruling seriously, and the

Department and the NRDs are now working to im-

plement revisions to the IMPs for extended drought

periods.

App. 14

NEBRASKA’S ONGOING

COMPLIANCE MEASURES

43. Today, Nebraska is working on a sophisti-

cated forecasting mechanism to help mitigate the

problems associated with the after-the-fact water use

accounting in the RRCA. Forecasting first arose in

2007 when the Nebraska Legislature passed L.B. 701

(2007). This legislation included, in part, a require-

ment to forecast future water supplies in river basins

“whenever necessary to ensure that the state is in

compliance with an interstate compact or decree. ”

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 46-715(6). The annual forecasting

mechanisms developed by the Department since 2007

are increasingly sophisticated. While predicting fu-

ture water supplies can never be done with absolute

certainty, the Department has made great strides to

enhance the accuracy of its annual forecast. The

improved forecast has allowed the NRDs and DNR to

begin work on incorporating more refined plans into

the IMPs for Water-Short Years as defined in the

FSS.

44. L.B. 701 (2007) also authorized a property

tax levy and an occupation tax levy for the NRDs.

Litigation over the constitutionality of both taxes

ensued, ultimately striking down the property tax

and leaving a cloud over the validity of the occupation

tax. In 2010, the Nebraska Legislature passed L.B.

862 (2010). This legislation attempted to address the

constitutionality concerns by broadening the occupa-

tion tax authority to secure a funding source for

App. 15

NRDs to manage interconnected water supplies

throughout Nebraska.

45. Ultimately, two events led Nebraska to

begin a new round of revisions on the current IMPs.

First, the Arbitrator recommended that Nebraska

implement additional regulations for Water-Short

Years in his final order on June 30, 2009. Second, the

litigation over funding provided by L.B. 701 (2007)

stalled any viable non-regulatory management op-

tions in the Basin. These events spurred a new effort

by the NRDs and the Department to design a regu-

latory back-stop for Water-Short Years to incorporate

into the existing IMPs.

46. In the fall of 2009 the Department and the

NRDs worked together to determine viable options

for additional dry-year regulatory controls in the

IMPs. Dry-year compliance plans list actions to be

taken during potentially dry years to maintain Com-

pact compliance. Based on initial public comments,

the NRDs chose to work toward implementing plans

which would leave pumping allocations close to the

current levels for normal to wet years, but require a

curtailment of pumping in dry years in a zone that is

hydrologically connected to stream flow, along with

curtailment of surface water use. The three NRDs

have passed resolutions stating that they will work

with the Department to complete additions to the

IMPs during 2010. The Department will continue to

work diligently with the NRDs to finalize these

modifications to the IMPs. Once the Department and

each NRD reach agreement, there will be additional

App. 16

public hearings in each NRD to receive public com-

ment.

47. Nebraska also is working on non-regulatory

solutions. For example, we are currently developing

plans for projects that will be used to augment

stream flows of the Republican River. A coalition of

Nebraska NRDs is conducting a preliminary feasi-

bility study for such augmentation. When completed,

Nebraska’s augmentation system will be able to

assist Nebraska in managing Compact compliance,

especially during Water-Short Year Administration.

Today the NRDs are better equipped than they ever

have been to manage groundwater resources in the

Basin through augmentation projects, surface water

purchases, riparian vegetation management, and

other non-regulatory management practices.

48. To my knowledge, Kansas has never eval-

uated the potential effectiveness of Nebraska’s latest

IMPs. Nor has Kansas ever considered the potential

value of the augmentation plans currently under

investigation.

49. In point of fact, | have had no conversations

with my Kansas counterpart concerning the prospects

of Nebraska’s future compliance in the current regu-

latory environment here.

50. As I explained in sworn testimony before

the Arbitrator in 2009, non-compliance is not an

option for the State of Nebraska, and the State is

committed to taking all steps necessary to ensure

Compact compliance in the future.

App. 17

OTHER ARBITRATED ISSUES

51. In addition to the Kansas enforcement

claims, the earlier Arbitration included claims

brought by Nebraska, which are of great importance

to overall Compact accounting. For example, in 2007,

Nebraska became aware of an error in the FSS Ac-

counting Procedures related to how outputs from the

groundwater model are applied within the Accounting

Procedures. Specifically, the error related to the

application of the outputs used to determine the

CBCUg and the IWS Credit. The error was of such a

magnitude and degree that final Compact accounting

balances were in error by as much as 10,000 AF per

year. In effect, the Accounting Procedures were dis-

torting the actual hydrologic conditions of the Basin

and undermining the allocations specifically provided

for in the Compact.

52. Nebraska developed a relatively straight-

forward adjustment to correct the CBCU problem.

Nebraska explained the CBCU issue (along with

several other lesser accounting issues) and offered its

proposed solution. After study, Kansas agreed the

CBCU accounting created a problem but declined to

accept Nebraska’s solution and offered specific criti-

cisms to direct Nebraska’s efforts to find an alter-

native solution. Nebraska, in response, refined its

proposal and presented the same to the RRCA for

review. Kansas rejected Nebraska’s proposed changes

for reasons that were diametrically opposed to the

reasons it gave for rejecting Nebraska’s first proposal.

Kansas also refused to offer any solutions of its own.

App. 18

53. The Arbitrator concluded there was a prob-

lem with CBCU accounting, but was not convinced

Nebraska’s proposed solution was the best fix. He

recommended the RRCA further study the matter,

but the RRCA has taken no such action.

54. Another issue that affects Compact account-

ing is how Nebraska (and possibly Colorado) might

receive credits for any payment the state makes in

furtherance of a damage award. Obviously the state

should not be required to pay twice on the same

claim.

55. In basic terms, Nebraska contends that if

payment is made to Kansas, the overuse appearing

on the RRCA’s accounting ledger must be credited.

This is important because the multi-year accounting

feature of the FSS causes the entry for one year to

impact the results for subsequent years. Without a

credit, it is possible for a state to recover for a viola-

tion occurring in one year and recover again for that

same violation as if payment had never been made.

This issue is referred to by the States as “Nebraska’s

Crediting Issue.” Resolution of the Nebraska Credit-

ing Issue is now being arbitrated before Ms. Martha

Pagel.

I declare under penalty of perjury that the fore-

going is true and correct.

/s/

Brian Dunnigan

DeIBIND|@> 616M SLONe IONE Aem arg BuIpAou! SemMpero.d Sugunoje BA peGueu? YONY 80 S66) LU! Bumels

es SFL E SELES S cd SEF F oe oe oe FF

EE nt ()

— —— — 000'00S

UO}IBIO}/Y [BI103S|H $,CXSEIGIN

1 aHnon

NYoOMendsy NVONeNdSse 2=——S—=«CSwNW WIT

01 CuN—M = MAO 2z700I1W waddiN

6007 8002 2002 $002 S002 v00z £00Z2 7002 4007 0002

‘ 4 — a oA. 4 a —s a — =} 0

a a 000 000 4

———+ 000'002"!

-

|

3

000'00%' |

~ 000'009'1

SONN JOAly UBDIQNday EXSPIGeN 99jU) 043 Ui] SewWNIOA Buldwng uoneBu)

23H 1A

0z ‘ddy

SO]BUII]SA § BYSBAGAN B4kB SAN|BA G00Z-900Z

sjoayspeaids paaoidde yOYY wos ase sanyeA CO0Z%-E00Z

900z ut peaoidde uorssaa GO0Z ‘LZ AINE Sa4npas0ig AJutuNody UO paseg

sununosy YOUU

tc ~~ ~ a | ies T a ~ a

| — ‘ _— | “ | 6002 -S00Z

ELO'1l 66¥'61 $66'0SZ | 8OS'ZZ | adwaeay |

_ sondpemeees — — + _ T a

‘ } ‘ ‘eo ‘ | R006- F002

| Zos'T OSt'9I P88'EHZ | 986'82Z | aSesoay

rare ° ee Saree IS se

EP ' | ‘ L002-£002

(ZES'02) pS2'El QhP' OFZ | 299'21Z aBusaay |

j }

79901 $Z9'SZ 002‘ 88z OvZ'ELZ 6002 |

R66'F8 BSL'SZ 096'6bZ 002608 8002 |

Evs'0F EE6'TZ Ogg VEZ 09S" EZ L002

(9TL'62) PIZ al OZF'R2ZZ 060°L81 9002

_ ~—---—-- — ---——_ —-—-—-- ——+4 - —+ ae —-

(SZe'Zb) ¢96'TI l OPL'ESZ OSt'661 S002

{——- - +——_—__—_-—_—— ——- —_ —-——_—_-— —

| (Ov9'9€) oge'ot 099'292 0€9'S0Z p00Z

_————— _ - oe ——- ——— —— -4+—-—- __-__ —__ —_________—_ wal

(0z'S2) 08L'6 08L'Z92 O89" LZ2 £002

(P2949 SMI — NOW) wpasg Ajddng asq) aanduinsuoy uorB0][y 1v9K —

~ UOTTBIO[TY save peysodwy jelwyaueg payndwo,) | |

i i fl oe 2 ~ AOg9 puke uonBa0T|y 8, BysBagen

€ aun

1z ddy

seaA

£502 7502 Zv0z 7v0z Lt0z Ax!) £202 7202 Lt0 7402 2002

4 4 4 4 Oe 4 —' serene Ee ee eee eee ae Ce nem Se | 0

|

' eee ene . ones eaneenrane : —— oe

JV OSL 102’ = NRWOUS - Amy eA/5 JEN

| dV LLL'SSZ = WesWOUS |B}0, |

JV 176956 | = Asenyeg-s0AG j@}0 1 .

— — — ———+ 000'004

| |

_ a 2 er re neers ore 000 0S1

ceecnriesinetenctinseeeenaceiniennanat

| Sv 069 Ee siend |

| WRLOUS EPOZ Ge02 aBe.ary oma

| ie oe \ rs aaa : Ee Sa Og, ee

wesuous szcz “2202 abesany| —— ; 000 007

| dv $90 22 sjend — — eornes _ |

s W@R0UL 4602 - $goz a now | nb Fee. om,

= / ~ Lasers

, AR——. Vor 000'0sz

“av 29 066 = 301 ,

i> SV 091699 =e)

i tmacanee: L—_ Sv CLE GS = abesary SV GEE’ PSL = 101

WNIADAN BENZ LENE dv 188 65 - @Belary + 000 00€

AianiaQ 183A | 207-8002

naiiietionmiscennan Sue - 000 0S¢

* 000 00F

Apawiay sesuey pasodoig jo $293

ann

Ze ddy

9p 999

App. 23

NON-BINDING ARBITRATION

PURSUANT TO:

FINAL SETTLEMENT STIPULATION

Kansas v. Nebraska and Colorado

No. 126, Original, U.S. Supreme Court

Decree of May 19, 2003, 538 U.S. 720

ARBITRATOR’S FINAL

DECISION ON LEGAL ISSUES

January 22, 2009

BACKGROUND

On December 15, 2002, the states of Kansas, Nebras-

ka, and Colorado (the “States”) executed the Final

Settlement Stipulation (the “FSS”) “ to resolve the

currently pending litigation in the United States

Supreme Court regarding the Republican River Com-

pact by means of this Stipulation and the Proposed

Consent Judgment. ” FSS, Volume 1 of 5, at 1. The

FSS was filed with the Special Master appointed by

the U.S. Supreme Court (the “Court”) in Kansas v.

