Record and brief — Tibbals v. Carter

Supreme Court brief2012

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

cuir

4

>

“

ey.

No. 11-218

Title

Docketed

Lower Ct

Case Nos

‘

. &

3%

P, “'t i.

Pi y ois “s

7 ‘

4

oa

SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

*** CAPITAL CASE ***

Terry Tibbals. Warden. Petitioner

V

Sean Carter

August 22, 2011

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

(08-4377)

Decision Date May 26, 201%

Questions

Presented

Aug 17 2011

Aug 17 2011

Sep 8 2011

Oct 28 2011

Oct 28 2011

Nov 7 2011

Nov 8 2011

Feb 22 2012

Mar 19 2012

Mar 19 2012

Apr 20 2012

Apr 20 2012

Apr 26 2012

May 8 2012

aemnemenenene Proceedings and Orders~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Petition for a writ of certiorari filed. (Response due September 21 2071)

Appendix of Terry Tibbals. Warden filed

Order extending time to file response to petition to and including October 31 2077

Brief of respondent Sean Carter in opposition filec

Motion for leave to proceed in forma pauperis filed by respondent

DISTRIBUTED for Conference of November 22, 2017

Reply of petitioner Terry Tibbals. Warden filed. (Distriouted)

DISTRIBUTED for Conference of March 16. 2012

Motion for leave to proceed in forma pauperis filed by respondent GRANTED

Petition GRANTED

The time to file the joint appendix and petitioner's brief on the merits is extended to and

including May 25, 2012

The time to file respondent's brief on the merits is extended to and including July 20

012

Motion to appoint counse! filed by respondent Sean Carter

Motion DISTRIBUTED for Conference of May 24. 2012

May 25 2012 Joint appendix filed (Statement of costs filed)

May 25 2012 Brief of petitioner Terry Tiobals, Warden filed

May 29 2012 Motion to appoint counse! filed by respondent GRANTED Scott Michelman. Esquire. of

Jun 1 2012

Jun 1 2012

Jul $2012

Jul 17 2012

Washington. D.C. is appointed to serve as counse! for the respondent in this case

Brief amicus curiae of the United States filed (also in 10-930)

Brief amici curiae of Utah, et al. filed (also in 70-930)

Consent to the filing of amicus curiae briefs, in support of either party or of neither party

received from counsel! for the respondent

Consent to the filing of amicus curiae briefs, in suport of either party or of neitner party

received from counsel! for petitioner

Jul 202012 Brief of respondent Sean Caner filed. (Distributed)

Jul 232012 SET FOR ARGUMENT ON Tuesday. October 9, 2012

Jul 242012 CIRCULATED.

Ju! 252012 Record received from U.S.C.A. for Sixth Circuit is electronic.

Jul 27 2012 Motion of the Solicitor Genera! for leave to oarticipate in oral argument as amicus curiae

and for divided argument filed. (also in 10-930)

Ju! 27 2012 Brief amici curiae of Retired Federal Judges filed VIDED. (Distributed)

Jul 27 2012 Brief amici curiae of American Psychiatric Association, et al filed. VIDED (Distributed)

Jul 27 2012 Brief amici curiae of American Civi! Liberties Union, et al. filed VIDED.

Jul 27 2012 Brief amicus curiae of American Bar Association filed (Distriputed)

Aug 13 2012 Motion of the Solicitor General for leave to participate in oral argument as amicus curiae

and for divided argument GRANTED

Aug 20 2012 Reply of petitioner Terry Tibbals. Warden filed. (Distriouted)

Aug 23 2012 Record from U.S.D.C. for Northern District of Ohio is electronic

Aug 28 2012 Record recieved from U.S.D.C. for Northern District of Ohio Eastern Division.

Transcripts and Exhibits. (6 Boxes)

Oct92012 Argued. For petitioner: Alexandra T. Schimmer. Solicitor Genera’, Columbus. Ohio. For

respondent Scott Michelman, Washington. D.C

Oct92012 Letter dated October 5. 2012 received from counse! for the respondent (Distridutea)

rn ET TT TE TT TT LT

PETITION

FOR

WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

FD ‘

a | ll U.S.

11-218 AUG 17 2011

No

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

3n the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

TERRY TIBBALS, Warden,

Petitioner,

Vv.

SEAN CARTER,

4 Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MICHAEL DEWINE

Attorney General of Ohio

ALEXANDRA T. SCHIMMER*

Solicitor General

*Counsel of Record

DAVID M., LIEBERMAN

Deputy Solicitor

30 East Broad St., 17th Floor

Columbus, Ohio 43215

614-466-8980

alexandra.schimmer@

ohioattorneygeneral.gov

Counsel for Petitioner

Terry Tibbals, Warden

CAPITAL CASE—NO EXECUTION DATE SET

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

. Do capital prisoners possess a “right to

competence” in federal habeas proceedings under

Rees v. Peyton, 384 U.S. 312 (1966)?

2. Can a federal district court order an indefinite

stay of a federal habeas proceeding under Rees?

il

LIST OF PARTIES

The Petitioner is Terry Tibbals, the Warden of

the Mansfield Correctional Institution. Tibbals is

substituted for his predecessor, Margaret Bradshaw.

See Fed. R. Civ. P. 25(d).

The Respondent is Sean Carter, an inmate at

the Mansfield Correctional] Institution.

lll

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page(s)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ............ccccccsssoseccessesssoeees i

EE TE SS il

I ao cess ntisasinncneenanctesencesesscconss ili

Br I os ccncicvctesescssecssesessecesescoese Vv

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORAR1................ 1

a casmsnopmuabannesonetioe 1

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT......................0..065 1

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ................. 1

EEE Se oo 3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..............cccsscssserseceeecees 4

A. Carter raped and murdered his adoptive

SEES 4

B. A jury convicted Carter of murder and the

trial court imposed a death sentence.............. 5

C. The Ohio Supreme Court affirmed the

convictions and sentence, and the Ohio

courts denied post-conviction relief. ............... 7

D. The federal district court found Carter

incompetent and dismissed his habeas

petition without prejudice. ...................:eeeeee eens 8

E. The Sixth Circuit directed the district

court to stay Carter’s petition indefinitely

i a caripenncuecetesors 10

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT............... 11

iv

A. The significance of Rees v. Peyton is an

open and disputed question...................0.00ee 12

1. The Court has never clarified Rees......... 12

2. Most circuits interpret Rees to require

a competency hearing before a court

allows a prisoner to waive habeas

TT ssiccociecenpeinssticsindeshtiiidaiabeciesialiaiamicaihinliniepeiahimiali a tmnt 13

3. The Sixth Circuit interprets Rees to

establish a “right to competence” for

capital habeas petitioners. ...................... 15

B. The Sixth Circuit’s decision is in tension

with this Court’s habeas jurisprudence........ 17

1. The Sixth Circuit’s indefinite stay

REESE RE REE eas ee 17

2. The court’s decision supplants Ford uv.

TI scsciccenscsscininseihdiidiiuictiasapbeiiidcahinibidslclaiaeds 19

C. The Sixth Circuit's decision obstructs

Ohio’s capital litigation system..................... 20

IIIT cisccsesschinhetissisdnpessensiteiensetenticapdescnchisttistitmassibiiadeatandens 23

APPENDIX:

Appendix A: Opinion, United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, May 26, 2011............ la

Appendix B: Order of Dismissal, United

States District Court, Northern District of

Ohio, Eastern Division, Sept. 29, 2008................... 27a

Appendix C: Judgment Entry, United States

District Court, Northern District of Ohio,

Eastern Division, Sept. 29, 2008 .................cccceeeeee 55a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGE(S)

Awkal v. Mitchell,

othe [ 7 Yo || ane penrerenis 15

Awkal v. Mitchell,

560 F.3d 466 (6th Cir. 2008).............ccccccceccceceeess 15

Awkal v. Mitchell,

2006 U.S. App. Lexis 5984 (6th Cir. Mar. 8,

EELS TREE eine Oar ae TONY UO Te RAT STO SR 15

Bedford v. Collins,

| RR UR reece dan vane ey eee 13

Brewer v. Lewis,

989 F.2d 1021 (9th Cir. 1993)......... cee eee 13

Cullen v. Pinholster,

eR ee 4, 18, 22

Ford v. Wainwright,

er i passim

Harper v. Parker,

177 F.3d GOT (Gta Cit. 10GB)........ccccccccccccccccccscees 15

Henderson v. Haley,

353 F.3d 880 (11th Cir. 2003).........000.00000. 14, 17

Hill v. McDonough,

gf | ____ ERESERERIERIRMree eran NOY eee De NID 22

Michael v. Horn,

450 F.3e 411 (Sd Cir. 2006) .......cccccccoccscece.see 14, 17

Panetti v. Quarterman,

I ieeeabdaee 19

Rees v. Peyton,

I a 12

Rees v. Peyton,

ES ERNE ER ONE ai Carers rere passim

Rees v. Superintendent of the Va. State

Penitentiary,

EN a ae AES ee Re Te 12

Rhines v. Weber,

i cciennpeniasuinsadeds 18, 21

Rohan ex rel. Gates v. Woodford,

334 F.3d 803 (9th Cir. 2003).....................06 passim

Rumbaugh v. McCotter,

i aaleeieleabiiasesila 13

Rumbaugh v. Procunier,

TES F.Ba BOS (Gein Car. 19BB) q..cccccccccsccceccesescocceses 14

Sell v. United States,

I aa 22

Smith v. Armontrout,

s+} es § JT fe |) Renee 13

State v. Carter,

Py ee ee CI TO Dinincctcicnchciccciciescentccnsinenttnne 8

State v. Carter,

734 N.EB.2d 347 (Ohio BO0D).......c.cccccccccccccesses 4,5,7

State v. Carter,

2000 Ohio App. Lexis 5935 (Ohio Ct. App.

ESRC RAE Ne ee hh a eno ae 7

Whitmore v. Arkansas,

OR, i 13

STATUTES

RSS SERS on PRE Re teste RON So ae 9, 10, 14

FS ARERR tra terte ene anee eeee ener roms 1, 10, 16

a Ras Si I sie ices etieiesictibsbenemnseindiceiinineniapainonnamindiaiins 10

SEs TR III ic iciiicridaerietiaebaieeippnianianicnghodeaiies 2, 18, 19

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Attorney General of Ohio, on behalf of

Terry Tibbals, Warden, respectfully petitions for a

writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Sixth Circuit’s opinion, Carter v.

Bradshaw, 644 F.3d 329 (6th Cir. 2011), is

reproduced at App. la. The district court’s opinion,

Carter v. Bradshaw, 583 F. Supp. 2d 872 (N.D. Ohio

2008), is reproduced at App. 27a.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

The Sixth Circuit issued its opinion on May

26, 2011. The Warden files this petition and invokes

the Court’s jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 4241(a) of Title 18 provides:

At any time after the commencement of a

prosecution for an offense and prior to the

sentencing of the defendant, the defendant or

the attorney for the Government may file a

motion for a hearing to determine the mental

competency of the defendant. The court shall

grant the motion, or shall order such a hearing

on its own motion, if there is reasonable cause

to believ. that the defendant may presently be

suffering from a mental disease or defect

rendering him mentally incompetent to the

extent that he is unable to understand the

nature and consequences of the proceedings

against him or to assist properly in his

defense.

2

The Anti-Terrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act

of 1996 (““AEDPA”), Section 2254(d) of Title 28 of the

United States Code, provides:

An application for a writ of habeas corpus on

behalf of a person in custody pursuant to the

judgment of a State court shall not be granted

with respect to any claim that was adjudicated

on the merits in State court proceedings

unless the adjudication of the claim—

(1) resulted in a decision that was

contrary to, or involved an unreasonable

application of, clearly established

Federal law, as determined by the

Supreme Court of the United States.

(2) resulted in a decision that was based

on an unreasonable determination of

the facts in light of the evidence

presented in the State court proceeding.

3

INTRODUCTION

Alleging ineffective assistance of counsel, Sean

Carter seeks to overturn his conviction and death

sentence for the rape and murder of his adoptive

grandmother. The Ohio courts rejected the claim

eleven years ago, but the district court and the Sixth

Circuit refuse to act on Carter’s habeas petition.

The reason: The Sixth Circuit maintains that

capital prisoners have a “right to competence” in

federal habeas proceedings under Rees v. Peyton, 384

U.S. 312 (1966). Because Carter’s mental illness

“affect[s} his abilities to relay facts to his counsel and

communicate in detail,” App. 8a, the court ordered

an indefinite stay of his proceeding under Rees.

To this day, the Rees case is shrouded in

mystery. A capital prisoner attempted to withdraw

his petition for certiorari. After the district court

deemed him incompetent, this Court refused to act.

Without explanation, it let the petition sit on the

docket for three decades until the prisoner died.

The Court should grant review and resolve

two contradictory visions of Rees in the lower courts.

Most circuits adopt a narrow view of the case,

invoking it to evaluate the validity of a capital

prisoner’s request to withdraw his habeas petition.

But the Sixth Circuit divined a broad “right to

competence” from Rees: Courts should stay habeas

proceedings indefinitely whenever a_ capital

prisoner's mental condition renders him “unable to

communicate with his habeas attorneys.” App. 12a.

Certiorari is warranted for two other reasons.

First, the Sixth Circuit disregarded established

limits on its habeas authority. To justify its stay

4

order, the court explained that Carter is unable to

“provide . . . evidence in support of his claims” while

incompetent. App. 12a. But no new evidence can be

considered at this stage; AEDPA limits the prisoner

and his counsel to “the record that was before the

state court.” Cullen v. Pinholster, 131 S. Ct. 1388,

1398 (2011). The Sixth Circuit also disregarded this

Court’s carefully tailored framework for evaluating

claims of post-conviction incompetence—and its

requirements for exhaustion and __ state-court

deference. See Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399

(1986).

Second, the Sixth Circuit’s decision is “an

anomalous monkey wrench thrown into the capital-

litigation process.” App. 26a (Rogers, J., dissenting).

The decision invites every capital prisoner to raise

similar claims of incompetence; it opens the door to

decades of collateral litigation; and it unnecessarily

(and in many cases, eternally) forestalls the State’s

ability to carry out its criminal judgments.

This case more than satisfies the well-worn

criteria for certiorari—lack of guidance from this

Court, manifest disagreement in the lower courts,

and a paramount State interest at risk. The Court

should grant review and reverse the judgment below.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Carter raped and murdered his adoptive

grandmother.

On September 13, 1997, Sean Carter snuck

into the home of his adoptive grandmother Veader

Prince. State v. Carter, 734 N.E.2d 345, 347 (Ohio

2000). Prince discovered Carter, asked him to leave

her house, and gave him a set of car keys. Id. at 348.

5

Carter departed, but returned later that day.

Finding the front door to Prince’s house locked, he

climbed in through a bedroom window. 7d. at 349-50.

Carter encountered Prince, who again

instructed him to leave. When Prince “tried to push

him out the door,” Carter “started to beat her.” Jd. at

350. He then raped Prince anally and stabbed her

with a kitchen knife. A later autopsy indicated that

Prince suffered eighteen stab wounds and blunt force

trauma to the face. Id. at 349.

To cover up the murder, Carter piled clothes

over Prince’s body, moved furniture to hide blood

stains, turned on the water in the bathroom, and

placed a chicken on a stove. He then changed his

bloody clothes, took $150 from Prince’s purse, and

stole a car from the driveway. Id. at 350.

On September 14, Prince’s daughter and son

visited the home, but could not find their mother.

Returning that evening, they located Prince’s dead

body in the basement and called police. /d. at 348.

On September 15, officers in Pennsylvania

located Carter sleeping in the stolen car. The officers

contacted Ohio authorities, who indicated that they

wanted Carter for questioning. Jd. at 349. After

waiving his Miranda rights, Carter confessed to

murdering Prince. He waived extradition and

returned to Ohio. Jd. at 349-50.

B. A jury convicted Carter of murder and

the trial court imposed a death sentence.

A grand jury indicted Carter for aggravated

murder, aggravated burglary, aggravated robbery,

and rape. See Carter, 734 N.E.2d at 350.

6

The trial court appointed an expert, Dr.

Stanley Palumbo, to examine Carter’s mental state.

“With reasonable scientific certainty,” Dr. Palumbo

concluded that “Carter [was] competent to stand

trial.” dd. at 355. He testified that “Carter

underst{ood] the nature of the proceedings against

him and d[id] not suffer any gross mental disorder

that would interfere with his ability to participate in

his defense.” Jd. In light of this report, the trial

court deemed Carter competent to stand trial. Jd.

Carter entered a plea of not guilty by reason of

insanity, and three experts examined his mental

state. The first, Dr. Stephen King, concluded that

Carter “exhibited bizarre behavior” and “was not

able to assist in his own defense” (although he

admitted that his diagnosis “was a close call”). Jd.

The second expert, Dr. Palumbo, reaffirmed his

earlier diagnosis: Carter was competent and

“express[ing] anger and _ irritability with his

attorneys.” Jd. at 356. A third expert, Dr. Robert

Alcorn, agreed with Dr. Palumbo’s conclusions. Id.

After examining the reports, the trial court

found Carter competent. Jd. The case proceeded to

trial and Carter absented himself from most of the

proceedings. Jd. at 350. The jury convicted Carter of

aggravated murder with death _ specifications,

aggravated robbery, rape, and criminal trespass.

After the penalty phase, the jury recommended a

death sentence, which the trial court imposed. 7d.

7

C. The Ohio Supreme Court affirmed the

convictions and sentence, and the Ohio

courts denied post-conviction relief.

On direct appeal, Carter challenged the trial

court’s competency finding. The Ohio Supreme

Court rejected the claim: “The trial court’s findings

of fact fail to support Carter’s claim that the court’s

decision was unreasonable, arbitrary, or

unconscionable.” Carter, 734 N.E.2d at 356. The

court dismissed Carter’s other objections and

affirmed his convictions and death sentence.

