Opposition Brief — CTS Corp. v. Waldburger, 134 S. Ct. 2175 (2014) (No. 13-339)
Supreme Court brief2014
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Sup. wi! & \ nes ah
FiLboO
No. 13-339 NOV 14 22:3
SS ee ee | ell
Ju The
Supreme Court of the Anited States
¢
CTS CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
Vv.
PETER WALDBURGER, et al.,
Respondents.
°
On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fourth Circuit
¢
RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
*
JOHN J. KORZEN
WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY
SCHOOL OF LAw
APPELLATE ADVOCACY CLINIC
Post Office Box 7206 Reynolda Station
Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27109
336-758-5832
korzenjj@wfu.edu
COCKLE LEGAL BRIEPS (800) 225-6964
WWW COCKLELEGALBRIEFS.COM
QUESTION PRESENTED
Did Congress intend the discovery rule in 42
U.S.C. § 9658 to apply to all less favorable limitations
periods in state statutes of limitations, including pro-
visions within state statutes of limitations that can
be characterized as statutes of repose?
|
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
STATEMENT OF THE CASE..........................200000 1
CERCLA Discovery Rule ..............:<000s0s:ssssessesess: 1
North Carolina Statutory Provision At Issue.... 4
Fe cniciciicicnvitnictesennsinintinsiniteninniniiainn 5
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ....... 9
I. There Is No Meaningful Split Among The
RII is icscintuisaisdibioheonianbinaddinnmmesaianinamennesninnnin S)
II. The Decision Below Is Consistent With This
Re Ny TUNIS itciicscnintintcneaclodiageiniaceniencbunan 15
IIT cixiiistissieshnnsncniseniichennnieiasnsssieiienbidinhdicitiniaiaitia 23
ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES:
Atchison, T. & S.F-R. Co. v. Buell, 480 U.S. 557
SUIT isospin isk dacaesaandachaaiamsiaheniaiiniiea 19
Barnes v. Koppers, Inc., 534 F.3d 357 (5th Cir
ER LEMAR ELE POLAT: 20, 21
BedRoc Lid., LLC v. United States, 541 US.
EE svniipcenmmiciinstnsthicintandsamndieniapiiimsiiubansititimatimmigteniind 17
Bridges v. United States, 346 U.S. 209 (1953)........... 17
Bryant v. United States, No. 12-15424 (11th
Cir. to be argued Jan. 17, 2014)............... eee ee 22
Burlington N. & Santa Fe Ry. Co. v. Poole
Chem. Co., 419 F.3d 355 (5th Cir. 2005).....12, 13, 21
Camreta v. Greene, 131 S. Ct. 2020 (2011) ................ 14
Clark Cnty. v. Sioux Equip. Corp., 753 N.W.2d
ER TSR SER ARES ANNE oer 12,13
CTS Corp. v. Mills Gap Road Assocs., No. 1:10-
CV-156-GCM, 2013 WL 4499136 (W.D.N.C.
I FE ieietericthinnisevtinniiisiaciinsiniabiidaciiiiiniionsiinnia 22
Lampf, Pleva, Lipkind, Prupis & Petigrow uv.
Gilbertson, 501 U.S. 350 (1991).......... eee eeeee 18
Landis v. Phys. Ins. Co. of Wis., Inc., 628
I ii eclaccenommabemiantingsa 19
McDonald v. Sun Oil Co., 548 F.3d 774 (9th
I a a Aa a 9,10
Moore v. Walter Coke, Inc., No. 2:11-cv-1391,
2012 WL 4731255 (N.D. Ala. Sept. 28, 2012)......... 14
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Moore v. Winter Haven Hosp., 579 So. 2d 188
REAR RIEE EE a nae ee ORT SO 18
Natl Credit Union Admin. Bd. v. Nomura
Home Equity Loan, Inc., 727 F.3d 1246 (10th
I i 10, 11, 18
Robinson v. Shell Oil Co., 519 U.S. 337 (1997) ......... 15
Taniguchi v. Kan Pacific Saipan, Ltd., 132
A cial 9
U.S. v. Bestfoods, 524 U.S. 51 (1998)...............cccceceeee es 1
United States. v. Kubrick, 444 U.S. 111 (1979).......... 17
Wallace v. Kato, 549 U.S. 384 (2007) ..............2.cccce0ee 18
Witherspoon v. Sides Constr. Co., Inc., 362 N.W.2d
I -SIIIIT sssibtisicisiteiniiducesuiniciehncinicnlsitdiantaneneicnuiiseasmindie 18
STATUTES:
I itches inning ii i ial lie 19
8 RE oe ose ae ere NOE NS re 19
aaa iin iiss 13, 21
| TE Beer Oe ae emer ese 1, 20
es I iciiicininsileisienatigamnniamnsenemaninenientiante passim
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Com-
pensation and Liability Act ......00000.00. ee passim
Federal Employers’ Liability Act ............0............0 20
Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and
Bemtoronmnent Act of 1GGD........00.cccccsecsscscccsescccceseseses 10
v
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page
I: el 4,17
oo _ ee ne E passim
RULES:
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6) ..................... 6
OTHER AUTHORITIES:
18 J. Moore et al., Moore’s Federal Practice,
FS SREB ERSC cele ee es OPC 14
AGENCY FOR Toxic SUBSTANCES & DISEASE REG-
ISTRY, PUBLIC HEALTH STATEMENT FOR TRI-
CUT TITLES CRE D nc scccccccccsccccsccccoccccesccesccosccscco: 6
Black’s Law Dictionary (5th ed. 1979).............2...00000- 17
H.R. CONF. REP. 99-962, 1986 U.S.C.C.A.N.
