Amicus Curiae Brief — Kansas v. Nebraska and Colorado (No. 220126-ORG)

Supreme Court brief2015

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 126, Original

In the Supreme Court of the Anited-States

STATE OF KANSAS, PLAINTIFF

v.

STATE OF NEBRASKA

AND

STATE OF COLORADO

ON MOTION TO DISMISS

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

AS AMICUS CUBIAE IN OPPOSITION TO THE

MOTION TO DISMISS

SETH P. WAXMAN

Solicitor General

Counsel of Record

Lois J. SCHIFFER

Assistant Attorney General

EDWIN S, KNEEDLER

Deputy Solicitor General

JEFFREY P. MINEAR

Assistant to the Solicitor

General

ANDREW F. WALCH

EDWARD A. BOLING

Attorneys

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20580-0001

(202) 514-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Republican River Compact restricts a com-

pacting State’s consumption of groundwater.

(I)

Ca

me Re rare MR Bie

a

oo a

Se

= ee

eg os Pe ee

rr a:

ee Aer, AHS a awed ah ?

Statement

TABLE OF CONTENTS

A. The Republican River Basin ..0..............cccccesceeseeeeeeeees

B. The compact approval process ...............cscesesseeeeeesees

C. The Republican River Compact ....0.........:ccccceeeseeeeenes

). Post-compact development ................:.-ccccecesseeeeneeeeeeees

E. The Current CONLFOVEBY ...........cccccccsssscssccccessvessseseesoeess

I I, ecicscccesensccisnssctatcinennnnssitienincicniinianinitimniasinien

Argument:

The Republican River Compact restricts a State’s

consumption of groundwater that contributes to

the “virgin water supply” of the Republican

I TI cicesteetensnsseesncinsesvsasincerhiniianisanusitbbiabbcsininkalaneiacduinsisammsssiines

A. The Republican River Compact apportions

the virgin water supply, which consists of

stream flows originating from both surface

runoff and groundwater discharge 00.0.0...

B. The Compact requires a State to include

within its allocation of the virgin water

supply groundwater consumption that

diminishes Basin stream flows ...............:.s:.csereceeseeeees

C. Kansas is entitled to relief under the Compact

if it can demonstrate that Nebraska’s com-

sumption of groundwater has resulted in

Nebraska’s exceeding its compact allocation. ............

Conclusion

Addendum

Addendum

Addendum

Addendum

Cases:

EEE EEE EEE EEE EEE EEE EEE EEE EE EEE EEE EEE EEE EE EEE HEHEHE E EEE

EEE EEE EEE EEE EE EEE EEO EE EE EEEE EEE EEE EEE EEEEE EEE EEE RE EEE EE EEE

POUT TCE el

EEE EERE EEE EEE EEE EERE EEE EEE EERE EERE EEEEE TEER EERE EEE EEE EEE EES

COE EEE EEE EERE EEE EEE EEE EERE EEE EEE EEE EEE EEE EEEEEEEE EEE OEE TEE EEE HEHE HS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392 (1985) ..0.....ccceeeeeeeeeeeees

Arizona v. California, 292 U.S. 341 (1984) .......cccccceceeee

(IIT)

13

15

19

14

14

IV

Cases—Continued:

Page

Cappaert v. United States, 426 U.S. 128 (1976) ............... 12, 16

Hinderlider v. La Plata River & Cherry Creek

BS Cig, Te Tk Ge CD cecceccccsnescneniscccesncscanccsconeseess 28

Kansas v. Colorado:

Be i ITT ricinstcncoushcinttictpiaheicininiiibeniiilidiinilenaaeaiteeemaanehaenes 18

CI I ie las 29

Be es SII ‘citisccaneanccincdinctensiniadelonmlacssabasncees 14, 24, 25, 29

Nebraska v. Wyoming:

I I I IID ial sescncesencsintienegieibaencbiogeniinaiadnmeenbaiunsibi 27

Se i SI STITT, sors secissarenstenaneenmineineseesiesneibvisassaiiiananesienmnaiibatt 29

EE Cy SIE IIIT. scrrnsitchisienitbigianiaiibidiedibibnianmeapumianeunséemnues 29

Be MA IED ‘Saisciscesssccssiencsestiessecisenisnnntensenstncesin 20, 27, 28, 29, 30

Rs, 0 ID cesisthsreavenenesicasintenitnnnegaecisienbbinmbaniasinines 27, 28, 29, 30

Neitzke v. Williams, 490 U.S. 319 (1989) 0... eee 13

New Jersey v. New York, 523 U.S. 767 (1998) .............-.... 14

Oklahoma v. New Mexico, 501 U.S. 221 (1991) ................ 14

Papsan v. Allain, 478 U.S. 265 (1986) .............cccccccceseeneees 14

Snake Creek Mining & Tunnel Co. v. Midway

Irrigation Co., 260 U.S. 596 (1923) ........ceecceeeseeeeeneeessees 18

Sporhase v. Nebraska ex rel. Douglas, 458 U.S. 941

SITY ‘cosinast lle icchldaedenccsahctekassenineldipnsan cosniplanipsainadioubateseamianainnincaintin 28

Texas v. New Merico:

On os cansersnesnniniesispbmenaiaandaginanainen 29

SM iar ects icteiacestscsis ca cateesegleaibcabanip acnadenaeinaainedanions 24, 26

Or ia taan 14, 24, 25, 30

Se a IIE Sscsnicéciccsbeccisisscscdensseseinnteniateabeninesdiesinihesilitisiiaghalaa 26

SE MI, SE UID pensttieisditiccecsicdiecisacinasensaenipboniescinsdedsie 14, 24, 26, 29

United States v. Alaska:

RRS RAE ASS RS renee ae er erie ee 29

I I I cca et lit ecdal 30

Weiland v. Pioneer Irrigation Co., 259 U.S. 498

SEUEPTUIIEID cavsissiciacsseccasacescsbciehtcsealehitdeii ca emtanahsautaiaihatsaiibleainsitbiaianlinialo 8

Constitution, statutes and rules: Page

U.S. Const. Art. I, § 10, Ci. 3 (Compact Clause) ................. 1,4

Act of Aug. 18, 1941, ch. 377, 55 Sat. 646.000 3

Act of Aug. 4, 1942, ch. 545, 56 Stat. 736 0000.0... cece 5, 6

Arkansas River Compact, ch. 155, 63 Stat. 145 .0000000.0..0...... 24, 25

BR Se OE sncsiicarncsininseiaiiiesnctnsitsnsisaatiadinsinani 25

Flood Control Act of 1944, ch. 665, § 9, 58 Stat. 891 ........... i)

Pecos River Compact, ch. 184, 63 Stat. 159 0... 24, 27

SR, Tig ee HD ccesenitnccsnsenasiecnnsinicsitiintaniiitiadainiinisinidiinins 25, 26

Republican River Compact (Act of May 26, 1943),

i, Te Ce SOP artstitpnaietencinnstenicterstioeenitineninilntneniions 2, 6, la-12a

I clan aiataeaiuncasinasahicaaeeinscaiciiaacabeaaanaiianinaie 6, 20, 21, 2a

Bs HORE centtictisctninnaiansinnseninitiiipcseiintatiniamaniannaniinaieneniniine 22, la

rai: SOUR. sienachchase ccs naaltabbaniedainaa eisai 7, 12, 15, 20, 3a

I ET sceihicclciccicieteiiateistanstiapsitennibiiidiesheiiadiiasiiasdias 2, 15, 3a-7a

Si ic SHI anctenacienecccstasecinneeieiisbehisnpsasniiieciiniaiceiibiusidainihetibhi 7, 4a

a 15, 4a-7a

Feria BE siincsenchieraiiaeienendienaclaichaiitaildenadinialianiiulidaiianpininens 7, 8, 5a

ATG seacernicesesicictininaicuisssceinnsinasseaiieeitininnsatiauieiaaiininaion 8, 7a-8a

I Fe TEE ciisicirieteeniticinditnstcaincibinhiiiahinasioninsninisenitsiiniiiieiiads 8, 7a-8a

Ss UE. Sacidaissitniceaaatisnininisiiccscmaminnanenmnianeatdate 8, 10, 11, 8a

Be seesinaseebailicsive sive necneepeesensceabeeiibeinabdaeibiadesisuinie 8, 17, 9a

I UIE Wihiaiaestasicciilnsciaiaiiessnietsiaaiabalbsaiaibiabdiesbeaiidilcinniidiinin 8, 9a-10a

TA. TAB contensinnssinanteninentnsnepnasesaenessniasinmennsansinmnnennienitaie 8, 9a-10a

Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. (West):

OB BE-E- BEE oF carte, CHD cnccnesncccnctcccscnscccncsnsccsenesnsosscnsensneiien 6

§§ 37-90-1012 et seg. (Supp. 1996) .......cecccccccsessseeneeeeeeseseees 28

Kan. Stat. Ann.:

By IN ITIIET -sciitiniinndiosshvchininhaianladientnceliceennniiedimnindasitentiadseintininian 28

UTIL ITIITIET ieisiicthiesiihnsiueiiehshlbniihdelisclenliciainpdiecaiaciolie 6

2A Neb. Rev. Stat. App. § 1-106 (1995)... .ccescsssesssseereeres 6

Fed. R. Civ. P. R.:

SEED TIE isesteshdescsdesscnisecinsciesenscnenininiiinnsinscasentesnenenenintdnentiaesiionsiiesinn

Rae ak AIDE oaieerre anaes Penn ue dee een Dee eR oe ET

Vi

Miscellaneous:

Bureau of Agricultural Economics, Dep’t of Agriculture,

Water Facilities Area Plan for Upper Republican

River Basin in Nebraska, Kansas and Colorado

OEY TUE Ot achiccssssnsssaisisnaiebucetienlitiesibeitsehianeisiitnianniaiepbasaapbesiiaciausdenanis

Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Dep’t of Interior:

Project Investigation Report No. 41 (1940) ........cee

Resource Management Assessment: Republican

dt fk eee

Charles E. Corker, Groundwater Law, Management

and Administration, National Water Commission

EG | RRA CRE RE Wort eee sone er ee

Colorado Water Conservation Board, The Republican

River Compact (1943) (available from the U.S.

Geological Survey Libr., Dep’t of the Interior:

ee ee I ects rieriiicesncnctesiniiinianiiciinitnbbdninmpenteneriaiiows

Committee on Procedure & Computation of Annual

Virgin Water Supply, Formulas for the

Computation of Annual Virgin Water Supply

Shs hs SE NUTUIEE : nsalaiinsesediisisicachicas desbsesbdamntaaslabnehigubsnabbaqnitdieminnesiesnion

Se ets Se GID iseniccitensectsneniitmniernininnenniensiinsnnintnéeitinideneiie

87 Cong. Rec. (1941):

i: TUE dictatanicesictaneiavenesitesnubitiinescisiicionnisinensensintenimasoneisneminients

Stir TENET Shnbiscehecachetscivoninsiouesiatsipieabaeieintsiaciiiaiansinsnsianiseesaianisnisinminneniaiaiaiisenies

88 Cong. Rec. (1942):

pp. 2408-2409

iy SEEN IITIEDY asassihooseisccninessionasassteniscineenigipvieeenicminiagumantanenianeniaite

I, SE NEE. seiieveniidesenensasnanniansinseniacsidiinietnnninusinilaeiieneialametiitin

89 Cong. Rec. (1943):

pp. 3549-3551

SRE EEEEEEEEEEEEETEEEEEEEEEEEHEEEEEEEEE EEE EEE EO HET REHHHE Ee

ee ee hee ated

SETTER EEE EEE EEE ESSERE EEE EEE EEE EEE EE EEE EEE EEE EEE EERE EERE HEHEHE EEE

Page

ono

On a

Vil

Miscellaneous:

Engineering Advisory Comm., Pecos River Compact

Comm., Manual of Inflow-Outflow Methods

of Measuring Changes in Stream-F low Depletion

(Dec. 3, 1948), reprinted in S. Doc. No. 109,

Se CE. OIE TI, Gee sertneenttceseninertierneieinsiceticivinencenennn

Flood Control in the Basin of the Republican River:

Hearing on S. 649 Before the Senate Comm. on

Irrigation and Reclamation, 78th Cong., 1st Sess.

CIIIID shscounssisenssitnterbichitteinakeaninciiseadinedininaminanenibiniinienieasutipiiainindmienis

Republican River Compact: Hearings on H.R. 4647

and H.R. 5945 Before the House Comm. on

Irrigation and Reclamation, 77th Cong., lst Sess.

SET IEy sassbskedhieisiihinbei cn ishbiinpeaslaialaeibiealeaaiidecmaawsede

Republican River Compact: Hearings on H.R. 1679

and H.R. 2482 Before the House Comm. on

Irrigation and Reclamation, 78th Cong., Ist Sess.

EEIPUIEEY siisciisvetisenssisnnpiniikdipeiennincigsibniniepintapeaiaindiipeniabeinibenadéaeieeiadiadoies

Robert J. Glennon & Thomas Maddock, III, The

Concept of Capture: The Hydrology and Law of

Stream/Aquifer Interactions, Proceedings of the

438d Annual Rocky Mountain Mineral Law

POSE CPOE cineniictisaitniesenscbinnisaneninunesnniiuiitaniteneieininensanesioeis

Richard S. Harnsberger, Nebraska Ground Water

Problems, 42 Neb. L. Rev. 721 (1963) ..............ccccccceeeeeees

H.R. 5945, 77th Cong., Ist Sess. (1941)... ccccceeeeteeeeee

H.R. 1679, 78th Cong., Ist Sess. (1943) ........ccsscsseecerceeereesees

H.R. 2482, 78th Cong., Ist Sess. (1943) ........cccccseessecesseeenes

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 1878, 77th Cong., 2d Sess.

RNIN sinsishiaiish ieestniescebeesamniennieiibiinaneinagianininieeniaheminienninadananntnnnetien

H.R. Doc. No. 195, 73d Cong., 2d Sess. (1934) ..........:cceeee

H.R. Doc. No. 842, 76th Cong., 3d Sess. (1940) ............0.0

H.R. Doc. No. 690, 77th Cong., 2d Sess. (1942) 0...

H.R. Rep. No. 2707, 76th Cong., 3d Sess. (1940) .............004.

H.R. Rep. No. 1380, 77th Cong., Ist Sess. (1941) ................

H.R. Rep. No. 375, 78th Cong., Ist Sess. (1943) ............0000.

H.R.J. Res. 406, 76th Cong., 3d Sess. (1940) oe

Page

Vill

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page

Stephen D. Mossman, “Whiskey is for Drinkin’ But

Water is for Fightin’ About”: A First-Hand Account

of Nebraska's Integrated Management of Ground and

Surface Water Debate and the Passage of L.B. 108,

30 Creighton L. Rev. 67 (1996) ...........ccccccccccsssssssessessesseeseess 28-29

Glenn L. Parker, The First Republican River

Compact (1943) (available from U.S. Geological

Survey Libr., Dep’t of the Interior: 798 (200) R 29

___ EEE on oS Lee ee oe IT OT DT eT 4,5

RRCA, First Annual Report for the Year 1960

SIs Nee icintcnnisceiennidtepsnecicsinnssienennenesitinteemennesintenenes 10, 11, 23

RRCA, Formulas for the Computation of Annual

Virgin Water Supply and Consumptive Use,

August 19, 1982 (rev. June, 1990) .0........ccceeeccceeeeee 10, 23, 24

S. 1361, 77th Cong., Ist Sess. (1941) .............ceccccscsssesseeeeeees 4

S. 649, 78th Cong., Ist Sess. (1943) 0... cece eeeceeeeeeeeeeeeneees 6

S. Doc. No. 247, 78th Cong., 2d Sess. (1944) ........ccccccceeeeees g

S. Doc. No. 109, 81st Cong., Ist Sess. (1949) -.00000. 26

S. Rep. No. 841, 77th Cong., Ist Sess. (1941) «0.0.0... 5

S. Rep. No. 152, 78th Cong., Ist Sess. (1943) 0.0.0... cee 6, 21

Harold E. Thomas, The Conservation of Ground

UITIITTT LTT Sncscsiccesin sini indesieenipnasnleninangaaniasiatemesrmemmmeassieisieasisunins 18, 27

Thomas C. Winter et al., Ground Water and Surface

Water: A Single Resource (1998) ...........cscceseseeeeeeees 16-17, 27

C.F. Tolman & Amy C. Stipp, Analysis of Legal

Concepts of Subflow and Percolating Waters, 21

Bis Hs PIII ecinsnccepesconnsqnesnnsinenpmnincsinticsiinctesiessineianni 18

Samuel C. Wiel, Need of Unified Law for Surface

and Underground Water, 2 S. Cal. L. Rev. 358

STIITET <cccccthnpessaenescesessestsiannebtstoastenbiiciahabicinshinantndeesdaupinascanienssonipentinias 18

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 126, Original

STATE OF KANSAS, PLAINTIFF

Vv.

STATE OF NEBRASKA

AND

STATE OF COLORADO

ON MOTION TO DISMISS

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

AS AMICUS CURIAE IN OPPOSITION TO THE

MOTION TO DISMISS

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

The United States has a significant interest in the inter-

pretation of the Republican River Compact. The States of

Colorado, Kansas, and Nebraska entered into this Compact

to apportion an interstate stream and to provide the basis

for orderly planning and development of federal flood control

and irrigation projects. Federal officials participated in the

formulation of the Compact, and Congress ultimately ap-

proved the Compact pursuant to the Compact Clause of

the Constitution, Art. I, § 10, Cl. 3. This Court invited the

Solicitor General to express the views of the United States

in response to Kansas’s motion for leave to file a bill of

complaint, 119 S. Ct. 36 (1998), and the United States urged

the Court to grant Nebraska leave to file a motion to dismiss

in order to resolve the central issue of whether the Compact

(1)

2

restricts a compacting State’s consumption of groundwater.