Carter next sought post-conviction relief in the

Ohio courts, attacking the performance of his trial

counsel. He claimed that “his attorneys failed to

develop a complete record to show that he was

incompetent to stand trial because his paranoid

personality did not permit him to trust, or therefore

consult with and aid, his lawyers.” State v. Carter,

No. 99-T-133, 2000 Ohio App. Lexis 5935, at *10

(Ohio Ct. App. Dec. 15, 2000).

Carter submitted an affidavit by trial counsel,

who confirmed that Carter “would not cooperate” or

“discuss any aspects of the case or his personal life.”

Id. The affidavit also indicated that Carter “wanted

to kill his attorney,” that Carter’s “mother and uncle

were paranoid schizophrenics,” and that Carter

would appear in court only “if his attorneys bribed

him with candy.” Jd. at *11.

The trial court denied relief, and the Ohio

court of appeals affirmed. The appellate court

concluded that “[nJeither [Carter’s] petition for

postconviction relief nor his brief raise new grounds

or point to anything outside the record to

8

demonstrate that he is entitled to relief’ on his

ineffective assistance claim. Jd. at *13. The court

further observed that Carters “inability or

unwillingness to aid his attorneys in the defense of

his case [was] well-documented.” 7d.

The Ohio Supreme Court denied review. See

State v. Carter, 746 N.E.2d 612 (Ohio 2001).

D. The federal district court found Carter

incompetent and dismissed his habeas

petition without prejudice.

In 2002, Carter sought habeas relief. He

submitted a series of pleadings, culminating in 2005

with his third amended habeas petition. Also in

2005, Carter filed a “motion for competency

determination and to stay proceedings.” App. 28a.

The district court ordered a competency

hearing. Carter’s expert, Dr. Robert Stinson,

testified that Carter had “schizophrenia,” a

“depressive disorder,” and “a personality disorder.”

App. 30a. The condition, Dr. Stinson said, “distorts

his inferential thinking,” “affect(s] ... his language

and communication abilities,” and prevents him from

developing “a factual understanding of the

proceedings.” App. 30a-3la. Dr. Stinson agreed that

“Carter could communicate with his attorneys, but

indicated that “his schizophrenia renders him an

‘unreliable historian.”! App. 32a.

Carter’s second expert, Dr. Michael Gelbort,

agreed that Carter's “thinking skills are fragmented

and distracted”: Although Carter can provide “basic

1 Dr. Stinson filed an updated report two years later, indicating

that “Carter’s mental condition ha[d] deteriorated.” App. 35a.

9

assistance ... it’s not worth a whole lot of time or

effort on his attorneys’ part because his cognitive

capabilities are so limited.” App. 33a.

The Warden’s expert, Dr. Phillip Resnick,

agreed that Carter has “chronic undifferentiated

schizophrenia.” App. 34a. But Dr. Resnick testified

that Carter understood the nature of the murder

conviction and the punishment: “[I]n my view, he

meets the minimum standard because he can speak

rationally and convey information.” App. 35a. Dr.

Resnick further indicated that Carter “can convey

basic information, but... his illness does not permit

him to give a rich description.” Jd.

After reviewing this testimony, the district

court invoked Rohan ex rel. Gates v. Woodford, 334

F.3d 803 (9th Cir. 2003). App. 36a. In Rohan, the

Ninth Circuit indicated that capital prisoners

possess a “right to competence” in_ habeas

proceedings, rooted in their statutory right to

appointed counsel under 18 U.S.C. § 3599(a)(2).

Applying Rohan, the district court concluded

that several of Carter’s habeas claims—that he was

incompetent at his trial, and that his attorneys were

ineffective in pursuing the claim—“potentially could

benefit from Carter’s assistance.” App. 42a-43a. The

court then evaluated Carters mental state:

Although Carter’s capacity to understand his

position and the proceedings was “debatable” and “a

difficult decision,” his “diminished .. . ability to

communicate with counsel” was “clear-cut.” App.

45a. Under the Rohan standard, the district court

determined “that Carter [was] incompetent to

proceed with this federal habeas litigation.”

App.47a.

10

In light of that finding, the district court

“dismisse[d] without prejudice” the habeas petition

and “prospectively toll[ed] the one-year statute of

limitations set forth in 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d) ... until

such time as... Carter is competent to proceed with

his federal habeas litigation.” App 53a.

E. The Sixth Circuit directed the district

court to stay Carter’s petition

indefinitely due to incompetency.

On appeal, the Sixth Circuit agreed with the

district court’s bottom-line ruling, but not its specific

analysis or remedy. The court did not find a “right to

competence” under Rohan or 18 U.S.C. § 3599.

Instead, the Sixth Circuit held that Carter enjoyed a

right to competence under Rees v. Peyton, 384 U.S.

312 (1966) and 18 U.S.C. § 4241—the federal statute

discussing a criminal defendant’s competence at

trial. App.4a-5a.

In this case, Carter “refused to meet with his

attorneys to discuss collateral attacks on his

conviction” and he “suffered from multiple

psychological disorders affecting his abilities to relay

facts to his counsel.” App. 8a. Given those findings,

the Sixth Circuit affirmed the district court’s

competency determination. ld.

But the Sixth Circuit said “it was improper for

the district court to dismiss Carter’s petition and

prospectively toll the AEDPA statute of limitations

indefinitely.” App. lla. Instead, the Sixth Circuit

said the district court should have followed the Ninth

Circuit’s remedy in Rohan—‘“habeas proceedings

should be stayed until the petitioner is found to be

competent.” App. 14a.

11

The Sixth Circuit instructed the district court

to stay indefinitely its consideration of Carter’s

ineffective assistance claim. App. l5a. As to the

remaining habeas claims, the Sixth Circuit directed

the district court “to determine whether Carter’s

assistance is essential to their full and fair

adjudication.” Jd. If “Carter’s other claims might

possibly be litigated without his assistance,” App.

13a, the Sixth Circuit instructed the district court to

appoint a next friend to litigate on Carter’s behalf.

Judge Rogers dissented. He argued that the

majority's decision “allows habeas petitioners to

prevent States from enforcing their judgments,

potentially forever, on the grounds of a nonexistent

right to competency in habeas proceedings.” App.

15a-16a. That right, he said, “has no basis in the

Constitution or federal statues.” App. 16a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court should grant the Warden’s petition

for three reasons. First, the Sixth Circuit’s novel

interpretation of Rees v. Peyton, 384 U.S. 312

(1966)—that habeas petitioners have a “right to

competence”—is shared by no other circuit.

Second, the Sixth Circuit's decision runs

headlong into AEDPA and Ford v. Wainwright, 477

U.S. 399 (1986). The court ordered an indefinite stay

of a capital habeas proceeding—something that

AEDPA prohibits. And the court’s opinion

circumvents Ford’s procedural and_ substantive

limitations on post-conviction incompetency claims.

Third, this decision will improperly bring

Ohio’s capital litigation to a halt. Under the Sixth

Circuit’s extraordinarily loose standards, any

12

prisoner can make a minimal showing of

incompetence, demand a hearing, and secure an

indefinite stay of his habeas proceedings.

A. The significance of Rees v. Peyton is an

open and disputed question.

& The Court has never clarified Rees.

In Rees, a capital prisoner instructed his

attorney to withdraw his pending petition for

certiorari. 384 U.S. at 313. Counsel objected,

indicating that “he could not conscientiously accede

to these instructions without a_ psychiatric

evaluation.” Jd. This Court stated that “it [was]

ultimately the responsibility of this Court to

determine” “[w]hether or not Rees shall be allowed in

these circumstances to withdraw his certiorari

petition.” Jd. The Court then remanded the case to

the district court to determine “whether [the

prisoner] ha[d] capacity to appreciate his position

and make a rational choice with respect to

continuing or abandoning further litigation or...

whether he [was] suffering from a mental disease,

disorder, or defect which may substantially affect his

capacity in the premises.” /d. at 314.

After the district court found the prisoner

incompetent, this Court, in an unexplained order,

“held without action” the petition for certiorari. Rees

v. Peyton, 386 U.S. 989 (1967). Decades passed.

When the prisoner died in 1995, the Court finally

dismissed the petition. See Rees v. Superintendent of

the Va. State Penitentiary, 516 U.S. 802 (1995).

The Court has never again ordered such relief,

although others have requested it. Just last term, a

capital prisoner filed a petition for certiorari and

13

invoked Rees. Alleging incompetence, the prisoner

requested a competency determination and sought a

stay of the proceedings. The Court summarily

denied the request and the petition. See Bedford v.

Collins, 130 S. Ct. 2344 (2010).

In fact, the Court has shown very little

interest in Rees over the years. Despite the high

number of capital habeas petitions and incompetency

claims on the Court’s docket, the case makes only

one other appearance in the United States Reporter.

See Whitmore v. Arkansas, 495 U.S. 149, 166 (1990)

(citing Rees to deny standing to a “next friend” who

attempted to pursue an appeal on behalf of a capital

prisoner). Several dissenting opinions mention the

case, but only to reiterate the standard for reviewing

a prisoner’s request to terminate his habeas rights.

See, e.g., Rumbaugh v, McCotter, 473 U.S. 919, 919

(1985) (Marshall, J., dissenting) (“Rees specified the

findings necessary to a determination that one who

seeks to waive further review of a criminal conviction

is competent to make such a grave choice.”).

In short, the Court has never explained Rees

or the basis for its “hold without action” choice.

2. Most circuits interpret Rees to

require a competency hearing

before a court allows a prisoner to

waive habeas relief.

In most federal circuits, Rees is relied om in

one discrete situation—“where a death-row inmate

elects to abandon further legal proceedings.” Smith

v. Armontrout, 812 F.2d 1050, 1057 (8th Cir. 1987);

accord Brewer v. Lewis, 989 F.2d 1021, 1026 n.4 (9th

Cir. 1993) (Rees “state[s] the test for determining

14

whether a habeas petitioner is competent to waive

his right to federal review of his conviction and

sentence.”); Rumbaugh v. Procunier, 753 F.2d 395

398 (5th Cir. 1985) (same).

In those cases, Rees provides “the controlling

legal standard for assessing the validity of a death

row inmate’s choice to forego post-conviction review.”

Henderson v. Haley, 353 F.3d 880, 893 (11th Cir.

2003). “An appeal may not be withdrawn if the

prisoner is incompetent.” Michael v. Horn, 459 F.3d

411, 420 (3d Cir. 2006). If a court “ha[s] any doubts

about [the prisoner’s] competency,” Rees demands a

hearing. Jd.

The Ninth Circuit's take on Rees is

particularly revealing. Although the court affords

capital prisoners a “right to competence” in their

federal habeas proceedings, it does not ground that

right in Rees. Rather, the Ninth Circuit locates the

right in 18 U.S.C. § 3599, which supplies appointed

counsel to capital prisoners. See Rohan ex rel. Gates

v. Woodford, 334 F.3d 803, 813 (9th Cir. 2003).

To be sure, the Ninth Circuit’s reading of

§ 3599 is open to debate.2, See App. 20a (Rogers, J.,

dissenting) (criticizing Rohan because the provisions

of § 3599 “say nothing about the competency of the

petitioner”). But the court offered one significant

observation: Whether or not capital prisoners have a

right of “competence to pursue collateral review of a

state conviction in federal court . . . is an issue the

Supreme Court precedents do not conclusively

resolve.” Rohan, 334 F.3d at 810.

2 The State of Arizona is seeking review of Rohan’s holding.

See Pet’n for Cert., Ryan v. Gonzales, No. 10-930.

15

3. The Sixth Circuit interprets Rees to

establish a “right to competence”

for capital habeas petitioners.

For decades, the Sixth Circuit applied Rees

narrowly like its sister circuits do—to “cases where a

death row inmate seeks to forego further appeals.”

Harper v. Parker, 177 F.3d 567, 571 (6th Cir. 1999).

If a court “believe[s] that the defendant may be...

suffering from a mental disease or defect,” it should

conduct “a preliminary hearing” to discern whether

he is competent “to waive his right to further

appeals.” Id.

Recent proceedings illustrate this practice. In

Awkal v. Mitchell, a capital prisoner informed the

Sixth Circuit of his desire to withdraw his habeas

petition. Consistent with Rees, the court stayed its

proceeding and instructed the district court to

conduct a competency hearing. See Awkal uv.

Mitchell, No. 01-4728, 2006 U.S. App. Lexis 5984, at

*4 (6th Cir. Mar. 8, 2006).

After the district court found the prisoner

incompetent, a Sixth Circuit panel denied his request

to terminate the appeal and proceeded to issue a

decision on the merits, granting habeas relief. See

Awkal v. Mitchell, 559 F.3d 456 (6th Cir. 2009). The

en banc court then reversed that decision. See

Awkal v. Mitchell, 613 F.3d 629 (6th Cir. 2010) (en

banc), cert. denied, 131 S. Ct. 1002 (2011). Although

every member of the Sixth Circuit—the majority and

the dissenters—recognized the prisoner’s

incompetence, not one contemplated the need for an

indefinite stay under Rees.

16

The Sixth Circuit took the very opposite

approach here. The court announced that capital

habeas petitioners possess “a statutory right to

competence” because the Rees decision incorporated

the federal competency-to-stand-trial statute, 18

U.S.C. § 4241, into habeas proceedings. App. 4a-5a.

The Sixth Circuit further announced that Rees

may be invoked “by action or inaction.” App. 7a.

Unlike the Rees prisoner, who expressly sought to

“withdraw [his] petition and forgo any further legal

proceedings,’ 384 U.S. at 313, Carter has never

attempted to terminate this litigation. No matter,

the Sixth Circuit said, because district courts may

conduct competency hearings under Rees whenever

(1) the prisoner “refuse[s] to meet with his attorneys

to discuss collateral attacks”; and (2) his attorneys

express concern that the prisoner “[can]not

understand the proceedings or assist counsel in his

defense.” App. 8a.

The Sixth Circuit’s decision creates two clear

divisions in lower court authority. First, it held that

this Court established the “right to competence” on

federal habeas review “long ago” in Rees. App. 4a.

No other circuit adopts that view. To the contrary,

these others courts recognize that the issue of

competence in habeas proceedings is one that “the

Supreme Court precedents do not conclusively

resolve.” Rohan, 334 F.3d at 810 (emphasis added).

Second, the Sixth Circuit held that Rees may

be invoked in a variety of situations and absent a

request to terminate post-conviction proceedings.

Other circuits take a far more constrained view: The

standards in Rees are used only to “assess[] the

validity of a death row inmate’s choice to forego post-

17

conviction review.” Henderson, 353 F.3d at 893.

Where the prisoner does not “direct{] his counsel to

withdraw his petition .. . and to forgo any further

federal habeas proceedings,” Michael, 459 F.3d at

420, these circuits do not apply Rees.

The disagreement across the circuits is stark.

The Court should grant certiorari and resolve these

divergent approaches to Rees.

B. The Sixth Circuit’s decision is in tension

with this Court’s habeas jurisprudence.

Even without the circuit split, this case would

still be worthy of review because the decision below

is incompatible with AEDPA and Ford 0v.

Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986).

1. The Sixth Circuit’s indefinite stay

violates AEDPA.

After establishing a new pathway for

incompetency claims, the Sixth Circuit crafted an

exceptional remedy. Because the district court found

Carter incompetent, the Sixth Circuit ordered an

indefinite stay of his habeas proceeding.

According to the court, “Carter alone has

evidence of the interactions between him and his

trial and appellate attorneys, and that evidence is

inaccessible as long he remains unable _ to

communicate with his habeas attorneys.” App. 12a.

The only suitable response, the Sixth Circuit said,

was an indefinite stay: The district court could not

appoint a “next friend” to represent Carter in this

litigation because “the next friend would be forced to

proceed through this action without the foundational

facts that support Carter’s claims.” App. 13a.

18

The Sixth Circuit’s decision, premised on

Carter’s incompetence, is inconsistent with AEDPA.

See Rhines v. Weber, 544 U.S. 269, 276 (2005)

(‘AEDPA .. . circumscribe[s] the[] discretion” of

federal courts “to issue stays” in habeas proceedings).

The Sixth Circuit mistakenly assumed that a stay

was necessary to preserve Carter’s ability “to provide

... evidence in support of his claims.” App. 12a.

But Carter will never have the opportunity on

habeas review to offer evidence in support of his

claims, even if he regains competency. Under

AEDPA, “[t]he record under review is limited to...

the record before the state court.” Cullen uv.

Pinholster, 131 S. Ct. 1388, 1398 (2011). The federal

courts “are barred from considering . . . evidence”

extraneous to the state court record. Jd. at 1411

n.20. Therefore, any evidence that Carter might

“later introduce[] in federal court is irrelevant to

§ 2254(d)(1) review.”* Id. at 1400 (emphasis added).

Simply put, a capital prisoner’s incompetence

in no way obstructs his habeas attorneys’ ability to

advance, or the federal courts’ ability to adjudicate,

his habeas claims. For that reason, AEDPA

prohibits the issuance of an indefinite stay based on

a prisoner’s incompetence.

3 The Ninth Circuit made the same mistake in Rohan. Allowing

a habeas proceeding to go forward, the court feared, would

“prevent [the incompetent prisoner] from ever presenting th[e]

evidence [within his private knowledge] to a federal tribuna).”

334 F.3d at 818. If such evidence is not already included in the

state court record, AEDPA precludes its consideration.

19

2. The court’s decision supplants Ford

v. Wainwright.

The Sixth Circuit’s decision is monumental in

a second respect: It effectively puts an end to this

Court’s decision in Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399,

410 (1986), which “prohibits the State from carrying

out a sentence of death upon a prisoner who is

insane.”

Three critical limitations inure to Ford-based

incompetency claims. First, the test is demanding:

To halt an execution, a court must find that the

prisoner cannot. rationally understand “the

punishment [he is} about to suffer and why [he is] to

suffer it.” Panetti v. Quarterman, 551 U.S. 930, 957

(2007) (citation omitted). Second, the window to file

the claim is limited: The prisoner must wait until

his “execution is imminent.” Jd. at 946. Third, the

prisoner must abide by AEDPA. To secure federal

habeas relief, he must exhaust the Ford claim in

state court and, upon returning to federal court,

demonstrate that the state court’s ruling is “contrary

to” or “an unreasonable application” of clearly

established federal law. 28 U.S.C. §§ 2254(b)(1)(A),

(d)(1).