REST RERRGRR ARS ee HE onsen IC Ne ee OE 4,21
Injuries and Damages from Hazardous Wastes
— Analysis and Improvement of Legal Reme-
dies: A Report to Congress in Compliance with
Section 301(e) of the Comprehensive Environ-
mental Response, Compensation, and Liabil-
ity Act of 1980 (P_L. 96-510) by the “Superfund
Section 301(e) Study Group” .....................- 2, 3, 18, 20
SD, BRaeD. BUR. BE DED CEI) occccccovececccccssesevssscessvenscessccseess 1
1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
The Fourth Circuit addressed the preemptive ef-
fect of the discovery rule in the Comprehensive Envi-
ronmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act
(CERCLA) on a ten-year repose provision within a
state statute of limitations. After summarizing the
key aspects of the CERCLA discovery rule, the state
repose provision at issue, and the proceedings below,
Respondents contend that there is no meaningful cir-
cuit split on the question presented and that the de-
cision below is consistent with this Court’s case law.
CERCLA Discovery Rule
In 1980, Congress enacted CERCLA to counter
“the serious environmental and health risks posed
by industrial pollution.” U.S. v. Bestfoods, 524 U.S.
51, 55 (1998). CERCLA’s purpose was to ensure “that
those responsible for any damage, environmental
harm, or injury from chemical poisons bear the costs
of their actions.” S. Rep. No. 96-848, at 13 (1980).
At the same time, Congress authorized a Study
Group “to determine the adequacy of existing com-
mon law and statutory remedies ... for harm to man
and the environment caused by the release of haz-
ardous substances into the environment.” 42 U.S.C.
§ 9651(e)(1). Congress directed the Study Group to
evaluate, among other issues, “barriers to recovery
posed by existing statutes of limitation.” 42 U.S.C.
§ 9651(eX3XF).
2
The Study Group Report was issued on July 1,
1982. See Injuries and Damages from Hazardous
Wastes — Analysis and Improvement of Lega] Reme-
dies: A Report to Congress in Compliance with Sec-
tion 301(e) of the Comprehensive Environmental
Response, Compensation, and Liability Act of 1980
(P.L. 96-510) by the “Superfund Section 301(e) Study
Group” [hereafter Study Group Report]. (The full
Study Group Report, including its appendices, can be
found online at http://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=
mdp.390 15004856327#view=1up;seq=366. )
The Study Group Report concluded that in haz-
ardous waste litigation, “Commencement of the run-
ning of the statute of limitations can be a barrier to
recovery under both common law and statutory reme-
_fiies” because injuries from exposure to certain haz-
ardous wastes “have long latency periods, sometimes
20 years or longer.” Study Group Report, at 28. The
“traditional rule” that an action accrued at the time of
the defendant’s tortious act or omission “caused great
hardship” to plaintiffs with latent injuries because
their claims were often time-barred before they dis-
covered they had been injured. Jd. at 240, Appendix B
page B-2.
Accordingly, under the heading “Statutes of Lim-
itation,” the Report recommended that “all states
that have not already done so, clearly adopt the rule
that an action accrues when the plaintiff discovers or
should have discovered the disease and its cause” and
stated that the recommendation was “intended also to
cover the repeal of the statutes of repose which, in a
3
number of states have the same effect as some stat-
utes of limitation in barring plaintiff’s claim before
he knows that he has one.” Jd. at 241. Elsewhere, the
Report continued to treat statutes of repose, including
the North Carolina ten-year repose provision, as a
subcategory of statutes of limitation, including them
within summaries of “statutes of limitation” or “limi-
tations statutes.” Jd. at Appendix B, pages B6-B10,
B59, B63.