See U.S. Amicus Br. 16-20 (Dec. 1998).

STATEMENT

The State of Kansas has filed an original action to enforce

its rights under the Republican River Compact, which was

approved by Congress in the Act of May 26, 1943, ch. 104, 57

Stat. 86. See Add. la-12a. The Compact allocates the “virgin

water supply” of the Republican River Basin for use within

the States of Colorado, Kansas, and Nebraska. See Compact

Arts. II-IV (Add. 3a-7a). Kansas alleges that Nebraska has

exceeded its Compact allocation by allowing pumping and

consumption of groundwater that should be included as part

of the allocated water supply. See Compl. para. 7; Br. in

Support of Compl. 2. Nebraska has denied that allegation,

see Neb. Answer para. 7, and has additionally argued, among

other defenses and counterclaims, that the Compact does not

restrict Nebraska’s right to consume groundwater, id. para.

18. With the leave of this Court, Nebraska has filed a motion

to dismiss, in the nature of a motion under Rule 12(b)(6) of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, limited to the question

whether the Republican River Compact restricts a State’s

consumption of groundwater. See Neb. Br. in Support of

Mot. to Dis. (Neb. Br.).

A. The Republican River Basin

The Republican River Basin is a 24,900 square mile water-

shed, approximately 430 miles in length, that encompasses

parts of northeastern Colorado (7700 square miles), south-

western Nebraska (9700 square miles), and northern Kansas

(7500 square miles). The Basin is drained by the Republican

River, which is formed by the junction of two streams that

originate in Colorado, the Arikaree and North Fork Re-

publican Rivers. From that originating point, near Haigler,

Nebraska, the Republican River flows easterly through

Nebraska and then southeasterly to Junction City, Kansas,

3

where it joins the Smoky Hill River to form the Kansas

River. The Republican River Basin also includes numerous

smaller streams that flow into the Republican River. The

Basin, which is part of the Great Plains, is sparsely popu-

lated. It contains fertile farmland and typically receives

from 18 to 30 inches of precipitation per year. See Bureau of

Reclamation, U.S. Dep’t of Interior, Resource Management

Assessment: Republican River Basin 3-6, 43, 44-48 (July

1996) (A copy of this report has previously been lodged with

the Clerk of the Court.).

During the 1930s, the United States, as well as the States

of Colorado, Kansas, and Nebraska, developed an interest in

harnessing the water resources of the Republican River

Basin. The Basin had experienced an extended drought,

interrupted in 1935 by a deadly and destructive flood. In

light of those experiences, the federal and state governments

examined whether the Republican River’s spring flows could

be impounded in reservoirs for flood control and released in

the late summer and fall for irrigation. See H.R. Doc. No.

842, 76th Cong., 3d Sess. (1940) (Corp of Engineers’ pre-

liminary examination and survey of the Republican River);

see also H.R. Doc. No. 195, 73d Cong., 2d Sess. 158-186

(1934) (Corps of Engineers’ preliminary examination and

survey of the Kansas River, discussing irrigation potential] in

the Republican River Basin). Based on the Corps of

Engineers’ recommendations in House Document No. 842,

Congress authorized appropriations to construct the Harlan

County Reservoir, in Nebraska, for flood control purposes.

See Act of Aug. 18, 1941, ch. 377, 55 Stat. 646.

The Interior Department’s Bureau of Reclamation, which

has primary responsibility for irrigation projects, also

studied the Republican River Basin, relying in part on the

Corps of Enginneers’ examination set forth in House

Document No. 195, supra. See Bureau of Reclamation, U.S.

Dep’t of Interior, Project Investigations Report No. 41, at 1-

2 (1940). The Bureau concluded that federal irrigation pro-

4

jects were feasible. Jd. at A-D (Synopsis). It indicated, how-

ever, that those projects should not be constructed until the

three States had resolved the question of interstate alloca-

tion of the Basin’s water resources. /d. at 1 (“To avoid

expensive litigation as a result of possible conflicting wses of

water in the various states, further developments for irri-

gation should be preceded by a three-state compact or other

similar agreement on use of water.”). Meanwhile, the States

of Colorado, Kansas, and Nebraska, which had been discuss-

ing the possibility of an interstate agreement for a number of

years, entered into negotiations to formulate an interstate

compact.’

B. The Compact Approval Process

In 1941, the States completed their negotiations and rati-

fied a proposed compact, which they then submitted to

Congress for approval in accordance with the Compact

Clause of the Constitution, Art. I, § 10, Cl. 3. See S. 1361,

77th Cong., Ist Sess. (1941); H.R. 5945, 77th Cong., Ist Sess.

| The States initially sought congressional authorization to enter into

a compact before they had negotiated its terms. See H.R. J. Res. 406, 76th

Cong., 3d Sess. (1940); see also 86 Cong. Rec. 58 (1940) (remarks of Rep.

Curtis). The Department of War objected on the ground that Congress

should not give its consent to a compact without knowing its content, and

the House Committee on Flood Control responded by amending House

Joint Resolution 406 to require congressional approval before the compact

could take effect. See H.R. Rep. No. 2707, 76th Cong., 3d Sess. (1940).

That resolution, however, did not pass, and the States entered into

negotiations without advance congressional authorization or direct parti

cipation by the federal government. See 87 Cong. Rec. A2179 (1941)

(remarks of Rep. Curtis). The state representatives met eight times

between May 28, 1940, and March 19, 1941, to formulate a compact. See

Glenn L. Parker, The First Republican River Compact (1943) (collecting

minutes of the first through eighth meetings of the Compact

Commissioners) (available from the U.S. Geological Survey Library, Dep’t

of the Interior: 798(200) R29 1943). We have reprinted the minutes of

those eight meetings in Addendum B of this brief. See Add. 13a-42a. See

also note 2, infra.

5

(1941); S. Rep. No. 841, 77th Cong., Ist Sess. (1941). The De-

partment of the Interior and the Federal Power Commission

objected to the compact primarily because it contained

language curtailing federal jurisdiction over the Republican

River. See Republican River Compact: Hearings on H.R.

4647 and H.R. 5945 Before the House Comm. on Irrigation

and Reclamation, 77th Cong., Ist Sess. 1-4 (1941) (H.R. 4647

Hearings).

The House Committee on Irrigation and Reclamation

amended the House bill in response to the federal agencies’

objections, H.R. Rep. No. 1380, 77th Cong., Ist Sess. (1941),

but the Senate rejected the House amendments, 87 Cong.

Rec. at 9606-9623. The Senate’s proposed legislation pre-

vailed in conference, and the Senate and the House approved

the conference proposal. See H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 1878, 77th

Cong., 2d Sess. (1942); 88 Cong. Rec. at 2408-2409; id. at

2813-2814. The President, however, vetoed the bill on

the basis of the federal agencies’ objections. See id. at 3285-

3286; H.R. Doc. No. 690, 77th Cong., 2d Sess. (1942) (veto

message). The President explained that he “would be glad to

approve a bill, which, in assenting to the compact, speci-

fically reserves to the United States all of the rights and

responsibilities which it now has in the use and control of the

waters of the basin.” Jd. at 2.

Following the President’s veto, Congress enacted legisla-

tion authorizing state commissioners to conduct further com-

pact negotiations and providing for participation by a federal

representative. See Act of Aug. 4, 1942, ch. 545, 56 Stat. 736.

The state commissioners and the federal representative,

Glenn L. Parker, met on two additional occasions and com-

pleted their negotiations on December 31, 1942.7 The

2 See Colorado Water Conservation Board, The Republican River

Compact (1943) (collecting minutes of the ninth and tenth meetings of

the Compact Commissioners) (available from the U. S. Geological Survey

Library, Dep’t of the Interior: 798(200) R29 1943). We have reprinted the

6

revised compact retained the water allocations of the

previous compact, but added new provisions addressing the

federal interests. Compare Add. la-12a with H.R. Doc. No.

690, supra, at 2-5. The state legislatures of Colorado,

Kansas, and Nebraska promptly ratified the proposed com-

pact. See Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 37-67-101 et seg. (West

1990); Kan. Stat. Ann. § 82a-518 (1991); 2A Neb. Rev. Stat.

App. § 1-106 (1995). The States then submitted the agree-

ment to Congress for approval in accordance with the

Compact Clause and the Act of Aug. 4, 1942. Congress held

hearings, reported favorably on the proposed compact, and

passed a bill granting congressional approval, which the

President signed. Act of May 26, 1943, ch. 104, 57 Stat. 86."

C. The Republican River Compact

The Republican River Compact consists of eleven articles

that set out a mechanism for dividing the water supply of the

Republican River Basin and address issues arising from the

prescribed allocation.

Article I identifies the purposes of the Compact as follows:

(1) “to provide for the most efficient use of the waters of the

Republican River Basin”; (2) “to provide for an equitable

division of such waters”; (3) “to remove all causes, present

and future, which might lead to controversies”; (4) “to pro-

mote interstate comity”; (5) “to recognize that the most

minutes of those two meetings in Addendum B of this brief (Add. 13a-80a).

See Add. 43a-80a. See also note 1, supra.

3 See S. 649, 78th Cong., Ist Sess. (1943); H.R. 1679, 78th Cong., Ist

Sess. (1943); H.R. 2482, 78th Cong., Ist Sess. (1943); Flood Control in the

Basin of the Republican River: Hearing on S. 649 Before the Senate

Comm. on Irrigation and Reclamation, 78th Cong., Ist Sess. (1943) (S.

649 Hearing); Republican River Compact: Hearings on H.R. 1679 and

H.R. 2482 Before the House Comm. on Irrigation and Reclamation, 78th

Cong., Ist Sess. (1943) (H.R. 1679 Hearings); S. Rep. No. 152, 78th Cong.,

ist Sess. (1943); H.R. Rep. No. 375, 78th Cong., 1st Sess. (1943); 89 Cong.

Rec. 3549-3551 (1943) (Senate passage); id. at 4534-4536 (House passage);

id. at 4907 (Presidential approval).

7

efficient utilization of the waters within the Basin is for

beneficial consumptive use”; and (6) “to promote joint action

by the States and the United States in the efficient use of

water and the control of destructive floods.” Add. 2a.

Article II clarifies the meaning of relevant terms. It de-

fines the “Basin” as “all the area in Colorado, Kansas, and

Nebraska, which is naturally drained by the Republican

River, and its tributaries, to its junction with the Smoky Hill

River in Kansas,” and incorporates by reference a map

showing the Basin. Add. 3a. Article II defines the “Virgin

Water Supply” to be “the water supply within the Basin

undepleted by the activities of man.” Jbid. And it

correspondingly defines “Beneficial Consumptive Use” to be

“that use by which the water supply of the Basin is

consumed through the activities of man.” Jbid.

Article III next specifies the “computed average annual

virgin water supply” of a series of specific drainage areas

within the Basin, which in aggregate amount to a total esti-

mated water supply of 478,900 acre-feet per year. Add. 4a.

Those computed averages, expressed in acre-feet of water,

represent the historic virgin water supply originating above

“the lowest crossing of the [Republican River] at the

Nebraska-Kansas state line.” Jbid. The Compact relies on

those historic water supply averages as the basis for

allocating future supplies among the States. Article III

recognizes, however, that year-to-year flows may vary, and

it accordingly states that “(sJhould the future computed

virgin water supply of any source vary more than ten (10)

per cent from the virgin water supply as hereinabove set

forth, the allocations hereinafter made from such source shall

be increased or decreased” proportionately. bid.

Article IV sets out the allocation for use in each State,

expressed in acre-feet per year, for each of the drainage

areas that Article III identifies. Add 5a-7a. Article IV

allocates the entire estimated virgin water supply set forth

in Article III, giving Colorado an aggregate of 54,100 acre-

8

feet per year (Add. 5a), Kansas an aggregate of 190,300 acre-

‘eet per year (Add. 5a-6a), and Nebraska an aggregate of

234,500 acre-feet per year (Add. 6a-7a). In addition, Article

IV recognizes that Kansas is entitled to “the entire water

supply originating in the Basin downstream from the lowest

crossing of the river at the Nebraska-Kansas state line.”

Add. 6a.

Articles V through IX set forth various rights and obliga-

tions relating to the allocation. Add. 7a-8a. Article V re-

cognizes the continuing vitality of a prior judgment of this

Court, Weiland v. Pioneer Irrigation Co., 259 U.S. 498

(1922), which involved a dispute between Colorado and a

Nebraska irrigation district over the district’s diversion of

water in Colorado for use in Nebraska. See Add. 7a.

Articles VI through VIII allow a downstream Sta‘e (or its

citizens) to construct water storage facilities in an upstream

State, provided that certain conditions are observed. See

Add. 7a-8a. Article [X obligates the States to administer the

Compact through appropriate officials and “to collect and

correlate through such officials the data necessary for the

proper administration of the provisions of this compact.”

Add. 8a. It also provides that those officials “may, by

unanimous action, adopt rules and regulations consistent

with the provisions of this compact,” and it directs the

United States Geological Survey to assist state officials in

the collection and correlation of data. Add. 8a.

Articles X and XI address issues of federal authority that

had prompted the President’s veto of the previous compact

proposal. Add. 9a-10a. Article X states that nothing in the

Compact shall (a) impair federal rights, power, or juris-

diction over waters of the Basin; (b) subject the United

States to state taxes or require the United States to

reimburse the States for lost tax revenues resulting from

federal water development projects; or (c) subject any

property of the United States to state law that would not

apply in the absence of the Compact. Add. 9a. Article XI

9

provides, in essence, that (a) any beneficial consumptive use

by the Uaited States within a State shall be charged against

the State’s compact allocation; (b) when exercising its

paramount powers, the United States shall recognize, to the

extent consistent with the best utilization of the waters for

multiple purposes, that beneficial consumptive use is of

paramount importance to the development of the Basin; and

(c) the United States will respect valid, pre-existing bene-

ficial consumptive uses. Add. 9a-10a.

D. Post-Compact Development

After approving the Compact, Congress authorized a

system of federal water development and management pro-

jects as part of the Missouri River Basin Development

Program. See Flood Control Act of 1944, ch. 665, § 9, 58

Stat. 891. This Program, also known as the Pick-Sloan Plan,

authorizes the Army Corps of Engineers and the Bureau of

Reclamation to construct and operate a coordinated system

of reservoirs for multiple purposes, including irrigation, flood

control, power development, fish and wildlife protection, and

recreation. See S. Doc. No. 247, 78th Cong., 2d Sess. (1944).

Between 1945 and 1964, the United States constructed

nine federal reservoirs in the Republican River Basin. The

Corps of Engineers completed the previously authorized

Harlan County Reservoir in Nebraska (see page 3, supra)

and the Milford Reservoir in Kansas. The Bureau of

Reclamation established four water resource development

divisions, which include seven reservoirs in Kansas and

Nebraska. The Bureau’s projects, operated in conjunction

with the Corps’ Harlan County facilities, provide water to

six irrigation districts and service 136,528 acres of farmland

in the Republican River Basin. Those projects and the

Corps’ Harlan County and Milford projects also support a

variety of other purposes, including flood control, recreation,

and fish and wildlife needs. See Resource Management

Assessment: Republican River Basin, supra, at 4-5, 13-23.

10

E. The Current Controversy

The Republican River Compact imposes limitations on the

quantity of water that Colorado and Nebraska may divert

from the Republican River and its tributaries, based on an

apportionment of the “virgin water supply.” In accordance

with Article IX of the Compact, the States have designated

officials to administer the Compact’s allocation limits.

Beginning in 1959, the States each appointed a repre-

sentative to a three-member administrative body, desig-

nated the Republican River Compact Administration

(RRCA), to compute the Basin’s annual virgin water supply,

which would in turn allow the States to determine, retro-

spectively, whether each State has stayed within its annual

allocation. See RRCA, First Annual Report for the Year

1960 (Apr. 4, 1961). The RRCA has since published and

updated formulas for computing the virgin water supply and

consumptive use. See RRCA, Formulas for the Computa-

tion of Annual Virgin Water Supply and Consumptive Use,

August 19, 1982 (rev. June 1990) (Formulas).

Since 1959, the States have debated the extent to which

groundwater usage should be included in determining

whether a State has exceeded its allocation. Kansas has

asserted that groundwater usage should be included to the

extent that it reduces the amount of water that would be

available for diversion from the sources identified in the

Compact, either by intercepting groundwater contributions

to the surface flow of the Republican River and its tributar-

ies, or by syphoning water from those sources. As part of its

4 The Compact itself does not establish the RRCA. The three States

created the RRCA to carry out the powers conferred upon them by

Article 1X to administer the Compact through an appropriate official in

each State.

5 Relevant excerpts of the RRCA’s First Annual Report and the

current formulas for calculating the virgin water supply are reproduced in

Addenda C and D. See Add. 81a-102a, 103a-114a.

11

First Annual Report, the RRCA elected to include in its

calculations groundwater that is pumped “from the alluvium

along the stream channels.” Committee on Procedure &

Computation of Annual Virgin Water Supply, Formulas for

the Computation of Annual Virgin Water Supply 3 (Apr. 4,

1961) (Add. 97a). The RRCA decided, however, not to

include at that time pumping from upland areas known as

“table-lands.” Jbid. It concluded that “{t]he determination

of the effect of pumping by ‘table-land’ wells on the flows of

the streams in the Republican River Basin must await con-

siderably more research and data regarding the character of

the ground-water aquifers and the behavior of ground-water

flow before even approximate information is available as to

the monthly or annual effects on stream flows.” Ibid.