The Sixth Circuit’s decision here undoes those

constraints in several respects.

As a preliminary matter, the Sixth Circuit’s

definition of “incompetence” is looser than the Ford

standard. Rather than investigating the prisoner’s

ability to comprehend his death sentence, the Sixth

Circuit focuses on the prisoner’s capacity for effective

communication with his attorneys. Any mental

illness could trigger that minimal standard.

20

Also under the Sixth Circuit’s framework,

incompetency claims ripen much sooner, and stay

ripe for much longer, than Ford claims. Prisoners

like Carter (who are nowhere near execution) can

raise challenges at any point during their federal

habeas proceedings—from the initial filing until the

eve of certiorari review. No longer are they confined

to the period before their execution date.

Finally, these incompetency claims _ skirt

AEDPA. Under the Sixth Circuit’s decision, a

prisoner can bypass the state courts entirely, file his

claim in federal court, and secure de novo review. If

successful, the prisoner “prevent[s] [the] State{] from

enforcing {its] judgments, potentially forever.” App.

15a (Rogers, J., dissenting).

All told, the Sixth Circuit’s “right to

competence” displaces the Ford decision. The

decision below does everything that Ford does, but

on less rigorous terms—a lax definition of

“incompetence,” a long filing window, and no state

court deference. Because capital prisoners can now

litigate competency claims in this more favorable

forum, they will no longer have any use for Ford.

In short, the Sixth Circuit’s framework

impermissibly circumvents AEDPA and _ Ford.

Further review is therefore warranted.

Cc. The Sixth Circuit’s decision obstructs

Ohio’s capital litigation system.

Certiorari is necessary for a third reason. As

Judge Rogers observed below, the Sixth Circuit’s

decision is “an anomalous monkey wrench thrown

into the capital-litigation process.” App. 26a. It will

21

seriously and unnecessarily disrupt these

proceedings.

First, the “right to competence,” as defined by

the Sixth Circuit, is easily invoked. The district

court here ordered a hearing after “Carter

refused to meet with his attorneys” and his attorneys

expressed fear that “Carter could not understand the

proceedings or assist counsel.” App. 8a. Any capital

prisoner can replicate that scenario, request a

competency hearing under Rees, and seek an

immediate stay of proceedings. Cf. Rhines, 544 U.S.

at 277-78 (observing that “capital petitioners might

deliberately engage in dilatory tactics to prolong

their incarceration and avoid execution of the

sentence of death”).

Second, this process is quite protracted.

Carter filed his habeas petition in 2002 and his

competency motion in 2005. The district court issued

a determination in 2008 and the Sixth Circuit

affirmed that finding in 2010. Over eight years have

passed without any consideration of the merits of

Carter’s habeas petition. A capital prisoner

advancing a_ similar incompetency motion—no

matter how frivolous—can expect a similar delay.

Third, the Sixth Circuit’s decision gives birth

to all sorts of collateral litigation. Most immediate,

the Sixth Circuit instructed the district court to sort

through Carter’s remaining habeas claims and

“determine whether Carter’s assistance is essential

to their full and fair adjudication.” App. 15a. If the

district court allows any claims to go forward, Carter

will appeal. Next, the State will develop a

medication plan in an effort to restore Carter to

competency. Carter will presumably object to forced

22

medication, prompting another round of hearings

and appeals. See, e.g., Sell v. United States, 539 U.S.

166 (2003). Finally, if Carter’s condition improves,

the State will ask the district court to lift the stay.

As part of its new responsibility “to monitor Carter’s

on-going condition,” App. 14a, the district court will

appoint another coterie of experts, conduct another

competency hearing, and issue another set of

findings—and the displeased party will take yet

another appeal.

Fourth, “competency” is not a static condition.

A capital prisoner deemed competent at the start of

his habeas proceeding may claim that he has later

become incompetent. When habeas proceedings span

decades (as they often do in the Sixth Circuit), a

prisoner can seek several competency

determinations. Each request then restarts this

lengthy process.

And all these labors will be for naught:

Contrary to the Sixth Circuit’s assumption, see App.

12a-13a, prisoners like Carter (even if they regain

competency) may not submit new evidence in a

federal habeas proceeding. They must demonstrate

an entitlement to relief using only “the record that

was before that state court.” Pinholster, 131 S. Ct. at

1398.

At bottom, the Sixth Circuit’s “monkey

wrench” forestalls the conclusion of an untold

number of capital habeas proceedings and frustrates

“the State’s strong interest in enforcing its criminal

judgments.” Hill v. McDonough, 547 U.S. 573, 584

(2006). If such consequences are to be imposed on

the State and its citizens, they should occur only

after careful deliberation from this Court.

23

CONCLUSION

The Court should grant the petition for

certiorarl.

August 17, 2011

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL DEWINE

Attorney General of Ohio

ALEXANDRA T. SCHIMMER*

Solicitor General

*Counsel of Record

DAVID M. LIEBERMAN

Deputy Solicitor

30 East Broad St., 17th Floor

Columbus, Ohio 43215

614-466-8980

alexandra.schimmer@

ohioattorneygeneral.gov

Counsel for Petitioner

Terry Tibbals, Warden

APPENDIX

| veer & Vev.

—

~ PILED

Rae 11-218 AUG 17 2011

ae arhe No. __ OFFICE OF THE CLERK

3n the Supreme Court of the Anited States

TERRY TIBBALS, Warden,

Petitioner,

Vv.

SEAN CARTER,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

APPENDIX

MICHAEL DEWINE

Attorney General of Ohio

ALEXANDRA T. SCHIMMER*

Solicitor General

*Counsel of Record

DAVID M. LIEBERMAN

Deputy Solicitor

30 East Broad St., 17th Floor

Columbus, Ohio 43215

614-466-8980

alexandra.schimmer@

ohioattorneygeneral.gov

Counsel for Petitioner

Terry Tibbals, Warden

Fenn es c . _ Aw oraed

Law Liorery

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Appendix A: Opinion, United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, May 26, 2011............ la

Appendix B: Order of Dismissal, United

States District Court, Northern District of

Ohio, Eastern Division, Sept. 29, 2008................... 27a

Appendix C: Judgment Entry, United States

District Court, Northern District of Ohio,

Eastern Division, Sept. 29, 2008 ....................02c000ee 55a

la

APPENDIX A

RECOMMENDED FOR FULL-TEXT

PUBLICATION

Pursuant to Sixth Circuit Rule 206

File Name: 11a0146p.06

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

No. 08-4377

SEAN CARTER,

Petitioner-Appellee,

v.

MARGARET BRADSHAW, Warden,

Respondent-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Ohio at Toledo.

No. 02-00524—Peter C. Economus, District Judge.

Argued: December 2, 2010

Decided and Filed: May 26, 2011

Before: MARTIN, COLE, and ROGERS,

Circuit Judges

COUNSEL

ARGUED: Charles L. Wille, OFFICE OF THE

OHIO ATTORNEY GENERAL, Columbus, Ohio, for

2a

Appellant. Linda Kk. Prucha, OHIO PUBLIC

DEFENDER’S OFFICE, Columbus, Ohio, for

Appellee. ON BRIEF: Charles L. Wille, Holly E.

LeClair, OFFICE OF THE OHIO ATTORNEY

GENERAL, Columbus, Ohio, for Appellant. Linda E.

Prucha, Rachel Troutman, OHIO PUBLIC

DEFENDER’S OFFICE, Columbus, Ohio, for

Appellee.

MARTIN, J., delivered the opinion of the

court, in which COLE, J., joined. ROGERS, J. (pp.

12-18), delivered a separate dissenting opinion.

OPINION |

BOYCE F. MARTIN, JR., Circuit Judge. In

this habeas action where petitioner Sean Carter is

facing the death penalty according to his Ohio

conviction, the district court found that Carter is

incompetent, dismissed his _ petition without

prejudice, and equitably tolled the Antiterrorism and

Effective Death Penalty Act statute of limitations

prospectively until he is competent to proceed.

Respondent Warden Margaret Bradshaw appeals

that decision. For the following reasons, we

AMEND the district court’s judgment and

REMAND the case to the district court for

proceedings in accordance with this opinion.

I. BACKGROUND

For a full description of the facts of this case,

we point to the thorough order of the district court.

We detail here only the facts necessary for our

3a

discussion. After Carter exhausted the Ohio state

review processes for his conviction, he was housed in

a facility for prisoners with severe mental illnesses.

His attorneys attempted to meet with him there to

discuss avenues for collateral appeal, but he refused

to see them. Worried that their client was

incompetent and choosing to forego further appeals

of his conviction and sentence, the attorneys filed

Carter’s habeas petition and a motion for a pre-

petition competency hearing.

The district court held a competency hearing

on May 1, 2006 at which experts for both parties

agreed that Carter suffered from schizophrenia,

personality disorder, and hallucinations. They also

agreed that he was not able to fully and articulately

communicate with his counsel, but they disagreed as

to how well he could assist his counsel in his case.

Carter’s first expert, Dr. Robert Stinson, opined that

Carter lacked a factual understanding of the

proceedings. He explained that Carter could not

provide details or elaboration, or engage in dialogue.

Additionally, he explained that Carter did not

believe he could be executed unless he volunteered,

and that Carter could not accurately identify his

attorneys, instead thinking that Bradshaw’s expert,

Dr. Phillip Resnick, was his attorney. Carter also

called Dr. Michael Gelbort, a clinical

neuropsychologist, who testified that Carter could

not accurately describe historical events from his

case and could not learn and retain new information.

On the other hand, Resnick testified that Carter

could provide basic details to his counsel, albeit

without much elaboration. He also believed, based

upon the opinion of a social worker who had worked

4a

with Carter and not upon his own clinical

examination, that Carter had accepted that he would

be executed if he lost his appeals.

Approximately two years later, Stinson

provided the court with an updated description of

Carter’s condition. Stinson opined that Carter’s

condition had become “progressively worse, and

despite treatment, he appears to have significant

psychosis and functional limitations even when he is

at his expected baseline.” Based upon the evidence

presented at the hearing and Stinson’s update, the

court concluded that Carter was incompetent to

understand his current position or to assist his

habeas counsel. As a result, the court dismissed the

habeas petition without prejudice and prospectively

tolled the AEDPA statute of limitations until Carter

regained competency.

Il. DISCUSSION

A. The Right to Competence in the Habeas

Context

Federal habeas petitioners facing the death

penalty for state criminal convictions do not enjoy a

constitutional right to competence. However, the

Supreme Court held long ago that they do have a

statutory right to competence in certain situations.

In Rees v. Peyton, 384 U.S. 312, 313-14 (1966), a

habeas petitioner facing death row petitioned the

Court for a writ of certiorari, but subsequently

“directed his counsel to withdraw the petition and

forgo any further legal proceedings.” To the Court,

“{w]hether or not [the defendant] shall be allowed in

these circumstances to withdraw his certiorari

petition is a question which it is ultimately the

responsibility of this Court to determine, in the

resolution of which Rees’ mental competence is of

prime importance.” Jd. at 313. The Court ordered

the district court to “make a judicial determination

as to Rees’ mental competence and render a report

on the matter” in order to “aid... the proper exercise

of th[e] Court’s certiorari jurisdiction.” Jd. at 313-14.

To accomplish this goal, the Court directed the

district court to apply 18 U.S.C. §§ 4244-4245, which

has been recodified as 18 U.S.C. § 4241. Id. at 314.

Section 4241 states that a district court may

hold a competency hearing “if there is reasonable

cause to believe that the defendant may presently be

suffering from a mental disease or defect rendering

him mentally incompetent to the extent that he is

unable to understand the nature and consequences of

the proceedings against him or to assist properly in

his defense.” 18 U.S.C. § 4241 (2006) (emphasis

added). If, according to this standard, the district

court concludes that a defendant is mentally

incompetent, the court:

shall commit the defendant to the custody of

the Attorney General. The Attorney General

shall hospitalize the defendant for treatment

in a suitable facility--

(1) for such a reasonable period of time,

not to exceed four months, as is

necessary to determine whether there is

a substantial probability that in the

foreseeable future he will attain the

capacity to permit the proceedings to go

forward; and

6a

(2) for an additional reasonable period

of time until--

(A) his mental condition is so

improved that trial may proceed,

if the court finds that there is a

substantial probability that

within such additional period of

time he will attain the capacity to

permit the proceedings to go

forward; or

(B) the pending charges against

him are disposed of according to

law;

whichever is earlier.

Id. § 4241(d). Additionally, section 4241(d) explains

that if the defendant’s mental condition does not

improve, he may be institutionalized for a longer

period of time according to 18 U.S.C. §§ 4246, 4248.

Id.

By applying section 4241 to habeas actions,

Rees addresses the situation where a_ habeas

petitioner awaiting the death penalty may seek to

forego any collateral attacks on his conviction or

sentence, and defines a statutory right for the

petitioner to be competent enough to (1) understand

the nature and consequences of the proceedings

against him, and (2) assist properly in his defense.

Furthermore, we have relied on Rees and held

that federal habeas courts may conduct preliminary

hearings to determine “whether there was

‘reasonable cause to believe that the defendant may

Ta

presently be suffering from a mental disease or

defect rendering him mentally incompetent’ to waive

his right to further appeals.” Harper v. Parker, 177

F.3d 567, 571 (6th Cir. 1999) (quoting 18 U.S.C.

§ 4241). A district court’s determination whether

there was “reasonable cause” is reviewed for abuse of

discretion. Jd. at 571-72.

In Harper, a psychiatrist had diagnosed a

habeas petitioner as schizophrenic and opined that

he was incompetent to assist in his defense. Id. at

568. The petitioner's counsel moved for a pre-

petition competency hearing because the petitioner

wanted to waive all his remaining post-conviction

proceedings. Jd. at 568. We held that the district

court properly conducted a section 4241 hearing to

determine whether the petitioner was competent to

proceed. /d. at 571. We also held that the district

court did not abuse its discretion in holding that the

petitioner was competent to proceed based upon the

evidence presented and the petitioner’s participation

in the hearing. Jd. at 572.

Rees and Harper anticipate any situation

where a capital habeas petitioner chooses to forego

seeking his habeas relief. They do not cabin the

application of section 4241 to only scenarios where a

petitioner chooses to terminate an appeal, or begin,

pause, or delay one for that matter. Anytime a

capital habeas petitioner affirmatively seeks to

forego his habeas petition, whether by action or

inaction, Rees and Harper hold that a district court

may employ section 4241. Additionally, Rees and

Harper are clear that this is a one-way street. Only

the petitioner’s indication to forego his appeal may

8a

trigger section 4241’s application. The state cannot

forcibly activate section 4241.

Based on Rees and Harper, the district court

did not abuse its discretion in conducting a section

4241 competency hearing. Carter had refused to

meet with his attorneys to discuss collateral attacks

on his conviction, worrying them that he might not

pursue his habeas petition. Carter’s attorneys also

claimed that Carter could not understand the

proceedings or assist counsel in his defense. At the

hearing, the court heard expert testimony from both

parties that Carter suffered from multiple

psychological disorders affecting his abilities to relay

facts to his counsel and communicate in detail.

Carter’s experts believed that any discourse that

Carter could engage in with his attorneys would be

meaningless because of his complete lack of detailed

communication. Furthermore, Carter’s experts

testified that he was confused as to the identity of his

counsel and that he believed he would not be

executed unless he volunteered; an _ irreversibly

dangerous false belief. While Resnick disagreed and

opined that Carter had finally accepted that he

would be executed unless he prevailed upon

collateral appeal, Resnick did not make this finding

himself, opting instead to adopt the non-scientific

conclusion of a social worker who did not testify at

the hearing.

The district court did not abuse its discretion

in conducting a competency hearing. Carter’s refusal

to meet with his attorneys to discuss collateral

attacks on his conviction would have terminated any

right to pursue a habeas writ if it extended beyond

Sa

the AEDPA statute of limitations. The district court

also did not abuse its discretion in finding that there

was reasonable cause to believe that Carter was

incompetent, and in further finding that he was

incompetent to assist his counsel.

B. The Proper Remedy

1. The district court’s dismissal

without prejudice and prospective

tolling of the AEDPA statute of

limitations

The district court dismissed Carter’s petition

without prejudice and prospectively tolled the

statute of limitations largely based on the holding in

Hargrove v. Brigano, 300 F.3d 717 (6th Cir. 2002).

In Hargrove, a petitioner filed a habeas petition

asserting claims that had not been exhausted at the

state level. Jd. at 718. The district court dismissed

the petition without prejudice and equitably tolled

the AEDPA statute of limitations prospectively upon

the condition that the petitioner exhaust his claims

at the state level and return to federal court within

thirty days. Jd. The respondent argued that a court

cannot prospectively toll a statute of limitations

because tolling is an issue that should be presented

to a court later in time after the statute has expired.

Nevertheless, we affirmed the district court’s

decision, remarking that the court had basically

achieved a stay and abeyance and still ensured that

the “case would move forward expeditiously.” Jd. at

721.

However, the decision in Hargrove cannot be

applied to Carter’s case for three reasons. First, it

10a

could potentially toll the AEDPA statute of

limitations indefinitely. That result would be quite

different than the thirty-day window in Hargrove

that we noted would still allow the case to be

resolved expeditiously. The result would not

resemble a stay and abeyance and could prevent

either party from ever presenting its case to the

district court.

Second, in Hargrove, the petitioner had the

onus to act in order to preserve his petition, and the

respondent had no burden besides defending against

the petition. Here, however, the onus would shift to

the respondent. An indefinite toll would prevent

Bradshaw from defending against the petition unless

she continually filed petitions seeking enforcement of

the state conviction and sentence.