In 1986, Congress amended CERCLA and added
42 U.S.C. § 9658(a\1), a preemption clause stating
that:
In the case of any action brought under State
law for personal injury, or property damages,
which are caused or contributed to by ex-
posure to any hazardous substance, or pol-
lutant or contaminant, released into the
environment from a facility, if the applicable
limitations period for such action (as speci-
fied in the State statute of limitations or un-
der common law) provides a commencement
date which is earlier than the federally re-
quired commencement date, such period
shall commence at the federally required
commencement date in lieu of the date speci-
fied in such State statute.
42 U.S.C. § 9658(a\1).
Subsection (b) contains three definitions. “Appli-
cable limitations period” is defined as “the period
specified in a statute of limitations during which a
civil action referred to in subsection (a)(1) of this
4
section may be brought.” 42 U.S.C. § 9658(bX2). “Com-
mencement date” is defined as “the date specified in a
statute of limitations as the beginning of the applica-
ble limitations period.” 42 U.S.C. § 9658(b\3). Finally,
“federally required commencement date” (FRCD) is
defined as “the date the plaintiff knew (or reasonably
should have known) that the personal injury or prop-
erty damages referred to in subsection (a1) of this
section were caused or contributed to by the haz-
ardous substance or pollutant or contaminant con-
cerned.” 42 U.S.C. § 9658(b)4).
The House Conference Report noted that section
9658 was meant to “address the problem identified in
the” Study Group Report, namely that “certain State
statutes deprive plaintiffs of their day in court.” H.R.
CONF. REP. 99-962, 1986 U.S.C.C.A.N. 3276, 3354.
North Carolina Statutory Provision At Issue
The ten-year limitations provision Petitioner re-
lies on is the second sentence of two in N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 1-52(16). Section 1-52 is found in Chapter 1
(Civil Procedure), Subchapter I] (Limitations), and
Article 5 (Limitations, General Provisions) of the
North Carolina Genera] Statutes. The first section in
Article 5 is entitled “Periods Prescribed” and pro-
vides, “The periods prescribed for the commencement
of actions, other than for the recovery of real property,
are as set forth in this Article.” N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-46.
Section 1-52 lists causes of action subject to a
three-year limitations period. Then, in subsection
5
(16), the first sentence provides a discovery rule that
causes of action for personal injury or physical dam-
age to property “shall not accrue until bodily harm
to the claimant or physical damage to his property
becomes apparent or ought reasonably to have be-
come apparent to the claimant.” The second sentence
adds the proviso “that no cause of action shall accrue
more than 10 years from the last act or omission of
the defendant giving rise to the cause of action.” N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 1-52(16). Section 1-52 never uses the
term “repose.”
Proceedings Below
Petitioner CTS Corporation is a successor to CTS
of Asheville, Inc. Pet. App. 52a. CTS of Asheville, Inc.
was formed on April 16, 1959, and manufactured
electronic parts at the Mills Gap Road Electroplating
Facility in Buncombe County, North Carolina. Pet.
App. 5la. The corporation used various toxic solvents,
including trichloroethylene (TCE), cyanide, chromium
V1, and lead. Id.
CTS of Asheville, Inc. was dissolved on December
29, 1983, and then continued to operate as CTS Cor-
poration, Asheville Division. Pet. App. 52a. Petitioner
operated the Mills Gap Road Electroplating Facil-
ity until November 1985. Pet. App. 53a. In 1986 or
1987, Petitioner marketed the facility and surround-
ing land, representing that the site “has been ren-
dered in an environmentally clean condition.” Jd. In
June 1987, Petitioner agreed to sell 54 acres of the
6
industrial site to a general partnership and provide
specific warranties that the property was free of en-
vironmental] contamination. Jd. The sale was final-
ized in December 1987. /d. at 54a.
Respondents are individuals who live either on or
near the property formerly owned by Petitioner. /d.
On November 23, 2009, the United States Environ-
mental Protection Agency (EPA) advised Respondents
David Bradley and Renee Richardson that their well
water contained startlingly high levels of TCE and
was not fit for human consumption. Jd. at 55a-56a.
TCE is a manmade, persistent, and highly mobile
solvent. See, e.g., J.A. 174 [“J.A.” refers to the Joint
Appendix filed in the Fourth Circuit, which is avail-
able via PACER.|] Concentrations of TCE above
.005/mg/L can lead to liver damage, kidney damage,
changed heart rhythms, and cancer. AGENCY FOR TOXIC
SUBSTANCES & DISEASE REGISTRY, PUBLIC HEALTH
STATEMENT FOR TRICHLOROETHYLENE, at 3 (1997).
The other Respondents live in the vicinity of the
Richardson and Bradley residence, and they likewise
have been and continue to be exposed to toxins left
behind by Respondents via contact from air, land, and
water. Pet. App. 56a.