Nebraska and Colorado, No. 126, Original, who rec-

ommended entry of the proposed consent judgment

which would approve the FSS. Second Report of the

Special Master (Subject: Final Settlement Stipula-

tion) at 77. On May 19, 2003, the Court entered a

consent decree approving the FSS (the “Consent

Decree”).

App. 24

By 2007, disputes arose between the States regarding

compliance with the FSS and the Republican River

Compact (the “Compact”). The disputes were submit-

ted to the Republican River Compact Administration

(the “RRCA”) pursuant to the provision in the FSS for

dispute resolution. See FSS, Volume 1 of 5, § VII., at

34-40. The RRCA addressed the disputes, but no

resolution of certain disputes was reached. See

Resolution of the RRCA dated May 16, 2008, Exhibit

1 to Arbitration Agreement dated October 23, 2008.

The RRCA submitted these disputes to non-binding

arbitration pursuant to the provisions of § VII. of the

FSS, the States executed the Arbitration Agreement

on October 23, 2008 (the “Arbitration Agreement”),

and I was retained by the States to serve as the

Arbitrator.

Exhibit 2 to the Arbitration Agreement sets forth the

“Time Frame Designation” for the non-binding arbi-

tration, Exhibit 3 to the Arbitration Agreement sets

forth the disputed issues identified by the State of

Kansas to be arbitrated, and Exhibit 4 to the Arbi-

tration Agreement sets forth the disputed issues

identified by the State of Nebraska to be arbitrated.

The disputed issue originally raised by the State of

Colorado with the RRCA, which the RRCA submitted

to non-binding arbitration pursuant to the provisions

of § VII. of the FSS (See Attachment 3 to Resolution

of the RRCA dated May 16, 2008), has been with-

drawn from this non-binding arbitration and is not

included in the Arbitration Agreement.

App. 25

From the issues set forth in Exhibit 3 and Exhibit 4

to the Arbitration Agreement, the States identified

six legal issues to be decided by the Arbitrator by

December 19, 2008, for the purpose of narrowing

discovery and the hearing on the merits scheduled in

mid-March of 2009. Based on a disagreement regard-

ing the appropriate scope of the arbitration, the

Arbitrator identified a seventh legal issue during a

prehearing conference held telephonically on Novem-

ber 5, 2008. Each of the States filed opening briefs on

these seven legal issues with the Arbitrator on

November 10, 2008. (The State of Colorado briefed 3

arguments pertaining to only 4 of the legal issues.)

Responsive briefs were filed on November 24, 2008,

and reply briefs were filed on December 5, 2008. Oral

argument on these legal issues was heard at the

University of Denver, Strum College of Law, on

December 10, 2008.

Each of the States stated the seven legal issues

different'y, and the Arbitrator has synthesized the

statements of the States into the following seven

questions. References to the argument or issue are

from the opening briefs of each of the States.

Question 1: Are Nebraska’s proposed changes to the

Republican River Compact Adminis-

tration Accounting Procedures proper

subjects of dispute resolution and for

this arbitra‘ion?

(Kansas’ Argument A., Nebraska’s Issue

I.A., Colorado’s Argument I.)

Question 2:

Question 3:

Question 4:

Question 5:

App. 26

Is the evaporation from Non-Federal

Reservoirs below Harlan County Lake

required to be included in the Compact

accounting?

(Kansas’ Argument B., Nebraska's Issue

I.B.)

Do the current Republican River Com-

pact Administration Accounting Proce-

dures allocate evaporative losses from

Harlan County Lake entirely to Kansas

when the Kansas Bostwick Irrigation

District is the only entity actually

diverting stored water from Harlan

County Lake for irrigation? If yes, how

should evaporation from Harlan County

Lake be allocated?

(Kansas’ Argument C., Nebraska’s Issue

I.C.)

If Nebraska has violated the Compact or

the consent decree of May 19, 2003,

causing damage to Kansas, is Nebraska

subject to remedies for civil contempt of

court, including disgorgement of Nebras-

ka’s gains as monetary sanctions, or

should any damages awarded to Kansas

be limited to actual damages suffered by

Kansas?

(Kansas’ Argument D., Nebraska’s Issue

III.B., Colorado’s Argument II.)

Is Kansas’ proposed remedy for future

compliance with the Republican River

Compact and the Final Settlement

Question 6:

Question 7:

App. 27

Stipulation a proper subject for this

arbitration, and can the U.S. Supreme

Court formulate and mandate a remedy

for future compliance?

(Kansas’ Argument E., Nebraska’s Issue

II., Colorado’s Argument III.)

If Nebraska’s alleged violations during

both 2005 and 2006 are substantiated, is

Kansas entitled to damages for both

2005 and 2006 or for 2006 only?

(Kansas’ Argument F., Nebraska’s Issue

III.A.1.)

Is Nebraska’s issue of crediting pay-

ments for damages for violations from

one year in determinations of compli-

ance in subsequent years a_ proper

subject for this arbitration?

(Kansas’ Argument G., Nebraska’s Issue

III.A.2., Colorado’s Argument I.)

FINAL DECISION

The Arbitrator has treated the briefs filed by the

States as being analogous to cross-motions for sum-

mary judgment under Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure. “A party claiming relief may move,

with or without supporting affidavits, for summary

judgment on all or part of the claim.” Fed. R. Civ. P.

56(a). “The judgment sought should be rendered if the

pleadings, the discovery and disclosure materials on

file, and any affidavits show that there is no genuine

App. 28

issue as to any material fact and that the movant is

entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ.

P. 56(c).

The Arbitrator has carefully considered the briefs of

counsel for the States and has determined that there

are no material facts genuinely at issue that would

preclude decision of the seven legal issues set forth

above as a matter of law. Therefore, the Arbitrator

issues this decision on these seven legal issues,

including a summary of his reasons for deciding each

issue and supporting analysis. With minor corrections

and the addition of supporting analysis for each of the

seven issues, this decision is materially the same as

the preliminary decision issued by the Arbitrator on

December 19, 2008.

Question I:

Are Nebraska’s proposed changes to the

Republican River Compact Administration

Accounting Procedures proper subjects of

dispute resolution and for this arbitration?

(Kansas’ Argument A., Nebraska’s

Issue I.A., Colorado’s Argument I.)

Decision: Nebraska’s proposed changes to the Repub-

lican River Compact Administration Accounting

Procedures are proper subjects of dispute resolution

and for this arbitration. If any changes to the Ac-

counting Procedures are determined to be warranted,

the appropriate effective date for such changes will be

App. 29

determined following a hearing of the facts. Finding

for Nebraska and Colorado; finding against Kansas.

Summary of Reasoning. The “equitable division” or

“allocation” of the waters of the Republican River

Basin between the States is set forth in Article IV of

the Compact, subject to the proportionate adjustment

required in Article III. This equitable division or

allocation is the paramount reason for the Compact

and cannot be enforced without accurate accounting

of how the waters are actually distributed |» ‘ween

the States. Significant flaws in accounting : sult

in significant differences between the entfurceable

allocations established in the Compact and the actual

distributions of the waters between the States.

Correcting errors in the Accounting Procedures used

by the RRCA will help assure that the States actually

receive the waters to which they are entitled pursu-

ant to the Compact. Correcting such errors will not

change the allocations set forth in the Compact,

which cannot be changed unless the Compact is

amended. Since the Court has jurisdiction to enforce

the distribution of waters pursuant to the Compact, it

must also have jurisdiction to require application of

accurate accounting procedures used to determine

whether the distribution of the waters as required by

the Compact has in fact occurred.

The Compact contains no explicit accounting proce-

dures, but the FSS, which must be construed such

that it is entirely consistent with the Compact, does

provide detailed accounting procedures to be used by

the RRCA (the “RRCA Accounting Precedures”). The

App. 30

FSS provides that: “The RRCA may modify the RRCA

Accounting Procedures, or any portion thereof, in any

manner consistent with the Compact and this Stipu-

lation.” See FSS, § LF. See also RRCA Accounting

Procedures and Reporting Requirements, §I. The

FSS also sets forth a process for dispute resolution in

a separate section. See FSS, § VII. This section of the

FSS clearly states that the dispute resolution process

applies to “Any matter relating to Republican River

Compact administration, including administration

and enforcement of the Stipulation in which a State

has an Actual Interest. ” See FSS, § VII.A., 9 1.

and 4 7. The scope of “Any matter relating to Repub-

lican River Compact Administration ” is broad

and includes accounting procedures’ used _ to

determine compliance with the Compact, unless such

procedures are specifically excluded. The specific

provisions for dispute resolution in the FSS do not

exclude the RRCA Accounting Procedures. Similarly,

the provisions in the FSS affirming that the RRCA

may modify the RRCA Accounting Procedures do not

specifically exclude disputes involving those proce-

dures from the provisions in the FSS for dispute

resolution.

Because the FSS specifies how the RRCA is to deter-

mine compliance with the Compact, the FSS must al-

so be construed as rules and regulations of the RRCA,

pursuant to Article [IX of the Compact, unanimously

adopted by the official in each State charged with the

duty of administering the Compact, which duty is

exclusively reserved to those officials in Article IX.

App. 31

Through § VII. of the FSS, the rules and regulations

of the RRCA include provision for dispute resolution

involving “Any matter relating to Republican River

Compact administration, including administration and

enforcement of the Stipulation in which a State has

an Actual Interest” (FSS, § VII.A., 7 1.) and “any dis-

pute submitted to the RRCA pursuant to this Section

VII.” FSS, § VILA., 9 7.

Analysis. The Republican River Compact begins by

stating in Article I:

The major purposes of this compact are to

provide for the most efficient use of the

waters of the Republican River Basin (here-

inafter referred to as the “Basin”) for multi-

ple purposes; to provide for an equitable

division of such waters; to remove all! causes,

present and future, which might lead to

controversies; to promote interstate comity;

Republican River Compact, Pub. Law No. 78-60, 57

Stat. 86 (1943); codified at § 82a-518, K.S.A. (2007);

App. § 1-106, 2A N.R.S. (1995); and § 37-67-101

C.R.S. (2008).

The “equitable division of such waters” is set forth in

Article TV of the Compact, subject to the propor-

tionate adjustment required in Article III.’ This

' “Should the future computed virgin water supply of any

source vary more than the [sic] (10) percent from the virgin wa-

ter supply as hereinabove set forth, the allocations hereinafter

(Continued on following page)

App. 32

equitable division cannot be provided without accu-

rate accounting of the waters so divided. Significant

flaws in accounting will result in significant differ-

ences between the equitable division of the waters

established in the Compact and the actual distribu-

tions of the waters between the States. However, the

Compact contains no explicit agreement or method-

ology for accounting procedures, but instead Article

IX provides that:

It shall be the duty of the three States to

administer this compact through the official

in each State who is now or may hereafter be

charged with the duty of administering the

public water supplies, and to collect and

correlate through such officials the data nec-

essary for the proper administration of the

provisions of this compact. Such officials

may, by unanimous action, adopt rules and

regulations consistent with the provisions of

this compact.