Finally, the petition in Hargrove was tolled so

that the petitioner could exhaust his claims at the

state level and quickly return to federal court instead

of forcing him to file a new petition. This

jurisdictional reason is far different from the issue of

incompetency.

Furthermore, it does not appear that any case

has ever held that the AEDPA statute of limitations

may be equitably tolled prospectively because the

petitioner was incompetent. The only published

authority we have found where equitable tolling was

applied in habeas cases because of the petitioner’s

incompetence is from our sister circuits, and tolling

was applied in those cases retrospectively. See

Bolarinwa v. Williams, 593 F.3d 226, 231 (2d Cir.

2010); Laws v. Lamarque, 351 F.3d 919, 923 (9th Cir.

2003); Nara v. Frank, 264 F.3d 310, 320 (3d Cir.

lla

2001) (overruled in part on other grounds by Carey uv.

Saffold, 536 U.S. 214 (2002)); Fisher v. Johnson, 174

F.3d 710, 715 (5th Cir. 1999).

Accordingly, it was improper for the district

court to dismiss Carter’s petition and prospectively

toll the AEDPA statute of limitations indefinitely.

2. Next friends

Bradshaw contends that the district court

should appoint a next friend who can continue to

litigate Carter’s petition on his behalf. Generally,

next friends proceed in litigation on behalf of a party

that cannot seek relief because of incompetence or

inaccessibility. Whitmore v. Arkansas, 495 U.S. 149,

162 (1990). The federal habeas statute specifically

anticipates that a petition may be filed by someone

other than the petitioner acting on the petitioner’s

behalf. 28 U.S.C. § 2242. To that end, we have

recognized a district court’s ability to appoint a next

friend for a habeas petitioner on death row who is

incompetent. See Martiniano ex rel. Reid v. Bell, 454

F.3d 616, 617 (6th Cir. 2006). However, before

appointing a next friend to an incompetent habeas

petitioner, a court must find that the next friend is

“truly dedicated to the best interests of the person on

whose behalf he seeks to litigate.” Whitmore, 495

U.S. at 163. “[T]he writ of habeas corpus should

[not] be availed of, as matter of course, by intruders

or uninvited meddlers, styling themselves next

friends.” Jd. at 164 (internal quotations and citation

omitted). Indeed, it is preferred, if not required, that

a next friend “have some significant relationship

with the real party in interest.” Jd. Importantly, the

“

next friend must have more than merely “a

12a

generalized interest in constitutional governance.”

Id.

We find these qualifications for a next friend

especially significant for Carter’s claims of ineffective

assistance of counsel. Only Carter ‘nows critical

parts of the factual basis for these claims. As the

district court noted, Carter alone has evidence of the

interactions between him and his trial and appellate

attorneys, and that evidence is inaccessible as long

as he remains unable to communicate with his

habeas attorneys. Really, a next friend could no

more than speculate as to the evidence that Carter

may know, and Carter “is better positioned than

anyone” to provide that evidence in support of his

claim. Rohan ex rel. Gates v. Woodford, 334 F.3d

803, 818 (9th Cir. 2003). Therefore, a next friend

would be just as unable as Carter to assist Carter’s

attorneys in this respect. See id. (commenting that

only the habeas petitioner’s “private knowledge”

could truly support his ineffective assistance claim

because of his “unique position to testify about the

extent of his trial counsel’s efforts”); see also Holmes

v. Buss, 506 F.3d 576, 580 (7th Cir. 2007) (noting

that, unlike most cases, a habeas petitioner can

contribute to his attorney’s strategy concerning

claims of ineffective assistance and prosecutorial

misconduct because he was present for the trial, his

habeas counsel was not, and he may retain “a better

sense of the alleged misbehavior of the prosecutor

and of defense counse! than the trial transcript and

other documentation provide’).

Where the factual basis for Carter’s claims is

locked away exclusively in his memory, he faces the

13a

lonely certainty that no friends in this world could

meaningfully be dedicated to his interests because

they lack the benefit of his knowledge. Even Carter’s

most ardent supporters might be _ subjectively

dedicated to litigating on his behalf, but as long as

they lack the facts that are vital to Carter’s claims,

they cannot be dedicated in the sense necessary for a

next friend to stand fully in Carter’s place litigating

his claims as wholly as he can. It would be

inappropriate to appoint a next friend for Carter's

ineffective assistance of counsel claims where the

next friend would be forced to proceed through this

action without the foundational facts that support

Carter’s claims.

However, we recognize that Carter’s other

claims might possibly be litigated without his

assistance. Just because Carter might be able to

contribute assistance to all his claims does not mean

that his assistance is essential. The district court

must determine whether it can fully and fairly

adjudicate Carter’s other claims without evidence

from Carter. Perhaps some claims require no

evidence from Carter whatsoever. Perhaps others

could benefit from it, but that evidence could be

replicated by, or substituted with, other sources. If

the district court determines that Carter’s assistance

is not essential to the adjudication of these other

claims, then the court should appoint a next friend to

litigate them.

3. Stay of the proceedings according

to section 4241(d)

Instead of dismissing Carter’s petition without

prejudice and prospectively tolling the AEDPA

l4a

statute of limitations, the district court should have

followed the path taken in Rohan, a similar case that

the district court cited. In Rohan, 334 F.3d at 819,

the Ninth Circuit held that habeas proceedings

should be stayed until the petitioner is found to be

competent to proceed. Every court has the incidental

power to stay proceedings and manage its docket as

it sees fit. Landis v. N. Am. Co., 299 U.S. 248, 254

(1936). Furthermore, federal courts overseeing

habeas actions have statutory authority to stay state

court proceedings for any matter relating to the

habeas proceeding. McFarland v. Scott, 512 U.S.

849, 857 (1994) (citing 28 U.S.C. § 2251). Staying

Carter’s habeas petition would fall in line with

section 4241(d) whereby a court may hospitalize

incompetent defendants until they are competent to

proceed, and we have already applied section 4241(d)

to habeas cases. See Hargrove, 300 F.3d at 721.

Moreover, in Hargrove, we favorably likened the

temporary prospective tolling of the statue of

limitations to a stay and abeyance, hinting at our

approval for such a course of action. Id.

Understandably, the district court may have wished

to remove this case from its docket instead of letting

it linger, but dismissing the case inconveniences

Bradshaw by forcing her to lay aside Ohio’s

execution of Carter until some unknown time in the

future. It also reduces the possibility that Carter’s

petition will ever be considered by the district court,

thus dashing his hopes to establish his entitlement

to habeas relief. Staying the proceedings according

to section 4241(d) would allow all parties to remain

actively involved and the court to monitor Carter's

on-going condition.

l5a

Accordingly, we amend the district court’s

judgment. The district court should not have

dismissed Carter’s habeas petition without prejudice.

Instead, Carter’s petition should be stayed according

to section 4241(d) with respect to his ineffective

assistance claims and any other claims that the

district court determines essentially require his

assistance.

[1l. CONCLUSION

The district court did not abuse its discretion

in holding a pre-petition competency hearing or by

concluding that Carter was incompetent. However,

dismissing Carter’s petition and equitably tolling the

AEDPA statute of limitations prospectively was an

inappropriate disposition. Rather, with respect to

Carter’s ineffective assistance claims, the habeas

proceedings should be stayed until Carter is

competent according to section 4241. The district

court must examine the remainder of Carter’s claims

to determine whether Carter’s assistance is essential

to their full and fair adjudication. If not, the court

should appoint a next friend to litigate those claims.

Accordingly, we AMEND the district court’s

judgment and REMAND the case to the district

court for proceedings in accordance with this opinion.

DISSENT

ROGERS, J., dissenting. Today the court

allows habeas petitioners to prevent States from

enforcing their judgments, potentially forever, on the

grounds of a nonexistent right to competency in

16a

habeas proceedings. The asserted right has no basis

in the Constitution or federal statutes. Civil suits

can be brought by lawyers representing mentally

incompetent plaintiffs, and habeas cases are no

different. Nor are capital cases different in this

respect.

First of all, the Constitution, in a point

conceded by the majority and all but admitted by

Carter’s counsel during oral argument, does not

provide a right to competency in habeas proceedings.

As the Supreme Court explained in United States v.

MacCollom, 426 U.S. 317, 323 (1976), due process

“certainly does not establish any right to collaterally

attack a final judgment of conviction.” Moreover, the

Court held in Pennsylvania v. Finley, 481 U.S. 551,

555 (1987), that there is no constitutional right to

counsel for habeas proceedings. If Carter has no

constitutional right to a habeas proceeding in the

first place, and has no constitutional right to counsel

at that proceeding, he logically cannot have the right

to be competent so as to communicate with and/or

assist counsel during his habeas proceeding. This

conclusion is buttressed by Whitmore v. Arkansas,

495 U.S. 149, 162-64 (1990), in which the Supreme

Court explicitly recognized that a “next friend” can

be appointed to initiate and pursue claims on behalf

of a habeas petitioner who is mentally incapacitated.

If the law permits a next friend to be appointed in

order to prosecute the claims of an incompetent

habeas petitioner, it cannot also require that a

petitioner’s habeas proceeding be indefinitely stayed

if a court deems the petitioner incompetent.

17a

This case does not involve the separate right of

a condemned prisoner to be competent at the time of

execution. See Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399

(1986). That right has to do with the nature of the

punishment, and little to do with whether a habeas

petition can proceed in order to determine whether

the petitioner has been constitutionally convicted.

This case also does not involve’ the

constitutional right to competency during the trial

itself. See e.g., Cooper v. Oklahoma, 517 U.S. 348,

354 (1996). There is a world of difference between

trial and collateral attack. Assisting counsel in one’s

defense at trial is one thing, where the central issue

is whether or not the defendant is guilty, and where

counsel is constitutionally required. Assisting one’s

counsel in a habeas petition is another thing, where

the central issue is whether the defendant’s

constitutional rights were violated, and due process

does not even require that counsel be provided.

The Constitution thus does not provide that

capital habeas petitions be stayed as long as the

petitioner is not competent.

There is also no statutory basis for such a

conclusion. Rees v. Peyton (Rees JI), 384 U.S. 312

(1966), cited by the majority, cannot be read to

extend a statutory right to competency to the

circumstances of the instant case. In Rees, the

district court rejected a death row inmate’s habeas

petition, the court of appeals affirmed, and the

inmate’s counsel then filed a petition for certiorari

with the Supreme Court. Jd. at 312-13. Soon after,

the inmate directed his counsel to withdraw his

petition for certiorari. Jd. at 313. The Court ordered

18a

the district court to conduct a competency

determination of the inmate and_é£iretained

jurisdiction of the certiorari petition pending the

results of the hearing. Jd. at 314. Following a

hearing in which the district court found the inmate

incompetent, the Supreme Court issued a summary

order stating, “This case is held without action on the

petition until further order of the Court.” Rees v.

Peyton (Rees IT), 386 U.S. 989 (1967). This court also

applied Rees in Harper v. Parker, 177 F.3d 567, 571

(6th Cir. 1999), where we held that district courts

may conduct preliminary hearings to determine

“whether there was ‘reasonable cause to believe that

the defendant may presently be suffering from a

mental disease or defect rendering him ment.ully

incompetent’ to waive his right to further appeals.”

Id. (quoting 18 U.S.C. § 4241).

Thus, Rees and Harper plausibly stand for the

proposition that habeas petitioners must be

competent in order to terminate a habeas proceeding.

They do not stand for the very different proposition

that habeas petitioners must be competent to assist

counsel in the prosecution of their habeas petition.

The distinction is crucial. When a habeas petitioner

seeks to withdraw his habeas petition, he is choosing

to end what is likely to be his only chance at

reversing his conviction and regaining his freedom.

This is a decision inherently to be made by the

petitioner, and not while the _ petitioner is

incompetent to do so. When a habeas petitioner files

his petition and then becomes incompetent to assist

his counsel in prosecuting it, however, there is no

comparable client decision to be made.

19a

Stated differently, the Rees precedent can be

read to create an assumption that a habeas challenge

to a death penalty will go forward unless the

petitioner competently terminates it. Such an

assumption cannot logically require that the habeas

proceeding will not go on—or indeed that it will be

resolved in petitioner’s favor—merely because the

petitioner is not competent to terminate it.

The statute referred to by the Supreme Court

in Rees, 18 U.S.C. § 4241, provides for competency

hearings for defendants in criminal proceedings, and

cannot be read to extend to _ post-conviction

proceedings. The Supreme Court took the standard

from that statute and adopted it for the purpose of

determining whether the habeas petitioner in Rees

was competent to terminate the habeas proceedings.

The Court’s adoption of the statutory standard for

one required inquiry (competency to terminate

proceedings) does not logically imply that another

inquiry (competency to assist habeas counsel) needs

to be made in the first place. Notably, the Ninth

Circuit, in its lengthy opinion holding that

incompetent habeas petitioners are entitled to a stay,

does not rely on § 4241 as so providing. Rohan ex rel.

Gates v. Woodford, 334 F.3d 803 (9th Cir. 2003).

Instead, the Ninth Circuit’s holding is based

on a different statute, one upon which the majority

in this case wisely declines to rely. In Rohan, the

district court held a competency hearing for a death

row habeas petitioner and concluded that the

petitioner was incompetent. Jd. at 806. Nonetheless,

the district court went on to deny the petitioner's

request for a stay of his habeas proceedings, holding

20a

that neither the Constitution nor the federal habeas

statutes required that the proceedings be stayed,

because the appointment of a “next friend”

adequately protected the petitioner’s interests. Id.

The Ninth Circuit reversed. The Ninth Circuit

interpreted 21 U.S.C. § 848(q)(4)(B) (now recodified

as 18 U.S.C. § 3599(a)(2)), which provides for

appointed counsel in death penalty habeas

proceedings, as implying a right to “meaningful”

assistance of counsel, which itself depends on the

petitioner’s ability to communicate rationally with

counsel. Jd. at 812-13. Hence, concluded the Ninth

Circuit, Congress meant (though it never said) that a

habeas petitioner has the right to be competent

during his habeas proceedings. /d. at 813.

But the plain language of the statute provides

for no such right, and none is ever mentioned.

Instead, Congress provided a_ detailed list of

instructions and specifications governing appointed

counsel’s qualifications and experience in capital

habeas proceedings. See 18 U.S.C. § 3599(b)-(e).

These provisions in no way speak to the actual

effectiveness of counsel's performance during a

habeas proceeding, they simply prescribe a minimum

level of background knowledge for appointed counsel.

In particular, they say nothing about the competency

of the petitioner.

The Rohan court relied in part on the

implication of a right to competency from a right to

counsel from other contexts, such as_ the

constitutional right to competency at trial. Rohan,

334 F.3d at 813. But trial and post-conviction

proceedings are different, and in any event the

2la

inference as a_ statutory matter is directly

contradicted by a_ specific statutory provision.

AEDPA forecloses claims on collateral] attack for

ineffective assistance of habeas counsel: “The

ineffectiveness or incompetence of counsel during

Federal oor State collateral post-conviction

proceedings shall not be a ground for relief in a

proceeding arising under section 2254.” 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254(i); see Benner v. Coyle, No. 99-3570, 1999 WL

33453848, at *1 (6th Cir. Nov. 1, 1999). If an

underlying right to effective assistance of habeas

counsel cannot be implied from 18 U.S.C. § 3599,

then the derivative right to be competent in habeas

proceedings so as to assist counsel cannot be implied

either.

There is in short no legal basis whatsoever for

inferring a right to competency of the petitioner in

habeas proceedings. It is a right created out of whole

cloth.

It is also a right that is anomalous in its very

nature. For practical purposes, the right will be

asserted by capital petitioners but not by other

petitioners. Capital petitioners gain something

(delaying execution) from indefinitely delaying

habeas proceedings, while the interests of convicts

serving prison terms—whether competent or not—

will almost always be served by the prompt litigation

of habeas petitions, so as to advance the possibility of

release. But acceptance of the nght in concept might

well require that it be applied to noncapital cases,

where prosecutors could insist that habeas be

indefinitely delayed. One might argue that

noncapital defendants may waive the right, but by

22a

hypothesis such defendants are incompetent, and

thus might be incapable of waiving the right. So

recognition of a right to competency in habeas

proceedings means either that prosecutors can for

practical purposes insist on indefinite postponement

of habeas proceedings where convicts are not

competent (a counterintuitive result), or that the

difference in punishment—capital vs. noncapital—

somehow fundamentally changes the nature of how

much a lawyer must have input from the client, such

that the right is categorically available only for

capital convicts (an anomalous result).

It is also anomalous to have a system in which

a civil litigant can go into court and instantly get the

relief he seeks merely by showing that he is

incompetent. In civil cases in our system, a plaintiff

has to show a basis for relief, not merely that he is

disabled from making such a showing. While habeas

cases deal with criminal convictions, they are at

bottom civil cases.

Finally, the very ways in which competency is

said to be necessary for habeas petitioners would

apply just as strongly to the competency of witnesses

in habeas proceedings. A key witness in a habeas

proceeding—one whose input or testimony might

make all the difference—might become incompetent

or be unable to testify. But no one would argue that

a habeas proceeding therefore could not proceed.

The parties just have to do the best that is possible

with the witnesses and testimony that are available,

subject to the rules of evidence.

These concerns are reflected in the facts of this

case. Although the district court found that several

23a

of Carter’s habeas claims could potentially benefit

from his assistance, at least three of these claims

plainly do not require any input from Carter for their

successful prosecution. Thus, even recognizing a

right to competency does not prevent the district

court from resolving the merits of at least these

habeas claims. These include Carter’s claims that:

(1) he was incompetent to stand trial; (2) his trial

counsel was ineffective for failing to pursue the issue

of his competency; and (3) his appellate counsel was

ineffective for not appealing the trial court’s failure

to ensure that he was competent. As for the first of

these three claims, Carter’s competency is a question

of fact, see Thompson v. Keohane, 516 U.S. 99, 111

(1995), and he has the burden of rebutting the

presumption that the state court’s factual findings

were correct, see 28 U.S.C. § 2254(e)(1); McAdoo uv.