On February 22, 2011, less than two years after
the EPA notification, Respondents sued Petitioner for
nuisance. J.A. 15. Petitioner moved to dismiss under
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b\6), arguing that
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-52(16) barred the Complaint. J.A.
37, 41-42. Respondents contended that their action
7
was timely based in part on 42 U.S.C. § 9658. J.A.
118-19, 258-62. The district court granted Petitioner’s
motion to dismiss in a two-page opinion concluding
that CERCLA does not apply to state statutes of re-
pose. Pet. App. 37a-39a.
The Fourth Circuit reversed the district court
and held “that the discovery rule articulated in
§ 9658 ... preempts North Carolina’s ten-year limita-
tion.” Pet. App. 2a. The court noted that a “simple
review” of section 9658’s language could lead to the
conclusion that the section applies only to statutes of
limitation because it uses the phrase “statutes of
limitation” five times and does not use “statutes of
repose.” Pet. App. 12a. The court then concluded that
section 9658 can also be read to preempt the ten-year
limitation provision in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-52(16), ap-
plying the plain language of subsection (aX1) and the
definitions in subsection (b). Pet. App. 12a-13a.
The discovery rule in section 9658(a)\1) can be
read to apply to section 1-52(16)’s ten-year lmita-
tions provision, because it is an “applicable limita-
tions period” that is “specified in the State statute
of limitations” and provides “a commencement date
which is earlier than the federally required com-
mencement date.” Pet. App. 12a. It is an “applicable
limitations period” because it is a “period” “during
which a civil action ... may be brought.” Jd. It is
“specified in the State statute of limitations” because
it is located within state statutes of limitations. /d.
Finally, the ten-year limitation period provides a “com-
mencement date” that “is earlier than the federally
8
required commencement date” because it begins with
the defendant’s last act, not when the plaintiff discov-
ers the harm. Jd. at 12a-13a.
The court further reasoned that the use and
meaning of the terms “statute of limitations” and
“statute of repose” had developed considerably over
the years and that historically the terms had often
been used interchangeably. Jd. at 13a.
Because the text of section 9658 could be read as
either including statutes of repose or excluding them,
the court then looked to other indicia of congressional!
intent. Jd. at 14a. The court reasoned that Congress
adopted section 9658 to address the problem identi-
fied in the Study Group Report, which was “equally
concerned with statutes of repose and limitations,
and with their effect of barring plaintiffs’ claims be-
fore they are aware of them.” Jd. The court also
reasoned that CERCLA is remedial, section 9658
resulted from Congress’s specific concern with ensur-
ing adequate remedies, and section 9658 furthers the
Act’s remedial goals by preempting state limitations
periods that would bar causes of action for latent
harms. Id. at 14a-16a.
The court concluded that interpreting section
9658 to exclude North Carolina’s ten-year statute of
repose would “obliterate legitimate causes of action
before they exist.... precisely the barrier that Con-
gress intended § 9658 to address.” Id. at 15a. Such a
9
reading would thwart Congress’s goal of removing
barriers to relief from hazardous substances. /d.
¢
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION
I. There Is No Meaningful Split Among The
Circuits.
Statutory terms should be construed based on
their meaning when the statute was enacted. See,
e.g., Taniguchi v. Kan Pacific Saipan, Ltd., 132 S. Ct.
1997, 2002 (2012). Like the Fourth Circuit below, the
only other circuit to construe “statute of limitations”
in section 9658 as of when the section was enacted
agrees that the section does not plainly exempt stat-
utes of repose. See McDonald v. Sun Oil Co., 548 F.3d
74 (9th Cir. 2008).
In McDonald, the plaintiff learned that its prop-
erty was contaminated with mercury more than
twenty years after the seller had represented that no
mercury remained there. The Ninth Circuit held that
Oregon’s ten-year statute of repose did not extinguish
the plaintiff’s negligence claim. Jd. at 779. The court
first determined that the term “statute of limitation”
was “ambiguous regarding whether it included stat-
utes of repose” when the statute was enacted in 1986.
Id. at 781. As of 1986, courts often used the terms
“statute of limitations” and “statute of repose” inter-
changeably. Id. Because the statute was ambiguous,
the court examined CERCLA’s legislative purpose to
interpret its meaning. Id.