Id.

The FSS does include explicit, detailed RRCA Ac-

counting Procedures’ that although an integral part

of the FSS approved and adopted by the Court

through its decree dated May 19, 2003 (“Decree”),

made from such source shall be increased or decreased in the

relative proportions that the future computed virgin water

supply of such source bears to the computed virgin water supply

used herein.” Article III, 82a-518, K.S.A. (2007).

* Final Settlement Stipulation, Volume 1 of 5, Appendix C.

App. 33

must also be “rules and regulations” adopted pur-

suant to Article [IX of the Compact: “Such officials

may, by unanimous action, adopt rules and regula-

tions consistent with the provisions of this compact.”

Id. The reason why the FSS must also be “rules and

regulations” adopted pursuant to Article [IX of the

Compact is because the FSS specifies how the RRCA

is to determine compliance with the Compact and

requires that the RRCA Accounting Procedures “

shall be used to determine supply, allocations, use

and compliance with the Compact according to the

Stipulation.” FSS, Volume 1 of 5, App. C, §I., at C6.

The Special Master appointed by the Court in Kansas

vu. Nebraska and Colorado, No. 126, Original (“Special

Master McKusick”), recognized that the FSS em-

bodied rules and regulations adopted pursuant to

Article [X of the Compact when he described the FSS

as including “Rules for the use and administration of

water above Guide Rock, Nebraska ”* since such

rules can only be adopted pursuant to Article IX of

the Compact.

Although the Court approved the FSS in its Decree,

the FSS did not fix the RRCA Accounting Procedures

in perpetuity. Under the Compact, rules and regula-

tions consistent with the Compact can be adopted by

unanimous action, and under the Compact those

rules and regulations can certainly be changed by

* See Second Report of the Special Master (Subject: Final

Settlement Stipulation), { (d), at 28.

App. 34

unanimous action. This is reflected in §I.F. of the

FSS, which states: “The RRCA may modify the RRCA

Accounting Procedures, or any portion thereof, in any

manner consistent with the Compact and this Stipu-

lation.”

Kansas argues that: “Both the FSS, by its plain

terms, and the Supreme Court’s own pronouncements

regarding the nature of its original jurisdiction,

preclude the Court, and thus, by extension, an arbi-

trator, from passing on Nebraska’s proposed changes

to the accounting procedures in the FSS.” Kansas’

Opening Brief on Threshold Legal Issues at 7. Kansas

seems to view changing the RRCA Accounting Proce-

dures, absent unanimous action by the States, as one

in the same with “modification or augmentation of

the FSS” /d., at 8. The FSS is an agreement between

and among the States and with the Court’s approval,

the FSS is also a decree of the Court and can only be

modified as provided for by the FSS itself or by action

of the Court. Kansas’ interpretation that changing

the RRCA Accounting Procedures, absent unanimous

action by the States, is the same as “modification or

augmentation of the FSS” cannot be correct since the

FSS explicitly provides for dispute resolution for:

“Any matter relating to Republican River Compact

administration, including administration and enforce-

ment of the Stipulation in which a State has an

Actual Interest, ” FSS, § VIILA., 91. The term

“Compact administration” clearly includes accounting

App. 35

procedures used to determine compliance with the

Compact,“ and the phrase “Any matter relating to

Republican River Compact administration ” is

broad and inclusive. Since disputed matters relating

to the RRCA Accounting Procedures are not explicitly

excluded in the FSS, they should be considered dis-

puted matters subject to the dispute resolution proc-

ess set forth in § VII. of the FSS, including submittal

of any disputed matter to non-binding arbitration

pursuant to § VII.B. once a State has first submitted

the disputed matter to the RCCA pursuant to § VIIA.

and the disputed matter cannot be resolved by RRCA

within the timeframes set forth in § VII.A.

This broad presumption that disputed matters not

resolved by the RRCA pursuant to § VII.A. may be

submitted to non-binding arbitration, unless speci-

fically excluded from arbitration, is consistent with

the Court’s explanation that:

An order to arbitrate the particular griev-

ance should not be denied unless it may be

said with positive assurance that the arbi-

tration clause is not susceptible of an inter-

pretation that covers the asserted dispute.

Doubts should be resolved in favor of cover-

age.

United Steel Workers of America v. Warrior and Gulf

Navigation Company, 363 U.S. 574, at 582-583.

* Id., at 27-28.

App. 36

In the absence of any express provision

excluding a particular grievance from arbi-

tration, we think only the most forceful

evidence of a purpose to exclude the claim

from arbitration can prevail, particularly

where, as here, the exclusion clause is vague

and the arbitration clause quite broad.

Id., at 584-585.

To conclude otherwise would mean that the Court is

powerless to consider accounting procedures“ —_ used

to determine supply, allocations, use and compliance

with the Compact ” when any one of the States

only has to refuse to consider changes to the account-

ing procedures that may be warranted. FSS, App. C,

§ I., at C6.

Regarding the Supreme Court’s pronouncements con-

cerning the nature of its original jurisdiction, Kansas

cites to Texas v. New Mexico, 462 U.S. 554 (1983). In

addition to Texas seeking a decree from the Court

commanding New Mexico to deliver water in accor-

dance with the Pecos River Compact (/d., at 562),

Texas sought adoption of what it called a “Double

Mass Analysis” as the method for determining when a

shortfall in state-line flows has occurred. /d., at 571.

On the latter, the Court declined stating:

The “Double Mass Analysis” represents a

sharply different approach to how to go

about measuring shortfalls at the state line,

an approach which the Compact leaves the

Commission free to adopt, but which this

App. 37

Court may not apply against New Mexico in

the absence of Commission action.

Id., at 574.

However, the reason the Court declined to impose the

“Double Mass Analysis” sought by Texas was not be-

cause the Court determined that it lacked authority

to review accounting methodology, as suggested by

Kansas, but because the Pecos River Compact itself

specified the method for determining when a shortfall

in state-line flows has occurred.’ Id., at 571-572. The

Court further concluded that:

the “Double Mass Analysis” is not close

enough to what the Compact terms an

“inflow-outflow method, as described in the

Report of the Engineering Advisory Com-

mittee” to make it acceptable for use in

determining New Mexico’s compliance with

its Art. III obligations.

Id., at 574.

The Republican River Compact has no such speci-

ficity in accounting methodologies or procedures. And

* Citing Article III of the Pecos River Compact:

“(c) Unless and until a more feasible method is

devised and adopted by the Commission the inflow-

outflow method, as described in the Report of the

Engineering Advisory Committee, shal}! be used to:

(i) Determine the effect on the state-line flow of any

change in depletions by man’s activities or otherwise,

of the waters of the Pecos River in New Mexico.”

App. 38

if in this instance, as suggested by Kansas, the Court

has no authority to resolve disputes regarding ac-

counting procedures to ensure that accurate account-

ing is performed, then the Court cannot determine

whether the apportionment of the waters of the

Republican River Basin as set forth in Article IV of

the Compact has accurately been made.

Special Master McKusick recognized the importance

of accurate accounting procedures in determining the

allocation of the waters of the Republican River Basin

when he stated in his second report that:

The importance of the States’ collaboration

in developing the more comprehensive RRCA

Accounting Procedures cannot be overem-

phasized. Had the States not reached a final

settlement and instead fully litigated their

claims, accounting methods would of neces-

sity (and with great delay and expense) have

had to be determined as part of the trial for

the purpose of establishing a methodology for

determining water allocation and consump-

tive use figures for years after 1994.

Second Report of the Special Master (Subject: Final

Settlement Stipulation), Kansas v. Nebraska and

Colorado, No. 126, Original, at 48.

App. 39

Question 2:

Is the evaporation from Non-Federal Reser-

voirs below Harlan County Lake required to

be included in the Compact accounting?

(Kansas’ Argument B., Nebraska’s Issue I.B.)

Decision: The evaporation from Non-Federal Reser-

voirs below Harlan County Lake is required to be

included in the Compact accounting. Finding for

Kansas; finding against Nebraska.

Summary of Reasoning. In § VI.A., the FSS affir-

matively provides that: “For purposes of Compact

accounting the States will calculate the evaporation

from Non-Federal Reservoirs located in an area that

contributes run-off to the Republican River above

Harlan County Lake, in accordance with the method-

ology set forth in the RRCA Accounting Procedures.”

The provision is silent about how or whether evapora-

tion from Non-Federal Reservoirs below Harlan

County Lake is required to be included in the Com-

pact accounting. Nebraska asserts that this provision

should be read that because it includes evaporation

from Non-Federal Reservoirs above Harlan County

Lake, it implies exclusion of evaporation from Non-

Federal Reservoirs below Harlan County Lake. How-

ever, the FSS must be read such that it is entirely

consistent with the Compact. To be entirely consis-

tent with Article II of the Compact, which defines

“Beneficial Consumptive Use” as including “water

consumed by evaporation from any reservoir” {em-

phasis added], § VI.A. of the FSS can not mean that

App. 40

evaporation from Non-Federal Reservoirs below

Harlan County Lake is to be excluded in Compact

accounting. Rather, § VI.A. of the FSS simply does

not provide a specific requirement as to how evapo-

ration from Non-Federal Reservoirs below Harlan

County Lake is to be included in the Compact ac-

counting [emphasis added}. Regarding the exclusion

of reservoirs having a storage capacity of less than 15

acre-feet, this can only be consistent with Article II of

the Compact because the evaporation from such small

reservoirs is de minimus.

Analysis. In it’s Opening Brief, Kansas asserts that

evaporation from Non-Federal Reservoirs below Har-

lan County Lake is required to be included in the

Compact accounting. Kansas’ Opening Brief on

Threshold Legal Issues at 13. Nebraska asserts that

such evaporation should not be included in the

Compact accounting. Nebraska’s Opening Brief Re:

Legal Issues at 58.

Section VI.A. of the FSS requires that:

For the purposes of Compact accounting the

States will calculate the evaporation from

Non-Federal Reservoirs located in an area

that contributes run-off to the Republican

River above Harlan County Lake, in accor-

dance with the methodology set forth in the

RRCA Accounting Procedures.

Nebraska reads this provision to mean that evap-

oration from Non-Federal Reservoirs located down-

stream from Harlan County Lake should not be

App. 41

included in the Compact accounting stating that: “No

provision is made for non-federal reservoirs below

Harlan County Lake and none can be imputed.”

Nebraska’s Opening Brief Re: Legal Issues at 58.

In its responsive brief, Nebraska similarly contends:

. that by expressing an intent to include Non-

Federal Reservoirs above Harlan County Lake, the

parties intended to exclude those below Harlan

County Lake.” Nebraska's Responsive Brief Re: Legal

Issues at 26.

Nebraska further asserts that: “Although the Com-

pact and FSS generally refer to ‘all’ Non-Federal

Reservoirs in various contexts, it is clear from the

face of the FSS that ‘all’ does not mean ‘all’ because

there already is an exclusion for reservoirs of less

than 15 acre-feet in capacity.” Jd.