Elo, 365 F.3d 487, 494 (6th Cir. 2004). Carter’s

competency claim thus depends entirely on the

evidence available to the state trial court. The trial

court in this case held two competency hearings

before trial and found Carter competent after both.

Carter’s counsel can, as they have already done in

his habeas petition, point out any errors in the trial

court’s assessment of Carter’s competency so as to

prove that the state-court decision was contrary to or

an unreasonable application of federal law or was

based on an unreasonable determination of the facts.

See 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d). They can clearly do so

without the need for information available only to

Carter.

The same is true for the other two claims. As

noted, the record for this case already contains

extensive evidence concerning Carter’s competency.

24a

The record also sufficiently reflects Carter’s trial

counsel’s efforts to prove that he was incompetent

and how his appellate counsel handled _ the

competency issue on appeal. No information

available only to Carter would alter the merits of

these claims for purposes of the habeas standard.

Perhaps recognizing this, the majority fashions the

particularly anomalous remedy of remanding the

case in part, for the district court to identify those

claims that do not require Carter’s assistance and

then to appoint a next friend to litigate those claims

on Carter’s behalf. This “remedy,” however,

necessarily has the incongruous effect of staying part

of the case indefinitely while allowing another part of

the case to go forward, with the scope of the latter

part to be determined wholly by the district court.

This compounds the hobbling of the State’s

legitimate interests in finality and execution of its

judgments.

Two of the remaining claims identified by the

district court—Carter’s removal from the trial

proceedings and the ineffective assistance of his trial

counsel during mitigation—could potentially benefit

from Carter’s assistance. In the first place, it is

questionable whether, under the evidentiary

limitations imposed by AEDPA, Carter’s counsel

could introduce new evidence on habeas review in

support of these claims, even if Carter were

competent.!' More fundamentally, however, any

1 For the claim concerning Carter’s removal from the

trial proceedings, Carter first raised this as an instance of

ineffective assistance of appellate counsel in his Ohio Rule of

25a

assistance that Carter could give would be

conceptually indistinguishable from that of a

witness. The assistance, if any, from Carter would

be the provision of information that could be used to

support the claims. But that is exactly what a

witness provides. The incompetency of witnesses

does not stop civil proceedings, and it is anomalous

that the incompetency of a plaintiff should stop

Appellate Procedure 26(B) application to reopen his direct

appeal. Carter’s Rule 26(B) application, however, did not

include an affidavit from Carter concerning whether he wanted

to be in the courtroom for his trial and sentencing. Under the

Ohio Rules, Carter’s application to reopen his direct appeal

needed to contain a sworn statement of the basis for his claim of

ineffective assistance of appellate counsel, any parts of the

record available to him, and all supplemental affidavits upon

which he relied. Ohio R. App. P. 26(B)(2); Morgan v. Eads, 818

N.E.2d 1157, 1159 (Ohio 2004). Ohio courts hold that the

failure to support an ineffective-assistance-of-appellate-counsel

claim with material outside the record is grounds for dismissal

of a Rule 26(B) application. See State v. Griffie, 658 N.E.2d 764,

765 (Ohio 1996); State v. Dillon, 657 N.E.2d 273, 277 (Ohio

1995). Carter therefore failed to develop the factual basis for

his removal-from-trial claim, and the claim does not meet the

requirements of 28 U.S.C. § 2254(e)(2) since it is not based on a

new constitutional right and does not involve evidence that he

was actually innocent. See 28 U.S.C. § 2254(e)(2)(A), (B). With

respect to his ineffective-assistance-during-mitigation claim,

Carter requested an evidentiary hearing when he filed his state

post-conviction petition, but he failed to submit any evidentiary

documents in support of the claim. See Ohio Rev. Code

§ 2953.21(C); State v. Jackson, 413 N.E.2d 819, 822 (Ohio 1980).

Hence, Carter also failed to develop the factual basis of this

claim, and the claim also is not based on a new constitutional

right and does not involve evidence that Carter is actually

innocent. See 28 U.S.C. § 2254(e)(2)(A), (B).

26a

proceedings entirely because the party cannot act as

a witness.

Requiring competency on the part of capital

habeas petitioners is not compelled by the right to

competency at trial, the right to competency in

waiving further habeas proceedings, or the right to

be competent at the time of execution. The new

“right” is not provided by either the Constitution or

any statute. It is instead an anomalous monkey

wrench thrown into the capital-litigation process.

The district court’s order should be reversed,

and the case remanded in full so that the habeas

proceeding can go forward on all of Carter’s claims.

27a

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

Case No. 3:02CV524

Judge Peter C. EKconomus

SEAN CARTER,

Petitioner,

V.

MARGARET BRADSHAW, WARDEN,

Respondent.

ORDER OF DISMISSAL

Filed: September 29, 2008

This matter is before the Court upon

Petitioner, Sean Carters (“Carter”) Motion for

Competency Determination and to Stay Proceedings,

(Dkt. #132) (“Motion for Competency

Determination”). After conducting an evidentiary

hearing and reviewing several experts’ reports, the

Court finds Carter to be incompetent and therefore

unable to litigate grounds for relief one, two, five,

and six raised in the petition. Accordingly, the Court

DISMISSES the instant action WITHOUT

PREJUDICE. The Court prospectively tolls the

statute of limitations set forth in 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d).

28a

I. PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Carter was convicted and sentenced to death

in a Trumbull County Court of Common Pleas for the

aggravated murder, aggravated robbery, and rape of

Veader Prince. After exhausting his state court

appeals, he initiated the instant federal habeas

corpus proceeding on March 19, 2002. Also on that

date, Carter filed a Suggestion of Incompetence.

(Dkt. #1). Carter obtained permission to depose trial

counsel on December 17, 2003. (Dkt. #99). After

filing an initial petition and two amended petitions,

Carter sought and received permission to obtain

psychological and neurological experts to examine

him.

He thereafter filed a third amended petition

on October 3, 2005, (Dkt. #129), to which the

Respondent filed an amended return of writ. (Dkt.

#138). In this petition, Carter asserted, inter alia,

that his right to a fair trial was violated when he was

removed from it because of his disruptive behavior.

He also contended that defense counsel did not

pursue the competency issue diligently and that they

failed to investigate and present adequate mitigating

evidence during the penalty phase of trial.

Concurrent with the third amended petition,

Carter filed a Motion for Competency Determination

and to Stay Proceedings. (Dkt. #132). On November

29, 2005, the Court granted the Motion for

Competency Determination, staying the proceedings

pending a competency determination, and setting a

competency hearing date for December 16, 2005.

(Dkt. #139). After two continuances, the Court held

a competency hearing on May 1, 2006. (Dkt. #169-

70). It thereafter issued an Order granting the

29a

parties’ joint request for post-hearing briefing.

Additionally, it ordered Carter’s counsel to arrange

for the Respondent’s experts to observe Carter's

interaction with habeas counsel. (Dkt #171).

Carter filed an Objection with the Court,

asserting that permitting the State’s experts to

observe his interaction with counsel would violate

the attorney-client privilege. (Dkt. #173). After the

Court denied the Objection, Carter filed a Motion for

Certification of Appeal under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b),

asking the Court to stay the habeas proceeding and

notifying the Court that it would seek a writ of

mandamus if the Court were to deny the Motion.

(Dkt. #179). The Court denied the Motion on

February 1, 2007. (Dkt. #184).

Carter sought mandamus relief in the Sixth

Circuit Court of Appeals from the Court’s Order on

February 28, 2007. (Dkt. #185). After accepting

briefs on this issue, the Sixth Circuit granted Carter

mandamus relief on November 5, 2007. (Dkt. #186).

Thereafter, Carter filed a Motion for Records,

requesting that the Court permit him to procure

from the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and

Correction his medical records produced since the

May 1, 2006, evidentiary hearing. (Dkt. #190). The

Court granted the motion, allowing both parties to

review the records and submit supplemental briefs

by September 5, 2008.

Il. EVIDENTIARY HEARING &

POST-HEARING

As noted above, the Court held an evidentiary

hearing regarding Carter’s competency to proceed

with his habeas litigation on May 1, 2006. On that

30a

date, Carter called Dr. Robert Stinson to testify on

his behalf. Dr. Stinson first testified about Carter’s

childhood and mental health history. He stated that

Carter’s mother was diagnosed with schizophrenia

prior to his birth. Children’s Services removed

Carter from her custody at age two when he was

discovered tied to a couch and suffering from

malnutrition.

After being placed in foster care, Carter was

adopted. That adoption ended abruptly when

Children’s Services became aware of verbal and

physical abuse in the home. Carter thereafter was

adopted by the Carter family. He lived with them

until age 16 when he was placed in the custody of the

Department of Youth Services. Records from as far

back as age two indicate that Carter’s intellectual

functioning placed him in the mild mental

retardation range. By age six, one report indicated

that Carter was schizoid-prone and at high risk of

becoming detached from reality.

Based on these records and his examinations

of Carter, Dr. Stinson diagnosed Carter with

schizophrenia, undifferentiated type, continuous

course with prominent negative symptoms, as well as

depressive disorder not specified, a personality

disorder, and substance dependence that is in

remission. He stated that Carter experiences

hallucinations that lead to problems in perception.

The schizophrenia also distorts his inferential

thinking. Dr. Stinson concluded that deficits in

Carter’s behavioral monitoring manifests in poor

physical hygiene, spontaneous laughter, and

unpredictable agitation.

3la

Most significantly, Dr. Stinson observed, were

the disease’s affect on his language= and

communication abilities. When speaking to Carter,

Dr. Stinson observed that, “[Carter] lacks

spontaneity, lacks elaboration. His discussion is void

of detail. He doesn’t engage in dialogue and provides

a lot of empty responses.” (Dkt. #172, at 17).

Dr. Stinson opined that Carter does not have a

factual understanding of the proceedings. For

example, Dr. Stinson testified, Carter held the false

belief that he could not be executed unless he

volunteered. Additionally, when Dr. Stinson asked

Carter to supply him with the name of one of his

habeas attorneys, Carter responded with the name of

one of his trial attorneys and Dr. Phillip Resnick, the

examining psychiatrist for the State. His prognosis

for Carter’s return to lucidity was poor. Upon

observing that, even with powerful anti-psychotic

medication Carter still experienced several

symptoms of schizophrenia, Dr. Stinson concluded

that Carter likely will continue to experience severe

symptoms of schizophrenia unless and/or until a new

medication arrives that could more aggressively

arrest his disease. Id. at 30.

On cross-examination, the Respondent first

queried on what standard Dr. Stinson based his

opinion. Dr. Stinson replied that he used the

standard set forth in Rohan v. Woodford, 334 F.3d

803 (9th Cir. 2003), when assessing whether Carter

understood the nature of the proceedings against

him. Specifically, he questioned whether Carter

knew he had been sentenced to death, whether he

understood he could be executed, whether he

understood the appeals process, and whether he

32a

knew who his attorneys were and what their goals

were. (Dkt. #172, at 45).

The Respondent also questioned Dr. Stinson

about Carter’s belief that he could not be executed

without volunteering. She queried whether this false

belief derived from Carter’s being housed near a

death-row inmate who previously had waived all

further appeals and was thereafter executed. After

explaining that this was Carter’s only contact with a

fellow inmate who was executed, she questioned

whether Carter’s belief was rational and based on

observances he made.

Dr. Stinson replied that Carter’s inability to

comprehend that he could be executed was referred

to in psychological terms as a “fixed false belief,” Le.,

an inaccurate perception that does not change even

after attempts to educate the individual to the

contrary. (Dkt. #172, at 74). Consequently, Dr.

Stinson determined, Carter would continue to

internalize the belief that he could not be executed

without volunteering regardless of how many

occasions others attempted to dissuade him from this

belief. Dr. Stinson concluded that, based in part on

this false belief, Carter does not truly understand the

adversarial nature of the proceedings. Id. at 89.

Although Dr. Stinson conceded on cross-examination

that Carter could communicate with his attorneys,

he concluded that the severity of his schizophrenia

renders him an “unreliable historian,” requiring

collateral records to corroborate his responses. Id. at

98.

Carter next called Dr. Michael M. Gelbort, a

clinical neuropsychologist, to testify. After

examining Carter, Dr. Gelbort stated that Carter’s

33a

thinking skills are fragmented and _ distracted,

primarily due to his distraction from to internal

stimuli. He noted that in instances other than

receiving straightforward, concrete’ information,

Carter would have trouble responding. Dr. Gelbort

opined that Carter’s capacity to learn new

information and retain it was poor. When asked

whether Carter could assist his attorney, Dr. Gelbort

responded as folloys:

-

Will he be able to provide anything other than

a seemingly basic assistance, to be able to

consider what you present to him if it’s other

than very basic questions? While he may do

so in many ways, it’s not worth a whole lot of

time or effort on his attorneys’ part because

his cognitive capabilities are so limited based

on the test results, that what he will produce

or give back to you is going to be of limited

benefit ....

I know from my experience trying to

elicit history, he is judged to be a very, very

poor historian. Not that he’s unwilling, but

just simply to ask him questions does not elicit

information from him that if he does know, he

will recognize as being’ important or

significant or relevant. And there are many

times when, because of his poor memory, he

doesn’t have that information available to him

at all, even though you would think that he

would.

(Dkt. #172, at 112-13).

The State called the final witness of the

hearing, psychiatrist Dr. Phillip Resnick. Dr.

34a

Resnick diagnosed Carter with chronic

undifferentiated schizophrenia, substance abuse, and

a personality disorder. He noted that at the time he

evaluated Carter, he did not appear to be suffering

from any delusions. Dr. Resnick assessed Carter’s

mental prognosis as fair to poor.

During the course of his evaluation, Dr.

Resnick testified that Carter was able to converse

with him about the specific charges of which he was

convicted, the victim, his adopted grandmother, and

that he was sentenced to death. Additionally, Carter

relayed to Dr. Resnick that if his appeals were not

successful, he would receive a lethal injection. (Dkt.

#172, at 145). Although Dr. Resnick initially had

reservations about whether Carter actually

understood that he could be executed without

volunteering, he allayed these concerns’ upon

speaking to a social worker who confirmed that, after

repeatedly attempting to educate Carter that he

could be executed without volunteering, he had

retained that information. Accordingly, Dr. Resnick

satisfied himself that Carter no longer possessed this

false belief.

When the Respondent questioned Dr. Resnick

about his ability to assist habeas counsel, he

responded that Carter could respond to his attorneys

but, “due to his illness, [could] not elaborate fully.”

Id. at 152. He described Carter’s condition as

follows:

So if asked a question, he would give

kind of a simple answer, a direct answer. You

ask him how many sisters he has. He can give

you an answer. But if you ask, would you

describe each sister and explain what her

35a

personality is like, he would give a simple

answer like she’s nice, and would not be able

to elaborate.

So in my view, he meets the minimum

standard because he can speak rationally and

convey information. But I would defer to the

Court as to what is sufficient with respect to

elaboration.

(Dkt. #172, at 152). When questioned about Carter’s

ability to reliably convey relevant information, Dr.

Resnick replied, “I think he can convey the basic

information, but if you’re asking for rich details in

his recollection of the trial or his description of

family members, his illness does not permit him to

give a rich description.” Id. at 156. Dr. Resnick

concluded that while Carter’s disease is chronic, it

currently was not in an acute phase.

Attached to his supplemental brief submitted

to the Court on June 23, 2008, is Dr. Stinson’s

updated report regarding Carter’s mental condition.

Dr. Stinson opined that Carter’s mental condition

has deteriorated since the evidentiary hearing

approximately two and a half years ago. He

observed that from November 29, 2007, until

December 20, 2007, Carter was transferred to

Oakwood Correctional Facility, a psychiatric prison

facility, because of his declining mental condition

Upon reviewing the notes from Oakwood, Dr.

Stinson observed that Carter continues to experience

hallucinations. Moreover, he has been disoriented

and unable to comprehend or_ respond _ to

communications from others. His daily functioning,

while previously restricted, also has deteriorated

36a

with extremely poor personal hygiene and lack of

consistent sleep habits due to nightly, persistent

screaming and laughing. From these records, Dr.

Stinson concluded that Carter’s condition has become

“progressively worse, and despite treatment, he

appears to have significant psychosis and functional

limitations even when he is at his expected baseline.”

(Dkt. #194-2, Exh. A, at 20).

Il. STANDARD OF REVIEW

In its November 29, 2005 Order granting

Carter’s request for an evidentiary hearing, the

Court adopted the reasoning in Rohan v. Woodford,

334 F.3d 803 (9th Cir. 2003), in concluding that a

petitioner has the right to be competent during

federal habeas proceedings. (Dkt. #139, at 12). The

Court now reviews the Rohan reasoning and

holdings as well as subsequent cases in which courts

were presented with this issue. As is discussed

below, the Court concludes that, while Rohan does

not supply the Court with binding precedent, it

remains the standard by which the Court should

review Carter’s competence.

A. Rohan v. Woodford

In Rohan, the Ninth Circuit determined

whether a petitioner possessed the right to be

competent during federal habeas proceedings by

conducting a review of decisional law supporting the

right to competence after a criminal trial. In that

case, the district court had appointed a “next friend”

to file a petition on the petitioner’s behalf when he

appeared to be unable to do so. The petitioner’s

“next friend” notified the district court that she was

unable to proceed without the benefit of obtaining

37a

information from the petitioner. Although the

district court found that the petitioner’s mental

condition would “impede his’ attorneys from

protecting his rights,” Rohan, 334 F.3d at 806, it

nevertheless held that the habeas litigation could

continue because a petitioner had no right to be

competent during habeas proceedings.

The Ninth Circuit disagreed. It noted that in

Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986), Justice

Powell set forth the standard by which courts could

determine whether an insane individual was

competent to be executed. He concluded that

executions should be barred for individuals who were

“unaware of the punishment they are about to suffer

and why they are to suffer it.” Id. at 422. While

Justice Powell’s separate opinion in Ford was non-

binding dicta, courts subsequently adopted it as the

standard. Rohan, 334 F.3d at 809-10).