Since publishing its First Annual Report, the RRCA has

been unable to make further progress on the appropriate

treatment of groundwater under the Compact. In recent

years, Kansas and Nebraska have strongly disagreed on the

issue. Because the three-member RRCA can adopt regula-

tions only through “unanimous action,” Compact Art. IX

(Add. 8a), the RRCA has not resolved the dispute. Instead,

it has retained, virtually verbatim, the statement on ground-

water set forth in the 1961 report. See Formulas 7 (Add.

108a). Indeed, apparently as a result of this dispute between

Kansas and Nebraska, the RRCA has ceased to calculate the

virgin water supply and state compliance with allocation

limits. Compare Neb. Br. in Opp. to Compl. 16-17 with Kan.

Reply Br. 7-8; Neb. Counterclaims paras. 13, 20-23.

Kansas seeks relief from this Court. It asserts that

Nebraska has violated the Compact by “allowing the

proliferation and use of thousands of wells hydraulically

connected to the Republican River and its tributaries,”

which has “resulted in the appropriation by the State of

Nebraska of more than its allocated equitable share of the

waters of the Republican River” and has “deprived the State

of Kansas of its full entitlement under the Compact.” Compl.

12

para. 7; see Kan. Br. in Support of Compl. 12-14. Nebraska

argues that Kansas’s complaint should be dismissed because

the Republican River Compact does not restrict a Staie’s

consumption of groundwater. Br. in Support of Mot. to Dis.

5-19.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Nebraska’s motion to dismiss presents the core legal

question that lies at the heart of this interstate dispute.

Nebraska contends that, because the Republican River Com-

pact does not expressly apportion groundwater, it places no

restriction on a compacting State’s groundwater usage. That

contention is wrong.

The Compact apportions the Republican River Basin’s

virgin water supply by reference to the Basin’s stream flows.

As this Court’s decisions recognize, science has established

that stream flows consist of both surface runoff and ground-

water discharge. See Cappaert v. United States, 426 U.S.

128, 142-143 (1976). That scientific principle was well estab-

lished at the time that Colorado, Nebraska, and Kansas

negotiated the Republican River Compact. Indeed, the

minutes of the Compact negotiations show that the principle

was specifically known to the state representatives who

formulated the Compact.

Kansas is entitled to seek relief under the Compact on the

theory that Nebraska must include within its allocation both

direct diversions of the apportioned stream flows and also

groundwater usage that diminishes those stream flows.

That theory is consistent with the text of the Compact,

which defines the virgin water supply as the “water supply

within the Basin undepleted by the activities of man.” Art.

II (Add. 3a). It would be inequitable, and harmful to the

investment-backed expectations of the downstream States, if

an upstream State could augment its apportionment by

simply intercepting a component of the allocated stream

flows before those flows are measured. The compacting

13

States have demonstrated an understanding, in the course

of administering the Compact, that their apportionments

should take into account groundwater consumption that

affects the virgin water supply. That construction of the

Republican River Compact is consistent with the construc-

tion that this Court has given to the Arkansas River

Compact in Kansas v. Colorado, No. 105, Original, and to the

Pecos River Compact in Tezras v. New Mezico, No. 65,

Original.

Nebraska is accordingly mistaken in contending that the

Republican River Compact places no limitations on ground-

water consumption. Kansas is entitled to relief if it can

demonstrate, as a factual matter, that Nebraska’s consump-

tion of groundwater has resulted in Nebraska’s exceeding its

Compact allocation. A Special Master should be appointed to

address that factual question as well as the other outstand-

ing issues in this original action.

ARGUMENT

THE REPUBLICAN RIVER COMPACT RESTRICTS

A STATE’S CONSUMPTION OF GROUNDWATER

THAT CONTRIBUTES TO THE “VIRGIN WATER

SUPPLY” OF THE REPUBLICAN RIVER BASIN

Nebraska has moved to dismiss Kansas’s complaint based

on Nebraska’s assertion that the Republican River Compact

imposes no limits on a compacting State’s consumption of

groundwater. Nebraska’s motion places before this Court a

discrete and controlling question of law that has precipitated

this original action. That question of law can be resolved at

this preliminary stage of the litigation through the applica-

tion of familiar principles of compact construction.®

6 For purposes of this motion, which is in the nature of a motion to

dismiss under Rule 12(b)\(6) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,

Kansas’s factual allegations are assumed to be true. See, ¢.g., Neitzke v.

Williams, 490 U.S. 319, 326-327 (1989). As Nebraska correctly notes (Neb.

14

The Republican River Compact is a congressionally

authorized interstate agreement and is therefore both a

contract and a law of the United States. See New Jersey v.

New York, 523 U.S. 767, 811 (1998); Oklahoma v. New

Mexico, 501 U.S. 221, 235 n.5 (1991); Texas v. New Mezico,

482 U.S. 124, 128 (1987). As with other interstate compacts,

if the text, read in light of its context, is unambiguous, it is

conclusive. See, e.g., New Jersey v. New York, 523 USS. at

811; Kansas v. Colorado, 514 U.S. 673, 690 (1995); Texas v.

New Mexico, 462 U.S. 554, 567-568 (1983). If the text is am-

biguous, the Court may consider other reliable indicia of the

parties’ intent, including the minutes of the compact negotia-

tions and materials submitted to Congress in support of

congressional approval. See e.g., Oklahoma v. New Mexico,

501 U.S. at 235 n.5; Texas v. New Mexico, 462 U.S. at 568

n.14; Arizona v. California, 292 U.S. 341, 359-360 (1934).

The Court may also consider the parties’ practical construc-

tion and application of the Compact’s terms. See, e.g., Air

France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392, 396 (1985); New Jersey v. New

York, 523 U.S. at 830-831 (Scalia, J., dissenting).

Nebraska has correctly recognized that the Court’s “first

and last order of business” here is interpreting the Republi-

can River Compact. Neb. Br. 6 (quoting New Jersey v. New

York, 523 U at 811). Nebraska is mistaken, however, in its

understandiug of the compact’s terms. Nebraska argues

that the Compact places no restriction on Nebraska’s con-

sumption of groundwater because: (1) the Compact does not

apportion groundwater among the compacting States (Neb.

Br. 5-10); (2) the Court and the parties have manifested an

understanding that the Compact allocates surface water (id.

at 11-15); and (3) the uncontroverted actions of the parties

Br. 5), the Court may also “tak{e) notice of items in the public record.”

Papsan vy. Allain, 478 U.S. 265, 268 n.1 (1986). Those items include the

official minutes of the Compact negotiations and the annual reports of the

RRCA. See Add. 13a-114a.

15

demonstrate that they did not intend to apportion

groundwater (id. at 16-19). Those contentions, however, do

not answer Kansas’s complaint.

Kansas seeks relief on the ground that the Republican

River Compact allocates the “virgin water supply” of the

Republican River Basin, which the Compact measures in

terms of Basin stream flows. See Arts. II-IV (Add. 3a-7a).

The United States agrees with Kansas that those stream

flows necessarily consist of contributions from surface runoff

and groundwater discharge. The Compact accordingly

restricts a State’s consumption of groundwater that dimin-

ishes the virgin water supply, and Kansas can obtain legal

relief under the Compact if it can show, as a matter of fact,

that Nebraska’s groundwater consumption has that effect.

A. The Republican River Compact Apportions The

Virgin Water Supply, Which Consists Of Stream Flows

Originating From Both Surface Runoff And Ground-

water Discharge

The Republican River Compact expressly apportions the

“virgin water supply” of the Republican River Basin, which

the Compact defines as the “the water supply within the

Basin undepleted by the activities of man.” Art. II (Add. 3a).

There is no dispute among the parties that the Compact

measures and allocates the virgin water supply on the basis

of historic annual stream flows, measured in acre-feet per

year. See Arts. III-IV (Add. 4a-7a). The minutes of the

Compact negotiations indicate that the Compact Commis-

sioners calculated the water supply and allocations on the

basis of federal and state stream flow data. See Add. 20a,

21a-24a, 30a-3la. In that limited sense, Nebraska is correct

that the Compact apportions surface water and does not

identify groundwater, in situ, as a separately apportioned

resource. But Nebraska’s claim that the Compact does not

apportion groundwater as such does not respond to Kansas’s

specific complaint.

16

Kansas’s claim for relief is not predicated on the notion

that the Compact directly apportions groundwater, as a

distinct resource, among the compacting States. Kansas

alleges, as the gravamen of its complaint, that Nebraska has

taken more than its designated share of the virgin water

supply by intercepting groundwater that is hydrologically

connected to the flows of the Republican River and its

tributaries. See Kan. Compl. paras. 5-9. Kansas’s complaint

rests on the understanding that stream flows consist of

contributions from surface run-off and from groundwater

discharge. Kansas essentially complains that the Republican

River Basin’s stream flows depend on groundwater con-

tributions and that, if Nebraska intercepts those contri-

butions through groundwater pumping and does not account

for them as part of its Compact allocation, Nebraska will

receive more than its allocated share of the virgin water

supply. Kan. Br. in Support of Compl. 4-5, 8, 12-13.

Kansas’s complaint is based on well-founded hydrological

principles that this Court has previously recognized in

adjudicating water-rights disputes. For example, the Court

ruled in Cappaert v. United States, 426 U.S. 128 (1976), that

the petitioners in that case had unlawfully depleted a

federally reserved pool of surface water in Devil’s Hole

National Monument by pumping groundwater that supplied

the pool. The Court observed that “‘{g]roundwater and

surface water are physically interrelated as integral parts of

the hydrologic cycle.’” Jd at 142 (quoting Charles E. Corker,

Groundwater Law, Management and Administration,

National Water Commission Legal Study No. 6, at xxiv

(1971)). The Court specifically relied on scientific knowledge

establishing that groundwater pumping can diminish surface

pools and stream flows. See id. at 142-143.

Kansas’s complaint, like this Court’s decision in Cappaert,

relies on hydrological principles that have long been common

knowledge among water resource managers. See Thomas C.

Winter et al., Ground Water and Surface Water: A Single

17

Resource (1998) (U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Circular

1139) (copies lodged with the Court).’ As the USGS has

explained:

Streams interact with ground water in all types of

landscapes. The interaction takes place in three basic

ways: streams gain water from inflow of ground water

through the streambed (gaining stream), they lose water

to ground water by outflow through the streambed

(losing stream), or they do both, gaining in some reaches

and losing in other reaches. For ground water to

discharge into a stream channel, the altitude of the

water table in the vicinity of the stream must be higher

than the altitude of the stream-water surface. Con-

versely, for surface water to seep to ground water, the

altitude of the water table in the vicinity of the stream

must be lower than the altitude of the stream-water

surface.

Id. at 9 (parenthetical references to illustrations omitted).

The USGS notes that “[gjround water contributes to

streams in most physiographic and climatic settings.” /d. at

12. See id. at 13, Fig. B-2 (providing ten examples from dif-

ferent geographic regions of the United States); see also id.

at 38-41 (describing interactions in riverine terrain); 2d. at

57-61 (describing irrigation effects, with special reference to

Nebraska).* Numerous scientific and legal sources, including

7 The USGS’s views are especially significant, because Article IX of

the Compact provides that the USGS “shall collaborate with the officials

of the States charged with administration of this compact in the execution

of the duty of such officials in the collection, correlation, and publication of

water facts necessary for the proper administration of the compact.” Add.

8a.

8 For simplicity of discussion, we assume that the streams within the

Republican River Basin are “gaining” streams and that groundwater

pumping could intercept groundwater discharge to streams. In doing 80,

we do not mean to preclude the possibility that the Republican River

Basin may include “losing” streams and that groundwater pumping could

18

sources contemporaneous with and pre-dating the Republi-

can River Compact, recognize those basic hydrological

axioms. See, e.g., Snake Creek Mining & Tunnel Co. v.

Midway Irrigation Co., 260 U.S. 596, 598 (1923); Kansas v.

Colorado, 206 U.S. 46, 114-115 (1907).

Indeed, Kansss relies on science that was not only well

established at the time the Compact was approved, but was

also specifically made known to the state commissioners who

negotiated the Compact and calculated the virgin water

supply. The minutes of the Compact negotiations record

that, on January 27-28, 1941, the commissioners met with

Harry P. Burleigh, of the United States Bureau of Agri-

cultural Economics, who was preparing a study “to deter-

mine the extent and useability of the underground waters of

the basin and the availability of lands which could be

reclaimed thereby in tributary basin areas.” Add. 28a. The

minutes reveal that

{uJpon inquiry, Mr. Burleigh advised the Commission

that all of the underground waters of the basin above

Scandia, Kansas, are included in the total water supplies

of the basin, as reflected in measurements of stream flow

at Scandia and other points in the basin, and that any

underground developments must be considered as

affect the virgin water supply by increasing the loss of stream flow into a

groundwater aquifer.

9 See also, e.g., Robert J. Glennon & Thomas Maddock, III, The

Concept of Capture: The Hydrology and Law of Stream/Aquifer Inter-

actions, in Proceedings of the 48d Annual Rocky Mountain Mineral Law

Institute 22-2 to 22-14 (1997); Charlies E. Corker, Groundwater Law,

Management and Administration, National Water Commission Legal

Study No. 6, at xxiv, 58 (1971); Richard S. Harnsberger, Nebraska Ground

Water Problems, 42 Neb. L. Rev. 721, 722-726 (1963); Harold E. Thomas,

The Conservation of Ground Water 136-138 (1951); C.F. Tolman & Amy C.

Stipp, Analysis of Legal Concepts ° Subflow and Percolating Waters, 21

Or. L. Rev. 113, 115-125 (1942); Samuel C. Wiel, Need of Unified Law for

Surface and Underground Water, 2 S. Cal. L. Rev. 358, 359-363 (1929).

19

reducing to that extent the amount of surface water

available for use within the basin.

Id. at 29a. Thus, the commissioners were aware that the

calculated stream flows included a groundwater discharge

component and that groundwater pumping could deplete

those stream flows.”

B. The Compact Requires A State To Include Within Its

Allocation Of The Virgin Water Supply Groundwater

Consumption That Diminishes Basin Stream Flows

Kansas contends that, because the Republican River

Compact apportions the virgin water supply by allocating

stream flows that include both surface runoff and ground-

water discharge components, each State must include within

its Compact allocation both direct diversions of the ap-

portioned stream flows and also groundwater usage that

diminishes those stream flows. That proposition is sound for

three related reasons.

1. The text of the Compact indicates that a State’s

allocation of the virgin water supply includes groundwater

consumption that reduces the Basin stream flows. The

Compact defines the virgin water supply as the “water

10 The minutes also reveal that Mr. Burleigh had stated that “he was

desirous of obtaining a statement from the Commission as to whether the

amounts of underground waters he had determined would be feasibly

possible of use, would, in the opinion of the Commission, exceed the

allotment of water to each state which the Commission may have agreed

upon.” Add. 29a. Three days later, on behalf of the Commission,

Commissioner Knapp of Kansas sent a letter to Mr. Burleigh stating that

“the total estimated annual consumptive use of water is within the amount

of the water supply available in the basin above Hardy” and that “the

proposed allocations in each of the several states fall within the amounts

which the Commission may see fit to allocate to each state.” See Bureau

of Agricultural Economics, Dep’t of Agriculture, Water Facilities Area

Plan for Upper Republican River Basin in Nebraska, Kansas, and

Colorado 307 (June 1941) (reprinting the letter as Appendix VII of the

“Burleigh Report”).

20

supply within the Basin undepleted by the activities of man,”

and it defines the Basin inclusively as “all the area in

Colorado, Kansas, and Nebraska, which is naturally drained

by the Republican River, and its tributaries, to its junction

with the Smoky Hill River in Kansas.” Art. II (Add. 3a).

Under those definitions, a State depletes the virgin water

supply “through the activities of man” if it authorizes

pumping of groundwater by its citizens that diminishes

Basin stream flows. The State should therefore include such

groundwater pumping as part of its Compact allocation.

Contrary to Nebraska’s assertions (Neb. Br. 8), the Com-

pact does not need to apportion groundwater directly, or

even make specific reference to groundwater consumption,

in order to create enforceable restrictions on groundwater

consumption. See Nebraska v. Wyoming, 507 U.S. 584, 592

(1993). The Compact places limits on each State’s consump-

tion of the virgin water supply. If the Republican River

Basin stream flows that comprise the virgin water supply

consist in part of groundwater discharge, and a State allows

its citizens to pump groundwater that reduces those stream

flows, then the State must include that consumption as part

of the State’s allocation. Otherwise, the State will receive

more than its allocated share of the virgin water supply.

The Compact’s express statement of its “major purposes”

bolsters that conclusion. Art. I (Add. 2a). Article I states

that the Compact is intended “to provide for an equitable

division of [the waters of the Republican River Basin].”

Ibid. The States agreed on the Compact allocations on the

understanding that the Basin’s undeveloped stream flows

historically yielded a reliable quantity of water—the virgin

water supply—that would be fairly shared among the States.

If Congress and the compacting States sought 3n equitable

division of the Basin waters, then they coud not have

intended that an upstream State would be entitled to aug-

ment its allocation by simply taking a portion of the virgin

water supply before it reached the stream flow gauges. The

21

Compact division is not equitable if an upstream State can

supplement its allocation at will by simply intercepting a

component of the virgin water supply before it can be

measured.

Article 1 also states that the Compact is intended “to

remove all causes, present and future, which might lead to

controversies” and “to promote interstate comity.” Add. 2a.

It is improbable that the Compact negotiators—who were

aware of the relationship between stream flow and ground-

water discharge (see pages 18-19, supra)—would have con-

sidered the Compact an effective means for avoiding future

controversies if the upstream States remained at liberty to

circumvent the precisely drawn allocations through the

simple expedient of intercepting groundwater contributions.