Kansas offers a different interpretation regarding

inclusion of this provision together with a description

of the history of including evaporation from Non-

Federal Reservoirs located downstream from Harlan

County Lake. However, neither is needed to properly

decide this issue.

Section I.D. of the FSS provides that:

The States agree that this Stipulation and

the Proposed Consent Judgment are not in-

tended to, nor could they, change the States’

respective rights and obligations under the

Compact. The States reserve their respective

rights under the Compact to raise any issue

App. 42

of Compact interpretation and enforcement

in the future.

This provision is an acknowledgement of the legal

fact that the FSS cannot operate to change the Com-

pact, which is both a contract between the States and

a Federal statute. Article II of the Compact defines

“Beneficial Consumptive Use” as follows:

The term “Beneficial Consumptive Use” is

herein defined to be that use by which the

water supply of the Basin is consumed

through the activities of man, and shall

include water consumed by evaporation from

any reservoir, canal, ditch, or irrigated area.

In § II. of the FSS, the term “Beneficial Consumptive

Use” is defined as:

That use by which the Water Supply of the

Basin is consumed through the activities of

man, and shall include water consumed by

evaporation from any reservoir, canal, ditch,

or irrigated area.

The definition for the term “Beneficial Consumptive

Use” in § II. of the FSS is wholly consistent with the

definition of that term in Article II of the Compact.

Again, § VI.A. of the FSS requires that:

For the purposes of Compact accounting the

States will calculate the evaporation from

Non-Federal Reservoirs located in an area

that contributes run-off to the Republi-

can River above Harlan County Lake, in

App. 43

accordance with the methodology set forth in

the RRCA Accounting Procedures.

This provision explicitly applies to Non-Federal Res-

ervoirs located in an area that contributes run-off to

the Republican River above Harlan County Lake. The

provision is silent about how or whether evaporation

from Non-Federal Reservoirs below Harlan County

Lake is required to be included in the Compact

accounting. However, the only way this provision can

be read to be wholly consistent with Article II of the

Compact is if Section VI.A. of the FSS does not mean

that evaporation from Non-Federal Reservoirs below

Harlan County Lake is to be excluded in Compact

accounting. Rather, Section VI.A. of the FSS does not

provide a specific requirement as to how evaporation

from Non-Federal Reservoirs below Harlan County

Lake is to be included in the Compact accounting.

[emphasis added]. Regarding the exclusion of reser-

voirs having a storage capacity of less than 15 acre-

feet, this can only be consistent with Article II of the

Compact because the evaporation from such small

reservoirs is de minimus.

App. 44

Question 3:

Do the current Republican River Compact

Administration Accounting Procedures allo-

cate evaporative losses from Harlan County

Lake entirely to Kansas when the Kansas

Bostwick Irrigation District is the only entity

actually diverting stored water from Harlan

County Lake for irrigation? If yes, how should

evaporation from Harlan County Lake be

allocated?

(Kansas’ Argument C., Nebraska’s Issue I.C.)

Decision: The current Republican River Compact Ad-

ministration Accounting Procedures allocate evapora-

tive losses from Harlan County Lake entirely to

Kansas when the Kansas Bostwick Irrigation District

is the only entity actually diverting stored water from

Harlan County Lake for irrigation. However, the

Accounting Procedures should be modified so that

evaporation from Harlan County Lake is allocated

between Kansas and Nebraska in proportion to each

state’s use of water from Harlan County Lake for all

purposes. Finding in part for Nebraska and in part

for Kansas; finding in part against Kansas and in

part against Nebraska.

Summary of Reasoning. In § IV.A.2.e)(1) of the RRCA

Accounting Procedures, evaporation from Harlan

County Lake is expressly “charged to Kansas and

Nebraska in proportion to the annual diversions

made by the Kansas Bostwick Irrigation District and

the Nebraska Bostwick Irrigation District” except

App. 45

“For any year in which no irrigation releases were

made from Harlan County Lake. ” The States

could have chosen language that would have ex-

pressly apportioned the evaporation losses from Har-

lan County Lake between Nebraska and Kansas

according to the use of water from Harlan County

Lake by each state, whatever those uses might law-

fully be, but they did not. Assuming Kansas’ assertion

of the underlying intent to be true, that the States

would share the consumptive beneficial use associ-

ated with evaporation from Harlan County Lake on

the basis of the relative amount of their uses, that

intent cannot be used to ignore the plain meaning of

the specific language actually adopted by the States.

There is no ambiguity in the language of this provi-

sion, and its plain meaning must be applied until

such time as this provision of the RRCA Accounting

Procedures is modified, as it should be, as provided

for in the FSS.

There is no dispute that Nebraska paid the Nebraska

Bostwick Irrigation District to forgo its use of water

from Harlan County Lake in 2006 and that the

District did not use water from Harlan County Lake

in 2006. By its own admission, Nebraska undertook

this action in an effort to comply with the Compact.

That is, so that Nebraska could continue beneficial

consumptive uses that otherwise may have been sub-

ject to curtailment to comply with the Compact. For-

going direct use of water from Harlan County Lake so

that other uses of water in the Republican River

Basin in Nebraska could continue is still a use of

App. 46

water in Nebraska. An apportionment of the evapora-

tion from Harlan County Lake for such uses would be

equitable and consistent with Article II and Article

XI(a) of the Compact, which impliedly apportions

evaporation based on where the associated beneficial

use occurs not where the evaporation occurs, and the

RRCA Accounting Procedures should be amended to

provide this equity and consistency with the Compact

when water is used for purposes other than irriga-

tion.

Analysis. The last paragraph in §IV.A.2(e)(1) of the

RRCA Accounting Procedures and Reporting Require-

ments provides that:

The total annual net evaporation (Acre-feet)

will be charged to Kansas and Nebraska in

proportion to the annual diversions made by

the Kansas Bostwick Irrigation District and

the Nebraska Bostwick Irrigation District

during the time period each year when

irrigation releases are being made from

Harlan County Lake. For any year in which

no irrigation releases were made from Har-

lan County Lake, the annual net evaporation

charged to Kansas and Nebraska will be

based on the average of the above calculation

for the most recent three years in which

irrigation releases from Harlan County Lake

were made. In the event Nebraska chooses to

substitute supply for the Superior Canal

from Nebraska’s allocation below Guide Rock

in Water-Short Year Administration years,

the amount of the substitute supply will be

included in the calculation of the split as if it

App. 47

had been diverted to the Superior Canal at

Guide Rock.

Kansas’ Opening Brief on Threshold Legal Issues,

Appendix 3, at 23.

In 2006 and 2007, Nebraska reportedly purchased

from the Nebraska Bostwick Irrigation District all of

the water stored in Harlan County Lake on behalf of

the District for the purpose of making it available to

Kansas. The Nebraska NRDs reportedly made a simi-

lar purchase in 2007 from the Frenchman-Cambridge

Irrigation District. Id., at 21; Nebraska’s Opening

Brief Re: Legal Issues at 56. Kansas states that

the intent of the States was to “ share the

consumptive beneficial use associated with evapora-

tion form Harlan County Lake on the basis of the

relative amount of their uses.” Kansas’ Opening Brief

on Threshold Legal Issues at 22. Consequently,

Kansas asserts that “ {an] alternative use by Ne-

braska should not change the charge of evaporation

to Nebraska.” Jd., at 23. Nebraska counters that the

plain language of the RRCA Accounting Procedures

quoted above makes it clear that “ when one

division of the Bostwick Irrigation District does not

divert water, that State’s [Nebraska’s] share of the

evaporation losses from Harlan County Lake is zero.”

Nebraska’s Opening Brief Re: Legal Issues at 57.

Kansas’s description of the intent of the States to

share the consumptive beneficial use associated

with evaporation from Harlan County Lake on the ba-

sis of the relative amount of their uses” is consistent

App. 48

with the last sentence in the last paragraph of

§ IV.A.2.e)(1) of the RRCA Accounting Procedures and

Reporting Requirements which states: “In the event

Nebraska chooses to substitute supply for the Supe-

rior Canal from Nebraska’s allocation below Guide

Rock in Water-Short Year Administration years, the

amount of the substitute supply will be included in

the calculation of the split as if it had been diverted

to the Superior Canal at Guide Rock.” Kansas’

Opening Brief on Threshold Legal Issues, Appendix 3,

at 23. It is also reflected in the second sentence in the

last paragraph of § IV.A.2(e)(1) of the RRCA Account-

ing Procedures which states: “For any year in which

no irrigation releases were made from Harlan County

Lake, the annual net evaporation charged to Kansas

and Nebraska will be based on the average of the

above calculation for the most recent three years in

which irrigation releases from Harlan County Lake

were made.” Jd. It is worth noting that this second

sentence was not originally included in the RRCA

Accounting Procedures. See last paragraph of FSS,

Volume 1 of 5, Appendix C, § IV.A.2(e)(1).

Regardless of the intent of the States, the specific

wording actually adopted by the States in the last

paragraph of § IV.A.2.e)(1) of the RRCA Accounting

Procedures is unambiguous and can not be ignored

simply because this section “ does not expressly

address how evaporation charges are to be allocated if

one of the States changes the use of its water to a

non-irrigation use.” Kansas’ Opening Brief on Thresh-

old Legal Issues at 21. To address circumstances that

App. 49

were not envisioned when the RRCA Accounting

Procedures were adopted, the Accounting Procedures

can be changed by unanimous agreement between the

States, as was done when the second sentence in the

last paragraph of § IV.A.2.e)(1) was added, or pursu-

ant to the dispute resolution process provided for in

§ VII of the FSS.

By its own admission, Nebraska paid the Nebraska

Bostwick Irrigation District to forgo its use of water

from Harlan County Lake in 2006 and 2007 “[iJn an

effort to comply with the Compact and the FSS.”

Nebraska’s Opening Brief Re: Legal Issues at 56.

That is, water from Harlan County Lake was not

used by the Nebraska Bostwick Irrigation District so

that other beneficial consumptive uses could continue

in Nebraska that otherwise may have been subject to

curtailment to comply with the Compact. Forgoing

direct use of water in Nebraska from Harlan County

Lake so that other beneficial consumptive uses of

water in the Republican River Basin in Nebraska

could continue is still a beneficial use of water in

Nebraska. An apportionment of the evaporation from

Harlan County Lake for such uses would be equitable

and consistent with Article II and Article XI(a) of the

Compact, which impliedly apportions evaporation

based on where the associated beneficial use occurs

not where the evaporation occurs’, and the RRCA

* Kansas incorrectly asserts that the Compact provisions

“require evaporation occurring in a State to be allocated as

(Continued on following page)

App. 50

Accounting Procedures should be amended to provide

this equity and consistency with the Compact when

water is used for purposes other than irrigation.