The Rohan Court also noted the Supreme

Court’s holding in Rees v. Peyton, 384 U.S. 312

(1966), in which the Supreme Court ordered a

competency determination when a petitioner sought

to withdraw his habeas appeals. Thus, while the

Rohan Court observed that the Supreme Court had

never adjudicated on the specific issue of whether a

habeas petitioner has the right to be competent

during habeas proceedings, it had recognized the

right of individuals to be competent even after

criminal trials.

The Rohan Court next observed the statutory

limitations imposed on a petitioner who attempts to

file a second habeas petition. It concluded that if a

petitioner were not competent to convey relevant

information when presenting the first habeas

38a

petition, he or she would face substantial obstacles in

presenting new claims in a second petition based on

information a habeas petitioner might later be able

to convey upon becoming competent. Finally, the

Rohan Court noted Congress’s recognition of federal

habeas as an important part of a defendant’s appeal

process by creating a statutory right to counsel

during those proceedings. Id. at 813 (citing 21

U.S.C. § 848(q)(4)(B), superceded by 18 U.S.C.

§ 3599(a)(2)). It held that, implicit in the statutory

right to meaningful counsel was a habeas petitioner's

right to communicate with counsel. It reasoned that,

‘if meaningful assistance of counsel is essential to

the fair administration of the death penalty and

capacity for rational communication is essential to

meaningful assistance of counsel, it follows that

Congress’s mandate cannot be faithfully enforced

unless courts ensure that a petitioner is competent.”

Rohan, 334 F.3d at 813. Upon finding that a

petitioner possesses the right to be competent during

federal habeas proceedings, the Rohan Court next

adopted the competency standard by which habeas

courts should review these claims, Le., whether a

petitioner understands his or her position and

whether the petitioner can assist habeas counsel. Id.

at 819.

The Ninth Circuit focused closely on this

second prong of the competency test. It observed

that certain claims the petitioner raised in the case

required the petitioner to provide counsel with

information that he alone possessed. For example,

one claim the petitioner raised was that he was

incompetent to stand trial. The Ninth Circuit

recognized that vital information from the petitioner

was necessary to pursue this claim. It opined, “[the

39a

petitioner’s] own testimony about his former state of

incompetence, for example, would (to the extent

credited by the court) support his position. He could

also direct counsel to circumstantial evidence of his

incompetence at the time.” Id. at 818.

The Rohan Court cautioned that habeas courts

should not require habeas counsel to state with

specificity what information they might require to

bolster their claims. It held, “Requiring an

incompetent petitioner’s counsel to identify precisely

what the petitioner would tell him were he able

seems more likely to elicit the response, ‘Well, if I

knew that, I wouldn’t have to ask!” Id. at 818.

Accordingly, habeas counsel need only identify

specific claims that require a petitioner’s personal

knowledge for full development.

Finally, not every instance of a _ habeas

petitioner’s incompetence would require a halt in the

habeas proceedings. ‘The Rohan Court recognized

that a petitioner's incompetence may not hinder

counsel from presenting a petition that includes

claims based solely on evidence contained in the

habeas record. Id. at 816. Because the Rohan

petitioner had _ raised claims’ requiring’ the

petitioner’s personal knowledge, however, the Court

stayed the habeas proceedings and remanded for the

district court to hold a new competency hearing, if

necessary. Id. at 819.

B. Post-Rohan Decisions

Since the Rohan decision, no court has reached

the issue of whether a petitioner must be competent

to litigate in habeas proceedings. Instead, courts

have held, on disparate grounds, that the particular

40a

circumstances presented in the case did not require

the court to adjudicate on the issue. In several

circuit opinions, for example, the courts have

presumed, without deciding, that the Rohan

standard applies. In those opinions, the courts have

found that the petitioner failed to set forth sufficient

evidence to support a finding of incompetence. See

Clayton v. Roper, 515 F.3d 784, 790 (8th Cir. 2008)

(assuming without deciding that Rohan standard

applicable but finding petitioner failed’ to

demonstrate incompetence); Holmes _v. Buss, 506

F.3d 576, 583 (7th Cir. 2007) (assuming without

deciding Rohan’s applicability when state declined to

challenge it); Mines v. Dretke, 118 Fed. Appx. 806,

813 (5th Cir. 2004) (finding petitioner set forth

insufficient evidence to support showing of

incompetence regardless of whether Rohan correctly

decided).

Most recently, a district court reviewing the

competency issue found that, unlike in the Rohan

decision, many of the petitioner’s claims were based

on evidence contained within the habeas record.

Gonzalez v. Schriro, No. 99-2015-PHX-SMM, 2008

WL 1836743 (D. Ariz. Apr. 23, 2008). The Gonzalez

court then determined that the claims that could

conceivably require the petitioner’s assistance were

unexhausted and therefore unripe for habeas review.

Id. at *11. Consequently, the Gonzalez court never

reached the competency issue.

Based on the above review, it appears that no

court has rejected the Rohan holding outrightly.

While the Sixth Circuit has yet to decide the

competency issue, it has determined, albeit in an

unpublished opinion, that a petitioner must be

4la

competent to waive habeas appeals and submit to

execution. In Awkal v. Mitchell, 174 Fed. Appx. 248

(6th Cir. Mar. 8, 2006), the Sixth Circuit held that a

habeas court must determine whether a capital

habeas petitioner who wished to forego further

appeals was competent to do so.

Applying the Supreme Court’s holding in Rees

v. Peyton, 384 F.3d 312 (1966), the Awkal Court

remanded the case to the district court for a

determination on whether the petitioner had “the

capacity to appreciate his position and make a

rational choice with respect to continuing or

abandoning further litigation or on the other hand

whether he is suffering from a mental disease,

disorder, or defect which may substantially affect his

capacity in the premises.” Awkal, 174 Fed. Appx. at

249 (quoting Rees, 384 U.S. at 314). Thus, while the

Sixth Circuit has not specifically held that a

petitioner has the right to be competent to proceed

with his or her habeas litigation, it has found the

right to be competent when a habeas petitioner

chooses not to proceed.

Finally, as the Seventh Circuit has observed,

the Rohan holding does not have far-reaching

consequences. In Holmes v. Buss, 506 F.3d 576 (7th

Cir. 2007), the Court observed that the Rohan

holding would not benefit non-capital habeas

petitioners because it would only serve to delay the

adjudication of their habeas claims indefinitely. Id.

at 578. It noted that it could find no non-capital

cases where a competency claim had been raised.

Because the Rohan holding remains intact

and, if Awkal is any indication, may actually be

adopted by the Sixth Circuit, the Court sees no

42a

reason to depart from its earlier conclusion that the

Rohan holding is the standard of review here.

Accordingly, the Court will subject Carter’s claims of

incompetence to the Rohan test.

IV. ROHAN ANALYSIS

A. Preliminary Issues

Prior to determining whether Carter is

competent pursuant to the Rohan test, the Court

first must ascertain whether any claims raised in the

petition require Carter’s assistance to develop. Upon

identifying any such claims, the Court then must

determine whether these claims are exhausted and

ripe for federal habeas review.

The Rohan Court identified certain types of

claims that can benefit from a petitioner’s assistance.

It observed that the petitioner raised issues of his

incompetence during trial and that trial counsel were

ineffective for failing to pursue a competency

hearing. The court reasoned that claims based on

off-the-record communications between the

defendant and counsel, such as ineffective assistance

of counsel claims, were also subject to development

by the petitioner’s personal recollections. Rohan, 334

F.3d 803, 818 (9th Cir. 2003).

A review of the amended petition reveals that

of Carter’s nine grounds for relief, grounds one

(incompetence to stand trial and removal from the

trial proceedings); two (ineffective assistance of

counsel during mitigation); five (ineffective

assistance of counsel for failure to pursue

competency issue); and six (ineffective assistance of

appellate counsel for failure to raise trial counsel’s

failure to pursue competency issue) potentially could

43a

benefit from Carter’s assistance.! As Carter asserts

in his post-hearing memoranda, he alone is in the

position to inform habeas counsel what he actually

observed during trial and his recollection of

communications with defense counsel regarding his

family and social background to develop mitigating

evidence.

The Court next must determine whether these

claims are exhausted and therefore ripe for federal

habeas review. In the amended return of writ, the

Respondent does not assert that any of the claims

enumerated above are unexhausted. Accordingly,

this Court cannot dismiss the competency issue, as

did the Gonzalez court, on the grounds that no

unexhausted issue requiring the petitioner’s

assistance 1s properly before it.”

! Although Carter also asserted in the eighth ground for

relief that he is mentally retarded and therefore ineligible for

execution, those types of claims, while typically requiring

mental evaluations, do not require a habeas petition’s lucid

assistance for development. See e.g., Stallings v. Bradshaw,

No. 5:05-CV-722, slip op. at 90-94 (N.D. Ohio Mar. 31, 2008)

(adjudicating Atkins claim based on experts’ testimony in state

court evidentiary hearing).

2 While the Respondent asserts that some of the issues

listed above are partially procedurally defaulted, that issue

does not alter the Court’s findings. First, because Carter has

not submitted an amended traverse, the Court has no means to

determine whether Carter can avail himself to an excuse for

failing to comply with the State’s procedural rules, i.e., whether

he can establish cause and prejudice to excuse any procedural

default. Moreover, because the Respondent concedes that some

of the claims listed above were properly preserved for this

Court’s review, the potentially defaulted status of others is of no

consequence.

44a

B. Competency Determination

Having determined that Carter raises claims

that both require his assistance and are ripe for

federal habeas’ review, the Court must now

determine whether Carter currently is competent to

litigate those claims as set forth in Rohan. Thus, the

Court must determine whether Carter comprehends

his current position and whether he is able to assist

his attorneys in litigating claims raised in the

petition. For the following reasons, the Court finds

that Carter is not competent.

The question of whether Carter understands

his current position is a close one. At the evidentiary

hearing, counsel for both parties questioned the

experts extensively on the issue. Both Carter’s and

the State’s experts testified at the hearing that

Carter suffers from schizophrenia that impairs his

thought processes. (Dkt. #172 at 15;142). One

specific example of this impairment that both parties

explored was Carter’s ability to understand whether

he could be executed without volunteering. As noted

above, Dr. Stinson opined that Carter’s “fixed false

belief’ that he could not be executed without

volunteering would persist. Consequently, he

concluded that Carter does not truly understand the

adversarial nature of the proceedings. (Dkt. #172, at

89).

Conversely, Dr. Resnick testified that Carter

was able to speak with him about the specific

charges of which he was convicted, the victim, and

that he was sentenced to death. Additionally, Carter

relayed to Dr. Resnick that if his appeals were not

successful, he would receive a lethal injection. (Dkt.

#172, at 145). Although Dr. Resnick initially had

45a

reservations about whether Carter agtually

understood that he could be executed without

volunteering, he allayed these concerns upon

speaking to a social worker who confirmed that, after

repeatedly attempting to educate Carter that he

could be executed without volunteering, he had

retained that information. Accordingly, Dr. Resnick

satisfied himself that Carter no longer possessed this

false belief.

Because of the opposing opinions of the

experts, the Court finds the question of whether

Carter understands his current position is debatable.

If the Court were pressed to issue its opinion based

solely on the evidentiary hearing testimony, it would

be a difficult decision. Because the Court has before

it the updated records indicating that Carter's

mental status has deteriorated since the hearing, the

Court is inclined to credit Dr. Stinson’s conclusion

that Carter’s mental illness prevents him from truly

comprehending the nature of the habeas proceedings.

The Court’s decision to find that Carter cannot

assist habeas counsel is more clear-cut. Each mental

health expert that testified during the hearing found

that Carter’s illness diminished his ability to

communicate with counsel. Dr. Stinson concluded

that the severity of Carter’s schizophrenia renders

him an “unreliable historian,” requiring collateral

records to corroborate his responses. Id. at 98.

Echoing Dr. Stinson’s findings, Dr. Gelbort noted

that Carter was not uncooperative but that, “simply

to ask him questions does not elicit information from

him that if he does know, he will recognize as being

important or significant or relevant.” (Dkt. #172, at

113).

46a

Even the State’s expert, Dr. Resnick, conceded

that, because of the schizophrenia, Carter does not

have the ability to “elaborate.” Id. at 152. Dr.

Resnick concluded that Carter could be of little

assistance in providing information to habeas

counsel. While he could provide basic information,

Carter could provide no detail. As noted above, Dr.

Resnick provided an example of his findings:

So if asked a question, he would give

kind of a simple answer, a direct answer. You

ask him how many sisters he has. He can give

you an answer. But if you ask, would you

describe each sister and explain what her

personality is like, he would give a simple

answer like she’s nice, and would not be able

to elaborate.

So in my view, he meets the minimum

standard because he can speak rationally and

convey information. But 1 would defer to the

Court as to what is sufficient with respect to

elaboration.

(Dkt. #172, at 152). While Dr. Resnick found Carter

could respond to questions, he acknowledged that

Carter's mental disease prevented him from

providing counsel with detailed responses.

Significantly, Dr. Resnick conceded during the

hearing that Carter could not provide habeas counsel

with specific information regarding what occurred

during trial or provide habeas counsel with details

regarding potential mitigating information to

develop an ineffective assistance of counsel for failing

to present mitigating evidence claim. When

questioned about Carter’s ability to reliably convey

47a

relevant information, Dr. Resnick replied, “I think he

can covey the basic information, but if you’re asking

for rich details in his recollection of the trial or his

description of family members, his illness does not

permit him to give a rich description.” Id. at 156.

Carter clearly cannot assist habeas counsel in

developing the removal from trial, competency, and

ineffective assistance of counsel claims raised in the

petition. As is apparent from the experts’ testimony,

Carter could not reasonably be expected to recall and

describe how well he was able to view the trial once

he was removed from it. Moreover, he would be

unable to elaborate on conversations he had with

defense counsel regarding his competency. He also

does not have the present capability to judge and

express to habeas counsel what mitigating evidence

from his social and family background defense

counsel should have introduced during the

sentencing phase of trial because of his limited

capacity to recall and convey the details about any

such events. Accordingly, the Court finds that

Carter is incompetent to proceed with this federal

habeas litigation.

While the Court believes the hearing

testimony and subsequent medical records regarding

Carter dictate this result, it observes that its finding

does not invite a flood-gate of habeas petitioners

asserting similar claims of incompetence. As the

Seventh Circuit noted in Holmes v. Buss, 506 F.3d

576, 578 (7th Cir. 2007), the Rohan holding would

not benefit non-capital habeas petitioners because it

would only serve to delay the adjudication of their

habeas claims. Additionally, the requirement that

capital habeas petitioners must demonstrate that the

48a

claims raised in the petition are properly exhausted

and based on evidence outside the record that

require the petitioner’s assistance to develop would

further hinder the filing of these claims. Because of

the strict statutory limitations on filing successive

habeas petitions, moreover, habeas petitioners

seeking to assert their incompetence likely must

raise any competency issues in their initial petition.

Finally, to obtain a stay in their federal habeas

proceedings, future habeas petitioners will have to

demonstrate, as Carter does here, that they are

incompetent pursuant to the Rohan test. These

multiple hurdles are unsurmountable for the vast

majority of habeas petitioners.

V. DISPOSITION

Having decided that Carter is incompetent to

litigate his federal habeas claims, the Court now

must determine the best course to proceed. One

option would be to stay this matter until Carter

regains competency. Federal habeas courts clearly

have the inherent power to stay cases and hold them

in abeyance. Int'l Bhd. Of Elec. Workers v. AT & T

Network Sys., 879 F.2d 864 (Table), at *8 (6th Cir.

July 17, 1989)(citing Landis v. N. Am. Co., 299 U.S.

248, 255 (1936)). In Rhines v. Weber, -- U.S. -- , 125

S.Ct. 1528 (2005), the United States Supreme Court

held that the better course for a habeas court to

choose when confronted with a “mixed” petition of

exhausted and unexhausted claims is to stay the

case, rather than dismiss it, and permit the

petitioner to return to state court. Id. at 1535.

The Sixth Circuit also has stayed a capital

habeas corpus case so that the petitioner could

return to state court to determine whether he is

49a

mentally retarded under the holding in Atkins v.

Virginia, 536 U.S. 304 (2002). Hill v. Anderson, 300

F.3d 679 (6th Cir. 2002). In that case, the Court

found that, because the state of Ohio had not

conceded that the petitioner was mentally retarded,

a factual dispute existed with respect to the

petitioner's ability to rely upon Atkins in his effort to

avoid the death penalty. The Sixth Circuit held that

“Ohio should have the opportunity to develop its own

procedures for determining whether a_ particular

claimant is retarded and ineligible for death.” Id. at

682.

While the Hill decision to hold the case in

abeyance provides this Court with some guidance as

to what options a federal habeas court may utilize

when faced with an incompetent petitioner, it is by

no means dispositive of this issue. In fact, because it

deals only with exhaustion’ rather’ than

incompetency, the Hill Court is silent regarding any

consideration of the length of time an action might

remain pending on the district court’s docket if a

habeas petitioner cannot be restored to competency.

While the Sixth Circuit suggested one course

of action in Hill, it has approved alternative

approaches as well. In Hargrove v. Brigano, 300

F.3d 717 (6th Cir. 2002), the Sixth Circuit affirmed a

district court’s decision to dismiss a mixed petition

accompanied by an order prospectively tolling the

statute of limitations under 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d).

In that case, the Sixth Circuit held that the

district court’s decision to prospectively toll the

statute of limitations was reasonable, particularly in

light of the fact that the court’s decision to equitably

toll the statute of limitations was premised on the

50a

petitioner’s expeditious filing in state court and

anticipated timely return to federal court. id. at 720.

Thus, the Hargrove Court has provided district

courts another option to prevent habeas petitioners

from incurring prejudice in their attempts to exhaust

state remedies. Since the Hargrove decision, courts

have recognized the use of prospective equitably

tolling of the statute of hmitations to safeguard a

petitioner’s federal habeas claims. See Griffin v.