10
After reviewing CERCLA’s legislative purpose,
the Ninth Circuit held that CERCLA preempted Ore-
gon’s statute of repose. Jd. at 782-83. The court rea-
soned that “Congress’s primary concern in enacting
§ 9658 was to adopt the discovery rule in situations
where a plaintiff may lose a cause of action before
becoming aware of it — precisely the type of circum-
stance involved in this case.” Jd. at 783. The court
noted that “[t]his predicament can be caused by
either statutes of limitation or statutes of repose, and
is probably most likely to occur where statutes of
repose operate.” /d. The court held that based on the
ambiguity of the phrase “statute of limitations” itself
when section 9658 was enacted and the evidence of
Congressional] intent, it was apparent that Congress
intended section 9658 to include statutes of repose.
Id.
The Fourth Circuit’s decision below and the
Ninth Circuit’s McDonald decision are entirely con-
sistent with other circuits that have interpreted the
term “statute of limitations” as of the 1980s. The
Tenth Circuit, for example, recently cited both of
these decisions with approval in construing the term
“statute of limitations” in the Financial Institutions
Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989. See
Nat’ Credit Union Admin. Bd. v. Nomura Home
Equity Loan, Inc., 727 F.3d 1246, 1258 (10th Cir.
2013). The Tenth Circuit determined that “‘statute
of limitations’ did not have a consistent, clearly dis-
tinct meaning in 1989.” Jd. at 1258. The Tenth Circuit
cited other circuit court discussions of the terms
ll
“statute of limitations” and “statute of repose,” ob-
serving that:
Courts have noted the historically ambigu-
ous and overlapping use of these terms. £.g.,
FHFA v. UBS Am. Inc., 712 F.3d 136, 140,
142-43 & n.3 (2d Cir. 2013) (*[CJourts ...
have long used the term ‘statute of limita-
tions’ to refer also to statutes of repose.” (re-
ferring, inter alia, to Ernst & Ernst v.
Hochfelder, 425 U.S. 185, 210 (1976))); Fields
v. Legacy Health Sys., 413 F.3d 943, 952 n.7
(9th Cir. 2005) (“(T)he distinction between
statutes of limitations and statutes of repose
is often blurred.”); Alexander v. Beech Arr-
craft Corp., 952 F.2d 1215, 1218, n.2 (10th
Cir. 1991) (“Although the statute is titled as
a ‘Statute of limitations, we refer to it as a
statute of repose.... Both types of statutes
are often referred to as statutes of limita-
tions.”); Anixter v. Home-Stake Prod. Co., 939
F.2d 1420, 1434 n.17 (10th Cir. 1991), va-
cated on other grounds by Dennler v. Trippet,
503 U.S. 978 (1992) (“Although the two con-
cepts differ,” the terms statute of limitations
and statute of repose “have become inter-
changeable.”).
Id. at 1259 n.14. Then, after thoroughly examining
the meaning of “statute of limitations,” the Tenth Cir-
cuit concluded that “[t]he majority of the case law
treats repose periods as a subcategory of statute of
limitations.” Jd. at 1266.
12
In sum, there is broad agreement that the term
“statute of limitations” did not plainly exclude stat-
utes of repose as of the mid to late 1980s and that
repose periods have usually been treated as subcate-
gories of statutes of limitations.
The two appellate decisions relied on by Peti-
tioner do not support review. See Burlington N. &
Santa Fe Ry. Co. v. Poole Chem. Co., 419 F.3d 355 (Sth
Cir. 2005); Clark Cnty. v. Stoux Equip. Corp., 753
N.W.2d 406 (S.D. 2008). In Burlington Northern, a
case arising from a storage tank rupture, neither
party brefed the question presented here. (The ap-
pellate briefs are available on Westlaw at 2004 WL
3591804, 2005 WL 3186188, and 2005 WL 3186187.)
The district court had agreed with the appellant that
the “federally required commencement date” of sec-
tion 9658 applied but disagreed as to the limitations
period that followed the commencement date. On ap-
peal, the appellee never argued that section 9658
preetmpted only statutes of limitation. The parties
instead disputed whether section 9658 could apply
when no CERCLA claims were or could have been
asserted, and they argued over various state law ques-
tions such as retroactive application of an amend-
ment to the statute of repose. Because the Fifth
Circuit reached its decision on the question presented
here with no adversarial briefing or argument, Bur-
lington Northern provides a weak basis for review.
Moreover, the Fifth Circuit acknowledged in
Burlington Northern that the case did “not involve
the delayed discovery for which § 9658 was intended
13
to address.” 419 F.3d at 364-65. The claimant imme-
diately knew it had been injured when the storage
tank ruptured, well before the applicable products
liability statute of repose expired. Jd. at 358-59. The
Fifth Circuit also failed to address whether the term
“statute of limitations” was ambiguous when sec-
tion 9658 was adopted and failed to discuss section
9658(b2)’s definition of “applicable limitations
period” as “the period specified in a statute of limita-
tions during which a civil action referred to in sub-
section (a)(1) of this section may be brought.”