How evaporation from Harlan County Lake should be

equitably apportioned between Kansas and Nebraska

when water in Harlan County Lake is being directly

used for irrigation purposes in only one of the states

but is being used for other purposes by the other state

is an accounting issue that is properly addressed in

these arbitration proceedings. The issue was sub-

mitted to the RRCA for resolution. See Arbitration

Agreement, Exhibit 1, Attachment 3 (Commissioner

Dunnigan’s letter to Commissioners Barfield and

Wolfe dated April 15, 2008). The RRCA addressed the

issue but no resolution was reached. See Arbitration

Agreement, Exhibit 1. The issue was identified as an

issue to be arbitrated. See Arbitration Agreement,

Exhibit 3 at 1, and Exhibit 4 at 2.

consumptive beneficial use to that State.” See Kansas’ Opening

Brief on Threshold Legal Issues at 21.

App. 51

Question 4:

If Nebraska has violated the Compact or the

consent decree of May 19, 2003, causing damage

to Kansas, is Nebraska subject to remedies for

civil contempt of court, including disgorgement

of Nebraska’s gains as monetary sanctions, or

should any damages awarded to Kansas be

limited to actual damages suffered by Kansas?

(Kansas’ Argument D., Nebraska’s

Issue ITI.B., Colorado’s Argument II.)

Decision: Under the facts alleged by Kansas, the FSS,

as a part of the Consent Decree of May 19, 2003, is

properly enforced as a contract, like the Compact

itself. Any damages awarded to Kansas are properly

limited to the actual damages suffered by Kansas,

and evidence pertaining to Nebraska’s gains for its

alleged overuse of water will not be considered.

Finding for Nebraska and Colorado; finding against

Kansas.

Summary of Reasoning. The FSS was approved by

the Court in the Consent Decree and thus must be

construed as part of the Consent Decree. But the FSS

is first and foremost an agreement amongst the

States, sovereigns who each agreed to “resolve liti-

gation in the United States Supreme Court regarding

the Republican River Compact by means of this

Stipulation and the Proposed Consent Judgment. ”

FSS, § LA. Because the FSS specifies how the RRCA

is to determine compliance with the Compact, the

FSS must also be construed as rules and regulations

of the RRCA, pursuant to Article IX of the Compact,

App. 52

unanimously adopted by the official in each State

charged with the duty of administering the Compact,

which duty is exclusively reserved to those officials in

Article [X. While the Court clearly has broad power to

find contempt and to impose sanctions to remedy

violations of its orders and decrees as asserted by

Kansas, the Court also has the correlative power to

limit or decline to impose contempt sanctions. Given

the unique attributes of the FSS (i1.e., consent decree,

contract between the States, and rules and regu-

lations of the RRCA) and given the purpose of the

States in entering into the FSS (i.e., to resolve

litigation regarding breach of the Republican River

Compact, which itself is to be enforced as a contract

between the States), the Arbitrator determines that

the FSS as part of the Consent Decree should be

enforced as a contract between the States, and any

damages awarded to Kansas should be limited to the

actual damages suffered by Kansas.

Limiting any damages awarded to Kansas to the

actual damages suffered by Kansas is also consistent

with the only provision in the FSS itself that provides

a remedy for Nebraska’s violation of § V.B.2.a. of the

FSS, the very violation alleged by Kansas. This

remedy, which is set forth in § V.B.2.f. of the FSS,

limits Nebraska’s compensation (in water) to Kansas

in the first year after Water-Short Year Administra-

tion is no longer in effect, for Nebraska’s exceedance

of its annual allocation above Guide Rock in the

previous year, to a maximum amount equal to

App. 53

Nebraska’s exceedance in the previous year’; i.e.,

Kansas’ actual loss.

Analysis. The FSS was executed by the Governors

and Attorneys General for each of the States and filed

with Special Master McKusick on December 16, 2002.

See Kansas v. Nebraska and Colorado, No. 126,

Original, 538 U.S. 720 (2003). The FSS was sub-

sequently approved by Decree of the Court on May

19, 2003. Id. As part of the Consent Decree, the FSS

should be construed like a contract.* As part of the

Consent Decree, the FSS is also an enforceable decree

of the Court.’ Additionally, since the FSS specifies

how the RRCA is to determine compliance with the

" “Nebraska must either make up the entire amount of the

previous year’s Computed Beneficial Use in excess of its Allo-

cation, or the amount of the deficit needed to provide a projected

supply in Harlan County Lake of at least 130,000 Acre-feet,

whichever is less.” FSS, § V.B.2.f.

* “While a consent decree is a judicial pronouncement, it is

principally an agreement between the parties and as such

should be construed like a contract.” Crumpton v. Bridgeport

Education Assoc., 993 F.2d 1023, 1028 (2nd Cir. 1993).

* “A consent decree no doubt embodies an agreement of the

parties and thus in some respects is contractual in nature. But it

is an agreement that the parties desire and expect will be

reflected in, and be enforceable as, a judicial decree that is

subject to the rules generally applicable to other judgments and

decrees.” Rufo v. Inmates of Suffolk County Jail, 502 U.S. 367,

112 S.Ct. 748 (1992).

App. 54

Compact, the FSS must also be construed as rules

and regulations of the RRCA."

"’ Article IX of the Compact provides:

It shall be the duty of the three states to administer

this compact through the official in each state who is

now or may hereafter be charged with the duty of

administering the public water supplies, and to collect

and correlate through such officials the data nec-

essary for the proper administration of the provisions

of this compact. Such officials may, by unanimous

action, adopt rules and regulations consistent with

the provisions of this compact.

The Compact itself reserves “the duty to administer this

compact” to “the official in each state who is now or may

hereafter be charged with the duty of administering the public

water supplies” (collectively the RRCA) including the “adoptfion

of] rules and regulations consistent with the provisions of this

compact.” Special Master McKusick recognized the FSS as

embodying “rules and regulations” of the RRCA when he

described § V of the FSS as “Rules for the use and admin-

istration of water above Guide Rock, Nebraska. ..” Second

Report of the Special Master (Subject: Final Settlement Stip-

ulation) at 28. The Court’s Consent Decree, which includes the

FSS, can not alter or supersede this provision of the Compact.

Under the Compact Clause, two States may not

conclude an agreement such as the Pecos River

Compact without the consent of the United States

Congress. However, once given, “congressional con-

sent transforms an interstate compact within this

Clause into a law of the United States.” One

consequence of this metamorphosis is that, unless the

compact to which Congress has consented is somehow

unconstitutional, no court may order relief incon-

sistent with its express terms. [internal citations

omitted |

(Continued on following page)

App. 55

Kansas emphasizes the consent decree attribute of

the FSS as controlling and asserts that: “The proper

mechanism for enforcement of that decree is civil

contempt, the goal of which is both to compensate

Kansas for its injuries occasioned by Nebraska’s vio-

lation and to ensure Nebraska’s future compliance.”

Kansas’ Opening Brief on Threshold Legal Issues at

24. As sanctions for civil contempt, Kansas seeks the

disgorgement of ill-gotten gains from Nebraska,

based on unjust enrichment, together with an addi-

tional amount for costs and attorney fees. Jd., at 26-

30. Kansas further states that it seeks such “money

damages as both compensation and as a means to

coerce compliance with the Court’s decree. A fine

payable to the state of Kansas can serve as both

compensation to the state of Kansas and as a means

to coerce Nebraska into compliance.” Kansas’ Reply

Brief on Threshold Legal Issues at 25. Kansas cites

numerous cases to support its assertions. However,

when asked during oral arguments whether Kansas

was aware of any case that included a finding of

contempt when a consent decree entered as part of an

enforcement proceeding for compact compliance was

Texas v. New Mexico, No. 65 Original, 462 U.S. 554, 103 S.Ct.

2558 (1983), at 564.

Thus, for the FSS to govern how the RRCA is to administer and

determine compliance with the Compact, the FSS must be

construed as rules and regulations unanimously adopted by the

three state members of the RRCA.

App. 56

violated, Kansas could not cite to any such case

stating “You don’t find states doing this.”"

Nebraska and Colorado both emphasize _ the

contractual attribute of the FSS as controlling and

assert that any damages awarded to Kansas are

limited to actual damages suffered by Kansas. See

Nebraska’s Opening Brief Re: Legal Issues at 60-63;

Colorado’s Opening Brief on Legal Issues at 11-17.

Clearly, the Court has broad power to find contempt

and to impose sanctions to remedy violations of its

orders and decrees, as asserted by Kansas. However,

the FSS is first and foremost an agreement amongst

the sovereign States and must be construed within

* When asked during oral

“

its four corners.”'

'' ARBITRATOR DREHER: I haven't been able to

find any case where there was a consent decree

entered as part of an enforcement proceeding for

compact compliance that then, upon violation, there

was ever any sort of contempt. Well, number one, I

haven't found that fact pattern anywhere. This — and

this proceeding seems to be unique in that case. Is

that fair or not?

MR. DRAPER: That’s very fair. That is, I think, a

pretty accurate description of the case law as we see

it, as we understand it to exist. You don’t find states

doing this.

Transcript of Proceedings, In re: Non-Binding Arbitration

Pursuant to the Final Settlement Stipulation, Kansas v.

Nebraska and Colorado, December 10, 2008, at 67:4-16.

* ~~. the scope of a consent decree must be discerned

within its four corners, and not by reference to what might

satisfy the purposes of one of the parties to it. .. the

(Continued on following page)

App. 57

arguments whether any of the States interpreted the

FSS to contain an implied remedy, all three States

answered that the FSS did not contain any remedy

other than the dispute resolutions in § VII." However,

instrument must be construed as it is written. ..” United States

v. Armour & Co., 402 U.S. 673, 91 S.Ct. 1752 (1991), at 682.

'’ ARBITRATOR DREHER: Okay. I’m going to ask

this as a question and I obviously have my own

answer kind of what I’m beginning to formulate. But

do any of the States see any implied remedies in the

Final Settlement Stipulation?

MR. DRAPER: Well, answering for Kansas first, we

don’t, we think that this — this set the standards for

compliance in a very detailed way, but in terms of

what — what do you do if a State does not comply with

the FSS? We don’t see that is in there and that,

therefore, has to go to the Supreme Court and you, as

the first instance. I’m not — I don’t — I’m not aware of

any guidance that is given in the FSS or the Compact,

for that matter.

ARBITRATOR DREHER: Okay. Nebraska?

MR. WILMOTH: I think as far as remedy goes, the

dispute resolution process is the remedial provision, if

you will, for how you resolve disputes.

MR. LAVENE: First administrative step that must be

taken and completed before moving on to Supreme

Court, if that is what you are getting at, I think, or is

there something else?

ARBITRATOR DREHER: There is something else

there, but rather than come out with that at this

point, I’m just asking the question at this point, I

think, to get your perspective.

MR. AMPE: As far as the FSS stating a specific

remedy for any type of compact breach, no, it does not.