Rogers, 399 F.3d 626, 635 (6th Cir. 2005) (observing

that the Hargrove holding “permits a re-filing [of a

habeas petition] that would have been available had

the case been conditionally stayed rather than

dismissed.”); Smith v. Bell, No. 07-CV-10749, 2008

WL 251890 (E.D. Mich. Jan. 29, 2008) (prospectively

tolling § 2244(d) to permit habeas petitioner to

exhaust claims in state court).

The Sixth Circuit also has determined that

once exhaustion has occurred, any petition filed

thereafter cannot be deemed a second or successive

petition under 28 U.S.C. § 2244(b). In Carlson v.

Pitcher, 137 F.3d 416 (6th Cir. 1998), the Sixth

Circuit held that a petitioner whose federal habeas

petition initially was dismissed without prejudice to

exhaust state remedies can return to federal court

after state exhaustion without fear that the second

federal habeas petition will be construed as a

successive one. Noting that all other circuits

deciding this issue have held similarly, the Court

found that, if the district court dismisses solely for

exhaustion purposes, then no federal court has

rendered a decision on the merits. Id. at 419.

Consequently, the Sixth Circuit adopted the findings

of other circuit courts, holding that the second

petition is not a successive one, but rather “[i]t is one

5Sla

challenge with multiple stages . ” Id. (quoting

Benton v. Washington, 106 F.3d 162, 164 (7th Cir.

1996)).

While the Sixth Circuit has yet to

prospectively toll the statute of limitations on

grounds of incompetency, the Ninth Circuit has

utilized this’ practice, albeit under different

circumstances. In Calderon v. U. S. District Court

(Kelly V), 163 F.3d 530 (9th Cir. 1998), overruled on

other grounds by Woodford v. Garceau, 538 U.S. 202

(2003), the Ninth Circuit held that a _ prisoner’s

incompetence is grounds to equitably toll the statute

of limitations. There, the petitioner sought to file an

untimely habeas petition. The Ninth Circuit tolled

the one-year limitations provision finding, “[w]hen a

putative habeas petitioner’s mental competency is at

issue, and the record discloses a genuine basis for

concern, it is appropriate to toll the AEDPA’s time

bar until a reasonable time period after the district

court makes a competency determination.” Id. at 541

(citations omitted).

Although the Ninth Circuit was presented

with the circumstance of a petitioner who sought a

tolling of the statute prior to the filing of the petition,

its authority lends support to this Court’s conclusion

that it must dismiss this matter without prejudice

and prospectively toll the statute of lmitations.

Unlike the exhaustion cases outlined above, Carter’s

absence from federal court could prove indefinite. As

Dr. Stinson concluded, Carter’s prognosis is poor

because of his lmited response to anti-psychotic

medication. He opined that Carter likely will

continue to experience sever symptoms. of

52a

schizophrenia until a new medication arrives that

could control his disease. (Dkt. #172, at 30).

Because of the potentially lengthy time that

may transpire until Carter can be restored to

competency, the Court finds the better course for it

to take is to dismiss the matter without prejudice

and prospectively toll the statute of limitations

under the authority of Hargrove. This outcome

permits Carter to preserve the right to an

adjudication on the merits of his federal habeas

claims while considering the length of time this

claim might remain pending on the district court’s

docket while Carter is restored to competency.*

Finally, while the Court understands that its

decision today may have the effect of indefinitely

staying Carter’s execution, it notes that, the

Supreme Court has accepted such a result in

instances where a petitioner’s mental capabilities are

at issue. Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304 (2002);

%’ Although finding Brigano’s authority persuasive in

this matter, the Court acknowledges that in a recent opinion, it

refrained from extending its application. Bozsik v. Bagley, No.

1:03-CV-1625, 2008 WL 4191141 (N. D. Ohio Sept. 8, 2008).

The Bozsik case, however, is easily distinguishable. There,

another judge on this Court had dismissed a habeas petition

without prospectively tolling the statute of limitations. While

his claims were still pending in state court, the petitioner

returned to federal court, seeking assurances pursuant to the

Hargrove holding that he could re-file the petition at a later

date. The Court held that such a motion was premature. Id. at

*6. Thus, the Court’s decision not to extend the Hargrove

holding to Bozsik was based on the premature filing of the

motion to reinstate the habeas petition, an issue which is

obviously different from what the Court encounters here.

53a

Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986). The Court

also recognizes its decision affects the Respondent’s

ability to promptly enforce its criminal judgments.

Because the Supreme Court has countenanced this

result regarding a petitioner’s ability to be executed,

the Court’s sees no significant departure from that

precedent by applying it earlier in the capital

appeals process.

VI. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court

DISMISSES WITHOUT PREJUDICE the instant

matter. In so doing, it prospectively tolls the one-

year statute of limitations set forth in 28 U.S.C.

§ 2244(d), pursuant to the authority of Hargrove v.

Brigano, 300 F.3d 717 (6th Cir. 2002), until such

time as the Petitioner, Sean Carter, is competent to

proceed with his federal habeas litigation.‘

4 If the State were to conclude that Carter’s competence

is restored at any point in the future, it would not have to wait

for Carter to re-file a habeas petition to proceed. With no

litigation pending in either state or federal court, the State can

move the Ohio Supreme Court to set a date for Carter's

execution. If that circumstance were to occur, Carter would

then be subject to the holding in Ford and the competency test

attendant thereto. If the state courts were to adjudicate Carter

competent, he could then return to federal court in pursuit of

habeas relief. Thus, the State has the opportunity to enforce its

judgment should it believe Carter has been restored to

competency and Carter also has the opportunity to litigate his

federal habeas claims.

54a

IT IS SO ORDERED.

s/Peter C. Economus — 9/29/08

PETER C. ECONOMUS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

55a

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

Case No. 3:02CV524

Judge Peter C. Economus

SEAN CARTER,

Petitioner,

Vv.

MARGARET BRADSHAW, WARDEN,

Respondent.

JUDGMENT ENTRY

Filed: September 29, 2008

For the reasons set forth in this Court’s Order

of Dismissal issued September 29, 2008, the Court

dismisses this matter without prejudice and without

a decision on the merits. The Court prospectively

tolls the statute of imitations set forth in 28 U.S.C.

§ 2244(d). The Court certifies, pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1915(a)(3), that an appeal in forma pauperis would

not be frivolous and can be taken in good faith.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

s/Peter C. Economus — 9/29/08

PETER C. ECONOMUS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

OPPOSITION

BRIEF

No. 11-218

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

TERRY TIBBALS, WARDEN,

Petitioner,

v.

SEAN CARTER,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

OFFICE OF THE OHIO PUBLIC DEFENDER

Linda Prucha

Supervisor, Death Penalty Division

Counsel of Record

Rachel Troutman

Assistant State Public Defender

250 East Broad Street

Suite 1400

Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 466-5394

(614) 644-0708 - Fax

Linda. Prucha@opd.ohio.gov

Rachel. Troutman@opd.ohio.gov

Counsel for Respondent Sean Carter

CAPITAL CASE

QUESTION PRESENTED

Did the Sixth Circuit err in staying the adjudication of a capital habeas

petitioner's ineffective assistance of counsel claims where experts

agreed and the court found that (1) the petitioner is incompetent and

(2) allowing those claims to proceed would be equivalent to allowing

the petitioner to withdraw those claims?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SRE ID ann See a ROUT AM eS AEA SERS MR OM dN ES: i

Cg ER MUR IR RL ON IPS DD CSE MRE NE NM ll

I a A a il

RSET TE LE Selle oe Mek EAS AONE A LEER oe OF, Mes ]

ER EET RIL PSR LS TN TSN NIELS A SCPE IEE Ae AE l

SEPT GEY SUPE GUMDETRRDUD WOME WONT ccccicccconinesvossesinsnsssckesonssedehenstistrmisntssnsnccassesenn 4

I. The Decision Below is Narrow and Fact-bound. ..c....o---c-cccssoesessssssssssesesessvvee 4

II. No Conflict Exists Among the Lower Courts. ......0....0.0cc.ccccccccccsecececceseseenesecaeees 5

Ill. The Decision Below is Consistent With this Court's

F_UN nL eee Mad roe ENEMA NORTE rs ees REE Nt ce RRA 7

RFR TSA Ae RAL nO ARR ra WANE RIE TANTO MEN Sepa aie e, 8

UT RT deiioaeidiieed 10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES =

Brewer v. Lewis, 989 F.2d 1021 (Sth Cir. 1998).................-cccssossssssssscsssessesesesssenees 6

ares ae Re I te, Gi Te oils eichceicccsseccstndceuttcctdsnesosicodicccansat 8

Ford vu. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 300 (1986) ........0.c.0scsesscss.serersecessseeseecesosseessesesrerereees 8

Harper v. Parker, 177 F.3d 567 (Gth Cir. 1999)...............cocsssssssrsssssssererssesssesssrenes 7

Hauser ex. rel. Crawford v. Moore, 223 F.3d 1316 (11th Cir. 2000) 0.00000... 6

Henderson v. Campbell, 353 F.3d 880 (11th Cir, 2008) occ cececeeeseseeenneeneneees 6

Martiniano ex rel. Reid v. Bell, 454 ¥.3d 616 (6th Cir. 2006) .......00..0.00e cee 3

Michael v. Hora, 469 F.3d 411 (Bd Cir, 2006)..............cccrcssrccsssrsscesessssseoscesscssessesses 6

Panetti v. Quarterman, 551 U.S. 930 (2007) .......0000ccccceeececeee ees siebidiadendeadiaadd 8

Rees v. Peyton, 384 U.S. 312 (19G6) .............eccsecsssserssssreesesersesssecsssenceersessese By Oy Oy 7

Rees v. Superintendent of Va. State Penitentiary, 516 U.S. 802

Rt EET AE es A oe AOE SOE ETN A ER ET PES iol

eek gE Ea ee eer ety ea 7

Rumbaugh v. Procunier, 753 F.2d 395 (5th Cir, 1985) ........ ccc eeeeeeeeeeteeenece ees 6

Smith v. Armontrout, 812 F.2d 1050 (8th Cir, L987) 0... cc ccceceeesceceesceeeeeeeeeeee 6

i

INTRODUCTION

The courts below found and the experts for both parties agreed that the federal

habeas petitioner, Sean Carter, suffers from mental illnesses, rendering him

incompetent and unable to communicate information that is essential to nis habeas

counsel presenting his ineffective assistance of counsel claims. The court of appeals

determined that Carter's incompetence so undermined his ability to pursue those

claims that requiring him to adjudicate them now would be equivalent to him

withdrawing those portions of his petition. It therefore stayed the habeas

proceedings as to those claims and remanded the case so that the district court

could adjudicate Carter's other claims. This fact-bound judgment is consistent with

the holdings of the courts of appeals and this Court and with the petition’s

characterization of the law. It does not warrant review.

STATEMENT

Sean Carter was convicted and sentenced to death under Ohio law. In his state

habeas proceedings, he exhausted claims that his trial counsel was ineffective for

failing to demonstrate his incompetence to stand trial and develop mitigation

evidence. Pet. App. 43a. Carter's counsel raised those same claims in his federal

habeas petition, which also alleged that Carter was incompetent and asxed the

court to stay the federal habeas proceedings. /d. at 28a, 42a-43a.

The district court held a competency hearing. The State's only witness, Dr.

Phillip Resnick, testified that Carter suffered from schizophrenia and personality

disorder. Id, at 34a. As a result, the State's expert testified, Carter could respond to

direct questions with “simple answer{s!” but could not elaborate on those answers.

Id. at 46a. Accordingly, “Dr. Resnick concluded that Carter could be of little

assistance in providing information to habeas counsel.” /d. In particular, “Carter

could not provide habeas counsel with specific information” necessary to present his

ineffective assistance of counsel claims to the federal courts. Jd.

Carter's experts testified similarly. Dr. Michae] Gelbort stated that other than

providing “straightforward, concrete information, Carter would have trouble

responding” to questions. Jd. at 33a. Dr. Robert Stinson testified that, as a result of

his mental illnesses, Carter did not “engage in dialogue,” “provide[d] a lot of empty

responses,” and “lack[ed]’ the ability to “elaborat{e].” Jd. at 31a. Dr. Stinson later

provided an updated report on Carter's condition, explaining that since his initia!

evaluation of Carter, Carter’s condition had “deteriorated.” Jd. at 35a. In fact, for

part of the intervening period, prison officials had transferred Carter to a state

psychiatric prison facility “because of his declining mental condition.” Jd. Notes

provided by that facility indicated that Carter was “disoriented and unable to

comprehend or respond to communications from others.” /d.

In light of the consistent testimony of both parties’ experts, the district court

found Carter incompetent. Jd. at 44a. It also found that “Carter clearly cannot

assist habeas counse! in developing” his ineffective assistance of counsel claims. Jd.

at 47a. Therefore, it dismissed Carter's habeas petition and tolled the statute of

limitations for re-filing. Id. at 53a.

The Sixth Circuit, in a 2-to-l panel decision, amended the judgment and

remanded. The court of appeals explained that “[f]lederal habeas petitioners facing

the death penalty for state criminal convictions do not enjoy a constitutional night to

competence.” Pet. App. 4a. Indeed, it cited binding circuit precedent establishing

that a “next friend” may be appointed to represent the interests of an incompetent

habeas petitioner in federal habeas proceedings. /d. at lla. (citing Martiniano ex

rel. Reid v. Bell, 454 F.3d 616, 617 (6th Cir. 2006)). Nonetheless, relying on Rees v.

Peyton, 384 U.S. 312 (1966), the court stated that capital habeas petitioners have a

“right to competence” when they seek “to withdraw the petition and forgo any

further legal proceedings.” Pet. App. 4a (quoting Rees, 384 U.S. at 313-14).

Accordingly, the court of appeals concluded that the district court did not abuse

its discretion in conducting a competency hearing or determining that Carter “was

incompetent to assist his counsel.” Jd. at 8-9a. The court of appeals further

concluded, however, that the district court erred in dismissing Carter's petition. Jd.

at 9a. The evidence and findings below demonstrated that Carter's incompetence

effectively “terminated [his) right to pursue a habeas writ” based on his claims of

ineffective assistance of counsel. /d. at 8a-lla. Regarding these claims, “Carter

alone has evidence” that is “essential” to “assist[ing] [his] attorneys” in

understanding the nature of the allegations and developing a “strategy,” “and that

evidence is inaccessible as long as [Carter] remain{s]” in his present condition. Jd. at

12a-13a. Because Carter's incompetence would effectively result in him

withdrawing those claims. the court held that adjudicating those claims would be

improper. /d. At the same time, the court reiterated, Carter does not possess a

general right to be competent during his habeas proceedings. /d. at 13a. Therefore.

the district court was required to appoint a “next friend” and adjudicate all claims

for which Carter's assistance is not “essential.” Jd.

The court of appeals reinstated the petition, stayed the adjudication of Carter's

ineffective assistance of counsel claims, and remanded so that the district court

could adjudicate the claims for which Carter's assistance is not “essential.” Jd. at

15a. It further indicated that the district court should “monitor Carter's on-going

condition” so that it could litigate the ineffective assistance of counse) claims as

expeditiously as possible. Jd. at 14a.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. The Decision Below is Narrow and Fact-bound.

The court of appeals rendered a narrow fact-bound decision. It stayed only those

claims for which the evidence demonstrated that Carter’s assistance is so essential

that forcing him to present those claims while he is incompetent would be

equivalent to him withdrawing those claims. Further, it indicated that the partial

stay would remain in effect only until Carter can meaningfully communicate with

his counsel. The court based its decision on the undisputed testimony of both the

State and Carter's experts, who agreed that Carter suffers from schizophrenia and

personality disorder, and, as a result, is unable to communicate with counsel.

The narrowness of the court of appeals’ holding is reinforced by the fact that it

reversed the district court's dismissal of the petition and remanded so that the

district court could appoint a “next friend” and adjudicate all of Carter's claims for

which his assistance is not essential. Moreover, the court of appeals instructed the

district court to monitor Carter's condition to ensure that the parties litigate

Carter’s stayed claims as soon as feasible.

This fact-specific decision has no broad implications for the “capital-litigation

process.” Pet. 20.

II, No Conflict Exists Among the Lower Courts.

In Rees v. Peyton, this Court stated:

Whether or not [the capital habeas petitioner] Rees shall be allowed .. .

to withdraw his certiorari petition is a question which it is ultimately the

responsibility of this Court to determine, in the resolution of which Rees’

mental competence is of prime importance. We have therefore determined

that, in aid of the proper exercise of this Court's certiorari jurisdiction, the

Federal] District Court in which this proceeding commenced should upon due

notice to the State and all other interested parties make a judicial

determination as to Rees’ mental competence and render a report on the

matter to us.

384 U.S. 312, 313-14 (1966). The district court judged Rees incompetent and this

Court then held the case “without action,” Rees v. Peyton, 386 U.S. 989 (1967), until

Rees died, at which point the Court dismissed the case without opinion, Rees v.

Superintendent of Va. State Penitentiary, 516 U.S. 802 (1995).

The court below performed a straightforward application of Rees. It recognized

that it was its responsibility to ensure that Carter was competent before allowing

him effectively to withdraw his ineffective assistance of counsel claims. As in Rees,

it stayed those claims until Carter can provide the necessary assistance.

The Petition characterizes the other circuits’ applications of Rees in precisely the

same way: Rees requires federal courts to assure the competence of capital habeas

petitioners before allowing them to “abandon further legal proceedings.” Pet 13

(quoting Smith v. Armontrout, 812 F.2d 1050, 1057 (8th Cir. 1987)) (internal

quotation marks omitted). For example, as the petition highlights, the Third Circuit

has explained that “Rees demands” a capital habeas petitioner “may not” be allowed

to withdraw his petition “if [he] is incompetent.” Pet. 14 (quoting Michael v. Horn,

459 F.3d 411, 420 (3d Cir. 2006)) (internal quotation marks omitted).

The other cases cited in the petition articulate Rees’ holding similarly.