Congress and the States viewed the Compact as providing a

comprehensive apportionment of all of the Basin’s stream

flows so that the federal government, the States, and

individual water users could engage in orderly planning and

development of irrigation works based on the knowledge of

each State’s water supply. If an upstream State cou!d

increase its allocation, to the detriment of the down-

stream States, through groundwater pumping, downstream

expectations and investments—including congressionally

funded flood control and reclamation projects—could be

placed at risk.”

11 The legislative history of Congress’s approval of the Compact

supports that understanding. See, ¢.g.,S. Rep. No. 152, supra, at 2 (“The

undertaking of irrigation projects in the past, and more so of those

projects yet to be undertaken, depends on the soundness and the stability

of the rights to the use of water in connection therewith.”); S. 649 Hearing

13 (Sen. Butler) (“{T}o bring about that stabilization [of the farms in the

region], the compact must be approved, permitting a legal division of the

waters of the Republican and its tributaries, so that improvements may be

encouraged and made possible.”); id. at 33 (Neb. Compact Comm’r

Wardner G. Scott) (“We, in Nebraska, are very anxious that this compact

be ratified by the Congress, so that an orderly planning and development

22

2. The compacting States have confirmed through

their practical construction of the Compact that, if a State

authorizes groundwater pumping that measurably dimin-

ishes stream flow, those depletions should be charged

against that State’s allocation. The RRCA’s formulas for

computing the Basin’s virgin water supply provide a clear

expression of that understanding. As described above, the

Compact authorizes the States to administer the Compact

through the responsible officers in each State. See pages 8,

10, supra. The States formed the RRCA for that purpose in

1959, when water development had proceeded to a stage that

required formal oversight of Compact complianes The

RRCA’s First Annual Report, issued in 1961 © ded

formulas for computing the virgin water supply. 4 d 94a-

102a. As Nebraska acknowledges (Neb. Br. 18-19), since the

inception of the RRCA, those formulas have taken into

account groundwater pumping “from the alluvium along the

stream channels.” See Add. 97a.

Nebraska suggests (Neb. Br. 18-19) that the RRCA’s

decision to include only alluvial groundwater (viz., ground-

and utilization of the waters of the basin can be had in the near future.”);

id. at 35 (M.O. Ryan, Executive Secretary, Republican Valley Conserva-

tion Association) (“[{I}n the meantime, and before construction of projects

can properly be undertaken which would draw upon water supplies

originating in several States, it will be essential that a legal division of the

waters of the streams be made for all time. * * * By this action, you will

simplify all post-war developments in that fine agricultural area, and spare

the residents limitless litigation and trouble in the years to come.”); H.R.

4647 Hearings 7 (Rep. Carlson) (“The territory that is drained by this

river needs the use of this water and these States thought, by getting

together and working out this compact, they could reach an agreement on

the use of this water so that there would be no conflict as to the con-

striction of the various reclamation projects with any other uses it might

be put to.”); 87 Cong. Rec. at 9610 (Sen. Norris) (“This agreement, if put

into effect, would permit the residents of each of the States in question to

go ahead, with notice as to just how much water may be taken from every

one of the streams.”).

23

water pumped from the alluvium in the valley floor) reflects

the States’ understanding that the Compact, as a matter of

law, excludes consideration of groundwater pumping from

non-alluvial sources that nevertheless affect stream flows in

the Basin. That suggestion is unsound. The RRCA’s First

Annual Report demonstrates that the RRCA was aware

that groundwater pumping from non-alluvial sources could

deplete Republican River Basin stream flows. See Add. 87a-

88a, 90a-9la. The RRCA decided to include only alluvial

groundwater pumping in its virgin water supply formulas

because the RRCA did not have sufficient data, at that time,

to estimate the effects of non-alluvial groundwater pumping.

See ibid.; see also Add. 97a-98a.”

'2 The RRCA’s First Annual Report explains that the RRCA

appointed a Committee on Procedure and Computation of Annual Virgin

Water Supply to develop formulas for computing the virgin water supply.

See Add. 83a-84a. That Committee recognized in its first progress report

that, as a general matter, groundwater use could deplete the virgin water

supply. Add. 90a-9la. It nevertheless recommended that “only the wells

in the valley floor of the main Republican River and of its tributaries be

considered as depleting the water supply of the Republican River, for

present use in the Virgin Flow Formula.” /bid. The Committee reasoned:

Apparently the determination of the effect of pumping by “table-

land” wells on the flow of the streams in the Republican River Basin

must await considerabl[y] more research and data regarding the

character of the groundwater aquifer and the behavior of ground-

water flow before even approximate information is available as to the

monthly or annual effects on steam flow. * * *

Add. 91a; see also Add. 93a (“Any accurate determination of the virgin

water supply in the Republican River Basin is dependent upon a

considerable improvement in obtaining data for diversions by stream

pumps and by pumping of groundwater from wells.”). The Committee

ultimately determined that its formulas should take account of only

groundwater pumping “from the alluvium along the stream channels,”

repeating verbatim its previous observation that the effects of ground-

water pumping from other sources requires “more research and data.”

Add. 97a. See page 11, supra.

24

The RRCA plainly understood that the Compact’s

apportionment of the virgin water supply could place limita-

tions on a State’s consumption of hydraulically connected

groundwater. Since 1961, the RRCA has included in its

calculation of the virgin water supply alluvial groundwater

pumping that depletes Basin stream flows. See Add. 108a

(Formulas). The RRCA’s failure to revise its formulas to

include groundwater pumping from other sources does not

reflect a retreat from the general principle that the RRCA

recognized at its inception, nor does it reflect a consensus

that non-alluvial groundwater pumping has no effect on

stream flows. See Kan. Br. in Support of Compl. 8-9.

Rather, the RRCA has retained the 1961 methodology be-

cause the RRCA can act only through the unanimous action

of the state representatives, and Nebraska has steadfastly

refused to agree to revise the formulas to take into account

the effects of non-alluvial groundwater pumping. See ibid.

3. Finally, there is nothing novel in recognizing that an

interstate compact that apportions stream flows can limit a

compacting State’s groundwater usage. This Court has

twice faced that question. In Kansas v. Colorado, No. 105,

Original, the Court adopted the Special Master’s uncon-

tested recommendation that the Court find that Colorado

had violated the Arkansas River Compact, ch. 155, 63 Stat.

145, through excessive groundwater pumping. 514 U.S. 673

(1995). And in Texas v. New Mezico, No. 65, Original, the

Court issued a series of rulings respecting the Pecos River

Compact, ch. 184, 63 Stat. 159, which reflected the under-

standing that the Compact limited New Mexico’s right to

consume groundwater. See 446 U.S. 540 (1980); 462 U.S. 554

(1983); 482 U.S. 124 (1987). In each of those original actions,

the Compact in question did not expressly apportion

groundwater.

This Court’s decision in Kansas v. Colorado is most

directly on point. The Arkansas River Compact, like the

Republican River Compact, does not explicitly address

25

groundwater. Rather, the relevant Compact provision,

Article IV-D, recites that States may engage in future water

resource development, provided that the waters of the

Arkansas River “shall not be materially depleted in usable

quantity or availability” for water users in the compacting

States. See 63 Stat. 147. The Master recognized the

hydrological relationship between stream flow and ground-

water, see 1 Report of Special Master, No. 105, Original, at

37 (July 1994), and he concluded that the Arkansas River

Compact is intended to prevent “material depletion caused

by any increased consumptive use, including the construc-

tion of new wells or increased levels of pumping from

precompact wells.” Jd. at 108; see also 2 id. at 194. The

Master accordingly recommended that the Court find

Colorado liable for pumping groundwater that materially

depleted the usable flow. /d. at 263. Although Colorado filed

a number of exceptions to the Master’s recommendations, it

did not challenge the Master’s conclusion that the Arkansas

River Compact restricts groundwater consumption that

materially depletes the stream flow. See 514 U.S. at 680-681.

The Court expressly agreed with the Master’s conclusion

that “new wells, the replacement of centrifugal with turbine

pumps, and increased pumping from [pre-Compact] wells all

come within [Article [V-D].” 514 U.S. at 691.

In Texas v. New Mevico, Texas asserted that New Mexico

had violated Article III of the Pecos River Compact, which

states that “New Mexico shall not deplete by man’s activities

the flow of the Pecos River at the New Mexico-Texas state

line below an amount which will give to Texas a quantity of

water equivalent to that available to Texas under the 1947

condition.” 63 Stat. 161. See 462 U.S. at 559-560. Although

the parties joined issue on the meaning of the “1947 con-

dition,” see 446 U.S. at 541, and the proper means for mea-

suring depletions, see 462 U.S. at 571-574, the parties did not

question that New Mexico’s groundwater consumption could

“deplete by man’s activities the flow of the Pecos River at

26

the New Mexico-Texas state line,” 63 Stat. 161; see 462 U.S.

at 557 & n.2, 559, and the methodology that the Court ap-

proved for making that determination took into account

groundwater consumption, see 467 U.S. 1238 (1984); 482 U.S.

at 127-128."

Nebraska suggests (Neb. Br. 10) that this Court’s decis-

ions in Kansas v. Colorado and Texas v. New Mexico have

little relevance because neither Colorado nor New Mexico

challenged the various Masters’ implicit and explicit deter-

minations that the Compacts at issue restricted groundwater

consumption. Those States, however, apparently declined to

challenge those determinations because the challenges would

be of no avail: The Compacts at issue in those cases

18 The Court approved use of a corrected version of the “inflow-

outflow methodology,” which relies on a water balance of inflows to and

outflows from the Pecos River, to calculate Texas's entitlement. 482 U.S.

at 127; 462 U.S. at 571-574. That methodology includes consideration of

groundwater discharge into the Pecos River and groundwater pumping

that depletes the stream flow. See, e.g., 462 U.S. at 558-559 & n.5;

Engineering Advisory Comm'n, Pecos River Compact Comm'n, Manual of

Inflow-Outflow Methods of Measuring Changes in Steam-Flow Depletion,

reprinted in S. Doc. No. 109, 81st Cong., Ist Sess. 149 (1949) (“Everything

that happens in the basin between the index inflow gaging stations and

the outflow station which changes the amount of water depletion

occurring in the basin between those points is measured by the inflow-

outflow method.”); id. at 159 (“change in the inflow-outflow relation can be

used as a measure of additional depletion of groundwater”). The Masters’

reports in No. 65, Original, reveal that the parties recognized that the

groundwater component of the stream flow was a central issue in the case.

See, e.g., Report of Special Master on Obligation of New Mexico to Texas

under the Pecos River Compact 44 (Sept. 7, 1979) (“the heart of this

controversy is the pumping of ground water in New Mexico”); Report and

Recommendations 6 (Sept. 10, 1982) (citing a 1942 report noting that the

Pecos River receives water from “spring and other ground waters”);

Report and Recommendations E-10 to E-15 (Jan. 16, 1984) (consideration

of specific groundwater inflows); Report 35 (July 1986) (noting that “New

Mexico has other means of meeting a delivery obligation than curtailment

of pumpage”).

27

obviously do place limits groundwater consumption.’* The

same is true here. Nebraska has simply taken a position in

this litigation that is inconsistent with the physical realities

of stream-groundwater interactions.”°

C. Kansas Is Entitled to Relief Under The Compact If It

Can Demonstrate That Nebraska’s Consumption Of

Groundwater Has Resulted In Nebraska’s Exceeding

Its Compact Allocation

As the foregoing analysis establishes, Nebraska’s basic

legal challenge to Kansas’s complaint is unsound. Nebraska's

objection that the Republican River Compact does not

apportion groundwater as such (Neb. Br. 6-10) is of no

moment. The Compact does apportion the virgin water

supply, and Kansas is entitled to seek legal relief if Nebraska

has taken more than its allocated share of that supply,

whether through direct diversion or through groundwater

pumping that dimishes stream flows. Nebraska’s objection

14 For example, in the case of the Arkansas River Compact, one

commentator had noted, as early as 1951, that “the flow of the Arkansas

River from Colorado into Kansas is modified substantially by ground-

water development. Although the Arkansas River Compact of 1949 does

not mention ground water, its effective operation depends upon an

adequate knowledge of the ground-water hydrology of the watercourse in

Colorado.” Thomas, supra, at 156. Similarly, in the case of the Pecos

River Compact, the apportionment methodology necessarily requires

consideration of groundwater effects on stream flows. See note 13, supra.

15 Nebraska's position is also inconsistent with the position that it has

taken in Nebraska v. Wyoming, No. 108, Original. In that case, Nebraska

has sued Wyoming, arguing, inter alia, that this Court’s North Platte

Decree, 325 U.S. 665 (1945), which apportions the flow of the North Platte

River but makes no mention of groundwater consumption, nevertheless

restricts Wyoming’s groundwater usage. See 515 U.S. 1, 14 (1995).

Nebraska has taken one view of stream-groundwater interactions when it

is a downstream plaintiff, and a different view when it is an upstream

defendant. Wyoming, for its part, has conceded that “groundwater

pumping in Wyoming can and does in fact deplete surface water flows in

the North Platte River.” Jbid.

28

that the Court and the parties have made reference to the

Compact as an agreement respecting surface water (Neb.

Br. 11-15) is likewise immaterial. There is nothing incon-

sistent between Kansas’s claim for relief and, for example,

this Court’s observation in Sporhase v. Nebraska ex rel.

Douglas, 458 U.S. 941, 959 (1982), that the Republican River

Compact is an “agreement among States regarding rights to

surface water,” because Kansas claims that Nebraska has

depleted surface stream flows through excessive ground-

water consumption. Nebraska’s assertion (Neb. Br. 16-19)

that the States could not have intended to apportion ground-

water is also irrelevant, because Kansas’s complaint does not

depend on whether the Compact apportioned groundwater

in situ."

16 We note, in particular, that there is no merit to Nebraska’s

assertion (Neb. Br. 16) that the compacting States could not have intended

to regulate groundwater consumption because the States, at the time of

the Compact, had not yet subjected their citizens to integrated regulation

of stream flows and groundwater consumption. The Compact negotiators

expressly stated that their deliberations were “guided by [this Court’s

decision in Hinderlider vy. La Plata River & Cherry Creek Ditch Co., 304

U.S. 92, 106 (1938)}, establishing the rights of states to make an equitable

division of the waters of an interstate stream, regardless of its effect upon

the presumably vested interests in either of the signatory states.” Add.

23a. See also Nebraska v. Wyoming, 515 U.S. at 22. Kansas and Colorado

have each enacted legislation providing for integrated regulation. See

Kan. Ann. Stat. § 82a-703 (1989); Colo. Rev. Stat. §§ 37-90-101 et seg.

(West Supp. 1996). By contrast, commentators have noted that Nebraska

has been slow to adopt an integrated management regime. See Glennon &

Maddock, supra, at 22-19 to 22-21; Stephen D. Mossman, “Whiskey is for

Drinkin' But Water is for Fightin’ About”: A First-Hand Account of

Nebraska's Integrated Management of Ground and Surface Water Debate

and the Passage of L.B. 108, 30 Creighton L. Rev. 67 (1996); Harnsberger,

supra, at 741-744. Nebraska’s resistance to adoption of integrated

regulation within its borders should not excuse it from complying with an

interstate compact premised on hydrological! principles underlying such

regulation—particularly where Nebraska has previously sued a neigh-

29

Although Kansas’s complaint is properly founded on the

legal theory that the Republican River Compact can restrict

a compacting State’s consumption of groundwater, Kansas

will be entitled to relief only if it can establish the factual

elements of its claim. In particular, Kansas bears the burden

of showing that Nebraska has in fact diminished the virgin

water supply through groundwater pumping. To make that

showing, Kansas must demonstrate the hydrological connec-

tion between Basin stream flows and groundwater pumping,

and Kansas must establish the net stream flow losses

resulting from groundwater consumption. Those factual

issues, as well as the other outstanding issues in this original

action, should be addressed, in the first instance, by a Special

Master.”

boring State to impose those principles in another interstate apportion-

ment. See Nebraska v. Wyoming, 515 U.S. at 14. See note 15, supra.

17 We note that original actions involving interstate water disputes

have frequently proceeded at a slow pace. See Texas v. New Mezico, No.

65, Original] (motion to file complaint granted in 1975 (421 U.S. 927), decree

entered in 1987 (482 U.S. 124)); Kansas v. Colorado, No. 105, Original

(motion to file complaint granted in 1986 (475 U.S. 1079), remanded for

trial on remedy in 1995 (514 U.S. at 694)); Nebraska v. Wyoming, No. 108,

Original (motion to file petition granted in 1987 (479 U.S. 1051), motions to

amend pleadings granted in part in 1995 (515 U.S. at 4)). The slow

progress may be due, to some degree, to the scope and complexity of the

cases. But inordinate delays have also resulted from the parties’ failure to

define precisely, at the outset of the litigation, the specific issues in

controversy.

The pleadings can play an important role in identifying the issues. To

ensure that the Court maintains control over the scope of the litigation,

the Court should require that a party obtain leave of the Court before

filing counterclaims. See Nebraska v. Wyoming, 515 U.S. at 8-9; see also

481 U.S. 1011 (1987) (granting Wyoming leave to file a counterclaim). The

Court may, of course, direct the Master to make a recommendation

whether proposed counterclaims present appropriate matters for the

exercise of original jurisdiction. See United States v. Alaska, 445 U.S. 914

(1980). The Court may also direct the Master to recommend rulings on

affirmative defenses that are amenable to disposition through traditional

30

CONCLUSION

The motion to dismiss should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN

Solicitor General

Lois J. SCHIFFER

Assistant Attorney General

EDWIN S. KNEEDLER

Deputy Solicitor General

JEFFREY P. MINEAR

Assistant to the Solicitor

General

ANDREW F. WALCH

EDWARD A. BOLING

Attorneys

SEPTEMBER 1999

pre-trial mechanisms, compare Fed. R. Civ. P. 12, 56, as a means of

resolving the dispute or narrowing the issues for trial. See generally

Nebraska v. Wyoming, 515 U.S. at 5-6; 507 U.S. 584 (1993); see also United

States v. Alaska, 503 U.S. 569 (1992) (resolving dispute through summary

judgment on a stipulated record).