It’s analogous to the Court in Texas versus New

(Continued on following page)

App. 58

qf. of § V.B.2., the very section of the FSS that

Kansas alleges Nebraska has violated, provides as

follows:

If, in the first year after Water-Short Year

Administration is no longer in effect, the

Compact accounting shows that Nebraska’s

Computed Beneficial Consumptive Use as

calculated above Guide Rock in the previous

year exceeded its annual Allocation above

Guide Rock, and, for the current year, the

expected or actual supply from Harlan

County Lake, calculated pursuant to Sub-

section V.B.1.A., is greater than 119,000

Acre-feet but less than 130,000 Acre-feet,

then Nebraska must either make up the

entire amount of the previous year’s Com-

puted Beneficial Consumptive Use in excess

of its Allocation, or the amount of the deficit

needed to provide a projected supply in

Harlan County Lake of at least 130,000 Acre-

feet, whichever is less.

Thus under the clear meaning of its own terms, the

FSS provides that the most Nebraska is required to

provide Kansas in water during the first year after

Water-Short Administration is no longer in effect,

when in the previous year Nebraska exceeded its

Mexico that the Compact simply does not state any

remedies for that.

Transcript of Proceedings, In re: Non-Binding Arbitration

Pursuant to the Final Settlement Stipulation, Kansas uv.

Nebraska and Colorado, December 10, 2008, at 77:20-79:2.

App. 59

annual Allocation above Guide Rock, is an amount

equal to the previous year’s Computed Beneficial

Consumptive Use in excess of Nebraska’s Allocation.

This amount of water would equal Kansas’ actual

deficit of water and is the same as Kansas’ actual

loss. The award of any monetary damages must be

consistent with the FSS and equal Kansas’ actual

loss, not Nebraska’s gain. To base a remedy on

Nebraska’s gain rather than Kansas’ actual loss,

would impermissibly expand the burdens to which

the States committed when they agreed to the terms

of the FSS.

Kansas asserts that it should be awarded more than

Kansas’ actual loss for Nebraska's alleged violations

of the FSS “as a means to coerce Nebraska into

compliance.” See Kansas’ Reply Brief on Threshold

Legal Issues at 25. After considering Kansas’ position,

the Arbitrator agrees with the principal expressed by

the Special Master in Kansas v. Colorado, No. 105,

Original. The Special] Master in that proceeding cited

to Texas v. New Mexico:

It might also be said that awarding only a

sum of money would permit New Mexico to

ignore its obligation to deliver water as long

as it is willing to suffer the financial penalty.

But in light of the authority to order reme-

dying shortfalls to be made up in kind, with

whatever additional sanction might be

thought necessary for deliberate failure to

App. 60

perform, that concern is not substantial in

our view.

482 U.S. 124, 107 S.Ct. 2279 (1987) at 132.

The Special Master then stated:

I do not see the measure of damages sug-

gested by Kansas as being an effective

deterrent to compact violations. Interstate

water cases are simply too complex to be

guided by the potential form of remedy. And I

have no doubt about the power of equity to

provide complete relief, perhaps even looking

to upstream gain under appropriate circum-

stances.

Special Master Second Report (September 1997) at

82.

Although Kansas v. Colorado involved violations of a

compact rather than alleged violation of a consent

decree entered by the Court, as Kansas correctly

points out, the principal set forth in Kansas uv.

Colorado is valid for interstate water cases generally.

Assuming Kansas’ allegations to be true, that

Nebraska has violated the FSS and future violations

of the FSS by Nebraska are likely (See Kansas’

Opening Brief on Threshold Legal Issues at 31), it is

the Arbitrator’s opinion that money damages to

coerce compliance are less likely to actually result in

compliance with the Compact and the FSS than

would an effective, operating, compliance plan. Since

the latter is also a proper subject for this arbitration

(see Question 5 below), it is appropriate, at least at

App. 61

this juncture, to enforce the FSS as a contract, like

the Compact itself. For the reasons stated above, any

damages awarded to Kansas are limited to the actual

damages suffered by Kansas.

Question 5:

Is Kansas’s proposed remedy for future com-

pliance with the Republican River Compact

and the Final Settlement Stipulation a proper

subject for this arbitration, and can the U.S.

Supreme Court formulate and mandate a

remedy for future compliance?

(Kansas’ Argument E., Nebraska’s Issue II.,

Colorado’s Argument III.)

Decision: Kansas’ proposed remedy for future com-

pliance with the Republican River Compact and the

Final Settlement Stipulation is a proper subject for

this arbitration; however, Kansas can not mandate its

proposed remedy. Any alternative remedy to that

proposed by Kansas can also be considered during

this arbitration, and the U.S. Supreme Court can

formulate and mandate a remedy for future compli-

ance, as it determines to be necessary. Finding for

Kansas and finding in part for Nebraska and

Colorado; finding in part against Nebraska.

Summary of Reasoning. The FSS sets forth a specific

process for dispute resolution. See FSS, § VII. The

FSS clearly states that the dispute resolution process

applies to “Any matter relating to Republican River

Compact administration, including administration

App. 62

and enforcement of the Stipulation in which a State

has an Actual Interest. ” See FSS, § VII.A., 7 1.

and { 7. The remedy proposed by Kansas for future

compliance with the Compact and the FSS is a proper

subject for this arbitration provided it was first

submitted to the RRCA (FSS, § VIILA., 7 1.), the

RRCA was unable reach unanimous agreement or

resolution (FSS, § VII.A., 9 7.), and Kansas desires to

proceed with resolution by submitting to non-binding

arbitration, unless otherwise agreed to by all States

with an Actual Interest (/d.). As documented in the

May 16, 2008, Resolution of the RRCA (Exhibit 1 to

the Arbitration Agreement), Kansas has followed all

three procedural steps.

Kansas presented its proposed remedy for future

Compact compliance and compliance with the FSS in

its letter to Nebraska dated December 19, 2007. The

mere act of presenting a proposed remedy for

Nebraska’s consideration did not impose the remedy,

nor could Kansas impose any remedy on a coequal

sovereign. However, once the facts are heard at

hearing regarding Nebraska’s alleged violations of

the Compact and the FSS, and both Kansas’ and

Nebraska’s proposed plans for future compliance are

presented and considered, it is appropriate for the

Arbitrator to recommend actions that may be neces-

sary for future compliance. If this matter is even-

tually submitted to the Court, the Court certainly can

impose equitable relief in the form of an injunction or

in other form as determined to be necessary to

enforce future compliance with the Compact and the

App. 63

FSS. However, in enforcing the FSS, the Court should

not impose any greater burdens than what the States

have consented to in the FSS.

Analysis. Kansas asserts that “Nebraska has shown

itself to be incapable of meeting its obligations as set

out in the Republican River Compact and the Final

Settlement Stipulation” and therefore, “Nebraska

needs to be told by the Court, and thus by the Arbi-

trator, what measures need to be taken in order to

meet Nebraska’s obligations.” Kansas’ Opening Brief

on Threshold Legal Issues at 31. Nebraska asserts

that “it is improper for Kansas to assume Nebraska

wil] fail to comply with its obligations under the Com-

pact” and that “Kansas seeks to dictate to Nebraska

the means by which Nebraska must comply with the

mandates of the Compact and the FSS to ensure

against future Compact violations anticipated by

Kansas.” Nebraska’s Opening Brief Re: Legal Issues

at 64. Nebraska also asserts that it “has relentlessly

pursued plans and programs designed to ensure

Compact compliance. ”* Nebraska’s Responsive

‘* Nebraska’s Opening Brief Re: Legal Issues contains

numerous factual allegations regarding hydrologic conditions

and Nebraska’s efforts to ensure compliance with the Compact

and the FSS. Kansas disputes many of these allegations.

Because Nebraska’s factual allegations were not presented

under oath, were not subject to cross-examination, and the other

States have not been afforded the opportunity to submit

countervailing evidence, the Arbitrator has not considered or

given any weight to the factual allegations of Nebraska in this

decision.

App. 64

Brief Re: Legal Issues at 10. Colorado offers the

opinion that: “Although Nebraska has violated the

terms of the Compact, there is no indication that such

violations were willful or intentional.” Colorado’s

Opening Brief on Legal Issues at 18.

Kansas and Nebraska are co-equal sovereigns, and

neither can impose specific performance on the other.

However, the States do not dispute the authority of

the Court to formulate and impose a remedy to

ensure future compliance with the Compact and the

FSS, although Nebraska states that the remedy for

future compliance with the Compact and the FSS

proposed by Kansas in its letter to Nebraska dated

December 19, 2007, “is no longer relevant to this

Arbitration.” Nebraska’s Consolidated Reply Brief at

15. Given the propensity of Kansas and Nebraska to

disagree on matters related to compliance with the

Compact and the FSS, a compliance plan that would

further “remove all causes, present and future, which

might lead to controversies” and reduce the likeli-

hood for a series of future original jurisdiction actions

before the Court is appropriate for this arbitration.

The Arbitrator notes that an attribute of the FSS that

increases the likelihood of disputes between the

States is that compliance with the Compact and the

FSS is only determined after-the-fact, rather than

during the course of each year. It may be appropriate

to formulate a compliance plan that provides for

* Republican River Compact, Article I.

App. 65

taking certain actions during each year based on pro-

jected water supplies and projected uses of both sur-

face water and groundwater by the States, together

with after-the-fact compliance accounting and a

system of credits and debits that carry forward, con-

sistent with the Compact and the FSS. Such a plan

may reduce the potential for future disputes regard-

ing compliance and further “the most efficient use of

the waters of the Republican River Basin” and “inter-

state comity.””

Question 6:

If Nebraska’s alleged violations during both

2005 and 2006 are substantiated, is Kansas

entitled to damages for both 2005 and 2006 or

for 2006 only?

(Kansas’ Argument F.,

Nebraska’s Issue III.A.1.)

Decision: If Nebraska’s alleged violations during both

2005 and 2006 are substantiated, Kansas is entitled

to damages for both 2005 and 2006, but not based on

the methodology set forth by Kansas, i.e., not two

times the average of the shortages from 2005 and

from 2006. Nebraska’s compliance with the Compact

in 2005 will be determined based on the evidence

presented at hearing. Finding in part for Kansas and

in part for Nebraska; finding in part against

Nebraska and in part against Kansas.

° Id.

App. 66

Summary of Reasoning. By the plain wording of the

FSS, the States waived “all claims against each other

relating to the use of the waters of the [Republican

River] Basin pursuant to the Compact with respect to

activities or conditions occurring before December 15,

2002,” (FSS, §1.C.) but not “[w]Jith respect to acti-

vities or conditions occurring after December 15, 2002

” FSS, § 1.D. Further, the “States agree[d] that this

Stipulation and the Proposed Consent Judgment are

not intended to, nor could they, change the States’

respective rights and obligations under the Compact.”