Henderson v. Campbell, 353 F.3d 880, 893, 894 (11th Cir. 2003) (“Language from

the Supreme Court’s decision in Rees v. Peyton has consistently been cited as setting

forth the controlling legal standard for assessing the validity of a death row

inmate’s choice to forego post-conviction review”: For the decision to be valid the

court must ina that the petitioner understands “he must continue to engage in the

review process or be executed.” (citation omitted) (quoting Hauser ex. rel. Crawford

v. Moore, 223 F.3d 1316, 1323 (11th Cir. 2000)); Brewer v. Lewis, 989 F.2d 1021,

1026 n.4 (Sth Cir. 1993) (‘The Supreme Court stated the test for determining

whether a habeas petitioner is competent to waive his right to federal review of his

conviction and sentence in Rees v. Peyton: ‘whether he has capacity to appreciate his

position and make a rational choice with respect to continuing or abandoning

further litigation... .” (citation omitted) (quoting Rees, 384 U.S. 314)); Rumbaugh

v. Procunier, 753 F.2d 385, 396, 398 (5th Cir. 1985) (explaining that under Rees, a

capital habeas petitioner who “resist[{ed] the efforts” of others to secure habeas relief

on his behalf should be allowed to “forgo further appeals and collateral attack!s]

upon his conviction and sentence” only if he is not suffering from a mental disease

that “prevent(s] him from making a rational choice” about whether and how to

pursue his claims).

At bottom, the petition seeks to fashion a conflict not based on the courts’ of

appeals articulations of Rees, but because this case involves an effective withdrawal

rather than an affirmative withdrawal of habeas claims. Pet. 13-17. At the same

time, the petition concedes that the Sixth Circuit’s binding precedent is “like [that

of] its sister circuits.” Pet. 15 (citing Harper v. Parker, 177 F.3d 567, 571 (6th Cir.

1999)). And it cites no case contrary to the decision below. This fact-specific

application of Rees does not satisfy any of the Court’s criteria for review.

III. The Decision Below is Consistent With this Court's Jurisprudence.

The petition (at 18-20) briefly argues that the decision below is inconsistent with

several of this Court's cases. None address the issue presented here.

First, the petition cites Rhines v. Weber, 544 U.S. 269 (2005), in which this Court

considered whether federal courts may stay consideration of a habeas petition so

that the petitioner can exhaust claims in the state courts. Rhines did not address

whether or when a court should stay proceedings on an incompetent individual's

habeas petition, and it held that, under the Antiterrorism and Effective Death

Penalty Act, federal courts retain their “ordinar[y]” power to issue stays. Id. at 276.

Rhines is not pertinent here.

Second, the petition suggests an inconsistency with Cullen v. Pinholster, 131 S.

Ct. 1388 (2011), which held “that review under § 2254(d)(1) is limited to the record

that was before the state court that adjudicated the claim on the merits.” /d. at

1398. The issue here, however, is not whether the essential information Carter's

incompetence prevents him from providing could be used to supplement the record.

Instead, the question is whether Carter's undisputed mental illness required the

lower court to stay Carter's ineffective assistance of counsel claims, in light of the

court of appeals’ determination—based in part on the State's own expert—that

Carter is incapable of providing the communication essential to the pursuit of those

claims.

Finally, the petition relies on Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986), and

Panetti v. Quarterman, 551 U.S. 930 (2007), which address when the state may

execute an individual who claims te be incompetent. That issue is not presented

here.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

OFFICE OF THE OHIO PUBLIC DEFENDER

Linda Prucha

Supervisor, Death Penalty Division

Copeysel of Recor

Rachel Troutman

Assistant State Public Defender

250 East Broad Street

Suite 1400

Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 466-5394

(614) 644-0708

Linda.Prucha@opd.ohio. gov

Rache]. Troutman@opd.ohio. gov

Counsel for Respondent Sean Carter

October 2011

WORD COUNT CERTIFICATION

As requred by Supreme Court Rule 33.1(h), I certify that the document

contains 2,021 words, excluding the parts of the document that are exempted by

Supreme Court Rule 33.1(d).

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct.

Executed on October 28th, 2011.

Linda Prucha

Supervisor, Death Penalty Division

354277

10

REPLY

BRIEF

e° == = @o

No. 11-218 Pediat ie

Jn the Supreme Court of the United States - - -- 7.

TERRY TIBBALS, Warden,

Petitioner,

Vv.

SEAN CARTER,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

REPLY IN SUPPORT OF

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MICHAEL DEWINE

Attorney General of Ohio

ALEXANDRA T. SCHIMMER*

Solicitor General

*Counsel of Record

DAVID M. LIEBERMAN

Deputy Solicitor

30 East Broad St., 17th Floor

Columbus, Ohio 43215

614-466-8980

alexandra.schimmer@

ohioattorneygeneral.gov

Counsel for Petitioner

Terry Tibbals, Warden

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ee ITE serine cicn-sasdetasesitsnnicnnnpninaepaininmannnniainini i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIBS..................... ccc cecee eee eees li

REPLY OF THE PETITIONER........................cceseeeee 1

A. This Court has never addressed whether

capital prisoners have a “right to

competence” in habeas proceedings. ............... 2

B The circuits have diverged on this issue......... 4

C. The Sixth Circuit’s decision to. stay

indefinitely Carter's habeas proceeding

Ne SIE siirsadeniaicnnncoscsisiduisieaianaiondbenacimeas 6

D. The Sixth Circuit’s decision’ disrupts

Ohio’s capital punishment scheme. ................ 8

| _____ In Rene TTT eT eT TT NE TE NTE 11

nl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page(s)

Bedford v. Collins,

as Cis I I ciisntiiciibisciadini tase iatbetidingi dimes 2,3

Cullen v. Pinholster,

I a ata 7

Ford v. Wainwright,

BEES ISIE. oe Seen eee sO 8,9

Henderson v. Haley,

363 F.3d SBD (11th Cir. BOOB)......cccccccccsccccccccscceess 4

Mata v. Johnson,

PB RE DL ee eneeee 4

Michael v. Horn,

460 F.3G 411 (3G Cir. BODOG) ...cccccocccccccccocccscccsees 4,5

Mines v. Dretke,

2004 U.S. App. Lexis 26259 (5th Cir. Dec.

Soa, SEITE nictichenissdehitinaida icant cinteaiiaslaiitibdauiinininbadinlenitindadieioe 3

Panetti v. Quarterman,

I I 10

Rector v. Bryant,

EE Ne ee Cm n Emon men aa™ 2

Rector v. Clark,

ee ae ee ee NS. I iitiscinibnissncinsnineeaniccenandan 5

Rees v. Peyton,

I I i a passim

Rhines v. Weber,

I I 6, 10

Rohan ex rel. Gates v. Woodford,

BOS F.BG GOS COE Caw. BODE) ..cccscscccccscscccesccsscscccecs 4

ill

Smith v. Armontrout,

BES Fe BOGS GEER CE. BBBT) ices ccscccccccsescncccsesccss :

STATUTES

I, SO ea

Fe IG SII sche t cit da Sas ae se

REPLY OF THE PETITIONER

The unique facts of this case and Respondent

Carter's mental condition are not at issue. The

Warden’s petition for certiorari raises only discrete

questions of law—whether a capital prisoner

possesses a “right to competence” under Rees uv.

Peyton, 384 U.S. 312 (1966), and whether that

decision permits an indefinite stay of the prisoner’s

habeas proceeding.

Carter’s Opposition does nothing to undermine

the Warden’s request: The Court has never

recognized a “right to competence” in federal habeas

proceedings—a point that Carter has repeatedly

stressed in this case; the federal appellate courts

diverge sharply in their applications of Rees; and the

Sixth Circuit’s decision—permitting an indefinite

stay of an incompetent prisoner’s habeas case—runs

headlong into AEDPA.

Finally, the Sixth Circuit’s decision will bring

capital habeas litigation to a halt. Now, any Ohio

prisoner may invoke Rees by “refus{ing] to meet with

his attorneys,” “relay facts,” or “communicate in

detail.” App. 8a. A district court must then stay all

proceedings, authorize multiple psychological exams,

conduct a hearing, render a decision on competency,

and permit several rounds of appeal. After nine

years of such litigation in this case, the district court

is still no closer to reviewing the merits of Carter’s

habeas claims.

The Court issued its cryptic opinion in Rees

forty-five years ago. Because the Sixth Circuit’s

novel and sweeping interpretation of that decision

threatens Ohio’s capital punishment scheme, the

Court should grant review and clarify its precedent.

2

A. This Court has never addressed whether

capital prisoners have a “right to

competence” in habeas proceedings.

The Sixth Circuit identified “a statutory right

for the [habeas] petitioner to be competent enough to

(1) understand the nature and consequences of the

proceedings against him, and (2) assist properly in

his defense.” App. 6a. The court and Carter both

portray this holding as “a __ straightforward

application of Rees.” Opp. to Cert. at 5.

They are wrong. Rees says nothing of the sort.

And in the years after Rees, several prisoners have

asked this Court to realize the same “right to

competence.” Each time, the Court refused to

consider the question.

For instance, in Rector v. Bryant, 501 U.S. 1239

(1991), mental examiners concluded that a capital

habeas’ petitioner “would have _ considerable

difficulty .. . work[ing} in a collaborative, cooperative

effort with an attorney” and “he would not be able to

recognize or understand facts which might be related

to his case.” Jd. at 1240 (Marshall, J., dissenting

from denial of certiorari). Despite those limitations,

the Court denied his petition for certiorari. Jd. at

1239.

Twenty years later, another capital petitioner

alleged that he suffered “substantial impairments in

{his} mental capacity,” that he “c[ould] not assist

counsel,” and that he “cfould}] not communicate

accurate information to counsel.” Pet’n for Cert.,

Bedford v. Collins, No. 09-8671, at 12-14 (U.S. Jan.

15, 2010). The prisoner invoked his “rights to

meaningful representation” under Rees = and

3

requested a remand to the district court. Jd. at 12.

Again, the Court denied certiorari without comment.

See Bedford v. Collins, 130 S. Ct. 2344 (2010).

If Rees recognized a “right to competence,” then

these prisoners were entitled to an indefinite stay of

proceedings pending their restoration to competency.

The Court’s summary denial of their claims supports

the opposite proposition: That Rees did not address

this issue.

In fact, Carter has repeatedly acknowledged the

dearth of Supreme Court authority in support of his

position. In his initial request for a competency

hearing, Carter claimed a “right to competence for all

proceedings, including proceedings seeking collateral

relief.” Mot. for Comp. Det. and to Stay Proceedings,

Carter v. Bradshaw, No. 3:02-cv-524, at 2 (N.D. Ohio

Oct. 3, 2005) (Doc. 132). But he conceded that “[t]he

United States Supreme Court has not determined

whether such a right exists.” Jd. at 2n.1. In a later

pleading, Carter again admitted that “Supreme

Court precedents do not conclusively resolve th[e]

issue” of whether “a requirement of rational

communication [exists] between Petitioner and his

attorney during federal habeas proceedings.” Reply

to Warden’s Mem., Carter v. Bradshaw, No. 3:02-cv-

524, at 2 (N.D. Ohio Oct. 31, 2005) (Doc. 136).

The federal appellate courts have also noted this

lack of guidance. In Mines v. Dretke, No. 03-11137,

2004 U.S. App. Lexis 26259 (5th Cir. Dec. 16, 2004),

a capital prisoner asserted a “right to communicate

with and assist his counsel effectively in a habeas

proceeding.” Jd. at *15. The Fifth Circuit observed

that “[nJeither the Supreme Court nor this court

ha[s]} determined whether such a right exists.” Jd.

4

The Ninth Circuit made a similar comment in Rohan

ex rel. Gates v. Woodford, 334 F.3d 803, 810 (9th Cir.

2003): Whether “a district court [must] stay habeas

proceedings when a petitioner cannot assist counsel

because he is incapable of rational communication . .

. is an issue the Supreme Court precedents do not

conclusively resolve.”!

No evidence supports the Sixth Circuit’s

contrary conclusion—that Rees “long ago”

established a right to competence in federal habeas

proceedings. App. 4a.

B. The circuits have diverged on this issue.

Lacking clarification, four circuits apply Rees to

a narrow category of cases where the prisoner “elects

to abandon further legal proceedings.” Smith v.

Armontrout, 812 F.2d 1050, 1057 (8th Cir. 1987).

For these courts, the rationale of Rees is applied only

to the “determination [whether] a petitioner was

competent to abandon collateral review of his .. .

capital murder conviction and death sentence.”

Mata v. Johnson, 210 F.3d 324, 328 (5th Cir. 2000);

accord Michael v. Horn, 459 F.3d 411, 420 (3d Cir.

2006); Henderson v. Haley, 353 F.3d 880, 893 (11th

Cir. 2003).

As Carter recognizes, these cases all involved

“an affirmative withdrawal of habeas claims.” Opp.

1 The Ninth Circuit in Rohan instead located a “right to

competence” in 18 U.S.C. § 3599, which supplies appointed

counsel to indigent capital prisoners. (The State of Arizona is

seeking review of that decision. See Pet’n for Cert., Ryan v.

Gonzales, No. 10-930.) The Sixth Circuit did not ground its

decision in § 3599, and Carter’s Opposition does not rely on

Rohan as an alternative basis to defend the judgment below.

5

to Cert. at 7 (emphasis added). After the prisoner

expressed a desire to terminate his proceeding, the

courts consulted Rees to assess his competency to

make that choice.

But Carter has not sought to terminate his

habeas proceeding. To the contrary, Carter has

indicated that he “does not wish to die and wants to

avoid being executed.” Merit Br. of Appellee, Carter

v. Bradshaw, No. 08-4377, at 35-36 (6th Cir. June 2,

2009).

The Sixth Circuit is the first court to apply Rees

to this situation, finding that the decision was “not

cabin[ed] . . . to only scenarios where a petitioner

chooses to terminate an appeal.” App. 7a. Rather,

the Sixth Circuit indicated, Rees is triggered

whenever a_ prisoner’s “psychological disorders

affect[] his abilities to relay facts to his counsel and

communicate in detail.” App. 8a.

What is more, the Sixth Circuit’s decision sets

up a direct conflict with the Eighth Circuit. After

unsuccessfully attempting suicide, the capital

prisoner in Rector v. Clark, 923 F.2d 570, 571 (8th

Cir. 1991), underwent a lobotomy. Due to “organic

deficits,” doctors concluded that the prisoner “would

have considerable difficulty ... in being able to work

in a collaborative, cooperative effort with an

attorney,” and that “he would not be able to

recognize or understand facts which might be related

to his case.” Id. at 572.

The Eighth Circuit rejected this “ability-to-

assist-counsel” deficiency as a reason to delay the

federal habeas proceeding. Jd. at 572-73. The court

6

then evaluated and dismissed the prisoner’s habeas

claims on their merits. Jd. at 573.

Simply put, the disagreement among the lower

courts is stark. The Eighth Circuit has said that a

prisoner’s incompetence will not justify suspension of

the habeas proceeding. And at least four circuits

limit Rees to cases where the prisoner “direct[s] his

counsel to withdraw his petition .. . and to forgo any

further federal habeas proceedings,’ Michael, 459

F.3d at 420. But the Sixth Circuit takes a different

view: An expansive “right to competence” exists in

post-conviction proceedings under Rees, even where

the prisoner has not attempted to withdraw his

petition. And a district court must stay indefinitely

the habeas proceeding if it finds the prisoner to be

incompetent.

The Court should grant review and resolve this

confusion.

C. The Sixth Circuit’s decision to _ stay

indefinitely Carter’s habeas proceeding

violates AEDPA.

The judgment below warrants review for an

additional reason: The Sixth Circuit’s stay order

violates AEDPA.

Carter asserts, and the Warden agrees, that

“federal courts retain their ‘ordinary’ power to issue

stays” in habeas proceedings. Opp. to Cert. at 7

(alteration omitted). But while “AEDPA does not

deprive district courts of that authority .. . it does

circumscribe their discretion.” Rhines v. Weber, 544

U.S. 269, 276 (2005). A federal court’s decision to

stay a habeas proceeding “must . . . be compatible

with AEDPA’s purposes.” 7d.

7

In defending the need for an indefinite stay, the

Sixth Circuit stressed Carter’s present inability to

communicate with his attorneys about his habeas

petition: “Only Carter knows critical parts of the

factual basis for these claims . .. and Carter ‘is

better positioned than anyone’ to provide that

evidence.” App. 12a (citation omitted). Because “the

factual basis for Carter’s claims is locked away

exclusively in his memory,” the Sixth Circuit

concluded that “[iJt would be inappropriate .. . to

proceed through this action without’ thfose]

foundational facts.” App. 12a-13a.

Carter’s Opposition repeats this justification:

His habeas proceedings must come to a halt because

he is currently “incapable of providing’ the

communication essential to the pursuit of [his]

claims.” Opp. to Cert. at 8.

This rationale rests on a mistaken premise: It

assumes that, but for his mental illness, Carter

might be able to identify some yet-to-be-unearthed

evidence, information, or fact for this habeas

proceeding. That is wrong. Because Carter’s habeas

claims “w[ere] adjudicated on the merits in State

court proceedings,” 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d), “the record

under review is limited to .. . the record before the

state court.” Cullen v. Pinholster, 131 S. Ct. 1388,

1398 (2011) (emphasis added). “[E]vidence later

introduced in federal court is irrelevant to

§ 2254(d)(1) review”; the courts “are barred from

considering {it].” Jd. at 1400, 1411 n.20.

Carter’s habeas proceeding therefore turns “on

the record that was before the state court.” Jd. at

1400. Any new information that Carter might

communicate in the future to his attorneys, were his

condition to improve, would not alter’ the

proceeding’s outcome. For that reason, the Sixth

Circui

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Record and brief — Tibbals v. Carter · 566 U.S. 1020 | Frix