The Master should insist that the parties confer at the outset to reach

agreement on a statement of the precise issues that are in dispute. See,

e.g., Report of the Special Master in United States v. Alaska, No. 84,

Original, at 7 & App. A (1996) (describing the parties’ submission of a

“Joint Statement of Questions Presented and Contentions of the Parties”).

That statement can then guide the course of the litigation (including the

scope of discovery) and provide the basis for continuing negotiations

aimed at resolving the controversy. The Court has repeatedly “counseled

States engaged in litigation with one another before this Court that their

dispute ‘is one more likely to be wisely solved by co-operative study and

by conference and mutual concession on the part of representatives of the

States so vitally interested in it than by proceedings in any court, however

constituted.’” Tezas v. New Mexico, 462 U.S. at 575. The Master should

accordingly be receptive to mechanisms, such as consensual mediation,

that may aid the States in reaching a negotiated solution.

ADDENDUM A

Act of May 26, 1943, ch. 104, 57 Stat. 86

AN ACT

To grant the consent of Congress to a compact entered

into by the States of Colorado, Kansas, and Nebraska

relating to the waters of the Republican River Basin, to

make provisions concerning the exercise of Federal

jurisdiction as to those waters, to promote flood control in

the Basin, and for other purposes.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives

of the United States of America in Congress assembled, That

the consent of Congress is hereby given to the compact

authorized by the Act entitled “An Act granting the consent

of Congress to the States of Colorado, Kansas, and Nebraska

to negotiate and enter into a compact for the division of the

waters of the Republican River”, approved August 4, 1942.

(Public Law 696, Seventy-seventh Congress; 56 Stat. 736),

signed by the commissioners for the States of Colorado,

Kansas, and Nebraska at Lincoln, Nebraska, on December

31, 1942, and thereafter ratified by the Legisiatures of the

States of Colorado, Kansas, and Nebraska, which compact

reads as follows:

“REPUBLICAN RIVER COMPACT

“The States of Colorado, Kansas, and Nebraska, parties

signatory to this compact (hereinafter referred to as

Colorado, Kansas, and Nebraska, respectively, or in-

dividually as a State, or collectively as the States), having

resolved to conclude a compact with respect to the waters of

the Republican River Basin, and being duly authorized

therefor by the Act of the Congress of the United States of

America, approved August 4, 1942, (Public No. 696, 77th

Congress, Chapter 545, 2nd Session) and pursuant to Acts of

(la)

2a

their respective Legislatures have, through their respective

Governors, appointed as their Commissioners:

M.C. Hinderlider, for Colorado

George S. Knapp, for Kansas

Wardner G. Scott, for Nebraska

who, after negotiations participated in by Glenn L. Parker,

appointed by the President as the Representative of the

United States of America, have agreed upon the following

articles:

“Article I

“The major purposes of this compact are to provide for

the most efficient use of the waters of the Republican River

Basin (hereinafter referred to as the ‘Basin’) for multiple

purposes; to provide for an equitable division of such waters;

to remove all causes, present and future, which might lead to

controversies; to promote interstate comity; to recognize

that the most efficient utilization of the waters within the

Basin is for beneficial consumptive use; and to promote joint

action by the States and the United States in the efficient

use of water and the control of destructive floods.

“The physical and other conditions peculiar to the Basin

constitute the basis for this compact, and none of the States

hereby, nor the Congress of the United States by its

consent, concedes that this compact establishes any general

principle or precedent with respect to any other interstate

stream.

3a

“Article Il

“The Basin is all the area in Colorado, Kansas, and

Nebraska, which is naturally drained by the Republican

River, and its tributaries, to its junction with the Smoky Hill

River in Kansas. The main stem of the Republican River

extends from the junction near Haigler, Nebraska, of its

North Fork and the Arikaree River, to its junction with

Smoky Hill River near Junction City, Kansas. Frenchman

Creek (River) in Nebraska is a continuation of Frenchman

Creek (River) in Colorado. Red Willow Creek in Colorado

Red Willow Creek in Colorado is not identical with the

stream having the same name in Nebraska. A map of the

Basin approved by the Commissioners is attached and made

a part hereof.

“The term ‘Acre-foot’, as-herein used, is the quantity of

water required to cover an acre to the depth of one foot and

is equivalent to forty-three thousand, five hundred sixty

(43,560) cubic feet.

“The term ‘Virgin Water Supply’, as herein used, is

defined to be the water supply within the Basin undepleted

by the activities of man.

“The term ‘Beneficial Consumptive Use’ is herein defined

to be that use by which the water supply of the Basin is

consumed through the activities of man, and shall include

water consumed by evaporation from any reservoir, canal,

ditch, or irrigated area.

“Beneficial consumptive use is the basis and principle

upon which the allocation of water hereinafter made are

predicated.

4a

“Article III

“The specific allocations in acre-feet hereinafter made to

each State are derived from the computed average annual

virgin water supply originating in the following designated

drainage basins, or parts thereof, in the amounts shown:

“North Fork of the Republican River drainage basin in

Colorado, 44,700 acre-feet;

“Arikaree River drainage basin, 19,610 acre-feet;

“Buffalo Creek drainage basin, 7,890 acre-feet;

“Rock Creek drainage basin, 11,000 acre-feet;

“South Fork of the Republican River drainagebasin,

57,200 acre-feet;

“Frenchman Creek (River) drainage basin in Nebraska,

98,500 acre-feet;

“Blackwood Creek drainage basin 6,800 acre-feet;

“Driftwood Creek drainage 7,300 acre-feet;

“Red Willow Creek drainage basin in Nebraska, 21,900

acre-feet;

“Medicine Creek drainage basin, 50,800 acre-feet;

“Beaver Creek drainage basin, 16,500 acre-feet;

“Sappa Creek drainage basin, 21,400 acre-feet;

“Prairie Dog Creek drainage basin, 27,600 acre-feet;

“The North Fork of the Republican River in Nebraska

and the main stem of the Republican River between the

junction of the North Fork and Arikaree River and the

lowest crossing of the river at the Nebraska-Kansas state

line and the small tributaries thereof, 87,700 acre-feet.

“Should the future computed virgin water supply of any

source vary more than ten (10) per cent from the virgin

water supply as hereinabove set forth, the allocations here-

inafter made from such source shall be increased or

decreased in the relative proportion that the future

computed virgin water supply of such source bears to the

computed virgin water supply used herein.

5a

“Article IV

“There is hereby allocated for beneficial consumptive use

in Colorado, annually, a total of fifty-four thousand, one

hundred (54,100) acre-feet of water. This total is to be

derived from the sources and in the amounts hereinafter

specified and is subject to such quantities being physically

available from those sources:

“North Fork of the Republican River drainage basin,

10,000 acre-feet;

“Arikaree River drainage basin, 15,400 acre-feet;

“South Fork of the Republican River drainage basin,

25,400 acre-feet;

“Beaver Creek drainage basin, 3,300 acre-feet; and

“In addition, for beneficial consumptive use in Colorado,

annually, the entire water supply of the Frenchman Creek

(River) drainage basin in Colorado and of the Red Willow

Creek drainage basin in Colorado.

“There is hereby allocated for beneficial consumptive use

in Kansas, annually, a total of one hundred ninety thousand,

three hundred (190,300) acre-feet of water. This total is to

be derived from the sources and in the amounts hereinafter

specified and is subject to such quantities being physically

available from those sources:

“Arikaree River drainage basin, 1,000 acre-feet;

“South Fork of the Republican River drainage basin,

23,000 acre-feet;

“Driftwood Creek drainage basin, 500 acre-feet;

“BeaverCreek drainage basin, 6,400 acre-feet;

“Sappa Creek drainage basin, 8,800 acre-feet;

“Prairie Dog Creek drainage basin, 12,600 acre-feet;

“From the main stem of the Republican River upstream

from the lowest crossing of the river at the Nebraska-

Kansas state line and from water supplies of upstream

basins otherwise unallocated herein, 138,000 acre-feet;

6a

provided, that Kansas shall have the right to divert all or

any portion thereof at or near Guide Rock, Nebraska; and

“In addition there is hereby allocated for beneficial

consumptive use in Kansas, annually, the entire water

supply originating in the Basin downstream from the lowest

crossing of the river at the Nebraska-Kansas state line.

“There is hereby allocated for beneficial consumptive use

in Nebraska, annually, a total of two hundred thirty-four

thousand, five hundred (234,500)acre-feet of water. This

total is to be derived from the sources and in the amounts

hereinafter specified and is subject to such quantities being

physically available from those sources:

“North Fork of the Republican River drainage basinin

Colorado, 11,000 acre-feet;

“Frenchman Creek (River) drainage basin in

Nebraska, 52,800 acre-feet;

“Rock Creek drainage basin, 4,400 acre-feet;

“Arikaree River drainage basin, 3,300 acre-feet;

“Buffalo Creek drainage basin, 2,600 acre-feet;

“South Fork of the Republican River drainagebasin, 800

acre-feet;

“Driftwood Creek drainage basin, 1,200 acre-feet;

“Red Willow Creek drainage basin in Nebraska, 4,200

acre-feet;

“Medicine Creek drainage basin, 4,600 acre-feet;

“Beaver Creek drainage basin, 6,700 acre-feet;

“Sappa Creek drainage basin, 8,800 acre-feet;

“Prairie Dog Creek drainage basin, 2,100 acre-feet;

“From the North Fork of the Republican River in

Nebraska, the main stem of the Republican River between

the junction of the North Fork and Arikaree River and the

lowest crossing of the river at the Nebraska-Kansas state

line, from the small tributaries thereof, and from water

supplies of up stream basins otherwise unallocated herein,

132,000 acre-feet.

7a

“The use of the waters hereinabove allocated shall be

subject to the laws of the State, for use in which the alloca-

tions are made.

“Article V

“The judgment and all provisions thereof in the case of

Adelbert A. Weiland, as State Engineer of Colorado, et al. v.

The Pioneer Irrigation Company, decided June 5, 1922, and

reported in 259 U.S. 498, affecting the Pioneer Irrigation

ditch or canal, are hereby recognized as binding upon the

States, and Colorado, through its duly authorized officials,

shall have the perpetual and exclusive right to control and

regulate diversions of water at all times by said cana} in

conformity with said judgment.

“The water heretofore adjudicated to said Pioneer Canal

by the District Court of Colorado, in the amount of fifty (50)

cubic feet per second of time is included in and is a part of

the total amounts of water hereinbefore allocated for bene-

ficial consumptive use in Colorado and Nebraska.

“Article VI

“The right of any person, entity, or lower State to

construct, or participate in the future construction and use of

any storage reservoir or diversion works in an upper State

for the purpose of regulating water herein allocated for

beneficial consumptive use in such lower State, shall never

be denied by an upper State; provided, that such right is

subject to the rights of the upper State.

“Article VII

“Any person, entity, or lower State shall have the right to

acquire necessary property rights in an upper State by

purchase, or through the exercise of the power of eminent

domain, for the construction, operation and maintenance of

storage reservoirs, and of appurtenant works, canals and

conduits, required for the enjoyment of the privileges

8a

granted by Article VI; provided, however, that the grantees

of such rights shall pay to the political subdivisions of the

State in which such works are located, each and every year

during which such rights are enjoyed for such purposes, a

sum of money equivalent to the average annual amount of

taxes assessed against the lands and improvements during

the ten years preceding the use of such lands, in reim-

bursement for the loss of taxes to said political subdivisions

of the State.

“Article VIII

“Should any facility be constructed in an upper State

under the provisions of Article VI, such construction and the

operation of such facility shall be subject to the laws of such

upper State.

“Any repairs to or replacements of such facility shall also

be made in accordance with the laws of such upper State.

“Article [X

“It shall be the duty of the three States to administer this

compact through the official in each State who is now or may

hereafter be charged with the duty of administering the

public water supplies, and to collect and correlate through

such officials the data necessary for the proper admini-

stration of the provisions of this compact. Such officials may,

by unanimous action, adopt rules and regulations consistent

with the provisions of this compact.

“The United States Geological Survey, or whatever

federal agency may succeed to the functions and duties of

that agency, in so far as this compact is concerned, shall

collaborate with the officials of the States charged with the

administration of this compact in the execution of the duty of

such officials in the collection, correlation, and publication of

water facts necessary for the proper administration of this

compact.

9a

“Article X

“Nothing in this compact shall be deemed:

“(a) To impair or affect any rights, powers or jurisdiction

of the Untied States, or those acting by or under its

authority, in, over,and to the waters of the Basin; nor to

impair or affect the capacity of the United States, or those

acting by or under its authority, to acquire rights in and to

the use of waters of the Basin;

“(b) To subject any property of the United States, its

agencies or instrumentalities, to taxation by any State, or

subdivision thereof, nor to create an obligation on the part of

the Untied States, its agencies or instrumentalities, by

reason of the acquisition, construction, or operation of any

property or works of whatsoever kind, to make any pay-

ments to any State or political subdivision thereof, state

agency, municipality, or entity whatsoever in reimburse-

ment for the loss of taxes;

“(c) To subject any property of the United States, its

agencies or instrumentalities, to the laws of any State to any

extent other than the extent these laws would apply without

regard to this compact.

“Article XI

“This compact shall become operative when ratified by

the Legislature of each of the States, and when consented to

by the Congress of the United States by legislation pro-

viding, among other things, that:

“(a) Any beneficial consumptive uses by the United

States, or those acting by or under its authority, within a

State, of the waters allocated by this compact, shall be made

within the allocations hereinabove made for use in that State

and shall be taken into account in determining the extent of

use within that State.

“(b) The United States, or those acting by or under its

authority, in the exercise of rights or powers arising from

10a

whatever jurisdiction the United States has in, over, and to

the waters of the Basin shall recognize, to the extent

consistent with the best utilization of the waters for multiple

purposes, that beneficial consumptive use of the waters

within the Basin is of paramount importance to the develop-

ment of the Basin; and no exercise of such power or right

thereby that would interfere with the full beneficial con-

sumptive use of the waters within the Basin shall be made

except upon a determination, giving due consideration to the

objectives of this compact and after consultation with all

interested federal agencies and the state officials charged

with the administration of this compact, that such exercise is

in the interest of the best utilization of such waters for

multiple purposes.

“(c) The United States, or those acting by or under its

authority, will recognize any established use, for domestic

and irrigation purposes, of the waters allocated by this

compact which may be impaired by the exercise of federal

jurisdiction in, over, and to such waters; provided, that such

use is being exercised beneficially, is valid under the laws of

the appropriate State and in conformity with this compact at

that time of the impairment thereof, and was validly

initiated under state law prior to the initiation or authori-

zation of the federal program or project which causes such

impairment.

“IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Commissioners have

signed this compact in quadruplicate original, one of which

shall be deposited in the archives of the Department of State

of the United States of America and shall be deemed the

authoritative orginial, and of which a duly certified copy

shall be forwarded to the Governor of each of the State.

“Done in the City of Lincoln, in the State of Nebraska, on

the 3ist day of December, in the year of our Lord, one

thousand nine hundred forty-two.

lla

“M.C. HINDERLIDER

“Commissioner for Colorado

“GEORGE S. KNAPP

“Commissioner for Kansas

‘WARDNER G. SCOTT

“Commissioner for Nebraska

“I have participated in the negotiations leading to this

proposed compact and propose to report to the Congress of

the United States favorably thereon.

“GLENN L. PARKER

“Representative of the United States”

Sec. 2(a) In order that the conditions stated in article XI

of the compact hereby consented to shall be met and that the

compact shail be and continue to be operative, the following

provisions are enacted —

(1) any beneficial consumptive uses by the United

States, or those acting by or under its authority, within a

State, of the waters allocated by such compact, shall be

made within the allocations made by such compact for

use in that State and shall be taken into account in

determining the extent of use within that State;

(2) the United States, or those acting by or under its

authority, in the exercise of rights or powers arising

from whatever jurisdiction the United States has in,

over, and to the waters of the Basin shall recognize, to

the extent consistent with the best utilization of the

waters from multiple purposes, that beneficial con-

sumptive use of the waters within the Basin is of para-

mount importance to the development of the Basin; and

no exercise of such power or right thereby that would

interfere with the full beneficial consumptive use of the

waters within the Basin shall be made except upon a

determination, giving due consideration to the objectives

of such compact and after consultation with all interested

12a

Federal agencies and the State officials charged with the

administration of such compact, that such exercise is in

the interest of the best utilization of such waters for

multiple purposes.

(3) the United States, or those acting by or under its

authority, will recognize any established use, for do-

mestic and irrigation purposes, of the waters allocated by

such compact which may be impaired by the exercise of

Federal jurisdiction, in, over, and to such waters:

Provided, That such use is being exercised benefically, is

valid under the laws of the appropriate State and in

conformity with such compact at the time of the impair-

ment thereof, and was validly initiated under State law

prior to the initiation or authorization of the Federal

program or project which causes such impairment.

(b) As used in this section -

(1) “beneficial consumptive uses” has the same

meaning as when used in the compact consented to by

Congress by this Act; and

(2) “Basin” refers to the Republican River Basin as

shown on the map attached to and made a part of the

original of such compact deposited in the archives of the

Department of State.

Approved May 26, 1943.