Id. The States also agreed “to implement the

obligations and agreements in this Stipulation in

accordance with the schedule attached hereto as

Appendix B.” FSS, §1.B. Appendix B of the FSS

unambiguously sets the “First year Water-Short Year

Administration compliance” as 2006, not 2005. The

FSS also prescribes that “any Water-Short Year

Administration year [is] treated as the second year of

the two-year running average and using the prior

year as the first year.” FSS, § V.B.2.e.i. The common

meaning of a two-year running average is the average

value for a parameter calculated by adding the value

for that parameter in a given year to the value for

that same parameter from the preceding year and

dividing the sum by two. The calculations shown in

Table 5C of the RRCA Accounting Procedures for

determining Nebraska’s compliance during Water-

Short Year Administration are wholly consistent with

this meaning. Therefore, since Appendix B of the FSS

sets 2006 as the first year for Water-Short Year

Administration compliance, the only purpose for the

App. 67

2005 calculations of Nebraska’s Computed Beneficial

Consumptive Use above Guide Rock, Nebraska’s Allo-

cation from sources above Guide Rock, Nebraska’s

share of any unused portion of Colorado’s Allocation,

and credits for imported water, pursuant to § V.B.2.a.

of the FSS and Table 5C of the RRCA Accounting

Procedures, is for calculation of the corresponding

two-year running averages for 2006. Nebraska’s

compliance with § V.B.2.a. of the FSS in 2005 would

require calculation of two-year running averages

using parameter values from 2004 and 2005, but is

not relevant since the FSS plainly established 2006

as the first year for Water-Short Year Administration

compliance.

While compliance with § V.B.2.a. of the FSS in 2005 is

not required by the implementation schedule set forth

in Appendix B to the FSS, this does not relieve

Nebraska from any actual damages to Kansas

resulting from noncompliance with the Compact in

2005.

Analysis. Kansas asserts that:

Applying the methodology for determining

Nebraska compliance in a Water Short Year,

as set out in Section V.B.2.e.1 [of the FSS], to

2006, one must determine the two-year run-

ning average for the year 2006 and the prior

year, 2005. The amount of violation for Water

Short-Year 2006 is therefore that same

amount doubled.

App. 68

Kansas’ Opening Brief on Threshold Legal Issues at

35.

Nebraska contends that:

The Implementation Schedule [in FSS,

Volume 1 of 5, App. B, at B11], provides a list

of dates by which various compliance

mechanisms become applicable. The Imple-

mentation Schedule expressly identifies 2006

as the “First year Water-Short Year Admin-

istration compliance.”

It is not possible to read into this language a

requirement that Nebraska comply with the

WSY Administration accounting in 2005.

Nebraska’s Responsive Brief Re: Legal Issues at 28.

Nebraska further contends that “the FSS specifically

was designed to allow Nebraska time to come into

compliance with the new order of things, which

included a new mandate to regulate table land wells.

The provision of such a grace period was part of the

bargained for exchange embodied inthe FSS. _” _Zd.,

at 29.

Neither Kansas nor Nebraska is correct. Kansas’

interpretation of the provision in § V.B.2.e.i. of the

FSS, which states “with any Water-Short Year

Administration year treated as the second year of the

two-year running average and using the prior year as

the first year,” is inconsistent with the plain wording

of the provision and the plain meaning of “two-year

App. 69

running average.” Nebraska’s contention that there

was to be a “grace period” directly contradicts § I.D. of

the FSS which provides that: “With respect to

activities or conditions occurring after December 15,

2002, the dismissal will not preclude a State from

seeking enforcement of the provisions of the

Compact. ” There is no explicit mention of the

“grace period” that Nebraska suggests was intended

anywhere within the FSS or its appendices.

Using the hypothetical constructed by Kansas in its

Opening Brief on Threshold Legal Issues at 35, to-

gether with the plain wording of the provision in

§ V.B.2.e.i. of the FSS and the plain meaning of “two-

year running average,” if the 2005 accounting of allo-

cation-less-beneficial-consumptive-use in Nebraska

showed a negative 40,000 acre-feet, and the 2006

accounting showed a positive 20,000 acre-feet, the

Water-Short Year violation for 2006 would be 10,000

acre-feet ((-40,000 + 20,000)/ 2). Appendix B to the

FSS does not provide for “Water-Short Year Admin-

istration compliance” prior to 2006 or “normal year

compliance” prior to 2007. Therefore, any alleged

Compact violations occurring after December 15,

2002, but before 2006 for “Water-Short Year Admin-

istration compliance” or 2007 for “normal year com-

pliance” must be separately determined based on the

evidence presented at hearing.

App. 70

Question 7:

Is Nebraska’s issue of crediting payments for

damages for violations from one year in deter-

minations of compliance in subsequent years a

proper subject for this arbitration?

(Kansas’ Argument G., Nebraska’s

Issue III.A.2., Colorado’s Argument I.)

Decision: Nebraska’s issue of crediting payments for

damages for violations from one year in deter-

minations of compliance in subsequent years is not a

proper subject for this arbitration at this time, since

the issue has not been directly and fully submitted

together with supporting materials to the RRCA.

However, this issue can be addressed at hearing and

in post-hearing briefs to the extent it must be

addressed in considering Kansas’ proposed remedy, or

other alternative remedies or plans that may be

considered at hearing, for future compliance with the

Compact and the Final Settlement Stipulation. Alter-

natively, since this issue was identified in Exhibit 4 to

the Arbitration Agreement, once directly and fully

submitted with supporting materials to the RRCA

and if the RRCA is unable to resolve this issue, it

would then be a proper subject as an issue in this

arbitration. Finding in part for Kansas, Nebraska,

and Colorado; finding in part against Kansas,

Nebraska, and Colorado.

Summary of Reasoning. In Nebraska’s Opening Brief

Re: Issue III.A.2., illustrative information is pre-

sented (See Table 1 in Nebraska’s Opening Brief) to

App. 71

show “the importance of providing Nebraska with a

credit for damages paid for violations in 2006 (a WSY

Administration year).” Nebraska’s Opening Brief Re:

Issue III.A.2. at 8-9. While this information is helpful

to the Arbitrator for context, there is no indication in

the Arbitration Agreement or the States’ opening,

responsive, or reply briefs that demonstrates

Nebraska’s Issue III.A.2. was previously and spec-

ifically defined for the RRCA, that the type of

supporting information presented in Table 1 of

Nebraska’s Opening Brief regarding this issue was

supplied to the RRCA, or that Nebraska designated a

schedule for the RRCA to attempt resolution of this

issue, as expressly required by § VII.A.6. of the FSS.

Nebraska’s Issue IIJ.A.2. may very well need to be

addressed in a limited manner while considering the

formulation of any plan for ongoing compliance with

the Compact and the FSS that is determined to be

necessary, and to the limited extent required to

address other issues that have been properly sub-

mitted to but unresolved by the RRCA. To the limited

extent necessary to address issues specifically set

forth in the May 16, 2008, Resolution of the RRCA

(Exhibit 1 to the Arbitration Agreement), Nebraska’s

Issue IJI.A.1. can be considered in this arbitration.

While the Arbitrator agrees with the principal of

judicial economy in addressing related issues in a

broader context, that principal cannot defeat the

specific requirements of the FSS set forth in

§§ VII.A.1. and 6. Therefore, if Nebraska desires to

App. 72

have its Issue III.A.2. fully addressed in this arbi-

tration, Nebraska must first directly submit this

issue to the RRCA as a separate issue with a specific

definition, supporting materials, and a schedule for

resolution.

Analysis. Nebraska asserts that it is entitled to have

its issue of crediting payments for damages for

violations from one year in determinations of com-

pliance in subsequent years (“crediting issue”)

addressed in this arbitration because Exhibit 4 to the

Arbitration Agreement executed by the States on

October 23, 2008, specifically identifies the crediting

issue as an issue to be arbitrated (Exhibit 4 at 3) and

because | 5. of §A. in the Arbitration Agreement

provides:

The Arbitration is for the purpose of, and

shall result in, the determination by the

Arbitrator of the legal and factual issues set

out in Exhibit 3 (Kansas issues) and Exhibit

4 (Nebraska’s issues), as may be further

refined by the States and the Arbitrator.

Arbitration Agreement at 1-2.

Nebraska further contends that the crediting issue

arises directly from Kansas’ submittal to the RRCA

by letter dated February 8, 2008. See Nebraska’s

Opening Brief Re: Issue III.A.2 at 4-6.

Even though Kansas is a signatory to the Arbitration

Agreement, which included Exhibit 4 identifying the

crediting issue as an issue for arbitration, Kansas

contends that:

App. 73

Prior to October 21, 2008, Nebraska had

never raised this issue with Kansas, and

Nebraska has never presented this issue to

the RRCA. Nebraska has never given Kansas

a proposal as to how this matter could be

resolved, and the matter has not been dis-

cussed by Nebraska and Kansas. Because

Kansas has never seen Nebraska’s proposal

on how to resolve this matter, it is unknown

whether a dispute even exists on this issue.

Kansas’ Opening Brief on Threshold Legal Issues at

40.

Colorado states that: “Nebraska has the right to bring

forth any issues for which it has followed the dispute

resolution process [§ VII. of the FSS] and identified

those issues within the Arbitration Agreement.

Colorado’s Opening Brief on Legal Issues at 7.

Colorado also suggests that: “The significance that

enforcement damages will have upon future com-

pliance with the Final Settlement Stipulation is

useful information to the states and is intrinsically

related to the other issues that the states are already

briefing.” Colorado’s Response Brief on Legal Issues

at 20.

As already discussed for Question 1, the broad

presumption that disputed matters not resolved by

the RRCA pursuant to § VIIA. of the FSS may be

submitted to non-binding arbitration, unless specifi-

cally excluded from arbitration, is consistent with the

Court’s explanation that:

App. 74

An order to arbitrate the particular griev-

ance should not be denied unless it may be

said with positive assurance that the arbi-

tration clause is not susceptible of an inter-

pretation that covers the asserted dispute.

Doubts should be resolved in favor of

coverage.

United Steel Workers of America v. Warrior and Gulf

Navigation Company, 363 U.S. 574, at 582-583.

In the absence of any express provision

excluding a particular grievance from arbi-

tration, we think only the most forceful

evidence of a purpose to exclude the claim

from arbitration can prevail, particularly

where, as here, the exclusion clause is vague

and the arbitration clause quite broad.

Id., at 584-585.

However, although the Arbitration Agreement

executed by the States on October 23, 2008,

specifically identified the crediting issue as an issue

to be arbitrated, § VII.A.1. of the FSS approved as

part of the Consent Decree unequivocally requires

that: “Any matter relating to Republican River

Compact administration, including administration

and enforcement of the Stipulation in which a State

has an Actual Interest, shall first be Submitted to

the RRCA.” [emphasis added] Exhibit 1 to the

Arbitration Agreement is a Resolution of the RRCA

dated May 16, 2008, and identifies the disputes that

have been addressed by the RRCA, as required by

§ VII.A.1. of the FSS, where no resolution was

App. 75

reached. Included in the disputes where no resolution

was reached is Nebraska’s submittal to the RRCA by

Commissioner Dunnigan’s letter dated April 15, 2008,

which is attached to Exhibit 1 of the Arbitration

Agreement. That letter sets forth nine issues

Nebraska has identified as “fast-track” issues in

accordance with § VII.A.3. of the FSS as follows: (1)

Estimation of Beneficial Consumptive Use of

Nebraska’s Virgin Water Supply; (2) Division of

Evaporative Loss from Harlan County Lake when

Only One State Utilizes Reservoir Storage for Irri-

gation: (3) Non-Federal Reservoir Evaporation below

Harlan County Lake; (4) Return Flow; (5) Haigler

Canal Diversion/Arikaree Return Flows; Haigler

Canal Computed Beneficial Consumptive Use Cal-

culations for Nebraska; Arikaree Sub-basin Virgin

Water Supply Calculations; (8) Discrepancies

Between the Accounting Points for Surface Water

Computed Beneficial Consumptive Uses and Ground

Water Beneficial Consumptive Uses Used in the

Accounting Procedures for Calculating Sub-basin

Virgin Water Supplies and Beneficial Consumptive

Uses; and (9) Riverside Canal Issues. None of these

issues have any direct or intrinsic relationship with

the crediting issue.