In Clark County, an action for property damage
against an oil tank installer, the South Dakota Su-
preme Court heavily relied on what was then “the
highest federal court to consider this issue,” Burling-
ton Northern. 753 N.W.2d at 414. While the court
followed Burlington Northern and held that section
9658 did not preempt a state statute of repose, 753
N.W.2d at 415-17, it might well decide the issue dif-
ferently now, with two other federal circuits having
construed CERCLA in the meantime to preempt stat-
utes of repose. In addition, the court failed to analyze
the meaning of “statute of limitations” as of 1986 and
failed to address the definitions within section 9658
of “applicable limitations period” and “commencement
date.” The court actually did not even need to reach
the issue because CERCLA does not apply to claims
involving petroleum. See 42 U.S.C. § 9601(14). Be-
sides Clark County, no other appellate decision has
followed Burlington Northern.
14
That Alabama district courts have reached con-
trary conclusions on whether section 9658 preempts
that state’s common law rule of repose also does not
support review. A federal district court decision “is not
binding precedent in either a different judicial dis-
trict, the same judicial district, or even upon the
same judge in a different case.” Camreta v. Greene,
131 S. Ct. 2020, 2033 n.7 (2011) (quoting 18 J. Moore
et al., Moore’s Federal Practice, § 134.02[1}[d], p. 134-
26 (3d ed. 2011)). In any event, the most recent
Alabama decision holds that section 9658 preempts
Alabama’s rule of repose, with reasoning entirely con-
sistent with the decision below. See Moore v. Walter
Coke, Inc., No. 2:11-cv-1391, 2012 WL 4731255, at
**8-13 (N.D. Ala. Sept. 28, 2012) (opinion by Chief
Judge Sharon Lovelace Blackburn).
In the twenty-seven years since section 9658 was
enacted, only three federal courts of appeals have
addressed the issue presented, all since 2005. The
question presented arises infrequently. There must be
a claim for personal injury or property damage aris-
ing from exposure to a covered hazardous substance,
pollutant, or contaminant that was released from a
facility, and there must be a state statute of repose
that ran before the plaintiff filed suit. The recency of
the decisions suggests that, to the extent that the
issue may be important, it is only beginning to perco-
late in the lower courts, and the Court can consider
the question if a genuine and serious conflict devel-
ops.
15
ll. The Decision Below Is Consistent With This
Court’s Case Law.
The Fourth Circuit’s conclusion that section 9658
does not plainly exclude statutes of repose provisions,
analysis of the phrase “statute of limitations” as of
the time when section 9658 was enacted, and consid-
eration of legislative purpose are al! consistent with
this Court’s case law.
First, the Fourth Circuit correctly concluded that
the plain meaning of section 9658 can be read to
include the statute of repose provision at issue, using
the language itself, the specific context, and the
broader statutory context. See Robinson v. Shell Oil
Co., 519 U.S. 337, 340 (1997). The Fourth Circuit
properly analyzed the text of section 9658 itself, in-
cluding the preemption provision in subsection (aX 1)
and all three definitions in subsection (b). The court
first accurately summarized (a\1) as preempting a
state limitations period if it (1) is an “applicable lim-
itations period” that is “specified in the State statute
of limitations or under common law” and (2) “provides
a commencement date which is earlier than the fed-
erally required commencement date.” Pet. App. 12a.
The court next noted that the statute of repose
provision at issue is “specified in the State statute of
limitations or under common law” because it is lo-
cated in the state statutory section on “Limitations,
Other than Real Property.” Jd. Indeed, the statute
of repose provision is just one of many limitations
16
provisions in that Article and the Subchapter on
“Limitations.”
The court then noted that the ten-year limita-
tions provision in subsection 1-52(16) fits the defini-
tion of “applicable limitations period” because it is a
period specified in a statute of limitations “during
which a civil action ... may be brought.” /d. The
court’s reading of “applicable limitations period” to
include subsection 1-52(16) makes perfect sense. The
first sentence of subsection 1-52(16) states that ac-
tions “shall not accrue” until harm is discovered,
while the second sentence — the one at issue — pro-
vides “that no cause of action shall accrue more than
10 years from the last act or omission of the defen-
dant.” Read as a whole, subsection 1-52(16) defines
the period “during which a civil action ... may be
brought,” with the ten-year provision at issue limiting
that period.