13a

ADDENDUM B

Minutes

of

The First Meeting of the Republican River Compact

Commission

Present:

M.C. Hinderlider, Commissioner for Colorado

George S. Knapp, Commissioner for Kansas

A.C. Tilley, Commissioner for Nebraska

also

R.H. Willis, Chief, Bureau of Irrigation,

Water Power and Drainage for the

State of Nebraska, as adviser to

the Commissioner for Nebraska

The Commission met in the office of the State Engineer of

Colorado at 10 A.M., May 28, 1940, for the purpose of giving

consideration to the preliminary report of the Bureau of

Reclamation covering its investigations in the Republican

River basin, which had been released for the confidential

consideration of the Commission.

l4a

The members of the Commission proceeded to review and

discuss this report, which consumed the balance of the day.

Prior to recessing, the Commission agreed that it would be

advisable to invite Mr. Debler of the Bureau of Reclamation

and his assistant, Engineer C.T. Judah, to appear the

following day to explain certain phases of the aforemen-

tioned report.

The Commission re-convened at 9 A.M., May 29th, in the

office of the State Engineer of Colorado, at which time Mr.

Debler and his assistant engineer appeared before it and

explained in considerable detail the report of the Bureau,

which Mr. Debler stated must be considered only a pre-

liminary report.

It was the view of the Commission that an equitable

allocation of the waters of the Republican River system for

beneficial uses, and for the control of floods, may be made

only after a complete study of the needs of the basin

Mr. Debler, therefore, was requested to advise the Com-

mission concerning plans of the Bureau for completing in

greater detail its present work and for correlation of such

studies with those now in progress, or which have been

made, by the Corps of U.S. Engineers. Mr. Debler advised

the Commission that the progress of further studies by the

Bureau would depend upon funds made available by the

Congress for such purpose; that funds anticipated to be

available would be used for the completion by December 31,

1941, of the studies and report on Buffalo and Medicine

Creeks, and the classification of lands below McCook,

Nebraska, and the irrigation phases of the Harlan County

Reservoir.

15a

Mr. Debler advised the Commission that the studies and

report of the Wray Reservoir and the North Fork of the

Republican had been completed.

The Commission is of the opinion that, to enable it to carry

out its purpose, the program of the Reclamation Bureau

should be enlarged to include investigations and reports on

all possible projects for the control and use of the waters of

the Republican River basin.

The Commission requested Engineer Judah to furnish it

with a tabulation of all the reservoirs mentioned in the

preliminary report of the Bureau, showing the maximum

capacity of each of such reservoirs, the capacities allocated

for flood control, irrigation and sedimentation, together with

a preliminary estimate of the cost of constructing the dams

at each of these sites; such information to also include the

location of each of the dams by section, township and range.

Mr. Judah agreed to furnish this information to each member

of the Commission at an early date.

Since the Corps of Engineers has spent some time in

making surveys and studies of the problem of flood control

and other benefits in the Republican River basin, it was the

view of the Commission that each commissioner should have

a copy of any report which has been compiled by the Corps

of U.S. Engineers which might be available for the use of the

Commission. The Commission, therefore, directed a written

request for any and all such reports to Col. C.L. Sturtevant,

Division Engineer, Corps of Engineers, Kansas City.

Thereupon, the Commission adjourned, with the under-

standing that a date for another meeting of the Commission

would be later arranged by mutual agreement.

/s/

/s/

/s/

16a

MC, HINDERLIDER

Commissioner for Colo.

GEORGE S, KNAPP

Commissioner for Kan.

A.C, TILLEY

Commissioner for Nebr.

17a

Second Meeting of Republican River Compact

Commission in the Office of the State Engineer of

Colorado on December 6-7, 1940

Meeting convened at 10 A.M. December 6th.

Present:

M.C. Hinderlider, Commissioner for Colorado

George S. Knapp, Commissioner for Kansas

R.H. Willis, representing A.C. Tilley, Commissioner

for Nebraska

During the morning session, the Commission, after a

general review of basin-wide conditions, as shown by the

report of the U.S. Army Engineers and the preliminary re-

port of the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation, considered proposed

bases upon which a compact might be predicated, these

being:

1. A complete previously prepared plan of basin-

wide development;

2. A plan which would provide for reservations of

water on tributaries for possible future use;

3. A plan which would provide for the approval

currently of proposed projects as they may be

investigated and favorably reported upon by

federal or other agencies, until the entire water

supply is allocated.

18a

While the data available to the Commission at this time is

not sufficient upon which to make a definite determination of

a basin-wide plan of development which might be equitable

to three states, the Commission was of the opinion that

preliminary information on projects in Nebraska and

Kansas, including multiple-use projects on the lower reaches

of streams in Colorado, together with records of stream flow

throughout the basin, is sufficient to warrant the conclusion

that there is reason to believe that the water supply is suffi-

cient to meet the reasonable requirements and opportunities

for development in each state.

The commissioner for Colorado stated that, while rea-

sonably complete information concerning multiple-use pro-

jects in Nebraska and Kansas had been made available by

the U.S. Engineers and Bureau of Reclamation, very little

data has been assembled by these federa}) agencies con-

cerning opportunity for development on the upper tri-

butaries of the Republican River in Colorado, aside from

that of the North Fork or Wray project, and that, unless the

Commission could agree upon the general principle of the

right of each state to the unrestricted use of waters

originating in each state, present lack of data on Colorado’s

needs might preclude the consummation of a compact until

after such information has been made available by the

United States or other agencies. The commissioners for

Kansas and Nebraska objected to such a formula pending

more definite knowledge of the opportunities for develop-

ment in the three states and adequacy of water supplies.

The three commissioners were generally of the opinion

that it is desirable that a compact be prepared in time for the

consideration of the incoming Legislatures of the three

states, but it was agreed that this should not be the con-

trolling factor.

19a

Since the Commission had been previously advised by Mr.

Debler of the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation that it is not the

policy of his department to release reports on individual

projects throughout the basin pending completion of the

basin-wide surveys and studies and release of the final

report, which it is estimated will require at least another

year, at the request of the Commission Mr. Debler advised

that his resident engineer, Mr. Judah, in charge of investi-

gations in the Republican River basin, would be available to

appear before the Commission and supply any current infor-

mation which the Commission might deem of importance in

its deliberations. By prior arrangement, Mr. Judah appeared

at the afternoon session of the Commission and gave a

tentative report of the present status of the investigations in

Nebraska and Kansas, covering land areas and classifica-

tions; water supplies; tentative conclusions concerning con-

sumptive uses of water; the location of the projects which

have been investigated to date and those for which investi-

gations have been completed; and a tentative program of

future investigations. This information was given the

Commission, with the understanding that it was more in the

nature of a progress report covering investigations to date

by the Bureau, and was not to be considered as being con-

clusive.

The Commission questioned Mr. Judah at considerable

length for the purpose of acquiring as complete a picture as

possible of the results of the Bureau’s surveys and studies of

projects in the Republican River basin to date, and a

knowledge of the extent of and time required for the

completion of the Bureau’s studies.

20a

December 7th

The Commission convened at 9:30 A.M. and proceeded to

review the information furnished by Engineer Judah on the

previous day, together with available ~ecords of stream flow,

relative location of arable lands in Kansas and Nebraska, as

disclosed by the Bureau’s investigation, and possible relative

needs and opportunities in each state for water utilization.

These preliminary studies consumed the remainder of the

day.

It is the opinion of the Commission that further time will

be required in which to make individual studies of available

data and, therefore, the Commission adjourned 4:30 P.M.,

with the tentative understanding that it would convene

again at an early date at a place and time to be mutually

agreed upon.

/s/ MLC, HINDERLIDER

Commissioner for Colorado

is)’ GEORGE S, KNAPP

Commissioner for Kansas

/s/ RH, WILLIS

Representing A.C. TILLEY,

Com. for Neb.

Zla

Minutes of the Third Meeting of the

Republican River Compact Comission at

Lincoln, Nebraska

December 30, 1940 to January 2, 1941

The Commission met at 11 o’clock, December 30, 1940 in

the Governor’s Hearing Room at the State House.

Present:

M.C. Hinderlider, Commissioner for Colorado

George S. Knapp, Commissioner for Kansas

R.H. Willis, Representing A.C. Tilley, Commissioner

for Nebraska

F.B. Shaffer, Assistant Engineer, Nebraska

State Planning Board, Technician

Prior to this meeting of the Commission, the three

members thereof had compiled data on stream flow and land

areas in the Republican River basin above Concordia,

Kansas, from all available federal and state records, and had

made certain analyses of these data.

Commissioner Hinderlider proposed the following prin-

ciples which might well be considered as controlling in reach-

ing an agreement with respect to a division of the waters of

the basin between the three states:

22a

1. That all allocations of water be based upon beneficial

consumptive use, which was concurred in by the other

members;

2. Uses of water in the past should constitute a prior and

superior right and requirements of water for the future to

meet domestic, livestock and municipal needs should have

preferred status over the use for any other purpose and

should be so recognized by the terms of the compact. The

members of the Compact Commission were in accord on this

point and were of the opinion that due to the relatively small

demands for such preferential needs, such requirements

need not be considered in making specific allocations of

water for other uses in the respective states;

3. That present available consumptive uses of water in

the basin be recognized in arriving at final allocations of

water between the states, to the end that present uses would

be fully protected, on which point the members of the

Commission were in agreement;

4. That next consideration be given to needs for water to

supplement existing uses within the basin, upon which point

the members of the Commission were in agreement;

5. That any compact should recognize the decisions of the

federal court in the case of Adelbert A. Weiland, as State

Engineer for the State of Colorado, et al, vs. The Pioneer

Irrigation Company, 259 U.S. 498, as binding, not only upon

the citizens and the States of Colorado and Nebraska, but

likewise upon the citizens and State of Kansas. It was

agreed, however, that opinions of the Attorney General of

the three states should be obtained on this point.

23a

6. That in view of the fact that a reclamation project on

the North Fork of the Republican near Wray, Colorado, for

the irrigation of lands in Colorado and Nebraska, has been

approved for construction under the provisions of the Case-

Wheeler Act, and that the report of the U.S. Bureau of

Reclamation has recommended that a compact or under-

standing between the three states, satisfactory to the

Secretary of the Interior, should be had prior to actual

construction of this project, the Commission agreed that the

water required for this project would come well within

tentative allocations of water proposed to be incorporated in

a compact. Commissioner Knapp was of the opinion that such

recognition at this time might establish a dangerous

precedent;

That the Commission’s deliberations be guided by the

decision of the Supreme Court of the United States in the

ease of The La Plata River and Cherry Creek Ditch Co. v.

Hinderlider, 304 U.S. 92, establishing the right of states to

make an equitable division of the waters of an interstate

stream, regardless of its effect upon presumably vested

interests in either of the signatory states. On this proposal,

the Commission was in agreement.

The Commission proceeded to a consideration of such data

and to a revised record of stream flow of the Republican

River and its tributaries, as computed and compiled by

Engineer Shaffer, which work consumed the greater part of

the day.

For the purpose of expediting its analyses of water

supply, present uses and future demands upon the same,

Commissioner Hinderlider presented for consideration a

tentative analysis which he had made and previously

furnished to the other two commissioners. The commis-

sioners proceeded to study this analysis in the light of the

24a

official records of water supply and the recent reports of the

United States Engineers and the U.S. Bureau of Reclama-

tion, and the values of reconstructed stream flow prepared

by Engineer Shaffer.

About 4 o’clock Commissioner Tilley met with the Com-

mission for the remainder of the day, it having been im-

possible for him to meet previously due to prior commit-

ments.

Commissioner Tilley reviewed the findings of the Corps of

U.S. Engineers with respect to the 17 projects investigated

in the Republican River basin by the Corps, both for flood

control and for multiple purposes, including reclamation. Mr.

Tilley was strongly of the opinion that all of the needs

thruout the basin should be considered as a whole or as a

unit, and that the difference between estimated benefits and

costs for any project should be spread over other projects

that the studies by the department had shown would not be

economically justified by themselves alone.

The members of the Commission were of the same

opinion, and it was agreed that the views of the Commission

should be transmitted to the Corps of Engineers, with the

request that a re-study of the projects thruout the basin

should be predicated upon this principle.

Recess was taken at 5:30 P.M.

December 31, 1940

The Commission reconvened at 9:30 A.M. and continued

its study of the analysis of water supply and required uses

from the preceding day, which consumed the entire day.

25a

Recess was taken at 5:00 P.M.

January 1, 1941

The Commission resumed at 10:00 A.M. its studies of the

preceding day and continued until 3:00 P.M.

Recess was taken then until 9:00 A.M. January 2nd.

January 2, 194]

The Commission resumed at 9:00 A.M. its analysis of

water supplies and demands thereon. This preliminary

study was concluded at 3 P.M., at which time computations

with respect to tentative allocations of water had been

completed, with the understanding, however, that such com-

putations were subject to possible changes.

The Commission was of the opinion that adjustments with

respect to factual] data are necessary to final allocation of the

waters of the basin, and the drafting of a compact for the

consideration of the water users, legal advisers of the

members of the Commissioners, and the Governors of the

respective states. The final revision of figures did not

appear possible until further studies have been made.

Accordingly, the Commission adjourned following a courtesy

call upon Governor Cochran, with the understanding that the

members would give immediate attention to the further

study of available data, and would arrange to meet again at

Topeka, Kansas, at an early date, tentatively fixed as

January 13, 1941.

26a

isi) MC, HINDERLIDER

Commissioner for Colorado

/si/ GEORGE 5S, KNAPP

Commissioner for Kansas

// A.C, Tilley by R.H. WILLIS

Commissioner for Nebraska

27a

Minutes of the Fourth Meeting

of the Republican River Compact Commission at

Topeka, Kansas, on January 27-28, 1941

Present:

M. C. Hinderlider, Commissioner for Colorado

George S. Knapp, Commissioner for Kansas

Wardner G. Scott, Commissioner for Nebraska

R. H. Willis, Chief, Bureau of Irrigation, Water

Power and Drainage, Dept. of Public

Works, Nebraska

John Riddell, Ass’t Att’y Gen’l of Nebraska

Meeting convened at 10 A. M. in the hearing room of the

State Board of Agriculture in the Capitol Building. The

following gentlemen appeared before the Commission to

express their views concerning needs for water develop-

ments and water conservation in the Republican River basin

in Nebraska and Kansas.

Don P. Postlethwaithe, attorney for St. Francis, Kansas,

who talked on the needs of the valley in that section of the

state;

M. O. Ryan, representing a number of organizations in the

Republican River valley in Nebraska and Kansas, who spoke

in behalf of the needs of the residents in the area repre-

sented by him;

28a

Dr. E. P. Ahrens of Scandia, Kansas, who spoke in behalf

of needs for flood control and water for reclamation and

other benefits in the lower basis of the Republican River.

All these gentlemen expressed the hope that a compact may

be consummated and ratified by the Legislatures of the

three states at an early date, and assured the Commission of

their full support in the efforts of the Commission to attain

this objective. They expressed the view that any conclusions

reached by the Commission, they felt confident, would be

approved by the water users thruout the basis.

Mr. Harry P. Burleigh and Associate Robt. M. Barkley,

representing the U.S. Bureau of Agricultural Economics,

with offices at Amarillo Texas appeared before the

Commission and outlined the scope of the work which the

Bureau has been carrying on thruout the Republican River

basin to determine the extent and useability of the

underground waters of the basin and the availability of lands

which could be reclaimed thereby in tributary basis areas.

Mr. Burleigh advised the Commission that it is now

contemplated the complete report of the Bureau will be

available for distribution to the commissioners not later than

three weeks from date.

Mr. Burleigh explained at considerable length the nature

of these investigations and the basis of determinations of

water supply and available land areas, limits of pumping lift,

limits of cost per acre used in his determinations and many

other factors. He also presented the Commission with a

tabular statement showing estimated amounts of under-

ground water available in the various basins in the Re-

publican River basin in the three states and amounts of land

to which such water supplies could be applied within the

economic limits he had assumed.

29a

Mr. Burleigh advised the Commission that, in view of the

fact that numerous applications had been made to his

department by land owners thruout the basin, he was

desirous of obtaining a statement from the Commission as to

whether the amounts of underground waters he had

determined would be feasibly possible of use, would, in the

opinion of the Commission, exceed the allotments of water to

each state which the Commission may have agreed upon;

that his department did not want to recommend

developments of underground water supplies in excess of the

allocations of water to each state.

He advised the Commission also that his department is

advising with the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation with a view of

reaching an understanding concerning the scope of future

developments within the basin, both of surface and under-

ground waters, which would not be overlapping in effect, to

the end that a rational program of development by both

federal agencies might be carried out in the future without

the danger of over-development by either agency to the

detriment of developments by the other agency. Upon

inquiry, Mr. Burleigh advised the Commission that all of the’

underground waters of the basin above Scandia, Kansas, are

included in the total water supplies of the basin, as reflected

in measurements of stream flow at Scandia and other points

in the basin, and that any underground water developments

must be considered as reducing to that extent the amount of

surface water available for use within the basin.

At the afternoon session, Engineer Ware of the U. S.

Engineers Office at Kansas City appeared, at the invitation

of the Commission, and discussed present progress of the

studies and reports on flood control and multiple use projects

in the Republican River basin. Mr. Ware advised the Com-

mission that, in conformity with former understanding of the

30a

Commission, his department is reviewing its former reports

concerning the economic feasibility of the various reservoir

projects which have been investigated thruout the basin, to

determine if the excess benefits over costs resulting from

the building of the Harlan County Reservoir, could be so

distributed over other storage reservoirs thruout the basin

as to show the benefits from constructing such reservoirs

would exceed the estimated costs thereof. The Commission

was advised, however, that, even though the results of such

studies were favorable to the development of a number of

storage reservoirs for flood control or multiple-purpose pro-

jects, there is no certainty that his department would

recommend such program of developments in lieu of the

single development of the Harlan County reservoir, which is

designed for a major purpose.