The requirement in § VII.A.1. of the FSS that any

disputed matter or issue must first be submitted to

the RRCA before it can be submitted to arbitration is

unequivocal. Nebraska did not submit the crediting

issue to the RRCA when it could have in its letter of

April 15, 2008, even though it had received Kansas’

App. 76

proposed remedy for Nebraska’s alleged violations of

the FSS nearly 4 months earlier,’ from which

Nebraska claims the crediting issue arises. Nebraska

has not subsequently provided documentation show-

ing the crediting issue has been submitted to the

RRCA and that the RRCA has not been able to

resolve this issue. Therefore, the broad presumption

afforded disputed issues eligible for arbitration, even

those issues identified in Exhibit 4 of the Arbitration

Agreement, does not apply. The crediting issue is

specifically excluded by lack of submittal to the RRCA

pursuant to §VII.A.1. of the FSS. Additionally,

because Nebraska did not submit this issue to the

RRCA when it clearly could have, the Arbitrator

determines that the crediting issue does not fall

within § VII.C.1. of the FSS as one or more “unfore-

seen issues” that may be added at the discretion of

the arbitrator.”

The crediting issue may or may not have bearing on

other issues that have been submitted to but

unresolved by the RRCA. To the limited extent that

the crediting issue must be considered to appro-

priately address issues specifically set forth in the

May 16, 2008, Resolution of the RRCA (Exhibit 1 to

the Arbitration Agreement) the crediting issue will be

considered in this arbitration. Otherwise, the credit-

ing issue will be excluded unless that issue is fully

" Letter from David Barfield of Kansas to Ann Bleed of

Nebraska, dated Deceinber 17, 2007.

App. 77

submitted to the RRCA and the RRCA determines it

is unable to resolve the issue during the pendency of

this arbitration.

Dated: January 22, 2009

/s/ Karl J Dreher

Karl J. Dreher

Arbitrator

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Karl J. Dreher, hereby certify that I caused a copy

of the foregoing Arbitrator’s Final Decision on Legal

Issues to be placed in the U.S. Mail, postage paid, on

this 23rd day of January, 2009, addressed to each of

the following:

John B. Draper, Esq. James J. DuBois, Esq.

Special Assistant Natural Resources

Attorney General Division

Montgomery & U.S. Department

Andrews, P.A. of Justice

Santa Fe, NM 87504-2307 1961 Stout Street,

8th Floor

Denver, CO 80294

Samuel Speed, Esq. Aaron M. Thompson

Assistant Attorney General Area Manager

Memorial Hall, Third Floor U.S. Bureau of

120 SW 10th Street Reclamation

Topeka, KS 66612 203 West 2nd Street

Grand Island, NE 68801

App. 78

Justin D. Lavene, Esq.

Special Counsel to the

Attorney General

Nebraska Attorney

General’s Office

2115 State Capitol

Lincoln, NE 68509

Peter J. Ampe. Esq.

First Assistant Attorney

General

Federal and Interstate

Water Unit

1525 Sherman Street,

5th Floor

Denver, CO 80203

Col. Roger A. Wilson, Jr.

U.S. Army Corps of

Engineers

Kansas City District

601 East 12th Street

Kansas City, MO 64106

/s/ Karl J Dreher

Karl J. Dreher

App. 79

NON-BINDING ARBITRATION

Pursuant to Arbitration Agreement

of October 23, 2008

IN ACCORDANCE WITH:

FINAL SETTLEMENT STIPULATION

Kansas v. Nebraska and Colorado

No. 126, Original, U.S. Supreme Court

Decree of May 19, 2003, 538 U.S. 720

a

ARBITRATOR’S FINAL DECISION

4

June 30, 2009

BACKGROUND

On December 15, 2002, the states of Kansas,

Nebraska, and Colorado (the “States”) executed the

Final Settlement Stipulation (the “FSS”) “ to

resolve the currently pending litigation in the United

States Supreme Court regarding the Republican

River Compact by means of this Stipulation and the

Proposed Consent Judgment ” FSS, Volume 1 of

5, at 1. The FSS was filed with the Special Master

appointed by the U.S. Supreme Court (the “Court”) in

Kansas v. Nebraska and Colorado, No. 126, Original,

who recommended entry of the proposed consent

judgment which would approve the FSS. Second

Report of the Special Master (Subject: Final

Settlement Stipulation) at 77. On May 19, 2003, the

Court entered a consent decree approving the FSS

(the “Consent Decree”).

App. 80

By 2007, disputes arose between the States regarding

compliance with the FSS and the Republican River

Compact (the “Compact”). The disputes were sub-

mitted to the Republican River Compact Admin-

istration (the “RRCA”) pursuant to the provision in

the FSS for dispute resolution. See FSS, Volume 1 of

5, § VII., at 34-40. The RRCA addressed the disputes,

but no resolution of certain disputes was reached. See

Resolution of the RRCA dated May 16, 2008; Exhibit

1 to Arbitration Agreement dated October 23, 2008.

The RRCA submitted these disputes to non-binding

arbitration pursuant to the provisions of § VII. of the

FSS, the States executed the Arbitration Agreement

on October 23, 2008 (the “Arbitration Agreement”),

and I was retained by the States to serve as the

Arbitrator.

Exhibit 2 to the Arbitration Agreement sets forth the

“Time Frame Designation” for the non-binding

arbitration, Exhibit 3 to the Arbitration Agreement

sets forth the disputed issues identified by the State

of Kansas to be arbitrated, and Exhibit 4 to the

Arbitration Agreement sets forth the disputed issues

identified by the State of Nebraska to be arbitrated.

The disputed issue originally raised by the State of

Colorado with the RRCA, which the RRCA submitted

to non-binding arbitration pursuant to the provisions

of § VII. of the FSS (See Attachment 3 to Resolution

of the RRCA dated May 16, 2008), has been

withdrawn from this arbitration and is not included

in the Arbitration Agreement.

App. 82

From the issues set forth in Exhibit 3 and Exhibit 4

to the Arbitration Agreement, the States identified

six legal issues to be decided by the Arbitrator by

December 19, 2008, for the purpose of narrowing

discovery and the hearing on the merits. Based on a

disagreement regarding the appropriate scope of the

arbitration, the Arbitrator identified a seventh legal

issue during a prehearing conference held telephon-

ically on November 5, 2008. Each of the States filed

opening briefs on these seven legal issues with the

Arbitrator on November 10, 2008. (The State of

Colorado briefed 3 arguments pertaining to only 4 of

the legal issues.) Responsive briefs were filed on

November 24, 2008, and reply briefs were filed on

December 5, 2008. Oral argument on these legal

issues was heard at the University of Denver, Strum

College of Law, on December 10, 2008.

The Arbitrator treated the briefs filed by the States

as being analogous to cross-motions for summary

judgment under Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure. “A party claiming relief may move, with or

without supporting affidavits, for summary judgment

on all or part of the claim.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(a). “The

judgmet sought should be rendered if the pleadings,

the discovery and disclosure materials on file, and

any affidavits show that there is no genuine issue as

to any material fact and that the movant is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c).

App. 82

The Arbitrator issued his preliminary decision on

these seven legal issues, including a summary of his

reasons for deciding each issue, on December 19,

2008. On January 22, 2009, the Arbitrator issued his

final decision on these seven legal issues. With minor

corrections and the addition of supporting analysis

for each of the seven issues, the final decision is

materially the same as the preliminary decision

issued on December 19, 2008. The Arbitrator’s Final

Decision on Legal Issues is attached hereto” and fully

incorporated herein by reference.

The States submitted expert reports on the remaining

issues to the Arbitrator in lieu of extensive direct

testimony on February 23, 2009. The Arbitrator

subsequently conducted a hearing on those issues at

the Byron Rogers U. S. Courthouse in Denver,

Colorado, beginning on March 9, 2009. The hearing

was recessed on March 19, 2009, and reconvened and

concluded on April 14, 2009. The Arbitrator has

carefully considered the reports and testimony of the

expert witnesses for the States together with post-

hearing briefs submitted by counsel for the States

and issues the following decision.

[Pages 2-60 of Arbitrator’s Final Decision were

omitted]

*“ The date in the first line of the attached Arbitrator’s

Final Decision on Legal Issues, dated January 22, 2009, has

been corrected to December 15, 2002.

App. 83

CONCLUSIONS

Accounting Procedures

1.

For the reasons set forth in the Arbitrator’s Final

Decision on Legal Issues, which is attached and

incorporated herein, Nebraska’s proposed

changes to the Accounting Procedures are proper

subjects for this arbitration.

Accounting Procedures ~— Estimating Computed

Beneficial Consumptive Use for Groundwater and

Imported Water Supply

2.

The assertion made by Colorado and Kansas that

the issue of estimating CBCU of groundwater

and determining the IWS is not a proper subject

for this arbitration, because Nebraska’s expert

report on this issue had not been submitted to

the RRCA for its consideration, is not convincing.

Nebraska’s proposal to use 8 differences cal-

culated using 16 runs of the RRCA Groundwater

Model for each of 4 aquifer stresses is essentially

the same as what was presented to the RRCA in

August of 2008, even though the weighting

coefficients used to combine the differences have

changed. Neither Colorado nor Kansas timely

made this assertion when they submitted their

respective expert reports in_ response to

Nebraska’s expert report on this issue, and

neither timely raised this assertion during the

hearing conducted as part of this arbitration.

Nebraska’s proposed procedure for determining

VWS, whereby what Nebraska terms VWS,,

determined as ( 0 — CKMN), is more consistent

App. 84

with the definition of VWS established in the

Compact and adopted in the Accounting Pro-

cedures than is summing CBCU,, CBCU,, and

CBCU,, less IWS, each calculated in accordance

with the existing Accounting Procedures, to com-

pute VWS...

While Nebraska’s proposal for determining what

it terms VWS, is consistent with the definition of

VWS established in the Compact and adopted in

the Accounting Procedures, Nebraska’s proposed

changes to calculate CBCU., CBCU,, CBCU,,

and IWS, are problematic and adoption of

Nebraska’s proposed changes by the RRCA is not

appropriate.

Although Nebraska’s proposed changes _ to

calculate CBCU,, CBCU,, CBCU,, and IWS,

should not be adopted by the RRCA, the RRCA

should consider reconvening the Technical

Groundwater Modeling Committee to thoroughly

re-evaluate the nonlinear response of the RRCA

Groundwater Model when simulated stream

drying occurs, re-evaluate th

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — Kansas v. Nebraska and Colorado (No. 220126-ORG) | Frix