The court then concluded that the ten-year pro-
vision at issue provides a “commencement date” that
is “earlier than the federally required commencement
date” because the ten-year period runs from when the
defendant commits its last act, while under section
9658 the limitations period begins when a plaintiff
has knowledge of harm. /d. at 12a-13a. The court's
commonsense conclusion that the provision at issue
provides an earlier “commencement date” than sec-
tion 9658 is consistent with other provisions in the
North Carolina statutes. The first section in the
Article in which section 1-52 is located is in fact en-
titled “Periods Prescribed” and states, “The periods
17
prescribed for the commencement of actions, other
than for the recovery of real property, are as set forth
in this Article.” N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-46.
Second, in concluding that the term “statute of
limitations” did not exclude statute of repose provi-
sions, the Fourth Circuit complied with the funda-
mental rule that a statute’s terms should be given the
meaning they had when the text was adopted. See,
e.g., BedRoc Ltd., LLC v. United States, 541 U.S. 176,
184 (2004). The Fourth Circuit correctly concluded
that “statute of limitations” and “statute of repose”
were used interchangeably as of 1986, when section
9658 was enacted.
This Court had used the terms “statute of limita-
tion” and “statute of repose” interchangeably before
1986. See, e.g., United States. v. Kubrick, 444 U.S.
111, 117 (1979) (describing statutes of limitation as
statutes of repose); Bridges v. United States, 346 U.S.
209, 230-31 (1953) (“Of course, statutes of limitation
are statutes of repose.”).
Furthermore, the Black’s Law Dictionary defini-
tion for “statute of limitation” included the statement
that “Statutes of limitation are statutes of repose”
and ended by noting, “Also sometimes referred to as
‘statutes of repose.’” Black’s Law Dictionary 835 (5th
ed. 1979). Not only did the definition for “statute of
limitation” conflate the two terms, Black’s definition
for “Repose statutes” stated simply, and fully, “See
Limitation (Statute of limitation).” Id. at 1169.
18
Since section 9658 was enacted, this Court and
others have continued to use the terms interchange-
ably. See Wallace v. Kato, 549 U.S. 384, 391, 395
(2007) (using “statute of repose” and “statute of
limitations” interchangeably); Lampf, Pleva, Lipkind,
Prupis & Petigrow v. Gilbertson, 501 U.S. 350, 352,
355 (1991) (stating question presented was “which
statute of limitations is applicable” where one of the
three choices was a statute of repose); Nat? Credit
Union Admin. Bd., 727 F.3d at 1266 (concluding that
“(tlhe majority of the case law treats repose periods
as a subcategory of statute of limitations”); Moore uv.
Winter Haven Hosp., 579 So. 2d 188, 190 (Fla. App.
1991) (explaining that “a statute of repose is a form of
a statute of limitations and the terms are often used
interchangeably,” and holding that “‘statute of repose’
is subsumed in the general term ‘statute of limita-
tions’” in statutory provision at issue because, to hold
otherwise, would “frustrate the legislative intent” of
the provision); Witherspoon v. Sides Constr. Co., Inc.,
362 N.W.2d 35, 41 (Neb. 1985) (“A statute of repose is
a type of a statute of limitations.”).
The Study Group Report also used the terms
interchangeably and treated statutes of repose as a
subcategory of statutes of limitation, repeatedly in-
cluding provisions that can be characterized as stat-
utes of repose within the category of “statutes of lim-
itation” or “limitations statutes.” Study Group Report,
at 240-41, and Appendix B pages B6-B10, B59, B63.
The absence of the term “statute of repose” in
section 9658 is understandable when other statutes
19
are considered. A search of the United States Code
reveals that Congress never uses the term “statute
of repose,” although it indisputably enacts statutes of
repose. See, e.g., 31 U.S.C. §3731(b\(2) (creating
three-year statute of limitation and ten-year statute
of repose under “false claims procedure”); 21 U.S.C.
§ 335(b)(3)(B) (creating six-year statute of limitations
and ten-year statute of repose under “Limitation on
Actions”). The North Carolina ten-year limitation at
issue never uses the term “repose.” See N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 1-52(16).
There is no reason in hindsight to expect Con-
gress to have used the term “repose” in section 9658,
when Congress and state legislatures such as North
Carolina’s were not using it themselves. See, e.g.,
Landis v. Phys. Ins. Co. of Wis., Inc., 628 N.W.2d 893,
896, 907 (Wis. 2001) (holding that phrase “[aJny ap-
plicable statute of limitations” was ambiguous as to
whether it included statutes of repose and noting that
“The term ‘statute of repose’ is largely a judicial label
for a particular type of limitation on actions” and “It
is apparent that the phrase ‘statute of repose’ is ju-
dicial terminology and is not featured in legislative
lingo.”).