Mr. Ware also advised the Commission that his de-

partment expects to give consideration to data furnished by

the Bureau of Reclamation concerning any reservoirs or

projects which are being investigated by the Bureau, but

that such information will have to be available to the Corps

before June 1, 1941, since the supplemental report of the

Corps of Engineers cannot be delayed later than that date.

January 28, 194]

Meeting of the Commission convened in the Jayhawk

Hotel at 10 A. M., with all members present.

The Commission resumed its studies on water supply and

tentative allocations, which had been temporarily suspended

at the last meeting in Lincoln. This work consumed the

entire day. After making some adjustments of previous

figures, and reconstructing present stream flow in the light

of all present available knowledge concerning past uses of

Sla

water within the basin, the members of the Commission

were in substantial agreement, both as to principles and as

to allocations of water to the three states.

In this connection, the Commission gave consideration to a

preliminary draft for an interstate compact, which had been

prepared by Commissioner Hinderlider and presented to the

Commission on January 27th. The members of the

Commission were in general agreement concerning the

terms of the tentative draft, but reserved any final con-

clusions until the tentative draft could receive further study

and approval of the Attorneys General of the three states.

The Commission adjourned its deliberations at 5

P M., with the understanding that the Commission would

convene again at Denver, Colorado, on the 10th of February.

isfy MC, HINDERLIDER

Commissioner for Colorado

is) GEORGE S, KNAPP

Commissioner for Kansas

si) WARDNER G, SCOTT

Commissioner for Nebraska

32a

Minutes of the Fifth Meeting of the Republican

River Compact Commission at Denver, Colorado,

February 10-12, 1941

Present:

M. C. Hinderlider, Commissioner for Colorado

George S. Knapp, Commissioner for Kansas

Wardner G. Scott, Commissioner for Nebraska

R. H. Willis, Chief, Bureau of Irrigation,

Water Power and Drainage,

Dept. of Public Works, Neb-

raska

The Commission met at 9:30 A. M. February 10th.

The first item of business was the correction and approval

of the minutes of the third and fourth meetings of the

Commission.

The Commission then proceeded to a reconsideration of

reconstructed stream flow and tentative allocations of water

for consumptive uses throughout the Basin, and the pre-

paration of a revised schedule of allocations of water.

The Commission then proceeded to the consideration of a

final draft for a compact, which consumed the balance of the

day.

33a

Recess was taken at 5 P. M., with the understanding that

the Commission would not reconvene until 1:30 P M.

February 11th, to permit Commissioner Hinderlider to

attend a conference of water users at Ft. Lupton.

February 11

The Commission convened at 1:30 P. M. and resumed

consideration of a final draft for a compact, which work

consumed the balance of the day.

Adjournment was taken at 5:30 P. M.

February 12

The Commission convened at 9:30 A. M. and spent the

entire forenoon in completing the final draft for a compact

for the consideration of the legal advisers of the

Commissioners

Commissioner Scott and Mr. Willis were compelled to

leave soon after noon, and it was agreed that Commissioners

Hinderlider and Knapp would prepare a new tabulation of

reconstructed stream flow and allocations of water, in

accordance with the values set up in the draft for a compact,

with the exception of the values relating to acreages and

uses of water on the South Fork of the Republican River.

This latter matter was to be held in abeyance until

Commissioners Knapp and Hinderlider could make a trip

over the lower reaches of the Republican River Basin in

Colorado and western Kansas, to obtain further information

concerning irrigated areas. It was agreed that this field

investigation would be made on February 17th and 18th.

34a

The final draft for a compact was prepared at this meeting

and each commissioner agreed to refer the same at once to

the Governors of their respective states for early con-

sideration, and to submit the same to representatives of the

water users.

There being no further business, the Commission

adjourned at 12:30 P. M., with the understanding that it

would convene again on February 21st at Lincoln, Nebraska.

Commissioner for Colorado

isi GEORGE S. KNAPP

Commissioner for Kansas

is) WARDNER G, SCOTT

Commissioner for Nebraska

35a

Minutes of the Sixth Meeting of the Republican

River Compact Commission at Lincoln, Nebra [sic},

February 21-22, 1941

Present:

M. C. Hinderlider, Commissioner for Colorado

George S. Knapp, Commissioner for Kansas

Wardner G. Scott, Commissioner for Nebraska

R. H. Willis, Chief, Bureau of Irrigation, Water

Power and Drainage, Dept. of

Public Works, Nebraska

Gail L. Ireland, Attorney General of Colorado

Warden Noe and

Eldon Wallingford, Attorneys representing the

Attorney General of Kansas

John Riddell, Assistant Attorney General of

Nebraska

The Commission proceeded at once to the consideration of

suggested changes in the wording of the last draft for a

compact as they were presented by the three commissioners

and their legal advisers, which continued throughout the

day.

Adjournment was taken at 5 P. M.

36a

February 22

The Commission resumed its discussions at 9:30

A. M., covering proposed changes in the last draft for a

compact, which continued throughout the entire day.

Substantial agreement was reached on amendments to

Articles I to V, inclusive, and Articles IX to XIII, inclusive.

Since its was apparent that further consideration for other

articles of the last draft would require further extended

study and it being necessary for Commissioner Hinderlider

to attend a meeting of the Rio Grande Compact Commission

at Santa Fe on February 24th, the Commission adjourned

this meeting with the understanding that it would convene

again on March 3, 1941, at Lincoln or possibly Denver.

isi) M,C, BINDERLIDER

Commissioner for Colorado

isi) GEORGE S, KNAPP

Commissioner for Kansas

is) WARDNER G, SCOTT

Commissioner for Nebraska

37a

Minutes of the Seventh Meeting of the Republican

River Compact

Commission at Lincoln, Nebraska, March 3-7, 1941

The Commission met in the office of the State Engineer of

Nebraska at 10 A. M., March 3rd:

Present:

M. C. Hinderlider,

George S. Knapp,

Wardner G. Scott,

R. H. Willis,

Gail L. Ireland,

Eldon Wallingford,

John Riddell,

Commissioner for Colorado

Commissioner for Kansas

Commissioner for Nebraska

Chief, Bureau of Irrigation, Water

Power and Drainage, Dept. of

Public Works, Nebraska

Attorney General of Colorado

Attorney representing the

Attorney General of Kansas

Assistant Attorney General of

Nebraska

The Commission proceeded to consider Article by Article

the last tentative draft for a compact in the light of federal

and state law, the method of allocations used by the

Commission and the re-phrasing of certain sections of the

compact, all of which consumed the entire day.

March 4

The Commission resumed its deliberations from the

preceding day, which continued throughout the day.

March 5

The Commission consumed the entire day with a

continuation of its deliberations initiated on March 3rd.

March 6

The entire day was confined to a continuation of the work

of the previous days of this session and in making certain

minor revisions of former allocations of water.

March 7

The Commission resumed its labors at 10 A. M. in the

form of a further tentative draft for a compact insofar as the

same could be completed at this session, since it appeared

necessary that further opportunity for discussion past uses

of water in the South Fork of the Republican River was

necessary to a final conclusion of the compact.

The Commission adjourned with the understanding that

Commissioners Hinderlider and Knapp would meet at

Denver on March 17th with Senator Ragan and Attorney

Don Postlethwaithe, to consider the aforementioned matters

rela- to the waters ui the Republican River, and that the

Commission thereafter would meet in Denver, March 18th

for the purposes of completing, if possible, the final draft and

the signing of a compact.

39a

/si) MC, HINDERLIDER

Commissioner for Colorado

isi GEORGES. KNAPP

Commissioner for Kansas

is) WARDNER G, SCOTT

Commissioner for Nebraska

40a

Minutes of the Eighth, and Last, Meeting of the

Republican River Compact Commission at

Denver, Colorado, on March 18-19, 1941

Prior to the meeting of the Compact Commission at 9:30

A.M. March 18th, Commissioner Hinderlider and Knapp met

in the office of the State Engineer of Colorado with Senator

Ragan of Colorado, and Attorney Don. P. Postlethwaithe,

representing water users in the St. Francis Valley in

Kansas, to consider the question of past and present uses of

water in the basin of the South Fork of the Republican River

in Colorado and Kansas, at which time Mr. Postlethwaithe

presented maps and other records of appropriations of water

out of the South Fork of the Republican River in Kansas, on

file in the County Court House at St. Francis, as evidence of

past uses of water in that area. Commissioner Hinderlider

presented tabulations of decrees covering appropriations of

water out of the South Fork of the Republican River in

Colorado.

At this conference Attorney General Ireland of Colorado,

and Assistant Attorney General John Riddell of Nebraska,

were present a portion of the time. This entire discussion

related to the question of an equitable division of the water

supply of the South Fork of the Republican between the

states of Colorado and Kansas, and lasted the entire day of

March 17th.

4la

March 18

The Commission met in the office of the State Engineer of

Colorado at 9:30 A. M.

Present:

M. C. Hinderlider, Commissioner for Colorado

George S. Knapp, Commissioner for Kansas

Wardner G. Scott, Commissioner for Nebraska

Gail L. Ireland, Attorney General of Colorado

John Riddell, Assistant Attorney General of

Nebraska

The Commission proceeded to a further consideration of

previous tentative allocations of water out of the South Fork

of the Republican River, concerning which the Commission

was not in agreement at its last meeting in Lincoln,

Nebraska.

These discussions, together with a review of former

tentative allocations of water throughout the basin, con-

sumed the entire day. Senator Ragan was present for a

limited time both in the morning and in the afternoon.

A final agreement on allocations of water throughout the

basin was reached at 4:30 P. M.

The Commission then called upon Governor Carr, follow-

ing which adjournment was taken at 5:00 P. M., subject to

convening on the morning or March 19th.

March 19

The Commission convened at 9:30 A. M. and proceeded to

prepare the final typed draft of the Compact in quad-

ruplicate original, which four original copies were signed by

the Commission at 4:30 P. M., Marvh 19, 1941.

Each commissioner received one original which is to be

conveyed to the Governor of his state with his written

recommendation that the Compact, if approved by his

Governor, be transmitted promptly to the Legislature of his

respective state with his recommendations for favorable

action thereon.

Commissioners Knapp and Scott authorized and re-

quested Commissioner Hinderlider to transmit to Governor

Carr the first original draft of the compact, with the request

that he in turn transmit the same to the proper federal

department at Washington, pursuant to the provisions of the

compact.

ls) M,C, HINDERLIDER

Commissioner for Colorado

isi) GEORGES. KNAPP

Commissioner for Kansas

Is)’ WARDNER G, SCOTT

Commissioner for Nebraska

43a

Minutes of the Ninth Meeting of the Republican

River Compact Commission

at Denver, Colorado, on December 2, 1942.

Present:

M. C. Hinderlider, Commissioner for Colorado

Geo. S. Knapp, Commissioner for Kansas

Wardner G. Scott, Commissioner for Nebraska

G. L. Parker, Representative of the United

States

The Republican River Compact Commission met in room

243 of the State Capitol Building, December 2, 1942. At

11:30 a.m. Mr. M. C. Hinderlider called the meeting to order

and made an opening statement reviewing the history of the

matter since the draft of a compact was signed at Denver on

March 19, 1941 by the Commissioners of the three states.

He pointed out that thereafter the Compact was ratified by

the Legislatures of the three states, that it was submitted to

the Congress and in due time approved, and that the Act of

Congress was later vetoed by the President of the United

States; that subsequently the Congress passed a Bill giving

its consent to the states of Colorado, Kansas and Nebraska

to negotiate a new Compact upon the condition that a

person, to be appointed by the President of the United

States, should participate with the states as the repre-

sentative of the United States. In conformity with that

authority he said that the President had appointed Mr.

44a

Glenn L. Parker, Chief Hydraulic Engineer, U. S. Geological

Survey, as the Representative of the United States.

Following Mr. Hinderlider’s statement, Mr. Knapp

proposed that the three state Commissicners concur in a

request that Mr. Parker be the presiding officer during these

negotiations. The proposal received unanimous approval of

the three states and Mr. Parker assumed the position of

Chairman of the Commission. Mr. Parker then made the

proposal that Mr. Knapp be asked to act as secretary which

he consented to do.

Mr. Parker then said:

“I had rather expected Mr. Hinderlider to tell you

about the informal meetings of the commission that were

held here during the time that the National Reclamation

Association had its annual meeting in Denver, I believe

October 14-16. The Commission did not organize then,

but discussed in general terms what might be

appropriate. Inasmuch as the states had already con-

sidered the Compact, and the Legislatures had ratified

the original Compact, the three state representatives

thought that the first step would be for the Federal

representative to arrange for a redraft of the Compact in

language that would cover the interest of the Federal

government, inasmuch as the Compact had presumably

been vetoed because the Federal interests were not

protected by the original Compact. Accordingly with

the help of Mr. Howard R. Stinson, attorney to the

Bureau of Reclamation, who has followed the events

leading up to our present meeting very closely, a new

draft of the Compact was prepared and submitted

first to the Federal agencies involved. Those Federal

agencies were the Department of Agriculture, Bureau of

45a

the Budget, Federal Power Commission, Department of

Interior, and the War Department.”

“The redraft of the Compact was transmitted to each

of those agencies by a letter dated November 4th.”

“The redraft was not submitted to state representa-

tives then because it was thought that we could get in

quickly from the Federal representatives any changes

that might be desired to protect Federal interests and

revamp the draft, if necessary, before submitting to

state representatives with the end in view of causing as

little confusion as possible by having to consider several

editions. That procedure did not work out well because

it was very difficult to get clearance from the Federal

agencies. Prompt action was taken by Ernest H.

Weicking of the Department of Agiculture.”

“On November 19, the Compact was transmitted to

the state Commissioners by letter in which it was indi-

cated that clearance had been received from the

Department of Agriculture, Federal Power Commission,

and Department of the Interior, except for minor

changes in language with no important issues involved.”

“The statement in that letter that the Federal Power

Commission had given clearance, was based on a tele-

phone conversation between me and Mr. Leland Olds,

Chairman of the Federal Power Commission, approxi-

mately November 17th, during which he assured me the

Federal Power Commission had cleared the redraft and

that a letter would be received by me in a few days to

that effect. It was not until 4:30 p.m. on the afternoon

of November 30th, that I received a letter from the

Federal Power Commission, which suggested that the

46a

language relating to “beneficial consumptive use” as a

paramount use be eliminated from the Compact.”

Mr. Parker:

Before we go farther it might be desirable to ask each

state representative and for the Federal representative to

indicate what persons have been chosen to advise them. Mr.

Hinderlider will you please lead off?

Mr. Hinderlider:

Mr. Gail L. Ireland, Attorney General of Colorado, is the

official legal advisor of the Commissioner for Colorado. Mr.

Clifford H. Stone, Director of the Colorado Water Con-

servation Board, will be one of my legal advisers. Mr. Jenn

Breitenstein, who is also a legal advisor to the Colorado

Water Conservation Board, will be considered on the legal

staff of the Commissioner for Colorado. Mr. Charles Patter-

son, the Chief Engineer of the Colorado Watter Conserva-

tion Board, will be with us.

Mr. Knapp:

Mr. Eldon Wallingford, Assistant Attorney General, is

legal advisor for Kansas.

Mr. Scott:

Mr. John Riddeli, Assistant Attorney General of Ne-

braska, is my advisor.

Mr. Parker-:

47a

Assistant Secretary of the Interior, Oscar Chapman, was

to have been the representative of the Department of the

Interior. At the last moment, Secretary Chapman found it

impossible to come because he had to go to Ottawa, Canada

to represent the Interior Department on some matters. I

expect a telegram today designating Howard R. Stinson,

Assistant Chief Counsel, U. S. Bureau of Reclamation as the

representative of the Department of Interior. He has with

him here today Mr. E. B. Debler of the Bureau of Reclama-

tion.

Mr. Homer H. Wells of the Bureau of Agriculture, in

Denver, is designated as advisor from the Department of

Agriculture. With him is Mr. Tom Steele.

Col. Lewis A. Pick is the representative of the War

Department.

Mr. Parker:

One point I would like to clear up. Should we try to carry

on parlimentary procedure, or proceed less formally? What

is the pleasure of the Commission?

Mr. Knapp:

It is my own feeling that in general discussions might be

somewhat informal, but that probably when we get down to

considering the revision of the Compact, line by line, or

section by section, the record should show whether each of

the three Commissioners agree to proposed changes.

Mr. Parker:

48a

I take it that in making a recommendation for a change we

should have an expression of opinion by the Commissioner of

each state. Is such procedure acceptable?

Mr. Hinderlinder:

It is to Colorado.

Mr. Scott:

It is to Nebraska.

Mr. Knapp:

I might add this: A compact is, in effect, an agreement to

which each of the several parties must consent so that

procedure doesn’t involve so much determining what the

majority wishes, as to determine whether each state accepts

the proposals made. Any change rust of course be

acceptable to all three states.

Mr. Parker:

Does any one of the state representatives wish to suggest

how we should proceed from here on?

Mr. Hinderlinder:

I would suggest that we take the original draft and go

over it article by article, paragraph by paragraph.

The Commission the proceeded to consideration of all

changes in the language of the original Compact proposed by

the new draft which Mr. Parker sent to the three

49a

Commissioners with his letter of November 19. As the new

draft the Commission took the following action:

Preliminary Section:

In line 17, after the word “who” The Commission agreed

to the proposed addition of the underlined words “after

negotiations participated in by Glenn L. Parker, appointed

by the President as the representative of the United States

of America.” No other changes to the Preliminary Section

were proposed.

Article I:

As the last paragraph of Article I, the Commission agreed

to strike out the original clause to which the Federal Power

Commission objected, and accept, in lieu thereof, the under-

lined language in lines 8, 9, 10, and 11:

“The use of the waters of the Republican River and

tributaries thereof with the Basin, as hereinabove de-

fined, for “Beneficial Consumptive Use”, as hereinbelow

defined, shall constitute paramount use and any other

use shall be subordinate thereto.”