Third, after determining that section 9658 can be
read as including statutes of repose, the Fourth Cir-
cuit properly considered Congress’s remedial purpose
in enacting CERCLA and section 9658’s legislative
history. Construing CERCLA as a broad remedial
statute is consistent with this Court’s interpretations
of other remedial statutes. See, e.g., Atchison, T. &
20
S.F.R. Co. v. Buell, 480 U.S. 557, 562 (1987) (stating
that the Federal Employers’ Liability Act is a “broad
remedial statute” that must be given a liberal con-
struction).
Construing section 9658 as a broad remedial
statute is especially appropriate given the section’s
history. Congress directed the Study Group “to de-
termine the adequacy of existing common law and
statutory remedies” and to evaluate “barriers to re-
covery posed by existing statutes of limitation.” 42
U.S.C. §§ 9651(eX1) (emphasis added), (eX3XF). The
Study Group then thoroughly analyzed the existing
statutes of limitation in all the states. Under the
heading “Statutes of Limitations,” the Study Group
then recommended that states adopt a rule that
claims accrue on discovery of latent harm and its
cause and stated that the recommendation was also
intended to repeal statutes of repose. Study Group
Report, at 240-41.
The Fifth Circuit, in an opinion by then-Chief
Judge Edith Jones, stated that the legislative history
of section 9658 is “unusually helpful” because the
House Conference Report explained that the section
was drafted in response to the Study Group Report.
Barnes v. Koppers, Inc., 534 F.3d 357, 365 (5th Cir
2008). Relying on the Study Group Report, the Fifth
Circuit held that the section 9658 discovery rule ap-
plies “where the conditions for CERCLA cleanup are
satisfied,” that is, when the plaintiff’s evidence meets
CERCLA’s definitions of a “release” of “hazardous
21
substances” into the “environment” from a defen-
dant’s “facility.” Id. at 365.
Here, applying the Fifth Circuit's test from
Barnes, the section 9658 discovery rule would apply
because the allegations in Plaintiff’s Complaint sat-
isfy all the relevant statutory definitions in CERCLA
for a “release” of “hazardous substances” into the “en-
vironment” from Petitioner’s “facility.” Compare Pet.
App. 5la-56a ((Complaint 998, 34-36 (hazardous
substances), 9, 29 (facility), 29-31 (environment), 30-
31 (release)), with CERCLA definitions in 42 U.S.C.
§§ 9601(8) (“environment”), (9) (“facility”), (14) (“haz-
ardous substance”), (22) (“release”). Though Barnes
did not address a statute of repose, its reasoning
would apply section 9658 on these facts and further
calls into question the earlier Fifth Circuit decision in
Burlington Northern that Petitioner depends on for a
circuit split.
The legislative history is indeed “unusually help-
ful” as Barnes states, for the House Conference Re-
port noted that section 9658 was meant to “address
the problem identified in the” Study Group Report,
which is that “certain State statutes deprive plaintiffs
of their day in court.” H.R. CONF. REP. 99-962, 1986
U.S.C.C.A.N. 3276, 3354. The narrow “simple read-
ing” advanced by Petitioner, however, as the decision
below recognized, would deprive plaintiffs in states
with statutes of limitation containing repose provi-
sions of their day in court.
22
Finally, this case is not a perfect vehicle for this
Court. This case is only one part of a long-running
dispute about how to clean up the mess left behind by
Petitioner. The EPA previously entered into a consent
order regarding the site with Petitioner and the sub-
sequent landowner, J.A. 190-221, and the North
Carolina Department of Environment and Natural
Resources has also made certain demands of Pe-
titioner. Petitioner sued the subsequent landowner
over the costs of responding to the agencies, and
that lawsuit is ongoing. See CTS Corp. v. Mills Gap
Road Assocs., No. 1:10-CV-156-GCM, 2013 WL 4499136
(W.D.N.C. Aug. 20, 2013) (granting defendant's
amended motion for partial summary judgment).
Coincidentally, the Eleventh Circuit will soon
hear argument on the exact same issue Petitioner has
raised — indeed, involving the exact same ten-year
limitations period in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-52(16). See
Bryant v. United States, No. 12-15424 (11th Cir. to be
argued Jan. 17, 2014). Bryant involves numerous
United States Marines and family members who
developed leukemia and other cancers more than ten
years after being exposed, at Camp Lejeune in North
Carolina, to the worst public water contamination in
United States history. If the Eleventh Circuit were to
hold that section 9658 does not preempt the ten-year
limitations period in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-52(16), a
meaningful circuit split would then exist. But for now,
the Court should continue to allow the interpretation
of section 9658 to percolate in the lower courts.
°
23
CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.
Respectfully submitted,
JOHN J. KORZEN
WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY
SCHOOL OF LAW
APPELLATE ADVOCACY CLINIC
Post Office Box 7206 Reynolda Station
Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27109
336-758-5832
Counsel for Respondents
November 2013
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.