There was considerable discussion of this matter. It

centered around the fact that the Federal Power Commiss-

ion had, in a letter to the Committee on Reclamation and

Irrigation of the House of Representatives, dated October

18, 1941, (copy attached) stated its objection to the declara-

tion that the Republican River and the tributaries thereof

were not navigable, and had recommended that the para-

graph be deleted and the above language substituted

therefor. Mr. Parker reported to the Compact Commission

that on November 30, he had received another letter (copy

also attached) in which the Commission now asked that this

50a

language, being the language hitherto proposed by them,

should be eliminated from the Compact. After long dis-

cussion the Compact Commissioners decided to retain the

language as set forth above.

Article IT:

In line 16, page 2, the word “natural” was eliminated.

In line 20, after the word “right”, the words “of any person

or entity” were added.

The same line and same page, the words “natural waters”

were striken and “water supply” substituted therefor.

In lines 20, 21, and 22, the words “by the citizens,

agencies, associations and corporations of the signatory

states” were striken out.

Line 22, page 2, the word “following” was eliminated.

Article III:

Line 2, page 3, after the word “allocated” the words “to

Colorado for use” were striken out and the words “for

beneficial consumptive use in Colorado” were substituted

therefor.

Line 11, page 3, after the word “allocated”, the word “to”

was striken out and the words “for beneficial consumptive

use in” were substituted therefor.

In the same line after the word “Colorado”, the words “for

use” were striken out.

5la

Line 12, page 3, the word “Creek” was substituted for the

word “River”, and the word “(River)” inserted after the

word “Creek”.

In line 14, page 3, “to” was striken out and the words “for

beneficial consumptive use in” added.

Same line, same page, the words “for use” were striken

out.

Line 2, page 4, after the words “acre feet” the Commission

inserted “including water supplies of upstream basins

otherwise unallocated herein”.

In line 5, page 4, the word “to” was striken, and “for

beneficial consumptive use in” substituted therefor.

In line 6, page 4, the words “for use” were eliminated.

Line 7, page 4, after “the”, “lowest crossing of the river at

the” was added.

In line 8, page 4, the word “to” was striken out, and “for

beneficial consumptive use in” added.

Line 8, page 4, after the word “Nebraska”, “for use” was

eliminated.

Line 15, page 4, the word “River” was striken out, the

word “Creek” inserted, and the word “(River)” added after

“Creek”.

Lines 2 and 3, page 5, the words “Colorado-Nebraska

state line “were eliminated, and “junction of the North Fork

and Arikaree River” added; and after the word “and”, “the

lowest crossing of the river at” was added.

52a

Line 5, page 5, after the words “acre feet”, “including

water supplies of upstream basins otherwise unallocated

herein” was added.

Line 7, page 5, “to” was striken out and “for use in” added.

Article IV:

In line 22, page 5, “River” was striken out and “Creek”

inserted in lieu thereof. The word “River”, in parenthesis,

was then added after “Creek” Also, the words “in

Nebraska” were inserted after “basin”

Line 25, page 5, The words “in Nebraska” were inserted

after “basin”.

Lines 6 and 7, page 6. The words “Colorado-Nebraska

state line” were striken out, “junction of the North Fork and

Arickaree inserted in lieu thereof and “the lowest crossing of

the river at” inserted after the word “and”

Article V:

Line 20 and 21, page 6. The words “and the people of each

said states” were eliminated.

Line 1, page 7, the word “decrees” was eliminated.

Line 4, page 7, the Commission eliminated the words “to

the state of’ and inserted in lieu thereof, “for beneficial

consumptive use in”.

Article VI:

The Commission eliminated all of line 7, page 7, and

“corporation, shall have” of line 8, beginning the sentence

with the word “The”

Line 8, page 7. After the word “right”, the words “of any

person, entity or lower signatory state” were added.

Line 10, page 7, after the word “upper”, “signatory” was

inserted.

Line 11, page. After the word “allocated”, “to” was

striken out, and “beneficial consumptive use in” was added in

lieu thereof; also after the word “state”, “shall never be

denied by an upper signatory state” was inserted.

Lines 12, 13 and 14, the words “its citizens, agencies,

associations and corporations, to control, regulate and use

the waters herein allocated to it.” was eliminated.

December 3, 1942

The Commission resumed its deliberations from the

preceding day.

Article VII:

Line 16, page 7, the capital letter “A” was striken out and

‘Any person, entity, or” inserted in lieu thereof.

In lines 16 and 17, the words “its citizens, agencies,

associations and corporations,” were striken. Also in line 17

after the word “acquire”, the words “necessary property

rights” were inserted.

54a

Line 19, page 7, the words “such easements and rights of

way” were striken out.

Line 23, page 7. The words “governmental agencies” were

striken out, and in lieu thereof, “political subdivisions of the

state” were inserted.

Line 24, page 7. The words “of way” were striken out.

Line 25, page 7, the word “occupied” was changed to

“enjoyed”

The same change was made in line 2, page 8.

Line 4, page 8, the words” governmental agencies” were

striken out and “political subdivisions of the state” inserted

instead.

Note:

At this point, according to the transcript, Judge Stone

said “In the interest of time and to avoid repetition,

could we not refer in the appropriate place to upper

state and lower state instead of signatory states or

state?” In the draft of the transcript which the

Secretary received from Mr. Parker on December 11,

this was edited by striking out “instead of” and inserting

“as”. This, probably in the unrevised form, was ap-

proved by the Compact Commissioners, the record

shows. In a second draft of the transcript, received from

Mr. Parker on December 21, which he states was

reviewed and edited by Mr. Stinson, the statement

reads, “In the interest of time and to avoid repetition

could we not refer in the appropriate place to upper

state and lower state as signatory states or state?”

55a

In the revised draft of the Compact which Mr. Parker

sent the Commissioners on December 4, it is noted that

in all instances the word “signatory”, where it occurred

in earlier drafts of the Compact, was eliminated.

Article VIII:

This Article remains unchanged.

Article IX:

At the end of the origina] Article IX, the following was

added:

Such officials may, by unanimous action, adopt rules and

regulations consistent with the provisions of this compact.

The United States Geological Survey, or whatever federal

agency may succeed to the functions and duties of that

agency, insofar as this compact is concerned, shall

collaborate with the officials of the states charged with the

administration of this compact in the execution of the duty of

the latter in the collection, correlation, and publication of

water facts necessary for the proper administration of the

compact, and may perform such other services related to the

compact as may be hereafter mutually agreed upon with the

states.”

Note:

At this point Mr. Parker read the following from a letter

he received from General Robins of the Army Engineers.

“Dear Mr. Parker:

“Further reference is made to your letter of

November 4, 1942, enclosing a new draft of Republican

River Compact for review by this office, and to the

Departmental reply thereto dated November 10, 1942, in

which it was stated that this review would be

undertaken immediately and that you would be further

informed on this subject at the earliest practicable date.

“After careful consideration of the new draft of the

Compact, I am pleased to state that this office sees no

objection to its contents insofar as the Federal interests

committed to the War Department are concerned. The

only change which this office would wish to suggest is

the insertion, on page 8, Article IX, line 18, following the

word “Reclamation,” of the following wording:

“the Chief of Engineers, United States Army.”

“Colonel Lewis A. Pick, the Division Engineer,

Missouri River Division, Omaha, Nebraska, will

represent this office at the proposed meeting of the

Compact Commission in Denver, Colorado, about

December 1, 1942. It will be appreciated if you will

inform this office promptly of the time and place of this

meeting so that Colonel Pick may be properly advised.”

57a

Article X:

Lines 2 and 3, page 9, the words “Republican River” were

striken out.

Line 4, page 9. The words “nor the United States by its

consent,” was added to the original draft of the Compact.

Article XI:

All, after the first sentence in the first paragraph of the

original Article XI, was striken out.

Article XII:

A new article, numbered XII, was added to the Compact,

of which the first part reads:

“(a) Nothing in this compact shall be deemed:

(i) To impair or affect any rights, powers or

jurisdiction of the United States, in over and to the

waters of the Basin nor its capacity to acquire rights in

and to the use of waters of said Basin;

(ii) To subject any property of the United States,

its agencies or instrumentalities, to taxation by

any state, or subdivision thereof, nor to create

an obligation on the part of the United States,

its agencies or instrumentalities, by reason of

the acquisition, construction or operation of any

property or works of whatsoever kind, to make

any payments to any state or politica) sub-

division thereof, state agency, municipality or

entity whatsoever in reimbursement for the

loss of taxes;

58a

(iii) To subject any property of the United States,

its agencies or instrumentalities, to the laws of

any state to any extent other than the extent

these laws would apply without regard to the

compact.

(b) The United States, by consenting to the compact,

agrees that:

(i) Any beneficial consumptive use of such waters

by the United States, its agencies or instru-

mentalities, shall be subject to the allocations

hereinabove made among the states.;

(ii) For their best utilization for multiple purposes,

none of the waters allocated by this compact are

required by, nor essential to, the United States

in the exercise of any right or power concerning

such waters arising out of its jurisdiction as to

interstate commerce, and any future exercise of

such right or power shall be only pursuant to

statutory authority relating specifically to such

waters;

(iii) In any future exercise of any right or power

arising out of the jurisdiction or authority of the

United States over the waters allocated by this

compact, it will respect as property any right to

the beneficial consumptive use of such water

which is not or shall be hereafter established

under the laws of the appropriate state and in

conformity with this compact, and which is

impaired by such exercise.”

The last part of the original XI, beginning with the words

“IN WITNESS WHEREOF”, becomes the closing part of

the new Article XII, as compared with the original Compact.

59a

The meeting adjourned at 2 pm to meet again at Lincoln,

Nebraska on December 29, 1942.

isi M,C, HINDERLIDER

Commissioner for Colorado

/si GEO, S. KNAPP

Commissioner for Kansas

isi) WARDNER G, SCOTT

Commissioner for Nebraska

/I/ GUENN L, PARKER

Representative of the United States

60a

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION

Washington

October 18, 1941

Hon. Compton I. White,

Chairman, Committee on Reclamation and Irrigation,

House of Representatives,

Washington, D.C.

My dear Mr. White:

There is now pending before your Committee H.R. 4647,

77th Congress, lst Session, “A Bill granting the consent of

Congress to a Compact to be entered into by the States of

Colorado, Kansas and Nebraska with respect to the use of

the waters of the Republican River Basin.”

This Commission has given careful consideration to the

proposal, and it is its view that if provision is made for

subsequent amendment or the compact it would appear

desirable to provide therein for the appointment of a repre-

sentative to serve on behalf of the United States. Such a

representative should be appointed by the President and the

President should be left free to select as he may see fit.

The Commission objects in the strongest possible terms to

the first part of the last paragraph of Article I of the

Compact, stating that “The Republican River and tributanes

thereof within the Basin are not navigable cs

6la

Legislative declaration of non-navigability, in general, is

unwise inasmuch as it is difficult, if not impossible, without

extensive studies and investigations kept current, to foresee

all the potentialities of such streams. Weight is accorded

such declaration by the Courts in view of the power of legis-

lative inquiry and judgment, and a legislative declaration

that a stream is non-navigable may, in fact, seriously hamper

and prejudice an administrative investigation and deter-

mination of navigability of the same or a related stream by a

Federal agency at a later date.

The purpose of the objectionable paragraph is simply to

declare the uses of the water of a consumptive nature as

constituting “paramount uses”. Such a declaration is not

objectionable to the Federal Power Commission, and may be

accomplished without reference to the navigability or non-

navigability of the Republican River and its tributaries. The

Commission recommends that the paragraph be deleted and

the following language substituted therefor:

“The use of the waters of the Republican River and

tributaries thereof within the Basin, as hereinabove

defined, for “Beneficial Consumptive Use,” as herein-

below defined, shall constitute pramount use and any

other use shal! be subservient thereto.”

On September 11, 1941, this Commission reported to the

Director of the Bureau of the Budget at his request upon the

bill and upon certain amendments submitted to the Bureau

by the Secretary of the Interior. The Commission’s report

included substantially the material contained in this report

to your Committee.

Very truly yours,

isi LELAND OLDS

CHAIRMAN

62a

COMMISSIONERS Address all Communication

To The Commission

Copy

Leland Olds, Chairman

Basil Manly, Vice Chairman Leon M. Fuquay,

Claude L. Draper Secretary

John W. Scott

Clyde L. Seavey

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION

WASHINGTON

Republican River Compact

November 30, 1942

Mr. G. L. Parker,

Chief Hydraulic Engineer

Geological Survey,

Department of the Interior

Washington, D. C.

Dear Mr. Parker:

The draft of a proposed form of Republican River

Compact, submitted with your letter of November 4, 1942,

and which is to be presented by you for the consideration of

the Compact Commission at a meeting to be held in Denver,

Colorado in December, has been reviewed and informally

considered by the Commission.

63a

It is noted that the proposed draft would constitute

“beneficial consumptive use” as the paramount use. It is felt

that this language should be eliminated from the compact.

It is suggested that the definition of “beneficial con-

sumptive use” is rather broad and might lead to considerable

difficulty in interpretation of the compact if it should be

approved in its present form.

Moreover, it is suggested that there should be included in

the compact finally presented to Congress for ratification

language which would definitely recognize that the rights

and jurisdiction of the United States are not to be impaired

or affected by such compact. This could be expressed in

substantially the language heretofore used in other

compacts. In any compact to be presented to Congress, it

should clearly appear and be definitely stated that nothing in

such compact is to be construed or deemed to subject any

property of the United States, its agencies or instru-

mentalities, to taxation by any State or subdivision thereof.

Furthermore, it should be made clear that the United States

assumes no obligation to make any payment to any State by

reason of the compact or any operation thereunder.

Without the final language, to be agreed upon by

representatives of the interested States, before us, the

Commission cannot take a more definite position in the

matter. Following tentative agreement among the States,

however, we will be in a position to offer any further

suggestions which may seem necessary.

Sincerely yours,

LELAND OLDS

Chairman.

64a

Minutes of the Tenth Meeting of the Republican

River Compact Commission at Lincoln, Nebraska -

December 29, 1942 to January 1, 1943.

Present:

M. C. Hinderlider, Commissioner for Colorado

Geo. S. Knapp, Commissioner for Kansas

Wardner G. Scott, Commissioner for Nebraska

G. L. Parker, Representative of the United

States

The Commission met in the State Capitol Building.

After some preliminary remarks by the Chairman, he

asked that the minutes of the Denver meeting be read.

During and following the reading of the minutes, there was a

general discussion of several matters contained therein,

after which the minutes were approved subject to the

following clarifications, corrections, changes, or additions:

(1) On Page 5, of the minutes, in the quotation

concerning a substitute clause to be included in Article I, the

word “subordinate” is used whereas the original suggestion

of the Federal Power Commission in its letter of October 18,

1941, to the Chairman of the House Committee on

Reclamation and Irrigation used the word “subservient.”

Prior to the meeting of December 2 and 3, a representative

65a

of the Federal Power Commission had suggested a

substitution of “subordinate” for “subservient”

(2) Concerning the use of the word “signatory”, referred

to in the note on Page 9, of the minutes, the action of the

commission was to eliminate the word “signatory” wherever

it appeared in earlier drafts of the compact. Provision for

such elimination was made by inserting after the word

“Nebraska” in the first line of the compact, “parties

signatory to this compact, (hereafter referred to as Colorado,

Kansas, and Nebraska, respectively, or individually as a

State, or collectively as the States).”

(3) As to the suggestion made by General Robbins and

included in his letter as quoted in the minutes, the

suggestion was discussed at length. During such discussion

the representative of the War Department indicated

concurrence with a proposal by the Compact Commission

that “the Commissioner of the Bureau of Reclamation” be

striken from Line 18, Page 8, of the draft under considera-

tion; then, in that circumstance the War Department would

be willing to drop the suggestion made in General Robbins’

letter of November 21, 1942. Thereupon the Commission

took definite action in the matter and revised Article IX, to

read as indicated on Page 9, of the minutes.

(4) On Page 10, under Article XII, the introductory

statement was revised to read: “A new Article, numbered

XII, was added to the Compact, which reads:”.

(5) The minutes of the meeting of December 2 and 3, are

hereby amplified to show that the quoted language under (b)

(ii) was finally agreed upon by a 4-way telephone hookup

between the State Commissioners, at their respective places

66a

of business, Mr. Parker, Judge Stone, and Mr. Stinson at

Denver, on December 4, 1942.

(6) The minutes of the meeting of December 2 and 3

were further modified or corrected by striking the 2-line

paragraph on Page 12 of the minutes which refers to the

“Witness” clause of the compact.

At this point Judge Stone said that due to the experience

encountered with respect to the Colorado River Compact, he

thought that the Commissioners, before adjourning, should

take some action with respect to the binding and

preservation and official repository of official records of the

Commission. He pointed out that questions of interpretation

of the Colorado River Compact have arisen, and that in some

instances it was impossible to determine what was intended

by the commission in using certain language because the ac-

cumulations of the minutes were loosely bound, some have

disappeared, and all of the states are unable to find their

copies of the minutes. After some discussion it was agreed

by the Commission that an authenticated copy of the

minutes of the eight meetings of the Compact Commission,

resulting in a compact which failed approval by the United

States, together with the minutes of the meeting of the

present Compact Commission, held in Denver, December 2

and 3, 1942, as well as the minutes of all subsequent

meetings of the Compact Commission, be securely bound

with a copy of the Compact; and deposited in the archives of

the Department of State of the United States; and that there

be included with such minutes, a copy of the Act Congress of

the United States authorizing the making of a compact

(Public No. 696, 77th Congress), authenticated copies of the

Acts of the Legislatures of the three signatory States,

ratifying any compact which may be negotiated and an

authenticated copy of the Act of C

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.